Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schaefer v. Wisconsin (No. 08-28)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(1) imi ne 3 U.S.

08-28 JUL 1- 2008

OFF CE OF THE CLERK

No. 08-_____Wttteaa K. Suter, Clerk

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

RONALD SCHAEFER,

Petitioner,

V.

STATE OF WISCONSIN,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Wisconsin Supreme Court

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Jerome F. Buting

Counsel of Record

Kathleen B. Stilling

BUTING & WILLIAMS, S.C.

400 N. Executive Drive, Suite 205

Brookfield, WI 53005

262-821-0999

262-821-5599 (fax)

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

.. Whether a defendant’s Sixth Amendment rights

to compulsory process and the effective assistance of

counsel guarantee him the right to subpoena to court

for review prior to the preliminary hearing police

investigative reports which contain non-privileged

investigative and evidentiary material, to enable

counsel to be an effective advocate for the defendant at

a critical stage of the criminal proceedings, to prepare

to cross-examine witnesses and to present his own

evidence, a question as to which the lower courts are in

conflict?

2. Do the guarantees of the Sixth Amendment

Compulsory Process Clause differ from those of the

Fourteenth Amendment, and, if so, to what extent may

the Sixth Amendment be a source of constitutionally

protected discovery for certain types of pretrial

information in criminal cases?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.................-5- ii

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI....... 1

GRIBIOM BEUIOW..... .. <2... ovens cee cecaeas 1

TE 5 eS tS 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED. .. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE, ...........0.0008 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT......... 5

:. This Court should resolve a split of

authority in the state courts on the

question of whether a criminal

defendant’s subpoena, issued prior

to the preliminary hearing,

seeking records of relevant

evidence from third-party police

agencies is constitutionally

a. xx uc oh ace eh ee 5

If. This Court should grant certiorari

to clarify the extent of pretrial

discovery rights embodied in the

Sixth Amendment’s Compulsory

Process Clause, and to return an

equitable balance to our adversary

system of justice as contemplated

il

by the Framer’s of the

RIN Se es ee ae eos Ue gaa 13

6 eis 0s oN ee ee 16

5. The petitioner’s subpoena for

third-party police reports and

evidence is safeguarded by two

constitutional rights working in

tandem - the right to the effective

assistance of counsel and the right -

to compulsory process.............. 16

x Compulsory Process.......... 16

2. Effective Assistance’ of

REINS px Ne ee la ees 19

3. Defense exercise of the right

to compulsory process prior

to the preliminary hearing

is an appropriate means of

ensuring the _ effective

assistance of counsel... ....... 24

Il. The guarantees of the Sixth

Amendment Compulsory Process

Clause should be found by this

Court to be a_= source of

constitutionally protected

discovery for at least some pretrial

information in criminal cases... ..... 29

ed

<

SPE. 5 bina and web e kh eow eee ores 35

ill

APPENDIX OF PETITIONER

WITH WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT

Bo ee er ee eee APP 1-75

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES CITED: PAGE

Bowman Dairy Co. v. United States,

eg ee). ne 28, 29

Brady v. Maryland,

373 U.S. 83, 83 S.Ct. 1194,

eR 8k ot Se): a ae 5, 8

Coleman v. Alabama,

399 U.S.1, 90 S.Ct. 1999,

26 L.Ed.2d 387 (1970). . 5,19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26

Cox Broadcasting v. Cohn,

420 U.S. 469, 95 S.Ct. 1029,

Oe Re SATO. ws ow cc we cee wenes 5

Crawford v. Washington,

541 U.S. 36, 124 S.Ct. 1354,

SO DR SG ye 16, 33

District of Columbia.v. Heller,

__ §.Ct. __, 2008 WL2520816

i arc's Wn kee aca 16

House v. Balkcom.,

735 F.2d 608 (11th Cir. 1984). ........... 24

1V

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

480 U.S. 39, 107 S.Ct. 989,

94 L.Ed.2d 40 (1987). ... 2, 3,5,11, 13, 29, 36

People v. Burnette,

612 N.Y.8.2d 774 (Sup. Ct. 1994). ......... 6

People v. Cabon,

BG W.Y.S. 370 (Crim. Ct. 1900). ........... 6

People v. Morrison,

559 N.Y.S.2d 1013 (Crim Ct. 1990)......... 6

People ex rel. Fisher v. Carey,

Sue 2.2 17 Ui, 1979). .......... 6, 22, 27

Powell v. Alabama,

Re BS re 21, 31

Rompiila v. Beard,

545 U.S. 374, 125 S.Ct. 2456 (2005). ...... 25

State of Wisconsin v. Schaefer,

2008 WI 25, __ Wis. 2d _,

146 N.W.2d 457... 1, 7, 8, 10, 19, 29, APP1-75

State of Wisconsin v. Webb,

160 Wis. 2d 622, 467 N.W.2d 108 (1991)..... 5

United States v. Burr,

(C.C.D. Va 1807)

oS F.Case. OD. ........ 6, 10, 11, 16, 17, 18, 19

United States v. Cronic,

466 U.S. 648, 104 S.Ct. 2039,

80 L.Ed.2d 2657 (1984). .......... 20, 31, 35

United States v. Hubbell,

530 U.S. 27, 120 S.Ct. 2037,

Pe ee res 16

United States v. Nixon,

418 U.S. 683, 94 S.Ct. 3090,

41 L.Ed.2d 1039 (1974). ....... 10, 24, 27, 28

United States v. Valenzuela-Bernal,

458 U.S. 858, 102 S.Ct. 3440,

TO ta ee EPO REU. 55 oe ce ecw cee 10

Wardius v. Oregon,

412 U.S. 470, 93 S.Ct. 2208,

ee Te Ean oo 5: | a ae 32, 33

Washington v. Texas,

388 U.S. 14, 87 S.Ct. 1920,

1S UG. ee 20t e186 7).~. .. 6 oe ces i7, m0

Weatherford v. Busey,

429 U.S. 545, 97 S.Ct. 837,

EO Be ae. ¢ : rs 15

Wiggins v. Smith,

539 U.S. 510, 123 S.Ct. 2527, |

EGO Eee 2 OTE CHO. gs i i cece 25

CONSTITUTIONS, RULES and STATUTES

ea rs ea 5 eee ee 2

U.S. CONST.

Sears PIE... ne ek eres passim

Was, Dita BOC. GS AE). oo oss ka Faces 19, 21 :

Wis. Stats. § 971.23 (1)(d) and (g)............... 28

OTHER AUTHORITIES

American Bar Association Standards for

Criminal Justice: Prosecution and

Defense Function,

Standard 4-4.1(a) (3d ed. 1993)........... 22

ABA Committee on Legal Aid &

Indigent Defendants,

Gideon’s Broken Promise, (2004)........ 30-31

Brennan, Wm. J., Jr., Criminal

Prosecutions: Sporting Event or Quest

for Truth?

1963 Wash. Univ. Law Quarterly

Pe cee oe eee 24, 25

Fisher, Stanley Z., Conviction of Innocent

Persons in Massachusetts: An Overview,

12.B.U. Pa. Bet Ee. Ces we ee ee 14

Gershman, Bennett L., The New Prosecutors,

53 U. Pitt. L. Rev. 393 (1992)... ......... 15

vl1l

Gross, Samuel R., Exonerations in the

United States: 1989 Through 2003,

95 J. Crim. L. & Criminology 523 (2005). .. 14

Hoeffel, The Sixth Amendment’s Lost Clause:

Unearthing Compulsory Process,

2002 Wis. L.Rev. 1275 (2002). ... 2,13, 15,17

http://www.abanet.org/crimjust/spring2003/death_pen

alty.htm! (last visited June 30, 2008). ........... 3

http://www.harrisinteractive.com/harris_poll/index.as

p?PID=882 (last viewed June 30, 2008)...... 4, 30-31

Jonakait, The Origins of the Confrontation

Clause: An Alternative Theory,

me ene Gas, 77 GA OOs. .......--. 6000 eee 15, 17

McGee, Criminal Procedure in Alabama,

University of Alabama Press (1954). ...... 20

Montoya, Jean, A Theory of Compulsory

Process Clause Discovery Rights,

70 Ind. L.J. 845 (1995)... ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 30

Note, Prosecutorial Discovery

under Proposed Rule 16,

85 Harv.L.Rev. 994 (1972). ........... 33-34

Prosser, Mary, Reforming Criminal Discovery:

Why Old Objections Must Yield to New Realities,

2006 Wis. L. Rev. 541, 614.......... 8, 13, 14

Roberts, J., Too Little Too Late:Ineffective

Assistance of Counsel, The Duty to Investigate,

and Pretrial Discovery in Criminal Cases,

31 Fordham Univ. L.J. 1097

Res Co ih ag Ok waa 5 e's 24, 26

Sarokin, Lee Hon. & Zuckerman, William E.,

Presumed Innocent? Restrictions on Criminal

Discovery in Federal Court Belie This

Presumption,

43 Rutgers L.Rev. 1089 (1991)............ 14

Uphoff, Rodney, Convicting the Innocent: Aberration

or Systemic Problem?

ep ie a, OD PU. ei eee cwes 30, 34

Westen, Peter, Professor,

The Compulsory Process Clause,

73 Manen. Levey. 71 C1O7T4H).... 2... 0s 2 ees 13, 16

1X

No. 08- ~

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

RONALD SCHAEFER,

Petitioner,

¥e

STATE OF WISCONSIN,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Wisconsin Supreme Court

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Ronald Schaefer petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the Wisconsin

Supreme Court in the opinion below.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Wisconsin Supreme Court is

published at State of Wisconsin v. Schaefer, 2008 WI

25, Wis. 2d __, 746 N.W.2d 457, and reprinted in

the accompanying Appendix at APP 1-75.

JURISDICTION

The Wisconsin Supreme Court entered its

decision on April 2, 2008. This Court has jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). The Wisconsin Supreme

Court judgment is final as to the federal constitutional

claims raised. See Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39,

47-50 107 S.Ct. 989, 996-97, 94 L.Ed.2d 40 (1987).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in relevant part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right ... to be confronted

with the witnesses against him; to have

compulsory process for obtaining

witnesses in his favor, and to have the

Assistance of Counsel for his defence.

U.S. CONST. amend. VI.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this case, the Petitioner seeks to invoke

certain constitutionally guaranteed rights which were

intended by the Founding Fathers to preserve an

adversary system of criminal justice in which the rights

of the defendant were augmented to provide a check on

the power of the government.’ The Petitioner invites

‘See generally, Hoeffel, The Sixth Amendment's Lost Clause:

(continued...)

this Court to examine the historical underpinnings of

the Sixth Amendment Compulsory Process Clause and

its interaction with the right to the effective assistance

of counsel, and to resolve deeply divided lower courts as

to how those rights must be implemented in the pretrial

setting.

This case also provides the Court with the

opportunity to answer a question explicitly reserved in

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,480 U.S. 39, 56, 107 S.Ct 989,

1001, 94 L.Ed.2d 40 (1987) — “whether and how the

guarantees of the Compulsory Process Clause differ

from those of the Fourteenth Amendment.” The

Petitioner suggests the answer to that question may

help restore the balance the Framers intended to an

adversary system of criminal justice that the public

increasingly doubts produces reliable outcomes.”

(continued)

Unearthing Compulsory Process, 2002 Wis. L.Rev. 1275, 1284-

88 (2002)

7A 2001 Harris poll found that 93% of Americans believed

innocent people are “sometimes” convicted of murder.

Similarly, in an April 2001 ABC News/The Washington Post

poll, 68 percent either strongly or somewhat agreed that “the

death penalty is unfair because sometimes an innocent person

is executed.” A June 2000 Gallup Poll found that 80 percent of

the respondents believe that within the five previous years a

person “has been executed who was, in fact, innocent of the

crime he or she was charged with.” See

http://www.abanet.org/crimjust/spring2003/death_penalty.ht

ml (last visited June 30, 2008). Public opinion about whether

innocent persons are convicted in this country has remained

steady since 1999, with a recent poll published March 18,

(continued...)

The facts are brief and undisputed. In May of

2006, the State filed a criminal complaint charging the

Petitioner with two counts of second-degree sexual

assault of a child in the City of Brookfield which

allegedly occurred more than sixteen years earlier. (R.

1). Ten days before the preliminary hearing the

Petitioner served a subpoena duces tecum on the

Brookfield Police Department, with notice to the State,

directing certain records in the possession of the police,

which related to the accusation lodged against him, to

be produced before a court commissioner. The court

commissioner quashed the subpoena. The Petitioner

filed a motion for a de novo hearing and the circuit court

again quashed the subpoena. (R.7). The court of appeals

granted leave to appeal (R. 10), and later certified the

case to the Wisconsin Supreme Court. That court

accepted the certification and issued its decision on

April 2, 2008, affirming the order quashing the defense

subpoena.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court ruled that the

Sixth Amendment Compulsory Process Clause and the

right to effective assistance of counsel] do not afford the

Petitioner the right to subpoena the records.”

2(...continued)

2008, showing that 95% of Americans believe innocent people

are “sometimes” convicted of murder. See

http://www.harrisinteractive.com/harris_poll/index.asp?PID

=882 (last viewed June 30, 2008).

*The court also ruled that no statutory authority permitted the

defense subpoena, but those state law issues are not presented

in this petition.

Although the matter was remanded for further

proceedings, the judgment is final as to the federal

constitutional issues raised here. That is because once

the preliminary hearing, which is a “critical stage” of

the proceedings, Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S.1, 9, 90

S.Ct. 1999, 2003, 26 L.Ed.2d 387 (1970), is held without

the Petitioner’s exercise of his subpoena, no subsequent

appeal of this issue is permitted. See State v. Webb, 160

Wis.2d 622, 628, 467 N.W.2d 108, 110 (1991)errors at

a preliminary hearing may not be reviewed following a

fair and errorless trial). Certiorari jurisdiction in this

Court is thus appropriate. See Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

480 U.S. at 47-50, 107 S.Ct. at 996-97; Brady v.

Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 85,n. 1, 83 S.Ct. 1194, 1195, 10

L.Ed.2d 215 (1963); Cox Broadcasting v. Cohn, 420 U.S.

469, 481, 95 S.Ct. 1029,1039, 43 L.Ed.2d 328 (1975).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A defendant in a criminal ttrial has a

constitutional right to compel the attendance of

witnesses in his favor, as well as the right to assistance

of counsel. U.S. CON*T. amend. VI. Surprisingly little

has been said by this Court about how the core values

protected by those two constitutional safeguards work

in tandem in a pretrial context. For several reasons,

this case provides an appropriate vehicle for this Court

to clarify important issues of federal law which impact

thousands of cases daily in the courts of this nation.

I. This Court should resolve a split of authority in

the state courts on the question of whether a

criminal defendant’s subpoena, issued prior to

the preliminary hearing, seeking records of

3)

rclevant evidence from third-party police

agencies is constitutionally protected.

There is now a sharp division among the state

courts over whether two federal constitutional rights,

the Compulsory Process Clause and a defendant’s right

to the effective assistance of counsel, guarantee defense

counsel the right to exercise the subpoena power prior

to a preliminary hearing to obtain relevant police

investigative reports and nonprivileged material or

evidence in the possession of the police agency.

Some courts, like the Illinois Supreme Court and

several New York courts, hold that these federal

constitutional rights do permit such a_ defense

subpoena. Indeed, until the Petitioner’s case, in four out

of the five cases where the issue of a defense subpoena

of a third party’s reports prior to a preliminary hearing

was squarely decided, the courts ruled in favor of the

defendant. See, People ex rel. Fisher v. Carey, 396

N.E.2d 17 (Ill. 1979), People v. Burnette, 612 N.Y.S.2d

774 (Sup. Ct. 1994), People v. Cabon, 56 N.Y.S. 370

(Crim Ct. 1990); United States v. Burr, (C.C.D. Va

1807) 25 F. Cas. 30. But ,cf, People v. Morrison, 559

N.Y.S.2d 1013 (Crim Ct. 1990).

The Wisconsin Supreme Court reached the

opposite conclusion in this case, ruling:

[A] criminal defendant does not have a

constitutional right to compel _ the

prouuction of police investigation reports

and nonprivileged materials by subpoena

duces tecum prior to the preliminary

6

examination. A criminal defendant who

employs the subpoena power in this

manner is attempting to engage in

discovery without authority in either civil

or criminal procedure statutes and in

conflict with criminal discovery statutes.

Although a reasonable argument can be

made for prosecutors to open their files to

defendants at an early point in criminal

prosecutions, this argument does not

translate into an enforceable right to

subpoena police investigation reports and

nonprivileged materials before a

preliminary examination.

Schaefer, {| 95, APP 49-50. See Id. at |] 62-82, APP 31-

42, wherein the court rejected the Petitioner’s

compulsory process rights argument, and 44 88-94,

APP 43-49, the assertion of his right to effective

assistance of counsel.

Thus, in the Wisconsin court’s view, a defendant’s

early access to information to assist counsel’s

preparation for a “critical stage” of the criminal

proceeding depends entirely on the largess of the

government.

Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, writing for

the Schaefer concurrence, agreed with the defendant

and amicus curiae that earlier defense access to police

reports, witness statements and evidence would be good

public policy:

The defendant and the amici raise

troubling questions about the reliability

and fairness of preliminary examinations

and trials when a criminal defendant is

not given access to police records and all

non-privileged information early in the

process. The criminal justice system must

be reliable to convict the guilty and to

prevent wrongful conviction of the

innocent. The Innocence Projects across

the country have demonstrated that

wrongful convictions do occur, even in

Wisconsin. The ideal in our legal system is

that “[slociety wins not only when the

guilty are convicted but when criminal

trials are fair.” [citing Brady v. Maryland,

373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963)]. Indeed, “the more

we learn about the incidence of wrongful

convictions, the less it makes sense to

deprive a defendant of access to relevant

evidence” at the earliest possible

opportunity [citing Mary Prosser,

Reforming Criminal Discovery: Why Old

Objections Must Yield to New Realities,

2006 Wis. L. Rev. 541, 614]. The majority

opinion acknowledges the wisdom of law

enforcement and_ district attorneys

adopting the practice proposed by the

defendant.

Schaefer, at 49137, APP 72-73. Nevertheless, the

concurrence did not believe that, under the limited

rulings of this Court, the defendant had a federally

protected constitutional right to the information sought:

Although the records subpoenaed may be

relevant to the probable cause

determination, may enable defense

counsel to fashion a vital impeachment

too) for use in cross-examining the state's

witnesses at trial, may preserve testimony

favorable to the accused, or may allow

preparation of a proper defense at trial, I

am not convinced that the defendant's

inability to obtain the subpoenaed

information before the preliminary

examination in the present case rises to a

federal constitutionally protected claim.

... {T]he United States Supreme Court

has limited the pretrial information

required to be given to the defendant. The

Court has largely limited prosecutors'

constitutional discovery obligations to

exculpatory evidence and has focused on

the adversarial nature of the relationship

between the district attorney and defense

counsel rather than on the question of the

reliability of outcomes in criminal cases.

Id. at | 129, APP 69-70 (citations and footnotes

omitted).* Chief Justice Abrahamson’s observations of

this Court’s jurisprudence on pretrial discovery is

correct, but only insofar as this Court’s rulings on the

‘The concurrence also felt this case was not an appropriate

vehicle for the court to utilize its superintending rule-making

authority, as the Wisconsin Supreme Court rarely invokes its

authority to modify rules of procedure on appeal. Id. at 4 136,

138; APP72, 73-74.

requirements imposed by due process are concerned.

This Court has. stated that the Sixth

Amendment’s Compulsory Process Clause may also

embrace certain pretrial discovery rights. See United

States v. Valenzuela-Bernal, 458 U.S.858, 871, n.8, 102

S.Ct. 3440, 3448, 73 L.Ed.2d 1193 (1982) (citing Burr as

example where pretrial discovery may be required

without showing materiality where defendant could not

reasonably be expected to know the relevance of missing

testimony), and United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683,

709, 711, 94 S.Ct. 3090, 3108, 3109, 41 L.Ed.2d 1039

(1974) (suggesting the clause may require the

production of evidence pretrial). However, this Court

has not articulated a coherent definition of the extent of

pretrial rights encompassed by the Compulsory Process

Clause.

There have been so few rulings from this Court

on the extent of a defendant’s pretrial compulsory

process rights that the issue presented in the

Petitioner’s case has its closest analogy to a case in

which Chief Justice Marshall presided as trial judge

more than 200 years ago. See United States v. Burr,

(C.C.D. Va.1807), 25 Cas. 30. In Burr, Chief Justice

Marshall ruled that Aaron Burr’s compulsory process

rights entitled him to subpoena ane allegedly

incriminating letter from President Thomas Jefferson,

even before he was indicted by the grand jury. Burr, 25

F.Cas. at 35. Similarly, the Petitioner’s subpoena at

issue sought investigative reports and witness

statements alleging the misconduct with which he was

charged in this particular case. Schaefer, J 11, APP 5.

10

Twenty years ago, in Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

this Court noted:

Despite the implications of the Burr

decision for federal criminal procedure, the

Compulsory Process Clause rarely was a

factor in this Court's decisions during the

next 160 years. More recently, however,

the Court has articulated some of the

specific rights secured by this part of the

Sixth Amendment. Our cases establish, at

a minimum, that criminal defendants

have the right to the government's

assistance in compelling the attendance of

favorable witnesses at trial and the right

to put before a jury evidence that might

influence the determination of guilt.

This Court has never squarely held that

the Compulsory Process Clause

guarantees the right to discover the

identity of witnesses, or to require the

government to produce’ exculpatory

evidence. Because the applicability of the

Sixth Amendment to this type of case is

unsettled, and because our Fourteenth

Amendment precedents addressing the

fundamental fairness of trials establish a

clear framework for review, we adopt a

due process analysis for purposes of this

case. Although we _ conclude that

compulsory process provides no greater

1]

aR

protections in this area than _ those

afforded by due process, we need not

decide today whether and how the

guarantees of the Compulsory Process

Clause differ from those of the Fourteenth

Amendment. It is enough to conclude that

on these facts, Ritchie's claims more

properly are considered by reference to

due process.

Ritchie, 480 U.S. at 55-56, 107 S.Ct. at 1000-01

(emphasis in original, citations and footnotes omitted).°

Perhaps as a result of this “unsettled” state of

law about the Compulsory Process Clause, an

intolerable lack of uniformity now exists in the state

courts about a constitutional right deeply rooted in our

nation’s history. Such divergent results which depend

on the geographic location of the prosecution should not

be tolerated when deeply rooted constitutional

safeguards like compulsory process and the right to

effective assistance of counsel are affected. This Court

should grant certiorari to resolve this split in the state

and local courts of this country.

Moreover, given the split in the states over the

issue left open in Ritchie, there is reason for this Court

°A significant difference between Ritchie’s claims and the

information sought by the Petitioner is that Ritchie sought

access to privileged material, which necessarily requires a

balancing of competing interests for which traditional duc

process analysis is more appropriate. See infra, Argument

section I] at p. 29.

12

to address that question now and to settle an important

question of federal law. The time is ripe for this Court

to re-examine the historical basis and public policies

underpinning this under-appreciated provision of the

Sixth Amendment, and to articulate a workable

standard for the application of such fundamental

constitutional rights.

If. This Court should grant certiorari toclarify the

extent of pretrial discovery rights embodied in

the Sixth Amendment’s Compulsory Process

Clause, and to return an equitable balance to

our adversary system of justice as contemplated

by the Framer’s of the Constitution.

Since Ritchie, many have struggled to determine

what rights the Compulsory Process Clause protects,

especially in the pretrial setting.® In recent years the

DNA exonerations of hundreds of wrongfully convicted

and imprisoned individuals in this country has

prompted scholars to examine the causes of wrongful

convictions. Not surprisingly, important factors include

the lack of access by the defense to important

investigative information early in the case and

prosecutor (or police) failure to disclose exculpatory

*See, generally, Jean Montoya, A_ Theory of Compulsory

Process Clause Discovery Rights, 70 Ind. L .J. 845 (1995);

Mary Prosser, Reforming Criminal Discovery: Why Old

Objections Must Yield to New Realities, 2006 Wis. L. Rev. 541;

Hoeffel, supra, note 1, at 1284-88; Peter Westen, The

Compulsory Process Clause, 73 Mich.L.Rev. 71, 101-108

(1974).

13

evidence.’

Lessons learned from our nation’s experience in

these many exoneration cases demonstrate a need for

this Court to re-examine the astonishing*® inequities

between civil and criminal discovery — where civil

litigants have broad pretrial access to information, but

criminal defendants, risking liberty or even life, have

very limited information and none of the civil tools of

discovery like depositions, interrogatories, or requests

for production of documents. Old justifications for that

differentiation no longer apply,” and the adversary

system intended by the Founders has lost its balance.

‘See Stanley Z. Fisher, Convictions of Innocent Persons in

Massachusetts: An Overview, 12 B.U. Pub. Int. L.J., 62-63, 67-

68 (2002); Samuel R. Gross et al., Exonerations in the United

States: 1989 Through 2003, 95 J. Crim. L. & Criminology 523,

542-43 (2005); Mary Prosser, Reforming Criminal Discovery:

Why Old Objections Must Yield to New Realities, 2006 Wis. L.

Rev. 541, 558, 572.

®See Hon. Lee Sarokin & William E. Zuckerman, Presumed

Innocent? Restrictions on Criminal Discovery in Federal Court

Belie This Presumption, 43 Rutgers L. Rev. 1089, 1089 (1991)

(describing the “astonishing anomaly” of “unrestricted

discovery” in civil cases in contrast to the “severely limited”

discovery in criminal cases).

*See, Montoya, supra note 5, at 857-62 (prior concerns about a

defendant's lack of reciprocity because of the right against self-

incrimination are no longer valid given modern reciprocal

discovery rules, mandatory advance disclosure of certain

defenses, and the routine police interrogation of suspects who

often provide incriminating statements despite Miranda

warnings).

14

Although this Court has in the past been

reluctant to find a general constitutional right to

pretrial discovery in a criminal case,° a more

comprehensive examination of the historical roots of the

Compulsory Process Clause may show that broader

criminal discovery than is presently the norm finds

constitutional protection within that provision."

History suggests that the Compulsory Process Clause

was intended as a check against the prosecution and

was integral to the Founding Fathers’ view of a fair

adversary system.'*® One of the best ways to check a

prosecutor’s behavior and keep the process honest is to

expand the defendant’s access to information prctrial.'®

That can occur by grounding certain pretrial discovery

rights in the Sixth Amendment’s Compulsory Process

Clause."*

See Weatherford v. Busey, 429 U.S. 545, 559,97 S.Ct. 837, 51

L.Ed.2d 30 (1977).

''See Montoya, supra, note 5, at 874-878.

'*See, Jonakait, The Origins of the Confrontation Clause: An

Alternative Theory, 27 Rutgers L.J. 77, 81 (1995); Hoeffel,

supra note 6 at 1281-83 (arguing that the Clause was the

product of the adversary system developed in the American

Colonies and was intended to expand the defendant's right to

submit his own evidence).

See Montoya, supra, note 5, at 855. As one commentator has

observed, “The power to control evidence is the power to

conceal it.” Bennett L.Gershman, The New Prosecutors, 53 U.

Pitt. L. Rev. 393, 451 (1992).

‘This approach was first advocated more than thirty years ago

(continued...)

15

This Court recently re-examined the historical

roots of the Sixth Amendment’s Confrontation Clause,

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 124 S.Ct. 1354,

158 L.Ed.2d 177, and the Second Amendment’s right to

bear arms, District of Columbia v. Heller, S.Ct. __,

2008 WL 2520816 (June 26, 2008). Likewise, a careful,

historical re-examination by this Court of the

Compulsory Process Clause is long overdue, and this

case provides an appropriate opportunity to do so.

ARGUMENT

1. The petitioner’s subpoena for third-party police

reports and evidence is safeguarded by two

constitutional rights working in tandem - the

right to the effective assistance of counsel and

the right to compulsory process.

:. Compulsory Process.

The Petitioner has a constitutional right to

compulsory process founded in the Sixth Amendment of

the United States Constitution. The Sixth Amendment

guarantee of compulsory process includes the

production of documentary evidence by subpoena duces

tecum prior to indictment. United States v. Hubbell,

530 U.S. 27, 54 (2000)(Thomas, J. concurrence), citing

United States v. Burr, (C.C.D. Va. 1807), 25 F. Cas. 30,

'“(_ continued)

by Professor Peter Westen, in The Compulsory Process Clause,

73 Mich. L. Rev. 71 (1974), and modified by Montoya, supra

note 5, at 873-78, who argues Westen’s approach was too

unwieldy to be practical.

16

34-35.

The origin of the Compulsory Process Clause is

murky, because neither it nor its Sixth Amendment

companion, the Confrontation Clause, were much

debated before their adoption. Jonakait, supra, note 11,

at n.4 (1995) (noting the clause was debated a mere five

minutes before its passage). Early commentators felt

the clause originated in reaction to English common law

rules barring defense witnesses in treason or felony

cases. See Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14, 19 (1967),

citing 3 Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the

United States §§ 1786-1788 (1st ed. 1833). More

recently, some scholars argue that the dual rights were

enshrined in the federal and state constitutions after

the development of an adversary trial process arose in

the colonies in the early 18th century, which included

meaningful defense advocacy and the right to challenge

information relied upon by the government. See,

Jonakait, supra, note 11 at 81; Hoeffel, supra, note 11

at, 1279-83 (2002) (“The Clause was a product of the

development of the adversary system, conceived to

expand the accused's opportunity to submit evidence on

his own behalf”).

Surprisingly, this Court has had little occasion to

describe the meaning and parameters of the Sixth

Amendment Compulsory Process Clause since the Burr

case, more than 200 years ago. Yet, this Court has held

that the clause stands for no less than the “right to

present a defense,” Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14,

19 (1967), and Chief Justice John Marshall in Burr

wrote: “The right given by this article must be deemed

sacred by the courts, and the article should be so

17

construed as to be something more than a dead letter.”

25 F. Cas. at 33.

In the infamous case against Aaron Burr, the

defendant subpoenaed letters from President Jefferson

in order to prepare for the defense of his treason trial.

Burr’s accusers had written the president letters which

Burr asserted were necessary to his defense. The

government argued the defendant was not entitled to

the use of a subpoena to obtain documents because the

grand jury had not yet returned an indictment. Chief

Justice Marshall disagreed and explained the

importance of the use of compulsory process in the early

stages of a case:

What can more effectually elude the right

to a speedy trial than the declaration that

the accused shall be disabled from

preparing for it until an Indictment is

found against him? It is certainly much

more in the true spirit of the provision

which secures to the accused a speedy

trial, that he should have the benefit of

the provision which entitles him to

compulsory process as soon as he is

brought into court.

United States v. Burr, 25 F. Cas. 30 (1807).

Chief Justice Marshall’s contention that a

defendant should not be delayed in his efforts to answer

the accusations against him infers that some element of

pretrial (indeed even pre-indictment) “discovery” was

contemplated in the rights protected by the Compulsory

18

Process Clause. The Schaefer majority opinion found

the Burr case “intriguing,” but ruled it had no

precedential value because it “predated modern

discovery rules” and was not an opinion of the United

States Supreme Court. Schaefer, § 79, APP 42.

However, Chief Justice Marshall’s opinion is

particularly important to an understanding of the

Framer’s intent because he was a contemporary pre-

eminent constitutional jurist. Moreover, modern

discovery rules cannot supplant constitutional

guarantees; they can only supplement such rights. The

modern preliminary hearing is a critical stage in a

seamless process leading toward a potential jury trial.

A defendant’s right to a preliminary hearing would be

illusory if he is denied compulsory process.

z. Effective Assistance of Counsel.

In Wisconsin, as in most states, a citizen’s right

to a preliminary examination during which a court

determines “if there is probable cause to believe a felony

has been committed by the defendant” is safeguarded by

statute. Wis. Stats. § 970.03(1). The fact that the

preliminary hearing is limited to a probable cause

finding does not render it meaningless. In Coleman v.

Alabama, the Supreme Court discussed the purpose of

the preliminary hearing:

A preliminary hearing or examination is

not a trial in its ordinary sense nor is it a

final determination of guilt. It is a

proceeding whereby an accused is

discharged or held to answer, as the facts

19

warrant. It seeks to determine whether

there is probable cause for believing that

a crime has been committed and whether

the accused is probably guilty, in order

that he may be informed of the nature of

such charge and to allow the state to take

the necessary steps to bring him to trial.

Such hearing also serves to perpetuate

evidence and to keep the necessary

witnesses within the control of the state.

It also safeguards the accused against

groundless and vindictive prosecutions,

and avoids for both the accused and the

state the expense and inconvenience of a

public trial.

Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1, 11 n. 3, citing McGee,

Criminal Procedure in Alabama, University of Alabama

Press (1954), pg 41.

A preliminary examination is considered a

critical stage of the criminal process during which an

accused has a Sixth Amendment right to the assistance

of counsel. Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U:S. at 9 (19760).

It has long been recognized that the right to counsel is

defined as the right to effective assistance of counsel.

United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648, 654 (1984), yet

the exercise of that right would be futile if counsel is

deprived of the tools required to be effective. Cf.,

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. at 23 (‘The Framers of

the Constitution did not intend to commit the futile act

of giving to a defendant the right to secure the

attendance of witnesses whose testimony he had no

20

right to use.”) The Petitioner argues that his right to

the effective assistance of counsel includes his right to

have counsel adequately investigate the state’s case so

that she may effectively represent him at a preliminary

hearing. That includes use of the subpoena power so

counsel can prepare to cross-examine state’s witnesses

or locate and present defense witnesses at a preliminary

hearing, which rights are guaranteed by statute.’°

While acknowledging the limited purpose of the

preliminary hearing, the Coleman court explained why

effective counsel was critical at the preliminary hearing

stage:

First, the lawyer’s skilled examination

and cross-examination of witnesses may

expose fatal weaknesses in the State’s case

that may lead the magistrate to refuse to

bind the accused over. Second, in any

event, the skilled interrogation of

witnesses by an experienced lawyer can

fashion a vital impeachment tool for use in

cross-examination of the State’s witnesses

at the trial, or preserve testimony

favorable to the accused of a witness who

does not appear at the trial. Third, trained

counsel can more effectively discover the

case the State has against his chent and

make possible the preparation of a proper

defense to meet that case at the trial.

Wis. Stats. § 970.03.

Coleman v. Alabama, 399 US. at 7 (1970), citing Powell

v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932).

The effective assistance of counsel at a

preliminary hearing requires more than mere

observation. Defense counsel must prepare ahead of

time to conduct the skilled cross-examination and

presentation of evidence contemplated in Coleman. See

People ex rel. Fisher v. Carey, 396 N.E. 2d 17, 21, 32 IIl.

Dec. 904, 908 (1979) The American Bar Association

Standards for Criminal Justice: Prosecution and

Defense Function, Standard 4-4. 1(a) (3d ed. 1993), gives

guidance in determining what is_ effective

representation:

Defense counsel should conduct a prompt

investigation of the circumstances of the

case and explore all avenues leading to

facts relevant to the merits of the case and

the-penalty in the event of conviction. The

investigation should include efforts to

secure information in the possession of the

prosecution and law’ enforcement

authorities ....

The standard does not confine defense

information gathering to that allowed by discovery

statutes. Nor does it suggest that these efforts begin

only after the arraignment. The use of the word

“prompt” suggests otherwise. The standard also

references information in the possession of the

prosecution and that which law enforcement may

possess as an acknowledgment that they each may play

different roles in a criminal prosecution.

Counsel cannot be an effective advocate without

reasonable access to information at what is undeniably

a critical stage in a prosecution. Plainly, the Court in

Coleman, held the opinion that “the guiding hand of

counsel at the preliminary hearing is essential to

protect the indigent accused against an erroneous or

improper prosecution.” Id. at 9. It would not be in

keeping with the Court’s decision on the Sixth

Amendment right to effective assistance of counsel to tie

those “guiding hands” by denying the defense its lawful

use of process to gain the information needed to conduct

the “skilled examination” the Court contemplated would

occur. Especially given the discovery of so many

wrongful convictions in the last decade, it makes no

sense to hamper the defense ability to discover the facts

as soon as he or she is able.

In this case, the Petitioner’s preparation for this

important hearing is hampered by the age of these

alleged acts. The delay of sixteen years puts the

defendant at an unfair disadvantage, because he cannot

be expected to independently remember important

details or even the identity of witnesses in his favor at

that distant date, or perhaps other evidence which may

call into question the plausibility of the allegation.

Without access to the police reports of interviews with

the complaining witness and other witnesses, the

Petitioner has insufficient information to permit him to

effectively exercise his right to cross-examine the

State’s witnesses or to locate favorable witnesses or

other evidence to contest probable cause at the hearing.

23

A defendant’s right to subpoena these reports should be

secured to all defendants, but especially so to the

Petititoner under these unusual circumstances of pre-

accusation delay.

3. Defense exercise of the right to

compulsory process prior to_ the

preliminary hearing is an appropriate

means of ensuring the effective assistance

of counsel.

The need to develop all relevant facts in the

adversary system is’ both fundamental and

comprehensive. United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683,

. 709 (1974). Defense pretrial investigation is recognized

as “perhaps the most critical stage of a lawyer’s

preparation.” House v. Balkcom, 725 F.2d 608, 618

(11th Cir. 1984). Restriction of a defendant’s right to

obtain information at the earliest stage of the criminal

process hurts the overall truth finding process. As

Justice Brennan observed:

What assigned counsel obviously needs to

discharge the heavy responsibility we give

him is at least the opportunity to do what the

state does when the trail is fresh, namely,

seeking corroboration of the accused’s story, or

lack of it, from external facts through avenues

of inquiry opened by what the state has

learned.

Roberts, J. Too Little Too Late: Ineffective Assistance of

Counsel, The Duty to Investigate, and_ Pretrial

Discovery in Criminal Cases, 31 Fordham Univ. L.J

24

1097, 1128 (May 2004), citing Brennan, Wm. J., Jr.,

Criminal Prosecutions: Sporting Event or Quest for

Truth? 1963 Wash. Univ. Law Quarterly 279 (1963).

Recent decisions of this Court, such as Wiggins v.

Smith, 539,U.S. 510, 538, 123 S.Ct. 2527, 156 L.Ed.2d

471 (2003), and Rompilla v. Beard, 545 U.S. 374, 125

S.Ct. 2456, 2465-66, (2005), have found ineffective

assistance of counsel based on defense counsel’s failure

toinvestigate. Wiggins held that an attorney’s strategic

choices made after less than complete investigation

were suspect. Id. at 533. Similarly, defense counsel’s

strategic choice to waive a preliminary hearing or

undertake an important cross examination at this

critical stage with only minimal information must also

be suspect, yet that is what occurs when a defendant is

denied his right to subpoena non-privileged police

reports before making such choices.

Denying counsel access to nonprivileged police

investigation reports hinders her ability to cross-

examine witnesses and allows no time to locate and

present relevant witnesses who may be mentioned in

the reports. Further, the subpoenaed police reports may

reveal the names of otherwise unknown witnesses who

could destroy the plausibility of an alleged victim’s

story, by revealing, for instance, that the defendant had

no possible access to the complainant during the times

of the alleged assault. Permitting the defendant to

obtain police reports by use of subpoena ahead of the

hearing will allow for timely preparation and, in many

cases, may eliminate the need f »r a preliminary hearing

altogether, or result in stipulations which allow the

25

hearing to proceed most efficiently.

It is no answer to say that the Petitioner’s

subpoena requests will be provided later in discovery.

The preliminary hearing is often a defendant’s only

opportunity before trial to fashion by cross-examination

a “vital impeachment tool” for use later at trial.

Coleman, 399 U.S. at 7. Yet, cross examination, one of

the most effective, valuable tools that test the

plausibility of information, is effective only to the

degree that the attorney has access to relevant

information and sufficient time with which to prepare.

See Roberts, 31 Fordham Univ. L. J., supra at 1135.

Thus, preparation for a preliminary hearing with

nothing more than a short criminal complaint that is

vague on dates and other details of the charge, as the

Petitioner faces here, does not achieve the

constitutional requirement of effective assistance of

counsel at every critical stage of the proceedings.

Contrary to the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s

ruling in this case, the Petitioner’s subpoena duces

tecum is not a mere statutory discovery device, but,

rather, a judicial process independent of discovery rules

which is authorized by statutes and the constitutional

right to compulsory process. Indeed, the use of

subpoenas to exercise one’s right to compulsory process

is a constitutional judicial process which may not be

done away with or curtailed by discovery rules. The

point is well made by the Illinois Supreme Court:

The constitutional origin of the subpoena

in the sixth amendment and the antiquity

26

of the use of subpoenas .. . persuade us

that its use is not dependent upon our

discovery rules. The Supreme Court's

comments in United States v. Nixon...

that the subpoena “was not intended to

provide a means of discovery for criminal

cases’ are also persuasive. “To ensure that

justice is done, it is imperative to the

function of courts that compulsory process

be available for the production of evidence

needed either by the prosecution or by the

defense.”

We find nothing in the above authorities

which commands the public defender to

first utilize our discovery rules before

utilizing subpoenas, especially when those

rules apply only after a preliminary

hearing. If that were so, he would be

effectively barred from any formal

recourse to evidence gathering until after

the determination of probable cause.

People ex rel. Fisher v. Carey, 396 N.E.2d at 20-21

(citations omitted).

This Court has recognized that a subpoena duces

tecum is not just an alternative means of discovery for

criminal cases. Discovery rules are intended to provide

limited materials in the possession of the prosecution

for use at the trial.'® In contrast, a subpoena may be

used to obtain documents not in the possession of the

prosecution or subject to discovery rules, and documents

the government does not intend to introduce at trial.

Bowman Dairy Co. v. United States, 341 U.S. 214, 219

71 S.Ct. 675, 95 L.Ed. 879 (1951). As this Court

explained in discussing why even the President of the

United States is not immune from subpoena:

The need to develop all relevant facts in

the adversary system is both fundamental

and comprehensive. The ends of criminal

justice would be defeated if judgments

were to be founded on a partial or

speculative presentation of the facts. The

very integrity of the judicial system and

public confidence in the system depend on

full disclosure of all the facts, within the

framework of the rules of evidence. To

ensure that justice is done, it is imperative

to the function of courts that compulsory

process be available for the production of

evidence needed either by the prosecution

or by the defense.

United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 709 (1974) .

The Petitioner’ subpoena sought records not from

the prosecutor’s files, but from a third-party police

agency. The majority opinion below, using state-law

interpretation of discovery statutes, found no significant

‘See, e.g., Wis. Stats. §971.23(1)(d) and (g).

28

distinction between a subpoena issued to the police or

discovery demands to the prosecutor.'’ But, as this

Court noted in Bowman, the subpoena power extends

beyond the limitations of discovery rules, and if based

on the federal constitutional right to compulsory

process, state law statutory limitations must fail.

IT. The guarantees of the Sixth Amendment

Compulsory Process Clause should be found by

this Court to be a source of constitutionally

protected discovery for at least some pretrial

information in criminal cases.

In Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, the Court chose not

decide the question of “whether and how the guarantees

of the Compulsory Process Clause differ from those of

the Fourteenth Amendment.” 480 U.S. at 56, 107 S.Ct.

at 1001. In the twenty years since that case was decided

the urgency of that question has grown. The Petitioner

suggests that a comprehensive review of the historical

underpinnings of the Compulsory Process Clause will

show the Clause was designed to provide the accused

with the ability to obtain and present his own

“The majority found that “although separate entities in fact,

the Brookfield Police Department and the district attorney's

office are related for considerations of the state's duty of

disclosing evidence to criminal defendants [under state

discovery statutes].” Schaefer, at n. 12, APP 28. The

concurrence disagreed with that assessment: “In our system of

government, law enforcement and the district attorney's office

are two separate entities, with separate functions and subject

to different codes of conduct, although the two often work

together.” Id. at § 120, APP 63-64.

29

information in court, whether by witness or document,

and that to do so the Clause guarantees at least some

pretrial discovery for the accused. Unlike due process,

those rights guaranteed by the Compulsory Process

Clause should not be subject to the vagaries of a

balancing test, but rather are categorical guarantees

that cannot be denied by the government.

This Court’s Fourteenth Amendment due process

jurisprudence in the pretrial context has sought to

resolve questions of fairness by balancing competing

interests. As Chief Justice Abrahamson recognized in

the decision below, the Court’s application of due

process in the pretrial setting has been more focused on

the adversary nature of the relationship between the

prosecutor and defense attorney than on the reliability

of outcomes. Schaefer, { 129, APP 70. The adversary

system of criminal justice was the historical model

adopted by the Framer’s, so developing a jurisprudence

which remains faithful to that model is certainly

appropriate. However, the Fourteenth Amendment

approach to pretrial discovery has not worked well

because the adversarial balance that the Framer’s

intended has unfortunately been displaced in our

present day justice system.'®

"See Rodney Uphoff, Convicting the Innocent: Aberration or

Systemic Problem? 2006 Wis. L. Rev 740, 835-38; Montoya,

supra note 5, at 873, 877-78. This is especially true with

regard to chronically underfunded indigent defense systems,

as study after study reports pathetically poor representation

is often afforded to the largest class of criminal defendants.

See generally, ABA Committee on Legal Aid & Indigent

(continued...)

30

The advent of DNA exonerations of hundreds of

wrongfully convicted and imprisoned individuals has

had a profound effect on society’s perception of fairness

and reliability in the outcomes of criminal cases. See,

supra, note 2, at p.3. Respect for the law and our

judicial branch can only deteriorate when 95% of the

American public believes innocent persons are

sometimes wrongfully convicted of the most serious

crimes (murder). Id., at Harris poll, March 18, 2008.

Historically, the Framer’s were less concerned about our

criminal justice system as a truth seeking process than

they were in enshrining an adversary system. However,

truthful outcomes were expected to flow from an

adversary system because of the belief that “partisan

advocacy on both sides of a case will best promote the

ultimate objective that the guilty be convicted and the

innocent go free.” United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. at

655. Today, when public opinion is so nearly unanimous

that innocent persons are sometimes wrongly convicted,

that objective seems elusive.

The Court in Powell v. Aiabama, 287 U.S. 45, 57

53 S.Ct. 55, 60 (1932), recognized defense counse!’s role

is “vitally important” in pretrial fact investigation, yet

the modern defense attorney is starved of financial

resources and deprived of the fact-finding discovery

tools available to the civil litigators. She is faced with

an adversary armed with the immense resources of a

8 conti. ued)

Defendanis, Gideon’s Broken Promise 9 (2004), available at

http://www.avanet.org/legalservices/sclaid/defender/brokenp

romise/fullreporc.pdf (last visited June 30, 2008)

31

modern organized police force, and suffers all of the

disadvantages noted by the Court in Wardius v. Oregon,

412 U.S. 470, 476, n. 9, 93 S.Ct. 2208, 37 L.Ed.2d 82

(1973), which rejected a discovery rule for the defense

which did not require the state to reciprocate.’®

‘(T]he State's inherent information-gathering advantages

suggest that if there is to be any imbalance in discovery rights,

it should work in the defendant's favor. As one commentator

has noted:

‘Besides greater financial and staff resources

with which to investigate and scientifically

analyze evidence, the prosecutor has a number

of tactical advantages. First, he begins his

invest gation shortly after the crime has been

committed when physical evidence is more

likely to be found and when witnesses are more

apt to remember events. Only after the

prosecutor has gathered sufficient evidence is

the defendant iaformed of the charges against

him; by the time the defendant or his attorney

begins any investigation into the facts of the

case, the trail is not only cold, but a diligent

prosecutor will have removed much of the

evidence from the field. In addition to the

advantage of timing, the prosecutor may

compel people, including the defendant. to

cooperate. The defendant may be questioned

within limits, and if arrested his person may be

searched. He may also be compelled to

participate in various nontestimonial

identification procedures. The prosecutor may

force third persons to cooperate through the use

of grand juries and may issue subpoenas

requiring appearance before’ prosecutorial

(continued...)

32

The Wardius court encouraged more open

discovery as a way to “enhance the fairness of the

adversary system.” 412 U.S. at 474, 93 S.Ct. at 2211.

But Wardius relied on notions of Fourteenth

Amendment Due Process as a check against rules that

upset a fair balance between the defense and

government. Thirty-five years later, the scales have

tipped further away from the side of the accused. Due

process analysis fails to maintain the Framer’s intended

balance” in the adversary system and neglects the

1% continued)

investigatory boards. With probable cause the

police may search private areas and seize

evidence and may tap telephone conversations.

They may use undercover agents and have

access to vast amounts of information in

government files. Finally, respect for

government authority will cause many people

to cooperate with the police or prosecutor

voluntarily when they might not cooperate with

the defendant.’

Note, Prosecutorial Discovery under Proposed Rule 16,

85 Harv.L.Rev. 994, 1018-1019 (1972) (footnotes

omitted).

*°By advocating a return to a “balanced” adversary system the

Petitioner does not suggest that resort to a balancing test can

achieve that objective. In Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S.

36, 67-68, 124 S.Ct. 1354, this Court resoundingly rejected a

balancing tests for Confrontation Clause analysis because “[bly

replacing categorical constitutional guarantees with open-

(continued...)

33

historical evidence of original intent in the Sixth

Amendment Compulsory Process Clause.

Studies of -vrongful conviction cases”’ reveal that

the government’s virtual monopoly on access to

information pretrial is a_ significant factor that

increases the risk of a miscarriage of justice.”” While

modern discovery statutes provide the defense some

access to information, they still rely upon the prosecutor

to disclose what should be provided.” To protect

balanced adversarial access to pretrial information, the

accused’s rights must be grounded in the constitution,

where they are free from potential government abuse.

At least with respect to nonprivileged relevant

2% .continued)

ended balancing tests, we do violence to their design.” The

same should hold true for the Compulsory Process clause.

“1See, supra, note 6.

*2I1t should be noted that a wrongful conviction not only causes

an innocent person the hardship of imprisonment, but allows

the guilty party tu escape justice for years, if not forever.

Despite statutory or ethical mandates, cases and studies

continue to show that some prosecutors choose to withhold

even exculpatory information. See Uphoff, supra, note 18, at

837. Sometimes the failure to disclose is not the fault of the

prosecutor directly, but rather the police who either

deliberately or negligently fail to provide all the relevant

materials to the prosecutor. Id. In either event, when the

defense must rely on the prosecutor for pretrial access to

information, rather than employing their own constitutionally

protected rights to access, the adversary system remains

unbalanced.

34

materials and evidence of the sort sought by the

Petitioner’s subpoena, the Compulsory Process Clause

may provide the answer.

Finally, it is worth noting that many of the

adversarial inequities found in our present day system

of justice exist because of the public’s acceptance of

grossly and disproportionately underfunded indigent

defense systems. Hope for reform seems dim when the

solution often depends on much greater expenditures of

public money to benefit a class of citizens with no

constituency amecng those who hold the purse strings.

However, utilizing the Compulsory Process Clause to

enforce pretrial access to information of the type sought

by this Petitioner can be accomplished with little cost,

as most of the records sought are already being supplied

to the prosecutor and will only require a secend copy for

the defendant. Making it easier for defendants to gain

timely access to relevant information can _ be

accomplished with little expense and will goa long way

towards restoring the equitable balance required for our

adversary system of justice to achieve “the ultimate

objective that the guilty be convicted and the innocent

go free.” United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. at 655.

CONCLUSION

For all of these reasons, this Court should grant

certiorari and hold that the Petitioner's Sixth

Amendment right to compulsory process and the right

to the effective assistance of counsel guarantees his

right to use a subpoena to compel a third party to

produce police investigatory reports and to obtain copies

35

of all non-privileged material prior to the preliminary

hearing.

Further, this Court should answer the question

left open in Ritchie, and determine whether the

guarantees of the Sixth Amendment Compulsory

Process Clause differ from those of the Fourteenth

Amendment, and, if so, whether the Sixth Amendment

may be a source of constitutionally protected discovery

for certain types of pretrial information in criminal

cases.

Dated this Ist day of July, 2008.

Respectfully Submitted,

BUTING & WILLIAMS, S.C.

Jerome F. Buting

Counsel of Record

Kathleen B. Stalling

Address:

400 N. Executive Dr., #205

Brookfield, WI 53005

(262) 821-0999 Fax: (262) 821-5599

Attorneys for Petitioner

36

No. 08-

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

RONALD SCHAEFER,

Petitioner,

v.

STATE OF WISCONSIN,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Wisconsin Supreme Court

APPENDIX

Jerome F. Buting

Counsel of Record

Kathleen B. Stilling

BUTING & WILLIAMS, S.C.

400 N. Executive Drive, Suite 205

Brookfield, WI 53005

262-821-0999

262-821-5599 (fax)

Attorneys for Petitioner

APP 1

2008 WI 25

No. 2006AP1826-CRAC

(L.C. No. 2006CF621)

STATE OF WISCONSIN : IN SUPREME COURT

State of Wisconsin,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

FILED

Vv.

APR 2, 2008

Ronald Schaefer,

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL from a nonfinal order of the Circuit

Court for Waukesha County, Ralph Ramirez, Judge.

Affirmed.

41 DAVID T. PROSSER, J. This case is before

the court on certification by the court of appeals

pursuant to Wis. Stat. § (Rule) 809.61 (2005-06).1 It

relates to an appeal from a nonfinal order of the

Waukesha County Circuit Court, Ralph M. Ramirez,

Judge. Judge Ramirez granted the State's (State)

motion to quash a subpoena duces tecum from

defendant Ronald Schaefer (Schaefer) that sought to

APP2

obtain police’ investigation reports in Schaefer's case

before his preliminary examination.

92 After permitting Schaefer's interlocutory

appeal, the court of appeals certified the following

question to this court: “Does a criminal defendant have

a subpoena right to obtain and copy police

investigation reports and nonprivileged materials prior

to the preliminary hearing?” This question requires

interpretation of several Wisconsin statutes as well as

the constitutional rights to compulsory process and

effective assistance of counsel.

93 We conclude that a criminal defendant does

not have a statutory or constitutional right to compel

production of police investigation reports and other

nonprivileged materials by subpoena duces tecum prior

to the preliminary examination. A criminal defendant

who employs the subpoena power in this manner is

attempting to engage in discovery without authority in

either civil or criminal procedure statutes and in

conflict with the criminal discovery statutes. Although

a reasonable argument can be made for prosecutors to

open their files to defendants at an early point in

criminal prosecutions, this argument does not

translate into an enforceable right to subpoena police

investigation reports and nonprivileged materials

before a preliminary examination. Consequently, we

affirm the order of the circuit court granting the State's

motion to quash Schaefer's subpoena duces tecum.

‘All references to the Wisconsin Statutes are to the 2005-06

version unless otherwise indicated.

APP3

I. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL POSTURE

944 The criminal complaint charged Schaefer

with two counts of second-degree sexual assault of a

child, contrary to Wis. Stat. § 948.02(2), for conduct

that allegedly occurred in 1990. The complaint was

signed by Detective Jennifer Toepfer (Toepfer) of the

Brookfield Police Department who asserted that she

took a statement about the alleged assaults from Kerry

M., DOB: 4/6/76, in March 2006 and then conducted an

investigation into Kerry's claims.

945 The complaint makes the following

allegations: Ronald Schaefer was a teacher and

basketball coach at a parochial school in Menomonee

Falls. Kerry was a student at the school. Schaefer was

Kerry's basketball coach when she was in seventh

grade. During the 1988-89 school year, Schaefer began

to focus attention on Kerry, complimenting her, telling

her that she “looked nice,” and giving her the nickname

“Special K.”

6 The next year, Schaefer became Kerry's

eighth grade teacher. Following his usual practice of

picking an eighth grade student to serve as a

babysitter for his children, Schaefer selected Kerry.

Toward the end of her eighth grade year and

continuing into the summer between March 1990

and August 1990 Kerry had a sexual relationship

with Schaefer.

47 Kerry described both her social and sexual

encounters with Schaefer over this time period. She

reported that Schaefer wrotc her notes and poems,

APP4

which she saved (and subsequently turned over to

Detective Toepfer). Schaefer kissed Kerry and told her

that he loved her. When the two called each other at

their respective homes, Kerry would hang up if

Schaefer's wife answered the telephone, and Schaefer

would hang up if one of Kerry's parents answered.

Kerry considered Schaefer her first boyfriend. Kerry

said that in May 1990 she and Schaefer discussed

running away together to Kentucky or Tennessee

because “it was ok to get married younger there.”

98 Kerry recounted how Schaefer touched her

physically and sexually on several occasions during

this period. His touching included hugging, kissing,

and performing oral sex on her. On one occasion, after

swimming, Kerry and Schaefer had sexual intercourse

on a bed at his parents’ home in Brookfield. On another

occasion, the pair had sexual intercourse in Schaefer’s

bed while Kerry was babysitting his two children.

Kerry had not attained the age of 16 years at the time

of any of these incidents and thus could not legally

consent.

49 In August 1990, the relationship between

Kerry and Schaefer ended when Schaefer told Kerry

that they could not see each other anymore because

Kerry was starting high school. Kerry later told the

detective that she was devastated because she thought

Schaefer was her boyfriend.

410 These allegations led the State to file a

criminal complaint on May 25, 2006, charging Schaefer

with two counts of second-degree sexual assault of a

child. The defendant made his initial appearance on

APPS

June 1. He posted bond and was advised to have no

contact with the victim. He made a second appearance

on June 19. At that time a preliminary hearing was

scheduled for July 20, 2006, before Waukesha County

Court Commissioner Martin O. Binn.

911 On July 10, Schaefer served a subpoena

duces tecum on the “Chief of Brookfield Police

Department or Designee,” commanding the person to

bring the following material before Commissioner Binn

on July 13, 2006: “A complete copy of all reports,

memorandums, witness interviews and any records

related to the investigation and arrest of Ronald

Schaefer on suspected criminal offenses relating to the

alleged sexual assault of Kerry M. DOB 4/6/76 in

1990.” The subpoena duces tecum characterized the

“Type of Proceeding” before Commissioner Binn as a

“Return of Records.”

412 On July 11, the State moved to quash the

subpoena. At a hearing on July 13, Commissioner Binn

granted the State's motion, indicating that after he

reviewed Chapters 805, 885, 970, 971, and 972 of the

Wisconsin Statutes, he considered the defendant's

subpoena a request for the circuit court to “rewrite the

discovery statute, [Wis. Stat. §] 971.23.” He also noted

that the preliminary examination is “not a mini-trial,

and [j not a discovery proceeding.”

"13 The defendant sought de novo review in

circuit court. On July 18 Judge Ramirez conducted a

hearing and concluded that there is no mechanism

under state statute or the Wisconsin or federal

constitutions that specifies that “discovery materials”

APP6

shall be produced before the preliminary hearing.

4/14 On July 19, 2006, Judge Ramirez entered an

order granting the State's motion to quash Schaefer's

subpoena duces tecum.

15 Schaefer filed a timely petition for leave to

appeal, and the court of appeals stayed further

proceedings pending appeal. See Wis. Stat. § 809.52.

4/16 On December 27, 2006, the court of appeals

certified the appeal to this court. We accepted

certification on February 12, 2007.

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

917 This case involves questions of statutory

interpretation and constitutional law. Statutory

interpretation presents a question of law that we

review de novo. State v. Floyd, 2000 WI 14, 411, 232

Wis. 2d 767, 606 N.W.2d 155. Similarly, we review

constitutional questions, both state and federal, de

novo. Custodian of Records for the Legislative

Technology Services Bureau v. State, 2004 WI 65, 46,

272 Wis. 2d 208, 680 N.W.2d 792.

Iii. ANALYSIS

4118 This is a discovery case, notwithstanding

the defendant's protestations to the contrary.

Schaefer's appeal asks this court to approve the

subpoena power to effect discovery in a criminal case

prior to the preliminary examination.

APP7

419 Schaefer does not claim to be seeking some

specific piece of information missing from the

complaint so that he can fully respond to the charges.

Rather, he is trying to force the State to disclose the

evidence against him before it has had an opportunity

to present any of that evidence in court. In effect,

Schaefer is asking this court to accommodate all felony

defendants who wish to conduct discovery of the state's

evidence before their preliminary examinations by

vesting these criminal defendants with a new discovery

tool. Schaefer's arguments that the state and federal

constitutions compel this result unreasonably stretch

the boundaries of compulsory process and

misapprehend the requirements of effective assistance

of counsel.

4/20 We acknowledge at the outset that the night

of an accused to present a defense is fundamental.

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14, 19 (1967). It is

embodied in the due process guarantees of the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments and in the Sixth

Amendment's command that the accused shall have

compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor.” Due process preserves an accused's right to

challenge the prosecution's case by obtaining evidence

tending to establish the accused's innocence or by

casting doubt upon the persuasiveness of the

prosecution's evidence.°*

*Wayne R. LaFave, et al., Criminal Procedure § 24.3(a), at 469

(2d ed. 1999).

"Id. at 470.

APP8

421 There are several ways for a criminal

defendant to gather information and evidence that may

be used in his defense. First, a defendant may request

information from the state and other sources on a

voluntary basis. A criminal defendant will often be

given information voluntarily when the custodian has

no objection to its release. Second, a defendant may

conduct his own investigation of the case through

interviews, record and data collection, and other lawful

investigatory techniques. In some situations, a person's

investigation will begin even before the person is

charged with a crime. Third, a person may use

information-gathering techniques such as open records

requests that are available to non-litigants. A person

is not disqualified from using these familiar procedures

simply because he becomes a criminal defendant.*

Fourth, a defendant may employ the subpoena power

at pretrial hearings to litigate specific issues, such as

“Wisconsin's open records law, see Wis. Stat. §§ 19.31—19.39,

does not preclude access to law enforcement records. However,

the right to access law enforcement records is not unqualified.

See e.g., Wis. Stat. §§ 19.35(1)(am), 19.36(2) and (8), 905.09,

and 905.10. Wisconsin Stat. § 905.09 provides:

Law enforcement records. The federal

government or a state or a subdivision thereof

has aé_e privilege to refuse to disclose

investigatory files, reports and returns for law

enforcement purposes except to the extent

avatlable by law to a person other than the

federal government, a state or subdivision

thereof. The privilege may be claimed by an

appropriate representative of the federal

government, a state or a subdivision thereof.

APP9

the suppression of evidence, and may also use the

subpoena power at trial. Pretrial hearings will have a

narrow focus; thus, the evidence sought must be

relevant to the issue being litigated and is not likely to

be admitted if it fails this test. Finally, a defendant

may exercise his discovery rights under the Wisconsin

Statutes.

422 Our Jegislature has codified specific

discovery rights for criminal defendants. See Wis. Stat.

§ 971.23 (listing mandatory disclosures for both the

district attorney and defendant). In theory, these

criminal discovery rights attempt to level the playing

field between the state and the accused. State v.

Maday, 179 Wis. 2d 346, 353, 507 N.W.2d 365 (Ct.

App. 1993). Clearly, a defendant has a right to obtain

evidence in the state's possession when that evidence

is material and exculpatory. See, e.g., Brady v.

Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963). The state must turn

over material that tends to negate the guilt of the

defendant or tends to reduce the defendant's

punishment. Nelson v. State, 59 Wis. 2d 474, 479, 205

N.W.2d 410 (1973).

423 Traditionally, however, statutory discovery

is designed to assure fairness at a criminal trial.

Discovery anticipates a trial at which a fact-finder

determines guilt. The court of appeals has stated that

“{plretrial discovery is nothing more than the right of

the defendant to obtain access to evidence necessary to

prepare his or her case for trial.” Maday, 179 Wis. 2d

at 354 (citing Britton v. State, 44 Wis. 2d 109, 117, 170

N.W.2d 785, 789 (1969)) (emphasis added). “Providing

a defendant with meaningful pretrial discovery

APP10

underwrites the interest of the state in guaranteeing

that the quest for the truth will happen during a fair

trial.” Maday, 179 Wis. 2d at 354-55 (emphasis added).

924 A preliminary examination is not a trial.

State _ex rel. Lynch v. County Ct., Branch III:

Cleveland, 82 Wis. 2d 454, 465-66, 262 N.W.2d 773

(1978). Its purpose is not to determine guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt. State v. Anderson, 2005 WI 54, 924,

280 Wis. 2d 104, 695 N.W.2d 731. Its purpose is merely

to determine if there is probable cause to believe that

the defendant has committed a felony. Wis. Stat. §

970.03(1). Hence, when a defendant issues a subpoena

with a broad demand for records before the preliminary

examination, he is trying to expand the scope of

statutory discovery and move it to a preliminary stage

of the criminal proceedings. At this early point, the

state has not settled on final charges, may not have

completed its investigation, and may not fully

understand the complexities of its own case. While the

preliminary examination often affords the defendant

new information and detail about the state's evidence,

this new information is a byproduct, not the objective,

of the preliminary examination.”

> 4 Wayne R. LaFave, et al., Criminal Procedure § 14.1(b), at

115 (2d ed. 1999). See also Whitty v. State, 34 Wis. 2d 278,

287, 149 N.W.2d 557 (1967) (recognizing that the preliminary

examination may be helpful to a criminal defendant and

noting its "incidental fringe benefits").

For an excellent discussion of the principle that the

preliminary examination should not be used for purposes of

discovery, see Desper v. State, 318 S.E.2d 437, 441-42 (W.Va.

APP11

4/25 This case presents an opportunity to address

the relationship between pretrial discovery and the

preliminary examination. We begin with a discussion

of the nature and purpose of discovery, as well as the

purpose and scope of the preliminary examination.

A. Discovery and the Preliminary Examination

26 We begin with discovery because of the

character of the information the defendant seeks.

Schaefer's “Subpoena and Certificate of Appearance”

uses Form 126. His document adds the words “Duces

Tecum” under the form's heading. The subpoena is

issued to “Chief of Brookfield Police Department or

Designee.” (Emphasis added.) It demands that the

“witness” bring “[a] complete copy of all reports,

memorandums, witness interviews and any records

related to the investigation and arrest of Ronald

Schaefer on suspected criminal offenses or relating to

his alleged sexual assault of Kerry M. DOB 4/6/76 in

1990.”

4/27 The expansive swath of Schaefer's subpoena

duces tecum and the subpoena's indifference regarding

which person should appear with the requested

information immediately raise questions about the

subpoena's purpose. Because Schaefer makes no

showing of a particularized need of information for the

preliminary examination, his demand to inspect law

enforcement files amounts to generalized, unrestricted

1984).

APP 12

discovery. This court decided in Lynch that giving

defendants the right to compulsory inspection of the

state's files before the preliminary examination will

impede the orderly process of discovery prescribed by

statute, unjustifiably delay the administration of

justice, and needlessly complicate the relatively

informal procedures of the preliminary examination.

Lynch, 82 Wis. 2d at 466.°

*“The facts in Lynch are instructive. Seven persons were

prosecuted in Dane County for feloniously delivering cocaine.

State ex rel. Lynch v. County Ct., Branch III: Cleveland, 82

Wis. 2d 454, 458, 262 N.W.2d 773 (1978). When the State's

first witness was cross-examined at the preliminary

examination, counsel for one of the seven defendants

demanded receipt of any exculpatory material contained in

reports prepared by the witness. Id. This demand came after

defense counsel had been unsuccessful in efforts to persuade

the court to order the witness to produce his reports on the

incident, despite the fact that he had not relied on his notes or

reports to refresh his recollection prior to his testimony. Id.

In response to this demand, the State offered to submit its files

for each of the seven defendants to the county court for in

camera inspection, thereby permitting the court to determine

whether exculpatory evidence was present. Id. The county

court responded that its review of the seven files would take

too Jong and would delay the preliminary examination, and it

ordered the district attorney to submit the files for inspection

by defense counsel. Id. On appeal, the county court's order was

prohibited by the circuit court, and this court upheld the

circuit court. Id.

From our review of the Lynch decision and the Lynch briefs, it

is obvious that defense counsel wanted access to the police

investigation reports contained in the files of the seven

defendants. Assistant Attorney General William Gansner

APP 13

428 The Wisconsin Statutes do not define the

term “discovery.”’ As a result, we must refer to other

authority.

{29 Black's Law Dictionary defines “discovery”

as “[t]he act or process of finding or learning something

that was previously unknown” and “[clompulsory

disclosure, at a party's request, of information that

relates to the litigation.” Black's Law Dictionary 478

(7th ed. 1999) (emphasis added). The first definition is

general; the second relates specifically to legal

proceedings. The California Supreme Court commented

on the difference in Arnett v. Dal Cielo, 923 P.2d 1, 10-

11 (Cal. 1996), in a discussion of civil discovery:

[The word “discover” can be used] in its general sense

of finding something out by search or observation....

argued successfully in his brief that the defendants were not

entitled to obtain the same reports via the county court's order

that they were unable to obtain “by normal evidentiary or

statutory discovery means.”

‘The Wisconsin Statutes describe the types of items subject to

discovery and various methods for effecting discovery. See Wis.

Stat. §§ 804.01(1) ("Discovery methods"), 804.01(2) ("Scope of

discovery"), 971.23 ("Discovery and inspection"). Matcrials

subject to discovery in civil cases are outlined in Wis. Stat. §

804.01(2)(a)-(d).

Similarly, Wis. Stat. §§ 971.2301) and 971.23(2m), respectively,

list disclosures required to be made by the district attorney

and the defendant in a criminal proceeding.

APP 14

[D]iscovery also has a specific legal

meaning, to wit, the formal exchange of

evidentiary information and materials

between parties to a pending action. The

two meanings of the word are well

recognized in the dictionaries. Thus a

leading legal dictionary first defines

“discovery” to mean, “In a general sense,

the ascertainment of that which was

previously unknown; the disclosure or

coming to light of what was previously

hidden.”. . . (Black's Law Dict. (6th ed.

1990) p. 466). But the same work also

defines the word [“discovery’] in its

specifically legal sense, as “[t]he pre-trial

devices that can be used by one.party to

obtain facts and information about the

case from the other party in order to

assist the party's preparation for trial,” .

.. Even nonlegal dictionaries draw this

distinction . . . “3. Law. Data or

documents that a party to a legal action

is compelled to disclose to another party

either prior to or during a proceeding.”

(Am. Heritage Dict. (2d college ed. 1985)

p. 403).

430 Discovery, in the legal sense, is

distinguishable from less formal information-gathering

techniques. Discovery is grounded in statute or court

rule, is designed to avoid unfairness and surprise in

litigation, and may be enforced by judicial orders and

sanctions. As a result, discovery, in the legal sense, is

subject to reasonable terms and limitations as to

APP15

timing, convenience, cost, methodology, privilege, and

purpose. This is especially true of discovery in criminal

cases, for criminal discovery operates on different

principles from civil discovery. In criminal discovery,

the stakes are different, the purposes are different, the

procedures are different, and the disclosure of

information is understandably not reciprocal.

4/31 The essence of “discovery” for purposes of

analysis here is “[clompulsory disclosure, at a party's

request, of information that relates to the litigation.”

Black's Law Dictionary 478 (7th ed. 1999). Schaefer's

subpoena duces tecum seeks to compel a law

enforcement agency to produce information and

material "relateld] to the litigation" before the

preliminary examination. Id. Hence, Schaefer is using

the subpoena duces tecum as a discovery tool.

432 We turn now to the _ preliminary

examination. There is no constitutional right to a

preliminary examination. State v. Williams, 198 Wis.

2d 516, 525, 544 N.W.2d 406 (1996). The right to such

an examination stems purely from statute. State ex rel.

Klinkiewicz v. Duffy, 35 Wis. 2d 369, 373, 151 N.W.2d

63 (1967). As noted above, Wis. Stat. § 970.03 provides

a preliminary examination for the specific purpose of

determining whether there is probable cause to believe

a felony has been committed by the defendant. Wis.

Stat. § 970.03(1).

{33 The independent screening function of the

preliminary examination serves as a check on the

prosecutorial power of the executive branch. An

accused has the option to assure that the hearing is

APP 16

scheduled expeditiously so that he may be discharged

quickly if the government cannot justify its right to go

forward. Klinkiewicz, 35 Wis. 2d at 373.

434 We examined the scope of the preliminary

examination in State v. Dunn, 121 Wis. 2d 389, 359

N.W.2d 151 (1984). We emphasized that a preliminary

hearing as to probable cause is not a preliminary trial

or a full evidentiary trial on the issue of guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt. Id. at 396 (citing State v. Hooper,

101 Wis. 2d 517, 544, 305 N.W.2d 110 (1981)). Rather,

the preliminary examination is “intended to be a

summary proceeding to determine essential or basic

facts as to probability.” Dunn, 121 Wis. 2d at 396-97.

“[A] preliminary hearing is not a proper forum to

choose between conflicting facts or inferences, or to

weigh the state's evidence against evidence favorable

to the defendant.” Id. at 398. The preliminary

examination is not a mini-trial on the facts; its purpose

is merely to determine whether there is sufficient

evidence that charges against a defendant should go

forward. See id.

135 Significantly, a defendant may present

evidence at a preliminary examination. Wis. Stat. §

970.03(5).2 He may call witnesses to rebut the

plausibility of a witness's story and probability that a

felony was committed. See Dunn, 121 Wis. 2d at 396-

“Wisconsin Stat. § 970.03(5) states: “All witnesses shall be

sworn and their testimony reported by a phonographic

reporter. The defendant may cross-examine witnesses against

the defendant, and may call witnesses on the defendant's own

behalf who then are subject to cross-examination.”

APP17

98. In this regard, the defendant must have

compulsory process to assure the appearance of his

witnesses and their relevant evidence.

36 However, a defendant's right to present

evidence at a preliminary examination is not

boundless. In State v. Knudson, 51 Wis. 2d 270, 187

N.W.2d 321 (1971), we held that Knudson's attempt to

call two witnesses the victim’s mother and the chief

of police———was an effort “to expose inconsistencies in

the accounts given by the victim to various people” and

impermissible at the preliminary examination. Id. at

280-81. After the victim testified to the factual basis

for the charge of child enticement, Knudson sought to

impugn the victim's credibility and, in the process,

“gain some valuable information for his defense” by

presenting contradictory testimony. Id. at 281. The

court described this as pretrial discovery beyond the

role of the preliminary examination. Id. See also State

ex rel. Funmaker v. Klamm, 106 Wis. 2d 624, 630, 317

N.W.2d 458 (1982) (observing that “possible

weaknesses in [the witness's] identification are matters

affecting .. . weight and credibility” and not subjects

for the preliminary examination).

937 Because the statutory purpose of the

preliminary examination is narrowly focused upon a

determination of probable cause, Wis. Stat. § 970.03(1),

a defendant's nght to present evidence at the hearing

is limited to “essential facts as to probability” that the

alleged offense occurred. Knudson, 51 Wis. 2d at 280

(citing State ex rel. Evanow v. Seraphim, 40 Wis. 2d

223, 228, 161 N.W.2d 369 (1968)). This means that

although a defendant may subpoena witnesses and

APP 18

evidence for the preliminary examination, see Wis.

Stat. §§ 973.03(5), 972.11(1), and 885.01, his subpoena

may be quashed, a witness may not be allowed to

testify, or evidence may be excluded if the defendant is

unable to show the relevance of the testimony or

evidence to the rebut probable cause.

438 When a defendant's subpoena duces tecum

seeks ali investigatory material in the possession of the

police, and the subpoena is returnable before the

preliminary examination, the subpoena is fishing for

elements of the state's case, see Knudson, 51 Wis. 2d at

280, and is not proper.

439 We do not see how Schaefer's subpoena

duces tecum aimed at securing “[a] complete copy of all

reports, memorandums, witness interviews and any

records related to the investigation and arrest of

Ronald Schaefer” can be viewed as a narrow attempt to

secure essential information to rebut the State's

showing of probable cause. (Emphasis added.) It is

plainly an attempt to effect discovery.

440 Tosummarize, we conclude that the purpose

of a preliminary examination is limited to an

expeditious determination of whether probable cause

exists for the state to proceed with felony charges

against a defendant. The limited purpose of the

preliminary examination does not permit a criminal

defendant to compel discovery in anticipation of the

hearing. Schaefer's subpoena duces tecum in the

instant case is an effort to effect discovery.

APPI19

B. Statutory Rights to Subpoena Evidence and to

Discovery in a Criminal Proceeding

4]41 Schaefer contends that the analysis above is

inconsistent with the broad subpoena power in the

Wisconsin Statutes. We disagree. Schaefer's subpoena

duces tecum is 1) not authorized by our subpoena

statutes, and 2) inconsistent with our criminal

discovery statutes.

442 The subpoena power is set out in multiple

statutes. For instance:

(A) Wisconsin Stat. § 757.01(1) provides that

courts of record shall have power “[t]o issue process of

subpoena, requiring the attendance of any witness, . .

. to testify in any matter or cause pending or triable in

such courts.”

(B) Wisconsin Stat. § 885.01(1) authorizes a

court to “require the attendance of witnesses and their

production of lawful instruments of evidence in any

action, matter or proceeding pending or to be examined

into before any court, magistrate, officer, arbitrator,

board, committee or other person authorized to take

testimony in the state.” This statute provides a court

with general power, at the behest of an attorney, to

subpoena both witnesses and documents. See

Wiseman, et al., 9 Wisconsin Practice: Criminal

Practice and Procedure § 24.11 (1996).

(C) Wisconsin Stat. § 805.07(1) provides that “fal

subpoena may also be issued by any attorney of record

in a civil action or special proceeding to compel

APP20

attendance of witnesses for deposition, hearing or trial

in the action or special proceeding.” (Emphasis added.)

Wisconsin Stat. § 805.07(2)a) states that “[a] subpoena

may command the person to whom it is directed to

produce the books, papers, documents or tangible

things designated therein.”

4143 As a general rule, Wis. Stat. § 972.11(1)

makes civil procedure statutes part of the criminal

code. The subsection provides that the rules of evidence

and practice in civil actions, including Wis. Stat. §

805.07, “shall be applicable in all criminal actions

unless the context of a section or rule manifestly

requires a different construction.” (Emphasis added.)

The subsection then adds: “Chapter[] 885 ... shall

apply in all criminal proceedings.” Wis. Stat. §

972.11(1).

4/44 Considered broadly, courts and attorneys of

record have the power to compel the attendance of

witnesses and the production of evidence by subpoena

in any proceeding. But, unlike present Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 45, Wis. Stat. § 805.07 appears to link

the production of documentary evidence with the

appearance and testimony of a witness.® This is

"Wisconsin Stat. § 805.07(2)(a) is based on Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 45(b) as it existed circa 1975. Patricia Graczyk,

The New Wisconsin Rules of Civil Procedure, Chapters 805-

807, 59 Mara. L. Rev. 671, 686 (1976). At that time, Rule 45

wedded the subpoena duces tecum with the subpoena ad

testificandum——the subpoena for witness testimony. David

D. Siegel, Practice Commentaries Fed. Rules Civ. Proc. Rule

45, 28 U.S.C.A at 355 (‘Under Rule 45 as amended in 1991, a

APP21

significant because Wis. Stat. § 805.07(1) authorizes a

subpoena for the attendance of a witness “for

deposition, hearing or trial.” Schaefer is asking this

court to establish an additional proceeding,

denominated by him as a “Return of Records,” that will

help the defendant prepare for his preliminary

examination without requiring any witness to testify.

Our criminal procedure statutes do not contemplate a

court proceeding to receive evidence preliminary to a

preliminary examination, and our civil procedure

statutes neither recognize nor compel such a

proceeding.

945 Wisconsin Stat. § 804.09, entitled

“Production of documents and things and entry upon

land for inspection and other purposes,” is the civil

procedure statute that most closely approximates what

Schaefer is trying to accomplish in this case. However,

§ 804.09(1) involves a “request,” not a “command,” and

subpoena duces tecum seeking the production of documents (or

other materials) from a nonparty may be used independently

of the regular testimonial subpoena; the two are no longer

wedded, as they were under the prior version of Rule 45.”)

(emphasis added).

Wisconsin modified Wis. Stat. § 805.07(2) in 1995 (effective

January 1, 1996) to add third-party subpoenas for discovery

purposes. Supreme Court Order No. 95-09, 195 Wis. 2d xiii

(1996). However, subsection (4) of Wis. Stat. § 805.07, which

creates the form for subpoenas and instructions on how to add

a subpoena duces tecum, was not amended: and we find no

evidence that the amended statute intended to break the

linkage found in the text.

APP22

§ 804.0911) is located in the chapter on “Civil

Procedure——Depositions and Discovery.” (Emphasis

added.) In short, no subpoena statute authorizes

Schaefer's action.

446 Schaefer's attempt to utilize the general

subpoena power for discovery prior to his preliminary

examination also conflicts with Wis. Stat. §§

971.31(5)(b) and 971.23. Wisconsin Stat. § 971.23 is the

criminal discovery statute. Wisconsin Stat. §

971.31(5)(b) provides explicitly that in felony actions,

“motions under s. 971.23 ... shall not be made at a

preliminary examination and not until an information

has been filed.” (Emphasis added.)

947 “[Glenerally where a specific statutory

provision leads in one direction and a general statutory

provision in another, the specific statutory provision

controls.” Marder v. Bd. of Regents of Univ. of Wis.,

2005 WI 159, 923, 286 Wis. 2d 252, 706 N.W.2d 110.

This principle of statutory interpretation aligns with

the important qualification in Wis. Stat. § 972.11(1)

that a civil practice applies to criminal procedure

“unless the context of a section or rule manifestly

requires a different construction.” Wis. Stat. §

972.11(1) (emphasis added).

48 Schaefer's statutory argument is that Wis.

Stat. § 972.11 allows acriminal defendant access to the

civil subpoena duces tecum power embodied in Wis.

Stat. § 805.07(2). He asserts that § 972.11 applies the

general subpoena power in Wis. Stat. § 885.01 to

criminal proceedings. He further contends that the

subpoena duces tecum constitutes a “judicial process

APP23

independent of discovery rules.” In view of this

argument, if we were to conclude that Schaefer was not

attempting to pursue discovery with his subpoena

duces tecum, we might have difficulty concluding that

his subpoena request was inconsistent with the timing

limitation in Wis. Stat. § 971.31(5)(b).°

449 Wisconsin Stat. § 971.23 sets out the state's

discovery obligations. Subsection (1) provides in part:

(1) What a district attorney must

disclose to a defendant. Upon demand,

the district attorney shall, within a

reasonable time before trial, disclose to

the defendant or his or her attorney and

permit the defendant or his or her

attorney to inspect and copy or

photograph all of the following materials

and information, if it is within the

possession, custody or control of the

statel[.]

Wis. Stat. § 971.23(1).

450 Paragraphs (a) through (h) of the statute

then outline the specific disclosures the district

attorney must make:

(a) Any written or recorded

statement concerning the alleged crime

made by the defendant, including the

"Wisconsin Stat. § 805.07(2)(b) refers specifically to

"discovery" with respect to a third party.

APP24

testimony of the defendant in a secret

proceeding under s. 968.26 or before a

grand jury, and the names of witnesses to

the defendant's written statements.

(b) A written summary of all oral

statements of the defendant which the

district attorney plans to use in the

course of the trial and the names of

witnesses to the defendant's oral

statements.

(bm) Evidence obtained in the

manner described under s. 968.31(2)(b), if

the district attorney intends to use the

evidence at trial.

(c) A copy of the defendant's

criminal record.

(d) A list of all witnesses and their

addresses whom the district attorney

intends to call at the trial. This

paragraph does not apply to rebuttal

witnesses or those called for

impeachment only.

(e) Any relevant written or

recorded statements of a witness named

on a list under par. (d), including any

audiovisual recording of an _ oral

statement of a child under s. 908.08, any

reports or statements of experts made in

connection with the case or, if an expert

APP25

does not prepare a report or statement, a

written summary of the expert's findings

or the subject matter of his or her

testimony, and the results of any physical

or mental examination, scientific test,

experiment or comparison that the

district attorney intends to offer in

evidence at trial.

(f) The criminal record of a

prosecution witness which is known to

the district attorney.

(g) Any physical evidence that the

district attorney intends to offer in

evidence at the trial.

(h) Any exculpatory evidence.

Wis. Stat. § 971.23(1)(a)-(h).

451 These mandatory disclosures should be

compared to Schaefer's subpoena demand: “A complete

copy of all reports, memorandums, witness interviews

and any records related to the investigation and arrest

of Ronald Schaefer on suspected criminal offenses or

relating to the alleged sexual assault of Kerry M. DOB

4/6/76 in 1990.” (Emphasis added.)

452 The demands in the defendant's subpoena

duces tecum clearly overlap the discovery materials

outlined in Wis. Stat. § 971.23. In some respects, the

subpoena demands exceed the discovery materials

authorized by the statute. Because the mandatory

APP26

disclosures outlined in § 971.23(1) include information

that iscustomarily found in police investigative reports

or similar records,"' we are hard pressed to distinguish

the defendant's subpoena duces tecum from a discovery

demand under Wis. Stat. § 971.23(1).

953 As noted above, Wis. Stat. § 971.31(5)(b)

provides that “[i]n felony actions, motions... under s.

971.23 . .. shall not be made at a preliminary

examination and not until an information has been

filed.” (Emphasis added.)

54 Schaefer's subpoena duces tecum arguably

is governed by the limitation on pretrial discovery

found in Wis. Stat. § 971.31(5)(b). Schaefer is seeking

discovery materials (police records). His subpoena

satisfies some of the criteria of a “motion.” See Wis.

Stat. § 971.30. The police chief's failure to honor the

subpoena would likely lead to “an application for an

‘Professor LaFave has noted that materials contained in

police reports equate with discovery:

Police investigative reports may fall in one or

more of several categories of discoverable

material. Where the report contains a recital of

the comments of a defendant, codefendant or

witness sufficiently complete to constitute a

recorded statement of that person, that portion

of the report may be subject to discovery under

the appropriate provision for recorded

statements.

4 Wayne R. LaFave, et al., Criminal Procedure § 20.3(k), at

879 (2d ed. 1999).

APP27

order” to comply. Wis. Stat. § 971.30(1). Black's Law

Dictionary defines “motion” as “A written or oral

application requesting a court to make a specified

ruling or order.” Black's Law Dictionary 1031 (7th ed.

1999). In effect, Schaefer has requested the circuit

court to order, pursuant to its subpoena power, the

Brookfield Chief of Police or designee to appear in court

with the documents requested. We think it makes little

sense to disregard the timing limitations on discovery

in Wis. Stat. § 971.31(5)(b) simply because Schaefer

does not rely on Wis. Stat. § 971.23, has tried to exceed

the scope of discovery in § 971.23, and has not labeled

his subpoena duces tecum as a “motion.” To say that

Schaefer's subpoena duces tecum is net a “motion”

elevates form over substance.

55 This case requires us to interpret several

statutes. “[T]he purpose of statutory interpretation is

to determine what the statute means so that it may be

given its full, proper and intended effect.” State ex rel.

Kalal v. Cir. Ct. for Dane County, 2004 WI 58, 944, 271

Wis. 2d 633, 681 N.W.2d 110. “[S]tatutory language is

interpreted in the context in which it is used; not in

isolation but as part of a whole; in relation to the

language of surrounding or closcly-related statutes;

and reasonably, to avoid absurd or unreasonable

results.” Id., 46. Statutes involving the same subject

matter “must be construed in a manner that

harmonizes them in order to give each full force and

effect.” Wis. Power & Light Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n

of Wis., 2006 WI App 221, 415, 296 Wis. 2d 705, 725

N.W.2d 423.

APP28

456 The plain truth is that if we permitted the

general subpoena authority to effect discovery in a

criminal case before the preliminary examination,

there would be nothing left of the limiting conditions in

Wis. Stat. §§ 971.23(1) and 971.31(5)(b). This would not

be “harmonizing” the general subpoena statutes with

the criminal discovery statutes.

957 Wisconsin Stat. § 971.23(1) requires a

district attorney to disclose discovery material “within

a reasonable time before trial.” Requiring the state’’ to

Schaefer argues that the Brookfield Police Department and

the district attorney are not a single entity; therefore, the

prohibitions on discovery in Wis. Stat. § 971.31(5)(b) are

inapplicable. This contention is not valid. Although separate

entities in fact, the Brookfield Police Department and the

district attorney's office are related for considerations of the

state's duty of disclosing evidence tocriminal defendants. This

court has stated that “[u]lnder (Wis. Stat.] § 971.23, the State's

discovery obligations may extend to information in the

possession of law enforcement agencies but not personally

known tothe prosecutor.” State v, DeLao, 2002 WI 49, 921, 252

Wis. 2d 289, 643 N.W.2d 480. As a result, we are reluctant to

treat the police department and the district attorney's office as

separate entities before an information is filed if they are

treated as inextricably linked for purposes of discovery after

the information is filed. Id.

The court of appeals came to a similar conclusion. In a case

involving the state's loss ofa tape recording ofa defendant, the

court stated:

We also reject the trial court's reasoning that

the actions of the police authorities in losing

the tape should not be visited upon the state as

APP29

disclose discovery material before the preliminary

the prosecuting entity. For purposes of the

criminal discovery statutes, we view an

investigative police agency which holds

relevant evidence as an arm of the prosecution.

In most criminal cases, the evidence against

the accused is garnered, stored and controlled

by the investigating police agency. Depending

upon local practice, many courts and district

attorneys entrust the custody and control of

such material to the police even after it has

been elevated to formal evidentiary status ina

criminal proceeding.

The trial court's reasoning would apparently

sanction the loss of relevant evidence only if

committed by the district attorney's office, but

not by the principal investigative agency. This

distinction is neither reasonable nor valid.

State v. Martinez, 166 Wis. 2d 250, 260, 479 N.W.2d 224 (Ct.

App. 1991) (footnote omitted).

More important than the link between police and prosecutor

for discovery purposes is the reality that the principal

documents of interest in the district attorney's file are the

police reports. These documents, which constitute a

comprehensive summary of law enforcement's investigation of

the alleged crime, normally serve as the basis for the criminal

complaint. The district attorney has never been required to

disclose the totality of law enforcement reports, only specific

pieces of information, especially exculpatory evidence. Here

the defendant demands the totality of law enforcement

records, putting his subpoena at odds with the criminal

discovery statute.

APP30

examination before the court has even authorized

a trial is plainly at odds with the statutory scheme.

This conclusion about timing is reinforced by the

language in Wis. Stat. § 971.31(5)(b) that discovery

motions “shall not be made at a _ preliminary

examination and not until an information has been

filed.”

458 Equally important, Wis. Stat. § 971.23 does

not require the state to turn over all the information in

its possession. For instance, Wis. Stat. § 971.23(1)(d@)

requires the state to disclose “[a] list of all witnesses

and their addresses whom the district attorney intends

to call at the trial. This paragraph docs not apply to

rebuttal witnesses or those called for impeachment

only.” If Schaefer were entitled to obtain by subpoena

duces tecum the names of all witnesses who have

surfaced in the police reports as well as their

statements, his need and the need of all

defendants for § 971.23 discovery would be

substantially reduced. Section 971.23(1) would then be

used primarily to make sure that the state discloses

any new information that it obtains and reveals its

trial strategy, i.e., what witnesses and physical

evidence the state plans to presert at trial and what

evidence it has decided not to present.

4592 It must be noted that the limitations on the

scope of discovery in Wis. Stat. § 971.23(1) may not

always prevail against a subpoena duces tecum after

an information is filed. We have previously implied

that a subpoena duces tecum may have to be honored

if the defendant shows a “particularized need” for

information in the possession of the state. See Lynch,

APP31

82 Wis. 2d at 466-68. That is not the case here. The

defendant has no statutory subpoena right to obtain

and copy police investigation reports and nonprivileged

materiais prior to his preliminary examination.

C. Constitutional Rights to Compulsory Process and

Effective Assistance of Counsel

"60 Schaefer also raises challenges under the

Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution

and Article I, Section 7 of the Wisconsin Constitution.

First, he argues that the rights to compulsory process

found in both of these constitutional provisions include

the right to access and copy police investigation reports

and nonprivileged materials prior to a preliminary

hearing. Second, he argues that his Sixth Amendment

right to effective assistance of counsel cannot be

satisfied without his attorney having access to these

materials before the preliminary examination.

"61 We address these challenges in turn and

conclude that Schaefer has no state or federal

constitutional right to obtain and copy police

investigation reports and nonprivileged materials by

subpoena prior to his preliminary hearing.

1. Right to Compulsory Process

62 The Sixth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides that the accused in a criminal

proceeding shall have the right “to have compulsory

APP32

process for obtaining witnesses in his favor.”’* U.S.

const. amend. VI. Similarly, the Wisconsin

Constitution provides that “liln all criminal

prosecutions the accused shall enjoy the nght.. . to

have compulsory process to compel the attendance of

witnesses in his behalf{.]” Wis. Const. art. 1, § 7.

Although this court has the prerogative to afford

greater protection to a criminal defendant under a

provision of the Wisconsin Constitution than is

mandated by an equivalent provision in the United

States Constitution, State v. Doe, 78 Wis. 2d 161, 171,

254 N.W.2d 210 (1977), the court tends to interpret

and apply equivalent provisions in the same manner.

‘The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution

reads as follows:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by

an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed;

which district shall have been previously

ascertained by law, and to be informed of the

nature and cause of the accusation: to be

confronted with the witnesses against him; to

have compulsory process for obtaining

witnesses in his favor, and to have the

assistance of counsel for his defence.

U.S. Const. amend. VI. The language of the Sixth Amendment

refers to “witnesses,” but the Supreme Court has held that the

Compulsory Process Clause also applies to documentary

materials. See United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 711-13

(1974). See also United States v. Hubbell, 530 U.S. 27, 54

(2000) (Thomas, J., concurring).

APP33

See State v. Agnello, 226 Wis. 2d 164, 180-81, 593

N.W.2d 427 (1999) (stating that “[w]here ... the

language of the provision in the state constitution is

‘virtually identical’ to that of the federal provision or

where no difference in intent is discernible, Wisconsin

courts have normally construed the state constitution

consistent with the United States Supreme Court's

construction of the federal constitution”).

63 In Washington v. Texas (1967), the Supreme

Court explained that the right to compulsory process is

plainly “the right to present a defensel.]” Washington,

388 U.S. at 19. The Court reviewed a criminal

defendant's Sixth Amendment challenge to two Texas

statutes that prohibited persons charged or convicted

as co-participants in the same crime from testifying for

one another, even though there was no bar to their

testifying for the state. Id. at 16-17. The Court held

that this statutory scheme violated the defendant's

right to compulsory process for obtaining witnesses at

trial:

The right to offer the testimony of

witnesses, and to compel their

attendance, if necessary, isin plain terms

the right to present a defense, the right to

present the defendant's version of the

facts as well as the prosecution's to the

jury so it may decide where the truth lies.

Just as an accused has the right to

confront the prosecution's witnesses for

the purpose of challenging’ their

testimony, he has the right to present his

own witnesses to establish a defense.

APP34

Id. at 19 (emphasis added). Thus, compulsory process

for securing favorable witnesses is “so fundamental

and essential to a fair trial that it is incorporated in

the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.” Id. at 17-18. “The right of an accused in

a criminal trial to due process is, in essence, the right

to a fair opportunity to defend against the State's

accusations. The rights to confront and cross-examine

witnesses and to call witnesses in one's own behalf

have long been recognized as essential to due process.”

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 294 (1973).

4/64 Twenty years after Washington, the Court

noted that it has “had little occasion to discuss the

contours of the Compulsory Process Clause.”

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 55 (1987). In

Ritchie, the Court reviewed Sixth Amendment claims

of a criminal defendant convicted of various sexual

offenses against his daughter. Id. at 39. The defendant,

Ritchie, sought pretrial discovery——via

subpoena——of ostensibly confidential records from

Children and Youth Services (CYS), a Pennsylvania

protective agency. Id. at 43. Ritchie claimed he was

entitled to review CYS's file to discover information

that might be useful in contradicting testimony

favorable to the state. Id. at 53. Because it noted that

'*“This paucity of compulsory process rulings is attributable

largely to the Court's decision to address initially under the

Due Process Clause claims that the government failed to assist

in identifying or locating defense witnesses, or improperly

interfered with the defense's use of subpoenas.” 5 Wayne R.

LaFave, et al., Criminal Procedure § 24.3(a), at 470 (2d ed.

1999).

APP35

defense counsel was able to cross-examine all trial

witnesses fully, the Court determined that the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court erred in holding that the

failure to disclose the CYS file violated the

Confrontation Clause. Id. at 54.

65 The Court then turned to the compulsory

process claim. The Court acknowledged that Sixth

Amendment applicability to discovery disputes was

unsettled; hence, it utilized a due process analysis. Id.

at 56. The Court said it had articulated “some of the

specific rights” secured by the Compulsory Process

Clause of the Sixth Amendment. Id. “Our cases

establish, at a minimum, that criminal defendants

have the right to the government's assistance in

compelling the attendance of favorable witnesses at

trial and the right to put before a jury evidence that

might influence the determination of guilt.” Id.

(emphasis added).

466 The Court was reluctant to establish an

unconditional discovery right under the Sixth

Amendment. Thus, it analyzed the case on Fourteenth

Amendment due process grounds. The Court concluded

that the Compulsory Process Clause “provides no

greater protections in this area than those afforded by

due process.” Ritchie, 480 U.S. at 56. Stated another

way, unless due process requires defense access to

specific evidence, the Compulsory Process Clause

cannot provide substitute authority for such access.

467 These comments by the Court point the

compass of the Compulsory Process Clause toward a

defendant's right to the compelled production of

APP36

evidence in anticipation of trial, not in anticipation of

a preliminary examination. Professor LaFave has

observed that “[tl]he Compulsory Process Clause

naturally suggests some constitutional entitlement to

trial evidence.” 5 Wayne R. LaFave, et al., Criminal

Procedure § 24.3(a), at 469 (2d ed. 1999) (emphasis

added).

"68 Thus, our holding in Lynch, founded upon

due process, applies here and circumscribes a criminal

defendant's compulsory process right to access the

state's files prior to his preliminary examination.

469 In Lynch, we held that, under the Due

Process Clause, a criminal defendant has no nght to

inspect the state's files for the existence of exculpatory

evidence prior toa preliminary examination. Lynch, 82

Wis. 2d at 465-68. The constitutional right to such

exculpatory material “is in the right to a fair trial

guaranteed by [due process].” Id. at 465 (citing United

States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 107 (1976); Brady v.

Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963)). We concluded:

Inspection of the state's files by the

defense at this early stage, where there

has been no showing of particularized

need for inspection, can serve only as an

opportunity for generalized, unrestricted

discovery, rather than as a device for the

constitutionally mandated disclosure of

specific exculpatory material. Such

discovery will impede the _ orderly

processes of discovery prescribed by

statute, see: secs. 971.23 to 971.25, Stats..,

APP37

and will circumvent the legislative

determinations reflected in those

statutes; will unjustifiably delay the

administration of justice; and _ will

needlessly complicate the _ relatively

informal procedures applicable at this

early stage of a prosecution. This harm is

inherent in the order of the county court.

Lynch, 82 Wis. 2d at 466 (footnote omitted).

70 We conclude that Lynch controls the

compulsory process challenge in the instant case.

There is nocompulsory process right to subpoena police

investigation reports and nonprivileged materials

before the preliminary examination.

4171 Schaefer asserts that if Lynch applies, he

has demonstrated a “particularized need” for access to

police records because of a “sixteen year delay in

charging and its consequent effect on memory.” We are

not persuaded. An extended period of time between

commission of the alleged offense and the filing of a

criminal complaint may provide justification for

subpoena access to police investigatory records under

extraordinary circumstances. See Lynch, 82 Wis. 2d at

466. However, in Schaefer's case, the criminal

complaint is sui“ciently detailed to allow him to

identify the complainant’’ and the alleged

'SAt his initial appearance, Schaefer was admonished not to

contact the viciim listed in the complaint. We have no record

evidence that Schaefer claimed inability to comply with this

condition because of uncertainty about the identity of the

APP38

circumstances of the charges and to prepare to rebut

the plausibility of the complainant's accusations and

probable cause. The lengthy span of time since the

alleged offenses will not incapacitate this defendant

from preparing for the preliminary examination, and

it does not justify the unbridled access to police

investigatory materials that the defendant seeks.

4/72 We note that this court has also addressed

compulsory process in the context of a circuit court's

subpoena ordering two newspaper reporters to appear

at a pretrial hearing regarding the identities of their

sources for several stories they wrote about a murder.

State ex rel. Green Bay Newspaper Co. v. Cir. Ct.,

Branch 1, Brown County, 113 Wis. 2d 411, 415- 16, 335

N.W.2d 367 (1983). We concluded that the circuit court

erred when it ordered in camera disclosure of the

reporters’ sources and held the reporters in contempt

for refusing to disclose this information. Id. at 429.

73 Weighing the defendant's rght_ to

compulsory process for witnesses in his favor against

the journalist's qualified nondisclosure privilege, we

recognized that “a criminal defendant does not have an

unqualified right to subpoena witnesses.” Id. at 420.

We observed that “[flor the constitutional right to

compulsory process to be invoked, a defendant must, if

the subpoena is challenged, show there is a reasonable

probability that the subpoenaed witnesses’ testimony

will be competent, relevant, material and favorable to

complainant.

APP39

his defense.” Id. at 420-21."°

4174 We went on to analyze the efficacy of the

circuit court's order requiring in camera disclosure of

reporter sources, concluding that the facts of the case

did not suggest a need for such disclosure. We outlined

a procedure for the circuit court to evaluate compulsory

process rights implicated by desired evidence based

upon whether “the evidence is necessary to the

defense.” Id. at 423. “Information is necessary to the

defense if it tends to support the theory of defense

which the defendant intends to assert at trial.” Id.

(emphasis added).

475 The Green Bay Newspaper case evaluated

compulsory process rights in terms of their relationship

to trial evidence. Inasmuch as a criminal defendant

does not have an unqualified right to require the

appearance of any and all persons as witnesses for a

trial, and a defendant's right to compulsory process at

trial must satisfy certain standards, see id. at 420- 21,

we conclude a fortiori that the compulsory process

rights of a criminal defendant at a preliminary stage of

the criminal proceedings also must be subject to

reasonable restrictions. See United States v. Scheffer,

523 U.S. 303, 308, (1998) (“A defendant's right to

present relevant evidence is not unlimited, but rather

is subject to reasonable restrictions.”). We have

‘See also United States v. Valenzuela-Bernal, 458 U.S. 858,

867 (1982) (observing that a violation of the Sixth Amendment

exists where the defendant is deprived of access to favorable

evidence that is "relevant... material... and vital” to his

defense) (citation omitted).

APP40

previously observed that “even though a defendant's

right to present certain evidence is constitutionally

protected, that mght may have to ‘bow to accommodate

other legitimate interests in the criminal trial

process.” State v. Pulizzano, 155 Wis. 2d 633, 653, 456

N.W.2d 325 (1990) (quoting Chambers, 410 U.S. at

295). In our view, there is a legitimate interest in

preserving the statutory scheme that prescribes

pretrial discovery limitations under Wis. Stat. §§

971.31(5)(b) and 971.23. Therefore, we decline to

expand a criminal defendant's compulsory process

rights to encompass a right to subpoena police reports

and other non-privileged investigatory materials ‘or

examination and copying in anticipation of a

preliminary hearing.

4176 Schaefer suggests that we adopt a procedure

in which Wisconsin circuit courts would review

subpoena duces tecum materials prior to the

preliminary examination to resolve disputes regarding

privilege, relevance, and materiality. He notes that

Illinois has adopted such a procedure, see People ex rel.

Fisher v. Carey, 396 N.E.2d 17 (Ill. 1979), and he urges

Wisconsin to follow suit.

477 We respectfully decline this invitation. In

Carey, the Illinois Supreme Court concluded that:

Subpoenaed material should be sent

directly to the court because the subpoena

is a judicial process or court writ,

whereas discovery is_ the parties’

procedure, a distinguishable concept

under our rules. .. . The court then

APP41

determines the relevance and materiality

of the materials, and whether they are

privileged, as well as whether the

subpoena is unreasonable or oppressive.

The State's attorney, of course, must be

fully aware of the records sought from the

investigative agency by the subpoena in

order for him to object.

Carey, 396 N.E.2d at 19-20 (citation omitted)

(emphasis added).’’

478 The underlined language implies that the

Illinois court established a proceeding before the

preliminary hearing

to hear objections and settle

evidentiary disputes, even though Illinois rules at the

time precluded the use of a subpoena to circumvent

formal discovery (which was not scheduled to go into

effect until “following indictment or information.”). Id.

at 19; see 58 Ill. 2d Rule 411, 65 Ill. 2d Rule 412(g).

The Carey court appears to have concluded that its

ruling was constitutionally required.

479 The Illinois Supreme Court's analysis is

clearly supportive of Schaefer's position. On the other

hand, the Illinois Supreme Court's analysis does not

square with subsequent decisions of the United States

Supreme Court, most notably Ritchie. The analysis

also conflicts with our decision in Lynch. The Illinois

In Wisconsin, criminal “discovery” is not entirely the parties’

procedure because the scope of discoverable materials is set

out in statute and compliance with the statute will be enforced

by the court.

APP42

court's heavy reliance on United States v. Burr, 25 Fed.

Cas. 30 (C.C.D. Va. 1807), is intriguing, but that

decision has no precedent’ al value for us because it is

not a decision by the United States Supreme Court,

and it predated modern discovery rules.

480 In United States v. Nixon, one of only a

handful of Supreme Court cases to discuss and apply

Burr, the Court commented that the subpoena duces

tecum “was not intended to provide a means of

discovery for criminal cases[.]” United States v. Nixon,

418 U.S. 683, 698 (1974). The Court construed the

federal subpoena duces tecum provision, Federal Rule

of Criminal Procedure Rule 17(c), as requiring, among

other things, that “the application [be] made in good

faith and [ ] not intended as a general ‘fishing

expedition.” Id. at 699.

{81 As an additional matter of public policy,

Schaefer notes that at least one county in Wisconsin,

Washington County, conducts a pretrial status hearing

where discovery material is customarily exchanged

prior to the preliminary examination. We acknowledge

the benefits that such an “open file” policy may produce

in terms of an increased number of defense waivers of

the preliminary examination as well as eventual guilty

pleas.'® As one commentator has observed, however,

‘The preliminary examination sometimes serves as a valuable

“educational process” for a defendant who is not persuaded by

his counsel's opinion that the prosecution has a strong case

and that, therefore, a negotiated plea is in the defendant's best

interest. 4 Wayne R. LaFave, et al., Criminal Procedure §

14.1(e), at 123 (2d ed. 1999). An “open file” may serve the same

APP43

“[tIhough some prosecutors maintain an ‘open file’

policy, granting defenders access to the prosecution's

case files, this is purely a policy choice on the

prosecutor's part, not a legal mght of defendants.”

David Luban, Are Criminal Defenders Different?, 91

Mich. L. Rev. 1729, 1738 (1993). No existing state

statute or compulsory process provision of either the

United States Constitution or the Wisconsin

Constitution commands the state to divulge the

entirety of police investigatory files to an accused

before an information has been filed against him.

82 Accordingly, we hold that Schaefer has no

right to subpoena police reports and other non-

privileged investigatory materials prior to his

preliminary hearing under either the Compulsory

Process Clause of the Sixth Amendment to the United

States Constitution or Article 1, Section 7 of the

Wisconsin Constitution.

2. Right to Effective Assistance of Counsel

{83 Finally, Schaefer contends that he is

entitled to subpoena police reports and other

investigatory materials to safeguard his right to

effective assistance of counsel, which also is

guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment to the United

purpose, provided the state's investigation is relatively

complete and persuasive. Requiring the state to expose proof

problems in its case is not the same as requiring it to turn over

exculpatory evidence.

APP44

States Constitution.’®

4/84 A defendant is entitled to the assistance of

counsel at all critical stages of prosecution. United

States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 224 (1967). In State v.

Wolverton, 193 Wis. 2d 234, 533 N.W.2d 167 (1995), we

adopted the view of the Supreme Court that a

preliminary hearing is a critical stage in the criminal

process. Wolverton, 193 Wis. 2d at 252 (citing Coleman

v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1, 9 (1970)). Consequently, every

defendant charged with a felony in Wisconsin is

constitutionally entitled to the assistance of counsel at

a preliminary hearing. Wolverton, 193 Wis. 2d at 253.

We also observed, however, that “[a]lthough the right

to counsel at a preliminary hearing is constitutionally

guaranteed, the right to a preliminary hearing is

purely statutory.” Id. at 253 n.11 (citing State _v.

Moats, 156 Wis. 2d 74, 83, 457 N.W.2d 299 (1990)).

This factor influences our analysis.

485 In considering Schaefer's right to effective

assistance of counsel at a preliminary examination, we

must keep in mind the narrow purpose of the hearing.

“(T]he limited scope of the preliminary hearing

"The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in pertinent part: “In all criminal prosecutions, the

accused shall enjoy the right to... have the assistance of

counsel for his defence.” This right to counsel has been applied

to the States through the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335

(1963). The right to counsel has been defined by the United

States Supreme Court as the right to effective assistance of

counsel. See United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648, 654 (1984).

APP45

compresses the contours of the sixth amendment.”

Wiseman, et al., 9 Wisconsin Practice: Criminal

Practice and Procedure § 8.12 (1996). “In particular,

the defendant's right to present evidence and cross-

examine the state's witnesses is severely limited by the

summary nature of the preliminary hearing.” Id.

486 Schaefer's argument is somewhat unusual

because he poses a prospective challenge to effective

assistance of counsel. Schaefer argues that his defense

counsel cannot be effective at a future preliminary

examination without access to police reports and other

similar materials, not that his counsel was ineffective

in the past for lack of access to such evidence. To

address Schaefer's position on the merits would require

this court to hypothesize, in the abstract, what actions

by defense counsel are necessary to preserve a criminal

defendant's right to effective assistance of counsel at a

preliminary examination. To adopt Schaefer's position

would require us to create a per se rule that defense

counsel is ineffective when counsel fails to subpoena

police reports and other similar materials prior to a

preliminary examination.

487 This court operates under the principles

adopted by the Supreme Court in Strickland v.

Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984). To establish a claim

of ineffective assistance of counsel under Strickland,

the defendant must demonstrate that: (1) defense

counsel made errors so serious that counsel was not

functioning as the “counsel” guaranteed to the

defendant by the Sixth Amendment; and (2) this

deficient performance prejudiced the defense so

seriously as to deprive the defendant of a fair trial, a

APP46

trial whose result is reliable. Strickland, 466 U.S. at

687.

4]88 The primary consideration on the first prong

is whether a reasonable basis existed for the lawyer's

conduct. State v. Rock, 92 Wis. 2d 554, 560, 285

N.W.2d 739 (1979). On the second prong, counsel] will

not be deemed ineffective unless the defendant is

prejudiced by the lawyer's action or failure to act. State

v. Felton, 110 Wis. 2d 485, 503, 329 N.W.2d 161 (1983).

Since Schaefer's Sixth Amendment challenge is

prospective, he must demonstrate that he would be

prejudiced per se by defense counsel's inability to

subpoena police reports prior to the preliminary

hearing. See, e.g., United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S.

648, 659-60 (1984) (noting that prejudice is presumed

where there is no “likelihood that any lawyer, even a

fully competent one, could provide effective assistance”

under a particular set of facts).

189 Schaefer cites State v. Harper, 57 Wis. 2d

543, 557, 205 N.W.2d 1 (1973), in which we said that

effective counsel “must be equal to that which the

ordinarily prudent lawyer, skilled and versed in

criminal law, would give to clients who had privately

retained his services.” In so holding, we expressly

approved of the 1971 American Bar Association Project

on Standards For Criminal Justice, Standards Relating

to The Prosecution Function and The Defense

Function, as a means of evaluating counsel's

performance. See Harper, 57 Wis. 2d at 557 n.8.

Schaefer places emphasis on ABA Standard 4.1:

4.1 Duty to investigate. It is the

APP47

duty of the lawyer to conduct a prompt

investigation of the circumstances of the

case and explore all avenues leading to

facts relevant to guilt and degree of guilt

or penalty. The investigation should

always include efforts to secure

information in the possession of the

prosecution and law’ enforcement

authorities. The duty to investigate exists

regardless of the accused's admissions or

statements to the lawyer of facts

constituting guilt or his stated desire to

plead guilty.

Harper, 57 Wis. 2d at 553 n.3 (emphasis added). He

argues that the Standard's use of the word “prompt,”

coupled with our comment that “[t]he lawyer who is

ignorant of the facts of the case incapacitates himself

to serve his client effectively,” id. at 553, should

persuade us to hold that police records must be

provided to defense counsel before the preliminary

examination to preserve the defendant's Sixth

Amendment rights.

{90 We cannot adopt Schaefer's argument.

Harper can be distinguished by the fact the case

concerned defense counscl's performance at trial, not

his investigatory acumen prior to the preliminary

examination. Id. at 551. ABA Standard 4.1, although

calling for defense counsel to “explore all avenues” and

“include efforts to secure information in the possession

of the prosecution and law enforcement authorities,”

does not compe! us to conclude that Schaefer's attorney

would be ineffective if he failed to procure police

APP48

investigative materials (including police reports) prior

to Schaefer's preliminary examination.

§91 An attorney's performance at the

preliminary examination does not define the level of

performance expected of defense counsel at later stages

of the proceeding. A “preliminary hearing is not a full

evidentiary trial and [] the purpose of a preliminary

examination is only to determine whether further

criminal proceedings are justified.” State v. Akins, 198

Wis. 2d 495, 512, 544 N.W.2d 392 (1996) (citing Taylor

v. State, 55 Wis. 2d 168, 172-73, 197 N.W.2d 805

(1972)). Given the limited scope and purpose of the

preliminary examination, a defendant's counsel may

waive the hearing entirely, or deliberately decline to

ask certain questions that would be relevant. We

cannot say that Schaefer's counsel would be hand-

cuffed and rendered ineffective by failing to procure

police reports prior to Schaefer's preliminary

examination.

492 Defense counsel is not barred from

conducting significant investigation into the case

before the preliminary examination to rebut the

plausibility of a witness's story and probable cause.

This investigation would likely be based on the details

in the compiaint and information supplied by the

defendant. In this case, nothing prevents counsel from

identifying and seeking to interview the complainant's

classmates and teammates, as well as Schaefer's co-

workers and family. We note that the failure of

classmates to corroborate the complainant's claim of

sexual assaults would not undermine the plausibility

of her story at the preliminary examination. Witness

APP49

statements that do corroborate the complainant's

claims are likely to be disclosed to the defendant before

trial.

193 Schaefer cannot reasonably argue that

information contained in March 2006 police reports

would offer indispensable information about the

complainant's story that is not stated or implied in the

May 2006 criminal complaint. The principal benefits to

be gained from review of the police investigation file

would be to determine the names of additional persons

whom the police interviewed and whether the police

had uncovered corroborating evidence. We cannot say

that Schaefer's defense counsel will be ineffective at

the preliminary examination without this information.

9494 Therefore, we hold that Schaefer has no

Sixth Amendment right, based on effective assistance

of counsel, to subpoena police reports and other non-

privileged materials prior to his’ preliminary

examination.

IV. CONCLUSION

495 We conclude that a criminal defendant does

not have a statutory or constitutional right to compel

the production of police investigation reports and

nonprivileged materials by subpoena duces tecum prior

to the preliminary examination. A criminal defendant

who employs the subpoena power in this manner is

attempting to engage in discovery without authority in

either civil or criminal procedure statutes and in

conflict with criminal discovery statutes. Although a

reasonable argument can be made for prosecutors to

APPSO

open their files to defendants at an early point in

criminal prosecutions, this argument does not

translate into an enforceable right to subpoena police

investigation reports and nonprivileged materials

before a preliminary examination.

196 Accordingly, we affirm the order of the

circuit court granting the State's motion to quash

Schaefer's subpoena duces tecum.

By the Court.—The order of the circuit court is

affirmed.

997 SHIRLEY S. ABRAHAMSON, Cu.

(concurring). The question presented is whether a

criminal defendant has a subpoena right to obtain and

copy police investigation reports prior to the

preliminary hearing.’

498 My answer to the question is “no,” and I

affirm the order of the circuit court. My answer is the

‘Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 970.03(5), the defendant has a

statutory right to subpoena witnesses to appear and to produce

relevant evidence at his preliminary examination. This right

to subpoena a witness at the preliminary examination is not

the right the defendant is attempting to exercise in the instant

case. The defendant is using the subpoena power in the instant

case to obtain evidence before the preliminary examination,

not at the preliminary examination.

APPS51

same as that reached by the majority opinion. I reach

this answer, however, by a shorter, more direct route

than that taken by the majority opinion. My route

avoids the majority opinion's case-stretching, law-

making, and almost entirely dicta-laden detour

through the fields of discovery and preliminary

examination in criminal cases.

499 The majority opinion appears to be more

interested in developing law about preliminary

examinations and discovery (both before and after an

information is filed) than in answering the question of

law posed by the instant case. | therefore do not join

the majority opinion.

{100 I reason as follows:

(A) No statute gives the defendant a

subpoena right to obtain and copy police

investigation reports prior to the preliminary

hearing.

(B) The defendant's’ claimed

constitutional rights of compulsory process and

effective assistance of counsel do not support the

defendant's right to a subpoena for police files

under the circumstances of the instant case.

(C) Although the defendant and the third-

party brief of amici curiae (the Office of State

Public Defender and the Innocence Project) raise

serious questions about the reliability and

fairness of preliminary examinations and trials

when a criminal defendant is not given access to

APP52

police records prior to the preliminary hearing,

I am reluctant to conclude that this case is an

appropriate one in which to rule, as a matter of

the inherent or superintending powers of this

court, that unless good cause exists, law

enforcement should give an accused access to

police reports before the preliminary

examination. The policy arguments of the

defendant and the amici do, however, deserve

further and serious attention, as the State's

brief suggests, from this court in its rule making

authority or from the legislature.

4/101 I do not address the question whether the

defendant may obtain the documents at issue by other

means such as a request made under Wisconsin's open

records law. The open records law is not raised in the

present case. We should not pre-judge issues that are

neither raised nor briefed and that may be pending in

other cases.” Unfortunately, in footnote 4, the majority

*The responsibility of law enforcement under the public

records law is not settled. See, e.g., Portage Daily Register v.

Columbia Co. Sheriff's Dep't, 2008 WI App 30,__—s- Wis. 2d ___,

___ N.W.2d ___ ‘no petition for review filed).

I do not cite this case for its holding or as precedent but as an

example showing that the responsibility of law enforcement

under the public record law is subject to dispute. In Portage

Daily Register, the court ofappeals concluded thatthe sheriff's

department had responsibility under the public records law

.ndependent of the responsibility of the district attorney. The

court of appeals further concluded that the _ sheriff's

department's denia! of a request to release a report on the

ground that a copy of the report had been forwarded to the

APP53

opinion weighs in on this unbriefed and unraised issue,

suggesting that the provisions of Wisconsin's open

records law are qualified by several provisions,

including Wis. Stat. § (Rule) 905.09.2 The majority

opinion misreads § (Rule) 905.09. Although § (Rule)

905.09 creates an evidentiary privilege regarding law

enforcement records, the rule explicitly states that this

district attorney's office and was part of an open investigation

did not state a sufficient legally specific policy under Wis. Stat.

§ 19.27 (2005-06).

In State ex rel. Richards v. Foust, 165 Wis. 2d 429,477 N.W.2d

608 (1991), this court held that although there is a

presumption that the public has a right to inspect public

records unless an exception is found, “the common law

provides an exception which protects the district attorney's

files from being open to public inspection.” Foust, 165 Wis. 2d

at 433-34. The decision in Foust did not address any question

pertaining to records in the possession of law enforcement

agencies.

Recently. Assistant Attorney General Mary E. Burke advised

the Brookfield Assistant Police Chief that the _ police

department's policy of refusing to release any police files that

have been forwarded to a prosecuting attorney is not permitted

under Wisconsin's public records law. The Brookfield Police

Department has apparently rejected this advice. See Amy

Rinard, Police Files Get Limited Protection, State Says,

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Online, Nov. 23, 2007, at

http://www.jsonline.com/story/index.aspx?id=689460 (last

visited March 20, 2008); Amy Rinard, Police Ignore Open

Records Advice, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Online, Dec. 7,

2007, at http://www.jsonline.com/story/index.aspx?7id=694473

(last visited March 20, 2008).

“Majority op., 21 n.4.

APP54

privilege does not apply “to the extent” that law

enforcement records are “available by law to a person

- other than the federal government, a state or

subdivision thereof.”* The Judicial Council Committee's

Note to the Supreme Court order establishing § (Rule)

905.09 explains that the evidentiary privilege for law

enforcement records “is qualified by the phrase ‘to the

extent available by law' to preserve the supremacy of

s. 19.21 permitting examination of public records and

documents.”° See 59 Wis. 2d R1, R142-43 (1973). It is

‘Wisconsin Stat. § (Rule) 905.09 provides in full:

The federal government or a state or a

subdivision thereof has a privilege to refuse to

disclose investigatory files, reports and returns

for law enforcement purposes except to the

extent available by law to a person other than

the federal government, a state or subdivision

thereof. The privilege may be claimed by an

appropriate representative of the federal

government, a state or a subdivision thereof.

°*The Judicial Council Committee's Note reads as follows:

This section has no direct parallel in the

proposed Federal Rule 509. A privilege for law

enforcement files and records is established by

this section. However, the privilege is qualified

by the phrase “to the extent available by law” to

preserve the supremacy of s. 19.21 permitting

examination of public records and documents.

The burden is upon the person claiming the

privilege to establish in a_ judicial

determination that the public. interest

jutweighs the right of a member of the public

APPS55

the open records law that qualifies § (Rule) 905.09, not

the converse as the majority opinion implies.

A

4102 The defendant relies upon Wis. Stat. §

885.01, a civil statute, to argue that his subpoena is a

judicial process authorized by statute. According to the

defendant, the civil subpoena statute applies to his

criminal proceeding under Wis. Stat. § 972.11(1).

Section 972.11(1) provides that the rules of evidence

and practice in civil actions shall be applicable in

criminal proceedings “unless the context of a section or

rule manifestly requires a different construction”

Furthermore, § 972.11(1) explicitly states, without any

qualification about the context of a section or rule, that

chapter 885 “shall apply in all criminal proceedings.”®

to have access toclaimed privileged material in

the fashion prescribed in State ex rel. Youmans

v. Owens, 28 Wis. 2d 672, 137 N.W.2d 470, 139

N.W.2d 241 (1965), and Beckon v. Emery, 36

Wis. 2d 510, 153 N.W.2d 501 (1967). Normally,

the “appropriate representative” to make the

claim will be counsel, however, it is possible

that disclosure of the privileged material will

be sought in proceedings to which the

government, state or subdivision, as the case

may be, is not a party. Under these

circumstances, effective implementation of the

privilege requires that other representatives be

considered “appropriate.”

*Section 972.11(1) provides in relevant part as follows:

APPS6

The subpoena statute, § 885.01, is part of chapter 885.

Even if one reads § 972.11(1) as applying chapter 885

“unless the context of a section or rule manifestly

requires a different construction,” the context of §

885.01 does not “manifestly require” a different

construction” in the instant case. J therefore turn to §

885.01.

4103 Statutory interpretation in the present

case begins with the text of Wis. Stat. § 885.01.

Unfortunately, the majority opinion is fairly well along

before it cursorily examines the subpoena statute at

9941-44,

4]104 Wisconsin Stat. § 885.01(1) provides that

a subpoena may be issued to require the attendance of

witnesses and their production of lawful instruments

of evidence in “any action, matter or proceeding or to

be examined into before [enumerated persons] or other

person authorized to take testimony in the state.”

Section 885.01(1) provides in full as follows:

885.01. The subpoena need not be sealed,

and may be signed and issued as follows:

Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4) fon which

no one relies in the present casel, the rules of

evidence and practice in civil actions shall be

applicable in all criminal proceedings unless

the context of a section or rule manifestly

requires a different construction. ... Chapters

8&5 to 895 and 995, except ss. 804.02 to 804.07

and 887.23 to 887.26, shall apply in all criminal

proceedings.

APP57

(1) By any judge or clerk of a court or

court commissioner or municipal judge,

within the territory in which the officer or

the court of which he or she is the officer

has jurisdiction, to require the attendance

of witnesses and their production of

lawful instruments of evidence in any

action, matter or proceeding pending or to

be examined into before any court,

magistrate, officer, arbitrator, board,

committee or other person authorized to

take testimony in the state.’

4105 Section 885.02 prescribes the form of the

subpoena, including a subpoena requiring the

production of evidence.

{106 The defendant used the standard court

form for subpoenas adopted pursuant to Wis. Stat. §

(Rule) 971.025 by the Judicial Conference under §

(Rule) 758.18(1). The standard court form for

subpoenas is substantially the same as the form for

subpoenas prescribed in § 885.02.

4107 The subpoena was issued by the clerk of

circuit court of Waukesha County.® The subpocna

*See also Wis. Stat. § 757.01(1) empowering courts of record of

this state to issue “process of subpoena, requiring the

attendance of any witness... .”

®Clerks of court may sign subpoenas in blank and deliver them

to attorneys for completion. Such a subpoena has the same

force and effect as if perfected by the clerk. Wis. Stat. § 757.35.

APP58

requires the witness named (here the chief of police) to

appear and give evidence at the type of proceeding

described in the subpoena (here the proceeding was

simply denominated a “Return of Records”).’ A copy of

the subpoena is attached.

4108 The defendant's subpoena does not satisfy

the applicable statutes because the subpoena did not

require the Brookfield police chief, in the words of Wis.

Stat. § 885.01(1), to attend an "action, matter or

proceeding pending or to be examined into before" the

court. The Return of Records proceeding set forth in

the subpoena is not a proceeding known in this state

and is not described in the subpoena or briefs. Defense

counsel explained in the circuit court that rather than

have the subpoenaed records delivered to her office (a

procedure for which she cites no authority), she used

the subpoena to raise before the circuit court the legal

issue of whether she could obtain the records by

subpoena and expected the State to move to quash the

subpoena.

4109 The defendant does not cite any statute

providing for any court proceeding in which a criminal

defendant or his or her attorney receives a witness's

testimony or documents in or out of court prior to the

°A box on the subpoena describing the subpoena as a third

party subpoena under Wis. Stat. § 805.07(2) was not checked.

Nevertheless, throughout his brief the defendant refers to the

subpoena as a third-party subpoena to compel the production

of police investigatory reports and to obtain copies of all

nonprivileged material prior to the preliminary examination.

APPS9

preliminary examination. The defendant nevertheless

argues that a witness or evidence may be subpoenaed

for the sole purpose of producing documents prior to

the preliminary examination. I disagree with the

defendant under the circumstances of the present case.

110 The defendant's subpoena in the present

case seeking documents from a potential witness does

not command the witness “to attend an action, matter

or proceeding pending or to be examined into before”

the commissioner or court under Wis. Stat. § 885.01(1)

to be held on July 13, 2006. No hearing was to take

place on July 13, 2006. Defense counsel obtained a

return date for purposes of completing the subpoena

form, but no hearing at which the witness was to

appear and testify was scheduled. The circuit court

recognized this flaw in the subpoena demand,

observing, “I am asked here today .. . to in essence

create some type of new beast, some new creature not

provided by the statute ... whether we call it a return

of records or a review of records or production of

records.”’°

{111 No _ witness's testimony or lawful

instrument of evidence, whether provided by the police

chief or any other witness, was required in the Return

of Records proceeding. The court commissioner was not

The majority opinion explains the “Return of Records”

proceeding similarly as follows: “Schaefer is asking this court

to establish an additional proceeding, denominated by him as

a ‘Return of Records,’ that will help the defendant prepare for

his preliminary examination without requiring any witness to

testify.” Majority op., 444.

APP60

to consider any matter in respect to which the

Brookfield police chief might have supplied relevant

testimony or produced relevant evidence. The sole

apparent purpose of the Return of Records proceeding,

according to the defendant, was to determine the

validity of the defendant's demand that there be a

transfer of information and documents from the

Brookfield police chief to the defendant and to transfer

the information and documents to the defendant if the

court determined that the defendant's demand was

valid.

9112 The majority opinion interprets the

subpoena statutes as J de and concludes as I do: “In

short, no subpoena statute authorizes Schaefer's

action.” Majority op., 945."

4/113 Nevertheless the majority opinion marches

onward. Not satisfied with its holding that the

‘Furthermore, Wis. Stat. § (Rule) 805.07(1) does not

authorize the defendant's subpoena in the present case.

Section (Rule) 805.07(1) provides that “[a] subpoena may also

be issued by any attorney of record in a civil action or special]

proceeding to compel attendance of witnesses for deposition,

hearing or trial in the action or special proceeding... .” The

subpoena in the present case was not issued by an attorney of

record. It was issued by the clerk of the circuit court.

In any event, the subpoena in the present case did not direct

the police chief to appear to testify at a deposition, hearing, or

trial. The Return of Records was not a deposition, hearing, or

trial at which the police chief's testimony was to be given.

APP61

defendant has no statutory authority for the subpoena,

the majority opinion embarks upon a confusing and

ultimately fruitless discussion of the criminal discovery

statutes, §§ 971.23 and 971.35(5)(b), declaring that the

defendant's subpoena is “inconsistent with our criminal

discovery statutes.” See majority op., 441.

4/114 Interestingly, the defendant lays no claim

to a discovery right under either the criminal discovery

statute, § 971.23, or the civil statutes, Wis. Stat. §§

804.01(2) and 804.09, to obtain the materials

demanded in his subpoena. I agree with the defendant

that neither the civil discovery statutes nor § 971.23,

entitled “Discovery and inspection,” applies in the

present case to authorize the subpoena.

91115 Nevertheless the majority devotes almost

one-half of its opinion to analyzing our criminal

discovery statutes and the nature and purpose of

discovery in general. See majority op., /118-40, 46°59.

The majority opinion’s lengthy liscussion of the

criminal discovery statute, Wis. Stat. § 971.23, in

relation to the present case, ignores the text of § 971.23

and related statutes and will likely confuse the law.

9116 The text of Wis. Stat. § 971.23 is cleariy

not applicable to the instant case. The defendant is

clearly correct in not trying to rely on § 971.23, and the

majority opinion clearly errs in reaching out to apply

the criminal discovery statutes to the present case.

4/117 First, motions for discovery under § 971.23

may be made only after the information is filed. See §

971.31(5)(b). The subpoena in the present case is not a

APP62

motion (although the majority opinion at 954 nearly

declares the subpoena a motion).’* Moreover, no

information has been filed in the present case.

9118 Second, Wis. Stat. § 971.23 governs

discovery and the district attorney. It governs what a

district attorney shall disclose to a criminal

defendant.'® The present case involves disclosure by a

?<~Miotion” means an application for an order.” Wis. Stat. §

(Rule) 971.30(1). The defendant's subpoena is not an

application for an order. The subpoena made direct demands

of the Brookfield police chief, ostensibly pursuant to statutory

authority. The subpoena did not request that a court make

demands of the police chief.

The majority opinion concedes that the defendant's subpoena

satisfies only “some of the criteria of a ‘motion.” Majority op.,

54. Yet even this weak assertion is plainly incorrect. The

majority opinion does not actually identify any “criteria ofa

‘motion” satisfied by-the defendant's subpoena but instead

notes only that “[t]he police chief's failure to honor the

subpoena would likely lead to” a motion from the defendant.

Majority op., 454.

With the significant qualification that the holding applies

only “where there has been no showing of particularized need

for inspection,” this court held in State ex rel. Lynch v. County

Court, 82 Wis. 2d 454, 464-66, 262 N.W.2d 773 (1978), that a

defendant does not have a “general right to peruse the

prosecutor's files” at the preliminary examination.

During a preliminary examination for seven different

defendants, defense attorneys in the Lynch case made a

general demand for all exculpatory material in the possession

of the district attorney. Lynch, 82 Wis. 2d at 458. The circuit

court responded by permitting each defendant's attorney to

APP63

police chief to the defendant. Nothing in the text of §

971.23 governs disclosure by law enforcement agencies

to a criminal defendant.

4119 The majority opinion ignores the plain

language of Wis. Stat. § 971.23 governing district

attorneys and toys with the idea of adding the words

“law enforcement officers” to § 971.23, asserting in a

footnote that this court is “reluctant to treat the police

department and the district attorney's office as

separate entities” for purposes of § 971.23(1) because

the police and the district attorney are “related” for

purposes of this statute.'"* The majority does not

explain why the relationship between the two separate

entities for purposes of a statutory provision does not

mean simply that the two entities should be treated as

separate but related entities for purposes of the

statute.

41120 The majority opinion errs in musing that

law enforcement and the district attorney perhaps may

be treated as one. In our system of government, law

enforcement and the district attorney's office are two

separate entities, with separate functions and subject

to different codes of conduct, although the two often

review the district attorney's entire file regarding his or her

chent. Lynch, 82 Wis. 2d at 458. The facts of Lynch did not

involve, and the Lynch court did not address, the question of

a defendant's right to obtain records from a law enforcement

agency.

'SMajority op., 957 n.12.

)

APP64

work together.’° TV's Law & Order gets it right: “In the

criminal justice system, the people are represented by

two separate yet equally important groups: the police,

who investigate crime, and the district attorneys, who

prosecute the offenders.” The legislature has treated

these separate entities differently in the criminal

discovery statutes, using Wis. Stat. § 971.23 to govern

defendants' rights against district attorneys. Section

971.23 does not govern the question of defendants'

similar rights against law enforcement agencies. This

court should not, as the majority opinion appears to do,

disturb the relationship of law enforcement and district

attorneys in the Wisconsin criminal justice system.*®

Law enforcement's task is to objectively gather all the

evidence in pursuit of the truth, rather than to attempt to hone

in early on a suspect and build a case against him or her.

Tunnel vision by law enforcement, that is, incomplete

investigation and premature concentration on one suspect, has

been shown to lead to wrongful convictions. See Keith A.

Findley & Michael S. Scott, The Multiple Dimensions of

Tunnel Vision in Criminal Cases, 2006 Wis. L. Rev. 291.

For a chilling non-fiction description of non-objective police

investigation resulting in an innocent person being convicted

and sentenced to death, see John Grisham, The Innocent Man

(2006).

‘As a result of the majority opinion, are police departments as

well as district attorneys obliged to turn over, upon a

defendant's request after the information is filed, all the

materials and information set forth in Wis. Stat. § 971.23?

The majority opinion cites State v. DeLao, 2002 WI 49, 421,

252 Wis. 2d 289, 643 N.W.2d 480, for the undisputed

proposition that under Wis. Stat. § 971.23, “the State's

(we «et =

‘

discovery obligations may extend to information in the

possession of law enforcement agencies but not personally

known to the prosecutor.” See majority op., 457 n.12. The fact

that § 971.23(1) imposes upon the district attorney an

obligation to disclose information in the possession of law

enforcement agencies plainly does not mean that § 971.23(1)

governs what law enforcement agencies must disclose to a

defendant. The DeLao court explained its decision as follows:

“Put another way, under certain circumstances, the knowledge

of law enforcement officers may be imputed to the prosecutor.

... The test ... [is] whether by the exercise of due diligence

[the prosecutor] should have discovered it.” State v. DeLao,

2002 WI 49, $9 21-22, 252 Wis. 2d 289, 643 N.W.2d 480 (quoted

source omitted). DeLao does not support the position that in

referring to the “district attorney” in § 971.23, the legislature

intended to refer to both the “district attorney” and “the

police.”

State v. Martinez, 166 Wis. 2d 250, 260, 479 N.W.2d 224 (Ct.

App. 1991), cited in DeLao and in n.12 in the majority opinion,

does not support the position that the reference in Wis. Stat.

§ 971.23 is a reference to bo’ the district attorney and the

police. Martinez is a “good -ause” case under the discovery

statute. In Martinez, the law enforcement agency, not the

prosecutor, had control over a tape. The court of appeals noted

that many courts and district attorneys entrust the custody

and control of evidence to the police even after it has been

elevated to formal evidentiary status in acriminal proceeding.

The State had no explanation of how the tape that was

requested by the prosecutor (in response to defense counsel's

request for discovery) was lost after it was deposited at the

front desk of the sheriff's department. The State admitted that

it had failed to advise defense counsel that the tape was

awaiting him at the front desk. Martinez stands for the

proposition that when the State concedes that the requested

information was lost, it has the burden under the criminal

discovery statute to show that the State had good cause for its

ADnNnNZs

4121 The majority opinion twists and bends to

avoid the plain language of the discovery statute as the

text of the statutes proves inconvenient to the

majority's unclear theses about discovery in criminal

cases. Because the majority opinion's analysis is so

badly at odds with the plain language of the criminal

discovery statutes, the majority cannot bring itself to

reach any actual holding regarding what the criminal

discovery statutes m

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.