Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New York v. Hall (No. 07-1568)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

NEW YORK,

Petitioner,

- VETSUS

AZIM HALL,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT M. MORGENTHAU

Distnct Attomey

New York County

MARK RYAN DWYER*

ERIC S. ROSEN

VINCENT RIVELLESE

Assistant District Attomeys

New York County

District Attorney's Office

One Hogan Place

New York, New York 10013

(212) 335-9000

* Counsel of Record for the Petitioner

JUNE 13, 2008

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the Fourth Amendment permit the

police to conduct warrantless strip and visual body

cavity searches incident to arrest, for the purpose of

finding and preserving concealed evidence of the

crime?

2. In Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757

(1966), this Court ruled that the Fourth Amendment

prohibited warrantless “intrusions into the human

body” absent a “clear indication” that evidence would

be recovered and exigent circumstances justifying

the warrantless search. Here, after arresting

respondent for the felony sale of narcotics, police

ordered him to remove his clothes and bend over for

a visual inspection of his anus. When he did so, the

officers noticed a string protruding from his rectum.

The police pulled this string, which was attached to

a bag of crack cocaine secreted inside that cavity.

However, the police never touched, probed, or

entered into respondent's rectum in any way. Did

this search and seizure constitute an intrusion into

the body requiring a warrant under Schmerber?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ......... . ene

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .00.00......cccccccsccessseseseeees iv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI............ 1

TS ee !

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION o.0......ccccesseescse: 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ....... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......00000.........ceeseeeceeeee: 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. AS THE SPLINTERED DECISION OF

THE NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS

QUITE FAIRLY INDICATES, WHETHER

THE FOURTH AMENDMENT PERMITS

WARRANTLESS STRIP AND VISUAL

BODY CAVITY SEARCHES OF

ARRESTEES TO RECOVER EVIDENCE

OF A CRIME IS A DIFFICULT AND

IMPORTANT QUESTION THAT

REQUIRES RESOLUTION BY _ THIS

ae gh oeeuss sanncensedscsssacndeccosswnedecnees 10

2. IN HOLDING THAT THE POLICE

INTRUDED INTO RESPONDENT'S

BODY BY PULLING ON THE STRING

PROTRUDING FROM HIS RECTUM --

1

AND THEREFORE THAT A WARRANT

WAS REQUIRED UNDER SCHMERBER

V. CALIFORNIA -- THE MAJORITY

OPINION OF THE NEW YORK COURT

OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH THAT

OF OTHER COURTS NATIONWIDE.

MOREOVER, THAT OPINION CREATES

A DANGEROUS LEGAL STANDARD

THAT CONTRAVENES THIS COURT'S

CONTROLLING PRECEDENT. .......0000 26

CN es evnicatbentidepeanantin 39

APPENDIX (separate volume)

Opinion of the New York Court of Appeals........... la

Opinion of the New York Appellate Division...... 38a

Opinion of the New York Supreme Court ........... 48a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Amaechi v. West, 237 F.3d 356

(4th Cir. 2001) 12, 17, 25, 29

Archuleta v. Wagner, 523 F.3d 1278

i ss ped scsi pe oacnasaewcxecaioonts 15, 18-19

Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) 6-7, 13-26

Boren v. Deland, 958 F.2d 987

a daluwincugndcpawesinnwebs y's"

Brigham City, Utahv. Stuart, 547 U.S. 398

(2006)

Campbell v. Miller, 499 F.3d 711

Pe BE ao cin owlumnneen 15, 18-19

Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969)............... 11

Evans v. Stephens, 407 F.3d 1272

Sie i 1 REE Sete 15, 18-20

‘uller v. M.G. Jewelry, 950 F.2d 1437

(9th Cir. 199]) ......................... Se er ee 9, 20-22, 30

Guiles v. Ackerman, 746 F.2d 614

(9th Cir. 1984)

Harden v. Flowers, 2003 U.S. Dist. Lexis 7213

(N.D. Hl. 2003)......... Cie POPE ONT BM tte Oe EP ET ROE 19

Henry v. Ryan, 775 F. Supp. 247

nc hoa Sh ge 31

1V

Horton v. California, 496 U.S. 128 (1990) .......0....... 36

Illinois v. Lafayette, 462 U.S. 640 (1983)....... 3, 12-13

In re- Shaddie Clark Shabazz, 200 F. Supp. 2d

ps SI ois cath scntnsccbiosmebicieabeemmisaiakec ne 31

Jones v. Edwards, 770 F.2d 739 (8th Cir. 1985) ...... 15

Justice v. Peachtree City, 961 F.2d 188

a 16, 20

Kennedy v. Los Angeles, 901 F.2d 702

ne i oe 2

Knowles v. Iowa, 525 U.S. 113 (1997) ............... 11, 14

Liston v. Steffes, 300 F. Supp. 2d 742

en ae 19

Mary Beth G. v. City of Chicago, 723 F.2d

bo Ee Se eee is. 27.2%

Maryland v. Bure, 494 U.S. 325 (1990)... 24

Masters v. Crouch, 872 F.2d 1248

I ee ea ee 15

New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454 (1981) ................ 37

Richmond v. City of Brooklyn, 490 F.3d 1002

er I ae ee 18-20

Salinas v. Breier, 695 F.2d 1073

to: ¢o eA Ceuenineenaneen Sa Fs 22

Sarnicola v. County of Westchester, 229 F.

ee ee Sk a: 18

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757

SERGI SS WSR ne Riek Gone ne ee passim

State v. Himmelwright, 551 F.2d 991

ao oo a schvmdiyensenin sovaes 32

Swain v. Spinney, 117 F.3d 1

ee cocsaukusus 12, 18-20, 25

United States v. Allen, 337 F. Supp. 1041

I ME gcd iccrivchtacijavernsendivesarsetsiaassvrenhi' 30

United States v. Barnes, 506 F.3d 58

a ci aag ii dousraiciesvebn 15

United States v. Cameron, 538 F.2d 254

I i a cvocaneueseiai 29

United States v. Cofteld, 391 F.3d 334

I IE eae ee 16, 20

United States v. Edwards, 415 U.S. 800 (1974).11-12

United States v. Elk, 676 F.2d 379

et eden te ta 30

United States v. Ford, 232 F. Supp. 2d 625

I ee asl oi caensh vvawikaabes’ 17

United States v. Holtz, 479 F.2d 89

cd 6 ee | ee OR TE

United States v. Klein, 522 F.2d 296

ge ARERR ere nga tenants ee ne een ee 12

United States v. Nelson, 36 F.3d 758

I oe ae 29

United States v. Nicolosi, 885 F. Supp. 50

I ce a se vedo 31

United States v. Oyekan, 786 F.2d 832

a i ayuinsalntunths 29

United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218

(A EN EON Ne ten ROPE SIEF 2, 11-12, 14 24

United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982)............. 37

United States v. Williams, 477 F.3d 974

NN i ae rca ideale eeacreawel 16, 20

Watt v. Richardson Police Dep't, 849 F.2d 195

SPO III i ctiakais se nicanoad essa abyaon eiiveainioobien 15

Weber v. Dell, 804 F.2d 796 (2d Cir. 1986) ......... 7,15

Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1983).............ceeee 29

STATE CASES

Commonwealth v. Gilmore, 27 Va. App. 320

7,22... ne iene 21-22, 29

Commonwealth v. Moss, 30 Va. App. 219

A nse Vohevenciadumden ea tomboy 30

Commonwealth v. Thomas, 429 Mass. 403

I Oe ie Oa ee eee 18, 37

Delaware v. Doleman, 1995 Del Super. LEXIS

235 (Del. Super. Ct. 1995)...................0000 15, 18-19

Vil

Hughes v. Commonwealth, 31 Va. App. 447

Or Ce eh I oi iciscccetbecaones 9, 20-21, 32

In re Nontestimonial Identification Order

Directed To R.H., 171 Vt. 227 (Vt. 2001) ........... 31

King v. Commonwealth, 49 Va. App. 717

Va. Ct. Rate. GOOF ssivisvcsevsisceres, se 20, 22, 25, 30

McGee v. State, 105 S.W.3d 609

(Tox. Crim. Ape. O08) «.......005.0cecc00. 16, 20°21, 37

Paulino v. Maryland, 399 Md. 341 (Md. 2007)..15, 17

People v. Hall, 10 N.Y.3d 303, 886 N.E.2d 162

ORF I osetia 1, 18-19

People v. More, 97 N.Y.2d 209

OE PI sciavcjekaiieette eae 6, 32, 38-39

People v. Wade, 208 Cal. App. 3d 304 (1989).......... 37

People v. Walker, 27 A.D.3d 899

Ct T., 2. a. Be kc 37

People v. Williams, 157 Ill. App. 3d 496

uk; Ak: Ce ici eee 30

State v. Barnes, 159 P.3d 589

(Ariz. Ct. App. se Ee er 16, 32°33. do

State v. Bullock, 661 So. 2d 1074

(Lia. Age. Cit: FO occcccidciccceimenne

State v. Clark, 654 P.2d 355 (Haw. 1982) ...............29

State v. Fontenot, 383 So. 2d 365 (ha. 1980) .......... 29

Vill

State v. Jenkins, 82 Conn. App. 111

cscs cssksneestvivarecevesivessene 15, 18-19

State v. Jones, 887 P.2d 461

ES. ee

State v. Kangas, 1998 Ohio. App. LEXIS 5417

Cg ESS | re 32

State v. Kelly, 1993 Ohio App. LEXIS 3292

ESL ner,

State v. Mabon, 648 S.W.2d 271

ES 30

State v. Magness, 115 Ariz. 317

ES ) 12

State v. Nieves, 383 Md. 573 (Md. 2004)...... 18-19, 33

State v. Palmer, 803 P.2d 1249

Se 30

State v. Voichahoske, 271 Neb. 64 (Neb. 2006)....... 33

Taylor v. Commonwealth, 28 Va. App. 638

UT I IID oo coccssnccesescncssceecesescsessensnseeess 33

Taylor v. State, 239 Ga. App. 858

(Ga. Ct. App. 1999)....... Mid doh sietseeiceseinvevenneveseens 15

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

se 2

US. Const. Amend. 4.........................0..0008 wines passim

1X

STATE STATUTES

N. J. Stat. Ann. § 2d:161a°3 (West 1998)... 20

Tenn. Code. Ann. § 40-7-121(a) (1998)... ce. 20

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Gabriel Helmer, Strip Search and the Felony

Detainee: A Case for Reasonable Suspicion,

81 B.U.L. Rev. 239 (2001) .......... esse 14, 15, 23

Lo

Deborah MacGregor, Stripped of All] Reason?

The Appropriate Standard for Evaluating

Strip Searches of Arrestees and Pretrial

Detainees, 36 Colum. J.L. & Soc. Probs.

RSI ERE a aR Pr 24

Michael G. Rogers, Bodily Intrusions in

Search of Evidence: Fourth Amendment

Decisionmaking, 62 Ind. L.J. 1181 (1987).......... 23

Eugene Shapiro, Strip Searches Incident to

Arrest: Cabining the Authority to

Humitiate, 83 N. Dak. L. Rev. 67 (2007)......22, 24

William Simonitsch, Visua/ Body Cavity

Searches Incident to Arrest: Validity

Under the Fourth Amendment, 54 U.

Miami L. Rev. 665 (2000)......0.00.0ccee. 22, 23, 33

Nadine Strossen, The Fourth Amendment in

the Balance, 63 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 1173 (1988)........ 18

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

NEW YORK,

Petitioner,

"versus"

AZIM HALL,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The State of New York respectfully petitions

for a writ of certiorar! to the New York Court of

Appeals in People v. Azim Hall, 10 N.Y.3d 303, 886

N.E.2d 162 (N.Y. 2008).

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the New York Court of Appeals

is reported at 10 N.Y.3d 303, 886 N.E.2d 162 (N.Y.

2008), and is reproduced in the appendix at pages

la-37a. The opinion of the New York Appellate

Division, First Department, is reported at 39 A.D.3d

100, 829 N.Y.S.2d 85 (N.Y. App. Div. 2007), and is

reproduced in the appendix at pages 38a°47a. The

written order of the trial court (New York Supreme

Court, County of New York) granting respondent’s

motion to suppress is unreported and is reproduced

in the appendix at pages 48a-53a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

On March 25, 2008, the New York Court of

Appeals reversed the order of the Appellate Division,

First Department, granted respondent’s Fourth

Amendment motion to suppress physical evidence,

and dismissed the indictment (App. la).! This

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides, in pertinent part, that “The

right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no

Warrant shall issue, but upon probable cause .. ”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents two important issues of

Fourth Amendment jurisprudence. both concerning

the power to conduct a search incident to arrest, that

have sharply divided the courts of this nation.

First, although this Court determined in

United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218, 234 (1973),

and United States v. Edwards, 415 U.S. 800, 802-03

(1974), that a full warrantless search of a person is

permitted incident to any lawful arrest, this Court

! Page references preceded by “App.” are to petitioner's

separately-bound appendix.

2

has expressly reserved the question of whether a

strip search or visual body cavity search of an

arrestee is also permissible. See TIilinois v.

Lafayette, 462 U.S. 640, 646 n.2 (1983). This case

presents that issue, thereby giving this Court an

opportunity to resolve a federal constitutional

question that has resulted in a deep split amongst

both the federal courts of appeals and the states.

Second, in the context of a 1966 case involving

the drawing of blood from an arrestee by means of a

needle inserted into the arrestee’s arm, this Court

determined that the Fourth Amendment forbids

warrantless “intrusions into the human body” absent

a clear indication that evidence would be found and

exigent circumstances that justify dispensing with

the warrant requirement. Schmerber v. California,

384 U.S. 757, 769-70 (1966). In the more than forty

years since Schmerber, courts nationwide have

struggled to define what constitutes an “intrusion”

into the body. In particular, courts have sharply

split over whether the removal of an object partially

protruding from a body orifice constitutes an

intrusion into the body requiring a warrant. In this

case, the New York Court of Appeals ruled that by

pulling a string protruding from respondent's rectum

the police conducted an unlawful intrusion into his

body. This case will allow this Court to clarify what

constitutes an intrusion into the body under

Schmerber, thereby resolving a second issue that has

split both federal and state courts.

A. Material Facts

On the evening of February 10, 2005, two

Manhattan police officers, who were stationed on a

rooftop in a neighborhood plagued with drug dealing,

clandestinely watched respondent and Ross Meyers

sell drugs outside a neighborhood bodega (App. 2a,

39a, 48a). Specifically, two men approached Meyers

and handed him money (App. 2a, 39a, 49a). Meyers

accepted the money and talked briefly with

respondent (App. 2a, 39a, 49a). Then, he and

respondent went inside the bodega (App. 2a, 39a,

49a). Respondent retreated to the back of the

bodega, while Meyers remained by the entrance

(App. 2a, 39a, 49a). Minutes later, respondent

emerged from the back and handed something to

Meyers (App. 2a, 39a, 49a). Meyers, in turn, went

outside and gave “small white objects” to the waiting

men (App. 2a-3a, 39a, 49a).

Upon seeing the apparent drug sale, the police

left their rooftop perch to arrest the participants; the

buyers escaped, but the police arrested respondent

and Meyers (App. 3a, 39a, 49a). In a “pat-down’”

search at the crime scene, no contraband was

recovered (App. 3a). Respondent and Meyers were

brought to the precinct station house, where the

arrest was processed (App. 3a, 49a). There.

respondent was given a more thorough pat-down

search; still, no contraband was recovered (App.

49a). However, the police knew that drug dealers,

particularly in the area in which respondent had

been arrested, often secreted narcotics between their

buttocks or down their pants (App. 14a, 39a). In

fact, in “at least one out of two drug arrests, the

4

suspects had hidden drugs in such a manner’ (App.

14a, 39a-40a).

For this reason, respondent was led into a

holding cell and ordered to disrobe (App. 3a, 40a,

49a). Now standing naked inside the cell,

respondent was asked to bend over for a visual

inspection (App. 3a, 40a, 49a). When he did so, the

police noticed a three-inch long white string

protruding from his rectum (App. 40a, 49a). The

police believed that this string was attached to

narcotics (App. 3a, 49a). The police ordered

respondent to remove the string, but he refused

(App. 3a, 32a, 40a, 49a). One police officer then

secured respondent while another pulled the string

(App. 3a, 32a, 40a, 49a-50a). The string, which was

tied to a plastic bag containing crack cocaine, came

out easily; no police officer “put a hand or

implement” into respondent or “even touched him

below the waist,” and respondent was in no way

injured (App. 3a, 32a, 49a-50a). Respondent was

subsequently charged with two New York narcotics

felonies (App. 3a).

B. Proceedings Below.

Prior to trial, respondent moved to suppress

the bag of crack cocaine that had been recovered by

the police, arguing that the police conducted an

unlawful body cavity search by pulling the string

protruding from his rectum (App. 50a). The

suppression court agreed with respondent, granted

his suppression motion, and_ dismissed_ the

indictment (App. 53a). Characterizing the search as

a “body cavity search,” the suppression court

=

>

determined that under Schmerber v. California, 384

U.S. 757 (1966), and People v. More, 97 N.Y.2d 209

(N.Y. 2002), which apphed Schmerber to a body

cavity search conducted at the suspect’s apartment,

the Fourth Amendment required a warrant to

conduct a visual inspection of respondent’s anus and

likewise to pull the protruding string, unless

“exigent circumstances” justified dispensing with the

warrant (App. 50a-5la). The suppression court

concluded that the lack of exigent circumstances

here “dictateld]” that the “body cavity search” was

“unreasonable” (App. 51a).

A unanimous five-judge panel of the New

York Appellate Division, First Department reversed

the suppression order and reinstated the indictment,

ruling that the search at the precinct was not

“unreasonable” under the Fourth Amendment (App.

38a). The intermediate appellate court noted that

Schmerber required a search warrant for police

“intrusions within the suspect’s body” (App. 40a-41a)

(emphasis in original). The Appellate Division ruled

that “pullling] the string out of [his] rectum” did not

constitute an intrusion into respondent's body (App.

41a-42a).

Instead, the police conduct at the precinct

amounted to a “strip search” and “visual body cavity”

search governed by the “reasonableness” principles

pronounced by this Court in Be// v. Wolfish, 441 U.S.

520, 559 (1979), which considered the

constitutionality of warrantless visual body cavity

searches of pretrial detainees housed in a

correctional facility (App. 41a-42a). The

reasonableness balancing test promulgated in Beli

6

considered “(1) the scope of the intrusion, (2) the

manner in which the search is conducted, (3) the

justification for initiating the search, and (4) the

place in which the search is conducted” (App. 42a)

(citing Bell, 441 U.S. at 559). And as the Appellate

Division explained, in balancing those factors and

taking into account the legitimate security interests

of correctional facilities, this Court ruled that

warrantless visual body cavity searches of prison

detainees were permissible “even absent probable

cause, particularized suspicion or clear indication”

that evidence would be found (App. 42a-43a) (citing

Bell, 441 U.S. at 560).

The Appellate Division recognized that the

Bell rule pertained to pretrial detainees, and that

this Court had “not yet specifically considered the

circumstances under which a strip search incident to

arrest [was] justified” (App. 42a) (citing Illinois v.

Lafayette, 462 U.S. 640, 646 n.2 [1983]). However,

citing a number of cases from the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals, the court determined that such

warrantless visual searches were lawful where there

exists a “reasonable suspicion that the arrestee is

concealing” contraband (App. 43a) (citing Weber v.

Dell, 804 F.2d 796, 802 [2d Cir. 1986)).

Applying the four-factor Be// test to the facts

at hand, the Appellate Division held that the “visual

body cavity search initially conducted here was

justified and reasonable” (App. 46a). Even though

the “scope” ane “nature” of the procedure was

“degrading,” the “manner and place” of the search

were “reasonable” and the “visual body cavity

search” was justified by “the facts known to the

7

police, including their experiences with the common

practices of drug sellers in the neighborhood,’ and

their “observation of defendant selling drugs,

packaged in small packets, during which the seller

had to temporarily retreat to an unseen spot prior to

compieting the transaction in order to retrieve the

goods he sold” (App. 46a). Indeed, those factors gave

the police “reasonable suspicion” to believe that

respondent was “concealing ... contraband” (App.

46a). Lastly, the “observation of the protruding

string during the course of the procedure justified

the immediate actions taken to physically retrieve

the secreted narcotics” (App. 47a).

On federal constitutional grounds, the New

York Court of Appeals reversed the Appellate

Division’s decision (App. lla, 15a). Initially, five of

the seven judges held that the “relevant

constitutional precedent” required the “reasonable

suspicion standard” for investigatory strip searches

and visual body cavity inspections incident to arrest

(App. lla). Under this standard, the police could

conduct a strip search if they had reasonable

suspicion that an arrestee was “concealing evidence

underneath clothing,” and they could conduct a

“visual body [cavity] inspection” if they had a

“reasonable suspicion that the arrestee has evidence

concealed inside a body cavity” (App. la, 7a-8a,

lla).2 Under that legal standard, the majority

2 The Court of Appeals pronounced that there were

“three distinct and increasingly intrusive types of bodily

examinations undertaken” incident to arrest (App. 4a). A strip

search 1s one in which the arrestee disrobes, a visual body

cavity search is one in which the police visually inspect the

(Continued...)

8

concluded that the police here had the requisite

“reasonable suspicion” to conduct the initial strip

and visual body cavity search (App. 13a).

The two judges in the minority on that score

agreed that the “reasonable suspicion” standard

should apply to strip searches incident to arrest, but

opined that a higher standard of cause should be

adopted for “visual body cavity searches” (App. 16a).

They concluded that lke manual body cavity

searches, a visual body cavity search was an

intrusion into the body that either required a

warrant “based upon probable’ cause” or

“satisfaction” of the Schmerber clear indication and

exigent circumstances test (App. 16a, 21a) (citing

Fuller v. M.G. Jewelry, 950 F.2d 1437, 1449 [9t» Cir.

1991]; Hughes v. Commonwealth, 31 Va. App. 447,

460 [Va. Ct. App. 2000)).

However, the Court of Appeals decided, by a

vote of four to three, that Schmerber “dictateld] that

a more stringent standard be applied to a physical

search of an arrestee’s body cavity” (App. 10a). In

that regard, the Court of Appeals believed that

Schmerber obliged the police to obtain a warrant

“before conducting a body cavity search” like the one

here, even though no “insertion into the body cavity

[was] necessary” (App. 12a). The four judges

{...Continued)

arrestee’s “anal or genital cavities,” and a “manual body cavity

search” includes some “degree of touching or probing of a body

cavity that causes a physical intrusion beyond the body's

surface” (App. 4a) (citing Blackburn v. Snow, 771 F.2d 556, n.3

[ist Cir. 1985)]).

concluded that, “when the police physically removed

the object that was attached to the string without

first obtaining a warrant, they conducted an

unreasonable manual body cavity search in violation

of the Fourth Amendment” (App. 15a).

The dissent wrote that the general rule

allowed the police to search an arrestee without a

warrant. The exception to that rule established in

Schmerber v. California required a warrant only for

“searches that intrude into the human body” (App.

32a°33a). Here, the dissent noted, Schmerber was

“inapplicable” because “no one intruded into’

respondent's body or caused him pain; the “removal

of the contraband in this case seemled] ... a lesser

violation of privacy than the lawful search that led

to its discovery” (App. 33a). Hence, the dissent

concluded, it made “little sense ... to require officers

to obtain a warrant in cases such as this, where

contraband is visible between the cheeks of the

buttocks and may be retrieved easily, without harm

to the individual” (App. 36a) (quoting State v.

Barnes, 215 Ariz. 279, 285 [2007] [Espinosa, J.

dissenting]).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. AS THE SPLINTERED DECISION OF THE

NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS QUITE

FAIRLY INDICATES, WHETHER THE

FOURTH AMENDMENT PERMITS

WARRANTLESS STRIP AND VISUAL BODY

CAVITY SEARCHES OF ARRESTEES TO

10

RECOVER EVIDENCE OF A CRIME IS A

DIFFICULT AND IMPORTANT QUESTION

THAT REQUIRES RESOLUTION BY THIS

COURT.

A. Twenty-Five Years Ago, This Court Left

Unresolved The Question Of Whether The Fourth

Amendment Permits Warrantless Strip And Visual

Body Cavity Searches Incident To Arrest.

“Reasonableness” is the “ultimate touchstone

of the Fourth Amendment,” Brigham City, Utah v.

Stuart, 547 U.S. 398, 403 (2006), and it is well-

settled that a warrantless search of a_ person

incident to any lawful arrest is reasonable. United

States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218, 234-35 (1973); see

also United States v. Edwards, 415 U.S. 800, 802-03

(1974). Such a search is justified both by the need to

detect weapons and other dangerous items, and by

the need to “search for and seize any evidence on the

arrestee’s person in order to prevent its concealment

or destruction.” Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752,

755 (1969); see also Knowles v. lowa, 525 U.S. 1138,

116 (1997); Robinson, 414 U.S. at 234.

Immediately after this Court decided

Robinson and Edwards, some courts ruled that strip

and visual body cavity searches incident to arrest

could be conducted without a warrant and without

any particularized individual suspicion at all. See,

e.g., United States v. Klein, 522 F.2d 296, 300 (st

Cir. 1975): State v. Magness, 115 Ariz. 317 (Ariz. Ct.

App. 1977). And here, the contested evidence was

not lawfully recovered unless the strip and visual

body cavity search which followed the arrest was

1]

legal. However, this Court later explicitly reserved

the question of whether such searches were

authorized by HAobinson and its progeny (App. 7a,

2la, 42a). See Illinois v. Lafayette, 462 U.S. 640,

646 n.2 (1983) (Court had not yet addressed the

“circumstances in which a strip search of an arrestee

may or may not be reasonable”).

Thus, whether the search incident to arrest

contemplated in Robinson and Edwards includes

strip and visual body cavity searches of arrestees

remains an open question. See, e.g., Amaechi v.

West, 237 F.3d 356, 361 (4 Cir. 2001) (in deciding

reasonableness of body cavity search, wrote that

Robinson did not permit all searches incident to

arrest, “no matter how invasive”); Swain v. Spinney,

117 F.3d 1, 6 (1t Cir. 1997) (under Robinson not all

“searches of an arrestee’s body are automatically

permissible as a search incident to arrest”); Giles v.

Ackerman, 746 F.2d 614, 616 (9% Cir. 1984)

(Robinson inapplicable to visual body cavity

searches); Mary Beth G. v. City of Chicago, 723 F.2d

1263, 1271 (7t Cir. 1983) (Robinson “did not

contemplate the significantly greater intrusions that

occur[ J” in a visual body cavity inspection).

While J//inois v. Lafayette reserved the

question, this does not mean that this Court has

provided no guidance on this subject. In Bel/ v.

Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979), this Court considered

the constitutionality of a blanket policy requiring

visual body cavity searches of all pre-trial detainees

subsequent to visitations with persons from outside

the prison. Acknowledging that the Fourth

Amendment prohibited “unreasonable” searches,

12

~

this Court wrote that “reasonableness” required a

“balancing of the need for the particular search

against the invasion of personal rights that the

search entails.” /d. at 559. The Court ruled that the

detention center's security interests outweighed the

intrusion of a visual body cavity search, and

therefore, such searches could be conducted “even

absent probable cause, particularized suspicion or

clear indication” that evidence would be found. /d.

In doing so, this Court promulgated a four-factor

“reasonableness” test, balancing the 1) scope of the

intrusion, 2) the manner in which the search is

conducted, 3) the justification for initiating the

search, and 4) the place in which the search is

conducted. /d. at 559-60.

B. State and Federal Courts Are Divided Over

Whether the Fourth Amendment Permits

Warrantless Investigatory Strip and Visual Body

Cavity Searches Incident to Arrest.

As noted, the two primary justifications for a

post-arrest warrantless search at the stationhouse

are to maintain institutional security and to discover

concealed evidence of the crime. Anowles, 525 U.S.

at 116; Robinson, 414 U.S. at 234-35. Bell, which

permitted warrantless visual body cavity searches of

pretrial detainees, was decided in the context of

3 In his partial dissent, Justice Powell recommended

that visual body cavity searches of detainees be subject to a

“reasonable suspicion” standard (Be//, 441 U.S. at 563), thereby

foreshowing, if not actually precipitating, the New York Court

of Appeals’ application of such a rule in this case.

13

institutional security concerns, as its subjects were

not in the category of the newly arrested who will

often be in possession of fruits or evidence of the

recently committed crimes.

While Bel/ permitted warrantless visual body

cavity searches of pretrial detainees, a “ruling

applicable to incarcerated jail inmates is_ not

automatically applicable to those newly arrested”

(App. 42a). See, eg, Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78,

89 (1987) (constitutional standards in prisons

different because even prison regulations that

“impingel ] on inmates’ constitutional rights” are

valid if they are “reasonably related to legitimate

penological interests”). And since Bell, federal and

state courts throughout the nation have struggled to

determine whether, and in what circumstances, the

Fourth Amendment permits warrantless strip and

visual body cavity searches incident to arrest. See,

e.g., Gabriel Helmer, Strip Search and the Felony

Detainee’ A Case for Reasonable Suspicion, 81

B.U.L. Rev. 239, 242 (2001) (“Be// test has provided

minimal guidance to lower courts, and these courts

continuously struggle to extrapolate” what is

demanded for strip and visual body cavity searches

of arrestees and detainees) [hereinafter Helmer,

Strip Search and the Felony Detainee}.

In considering situations analogous to Bell,

where institutional security was the paramount

reason for the strip or visual body cavity search of

the detainee, many courts have resolved ///rnois v.

Lafayettes undecided question in line with Justice

Powell’s partial dissent, see footnote 3, supra, and

have concluded that strip and visual body cavity

14

searches of lawfully arrested suspects, when done to

maintain institutional or jail security, are lawful

when the police have a “reasonable suspicion” that

the arrestee is concealing contraband or weapons

inside his body. See, e.g., Archuleta v. Wagner, 523

F.3d 1278, 1284-85 (10% Cir. 2008); United States v.

Barnes, 506 F.3d 58, 62 (1st Cir. 2007); Campbell v.

Miller, 499 F.3d 711, 718 (7 Cir. 2007); Evans v.

Stephens, 407 F.3d 1272, 1279 (11 Cir. 2005);

Masters v. Crouch, 872 F.2d 1248, 1255 (6t» Cir.

1989); Watt v. Richardson Police Dep't, 849 F.2d 195,

198 (5t Cir. 1988); Jones v. Edwards, 770 F.2d 739,

740-41 (8 Cir. 1985); Weber v. Dell, 804 F.2d 796,

802 (24 Cir. 1986); Giles v. Ackerman, 746 F.2d 614

(9th Cir. 1984). A number of states have likewise

adopted the “reasonable suspicion” standard in this

context. See, e.g., Paulino v. Maryland, 399 Md. 341,

356-57 (Md. 2007); State v. Jenkins, 82 Conn. App.

111, 123 (Conn. 2004); Tavior v. State, 239 Ga. App.

858 (Ga. Ct. App. 1999): Delaware v. Doleman, 1995

Del Super. LEXIS 235, *22 n.2 (Del. Super. Ct. 1995)

(unpublished decision).

But in considering situations like the one

presented here, where the arrestee was subjected to

a strip and visual body cavity search just to prevent

the concealment and _ potential destruction of

evidence, the federal and state courts have sharply

splintered. Broadly speaking, and as will be

explained, infra, the courts have largely devolved

into two opposing camps ~ those that permit

warrantless visual body cavity searches of arrestees

to discover evidence and those that do not. Yet

strikingly, even within the federal circuits and states

that have permitted warrantless investigatory strip

15

and visual body cavity searches, the legal standards

and given rationale for conducting such searches

vary considerably.

In that regard, some courts, in permitting

warrantless strip and visual body cavity searches of

arrestees to search for evidence, have simply

analyzed the propriety of such searches under Be//s

four-part reasonableness test, looking at the scope of

the intrusion, the manner in which it is conducted,

the justification for initiating it, and the place in

which it is conducted. See, e.g., United States v.

Williams, 477 F.3d 974, 977 (8 Cir. 2007)

(investigatory strip search incident to arrest in

precinct parking lot reasonable); United States v.

Cofield, 391 F.3d 334, 336-38 (1st Cir. 2004)

(stationhouse strip search of defendant, who was

arrested for possession of hervin, reasonable);

Justice v. Peachtree City, 961 F.2d 188, 192-93 (11th

Cir. 1992) (strip search of arrestee at stationhouse

proper under Bel); McGee v. State, 105 S.W.3d 609,

616 (Tex. Crim. App. 2003) (visual cavity search of

defendant at fire station, after arrest for selling

drugs, reasonable under Bel).

Similarly, courts have employed the Be// test

and determined that the scope or manner of a given

search rendered it inherently unreasonable. See,

e.g., Amaechi, 237 F.3d at 361-63 (strip search in

public, which involved penetration of arrestee’s

vagina, unreasonable under Be// “scope of intrusion”

and “location” factors); United States v. Ford, 232 F.

Supp. 2d 625, 630 (B.D. Va. 2002) (search of

defendant's buttocks on _ side of highway

unreasonable under Be// location factor); Paulino v.

16

Maryland, 399 Md. 341, 355 (Md. 2007) (visual

cavity search of arrestee at carwash unreasonable

under Be// “location” factor).4

Yet to avoid the inherent difficulties and lack

of uniformity that come with applying a multi-prong

test, many of the state and federal circuit courts that

have permitted warrantless strip and visual body

cavity searches of arrestees to recover evidence, have

eschewed the Be// test and endeavored to provide a

more objective standard as to the reasonableness of

conducting such searches. See, e.g., Mary Beth G. v.

City of Chicago, 723 F.2d 1263, 1273 (7th Cir. 1983)

(“reasonableness” standard requires “that the facts

upon which an intrusion is based be capable of

measurement against an objective standard”);

Nadine Strossen, The Fourth Amendment in the

Balance, 63 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 1173, 1184 (1988) (Fourth

Amendment balancing tests problematic because

they are “inherently subjective,” and “no objective

methodology exists for their implementation”).

In doing so, the’ highest court’ of

Massachusetts, while not requiring a warrant, has

adopted the “probable cause” standard for visual

body cavity searches of arrestees, regardless of

whether the search is conducted for security

purposes as in Bel/ or, like here, to recover secreted

evidence of the crime. See Commonwealth v.

' The intermediate appellate court here applied the

four-factor Be// test and found that under the circumstances.

the “visual body cavity search” was “justified and reasonable”

(App. 45a-46a).

Thomas, 429 Mass. 403, 408-09 (1999). However,

the majority of jurisdictions, including the First,

Seventh, Eighth, Tenth and Eleventh Circuits and

the state courts of Maryland, Delaware, Connecticut,

and now New York, have embraced the lesser

“reasonable suspicion” standard. See, e.g.

Archuleta, 523 F.3d at 1284-85; Campbel/, 499 F.3d

at 717-18; Richmond v. City of Brooklyn, 490 F.3d

1002, 1008-10 (8t» Cir. 2007); Evans, 407 F.3d at

1279;5 Swain, 117 F.3d at 7; Hall 10 N.Y.3d at 303;

Jenkins, 82 Conn. App. at 125; Mieves, 383 Md. at

573, Doleman, 1995 Del Super. LEXIS 235 at *22

n.2; see also Sarnicola v. County of Westchester, 229

F. Supp. 2d 259, 268-70 (S.D.N.Y. 2002)

(investigatory visual body cavity search justified by

“reasonable suspicion”); Harden v. Flowers, 2003

U.S. Dist. Lexis 7213 (N.D. Il. 2003) (unpublished

decision) (same): Liston v. Steffes, 300 F. Supp. 2d

742, 757 (D. Wis. 2002) (same).

And even though the aforementioned courts

have agreed on the “reasonable suspicion” standard,

they have split as to why this standard is required.

The Tenth and Eleventh Circuits, along with the

state courts of Maryland and Delaware, have simply

held that the Fourth Amendment “reasonableness”

mandate requires the police to have “reasonable

suspicion” before conducting a strip and visual body

5 In Evans, the Eleventh Circuit ruled that while the

police must have “at least” reasonable suspicion to conduct

investigatory visual body cavity searches incident to arrest, it

cautioned that perhaps the “actual standard” was “higher.”

407 F.3d at 1279

cavity search of an arrestee to find evidence of a

crime. Archuleta, 523 F.3d at 1284-85 (citing Foote

v. Spiegel, 118 F.3d 1416, 1425-26 [10t» Cir. 1997]);

Evans, 407 F.3d at 1279: Nieves, 383 Md. at 573:

Doleman, 1995 Del Super. LEXIS 235 at *22 n.2.

Conversely, the First, Seventh, and Eighth Circuits,

and the state courts of Connecticut and now New

York, have analyzed the propriety of such searches

under Bell, and from Sell, have concluded that

“reasonable suspicion” is required. Campbell, 499

F.3d at 717-18; Richmond, 490 F.3d at 1008-10:

Swain, 117 F.3d at 7; Hall, 10 N.Y.3d at 303;

Jenkins, 82 Conn. App. at 125

Hence, among the jurisdictions that permit

warrantless visual body cavity searches of arrestees

to recover evidence, there is significant confusion as

to which legal standard applies. In fact, even within

individual circuits, different legal standards have

been employed. For example, in recent decisions,

the First, Eighth, and Eleventh Circuits, like the

intermediate appellate court here (App. 45a-46a),

have analyzed strip and visual body cavity searches

of arrestees under both the “reasonable suspicion”

standard (Swain, 117 F.3d at 7, Richmond, 490 F.3d

at 1008-10, Evans, 407 F.3d at 1279), and the four-

factor Bel] test (Cofield, 391 F.3d at 336-38,

Williams, 477 F.3d at 977, Peachtree City, 961 F.2d

6 The five judges writing for the majority here (App.

2a), as well as every justice on the intermediate appellate court

(App. 47a), found that the police had “reasonable suspicion” to

conduct the strip and visual body cavity search of respondent

(App. l4a, 46a).

at 192-93). Similarly, in Texas, that state’s highest

court for criminal appeals, while agreeing that the

visual body cavity search of the arrestee was lawful,

split four to three as to whether the search was

governed by Be// or whether it was governed by a

“reasonable suspicion” standard. See McGee, 105

S.W.3d at 616-19.

Standing opposite to the jurisdictions that

permit warrantless searches, the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals and the courts of Virginia have

concluded that the Fourth Amendment requires a

warrant to conduct visual body cavity searches of

arrestees when those searches are not justified by

threats to institutional security (App. 2la). See

Fuller v. M.G. Jewelry, 950 F.2d 1437, 1449 (9t» Cir.

1991); Burton v. Spokane, 2007 US Dist LEXIS

42101, *10 (E. D. Wash. 2007) (unpublished

decision); King v. Commonwealth, 49 Va. App. 717,

724-27 (Va. Ct. App. 2007); Aughes v.

Commonwealth, 31 Va. App. 447, 460 (Va. Ct. App.

2000); Commonwealth v. Gilmore, 27 Va. App. 320,

331 n. 5 (Va. Ct. App. 1998); see also McGee, 105

S.W.3d at 619-20 (Price, J., dissenting) (warrant

required to conduct visual body cavity searches of

arrestees).?7 Put differently, these courts have

concluded that investigatory visual body cavity

searches of arrestees fall completely outside the

“reasonableness” ambit of Be//.

* Other states have passed statutes requiring a warrant

for investigatory visual body cavity searches of arrestees. See,

e.g. N. J. Stat. Ann. § 2d:161a-3 (West 1998); Tenn. Code. Ann.

§ 40-7-121(a) (1998).

20

These courts have required warrants because

they liken visual body cavity searches to intrusions

into the body which, under Schmerber v. California,

supra, are permitted without a warrant only under

exigent circumstances (App. 16a-17a). See Fuller,

950 F.2d at 1449; Hughes, 31 Va. App. at 460;

McGee, 105 S.W.3d at 619-20 (Price, J., dissenting).

And, these same courts have found Be//, which

permitted warrantless visual body cavity searches of

pretrial detainees, inapplicable to investigatory

visual body cavity searches because the searches

conducted in Be// were performed for the paramount

governmental interest of maintaining institutional

security in residential detention centers and prisons,

a justification that is absent for investigatory

searches of arrestees (App. 20a). See Gilmore, 27

Va. App. at 331 n. 5.

Further, while this Court created the Bel/

reasonableness test for “convicted prisoners” and

“pre-trial detainees” -- 1.e., people who had lost

“some” of their Fourth Amendment rights upon their

commitment (App. 24a) -- the aforementioned courts

have ruled that arrestees, who have not yet even

been arraigned and entered into the prison system,

enjoy greater constitutional protections. See, e.g.,

Fuller, 950 F.2d at 1448; King, 49 Va. App. at 725:

Gilmore, 27 Va. App. at 331 n. 5; see also Salinas v.

Breier, 695 F.2d 1073, 1083 (7th Cir. 1982) (“there is

considerably greater constitutional power in the

police to search the bodies of persons in custody than

the bodies of persons not in custody”). Thus, for the

courts that require warrants, not only is Bel/

inapplicable for the two aforementioned reasons, but

2]

the visual body cavity searches constitute intrusions

into the body under Schmerber.®

This issue has split not only the courts, but also

legal scholars. Some argue for the Ninth Circuit’s

standard, concluding that the Fourth Amendment

requires that investigatory searches be subject to a

determination by a neutral and detached magistrate.

See, e.g., Eugene Shapiro, Strip Searches Incident to

Arrest: Cabining the Authority to Humiliate, 83 N.

Dak. L. Rev. 67, 108 (2007) [hereinafter Shapiro,

Strip Searches Incident to Arrest|; William

Simonitsch, Visual Body Cavity Searches Incident to

Arrest: Validity Under the Fourth Amendment, 54

U. Miami L. Rev. 665 (2000) [hereinafter Simonitsch,

Visual Body Cavity Searches]; Michael G. Rogers,

Bodily Intrusions in Search of Evidence: Fourth

Amendment Decisionmaking, 62 Ind. L.J. 1181, 1191

(1987). Others suggest that such strip and visual

body cavity searches incident to arrest fall outside

the warrant requirement and that the reasonable

suspicion standard should apply. See, e.g., Helmer,

Strip Search and the Felony Detainee, supra.

In sum, a deep divide has developed among the

federal and state courts with regards to the

propriety of conducting visual body cavity searches

of arrestees to recover evidence. While the majority

of jurisdictions have held that the Fourth

*’ The two concurring judges here, in writing that a

warrant should be required for investigatory visual body cavity

searches of arrestees. expressly relied on this reasoning (App

18a-23a).

Amendment permits such warrantless searches, the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the courts of

Virginia require a warrant absent’ exigent

circumstances. And even among the states and

circuits that allow warrantless visual body cavity

searches incident to arrest, the courts are split as to

what constitutes the appropriate legal standard for

evaluating the prepriety of such searches. Some

courts follow the four-factor Be// test, while others

have held that Be// demands “reasonable suspicion.”

Still others have applied the “reasonable suspicion”

standard, but have done so from outside the Bel/

paradigm. Lastly, courts, while approving of

warrantless searches, have even required the higher

standard of probable cause.9

What these differing opinions among the courts

and scholars highlight, and what the division in the

New York Court of Appeals suggests, is that the

guidance of this Court is urgently needed. See, e.zg.,

Deborah MacGregor, Stripped of All Reason? The

Appropriate Standard for Evaluating Strip Searches

of Arrestees and Pretrial Detainees, 36 Colum. J.L.

& Soc. Probs. 163, 206-07 (2003) (the “varied

® This confusion is hardly surprising given that this

Court's decisions in other areas are cited mn support of the

opposite conclusions reached by courts nationwide on the issue

now presented. Compare Maryland v. Bure, 494 U.S. 325

(1990) (post-arrest searches of property must be justified by

specific facts establishing that search was _ necessary),

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 757 (intrusions into body require

warrant), with Bell, 441 U.S. at 520 (warrantless visual body

cavity searches of detainees reasonable): Robinson, 414 U.S. at

234 (full warrantless search incident to arrest permissible).

Nm

thd

approaches lower courts have taken to analyzing the

question of arrestees’ ... rights to be free from

unreasonable strip searches demonstrate the level of

confusion that exists in this area of the law. Such

confusion in a major area of civil rights can lead to

an increase in lawsuits and frustration on the part of

correctional officials and detainees.”); see also

Shapiro, Strip Searches Incident To Arrest, supra at

67 (“‘[olne of the more puzzling characteristics of

current Fourth Amendment jurisprudence has been

the inadequacy of judicial evaluation of [arrestees’]

strip searches”).

The need to resolve this conflict among the lower

courts is especially pressing because in Virginia

there is a direct conflict between the state courts and

the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, which has

jurisdiction over that state. Compare Amaechi, 237

F.3d at 361-63 (strip and visual cavity searches

analyzed under Se// reasonableness factors), with

King, 49 Va. App. at 724-27 (warrant needed for

investigatory visual body cavity search of arrestee).

C. This Case is the Perfect Vehicle for Deciding

This Extremely Important and Frequently Arising

Issue of Law.

Without question, a strip and visual body

cavity search subjects an arrestee to a “gross

interference” in his personal privacy. See Swain,

117 F.3d at 6 (citing Arruda v. Fair, 710 F.2d 886,

887 [1st Cir. 1983]). Such a search, regardless of the

manner in which it is conducted, is_ an

“embarrassing and humiliating experience.” Boren

v. Deland, 958 F.2d 987, 988 n. 1 (10th Cir. 1992);

24

see also Kennedy v. Los Angeles, 901 F.2d 702, 711

(9th Cir. 1990); Mary Beth G., 723 F.2d at 1272. The

intrusive nature of these searches alone evinces that

the constitutional limits on such searches should be

dictated by this Court. Notwithstanding the obvious

importance of this issue, litigation concerning the

propriety of such searches arises very frequently

because the question has not been addressed in this

Court. The result, as noted, has been a deep split.

And this case presents an ideal opportunity

for this Court to resolve this split and decide

whether the Fourth Amendment permits

warrantless strip and visual body cavity searches of

arrestees. The New York Court of Appeals squarely

confronted the issue of whether it was

“constitutionally permissible for police to subject a

person arrested for a drug sale to a [warrantless]

visual body inspection” (App. la). In deciding that

issue, the majority opinion directly concluded “that

the Fourth Amendment does not prohibit a visual

cavity inspection if the police have at least a

reasonable suspicion to believe that contraband,

evidence or a weapon is hidden inside the arrestee’s

body” (App. 8a). The majority based this rule on the

Bell “balancing test” (App. 7a-8a). Thus, this case

presents no procedural hurdles that could prevent

this Court from reaching this central issue.

25

2. IN. HOLDING THAT THE POLICE

INTRUDED INTO RESPONDENTS BODY

BY PULLING ON THE STRING

PROTRUDING FROM HIS RECTUM -- AND

THEREFORE THAT A WARRANT WAS

REQUIRED UNDER SCHMERBER -- THE

MAJORITY OPINION OF THE NEW YORK

COURT OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH

THAT OF OTHER COURTS NATIONWIDE.

MOREOVER, THAT OPINION CREATES A

DANGEROUS LEGAL STANDARD THAT

CONTRAVENES THIS COURT'S

CONTROLLING PRECEDENT.

In Schmerber, this Court reaffirmed the well-

settled principle that there is an “unrestricted” right

to search the accused incident to a lawful arrest “to

discover and seize the fruits or evidences of crime.”

384 U.S. at 769. However, this Court determined,

the rules governing typical searches incident to

arrest have “little applicability with respect to

searches involving intrusions beyond the body’s

surface.” Jd. Rather, where “intrusions into the

human body are concerned,” police must have a

“clear indication” that evidence will be found inside

the body, and the police must first obtain a warrant

unless there are exigent circumstances that justify

dispensing with the warrant. /d. at 770.

The Schmerber case involved the warrantless

extraction of blood via a needle inserted into the

defendant's arm. The extraction was incident to

Schmerbers lawful arrest for driving under the

influence of alcohol. This Court opined that a

warrant was ordinarily required for such an

26

intrusion inside the body. /d. However, because an

arrestee’s blood-alcohol level “begins to diminish

shortly after drinking stops,” time was critical.

Therefore, the police were presented with exigent

circumstances that justified dispensing with the

warrant. /d.

At issue here is what constitutes an

“intrusion[ | beyond the body’s surface” requiring a

warrant under Schmerber. The four judges writing

for the majority held that by pulling the string that

was protruding three inches beyond the surface of

respondent’s rectum, the police intruded into

respondent’s body, and therefore, under Schmerber,

they should have first obtained a warrant (App. 15a).

As a result, the majority suppressed the recovered

drugs and dismissed the felony indictment. The

three judges in dissent argued that because no

“officer put a hand or implement in [respondent’s]

body,” “Schmerber [was] inapplicable ... for the

simple reason that no one_ intruded into

[respondent’s] body” (App. 33a).

Like the majority and dissent here, courts

nationwide have split over whether the removal of

an item partially protruding from a suspect’s body

cavity constitutes an intrusion into the body

requiring a warrant. By granting certiorari, this

Court will obtain an opportunity to settle this split

in jurisprudence, clarify what constitutes an

intrusion into the body under Schmerber, and

reverse this erroneous decision of the New York

Court of Appeals.

27

A. Courts Nationwide Have Split On The Question

Of Whether the Removal Of An Object Protruding

From An Arrestee’s Body Cavity Is An Intrusion

Into The Body Within The Meaning Of Schmerber.

As explained, in Schmerber, which involved

the insertion of a needle into the arrestee’s arm,

puncturing his skin in order to withdraw blood, this

Court forbade warrantless “intrusions into the body”

absent exigent circumstances.

From this, in the forty years since Schmerber,

courts have unanimously held that the insertion into

the body of a foreign object, such as an endoscope,

surgical instrument, or speculum, constitutes an

“intrusion into the body” under Schmerber. See, e.g.,

Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 755 (1983) (Schmerber

applied to warrantless surgery to remove bullet

embedded in skin); United States v. Nelson, 36 F.3d

758, 761 (8 Cir. 1994) (warrantless endoscopic

examination unlawful under Schmerber); United

States v. Cameron, 538 F.2d 254, 258 (9t» Cir. 1976)

(enema and forced consumption of laxatives ruled

unlawful under Schmerber); State v. Clark, 654 P.2d

355, 361 (Haw. 1982) (penetration of vagina with

speculum to retrieve money, unlawful under

Schmerber).

The same is true for the digital penetration of

an arrestee’s body cavities. United States v.

Oyekan, 786 F.2d 832 (8th Cir. 1986) (digital “rectal

probe and pelvic examination” of arrestee

unreasonable under Schmerber): Amaechi, 237 F.3d

at 361-63 (digital penetration of arrestee’s vagina

unlawful); Gilmore, 27 Va. App. at 320 (insertion of

28

hand inside vagina to recover money, unlawful

under Schmerber); State v. Fontenot, 383 So. 2d 365

(La. 1980) (manual retrieval of bottle from inside

vagina during “pelvic examination” unreasonable

under Schmerber). This is because those types of

searches involve the actual police intrusion beneath

the body’s surface, like in Schmerber. Thus, for the

aforementioned searches, absent exigent

circumstances, the police must obtain a warrant.

However, where the search of an arrestee does

not involve the physical penetration of the human

body, the courts have been unable to agree upon a

rule. For example, as explained in Point I, supra,

the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the courts of

Virginia hold that a mere visual inspection of an

arrestee’s body cavities constitutes an intrusion into

the body under Schmerber. See Fuller, 950 F.2d at

1449 (warrant required for visual body cavity search

of arrestee because Schmerber governs all invasive

searches “whether by a needle ... or a _ visual

intrusion into a body cavity”); Aing, 49 Va. App. at

724-27 (warrantless visual body cavity search falls

under Schmerber); Commonwealth v. Moss, 30 Va.

App. 219, 224-26 (Va. Ct. App. 1999) (applying

Schmerber to strip search). Similarly, courts have

held that an x-ray incident to arrest constitutes an

intrusion into the body requiring a warrant. See

United States v. Allen, 337 F. Supp. 1041 (E.D. Pa.

1972) (x-ray of arrestee falls under Schmerber):

State v. Palmer, 803 P.2d 1249 (Utah. Ct. App. 1990)

(same); People v. Williams, 157 Il. App. 3d 496 (IIL.

App. Ct. 1987) (same); State v. Mabon, 648 S.W.2d

271 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1982) (same); see also United

States v. Elk, 676 F.2d 379 (9th Cir. 1982) (in

29

context of border search, held that Schmerber

applied to x-ray search). But, as noted in Point I(B),

supra, the majority of federal and state courts have

held that visual searches and inspections, which

involve no instrumental or digital penetration of the

body, do not constitute an intrusion into the body

under Schmerber.

Likewise, the federal and state courts have

failed to come to agreement as to whether the

swabbing of the inside of an arrestee’s mouth to

obtain saliva for a DNA sample constitutes an

intrusion into the body under Schmerber. See

United States v. Nicolosi, 885 F. Supp. 50. 53

(E.D.N.Y. 1995) (because critical clement of

Schmerber was the collection of “physical evidence

below the skin” versus evidence “outside the skin,”

warrant required to swab arrestee’s mouth for

saliva); see also In re: Shaddie Clark Shabazz, 200 F.

Supp. 2d 578 (D.S.C. 2002) (same); Henry v. Ryan,

775 F. Supp. 247 (N.D. Ill. 1991) (same); but see In

re Nontestimonial Identification Order Directed To

R.H., 171 Vt. 227, 233-34 (Vt. 2001) (critical element

in Schmerber was “piercing” the skin, thus, no

warrant required to swab arrestee’s mouth).

Most pertinent here, the courts have split as

to whether the removal of an object which is

embedded within the body, but which protrudes

outside the body and can be removed without any

actual physical penetration, constitutes an

“intrusion into the body” falling under Schmerber.

On one side, and as the four judges in the majority

ruled here, are holdings that “the removal of an

object protruding from a body cavity, regardless of

30

whether any insertion into the body cavity is

necessary, is subject to the Schmerber rule” (App.

12a). See, e.g., State v. Barnes, 159 P.3d 589 (Ariz.

Ct. App. 2007) (2-1 decision) (removal of bag of

narcotics partially secreted in the defendant's

rectum was intrusion into body under Schmerben),

review dismissed, 2008 Ariz. LEXIS 38 (Ariz. 2008);

People v. More, 97 N.Y.2d 209 (N.Y. 2002) (seizure of

bag “partially protruding” from rectum fell under

Schmerber); Hughes, 31 Va. App. at 447 (removal of

a plastic bag protruding halfway out of rectum

constituted an “intrusive physical body cavity

search” under Schmerber); State v. Kangas, 1998

Ohio. App. LEXIS 5417 (Ohio Ct. App. 1998)

(unpublished decision) (implying that if cocaine had

been partially secreted in rectum, warrant would

have been needed to remove it); State v. Bullock, 661

So. 2d 1074 (La. App. 4th Cir. 1995) (removal of

cocaine partially protruding from vagina unlawful

under Schmerber).

Other jurists, like the three judges writing in

dissent here, have taken the opposite approach,

ruling that as long as the police do not penetrate the

surface of an arrestee’s skin, Schmerber does not

apply. See, e.g., State v. Himmelwright, 551 F.2d

991 (5th Cir. 1977) (during visual body cavity search,

pohce saw cocaine-filled condom protruding from

arrestee’s vagina; removal of condom did not elevate

search to unlawful manual body cavity search);

United States v. Holtz, 479 F.2d 89 (9th Cir. 1973)

(cocaine-filled condom, which protruded out of

arrestee’s vagina, properly removed without warrant

and did not fall under Schmerber); Barnes, 159 P.3d

at 594-95 (Espinosa, J., dissenting) (removal of bag

3]

protruding from rectum not intrusion into body

under Schmerber); State v. Nieves, 383 Md. 573 (Md.

2004) (search held unlawful for lack of reasonable

suspicion, but court concluded that removal of

protruding bag was not “a physical body cavity

search” requiring warrant); State v. Jones, 887 P.2d

461 (Was. Ct. App. 1995) (removal of tube protruding

from anus during strip search was not unlawful body

cavity search); State v. Kelly, 1993 Ohio App. LEXIS

3292 (Ohio Ct. App. 1993) (unpublished decision)

(removal of condom partially protruding from rectum

not body cavity search); see also State v.

Voichahoske, 271 Neb. 64 (Neb. 2006) (while not

directly confronting issue, removal of drugs

“protruding” from rectum was part of strip search);

Taylor v. Commonwealth, 28 Va. App. 638 (Va. Ct.

App. 1998) (same). These courts have determined

that as long as the police were in a lawful position to

see the object protruding from the body cavity, 1.e.

they conducted a lawful visual body cavity search of

the arrestee, it was then proper for them to seize

what they saw in plain view (App. 36a).

In short, review of this case is needed to

clarify what constitutes an intrusion into the body

under Schmerber. See Simonitsch, Visual Body

Cavity Searches Incident to Arrest, at 671

(highlighting that this Court, in Schmerber, did “not

take the opportunity to speak more on intrusions

beyond the body’s surface,” and specifically, “on what

an intrusion entails”). While the courts of this

nation have unanimously concluded that the

insertion of ar ‘nstrument or digit into an arrestee’s

body requires a warrant under Schmerber, the

courts have split on whether other types of searches

32

Le., the visual inspection of an arrestee’s body

cavities, the x-ray of an arrestee, and the collection

of DNA from a suspect’s mouth, constitute such an

intrusion. And specifically in this situation, forty-

two years after Schmerber, the courts are sharply

split on whether the removal of an object protruding

from a suspect, but still partially concealed within

his body, requires a warrant.

B. The Majority Opinion of the New York Court Of

Appeals Is Fundamentally Flawed, And It Creates A

New and Dangerous Legal Standard That Benefits

Neither Arrestees Nor The Police.

As explained, the police in Schmerber inserted

a needle into the suspect’s arm in order to gather

evidence of the crime. Simply put, the search in

Schmerter pierced the skin of the suspect. In

examining this search, this Court held that such an

“intrusion[ ] into the body” required a warrant

absent exigent circumstance».

The decision of the New York Court of Appeals

directly conflicts with the principles and rule

enunciated by Schmerber. In that regard, in holding

that the “Schmerber rule” applied here, the majority

ruled that the “removal of an object protruding from

a body cavity, regardless of whether any insertion

into the body cavity is necessary,’ required a

warrant absent exigent circumstances (App. 12a).

Thus, while Schmerber applied expressly to

insertions into the body, the majority here turned

Schmerber on its head, ruling that Schmerber

applied “regardless of whether any insertion into the

body cavity” was performed.

33

Put differently, as Justice Espinosa wrote in his

dissent in Barnes, 215 Ariz. at 284 fn. 8, which

analyzed an almost identical search:

the record establishes that no intrusion,

gentle or otherwise, occurred,

notwithstanding the majority’s novel

theory that removal of the plastic

baggie lIpartially embedded in

defendant's rectum] ‘had the effect’ of

exerting some type of ‘force’ within the

body. Schmerber, however, does not

rely on such delicate quantum

mechanics, nor should the

reasonableness of an otherwis° lawful

search.

Similarly here, there was no intrusion into the body,

and the majority’s expansion of Schmerber should be

struck down by this Court.

Pernaps more importantly, the Court of Appeals

decision here, as the dissent aptly recognized (App.

36a), creates a cumbersome legal requirement --

obtaining a search warrant -- that provides no

benefit even to arrestees. In that regard, under the

majority's rule, when the police have lawfully

conducted a strip and visual body cavity search of a

suspect, and have lawfully observed contraband

protruding from a cavity, they must then halt the

search and secure the arrestee while the police

obtain a search warrant from a judge. In the

meantime, for the hours during which the police

await the issvance of the search warrant -- which

will inevitably be issued because its basis is the

34

direct observation of contraband -- the arrestee must

be held under constant observation that will be more

degrading than the qu’ck, non-invasive removal of

that which the warrant will necessarily order

removed. And of course, during that lengthy time

period, there will be some danger of the unintended

ingestion of the drug being concealed. In other

words, the rule benefits no one, causing state

expense and inconvenience as well as humiliation

and danger to the arrestee.

Of course, penetration of the body with either a

hand or instrument to retrieve contraband raises

grave considerations for a person's privacy, dignity,

and health, and public policy dictates that a warrant

should be required. See Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 769-

70. But here, it “makes little sense ... to require

officers to obtain a warrant ... where contraband is

visible between the cheeks of the buttocks and may

be retrieved easily, without harm to the individual,

but may be partially secreted in the rectum” (App.

36a) (citing Barnes, 215 Ariz. at 285). Indeed, as the

dissent explained here, “it is {not] unreasonable for

the officers to take, with minimal force, what they

have already lawfully seen” (App. 36a). See, e.g.,

Horton v. California, 496 U.S. 128 (1990) (police

need not obtain a warrant to seize evidence that is in

plain view and that they are lawfully situated to

observe). The majority’s warrant requirement is

even more perplexing given that, in New York as

well as other jurisdictions, the police can lawfully

seize contraband found between the cheeks of the

buttocks, see People v. Walker, 27 A.D.3d 899 (N.Y.

App. Div. 2006): Thomas, 429 Mass. at 407-08:

McGee, 105 S.W.3d at 613; People v. Wade, 208 Cal.

35

App. 3d 304 (1989), but must now obtain a warrant

when that same contraband is partially concealed in

a cavity.

Lastly, the rule espoused by the dissent here,

which would permit the warrantless recovery of

discovered contraband as long as the officer does not

have to insert an implement or hand into the

suspect's body, is a bright-line rule that makes

sense. See, e.g., New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454

(1981) (Fourth Amendment doctrine should be

expressed in “readily applicable” terms, and should

not require the “drawing of subtle nuances and

hairline distinctions”). It permits the police

promptly and efficiently to complete necessary

searches that have little chance of injuring the

suspect, United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982)

(“When a legitimate search is under way, and when

its purpose and its limits have been precisely

defined, nice distinctions ... must give way to the

interest in the prompt and efficient completion of the

task at hand”), while it requires the police to obtain

judicial sanction before undertaking the _ highly

intrusive step of penetrating the suspect’s body.

C. There Is No Doubt That This Issue Presents a

Federal Question.

Finally, this issue undoubtedly presents a

question of federal constitutional law. In ordering

that the drugs recovered from respondent’s rectum

be suppressed, the majority held that “when the

police physically removed the object that was

attached to the string without first obtaining a

warrant, they conducted an unreasonable manual

36

body cavity search in violation of the Fourth

Amendment” (App. 15a).!° In fact, the majority

specifically noted that the “preeminent decision

examining the constitutional dimensions of searches

that involve police intrusion into a person’s body is

Schmerber,” and from this “stressed that Schmerber

requires the police to cbtain a warrant authorizing

the removal of the plastic bag in the absence of the

exigent circumstances justifying an immediate

seizure of the item” (App. 4a, 15a).

The single New York state case relied upon by

the majority, More, 97 N.Y.2d at 209, also involved a

direct application of Schmerber and the principles of

the Fourth Amendment. In More, during a body

cavity search conducted at the defendant’s

apartment, the police forcibly removed a plastic bag

protruding from his rectum. In suppressing the

recovered narcotics, the Court of Appeals explained

that the “dispositive issue” was “the validity of that

seizure under the Fourth Amendment of the United

States Constitution.” More, 97 N.Y.2d at 211. And

in analyzing whether the Fourth Amendment

required a warrant, the Court of Appeals held that

the search was “at least as” intrusive as the search

conducted in Schmerber, and therefore was governed

by the clear indication and exigent circumstances

requirements of Schmerber. Id. at 213. Notably, the

majority opinion here described More as holding that

10 Here, the Court of Appeals was clearly referring to

the Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution, as

the Search and Seizure Clause of the New York Constitution is

found in Article 1 § 12.

“the removal of the object from the defendant's

rectum without prior judicial authorization violated

the Fourth Amendment” (App. 11a).

In short, there is no doubt that the New York

Court of Appeals’ decision turned directly on federal

constitutional law.

In sum, in the forty-two years. since

Schmerber, courts nationwide have struggled to

interpret what constitutes an intrusion into the body

requiring a warrant. And in this particular context,

where the police pulled a string protruding from

respondent’s rectum, the courts are split. By

granting certiorari here, this Court can clarify what

constitutes an intrusion into the body, and further,

resolve the split among this nation’s courts.

n

38

CONCLUSION

This Court should issue a writ of certiorari

here to review the decision of the New York Court of

Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT M. MORGENTHAU

District Attorney

New York County

One Hogan Place

New York, New York 10013

(212) 335-9000

MARK RYAN DWYER*

ERIC S. ROSEN

VINCENT RIVELLESE

Assistant District Attorneys

Of Counsel

*Counsel of Record for Petitioner

June 13, 2008

39

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.