Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cabrera-Frattini v. United States (No. 08-830)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Sunce: Coe

\ () O8- 83 0DEC 2 9 anp8

No.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JOSE R. CABRERA-FRATTINI, LANCE CORPORAL,

UNITED STATES MARINE Corps,

Petitioner.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

S. BABU KAZA KATHLIEEN LL. KADLEC

Captain, Licutenant,

U.S. Marine Corps JAGC, USN

Counsel of Record Counse]

1254 Charles Morris StS 1254 Charles Morris St. Sie

Bldg 58, Suite LOO Bhly 58, Suite 100

Washington, DLC. 2057 Washington, 1.0. 20874

(202)-6859- 7093 (202)-685° 7394

1!

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Appellant was accused of having sex with a 12

year old girl, but while the government had free

access to talk to the alleged victim to prepare for

trial, the defense was not given any opportunity to

interview the alleged victim. The military judge

ordered the alleged victim to submit to a pretrial

deposition in order to remedy this unequal access to

crucial evidence. Shortly before trial, the alleged

victim was abruptly found unavailable to testify,

and, over defense objection, a video of her deposition

testimony was played for the jury. The question

presented is:

Did the lower court err when it found that the

deposition was a _ Constitutionally — effective

opportunity for cross-examination, where the

deposition was the first and only opportunity for the

defense to speak to the alleged victim, and the

deposition had been specifically ordered to remedy

the defense’s inability to effectively prepare for trial?

111

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED.......00.cccccssscssevcecscessoess i

TAREE OF AUTOR EG os ivcccsscscessesveccucecenesss 1V

COP EES EN SOAS YT oy snee ce cicverss ciesxsxcasveveuseeeee 1

PE FE i eit a cna 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PES VERNON ES Be Os Fie sisis sss eave senenevaccesabaaedens 1

a Pe INES in da peicittcnres sevens cs ieewe cues eg tee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 7

The Lower Court Has Decided an Unsettled

Question of Federal Constitutional Law:

Whether a Deposition Was a Constitutionally

Effective Opportunity for Cross-Examination,

Where the Deposition was the First and Only

Opportunity for the Defense to Speak to the

Alleged Victim, and the Deposition had Been

Specifically Ordered to Remedy the Defense’s

Inability to Effectively Prepare for Trial.

ob Fo. i. Senne Bee ene re riar FeAl ta rie annie 12

FEES ITE Fis ntxetavexces akisatenchlae ts ee ee la

Pe TR Misa ces grees Cera eee ee 2a

APPENDIX C

Be TRI incon acceresiseneestgnace een ne 38a

1V

FEE e PNII, Wien on oaennccckncscundsstibsdlaaagedaisaons

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States Supreme Court

Crawford v. Washington,

541 U.S. 36 (2004)........

Delaware v Fensterer, 474 U.S. 15 (1985)......

Mancusi v Stubbs, 408 U.S. 204 (1972).......

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980)............

United States Circuit Court of Appeals

Harrison v Quarterman, 496 F.3d 419

5" Civ, DOGG). «cc cccccsncs

United States Court of Appeals

for the Armed Forces

United States v Cokelev, 22 M.J. 225

(os 2 en

United States v Conner. 27 M.J. 378

MLA. TSG... cs ccccseces

United States v Crockett, 21 M.J. 423

(os. |

l/nited States v Fluellen, 40 M.J. 96

OMA. 1004)........4...

eee eee eeee

Tops tann t 93a

Page

passim

so f

Saiaeeneas 8

passim

cuaewokaune 9

aseuawewes 3

United States v Vanderwelr, 25 M.J. 263

i cee ae chiciidankcikaieatonacons S)

Navy-Marine Corps Court of Criminal Appeals

United States v Cabrera-Frattini, 65 M.J. 950

(N.M.Ct.Crim.App. 2008)........ 11

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces (CAAF)

summarily affirmed the decision of the Navy-Marine

Corps Court of Criminal Appeals (NMCCA) at

United States v. Cabrera-Frattini, 2008 CAAF

LEXIS 1086 (C.A.A.F. 2008). App. A, infra, at la.

The principal opinion of the NMCCA is United

States V. Cabrera-Frattini, 65 M..J. 950

(N.M.Ct.Crim.App. 2008). App. B, infra at 2a. The

case had previously been remanded to the NMCCA

by the CAAF after a successful government appeal at

United States v. Cabrera-Frattini, 65 MJ. 241

(C.A.A.F. 2007). App. C, infra, at 20a. The original

appellate opinion by the NMCCA is at United States

v. Cabrera-Frattin, NMCCA No. 200201665,

unpublished op. (N-M. Ct. Crim. App. August 2,

2006). App. D, infra, at 38a.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces granted

review of Petitioner's case and affirmed his

conviction on October 1, 2008. This Court's

jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1259(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the United States

Constitution is reproduced in App. FE, infra at 98a.

i)

STATEMENT

During a two month period in the Spring of 2001,

T**** O***** (“PO”), a twelve year old girl, engaged

in heavy drinking and multiple sex acts with several

different partners, to include male Maries, while

spending several nights at the home of Private First

Class (PFC) Roy McNamara, USMC.! After TO’s

activities came to hght, the Naval Criminal

Investigative Service (NCIS) conducted an

investigation, and received a statement from TO

indicating that she had engaged in sex acts with PFC

McNamara and with Lance Corporal (LCpl) Fredery

Tapia, USMC, but with no mention of the Appellant.?

PFC McNamara provided a statement indicating he

had had sex with TO, and also that PFC Tapia and

Appellant had sex with TO.* Appellant was

subsequently placed in pretrial confinement, and

charged with carnal knowledge and indecent acts for

alleged sexual intercourse with TO.*

TO did not testify at the ensuing Article 32

hearing, nor were Appellant’s trial defense counsels

allowed to interview her: TO and her mother refused

to make themselves available to the defense, and

only spoke to the government counsel.® Asa result,

the defense counsel requested the convening

authority to order a deposition of TO. a request

which was denied.

After arraignment, defense counsel requested the

| Appellate Exhibit CAR”) XXXV at 33: Record (“R”) at 291,299

-AE XXXV at 13; (R. at 348).

‘(R. at 302,303).

* Charge Sheet

»(R. at 33): AE IT at 3.

3

military judge order a new Article 32 because, among

other reasons, they had not been given an

opportunity to speak to TO or have her subject to

cross-examination.® A deposition was requested to

both give the defense an opportunity to speak to TO

in a controlled environment, and to acquire sworn

testimony which could later be used at trial] for

impeachment.’ The government counsel responded

by arguing that he would try to make efforts to have

TO available for interview, but that she would

definitely be present for trial.®

The military judge denied the request for a new

Article 32 hearing, but did order a deposition of TO,

and ordered it to be considered by the convening

authority.2 In making his ruling, the military judge

stated, “[T]he accused should not be denied the

opportunity for cross-examination of a key

Government witness under oath prior to trial.”'° TO

was subsequently deposed on November 13, 2001 by

government counsel and defense counsel, in the

presence of appellant.!!

On December 4, 2001, TO was admitted to Spirit

of St. Louis Hospital due to her therapist’s concern

that her mental and emotional health had recently

deteriorated.!* She remained a patient there for 7

days, and was released on December 10, 2001. On

December 11, 2001, a defense motion in limine to

prevent the Government from offering TO’s

6 (R. at 24.)

“dR. at 24,25,31.)

*(R. at 27,28.)

“(Rat 65.)

'0 Td. (emphasis added).

TAFE XXXV.

'2 (R. at 174.)

4

deposition in lieu of her live testimony was litigated

before the military judge.

The defense counsel stated that he had seen the

deposition as an opportunity to finally interview TO,

and a tool to prepare for her actual cross-

examination at trial. He stated, “The defense’s

understanding what the purpose of [the deposition]

was to interview [TO] .. . that’s how my preparation

was set up during the deposition . . . it was not the

defense’s goal to cross-examine her as if we were at

trial.”'3 Consequently, he argued, the deposition was

deficient: as defense counsel had never been

permitted to speak to TO prior to the deposition he

could not prepare an actual cross-examination, and

as he had been assured that TO would be at trial he

omitted several questions and topics which would

otherwise have been raised. !4

Ultimately, TO’s treating physician, Dr. Linda

Bock, provided sworn testimony before the court

which indicated that TO could not testify in court, as

it would create excessive emotional distress. In

discussing TO’s prognosis, Dr. Bock indicated that,

in general, “life stressors” tended to exacerbate the

symptoms of bipolar disorder.'*® Dr. Bock also

3 (R. at 94).

'4(R. at 94,95)(1f I had the chance to interview her ahead of

time and then we had a deposition, I would agree with the

Government, because at the deposition I would have known

what she was going to say. | would have known how to

properly cross-exumine her, and I would have had that evidence

before me at my fingertips to present to her say, what about

this? What about this inconsistent statement? What about this

lapse in memory? What about this aleohol that vou just

identified? | couldn't do that because I don’t have a crvstal

ball.”).

I5(R. at 177.)

5

related that TO indicated she did not want to testify

at Appellant’s court-martial}:

[TO] focused on [testifying] as though

that was part of why she couldn’t go on

living. It would be better to be dead. I

don’t want to go back to court. I'm so

tired of all this. [TO] was not willing to

discuss the events. She had a very

dictatorial, entitled, self-important

attitude, attitude with a capital A. It

was like don’t bother me with this. I

have got a life to live. I don’t want to be

doing depositions. !®

Dr. Bock concluded her direct examination by stating

that TO testifying at trial would “[NJot be good for

her. It would be bad for her.”!7 On cross-

examination, Dr. Bock acknowledged that her actual

interaction with TO was limited to a total of one and

a half (1%) hours over a five (5) day period. Dr. Bock

acknowledged that after TO was allowed to return to

school after she was released from the hospital, and

she simply needed to receive follow-up treatment

with a therapist.'® Dr. Bock had no further contact

with TO after her release from the hospital on 10

December, and had no actual knowledge of TO’s then

existing mental condition.!%

Ultimately, Dr. Bock indicated that TO would not

be able to healthily discuss the allegations against

Appellant until she was “18-25 years old.”“" Dr. Bock

made it clear that while it was physically possible for

(CK. at 179.)

7 (R. at 180.)

Ie (R. at 191.)

“™(R. at 191,192.)

2° (R. at 198,203.)

6

TO to testify in court, doing so would have no

medical value as it would in no way be beneficial to

TO’s recovery.?!

The military judge ruled that TO was unavailable,

and denied the motion in limine, thereby permitting

the Government to use the videotape of TO’s

deposition as substantive evidence before the jury.”

The judge addressed 6th Amendment confrontation

clause concerns, but, relying on Ohio v Foberts,

ultimately found that the deposition contained an

adequate cross-examination and had sufficient

guarantees of reliability to be admitted as former

testimony.23

After the deposition was ruled admissible, defense

counsel asked the military judge if he could choose

which of his cross-examination questions from the

videotape he could have played before the members,

stating, “If she was testifying I would get to choose

what I asked her in cross and [I may wish to do that

as well in the videotape.”“4 The military judge

refused the request, stating that the cross-

examination would have to be entered in its entirety

or not at all.2° In light of this ruling. the defense

elected to not play the cross-examination at trial.26

“1 (Rat 198,202.)

(KR. at 230.)

-* RR. at 230,231) When balanced against the deprivation of

confrontation right. the interests of public policv and necessities

of this case warrant dispensing with a confrontation at this

trial.) See also Ohi v Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980).

“4 (RK. at 239.)

Td.

“6 (R. at 28s)

,

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Lower Court Has Decided an Unsettled Question

of Federal Constitutional Law; Whether a Deposition

Was a Constitutionally Effective Opportunity for

Cross-Examination, Where the Deposition was the

First and Only Opportunity for the Defense to Speak

to the Alleged Victim, and the Deposition had Been

Specifically Ordered to Remedy the Defense’s

Inability to Effectively Prepare for Trial.

Under Crawford v Washington, after 1t is first

established that evidence is testimonial hearsay and

the declarant is unavailable, the second requirement

for admissibility is that there must have been an

adequate opportunity for cross-examination. In

overruling Ohio v Roberts, Crawford emphasizes that

cross-examination under the Confrontation Clause is a

procedural! right, not a substantive right.2?

Thus, the Confrontation Clause “commands, not

that evidence be reliable, but that reliability be

assessed in a particular manner: by testing in the

crucible of cross-examination.”“° Additionally,

California v Green clarifies that under the

Confrontation Clause there must have been an

opportunity for “full and effective cross-

examination.’”9 Notably. Delaware v Fenstere:

admonishes that “Generally speaking, the

Confrontation Clause guarantees an opportunity for

effective cross-examination, not cress examination

that is effective in whatever way, and to whatever

7 See Crawford v Washington, 541 U.S. 36,61 (2004)

23 Ld

9399 U.S. at 158

8

extent, the defense might wish.”#0

Similarly, Ohio v Roberts indicates that an

opportunity for cross-examination at a preliminary

hearing would be sufficient to satisfy the

Confrontation Clause.?! Notwithstanding this

language from Fensterer and Hoberts, this Court has

still acknowledged that there are guidelines which

must be followed for assessing whether there was a

“full and fair opportunity” for cross-examination,

guidelines which must now be refocused in light of

Crawford’s new emphasis on confrontation as a

procedural right. Specifically, Mancusi v Stubbs

found that cross-examination by a defense lawyer

who had only been appointed four-days previously

was per se deficient, and not a full and fair

opportunity for cross-examination: the procedural

posture of the case was itself invalid to satisfy the

Sixth Amendment.*2

A similar precedent was established by the Court

of Military Appeals in United States v Conner, where

the court contemplated a due process challenge to

the use at trial of an unavailable witness’s Article 32

testimony. The court found that the opportunity for

cross-examination would be decificent if “the defense

requested information for use in cross-examining a

witness at an Article 32 hearing, but the requested

information was withheld by the Government and

not made available to the defense.”3?

In the instant case, the Government had free

access to speak to TO, but the defense was denied

° Delaware v Fensterer, 474 U.S. 15, 20 (1985).

! Ohio v Roberts, 448 U.S. at 73.

- See Mancusi v Stubbs, 408 U.S. 204 (1972).

see United States v Conner, 24 M.J. 378, 390 (C_.M_A. L989)

9

any opportunity to obtain an interview.*4 Asa

result, the defense requested the convening authority

to order a deposition of TO. In the government

counsel’s endorsement to the convening authority, he

recommended the deposition request be denied,

stating, “(T]here is absolutely no evidence that [TO]

will be unavailable for trial. In fact the parents of all

three minors have stated to Government counsel

that they will be present [at] trial.”*5 In accordance

with the trial counsel's reeommendation, the

convening authority denied the request.?6

Rule for Courts-martial 701(e) provides that the

defense will have equal access to interview witnesses

prior to trial.’’ The Government’s failure to ensure

equal access was what prompted the military judge

to order the deposition. Although the Article 32

would be reconsidered as part of the deposition, the

defense was never informed that there was any

possibility TO would become unavailable. To the

contrary, the Government repeatedly assured the

defense and the military judge that TO would be

available for trial. 38 Thus, this deposition is unlike

depositions which are specifically ordered in

anticipation of witness unavaulability.*”

34 (R. at 33).

+> AE XIV at 2.

46 AE XIV at 1.

37 RULE FOR COURTS-MARTIAL 701(e)( Each party shall

have ... equal opportunity to interview witnesses and inspect

evidence. No party may unreasonably impede the access of

another party to a witness or evidence.”)

8 (R. at 27.28): AE XIV at 2

" See, e.g, United States v Crockett, 21 M.J. 423 (1986):

Umited States v Cokeleyv, 22 M.J. 225 (C.M.A. 1986): United

States v Vanderweir, 25 M.J. 263 (C.M.A. 1987).

10

Once the deposition was ordered, the defense

counsels ceased their efforts to interview TO. As

there would be a deposition there was no need to

increase TO’s stress by having her speak to defense

more than once.*° Hence, the deposition was the

only time the defense had any contact with the

essential Government witness, but they were never’

informed that it would be their on/y opportunity.

Procedurally, as a matter of due process as well

as under R.C.M. 701(d), there can be no doubt that it

would be improper for a defense counsel to be denied

access to an essential Government witness until his

opportunity for cross-examination at the actual

court-martial. Indeed, if a defense counsel does not

make any effort to interview relevant witnesses prior

to a court-martial it is a strong basis for a claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel.1!

Yet, the instant case lacks the due process even of

the above scenario, as at least under those

circumstances the defense counsel would have

known that he was conducting his ultimate cross-

examination of the key Government witness. This

was not true in the instant case, as the defense

counsel was assured that TO would be at trial four

weeks later, and believed he was only conducting

(Rat 24,2831).

4! See United States v Fluciien, 40 M.J. 96,98 (C.M.A.

1994)(“Effective counsel will contact potential witnesses to

determine the facts, not necessarily the facts admissible in

evidence. but all the facts. This can be done by talking to all

potential witnesses. counsel for any suspects where there might

be an indication that rights were invoked, and by visiting the

scene of the crime. (citations omitted): Harrison v Quarterman.

496 F.3d 419, 426 (5 Cir. 2005) CIf counsel does not speak toa

witness, then counsel ‘1s 1ll-equipped to assess his credibility or

persuasiveness as a witness. VMeitations omitted).

1 |

trial preparation.??

A cross-examination in which counsel has been

denied a prior equal opportunity to interview the

witness, and had no notice that his first contact with

the witness was actually his only opportunity for

cross-examination, should be considered little more

than a shadow of the bedrock procedura/ guarantee

contemplated by Crawford, and can not be considered

sufficient to have satisfied Appellant’s rights under

the 6" Amendment.

The lower court erroneously excuses the procedural

violations attendant to the cross-examination of TO,

by counter-factually referring to the violations as

“tactical decisions” by trial defense counsel.*? Yet, the

trial defense counsel directly stated on the record that

the defense was misled and prejudiced by the actions

of the government, and was therefore not able to

conduct an actual cross-examination. Further, the

factors cited by the lower court--that appellant faced

the same charges at the deposition and had the same

incentive for cross-examination--are irrelevant to any

assessment of procedural fairness and whether

Appellant was extended his due process right to

confrontation.

Certainly, it must be acknowledged that there are

procedural circumstances where even if an accused

has the “same incentive” during cross-examination,

the opportunity for cross-examination could still be

found Const)tutionally ineffective, such as where the

government has withheld relevant evidence from the

defense.

This Court should grant certiori to identify the

(RR. at 94.95).

4565 MJ. at 953, 954.

12

parameters of these circumstances, and should hold

that where the government has denied the defense

access to a key witness, then the presumptive first

interview of that witness may not, by surprise, later

operate as the only opportunity for cross-examination

and still held to be Constitutionally effective.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

S. BABU KAZA

Captain,

U.S. Marine Corps

Counsel of Record

1254 Charles Morris St SE

Bldg 58, Suite 100

Washington, D.C. 20374

(202)-685- 7093

KATHLEEN L. KADLEC

Lieutenant,

JAGC, USN

Counsel

1254 Charles Morris St SE

Bldg 58, Suite100

Washington, D.C. 20374

(202)-685-7394

la

Appendix A

US. v. Jose R. CABRERA-FRATTINI.

No. 08-0524/MC.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

ARMED FORCES

2008 CAAF LEXIS 1086

October 1, 2008, Decided NOTICE: DECISION

WITHOUT PUBLISHED OPINION

PRIOR HISTORY: [*1]

CCA 200201665.

United States v. Cabrera-Frattini, 65 M.J. 950, 2008

CCA LEXIS 74 (N-M.C.C.A., 2008)

OPINION

On consideration of the petition for grant of

review of the decision of the United States Navy-

Marine Corps Court of Criminal Appeals, it is

ordered that said petition is hereby granted, and

that the decision of the United States Navy-Marine

Corps Court of Criminal Appeals is affirmed.

2a

Appendix B

UN:iTED STATES NAVY-MARINE CORPS

COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

WASHINGTON, D.C.

Before

J.F. FELTHAM, F.D. MITCHELL, D.E.

O'TOOLE

Appellate Military Judges

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vv.

JOSE R. CABRERA-FRATTINI

LANCE CORPORAL (E-3), U.S. MARINE

CORPS

NMCCA 200201665

GENERAL COURT-MARTIAL

Sentence Adjudged: 25 January 2002.

Military Judge: Col Alvin Keller, USMC.

Convening Authority: Commanding General,

Marine Corps Recruit Depot, Parris Island, S.C.

Staff Judge Advocate's Recommendation:

Colonel M. Fisher, USMC.

For Appellant: LT Jennie Goldsmith, JAGC, USN:

Capt Babu Kaza, USMC.

For Appellee: Maj Brian Keller. USMC.

28 February 2008

Ce ee ee

O'TOOLE, Judge:

Officer and enlisted members, sitting as a

general court-martial, convicted the appellant,

contrary to his pleas, of carnal knowledge and of

committing an indecent act with a minor, in

violation of Articles 120 and 134, Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. §§ 920 and 934. The

members sentenced the appellant to confinement for

three years, forfeiture of all pay and allowances,

reduction to pay grade E-1, and a dishonorable

discharge. The convening authority approved the

sentence as adjudged.

After carefully considering the entire record of

trial, the appellant’s seven assignments of error,! the

' The appellant's assigned errors are contained in Appellant’s

Brief of 7 March 2005 and Appellant’s Supplemental Brief of 31

August 2007:

1. The military judge erred to the substantial prejudice

of appellant when he failed to dismiss the senior

member after learning that [TO's] stepfather was one of

his drill instructors.

Il. Appellant was denied his night to confrontation

under the Sixth Amendment by the military judge's

finding that the primary witness against him was

unavailable and admitting her deposition during trial.

4a

briefs and supplemental briefs of the appellant and

of the Government, we conclude that the findings

and sentence are correct in law and fact and that no

error materially prejudicial to the substantial rights

of the appellant was committed. Arts. 59(a) and

66(c).

Procedural History of the Case

A predecessor panel of this court set aside the

findings and sentence, holding that the trial judge

erred in allowing a pre-trial deposition to be

introduced into evidence in lieu of the personal

appearance of the putative minor victim, “lO,”

thereby violating the appellant’s Sixth Amendment

Right to Confrontation. United States v. Cabrera-

Frattini, No.200201665, 2006 CCA Lexis 218,

Ill. ‘he trial counsel improperly argued during

presentencing that the members should place

themselves in the position of the alleged victim.

IV. The trial counsel committed prosecutorial

misconduct in that he commented on Appellant’s

decision not to testify by using the word “unrebutted”

thirteen times.

V. Appellant's charges constitute an unreasonable

multiplication of charges since they both describe the

same act.

Vl. Based on the cumulative effect of assignment ot

error 1-1V, Appellant was denied a fair trial.

VIL. Appellant was subjected to cruel and unusual

punishment in violation of the Eighth Amendment to

the United States Constitution and Article 55, UCM.

Sa

unpublished op. (N.M.Ct.Crim.App. 2 Aug

2006)( Cabrera-Frattini J). This court’s decision was

overturned by our superior court, which held that

“(ulnder the particular facts of this case, we hold

that the military judge did not abuse his discretion

by concluding that the Government made good faith

efforts to procure the witness’s presence for trial,

concluding that TO was unavailable, and admitting

TO’s videotaped deposition testimony.” United

States v. Cabrera-Frattini, 65 M.J. 241, 248

(C.A.A.F. 2007) Cabrera-Frattini I).2

We also note that, during the pendency of the

appeal in this case, the Supreme Court decided the

case of Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004).

Crawford held that, in order to admit testimonial

hearsay, “the Sixth Amendment demands what the

common law required: unavailability and a prior

opportunity for cross-examination.” /d. at 68. On

the basis of that decision, the appellant now seeks

review asserting, inter alia, that the deposition

process in this case did not provide him a

constitutionally adequate prior opportunity for cross-

examination. The previous decision of this court

concluded otherwise.’? However, that summary

conclusion was not the product of a substantive

consideration of the narrow issue now presented.

Furthermore, even though “[t]his portion of the

’ Our predecessor panel, having granted relief on the second

assigned error, did not have occasion to review the other

assigned errors. We will do so.

*“There is no dispute that the deposition was properly ordered

and conducted, and the appellant had ample and full

opportunity to cross-examine TO, with a view toward the

deposition’s possible later use at trial.” Cabrera-Frattini 1,

2006 CCA Lexis 218, at 13.

6a

decision was not appealed” (Cabrera-Frattini Il, 65

M.J. at 243, n.2.), in view of the shifting of case law

from 2001 to the present, we do not consider the

narrow issue as having been waived. /d. at 245

(quoting Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314, 328

(1987)(holding that “a new rule for the conduct of

criminal prosecutions is to be applied retroactively to

all cases... pending on review.”).

We have, therefore, reviewed anew this

assigned error and affirm our prior holding. The

deposition was properly ordered and conducted, and

the appellant had a full and fair opportunity to

cross-examine ‘l'O.

Depositions and the Confrontation Clause

Background

The charges against the appellant arose from

his alleged sexual involvement with a teenage minor,

TO. TO did not testify at the Article 32, UCMJ,

investigative hearing. Following referral of charges,

the defense requested that the convening authority

order a deposition of TO. The convening authority

denied the request. At trial, the defense raised a

motion for a new Article 32, UCM, investigation.

The military judge found that the investigation had

been conducted in substantial compliance with RULE

FOR COURTS*-MARTIAL 405, MANUAL FOR COURTS:

MARTIAL, UNITED STATES (2000 ed.), but he ordered

an oral deposition of ‘lO, so that the defense would

have the opportunity to cross-examine the key

Government witness prior to trial. That deposition

7a

was conducted and videotaped on 13 November

2001. Present were the appellant’s individual

military counsel (IMC), assistant defense counsel,

the accused, and trial counsel. After direct

examination of TO by the trial counsel, the IMC

conducted cross-examination. About a month later,

TO was hospitalized and remained unavailable to

testify at trial. A portion of the videotape was then

admitted in lieu of her direct testimony, giving rise

to the first assigned error. The IMC objected to

playing the portion of the videotape containing his

cross-“examination ef TO and that portion was not

played.

Analysis: Purpose of Depositions in Criminal Cases

In military practice, the primary purpose of a

deposition under R.C.M. 702(a) is to preserve

testimony for future use at trial. MANUAL FOR

COURTS-MARTIAL, UNITED STATES (2000 ed.), App.

21, at A21-34 (citing Hearings on H.R. 2498 Before a

Subcomm. of the Comm. on Armed Services 81st

Cong. Ist Sess. 1064-1070 (1949)). The Analysis of

R.C.M. 702(a) notes that federal courts have

consistently construed the rule’s counterpart,

FEDERAL RULE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 15(A), as a

device used to preserve future testimony and not as

a discovery vehicle. United States v. Varbaro, 597

F.Supp. 1173, 1181 (S.D.N.Y. 1984): see United

States v. Adcock, 558 F.2d 397, 406 (8th Cir.

1977)citing 8 J. Moore's Federal Practice P 15.01[3]

at 15-8 (1976)). Military practice provides for

somewhat more flexible use of depositions in

circumstances unique to the military, such as

8a

securing the sworn testimony of a witness prior to

trial who was improperly found to be unavailable at

an Article 32, UCMJ, investigation. United States v.

Chestnut, 2 M.J. 84 (C.M.A. 1976). Additionally, as

in this case, a deposition may be ordered to allow the

defense an opportunity to cross-examine an essential

witness who was not available at the Article 32,

UCM, investigation. United States v. Chuculate, 5

M.J. 143 (C.M.A. 1978). But, even under such

circumstances, litigants are on notice that a

deposition could be admitted at trial in the event the

witness is determined to be unavailable. R.C.M.

702(a), Discussion. Despite this, the appellant here

declined other available options, such as a telephone

interview of TO, and specifically requested an oral

deposition. On the basis of the clear state of the law

regarding depositions in criminal cases, we reject

any implication or assertion that the appellant was

somehow misled by the circumstances, or by the

order of the military judge, such that he did not

understand the deposition of TO could be admitted

at trial, if she were to become unavailable.

Analysis: “Effectiveness” of Cross-Examination

The Supreme Court has declined to assess the

effectiveness of questioning when an appellant has

been given an opportunity for cross-examination.

Qhio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 73 (1980), overruled by

Crawford, 541, U.S. at 36. The court held that “in all

but extraordinary cases, no inquiry into

‘effectiveness is required. A holding that every case

involving prior testimony requires such an inquiry

would frustrate the principal objective of generally

9a

validating the prior-testimony exception in the first

place -- increasing certainty and consistency in the

application of the Confrontation Clause.” /d. at

n.12.1 More to the point, “[t]he Confrontation

Clause guarantees .. . [t]he opportunity for effective

cross-examination, however [it] does not extend to

cross-examination that 1s effective in whatever way,

and to whatever extent, the defense might wish.”

United States v. Longstreath, 45 M.J. 366, 373-74

(C.A.A.F. 1996)(quoting De/aware v. Fensterer, 474

U.S. 15, 20 (1985)(emphasis in original). The

portions of the Roberts and Fensterer opinions,

withholding inquiry into the effectiveness of prior

cross-ecxamination, were not disturbed by the

subsequent holding in Crawford,° and we decline to

abandon them. To do otherwise would result in

there being no firm rule for courts and counsel to

rely upon when evaluating the admissibility of prior

testimony.

In this case, the appellant had access to TO's

prior written statement, as well as the benefit of

interviewing the other witnesses and participating

in an Article 32, UCMJ, investigation. The decision

‘The Supreme Court cited Mancus: v. Stubbs, 408 U.S. 204

(1972), as an example of an extraordinary case, [In that case,

the court considered the adequacy of counsel's cross-

examination ina prior hearing only after finding that the

appellant's counsel was otherwise ineffective. /d at 209

“Our cases have thus remained faithful to the Framers’

understanding: Testimonial statements ot witnesses absent

from trial have been admitted only where the declarant is

unavailable, and only where the defendant has had a prior

opportunity to cross-examine. Crawford, 541 U.S. at 59

10a

to decline a telephone interview of TO and request

an oral deposition was an informed, tactical choice.

During the deposition, the charges against the

appellant were the same as those for which he was

later tried, so the appellant had the same interest in

cross-examination during the deposition as he had at

trial. He was present with both of his defense

counsel, the trial counsel, and the putative victim.

The choice of questions posed during the deposition

cross-examination involved a series of tactical

decisions, made with notice that the deposition could

be introduced into evidence if TO were found to be

unavailable for trial.

We find that these circumstances presented

an adequate opportunity to effectively cross-examine

TO at the deposition and the appellant’s IMC availed

himself of that opportunity. In view of these facts.

we find the videotape of TO's testimony bore

sufficient "indicia of reliability" and afforded the

trier of fact a satisfactory basis for evaluating the

truth of the prior statement. United States v. Hines,

23 M.J. 125, 129-30 (C.M.A. 1986): United States v.

Vietor, 10 M.J. 69, 73 (C.M.A. 1980)(Everett, C.J.,

concurring in the result). We hold, therefore, that

the appellant was afforded a full and fair

opportunity for effective cross-examination of TO

and that admitting TO’s deposition into evidence at

trial did not violate the appellant's Sixth

Amendment Right to Confrontation.®

* The ruling in Cabrerra-Fratini 1/ determined that TO was

correctly found to have been unavailable to testify at trial

lla

Prosecutorial Misconduct

In his third and fourth assignments of error,

the appellant argues that the trial counsel

impermissibly commented on the appellant’s failure

to testify and later improperly asked the members to

put themselves in the victim’s position. The IMC,

however, did not object at trial te either of these

arguments. We, therefore, review for plain error.

R.C.M. 919(c): see United States v. Erikson, 65 M.dJ.

221, 223 (C.A.A.F. 2007)citing United States v.

Barrazamartinez, 58 M.J. 173, 175 (C.A.A.F. 2003)

and United States v. Gilley, 56 M.J. 113, 123

(C.A.A.F. 2001)). To prevail under a plain error

analysis, the appellant “must demonstrate that: ‘(1)

there was error; (2) it was plain or obvious: and (3)

the error materially prejudiced a substantial right.”

Id. (quoting United States v. Kho, 54 M.J. 63, 65

(C.A.A.F. 2000)Mciting United States v. Finster, 51

M.J. 185, 187 (C.A.A.F. 1999)). In applying this

“black letter” law, we are mindful that a

prosecutorial comment must be examined in light of

its context within the entire court-martial. United

States v. Carter, 61 M.J. 30, 33 (C.A.A.F. 2005).

Regarding trial counsel's argument on

findings, it is well- established that a trial counsel

may not comment upon the fact that an accused did

not testify in his own defense, either "directly,

indirectly, or by innuendol.]" United States. v.

Mobley, 31 M.J. 273, 279 (C.M.A. 1990)citing Griffin

v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965)). “Furthermore, he

is not permitted to comment on an accused's failure

12a

to produce witnesses in his behalf.” /d. (citing

United States v. Swoape, 21 M.J. 414 (C.M.A. 1986)).

“If such comments are made, the record must then

be examined for prejudice to determine whether the

errec was harmless.” Jd. (citing Chapman v.

California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967)).

Looking at the trial counsel’s argument in the

context of this case as a whole, it appears he was not

commenting on the silence of the accused, or on his

defense, but on the strength of the Government’s

case, each witness having testified in general

conformity with the others. Nevertheless, the

military judge perceived the potential for this

argument to be improperly interpreted. To prevent

any unintended inference, the trial judge sua sponte

interrupted the trial counsel. He then took the

unusual step of questioning the trial counsel in the

presence of the members. He secured the trial

counsel's assurance that his comments about the

Government's witnesses being “unrebutted” were not

comments on the accused’s right to remain silent.

The military judge then instructed the members that

the appellant was under no obligation to testify. He

thereafter included in his instructions on findings

that the appellant is presumed to be innocent, that

the burden of proof never shifts to him, and that he

has a right to remain silent. Apparently, the IMC

was satisfied with the military judge's actions and

saw no need for any additional corrective

instructions. We. too, are confident that the prompt

action of the military judge clarified the purpose of

the trial counsel's argument, reemphasized the

appellants right not to testify, and prevented any

I3a

prejudice. Based on these facts, we find no plain

error and, to the extent the trial counsel’s comments

were improper, they were harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt.

Moving to sentencing, "Golden Rule"

arguments ask the court members to place

themselves in the position of the victim or the

victim's near relative. They are improper because

they seek to inflame the members of the court.

United States v. Baer, 53 M.J. 235, 237-38 (C.A.A.F.

2000). In this case, trial counsel’s reference to the

members’ “kids” not being safe on base “with this

guy [the appellant] around” was improper. However,

this was but a single reference in a lengthy, six-page

argument on sentence. The reference appears to

have been the trial counsel’s attempt to address the

impact of the appellant’s misconduct on society and

the Marine Corps. In context, the improper

argument does not overtly appeal to the emotions of

the members in an inflammatory manner. Our

finding is confirmed by the fact that the IMC raised

no objection at trial. We conclude that, although

trial counsel’s argument was error, it was neithe'

obvious in the context of his broader argument, nor

did it materially prejudice the appellant's

substantial rights. Plain error is, therefore, not

demonstrated and the appellant is entitled to no

relief.

Finally. with respect to the assertion that the

trial counsel's arguments are prosecutorial

misconduct, we note that prosecutorial misconduct 1s

“action or inaction by a prosecutor in violation of

14a

some legal norm or standard, e.g., a constitutional

provision, a statute, a Manual rule, or an applicable

professional ethics canon." United States v.

Rodriguez-Rivera, 63 M.J. 372, 378 (C.A.A.F.

2006)(citations and internal quotation marks

omitted). We find that the instances of argument

cited by the appellant do not rise to the level of

prosecutorial misconduct, either individually or

cumulatively, and they merit no relief. See United

States v. Doctor, 21 C.M.R. 252, 261 (C.M.A.

1956)("It is a little difficult for us to find misconduct

which compels a reversal when it purportedly arises

out of an argument which had so little impact on

defense counsel that they sat silently by and failed to

mention it... at the time of trial.").

Challenge of Members

After the findings were announced, the court

recessed for a short period. During that recess, the

senior member, Lieutenant Colonel (LtCol) F, saw

Staff Sergeant (SSgt) R, a driJl instructor in his

battalion, and inquired why he was in the law

center. SSgt R replied that he was interested in the

sentencing of the case, but he did not elaborate.

During the subsequent vorr dire of LtCol F, he

acknowledged that he had heard SSgt R’s last name

during the trial testimony and, given his unique last

name, he thought that SSet R might be TQ’s

stepfather. LtCol F also said that, while he knew

SSet R’s last name, he did not know his first name

and did not know very much about him. He knew

that SSgt R was a drill instructor in his battalion,

but he did not have direct interaction with him

15a

because, as battalion commander, LtCol F worked

through company commanders and First Sergeants.

When the military judge asked whether the

knowledge that SSgt R was TO’s stepfather would

influence LtCol F’s deliberations in any way, LtCol F

said, “No.” Record at 441. Thereafter, the appellant

declined two opportunities to conduct his own voir

dire of LtCol F regarding his relationship with SSet

R. Record at 441-438. The appellant then challenged

LtCol F for cause under R.C.M. 912(f)(2)(B).7 The

military judge denied the challenge, finding that the

senior member’s voir dire responses were “clear,

reassuring and unequivocal with regard to his

impartiality.” Record at 443. He also found that

SSgt R was not a member of the LtCol’s family, but a

staff noncommissioned officer in the LtCol’s

battalion with whom he had no regular contact.

R.C.M. 912(f)(1)(N) requires removal for cause

when “the member should not sit in the interest of

having the court-martial free from substantial doubt

as to legality, fairness and impartiality.” United

States v. Strand, 59 M.J. 455, 458 (C.A.A.F.

2004)(quoting United States v. Miles, 58 M.J. 192,

194 (C.A.A.F. 2003)). This rule encompasses both

actual and implied bias. /d@. A military judge's

ruling on a challenge for cause is ordinarily reviewed

for abuse of discretion. United States v. Armstrong,

54 M.J. 51, 53 (C.A.A.F. 2000)(citations omitted).

The military judge is entitled to great deference

when deciding whether actual bias exists, because it

is a question of fact. l/aited States v. Napolitano, 53

” Following the pretrial voir dire of LtCol F. the appellant had

not challenged him tor any reason. Record at 271-72

l6a

M.J. 162, 166 (C.A.A.F. 2000). He is given less

deference when we review his "finding on implied

bias because it is objectively 'viewed through the

eyes of the public." Jd. (quoting United States v.

Warden, 51 M.J. 78, 81 (C.A.A.F. 1999)). The proper

standard of review for implied bias is “less

deferential than abuse of discretion but more

deferential than de novo.” Strand, 59 M.J. at 458

(citations and internal quotation marks omitted).

“{I]mplied bias exists when, regardless of an

individual member's disclaimer of bias, most people

in the same position would be prejudiced [i.e.

biased]." Jd. at 459 (citations and internal quotation

marks omitted); accord, United States v. Townsend.

__MJ.___, No. 07-0229 (C.A.A.F. Feb 5, 2008). In

making a determination about implied bias, we

consider the totality of the factual circumstances.

Id.

Applying the above standards, we find no

abuse of discretion by the military judge in finding

no actual bias. He considered the professional

nature and the limited contacts of the relationship

between LtCol F and SSegt R, and found the senior

member’s responses to be “clear, reassuring and

unequivocal” regarding his actual ability to remain

impartial. The facts of record support the military

judge’s decision, particularly considering that we did

not see and hear LtCol F.

We also agree with the military judge that

there is no implied bias in the relationship of LtCol F

and SSgt R. The facts show the two had no personal

relationship. Indeed, LtCol F did not know the

SSet's first name and, prior to seeing him at the law

17a

center, LtCol F did not know that SSgt R was TO’s

step-father. The relationship of LtCol F and SSgt R

was limited to that of senior-subordinate, with

indirect interaction via intermediates in a military

chain of command. We do not believe that most

people in the position of LtCol F, a field grade officer

in command of a battalion, would be biased in favor

of one among several staff sergeants in his

command, such that he could not set aside this

limited professional! relationship and fulfill his oath

as an impartial court-martial member.®

Additionally, we do not believe that a member of the

public, in possession of all the facts, would view the

situation as unfair. See Strand, 59 M.J. at 460

(service by convening authority’s son as president of

court-martial did not raise a significant question of

legality, fairness, or impartiality, to the public

observer pursuant to the doctrine of implied bias).

Absent actual or implied bias, this issue is without

merit.

Cruel and Unusual Punishment

Prior to invoking judicial intervention for

alleged violations of Article 55, UCMJ, or the Eighth

Amendment, "a prisoner must seck administrative

rehef.” United States v. White, 54 M.J. 469, 472

* The R.C.M. 807 oath provides that a member wll “faithfully

and impartially try, according to the evidence, your conscience,

and the laws applicable to trial by court-martial, the case of the

accused now before this court.” R.C.M. 807(b)(2), Discussion.

18a

(C.A.A.F. 2001). Absent some unusual or egregious

circumstance, this includes demonstrating that he

has exhausted the prisoner-grievance system,

including a petition for relief under Article 138,

UCMJ. Id.

The record indicates that the appellant made

several complaints to brig authorities regarding his

confinement and the behavior of brig personnel.

These include Article 1150, UCMJ, complaints to the

Commanding Officer of Naval Consolidated Brig,

Charleston, and a Request Mast to the Commanding

General of Marine Corps Recruit Depot, Parris

Island. The appellant’s complaints were reviewed

and addressed by brig officials and the Commanding

General. Thereafter, the appellant did not make an

Article 138, UCMJ, complaint for additional relief.

We conclude that, if action taken by the various

officials was not adequate, the requisite

administrative exhaustion of remedies required to

invoke our review has not occurred. Additionally, we

are unable to find any “unusual or egregious’

circumstance that would prompt our review despite

a failure to exhaust administrative remedies. Asa

result, we find the issue is not ripe and we decline to

review it.

Cumulative Error

Having found the other assertions of error to be

without merit. they are insufficient to invoke the

doctrine of cumulative error. United States v. Gray,

51 M..J. 1, 61 (C.A.A.F: 1999).

19a

Unreasonable Multiplication of Charges

Finally, we considered the appellant’s assertion

that the charges of which he was found guilty

constitute an unreasonable multiplication of charges.

This claim is without merit. United States v.

Quiroz, 55 M.J. 334 (C.A.A.F. 2001). We will not

discuss it further. United States v. Matias, 25 M.J.

356, 361 (C.M.A. 1987).

Conclusion

The findings of guilty and the sentence, as

approved by the convening authority, are affirmed.

Senior Judge FELTHAM and Judge

MITCHELL concur.

For the Court

R.H. TROIDL

Clerk of Court

Appendix C

UNITED STATES, Appellant v. Jose R. CABRERA-

FRATTINI, Lance Corporal U.S. Marine Corps,

Appellee

20a

No. 07-5001

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

ARMED FORCES

65 MJ. 241, 2007 CAAF LEXIS 819

February 5, 2007, Argued

June 22, 2007, Decided

RYAN, J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in

which EFFRON, C.J., and BAKER, ERDMANN, and

STUCKY, JJ., joined.

For Appellant: Major Brian K. Keller, USMC

(argued); Commander P. C. LeBlanc, JAGC, USN,

and Colonel R. F. Miller, USMC (on brief).

For Appellee: Captain S. Babu Kaza, USMC

(argued).

Military Judges: A. W. Keller and T. A. Daley

(arraignment).

Judge RYAN delivered the opinion of the Court.

In Crawford v. Washington, the Supreme Court held

that "[tlestimonial statements of witnesses absent

from trial" are admissible "only where the declarant

is unavailable, and only where the defendant has

had a prior opportunity to cross-examine Ithe

witness]." 547 U.S. 86. 59, 124S. Ct. 1854, 158 L. Ed.

2d 177 (2004). We are asked in this case to determine

whether the military judge abused his discretion by

finding a thirteen-year-old witness suffering from

2la

bipolar disorder and post-traumatic stress syndrome

unavailable for Confrontation Clause purposes based

on the witness's medical records and the testimony of

a board-certified child psychiatrist that testifying

would be detrimental to the witness's mental and

physical health, including possible suicide at both

the time of trial and the foreseeable future. We hold

that the military judge did not abuse his discretion

by ruling that the witness was unavailable.

A general court-martial, composed of officer and

enlisted members, convicted Appellee, contrary to

his pleas, of carnal knowledge and committing an

indecent act with a minor in violation of Articles 120

and 134, Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCM),

10 U.S.C. §§ 920, 934 (2000). The sentence adjudged

by the court-martial and approved by the convening

authority included forfeiture of all pay and

allowances, reduction to the lowest enlisted grade,

confinement for three years, and a dishonorable

discharge. ‘The United States Navy-Marine Corps

Court of Criminal Appeals set aside the findings and

sentence, holding that the military judge erred by

determining that the witness was unavailable and

admitting her videotaped deposition, in violation of

Appellee's Sixth Amendment right to confrontation.

United States v. Cabrera-Frattini, No. NUCCA

200201665, 2006 CCA LEXIS 218, at *1 (N-M. Ct.

Crim. App. Aug. 2, 2006Xunpublished). Chief Judge

Rolph, in dissent, concluded that the military judge

had not erred. /d. 2006 CCA LEXIS 218 at *32-*68.

Pursuant to Article 67(a)(2), UCMJ, JOU S.C. §

SO67al(2) (2000), the Judge Advocate General of the

Navy certified to this Court this issue:

22a

WHETHER THE NAVY-MARINE CORPS COURT

OF CRIMINAL APPEALS ERRONEOUSLY HELD

THAT THE MILITARY JUDGE ABUSED HIS

DISCRETION BY FINDING THE 13-YEAR-OLD

WITNESS UNAVAILABLE ON THE BASIS OF

MENTAL ILLNESS OR INFIRMITY, AND THUS

THAT THE MILITARY JUDGE HAD

ERRONEOUSLY ADMITTED THE WITNESS'S

VIDEOTAPED DEPOSITION.

A. Background

1. TO's deposition

The charges referred against Appellee arise from

sexual intercourse he had with TO while another

Marine anally sodomized her. TO, then a twelve-

year-old girl, is unrelated to Appellee.

In October 2001, the military judge ordered the

deposition of TO so that Appellee would not be

denied the opportunity to cross-examine a key

Government witness under oath prior to trial.!

' TO had moved to another state, and was unavailable to

Appellee's Article 32, UCMJ. 70 U.S.C. § 832 (2000).

investayation. Appellee sought to depose TO so that he could

cross-examine her to "ask her those hard questions and get

them on the record." The military judge ordered the deposition,

but denied Appellee's motion for a new Article 32. UCMd,

investigation. He tound the existing investigation in

substantial compliance |**4) with Rule for Courts Martial

(R.C.M.) 405(a). The military judge instead ordered the Article

32. UCM, investigation reopened for the sole purpose of

considering TO's deposition. After considering TO's deposition,

the investigating officer again recommended a general court

martial

23a

TO was deposed on November 138, 2001. The

deposition was videotaped in accordance with

R.C.M. 702(g)(3). TO gave her testimony under oath

and in Appellee's presence. Appellec's military

counsel conducted a full cross-examination of TO

without limitation.? This post-referral deposition

was taken in full contemplation of the charged

offenses referred to general court-martial.

2. Prosecution subpoenas and attempts to obtain

TO for trial

Trial was scheduled to begin on December 10, 2001.

Trial counsel subpoenaed TO and her mother to

appear, issued travel orders, and made

arrangements for them to fly from St. Louis,

Missouri, to Parris Island, South Carolina.

3. TO's hospitalization

Shortly after her deposition, TO attempted suicide.

On December 4, 2001, she was admitted toa

psychiatric hospital in St. Louis, Missouri, because

she was a severe danger to herself. Upon admission,

TO was preoccupied with suicidal thoughts.

Dr. Linda Bock, a psychiatrist who specializes in

child and adolescent psychiatry, initiated in-patient

psychiatric treatment of TO's "significant psychiatric

problems."

“ The Navy Marine Corps Court of Criminal Appeals noted:

"There is no dispute that the deposition was properly ordered

and conducted, and that applellant had ample and full

opportunity to cross-examine TO, with a view toward the

depositions possible later use at trial.” Cabrera-Frattini, 2006

CCA LEXIS 218, at *13. This portion of the decision was not

appealed.

24a

4. TO's absence from trial

On December 7, trial counsel received a faxed letter

from TO's treating physician, Dr. Bock, which

informed trial counsel that TO was hospitalized for

in-patient psychiatric evaluation and treatment in

St. Louis, Missouri, because TO was a "severe

danger to herself." The letter stated TO was having

"significant psychiatric problems" and was being

treated with medications, but having "medication

adjustment reactions.” It further stated she could

not attend court before the end of December 2001

and that her date of discharge from the hospital was

unknown.

5. The military judge's inquiry

On December 10, 2001, Appellee's counsel filed a

motion in limine to exclude TO's videotaped

deposition testimony. Several hearings on the

motion were held at which the Government offered

documentary evidence to explain TO's

hospitalization and ongoing medical condition as the

reason for her unavailability for trial.

The military judge required more. Consequently,

pursuant to the military judge's order, the trial

counsel produced Dr. Bock for an Article 39(a),

UCMJ, 10U.S.C. § 8389(a) (2000), session on January

22, 2002. Dr. Bock appeared before the military

judge to address TO's medical and psychiatric

condition. Without objection, Dr. Bock established

her credentials and expertise as a board-certified

child psychiatrist and practicing psychiatric analyst

with more than twenty vears of experience.!

‘Dr. Bock's curriculum vitae reflected an internship

25a

In addition to her curriculum vitae, Dr. Bock

presented eighty-eight pages of TO's medical and

psychiatric treatment records. In her sworn

testimony, Dr. Bock reiterated the diagnosis she had

previously documented in TO's medical records. She

described bipolar disorder as a mood disorder that

caused TO to suffer disturbed, erratic behavior. She

explained that TO suffered from bipolar II disorder,

rapid cycling and post-traumatic stress disorder, as

defined by criteria set forth in the Diagnostic and

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV)

(4th ed. 1994).

Dr. Beck testified that TO's mental condition

deteriorated significantly after TO gave her

deposition. As evidence, Dr. Bock cited TO's suicide

attempt. Its gravity was magnified by the fact that it

was her second attempt. In her sessions with Dr.

Bock, TO focused on the issue of testifying at the

trial as one of the reasons that she could not go on

living, believing it would be better to be dead than to

testify. TO's condition required Dr. Bock to

administer antipsychotic and mood:stabilizer

medications to treat her disorders. Dr. Bock and

other practitioners treated TO in the hospital for

almost a week. Dr. Bock discharged TO on December

in pediatrics, a residency in psychiatry, and a

fellowship in child and adolescent psvchiatry. She

served in numerous consulting and teaching

positions relating to her profession, published

extensively in her field, and was a member and/or

director of multiple professional organizations

related to the treatment of psychiatric disorders.

10, 2001.

Dr. Bock described TO's prognosis upon release from

hospitalization as "guarded," noting that TO had "a

serious chronic psychiatric disorder." She did not

expect TO's mood to begin to show signs of

stabilizing for at least six to twelve months due to

her illness, as that was the time needed for the

antipsychotic and mood-stabilizing drugs to have an

appreciable effect. Dr. Bock expected a difficult

recovery period with a possibility of re-

hospitalization. Dr. Bock concluded that it would be

detrimental for TO to testify as a witness based

upon TO's demonstrated psychological abnormalities

before and during hospitalization.

On cross-examination, Dr. Bock reiterated her

medical conclusion that TO could not testify because

it would aggravate TO's bipolar disorder. She

testified that TO was ™ the verge of psychotic

mania during her hospitalization. She stated that

she had prescribed medications to get T'O's stress

levels down and that, while testifying out of the

sight of the members might be less stressful, it still

would detrimentally increase brain stimulation.

In response to the military judge's questions, Dr.

Bock testified that TO's mental illness was ongoing

and its treatment would be long-term and

protracted. She [**9] told the military judge that

testifying would be a major, over-stimulating event

for TO, which could predictably result in a repeat

suicide attempt or a repeat psychiatric

hospitalization.

Dr. Bock further testified on both direct and cross-

examination that TO would not be able to talk about

27a

what happened to her until TO, who was then

thirteen, was eighteen to twenty-five, and perhaps

not even then.

At the time of this hearing, a month and a half had

passed since Dr. Bock had seen TO. Dr. Bock

addressed the current accuracy of her prognosis,

stating there was no other data that would be

pertinent to change her view.

6. The military judge's findings of fact

Based upon Dr. Bock's testimony and tie medical

record evidence, the military judge found that TO

had two significant psychiatric illnesses: bipolar IT

disorder and post-traumatic stress disorder. He

found that she was being treated with Seroquel, a

brain protectant and antipsychotic, and Tegretol, a

mood stabilizer. As a result, he found that it "would

be detrimental to [TO]'s mental and physical health

now and in the foreseeable future to testify at the

court-martial or any hearing regarding the charges

before the court... ." He [**10] concluded that "any

court appearance would re-traumatize [TO] and

would worsen her mental and physical health to

include her possible suicide."

Moreover, he found that TO "had first-hand

knowledge of the material facts in her deposition|,] .

_ appreciated the moral duty to tell the truth[,] . . .

was reluctant to testify against the accusedl,] ...

[and] lacked a motive to fabricate having consensual

sexual intercourse with the accused."

7. The military judge's conclusion of law

The military judge concluded “O was unavailable

and admitted TO's videotaped «snosition. The

28a

military judge ruled that the prosecution had

established the requirement of unavailability for

purposes of both the Sixth Amendment and Military

Rule of Evidence (M.R.E.) 804.4 He concluded the

government had made a reasonable and good-faith

effort to obtain TO's presence.

Appellee's counsel did not introduce contraaictory

expert testimony, ask to perform his own psychiatric

assessment of TO, or request a continuance.

Based on TO's videotaped deposition and the other

evidence presented at trial, Appellee was convicted.

B. Discussion

The Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment

provides that "[iJn all criminal prosecutions, the

accused shall enjoy the right .. . to be confronted

with the witnesses against him." U.S. Const. amend

V7. The Supreme Court recently decided that, before

"testimonial" statements may be admitted, the

Confrontation Clause requires that the accused have

been afforded a prior opportunity to cross-examine

the witness, and that the witness be unavailable.

Crawford, 541 U.S. at 53-54.

The military judge decided this case prior to the

Supreme Court's decision in Crawford. At that time,

the admissibility of out-of-court statements under

the Confrontation Clause was controlled by O&dzo v.

' As we respond onlv to the certified issue relating to

unavailability, we will not address the other findings

of the military judge related to the admissibility of

the deposition.

29a

Roberts, 448 U.S. 56. 100 S. Ct. 2581, 65 L. kd. 2d

597 (1980). Crawford applies to criminal cases, such

as this one, that are still pending on direct review.

See Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S 314, 328, 107 S.

Ct. 708, 93 L. Ed. 2d 649 (1987) (holding “a new rule

for the conduct of criminal prosecutions is to be

applied retroactively to all cases ... pending on

review"); see also Whorton v. Bockting, 127 S. Ct.

11738, 1181, 167 L. Ed. 2d 1 (2007) (declaring

Crawford to be a new rule of law). Crawford did not

purport to change the test of witness

"unavailability." Crawford, 541 U.S. at 53-54.

1. Legal framework

It has been the rule in this Court for more than

twenty years that a military judge's determination of

a witness's unavailability (and the antecedent

question of the government's good-faith efforts) is

reviewed for abuse of discretion. United States v.

Cokeley, 22 M.J. 225, 229 (C.M.A. 1986). "Findings

of fact are affirmed unless they are clearly

erroneous; conclusions of law are reviewed de novo."

United States v. Rader, 65 M.J. 30, 82 (C.A.A.F.

2007). So long as the military judge understood and

applied the correct law, and the factual findings are

not clearly erroneous, neither the military judge's

decision to admit evidence, nor his unavailability

ruling, should be overturned. United States v.

McDonald, 59 M.Jd. 426. 480 (C_A.A.F. 2604)

(citations omitted).

In order for a witness to be "unavailable" for S7xth

Amendment purposes, the government must first

make a "good faith" effort to secure the witness's

presence at trial. Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719. 724-

30a

25, 88S. Ct. 1818, 20 L. Ed. 2d 255 (1968). In

Roberts, the Supreme Court held that the lengths to

which the prosecution must go to produce a witness

is determined undcr a reasonableness standard. 448

U.S. at 74."\|E]valuation of reasonableness or good-

faith effort 'requires us to consider all the

circumstances rather than to apply a per se rule."

Cook v. McKune, 823 F.3d 825, 835 (10th Cir. 2003)

(quoting Martinez v. Sullivan, 881 F.2d 921, 924 n.1

(0th Cir. 1989)). See also Cokeley, 22 M.J. at 229

(recognizing that "there is no bright-line rule which

will fit every situation," and that the "judge must

carefully weigh all facts and circumstances of the

case, keeping in mind the preference for live

testimony."). The test for unavailability focuses on

"whether the witness is not present in court in spite

of good-faith efforts by the Government to locate and

present the witness." Cokeley, 22 M.J. at 228.

Courts are not without guidance in undertaking this

fact- and circumstance-driven inquiry. This Court

has addressed some factors that should be

considered to determine unavailability, including

"the importance of the testimony, the amount of

delay necessary to obtain the in-court testimony, the

trustworthiness of the alternative to live testimony,

the nature and extent of earlier cross-examination,

the prompt administration of justice, and any

special circumstances militating for or against

delay." Jd. Where the absence of the witness results

from illness, a court should also consider the nature

of the illness and the probable duration of the

illness. See United States v. Faison. 679 F.2d 292.

297 (3d Cir. 1982)

2. Analysis

3la

"When reviewing a decision of a Court of Criminal

Appeals on a military judge's ruling, 'we typically

have pierced through that intermediate level' and

examined the military judge's ruling, then decided

whether the Court of Criminal Appeals was right or

wrong in its examination of the military judge's

ruling." United States v. Shelton, 64 M.J. 32, 37

(C.A.A.F. 2006) (quoting United States v. Siroky, 44

MJ. 394, 399 (C_A.A.F. 1996)). The sole issue before

us 1s whether the lower court erred in reversing the

military judge's ruling that TO was unavailable for

purposes of the Sixth Amendment. We conclude that

it did.

The military judge's ruling on the motion in limine

identifies the appropriate framework for legal

analysis for an unavailability determination and

addresses the relevant Cokeley and Faison factors,

in the context of undisputed factual findings. Those

factual findings are not clearly erroneous, and we

accept them as the factual predicate for our decision.

The military judge's good faith/unavailability

findings included the following: (a)the government

subpoenaed TO and her mother, issued their travel

orders and made arrangements to fly them to Parris

Island; (b) TO's hospitalization prevented her from

complying with the subpoena; (c) TO had two

significant psychiatric illnesses -- bipolar II disorder

and post-traumatic stress disorder; (d) TO was

taking Seroquel, a brain protectant and

5 Cokeley, of course, was decided in the context of a

military judge's denial of a defense request for a

continuance. There was no such request 1n this case.

32a

antipsychotic drug, and Tegretol, a mood stabilizer;

(e) it "would be detrimental to TO's mental and

physical health now and tn the foreseeable future to

testify at this court-martial or any hearing regarding

the charges that were before the court"; and (f)

"[alny court appearance would re-traumatize [TO]

and would worsen her mental and physical health to

include her possible suicide" (emphasis added).

In this case, the military judge did not abuse his

discretion by concluding that the Government

exercised good faith efforts under the c!rcumstances

to produce TO at trial and that she was, nonetheless,

unavailable. As both the majority and dissent below

recognize, "[t]here is ample precedent for finding a

witness, even a critical one, unavailable where the

act of testifying in court is determined to be

detrimental to the witness's physical or mental well-

being." Cabrera-Frattini, 2006 CCA LEXIS 218, at

*13-*14 (citing United State v. Keithan, 751 F.2d 9,

12-13 (st Cir. 1984) (finding unavailability in case

of an elderly witness whose infirmity prevented

travel); Howard v. Sigler, 454 F.2d 115, 120-21 (8th

Cir. 1972) (upholding unavailability determination

where tuberculosis prevented travel, even though

witness might recover some day)); accord Cabrera-

Frattini, 2006 CCA LEXIS 218, at *53 (Rolph, C.J.,

dissenting) (citing United States v. Donaldson, 978

F.2d 881, 393 (7th Cir. 1992) (affirming

unavailability determination of pregnant female -

admitted to hospital on the eve of trial)); see a/so

Ecker v. Scott, 69 F.3d 69, 70-73 (5th Cir. 1995)

(finding unavailability where there was a fifty-

percent chance the witness would still be

unavailable after three to four weeks); Con/ey v.

33a

McKune, 2004 U.S. Dist LEXIS 26315, at *18-*19

(D. Kan. 2000) (finding unavailability as a result of a

witness's medical condition and not as a result of the

prosecution's lack of reasonable diligence); Warren v.

United States, 436 A.2d 821, 827-28 (D.C. 1981)

(affirming a finding of unavailability where there

was a high likelihood of temporary or permanent

psychological injury). And this Court's precedent

reaffirms that "luJnavailability is clear when the

witness is not expected to improve." Cokeley, 22 M.2J/.

at 229.

Expert testimony supported the military judge's

finding that TO suffered from severe psychiatric

illness that would make testifying at trial or any

hearing "now and in the foreseeable future"

detrimental to TO's mental and physical health.

Under the facts of this case, "detrimental" included

the possible suicide of TO.

The military judge's analysis and rulings reflect that

he understood that Confrontation Clause

considerations are most consequential "when the

testimony of a witness is critical to the prosecution's

6 We note that a continuance was not requested and.

in any event, "Is not necessary 1n every case where a

witness is ill but may recover someday." Cokeley, 22

M.J. at 229. Given the testimony about the

protracted nature of 'TO's psychiatric illness, the

benefit of a continuance is speculative, at best. See

also United States v. Crockett, 21 M.d. 428, 427-28

(C_.M.A. 1986) (affirming finding of unavailability

where videotaped deposed witnesses were in Florida

and unwilling to travel to Germany for trial.)

34a

case against the defendant." United States v. Quinn,

901 F.2d 522, 529 (6th Cir. 1990) (quoting United

States v. Lynch, 163 U.S. App. D.C. 6, 499 F.2d

1011, 1022 (D.C. Cir. 1974)). Contrary to Appellee's

assertion, the actions of the military judge in this

case are dissimilar from those at issue in Cokeley, 22

M.J. at 229 (finding military judge abused his

discretion based on misapprehension of the

applicable law and a failure to articulate the

relevant factors on the record) and Burns v. Clusen,

798 F.2d 931, 942 (7th Cir. 1986) (concluding that

the factual findings were not supported by the

record). In this case, the military judge not only

entered detailed findings of fact and conclusions of

law, he also required the prosecution to carry its

burden of demonstrating "unavailability" before the

witness's out-of-court statement was admitted.’ See

Roberts, 448 U.S. at 74-75, Cokeley, 22 M.d. at 229.

The lower court held that the military judge erred by

finding TO unavailable based solely on the evidence

presented by the Government. The question that

divided the lower court was whether the trial judge

7 We note that the military judge required, over the

Government's objection, that Government counse!

call Dr. Bock to testify in order to demonstrate

unavailability. But for the military judge's insistence

on this additional evidence, it is questionable that

the Government would have met its burden of proof

regarding the unavailability of a key Government

witness by assuming it needed to put forward only

the faxed letters initially offered.

35a

took sufficient steps to determine that TO was

unavailable for trial. The majority concluded that

the military judge should have required more, such

as an updated prognosis, an independent medical

opinion from a court-appointed expert, a recent

letter from TO or her mother, or explicit exploration

of the alternative of remote testimony. There could

be a case where the alternative steps proposed by

the lower court might be warranted. But in this case,

Dr. Bock established both that TO was suffering

from a serious mental illness that would likely

demand years of medication and therapy to control,

and that the risk of suicide was ongoing and would

be exacerbated by testifying in any forum in the

foreseeable future.

While Dr. Bock's testimony was presented to the

trial judge forty-four days after her examination, Dr.

Bock addressed the current accuracy of her

prognosis, stating there was no other data that

would be pertinent to change her view. We agree

with Chief Judge Rolph that Dr. Bock's diagnosis

was not stale. Cabrera-Frattini, 2006 CCA LEXIS

218, at *57-*59 (Rolph, C.J., dissenting).

The military judge found that it would cause TO

harm "now and in the foreseeable future" to testify

"at this court martial or any hearing regarding the

charges before the court." In light of this finding,

exploring the option of remote live testimony was

not indicated.

The lower court did not hold that the military

judge's findings of tact were clearly erroneous or

unsupported by the record. And it did “not quibble

with the qualifications of Dr. Bock's or her diagnosis

36a

that TO was suffering from a serious mental illness

in December 2001 that would likely demand years of

medication and therapy to control." Cabrera-

Frattini, 2006 CCA LEXIS 218, at *22. Rather, it

noted that Dr. Bock's opinion was “based on

considerable medical acumen and reliable statistics .

..." Id. 2006 CCA LEXIS 218 at *223.

Appellee has not identified precedent requiring a

second medical opinion upon a trial court finding

that a mental or physical illness could be

exacerbated, with potentially life-threatening

consequences, by a court appearance. Nor are we

aware of a rule requiring courts to investigate

independently the established medical condition of

an unavailable witness, absent defendant's request

for an examination. See Alcala v. Woodford, 334 F.3d

862, 880-81 (9th Cir. 2003) (holding courts have no

duty to investigate, sua sponte, the medical

condition of an alleged unavailable witness):

Warren, 436 A.2d at 830 (finding no responsibility

on the part of court to request, sua sponte, an

updated report of psychological health, relying

instead on "a reasonable presumption of continuing

mental condition").

We decline to hold that while non-amenability and

refusal of a witness to voluntarily appear can

establish constitutional unavailability, a life-

threatening illness can not. See Mancusi v. Stubbs,

408 U.S. 204, 212, 92S. Ct. 2308, 33 1. Ed. 2d 29,3

(1972) (holding witness unavailable because state

was powerless to compel witness's attendance at

trial: Crockett, 21 MJ. at 427-28 (reasoning that

witnesses in Florida were unavailable because they

could not be compelled against their will to testify in

37a

Germany).

Under the particular facts of this case, we hold that

the military judge did not abuse his discretion by

concluding that the Government made good faith

efforts to procure the witness's presence for trial,

concluding that TO was unavailable, and admitting

TO's videotaped deposition testimony.®

3. Decision

We answer the certificd question in the

affirmative. The decision of the United States Navy-

Marine Corps Court of Criminal Appeals is set aside.

The record of trial is returned to the Judge Advocate

General of the Navy for remand to that court for

further review in accordance with Article 66, UCM,

10 U.S.C. § 866 (2000).

Appendix C

* Concluding that TO was unavailable under the

Confrontation Clause, we also are satistied that the

military judge did not abusc his discretion in finding

TO unavailable under M.R.E. 804(a)(4)

38a

IN THE U.S. NAVY-

MARINE CORPS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

WASHINGTON NAVY YARD

WASHINGTON, D.C.

BEFORE

J.W. ROLPH D.A. WAGNER E.B. STONE

UNITED STATES

Vv.

Jose R. CABRERA-FRATTINI

Lance Corporal (E-3), U. S. Marine Corps

NMCCA 200201665 Decided 2 August 2006

Sentence adjudged 25 January 2002. Military

Judge: A.W. Keller. Review pursuant to Article

66(c), UCM, of General Court-Martial convened by

Commanding General, Marine Corps Recruit Depot,

Parris Island, SC.

LT J.L. GOLDSMITH, JAGC, USNR, Appellate

Defense Counsel

Capt BRLAN KELLER, USMC, Appellate

Government Counsel

AS AN UNPUBLISHED DECISION, THIS

OPINION DOES NOT SERVE AS PRECEDENT.

39a

WAGNER, Senior Judge:

The appellant was convicted, contrary to his

pleas, by officer and enlisted members sitting as a

general court-martial, of carnal knowledge and

committing an indecent act with a minor, in

violation of Articles 120 and 134, Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. §§ 920 and 3934. The

members sentenced the appellant to a dishonorable

discharge, forfeiture of all pay and allowances,

reduction to pay grade E-1, and confinement for

three years. The convening authority approved the

sentence as adjudged.

We have examined the record of trial, the

appellant's seven assignments of error, the

Government's answer, and the additional matters

attached by the Government. We agree with the

appellant’s second assignment of error that the

military judge erred in finding a key Government

witness unavailable based on the facts presented by

the Government and subsequently admitting the

videotaped deposition of that witness in violation of

the Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment.

Because of our resolution of this assignment of error

in the appellant's favor. we need not address the

remaining six assignments of error.

Background of the Case

The charges against the appellant arose from

40a

his alleged sexual involvement with a minor, TO.

TO did not testify at the Article 32, UCMJ, hear’ ag.

Following referral of charges, the defense requested

that the convening authority order an oral deposition

of TO in order to preserve her testimony at trial and

because the defense had been unsuccessful in its

attempts to interview her. The convening authority

denied the request. In the initial stages of the trial,

the defense raised a motion for a new Article 32,

UCM4gJ., investigation and complained to the military

judge that the defense team had been denied access

to TO in preparing for trial, citing the denial of their

request to orally depose her. The military judge

found the Article 32, UCMJ, investigation to be in

substantial compliance with RULE FOR COURTS-

MARTIAL 405, MANUAL FOR COURTS-MARTIAL, UNITED

STATES (2000 ed.), but ordered an oral deposition of

TO so that the defense would have the opportunity

to cross cxamine the kcy Government witness prior

to trial. The military judge also ordered the Article

32, UCMJ, investigation reopened for the limited

purpose of considering the transcript of that

deposition.

On 13 November 2001, a videotaped

deposition of TO was conducted. During her

description of the allegations during the deposition,

TO testified that she was drinking and had problems

remembering the events, but did recall telling the

appellant her age, twelve vears old, and recalled

thereafter engaging in sexual intercourse with him,

at times in the presence of others. TO was cross

examined by the trial defense counsel.

4la

The appellant's trial was scheduled to begin

on 10 December 2001. TO and her mother had been

issued subpoenas and travel arrangements had been

made. On 7 December, the Government was notified

that TO had been hospitalized on 4 December and

would not be available for trial before the end of the

month. The Government thereafter raised a motion

in Irmine to allow the introduction of the videotaped

deposition of TO into evidence in heu of producing

her to testify at trial. The defense opposed the

motion, citing the appellant's Sixth Amendment

right to confrontation. The Government argued that

TO was unavailable to testify due to menta! illness

or infirmity under MILITARY RULE OF EVIDENCE

804(a), MANUAL FOR COURTS-MARTIAL, UNITED

STATES (2002 ed.), and that the deposition should be

admitted as former testimony under MIL. R. EVID.

804(b)(1) or, alternatively, under the residual

hearsay exception, MIL. R. EVID. 807.

The evidence supporting the Government's

position regarding unavailability consisted of the

testimony of Dr. B, a civilian psychiatrist who

described herself as the "tending physician" for TO

during her hospitalization, and the hospital records

from that period of hospitalization. Record at 174.

At an Article 39(a), UCMJ, session held on 22

January 2002, Dr. B testified that she had first met

TO on 5 December 2001, the day after TO had been

admitted to the hospital. Dr. B testified that TO was

admitted based on the recommendation of TO's

outpatient therapist, who sensed a deterioration in

her mental condition during sessions. Dr. B

diagnosed TO as having bipolar-2 disorder (rapid

42a

cycling), as well as post-traumatic stress disorder.

Dr. B testified that both mental disorders were Axis

| issues, classified as mental illnesses that can be

effectively treated. Dr. B started TO on medication

to treat her disorders.

Dr. B testified that persons with bipolar

disorder have difficulty managing their moods and

that "life stressors" make that even more difficult. !

Record at 177. According to Dr. B's testimony, ‘l'O

told her that she had she cut her hand trying to

commit suicide in August 2001, but did not tell

anyone. Dr B testified that her staff had taken a

clinical history from TO's family that revealed a

suicide gesture where TO put a plastic bag over her

head, increased difficulty sleeping and

concentrating, dropping school grades, fighting on

the school bus, irritable behavior and racing moods

and thoughts. Dr. B also testified that the

antidepressants previously prescribed for TO were

not the correct treatment for her disorder and may

have exacerbated her symptoms.

When asked whether the issue of TO

testifying was discussed, Dr. B replied that it had

been, and stated that: "[T'O] focused on that as

though that was part of why she couldn't go on

living. It would be better to be dead. I don't want to

vo back to court. I'm so tired of all of this.” Record

at 179. Dr. Btestified that it appeared as though TO

' Dr. Btestified that it was the bipolar disorder alone that

impacted on TO's ability to appear in court without harm to

herself and that the post-traumatic stress disorder played no

role in that determination.

43a

felt that she did not want to be bothered with the

trial and depositions and that, if she had "to go back

there, I don't have a life." Jd Dr. B finished her

direct testimony by stating that, in her opinion, it

would be detrimental to TO for her to testify in

court.

During cross-examination, Dr. B admitted

that she had never seen TO before 5 December 2001

and that her review of TO's history had come from

the hospital's assessment staff. Dr. B also stated

that she had not reviewed TO's prior medical records

or talked to her prior physicians. She further

testified that TO was coherent, of average

intelligence, and not suffering hallucinations.

Additionally, Dr. B indicated that she had spent 30

minutes with TO on 5 December 2001 and about 15

minutes reviewing assessment records. Dr B.

testified that she would have seen TO "for about 15-

30 minutes" each weekday thereafter (6, 7, and 10

December were weekdays) and that a "substitute

doctor" would have seen TO on the weekends.

Record at 183. Dr. B also testified that she held staff

meeting three times a week to share information

with social workers, nurses, and therapists

regarding the patients.

Dr. Btestified that tne hospital assessment

staff had recorded in the hospital records TO's

description of her involvement with the appellant as

having been "gang-raped" by "four to six Marine

officers." Record at 186. Dr. B also testified that the

records indicated that TO had told her staff that she

had, on more than one oceasion, consumed alcohol

444

and engaged in consensual sexual encounters with a

number of Marines. Dr. B also stated that she had

never spoken with TO's mother, although her

assessment staff had. Dr. B testified that TO was

subject to other life stressors resulting from her

family life, stating that TO had "a lot of them."

Record at 190. Dr. B also recounted that TO was

released from the hospital after five days, because

she was no longer suicidal and her treatment could

continue on an outpatient basis. Dr. B recommended

that she begin treatment with a particular therapist

and had not seen TO, or followed up on her in any

way, since her discharge from the huspital.

Dr. B testified that, in her opinion, it would be

possible, but doubtful, that TO's condition had

improved dramatically since her discharge and that

her treatment would be long-term in nature. Record

at 192. She testified that, statistically, patients with

such a disorder would not stabilize for 6 to 12

months. Dr. B specifically stated that nothing in her

diagnosis would cause TO to be unable to testify in

court. However, during the course of cross-

examination, Dr. B stated: "I know she could come

into court and do very poorly and that's why I am

here on her behalf so that she does not come to

court." Record at 202. Dr. B testified that she

beheved TO would be "about 18 to 25 years old

before she will be in any way able to master this."

Record at 198.

Dr. B testified that TO was suffering a

"chronic psychiatric illness." Record at 203. She

testified: “You can do a lot of things to make your bhi-

45a

polar disorder worse. In my opinion one of them

would be for her to have a more stressful life with

court. It is very stressful coming to court. I find it

stressful.”

Id. When asked about utilizing measures such as

remote live testimony to reduce the stress on TO, Dr.

B replied that she would still not reeommend it. Dr

B admitted that such a procedure would reduce the

stress, but added, "Does it reduce the stress to the

point that I think it is a value to my patient, no." Jd.

Dr. B emphasized that talking about the events, in

her opinion, would be therapeutic for TO when she is

18 to 25 years of age.

Dr. B stated that, in her opinion, TO was

suffering from an ongoing mental illness, that the

treatment would be protracted, and that the harm

from her testifying in court would be more than de

mininus. She stated that "it would be a major, over-

stimulating event that could be predictably

associated with either a repeat suicide attempt ora

repeat psychiatric hospitalization." Record at 208.

Dr. B testified that TO receiving her subpoena to

appear as a witness 1n court was a contributing

factor in her hospitalization. In a 4 December 2001

entry into TO's record of treatment, Dr. B wrote,

"Patient was only going to have to give depositions,

however, now it appears she will have to attend the

court proceedings." AE XLI at 10.

The military judge found "that it would be

detrimental to [TO]'s mental and physical health

now and in the foreseeable future to testify..." and

46a

that "lalny court appearance would retraumatize

[TO] and would worsen-her mental and physical

health to include her possible suicide." Record at

230-31. Having found her unavailable, the military

judge went on to admit the videotaped deposition,

both as former testimony and under the residual

hearsay exception, finding that the right to

confrontation was satisfied by the appellant's

presence and trial defense counsel's participation in

the deposition.

Admission of the Videotaped Deposition of the

Witness

1. Standard of Review.

We review a military judge's decision to admit

evidence over defense objection for an abuse of

discretion. United States v. Mason, 59 M.J. 416, 420

(C.A.A.F. 2004)(citing United States v. Ayala, 43

M.J. 296, 298 (C.A.A.F. 1995)). We will not overturn

the military judge's ruling unless it was "arbitrary,

fanciful, clearly unreasonable,’ or 'clearly

erroneous." United States v. McDonald, 59 M.J.

426, 430 (C.A.A.F. 2004)(quoting United States v.

Miller, 46 M.J. 63, 65 (C.A.A.F. 1997)). We are

required to consider the evidence in the hght most

favorable to the prevailing party. United States v.

Rerster, 44 M.J. 409, 413 (C.A.A.F. 1996). While we

are bound by the military judge's findings of fact

unless they are shown to be clearly erroneous, we

review the military judge's conclusions of law de

novo. Mason, 59 M.J. at 422 (citing United States v.

Cravens, 56 M.J. 370, 375 (C.A.A.F. 2002) and

47a

United States v. Allen, 53 M.J. 402, 408 (C.A.A.F.

2000)); Ayala, 43 M.J. at 298 (citing United States v.

Cardenas, 9 F.3d 1139, 1147 (5th Cir. 1993) and

United States v. Meyia, 953 F.2d 461, 464-65 (9th

Cir. 1991)).

Our superior court has applied the foregoing

standard of review to a military judge's

determination of unavailability of a declarant.

United States v. Cokeley, 22 M.J. 225, 229 (C.M.A.

1986)(citing United States v. Faison, 679 F.2d 292

(3d Cir. 1982)). The United States Courts of Appeal

define this standard as giving "the presumption of

correctness" to "basic, primary or historical facts,"

but reviewing de novo the issue of whether the

standards established by the Constitution and the

courts to determine unavailability have been met.

McCandless v. Vaughn, 172 F.3d 255, 265 (3d Cir.

1999)(citing Martinez v. Sullivan, 881 F.2d 921, 926

(10th Cir. 1989); Burns v. Clusen, 798 F.2d 931, 941-

42 (7th Cir. 1986); and Dres v. Campoy, 784 F.2d

996, 998 (9th Cir. 1986)).

2. Military Rules of Evidence.

The Military Rules of Evidence regarding

hearsay statements, like their Federal counterpart,

flow from the Sixth Amendment and generally

prohibit the use of hearsay evidence. MIL. R. EVID.

802. The rules allow for the introduction of hearsay

evidence under the conditions and exceptions

enumerated in MIL. R. EVID. 803 and 804.

Specifically, the rules permit the admission into

evidence of former testimony in lieu of the personal

48a

appearance of the witness if the witness is

unavailable and the former testimony was given in:

a deposition taken in comphance with

law in the course of the same or another

proceeding, if the party against whom

the testimony is now offered had an

opportunity and similar motive to

develop the testimony by direct, cross,

or redirect examination.

MIL. R. Evib. 804(b)(1). MIL. R. Evip. 804(a)(4)

defines "unavailability as a witness" to include a

person who is unable to testify because of then-

existing physical or mental illness or infirmity.

3. Right to Confrontation.

There is no dispute that the deposition was

properly ordered and conducted, and the appellant

had ample and full opportunity to cross-exam TO,

with a view toward the deposition's possible later

use at trial. The sole issue in contention is whether

the evidence adduced during the Government's

motion to admit the videotaped deposition was

sufficient to show that TO was unavailable and,

thus, sufficient to protect the appellant's right to

confrontation.

There is ample precedent for finding a

witness, even a critical one, unavailable where the

act of testifying in court is determined to be

detrimental to the witness’ physical or mental well

being. For example, the infirmity of an elderly

49a

witness that prevents the witness from traveling is

an “exceptional circumstance" that can support the

admission of deposition testimony at trial. United

States v. Keithan, 751 F.2d 9 (ist Cir. 1984). Also, a

witness unable to travel because of tuberculosis has

been found to be unavailable, even though the

witness may recover at some point in the future.

Howard v. Sigler, 454 F.2d 115 (8th Cir. 1972).

The Supreme Court, however, characterizes

the right to confrontation as a “bedrock procedural

guarantee." Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36,

42 (2004). Historically in Anglo-Saxon law, the right

to confront witnesses has been seen as a "face-to-

face" in-court confrontation, combined with a

meaningful opportunity to cross-examine the

witness. /d. As the Crawford court observed, the

common law that served as a starting point for the

drafters of the Constitution conditioned admissibility

of an absent witness's testimonial statement on

unavailability and a prior opportunity to cross-

examine. The Court went on to conclude that the

Sixth Amendment, therefore, incorporated those

limitations. /d. at 54. This is borne out by

"numerous early state-court decisions” that made

such an incorporation "abundantly clear." /d. The

court therefore concluded that the confrontation

clause demands "what the common law required:

unavailability and a prior opportunity for cross-

examination." /d. at 68.

In a case that preceded Crawford, the Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces stated:

50a

The confrontation clause of the sixth

amendment requires the Government

to demonstrate that the declarant is

unavailable when it seeks to admit a

deposition against an accused ata

criminal trial in the place of live

testimony.

Cokeley, 22 M.J. at 228 (citing United States v.

Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986): Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S.

56 (1980): United States v. Crockett, 21 M.J. 423

(C.M.A.1986)). The court described this test as being

“whether the witness is not present in court in spite

of good-faith efforts by the Government to locate and

present the witness." /d.

The courts, generally, have expressed a strong

preference, grounded in the Sixth Amendment, for

live testimony at trial in a criminal case. "(T]rial by

deposition violates both the literal language and the

purpose of the Confrontation Clause...." Stoner v.

Sowders, 997 F.2d 209, 213 (6th Cir. 1993). In

striking down a Kentucky procedure allowing

depositions in lieu of live testimony they termed

"easier and more efficient in terms of judicial and

prosecutorial administration," the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit stated that,

while the procedure “may offer the same reliability

that we require in civil cases," a "deposition is a

weak substitute for live testimony, a substitute that

the Sixth Amendment does not countenance on a

routine basis." /d@ ‘That court went on to state that

"tlhe Constitution docs not allow us to so water

down the explicit requirement of live testimony in

Sla

criminal cases." Jd.

The military courts have adopted similarly

strong language in addressing confrontation issues:

"(I]n order for out-of-court statements to be

admissible under the Confrontation Clause, it is

preferable for face-to-face confrontation to occur at

trial." United States v. Hines, 23 M.J. 125, 131

(C.M.A. 1986). In a case where our superior court

upheld the admission of an excited utterance by a

child victim, they again reinforced the stringent

standards that guarantee the right of confrontation:

"Let there be no doubt, however, that this Court

favors confrontation, and this case should be read

very narrowly." United States v. Arnold, 25 M..J.

129, 133 (C.M.A. 1987). See also, United States v.

Dill, 24 M.J. 386, 387 (C.M.A. 1987)("We have

emphasized that an accused ordinarily has a right

under the Sixth Amendment to the Constitution 'to

be confronted with the witnesses against him."

Hines at 23 M.J. at 127).

The military courts have been equally clear in

placing a heavy burden on the prosecution in making

witnesses available for live testimony at trial: "[Wle

have been quite insistent that the Government

exhaust every means to secure the preferred live

testimony before utilizing an out-of-court

declaration." Hines, 23 M.J. at 133. Our superior

court has termed this burden as "the prosecution's

‘obligation ... to exert all reasonable measures to

acquire the presence of .. . lits] witnesses and tender

them for cross-examination.” Dy//, 24 M.J. at 388

(quoting Hines, 23 M.J. at 133). This obhgation is

52a

firmly rooted in military jurisprudence: "{[Wle have

been quite insistent that all reasonable means of

obtaining crucial witnesses’ presence be undertaken

before we will consider approving substitutes."

United States v. Barror, 23 M.J. 370, 373 (C.M.A.

1987).

The Courts of Appeal have also uniformly held

that the burden of proof of the unavailability of the

witness on the party offering the deposition is a

heavy one. The proponent must "make stringent

efforts to show that a declarant is unavailable.”

Burns, 798 F.2d at 936-37 (citing Barber v. Page,

390 U.S. 719 (1968)). These efforts must be made in

a good faith attempt to produce the witness. Ja. The

lengths to which the proponent must go to produce a

witness is a question of reasonableness. California

v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 189 (1970). If there is a

possibility, however, albeit remote, that affirmative

measures might produce the declarant, the

obligation of good faith may demand their

effectuation. AHoberts, 448 U.S. at 74.

The reasonableness of the prosecution's efforts

"must be evaluated with a sensitivity to the

surrounding circumstances and the defendant's

interest in confronting the absent witness."

McCandless, 172 F.3d at 266. More diligent efforts

are required where the declarant is a critical

witness, especially one whose interests are In unison

with the prosecution. /d. See United States v.

Foster, 300 U.S. App. D.C. 78, 986 F.2d 541, 543

(D.C. Cir. 1993)('The more important the witness to

the government's case, the more important the

53a

defendant's right, derived from the Confrontation

Clause of the Sixth Amendment"); United States v.

Lynch, 499 F.2d 1011, 1022 (D.C. Cir. 1974) (holding

Confrontation Clause considerations “are especially

cogent when the testimony of a witness is critical to

the prosecution's case against the defendant.");

United States v. A&S Council Oil Co., 947 F.2d 1128,

1133 (4th Cir. 1991) ("Where [a case] involves the

government's most crucial witness, the

[Confrontation Clause] concerns are especially

heightened."); United States v. Quinn, 901 F.2d 522,

529 (6th Cir. 1990).

Ultimately, it is the military judge who must

sift through the facts, apply the law, and make the

determination. In doing so, he or she is faced with a

daunting task. The military judge must carefully

weigh all facts and circumstances of the case,

keeping in mind the preference for live testimony.

Factors to be considered include the importance of

the testimony, the amount of delay necessary to

obtain the in-court testimony, the trustworthiness of

the alternative to live testimony, the nature and

extent of earlier cross-examination, the prompt

administration of justice. and any special

circumstances militating for or against delay.

Cokeley, 22 M.J. at 229. Also, in making such a

determination, the military judge must ensure that

the information supporting the unavailability is

neither "sparse" nor "stale." United States v.

Vanderwier, 25 M.J. 263, 267 (C.M.A. 1987).

But it is important to remember that the

consideration of these factors is not a balancing test,

54a

for the proponent bears the burden of demonstrating

unavailability in the face of the strong preference for

live testimony. Cokeley, 22 M.J. at 228 (citing /naai,

Roberts, and United States v. Crockett, 21 M.J. 423

(C.M.A. 1986)).

In Cokeley, our superior court addressed a

similar fact pattern involving the admission into

evidence of a deposition of a key Government

witness in place of the live testimony of the witness

at trial. In finding an abuse of discretion in the

determination of unavailability at trial, the court

stated that the military judge "did not articulate

that he weighed the relevant considerations."

Cokeley, 22 M.J. at 229. The court also noted that

the testimony of the witness was more than "merely

cumulative or of a minor nature but was absolutely

necessary to prove that a crime had been committed

and to describe the assailant." /d.

Additionally, the need to consider the witness'

infirmity at the time of trial has been found to be a

critical factor in unavailability determinations. /d.

at 230; Burns, 798 F.2d at 936-937; Jones v. Nabisco,

Inc., 95 F.R.D. 25, 26 (E.D. Tenn. 1982). This is

buttressed by the language of MIL. R. Evin. 804(a)(4)

that the witness is unable to be present "because of

death or then existing physical or mental illness or

infirmity....". (emphasis added). in Burns, tor

example, the trial court found a witness was

unavailable based on a physician's testimony ata

hearing held two months after the last contact with

the witness. The appellate court found that the trial

court erred in basing its ruling on stale information,

5Ssa

and by requiring the defendant to show that the

witness was available. The Burns court stressed

that the government was required to make

"stringent efforts to show that [the witness] was

unavailable." /d. at 942.

Applying the foregoing to the facts of this

case, we conclude that the military judge erred in

finding TO unavailable based solely on the evidence

presented by the Government. The deposition was

the critical piece of evidence directly identifying the

appellant as the person with whom TO was engaged

in sexual intercourse on the evening in question. In

short, the verdict rested almost completely on TO's

deposed testimony. As such, her unavailability

required greater scrutiny.

We do not quibble with the qualifications of

Dr. B, or her diagnosis that TO was suffering from a

serious mental illness in December 2001 that would

likely demand years of medication and therapy to

control. We note, however, that Dr. B admitted that

it was possible, but doubtful, that TO had improved

dramatically enough over the 44 days since she had

last seen her to be able to testify at trial. Record at

192. While Dr. B's strong opinion was that such a

rapid recovery would not have occurred, it would

have been a relatively simple process for the

Government to have updated Dr. B's prognosis with

a statement from the treating therapist or to have

had Dr. Bcontact TO to update her prognosis

personally. Despite Dr. B's opinion, based on

considerable medical acumen and reliable statistics,

we are not persuaded on the basis of the record

56a

before us that, on the date of trial, TO was

unavailable to testify.

Also, the tone and tenor of Dr. B's testimony

reveals her zealous advocacy on behalf of TO, an

admirable quality to be expected from a treating

physician. To eliminate the possibility of any

natural bias, however, resulting from the doctor-

patient relationship, an independent medica! opinion

from a court-appointed doctor would have been of

great benefit to the military judge in this case. See

Warren v. United States, 436 A.2d 821, 829 (D.C.

1981).

The Government presented no statement from

TO regarding her fear of testifying, nor was there

any statement from TO's mother, who was,

apparently, available as a witness on the motion if

the Government had called her.2 Such testimony

would have gone a long way toward answering any

question as to whether the court was dealing with an

otherwise cooperative witness who could not testify

because of her mental condition or an uncooperative

witness shielding herself from the uncomfortable

duty of testifying by wrapping herself in her

admittedly serious mental infirmity. While these

are difficult questions to ask of a child witness, they

are, in our minds, absolutely necessary for the

Government to show that it has put forth its best

~The dissent states in part that TO's mother's input "was

already clearly on the record.” We are only able to find one

reference by the trial counsel to TO's mother asking that they

not telephone the house any more because TO 1s afraid it is

about travel arrangements to the tnal. Reeord at 147

S7a

efforts to secure the appellant's right to

confrontation.

Additionally, the Government did not pursue

another avenue potentially available to satisfy the

appellant's right to confrontation. Although the

issue of remote live testimony was broached by

civilian trial defense counsel during argument on the

motion and cross-examination of Dr. B, the military

judge did not reference R.C.M. 914A, MIL. R. EVID.

611(d), or Marviand v. Craig, 497 U.S. 836 (1990).

Nor did he make any specific findings regarding the

availability of alternate forms of live testimony in

lieu of accepting the videotaped deposition into

evidence. In Craig, the Supreme Court addressed

the use of remote closed-circuit television to allow a

child victim in a sexual abuse case to testify

contemporaneously during the trial, be subject to

cross-examination, be observed by the accused and

the trier of fact, but to not have to experience the

trauma of appearing in the courtroom itself, full of

court personnel, spectators, and the person who

allegedly abused her.

In considering the right of confrontation, the

Court in Craig stated that it had never held that the

Confrontation Clause "guarantees criminal

defendants the ahso/ute right to a face-to-face

meeting with witnesses against them at trial."

Craig, 497 U.S. at 844. The Court went on to

emphasize that this right guarantees that each

witness provides testimony under oath, thus

impressing upon them the "seriousness of the

matter" and preventing false statements because of

58a

the potential for a perjury conviction; forcing each

witness to submit to cross-examination, "the

‘greatest legal engine ever invented for the discovery

of truth"; and permitting the trier of fact to "observe

the demeanor of the witness" and thus assess

credibility. /d. at 845-46 (quoting Ca/rfornia v.

Green, 399 U.S. 149, 158 (1970).

In recognizing that there is a compelling

interest in protecting minor victims of sexual abuse

from further trauma and embarrassment, the Court

concluded that the "interest in the physical and

psychological well-being of child abuse victims may

be sufficiently important to outweigh, at least in

some cases, a defendant's right to face his or her

accusers in court." /d. at 853. This mode of

presentation of evidence is specifically recognized in

military practice in R.C.M. 914A and MIL. R. EVID.

611(d). Military judges are authorized to allow child

victims of sexual abuse to utilize remote live

testimony where the child is unable to testify

because, among other reasons, the child witness

"suffers from a mental or other infirmity." MIL. R.

EviIp. 611(d). The military judge should have

demanded that the Government fully explore this

reasonable and available option for live testimony

before admitting the deposition into evidence.

We view the determination of unavailability of

a witness at trial as a prerequisite to introducing

alternative forms of evidence such as depositions as

requiring more than the moving party

demonstrating the existence of an obstacle, even a

compelling one, to the production of the live witness

59a

at trial. The moving party's burden must include

adequate efforts to overcome that obstacle, such as a

showing that invitational travel orders have been

issued to a witness outside the effective range of

service of process. Similarly, in the case before us,

much was left unknown or undone by the moving

party in establishing that the obstacles preventing

TO from testifying at trial could not have been

overcome.

We do not, as the dissent would contend,

require the Government to "do everything humanly

possible" to produce a live witness at trial. We

simply demand what the law compels -- that all

reasonable means of obtaining a key witnesses'

presence be considered before allowing the use of a

substitute for live, in-court testimony. Barror, 23

M.J. at 373. In this case, the Government did not

"exhaust every means to secure the preferred live

testimony before utilizing an out-of-court

declaration." Hines, 23 M.J. at 133.

The dissent refers to the evidence presented

by the Government on the issue of unavailability as

"unrebutted"” and not refuted. There is no burden on

the appellant to present evidence of any kind on this

issue. The burden is wholly on the Government as

the proponent of the deposition. Cokeley, 22 M.J. at

229. The dissent's reliance on United States v.

Cordero, 22 M.J. 216, 221 (C.M.A. 1986) to support

the proposition that the defense has a burden to

rebut the Government's evidence is misplaced. In

Cordero, the Government had demonstrated the

witness's unavailability by showing that the witness

60a

had disregarded the subpoena issued to her and had

fled the country without providing any information

as to her whereabouts. /d. In that case, the

Government had unequivocally demonstrated

unavailability of the witness at the time of trial and

there were no readily apparent alternative methods

of producing her for trial. The court in Cordero was

simply stating the obvious, that, once unavailability

is firmly established, the only way to overcome that

determination is for the appellant to demonstrate

that the witness could be produced. In the present

case, the Government failed to provide a sufficient

showing of unavailability and there was much more

that the Government could have done in an effort to

produce TO.

Our decision in this case is fact-specific. The

record before the court does not contain sufficient

evidence of Government efforts to obtain the witness

at the time of trial to overcome the heavy burden

demanded by the appcllant's right to confrontation.

Accordingly, we conclude that the record before us is

not sufficient to meet the Government's burden to

show that TO was unavailable to testify at the time

of trial, we further conclude that the military judge

abused his discretion in admitting the videotaped

deposition based on the facts before him.

4. Prejudice

In addition to the videotaped deposition of TO,

the Government evidence against the appellant

included two witnesses who testified that the

appellant was aware of TO's age at the time of the

6la

alleged offenses. The Government also presented

the testimony of Private M that he had walked in

and saw TO on top of, and appearing to be having

sexual intercourse with, a "black person" and that

the appellant was the only "colored person" at his

residence at the time. Record at 292-93. The

Government played the videotaped deposition of TO

to the members and the appellant, through counsel,

requested that the cross-examination portion of the

deposition not be played.

Where an error of constitutional dimension is

involved, this court may only affirm if the error is

found to be "harmless beyond a reasonable doubt."

United States v. Simmons, 59 M.J. 485, 489

(C.A.A.F. 2004)(quoting Chapman v. California, 386

U.S. 18, 24 (1967)). The court in Simmons also

defined the harmless error inquiry under the

Chapman analysis as whether it is "beyond a

reasonable doubt that the error complained of did

not contribute to the verdicts obtained." /d. (quoting

Neder v. United States, 527 U.S. 1, 15 (1999)).

In Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 296

(1991), the Court made it clear that the Government

has the burden of establishing that an error did not

contribute to the conviction. In that case, the Court

found that, without the confessions, it was "unlikely

that Fulminante would have been prosecuted at all,

because the physical evidence from the scene and

other circumstantial evidence would have been

insufficient to convict." /d. at 297. The Court also

found that the confessions influenced the sentencing

phase of the trial. /d. at 301.

Our superior court has described its focus in

applying the Chapman harmless error analysis as

“whether the error had or reasonably may have had

an effect upon the members’ findings." United

States v. Bins, 43 M.J. 79, 86 (C.A.A.F, 1995). We

cannot affirm findings in a case involving

constitutional error “unless we determine beyond a

reasonable doubt that the error did not contribute to

the findings of guilty." United States v. Hall, 58

M.J. 90, 94 (C.A.A.F’. 2003).

The videotaped deposition was the central and

most critical piece of evidence introduced against the

appellant at trial. We have no doubt that the

appellant's findings of guilty were predicated in

large part on the deposition. Without this evidence,

we are not convinced that the appellant would have

been convicted of either offense. The dissent's

discussion of the sufficiency of the evidence bears no

relevance on this point.

Conclusion

Accordingly, the findings and sentence are set

aside. The record of trial is returned to the Judge

Advocate General of the Navy. A rchearing may be

ordered.

Judge STONE concurs

ROL PH, Chicf Judge (Dissenting)

Having carefully considered the brnets of appellate

counsel, and the arguments, analysis, and case

63a

citations set forth in the majority opinion, | must

very respectfully dissent. Upon thorough review of

the appellant’s record of trial, | do not believe that

the military judge presiding over this contested

general court-martial abused his discretion when he

admitted into evidence the deposition testimony of

TO -- the twelve-year-old victim -- over the objection

of the defense.

Standard of Review

A military judge's ruling on the admission of

evidence, and on the determination of witness

unavailability for purposes of both the confrontation

clause of the Sixth Amendment to the Constitution

and MILITARY RULE OF EVIDENCE 804(a), MANUAL

FOR COURTS-MARTIAL, UNITED STATES (2000 ed.),

should not be overturned on appeal absent a clear

abuse of discretion. United States v. Johnson, 46

M.J. 8, 10 (C.A.A.F. 1997)(quoting United States v.

Redmond, 21 M.J. 319, 326 (C.M.A. 1986)); United

States v. Cokeley, 22 M.J. 225, 229 (C.M.A. 1986).

Under this exacting standard of review, the military

judge’s decision must not be reversed unless it was

“arbitrary, fanciful, clearly unreasonable,” or

“clearly erroneous.” United States v. Miller, 46 M.J

63, 65 (C.A.A.F. 1997)(quoting United States v

Travers, 25 M.J. 61, 62 (C.M.A. 1987). Only when

the military judge's findings of fact are clearly

erroneous or his conclusions of law are patently

incorrect will his considerable discretion have been

abused. United States v. Humphrevs, 57 M.dJ. 83, 90

(C_A.A.F. 2002): United States v. Kelley, 45 M.J.

275, 279-80 (C_A.A.F 1996). If reasonable judicial

64a

minds could logically differ as to the propriety of the

judicial determination made, then no abuse of

discretion has occurred. United States v. Glenn, 473

F.2d 191, 196 (D.C. Cir. 1972). Accord United States

v. Travers, 25 M.J. 61, 62°63 (C.M.A. 1987). We

review de novo the mixed question of law and fact

presented in determining the ultimate issue of

unavailability for purposes of the Confrontation

Clause. McCandless v. Vaughn, 172 F.3d 255, 265

(3d Cir. 1999); Martinez v. Sullivan, 881 F.2d 921,

926 (10th Cir. 1989); Burns v. Clusen, 798 F.2d 931,

941-42 (7th Cir. 1986).

Confrontation and the Admission of Deposition

Testimony

In the landmark case of Crawford v. Washington,

541 U.S. 36 (2004), the Supreme Court set forth

exacting standards aimed at guaranteeing an

accused's Sixth Amendment right “... to be

confronted with the witnesses against him

U.S. CONST. AMEND. VI. Before “testimonial” witness

statements may be admitted into evidence against

an accused, the Confrontation Clause requires that

the witness who made the statement be unavailable,

and that the accused have been afforded a prior

opportunity to cross-examine the witness. Crawford,

541 U.S. at 53-54: see also Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S.

805 (1990); Ofuo v. Roberts, 418 U.S. 56 (1980).

Under MIL. R. Eviv. 804(a), “unavailability of a

witness” is also required prior to admission of former

testimony ~ including testimony by deposition ~~ and

includes situations in which the declarant “is unable

65a

to... testify at the hearing because of death or then

existing physical or mental illness or infirmity.”

(emphasis added). See Art. 49, Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 849. When former

testimony is offered as an exception to the hearsay

rule, the proponent bears the burden of clearly

establishing the unavailability of the absent witness.

United States v. Hubbard, 28 M.J. 27, 31 (C.M.A.

1989). Former deposition testimony of a witness

may be admitted against an accused at trial in the

same or another proceeding under MIL. R. EvIb.

804(b)(1), if it was taken in compliance with law, and

‘if the party against whom the testimony is. .

offered had an opportunity and similar motive to

develop the testimony by direct, cross, or redirect

examination.”

It is undisputed that the videotaped

deposition testimony of TO was taken “in compliance

with law,” see R.C.M. 702, was “testimonial” in

nature, and bore “adequate indicia of reliability,” see

Roberts, 448 U.S. at 66. It is also undis»uted that

the deposition of TO afforded the appellant a

personal examination of TO in his physical presence,

was taken under oath, subjected TO to cross-

examination, and, because it was videotaped,

afforded the members the opportunity to observe

TO's demeanor. California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149,

158 (1970). Procedurally, it is important to note that

TO's deposition was taken after the Article 32,

UCM4J, investigation was completed, post-referral of

charges, and after a specific defense request for face

to-face confrontation of TO. Upon order of the

military judge, the Article 32, UCMJ, Investigating

66a

Officer and the Convening Authority subsequently

considered the deposition testimony in relation to

their original recommendation and decision,

respectively, to refer the charges against the

appellant to a general court-martial.? The following

chronology of events is germane to the issues raised

by this assignment of error:

Chronology

03 Jul 2001 Charges against appellant

referred to GCM.

12 Jul 2001 Appellant arraigned.

30 Oct 2001 Defense raises motion to

compel new Article 32,

UCM, investigation to

confront TO.

31 Oct 2001 Military judge denies

motion for new Article 32,

UCM, investigation but

‘ln ordering the taking of TO's deposition, the military judge

directed that the Government provide a copy of the deposition

to the Article 32, UCM.J, Investigating Officer for his

“consideration and comment.” He also ordcred that an

addendum to the Article 34, UCMJ, advice letter be prepared

by the staff judge advocate to advise the convening authority of

the deposition and allowing for that authority to determine “the

impact of the deposition on his decision to reter the charges

to a general court-martial.” See Appellate Exhibit LXIV at 2

Finally, the military judge required the convening authority to

execute a referral memorandum indicating what impact, if any.

TO's deposition and the subsequent Article 34, UCM, advice

letter addendum had upon his decision to refer the appellant's

case to a general court-martial. Appellate Exhibit XXILL

Record at 65 66

67a

orders deposition of TO.

13 Nov 2001 Deposition of TO

conducted.

04 Dec 2001 TO hospitalized for

mental

deterioration.

07 Dee 2001 Government notified of

TO’s hospitalization.

10 Dec 2001 TO discharged from

hospital. [Originally

scheduled date for

commencement of trial].

11 Dec 2001 Defense litigates Motion in

Limine to exclude

deposition testimony of

TO.

07 Jan 2001 Military judge orders

testimony of treating

psychologist (Dr. Bock)

and production of her

curriculum vitae to resolve

Motion zn Limine.

22 Jan 2006 Dr. Bock testifies on

Motion in Limzne.

Appellate Exhibits XXX],

XXXII, XL. XLI admitted

on the Motion.

23 Jan 2006 Military Judge denies

Motion zn /imine and

admits into evidence TO's

deposition testimony.

23-25 Jan 2006 Trial on the merits.

Discussion

68a

a. Opportunity and Similar Motive to Develop the

Testimony.

On 30 October 2001, the appellant, through his

counsel, raised a motion at an Article 39(a), UCMJ,

session to compel a new Article 32, UCMJ,

investigation based on the fact that the defense team

had not had the opportunity to interview TO, and

that she was not present at the original Article 32,

UCMJ, pretrial investigation. Claiming that “the

defense hald] been refused the ability to cross-

examine the victim in this case on the record as

required by case law,” Record at 23, the appellant’s

counsel went on to elaborate extensively on why a.

new Article 32 investigation should be ordered.

Among the reasons offered were the following:

1) The convening authority, in deciding

whether or not to refer the charges to trial,

should have the benefit of the testimony

and cross-examination of the alleged

victim, TO. Record at 23.

2) The testimony of TO, once obtained. should

be considered by the Article 32, UCM.J,

Investigating Officer to determine whether

his recommendation to refer charges to a

general court-martial would remain the

same. Record at 24.

3) An interview of TO alone would be

inadequate, as it would not allow for

adequate impeachment if inconsistencies

were developed. Kecord at 25.

69a

Arguing further on the motion, defense counsel

asserted to the military judge that, cross-

examination of TO “is what we are really looking for

here, to get her on the record and ask her those hard

questions and get them on the record as required by

case law.” Record at 25. The military judge denied

the defense request for a new Article 32

investigation, but ordered a deposition of TO based

upon these stated motivations of the defense team.

The deposition of TO was subsequently conducted

in the presence of the appellant and his counsel, and

presided over by a properly appointed Deposition

Officer. TO’s deposition testimony was taken under

oath and recorded completely on videotape (and fully

transcribed verbatim in writing) allowing the finder

of fact to fully evaluate her appearance and

demeanor during trial on the merits. See

Prosecution Exhibit 3 and Appellate Exhibit XXXII.

During the deposition, the Appellant’s defense team

had an unrestricted face-to-face opportunity to cross-

examine TO regarding the allegations against the

appellant arising from their sexual relationship, and

took advantage of it. See United States v. Connor,

27 M.J. 378, 389 (C.M.A. 1989). Unlike a

preliminary hearing where defense counsel may

reasonably claim lack of motive to cross-examine a

prosecution witness (or examine at all), this post-

referral deposition was conducted in full

contemplation of this already referred general court-

martial. The defense team was clearly aware of all

the relevant issues and possessed the same motive

and opportunity for cross-examination they would

have had if TO had testified in person at trial. See

70a

United States v. Crockett, 21 M.J. 423, 426 (C.M.A.

1986). The original arguments made to the military

judge in support of their motion for a new Article 32

investigation make it clear the defense team knew

exactly what the issues were, what was at stake in

this case, and what they were after through face-to-

face cross-examination of TO under oath. According

to the defense team’s stated position on the record,

this deposition would impact the very foundation of

all original decisions leading to referral of the

charges against their chent to a general court-

martial. Based upon these facts, and a thorough

review of the deposition testimony, no straight-faced

argument can now be asserted that the appellant

and his counsel lacked a similar motive and

opportunity to develop the testimony of TO through

cross-examination.’ /d.

b. Unavailability of TO

On 04 December 2001, just six days before this

trial was originally scheduled to commence, TO was

admitted to the Spirit of St. Louis Hospital in St.

Charles, Missouri, for inpatient psychiatric

evaluation and treatment. AE XXXI. In a letter

dated 07 December 2001, TO’s attending

psychologist notified the prosecution team that:

+ Defense counsel, in seeking at trial to exclude the deposition

of TO he requested. distnygenuously claimed that the deposition

of TO was simply an opportunity to “interview” her, and that “it

was not the defense’s goal to cross-examine her as if we were at

trial.” Record at 94. This, of course was completely contrary to

the argument he made in originally requesting the new Article

32 investigation to the effect that a mere “interview” of TO

would be an madequate remedy as it would not properly

preserve possible “impeachment evidence” Record at 25

Tla

“[TO] was admitted . . . because of severe

danger to herself. She has initiated

psychiatric treatment for her presumed

mood disorder. She is being treated with

medications. She is having significant

psychiatric problems as well as

medication adjustment reactions. She

cannot attend court on any date before

the end of December. She remains

hospitalized at this time. The date of her

discharge is not yet known.”

AE XXXII. Upon her admission, it was noted that TO

(now 13 years old and in the eighth grade) was

experiencing her first psychiatric hospitalization, and

that she had previously been treated as an outpatient

for depression and suicidal ideation. Record at 174:

AE XLI at 9. Her hospitalization was ordered after

her outpatient therapist and the hospital assessment

staff noted a serious deterioration in her mental

status and became alarmed by her suicidal attempts

and gestures. /d. During her admitting psychiatric

evaluation, the following was recorded:

“ ... Recently, patient had to

give a deposition ‘then it a// got really

worse.’ (sic) Patient has had

numerous self-harm events such as

putting a plastic bag over her head and

cutting her hand with a knife ‘/ never

told anvone.’ (sic) Patient has been in

outpatient counseling. Her counselor

recently was concerned about patient's

72a

worsening of status and recommended

psychiatric assessment. At assessment,

the patient could not contract for safety

and felt preoccupied by her thoughts of

killing herself. There was also, in the

past week, an incident on the school

bus, where patient was called various

sexual slur names and a coke (sic)

bottle was thrown at her. Patient had

cut her wrist in the past week.”

AE XLI at 9 (quotes and italics in original). Other

symptoms clearly documented at the time included

diminished sleep, decreased attention and

concentration due to internal distraction,

intermittent racing thoughts, wide mood swings

(including crying spells and irritable temper), and

panic attacks. /d. After six days of inpatient

treatment, TO’s discharge summary (dated 10

December 2001) reflected that she continued to be

“solemn and disinterested with defeated, sad

demeanor’ and also felt “beleaguered by

hopelessness and wished to die.” Jd. at 4. Dr. Bock, |

who had been attending TO throughout her

hospitalization, documented her formal diagnosis

that ‘TO was suffering from, among other things,

“Bipolar li Disorder. Rapid Cycling, Panic Disorder”

and “Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.” both AXIS |

disorders under the AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC

ASSOCIATION'S DIAGNOSTIC AND STATISTICAL MANUAL

OF MENTAL DISORDERS (4th ed. 1994)(hereinafter

DSM-IV). Jd.

This evidence was considered by the military

73a

judge in support of the Government’s position that

TO was unavailable as a witness. Not wholly

satisfied with the information contained within TO’s

medical records, and concerned about the accused’

right to confrontation of this critical Government

witness, the military judge ordered the production of

Linda P. Bock, M.D., a board-certified child

psychologist and TO’s attending physician while

hospitalized from 04 to 10 December 2005, asa

witness on the motion. Record at 157, 169-70, and

173-74; AE XL. On 22 January 2002, another Article

39(a), UCMJ, session was conducted by the military

judge to adduce additional testimony and evidence

relating to TO’s medical and psychiatric condition.

At this hearing, the judge received the sworn

testimony of Dr. Bock, and additionally received into

evidence her curriculum vitae and eighty-eight pages

of medical and psychiatric treatment records

relating to TO’s hospitalization. AE XL and XLI.

Dr. Bock’s credentials and expertise as a board-

certified child psychiatrist and analyst practicing

since 1980 were well-established and undisputed.®

Record at 173-74.

* Dr. Bock’s impressive curricu/um vitae reflects an internship

in pediatrics (1974-1975); a residency in pediatrics (1975-1976):

a residency in psychiatry (1976-1978); and a fellowship in child

and adolescent psychiatry (1978-1980). She was engaged ina

full or part-time private adolescent psychiatry practice from

1980 to the time of trial. She served in numerous consulting

and teaching positions relating to her profession, published

extensively in her field. and war a member and/or director of

multiple professional organizations related to the treatment of

psychiatric disorders.

74a

Dr. Bock reiterated on the stand the diagnosis

she previously documented in TO’s medical records.

She went on to carefully explain that “Bipolar II

Disorder, Rapid Cycling, F nic Disorder’® and “Post-

Traumatic Stress Disorder” (PTSD)? are both serious

AXIS I mental] disorders, and that TO clearly met

the criteria for each as set forth in the DSM-IV.

Record at 175-80. Dr. Bock testified that TO’s

mental condition deteriorated significantly after her

13 November 2001 deposition, and that she required

anti-psychotic and anti-depressant medications to

deal with her disorders. /d. at 176-78. TO hada

suicidal “episode” in August 2001 for which she was

prescribed anti-depressants, followed by a second

© Bipolar IT Disorder is characterized by the occurrence of one

or more “Major Depressive Episodes” accompanied by at least

one “Hypomanic Episode.” DSM-IV at 359. “Completed suicide

(usually during Major Depressive Episodes) is a significant

risk, occurring in 10%-15% of persons with Bipolar II Disorder.”

/d. at 360. This disorder is often, as in this case, associated

with “Panic Disorder,’ which involves a discrete period of

intense fear or discomfort that “has a sudden onset and builds

tc a peak rapidly (usually in 10 minutes or less) and is often

accompanied by an imminent sense of danger or impending

doom and an urge to escape.” /d. at 359 and 394-95. When the

“Rapid-Cycling” specifier has been included in a Bipolar

Disorder diagnosis, it indicates the occurrence of tour or more

mood episodes during the previous 12 months. /d. at 390.

* PTSD involves the development of characteristic symptoms

following an extreme traumatic stressor, which may include

persistent re-experrencing of the traumatic event. persistent

avoidance of stimuli associated with the trauma, and numbing

of general responsiveness. The full symptom picture must be

available for more than 1 month, and the disturbance must

cause clinically significant distress or impairment in social,

occupational, or other areas of functioning. /d. at 424.

75a

“suicide gesture” after her deposition testimony was

given. /d. at 178. While hospitalized, Dr. Bock

described TO as:

“.. agitated, irritable. She was

very unstable in mood. At times she

would be [a] little bit tearful and weepy;

and other times she would be bossy and

pushy. She couldn’t sit still. She was

constantly fidgeting, very

uncomfortable . . . [‘llet’s go, get me out

of here[‘]. She was clearly very

uncomfortable.”

Id. at 181. 'TO also experienced a panic episode

during which she believed that there were men

outside her window at the hospital trying to get into

her room to rape her. /d. at 180. Dr. Bock, after

considering all of TO’s demonstrated psychological

abnormalities before and during hospitalization,

concluded that it would be detrimental for her to

testify as a witness at appellant’s trial. Record at

180.

In the majority opinion above, Dr. Bock’s

conclusions concerning the detrimental impact upon

TO of testifying at trial were challenged as

“inadequate” for having been based upon dated or

“stale” information. Because Dr. Bock had not

personally examined TO between 10 December 2001

(the date of TO’s discharge from the hospital) and 22

January 2002 (the date she testified on the Motion) —

a period of approximately 43 davs — the majority

concludes that the military judge abused his

discretion in ruling that she was unavailable.

76a

Clinging to a single response given by Dr. Bock on

cross-examination to the effect that TO’s condition

could “possibly” have improved since 10 December

2001, the majority ignores the reality of the whole of

this board-certified psychiatrist’s testimony. Also,

the question posed on cross-examination simply

asked whether it was “[plossible that [‘I'O’s] in a

better state than when you discharged her?” Record

at 192. It did not ask whether it was “possible” that

testifying at trial would not be detrimental to TO’s

diagnosed psychiatric disorder and clearly guarded

condition. The whole of Dr. Bock’s testimony on this

matter is instructive:

[Cross-examination by defense counsel

of Dr. Bock]

Q. What was her prognosis when

you released [TO from

hospitalization]?

A. Guarded.

Q. What does that mean”?

A. She has a serious chronic

psychiatric disorder. Many

individuals who have young or early

onset bipolar disorder have the

worse (sic) prognosis as opposed to

an individual whose bipolar disorder

doesn't become symptomatic until

they are 25 or 30. Someone who is

symptomatic at five, six is much

worse off. So she is still very early

onset (sic) so her prognosis is

77a

guarded.

Q. Possible [sic] that she’s in a

better state than when you

discharged her?

A. Pardon’?

Q. Is it possible

A. Currently?

Q. Yes. Is it possible?

A. All things are possible.

@. Well, you gave -

A. I would find it doubtful, but it is

possible.

Q. Well, you gave her medication

and ordered her return to school?

A. Statistically, mood stability for

bipolar disorder requires six to e

twelve months before you can expect

to be at what vou call baseline. So it

is a very long recovery period. |

usually counsel the social workers to

advise the parents to expect that it’s

going to be a verv rocky road and

that she may need rehospitalization.

Record at 192.

The entire testimony of Dr. Bock, along with the

evidence presented on this motion, demonstrates

very persuasively that TO was currently suffering

78a

from a serious psychiatric disorder that required

long-term treatment and medication. This board-

certified psychiatrist with over twenty years of

experience made it clear that TO was newly

diagnosed, that treatment and drug therapy® had

been newly initiated, and that “she is in pretty

severe discontrol currently.” Record at 205. Dr.

Bock told the military judge that TO’s illness was

ongoing, required protracted treatment, and opined

that “if she’s called in to testify as a witness in these

proceedings that that will cause even greater trauma

for her.”* Record at 207. Dr. Bock’s responses to

questions from the military judge were unequivocal

on this point:

[Questions by Military Judge]:

Q. Dr. Bock, is it my understanding that

the illness that [TO] is suffering from is

an ongoing illness: is that correct?

A. Correct.

Q. And that her treatment is likely to be

long term?

A. Protracted, ves, sir.

Q. And it is vour opinion that if she’s called

in to testify in these proceedings that

“TO was prescribed Seroquel, a hrain protectant that blocks

dopamine and anti psychotic medication, and Tegretor, which

was a mood stabilizer. AE LXIV at 3: Record at 175-76.

“tas instructive that Dr. Bock’s original admission diagnosis

indicating that TO might be able to testifv “by the end of

December” completely changed after consideration of her full

medical history, present symptoms, and ultimate diagnosis.

79a

that will cause even greater trauma for

her?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Now, when we speak in terms of trauma

and traumatizing for the child, it is my

understanding from what you are saying

that this is more than a diminimous (sic)

emotional stress placed on the child?

A. Yes, I think a more helpful term to use

is stimulating. Because if you use

trauma, it gets confused with PTSD: and

when someone has bipolar disorder, it is

very difficult for them to tolerate much

stimulation. They have to calibrate how

much stimulation they are going to get

in their life so 1t doesn’t overwhelm and

over stimulate the brain cells. The

medicines are meant to kind of

destimulate as it were to protect the

brain from over stimulation....

Q. But as it relates to [TO], again, if she

testifies we are talking about her

suffering more than minor emotional

distress?

A. Yes. lam-—yes. sir I[ think it would be

a major, over stimulating event that

could be predictably associated with

either a repeat suicide attempt or a

repeat psychiatric hospitalization.

Record at 207-08.

SUa

Dr. Bock’s testimony was unequivocal and

unrebutted. In light of the specific nature and

seriousness of TO’s psychiatric diagnosis, it was also

clearly reasonable that Dr. Bock would not feel the

need to “update” her recommendation within a mere

month-and-a-half of having rendered it. She

testified clearly to this effect on the motion:

“....1T can't think of any other data that

would be pertinent to change my view ..

. | just don’t think it’s good for her to

have to take that level of stimulation. |

just think it’s too much for her, and |

don’t think it is going to change for a

long while. You know{,] six to twelve

months of medication and a longer

period of time in therapy until she

masters talking about traumas. She

may never master talking about

traumas.”

Record at 209.

In my opinion, and on these facts, the military

judge's findings of fact were not “clearly erroneous”

and he did not abuse his discretion in admitting TO’s

deposition testimony. See United States v.

Donaldson, 978 F.2d 381 (7th Cir. 1992)(holding

district court’s ruling that pregnant female was

unavailable when she was admitted to hospital with

scrious illness on eve of trial was proper); United

States v. Amaya, 533 .2d 188, 191 (5th Cir.

1976)(concluding witness unavailable due to loss of

memory, even where evidence did not establish loss

Sla

was permanent); People v. Lombardi, 332 N.Y.S.2d

749 (N.Y. 1972)(finding witness unavailable where

evidence demonstrated her mental and physical

health would be seriously jeopardized and could

have resulted in further and perhaps successful

attempt at suicide.); Warren v. United States, 436

A.2d 821 (D.C. 1981)(holding evidence of severe risk

of psychological trauma to witness that could

potentially flow from testifying at trial sufficient to

sustain judge’s determination that witness was

unavailable). People v. Gomez, 103 Cal. Rptr. 80

(1972)(concluding witness was unavailable where

there was a “strong possibility” that 1t would be

detrimental to her psychological welfare to appear in

court.)

The cases cited by the majority 1n support of

their proposition that the military judge relied on

“dated” information, and that he should have done

more in making his “unavailability” determination,

can clearly be distinguished from this case. Cokely

clearly recognizes that “there is no bright-line rule

which will fit every situation,” and that

“fulnavailability is clear when the witness is not

expected to improve.” 22 M.J. at 229 (citing United

States v. Keithan, 751 F.2d 9 (st Cir. 1984).

Cokeley additionally acknowledges, “delay of the

trial is not necessary in every case where a witness

is ill but may recover someday.” /d. (citing Howard

v. Sigler, 454 F.2d 115 (8th Cir. 1972)). In Cokeley,

the then Court of Military Appeals determined that

the military judge abused his discretion in admitting

over defense objection the deposition testimony of

the alleged victim of Cokeley’s attempted rape. The

$la

alleged victim returned a subpoena to appear at trial

with a note stating that she was unable to travel due

to pregnancy. At the time of trial, counsel learned

that the alleged victim had given birth by emergency

Caesarean section, that complications had ensued

with her and her child, and that her attending

physician had opined that it would be “two to three’

weeks” before her ability to travel could be

ascertained, and that further consultation with the

attending pediatrician was required to ascertain

exactly when she could travel. /d. at 226-27.

Because the alleged victim’s unavailability would

have most likely been “merely temporary,” it was

held to be error to admit her deposition in lieu of her

live presence at trial. /d. at 228. Additionally, the

judge in Cokeley erroneously shifted the burden to

the accused to demonstrate that the witness was

available and necessary. /d. at 229. This case is

clearly distinguishable in that, unlike pregnancy

complications, TO’s mental disorders were clearly

not “merely temporary” afflictions, but rather long-

term psychiatric maladies with no discernible date of

resolution, and no indication as to when it would be

non-detrimental for TO to testify. Delaying the

proceedings was not a realistic remedy where Dr.

Bock clearly indicated it would take “six to twelve”

months for TO to arrive at a “baseline,” and even

then her ability to testify could not be guaranteed.

Record at 192, 198, and 208-09. Dr. Bock was

unequivocal in her estimate that “lO would require

extensive therapy for an indefinite time, and that

she would probably be unable to discuss the events

involving the Appellant for five to twelve years. /d.

83a

The military judge in this case appreciated

that the burden to demonstrate unavailability rested

with the Government (see Record at 157). He

specifically and carefully considered and addressed

virtually all of the factors the Coke/ey decision listed

as important in properly making this determination.

AE LXIV: Record at 228-32. Unlike the situation in

Cokeley, the military judge here clearly articulated

the many factors he considered and weighed in

arriving at his determination that TO was

“unavailable.” AE LXIV.

1 also beheve the majority 1s in error in asserting

that the military judge improperly relied on “stale”

information in making his decision. Again, the cases

cited in the majority opinion are clearly

distinguishable from this case. Burns v. Clusen, 798

F.2d 931 (7th Cir 1986), cited as dispositive on this

issue by the majority, is different in critical respects:

First, Burns involved an adult witness. Here,

we are dealing with a twelve-year-old child victim

who was only thirteen at the time of trial.

Second, Burns involved a period of almost two

months from when the diagnosing psychiatrist had

last had personal contact with the alleged victim (4

Nov 1980) and the motion hearing on unavailability

being conducted (18 October 1980). Following that

period, the Burns tria/ was twice postponed for an

additional period of approximately five months (i.e.,

a total of 7 months) before trial on the merits began,

with no reassessment of the alleged victim’s

condition being made. /d. at 935-36, 939. That is

84a

clearly not the situation here. A mere 43 days

elapsed from the last date Dr. Bock had contact with

TO (10 December 2001) to trial on the merits

commencing (23 January 2002, the day after Dr.

Bock testified and the determination of TO’s

unavailability was announced). Additionally, the

psychiatrist in Burns had diagnosed a mental

disorder (“schitzophreniform disorder”) that had a

clearly documented duration of less than six months,

making it highly probable that the victim would

have been capable of testifying at the time that trial

actually began in that case. /d at 938. 'TO’s

disorder was not short-term in nature, and indeed

may afflict her for many years or the rest of her life.

Record at 207. Accordingly, Dr. Bock’s information,

diagnosis, opinions and prognosis were clearly not

“stale.”

Third, two presiding judges in the Burns case

rendered inconsistent findings on the issue of

“unavailability,” making it difficult upon review to

determine what actually served as the basis for the

finding. The trial court in Burns further erred by

refusing to reconsider its ruling because the

defendant had not introduced expert testimony to

show the witness had recovered, improperly shifting

the burden to the accused to show “availability.”

The findings in this case by Judge Keller are clear,

unambiguous, timely, and consistent with the

evidence presented at trial. No burden shifting ever

occurred during this trial. The infirmities

throughout the Burns trial did not occur at this

general court-martial.

85a

Finally, Burns involved the admission of

preliminary hearing testimony that was not recorded

on videotape, thus depriving the fact-finder of the

opportunity to assess the victim’s demeanor. That is

not the case here.

Similarly, the majority’s reliance on United States

v. Vanderwier, 25 M.J. 262 (C.M.A. 1987) is also

misplaced. In that case, the “unavailable” witness

(ship’s executive officer) was deposed over defense

objection, the military judge entered no essential

findinys of fact, and the witness was ruled

“unavailable” for trial despite the fact that the trial

ended just two-days before the witness’ period of

unavailability ended. /d. at 266-67. The abuse of

discretion in Vanderwier bears no logical

relationship to the diligence and effort exerted by

Judge Keller to determine exactly what TO’s status

was as the trial dates closed in on the parties.

The majority faults the military judge for failing

to obtain a “statement from TO regarding her fear of

testifying,” or “a statement from TO’s mother.” The

logic of this appears faulty in the face of

unavailability determinations based upon formal

and properly diagnosed psychiatric disorders. TO’s

fear of testifying was but one symptom among many

serving as the basis for the ultimate diagnosis of

“Bipolar II disorder, Rapid Cycling, Panic Disorder”

and “PTSD.” The unrebutted mental health expert

here was Dr. Bock. It was her well-considered

psychiatric diagnosis based on years of medical and

psychiatric experience that was critical to this

particular determination. Obtaining a “statement”

86a

from TO would have offered little to Dr. Bock’s

analysis (see Record at 209) or that of the court, and

could have caused TO even more and greater trauma

and symptoms than she was already suffering. ‘lo

request TO to provide a statement in this manner

simply to test her resistance to testifying “would

have unnecessarily burdened the very person whose

well-being the court sought to protect.” See Warren,

436 A.2d at 830. Also, while asking TO’s mother to

provide a “statement” may have given the court

additional information of interest, the mother’s input

in this case was already clear in the record, and

surely would not have altered Dr. Bock’s conclusion.

See Record at 147, 229; AE XLVII.

Finally, the majority suggests that an

“Independent medical opinion from a court-appointed

doctor” was suggested in this case to “eliminate the

possibility of any natural bias... resulting from the

doctor-patient relationship [between TO and Dr.

Bock].” Admittedly, Dr. Bock was genuinely

concerned for the welfare of her psychiatrically

disturbed minor patient, as any properly trained

health care professional would be when caring tor

someone suffering from multiple Axis I mental

disorders. Dr. Bock’s “advocacy” on behalf of TO was

noteworthy more as a reflection of the seriousness of

TO’'s mental condition than for its impact on

relieving her from the obligation to testify at trial.

The majority’s recommendation for independent,

court-appointed psychiatric expertise would make

sense if there had been “dueling” expert witnesses

testifying before the court on this issue, or if Judge

Keller doubted the credentials, expertise, or

S7a

professional opinion of Dr. Bock. That was not the

case here. Dr. Bock’s testimony was persuasive and

absolutely unchallenged by any other mental health

professional. See United States v. Cordero, 22 M.3J.

216, 221 (C.M.A. 1986). The majority’s suggestion

for the appointment of an independent court-expert

in this case would have added tremendous expense

and delay to the proceeding when absolutely no

evidence rebutted Dr. Bock’s diagnosis and opinions.

Also, assuming an “independent” court-appointed

doctor was designated to examine TO, how then

should the trial judge deal with the “natural bias”

flowing from that doctor-patient relationship? I

beheve that, as jurists, we tread on very thin ice

when we counter fully qualified and unrebutted

expert testimony with nothing more than

unsupported argument and speculation.

The requirement of the law is not that the

Government must do everything humanly possible to

get a witness to testify, only that it make a

reasonable, good faith effort to get the witness to

court. United States v. Reed, 227 F.3d 763, 767 (7th

Cir. 2000). “{Tlhe lengths to which the prosecution

must go to produce a witness... 1S a question of

reasonableness’.” /d. (quoting Roberts, 448 U.S. at

74). Once TO’s unavailability was demonstrated by

the Government through the very persuasive

testimony of Dr. Bock, the burden then rested upon

the defense to refute this showing with more than

mere speculation and supposition. Cordero, 22 M.J.

at 221 (holding that once the Government

demonstrated witness had disregarded subpoena

and returned to her home in Germany, burden

88a

shifted to defense to refute her unavailability).

There is nothing in this record to suggest that the

Government acted in bad faith or sought to create

TO’s unavailability at trial. The record is clear in

reflecting the Government’s good faith effort to

obtain TO’s presence at trial, including making

travel arrangements and issuing her a subpoena to

be present.

In light of TO’s serious mental afflictions and

the possible psychological harm that could have

resulted from having her take the stand during trial

on the merits, I believe the military judge was

clearly within the realm of his considerable

discretion in determining that TO was unavailable.

The full and complete direct and cross-examination

of TO at her earlier deposition -- in the presence of

the accused, all counsel, and a qualified deposition

officer -- ensured that the appellant’s confrontation

rights were secured to the maximum extent possible

in this case. The fact that the defense team

ultimately elected to withhold their cross-

examination of TO from the members for tactical

reasons cannot be held against either TO or the

military judge.

c. Remote Live Testimony.

The majority additionally faults the military

judge for not more thoroughly exploring and

exhausting the various possibilities for alternative

forms of live testimony that might have lessened or

eliminated the trauma and/or impact of having TO

testify in person. See Maryland v. Craig, 497 U.S.

89a

836 (1990); R.C.M. 914A; MIL. R. Evib. 611(d). Once

again, I respectfully disagree.

Requiring the exploration of “alternatives to

live testimony” in light of the diagnosed psychiatric

disorders in this case would seem the very antithesis

of prudence. Dr. Bock’s testimony was vnequivocal

that any participation by TO in the court-martial of

the appellant could have a very serious and long-

term impact on her ability to someday fully recover

and go on to lead a normal life. This fully qualified

expert, whose testimony on this issue was again

unrebutted, made it clear that alternatives to live

testimony by TO would not be adequate to prevent

the trauma and potential suicide risk. The victim in

this case is a young girl who at one point during her

hospitalization was very close to “full mania” --

which Dr. Bock described as a form of psychosis.

Record at 193. Dr. Bock was specifically asked on

cross-examination whether alternatives to live

testimony (e.g., being in another room) would

alleviate the stress TO would suffer. Dr. Bock

rephed that, while remote testimony might help

reduce the overall stress TO felt, it would be

insufficient to be of any value to TO in light of her

diagnosis. Record at 203.

If “alternatives to live testimony” are

traditionally employed to alleviate trauma in

individuals who enjoy complete mental health, would

it make any sense to require that such be resorted to

in cases where firmly diagnosed psychoses and

preexisting trauma are manifest? See Gomez, 103

Cal. Rptr. At 82 (declaring that, in cases where

90a

witness illness or infirmity is the cause of

unavailability, it would be “an asinine bow to

futility” to require “reasonable diligence” in

attempting to secure the attendance of the witness).

Judge Keller’s case-speeific findings concerning TO's

unavailability represent a more than sufficient

explanation of why remote hive testimony (or similar

measures) was not a reasonable option in this case.

d. Sufficiency of the Evidence.

Contrary to the assertions of appellant and his

counsel, | believe the evidence in this case clearly

established appellant’s guilt beyona a reasonable

doubt. TO’s identification of the appellant at her

deposition was unequivocal and was corroborated at

trial (albeit reluctantly) by the testimony of the

appellant’s co-accused, Private First Class (PFC)

McNamara. TO convincingly explained why she had

not originally named the appellant as one of the

many individuals she had engaged in sex with, and

clearly affirmed afterwards the nature and extent

her sexual relationship with the appellant. The

asserted defense that TO had somehow “confused”

the appellant with PFC Tapia (another “Latino” with

whom she had engaged in sex) was weak and

unpersuasive in light of TO’s unambiguous

testimony and the entire record of trial. The

evidence in this case left litthe doubt regarding TO’s

positive identification of the appellant, and the

members clearly agreed.

Also, I believe the majority is mistaken in

their assertion that TO had communicated to the

Ola

hospital assessment staff that she had been “gang

raped” by “four to six Marine officers.” In a long

discussion on the record with Dr. Bock concerning

the origins of these alleged statements, it became ~

abundantly clear that these were not the words of

TO, but imprecise words and terms selected by

hospital personne] and recorded in her medica]

records. Record at 215-18. Dr. Bock made it clear

that the term “rape” was sometimes used by hospital

staff personnel in cases involving minors because,

legally, they lack the ability to consent to sexual

acts. /d. and at 210-14. Also, Dr. Bock explained

that she and the hospital staff had no understanding

of military ranks, and they simply chose the wrong

words to use to describe such. Importantly, Dr. Bock

made it clear that the records were not quoting

verbatim what TO had told them, and that those

were their words, not TO’s. /d. TO had no apparent

motive to fabricate her allegations against the

appellant. She never alleged that her sexual

relationship with him was anything but consensual,

and it was clear from the entire record that she had

an amicable relationship with the appellant. The

evidence of appellant’s guilt was more than

sufficient.

e. Conclusion.

Because | am satisfied that the military judge

did not abuse his discretion in ruling that TO was

unavailable as a witness, or in admitting into

evidence her deposition testimony, | would affirm

the findings of guilty and the sentence in this case.

Q>

aa

For the Court

R.H. TROIDL

Clerk of Court

Appendix E

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Amendment VI — Right to Speedy Trial,

Confrontation of Witnesses.

In al] criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right to a speedy and public tral, by an impartial

jury of the State and district wherein the crime shal]

have been committed, which district shall have been

previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of

93a

the nature and cause of the accusation; to be

confronted with the witnesses against him: to have

compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his

defence

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.