Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air Line Pilots Ass'n, International v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a :

00-260 AUG 1 6 2000

acai QEEICE OF IHE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Petitioner,

af

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC..

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JERRY D. ANKER

(Counsel of Record)

ELIZABETH GINSBURG

JAMES K. LOBSENZ

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL

Legal Department

1625 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

(202) 797-4087

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® <> oo

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the “tension” between the decisions in

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974),

and Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.

20 (1991), which the Court acknowledged in Wright v.

Universal Maritime Service Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 75-77

(1998), should be resolved by holding that unions have

authority under the Railway Labor Act to negotiate collective

bargaining agreements that provide for arbitration of statutory

employment-discrimination claims.

2. Whether, even if unions lack authority to negotiate

collective agreements providing for arbitration of statutory

claims, the Railway Labor Act obligates an employer, before

requesting individual Gilmer-type arbitration agreements

from union-represented employees, to bargain with the union

_ concerning such matters as whether the individual arbitration

agreements will be voluntary or required by the employer as a

condition of hire or retention, and what the specific terms and

conditions of the agreements will be.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

FRE eee ORI BE iancn sen ecksscssetsssensvennccsdsnsancisce i

EE: URI TOT cnicinicineipnsecinsdsanieuniulcadshbhaciaaneotaninboies l

Ne stichnkstatidduiceniilkasniesseecaniininasnsosatieeseonsinn l

ee EY PE Ws IED cs cseesccsenstshcksadcdonhnacteibibanssecectnens 2

PRUNE GPE FUE Gao innc cs ctcsssoccacinccnsvncessesacse 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.................... 6

IIIT cerscticincituasinthineanedaittaniddiidaiibdideuhstduaninkanesiins 14

NT ciptahiaaigtinanionincacenbsnnsananesinincaasblinakecercnintianeede la

Opinion, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit, dated December 28, 1999............. la

Memorandum Opinion, U.S. District Court for the

District of Columbia, dated September 23, 1998....... 20a

Order, U.S. District Court for the District of

Columbia, dated September 23, 1998 ..............cccceeeees 39a

Order, U.S. District Court for the District of

Columbia, dated October 2, 1998 ...........cccecssesseeseeees 4la

Order, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit, dated March 9, 2000...............:0000 42a

Judgment, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit, dated May 19, 2000................0008 44a

Pertinent Provisions of the Railway Labor Acct.............. 46a

(iii)

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 |

CEFF) wcsccassnstererenoonaniittccnnbennatisacsamecesieniia 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 12

Austin v. Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc..,

FF BED CRE, TID siniscinescesictnesnienrcnssion 6

Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,

PUL FARE CL hiisciniinstiniesdnanniaittininianibineiin 7

Carson v. Giant Food, Inc., 175 F.3d 325 (4th

CF, aD cenicicnpnsciniviacneasebicigianadacdibsinbiesnbanindadegiliaiainia 6

Gilmer v. Interstate Johnson/Lane Corp., 500

CF, Be CTD Distecinsicticiacegnsinsianlanhatiaaed 4,7, 12, 13

McDonald v. West Branch, 466 U.S. 284

(FSI wissen inivsisuhbecevenneiediieindinnstiiethanenaeiacbiiestevendiaiagieiiaaanha 7

Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 678

CNG) cceincsvesensetensnenschaisintciveittocibanetesitgnicsinnnpiabaaliidaniis 11

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) ............ eee 7

NLRB vy. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175

(BGT) cccisnnsksajaiensiiitionsieininaciisieiiediigpidiiniinsiiianiiiiaaids 11

Order of R.R. Telegraphers v. Railway Express

Agamey, S21 US. BOE (USO) vi vccetssentsensseseonsinneee 10

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American

Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989) 0.0... eeeeeee 7

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,

FEBS US. Sane CLIT Ricerciinsniiiadianainiinveaiennitiinnie 7

Steele v. Louiville & Nashville R.R., 323 U.S. 192

CRI seisisccsishieisectiauieesliatecediiagiginadantinorniegiciedianinin 10-11

Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953) .........ceeeeeeeeeees )

Wright v. Universal Maritime Serv. Corp., 525

US. FP CE sciiewshiincentinebcinteniinciniibinconaioio 4,7-8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES: Page

Be Ace Se RE) iitiitsiitnsinsiticrmaninneeniianintiaainiiin 2

es Se Be Ditcnivihieneocitictitinccameiincnenntainiiiaienis 2

Be a. OER itatisinnininioniiiniceiinienamaaanioans 2

National Labor Relations Act,

pik 2 al. | OREM Eonrneemneeneyenen ater Arran nner 8

acs Se ED sicntiocnscesennntniedecntabenieaiisariaendiabalanintes 2)

Railway Labor Act,

+ BZ, 4S TKK § 1G 2. .cccccrscecesscocssccescorsesscessesesvovesees 2,4, 10

=—_ er

IN THE :

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Petitioner,

V.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Air Line Pilots Association, International

(ALPA) respectfully petitions the Court to issue a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is officially reported at

199 F.3d 477, and is reprinted in the Appendix (App.) at page

la. The opinion of the district court is not officially reported,

and is reprinted at App. 20a.

JURISDICTION

The appeal in this case was initially heard by a panel of the

court of appeals, which issued its decision on December 28,

1999. ALPA then filed a timely petition for rehearing en

2

banc, and on March 9, 2000, the full court of appeals granted

that petition, vacated the panel’s decision, and ordered

rehearing en banc. (App. 42a). On May 19, 2000, after oral

argument, the full court entered a judgment reinstating

the earlier panel opinion “as the judgment and opinion of

the court sitting en banc.” (App. 44a). This Court has

jurisdiction to review that judgment pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the Railway Labor Act are

reprinted in the Appendix at pages 46a-49a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner ALPA is a labor organization that represents the

pilots employed by most U.S. commercial air carriers,

including respondent Northwest Airlines, Inc. (Northwest).

ALPA brought this action in the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia to obtain an injunction against

Northwest’s practice of requiring its pilots, at the time of hire,

to sign individual employment contracts, called “Conditions

of Employment” (COE), which remain in effect during the

pilots’ entire tenure of employment. ALPA claimed that the

COEs dealt with matters relating to the pilots’ “rates of pay,

rules, and working conditions” concerning which Northwest _

has a statutory duty to bargain with ALPA as the pilots’

exclusive bargaining representative. See Railway Labor Act

§2 First & Second, 45 U.S.C. § 152 First & Second.

Therefore, ALPA contended, it was unlawful for Northwest

to enter into or maintain these individual agreements with

pilots represented by ALPA without ALPA’s prior consent.

The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked under 28

U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1337(a).

As one of its defenses to the action, Northwest contended

that ALPA had tacitly agreed to the versions of the COE that

3

had been executed prior to 1995 by not objecting to them

earlier. The district court determined that this contention had.

sufficient basis to raise a “minor dispute” (i.e., a contractual

issue) that, under the Railway Labor Act, could only be

resolved through arbitration before a system board of

adjustment. (App. 3la-35a). ALPA did not challenge this

holding on appeal.

The remainder of the litigation focused on the version of

the COE that Northwest had begun to use in 1995. That

agreement included, for the first time, an arbitration

provision’ which required the signatory pilot to submit to

binding arbitration “any claims or disputes I may have

with respect to my employment with the company.” 7

This provision specifically covered statutory “discrimi-

nation claims” under “any state or federal law prohibiting

discrimination.”

Northwest defended its right to enter into these individual

arbitration agreements without prior bargaining with ALPA

on the basis of this Court’s decision in Alexander v. Gardner-

Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974). It argued that Gardner-

Denver precludes a union from agreeing to binding arbitration

of individual employees’ statutory discrimination claims, and

therefore removes this subject from the scope of collective

bargaining under the Railway Labor Act.

'In addition to the arbitration clause there were four other new or

revised provisions in the 1995 COE that ALPA challenged below, but

while the litigation was pending Northwest eliminated three of these

provisions and revised the fourth to conform with the parties’ collective

bargaining agreement. (App. 5a-6a, 17a). The court of appeals concluded

that these changes made “ALPA’s claim for injunctive relief unripe” with

respect to these four provisions. (App. 18a). ALPA does not seek review

of this portion of the decision below.

? While the lawsuit was pending Northwest revised the arbitration

clause to make clear that it did not apply to any disputes arising under the

collective bargaining agreement between the Company and ALPA.

4

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district court

rejected Northwest’s contention. It held that, “regardless of

whether [ALPA] can itself enter into arbitration agreements

on behalf of its members, Northwest is nevertheless required,

under § 2 Seventh of RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 152, to obtain the

union’s consent before it can execute individual contracts

affecting the ‘rates of pay, rules, or working conditions’ of

represented employees.” (App. 30a). Accordingly, the court

enjoined Northwest “from implementing the COEs containing

the arbitration provision and from requiring from newly-hired

pilots COEs containing the arbitration provision pending

completion of the bargaining and mediation process required

by RLA §§ 5 and 6, 45 U.S.C. §§ 155 and 156.” (App. 37a).

The court of appeals reversed, accepting Northwest’s

argument that Alexander v. Gardner-Denver prohibits a union

from agreeing to binding arbitration of statutory claims, and

therefore removes this subject from the scope of collective

bargaining. In a panel opinion that was later adopted by the

full court sitting en banc, the court began its analysis by

rejecting the idea that Gardner-Denver had been superseded

by the Court’s later decision in Gilmer v. Interstate

Johnson/Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991). It acknowledged

that Gilmer, by allowing enforcement of an_ individual

agreement to arbitrate a statutory discrimination claim, had

retreated from the principle announced in Gardner-Denver

that “there can be no prospective waiver of an employee’s

rights under Title VII.” The court also acknowledged that

Wright v. Universal Maritime Serv. Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 80

(1998) had recognized the existence of an unresolved

question as to “‘whether or not Gardner-Denver’s seemingly

absolute prohibition of union waiver of employee’s federal

forum rights survives Gilmer.’” (App. 12a).

But the court ultimately concluded that Gardner-Denver

still stood as a bar to any union-negotiated agreement

providing for arbitration of statutory discrimination claims:

5

Whatever the Supreme Court said—or, more

precisely, refrained from saying—in Wright, we do not

understand the Court in Gilmer to have overruled

Gardner-Denver. Rather, the ‘Court expressly

distinguished that case, which strongly implies that it

remains the law within its field of application. We

therefore leave to the Court itself the prerogative of

overruling its own precedent (if it will); we apply the

law as it stands.

We see a clear rule of law emerging from Gardner-

Denver and Gilmer: Unless the Congress has precluded

his doing so, an individual may prospectively waive his

own statutory right to a judicial forum, but his union

may not prospectively waive that right for him. All of

the circuits to have considered the meaning of Gardner-

Denver after Gilmer, other than the Fourth, are in accord

with this view.

(App. 12a-13a) (citations omitted).

The court of appeals next considered the district court’s

view that, even if Gardner-Denver bars ALPA from entering

into any agreement that would require the pilots it represents

to arbitrate all statutory discrimination claims, Northwest

must still obtain ALPA’s permission to negotiate such

agreements directly with the individual pilots, because such

agreements concern rates of pay, rules and working

conditions. The court of appeals rejected this holding,

reasoning that it would require an employer to bargain about

a proposal “that the union is not authorized to accept and the

employer could not enforce.” (App. 14a). The court stated

that “a proposal to trade that which is not one’s to give cannot

be a mandatory subject of bargaining.” (/d.) It did not

explain why it thought this principle excused the employer

from bargaining about whether individual pilots would be

asked or required to sign arbitration agreements.

6

Finally, the court held that unions have no bargaining role

even with respect to the procedures to be incorporated into

such individual arbitration agreements. It stated:

[A]s we read Gardner-Denver and Gilmer, ALPA can

have no role in negotiating obligatory procedural rules

for arbitration of individual statutory claims. Read

together, those cases establish that only the individual

can determine in what forum he will vindicate his

statutory rights, and this choice should not be burdened

by the majoritarian concerns that motivate a union. If a

union has a mandatory role in negotiating the terms that |

will apply to arbitration, then it could also contrive to

discourage the exercise of the employee’s right to

choose a forum.

(App. 16a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

This case provides the Court an opportunity to resolve

definitively an important question of labor law concerning

which the Court has acknowledged its prior decisions are in

some “tension.” That question is whether a union has

authority, as collective bargaining representative, to enter into

an agreement that requires the represented employees to

submit to binding arbitration any claims arising under federal

anti-discrimination statutes. The courts of appeals are also

divided on this issue: most, like the court below, have

answered the question in the negative (see cases cited in the

opinion below at App. 13a), but the Fourth Circuit has

consistently answered it in the affirmative. See Austin v.

Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc., 78 F.3d 875 (4th Cir.

1996); Carson v. Giant Food, Inc., 175 F.3d 325 (4th Cir.

1999),

7

The question was most recently considered, but not

decided, by this Court in Wright v. Universal Maritime

Service Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 77, 82 (1998). The Court granted

certiorari in that case to review a Fourth Circuit decision

which had held that a union-negotiated arbitration clause in a

collective bargaining agreement precluded a_ covered

employee from suing in federa! court on a claim arising under

the Americans with Disabilities Act. In discussing the merits

of that case, this Court observed that the Fourth Circuit’s

decision “brings into question two lines of our case law” —

one represented by Gardner-Denver and its progeny’ and the

other, represented by Gilmer and earlier cases on which it

relied*—and that “[t}here is obviously some tension between

these two lines of cases.” /d. at 75-76. The Court went on to

explain:

Whereas Gardner-Denver stated that “an employee’s

rights under Title VII are not susceptible of prospective

waiver,” 415 U.S., at 51-52, Gilmer held that the right to

a federal judicial forum for an ADEA claim could be

waived. Petitioner and the United States as amicus

would have us reconcile the lines of authority by

maintaining that federal forum rights cannot be waived

in union-negotiated CBAs even if they can be waived in

individually executed contracts—a distinction that

assuredly finds support in the text of Gilmer, see 500

U.S., at 26, 35. Respondents and their amici, on the

other hand, contend that the real difference between

Gardner-Denver and Gilmer is the radical change, over

two decades, in the Court’s receptivity to arbitration . . .;

* E.g., McDonald v. West Branch, 466 U.S. 284 (1984); Barrentine v.

Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 450 U.S. 728 (1981).

* Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.

477 (1989); Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220

(1987); Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473

U.S. 614 (1985).

8

Gilmer, they argue, has_ sufficiently undermined

Gardner-Denver that a union can waive employees’

rights to a judicial forum.”

525 U.S. at 76-77.

In the end, the Court did not resolve this dispute. Instead,

it held that even if a union has authority to waive an

individual’s right to sue under these federal statutes, such a

waiver must be “clear and unmistakable.” The general

arbitration clause that was at issue in Wright did not meet

that test. The Court therefore concluded:

We hold that the collective-bargaining agreement in

this case does not contain a clear and unmistakable

waiver of the covered employees’ rights to a judicial

forum for federal claims of employment discrimination.

We do not reach the question whether such a waiver

would be enforceable.

525 U.S. at 82.

In the present case, the question whether a union has

authority to enter into a binding arbitration agreement

applicable tc individual employee claims arising under

federal anti-discrimination statutes is squarely presented—not

in reference to any particular arbitration clause but

generically, in terms of defining the scope of mandatory

collective bargaining under the Railway Labor Act. In other |

words, the question here is whether a union can negotiate any

kind of mandatory arbitration clause applicable to such

statutory claims.”

: Although this case happens to arise under the Railway Labor Act, the

issue presented would be exactly the same under the National Labor

Relations Act (NLRA), which similarly defines the scope of collective

bargaining under that statute as covering “wages, hours, and other terms

and conditions of employment.” 29 U.S.C. § 158(d). Thus, the decision

below is effectively the controlling precedent for NLRA cases as well,

9

The court of appeals thought this question had been

answered in Gardner-Denver, and that its duty as a lower

court was to follow that ruling: “We .. . leave to the

[Supreme] Court itself the prerogative of overruling its own

precedent (if it will); we apply the law as it stands.” (App.

12a-13a). But Gardner-Denver did not so much decide this

question as assume the answer, based on the then-existing

precedent of Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953). In Wilko,

which involved a suit under the Securities Act of 1933, the

Court had held that when Congress creates a nonwaivable

Statutory right and provides a judicial forum for its

enforcement, an arbitration agreement cannot be raised as a

defense to an enforcement action under the statute. It was on

the basis of this precedent that the Court in Gardner-Denver

concluded that “an employee’s rights under Title VII are not

susceptible of prospective waiver.” 415 U.S. at 51-52. Of

course, the Court subsequently retreated from and eventually

overruled Wilko, in a series of cases that it later relied upon in

Gilmer. See cases cited at page 7, note 4, supra. But the

Court has yet to decide whether this change in its thinking

about arbitration of statutory claims generally should also

change the views expressed in Gardner-Denver concerning a

union’s authority to negotiate arbitration agreements

applicable to statutory discrimination claims.

Moreover, the Court’s pronouncements in Gardner-Denver

concerning a union’s authority are only dicta, since that

question was not presented in the case. Rather, the issue

there was whether an employee who had submitted a

contractual discrimination claim to arbitration under a

collective bargaining agreement and obtained an adverse

award was thereby precluded from bringing a statutory

discrimination claim in Court. The arbitration provision in

since all NLRA cases are subject to review in the District of Columbia

Circuit. See 29 U.S.C. § 160(f).

aE”

10

that case did not specifically cover statutory claims, nor had

any statutory claim been submitted to arbitration. Thus, the

extent of a union’s authority to negotiate concerning

arbitration of statutory claims was not directly presented.

Given the continuing conflict among the circuits on this

issue, and the tension in this Court’s own decisions, the

matter should be definitively decided in this case.

Il.

If this Court should determine that a union may not itself

enter into a collective agreement that requires arbitration of

Statutory discrimination claims, then the second question

presented by this case would arise. That question is whether

an employer must nevertheless bargain with the union before

entering into individual arbitration agreements with union-

represented employees. ALPA’s contention throughout this

case has been that an arbitration requirement applicable to

discrimination claims arising out of the employment

relationship—whether that arbitration requirement is

embodied in a collective agreement or an_ individual

agreement—is a “rule” or “working condition” within the

meaning of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 152, and

therefore within the scope of collective bargaining mandated

by the Act. If this is so, then an employer cannot enter into

individual arbitration agreements without first bargaining

with the union.° Such bargaining would deal, for example,

° Indeed, if the matter is a mandatory subject of collective bargaining,

the employer would presumably be prohibited from entering into

individual arbitration agreements at all without the union’s consent. It is a

well-recognized principle under both the Railway Labor Act and the

National Labor Relations Act that an employer may not contract with

individual employees concerning matters that are within the scope of

mandatory collective bargaining except with the consent of the collective

bargaining representative. See Order of R.R. Telegraphers v. Ruilway

Express Agency, 321 U.S. 342 (1944); Steele v. Louisville & Nashville

1]

with such matters as whether the individua! arbitration

agreements will be voluntary or required by the employer as a

condition of hire or retention, and in either case what the

terms of the arbitration procedure will be—i.e., how the

arbitrator will be selected, who will pay the costs of the

arbitration, what discovery wili be permitted, what remedies

may be provided, and the like.

The court of appeals construed this Court’s decisions in

Gardner-Denver and Gilmer as precluding the union not only

from imposing arbitration of statutory claims through a

collective agreement, but also from playing any collective

bargaining role with respect to any aspect of individual

arbitration agreements. We believe this interpretation of

these decisions is not only mistaken but inconsistent with

fundamental policies of both federal labor law and the federal

anti-discrimination statutes. In any event, the issue presented

is of sufficient importance—and sufficiently in doubt—to

warrant review by this Court.

The court of appeals reasoned that if the union is precluded

from agreeing to a mandatory arbitration provision that would

be binding on the employees, then the entire subject of

arbitration of statutory claims cannot be a matter for

collective bargaining. As the court put it, “a proposal to trade

that which is not one’s to give cannot be a mandatory subject

of bargaining.” (App. 14a). We believe this reasoning

confuses the question of what specific terms a union may

agree to in collective bargaining with the question of what

general subjects the parties are required to bargain about.

Even if a union cannot agree to an arbitration provision that

would be binding on employees, there are other issues

relative to the general subject of arbitration of statutory

R.R., 323 U.S. 192, 200 (1944); Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB, 321

U.S. 678; 684 (1944); NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175,

180 (1967).

12

claims that the parties could still negotiate about and agree

upon. One such issue would be whether the employer will

request employees to sign individual arbitration agreements at

all, and if so, whether employees will have the option to

decline or whether the agreements will be a mandatory

condition of hire or retention. Another issue would be what

specific rules and procedures such individual arbitration

agreements must contain.

The court of appeals thought that bargaining about any

such matters would be inconsistent with Gardner-Denver and

Gilmer. It read those cases as giving each individual

employee an affirmative legal right to “determine in what

forum he will vindicate his statutory rights, and this choice

should not be burdened by the majoritarian concerns that

motivate a union.” (App. 16a). If unions were given any

bargaining authority in this area, the court said, they might

“contrive to discourage the exercise of the employee’s right

to choose a forum.” (/d.)

Contrary to the court of appeals, we find nothing in either

Gardner-Denver or Gilmer that suggests the existence of a

protected employee right to choose arbitration, rather than the

courts, as the forum for enforcing their statutory discrim-

ination claims. In Gardner-Denver the Court’s concern was

with protecting ithe employee’s statutory right to judicial

enforcement of his claim; there is no mention of a right to

choose arbitration. And while Gilmer held that an individual

employee’s arbitration agreement was enforceable under the

Federal Arbitration Act, that result was not based on any

notion of protecting the employee’s choice of forum. On the

contrary, the arbitration agreement in that case was enforced

despite the employee’s lack of free choice; he had been

forced to sign the arbitration agreement at issue in that case as

a condition of becoming a registered securities representative.

It is obvious from the fact that the Gilmer case was brought as

13 ;

a lawsuit in federal court that the plaintiff preferred judicial

enforcement of his claim, not arbitration.

Furthermore, while it is theoretically conceivable that an

individual employee might prefer arbitration over judicial

enforcement of his anti-discrimination rights, in reality it will

almost always be the employer who wants to replace the

judicial forum with arbitration. And unless there is a union

that has authority to represent the employees with respect to

this issue, they will have no real choice in the matter. The

employer will simply require an arbitration agreement as a

condition of employment—as it did here and in Gilmer.

Therefore, if the goal is to give employees maximum free

choice, the way to achieve that goal is not to deny the union

bargaining authority, as the court of appeals thought, but

rather to hold that individual arbitration agreements are

within the scope of collective bargaining under the Railway

Labor Act. Given the authority to bargain about the matter,

the union will be able to bring to bear the collective

bargaining power of the employees either to dissuade the

employer from demanding individual arbitration agreements

at all, or to negotiate with the employer a form of arbitration

agreement that is acceptable to the employees, rather than one

imposed unilaterally by the employer.

That result, we believe, would be far more consistent with

the fundamental goals of both the Railway Labor Act and the

federal anti-discrimination statutes than the one reached

below. Not only would unions be allowed to play their

statutorily assigned role of representing employees with

respect to “rates of pay, rules, and working conditions,” but in

doing so they would provide maximum protection for the

employees’ right to a judicial forum for the enforcement of

any claims arising under the anti-discrimination statutes.

Collective bargaining would also tend to ensure that, if

arbitration of statutory claims is agreed to, the arbitration

procedure would be one that is protective of employee rights

14

and interests, which may not be the case if the procedure is

devised solely by the employer.

These issues are worthy of the Court’s consideration.

They are important to the administration of both the federal

labor-relations laws and the federal anti-discrimination

statutes. They will arise frequently, as increasing numbers

of employers require their employees, as a condition of

employment, to sign mandatory arbitration agreements

applicable to statutory anti-discrimination claims. And there

is at least strong reason to believe that they were decided

erroneously below.

CONCLUSION

‘For the reasons stated, this petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JERRY D. ANKER

(Counsel of Record)

ELIZABETH GINSBURG

JAMES K. LOBSENZ

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL

Legal Department

1625 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

(202) 797-4087

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 98-7196

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Appellee/Cross-Appellant

Vv.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Appellant/Cross-Appellee

Consolidated with 98-7202

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(No. 97cv01917)

Argued September 9, 1999

Decided December 28, 1999

John J. Gallagher argued the cause for appellant/cross-

appellee. With him on the briefs were Cathy Wassberg, Neal

D. Mollen, and Intra L. Germanis.

Jerry Anker argued the cause for appellee/cross-appellant.

With him on the briefs were Elizabeth Ginsburg and James

K. Lobsenz.

2a

Before: GINSBURG, SENTELLE, and GARLAND, Circuit

Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge GINSBURG.

GINSBURG, Circuit Judge: For more than 30 years North-

west Airlines has required newly hired pilot trainees to sign

individual employment contracts called “Conditions of

Employment.” In 1995 Northwest added several new

provisions to the Conditions, including a clause under which

each trainee agreed to binding arbitration of any claim he

might have against Northwest for discrimination in

employment.

The Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA), which is the

union that represents Northwest pilots once they have

completed their training, filed suit claiming that the carrier

violated the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq., by

requiring individual trainees to agree to the Conditions

without first having bargained with ALPA over them. The

district court granted partial summary judgment for each

party; the court enjoined Northwest, pending completion of

the bargaining and mediation process, from applying the

Arbitration Clause to pilots who have completed their training

and are represented by ALPA, but refused to enjoin the use of

any other of the Conditions.

Northwest appeals, claiming that under Alexander v.

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974), the arbitration of

individual statutory claims is not a mandatory subject of

collective bargaining and that Northwest is therefore free to

bargain individually with its employees over the Arbitration

Clause. We agree and accordingly reverse the judgment of the

district court on this issue.

ALPA cross-appeals, claiming the district court should

have enjoined the use of other provisions that Northwest

added to the Conditions in 1995. Because, in light of

subsequent events, the cross-appeal does not present a live

3a

controversy, we dismiss ALPA’s claim without prejudice to

its raising the same claim in the future.

I. Background

The relationship between Northwest and ALPA is

governed by the Railway Labor Act (RLA), 45 U.S.C. § 151

et seq. Under RLA § 2 First, 45 U.S.C. § 152 First, the carrier

is required to “exert every reasonable effort to make and

maintain agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, and

working conditions.” This statutory obligation to bargain with

the union in good faith is backed up by RLA § 2 Seventh, 45

U.S.C. § 152 Seventh, which provides that “[n]Jo carrier . . .

shall change the rates of pay, rules, or working conditions of

its employees, as a class as embodied in agreements except in

the manner prescribed in such agreements or in [§ 6 of the

RLA].” In other words, if the carrier is unable to reach

agreement with the union on changing a rate of pay, rule, or

working condition, then it must maintain the status quo until

it has satisfied the multi-step process of negotiation,

mediation, arbitration, and cooling-off required under RLA

§ 6, 45 U.S.C. § 156. See Detroit & Toledo Shore Line R.R.

Co. v. United Transportation Union, 396 U.S. 142, 149

(1969) (describing negotiation process under § 6 as “almost

interminable”). If at the end of that process the parties have

not reached an agreement, then the employer may unilaterally

implement its proposal and the union may resort to economic

self-help to resist the change.

Matters that are “directly related to ‘rates of pay, rules, and

working conditions’,” and may therefore trigger the

obligations of RLA § 2 First and Seventh, are denominated

“mandatory subject[s} of collective bargaining,” a phrase

courts have borrowed from case law arising under the

National Labor Relations Act. Japan Air Lines Co. v.

International Ass'n of Machinists, 538 F.2d 46, 52 (2d Cir.

1976). If a carrier and a union have a dispute over a proposed

4a

change to a mandatory subject of bargaining, then the union

can get an injunction prohibiting the carrier from unilaterally

implementing the change before completing the lengthy

negotiation process set out in § 6. On the other hand, if the

dispute is over a non-mandatory subject, then the carrier may

unilaterally implement the change unless limited by an

existing collective bargaining agreement (CBA).

A. Northwest’s Practice, 1966-97

ALPA has represented the pilots of Northwest Airlines in

collective bargaining for nearly 60 years. When a pilot first

begins his training with Northwest, he is not represented by

ALPA or by any other union. When the pilot completes his

training and enters into “revenue service” as a probationary

employee, however, he immediately becomes a member of

the bargaining unit represented by ALPA.

As early as 1966 Northwest unilaterally began to require

that each trainee pilot agree to the Conditions as part of his

contract of employment. The earliest known Conditions in-

cluded provisions covering such matters as the trainee’s pay,

permission to use his likeness in promotions, and the assign-

ment of rights to anything he might invent. Although trainees

are not represented by ALPA when they agree to the

Conditions, some of the Conditions either expressly or

implicitly continue to apply for as long as the signatory

remains employed as a pilot with Northwest, that is, even

after the pilot becomes a member of the bargaining unit

represented by ALPA.

Over the course of three decades Northwest made

numerous changes to the Conditions without consulting

ALPA. In 1995 the airline added an Arbitration Clause

requiring employees to submit to binding arbitration all

claims against it arising from the employment relationship.

Of particular relevance to this appeal, the Arbitration Clause

Sa

specifically requires binding arbitration of statutory

employment discrimination claims brought under “the

Minnesota Human Rights Acts, Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the

Americans with Disabilities Act, or any other state or federal

law prohibiting employment discrimination” (citations

omitted). Also in 1995, Northwest unilaterally introduced

other new Conditions: (1) setting the pilot’s monthly salary

during the probationary period, when he has completed his

training and is represented by ALPA; (2) requiring the pilot to

submit to a medical examination if Northwest has reason to

believe he is no longer able to perform his essential job

functions; (3) acknowledging that Northwest may change

various working conditions at its option; and (4)

acknowledging that failure to comply with company rules is a

ground for termination.

B. ALPA’s Objection, 1997-Present

In 1997 Northwest notified ALPA that it was terminating a

probationary pilot and attached to the notice a copy of the

Conditions he had signed. ALPA, which claims that this was

the first it had learned of the Conditions, demanded that

Northwest cease requiring trainee pilots to agree to them and

that it inform each pilot who had signed Conditions that they

were null and void. When Northwest refused to do so, ALPA

filed suit in district court seeking injunctive and declaratory

relief on the ground that Northwest had violated the RLA by

unilaterally implementing the Conditions, which ALPA

alleged are individual contracts concerning mandatory

subjects of bargaining, without first negotiating with the

Union as required by the RLA.

While the suit was pending before the district court, North-

west, in an attempt to respond to some of ALPA’s concerns

regarding the 1995 Conditions, deleted three and revised one

of the provisions to which the Union objected. In presenting

6a

the new version (the 1997 Conditions) to ALPA, Robert

Brodin, Northwest’s vice president for labor relations, wrote:

Northwest has never interpreted or applied the

Conditions of Employment to operate in derogation of

the collective bargaining agreement between Northwest

and ALPA. Northwest and ALPA both agree that in the

event of overlap or inconsistency, the collective

bargaining agreement controls.

As to the Arbitration Clause in particular, however, Brodin

wrote that “Northwest continues to believe that it has the right

to insist on arbitration of non-contract claims as a condition

of employment for new hires.” The only significant change

Northwest made to the Arbitration Clause was to clarify that

it does not apply to claims arising out of the CBA between

Northwest and ALPA.

Both ALPA and Northwest moved for summary judgment

on the validity of the Conditions. The district court first

considered whether Northwest’s use of Conditions originating

before 1995 violated the RLA. The court held that ALPA, by

its failure to object to the Conditions for some 30 years, had

arguably consented to them, which if true would make use of

the Conditions an implied term of the CBA between North-

west and ALPA. Because that dispute related solely to the

meaning of the CBA, the court held it could be resolved only

by binding arbitration pursuant to RLA §§ 2 Sixth and 3 First,

45 U.S.C. §§ 152 Sixth and 153 First.

The court concluded that ALPA had objected in a timely

fashion, however, to the Arbitration Clause introduced in

1995, and therefore had not acquiesced in Northwest’s use of

that term. The district court then held that the Arbitration

Clause: deals with a mandatory subject of bargaining. Be-

cause the Arbitration Clause would have worked a change

with respect to a mandatory subject and ALPA had neither

agreed to nor acquiesced in that change, the court enjoined

Ta

Northwest from applying the Arbitration Clause to any pilot

represented by ALPA.

The district court did not address the question whether

other clauses ALPA claimed were newly included in the 1995

Conditions also violated the RLA. ALPA therefore moved to

amend the court’s order so as to enjoin Northwest from

implementing those clauses but the district court denied the

motion because of ALPA’s failure to comply with local court

rules.

II. Analysis

ALPA does not challenge the district court’s determination

that Northwest’s use of Conditions originating before 1995

must be resolved through binding arbitration. Therefore, both

Northwest’s appeal and ALPA’s cross-appeal concern only

the Union’s request for an injunction against Northwest’s use

of particular provisions that ALPA maintains first appeared in

the 1995 Conditions.

A. Northwest’s Appeal: The Arbitration Clause

Is the arbitration of statutory discrimination claims a

mandatory subject of bargaining? Northwest says not and

claims the district court erred in enjoining its use of the

Arbitration Clause, reasoning as follows. Under Alexander v.

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974), a union cannot

waive the right of the employees it represents to bring a

statutory discrimination claim in a judicial forum. Because

ALPA cannot agree to such a provision, it cannot be a

mandatory subject of bargaining. Therefore, Northwest is free

to deal directly with its employees over the arbitration of such

claims.

For its part, ALPA urges that the arbitration of statutory

claims is a mandatory subject, and that we should therefore

affirm the district court’s judgment, for three independent but

related reasons. First, Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane

8a

Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991) “effectively supersedes” Gardner-

Denver. If, as ALPA reads Gilmer, a union may in collective

bargaining waive the employees’ right to a judicial forum for

a statutory discrimination claim, then there is no reason to

doubt that the arbitration of statutory claims is a mandatory

subject of bargaining. Second, even if Gardner-Denver is still

good law, it has no effect upon whether arbitration of

statutory claims is a mandatory subject of bargaining. In other

words, as the district court held, Northwest must bargain with

ALPA over the Arbitration Clause regardless whether ALPA

could lawfully agree to it because it is directly related to

“rates of pay, rules, or working conditions.” Third, even if

waiver of the right to a judicial forum is not a mandatory

subject of bargaining because ALPA cannot agree to such a

waiver under Gardner-Denver, the procedural rules for

arbitration, as specified in the Arbitration Clause, are

mandatory subjects of bargaining.

In Gardner-Denver, the Supreme Court considered

whether an employee who had pursued arbitration of a racial

discrimination claim under a CBA was thereby precluded

from later asserting a Title VII claim based upon the same

facts. 415 U.S. at 46-55. The Supreme Court held that “there

can be no prospective waiver of an-employee’s rights under

Title VII.” Jd. at 51. Because Title VII provides each

individual with the right to be free of invidious

discrimination, “the rights conferred can form no part of the

collective-bargaining process since waiver of these rights

would defeat the paramount congressional purpose behind

Title VII.” /d. Therefore, although the union could and did

prospectively waive the employee’s right to sue upon (rather

than arbitrate) his claim of discrimination in violation of the

CBA, the employee’s resort to arbitration of this claim did

not preclude him from suing upon his statutory claim of

discrimination. See id. at 51-52.

9a

The Supreme Court also rejected the suggestion that a

court should dismiss a Title VII claim if the facts underlying

it had already been the subject of arbitration under a CBA

that prohibited, and provided a remedy for, the discrimina-

tion. According to the Court, arbitral processes were inferior

to judicial processes for protecting statutory rights, and the

Congress intended the federal courts to exercise final respon-

sibility over Title VII claims. See id. at 56-59. The Court was

particularly concerned that a union, which ordinarily controls

the arbitration of an employee’s claim, might, if allowed,

compromise the would-be Title VII plaintiff’s statutory

rights: “In arbitration, as in the collective-bargaining process,

the interests of the individual employee may be subordinated

to the collective interests of all employees in the bargaining

unit.” /d. at 58 n.19.

In the early 1980s the Supreme Court twice applied the

reasoning of Gardner-Denver beyond the context of Title

VII. In Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,

450 U.S. 728 (1981), employees had filed suit under the Fair

Labor Standards Act after having lost in arbitration on a

contractual claim arising from the same facts. The employer

argued that the employees’ union had waived their right to

bring the FLSA claim in court, noting that the CBA required

employees to arbitrate “any controversy” and that the

employees had in fact pursued this matter to arbitration. /d.

at 736. The Court rejected this argument:

[T]he FLSA rights petitioners seek to assert in this

action are independent of the collective bargaining

process. They devolve on petitioners as individual

workers, not as members of a collective organization.

They are not waivable. Because Congress intended to

give individual employees the right to bring their

minimum-wage claims under the FLSA in court, and

because these congressionally granted FLSA rights are

best protected in a judicial rather than in an arbitral

Ls

10a

forum, we hold that petitioners’ claim is not barred by

the prior submission of their grievances to the

contractual dispute-resolution procedures.

Id. at 745. In McDonald v. City of West Branch, 466 U.S. 284

(1984), the Supreme Court rejected the employer’s argument

that an employee’s § 1983 claim should be dismissed because

he had already pursued to arbitration under the CBA a claim

based upon the same facts. The Court premised its holding

upon two factors: the inadequacy of arbitration for the

enforcement of individual statutory rights, and the intention

of the Congress that § 1983 be judicially enforced. See id. at

289-90.

In light of the Court’s broad pronouncement in Gardner-

Denver that “there can be no prospective waiver of an

employee’s rights under Title VII,” and the application of this

principle to other federal statutes in Barrentine and Mc-

Donald, many courts concluded that the reasoning of

Gardner-Denver applied to still other federal employment

statutes, see Brisentine v. Stone & Webster Engineering

Corp., 117 F.3d 519, 526 (11th Cir. 1997) (Americans with

Disabilities Act); Cooper v. Asplundh Tree Expert Co., 836

F.2d 1544, 1553 (10th Cir. 1988) (Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA)), and held that Gardner-Denver

precluded prospective waiver of the right to sue even by the

individual employee, see Alford v. Dean Witter Reynolds,

Inc., 905 F.2d 104, 107 (Sth Cir. 1990) (Title VID, vacated

for reconsideration, 500 U.S. 930 (1991), in light of Gilmer;

Utley v. Goldman Sachs & Co., 883 F.2d 184, 187 (ist Cir.

1989) (Title VID); Nicholson v. CPC Int'l Inc., 877 F.2d 221,

229 (3d Cir. 1989) (ADEA), disapproved in Gilmer, 500 U.S.

20, 24 n.1 (1991); Swenson v. Management Recruiters Int'l

Inc., 858 F.2d 1304, 1306 (8th Cir. 1988) (Title VII).

In 1991, however, the Court staked out a limit to the

principle announced in Gardner-Denver. In Gilmer v. Inter-

state/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991), the Court held

lla

that a claim arising under the ADEA was validly made

subject to binding arbitration by an agreement between the

employer and the individual (non-union) employee—a result

in some tension with the broad pronouncement in Gardner-

Denver that “there can be no prospective waiver of an

employee’s rights under Title VII.” 415 U.S. at 51. The Court

began by noting that under the Federal Arbitration Act (FAA)

an agreement to arbitrate individual statutory rights is

enforceable unless the Congress intended to preclude waiver

of access to a judicial forum for vindication of that right. See

id. at 26. The text and legislative history of the ADEA reflect

no such intent, and the Court rejected the argument that

waiver should be precluded because arbitration is an inferior

mechanism for resolving individual statutory claims—an

argument to which the Court had given some weight in

Gardner-Denver, Barrentine, and McDonald, see id. at 34

n.5. The Court expressly distinguished those cases as follows:

First} [they] did not involve the issue of the

enforceability of an agreement to arbitrate statutory

claims. Rather, they involved the quite different issue

whether arbitration of contract-based claims precluded

subsequent judicial resolution of statutory claims. Since

the employees there had not agreed to arbitrate their

Statutory claims, and the labor arbitrators were not

authorized to resolve such claims, the arbitration in

those cases understandably was held not to preclude

subsequent statutory actions. Second, because the

arbitration in those cases occurred in the context of a

collective-bargaining agreement, the claimants there

were represented by their unions in the arbitration

proceedings. An important concern therefore was the

tension between collective representation and

individual statutory rights, a concern not applicable to

the present case. Finally, those cases were not decided

under the FAA .. . . Therefore, those cases provide no

12a

basis for refusing to enforce Gilmer’s agreement to

arbitrate his ADEA claim.

Id. at 35.

Thus, Gilmer establishes that an individual employee may

himself validly agree in advance to binding arbitration of a

statutory claim he may later have against his employer. See

Cole v. Burns Int'l Security Servs., 105 F.3d 1465, 1478

(D.C. Cir. 1997) (citing Gilmer for the “general rule [that]

statutory claims are fully subject to binding arbitration, at

least outside of the context of collective bargaining”). The

Court in Gilmer did not, however, address the continuing

vitality of the statement in Gardner-Denver that “the rights

conferred [by Title VII] can form no part of the collective

bargaining process.” 415 U.S. at 51; see also Wright v.

Universal Maritime Serv. Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 119 S. Ct. 391,

396 (1998) (raising but not resolving the question “whether or

not Gardner-Denver’s seemingly absolute prohibition of

union waiver of employees’ federal forum rights survives

Gilmer” ).

ALPA suggests that Gilmer “effectively supersedes”

Gardner-Denver and permits a union to waive the employees’

right to a judicial forum for statutory claims. The Fourth

Circuit and some district courts agree, see Austin v. Owens-

Brockway Glass Container, Inc., 78 F.3d 875, 885 (4th Cir.

1996); see, e.g., Almonte v. Coca-Cola Bottling Co., 959

F.Supp. 569, 573-74 (D. Conn. 1997), prematurely we think.

Whatever the Supreme Court said—or, more precisely,

refrained from saying—in Wright, we do not understand the

Court in Gilmer to have overruled Gardner-Denver. Rather,

the Court expressly distinguished that case, which strongly

implies that it remains the law within its field of application.

We therefore leave to the Court itself the prerogative of

overruling its own precedent (if it will); we apply the law as it

13a

stands. See Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American

Express Inc., 490 U.S. 477, 484 (1989).

We sce a clear rule of law emerging from Gardner-Denver

and Gilmer: Unless the Congress has precluded his doing so,

an individual may prospectively waive his own statutory right

to a judicial forum, but his union may not prospectively

waive that right for him. All of the circuits to have considered

the meaning of Gardner-Denver after Gilmer, other than the

Fourth, are in accord with this view. See Albertson’s, Inc. v.

United Food & Com. Workers Union, 157 F.3d 758, 761-62

(9th Cir. 1998); Penny v. United Parcel Service, 128 F.3d

408, 413-14 (6th Cir. 1997); Brisentine v. Stone & Webster

Engineering Corp., 117 F.3d 519, 526 (11th Cir. 1997);

Pryner v. Tractor Supply Co., 109 F.3d 354, 365 (7th Cir.

1997); cf. Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 112 F.3d 1437, 1453

(10th Cir, 1997) (individual represented by union need not

exhaust remedies under CBA before filing statutory claim in

court); Varner v. National Super Market, Inc., 94 F.3d 1209,

1213 (8th Cir. 1996) (same); Tran v. Tran, 54 F.3d 115, 117-

18 (2d Cir. 1995) (same); see also Cole v. Burns Int'l Security

Servs., 105 F.3d 1465, 1478-79 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (“It is plain

that the Supreme Court saw a critical distinction in the

situations raised by Gardner-Denver and Gilmer: Gardner-

Denver involved arbitration in the context of collective bar-

gaining .. . . Gilmer, on the other hand, raised an individual

employee claim outside the collective bargaining context”).

Thus, even after Gilmer, Gardner-Denver stands as a

firewall between individual statutory rights the Congress

intended can be bargained away by the union, see, e.g.,

Metropolitan Edison Co. v. NLRB, 460 U.S. 693, 706-07 &

n.11 (1983) (union may waive officers’ statutory right to be

free of discrimination, such as enhanced discipline, based

upon union activity), and those that remain exclusively within

the individual’s control. Absent congressional intent to the

contrary, a union may not use the employees’ individual

l4a

statutory right to a judicial forum as a bargaining chip to be

exchanged for some benefit to the group; the statutory right

“can form no part of the collective bargaining process.”

Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 51. Applying this rule to the

facts of the present case, ALPA could not lawfully agree to

the Arbitration Clause because it would effect a waiver of the

employees’ right to a judicial forum for the vindication of

_ their statutory claims of discrimination in employment.

ALPA argues, however, that even if Gardner-Denver pre-

cludes it from waiving employees’ right of access to a judicial

forum for a statutory claim, the arbitration of an employment-

related claim—whatever the legal basis for the claim—

remains a mandatory subject of bargaining. The district court

agreed, holding that the Arbitration Clause is a mandatory

subject of bargaining “regardless of whether [ALPA] can

itself enter into arbitration agreements on behalf of its

members” because the Clause “governs rules or conditions of

the pilots’ employment with Northwest.” In effect, the district

court held that an employer has to bargain over a proposal

concerning rates of pay, rules, or working conditions that the

union is not authorized to accept and the employer could not

enforce.

We cannot agree. The “essence of collective bargaining is a

notion of mutuality, that if a subject is brought up each side

has at least the authority both to offer and to concede.”

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Akron & Barberton

Belt R.R. Co., 385 F.2d 581, 603 (D.C. Cir. 1967). It follows

that a proposal to trade that which is not one’s to give cannot

be a mandatory subject of bargaining. See Brotherhood of

R.R. Trainmen, 385 F.2d at 603-04 (proposal to bargain over

effects of job terminations, normally a mandatory subject,

held non-mandatory because union “could not bargain away

any part of the rights that accrued to employees under the

[arbitral] Award”); Southern Pacific Co. v. Switchmen’s Un-

ion, 356 F.2d 332, 334-35 (9th Cir. 1966) (proposal to

15a

redefine certain work as within particular craft held non-

mandatory because railroad could not lawfully agree to it:

“These then are not such disputes as can be resolved by

capitulation of the railroad and thus are not the proper subject

[for bargaining under RLA] section 6”). Because Gardner-

Denver precludes ALPA from agreeing to binding arbitration

of individual statutory claims, we conclude that the

Arbitration Clause is not a mandatory subject of bargaining.”

ALPA argues next that the district court properly enjoined

Northwest’s implementation of the Arbitration Clause even if

the waiver of employees’ right to a judicial forum for

statutory claims is not a mandatory subject, because ALPA

can still lawfully bargain over the procedures to be used in

arbitration. The Union claims these procedures are a

mandatory subject of bargaining because the remedy awarded

to a successful complainant in the arbitration of a

discrimination claim could affect the “rates of pay, rules, or

working conditions” of all employees, for example by

restructuring their seniority rights.

We fail to see how a remedy imposed by an arbitrator in a

proceeding involving only the employer and an individual

employee could have any adverse effect upon the working

conditions of the employees in the bargaining unit. Although

an arbitral award could indeed subject the employer to an

obligation inconsistent with the CBA, that is not the Union’s

problem but the employer’s: the employer simply cannot

make any unilateral change respecting a mandatory subject of

bargaining without first negotiating with the Union as

required under the RLA, and a private arbitration between the

* Although Gardner-Denver suggests that the arbitration of individual

statutory claims is an impermissible subject of bargaining, we need not

decide today whether it is an impermissible oF a permissible subject; the

only issue presented is whether it is a mandatory subject. See Brotherhood

of Railroad Trainmen, 385 F.2d at 604 n.52.

l6a

employer and an individual employee does not alter this rule

of law. :

In any event, as we read Gardner-Denver and Gilmer,

ALPA can have no role in negotiating obligatory procedural

rules for arbitration of individual statutory claims. Read

together, those cases establish that only the individual can

determine in what forum he will vindicate his statutory rights,

and this choice should not be burdened by the majoritarian

concerns that motivate a union. If a union has a mandatory

role in negotiating the terms that will apply to arbitration,

then it could also contrive to discourage the exercise of the

employee’s right to choose a forum.

We conclude that the Arbitration Clause is not a mandatory

subject of bargaining under the RLA. Therefore, Northwest is

not required by RLA § 2, 45 U.S.C. 152, to negotiate with

ALPA over it. Instead, Northwest may, as it did, propose the

Arbitration Clause directly to each individual employee.

While it has long been clear that “members [of a bargaining

unit] cannot bargain individually on behalf of themselves as

to matters which are properly the subject of collective

bargaining,” Steele v. Louisville & Nashville R.R. Co., 323

U.S. 192 (1944), it is just as well-established that an

employee represented by a union may bargain directly with

his employer over a non-mandatory subject of collective

bargaining as long as the proposed individual contract “is not

inconsistent with a collective agreement” or somehow

implicated in an unfair labor practice, J.J. Case Co. v. NLRB,

321 U.S. 332, 339 (1944),

Here, the Arbitration Clause applies only to the statutory

rights of individuals and is not inconsistent with the CBA; nor

is Northwest using its direct dealings with the employees

either to change anyone’s obligations under the CBA or to

avoid dealing with the union on a mandatory subject of

bargaining. Under these circumstances, the RLA is no bar to

Northwest’s contracting individually with its employees.

17a

B. ALPA’s CrossAppeal: Other Clauses New in 1995

ALPA claims the district court erred in failing to enjoin

Northwest from unilaterally implementing provisions other

than the Arbitration Clause that the carrier added to the 1995

Conditions and that concern mandatory subjects of bargain-

ing. Northwest counters that ALPA’s cross-appeal does not

present a ripe controversy in light of the airline’s adoption of

the scaled-down 1997 Conditions and its subsequent

representations concerning their application. For the reasons

stated below, we agree with Northwest and dismiss ALPA’s

cross-appeal for want of a ripe controversy.

In 1997 Northwest dropped three of the clauses in the 1995 |

Conditions about which ALPA now complains. ALPA asserts

that its challenge to these three clauses remains ripe because

“Northwest has done nothing . . . to alter or revoke the 1995

[Conditions] that have been signed by 1050 Northwest pilots,

and that still remain in effect.” At oral argument before this

court, however, Northwest deliberately and unequivocally

represented that the 1997 Conditions supersede any previous

Conditions, and that the three clauses deleted in 1997 will not

be enforced against persons who signed the 1995 (or prior)

Conditions.

Although we are aware that “voluntary cessation of

allegedly illegal conduct does not . . . make the case moot,” a

claim for injunctive relief still requires “some cognizable

danger of recurrent violation, something more than the mere

possibility which serves to keep the case alive.” United States

v. W. T. Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629, 632-33 (1953); see also

Community for Creative Non-Violence v. Hess, 745 F.2d 697,

700-01 (D.C. Cir. 1984). ALPA’s only response to this

requirement is to say that at some time in the future

Northwest might not honor its representation to the court.

That is insufficient to render ALPA’s requests for injunctive

relief ripe at this time. If in the future Northwest were to

enforce one of the clauses against a signatory employee, or

18a

were to indicate its “firm intention” to do so, Andrade v.

Lauer, 729 F.2d 1475, 1481 (D.C. Cir. 1984), then the Union

would have a ripe claim for injunctive relief; at present,

however, “the parties have no live dispute . . . and whether

one will arise in the future is conjectural,” Anderson v. Green,

513 U.S. 557, 559 (1995).

ALPA’s only other concern is with the amended version of

the Rules of Conduct clause in the 1997 Conditions. ALPA

objected to the Rules of Conduct clause in the 1995

Conditions because it stated that failure to comply with the

company’s rules and regulations “shall be grounds for [ ]

termination,” but termination is governed by the CBA. In

1997, therefore, Northwest amended the Rules of Conduct

provision to provide that Northwest’s authority to discipline

an employee represented by the Union is “subject to the

grievance and arbitration provisions of the applicable

[CBA].” This revision, coupled with Northwest’s firm

representation that it will enforce the Rules of Conduct

provision only to the extent allowed by the 1997 Conditions,

would seem to render ALPA’s claim for injunctive relief

unripe.

At oral argument, however, ALPA suggested that the

revised Rules of Conduct clause still presents a ripe contro-

versy insofar as it provides that “the Company, in its sole

discretion, may amend [its] rules, regulations, or policies

from time to time.” If Northwest ever “in its sole discretion”

changed a rule, regulation, or policy concerning a mandatory

subject of bargaining, then it would violate its obligation

under the RLA to negotiate such changes with the Union. In

response to concern over this part of the Rules of Conduct

clause, Northwest represented to the court that, “as to

mandatory subjects of bargaining, [Northwest] cannot and

will not make unilateral changes. Because the union has a

legitimate interest.” By this representation Northwest

acknowledges that the phrase “in its sci discretion” is

19a

implicitly qualified by the laws of the United States, just as if

the Condition said “provided, however, that Northwest may

not make a change concerning a mandatory subject of

bargaining without first negotiating with ALPA as required

by the RLA.”

In light of Northwest’s representation, we fail to discern

any present controversy over the Rules of Conduct clause.

The parties agree that the clause does not affect Northwest's

obligations under the RLA to negotiate with ALPA. North-

west has not invoked the clause to make any unilateral change

concerning a mandatory subject of bargaining, and it

unequivocally states that it will not do so in the future.

ALPA’s claim reduces to the fear that sometime in the future

Northwest may renege upon this representation to the court.

That possibility is speculative at best, and in our view utterly

implausible. But should it ever come to pass, then the doors

of the courthouse will be open wide to ALPA.

Ill. Conclusion

Northwest did not violate the RLA by implementing the

Arbitration Clause without first negotiating with ALPA. In

No. 98-7196, therefore, we vacate the injunction the district

court entered against Northwest. In No. 98-7202, ALPA’s

cross-appeal, we do not find a ripe case or controversy at this

time; accordingly, we dismiss that case without prejudice to

ALPA’s raising the same claim in the future.

It is so ordered

el

20a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

; [File Sept. 23, 1998]

Civil Action

No. 97-1917 (GK)

AIRLINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Plaintiff,

v.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

The Air Line Pilots Association, International (““ALPA”’ or

“the union”) brings suit against Northwest Airlines, Inc.

(“Northwest”) under the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”), 45

U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq., to prevent Northwest from entering

into or maintaining individual contracts of employment with

newly-hired pilots. ALPA claims that such contracts violate

the RLA.

This matter is now before the Court on the parties’ cross-

Motions for Summary Judgment [#7, #8]. Upon consideration

of the Motions, Oppositions, Replies, and the entire record

herein, for the reasons discussed below, Defendant’s Motion

for Summary Judgment [#7] is granted in part and denied in

part, and Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment [#8] is

granted in part and denied in part.

2la

I. Background'

Plaintiff ALPA is the collective bargaining representative

for pilots employed by Northwest. Since 1940, ALPA has

negotiated numerous collective bargaining agreements

establishing rates of pay, rules, and working conditions for

Northwest pilots.

Beginning in or around 1966, Northwest has required each

of its prospective pilot employees to sign a document entitled

“Conditions of Employment” (“COE”) as a pre-condition to

employment. ALPA claims to have had no knowledge of the

existence of the pre-condition, but this claim is hotly dis-

puted. Northwest has, over the years, modified the COE on

numerous occasions; the precise terms of the COEs have thus

changed over time. Northwest made each of these changes

without the involvement of, or explicit notice to, ALPA.

Northwest notes that, since approximately 1966, nearly

every newly-hired pilot at Northwest has signed a version of

the COE form. It thus characterizes as “dubious” ALPA’s

assertion that it was unaware of the existence of the COEs.

(Def.’s Disputed Facts J 2.) Northwest suggests that, at most,

only ALPA’s staff members might have been unaware of the

COEs, while Northwest pilots, given that they each signed the

documents, were “unquestionably” aware of the documents.

(/d.)

The COEs have always addressed: (1) wages to be paid

during the applicant’s training period with Northwest, before

the applicant becomes a member of the class represented by

' Pursuant to Local Rule 108(h), “{iJn determining a motion for

summary judgment, the Court may assume that facts identified by the

moving party in its statement of material facts are admitted, unless such a

fact is controverted in the statement of genuine issues filed in opposition

to the motion.” Accordingly, unless otherwise noted, the Court takes its

facts from the uncontroverted statements contained in the parties’

Statements of Undisputed Facts.

22a

ALPA; (2) Northwest’s use of the new hire’s likeness in

advertisements; and (3) Northwest’s proprietary interest in

inventions developed as a result of employment with

Northwest.

In 1995, the COE form was modified to include a provision

in which pilots agree to submit certain statutory and common

law claims (e.g., claims of discrimination in employment

arising under Title VII of the Civil Right Act, 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2000e et seq.) to binding arbitration (“the arbitration

provision”). Since 1995, Northwest has hired approximately

1,050 pilots, each of whom has signed the version of the COE

containing the arbitration provision.

In April 1997, Northwest informed ALPA Contract

Administrator Rob Plunkett that it intended to discharge a

pilot who had not yet completed his probationary period.

(Plunkett Decl. at Ex. 2, Letter from Tice to Plunkett of

4/14/97; Plunkett Decl. ¥ 2.) Northwest’s letter to Plunkett

referenced “the conditions of employment [the pilot] signed

when he was hired”. (/d.) ALPA claims, but Northwest

disputes, that it was only by virtue of the April 14 letter that

ALPA become aware of Northwest’s practice of requiring all

pilots to sign the COE agreements at the time of hire. (P1.’s

Undisputed Facts | 4; Def.’s Disputed Facts § 2.)

In May 1997, ALPA notified Northwest that it believed the

company’s practice of requiring pilots to sign the COEs as a

condition of hire violated the RLA, and demanded that

Northwest cease the practice. When informal efforts to

resolve the issue failed, ALPA filed the instant case.

ALPA’s essential claim in this case is that RLA § 2 First,

42 U.S.C. § 152, prohibits an employer whose employees are

represented for purposes of collective bargaining from

negotiating individual contracts with those employees

covering their “rates of pay, rules, and working conditions”,

unless the union has consented to the individual negotiations.

23a

ALPA alleges that the COEs do in fact cover “rates of pay,

rules, and working conditions”, and states that it never

consented to Northwest’s engaging in the individual

negotiations. It claims that the COEs create both actual and

potential conflicts with the parties’ collective bargaining

agreement.

ALPA now seeks an injunction restraining Northwest from

entering into additional COEs, a declaratory judgment

declaring all COEs signed by Northwest pilots in the past null

and void, and attorneys’ fees and costs. (Compl. at 4.)

II. Standard of Review

Summary judgment will be granted when the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories and admissions on file,

together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ.

P. 56(c). A fact is “material” if it might affect the outcome of

the action under the governing law. Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, Inc. 477 U.S. 242 (1986). The party seeking summary

judgment bears the initial burden of demonstrating an absence

of a genuine issue of material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986).

In determining whether the movant has met this burden, a

court must consider all factual inferences in the light most

favorable to the non-moving party. McKinney v. Dole, 765

F.2d 1129, 1135 (D.C. Cir. 1985) . Once the moving party

makes its initial showing, however, the nonmoving party

must demonstrate “specific facts showing that there is a

genuine issue for trial.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324; McKinney,

765 F.2d at 1135. Moreover, “[iJn determining a motion for

summary judgment, the court may assume that facts

identified by the moving party in its statement of material

facts are admitted, unless such a fact is controverted in the

24a

statement of genuine issues filed in opposition to the motion.”

Local Rule 108(h).

If. Analysis

A. Statutory Background

The parties agree that this labor dispute is governed by the

RLA. The RLA permits a class of employees to choose, by

majority, a labor union through which the employees have the

right to organize and bargain collectively. 45 U.S.C. § 152

Fourth. The RLA was extended in 1936 to cover the airline

industry. See Hawaiian Airlines. Inc. v. Norris, et al., 512

U.S. 246, 248 (1994).

The RLA requires employers to negotiate with their

employees or their employees’ representatives over changes

affecting the rates of pay, working rules, or working

conditions of their employees. 45 U.S.C. § 152 Sixth and

Seventh; see also Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen, et al., v.

Akron & Barberton Belt R.R. Co., et al., 385 F.2d 581, 601

(D.C. Cir. 1967). The statute provides for the settlement of

disputes concerning employees’ rates of pay, rules of

employment, or working conditions, RLA § la(4) , as well as

disputes arising out of grievances or the interpretation of

collective bargaining agreements covering rates of pay, rules,

or working conditions, /d. § la(5). 45 U.S.C. § 151a(4) and

(5).

A labor dispute governed by the RLA will generally take

one of two procedural paths to resolution, depending on how

it is categorized. The RLA distinguishes two classes of

controversy that arise between employers, or “carriers”, and

unions: “major disputes”, in which a party seeks to create

contractual rights, and “minor disputes”, in which a party

seeks to enforce existing contractual rights. Consol. Rail

Corp. v. Railway Labor Executives’ Ass'n, (“Conrail”) 491

U.S. 299, 302 (1989).

25a

The statutory bases for the “major dispute” category can be

found in RLA §§ 2 Seventh and 6, 45 U.S.C. §§ 152 and 156.

Section 2 Seventh states that “[nJo carrier . . . shall change the

rates of pay, rules, or working conditions of its employees, as

a class as embodied in agreements except in the manner

prescribed in such agreements” or through the mediation

procedures established in RLA § 6, 45 U.S.C. § 156. 45

U.S.C. § 152 Seventh. Any attempted change by an employer

of rates, rules, or working conditions can only be made in

accordance with existing collective bargaining agreements

between the employer and the union, or through established

conference’ or mediation procedures. Disputes arising under

these RLA provisions thus fall into the “major” dispute

category.

Thus, the RLA contemplates that the parties, when engaged

in a major dispute, will undergo a lengthy process of

bargaining and mediation. Until they have exhausted that

process, the parties are required to maintain the status quo,

and the employer may not implement the contested change in

- rates of pay, rules, or working conditions. 45 U.S.C. §§ 155

and 156.

District courts have subject-matter jurisdiction to enjoin

violations of the status quo pending completion of the

bargaining and mediation process. Conrail, 491 U.S. at 302-3

(citing Detroit & T.S.L.R. Co. v. Transp. Union, 396 U.S. 142

(1969) (additional citations omitted)). If the bargaining and

mediation process ends and no agreement has been reached,

the parties may then resort to the use of economic force, /.e.,

strikes, lock-outs, etc.’ Conrail, 491 U.S. at 303.

? The term “conference” in the RLA refers to negotiations or

discussions that take place between the representatives of employers and

those of employees. See, e.g., 45 U.S.C. § 152 Second.

> Section 5 First of the RLA does provide for arbitration of major

disputes if mediation efforts are unsuccessful. The National Mediation

—_

26a

“Minor disputes” are resolved through a different process

under the RLA. Their statutory bases are found in RLA §§ 2

Sixth and 3 First (i), 45 U.S.C. §§ 152 Sixth and 153 First.

Section 2 requires employers and unions to attempt to

resolve, through conferences, disputes “arising out of

grievances or out of the interpretation or application of

agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, or working

conditions”. 45 U.S.C. § 152. Should that process be

unsuccessful, § 3 First has been interpreted by the courts to

subject minor disputes to compulsory and binding arbitration.

45 U.S.C. § 153; Conrail, 491 U.S. at 303-04.

Minor disputes are thus resolved through arbitration, over

which a System Board of Adjustment established by

agreement of the parties (“Adjustment Board”), has exclusive

jurisdiction.* RLA § 3 First, 45 U.S.C. § 153. Although

courts may enjoin strikes arising out of minor disputes,

Trainmen v. Chicago R. & I.R. Co., 353 U.S. 30 (1957),

“[jJudicial review of the arbitral deci: .on is limited.” Conrail,

491 U.S. at 304 (citing Union Pacific R.R. Co. v. Sheehan,

439 U.S. 89, 93 (1978)); see also, 45 U.S.C. § 153.

B. Whether Northwest’s Use of the COE Agreements

Constitutes a Mandatory Subject of Bargaining

ALPA claims that most, if not all, of the subjects covered

in the COE agreements affect Northwest pilots’ “rates of pay,

Board is required to attempt “to induce. the parties to submit their

controversy to arbitration.” 45 U.S.C. § 155. Participation in arbitration is

voluntary, however, pursuant to §7 First of the RLA. /d. at § 157.

* The Collective Bargaining Agreement Between ALPA and Northwest

establishes a System Board of Adjustment known as the “Northwest

Airlines Pilots’ System Board of Adjustment” for the purpose of deciding

disputes that-arise under the terms of the Agreement. (Plunkett Decl. Ex.

1, Collective Bargaining Agreement Between ALPA and Northwest, at

§ 21.)

27a

rules, and working conditions”. As stated above, employers

must negotiate with their employees’ representatives over

changes affecting employees’ rates of pay, working rules, or

working conditions. 45 U.S.C. § 152 Sixth and Seventh;

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen, 385 F.2d at 601.

Northwest responds that many of the provisions of the

COE agreements are outside the scope of bargainability,

including the arbitration provision. The airline thus reasons

that it is under no obligation to negotiate with the union over

those issues.

Northwest has submitted different versions of the COEs as

Exhibits to the Declaration of Robert Brodin. (Brodin Decl.,

Exs. A-O.) The COEs are similar to each other, with the

exception of the version modified in 1995 which adds the

arbitration provision. (Brodin Decl., Ex. 0.). Some of the

topics covered by the COEs include:

1. Pay during the pilots’ probationary period;

2. Northwest’s right to require mandatory medical

examinations of pilots to determine physical or mental

fitness;

3. Northwest’s right, during the entire duration of

employment, to interpret and change, at its “sole

option”, policies regarding “working hours, vacations,

sick leave, pay increases, promotions, garnishments

and other working conditions”;

4. Northwest’s right to terminate pilots without cause and

without notice during the probationary period of their

employment;

5. Northwest’s right to use, for any purpose, including

advertising, any photograph of the pilots during their

employment;

6. The pilots’ obligations to disclose and assign to

Northwest any invention “capable of being used by the

28a

Company to its advantage” conceived by the pilots

during the period of their employment;

7. The pilots’ duty, during and after their terms of

employment, to keep confidential certain information

relating to the airline;

8. Rights of pilots over the age of 60 to continue flying as

Second Officer so long as they follow certain

procedures established by the airline; and, in the 1995

version of the COE,

9. Pilots’ agreement to submit to binding arbitration any

claims against or disputes with the company,

“including pay, benefits, work rules, [and] discipline or

termination . . . any claims which [a pilot] may have

against the company arising from the employment

relationship”, including claims arising under Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act 42 U.S.C. 2000e et seq., the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 621 et seq., the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42

U.S.C. § 1201 et seq., or any other state or federal law

prohibiting discrimination. This provision also imposes

upon the pilots the obligation to share equally with the

airline the expenses of a neutral arbitrator and any

court reporter.

This examination of the topics included in the COEs shows

clearly that they are comprehensive agreements which impose

many rules and policies on pilots that significantly impact

their working conditions. For example, the COEs explicitly

govern the pilots’ rate of pay during their probationary

period; give Northwest the “sole option” of changing, without

notice, “working hours, vacations, sick leave, pay increases,

promotions, garnishments and other working conditions”; and

establish various rules and policies affecting the pilots both

during and after their employment.

ne sn ene

EE Le ate ce oR SRI CPR AC MN Mig oe aa are a Nee ae ME yttite?

29a

Given the fact that “[t]he scope of bargainability is

extremely broad”, Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen, 385 F.2d

601, and that the COE agreements contain provisions that

clearly govern the “rates of pay, rules, and working

conditions” of represented pilots, the Court concludes that

Northwest’s use of the COEs constitutes a mandatory subject

of bargaining. 45 U.S.C. §§ 152 Sixth and Seventh;

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen, 385 F.2d at 601.

C. Whether the Arbitration Provision Constitutes a Man-

datory Subject of Bargaining

In addition to disagreeing over whether the use of the

COEs, as a general practice, constitutes a mandatory subject

of bargaining, the parties dispute vigorously whether the

arbitration provision, in particular, is a subject of mandatory

collective bargaining.

ALPA argues that this provision, which provides for the

mandatory arbitration of statutory claims, is a “working

condition” subject to mandatory collective bargaining. As

such, Northwest was required to bargain with ALPA prior to

implementing the provision.

Northwest responds that it has no obligation to bargain

with ALPA over the arbitration provision. It claims that there

is a fundamental distinction between “collective rights”,

which are within the union’s purview, and “individual rights”

(such as those protected by ‘anti-discrimination statutes like

Title VII), which fall outside its authority. Therefore,

according to Northwest, the decision whether to arbitrate

statutory and wrongful discharge claims can form no part of

the collective bargaining process because it relates to

“individual rights”.

Courts have indeed held that labor unions may not agree to

a mandatory arbitration clause in the absence of explicit

consent by each affected employee, since unions do not have

30a

the authority to waive an individual employee’s right to seek

a judicial remedy to enforce a statutory right. See, e.g.,

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 51 (1974);

Brisentine v. Stone & Webster Eng’g Corp., 117 F.3d 519,

526 (11th Cir. 1997). Northwest rightly reads these cases to

prohibit ALPA from making a commitment on behalf of its

members, absent each individual employee’s consent,

regarding mandatory arbitration of individual discrimination

and discharge claims.

Northwest mistakenly concludes, however, that because

ALPA may not waive employees’ rights by agreeing to

mandatory arbitration provisions, it follows that the union has

no authority to bargain with Northwest over the use or terms

of any agreement to arbitrate.

ALPA correctly points out that, regardless of whether it

can itself enter into arbitration agreements on behalf of its

members, Northwest is nevertheless required, under § 2

Seventh of RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 152, to obtain the union’s

consent before it can execute individual contracts affecting

the “rates of pay, rules, or working conditions” of represented

employees.

The arbitration provision sets forth the manner in which

pilots must resolve certain grievances arising from and thus

related to their employment with Northwest. Northwest and

ALPA have negotiated, and have included in the provisions

of their collective bargaining agreement, the manner in which

other “grievance[s] concerning any action of the Company”

are to be resolved. (Plunkett Decl. Ex. 1, Collective

Bargaining Agreement between ALPA and Northwest, at

§§ 20-21.) Sections 20-21 of the collective bargaining

agreement provide for appeal of an airline decision regarding

those grievances to the Adjustment Board for binding

arbitration. (/d.)

3la

The arbitration provision contained in the COEs differs

from that contained in the collective bargaining agreement

only in that it provides for the resolution of a specific type of

grievance or claim (e.g., statutory sex or race discrimination

claims) arising from an action or actions of the Company.

Like the grievance and arbitration provisions contained in the

collective bargaining agreement, which were negotiated by

the parties, the COEs’ arbitration provision governs rules or

conditions of the pilots’ employment with Northwest and is

thus a mandatory subject of bargaining. See also Brotherhood

of R.R. Trainmen, 385 F.2d 601 (discussing the broad scope

of bargainability).

Since the arbitration provision impacts the rates, rules, or

working conditions of Northwest pilots, it does not

automatically fall outside the scope of mandatory bargaining

under the RLA.

D. Whether the Parties’ Dispute Over Northwest’s Use of

the pre-1995 COEs° Is a “Major” or “Minor” One

Under the RLA

If the Court determines that the matter before it constitutes

a “major” dispute, then it has subject-matter jurisdiction to

enjoin a violation of the status quo pending the parties’

completion of the bargaining and mediation process. RLA

§§ 2 Seventh and 6, 45 U.S.C. §§ 152 and 156; see also

Conrail, 491 U.S. at 302-03. If the Court determines that the

parties are involved in a “minor” dispute, the matter shall be

resolved through conference® or compulsory arbitration, and

the Adjustment Board has exclusive jurisdiction over the

* The Court will discuss separately the COEs used by Northwest prior

to 1995 that do not contain the arbitration provision, and those employed

from 1995 to the present, which do contain that provision.

° See supra footnote 2.

32a

dispute. RLA §§ 2 Sixth and 3, 45 U.S.C. §§152 and 153; see

also Conrail 491 U.S. at 304.

The term “major dispute” refers to:

disputes over the formation of collective agreements or

efforts to secure them. They arise where there is no such

agreement or where it is sought to change the terms of

one, and therefore the issue is not whether an existing

agreement controls the controversy. They look to the

acquisition of rights for the future, not to assertion of

rights claimed to have vested in the past.

Conrail, 491 U.S. at 302 (quoting Elgin, J. & E.R. Co. v.

Burley, 325 U.S. 711, 723 (1945) (emphasis added)).

The term “minor dispute”’:

contemplates the existence of a collective agreement

already concluded, or at any rate, a situation in which no

effort is made to bring about a formal change in terms or

to create a new one . . . [T]he claim is to rights accrued,

not merely to have new ones created for the future.

Conrail, 491 U.S. at 303 (quoting Burley, 325 U.S. at 723).

_Northwest claims the right, based on the “unbroken

understanding of three decades”, to “promulgate, amend, and

rely upon its Conditions of Employment.” (Def.’s Mem.

Summ. J. at 18.) Northwest argues that ALPA, by virtue of

its three decades of silence, has acquiesced to its practice of

requiring newly hired pilots to sign COEs. Northwest also

claims that because its practice is so longstanding and, until

now, uncontested by the union, that it has risen to the level of

an implied contractual term. That implied contractual term,

according to Northwest, grants it discretionary authority to

require pilots to sign COE agreements as a precondition to

employment and permits it to make unilateral changes in the

terms of the COEs.

33a

Northwest claims that it seeks no new rights for the future,

but instead is asserting rights that have vested in the past. See

Burley, 325 U.S. at 723. According to its formulation of the

issue, the matter before the Court falls squarely within the

“minor dispute” category.

ALPA responds that neither it nor its individual members

| knew about nor acquiesced to the use of the COEs. Absent

the union’s actual knowledge of the past practice, ALPA

argues that the past practice in this case can give rise to no

implied existing contractual agreement. Past practices rise to

the level of an implied agreement only when, ALPA argues,

they have “ripened into an established and recognized custom

between the parties.” Brotherhood of Ry. Carmen v.

Missouri Pacific R.R. Co., 944 F.2d 1422, 1429 (8th Cir.

1991) (citations omitted) (emphasis added).

ALPA states that a practice must be “understood by the

parties to at least impliedly serve as if [it is] part of the

collective bargaining agreement.” Air Line Pilots Ass'n v.

Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 863 F.2d 891, 897 (D.C. Cir. 1988)

(citations omitted). ALPA argues that, in this case, there was

no understanding between the parties. Since ALPA believes

that Northwest has demonstrated neither notice to nor

acceptance by the union of the COEs, it concludes that there

can be no “past practice” in this case.

Carrying ALPA’s argument to its logical conclusion, if

there is no past practice upon which Northwest may lawfully

rely, any rights claimed by the airline have not in fact vested ~

in the past, but instead are claims to have new rights created.

See Burley, 325 U.S. at.723. Under this formulation, the

matter would fall within the category of “major dispute”.

The Supreme Court in Conrail articulated the standard to

be used by courts to differentiate between “major” and

“minor” disputes. 491 U.S. at 310. The Conrail Court held

that:

| ,

34a

{I]f an employer asserts a claim that the parties’

agreement gives the employer the discretion to make a

particular change in working conditions without prior

negotiation, and if that claim is arguably justified by the

terms of the parties’ agreement (i.e., the claim is neither

obviously insubstantial or frivolous, nor made in bad

faith), the employer may make the change and the courts

must defer to the arbitral jurisdiction of the Board.

Conrail, 491 U.S. at 310.

In Conrail, the railroad had, for ten years, routinely

required its employees to undergo physical examinations. The

parties agreed that Conrail’s authority to conduct physical

examinations had ripened into an implied term of the parties’

collective-bargaining agreement, which had been established

by longstanding past practice and acquiesced to by the union.

Id. at 312. The union contested, however, Conrail’s unilateral

expansion of that longstanding practice to include drug

testing as extending beyond the scope of the implied terms of

the collective bargaining agreement.

The Supreme Court held that the case constituted a minor

dispute between Conrail and the union that fell within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Adjustment Board. The Court

reasoned that, while the union’s arguments’ could

“conceivably carry the day . . . they do not convince us that

Conrail’s contractual arguments are frivolous or insub-

stantial.” Jd. at 317.

The Court must, in the matter before it, reach the same

conclusion as that reached by the Conrail court. ALPA may

ultimately demonstrate, after a full evidentiary hearing, that

its 30-year silence did not constitute union consent to the

COEs and that no implied contractual term could exist. It has

not convinced the Court, however, that Northwest’s

contractual arguments are “frivolous or insubstantial”.

35a

Northwest’s interpretation of the range of its discretion to

include authority to “promulgate, amend, and rely upon its

Conditions of Employment”, is “arguably justified” by its 30-

year practice of having done so.

The Court holds that the use of the pre-1995 COEs

constitutes a “minor dispute” which falls within the exclusive

jurisdiction of the Adjustment Board. The Court emphasizes,

however, that it holds only that Northwest has “met the light

burden of persuading this Court that its [] practice is arguably

justified by the implied terms of its collective-bargaining

agreement.” Conrail, 491 U.S. at 320. The Court does “not

seek to minimize any force in the Union’s arguments”, nor

does the Court suggest that Northwest “is or is not entitled to

prevail before the Board on the merits of the dispute.” /d.

E. Whether the Parties’ Dispute Over the post-1995

COEs’ Is a “Major” or “Minor” One Under the RLA

In 1995, Northwest amended the COE to include the

provision for arbitration of statutory and common law claims.

Since then, Northwest has included the arbitration provision

in approximately 1,050 COEs with newly-hired pilots, and

there is no indication that the airline intends to remove the

provision from future COE agreements. In 1997, ALPA

contested the airline’s authority to require both the arbitration

provisions and the COE agreements in general.

Northwest cannot, and indeed does not, argue that ALPA

has acquiesced to the airline’s use of the arbitration provision.

Unlike its use of the pre-1995 COEs, the airline does not

claim that the 1995 arbitration requirement is an implied

contractual term of the collective bargaining agreement

between Northwest and the union.

7 The Court will refer to the COEs containing the arbitration provision

as the “post-1995 COEs”.

36a

As discussed above, a “major dispute” under the RLA

arises “where there is no such [collective bargaining]

agreement or where it is sought to change the terms of one”.

Conrail, 491 U.S. at 302 (quoting Burley, 325 U.S. at 723

(emphasis added)). The terms of the collective bargaining

agreement between the parties provide for the resolution of

“grievance[s] concerning any action of the Company”.

(Plunkett Decl. Ex. 1, Collective Bargaining Agreement

between ALPA and Northwest, at § 20.) Sections 20-21 of the

collective bargaining agreement require appeals of airline

decisions regarding those grievances to be submitted to the

Adjustment Board for binding arbitration. (/d. at §§ 20-21.)

The collective bargaining agreement does not, however,

explicitly provide for the mandatory arbitration of individual

statutory or common law claims. Northwest’s inclusion of the

arbitration provision thus seeks to change the terms of the

existing collective bargaining agreement and, by doing so, to

create new rights.

Therefore, the Court finds that the parties’ dispute over

Northwest’s use of the COEs containing the arbitration

provision constitutes a major dispute for purposes of the RLA

and is thus governed by RLA §§ 2 Seventh and 6, 45 U.S.C.

§§ 152 and 156.

In the case of major disputes, the employer may not

implement the contested change until the parties have

completed the statutorily mandated bargaining and mediation

process. RLA §§ 2 Seventh and 6, 45 U.S.C. §§ 152 and 156;

Conrail, 491 U.S. at 302-03. For that reason, the Court will

enjoin Northwest from implementing existing COEs that

contain the arbitration provisions, or requiring new pilots to

sign COEs containing that provision, pending completion of

the bargaining and mediation process. Conrail, 491 U.S. at

302-03 (citing Detroit & T.S.L.R., 396 U.S. at 142).

37a

IV. Conclusion

For the reasons discussed above, it is hereby

ORDERED, that Defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment [#7] is granted in part and denied in part, and

Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment [#8] is granted in

part and denied in part, as follows:

The Court concludes that the labor dispute concerning

Northwest’s longstanding practice of requiring COEs as a

precondition of employment constitutes a “minor dispute” as

that term is used pursuant to the RLA. As such, the Northwest

Airlines Pilots’ System Board of Adjustment (the Adjustment

Board agreed to by the parties pursuant to RLA § 3 Second,

45 U.S.C. § 153) has exclusive jurisdiction over that dispute.

This holding affects only the pre-1995 COEs, i.e., those

executed prior to Northwest’s adoption of the arbitration

provision.

The Court further concludes that the labor dispute

concerning Northwest’s use of the post-1995 COEs (those

containing the arbitration provision) constitutes a “major

dispute”. Consequently, Northwest Airlines is enjoined from

implementing COEs containing the arbitration provision and

from requiring from newly-hired pilots COEs containing the

provision pending completion of the bargaining and

mediation process required by RLA §§ 5 and 6, 45 U.S.C.

§§ 155 and 156. All issues having been decided, this case is

now closed. An Order will issue with this Opinion.

Date: Sept. 23, 1998

/s/ Gladys Kessler

GLADYS KESSLER

United States District Judge

38a

Copies to:

JERRY ANKER

Airline Pilots Ass’n

1625 Massachusetts Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20036

NEAL MOLLEN

Suite 1000

PAUL, HASTINGS, JANOFSKY & WALKER, L.L.P.

1299 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20004

39a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

[Filed Sept. 23, 1998]

Civil Action

No. 97-1917 (GK)

AIRLINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Plaintiff,

v.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.

Defendant.

ORDER

The Air Line Pilots Association, International (“ALPA” or

“the union”) brings suit against Northwest Airlines, Inc.

(“Northwest”) under the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”), 45

U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq., to prevent Northwest from entering

into or maintaining individual contracts of employment with

newly-hired pilots. ALPA claims that such contracts violate

the RLA.

This matter is now before the Court on the parties’ cross-

Motions for Summary Judgment [#7, #8]. Upon consideration

of the Motions, Oppositions, Replies, and the entire record

herein, for the reasons discussed below, Defendant’s Motion

for Summary Judgment [#7] is granted in part and denied in

part, and Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment [#8] is

granted in part and denied in part, as follows:

40a

The Court finds that the labor dispute concerning North-

west’s longstanding practice of requiring COEs as a pre-

condition of employment constitutes a “minor dispute” as that

term is used pursuant to the RLA. As such, the Northwest

Airlines Pilots’ System Board of Adjustment (the Adjustment

Board agreed to by the parties pursuant to RLA § 3 Second,

45 U.S.C. § 153) has exclusive jurisdiction over that dispute.

This holding affects only the pre-1995 COEs, i.e., those

executed prior to Northwest’s adoption of the arbitration

provision.

The Court further concludes that the labor dispute

concerning Northwest’s use of the post-1995 COEs (those

containing the arbitration provision) constitutes a “major

dispute”. Consequently, Northwest Airlines is enjoined from

implementing COEs containing the arbitration provision and

from requiring from newly-hired pilots COEs containing the

arbitration provision pending completion of the bargaining

and mediation process required by RLA §§ 5 and 6, 45

U.S.C. §§ 155 and 156.

Date: Sept. 23, 1998 /s/ Gladys Kessler.

GLADYS KESSLER.

United States District Judge

4la

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

[Filed Oct. 07, 1998]

Civil Action No. 97-1917 (GK)

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

. Plaintiff,

v.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Defendant.

ORDER

Upon consideration of the Unopposed Motion of

Defendant Northwest Airlines for Amendment of Order, and

the entire record herein,

It is hereby ORDERED that the Court’s Order dated

September 23, 1998, is amended by inserting, at the end of

the final sentence:

“except that Northwest may require new pilot trainees

to execute Conditions of Employment, including

arbitration provisions. All of the provisions of those

Conditions of Employment documents will be

enforceable as to the employment of pilot trainees

until the pilot trainee enters active service at

Northwest.”

IT IS SO ORDERED

Date: Oct. 2, 1998 /s/ Gladys Kessler.

GLADYS KESSLER.

United States District Judge

42a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

[Filed Mar 9, 2000]

97cv01917

No. 98-7196

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Appellee

v.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Appellant

Consolidated with 98-7202

BEFORE: EDWARDS, Chief Judge; SILBERMAN,

WILLIAMS, GINSBURG, SENTELLE, HENDERSON,

RANDOLPH, ROGERS, TATEL and GARLAND, Circuit

Judges

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing en banc of

appellee/cross-appellant, the response thereto, and the vote by

a majority of the judges of the court in regular active service

in favor of the petition, it is

ORDERED that the petition be granted. These cases will

be reheard by the court sitting en banc on Wednesday, May

10, 2000 at 10 A.M. The judgment filed herein on December

28, 1999 is hereby vacated. It is

43a

FURTHER ORDERED that an order governing further

proceedings shall issue separately.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Mark J. Langer,

MARK J. LANGER,

Clerk

BY: Robert A. Bonner

Deputy Clerk

44a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

[Filed May 19, 2000]

Nos. 98-7196 and 98-7202

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL

Appellee/Cross-Appellant

v.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.

Appellant/Cross-Appellee

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(No. 97cv01917)

BEFORE: EDWARDS, Chief Judge, SILBERMAN,

WILLIAMS, GINSBURG, SENTELLE, HENDERSON,

RANDOLPH, ROGERS, TATEL, and GARLAND, Circuit

Judges.

JUDGMENT

These appeals were considered en banc on the briefs and

arguments of the parties. It is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the judgment and

opinion of the court announced by the panel in these cases,

199 F.3d 477 (D.C. Cir. 1999), are reinstated as the judgment

and opinion of the court sitting en banc.

45a

Per curiam

FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Mark J. Langer,

MARK J. LANGER, CLERK

By: Eva Brown

Deputy Clerk

46a

APPENDIX G

PERTINENT PROVISIONS OF THE

RAILWAY LABOR ACT

45 U.S.C. § 152. General duties

First. Duty of carriers and employees to settle disputes

It shall be the duty of all carriers, their officers, agents, and

employees to exert every reasonable effort to make and

maintain agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, and

working conditions, and to settle all disputes, whether arising

out of the application of such agreements or otherwise, in

order to avoid any interruption to commerce or to the

operation of any carrier growing out of any dispute between

the carrier and the employees thereof.

Second. Consideration of disputes by representatives

All disputes between a carrier or carriers and its or their

employees shall be considered, and, if possible, decided, with

all expedition, in conference between representatives desig-

nated and authorized so to confer, respectively, by the carrier

or carriers and by the employees thereof interested in the

dispute.

Third. Designation of representatives

Representatives, for the purposes of this chapter, shall be

designated by the respective parties without interference,

influence, or coercion by either party over the designation of

representatives by the other; and neither party shall in any

way interfere with, influence, or coerce the other in its choice

of representatives. Representatives of employees for the

purposes of this chapter need not be persons in the employ of

the carrier, and no carrier shall, by interference, influence, or

coercion seek in any manner to prevent the designation by its

employees as their representatives of those who or which are

not employees of the carrier.

47a

Fourth. Organization and collective bargaining; freedom

from interference by carrier; assistance in organizing

or maintaining organization by carrier forbidden;

deduction of dues from wages forbidden

Employees shall have the right to organize and bargain

collectively through representatives of their own choosing.

The majority of any craft or class of employees shall have the

right to determine who shall be the representative of the craft

or class for the purposes of this chapter. No carrier, its

officers or agents, shall deny or in any way question the right

of its employees to join, organize, or assist in organizing the

labor organization of their choice, and it shall be unlawful for

any carrier to interfere in any way with the organization of its

employees, or to use the funds of the carrier in maintaining or

assisting or contributing to any labor organization, labor

representative, or other agency of collective bargaining, or in

performing any work therefore, or to influence or coerce

employees in an effort to induce them to join or remain or not

to join or remain members of any labor organization, or to

deduct from the wages of employees any dues, fees,

assessments, or other contributions payable to labor

organizations, or to collect or to assist in the collection of any

such dues, fees, assessments, or other contributions:

Provided, That nothing in this chapter shall be construed to

prohibit a carrier from permitting an employee, individually,

or local representatives of employees from conferring with

management during working hours without loss of time, or to

prohibit a carrier from furnishing free transportation to its

employees while engaged in the business of a labor

organization.

48a

Sixth. Conference of representatives; times; place; private

agreements

In case of a dispute between a carrier or carriers and its or

their employees, arising out of grievances or out of the

interpretation or application of agreements concerning rates

of pay, rules, or working conditions, it shall be the duty of the

designated representative or representatives of such carrier or

carriers and of such employees, within ten days after the

receipt of notice of a desire on the part of either party to

confer in respect to such dispute, to specify a time and place

at which such conference shall be held: Provided, (1) That the

place so specified shall be situated upon the line of the carrier

involved or as otherwise mutually agreed upon; and (2) that

the time so specified shall allow the designated conferees

reasonable opportunity to reach such place of conference, but

shall not exceed twenty days from the receipt of such notice:

And provided further, That nothing in this chapter shall be

construed to supersede the provisions of any agreement (as to

conferences) then in effect between the parties.

Seventh. Change in pay, rules, or working conditions con-

trary to agreement or to section 156 forbidden

No carrier, its officers or agents shall change the rates of

pay, rules, or working conditions of its employees, as a class

as embodied in agreements except in the manner prescribed

in such agreements or in section 156 of this title.

* * *

45 U.S.C. § 156. Procedure in changing rates of pay, rules,

and working conditions

Carriers and representatives of the employees shall give at

least thirty days’ written notice of an intended change in

agreements affecting rates of pay, rules, or working

conditions, and the time and place for the beginning of

conference between the representatives of the parties

49a

interested in such intended changes shall be agreed upon

within ten days after the receipt of said notice, and said time

shall be within the thirty days provided in the notice. In every

case where such notice of intended change has been given, or

conferences are being held with reference thereto, or the

services of the Mediation Board have been requested by

either party, or said Board has proffered its services, rates of

pay, rules, or working conditions shall not be altered by the

carrier until the controversy has been finally acted upon as

required by section 155 of this title, by the Mediation Board,

unless a period of ten days has elapsed after termination of

conferences without request for or proffer of the services of

the Mediation Board.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air Line Pilots Ass'n, International v. Northwest Airlines, Inc. · 531 U.S. 1011 | Frix