Opposition Brief — Seguros La Republica, S. A. v. British International Insurance

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

satis | Cour, ha

No. 00-200

mee OF THE CLERK

IN THE —

Supreme Court of the United States

SEGUROS LA REPUBLICA, S.A.,

Petitioner,

V.

BRITISH INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE

COMPANY LIMITED,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COuRT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

SHAWN L. KELLY

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL R. O’ DONNELL

THOMAS J. PERRY

Desra D. TEDESCO

RIKER, DANZIG, SCHERER,

HYLAND & Perretti LLP

Attorneys for Respondent

Headquarters Plaza

One Speedwell Avenue

Morristown, NJ 07692

(973) 538-0800

162741 @) Counsel Press LLC

(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

yzrP

ee

i

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether New York Insurance Law § 1213 requiring an

alien unauthorized reinsurance company, which incurred an

indebtedness while doing business in New York, to either:

(i) obtain a license to do business in New York; or (ii) deposit

a bond or cash requirements, after notice and hearing before

defending an action to recover that indebtedness in New

York, violates the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process

Clause?

il

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Respondent British International Insurance Company’s

interests in this case were assigned to British Insurance

Company of Cayman (“BICC”) during the pendency of this

action. BICC is wholly-owned by White Mountains

Insurance Group, Ltd. (“White Mountains”). White

Mountains’ stock is publicly traded on the New York Stock

Exchange.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Counterstatement of Question Presented ......... 1

Statement Pursuant to Rule 29.6 ............... li

Table of Contents .......... Serre eae ae orn lil

DORM GECMOG AWTIOTIIGS 2. ccc ce cces. Vv

EE Cre ee eee X

Counterstatement of the Case ...............05. l

Reasons for Denying the Writ ................. 3

I. La Republica’s Petition Fails To State A

Reason Compelling This Court To Review

The Constitutionality Of New York Insurance

RE OED. ccs Va waswesas dace e ees 3

II. The Second Circuit’s Ruling Is Consistent

With, Not Contrary To, With The Principles .

Enunciated In Connecticut v. Doehr ...... 10

A. The Doehr Line Of Cases Support The

Constitutionality Of NYIL § 1213. ... 10

I ee Ba hie ak es ack eK 10

2. Fuentes and Sniadach .......... 14

iv |

;

Contents |

{

Page

B. NYIL § 1213 And The Statute At Issue

In Doehr Are Completely Dissimilar ... 15

III. NYIL § 1213 Applies To Reinsurers ...... 18

IV. Declaring Pre-Answer Security Statutes

Enacted In Over Thirty-Six States

Unconstitutional Would Have A Significant

Impact On The Global Reinsurance Market

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Ace Grain Co. v. American Eagle Fire Ins. Co., 95

F. Supp. 784 (S.D.N.Y. 1951) ............ 6, 7, 8, 19

Aero Assocs., Inc. v. La Metropolitana, 183 F. Supp.

Rh ae er rt ae Bee 13

Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491

Fs SEES CE Ey ee ern ak i ie *

Christopher Lasalle and Company v. Heller Fin.,

Inc., 731 F. Supp. 279 (E.D. Ill. 1990) ........ 17

Connecticut v. Doehr, 501 U.S. 1 (1991) . 3, 10, 11, 12, 15

Curiale v. Ardra Ins. Co., 88 N.Y .2d 268, 667 N.E.2d

PEP CUE bow Sass idle ele ees 4,17, 19

Curiale v. Phoenix Gen. Ins. Co. of Greece, S.A.,

1992 WL 320535 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 23,1992) .... 17 |

Dean Construction Company, Inc. v. Agricultural

Insurance Co., 42 Misc. 2d 834, 249 N.Y.S.2d

247 (Sup. Ct. Nassau County), aff’d, 22 A.D. 82,

254 N.Y.S.2d 196 (N.Y.A.D. 1964) ........ 8, 16, 17

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67(1971) ....... 10, 14, 15

Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312 os) ee vee een 4

vi

Cited Authorities

Page

John Hancock Property and Cas. Ins. Co. v.

Universale Reinsurance Co., Ltd., 147 F.R.D. 40

CE 54 4s x08 0h bu Say Crees eee eee 18

Kaye v. Doe, 204 Misc. 719, 125 N.Y.S.2d 135 (Sup.

Ses NE Gs EOE. cv'ckd bua Baba Chea eons 6,7

Lakehead Pipe Line Co., Inc. v. American Home

Assur. Co., 981 F. Supp. 1205 (D. Minn. 1997)

A ree POET TT ee Per ero ee ee 4

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ....... 12

Mid-American Indemn. Ins. Co. v. King, 1995

te gL a ee OS ree ee 4

Mitchell v. W.T. Grant & Co., 416 U.S. 600 (1973) .

Wes Set nik Sa ea ae CREE ENE TIER 11

Moore v. Nat’l Distiller and Chem. Corp., 143

~ F.R.D. 526 (S.D.N.Y. 1992), aff'd, 69 F.3d 1226

PL SOE: 6s sxe e cach ins bWhaeesiete ks 17

Morgan v. American Risk Mgmt., No. 89 Civ. 2999,

1990 WL 106837 (S.D.N.Y. July 20, 1990) ....13, 18

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

Ti REE 6 sks ke ad sh Ue. cee Ra res 14

Mutual Fire, Marine & Inland Ins. Co. v. Norad

Reins. Co., 868 F.2d 52 (3d Cir. 1989) ........ 20

_ —_-

Vii

Cited Authorities

Page

Ownbey v. Morgan, 256 U.S. 94 (1921) ........5,6, 16

Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. 168, 181 (1869) ........ 7

Prudential Ins. Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U.S. 408

CRON 550s ck or ieee eel ok ee ees 7

Signal Mut. Indem. Ass'n v. Rice Mohawk U.S.

Constr. Co., Ltd., 1997 WL 148813 (S.D.N.Y.

ccstca, Riel) PRET EEC Pe an 13, 20

Sniadach v. Family Fin. Corp., 395 U.S. 337

be See re rere ey ey ee ee are 10, 14, 15

Travelers Health Ass'n v. Virginia, 339 U.S. 643

SE See RR raat Tne este a crn aap An tae al Cae 8

Trihedron Int'l Assur. v. Superior Ct., 218 Cal. App.

3d 934, 267 Cal. Rptr. 418 (1990) ............ 4,8,9

Zacharakis v. Bunkerhill Mut. Ins. Co., 281 A.D.

487, 120 N.Y.S.2d 418 (1* Dept. 1953) ....... 6

Statutes:

Be Mees OE OMRON oo Nessa dak cov Ses 7

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-278e (1991) ............. 15

Pee Hk eS 8K Gao eRe eee 6,7

|

|

vill

Cited Authorities

Page

eS 8 oie 19

I NN: cs Gai ete ee ues eee es 19 |

Se FA ae ee ake eed sarees passim

oo ed 13

WES TS oc 13

ge ME Go hs 1: IR epenre pa caries piu nero erere ste: 2,6

RE A NN <n ssh ee 16

VTL, © DIS nn. oh 16

United States Constitution:

Fourteenth Amendment ....................0-- : 14

Rules:

United States Supreme Court Rule 10 ........... 3

United States Supreme Court Rule 10(a) ........ 4

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Other Authorities:

Barry R. Ostrager, Thomas R. Newman, Handbook

on Insurance Coverage Disputes § 13.03 (3d ed.

ROOD | <4 sala whe viene ok UA CLL DA ed 1]

Uniform Unauthorized Insurers Act, Prefatory Note,

Section 6

een ae

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Unauthorized Insurers Process Act . .

Appendix B — Memorandum Opinion And Order

Of The United States District Court For The

Southern District Of New York In Curiale v.

Phoenix General Insurance Company Of Greece,

S.A., No. 83 Civ. 4687 (CSH) Dated October 23,

EP SE Re Pe PR tne ae ee ere eee ie ee

Appendix C — Memorandum And Order Of The

United States District Court For The Southern

District Of New York In Signal Mutual Indemnity

Association, Ltd. v. Rice Mohawk U.S.

Construction Company, Ltd., No. 95 Civ. 3721

(LMM) Dated March 28, 1997 ...............

Appendix D — Opinion And Order Of The United

States District Court For The Southern District

Of New York In Morgan v. American Risk

Management, Inc., No. 89 Civ 2999 (JSM) (KAR)

ee 8 ME ee etree ee eee

Page

la

15a

19a

ee eee

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

American Centennial Insurance Company (“ACIC”)

issued various insurance policies (excess, umbrella,

general liability) to diverse insureds. ACIC reinsured these

policies through the Petitioner, Seguros La Republica

(“La Republica”), pursuant to 26 facultative certificates

(the “Facultative Certificates”).' ACIC paid losses to its

insureds under these policies and then sought to recover the

proportionate reinsurance owed it by La Republica.

The instant collection suit is occasioned by

La Republica’s refusal to indemnify Respondent British

International Insurance Company, Limited’s (“BIIC”),

ACIC’s successor-in-interest, pursuant to the Facultative

Certificates. Presently, La Republica owes BIIC over $11

million. Pet. App. B at 15a-18a.

Following La Republica’s refusal to honor its obligations

under the Facultative Certificates, BIIC (ACIC) commenced

this action in April 1990 by filing a complaint seeking

(i) judgment against La Republica for breach of contract,

account stated and monies due and owing, and (ii) a

declaration that La Republica is obligated to indemnify BIIC

for future losses reinsured by the Facultative Certificates.

1. Facultative reinsurance is one of two basic types of

reinsurance contracts. Facultative reinsurance is negotiated with

respect to specific risks insured by particular policies. Barry R.

Ostrager, Thomas R. Newman, Handbook on Insurance Coverage

Disputes § 13.03 at 419 (3d ed. 1990). Under a facultative contract

between the ceding insurer and the reinsurer, the reinsurer has the

option of accepting or rejecting each risk offered by the ceding

company, and a separate reinsurance certificate is issued with respect

to each risk assumed. Jd.

2

Since then, La Republica has argued before the United States

Court for the Southern District of New York (the “Southern

District”) and United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit (the “Second Circuit”) — and lost — issues involving

personal jurisdiction, improper service of process, and the

constitutionality of New York Insurance Law (“NYIL”)

§ 1213. In doing so, the Southern District afforded La

Republica every conceivable procedure to ensure that its

rights were protected, including two separate evidentiary

hearings and untold motions.

After a decade of motion practice, the Southern District

ultimately entered a default judgment in favor of BIIC in

the amount of $11,251,696.35, plus interest (Pet. App. C at

19a-20a), due to La Republica’s failure to obtain a license

to do business in New York or to comply with the Southern

District’s order directing it “to deposit with the Clerk of the

Court cash or securities or a surety bond in the amount of

Five Million Seven Hundred Thousand Dollars ($5,700,000)

to secure payment of any final judgment that may

be rendered in this action....” Pet. App. E at 27a.

See NYIL § 1213(c)(1).?

On June 16, 1999, La Republica appealed the default

judgment. The Second Circuit rejected La Republica’s attack

on the constitutionality of NYIL § 1213 and affirmed the

Southern District’s ruling — holding specifically that

“it comports with due process.” British Int'l Ins. Co. Ltd. v.

Seguros La Republica, S.A., 212 F.3d 138, 144 (2d Cir.

2. While La Republica claims that Article 64 of Mexico’s

General Law of Insurance Institutions and Mutual Companies

prohibits it from posting a bond (Pet. at 3), BITC submitted expert

evidence establishing the contrary. Thus, La Republica’s failure to

post a bond is due to its own intransigence.

3

2000).* This is the sole issue on which La Republica bases

its Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

This Court should deny La Republica’s Petition for Writ

of Certiorari because: (i) there is no compelling reason to

warrant review; and (ii) the Second Circuit’s decision does

not conflict with Connecticut v. Doehr, 501 U.S. | (1991)

(“Doehr”).

I. LA REPUBLICA’S PETITION FAILS TO STATE

A REASON COMPELLING THIS COURT TO

REVIEW THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF NEW

YORK INSURANCE LAW SECTION 1213

The sole question presented by La Republica’s Petition

is whether NYIL § 1213 as applied violates its constitutional

right to Due Process under the Fourteenth Amendment.

Pet. at i. For the reasons expressed in the Circuit Court’s

opinion below and as discussed herein under Point II,

NYIL § 1213 as applied in this case passes constitutional

muster. La Republica has not advanced a compelling reason

to warrant this Court to grant review. Rules of Supreme

Court, Rule 10 (“A petition for a writ of certiorari will be

granted only for compelling reasons”).

3. In a separate unpublished summary order entered the same

day, the Second Circuit remanded for the Southern District’s

determination whether: (i) the facultative reinsurance certificates

covered declaratory judgment expenses; (ii) BIIC’s complaint sought

recovery of declaratory judgment expenses; and (iii) the record

supported La Republica’s claim that BIIC failed to prove its

entitlement to $52,987.22 in claims.

4

{

Moreover, the Second Circuit’s decision conforms

with the decisions of all other courts addressing the

constitutionality of pre-answer security statutes.

All analogous statutes have been held to be constitutional.

See Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 10(a) (reasons the

Court considers in exercising its discretion to grant review

includes whether “a United States court of appeals has

entered a decision in conflict with the decision of another

United States court of appeals on the same important matter”

or “has decided an important federal question in a way that

conflicts with a decision by a state court of last resort’).

See also Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491

(1985) (as a matter of normal practice, the Court will defer

to the construction of a state statute given to it by the lower

federal courts).

Furthermore, La Republica has not sustained its burden

to rebut NYIL § 1213’s presumed constitutionality.

“[A] statute is presumed to be constitutional, ... and the

burden is on the one attacking the legislative arrangement to

negative every conceivable basis which might support it.”

Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312, 320 (1993). In that context,

NYIL § 1213 and other pre-answer security statutes have

universally withstood constitutional challenges due to their

recognized purpose to further a substantial government

interest (i.e., the regulation of insurance by the states).

Indeed, not one court has struck down an insurance

pre-answer security statute to date. See, e.g., Lakehead Pipe

Line Co., Inc. v. American Home Assur. Co., 981 F. Supp.

1205 (D. Minn. 1997); Mid-American Indemn. Ins. Co. v.

King, 1995 WL 407388 (S. Ct. Tx. 1995); Curiale v. Ardra

Ins. Co., 88 N.Y.2d 268, 667 N.E.2d 313 (1996); Trihedron

Int'l Assur. v. Superior Ct., 218 Cal. App. 3d 934, 267 Cal.

Rptr. 418 (1990).

5

Section 1213 is New York’s version of the Uniform

Unauthorized Insurers Act (the “Unauthorized Insurers Act”)

promulgated by the National Association of Insurance

Commissioners in 1948 (the “NAIC”). Forty states have

adopted the Unauthorized Insurers Act in some form.

(Res. App. A at 8a-14a).4 The NAIC was acutely aware of

due process concerns when drafting the Unauthorized |

Insurers Act:

As to the Constitutionality of this section,

reference may be made to the case of Ownbey v.

Morgan, 256 U.S. 94 [(1921)], wherein the

Delaware statute requiring posting of bond by a

nonresident whose property has been attached

before any defense could be made in the action

was upheld. Care was taken in the drafting of the

act to keep the same constitutional bounds.

Uniform Unauthorized Insurers Act, Prefatory Note,

Section 6.

In Ownbey, this Court upheld, against due process

challenges, a Delaware statute conditioning defendant’s right

to appear and contest the merits of plaintiff's demand upon

his first giving security — in the form of special bail or a

surety’s undertaking — for the payment of judgment.°

4. Nebraska’s, Ohio’s and Oregon’s version of the

Unauthorized Insurers Act, however, does not contain pre-answer

security requirements. Additionally, Pennsylvania has since repealed

its enactment of the Act.

5. The obligation of the out-of-state debtor to post a bond under

the Delaware statute at issue in Ownbey was triggered upon a creditor

(Cont'd)

6

In holding the statute constitutional, this Court stated

that:

the statute in plain terms gives to defendant the

opportunity to appear and make his defense,

conditioned only upon his giving security to the

value of the property attached. Hence the question

reduces itself to whether this condition is an

arbitrary and unreasonable requirement, so

inconsistent with established modes of

administering justice that it amounts to a denial

of due process.

Ownbey, 256 U.S. at 102-03. Indeed, despite the debtor’s

claims of hardship, this Court unequivocally concluded that

the statute was not arbitrary or unreasonable. /d. at 112.

New York courts have repeatedly upheld the

constitutionality of NYIL § 1213 and its predecessor statute,

Insurance Law § 59-a. See Ace Grain Co. v. American Eagle

Fire Ins. Co., 95 F. Supp. 784 (S.D.N.Y. 1951); Zacharakis

v. Bunkerhill Mut. Ins. Co., 281 A.D. 487, 120 N.Y.S.2d

418, 423-24 (1* Dept. 1953); Kaye v. Doe, 204 Misc. 719,

125 N.Y.S.2d 135, 139 (Sup. Ct. Bronx Co. 1953). In Kaye

v. Doe, for example, the court found that if an unauthorized

insurer voluntarily engaged in purposeful activity in New

York which brought it within the purview of NYIL § 1213,

(Cont'd)

attaching the in-state property of the debtor. An unauthorized alien

reinsurer’s obligation under Section 1213(c)(1) to post a bond or

obtain a license, however, is triggered upon the commencement of -

a proceeding against it. See infra at 17.

J

there was no violation of any constitutional provisions arising

from its application:

Any other conclusion would tend to give the out-

of-state insurer greater (not equal) protection of

the laws, impair the just claims of New York

citizens, and deprive them of the obligations to

them voluntarily assumed by such insurer. Due

process does not impose such frustration.

Id. at 142 (construing NYIL § 59-a) (emphasis added).

By voluntarily carrying on insurance business in New

York, La Republica has consented and submitted to be sued

there and it is subject to the conditions imposed by that state.

New York may impose such terms and conditions as it deems

proper and may exact such security for the performance of

its contracts as in its judgment will best promote the public

interest. See Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. 168, 181 (1869);

cf. Ace Grair Co., 95 F. Supp. at 787 (rejecting defendant’s

Constitutional challenge to the jurisdictional aspects of NYIL

§ 59-a noting that “[i]t is too late to question the power of

New York to impose appropriate regulations on foreign

insurers who seek authorization to do business in the state’’).

The business of insurance, particularly on an interstate

and international level, is “affected with a vast public

interest.” See, e.g., Prudential Ins. Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U.S.

408 (1946). Its regulation is left to the states pursuant to

the McCarran-Ferguson Act. 15 U.S.C. § 1011, et seg.

Accordingly, it is subject to the reasonable exercise of the

state’s police power. The only restriction on the exercise of

this power is that the state’s action shall be “reasonably

related to the public interest and shall not be arbitrary or

g

improperly discriminatory.” Trihedron, 218 Cal. App. 3d at

941, 267 Cal. Rptr. at 422 (citations omitted). The state’s

interest in ensuring that the obligations arising under

insurance contracts and the consequences of those obligations

are “faithfully carried out” are to be given “great weight”

in determining the state’s power to regulate. Ace Grain, 95

F. Supp. at 787 (quoting Travelers Health Ass'n v. Virginia,

339 U.S. 643, 649 (1950)).°

Relying on this reasoning, the California Court of

Appeals in 7rihedron sustained the constitutionality of

California’s version of NYIL § 1213:

Here, when a case arises out of a non-admitted

foreign or alien insurer transacting business in

California, the state has a valid interest in forcing

the insurer to comply with the state’s certification

6. The obligations created through the provisions of

NYIL § 1213 are well within the state’s power to regulate the

business of insurance. Indeed, as noted in Dean Construction

Company, Inc. v. Agricultural Insurance Co., 42 Misc. 2d 834, 249

N.Y.S.2d 247 (Sup. Ct. Nassau County), aff'd, 22 A.D. 82, 254

N.Y.S.2d 196 (N.Y.A.D. 1964):

the public policy of this State is to afford residents

protection against the obstacles encountered in pursuing

their legal rights against alien insurers in foreign forums.

The purpose is accomplished first by making

unauthorized foreign insurers subject to the jurisdiction

of our courts through service on the Secretary of State,

and secondly, by requiring the deposit of money or the

filing of a bond to insure a fund for the payment of any

judgment that may be obtained in the action.

Id. at 249.

9

requirements thereby protecting California

insureds and beneficiaries. Section 1616 in the

first instance requires compliance with those

certification requirements. The statute provides

the insurer with the generally less onerous

alternative of posting a bond in lieu of meeting

the certification requirements. Under the unique

circumstances, the bonding requirement can

hardly be viewed as a deprivation of a significant

property interest subject to due process

requirements. ... Section 1616’s requirements

therefore do not deprive insurers of any

substantial interest or existing right. Rather the

section encourages compliance with the already

existing statutory mandate. Accordingly, we

conclude section 1616 does not violate a non-

admitted foreign or alien insurer's due process

rights when the insurer is sued in connection with

transacting insurance business in California.

Trihedron, 218 Cal. App. 3d at 947-48, 267 Cal. Rptr. at

426 (emphasis added).

Accordingly, BIIC respectfully submits that La

Republica’s petition fails to establish any reason, let alone a

“compelling” reason, for this Court to exercise its discretion

to grant review. Therefore, BIIC requests that this Court deny

La Republica’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

10

Il. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S RULING IS

CONSISTENT WITH, NOT CONTRARY TO,

WITH THE PRINCIPLES ENUNCIATED IN

CONNECTICUT v. DOEHR

A. THE DOEHR LINE OF CASES SUPPORT THE

CONSTITUTIONALITY OF NYIL § 1213.

La Republica’s reliance upon Doehr and its progenitor

cases is completely without merit. In those cases, this Court

struck down prejudgment summary ex parte remedies

available to general creditors. Doehr, 501 U.S. at 5

(attachment of real property); Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S.

67, 91-92 (1971) (replevin of personalty); Sniadach v. Family

Fin. Corp., 395 U.S. 337 (1969) (garnishment of wages).

Unlike NYIL § 1213, each of the statutes at issue in those

cases involved an outright seizure of property without notice

or hearing, depriving its owner of actual possession and

enjoyment of the property involved. Accordingly, the Doehr

line of cases is readily distinguishable.

1. Doehr

Unhke the instant case involving a suit against an

unlicensed insurance company doing business in New York

for money it owes, Connecticut v. Doehr involved an action

by one private citizen against another for unliquidated

damages arising from an assault and battery. As Doehr

correctly recognized, due process is not a “technical

conception with a fixed content unrelated to time, place and

circumstance.” Doehr, 501 U.S. at 10 (citation omitted).

Doehr dealt with procedural due process depriving a private

individual of his property in favor of another private

individual. That is on its face quite different from the

1]

regulation and responsibilities of alien, unlicensed insurance

and reinsurance companies who are doing business in New

York and whose obligations arise out of that business. Even

so, the proceedings herein meet the three pronged due process

test of Connecticut v. Doehr.

First, of what property interest is the Petitioner deprived?

La Republica has the right to defend the suit. All it needs to

do is to obtain a license, as other insurance companies have

done, to carry on business in New York — something which

La Republica should have done when it entered into its

agreement with BIIC. Alternatively, the Petitioner could post

a bond or money to satisfy its proportionate share of the

insurance losses paid to the insured by the plaintiff. A due

process violation should not be triggered under these

circumstances since this procedure is not the same as — or

similar to — an attachment or lien on property.

Second, unlike Doehr, the risk of erroneous deprivation

of property through the procedures under attack and the

probable value of alternative safeguards is missing here.

La Republica was afforded notice and a hearing. Contrary

to Doehr, the issue here involves determining the “existence

of a debt,” an uncomplicated matter that lends itself to

documentary proof. Mitchell v. W.T. Grant & Co., 416 U.S.

600, 606 (1973) (upholding a statute finding that determining

the existence of a debt or delinquent payments concerns

uncomplicated matters than lend themselves to documentary

proof). As noted above, La Republica can obtain a license to

do business in New York. Further, if it chooses to post a

bond or money, there is court supervision over the amount.

The safeguards adequately reduce the risk.

12

Third, it is self-evident that BIIC’s interest is not

de minimis. As with any insurance company which pays its

claims, BIIC needs the ability to obtain satisfaction of its

reinsurance debts due and owing. This is in harmony with

the state’s interest in assuring that insurance companies

subject to its jurisdiction meet their obligations.

Finally, although Doehr modified the third prong of

the tripartite due process analysis set forth in Mathews

v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) from assessing

“the Government’s interest, including the function involved

and the fiscal and administrative burdens that the additional

or substitute procedural requirements would entail”

(Doehr, 501 U.S. at 10 (citing Mathews, 424 U.S. at 335))

to assessing the interest of the private party seeking the

prejudgment remedy, it did so with “due regard for any

ancillary interest the government may have in providing the

procedure or forgoing the added burden of providing greater

protections.” /d. at 11.

In this case, BIIC’s interest — the collection of

reinsurance balances owed to it under the Facultative

Certificates — is on par with New York’s ancillary

interest as articulated in the preamble to NYIL § 1213.

The legislature declares that it is a subject of

concern that many residents of this state hold

policies of insurance issued or delivered in this

__state by insurers while not authorized to do

business in this state, thus presenting to such

residents the often insuperable obstacle of

- Aer er

13

resorting to distant forums for the purpose of

asserting legal rights under such policies.

NYIL § 1213(a).’ See Signal Mut. Indem. Ass'n y. Rice

Mohawk U.S. Constr. Co., Ltd., 1997 WL 148813, *2

(S.D.N.Y. Mar. 28, 1997) (“Insurance Law §1213(c)

ensures that New York residents can readily access foreign

insurer’s funds to satisfy judgments against the insurer”)

(Res. App. C at 24a). Section 1213 may be invoked by any

insurance company authorized to do business in New York.

See § 1213(b)(1)(A); Morgan v. American Risk Memt.,

No. 89 Civ. 2999, 1990 WL 106837 at *6 (S.D.N.Y. July

20, 1990) (“ARM”) (extending § 1213 to “corporations

authorized to do business” in New York) (Res. App. D at

45a); Aero Assocs., Inc. v. La Metropolitana, 183 F. Supp

357, 359 (S.D.N.Y. 1960) (“the primary objective of the

legislation was to protect New York residents, but the statute

went further and encompassed those corporations authorized

to do business in New York”).* Clearly, BIIC and New York

7. Itis here that the safeguards of NYIL § 1213 protecting parties

against having to endure the “insuperable obstacle of resorting to distant

forums” is most illustrative. During the pendency of this case before

the Southern District, La Republica filed suit in 1995 in Mexico against

nine defendants and fifteen third-party defendants, including BIIC

(the “Mexican action”). In doing so, La Republica sought, among other

things, to have the very same Facultative Certificates at issue here

declared void ab initio. La Republica also sought and was granted an

injunction enjoining BIIC from taking any action in Mexico to enforce

any judgments against La Republica until the Mexican action is

completely resolved. Five years later, only BIIC and four of the other

fifteen third-party defendants have been served with process in the

Mexican action, thwarting any efforts by BIIC to enforce the default

judgment in Mexico indefinitely.

8. BIIC’s predecessor, ACIC, was authorized to do business in

New York at all relevant times, including during the time La Republica

issued the Facultative Certificates to ACIC.

14

have the same interest in seeing La Republica pay the $11

million plus claims it owes pursuant to the Facultative

Certificates.

2. Fuentes and Sniadach

In Fuentes, this Court expressly recognized that

prejudgment provisional creditors’ remedies are fully

justified when those provisions serve an important

governmental interest or general public interest. Fuentes, 407

U.S. at 91. The Court, however, held the statutes

unconstitutional because they allowed debtors’ property to

be seized without notice to the debtor. /d. at 83. As discussed

above, that is not the case with NYIL § 1213.

Sniadach required a determination as to whether a

Wisconsin statute which permitted an employer to garnish

an employee’s wages without notice violated the due process

requirements of the Fourteenth Amendment. “What happens

in Wisconsin is that the clerk of the court issues the summons

at the request of the creditor’s lawyer; and it is the latter

who by serving the garnishee sets in motion the machinery

whereby the wages are frozen.” Sniadach, 395 U.S. at 339.

The employee argued that the process deprived him of

“his enjoyment of earned wages without the opportunity to

be heard... .” Jd. The Sniadach Court agreed with the

employee and ruled Wisconsin’s garnishment statute

unconstitutional. The Sniadach Court’s ratio deciendi turned

on the fact that, although the statute ultimately gave the

employee a right to be heard, such a provision had “little

reality or worth unless one is informed that the matter is

pending and can choose for himself whether to appear or

default, acquiesce or contest.” Id. at 339-40 (quoting Mullane

v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 314

(1950)).

15

Again, NYIL § 1213 unequivocally mandates that

La Republica be served with notice of the matter. La Republica

does not dispute this point. Indeed, after receiving such notice,

La Republica chose to appear and over the next decade take

advantage of all the due process protections it now claims were

never afforded. La Republica seized every opportunity to be

heard and to contest this matter. The fact that it lost on each of

those opportunities — as it should have — does not diminish

the constitutional safeguards afforded by NYIL § 1213. Hence,

under the facts of this case and NYIL § 1213’s constitutional

pre-answer security requirements, BIIC submits that the

potential for unwarranted attachment present in Sniadach and

Fuentes is simply not present here.

B. NYIL § 1213 AND THE STATUTE AT ISSUE IN

DOEHR ARE COMPLETELY DISSIMILAR

Even if NYIL § 1213 is analogized to the creditors’

remedies at issue in Doehr and like cases, it readily transcends

any constitutional challenge since the Connecticut Statute at

issue in Doehr is not even remotely similar to NYIL § 1213

The Connecticut statute provided, in relevant part, that:

[t]he court or a judge of the court may allow the

prejudgment remedy to be issued by an attomey

without hearing . . . upon verification by oath of the

plaintiff or of some competent affiant, that there is

probable cause to sustain the validity of the

plaintiff's claims and (1) that the prejudgment

remedy requested is for an attachment of real

property. .. .

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-278e (1991). The practical effect of the

statute allowed the personal injury plaintiff in Doehr to obtain

an ex parte attachment on defendant’s real property.

Doehr, 501 U.S. at 5.

16

By contrast, NYIL § 1213 does not operate to deprive

La Republica of possession of its property. Rather, it provides

the following choice

Before any unauthorized foreign or alien insurer

files any pleading in any proceeding against it, it

shall either: ;

(A) deposit with the clerk of the court

in which the proceeding is pending,

cash or securities or file with such clerk

a bond with good and sufficient sureties,

to be approved by the court, in an

amount to be fixed by the court

sufficient to secure payment of any final

judgment which may be rendered in the

proceeding, but the court may in its

discretion make an order dispensing

with such deposit or bond if the

superintendent certifies to it that such

insurer maintains within this state funds

or securities in trust or otherwise

sufficient and available to satisfy any

final judgment which may be entered in

the proceeding, or

(B) procure a license to do an

insurance business in this state.

NYIL § 1213(c)(1)(A) and (B) (emphasis added). NYIL § 1213’s

security requirement, like the bond requirement upheld in

Ownbey, is simply a condition precedent to the right to defend

a particular type of suit under New York Insurance law.

Dean Constr. Co. v. Agric. Ins. Co., 42 Misc. 2d 834, 835, 249

17

N.Y.S.2d 247, 248 (Sup. Ct. Nassau Co. 1964). In this regard,

NYIL § 1213 may be analogized to the requirement that an

appellant post a supersedeas bond as a condition of obtaining

a stay pending appeal — a requirement that has repeatedly

withstood Constitutional scrutiny. See, e.g., Christopher

Lasalle and Company v. Heller Fin., Inc., 731 F. Supp. 279

(E.D. Ill. 1990). |

Moreover, NYIL § 1213 merely imposes an obligation

upon La Republica to deposit cash, securities or a bond — it

does not authorize BIIC to take or seize any of La Republica’s

specific property. Indeed, NYIL § 1213 is the antithesis of

an ex parte attachment — it “mandates court supervision

before an insurer may be required to post security.”

Curiale, 88 N.Y.2d at 278. And, in enforcing the statute, the

court does not rely on its equitable powers — NYIL § 1213

is self-executing since an unauthorized alien reinsurer’s

obligation to post security (or obtain a license to do business)

is triggered upon notice of the proceeding commenced

against it and before filing any pleading in that proceeding.

Moore v. Nat'l Distiller and Chem. Corp., 143 F.R.D. 526,

531 (S.D.N.Y. 1992), aff'd, 69 F.3d 1226 (2d Cir. 1995);

Curiale v. Phoenix Gen. Ins. Co. of Greece, S.A., 1992

WL 320535, *1 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 23, 1992) (Res. App. B).

Thus, all defendants subject to NYIL § 1213 are “provided

notice and an opportunity to be heard. ...” Curiale, 88

N.Y.2d at 278. :

18

Ill. NYIL § 1213 APPLIES TO REINSURERS

Although the sole issue upon which La Republica bases

its Petition is whether NYIL § 1213 violates its rights to

due process, it nonetheless overtly seeks a decision that

NYIL § 1213 only applies to insurers — not reinsurers.

Pet. at 6-7. Although La Republica raised this argument in

the Southern District and lost, it did not appeal this issue

before the Second Circuit. British Int'l, 212 F.3d at 140-41.

Nonetheless, the Second Circuit felt compelled “to address

the point, as this status resolution, underpins the statute’s

applicability.” /d. at 141. In doing so, the Second Circuit

looked to the ARM case, supra, and adopted its and other

courts’ “reasoning, that the argument that a reinsurance

contract is not a ‘policy of insurance’ or a ‘contract of

insurance’ is not sufficient to contravene the express

language of § 1101(b)(2).” /d. (citing ARM, 1990 WL

106837, at *6 (Res. App. D at 4la-44a)). Accord John

Hancock Property and Cas. Ins. Co. v. Universale

Reinsurance Co., Ltd., 147 F.R.D. 40, 50 (1993) (adopting

the reasoning of ARM). ARM and thus, the Second Circuit,

expressly rejected La Republica’s attempted distinction:

The express language of § 1101(b)(2)

demonstrates that “although the legislature

recognized that the business of reinsurance was

to be distinguished for some purposes from the

business of insurance, ... it did not intend that

unauthorized reinsurers be exempted from New

York’s long arm statute and _ security

requirements.”

19

[Indeed], “it makes little sense for the legislature

to protect residents by subjecting alien reinsurers

to the jurisdiction of the New York courts, but

not to have the security requirements.”

British Int’l, 212 F.3d at 14] (citations omitted).

Accordingly, the Second Circuit correctly rejected La

Republica’s contention that it did not have to comply with

New York’s licensing requirements. British Int’ Ins. Co.,

212 F.3d at 143 (citing Curiale, 88 N.Y. 2d at 277, 644

N.Y.S.2d 663, 667 N.E.2d 313) (“[T]he ability to conduct

insurance business free from legitimate government

regulation is not a constitutionally protected property or

liberty interest.”)). See Ace Grain, 95 F. Supp. at 787

(“In requiring [La Republica] to post a sufficient bond as a

condition of filing on answer and making defense, New York

is requiring no more of [La Republica] than it constitutionally

requires of any authorized foreign insurer. [La Republica]

has no constitutional right to preferential treatment”).

Finally, while advancing its argument before this Court

that NYIL § 1101(b)(2)(G) exempts it from the licensing -

and other requirements imposed by New York’s insurance

law, La Republica conveniently ignores NYIL § 1108 which

specifically identifies types of insurers who are exempt from

New York’s stringent insurance regulations; none of which

apply to do unauthorized alien reinsurers such as

La Republica. Although, La Republica suggests that it has

unfettered discretion as to how it conducts business in New

York, in reality La Republica is faced with a choice of

becoming licensed to do business in New York or posting a

bond or other security before defending any actions.

The fact that La Republica is unwilling to comply with the

choices offered by New York does not equate to a deprivation

of its due process rights.

20

IV. DECLARING PRE-ANSWER SECURITY

STATUTES ENACTED IN OVER THIRTY-SIX

STATES UNCONSTITUTIONAL WOULD HAVE

A SIGNIFICANT IMPACT ON THE GLOBAL

REINSURANCE MARKET

La Republica’s final claim is that continued enforcement

of pre-answer security statutes restricts insurance companies’

access to the entire global reinsurance market. La Republica’s

arguments stand the modern reinsurance world on its head.

Contrary to this argument, security statutes are directly

responsible for the global reinsurance market’s continued

survival. One need only look to the proliferation of

reinsurance disputes caused by, among other things,

the environmental and product liability cases brought in

the 1980s to see the fallacy of La Republica’s logic.

See, e.g., Mutual Fire, Marine & Inland Ins. Co. v. Norad

Reins. Co., 868 F.2d 52 (3d Cir. 1989). Pre-answer security

statutes which require financial certainty, helped the

insurance market survive the 1980s and remain intact today.

Indeed, if all reinsurers were permitted to breach their

reinsurance obligations, abscond with the premiums, and take

refuge behind their international borders, insurance

companies would be forced to pay millions of dollars in

claims without recourse to the reinsurance protection which

was purchased. The potential catastrophic consequences —

including the potential insolvency of the insurance company

— should not be a policy goal of international reinsurance.

See Signal Mut., 1997 WL 148813, *2 (Res: App. C at 22a-

24a) (“Insurance Law §1213(c) ensures ... [ready] access

[to] foreign insurer’s funds to satisfy judgments against the

insurer.”’).

21

Accordingly, BIIC respectfully submits that pre-answer

security statutes help ‘to maintain a level playing field as

between a domestic insurer and its forei gn or alien reinsurers.

Therefore, contrary to La Republica’s claims, any repudiation

thereof would have a catastrophic effect upon the global

reinsurance market.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, Respondent BIIC

respectfully requests that this Court deny La Republica’s

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

SHAWN L. KELLY

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL R. O’DonNELL

THomas J. PERRY

Desra D. TEDESCo

RIKER, DANZIG, SCHERER,

HYLAND & Perretti LLP

Attorneys for Respondent

Headquarters Plaza

One Speedwell Avenue

Morristown, NJ 07692

(973) 538-0800

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — UNAUTHORIZED

INSURERS PROCESS ACT

Model Regulation Service — October 1994

UNAUTHORIZED INSURERS PROCESS ACT

Table of Contents

Introduction

Section 1. Purpose of Act

Section 2. Service of Process Upon Unauthorized Insurer

Section 3. Defense of Action by Unauthorized Insurer

Section 4. Attorney Fees

Section 5. Constitutionality

Section 6. Short Title

Introduction

An Act relating to insurers not authorized to transact business

in this state; providing for actions in this state against and

for the service of Process upon these insurers; prescribing

how a defense may be made by these insurers; and providing

for the allowance of attorneys’ fees in actions against these

insurers.

Section 1. Purpose of Act

The purpose of this Act is to subject certain insurers to the

jurisdiction of courts of this state in suits by or on behalf of

insureds or beneficiaries under insurance contracts.

The legislature declares that it is a subject of concern that

many residents of this state hold policies of insurance issued

2a

Appendix A

or delivered in this state by insurers while not authorized to

do business in this state, thus presenting to these residents

the often insuperable obstacle of resorting to distant forums

for the purpose of asserting legal rights under these policies.

In furtherance of the state interest, the legislature herein

provides a method of substituted service of process upon

the insurers and declares that in so doing it exercises its power

to protect its residents and to define, for the purpose of this

statute, what constitutes doing business in thts state, and also

exercises powers and privileges available to the state by

virtue of United States Code tit. 15 § 1011, which declares

that the business of insurance and every person engaged

therein shall be subject to the laws of the several states.

Section 2. Service of Process Upon Unauthorized Insurer

A. Any of the following acts in this state, effected by

mail or otherwise, by an unauthorized foreign or alien

insurer is equivalent to and shall constitute an

appointment by the insurer of the Commissioner of

Insurance and the commissioner’s successor or

successors in office, to be its true and lawful attorney,

upon whom may be served all lawful process in any

action, suit or proceeding instituted by or on behalf

of an insured or beneficiary arising out of a contract

of insurance, and any act shall be signification of its

agreement that the service of process is of the same

legal force and validity as personal service of process

in this state upon the insurer.

(1) The issuance or delivery of insurance contracts

to residents of this state or to corporations

authorized to do business in the state;

3a

Appendix A

(2) The solicitation of applications for insurance

contracts;

(3) The collection of premiums, membership fees,

assessments or other considerations for

insurance contracts; or

(4) Any other transaction of insurance business.

Drafting Note: Insert the title of the chief regulatory official

wherever the term “commissioner” appears.

B. Service of process shall be made by delivering to

and leaving with the commissioner or some person

in apparent charge of the office two (2) copies thereof

and the payment of the fees prescribed by law. The

commissioner shall forthwith mail by registered mail

one of the copies of the process to the defendant at

its last known principal place of business, and shall

keep a record of all Process so served upon the

commissioner. The service of Process is sufficient,

provided notice of such service and a copy of the

Process are sent within ten (10) days thereafter by

registered mail by the plaintiff or plaintiff s attorney

to the defendant at its last known principal place of

business, and the defendant’s receipt, or receipt

issued by the post office with which the letter is

registered, Showing the name of the sender of the

letter and the name and address of the person to

whom the letter is addressed, and the affidavit of the

plaintiff or plaintiff's attorney showing compliance

are filed with the clerk of the court in which the action

4a

Appendix A

is pending on or before the date the defendant is

required to appear, or within a further time the court

may allow.

. Service of process in an action, suit or proceeding

shall, in addition to the manner provided in

Subsection B of this section, be valid if served upon

a person within this state who, in this state on behalf

of the insurer, is:

(1) Soliciting insurance; or

(2) Making, issuing or delivering any contract of

insurance; or

(3) Collecting or receiving any premium, membership

fee, assessment or other consideration for

insurance;

and a copy of the process is sent within ten (10) days

thereafter by registered mail by the plaintiff or

plaintiffs attorney to the defendant at the last known

principal place of business of the defendant, and the

defendant’s receipt, or the receipt issued by the post

office with which the letter in registered, showing

the name of the sender of the letter and the name

and address of the person to whom the letter is

addressed, and the affidavit of the plaintiff or

plaintiff's attorney showing a compliance herewith

are filed with the clerk of the court in which the action

is pending on or before the date the defendant is

required to appear, or within a further time the court

may allow.

Sa

Appendix A

D. A plaintiff or complainant shall not be entitled to a

[insert appropriate state procedure, either judgment

by default, or a judgment with leave to prove

damages, or a judgment pro confesso] under this

section until the expiration of thirty (30) days from

the date of the filing of the affidavit of compliance.

E. Nothing in this section contained shall limit or

abridge the right to serve any process, notice or

demand upon any insurer in any other manner now

or hereafter permitted by law.

Section 3. Defense of Action By Unauthorized Insurer

A. Before any unauthorized foreign or alien insurer shall

file or cause to be filed any pleading in any action,

Suit Or proceeding instituted against it, the

unauthorized insurer shall deposit with the clerk of

the court in which the action, suit or proceeding is

pending, cash or securities or file with the clerk a

bond with good and sufficient sureties, to be

approved by the court, in an amount to be fixed by

the court sufficient to secure the payment of any final

judgment which may be rendered in the action; or

procure a certificate of authority to transact the

business of insurance in this state.

B. The court in any action, suit or proceeding in which

service is made in the manner provided in Section

2B or 2C may, in its discretion, order such

postponement as may be necessary to afford the

defendant reasonable opportunity to comply with the

6a

Appendix A

provisions of Subsection A of this section and to

defend the action.

C. Nothing in Subsection A of this section is to be

construed to prevent an unauthorized foreign or alien

insurer from filing a motion to quash a writ or to set

aside service thereof made in the manner provided

in Section 2B or 2C on the ground either that:

(1) The unauthorized insurer has not done any of

the acts enumerated in Section 2A; or

(2) The person on whom service was made pursuant

to Section 2C was not doing any of the acts

therein enumerated.

Section 4. Attorney Fees

In an action against an unauthorized foreign or alien insurer

upon a contract of insurance issued or delivered in this state

to a resident thereof or to a corporation authorized to do

business therein, if the insurer has failed for thirty (30) days

after demand prior to the commencement of the action to

make payment in accordance with the terms of the contract,

and it appears to the court that the refusal was vexatious and

without reasonable cause, the court may allow to the plaintiff

a reasonable attorney fee and include the fee in any judgment

that may be rendered in the action. The fee shall not exceed

twelve and one-half percent (12-1/2%) of the amount that

the court or jury finds the plaintiff is entitled to recover

against the insurer, but in no event shall the fee be less than

$25. Failure of an insurer to defend an action shall be deemed

7a

Appendix A

prima facie evidence that its failure to make payment was

vexatious and without reasonable cause.

Section 5. Constitutionality

If any provision of this Act or the application thereof to any

person or circumstances is held invalid, the invalidity shall

not affect other provisions or applications of the Act which

can be given effect without the invalid provision or

application, and to this end the provisions of this Act are

declared to be severable.

Section 6. Short Title

This Act may be cited as the Unauthorized Insurers Process

Act.

Legislative History (all references are to the Proceedings

of the NAIC).

1949 Proc. 315-316 (adopted).

1951 Proc. 161, 166-168, 182 (printed and reaffirmed).

8a

Appendix A

The date in parentheses is the effective date of the legislation

or regulation, with latest amendments.

NAIC MODEL/ RELATED

MEMBER SIMILAR LEGIS. LEGIS./REGS.

Alabama _ ALA. CODE

§§ 27-10-50 to 27-10-56

(1951/1971).

Alaska - ALASKA STAT.

§§ 21.33.011 to

21.33.035

(1968/1992).

Arizona ARIZ. REV. STAT.

ANN. §§ 20-403 to

20-406 (1972).

Arkansas ARK. STAT. ANN.

§§ 23-65-201 to

23-65-205 (1959).

California CAL. INS. CODE CAL. INS. CODE

§§ 1610 to 1619 § 12931

(1949/1982). (1970/1985).

Colorado COLO. REV. STAT.

§§ 10-3-1001 to

10-3-1005 (1955/1963).

Connecticut

Delaware

D.C.

Florida

Georgia

Guam

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

9a

Appendix A

CONN. GEN. STAT.

§ 38a-27 (1970/1990).

DEL. CODE ANN.

tit. 18 §§ 2101 to 2108

(1956).

NO ACTION TO DATE

FLA. STAT. §§ 626.904

to 626.912 (1982).

GA. CODE §§ 33-5-50

to 33-5-59 (1960).

GUAM GOV’T.

CODE §§ 43129 to

43131 (1959).

HAWAII REV. STAT.

§§ 431:8-206 to

431:8-211 (1988).

IDAHO CODE

§§ 41-1204 to 41-1210

(1961).

215 ILL. COMP.

STATS. 5/123 -

(1949/1983).

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

10a

Appendix A

IND. CODE §§ 27-4-4-1

to 27-4-4-8 (1955/1985).

IOWA CODE

§ 507A.6 (1967).

KAN. STAT. ANN.

§§ 40-2001 to 40-2006

(1949).

KY. REV. STAT.

§ 304.11-040 (1982).

LA. REV. STAT. ANN.

-§§ 22:1253 to 1256

(1958/1968).

ME. REV. STAT. ANN.

tit. 24-A §§ 2102 to

2108 (1970/1973).

MD. ANN. CODE

INS. § 4-206

(1957/1997).

MASS. GEN. LAWS

ch. 175B §§ 1 to6

(1950).

NO ACTION TO DATE

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New

Hampshire

New Jersey

lla

Appendix A

MINN. STAT. § 60A-21

(1978/1984).

MISS. CODE ANN.

§§ 83-21-33 to 83-21-51

(1958).

_ MO. REV. STAT.

§§ 375.256 to 375.301

(1967).

MONT. CODE ANN.

§§ 33-1-611 to 33-1-616

(1959).

NEB. REV. STAT.

§§ 44-137.01 to

44-137.10 (1949/1989).

NEV. REV. STAT.

§§ 685B.050 to

685B.080 (1971).

N.H. REV. STAT.

ANN. §§ 406-B:4 to

406-B:7 (1967/1971).

N.J. REV. STAT.

§§ 17B:33-1 to

17B:33-9 (1971);

17:51-1 to 17:51-5

(1952/1953).

New Mexico

New York

North

Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico

12a ;

Appendix A

N.M. STAT. ANN.

§§ 59A-15-6 to

59A-15-8 (1985).

N.Y. INS. LAW § 1213

(1984).

N.C. GEN. STAT.

§ 58-16-35 (1955/1990).

N.D. CENT. CODE

§§ 26.1-02-10 to

26.1-02-12 (1983).

OHIO REV. CODE

ANN. § 3901.26 (1965).

OR. REV. STAT.

§§ 746.320 (1967/1981).

PA. CONS. STAT.

§ 40-1-206 (1976).

OKLA. STAT.

tit. 36 §§ 1103 to

1105 (1957).

P.R. LAWS ANN.

tit. 26 §§ 1005 to

1006 (1977).

Rhode Island

South

Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virgin Islands

13a

Appendix A

R.I. GEN. LAWS

§§ 27-16-3 to 27-16-14

(1956).

S.C. CODE ANN.

§§ 38-25-510 to

38-25-560 (1988).

S.D. CODIFIED LAWS

ANN. §§ 58-8-6 to

58-8-19 (1966/1975).

TENN. CODE ANN.

§§ 56-2-601 to 56-2-609

(1955).

TEX. INS. CODE ANN.

art. 1.14-1 (1967/1983);

art. 1.35 (1987).

VT. STAT. ANN. tit. 8

§§ 3381 to 3390 (1968).

UTAH CODE

ANN.

§§ 31A-2-309 to

31A-2-311 (1965).

V.I. CODE ANN.

tit. 22 § 665 (1968).

l4a

Appendix A

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia W.VA. CODE § 33-4-13

(1957/1992).

Wisconsin

Wyoming

VA. CODE

§§ 38.2-800 to

38.2-807 (1986).

WASH. REV.

CODE ANN.

§§ 48.05.200 to

48.05.220

(1947/1981).

WIS. STAT.

§§ 601.72 to 601.73

(1979/1981).

WYO. STAT.

§§ 26-12-201 to

26-12-206

(1967/1983).

15a

APPENDIX B — MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK IN

CURIALE v. PHOENIX GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY OF GREECE, S.A., No. 83 Civ. 4687 (CSH)

DATED OCTOBER 23, 1992

United States District Court

S.D. New York.

Salvatore R. CURIALE, Superintendent of Insurance of the

State of New York, as Liquidator of Ideal Mutual Insurance,

Plaintiff,

V.

PHOENIX GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY

OF GREECE, S.A.,

Defendant.

No. 83 Civ. 4687 (CSH).

Oct. 23, 1992.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

HAIGHT, District Judge:

By Notice of Motion dated December 27, 1991 , plaintiff

moves for an order compelling defendant to post security

for judgment, pursuant to New York Insurance Law

§ 1213(c)(1)(A). In the alternative, plaintiff moves to strike

|

i

i

|

|

16a

Appendix B

defendant’s answer and moves for the entry of a default

judgment.

Familiarity with the facts of this case, which are set forth

in several previous opinions by this Court, is assumed. For

the purposes of this motion, the relevant facts are set forth

briefly as follows.

Plaintiff Salvatore R. Curiale is the Liquidator of the

Ideal Mutual Insurance Company (“Ideal”), a New York

corporation. Defendant Phoenix General Insurance Company

of Greece, S.A. (“Phoenix”) is an insurance company

organized under thetaws of Greece.

From 1975 to 1984, Ideal used the services of Global

Aviation Insurance Manager, Inc. (“Global Aviation”) to

manage the reinsurance of aviation insurance policies issued

by Ideal. Global in turn used the services of London

reinsurance intermediaries, who negotiated reinsurance

treaties with an array of reinsurers, including defendant

Phoenix. In this lawsuit Curiale, Ideal’s Liquidator, seeks

more than $1.6 million in damages for Phoenix’s breach of

reinsurance agreements.

After referring the case to arbitration on July 2, 1984,

this Court rescinded the arbitration order in 1987 and restored

the case to the Court’s active calendar. In December 1988

this Court entered an order formally substituting the

Liquidator as the plaintiff. Settlement negotiations collapsed

in early 1991, and Curiale filed an amended complaint on

July 9, 1991. The amended compiaint set forth the specific

balances owed to the Liquidator under the relevant

17a

Appendix B

reinsurance agreements. On July 26, 1991, defendant

answered. Plaintiff advised defendant of the security

requirements of § 1213(c)(1)(A), but defendant resisted.

Plaintiff then filed the motion presently before the Court.

Defendant opposes plaintiff's motion on three grounds:

1) that Section 1213(c)(1)(A) of the New York Insurance

Law applies to insurers — not reinsurers; 2) that plaintiff

waived its right to raise the security requirement; and 3) that

the application of Section 1213(c)(1)(A) to this case would

be unconstitutional. |

The ‘first issue raised by Phoenix has previously been

considered by this Court. For the reasons stated in Morgan

v. American Risk Management, Inc., 89 Civ. 2999, 1990

WL 106837 (S.D.N.Y. July 20, 1990), I hold that Section

1213(c) applies to reinsurers as well as insurers. See also

Moore v. National Distillers and Chemical Corporation,

91 Civ. 2901, 1992 WL 238181 (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 14, 1992);

American Centennial Insurance Company v. Seguros

La Republica, S.A., 91 Civ. 1235, 1992 WL 162770

(S.D.N.Y. June 22, 1992); American Centennial Insurance

Company v. Seguros La Republica, S.A., 90 Civ. 2370, 1992

WL 147626 (S.D.N.Y. June 16, 1992).

The waiver argument has also been addressed by this

Court. In her opinion in Moore, Magistrate Judge Roberts

noted that “the language of § 1213 does not require a timely

demand of pre-answer security; the language only sets a

trigger for security.” 1992 WL 238181, at *4. In the case at

bar, Curiale simply waited until defendant answered to see

if defendant would post the security. Defendant did not do

18a

Appendix B

so, so plaintiff filed the present motion. That hardly provides

fodder for a waiver argument.

As for defendant’s third argument, the New York

legislature enacted § 1213 pursuant to that power conferred

upon the States by the McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 1011 et seq. As the Supreme Court has stated, “Congress

removed all Commerce Clause limitations on the authority

of the States to regulate and tax the business of insurance

when it passed the McCarran-Ferguson Act... .” Western

and Southern Life Ins. Co. v. State Board of Equalization,

451 U.S. 648, 653 (1981) (citations omitted). See also Levy

v. Lewis, 635 F.2d 960, 963-64 (2d Cir.1980) (McCarran-

Ferguson states a clear congressional mandate “that

regulation of the insurance industry be left to the individual

states.”). Accordingly, I reyect Phoenix’s constitutional

attack. See Moore, 1992 WL 238181, at *6.

The defendant is directed to post a bond with the Clerk

of the Court in the amount of $1,633,674.92 by’ November

16, 1992. If defendant fails to do so, its answer will be

stricken and default judgment will be entered against it.

It is SO ORDERED.

Perera ee eee

i

7

:

=

RY

¢

:

i

t

:

j

!

t

%

x

:

y

A

$

19a

APPENDIX C — MEMORANDUM AND ORDER OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK IN SIGNAL

MUTUAL INDEMNITY ASSOCIATION, LTD. v. RICE

MOHAWK U.S. CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, LTD.,

No. 95 Civ. 3721 (LMM) DATED MARCH 28, 1997

United States District Court,

S.D. New York.

SIGNAL MUTUAL INDEMNITY ASSOCIATION, LTD.,

a foreign corporation,

Plaintiff,

v.

RICE MOHAWK U.S. CONSTRUCTION COMPANY,

Ltd., a New York corporation,

Defendant.

No. 95 Civ. 3721 (LMM).

March 28, 1997.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

MCKENNA, District Judge.

Defendant, Rice Mohawk U.S. Construction Company,

Ltd. (“Rice”) moves to strike the reply of Plaintiff, Signal

Mutual Indemnity Association, Ltd. (“Signal”), to Rice’s

20a

Appendix C

counterclaim, on the ground that Signal failed to comply with

state insurance law.

For the reasons set forth below, Defendant’s motion to

strike Signal’s reply to its counterclaim and for entry of

default judgment on its counterclaim is denied on the

condition that plaintiff post a bond for $100,000 in

accordance with New York Insurance Law § 1213(c)(1)

within forty-five (45) days of the date of this Memorandum

and Order.

I. Factual Background

Signal is a foreign corporation, incorporated under the

laws of Bermuda, with its principal place of business in

Bermuda. As a self-insurer under the Longshore and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. § 901 et seq.,

(“LHWCA”), Signal provides insurance coverage to its

“members,” most of which are employers whose employees

are covered by the LHWCA. (Complaint 4f 1, 3-4). Rice is

a New York corporation with its principal place of business

in New York. (Compiaint 2).

In November 1992, Signal and Rice entered into a

contract whereby Rice became a “member” of Signal in

exchange for Signal’s commitment to provide workers’

compensation to Rice’s entitled employees. (Complaint

{7 4, 5). Under state law, Signal’s obligations to Rice allowed

Signal to operate as a foreign insurer in New York.

On May 22, 1995, Signal commenced this action by

filing a complaint against Rice for breach of this contract.

2la

Appendix C

Signal alleges that Rice failed to make mandatory payments

in accordance with Signal’s by-laws.' On July 18, 1996, Rice

answered the complaint and counterclaimed, alleging that

Signal, not Rice, breached the contract in question. Rice,

citing Signal’s failure to comply with a New York State

Insurance Law provision, moves to strike Signal’s reply to

Rice’s counterclaim and to enter a default judgiment in its

favor.

II. Discussion

A. New York Insurance Law § 1213(c)(1)

Federal regulations require LHWCA self-insurers to

deposit funds in the United States as security and proof of

financial accountability. 20 CFR § 703.301 (1996). New

York State insurance laws require foreign insurers to deposit

a bond with the court or to procure an insurance license from

the state before such insurer pleads in any proceeding against

that insurer. N.Y. INSURANCE LAW § 1213(c)(1)

(McKinney 1985). Signal maintains accounts in Illinois, in

accordance with the federal requirement, but has neither

deposited a bond nor received an insurance license in New

York to comply with state law.

Rice argues that Signal’s failure to comply with

§ 1213(c)(1) precludes Signal from replying to Rice’s

counterclaim. Signal counters that although it has failed to

1. For a more detailed history of this dispute, see this Court’s

order denying defendant’s 12(b)(1), 12(b)(4), and 12(b)(6) motions

dated June 17, 1996.

22a

Appendix C

comply with § 1213(c)(1), the LHWCA pre-empts the New

York statute. According to Signal, this federal pre-emption

relieves Signal of any obligation to comply with the New

York law.

B. Pre-emption Generally

The pre-emption doctrine, under which Federal statutes

displace state laws and regulations, originates in the

Supremacy Clause, U.S. CONST., Art. VI, cl. 2.

Consideration of the pre-emption doctrine requires the court

to examine both explicit and implicit congressional intent.

Barnett Bank of Marion Country, N.A. v. Nelson, 517 U.S.

25, _, 116 S.Ct. 1103, 1107, 134 L.Ed.2d 237 (1996);

Fidelity Fed. Say. and Loan Assoc. v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S.

141, 152-153, 102 S.Ct. 3014, 73 L.Ed.2d 664 (1982). Rarely

will the language of a federal statute explicitly state that

federal law pre-empts existing state laws. Barnett Bank, 517

U.S. at __, 116 S.Ct. at 1108. Therefore, the court must

consider the language and purpose of the federal statute in

search of an implicit intent to pre-empt state law. Id.; Pacific

Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy Resources Conservation &

Dev. Comm’n., 461 U.S. 190, 203, 103 S.Ct. 1713,

75 L.Ed.2d 752 (1983).

Absent such intent, federal law will pre-empt state law

only when compliance with both is either a “physical

impossibility,” Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v.

Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142-43, 83 S.Ct. 1210, 10 L.Ed.2d 248

(1963), or when the state law impedes Congress’ objectives.

Fidelity Fed., 458 U.S. at 153 (quoting Hines v. Davidowitz,

312 U.S. 52, 67, 61 S.Ct. 399, 85 L.Ed. 581 (1941)).

23a

Appendix C

Consequently, application of the pre-emption doctrine must

remain flexible, “especially where the State has a substantial

interest in regulation of the conduct at issue and the State’s

interest is one that does not threaten undue interference with

the federal regulatory scheme.” Farmer v. United Bhd. of

Carpenters and Joiners of Am., 430 U.S. 290, 302, 97 S.Ct.

1056, 51 L.Ed.2d 338 (1977).

C. The Longshore and Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act

Congress created the LHWCA to guarantee

compensation for marine workers previously excluded by

the then-existent maritime laws. Sun Ship, Inc. v.

Pennsylvania, 447 U.S. 715, 717-718, 100 S.Ct. 2432,

65 L.Ed.2d 458 (1980). Signal contends that the self-insurer

regulations contained in the LHWCA evidence Congress’

intent to pre-empt state laws governing workers’

compensation. In Sun Ship, Inc., however, the Supreme Court

found “no sign. . . that Congress wished to alter the accepted

understanding that federal jurisdiction would co-exist with

State compensation laws.” Id. at 722 (holding that injured

maritime workers eligible for compensation under the

LHWCA could nevertheless claim compensation under state

compensation laws).

Nor has Congress tacitly indicated a desire to pre-empt

New York state insurance law. A state law “must do ‘major

damage’ to ‘clear and substantial’ federal interests before

the Supremacy Clause will demand that state law be

overridden.” Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo, 439 U.S. 572, 581,

99 S.Ct. 802, 59 L.Ed.2d 1 (1979). In the instant case, Signal

24a

Appendix C

can adhere to state regulations without compromising

Congress’ interests in the welfare of the maritime workers.

Florida Lime, 373 U.S. at 142-43.

Signal fails to differentiate between Congress’ purpose

in creating the LHWCA, and the New York legislature’s

purpose in establishing the laws governing foreign insurers.

Congress enacted the LHWCA in the interest of maritime

workers. Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation

Programs, U.S. Dep’t of Labor v. Perini North River Assoc.,

459 U.S. 297, 306, 103 S.Ct. 634, 74 L.Ed.2d 465 (1983). In

contrast, the New York legislature created Insurance Law

§ 1213(c) for the protection of its residents. N.Y.

INSURANCE LAW § 1213(c) (McKinney 1985 & Supp.

1997); Curiale v. Ardra Ins. Co., 88 N.Y.2d 268, 644

N.Y.S.2d 663, 667-8, 667 N.E.2d 313 (Ct.App.1996).

Insurance Law § 1213(c) ensures that New York residents

can readily access a foreign insurer’s funds to satisfy

judgments against that insurer. Curiale, 644 N.Y.S.2d at 667,

667 N.E.2d 313. Such precautions enable foreign insurers

like Signal to operate in New York without first obtaining

insurance licenses. Consequently, this provision benefits both

the residents of New York and the foreign insurance

companies allowed to operate in New York.

D. McCarran-Ferguson Act Anti-Pre-emption Rule

The McCarran-Ferguson Act instructs that “No Act of

Congress shall be construed to invalidate, impair, or

supersede any law enacted by any State for the purpose of

regulating the business of insurance ... unless such Act

specifically relates to the business of insurance.” 15 U.S.C.

25a

Appendix C

§ 1012(b) (1976). Signal argues that the existence of this

statute, and the language contained therein, provides further

evidence of Congress’ intent to pre-empt states’ participation

in insurance regulation. Signal overlooks, however, that the

“the first clause of [§ 1012] 2(b) was intended to further

Congress’ primary objective of granting the States broad

regulatory authority over the business of insurance. The

second clause accomplishes Congress’ secondary goal, which

was to carve out only a narrow exemption for ‘the business

of insurance’ from the federal antitrust laws.” U.S. Dep’t. of

Treasury v. Fabe, 508 U.S. 491, 505, 113 S.Ct. 2202, 124

L.Ed.2d 449 (1993).

The McCarran-Ferguson Act expands state control over

insurance industries operating within the state. This

expansion necessarily includes New York State’s ability to

regulate the activities of foreign insurers. Additionally,

Congress created the McCarran-F erguson Act to ensure that

state regulation would not be subject to inadvertent federal

intrusion. Barnett Bank, 517 U.S. at __»__» 116 S.Ct. at 1112,

15 U.S.C. § 1012 (1976 & Supp.1996). The Act provides

that state law should prevail unless a federal Statute

specifically relating to the “business of insurance” conflicts

with a state law. 15 U.S.C. § 1012 (1976 & Supp.1996);

see also Barnett Bank, 517 U:S. at __, 116 S.Ct. at 1111.

No such conflict exists between the New York State law for

foreign insurers and insurer obligations enumerated under

the LHWCA.

Finally, to qualify for exception under the McCarran-

Ferguson Act, the LHWCA would have to specifically relate

to the “business of insurance.” As discussed above, the

26a

Appendix C

LHWCA creates and guarantees workers’ compensation for

maritime workers. 33 U.S.C. § 901, et seq. (1986 & Supp.

1996). Thus, the insurance policies created to support the

provisions of the LHWCA are incidental.

III. Conclusion

For the reasons set forth above, defendant’s motion to

strike plaintiff's reply and for entry of default judgment on

its counterclaim is denied on the condition that plaintiff post

a bond for $100,000 in accordance with § 1213(c) of the

New York Insurance Law within forty-five (45) days of the

date of this Memorandum and Order. Either party may move,

for good cause shown, to increase or decrease the amount of

the bond.

SO ORDERED.

27a

APPENDIX D — OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK IN MORGAN

v. AMERICAN RISK MANA GEMENT, INC., No. 89 CIV

2999 (JSM) (KAR) DATED JULY 20, 1990

United States District Court,

S.D. New York.

Leroy MORGAN, Commissioner of Insurance of the

Commonwealth of Kentucky, in his capacity as Liquidator

of Delta America Re Insurance Company,

Plaintiff,

V.

AMERICAN RISK MANAGEMENT, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

No. 89CIV2999(JSM)(KAR).

July 20, 1990.

* * &

OPINION AND ORDER

KATHLEEN A. ROBERTS, United States Magistrate:

This action for declaratory relief, specific performance,

and damages arises from a management contract and

reinsurance treaties entered into by Delta America Re

28a

Appendix D

Insurance Company (“Delta Re”) and defendants. The suit

was filed on May 2, 1989 and referred to me on July 18,

1989 to supervise discovery, and on October 30, 1989 to

decide the pending motion.

Plaintiff, the Kentucky Commissioner of Insurance,

commenced this action in his capacity as the Liquidator of

Delta Re, an insolvent reinsurance company chartered under

the laws of Kentucky and, prior to its insolvency, authorized

to do business in New York. Complaint {J 1, 2. Defendant

American Risk Management, Inc. (“ARM”), an Ohio

Corporation, provided management services to Delta Re from

1983 until the reinsurance company was declared to be

insolvent in September, 1985. Id. ¥4 4, 7. Defendant Frederic

Reiss was the sole shareholder and chairman of ARM, as

well as of defendants International Risk Management

Limited, European Risk Management Limited, Transnational

Risk Management Limited, Universal Management Limited,

and Transnational Risk Management (Guernsey) Limited,

foreign corporations that also provided insurance

management services. These foreign corporations, together

with ARM, were allegedly operated under a common

management structure headed by Mr. Reiss. Id. J 5, 6.

Defendants Robert Norton, John Ryan, Brian Murphy, and

Arthur Deters, were officers and directors of Delta Re and

of ARM or of other Reiss companies. Id. J] 8-12. The

remaining defendants are twenty-three foreign and alien

retrocessionaires (the “retrocessionaires”), who signed

reinsurance treaties’ with Delta Re, agreeing to accept a share

1. A contract for reinsurance is called a “reinsurance treaty.”

Reinsurance is “the ceding by one insurance company to another of

(Cont'd)

29a

Appendix D

of the risks underwritten by Delta Re in 1984 and 1985.2 Id.

1 15-37. The treaties were delivered to and signed by Delta

Re in New York. ;

Presently before the court is a motion by the

retrocessionaires to be relieved of the requirement of posting

pre-answer security pursuant to N-Y.Ins.Law § 1213(c)(1)

(McKinney 1985),? which plaintiff contends is applicable to

(Cont'd)

all or a portion of its risks for a stipulated portion of the premium,

in which the liability of the reinsurer is solely to the reinsured, which

is the ceding company, and in which contract the ceding company

retains all contact with the original insured, and handles all matters

prior to and subsequent to loss.” 13A J. Appleman & J. Appleman,

Insurance Law and Practice § 7681, at 480-81 (rev. ed. 1976).

Retrocessionaires, in turn, reinsure the risks assumed by the

reinsurer. See Complaint § 13.

2. The retrocessionaires are companies organized under the

laws of, and operating in various foreign jurisdictions, including

Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, and the Channel Islands. Two of the

retrocessionaires are organized under the laws of Vermont. None of

them is authorized to conduct an insurance business in New York.

3. Section 1213(c)(1) provides:

Before any unauthorized foreign or alien insurer files

any pleading in any proceeding against it, it shall either:

(A) deposit with the clerk of the court in which the

proceeding is pending, cash or securities or file with

such clerk a bond with good and sufficient sureties, to

be approved by the court, in an amount to be fixed by

(Cont’d)

30a

Appendix D

this action.* See Complaint ¥ 39. The retrocessionaires argue

(Cont’d)

the court sufficient to secure payment of any final

judgment which may be rendered in the proceeding, but

the court may in its discretion make an order dispensing

with such deposit or bond if the superintendent certifies

to it that such insurer maintains within this state funds

or securities in trust or otherwise sufficient and available

to satisfy any final judgment which may be entered in

the proceeding, or

(B) procure a license to do an insurance business in

this state.

4. The following defendant-retrocessionaires are represented

by Bower & Gardner: Aegis Indemnity Ltd., Bakerlooe Insurance

Co., Ltd., Berda Developments Ltd., Brittany Insurance Co., Ltd.,

Centennial Assurance Co., Ltd., Conoplex Insurance Co., Ltd., .

Constantine Insurance Co., Ltd., Elco Insurance Co., Inc., Elwood

Insurance Co., Ltd., General Insurance Co., Ltd., Horizon Insurance

Co. Ltd., Riscott Insurance Ltd., Ross Insurance Ltd., Sperry

Insurance Co., Ltd., Three Rivers Insurance Co., Trochus Insurance

Company, Ltd., Twinsurance, Ltd., United Insurance Co., ver Bes’

Insurance Co., and Westburne Insurance Co., Ltd. Bower & Gardner

submitted a memorandum of law dated September 5, 1989 (“Bower

& Gardner Memorandum”) and a reply letter dated October 18, 1989

(“Bower & Gardner Reply”). Defendant-retrocessionaire Saturn

Insurance Co., Ltd., is represented by Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue,

who submitted a letter memorandum of law dated September 5, 1989

(“Jones, Day Memorandum”) and a reply letter dated October 13,

1989 (“Jones, Day Reply”). Defendant-retrocessionaire

Transnational Ltd. is represented by LeBoeuf, Lamb, Leiby &

MacRae, who submitted a letter memorandum of law dated October

13, 1989 (“LeBoeuf, Lamb Memorandum”) and a reply letter dated

(Cont’d)

3la

Appendix D

1) that the statute is inapplicable to disputes over reinsurance

treaties; 2) that even if the statute did apply to reinsurance,

plaintiff is not presently a “resident” of New York, and

therefore not entitled to invoke it; and 3) that the statute can

only apply to actions to determine the scope of an insurance

contract — that is, to coverage claims — not to an action

such as this one to determine the contract’s validity. In the

alternative, the retrocessionaires argue that the amount of

pre-answer security should be no more than that which would

be immediately payable to plaintiff upon a judgment in his

favor.

For the reasons set forth below, I find that the

retrocessionaires are required to post pre-answer security

pursuant to § 1213(c)(1). However, I find that the amount of

security should not exceed the retrocessionaires’

proportionate share of Delta Re’s paid losses — that is, the

amount that Delta Re’s ceding insurance companies have

reported as paid claims — minus the amount the Liquidator

has already drawn down on the letters of credit earlier

provided by the retrocessionaires.

(Cont’d)

May 1, 1990 (“LeBoeuf, Lamb Reply”). Defendant-retrocessionaire

Trafford Park Insurance, Ltd. is represented by Werbel McMillin &

Carnelutti and joined in the pending motion by a letter to the court

dated September 5, 1989.

Plaintiff submitted a memorandum of law dated October 2, 1989

(“Plaintiff's Memorandum”) and a sur-reply memorandum of law

dated May 1, 1990 (“Plaintiff's Sur-Reply”).

32a

Appendix D

BACKGROUND

On September 30, 1983, Delta Holdings, Inc. bought

Elkhorn Insurance Company (“Elkhorn”) from National

Distillers and Chemical Corporation (“Distillers”) for

$18 million.*® After its sale, Elkhorn was renamed Delta Re.

Delta Re was a reinsurance company organized under

the laws of Kentucky, with offices in Louisville, Kentucky

and New York City. Prior to insolvency proceedings in 1985,

Delta Re was licensed to conduct an insurance business in

New York and Kentucky. Delta Re and the retrocessionaires

entered into a one-year 40% Quota Share Treaty (“Treaty”)

effective January 1, 1984. This Treaty, actually twenty-four

separate agreements with the individual retrocessionaires,

was renewed effective January 1, 1985. In each case, the

Treaty was delivered to Delta Re in New York. Under the

Treaty, Delta Re ceded to each retrocessionaire a given

percentage of its risks, totalling 40 percent of Delta Re’s

business. Before Delta Re’s liquidation, the retrocessionaires

provided Delta Re with $5.3 million dollars in irrevocable

letters of credit, in compliance with Article X of the Treaty,

which gave Delta Re the night to request funding for “unearned

premiums and outstanding losses including, where appropriate,

an allowance for incurred but not reported losses * * *.”

5. In Delta Holdings, Inc. v. National Distillers and Chemical

Corp., 85 Civ. 3439 (April 10, 1990), Judge Keenan ordered the

rescission of the sale of Elkhorn because of Distillers’

misrepresentations and omissions regarding the true financial

condition of Elkhorn, which had been insolvent for some time prior

to the sale. Distillers, renamed Quantum Chemical Corporation, has

been joined as a third-party defendant in this action.

33a

Appendix D

On September 15, 1985, the Franklin, Kentucky Circuit

Court found Delta Re to be insolvent and appointed plaintiff

as Liquidator to supervise its dissolution. When the

retrocessionaires learned that Delta Re had been insolvent

as early as 1983, at the time it solicited their participation in

the 40% Quota Share Treaty, they notified the Liquidator of

their rescission of the Treaty, on the alternative grounds of

misrepresentation or mutual mistake of fact. The Liquidator

then demanded that the retrocessionaires post additional

letters of credit pursuant to Article X of the Treaty. The

retrocessionaires, who regarded the Treaty as void, refused

to do so. Prior to commencement of this action, the Liquidator

drew down the $5.3 million in letters of credit earlier

provided by the retrocessionaires and treated the cash —

today totalling over $6 million (including interest) — “as

assets of Delta Re.

The Liquidator commenced this action against Delta

Re’s retrocessionaires and against the management company

that operated Delta Re on May 2, 1989. The complaint alleges

that the retrocessionaires have refused to pay sums due Delta

Re under the Treaty and have indicated their refusal to pay

sums that may become due in the future. Complaint 4 55.

The Liquidator alleges that the Treaty is fully enforceable

and seeks a declaratory judgment of the parties’ rights and

obligations under it. Id. I 56, 58. The Liquidator further

seeks damages in the amount of the sums allegedly past due

under the Treaty, as well as an order requiring the

retrocessionaires to specifically perform their future payment

obligations under the Treaty. Id. 9 62. As against the

management company, the Liquidator seeks to recover the

same sums and all future “reinsurance recoverables” if the

34a

Appendix D

retrocessionaires are held not liable for them. Id. JJ 56,

66, 69.

Pursuant to N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(c)(1), plaintiff also

seeks an order directing the retrocessionaire defendants to

post a bond for $41,893,700, an amount consisting of three

components. Plaintiff's Memorandum at 3; Affidavit of

James E. Dickinson, dated September 28, 1989 (Dickinson

Aff.) The first component ($6,746,071), “paid losses,”

consists of claims that the ceding insurance companies have

reported as paid and for which the ceding companies await

indemnification from Delta Re. The second component

($12,672,729), “case reserves” or “outstanding loss

reserves,” are claims of loss received by the ceding

companies and reported to Delta Re, but not yet paid by the

ceding companies. The third component ($22,474,900),

“incurred but not reported losses” (IBNR), represents an

actuarial estimate of Delta Re’s liability for losses that have

occurred, but have not yet been reported as claims.

See Dickinson Aff. 9§ 7-8, 10; Bower & Gardner

Memorandum at 8; Jones, Day Memorandum at 13-14.

The Parties’ Contentions

The retrocessionaires argue that the statute does not

apply to disputes over reinsurance treaties. See Bower &

Gardner Memorandum at 11-14; Jones, Day Memorandum

at 6-10; LeBoeuf, Lamb Memorandum at 6-10. This

argument is based, in part, on the statement of legislative

intent contained in § 1213(a), which declares that the statute

was intended to aid residents holding “policies of insurance”

delivered in the state by unauthorized insurers, by making

35a

Appendix D

those insurers amenable to process in New York. N.Y.Ins.

Law § 1213(a). Reinsurance treaties, the retrocessionaires

assert, are not “policies of insurance,” but “contracts of

indemnity,” a category that the statute does not cover.

Moreover, the retrocessionaires contend, § 1213 was

intended as a “consumer” statute, designed to equalize the

balance of power between the small policyholder and the

large, sophisticated insurance company, not as a tool for an

experienced reinsurance company to gain a “tactical

advantage” over other reinsurers, with whom it stands on

equal footing. Bower & Gardner Memorandum at 10-11;

Jones, Day Memorandum at 8-10; LeBoeuf, Lamb

Memorandum at 3-4.

The retrocessionaires further argue that the Liquidator

is not entitled to invoke the pre-answer security requirement

of § 1213(c)(1) because Delta Re, which has not been

authorized to do business in New York for over four years,

is not presently a “resident” of New York. Bower & Gardner

Memorandum at 12-14; Bower & Gardner Reply at 1-5;

Jones, Day Reply at 3-4. Moreover, the retrocessionaires

claim that “simple authorization to do business” in New York

is insufficient for a foreign insured to invoke the statute;

rather, the foreign insured must actually be conducting

business in New York before it can seek pre-answer security.

On this basis, the retrocessionaires also suggest that

application of § 1213 to this action will violate their due

process rights. Bower & Gardner Reply at 4-5. As a policy

matter, the retrocessionaires point out the irony of allowing

a Kentucky liquidator to travel to a New York court and

invoke a security requirement intended to prevent New York

residents from having to resort to “distant forums” to enforce

36a

Appendix D

rights under their insurance policies.® Jones, Day

Memorandum at 10; see N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(a).

In addition, the retrocessionaires argue that § 1213(c)(1)

was intended to apply to coverage claims, that is, to disputes

over whether a given claim falls within the terms of a valid

insurance policy. Jones, Day Memorandum at 10-11; Jones,

Day Reply at 4. In this action, the retrocessionaires point

out, the validity of the reinsurance treaty itself is at issue.

They argue that it would be unfair to require them to tie up a

huge amount of assets — thereby giving the Liquidator undue

leverage — where, if they prevail, it will be found that the

Liquidator holds no enforceable rights against them at all.

6. The retrocessionaires suggest that the Liquidator’s motive

for bringing this suit in New York is to take advantage of the security

requirement of § 1213. They contend that Kentucky’s cognate

statute, Ky.Rev.Stat. § 304.11-040(7) (1987), exempts reinsurers

from posting pre-answer security. Bower & Gardner Reply at 2 &

n. 1; LeBoeuf, Lamb Memorandum at 6 & n. 3. It is not at all clear

that this is the case. Their argument is that because

§ 304.11-030(1)(b) allows reinsurers to transact business in

Kentucky without a certificate of authority, and because

§ 304.11-040(7) requires unauthorized insurers to post security or

procure a certificate of authority before filing a pleading in a court

action, reinsurers are not subject to the security requirement. On

the other hand, plaintiff insists that the retrocessionaires would be

subject to the pre-answer security requirement in Kentucky.

See Plaintiff's Memorandum at 5; Plaintiff's Sur-Reply at 18-19.

Moreover, at a conference before me on February 2, 1990, plaintiff

offered to bring this action in Kentucky if defendants would consent

to jurisdiction there; the Bower & Gardner defendants objected to

any such change of venue. In any event, because I find that § 1213

expressly applies to reinsurers, I need not consider the scope of

Kentucky’s cognate statute.

37a

Appendix D

Jones, Day Memorandum at 11. Moreover, the

retrocessionaires claim that the merit of their defense is Clear,

given Judge Keenan’s recent finding in Delta Holdings, Inc.

v. National Distillers and Chemical Corp., 85 Civ. 3439

(April 10, 1990), that Delta Re had been insolvent long before

it solicited the retrocessionaires’ participation in the Treaty.

See Letter of Thomas Newman, Esq. to Magistrate Roberts

dated April 18, 1990; Letter of William Primps, Esq. to

Magistrate Roberts dated April 19, 1990; see also Complaint

{ 45 (alleging that Delta Re “was technically insolvent as

early as 1982”).

Finally, defendant Transnational Limited points to

Regulation 98, N.Y.Comp.Codes R. & Regs. tit. 11,

§§ 32.0-32.4 (1982) (“Regulation 98”), promulgated by the

New York Superintendent of Insurance, which it claims

would be superfluous if § 1213(c)(1) were construed to apply

to reinsurers. LeBoeuf, Lamb Memorandum at 7. Regulation

98 requires reinsurance intermediaries — insurance agents

or brokers — to include in any reinsurance contracts with

unauthorized reinsurers a provision for the appointment of a

local attorney for service of process. N.Y.Comp.Codes R.

& Regs. tit. 11, § 32.1(e).

Plaintiff, on the other hand, makes several statutory

arguments to demonstrate that § 1213(c)(1) applies to

reinsurance treaties. First, plaintiff claims that the broad

statutory definitions of “contract of insurance” and “insurer”

contained in Article 11 of the New York Insurance Law

encompass contracts for reinsurance and reinsurers.

See Plaintiff's Sur-Reply at 5-6; N.Y.Ins.Law §§ 1101(a)(1),

107(27). Moreover, plaintiff points to N.Y.Ins.Law

38a

Appendix D

§ 1101(b)(2)(G), which states that § 1213 is applicable to

“transactions with respect to the reinsurance of risks of

authorized insurers * * *.” See Plaintiff's Sur-Reply at 7-8.

Plaintiff also notes that while N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(e)

specifically exempts certain classes of insurance, it does not

single out reinsurers for exemption. Id. at 8-9. Plaintiff

further contends that the presence of a comprehensive

consumer protection scheme in Article 31 of the New York

Insurance Law undercuts the retrocessionaires’ argument that

§ 1213 was intended as a consumer protection measure.

Plaintiff notes that Article 31 specifically exempts

reinsurance contracts (see N.Y.Ins.Law § 3108), an

indication that when the legislature wishes to exclude a class

of business from the reach of an insurance law, it does so

explicitly. Plaintiff's Sur-Reply at 9-10. In addition, plaintiff

refutes Transnational Limited’s argument that Regulation 98

is inconsistent with the application of § 1213 to reinsurers,

claiming that “Regulation 98 and § 1213 are simply different

ways of meeting the legislative objective of assuring the

accountability of foreign or alien insurers.” Id. at 11 n. 10.

Plaintiff also points out that Regulation 98 does not apply to

the Treaty at issue, which was arranged directly between

Delta Re and the retrocessionaires, not through reinsurance

intermediaries. Id.

Plaintiff asserts that Delta Re was authorized to do

business in New York when the Treaty was signed, did most

of its business here, and had all of its employees stationed

here, and is therefore a “resident” within the meaning of

§ 1213(b)(1). Plaintiff's Memorandum at 6. Moreover,

plaintiff argues that even if Delta Re was not a “resident” of

New York, § 1213 requires only that a corporation invoking

39a

Appendix D

the statute be “authorized to do business” in the state. Id. at

6-7. Plaintiff further contends that § 1213 is triggered when

an unauthorized insurer engages in any of the activities listed

in § 1213(b)(1 )(A)-(D), so that the Liquidator’s right to

invoke the security requirement is not affected by the fact

that Delta Re is no longer authorized to do business in New

York. Plaintiff's Sur-Reply at 13.

Finally, plaintiff claims that the retrocessionaires’

substantive defenses are irrelevant to the application of

1213(c)(1), since the statute requires security before the

defendant files any responsive pleading. Plaintiff’s

Sur-Reply at 16-17.

DISCUSSION

Section 1213 of the New York Insurance Law is

primarily a long-arm statute, derived from the Uniform

Unauthorized Insurers Act. The Statute addresses the

“concern that many residents of this state hold policies of

insurance issued or delivered in this state by insurers while

not authorized to do business in this State, thus presenting to

such residents the often insuperable obstacle of resorting to

distant forums for the purpose of asserting legal rights under

such policies.” N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(a). The principal purpose

of the statute, then, is to subject unauthorized foreign and

alien insurers’ who have transacted business in the state to

7. A “foreign insurer” is “any insurer incorporated or organized

under the laws of any state * * * other than [New York].”

N.Y.Ins.Law § 107(21) (McKinney 1985). An “alien insurer” is “any

insurer incorporated or organized under the laws of any foreign

nation * * *.” Id. § 107(5).

40a

Appendix D

the jurisdiction of the New York courts. The statute

accomplishes this purpose by declaring that certain activities

on the part of the foreign unauthorized insurer constitute the

appointment of the New York Superintendent of Insurance

as its attorney for service of process. Id. § 1213(b)(1). In

addition, the statute requires the unauthorized insurer, before

filing a pleading in a court action, to deposit money or file a

bond to insure a fund for the payment of any judgment

obtained in the action. Id. § 1213(c)(1)(A); see Dean

Construction Co. v. Agricultural Ins. Co., 42 Misc.2d 834,

835, 249 N.Y.S.2d 247, 248-49 (Sup.Ct. Nassau County

1964) (discussing statutory predecessor to § 1213). The

activities that bring the unauthorized insurer within the reach

of the statute are: “(A) the issuance or delivery of contracts

of insurance to residents of this state or to corporations

authorized to do business therein, (B) the solicitation of

applications for such contracts, (C) the collection of

premiums, membership fees, assessments or other

considerations for such contracts, or (D) any other transaction

of business.” N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(b)(1).

It is notable that Section 1213 falls within Article 12 of

the New York Insurance Law, entitled “Organization and

Corporate Procedure.” Section 1212 requires the appointment

of the Superintendent of Insurance as attorney for service of

process by authorized domestic, foreign, and alien insurers.

Section 1214 prohibits insurance agents or brokers from

procuring or soliciting policies or certificates of insurance

from foreign insurers who have not appointed the

Superintendent of Insurance as attorney for service of

process. Taken together, these provisions attempt to

guarantee that all insurers transacting business in the state

4la

Appendix D

— authorized and unauthorized — will appear in suits

brought against them in New York courts.

Section 1213 does not explicitly state that it applies to

unauthorized foreign or alien reinsurers; nor does the rather

Sparse case law construing the statute address this issue.

However, § 1101(b), the provision that defines what

constitutes “doing an insurance business,” appears to deal

with the question head-on. Section 1101(b)(2) provides:

Notwithstanding [the activities listed in

subsection (1) that constitute “doing an insurance

business”) the following acts or transactions, if

effected by mail from outside this state by an

unauthorized foreign or alien insurer duly licensed

to transact the business of insurance in and by

the laws of its domicile, shall not constitute doing

an insurance business in this State, but [§ 1213]

of this chapter shall nevertheless be applicable to

such insurers:

* * *

(G) transactions with respect to the reinsurance

of risks of authorized insurers to the extent that

such reinsurance is permitted by this chapter.

N.Y.Ins.Law § 1101(b)(2) (emphasis added).

Thus, although the legislature recognized that the

business of reinsurance was to be distinguished for some

Purposes from the business of insurance, it appears that it

42a

Appendix D

did not intend that unauthorized reinsurers be exempted from

New York’s long-arm statute and security requirement. The

only language in § 1213 itself that lends support to

defendants’ theory that the section does not apply to

reinsurers is the statement of legislative purpose, contained

in subsection (a), that the provision was enacted to protect

residents holding “policies of insurance.” While a reinsurance

treaty is arguably not a “policy of insurance” or even a

“contract of insurance,’ the contention that the legislature

therefore did not intend § 1213 to apply to reinsurance must

be rejected in light of the express language of

§ 1101(b)(2)(G).

8. Courts have recognized reinsurance as a distinct class of

insurance. See, e.g., Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. v. Gibbs, 773 F.2d 15,

18 (1st Cir.1985) (reinsurance contracts are distinct from contracts

“ ‘insuring against liability’ ”); Security Mutual Casualty Co. v.

Century Casualty Co., 531 F.2d 974, 977 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

429 U.S. 860 (1976) (“a reinsurance treaty is a contract for insurance,

not a contract or policy of insurance”); In re Liquidation of General

Indemnity Corp., 274 N.Y. 510, 511, 10 N.E.2d 523, 524 (1937)

(reinsureds are not “policyholders”); 19 Couch on Insurance 2d

§ 80.1, at 624 (rev. ed 1983) (“As a general rule, a reinsurance treaty

is an indemnity contract as opposed to one for liability.”). The

principal significance of this distinction appears to be that “[i]n

contrast to an insurer’s obligation to pay and defend against its

insured’s liability whether or not the insured has paid injured third

parties, the reinsuer’s liability is conditioned upon the insurer’s prior

payment of loss.” Skandia American Reinsurance Corp. v. Schenck,

441 F.Supp. 715, 724 (S.D.N.Y.1977). Consequently, the insured

is not considered a third-party beneficiary of the reinsurance treaty,

and cannot recover against the reinsurer, even if the insurer becomes

insolvent. Id.; see 13A J. Appleman & J. Appleman, supra, § 7695,

at 537-38.

43a

Appendix D

Turning to the question of who may invoke § 1213, the

statute extends its protections to “residents of this state or to

corporations authorized to do business therein.” N.Y.Ins.Law

§ 1213(b)(1)(A). In Clifton Products, Inc. v. American

Universal Ins. Co., 169 F.Supp. 842 (S.D.N.Y.1959), the

court found that the plaintiff, an Ohio corporation, could not

obtain jurisdiction in New York over the defendant, a Rhode

Island insurance company that had delivered a policy to the

plaintiff in Ohio. The plaintiff's only apparent contact with

New York was that it had employed a New York insurance

broker to place the risk. In holding that the statutory

predecessor to § 1213 did not apply to nonresident plaintiffs,

the court noted that the statute “protects only New York

residents in suits based on policies delivered to them in this

state.” Id. at 845.

In Aero Associates, Inc. v. La Metropolitana, 183

F.Supp. 357 (S.D.N.Y.1960), the court permitted the

plaintiff, a New York corporation acting as manager for three

authorized foreign insurance companies, to invoke the

Statutory predecessor to § 1213 to obtain personal jurisdiction

over a group of Latin American reinsurers, who had delivered

a contract for reinsurance, through their New York broker,

to the plaintiff in New York. The court observed: “Certain

it is that the primary objective of the legislation was to protect

New York residents but the statute went further and

encompassed those corporations authorized to do business

in New York.” Id. at 359. The court found that its assumption

of jurisdiction over the defendants was consistent with due

9. I note that the defendant-reinsurers in Aero Associates did

not raise the objection that the Statutory predecessor to § 1213 was

inapplicable to reinsurers.

44a

Appendix D

process and that, indeed, the statute “contemplated such

jurisdiction in favor of foreign corporations licensed to

conduct business in this state.”!° Id. at 360. The court noted

that its holding was not in conflict with Clifton Products,

decided one year earlier. Id.

In G.C. Murphy Co. v. Reserve Ins. Co., 101 Misc.2d

729, 421 N.Y.S.2d 1006 (Sup.Ct. N.Y.County 1979),

modified on other grounds, 74 A.D.2d 235, 427 N.Y.S.2d

800 (1st Dep’t 1980), the court held that the plaintiff, a

Delaware corporation authorized to do business in New York,

was entitled to the protection of the statutory predecessor to

§ i213, including the filing of a bond, in a suit against an

unauthorized Illinois insurance company that had delivered

a policy to the plaintiff in New York. The court observed

that

a foreign corporation licensed to do business in

the State and doing business in the State is a

“resident” within the meaning of such statute; and,

it would undoubtedly be a violation of [the

plaintiff’s] rights under the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution to

be afforded less protection under law than is

10. The retrocessionaires attempt to distinguish Aero

Associates on the ground that the plaintiff was actually a New York

corporation, acting for the benefit of three foreign corporations.

See Bower & Gardner Reply at 3-4. However, the court’s language

indicates that its holding turned on the fact the statute expressly

applied to foreign corporations authorized to do business in

New York.

45a

Appendix D

provided to New York citizens when it is present

in this jurisdiction and doing business here.

Id. at 733, 421 N.Y.S.2d at 1009,

Based on these cases, | reject the retrocessionaires’

argument that the Liquidator, as a nonresident plaintiff, is

not entitled to invoke the bonding requirement of

§ 1213(c)(1). As an initial matter, it is clear that the statute

extends its protections to “corporations authorized to do

business” in New York. N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(b)(1)(A).

Defendants’ contention that G.C. Murphy introduces a

two-pronged test which a plaintiff must satisfy to fall within

the purview of the statute is simply inaccurate. Under the

facts of that case, the plaintiff was present and doing business

in New York; the court found that the statute required nothing

more. As to whether a foreign corporation that is merely

authorized to do business in New York may invoke the

Statute, Aero Associates and the express language of the

statute indicate that it may do so.

I agree with plaintiff that the fact that Delta Re has not

been authorized to do business and has not done business in

New York since it was declared insolvent in 1985 is irrelevant

to the court’s exercise of jurisdiction over defendants in this

action. When the retrocessionaires executed and delivered

the Treaty to Delta Re in New York, Delta Re was present in

New York and authorized to do business here. It is the

transaction out of which this action arose that triggers the

court’s jurisdiction under § 1213(b)(1), not the status of the

plaintiff at the time the action was commenced.

46a

Appendix D

Moreover, I reject the retrocessionaires’ contention,

relying on dictum in Clifton Products, that the application

of § 1213 to this action denies them constitutional due

process. Although at first glance it appears anomalous for a

Kentucky liquidator to bring an action on behalf of an

insolvent Kentucky reinsurance company against alien and

foreign reinsurers in a New York court, plaintiff's motive

for bringing the action here seems clear: the action arises

out of business allegedly transacted in New York and it is

unlikely that plaintiff will be able to obtain personal

jurisdiction over the majority of the retrocessionaires in any

other forum.

Finally, turning to the retrocessionaires’ argument that

the security requirement of § 1213(c)(1) was not intended to

apply to actions where the validity of the contract is

challenged, the language and structure of the statute do not

support this theory. The statute requires that security be

posted before any responsive pleading is filed. Thus,

defendants’ defenses, no matter how meritorious, have no

bearing on the security requirement. In fact, § 1213(c)(3)

specifically sets out the only pertinent pre-answer defense

— an unauthorized foreign or alien insurer may make a

motion to set aside service on the ground that it did not

engage in any of the activities listed under § 1213(b).

As to the amount of security required, I agree with

defendants that the security should be for the amount that

plaintiff would win as monetary damages, were this case

decided in his favor. If plaintiff prevails in this lawsuit, at

best he would be entitled to a declaratory judgment that the

Treaty is fully enforceable (Complaint 4 58); a decree of

47a

Appendix D

specific performance, which would require the

retrocessionaires to post letters of credit to secure future

payment of claims against Delta Re as they mature

(Complaint ¥ 62); payment of the “reinsurance recoverables”

due Delta Re, plus interest from the date they became due

(Complaint 4 62); and attorney’s fees under N.Y.Ins.Law

§ 1213(d).

Plaintiff seeks, as part of the $41,893,700 bond,

$12,672,729 in case reserves and $22,474,900 in IBNR.

Neither of these components represents fully matured claims.

In fact, in an affidavit submitted by plaintiff, James

Dickinson, Assistant to the Special Deputy of Delta Re,

describes the case reserves as “the estimated losses payable

that accrue from reported unpaid claims,” and the IBNR as

“the current liquidation estate’s estimated liability for losses

that have occurred but have not yet been reported.” Dickinson

Aff. at {J 7, 8 (emphasis added). No matter how accurate

these estimates may be, they remain estimates until Delta

Re’s ceding insurance companies have actually paid out the

claims, thus reducing them to a fixed amount of paid losses.

It is precisely because the case reserves and IBNR are

estimates of sums that the retrocessionaires will allegedly

owe in the future that plaintiff was constrained to request

the relief of specific performance; if the Treaty is upheld,

the retrocessionaires would not be required to pay these sums

to the Liquidator, but rather they would be required, under

Article X, to post of letters of credit. Moreover, I strongly

suspect that the retrocessionaires would challenge the amount

of security requested by the Liquidator and that the issue

would have to be submitted to arbitration under Article XV

of the Treaty.

48a

Appendix D

I therefore find that the case reserves and IBNR —

representing approximately $35,000,000 of the security

requested by plaintiff — are not appropriate components of

a bond “to secure payment of any final judgment which may

be rendered” in this action. N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(c)(1)

(emphasis added). The language of the statute does not

contemplate the posting of a bond to secure the unauthorized

insurer’s future performance of a contract of insurance.

See Dean Construction Co., 42 Misc.2d at 835, 249 N.Y.S.2d

at 248-49 (purpose of the security requirement is “to insure

a fund for the payment of any judgment”). The remainder of

the security requested by plaintiff — approximately

$7,000,000 in paid losses, that is, claims that Delta Re’s

ceding companies have actually paid — appears to be the

amount that the retrocessionaires would be required to pay

to the Liquidator as monetary damages if he prevails in this

action and is thus the appropriate measure of security under

§ 1213(c)(1).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the retrocessionaires’ motion

to be to be relieved of the requirement of posting pre-answer

security pursuant to N.Y.Ins.Law § 1213(c)(1) is denied.

I find that § 1213 requires the retrocessionaires to post

security in an amount that reflects Delta Re’s paid losses,

that is, the amount that they would be required to pay as

monetary damages should plaintiff prevail in this lawsuit."

In addition, for purposes of determining the amount of

11. Plaintiff may apply for an increase in the amount of security

as the amount of Delta Re’s paid losses increases.

49a

Appendix D

security, the amount that the Liquidator has already drawn

down on the letters of credit posted by the retrocessionaires

should be applied against Delta Re’s paid losses.

The parties are directed to attempt to stipulate to the

exact amount of security that must be posted by each

defendant pursuant to this Opinion and Order no later than

August 17, 1990. In the event the parties are unable to agree

- On these amounts, they are directed to schedule a conference

to be held before me no later than August 31, 1990.

SO ORDERED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.