Appendix Vol II — Louisiana Department of Natural Resources v. Avenal

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

t — Supreme Court, U.S.

(S/) FILED

No 00 456 SEP 20200

Jn the |

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

STATE OF LOUISIANA,

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Petitioner

VERSUS

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., CLARENCE R. DUPLESSIS,

KENNETH A. FOX, FOX OYSTER COMPANY, AND

NICK L. SKANSI

Respondents

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA

and

LOUISIANA COURT OF APPEAL FOR THE

FOURTH CIRCUIT

APPENDIX VOLUME II

Appendix I - Appendix M

JAMES G. BURKE, JR.

Counsel of Record

ANDREW C. WILSON

DAVID L. CARRIGEE

JEDD S. MALISH

Burke & Mayer

~ 1100 Poydras St., Suite 2000

New Orleans, LA 70163

Telephone: (504) 569-2900

Counsel for Petitioner

GRE CR SRNR A NERS CATT TR TR cee ret ima

Riverside Printing, L.L.C., 4939 Tchoupitoulas, N. O., LA 70115, (504) 897-5000

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

A-93

APPENDIX I

U.S.C.A. Const. Art. VI cl. 2

Clause 2. Supreme Law of Land

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which

shall be made in Pursuance thereof: and all Treaties made, or

which shall be made, under the Authority of the United

States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges

in every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the

Constitution or Laws of any State to the Contrary notwith-

standing.

A-94

APPENDIX J

IN THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ANTHONY

BARTHELEMY, CHRIS. P. BARTHELEMY,

GARY BARTHELEMY, NEAL BESHEL,

ANNA BUTSCHER BURAS, ANNA BESSIE

BODDEN BURAS, NEAL BURAS, RALPH

-BURAS, RALPH J. BURAS, JR., RICHARD

BURAS, DONALD J. CAMPO, DONALD

J. CAMPO, JR., DONALD P. CAMPO, ERNEST

CAMPO, MATHILDA GUERRA CAMPO,

ESTATE OF TONY CAMPO, ANNA

CIBILICH, PERO CIBILIC, RICHARD H.

CLARK, CLEAR WATER OYSTERS,

CRESCENT OYSTERS, INC., IRVIN

CROSS, ESTATE OF JOSEPH CROSS,

MELVIN CROSS, CLARENCE R.

DUPLESSIS, CLARENCE R. DUPLESSIS, JR.

ARTHUR ENCALADE, CARLISS J.

ENCALADE, ESTATE OF JOSEPH

ENCALADE, STANLEY ENCALADE, ENCADE

SEAFOOD, INC., M.J. FARAC, JR., MAJA

FARAC, SINAJKA FARAC, DANIEL R.

FERNANDEZ, ANN P. FOX, CALVIN R.

FOX, CALVIN R. FOX, DALE E. FOX,

KENNETH A. FOX, KENNETH RYAN

FOX, MARIE 0. FOX, RACHEL FOX,

RHONDA FOX, RODNEY FOX, JR.,

RODNEY L. FOX, ROSS LOUIS FOX,

FOX INDUSTRIES, FOX OYSTER CO., |

INC., FOX SEAFOODS, INC., ESTATE

OF M.J. FRANICEVICH, ESTATE OF

* * 2 * * * * * * * + * \* a * + + aa a + * . + + * * + *

A-95

FRANK GANIER, GULF INC.,

MICHAEL GUTTUSO, ABRAHAM

HARNESS, MORRIS HARVEY,

NATHAN G. HARVEY, HOWARD HINGLE,

LAURIE A. DUPLESSIS HOLIDAY,

HERMAN ISADORE, JR., J & P

OYSTERS, INC., ESTATE OF MAYO P.

JONES, JR., ROBERT N. KEENAN,

DONALD J. KENNAIR, JR., RALPH

KIEFF, RALPH J. KIEFF, JR.,

JOSEPH LABRUZZO, ARTHUR L.

LAFRANCE, JOEY G. LATAPIE,

CLIFFORD LEBOUEF, JEAN LEBOUEF,

LINDY LEBOUEF, LORNE LEBOUEF,

ANTE LEPETICH, NATO LEPETICH,

JOHN MARTINEZ, MEDERIC R. MEYER,

MATTHEW DAVID MEYERS, MITCHEL

MEYERS, ALLAN C. MOLERO, JR.,

JANET MOLERO, JR., ELENORA NOOK,

CLADMON NARCISSE, FELIX NARCISSE,

OLIVER B. NARCISSE, NICOLAE

NITICA, OYSTER FISHERIES, INC.,

CURT PANNAGL, PATTI PANNAGL,

RICHARD PATTERSON, PEAN, INC.,

JOSID PIACUN, MARINKO PIACUN,

PASKO PIACUN, ANTON N. POPICH,

ARTHUR A. REDDICK, JR., ARTHUR A.

REDDICK, KEVIN JOSEPH REDDICK,

JOHN DWIGHT RILEY, VAN ROBIN,

ADAM SERIGNE, LIONEL R. SERIGNE,

O’NIEL N. SERIGNE, PHILLIP H.

SIMMONS, HELEN T. SKANSI, NICK L.

SKANSI, FRANK SLAVICH, JR., TACO,

INC., ANN S. TESVICH, FRANCES LYNN

TESVICH, IVO A. TESVICH, JOHN A.

A-96

TESVICH, KUZMA

TESVICH, LISA K. TESVICH, MARIA

TESVICH, NEDO TESVICH,

PETER J. TESVICH, PETER L. TESVICH,

TESVICH OYSTERS, INC., CHARLIE

THOMPSON, STEVE THOMPSON, JOSEPH

TINSON, TINSON SEAFOOD COMPANY,

NIKOLA ANTE VEKIC AND

NIKOLA ZARAK

Plaintiffs

VERSUS

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

* + © * * * * * * + + + + * * o

Defendant fi

EKKKKEAKKKKKKAKEKAKKKAKKKEKKAKEKHKKKAKKKKKKKKKKKEKKSE

COMPLAINT — CLASS ACTION

No. 94-261 L

Filed Apr 26, 1994

COMPLAINT ee

NOW INTO COURT, through undersigned counsel,

come plaintiffs, ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ANTHONY

BARTHELEMY, CHRIS P. BARTHELEMY, GARY

BARTHELEMY, NEAL BESHEL, ANNA BUTSCHER

BURAS, ANNA BESSIE BODDEN BURAS, NEAL

BURAS, RALPH J. BURAS, RALPH J. BURAS, JR.,

RICHARD BURAS, DONALD J. CAMPO, DONALD J.

CAMPO, JR., DONALD P. CAMPO, ERNEST CAMPO,

MATHILDA GUERRA CAMPO, ESTATE OF TONY

CAMPO, ANNA CIBILICH, PERO CIBILIC, RICHARD

H. CLARK, CLEAR WATER, OYSTERS, INC.,

}

j

A-97

CRESCENT OYSTERS, INC., IRVIN CROSS, ESTATE OF

JOSEPH CROSS, MELVIN CROSS, CLARENCE-R. DUP-

LESSIS, CLARENCE R. DUPLESSIS, JR., ARTHUR

ENCALADE, CARLISS J. ENCALADE, ESTATE OF

JOSPEH ENCALADE, STANLEY ENCALADE,

ENCALADE SEAFOOD, INC., M.J. FARAC, M.J. FARAC,

JR., MAJA FARAC, SINAJKA FARAC, DANIEL R. FER-

NANDEZ, ANN P. FOX, CALVIN R. FOX, CALVIN R.

FOX, JR., DALE E. FOX, GENE L. FOX, JUSTIN RYAN

FOX, KENNETH A. FOX, KENNETH RYAN FOX, MARIE

0. FOX, RACHEL FOX, RHONDA FOX, RODNEY FOX,

JR., RODNEY L. FOX, ROSS LOUIS FOX, FOX INDUS-

TRIES, FOX OYSTER CO., INC., FOX SEAFOODS, INC.,

ESTATE OF M.J. FRANICEVICH, ESTATE OF FRANK

GANIER, GULF QUALITY, INC., MICHAEL GUTTUSO,

ABRAHAM J. HARNESS, MORRIS HARVEY, NATHAN

G. HARVEY, HOWARD HINGLE, LAURIE A. DUP-

LESSIS HOLIDAY, HERMAN ISADORE, JR., J & P OYS-

TERS, INC., ESTATE OF MAYO P. JONES-JR ROBERT

M. KEENAN, DONALD J. KENNAIR, JR., RALPH

J.KIEFF, RALPH J. KIEFF, JR., JOSEPH LABRUZZO,

ARTHUR L. LAFRANCE, JOEY G. LATAPIE, CLIFFORD

LEBOUEF, JEAN LEBOUEF, LINDY LEBOUEF, LORNE

LEBOUEF, ANTE LEPETICH, MATO LEPETICH, JOHN

MARTINEZ, MEDERIC R. MEYER, MATTHEW DAVID

MEYERS, MITCHEL MEYERS, ALLAN C. MOLERO,

JR., JANET MOLERO, ELENORA MOOK, CLADMON

NARCISSE, FELIX NARCISSE, OLIVER B. NARCISSE,

NICOLAE NITICA, OYSTER FIS HERIES, INC., CURT

PANNAGL, PATTI PANNAGL, RICHARD PATTERSON,

PEAN, INC., JOSIP PIACUN, MARINKO PIACUN,

PASKO PIACUN, ANTON N. POPICH, ARTHUR A.

REDDICK, JR. , ARTHUR A. REDDICK, KEVIN

JOSEPH REDDICK, JOHN DWIGHT

~ A-98

RILEY, VAN ROBIN, ADAM R. SERIGNE, LIONEL R.

SERIGNE, O'NIEL N. SERIGNE, PHILLIP H. SIMMONS,

HELEN T. SKANSI, NICK L. SKANSI, FRANK

SLAVICH, JR., TACO, INC., ANN S. TESVICH,

FRANCES LYNN TESVICH, IVO A. TESVICH, JOHN A.

TESVICH, KUZMA I. TESVICH, JR., ESTATE OF

KUZMA J. TESVICH, LISA K. TESVICH, MARIA

TESVICH, NEDO TESVICH, PETER J. TESVICH, PETER

L. TESVICH, TESVICH OYSTERS, INC., CHARLIE

THOMPSON, STEVE FHOMPSON, JOSEPH TINSON,

TINSON SEAFOOD COMPANY, NIKOLA ANTE VEKIC

AND NIKOLA ZARAK, for themselves and all other mem-

bers of the class hereinafter described, who allege as follows:

JURISDICTION

l.

This Court has jurisdiction to hear this matter pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. 1491, et seq., and the Fifth Amendment of

the United States Constitution which prohibits the taking of

private property without just compensation.

PLAINTIFFS AND PROPOSED Si

CLASS REPRESENTATIVES

‘a

The named plaintiffs and proposed class representa-

tives, and all other members of the class- hereinafter

described, are residents of the State of Louisiana.

DEFENDANT

>.

Made defendant herein is the United States of

A-99

~ America through its agencies including but not necessarily

limited to the United States Army Corps of Engineers.

FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

4.

In or about the Spring of 1988, defendant, through the

United States Army Corps of Engineers, commenced con-

struction of the Caernarvon Freshwater Diversion Project, as

authorized on October 27, 1965 , by Public Law 89-298, of

the Eighty-ninth Congress, First Session. Construction of the

Caernarvon structure was completed in or about the Fall of

1991.

5.

The stated purposes Caernarvon Project not limited

to, the enhancement of emergent marsh vegetation growth

and the reduction of marsh loss. The United States Army

Corps of Engineers attempts to achieve this stated goal by

allowing fresh water from the Mississippi River to flow

through the Caernarvon structure into the salt water areas.

6.

When the freshwater diverted from the Mississippi

reaches the waterbottoms leased by plaintiffs from the State

of Louisiana, it dilutes the sa linity of the waters and deposits

silt on the waterbottoms. As a direct result of the dilution of

the salinity of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are locat-

ed, as well as, the increased vegetation- and bacteria on or

near the water bo;ttoms wherein plaintiffs' Leases are locat-

ed, and the silt deposits, the productivity of plaintiffs' leases

ag

A-100

has been and is being destroyed, as the altered conditions of

the waters wherein plaintiffs” leases are located make plain-

tiffs’ leases no longer capable of oyster growth and cultiva-

tion.

z

The hereinabove described actions of defendant have

resulted in a permanent and substantial interference with

plaintiffs’ use and enjoyment of their land amounting to a

taking of an interest in plaintiffs' valuable property rights

without compensation in violation of the Fifth Amendment

of the United States Constitution.

6.

Defendant has not instituted any condemnation pro-

ceeding to acquire all or any part of plaintiffs' land, nor has

defendant paid or offered to pay to plaintiffs any amount for

the damages inflicted upon their oyster leases.

THE CLASS ‘

9. ea

This action is brought and may properly be main-

tained as a class action pursuant to provisions of Rule 23 of

the Rules of the United States Court of Federal claims.

Plaintiffs bring this action on behalf of themselves and all

others similarly situated as representative members of the

following proposed class:

All individuals, partnerships, corporations, etc, own-

ing oyster farming leases in the State of Louisiana which

leasehold interests were destroyed or otherwise adversely

affected by the actions of /the United~ States

f

;

/

A-101

government known as the Caernarvon Freshwater Diversion

Project, as more fully explained below.

NUMEROSITY

10.

The proposed class is so numerous that the individual

joinder of all of its members is impracticable. The exact

number of members of the class is not known, but it estimat-

ed that there are not less than ONE THOUSAND (1,000).

members.

COMMON QUESTIONS OF LAW AND FACT

1].

There are common questions of law and fact in the

action that relate to and affect the rights of each member of

the class and the relief sought is common to the entire class,

namely, whether the destruction of plaintiffs’ oyster leases

constitutes a compensable taking within the meaning of the

Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

TYPICALITY OF CLAIMS

12.

Plaintiffs’ claims are typical of the claims of the

members of the class. Plaintiffs and all- members of the class

sustained a loss of property arising out of defendant's con-

duct as explained herein.

FAIR AND ADEQUATE REPRESENTATION

13.

Plaintiffs will fairly and adequately protect the interests of

the members of the class. They have retained attorneys

A-102

experienced and capable in class action and in litigation of

oyster damage claims. There is no conflict between any indi-

vidual named plaintiff and other members of the class with

respect to this action, or with respect to the claims for relief

set forth herein.

RISK OF VARYING ADJUDICATIONS

14.

This action is properly maintained as a class action in

that the prosecution of separate actions by individual mem-

bers of the class would create a risk of varying adjudications

with respect to individual members of the class which as a.

practical matter would be dispositive of the interests of the

other members not parties to the adjudications, or would sub-

stantially impair or impede their ability to protect their inter-

est.

GOVERNMENT HAS ACTED ON GROUNDS

GENERALLY APPLICABLE TO CLASS

15.

The United States has acted or refused to act, as

alleged mor specifically below, on grounds which are gener-

ally applicable to the entire class.

SUPERIORITY OF PROCEEDING

AS A CLASS ACTION

16.

A class action is superior to other available methods

for the fair and efficient adjudication of this litigation, since

individual joinder of' all members is impracticable. Even if

class members could afford individual litigation, it would

be unduly burdensome to the Courts in which the

CL

errr

A-103

individual litigation would proceed. Individual litigation in

this matter would magnify the delay and expense to all par-

ties in the court system. The class action device presents

fewer management difficulties and provides the benefit of

unitary adjudication, economy of scale and comprehensive

supervision by a single court.

RELIEF SOUGHT

17.

Plaintiffs request a judgment of this court in their

favor and against defendant as follows:

a. That in due course this matter be certified as a class

action with an "opt-out" designation; ©

b. For damages as occasioned by the loss in future prof-

its from the sale of oysters from plaintiffs' leases;

a For damages as occasioned by the loss of past invest-

ment in their leasehold interests;

d. For legal interest on all amounts due from the date of

the taking until paid;

e. For recovery of plaintiffs' reasonable costs, disbursements,

and expenses, including attorneys’ fees, damage appraisals,

and expert fees actually incurred because of this proceeding,

in accordance with 28 U.S.C. 1.491 and 42 U.S.C. 4654; and,

f. For all general and equitable relief

A-104

Respectfully submitted,

ST. MARTIN, LIRETTE, SHEA,

WATKINS & MCNABB, APLC

/s/ Michael St. Marti

MICHAEL ST. MARTIN

CAROLYN A. MCNABB

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

3373 Little Bayou Black Road

Houma, Louisiana 70:361-2017

Telephone (504)876-31391

Signed this 22nd day of April, 1994

PLEASE SERVE THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

THROUGH DELIVERY TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

IN ACCORDANCE WITH RUSCFC 4

A-105

APPENDIX K

25TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE PARISH OF PLAQUEMINES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

NO. 38-266 DIVISION B

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ANTHONY BARTHELEMY,

CHRIS P. BARTHELEMY, GARY BARTHELEMY, ANNA

BUTSCHER BURAS, ANNA BESSIE BODDEN BURAS,

NEAL BURAS, RALPH J. BURAS, RALPH J. BURAS JR.,

RICHARD BURAS, DONALD J. CAMPO JR., DONALD P.

CAMPO, ERNEST CAMPO, MATHILDA GUERRA

CAMPO, ESTATE OF TONY CAMPO, ANNA CIBILICH,

PERO CIBILICH, RICHARD H. CLARK, CRESCENT

OYSTER, INC., IRVIN CROSS, ESTATE OF JOSEPH

CROSS, MELVIN CROSS, CLARENCE R. DUPLESSIS,

CLARENCE R. DUPLESSIS, JR., ARTHUR ENCALADE,

CARLISS J. ENCALADE, ESTATE OF JOSEPH

ENCALADE, STANLEY ENCALADE, ENCALADE

SEAFOOD, INC., M.J. FARAC, M.J. FARAC, JR., MAJA

FARAC, SINAJKA FARAC, ANN P. FOX, CALVIN R.

FOX, CALVIN R. FOX, JR., DALE. E. FOX, GENE L. FOX,

JUSTIN RYAN FOX, KENNETH A. FOX, KENNETH

RYAN FOX, MARIE O. FOX, RACHEL FOX, RHONDA

FOX, RODNEY FOX, JR., RODNEY L. F OX, ROSS LOUIS

FOX,

FOX INDUSTRIES, FOX OYSTER CO., INC., FOX

SEAFOODS, INC., ESTATE OF M. J. FRANICEVICH,

ESTATE OF, FRANK GANIER, ABRAHAM J. HARNESS,

NATHAN G. HARVEY, LAURIE A. DUPLESSIS HOLI-

DAY, HERMAN ISADORE, JR., J & P OYSTERS, INC.,

A-106

ESTATE OF MAYO P. JONES, JR., ROBERT M.

KEENAN, DONALD J. KENNAIR, JR., JOSEPH

LABRUZZO, ARTHUR L. LAFRANCE, JOEY G. LAT-

~ APIE, CLIFFORD LEBOUEF, JEAN LEBOUEF, LINDY

LEBOUEF, LORNE LEBOUEF, ANTE LEPETICH, MATO

LEPETICH, JOHN MARTINEZ, MEDERIC R. MEYER,

MATTHEW DAVID MEYERS, MITCHEL MEYERS,

CLADMON NARCISSE, FELIX NARCISSE, OLIVER B.

NARCISSE, NICOLAE NITICA, RICHARD PATTERSON,

PEAN, INC., IVO N. POPICH, ANTON N. POPICH,

ARTHUR A. REDDICK, ADAM R. SERIGNE, LIONEL R.

SERIGNE, O'NIEL N. SERIGNE, PHILLIP H. SIMMONS,

HELEN T. SKANSI, NICK L. SKANSI, FRANK

SLAVICH, JR., TACO, INC., ANN S. TESVICH,

FRANCES LYNN TESVICH, [VO A. TESVICH, JOHN A.

TESVICH, KUZMA I. TESVICH, JR., ESTATE OF

KUZMA J. TESVICH, LISA K. TESVICH, MARIA

TESVICH, NEDO TESVICH, PETER J. TESVICH, PETER

L. TESVICH, TESVICH OYSTERS, INC., CHARLIE

THOMPSON, STEVE THOMPSON, JOSEPH TINSON,

AND NIKOLA ANTE VEKIC

VERSUS

THE STATE OF LOUISIANA ~

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

PETITION FOR DAMAGES - CLASS ACTION

FILED March 29, 1994

NOW INTO COURT, through undersigned counsel, -

come plaintiffs, who respectfully represent:

I.

Plaintiffs, ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ANTHONY

BARTHELEMY CHRIS P. BARTHELEMY, GARY

TAEDA ACM MRI RL

A-107

BARTHELEMY, ANNA BUTSCHER BURAS, ANNA

BESSIE BODDEN BURAS, NEAL BURAS, RALPH J.

BURAS, RALPH J. BURAS JR., RICHARD BURAS,

DONALD J. CAMPO JR., DONALD P. CAMPO, ERNEST

CAMPO, MATHILDA GUERRA CAMPO, ESTATE OF

TONY CAMPO, ANNA CIBILICH, PERO CIBILICH,

RICHARD H. CLARK, CRESCENT OYSTER, INC.,

IRVIN CROSS, ESTATE OF JOSEPH CROSS, MELVIN

CROSS, CLARENCE R. DUPLESSIS, CLARENCE R.

DUPLESSIS, JR., ARTHUR ENCALADE, CARLISS J.

ENCALADE, ESTATE OF JOSEPH ENCALADE, STAN-

LEY ENCALADE, ENCALADE SEAFOOD, INC., M.J.

FARAC, M.J. FARAC, JR., MAJA FARAC, SINAJKA

FARAC, ANN P. FOX, CALVIN R. FOX, CALVIN R.

FOX, JR., DALE. E. FOX, GENE L. FOX, JUSTIN RYAN

FOX, KENNETH A. FOX, KENNETH RYAN FOX,

MARIE O. FOX, RACHEL FOX, RHONDA FOX, ROD- |

NEY FOX, JR., RODNEY L. FOX, ROSS LOUIS FOX,

FOX INDUSTRIES, FOX OYSTER CO., INC., FOX

SEAFOODS, INC., ESTATE OF M. J. FRANICEVICH,

ESTATE OF, FRANK GANIER, ABRAHAM J. HARNESS,

NATHAN G. HARVEY, LAURIE A. DUPLESSIS HOLI-

DAY, HERMAN ISADORE, JR., J & P OYSTERS, INC.,

ESTATE OF MAYO P. JONES, JR., ROBERT M.

KEENAN, DONALD J. KENNAIR, JR., JOSEPH

LABRUZZO, ARTHUR L. LAFRANCE, JOEY G. LAT-

APIE, CLIFFORD LEBOUEF, JEAN LEBOUEF, LINDY

LEBOUEF, LORNE LEBOUEF, ANTE LEPETICH, MATO

LEPETICH, JOHN MARTINEZ, MEDERIC R. MEYER,

MATTHEW DAVID MEYERS, MITCHEL MEYERS,

CLADMON NARCISSE, FELIX NARCISSE, OLIVER B.

NARCISSE, NICOLAE NITICA, RICHARD PATTERSON,

PEAN, INC., IVO N. POPICH, ANTON N. POPICH,

ARTHUR A. REDDICK, ADAM R. SERIGNE, LIONEL

A-108

R. SERIGNE, O'NIEL N. SERIGNE, PHILLIP H. SIM-

MONS, HELEN T. SKANSI, NICK L. SKANSI, FRANK

SLAVICH, JR., TACO, INC., ANN S. TESVICH,

FRANCES LYNN TESVICH, IVO A. TESVICH, JOHN A.

TESVICH, KUZMA I. TESVICH, JR., ESTATE OF

KUZMA J. TESVICH, LISA K. TESVICH, MARIA

TESVICH, NEDO TESVICH, PETER J. TESVICH, PETER

L. TESVICH, TESVICH OYSTERS, INC., CHARLIE

THOMPSON, STEVE THOMPSON, JOSEPH TINSON,

AND NIKOLA ANTE VEKIC, all residents of or conducting

business in Plaquemines and St. Bernard Parishes, bring this

action on their own behalf and on behalf of others similarly

situated in the respects described below.

Il.

This is a class action brought pursuant to La.C.C.P.

art. 591 et. seq., on behalf of all individuals, partnerships,

corporations and entities that currently own or have owned

oyster leases located within the parishes of Plaquemines and

St. Bernard that have been damaged as a result of the actions

of the State of Louisiana, acting by and through the

Department of Natural Resources, in diverting fresh water

from the Mississippi River through the Caernarvon

Freshwater Diversion Project into these areas where plain-

tiffs’ oyster leases are located. The freshwater diversion

resulted in lowered salinity levels and a consequent profu-

sion of certain vegetation in the affected areas, killing the

then-extant oysters and rendering the beds unquitable for fur-

ther cultivation. Plaintiffs seek to recover compensation for

the destruction of their leasehold interest which were appro-

priated for public use by the State of Louisiana through the

actions of the Department of Natural Resources.

A-109

IIT.

Made defendants herein are the State of Louisiana

and the Department of Natural Resources.

IV.

The State of Louisiana, acting through the

Department of Natural Resources, and in conjunction with

the United States Army Corps of Engineers, authorized,

funded, constructed, and currently operate and maintain the

Caernarvon Freshwater Diversion Project. After construction-

of the Caernarvon Freshwater Diversion Project structure

was completed, defendants had the ability to dilute with

freshwater the Salinity or salt content in the water bottoms

where plaintiffs’ oyster leases are located. These activities

- have directly caused the destruction of plaintiffs’ leasehold

interests, thereby entitling plaintiffs to just compensation.

V.

The stated purposes of the Caernarvon Project

include, but are not limited to, the enhancement of emergent

marsh vegetation growth and the reduction of marsh loss.

The Department of Natural Resources attempts to achieve

this stated goal by allowing fresh water from the Mississippi

River to flow through the Caernarvon structure into the salt

water areas wherein plaintiffs' leases are located, thereby

reducing the salinity and salt content in the waters where

plaintiffs' leases are located.

VI.

As a direct result of the dilution of the salinity and

salt content of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are

A-110

located, as well as the increased vegetation on or near the

water bottoms wherein plaintiffs’ leases are located, the pro-

ductivity of Plaintiffs’ leases have been damaged, as the

reduced salinity of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are

located makes plaintiffs' leases no longer capable of oyster

growth and cultivation. The hereinabove described actions

of defendant his resulted in a permanent and substantia inter-

ference with plaintiffs' use and enjoyment of their land

amounting to a taking of an interest in plaintiffs’ valuable

property rights without compensation in violation of, Article

I, Section 4 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and the

Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

Vil.

Defendant has not instituted any expropriation or

condemnation proceeding to acquire all or any part of plain-

tiffs' land, nor has defendant paid or offered to pay to plain-

tiffs' any amount for the damages inflicted upon their oyster

leases..

Vill.

As a direct result of the hereinabove described action

of defendants, the productivity of plaintiffs’ leases have been

destroyed, resulting in a permanent and substantial interfer-

ence with plaintiffs’ use and enjoyment of their land amount-

ing to a taking of an interest in plaintiffs’ valuable property

rights without compensation in violation of Article I, Section

4 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and of the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.

A-11]

IX.

This action is appropriate for determination through

the Louisiana Class Action Procedure (La. C.C.P. art. 591 et

seq.) for the following reasons:

a) The large number of claimants present a level of

numerosity better handled through the class action procedure

as opposed to mass joinder of individual claims.

b) The common issues of law and fact pertaining that

relate to and affect the rights of each member of the class and

the relief sought, namely, whether the damage of the plain-

tiffs’ oyster leases constitute a compensable taking by the

State of Louisiana, predominate over the individual issues or

quantum.

c) Requiring the institution of Separate lawsuits

would pose a serious risk of inconsistent adjudications and

earlier separate determinations with a prejudicial effect on

subsequent litigants. °

d) Prosecution of separate actions would pose a seri-

ous threat of substantially impeding the ability of class mem-

bers to protect their interests.

€) Petitioner's have sustained damages of the nature

described above and are suitable representatives for the class.

f) The plaintiff representatives herein are represented

by skilled attorneys in the field of oyster damage claims, and

have successfully represented claimants in other litigation of

this nature and who may be expected to handle this action in

an expeditious and economical manner to the best

A-112

interests of all the class membership.

g) The class action is a superior procedural vehicle

for the fair and efficient adjudication of this controversy,

because:

1) The vast majority of the class members

have no interest in controlling the litigation;

2) Such a method of proceeding would allow

the Court to process all rightful claims in one proceeding;

3) It is desirable to concentrate all the litiga-

tion in one forum;

4) Class litigation is manageable considering

the opportunity to afford reasonable notice of significant

phases of the litigation to class members and permit distribu-

tion of recovery.

5) The determination of liability and the basis

for the assessment of compensation may be made in the class

action under the provisions of La. C.C.P. art. 593.1 (C) (1)

_ (2) and (3), without the necessity of proof at that time as to

the amount of those damages, thereby establishing guidelines

for settlement and/or subsequent trials in the individual cases

if necessary.

X.

Venue is proper in this parish pursuant to Article 74

of the Louisiana Code Of Civil Procedure and La. R.S.

13:5104, as this cause of action arises in Plaquemines Parish,

as plaintiffs’ leases are located within Plaquemines Parish,

and/or because the wrongful conduct of the State

}

A-113

of Louisiana and the Department of Natural Resources

occurred within Plaquemines Parish.

WHEREFORE, PLAINTIFFS PRAY that defendants

be duly cited to appear and answer this petition; that this mat-

ter be ordered to proceed as a class action and that a suitable

management plan be implemented pursuant to La. C.C.P. 593

(C); and after all legal delays and due proceeding had, that

there be jJudgment in favor of plaintiffs and against defen-

dants for damages, together with legal interest thereon

from the date of the taking of an interest in the plaintiffs’

property until paid, for all costs of these pro-

ceedings and for all general and equitable relief as provided

by law.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Philip F. Cossich, Jr

Philip F. Cossich, Jr., (#1788)

8311 Highway 23, Suite 104

Post Office Box 7125

Belle Chasse, Louisiana 70037

Telephone: 504 394-1870

Michael X. St. Martin (#12365)

3373 Little Bayou Black Road

Houma, Louisiana 70361-2017

Telephone: 504 876-3891

A-114

PLEASE SERVE:

The State of Louisiana

through the Attorney General,

Richard P. leyoub

Post Office Box 94005

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9005

The Department of Natural Resources

State of Louisiana

through its Secretary,

Jack McClanahan

Post Office Box 94396

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9396

en

A-115

APPENDIX L

25TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE PARISH OF PLAQUEMINES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

NO. 38-266 DIVISION "B"

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ET AL

VERSUS

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

FILED: DEC 15 1998 /s/

DEPUTY CLERK

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT UNDER THE

NOW INTO COURT, through undersigned counsel,

comes Defendant, the State of Louisiana, through the

Department of Natural Resources ("DNR"), and moves this

Honorable Court for summary judgment on the basis that the

Plaintiffs’ claims should be dismissed under the equitable

doctrine of collateral estoppel, all for the reasons set forth in

the attached Memorandum in Support of this Motion.

BY:

A-116

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

RICHARD P. IEYOUB

Attorney General

/s/_ Andrew C. Wilson _

ANDREW C. WILSON - #1162 ~

DONNA M. YOUNG - #20936

Special Assistant Attorneys General

20th Floor, Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163

Telephone: (504) 569-21900

and

BURKE & MAYER, Of Counsel

Attorneys for State of Louisiana

Department of Natural Resources

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the above and forego-

ing document has been served upon all counsel of record by

- depositing same in the U.S. Mail, postage pre-paid,

addressed to them at their offices, this 15th day of December,

/s/ James Savoy

- A-117

25TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE PARISH OF PLAQUEMINES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

NO. 38-266 DIVISION "B"

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ET AL .

VERSUS

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

FILED: l

DEPUTY CLERK

MAY IT PLEASE THE COURT:

On November 12, 1996, the Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit dismissed the claims originally raised by

these same Plaintiffs on the same issues in the Court of

Federal Claims, holding that no taking took place.! DNR

now moves for summary judgment dismissing these same

Plaintiffs" claims based upon the same issues under the doc-

trine of defensive collateral estoppel.

' Avenal v, United States. 100 F.3d 933 (Fd. Cir. 1996).

A-118

FACTS

On March 29, 1994, the Plaintiffs in this matter filed

the instant class action alleging a taking under the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution and Article 1,

Section 4 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974.2 The

Plaintiffs alleged that their oyster leases on State water bot-

toms had been damaged by the freshwater outfall from the

Caernarvon freshwater diversion project. Shortly thereafter,

on April 26, 1994, Plaintiffs filed what amounts to a nearly

identical lawsuit in the Court of Federal Claims against the

United States Army Corps of Engineers ("the Corps").3 A

comparison of the allegations set forth in the Federal

Complaint and the Petition filed in the 25th Judicial District

Court reveals that the cases deal with the same major issue:

Whether a taking occurred as a result of the operation of the

Caernarvon freshwater diversion structure.

For example, paragraph 5 of the Federal Complaint

reads as follows:

5. ee

The stated purposes of the Caernarvon Project

include, but are not limited to, the enhancement of the

emergent marsh vegetation growth and a reduction of

marsh loss. The United States Army Corps of

Engineers attempts to achieve this stated goal by

allowing fresh water from the Mississippi River to

flow through the Caernarvon structure into the salt-

water areas.4

2 Exhibit "A". : 3

3 Complaint in C.A. No. 94-261 (L) filed 4/26/94 (Exhibit"B").

4 Exhibit "B". /

/

/

A-119

The State Court Petition reads similarly:

V.

The stated purposes of the Caernarvon Project

include, but are not limited to, the enhancement of the

emergent marsh vegetation growth and a reduction of

marsh loss. The Department of Natural Resources

attempts to achieve this stated goal by allowing fresh

water from the Mississippi River to flow through the

Caernarvon structure into the salt water areas where-

in plaintiffs’ leases are located, thereby reducing the

salinity and salt content in the waters where plaintiffs’

leases are located.5

The sixth paragraph of both pleadings also reads sim-

ilarly:

6.

When the freshwater diverted from the Mississippi

reaches the water bottoms leased by plaintiffs from the State

of Louisiana, it dilutes the salinity of the waters and deposits

silt on the water bottoms. As a direct result of the dilution of

the salinity of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are locat-

ed, as well as the increased vegetation and bacteria on or near

the water bottoms where plaintiffs' leases are located, and the

silt deposits, the productivity of plaintiffs’ leases has

been and is being destroyed, as the altered conditions

of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are located

5 Exhibit "A

A-120

makes Plaintiff's leases no longer capable of oyster growth

and cultivation.®

VI.

As a direct result of the dilution of the salinity and

salt content of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are locat-

ed,, as well as the increased vegetation on or near the water

bottoms wherein plaintiffs' leases are located, the productiv-

ity of plaintiffs' leases have been damaged, as the reduced

salinity of the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are located —

makes plaintiffs’ leases no longer capable of oyster growth

and cultivation. The hereinabove described actions of defen-

dant has resulted in a permanent and substantial interference

with Plaintiffs’ use and enjoyment of their land amounting to

a taking of an interest in Plaintiffs' valuable property rights

without compensation in violation of Article I, Section 4 of

the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.”

Finally, paragraph 7 of the Federal Complaint and paragraph

VIII of the State Petition also read similarly:

7.

The hereinabove described actions of defendant

have resulted in permanent and substantial interfer-

ence with plaintiffs' use and enjoyment of their land

amounting to a taking of an interest in plaintiffs’

6 Exhibit "B"

7 Exhibit “A”

A-121

taking of an interest in plaintiffs' valuable property

rights without compensation in violation of the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.8

8.

As a direct result of the hereinabove described

action of defendants, the productivity of plaintiffs'

leases have been destroyed, resulting in a permanent

and substantial interference with plaintiffs’ use and

enjoyment of their land amounting to a taking of an

interest in plaintiffs’ valuable property rights without

compensation in violation of Article I, Section 4 of

the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and of the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.

APPLICABLE LAW

Takings Law

Based upon the comparison set forth above, the issue

in both cases is whether the freshwater outfall from the

Caernarvon freshwater diversion structure has resulted in a

taking under constitutional law. Both cases involve a taking

under the Fifth Amendment of the United States

Constitution. The United States Supreme Court has indicated

that the "takings" test acquires that a claimant first demon-

Strate a compensable property interest, and

8 Exhibit "B'

9 Exhibit "A"

A-122

afterwards the Court then applies three factors involving:

(1) The character of the governmental actions;

(2) | The economic impact on the claimant; and

(3) The extent to which the governmental

actions interfere with reasonable invest-

ment-backed expectations.1@

The Louisiana takings test consists of the following

inquiries:

(1) Whether the property rights have been

effected;

(2) | Whether the property has been taken or

damaged in a constitutional sense; and

(3) | Whether the taking or damage is for a public

purpose. !!

In analyzing the second prerequisite of the Louisiana

three prong takings test, i.e., in determining whether the

property has been taken or damaged in a constitutional sense,

the Louisiana Supreme Court draws freely upon jurispru-

dence interpreting the Fifth Amendment of the United States

Constitution and makes direct parallels between the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution and Article 1,

Section 4 of the Louisiana Constitution.!2

10 Penn Central Transp. v. New York City, 483 U.S. 104, 124, 98 S.Ct-

2646, 2659 (1978).

12

Wildlife and Fisheries Comm'n, 97-1367 2729198) 115 So.2d 387, 301-

392.

j

/

A-123

Accordingly, both the factual and legal issues before the

Court in the instant matter are the same.

COLLATERAL ESTOPPEL

The Louisiana Supreme Court has unequivocally

stated that when a Louisiana state Court is required to deter-

mine the preclusive effects of a judgment rendered by a

Federal Court on a federal question, it is federal law which

must be applied.!3 As a result, where prior proceedings takes

place in Federal Court, the preclusive effect of those prior

federal proceedings is an issue of federal law.!4 The Federal

rule of preclusion governs any federal judgment, even when

the Court renders a decision of state law issues.15

Accordingly, the preclusive effect of the prior federal judg-

ment in the Avenal federal proceedings is determined accord-

ing to federal law (the law of the Court i issuing the initial

decision), regardless of whether the second suit has been

filed in state Court.

Although the civil law does not look favorably upon

equitable doctrines such as estoppel, federal law specifical-

T3 Reeder v. Succession of Palmer, 92-2965, 92-3002 (La. 9/3/93) 623

So.2d 1268, 1271 (La. 1993), cert. denied, 5 10 U.S. 1165 (1994).

14 Nagle v. Lee, 807 F.2d 435, cert. denied, (Sth Cir. 1987); Chemtron

Com. v. Business Funds, Inc., 682 F.2d 1149 (5th Cir. 1982), vacated on

other grounds, 460 U.S. 1007, cert. denied, 406 U.S. 1013 (1983); Stovall

y. Price Waterhouse Co., 652 F.2d 537, 540-41 (Sth Cir. 1981);

623 F.2d 371, 373 (Sth

Commercial Box & Lumber Co. v. Uniroyal. Inc.,

Cir. 1980); Aerojet General Co. v. Askew, 511 F.2d 710 (Sth Cir), dis-

missed, 423 U.S. 908, (1975); Restatement (2d) of Judgments Section 87

(1982).

15 Recoveredg L.P. v. Pentecost, 44 F.M. 1284, 1290 n. 11 (Sth Cir.

1995.).

A-124

ly recognizes a doctrine of collateral estoppel, in fact, defen-

sive collateral estoppel, applicable herein.

Collateral estoppel depends on three elements:

(1) The issue at stake must be identical to the

one involved in the prior action;

(2) The issue must have been actually litigated

in the prior action; and

(3) The determination of the issue in the prior

action must have been a necessary part of the

judgment in that earlier action.!6

The United States Supreme Court has specifically

held that collateral estoppel may be asserted by a party even

if that party was not involved in the prior litigation.!7 This is

known as defensive collateral estoppel wherein a plaintiff is

estopped from asserting a claim that the plaintiff has previ-

ously litigated and lost against another defendant.!® Stated

succinctly defensive collateral estoppel may be urged by a

party to the second suit who was not even a party to the first

suit.29

16 Recoveredge L.P; 44 F.3d at 1290; Sheerin v. Davis, 3 F.3d 113, 114

(Sth Cir. 1993).

7 Parklane Hosiery Co.. Inc. v. Shore, 439U.S. 322, 326-333, 99 S.Ct.

649-52 (1979).

18 ig

19 Id.

A-125

Under the circumstances of the instant matter, DNR

can apply the doctrine of defensive collateral estoppel such

that the Plaintiffs’ claims in these State proceedings should

be dismissed in their entirety. First, the takings issue is iden-

tical.29 Second, the takings issue was actually litigated in the

Federal Circuit which found there was no taking.?! Finally,

the takings issue was a necessary part of the Federal

Judgment. In fact, the decision on the takings issue was the

core of the dispute. Accordingly, the doctrine of defensive

collateral estoppel requires the dismissal of the Plaintiffs’

claims in the instant state litigation as well.

CONCLUSION

Inasmuch as federal law controls on the issue of the

preclusive effect of the prior federal decision, DNR submits

the doctrine of defensive of collateral estoppel has direct

application herein. This doctrine disposes of Plaintiffs’

claims in their entirety and, therefore, this litigation should

be at an end.

20 Flowers v, Phelps, 964 F.2d 400, 401 (Sth Cir. 1992) (amended opin-

ion).

21 Avenal v, United States, 100 F.3d 933, 938 (Fed. Cir. 1996).

A-126

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

RICHARD P. IEYOUB

Attorney General

BY: /s/ Andrew C. Wilson _

ANDREW C. WILSON - #1162

DONNA M. YOUNG - #20936

Special Assistant Attorneys General

20th Floor, Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163

Telephone: (504) 569-21900 —~

and

BURKE & MAYER, Of Counsel -

Attorneys for State of Louisiana

Department of Natural Resources

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

-

I hereby certify that a copy of the above and forego-

ing document has been served upon all counsel of record by

depositing same in the U.S. Mail, postage pre-paid,

addressed to them at their offices, this 15th day of December,

1998,

/s/ illesibl

A-127

APPENDIX M

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA \

WRIT APPLICATION FILING SHEET

No. 00 CC 1077

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ET AL.,

Plaintiffs-Respondents

VERSUS

THE STATE OF LOUISIANA AND THE,

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES,

Defendants-Applicants

APPLICATION FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI OR

REVIEW (CIVIL) FROM THE

MARCH 15, 2000 DECISION OF THE FOURTH CIR-

CUIT COURT OF APPEALS,

CIVIL APPEAL NO. 99-C-0127

ON REVIEW FROM THE 25TII JDC FOR THE PARISH

OF PLAQUEMINES, CA. NO.

38-266, DIVISION "Bt'

HONORABEE WILLIAM A. ROE, JUDGE PRESIDING

FILED ON BEHALF OF DEFENDANTS/APPLICANTS

THE STATE OF LOUISIANA AND THE DEPARTMENT

OF

NATURAL RESOURCES

A-128

EXPEDITED CONSIDERATION AND STAY ORDER

REQUESTED

RICHARD P. IEYOUB Attorney General

ANDREW C. WILSON - # 1162

DAVID L. CARRIGEE - #3892

DONNA M. YOUNG - #20936

JEDD S. MALISH - #23846

Special Assistants Attorney General

20th Floor, Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163-2000

Telephone: (504) 569-2900

and “

BURKE & MAYER, of Counsel

Attorneys for The State of Louisiana through the

Department of Natural Resources

April 14, 2000

A-129

LOUISIANA SUPREME COURT

CIVIL

PRIORITY FILING SHEET

Applicant's Name

What is the nature of the priority? Application made

by:

PLAINTIFF DEFENDANT OTHER (Circle one)

Is a hearing or trial date set? NO YES

DATE: Status Conference on 4/17/00

TIME: 1:00 p.m,

Jury trial? NO YES Any out of state

witnesses? NO YES

Was relief applied for in the trial court? NO YES

By: PLAINTIFF

Stay: DENIED/GRANTED Until:

Ruling of Dist. Court: Stay Denied _

A-130

Was an application made to the Court of Appeal? NO

: YES

Which Circuit? 1ST 2ND 3RD 4TH 5TH

Application was made by: PLAINTIFF

-DEFNDANT OTHER

Date of Court of Appeal action: 4/12/00

Court of Appeal action: Stay denied

If you did not apply to the Circuit Court of Appeal

state why:

Ds How and when will applicant be adversely affected

if relief is not granted?

6. List of Lead Counsel & Judge involved in case:

Name: Scott LaBarre (Plaintiffs/Respondents)

Home (504) 286-5828

Night Bus (_ )

PHONE #’s -- Day Bus (504) 456-8600

A-131

Name: Andrew C. Wilson (Defendants/A pplicants)

Home (504) 737-4405

Night Bud (_)

PHONE#’s -- Day Bus (504) 569-2900

Name:

PHONE #s -Day Bus (_ )

Dist. Ct. -- Judge: ili

PHONE?#’s - Bus Day (504) 392-6690

.

CERTIFICATION

I am requesting Priority consideration of this applica-

tion. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10. Section 2(e), I have

notified all counsel and unrepresented parties by telephone or

other equally prompt means of communication that said writ

application has been or is about to be filed in this court and

that I have served on all parties at interest of their counsel, by

a means equal to the means used to effect filing in this court.

/s/ illegible

SIGNATURE

A-132

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA

WRIT APPLICATION FILING SHEET

NO.

TO BE COMPLETED BY COUNSEL

or PRO SE LITIGANT FILING APPLICATION

TITLE

ALBERT J. AVENAL, JR., ET AL

VS.

THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

THROUGH THE DEPARTMENT

OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Applicant:La. Department of Natural Resources

Have there been any other filings in this

Court in this matter? _X__ Yes No

Are you seeking a Stay Order? Yes_

Priority Treatment? Yes

If so you MUST complete & attach a Priority

Form

Attach a list of additional counsel/pro se itiganta, t their

addresses, phone numbers and the parties they represent.

Tribunal/Court: Docket No.

Judge/Commissioner/Hearing Officer:

Ruling Date:

Parish and Judicial District Court: Plaquemines Parish, 25th

JDC Docket Number: 38-266

Judge and Section: Hon. William A. Roe, Div. B

Date of Ruling/Judgment: January 5, 1999

Circuit: Fourth Filing Date: January 15, 1999 (writ

Docket No. 99-C-0127 Applicant in Appellate Court: State

isi Ruling Date:

March 3, 1999 Panel of Judges: Waltzer, Gulotta. Ciaccio,

Klees & McKay En Banc: __

REHEARING INFORMATION

Applicant: Plaintiffs, Albert J. Avenal, Jr, et al. Date Filed:

March 17, 1999 Action on Rehearing: Granted Ruling Date:

March 15.2000 Panel of Judges: Waltzer, Gulotta, Ciaccio,

Klees & McKay En Banc: i

A-134 _

X Pre-Trial, Hearing/Trial Scheduled dated: status confer-

ence set for Monday, April. 17,2000 , Trial in

Progress, Post Trial

Is there a stay now in effect? No Has this pleading been filed

simultaneously in any other court? No_

If so, explain briefly:

VERIFICATION ;

I certify that the above information and all of the information

contained in this application is true and correct tot eh best of

my knowledge and that all relevant pleadings and rulings, as

required by Supreme Court Rule X, are attached to this fil-

ing. I further certify that a copy of this application has been

mailed or delivered to the appropriate court of appeal (if

required), to the respondent judge in the case of a remedial

writ, and to all other counsel and unrepresented parties.

ls/_ ANDREW C, WILSON

A-135

INDEX

Statement of Considerations for the Granting of

oa RNIN Av ome, ce Se eae ili

repessirercspmatighamansie sea ns l

A. The Parallel Proceedings in State and

sincdanarinerdlie dtmsriecc.., NCY TO eT l

B. Ultimate Determination in Federal Court............ 4

C. State Court Proceedings to Date........................ 5

“ensian. sessssignsoirancipeninen ct eT TE EES 8

eictinismen’ Sine smsge. get et EEG, 9

ve, comnscocaargg ne EN MENU tT TOR 10

I. The Trial Court and Later the

Court of Appeals Should Have

Dismissed the Plaintiffs’ Claims

Under the Doctrine of Collateral

Estoppel Pursuant to Applicable

Federal Common Law...........ccececce0e0......... 10

A. The Preclusive Effect of

a Prior Federal Decision Is an

Issue of Federal Law....................... 10

B. Application of the Federal

Common Law of Collateral

Estoppel Results in the

Dismissal of Plaintiffs’ Claims......13

II.

II.

A-136

The Fourth Circuit’s Majorit

Opinion Attempts to Eliminate

“Investment-Backed Expectations’

9

from Consideration in the Analysis

of Inverse Condemnation Claims

Contrary to Established

Constitutional Precedent...............:cccceeee 14

A. “Investment-Backed Expectations”

Form the Second Element of the

Three Pronged Test for Takings

Under Established

Constitutional Law...................0000+ 14

The Louisiana Supreme Court

and the Lower Courts Have

Consistently Applied United

States Constitutional Law to

Determine Whether a “Taking”

Has Occurred in the Context of

Inverse Condemnation

JUN sii chp esssiveniovien ..16

“Distinct Investment-Backed -

Expectations” Are Not Only

Relevant, But Also Constitute

a Critical and Requisite

Consideration for Any Analysis

of a “Takings” Claim..................... 19

The Fourth Circuit Erred in Eliminating

All Governmental Defenses to a Taking

Save for “Bad Faith”... ,............cccscscsssssssees 20

A-137

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Opinion

Renders All Louisiana

Government Defenseless to

EMME: SCUIMINB i ccscescosssaciscssseeis 20

B. The Fourth Circuit’s Action

Renders Recovery On a

“Takings” Theory Well-Nigh

NIL colahieditiiesinsntoniscarncescas 22

%. To Reach Its Result, The

Fourth Circuit Inexplicably

Merged the Distinct Concepts

of Expropriation and Inverse

RPI NNINNIIDIIER sscsassescencnnocannssassbiesene 23

Be IIIs cscdecains cexitorscnaseucoes 23

2. Inverse Condemnation................ 24

asia scueinicdisaprbnkiscnneint 25

ie I a dah hnestnsastibansdasinncasnaill 26

acelin cl scissile aseanonchen ve@saneseanhaionesenes 27

A. Trial Court’s Judgment dated

January 5, 1999.

B. Original Opinion, CA No. 99-0127

(La.App. 4 Cir. 3/3/99).

C. Opinion on Rehearing, CA No.

99-0127 (3/15/00), So.2d__ dissent

of Judge Miriam Waltzer.

A-138

Trial Court’s Denial of Stay, CA

No. 38-266 “B” (4/11/00).

Denial of Stay, CA No. 00-0855 (La.

App. 4m Cir. 4/12/00).

State Petition, CA No. 38-266, 25th

JDC, Parish of Plaquemines.

Albert J. Avenal, Jr. et al. v. The United

States of America, United States Court

of Federal Claims, No. 94-261-L.

Avenal v. United States, 33 Fed.Cl.

778, 781 (Fed. Cl. 1995).

Avenal v. United States, 100 F.3d

933 (Fed. Cir. 1996).

Order Granting Certiorari, CA No.

99-0127 (La.App. 4m Cir. 3/26/99).

A-139

Pursuant to Rule X, Sections 1 and 3, of the Rules of

the Supreme Court of Louisiana, Defendants/Applicants, the

State of Louisiana and the Department of Natural Resources

(collectively “DNR”), respectfully suggest that this Writ

Application presents the following considerations for the

granting of writs:

1.The decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

presents a direct conflict with the decisions of sever-

al bodies of jurisprudence. Specifically, insofar as

the choice of federal common law, the Fourth

Circuit’s decision conflicts not only with other con-

stitutional law decisions of the Fourth Circuit!

itself, but with constitutional law decisions from the

other Louisiana appellate courts” and the

1 Stone v, Entergy Services, Inc., 99-0236 *3 (La.App. 4th Cir.

8/18/99), 744 So.2d 141, 142; writ denied, 99-2719 (La. 11/24/99), 750

So.2d 989; McCollough v, Dauzat, 98-1293 *3 (La.App. 3rd Cir. 3/3/99),

736 So.2d 914, 915; Schlesinger v. Herzog, 95-1127 *21 (La. App. 4th

Cir. 4/3/96), 672 So.2d 701, 714; City of New Orleans v. Badine Land

Ltd., 94-2631 *6 (La.App. 4th Cir. 6/29/95), 657 So.2d 770, 773; Tolis v.

Mechanical College, 94-1444 *8 (La.App. 4th Cir. 5/16/95), 655 So.2d

747, 753.

2 ITrich v, Crescent Tum Key & Engineering, L.L.C., 99-310

*5 (La.App. Sth Cir. 9/28/99), 744 So.2d 689, 692; Andrepont _v.

Andrepont, 97-1643 *3 (La.App. 3rd Cir. 4/1/98), 711 So.2d 759, 761;

96-0847 *3 (La.App.

4th Cir. 3/19/97), 692 So.2d 654, 656; Rochon v, Whitley, 96-0835 *4

(La.App. Ist Cir. 2/14/97), 691 So.2d 189, 192; Tye v, Co-Mar Offshore

Operators, Inc., 95-0094 *3 (La.App. Ist Cir. 10/6/95), 669 So.2d 438,

439.

A-140

Louisiana Supreme Court.> The Fourth Circuit’s

elimination of consideration of a claimant’s “distinct

investment-backed expectations” in the context of tak-

ings law conflicts directly with the body of jurispru-

dence emanating from the United States Supreme

Court,4 the Louisiana First Circuit Court of

Appeals? and, the courts of all the other States that

have considered this issue. Insofar as the Fourth

3 Terrebonne Fuel & Lube, Inc. v, Placid Refining Company,

95-0654 *14 (La. 1/16/96), 666 So.2d 624, 632-3; Reeder v. Succession

of Palmer, 623 So.2d 1268, 1271 (La. 1993); Pilie & Pile y. Metz, 547

So.2d 1305, 1308 (La. 1989).

4 Penn Central Transportation Co. -v. City of New York, 438

U.S. 104, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978); Good v. United States,

189 F.3d 1355, 1360 (Fed.Cir. 1999), citing Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v.

United States, 28 F.3d 1171 (Fed.Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 529U.S. _,

es: - St... . (47RD.

5 Layne v, City of Mandeville, 93-0046 (La.App. Ist Cir.

12/29/93), 633 So.2d 608, 610, writ denied, 94-0268 (La. 3/25/94), 635

So.2d 234.

6 See e.g. (1) Alaska: State of Alaska v. Arctic Slope Regional

Corp., 834 P.2d 134, 139 (Alaska 1991); (2) Arizona: Laidlaw Waste

Systems, Inc. v. City of Phoenix, 815 P.2d 932, 935 (Ariz.Ct.App. 1994);

(3) California: Kavanau v. Santa Monica Rent Control Board, 941 P.2d

851, 862-863 (Calif. 1998); (4) Colorado: U.S, West Communications v.

City of Longmont, 948 P.2d 509, 523 (Colo. 1997); (5) Connecticut:

Bauer v. Waste Management of Connecticut, 662 A.2d 1179, 1198 (Conn.

1995); (6) Florida: Golf Club of Plantation, Inc. v, City of Plantation,

717. So.2d 166, 170 (Fla. 4th DCA 1998); (7) Idaho: Sprenger, Grubb &

Assoc., Inc, v, City of Hailey, 903 P.2d 741, 747 (Idaho 1995); (8)

Indiana: Ragucci v. Metro. Dev. Comm’n of Marion County, 702 N.E.2d

677, 683-684 (Indiana 1998); (9) Iowa: Bormann v, Board of Supervisors

for Kossuth County, 584 N.W.2d 309, 316 (Iowa 1998); (10)Kentucky:

Commonwealth of Kentucky v, Steams Coal and Lumber Co., 678

S.W.2d 378, 381 (Kentucky 1984); (11) Maryland: Offen v. County

Council of Prince Georges County, 625 A.2d 424, 442

N.E.2d 1300, 1303 (Mass. 1996); (12) Massachusetts: Leonard v._

j

A-141

Circuit’s ruling suggests that the jurisprudence inter-

preting the United States Constitution should not be

used in analyzing a “taking” under the Louisiana

Constitution, the Fourth Circuit’s ruling conflicts

(footnote 6 continued)

Town of Brimfield, 666 (13) Minnesota: Zeman vy, City of Minneapolis,

$52 N.W.2d 548, 552 (Minn. 1996); (14) Missouri: Clay County, County

Commission of Clay v. Harley and Susie Bogue, Inc., 988 S.W.2d 102,

107 (Mo.Ct.App. 1999); (15) Nebraska: Whitehead Oil Co. v. City of

Lincoln, 515 N.W.2d 401, 408 (Nebraska 1994); (16) Nevada: Kelly v.

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 855 P.2d 1027, 1034 (Nevada 1993);

(17) New Hampshire: Quirk v. Town of New Boston, 663 A.2d 1328,

1334 (N.H. 1995); (18) New Jersey: Bernardsville Quarry, Inc. v.

Borough of Bernardsville, 608 A.2d 1377, 1386 - 1388 (N.J. 1992); (19)

North Carolina: Sherrill v. Town of Wrightsville, 334 S.E.2d 357

(N.C.App. 1986); (20) North Dakota: Southwest Cass Water Resource

Dist. v. Burlington Northern R.R. Co., 527 N.W.2d 884, 894 - 895 (N.D.

1995); (21) Ohio: State v. State Teachers Retirement Board, 697 N.E.2d

644, 650 -651 (Ohio 1998); (22) Oregon: Dodd v. Hood River County,

855 P.2d 608, 615 -616 (Oregon 1993); (23) Pennsylvania: Mock v.

Dept. of Environmental Resources, 623 A.2d 940, 945-949 (Penn. 1993);

(24) Rhode Island: Woodland Manor Ill Assoc. v. Keeney, 713 A.2d

806, 813 (R.I. 1998); (25) Texas: Mayhew v. Town of Sunnyvale, 964

S.W.2d 922, 935-938 (Texas 1998); (26) Vermont:_Chioffi v. City of

Winooski, 676 A.2d 786, 790 (Vermont 1996); (27) Virginia: Board of

Supervisors of Prince William County v. Omni Homes, Inc., 481 S.E.2d

460, 465- 466 (Virginia 1997); (28) Washington:_Presbytery of Seattle

-y. King County, 787 P.2d 907, 915 (Washington 1990); (29) Wisconsin:

Zealy v. City of Waukesha, 534 N.W.2d 917, 921 - 924 (Wis.Ct.App.

1995), rev’d on other grounds, 548 N.W.2d 528 (Wis. 1996); (30)

Wyoming: Cheyenne Airport Board v, Rogers, 707 P.2d 717, 731

(Wyoming 1985).

A-142

directly with the Louisiana Supreme Court,’ other

Louisiana — courts,® as well as the Fourth

Circuit itself.

2.The Fourth Circuit’s ruling presents significant

unresolved issues of law insofar as the newly creat-

ed defense of the Claimants’ “bad faith” in the con-

text of inverse condemnation law. The issues associ-

ated with a claimant’s prior knowledge of govern-

mental action as a governmental defense to a “tak-

ings” claim has never been addressed by this

Honorable Court. Over the strong dissent of Judge

Miriam Waltzer, arguably one of the more experi-

enced Fourth Circuit judges insofar as takings are

7 Louisiana Seafood Management Council v. Louisiana

Wildlife & Fisheries Commission, 97-1367 (La. 5/19/98), *8-9, 715

So.2d 387, 392.

8 LaSalle v. Iberia Parish Council, 99-216 *10 (La.App. 3rd

Cir. 6/2/99), 741 So.2d 812, 818 - 819; Standard Materials, Inc. v. City of

Slidell, 96-0684 (La.App. Ist Cir. 9/23/97), 700 So.2d 975; Layne v., City

of Mandeville, 93-0046 (La.App. Ist Cir. 12/29/93), 633 So.2d 608, 610,

writ denied, 94-0268 (La. 3/25/94), 635 So.2d 234; Annison v. Hoover,

517 So.2d 420, 423 (La.App. Ist Cir. 12/22/87); writ denied by 519 So.2d

148 (La. 2/12/88); Ursin v. New Orleans Aviation Board, 506 So.2d 947,

955 (La.App. 5 Cir. 4/15/87); reversed for different reasons by 515 So.2d

1087 (La. 1987).

9 State Department of Social Services v. City of New Orleans,

95-1757, 1758 *7 (La.App. 4th Cir. 5/29/96), 676 So.2d 149, 154.

jf

A-143

concerned, !0 the Fourth Circuit has also created new

law unsupported by legal authority through the cross-

application of the defense of “bad faith” from expro-

priation law and reinsertion of this concept in the

context of “takings” or inverse condemnation litiga-

tion. The Fourth Circuit has also gone one step fur-

ther in its creation of new law by ruling that the only

defense to a “takings” claim brought against any

Louisiana governmental entity is the Claimant’s “bad

faith.” If this becomes the law, this essentially makes

a Claimants’ recovery automatic merely upon (1) an

allegation of a “taking,” and, (2) a prima facie show-

ing that a claim is not fraudulent, which is the gov-

€mment’s burden of proof for “bad faith” in an expro-

priation proceeding. l Such a rule of law has never

been applied or perhaps even considered by

10 See; e.g.

P ist., 95-0233 (La.App. 4th Cir.

9/4/96), 680 So.2d 159, 135 Oil & Gas Rep. 513 (La.App. 4th Cir.,

9/4/96); : ist., 95-1187

(La.App. 4th Cir. 9/4/96), 680 So.2d 149; :

iri ist., 95-2477 (La.App. 4th Cir. 6/ 12/96, 676

So.2d 199; i i i Ww ,

95-1757, 1758 *7 (La.App. 4th Cir. 529/96), 676 So.2d 149, 154;

_ ist., 94-1493

(La.App. 4th Cir. 2/23/95), 650 So.2d 1249, 131 Oil & Gas Rep. 298;

Henry v. State, 94-0658 (La.App. 4th Cir. 11/30/94), 646 So.2d 519:

0n Hall Authority v. Missouri

Pacific Railroad Co., 625 So.2d 1070 (La.App. 4th Cir. 9/22/93), writ

denied, 627 So.2d 638 and 630 So.2d 802 (La. 1994) and cert. denied,

512 U.S. 1220, 114 S.Ct. 2707 (1994).

11 i

Co., 249 So.2d 161, 171 (La. 1971).

A-144

any Louisiana Court in inverse condemnation cases.

3.The Fourth Circuit’s opinion also has the effect of

overruling or modifying controlling precedents from

the Louisiana Supreme Court related to the preclu-

sive effect of a prior federal decision as issued by the

Louisiana Supreme Court!2 and the Courts of

Appeal!3 including the Fourth Circuit itself. 14

4.The Fourth Circuit’s opinion is based upon an erro-

neous interpretation and application of the United

States Constitution and law applicable thereto

including the Supremacy Clause, and federal com-

mon law, as well as the Louisiana Constitution, Article

I Section 4, related to “takings” and applicable

Louisiana law. The State is the party Defendant

herein; thus, if the Fourth Circuit’s decision is

allowed to stand, the decision will cause material

injustice to the State and the people of the State

which will, in turn, significantly affect the public

interest by creating a chilling effect upon all govern-

mental action for fear of provoking “takings” claims.

Under the Fourth Circuit’s opinion a “takings” claim

cannot be overcome unless the government can

1993).

12 Reeder v, Succession of Palmer, 623 So.2d 1268, 1271 (La.

13 Trich v. Crescent Tum Key & Engineering, L.L.C., 99-310

*5 (La.App. Sth Cir. 9/28/99), 744 So.2d 689, 692; Andrepont _v.

Andrepont, 97-1643 *3 (La.App. 3rd Cir. 4/1/98), 711 So.2d 759, 761;

Williams v, Insurance Company of North America, 96-0847 *3 (La.App.

4th Cir. 3/19/97), 692 So.2d 654, 656; Rochon v, Whitley, 96-0835 *4

(La.App. Ist Cir. 2/14/97), 691 So.2d 189, 191; Tye v. Co-Mar Offshore

Operators, Inc., 95-0094 *3 (La.App. Ist Cir. 10/6/95), 669’So.2d 438,

439.

14 Stone v, Entergy Services, Inc,, 99-0236 *3 (La.App. 4th

Cir. 8/18/99), 744 So.2d 141; writ denied, 99-2719 (La. 11/24/99), 750

So.2d 989; McCollough v, Dauzat, 736 So.2d at 915.

j

/

/

A-145

prove fraud on the part of the Claimant. This chill-

ing effect will extend far beyond bankrupting the

State’s coastal restoration projects with claims such

as those presented here for oyster lease damages. The

Fourth Circuit’s ruling will allow every special inter-

est group or isolated individual to bring a claim for

inverse condemnation or a “taking” whenever some

type of allegedly adverse economic ripple occurs fol-

lowing any form of governmental action.

5.DNR also submits that review is warranted under

the applicable law. DNR’s reasoning is based upon

the premise that when the lower courts’ action is

arguably incorrect, and a reversal will terminate the

litigation, and when there is no disputed fact to be

resolved, judicial efficiency and fundamental fairness

to the litigants dictates that the merits of the applica-

tion for supervisory writs should be decided in an

attempt to avoid the waste of time and expense of a

possibly useless future trial on the merits.!> Further,

this Honorable Court has recognized that due to their

unique nature, issues related to class actions such as

the instant matter, require supervisory review. |6

6.Next, in light of Act. 483 of 1997 which amended

La. C.C.P. Art. 966 related to summary judgment

proceedings, it is respectfully suggested that this

Honorable Court should review this matter since a

reversal of the Fourth Circuit will be dispositive of

the entire case. Those amendments are to be applied

15 i j

New Iberia, Inc., 396 So.2d 878 (La. 1981).

16 Cotton v. Gaylord Chemical, 680 So.2d 1187 (La. 1996).

A-146

retroactively as well as prospectively. ! 7 Review at

this time is consistent with the legislative intent in

that the summary judgment procedure is designed to

secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive determina-

tion of actions such as this, and the procedure is

favored and shall be construed to accomplish these

ends.!8 This Honorable Court’s review of this mat-

ter at this time accomplishes all of these legislative

aims and goals.

7.Finally, DNR respectfully requests expedited con-

sideration given the fact that immediately after the

Fourth Circuit’s adverse ruling, the Plaintiffs moved

to set this matter for trial. A status conference was

thereafter immediately set in this matter at which

time it is contemplated based upon the history of

prior proceedings in this matter that a trial date will

be set within months. With the setting of the status

conference, DNR has timely ih 9 a stay which

was denied by both the Trial Court!9 and the Fourth

Circuit29 despite the implications of this writ appli-

cation and the fact that there are still six writ applica-

tions pending before the Fourth Circuit. DNR there-

fore seeks expedited relief as well as a stay of all

proceedings in the Trial Court and in the Fourth

Circuit.

17 Perry Waller v. American Seafoods Company, 97-0302, p. |

1 (La.App. 4th Cir. 10/1/97), 700 So.2d 1306, 1307, writ not considered, “7

97-2769 (La. 1/30/98), 709 So.2d 693.

18 La. C.C.P. Art. 966 A(2) (1997).

19 Exhibit “D,” Trial Court’s Denial of Stay, CA No. 38-266

“B” (4/11/00).

20 Exhibit “E,” Denial of Stay, CA No. 00-0855 (La.App. 4th

Cir. 4/12/00).

A-147

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. THE PARALLEL PROCEEDINGS IN STATE

AND FEDERAL COURTS BELOW.

Albert J. Avenal, Jr. and other oyster

leaseholders/fishermen filed the present class action in the

25th Judicial District Court for the Parish of Plaquemines on

March 29, 1994 on behalf of all persons holding oyster leas-

es on state water bottoms in Breton Sound.2! These

Plaintiffs alleged that a “taking” had occurred without “just

compensation” in violation of the Fifth Amendment of the

U.S. Constitution and Article I, Section 4, of the Louisiana

Constitution because their oyster leases were adversely

affected by the freshwater outflow from the Caernarvon

freshwater diversion structure, located on the east bank of the

Mississippi River in Plaquemines Parish.

Meanwhile, on April 26, 1994, Albert Avenal and

these same representative Plaintiffs filed suit in the U.S.

Court of Federal Claims22 against the United States, i.e., the

United States Army Corps of Engineers, which had designed,

financed and built the Caernarvon freshwater diversion struc-

ture. In that suit, these same Plaintiffs alleged the same “tak-

ing” under the Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, the

very issue raised in the state court proceeding, and also

sought class certification.

A comparison of the allegations set forth in the feder-

al Complaint and the Petition filed in the 25th Judicial

21 Exhibit “F,” State Petition, CA No. 38-266, 25th JDC,

Parish of Plaquemines.

22 Exhibit “G,” i

of America, United States Court of Federal Claims, No. 94-261-L.

p A-148

District Court reveals that the cases deal with the identical

issue: whether a taking occurred as a result of the operation

of the Caernarvon freshwater diversion structure.

For example, paragraph 5 of the federal Complaint

reads as follows:

5.

The stated purposes of the Caernarvon Project

include, but are not limited to, the enhance-

ment of the emergent marsh vegetation

growth and a reduction of marsh loss. The

United States Army Corps of Engineers

attempts to achieve this stated goal by allow-

ing fresh water from the Mississippi River to

flow through the Caernarvon structure into

the saltwater areas.23

The state court Petition reads similarly:

V.

The stated purposes of the Caernarvon Project

include, but are not limited to, the enhance-

ment of the emergent marsh vegetation

growth and a reduction of marsh loss. The

Department of Natural Resources attempts to

achieve this stated goal by allowing fresh

water from the Mississippi River to flow

through the Caernarvon structure into the salt

water areas wherein plaintiffs’ leases

23 Id.

— _ srg ‘ | )

A-149

are located, thereby reducing the salinity and

salt content in the waters where plaintiffs’

leases are located.24

The sixth paragraph of both pleadings also reads sim-

ilarly:

6.

When the freshwater diverted from the

Mississippi reaches the water bottoms leased

by plaintiffs from the State of Louisiana, it

dilutes the salinity of the waters and deposits

silt on the water bottoms. As a direct result of

the dilution of the salinity of the waters

wherein plaintiffs’ leases are located, as well

as the increased vegetation and bacteria on or

near the water bottoms where plaintiffs’ leas-

es are located, and the silt deposits, the pro-

ductivity of plaintiffs’ leases has been and is

being destroyed, as the altered conditions of

the waters wherein plaintiffs’ leases are locat-

ed makes Plaintiffs’ leases no og capable

of oyster growth and cultivation.2

VI.

As a direct result of the dilution of the salini-

ty and salt content of the waters wherein

plaintiffs’ leases are located, as well as the

increased vegetation on or near the water

24 Exhibit “F,” State Petition.

25 Exhibit “G,” Federal Complaint.

A-150

bottoms wherein plaintiffs’ leases are located,

the productivity of plaintiffs’ leases have been

damaged, as the reduced salinity of the waters

wherein plaintiffs’ leases are located makes

plaintiffs’ leases no longer capable of oyster

growth and cultivation. The hereinabove

described actions of defendant has resulted in

a permanent and substantial interference with

Plaintiffs’ use and enjoyment of their land

amounting to a taking of an interest in

Plaintiffs’ valuable property rights without

compensation in violation of Article I, Section

4 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and

the Fifth Amendment of the United States

Constitution.2©

Finally, paragraph 7 of the federal Complaint and

paragraph VIII of the state Petition also read similarly:

a

The hereinabove described actions of defen-

dant have resulted in permanent and substan-

tial interference with plaintiffs’ use and enjoy-

ment of their land amounting to a taking of an

interest in plaintiffs’ valuable property rights

without compensation in violation of the Fifth

Amendment of the United States

Constitution.27

26 Exhibit “F,” State Petition.

27 Exhibit “G,” Federal Complaint.

A-151

Vil.

Asa direct result of the hereinabove described

action of defendanis, the productivity of

plaintiffs’ leases have been destroyed, result-

- ing in a permanent and substantial interfer-

ence with plaintiffs’ use and enjoyment of

their land amounting to a taking of an interest

in plaintiffs’ valuable property rights without

compensation in violation of Article I, Section

4 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and

of the Fifth Amendment of the United States

Constitution.28

With the exception of the identity of the named gov-

ernmental defendant, the Petition filed in the 25th Judicial

Court is virtually indistinguishable from the Complaint filed

in federal court. Although the names of the Defendants were

changed, the issue remains identical - whether a “taking” has

occurred as a result of the operation of the Caernarvon fresh-

water diversion structure.

In response to the federal Complaint. the United

States moved for summary judgment on several grounds, all

related to the “takings” issue. Among these, the United

States asserted that the Plaintiffs had no compensable

expectancy or property interest in continued saltwater intru-

sion or elevated salinity levels associated with the

Mississippi River levee system. The United States also

argued that the Plaintiffs had no reasonable investment-

backed expectations in any oyster leases in historically fresh

28 Exhibit “F,” State Petition.

A-152

areas of the Breton Sound Area which was the subject of the

litigation. In support of its motion for summary judgment,

the United States provided the court with a detailed and com-

prehensive analysis of the history of freshwater diversions

for environmental enhancement and coastal restoration,

including the Caernarvon Project. The evidence presented

significant information and documentation in support of the

United States’ position that there were no reasonable invest-

ment-backed expectations in those leases since the Plaintiffs

were put on notice as to the planning and construction of the

project decades ahead of time.

The Plaintiffs filed a lengthy opposition memoran-

dum, fully addressing the issues raised in the United States’

motion for summary judgment. As the lower federal court

would eventually note, Plaintiffs conceded many of the fac-

tual issues related to notice. Significantly, the court noted the

undisputed effect that the freshwater diversion structure to

be constructed at Caernarvon would have on the oyster fish-

ermen:

“The zone where conditions will become too

fresh and not favorable for oyster cultivation_

as a result of the [Caernarvon] diversion coin-

cides with an area that was historically (prior

to 1960) too fresh and not favorable for oys-

ter cultivation.” Def’s Proposed Findings of

Fact No. 8, filed Feb. 7, 1995 (citations omit-

ted). Plaintiffs do not dispute this fact.

(Emphasis added)2?

29 Avenal v. United States, 33 Fed.Cl. 778, 781 (Fed. Cl.

1995). See Exhibit “H”.

A-153

The court further noted:

The Caernarvon project was designed not

only to abate saltwater intrusion, but also to

abate marine tidal invasion. At the July 31,

1984 public hearing, the President of the

Louisiana Oyster Dealers and Growers indi-

cated his support for both the Caernarvon

project and freshwater diversion structures

generally. (Emphasis added)>9

B. ULTIMATE DETERMINATION IN FEDERAL

COURT.

On August 2, 1995, the Court of Federal Claims

granted the United States’ Motion for Summary Judgment,

finding that the leaseholders hold no compensable property

interest in the salinity of the waters above their leased

acreage, an area which had been historically too fresh for

oyster cultivation prior to the construction of the Mississippi

River levee system.>! The lower court’s opinion also specif-

ically addressed the United States’ argument related to the

lack of reasonable investment-backed expectations in the

subject leases.

On November 12, 1996, the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit affirmed the lower court’s judgment,

but on different grounds. 32 The Court held that these same

oyster lessees could not have had reasonable investment-

backed expectations such that their oyster leases would give

30 Id. See Exhibit “H”.

31 Id. See Exhibit “H”.

32 Avenal v. United States, 100 F.3d 933 (Fed. Cir. 1996). See

Exhibit “I”.

A-154

them rights protected from the planned freshwater diversions

of the state and federal governments.2> The Federal Circuit

held that under entrenched constitutional law the absence of

reasonable investment-backed expectations barred the

Plaintiffs’ recovery.>4 In reaching this conclusion, the

Federal Circuit restated and confirmed the federal position

regarding regulatory takings under the federal law as set out

by the U.S. Supreme Court.35

The Court reiterated the lower court’s findings with

respect to Plaintiffs’ prior notice of the Caernarvon project

and its effects on the oyster industry, resulting in their lack of

reasonable investment-backed expectations:

It is hard for them [the Plaintiffs] to claim sur-

prise, however, that the pre-existing salinity

conditions, created at least in part by earlier

government activity, were not left alone, but

were again tampered with to their (this time)

disadvantage.

... (T)hey cannot here insist on a guarantee of

non-interference by government when they_

well knew or should have known that, in

response to widely shared public concerns,

including concerns of the oyster industry

itself, government actions were being planned

that would directly affect their new economic

investments. These concerns and

33 Id. at 937. See Exhibit “I”.

34 Id.

35 Id. citing, Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New_York

City, 438 U.S. 104, 124, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 2659 (1978).

/

/

A-155

plans date back to the early part of the centu-

ry, and beginning in the 1950’s and 1960’s

were actively being pursued by state and fed-

eral agencies. They were certainly a part of

the environment in which the raising and har-

. vesting of oysters in the Louisiana marshes

were conducted. (Emphasis added).3®

The Court concluded by stating:

In light of the history of events in this case,

plaintiffs, as a matter of law must be assumed

to have known that their rights to use the bot-

tom-lands for oystering were subject to the

inevitable changes that the anticipated gov-

ernment program would bring about. 7

C. STATE COURT PROCEEDINGS TO DATE

While the federal proceedings had terminated, the

State court proceedings in the 25th JDC, Parish of

Plaquemines continued. In accordance with the court’s pre-

trial scheduling order, on December 15, 1998, DNR filed

several motions for summary judgment, including one based

on the issue of collateral estoppel.38 DNR asserted that the

decision in the federal proceeding dismissing Plaintiffs’

36 - Id. at 937.

37 _Ayenal, 100 F.3d at 937. See Exhibit “I”.

38 Judge Roe took DNR’s other motions for summary judge-

ment under advisement. Thus, the issues raised on those motions are not

made a part of this Writ Application.

A-156

claims on summary judgment had a preclusive effect upon

the state court proceedings and thus, the present suit against

the State should likewise be dismissed. This matter came for

hearing before the Honorable William A. Roe on January 5,

1999. Judge Roe denied all of DNR’s Motions including

DNR’s Motion for Summary Judgment Based Upon the

Doctrine of Collateral Estoppel.39 From the Trial Court’s

adverse decision, DNR filed an application for supervisory

writs and/or writs of review before the Fourth Circuit Court

of Appeals on January 15, 1999. The Fourth Circuit then

issued a stay order regarding further proceedings pending its

action on the writ application.

On March 3, 1999, a five judge panel for the Fourth

Circuit issued a 3-2 opinion authored by Judge Miriam

Waltzer granting the writ application, and reversed the Trial

Court’s denial of summary judgment.49 The Fourth Circuit

panel found that the issue of the preclusive effect of a prior

federal decision was a matter of federal law, and on this basis

determined that the Plaintiffs’ claims were barred by the fed-

eral common law of collateral estoppel.4! All five

39 See Exhibit “A”.

40 Exhibit “B,” Original Opinion, CA No. 99-0127 (La.App.

4th Cir. 3/3/99), Majority opinion by Judge Waltzer in which Judge Pro

Tempore James C. Gulotta and Judge Pro Tempore Philip C. Ciaccio

joined; Judge James F. McKay, III issued a separate opinion in which he

concurred in part and dissented in part. Chief Judge Robert J. Klees

joined in Judge McKay’s opinion. The five judge panel apparently result-

ed from the preliminary decision of the original three judge panel to over-

rule the Trial Court, all in accordance with Uniform Appellate Rule | - 5.

41 ]d at6- 11.

A-157

judges agreed that the Plaintiffs’ inverse condemnation

claims under the Fifth Amendment of the United States

or one were barred by the doctrine of collateral estop-

pel.

The Plaintiffs thereafter sought rehearing on March

17, 1999, requesting that the panel compare the facts in the

two cases to see if the elements of collateral estoppel had

been met, i.e., whether the fact situations matched. On

March 26, 1999 the Fourth Circuit issued a writ of certiorari

to the 25th JDC43 so as to allow the Court “to consider

whether the issue actually litigated in the prior federal action

is identical to an issue at stake in this subsequent state

action.”44

Following oral argument on September 15, 1999, the

same five judge panel of the Fourth Circuit reversed itself 3-

2, not on the basis of a comparison of the two Courts’

records, but rather on entirely legal bases. Essentially Judge

Ciaccio changed his vote issuing written reasons in a con-

curring opinion accompanying the majority opinion. The

Fourth Circuit panel’s majority opinion created new law to

overrule its prior opinion, holding that: (1) collateral estop-

pel is inapplicable under any circumstances in any Louisiana

Court despite federal and state law to the contrary; (2) the

legal standard applicable to “takings” under Louisiana con-

stitutional law differs from that under federal constitutional

law; (3) the United States Supreme Court’s requisite consid-

42 Id. See concurring/dissenting opinion of Judge James

McKay, III.

43 Exhibit “J”.

44 Exhibit “C,” Opinion on Rehearing, CA No. 99-0127

(3/15/00), _ So.2d__ dissent of Judge Miriam Waltzer at p. 2.

A-158

eration of reasonable or distinct investment-backed expecta-

tions to determine whether a taking has occurred is simply

“irrelevant” under Louisiana law; and, (4) the only bar to

compensation under either an expropriation or inverse con-

demnation action in Louisiana is the “bad faith” of the

claimant.

From this adverse ruling based entirely upon new

law, DNR seeks review. Given the import of this decision on

the State’s entire coastal restoration program as well as the

potential exposure of all governmental entities at every level

in Louisiana for inverse condemnation claims as a result of

this ruling, DNR seeks expedited review. DNR also seeks

herein a stay order as regards all proceedings in this matter

since there are presently six pending writ applications at the

Fourth Circuit, and, the Trial Court has set this matter for an

immediate status conference to set a trial date which could be

within months. DNR has previously sought and obtained

stays at the Fourth Circuit level on this matter but was denied

such relief at this time.4> DNR had also exhausted all stay

remedies at the Trial Court level.46

ASSIGNMENT OF ERRORS

Defendants/Applicants submit that the Trial Court

and/or the Fourth Circuit have erred as follows:

1.The lower courts erred by failing to dismiss the

Plaintiffs’ claims which were barred by the doctrine

45 Exhibit “E”.

46 Exhibit “D”.

—a ee oe ee

A-159

of collateral estoppel as applied under the federal

common law applicable to the state court proceeding,

and by failing to give full faith and credit to a prior

federal decision.

2.The Fourth Circuit erred by creating an artificial

distinction between what constitutes a “taking” under

the United States and Louisiana Constitutions.

3.The Fourth Circuit committed a gross departure

from the established and existing jurisprudence of the

United States Supreme Court and many of the courts

of the United States as well as the Louisiana courts by

eliminating consideration of reasonable and/or dis-

tinct investment-backed expectations from a court’s

. analysis of “takings” or inverse condemnation

claims.

4.The Fourth Circuit erred in eliminating all govern-

mental defenses to claims for “takings” or inverse

condemnation claims except for the defense of “bad

‘ faith.”

47 Exhibit “B,” Albert J. Avenal, Jr., et al. v. The State of

Louisiana, The Department of Natural Resources, CA No. 99-C-0127,

original opinion dated 3/3/99 granting DNR’s writ and reversing Trial

Court judgment, p. 6.

48 Exhibit “C,” Opinion on rehearing, CA No. 99-C-0127, dis-

sent, *2 (La.App. 4th Cir. 3/15/00).

A-160

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Fourth Circuit’s ruling presents a frontal assault

on three major entrenched areas of constitutional law: (1) the

supremacy of federal law; (2) the constitutional analysis of a

“taking” or inverse condemnation claim; and, (3) the legal

concepts of expropriation and inverse condemnation under

Louisiana law.

If allowed to stand, this decision will completely

transform the law related to inverse condemnation or “tak-

ings” in Louisiana by eliminating all governmental defenses

available to State, Parish and local government for “takings”

claims except for a new defense of “bad faith,” or fraud,

heretofore never applied in the context of inverse condemna-

tion. Absent proof of fraud, all “takings” claims are valid,

and any governmental action is now subject to challenge and

compensation. Such challenges will include regulatory rul-

ings, zoning changes, physical proximity or occupation

claims, delays or detours, wetland regulation, permit

issuance, and in fact, any governmental decision which

might have any economic impact whatsoever, no matter how

slight, as long as the claims are based on a “takings” or

inverse condemnation theory.

The Fourth Circuit not only eliminated governmental

defenses, but also jettisoned the United States Supreme

Court’s second fundamental requirement for a takings claim

to proceed: that the claimant have reasonable “investment-

backed expectations” in the property that is allegedly taken.

To reach this result the Fourth Circuit merged statutory con-

cepts of expropriation with inverse condemnation, a concept

defined by a fast growing body of jurisprudential law, pri-

marily federal in origin.

a ee ee ee ae

A-161

Lastly, the Fourth Circuit refused to apply the federal inter-

pretation of the doctrine of collateral estoppel to the

Plaintiffs’ claims in these proceedings which are identical to

those brought by these same Plaintiffs in a parallel federal

proceeding. Had the Fourth Circuit done so, the Plaintiffs’

claims would have been dismissed.

ARGUMENT

I.THE TRIAL COURT AND LATER THE

COURT OF APPEALS SHOULD HAVE DIS-

MISSED THE PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIMS UNDER

THE DOCTRINE OF COLLATERAL ESTOP-

PEL PURSUANT TO APPLICABLE FEDERAL

COMMON LAW.

A. The Preclusive Effect of a Prior Federal

Decision Is an Issue of Federal Law.

Judge Miriam G. Waltzer of the Fourth Circuit suc-

cinctly explained in her original majority opinion why the

Fourth Circuit was bound to apply federal common law relat-

ed to collateral estoppel in this matter, citing precedent from

this Honorable Court:

We must apply federal law to determine the

effect of the judgment, rendered in the feder-

al action, on the proceedings in state court.

Reeder v. Succession of Palmer, 623 So.2d

1268, 1271 (La. 1993). We must apply feder-

al law to “determine the preclusive effects

A-162 ,

of a judgment rendered by a federal court

exercising federal question jurisdiction.”

14.47

After the 3-2 opinion issued reversing the original

Fourth Circuit Judgment and Judge Waltzer’s scholarly opin-

ion, Judge Waltzer set out the applicable law which formed

the basis for her original reasoning in the dissent she pre-

pared in which Judge James C. Gulotta joined: |

In deciding the preclusive effect of a federal

judgment, we are bound by Louisiana law

(and arguably the United States Constitution)

to apply federal law. Reeder v. Succession of

Palmer, 623 So.2d 1268, 1271 (La. 1993).

Collateral estoppel, or issue preclusion, is a

concept firmly entrenched in federal law.

Recoveredge, L.P. v. Pentecost, 44 F.3d 1284,

1291 (Sth Cir. 1995). Although the leasehold-

ers did not sue the State of Louisiana in the

prior federal suit, such an identity of parties is

not required to apply the doctrine of collater- -

al estoppel, or issue preclusion. Blonder -

Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 313, 91 S.Ct.

1434, 28 L.Ed.2d 798 (1970).48

eee ee ee ee eee Pe eT

47 _ Exhibit “B,” Albert J. Avenal, Jr., et al. v. The State of

Louisiana, The Department of Natural Resources, CA No. 99-C-0127,

original opinion dated 3/3/99 granting DNR’s writ and reversing Trial

Court judgment, p. 6.

48 Exhibit “C,” Opinion on rehearing, CA No. 99-C-0127, dis-

sent, *2 (La.App. 4th Cir. 3/15/00).

A-163

Judge Waltzer’s original opinion written for the

majority as well as her dissent to the eventual 3-2 opinion en

rehearing both frames and capsulizes DNR’s position on this

issue. In line with this Honorable Court’s opinion in Reeder,

Louisiana courts have repeatedly and consistently held that

the preclusive effect of a prior federal decision is an issue of

federal common law, not Louisiana State law.4? The major-

ity opinion on rehearing mistakenly relied upon cases deal-

ing with the preclusive effect of prior state, not federal, deci-

sions.>9

The preclusive effect of a prior federal decision

emanates from the United States Constitution’s Supremacy

Clause?! and Full Faith and Credit Clause>2 as well as the

federal “full faith and credit” statute>> all of which require

each State to give the same effect to the judgments of feder-

al courts as those judgments have in the jurisdictions where

49 j i ,

95-0654 *14 (La. 1/16/96), 666 So.2d 624, 632-3: Trich v. Crescent Turn

Key & Engineering, L.L.C., 99-310 *5 (La.App. 5th Cir. 9/28/99), 744

So.2d 689, 692; Andrepont v. Andrepont, 97-1643 *3 (La.App. 3rd Cir.

Williams v, Insurance Company of North

4/1/98), 711 So.2d 759, 761; Willi

America, 96-0847 *3 (La.App. 4th Cir. 3/19/97), 692 So.2d 654, 656;

Rochon v, Whitley, 96-0835 *4 (La.App. Ist Cir. 2/ 14/97), 691 So.2d

189, 191; Schlesinger v. Herzog, 95-1127 *21 (La.App. 4th Cir. 4/3/96),

672 So.2d 701, 714; Tye v. Co-Mar Offshore Operators, Inc., 95-0094 *3

(La.App. Ist Cir. 10/6/95), 669 So.2d 438, 439; City of New Orleans vy.

Badine Land Ltd,, 94-2631 *6 (La.App. 4th Cir. 6/29/95), 657 So.2d 770,

773: Toli : as ae

j , 94-1444 *8 (La.App. 4th Cir.

5/16/95), 655 So.2d 747, 753.

50 Steptoe v, Lallie Kemp Hospital, 634 So.2d 331, 335 (La.

1994); Welch » Crown Zellerbach Corp.. 359 So.2d 154, 156 (La. 1978).

51 Art. VI, Section 2.

52. Art. IV, Section 1.

53 28 U.S.C. $1738.

A-164

rendered.>4 Indeed, in Pilie & Pilie v. Metz,> 5 this

Honorable Court noted that “the principle that a state court

must apply federal law in deciding upon at least the central

core of res judicata effects of any federal court judgment is

immanent within the constitution and laws establishing our

federal system”. 56 The collateral estoppel component of res

judicata is included within the full faith and credit mandate

of this principle. 57

Consistent with this rule of law, the Louisiana courts

have likewise recognized the preclusive effect of a prior fed-

eral court determination or decision and have — the fed-

eral common law rule of collateral estoppel.-° In fact, an

earlier opinion by Judge James McKay, III, the author of the

majority opinion in this matter, applied a collateral estoppel

analysis under federal common law based upon his conclu-

sion that, “federal law governs the preclusive effects of a fed-

eral judgment.”>? Moreover, the entire panel in this matter

recognized the applicability of collateral estoppel by dis-

54 Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 475, 488 n. 9, 114 S.Ct. 2364,

2373 n. 9 (1994); Magnolia Petroleum Company v. Hunt, 320 U.S. 430,

437- 438, 64 S.Ct. 208, 212- 213 (1943); Stoll v, Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165,

167 - 171, 59 S.Ct. 134, 135 - 138 (1938); Crescent City Livestock

Landry & Slaughter-House Co, v. Butchers’ Union Slaughter-House &

Live-Stock Landing Co., 120 U.S. 141, 160, 7 S.Ct. 482, 474 (1887);

Embry v. Palmer, 107 U.S. 3, 9 - 10, 2 S.Ct. 25, 27 - 30 (1872).

55 547 So.2d 1305, 1308 (La. 1989).

56 Id. at 1308, citing 18 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure, section 4468 (1981).

57 United States v. Silliman, 167 F.2d 607, 612, 620 - 621 (3rd

Cir.), cert. denied, 335 U.S. 825, 69 S.Ct. 48 (1948).

58 See, e.g., McCollough v, Dauzat, 98-1293 *3 (La.App. 3rd

Cir. 3/3/99), 736 So.2d 914, 915.

59 Stone v. Entergy Services, Inc,, 99-0236 *3 (La.App. 4th

Cir. 8/18/99), 744 So.2d 141; writ denied, 99-2719 (La. 11/24/99), 750

So.2d 989.

ee

A-165

missing the Plaintiffs’ claims based upon the Fifth

Amendment “taking” theories. Thus, the majority has

already acknowledged that the facts necessary to prove a tak-

ing are missing from this matter, and should have dismissed

federal and state claims.

“Application of collateral estoppel in this matier is

also consistent with the general principles or policy reasons

behind the concept of res judicata of which collateral estop-

pel forms a part, i.e., to promote judicial efficiency and final

resolution of disputes by preventing needless relitigation.

Indeed, not too long ago the Louisiana legislature spoke on

the viability of this policy, by relaxing the rules of res judi-

cata.°0 In this same vein, as former Chief Justice John A.

Dixon, Jr. had written well before those amendments:

It is implicit in the concept of a judicial sys-

tem that controversies be finally resolved so

that parties may enjoy their rights and so that

conflicting legal obligations may not be

imposed on an individual; litigation must end

at some point. Precluding relitigation pre-

vents inefficient use of the courts’ resources,

reduces the possibility of harassment through

vexatious suits, and helps maintain respect for

the judicial process by guarding against

inconsistent decisions.

If this Honorable Court should choose to apply appli-

cable federal common law, i.e., the doctrine of collater-

60 Acts 1990, No. 521 §1, eff. Jan. 1, 1991 amending La. R.S.

13:4231 (see also comments related to same).

61 Dixon, Booksh, Zimmering, Res Judicata in Louisiana

Since Hope v. Madison, 51 Tul.L.Rev. 611 (1977), (footnotes in quota-

tion omitted.)

A-166

al estoppel, in accordance with the applicable federal consti-

tutional and statutory law and consistent with prior opinions

of the Louisiana courts, DNR submits that the Plaintiffs’

claims must be dismissed under the applicable federal com-

mon law associated with the federal courts’ interpretation of

the doctrine of collateral estoppel, here defensive collateral

estoppel.

B. Application of the Federal Common Law

of Collateral Estoppel Results in the

Dismissal of Plaintiffs’ Claims.

The federal law of collateral estoppel, which the trial

court is required to apply, consists of four elements:

(1)The issue at stake must be identical to the one

involved in the prior action;

(2)The issue must have been actually litigated in the

prior action;

(3)The determination of the issue in the prior action

must have been a necessary part of the judgment in

that earlier action; and

(4)There is no special circumstance that would make

it unfair to apply the doctrine.©2

All of the factors necessary for the court to apply the

federal law of collateral estoppel have been met. First, as can

be seen from the federal Complaint and the state court

Petition, the takings issue is identical. Second, the takings

“62 Copeland, supra, at 1423.

A-167

issue was actually litigated in both the federal trial court and

federal appellate court, with the appellate court specifically

affirming summary judgment based on the fact that the

Plaintiffs had no reasonable investment-backed expectations

in their leases.°3 More importantly, the Fourth Circuit’s

opinion on rehearing does not indicate that there is any fac-

tual distinction between the two cases. As to the third ele-

ment of the collateral estoppel test, the takings issue was a

necessary part of the federal judgment. In fact, the decision

on the takings issue was the core of the dispute. Fourth and

finally, there is no special circumstance that would make it

unfair to apply the doctrine of collateral estoppel.

The United States Supreme Court has specifically

held that collateral estoppel may be asserted by a party even

if that party was not involved in the prior litigation.°* This

is known as defensive collateral estoppel wherein a plaintiff

is estopped from asserting a claim that the plaintiff has pre-

viously litigated and lost against another defendant. As

the United States Fifth Circuit has held, “collateral estoppel

bars a plaintiff from assailing the defendants for proceeding

without change upon a course of conduct previously held

lawful against plaintiff’s identical attack.”©® In other words,

the defensive use of collateral estoppel precludes a plaintiff

from relitigating identical issues by merely “switch-

63 See Exhibit “I”.

64 Parklane Hosiery Co., Inc. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322, 326-333,

99 S.Ct. 649-52 (1979).

65 Id.

66 Exhibitors Poster Exch., Inc. v, National Screen S.C., 517

F.2d 110, 114 (Sth Cir. 1975).

A-168

ing adversaries.”©7 ~ Stated succinctly, defensive collateral

estoppel may be urged by a party to the second suit who was

not even a party to the first suit.

As the Federal Circuit affirmed the Court of Federal

Claims’ dismissal of the Plaintiffs’ complaint on summary

judgment and all of the elements of collateral estoppel have

been met, the Trial Court should have applied the doctrine of

defensive collateral estoppel, thereby dismissing the

Plaintiffs’ claims in the instant litigation in their entirety.

Il. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S MAJORITY OPIN-

ION ATTEMPTS TO ELIMINATE “INVEST-

MENT-BACKED EXPECTATIONS” FROM

CONSID ERATION IN THE ANALYSIS OF

INVERSE CONDEMNATION CLAIMS CON-

TRARY TO ESTABLISHED CONSTITUTION-

AL PRECEDENT.

A. “Investment-Backed Expectations” Form

the Second Element of the Three Pronged

Test for Takings under Established

Constitutional Law.

The Federal Circuit dismissed the Plaintiffs’ claims

- based upon the fact that the Plaintiffs had no reasonable

investment-backed expectations in their oyster leases as

required under the United States Supreme Court decision,

P. i v. New

67 Parklane Hosiery, supra, at 329, 651, citing Bernhard v.

Bank of America Nat. Trust & Savings Assn., 19 Cal.2d 807, 813, 122

P.2d, 892 at 895.

«68s Id. /

69 438 U.S. 104, 98 S.Ct. 2646 (1978).

A-169

The Penn Central inquiry entails a balancing test in which

(1) the economic impact, (2) reasonable investment-backed

expectations, and (3) the character of the governmental

action at issue are weighed to determine whether compensa-

tion is mandated.’2 As part of its burden of proof, the

claimant must show that the effects of the governmental

action — the property at issue frustrated reasonable expec-

tations.’* As recently as last year, the Federal Circuit reaf-

firmed the requisite takings analysis that “for any regulatory

takings claim to succeed, the Claimant must show that the

government’s regulatory restraint interfered with his invest-

ment-backed expectations in a manner that requires the gov-

ernment to compensate him. 12 Moreover, a reasonable

investment-backed expectation must be more than a “unilat-

eral expectation or an abstract need.”/3 Given the impor-

tance the Courts have placed on this concept, “investment-

backed expectations,” the requisite second element of the

constitutional “takings” test has proved so important that

70 Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124 - 128, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 2659

(1978). |

71 Florida Rock Industries, Inc, v. United States, 45 Fed.Cl. 21,

38 (1999).

72 Good v. United States, 189 F.3d 1355, 1360 (Fed.Cir. 1999),

cert. denied, 529U.S._,_—s——s S.Ct. __—— (4/3/00), citing Loveladies

Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171 (F (Fed.Cir. 1994).

73 Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, 467 U.S. 986, 1004 - 1006, 104

S.Ct. 2862, 2874 (1984); Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith,

449 U.S. 155, 161, 101 S.Ct. 446, 451 (1980).

A-170

it has been the subject of repeated and extensive comment. /4

The Fourth Circuit’s ruling suggests that Louisiana

does not follow United States Constitutional law in any

shape or form. This is not the case. In reality, like the estab-

lished federal taking test, Louisiana has a formula for recov-

ery under an inverse condemnation theory. In determining

whether a claimant is entitled to eminent domain compensa-

tion in an action for inverse condemnation, our Louisiana

Supreme Court has adopted a three-prong analysis:

(1)Whether a person’s legal right with respect

to a thing or an object has been affected;

United Statca. No. 97-5138 (Fad. Ck: Aus. 31, 1999), 14 No. 9 NAAG

Nat’! Envtl. Enforcement J. 27, October 1999; Washburn, “Reasonable

nvestment-Backed xpectation

Interest, 49 Wash. UJ. Urb. & ‘Contain: L. 63, Summer 1996:

Friedmann, Taking Claim Fails When Landowner Had No Investment-

Backed Expectations, 10 NO. 4 N.Y. Real Est. L. Rep. 3, February 1996;

Mandelker, Investment-Backed Expectations In Taking Law, 27 Urb.

seep 215, Pie 1995; i sees Fa Ay COR

a aa resting Wands And Restnable Invent

Picadas 54 a LJ. 1219, Fall, 1987,

A-171

(2)If it is determined that property is

involved, whether the property, either a right or thing

has been taken or damaged in a constitutional sense;

and

(3)Whether the taking or damaging is for a

public purpose under Article I, Section 4 of the

Louisiana Constitution. ’>

Thus, to recover on an inverse condemnation in

Louisiana, a claimant must establish that property “has been

taken or damaged in a constitutional sense,” the same burden

of proof as is set out under the three-pronged federal consti-

tutional test for recovery on an inverse condemnation theory.

Not surprisingly, Louisiana courts look to the immense body

of federal “takings” jurisprudence to determine whether a

“taking” has occurred.

B. The Louisiana Supreme Court and the

Lower Courts Have Consistently Applied

United States Constitutional Law to

Determine Whether a “Taking” Has

Occurred in the Context of Inverse

Condemnation Jurisprudence.

As Judge Waltzer observed in her original majority

opinion in this matter, “Louisiana courts have consistently

considered federal law in analyzing whether particular facts

constitute a taking of property in similar inverse condemna-

tion suits.”7© For example, in, Annison v. Hoover, ”’ the

Court took the opportunity to study the issue of inverse con-

75 Id. at 603.

76 Exhibit “B,” Original Opinion at p. 8 (emphasis original).

77 517 So.2d 420 (La. App. Ist Cir. 1987).

A-172

demnation with respect to a zoning ordinance enacted by the

City of Denham Springs. The Court analyzed the inverse

condemnation issue not under expropriation law, but rather

under the United States Supreme Court precedents of First

English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v. County

of Los Angeles, California’* and Keystone Bituminous Coal

Association v, DeBenedictis .”? Importantly, the Annison

Court also cites the United States Supreme Court case of

Agins v. Tiburon,®9 which applies the Penn Central balanc-

ing test, the same test the Federal Circuit applied in affirm-

ing the lower court’s grant of summary judgment in Avenal,

to an inverse condemnation case.

Other Louisiana courts have similarly decided tak-

ings/inverse condemnation cases, relying upon the most

recent United States Supreme Court decisions WRAP f

that issue. For example, in Layne v. City of Mandeville®2

the plaintiffs filed a takings claim alleging that a zoning :—-

ulation denied them the business use of their property.

Plaintiffs in that matter initially contended that the Erie doc-

trine, which dictates that the substantive laws of States must

govern, even where federal constitutional precepts-are at

issue controlled. Plaintiffs further argued that Louisiana case

law and property concepts should override federal takings

jurisprudence. The Court rejected such assertions, stating:

78 482 U.S. 304, 107 S.Ct. 2378, 96 L.Ed.2d 250 (1987).

79 480 U.S. 263, 107 S.Ct. 1232, 94 L.Ed.2d 472 (1987).

80 447 U.S. 255, 100 S.Ct. 2138, 65 L.Ed.2d 106 (1980).

81 Annison, 517 So.2d at 423. Both First Evangelical and

DeBenedictis also cite the Penn Central decision.

82 633 So.2d 608 (La. App. Ist Cir. 1993).

2 ae eo ee

A-173

The Erie doctrine is a federal rule which

requires federal courts sitting in diversity to

apply the substantive law of the States in

which they are sitting. Erie has no application

in state court. Moreover, because of the

supremacy Clause, all state law is subordinate

to and may not detract from federal consti-

tutional rights. U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2.

Thus, we cannot agree with plaintiffs’ sug-

gestion that we are not bound by federal con-

stitutional law in this case. (Emphasis

added)83

The Layne Court then analyzed the plaintiffs” takings

claim under the recently decided United States Supreme

Court decision in Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal

Council ®4. The trial court in Layne had granted defendant’s

motion for summary judgment by interpreting Lucas as stat-

ing a rule that a taking occurs only when an owner is

deprived of all economically beneficial use of his land. The

First Circuit disagreed, pointing out that Lucas also states

that an owner not deprived of all use must undergo a fact spe-

cific determination of the economic impact of the regulation

on the claimant and the extent to which the regulation has

interfered with distinct investment-backed expectations.85

In other words, the First Circuit held that the trial

83 Id, at 610.

84 505 U.S. 1003, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992).

85 Layne, 633 So.2d at 611, citing Lucas v. South Carolina

Coastal Council, 112 S.Ct. at 2895.

A-174

court should have applied the Penn Central balancing test,

the same test the Federal Circuit applied in affirming the

lower court’s grant of summary judgment in Avenal.

The First Circuit again surveyed federal constitution-

al law in deciding an sate ere case in Standard

Materials v. City of Slidell.8® The Court began its analysis

by illustrating the similarities between the Fifth Amendment

to the Constitution of the United States, made a ca to

the States through the Fourteenth Amendment®’, and the

Louisiana equivalent, Article I, Section 4 of the Lovliiens

Constitution. The Court then affirmed the dual structure of

federal takings law, noting that a constitutional “taking” can

be a physical taking or a regulatory taking. 88 The Court also

cited with approval the holding in Layne, supra, that the

determination of whether a taking has occurred is a factual

determination,®? ie. the same test the Federal Circuit

applied in affirming the lower court’s grant of summary

judgment in Avenal.

More recently, this Honorable Court applied federat

inverse condemnation/“takings” law in Louisiana Seafood

Management Council _v. Louisiana Wildlife & Fisheries

Commission”? in determining whether a compensable tak-

1

86 700 So.2d 975 (La. App. Ist Cir. 1997).

87 Id. at 984, citing Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 383-

384, 114 S.Ct. 2309, 2316 129 L.Ed.2d 304 (1994).

88 Id. at 990, n. 11, citing Yee v,. City of Escondido, California,

503 U.S. 519, 522, 112 S.Ct. 1522, 1526, 118 L.Ed.2d oA pl and

Johnson City. 473 US. 172, 186, 105 S.Ct. 3108, 3116, 87 L.Ed.2d 126

(1985).

89 Id. at 984.

90 715 So.2d 387 (La. 1998).

A-175

ing of property interests of commercial fishermen had

occurred as a result of the recently enacted gill net ban law.

This Court initially noted the parallels of the “takings” clause

under the Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution

and its counterpart under Article I, Section 4 of Louisiana

Constitution.?! This Court then focused on the interplay

between federal takings law and state takings law under the

Louisiana Constitution. Citing the United States Supreme

Court case of "Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, ?2 this Court rec-

ognized the similarities and parallels between federal “tak-

ings” law and Louisiana takings law, echoing the Mahon

decision as follows:

Indeed, the takings clause of the State

Constitution expressly provides that the state

has the right in the exercise of its police pow-

ers to impose reasonable regulations on pri-

vate property.?9

Finally, this Court applied federal constitutional law

concepts in rejecting the Plaintiffs’ argument that the gill net

ban law diminished the economic value of their equipment.

Quoting Andrus v. Allard,?4 this Court stated that:

(L)oss of future profits - unaccompanied by

any physical property restriction - provides a

slender reed upon which to rest a taking

91 Id, at 391-392.

92 260 U.S. 393, 413, 43 S. Ct. 158, 159, 67 L.Ed. 322 (1922).

93 Id., citing, Louisiana Constitution Article I, Section 4.

94 444 US. 51, 65, 100 S.Ct. 318, 326-27, 62 L.Ed. 2d. 210

(1979).

3 A-176

claim... The interest in anticipated gains has

traditionally been viewed as less ne

than other property-related interests.?

Consistent with the approach this Honorable Court

and the First Circuit have followed, but prior to this matter,

the Fourth Circuit also followed or relied upon federal con-

stitutional precedents and authority.96 Accordingly, there

was no jurisprudential authority for the Fourth Circuit to

depart from existing federal and state constitutional jurispru-

dence in this matter and attempt to create an entirely new

body of Louisiana constitutional law. 4

c “Distinct Investment-Backed

Expectations” Are Not Only Relevant,

But Also Constitute a Critical

and Requisite Consideration for

Any Analysis of a “Takings” Claim.

In the majority opinion on rehearing, Judge McKay

wrote that the, “‘distinct investment-backed expectations’ of

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York, 438

U.S. 104, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978), is irrelevant

to the question of whether a “taking” has occurred under

Louisiana law.”27 No authority, jurisprudential or other-

wise, is cited for this pronouncement. Certainly no

Louisiana Court prior to the Fourth Circuit’s majority opin-

ion has ever reached such a conclusion. In fact, as shown

95 _Id. at 392-393, citing Andrus, 444 U.S. at 66, 100 S.Ct. at

327.

96 State D f Social Servi City of New Orl

supra, at *7, 154.

97 Exhibit “C,” Majority Opinion at p. 9 (emphasis added).

:

:

:

3

/

: A-177

above, at least one other Louisiana appellate court has con-

sidered reasonable or distinct “investment-backed expecta-

tions” to be relevant.98

A review of the jurisprudence from the other forty-

-nine States reveals that the highest courts of twenty-four (24)

States explicitly consider or recognize the requirement of

“reasonable investment-backed expectations” in a “takings”

analysis. 99 The intermediate appellate Courts of Appeal in -

six other States, Arizona, Florida, Missouri, North Carolina,

North Dakota and Wisconsin have also used the factor. 100

Significantly, DNR has been unable to locate any state court

which has rejected consideration of “reasonable” or “dis-

tinct” “investment-backed expectations” in a “takings”

analysis.

When the absence of such a finding is coupled with

the authorities cited, supra, it becomes readily apparent that

the Fourth Circuit’s attempt to eliminate consideration of

“investment-backed expectations” from a “takings” analysis

represents not only a total departure from the established

constitutional law of the United States Supreme Court, but

98 Layne v. City of Mandeville, 93-0046 (La.App. Ist Cir.

12/29/93), 633 So.2d 608, 610, writ denied, 94-0268 (La. 3/25/94), 635

So.2d 234.

99 See footnote 4, supra.

100 Arizona: Laidlaw Waste Systems, Inc, v, City of Phoenix,

~ $15 P.2d 932, 935 (Ariz.Ct.App. 1991); Florida: Golf Club of Plantation,

Inc. v. City of Plantation, 717 So.2d 166, 170 (Fla. 4th DCA “(Fa. th DCA 1998)

Missouri:

Bogue, Inc., 988 S.W.2d 102, 107 (Mo.Ct.App. 1999); North Carolina:

Sherrill v. Town of Wrightsville, 334 S.E.2d 357 (N.C.App. 1986); North

Dakota: Southwest Cass Water Resource Dist. v, Burlington Northern

RR. Co,, 527 N.W.2d 884, 894 - 895 (N.D. 1995); Wisconsin: Zealy v.

City of Waukesha, 534 N.W.2d 917, 921 - 924 (Wis.Ct.App. 1995), rev'd

on other grounds, 548 N.W.2d 528 (Wis. 1996).

A-178

also a departure from the jurisprudence of well over a major-

ity (thirty) of the United States, as well as at least one lower

appellate court of Louisiana. Accordingly, the Fourth

Circuit’s pronouncement comes without any authority what-

soever and should be overruled.

Iii. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN

ELIMINATING ALL GOVERNMENTAL

DEFENSES TO A TAKING SAVE FOR

“BAD FAITH.”

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Opinion Renders All

Louisiana Government Defenseless to

“Takings” Claims.

Not unlike the recent tornado that swept through

Houma, the Fourth Circuit’s ruling has swept through the

citadel of entrenched constitutional law, obliterating every

known governmental defense and replacing them with a sin-

gle heretofore unheard of defense in inverse condemnation,

i.e., “bad faith.” The Court has merged the distinct concepts

of expropriation and inverse condemnation to conclude that,

“the only bar (complete or partial) to compensation in either

of these situations is bad faith.”!0!

_ The Fourth Circuit’s ruling cuts a wide swath through

governmental defenses, eliminating such exceptions to gov-

ernmental “takings” as the “government action require-

ment;” per se and total “takings” analyses; the “parcel as a

whole” defense; considerations of temporary moratoria and

prohibitions; forfeiture and fines; abatement of

101 Exhibit “C,” Majority Opinion at p. 9.

A-179

nuisances; emergency actions; zr! — of rights” excep-

tion, and, categorical immunity. !0 2 In addition, the Fourth

Circuit’s ruling eliminates the navigable servitude

defense, !3 the relative benefits doctrine!94 and the scope

of wetland regulatory authority, !95 all of which were or

should be available to any state governmental entity. All of

these defenses vanish under the Fourth Circuit’s ruling.

Likewise, without any authority whatsoever, the Fourth

Circuit has not only wiped out these defenses but also any

consideration of “reasonable investment-backed expecta-

tions,” a claimant’s hurdle that has been critical to federal

and state “takings” law analysis for decades.!96 The Fourth

102 See, e.g., Sugameli, Lucas _v. South Carolina Coastal

“ ; ”

> (9 ae

Envtl.L. 939, 944 - 958 (1999).

103 Avenal v, United States: Does the State of Louisiana Have

a Property Interest in the Salinity of Its Waters?, 2 Ocean & Coastal L.J.

153, 160 - 163 (1996); Murphy v. Department of Natural Resources, 837

F.Supp. 1217, 1221 (S.D. Fla. 1993); Donnell v. United States, 834

F.Supp. 19, 26 (D. Me. 1993).

104 Hendler v. United States, 175 F.3d 1374, 1379 (Fed. Cir.

105 See, e.g.,

Council, 1995 WL 941370 (R.I. S.Ct. 1/5/95) (appeal pending).

106 See, e.g., Forrest Properties, Inc, v, United States, 177 F.3d

1360, 1367 (Fed.Cir.), cert. denied, = U.S.__, 120 S.Ct. 373 (1999)

(rejecting an investment-backed expectations claim because the property

was purchased in 1988, years after the Corps’ wetland guidelines went

into effect); Creppel v. United States, 41 F.3d 627, 632 (Fed.Cir. 1994)

(“One who buys with knowledge of restraint assumes the risk of eco-

nomic loss”); Brunelle v. Town of South Kingstown, 700 A.2d 1075,

1083 (R.I. 1997) (“(W)e do not believe that compensation is required for

the simple reason that Brunelle, when he purchased the lot, did so with

full knowledge [of the restrictions]’’); Williams v. City of Central, 907

P.2d 701, 707 (Colo.Ct.App. 1995) (“If the landowner has

1999).

A-180

Circuit’s action effectively reduces “takings” law in

Louisiana to a system of automatic payments regardless of

the merits of a “takings” claim, unless the governmental enti-

ty can prove “bad faith,” i.e., fraud, a defense inexplicably

somehow extracted from expropriation law.!

B. The Fourth Circuit’s Action Renders

Recovery on a “Takings” Theory Well-

Nigh Automatic.

As this Honorable Court has recently observed, quot-

ing several authorities:

Governmental regulation - - by definition - -

involves the adjustment of private rights for

public benefit. To require compensation

whenever the law curtailed the potential for

economic exploitation ‘would effectively

compel the-government to regulate by pur-

chase.”!98 As a result, economic restraints

do not rise to the level of a taking because, in -

(footnote 106 continued)

notice [at the time of purchase] of the extent of the government’s regula-

tory authority over the property, the landowner’s reasonable investment-

backed expectations is the dispositive factor in the takings analysis.”);

Buechel_v. Department of Ecology, 884 P.2d 910, 918 - 919

(Wash.Ct.App. 1994) (finding that the landowner could not claim that

State Shoreline Management Act diminished the value of his property as

he had acquired it after the Act was enacted).

107 i

Co,, 249 So.2d 161, 171 (La. 1971).

108 Lawrence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law, 596-97

Andrus v, Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 65, 100 S.Ct. 318,

(2dEd. 1988) (quoting

326, 62 L.Ed.2d 210 (1979) (emphasis in original)).

A-181

the off-quoted words of former Justice

Holmes, ‘(g)overnment hardly could go on if

to some extent values incident to property

could not be diminished without paying for

every such change in the general law.’ 109

The Fourth Circuit’s action flies in the face of this

sound reasoning. Specifically, the Fourth Circuit’s ruling

eliminates all known governmental defenses and replaces

them with a single defense of “bad faith,” i.e., fraud, which

has never been considered a defense in inverse condemnation

by any state or federal court in Louisiana. DNR is unaware

of any other court which has limited government entities to

such a defense or even considered such a defense. If the

Fourth Circuit’s ruling is allow to stand, Louisiana govern-

ment at every level, State, Parish or local, will be subjected

to takings claims for which there will be no defenses other

than fraud, bringing government at every level to a halt. This

means that governmental officials will have to prove fraud

against their own constituents and electorate or, alternative-

ly, pay any claim presented to them.

oe To Reach Its Result, The Fourth Circuit

Inexplicably Merged the Distinct Concepts

of Expropriation and Inverse

Condemnation.

The term “inverse condemnation” is neither synony-

mous nor interchangeable with “expropriation.” Yet the

109

Louisiana Seafood Management Council v, Louisiana

Wildlife & Fisheries Commission, 97-1367 (La. 5/19/98), *8-9, 715

So.2d 387, 392, citing, Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393,

413, 43 S.Ct. 158, 159, 67 L.Ed. 322 (1922).

A-182

Fourth Circuit has incorrectly treated the two as one concept

to conclude that the only defense to a “taking” is that avail-

able under expropriation, i.e., bad faith. As will be shown

below, the two concepts are separate and distinct legal con-

structs under Louisiana law.

1. Expropriation

The power of expropriation or eminent domain is the

right of the state or its subdivisions to take private property

for public | aga which is inherent in the police power of

the state.!11 The Louisiana expropriation \aws are a crea-

ture of statutory lav and provide in detail how the expropri-

ation proceedings must take place. ! 12 For example, La. R.S.

19:2.2 provides that before exercising its rights of expropri-

ation, the state or its political subdivisions must provide the

owner with certain information from its appraisal as to the

amount of compensation due. The required information

includes the name, address, and qualifications of the apprais-

ers, the amount of the appraisals, and a description of the

methodology used in the appraisal. Additionally, the state

must offer to compensate the owner in an amount equal] to at

least the lowest appraisal. 113 Obviously, the major differ-

ence between expropriation and inverse condemnation is that

the government intends to take property and institutes expro-

priation proceedings toward that end. In

contrast, with inverse condemnation, it is unclear

whether property has been taken. Therefore, the Claimant

must prove the property has been taken or damaged and -

the government should be allowed to disprove

111 Hobgood v, Parish of East Baton Rouge, 563 So.2d 413

(La. App. Ist Cir. 1990), writ denied, 567 So.2d 105.

112 La. R.S. 19:1, et seg.

113 See, Board Of Commissioners 625 So.2d at 1073 - 1074,

;

/

Pease ee eet. ge

: , i.

DN age Le ee ye, eee

A-183

such a claim. An analogy can be made to the difference

between stipulated liability in tort and an injured Plaintiff's

burden of proof when liability in tort is contested.

The “bad faith” defense can arise when an expropri-

ation proceeding has been undertaken by the State. Plaintiffs

have repeatedly acknowledged that this is not an expropria-

tion case, but an inverse condemnation case. In expropria-

tio, the State acknowledges that the property is being taken

for a public purpose and only “bad faith” will justify a denial

of, or reduction in, recovery. In contrast, an inverse con-

demnation action requires the Plaintiff to show that his prop-

erty interest has been taken in a constitutional sense and all

aspects of his property interest or economic expectations are

placed directly at-issue. Thus the Plaintiffs’ prior knowledge

or notice of the proposed government action is relevant to

whether a “taking” actually occurred. Accordingly, the

expropriation cases relied upon by the Plaintiffs in proceed-

ings below completely contradict their self-described inverse

condemnation suit against DNR. A careful review of inverse

condemnation cases under Louisiana law reveals this impor-

tant distinction.

ie Inverse Condemnation

The legal standard used in determining an action for

inverse condemnation differs sharply from that used in a ©

statutory expropriation proceeding. This Court has recog-

_ nized the action for inverse condemnation arises out of the

self-executing nature of the constitutional command to pay

nS

A-184

ust compensation. 114 The action for inverse condemnation

provides a procedural remedy to a property owner seeking

compensation for land allegedly taken or damaged in a con-

stitutional sense against a governmental or private entity hav-

ing the powers of eminent domain where no expropriation

has commenced.!!5 Where no expropriation has taken

place, Plaintiffs must prove that a “taking” has occurred.

They must therefore prove the elements of a taking and over-

come the defenses thereto. Plaintiffs have never cited and

DNR has never found a case in which a Louisiana Court has

applied the statutory law of expropriation in an inverse con-

demnation suit, or the law of inverse condemnation to a

statutory expropriation proceeding. To do so would directly

violate this Honorable Court’s recognition of the clear dis-

tinction between the two concepts. ! © The Fourth Circuit’s

original opinion recognized the unique characteristics of

each-proceeding, and correctly applied the law of inverse

condemnation to Plaintiffs’ inverse condemnation suit. The

Fourth Circuit’s final opinion on rehearing did not, and

should therefore be reversed. _—

CONCLUSION

The Fourth Circuit’s 3-2 decision has obliterated

decades of constitutional law in one fell swoop. Worse still,

114

State, Through Dept. of Transportation and Development

+ Chambers Investment €o,, Ine. ee So.2d 598, 602 top 12). See

679 So.2d 928 (La. App. 3rd Cir. 1996)

115 Id. at 602.

116 State through Department of Transportation and

Development v. Chambers, 91-1202 (La. se 595 So.2d 598, 602.

/

/

— Se ee

Te Pee ee ee ee en

PG I ee Ee Le NS Se et nee Seat ee a ce ee ere ee

A-185

the Fourth Circuit was unable to cite any controlling author-

ity to support its action. This was because all controlling

authority actually runs contrary to every aspect of the Fourth

Circuit’s ruling.

DNR submits that this Honorable Court should

restore the legal landscape to what it was prior to the Fourth

Circuit’s devastating decision. This will, in turn, allow all

levels of Louisiana government to remain functional rather

than be forced “to regulate by purchase.” DNR will also be

able to return to the difficult task of restoring one of

Louisiana’s most valuable economic resources, its wetlands

and coastal areas.

The decision of the Fourth Circuit should be reversed

and judgment should be rendered in favor of DNR, dismiss-

ing all claims just as in the parallel federal proceedings.

Pending this Honorable Court’s decision, given the far-

reaching impacts of the Fourth Circuit’s decision on all

aspects of government, DNR respectfully requests a stay of

proceedings and expedited consideration.

A-186

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

RICHARD P. IEYOUB

Attorney General

BY:/s/_ Andrew C, Wilson

ANDREW C. WILSON - #1162

DAVID L. CARRIGEE - #3892

DONNA M. YOUNG - #20936

JEDD S. MALISH - #23846

Special Assistant Attorneys General

20th Floor, Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163

Telephone: (504) 569-2900

and

BURKE & MAYER, Of Counsel

Attorneys for State of Louisiana

Department of Natural Resources

+ Sate eee

i I ORES ES tn? TM ERTIES ET 9) FFE NE, OF

Set ne GS Oy te tt SP a ee ate Pe ee, =

TIS

+f id aie S.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appendix Vol II — Louisiana Department of Natural Resources v. Avenal · 531 U.S. 1012 | Frix