Joint Appendix — Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corp. v. Garris

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

5)

No. 00-346 5) Supreme Comt, U.S.

= ry

IN THE Qn G6 2001

Supreme Court of the United) States

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK

CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

v.

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the ESTATE OF

CHRISTOPHER GARRIS, Deceased,

Respondent.

On WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

JOINT APPENDIX

_ JoHN R. CRUMPLER* _ JAMES T. FERRINI*

PATRICK H. O’DONNELL KIMBLEY A. KEARNEY

KAUFMAN & CANOLES MELINDA S. KOLLROSS

One Commercial Place CLAUSEN MILLER, P.C.

Suite 2000 10 South LaSalle Street

Norfolk, Virginia 23514 Chicago, Illinois 60603

(757) 624-3000 (312) 855-1010

Attorneys for Respondent RoBERT M. TaTA

Car D. GRAY

HUNTON & WILLIAMS

Suntrust Center

500 East Main Street

Suite 1000

Norfolk, Virginia 23510

(757) 640-5300

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI FILED AUGUST 30, 2000

CERTIORARI GRANTED DECEMBER 11, 2000

|

. l

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Relevant Docket Entries Of The

United States District Court For The Eastern

District Of Virginia, Norfolk Division ........

Appendix B — Relevant Docket Entries Of The

United States Court Of Appeals For The Fourth

2 re rr oer y eee ie

itu EERE PETA ETT ET TPC ee re ere

Appendix D — Norsuipco’s Motion To Dismiss

Dated And Filed May 6, 1998 ...............

Appendix E — Opinion And Final Order Of The

United States District Court For The Eastern

District Of Virginia, Norfolk Division Dated And

Teme eS ee OE so a ee

Appendix F — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Dated And

Decided April 3, 2000 ..............00.005-

Appendix G — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Denying

Petition For Rehearing Dated And Filed June 1,

PY Cua AW aN 4 Wes ek Bee eeu ibal ene

il

Appendices

Page

Appendix H — Dissenting Opinion Of Judge

Widener Of The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fourth Circuit To The Order Denying

Petition For Rehearing Dated And Filed June 2,

te ree Pe eee ge en ee ear 64a

la

APPENDIX A — RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA,

NORFOLK DIVISION

2:98cv382 — Garris v. Norfolk Shipbuilding, et al

4/9/98 1 COMPLAINT: Filing Fee $150.00 paid by

Kaufman & Canoles: Receipt #200-16791

(mwin) [Entry date 04/13/98]

5/4/98 4 MOTION by E. T. Gresham, Inc. to Dismiss

for failureto state a claim (mwin) [Entry date

05/06/98}

5/4/98 5 MEMORANDUM by E. T. Gresham, Inc. in

support of [4-1] motion by E. T. Gresham,

Inc. to Dismiss for failure to state a claim,

received (mwin) [Entry date 05/06/98]

5/5/98 6 MOTION by Norfolk Shipbuilding to

Dismiss for failure to state a claim (mwin)

[Entry date 05/06/98]

5/5/98 7 MEMORANDUM by Norfolk Shipbuilding

in support of [6-1] motion by Norfolk

Shipbuilding to Dismiss for failure to state a

claim, received (mwin) [Entry date 05/22/98]

5/18/98 8 MEMORANDUM by Celestine Garris in

Opposition to [6-1] motion by Norfolk

Shipbuilding to Dismiss for failure to State a

claim and [4-1] motion by E. T. Gresham, Inc.

to Dismiss for failure to state a claim,

received (mwin) [Entry date 05/22/98]

5/26/98

5/26/98

5/28/98

6/1/98

6/19/98

- 6/19/98

10

11

12

13

2a

Appendix A

REPLY Brief by Norfolk Shipbuilding to

response to [6-1] motion by Norfolk

Shipbuilding to Dismiss for failure to state a

claim, received (mwin) [Entry date 06/02/98]

Motion hearing re: [6-1] motion by Norfolk

Shipbuilding to Dismiss for failure to state a

claim set at 11:00 6/19/98, [4-1] motion by

E. T. Gresham, Inc. to Dismiss for failure to

state a claim set at 11:00 6/19/98 (mwin)

[Entry date 06/02/98]

NOTICE of hearing by E. T. Gresham, Inc.

(mwin) [Entry date 06/02/98] [Edit date

06/02/98]

NOTICE of hearing by Norfolk Shipbuilding

(mwin) [Entry date 06/02/98]

Motion hearing held re: [6-1] motion by

Norfolk Shipbuilding to Dismiss for failure

to state a claim by Norfolk Shipbuilding,

[4-1] motion by E. T. Gresham, Inc. to

Dismiss for failure to state a claim by E. T.

Gresham, Inc. (rlam)

Minute entry: COURT PROCEEDINGS —

JBF,j. Sue Ash, Reporter. Counsel and plaintiff

appeared. Matter came on defendants’

motions to dismiss. Argument of counsel

heard. Court ruled from the bench

DISMISSING the federal claims with

8/31/98

8/31/98

9/11/98

14

15

16

3a

Appendix A

prejudice and DISMISSING the state claims

without prejudice to file in state court. Court

to prepare an order. Court noted the appeal

time to run from date of written opinion and

order. Court adjourned. (rlam)

OPINION AND FINAL ORDER granting

[6-1] motion by Norfolk Shipbuilding to

Dismiss; granting [4-1] motion by E. T.

Gresham, Inc. to Dismiss; Dismissing plaintiff's

claims under general maritime law with

prejudice; declining to exercise supplemental

jurisdiction over plaintiff's pendant state law

claims, and Dismissing same without prejudice;

entered and filed 8/31/98 (signed by Judge

Jerome B. Friedman) Copies Mailed: 8/31/98

(mwin)

JUDGMENT granting defendants’ motions to

dismiss, and dismissing plaintiff's claims

under general maritime law with prejudice;

declining to exercise supplemental jurisdiction

over plaintiff's pendant state law claims, and

. dismissing same without prejudice; entered

by clerk and filed 8/31/98. Copies Mailed:

8/31/98. ob (mwin)

NOTICE OF APPEAL OF [15-1] judgment

order, [14-1] order Dismissing plaintiff's

claims under general maritime law with

prejudice by Celestine Garris. FILING FEE

$ 105.00 RECEIPT # 18307 (forb) [Entry date

09/15/98]

9/15/98

ta

Appendix A

Copy of Notice of Appeal, Judgment, Opinion

and Final Order and docket sheet to USCA:

copy of notice of appeal and docketing

statement to counsel for plaintiff; copy of

notice of appeal to counsel [16-1] appeal by

Celestine Garrts (forb)

Sa ;

APPENDIX B — RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES OF

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

98-2368 Garris v. Norfolk Shipbuilding, et al

9/17/98 Civil case docketed. (sn)

10/1/98 Certification of ROA complete and retained in

the District Court. [98-2368] (sn)

3/4/99 Certification transcript filed in district court by

Sue Ash on 3/2/99. [98-2368] (sn)

3/17/99 Certification of ROA complete and retained in

the District Court. [98-2368] (sn)

4/13/99 Brief joint appendix filed by Appellant Celestine

Garris. Type of Service: HD Copies of brief: 8

# brf pages: 20 Copies of apx: 6 # apx pages: 56

Sufficient?[Y/N]: y 2-sided copying: y [98-2368]

Appellee brief due 5/13/99 for E T Gresham Inc,

for Norfolk Shipbuilding. (rhs)

5/17/99 Brief filed by Appellee Norfolk Shipbuilding,

Appellee E T Gresham Inc. Type of Service:

PM Copies: 8 # brf pages: 31. Sufficient [Y/N]: y.

[98-2368] (rhs)

12/2/99 Oral argument heard. Courtroorn Deputy: JLC,

Jr. [98-2368] (jc)

4/3/00 Published, authored opinion filed. [98-2368]

(amy)

4/3/00

4/17/00

4/20/00

4/24/00

4/24/00

5/1/00

5/4/00

6/1/00

6a

Appendix B

Judgment order filed. Decision: reversed and

remanded. EOD Date: 4/3/00. [98-2368] (amy)

Petition filed by Appellee Norfolk Shipbuilding,

Appellee E T Gresham Inc for rehearing. Number

copies filed: 20 [3171077-1]., for rehearing

en banc. [3171077-2] [98-2368] (sn)

Motion filed by Appellee E T Gresham Inc to

dismiss Appellee E T Gresham Inc as party to

the appeal [3171831-1]. [98-2368] (sn)

Letter referencing motion to dismiss party

[3171831-1] and a copy of the order dated 7/13/99

in the Circuit Court for the City of Norfolk (filed

by Appellee E T Gresham Inc) [3173318-1]

[98-2368] (amy)

Response/answer requested to motion for rehearing

[3171077-1], motion for rehearing en banc

[3171077-2] [98-2368] (amy)

COURT ORDER filed granting motion to dismiss

party [3171831-1] Copies to all counsel.

[98-2368] (amy)

Response/answer filed [3179796-1] by Appellant

Celestine Garris to motion for rehearing

[3171077-1], motion for rehearing en banc

[3171077-2] [98-2368] (sn)

COURT ORDER filed denying motion for

rehearing [3171077-1] EOD Date: 6/1/00,

Wo arm

6/2/00

6/9/00

7/6/00

7/10/00

9/8/00

10/26/00

12/18/00

7a

Appendix B

denying motion for rehearing en banc

[3171077-2] EOD Date: 6/1/00. Copies to all

counsel. [98-2368] (sn)

Corrected order filed per HEW’s directions.

Order is dissent from order of 6/1/00 disposing

of motion for rehearing [3171077-1], motion for

rehearing en banc [3171077-2]. [98-2368] (sn)

Mandate issued. [98-2368] (sn)

Motion filed by Appellee Norfolk Shipbuilding

to recall the mandate file a petition for writ of

certiorari [321471 1-1]. [321471 1-1], to stay the

mandate [3214711-2]. [98-2368] (dad)

COURT ORDER filed granting motion to recall

the mandate [3214711-] ], granting motion to Stay.

mandate [3214711-2] pending petition for a writ

of certiorari. Copies to all counsel. [98-2368]

(amy)

Supreme Court notice that petition for certiorari

was filed on 08/30/00. Spct No.: 00-346

Spet Pty 1: Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock

Corporation Spct Pty 2: Celestine Garris.

[98-2368] (jh)

Federal Reporter Citation: 210 F.3d 209.

[98-2368] (vsl)

Supreme Court order received granting petition

certiorari [3249473-1] on 12/11/00. [98-2368]

(dhb)

8a

APPENDIX C — COMPLAINT DATED

AND FILED APRIL 9, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Norfolk Division

CIVIL ACTION NO. 2:98-CV-382

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the

ESTATE OF CHRISTOPHER GARRIS, deceased,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK

CORPORATION,

SERVE: John L. Roper, IV

Registered Agent

750 Berkley Avenue

Norfolk, Virginia 23523

and

E. T. GRESHAM, INC.,

SERVE: Earl T. Gresham

Registered Agent

1038 West 26" Street

Norfolk, Virginia 23517

Defendants.

9a

Appendix C

COMPLAINT

NOW COMES the plaintiff, Celestine Garris,

Administratrix of the Estate of Christopher Garris, deceased,

by counsel, and for her Complaint, states as follows:

1. This is a maritime and admiralty action within the

meaning of Rule 9(h) and 28 U.S.C. § 1333.

2. The plaintiff is the mother of, and Administratrix of

the Estate of Christopher Garris, deceased, who sustained

fatal injuries on April 8, 1997, while working aboard the

USNS MAJ. STEPHEN w. PLESS, while the vessel was

berthed at Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corporation

(“NORSHIPCO”), Norfolk, Virginia, in the navigable waters

of the United States of America.

3. The plaintiff believes that the plaintiff's deceased

was employed by Tidewater Temps, Inc. (“Tidewater”) to

perform sand blasting work for Mid-Atlantic Coatings, Inc.

(“Mid-Atlantic”), a sub-contractor of NORSHIPCO.

4. The defendant, NORSHIPCO, is a ship repair company

who had contracted to perform certain work on the USNS

MAJ. STEPHEN W. PLESS.

5. The defendant, E. T. Gresham, Inc. (“Gresham’’), was

a subcontractor of either Mid-Atlantic or NORSHIPCO, and

had responsibilities with regard to the provision of and/or

operation of a crane alongside the USNS MAJ. STEPHEN

W. PLESS.

10a

Appendix C

6. On April 8, 1997, while working aboard the USNS

MAJ. STEPHEN W. PLESS, the plaintiff’s deceased

sustained injuries and died on April 9, 1997, as a result of

the negligence of the defendants, jointly and severally.

7. The plaintiff demands damages pursuant to the

general maritime law for funeral expenses, pain and suffering

of the decedent prior to his death, loss of society and loss of

services, and for damages pursuant to the Virginia Wrongful

Death Act, § 8.01-52.

WHEREFORE, the plaintiff prays for judgment against

the defendants, jointly and severally, in the amount of Two

Million and 00/100 Dollars ($2,000,000.00).

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix

of the ESTATE OF CHRISTOPHER

GARRIS, deceased

By s/ John R. Crumpler, Jr.

Of Counsel

John R. Crumpler, Jr., Esq.

Patrick H. O’Donnell, Esq.

KAUFMAN & CANOLES, P. C.

2000 NationsBank Center

One Commercial Place

Post Office Box 3037

Norfolk, Virginia 23514

(757) 624-3103

lla

APPENDIX D — NORSHIPCO’S MOTION TO

DISMISS DATED AND FILED MAY 6, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Norfolk Division

CIVIL ACTION NO. 2:98-CV-382

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the

ESTATE OF CHRISTOPHER GARRIS, deceased,

Og ee ae Te ee

Plaintiff,

V.

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK

CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

NORSHIPCO’S MOTION TO DISMISS

_ Defendant, Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corporation

(“NorsHiPco”), by counsel, hereby moves to dismiss the

Complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure on the grounds that plaintiff has failed to

State a claim against it for which relief may be granted. In

support of this motion, NorsHiPco adopts the arguments and

authority contained in the brief which is filed in support of

this motion.

OnE 0 MRE PAIS ABA eh A AO

12a

Appendix D

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING &

DRYDOCK CORPORATION

By: s/ Robert M. Tata

Of Counsel

Robert M. Tata (BAR No. 30101)

HUNTON & WILLIAMS

500 East Main Street — Suite 1000

Norfolk, Virginia 23510

(757) 625-5501 .

Be ita oe

Stal nar St a hg hel LPS aa th

l3a

APPENDIX E — OPINION AND FINAL ORDER OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA, NORFOLK

DIVISION DATED AND FILED AUGUST 31, 1998

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Norfolk Division

Civil Action No. 2:98-cy-382

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the

ESTATE OF CHRISTOPHER GARRIS, deceased,

Plaintiff,

v.

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK

CORPORATION,

and

E.T. GRESHAM, INC.,

Defendants.

OPINION AND FINAL ORDER

This matter comes before the Court on Defendants’

Motions to Dismiss for Failure to State a Claim. For the

reasons stated below, the Court finds that no cause of action

exists, under general maritime law, for death of a nonseaman

in state territorial waters resulting from negligence.

14a

Appendix E

Defendants’ motions to dismiss are GRANTED, and

Plaintiff's federal claims are DISMISSED with prejudice.

The Court declines to exercise supplemental jurisdiction

under Title 28, United States Code Sections 1367(a) and

(c)(3) over Plaintiff's Virginia Wrongful Death Act claim;

the state claim is therefore DISMISSED without prejudice.

I. Factual Background

Celestine Garris, as Administratrix of the Estate of

Christopher Garris, seeks damages relating to the death of

Christopher Garris. Plaintiff's claims are brought under both

general maritime law and the Virginia Wrongful Death Act.

While the parties do not agree on the actual series of events

which led to the death of Christopher Garris, those factual

discrepancies need not be resolved for purposes of ruling on

Defendants’ motions.

According to the Plaintiff, on April 8, 1997, the decedent

was performing sandblasting work on the USNS Major

STEPHEN W. PLEss for Mid-Atlantic Coatings, Inc. (“Mid-

Atlantic’’) through a temporary agency. Norfolk Shipbuilding

& Drydock Company (“NORSHIPCO”), a ship repair

company who had contracted to perform work on the vessel,

sub-contracted the sandblasting work to Mid-Atlantic. To

accomplish the sand-blasting, a pre-loaded hopper of

sandblast shot was lifted from the pier to the opening of a

silo located on the deck of the vessel. A door on the underside

of the hopper was then opened to release the shot, depositing

the shot in the opening of the silo. The particular silo in

question was approximately 30 feet in height. Christopher

Garris fell from the top of the silo onto the deck of the vessel,

Savas, i Wai Rien bdel .

nae ate or ed a FRE ACE NAL wet ORTUT ET Da Pahe Cate SEE ae

0 in API T dat Vi Ae PUN LS i ERA RA ST sett Lo te te

Kocsis ali linn Mal Sas 82:

1Sa

Appendix E

Sustaining fatal injuries in the fall. Garris passed away on

April 9, 1997.' The USNS Major STEPHEN W. PLEss was

docked in Norfolk, Virginia, in the navigable waters of the

United States of America at the time of the incident.

Plaintiff seeks damages under general maritime law for

funeral expenses, pain and suffering of the decedent, loss of

society, and loss of services. Ina pendant state claim, Plaintiff

seeks damages pursuant to the Virginia Wrongful Death Act.

II. Analysis

A. Standard of Review

In a Motion to Dismiss, the complaint is construed in

the light most favorabie to the plaintiff, and the plaintiff's

allegations are taken as true. Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S.

232, 236 (1974); Jenkins v. McKeither, 395 U.S. 411, 421

(1969). Nonetheless, the Fourth Circuit has held that

“[cJonclusory allegations regarding the legal effect of the

facts alleged” need not be accepted as true. Labram v. Havel,

43 F.3d 918, 921 (4th Cir.1995). In order for the Court to

grant a motion to dismiss, it must appear to a certainty that

1. The Plaintiff received death benefits under the Longshore

and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, and filed suit in state court

seeking additional recovery. Under Virginia law, no general

maritime cause of action exists for negligence for the death of a

nonseaman in state territorial waters. See, e.g., Brown v. Brown,

226 Va. 320, 327, 309 S.E.2d 586, 590 (1983). Plaintiff nonsuited

the state court action following the filing of a demurrer and

miscellaneous other motions by Defendants. The instant action was

filed shortly thereafter.

l6a

Appendix E

the plaintiff cannot prove any facts in support of his claim

which would entitle him to relief. Conley v. Gibson, 355

U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957); Martin Marietta Corp. v. International

Telecommunications Satellite Org., 991 F.2d 94, 97 (4th Cir.

1993).

B. Negligence Action Under General Maritime Law

The sole issue before this Court is whether Plaintiff may

properly maintain a negligence action under general maritime

law. The Supreme Court first recognized a general maritime

law cause of action for death occurring from a breach of

maritime duties in Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.,

398 U.S. 375 (1970). Plaintiff argues that in the Moragne

decision, the Supreme Court intended to establish the

propriety of both unseaworthiness and negligence claims

under general maritime law. Defendants submit that the

Supreme Court’s recognition in Moragne was limited to

unseaworthiness claims, and that general maritime law has

not been extended to include a negiigence cause of action

for the wrongful death of a nonseaman in state territorial

waters. See Ford v. Wooten, 681 F.2d 712, 715 (11th

Cir.1982) (Hoffman, District Judge sitting by designation)

(recognizing Moragne “pertained only to an unseaworthiness

claim”); Minnick v. United States, 767 F.Supp. 115, 118-

119 (E.D. Va.1990) (noting “Moragne created a general

maritime wrongful death cause of action for unseaworthiness’”’).

The Moragne decision was a necessary reaction to an

antiquated common law holding. In rendering the decision

it did, the Supreme Court filled an obvious void that

materialized following the enactment of the Death on the

High Seas Act and the Jones Act. Prior to Moragne,

Pee ae a eT eee oY

17a

Appendix E

no federal cause of action existed for wrongful death in state

territorial waters due to unseaworthiness. The Supreme Court

has never applied its holding in Moragne to negligence

claims, although some jurisdictions have expanded the

decision to allow negligence actions under general maritime

law, or otherwise held the decision intended to provide a

general maritime law action for both unseaworthiness and

negligence. See, e.g., Nelson v. United States, 639 F.2d 469,

473 (9th Cir. 1980) (holding the need for uniformity requires

extension of Moragne to negligence claims); Miles vy.

Melrose, 882 F.2d 976 (Sth Cir. 1989) (noting, without

citation, that Moragne recognized actions for both

unseaworthiness and negligence.); Neil v. McGinnis, 716

F.Supp. 996 (E.D. Ky. 1989): Garner vy. Dravo Basic

Materials, 768 F.Supp. 192 (S.D. W.Va. 1991); Cantore v.

Blue Lagoon Water Sports, Inc., 799 F.Supp. 1151 (S.D. Fla.

1992); but see generally Ivy vy. Security Barge Lines, Inc.,

606 F.2d 524 (Sth Cir. 1979). :

The 1972 amendments to the Longshore and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act superseded the holding in

Moragne, foreclosing a general maritime law wrongful death

action by the survivors of a longshoreman or harbor worker.

See 33 U.S.C. §§ 901-950; Miles v. Apex Marine, 498 U.S.

19, 28 (1990). Defendants submit that this responsive

legislative action cautions against the extension of Moragne

beyond unseaworthiness, an argument with which the Court

is inclined to agree. The Court, however, must also take into

consideration the Supreme Court’s more recent decision in

Yamaha Motor Corporation vy. Calhoun, 516 U.S. 199

(1996), as well as decisions previously rendered by other

judges of this district. -

18a

Appendix E

In Minnick v. United States, supra, the parties assumed

a negligence action could be pursued under general maritime

law. Judge Clarke, in reviewing Moragne and the cases

interpreting Moragne, found the assumption to be incorrect,

noting that Moragne created only a general maritime wrongful

death cause of action for unseaworthiness. Minnick, 767

F.Supp. at 117-18.? Similarly, Judge Hoffman, sitting on the

Eleventh Circuit by designation, considered “whether

Moragne should be extended to permit recovery under

general maritime law for wrongful death caused by

negligence.” Ford, 681 F.2d at 716. Judge Hoffman, writing

for a panel of the Eleventh Circuit, held that Moragne

pertained only to unseaworthiness claims, and that

subsequent Supreme Court decisions supported this finding.

Id. at 715. Although the decisions in Minnick and Ford

predated the Supreme Court’s opinion in Yamaha, the Court

finds the reasoning of Judges Hoffman and Clarke in those

decisions remains sound.

Yamaha held the general maritime wrongful death action

recognized in Moragne did not preempt state remedies for

non-seaman deaths in territorial waters. Jd. at 215. In

rendering this decision, the Supreme Court created some

confusion regarding the current status of the law. The Court

noted in footnote seven, that:

If Moragne’s wrongful death action did not extend

to non-seafarers like Natalie [injured in a jet ski

accident], one could hardly argue that Moragne

2. Judge Clarke further found that the plaintiff in Minnick could

pursue a negligence action under LHWCA, allowing the plaintiff

leave to amend to assert the appropriate claim. Minnick, at 117-18.

a a te tae =e

19a

Appendix E

displaced the state law remedies the Calhouns

seek. Lower courts have held that Moragne’s

wrongful death action extends to non-seafarers.

(Citations omitted). We assume, for purposes of

this decision, the correctness of that position.

Similarly, as in prior encounters, we assume

without deciding that Moragne also provides a

survival action. [Citation omitted.] The question

we confront is not what Moragne added to the

remedial arsenal in maritime cases, but what, if

anything, it removed from admiralty’s stock.

[Emphasis added. ]

Yamaha, 516 U.S. at 209, n. 7. Plaintiff also relies on footnote

eleven in an attempt to persuade the Court that Moragne

recognized negligence claims under general maritime law

in addition to unseaworthiness claims. In footnote eleven,

Yamaha correctly notes that the right of action, as stated in

Moragne, established a cause of action “for death caused by

violations of maritime duties.” /d. at 214, n. 11. Nonetheless,

unseaworthiness was the doctrine at stake before the Court

in Moragne, not negligence. A thorough analysis of Yamaha

reveals that in Yamaha, the Supreme Court reserved the issue

of whether a wrongful death action sounding in negligence

exists under general maritime law.?

The generality with which the Court spoke in Moragne

is not sufficient to establish a general maritime law cause of

3. Defendants also offer authority from the Virginia Supreme

Court, in which the Court recognized that claims under general

maritime law were restricted to claims of unseaworthiness.

See Brown v. Brown, 226 Va. 320 (1983).

20a

Appendix E

action for negligence in light of Yamaha's reservation of the

issue, and the absence of any Supreme Court decision

applying Moragne to negligence. Neither the arguments nor

the case law set forth by Plaintiff are persuasive in her attempt

to have this Court extend the application of general maritime

law to negligence actions.

III. Conclusion

Accordingly, Defendants’ Motions to Dismiss are

GRANTED and Plaintiff's claims under general maritime

law are DISMISSED with prejudice. The Court declines to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over Plaintiff's pendant

state law claims, and the same are DISMISSED without

prejudice.

The Clerk is REQUESTED to send a copy of this

Opinion and Order to counsel for the Plaintiff and counsel

for the Defendant.

It is so ORDERED.

s/ Jerome B. Friedman

UNITED STATES-DISTRICT

JUDGE

August 31, 1998

Norfolk, Virginia

Pe Te ee OP ee aes

21a

APPENDIX F — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

DATED AND DECIDED APRIL 3, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 98-2368

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the Estate of

Christopher Garris, deceased,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK CORPORATION;

E.T. GRESHAM, INCORPORATED,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia, at Norfolk.

Jerome B. Friedman, District Judge.

(CA-98-382-2)

Argued: December 2, 1999

Decided: April 3, 2000

Before MURNAGHAN and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges,

and Cynthia Holcomb HALL, Senior Circuit Judge of

the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit, sitting by designation.

* * *

22a

Appendix F

OPINION

WILLIAMS, Circuit Judge:

The sole issue on appeal is whether we should construe

or extend the United States Supreme Court’s decision in

Moragne vy. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970),

which recognized a general maritime law cause of action for

wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness, to include a

general maritime law cause of action for wrongful death

based upon negligence. We agree with the district court that

the Supreme Court did not create a general maritime law

cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence in

Moragne. We find it appropriate, however, to apply the

principles of Moragne and its progeny to recognize one. We,

therefore, reverse the district court’s dismissal of Celestine

Garris’s claim and remand for further proceedings.

L.

Christopher Garris (Garris’s son) worked as a sandblaster

aboard the USNS MAJ. STEPHEN W. PLESS, a ship berthed

in the navigable waters of the United States. He was actually

employed by Tidewater Temps but worked on behalf of Mid-

Atlantic Coatings (Mid-Atlantic), a subcontractor of Norfolk

Shipbuilding & Drydock Corporation (Norfolk). E.T.

Gresham, Inc. (Gresham), another subcontractor for Norfolk,

had employees aboard the same ship. On April 8, 1997, a

crane operator working for Gresham accidentally caused

Garris’s son to fall off a reserve hopper on the ship, which

was used to load sand for sandblasting. Garris’s son died as

a result of the accident.

23a

Appendix F

After receiving Statutory death benefits under the

Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA),

33 U.S.C.A. §§ 901-950 (West 1986 & Supp. 1999), Christopher

Garris’s mother, Celestine Garris (Garris), brought suit in

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Virginia against Norfolk and Gresham, seeking recovery for

wrongful death based upon negligence under general

maritime law and the Virginia wrongful-death statute.

According to Garris, the crane operator’s negligence and

Norfolk’s use of an inadequate communication signaling

system were the reasons for her son’s death. The district court

dismissed her suit on the ground that general maritime law

does not recognize a negligence-based cause of action!

Garris argues on appeal that the Supreme Court’s holding

in Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970),

which recognized a general maritime law cause of action for

wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness, also established

a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful death

based upon negligence. In the alternative, Garris asks us to

extend the holding of Moragne to create a general maritime

law cause of action for wrongful death based upon

negligence. Reviewing this legal question de novo,

see Meekins y. United T, ransp. Union, 946 ‘F.2d 1054, 1057

(4th Cir. 1991) (“We review the district court’s determinations

of law de novo.”), we conclude that the principles developed

1. The district court dismissed with prejudice Garris’s general

maritime law wrongful-death claim. The district court dismissed

without prejudice her state law claim under the Virginia wrongful-

death statute. Garris has not appealed the district court’s dismissal

of her state law claim and has since filed that claim in state court

only against Gresham.

24a

Appendix F

in Moragne and its progeny compel us to recognize a

negligence-based action. We, therefore, reverse the district

court’s dismissal of this claim and remand for further

proceedings.

II.

In order to determine whether the district court erred in

dismissing Garris’s suit, we must first consider whether the

Supreme Court in Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398

U.S. 375 (1970), intended to create a general maritime law

cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence.

Accordingly, we must examine the language and context of

Moragne, including the events and developments leading up

to the Supreme Court’s decision in that case.

A. Pre-Moragne

Our discussion begins with The Harrisburg, 119 U.S.

199 (1886), overruled by Moragne v. States Marine Lines,

Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970), in which the Supreme Court held

that general maritime law did not allow recovery for wrongful

death. In The Harrisburg, the widow and child of the

decedent, Rickards, sought to recover damages for Rickards’s

death “caused by the negligence of the steamer” that collided

with Rickards’s schooner. See id. at 199. The Court had to

determine whether Rickards’s survivors could recover for

wrongful death absent a state statute or act of Congress

affirmatively allowing such recovery. See id. at 204. The

Court noted that at common law there was no civil action

for an injury that resulted in death and that English maritime

law also had no cause of action for wrongful death on the

high seas. See id. The Court concluded that because

25a

Appendix F

it is now established that in the courts of the

United States no action at law can be maintained

for [wrongful death] in the absence of a Statute

giving the right, and it has not been shown that

the maritime law, as accepted and ‘received by

maritime nations generally, has established a

different rule for the government of the courts of

admiralty from those which govern courts of law

in matters of this kind, we are forced to the

conclusion that no such action will lie in the courts

of the United States under the general maritime

law.

Id. at 213.

Despite the rule of The Harrisburg, which prohibited

recovery for wrongful death under general maritime law, two

significant developments in maritime law softened the

harshness of The Harrisburg. First, in 1920, Congress.

enacted both the Death on the High Seas Act (DOHSA),

46 U.S.C.A. §§ 761-768 (West 1975 & Supp. 1999), and the

Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.A. app. § 688 (West Supp. 1999), which

afforded recovery for wrongful death in certain circumstances.”

2. DOHSA provides, in pertinent part, that “[w]henever the

death of a person shall be caused by wrongful act... occurring on

the high seas beyond a marine league from the shore of any State

... the personal representative of the decedent may maintain a suit

for damages in the district courts of the United States.” 46 U.S.C.A.

§ 761 (West 1975). DOHSA, therefore, provides a federal claim for

the wrongful death of any person that occurs more than a marine

league, or three miles, from shore.

(Cont'd)

26a

| Appendix F

Second, federal courts began to recognize the application of

state wrongful-death statutes to fatal accidents that occurred

in state territorial waters. See Yamaha Motor Corp. v.

Ca/toun, 516 U.S. 199, 206-08 (1996) (describing the

response of “[f]ederal admiralty courts [in] temper[ing] the

harshness of The Harrisburg’s rule by allowing recovery

under state wrongful-death statutes”); Western Fuel Co. v.

Garcia, 257 U.S. 233, 242 (1921) (finding that California’s

wrongful-death statute applied to the death of a maritime

worker in state territorial waters). Consequently, in the years

that followed The Harrisburg, state wrongful-death statutes

— which often encompassed wrongful-death causes of action

based upon negligence, but not unseaworthiness, see Moragne,

398 U.S. at 398-99 — “proved an adequate supplement to

federal maritime law[ ] until a series of this Court’s decisions

transformed the maritime doctrine of unseaworthiness into

a strict liability rule.”? Yamaha, 516 U.S. at 207-08. Because

of this new development in maritime law, unseaworthiness,

which originally was an obscure and rarely used cause of

action for which many state wrongful-death statutes did not

(Cont'd)

The Jones Act states that “[a]ny seaman who shall suffer

personal injury in the course of his employment may .. . maintain

an action for damages at law . . . and in case of death of such seaman

as a result of any such personal injury the personal representative

may maintain an action for damages at law. .. .” 46 U.S.C.A. app.

§ 688(a) (West Supp. 1999). Thus, the Jones Act permits recovery

for the wrongful death of a seaman in all navigable waters.

3. Mahnich v. Southern S.S. Co., 321 U.S. 96 (1944),

Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85 (1946), and Mitchell v.

Trawler Racer, Inc., 362 U.S. 539 (1960), all set forth and developed

the rule that a shipowner’s liability for unseaworthiness is absolute.

27a

Appendix F

account, evolved into a cause of action that “soon eclipsed

ordinary negligence as the primary basis of recovery when a

seafarer was injured or killed.” /d. at 208. The evolution of

the unseaworthiness doctrine, however, also created gaps in

the law whereby recovery for wrongful death based upon

unseaworthiness could depend on mere happenstance. For

example, if death occurred within state territorial waters, then

recovery was unlikely because many state wrongful-death

Statutes did not include causes of action based upon

unseaworthiness. See Moragne, 398 U.S. at 395. By contrast,

if the death occurred more than three miles from shore, then

recovery for wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness was

possible under DOHSA. See id. The emergence of

unseaworthiness as a viable and powerful tool for asserting

claims against shipowners, and the discrepancies that

necessarily followed, set the stage for Moragne, which gave

the Supreme Court the opportunity to revisit the vitality and

soundness of The Harrisburg in light of the changing

maritime landscape.

B. Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.

Moragne was a longshoreman who was killed aboard a

ship in Florida’s navigable waters. See Moragne v. States

Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 376 (1970). His widow

sued in state court for wrongful death based upon

unseaworthiness and negligence. See id. After removal to

federal court, the district court dismissed her unseaworthiness

claim, holding that general maritime law did not permit

recovery for wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness in

State territorial waters, and, unlike her negligence-based

claim, Florida’s wrongful-death statute did not encompass

28a

Appendix F

wrongful-death based upon unseaworthiness. See id. The

only issue on appeal, therefore, was whether general maritime

law recognized a cause of action for wrongful death based

upon unseaworthiness. See id. at 377.

_ The Court’s analysis began with The Harrisburg, which,

as noted above, based its holding upon the premise that

neither American nor English common law recognized civil

actions for injuries that resulted in death. The Moragne Court,

however, concluded that the Court’s construction of the

common law rule in The Harrisburg “was based upon a

particular set of factors that had, when The Harrisburg was

decided, long since been thrown into discard even in England,

and that had never existed in this country at all.” Jd. at 381.

Moreover, the Court noted that significant developments in

American maritime law had further undercut The Harrisburg,

including the emergence of state wrongful-death statutes and

Congress’s enactment of DOHSA and the Jones Act. See id-

at 390. The Court stated that

the work of the legislatures has made the

allowance of recovery for wrongful death the

general rule of American law, and its denial the

exception. Where death is caused by the breach

of a duty imposed by federal maritime law,

Congress has established a policy favoring

recovery in the absence of a legislative direction

to except a particular class of cases.

Id. at 393. The Court, therefore, found it necessary to address

“whether Congress has given such a direction [to deny

recovery for wrongful death under general maritime law] in

29a

Appendix F

its legislation granting remedies for wrongful deaths in

portions of the maritime domain.” /d.

Examining the Jones Act and DOHSA to determine if

they should be construed to preclude a general maritime

cause of action for wrongful death within state territorial

waters, the Moragne Court pointed to three anomalies that

would be perpetuated if Congress had indeed intended the

Jones Act and DOHSA to preclude such recovery. First,

identical conduct violating federal law in state territorial

waters, such as the furnishing of an unseaworthy ship, would

give rise to liability only if the victim were injured, but not

killed. See id. at 395. Second, identical violations of the duty

to furnish a seaworthy ship that resulted in death would give

rise to liability for unseaworthiness under DOHSA more than

three miles from shore but not within three miles of shore if

the state’s wrongful-death statute did not encompass

unseaworthiness claims. See id. Third, a seaman, covered

by the Jones Act, would have no cause of action for

unseaworthiness while a longshoreman “te whom the duty

of seaworthiness was extended only because he performs

work traditionally done by seamen, [would have] such a

remedy when allowed by a state statute.” Jd. at 395-96. Based

upon these obvious anomalies, which arose from the

emergence of unseaworthiness as a viable and prominent

maritime cause of action, the Court concluded that Congress

could not have intended to foreclose wrongful-death

remedies in state territorial waters when it passed the Jones

Act and DOHSA. The Court reasoned instead that “(t]he void

that existed in maritime law up until 1920 [when Congress

enacted DOHSA] was the absence of any remedy for

wrongful death on the high seas. Congress, in acting to fill

30a

Appendix F

that void, legislated only to the three-mile limit because that

was the extent of the problem.” Jd. at 398. Congress did not

need to extend its reach into state territorial waters because

“It]he beneficiaries of persons meeting death on territorial

waters did not suffer at that time from being excluded from

the coverage of [DOHSA],” largely because “the primary

basis for recovery under state wrongful death statutes was

negligence” and unseaworthiness was a little used cause of

action. Jd. However,

[s]ince that time the equation has changed

drastically, through this Court’s transformation

of the shipowner’s duty to provide a seaworthy

ship into an absolute duty not satisfied by due

diligence. The unseaworthiness doctrine has

become the principal vehicle for recovery by

seamen for injury or death, overshadowing the

negligence action made available by the Jones

Act; and it has achieved equal importance for

longshoremen and other harbor workers to whom

the duty of seaworthiness was extended because

they perform work on the vessel traditionally done

by seamen. The resulting discrepancy between the

remedies for deaths covered by [DOHSA] and for

deaths that happen to fall within a state wrongful-

death statute not encompassing unseaworthiness

could not have been foreseen by Congress.

/d. at 399 (internal citations omitted and emphasis added).

The Court concluded that the unforeseen development

of unseaworthiness as a primary means of recovery under

3la

Appendix F

maritime = — and not a congressional intent to foreclose

recovery for wrongful death in state territorial waters — was

the primary reason for the anomalies that had emerged after

The Harrisburg. See id. at 399-400. Noting that its

recognition of unseaworthiness as a general maritime law

wrongful-death cause of action furthered Congress’s stated

purpose of “uniformity in the exercise of admiralty

jurisdiction” in enacting the Jones Act, id. at 401 (internal

quotation marks omitted), the Court overruled The Harrisburg,

and stated that “[w]e do not regard the rule of The Harrisburg

as a closely arguable proposition — it rested on @ most

dubious foundation when announced [and] has become an

increasingly unjustifiable anomaly as the law over the years

has left it behind,” id. at 404. Concluding that its decision

“d[id] not require the fashioning of a whole new body of

federal law, but merely remov(al of] a bar to access to the

existing general maritime law,” id. at 405-06, the Court held

that “an action does lie under general maritime law for death

caused by violation of maritime duties,” id. at 409.4

Our examination of the language and context of Moragne

reveals three crucial points that guide our analysis. First,

4. Two years after the Court’s decision in Moragne, Congress

. passed the 1972 amendments to the Longshore and Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act (LHWCA), 33 U.S.C.A. §§ 901-950 (West 1986

& Supp. 1999), and specifically eliminated unseaworthiness as a

cause of action for wrongful death as it related to longshoremen

and harbor workers, such as Garris’s son. See 33 U.S.C.A. § 905(b)

(West 1986) (“The liability of the vessel under this subsection shall

not be based upon the warranty of seaworthiness. . . .”). The general

maritime law cause of action for wrongful death based upon

unseaworthiness still remains viable for true seamen. See Miles v.

Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 30 (1990).

32a

Appendix F

the sole issue on appeal in Moragne was whether general

maritime law recognized a wrongful-death cause of action

based upon unseaworthiness; negligence was simply not an

issue before the Court. See id. at 377. Second, the Court in

Moragne referred repeatedly to unseaworthiness without

expressly mentioning negligence.,See Ford v. Wooten, 681

F.2d 712, 715 (11th Cir. 1982) (noting that Moragne mentioned

unseaworthiness but never expressly discussed negligence);

Ivy v. Security Barge Lines, Inc., 606 F.2d 524, 527 (Sth Cir.

1979) (en banc) (“{Moragne] dealt only with an unseaworthiness

claim asserted under general maritime law.”). Third, the

unforeseen evolution of the unseaworthiness doctrine as a

powerful tool for recovery under maritime law was the stated

predicate for the Court’s analysis, and indeed, it played a

large part in the Court’s decision to overrule The Harrisburg.

As the Court later recognized in Yamaha Motor Corp. v.

Calhoun, 516 U.S. 199 (1996), “[t]he disparity between the

unseaworthiness doctrine’s strict-liability standard and

negligence-based state wrongful-death statutes figured

prominently in our landmark Moragne decision.” Jd. at 208.

The Moragne Court’s clear focus on unseaworthiness,

as opposed to maritime duties as a whole, is most evident in

the Court’s analysis of the three anomalies that arose after

the emergence of unseaworthiness as a strict liability

doctrine. Two of the three anomalies identified by the Court

in Moragne were that: (1) identical violations of the duty of

seaworthiness, each resulting in death, could give rise to

liability more than three miles from shore but not within the

territorial waters of a state that did not include unseaworthiness

in its wrongful-death statute, and (2) a seaman, covered by

the Jones Act, would have no cause of action for

33a

Appendix F

unseaworthiness while a longshoreman “to whom the duty

of seaworthiness was extended only because he performs

work traditionally done by seamen, [would have] such-a

remedy when allowed by a state statute.” Jd. at 395-96. The

Court framed these two anomalies specifically in terms of

unseaworthiness; these anomalies were cause for concern

only within that context. The third anomaly, that identical

violations of federal law, such as the furnishing of an

unseaworthy vessel, would give rise to liability if the victim

was injured but not killed if the state wrongful-death statute

did not encompass unseaworthiness, see id. at 395, arguably

might have applied to negligence-based actions, at least to

the extent that state wrongful-death statutes did not include

a cause of action for negligence-based wrongful death. As

the Court noted in Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19

(1990), however, every state had a wrongful-death statute

that did provide recovery for negligence-based actions even

where the state did not provide similar recovery for

unseaworthiness-based actions. See id. at 25. Consequently,

none of these three anomalies, which played a prominent

role in the Moragne Court’s decision, applied equally

between a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death based upon unseaworthiness and a general maritime

law cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence. \

We have no difficulty concluding that Moragne recognized

only a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death based upon unseaworthiness.

C. Post-Moragne

Garris argues, nevertheless, that the Supreme Court’s

later decision in Yamaha Motor Cerp. v. Calhoun, 516 U.S.

199 (1996), suggests that Moragne’s holding was broader

34a

Appendix F

than a simple recognition of a general maritime law cause of

action for wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness.

In Yamaha, the Supreme Court addressed whether state

remedies remain applicable in “maritime wrongful-death

cases in which no federal statute specifies the appropriate

relief and the decedent was not a seaman, longshore worker,

or person otherwise engaged in a maritime trade.” /d. at 202.

The Court held that “state remedies remain applicable in such

cases and have not been displaced by the federal maritime

wrongful-death action recognized in [Moragne].” Id. Yamaha

involved a jet ski accident that occurred in navigable waters.

The parents of the decedent sued the jet ski manufacturer,

which responded that state remedies were not applicable to

accidents in navigable waters and that federal maritime law

controlled to the exclusion of state law. The Court, therefore,

had to address whether “the federal maritime claim for

wrongful death recognized in Moragne suppl[tes] the

exclusive remedy in cases involving the deaths of nonseafarers

in territorial waters.” Jd. at 205. In deciding that federal

maritime claims for wrongful death did not displace state

remedies, the Court briefly discussed Moragne and included

two footnotes that, according to Garris, support her-position.

The first, footnote seven, states that

[i]f Moragne’s wrongful-death action did not

extend to nonseafarers like [the decedent], one

could hardly argue that Moragne displaced the

state-law remedies the Calhouns seek. Lower

courts have held that Moragne’s wrongful-death

action extends to nonseafarers. We assume, for

purposes of this decision, the correctness of that

position. Similarly, as in prior encounters, we

35a

Appendix F

assume without deciding that Moragne also

provides a survival action. The question we

confront is not what Moragne added io the

remedial arsenal in maritime cases, but what, if

anything, it removed from admiralty’s stock.

Id. at 211 n.7 (internal citations omitted). The other, footnote

eleven, states that “[w]hile unseaworthiness was the doctrine

immediately at stake in Moragne, the right of action, as stated

in the Court’s opinion, is ‘for death caused by violation of

maritime duties.’” Jd. at 214 n.1] (citing, inter alia,

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale T: ransatlantique, 358 U.S.

625, 630 (1959) (stating that negligence is a violation of a

maritime duty), and G. Gilmore & C. Black, The Law of

Admiralty 368 (2d ed. 1975)).5

Garris argues that these footnotes demonstrate that the

Court interprets Moragne as recognizing a right of action

5. G. Gilmore & C. Black, The Law of Admiralty 368 (2d ed.

1975) states that “[f]rom Justice Harlan’s discussion of the

‘anomalies’ which the Moragne decision was designed to avoid

several conclusions clearly follow. ... The remedy provides

recovery for deaths caused by negligence as well as for deaths caused

by unseaworthiness. . . .” We note that this treatise offers no analysis

to support its assertion that Moragne created a general maritime

law cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence. As

discussed above, we construe the Moragne Court’s analysis of the

three anomalies differently than Gilmore & Black and conclude that

the three anomalies applied only in the context of unseaworthiness.

See supra part II.B. (discussing the three anomalies). At least one

circuit has expresz!y rejected Gilmore & Black’s reading of

Moragne. See Ford v. Wooten, 681 F.2d 712, 717 n.4 (11th Cir.

1982) (referring to “Gilmore & Black’s unsubstantiated assertion

that negligence is actionable under Moragne’”’). ;

36a

Appendix F

“for death caused by violation of maritime duties,” including

negligence. Moragne, 398 U.S. at 409. We disagree.

Although footnotes seven and eleven, read by themselves,

arguably support Garris’s position, particulariy footnote

eleven’s reference to “the right of action” as being for the

“violation of maritime duties,” we note that the Court in

footnote seven expressly refrained from addressing this

question: “The question we confront is not what Moragne

added to the remedial arsenal in maritime cases, but what, if

anything, it removed from admiralty’s stock.” Yamaha, 516

U.S. at 210 n.7. Moreover, the Court in Yamaha recognized

that Moragne relied in large part on unseaworthiness, stating

explicitly that “[t}he disparity between the unseaworthiness

doctrine’s strict liability standard and negligence-based state

wrongful-death statutes figured prominently in our landmark

Moragne decision,” id. at 208, and that “[t]he uniformity

concern that drove our decision in Moragne related . . . to the

availability of unseaworthiness as a basis of liability,” id. at

211. Yamaha's recognition of the historical and legal context

of Moragne further supports our belief that Moragne was a

limited holding that came in response to a set of concerns that

arose specifically in the context of unseaworthiness.

Our conclusion is bolstered by those few circuits that

have addressed this issue. In Ford v. Wooten, 681 F.2d 712

(11th Cir. 1982), for example, the Eleventh Circuit refused

to construe Moragne as creating a general maritime law cause

of action for wrongful death based upon negligence, stating

that Moragne, “which mentioned unseaworthiness but never

expressly discussed negligence, pertained only to an

unseaworthiness claim.” /d. at 715. Likewise, in /vy v.

Security Barge Lines, Inc., 606 F.2d 524 (Sth Cir. 1979)

BM

37a

Appendix F

(en banc), the Fifth Circuit recognized that “Moragne did

not create or even discuss an action for negligence; it dealt

only with death occasioned by unseaworthiness.” /d. at $27.

Even the case upon which Garris relies, Nelson vy. United

States, 639 F.2d 469 (9th Cir. 1980), supports our conclusion

that Moragne did not itself recognize a general maritime law

cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence.

In Nelson, the Ninth Circuit addressed “whether or not the

Government owes a duty of care to the employees of an

independent contractor which has been engaged by the

Government to perform hazardous maritime work.” Jd at

470. In determining the “[t]he precise nature of plaintiff's

cause of action,” the court noted that prior to Moragne,

there was no general maritime common law cause

of action for wrongful death; state wrongful death

acts were applied by federal courts sitting in

admiralty. We have found no case deciding

whether a Moragne suit may be based upon

negligence as well as unseaworthiness. We hold

that the need for uniformity in maritime wrongful

death actions requires extension of Moragne to

cover claims based on negligence, to the exclusion

of state wrongful death statutes.

Id. at 473 (internal citation omitted and emphasis added).

Thus, although the court found it appropriate to extend

Moragne, it also recognized that Moragne did not itself create

a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful death

based upon negligence.°

6. Indeed, Garris can point to only one federal court of appeals

that has construed Moragne consistently with her position. In

(Cont'd)

38a

Appendix F

Finally, Garris correctly notes that the Moragne Court

referred to maritime duties 1n its holding: “We accordingly

overrule The Harrisburg, and hold that an action does lie

under general maritime law for death caused by violation of

maritime duties.” /d. at 409. We do not believe, however,

that this vague reference to “maritime duties,” taken in the

context of the entire decision and the events prompting that

decision, is sufficient to counterbalance the Moragne Court’s

otherwise clear reliance on unseaworthiness as the basis for

its decision. The context under which Moragne was decided

speaks volumes; neither the events leading up to Moragne

— specifically, the emergence of unseaworthiness as a strict

(Cont'd)

Wahlstrom v. Kawasaki Heavy Indus., 4 F.3d 1084 (2d Cir. 1993),

the Second Circuit addressed whether “actions brought under the

federal courts’ admiralty jurisdiction are governed solely by federal

maritime law.” Jd. at 1085. The court, after a brief discussion of

Moragne, noted that

[t]he Court was addressing the specific issue of what, if

any remedy should be available for a wrongful death

caused within state territorial waters by a vessel’s

unseaworthiness, a claim for which there was no right

of recovery under applicable state law. In fashioning

the remedy, however, the Supreme Court did not limit

the new right of recovery to unseaworthiness claims,

but instead established a general remedy for wrongful

death under maritime law. i

Id. at 1088-89 (internal citation omitted). Garris has not offered,

nor have we found, another federal court of appeals decision that

has adopted Wahistrom’s reading of Moragne. For the reasons stated

above, we disagree with the Second Circuit’s reading of Moragne.

39a

Appendix F

liability doctrine and its absence in many state wrongful-

death statutes — nor the Court’s analysis of the three

anomalies, framed in the specific context of unseaworthiness,

apply equally to negligence-based actions.’

7. Garris argues that notwithstanding the limited issue before

the Court in Moragne and its historical context, the Moragne Court

must have intended to recognize a cause of action of wrongful death

for all breaches of maritime duties because it explicitly overruled

The Harrisburg, which held, in the context of a wrongful-death cause

of action based upon negligence under general maritime law, that

general maritime law did not afford recovery for wrongful death.

Garris argues that “[i]f the Court meant to limit its holding to

unseaworthiness, it would have merely distinguished The

Harrisburg.” (Appellant’s Br. at 7.) The Court in The Harrisburg,

however, relied explicitly upon /nsurance Co. v. Brame, 95 U.S.

754 (1877), which held “that by the common law no civil action

lies for an injury which results in death.” Jd. at 756. The Court in

The Harrisburg found no reason to apply a different rule in admiralty

than at common law, and, therefore, concluded that there could be

no civil action for wrongful death in admiralty absent a relevant

Statute. See The Harrisburg, 119 U.S. at 213-14. Thus, although the

issue before the Court in The Harrisburg had to do only with

negligence-based wrongful-death actions, its rationale was

applicable to all forms of wrongful death. The Moragne Court,

therefore, had to overrule, rather than distinguish, The Harrisburg

in order to create a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death based upon unseaworthiness. The Moragne Court’s necessary

step of overruling The Harrisburg does not suggest, as Garris argues,

that it actually intended to recognize a general maritime law cause

of action for wrongful death based upon negligence that was not

before it on appeal.

We note that the Court in Miles vy. Apex Marine Corp., 498

U.S. 19 (1990), read Moragne as recognizing a general maritime

(Cont'd)

40a

Appendix F

Our reading of Moragne, both from the Court’s language

and the context in which it was decided, as well as its

subsequent interpretation, leads us to the inescapable

conclusion that Moragne was, both at its heart and in its

facts, an unseaworthiness case. We, therefore, agree with

the district court and conclude that Moragne did not

recognize a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death based upon negligence.

Ill.

Having concluded that Moragne v. States Marine Lines,

Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970), did not create a general maritime

law cause of action for wrongful death based upon

negligence, we must now decide whether to extend Moragne

(Cont'd)

law cause of action for wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness

for seamen, as opposed to only longshoremen, partially because

“Moragne explicitly overruled The Harrisburg. The Harrisburg

involved a true seaman.” Jd. at 30 (internal citation omitted). The

other basis for the Miles Court’s reading of Moragne, however, was

that “all three of the ‘anomalies’ to which the Moragne cause of

action was directed involved seamen. . . . It would be strange indeed

were we to read Moragne as not addressing a problem that in large

part motivated its result.” Jd. The Court in Miles, therefore,

recognized a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful death

based upon unseaworthiness for seamen partially because the

reasoning applied equally between seamen and longshoremen. Here,

however, unlike in Miles, the reasoning does not apply equally

between unseaworthiness and negligence; the three “anomalies” in

Moragne related specifically to a wrongful-death cause of action

based upon unseaworthiness and had little relation to a wrongful-

death cause of action based upon negligence.

4la

Appendix F

to recognize such a cause of action. Because the creation of

a negligence-based wrongful-death action is Consistent with

the principles of uniformity and consistency that formed the

basis of Moragne, and because Congress has not affirmatively

precluded a negligence-based wrongful-death claim, we find

it appropriate to recognize a general maritime law cause of

action for wrongful death based upon negligence.

In deciding to recognize a general maritime law cause

of action for wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness,

the Moragne Court concluded that

the work of the legislatures has made the

allowance of recovery for wrongful death the

general rule of American law, and its denial the

exception. Where death is caused by the breach

of a duty imposed by federal maritime law,

Congress has established a policy favoring

recovery in the absence of a legislative direction

to except a particular class of cases.

Id. at 393. Applying this principle, the Moragne Court

examined the Jones Act and DOHSA to determine whether

Congress had expressed an intent to preclude a general

maritime law cause of action for wrongful death based upon

unseaworthiness. The Moragne Court rejected the argument

that DOHSA’s failure to account for an unseaworthiness-

based claim reflected a congressional intent to foreclose that

cause of action. The Moragne Court, pointing to the three

anomalies described above, noted that “[t]he resulting

discrepancy between the remedies for deaths covered by

[DOHSA] and for deaths that happen to fall within a state

42a

Appendix F

wrongful-death statute not encompassing unseaworthiness

could not have been foreseen by Congress.” /d. at 399.

The Moragne Court concluded that the absence of an

unseaworthiness-based wrongful-death cause of action in

DOHSA did not evidence a congressional intent to foreclose

such a cause of action because “no intention appears that

[DOHSA] have the effect of foreclosing any nonstatutory

federal remedies that might be found appropriate to effectuate

the policies of general maritime law.” /d. at 400.

The Moragne Court reasoned, instead, that creation of a

general maritime law cause of action for wrongful death

based upon unseaworthiness was consistent with the purpose

of the Jones Act, which

was intended to achieve uniformity in the exercise

of admiralty jurisdiction by giving seamen a

federal right to recover from their employers for

negligence regardless of the location of the injury

or death. That strong concern for uniformity is

scarcely consistent with a conclusion that

Congress intended to require the present

nonuniformity in the effectuation of the duty to

provide a seaworthy ship.

Id. at 401 (internal quotation marks omitted). The Moragne

Court concluded that “Congress has given no affirmative

indication of an intent to preclude the judicial allowance of

a remedy for wrongful death to persons in the situation of

this petitioner.” /d. at 393.

The Moragne Court’s examination of the three

anomalies, the Jones Act, and DOHSA is instructive. It

43a

Appendix F

demonstrates an analytical framework under which the

Moragne Court created a general maritime law cause of

action for wrongful death based upon unseaworthiness under

circumstances where: (1) Congress had not affirmatively

expressed an intention to bar such a Cause of action; and

(2) creation of that cause of action was consistent with the

policies of general maritime law articulated in the Jones Act

— uniformity in the exercise of admiralty jurisdiction.

This analytical framework likewise applies in the present

case and counsels in favor of recognizing a Moragne action

based upon negligence.* In the present case, Garris has no

right of recovery under the existing statutory scheme. Garris

cannot recover under DOHSA because her son died within

State territorial waters. She cannot recover under the Jones

Act because her son was a harbor worker, and not a seaman.

And, she apparently cannot recover against Norfolk under

the Virginia wrongful-death statute because the Virginia

worker’s compensation statute confers broader immunity

than the LHWCA; unlike the LHWCA, which bars suit only

against the immediate employer,’ the Virginia statute bars

8. A “Moragne action” or “Moragne cause of action” is simply

another term for a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death. See Miles y. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 30 (1990)

(referring to a “Moragne cause of action” in deciding whether to

apply a general maritime law wrongful-death action to seamen);

Miller v. American President Lines, Ltd., 989 F.2d 1450, 1457

(6th Cir. 1993) (referring to a “Moragne action”).

9. The LHWCA sets forth the exclusive remedies for a

longshoreman or harbor worker’s injury or death “occurring upon

(Cont'd)

44a

Appendix F

state tort claims against contractors as well as immediate

employers.'® See Va. Code Ann. §§ 65.2-302, 307 (Michie

Supp. 1999); Ward v. Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corp.,

770 F. Supp. 1118, 1120 (E.D. Va. 1991) (“Under the

Virginia Act, a contractor such as Norshipco is the ‘statutory

employer’ of a subcontractor’s or sub-subcontractor’s

employee, and therefore liable for compensation to such an

employee. The exclusivity provision of the Virginia Act

makes the contractor immune from suit for negligence,

provided the subcontractors were performing the ‘normal

work’ of the contractor. The LHWCA reaches the opposite

result with respect to the liability of a contractor to a

subcontractor’s injured employee.”); cf Garvin v. Alumax

of South Carolina, 787 F.2d 910, 918 (4th Cir. 1986)

(“Congress has diligently attempted to preserve state law

governance of state law third party claims by recipients of

(Cont'd)

the navigable waters of the United States,” including adjoining piers

or dry docks, see 33 U.S.C.A. § 903(a) (West 1986), for injuries caused

by a maritime employer, co-employee, or vessel. See 33 U.S.C.A.

§§ 905, 933(1) (West 1986). The LHWCA requires the employer,

inter alia, to compensate the injured longshoreman or harbor worker

for certain disability costs, recovery costs, and to provide death

benefits to certain beneficiaries. See 33 U.S.C.A. §§ 906-910, 914

(West 1986). It also permits the longshoreman or harbor worker to

sue the employer if the employer fails to pay the prescribed benefits.

See 33 U.S.C.A. § 905(a). As part of this compensation scheme, the

LHWCA confers immunity to an immediate employer from tort suits

by injured employees. See id.

10. That is presumably why Garris has sued only Gresham,

and not Norfolk, in state court under the Virginia wrongful-death

statute.

45a

Appendix F

LHWCA compensation. Since there is no conflict between

differing rules of immunity and application of South

Carolina’s rule [granting immunity to contractors] will not

frustrate the effectiveness of any federal law ... the

contractor [ ] is immune from this state tort claim.”). In other

words, because Garris’s son was a harbor worker who

happened to be killed in Virginia’s territorial waters, Garris

cannot recover against Norfolk absent a federal maritime law

cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence.

We see no reason to deny Garris a basis of recovery

simply because her son was a harbor worker who died in

Virginia, as opposed to another state that permits recovery

against contractors. First, Congress has not affirmatively

expressed an intent to preclude a negligence-based wrongful-

death cause of action against a third party. As the Court noted

in Moragne, DOHSA does not preclude a “nonstatutory

federal remed[y] that might be found appropriate to effectuate

the policies of general maritime law.” Moragne, 398 U.S. at

400. And, like DOHSA, the LHWCA does not evidence a

congressional intent to preclude a general maritime law cause

of action against third parties for wrongful death based upon

negligence.'' Second, recognition of a general maritime law

11. The LHWCA generally does not address rights of recovery

against third parties except in one instance: the LHWCA eliminated

unseaworthiness as a cause of action against the vessel with respect

to longshoremen and harbor workers and replaced that cause of

action by permitting longshoremen and harbor workers to bring suit

for negligence “against [the] vessel as a third party.” See 33 U.S.C.A.

§ 905(b) (West 1986); Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 28

(1990) (“If Moragne’s widow brought her action today, it would be

(Cont'd)

46a

Appendix F

cause of action for wrongful death based upon negligence

“effectuate[s] the policies of general maritime law” because

it is consistent with the policy of achieving uniformity in

admiralty law. Jd. at 400. The location of a harbor worker’s

death — a fact of true happenstance — should not determine

(Cont'd)

foreclosed by statute.”); Garvin v. Alumax of South Carolina, 787

F.2d 910, 917 (4th Cir. 1986) (“Except with respect to claims against

vessels addressed in 33 U.S.C.A. § 905(b), the LHWCA does not

address the substantive rights of claimants against third parties.”’).

We recognize that Congress’s removal of the unseaworthiness

cause of action for longshoremen and harbor workers reduced their

overall right of recovery. See Holland v. Sea-Land Serv., Inc., 655

F.2d 556, 558-59 (4th Cir. 1981) (stating that Congress “substantially

limited the right of longshoremen to recover from third parties in

tort actions” by eliminating unseaworthiness as a cause of action,

but “preserve[d] his right under prior law to recover for third party

negligence”). This restriction of rights, however, occurred within

the limited context of unseaworthiness, and for a very specific

reason: “ ‘[t]he rationale which justifies holding the vessel absolutely

liable to seamen if the vessel is unseaworthy does not apply with

equal force to longshoremen and other non-seamen working on board

a vessel while it is in port.’ ” Harwood v. Partredereit AF 15.5.81,

944 F.2d 1187, 1198 (4th Cir. 1991) (Ervin, J., dissenting) (quoting

H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441, 92nd Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1972

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 4698, 4703). We do not believe

that this limited curtailment of longshoremen and harbor workers’

rights is inconsistent with our recognition of a general maritime law

cause of action against third parties for wrongful death based upon

negligence, nor does it express an affirmative congressional intent

to preclude such a cause of action. Indeed, the LHWCA expressly

leaves intact a longshoreman or harbor worker’s rights against all

other third parties except the employer and “persons in the same

employ.” See 33 U.S.C.A. § 933(i) (West 1986).

47a

Appendix F

an injured party’s ability to recover for wrongful death.!

Because such a cause of action is consistent with the

framework set forth in Moragne, we hold that a general

maritime law cause of action against third Parties for

wrongful death based upon negligence is available where a

federal claim; when the third party claim is a state law Claim, the

immunity rules of that state are to be applied.” Jd. at 917. Because

Garvin dealt only witha State claim, and not a federal claim, Garvin

is not inconsistent with our decision in the present case.

Nor does a negligence-based Moragne cause of action violate

“important federalism principles” by impermissibly interfering with

Virginia’s grant of immunity to Norfolk under State law. (Appellee’s

Br. at 21.) First, the broader Virginia immunity rule would still apply

to any state tort actions brought by Garris. To that extent, a Moragne

cause of action does not interfere with state law at all. Second,

.. .. Permissible state regulation . . . must be consistent with federal

maritime principles and policies.” Yamaha Motor Corp. v. Calhoun,

Supplement federal maritime policies, a state may not deprive a

person of any substantial admiralty rights as defined in controlling

acts of Congress or by interpretive decisions of this Court.”).

Accordingly, Norfolk’s federalism argument does not deter us from

recognizing a Moragne cause of action in this context.

48a

Appendix F

harbor worker, such as Garris’s son, dies within state

territorial waters.'’ For that reason, we reverse the district

13. We recognize that the Supreme Court, in Dooley v. Korean

Air Lines Co., 118 S.Ct. 1890 (1998), declined to extend general

maritime law to permit recovery for pre-death pain and suffering under

a general maritime law survival cause of action. See id. at 1895. In

Dooley, the Court reyected the argument that DOHSA, which does not

authorize recovery for pre-death pain and suffering, did not bar such

damages under general maritime law because DOHSA is a wrongful-

death statute rather than a survival statute. See id. The Court stated that

DOHSA expresses Congress’ judgment that there

should be mo such cause of action in cases of death on

the high seas. By authorizing only certain surviving

relatives to recover damages, and by limiting damages

to the pecuniary losses sustained by those relatives,

Congress provided the exclusive recovery for deaths that

occur on the high seas.

Id. at 1894-95. The Court noted that “[b]ecause Congress has already

decided these issues, it has precluded the judiciary from enlarging either

the class of beneficiaries or the recoverable damages.” /d. at 1895.

Moreover, “it cannot be contended that DOHSA has no bearing on

survival actions; rather, Congress has simply chosen to adopt a more

limited survival provision.” /d. The Court concluded that “[e]ven in

the exercise of our admiralty jurisdiction, we will not upset the balance

struck by Congress by authorizing a cause of action with which Congress

was certainly familiar but nonetheless declined to adopt.” Jd.

Unlike DOHSA, which addressed the remedy sought by the

petitioners in Dooley, and, therefore, pervaded the field on that issue,

the LHWCA does not address the third party cause of action that

Garris seeks in the present case. In fact, as noted above, the LHWCA

addresses third party rights only in the limited context of eliminating

(Cont’d)

49a

Appendix F

court’s dismissal of Garris’s general maritime law

negligence-based claim and remand for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

IV.

In conclusion, the language of Moragne v. States Marine

Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970), combined with its historical

and legal context and the absence of persuasive authority to

the contrary, leads us to conclude that Moragne recognized

only a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death based upon unseaworthiness and not for wrongful death

based upon negligence. However, because Congress has not

affirmatively precluded a negligence-based cause of action,

and because such a cause of action is consistent with the

principle of uniformity expressed in Moragne and Miles y.

Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 33 (1990) (“Today we

restore a uniform rule applicable to all actions for the

wrongful death of a seaman, whether under DOHSA, the

Jones Act, or general maritime law.”), we find it appropriate

to recognize a general maritime law cause of action for wrongful

death based upon negligence. Accordingly, we reverse the

district court’s dismissal of Garris’s general maritime law

negligence-based claim and remand for further proceedings.

REVERSED AND REMANDED

(Cont'd)

an unseaworthiness action against the vessel and replacing it witha

negligence action against the vessel. Thus, unlike the Court in

Dooiey, we can find no congressional intent that precludes us from

recognizing a Moragne cause of action against third parties other

than vessels for wrongful death based upon negligence.

50a

Appendix F

HALL, Senior Circuit Judge, concurring in the judgment:

Over the past three decades, Justice Harlan’s opinion in

Moragne vy. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970),

has come to occupy an important place within the Supreme

Court’s canon. Generations of la\ students have studied

Moragne for its scholarly discussion of legal process and

the role of precedent. But before those students reach these

abstract questions, their professors have no doubt tormented

them by asking a seemingly simple question that defies a

simple answer: What, precisely, is the holding of Moragne?

I.

The majority, which concludes in the first instance that

Moragne’s holding is limited to wrongful death

unseaworthiness claims, gives what is in many ways a

reasonable answer to that thorny question — albeit one with

which I cannot concur. And Part III of the majority opinion

ultimately reaches the right result by finding a Moragne cause

of action on the instant set of facts. The majority’s

explanation of why congressional silence and Appellant’s

lack of a state-law remedy warrant the creation of a federal

admiralty remedy is particularly laudable. Because I would

hold that Moragne already covers Appellant’s claim, I find

it unnecessary to reach Part III’s analysis. But if I were

inclined to interpret Moragne as narrowly as the majority

does, I would certainly assent to Part III’s sound discussion.

Those words of explanation having been voiced, I shall

explain why, in my view, Moragne itself created a cause of

action for negligence-based wrongful death.

Sla

Appendix F

I.

In The Harrisburg, 119 U.S. 199 (1886), the Supreme

Court held that general maritime law provided no cause of

action for wrongful death. At the time, any successful

wrongful death suit would have required the plaintiff to prove

that the defendant acted negligently, and negligence was

indeed the theory of liability pressed by The Harrisburg

plaintiff and the only theory of negligence considered by

the Supreme Court. See id. at 204.

Fifty-eight years later the Supreme Court recognized,

for the first time, the doctrine of unseaworthiness.

See Mahnich v. Southern S.S. Co., 321 U.S. 96 (1944);

see also Yamaha Motor Corp. v. Calhoun, 516 U.S. 199,

208 (1996) (“Prior to 1944, unseaworthiness was an obscure

and relatively little used liability standard .. . .”) (internal

quotations marks omitted). In contrast to negligence,

unseaworthiness is a strict liability theory flowing from the

ship’s owner to its crew, longshoreman, or harbor workers

aboard the ship. See Ballwanz v. Isthmian Lines, 319 F.2d

457, 461 (4th Cir. 1963).

Twenty-six years after Mahnich, the Supreme Court

decided Moragne, 398 U.S. at 375. In Moragne the plaintiff

was a longshoreman’s widow who brought an unseaworthiness

suit against the owner of a ship on which her husband had

perished. Like Appellant, the Moragne plaintiffs loved one

had been killed while working aboard a vessel in navigable

waters within a state’s territorial waters. See id. at 376.

Although no federal statute authorized recovery for the

widow, the Supreme Court nevertheless allowed her suit to

52a

Appendix F

proceed. In order to do so, the Supreme Court said it was

compelled to overrule The Harrisburg, stare decisis

considerations notwithstanding. In broad language, Justice

Harlan, writing for a unanimous Court, announced the rule

of Moragne: “We accordingly overrule The Harrisburg, and

hold that an action does lie under general maritime law for

death caused by violation of maritime duties.” Jd. at 409.

Two aspects of the Moragne opinion are of pivotal

importance in the case at bar. First, the court explicitly

announced that a cause of action exists for a “violation of

maritime duties,” not just for “unseaworthiness.” Had the

Court sought to limit its holding to unseaworthiness, it could

have easily done so. Second, and relatedly, had the Supreme

Court sought only to allow the plaintiff to recover in her

unseaworthiness-based wrongful death action, it could easily

have distinguished The Harrisburg. After all, The Harrisburg

held that there was no general maritime law cause of action

for negligence-based wrongful death suits, but The Harrisburg

said nothing about the presence or absence of a general

maritime law cause of action for unseaworthiness-based

wrongful death suits, since the unseaworthiness theory of

liability did not enter the Supreme Court’s lexicon until fifty-

eight years after The Harrisburg was handed down. But the

Supreme Court consciously, and with much fanfare,’

1. Justice Harlan’s opinion in Moragne devotes seven

fascinating pages to the “very weighty considerations” of stare

decisis that augured against overruling The Harrisburg.

See Moragne, 398 U.S. at 403-09. Anyone who reads this discussion

comes away from it profoundly impressed with Justice Harlan’s

reverence for precedent and his reluctance to cast aside a controlling

(Cont'd)

$3a

Appendix F

overruled The Harrisburg instead of distinguishing it.? In so

(Cont'd)

precedent in the absence of compelling reasons to do so. Indeed,

scholars have long appreciated Justice Harlan’s Particularly hardy

the principle of judicial restraint, see, e.g., Stephen M. Dane,

“Ordered Liberty” and Self-Restraint: The Judicial Philosophy of

the Second Justice Harlan, 51 U. Cin. L. Rev. 545 (1982).

follow from the majority’s holding today: Either Moragne’s

overruling of The Harrisburg was mere dicta or Justice Harlan and

death suits, but not negligence-based wrongful death suits.

2. The majority contends that Moragne had to overrule

The Harrisburg because The Harrisburg’s “rationale was applicable

(Cont’d)

54a

Appendix F

doing, the Court must have believed that there was no

principled basis for distinguishing between negligence-based

wrongful death suits and unseaworthiness-based wrongful

death suits under general maritime law. Yet that is precisely

the distinction that the majority draws today.

In order to fully understand Moragne, courts have often

looked to the three famous “anomalies” that The Harrisburg

and pre-Moragne developments had wrought. See, e.g.,

Miller v. American President Lines, 989 F.2d 1450, 1458

(6th Cir. 1993); Bodden v. American Offshore, Inc., 681 F.2d

319, 323 (Sth Cir. 1982). The Moragne Court was terribly

troubled by these inconsistencies that had emerged in

(Cont'd)

to all forms of wrongful death.” Maj. op. at 15 n.7. In so doing, the

majority emphasizes The Harrisburg’s reliance on Jnsurance Co. v.

Brame, 95 U.S. 754 (1877), which held that under the common law,

“actions for injuries to the person abate by death,” see id. at 759.

I fail to see why Brame alters the analysis. At the time of The

Harrisburg, the common law recognized no wrongful death cause

of action. Among the possible theories of liability, the only candidate

for a wrongful death recovery action would have been negligence

because, as I noted above, the strict-liability theory of wrongful death

recovery would not make its way into American admiralty

jurisprudence for another fifty-eight years. It is therefore not

surprising that The Harrisburg Court considered the question before

it in the narrowest of terms: “Can a suit in admiralty be maintained

in the courts of the United States to recover damages for the death

of a human being on the high seas, or waters navigable from the

sea, caused by negligence, in the absence of an act of congress or a

statute of a state giving a right of action therefor?” 119 U.S. at 204

(emphasis added). Thus, the majority’s view appears to be that the

Moragne Court read The Harrisburg to preclude a cause of action

that had not yet been invented.

SSa

Appendix F

admiralty law, whereby a seaman might recover damages if

injured within territorial waters, but not if killed within those

same waters; whereby a seaman’s estate could recover in an

unseaworthiness action if he was killed on the high seas but

not if killed within a State’s territorial waters; and whereby

a seaman’s estate could not recover for wrongful death if he

were killed within territorial waters, but a longshoreman’s

estate could. See id. at 395-96. By overruling The Harrisburg

and removing these anomalies, the Court saw itself as

assuring “uniform vindication of federal policies [by]

removing the tensions and discrepancies that have resulted

from the necessity to accommodate state remedial statutes

to exclusively maritime substantive concepts.” /d. at 401.

The majority concludes that Moragne’s three anomalies

are not directly implicated by the instant case. | disagree.

The purpose of Moragne was to allow individuals who are,

for all intents and purposes, equally situated, to obtain equal

recoveries in the event of their deaths. In other words,

happenstance should not determine whether an individual’s

heirs have a cause of action in the event of his untimely death.

But, as the majority points out, Appellant’s misfortune here

is purely driven by happenstance. Maj. op. at 17-19. Had

Garris been a seaman, Appellant would have had a wrongful

death cause of action under the Jones Act or general maritime

law. But because Garris was a longshoreman, the Jones Act is

inapplicable, and Appellant is now unable to bring any suit under

general maritime law. Had Garris’s death resulted from the

actions of the ship’s owner, Appellant could have recovered

under the Longshore & Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act

(“LHWCA”), 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). But because his death

allegedly resulted from the actions of subcontractors working

S6a

Appendix F

aboard the ship, such a remedy is not available to Appellant.

] am hardly alone in understanding Moragne’s anomalies to

be directly implicated by the set of facts presented in the

instant case. To Grant Gilmore and Charles Black, two of

their generation’s towering legal minds, it “clearly

follow[ed]” from Moragne that “The Moragne remedy ....

provides recovery for deaths caused by negligence as well

as for deaths caused by unseaworthiness.” Grant Gilmore &

Charles L. Black, Jr. The Law of Admiralty 368 (2d ed. 1974).

In 1980, a Ninth Circuit opinion cited page 368 of the

Gilmore and Black treatise and largely agreed with those

scholars’ reading of Moragne. See Nelson v. United States, 639

F.2d 469, 473 (9th Cir. 1980). While observing that no post-

Moragne published opinion had decided whether a Moragne

suit “could be based on negligence as well as unseaworthiness,”

the court expressed sympathy for Gilmore and Black’s view

that the obvious implication of Moragne was that negligence

suits were covered under the general maritime law. The Court

held that the “need for uniformity in maritime wrongful death

actions requires extension of Moragne to cover claims based

on negligence, to the exclusion of state wrongful death statutes.”

Id. The majority reads Nelson as recognizing “that Moragne

did not itself create a general maritime law cause of action for

wrongful death based upon negligence.” Maj. op. at 13.

Although the question is admittedly close, I read no such

analysis into Nelson, and believe the majority places too

much emphasis on Nelson’s use of the word “extension.”

3. When an opinion is obviously applicable to a nearly identical

set of facts, it is nevertheless accurate to say that the opinion still

must be “extended” to cover the second set of facts. Sometimes,

. (Cont’¢)

57a

Appendix F

Indeed, Nelson’s invocation of page 368 of Gilmore and

Black suggests a contrary view.

As the majority recognizes, the Second Circuit has also

held that Moragne created a negligence-based cause of action

as well as an unseaworthiness-based cause of action.

See Wahlstrom v. Kawasaki Heavy Indus., 4 F.3d 1084 (2d

Cir. 1993). The Second Circuit correctly held that the

Moragne Court “did not limit the new right of recovery to

unseaworthiness claims, but instead established a general

remedy for wrongful death under maritime law.” /d. at 1088-

89. The majority’s assertion that no court has adopted

Wahlstrom’s reasoning is misleading. Wahistrom is

consistent with Nelson, and Wahlstrom was the last circuit

court case to consider the issue that is before this Court today.

The majority seeks solace in an Eleventh Circuit case,

but that reliance is somewhat misplaced. Admittedly, the

Eleventh Circuit has held that Moragne does not create a

negligence-based wrongful death cause of action “where a

cause of action exists for wrongful death under DOHSA

[the Death on the High Seas Act].” Ford y. Wooten, 681

F.2d 712, 716 (11th Cir. 1982). But it is undisputed that

Appellant has no DOHSA remedy here, because Garris’s

injury occurred in territorial waters. In Ford, the Eleventh

(Cont'd) -

a minimal extension of the prior precedent to a situation clearly

controlled by that precedent even warrants the publication of a

Subsequent opinion. See, e.g., Boulahanis v. Board of Regents, 198

F.3d 633 (7th Cir. 1999) (extending Kelley v. Board of Trustees,

35 F.3d 265 (7th Cir. 1994), while recognizing that Kelley plainly

controlled the case at bar).

58a

Appendix F

Circuit premised its opinion upon a balancing of interests

where the interest in uniformity favored granting a remedy

and “consistency with federal remedial schemes” favored

withholding a remedy. The court held that “[a]t least where

statutory remedies exist, we deem consistency with the

federal remedial schemes to be more important than the

somewhat limited loss of uniformity.” /d. (emphasis added).

Notably, a general maritime law cause of action would have

conflicted with DOHSA because DOHSA “already provides

a cause of action for death due to negligence.” /d. Where, as

in the case at bar, no federal statute authorizes or bars a

recovery from the third party alleged to have caused Garris’s

death, there is nothing to balance the interest in uniformity,

so Moragne creates a cause of action.*

4. Both parties invoke the Fifth Circuit’s precedents as

supporting their respective readings of Moragne. Surprisingly, both

parties appear to be correct. In /vy v. Security Barge Lines, Inc.,

606 F.2d 524, 527 (Sth Cir. 1979) (en banc), the Fifth Circuit held:

Other reasons, somewhat more complex, appear to

preclude interpreting the Jones Act as being supplemented

by a Moragne-engendered negligence action for damages

if (but only if) death occurs in territorial waters or on

land. Moragne did not create or even discuss an action

for negligence; it dealt only with death occasioned by

unseaworthiness. The suggestion that the Jones Act

measure of damages can be supplemented by the

Moragne-cause-of-action-Gaudet-damages rule will not

bear analysis ....

A decade later, the Fifth Circuit appears to have reversed course,

observing that in “Moragne, the Supreme Court recognized a

(Cont’d)

59a

Appendix F

Any lingering doubts about whether Moragne created a

negligence-based wrongful death cause of action were laid

to rest by the Supreme Court in 1996. In Yamaha Motor

Corp., 516 U.S. at 199, the Court held that Moragne did not

preempt state law remedies for wrongful death resulting from

injuries to nonseamen in territorial waters. But it is one of

Yamaha’s footnotes, not its holding, that definitively resolves

the instant case. Footnote 11 reads in pertinent part:

While unseaworthiness was the doctrine

immediately at stake in Moragne, the right of

(Cont'd)

wrongful death action for negligence and unseaworthiness under

the general maritime law.” Miles y. Melrose, 882 F.2d 976, 985

(Sth Cir. 1989), aff'd sub nom. Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498

U.S. 19 (1990). Ordinarily, an en banc opinion would trump a panel

opinion, but that might not be the case where, as here, the panel

opinion post-dates the en banc opinion or where, as here, only the

panel opinion was affirmed by the Supreme Court. The Fifth Circuit

thus appears to find itself on both sides of a circuit split.

Nevertheless, the majority opinion cites /vy as the current F ifth

Circuit law. Maj. op. at 13. Assuming, arguendo, the correctness of

that assessment, I would emphasize that /vy’s holding is inapplicable

to the case at bar. The Ivy court’s analysis was animated by the

problem of double recoveries for someone under Moragne and the

Jones Act. Appellant, and those similarly situated, are not eligible

for such a double recovery, since the Jones Act covers seamen, but

not longshoremen. The Longshore & Harbor Workers’ Compensation

Act (LHWCA), which covers Garris, does not provided for a

wrongful death cause of action against a subcontractor. Hence, there

is no risk that Appellant might recover twice, unless one construes

funeral benefits from an employer and wrongful death benefits from

a third-party subcontractor to be a double recovery.

60a

Appendix F

action, as stated in the Court’s opinion, 1s “for

death caused by violation of maritime duties.” . .

See ... Kermarec, 358 U.S. at 630, 79 S.Ct. at

409-410 (negligence). See also G. Gilmore & C.

Black, The Law of Admiralty 368 (2d ed. 1975).

Id. at 214 n.11. This footnote is a crucial clue for at least

two reasons. First, the Court emphasized that the Moragne

cause of action covered something in addition to

unseaworthiness causes of action, and the citation to

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358 U.S.

625, 630 (1959), makes it rather clear that negligence causes

of action for wrongful death were part of that “something”

encompassed by the broader language “violation of maritime

duties.” See Steven F. Friedell, Searching for a Compass:

Federal and State Law Making Authority in Admiralty,

57 La. L. Rev. 825, 835 (1997) (“[T]he holding in Moragne

was not limited to unseaworthiness. The Court held that ‘an

action does lie under general maritime law for death caused

by violation of maritime duties.’ As recognized by the

Yamaha Court, this encompasses not only unseaworthiness

but also products liability and negligence.’’).

Second, and perhaps even more importantly, the

Supreme Court cited favorably to the aforementioned page

368 of the Gilmore and Black treatise, where the authors

concluded that the Moragne remedy “provides recovery for

deaths caused by negligence as well as for deaths caused by

unseaworthiness.” Gilmore & Black, supra, at 368. This

citation, combined with the text of footnote 11 and the

citation to Kermarec, make it clear that the Yamaha Court

understood Moragne’s remedy as encompassing claims like

6la

Appendix F

Appellant’s. Although footnote 11] is dicta, it deserves special

solace from this Court because it Clarifies the Supreme

Court’s understanding of one of its Own opinions. See United

States v. City of Hialeah, 140 F.3d 968, 974 (11th Cir. 1998)

(“Even though that statement by the Supreme Court in Local

93 was dictum, it is of considerable persuasive value,

especially because it interprets the Court’s own precedent.”).

IT].

Ultimately, the agreement between my view and the

majority’s is far more important than our points of contention.

It goes without Saying that Appellant has a cause of action

under either reading of Moragne. | write separately to

emphasize that in my view Appellant’s cause of action is

not a new ship that has suddenly appeared on the horizon.

Rather, Appellant’s cause of action has been lurking just

under the surface for quite some time. For the foregoing

reasons, I concur in the judgment.

62a

APPENDIX G — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

DATED AND FILED JUNE 1, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 98-2368

(CA-98-382-2)

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the

Estate of Christopher Garris, deceased,

Plaintiff — Appellant,

versus

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK

CORPORATION,

Defendant — Appellee,

and

E.T. GRESHAM, INCORPORATED,

Defendant.

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Appellees filed a petition for rehearing en banc.

A member of the Court requested a poll on the petition

for rehearing en banc. The poll failed to produce a majority

63a

Appendix G

of judges in active service in favor of rehearing en banc.

Judges Widener and Niemeyer voted to rehear the case

en banc. Chief Judge Wilkinson and Judges Murnaghan,

Wilkins, Lutti g, Williams, Michael, Motz, Traxler, and King

voted against rehearing en banc.

The Court denies the petition for rehearing en banc.

Entered at the direction of J udge Williams for the Court.

For the Court

/s/ Patricia S. Connor

Clerk

64a

APPENDIX H — DISSENTING OPINION OF JUDGE

WIDENER OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT TO THE

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

DATED AND FILED JUNE 2, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 98-2368

(CA-98-382-2)

CELESTINE GARRIS, Administratrix of the

Estate of Christopher Garris, deceased,

Plaintiff — Appellant,

versus

NORFOLK SHIPBUILDING & DRYDOCK

CORPORATION,

Defendant — Appellee,

and

E.T. GRESHAM, INCORPORATED,

Defendant.

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

6Sa

Appendix H |

WIDENER, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I respectfully dissent to the denial of rehearing en banc

in this case. I would grant rehearing en banc in this case of

first impression.

The panel opinion relies almost exclusively on the

opinion in Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S.

375 (1970). In Moragne, the Court addressed discrepancies

“between the remedies for deaths covered by the Death on

the High Seas Act and for deaths that happen to fall within a

State wrongful death statute not encompassing unseaworthiness

...." 398 U.S. at 399. Finding that Congress could not have

foreseen these discrepancies, the Court concluded that the

Death on the High Seas Act did not foreclose any nonstatutory

federal remedies that would effectuate the policies of general

maritime law. Moragne, 398 U.S. at 399-400.

With respect to longshoremen and other harbor workers,

the Moragne Court found that a claim for wrongful death

based upon the unseaworthiness of a vessel was viable

because the unseaworthiness doctrine had been extended to

longshoremen as the principal vehicle for recovery of injury

or death while performing work on a vessel, Moragne, 398

U.S. at 399, on the authority of Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki,

328 U.S. 85 (1946). Sieracki extended to land-based

stevedores the right given by maritime law to seamen to

recover against the ship owner, without the need of proving

negligence, for injuries caused by the unseaworthiness of

the vessel. Following Sieracki, courts made awards to

longshoremen on the basis of unseaworthiness. And, as

noted, the Meragne Court specifically retied on the Sieracki

66a

Appendix H

decision to extend the coverage of a wrongful death cause

of action based on unseaworthiness to a longshoreman.

In 1972, Congress enacted various amendments to the

Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act. As part

of these amendments, Congress added 33 U.S.C. § 905(b),

which specifically eliminates the right of longshoremen and

harbor workers to recover against the vessel on the basis of

unseaworthiness. See Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v.

De Los Santos, 451 U.S. 156, 165 (1981) (longshoreman’s

right to recover for unseaworthiness abolished); Herbert R.

Baer, Admiralty Law of the Supreme Court § 6-17 at 90-91

(2d ed. Supp. 1977). The legislative history mentions Sieracki

by name and rejects the holding of that case to the extent

that it created an absolute duty of seaworthiness to

“longshoreman and others who performed work on the

vessel.” H.R. Robert E. Payne. No. 92-1441 (1972), reprinted

in 1972 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4698, 4702. Thus, because Moragne

relies on Sieracki to extend a wrongful death action based

on unseaworthiness to longshoremen and harbor workers,

to the extent of that reliance Moragne was superceded and

reversed by the 1972 amendments to the act. Thus, the panel

opinion’s reliance on this portion of Moragne is misplaced.

The legislative history of the 1972 amendments to the

Act are particularly relevant to our decision in this case. It is

clear from this history that Congress intended to “place an

employee injured aboard a vessel in the same position he

would be if he were injured in non-maritime employment

ashore, insofar as bringing a third party damage action is

concerned, and not to endow him with any special maritime

theory of liability or cause of action under whatever judicial

67a

Appendix H

nomenclature it may be called, Such as ‘unseaworthiness’,

non-delegable duty’, or the like.” 1972 U.S.C.C.A.N 4698,

4703:!

In spite of this explicit expression of Congressional

intent, the panel opinion creates a new cause of action which

is exactly the opposite of that which Congress intended. F irst,

the decision creates a “special maritime theory of liability”

— One for wrongful death based on negligence. Second, the

decision gives an employee injured aboard a vessel a cause

of action that a Virginia worker on shore would not have.

In a case such as this in which Congress has made its

intention explicit, | suggest it is beyond our warrant to

substitute our notions of public policy for that of Congress.

Local 1976, United Bhd of Carpenters and Joiners y.

N.L.R.B., 357 U.S. 93, 100 (1958) (“[I]t is the business of

Congress to declare policy and not this Court’s. The judicial

function is confined to applying what Congress has enacted

after ascertaining what it is that Congress has enacted.”’).

“Whether the federal policy is a wise one is for the Congress

and the Chief Executive to determine. Once they have

spoken, it is our function to enforce their will.” United States

v. Georgia Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 371 U.S. 285, 293 (1963).

1. As Scindia points out both the Senate and House Committee

Reports agree on this language. Scindia, 45} U.S. at 165-166 n.13.

O8a

APPENDIX I — RELEVANT STATUTES

The Longshore and Harbor Workers Compensation Act,

33 U.S.C.A. §§ 903(a), 904, 905(a)-(b), 909 (West 1986).

§ 903. Coverage.

(a) Disability or death; injuries occurring upon

navigable waters of United States. Except as otherwise

provided in this section, compensation shall be payable under

this chapter in respect of disability or death of an employee,

but only if the disability or death results from an injury

occurring upon the navigable waters of the United States

(including any adjoining pier, wharf, dry dock, terminal,

building way, marine railway, or other adjoining area

customarily used by an employer in loading, unloading,

repairing, dismantling, or building a vessel).

§ 904. Liability for compensation.

(a) Every employer shall be liable for and shall secure

the payment to his employees of the compensation payable

under sections 907, 908, and 909 of this title. In the case of

an employer who is a subcontractor, only if such

subcontractor fails to secure the payment of compensation

shall the contractor be liable for and be required to secure

the payment of compensation. A subcontractor shall not be

deemed to have failed to secure the payment of compensation

if the contractor has provided insurance for such

compensation for the benefit of the subcontractor.

(b) Compensation shall be payable irrespective of fault

as a cause for the injury.

69a

Appendix |

§ 905. Exclusiveness of liability.

(a) Employer liability; failure of employer to secure

payment of compensation. The liability of an employer

prescribed in section 904 of this title shall be exclusive and

In place of all other liability of such employer to the

employee, his legal representative, husband or wife, parents,

dependents, next of kin, and anyone otherwise entitled to

recover damages from such employer at law or in admiralty

on account of such injury or death, except that if an employer

fails to secure Payment of compensation as required by this

chapter, an injured employee, or his legal representative in

employees only if the subcontractor fails to secure the payment

of compensation as required by section 904 of this title.

(b) Negligence of vessel. In the event of injury to a

person covered under this chapter caused by the negligence

of a vessel, then such person, or anyone otherwise entitled

lo recover damages by reason thereof. may bring an action

70a

Appendix I

shall be void. If such person was employed by the vessel to

provide stevedoring services, no such action shall be permitted

if the injury was caused by the negligence of persons engaged

in providing stevedoring services to the vessel. If such person

was employed to provide shipbuilding, repairing, or breaking

services and such person’s employer was the owner, owner

pro hac vice, agent, operator, or charterer of the vessel, no such

action shall be permitted, in whole or in part or directly or

indirectly, against the injured person’s employer (in any

capacity, including as the vessel’s owner, owner pro hac vice,

agent, operator, or charterer) or against the employees of the

employer. The liability of the vessel under this subsection shall

not be based upon the warranty of seaworthiness or a breach

thereof at the time the injury occurred. The remedy provided in

this subsection shall be exclusive of all other remedies against

the vessel except remedies available under this chapter.

§ 909. Compensation for death.

If the injury causes death, the compensation therefore

shall be known as a death benefit and shall be payable in the

amount and to or for the benefit of the persons following:

(a) Reasonable funeral expenses not exceeding $3,000.

(b) If there be a widow or widower and no child of the

deceased, to such widow or widower 50 per centum of the

average wages of the deceased, during widowhood, or

dependent widowerhood, with two years’ compensation in

one sum upon remarriage; and if there be a surviving child

or children of the deceased, the additional amount of 16 2/3

per centum of such wages for each such child; in case of the

7la

Appendix |

death or remarriage of such widow or widower, if there be

one surviving child of the deceased employee, such child

Shall have his compensation increased to 50 per centum of

such wages, and if there be more than one surviving child of

the deceased employee, to such children, in equal parts,

50 per centum of such Wages increased by 16 2/3 per centum

of such wages for each child in excess of one: Provided,

That the total amount payable shall in no case exceed 66 2/3

per centum of such wages. The deputy commissioner having

jurisdiction over the claim may, in his discretion, require

the appointment of a guardian for the purpose of receiving

the compensation of a minor child. In the absence of such a

requirement the appointment of a guardian for such purposes

shall not be necessary.

(c) {f there be one Surviving child of the deceased, but

no widow or widower, then for the support of such child

50 per centum of the wages of the deceased; and if there be

more than one Surviving child of the deceased, but no widow

or dependent husband, then for the Support of such children,

in equal parts 50 per centum of such wages increased by

16 2/3 per centum of such Wages for each child in excess of

one: Provided, That the total amount payable shall in no case

exceed 66 2/3 per centum of such wages.

(d) If there be no Surviving wife or husband or child, or

if the amount payable to a surviving wife or husband and to

children shall be less in the aggregate than 66 2/3 per centum

of the average wages of the deceased; then for the support

of grandchildren or brothers and sisters, if dependent upon

the deceased at the time of the injury, and any other persons

who satisfy the definition of the term “dependent” in section

72a

Appendix 1

152 of Title 26, but are not otherwise eligible under this

section, 20 per centum of such wages for the support of each

such person during such dependency and for the support of

each parent, or grandparent, of the deceased if dependent

upon him at the time of the injury, 25 per centum of such

wages during such dependency. But in no case shall the

aggregate amount payable under this subdivision exceed the

difference between 66 2/3 per centum of such wages and the

amount payable as hereinbefore provided to widow or

widower and for the support of surviving child or children.

(e) In computing death benefits, the average weekly

wages of the deceased shall not be less than the national

average weekly wage as prescribed in section 906(b) of this

title, but —

(1) the total weekly benefits shall not exceed

the lesser of the average weekly wages of the

deceased or the benefit which the deceased

employee would have been eligible to receive

under section 906(b)(1) of this title; and

(2) in the case of a claim based on death due

to an occupational disease for which the time of

injury (as determined under section 910(1) of this

title) occurs after the employee has retired, the

total weekly benefits shall not exceed one fifty-

second part of the employee’s average annual

earnings during the 52-week period preceding

retirement.

(f) All questions of dependency shall be determined as

of the time of the injury.

73a

Appendix |

The Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act, Va. Code Ann.

§§ 65.2-302, -307, -512. -515, -516 (Michie 1995 & Supp.

1999),

§ 65.2-302. Statutory employer.

A. When any person (referred to in this section as

“owner”’) undertakes to perform or execute any work which

is a part of his trade, business Or Occupation and contracts

with any other person (referred to in this section as

subcontractor”) for the execution or performance by or

under such subcontractor of the Whole or any part of the

work undertaken by such owner, the owner shall be liable to

Pay to any worker employed in the work any compensation

under this title which he would have been liable to pay if the

worker had been immediately employed by him.

B. When any person (referred to in this section as

“contractor”) contracts to perform or execute any work for

another person which work or undertaking is not a part of

the trade, business or Occupation of such other person and

contracts with any other person (referred to in this section

as “subcontractor”) for the execution or performance by or

under the subcontractor of the whole or any part of the work

undertaken by such contractor, then the contractor shall be

liable to pay to any worker employed in the work any

compensation under this title which he would have been

liable to pay if that worker had been immediately employed

by him.

C. When the subcontractor in turn contracts with still

another person (also referred to as “subcontractor”) for the

74a

Appendix I

performance or execution by or under such last subcontractor

of the whole or any part of the work undertaken by the first

subcontractor, then the liability of the owner or contractor

shall be the same as the liability imposed by subsections A

and B of this section.

§ 65.2-307. Employee’s rights under Act exclude all

others.

A. The rights and remedies herein granted to an

employee when his employer and he have accepted the

provisions of this title respectively to pay and accept

compensation on account of injury or death by accident shall

exclude all other rights and remedies of such employee, his

personal representative, parents, dependents or next of kin,

at common law or otherwise, on account of such injury, loss

of service or death.

B. Notwithstanding this exclusion, nothing in the Act

shall bar an employer from voluntarily agreeing to pay an

employee compensation above and beyond those benefits

provided for in the Act. Nothing herein, however, shall be

deemed to affect or alter any existing right or remedy of the

employer or employee under the Act.

§ 65.2-512. Compensation to dependents of an employee

killed; burial expenses.

A. If death results from the accident within nine years,

the employer shall pay, or cause to be paid, compensation in

weekly payments equal to 66 2/3 percent of the employee’s

average weekly wages, but not more than 100 percent of the

75a

Appendix |

average weekly wage of the Commonwealth as defined in

§ 65.2-500 nor less than 25 percent of the average weekly

wage as defined therein:

1. To those persons presumed to be wholly

dependent upon the deceased employee as set

forth in subdivisions A 1, A 2, and A 3 of

§ 65.2-515, for a period of 500 weeks from the

date of injury; or

2. If there are no total dependents pursuant

to subdivision A 1, A 2, or A 3 of § 65.2-515, to

those persons presumed to be wholly dependent

as set forth in subdivision A 4 of § 65.2-515, and

to those determined to be Wholly dependent in

fact, for a period of 400 weeks from the date of

injury; or

3. If there are no total dependents, to partial

dependents in fact, fora period of 400 weeks from

the date of injury.

B. The employer shall also pay burial expenses not

exceeding $10,000 and reasonable transportation expenses

for the deceased not exceeding $1,000.

C. Benefits shall be divided equally among total

dependents, to the exclusion of partial dependents. If there

are no total dependents, benefits shal] be divided among

partial dependents according to the dependency of each upon

the earnings of the employee at the time of the injury, in the

Proportion that partial dependency bears to total dependency.

76a

Appendix I

D. Ifbenefits are terminated as to any member of a class

herein, that member’s share shall be divided among the

remaining members of the class proportionately according

to their dependency.

E. When weekly payments have been made to an injured

employee before his death, the compensation to dependents

shall begin from the date of the last of such payments but

shall not continue for a period longer than specified in

subsection A of this section.

§ 65.2-515. Persons conclusively presumed to be wholly

dependent.

A. The following persons shall be conclusively

presumed to be dependents wholly dependent for support

upon the deceased employee:

1. A wife upon a husband whom she had not

voluntarily deserted or abandoned at the time of

the accident or with whom she lived at the time

of his accident, if she is then actually dependent

upon him;

2. A husband upon a wife whom he had not

voluntarily deserted at the time of the accident or

with whom he lived at the time of her accident, if

he is then actually dependent upon her;

3. A cchild under the age of eighteen upon a

parent and a child over such age if physically or

mentally incapacitated from earning a livelihood

77a

Appendix I

or a child under the age of twenty-three if enrolled

as a full-time student in any accredited

educational institution; and

4. Parents in destitute circumstances,

provided there be no total dependents pursuant to

other provisions of this section.

B. As used in this section, the term “child” shall include

a stepchild, a legally adopted child, a posthumous child, and

an acknowledged illegitimate child, but shall not include a

married child; and the term “parent” shall include stepparents

and parents by adoption.

§ 65.2-516. Other cases of dependency.

In all other cases questions of dependency in whole or

in part shall be determined in accordance with the facts as

the facts are at the time of the accident; but no allowance

shall be made for any payment made in lieu of board and

lodging or services and no compensation shall be allowed

unless the dependency existed for a period of three months

or more prior to the accident.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.