Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Syracuse Exploration Co. v. Northbrook Property & Casualty Insurance

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

‘Supreme Court, U.&

(i) FILED

00 309 auc 23 2008

Ueokwn Ur ate GLERK

NO.

Iu the Supreme Court of the

United States

October Term 2000

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Petitioner

VS.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY AND CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

ANGINO & ROVNER, P.C.

RICHARD C. ANGINO

I.D. No. 07140

Attorneys for Petitioner

Syracuse Exploration Company

4503 North Front Street

Harrisburg, PA 17110

(717) 238-6791

Clare Printing, Box 100, Sayre, PA 18840—(570) 888-2244

os

Statement of Questions Presented for Review

STATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS

PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Is it reversible error for a trial judge to permit an

attorney expert to express legal opinions over opposing coun-

sel’s objections?

II. Does a party waive his right to object by failing to

except or object to the trial judge’s charge under the circum-

stances where the trial judge refused to hold a pre-charge

conference, failed to rule on submitted points for charge, and

failed to instruct the jury with respect to points for charge

submitted by counsel?

III. Is it reversible error for the trial court to sanction

counsel by precluding expert testimony because of the belated

filing of an expert report under circumstances where the

Circuit required “prejudice” and no “prejudice” was shown?

IV. Is it reversible error for a trial court to preclude

reference to an insurance carrier's cancellation/refusal to re-

new as a possible act of “bad faith” in an insurance “bad faith”

case?

V. Is it reversible, prejudicial error to grant partial sum-

mary judgment and a motion in limine removing from the

jury's consideration contractual issues and evidence of conse-

quential damages and/or lost profit based upon contract issues

when the complaint seeks both contractual and bad faith

damages and where the state law provides for different bur-

dens of proof with respect to contract and “bad faith” issues?

l

Corporate Disclosure Statement

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Petitioner discloses that there is no parent or publicly

held company owning 10% or more of the corporation's stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statement of the Questions Presented for Review... . .

Corporate Disclosure Statement...................

EE EE

Tanee OF Citetions...........+... RES Pe TO

ee ee

Statutory Provisions Involved .....................

eo ST TEETER Cee

I. It Is Reversible Legal Error For A Trial Judge

To Permit An Attorney Expert To Express

Legal Opinions Over Opposing Counsel's

eer Lee wa teas

II. A Party Does Not Waive His Right To Object

By Failing To Except Or Object To The Trial

Judge’s Charge Under The Circumstances

Where The Trial Judge Refused To Hold A

Pre-Charge Conference, Failed To Rule On

Submitted Points For Charge, And Failed To

Instruct The Jury With Respect To Points

For Charge Submitted By Counsel........ .

III. It Is Reversible Error For The Trial Court To

Sanction Counsel By Precluding Expert

Testimony Because Of The Belated Filing Of

An Expert Report Under Circumstances

Where The Circuit Required “Prejudice”

And No “Prejudice” Was Shown ...........

ill

11

12

15

IV. It Is Reversible Error For A Trial Court To

Preclude Reference To An Insurance

Carrier’s Cancellation/Refusal To Renew As

A Possible Act Of “Bad Faith” In An

Insurance “Bad Faith” Case............... 16

V. It Is Reversible, Prejudicial Error To Grant

Partial Summary Judgment And A Motion In

Limine Removing From The Jury's

Consideration Contractual Issues And

Evidence Of Consequential Damages

And/Or Lost Profit Based Upon Contract

Issues When The Complaint Seeks Both

Contractual And Bad Faith Damages And

Where The State Law Provides For Different

Burdens Of Proof With Respect To Contract

At Te Pe NN ks So oes 17

Comte ks sk a chee a Se ee eek 18

APPENDIX:

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit Sur Petition for Rehearing dated

Sling TD, TOO ss ckcac cue bean eben ceaabeeae es la

Panel Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit dated May 26, 2000........ 2a

Trial Court Memorandum Opinion for the Middle

District of Pennsylvania dated September 28,

SO ns ex eee wk WAR eS ee Oe eee ie l6a

Trial Court’s Order for the Middle District of

Pennsylvania dated June 3, 1999............... 26a

Trial Court’s Order for the Middle District of

Pennsylvania dated December 31, 1998......... 27a

Trial Court’s Order for the Middle District of

Pennsylvania dated April 29, 1998.............. 29a

iv

Relevant portion of trial transcript dealing with

testimony of lawyer/expert.................5.. 30a

Relevant portion of trial transcript dealing with the trial

court’s failure to hold a pre-charge conference

regarding plaintiff's points for charge and the trial

TERI ss os 5s:6s nds ae CreaseaWeokwenes 75a

TABLE OF CITATIONS

CASES:

A & E Supply Co. v. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co.,

612 F, Supp. 760 (W.D. Va. 1985)....... 12, 13, 14, 17

Adalman v. Baker, Watts & Co., 807 F.2d 359 (4th Cir.

SE SI ux eis hire ak eine Cand en keer ak 8

Askanase v. Fatjo, 130 F.3d 657 (Sth C Cir. (Tex.) 1997). . 8

Ballow v. PHICO Ins. Co., 875 P.2d 1354 (S.Ct.

CCID FSI x id Vw x 49 Ag Rae's tons 16

Bergman v. United Services Automobile Association,

742 A.2d 1101 (Pa. Super. 1999)............... 8.

Burkhart v. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit

Auth., 112 F.3d 1207 (D.C. Cir. 1997) .......... 8

Doylestown Electrical Supply Co. v. Maryland Cas.

Ins. Co., 942 F. Supp. 1018 (E.D. Pa. 1996)...... 10

Endress + Hauser, Inc. v. Hawk Measurement Systems

Pty. Ltd., 122 F.3d 1040 (C.A.Fed. (Ind.) 1997) .. 8

Harbor Ins. Co. and Allstate Ins. Co. v. Continental

Bank Corp., 922 F.2d 357 (7th Cir. (Ill.) 1990)... 8

Helfand v. National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh,

Pa., 10 Cal. App. 4th 869, 13 Cal. Rptr.2d 295

FR ct abe See Ce. eer iu eae ke i ok en 16

Hindman Transfer & Storage Inc. v. PMA Group, 31

D.& C. 4th 55 (G.P. Butler 1906) .............. 17

Jung v. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 949 F. Supp.

Eh RR ere eee ey oe 17

Marx & Co. v. Diners’ Club, Inc., 550 F.2d 505 (2d

SE cick onde wk eek ae eae ees 7

Meyers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership Assn.,

SSD F905 G6 Cee Cie: MOTT) ¢ ss sc sk co nko eae 9, 10, 16

Nealy v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 695 A.2d 790

(Pa. Sapna, BI) 6 cic cans hike hae aowewes dees 10

Nieves-Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera, 133 F.3d 92 (1st Cir.

Pusrto Fite Tee as cvs cacee vbb eo eaters ss 7

O’Donnell v. Allstate Ins. Co., 734 A.2d 901 (Pa.

Supee. TIGR) «ccs sins du csne ch cape aeeees wan 12

Ohio Cas. Ins. Co. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 667 F. Supp.

993 CWB. Pi Ss on hc i. Se 16

Parsaie v. United Olympic Life Ins. Co., 29 F.3d 219

(Sats Cie. CU TT o's hee ee ae 17

PepsiCo, Inc. v. Continental Cas. Co., 640 F. Supp.

O56 (5. TD.T.. Beets do onkka ne we 17

Polselli v. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 126 F.3d 524

(Se Ge: BG) ck ee cn eee Re 10

Specht v. Jensen, 853 F.2d 805 (10th Cir. (Colo.) 1988) .. 8

Spindle v. Travelers Ins. Co., 66 Cal. App. 3d 951, 136

Cal. Rote. G00 (IRIE) «snk citer wtais cin eee 16

Timmons v. Royal Globe Ins. Co., 653 P.2d 907 (Okla.

ROE 5.s ki oko ocean ee 17

U.S. v. Zipkin, 729 F .2d 384 (6th Cir. (Ohio) 1984)... . 8

United States v. Newman, 49 F.3d 1 (Ist Cir. 1995)... 7

Waldon v. Cotton States Mut. Ins. Co., 481 So.2d 340

(Ale: POG. is oc nd 0e 4583 xe ee ee 16

Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 105 S.Ct. 1938 (1985). . Y

STATUTES:

eas RE 6s Kiva oh is Nase wh eR ee hie LS LON 3

pe eR ERRNGR Ga SN Re ee en ee 4,5

Pennsylvania Automobile Insurance Cancellation Law:

40 P.S. §1008.1, et seq. (repealed); now 40 P.S.

oe re er eee ee eee 4,16

Pennsylvania Unfair Insurance Practices Act:

MMs oe 4,12, 16

RULES: ;

PU Ske cea, 85a casks <xan eres 9

Pee, DS oi ove 5 ks bas wean as 4,9

OTHER AUTHORITIES: aan

Se PO PUG. Date FCI 6 oss cee wicca de ekiadas tere 9

en Ra PP vv coe bi Aa cd es wee eas 9

vii

CU ee. Pe a ee em ee ee Oe ee? Oe ee ee ee

l

Petition

Petition

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Petitioner,

V.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY AND CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and the Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States

2

Reference to the Opinions Below

REFERENCE TO THE OPINIONS DELIVERED

IN THE COURTS BELOW

Reference is made to the June 20, 2000, Order of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit denying

the Sur Petition for Reheari: ; (App. la), the Panel Opinion

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

filed May 26, 2000 (App. 2a), affirming the \femorandum

Opinion of the United States District Court for the Middle

District of Pennsylvania dated September 28, 1999 (App. 16a).

Reference is further made to the Trial Court's Order of June

3, 1999, excluding evidence related to defendant's non-re-

newal of plaintiff's insurance policy (App. 26a), the Trial

Court's Order of December 31, 1998, sanctioning counsel by

excluding the use of an expert because of the belated filing of

an expert report (App. 27a), the Trial Court’s Opinion and

Order of April 29, 1998, first denying the Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment and then granting Partial Summary Judg-

ment on December 31, 1998 (App. 29a and 27a, respectively).

3

Statement of Jurisdiction

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit denying Syracuse Exploration Company's

Petition for Rehearing En Banc was entered on June 20, 2000.

Jurisdiction in this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

4

Statutory Provisions Involved

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This diversity “bad faith” case arises under the Pennsyl-

vania Bad Faith Statute, 42 Pa. C.S.A. §8371. Also relevant are

the Pennsylvania Automobile Insurance Cancellation Law, 40

~ PS. §1008.1, et seg. (repealed) now 40 P.S. 991.2001, et seq.;

The Pennsylvania Unfair Insurance Practices Act, 40 PS.

§1171.1; and Fed.R.Civ.P. 51 and 59(c).

5

Statement of the Case

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves Plaintiff Syracuse Exploration Com-

pany (“Syracuse”) which insured a specialty piece of equip-

ment, a “drill rig”, which was not easily replaced, important to

Syracuse's business, and particularly important in bidding on

contracts. Insurance on the drill rig was provided through

Respondent Northbrook Property and Casualty Insurance

Company.

The drill rig was damaged by fire on December 13, 1996.

A loss claim was filed within three days on December 17, 1996,

but despite numerous faxes, telephone calls, correspondence,

etc., Syracuse was unable to get Northbrook to make a decision

to repair or replace the damaged rig until March 26, 1997. The

decision to repair rather than replace was made solely to save

Northbrook a few dollars. In the meantime, Northbrook can-

celed or refused to renew Syracuse's insurance policy.

In June of 1997, Northbrook sought to deduct deprecia-

tion. The propriety of deducting depreciation and the insis-

tence upon a general release that would have released

Syracuse’s bad faith claim resulted in an additional delay until

September 3, 1997, when Syracuse finally received its repaired

rig.

Syracuse’s complaint alleged contractual damages, in-

cluding depreciation, deduction for partial loss, losses for

business interruption, loss of profits, and storage fees. Plaintiff

also claimed bad faith damages under 42 Pa. C.S.A. §8371.

Although Plaintiff's complaint sought both contractual

and bad faith damages and sought recovery based upon con-

tractual and bad faith legal principles, the trial court first

denied and then granted summary judgment as to the contrac-

tual claims. The trial court then sanctioned Syracuse's counsel's

6

Statement of the Case

belated filing of an expert report by precluding expert testi-

mony. On the eve of trial, the trial court granted Northbrook’s

motion in limine to preclude reference to Northbrook’s can-

cellation/non-renewal as a potential act of bad faith. During

the trial, the trial court, over Plaintiff's objections, permitted

Northbrook’s legal/scholar expert to express opinions as to

what is or is not bad faith.

Finally, at the end of the trial, the trial court refused to

hold a pre-charge conference, failed to rule on the parties’

points for charge, and failed to instruct the jury in accordance

with Syracuse's suggested points for charge.

7

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

Like products liability law in the 1960s, no-fault law in the

1970s and 1980s, motor vehicle financial responsibility law in

the 1980s, bad faith law is the developing law in the 1990s and

the beginning of the new millennium.

Since bad faith law involves an insured and an insurer,

and since the vast majority of insurance companies are citizens

of states other than the locus state, and since for a variety of

reasons insurance companies have been removing state-insti-

tuted actions to federal courts, bad faith law has been devel-

oping in the federal courts rather than the state system. Dis-

trict courts and the Third Circuit have had to predict on

numerous occasions what the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

would do with numerous issues that have not as yet been

addressed.

The instant case involves a variety of issues common to

bad faith actions, which either have not as yet been addressed

by Pennsylvania appellate courts or, if addressed, the district

court and the Third Circuit Panel in this case have decided the

issues differently from the state appellate courts and/or appel-

late courts from other states and Circuits.

In the instant case, a panel of the Third Circuit decided

the issue of the admissibility of lawyer/expert testimony con-

trary to eight Circuits (App. 10a). In the other eight Circuits,

lawyers cannot be called to testify as to the “law.” The trial

judge in the other eight Circuits is the only expert on the law

to whom the jury should receive instructions as to the “law.” —

Nieves-Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera, 133 F.3d 92 (1st Cir. Puerto

Rico 1997); United States v. Newman, 49 F.3d 1, 7 (1st Cir.

1995) (quoting Marx & Co. v. Diners’ Club, Inc. ,550 F. 2d 505,

512 (2d Cir. 1977); See cases particularly referenced in 133

8

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

F.3d 92, Burkhart v. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit

Auth., 112 F.3d 1207 (D.C. Cir. 1997). Also see, Harbor Ins.

Co. and Allstate Ins. Co. v. Continental Bank Corp., 922 F.2d

357 (7th Cir. (Ill.) 1990); Askanase v. Fatjo, 130 F.3d 657 (5th

Cir. (Tex.) 1997); Adalman v. Baker, Watts & Co., 807 F.2d 359

(4th Cir. (Md.) 1986); Specht v. Jensen, 853 F.2d 805 (10th Cir.

(Colo.) 1988); U.S. v. Zipkin, 729 F.2d 384 (6th Cir. (Ohio)

1984); Endress + Hauser, Inc. v. Hawk Measurement Systems

Pty. Ltd., 122 F.3d 1040 (C.A. Fed. (Ind.) 1997); Bergman v.

United Services Automobile Association, 742 A.2d 1101 (Pa.

Super. 1999).

In its Memorandum Opinion, the panel fails to reference

or distinguish the numerous cases from the eight other Cir-

cuits (App. 10a). See discussion at page 12 of this Petition.

The Third Circuit Panel decision affirming the trial

court's failure to hold a pre-charge conference, failing to rule

. on submitted points for charge prior to summation; and failing

to instruct the jury with respect to points for charge submitted

by Syracuse's counsel on the basis that Syracuse's counsel failed

to except or object at the end of the trial court's charge is clear

error requiring reversal.

Syracuse failed to bring any of these alleged errors

to the attention of the District Court. As a result, our

review is limited by the plain error standard. ‘(W]e will

reverse only if the trial court committed plain error that

was fundamentally and highly prejudicial. ...’ Alexander

v. Riga, _ F.3d ___, 2000 WL 295288°4 (3d Cir. 2000).

(App. 13a)

In effect, the Third Circuit Panel held that supplying

points for charge to a trial court and the court's refusal to give

the points supplied by counsel requires in addition that trial

covasel take an exception to the failure of the trial court to give

the points for charge supplied to him.

9

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

Fed.R.Civ.P. 51 requires the court to inform counsel of

_ its proposed actions upon the request for instructions prior to

the arguments to the jury. The requirement of Fed.R.Civ.P. 51

that the court inform counsel is mandatory. Fed.R.Civ.P. 51

regarding objections to jury instructions must be read in

conjunction with Fed.R.Civ.P. 46 which eliminates the neces-

sity for formal exception:

Section 77:228 Formal exceptions abolished; necessity of

objections

a failure to object to jury instructions may be disregarded

if the party's position has previously been made clear to

the court and it is plain that further objection would be

unavailing.

33 Fed. Proc., L.Ed §77:228 at p. 238.

Section 77:230 When objection is unnecessary.

Normally, the purpose of FRCP 46 can be ade-

quately served only by the making of an objection on the

record, but if the court and other litigants know what

action a party desires the court to take, the purpose of the

rule is served. In such circumstances, a formal objection

is not required, and the failure of the court to take the

desired action may be asserted as error on appeal.

33 Fed. Proc., L.Ed. §77:230 at 239. See discussion at page 13

of this Petition.

The trial court admitted that before excluding a witness

from testifying at trial, he must follow Meyers v. Pennypack

Woods Home Ownership Assn. , 559 F.2d 894, 904-905 (3d Cir.

1977), overruled on other grounds, Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S.

261, 105 S.Ct. 1938 (1985). He admitted that he did not follow

the mandates of the Third Circuit in Meyers. Nevertheless, a

panel of the Third Circuit affirmed holding:

10

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

On the facts of this case, we will not disturb the

District Court's ruling.

(App. 9a)

The panel also erroneously states “No one of the Meyers

factors is dispositive and we do not find that the Court's

application of those factors supports Syracuse's argument that

the sanctions imposed were based on a clear abuse of discre-

tion.” (App. 9a-10a) In effect, a panel of the Third Circuit has

overruled Meyers in a Memorandum Opinion. See, discussion

at pages 15-16 of this Petition.

The panel summarily dismissed in its Memorandum

Opinion a matter of first impression dealing with the admissi-

bility of an insurance carrier's cancellation/refusal to renew as

a potential act of bad faith (App. 12a). The trial court refused

to permit such evidence. Appellate courts in other states and

another district court in Pennsylvania have permitted such

evidence. The panel fails to reference or distinguish the nu-

merous cases cited by Plaintiff. See, discussion at page 17 of

this Petition.

A panel of the Third Circuit failed to consider that the

complaint in the instant case sought both contractual and bad

faith damages and/or sought recovery based upon contractual

and bad faith legal principles. The trial court ignored Plaintiff's

contractual claims, and a panel of the Third Circuit affirmed

the error.

The panel's decision is contrary to Nealy v. State Farm

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 695 A.2d 790, 792-793 (Pa. Super. 1997);

Doylestown Electrical Supply Co. v. Maryland Cas. Ins. Co.,

942 F. Supp. 1018, 1019, 1020 (E.D. Pa. 1996); and Polselli v.

Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 126 F.3d 524, 529 (3d Cir.

1997) which have all held that a bad faith claim is separate and

distinct from the underlying contractual claims from which

the dispute arises.

———— reer

1]

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

Bringing a combination bad faith/contract action requires

the consideration of separate legal principles, different bur-

dens of proof, different charges to the jury, and separate

consideration following post-trial motions (App. 6a).

Again, the panel fails to reference and/or distinguish the

numerous cases cited by Plaintiff and discussed at page 17 of

this Petition.

I. It Is Reversible Legal Error For A Trial Judge To

Permit An Attorney Expert To Express Legal

Opinions Over Opposing Counsel’s Objections

When Defendant's legal expert was called, Plaintiff's

counsel immediately objected:

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, I would like an offer of

proof with regard to this.

THE COURT: I think you know what he is going to

testify to.

MR. ANGINO: I am going to object to the legal

aspect of it, Your Honor.

(App. 31a)

Defense counsel qualified his legal expert, Mr. Windt, as

being the author of a two-volume set of insurance law, who

gives lectures to lawyers as to insurance law.

Q. Mr. Windt, I have seen your advertising brochure

and this book has been hailed as the Bible of insurance

law?

MR. ANGINO: I object, Your Honor.

oes

12

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

Q. I want to ask you the question do you know why

it is your book is so highly regarded?

A. It has gotten some good book reviews over the

years.

Q. Your book has been cited by hundreds of Courts;

is that right?

A. Around the country, yes.

(App. 36a)

Defendant's expert was presented to the jury as a lawyer

who is consulted by insurance companies and by other lawyers

and cited by courts because of his knowledge of the law of bad

faith. This is error in eight Circuits and should be error in the

Third Circuit.

II. A Party Does Not Waive His Right To Object By

Failing To Except Or Object To The Trial Judge’s

Charge Under The Circumstances Where The Trial

Judge Refused To Hold A Pre-Charge Conference,

Failed To Rule On Submitted Points For Charge, And

Failed To Instruct The Jury With Respect To Points

For Charge Submitted By Counsel

This issue was addressed in Plaintiff's discussion in the

first section of this Petition.

Last summer, the Pennsylvania Superior Court decided

O'Donnell v. Allstate Ins. Co., 734 A.2d 901 (Pa. Super. 1999).

The Superior Court addressed the issues of adequacy of jury

instructions and the relevance of Pennsylvania's Unfair Insur-

ance Practices Act (UIPA) and pertinent regulations in in-

structing jurors on “bad faith.” Also see, A & E Supply Co. v.

13

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 612 F. Supp. 760 (W.D. Va.

1985).

Plaintiff's Points for Charge submitted to the Court have

lines for the Court to acknowledge whether it affirms or denies

the point for charge or, as often occurs, the Court states that

the proposition will be covered in the Court's general charge.

In the thirty-five year experience of Plaintiff's counsel,

trial judges usually have pre-charge conferences to review

points for charge to determine which points for charge will be

given, which ones will be denied, and which ones will be

incorporated in the general charge. Sometimes the trial judges

merely advise counsel of their rulings by noting their decision

on the points submitted or by dictating their rulings on the

record before the commencement of summations. In either

event, counsel need not specifically object or take exceptions to

the Court's rulings.

Plaintiff's counsel in the instant case asked for a pre-

charge conference. The following colloquy took place:

MR. ANGINO: Sure. What is the time we are going

to start tomorrow, Your Honor?

THE COURT: Nine.

MR. ANGINO: Thank you. Do you want to start

with the jury charge conference tomorrow morning or

closing arguments?

THE COURT: I don’t plan to hold a charge confer-

ence. I don’t usually do that. The law is very clear here.

MR. ZELLE: That is fine. I would like to know when

if | have any objection to the jury charge—I don’t want

to do it in front of the jury obviously.

THE COURT: I think after I deliver my charge if

vou have any objections, you can come to sidebar, and we

will put them on the record.

| 14

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ '

MR. ZELLE: That is fine. Thank you.

THE COURT: I will correct anything that I mis-

quoted to the jury. But I have charged jurors on this exact

thing, and I think my charge is within the limits of the

law. (emphasis added)

(App. 76a)

The Trial Judge did not rule in advance on the parties’

Points for Charge, did not advise the attorneys as to how he

would charge, and did not make a record of his rulings prior

to the giving of their summations.

After the summations, the Trial Judge proceeded to give

his general charge which failed to include virtually all of the

specific points presented by the Plaintiff in the Plaintiff's Points

for Charge, particularly the points dealing with the Unfair

Insurance Practices Act, the regulations, and the various defi-

nitions of bad faith.

Compare the Trial Judge’s charge in the instant case with

the charge given in A & E Supply Co., Inc. v. Nationwide Mut.

Fire Ins. Co., supra, 612 F. Supp. at 777.

Defense counsel and the Trial Court eontend that Plain-

tiff did not preserve its objections to the Trial Court's failure

to give Plaintiff's Points for Charge because Plaintiff did not

object or file exceptions following the Court's charge.

As pointed out at the outsef, the panel of Your Court erred

in affirming the District Court's actions in this case.

15

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

III. It Is Reversible Error For The Trial Court To

Sanction Counsel By Precluding Expert Testimony

Because Of The Belated Filing Of An Expert Report

Under Circumstances Where The Circuit Required

“Prejudice” And No “Prejudice” Was Shown

The Trial Court admitted in its Memorandum Opinion:

Plaintiff correctly points out that before imposing

the sanction of striking proposed testimony by a witness

we must consider:

(1) the prejudice or surprise in fact of the party against

whom the excluded witnesses would have testified,

(2) the ability of that party to cure the prejudice,

(3) the extent to which waiver of the rule against calling

unlisted witnesses would disrupt the orderly and efficient

trial of the case or of other cases in the court, and

(4) bad faith or willfulness in failing to comply with the

court's order.

Meyers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership

Assn. , 559 F.2d 894, 904-905 (3d Cir. 1977), overruled on

other grounds, Goodman v. Lukens Steel, 777 F.2d 113

(3d Cir. 1985), aff'd, 482 U.S. 656, 107 S.Ct. 2617, 96

L.Ed. 2d 572 (1987); see also Elf Atochem N. Am., Inc. v.

United States, 882 F. Supp. 1497, 1498 (E.D. Pa. 1995).

Although we did not require Defendant to establish that

admitting the expert’s proposed testimony would cause

prejudice, nor whether such prejudice could be cured, we

did determine that Plaintiff's behavior was in disregard

of the rules of civil procedure and the case management

plan for this case. Furthermore, although Plaintiff char-

acterized the expert as a “rebuttal expert,” his report

16

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

contained an analysis of Defendant's handling of Plain-

tiffs insurance claim. There was no excuse for Plaintiff

awaiting the report by Defendant's expert before present-

ing its own witness. To allow the Plaintiff to introduce

opinion evidence which could have (and should have)

been produced initially would have affected the orderly

prosecution of the case. Following the Plaintiff's disregard

of the discovery deadline (through a request for produc-

tion of documents), we conclude that the sanction im-

posed was a valid exercise of our authority under

Fed. R.Civ.P. 27. Slip op. at 6. (emphasis supplied)

The trial court and a panel of the Third Circuit Court

nevertheless disregarded the four requirements of Meyers.

IV. It Is Reversible Error For A Trial Court To

Preclude Reference To An Insurance Carrier’s

Cancellation/Refusal To Renew As A Possible Act Of

“Bad Faith” In An Insurance “Bad Faith” Case

Pennsylvania prohibits “wrongful” cancellation or refusal

to renew, é.g., Pennsylvania Automobile Insurance Cancella-

tion Law, 40 P. S. $1008, et seq., and/or the Pennsylvania Unfair

Insurance Practices Act (UIPA), 40 P.S. §1171.1, et seg. See

Ohio Cas. Ins. Co. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 667 F. Supp. 222 (W.D.

Pa. 1987).

A “wrongful” cancellation or refusal to renew can consti-

tute “bad faith.” Spindle v. Travelers Ins. Co., 66 Cal. App. 3d

951, 136 Cal. Rptr. 404 (1977) is the seminal case in this area.

Also see, Ballow v. PHICO Ins. Co. , 875 P.2d 1354 (S.Ct. Colo.

1993); Waldon v. Cotton States Mut. Ins. Co., 481 So.2d 340

(Ala. 1985); Helfand v. National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pitts-

burgh, Pa., 10 Cal. App. 4th 869, 13 Cal. Rptr.2d 295 (1992);

17

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

PepsiCo, Inc. v. Continental Cas. Co., 640 F. Supp. 656

(S.D.N.Y. 1986); Timmons v. Royal Globe Ins. Co., 653 P.2d

907, 917 (Okla. 1982); Parsaie v. United Olympic Life Ins. Co.,

29 F.3d 219 (5th Cir. (Tex.) 1994); A & E Supply Co., Inc. v.

Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., supra, rev'd on other grounds,

798 F.2d 669 (4th Cir. 1986).

In Pennsyivania, see Jung v. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins.

Co., 949 F. Supp. 353 (E.D. Pa. 1997) where Judge Cahn held

that the act of rescission can constitute bad faith.

V. It Is Reversible, Prejudicial Error To Grant Partial

Summary Judgment And A Motion In Limine

Removing From The Jury’s Consideration Contractual

Issues Ar: idence Of Consequential Damages

And/Or Lost Profit Based Upon Contract Issues When

The Complaint Seeks Both Contractual And Bad

Faith Damages And Where The State Law Provides

For Different Burdens Of Proof With Respect To

Contract And “Bad Faith” Issues

Where a plaintiff's business is to provide drilling services

which often involve bidding for contracts and Plaintiff's CEO

and General Manager have testified that they lost contracts

and profits and provide documentary information pertaining

to the loss of contracts and profits, the issue of lost contracts

and profits should be an issue for the jury, e.g., Hindman

Transfer & Storage Inc. v. PMA Group, 31 D. & C. 4th 55 (C.P.

Butler 1996). Not so said the district court and a panel of the

Third Circuit.

18

Conclusion

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner's Petition for Writ

of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ANGINO & ROVNER, P.C.

RICHARD C. ANGINO

I.D. No. 07140

Attorneys for Petitioners

19

Proof of Service

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, Richard C. Angino, Esquire, hereby certify that I have

this 24th day of August, 2000, served three true and correct

copies of Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Third Circuit

Court of Appeals by sending same by United States first-class

mail, postage prepaid, to the following.

Robert E. Kelly, Jr., Esquire

Duane Morris & Heckscher LLP

305 North Front Street

P.O. Box 1003

Harrisburg, PA 17108-1003

(717) 237-5533

Anthony R. Zelle, Esquire

Robinson & Cole

1 Boston Place

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 557-5900

I further certify that all parties required to be served have ~

been served.

RICHARD C. ANGINO, ESQUIRE

I.D. No. 07140

4503 North Front Street

Harrisburg, PA 17110

(717) 238-6791

Counsel for Appellants

la

Appendix

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD-CIRCUIT

No. 99-3811

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION

VS.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: BECKER, Chief Judge,

SLOVITER, MANSMANN, GREENBERG, SCIRICA,

NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH, McKEE, RENDELL,

BARRY, FUENTES, Circuit Judges, and WARD,

District Judge. °

The petition for rehearing filed by appellant in the above

entitled case having been submitted to the judges who partici-

pated in the decision of this court and to all other available

circuit judges of the circuit in regular active service, and nc

judge who concurred in the decision having asked for rehear-

ing, and a majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular

active service not having voted for rehearing by the court in

banc, the petition for rehearing is denied.

BY THE COURT,

/s/Carol Los Mansmann

Circuit Judge

* Judge Ward voted only as to panel rehearing.

2a

Appendix

UNREPORTED—NOT PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 99-3811

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Appellant

v.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY & CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civ. No. 97-cv-01405)

District Judge: Honorable William W. Caldwell

Submitted Under Third Circuit LAR 34.1(a)

May 23, 2000

Before: SLOVITER and MANSMANN, Circuit Judges

and WARD, District Judge

(Filed: May 26, 2000)

MEMORANDUM OPINION OF THE COURT

* Honorable Robert J. Ward, of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York, sitting by desig-

nation.

| 3a

Appendix

MANSMANN, Circuit Judge.

Syracuse Exploration Corporation, the plaintiff in a diver-

sity action alleging bad faith on the part of its insurers under

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §8371, appeals from an order of the

District Court granting partial summary judgment in favor of

the insurer, Northbrook Property & Casualty Insurance Cor-

poration. Syracuse also appeals from an order of the District

Court denying Syracuse's motion for a new trial. Syracuse

raises multiple allegations of error with respect to the grant of

partial summary judgment, contending that the District Court

erred in: (1) concluding that Syracuse failed to produce evi-

dence in support of its bad faith claim based on Northbrook’s

depreciation and lost profits calculations; and (2) striking the

report of Syracuse's expert as untimely. Syracuse raises addi-

tional allegations of error with respect to the District Court's

denial of its motion for a new trial. Specifically, Syracuse

contends that the District Court erred in: (1) precluding the

introduction of evidence relating to Northbrook’s failure to

renew the insurance policy held by Syracuse; (2) permitting

Northbrook’s expert to express a legal opinion; (3) ruling that

Syracuse's owner could not be questioned regarding the finan-

cial status of the company; (4) failing to hold a pre-charge

conference and to deliver certain instructions requested by

Syracuse; (5) formulating inadequate responses to questions

posed by the jury during the course of deliberation; and (6)

tolerating alleged misconduct on the part of counsel for North-

brook. We are convinced that each of the allegations of error

lacks merit and will affirm the orders of the District Court.

1.

The parties are well familiar with the facts underlying this

appeal and have referred to those facts in detail in the course

of setting forth their respective positions. As a result, we refer

to the facts only to provide context for our conclusions of law.

4a

Appendix

In September 1997 Syracuse filed a diversity action in the

Middie District of Pennsylvania, alleging that Northbrook

acted in bad faith in violation of Pennsylvania law when it

processed an insurance claim for fire damage to a drilling rig

owned by Syracuse. Syracuse sought lost profits, compensa-

tory and punitive damages, and attorney's fees.

In January 1998 Northbrook filed a motion for partial

summary judgment with respect to that portion of Syracuse's

claim based on the deduction of depreciation from the amount

owed. This motion was denied, as was Northbrook’s motion

for reconsideration.

At the close of discovery in August 1998, Northbrook filed

a second motion for partial summary judgment on the depre-

ciation and lost profits elements of Syracuse’s bad faith claim.

Following oral argument, the Magistrate Judge concluded that

Syracuse failed to meet its burden of “point[ing] to some

evidence of an unreasonable calculation of depreciation and

of lost profits.” Syracuse Exploration Corp. v. Northbrook

Property & Casualty Ins. Co., Civ. No. 1:CV-97-14-5, report

and recommendation at 5 (M.D. Pa. October 22, 1998). Ac-

cordingly, the Magistrate Judge recommended that North-

brook’s motion for partial summary judgment be granted. In

an order dated December 31, 1998, the District Court

adopted the report and recommendation of the Magistrate

Judge, granting partial summary judgment in favor of North-

brook. In the same order the District Court granted North-

brook’s motion to strike a report prepared by Syracuse's expert

witness, finding that the report was untimely.

In May 1999 Northbrook filed motions in limine seeking

to exclude at trial evidence relating to Syracuse’s alleged lost

profits and financial status, Northbrook’s failure to renew its

insurance contract with Syracuse, and the method used by

Northbrook to calculate depreciation. In an order dated June

oa

Appendix

3, 1999, these motions were granted. Trial began on June 7,

1999, and concluded on June 8th with a jury verdict in favor

of Northbrook.

On June 11, 1999, Syracuse filed a motion for a new trial

alleging that the District Court erred in admitting and exclud-

ing certain items of evidence at trial, instructing the jury, and

tolerating prejudicial misconduct on the part of Northbrook’s

counsel. The motion was denied on September 28, 1999. A

timely appeal followed. We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §1291.

II.

We address first Syracuse’s appeal from the District Court

order granting partial summary judgment in favor of North-

brook. Syracuse challenges first those portions of the order

directing that judgment be entered in favor of Northbrook on

Syracuse's claim that Northbrook exhibited bad faith in calcu-

lating a depreciation deduction and on the claim for lost

profits.’

A.

The deduction for depreciation and calculation of lost

profits.

Pennsylvania law provides a statutory remedy for insur-

ers’ bad faith conduct. 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §8371 reads:

In an action arising under an insurance policy, if the court

finds that the insurer has acted in bad faith toward the

insured, a court may take all of the following actions:

(1) Award interest on the amount of the claim from the

! In a parallel argument, Syracuse contends that the District Court erred in

granting Northbrook’s motions in limine precluding the introduction at trial of

evidence relating to the method by which depreciation and lost profits were

calculated. Our finding that the District Court did not err in granting summary

judgment with respect to these claims is dispositive of Syracuse's challenge to the

District Court's grant of the motions in limine.

6a

Appendix

date the claim was made by the insured, in an amount

equal to the prime rate of interest plus 3%.

(2) Award punitive damages against the insurer.

(3) Assess court costs and attorney's fees against the

insurer.

Although the statute does not define the term “bad faith,” we

have found that: “in the insurance context the term ... has

acquired a peculiar and universally acknowledged meaning.”

Polselli v. Nationwide Mutual First Insurance Co., 23 F.3d 747,

751 (3d Cri. 1994). “ ‘Bad faith’” on [the] part of (an] insurer

is any frivolous or unfounded refusal to pay proceeds of a policy

.... [S]uch conduct imports a dishonest purpose and means a

breach of a known duty ... through some motive of self-interest

or ill-will; mere negligence or bad judgment is not bad faith.”

Id. Based on this definition, we concluded that reckless behav-

ior may constitute bad faith and clarified that a plaintiff bears

the burden of proving bad faith by clear and convincing

evidence. Id. at 750, 751.

In granting Northbrook’s motion for partial summary

judgment, the District Court adopted the report and recom-

mendation of the Magistrate Judge in which the Magistrate

Judge found, on the two relevant elements of its bad faith

claim, that Syracuse failed to meet its burden of proof:

Syracuse, who has the burden of proof, must point to

some evidence of an unreasonable calculation of depre-

ciation and of lost profits to avoid an entry of summary

judgment in favor of defendant Northbrook as to these

portions of (Syracuse’s} claim.

Report and Recommendation at 5. Addressing the calculation

of depreciation, the District Court noted that Syracuse con-

ced{ed] in its brief that Northbrook may have had a reasonable

- basis for its depreciation calculation.” Id. at 6. The District

7a

Appendix

Court then stated:

[A]fter the completion of discovery, Syracuse does not

even present a single argument that the depreciation

calculation of $4,288.16 as applied against a total claim of

$51,718.67 was unreasonable. In the absence of a color-

able argument of unreasonableness in the calculation,

evidence concerning the method of calculation of depre-

ciation would not be relevant and admissible at trial to

support an inference of a combination of factors that

added together comprise bad faith.

Id. at 7. at

The District Court’s conclusion with respect to that por-

tion of the bad faith claim based on lost profits was similar:

[Syracuse] again does not present any factual interpreta-

tion or theory supporting a claim of bad faith or unrea-

sonableness in connection with the handling of the lost

profits portion ... of the claim. ...

Id. at 9.

We have reviewed the record in this matter and are

convinced that the grant of partial summary judgment on the

depreciation and lost profits elements of the bad faith claim

was appropriate. We agree with the District Court that where

Syracuse failed to establish even an inference of bad faith in

calculating depreciation or lost profits, evidence relating to

those calculations was irrelevant to the overall claim of bad

faith.”

2 On appeal, Syracuse's sole argument regarding the grant of summary

judgment as to the calculation of ee is one never advanced in the District

Court. Syracuse contends that under Pennsylvania law depreciation may not be

deducted where there has been a partial loss that does not exceed the depreciated

value of the whole property. Assuming, arguendo, that this is a correct statement

of the law applicable to the facts of this case, Syracuse still has failed to meet its

burden of proof on the depreciation element of its claim. Syracuse was required to

8a

Appendix

B.

Sanctions imposed for untimely filing of expert's report.

Syracuse’s remaining challenge to the grant of partial

summary judgment in favor of Northbrook focuses on that

portion of the order striking the report of Syracuse’s expert as

untimely and directing that Syracuse reimburse Northbrook

for costs and attorney's fees associated with the motion to strike

the report.

A District Court's ruling excluding evidence because of

counsel's failure to adhere to a pretrial order will not be

disturbed on appeal absent a clear abuse of discretion. De-

Laval Turbine, Inc. v. West India Indus. Inc., 502 F.2d 259 (3d

Cir. 1974). In determining whether there has been an abuse

of discretion, we consider four factors: “(1) the prejudice or

surprise in fact to the party against whom the excluded witness

would have testified; (2) the ability of that party to cure the

prejudice; (3) the extent to which waiver of the rule against

calling unlisted witnesses would disrupt the orderly and effi-

cient trial of the case or of other cases in the court; and (4) bad

faith or wilfulness in failing to comply with the court's order.”

Meyers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership Assn., 559 F.2d

894, 904-05 (3d Cir. 1977).

The record in this matter establishes that the District

Court was aware of the Meyers factors and referenced them

in its decision to exclude the testimony of Northbrook’s expert:

show that Northbrook did not have a reasonable basis under the law for calculating

deprecation and that Northbrook “knew or recklessly disregarded its lack of

reasonable basis” in making that calculation. Terletsky v. Prudential Property and

Casualty Ins. Co., 437 Pa. Super. 108, 649 A.2d 680, 688 (1994). Syracuse does not

point to anything in the record that would support even an inference that North-

brook lacked a reasonable basis for its calculation. In fact, as we have noted,

Syracuse, in its brief filed in opposition to Northbrook’s motion for summary

judgment, clarified that Northbrook was not guilty of bad faith or reckless conduct

for asserting that it had a legal right to subtract depreciation.

9a

Appendix

Although we did not require [Northbrook] to establish

that admitting the expert's proposed testimony would

cause prejudice, nor whether such prejudice could be

cured, we did determine that [Syracuse's] behavior was

in disregard of the rule of civil procedure and the case

management plan for this case. ... There was no excuse

for Syracuse awaiting the report by Northbrook’s expert

before presenting its own witness. To allow [Syracuse] to

introduce opinion evidence which could have (and should

have) been produced initially would have affected the

orderly prosecution of the case. Following [Syracuse's]

disregard of the discovery deadline (through a request for

production of documents) we conclude that the sanction

imposed was a valid exercise of our authority under Fed.

R. Civ. P. 37.

Syracuse Exploration Co. v. Northbrook Prop. & Cas. Ins.,

Co., No. 1:CV-97-1405, memorandum at 5-6, (M.D. Pa. Sept.

28, 1999). We do not find reason in the record to disagree with

the District Court's finding that Syracuse was responsible for

the position in which it found itself with regard to its expert’s

report: The report was filed nearly four months after the date

established by the case management plan and “there was no

excuse” for this late filing. It is also clear that this late filing was

not Syracuse’s first infraction of the case management plan and

that consideration of the report at the time of its proffer would

have had a significant impact on “orderly prosecution of the

case.” In these circumstances, the District Court did not

require that Northbrook make a showing of prejudice. As the

District Court explained, the other Meyers factors so heavily

weighed in favor of striking the expert's report that the showing

of prejudice “was not required.” On the facts of this case, we

will not disturb the District Court’s ruling. No one of the

Meyers factors is dispositive and we do not find that the Court's

10a

Appendix

application of those factors supports Syracuse's argument that

the sanctions imposed were based on a clear abuse of discre-

tion.

III.

We address next Syracuse's contention that the District

Court erred in failing to grant its motion for a new trial. Our

decision in Bhaya v. Westinghouse Electric Corp., 922 F.2d

184 (3d Cir. 1990) establishes that when we review a District

Court's decision to grant or deny a motion for a new trial, we

must accord substantial deference to the decision of the Dis-

trict Court which “saw and heard the witnesses and has the

feel of the case which no appellate transcript can impart.” Id.

at 187 (quoting Cone v. West Virginia Pulp & Paper Co., 330

U.S. 212, 216 (1947). With this standard in mind, we turn to

the grounds supporting Syracuse's motion for a new trial. —

A.

Allegations of error related to evidential issues.

Three of the allegations of error made by Syracuse in

connection with the District Court’s denial of its motion for a

new trial relate to the admission or exclusion of evidence. Our

standard of review with respect to evidentiary issues is espe-

cially narrow. A finding that a new trial is required “may not

be predicated upon a ruling which admits or excludes evidence

unless a substantial right of the party is affected.” Glass v.

Philadelphia Elec. Co., 34 F.3d 188, 191 (3d Cir. 1994) (quot-

ing Linkstrom v. Golden T. Farms, 883 F.2d 269 (3d Cir.

1989)). Nonconstitutional evidentiary error in a civil suit war-

rants reversal only where it is highly probable that the error

affected the outcome of the case. Glass, 34 F.3d at 91.

Syracuse alleges that it was entitled to a new trial based

on the District Court's: (1) admission of the testimony of

Northbrook’s expert witness; and (2) exclusion of evidence

relating to Northbrook’s non-renewal of Syracuse's insurance

lla

Appendix

policy and testimony concerning Syracuse's financial status.

We address these allegations of evidentiary error seriatim,

considering first the testimony of Northbrook’s expert witness.

Syracuse contends that this expert, an attorney, was permitted

to testify, over objection, “to legal issues which are reserved

for the court.” Northbrook’s expert was called to testify in this

bad faith action based on his familiarity with acceptable claims-

handling standards and practices in the insurance industry. We

have reviewed the transcript of the expert testimony chal-

lenged by Northbrook and are convinced that the District

Court was careful to guard against allowing the expert to testify

to matters reserved to the Court. We agree with the substance

of Northbrook’s characterization of the expert testimony:

Noticeably absent from [the expert] testimony is any

discussion of (or even reference to) the Pennsylvania bad

faith statute, the legal standards governing the determi-

nation of liability under the statute, a definition of “bad

faith,” or any other matter exclusively within the province

of the district court. Indeed, on the one occasion when

questioning by Northbrook’s counsel arguably invited an

opinion regarding the law of bad faith, the district court

sustained the objection of Syracuse's counsel and appro-

priately limited the scope of Northbrook’s counsel's in-

quiry.

We do not find any abuse of discretion in the District Court's

admission of this evidence.

Our conclusion is similar with respect to the other evi-

dentiary rulings challenged by Syracuse in its motion for anew

trial. Syracuse contends that the District Court erred in ex-

cluding evidence of Northbrook’s failure to renew Syracuse's

insurance policy and in precluding Syracuse's owner from

testifying about the financial status of the company. We evalu-

ate exclusion of these items of evidence in the context of what

12a

Appendix

was at issue. As the District Court observed, “The only ques-

tion at trial was whether Syracuse proved by clear and convinc-

ing evidence that Northbrook's handling of Syracuse's claim

was done in bad faith.” Memorandum (September 28, 1999)

at 2.

| The District Court concluded first that the excluded

evidence relating to non-renewal of the insurance policy was

not relevant in determining whether Syracuse had operated in

bad faith. The court also concluded that Syracuse’s argument

that the non-renewal was itself evidence of bad faith was “not

supported by decisions interpreting the Pennsylvania bad faith

statute.” Id. at 4. We agree with both of these conclusions and,

accordingly, find that the District Court’s exclusion of evi-

dence relatin to non-renewal was consistent with the sound

exercise of judlicial discretion.

The District Court’s decision to exclude evidence bearing

on Syracuse’s financial status was also consistent with the

sound exercise of judicial discretion. We agree with the Dis-

trict Court’s analysis of the evidence:

[Syracuse] never offered to show that [Northbrook] knew

of [Syracuse's] financial status. Because an insured’s fi-

nancial condition, standing alone, cannot establish bad

faith on the part of the insurer, there was no error in

excluding this evidence.

Id. at 7.

B.

The charge to and questions from the jury

Syracuse next argues that it is entitled to a new trial based

on the District Court's: (1) decision not to hold a charge

conference; (2) failure to rule on the parties’ proposed jury

instructions prior to closing argument; (3) failure to deliver

certain instructions requested by Syracuse, particularly those

relating to the Unfair Insurance Practices Act; and (4) formu-

13a

Appendix

lation of answers to questions posed by the jury during the

course of deliberation.

Syracuse failed to bring any of these alleged errors to the

attention of the District Court. As a result, our review is limited

by the plain error standard. “[W]e will reverse only if the trial

court committed plain error that was fundamental and highly

prejudicial ....” deme v. Riga, __ F.3d __, 2000 WL

295288 °4 (3d Cir. 2000).

Applying this standard to the allegations of error raised

by Syracuse, we do not find any ground upon which to reverse.

A charging conference is not required by the governing rule,

Fed. R. Civ. P. 51. Syracuse did not object to the District

Court's failure to rule on the parties’ request for jury instruc-

tions and does not explain here how it was prejudiced by this

failure. This would, indeed, be a difficult argument to make

given that Syracuse failed to object to the instructions given at

any point prior to the jury’s retiring to deliberate, despite

having been invited by the court to do so.

Likewise, we do not find error, plain or otherwise, in the

District Court’s charge to the jury. We agree with Northbrook

that the instructions given fairly and adequately identified the

issues in the case. The District Court thoroughly explained its

decision not to instruct the jury regarding the Unfair Insurance

Practices Act (UIPA):

The UIPA is concerned with improper conduct that oc-

curs so frequently as to rise to the level of a “business

practice.” The bad faith statute, on the other hand, is

concerned only with an insurer's actions in a specific

case.... Instructing the jury on the UIPA might lead to

confusion. We believe the better approach is to permit

the instruction of evidence showing non-compliance with

the UIPA, as Syracuse did here, but to allow the jury to

decide whether this is evidence of bad faith as that term

l4a

Appendix

is defined in the law.

Memorandum (September 28, 199) at 11.

We have reviewed, too, the District Court's answers to

questions posed by the jury during the course of deliberation.

The record establishes that the District Court discussed its

proposed answers to these queries with counsel for both

parties and that Syracuse did not register any objection. We

find nothing in the District Court's communication with the

jury to suggest that Syracuse suffered any prejudice at all, let

alone the degree of prejudice necessary to support a finding

of plain error.

We are convinced that the allegations of error in the

District Court's admission and exclusion of evidence lack merit

and do not warrant the grant of a new trial.

C.

Alleged misconduct on the part of counsel for Northbrook

Syracuse contends that the District Court erred in deny-

ing its motion for a new trial where counsel for Northbrook

engaged in unprofessional conduct by instructing a witness not

to bring an allegedly relevant file to court. We have reviewed

the record as it relates to this claim and are convinced that the

District Court's refusal to grant a new trial based on the alleged

misconduct was consistent with the sound exercise of judicial

discretion. The District Court’s analysis of this issue was sound

and we adopt it here:

In its initial disclosures in December 1997, [ Northbrook]

informed [Syracuse] that [the witness] was involved in

handling [Syracuse's] claim. [Northbrook] also indicated

in its pretrial memorandum that [the witness] would

testify at trial. Because (the witness] is not an employee

of [Northbrook], his files were not in possession or control

of [Northbrook] and they were not produced in response

15a

Appendix

to a request for documents. However, [Syracuse] had

ample opportunity to subpoena the ... files. The failure to

do so cannot be blamed on [Northbrook] nor provide a

basis for a new trial... Furthermore, [Syracuse] has not

shown that the failure to produce [the] ... files was preju-

dicial.

Memorandum (September 28, 1999) at 9 (citations omitted).

IV.

Because Syracuse’s allegations of error with respect to the

grant of Northbrook’s motion for partial summary judgment

and the denial of Syracuse’s motion for a new trial lack merit,

we will affirm the orders of the District Court.

TO THE CLERK:

Please file the foregoing opinion.

/s/ Carol L. Mansmann

Circuit Judge

16a

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:CV-97-1405

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

VS.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY & CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

MEMORANDUM

I. Introduction

Plaintiff, Syracuse Exploration Company (“Syracuse”),

has filed a motion for new trial. This was a bad faith claim in

which the jury exonerated Defendant's (“Northbrook”) han-

dling of Plaintiff's insurance claim. See 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.

§ 8371 (West 1998). Plaintiff alleges that the court made errors

in ruling on motions in limine, admitting or excluding evidence

at trial, and in instructing the jury. As discussed below, we

conclude that these claims of error do not warrant the relief

sought.

In addition, Defendant has filed a motion to strike certain

post-trial affidavits submitted by the Plaintiff concerning sev-

eral occurrences during the trial. We well deny that motion

because those filings are authorized by Fed. R. Civ. P. 59.

II. Background

Syracuse was insured by Northbrook for damage to its

construction equipment. On September 16, 1997, S

commenced this action claiming that Northbrook acted in bad

faith in handling a claim involving damage to a drill rig.

Syracuse alleged that Northbrook unreasonably delayed pay-

ing its claim for damage to the rig; canceled the policy follow-

17a

Appendix

ing submission of the claim; took an improper deduction for

depreciation; and that the handling of the claim caused

Syracuse to sustain lost profits. The only question at trial was

whether Syracuse proved by clear and convincing evidence

that Northbrook’s handling of Syracuse's claim was done in bad

faith. The jury returned a verdict in favor of the Defendant on

June 9, 1999.

III. Standard of Review

A motion for a new trial under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59 may be

granted “if required to prevent injustice or to correct a verdict

that was against the weight of the evidence.” American Bearing

Co., Inc. v. Litton Indus., 729 F.2d 943, 948 (3d Cir. 1984);

Alexander v. Morning Pride Mfg., Inc., 913 F. Supp. 362, 372

(E.D. Pa. 1995). A new trial may be necessary where the

verdict is so contrary to the weight of the evidence that it

represents “a miscarriage of justice” or “cries out to be over-

turned or shocks our conscience.” Williamson v. Consolidated

Rail Corp., 926 F.2d 1344, 1353 (3d Cir. 1991); De"li Santi v.

CNA Ins. Co., 88 F.3d 192, 201 (3d Cir. 1996) “Injustice”

requiring a new trial may include the improper exclusion of

evidence, or a jury instruction that misstates the law, so long

as the error “appears to the court inconsistent with substantial

justice. Fed. R. Civ. P. 61; Bailey v. Atlas Powder Co., 602 F.2d

585, 588 (3d Cir. 1979)

IV. Discussion

A. Evidentiary Rulings Before Trial

Prior to trial Defendant submitted several motions in

limine, all of which were granted. Two of these motions

stemmed from a partial summary judgment that was granted

to the Defendant. The court determined that Plaintiff had

failed to produce evidence, first, that the depreciation calcu-

lation used by Defendant was unreasonable or was reached in

bad faith and, second, that Plaintiff had sustained lost profits

18a

Appendix

due to Defendant's handling of its claim. Accordingly, we

granted Defendant's motion in limine to exclude evidence as

to lost profits or the method it used to determine depreciation.

Plaintiff argues that the jury should have been permitted

to consider evidence of lost profits and Defendant’s handling

of the depreciation item. However, because Plaintiff failed to

produce evidence, in response to Defendant's summary judg-

ment motion of any losses it sustained, or that Defendant's

calculation of depreciation was done in bad faith, Plaintiff

forfeited these claims. Inasmuch as these allegations could no

longer serve as a basis for Plaintiff's bad faith claim, we find no

error in excluding this evidence at trial.

In response to a third motion in limine by Defendant, we

excluded evidence of Defendant's decision not to renew Plain-

tiff’s insurance policy based on Plaintiff's loss history. Renewal

of the policy was not relevant to the issue of the Defendant's

handling of Plaintiff's claim. Plaintiff now argues that the

nonrenewal was itself evidence of bad faith.

Plaintiff's argument is not supported by decisions inter-

preting the Pennsylvania bad faith statute. See Perschau v. USF

Ins. Co., i999 WL 162969, at °4 n.6 (E.D. Pa. Mar. 22, 1999)

(sending notice of non-renewal to insured not evidence of bad

faith); Belmont Holdings Corp. v. Unicare Life & Health Ins.

Co., 1999 WL 124389, at °3 (E.D. Pa. Feb. 5, 1999) (holding

that bad faith statute applies to handling of insurance claims

and not to contract disputes, including threats not to renew

policy); Kurtz v. American Motorists Ins. Co., 1997 WL

117008, at °2-3 (E.D. Pa. Mar. 12, 1997) (reviewing case law

and holding that bad faith statute does not apply to non-re-

newal of automobile policy); see also U.S. Metal & Coin Jew-

elry, Inc. v. Jewelers Mut. Ins. Co., 1996 WL 494149 (E.D. Pa.

Aug. 26, 1996) (allowing claim of bad faith based on the

non-renewal of a policy, but finding none where decision was

19a

Appendix

legitimately based on insured’s loss history). The cases cited by

Plaintiff are not persuasive because they do not relate to the

Pennsylvania bad faith statute or to non-renewal of insurance

based on loss history. Accordingly, we conclude there was no

error, and certainly no prejudice, in excluding this evidence.

A final pre-trial ruling challenged by the Plaintiff is our

order of December 31, 1998, sanctioning Plaintiff for submit-

ting an expert report three and one-half months after the

deadline for submitting such reports. We ordered that the

expert's report be stricken from the record. Plaintiff correctly

points out that before imposing the sanction of striking pro-

posed testimony by a witness we must consider:

(1) the prejudice or surprise in fact of the party against

whom the excluded witnesses would have testified,

(2) the ability of that party to cure the prejudice,

(3) the extent to which waiver of the rule against calling

unlisted witnesses would disrupt the orderly and efficient

trial of the case or of other cases in the court, and

(4) bad faith or willfulness in failing to comply with the

court’s order.

Meyers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership Assn., 559 F.2d

894, 904-05 (3d Cir. 1977), overruled on other grounds, Good-

man v. Lukens Steel, 777 F.2d 113 (3d Cir. 1985), aff'd, 482 U.

S. 656, 107 S.Ct. 2617, 96 L. Ed. 2d 572 (1987); see also Elf

Atochem N. Am., Inc. v. United States, 882 F. Supp. 1497, 1498

(E.D. Pa. 1995). Although we did not require Defendant to

establish that admitting the expert’s proposed testimony would

cause prejudice, nor whether such prejudice could be cured,

we did determine that Plaintiff's behavior was in disregard of

the rules of civil procedure and the case management plan for

this case. Furthermore, although Plaintiff characterized the

expert as a “rebuttal expert,” his report contained an analysis

20a

Appendix

of Defendant's handling of Plaintiff's insurance claim. There

was no excuse for Plaintiff awaiting the report by Defendant's

expert before presenting its own witness. To allow the Plaintiff

to introduce opinion evidence which could have (and should

have) been produced initially would have affected the orderly

prosecution of the case. Following the Plaintiff's disregard of

the discovery deadline (through a request for production of

documents), we conclude that the sanction imposed was a valid

exercise of our authority under Fed. R. Civ. P. 37.

B. Evidentiary Rulings During Trial

When the president of Syracuse began to testify about the

company’s debts we sustained Defendant’s objection that this

testimony was not relevant to the bad faith issue. In arguing

that this testimony was admissible to establish bad faith, Plain-

tiff cites two cases where the insurer's knowledge of its in-

sured’s difficult financial condition may have been a factor in

proving bad faith. See Polselli v. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co.,

1995 WL 430571 (E.D. Pa. July 20, 1995) (holding that insurer

acted in bad faith in delaying payment of living expenses when

insurer knew that wee had no place to live after fire

destroyed home); South Park Aggregates v. Northwestern

Nat'l Ins. Co. of Milwaukee, 847 P.2d 218, 225 (Colo. App.

1992) (holding that insurer’s awareness of financial conse-

quences to insured in denying claim was evidence of bad faith).

However, Plaintiff never offered to show that Defendant knew

of the Plaintiff's financial status. Because an insured’s financial

: condition, standing alone cannot establish bad faith on the part

of the insurer, there was no error in excluding this evidence.

| Plaintiff contends that admitting testimony by the Defen-

| dant’s expert, a lawyer who handles insurance a was error

) because the testimony included an opinion concerning the

—_ for the jury, i.e., whether Defendant acted in bad

aith. We find no error. First, Federal Rule of Evidence 704

permits testimony as to the ultimate issue. Second, the expert

PAP ITIL?

2la

Appendix

testified primarily about the facts of the case and whether

particular actions were acceptable practice within the insur-

ance industry. Defendant's expert did not testify regarding

decisions or interpretations of the law as did the attorne

expert in Nieves-Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera, 133 F.3d 92 (1st

Cir. 1997), on which the Plaintiff relies. On those few occa-

sions where the expert’s testimony appeared to veer in the

direction of offering a legal opinion, the court sustained Plain-

tiffs objections. For example, the expert was not permitted to

testify as to the difference between bad faith and a mistake.

(Tr. at 412.) Accordingly, we believe the expert's testimony

was properly admitted.

During trial, Defendant called as a witness an inde-

pendent appraiser, Charles Stanford, who adjusted the claim

on its behalf. Stanford testified from memory about his han-

dling of the Plaintiff's claim, and on cross-examination Plain-

tiffs counsel asked to see Stanford’s files. Stanford stated that

he did not have them because counsel for the Defendant told

him it was not necessary to bring them to court. (See Stanford

Aff. 5; Zelle Aff. 8.)! Plaintiff contends that defense counsel

violated Rule 3.4 of the Rules of Professional Conduct? and

that this behavior is grounds for granting a new trial.

This argument lacks merit. In its initial disclosures in

December 1997, the Defendant informed Plaintiff that Stan-

! The court allowed Defendant additional time to submit affidavits in

response to Plaintiff's arguments concerning Stanford's testimony. Plaintiff argues

that we lacked the authority to grant an extension. Contrary to Plaintiff's position,

the court did have discretion under Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(b) to extend Defendant's time

for filing affidavits under Fed. R. Civ. P. 5c). Although Rule 6(b) lists specific rules

for which the time periods may not be extended, Rule 59(c) does not appear in this

list.

2 Rule 3.4(a) provides that “[a] lawyer shall not:

(a) unlawfully obstruct another party's access to evidence or unlawfully alter,

destroy or conceal a document or other material having potential evidentiary

value or assist another person to do any such act.

Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct Rule 3.4(a).

22a

Appendix

ford was involved in handling the Plaintiff's claim. (Zelle Aff.

q3.) Defendant also indicated in its pre-trial memorandum

that Stanford would testify at trial. Because Stanford is not an

employee of the Defendant, his files were not in the possession

or control of Defendant and they were not produced in re-

sponse-to a request for documents. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 34.

However, Plaintiff had ample opportunity to subpoena Stan-

ford’s files. The failure to do so cannot be blamed on the

Defendant nor provide a basis for a new trial. See Buchholz v.

Rockwell Int'l Corp., 120 F.3d 146 (8th Cir. 1997) (denying

motion for new trial for failure to produce documents where

opposing party was aware of their existence one year before

trial). Furthermore, Plaintiff has not shown that the failure to

produce Stanford's files was prejudicial.

C. Jury Charge

Plaintiff maintains that a new trial should be granted

because the court did not hold a charge conference and

because certain instructions he proposed were not given to the

jury. A jury charge conference is not required by the federal

rules of civil procedure. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 51. Furthermore,

a new trial will not be granted due to an incorrect jury instruc-

tion, “unless the moving party brought the erroneous instruc-

tion to the court's attention at trial.” Younis Bros. & Co. v.

CIGNA Worldwide Ins. Co., 899 F.Supp. 1385, 1398 (E.D. Pa.

1995), aff'd, 91 F.3d 13 (3d Cir. 1996) (citing Fed. R. Civ. P.

51). This can be accomplished either by seeking a ruling on

the proposed instruction or by objectiag after the jury is

charged. Smith v. Borough of Wilkinsburg, 147 F.3d 272,

275-77 (3d Cir. 1998) In Saas case, the party must clearly

state what portion of the charge is objected to and why it is

objectionable. Id at 277; Fed. R. Civ. P. 51. Despite being

provided with an opportunity to object, Plaintiff did not do so,

and thus failed to preserve this issue as a basis for obtaining a

new trial.

23a

Appendix

Although we need not consider Plaintiffs arguments

regarding the jury instructions, we will nonetheless explain our

decision not to include Plaintiff's proposed charges concerning

the Unfair Insurance Practices Act (“UIPA”). See Pa. Stat.

Ann. tit. 40, §§1171.1-.15 (West 1997 & Supp. 1999). Plaintiff's

proposed Points for Charge Numbers 5 and 6 licted specific

provisions of the UIPA and the companion regulations. Plain-

tiffs suggested charge would. allow a jury to conclude that

committing any act prohibited by the UIPA establishes bad

faith on the part of the insurer. We do recognize that estab-

lishing that an insurer committed acts mentioned in the UIPA

may provide support for a bad faith claim. See Romano v.

Nationwide Ins. Co., 435 Pa. Super. 545, 554, 646 A.2d 1228,

1233 (1994). Indeed, Plaintiff did introduce evidence that

Defendant may not have complied with certain regulations,

for example, in the timeliness of its response to Plaintiff's initial

claim. We believe, however, that instructing a jury on these

regulations is inappropriate. The UIPA is concemed with

improper conduct that occurs so frequently as to rise to the

level of a “business practice.” Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 40, §1171.5.

The bad faith statute, on the other hand, is concerned only

with an insurer's actions in a specific case. See Hyde Athletic

Indus. v. Continental Cas. Co., 969 F. Supp. 289, 307 (E.D.

Pa. 1997) (observing that “[w]hat constitutes a reasonable set

of business practices for the investigation and evaluation of

claims is a question properly left to the Pennsylvania Insurance

Commissioner, not a judge or a jury”). Instructing the jury on

the UIPA might lead to confusion. We believe the better

approach is to permit the introduction of evidence showing

non-compliance with the UIPA, as the Plaintiff did here, but

to allow the jury to decide whether this is evidence of bad faith

as that term is defined in the law.

Plaintiff's remaining two grounds center on questions

asked by the jury during the course of deliberations. We

24a

Appendix

nded to those questions as we thought appropriate. The

Plaintiff did not note any objections to the statements made to

the jury and thus failed to preserve these matters for review.

We will issue an appropriate order denying Plaintiff's

motion for a new trial.

/s/William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

Date: September 28, 1999

25a

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:CV-97-1405

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

; VS.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY & CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

ORDER

AND NOW, this 28th day of September, 1999, upon

consideration of Plaintiff's motion for a new trial, filed June

11, 1999 (Doc. No. 113), and Defendant's motion to strike

post-trial affidavits, filed June 22, 1999 (Doc. No. 117), it is

ordered that the motions are denied.

/s/William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

26a

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:CV-97-1405

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

VS.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY & CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

ORDER

AND NOW, this 3rd day of June, 1999, upon considera-

tion of four motions in limine filed by defendant, and plaintiff's

responses thereto, it is ordered as follows:

1) Defendant's motion to exclude evidence relating

to defendant's non-renewal of plaintiff's insurance policy

is granted.

2) Defendant's motion to exclude evidence relating

to defendant's method of calculating a depreciation de-

duction is granted. A ruling on whether plaintiff may refer

in its case to the fact that a depreciation deduction was

taken by defendant is deferred to trial.

3) Defendant’s motion to exclude evidence relating

to defendant's handling of lost profits is granted.

4) Defendant's motion in limine to exclude evidence

as to defendant's financial status is granted. In the event

of an award of punitive damages, such evidence will then

be admissible.

/s/William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

27a

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:CV-97-1405

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

VS.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY & CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

ORDER

THE BACKGROUND OF THIS ORDER IS AS FOLLOWS:

Pending at his point are objections filed by plaintiff to a

report and recommendation authored by the Magistrate Judge

J. Andrew Smyser, and filed on October 22, 1998. Also pending

is defendant's motion to strike and for sanctions, filed Novem-

ber 9, 1998.

The Magistrate Judge's report recommends that we grant

defendant's motion for partial summary judgment on plaintiff's

bad faith claims, as follows:

1) that defendant was guilty of bad faith in handling the

depreciation aspect of plaintiff's drilling insurance claims,

and

2) that defendant was guilty of bad faith in handling the

lost profit element of plaintiff's insurance claim.

We have carefully reviewed the report and recommenda-

tion of Judge Smyser, the plaintiff's objections thereto, and the

respective briefs of the litigants. We adopt the report of Judge

Smyser as our own memorandum, as it succinctly and clearly

analyzes the merit of plaintiff's bad faith claims. As noted by

Judge Smyser, the plaintiff failed to submit evidence to sup-

28a

Appendix

port its bad faith claim and avoid partial summary judgment.

We will adopt the report, dismiss plaintiff's objections, and

grant partial summary judgment to the defendant.

The defendant's motion to strike will also be granted and

an appropriate sanction will be levied.

The motion to strike involves an expert report filed by

plaintiff over three and one-half months after the deadline for

filing expert reports. Plaintiff argues that this report is from a

“rebuttal” expert, and was necessitated by defendant's motion

for partial summary judgment. We consider this a somewhat

disingenuous argument since the expert report is one which

should have been prepared and produced initially in support

of plaintiff's theory of defendant's liability for bad faith.

It is ordered as follows:

1) The report and recommendation of Magistrate

Judge Smyser, filed October 22, 1998, is adopted.

2) The Clerk of Court is directed to enter a judgment

in favor of defendant on plaintiff's claim of defendant's

bad faith in handling a depreciation deduction and a lost

profit claim in connection with plaintiff's insurance claim.

3) The report of Emil F. Toften and Associates, dated

October 16, 1998, is stricken from the record.

4) Plaintiff shall pay defendant the reasonable cost

incurred by defendant in moving to strike the Toften

report.

5) This case is placed on the June, 1999, trial term,

scheduling order to follow.

/s/William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

Date: December 31, 1998

a

29a

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA >

CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:CV-97-1405

SYRACUSE EXPLORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

vs.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY & CASUALTY

_ INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

ORDER

AND NOW. this 29th day of April, 1998, upon considera-

tion of the Report of the United States Magistrate Judge, dated

April 8, 1998, to which no exceptions have been filed, and upon

independent review of the record and the controlling law, it is

ordered that the Magistrate Judge’s Report is adopted. It is

further ordered, pursuant to the Magistrate Judge’s recom-

mendation, that: _

1. Defendant's motion for partial summary judg-

ment, filed January 30, 1998 (Doc. No. 14), is denied.

2. Defendant's motion for the return of funds, filed

January 30 (Doc. No. 13), is denied.

3. This matter is remanded to the Magistrate Judge

for further proceedings.

/s/William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

30a

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

| 97-CV-1405

SYRACUSE EXPORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

V.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY AND CASUALTY

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

VOLUME 2

BEFORE: HON. WILLIAM W. CALDWELL, Judge

DATES: June 8 and 9, 1999

PLACE: Courtroom Number Three

Federal Building

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

COUNSEL PRESENT:

RICHARD C. ANGINO, Esquire

For—Plaintiff

ANTHONY ROBERT ZELLE, Esquire

For—Defendant

Vicki L. Fox, RMR

Official Reporter

gla

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 395

Mr. Allan Windt.

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, I would like an offer of proof

with regard to this.

THE COURT: I think you know what he is going to testify

to.

MR. ANGINO: I am going to object to the legal aspect

of it, Your Honor. |

MR. WINDT: Good afternoon, Your Honor.

ALLAN WINDT, called as a witness, being duly sworn,

testified as follows:

THE CLERK: Would you state for the record your full

name, please?

A Allan Windt.

THE CLERK: Thank you very much.

DIRECT EXAMINATION AS TO QUALIFICATIONS

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q Mr. Windt, where do you live?

A The western suburbs of Philadelphia.

Q Will you tell the jury what you do for a living?

A I handle insurance claims for a living, primarily for

insurance companies, also for some insureds.

Q Try to keep your voice up. How many insurance com-

panies have you worked for over the past ten years?

32a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 396

A Probably more than 70.

Q How long have you been doing what you are doing?

A About 23 years.

Q In your work for insurance companies, describe for the

jury what it is you do.

A Well, if a claim is particularly complicated, kind of out

of the ordinary, an insured or an insurance company might

- come to me to help them figure out what to do, what is the

correct result, is money owed, how should a claim be handled.

It is really the best way I can summarize it.

Q Do you limit your practice to Philadelphia or—I am

sorry—to the Pennsylvania area?

ANo.

Q In what area do you provide services?

A I have done this in really every state. I can’t remember.

Maybe North Dakota, I don’t remember. But I have done

Hawaii, Alaska, pretty much everywhere.

Q If there is—

A Outside of the country, too.

Q If there is a dispute in Alaska about insurance, why

would someone come to you in the outskirts of Philadelphia?

A It is an unusual expertise. There really aren’t that many

people that do what I do, that just limit their work to the type

of thing that I do.

Q How did you develop this expertise?

33a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 397

A One learns by doing. I think it is the best way. It took

a lot of work, also. I mean I devote a lot of time to developing

the expertise pretty much on a weekly basis for the last 23

years.

I mean in addition to my work, I spend at least on average

a portion of every week just continuing to develop my exper-

tise.

Q What do you do on a weekly basis to continue to

develop your expertise?

A Well, I read every insurance case that is reported that

comes out nationwide in all 50 states.

Q When you say reported case, can you tell the jury what

you mean?

A After this case is over, whoever loses will likely file an

appeal. It doesn’t always happen, but more likely than not, to

a Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals will issue a decision.

In fact, this Court might issue a decision that is significant

enough that it gets reported in a way that people like me can

read it and find out how policies have been interpreted, how

duties have been interpreted. So that the next claim I handle,

I have increased my expertise because I know more about what

the industry does, what Courts find acceptable, how Courts or

other people have interpreted policy provisions.

34a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 398

It is actually a lot more complicated than it sounds. Also

probably a lot more boring than it sounds. But that is basically

what I do.

Q Can you tell this jury examples of some cases they may

have heard of that you have been involved with?

A Well, when Paula Jones sued Bill Clinton and Bill

Clinton made a claim under his insurance policy for benefits,

he had a home owner’s policy when he lived Arkansas, that’s

where the alleged wrongdoing took place, because it was kind

of an offbeat case and high visibility, the insurance company

came to me and said what should we do, how should we handle

this claim. So that is an example of a case that I am sure people

will be familiar with.

Q Can you give another example?

A The movie and the book “A Civil Action,” which some

of you may be familiar with, years ago when the litigation was

ongoing and the defendants went to their insurance company

for coverage, the insurance company came to me and said this °

is a pretty complex, fairly big dollar case. What benefits do we

owe? How should we handle this claim? What should we do?

I would handle that claim—or did handle that claim.

Q Do you ever work for insurance companies in putting

together and writing the insurance policy?

A Yes, occasionally.

Q Do you do any lecturing or present any educational

35a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications © 399

seminars for people who are trying to learn about handling

insurance claims?

A Yes.

Q How often do you do that?

A On average, twice a year. Maybe a little more.

Q Who do you do that for typically?

A Sometimes it will be to groups of lawyers. Like one

time, I went to Texas and traveled teach at the major cities to

lecture to the lawyers in Texas that specialize in insurance,

lawyers that might be trying a case like this.

Another example would be insurance companies may be

having meetings where they may be having representatives

come in from all 50 states, representatives of branch offices.

And they would ask me to come and lecture and speak to this

gathering about how they should handle claims, what they

should and shouldn't do, that sort of thing.

Q Has the product of your work ever been published, Mr.

Windt?

A Yes.

Q Am I holding up the two volume set of your work?

A Yes.

Q Can you tell the jury what this is?

A It is my life’s work. What can I say?

Q Can you describe what the books are about?

A They were about handling insurance claims, good

36a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 400

faith/bad faith, how to handle claims, what policies certain

policy provisions mean. Just to provide help to lawyers, Courts.

Not so much insureds because it is really not written for

someone who doesn’t have an existing knowledge in the area.

Q Mr. Windt, I have seen your advertising brochure and

this book has been hailed as the Bible of insurance law?

MR. ANGINO: I object, Your Honor.

THE COURT: That is a little testimony there, isn’t it?

MR. ANGINO: That doesn’t sound like a question to me.

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q I want to ask you the question do you know why it is

your book is so highly regarded?

A It has gotten some good book reviews over the years.

Q Your book has been cited by hundreds of Courts; is that

right?

A Around the country, yes.

Q What does cited mean?

A Well, as I was saying before, sometimes a Judge or a

Court of Appeals may issue—write an opinion saying here is

who we think should win this case, here is what we think the

policy means, and here is why. And they say in support of

their conclusion we are reaching, see Windt on insurance,

37a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 401

page 423, which then they may quote me or whatever discusses

the issue.

Q Do you receive a lot of calls from people asking you to

work for them in cases as an expert witness?

A Yes.

Q How often?

A Well, I mean it can be a week goes by when I don’t get

any calls and a week where I get eight calls. I would say on

average in the last couple of years, three times a week, some-

thing like that.

Q Just doing the multiplication, that is 150 times a year.

Of those 150 calls, how many cases would you actually take?

How many clients would you actually accept?

A Again, this is just the expert work, which again is kind

of like a sideline for me. I take in an average year maybe ten,

one in ten, one in fifteen, something like that.

Q You have been retained by Northbrook in this case; is

that right?

A Yes.

Q And Northbrook is paying you; is that right?

A Yes. |

Q How much are you charging Northbrook?

A I charge $300.00 an hour for my time.

Q Focusing in now on this case, what did you do in

preparation for testifying here today?

38a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 402

A I read the file. I read some of the papers that were filed

by the Court, by you and Mr. Angino. Am I saying it right,

Angino?

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, am I going to be permitted

to ask some questions before he gets to the substance?

MR. ZELLE: I am not finished laying the foundation.

THE COURT: The qualifications?

A And some depositions, transcripts.

THE COURT: Just a second.

A I am sorry, Your Honor.

MR. ZELLE: Your Honor, let me—

THE COURT: It sounded like you had finished.

MR. ZELLE: You are right.

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q In connection with bad faith claims, can you describe

for the jury the expertise you have in that area?

A Well, I am involved—I have been in involved in hun-

dreds of bad faith claims over the years. Frequently what will

happen in my practice is that an insurance company might

send me a file after they have handled it themselves for a

while and they think maybe they have done it wrong and

maybe they have a bad faith problem, they send me a file. And

I will analyze it and tell them whether they are guilty of bad

39a

Appendix

Windt—Direct as to Qualifications 403

faith or not. That is one way I get involved.

Another way I get involved is lots of law firms around the

country will call me with what they think are good bad faith

claims. And I will give them my analysis of it.

If they really have a good bad faith claim as a plaintiff,

sometimes I am willing to testify as an expert against the

insurance company.

Q Are you familiar with insurance industry standards for

handling insurance, specifically property insurance claims, and

particularly the timeliness with which those types of claims

should be handled?

A Yes. That is what I do for a living. The expert work is

maybe ten percent of my time. What I do for a living is I handle

claims.

Q And you are familiar with the industry standards for

handling claims for adjusting damage to physical property; are

you not?

A Yes.

Q And you are familiar more generally with claims han-

dling practices and their compliance with the rules of good

faith; is that right?

A Yes.

Q And you, in fact, are often retained by insurance

companies to insure that they comply with regulations apply-

ing to good faith; isn’t that right?

40a

Appendix

Windt—Cross as to Qualifications 404

A I wouldn’t phrase it quite that way.

Q How would you phrase it?

A Sometimes insurance companies will ask me to handle

a claim for them. I mean I don’t think the motivation is so they

don’t act in bad faith, just to help handle the claims appropri-

ately. |

Q And that is based on your familiarity with good faith

claim handling practices?

A I guess yes. I wouldn’t word it that way, but I suppose

it is not inaccurate to put it that way.

MR. ZELLE: Your Honor, we would submit that Mr.

Windt is qualified to testify as an expert.

THE COURT: Do you wish to cross-examine?

MR. ANGINO: Yes, I would like a few questions.

CROSS EXAMINATION AS TO QUALIFICATIONS

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Part of the qualification questions dealt with what you

do in terms of lecturing, and I think you testified that you tell

lawyers and you tell insurance companies what the state of the

law is with regard to good faith/bad faith; is that something that

you discuss?

A It is just a tiny part of what I do. It is not really what I

do. I mean I handle claims is what I do. In other words, the

claim comes in, and I handle it. I draft the letters to the insured

if I am working for the insurance company.

4la

Appendix

Windt—Cross as to Qualifications 405

If I am working for the insured, I draft the letters to the

insurance company. I do the analysis. I make the calls, the

factual investigation as appropriate. I hire people to do the

factual investigation as appropriate. That is what I do.

Q Maybe I misunderstood. I thought that the reason that

you are called to be a witness or to give advice in all of the

states of the union except perhaps for North Dakota is because

of your expertise in this area?

A Wait a second. With regard to expert witness work, the

question is question why would people call me as an expert

witness, and I said suppose it is cause because of the notoriety

of the book. People know who I am.

With regard to the 90 percent of my practice, which is

what I do for a living handle claims, why do they come to me?

Because I have a good track record of appropriately handling

claims. That is what I do.

Q You are a lawyer; right?

A Yes.

Q And I am a lawyer. Mr. Zelle is a lawyer. His Honor is

a lawyer. Is that right?

A Yes.

Q And you are familiar that in a courtroom, there is a

lawyer representing a plaintiff, there is a lawyer representing

42a

Appendix

Windt—Cross as to Qualifications 406

a defendant, and then there is a Judge who gives instructions

to the jury; you understand?

A Yes.

Q In terms of appearing as an expert, is your background

such that people hire you so that you can tell this jury that what

was done here was good faith or bad faith; is that the reason

you are hired?

A I am hired to give my opinion from analyzing a case. I

don’t take a lot of them because a lot of times, I disagree. But

if I agree, I will get in the stand and tell what my opinion is.

Q So basically, you are here to tell this jury that what

Northbrook did was okay; is that right?

A I am certainly prepared to say that, yes.

Q That is what I am saying.

A I wouldn't say okay. No, they didn’t handle it perfectly.

You and I spoke at length, what, six months ago, and I told you

certain mistakes were made. No question about that.

Q You are going to say they handled it in good faith; is

that right?

A Yes.

Q That is what you have been hired to do?

A That is clearly the bottom line that I am going to try to

convey and explain how I reached that conclusion, yes.

43a

Appendix

Windt—Cross as to Qualifications 407

Q And in those approximately ten or twelve cases you

have given hourly, what do you usually make on an average on

one of those ten or twelve cases that you take a year?

A As an expert witness?

Q Yes. From beginning to end.

A I couldn’t give you an average. I could say in some cases

where I do a report and it doesn’t get as far as a deposition or

trial, my bill may be less than a thousand dollars.

Q I am talking about a case that goes to trial, and you

appear before a jury, and you testify. Would an average bill

there be $5,000.00 or $10,000.00?

A If there has been no deposition, it should normally

would be less than $5,000.00 total. Part of it is the travel time.

I went to Alaska once on a case. The travel time which I billed -

for was like 20 hours each way. Do the math. It was a very

significant bill.

Q You might have had a $20,000.00 bill in that case?

A Right. I had a case in Texas fifteen years ago, I think

my bill even in dollars from fifteen years ago was like

$70,000.00.

Q $70,000.00?

A I think so. My recollection—maybe it’s $50,000.00. But

I remember it being at the time like a real lot of money.

Q So insurance companies are willing to pay $50,000.00

44a

Appendix

Windt—Cross as to Qualifications 408

to $70,000.00 to have you come into a courtroom?

A Or insureds.

MR. ANGINO: No further questions.

BY THE COURT:

Q Mr. Windt, from hearing your testimony, are you an

independent insurance adjuster or do you work for somebody?

A No. I just have just me and a secretary, Your Honor.

Q You are an independent adjuster? You will adjust

claims?

A Yes. It depends on what you define as an adjuster, but

I mean I work on my own. I handle claims for a living. It’s just

me and a secretary.

Q Are you engaged in the practice of law as such?

A I would say yes in the sense that the reports that I will

issue to my client will be subject to the attorney/client privi-

lege.

Q Okay. But you are mainly concerned with the proper

handling of insurance claims?

A I am not concerned with the properly handling. I just

handle claims. That is what I do.

Q You are here to comment on whether Northbrook

handled this claim—

A Here as an expert.

Q —in an acceptable annual proper manner?

A Yes, Your Honor. As an expert is different than from I

——

45a

Appendix

Windt—Cross as to Qualifications 409

do really for a living.

MR. ANGINO: Can I ask one more question, Your

Honor?

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q You mentioned Clinton and the Paula Jones matter.

Now that was a case where Clinton, from what we have read

in the paper anyway, did certain things with regard to Paula

Jones at least as the complaint went.

Did you recommend to the insurance company that they

provide coverage to President Clinton?

A No. I think that would be privileged what advice I gave

them.

Q It turned out that they paid Paula Jones, the insurance

company paid Paula Jones; is that correct?

A There were two insurance companies involved.

Q And did an insurance company pay Paula Jones?

A I don’t believe the insurance company I worked for paid

Paula Jones.

Q Did an insurance company pay Paula Jones?

A I don’t recall that an insurance company paid Paula

Jones.

THE COURT: I don’t think that is relevant information.

THE COURT: We will accept Mr. Windt and let him

testify subject to, of course, Mr. Angino’s objection.

46a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 410

MR. ZELLE: Thank you, Your Honor.

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q Can you please tell the jury what you have done in

connection, what you have looked at, what you have heard in

connection with forming the opinions that you have reached

in this case?

A Well, I read the insurance company’s file. I read I

believe all of the depositions that were taken. That is sworn

testimony that is taken by the lawyers of people that have some

knowledge about the case. And that is done long before the

trial starts.

And then I read some of the pleadings that were filed,

documents filed with the Court, that Mr. Angino filed with the

Court and that counsel for Northbrook filed with the Court.

And other than that, I was here this morning. I listened

to the testimony of the people that testified today.

Q You in response to a question by Mr. Angino said that

this wasn’t a perfect claim handling. Can you tell the jury what

mistakes were made here?

A You know, it would be easier if I could divide my analysis

of this case into time frames—various time frames, and I will

tell you within each time frame what was done right and what

47a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 411

was done wrong.

Q Sure. Would it help you to use the board?

THE COURT: Let's try it without.

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q Let's just use some dates then. Using the first time

period, what are you using?

A The first relevant time period would be December 17th

through January 2nd.

Q And what is the facts as you determined them during

that time period?

A December 17th, you have the insured through its agent

providing notice to the New York branch, the New York office

of Northbrook. And then January 2nd, Northbrook finally

finds out that the equipment is in Pennsylvania, and therefore

the file should be handled in Pennsylvania. So that is to me the

first relevant time period.

And despite the fact that Christmas is there, New Year's,

I think that is longer than it should have been. And in all—I

know the position of Northbrook is, well, the insured didn’t

tell us where the equipment was, but I think the insurance

company should have called if you don’t know where the

equipment 1S.

I know it is Christmas, and I know it is New Year’s,

but nothing was done between December 17th and Janu-

ary 2nd, and I would say that is an error. That is a mistake.

48a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 412

I think they should have even within the holiday period done

something.

Q Do you understand, Mr. Windt, the difference between

a mistake or why don’t you explain to the jury the difference

between a mistake and bad faith?

A Right. Clearly in my opinion—

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, I object because—

THE COURT: I sustain the objection.

MR. ANGINO:—that is an instruction.

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q Why don’t you answer the question?

THE COURT: I sustained the objection. I don’t think that

Mr. Windt is going to be allowed to testify to the difference

between a mistake and bad faith. That is something that I will

charge the jury on.

But he has indicated that he thought a mistake was made

with not jumping on this claim sooner in the first time period.

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q In making that distinction following the Judge's instruc-

tion, can you tell us whether the initial time frame of Decem-

ber 17th to January 2nd, is there anything that you looked at

that led you to believe that there was any reckless disregard on

the part of the—

A It is just a simple mistake. It happens.

49a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 413

MR. ANGINO: I object and continue to object to his

testifying as to things that you are going to give instructions on

because he is usurping the position of the Judge in this.

THE COURT: I think that is right. Gentlemen, come to

sidebar for just a moment, please.

(An off-the-record discussion was had at sidebar.)

BY MR. ZELLE: |

Q What was the next time frame after the 2nd of January?

A January 2nd to January 7th would be the next logical

time frame to look at.

Q Describe what happened for the jury during that time

frame.

A On January 2nd, Northbrook learns that the equipment

is in Pennsylvania. So they send the file to the correct office.

And the file is opened in the correct office on January 7th.

There is an intervening weekend. It seems fine to me.

Q Do you have an opinion, sir, as to whether there was

any delay during that time period?

A It seems fine to me.

Q What was the next time period?

A January 7th to January 13th. January 7th being when

the file is opened up in Pennsylvania, and January 13th when

the adjuster Stanford is hired to go out to do the investigation,

50a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 414

determine how the claim should be handled.

And the file reflects that the person who was handling the

assigned claim was out sick three days. It was a two day

weekend. I don’t have any problem with that time frame.

Q Do you have any opinion, sir, as to whether the insur-

ance company did anything wrong during that time period?

MR. ANGINO: Objection, Your Honor. Doing wrong?

THE COURT: I think the question is was that period of

time an acceptable period of time for performing the appoint-

ment of an appraiser in this case?

A I think the facts are that it was—since the person was

sick and out three days and there is the weekend, it seems

perfectly appropriate and perfectly fine to me that time frame.

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q What is your next time period?

A January 13th to February 7th.

Q What happened?

A That is the dates that the investigation was done by

Stanford on behalf of Northbrook. Stanford is Northbrook as

a practical matter for the purpose of handling the claim. That

is who they hired to do the work.

And I think that was done more than good faith. I

think that Stanford did an expeditious—they did a very

5la

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 415

good job, and they did it in a very reasonable amount of time.

February 7th was when the investigation terminated.

They didn’t need to do anything else in terms of the investiga-

tion knowing what to do because by that date, it is clear from

the file that they concluded that the way to handle this claim

was to have the equipment repaired.

Can I go on with the answer to say—explain something?

Q Let me ask you a question, Mr. Windt. If you now look

at the time frame from December 17th until February 7th,

that is just a week short of two months, is that an acceptable

period of time for an insurance company to complete an

investigation into the adjustment of a piece of property, in this

case a big drill?

A Sure, that would be reasonable, two months. But that

doesn’t change the fact that Stanford did a pretty quick job,

and they were able to do it within less than a month.

So I am saying it doesn’t change the fact that when the

initial notice was sent to Northbrook, they were sloppy.

Anyway, what I wanted to explain is what you are

trying to accomplish in this investigation is to figure out

how to handle the claim because you have a few options.

One option which is available is if this property is not worth

52a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 416

repairing, it is what you call a total loss, then you would handle

a claim a certain way and owe a good deal of money to the

insured.

If in fact the property is repairable for a reasonable

amount of money, then you would move forward with the

repairs. So a fundamental decision you have to make is is this

a case where I am going to repair it—ie. the insurance com-

pany. Not that you repair it, you pay for the repairs—the

insurance company pays for repairs—or is this a case where

the insurance company is going to pay for the equipment as if

it is a total loss? It is a fundamental decision that has to be

made.

You don’t just sit back and think here is what I am going

to do. You have to do a lot of work. You have to get a lot of

input from people you call from the outside world. You have

to call people to find out what they view the actual cash value

to be. Because if the actual cash value is $50,000.00 and it costs

$50,000.00 to repair, you are not going to repair it.

You have got to know what the actual cash value is. You

don’t just call one person; you call a series of people. Espe-

cially—I don’t want to belabor it. Now find out actual cash

value.

You would want to find out whac the salvage is if you don’t

repair it. Because let’s say that the actual cash value was

53a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 417

$150,000.00 and the salvage value—what someone would be

willing to pay even if it is in a damaged state—is $140,000.00.

So if it is $150,000.00 to repair and salvage value is

$140,000.00, and it costs $50,000.00 to repair, you are not

going to repair it.

Q Mr. Windt, let me just—

A You have to make those kinds of—I don’t want to

belabor this. I thought it was needed to be explained some of

what you need to do, what takes you a month or two to figure

out what to do.

Q The jury has heard evidence about what had to be done.

The question I would like you to address, Mr. Windt, is

whether a period of time from the 17th of December through

February 7th was a reasonable period of time to get the claim

investigation completed?

A Yes. The same answer I had before, yes.

Q What is the next period of time that you feel—

A February 7th through the time the repairs were com-

pleted, which I think was June 23rd or thereabouts, June 24th.

Q Can you tell us what transpired during that time period

on which you base your opinion?

A I don’t see how you can possibly fault the insurance

company for anything during that period of time. The insur-

ance company had made the decision as of February 7th that

54a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 418

it pays to repair the property. It will pay for the cost of the

repairs, less depreciation.

Now it’s up to the insured to get the property repaired,

and it is up to the insurance company to then timely pay the

amount of the repair bill when the repair bill comes in.

Well, to the extent that the repairs take longer than

expected because the repair company that the insured selected

has problems finishing the repairs, that is not a reflection on

the insurance company.

The only thing that would be a bad reflection on the

insurance company is after the repairs were done, the insur-

ance company then sat back and didn’t pay the bill, which is

not the case here.

Q Are you aware-—did you hear the testimony that on

June 30th, Northbrook did issue a check?

A They had issued checks prior to that, and then they

issued their final payment I think the check was dated June

30th as I recall.

Q What is your next time period after June 23rd, the end

of June when the drill repairs were completed?

A The final time period is June 23rd through October,

June 23rd or 24th when the repairs are finished and then

October, early October when the insured picks up the equip-

ment.

55a

Appendix

Zelle—Direct 419

And again, it is—I think it is impossible to fault the

insurance company there. The repairs are done. The insurance

company did what it said it would do. It paid for the repairs in

full.

If the insured doesn’t pick up the equipment, it is not bad

faith by the insurance company. The insurance company’s

obligation is to figure out in a timely fashion what to do with

the equipment, repair it or not.

The insurance company does that. The equipment is

repaired. Then it is the insurance company’s obligation to pay

in a reasonable amount of time. Clearly, they did that. That is

it.

Q You are talking about reasonable amount of time. You

have heard all of the testimony this morning and this after-

noon. In your opinion, sir, did Northbrook adjust the claim in

a reasonable amount of time?

A I don’t think that is a fair question because I think no

matter how you try to lump it together, there was still the

mistake made by Northbrook where—or the sloppiness by

Northbrook in the early period.

Q I understand that. I am asking you if you can’t look at

it as a whole, then that is fine. But I am asking you if you look

at the—

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, this is his witness.

THE COURT: I don’t think he is leading him.

56a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 420

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q If you look at the process as a whole, do you have an

opinion as to whether Northbrook accomplished what it was

supposed to accomplish in terms of getting the drill adjusted

within a reasonable amount of time?

A Yes. That is the answer I gave you twice before. Yes,

that is true.

MR. ANGINO: That is all I have.

THE COURT: Cross-examine.

CROSS EXAMINATION

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q Your decision and the opinions that you have expressed

are based upon the fact that Northbrook made a decision on

February 7th, 1997 to have this drill repaired; is that right?

A That is when Northbrook finished its investigation of

getting estimates on repairs on actual cash value, on salvage

value. At which time based on the numbers that it received, it

could decide on a course of action. So in other words, you need

to do that investigation, that analysis within a reasonable

amount of time.

We know because of the file. There is no question about

it. We know they finished that process by February 7th. .

Q Did they make a decision—did Northbrook make a

/

57a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 421

decision on February 7th to have that drill repaired?

A They made a decision to go forward on the assumption

it was going to be repaired. And I suppose anything is possible.

If they opened up that machinery and found out that it had

the plague, then maybe they would change their mind.

But first, you have to decide on a course of action. And

you can’t be a knucklehead about it. To the extent that despite

getting six estimates from six different companies if based on

what expertise everybody had in making their estimates and

analysis, if it all turns out to be wrong, you don’t just say I don’t

care if it is wrong, this is what I am doing. That would be silly.

Q Would you look at Plaintiff Exhibit 7, please?

THE COURT: That is in this folder.

A Yes, I have it.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q It is set up in a chronological order. Would you turn to

what appears to be 2/13. Do you see that?

A Yes.

Q Would you turn to the next page, please?

A (Witness complies.) Yes.

Q Are you familiar with that particular page?

A I have looked at it before, yes.

Q And you had explained to the jury that there are various

58a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 422,

things that an insurance company can do; is that right?

A In essence, in other words, the insurance company

under the policy is obligated to pay the lowest amount of

certain options.

Q They are not obligated?

A Have the right.

Q They can?

A I could give you money. Even though we don’t ave any

relationship, you are always free to give money away. The

question is you have a certain right. I have a right not to give

you money. And they have a right to pay just repairs rather

than total loss value.

Q What I am saying to you is that you have givem advice

and you are called in by various insurance companies to do

certain things with regard to potentially large claims; is that

right?

A I work for insureds, too. And not every claim I handle

is a large claim, but usually they are.

Q There are factors—individual factors in each sittuation;

is that right?

A No two cases are the same.

Q So this particular case involves a company that has a

particular type of drill; is that right?

A Yes.

59a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 423

Q And that particular type of drill is important to that

particular company to pursue its business; is that right?

A That is my understanding, yes.

Q Is that a factor to consider?

A Possibly.

Q The next thing we know is that you can go out and

conduct an investigation, but until you tear that drill apart, you

don’t know what it is going to cost to repair it; is that right?

A Well, as evidenced by this case, they knew almost to the

dollar. But there is no sure thing in life I have found. I don’t

mean to pontificate.

As I told you before, you got to keep your eyes and ears

open if. Because if something unforeseen develops, you have

to be able to react to it. Nothing unforeseen developed here.

Stanford did a great job.

Q You are familiar with this particular case, and you are

familiar with Stanford's appraisals of what it was going to cost

to repair; is that right?

A Yes.

Q The appraisals that he got—and he got six of them he

said?

A Yes.

Q How much did—what was the range of them?

A He only wrote up as I recall three of them because I

60a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 424

think the insured wouldn't look at the other three. You know,

the report that was marked and not admitted into evidence, I

obviously read that.

On that report, I won't say what it says, but it does I am

pretty sure mention at least one or two more beyond the three

that were written up.

Q That's right. The three that you have been privy to, what

were the amounts?

A I think the estimate from Stanford, which is the only

one I remember off the top of my head—

Q You don’t mean Stanford.

A No, I mean Stockdale.

Q How much was the one from Stockdale?

A I think it said $40,000.00, but it was subject to certain

things they didn’t know which could make it as much as 50.

Q Right.

A Or a little under 40.

Q So you had at that time an appraisal from Stockdale

that was about $40,500.00, but if certain things happened it

could be $50,000.00; is that what it said?

A I don’t think it said that, but that is my understanding

that it could go as high as 50. Not that anyone expected it too,

but that was within the realm of possibility.

6la

Appendix

Windt—Cross 425

Q And on the down side, there just seemed to be a little

down side; is that right? -

A It is not something I really focused on. I don’t recall

there being a significant potential for it being a lot less than

$40,000.00.

Q Forty to fifty would be the range from the company

that Syracuse wanted to have it done; is that right?

A No. I think the range was—it depends what you call

range. The range could be 40 to a million. I mean that is silly

to say a million, but you don’t know. They thought it would be

about $40,000.00.

Q 40 to 50?

A No. They thought it would be about $40,000.00.

Q Now we know that if you are going to repair something,

you are going to have to take that machine first to a shop to

look at it to find out how much it is going to cost to repair; is

that right?

A Well, you have an estimate, but the estimate is not

binding on Stockdale because they haven’t seen the equip-

ment yet. So, again, you are dealing with professional people,

Stanford, Stockdale. They have analyzed the problem.

Stanford has explained it to Stockdale and gone through

it piece by piece it is my understanding. I wasn’t there, but that

is my understanding. They have come up with the belief that

this can be repaired for approximately $40,000.00.

62a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 426

Does that answer your question?

Q No.

A Sorry. I forgot the question.

Q Do you know there were two moves involved here?

This particular drill was first moved to find out how much it is

going to cost to repair. Do you know that?

A No. My recollection is there was one move from the

site where it was damaged to Stanford—Stockdale. Too many

S’s in this case.

Q You are saying there was only one move?

A I only remember one move for $5100.00. When it was

finished, it had to be moved not back to the site it was, but

back to Maryland. And that was another 21, 22 hundred

dollars.

Q So you knew it had to be moved, and it had to come

back. So you have—

A It didn’t go back. It went to Maryland as I said.

Q Whatever. So that is a figure of $7200.00; is that right?

A Something sticks in my mind that $7300.00 is the right

number, but maybe your right.

Q Whatever. When you are going to make a decision as

to whether you repair or replace, you obviously with this type

of a piece of equipment have to factor in there is going to be

63a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 427

a cost to get it to where it is?

A Absolutely.

Q So in this case when we had $40,500.00 to $50,000.00

depending on what it is, we basically had something that would

be—nobody knew exactly what it was going to cost to move at

the time anywhere from $47,000.00 to $57,000.00; is that

right?

A That is not @ correct way to analyze it. From the

insurance company’s point of view, they expected to spend

about $36,000.00 for repairs, $40,000.00 less depreciation of

about $4,000.00. They expected to pay about $36,000.00 for

repairs. And we will use the $7300.00 number for a move.

So if I were handling the claim for the insurance company,

I would say if we repair this, I expect it is going to cost the

company $43,300.00.

Q But—?

A So that is the first part of the equation. One can’t know

the answer to that equation until one does the work that

Stanford did.

Q Stockdale?

A Stanford did. At that time, actually I was right. That

Stanford did between January 15th and February 7th.

Q So with the best knowledge that the insurance company

had at that time, they were looking at $43,300.00; is that right?

64a

Appendix

Windt—Cross __. 428

A That is what they would expect to spend.

Q Now if you are going to spend $43,300.00, you know it

is going to take time; is that right?

A Yes.

Q And were there calculations done on the basis of

salvage that is in Exhibit 7 that I have addressed here?

A I don’t knowif it is Exhibit 7, but I have seen the salvage

estimates. I think there were six of them.

Q Was there one between 80 and 90?

A Yes.

Q Is there an actual calculation in the diary of Northbrook

that starts out with $140,000.00?

A Yes. That is an incorrect calculation, but there is a

calculation there.

Q There is a calculation?

A Yes.

Q It says ACV $140,000.00. That is the policy limit; is that

right?

A You wouldn’t use 140. You would use the actual ACV.

It also says policy limit. The relevant number would be ACV.

Q What is the ACV?

A The insured said 160. He said it in his deposition. He

testified again today on the stand because I heard him that he

thought it was 160.

Q But he can’t get more—

65a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 429

A He wouldn’t get more than 140. The question is you

start with ACV. According to the insured, it is 160. That is what

they are insisting on. If you subtract out the maximum possible

salvage value of 90, then you are left with $70,000.00 cost to

the insurance company.

Q So what I am saying to you though is were there—was .

there actually an exhibit supplied by the plaintiff from a

company that gave the value of that particular drill at or about

that time?

A There were I think six estimates that Stanford got on

actual cash value. I am just saying that if you wanted to settle

with the insured, which is what you are suggesting, the insured

Says you start with 160 as actual cash value. Who knows what

you are actually going to get for salvage because the insured

hasn't let people get on the site to look at it.

Let's say you get 90, which is far more than the average.

The average salvage value that he obtained was 60. Let's say

you use 90. 160 minus 90 is $70,000.00 to satisfy the insured.

(1/30/97 letter from D&L Thomas Equipment Corp. Re:

value of drill before 12/13/96 was introduced as Plaintiff Ex-

hibit 16.)

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Would you look at Plaintiff Exhibit 16, please?

Windt—Cross 430

A Sure.

Q Is this a letter from Nicholas B. Goulas to Jay DeLine

of Syracuse Exploration?

MR. ZELLE: Objection. This hasn’t been offered into

evidence.

MR. ANGINO: I am introducing it now.

MR. ZELLE: I will object because he can’t authenticate

THE COURT: I think we have to let the question go on

a little further here.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Are you familiar with this particular document? |

A Yes, it was in the file that I saw.

Q It's in the file you looked at and referred to in appearing

here in court; is that right?

A Yes.

Q And as of January 30th, 1997, which is during this

period of time when you said this investigation was being

conducted during which time there has to be a decision made

with respect to do you go the salvage route or do you go the

repair route, a letter is from Nicholas Goulas to Jay DeLine;

is that right?

A Yes.

Q And it gives a price range for that particular piece of

equipment as $130,000.00 to $145,000.00; is that right?

Windt—Cross 431

A Yes.

Q So whatever the—Syracuse supplied that to North-

brook; did they not?

MR. ZELLE: Objection.

A I don’t know.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q You don’t know?

A How would I know?

Q In terms—do you see the claim number on it? It says

claim 3771001982?

A Yes.

Q Is that the claim for Northbrook?

A I presume. I saw this in Northbrook’s file.

Q You saw it in Northbrook’s file?

A Yes. I don’t know how they got it. You asked me how

they got it. I don’t know.

Q How do you expect a letter to Syracuse Exploration

would get in the Northbrook file? |

A Either they got it—Mr. Stanford got it from D&L

Equipment because it was one of the six people he called, or

he got it from Syracuse. How would I know?

Q If Mr. DeLine is going to give a price to Northbrook

for the value, the ACV, he has gotten a written document that

says 130 to 145?

A And his position is it is wrong. His position is as he

68a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 432,

testified today it was 160. So what do you want from me? I am

not going to impeach your guy.

Q You are in the insurance business. If you are adjusting

a claim, do you want something in writing from somebody

telling you what the value of something is?

MR. ZELLE: Objection, Your Honor. I think we have got

that there was a letter that said one thing, and we have Mr.

DeLine's testimony. We can move on.

THE COURT: The question was on a different tack.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q If tack is in order for an insurance company—and you

have been dealing with them for years?

THE COURT: Don't intersperse the question with edi-

torializing, Mr. Angino. Just ask the question.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Do you need to have something in writing as to the

value of that piece of equipment?

A You don’t need to. It is good practice because some-

times, believe it or not—never mind. I was just trying to be

cute, but that is not appropriate.

Q You know what Mr. DeLine paid for it?

A 140.

Q He paid 140?

A $140,000.00.

Q Insured it for $140,000.00?

69a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 433

A The maximum coverage on it was $140,000.00.

Q And submitted a document for 130 to 145 as far as its

value; is that right?

A Again, I don’t know who submitted it. I know he got

the letter. It is addressed to him. And I know his position all

along has been that this letter is wrong. It is worth 160.

Q Where do you get that?

~ A Because I read his deposition. I heard his testimony

_ today. I read the file. I mean what do you want me to say?

Q Did he say this was wrong?

A He said it is worth 160. He gave his testimony under

oath both at his deposition and today. If you are calling him a

liar, call him a liar. I am not. ,

I am just saying the insurance company, if you are going

to say—never mind. I don’t know what you are trying to—if

you want me to make your client look bad. I just want to tell

you my opinions based on what I understand the facts to be.

Q The facts are that Northbrook used 140, did they not,

to calculate salvage and to calculate replacement; did they not?

A The person that did that—

THE COURT: Can you answer that question?

A No. It looks like they used 140 because that was the

70a

Appendix

Windt—Cross 434

policy limit which is not how you do the equation.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Do they have ACV before it?

A And then a policy limit written after it.

Q But they have ACV before it?

A I said before they have ACV before it, and it says

$140,000.00 policy limit. And ae wouldn’t use the policy limit

in the equation.

THE COURT: I think we are getting into more argument

than we need to, gentlemen. Do you have any more questions

you want to ask this witness?

MR. ANGINO: I would like to finish this. I would like

toe

THE COURT: I don’t know what you are driving at at

this point.

MR. ANGINO: What I am driving at is—

THE COURT: You don’t have to explain to me. Go ahead

with your questions.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Does that start with ACV of 140?

A The letters ACV are on there, and then after the

number it says policy limit. I can’t tell you anything more than

what it says.

Q But it has—

THE COURT: We will let the jury interpret what the

SE

Tla

Appendix

Windt—Cross 435

meaning of those letters are and the numbers.

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Does it have the word sal with $90,000.00?

A Yes.

Q Does it have $50,000.00 after that?

A Yes.

Q Does it have $1,000.00 after that?

A Yes.

Q So that at this point in time, you have indicated the

repair cost as estimated from the insurance company was

$43,300.00; is that right?

A Correct.

Q And the figure here is $49,000.00; is that right?

A The incorrect figure on that piece of paper is

$49,000.00.

Q So that at this point in time, the insurance company

opted to go with the repair; is that right?

A Obviously, it opted to go with the repair, yes.

Q And that repair therefore meant that this machine was

not done until June 25th; is that right?

A Correct. That is how long the repair took.

Q So that the decision that was made then to save

$5700.00 meant the machine would not be getting to Syracuse

for another March, April, May, June, four months; is that right?

72a

Appendix

Windt—Redirect, Recross 436

A I disagree with your question for the reasons I have

already explained. The correct number would be $70,000.00

as opposed to $43,000.00.

MR. ANGINO: No further questions.

MR. ZELLE: Brief redirect, Your Honor.

REDIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. ZELLE:

Q If Northbrook had decided to simply pay the

$50,000.00, would Mr. DeLine have had his drill back any

faster?

A Not as far as I know.

Q He would have had $50,000.00, but he still wouldn’t

have his drill, and his drill couldn’t have been repaired any

faster based on what you have looked at; could it?

A All I know is from what Mr. Stanford testified that if he

had taken Mr. Stanford's recommendation of using Carbough,

that he would have had it quicker.

Q But—

A That is all I know.

MR. ANGINO: I have to ask one question.

A Sure.

RECROSS EXAMINATION

BY MR. ANGINO:

Q Mr. DeLine wouldn't have gotten—he would have

gotten $140,000.00 to go out and by a drill; is that right? Under

the salvage basis, the company keeps the salvage for the 90, he

73a

Appendix

Windt—Recross 437

gets $140,000.00. He can go out and buy a drill?

A Right. If this was a total lose, if the insurance company

determined it was a total loss, they would pay $140,000.00 and

typically keep the rest as salvage value under the terms of the

policy.

Obviously, they opted the much cheaper route which

they had the perfect right to do legally, which was to end up

paying $43,000.00 and change.

Q What I am saying in response to Mr. Zelle’s question

is the calculations that are done here give Syracuse 140, and

they can go out and then buy a drill; right? That is the

calculation?

A That is not what they did with the money. The idea is

should the insurance—was the insurance company obligated

to give your client $140,000.00 rather than having it repaired

which they expected would cost them $43,000.00?

And the answer is obviously since they had the right under

the policy—it is not unusual; it is a standard policy—to only

pay $40,000.00, who in their right mind would pay $140,000.00

and then supposedly be guilty of bad faith because they elected

to pay what they had the right to limit their obligation to, which

is $43,000.00?

Q Did the repairs come out to be $50,000.00?

A Tam talking about what their obligation to pay was.

Q Didn't it come out to be fifty some thousand?

74a

Appendix

Windt—Recross 438

A It was another 2500 more than what they expected to

psy:

Q What was the final repair bill?

MR. ZELLE: Beyond the scope, Your Honor.

A The final repair bill was $44,000.00 and change less the

$4,000.00 in depreciation. My recollection is it ended up

costing $40,000.00 to the insurance company. But I could be

off slightly.

THE COURT: All right. Is that all?

MR. ANGINO: Yes.

THE COURT: Thank you.

A Thank you, Your Honor.

MR. ZELLE: Is defense rests, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Very well. Any rebuttal testimony, Mr.

Angino?

MR. ANGINO: If I could have one minute, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, Plaintiff Exhibit Number 34

indicates that the final repair bill—

MR. ZELLE: Objection, Your Honor. Is he offering the

exhibit?

MR. ANGINO: Yes.

MR. ZELLE: Let me take a look at it, and I will let you

know if I have any objection. There are two exhibits ... .

ait

Appendix

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

97-CV-1405

SYRACUSE EXPORATION COMPANY,

Plaintiff

V.

NORTHBROOK PROPERTY AND CASUALTY

| INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

VOLUME 2

BEFORE: HON. WILLIAM W. CALDWELL, Judge

DATES: June 8 and 9, 1999

PLACE: Courtroom Number Three

Federal Building

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

COUNSEL PRESENT:

RICHARD C. AN GINO, Esquire

For—Plaintiff

ANTHONY ROBERT ZELLE, Esquire

For—Defendant

Vicki L. Fox, RMR

Official Reporter

76a

Appendix

447

... this company is certainly good for any punitive award that

it might enter in this case, which is a rather small case when

you compare it to the size of the company.

MR. ANGINO: Sure. What is the time we are going to

start tomorrow, Your Honor?

THE COURT: Nine.

MR. ANGINO: Thank you. Do you want to start with the

jury charge conference tomorrow morning or closing argu-

ments?

THE COURT: I don’t plan to hold a charge conference.

I don’t usually do that: The law is very clear here.

MR. ZELLE: That is fine. I would like to know when if

I have any objection to the jury charge—I don’t want to do it

in front of the jury obviously.

THE COURT: I think after I deliver my charge if you

have any objections, you can come to sidebar, and we will put

them on the record.

MR. ZELLE: That is fine. Thank you.

THE COURT: I will correct anything that I misquoted to

the jury. But I have charged jurors on this exact thing, and I

think my charge is within the limits of the law.

MR. ZELLE: Your Honor, I would certainly never sug-

gest that it wasn't.

77a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 479

AFTER RECESS

THE COURT: Thank you, ladies and gentlemen. I am

sure at this point you don’t need me to tell you the very

important role that you play in the administration of justice

and, of course, in this specific case.

This is because the determination of the facts in this case

is exclusively for you. It’s your duty as jurors to follow the law

that governs the case, and you shouldn't disregard what I tell

you about the law. But as to the facts in the case, you collec-

tively are the exclusive judge.

In arriving at the facts, you must consider only the evi-

dence in the case. But you are, of course, permitted to draw

such reasonable inferences from the testimony and the exhib-

its that you feel are justified in light of common experience.

In other words, you may make deductions and reach

conclusions which reason and common sense lead you to draw

from the facts. If your recollection of the evidence differs from

anything that might have been expressed by counsel or that I

might say, it is your collective recollection of the evidence

which should govern.

If the inferences that vou think should be drawn from the

facts differ from anything that has been suggested again, follow

the inferences that you think should be drawn.

78a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 480

And if your judgment of what the evidence has proved

differs from what might have been argued or suggested by

counsel or anything that I might say, follow your own judg-

ment.

You are not to infer from this that you are to ignore what

counsel have said to you in their closing arguments. It is not

only your right, but it is your duty to consider their arguments

and to view and examine the evidence in light of what they

have said.

However in the final analysis, you have the right to reject

any argument that you don’t think follows from the evidence

because the determination of the facts in this case is exclusively

for you.

Your verdict must be unanimous. All eight of you must

agree in a result before we can accept it as a verdict.

As we well know, this is a civil action brought by Syracuse

Exploration Company against the Northbrook Casualty or

Property and Casualty Insurance Company.

In every civil proceeding, whether it is in a state or a

federal court, a person or a plaintiff who makes a claim against

another has what we call the burden of proof. The burden of

proof sometimes depends upon the type of claim that is being

made.

In this case where the defendant is being accused in

dealing with the plaintiff in bad faith, the law requires the

79a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 481

plaintiff to satisfy you, the fact finders, that it is entitled to

recover by clear and convincing evidence.

Clear and convincing evidence is evidence that is so clear,

direct, weighty and convincing that you can come to a decision

without hesitation.

Most civil cases have a less strict burden of proof. In most

civil litigation, a plaintiff must prove a case by what we call a

fair preponderance of the evidence.

Proof by a preponderance of the evidence is proof that a

‘point being advanced is more likely so than not so. Proving a

case by clear and convincing evidence is a heightened standard

imposed by the law in cases where bad faith is claimed.

As I mentioned at the beginning of the case, one of the

most important functions that you serve as a juror is to judge

the credibility of the witnesses. And by credibility, we mean

the worthiness of belief in what a particular witness says.

You must determine which of the witnesses you believe,

what portion of their testimony you accept, and what weight

you might attach to it.

Credibility is not limited to just truthfulness or the

lack of truthfulness: although, of course, that is obviously

very important. But credibility also includes accuracy of

recollection, accuracy of observation, and whether a wit-

80a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 482

ness is giving dependable testimony that you can use in per-

forming your fact finding function.

It is possible that a witness intends and desires to tell the

truth and yet through faulty memory, poor observation, the

passage of time or for many other reasons is honestly mistaken.

So you must determine how much of the testimony is truthful,

as well as how much is reliable and correct.

In passing upon the credibility of each witness who testi-

fies, you have a right to assess their apparent accuracy of

memory and observation, their appearance and conduct as

they testify, and the manner in which they testify.

Do they seem to be forthright? Did they show any bias?

Are they evasive? Are they candid and fair in what they tell

you? You can consider all the surrounding circumstances in

judging credibility, including the interest that a witness might

have in the outcome of the case.

The parties, themselves have an obvious interest, but it is

possible that other persons who testify have a less direct

interest in the case and for some reason may have cause to

color their testimony.

You must attempt to reconcile conflicting evidence, then

determine what testimony is worthy of reliance and belief and

what is not.

8la

Appendix

Charge of the Court | 483

There was one witness called in this case to testify that

we call an opinion witness. Northbrook called a witness who

expressed opinions about how Northbrook handled the plain-

tiff's claim.

I will tell you just a word or two about evaluating the

testimony of someone who testifies and is permitted to express

an opinion.

Frequently the issues in a case involve matters of special-

ized knowledge or experience that can’t be determined from

deductions or inferences drawn on the basis of our everyday

knowledge, common sense or practical experience.

Issues of this kind create the necessity for the admission

into evidence of the opinions or conclusions of people who are

shown to be qualified and experienced in the particular field

in question.

However, you should also realize, as I am sure you do,

that a witness's opinion is just that. It is an opinion. It creates

no fact. It is what the witness thinks about something. And the

thought may be accurate or inaccurate and yet represent the

honest conviction of the person who expresses it.

The importance of or the weight to be given to

opinion testimony is again exclusively for you to decide.

In determining the weight to be given to that testimony,

consider the qualifications and credibility of the witness

82a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 484

and the reason he gives to support his opinions.

While opinion witnesses may have special knowledge on

a certain subject, their testimony is evaluated in the same way

as other witnesses. So in evaluating the opinion of an expert

witness, as we sometimes call them, you should as in any other

case apply your common sense, your good judgment and your

experience as you weigh the opinion given and the basis for

that opinion.

You are not bound to accept the conclusion of an opinion

witness if your judgment of all of the evidence leads you to

reject the opinions that have been expressed.

Of course, Northbrook is a corporation as is the plaintiff,

and these companies can act only through its employes or

agents. In general, a corporation is liable for the conduct of its

employes or agents who act within the scope of their authority.

And in this case, there is no dispute that the representatives

of the two corporations acted within the scope of their employ-

ment and authority.

Both parties in this case are corporations, and the law

treats them the same as it would treat an individual litigant.

This brings us then to the specific issue in this case, and

that is the issue, of course, of bad faith. The attorneys have

expressed in summary form their own understanding of the

law in the area of bad faith.

83a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 485

In a case like this it is necessary for them to some extent

to refer to the law. But in our system of jurisprudence you, the

jury, must take the law on the subjecc before you from the

Court.

Because of the importance of this law in resolving this

case, I would ask that you listen carefully as I explain the law

concerning bad faith and what a claimant is required to show

in order to prevail.

As we all know, this suit involves the allegation that

Northbrook acted in bad faith in handling the claim presented

to it by its policyholder Syracuse Exploration Company for

damage to a drill that had been insured.

There is a statute in Pennsylvania—and Pennsylvania law

governs this case—that requires an insurer to deal in good faith

in handling the claims of its insureds. And plaintiff contends

that the defendant violated this law.

Your responsibility will be to determine whether bad faith

has been shown by all of the evidence remembering that the

burden of proof requires the plaintiff to prove bad faith by

clear and convincing evidence.

While the Pennsylvania statute does not define bad

faith, it has been given a well defined meaning in the

Pennsylvania Courts that have interpreted this law. Bad

faith is defined as any frivolous or unfounded refusal to pay

84a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 486

what is due an insured.

For the purposes of a claim against an insurer for bad faith

in failing to pay a claim in a timely fashion, negligence or poor

judgment in handling a claim is not bad faith. Even gross

negligence by an insurer is insufficient to support a finding of

bad faith.

Now it is not necessary that the insurance companies be

fraudulent. Rather bad faith can exist where an insurance

company’s evaluation of a claim is less than honest and objec-

tive. That is because an insurer has a duty to act in good faith,

and good faith requires that the insurer act honestly and

objectively in evaluating a claim, that it promptly adjust and

pay a valid claim without unnecessary delay, and that an

insurance company give its insured’s interests the same con-

sideration as it gives its own.

In addition to providing a general definition of bad faith,

Pennsylvania Courts have developed a two part test to deter-

mine whether bad faith exists. This is the test you should apply

in determining whether Syracuse has established by clear and

convincing evidence that Northbrook acted in bad faith.

The first element in this test is whether the insurance

company had a reasonable basis for any delay that resulted in

paying its insured’s claim. If you find that Northbrook did not

~ respond promptly to plaintiff's claim or delayed in issuing a

85a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 487

decision concerning repair or replacement, you must deter-

mine whether Northbrook had a reasonable basis for its ac-

tions.

Remember, however, that whether a person acts reason-

ably is not the same as whether he has acted correctly. A person

can be incorrect in a decision or an action and yet still be

reasonable under the facts as they were known at the time the

decision was made or an action was taken.

The second element of the test for bad faith that must be

shown is whether the insurance company knew that it lacked

a reasonable basis for delaying payment of the claim or reck-

lessly disregarded the question of whether it lacked a reason-

able basis for its action.

Thus if you find that there was no reason for Northbrook

not to promptly authorize repair of plaintiff's equipment and

payment of its claim, you must then determine whether it

knew that it had no reasonable basis to delay or recklessly

disregard the claim.

In this context, to recklessly disregard facts means to

consciously disregard them. An example would be a situation

where Northbrook had no reasonable basis to delay authoriz-

ing the repairs to plaintiff's drill, but did not know it had no

basis to delay because it had not conducted an investigation

and evaluation in a timely fashion.

86a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 488

If you find that Northbrook consciously decided for im-

proper reasons not to investigate or evaluate or consciously

decide to delay plaintiff's claim, then you could find it acted in

bad faith.

However if you find that Northbrook did not consciously

fail to resolve plaintiff's claim in a timely fashion, there would

not be bad faith.

In other words, Northbrook or any other insurance com-

pany is not permitted to bury its head in the sand to avoid

determining whether a claim should be paid. If there was a

delay in evaluating or paying a claim, ask whether there was a

reasonable basis for the delay. If so, there can be no bad faith.

Remember the plaintiff must prove both elements of the

test for bad faith by clear and convincing evidence, not merely

by insinuating that Northbrook acted in bad faith. As I stated

earlier, clear and convincing evidence is evidence that is so

clear, direct, weighty and convincing that it enables you, the

jury, to make a decision without hesitation.

Now this is not a situation where you look back and say

what might have been done better by Northbrook with regard

to plaintiff's claim. In other words, we don’t engage in Monday

morning quarterbacking.

87a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 489

What you must and should do is consider the information

Northbrook had at the time these events transpired. And also

look at what Northbrook and its agent Stanford did in handling

the claim.

You may consider how Northbrook responded to the

initial notice of loss, the process by which it determined that

the drill should be repaired rather than replaced, and the

manner in which it issued payment for the claim.

Remember, however, that the Court has already deter-

mined that Northbrook has paid Syracuse the proper amount

for repairing the drill. So the only issue for you to decide is

whether Northbrook’s handling of that claim was done in bad

faith.

That brings us then to the question of damages that might

be filed—might be applied here in the event of bad faith.

The Pennsylvania bad faith statute allows an award of

punitive damages if you conclude that the insurance company

acted in bad faith. So if you find bad faith, you must then

determine whether plaintiff should receive punitive damages.

These damages are awarded in exceptional cases as a

punishment of a defendant and as a warning to others to keep

them from acting in the same manner.

88a

Appendix

Charge of the Court | 490

Punitive damages are appropriate only where a defen-

dant’s conduct is especially egregious. The burden of proof in

this case—in this part of the case as to the imposition of

punitive damages is by a fair preponderance of the evidence.

As I said earlier, the burden of proof by fair preponder-

ance of evidence means proving that something is more likely

so than not so. Another example is using the scales of justice,

and if the evidence for plaintiff tips the scales even slightly on

a particular point, then he has prevailed as far as proving that

point by a fair preponderance of the evidence.

You may award punitive damages if you determine by a

preponderance of the evidence that the defendant’s conduct

was outrageous, done with an improper motive or with a

reckless indifference to the interests of its policyholder

Syracuse Exploration Company.

In this context, the term reckless means that the defen-

dant knew ofa risk of a harm to the plaintiff, and it deliberately

proceeded to act or failed to act in conscious disregard of or

indifference to that risk.

Punitive damages are not to be lightly imposed and

may not be awarded for misconduct that constitutes such

things as carelessness, negligence, inadvertence, mistakes and

errors of judgment. Nor may they be awarded for conduct that

89a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 491

rises only to the level of gross negligence.

Simply put, before punitive damages are appropriate, it

must be shown that a defendant’s conduct was outrageous.

To summarize, if you determine that the actions of North-

brook’s employes or agents constituted bad faith, you may

impose punitive damages only if the following factors are

present: First, the conduct must be clearly outrageous; and

second, the actions must not have been done to satisfy an

individual’s personal will or malice, but with the intent to

further the interests of the insurance company Northbrook.

If you conclude that the facts justify an award of punitive

damages, you should try to determine a fair, just and reason-

able amount for the plaintiff under all of the circumstances.

As I said, punitive damages are not intended to compen-

sate a plaintiff for injury, but rather are designed to punish a

defendant and to prevent similar conduct in the future.

In considering an appropriate award, you may consider

the character of Northbrook’s actions, the nature and extent

of the harm to Syracuse which Northbrook caused or intended

to cause, the financial condition of the defendant insofar as it

is relevant to fixing an amount which will punish and deter it.

90a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 492

Any award you make must be unanimously agreed upon

and must be reasonable under all of the circumstances.

Now it doesn’t follow that punitive damages must be

awarded if you find that Northbrook acted in bad faith.

Whether punitive damages should be paid is a separate issue,

and plaintiff must prove by a fair preponderance of the evi-

dence that the circumstances in the case warrant the imposi-

tion of imposing a punishment of this nature on the defendant.

In effect, you have the discretion as to whether the

situation calls for an award of punitive damages.

Finally, you should know that in addition to permitting

an award of punitive damages for an insurer's bad faith, the

Pennsylvania Act also provides for certain other categories of

recoverable damages and costs.

However, the Act provides that these items are awarded

by the Court at a later point if you find that the defendant acted

in bad faith. So you will only be dealing with the question of

punitive damages.

Gentlemen, that concludes my charge. I would next in-

tend to go over the verdict form with the jury unless you have

exceptions to what I have said so far or any requests for further

instructions.

MR. ANGINO: Can we take one minute?

THE COURT: Sure. Indulge us for just a moment,

Charge of the Court

ladies and gentlemen.

(There was an off-the-record discussion at sidebar.)

THE COURT: I have asked Mrs. Michael to provide each

of you with a copy of the verdict form as it may be of assistance

to you in deciding the case. All of the exhibits will come over

to you after you retire, and you may look at all those exhibits.

And they are a part of the evidence in the case that you may

consider.

The testimony of the witnesses is something you are going

to have to recall collectively. Because at this point, we really

don’t have any way of telling you what a particular said on a

particular point.

But if you do have a question about anything like that, we

will certainly attempt to assist you. So don’t hesitate to present

it to us.

If you have any questions about my instructions, or the

law, or you want further explanations or clarifications, just send

me a note, and we will certainly accommodate you in that

regard.

Insofar as the verdict form is concerned, I think you will

see that it pretty much tracks what I have said to you in my

charge.

First, has the plaintiff proved by clear and convincing

evidence that defendant acted in bad faith in the handling of

92a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 494

plaintiff's insurance claim? And by unanimous agreement, you

simply check the no or the yes line to that question.

If you answer no, then you would sign the form and return

to the courtroom. But if you answer yes, you proceed to

question two, has plaintiff proved by a preponderance of the

evidence that it is entitled to punitive damages? And again, you

indicate an answer to that question.

If you answer no, you sign the form. But if you answer

yes, you go on to the third question and indicate the total

punitive damages to which the plaintiff is entitled.

One of your number should be selected to chair your

deliberations. That person will also sign the form where the

foreman’s signature line is. And we will be prepared to receive

your verdict when you reach it.

As I said to you before, this is an important case. It is

important to the plaintiff because it feels that its claim was

handled improperly and in bad faith. It is equally important to ©

the defendant because it believes that it is being asked to pay

for something for which it is not responsible, and that under

the circumstances, it dealt properly with the plaintiff's claim.

Your decision should be based upon the evidence.

You shouldn’t allow any emotion to enter into your delib-

erations or into your verdict such as sympathy or prejudice

93a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 495

or anything of that kind.

Treat the parties equally, and base your decision on the

evidence that you have heard as I am sure you will. If there is

nothing further, then we will ask the jury to retire.

(The Courtroom Deputy Clerk was duly sworn.)

THE COURT: Folks, you may retire and we will send the

verdict—the exhibits over to you.

(The jury retires to deliberate at 10:45.)

THE CCURT: Mr. Zelle, I believe you indicated you

wished to put something on the record concerning the charge.

I asked you to wait until the jury retired. So at this time, you

may place that on the record.

MR. ZELLE: For the record, Your Honor, note North-

brook’s objection to the charge specifically on the issue of

punitive damages. The objection is simply not to the wording

at all, but based on the fact there has been no evidence to

support such a charge.

Secondly, as I mentioned and requested an instruction

that it is not bad faith for a lawyer to produce records that were

never requested. And although an argument would clearly be

sought to establish that, I think the charge would be an

appropriate point to make that known as well.

THE COURT: Okay. |

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor, could I put on the record

94a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 496

my comment to you that since this was a diversity case, I

thought the five-sixth state rule wouid apply.

THE COURT: Okay. Fine. We will be in recess now. The

jury is going to receive its lunch at 11:30. I don’t think they will

be returning a verdict. However, you should be available in

the event they have a question. Probably, they won't have a

question before lunch, but you never know. If you want to go

back to your office—

MR. ZELLE: It’s your call. Do you want us to hang

around until lunch?

THE COURT: I don’t want to say that. Just be some-

where where we can get you in ten minutes or so. Let Mrs.

Michael know where you are going to be.

(A recess was taken.)

AFTER RECESS

(The following discussion was had in the courtroom at

1:10 PM:)

THE COURT: Ladies and gentlemen, we appreciate

your deliberations and your efforts to resolve this case. We

wish to respond at this time to your two inquiries.

The second one, which I will address first, asks whether

we could clearly define bad faith in layman’s terms and could

you give us a hard copy for reference?

95a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 497

It is pretty hard to explain this concept in any way other

than what I did. I tried to make it as understandable as

possible. We will provide you with a written copy of those

instructions, and I am sure with the written copy that you won’t

have any trouble understanding hopefully what is required to

be proved to prove bad faith.

The other question you asked involves Exhibit 34, Plain-

tiff Exhibit 34, specifically whether the—off the record.

MR. ANGINO: It is the second page of 34. It is a proof

of loss. It is not in 34. It would be in 36.

THE FOREMAN: Ft was in 34 that we had.

MR. ANGINO: They tater changed it. 34 is what they first

sent, and then later they changed it.

THE COURT: I think we will have a copy now of what

you are referring to. Yes, in paragraph nine, there is printing

undisputed amount. And your question is does adding that

word mean that the plaintiff gives up the right to future claims?

Let me answer that by saying that paragraph nine pro-

vides that the insured agrees to accept full payment in satis-

faction and compromise of all claims under the policy by

reason of said loss or damage.

What was intended by adding the words undisputed

amount in my mind at least was not particularly clear, and I

96a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 498

don’t think that that should be the focus of the inquiry. Does

_ that in any way assist you?

(The jury indicates in the negative.)

THE COURT: The signing of the regular proof of loss

would give up all claims under the policy. A bad faith claim

would not be a claim under the policy.

What they meant by undisputed amount when that was

printed on there, I don’t know. I don’t think anybody—who-

ever put it there, I don’t think testified what it was intended

to mean. I think it is ambiguous. So I would not suggest that

you dwell on it. But, of course, you are free to consider the

facts.

Does anybody else—maybe you can clarify what your

concern is for me.

THE FOREMAN: Our concern was whether or not the

wording even though it was not requested to be worded that

way on the check, whether or not that was an intentional way

to word that.

THE COURT: I think that is a conclusion that the jury is

going to have to consider if you think that it is important on

the issue of bad faith.

But I don’t think anybody—I don’t know that Mrs. Hall

was asked. I don’t know if she put it on there or who put it on

there. Whoever did didn’t testify what it was intended to mean.

I think it’s an ambiguous situation. I don’t know how you can

97a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 499

draw too many conclusions about it.

Okay?

A JUROR: My concer was if they cashed the check, does

that mean that that case is done? They can’t go back later and

say that something else was wrong and go back with the

difference.

THE COURT: If they cashed the check and signed this

release, they can’t go back and complain about anything under

the policy. But that doesn’t preclude the claim that they have

brought because I am sure they did sign some sort of a release

to get the check which—they have gotten the check.

MR. ANGINO: Your Honor—

THE COURT: Isn’t that true? I know you were involved

in it.

MR. ZELLE: This should probably be outside the jury—

THE COURT: Yes.

(An off-the-record discussion was had at sidebar.)

THE COURT: I don’t feel that I can say any more about

that exhibit. I think if there was testimony about how that

language was interpreted and why it was interpreted the way

it was, that is just something you have to consider.

Legally I think it is an ambiguous two words that—I

don’t know what it means or what the result of it would be if

98a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 500

it came down to it. That is as much help as I think we can give

you. Okay.

THE FOREMAN: Okay.

THE COURT: You have copies of these exhibits, don’t

you?

THE FOREMAN: Thank you, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Perhaps after further deliberations, you

might want to refine the question again if it is really important

to you. I don’t want to cut you off at all. Based on the question

that you have asked, I don’t think I can say any more at this

time.

Okay. You may retire and continue your deliberations.

Thank you very much.

THE CLERK: Court is in recess.

(The jury exits to deliberate in the jury room at 1:18 PM.)

(A recess was taken.)

(The jury has a verdict at 2:05 PM.)

THE COURT: We understand you have arrived at a

verdict, ladies and gentlemen. We would like to have the

verdict form at this time.

(Handed to the Court.)

_ THE COURT: You are the Foreperson of the jury, is that

correct?

THE FOREPERSON: Yes, sir.

99a

Appendix

Charge of the Court 501

THE COURT: Would you answer on behalf of the jury,

please? Has plaintiff proved by clear and convincing evidence

that the defendant acted in bad faith in the handling of

plaintiff's insurance claim?

THE FOREMAN: No.

THE COURT: Thank you. You may be seated. Ladies

and gentlemen, your Foreman has indicated that your answer

to the first verdict question is no. Is this your individual

answer?

(The jury indicates in the affirmative.)

THE COURT: Is there anyone who does not agree to that

answer to that question? All right. We accept this then as an

unanimous verdict, and we will enter a judgment in favor of

the defendant on plaintiff's claim.

I want to thank you for serving as a juror in this case. It

was not an easy one I am sure. I hope that the experience of

being with us and serving as a juror has given you alittle insight —

into the operation of the courts on a first hand basis.

I won't ask you whether you en

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.