Amicus Curiae Brief — Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly
Supreme Court brief2001
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
FEB 22 poo! -:,
Nos. 00-596 and 00-597
1)
~ IN THE
Supreme Court of the
Pa 2 a aa
CLERK
Lorillard Tobacco Company; Brown & willtamson-Tobacco wens
Corporation; R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company; Philip Morris
Incorporated; and U.S. Smokeless Tobacco Company,
Petitioners,
- and -
Altadis U.S.A. Inc., As Successor to Consolidated Cigar
Corporation and Havatampa, Inc.; General Cigar Co., Inc.;
John Middleton, Inc.; Lane Limited, As Successor To Tobacco
Exporters International (USA) Ltd.; L.J. Peretti Co., Inc.; Swedish
Match North America, Inc.; and Swisher International, Inc.,
Petitioners,
v.
Thomas F. Reilly, Attorney General
of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts,
Respondent.
On Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UniTED StaTEs COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE First CIRCUIT
=<—=—[———o—== = SSI =S_—=—=—[—a lI [i —— —$— _ i — LL SS
BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE AMERICAN ADVERTISING
FEDERATION AND CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA IN SUPPORT
OF PETITIONERS
WALLACE S. SNYDER DANIEL E. Troy
JeFFRY L. PERLMAN Counsel of Record
AMERICAN ADVERTISING FEDERATION KRISTINA R. OSTERHAUS
1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W. WILEY, REIN & FIELDING
Suite 500 1776 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005 Washington, D.C. 20006
Rosin S. ConrAD (202) 719-7000
NATIONAL CHAMBER LITIGATION
CENTER, INC. Counsel for Amici Curiae
1615 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20062
4
4
TABLE OF CONTENTS
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE oo... cesssessssessssseeesneee I
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ooo cssssssssssesecssecssnecenneeessees -
ARGUMENT 3
SOOPER ROSE EERE EE SEES ESE EEE EEE SESE EERE SESE SEES EEE EE EEE ESEEE EEE EE ESSE EES
I. FULL PROTECTION OF COMMERCIAL
SPEECH IS CONSISTENT WITH THE
ORIGINAL UNDERSTANDING OF THE
FIRST AMENDMENT AND _— THE
PREVALENCE AND IMPORTANCE OF
ADVERTISING AT THE TIME OF THE
SESE E SEER ESSE ESE EEE EEE ESET EE ESTE ESSE ESET ESTES EEE EEES EH ESE SEES
A. Advertising Was an Integral Part of the
“Press” in Colonial America. ooo... eeseseeseeseenes 5
B. The Absence of Advertising Restrictions Is
Consistent with the Colonial Conception of a
“Free Press” That Included Advertising. ................. 8
1. The challenges to early Stamp Acts
evidence the colonial conception of a
“free press” including advertising. |... 8
2. State trade regulations __ restricting
unlawful products and services only
show that the colonial conception of a
“free press” included advertising. 11
Seeeeaseresseeeseses
3. Common law exceptions to free
commercial speech involving false or
misleading speech show that the colonial
conception of a “free press” included
AE ARTE ELON ACS oO TE, 15
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
4 Fully protecting advertising is consistent
with the Framers’ political philosophy,
which equated liberty and property. ..............
II. THE PERVASIVENESS OF ADVERTISING
AND STATE LEGISLATIVE PRACTICE AT
THE TIME OF PASSAGE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT ARE
CONSISTENT WITH THE VIEW THAT
COMMERCIAL SPEECH IS ENTITLED TO
FULL FIRST AMENDMENT PROTECTION.
Il.
B.
American Life During Reconstruction. .00...........
State Legislative Practice During
Reconstruction Is Consistent with Full First
Amendment Protection for Truthful
Commercial Speech Promoting Lawful
Products and Services.
POSES SESE HS SETE EEE S ESSE SESS EES ES ED ESET
LESSER PROTECTION FOR
COMMERCIAL SPEECH IS A
TWENTIETH-CENTURY PHENOMENON
THAT HAS ITS ORIGINS IN A
DISENCHANTMENT WITH ECONOMIC
LIBERTIES AND CONFUSION WITH
ECONOMIC SUBSTANTIVE DUE
PROCESS.
SESS H SESS ESET ESSE SESE EESEESESESESESESEESESESSEESSESESESE SESE EES
A. The Pervasiveness of Advertising Grew in
B.
the Early Twentieth Century. ooo... o..sesssecsseessees
Disenchantment with Advertising Became
Apparent as a Result of Reform Movements
and the Great Depression.
16
19
19
21
23
23
24
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
C. The Incorrect Association of Advertising and
Economic Liberties Led to the Misguided
Distinction Between Commercial and
Noncommercial Speech. oooo........essessesssseseeneeeeees
IV. THIS PROPOSED INTERPRETATION OF
THE FIRST AMENDMENT WILL NOT
DRAMATICALLY ALTER THE COURT’S
FIRST AMENDMENT JURISPRUDENCE.
V. MASSACHUSETTS’ RESTRICTIONS ON
TRUTHFUL MESSAGES ABOUT A
LAWFUL PRODUCT ARE PROHIBITED BY
IV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island, 517 U.S.
sais cing, ROD 4, 28
Board of Trustees of the State University of
New York v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469 (1989) ooo 3
Borrekins v. Bevan, 3 Rawle 23 (Pa. 1831). 13
Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp v. Public
Service Commission, 447 U.S. 557 (1980)... 3, 28, 29
City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc.,
RE I ta 28
Edenfield v. Fane, 507 U.S. 761 corres SR Ren ee 28
Gerawan Farming, Inc. v. Lyons, 101 Cal. Rptr.
ic siaictiicssisnsncsiscemibcaseieseaidsieniiaiommiin 5
Greater New Orleans Broadcasting Association
We PU, SEE UTD CERI)... asrssnssnninsiospnansionsninson 28
Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233
SPP sai ickis ciasies. iilahlosap scabies Aeadlonisoteainbiemmnssaie 1]
Halter v. Nebraska, 205 U.S. 34 (1907) ooo cecessesesee 26
Eimann v. Soldier of Fortune Magazine, Inc.,
880 F.2d 830, 837 (Sth Cir. 1989) oo eeceeseeeees 29
Ex parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727 (1877)... cssssssesssesese 22
The King v. Higgins, 102 Eng. Rep. 269
Ie UIs acne ieeveldadisbdaeeedioinsconaabaoictsad 16
Needham v. Proffitt, 41 N.E. 606 (Ind. 1942) 27
Pittsburgh Press Co. v. Pittsburgh Commission
on Human Relations, 413 U.S. 376 (1973)... 16
Posadas de Puerto Rico Associates v. Tourism
Co. of Puerto Rico, 478 U.S. 328 (1986)... 28
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Rubin v. Coors Brewing Co., 514 U.S. 476
CEPR oseaniehinsraediaasieiaonpiidaactehaidaaoeshacminialaaadie 28
Seattle v. Proctor, 48 P.2d 238 (Wash. 1935) 27
State ex rel. Booth v. Beck Jewelry Enterprises,
Inc., 41 N.E.2d 622 (Ind. 1942) ooo ecescssseeseeseeees 27
Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359 (1931)... 26
United States v. Carolene Products Co., 304
Siti BE SOT OD ssn cnccnlnssupinicacitisteshcdcaaibandmnbealenabiaaiitd 27
Valentine v. Chrestensen, 316 U.S. 52 (1942)... 3,27
Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia
Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S.
FP PTR sssisnsnsnibiaeessabtaea cdensitaelieakcunndaliabiniaaaiis 29
Ware v. Ammon, 278 S.W. 593 (Ky. Ct. App.
SOOT sictrdisithahaniiciccescnaeadopaisateiaanialeadeaeh gueaiiaa 27
West Coast Hotel Co. v. Parrish, 300 U.S. 379
CIUSETR stai cstenlcracaactclegetlaiieiccepesianiai cabal iaienanaae 27
FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
Act of June 8, 1872, ch. 335, 17 Stat.283, 22
U.S. Constitution, Amendment TX ooo. eesessesseeseeseseeess 1]
U.S. Constitution, Amendment Xoo... ..seesessessessesseseeseens 11
STATE STATUTES
Act for the Better Making and Measuring of Malt,
1700, The Laws of the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts (1807) 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Act Enabling the Town-Councils of Each Town In
This State to Grant Licenses, 1728, The Public
Laws of the State of Rhode Island and
Providence Plantations (1798) oo.o.......sesssssssesseesseesees 14
Act of February 13, 1797, The Laws of the State
vo Luasactegipporni i giecsans foe er OL ale 13
Act Against Horse Racing, 1820, A Digest of the
Acts of the General Assembly of Pennsylvania
(1841) 14
POORER EEE EEE EEE HEHEHE HEHEHE HEHEHE EEE HEHE EEE EEEEHEEHEE EEE EH HEHEHE ES
Act to Lay A Duty on Strong Liquors, and For
Regulating Inns and Taverns, 1801, Laws of the
State of New York (1802) 12
Act for the More Effectual Suppressing and
Preventing of Lotteries, 1762, A Digest of the
Acts of the General Assembly of Pennsylvania
(1841) 14
SOPH HEHEHE EEE ESO SEH EESEES EEE EE SEEEEESEEEEE EEE EEEEEEEEEEHES ESE SEE SEES
Act to Prevent Frauds and Deceits in Selling Rice,
Pitch, Tar, Rosin, Turpentine, Beef, Pork,
Shingles, Stoves and Fire-wood, and to
> Regulate the Weighing of the Merchandise in
this Province, 1746, The Public Law of the
State of South Carolina (1790) 13
Act to Prevent Horse Racing, 1803, The Public
Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut {
(1808) 14
POPES ESE EE EH EE EEE EEEEEE SEES EEE ESOS SEES SESE EE EEEEE SEES EE ESSE EEEES ESSENSE
Act to Prevent Private Lotteries, to remit certain
Penalties, and to Repeal the Acts therein
Mentioned, 1783, Laws of the State of New
York (1802) 13
Act for the Prevention of Lotteries, 1792, The
Laws of Maryland (1811) 13
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Act for Punishing and Preventing Oppression, 1635
(amended 1730), The Public Statute Laws of
Connecticut (1808)
Act to Regulate the Exportation of Potash and Pearl
Ash, 1792, The Laws of Maryland (1811)
Act to Regulate Flax-Feed, Pot-ash and Pearl Ash
for Exportation, 1785, The Laws of the State of
New Hampshire (1797)
Act to Regulate the Practice of Physic and Surgery,
1783, Laws of the State of New Jersey (1783)
Act Regulating the Admission of Attornies, 1785,
The Laws of the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts (1785)
Act for Regulating the Exportation of Tobacco and
Butter, and the Weight of Onions in Bunches,
and the Size of Lime-Casks, 1785, The Laws
of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (1807)
Act Regulating Licensed Houses, 1791, The Laws
of the State of New Hampshire (1797)
Act for Regulating Ordinaries, Houses of
Entertainment and Retailers of Spirituous
Liquors, 1798, The Public Acts of the General
Assembly of North Carolina (1804)
Act for the Suppression of Lotteries, 1785, The |
Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
(1807), amended by Act of Feb. 28, 1801
Act for the Suppressing of Lotteries, 1791, The
Laws of the State of New Hampshire (1805)
Act for Suppressing and Preventing of Private
Lotteries, 1762, The Public Law of the State of
South Carolina (1790)
SREP ESHEETS HEEEEE EEE EEEHET EEE HEEEEE ESE EEE
SORE EERE EHR HHH HEHEHE HOHE H EET
SOSH E ESE EEHEEESE SEES EREHEE EEE E REESE EEE
eeeeceeseesesesese
Seeeeeeeeeeseesseseeses
eeeeeeosere
eeeeeeeee
SOSH E HEHEHE EEEESEEEEEH HEHEHE OEE OEE EEE ET
Page
12
eeeeeee
12
12
13
13
12
12
12
eeeeece
14
13
14
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued -
Page
Bill of Rights art. 22 (N.H. 1783) ooo cccccecsesseeseeseseeeees 12
California Penal Code § 311(4) (1872) ooo eeccecsessesseeees 22
California Penal Code § 317 (1872) ooo... sesssssessessseeseesees 21
California Penal Code § 323 (1872)... cessesssesessesseeees 21
Collection of All Such Acts of the General
Assembly of Virginia (1803) .0..o........ecssesssseeeseesssecenees 1
Compiled Laws of Kansas ch. 31, art. 14, § 338
PPI csaasiessessasibcissaiiciicncnadaagubestmmtsichediaia tabioadbees 22
Compiled Laws of Kansas ch. 31, § 342 (1885)... 21, 22
Compiled Laws of Nevada § 2498 (1873) .0....cscscsesee 21
Compiled Laws of the Territory of Utah, Penal
Code tit. 9, ch. 8, § 162(4) (1876) ooo ecceceee 21,22
Compiled Laws of the Territory of Utah § 2002
ip a REN EN ON ETN 21
Connecticut General Statutes tit. 12, ch. 2, § 25
ITP cctecescleecsciniescessieacelopu ies ocanilieaiadsiiediemadasaonesaein 21
Connecticut General Statutes tit. 12, § 150 (1866)... 21
Declaration of Rights (Del. 1776) ......csscssssctsessereneee 12
Declaration of Rights (Md. 1776) .....ssssssnstnese 12
Declaration of Rights (Mass. 1780) 0ooooo........sescsesssesseesseees 12
Declaration of Rights (N.C. 1776) ooo. ..escscssesssesseesesseeeees 12
Declaration of Rights (Pa. 1776)... .essecsesssessesseesseeseeees 12
Declaration of Rights § 7 (S.C. 1778)... escescsessseseesseens 12
Declaration of Rights ch. I, art. XH (Vt. 1793)... eseee 12
Declaration of Rights (Va. 1776) .oo........ssssssssecseeneeees 12, 16
Delaware Revised Statutes ch. 98, v. 12, § 6
(1874) 21
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Digest of the Acts of the General Assembly of
ST A MEI NS ie SURO EE REND 1]
Digest of Laws of Florida ch. 59, § 10 (1881) 0. 21
Digest of Laws of Florida ch. 80, § 4 (1881) oo 21
Georgia Constitution of 1798 art. TV, § Vio ceseeees 12
EE F OTE GID aco csiscccnssusescorecssvevsoveenseveravenvenses 21
Kentucky Revised Statutes ch. 28, art. 21, § 4
a, 21
| Ee eee 11
The Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
from November 28, 1780 to February 23,
ee aca nh tS RE nk OER DES acc Dade 11,14
The Laws of the State of New Hampshire (1797)... 1]
The Laws of the State of New Jersey (1800) ll
Laws of the State of New York (1802) ooo eteeeee LI
Laws of the State of Vermont (1797) ooo ceessseeseeeeees 1]
Maine Revised Statutes tit. 11, ch. 128, § 13
cst tN nO IT A OR DOTNET AR TEE 21
Maryland Code art. 30, § 114 (1860) oo eee 21
Maryland Laws ch. 179, § 2 (1868) ooo cceeeeeeeeeee 21
Massachusetts General Statutes ch. 165, § 10
“geese, OS MOTE EOC RD a ER POE ERP eo 21
Mississippi Revised Code § 2605 (1871) ooo ecscseseeee 21
New Jersey Revised Statutes, Crimes § 44 (1874)... 21
New York Revised Statutes ch. 20, tit. 8, § 53
ecg, PO OD OT OER RAE TERE 21
New York Revised Statutes pt. 4, ch. I, tit. 6, § 77
(1875) 22
SOPOT EO HEHEHE EEE EEE EEEEEHESE TESTE EEEE EEE EEE SEES EEEEEEEEEEE SEES ES
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
New York Revised Statutes pt. 4, ch. 1, tit. 6, § 78
(1875)
| RAE SERRE ER aCEn ARNE TES, eae
The Public Acts of the General Assembly of North
Carolina (1804)
The Public Laws of the State of Rhode Island and
Providence Plantations (1798)
The Public Statute Laws of the State-of Connecticut
(1808)
Rhode Island General Statutes ch. 232, § 23
(1872)
Vermont General Statutes ch. 119, § 7 (1870)
West Virginia Code ch. 149, § 11 (1868)
MISCELLANEOUS
Bruce Ackerman Constitutional Politics/
Constitutional Law, 99 Yale L.J. 453 (1989)
3 William Blackstone Commentaries (1769)
4 William Blackstone Commentaries (1769)
David S. Bogen The Origins of Freedom of
Speech and Press, 42 Md. L. Rev. 429
, (1983)
D. Boorstin, The Americans: The Colonial
Experience (1958)
SSSA ESEE SHEE EES EEE SHEESH ESSE EE EEEEEEEE SESE EEE EEE ORES EES
SHEESH EHETEEET ESE EHEESEEEEEEEEEEESEEEEEE SESE SEES SESE ROR E EEE
SHHHH SHEESH S ESSER SEES E HERE SESE HEE SESE SEER EERE ES
SSHSHSH SHEE SESE EEESE EEE ESSE ESEEE HEE EESO SESH EEE SESE RE SE SESE EES
SSSA HR SEES SHEE HE SESE SESE ESSE ESETE SESE EE SEES EEE SESE EE SESE RE SEES
SSSSSSSSSSS ESSE ESET ERES SHEE SESE SSSESEEESESEEES ESS ET ER EHO REE EE EES
SSSSSSSSHSSESES SSS HESESHSESESE SESE SESE ESE SESE
eeeeeeee
eeeeeeee
eeeeeece
eeeeeeee
eeeeeee
seeeeeee
seeeeeecee
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
6 The Complete Anti-Federalist (Herbert J.
Storing ed., 1981) 10
SSSA EEESEEE SESE EEE SESE EEE EEEEEEEESESERE REESE SEES
Verner W. Crane, /ntroduction to Benjamin
Franklin's Letters to the Press, 1758-1775
(Verner W. Crane ed., 1950) ooo cccccsscsssscessecsssesseees 5
Edwin Emery & Michael Emery, The Press and
ncasth cnn seeing OO ROT E aE RC Ea 5
G. Allen Foster, Advertising: Ancient Market
Place to Television (1967). .o......cc.ccsccssssssessesssessees 20
George French, 20th Century Advertising (1926)............. 23
Walton H. Hamilton, The Ancient Maxim Caveat
Emptor, 40 Yale L. Rev. 1133 (1931) oes 13
Richard Hofstadter, The Age of Reform (1955)... 24
Carol S. Humphrey, “7Jhat Bulwark of Our
Liberties”: Massachusetts Printers and the
Issue of a Free Press, 1783-1788, 14
Journalism Hist. 34 (1987) ooo... ecscsssesseesseeseseneceneenes I]
Matthew Josephson, The Robber Barons (1934) .......... 24
Morton Keller, Affairs of State (V977) ooo.....ccsssssesssneeees 19
Humard J. Kenner, The Fight for Truth in
vc site, 3 tags en ECE 24
Douglas W. Kmiec & John O. McGinnis, The
Contract Clause: A Return to the Original
Understanding, 14 Hastings Const. L.Q. 525
(1987) 27
Letter XVI, Jan. 20, 1788, in An Additional
Number of Letters from the Federal Farmer
to the Republican (1962) 18
PESSHSE SESH SSSE SEO HS ESSE SESE SE SESE E SESE EES
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Leonard W. Levy, Emergence of a Free Press
Leonard W. Levy, Freedom of the Press from
Zenger to Jefferson (Leonard W. Levy ed.,
1996)
John Locke, The Second Treatise on
Government (Thomas P. Peardon ed., Bobbs-
Mernill Ist ed. 17th prtg.1975) (1690) ooo sees
James Madison, 14 Papers of James Madison
(Robert A. Rutland & Thomas Mason eds.,
SO TPD seschnssibchiicuiatideniekaieaaeacepisasedeaianedsedlintales
John O. McGinnis, The Once and Future
Property-Based Vision of the First
Amendment, 63 U. Chi. L. Rev. 49 (1996)
Kent R. Middleton, Commercial Speech in the
Eighteenth Century, in Newsletters to
Newspapers: Eighteenth Century
Journalism 277 (Donovan H. Bond & W.
Reynolds McLeod eds., 1977) .ooooo.....esssssessssssesneeeeees
James C. Mohr, Abortion in America (1978)...
Frank Luther Mott, American Journalism—A
History of Newspapers in the United States
Through 250 Years: 1690-1960 (3d ed.
1963)
Eric Neisser, Charging for Free Speech: User
Fees and Insurance in the Marketplace of
Ideas, 74 Geo. LJ. 257 (1985) oo cessasesnssnsensecssenees
15 The Papers of Thomas Jefferson 367 (J. Boyd
Ay FOE csc ieitosssctatpinsteeiaiaenipciaindinemiaidiaeediaanaairs
Rudolph J.R. Peritz, Competition Policy in
America, 1888-1992 (1996)
SSSR SEES ESSE SEES SE SSEEEH EE ETEEEEESE SEES ESEEHESE ESET ESSE SEH ETE SES ESET
SOSH SSSSTESSEETSSSESE SE SESE SESE ESE ES
17
16
18
16
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Frank Presbrey, The History and Development of
Advertising (1929)
The Press and the American Revolution (B.
Bailyn & J.B. Hench eds., 1980) ooo...
Clinton Rossiter, Seedtime of the Republic (1953)...
Arthur Schlesinger, Sr., Prelude to Independence:
The Newspaper War on Britain 1764-1776
(1966)
Jeffrey A. Smith, Printers and Press Freedom:
The Ideology of Early American Journalism
(1988)
SECS SSH E SESE SEES ESE ESET EEE EEEEEEEEEEEESESEEEE SHEE EE EET
John Trenchard & Thomas Gordon, | Cato’s
Letters (Ronald Hamow ed., Liberty Classics
Daniel E. Troy, Advertising: Not Low Value
Speech, 16 Yale J. Reg. 85 (1999) oo.
William F. Walsh, A History of Anglo-American
Law (1932)
SPSS OSHS E ESE SE ESSE ESE SES SSE HEHEHE EE ESE EE EES ESE EEE EES
OR aerate ase tinntliak Accaichncehcrntparisercanccreces
2 Writings of Benjamin Franklin (Albert Henry
Smith ed., 1907)
David Yassky, Eras of the First Amendment, 91
Colum. L. Rev. 1699 (1991)
SSSHHSH ETOH OH ES ESE SESE EEE Ee
SHH SHE SETHE TE SEE ES ESESEEEEESSE SEE EEOEEHEEEEEEEEESEEEEEE SHEE EEE EEE ES
eee eeeeeee
eeeeeeeeecee
This brief is respectfully submitted pursuant to Rule 37 urging
the Court to reverse the decision below of the United States
Court of Appeals for the First Circuit on the grounds that
Massachusetts’ limitations on the public display of tobacco
advertising violate the Petitioners’ mnghts under the First
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States."
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The amici herein represent thousands of advertising agencies,
advertisers, and others who participate in the advertising industry,
as well as business organizations and individuals interested in
preserving freedom of speech. It is from this broad-based,
national perspective that amici present their views to the Court.
The amici are:
The American Advertising Federation (“AAF”), a national
trade association that represents virtually all elements of the
advertising industry. Among AAF’s members are producers and
advertisers of consumer products, advertising agencies, magazine
and newspaper publishers, radio and television broadcasters,
outdoor advertising organizations, and other media. AAF
members also include: twenty-one national trade associations;
more than 200 local professional advertising associations with
52,000 members; and more than 200 college chapters. AAF
members use virtually all forms of media to advertise and
communicate with consumers throughout the United States.
The Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America
(“Chamber”), the world’s largest federation of business
organizations and individuals. The Chamber represents an
underlying membership of more than three million businesses and
organizations, with 140,000 direct members of every size, in
every business sector, and from every geographic region of the
country. An important function of the Chamber is to represent
the interests of its members by filing amicus briefs in cases
' Counsel for both Petitioner and Respondents have consented to the
participation of the amici in this case, as evidenced by letters filed with
the Court pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37. No party wrote or
financially contributed to the preparation of tis brief.
involving issues of national concern to American business. This
brief is filed because full First Amendment protection to truthful
commercial messages about lawful products and services is a
matter of profound importance to the Chamier’s members.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The text and history of the First Amendment, as well as the
“Jong accepted practices of the American people,” support the
view that truthful commercial messages about lawful products
and services should be accorded the same constitutional
protection as is noncommercial speech. The text, of course, does
not distinguish between commercial and noncommercial aspects
of the press. The lack of a distinction for constitutional purposes
is confirmed by the practice of state legislatures at the time the
Bill of Rights was ratified. Although states regulated trade, the
only restrictions on advertising concerned the promotion of
unlawful activities. This absence of state regulation is consistent
with the colonial conception of a “free press,” which included
advertising, and with the Framer’s political philosophy, which
equated liberty and property. Full protection of commercial
speech is also consistent with the history of the First Amendment,
which was adopted in part to bar Stamp Acts that imposed taxes
directly on advertising.
Advertising grew essentially unchecked and unregulated
throughout the nineteenth century. While the number of states and
statutes increased, advertising was barred only where it
publicized unlawful products, services, or activities. In addition,
towards the end of the century, some restrictions limiting false
and misleading advettising were adopted. This Court’s treatment
of truthful advertising during and immediately after Reconstruction
did not distinguish between the treatment accorded other forms
of speech.
The Progressive Era witnessed both an increase in the power
of advertising and attempts to limit it. But even these attempts
overwhelmingly focused on ensuring that advertising was truthful
on commercial speech under the rubric of substantive due
process. This confusion of categories caused the Supreme Court
in Valentine v. Chrestensen, 316 U.S. 52 (1942), to
erroneously treat restrictions on advertising as economic
regulations subject only to rational basis scrutiny.
That error, which is in part perpetuated by this Court’s
continued distinction between commercial and noncommercial
speech, conflicts with the “long accepted practices of the
American people.” Those practices—particularly state legislative
practice at the times the First and Fourteenth Amendments were
ratified—support the contention that truthful commercial
messages about lawful products and services are entitled to full
First Amendment protection. Under that standard, the advertising
restrictions at issue here are plainly unconstitutional.
ARGUMENT
This case involves a challenge to Massachusetts’ restrictions
prohibiting virtually all outdoor advertising of tobacco products
(including indoor advertising visible from the street) within a
broadly defined distance of any “park,” “playground,” or
“school,” as well as certain point-of-sale advertising regardless of
its outdoor visibility. These rules apply even if the ads are truthful,
even though they concem a lawful product, and even if most of
the people who are exposed to a particular advertisement are
adults. Massachusetts argues that these regulations are
constitutional because of the need to protect children from
positive images of tobacco products. The State’s argument stems
from the perception that commercial speech occupies some
“subordinate position in the scale of First Amendment values.”
Board of Trustees of the State Univ. of N.Y. v. Fox, 492 U.S.
469, 477 (1989). This “subordinate position” is exemplified by
this Court’s decision in Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp.
v. Public Service Commission, 447 U.S. 557 (1980). Amici
demonstrate herein that, throughout most of this nation’s history,
the American people made no distinction between commercial
and noncommercial speech.
Amicus AAF previously addressed the importance of
advertising to the historical development of the American press
and the concept of free speech. See, e.g., Brief of Amici Curiae
American Advertising Federation, et al., 44 Liqguormart, Inc. v.
Rhode Island, 517 U.S. 484 (1996) (filed July 6, 1995).
Because those points were not fully addressed in the 44
Liquormart opinion, amici bring them again to the Court’s
attention. In 44 Liquormart, the Court acknowledged the
importance of historical context in unanimously striking down a
state prohibition on advertising of liquor prices. See id. at 495
(plurality opinion of Stevens, Kennedy, Souter & Ginsburg, J.J.).
Justice Thomas, relying in part on the historical analysis of amici,
rejected the notion that there was any “philosophical or historical
basis for asserting that ‘commercial’ speech is of ‘lower value’.
than ‘noncommercial’ speech.” Jd. at 522 (Thomas, J.,
concurring in part and concurring in the judgment) (citing Brief of
Amici, American Advertising Federation, et al.).
Justice Scalia, concurring in the judgment, noted his
“discomfort with the Central Hudson test,” and his “aversion
towards paternalistic governmental policies that prevent men and
women from hearing facts that might not be good for them.” Jd.
at 517 (Scalia, J., concurring in the judgment). Justice Scalia
found the historical material submitted by AAF, ef al.,
“consistent with First Amendment protection for commercial
speech, but certainly not dispositive.” Jd. He stated that “the long
accepted practices of the American people” were central to
interpreting the First Amendment, including (1) state legislative
practices at the time the First Amendment was adopted; (2) state
legislative practices at the time of adoption of the Fourteenth
Amendment; and (3) “any national consensus that had formed
regarding state regulation of advertising after the Fourteenth
Amendment, and before this Court’s entry into the field.” Jd. at
517-18.
In this brief, amici curiae review the relevant history in an
effort to address these issues. The amici respectfully submit that
the state legislative history and practice, like the available
evidence surrounding the understanding of the generation of the
Framers, support the proposition that, until relatively recently, the
American people did not recognize a distinction in the protections
afforded “commercial” and “noncommercial” speech, other than
the advertising of illegal activities and the protections afforded
against fraudulent or misleading claims.’
I. FULL PROTECTION OF COMMERCIAL
SPEECH IS CONSISTENT WITH THE
ORIGLNAL UNDERSTANDING OF THE FIRST
AMENDMENT AND THE PREVALENCE AND
IMPORTANCE OF ADVERTISING AT THE
TIME OF THE FRAMING.
The development of a free press and of a commercial,
advertising-driven press are inextricably linked. See Verner W.
Crane, Introduction to Benjamin Franklin’s Letters to the
Press, 1758-1775, at xi, xvi (Verner W. Crane ed., 1950) (“It
was a commercial age, and it produced a commercial press.”’).
As a result, the modem distinction between “commercial”
messages and other forms of speech would not have occurred to
colonial Americans.
A. Advertising Was an Integral Part of the
“Press” in Colonial America.
The interrelationship between editorial and advertising content
in the eighteenth century press illustrates the fallacy of
differentiating for constitutional purposes between commercial
and noncommercial speech. American newspapers began to
emerge only as colonial business and industry began to grow. See
Edwin Emery & Michael Emery, The Press and America 18
(1978). As small industries developed a need to inform the public
of their wares, printers began publishing newspapers to spread
that information. As one commentator observed, “[wl]ell before
1800 most English and American newspapers were not only
supported by advertising but they were, even primarily, vehicles
for the dissemination of advertising.” James Playstead Wood,
? For a more comprehensive discussion of the historical origins of the
First Amendment and its application to commercial speech, see Daniel E.
Troy, Advertising: Not Low Value Speech, \6 Yale J. Reg. 85 (1999). The
California Supreme Court recently relied on the historical evidence
presented here and in that article to find commercial speech entitled to full
protection under the California Constitution. See Gerawan Farming, Inc.
v. Lyons, 101 Cal. Rptr. 2d 470 (2000).
The Story of Advertising 85 (1958). Advertising was a major
impetus and means for establishing regularly published
newspapers in colonial America.
The majority of advertisements appearing in colonial
newspiapers would be considered “commercial speech” today.
“The colonial press regularly carried reputable medical
advertisements, as well as those for books, cloth, empty bottles,
corks, and other useful goods and services.” Kent R. Middleton,
Commercial Speech in the Eighteenth Century, in
Newsletters to Newspapers: Eighteenth-Century Journalism
277, 282 (Dononvan H. Bond & W. Reynolds McLeod eds.,
1977). Without these advertisements, the colonial press so
important to the Revolutionary cause would have been less
vibrant, if it existed at all because, like today, “[a]dvertising
the chief profit margin in the newspaper business.”
Frank Luther Mott, American Journalism—A History of
Newspapers in the United States Through 250 Years: 1690-
1960 56 (3d ed. 1963).
Among the goals of the first attempted colonial newspaper
was the promotion of “Businesses and Negotiations.” Publick
Occurrences, Both Foreign and Domestick, Sept. 25, 1690, at
1, quoted in Frank Presbrey, The History and Development of
Advertising 119 (1929). The inaugural issue of the first
successful American newspaper contained the following
solicitation: |
This News-Letter is to be continued Weekly,
and all Persons who have Houses, Lands,
Tenements, Farms, Ships, Vessels, Goods,
Wares or Merchandise, &c to be Sold or Let;
or Servants Run-Away, or Goods Stole or
Lost; may have the same inserted at a
Reasonable Rate.
Boston Newsletter, Apr. 24, 1704, quoted in Wood, supra, at
45. The next week’s issue of the Boston Newsletter contained
paid éntries that sought the return of two lost anvils, offered a
bounty for capturing a thief, and listed a “very good Fulling Mill
to be Let or Sold” in Oyster Bay, New York. Jd. at 45-46.
——$———__—_
tt
When the New Hampshire Gazette was launched in 1756,
its publisher said that the paper would:
contain Extracts from the best Authors on
Points of the most useful Knowledge, moral,
religious, or political Essays, and such other
Speculations as may have a Tendency to
improve the Mind, afford any Help to Trade,
Manufactures, Husbandry, and other useful
Arts, and promote the public Welfare in any
Respect.
New Hampshire Gazette, Oct. 7, 1756 quoted in Jeffrey A.
Smith, Printers and Press Freedom: The Ideology of Early
American Journalism 49 (1988). True to its word, the Gazette,
like the other newspapers of its day, carried everything from
price lists to political philosophy. See Lawerence C. Wroth, The
Colonial Printer 234 (1938). Often, more than half of the
standard colonial newspaper was taken up by advertising. In
1766, 70% of Hugh Gaine’s New-York Mercury consisted of
advertising. See A. Lee, The Daily Newspaper in America 32
(1937).
The first daily newspaper in the United States was established
in 1784 primarily as a medium for advertising. When the
Pennsylvania Packet and General Advertiser wiutally
appeared, ten of its sixteen columns were filled with
advertisements. See Presbrey, supra, at 161. The name of this
paper (as well as that of New York’s first daily, The New-York
Daily Advertiser), reflected the common understanding that
commercial advertisements were as much a part of the news of
the day (and the purpose of the press) as reports of government
activity. The Boston, New York, and Philadelphia newspapers,
like most dailies in these years, “used page one for advertising,
sometimes saving only one column of it for reading matter.” Mott,
supra, at 157.
Also, for much of the colonial era, newspapers did not use
layout techniques or differences in typeface to provide a visual
~ distinction between the two; they were regarded as of equal
interest to readers and treated the same. See Middleton, supra,
at 281. As one advertising historian observed:
Advertisements had as much interest as the
news columns, perhaps greater interest, for they
were more intimately connected with the
readers’ daily life than were the foreign items
. that made up so large a part of the news.
Arrival of a new cargo of food or drink, or
tools, likely was what the man, home from a
reading at the coffee house or tavern, talked
about at his fireside rather than the reception of
a new envoy at some court in Europe.
Presbrey, supra, at 154. Advertisements were also thought to
ae ae ae os ee ee
public. In the words of prominent printer-historian Isaiah
Thomas, editor of a pro-Revolutionary newspaper:
[A]dvertisements are well calculated to enlarge
and enlighten the public mind, and are worthy of
being enumerated among the many methods of
awakening and maintaining the popular
attention, with which more modem times,
beyond all preceding example, abound.
History of Printing in America with a Biography of Printers,
and an Account of Newspapers (1810), quoted in D. Boorstin,
The Americans: The Colonial Experience 328 (1958). As a
source of information to the population and income to colonial
printers, advertising was influential and plentiful during the latter
part of the colonial era.
B. \ The Absence of Advertising Restrictions Is
Consistent with the Colonial Conception of a
“Free Press” That Included Advertising.
1. The challenges to early Stamp Acts
evidence the colonial conception of a
“free press” including advertising.
Given the eighteenth-century equation of liberty and property
and the prevalence of advertising in colonial America, it is not
surprising that the very idea of a free press evolved in close
connection with the development of advertising. Indeed, one of
the major catalysts of the American Revolution involved a
defense of advertisements.
As this Court has recognized, one of the best-known
statements in defense of a free press—Benjamin Franklin’s
famous Apology for Printers—was written in to an
attack on an advertisement printed by Franklin.” Onginally
published in the June 10, 1731, edition of the Pennsylvania
Gazette, Franklin’s Apology contended that “Printers are
educated in the Belief that when Men differ in opinion, both Sides
ought equally to have the Advantage of being heard by the
Publick.” An Apology for Printers (1731), reprinted in 2
Writings of Benjamin Franklin 174 (Albert Henry Smith ed.,
1907). To Franklin, even those “opinions” in advertisements
should be “heard by the Publick.” Thus, America’s first sustained
defense of a free press, and of the very notion of a “marketplace
of ideas,” came in response to an attack on a classic example of
what is now called commercial speech.
In addition, the British Stamp Act of 1765 assessed a tax on
each printed copy of a newspaper and added a two shilling tax
for each advertisement therein. As one commentator noted,
“{(B]y any standard [this amount] was excessive, since the
publisher himself received only from 3 to 5 [shillings] and still less
for repeated insertions.” Arthur Schlesinger, Sr., Prelude to
Independence: The Newspaper War on Britain 1764-1776 68
> In 1731, Benjamin Franklin printed a politically incorrect advertising
notice that was distributed as a stand-alone commercial handbill. The
paper proposed a commercial transaction by seeking additional freight
and passengers for a ship. At the bottom of the advertisement was the
note, “No Sea Hens nor Black Gowns will be admitted on any Terms.” An
Apology for Printers (1731), reprinted in 2 Writings of Benjamin
Franklin 176 (Albert Henry Smith ed., 1907). This handbill outraged the
local clergy (the “Black Gowns”). In response to attacks, Franklin
published his Apology which was at that time, “[b]y far the best known
and most sustained colonial argument for an impartial press.” S. Botein,
“Printers and the American Revolution,” in The Press and the American
Revolution 20 (B. Bailyn & J.B. Hench eds., 1980).
10
(1966). This tax galvanized the colonial press against the British
government:
Stamp duties also, imposed on _ every
commercial instrument of wnting—on literary
productions, and, particularly, on
newspapers, which of course, will be a great
discouragement to trade; an obstruction to
useful knowledge m_ arts, _ sciences,
agriculture, and manufactures; and a
prevention of political information throughout
the states.
Objections by A Son of Liberty, New York J., Nov. 8, 1787,
reprinted in 6 The Complete Anti-Federalist 34, 36 (Herbert
J. Storing ed., 1981) (emphasis in orginal). The opposition of
newspapers was based largely, if not primarily, on their concern
that the tax encroached on the freedom of expression.* Thus, the
repeal of the Stamp Act of 1765 one year after it had been
enacted “was a powerful victory for an independent press and
for advertising.” Presbrey, supra, at 151.
After the Revolution, and only five years after adopting a state
constitution explicitly guaranteeing freedom of the press,
Massachusetts enacted a similar stamp tax on newspapers and
newspaper advertisements. See Eric Neisser, Charging for
Free Speech: User Fees and Insurance in the Marketplace of
Ideas, 74 Geo. L.J. 257, 264 (1985) (citing Clyde A. Duniway,
The Development of Freedom of Press in Massachusetts
132-36 (1966)). These taxes were widely denounced as, in
printer Isaiah Thomas’s words, an “unconstitutional restraint on
the Liberty of the Press.” Isaiah Thomas, Essex J., Apr. 19,
* In reacting to the Stamp Act, the Town of Worcester directed its
representatives in the Massachusetts Assembly to “take special care of
the LIBERTY OF THE PRESS.” Schlesinger, supra, at 70; see also Conn.
Gazette, quoted in id. (enjoining its readers that “[t}he press is the test of
truth, the bulwark the public safety, the guardian of freedom, and the
people ought not to sacrifice it”); New York Gazette or Wkly Post-Boy,
Nov. 7, 1765, quoted in id. at 77 (flaunting its motto, “The United Voice of
all His Majesty’s free and loyal subjects in America—LIBERTY,
PROPERTY, and no STAMPS.”) (emphasis in original).
1]
1786, quoted in Carol S. Humphrey, “That Bulwark of Our
Liberties”: Massachusetts Printers and the Issue of a Free
Press, 1783-1788, 14 Journalism Hist. 34, 37 (1987). The 1786
repeal of the ad tax was considered a triumph for press freedom.
Id.; see also Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233,
248 (1936) (noting that “(t]he framers were likewise familiar with
the then recent Massachusetts episode; and . . . that occurrence
did much to bring about the adoption of the [First
Amendment]’).
2. State trade regulations restricting
unlawful products and services only
show that the colonial conception of a
“free press” included advertising.
The practices of state legislatures around the time of the First
Amendment’s ratification further evidence that the Framers’
generation did not distinguish between the constitutional status of
commercial and noncommercial speech.° Indeed, state statutes in
effect at this time did not restrict truthful commercial messages
about lawful products or services.° Rather, consistent with the
* All powers not delegated to Congress were reserved to the people
and the states. See U.S. Const. amends. IX, X. The First Amendment
explicitly limited Congress's authority over speech and the press. As
such, it is unlikely that the federal government was granted greater power
to restrict speech than existed in the states. The fact that, as discussed
below, state legislatures did not regulate truthful advertising of lawful
products and services suggests that the federal government could not
regulate such speech because advertising was regarded as within “the
freedom of speech and of the press.”
6 This conclusion rests upon a review of the compilations of
ratification-era statutes for each state closest in date to 1791. The Public
Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut (1808); Laws of Maryland
(1811); The Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts from
November 28, 1780 to February 23, 1807 (1807); The Laws of the State of
New Hampshire (1797); The Laws of the State of New Jersey (1800); Laws
of the State of New York (1802); The Public Acts of the General Assembly
of North Carolina (1804); Digest of the Acts of the General Assembly of
Pennsylvania (1841); The Public Laws of the State of Rhode Island and
Providence Plantations (1798); The Public Law of the State of South
Carolina (1790); Laws of the State of Vermont (1797); Collection of All
Such Acts of the General Assembly of Virginia (1803). All compilations
12
constitutions of the ten states that explicitly protected the freedom
of the press,’ advertising was limited only when used to promote
products, services, or activities that were themselves unlawful.
Early statutes show efforts to regulate merchants and
shopkeepers,* liquor and taverns,’ potash,'° malt,'' a variety of
commodities,'” attomeys,'* and doctors.'* Among other things,
(..continued)
are available at The Edward Bennett Williams Law Library, Georgetown
University Law Center. Contemporaneous compilations for Delaware and
’ Declaration of Rights para. 23 (Del. 1776); Ga. Const. of 1798 art. IV,
§ V; Declaration of Rights para. 38 (Md. 1776); Declaration of Rights para.
XVI (Mass. 1780); Bill of Rights art. 22 (N.H. 1783); Declaration of Rights
para. 25 (N.C. 1776); Declaration of Rights para. 12 (Pa. 1776); Declaration
of Rights § 7 (S.C. 1778); Declaration of Rights ch. I, art. XIII (Vt. 1793);
Declaration of Rights para. 12 (Va. 1776). Pennsylvania and Vermont
connected that provisicn to protection for freedom of speech. See
generally David S. Bogen, The Origins of Freedom of Speech and Press,
42 Md. L. Rev. 429, 441 n.55 (1983). Of the remaining four states in
existence when the Bill of Rights was ratified, two—Rhode Island and
Connecticut—had not drafted state constitutions; two others—New York
and New Jersey—did not provide specific state constitutional guarantees
of freedom of press and speech. See Leonard W. Levy, Emergence of a
Free Press 189 (1985).
* See, e.g., Act for Punishing and Preventing Oppression, 1635
(amended 1730), The Public Statute Laws of Connecticut 544 (1808).
* See, e.g., Act Regulating Licensed Houses, 1791, The Laws of the
State of New Hampshire 373-76 (1797); Act to Lay A Duty on Strong
Liquors, and For Regulating Inns and Taverns, 1801, Laws of the State of
New York 439-43 (1802); Act for Regulating Ordinaries, Houses of
Entertainment and Retailers of Spirituous Liquors, 1798, The Public Acts
of the General Assembly of North Carolina 122-23 (1804).
'° See, e.g., Act to Regulate the Exportation of Potash and Pearl Ash,
1792, The Laws of Maryland 191-92 (1811); Act to Regulate Flax-Feed,
Pot-ash and Pearl Ash for Exportation, 1785, The Laws of the State of
New Hampshire 377-79 (1797).
'' See, e.g., Act for the Better Making and Measuring of Malt, 1700,
The Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 186 (1807).
'? See, e.g., Act for Regulating the Exportation of Tobacco and Butter,
and the Weight of Onions in Bunches, and the Size of Lime-Casks, 1785,
The Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 320-23 (1807); Act to
13
these statutes required _ licenses, prevented charging of
unreasonable prices, and set standards for inspection and
weighing of commodities. The statutes surveyed, however, reveal
no restrictions on the right of these regulated industries to
advertise lawful products and services. Sellers were left to their
own creativity in seeking to attract attention to their wares. And
buyers were protected against potentially false or misleading
claims by the common law, tempered by the doctrine of caveat
emptor. See, e.g., Borrekins v. Bevan, 3 Rawle 23, 27 (Pa.
1831) (“[A] sample, or description in a sale note, advertisement,
bill of parcels, or invoice, is equivalent to an express warranty
that the goods are what they described.”); see also infra Section
1.B.3; see generally Walton H. Hamilton, The Ancient Maxim
Caveat Emptor, 40 Yale L. Rev. 1133 (1931).
The sole limitations placed on advertising restricted the
promotion of certain prohibited activities. For example, during
the period surrounding the ratification of the Bill of Rights, several
states prohibited or restricted lotteries as well as their
advertisement and promotion. '° Massachusetts, for example,
(..continued)
Prevent Frauds and Deceits in Selling Rice, Pitch, Tar, Rosin, Turpentine,
Beef, Pork, Shingles, Stoves and Fire-wood, and to Regulate the
Weighing of the Merchandise in this Province, 1746, The Public Law of
the State of South Carolina 208-10 (1790).
'3 See, e.g., Act Regulating the Admission of Attornies, 1785, The Laws
of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 318-19 (1785).
'4 See, e.g., Act to Regulate the Practice of Physic and Surgery, 1783,
Laws of the State of New Jersey 7-8 (1783).
S See, e.g., Act for the Prevention of Lotteries, 1792, The Laws of
Maryland 189-90 (1811) (prohibiting lotteries as well as their “propos[al]
to the public,” absent permission of the legislature); Act for the
Suppressing of Lotteries, 1791, The Laws of the State of New Hampshire
339 (1805) (separate penalties for setting up a lottery and “aiding or
assisting... by printing, or any other ways publishing an account
thereof”); Act of Feb. 13, 1797, § 1, The Laws of the State of New Jersey
227-28 (1800) (fining those who print, write or publish any account of
where tickets are available, or who “expose to public view,
any ... advertisement or advertisements of or concerning such lottery”);
Act to Prevent Private Lotteries, to remit certain Penalties, and to Repeal
the Acts therein Mentioned, !783, Laws of the State of New York 35-38
14
enacted a statute in 1785 declaring that, with respect to
unauthorized—and therefore illegal—lotteries, the act imposed
penalties separate fines for setting up lottery and “aiding and
assisting in any such lottery, by printing, writing, or in any other
manner publishing an account thereof, or where the tickets may
be had.” Act for the Suppression of Lotteries, 1785, The Laws
of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 252-53 (1807),
amended by Act of Feb. 28, 1801, id. at 8-9 (specifying a fine
to be levied upon anyone who “shall aid and assist in any lottery
established, or erected in any other of the United States, by
advertising any Tickets of such lottery for sale, or by publishing
the scheme for any such lottery’’).
A handful of states prevented the advertisement of other illegal
activities. For example, Connecticut and Pennsylvania prohibited
staging and advertising horse races. See Act to Prevent Horse
Racing, 1803, The Public Statute Laws of the State of
Connecticut 381-82 (1808); Act Against Horse Racing, 1820, A
Digest of the Acts of the General Assembly of Pennsylvania 450-
51 (1841). And Rhode Island prohibited the erection of a sign
“for the keeping of a public house” without first obtaining an
innkeeper’s license. Act Enabling the Town-Councils of Each
Town In This State to Grant Licenses, 1728, The Public Laws of
the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 391-94
(1798). Despite these regulations, however, the state legislatures
were not opposed to advertising in general.
(..continued)
(1802) (providing penalties for being “in any ways concerned” with
lotteries not authorized by the state, including “printing, writing, or any
other ways publishing an account thereof”); Act for Suppressing and
Preventing of Private Lotteries, 1762, The Public Law of the State of
South Carolina 256-67 (1790) (fining anyone “who shall make, write, print
or publish, or cause to be written or published, any scheme or proposal”
for a private lottery). Only Pennsylvania completely outlawed lotteries
(and their advertisement). See Act for the More Effectual Suppressing
and Preventing of Lotteries, 1762, A Digest of the Acts of the General
Assembly of Pennsylvania 584-85 (1841) (setting 20 pound fine for, inter
alia, advertising or causing to be advertised any lottery).
teppei
15
x Common law exceptions to free
commercial speech involving false or
misleading speech show that the
colonial conception of a “free press”
included advertising.
The First Amendment was adopted against the background of
a venerable common-law tradition prohibiting commercial
misrepresentation (as well as the torts of libel and slander). Sir
William Blackstone acknowledged that “every kind of fraud is
equally cognizable in a court of law.” 3 William Blackstone
Commentaries *431 (1769). Justice Joseph Story’s treatise
Equity Jurisprudence addressed that “old head of equity,” the
law of misrepresentation, in detail:
Where the party intentionally, or by design,
misrepresents a material fact, or produces a
false impression, in order to mislead another, or
to entrap or to cheat him, or to obtain an undue
advantage of him; in every sense there is a
positive fraud in the truest sense of the terms.
Joseph Story, Equity Jurisprudence § 192 (1836). That liability
could accompany this category of speech demonstrates that it
was beyond what was understood to be constitutionally
protected. A proposed draft of the First Amendment by Thomas
Jefferson shows that the free press envisioned by the Framers did
not encompass the publication of falsehoods—commercial or
noncommercial: “The people shall not be deprived or abridged of
their right to speak or to write or otherwise to publish any thing
but false facts affecting injuriously the life, liberty, property or
reputation of others or affecting the peace of the confederacy
with foreign nations.” 15 The Papers of Thomas Jefferson 367,
367 (J. Boyd ed., 1958).
Advertisements of unlawful products were also outside the
scope of constitutional protection. According to Blackstone, the
common law considered it a criminal offense to “procure,
‘counsel, or command another to commit a crime.” 4 William
Blackstone Commentaries *36 (1769) (defining an accessory
before the fact); The King v. Higgins, 102 Eng. Rep. 269, 276
16
(K.B. 1801) (“A solicitation or inciting of another, by whatever
means it is attempted, is an act done; and that such an act done
with a criminal intent is punishable by indictment has been clearly
established by... several cases.”); see generally Pittsburgh
Press Co. v. Pittsburgh Comm'n on Human Relations, 413
U.S. 376 (1973). Advertising unlawful products could thus be
prohibited at common law as solicitation to commit a crime.
4. Fully protecting advertising is
consistent with the Framers’ political
philosophy, which equated liberty and
property.
The inextricable link between commercial and other speech is
also reflected in the Framers’ political philosophy, which
generally equated liberty and property nghts. In seventeenth and
eighteenth century England there were two reigning justifications
for free expression: the idea that free speech “was an instrument
to some collective good” and the notion that free speech was a
“natural property nght of the individual.” John O. McGinnis, The
Once and Future Property-Based Visien of the First
Amendment, 63 U. Chi. L. Rev. 49, 58 (1996).
In this tradition, freedom of speech and property nghts were
seen as essential parts of an individual’s liberty, an understanding
derived from the wnitings of John Locke, who defined the “state
of perfect freedom” as the ability of people “to order their actions
and dispose of their possessions and persons as they think fit,
within the bounds of the law of nature, without asking leave or
depending upon the will of any other man.” John Locke, The
Second Treatise on Government 4 (Thomas P. Peardon ed.,
Bobbs-Merrill Ist ed. 17th prtg. 1975) (1690).'° As one
newspaper commentator put it, “Liberty and Property are not
only join’d in common discourse, but are in their own natures so
nearly ally’d that we cannot be said to possess the one without
'© George Mason’s Virginia Declaration of Rights evidences this
Lockean linkage of liberty and property, stating that among the natural
rights of man was “the Enjoyment of Life and Liberty, with the Means of
acquiring and possessing Property, and pursuing and obtaining
Happiness and Safety.” Declaration of Rights para. 1 (Va. 1776).
17
the enjoyment of the other.” Boston Newsletter, Feb. 16, 1772,
quoted in Clinton Rossiter, Seedtime of the Republic 379
(1953).
The libertarian Cato drew on Locke in equating liberty and
property.'’ Applying this view to the freedom of expression,
Cato articulated the importance of free speech and its
inextricable link with property nghts:
This sacred Privilege is so essential to free
government, that the security of property, and -
the freedom of speech, always go together; and
in those wretched countries where a man
cannot call his tongue his own, he can scarce
call anything else his own.
John Trenchard & Thomas Gordon, 1 Cato’s Letters 110
(Ronald Hamow ed., Liberty Classics ed. 1995) (1720-23)
(Essay No. 15, Of Freedom of Speech: That the Same is
Inseparable from Publick Liberty, Feb 4, 1720).
Distinguishing between the value of commercial and
noncommercial speech thus would never have occurred to the
Framers, who essentially regarded all rights, including the nght to
free speech, as a form of property mght shielded from
government interference. James Madison, the drafter of the First
Amendment, echoed Locke and Cato, writing:
In its larger and juster meaning, [property]
embraces every thing to which a man may
attach a value and have a night; and which
leaves to every one else the like advantage.
'? Cato’s Letters were published from 1720 to 1723 and widely
circulated in the colonies as “the most popular, quotable, esteemed
source of political ideas in the colonial period.” Rossiter, supra, at 141.
His articulation of the tie between property rights and free speech was
enormously influential in colonial America. See Smith, supra, at 25. In
fact, Cato’s Essay on Free Speech, first printed in America by Benjamin
Franklin in 1722, contained the seed of the First Amendment’s press
clause. See generally Leonard W. Levy, Freedom of the Press from
Zenger to Jefferson 3 (Leonard W. Levy ed., 1996)).
18
In the former sense, a man’s land, or
merchandize, or money is called his property.
In the latter sense, a man has a property in
his opinions and the free communication of
them.
James Madison, Property, The National Gazette, Mar. 27,
1792, reprinted in James Madison, 14 Papers of James
Madison 266-68 (Robert A. Rutland & Thomas Mason eds.,
1983) (1792) (emphasis in original).
This linkage of liberty and property nghts strongly suggests
that colonial Americans viewed the First Amendment as
protecting far more than political speech. As one contributor
writing under the pseudonym ‘Philalethes” declared in Boston’s
Herald of Freedom in 1788, that Americans:
are nurtured in the ennobling idea that to think
what they please, and to speak, write and
publish their sentiments with decency and
independency on every subject[. This]
constitutes the dignified character of Americans.
Boston Herald of Freedom, Sep. 15, 1788, quoted in Smith,
supra, at 19. Commercial matters were to be counted among the
“subjects” to which the freedom of speech obtained. As leading
Anti-Federalist Richard Henry Lee said in his demand for a bill of
rights, “A free press is the channel of communication as to
mercantile and public affairs.” Letter XVI, Jan. 20, 1788, in An
Additional Number of Letters from the Federal Farmer to
the Republican 151-53 (1962). In keeping with the recognition
that the Framers sought to guarantee advertising as a critical part
of the press, the text of the First Amendment does not distinguish
between commercial and noncommercial aspects of the press.
19
Il. THE PERVASIVENESS OF ADVERTISING AND
STATE LEGISLATIVE PRACTICE AT THE
TIME OF PASSAGE OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE
VIEW THAT COMMERCIAL SPEECH IS
ENTITLED TO FULL FIRST AMENDMENT
PROTECTION.
An examination of state legislative practices at and around the
time the Fourteenth Amendment was ratified confirms that truthful
messages about lawful products or services are entitled to full
protection. This period marked a robust increase in the
prominence and utility of advertising. States, while adopting some
restrictions on advertising that reflected the general shift from the
common law tradition to statutory law, see, e.g., Morton Keller,
Affairs of State 347 (1977), continued to focus their regulatory
efforts on limiting advertising for illegal products and services. '*
A. Commercial Speech Was an Integral Part of
American Life During Reconstruction.
Advertising was “vigorous and thriving by the mid-nineteenth-
century mark.” Wood, supra, at 158. As one publisher in 1847
observed, “advertising is news. People wanted to read it just as
much as they wanted to read the reports of the day’s
happenings.” Jd. at 159-60. To illustrate, a typical issue of the
New York Herald in 1860 carried thousands of small-space
advertisements. Like many of its colonial counterparts, its front
page bore no editorial matter, only advertising. See id. at 166-
167; Mott, supra, at 397-98, 593-94. Only the intense interest
in the Civil War supplanted advertising as the front-page material
in most papers. See Mott, supra, at 397; Presbrey, supra, at
259. Nonetheless, even in 1869, the New York Herald typically
'8 This conclusion rests upon an examination of all state codes
published closest to 1868. For states with less frequently published
codes, the last code published before 1868 and the first one published
after 1868 were examined to determine the state of the law at the time of
incorporation. The Territorial Codes of Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and
New Mexico were also examined. The State Code of Wisconsin could not
be found, but the codes of the other thirty-seven states admitted to the
union by 1880 were examined.
20
held eight columns of news, and fifty columns of advertising. See
Wood, supra, at 169.
Although the Civil War may have pushed advertising from the
front page, advertising’s demonstrated ability to sell Union war
bonds led to a vast expansion in its use. See Presbrey, supra, at —
253. A year after the Civil War ended:
Every rock with surface broad enough, and
facing in a direction from which it could be
seen, and every cliff which some adventurous
painter had been able to climb was daubed
over with signs. Every fence, every unoccupied
building, the boardings around every large
construction site, even the New York
curbstones, shouted advertising messages.
Fences along the highways and railroad rights of
way wore advertising in letters from six inches
to two feet high. Bridges, especially covered
bridges, bore huge advertising signs.
Wood, supra, at 182; see Presbrey, supra, at 255.
Advertising’s prominence also led to other innovations
including the first advertising agent in 1841, the first newspaper .
directory in 1869 and the first market survey in 1879. See G.
Allen Foster, Advertising: Ancient Market Place to Television
48-49, 126-31 (1967); Wood, supra, at 142. In 1867, Galaxy
Magazine described advertising in the United States as having
arrived at the point at which:
the names of successful advertisers have
become household words where great poets,
politicians, philosophers and warniors of the
land are as yet unheard of; there is instant
recognition of Higg’s saleratus and Wigg’s soap
even where the title of Tennyson’s last work is
thought to be ‘In the Garden,’ and Longfellow
understood as the nickname of a tall man.
Presbrey, supra, at 255. Advertising had become a major part
of American culture.
21
B. State Legislative Practice During
Reconstruction Is Consistent with Full First
Amendment Protection for Truthful
Commercial Speech Promoting Lawful
Products and Services.
As advertising emerged as an increasingly powerful societal
force, state governments allowed it to grow unchecked, primarily
restricting the promotion of illegal products or services only.'”
The few existing advertising restrictions were aimed at the
illegality of the advertised conduct, rather than advertising itself.
For example, Delaware prohibited advertising by unlicensed
lottery retailers. Del. Rev. Stat. ch. 98, v. 12, § 6 (1874).
Similarly, Vermont barred the advertising of lotteries “not
authorized by the law of this state or of the United States.” Vt.
Stat. tit. 34, ch. 119, § 7 (1870).
In response to an aggressive anti-abortion campaign beginning
in the 1840s, many states adopted extensive abortion restrictions.
See James C. Mohr, Abortion in America 147-170 (1978).
Some laws penalized “{e]very person, who shall, by publication,
lecture . . . or by advertisement, or the sale or circulation of any
publication, encourage or prompt the commission of [a
miscarriage].” Conn. Gen. Stat. tit. 12, ch. 2, § 25 (1866).”°
° For example, as before, a number of states restricted lottery
advertising. See, e.g., Cal. Penal Code § 323 (1872); Conn. Gen. Stat. tit.
12, § 150 (1866); Del. Rev. Stat. chap. 98, v. 12, § 6 (1874); Digest of Laws
of Fla. ch. 80, § 4 (1881); Iowa Code § 4043 (1873); Compiled Laws of Kan.
ch. 31, § 342 (1885); Ky. Rev. Stat. ch. 28, art. 21, § 4 (1860 & Supp.); Me.
Rev. Stat. tit. 11, ch. 128, § 13 (1884); Md. Code art. 30, § 114 (1860); Miss.
Rev. Code § 2605 (1871); Compiled Laws of Nev. § 2498 (1873); N.Y. Rev.
Stat. ch. 20, tit. 8, § 53 (1875); Or. Gen. Laws, Crim. Code, ch. 8, § 661
(1874); Compiled Laws of the Territory of Utah § 2002 (1876); Vt. Gen.
Stat. ch. 119, § 7 (1870).
© See also Cal. Penal Code § 317 (1872); Digest of Laws of Fla. ch. 59, §
10 (1881); Compiled Laws of Kan. ch. 31, § 342 (1885); Md. Laws ch. 179,
§ 2 (1868); Mass. Gen. Stat. ch. 165, § 10 (1860); NJ. Rev. Stat., Crimes
§ 44 (1874); N.Y. Rev. Stat. pt. 4, ch. 1, tit. 6, § 78 (1875); Ohio Rev. Stat.
ch. 2732, § 1 (1860 & Supp.); R.L. Gen. Stat. ch. 232, § 23 (1872); Compiled
Laws of the Territory of Utah, Penal Code tit. 9, ch. 8, § 162(4) (1876).
Notably, these restrictions applied with equal force to all speech
regarding abortion, commercial or noncommercial.
22
Other then-illegal products or activities that could not be
advertised included prize fights,”' and obscene books.”
Similarly, West Virginia, New York, and Kansas, like their
modern counterparts, barred obscene advertising. See W. Va.
Code ch. 149, § 11 (1868); N.Y. Rev. Stat. pt. 4, ch. I, tit. 6, §
77 (1875); Compiled Laws of Kan. ch. 31, § 342 (1885).
Despite the absence of legislation barring false and misleading
advertising of lawful products and services, as advertising
increased, so too did the recognition that, if false, it could cause
harm. Beginning around 1864, certain more successful
newspapers refused to accept ads for questionable medicines
and quacks. See Wood, supra, at 180. Many papers warned
their readers against disreputable advertisers. In 1872, the
national government enacted regulations to restrict the
dissemination of fraudulent ads through the mail.”
To the extent that this Court addressed issues relating to
advertising during and immediately after Reconstruction, its
decisions were consistent with the view that advertising should be
accorded the same protection as other forms of speech. To
illustrate, in Ex parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727 (1877), the Court
held that Congress’s 1868 ban on the advertising of lotteries by
mail did not violate the First Amendment. The opinion primarily
dealt with Congress’s power over the postal system, stating that
“{t]he nght to designate what shall be carried necessarily involves
the nght to determine what shall be excluded.” Jd. at 732. But
this Court treated lottery advertisements in the same way that it
treated material that today would be fully protected.
Compiled Laws of Kan. ch. 31, § 338 (1885).
* Cal. Penal Code § 311(4) (1872); Compiled Laws of the Territory of
Utah, Penal Code tit.9, ch. 8, § 162(4) (1876).
* See Act of June 8, 1872, ch. 335, 17 Stat. 283 (codified at 39 U.S.C.
§ 3005 (1994)) (authorizing the Postmaster General, after a hearing, to
issue a Fraud Order directing the local postmaster to cease delivering mail
or paying postal money orders addressed to a merchant determined to
have fraudulently obtained money or property via mail).
23
Ill. LESSER PROTECTION FOR COMMERCIAL
SPEECH IS A TWENTIETH-CENTURY
PHENOMENON THAT HAS ITS ORIGINS IN A
DISENCHANTMENT WITH ECONOMIC
LIBERTIES AND CONFUSION WITH
ECONOMIC SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS.
A. The Pervasiveness of Advertising Grew in
the Early Twentieth Century.
Advertising experienced unprecedented growth and prestige
in the early twentieth century.”* By 1898, a survey by the Press
and Printer of Boston counted 2,583 companies that advertised
in regular periodicals of general circulation. See Presbrey, supra,
at 362. Advertisements during World War I helped to sell $24
billion in war bonds to 22 million Americans and raise $400
million for the Red Cross. See id. at 565. One observer
remarked:
Advertising did not win the war, but it did its bit
so effectively that when the war was over
advertising . . . had the recognition of all
governments as a prime essential in any large
undertaking in which the active support of all
the people must be obtained for success.
Id. at 566.
As was the case after the Civil War, this widespread
recognition of the power of advertising in war was not lost on
manufacturers and retailers when peace retumed. Total
investment in advertising soared from $1.5 billion in 1918 to
4 The 1904 St. Louis World’s Fair recognized the growth of the
industry and staged “Ad-Men’s Day” with a meeting grandly named
“The International Advertising Association.” George French, 20th
Century Advertising 119 (1926). Professionalization of advertising
continued with the creation of the Advertising Federation of America,
which was formed in 1905. See Wood, supra, at 335. Other advertising
groups were formed later, including the New York Advertising League in
1906 and the American National Advertising Managers in 1910. See
French, supra, at 131, 141.
24
almost $3 billion in 1920 and continued to grow throughout the
decade. See Wood, supra, at 364-365.”°
B. _Disenchantment with Advertising Became
Apparent as a Result of Reform
Movements and the Great Depression.
As the Gilded Age gave way to the Progressive Era and the
notion that civil liberties differed from economic liberties began to
take hold, disenchantment with unfc.iered capitalism, and
advertising, grew. See Matthew Josephson, The Robber Barons
445-53 (1934); see generally Richard Hofstadter, The Age of
Reform (1955). Magazines that had once accepted patent
medicine advertisements—such as the Ladies Home Journal
and Collier’s—led the charge in 1904 and 1905 against the
fraudulent claims made by the industry.”* See Wood, supra, at
327-30, 332. Some papers, including the Scripps-McRae
League of Newspapers, appointed censors to scrutinize all
advertising copy for questionable claims. See id. at 334. The
public outcry against adulterated and dangerous foods and drugs
ultimately led to the passage of the Pure Food and Drugs Act of
1906, which forced manufacturers to justify their claims and list
product ingredients. See id. at 333.
Because of these and other concerns, the advertising industry
in 1911 pushed for a model statute barring “untrue, deceptive, or
misleading” advertising. Hurnard J. Kenner, The Fight for Truth
in Advertising 28 (1936). By 1920, thirty-seven states had
adopted the Advertising Federation of America’s model antifraud
statute, see Wood, supra, at 336, which largely represented a
codification of long-standing common-law restrictions on false or
*S Part of this growth stemmed from the use of radio as a new
advertising medium. Although the first radio ad did not air until 1923, by
1929 the industry received an estimated $15 million in advertising
revenues for its roughly 500 broadcast stations. See Presbrey, supra, at
$78.
© Other targets of early reformers included billboards and other
advertising perceived to be littering the landscape and testimonial
advertising by celebrities who did not disclose that a fee had been paid
for their endorsement. See Wood, supra, at 347, 392-93.
25
misleading commercial messages. See William F. Walsh, A
History of Anglo-American Law 328-329 (1932).
The Depression hit advertising hard in terms of both income’
and, perhaps more importantly, in public esteem. See Wood,
supra, at 418. Cnitics charged that advertising was wasteful,
merely adding to the consumer’s cost. See id. at 424.
Advertising was attacked because:
There had to be a villain. Advertising as the
public voice of industry and business was
obvious and accessible to attack. Advertising
had been used to urge people to expenditures
they could not afford, to lure with false
promises, to lull into false security. Advertising
was to blame, and shrill cries arose for its
‘hilat
Id. at 418.** This national mood during the Depression spurred
calls for increased restrictions on advertising. The federal
government aggressively responded to the perceived excesses of
advertising through New Deal enactments.””
”” Following the stock market crash, advertising revenues tumbled from
$3.4 billion in 1929 to $1.3 billion in 1933. See Wood, supra, at 417.
** Public skepticism about the role of advertising in the American
economy rose significantly. The consumers’ movement formed during
this era, producing best-selling exposés of advertising practices with
such lurid titles as 100,000,000 Guinea Pigs, Eat, Drink and Be Wary,
and Partners in Plunder. See Wood , supra, at 419-420.
* Indeed, Professor Bruce Ackerman has argued that these and other
changes brought about by the New Deal amounted to a decisive
watershed in constitutional law. See Bruce Ackerman, Constitutional
Politics/Constitutional Law, 99 Yale L.J. 453, 510-514 (1989); we also
David Yassky, Eras of the First Amendment, 91 Colum. L. Rev. 1699
(1991) (defining the New Deal as one of three “First Amendment Eras”).
26
in The Incorrect Association of Advertising
and Economic Liberties Led to the
Misguided Distinction Between Commercial
and Noncommercial Speech.
Although disenchantment among the body politic with
economic liberties led to increased state regulation of the
economy, this Court initially dampened that sentiment, employing
the doctrine of substantive due process to strike down many
state laws. Before 1919, the Court treated political speech as
subject to the states’ police power, power from which economic
activities were relatively free. But:
The Court did not treat all speech as a political
activity subject to government ordinance.
Some speech was protected as a valuable
economic activity . . . . ‘[F]ree trade in ideas’
became a commercial canon long before it
would become the metaphorical key to
constitutional protection of political speech.
Rudolph J.R. Peritz, Competition Policy in America, 1888-
1992, at 100-01 (1996). In contrast to the First Amendment,
which this Court had not treated as applicable to constrain state
power, the Fourteenth Amendment’s due process clause was
interpreted to apply to the states.*°
Thus, most judicial challenges during this period to restrictions
on advertising relied on a substantive due process claim that the
restrictions interfered with the pursuit of a lawful business rather
than advancing First Amendment claims. For example, in Halter
v. Nebraska, 205 U.S. 34 (1907), this Court upheld a state law
barring use of the American Flag on beer bottles. The parties
failed even to raise a First Amendment challenge, and instead
relied on a due process claim. State courts during this period
also analyzed, and in many cases invalidated, challenges to
*© It was not until 1931 that this Court first held that the First
Amendment applied to the states. See Stromberg v. California, 283 US.
359, 368 (1931).
27
advertising regulations under the rubric of substantive due
process.”"
By the time the Court decided Valentine v. Chrestensen,
316 U.S. 52 (1942), however, in which it first stated that
advertising was outside the protection of the First Amendment,
the notion of substantive due process had been rejected, and
review of economic legislation reduced to “rational basis”
scrutiny.” Valentine’s dismissive treatment of commercial
speech seems most closely linked to the Court’s rejection of
economic substantive due process, rather than any evaluation of
the First Amendment guarantees envisioned by the Founders.
Thus, what has been said about the Contracts Clause may be
said about the protection of commercial speech: “misinterpreted
as a form of economic substantive due process, [protection of
commercial speech] was wrongly discredited when that doctrine
[of substantive due process] was rightly discarded.” Douglas W.
Kmiec & John O. McGinnis, The Contract Clause: A Return
to the Original Understanding, 14 Hastings Const. L.Q. 525,
526 (1987).
3! See, e.g., Seattle v. Proctor, 48 P.2d 238, 239 (Wash. 1935) (striking
down a city statute compelling businesses to disclose “the number of
such . . . [articles] and the lowest price at which each of said articles were
offered for sale to the public prior to said advertisement”); Ware v.
Ammon, 278 S.W. 593, 595 (Ky. Ct. App. 1925) (holding unconstitutional a
bar on advertising by dry cleaners without the fire marshal’s permission
to engage in business); see also State ex rel. Booth v. Beck Jewelry
Enterprises, Inc., 41 N.E.2d 622, 626 (Ind. 1942) (“Truthful price
advertising is a legitimate incident to a lawful merchandising business.
Deprivation of the right so to advertise has been held to violate the due
process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.”) (citations omitted).
2 See, e.g., West Coast Hotel Co. v. Parrish, 300 U.S. 379 (1937);
United States v. Carolene Products Co., 304 US. 144, 152 (1938)
(“[R]Jegulatory legislation affecting ordinary commercial transactions”
was not “to be pronounced unconstitutional unless .. . it [does not rest]
upon some rational basis.”); see also Yassky, supra, at 1729-1730
(describing the West Coast Hotel line of cases as legitimizing the activist
state and repudiating the prior era’s constitutionalization of rights to
property and contract). But see Needham v. Proffitt, 41 N.E. 606, 608 (Ind.
1942) (striking down statute prohibiting funeral directors from advertising
under state free speech guarantee).
28
Thus, the differentiation between commercial and
noncommercial speech is properly understood as an outgrowth
of twentieth-century disenchantment with property nghts and
economic liberties, and the mislabeling of advertising as a
substantive due process night rather than a First Amendment
freedom. The distinction between commercial and
noncommercial speech, however, is inconsistent with the text and
history of the First and Fourteenth Amendments, as well as with
the long-standing “traditions of the American people.”
IV. THIS PROPOSED INTERPRETATION OF THE
FIRST AMENDMENT WILL NOT
DRAMATICALLY ALTER THE COURT’S
FIRST AMENDMENT JURISPRUDENCE.
Removing the distinction between commercial and
noncommercial messages is consistent with most commercial
speech cases this Court has decided. Indeed, in most cases, the
Court has found restrictions on commercial speech to be
unconstitutional. See, e.g., Greater New Orleans Broadcasting
Ass'n v. FCC, 527 U.S. 173 (1999) (holding that the First
Amendment protects broadcast advertisements for casino
gambling and gambling-related activities when _ those
advertisements are broadcast from states that permit such gaming
activities); 44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island, 517 U.S. 484
(1996) (striking down complete statutory ban on price
advertising for alcoholic beverages); Rubin v. Coors Brewing
Co., 514 U.S. 476 (1995) (invalidating a federal law barring
brewers from displaying alcoholic content of their beers on the
products’ labels); Edenfield v. Fane, 507 U.S. 761 (1993)
(striking down a restriction preventing Florida CPAs from
making uninvited in-person visits of telephone calls to potential
clients); City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc., 507
U.S. 410 (1993) (striking down a ban prohibiting newsracks
used to distribute commercial handbills on public property). This
analysis would also have the impact of avoiding the anomalous
results that the Central Hudson test occasionally allows. See,
e.g., Posadas de Puerto Rico Assocs. v. Tourism Co. of
Puerto Rico, 478 U.S. 328 (1986).
29
The proposed interpretation would not, however, prevent
govemment regulation of false and misieading advertising. As
shown, the First Amendment has always been understood to
allow regulation of such speech. This view is consistent with
Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens
Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976), where this
Court granted First Amendment protection to commercial speech
but held that the government had the power to ensure that
commercial messages were not false or misleading. See id. at
771-72 n.24. Similarly, the government would not be prohibited
from restricting advertising of illegal products and services.”
Thus, affording commercial speech full protection is consistent
with the traditional understanding of the First Amendment and is
not contrary to the established precedents of this Court.
V. MASSACHUSETTS’ RESTRICTIONS ON
TRUTHFUL MESSAGES ABOUT A LAWFUL
PRODUCT ARE PROHIBITED BY THE FIRST
AMENDMENT.
Assessed under the proper level of scrutiny accorded fully
protected speech, Massachusetts’ restrictions are clearly
unconstitutional.** The presence of some children in the audience
cannot justify these sweeping restrictions. This does not mean
that a bar on tobacco ads in Boy’s Life or My Weekly Reader
would be unconstitutional. But the government cannot restrict a
3 Products and services that could not be advertised in the colonial
and Reconstruction eras were prohibited in their entirety €.g., horse-
racing and lotteries). Such activities, when lawful, could be advertised.
There is no basis for relying on such statutes to uphold advertising
restrictions on products that may lawfully be marketed to the
overwhelming majority of the population. See Eimann v. Soldier of
Fortune Magazine, Inc., 880 F.2d 830, 837 (Sth Cir. 1989) (noting that
protection of commercial speech “would disappear if its protection
ceased whenever the advertised product might be used illegally”).
As the Petitioners’ brief conclusively demonstrates, however,
assessed under the Central Hudson analysis, Massachusetts’
restrictions are unconstitutional. See Petitioners’ Brief. Certainly, if the
regulations were invalid under this lower level of scrutiny, they would fail
under the more searching review required for fully protectea speech.
30
truthful message about a lawful product merely because some of
those exposed to the message about that product may not
lawfully purchase it. Moreover, Massachusetts’ regulations are
not sufficiently narrowly tailored to serve the government’s
interest.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons set forth herein, the Court should reverse the
First Circuit’s decision. In the process, the Court should make
clear that commercial speech is to be accorded the same level of
constitutional protection as noncommercial speech.
Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel
Wallace S. Snyder Daniel E. Troy
Jeffry L. Perlman Counsel of Record
AMERICAN ADVERTISING Kristina R. Osterhaus
FEDERATION WILEY, REIN & FIELDING
1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W. 1776 K Street, N.W.
Suite 500 Washington, D.C. 20006
Washington, D.C. 20005 (202) 719-7000
Robin S. Conrad
NATIONAL CHAMBER
LITIGATION CENTER, INC.
1615 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20062
Counsel for Amici Curiae
February 22, 2001
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.