Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Connor v. Henderson
Supreme Court brief2000
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
“~ \
Fn of 7e Court, U.S,
LED
00 562 AUG 7-200
No.
ientunti OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
CHARLES R. CONNOR,
Petitiener
Vv.
WILLIAM HENDERSON, POSTMASTER GENERAL
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE
Respondent
On the Petition For Writ Of Certioran
To The Fifth Circuit Court Of Appeals
Charlie R. Connor, pro se
950 East 8th Street
Ferris, Texas 75125-2810
972-842-2422
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
- Whether a six-year interval between the completion of a Title
VII case in a United States District Court and the rendering of
the Final Decision by the Presiding Judge constitutes
impermissible delay-thereby entitling Plaintiff to reversal or
new trial.
- Whether the Plaintiff-Petitioner was entitled to have his
question answered as to what impact his filing of a Complaint
of Judicial Misconduct or Disability against the presiding
judge had upon the timing and manner in which the decision
was rendered.
Whether the Plaintiff-Petitioner was entitled to an analysis and
answer to the factual question of whether. the requisite
credibility of approximately twenty witnesses, including
Plaintiff-Petitioner could be properly ascertained after a lapse
of almost six-years from the dates of their testimony and the
date the final decision was rendered.
_
Whether the fact that Agericy Officials repeatedly took
unwarranted and unduly harsh disciplinary actions against
Plaintiff-Petitioner should have been given weight in
determining whether discrimination had in fact occurred.
Whether the fact that Postal Service Officials violated
Plaintiffs rights under the Privacy Act and numerous of his
other civil and constitutional rights constitutes grounds for _
reversal or new trial.
. Whether Postal Service Officials were required to obey its own
Policies, Rules, Regulations and the Laws and Statutes of the .
United States.
Whether District Court committed reversible error when it
failed to grant Plaintiff injunctive Relief that was requested
early on in this case.
ii
8. Whether District Court committed clear, and therefore
reversible error when it failed to exercise its Court of Equity
powers to make awards to Plaintiff in numerous proven
instances of wrongful treatment by Agency Officials.
9. Whether District Court committed reversible error when it
failed to apply the Unclean Hands Doctrine in determining the
credibility of the testimony of Agency Officials and its star
witness-Dr. Skinner.
10. Whether District Court committed reversible error in allowing
Postal Service Officials and its agents to suborn and commit
perjury with impunity throughout the proceedings.
iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED—
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-
OPINIONS BELOW.
JURISDICTION:
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STAUTES—-
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
ARGUMENT
CONCLUSION
Pages
tii
17
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Pages
Cases
Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Sicoco, C.A.N.Y., 1949
174 F. Ed. 360 12
Gaddy v. Abex Corp., C.A. 7(IIL) 1989,
884 F.2d 312 12
In re Potter Instrument Co., Inc. Bkptcy. N.Y. 1981, — |
15 B.R. 202 12
Reddit v. Mississippi Extended Care Center, Inc.,
718 F.2d 818 (5™ Cir. 1983) 11
Smith v. Texas Dept. of Water Resources, 99 F.2d
181 (5" Cir. 1983) 11
State of Illinois Dept. Public Aid v. Heckles,
616 F. Supp. 620, Affirmed 808 F. 2d 571 (D.C.
Ill. 1985) 16
Statutes
United States Supreme Court Rule No. 10---------- 7
Federal Rules of Civil Procedures No. 1------------ 8
Federal Rules of Civil Procedures No. 52(a)------- 10
Federal Rules of Civil Procedures, No. 35--------- 14
Vv
Federal Rules of Civil Procedures, No. 63 11
Title 5 US.C. § 552(a)iX1)- oon. £3
Constitution |
Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution — 1
Other(s) =
Clean Hands Doctrine, Black’s Law Dictionary (7 Ed.)— 16
1
OPINIONS BELOW
The OPINION of the United States Court of Appeals and
its ORDER denying Petition For Rehearing are reproduced in the
Appendix at App. 1 and App. 5 respectively.
The United States District Court's Findings Of Fact And
Conclusions Of Law and its Final Judgement and Order are
reproduced in the Appendix at App. 1 and App. 6 respectively.
JURISDICTION
This Petition For Writ Of Certiorari is submitted in
accordance with Rule 10 of Part I of Rules of The Supreme
Court Of the United States.
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
U. S. Constitution, Amendment IV. The right of the people
to be secure in their persons, houses, papers and effects, against
unreasonable searches and scizures shall not be violated, and no
' ‘Warranties shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by
Oath or Affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be
Searched, and the persons or things to be seized.
The various Statutes applicable to the Petition are listed at
page iv of this Petition.
tv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The history of this case is long, convoluted and
torturous. It was initially filed on March 13, 1985. Its genesis
dates back to 1979 when Charlie R. Connor, then having
served as a highly successful Level 16 Station Manager started
applying for promotion to Level 18 Station Manager job
vacancies at stations located in the Dallas Post Office
Management Sectional Center. Each time for various alleged
reasons he was not promoted. In October 1979 two Level 18
vacancies were posted. Connor submitted his application in
accordance with the accompanying instructions and standard
procedures.
Notwithstanding the fact that Connor was _ highly
recommended by his immediate superior, and notwithstanding
the fact that the Review Board, whose duty was to screen the
applications, determined that he was highly qualified and
referred him to the selecting officials, along with other
applicants also considered to be qualified, he was not
promoted to either of the level 18 jobs.
After being informed that he did not receive a promotion,
Connor requested and was granted a meeting with Glen Smith
and Charles Flagg the Officials who made the decisions as to
who received the two promotions. During the mecting the
only reason given Connor by Smith and Flagg as to why he
was not promoted was that he did not know what his Station's
MPDs (Minutes Per Delivery) were at the time.
Viewing Flagg’s and Smith's explanation as being
pretexual, Connor reminded them that all of their previous
3
promotees to level 18 positions had been Level 17
Superintendents of Station Operations and then Level 16
Station managers in order of length of time they had served
in those positions. Connor also reminded them that he was
the only exception to that clearly established and enunciated
policy.
Having received no hope of redress during his mecting
with Flagg and Smith, Connor shortly thereafter contacted
the Office of Postal Service EEO Counselors. On April 3,
1980 Connor filed a formal discrimination complaint
essentially charging the Dallas Post Office with
discriminatory promotional practices against him in
particular and Blacks generally as it related to Station
Manager jobs.
A hearing on Connor's discrimination complaint was
held before an EEOC Attorney-Examiner on May 21-22,
1982. The EEOC Attorney-Examiner ruled against Connor
and the Postal Service issued its final decision on October 15,
1982. Connor made a timely appeal of that decision to the
EEOC Board of Review and Appeals. That appeal was still
pending before the EEOC Board when Connor filed his
original Title VII Complaint No. 3-85-0517 in Federal
District Court on March 13, 1985.
The record clearly shows that up until the time Connor
filed his discrimination complaint, he had compiled an
impeccable record during his twenty years of Postal Service
employment. Nevertheless; shortly afterwards his status
declining. Not long thereafter his longtime impeccable
4.
In order to correctly delineate this case it is necessary to
point out that it followed a two-track course of litigation.
One course was being adjudicated in U.S. District Court in
response to Connor's Title VII case. The other course was
being pursued in various administrative venues.
__ Listed below and in chronological order are the major
pleadings submitted during the 14 years that Connor's initial
Title VII Complaint was pending in District Court through
the appeal to and issuance of the Final Judgment by the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeal on May 9, 2000. During the time
Connor's case No.3:85-CV-517-T, (R.1-6)', was pending five
amended complaints as well as a second civil action that was
consolidated with the first one was filed
The Court entered the interlocutory orders dismissing
Certain claims and a final judgment on all remaining claims
on April 28, 1999 after a bench trial that ended in May, 1993.
R88, 224, 501, 845, 1322.
First, on May 13, 1985 Connor, along with two other
plaintiffs, - filed a first Amended Complaint-Class Action,
alleging classwide racial discrimination agaimst Black
Supervisors by the Dallas Post Office. R7-16.
On March 31, 1987, the Court issued an Order granting
summary judgment in part and granting leave to amend in
Part, in response to previous submitted pleadings. R-224-26.
' (References to the thirteen-volume record on Appeal in Case No. 3:8-
CV-517-are designated by "R” followed by the pertinent page number(s)
(References to the one volume record of the second case (No. 3-90-3844-6
are ¢ ssignated ("2R").
S
Connor filed a Second-Amended Complaint in May 1987
and a Third Amended Complaint in February 1988. R. 227-31,
248-53. In December 1988 Connor filed a Fourth oman
Complaint.
On December 18, 1990, Connor filed another case against
the Postal Service. 2-R1. This action, Case No. 3-90-3844-G,
sought the District Court's review of a decision of the Merit
Systems Protection Board (MSPB), which upheld his June
1990 removal from the Postal Service. tt
Pursuant to Defendant's motion, on February 26, 1991, the
District Court consolidated the second civil action with action
No. 3-85-0517-T. R. 1085-89; 2-R21. Connor's Fifth
‘ Amended Complaint was filed on December 23, 1991. R.1196-
1204. The District Court conducted a trial of Connor's civil
actions on April 19-23, and May 3, 1993.
In February and September 1997 Connor filed requests
that a status conference be held to determine whether
additional filings by the parties might aid he Court in rendering
a decision. R.11314-17. In February 1998 Connor filed a
—=_. eee
the case. R.1318.
6
The Fifth Circuit Court concluded the Compliant against Judge
Maloney was now moot since the decision had now been
issued. On May 19, 1999 Connor filed a Petition For review
of the Order concluding that his Complaint was moot.
Connor's petition was premised on the contention that the
timing and manner in which the Final Decision was issued
made it apparent that the decision was used as an instrument of
retaliation in response to Connor's complaint.
In an Order dated September 15, 1999 an Appellant Review
Panel of the Judicial Council of the Fifth Circuit Affirmed the
previous Order concluding the complaint against Judge
Maloney. ,
In a letter dated June 25, 1999 Connor gave proper and
timely notice of Appeal of the District Court Order to the Fifth
Circuit Court.
On September 29, 1999 Connor’s appeal brief was filed.
On November 22, 1999 Appellee's brief was filed. On
December 9, 1999 Appellant's reply brief was filed. On
February 21, 2000 the Fifth Circuit Court issued its Opinion
and Order affirming the judgment of the District Court.
On April 5, 2000 Connor filed a Petition For Rehearing.
On May 9, 2000 Connor's Petition For Rehearing was denied.
ARGUMENT
The Petition For Writ Of Certiorari is based on ten
questions presented this Court for review. However, the .
gravamen of this case-the root-cause from which those ten
questions are derived is the six-year interval between the May
3, 1993 trial ending and the April 28, 1999 date that the
District Court issued its. Decision.
7
It is apparent that such unexplained delay was so at variance
with the required standards of judicial conduct and competence as
to constitute grounds for reversal. It just is not humanly possible
that the same Court which could not render a decision promptly
after the trial ended-while testimony and other trial evidence were
fresh in mind-could render one so quickly following the filing of
Connor's judicial misconduct complaint. It should especially be
considered that during the six-year interval, Petitioner submitted
three pleadings to the Court in an effort to elicit a Decision. Those
pleadings were ignored, as were numerous inquiries by phone.
Had the District Court rendered its Decision in a reasonable
period of time, then Petitioner's Complaint of Judicial Misconduct
or Disability would not have been filed; and thereby the hasty and
erroneous Court Decision and the concomitant questions listed in
this Petition would not have had to be raised. .
Rule 10 of the Supreme Court Rules states in pertinent part as
follows: “Review on a Writ of Certiorari is not a matter of right,
but of judicial discretion. A petition for Writ of Certiorari will be
granted only for compelling reasons. The fol‘owing, although
neither controlling nor fully measuring the .Court's discretion,
indicate the character of the reasons the Court considers: (a) A.
United States Court of Appeals has entered a decision in conflict
with the decision of another United States court of appeals on the
same important matter, has decided by a state court of last resort;
or has so far departed from the accepted and unusual course of
judicial proceeding, or sanctioned such a departure by a lower
court, as to call for an exercise of this Court's supervisory power."
Indeed the District Court and the Appeals Court in this
instance have departed from the required standards of judicial
conchict as to make necessary the exercise of this Court's
supervisory powers. Pro se Petitioner mostly in layman terms shall
set forth the most egregious acts of judicial misconduct committed
against petitioner by the District Court and concurred by the
certiorari should be granted. Therefore, Petitioner shall set forth
his argument for certiorari in the same sequence as those Questions
Presented For Review.
1. The questions pertaining to the six-year interval between the
end of Connor’s trial and the rendering of the decision were never
answered to by cither the District Court or Appeals Court. Connor
arduous odyssey through District Court was embodied in the
Courts long delayed decision dated April 28, 1999.
The Federal Rules of Civil Procedures states thusly: Rule L
Scope of Rules-these rules govern the procedure in the United
States District Courts in all suits of a civil nature whether
cognizable as cases at law or in equity or in admiralty, with the
exceptions stated in Rule 81. They shall be construed to secure the
just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of every action.
It is highly apparent that allowing Connor's case to languish in
District Court for cight years before holding a trial and then
waiting six-years after the conclusion of the trial to render a
decision constitute a serious violation of Rule I. Petitioner
implores this Court to grant certiorari based on this violation alone,
and thereby answering the question as to what constitutes
reasonable and permissible delay.
2. It is highly apparent that the filing of a Judicial Complaint of
Misconduct or Disability was the precipitating factor in ending the
six-year delay in rendering a decision after the completion of the
trial on Connor’s case. It is also highly apparent that the District
Court’s decision was useif as an instrument of reprisal against
Connor for having filed the Complaint. This is highly inferred by
the tone and timing of the Court's ruling.
acknowledge or respond in any way to cither of these
Notwithstanding the six-year delay and the indications by
Court employees that the Judge was on numerous occasions
working very hard on Connor's case, the Decision shows
absolutely no evidence that it had been arrived at after being
subjected to the required analytic and deliberative process. In
fact a comparison between th: Court's Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law. (R.1322) and the Proposed Findings of
Fact and Conclusions of Law submitted by the Defendant
(R.1275-45) shows the former to be almost an exact replica of
the latter.
inescapable inference is that the District Court totally
ignored Connor's case for six-years and upon being notified
that a Complaint had been filed-hastily and vindictively
retrieved Defendant's proposed Findings Of Fact and
Conclusions of Law and used them as a basis for formulating
his ruling against Connor.
10
Both the District Court and the Appeals Court failed to
address the issues contained in Questions Presented For
Review No. 2. Surely this court will consider the apparent
misconduct indigenous of this question to be so serious as to
justify granting certiorari on this question alone.
3. Ina Title VII case proceeding; the Presiding Judge is both
the trier of fact and law. As trier of fact the credibility of
witnesses is a key factor. In credibility determinations
behavior traits such as the degree of fugitiveness, eye contact,
voice inflection, and body language should be closely observed
and carefully evaluated.
Rule 52(a) of the Rules of Civil Procedure states in
pertinent part: Findings of Fact, whether based on oral or
documentary evidence, shall not be set aside unless clearly
erroneous, and due regard shall be given to the opportunity of
the trial court to judge the credibility of the witnesses." It just
is not humanly possible to judge the credibility of each of the
twenty or so witnesses that testified during Connor's trial after
a six-year interval. The truth of the preceding statement is so
apparent as to obviate the need of having to document it with
case law or legal precedents. However, Petitioner does remind
the Court that in all jury trials the deliberative process starts
shortly after the trial ends. The jury is not allowed to go on
Se SO Es ES DOR ey Oey
at hand before reaching a verdict.
It is clear that the intent of Rule 52(a) is to make sure that
all evidence is carefully examined and the credibility of all
witnesses is determined before findings of fact are arrived at.
It is clear that the District Court could not have reached the
threshold requirements of Rule 52(a) due to the six-year lapse
of time between trial ending and the Decision.
1]
The Fifth Circuit Court has consistently made rulings that
stress the importance of adhering to Rule 52(a) in matters relating
to pretext, oral and documentary evidence, and credibility of all
witnesses. In Reddit v. Mississippi Extended Care Center, Inc. 718
F.2d 181 (1983), the Court ruled in pertinent part as follows:
"(1) District Court's conclusionary findings as to whether black
and white employees of nursing home were treated differently was
inadequate to support dismissal, particularly in view of substantial
record evidence on issue of whether assertedly legitimate
nondiscriminatory reasons proffered by employer were, in fact,
mere pretext. In Smith v. Texas Dept. Of Water Resources, 99
F.2d 1026 (5*. Cir. 1986). The Court stated as follows: "After trial
to the court, judgment was rendered for the Defendants based on
written Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. Because the
findings lack the required specificity to permit effective Appellant
Review, we vacate the judgment and remand for further
proceedings." Also, Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a) requires
the trial court to "find the facts specially." The findings must be
explicit enough to allow for Appellant Review." "If the trial court
believes the employer's explanation of its motivation, the courts
may not merely state, the conclusory terms, that the plaintiff has
failed to prove the employer's suggested reason to be a pretext for
invidious discrimination or the that there is no evidence of
discriminatory treatment. It must at least refer to the evidence
tending to prove and disprove the merits of the proffered
explanation and state why the court reached the conclusion that the
explanation had not been discredited."
Because it deals with testimony and other evidence Rule 63 of
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure is also applicable to Petitioner's
case and is stated in pertinent part as follows: Rule 63. Inability of
a_Judge to proceed: In a hearing or trial without a jury, the
successor judge shall at the request of a party recall any witness
whose testimony is material and disputed and who is available to
testify again without undue burden. The successor judge may also
recall any other witness.
12
’ The six-year interval between trial ending and decision
rendering constitutes substantive evidence that the District Court.
either because of disability or misconduct, demonstrated an
inability to proceed toward the completion of Connor's case. Such
inability is grounds for reversal based on the clearly erroneous _
criterion.
Although Appellant cannot cite a Rule 63 case that deals
specifically with six-year time lapse unique to Connor's case, there
are numerous cases that clearly weigh against delays and any other
practice inimical to fair and expeditious rendering of all decisions.
Some of those cases in summarized form are cited below:
"District Judge, who, after abrupt retirement of trial judge,
received sex discrimination case after trial and upon plaintiffs
motion to amend findings of fact or for new trial and upon
defendant's motion for sanctions against plaintiff and her attorneys,
did not abuse his discretion in granting motion for new trial;
District Judge was unable to observe parties and their counsel at
trial, and noted that findings of fact were inconsistent and trial
judge had disclosed conflict of interest." Gaddy v, Abex Corp..
C.A. 7(TlL) 1989, 884 F.2d 312, and "Where testimony of
defendant and his witness was sufficient to support finding for
defendant, but facts raised a suspicion as to verity of their
testimony, and Judge to whom case was referred after death of
Judge who heard testimony, and who made finding in favor of
defendant did not see witnesses, court of appeals would reverse
finding and award a new trial before Judge who could decide after
seeing witnesses," Federal Deposit Ins, Corp, v, Sicoco, C.A.N.Y.,
1949, 174 Fed. 360, and "where first bankruptcy judge never -
rendered a decision on fraud count prior to judge’s death, primary
issues reserved were the defendant's state of mind and the
sufficiency the evidence presented to establish that fact and there
was no indication as to first judge's evaluation of credibility of
certain witnesses and neither party requested second judge to
decide the reserved issue, new trial was required. “In re Potter
Instrument Co, Inc., Bkricy. N.Y. 1981, 15 B.R. 202.
13
In view of all the foregoing, it is apparent that the issues
raised in Petitioner’s Question No. 3 in and of themselves justify
granting of certiorari by this Court.
4. Case documents and trial testimony contain unrebutted
evidence that numerous unwarranted and unduly harsh
disciplinary actions were taken against Petitioner after he filed
his 1980 Discrimination Complaint. Yet no weight of evidence
was given these disciplinary actions as reprisal factors in
determining if discrimination had in fact occurred. Hence, the
question of whether acts of reprisal taken against an employee
who engages in protected activities was left unanswered by both
District and Appeals Courts.
Failure to address the reprisal issue by the lower courts
constitutes an act that has so far departed from the accepted and
usual course of judicial proceedings as stated under Rule No. 10
as to justify the granting of certiorari by this Court.
5. Trial testimony contains- numerous instances of Connor's
rights under the Privacy Act of 1974 being violated by Postal
Service Officials. | These violations are corroborated by
numerous case documents. Testimony relating to instances of
violating Connor's rights under the Privacy Act of 1974 is
typified by the trial testimony of Postal Official Primo Marques.
Tr. V35-103. The trial testimony of Fostal Service Official John
Vallie further substantiates Connor's contentions that his privacy
rights wee violated. Tr. I 187 thru Tr. IV 40.
The Privacy Act of 1974. Title 5 U.S.C. §552(a)iX(1) states
as follows: Criminal Penalties - Any official or employee of an
agency who by virtue of his employment or official position, has
possession of, or access to, agency records which contain
individually identifiable information the discl of which is
14
prohibited by this section or by rules or regulations established
thereunder, and who knowing that disclosure of the specific
material is so prohibited, willfully discloses the material in any
manner to any person or agency not entitled to receive it, shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor and fined not more than $5000.
Inasmuch as the violation of the Privacy Act of 1974 is a
criminal offense and inasmuch as this case contains evidence
that Postal Service Officials violated Petitioner's privacy and
other rights, and inasmuch as the lower Court's failed to take
proper cognizance of such violations, it is hoped that this Court
6. The answer to the question as to whether Postal Service
Officials are required to obey its own policies, rules, regulations
and the laws and statutes of the United States is so obviously yes
as to put petitioner at risk of insulting this Court by asking this
question. Yet the District Court and the Appeals Court both
failed to answer or even address this question when asked to do
so by Petitioner.
The Record shows that throughout its dealings with Connor
the Postal Service repeatedly violated its own policies,
procedures, rules and regulations as set forth in its E & LR
Manual, P-11 Handbook and other Manuals. For example,
Postal Service regulations clearly require the mandatory use of
PS-Form 2485 whenever a fitness for duty cxamination is
conducted on an employee. Additionally, Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure No. 35 required that a Court order be obtained before
forcing Connor to undergo examination. Pertinent parts of Rule
No. 35 are as follows: (a) Order for Examination: When the
mental or physical condition (including he blood group) of a
party, or of a person in the custody or under the legal control of a
party, is in controversy, the court in which the action is pending
may order the party to submit a physical or mental examination
15
by a physician or to produce for examination the person in the
party's custody or legal control. Connor’s case was pending in
District Court each time he was illegally forced to undergo a
fitness for duty examination.
Given the immediate foregoing facts it is imperative that this
Court grants Petitioner's request for certiorari regarding this
question.
7. The question as to whether District Court committed
reversible error when it failed to grant plaintiff the injunctive
relief that was requested carly on in this case is answered by the
following:
Since the commencing of this case on March 13, 1985 until
its trial in April 1993 Petitioner filed a total of six complaints
(original and five amended). Each complaint contained the
following:
1."Grant plaintiff a permanent injunction enjoining defendant,
its agents, successors, employees, attorneys and all others acting
in concert with defendant or at the direction of defendant from
continuing or maintaining any policy, practice, conspiracy,
custom or usage of denying, abridging, withholding,
conditioning, or otherwise interfering with the right of plaintiff
to enjoy equal opportunity in employment, and all other rights to
which he is entitled". During the more than fourteen years this
case was pending before the Court is totally ignored this plea.
By doing so Connor suffered almost incalculable losses and
damages to his reputation, career, finances, and even his health.
All the Court had to do was put Postal Service Officials on
Notice that abuses perpetrated and propagated against Connor,
no matter under what guise or pretext, would not be tolerated by
simply issuing an injunction. The District Court's failure to do
16
so along with the Appeal Court's concurrence constitute grounds
for this Court to grant certiorari regarding this issue.
8. In addition to being a Court of Law, District Court is also a
Court of Equity, Hence, it had the power to grant equitable relief
illustrated as follows: "Equity involves rejection of rigid rules to
accomplish what is fair and just in a particular situation. State of
Illinois Department, Public Aid vy. Heckles, 616 F. Supplement
620, Affirmed 808 F.2d 571 D.C. Ill. 1985".
Throughout the pendency of this case in District Court
whenever the issue of equitable relicf was raised it was cither
ignored or rejected. Likewise the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
refused to grant Connor's Petition For Rehearing, which included
that question as one constituting reversible error.
Petitioner belicves that the question of a District Court's right
to exercise its Court of Equity Powers is of such importance as to
grant certiorari based on this question.
9 The Clean-Hands Doctrine is stated thusly: The principle
that a party cannot-seek equitable relief or assert an equitable
defense is that party violated an equitable principle such as good
faith. Such a party is described as having "Unclean Hands"-
Unclean Hands Doctrine. Black's Law Dictionary
Ed. Evidence submitted to the Court fully apprised it of the
Postal Services’ dirty-hands. Yet it failed to take the requisite
recognizance,
Since it is obvious that had the lower courts adhered to
Unclean Hands Doctrine in making credibility and other vital
determinations regarding this case, the Final Decisions would
have favored Petitioner. Therefore, it is necessary that certiorari
be granted so that the questions relating to the Clean Hands
Doctrine may be clarified.
17
10. | The District Court's actions and inactions that allowed
Postal Service Officials and Agents to suborn and commit
perjury during the trying of this case contributed heavily toward
the judgment against Connor.
Notwithstanding the multitude of accusations that Postal
Service Officials brought against Connor in the interval between
his filing his 1980 EEO Complaint and his 1990 Termination,
the bottom-line basis for the District Court's sustaining that
termination was the testimony of Psychiatrist Dr. Skinner. Tr.
Vol. 10, p. 66. That testimony was clearly perjurious. For
example his conclusion that Connor had a paranoid personality
disorder was based on Dr. Skinner's citing of events that in fact
never occurred. Documents substantiating perjury was
submitted by Connor to both the District and Appeals Courts.
Had the Court taken proper cognizance of that perjurious
testimony and other proven instances of perjury and the
suborning of perjury then the Rulings in both instances would
have inevitably favored Connor. Since the lower courts failed to
act properly regarding questions relating to perjury this Court
should take the first steps in taking corrective actions by granting
certiorari.
CONCLUSION
For all the reasons stated above Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
should be granted by this Court.
Respectfully submitted by:
Charlie Connor-Petitioner, pro se
950 E. 8” St.
Ferris, TX 75125-2810
972-842-2422/972-407-4626
App. 1
IN THE UNITED STATES COURTS OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 99 - 10757
Summary Calendar
CHARLES R. CONNOR,
Plaintiff - Appellant,
VERSUS
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE
WILLIAM j HENDERSON,
Postmaster General, United States Postal Service,
Defendants - Appellees.
Cee E EERE
CHARLES R. CONNOR,
Plaintiff- Appellant,
VERSUS
WILLIAM J. HENDERSON,
Postmaster General, United States Postal Service,
Defendant - Appellee. —
(Filed Feb. 21, 2000)
Appeal from the United States District Court
For the Northern District of Texas
(3:85-CV-517-T)
App. 2
Before SMITH, BARKSDALE, and
PARKER, Circuit Judge
JERRY E. SMITH, Circuit Judge: °
Charles Connor, a former employee of the United States
Postal Service, appeals an adverse judgment following a bench
trial of his claims of unlawful employment discrimination and
retaliation under title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C. Section 2000e-16(c), and the Age Discrimination in
Employment Act ("ADEA"), 29 U.S.C. Section 633a(c). ' He
also appeals the holding that his claim of discrimination arising
in 1980 was untimely. Finding no error, we AFFIRM.
I.
To succeed on a claim of unlawful employment
discrimination on the basis of race or age, or of unlawful
retaliation for raising such claims, the employee must prove
improper motive. Where the employer has offered a lawful
explanation, the employee must establish that the asserted
justification is pretext that conceals an improper purpose. See
St. Mary's Honor Cir. v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 510-11
(1993 title VID); Bauer v. Albemarle Corp., 169 F.3d 962m 966
(Sth Cir. 1999) (ADEA)
We review only for clear error a factual conclusion that an
employer did not engage in unlawful discrimination. See
Boehms v. Crowell, 139 F.3d 452, 457 (Sth Cir. 1998), cert.
denied, 525 U.S. 1102 (1999).
"Where the evidence can support findings cither way, a
choice by the trial judge between two permissible views of the
“Pursuant to STH Cir. R. 47.5, the court has determined that this opinion
should not be published and is not precedent except under the limited
circumstances set forth in STH Cir. R.47.5.4.
' Connor filed two actions that were consolidated; we treat them as one.
App. 3
weight of the evidence is not clearly erroneous....A. trial court's
decision to credit the testimony of one, two, or more witnesses,
each of whom has told a coherent, facially-plausible story that is
not weight of the evidence is not clearly erroneous....A trial
court's decision to credit the testimony of one, two, or more
witnesses, each of whom has told a coherent, facially-plausible
story that is not contradicted by extrinsic evidence,...can
virtually never be clear error." Theriot v. Parish of Jefferson, 185
F.3d 477, 490 (Sth Cir. 1999), petition for cert. filed (Jan. 18,
2000)(No. 99-1203).’
II.
Although Connor alleges multiple episodes of unlawful
discrimination and retaliation during his final decade: of
employment, he fails to show clear error in the district court's
factual findings. His bare assertion of statistical discrepancy in
the number of blacks in management is not enough to mandate a
finding of discrimination.”
Moreover, Flagg actually recommended Connor for a
promotion in November, after Connor's MPD numbers and
audit picture began to show improvement. The promotion, the
court reasonably found, was denied only because Connor had
? Connor received a trial de novo to review the similar
conclusion of the Merit Systems Protection Board that the Postal
Service did not engage in unlawful employment discrimination. See
SU.S.C. Section 7703(c). Appellate review of the decisions of that
board and of the district court thus merge into a single inquiry whether
the court made reasonable factual findings on the basis of all the
evidence.
> Of Walter v. Long Star Gas Co., 9T7R.2d 161 (Sth Cir.
1992)\(noting that “it is the unusual case in which statistics alone can
support a finding of intentional discrimination").
numbers and did not know where he stood on his own budget.
By contrast, the other candidates were familiar with their
stations’ status and statistics. Among those receiving promotions
include at least two other black supervisors, a fact that alone
tends to negate any inference of discriminatory intent.”
The court was similarly reasonable in finding that
continued problems in Connor's job performance justified his
poor evaluation in 1984 and the Postal Service's 1987 and 1989
rulings regarding his requests for backpay. Finally, the
testimony of William Skinner, the psychiatrist who examined
4 For example, Flagg noted that Connor's minutes-per-delivery
performance was too high.
> See Singh v. Shoney's Inc., 64F.3d 217, 219 (Sth Cir.
1995)"Singh [a white female] failed to make out a prima facie case of 4
racial discrimination on this record, because she was replaced by a
white female."); Nieto v. L&H Packing Co., 108F.3d 621, 624 (Sth Cir.
1997\"While not outcome determinative, this fact({that a Hispanic
employee is succeeded by another Hispanic] is certainly material to the
question of discriminatory intent.").
ee
App. 5
Connor February 1990, supports the finding that the Postal
Service had deemed Connor no longer medically able to perform
his duties, and discharged him for that reason.°
The rebuttal testimony of Dr. Judy Cook was insufficient to
preclude a reasonable fact-finder from crediting Skinner's
diagnosis.’
Having reasonably reached these numerous factual
conclusions, the court did not commit clear error in holding that
Connor's inability to do the job, rather than race or age,
AFFIRMED.
© Specifically, Skinner diagnosed Connor with a paranoid
personality disorder and concluded that Connor was very sensitive,
communications, and used inflammatory phrases, such as the "Four
Horseman of the Apocalypse," when explaining his perception that
there was a conspiracy to harm him. The court was entitled not only to
give credence to the diagnosis that Connor was unfit for duty, but also
to discredit Connor’s testimony accordingly.
: We need not pass judgment on the merits of the Postal Service
Service's ability determination, for “our inquiry is not into the merits of
the employer's employment decisions but into the motives." Wilson v.
Belmont Homes, Inc/. 970 F.2d 53, 57 (Sth Cir. 1992).
App. 6
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 99-10775
CHARLES R. CONNOR
Plaintiff — Appellant,
Vv.
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE;
WILLIAM J. HENDERSON, Postmaster General, United States
Postal Service.
Defendant — Appellees.
CHARLES R. CONNOR
Plaintiff — Appellant,
Vv.
WILLIAM J. HENDERSON, Postmaster General, United States
Defendant — Appellee
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas, Dallas
(Filed May 9, 2000)
ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
Before SMITH BARKSDATE,
and PARKER, Circuit Judges. PER CURIAM:
IT IS ORDERED that the petition for
rehearing is DENIED. ENTERED FOR THE
COURT.
\S\United States Circuit Judges.
App.7
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
DALLAS DIVISION
CHARLES R. CONNOR,
Plaintiff,
Vv.
WILLIAM HENDERSON, POSTMASTER GENERAL
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Defendant.
COURT'S FINDINGS OF FACT
AND
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
This action having come before the Court in a bench trial, the
Court having heard and considered the witnesses and having
examined the exhibits enters these findings of fact and conclusions
of law.
Finding of Fact
1. Plaintiffs Charles R. Connor is a black male and was an '
Employee of the United States Postal Service at the Dallas Post
Office during all periods relevant to this claim. At the time of his
removal from the Unites States Postal Service, he was more than
40 years old. At all times relevant to this matter, Connor has
resided in Dallas, Texas.
2. Connor began work with the Postal Service in July 1960, as a
substitute letter carrier and became a regular carrier in June 1967.
In November 1973, he was promoted to a level 15 initial level
supervisory positions, Route Examiner. In March 1974, he was
reassigned to level 15 supervisory positions, Foreman, Delivery,
App. 8
and Collection. In October 1975, he was promoted to a level
16 Superintendent of Station and Branch Operations at the
Industrial Postal Station. In December 1976, he was
reassigned as a level 16 Manager, Station and Branch
Operations, at the East Oak Cliff Station. In February 1977,
he was reassigned as a level 16 Manager, Station and Branch
Operations, at the Highland Hills Station. In March 1981, he
was reassigned as a level 16 Superintendent, Station and
Branch Operations, at the Beverly Hills Station. was
reassigned subsequently to the Farmers Branch Station, as
the Superintendent, and this was the position be held at the
time of his initial removal in July 1987.
3. Beginning in February 1977, Connor was the Station
Manager at the Highland Hills Station. This was one of the
smallest stations in Dallas as most stations were level 18
stations. In 1978, Connor began reporting to Charles Flagg,
Area Manager, who was responsible for 16 of the stations in
Dallas, including Highland Hills. Glenn Smith was the other
Area Manager and he was responsible for the other 15 Dallas
stations. Flagg had previously supervised Connor as a letter
carrier at the South Oak Cliff Station.
4. Flagg determined that Connor's station was not performing
productively, was not adequately supervising check cashing
Policies, and was having problems with financial audits. In
speaking with Connor, he found that Connor needed help with the
financial audits because he did not have sufficient expertise.
Accordingly, Flagg sent a postal examiner to assist Connor in this
regard. :
5. Flagg discussed with Connor the fact that his Minutes Per
Delivery (MPD) performance at the station was too high. Minutes
Per Delivery was the basic measure of productivity used in the
stations at the time and served to compare stations with carlier
performance based on the circumstances at that station.
App. 9
6. During 1979, Connor's performance began to improve in the
MPD and finance area.
Connor for promotion in November 1979, after Connor’s MPD
numbers and audit picture began to improve.
8. Connor was not recommended for promotion by review
App. 10
10. Flagg and Smith picked the persons they thought were most
qualified and did not give significant weight to an applicant's
seniority.
11. Flagg worked with and helped develop several other black
supervisors who were promoted to the position of Area manager.
Arthur Young and Nathaneal Harris.
12. Connor appealed the decision to the Regional EEO Office
alleging race discrimination. On October 15, 1982, after a full
hearing, the Attorney Examiner denied Connor’ complaint,
finding no discrimination. Connor appealed to the Office of
Review and Appeals of the EEOC. The Office of Review and
Appeals affirmed the finding of not discrimination in the
promotion decisions of Flagg and Smith. Although the Office of
Review and Appeals issued its decision in October 1985, Connor
failed to include this claim in this action for many months
beyond the 30-day period for appealing to district court. The
court finds that Connor failed include this claim in this action for
many months beyond the 30-day period for appealing to district
Court . The court finds that Connor, represented by counsel at
the time, failed to timely amend his complaint to include these
claims and has failed to offer any explanation for that failure
simply except neglect.
13. Based primarily on Connor's interview, Flagg and Smith
did not select Connor for the level 18 position. Connor failed to
offer any credible evidence to rebut the explanations to Smith
and Flagg other than his subjective conclusion that he was
discriminated against and the fact that the two men who were
aS een
App. 11
14. The promotion decisions made by Flagg and Smith were
made for legitimate reasons and were not motivated by any
intent to discriminate against Connor because of his race.
15. In March 1981, after serving in the Highland Hills Station
as the Manager, Connor was reassigned as a Superintendent,
reporting to the Station Manager, at the Beverly Hills Station. In
1983, he was assigned to the Farmers Branch Station as
Superintendent.
16. In late 1983, Gerald Townsend was assigned to the
Farmers Branch Station as the Station Manager in an effort to
correct problems relating to, among other things, a backlog of
ate.
accrual of excessive overtime.
17. Connor reported directly to Townsend. Townsend observed
problems in Connor's as second in command at the station.
Connor was not getting mail delivered, not training subordinates,
and not keeping up with the goals of the station. Tasks given
him were not completed in a timely manner.
18. On or about June 7, 1984 Charles R. Connor received a
letter of warning from Townsend charging him with failure to
maintain overtime at a minimal amount and with failing to obtain
Townsend's approval for overtime.
19. On June 20, 1984. Connor appealed his letter of warning
through the internal non-bargaining grievance process in the
Posed Serviid ead: “Salles 690 cf the Padtoyee end Labor
Relations Manual (ELM). Connor's grievance was denied.
20. Connor then appealed to the next level in the Section
650 process. Connor's grievance regarding the letter of warning
was denied at this level as well.
App. 12
21. | Connor received an annual merit performance evaluation
by Townsend on or about June 21, 1984, which rated him as
"marginal". Townsend cited problems in Connor's supervision
of the supervisors under him as well as his lack of productivity.
22. In October 1984, Connor applied for promotion on job
number 84-27, a level 17 Superintendent, Station/Branch
Operations position, and job number 84-29, a level 17
Superintendent, Station/Branch Operations. Townsend did not
recommend him for those positions, citing his supervision,
productivity, and discipline problems. Don Young, Acting Area
Manager, concurred those non-recommendations.
23. Connor filed EEOC complaints as to both the non-
24. In January 1986, after a full hearing, the Attorney Examiner
for the EEOC found no discrimination and no reprisal in
Townsend's 1984 marginal rating of Connor nor in Townsend's
non-recommendation for promotion of Connor. In August 1984,
the Office of Review and Appeals of the EEOC agreed, and
Connor appealed to this court. ;
25. The court finds that Townsend's explanations for his
assessment of Connor's performance are credible and they were
corroborated by the testimony of other supervisors from Farmers
Branch who worked with Connor. Further, the Court finds no
credible evidence to support Connor's allegation that Connor's
race, age, or a reprisal for an EEOC complaint Connor filed four
years earlier motivated Townsend's action.
26. In the latter part of 1984, Connor and Townsend were
transferred to the Beverly Hills Station. In December 1984, it
was proposed to reduce Connor from a supervisor to a letter
carrier because of a serious non-delivery of mail problem in the
reproduction and mailing on postal premises of
containing Connor's name and soliciting votes for him in a
National Association of Postal Supervisors (NAPS) election. A
Walder discussed these problems with Connor, but to no avail.
App. 14
31. In carly May 1986, Walter met with Connor to discuss his
merit evaluation. Walder proposed to give Connor a “marginal”
rating as to his abilities but invited Connor's comments as to
what Connor believed is performance was. During the course of
this discussion, Connor, became upset and left the office. A few
minutes later, Connor submitted a leave slip to Walder stating
that he was “incapacitated” to work and requesting leave.
Walder granted the request. The next day Connor telephoned
Walder and said that he was not coming in to work but refused to
provide a reason.
32. While the referral to a psychiatrist was pending, Connor's
removal was proposed by Walder based on an incident of
AWOL (appearing at a NAPS convention while on sick leave)
and a customer complaint concerning Connor's rude behavior
just before his merit evaluation on May 7. The removal was
ultimately held in abeyance because of the pending psychiatric
.
33. Connor was examined by a psychiatrist, Dr. William Waltrip
in August 1985. Waltrip determined that Connor was unfit for
duty based on his diagnosis that Connor suffered from a paranoid
34. After a delay of several months because of an administrative
App. 15
not participate in an effort to impose management-initiated
disability retirement. In essence, Connor declined any option
other than removal based on his ability to perform his position.
35. Effective July 31, 1987 Connor was removed from his
position as Superintendent, Station Operations, Farmers Branch
Station, for inability to perform the duties of his position.
36. The July 15, 1987 letter of decision from the Director of
City Operations » Ben Jasek, regarding Connor removal informed
Connor of his right to appeal the decision to either the Merit
Systems Protection Board (MSPB) or through the agency
internal appeal procedures under Part 650 of the Employee and
Labor Relations Manual (ELM).
37. By letter of July 27, 1987, Connor chose the internal agency
appeal process. After a full evidentiary hearing, Larry Stebbins
issued his decision at Step I of the internal appeals process. This
decision essentially set aside the removal and returned Connor to
work on the condition that he pass a new psychiatric fitess-for-
duty exam. At this time, the first fitness-for duty report was year
and a half old. According to the decision, if Connor failed the
new exam, he could initiate disability retirement or the
would do so. Connor appealed that decision to Step II on May
26, 1988, sating that he wanted either to be removed or, put back
to work without any further examination by medical personnel.
38. A decision was issued at Step II on March 28, 1989,
rescinding the removal for a procedural error, namely, a failure
to notify Connor within 30 days of the Postal Service's intention
to remove him before issuing the letter of decision on the
removal. The decision did not address the merits of the removal.
App. 16
39. On April 13, 1989, a letter was sent to Connor from the
Acting Field Director, Human Resources, Dallas Division
(Primo Marquez), informing Connor of the effect of the Step ii
decision and offering Connor the opportunity to submit any
information that he had which was inconsistent with that in the
possession of the Postal Service to enable the Postal Service to
comply with the Step II decision, including backpay in
accordance with the Postal Service's regulations. Connor
et ee ee ee
that he had any psychiatric problem.
40. By letter of August 21, 1989, Connor was informed that
backpay for the period following the July 1987 removal until the
reversal of that removal on procedural grounds in March 1989
would be denied because the medical information the Postal
Service retained on file regarding Connor’s condition indicated
that he was not ready, willing, and able to work, and Connor
failed to supply medical documentation to indicate otherwise.
Connor appealed repeatedly to the MSPB alleging discrimination
in the Postal Service's determination not to pay him backpay
after the rescission of his original 1987 removal in March 1989,
and alleging constructive suspension in that he was being carried
without pay when he refused to appear for fitness-for-duty-
examinations through 1989. The MSPB declined to accept
jurisdiction over these allegations findings that the Postal Service
had the right t send him to such an examination and to carry him
without pay if he refused.
41. The MSPB did not find that the Postal Service had caused
Connor to involuntarily retire in February 1989 because of any
error in its retirement counseling of him. The Board found no
evidence of discrimination in this regard, and subsequently
found that the Postal Service had fully complied with the Board's
order to reactive Connor retroactive to February 1989.
~ App. 17
42. Based on the facts found above, the Court finds that the
Postal Service had a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for
declining to approve backpay for Connor for the period from
1987 through 1989 when his removal was rescinded for
procedural error, and Connor had failed to provide amy credible
evidence to support that such reason was. a pretext for race, age,
or LJ ] di 7 * * ° j
43. Additionally, by.a letter of August 21, 1989, Connor was
advised that he would shortly be sent for another psychiatric
i the Postal Service had discriminatory
suspended him by placing him on leave without pay, the Merit
Systems Protection Board confirmed that the Postal Service had
the right tp send him for such an examination and to carry him
App. 18
46. On March 8, 1990, Connor and his wife met with Primo
When the subject ‘of retitmeat was raised, C onnor declined to
respond at all to the options proposed by Marquez and Faulker.
48. When no action was taken by Connor, on May 4, 1990, the
Postal Service proposed Connors removal for inability to
perform his position and AWOL. rear corn patente
response on May 18, 1990.
49. On June 18, 1990, Marquez issued his decision approving
the removal effective June 22. 1990. and informing Connor of
his appeals rights.
50. Connor appealed his removal to the MSPB and included
allegations of discrimination based ona race, age, and reprisal.
51. After a full evidentiary hearing, the MSPB sustained the
agency's action and found no evidence of discrimination in a
App. 19
detailed decision of October 23, 1990. Connor appealed directly
to this court by seeking to amend his earlier district court
complaint. Ultimately, these claims, were accepted into this
action by the Court's Order of December 11, 1991.
52. Connor was removed from the official roles of the Postal
Service effective November 27, 1990, in accordance with its
regulations, after the MSPB's affirmance of his removal became
final. As a result, and in accord with Postal and Office of
_ Personnel Management regulations, he was referred to the Office
53. The Court finds that the Postal Service had legitimate,
nondiscriminatory reasons for the removal action it took in June,
1990. Despite a number of procedural errors, the Postal Service
had reliable documentation supporting a determination of
requests regarding his employment. The court finds that Connor
had not produced any credible of a conspiracy of race, age, or
App. 20
54. The Court further finds that the MSPB's determination in
this matter that the removal from service was proper and in the
interests of the efficiency of the Service was amply supported by
a detailed record.
55. Further, the Court finds that Connor’s retirement was
properly processed by the Office of Personnel Management, as
evidenced by the fact that he is currently receiving an annuity
ee ee ee
November 1990.
56. The Coun festhiey-Mete: ab anette. beaker: Comets
allegations of discrimination in the handling of his retirement has
he had offered no evidence to rebut the regulations supporting
the Postal Service actions in removing from the rolls and
referring him to the Office of Personnel Management. In any
event, Connor’s claims are moot as he has not demonstrated any
loss which is remediable under Title VII resulting from this
transaction.
Conclusions of Law
It is well established that Title VII actions by federal
employees must be brought to district court within prescribed
limitation periods. Specifically, Connor was required to file his
claim regarding non-promotion in 1979-1980 in this court within
30 days after any final decision by the Office of Review and
Appeals of the EEOC, 29 C.F.R. 16.3.2810 Connor failed to do
so, and this claim must be dismissed. /rwin v. Veterans
Administration, 11 S. Ct.453, 457-458 (1990). (Tolling not
granted for late filings due to lack of diligence in Title VII
matters). The cvidentially standards for Title VII cases are
articulated in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792
(1973), Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S.
248 (1981), and the decisions of the Fifth Circuit. Valdez v. San
App. 21
Antonio Chamber of Commerce, 974 F.2d 1160 (5* Cir. 1991);
Turner v. North American Rubber, 979 F.2d 55 (5* Cir. 1992
Homes, 979 F.2d 53, $7 (1992). Neither Title VII nor
ion in Employment Act(ADEA) intended to
personnel
ti ty a 6; ii of i ° al fi * -e ti
without more. Walther v. Lone Star Gas, 977 F.2d 161, 162 (5*
Regarding claims of reprisal, it is well established that a
plaintiff must demonstrate that he engaged in protected activity;
that an adverse employment action occurred, and that there is s
App. 22 -
causal connection between the two. Shirley v. Chrysler First,
970 F.2d 39, 42 (5* Cir. 1992); Jones v. Flagship Int'l, 793 F 2d
714 (S* Cir. 1986)
In light of the foregoing findings of fact and legal principles,
the court concludes that:
1. This court has jurisdiction over this action pursuant to
42U.S.C. Section 20000-160, 29 U.S.C. Section 633a and-5
U.S.C. Section 703(aX(2). ge :
2. Connor’s claim of race discrimination in his non-promotion
to two level 18 positions in 1980 should be dismissed as
untimely filed. Irwin v. Veterans Administration, 11 S. Ct. at
457-458. In any event, the Postal Service did not intentionally
discriminate against Connor on the basis of his race, or his age or
in reprisal in not selecting him for those positions.
3. Connor's claim of race, age, and reprisal discrimination in his
marginal rating in 1984 is moot as no remedy is available under
Title VII. Moreover, the Postal Service did not intentionally
discriminate against Connor on the basis of his race or age, or in
reprisal in rating him marginal, in not recommending him for
Promotion, or in not selecting him for promotion in 1374.
4. The postal service did not intentionally discriminate against
Connor on the basis of race, age, or in reprisal when it
compensated him only for straight time after the rescission of his
suspension in 1985. :
Connor on the basis of race, age, or in reprisal when it
him without backpay after the rescission of his July
1987 removal.
App. 23 a
6. The postal service did not intentionally discriminate against
Connor on the basis of race, age, or in reprisal in its removal of
him in June 1990 removal is amply supported by substantial
record.
7. The MSPB affirmance of the June 1990 removal is amply
supported by substantial evidence in the administrative record.
Based on the foregoing finds of fact and conclusions of law,
Postal Sev nm final judgment of Defendant United States
Signed: April 28, 1999,
Ls/ Robert B. Maloney
App. 24
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
DALLAS DIVISION
RAKES EREERES
CHARLES R. CONNOR,
Plaintiff, -
Vv.
WILLIAM HENDERSON, POSTMASTER GENERAL,
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Defendant.
(Filed Apr. 28, 1999)
FINAL JUDGEMENT
The action came on before the Court on a bench trial,
Honorable Robert B. Maloney, presiding, and the issues having
been duly considered and a decision having been rendered,
It is ORDERED and ADJUDGED that Plaintiff Charles R. .
Connor's claims of race discrimination, age discrimination, and
reprisal against Defendant William Henderson, Postmaster
General, United States Postal Service, are dismissed with
ordadl
It is FURTHER ORDERED and ADJUDGED that all
relief not specifically granted herein is DENIED.
Signed this 28 day of April 1999.
/s/ Robert B, Maloney
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.