Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Alexandru v. Northeast Utilities Service Co.

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SUpreHiG Lour

(*) Freep”

No, ——

TC tt=#*#S

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

MICHAELA I, ALEXANDRU,

Petitioner,

V.

NORTHEAST UTILITIES SERVICE COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN F. KARL, JR. *

MCDONALD & KARL

900 17th Street, N.W.

Suite 1250

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 293-3200

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

ee ee ee enn’

WILSON-EPES PRINTING COo., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. WHETHER CLOSE PROXIMITY IN TIME BETWEEN

THE PROTECTED ACTIVITY AND THE ADVERSE

EMPLOY MENT ACTION IS A NECESSARY ELEMENT OF

A PRIMA FACIE CASE OF RETALIATION.

Il. WHETHER THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S RULING THAT

PETITIONER FAILED TO PRESENT A “LEGALLY

SUFFICIENT EVIDENTIARY BASIS” TO SUPPORT HER

CLAIMS OF RETALIATION CONFLICTS WITH THE

HOLDING OF THIS COURT IN REEVES V. SANDERSON

PLUMBING PRODUCTS, INC., 530 U.S. ____, 120 S. CT. 2097

(2000).

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The plaintiff in the District Court was Michaela I. Alexandru.

The defendant in the District Court was Northeast Utilities

Service Company (“NUSCO”).

According to the Corporate Disclosure Statement filed with

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, the parent

company of NUSCO is Northeast Utilities, which owns 100% of

NUSCO stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CORTE Pee RISEN BEIED occscsesecnnsecccrescsscccsecconsconesence i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ..................cccssseeee il

PE GI PARE REIL UE TEOD cncresesonnessscescncsocccccnzecnccsseces Vv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI............... l

OPINIONS SIIEDTE sicitetuasensinionsentasyniineseseheetansnnbnannnnnete | l

asic cde dicdintninatiomegasnassiingneneiewbsvinensconnees 2

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS.. 2

INTRODUCTION AND STATEMENT OF THE

1. Ms. Alexandru’s Employment History .................

x MND WUPUIIIOR, FUCOOES oecccevesscescsesccssscssccscccsnensne

3. Relevant Decision Makes .................0cscessesseesees 1]

Ri IE SOON cxcscnseninnsscccnnsserssssnnensessoccneaces 12

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ........... 14

I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIO-

RARI TO RESOLVE A SPLIT IN THE

CIRCUI?S ABOUT WHETHER CLOSE

PROXIMITY IN TIME BETWEEN THE

PROTECTED ACTIVITY AND THE AD-

VERSE EMPLOYMENT ACTION IS A

NECESSARY ELEMENT OF A PRIMA FACIE

Aes Cr PRE ALTA BEGIN ccescerccsccccccsccescccnscccens 17

(iii)

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Il. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS

BASED ON THE NOW _ DISCREDITED

“PRETEXT PLUS” REQUIREMENT AND IS

INCONSISTENT WITH THIS COURT’S

SORTA aRpUES BEG BRESEL Y GEG cacecisnintainntamnncenimhastonnstin 23

CO a PAI bs nshsnisnnennstaensicancsiannisiiadiotianiitaibaiodanphadiasinaiatl 28

FIG Ge EIR wicecinessasninsniscenirsnteneiesiabiiauaiaitiiccieiiiseinlidamammaiapiale la

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alexandru v. Northeast Utilities Service Co., 1996

WL 684421 (D.Conn. October 10, 1996) ..........

Alexandru v. Northeast Utilities Service Co., 1997

WL 766885 (D.Conn. December 3, 1997).........

Beckwith v. City of Daytona Beach Shores, 58 F.3d

ee Re ee ie iiictcieabskacinseonscsicnnisecciliinninnes

Burfield v. Brown, Moore & Flint, Inc., 51 F.3d

ee es PO caiatacilscsnihnhieciansiccaedneetiedeieienoi

Byrd v. Lakeshore Hosp., 30 F.3d 1380 (11th

a ED ii keiitebitascesctabibeinsiiabiniahidpcstapicanieiasansniesnitone

Candelaria v. EG&G Energy Measurements, Inc.,

So ee AIP CP es BOI ivcsncacacsccscrccavecenees

Carter v. Ball, 33 F.3d 450 (4th Cir. 1994) ...........

Causey v. Balog, 162 F.3d 798 (4th Cir.

SUT \anshiitellianibataniassncikiiuniabistaptibashiashacseeianees

Chavez v. City of Arvada, 88 F.3d 861 (10th Cir.

1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1056 (1997).........

Clark v Chrysler Corp., 673 F.2d 921 (7th Cir.

ROPIIU ikatibeesiaiilcapccriac cabieeddaesdaauiantielceasnaiiecianeshiniiees

SE UTED tiscisactadiaisiciticedilabinsieictimsaniiguaanthiatcutanionnanaiinaaisiniaes

Conner v. Schnuck Markets, Inc., 121 F.3d 1390

case IE Dh vilictinincbyuilieicetiimeinidsdaniadinibielionies

Dowe v. Total Action Against Poverty in Roanoke

Valley, 145 F.3d 653 (4th Cir. 1998) ...........,.0.

EEOC v. Avery Dennison Corp., 104 F.3d 858 (6th

Sats ITE nn tceinhadshnceakecenddaispnsnciiaiidainehtinetebeedicteiinies

EEOC v. Cherry-Burrell Corp., 35 F.3d 356, 359

SR RSI: UPON ccciseitacbsipaiiitlceiamasicinnlnieacen

EEOC v. Reichhold Chemicals, Inc., 988 F.2d 1564

Pe acai. IE acctichitcanicdoaieialabindinecsanaeteniadeeeaenininsin

Filipovic v. K & R. Express Sys., Inc., 176 F.3d 390

Ce as Se isieihiiciicsiablenieintanuibhieiniaiatincsdcaatini

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Fisher v. Vassar College, 114 F.2d 1332 (2d Cir.

1997) (en banc), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1075

TIE cherctssidinieel ubiiidanibassehenignnicipisceismniallegacnimnaiiatiioniia 24

Grizzle v. Travelers Health Network, Inc., 14 F.3d — .

ER | ae ea eae 19

Harrington v. Harris, 118 F.3d 359 (Sth Cir.), cert.

em, BAe TEs TBS IGG 8Y scncicnsesscssinesineseninns 15

Harris v. Secretary, U.S. Dep't of the Army, 9 F.3d

eae CN iy OIE Daccsnsennsecnsdnsnensiticosiisineesnathetaate 21

Harrison v. Metropolitan Gov't of Nashville, 80

Fc We Ce SOE. POPE scisreciicincrssssincatcnacesneins 16

Hollander v. American Cyanamid Co., 895 F.2d

Be Fle 0 TF onianeeithtndacaseitnnsssnnaensniaioineg 17

Johnson v. Univ. of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, 70 F.3d

A 6 Els BI Pincssnsmsovenqisenenteseamimnmiiadian 19

McCarthy v. New York City Technical College of

City Univ. of New York, 202 F.3d 161 (2d Cir.

ST iis dibbeiseasii insane onisiamipaihibcabiaicadaesiiandhlialistiiag 24

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

ih pinsiieblaedssntahsstnilenenniabiaiiennnapinintchansaiaiiunaminiaiae 16

Monahan v. United Technologies Corp., 113 F.3d

Bee (ee SAR. S9F7) CEI) wiccssenrsecrannnnasnsnnnnconnn 18

Oliver v. Digital Equip. Corp., 846 F.2d 103 (ist

Tas aa bucissovish soalinpninanapindssheionsnngainiapeiiainaidliaions 20

Olmstead v. Taco Bell, 141 F.3d 1457 (11th Cir.

PUITTEDE ssosindisceticiadhdiensetieniinlindieetbhnnmceiebiabminsiiasiilindl 20

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc., 530

U.S.—, 120 S.Ct. 2097 (June 12, 2000) ............ passim

Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337 (1997)... 15

Robinson v. Southeastern Pennsylvania Transpor-

tation Authority (SEPTA), 982 F.2d 892 (3rd

ails Fi EID Miasacsctnairnnninibonbiiesinininadiligntitillinamuaeaciinia 20, 23

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

St. Mary’s Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502

CRIED iiiiicnnieaicaesicecentnsinnesaaasianeeiipndipinaiecsibiisaaiinn 24

Texas Dep’ t of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450

Arey Ae | NOD eiicieasiintsaniibaibanmbiatenndinbhtinnein 16

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. § 12541) 42 U.S.C. 2000e

FRA Fie csncsnisctentenbbacicanieanisdacanienennimnastibnianninnn 2Z, i2

Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C.

Sc iacccsncacinsni-daecanciilininisetndlnceiianainaiticiabiaarinpiones 15

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C.

Se A aiicilinaiidbinichatinmnibicaalitanuibinininebndienins 12,15

Employment Retirement Income Security Act of

ee Me Ais OF 0 PR ch ntehniccsnishinmrnentnensvemninne 15

Occupational Health and Safety Act of 1970, 29

Ss 1 ED cessicwnvsncseensninecetonisansnenemaneesnennenin 15

Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967,

Pe Ries Ae ED ncheicinianessnnnniinatinnnninntes etanenes 15

National Labor Relations Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C.

Se Ale steauintinssbinsitictabiinstndibiniainabsichatniastanstaniiaaneanintingiin 15

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C.

ee GAD sihiobiedathisisaniesnserinsenninnnsenarenaninnbsconvinets 15

Fas Ue A niichaheseneenomssbininantncinionsticinninniniicnite 15

Oe real IEEE secsstaesieistnseehninanshibeoncansensannninieniaekes 15

Fee ED Prncisneseisnssnsisnssniinesannnniensansonnse 14, 24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

MICHAELA I. ALEXANDRU,

Petitioner,

¥%

NORTHEAST UTILITIES SERVICE COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Michaela I. Alexandru respectfully petitions for

a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in this

case on January 27, 2000. App. at 1-2a.' A timely Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc was

denied on May 10, 2000. App. at 3a. By Order dated July 31,

2000, the Clerk of this Court extended the time for filing the

Petition for Certiorari to and including October 7, 2000. App.

at 7a.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, app. at la,

affirming the lower court’s judgment is not reported. The

Order of the Court of Appeals denying the Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is not

' References to the Appendix to this Petition are the page number

followed by “a.”

2

reported. App. at 3a. The District Court’s Judgment and the

oral opinion granting the motion for judgment as a matter of

law filed by Northeast Utilities Service Company

(“NUSCO”) are not reported. App. at 5-6a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

March 20, 2000. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). By Order dated July 31, 2000,

the Clerk of this Court extended the time for filiig the

Petition for Certiorari to and including October 7, 2000. App.

at 7a.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

§ 2000e-3. Other unlawful employment practices

(a) Discrimination for making charges, testifying,

assisting or participating in enforcement proceedings. It

shall be an unlawful employment practice for an employer to

discriminate against any of his employees or applicants for

employment . . . because he has opposed any practice made

an unlawful employment practice by this title [42 USCS

§§ 2000e-2000e-17], or because he has made a charge,

testified, assisted, or participated in any manner in an

investigation, proceeding or hearing under this title [42 USCS

§§ 2000e-2000e-17].”

INTRODUCTION AND STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from efforts by Petitioner to vindicate her

employment rights under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964. Ms. Alexandru filed her first complaints of discrim-

ination and sexual harassment beginning in 1985, filed two

grievances in 1988, and continued to complain of sexual

harassment and retaliation until she was fired in early 1993.

> July 2, 1964, P.L. 88-352, Title VII § 704, 78 Stat. 257; Mar 24,

1972, P.L. 92-261, § 8(c), 86 Stat. 109.

Throughout the period 1985-1992, NUSCO refused to give

Petitioner meaningful assignments consistent with her

experience and expertise as an engineer. Ms. Alexandru

spent most days at her desk with nothing to do. Ms.

. Alexandru filed a grievance in 1992, which raised claims of

discrimination and subsequently she filed a complaint with

the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights. Shortly

thereafter, NUSCO terminated Ms. Alexandru.

Title Vil forbids discrimination on the basis of race, color,

religion; sex or national origin.

Perhaps more importantly, Title VII forbids retaliation

against employees who file charges of discrimination, oppose

employment practices made unlawful under Title VII, or

otherwise exercise their rights under Title VII.

This case presents the issue of whether the lower court’s

adoption of a per se rule prevented plaintiff from establishing

a prima facie case of retaliation when the first activity

protected under Title VII occurred some years earlier. There

is a split in the circuits on this issue. Many circuits have

adopted per se rules requiring dismissal on summary

judgment or on motion for judgment as a matter of law,

holding there can be no retaliation as a matter of law because

of the extended period of time between the first activity

protected under Title VII and the ultimate act of retaliation—

termination of employment.

This per se approach stands in contrast to the better

reasoned approach taken by the Eleventh and Third Circuits,

which are based on careful consideration of all the evidence

and any logical inferences drawn from that evidence to

determine whether there are issues to be decided by the finder

of fact. The Second Circuit’s application of the per se rule

prevented the jury from considering the merits of Ms.

Alexandru’s retaliation claims, even though there were

disputes of material fact regarding the real reason for her

termination by NUSCO. :

4

This case also presents the fundamental issue of the role of

the federal district court in determining which issues must be

decided by a jury and when summary judgment or judgment

as a matter of law is appropriate. As we show, the decisions

of the courts below are in conflict with this Court’s recent,

unanimous decision in Reeves v. Sanderson Plumb-

ing Products, Inc., 530 U.S. ___, 120 S.Ct. 2097 (June 12,

2000). :

1. Ms. Alexandru’s Employment History.

On August 25, 1980, Ms. Alexandru began working as an

engineer in NUSCO’s Generation Electrical Engineer-

ing/Instruments & Control Department. Ms. Alexandru

holds a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering.

NUSCO initially assigned Ms. Alexandru to the Generation

Electrical Engineering Department where she was a

competent engineer, and the only woman in her office. Ms.

Alexandru performed her duties satisfactorily and enjoyed a

successful career with NUSCO for the first several years of

her employment. There are no adverse comments on her

performance until 1985. May 10, 1999, Tr., Vol. I, 17, 40,

50.

In 1985, Ms. Alexandru filed an internal grievance because

of a constant pattern of sexually harassing remarks and

sexually discriminatory conduct. See Pl. Ex. 87.4 After Ms.

Alexandru complained that her supervisor ignored her

repeated_requests to resolve the problem, Ms. Alexandru was

transferred to another position.

NUSCO’s grievance procedure culminated in a pro-

management decision in May of 1985. The grievance

findings acknowledged that as a result of Ms. Alexandru’s

grievance, Amold Roby, her manager, spoke at least twice to

* The reference “Tr” refers to the transcripts of the trial. The transcript

for May 10, 1999, was transcribed in two volumes.

* The reference is to Plaintiff's Trial Exhibits.

- 3

three different men about their offensive behavior to Ms.

Alexandru, culminating in his advice to them that, “if [your]

behavior needs correcting—correct it.”” The offenders were

not reprimanded and one was promoted. Pl. Ex. 82.

No action was taken by NUSCO apart from removing Ms.

Alexandru from a position where she was succeeding and

transferring her to another position in a different division. In

July, 1985, NUSCO transferred Ms. Alexandru from a project

where she was performing successfully to its Operating

Nuclear Reactor Group, EEQ, Off Generation Electrical

Engineering Department. Ms. Alexandru’s direct supervisor

was Bruce Tuthill and his supervisor was John Ferraro. May

10, 1999 Tr., Vol. lat 17. After her transfer, Ms. Alexandru

found that all opportunities for advancement, promotion and

raises were denied to her. Her overtime work was unrecog-

nized. Rather than receiving duties commensurate with her

engineering background, Ms. Alexandru was assigned menial

unprofessional tasks to perform or tasks that were inherently

unsafe. While eight months pregnant, she was told to inspect

equipment locations inside a fully-powered nuclear reactor.

NUSCO reassigned Ms. Alexandru’s work and redirected

credit for Ms. Alexandru’s work to her male counterparts. In

addition, NUSCO denied Ms. Alexandru pay raises and

Opportunities for educational advancement and professional

training that were made available to similarly situated males.

In June, 1988, Ms. Alexandru was transferred to the Fossil

Hydro Engineering Department. Ms. Alexandru’s direct

supervisor was Walter Kornacki and her second level

supervisor was Robert Smart. May 10, 1999, Tr., Vol. I at

417.

Once again, Ms. Alexandru was left to sit at her desk and

not given any assignments. May 10, 1999, Tr. Vol. II at 42.

Mr. Kornacki told Ms. Alexandru that “he had more than

enough engineers in this group and that he expected me to

display my female talents.” May 10, 1999, Tr. Vol. II at 42.

6

During the following three years, Ms. Alexandru was

denied assignments commensurate with her experience and

skill as an engineer and had almost nothing to do. When

NUSCO gave Ms. Alexandru work, she was requested not to

sign the work and most of the tasks to which she was

assigned were menial, requiring little or no skill. In addition,

Ms. Alexandru was given poor performance evaluations

based in large part on the fact that she could not demonstrate

accomplishments in her position precisely because she had

nothing to do.

2. The Termination Process.

On April 24, 1991, Messrs. Kornacki and Smart, Ms.

Alexandru’s immediate supervisors, assigned her to a six to

eight week project counting fish. Pl. Ex. 223. Ms. Alexandru

was to be assigned to stand on the unprotected sides of a

water canal in Holyoke, Massachusetts, where there was no

security protection, for eight hours per day to watch fish

entering the river. Ms. Alexandru objected on the grounds

that the fish counting assignment did not require engineering

or technical skills and she would not be working in a

supervisory capacity. Jd. Ms. Alexandru was told the

assignment required pulling buckets of fish out of the water,

counting them and then dumping the fish back into the river.

Mr. Smart claimed that “the project had to be manned day

and night,” May 18, 1999, Tr. at 170, but never explained

how Ms. Alexandru was supposed to see and count the fish in

the dark.

Ms. Alexandru sent Mr. Kornacki a memo expressing her

concern that she would have to drive through a dilapidated

and unsafe neighborhood and that a woman standing on the

canal at dark exposes herself to violence and crime. The “fish

counting” assignment also required Ms. Alexandru to make a

daily round trip of two hours from her home to Holyoke,

Massachusetts. Nevertheless, Ms. Alexandru indicated a

7

willingness to count fish, as long as she could do so in

daylight. Pl Ex. 27.

On April 30, 1991, Mr. Kornacki responded to her

concerns by claiming that the assignment was “part of a very

important project.” Pl. Ex. 226. However, Mr. Smart

testified at trial that Ms. Alexandru was the only person “that

was asked to take that assignment.” May 18, 1999 Tr. at 171.

Despite Ms. Alexandru’s statement that she was willing to

count fish during the daylight, Mr. Kornacki ignored her

request that she be assigned to track fish only in daytime and

characterized her written response as refusing the assignment,

even though she had not actually done so. Pl. Ex. 226. Mr.

Kornacki advised Ms. Alexandru that there was “no

alternative assignment but we will try to find something for

you.” Id.

On May 14, 1991, Ms. Alexandru continued her efforts to

obtain assignments commensurate with her education and

experience by reminding Mr. Kornacki that “two engineers

left our department leaving a number of projects and

engineering tasks available.” Pl. Ex. 225. Ms. Alexandru

requested that the projects left undone by the departure of

these two engineers be assigned to her because of her

excellent qualifications and because she had in fact

“developed the technical basis for some of this work.” Pl. Ex.

225. NUSCO never formally responded to this request, and

continued to fail to assign her work for many months.” Ms.

Alexandru testified at trial that whenever she asked for

assignments, her supervisor, Mr. Kornacki “would make a

rude gesture and tell me to go back to my desk.” May 10,

1999, Tr., Vol. II at 42.

* As part of its effort to force Ms. Alexandru to resign, she was given

assignments to climb stacks and crawl through ducts. May 10, 1999, Tr.

Vol II at 57; Pl Ex 283. Ms. Alexandru had never worked at great heights

and had no experience in this areas NUSCO did not provide Ms.

Alexandru with fall protection or other safety equipment.

8

In order to build a record to fire her, Messrs. Kornacki and

Smart then began to conduct special surveillance of Ms.

Alexandru to make certain she was at her desk, even though

she had nothing to do during the period 1988-1993. PI. Exs.

226, 227. NUSCO disciplined Ms. Alexandru for two

occasions when she was away from her work station, even

though she was in the bathroom. On one occasion, Ms.

Alexandru stayed at the office to complete one of the rare

assignments given her, even though she had been directed to

go home for the remainder of the day. Ms. Alexandru’s

decision to complete the assignment became the basis for a

charge of insubordination. Pl. Ex. 227.

Ms. Alexandru filed a grievance dated March 13, 1992

because she was concerned she was not assigned professional

work. Pl. Exs. 223, 225 and 229. Ms. Linda Singer from

Human Relations was one of several recipients of this

grievance and grievances Ms. Alexandru had filed in the past.

On May 12, 1992, NUSCO issued its second-level

rejection of the March 1992 grievance. Although the

grievance was phrased in general terms of work assignments,

Ms. Alexandru specifically raised the issue of whether

another engineer or female engineer was given the “fish

counting” assignment, Pl Ex. 279, thereby placing NUSCO

on notice that Ms. Alexandru believed the “fish counting”

assignment was discrimination based on her gender.

NUSCO based its eventual termination decision in part on

Ms. Alexandru’s performance evaluation for 1991. Yet in its

February, 1992 evaluation for the prior year, NUSCO

acknowledged that “there was a period of no _ work

assignments . . . due to a lack of new projects/opportunities

available to FDI.” Pet. App. at 124.° The evaluation was, of

course, suspect because, as Ms. Singer from NUSCO’s

° The reference is to the Appendix filed by Petitioner with the Court of

Appeals.

9

Human Relations Department admitted at trial, if the

employee had no work to do, then “ there would be no way to

rate your team work, your quality, quantity, your decision

making, your communication skills.” Pet. App at 126, 128.

NUSCO further supported its termination decisien on Ms.

Alexandru’s alleged unwillingness to participate in the “fish

counting” assignment at night. NUSCO never explained,

either before or during the trial, how Ms. Alexandru was

expected to count fish in the dark, or why she was the only

engineer assigned to the “fish counting” project.

On June 30, 1992, Ms. Alexandru requested assignment to

the NOX Reduction - Clean Air Act project because she had

significant experience in this area. Pl. Ex 283; Pet App. at 60.

NUSCO never responded to this request. On July 27, 1992,

NUSCO issued its “third step” decision denying Ms.

Alexandru’s grievance. NUSCO’s decision stated: “While

discriminatory treatment was not specified in the original

grievance points, concerns were raised by the Grievant during

the grievance process that led the committee to hold

discussions with a number of individuals ...”. Pl. Ex. 291.

Thus, the officials making the decision to terminate Ms.

Alexandru were fully aware that she had raised issues and

claims of discrimination in her grievance. Moreover, they

treated Ms. Alexandru’s grievance as a complaint of sex

discrimination.

NUSCO investigated and addressed these claims by

interviewing those previously accused of discrimination and

sexual harassment by Ms. Alexandru, including Messrs.

Scully, Peterson and Blanch, but failed to officially interview

Ms. Alexandru herself. The Grievance Committee

specifically considered the “similar grievance” filed by. Ms.

Alexandru in 1985 alleging sexual harassment and retaliation.

In so doing, the Grievance Committee found that Ms.

Alexandru’s 1985 grievance lacked merit and concluded that

“there was a pattern not of supervisory unfairness but a

10

pattern of response by the Grievant to efforts to conduct

constructive appraisals of performance that is of serious

concern to the Committee.” Pl. Ex. 291; Pet. App. at 140.

The Grievance Committee acknowledged that it specif-

ically considered in its deliberations the fact that Ms.

Alexandru had gone through “similar experiences” in 1986

and 1987. Pet.App. at 140. The “Committee believes it is

aiso noteworthy that [Ms. Alexandru] filed a_ similar

grievance in 1985 regarding her review and the alleged

unfairness of her supervisor at that time in discrediting her

work and blocking her career and professional growth.” Pet.

App. at 141. NUSCO thus blamed Ms. Alexandru for having

to file a grievance as a result of being the victim of sexual

harassment and retaliation during the 1985-1988 period.

NUSCO explicitly based its 1992 decision on its view that

Ms. Alexandru’s prior complaints lacked merit.

Ms. Singer testified that she sent Ms. Alexandru to a

“outside” career counselor because she had reviewed her

previous grievances arising from her complaints of sexual

harassment and decided Ms. Alexandru had not responded in

a positive way. Pet. App. at 127. Pl Ex. 298. Effective

August 1, 1992, NUSCO placed Ms. Alexandru on a

Performance Improvement Program for a period of 90 days.

May 10, 1999,Tr., Vol. I at 17.

On August 14, 1992, Ms. Alexandru filed a complaint of

discrimination with the Connecticut Commission on Human

Rights. On August 21, 1992, Ms. Alexandru filed an internal

grievance alleging that NUSCO had retaliated against her by

harassment and intimidation, in addition to the discriminatory

treatment described in her March, 1992 grievance. PI. Ex.

303.

On November 6, 1992, Mr. Kornacki gave Ms. Alexandru

an unsatisfactory rating for her performance and notified her

that she had 90 days within which to apply for other positions

11

at NUSCO. If she failed to find another position at NUSCO

by February 5, 1992, her employment would be terminated.

May 10, 1999, Tr., Vol. I at 17. Ms. Alexandru applied for

other positions, but was rejected for each position because of

her personnel record. May 10, 1999, Tr., Vol. II at 61-69.

On February 5, 1993, NUSCO terminated Ms. Alexandru,

allegedly on the grounds of unsatisfactory work performance.

On December 3, 1992, NUSCO issued its third-level rejection

of Ms. Alexandru’s grievance. Pl. Ex. 333.

3. Relevant Decision Makers.

Although the trial court found that Messrs. Smart and

Kornacki, Ms. Alexandru’s supervisors, were officially the

persons responsible for her termination, the testimony at trial

demonstrated that in fact, the Human Relations Office and

NUSCO’s senior management controlled all of the final

decisions regarding the termination of Ms. Alexandru. Linda

Singer, who was professional manager in Human Relations,

testified that she was the person who made all of the

arrangements, who convened the panel, who performed all of

the legwork, the scheduling, and the writing and drafting of

the grievance decision document for the NUSCO officers.

Pet. App. at 138. Ms. Singer also testified that the decision

denying Ms. Alexandru’s grievance was made by Ms. Cheryl

Grise, who was Vice President of Human Relations, and Mr.

Bill Reckert, Vice President of Ms. Alexandru’s Department.

Pet. App. at 139-140. Moreover, Ms. Singer testified that

Human Relations had control over Ms. Alexandru’s

supervisors,

who could not issue a written warning to any employee

without coming through Human Resources and having

Human Resources listen to the facts leading up to the

reason for suspension and making a complete review.

_ Then we authorize whether or not they can discipline an

employee.

Pet. App. at 151.

12

Ms. Singer further testified that the chain of command and

control would hold true in suspension and no action would be

taken without the permission of Human Relations. Pet. App.

at 151.

4. Judicial Proceedings

Following the exhaustion of administrative remedies,

Petitioner brought suit in U.S. District Court on March 14,

1995. Ms. Alexandru alleged violations of Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e et seg. and the

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. 12101 et

seq. and raised various common law claims. The only issues

raised in this Petition stem from Ms. Alexandru’s retaliation

claims brought under Title VII.

On October 9, 1996, the district court granted NUSCO’s

motion for partial summary judgment, dismissing all of Ms.

Alexandru’s claims brought under ADA and some of her

defamation claims. 1996 WL 684421 (D.Conn. October 10,

1996).

Although jury selection was completed on April 8, 1997

and trial was scheduled to commence on April 21, 1997, the

district court discharged the jury. The district court directed

NUSCO to refiie its previously filed motions in limine on

April 15, 1997 as a motion for summary judgment.

On December 3, 1997, U.S. District Judge Nevas denied

NUSCO’s motion for summary judgment on the Title VII

claims, holding that Ms. Alexandru has alleged “a continuing

course of discriminatory conduct by NUSCO beginning in

1985 and continuing through August 14, 1992 when she filed

her EEOC complaint.” 1997 WL 766885 (D.Conn December

3, 1997) at 7. |

The district court conducted a jury trial from May 10, 1999

through May 21, 1999. The district court entered judgment

on jury verdict on the discrimination claims in favor of

13

NUSCO on May 21, 1999. However, the trial court granted

NUSCO’s motion for judgment as a matter of law on Ms.

Alexandru’s retaliation claims. In so doing, the court relied

on the “pretext plus” requirement which was then the law of

the Second Circuit prior to this Court’s ruling in Reeves,

supra. During trial, the court explicitly stated: “All right,

now you understand that not only do you have to prove that

the reason that Northeast Utilities gave for terminating your

employment was a pretext, but that the actual reason was sex

discrimination, gender discrimination.” Pet. App. at 82.

In dismissing the retaliation claims, the trial court ruled as

a matter of law that Ms. Alexandru could not base her

retaliation claims on the earlier grievances:

Yes, but Ms. Alexandru, if what you’re doing is

addressing the retaliation claim, the lapse of time

between early 1980 and the situation when you were

working for Mr. Kornacki, makes the continuation of

claim a problem, particularly when the grievances that

were filed in the interim were not sexual harassment

grievances. You can’t draw—I can’t allow the jury to

call an inference over that lapse of time and so that the

retaliation claim is out.

Pet. App. at 172.

The trial court further explained its ruling:

No. The retaliation ruling is based on the fact that there

was no showing that the persons that you claimed

retaliated against you had any knowledge of the CHRO

complaint, or assuming that there was an earlier sexual

harassment complaint, which would constitute forbidden

activity under Title 7 that they had any knowledge that

you made a sexual harassment complaint. The knowl-

edge is a necessary prerequisite to proving retaliation.

It’s an essential element of the case, and there is no

evidence from which a reasonable jury could conclude

that these people had any knowledge if either your

4

sexual harassment complaint, or your CHRO complaint.

That’s what it’s based on.

Pet. App. at 181-182. The court held:

“There is no evidence from which a reasonable jury

could find there was retaliation”.

Pet App. at 184.

On May 21, 1999, Ms. Alexandru timely filed a Notice of

Appeal. On January 27, 2000, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit affirmed the judgment of the

district court in an unpublished opinion.

The district court properly granted Northeast Utilities

judgment as a matter of law on Alexandru’s claims for

retaliation . . . because she failed to provide a ‘legally

sufficient evidentiary basis,’ Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(a)(1), on

which the jury might find in her favor. Alexandru never

countered the testimony of her supervisor and manager

that they were unaware that she had filed any grievances.

Thus, she failed to establish a crucial element of a prima

facie case of retaliation—namely, that Northeast Utilities

was aware of the protected activity which, she claims,

led it to retaliate against her. App. at 2a.

The Court of Appeals denied the timely filed Motion for

Rehearing and rehearing en banc. App. at 3a.

This Court granted an enlargement of time for filing a

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to and including October 7,

2000. App. at 7a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

It is of vital importance that employees who file complaints

of discrimination under Title VII and other statutes be

protected from retaliation by their employers. The Court

should grant review of the first question presented because of

the importance of the issue and to resolve a split in the

Circuits as to whether an employee may establish a prima

facie case of retaliation where a substantial period of time has

passed between the protected activity and the adverse action.

15

The Court should grant review of the second question

because the decisions of the Courts below are flatly

inconsistent with this Court’s ruling last term in Reeves,

supra. In affirming the dismissal of Ms. Alexandru’s

retaliation claims as a matter of law, the Court of Appeals

applied the Second Circuit’s “pretext plus” requirement and

engaged in exactly the same judicial error which was

corrected in Reeves. The lower courts substituted their own

judgment on the merits for those of the jury, which should

have been allowed to decide the retaliation claims.

Numerous federal and state statutes prohibit employers

from retaliating against employees who file discrimination

claims based on race, sex, religion, age, ethnicity or

disability.’ There are also federal statutes prohibiting

retaliation against whistleblowers.” Many states have enacted

anti-retaliation provisions in connection with workers’

compensation and whistleblower acts to protect those who

file claims. Further, the First Amendment protects

government employees from retaliation when they speak out

on matters of public concern. See, e.g., Harrington v. Harris,

118 F.3d 359, 365, (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1016

(1997).

These anti-retaliation provisions are designed to ensure that

employees may freely exercise their statutory legal rights to

be free of discrimination in the workplace. These provisions

serve an important public purpose by encouraging workplace

integrity. Inthe absence of these anti-retaliation provisions,

the. right to be free from discrimination would be

. Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C. § 2615; Americans

with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. § 12203; Employment

Retirement Income Security Act of 1964, 29 U.S.C. § 1140; Occupational

Health and Safety Act of 1970, 29 U.S.C. § 660(c); Age Discrimination in

Employment Act of 1967, 29 U.S.C. § 623(d); National Labor Relations

Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. § 201; Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29

U.S.C. § 215(a)(3).

*5 U.S.C.A. § 2302 (2000); and 42 U.S.C.A. Sec. § 5851 (2000).

. 16

unenforceable. “Maintaining unfettered access to statutory

remedial mechanisms” is an important policy goal and a

primary purpose of anti-retaliation provisions. Robinson v.

Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337 (1997).

In order to prevail on her claim of retaliation, Petitioner

must demonstrate that she engaged in protected activity, that

her employer took adverse action against her, and that there

was a causal link or connection between the protected activity

and the adverse action. Carter v. Ball, 33 F.3d 450, 458 (4th

Cir. 1994). Some courts modify the prima facie case by

adding a fourth element requiring that an employer have

knowledge of the employee’s protected activity. See, e.g.,

Harrison v. Metropolitan Gov't of Nashville, 80 F.3d 1107,

1118 (6th Cir. 1996). Those courts using only three elements

subsume the fourth element of knowledge into the third

element of causation. See, e.g., Cohen v. Fred Meyer, Inc.,

686 F.2d 793, 796 (9th Cir. 1982).

Petitioner need not prevail on the underlying charge to be

protected under the participation clause of Title Vil. E.g.,

Filipovic v. K & R Express Sys., Inc., 176 F.3d 390, 398 (7th

Cir. 1999). Thus, the fact that the jury decided against Ms.

Alexandru on her discrimination claims is irrelevant for

determining whether the retaliation claims should have gone

to the jury.

The employee's burden of satisfying the elements of a

prima facie case is not onerous; rather a prima facie showing

is “quite easy to meet.” Texas Dep’t of Community Affairs v.

Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 250 (1981). The ruling below vio-

lated this basic precept.

Where the plaintiff establishes a prima facie case under the

burden-shifting approach established in McDonnell Douglas

Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973), the defendant must

articulate a legitimate nondiscriminatory reason for its

adverse employment action. EEOC v. Avery Dennison Corp.,

17

104 F.3d 858, 861 (6th Cir. 1997). Once the defendant has

met its burden of production, the plaintiff must then

demonstrate pretext, by proffering what is essentially a

second showing of causation to demonstrate the adverse

action would not have occurred but for the plaintiff's

Protected activity. Jd. at 861.

There is no dispute that Ms. Alexandru engaged in

protected activity and that she suffered an adverse action

when she was fired. Thus, the key inquiry in this case is the

issue of Causation—whether an adverse action was taken by

the employer because of Ms. Alexandru’s protected activity.

The resolution of the Causation inquiry turns on whether

Petitioner may establish a prima facie case of retaliation

where there is a substantial period of time between the first

protected activity and the adverse action and whether close

proximity in time is necessary as a matter of law to establish a

retaliation claim. Since Ms. Alexandru establishes a prima

facie of retaliation and there is sufficient evidence to

demonstrate pretext, the issue of retaliation should have been

decided by the jury under Reeves, supra, rather than

dismissed as a matter of law.

ITY AND THE ADVERSE EMPLOYMENT

ACTION IS A NECESSARY ELEMENT OF A

PRIMA FACIE CASE OF RETALIATION.

Here, the courts below held as a matter of law that Ms.

Alexandru could not prevail on her retaliation claim because

seven years had passed since she filed her initial complaint of

retaliation. The Second Circuit adopted a per se rule barring

retaliation claims when a substantial period of time has

Passed since the employee first engaged in protected activity.

18

Hollander v. American Cyanamid Co., 895 F.2d 80, 85 (2d

Cir. 1990); Monahan v. United Technologies Corp., 113 F.3d

1229 (2d Cir. 1997) (Table).’

There is a split in the Circuits regarding the necessity of

proximity in time between the protected activity and the

adverse employment action. For example, the Tenth Circuit

held that an inference of retaliation “can only be made,

however, where ‘close temporal proximity’ exists between the

bringing of charges and the subsequent adverse action.

Candelaria v. EG&G Energy Measurements, Inc., 33 F.3d

1259, 1262 (10th Cir. 1994) (citation omitted) (emphasis

added)(ten-year gap between the EEOC charge and the failure

to achieve a promotion is too long to support an inference of

retaliation); Chavez v. City of Arvada, 88 F.3d 861 (10th Cir.

1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1056 (1997). The Tenth Circuit

has adopted a rule that a retaliatory inference cannot be drawn

when there is a more than three-year gap between the

protected activity and the adverse employment decision and

strong evidence is necessary when the time gap exceeds three

years. The Tenth Circuit has also held that a lag of four

months between protected activity and termination was not

sufficient to justify an inference of causation. Conner v.

Schnuck Markets, Inc., 121 F.3d 1390, 1395 (10th Cir. 1997).

The Fourth Circuit has adopted a similar view, holding that

a thirteen month interval between the charge and termination

is too long to establish causation absent other evidence of

retaliation. Causey v. Balog, 162 F.3d 798, 803 (4th Cir.

1998). “A lengthy time lapse between the employer

becoming aware of the protected activity and the alleged

adverse action, as was the case here, negates any inference

that a causal connection exists between the two.” Dowe v.

Total Action Against Poverty in Roanoke Valley, 145 F.3d

* Although the Court of Appeals did not cite either of these cases, both

were cited in NUSCO’s Brief filed with the Second Circuit. Brief of

Appellee at 33-34.

19

653, 657 (4th Cir. 1998) (citation omitted) (passage of three

years). ;

The Fifth Circuit also takes a similar view holding that the

passage of approximately ten months “is by itself . . .

insufficient to prove there was retaliation, in the context of

this case it does not support an inference of retaliation and

rather, suggests that a retaliatory motive is highly unlikely.”

Grizzle v. Travelers Health Network, Inc., 14 F.3d 263, 268

(Sth Cir. 1994) (affirming grant of employee’s motion for

J.N.O.V. on retaliation claims.) (footnote omitted). Even ina

case where statements indicating “clear anger” about the

employee’s filing a workers’ compensation claim were made

fifteen to sixteen months prior to his termination, the Fifth

Circuit held that “the long period between the workers’

compensation claim and the discharge militates against a

finding of retaliation.” Burfield v. Brown, Moore & Flint,

Inc., 51 F.3d 583, 590 (Sth Cir. 1995).

The Seventh Circuit goes even further, holding that

“substantial time lapse between the protected activity and the

adverse action ‘is counter-evidence of any causal con-

nection.’” Johnson v. Univ. of Wisconsin-Eau C laire, 70 F.3d

469, 480 (7th Cir. 1995) (citation omitted); Clark v Chrysler

Corp., 673 F.2d 921, 930 (7th Cir. 1982) (two-year time lapse

negated any inference of a causal connection). In subsequent

decisions the Seventh Circuit has continued to narrow its

definition of “substantial time lapse” so that the passage of

only four months prevented plaintiff from establishing a

prima facie case of retaliation. Filipovic v. K & R Express

Systems, Inc., 176 F.3d 390, 399 (7th Cir. 1999).

The Eighth Circuit agrees that the “passage of seven years

blunts any inference” of a causal connection. EEOC vy.

Cherry-Burrell Corp., 35 F.3d 356, 359 (8th Cir. 1994). The

First Circuit takes a similar view holding that an employee

cannot prove retaliation where there was a passage of two and

20

one-half years. Oliver v. Digital Equip. Corp., 846 F.2d 103,

110-111(1st Cir. 1988).

The Eleventh Circuit has adopted a contrary rule that a lack

of temporal proximity is not an automatic bar to a retaliation

suit. Under the Eleventh Circuit’s case law, “the causal link

requirement under Title VII must be construed broadly; ‘a

plaintiff merely has to prove that the protected activity and

the negative employment actions are not completely

unrelated.’” Olmstead v. Taco Bell, 141 F.3d 1457, 1460

(11th Cir. 1998), citing EEOC v. Reichhold Chemicals, Inc.,

988 F.2d 1564, 1571-1572 (11th Cir. 1993); Beckwith v. City

of Daytona Beach Shores, 58 F.3d 1554, 1555 (11th Cir.

1995).

The Third Circuit has adopted a similar view. “The mere

passage of time is not legally conclusive proof against

retaliation.” Robinson v. Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority (“SEPTA” ), 982 F.2d 892, 894-895

(3d Cir. 1993) (citation and footnote omitted) (affirming

finding of retaliation despite the passage of almost two years

where there was an “intervening pattern of antagonism”’).

Under the Eleventh Circuit rule, Ms. Alexandru would

have had to present evidence to raise the inference that her

protected activity was the likely reason for the adverse action

and that the protected activity and the adverse action “are not

completely unrelated.” Here, Ms. Alexandru established a |

prima facie case of retaliation because she did all she was

required to do; she presented sufficient evidence at trial to

support a finding of causation because NUSCO witnesses

conceded at trial that there was a connection between the

1985 complaints of sexual harassment and the subsequent

grievances and her termination in 1992. Similarly, under the

- Third Circuit rule, where there is an “intervening pattern of

antagonism,” Ms. Alexandru can establish a prima facie case

of retaliation.

21

Ms. Alexandru demonstrated that after she complained of

sexual harassment, NUSCO denied her assignments com-

mensurate with her skill as an engineer. When NUSCO gave

Ms. Alexandru work, the company assigned menial tasks to

Ms. Alexandru. Even though for much of the time between

1985 and 1992, Ms. Alexandru had nothing to do, NUSCO

nevertheless gave Ms. Alexandru poor evaluations because

she failed to demonstrate any accomplishments in her

position. NUSCO failed to provide any legitimate business

reason for relying on its prior refusal to give Ms. Alexandru

assignments to justify her termination.

Courts of Appeal hold that the employee must demonstrate

that the employer was aware of the protected activity.

However, there is no additional requirement that the em-

ployee must demonstrate that specific persons are aware of

the prior protected act—only that the decision-makers knew.

Ms. Alexandru provided evidence to demonstrate that the

decision-makers employed by NUSCO were aware of her

protected activity and that her prior complaints were con-

sidered when she was terminated. See Harris v. Secretary,

U.S. Dep’t of the Army, 9 F.3d 1313, 1318 (8 Cir. 1997)

(employee engages in protected conduct by complaining of

discrimination).

The Grievance Committee which rejected Ms. Alexandru’s

1992 complaints of discrimination did so after recognizing

that Ms. Alexandru. was raising complaints of sex

discrimination, not just a grievance. This Committee’s deci-

sion on her 1992 complaint was made in reliance on

NUSCO’s prior decision that Ms. Alexandru was a problem

employee and was not the victim of discrimination or

retaliation. This finding shows a clear connection between

the 1985 claims of discrimination and the 1992 decision to

fire Ms. Alexandru.

As Ms. Singer testified, the termination process was

controlled by the Human Relations Department, which

22

exercised a veto over all proposed disciplinary action. Thus,

the power to make the decision to terminate Ms. Alexandru

rested with Human Relations, not with Messrs. Kornacki and

Smart.

Second, the officials charged with the decision to reject

Ms. Alexandru’s grievance and then fire her were fully aware

of her 1985 complaint of sexual harassment and_ the

grievances that followed. In fact, these NUSCO officials

admitted in writing that they held discussions with persons

involved in Ms. Alexandru’s prior complaints of

discrimination. Pl. Ex 291. NUSCO officials considered the

criticisms of Ms. Alexandru’s performance made by the

officials who were previously charged with sexually

harassing her when they made the 1992 decision to terminate

her.

The NUSCO officials who decided Ms. Alexandru’s 1992

complaints lacked merit did so only after concluding that this

was so because her prior complaints filed in 1985 and 1988

lacked merit. The 1992 rejection of Ms. Alexandru’s griev-

ance and her termination were based on the finding that there

was a “pattern of response by the Grievant to efforts to

conduct constructive appraisals of performance. :

NUSCO rejected Ms. Alexandru’s 1992 complaints after

concluding she had a bad attitude and that her current

complaints were simply a repeat of past complaints, which

the company had previously rejected.

9

The Second Circuit’s application of its a per se rule

requiring close temporal proximity illustrates the error of this

approach. This approach to the timing issue replaces a fact-

bound, common sense inquiry with an artificial rule of law.

Resolving «is question requires careful consideration of all

the evidence and any logical inferences drawn from that .

evidence. Undue focus on timing distorts this well-

established sufficiency of the evidence formula and does not

help resolve intent questions like the one raised in this case.

23

Beckwith v. City of Daytona Beach Shores, supra, 58 F.3d at

1556 (citation omitted).

The adoption of a per se rule making the passage of time

sufficient to defeat retaliatory discharge claims as a matter of

law would give employers “a fail-safe recipe” for avoiding

retaliation claims. /d. An employer, such as NUSCO, could

take away an employee’s professional duties and subject her

to continuing harassment and retaliation, but avoid legal

liability for the unlawful retaliation by waiting a “decent

interval” before actually firing the employee. A reasonable

jury could find that the initial complaint of sexual harassment

and discrimination caused Ms. Alexandru’s and NUSCO’s

relationship to deteriorate and set a pattern of behavior that

NUSCO followed in assigning Ms. Alexandru to dead-end

jobs with menial tasks and low-level responsibilities in

retaliation for Ms. Alexandru’s engaging in protected activi-

ties, which ultimately led to her termination. Robinson v.

SEPTA, supra, 982 F.2d at 895 (citation omitted)

Petitioner provided sufficient evidence to establish a prima

facie case of retaliation. The Court should grant the Petition

to resolve the split in the Circuits regarding appropriate

standard for resolving retaliation cases where there is a

substantial passage of time between the protected activity and

the adverse action, and to correct the Second Circuit’s error

below in adopting a per se rule requiring dismissal of Ms.

Alexandru’s claims.

Il. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS

BASED ON THE NOW DISCREDITED “PRE-

TEXT PLUS” REQUIREMENT AND IS INCON-

SISTENT WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN

REEVES

Initially, we note that the Second Circuit is one of those

circuits whose pretext plus analysis was rejected by this

Court’s decision in Reeves, supra, 120 S. Ct. at 2109. See,

24

e.g., Fisher v. Vassar College, 114 F.3d 1332 (2d Cir. 1997)

(en banc), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1075 (1998); McCarthy v.

New York City Technical College of City Univ. of New York,

202 F.3d 161 (2nd Cir. 2000). Further the trial court

explicitly stated that it was imposing the “pretext plus”

burden on Ms. Alexandru in analyzing the evidence.

The Second Circuit specifically grounded its rejection of

Ms. Alexandru’s appeal on Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(a)(1), stating Ms.

Alexandru failed to provide a “legally sufficient evidentiary

basis, on which the jury might find in her favor.” This legal

error is based on the Court of Appeals’ misapprehension

regarding the requirements of Rule 50(a)(1) and the

consequences flowing from its erroneous “pretext plus”

doctrine.

This Court’s decision in Reeves reasoned that it is

permissible for the trier of fact to infer the ultimate fact of

discrimination from the falsity of the employer’s explanation.

Id. at 2108 (emphasis added). “Proof that the defendant’s

explanation is unworthy of credence is simply one form of

circumstantial evidence that is probative of intentional

discrimination, and it may be quite persuasive.” /d., citing St.

Mary's Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 517 (1993).

The role of the jury must be preserved with respect to the

determination of credibility, the weighing of evidence and the

drawing of legitimate inferences from the facts. Under

Reeves, there was sufficient evidence presented at trial to

allow the jury to find that Ms. Alexandru was the victim of

retaliation when she was terminated. Ms. Alexandru pre-

sented sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the decision-

makers working for her employer had knowledge of her 1985

complaints of sexual harassment prior to the time that her

employer fired her. Indeed, NUSCO made the decision that

Ms. Alexandru’s 1992 grievance lacked merit because she

had previously shown that she could not take direction, as

evidenced by the rejection of her 1985 grievance. NUSCO

25

reached that conclusion after conferring with the very men

who had sexually harassed Ms. Alexandru, or who had

refused to respond to her complaints. As Ms. Singer testified

at trial, NUSCO’s initial premise in deciding that Ms.

Alexandru’s 1992 complaints of discrimination were without

merit and that the problem was Ms. Alexandru and not any of

NUSCO’s male employees, was based on events surrounding

Ms. Alexandru’s 1985 complaint.

Thus, a reasonable jury could find that NUSCO retaliated

against Ms. Alexandru because she engaged in protected

activity. Ms. Alexandru could also show a causal connection

between the protected activity and the adverse action because,

as Ms. Singer testified, NUSCO corisidered Ms. Alexandru’s

1985 complaint of sexual harassment and retaliation when the

decision to reject Ms. Alexandru’s 1992 grievance was made.

Further, NUSCO officials consulted with unidentified per-

sons in determining that Ms. Alexandru was a complainer

who was unwilling to take direction. At no time did NUSCO

officials ever conduct an even handed investigation, either in

1985-1988, or in 1992, or ask Ms. Alexandru about her view

of events in 1985-1986, prior to rejecting her complaints in

1992. NUSCO’s failure in 1992 to ever ask Ms. Alexandru

about her side of the story is sufficient evidence to support a

finding of pretext and to create a factual dispute regarding the

real reason for Ms. Alexandru’s termination. If NUSCO

really wanted to conduct an impartial investigation, rather

than create a paper justification for firing Ms. Alexandru, the

company would surely have asked Ms. Alexandru about the

earlier sexual harassment.

NUSCO articulated various reasons to support Ms.

Alexandru’s termination. For example, NUSCO criticized

Ms. Alexandru’s job performance, stating Ms. Alexandru

failed to demonstrate “team work, the quality and quantity of

her work, her decision making and communication skills.”

NUSCO also cited Ms. Alexandru’s “refusal” to count fish at .

26

night on unprotected river banks as a reason for her

termination. In addition, NUSCO argues that the termination

was justified because Ms. Alexandru was not at her desk or

several occasions and that she was “insubordinate.”

There is more than ample evidence in the record that these

reasons were pretextual. Here the evidence at trial on the

retaliation claims contained evidence from which a

reasonable jury could have found that defendants were lying

as to the real reason for firing Ms. Alexandru.

After she filed her complaint of sexual harassment,

NUSCO failed and refused to give Ms. Alexandru regular

duties and responsibilities commensurate with her education

and experience and indeed, there is little dispute about the

absence of appropriate duties. In fact, Ms. Alexandru’s

performance evaluation for 1991 even acknowledges that Ms.

Alexandru did not have work to perform during much of the

relevant time period. Pet. App. 124-128. But it is nonsensical

for NUSCO to rely on Ms. Alexandru’s failure to demonstrate

her “team work, the quality and quantity of her work, her

decision making and communication skills” where NUSCO

denied Ms. Alexandru the opportunity to demonstrate these

skills. NUSCO certainly cannot rely on Ms. Alexandru’s

“failure” in her job performance to justify the decision to fire

Ms. Alexandru where NUSCO denied her an opportunity to

succeed.

Nor can the claimed refusal to count fish at night on

unprotected river banks support Ms. Alexandru’s termination.

NUSCO never advanced any legitimate business reason for

assigning a highly educated and trained engineer such as Ms.

Alexandru to this position, rather than giving her assignments

related to her skill and experience. Nor did NUSCO ever

explain why the fish counting had to be done on a 24-hour a

day basis and how Ms. Alexandru was supposed to count fish

in the dark. Even though NUSCO witnesses testified that the

fish counting project was important, the cancellation of the

27

project never had any adverse impact on NUSCO. The fact

the NUSCO managers lied when they claimed counting fish

was important supports Ms. Alexandru’s claims of pretext.

When the evidence is viewed in a light most favorable to

Ms. Alexandru, it is clear that Ms. Alexandru did not actually

refuse to participate in the fish counting. Ms. Alexandru

rather simply voiced legitimate concerns regarding her safety

if she worked after dark, but agreed to perform this “make-

work” assignment during the day. Based on evidence pre-

sented at trial, a reasonable jury could find that NUSCO

decided to further retaliate against Ms. Alexandru by using

this assignment to manufacture a justification for firing her.

A jury could find that NUSCO created a demeaning “make

work” assignment for Ms. Alexandru that would either

pressure Ms. Alexandru to resign or would provide a pretext

for her subsequent termination. Where the employer advances

an inherently implausible explanation for its actions, this is

sufficient to create a factual issue to be decided by the jury.

Byrd v. Lakeshore Hosp., 30 F.3d 1380, 1383 (i1th

Cir.1994).,

Similarly, NUSCO’s explanation for why Ms. Alexandru’s

occasional absence from her desk justified her termination is

flawed. NUSCO never explained why Ms. Alexandru’s

supervisors were monitoring her activities or why there was

such a strong objection to Ms. Alexandru’s use of the

bathroom during work hours when there was no work for Ms.

Alexandru to do. A reasonable jury could find that NUSCO

was simply grasping at straws to justify a decision to fire Ms.

Alexandru for retaliatory reasons.

Further, where there is evidence that a proffered reason is

pretextual, then the proffer is itself evidence of discrimi-

nation. “In appropriate circumstances, the trier of fact can

reasonably infer from the falsity of the explanation that the

employer is dissembling to cover up a discriminatory

purpose.” Reeves, supra, 120 S. Ct. at 2108. The lower

28

courts failed to consider the evidentiary value of defendants

having proffered inadequate and pretextual explanations for

firing Ms. Alexandru.

A reasonable jury could find that NUSCO engaged in

continuing retaliation against Ms. Alexandru for complaining

about sexual harassment by assigning her to positions which

had no duties and no opportunity for promotion or replace-

ment in other positions at NUSCO.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be granted

to resolve these issues of nationai importance regarding the

requirement that the protected activity and the adverse action

be closely related in time and whether the per se rule is

inconsistent with this Court’s decision in Reeves. The Petition

should also be granted because the decisions of the Court of

Appeals is flatly inconsistent with Reeves. Alternatively, we

respectfully request the Court grant the Petition, vacate the

judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, and

remand for reconsideration in light of Reeves.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN F. KARL, JR. *

MCDONALD & KARL

900 17th Street, N.W.

Suite 1250

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 293-3200

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

4 >

ras

eyR

: 4 i.

Se

iy .)

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

SUMMARY ORDER

RES JUDICATA.

two thousand.

PRESENT:

Pierre N. Leval,

Fred I, Parker,

Robert A. Katzmann,

Circuit Judges

2a

99-7611

MICHAELA I. ALEXANDRU.

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Lf

NORTHEAST UTILITIES SERVICE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

APPEARING FOR PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT:

MICHAELA I, ALEXANDRU, pro se, Cheshirc, CT.

APPEARING FOR DEFENDANT-APPELLEE:

ALICIA B. DAVENPORT, Senior Counsel.

Northeast Utilities Service Company, Hartford, CT.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the District

of Connecticut (Nevas, J.)

Following a jury verdict in favor of the defendant on her Title

VII claim alleging sexual discrimination and harassment,

Plaintiff Michaela I. Alexandru appeals from orders of the

United States District Court for the District of Connecticut

dismissing three additional claims for retaliation, breach of an

implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and intentional

infliction of emotional distress. In addition, Alexandru appeals

from the district court’s decision to exclude from evidence

certain business records, medical records and witnesses.

The district court properly granted Northeast Utilities

judgment as a matter of law on Alexandru’s claims for

retaliation and for breach of an implied covenant, because she

failed to provide a “legally sufficient evidentiary basis,” Fed. R.

Civ. P. 50(a)(1), on which the jury might find in her favor.

Alexandru never countered the testimony of her supervisor and

manager that they were unaware that she had filed any

grievances. Thus, she failed to establish a crucial element of a

prima facie case of retaliation--namely, that Northeast Utilities

3a

was aware of the protected activity, which, she claims, led it to

retaliate against her. Likewise. Plaintiff offered no evidence that

she had entered any express or implied contract with Northeast

Utilities limiting the duties to which she might be assigned. For

this reason, Northeast Utilities did not breach any implied

covenant of good faith and fair dealing by assigning her

allegedly menial tasks.

The district court correctly granted Northeast Utilities

summary judgment on Alexandru’s claim for intentional

infliction of emotional distress, because she failed to raise

“genuine issue[s] as to any material faci.” Fed R. Civ. P. 56(c).

To sustain a claim for intentional infliction of emotional

distress, Alexandru must show that Northeast Utilities engaged

in “conduct exceeding all bounds usually tolerated by decent

society.” DeLaurentis v. City of New Haven, 597 A.2d 807, 828

(Conn. 1991) (internal quotation omitted). Alexandru failed to

allege any facts rising to the level of “outrageous[ness],” id.,

required by Connecticut law, and thus summary judgment in

favor of Northeast Utilities was appropriate.

We also affirm the district court’s evidentiary rulings.

“Evidentiary rulings ordinarily will not be overturned, absent an

abuse of discretion,” Perry v. Ethan Allen, Inc., 115 F.3d 143,

150 (2d Cir.1997), and the record does not indicate that any

such abuse occurred.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, IT IS HEREBY

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the judgment

of the district court is AFFIRMED.

FOR THE COURT:

KAREN GREVE MILTON, ACTING CLERK

By: Lucille Carr, Deputy Clerk

4a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES COURT HOUSE

40 FOLEY SQUARE

NEW YORK 10007

ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE, clerk

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse, Foley

Square, in the City of New York, on the tenth day of May two

thousand. .

Dkt No: 99-7611

ALEXANDRU

Appellant,

Vv

Nusco

Appellee.

A petition for panel rehearing and a petition for rehearing en

banc having been filed herein by the appellant MICHAELA

ALEXANDRU.

Upon consideration by the panel that decided the appeal, it is

Ordered that said petition for rehearing is DENIED.

It is further noted that the petition for rehearing en banc has

been transmitted to the judges for the court in regular active

service and to any other judge that heard the appeal and that no

such judge has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

FOR THE COURT:

ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE, Clerk

By: BETHJ. MEADOR, Administrative Attorney

Sa

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

Civil No. 3:95cv0461 (HBF)

MICHAELA ALEXANDRU

V.

NORTHEAST UTILITIES

JUDGMENT

This action came on for trial before the Court and a jury, the

Honorable Holly B. Fitzsimmons, United States Magistrate

Judge, and the issues having been duly tried and the jury have

duly rendered its verdict on May 21, 1999,

It is hereby ORDERED and ADJUDGED that judgment be

and hereby is entered in favor of the defendant, in accordance

with the Jury’s verdict.

Dated at Bridgeport, Connecticut this 16" day of June, 1999.

KEVIN F. ROWE,

By /s/

CAROL E. CANNADY

Deputy in Charge

6a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

Civil No. 3:95cv0461 (HBF)

MICHAELA ALEXANDRU

\ Vv.

NORTHEAST UTILITIES

EXCERPTS FROM TRIAL

THECOURT: “All right, now you understand that not only

do you have to prove that the reason that Northeast Utilities

gave for terminating your employment was a pretext, but that

the actual reason was sex discrimination, gender

discrimination.” Trial Transcript, May 7, 1999, at 22; Pet. App.

at 82.

* * * *

THE COURT: “Yes, but Ms. Alexandru, if what you’re

doing is addressing the retaliation claim, the lapse of time

between early 1980 and the situation when you were working

for Mr. Kornacki, makes the continuation of claim a problem,

particularly when the grievances that were filed in the interim

were not sexual harassment grievances. You can’t draw -- I

can’t allow the jury to call an inference over that lapse of time

and so that the retaliation claim is out.” Trial Transcript, May

20, 1999 at il. Pet. App at 172.

* * * *

THE COURT: “No. The retaliation ruling is based on the

fact that there was no showing that the persons that you claimed

retaliated against you had any knowledge of the CHRO

complaint, or assuming that there was an earlier sexual

harassment complaint, which would constitute forbidden

activity under Title 7 that they had any knowledge that you

Ta

made a sexual harassment complaint. The knowledge is a

necessary prerequisite to proving retaliation. It’s an essential

element of the case, and there is no evidence from which a

reasonable jury could conclude that these people had any

knowledge if either your sexual harassment complaint, or your

CHRO complaint. That’s what it’s based on.” Trial Transcript,

May 20, 1999, at 25-26; Pet. App. at 181-182.

* * * *

THE COURT: “There is no evidence from which a

reasonable jury could find there was retaliation.” Trial

Transcript, May 20, 1999, at 29; Pet App. at 184.

8a

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

WASHINGTON, DC 20543-0001

WILLIAM K. SUTER

Clerk of the court

202-479-301 |

July 31, 2000

Mr. Christopher G. Hoge

Crowley, Hoge & Fein

1717 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, DC 20036

Re: Michaela I. Alexandru

v.

Northeast Utilities Service Company

Application No. 00A96

Dear Mr. Hoge:

The application for an extension of time within which to file a

petition for a writ of certiorari in the above-entitled case has

been presented to Justice Ginsburg, who on July 31, 2000,

extended the time to and including October 7, 2000.

This letter has been sent to those designated on the attached

notification list.

Sincerely,

WILLIAM K. SUTER, Clerk

By

/s/ Loretta S. Ruffin

Assistant Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.