Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Levi Strauss & Co. v. Trevino

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

F Omes —

00-518 SEP 25 200

No QEEICE 06 Zi Gib

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

LEVI STRAUSS & CO.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

AGUSTINA TREVINO, HERMINIA HERRERA,

BEATRIZ OLIVAREZ AND GLORIA GUAJARDO,

Respondents.

On Petition for Wnt of Certiorari from the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mario A. Barrera

Counsel of Record

BRACEWELL & PATTERSON, L.L.P.

800 One Alamo Center

106 South St. Mary's Street

San Antonio, Texas 78205

Telephone: (210) 299-1166

Facsimile: (210) 299-1133

Attorney for Petitioner

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether a workers' compensation discrimination claim

under Tex. Labor Code § 451.001 "arises under" the state

workers' compensation laws given the fact that Congress’

purpose in enacting § 1445(c) was merely to prevent

workers' compensation benefit claims from being removed

to federal court.

Whether the Fifth Circuit erred in establishing a per se rule

that a workers' compensation discrimination claim under

Tex. Labor Code § 451.001 can never be preempted by

§ 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 185(a).

ll

ALL PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The caption of the case contains the names of ail parties to the

proceeding, with the exception of Mike Ramos, who was a

defendant in the lower court proceedings. Levi Strauss & Co.

is a Delaware corporation. It has no parent corporation and no

publicly-held company owns 10 percent or more of Levi

Strauss & Co.'s stock.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented For Review .................... i

All Parties to The Proceeding ...................... il

EE er ee rere re ee ili

OO OS ee eee re ee ee vi

Citation of Official Report of Opinion................ ]

| Statement of Basis for Jurisdiction .................. |

Statutes Involved in the Case... .................... 2

OP Re eee eee ee eee ee 2

Argument EE ee ree 7

I. The Fifth Circuit Erroneously Concluded

That a Workers' Compensation Discrimination

Claim "Arises Under" the State's Workers’

Compensation Laws and Is Therefore

Barred from Removal by § 1445(c) ........... 8

A. Trevino Decides an Important

Question of Federal Law That

Should Be Settled by This Court. ......... 8

B. Trevino Conflicts with the Decisions

of Other Circuit Courts of Appeal ......... 9

iV

II. The Fifth Circuit Has Established an

Impermissible Per Se Rule That Workers

Compensation Discrimination Claims

Can Never Be Preempted by §301 .......... 13

A. Trevino Conflicts with Supreme

SL I sh shea bracken seks 13

B. Trevino Conflicts with Decisions of

Other Federal Circuit Courts ............ 16

C. Trevino Decides an Important Question

of Federal Law That Should Be Settled

ee eee re ee eee oe 22

ID: ak 5s nee sc oxcgncxd Cte e hha ea akan 23

Appendix

Decasson of the Pills Carew... . 65 os cede App. 1

Order of the Fifth Circuit Denying Rehearing .. App. 2

Relevant Statutory Provisions............... App. 3

ame UN. @ WORE bce ew ee eee App. 3.1

Labor Management Relations Act § 301

FR Se er re App. 3.2

Texas Labor Code § 451.001 .......... App. 3.3

Vv

Relevant Unpublished Opinions

Beckwith vy. Diesel Tech. Co.,

No. 99-1548, 2000 WL 761808

(6th Cir., May 30,2000) ............-...

Roberts v. Autoalliance Int'l, Inc.,

No. 92-1447, 1993 WL 210717

(6th Cir., June 15, 1993) ............--.

Sanders v. Hughes Aircraft Co.,

No. 93-56378, 1994 WL 227971

(9th Cir., May 27, 1994) ............---

Smith v. WGBH Educ. Found., Inc.,

No. 93-1213, 1993 WL 375816

(ist Cir., Sept. 27, 1993) .........---0+-

Thornton v. Denny's, Inc.,

No. 92-1368, 1993 WL 137078

(6th Cir., Apr. 29, 1993) .............--

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck

STE Wis Be CUO oa casas cccvesns 13, 14, 22, 23

Almazan v. United Servs. Auto. Ass'n, Inc.

840 S.W.2d 776 (Tex. App.- San Antonio 1992,

WR eS Creek eh foxes hs Geet ee ot 12

Anastasoff v. U.S.A.

2000 U.S. App.

Lexis 21179 (6th Cir. 2000) ................ 18, 21

Beckwith v. Diesel Tech. Co.

No. 99-1548

2000 WL 761808 (6th Cir., May 30,2000) .... 19,20

Bottijliso v. Hutchison Fruit Co.

GPS 7. Fee ONE: A TUBE oo AN Ses Q

Davis v. Johnson Controls, Inc.

ee ae eas 5 cas 6 ds ce alee een 21

Humphrey v. Sequentia, Inc.

Ee eri fl ee) -) ert er 20

Jones v. Roadway Express, Inc.

931 F.26 3006 (Fa Ue. USPT) wc sw ee cece as 12

Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc.

OOS CLD. BOP CIGRED wg occ iinet. 13, 15, 16, 22

Vii

Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc.

823 F.2d 1031 (7th Cir. 1987)

rev'd on other grounds, 486 U.S. 399 (1988) ...

Magerer v. John Sexton & Co.

912 F.2d 525 (ist Cir. 1990) ...........

Martin v. Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.

105 F.3d 40 (1st Cir.)

cert. denied, 522 U.S. 818 (1997) ........

Monroe v. Missouri Pacific R.R.

115 F.3d 514 (7th Cir. 1997) ...........

Perugini v. Safeway Stores

935 F.2d 1083 (9th Cir. 1991) ..........

Roberts v. Autoalliance Int'l, Inc.

No. 92-1447

1993 WL 210717 (6th Cir., June 15, 1993)

Sanders v. Hughes Aircraft Co.

No. 93-56378

1994 WL 227971 (9th Cir., May 27, 1994)

Smith v. Evening News Ass'n

yA BSk ori ea

Smith v. WGBH Educ. Found., Inc.

No. 93-1213

1993 WL 375816 (ist Cir., Sept. 27, 1993) ..

me

Vill

Spearman v. Exxon Coal USA, Inc.

16 F.3d 722 (7th Cir. 1994)

cert. denied, 513 U.S. 955 (1994) ............ 10-12

Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co.

SE og a ec Wwe cae vibe cakeNeee 13

Textile Workers v. Lincoln Mills

Pe EE go eK RA ds bee eo be base. 13

Thornton v. Denny's, Inc.

No. 92-1368

1993 WL 137078 (6th Cir., Apr. 29, 1993) ....... 10

Trevino v. Ramos & Levi Strauss & Co.

le weces 1s & | Renae passim

Twilley v. Daubert Coated Prods.

ee BR ee er 9

Wiley v. Missouri Pac. R.R.

430 So. 2d 1016 (La. Ct. App. 1982, writ denied) ... 9

Statutes

pi ae Br ee ere re ere re “a

yp gk oe S| Eee Pe ree ee ee ers 2

ee ee ep cas cs ee eee passim

Labor Management Relations Act § 301

a Eo vk oa Ces Gee ee passim

TEX. REV. Civ. STAT. ANN.

I 3 awa aw kaeernte nae ka eS 9

Texas Labor Code

a ren ec r rrr. passim

Texas Workers' Compensation Act

Fk err Ore re Tre ers Sree. Ty 9

Miscellaneous

eo boas eae aia wene es 8,9

First Circuit Court of Appeals

| a ne ene eee ee resr ry 18

Larson, Workmen's Compensation

§ 2.10 (@esk od. 1906) ... 1... eee eee nee 11

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

8. a ee er ee ar eee eer ae ge 20

Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

ee ee ee ee ee 10, 19

U.S. Constitution

NS ERIS eS Oe OO oe A ee 18, 20

|

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

LEVI STRAUSS & CO.,

Petitioner,

V.

AGUSTINA TREVINO, HERMINIA HERRERA,

BEATRIZ OLIVAREZ AND GLORIA GUAJARDO,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari from the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Citation of Official Report of Opinion

Sought to be reviewed is a decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Agustina Trevino,

Herminia Herrera, Beatriz Olivarez and Gloria Guajardo v.

Mike Ramos & Levi Strauss & Co., 197 F.3d 777 (Sth Cir.

1999).

Statement of Basis for Jurisdiction

The Fifth Circuit rendered its decision on December 7,

1999. (App. 1) Thereafter, Levi Strauss & Co. timely filed a

2

petition for rehearing en banc which was denied by the Fifth

Circuit in an order dated June 26, 2000. (App. 2) This Court

has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) to review on

a writ of certiorari the judgment or decree of the Fifth Circuit.

Statutes Involved in the Case

Relevant provisions of the following three statutes are set

forth in the Appendix: (1) Labor Management Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. § 185(a); (2) 28 U.S.C. § 1445(c); and (3) Texas

Labor Code § 451.001. (App. 3)

Statement of the Case

a. Lower Court Proceedings

Plaintiffs Agustina Trevino, Herminia Herrera, Beatriz

Olivarez, and Gloria Guajardo filed this action in state court

against Levi Strauss & Co. ("LS&CO.") and LS&CO.'s Human

Resources Manager, Mike Ramos, alleging workers'

compensation discrimination, intentional infliction of

emotional distress, and negligent hiring, supervision and

retention. LS&CO. removed the case to federal court pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1331 on the ground that Plaintiffs' claims were

preempted by § 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act

("LMRA"), 29 U.S.C. § 185(a), and thus presented a federal

question. The district court found the intentional infliction

claims preempted and denied Plaintiffs' motions to remand.

The court subsequently concluded that the workers’

compensation discrimination claims were not preempted, but

retained supplemental jurisdiction over those claims and

entered summary judgment for LS&CO. on the merits. The

Plaintiffs timely appealed. The Fifth Circuit reversed the

3

district court's decision. LS&CO. subsequently filed a petition

for rehearing en banc, which was denied on June 26, 2000.

b. Relevant Sections of CBA

All four Plaintiffs in this case worked as sewing machine

operators at LS&CO.'s McAllen, Texas sewing plant. Their

employment was governed by a collective bargaining

agreement ("CBA") between LS&CO. and the Union of

Needletrades, Industrial and Textile Employees, AFL-CIO,

CLC, which contained detailed provisions regarding leaves of

absence ("LOA"). As explained more fully below, all four

Plaintiffs were terminated pursuant to the LOA provisions in

the CBA: three were terminated because they failed to extend

their LOAs in accordance with the CBA, and one was

terminated because her LOA exceeded the 12-month CBA

limit. The relevant provisions in the CBA, specifically

Article V §§ 8 & 9 and Article XI §§ 1 & 2, provide, in

pertinent part:

ARTICLE V - SENIORITY

Section 8: Accommoda tions

In the event that along service employee develops

serious and enduring physical limitations resulting

from health or age considerations or should an

employee experience a serious accident which

results in physical limitations, which prevent an

employee from performing the assigned job or

operation, the parties hereto shall meet and

discuss what, if any, special job assignment

consideration such employee may need. The

4

parties may mutually agree to assign such

employee to a future job vacancy without bidding

the vacancy. The parties recognize that any

transfer outlined above may limit the exercise of

bidding rights by more senior employees, and,

therefore, it is agreed that any transfers

contemplated above will be considered only for

exceptional and bonafide cases.

Section 9: Termination of Seniority

An employee's seniority shall terminate when

he/she:

b) fails to return to work after a lay-off or

expiration of a leave of absence,

c) is absent for three (3) consecutive days

without notifying the Company ....

ARTICLE XI - LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Section 1: Time Limits

A leave of absence may be granted to an

employee upon written request not to exceed

thirty (30) days for illness or accident suffered by

the employee or a serious illness or accident to a

member of his immediate family. The Company -

may extend leaves of absences for additional

thirty (30) day periods up to a maximum leave

period of twelve (12) months. .. .

5

Section 2: Documentation

All requests for leave must be in writing. In cases

of sick leave, the Company may require proof of

evidence of illness, including a doctor's certificate.

In addition, the Company may require the

employee to be examined by a doctor designated

by the Company... .'

c. Factual Background of Plaintiffs

Agustina Trevino: Trevino was injured on the job, went

on LOA, and was terminated pursuant to the CBA when she

failed to return to work after 12 months. She claims that art. XI

§ 1 of the CBA (12-month limit on LOAs) is unfair to injured

employees and thus discriminates against them. She also

claims that LS&CO. discriminated against her by not giving

her light duty? or accommodating her under art. V § 8 of the

CBA.

Herminia Herrera: Herrera was injured on the job, went

on LOA, and was terminated after she failed to provide a

properly dated doctor's letter that specified the expected dates

for her return. She claims that LS&CO. discriminated against

' Plaintiff Guajardo was terminated in 1994, and her termination was

governed by the CBA that ended January 27, 1995. The CBA provisions

quoted in text above are the same in both CBAs, except that the agreement

that expired on January 27, 1995, did not contain descriptive section

headings.

? The light duty policy is an implied part of the CBA. See Perugini v.

Safeway Stores, 935 F.2d 1083, 1088 (9th Cir. 1991) (claim based on

refusal to provide "light duty" is preempted even though "[n]o provision of

the CBA specifically addresses light duty").

6

her in the way it enforced and interpreted art. XI (LOA

provision) of the CBA, and that LS&CO. should have

accommodated her pursuant to art. V § 8 of the CBA.

Beatriz Olivarez: Olivarez was injured on the job, went on

LOA, and was terminated after she failed to renew her LOA.

She claims that LS&CO. violated art. XI of the CBA when it

failed to provide her with a full 30-day extension on her LOA.

Gloria Guajardo: Guajardo was injured on the job, went

on LOA, and failed to extend her LOA before it expired. When

she failed to report to work within three working days of the

expiration of her leave, she was terminated pursuant to the

CBA. She claims that her termination violated art. XI § 1 of

the CBA (requiring employees to renew their LOAs every 30

days) because the doctor's letter she submitted to renew her

LOA should have put LS&CO. on notice that she would be

unable to return to work at the end of the 30-day period. She

also claims that LS&CO. violated its light duty policy and

art. V § 8 of the CBA, which governs accommodations.

d. Brief Overview of Fifth Circuit Decision

The Fifth Circuit failed to discuss any of the facts set forth

above surrounding Plaintiffs' discharges or the CBA provisions

that underlie their workers' compensation discrimination

claims. Rather, the court simply set out a bright line rule that

workers' compensation discrimination claims, by their very

nature, can never be preempted by § 301 of the LMRA.

In order to recover under § 451.001, an

employee must show that the employer's

discriminatory action "would not have occurred

. when it did had the worker's compensation claim

Sd cia alr Se te Sel W AILS Pe ee ent ae Vd as bole

oes eictie ou ig

7

not been filed." This purely factual question

centers on the employee's conduct and the

employer's motivation. "Neither of [these]

elements requires a court to interpret any term of

a collective-bargaining agreement."

To defend against a claim of retaliatory

discharge, an employer must show that it had a

non-retaliatory reason for the discharge. This

question also does not "turn on the meaning of

any provision of a collective-bargaining

agreement."

Trevino, 197 F.3d at 780 (citations omitted).

The Fifth Circuit further held that workers' compensation

discrimination claims cannot be removed to federal court

because such claims "arise under" the Texas workers’

compensation laws and are, therefore, barred from removal by

§ 1445(c). Id. at 781. Accordingly, the Fifth Circuit reversed

the district court and ordered the claims remanded to state

court.

8

Argument and Authority

I. The Fifth Circuit Erroneously Concluded That a

Workers’ Compensation Discrimination Claim "Arises

Under" the State's Workers' Compensation Laws and Is

Therefore Barred from Removal by § 1445(c).

A. Trevino Decides an Important Question of Federal

Law That Should Be Settled by This Court.

Section 1445(c) prohibits the removal of state court actions

"arising under" the state's workers' compensation laws. By

concluding that a workers’ compensation discrimination claim

“arises under" a state's workers' compensation laws within the

meaning of § 1445(c), Trevino effectively deprives a federal

district court of removal jurisdiction over such claims. Because

the Fifth Circuit was wrong in its conclusion, this issue should

be settled by this Court.

First, the legislative history of § 1445(c) clearly establishes

that, in enacting the statute, Congress was concerned with

workers’ compensation benefit claims, not discrimination

claims:

Nearly all of the State statutes on workmen's

compensation provide summary proceedings for

the expeditious and inexpensive settlement of

claims by injured workmen against the employer.

S. Rep. No. 1830 (1958), reprinted in 1958 U.S.C.C.A.N.

3099, 3106. While workers' compensation statutes provide

summary proceedings for "benefit claims," there is no summary

proceeding for a workers’ compensation discrimination claim,

which must be filed in court and involves the same expenditure

9

of time and expense as any other lawsuit. The legislative

history further demonstrates that in enacting § 1445(c),

Congress was concemed with the large number of removed

workers' compensation cases in four states: Texas, Alabama,

New Mexico, and Louisiana. /d. at 3136. However, when

§ 1445(c) was passed in 1958, none of these states provided a

cause of action for workers' compensation discrimination.*

Finally, § 451 is not part of the Texas Workers’

Compensation Act ("TWCA"). The TWCA is codified as

Subtitle A of Title 5 of the Texas Labor Code, which provides

“this subtitle may be cited as the Texas Workers' Compensation

Act." Jd. § 401.001. Section 451 meanwhile is found in

Subtitle B, which is entitled "Discrimination Issues."

B. Trevino Conflicts with the Decisions of Other

Circuit Courts of Appeal.

The Fifth Circuit's holding in Trevino also conflicts with

decisions of the Sixth and Seventh Circuits, which have

expressly held that workers' compensation retaliation claims do

not "arise under" the workers’ compensation laws and therefore

are not subject to the removal prohibition in § 1445(c).

> See art. 8307c TEx. REV. Civ. STAT. ANN. (predecessor to § 451)

(workers' compensation discrimination statute established in 1971); Wiley

v. Missouri Pac. RR, 430 So. 2d 1016, 1021 (La Ct App. 1982, writ

denied) (workers' compensation discrimination statute established in 1980);

Twilley v. Daubert Coated Prods., 536 So. 2d 1364, 1367 (Ala. 1988)

(workers' compensation discrimination statute established after 1984);

Bottijliso v. Hutchison Fruit Co., 635 P.2d 992, 997-98 (N.M. App. 1981)

(workers' compensation discrimination claim did not exist as of 1981).

10

In Thornton v. Denny's, Inc., No. 92-1368, 1993 WL

137078 (6th Cir., Apr. 29, 1993)* (App. 8)5, the plaintiff filed

suit in state court alleging, among other things, that he had been

terminated for pursuing his rights under the Michigan workers'

compensation statute. After the case was removed to federal

court, the plaintiff claimed that the federal court lacked subject

matter jurisdiction to hear the case because it arose out of the

Michigan workers' compensation law. Although the Michigan

law contained language prohibiting discrimination against an

employee because the employee had filed a workers'

compensation claim, the Sixth Circuit held that the claim did

not "arise under" the Michigan workers' compensation statute

because the "workers' compensation statute provides neither the

mechanisms nor the remedy for this type of suit." Jd. at *2

(App. 8.4). Like its Michigan counterpart, the TWCA does not

create either the mechanisms or the remedy for a workers'

compensation discrimination claim in Texas; rather, such a

claim is created by a statute outside of the workers'

compensation statute. See Tex. Lab. Code § 451.

Similarly, in Spearman v. Exxon Coal USA, Inc., 16 F.3d

722 (7th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 955 (1994), the

plaintiff, who was discharged due to excessive absenteeism,

filed suit in state court claiming that his discharge was in

retaliation for pursuing his rights under the Illinois workers'

compensation laws. After the case was removed to federal

court, the plaintiff argued that removal was improper because

his claim arose under the Illinois workers' compensation law

‘ Pursuant to Local Rule 28(g) of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals,

unpublished decisions may be cited if they have precedential value in

relation to a material issue in a case.

> Unpublished decisions cited in this petition are included in the

attached appendix.

Ve ee NEE Ld) ee

11

and thus removal was prohibited by § 1445(c). The Seventh

Circuit disagreed based on two grounds. First, § 1445(c) was

designed to prevent removals that wouldnullify the expeditious

and inexpensive procedyres states had devised for workers’

compensation claims. Jd. at 724. The court reasoned that

"(rJetaliatory-discharge litigation is anything but simple and

expeditious; tort litigation in federal court is no more

cumbersome than tort litigation in state court." Jd. Second, in

the court's view, "workers' compensation regimes entail limited

compensation without fault, the antithesis of the motive-based

[discharge] retaliatory tort in which unlimited compensatory

and punitive damages are available." Jd.

Our view that the tort of retaliatory discharge is

not a worker's compensation law is supported by

the fact that, as a matter of federal law, worker's

compensation laws provide limited no-fault

compensation for an injury; this limit on damages

is in exchange for the elimination of general tort

rules and defenses. See Larson, Workmen's

Compensation § 1.10 (desk ed. 1986). The

Illinois tort of retaliatory discharge lacks, for

purposes of § 1445(c), the essential elements of a

worker's compensation law.

Spearman, 16 F.3d at 724 (quoting Lingle v. Norge Div. of

Magic Chef, Inc., 823 F.2d 1031, 1039 n.9 (7th Cir. 1987),

rev'd on other grounds, 486 U.S. 399 (1988)).

The court went on to explain that while the workers’

compensation law serves as the background of the workers’

compensation retaliation tort, furnishing the "public policy"

that the employer must respect, it is a completely different type

of claim:

12

That workers’ compensation law is a premise of

the tort does not mean that the tort "arises under"

the workers’ compensation laws, any more than a

state tort based on the violation of a federal safety

standard “arises under" that standard for purposes

of the federal question jurisdiction .... A claim

of retaliatory discharge may be adjudicated

without any inquiry into the meaning of the

workers' compensation laws; the question for

decision usually is the employer's motive for

adverse action rather than the entitlement to

compensation for injury on the job.

Spearman, 16 F.3d at 725. Accordingly, the court found that

the workers’ compensation retaliation claim did not “arise

under" the Illinois workers' compensation law and was

therefore properly removed to federal court.° Significantly, in

arriving at its decision, the Seventh Circuit specifically noted

that its decision that the workers' compensation discrimination

claim did not "arise under" the workers' compensation laws

conflicts with the Fifth Circuit decision in Jones v. Roadway

Express, Inc., 931 F.2d 1086, 1091-92 (Sth Cir. 1991), the very

decision on which the Fifth Circuit relied in Trevino.

Spearman, 16 F.3d at 723.

° Although the workers’ compensation discrimination claim claim in

Spearman is a common law tort and the claim in Trevino is statutory, this

is a difference without substance because the two causes of action have the

same purpose of protecting employees who have been injured on the job

and provide essentially the same remedies. Moreover, a workers’

compensation discrimination claim under § 451 is treated as a tort under

Texas law. See Almazan v. United Servs. Auto. Ass'n, Inc., 840 S.W.2d 776,

780 (Tex. App.- San Antonio 1992, writ denied).

ee

Rie eed a ea

13

Il. The Fifth Circuit Has Established an Impermissible Per

Se Rule That Workers' Compensation Discrimination

Claims Can Never Be Preempted by § 301.

A. Trevino Conflicts with Supreme Court Decisions.

Trevino, in effect, holds that a workers' compensation

retaliation claim can never be preempted. This rule is in direct

conflict with Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc.,

486 U.S. 399 (1988), one of a line of Supreme Court cases

which has addressed the preemptive effect of § 301.

By way of background, almost fifty years ago, in Textile

Workers v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448 (1957), the Court ruled

that § 301 expresses a federal policy that the substantive law to

apply in § 301 cases "is federal law, which the courts must

fashion from the policy of our national labor laws." Jd. at 456.

Five years later, the Court revisited § 301 in Teamsters v.

Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95, 103 (1962), and concluded that

"in enacting § 301 Congress intended doctrines of federal labor

law uniformly to prevail over inconsistent local rules." Jd. at

104. The Court explained that the interpretation of CBAs must

be determined by federal law because the possibility of

conflicting substantive interpretations under state and federal

law would inevitably exert a disruptive influence upon both the

negotiation and administration of collective bargaining

agreements. Jd. at 103-104. Accordingly, the Court held that

a state court suit alleging a CBA violation must be brought

under § 301 and must be resolved by reference to federal law.

In Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 210-11

(1985), the Court extended the preemptive effect of § 301

14

beyond suits alleging contract violations to suits involving the

interpretation of a CBA.

The interests in interpretive uniformity and

predictability that require that labor-contract

disputes be resolved by reference to federal law

also require that the meaning given a contract

phrase or term be subject to uniform federal

interpretation. Thus, questions relating to what

the parties to a labor agreement agreed, and what

legal consequences were intended to flow from

breaches of that agreement, must be resolved by

reference to uniform federal law, whether such

questions arise in the context of a suit for breach

of contract or in a suit alleging liability in tort.

Any other result would elevate form over

substance and allow parties to evade the

requirements of § 301 by relabeling their contract

claims as claims for tortuous breach of contract.

Id. at 211.

According to the Court, if state law were allowed to

determine the meaning intended by the parties in adopting a

particular phrase or term in a CBA, the parties would be

uncertain as to what they were binding themselves to when

they reached agreement ina CBA. /d. As aresult, it would be

more difficult to reach agreement, and disputes over the nature

of the agreement would proliferate. Jd. "Exclusion of such

claims ‘from the ambit of § 301 would stultify the

congressional policy of having the administration of collective

bargaining contracts accomplished under a uniform body of

federal substantive law." Jd.

15

Finally, and most recently, the Court in Lingle, considered

the preemptive effect of § 301 in the context of a workers’

compensation discrimination claim. In that case, the plaintiff

brought a state court action claiming that she had been

discharged for exercising rights under the state workers’

compensation act. The employer argued that the claim was

preempted by § 301 because the applicable CBA protected

employees "from discharge except for ‘proper’ or ‘just’ cause."

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 401. This Court held that the claim was not

preempted merely because the CBA provided “a broad

contractual protection against discriminatory - or retaliatory -

discharge" since the state court could resolve the claim

“without interpreting the ‘just cause’ language of a collective

bargaining agreement." Jd. at 412-13. In arriving at its

decision, however, this Court reaffirmed the broad and

preclusive effect of § 301 preemption when a state law claim

requires interpretation of a term in a CBA:

[I]f the resolution of a state-law claim depends

upon the meaning of a collective-bargaining

agreement, the application of state law (which

might lead to inconsistent results since there could

be as many state-law principles as there are

States) is pre-empted and federal labor-law

principles - necessarily uniform throughout the

Nation - must be employed to resolve the dispute.

_. . Today's decision should make clear that

interpretation of collective-bargaining agreements

remains firmly in the arbitral realm; judges can

determine questions of state law involving

labor-management relations only ifsuch questions

16

do not require construing collective-bargaining

agreements.

Id. at 405-06, 411 (footnotes omitted).

Although it did not find that the specific workers'

compensation discrimination claim before it was preempted,

Lingle expressly acknowledged that a workers' compensation

discrimination claim, like any other state tort claim, is

preempted if "resolution of a state-law claim depends upon the

meaning of a collective-bargaining agreement... ." Jd. at

405-06.

In spite of the foregoing authorities on point, the Fifth

Circuit has established a per se rule that workers' compensation

discrimination claims can never be preempted. In so doing, the

Fifth Circuit has ignored Lingle's holding that a workers'

compensation discrimination claim, like any other state tort

claim, may be preempted by § 301.’

B. Trevino Conflicts with Decisions of Other Federal

Circuit Courts.

Trevino also conflicts with decisions from the First, Sixth,

Eighth and Ninth Circuits which have held that claims of

workers' compensation discrimination are preempted by § 301

when they allege a breach or require interpretation of a CBA.

7 Our case, unlike Lingle, does not involve a "just cause" provision

under the CBA; rather, it involves specific provisions dealing with LOAs

and accommodation.

hae Lt ehh ee baal Pee EP ee pote fe:

17

1. First Circuit.

The First Circuit has found workers' compensation

discrimination claims brought pursuant to Sections 75A and

75B of Massachusetts law preempted by § 301 on three

separate occasions. Section 75A grants a hiring preference to

any former employee who lost his job due to a compensable

injury. Section 75B prohibits an employer from discharging or

otherwise discriminating against an employee because he

exercised his rights under the workers' compensation law.

These provisions also incorporate federal preemption law by

providing that "[iJn the event that any right set forth in this

section is inconsistent with an applicable collective bargaining

agreement, such agreement shall prevail."

In Magerer v. John Sexton & Co., 912 F.2d 525 (ist Cir.

1990), the plaintiff claimed that he had been discharged in

violation of Section 75B. While the plaintiff argued that this

claim was wholly independent of the CBA, the First Circuit

found the claim preempted because the CBA contained several

provisions that could be construed to govern the conduct

underlying the plaintiff's retaliatory discharge claim. In

particular, the"management rights" clause gave the employer

the right to determine the "direction of the work forces,

including the disciplining, suspension or discharge of

employees for proper cause." Jd. at 530. Because the

management rights clause provided standards to govern the

underlying retaliatory discharge claim, the court would be

required to consult the CBA to decide the claim. Jd. Thus, the

court held that the claim was completely preempted. /d.

Three years later, the First Circuit again found a workers'

compensation discrimination claim preempted in Smith v.

WGBH Educ. Found., Inc., No. 93-1213, 1993 WL 375816

18

(1st Cir., Sept. 27, 1993).* (App. 7) According to the plaintiff,

WGBH violated Sections 75A and 75B when it refused his

request to return to work after being on a disability leave. The

First Circuit concluded that the CBA essentially contained the

same management rights clause as in Magerer and thus found

Smith's Section 75B claim preempted. 1993 WL 375816 at *1

(App. 7.3). In terms of Smith's claims under Section 75A, the

court found that the CBA gave WGBH "the sole and exclusive

right to make all decisions regarding the management,

operation, and programming of [its] operations, including

determination of the number of employees covered by this

Agreement." Jd. The CBA also contained a seniority-based

hiring preference which conflicted with Section 75A. Id.

Therefore, because plaintiff's claim required interpretation of

the CBA, the court held it was preempted. /d. at *1 (App. 7.4).

More recently, in 1997, the First Circuit again found a

workers' compensation discrimination claim preempted in

Martin v. Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc., 105 F.3d 40 (1st Cir.),

cert. denied, 522 U.S. 818 (1997). In Martin, like Smith, the

plaintiff, who had lost her job because of acompensable injury,

brought suit in state court claiming that her employer violated

Sections 75A and 75B by failing to rehire her. The court

determined that because the management nights clause was

arguably inconsistent with the statute, a court would have to

construe the CBA to decide the claims. /d. at44. Accordingly,

the court found the claims preempted. Jd.

* While Rule 36(f) of the First Circuit Court of Appeals provides that

unpublished opinions may not be cited in unrelated cases, the Eighth Circuit

has found such rules unconstitutional under Article III of the U.S.

Constitution because they purport to expand the judicial power beyond the

bounds of article III. Anastasoff v. U.S.A., 2000 U.S. App. Lexis 21179 at

*3 (8th Cir. 2000).

POE ee a a TR nee 7 ‘ os

aa ah oat i bah bial

19

2. Sixth Circuit.

In Roberts v. Autoalliance Int'l, Inc., No. 92-1447,

1993 WL 210717 (6th Cir., June 15, 1993)’ (App. 5), the

plaintiff's complaint alleged three causes of action: workers'

compensation discrimination, handicap discrimination in

violation of state law and handicap discrimination in violation

of federal law. With regard to the workers' compensation

discrimination claim, the complaint contained a paragraph

alleging that the employer's "policy of terminating all persons

who remain off work greater than 52 weeks is intended to

discriminate against persons who allege work-related injuries."

1993 WL 210717 at *2 (App. 5.4). The Sixth Circuit held that

this provision made the plaintiff's claim dependent on the CBA

because the district court would have to interpret the CBA to

reach the plaintiff's claim. Jd. at *5 (App. 5.12). Accordingly,

the claim was preempted. /d.

In a novel twist, another plaintiff in the Sixth Circuit

alleged that she had been terminated because her husband had

filed a workers' compensation claim. Beckwith v. Diesel Tech.

Co., No. 99-1548, 2000 WL 761808 (6th Cir., May 30, 2000)."°

(App. 4) The plaintiff argued that under Michigan law, a

discriminatory discharge of an employee in response to that

employee's filing a workers’ compensation claim was

actionable in tort. Jd. at *3 (App. 4.6). Therefore, the plaintiff

argued that her own claim - as a spouse of the employee filing

the workers' compensation claim - was a natural extension of

Michigan law. Jd. The Sixth Circuit held that a court hearing

the plaintiff's case would be required to interpret the CBA

® See foomote 4, supra.

10 See footnote 4, supra.

20

because in her complaint, the plaintiff claimed that the

employer's reason for terminating her - repeated absenteeism

- was a pretext for firing her in response to her husband's

workers' compensation claim. /d. at *3 (App. 4.7). Because it

concluded that the employer would show that it fired the

plaintiff because she failed to abide by the terms of the CBA,

the court found her claim preempted. Jd.

3. Eighth Circuit.

In Humphrey v. Sequentia, Inc., 58 F.3d 1238, 1246 n.11

(8th Cir. 1995), the court declined to adopt a rule that a claim

which arises under a state's workers' compensation laws is

per senonremovable under § 1445(c). The court reasoned that

as a matter of Congressional intent, § 1445(c) would not apply

to a claim which is completely preempted by § 301 of the

LMRA and only facially arises under a state's workers'

compensation laws. Although the Eighth Circuit concluded

that the specific workers' compensation discrimination claim in

issue was not preempted by § 301, it recognized that workers'

compensation discrimination claims may be preempted under

appropriate circumstances. Jd.

4. Ninth Circuit.

The Ninth Circuit has also found a workers' compensation

discrimination claim partially preempted by § 301. In Sanders

v. Hughes Aircraft Co., No. 93-56378, 1994 WL 227971

(9th Cir., May 27, 1994) (App. 6),"' the plaintiff claimed that

'! While Local Rule 36-3 of the Nimth Circuit Court of Appeals

provides that unpublished opinions may not be cited in unrelated cases, the

Eighth Circuit has found such rules unconstitutional under Article III of the

(continued...)

21

he was terminated in retaliation for filing a workers’

compensation claim. In analyzing the preemption issue, the

court noted that the plaintiff's complaint indicated that his

retaliatory termination claim was in part based on alleged

violations of the CBA. /d. at *2 (App. 6.4). The court held that

to the extent the plaintiff's complaint indicated that his claim

was partly based on alleged violations of the CBA, his claim

was preempted by § 301. Jd. at *2 (App. 6.4-6.5). See also

Monroe v. Missouri Pacific R.R., 115 F.3d 514 (7th Cir. 1997)

(holding that RLA preempts claim in which piaintiff claimed

that he was wrongfully discharged in violation of public policy

because his employer attempted to prevent him from fully

exercising his rights to collect damages for his work-related

injuries).!*

As demonstrated above, the First, Sixth, Eighth and Ninth

Circuits have held that workers’ compensation retaliation

claims are preempted if adjudicating the claims would require

interpretation of a CBA or if the plaintiffs claim that a

provision contained in the CBA discriminates against

'! (.. continued)

U.S. Constitution because they purport to expand the judicial power beyond

the bounds of article III. Anastasoff, 2000 U.S. App. Lexis 21179 at *3.

'2 Trevino also conflicts with circuit court cases holding that state

handicap discrimination claims are preempted by § 301. In Davis v.

Johnson Controls, Inc., 21 F.3d 866 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 964

(1994), the court held that the plaintiff's handicap discrimination claim was

preempted because he would have to show that his employer could have

reasonably accommodated his return-to-work request and the relocation of

the plaintiff to a position commensurate with his physical limitations would

require an examination of the seniority rights of both the plaintiff and other

employees under the CBA. /d. at 868. That is the precise issue the court

would have to address in resolving the claim of at least three out of four of

the Plaintiffs in Trevino.

22

employees who have pursued workers’ compensation claims.

Accordingly, the Fifth Circuit's per se rule that workers'

compensation retaliation claims under § 451 can never be

preempted conflicts with these decisions and should be

reviewed by the Court.

C. Trevino Decides an Important Question of Federal

Law That Should Be Settled by This Court.

In Lingle, this Court determined that a state court action in

which the plaintiff claimed that she had been terminated for

exercising her rights under the workers’ compensation act was

not preempted by § 301 merely because the applicable CBA

contained a general "just cause" provision. In 7revino, the

Fifth Circuit determined that the Plaintiffs’ claims that they

were discriminatorily terminated because they pursued their

rights under the workers' compensation laws were not

preempted even though they involve the interpretation of

detailed LOA provisions in the CBA. This Court has not

considered whether the workers' compensation discrimination

claim of an employee who was terminated in accordance with

LOA provisions in a CBA is preempted by § 301.

The Fifth Circuit's ruling in this case has done exactly

what the Allis-Chalmers Court warned against, it has elevated

form over substance because a worker who is injured on the job

and subsequently terminated under the terms of a CBA will

always be able to evade the grievance and arbitration procedure

of a CBA by labeling his claim as one for workers’

compensation discrimination. The effect of the Fifth Circuit's

ruling is to create a class of employees (i.e., workers with

on-the-job injuries) who are immune from the well-established

rule that they must arbitrate claims involving the CBA. The

Fifth Circuit's decision will result in a patently unfair system

23

whereby a large class of employees can easily escape their

obligations under the grievance and arbitration procedures of

a CBA by merely relabeling their claims. This will not have an

isolated impact on labor relations in the United States because

the vast majority of CBAs in this country, like the one involved

in this case, contain provisions governing LOAs and establish

ramifications for employees who fail to comply with those

provisions. As held in Allis-Chalmers, "[e)xclusion of such

claims ‘from the ambit of § 301 would stultify the

congressional policy of having the administration of collective

bargaining contracts accomplished under a uniform body of

federal substantive law." 471 U.S. at 211 (quoting Smith v.

Evening News Ass'n, 371 U.S. 195 (1962)).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, LS&CO. respectfully requests

that the Court grant its petition for writ of certiorari and hear

this case.

Respectfully submitted,

Mario A. Barrera

Counsel of Record

BRACEWELL & PATTERSON, L.L.P.

800 Une Alamo Center

106 S. St. Mary's Street

San Antonio, Texas 78205

Telephone: (210) 299-1166

Facsimile: (210) 299-1133

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Decision of the Fifth Circuit ................... App. 1

Order of the Fifth Circuit Denying Rehearing ...... App. 2

Relevant Statutory Provisions Cus ine ee eaten en App. 3

p ti fe 2. re ere ers App. 3.1

Labor Management Relations Act |

Be OE bk New oe ne eek euv aes App. 3.2

Texas Labor Code § 451.001 ............. App. 3.3

Relevant Unpublished Opinions

Beckwith v. Diesel Tech. Co.,

No. 99-1548, 2000 WL 761808

(Gt Cis., Mine 30, 2000)... eee eccas App. 4

Roberts v. Autoalliance Int'l, Inc.,

No. 92-1447, 1993 WL 210717

(oe ae 8S) eer App. 5

Sanders v. Hughes Aircraft Co.,

No. 93-56378, 1994 WL 227971

(Sth Cir., May 27, 1994)... 0... ee cece eees App. 6

Smith v. WGBH Educ. Found., Inc.,

No. 93-1213, 1993 WL 375816

{ie A. | ee er oen App. 7

Thornton v. Denny's, Inc.,

No. 92-1368, 1993 WL 137078

(te ae) ee App. 8

App. 1.1

Agustina TREVINO, Herminia Herrera,

Beatriz Olivarez and Gloria Guajardo,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

Mike RAMOS; et al., Defendants,

Levi Strauss & Co., Defendant-

Appellee.

No. 97-41493.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Dec. 7, 1999.

Terminated employees brought state court action against

employer alleging retaliatory discharge in violation of Texas

Workers' Compensation Act and intentional infliction of

emotional distress. Employer removed action to federal court.

The United States District Court for the Southern District of

Texas, Peter E. Ormsby, United States Magistrate Judge,

denied employees’ motion to remand and entered summary

judgment in favor of employer. Employees appealed. The

Court of Appeals, Robert M. Parker, Circuit Judge, held that:

(1) resolution of retaliatory discharge claims did not require

interpretation of collective-bargaining agreement (CBA), and

claims thus were not pre-empted by Labor Management

Relations Act(LMRA), and (2) remand ofretaliatory discharge

claims to state court was required by statute prohibiting

removal of civil action in state court arising under state

workers' compensation laws.

App. 1.2

Reversed and remanded in part; vacated in part.

1. Labor Relations 46

The intent of LMRA's pre-emptive reach is to fashion a

uniform body of law regarding collective bargaining

agreements and other labor contracts. Labor Management

Relations Act, 1947, § 301(a), 29 U.S.C.A. § 185(a).

2. Labor Relations 758.1, 773.1

States 18.46

If the resolution of a state-law claim depends upon the

meaning of a collective-bargaining agreement (CBA), the

application of state law is pre-empted and federal labor-law

principles must be employed to resolve the dispute. Labor

Management Relations Act, 1947, § 301(a), 29 U.S.C.A.

§ 185(a).

3. Labor Relations 45

States 18.46

The LMRA pre-empts application of a state law only if

such application requires the interpretation of a collective-

bargaining agreement (CBA). Labor Management Relations

Act, 1947, § 301(a), 29 U.S.C.A. § 185(a).

App. 1.3

4. Master and Servant 34.1

States ->18.49

Resolution of terminated employees' claims of retaliatory

discharge under Texas Workers' Compensation Act did not

require interpretation of collective-bargaining agreement

(CBA), and claims thus were not pre-empted by LMRA,

inasmuch employees' right to be free from retaliation would

have existed even if there had been no CBA, and the primary

issue was factual question of motivation, that is, whether

employer terminated employees in retaliation for filing

workers' compensation claims. Labor Management Relations

Act, 1947, § 301(a), 29 U.S.C.A. § 185(a); V.T.C.A., Labor

Code § 451.001(1).

5. Master and Servant ©>30(6.20)

Torecover for retaliatory discharge or other discrimination

under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, an employee

must show that the employer's discriminatory action would not

have occurred when it did had the workers' compensation claim

not been filed; this purely factual question centers on the

employee's conduct and the employer's motivation. V.T.C.A.,

Labor Code § 451.001(1).

6. Master and Servant ©>30(6.20)

To defend against a claim of retaliatory discharge under

the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, an employer must show

that it had anon-retaliatory reason for the discharge. V.T.C.A.,

Labor Code § 451.001(1).

App. 1.4

7. Master and Servant 34.1

States 18.49

Even if a claim of retaliatory discharge under the Texas

Workers' Compensation Act implicates a collective-bargaining

agreement (CBA), that fact does not necessarily require pre-

emption of the claim by the LMRA. Labor Management

Relations Act, 1947, § 301(a),29U.S.C.A. § 185(a); V.T.C.A.,

Labor Code § 451.001(1).

8. Labor Relations 758.1, 773.1

States 18.46

LMRA pre-emption occurs when resolution of a state

claim is inextricably intertwined with consideration of terms of

a labor contract or when the application of a state law to a

dispute requires interpretation of a collective-bargaining

agreement (CBA). Labor Management Relations Aci, 1947,

§ 301(a), 29 U.S.C.A. § 185(a).

9. Removal of Cases 3, 101.1

Remand to state court of retaliatory discharge claims filed

under Texas Workers' Compensation Act was required by

statute prohibiting removal to federal district court of any civil

action in state court arising under state workers' compensation

laws. 28 US.C.A. § 144S(c); V.T.C.A., Labor Code

§ 451.001(1).

App. 1.5

10. Removal of Cases -3

Removal of any state workers' compensation claims is

prohibited by statute providing that civil action in state court

arising under state workers’ compensation laws may not be

removed to any federal district court. 28 U.S.C.A. § 1445(c).

Chris Anthony Bnisack (argued), Neil Ernest Norquest,

Norquest & Brisack, McAllen, TX, L. Aaron Pena, Jr., Aaron

Pena & Associates, Edinburg, TX, for Plaintiffs-Appellants.

George P. Parker, Jr. (argued), Raquel G. Perez, Bracewell

& Patterson, San Antonio, TX, for Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas.

Before EMILIO M. GARZA and PARKER, Circuit

Judges, and COBB, District Judge.'

ROBERT M. PARKER, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiffs appeal the district court’s denial of their motion

to remand. Because plaintiffs’ claim for retaliatory discharge

is not pre-empted by federal law and because 28 U.S.C.

§ 1445(c) (1994) precludes removal of claims arising under the

workers’ compensation laws of any state, we find that the

district court erred in denying plaintiffs’ motion to remand.

REVERSED.

' District Judge of the Eastern District of Texas, sitting by

designation.

App. 1.6

I. FACTUAL HISTORY AND PROCEEDINGS BELOW.

Plaintiffs? complaint alleges that they were discharged for

exercising their nghts under the Texas Workers’ Compensation

Act. Defendant counters that plaintiffs were discharged in

accordance with policies outlined in its Collective-Bargaining

Agreement ("CBA") with plaintiffs’ union. Plaintiffs’ original

complaint asserted claims for intentional infliction of emotional

distress’ and retaliatory discharge. The defendant removed the

case to federal court. The district court denied plaintiffs’

motion to remand because "[a]t the critical time of removal,

plaintiffs’ state court petition asserted at least one claim

[intentional infliction of emotional distress] that was

completely preempted by federal law and thus the entire case

was properly removable."

Defendant subsequently filed motions for summary

judgment based on the merits of plaintiffs’ claims. The district

court granted defendant’s motions and dismissed plaintiffs’

claims with prejudice because of a lack of evidence of a causal

connection between plaintiffs’ terminations and their assertion

of workers’ compensation nights.

Plaintiffs’ appeal the judgment of the district court.

Specifically, plaintiffs argue that the trial court erred in denying

? All named plaintiff-appellants will be referred to collectively as

plaintiffs.

* This claim is no longer a part of plaintiffs’ complaint. After the

case was removed to federal court, plaintiffs moved for leave to file

amended pleading that eliminated the intentional infliction of emotional

distress claim.

App. 1.7

Plaintiff-Appellants’ Motion to Remand, and in retaining

jurisdiction over this case.

II. PRE-EMPTION.

A. Section 301 of LMRA.

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act

(LMRA) states:

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing employees in an

industry affecting commerce. . . or between any such

labor organizations, may be brought in any district

court in the United States having jurisdiction of the

parties, without respect to the amount in controversy

or without regard to the citizenship of the parties.

29 U.S.C. § 185(a) (1994).

[1] Theintent of LMRA’s pre-emptive reach is to fashion

a uniform body of law regarding collective bargaining

agreements and other labor contracts. In Teamsters v. Lucas

Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95, 103, 82 S. Ct. 571, 7 L.Ed.2d 593

(1962), the Supreme Court held that "the subject matter of

§ 301(a) is particularly one that calls for uniform law." The

Court’s discussion of the policy behind § 301's pre-emptive

scope bears repeating:

The possibility that individual contract terms might

have different meanings under state and federal law

would inevitably exert a disruptive influence upon

both the negotiation and administration of collective

agreements. Because neither party could be certain of

App. 1.8

the rights which it had obtained or conceded, the

process of negotiating an agreement would be made

immeasurably more difficult by the necessity of trying

to formulate contract provisions in such a way as to

contain the same meaning under two or more systems

of law which might someday be invoked in enforcing

the contract... .

The importance of the area which would be

affected by separate systems of substantive law makes

the need for a single body of federal law particularly

compelling. The ordering and adjusting of competing

interests through a process of free and voluntary

collective bargaining is the keystone of the federal

scheme to provide industrial peace.

Lucas Flour, 369 U.S. at 103-04, quoted with approval in

Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, 486 U.S. 399, 404 n.3, 108

S. Ct. 1877, 100 L.Ed.2d 410 (1988).

[2] The principle of § 301 pre-emption developed in

Lucas Flour can be stated as follows: "[I]f the resolution of a

state-law claim depends upon the meaning of a collective-

bargaining agreement, the application of state law (which might

lead to inconsistent results since there could be as many state-

law principles as there are States) is pre-empted and federal

labor-law principles-necessarily uniform throughout the

Nation-must be employed to resolve the dispute." Lingle, 486

U.S. at 405-06.

B. Section 451.001 of the Texas Labor Code.

[3, 4] Pursuant to Texas statute, "A person may not

discharge or in any other manner discriminate against an

App. 1.9

employee because the employee has . . . filed a workers’

compensation claim in good faith." TEX. LABOR CODE ANN.

§ 451.001(1) (West 1997). As noted above, § 301 pre-empts

application of a state law “only if such application requires the

interpretation of a collective-bargaining agreement." Lingle,

486 US. at 413. Thus, if the resolution of plaintiffs’ claims of

retaliatory discharge under § 451.001 does not require

interpretation of the CBA, they are not pre-empted.

[5] In order to recover under § 451.001, an employee

must show that the employer’s discriminatory action "would

not have occurred when it did had the worker’s compensation

claim not been filed." Stevens v. National Educ. Centers, Inc.,

990 S.W.2d 374, 380 (Tex. App.~Houston [14th Dist.] 1999,

writ requested) (citing Continental Coffee Prods. Co. v.

Cazarez, 937 S.W.2d 444, 450 (Tex. 1996)). This purely

factual question centers on the employee’s conduct and the

employer’s motivation. “Neither of [these] elements requires

a court to interpret any term of a collective-bargaining

agreement." Lingle, 486 U.S. at 407, 108 S. Ct. 1877.

[6] To defend against a claim of retaliatory discharge, an

employer must show that it had anon-retaliatory reason for the

discharge. This question also does not "turn on the meaning of

any provision of a collective-bargaining agreement." Jd.

In a retaliatory discharge case, "[a]s the Supreme

Court pointed out in Lingle, the court’s task is

complete . . . when it determines, as a factual matter,

whether the employer’s motivation for the discharge

was the employee’s filing of a worker’s compensation

claim or some other motive." If it determines that

retaliation was not a motive, it does not need to

App. 1.10

determine whether other motives were legitimate or

whether the CBA justified them.

Jones v. Roadway Express, Inc., 936 F.2d 789, 791-91 (Sth Cir.

1991) (“Roadway II"), seealso Jones v. Roadway Express, Inc.,

931 F.2d 1086, 1090 (Sth Cir. 1991) ("Roadway I") (citation

omitted) ("[W]e do not require that the CBA be irrelevant to the

dispute; either party may still use the CBA to support the

credibility of its claims.").

[7, 8] Even if the plaintiffs’ retaliatory discharge claim

implicated the CBA, that fact would not necessarily require

pre-emption of the claim. "[C]laims only tangentially

involving provisions of collective-bargaining agreements are

not preempted by section 301." Thomas v. LTV Corp., 39 F.3d

611, 617 (Sth Cir. 1994); see also Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512

U.S. 107, 123, 114 S. Ct. 2068, 129 L.Ed.2d 93 (1994)

("[W]hen the meaning of contract terms is not the subject of

dispute, the bare fact that a collective-bargaining agreement

will be consulted in the course of state-law litigation plainly

does not require the claim to be extinguished."). "A plaintiff's

state law claims will not be preempted even when they are

‘intertwined’ with a CBA, so long as they are not ‘inextricably

intertwined’ with it.". Roadway I, 931 F.2d at 1089. In other

words, pre-emption occurs when resolution of a state claim is

inextricably intertwined with consideration of terms of the

labor contract or when the application of a state law to a dispute

requires interpretation of the collective-bargaining agreement.

Defendants argue that a finding of pre-emption is

mandated by our decision in Reece v. Houston Lighting &

Power Co., 79 F.3d 485 (1996). As noted by the district court,

applying defendant’s analysis requires the unjustified

App. 1.11

conclusion that the Reece court overruled our holding in

Roadway I.

The present case involves the same type of retaliatory

discharge workers’ compensation claim brought under

the same Texas statute, which has now been

recodified as Texas Labor Code § 451. In contrast,

the decision in Reece addressed whether the LMRA

preempted a different provision of the Texas Labor

Code prohibiting racial discrimination in

employment. The Reece court did not cite Roadway

and nothing in the opinion suggests that the court

intended to modify, let alone overrule, the decision in

Roadway. Unless and until the Fifth Circuit revisits

its Roadway holding, that precedent is binding on this

Court.

(Memorandum Order, June 5, 1997 at 2).

Interpretation of the CBA is not necessary for the

resolution of this case. The primary issue in this case is the

factual question of motivation: Did the defendant fire the

plaintiffs in retaliation for filing worker’s compensation

claims? The answer to this question is not dependent on an

interpretation of the CBA.

Plaintiffs have an independent right to file workers’

compensation claims without fear of losing their jobs. As we

previously stated:

[T]he right to be free from retaliatory discharge for

pursuing workers’ compensation exists for Jones, as

it did for the employee in Lingle, independently of the

CBA. The right originates in the statute which Texas

App. 1.12

has enacted to protect employees seeking

compensation for work-related injuries. It does not

depend on any right or duty originating in the CBA.

Jones’ right would exist even if there were no CBA.

The right that Jones claims accrues to employees "as

individual workers, not as members of a collective

organization."

Roadway I, 931 F.2d at 1090 (emphasis added) (citations

omitted); cf Lingle, 486 U.S. at 411 ("[T]here is nothing novel

about recognizing that substantive nghts in the labor relations

context can exist without interpreting collective bargaining

agreements.").

Plaintiffs’ retaliatory discharge claims do not require

interpretation of the CBA for resolution, therefore, they are not

pre-empted by § 301 of the LMRA.

Il. REMAND OF THE RETALIATORY DISCHARGE

CLAIM.

[9] Having established that plaintiffs’ retaliatory

discharge claim is not pre-empted, we now turn to the issue of

whether the district court properly denied plaintiffs’ motion to

remand. Although the question confronting us is whether the

case should be remanded to state court, rather than whether the

defendant properly removed the case to federal court, the issue

of removal controls our analysis. See Roadway I, 931 F.2d at

1091.

In an effort to control the ever-increasing flow of

compensation cases into already strained federal dockets,

Congress declared such actions non-removable.

App. 1.13

A civil action in any State court arising under the

workmens’ compensation laws of such State may not

be removed to any district court of the United States.

28 U.S.C. 1445(c) (1994). This section "reflects a strong

congressional policy that where the state court has been utilized

by one of the parties in the state compensation machinery, the

case should remain in the state court for its ultimate

disposition." Kay v. Home Indemnity Co., 337 F.2d 898, 902

(Sth Cir. 1964). We remain convinced that workmen’s

compensation cases “have little real business in a federal

court," and have therefore, been reluctant "to strain to find a

way to entertain" such suits. Jd. at 901.4

[10] In Sherrod vy. American Airlines, Inc., we held that

"1445(c) prohibits the removal of any state worker’s

compensation claims." 132 F.3d 1112, 1118 (Sth Cir. 1998).

This bright-line rule is consistent with the wording of

§ 1445(c). See Roadway I, 931 F.2d at 1092 ("Because

Congress intended that all cases arising under a state’s workers’

compensation scheme remain in state court, we believe that we

should read section 1445(c) broadly to further that purpose.").

In that vein, we find that the district court erred in denying

plaintiffs’ motion to remand their retaliatory discharge claim.*

* We have already held that a claim filed under § 451.001 is one

“arising under the workers’ compensation law" for purposes of § 1445(c).

See Roadway I, 931 F.2d at 1092.

* After reversing the district court’s order denying the plaintiffs’

motion to remand, the issue of whether the district court erred by granting

defendant’s motion for summary judgment regarding the merits of

plaintiffs’ claims becomes moot.

| es

App. 1.14

IV. CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE the district

court’s order denying plaintiffs’ motion to remand and

REMAND this case to the district court with instructions to

remand to the state court. In addition, we VACATE the district

court’s ruling on the causal connection between plaintiffs’

terminations and their workers’ compensation claims.

App. 2.1

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-41493

AGUSTINA TREVINO, HERMINIA HERRERA,

BEATRIZ OLIVAREZ, GLORIA GUAJARDO,

Plaintiffs-Appellants

v.

MIKE RAMOS, ET AL

Defendants

LEVI STRAUSS & CO.

Defendant - Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas, McAllen

FILED

JUN 26, 2000

CHARLES R. FULBRUGE III, CLERK

N_ PETITION FOR RE EN BANC

(Opinion 12/7/99, 5 Cir., , F.3d )

App. 2.2

Before EMILIO M. GARZA and PARKER, Circuit Judges,

and COBB,* District Judge.

PER CURIAM:

(W%) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc asa

Petition for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing

is DENIED. No member of the panel nor judge in regular

active service of the court having requested that the court be

polled on Rehearing En Banc (FED. R. App. P. and STHCIR. R.

35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

( ) Treating the petition for Rehearing En Banc as a

Petition for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing

is DENIED. The court having been polled at the request of one

of the members of the court and a majority of the judges who

are in regular active service not having voted in favor (FED. R.

AppP. P. and STH CIR. R. 35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc

is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/

United States Circuit Judge

REHG-6a

CLERK'S NOTE:

SEE FRAP AND LOCAL

RULES 41 FORSTAY OF THE

MANDATE

OO

App. 3.1

Relevant Statutory Provisions

28 U.S.C. § 1445(c)

A civil action in any State court arising under the

workmen's compensation laws of such State may not

be removed to any district court of the United States.

App. 3.2

Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a).

Suits by and against labor organizations

(a) Venue, amount, and citizenship

Suits for violation of contracts between an

employer and a labor organization representing

employees in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this chapter, or between any such labor

organizations, may be brought in any district court of

the Untied States having jurisdiction of the parties,

without respect to the amount in controversy or

without regard to the citizenship of the parties.

App. 3.3

Texas Labor Code § 451.001:

Discrimination Against Employees Prohibited

A person may not discharge or in any other

manner discriminate against an employee because the

employee has:

(1) filed a workers' compensation claim in

good faith;

(2) hireda lawyer torepresent the employee

in a claim;

(3) instituted or caused to be instituted in

good faith a proceeding under

Subtitle A; or

(4) testified or is about to testify in a

proceeding under Subtitle A.

App. 4.1

NOTICE: THIS IS AN UNPUBLISHED OPINION.

(The Court's decision is referenced in a "Table of Decisions

Without Reported Opinions" appearing in the Federal Reporter.

Use FI CTA6 Rule 28 and FI CTA6 IOP 206 for rules

regarding the citation of unpublished opinions.)

United States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit.

William BECK WITH; Karen Beckwith,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

DIESEL TECHNOLOGY CO., Defendant-Appellee.

No. 99-1548.

May 30, 2000.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Michigan.

Before ENGEL, JONES, and COLE, Circuit Judges.

OPINION

COLE, Circuit Judge.

**] Plaintiffs-Appellants Karen and William Beckwith appeal

the district court's grant of summary judgment to

Defendant-Appellee Diesel Technology Co. ("DTC"). On

appeal, the Beckwiths argue that the district court erred in two

respects: first, by concluding that Karen's wrongful discharge

claim was preempted by § 301 of the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947 (LMRA), 29 U.S.C. § 185; and second,

App. 4.2

by concluding that both William's and Karen's claims of

intentional infliction of emotional distress (IIED) were based

on acts insufficiently extreme and outrageous to exempt them

from preemption under § 301 of the LMRA. For the following

reasons, we AFFIRM the order of the district court.

I. BACKGROUND

Both Karen and William began working for DTC in 1994.

Both were members of the United Auto Workers, Local 167

("UAW"), the exclusive bargaining representative for all DTC's

production and maintenance employees. Their employment

was governed by a collective bargaining agreement ("CBA")

between DTC and UAW.

In August 1995, William was injured on the job. He took

disability leave from November 1995 until July 1996, and

retumed to work on light duty. He took another disability leave

from May 1997 until June 1998, and again returned to work on

light duty. William was still working for DTC ina light duty

position at the time of this suit. William filed a worker's

compensation claim pursuant to the Michigan Worker's

Disability Compensation Act, Mich. Comp. Laws Ann.

§ 418.101 et seq., which DTC disputed.

Karen was terminated on November 6, 1996 for violating

DTC's attendance policy. She had been absent from work two

days earlier in order to accompany her husband to a scheduled,

non-emergency medical appointment. The UAW grieved the

discharge pursuant to the CBA, and the issue went to

arbitration on November 24, 1997. At arbitration, the UAW

argued that Karen should have been permitted to cover her

absence of November 4, 1996 with an "after the fact" vacation

day. The union did not dispute that Karen had a poor

App. 4.3

attendance record and that DTC had previously used

progressive discipline to deal with Karen's absenteeism, but

rather argued that the company's history of leniency in dealing

with employee absences had led Karen to believe that she

would not jeopardize her job by missing work without

requesting leave in advance. In a written decision issued on

February 23, 1998, the arbitrator found "no basis for [Karen] to

reasonably expect that an after the fact vacation day would be

approved," and concluded that management had just cause to

dismiss Karen.

In January 1999, William and Karen filed a two-count

complaint against DTC in the Kent County Circuit Court in

Michigan. In count one, the plaintiffs charged that Karen was

wrongfully discharged by DTC, andthatthecompany'sreliance |

on Karen's attendance record was a pretext for its effort to

retaliate against William for his worker's compensation claims.

In count two, the Beckwiths charged that, from the time of

William's injury in August 1995, DTC harassed and

intimidated both of them in order "to inflict sufficient

emotional distress or discomfort that either or both Plaintiffs

would voluntarily terminate there [sic] employment," and that

they had suffered physical and emotional discomfort as a direct

and proximate result of DTC's harassment.

**2 Shortly after the district court granted DTC's motion to

remove the case to federal court, DTC moved for summary

judgment. After conducting a hearing on the motion on

April 16, 1999, the court granted DTC's motion for summary

judgment. In an oral ruling, the court found that Karen's claim

of retaliatory discharge was preempted by § 301 of the LMRA'

' Section 301 provides that:

(continued...)

a

App. 4.4

because its resolution would require the court to interpret the

CBA; the court then dismissed the claim because it was filed

well after the six-month statute of limitations. See

Del Costello v. International Bhd. of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151,

169 (1983). The court also found that the ITED claims were

preempted, and that there was no genuine issue of material fact

regarding whether DTC's conduct had been outrageous or

extreme, because it clearly was not.

The court issued a written summary order of dismissal, and the

Beckwiths filed a timely notice of appeal.

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review the district court's grant of summary judgment

de novo. See Smith v. Ameritech, 129 F.3d 857, 863 (6th Cir.

1997). Summary judgment is appropriate when there is no

genuine issue of material fact and the moving party is entitled

to a judgment as a matter of law. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). In

deciding a motion for summary judgment, the district court

must view the factual evidence in the light most favorable to

the non-moving party. See Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986). The

non-moving party may not rest on its pleadings, but rather must

' (...continued)

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer and a labor

organization representing employees in an industry affecting commerce... .

may be brought in any district court of the United States having jurisdiction

of the parties, without respect to the amount in controversy or without

regard to the citizenship of the parties. 29 U.S.C. § 185(a). "Since 1962,

the Supreme Court has held that section 301 preempts state law rules that

substantially implicate the meaning of collective bargaining agreement

terms." DeCoe v. General Motors Corp., 32 F.3d 212, 216 (6th Cir .1994).

This court's interpretation of § 301 is discussed, infra.

4

App. 4.5

put forward evidence from which a rational trier of fact could

find in its favor. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 249 (1986).

Il. WRONGFUL DISCHARGE

On appeal, Karen argues that the district court erred by finding

that her wrongful discharge claim was preempted by § 301 of

the LMRA.? In general, if a state law claim brought by a union

member plaintiffrequires interpretation of the governing CBA,

§ 301 demands preemption. See Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams,

482 U.S. 386, 394 (1987). In Lingle v. Norge Division of

Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399 (1988), the Supreme Court

stated the governing principle for § 301 preemption cases:

if the resolution of a state-law claim depends upon the meaning

of a collective-bargaining agreement, the application of state

law (which might lead to inconsistent results since there could

be as many state-law principles as there are States) is

preempted and federal labor-law principles—necessarily

uniform throughout the Nation--must be employed to resolve

the dispute.

Id. at 405-06. This circuit detailed its two-step approach to

deciding whether § 301 preemption applies in DeCoe v.

General Motors Corp., 32 F.3d 212, 216 (6th Cir. 1994):

First, the district court must examine whether proof of the state

law claim requires interpretation of collective bargaining

agreement terms. Second, the court must ascertain whether the

right claimed by the plaintiff is created by the collective

? The Beckwiths concede that, if the district court was correct in

ruling that § 301 preempts Karen's claim, the claim is time-barred.

Od ale eatin aR A sede OND kes I TB

ABT LE RON Mtns ean Pett wee Ds LD

2 NET, tae: UR a tle:

ih eth RN natin WEY Dye NS

App. 4.6

bargaining agreement or by state law. If the right is borne of

state law and does not invoke contract interpretation, then there

is no preemption. However, if neither or only one criterion is

satisfied, section 301 preemption is warranted.

**3 Id. (citations omitted).

Karen admits that the district court was correct to apply the

two-part test enunciated in DeCoe and concedes that she was

terminated under the "apparent authority" of the CBA on the

basis of excessive tardiness. She claims, however, that the true

question before the court is whether DTC fired her in response

to her husband's worker's compensation claim, and that

resolution of that question does not require interpretation of the

CBA.

Karen's claim fails under the first prong of the DeCoe test

because proof of the retaliatory discharge claim "requires

interpretation of collective bargaining agreement terms."

DeCoe, 32 F.3d at 216. In applying the first prong, we "look{[ ]

to the essence of the plaintiff's claim, in order to determine

whether the plaintiff is attempting to disguise what is

essentially a contract claim as atort." Jd. Only if the plaintiff

can prove all the elements of her claim without requiring the

court to examine the CBA does her claim escape preemption.

Id. Karen describes her claim on appeal as follows. She argues

that under Michigan law, the retaliatory discharge of an

employee in response to that employee filing a worker's

compensation claim is actionable in tort; Karen then argues that

her own claim—as the spouse of the employee filing the

workers compensation claim--is a natural extension of

Michigan law. Karen further claims that the retaliation in this

case came in the form of a hostile work environment that was

intended to force her to quit; since the CBA did not provide for

a stress-free or non-hostile work environment, Karen argues

App. 4.7

that the court could resolve her claim without construing the

CBA.

It is unlikely that Karen can even state a claim under Michigan

law: she acknowledges that the Michigan law authorizing tort

relief for workers who are fired in response to filing worker's

compensation claims, see M.C.L.A. § 418.301(11), has not yet

been extended to the worker's family members. More

important, the court hearing Karen's case will have to interpret

the CBA. In the complaint, Karen claimed that DTC's reason

for terminating her--repeated absenteeism--was a pretext for

firing her in response to her husband's worker's compensation

claim. At trial, DTC's defense would surely be that it fired

Karen because she failed to abide by the terms of the CBA, and

that it disciplined and then terminated her pursuant to the CBA.

A court will have to interpret the CBA, which requires that

"[a]ll vacation time off must be pre-approved," and which

permits DTC to discipline employees, to see if that defense is

valid. Becauseresolution of Karen's retaliatory discharge claim

would "require [ ] interpretation of collective bargaining

agreement terms," DeCoe, 32 F.3d at 216; see also Lingle,

486 U.S. at 405-06, Karen's claim is preempted.’

3 The Beckwiths point to Lingle, 486 U.S. 399 (holding that

employee's state law claim of retaliatory discharge was not preempted by

§ 301 because it did not require interpretation of pertinent CBA), and this

court's decision in Smolarek v. Chrysler Corp., 879 F.2d 1326, 1331

(6th Cir. 1989) (en banc) (holding that employee's Michigan law claim of

retaliatory discharge for filing a worker's compensation claim did not

implicate CBA) to support tiicir argument that Karen's retaliation charge is

not preempted. As the district court found, the facts of this case do not

present simply an employer's discharge of a worker because that worker

filed or could potentially file for worker's compensation benefits. See

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 401; Smolarek, 879 F.2d at 1328-29. Rather, Karen

admits that DTC's stated reason for terminating her was her "excessive

(continued...)

er ee a

App. 4.8

In addition, Karen has put forth virtually no evidence beyond

her complaint that her discharge was wrongful. Because

resolution of Karen's wrongful termination claim would require

recourse to the CBA, and because she has offered virtually no

evidence of her wrongful discharge, the district court's grant of

summary judgment on Karen's claim of wrongful termination

was proper.

IV. INTENTIONAL INFLICTION OF

EMOTIONAL DISTRESS (IED)

**4 The Beckwiths next argue that the district court erred by

granting summary judgment to DTC on their IED claims. The

Beckwiths essentially argue that DTC harassed them in

retaliation for William filing a worker's compensation claim,

and that since nothing in the CBA protects them from this type

of harassment, interpretation of the CBA is unnecessary to

resolution of their claims. Thus, the Beckwiths argue, their

claims are not preempted. DTC responds that both Karen and

William will have to resort to the CBA to prove their ITED

claims, and that even if the Beckwiths' ITED claims are not

preempted, they have failed to allege conduct sufficiently

extreme and outrageous to state a claim under Michigan law.

This court's inquiry is again guided by the two-pronged

question posed in DeCoe: whether the plaintiffs' state law claim

requires interpretation of the CBA, and whether the right

claimed derives from the CBA or state law. See DeCoe,

3 (...continued)

tardiness." Appellants' Br. at 18. Resolution of her case would require the

court to interpret the CBA to evaluate whether DTC terminated Karen in

accordance with its rights under the CBA. See Lingle, 486 U.S. at 413;

DeCoe, 32 F.3d at 216. As such, Karen's claim is preempted.

App. 4.9

32 F.3d at216. Although the Michigan Supreme Court has yet

to recognize the tort of IIED, see Andrews v. Prudential

Securities, Inc., 160 F.3d 304, 309 (6th Cir. 1998) (citing

Roberts v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 374 N.W.2d 905, 906

(Mich.1985)), this court has assumed that the Michigan

Supreme Court would recognize such a tort under appropriate

circumstances, and that it would analyze the tort using the

definition found in the Restatement (2d) of Torts. See id.,;

DeCoe, 32 F.3d at 218. To establish a prime facie case of

ITED, a plaintiff must establish the following four elements:

1) extreme and outrageous conduct; 2) intent or recklessness;

3) causation; and 4) severe emotional distress. See Andrews,

160 F.3d at 309. The defendant's conduct must be “so

outrageous in character, and so extreme in degree, as to go

beyond all possible bounds of decency, and to be regarded as

atrocious, and utterly intolerable in a civilized community." Jd.

(citations and quotations omitted). The defendant will be liable

only "where the distress inflicted is so severe that no reasonable

man could be expected to endure it." /d. (citation and

quotation omitted).

Neither of the Beckwiths state an IED claim under Michigan

state law. As the district court found, the conduct that the

Beckwiths allege does not even approach the level of

outrageousness required to satisfy the first element of an ITED

claim. See Hartleip v. McNeilab, Inc., 83 F.3d 767, 777

(6th Cir.1996) (finding plaintiffs allegations of sexual

harassment insufficient to establish outrageousness under

Michigan law); Rush v. United Technologies, 930 F.2d 453,

456-57 (6th Cir. 1991) (finding that terminated employee failed

to allege facts sufficient to state ITED claim under Michigan —

law); Polk v. Yellow Freight Sys., Inc., 801 F.2d 190, 196-97

(6th Cir. 1986) (discharged employee who failed to obey

instruction of employer failed to state ITED claim). By failing

he lie SE ANN MI AEE a Oe NC tbe wi ib Ht a MM DD Ob teal 1 co

Pitt

App. 4.10

to allege acts of sufficient outrageousness, the Beckwiths'

claims fail, preempted or not. See Adkins v. General Motors

Corp., 946 F.2d 1201, 1213 (6th Cir. 1991) (finding state

interest in adjudicating plaintiffs' emotional distress claims too

insubstantial to defeat complete preemption where plaintiffs

failed to make specific allegations of outrageous conduct on

part of union or employer); Slone v. Martin Marietta Energy

Sys., No. 95-4182, 1997 WL 139794 (6th Cir. Mar. 26, 1997)

(upholding grant of summary judgment to defendant in federal

labor action where plaintiff failed to allege facts outrageous

enough to state a claim of IIED under state law); see also

DeCoe, 32 F.3d at 219-20 (section 301 preempts Michigan

ITED claim where court must refer to CBA to determine if

defendant acted outrageously).

V. CONCLUSION

**5 For the reasons discussed above, we AFFIRM the

judgment of the district court.

App. 5.1

NOTICE: THIS IS AN UNPUBLISHED OPINION.

(The Court's decision is referenced in a "Table of Decisions

Without Reported Opinions" appearing in the Federal Reporter.

Use FI CTA6 Rule 28 and FI CTA6 IOP 206 for rules

regarding the publication and citation of unpublished opinions. )

United States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit.

Donna ROBERTS, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

AUTOALLIANCE INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 92-1447.

June 15, 1993.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan, No. 90-73398, Hackett, J.

E.D.Mich.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART, AND

REMANDED.

Before BOGGS and BATCHELDER, Circuit Judges, and

MANOS, Senior District Judge.'

PER CURIAM.

' The Honorable John M. Manos, United States District Judge for

the Northern District of Ohio, sitting by designation.

———————————

App. 5.2

**1 Roberts appeals the district court's denial of her motions to

amend her complaint and the summary disposition of her

complaint. We find that the district court abused its discretion

in refusing to permit Roberts to delete a paragraph from her

complaint. Our ruling follows from our finding that the district

court erroneously held that count I of Roberts's complaint

would have been preempted by Labor Management Relations

Act § 301 even if Roberts's proposed changes had been

permitted.

I

i A. Facts

Donna Roberts joined Defendant Mazda Motor Manufacturing?

as an assembly line worker on February 29, 1988. After ashort

training program, she entered the Trim and Final Department

and performed repetitive hand, wrist, and arm motions for over

forty hours per week. In June 1988, she complained of hand

: and wrist pain, and one of Mazda's doctors restricted her to

doing light tasks.

i Roberts's supervisor allegedly refused to honor the medical

restrictions and insisted that she perform her line job. After a

second visit to Mazda's doctors, Roberts was given similar

orders restricting her work and, upon Roberts's return, her

i supervisor allegedly made her wash floors because he said that

was the only work he had available for her. Mazda then gave

Roberts a different assembly line job, but after she found that

she could not do this job either, she was placed on medical

leave. In August 1988, Roberts was called back to work and

given a temporary job answering phones while the

? Mazda Motor Manufacturing has been renamed AutoAlliance

International, inc. Because Roberts was employed by Mazda, we refer to

the defendant as Mazda instead of AutoAlliance.

App. 5.3

computerized phone system was being repaired, but when that

job ended, Mazda told Roberts they had no work for her to do.

Roberts was returned to medical leave and began participating

in Mazda's salary continuation program.

In September 1988, Roberts filed for workers’ compensation

alleging that she suffered from bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome

as aresult of her work. Mazda disputed the claim, arguing that

Roberts's injury was not work-related. She was found disabled

for a closed period and she appealed that decision.

In August 1989, after receiving 52 weeks of partial pay under

the salary continuation program, Roberts's seniority was

terminated in accordance with the collective bargaining

agreement ("CBA") because she was unable to return to work.

Her termination letter reminded her that she could apply for

long term disability benefits, which she did, and benefits were

approved. She also complained to her union about the

termination of her seniority and the union filed a grievance

with Mazda. |

In September 1990, the union and Mazda met to discuss several

labor relations issues, including the policy of terminating

workers’ seniority upon expiration of the 52 weeks of partial

salary. Mazda agreed to restore seniority to the workers who

were discharged under this plan and Roberts's employment

status was returned to "inactive," which was her status in

August of 1989.° Roberts's "inactive" employment status was

guaranteed through the expiration of the CBA on

March 3,1991.

> Roberts was reinstated despite the fact that she did not precisely

fit the terms of the union-Mazda deal

App. 5.4

**2 In October 1990, Roberts filed a three-count complaint in

the Wayne County Circuit Court.

In November 1991, during the pendency of this case, Roberts's

long-term disability benefits were terminated (as was

appropriate under the Employee Benefit Plan) and her seniority

was terminated pursuant to the provisions of the CBA.‘

B. Procedural Facts and History

In October 1990, Roberts filed a three-count complaint in the

Wayne County Circuit Court. Count I, entitled "Worker's

Compensation Discrimination-- MCLA 418.301(11),"

incorporated by reference certain general allegations and then

alleged:

25. Defendants' [sic] terminated Plaintiff [sic] employment as

a result of her assertion of a work-related medical condition.

26. In the alternative, Defendant Mazda's policy of terminating

all persons who remain off work greater than 52 weeks is

intended to discriminate against persons who allege

work-related injuries.

27. In the alternative, Defendants discriminated against

Plaintiff by failing or refusing to offer her work within her

restrictions, whereas other persons without a work-related

condition were accommodated at the plant.

Count II ("Handicap Discrimination") alleged that Mazda

discriminated against Roberts because of her physical handicap

* The union and Mazda had entered into a new three-year CBA

before the expiration of the old CBA, and this had the effect of extending

Roberts's "inactive" status until this termination occurred in

November 1991.

App. 5.5

in violation of the Michigan Handicappers' Civil Rights Act.

Count III ("Handicap Discrimination--Federal Rehabilitation

Act of 1973") alleged that Mazda's refusal to accommodate

Roberts's handicap violated federal law.

In November 1990, Defendant Mazda removed Roberts's suit

to federal court based on federal question jurisdiction. In

December 1990, Roberts moved to have the case remanded to

state court arguing only that the federal court had no

jurisdiction over the workers' compensation discrimination

claim (count I). This motion was denied on February 21, 1991.

On March 4, 1991, Roberts moved to dismiss voluntarily

counts II and III of her complaint. On March 21, Mazda filed

a motion to dismiss or for summary judgment, contending,

among other things, that count I was preempted by the Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. § 185 (LMRA

§ 301).

On July 11, the court ruled on both parties' March 1991

motions. It wrote:

Count I plainly invites the court to interpret the CBA by

finding that Mazda's practice of terminating workers who are

absent for 52 consecutive weeks-a policy that is set out in the

CBA at Article VII, § 5.1--discriminates against persons with

work-related injuries. Plaintiffreinforced this stance when she

testified in deposition that she presumed her termination related

to a contract interpretation dispute between Mazda and her

union. While plaintiff opposes defendants' motion with

arguments that she was a victim of discrimination by her

supervisor while she worked in the Mazda plant, there is no

escaping that plaintiff has challenged the discriminatory

policies of the CBA on the face of her complaint. Although the

court could analyze the allegations of discrimination by the

App. 5.6

supervisor without resorting to the CBA, the court must

interpret the CBA to reach the accusations of the complaint.

**3 (footnote omitted.) The district court then ruled that

count I was preempted by LMRA § 301 because it required

interpretation of the CBA and ordered Mazda to supplement its

motion for dismissal or summary judgment with a brief on why

count I failed to stated a claim under § 301. Finally, the court

denied without prejudice Roberts's request for voluntary

dismissal of counts II and II:

Because the court finds in this order and opinion that the

doctrine of federal preemption prohibits the remand of count I

to the Michigan Circuit Court, plaintiff may be prejudiced by

the granting of her motion to dismiss counts II and II. The

court, therefore, will deny that motion without prejudice.

On August 7, as part of her response to Mazda's brief on the

issue of whether Roberts's complaint stated a claim under

§ 301, Roberts moved to delete’ paragraph 26 from her

complaint. On August 21, Roberts moved to amend her

complaint by substituting the following language for

paragraph 26: "Defendant discriminated against Plaintiff by

harassing her, giving her job assignments in violation of her

restrictions after reporting her work-related injuries." On

November 25, 1991, Roberts moved to amend her complaint to

add a claim based on Mazda's alleged failure to notify her

* Roberts asked the court to “dismiss paragraph 26 of Count I."

For clarity, we refer to this particular motion as the "motion to delete."

App. 5.7

properly of her termination.° Mazda opposed each of these

motions.

On March 26, 1992, the district court issued two decisions. In

one of these, the district court denied the two motions to amend

(filed August 21 and November 25). After setting out the

applicable law, the court analyzed the first motion to amend in

one paragraph:

In the present case, in her first motion to amend the complaint,

plaintiff is seeking to substitute different language in

paragraph 26 of the original complaint and effectively remove

any reference to a termination policy in the collective

bargaining agreement under which plaintiff worked. This

request comes after the court has ruled that count I is

preempted by § 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. 185, and after plaintiff has filed motions to

voluntarily dismiss counts II and IT . . . and dismiss

paragraph 26 completely. It appears to the court that plaintiff's

first motion to amend is made with a dilatory motive to remove

all vestiges of a federal question from the complaint.

Additionally, at this late stage in the proceedings, allowing an

amendment would cause undue delay as well as be prejudicial

to defendant, because it would require further discovery and

incur additional expense. These factors persuade the court that

plaintiff's first motion to amend the complaint should be

denied. ...

° Roberts claimed that the termination letter sent November 8,

1991 did not provide sufficient warning that her failure to return to work

within five working days of the termination of her long-term disability

benefits (on November 1, 1991) would result in her termination.

i

ii a Bi PW cana Rta ats esd se ede ah Roald Tae as

App. 5.8

Roberts's second motion to amend was also denied. The

district court reasoned that amendment would cause undue

delay and "simply add another allegation subject to § 301

preemption which, under the facts of this case, [might] not

survive a motion to dismiss."

In its second opinion of March 26, the court granted Mazda's

motion for summary judgment, holding that Roberts's facts

could not sustain a § 301 claim. The district court denied

without discussion Roberts's motion to delete paragraph 26

from her complaint.’

II

**4 We are asked to review the district court's decisions

granting Mazda's motions for dismissal or summary judgment

on counts I, II, and I] and denying Roberts's motions to amend

her complaint and to delete paragraph 26. While we ultimately

resolve this case on grounds that the district court abused its

discretion in refusing to permit Roberts to modify her

complaint, the interconnectedness of the preemption issue and

Roberts's requests to modify her complaint requires that we

first address the preemption issue.

” Apparently, the court felt that either its discussion of the

summary judgment granted on count I or its ruling on the two separate

motions to amend was a sufficient basis to deny the motion to delete. We

address this issue infra.

* We also review the district court's order of July 11 (which held

that count I was preempted by LMRA § 301) despite the fact that it was not

specifically mentioned in the notice of appeal. We do this because the.

July 11 order was an integral part of the district court's ultimate summary

disposition of the case.

App. 5.9

A. Preemption by § 301

Mazda's motion was a motion to dismiss, or, in the alternative,

a motion for summary judgment. The district court treated the

motion as one for summary judgment, so this court reviews the

district court judgment de novo. Adkins v. United Mine

Workers, 941 F.2d 392, 399 (6th Cir.1991), cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 1180 (1992).

The district court relied primarily on the face of Roberts's

complaint, emphasizing particularly paragraph 26, in granting

Mazda's motion for summary judgment. However, one

additional fact was used by the district court to support its

finding of preemption:° the deposition testimony of Roberts in

which, according to Mazda, she "admits" that her claim is

governed by the CBA. We first dispose of this argument.

Summarizing Roberts's testimony and giving to Mazda the

benefit of the doubt as to its meaning, we find that Roberts

testified that she understood that (1) her employment was

governed by the CBA, and (2) Roberts's union grieved her

discharge on grounds that the CBA should not be interpreted in

the way in which Mazda was interpreting it. Mazda then

argued in the district court and before us that preemption was

mandated because Roberts "admitted" that her employment was

governed by the CBA and that her termination turned on the

meaning of the CBA. The district court apparently agreed with

this argument,'° but we donot. What Roberts understood to be

* The district court's mention of this fact is found in the July 1991

ruling which was essentially the first of two parts in the summary judgment

ruling.

‘0 We note, however, that this point was not the primary basis of

(continued...)

App. 5.10

the union's basis for grieving her termination has little, if

anything, to do with whether the claim of discrimination she

raises in this lawsuit is governed by the CBA. What matters is

whether her legal theory of this case requires interpretation of

the CBA. Her statements at the deposition cannot be stretched

as far as Mazda would like them to go."

We turn now to the preemption issue. Without engaging in an

extended discussion of the cases developing the doctrine of

§ 301 preemption,’? we identify the issue in this case as

whether Roberts's suit is sufficiently "independent" of the CBA

to withstand the preemptive force of § 301. The controlling

precedents on this issue are Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic

Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399 (1988) and Smolarek v. Chrysler

Corp., 879 F.2d 1326 (6th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied,

493 U.S. 992 (1989).

In Lingle, the plaintiff was injured, allegedly at work, and filed

a workers’ compensation claim. Her employer did not believe

that she was injured at work and fired Lingle for filing a false

workers' compensation claim. The union grieved the discharge,

objecting that Lingle was not fired for "just" or "proper" cause

'° (...continued)

the district court's ruling.

'! We also note that matters which can be "admitted" by a party are

generally limited to matters of fact and some mixed questions of fact and

law. See 8 Charles A. Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 2255 (1970). It cannot seriously be contended that a party's

understanding of a legal matter could constitute a binding admission. It is

for the court in all instances to decide what law applies to a particular case.

'? For a discussion of the history and development of § 301

preemption, see International Bhd. of Elec. Workers v. Hechler, 481 U.S.

851, 855-859 (1987).

App. 5.11

as the CBA required. At the same time, Lingle filed an action

in state court alleging she had been discharged for exercising

her rights under the state workers’ compensation laws. Both the

district court and the Seventh Circuit (en banc) held that

Lingle's claim was preempted.

**5 The Supreme Court reversed. After reviewing its prior

§ 301 preemption decisions, the Court wrote:

"[To] show retaliatory discharge, the plaintiff must set forth

sufficient facts from which it can be inferred that (1) he was

discharged or threatened with discharge and (2) the employer's

motive in discharging or threatening to discharge him was to

deter him from exercising his nghts under the Act or to

interfere with his exercise of those rights." [citations to state

case law omitted] Each of these purely factual questions

pertains to the conduct of the employee and the conduct and

motivation of the employer. Neither of the elements requires

a court to interpret any term of a collective-bargaining

agreement. To defend against a retaliatory discharge claim, an

employer must show that it had a nonretaliatory reason for the

discharge; this purely factual inquiry likewise does not turn on

the meaning of any provision of a collective-bargaining

agreement. Thus, the state-law remedy in this case is

"independent" of the collective-bargaining agreement in the

sense of "independent" that matters for § 301 pre-emption

purposes: resolution of the state-law claim does not require

construing the collective-bargaining agreement.

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 407 (emphasis added) (citations omitted).

The Court rejected the Seventh Circuit's view that the claim

was preempted because analyzing the discharge under the CBA

or under state tort law involved deciding the same factual

issues.

App. 5.12

In a post-Lingle decision, this Court, sitting en banc, held that

a workers’ compensation discrimination/retaliatory discharge

claim was not preempted by § 301. Smolarek, 879 F.2d at

1331. This Court cited Lingle throughout its decision and

concluded that the claim was “sufficiently set out as separate

and apart from a collective bargaining contract claim, and thus

avoid[ed] preemption." 879 F.2d at 1331; cf. Dougherty v.

Parsec, Inc., 872 F.2d 766 (6th Cir. 1989) (tortious interference

with contract/business relationship claim not preempted by

§ 301 because there was no need to interpret the contract (the

CBA) in order to find that another had tortiously interfered

with it).

In light of Lingle, and given the way Roberts drafted her

complaint, the question before the district court in the instant

case was easy. Paragraph 26 alleges that the provisions of the

CBA are discriminatory. This allegation makes Roberts's claim

dependent on the CBA because the district court would have to

interpret the CBA to reach plaintiffs claim. And, "if the

resolution of a state-law claim depends upon the meaning of a

collective-bargaining agreement, the application of state law

. .. 18 pre-empted and federal labor-law principles--necessarily

uniform throughout the Nation--must be employed to resolve

the dispute." Lingle, 486 U.S. at 405-06 (footnotes omitted).

However, if we assume for purposes of analysis that

paragraph 26 had been deleted from the complaint, an entirely

different outcome results. Paragraph 25 ("Defendants' [sic]

terminated Plaintiff [sic] employment as a result of her

assertion of a work-related medical condition") is not

preempted, because, in order to adjudicate this Claim, the court

need only look to the facts of the situation and need not

interpret the CBA. See Lingle, 486 U.S. at 407 (common law

tort claim for retaliatory discharge not preempted); Smolarek,

App. 5.13

879 F.2d at 1331 (workers' compensation

discrimination/retaliatory discharge claim under Michigan

statute not preempted); cf. Baldracchi v. Pratt & Whitney

Aircraft Div., United Technologies Corp., 814 F.2d 102

(2d Cir. 1987) (allegation that defendant violated Connecticut

statute by terminating plaintiff for filing a workers'

compensation claim held not preempted), cert. denied, 486 U.S.

1054 (1988).

**6 Paragraph 27 alleges that "Defendants discriminated

against Plaintiff by failing or refusing to offer her work within

her restrictions, whereas other persons without a work-related

condition were accommodated at the plant." Roberts's legal

theory here is one of discrimination, and paragraph 27 would

require the court to consider only factual issues--how Mazda

treated employees who asserted work-related injuries compared

to how it treated those with non- work-related injuries. It

would not require interpretation of the CBA and thus would not

be preempted. Since neither paragraph 25 nor 27 requires

preemption, count I would not be preempted in the absence of

paragraph 26.

Therefore, whether Roberts's claim is preempted depends

entirely upon whether paragraph 26 is present in or absent from

the complaint. We tum now to consideration of the district

court's refusal to permit Roberts to delete paragraph 26 or

amend her complaint.

B. Legal Standards for Permitting

Amendment of Pleadings

The question of whether a party should be allowed to amend a

pleading is left to the discretion of the district court and the

district court may only be reversed if it abused its discretion.

App. 5.14

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321,

330-31 (1971); United States v. Wood, 877 F.2d 453, 456

(6th Cir. 1989).

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15(a) provides that leave to

amend a pleading should be “freely given when justice so

requires."

If the underlying facts or circumstances relied upon by a

plaintiff may be a proper subject of relief, he ought to be

afforded an opportunity to test his claim on the merits. In the

absence of any apparent or declared reason—such as undue

delay, bad faith or dilatory motive on the part of the movant,

repeated failure to cure deficiencies by amendments previously

allowed, undue prejudice to the Opposing party by virtue of

allowance of the amendment, futility of amendment, etc.—the

leave sought should, as the rules require, be "freely given."

Forman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 182 (1962). "[D]elay alone,

regardless of its length is not enough to bar [amendment] if the

other party is not prejudiced." Moore v. City of Paducah,

790 F.2d 557, 560 (6th Cir. 1986) (quoting 3 James W. Moore,

Federal Practice 15.08 at 15.76). And, if the court can

impose conditions upon leave to amend in order to mitigate the

prejudice to the non-moving party, it could be an abuse of

discretion to deny the motion outright. See 6 Charles A.

Wright, et al., Federal Practice and Procedure § 1486 at 605-06

(1990) ("If the party opposing amendment can be protected by

the use of conditions from any possible prejudice that might

result from the untimeliness of the amendment, there is no

justifiable reason for not allowing it").

App. 5.15

C. Analysis of the District Court's Rationale

1. Motion to delete

We first address Roberts's motion to delete paragraph 26.'°

Although the district court did not discuss why it denied

Roberts's motion to delete, several reasons for the denial can be

gleaned from the district court's decisions: undue delay,

prejudice to Mazda, dilatory motive, and futility of amendment.

**7 For the reasons stated in our discussion of the preemption

issue above, we find that the district court's belief that deleting

paragraph 26 would be futile was erroneous. The district

court's remaining reasons were contained in its rulings on the

later motions to amend, and we consider those reasons as they

would apply to the motion to delete.

The primary reason for denying the August 21 motion to

amend was that the court found Roberts had "a dilatory motive

to remove all vestiges of a federal question from the

complaint." Secondary reasons were undue delay and prejudice

to Mazda "because [permitting amendment] would require

further discovery and incur additional expense."

We hold that none of these reasons suffices to justify the denial

of the motion to delete. First, while Roberts unquestionably

wanted to be in state court rather than federal court, the mere

fact that she attempted to clarify her state law claim by moving

‘3 We nove that Roberts's approach here should be discouraged:

burying in a response brief a motion to dismiss a paragraph from one's

complaint is hardly a commendable practice. The motion not only might

be missed completely, but also fails to give the district court a focused legal

and factual basis upon which to consider it.

App. 5.16

to delete paragraph 26 after she became aware of the

preemption problem is not cause to find that she acted

improperly."* At oral argument, counsel for Mazda cited

Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343 (1988), for the

Proposition that courts should guard against plaintiffs' deleting

federal claims so they can get back into state court. Cohill does

not so hold; on the contrary, Cohill held that "a district court

has discretion to remand to state court a removed case

involving pendent claims upon a proper determination that

retaining jurisdiction over the case would be inappropriate."

Cohill, 484 U.S. at 357. While acknowledging that forum

manipulation concems were legitimate, the Court specifically

rejected Camegie-Mellon's argument that “giving district courts

discretion to remand cases involving pendent state-law claims

[would] allow plaintiffs to secure a state forum through the use

of manipulative tactics." Jd. The Court stated that an attempt

to manipulate the forum was simply one factor to be considered

in the district court's decision whether to retain or remand a

pendent state-law claim after dismissal of the basis for federal

jurisdiction. Jd.

Obviously, Roberts would have been wiser to plead so that her

case could not have been removed in the first place. But, even

if she attempted to amend solely to avoid federal question

jurisdiction, the district court's remedy is not to prohibit

'* See, e.g., Minor v. Northville Pub. Sch., 605 F.Supp. 1185, 1201

(E.D.Mich. 1985) ("[F}iling a motion for leave to amend after prompting by

Opposing counsel's motion for dismissal is not bad faith as intimated by the

defendant here.") (citing Hildebrand vy. Honeywell, Inc., 622 F.2d 179

(Sth Cir.1980)); Adams v. Beland Realty Corp., 187 F. Supp. 680

(E.D.N.Y.1960) (after removal based on diversity, plaintiff's motion to

Substitute for corporate defendant defendant's Successor partnership, a

non-diverse party, held proper because no prejudice shown; case then

remanded to state court for lack of jurisdiction).

App. 5.17

amendment, but to retain jurisdiction of the state law claim

after amendment.'> We do not believe that federal jurisdiction

is aquicksand in which, plaintiff having haplessly wandered in,

she remains trapped because of the district court's refusal to

permit escape. Likewise, we do not believe that such a plaintiff

who appears to be pursuing a particular cause of action is

precluded from modifying her pleadings so as to express a

different cause of action, if the new theory fits with the facts of

her case."®

Second, delay and prejudice to defendant were at a minimum

in this case. Permitting Roberts to change her complaint by

deleting a paragraph is quite different from permitting a

plaintiff to add a claim which raises new theories or alleges

new facts, which necessitates further discovery. Permitting

deletion is: tis case would conceivably cause a slight delay and

prompt a new round of summary judgment motions. This

minimal effect cannot justify the district court's refusal to

permit the deletion in light of Rule 15(a), which requires that

leave to amend be "freely given."

'S Tt is settled law that the district court may exercise jurisdiction

over a pendent state law claim, even after the basis for removal to federal

court has been eliminated, if recommended by a careful consideration of

factors such as judicial economy, convenience, fairness, and comity. See

Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343 (1988); United Mine

Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966).

16 We reiterate, however, that we do not approve of Roberts's

counsel's approach in this case. On the contrary, the poor drafting of the

complaint in this case caused the problem in the first place, and many

months passed before any attempt was made to correct patent problems with

the complaint. But, we are bound to follow the applicable principles of law,

even if doing so creates the appearance that we approve of counsel's

handling of the matter.

App. 5.18

**8 Although one might believe that for efficiency's sake we

should affirm the summary judgment entered in Mazda's favor

based on the unlikelihood that Roberts will ultimately prevail

in this case, we do not find that such an approach would be

proper when the remaining state law claim is at least legally

cognizable. Of the two primary paragraphs that remain in

count I (paragraphs 25 and 27), paragraph 25 may state a cause

of action under Michigan law. Mich.Comp.Laws Ann.

§ 418.301(11) (1991) (Mich.Stat.Ann. § 17.237(301)(11))

provides:

A person shall not discharge an employee or in any manner

discriminate against an employee because the employee filed

a complaint or instituted or caused to be instituted a proceeding

under or because of the exercise by the employee on behalf of

himself or herself or others of a right afforded by this act.

If Roberts can show that she was terminated because she filed

a workers' compensation claim as it anpears that paragraph 25

alleges, she can state a claim under this statute.

Accordingly, we find that the district court abused its discretion

in refusing to permit the deletion of paragraph 26.

2. First motion to amend

With regard to the August 21 motion to amend, we affirm the

denial of that motion on other grounds. The district court has

no duty to permit amendments which would fail to state a claim

and thus be futile. We find that permitting Roberts to add the

language she requested, "Defendant discriminated against

Plaintiff by harassing her, giving her job assignments in

violation of her restrictions after reporting her work-related

App. 5.19

injuries," would be futile because the new language does not

state a valid claim under section 418.301.

With this new language, Robert alleged that she was

discriminated against for her assertion of a work related injury.

The problem here is that the alleged harassment and the giving

of work in violation of her medical restrictions occurred before

she filed a workers' compensation claim. Section 418.301(11)

does not recognize a cause of action for discrimination that

occurs prior to the filing of a workers' compensation claim. See

Griffey v. Prestige Stamping, Inc., 473 N.W.2d 790

(Mich.App.1991); Ashworth v. Jefferson Screw Prods., Inc.,

440 N.W.2d 101 (Mich.App.1989), leave denied, 433 Mich.

873 (1989); Wilson v. Acacia Park Cemetery Ass'n,

413 N.W.2d79 (Mich.App. 1987). Because this first motion to

amend would have added an allegation that did not state a

claim, we affirm the district court's denial of it.

3. Second motion to amend

The November 25 motion to amend sought to add a new claim

arising out of a new occurrence, i.e., the allegedly improper

notice of termination. Delay would be significant with this

amendment because of the new allegation it made. Further

discovery would have to be conducted. And, it appears that

adding this particular claim would be futile because the notice

requirements are either spelled out in the CBA, in which case

the claim is probably preempted, or are non-existent, in which

case the claim is likely meritless. Because of these facts, we

cannot say that the district court abused its discretion, and we

affirm the denial of the second mc*on to amend.

App. 5.20

D. Other Issues

**9 We address only briefly the district court's summary

judgment on counts II and III. Roberts does not contest the

dismissal of count II, and finding solid ground for the

dismissal, we affirm the district court's ruling on that issue. We

also affirm the dismissal of count II because Roberts only

feebly contests its dismissal, and we find sufficient grounds for

affirmance.!”

I

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the district court's

dismissal of counts II and III, the denial of the August 21

motion to amend, and the denial of the November 25 motion to

amend. We REVERSE the denial of Roberts's motion to delete

paragraph 26 and the summary judgment entered on count I of

the complaint, and we REMAND for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

'7 We also note that at the district court Roberts had consented to

the dismissal of count II if count I survived Mazda's preemption argument.

Since we reverse the district court's summary judgment on count I because

that count is not preempted, we find that Roberts has no bona fide objection

to our affirmance of the dismissal of count II.

App. 6.1

NOTICE: THIS IS AN UNPUBLISHED OPINION.

(The Court's decision is referenced in a "Table of Decisions

Without Reported Opinions" appearing in the Federal Reporter.

~ Use FICTA9 Rule 36-3 for rules regarding the publication and

citation of unpublished opinions.)

United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit.

Leon SANDERS, Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

HUGHES AIRCRAFT CO., Defendant-Appellee.

No. 93-56378.

Submitted May 24, 1994.!

Decided May 27, 1994.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Central

District of California, No. CV-93-02426-RJK; Robert J.

Kelleher, District Judge, Presiding.

C.D.Cal.

AFFIRMED.

Before: HUG, D.W. NELSON, and FERNANDEZ, Circuit

Judges.

' The panel unanimously finds this case suitable for decision

without oral argument. Fed.R.App.P. 34(a); 9th Cir.R. 34-4. We therefore

deny the parties’ request for oral argument.

App. 6.2

MEMORANDUM?

**1 Leon Sanders appeals pro se the district court's dismissal

of his action for breach of contract and wrongful termination.

The court dismissed the action pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) for failure to state a claim upon which

relief may be granted. We have jurisdiction pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1291. We review de novo, see California Elec.

Co. v. Briley, 939 F.2d 790, 792 (9th Cir.1991), cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 1478 (1992), and affirm.

I

Breach of Contract

In support of his claim for breach of contract, Sanders alleged

that defendant Hughes Aircraft Company ("Hughes") violated

the collective bargaining agreement between Hughes and

Sanders's union. As the district court correctly held, Sanders's

breach of contract claim is preempted by section 301 of the

Labor Management Relations Act ("LMRA"), 29 U.S.C. § 185.

See Milne Employees' Ass'n v. Sun Carriers, Inc., 960 F.2d

1401, 1408 (9th Cir.1991), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 2927 (1993)

(state-law claim preempted by section 301 of LMRA if claim

requires interpretation of collective bargaining agreement).

While Sanders correctly argues that the LMRA does not

preempt a state claim for retaliatory termination based on an

employee's filing for workers' compensation benefits, see

Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 406-07

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be

cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as provided by

9th Cir.R. 36-3.

App. 6.3

(1988), that argument is irrelevant to the question of whether

the LMRA preempts Sanders's breach of contract claim.’

The district court also correctly held that Sanders's claim is

barred by the six-month statute of limitations applicable to

claims against an employer for breach of a collective

bargaining agreement. See DelCostello v. International Bhd.

of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151, 155 (1983) (six-month statute of

limitations contained in section 10(b) of National Labor

Relations Act applicable to LMRA claims). The union

informed Sanders by the end of September 1992 that it would

not pursue his grievance against Hughes. The statute of

limitations began running at that time because Sanders then

knew or should have known that the union had stopped

pursuing his grievance. See Harris v. Alumax Mill Prods., Inc.,

897 F.2d 400, 404 (9th Cir.) (holding that limitations period

began running when union informed employee that union

would not pursue grievance), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 835 (1990);

Carter v. Smith Food King, 765 F.2d 916, 919 n. 2

(9th Cir.1985) (statute of limitations for section 301 actions

begins running when employee knows or has reason to know

union has quit pursuing grievance). Sanders did not file his

complaint until April 27, 1993, almost a month after the statute

of limitations expired. Therefore, his claim is time-barred.

Sanders's contention that he was unsure whether the union

would pursue his grievance is belied by the unambiguous

language of the union's September 23, 1992 letter which states,

in pertinent part, that "the motion was made and concurred with

> Moreover, as discussed in part Il, infra, Sanders's retaliatory

termination claim is barred under Cal. Labor Code § 132(a).

App. 6.4

not to pursue this grievance any further." Moreover, the fact

that Sanders's other grievances may not yet be settled does not

Support Sanders's contention because Sanders filed those

grievances after the district court announced it was dismissing

this action.*

**2 In sum, the district court did not err by holding that

section 301 of the LMRA preempts Sanders's breach of

contract claim and that, as such, his claim is barred by the

statute of limitations.®

II

Retaliatory Termination

Sanders's complaint indicated that this claim was in part based

on alleged violations of the collective bargaining agreement by

Hughes. To that extent, Sanders's claim is preempted by

“Normally, in reviewing a dismissal for failure to state a claim we

confine our review to the contents of the complaint. Sanders attached the

union's letter to his complaint, however. Therefore, we properly may

consider it on appeal. See Holden v. Hagopian, 978 F.2d 1115, 1118

(9th Cir. 1992) (court may consider complaint and all materials properly

attached thereto).

* To the extent Sanders is complaining about these later grievances,

Sanders has not alleged nor is there any evidence that he has exhausted his

contractual grievance procedures. See Carr v. Pacific Maritime Ass'n,

904 F.2d 1313, 1317 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 1084 (1991).

* Although not raised on appeal, Sanders argued in district court

that the statute of limitations was tolled when he filed an unfair labor

practice charge with the National Labor Relations Board. This argument

lacks merit. See Conley v. International Bhd. of Elec. Workers, Local 639,

$10 F.2d 913, 915 (9th Cir. 1987).

App. 6.5

section 301 of the LMRA and barred by the statute of

limitations. See supra, part I.

In his complaint, Sanders alleged that Hughes terminated him

in retaliation for his filing of a workers' compensation claim.

In California, the exclusive remedy for an employee who

alleges such a retaliatory termination is to file a petition with

the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board ("WCAB").’

Cal.Labor Code § 132(a); Portillo v. G.T. Price Prods., Inc.,

182 Cal.Rptr. 291, 292-94 (Cal.Ct.App.1982); see also

Taylor v. St. Regis Paper Co., 560 F.Supp. 546, 549

(C.D.Cal.1983). Therefore, the district court correctly

dismissed Sanders's retaliatory termination claim.*

II

Other Contentions on Appeal

On appeal, Sanders contends the district court should have

entered a default judgment against Hughes. This contention

lacks merit. There is no indication in the record that Sanders

requested entry of default against Hughes. Moreover, the

record shows that Hughes timely filed its motion to dismiss.

See Fed.R.Civ.P. 12 & 55(a). Thus, Sanders would not have

been entitled to a default judgment.

7 In fact, the record shows that Sanders filed a petition with the

WCAB.

® Sanders's reliance on Ortiz v. Bank of Am. Nat'l Trust & Sav.

Ass'n, 852 F.2d 383 (9th Cir. 1988) is misplaced. Ortiz did not involve the -

issue of whether Cal.Labor Code § 132(a) provides the exclusive remedy

for the type of retaliatory termmation claim Sanders alleged. Moreover,

Sanders's contractual claims in this case are barred by the LMRA and not

by a workers’ compensation settlement, as was the case in Ortiz. See 852

F.2d at 387-88.

App. 6.6

Sanders also contends that the district court committed judicial

misconduct and that he has filed a complaint against the district

court judge. Again, Sanders never asked the district court

judge to recuse himself. In addition, Sanders's dispute with the

judge appears to be based solely on adverse rulings by the

judge. This is not enough to support a finding that the judge

was biased against Sanders. See Taylor v. Regents of Univ. of

Cal., 993 F.2d 710, 712 (9th Cir. 1993) (per curiam), cert.

denied, 114 S. Ct. 890 (1994).

AFFIRMED.

App. 7.1

NOTICE: THIS IS AN UNPUBLISHED OPINION.

(The Court's decision is referenced in a "Table of Decisions

Without Reported Opinions" appearing in the Federal Reporter.

Use FI CTA1 Rule 36.1 and FI CTA1 Rule 36.2 for rules

regarding the publication and citation of unpublished opinions. )

United States Court of Appeals,

First Circuit.

Leanders H. SMITH, Plaintiff, Appellant,

V.

WGBH EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION,

INC., Defendant, Appellee.

No. 93-1213.

September 27, 1993

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

Leanders H. Smith on brief pro se.

Alan D. Rose, Diane G. Rosse, Marilee Denelle and Nutter,

McClennen & Fish on brief for appellee.

D.Mass.

AFFIRMED.

Before Breyer, Chief Judge, Selya and Boudin, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam.

App. 7.2

**1 Leanders H. Smith sued WGBH Educational Foundation,

Inc. (WGBH) in state court, alleging that it had violated his

rights under Massachusetts’ workers' compensation laws,

M.G.L. ch. 152, §§ 75A, 75B, when it refused his request to

retum to work after being on a disability leave during which he

had received compensation benefits. WGBH removed Smith's

action to federal district court, and moved for summary

judgment, which the district court granted. Smith is appealing

that order as well as orders denying motions that the court

disqualify itself from hearing Smith's case, remand his case to

the state court, and permit certain depositions to proceed. We

affirm for the reasons stated in the district court's orders, and

elaborate only as necessary to clarify the court's briefly stated

reasons.

1. Removal/Preemption. In Magerer v. John Sexton & Co.,

912 F.2d 525 (1st Cir. 1990), we held that a retaliatory

discharge claim brought under M.G.L. ch. 152, § 75B, was

completely preempted under section 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a), where the

plaintiff was subject toa collective bargaining agreement which

contained a management rights clause giving the

employer/defendant the right to "discharge employees for

proper cause." Since the definition of “proper cause" under the

agreement could permit employer discharges not permitted

under section 75B, we found that the rights and obligations of

Magerer and his employer were controlled by the contractual

provisions governing discharge and not by any independent

State standard found in the workers' compensation laws of

Massachusetts. Jd. at 530. In so doing, we relied on the

specific language in section 75B, which provided that, if the

rights granted employees under that section were inconsistent

with a collective bargaining agreement, the agreement was to

prevail. The collective bargaining agreement between WGBH

App. 7.3

and the National Association of Broadcast Employees and

Technicians (NABET) contains essentially the same clause as

the one we considered in Magerer. Article XIX of the

agreement provides that "[t]he right to discipline and discharge

employees for just cause shall remain the prerogative of

[WGBH]." Thus, under Magerer, Smith's section 75B claim

requires interpretation of the collective bargaining agreement

and for that reason it is completely preempted under

section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act. Jd.

The district court's conclusion that Smith's state law claims

were preempted was also correct with respect to Smith's claim

under section 75A. Like section 75B, section 75A states that

an applicable collective bargaining agreement which is

inconsistent with the rights granted in section 75A is to prevail

over section 75A. Section 75A grants a preference in hiring to

any former employee who has lost a job due to a compensable

injury under workers' compensation over other applicants not

employed at the time when such former employee seeks to be

rehired. As a general matter, Article 13.1 of WGBH's

collective bargaining agreement gives WGBH "the sole and

exclusive right to make all decisions regarding the

management, operation and programming of [its] operations,

including determination of the number of employees covered

by this Agreement," suggesting that WGBH may hire or not

hire employees as it sees fit and that it is not required to grant

any preference to former employees who have lost their

employment due to injuries compensable under Massachusetts’

workers' compensation law. More specifically, Article 17.3 of

the agreement requires WGBH to rehire laid-off employees

according to seniority. For certain types of available work,

moreover, Article 3.7(a) also states ahiring preference based on

seniority for regular staff employees who have been laid off.

The seniority principle for rehiring laid-off employees is

App. 7.4

inconsistent with section 75A's hiring preference for employees

laid off or discharged because of injuries compensable under

Massachusetts' workers' compensation law. Thus, under the

reasoning of Magerer, Smith's section 75A claim requires

interpretation of the collective bargaining agreement and for

that reason it, too, is completely preempted.

**2 Since Smith's claim is completely preempted under

section 301, it states a federal claim and thus arises under

federal law, Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 393

(1987); Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 735, 390U:S. 557, 560

(1968); Magerer, 912 F.2d at 528, and not under Massachusetts

law. Consequently, 28 U.S.C. § 1445(c), which prohibits the

removal to federal court of claims arising under a state

workmen's compensation law, does not apply, and removal of

the claim here was proper. See Vantine v. Elkhart Brass

Manufacturing Co., 762 F.2d 511, 517-18 (7th Cir. 1985)

(section 1445(c) did not bar removal of a claim brought under

a state's workmen's compensation laws; under the state's laws,

the cause of action arose under the collective bargaining

agreement and thus stated a federal claim under section 30]

~ which rendered removal to the district court proper); Smith v.

Union Carbide Corporation, 664 F. Supp. 290, 292

(E.D. Tenn. 1987) (section 1445(c) did not bar removal of an

action brought under a state's workmen's compensation law

because the plaintiff's suit was an independent, judicially

created tort action, and so did not arise under the State's

workmen's compensation laws, and because it was preempted

by federal labor law and therefore arose under federal and not

state law).

2. Smith's Employment Status as of August 1989. If Smith

was subject to WGBH's collective bargaining agreement,

dismissal of his suit was proper since his only remedy for his

App. 7.5

discharge was resort tothe grievance and arbitration procedures

of that agreement. See Allis-Chalmers Corporation v. Lueck,

471 U.S. 202, 220-21 (1985). In affidavits, Smith claimed that

his employment at WGBH had ended before August 1989 and

that he was not subject to the WGBH-NABET collective

bargaining agreement. Accordingly, he argues that he was not

bound by a 1990 arbitral decision which found that WGBH had

’ discharged him for just cause, and he says that he is free to sue

in court. In view of the overwhelming evidence to the contrary,

we find that his allegations do not establish the existence of a

genuine issue of material fact sufficient to defeat WGBH's

motion for summary judgment. Petitti v. New England

Telephone & Telegraph Co., 909 F.2d 28, 30 (1st Cir. 1990)

(summary judgment is proper if evidence is so one-sided that

one party must prevail as a matter of law).

Smith claims that his employment had terminated before

August 1989 under Article 17.2(f) of the collective bargaining

agreement. That article provided for loss of seniority by

employees absent from work due to injury for more than

15 months, and was understood by the parties to terminate the

employment of such employees. As of August 1989, Smith

had been on disability leave for more than 15 months, having

begun his leave in February 1986. In an affidavit, WGBH's

Human Resources Director, Michael Enwright, who negotiated

WGBH's 1987-90 contract with NABET, stated that WGBH

had accepted the union's demand during those negotiations that

Smith be excluded from the operation of Article 17.2(f).

Smith's disability leave began in 1986, when the 1984-87

contract was in effect, and Enwright stated in his affidavit that

that contract did not contain Article 17.2(f). Smith has not

introduced any affidavit by the union to the contrary, nor has he

denied Enwright's sworn statement that the 1984-87 contract

did not contain Article 17.2(f).

App. 7.6

**3 In an affidavit, Smith states that John Plausse, his direct

supervisor, had told him during his leave that he was not

subject to the collective bargaining agreement. Nevertheless,

the pleadings, affidavits and underlying documentary evidence

submitted by the parties show conclusively that, even if Plausse

had told Smith that he was not subject to the collective

bargaining agreement, Smith knew that his employment with

WGBBH had not been terminated before August 1989 and that

he continued to be subject to the collective bargaining

agreement. Among the many pieces of evidence, we highlight

only the following: Smith's complaint stating that on or about

November 22, 1989, WGBH had refused to allow him to

"return to work"; Smith's letter to WGBH on August 2, 1989,

notifying Enwright that Smith was changing his "return to

work" date from September 18, 1989, to September 1, 1989,

telling Enwright to let Plausse know of the change so that

Plausse could make necessary plans, asking Enwright whether

his vacation time had been adjusted and informing Enwright

that he would be taking the first two weeks of October off; the

arbitration transcript which reveals that the union arbitrated

Smith's November 22, 1989 discharge (for misconduct not at

issue here), that Smith was consulted about and approved

NABET's and WGBH's selection of an arbitrator, and that

Smith attended the arbitration on dates in 1989 and 1990 and

actively assisted the union in presenting evidence on his behalf;

and Smith's affidavit stating that he is still a member of

NABET, acritical admission since membership in the union is

a condition of employment under the collective bargaining

agreement. See Agreement Between NABET and WGBH

Educational Foundation, Inc. 1987-1990, Art. 3.1. Although

Smith argues that certain letters and documents show that he

was not an employee for any purpose under the collective

_ bargaining agreement during his leave, those letters and

documents show only that he was not classified as an "active"

App. 7.7

employee at that time and thus did not have the nghts granted

active employees under the agreement (e.g., vacation, sick

leave, and holiday benefits). The collective bargaining

agreement distinguishes clearly between the rights of active

employees and those of non-active employees on leave of

absence (see, e.g., id. Art. 9.5(c), 9.7; Art. XII); nowhere does

it suggest that non-active employees on leave are not in the

bargaining unit or not subject to the grievance and arbitration

provisions of the contract.

Smith's other claims are without merit for the reasons stated in

the orders being appealed.

Affirmed.

App. 8.1

-NOTICE: THIS IS AN UNPUBLISHED OPINION.

(The Court's decision is referenced in a "Table of Decisions

Without Reported Opinions" appearing in the Federal Reporter.

Use FI CTA6 Rule 28 and FI CTA6 IOP 206 for rules

regarding the publication and citation of unpublished opinions. )

Patrick THORNTON, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v. :

DENNY'S INCORPORATED, Defendant-Appellee.

No. 92-1368.

United States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit.

April 29, 1993.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan, No. 91-10110, Cleland, J.

E.D.Mich.

AFFIRMED.

Before MARTIN and SILER, Circuit Judges, and COFFIN,

Senior Circuit Judge.'

PER CURIAM.

**1 Patrick Thornton appeals the district court's grant of

summary judgment for Denny's Inc. in this employment

' The Honorable Frank M. Coffin, Senior Circuit Judge for the

United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, sitting by designation.

App. 8.2

dispute. Thornton alleged age discrimination, constructive

discharge, retaliatory discharge for filing a workmen's

compensation claim, and breach of a just-cause employment

contract. For the following reasons, we affirm the district

court. ;

In May 1983, Patrick Thornton, then forty-eight years old,

applied for employment at Denny's, Inc. On his written

application, Thornton indicated that he was willing to relocate.

In June 1983, Thornton was hired by Denny's to be an assistant

manager. For the first three months of employment, Thornton

attended a manager-in-training program at the Twelve Mile &

Woodward restaurant in Berkley, Michigan. He also assisted

workers at three other Denny's restaurants in the area. After

successfully completing the training program, Thornton was

assigned to the only Denny's restaurant in Saginaw, Michigan.

Thornton was supervised by Daniel Hoffman, the restaurant

manager, and Michael Hartman, the district manager.

In 1988, Denny's management personnel changed in the area.

Art Boudakian became the district manager for the district that

contained the Saginaw restaurant. Hoffman resigned from his

position, and George Dempsey, who had been in the same

position as Thornton, was promoted to become the new

restaurant manager. Thorton had a difficult working

relationship with Dempsey, who initially gave Thornton a poor

performance review. Boudakian intervened and scheduled

another review, and Thornton met performance standards on

the second review.

In 1989, Thorton refused to sign two critical memos regarding

his work. The first memo discussed the occurrence of guests

walking out on his shift. Thorton refused to sign the memo

because he had brought the matter to his supervisor's attention.

App. 8.3

The second memo described a discrepancy on a deposit slip

filled out by Thornton. Thornton admitted that he had made a

mistake but had said that the problem had been corrected and

that there was no need to document it.

In April 1989, Thornton injured his back while moving stock

at Denny's. Thornton filed a workers' compensation claim and

remained on disability leave through June 12. Because Denny's

has a self-administered workers' compensation plan, Denny's

incurred the full charge for Thornton's injury.

On June 22, Thornton's supervisors notified him that he was

being transferred, without areduction in pay, from the Saginaw

location to a Denny's restaurant thirty miles away in Flint. The

transfer was to take effect on July 5. Thornton refused to sign

the transfer memo and reported to work in Saginaw on the

transfer date. Denny's did not permit Thornton to work in the

Saginaw restaurant that day, and Thornton went home. Robert

Clayton, Denny's Human Resources Manager, called Thornton

to discuss his objections. When Thomton mentioned travel

expenses, Clayton offered to relocate Thornton to Flint at the

company's expense or to compensate Thornton for travel

expenses from home to the Flint restaurant, but Thornton

refused these offers. At Thornton's request, Denny's also

looked into the possibility of transferring Thornton to Las

Vegas, Nevada or Wichita Falls, Texas. However, there were

no available positions in these locations.

**2 After Thorton refused to work in Flint, Clayton placed

him on vacation and told him that if he did not begin working

at the Flint restaurant by July 17, Denny's would terminate his

employment for refusal to work. Thornton did not return to

work at the Flint location, and Denny's ended his employment.

App. 8.4

On February 28, 1991, Thornton filed a complaint in the

Saginaw County Circuit Court in Michigan for wrongful

discharge. On April 12, Denny's removed the case from the

state court to the Michigan federal district court based on

diversity of citizenship. Thornton's claim is based upon age

discrimination, constructive discharge, retaliatory discharge for

filing a workmen's compensation claim, and breach of a

just-cause employment contract. Thornton's complaint seeks

damages for wrongful discharge. |

Upon proper motions, the district court granted summary

judgment to Denny's and dismissed the case. On

March 20, 1992, Thornton filed his notice of appeal.

Our first inquiry is whether the federal district court had

jurisdiction to hear the merits of Thornton's case. Thornton

contends that the district court lacked federal subject matter

jurisdiction to hear the case because it arises out of Michigan

workers' compensation law. Removal of state-law workers'

compensation cases is prohibited even if there is diversity of

citizenship. See 28 U.S.C. § 1445(c) ("a civil action in any

State court arising under the workmen's compensation laws of

such State may not be removed to any district court of the

United States"). However, we find that Thornton's claim does

not arise under the Michigan worker's compensation law,

Mich.Comp. Laws § 418.621 et seq. The worker's

compensation statute provides neither the mechanisms nor the

remedy for this type of suit. Consequently, the federal district

court properly retained jurisdiction in this case because there is

diversity of citizenship.

We now address the question of whether summary judgment

was proper in this case. We review a grant of summary

judgment de novo. Faughender v. City of North Olmsted,

App. 8.5

Ohio, 927 F.2d 909, 911 (6th Cir. 1991). Under

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c), summary judgment is proper if there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Thornton contends that he has presented sufficient evidence to

suggest that he may have been terminated as a result of age

discrimination. Thornton alleges that Denny's discriminated

against him on the basis of age in violation of Michigan's

Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act, Mich.Stat.Ann. § 3.548 et seq.

The Elliott-Larsen Act does not permit an employer to

“discharge, or otherwise discriminate against an individual with

respect to employment, compensation, or a term... . of

employment because of . . . age." To establish a prima facie

case of age discrimination in violation of Michigan law, the

plaintiff must present evidence that (1) he was a member of the

protected class; (2) he was discharged; (3) he was qualified for

the position; and (4) he was replaced by a younger person.

Matras v. Amoco Oil Co., 424 Mich. 675, 385 N.W.2d 586,

589 (1986). In addition, the plaintiff must show that age was

the determining factor in the employer's decision to take action

against the plaintiff. Dubey v. Stroh Brewery Co.,

185 Mich.App. 561, 564-65, 462 N.W.2d 758, 759- 60 (1990).

**3 Thornton has failed to demonstrate a prima facie case of

age discrimination because he has failed to present sufficient

evidence of discriminatory motive to survive a motion for a

directed verdict, as required by Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986). Thornton attempted to provide

statistical evidence to show that Denny's was motivated to take

action against him because of his age. The testimony that

Denny's forced Thornton, its only manager over age fifty, to

accept a forced transfer is of little value because such action

against one individual is to small a sample to have statistical

App. 8.6

value. In regard to his discharge, Thornton has presented no

evidence to show that Denny's reason for the termination was

even remotely based on age. The overwhelming evidence

shows that Denny's reason for firing Thornton was that

Thornton refused to go to work at the Denny's in Flint.

Thornton also contends that the transfer order constitutes

constructive discharge. To show constructive discharge,

plaintiff must present evidence that his working conditions

were so intolerable that a reasonable person in the same

situation would have felt compelled to resign. Held v. Gulf Oil

Co., 684 F.2d 427, 432 (6th Cir.1982). In this case, Thornton

admitted that there was little difference between the two

restaurants, and Thornton was to receive the same salary.

Therefore, the transfer was a lateral move, and Thornton failed

to provide any indication of intolerable working conditions at

either location. Consequently, he does not present evidence of

constructive discharge which meets the Celotex standard.

Thornton also contends that a genuine issue exists regarding

whether he was discharged in retaliation for filing a workers’

disability compensation claim. To establish a prima facie case

of retaliatory discharge, a plaintiff must demonstrate that

(1) the plaintiff engaged in protected activity; (2) the employer

knew of this; (3) the employer took an adverse employment

action against the plaintiff; and (4) there was a causal

connection between the protected activity and the adverse

employment action. Polk v. Yellow Freight Systems, Inc.,

876 F.2d 527, 531 (6th Cir.1989). It is undisputed that

Thornton engaged in protected activity by filing a workers'

compensation claim and that Denny's was aware of this filing.

However, the transfer to Flint was not an adverse employment

action because Thornton would have received no reduction in

pay and was offered reimbursement for relocation or

App. 8.7

commuting expenses. Even assuming that the transfer

constitutes an adverse employment action, Thornton has failed

to establish sufficient proof under Celotex that he was fired or

transferred because he filed a workers' compensation claim.

Thornton also argues that he has put forward ample evidence

to suggest that the forced transfer to Flint was actually an

attempt to breach a just-cause employment contract and

discharge him. A just-cause contract may be created either by

expressed agreement or may result from an employee's

legitimate expectations grounded in an employer's policy

statement. Toussaint v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield, 408 Mich.

579, 599, 272 N.W.2d 880, 885 (1980). Thornton's claim is

based on language in the employee handbook that was issued

to Thornton at the start of his employment. The handbook

provides that "all employees are treated equitably . . . and that

no one is terminated without just cause." Thornton failed to

establish that Denny's breached a just-cause employment

contract by attempting to transfer him. The just-cause language

applied specifically to terminations, not to attempts to transfer.

There is no evidence that Thomton was terminated for any

reason other than failure to work in the Flint restaurant, and we

have already decided that the transfer order does not constitute

constructive discharge. Refusal to work is a just cause for

termination of employment. Consequently, Thornton has not

put forward sufficient factual evidence which could survive a

motion for a directed verdict at trial regarding whether Denny's

breached Thornton's employment contract.

**4 The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.