Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Garlock Inc. v. Pool

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

GARLOCK INC,

Petitioner,

Vv.

REUBEN S. Poon, et al.,

Re spondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Supreme Judicial District,

Texarkana, Texas

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A.B. CONANT, JR.

(Counsel of Reeord)

RAYMOND P. HARRIS, Jt.

CONANT WHITTENBURG

WHITTENBURG & SCHACHTER

(A Professional Corporation)

2300 Plaza of the Americas

600 North Pearl, LB 133

Dallas, Texas 75201

Telephone No. (214) 999-5700

Telecopier No. (214) 999-5747

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the award of damages against Garlock Ine

made in the absence of any evidence that its products

caused the plaintiffs’ injuries violated Garlock’s due pro-

cess rights under the Fourteenth Amendment of the

Constitution?

il

PARTIES AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Defendants

Fibreboard Corporation

The Celotex Corporation

The Flintkote Company

H.K. Porter Company, Inc.

Garlock Ine

Plaintiffs in Civil Action No. 86-363

Reuben 8S. Pool

Lee Pool

Charles Strong

Naney Strong

Thomas Sledge

Betty Sledge

Bobbie Freeman

Donna Freeman

Ollie Freeman

Plaintiffs in Civil Action No. 88-08-293

Lessie L. Williams

Ralph E. Williams

Robert E. Williams

Carrol A. Purdy

Murry W. Williams

Cindy L. Powdrill

Bobbie S. Phillips

Emory G.L. Williams

Patsy R. Fountain

Coltee Industries Ine is the parent corporation of

Garlock Ine. The following is a list of all subsidiaries of

Garlock Ine that are not wholly owned:

Garlock Bearings Ine

Garlock de Mexico S.A. de C.V.

Garlock Pty. Limited

Louis Mulas Sues, S.A. de C.V.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED...........----++-+++5+> i

PARTISS AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT ......... ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........--+--++-+05> iv

OPINIONS BELOW ......... 2 ccc cc cccccecccees ]

UUMUEMET IED. og caves scree rcccnssscesesencccoes 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION ..........-++555- 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........--+--+5+5: 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......--. 5

A. The Due Process Clause Protections Extend to

apc acasdecancesessvereceses 6

B. The Burden Plaintiffs Were to Bear .......... 8

C. Garlock’s Products Are Safe..........--+-+-: 1]

Garlock Had No Reason to Believe That Its

Products Could Cause Injury .........-+-++++: 16

CONCLUSION 2... oc ccc cc cece cece ence ner cnnnccs 19

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Borel v. Fibreboard Paper Products Corp., 493 F.2d

1076 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 869

3 Se ee 10, 13 .

Brantff Airways, Inc. v. Nebraska State Board of

Equalization & Assessment,

ae Wk ee CE 6 hie beds coc benesdecen naan 3, 4

Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257 (1989) ....... 8

Fibreboard Corp. v. Pool, 813 S.W.2d 658 (Tex.

App. — Texarkana 1991, writ denied) .......... 1

Gideon v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 761 F.2d

REDS COCR GI. BD occ cc vncccavan 9, 10, 12, 17, 18

Helene Curtis Industries, Inc. v. Pruitt, 385 F.2d

841 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 391 U.S. 913

| ee ny Srey ee en ee 8

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez,

ee EE bc Avuws scab een ctannned cee 7

Kirch v. Atlantic Coast Line R.R., 38 F.2d 963 (5th

Ck SE habe eek ba Matun cow eu eae e641 7

Lorenz v. Celotex Corp., 896 F.2d 148 (5th Cir.

A Peer ee eee Pere yy ery Seer ne 9

Morris v. Adolph Coors Co., 735 S.W.2d 578 (Tex.

App. — Fort Worth 1987, writ refd n.r.e.) ..... 8, 19

Pacific Mut. Iife Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. —,

BES Ws Gi REED 6.04 40600 an se HeSakcuens 8

Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97 (1934) ...... 7

Tot v. United States, 319 U.S. 463 (1943) ......... 7

United States v. Romano, 382 U.S. 136 (1965) ..... 7

Western & Atlantic R.R. v.-Henderson, 279 U.S. 639

CR <x b5b boa GUSN GRAS oe eR eee Aaa ks 6, 7, 19

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

STATUTES Page

Be Oe ee ED i bake ed ck aS as ceoesesceas 2

29 C.F.R. § 1910.1001(g) (2) (i) (1983) .......... 15

a, Ca ee NE hax 645490650085 Re Rae Ow Ss 6

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Report of the Judicial Conference Ad Hoc Committee

on Asbestos Intigation (1991)................-..

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 402A (1965)...... 19

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1992

No.

GARLOCK INC,

Petitioner,

V.

REUBEN S. POOL, et al.,.

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Supreme Judicial District,

Texarkana, Texas

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Garlock Inc respectfully petitions for writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Supreme Judicial District, Texarkana, Texas (the

“Court of Appeals’).

OPINIONS BELOW

The Supreme Court of Texas’s November 11, 1992

order, vacating its April 29th order and denying Gar-

lock’s Application for Writ of Error, is included in Ap-

pendix C, 72a. The April 29th order, granting Garlock’s

Application for Writ of Error, is included in Appendix C,

73a. And the Texas Supreme Court’s December 9th order,

denying Garlock’s Motion for Rehearing, is included in

Appendix C, 75a. The intermediate Court of Appeals’

decision in Fibreboard Corp. v. Pool, 813 S.W.2d 658 (Tex.

App. — Texarkana 1991, writ denied), is in Appendix A,

la.

2

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court’s judg-

ment on July 16, 1991. The Texas Supreme Court entered

its Order, denying Garlock’s application for writ of error

on November 11, 1992, and denied Garlock’s motion for

rehearing on December 9th. This Court has jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 (1992).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution provides: “No State

shall... deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an asbestos case in which the plaintiffs claim

that the defendants, including Garlock, failed to ade-

quately warn them that they could be injured by exposure

to products manufactured by the defendants. Garlock,

unlike most of the other defendants, has never manufac-

tured or sold insulation products. Its products are gas-

kets and valve packing, some of which contain very small

amounts of asbestos encapsulated in rubber elastomers

and lubricants, such as graphite, oil, and grease. The

gaskets are used between pipe flanges to prevent leakage,

and the packing material goes inside valves, likewise to

prevent leakage. Appendix J, 105a-106a. Accordingly,

plaintiffs proved nothing about the “danger” of Garlock’s

products by their repeated references to studies done

concerning the mining of asbestos, the manufacture of

insulation products, and the possible effects of asbestos

on insulation workers. Plaintiffs offered no evidence that

products with encapsulated asbestos fibers posed any

health hazard to humans.

3

The case was tried to a jury in the Fourth Judicial

District Court of Rusk County, Texas, Judge Donald R.

Ross presiding. At the close of the plaintiffs’ evidence,

and again at the close of all evidence, Garlock moved for

an instructed verdict on the grounds that plaintiffs of-

fered no evidence that Garlock’s products posed a danger

to the plaintiffs’ health. Garlock’s motions were denied.

Following the jury’s verdict, the trial court entered judg-

ment against each of the defendants, awarding the plain-

tiffs $3,160,169.50 in actual damages for which Garlock

was jointly and severally liable and $500,000 in punitive

damages against Garlock. Appendix E, 82a. Garlock then

moved for a new trial and for a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict on the same grounds, Appendix G, 95a, but

those motions were denied, Appendix F, 93a.

Garlock reurged its challenge to the lack of evidence

that its products caused any injury in the Court of

Appeals. Appendix B, 68a. The court struck the punitive

damage award assessed against Garlock but affirmed the

award of actual damages. Appendix A, 67a.

Garlock timely applied for writ of error to the Texas

Supreme Court on its no evidence point. Appendix D, 76a.

That court granted Garlock’s application on April 29,

1992. Appendix C, 73a. However, after hearing oral argu-

ments on September 29th, the court vacated its April 29th

order and denied Garlock’s application for writ of error.

Appendix C, 72a. The court denied Garlock’s motion for

rehearing on December 9, 1992. Appendix C, 75a.

While Garlock did not specifically frame its no evidence

challenge in the state courts in terms of the denial of due

process under the Fourteenth Amendment, the due pro-

cess question is within the “clear intendment” of the

challenge. In Braniff Airways, Inc. v. Nebraska State

Board of Equalization & Assessment, 347 U.S. 590, 598

(1954), the plaintiff sought relief from a tax assessment

4

on the grounds that “its aircraft never ‘attained a taxable

situs within Nebraska’ from which it argues that the

Nebraska tax imposes a burden on interstate commerce.”

It claimed that for this reason the statute violated the

Commerce Clause of Article I of the Constitution. The

Court found that the plaintiff named the wrong constitu-

tional clause to support his position, however, holding

that the “question whether an instrumentality of com-

merce has tax situs in a state for the purpose of subjec-

tion to a property tax is one of due process” under the

Fourteenth Amendment. Jd. at 599. Finding that the

plaintiff timely raised and preserved its contention, even

though based upon the wrong clause of the Constitution,

the Court considered the due process issue to be ‘“‘within

the clear intendment of such contention” and held that

the issue was “sufficiently presented.” Jd. (citations

omitted).

Garlock consistently sought relief from the trial court,

the Court of Appeals, and finally the Texas Supreme

Court from the trial court’s judgment on the grounds that

plaintiffs failed to introduce any evidence that Garlock’s

products caused their injuries, thereby denying Garlock a

fair trial. This is the heart of Garlock’s due process

challenge: Garlock was denied a fundamentally fair hear-

ing because the plaintiffs were not required to prove

causation. Thus, Garlock’s challenge to the plaintiffs’ lack

of evidence, though not explicit, has always been a due

process challenge.

Garlock respectfully petitions this court for certiorari

to the Court of Appeals on the grounds that the appellate

court has created a conclusive presumption of causation

that applies upon slight proof, thereby depriving Garlock

of its property without due process of law.

+)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals’ decision to affirm the trial

court’s judgment against Garlock effectively establishes a

presumption of liability in cases against manufacturers of

asbestos-containing products in favor of the plaintiffs if

they make a simple showing that:

¢ they have an asbestos-related injury;

¢ the defendant manufacturer sold a product that con-

tained any amount of asbestos; and

¢ they came in contact, no matter how brief, with the

manufacturer’s product.

The result of the Court of Appeals’ decision is that, with

this meager showing, the burden of proof is shifted upon

the defendant to prove that its products could not have

eaused the plaintiffs’ diseases. In practical terms, this

results in an irrebuttable presumption of liability because,

if any manufacturer can prove that its products are safe,

Garlock can and did in the trial court.

As the Court is well aware, asbestos litigation has

exploded in the last fifteen years. The burden on the

courts is so great that the Judicial Conference Ad Hoe

Committee on Asbestos Litigation, whose members were

appointed by Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist, con-

eluded in March 1991 that “the situation has reached

critical dimensions and is getting worse. What has been a

frustrating problem is becoming a disaster of major pro-

portions to both the victims and the producers of asbestos

products, which the courts are ill-equipped to meet effee-

tively.” Report of the Judicial Conference Ad Hoc Commut-

tee on Asbestos Litigation 1 (1991). If plaintiffs are

permitted to recover from manufacturers of asbestos-

containing products without proof of causation, then still

greater numbers of defendants will be haled into

overburdened courts and manufacturers of safe products

will unfairly suffer the bankruptcy fate of so many insula-

tion manufacturers.

A. The Due Process Clause Protections Extend to

Civil Cases

Creating a conclusive presumption on such slight proof

deprived Garlock of a fundamentally fair hearing as

guaranteed by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment of the Constitution. This Court has long-

recognized that the Fourteenth Amendment protects de-

fendants in civil cases from unfair presumptions that

result in awards of compensatory damages, just as it

protects defendants accused of crimes from unfair pre-

sumptions. In Western & Atlantic R.R. v. Henderson, 279

U.S. 639 (1929), the Court invalidated a state statute that

created a presumption of negligence against the defen-

dant railroad company upon a showing of collision and

injury.’ The Court held that legislation establishing “that

proof of one fact or group of facts shall constitute prima

facie evidence of an ultimate fact in issue is valid if there

is a rational connection between what 1s proved and what is

to be inferred.” Id. at 642 (emphasis added). In striking

down the statute, the Court reasoned that the mere fact of

a collision between a train and another vehicle “‘furnishes

no basis for any inference as to whether the accident was

caused by negligence” of one of the parties. Jd. at 642-43.

As the Court succinctly stated, the “[r]easoning does not

lead from the occurrence back to its cause.” Id. at 643.

* Georgia Civil Code § 2780 read: “A railroad company shall be

liable for any damages done to persons, stock, or other property by

the running of the locomotives, or cars, or other machinery of such

company, or for damage done by any person in the employment and

service of such company, unless the company shall make it appear

that their agents have exercised all ordinary and reasonable care and

diligence, the presumption in all cases being against the company.”

fi

7

Thus, the Court concluded that the presumption raised by

the statute was unreasonable and arbitrary and violated

the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Id. at 644.

The “rational connection” test get forth in Henderson

has been repeatedly used by this and other courts in

reviewing federal and state statutes under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments. See, ¢.g., United States v. Ro-

mano, 382 U.S. 136 (1965); Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez,

372 U.S. 144 (1963); Kirch v. Atlantic ‘Coast Line R.R., 38

F.2d 963 (5th Cir. 1930). In Tot v. United States, 319

U.S. 463, 467-68 (1943), the Court restated the analysis,

holding ‘“‘a statutory presumption cannot be sustained if

there be no rational connection between the fact proved

and the ultimate fact presumed, if the inference of the one

from proof of the other is arbitrary because of lack of

connection between the two in common experience.” Gar-

lock recognizes that the State has the power to regulate

the procedures under which its laws are carried out. It is

well settled that the State may shift the burden of

producing evidence and the burden of persuasion. How-

ever, if “in doing so it offends some principle of justice so

rooted in the traditions and conscience of our people as to

be ranked as fundamental,” the State’s act will be invali-

dated. Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934).

In this case, the trial court’s submission of an issue of

liability to the jury, and the Court of Appeals’ subsequent

approval, in effect told the jury that, upon finding that

(1) the plaintiffs suffered an asbestos-related injury,

(2) Garlock manufactured an asbestos-containing prod-

uct, and (3) the plaintiffs came in contact for a short time

with that product, it could presume that Garlock’s prod-

ucts caused the plaintiffs’ injuries. But these facts are not

“rationally connected” to the inference that Garlock’s

products caused their injuries.

8

The creation of an unfair presumption by the State is

no less significant simply because it is a result of im-

proper direction to a jury by a state court as opposed to

an act of the State’s legislature. Indeed, an instruction to

a jury, just as a statute, can be so vague that it deprives a

defendant of a fundamentally fair hearing. Browning-

Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, inc.,

492 U.S. 257, 281 (1989) (Brennan, J., coneurring) (“I

should think that, if anything, our scrutiny of awards

made without the benefit of a legislature’s deliberation

and guidance would be less indulgent than our considera-

tion of those that fall within statutory limits.”). See also

Pacific Mut. Infe Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. ---, 111 S. Ct.

1032, 1058 (1991) (O’Connor, J., dissenting) (“It is no

defense to vagueness that this case concerns a jury

instruction rather than a statute.”’).

B. The Burden Plaintiffs Were to Bear

To understand the effect of the trial court’s and the

Court of Appeals’ decisions that the plaintiffs’ proof was

sufficient to submit this case to the jury in the absence of

proof of causation, it is important to know the burden that

the plaintiffs were supposed to bear. This is a failure to

warn case. Before the trial court and the Court of Appeals

relieved plaintiffs of their burden to prove causation, the

matters which plaintiffs were required to prove to estab-

lish a duty to warn were clear cut under established law.

First, a plaintiff had to prove that the product in question

was unreasonably dangerous, meaning that “it must be so

dangerous that a reasonable man would not sell the

product if he knew the risks involved.” Helene Curtis

Industries, Inc. v. Pruitt, 385 F.2d 841, 850 (5th Cir.

1967), cert. demed, 391 U.S. 913 (1968). Unless the

product is unreasonably dangerous, there was no duty to

warn. Morris v. Adolph Coors Co., 735 S.W.2d 578, 583

(Tex. App. — Fort Worth 1987, writ ref’d n.r.e.) (““How-

9

ever, a duty to warn arises only when the product is

‘unreasonably dangerous.’”’).

In making this determination in a multi-party asbestos

ease, the focus is on each defendant’s particular product.

As stated in Gideon v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 761

F.2d 1129, 1143 (5th Cir. 1985), “whether an asbestos

product is or is not unreasonably dangerous must be

decided on the basis of the evidence as to the specific

qualities of the particular product.” Indeed, the Court of

Appeals gave lip service to this proposition when it

stated, “[i]t cannot be presumed that all asbestos-con-

taining products are unreasonably dangerous or that all

companies have a duty to warn of supposed dangers.”

Appendix A, 52a. As will be shown later, the Court of

Appeals deviated markedly from this proposition with

respect to Garlock.

In making this individual assessment of dangerousness,

“eompliance with ... government[al] safety standards

constitutes strong and substantial evidence that a prod-

uct is not defective.” Gideon, 761 F.2d at 1144; Lorenz v.

Celotex Corp., 896 F.2d 148, 150 (5th Cir. 1990).

Second, if a plaintiff has proved that the product is

unreasonably dangerous, the plaintiff must then show that

the manufacturer was aware of that danger at the time the

2 Garlock does not read the Court of Appeals’ discussion of the

Gideon and Lorenz decisions at page 50a of its opinion to be a

rejection of the rules stated in those cases, but merely an admonition

that evidence of compliance does not invariably lead to preclusion of

liability. Garlock respectfully suggests, however, that if it demon-

strated that the governmental regulations came about through con-

stant and ongoing scientific studies, that the manufacturer at all

times complied with the changing regulations, and that there is no

evidence that the manufacturer knew of any flaw in the government’s

determinations, at any relevant time, then preclusion of liability must

follow.

10

product was sold. Borel v. Fibreboard Paper Products

Corp., 493 F.2d 1076, 1088 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied,

419 U.S. 869 (1974). Here, the plaintiffs claimed exposure

beginning in the 1950s and ending, variously, in 1976

(Sledge, Appendix K, 107a; Freeman, Appendix L, 109a),

1981 (Strong, Appendix J, 105a), and 1986 (Pool, Appen-

dix I, 103a). This, roughly, is the time frame within which

the manufacturer must have had the requisite knowledge

in order to be held liable. What the scientific community

may have subsequently come to believe is irrelevant. “The

manufacturer is not liable for failure to warn of dangers

unforeseeable at the time it manufactured the product.”

Gideon, 761 F.2d at 1145.

And third, a plaintiff had to demonstrate that the

defendant’s product “was a substantial factor” in causing

the alleged injuries. Jd.

In short, what plaintiffs should have been required to

prove with respect to Garlock was that:

¢ Garlock’s gaskets and packing material containing

encapsulated asbestos fibers were unreasonably

dangerous;

* Garlock knew or should have known during the period

from the 1950s through the 1980s of that danger; and

«the emissions from Garlock’s particular products

were such that they substantially contributed to the

plaintiffs’ injuries.

These were the well established requirements to which the

trial court and the Court of Appeals were to make the

plaintiffs adhere and to which they did not. Those courts

required of plaintiffs no evidence whatsoever that Gar-

lock’s products were dangerous. They required of plain-

tiffs no evidence whatsoever that Garlock knew or should

have known during the years in question that encapsu-

lated asbestos products could be considered dangerous.

11

They required of plaintiffs no evidence that Garlock did

or could have known during the period in question that

asbestos emissions in amounts less than that naturally

found in ambient air are unreasonably dangerous. And

they required of plaintiffs no proof that emissions at the

ambient air level can be a substantial contributing factor

in causing injury.

C. Garlock’s Products Are Safe

1. The Plaintiffs’ ““Evidence”

The plaintiffs’ only witness as to the dangers of asbes-

tos products was Joseph Wagoner, Ph.D. Dr. Wagoner is

an epidemiologist and, in essence, his testimony consisted

of reciting comments and conclusions from studies pub-

lished in various scientific and medical journals over the

years. Dr. Wagoner specifically referred to 55 such arti-

cles throughout his testimony. However, all of the articles

dealt with asbestos insulation products, not gaskets or

valve packing. Appendix H, 98a.

There was no evidence of any studies or articles in any

medical or scientific journals connecting encapsulated

asbestos gaskets or valve packing with disease in humans

or animals. Nor was there any other evidence introduced

by the plaintiffs which in any way connected asbestos

gaskets or valve packing to the plaintiffs’ asbestos dis-

eases. The two medical doctors called by plaintiffs as

witnesses were Dr. Britton and Dr. Gonzales. These

doctors only testified that the plaintiffs’ heavy exposure

to asbestos insulation products throughout their working

life was a cause of their asbestos diseases. Neither doctor

testified that asbestos gaskets or valve packing caused the

plaintiffs’ disease or specifically that Garlock’s gaskets or

valve packing caused their diseases. In addition, neither

doctor even referred to any article or publication connect-

12

ing encapsulated asbestos gaskets or valve packing to

asbestos disease.

The Court of Appeals conceded that “most of the

[ plaintiffs’] evidence pertained to asbestos insulation and

raw asbestos.” Appendix A, 54a. In fact, all of it did, and

proof that asbestos insulation and raw asbestos is danger-

ous is no proof that encapsulated asbestos products are

dangerous. As stated in Gideon:

Proof that asbestos insulation products are danger-

ous or defective does not satisfy the burden of

proving that products used for other purposes, such

as asbestos textiles with encapsulated asbestos fi-

bers, are dangerous.

761 F.2d at 1145 (emphasis in original). Clearly, the rule

stated in Gideon is the correct one. Generalized knowl-

edge that inhalation of raw asbestos in some amount can

cause illness is not evidence of the dangerousness of an

encapsulated asbestos gasket — yet this generalized, ir-

relevant evidence is all the Court of Appeals could refer

to in affirming the judgment against Garlock. Appen-

dix A, 58a.

The Court of Appeals, in its desperate search for

evidence to support the judgment against Garlock, refers

to a 1931 article allegedly appearing in a journal called

Safety Engineering. Appendix A, 50a. That article was not

introduced into evidence; it appeared solely as an entry

on a chart listing articles. The Court of Appeals is not

stating what the article says, but rather Dr. Wagoner’s

characterization of it. There is no showing that the article

had anything whatsoever to do with encapsulated prod-

ucts in general or Garlock’s products in particular. In

fact, Dr. Wagoner testified that the article, included

among the 55 articles on his chart, dealt with “insulation

applications.” Appendix H, 98a.

13

The plaintiffs’ evidence failed on the most fundamental

aspect of their case, 1.¢., that Garlock’s products eould

cause injury. The reasons why plaintiffs could not prove

their case appears from the positive evidence set forth

below.

2. Garlock Proved That Its Products Were Harmless

The total absence of danger from the use of Garlock’s

products is best illustrated by comparing the fiber emis-

sions from those products with applicable governmental

regulations and, before regulation, official or quasi-official

guidelines. Over the years, various bodies, and finally

including the United States Government, proposed

“threshold limit values” (“‘TLVs”) which represented

concentrations of asbestos fibers to which workers “may

be repeatedly exposed day after day without adverse

effect.” Appendix H, 99a. Until the end of the 1960s,

exposure to asbestos dust counts below 5 million particles

per cubic foot, or approximately 177 per cubie centimeter

(“ee”), were generally considered safe. This standard

was first proposed in a 1938 Surgeon General’s report

known as the Dreessen Report, after its principal author.

This same standard was adopted by the American Confer-

ence of Governmental Industrial Hygienists” in 1946 and

reaffirmed in 1961 and 1964. Appendix H, 99a-100a. In

1958, the standard was adopted as the regulatory stan-

dard by the State of Texas. Appendix H, 99a. Again, it is

worthy to note that a TLV is the time-weighted number of

particles per cubic foot or eubic centimeter to which a

person may be safely exposed for daily 8-hour exposure,

40 hours per week.

’ ‘This group was characterized as “a quasi-official body responsi-

ble for making recommendations concerning industrial hygiene” in

Borel v. Fibreboard Paper Products Corp., 493 F.2d 1076, 1084 (5th

Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 869 (1974).

14

In 1969, under the Walsh-Healey Act, the Federal

Government lowered the TLV applicable to government

contracts from 5 million particles per cubic foot to 2 mil-

lion particles per cubic foot (approximately 71 per ec) or

12 fibers longer than 5 microns. Appendix H, 10la.

In 1972, the National Institute for Occupational Safety

and Health (“NIOSH”) under the Occupational Safety

and Health Act of 1970, lowered the TLV to “5 fibers

longer than 5 micrometers per cubic centimeter of air.”

Appendix H, 101la-102a. Indeed, this standard was writ-

ten by the plaintiffs’ own expert, Dr. Wagoner. Appen-

dix H, 102a. In 1976, NIOSH lowered the standard again,

this time to “2 fibers longer than 5 micrometers per cubic

centimeter of air.” Appendix H, 102a. The two-fiber per ee

standard was a “time-weighted average standard” and

the same regulation provided for a “ceiling” of 10 fibers

per ce. The time-weighted average specifies a safe average

level for an 8-hour day, each working day throughout a

worker’s lifetime. The “ceiling” refers to the TLV that

cannot be exceeded for any period of time. Appendix M,

112a.

Finally, in 1986, the NIOSH TLV was dropped to the

current level of .2 fibers per ee. Appendix M, 112a. Thus,

the TLVs for asbestos in the air were lowered by the

official or quasi-official governmental bodies from approx-

imately 177 fibers per ce in 1938 to .2 fibers per ce in 1986.

At all times, the emissions from asbestos gaskets and

valve packing, particularly Garlock’s, were greatly below

these standards.

The first known study on the emission of asbestos fibers

from gaskets was done by the United States Navy in 1978

at the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard in Washington. Ap-

pendix M, 110a-llla. That study revealed an average

exposure from gaskets of .02 fibers per ce or an amount

15

approximately 100 times below the then-governmentally

mandated TLV; 8,850 times less than the TLV prescribed

from 1938 to 1969; and 250 times less than the TLV

written by the plaintiffs’ own expert in 1972.

When Garlock’s gaskets alone were tested, the results

were even more dramatic. Such a study was made in 1982

and, when the exposure was limited solely to emissions

from Garlock’s gaskets, the level of exposure was .005 fi-

bers per cc. Appendix M, 110a-112a.

Again, for the sake of comparison, this figure is 35,400

times safer than the guidelines in place from 1938 to 1969,

1,000 times safer than the 1972 OSHA regulation pre-

pared by the plaintiffs’ expert, and 40 times safer than the

current OSHA standard. Indeed, .005 fibers per cc is

“almost too low to measure,” and “down at the general

level of... ambient air.” Appendix M, 112a. In other

words, Garlock’s gaskets under the worst conditions pos-

sible emit no more asbestos fibers than naturally occur in

the air that we all breathe everyday of our lives.

An even smaller exposure was recorded for Garlock’s

valve packing products, Appendix M, 11la, and the same

or lower numbers were obtained from tests on Garlock’s

gaskets which were being removed after 40 or more years

of service, Appendix M, 112a. Simply put, Garlock’s

products have been safe for all of the plaintiffs’ working

lives.

OSHA regulations regarding the need for warning

labels on asbestos products specifically exempt those

products in which “asbestos fibers have been modified by

a bonding agent, coating, binder or other materials so

that during any reasonably foreseeable use, handling,

storage, disposal, processing, or transportation, no air-

borne concentrations of asbestos fibers” in excess of

OSHA’s exposure limits will be released. 29 C.F.R.

16

§ 1910.1001(g) (2) (i) (1983). Thus, Garlock’s products

are exempt from government-mandated warning

requirements.

The evidence in this case is uncontroverted. Emissions

from Garlock’s products are 40 times safer than the

amount currently deemed by the Federal Government

and the scientific community to be a safe level of expo-

sure, 8 hours a day, every working day throughout a

worker’s lifetime. There being no risk of harm from

Garlock’s products, there was no duty to warn. But more

fundamentally, Garlock’s products could not have caused

plaintiffs’ injuries.

D. Garlock Had No Reason to Believe That Its

Products Could Cause Injury

Even if, for the sake of argument, it is assumed that the

present scientific consensus is that any asbestos exposure

is unreasonably dangerous, where is the evidence that

Garlock could have known that during the periods the

plaintiffs were allegedly exposed? The only evidence in

this ease of a scientific consensus, from time to time, on

the dangerous levels of asbestos exposure is the evidence

of the standards established first by the American Confer-

ence of Governmental Industrial Hygienists, later by the

State of Texas, and finally, by NIOSH. As Garlock has

described, its products emitted mere fractions of those

levels deemed by the scientific community to be safe.

In affirming the award of actual damages against Gar-

lock, the Court of Appeals referred only to evidence, not

particularized to Garlock, that inhalation of asbestos in

some amount was known generally to be hazardous and

that, at some point, someone unidentified by the Court of

Appeals had formed the conclusion that there was no safe

level of asbestos exposure. This was no evidence that

Garlock knew or should have known that its products

17

eould cause harm. In reversing the judgment against a

similarly situated defendant, the court in Gideon held:

{ Plaintiff] introduced no proof that {defendant |

knew or should have known that its asbestos-contain-

ing products could cause harm. Construed most fa-

vorably to [plaintiff], his evidence demonstrated

only that [defendant] knew that the inhalation of

asbestos fibers in certain concentrations might create

a health hazard.

761 F.2d at 1145.

Disregarding the undisputed evidence regarding possi-

ble emissions of asbestos fibers from Garlock’s products

(1/1000th of the government's specified safe level for a

worker using Garlock’s products 8 hours a day) or the

percentage of the plaintiffs’ time actually spent with

gaskets (“less than 1%”), Appendix K, 107a-108a, the

Court of Appeals merely stated that “t]here was expert

testimony that the cumulative exposure to asbestos

causes asbestos-related diseases and that even the inhal-

ing of a small amount of asbestos can contribute to the

disease process.” Appendix A, Ola.

The witness who so opined, Dr. Britton, did not tell us

what is a “small amount,” did not say when he formed

that opinion, and did not mention Garlock’s gaskets, valve

packing, or any other form of encapsulated materials. The

same evidence in past cases has been rejected as no

evidence of causation and should have been rejected in

this case.

In Gideon, the court discussed the properties of the

products of the manufacturer, Raymark, which were as-

bestos textile products and asbestos gaskets and packing

materials. The court noted that Raymark’s products

“emitted only .05 to .4 asbestos fibers per eubic centime-

ter, based on a time-weighted average.” Gideon, 761 F.2d

a

18

at 1144. (Note that this is 10 to 80 times more fibers per

ec than are emitted by Garlock’s products.) Finding that

these emissions were well below the then-current OSHA

standards, the court concluded:

The overwhelming weight of the evidence in this

record is that, so far as anyone now knows, occa-

sional exposure to asbestos fibers in small quantities

will not cause asbestosis or cancer.

**

Even given the cumulative-dosage evidence already

mentioned, there was no evidence that the inhalation

of the relatively small amounts of asbestos fibers

possibly released during the handling of Raymark

products was a substantial factor in causing Gideon’s

present condition.

Id. at 1144-45. The court reversed and rendered judgment

in favor of Raymark. Id. at 1146.

The only witness in this case who testified about the

ability of Garlock’s products to cause disease was Dr. W.

Clark Cooper, who had practiced medicine for 50 years

and occupational medicine for 37 years. He testified

clearly and unequivocally that the levels of exposure from

someone working with Garlock’s gaskets “‘day in and day

out” (which none of the plaintiffs did) was about the

same as found in natural air. Appendix M, 113a. Indeed,

the level of exposure to asbestos fibers from Garlock’s

products was a mere fraction of that found in the ambient

air of some cities, including San Francisco. Appendix M,

112a-113a. He likewise testified clearly and without con-

tradiction that the level of emissions from Garlock’s

gaskets did not pose a risk that is “of any consequence

whatsoever,” that Garlock’s gaskets could not cause as-

bestosis, and could not “make a significant or detectable

19

contribution in the incidence of lung eancer.” Appen-

dix M, 113a-114a.

In other words, injury could not result from exposure

to Garlock’s products. It could only result if the worker

were exposed to markedly higher emissions than he could

get from working with Garlock’s products all day, every-

day. No possible duty to warn of the risks of this abnor-

mal inhalation exists. This is somewhat analogous to

eomment h to the Restatement (Second) of Torts § 402A

(1965), quoted with approval in Morns:

If the injury results from... abnormal consumption,

as where a child eats too much candy and is made ill,

the seller is not liable.

735 S.W.2d at 582.

The Morris case held that the manufacturer was not

liable for failing to warn against ingesting too much of its

own product. A much greater burden is placed upon

Garlock by the Court of Appeals’ requirement that Gar-

lock now warn about risks of inhaling emissions from the

products of other manufacturers.

CONCLUSION

Garlock respectfully submits that the Court of Appeals’

decision has totally obviated the concept of causation

from products liability law and has effectively created an

irrebuttable presumption of liability upon slight proof,

the same type of presumption that this Court rejected in

Henderson. The Due Process Clause was intended to

protect defendants from State acts that unfairly tilt the

balance of the scales of justice in favor of the plaintiff

before trial begins. Yet, in effect, the Court of Appeals’

decision has driven a truck onto the plaintiffs’ side of the

scale, imposing a burden of proof that Garlock cannot

possibly overcome. As a result, Garlock was deprived of

20

the fundamentally fair hearing that is guaranteed by the

Due Process Clause.

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

A.B. CONANT, JR.

(Counsel of Record)

RAYMOND P. HARRIS, JR.

CONANT WHITTENBURG

WHITTENBURG & SCHACHTER

(A Professional Corporation)

2300 Plaza of the Americas

600 North Pearl, LB 133

Dallas, Texas 75201

Telephone No. (214) 999-5700

Telecopier No. (214) 999-5747

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDICES

SA

3

‘

+

bf

-

la

APPENDIX A

COURT OF APPEALS OF TEXAS

TEXARKANA

Nos. 6-90-014-CV, 6-90-022-CV

FIBREBOARD CORPORATION, et al.,

Appellants,

v.

REUBEN S. PooL and LEE POOL, et al.,

Appellees.

FIBREBOARD CORPORATION, et al.,

Appellants,

V.

LESSIE L. WILLIAMS, et al.,

Appellees.

July 16, 1991

Second Rehearing Overruled

Aug. 28, 1991

Edward J. Burke, Brobeck, Phleger & Harrison, San

Francisco, Cal.. David L. Tolin, Weller, Wheelus & Green,

Beaumont, Tex., for Fibreboard.

Donald J. Verplancken, Butler & Binion, Kevin S.

Risley, Houston, Tex., for Celotex Corp.

Joe R. Greenhill, Baker & Botts, Austin, Tex., Larry D.

Carlson. Baker & Botts, Dallas, Tex., for Owens-Illinois.

2a

James H. Harris, Jr., Holmes & Harris, Beaumont,

Tex., for the Flintkote Co.

A.B. Conant, Jr., David M. Pruessner, Dallas, Tex.,

for Garlock.

Paul L. Sadler, Rex Houston, Henderson, for appellees.

Before CORNELIUS, C.J., and BLEIL and GRANT,

JJ.

OPINION

GRANT, Justice.

This is an appeal from a judgment entered against six

defendants in a products liability case in which five plain-

tiffs suffered asbestos-related injuries resulting from

their exposure to various products manufactured by the

defendants. The basis of the lawsuit was strict liability

for failure to warn of the risks of exposure to asbestos.

Of the five personal injury claims, two were lung cancer

death claims (George Williams and Donald Freeman).

The other three claims included a confirmed asbestosis

case (Charles Strong), a disputed asbestosis case

(Thomas Sledge’, and a case in which the plaintiff had

asbestos-related pleural disease ‘Reuben Pool}. The

jury awarded compensatory damages of $5,087,000, and

punitive damages totaling $5,000,000.

The two above-styled and numbered cases were con-

solidated for trial under cause numbers 86-363 and

88-08-293. The cases were also consolidated for appeal to

this Court.

The five appellants in this case filed separate briefs

setting out thirty-eight different points of error. Appel-

lant Fibreboard has eight »oints of error in its brief and

adopts twenty-three points of error from appellant

Owens-Illinois, twenty-two points of error from appellant

Celotex, and two points of error from appellant Garlock.

The adoption of points in multi-party apneals should be

encouraged to conserve words, paper, and the eyesight of

eee

3a

the members of the judiciary. Owens-Illinois sets out

twenty-three points of error in its brief. Appellant Flint-

kote’s brief has eleven points of error; Garlock’s brief

contains ten points of error; and Celotex sets out twenty-

two points of error in its brief. We have combined the

points into the following thirty-five issues for the pur-

poses of discussion :

(1) whether the trial court properly admitted into

evidence the “Sumner Simpson papers” ’;

(2) whether the trial court properly refused to give

appellants’ requested limiting instruction in regard to the

Sumner Simpson papers;

(3) whether the trial court abused its discretion in

admitting autopsy photographs of Donald Freeman;

(4) whether the trial court submitted a proper damage

question to the jury in regard to appellees Strong, Sledge,

and Pool;

(5) whether the trial court properly refused the

appellants’ tendered instruction to limit compensatory

damages for conditions resulting from exposure to

asbestos-containing products;

(§) whether the trial court properly submitted Ques-

tion No. 17 which included “loss of enjoyment of life”’

as an element of damages;

(7) whether the cancer instruction concerning appel-

lees Strong, Sledge, and Pool caused the jury to compen-

sate them for future cancer not caused by asbestos ex-

posure:

(8) whether the trial court properly admitted a color

poster prepared by the Oil, Chemical and Atomic Work-

ers International Union;

(9) whether the trial court properly admitted deposi-

tion testimony of witnesses Virgil M. Evans and James

EE

4a

Henry Read in which appellants’ cross-examination was

limited to five written questions;

(10) whether the trial court properly excluded evi-

dence of military specifications requiring the use of as-

bestos in insulation products;

(11) whether the trial court properly excluded a por-

tion of the deposition testimony of Dr. Corwin Hinshaw,

the appellants’ state-of-the-art expert on asbestos;

(12) whether the trial court properly denied appel-

lants’ motion for directed verdict on limitations against

appellee Strong;

(13) whether the trial court properly entered judg-

ment based on the jury findings in favor of appellee

Strong that he did not know nor should he have known

more than two years before filing suit that he had devel-

oped an asbestos-related disease ;

(14) whether the trial court properly entered judg-

ment based upon the jury’s finding in favor of appellee

Pool for future medical expenses:

(15) whether sufficient evidence existed for the trial

court to render judgment in favor of appellee Pool based

upon the jury’s finding of $100,000 in damages;

(16) whether the trial court abused its discretion in

permitting Donna Freeman and Ollie Freeman to file

answers to Garlock’s request for admissions;

(17) whether there was any evidence or sufficient evi-

dence to support the jury award to Ollie Freeman for

$30,000 in damages;

(18) whether any evidence existed to support the trial

court’s judgment in favor of the Williams children based

upon the jury’s finding of $25,000 in damages for pecuni-

ary loss and $25,000 in damages for termination of the

parent-child relationship;

-

oa

(19) whether sufficient evidence was presented for the

trial court to render judgment in favor of the Williams

children ;

(20) whether sufficient evidence existed for the trial

court to render judgment against appellant Owens-Illinois

based upon the jury’s finding that the appellant caused

‘wentv-five nercent of the appellees’ asbestos-related in-

juries ;

(21) whether the awarding of punitive damages vio-

lates the due process clause of the United States Constitu-

tion or the Texas Constitution and the excessive fines

provision of the Texas Constitution and the common law

of Texas;

(22) whether any or sufficient evidence existed to show

that appellant Garlock’s products were defective, unrea-

sonably dangerous and contributed to appellees’ injuries ;

(23) whether sufficient evidence existed to support the

jury verdict in respect to appellant Flintkote ;

(24) whether sufficient evidence was present to support

jury findings of punitive damages against appellants, Gar-

lock. Flintkote and Fibreboard;

(25) whether the trial court acted within its discretion

under TEX.R.CIv.P. 265 when it refused to allow appellant

Flintkote to make its opening statement to the jury at the

beginning of its case-in-chief ;

(26) whether the trial court properly submitted to the

jury questions concerning liability and comparative causa-

tion ;

(27) whether the jury’s answer to Question No. 8 (find-

ing the companies that supplied asbestos-containing prod-

ucts which were the producing cause of appellees’ injuries)

was against the great weight and preponderance of the

evidence ;

6a

(28) whether the jury’s answer to Question No. 16 ap-

portioning fault was against the great weight and pre-

ponderance of the evidence;

(29) whether the trial court properly admitted into

evidence the depositions of William Simpson, Kenneth

Wallace Smith, Barry Castleman, Thomas Mancuso,

Arthur Mueller and Richard Gaze;

(30) whether the trial court abused its discretion in

failing to give a limiting instruction on the above deposi-

tions regarding appellant Garlock;

(31) whether the trial court properly submitted jury

questions which allowed the jury to award punitive dam-

ages and whether the questions commented on the weight

of the evidence;

(32) whether the trial court properly submitted Ques-

tion No. 20 in the verdicts of Pool, Sledge, and Strong

which asked for the assessment of punitive damages “for

the injuries of” each plaintiff and whether this resulted in

a double recovery for compensatory damages;

(33) whether the trial court properly excluded a letter

offered by Celotex to prove that it had done everything

possible to reduce the hazards of asbestos exposure;

(34) whether the trial court properly excluded evidence

concerning exposure to the products of Johns-Manville and

other companies which were under the direction of bank-

ruptcy courts;

(35) whether the trial court created a cumulative effect

of errors in the trial to deprive appellants of their rights

to a fair trial and due process of law.

=_

ia

NATURE OF THE CASE

Between the 1950’s and the present, appellees worked as

insulators or maintenance mechanics performing insula-

tion repair work at Texas Eastman in Longview, Texas,

and at other companies. During their employment at

Texas Eastman, appellees handled numerous products that

contained asbestos. The appellants supplied asbestos prod-

ucts to Texas Eastman: Fibreboard, Owens-Illinois, and

Celotex supplied asbestos insulation; Flintkote supplied

liquid asbestos products used to cover the insulation; and

Garlock supplied gaskets and valve packing. The evidence

showed that the appellees used products manufactured by

all of the appellants, except that there was no evidence

that Williams used any of Garlock’s products.

The evidence further showed that the dangers associ-

ated with exposure to asbestos were well known by the

late 1940’s. The appellees, however, were not warned of

these dangers. Although some of the appellants stated

that a caution label was placed on their boxes in the mid-

1960’s to 1970’s, the evidence showed that neither the

purchasing agent at Texas Eastman nor any of the

appellees saw the warnings.

THE SUMNER SIMPSON PAPERS

The appellants contend that the trial court erred in

admitting into evidence what is generally referred to as

the Sumner Simpson papers and that the trial court fur-

ther erred in refusing to give their requested limiting

instructions in regard to the papers. The Sumner Simpson

papers include about 6,000 documents, but only seven

letters were offered into evidence by the appellees. These

letters are a collection of correspondence from the 1930’s

and 1940’s among the following three people: Sumner

Simpson, former President and Chairman of the Board of

Raybestos-Manhattan; Vandiver Brown, an in-house at-

torney for Johns-Manville; and A.S. Rossiter, editor of

Sa

Asbestos Magazine. The letters show knowledge about the

hazards of asbestos during the 1930’s and 1940’s.

At trial, appellants objected to the admission of the

Sumner Simpson papers on the basis that they were hear-

say, that the documents were not properly authenticated

and therefore not admissible under TEX.R.CIV.EVID. $01,

that they were irrelevant under TEX.R.CIV.Evip. 401 and

402, that their prejudicial effect outweighed their limited

probative value, that their effect amounted to cumulative

prejudice and czused confusion, that the issue for which

the proof was offered was uncontested (i.e., that asbestos

caused asbestosis in the 1930’s), that they were not pro-

bative as to the liability of manufacturers who manu-

factured a totally different kind of product, and that it

was evidence that concerned bankrupt companies (Johns-

Manville and Raybestos-Manhattan). The trial court

sustained an objection to summaries of this material.

On appeal, appellants brought forward these complaints

and also specifically contended that the material in the

letters was irrelevant because Johns-Manville and Ray-

bestos-Manhattan, which were involved in the correspond-

ence, were not parties to this case. Appellants further

contend that the letters were irrelevant because the parties

to this case were not recipients of the letters, and because

there was no showing that the appellants were aware of

the letters.

In a failure-to-warn case, the plaintiffs are required to

establish that the dangers were reasonably foreseeable or

scientifically discoverable at the time of the exposure

before a defendant can be found liable. Borel v. Fibre-

board Paper Products Corp., 493 F.2d 1076, 1088 (5th

Cir.1973), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 869, 95 S.Ct. 127, 42

L.Ed.2d 107 (1974). All manufacturers are held to the

knowledge and skill of an expert. Borel, 493 F.2d at 1089.

The appellants contend that the Texas Supreme Court

in Gaulding v. Celotex Corp., 772 S.W.2d 66 (Tex.1989),

9a

rejected the holding in Borel. In the Borel case, it was

uncontroverted that the plaintiff was injured from inhal-

ing asbestos dust and that he was in fact exposed to the

products of all of the defendants. In the Gaulding case,

the court found that the evidence did not establish who

manufactured the board that contained asbestos. The

Texas Supreme Court did not reject the holding in Borel

but distinguished it from Gaulding.

If the dangers of asbestos were known at the time of

the exposure, then the same risks were scientifically dis-

coverable by other asbestos corporations. Dartez v. Fibre-

board Corp., 765 F.2d 456 (5th Cir. 1985); Jackson v.

Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 750 F.2d 1314, 13817 (5th

Cir.1985), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1022, 106 S.Ct. 3339, 92

L.Ed.2d 743 (1986). The fact that Raybestos-Manhattan

and Johns-Manville are not parties to this case does not

make these letters inadmissible to show that the dangers

of asbestos were known during that earlier time period.

See King v. Armstrong World Industries, 906 F.2d 1022,

1025 (5th Cir.1990). Furthermore, appellees were not

required to show that appellants were aware of the letters

or were recipients of the letters to show that the dangers

of asbestos were known in the industry at that time.

In the case of Lohrmann v. Pittsburgh Corning Corp.,

782 F.2d 1156 (4th Cir.1986), the appellate court was

reviewing the case in which the trial court had excluded

the offer of some of the Sumner Simpson papers. The

court concluded that the trial judge did not err in exclud-

ing these documents because what the asbestos manufac-

turers knew and when they knew it was presented in

great detail by experts, which made the evidence presented

by the Sumner Simpson papers a repetition of the other

evidence. In Jackson, 750 F.2d at 1318, the court, sitting

en banc, held the Sumner Simpson papers admissible to

chow what asbestos manufacturers knew or should have

known about the dangers of inhaling asbestos fibers.

10a

Flintkote also contends that the letters cannot be rele-

vant to it because the companies involved in the letter

writing did not make liquid products containing asbestos.

Flintkote’s duty as a manufacturer was not limited to

obtaining only the knowledge in some narrowly specialized

field, but extended, at a minimum, to keeping abreast of

scientific knowledge, discoveries and advances. Borel, 493

F.2d 1076. The Sumner Simpson letters pertained to the

dangers of asbestos fibers generally when inhaled into the

lungs and would be admissible against Flintkote in con-

junction with other evidence that showed that the asbestos

fibers from its product could be inhaled into the lungs.

Some of the Sumner Simpson papers have been admitted

in several federal cases to show what asbestos manufac-

turers, other than Johns-Manville, knew or should have

known about the dangers of inhaling asbestos fibers.

Gideon v. Johns-Manviille Sales Corp., 761 F.2d 1129 (5th

Cir.1985) ; Jackson, 750 F.2d 1314. In the case of Jack-

son, the court found that this evidence showed the likeli-

hood of the foreseeability of the dangers of asbestos prod-

ucts. The appellate court said that the slight danger that

the admission of such evidence would have caused sufficient

unfair prejudice to warrant exclusion was properly ig-

nored by the trial court. While the portion of letters deal-

ing with the proposed cover-up should have been deleted,

we do not find that the unfair prejudice outweighs the

overall probative value of these papers.

The Simpson deposition properly authenticates these

letters, and they are admissible as exceptions to the hear-

say rule under the business records exception, TEX.R.CIv.

Evip. 803(6), as well as the ancient document exception,

TEX.R.Civ.Evip. 803 (16).

Appellees contend that they had an agreement with ap-

pellants that they could introduce Simpson’s deposition

without being required to show his unavailability. We

find no such agreement in the record. The hearsay ob-

lla

jection at trial points only to the letters which were Ex-

hibits 465-A, 465-B, 465-C, 465-D, 465-E, 465-F and

465-J. However, the only objections made at trial to

Simpson’s deposition * were that it was highly prejudicial

and was not relevant to the issue of liability of the com-

panies that did not make insulation. The deposition lays

the predicate for the introduction of the letters and thus

‘t was necessary for the introduction of evidence con-

cerning the dangers of asbestos fibers, regardless of the

source, when inhaled into the lungs. This is relevant to

all parties in this cause of action. The points of error

concerning the introduction of the Simpson deposition

and Sumner Simpson papers are overruled.

Appellants also complain about the failure of the trial

court to give a limiting instruction at the time the Sum-

ner Simpson exhibits were offered into evidence and in

the charge submitted to the jury. When the exhibits

were introduced, appellants requested that the trial court

give this limiting instruction to the jury: “This evidence

is not to be considered for the purpose of determining

the actual knowledge or state of mind of any Defend-

ant.” This requested instruction was overly broad be-

cause it would have prevented the jurors from inferring

that any of the appellants had actual knowledge of the

dangers of asbestos. This would negate the presump-

tion that manufacturers are experts who have the same

knowledge that other manufacturers in that industry

have.

In the case of King v. Armstrong World Industres,

906 F.2d 1022, the trial court gave the following limiting

instruction: “You are instructed that the deposition tes-

timony of William S. Simpson .. . and Richard Gaze is

offered for the limited purpose of showing, if it does,

1The record reflects that a hearsay objection was made to Ex-

hibit 465. According to the record, Plaintiff's Exhibit 465 was a

summary of a deposition, and the trial court sustained that objection.

l2a

what the industry knew or could have discovered by test-

ing their products.” This type of instruction would have

allowed the jurors to infer that the defendants in that

case had the same knowledge as the industry generally.

Appellants requested that two instructions concerning

the use of the Sumner Simpson papers be placed in the

jury charge:

Proposed jury instruction (punitive damage).

Certain evidence received during the course of

trial relates to actual knowledge of particular com-

panies, some of which are not parties to this lawsuit.

Such evidence includes the Eagle Pincher documents;

the Sumner Simpson papers; the Saranac Laboratory

documents, and the deposition testimony of William

Simpson, Kenneth Smith, Art Mueller, Dr. Frank

Mancusso (sic) and Dr. Richard Gaze. You may not

consider such evidence to establish willfulness or cal-

lous disregard on the part of any Defendant that did

not have actual knowledge of such evidence.

Proposed jury instruction (punitive damage).

Certain evidence received during the course of

trial relates to actual knowledge of particular com-

panies, some of which are not parties to this law-

suit. Such evidence includes the Eagle Pitcher (sic)

documents; the Sumner Simpson papers; the Saranac

Laboratory documents; and the deposition testi-

mony of William Simpson, Kenneth Smith, Art

Mueller, Dr. Frank Mancusso (sic) and Dr. Richard

Gaze. You may not consider such evidence to estab-

lish willfulness, intent, or callous or reckless or heed-

less disregard, or indifference on the part of any

Defendant that did not have actual knowledge of

such evidence.

These instructions would have been proper in regard

to the Sumner Simpson papers; however, the trial court

has considerably more discretion in submitting instruc-

13a

tions and definitions than in submitting questions. Harris

v. Harris, 765 S.W.2d 798 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th

Dist.] 1989, writ denied) ; First State Bank & Trust Co.

of Edinburg v. George, 519 S.W.2d 198, 207 (Tex.Civ.

App.—Corpus Christi 1974, writ ref’d n.r.e.). The jury

was capable of realizing that any manufacturer or seller

chat did not have actual knowledge of the dangers of

asbestosis could not be said to have acted willfully or

intentionally in failing to provide an appropriate warn-

ing. If the manufacturer or seller did not have knowledge

of the dangers of asbestos, the jury then had to determine

if they were reckless or indifferent because they could

have obtained the information and chose not to do so.

The Sumner Simpson papers should not have been used

to show that the appellants in this case were involved in

a cover-up to prevent the public from having knowledge

about the actual dangers of asbestosis. The showing that

other companies mentioned in these papers were guilty of

such acts in no way demonstrates that these appellants

were involved in such conduct. The appellees attempt to

justify the drawing of such an inference based upon lan-

guage in one of the letters referring to the “industry,

mostly working as a unit.” However, this reference in

the letter simply refers to the making of a systematic

dust investigation and further states that these investiga-

tions are generally paid for by “industry, mostly working

as a unit.” It does not refer to an industry-wide cover-up

of the dangers of asbestos.

Appellants point out that the appellees made unjusti-

fied implications when their attorney in his summation

referred to the cover-up discussed in the Sumner Simpson

letters and told the jury, “See how it affects you, because

you are going to be asked about punitive and exemplary

damages that I’m going to talk about in a little bit.”

This argument, however, was not objected to at trial,

and it is only mentioned on appeal in conjunction with

the argument about the inadmissibility of the Sumner

Simpson papers. Thus, any error concerning the sum-

l4a

mation was not preserved and has not been brought for-

ward on appeal. The jury was aware from the evidence

that the persons discussing the cover-up of the dangers

of asbestos were not parties or employees of parties to

this suit. We find that the trial court’s failure to give an

instruction was not an abuse of discretion. These points

ot error are overruled.

ADMISSIBILITY OF PHOTOGRAPHS

Appellants next contend that the trial court abused its

discretion in admitting the autopsy photographs of Don-

ald Freeman. They contend that the admission of these

photographs constituted reversible error because they were

not relevant to any disputed fact. To be admissible,

photographs must illustrate disputed fact issues and must

portray facts relevant to an issue. Heddin v. Delhi Gas

Pipeline Co., 522 S.W.2d 886, 889-90 (Tex.i975). Ap-

pellants objected to the admission of these photographs

at every stage of the proceeding. Before trial, they filed

a motion to exclude photographs and videotapes, which

the trial court denied. At trial, they objected to the ad-

mission of the photographs on the ground that they did

not show anything that was in dispute; and alternatively,

that because of the gruesome nature of the pictures, any

probative value was far outweighed by the danger of

unfair prejudice. In addition, they moved twice for a

mistrial, partially because the photographs were admitted

into evidence.

The general-rule is that pictures or photographs that

are relevant to any issue in the case are admissible.

Texas Employers Ins. Ass’n v. Agan, 252 S.W.2d 743

(Tex.Civ.App.—Eastland 1952, writ ref’d). When a

photograph is a proper representation of an important

fact issue, the admission or rejection of it is a matter

which rests largely within the discretion of the trial

judge, and that decision will not be disturbed on appeal

unless an abuse of discretion is shown. Richardson v.

l5a

Missouri-K.T.R. Co. of Texas, 205 S.W.2d 819, 824 (Tex.

Civ.App.—Fort Worth 1947, writ dism’d). Relevant evi-

dence will not be excluded simply on the ground that it

would create prejudice if permitted. Sherwin-Williams

Co. v. Perry Co., 424 S.W.2d 940 (Tex.Civ.App.—Aus-

tin 1968, writ ref’d n.r.e.). The fact that the photo-

graphs are gruesome does not render them inadmissible.

Texas Employers Ins. Ass'n v. Crow, 218 S.W.2d 230

(Tex.Civ.App.—Eastland 1949), aff'd, 148 Tex. 113, 221

S.W.2d 235 (1949). Therefore, the question in the pres-

ent case is whether the pictures were relevant and other-

wise admissible.

At trial, appellants took the position that cigarette

smoking, not usbestosis, caused Freeman to die of lung

cancer. Thus, the appellees contend that the photographs

were used to explain and demonstrate the involvement

of asbestos in Freeman’s death.

Dr. V.V. Gonzales, who performed the autopsy, testi-

fied that asbestos fibers could be seen only with a micro-

scope and that there were no asbestos bodies in the lungs

of Freeman. He testified that the asbestos fibers may

disintegrate or fragment so that they cannot be found,

but the effect of the toxic material liberated by those

fibers can be found. He further testified that when the

cancer is caused by smoking alone, there will not be

scarring in the lungs, but when asbestos is involved there

will be a grey-white scar tissue called hyaline plaques.

He told the jury that in Freeman this tissue was dis-

covered throughout the chest cavity, the covering of the

heart and the diaphragm. According to Dr. Gonzales’

testimony, Freeman’s right lung was replaced by a

tumor, especially in the upper half of the lung and that

it extended to the middle part of the lung and encircled

the major blood vessel in the back part of the lung. The

tumor had also encased the esophagus, replaced almost

one half of the right thoracic cavity, and invaded the

adrenal glands below the diaphragm and a part of the

kidney.

CC ————————

l6a

Dr. Gonzales pointed out to the jury the searring or

the hyaline material in the pictures taken during the

autopsy :

Exhibits 618-D, 618-E, 618-F: “. .. this is the so-

called hyaline plaques .... The hyaline plaques that

I mentioned is these grey-white spots and there’s one

that’s nodular. This has covered the cavity, the

pleural cavity, and also the diaphragm and also the

covering of the heart.”

Exhibit 618-G: “This is another of the right side

of the lung, the grey-white plaques here, scarring,

and if you replace the chest cavity, which is again

it occupies a certain volume of the space that will

result into the decrease in the pulmonary function

of the lungs.”

Exhibit 618-I: “I is another part of the hyaline

plaques, nodules throughout that line part of the ribs

and sear.”

Exhibit 618-J: ‘“‘J is another exposure that shows

the hvaline plaques at a closer view .... These are

the scars of the pleura covering the chest cavity.”

Exhibit 618-K: ‘“K is another area that showed

the scarring, the hyaline material, the scar tissue... .

This is associated with asbestos.”

Exhibit 618-L: “Lis part of the lung tissue that

[ show the grey-white here or the plaques.”’

Exhibit 618-0: “This is the grey-white hyaline

plaques again that shows the covering of the heart

is partly replaced by this grey-white plaque.”

Exhibit 618-P: “P is the cross-section of the

right lung which shows just like a sponge in which

the normal] lung tissue is gone, it’s replaced by dif-

fuse replacement of the lung tissue by scar tissue.”

Exhibit 618-U: “... You can see the large spaces

here which is called the bullae or the emphysematous

bullae resulting from the scarring.”

3 «

i Ta

Exhibit 618-V: “V is another hyaline plaque.

You can see this large one here.”

Exhibit 618-W: “W is the entire lung after I

removed the heart, the lung, and demonstrate the

windpipe and cross-section of the tumor that has ex-

tended into above the backbone .... This is a close-

up view of the plaque. There’s a plaque here | in-

dicating), there’s a plaque here | indicating), this

plaque, but again there is a nodule here that more or

less formation of nodule. In addition to the plaque

here in this nodule, there is some cancer in there. [

make a cut, but I removed that and cut to demon-

strate that nodule.”

Exhibit 618-Z: “Z is a plaque that I mentioned

that has replaced the diaphragm. This is at the end

of the foreceps you can see the plaque, here.”

Exhibit 618-BB: “This is another one of the

thoracic surface or the surface of the diaphragm

which indicates that there’s a large plaque too.”

Exhibits 618-DD, 618-EE: “This is the appear-

ance of the adrenal glands. There are two glands

on top of the kidney. The next side is here which 1s

rather big, and when I cut it, you can see the white

area, nodule, which is not normal in an adrenal

gland, and these are—they spread resulting from the

lung cancer.”

Exhibit 618-HH: “This tumor has spread not

only to the adrenal glands but this is one-half of the

kidney, and you can see the nodule in that.”

Exhibits 618-JJ, 618-KK, 618-LL: “Q Do any

of these . . . show any of the scarring?

A Yes, sir.

Exhibit 618-LL: “This is a cross-section of the

right lung. This white area here is the tumor... .

‘tlhis part of the lung has been replaced by scar

tissue.”

————=—

lka

The testimony shows that all of the foregoing exhibits

refer specifically to the scarring or hyaline plaques,

which in turn goes directly to an issue in the case. Dr.

Gonzales testified that other exhibits, including 618-M,

618-N, 618-R, and 618-T, were duplications of exhibits

showing the scar tissue, someiimes showing an enlarge-

ment of an area. Four of the pictures to which Dr.

Gonzales referred do not demonstrate the scarring or

nyaline plaques. Exhibits 618-A, 618-B, and 618-C are

pictures of Freeman’s body which, according to Dr. Gon-

zales, showed that the fat on his body was completely

gone at the time of his death as a result of having

eancer. Exhibit 618-H shows a part of the inside of the

lung, which was black. This exhibit would not appear to

harm the appellants in their contention that Freeman’s

death was caused by smoking.

Appellants objected to the 618 series of pictures out-

side the presence of the jury on the basis that they were

not relevant to any disputed fact that they were preju-

dicial because of their gruesomeness. The counse: for the

appellees stated at the hearing that he was not going to

show all the photographs to the jury, “probably six or

eight of them or ten at the outside.’”’ The court allowed

a running objection on relevance and prejudice, but in-

formed the attorneys for the appellants that he would

permit them to reurge any objection on their ‘the photo-

graphs! being cumulative if there were any duplications

at the time they were offered into evidence. Appellants’

counsel apparently put all of the 618 series photographs

into evidence, but no objection was made that the ex-

hibits were cumulative or duplicative. Thus, any com-

plaint on that basis was waived.

Overall these exhibits and the accompanying testimony

are relevant to the issue of the cause of Freeman’s

death. The appellants argue that these photographs

should not have been admitted because they did not dis-

pute the presence of hyaline plaques and pleural thicken-

OO

19a

ing and because Dr. Gonzales gave testimony confirming

the existence of hyaline plaques and pleural thickening,

which was also corroborated by his autopsy report. The

admissibility of evidence does not hinge on whether the

opposing party is able to rebut the specific evidence, but

on whether the evidence is relevant to a disputed issue in

the case. Outside the presence of the jury, the appellants

told the court that they did not dispute the fact that an

autopsy was done, that hyaline plaques were present, and

that pleural thickening was present. The appellants have

not pointed out any place in the record that such an ad-

mission or stipulation was made in the presence of the

jury. The appellants strongly disputed the element issue

of causation and therefore the photographs were admis-

sible to assist the expert in explaining and demonstrating

why he helieved that asbestos was the cause of Free-

man’s death. These points of error are overruled.

JURY CHARGE

Appellants next contend that the trial court should

have limited the damages questions of appellees Strong,

Sledge, and Pool to asbestos-related injuries and that the

trial court should have allowed appellants’ tendered in-

struction to limit compensatory damages for conditions

resulting from exposure to asbestos-containing products.

When a plaintiff suffers a pre-existing injury that is

closely connected to the injury caused by the defendant.

the trial court should affirmatively charge the jury that

the plaintiff can recover only for the extent of injuries

caused or aggravated by the defendant's negligence.

Dallas Ry. & Terminal Co. v. Ector, 131 Tex. 505, 116

SW.2d 683 (Tex.Comm’n App.1938, opinion adopted}.

To determine whether an alleged error exists or is re-

versible, the Court should consider the pleadings, the evi-

dence, and the charge in their entirety. Island Recrea-

tional Develonment Corp. v. Republic of Texas Savings

Ass’n. 710 S.W.2d 551, 555 (Tex.1986).

20a

im the present case, Question No. I7 in each of the

series of questions on Strong, Sledge, and Pool asked the

jury to determine the sum of money that would fairly

and reasonably compensate each appellee “for his in-

juries, if any. resulting from the occurrence in question.”

Question No. 18 in each series required the jury to de-

termine the amount of money to compensate each of the

spouses “for the injuries, if any, to her husband result-

ing from the occurrence in question.’”’ The appellants

objected to the submission of these issues on the grounds

that there was no evidence or insufficient evidence to de-

termine the meaning of “occurrence in question” and re-

quested that the instruction be limited to asbestos-related

injuries.

Appellants cite Littleton v. Woods, 538 S.W.2d 800

(Tex.Civ.App.—Texarkana 1976), aff'd, 554 S.W.2d 662

(Tex.1977), in support of their contention. In Littleton,

this Court held that the issue concerning damages for

mental anguish suffered “as a result of the occurrence

in question’? was defective because it did not limit the

jury to awarding damages for mental anguish caused by

acts that the defendant produced or proximately caused.

Littleton, 538 S.W.2d at 801-02. However, the Littleton

case involved more than one theory of recovery.

The only theory of recovery in the present case was

for damages resulting from appellants’ failure to warn

of dangers associated with exposure to asbestos. The

charge in its entirety reflects this theory by requiring a

finding of asbestos-related injury resulting from the fail-

ure to warn. Question No. 1 of the jury charge for each

appellee asked, “Do you find that the [appellee] has

sustained an asbestos-related injury?” The charge con-

tinues in Question No. 2 inquiring whether the appellee

was exposed to asbestos-containing products to such an

extent that the exposure was a producing cause of the

injury. Question No. 5 inquired whether the appellants

failed to adequately and timely warn of the dangers of

2la

injury. Questions No. 6 and 7 inquired if the failure

to warn rendered the asbestos-containing products unrea-

sonably dangerous as marketed and if such failure was

a producing cause of the injuries and damages in ques-

tion. Finally, Questions No. 17 and 18 asked what sum

of money would fairly and reasonably compensate the

appellee and his spouse for his injuries, if any, result-

ing from the occurrence in question.

Because the liability issues were submitted with the

term injury and focused the jury’s attention on asbestos-

related injuries resulting from the failure to warn of the

dangers of asbestos, the appellants’ requested instruction

to limit Questions No. 17 and 18 to asbestos-related in-

juries was not necessary. See 3 STATE BAR OF TEXAS,

TEXAS PATTERN JuRY CHARGES PJC 80.07 comment

(1990). The wording of Questions No. 17 and 18 con-

tains the appropriate damages issue generally used in

personal injury cases. See 3 STATE BAR OF TEXAS, TEXAS

PaTrren Jury CHarces PJC 80.02B, 80.03B (1990).

The language used in Questions Nos. 17 and 18 properly

limited appellees’ damages to asbestos-related injuries

where the only recovery sought was for damages resulting

from appellants’ failure to warn of the dangers of as-

bestos. These points of error are overruled.

Appellants duly objected to the inclusion of “loss of

canacity for enjoyment of life’ in the charge and on

apneal complain of the trial eourt’s inclusion of this lan-

suage. The amount awarded for “loss of capacity for en-

joyment of life’ was lumped together with pain and

mental anguish.

The states divide on the issue of allowing loss of enjoy-

ment of life in tort cases into those states that hold that

loss of enjoyment of life is a factor in determining dam-

ages in general and those states that take the view that

loss of enjoyment of life is a proper, separate element of

damages. See Annot., 34 A.L.R.4th 293 (1984). Texas

courts have taken the position that loss of enjoyment of

22a

life may not be claimed as a separate element of dam-

ages, but may be treated as a factor in determining dam-

ages in general or for pain and suffering. Missouri

Pacific R. Co. v. Lane, 720 S.W.2d 830 (Tex.App.—

Texarkana 1986, no writ).

In the charge, the jury was asked to assess damages

for ‘“‘nain, mental anguish, and loss of capacity for en-

joyment of life” ‘emphasis acded'. Appellants complain

that the use of the conjunction and instructed the jury

to award damages for the loss of enjoyment of life in

addition to damages for pain and mental anguish. Appel-

lees argue that this combined submission constitutes a

single element.

In the case of Ducas v. Kansas City Southern Railway

Line, 473 F.2d 821 (5th Cir.1973), the court was faced

with a similar charge, and the court ruled that using the

word and made it appear to the jury that “loss of enjoy-

ment of life’ and “loss of vitality” were separate and

independent, rather than includable items of damages.

And at the very least, they were couched in terms that

would have confused the jury as to the correct standards.

The court reversed the case, saving that the defendant

was entitled to have a jury measure those damages ac-

cording to a clear, legally correct. plainly enunciated

standard. A significant difference in that case was the

inclusion of the term “loss of vitality.” and an instruc-

tion to the jury warning them not to duplicate the

“plaintiff’s physical imnairment and loss of vitality.”

The court in the Dugas case did not instruct the jury

concerning the nossible duplication of loss of enjoyment

of life with other elements. The iury was therefore left

to infer that since it was instructed concerning one and

not the other, that it was free to allow double recovery

in regard to “loss of enjoyment of life.’’

In an early Texas case, the court held that evidence

showing a loss of capacity for “enjoyment of pleasures of

23a

life’ was too vague to furnish information on damages.

Locke v. International and GNR Co., 25 Tex.Civ.App.

145, 60 S.W. 314 (1901, no writ). Later Texas cases

recognized this loss to be a factor in determining dam-

ages. Lane, 720 S.W.2d 830. The evidence allowed to

show pain and suffering generally includes a showing of

a diminishment of enjoyment of life and the loss of being

able to function as a whole person. This element is not

to be considered as a separate item because of the pos-

sibility of double compensation. Although the better

wording would have specified its inclusion as a part of

pain and mental anguish, the lumping of this factor to-

gether with pain and mental anguish was not likely to

cause the jury to reach a double compensation for this

element. These points of error are overruled.

Appellants next complain that the trial court erred in

its instruction in regard to possible future cancer in the

damage question for Charles Strong.? Appellants argue

that the cancer instruction allowed the jury to compen-

sate for future cancer without regard to its cause and

that the instruction is a comment on the weight of the

evidence. The instruction must be read in context. The

initial Question No. 17 to which it relates is as follows:

From a preponderance of the evidence what sum

of money, if any, if paid now in cash, do you find

will fairly and reasonably compensate the plaintiff

2 The trial court gave the following instruction concerning the

probability of cancer in the future: “In answering this question

as to each future element of damage I instruct you that you may

consider and compensate for in your answer cancer or mesothelioma

which you find from a preponderance of the evidence he will suffer

in the future in reasonable probability. If you do not find that he

will in reasonable probability suffer a cancer or mesothelioma, you

may consider and compensate the plaintiff for any mental anguish

he has suffered or will suffer in the future from his reasonable fear,

if any, of cancer and mesothelioma he might suffer from his asbestos

exposure, distinct from any fear of cancer which all persons might

have.”

2da

Charles Strong, for his injuries, if any, resulting

from the occurrence in question.

(Emphasis added.) This language clearly ties everything

under it to the occurrence in question. The last portion

of the cancer instruction itself limits the mental anguish

to that which he has suffered or will suffer from his

reasonable fear of ‘‘cancer or mesothelioma he might suf-

fer from his asbestos exposure.’’ The only cancer evidence

related to Strong concerned his exposure to asbestos and

the only recovery sought and argued before the jury

from the voir dire to the final summation was for

asbestos-related injuries. When viewed in the context of

the trial and the charge, the instruction is properly lim-

ited and does not constitute a comment on the weight of

the evidence. These points of error are overruled.

ADMISSIBILITY OF POSTER

The next contention is whether the trial court properly

admitted a color poster prepared by the Oil, Chemical and

Atomic Workers International Union. Appellants objected

to the poster on the ground that it was inadmissible

hearsay. The large color poster declares the hazards of

asbestos and states that it is causing an “epidemic on

the same scale as the bubonic plague which killed millions

during the Middle Ages.” It further states that even a

few days of exposure to asbestos can be dangerous.

- The face of the poster shows that it was written by

Dr. Molly Coye. Dr. Joseph Wagner testified that Coye

prepared the poster as a consultant to the Oil, Chemical

and Atomic Workers International Union, which was then

under contract with the United States Department of

Labor. Coye did not testify at the trial. Appellees sug-

gest on appeal that the exhibit was admissible under

TEX.R.CIV.Evip. 803(8). Rule 803(8) allows admission

of:

Records, reports, statements, or data compilations, in

any form, of public offices or agencies setting forth

ee ee eR ee a ae

25a

(A) the activities of the office or agency, or (B)

matters observed pursuant to duty imposed by law

as to which matters there was a duty to report, or

(C) factual findings resulting from an investigation

made pursuant to authority granted by law; unless

the sources of information or other circumstances

indicate lack of trustworthiness.

Appellees contend that the poster is admissible under

this rule because the poster is on file with Occupational

Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and has been

adopted by the United States Department of Labor. Rule

803(8), however, is applicable only when the exhibit is

prepared by public officials or employees under their

supervision in the performance of their official duties.

Railroad Commission of Texas v. Rio Grande Valley Gas

Co., 683 S.W.2d 783, 788 (Tex.App.—Austin 1984, no

writ). Documents prepared by private individuals and

filed with a governmental agency are not official docu-

ments as contemplated by Rule 803/8). /d. Even if Dr.

Coye was under contract with the United States Depart-

ment of Labor, she was not shown to be a public official

or under the supervision of a public official. Furthermore,

the poster does not meet any of the requirements under

Rule 803(8) because it does not purport to set forth ac-

tivities of OSHA or matters observed pursuant to a duty

imposed by law or factual findings resulting from an

investigation authorized by law. Thus, the poster does

not fall within this exception to the hearsay rule.

Appellees further contend that appellants did not prop-

erly object at trial to admission of the poster because

they did not object to its lack of authentication. How-

ever, the party seeking to have hearsay declarations ad-

mitted as an exception to the general rule must clearly

show that they are within the exception. Skiliern &

Sons. Inc. v. Rosen, 359 S.W.2d 298 (Tex.1962). Because

the poster was inadmissible hearsay, appellees had the

burden of establishing a reason for introducing the ex-

EE

26a

hibit. Appellees did not suggest any reason for the intro-

duction of the exhibit except for the truth of the matter

stated on the exhibit, and thus, appellants’ objection was

sufficient to preserve error. We conclude that the trial

court erred in admitting the poster into evidence in vio-

lation of TEX.R.CIv.EvID. 802.

We must examine the entire record to determine if the

admission of this exhibit constituted reversible error. In

order for an error to be reversible, we must determine

' that it was reasonably calculated to cause and probably

did cause the rendition of an improper judgment in the

ease. TEX.R.APP.P. 81(b) (1). The main thrust of in-

formaton contained in the poster is that exposure to

asbestos is dangerous. Because this information is basi-

cally repetitive of evidence offered by expert witnesses,

its admission was not reasonably calculated to cause and

probably did not cause the rendition of an improper

judgment. Thus, this admission did not constitute re-

versible error.

DEPOSITION LIMITATIONS

Appellees next contend that the trial court abused its

discretion in admitting written deposition testimony of

witnesses Virgil M. Evans and James Henry Read. Dur-

ing pretrial discovery, based upon a motion by the appel-

lees, the trial court limited appellants’ examination of

Evans and Read to fifty cross-questions for the designated

liaison counsel and five cross-questions each for the re-

maining defendants. At the time the discovery dispute

arose, the case involved eighteen separate defendants

with common interests and defenses. The court appointed

the liaison counsel to speak and act on behalf of the

defendants. Appellees contended that because of the poor

health and age of these witnesses, the court should limit

the cross-examination by the appellants. No limit was

placed on the appellees. These two witnesses testified

concerning appellee Williams’ exposure to the asbestos-

27a

containing products manufactured by the appellants.

Appellants duly objected to the procedure and filed mo-

tions to quash the written depositions. They also objected

to the answers of Evans and Read upon receiving the

deposition transcripts and to the admission of the deposi-

tions into evidence at the trial.

Appellees contended in oral argument that the trial

judge had instructed counsel that if they had additional

problems they could ask for more questions to be sub-

mitted to these witnesses. However, we have found noth-

ing in the record to support this contention. Appellees

further contend that because appellants did not make the

omitted evidence a part of the record, there is no showing

of reversible error. This Court will not require the appel-

lants to have made a bill of exceptions containing evi-

dence that the trial court has prohibited them from

acquiring, but appellants could have submitted additional

cross-questions to the trial court to demonstrate that they

were deprived of getting needed answers.

Appellees correctly point out that mandamus is avail-

able for wrongful denial of discovery by the trial court,

and the appellants did not seek that remedy. However,

the failure to file a writ of mandamus does not prejudice

or waive appellants’ right to complain on appeal. Pope v.

Stephenson, 787 S.W.2d 953, 954 (Tex.1990).

The failure to allow a party meaningful cross-

examination of witnesses is harmful, reversible error.

Fillion v. Osborne, 585 S.W.2d 842, 845 (Tex.Civ.App.—

Houston [1st Dist.] 1979, no writ). The appellants cite

Velasco v. Haberman, 700 S.W.2d 729 (Tex.App.—San

Antonio 1985, no writ), in which the court found that

the tris] judge’s limitation of inquiry regarding adultery

and marital fault to no more than five questions was an

abuse of discretion. The court found that such a limita-

tion on questions about a relevant issue was an arbitrary

and unreasonable restriction on discovery because there

was no basis for such a limitation. A trial court has

————————————————— - _

28a

broad discretion as to whether deposition shall be oral

or written. Munden v. Chambless, 315 S.W.2d 355 (Tex.

Civ.App.—Dallas 1958, writ ref’d n.r.e.). Rule 166b(5)

of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure permits the trial

court to enter protective orders in the interest of justice

as necessary to protect the movant from undue burden.

The liaison counse! submitted only thirty-nine cross-

questions, and the only appellant to submit cross-questions

to Evans was Flintkote. None of the appellants offered

any cross-questions to Read. Until the appeilants exhaust

the number of questions allotted to them individually and

through a liaison counsel, they cannot be heard to com-

plain that they were denied the right to ask additional

questions. If the liaison counsel had refused to cooperate

with any other counsel for the appellants, then the addi-

tional cross-questions available through him would not

have counted against that appellant. The record in no

way indicates that there was any complaint about any

lack of cooperation by the liaison counsel. Twelve allotted

questions were not used by the liaison counsel, and except

for Flintkote’s five questions to Evans, the other appe!-

lants did not use their five allotted questions. Therefore,

no harm could have resulted from the trial court’s failure

to allow more questions. There could be no error until

appellants exhausted their allotted questions and were

refused additional questions. These points of error are

overruled.

ADMISSIBILITY OF BUILDING CODES AND

GOVERNMENT SPECIFICATIONS

Appellants contend that the trial court erred in exclud-

ing exhibits of governmental military specifications re-

quiring the use of asbestos in insulation products and in

excluding a portion of Dr. Corwin Hinshaw’s testimony

that many building codes demanded the use of asbestos.*

3 The excluded evidence included the following statement: “Of

course it is used for prevention of fire. I’m sure that many, many

29a

There was no showing that the appellees’ jobs involving

asbestos exposure were related in any way to govern-

mental or military contracts or that building codes that

required the use of asbestos were applicable.

Appellants contend that this evidence should have been

admitted on the exemplary damage issue to show that

they were acting in good faith in the manufacturing and

supplying of asbestos. The balancing of the utility of the

products against their danger does not remove the manu-

facturer and seller’s duty to advise and enlighten the

consumer in the safe use of the product. Even when a

balancing of the product’s utility against its known or

foreseeable danger leads to a conclusion that marketing

of the product is justified, the seller still has a responsi-

bility to inform the user or consumer of the risk of harm,

and failure to give adequate warnings in these circum-

stances renders the product unreasonably dangerous.

Borel, 493 F.2d 1076.

The present case focuses on a lack of adequate warn-

ings. The exemplary damages awarded in this case were

not based upon the companies’ conduct in manufacuring

and distributing asbestos, but, according to the wording

of the jury questions, was based upon the failure to warn

those handling the product of its potential dangers. The

evidence concerning government specifications and build-

ing codes could have been admitted on the state-of-the-art

issues. Its exclusion, however, was not an abuse of dis-

cretion by the trial judge because there was considerable

evidence admitted about the wide-spread use of asbestos,

including testimony that asbestos had over 3,000 indus-

trial uses. These points of error are overruled.

building codes have demanded the use of asbestos in theaters, for

example; theater curtains of asbestos undoubtedly contained or pre-

vented catastrophic fires in theaters. Its’ (sic) use in schools as a

prevention of fires had undoubtedly saved lives.”

30a

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Next, appellants contend that the trial court erred in

denying their motion for directed verdict based upon their

statute of limitations defense against Strong. In review-

ing the denial of a motion for a directed verdict for the

defendant, the question is whether the evidence adduced

at the time the plaintiff rests his case, viewed in the

light most favorable to the plaintiff, raises an issue for

the jury. Vance v. My Apartment Steak House, 677

S.W.2d 480, 483 (Tex.1984).

In tort liability cases, the statute of limitations period

commences when the injured party discovers, or in the

exercise of ordinary care, should have discovered, the in-

jury. Willis v. Maverick, 760 S.W.2d 642, 644 (Tex.

1988). Because the injury occurred more than two years

before suit was filed, Strong and Pool were required to

prove facts sufficient to suspend the operation of the stat-

ute of limitations. Willis, 760 S.W.2d at 644; Weaver v.

Witt, 561 S.W.2d 792 (Tex.1977).

According to the evidence, Strong was examined by the

Texas Eastman Company medical department on March

12, 1979. This resulted in a chest x-ray report which

stated ‘‘!f]indings in the chest could be compatible with

changes secondary to asbestosis.” On February 21, 1983,

Texas Eastman gave Strong another physical examina-

‘ion. In connection with this examination, Strong an-

swered a questionnaire in which he checked ‘‘yes” in the

box indicating-that he had a medical condition or prob-

lem that he thought was work-related. Three items are

listed, the second of which was “pulmonary fibrosis ac-

quired from working with asbestos.’”’ When asked whether

he read the questionnaire before signing it, Strong

answered,

Well, we never did read them. He just threw them

on our desks back then and we just signed them and

walked out because we wanted to get out of there

3la

because we knew we wasn’t going to find out any-

thing anyhow.

Appellants assert that when Strong signed the aues-

tionnaire he was charged with knowledge of the report’s

contents. Appellants contend that Strong was charged

with notice as a matter of law, citing Sutton v. Grogan

Supply Co., 477 S.W.2d 930 (Tex.Civ.App.—Texarkana

1972, no writ), and Ussery v. Hollebeke, 391 S.W.2d 497,

503 (Tex.Civ.App.—E! Paso 1965, writ ref’d n.r.e.). In

the Sutton case, this Court held that when a deed is

signed by a party and recorded that party is charged as

a matter of law with constructive notice of its content.

In the Ussery case, the court held that the grantor as a

matter of law is charged with the knowledge of the con-

tents of his deed. These cases stand for the genera! ru'e

that a person signing a contract or a deed cannot later

say that he did not read it when he signed it or did no*

know what it contained. The present case does not in-

volve 2 deed or contract and such constructive knowledze

will not be charzed against the signer as a matter of ‘aw.

trong testified that he was never told by anyone at

Texas Eastman that he had asbestosis. No evidence was

offered showing that anyone at Texas Eastman told this

to Strong. Also, there was no showing that this notation

was on the record at the time Strong signed it. Strong’s

testimony raised the fact issue about whether he knew

or should have known that he had asbestosis. We find

that the evidence at the time the plaintiff rested. when

viewed in a light most favorable to the plaintiff. raised

an issue for the jury. These points of error are over-

ruled.

Appellant Celotex also challeges the jury’s finding on

this issue as being against the great weight and pre-

ponderance of the evidence. In reviewing a great weight

argument, because the burden of proof was on the ap-

pellants, they must show that the finding of the jury

was so contrary to the great weight and preponderance

32a

of the evidence as to be manifestly unjust. Calvert, “No

Evidence” and “Insufficient Evidence’ Points of Error,

38 Tex.L.REv. 361 (1960). In reviewing these points, we

will examine all of the evidence in the record that is

relevant to the fact being challenged. Plas-Tex, Inc. v.

U.S. Steel Corp., 772 S.W.2d 442 (Tex.1989); In re

King’s Estate, 150 Tex. 662, 244 S.W.2d 660 (1951).

As previously discussed, we have examined the evidence

by these standards and find that the finding of the jury

was not against the great weight and preponderance of

the evidence or manifestly unjust.

Garlock contends that the trial court erred in not

granting both its motion for directed verdict and its mo-

tion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict on the

basis of its statute of limitations defense against Pool.

We have previously set forth the standard for reviewing

a denial of a motion for directed verdict. For appellate

purposes, a complaint that the trial court erred in re-

fusing to grant a judgment notwithstanding the verdict,

raises only a no evidence point for appellate review.

Sherman v. First Nat’l Bank, 760 S.W.2d 240, 241-42

‘Tex.1988). Garlock cites the following testimony by

Pool to show that Pool was aware of his problem two

and a half vears before the institution of suit:

Q aAnd in fact, I think you said earlier in your

testimony vou had had breathing problems probably

even back into the 70’s before then.

A Yes, sir.

Q And by 1984 you were still having those prob-

lems and you thought it might be due to asbestos

exposure, didn’t you?

A I was having the problem and I was wanting

to find out what it was due to.

Q Okay. And that’s why you went to see Mr.

Houston?

A Well, yes, sir, that’s why I went to see Mr.

Houston.

33a

Q All right. And then Mr. Houston is the one

that sent you down to see Dr. Comstock. We've al-

ready talked about that, haven’t we?

A Yes, sir.

Q And, of course, you were seen at Dr. Com-

stock’s office in May of 1984; is that correct?

A I don’t remember—i don’t remember the date,

but I agree with it.

Q [Reading from Dr. Mann’s records] “No hos-

pitalization or been to doctor in over a year. Worked

at Texas Eastman for 27 years. Is having a diffi-

cult time breathing, states that he has not been able

to work much lately due to chest problems. Has

been bothered for a long time. Dr. Morris had him

in hospital a couple of years ago, told him it was

fat. He is thinking he has asbestosis.”

A Dr. Morris said?

Q No, that’s what Dr. Mann says you were

thinking. March 13, 1984.

A I can’t go along with that. How could I have

diagnosed myself? That’s not true. That’s untrue.

When asked if he had talked to people at Texas East-

man about his conversation with Dr. Mann, Pool an-

swered that he believed that he did. The record then

reflects the following questions and answers:

Q [Reading from Pool’s employment record |

“States Dr. Mann told him that the reports from

Houston said his problem was asbestos related.” Is

that correct?

A I worked in asbestos. I don’t know about the

other part now.

Q All right. And you told the people at Texas

Eastman on 8-16-84 that Dr. Mann told you that

the reports from Houston said your problem was as-

bestos related?

A Well, I can’t say for sure about that.

34a

Q You don’t dispute that though; that’s in vour

records.

A I dispute that. I don’t know.

Limitations begin to run from the date when the plain-

tiff has knowledge of facts, or from the date, in exercise

of ordinary care and diligence, he should have discov-

ered the facts. Hays v. Hall, 488 S.W.2d 412, 414 (Tex.

1972). Pool steadfastly denied throughout his testimony

that he had ever received any report or oral statement

from Texas Eastman or from any doctor during the time

period prior to two years before filing suit that he had

asbestosis. When viewed in the light most favorable to

the plaintiff, there was evidence creating a fact issue as

to whether Pool knew or should have known about his

injury. The trial judge properly denied the motions for

an instructed verdict and for a judgment notwithstand-

ing the verdict.

POOL’S FUTURE MEDICAL EXPENSES

Next. appellants contend that there was no evidence

or insufficient evidence to support the jury’s award of

$100,000 to Pool for future medical expenses.‘ In re-

viewing no evidence points, the Court considers only the

evidence tending to support the finding, viewing it in the

light most favorable to the finding, giving effect to all

reasonable inferences therefrom, and disregarding al]

contrary and conflicting evidence. Glover v. Texas Gen-

eral Indemnity Co., 619 S.W.2d 400 (Tex.1981). Insuf-

ficient evidence points require that we consider and

weigh all the evidence. Jn re King’s Estate, 244 S.W.2d

660.

Recovery for future medical expenses requires a show-

ing that there is a reasonable probability that such medi-

cal expenses will be incurred in the future. Fisher v.

* Celotex has only an insufficiency point of error. Owens-Illinois

has both a no evidence and an insufficient evidence point. Other

appellants adopted these points of error.

35a

Coastal Transport Co., 149 Tex. 224, 230 S.W.2d 522

(1950). The jury question was worded as follows: “Rea-

sonable and necessary Future Medical Expenses which

you find that in Reasonable Probability he |Pool] will

sustain in the Future” (emphasis added).

Likelihood and probability are synonymous. Robinson

v. Argonaut Insurance Co., 534 S.W.2d 953, 958 (Tex.

Civ.App.—Fort Worth 1976, writ ref’d n.r.e.). The word

probable conveys a meaning of more likely than not. See

Parker v. Employers Mutual Liability Insurance Co. of

Wis., 440 S.W.2d 43, 47 (Tex.1969). Quantifying prob-

ability, it means a more than fifty percent chance. See

Fidelity & Guaranty Ins. Underwriters v. Gary Douglas

Electric, 48 Ohio App.2d 319, 357 N.E.2d 388, 392

(1974).

Dr. J.D. Britton was the only witness who testified

about future medical expenses. He testified that Pool had

minimal evidence of an asbestos-related disease, but this

was not enough for a diagnosis of asbestosis. He testified

that he had found a pleural thickening and that in his

opinion Pool had an asbestos-related pleural disease.

In his prognosis for Pool, Dr. Britton testified that he

expected Pool to progress but to get worse with time. He

further testified that he had informed Pool that he had

a high risk of lung cancer and other asbestos cancers

because of his heavy exposure to asbestos products. Dr.

Britton also testified that for a worker who had never

smoked, the amount of asbestos exposure of these workers

had increased their risk of lung cancer to five times the

average member of the public.

The only specific evidence about Pool’s future medical

expenses came from Dr. Britton:

Q Doctor, with reference to Mr. Pool’s future on

medical expenses, in reasonable probability what does

the future hold for him?

A My opinion is that it’s the same for Mr.

Sledge and Mr. Strong.

36a

Q Isheat risk of cancer?

A Yes, sir.

Q Is he at risk of mesothelioma?

A Yes, sir.

Appellants contend that the evidence is insufficient to

establish probability on the basis of the following:

Q And on Mr. Pool you don’t have a clear diag-

nosis of pulmonary asbestosis yet, but he has a

pleural disease?

A Yes, sir.

Q Now, in reasonable probability a person who

has a diagnosis of pulmonary asbestosis, as does Mr.

Sledge and Mr. Strong, do they have a more than

50 percent chance of developing cancer from asbestos?

A Yes, sir, they do.

Q Is that recognized in the medical authority and

recognized by you as a doctor?

A Yes, sir.

Q And is Mr. Pool’s risk of the cancer, is it

somewhat less but still has the risk?

A That’s, that’s correct.

Dr. Britton’s previous testimony concerning Sledge’s

medical expenses were as follows:

Q Looking at the future, coming to future medi-

cal expenses again, and I might remind you again

that in reasonable probability is what we have to

deal with, what are the probabilities of his (Sledge)

future with reference to medical expenses?

A Again a worst case scenario, development of

lung cancer, mesothelioma, continuing heart disease,

as a result of his asbestos problems, it could easily

exceed $100,000 easily.

Q And then of course in the absence of cancer,

that can go on down to less?

A That’s correct.

37a

Dr. Britton further testified that Pool’s risk of lung

cancer was going down day-by-day and year-by-year be-

cause he had quit smoking. The doctor also testified as

follows about the probability of Pool’s getting cancer:

Q Doctor, on cancer risks, just a couple of ques-

tions to see what we can agree on. Men that have

been exposed to asbestos occupationally but do not

have asbestosis inside the lungs, you’d agree that

there’s not a fifty percent risk for that type of

individual, such as Mr. Pool?

A Someone who has asbestosis?

@ No. Someone who does not have asbestosis

even though he’s been occupationally exposed, he

doesn’t have a fifty percent or greater risk of lung

cancer, does he?

A Hehasa less than fifty percent.

Q Okay. And even if that person has the pleural

changes, you’re not going to pull him over this fifty

percent category?

A No.

The term reasonable probability is determined by a con-

sideration of the substance of the testimony of the expert

witness and does not turn on semantics or on the use by

the witness of any particular term or phrase. /nsurance

Co. of North America v. Myers, 411 S.W.2d 710 (Tex.

1966). However, viewing the record as a whole, we find

that the only testimony concerning Pool’s future medical

expenses came from Dr. Britton. A careful examination

of his testimony shows that he based his testimony of

Sledge’s future medical expenses on a worst-case scenario

in which Sledge would develop lung cancer, mesothelioma

and heart disease. Thus, his testimony shows what Pool’s

medical expenses would be if he developed lung cancer, but

in other testimony he limits the possibility that Pool will

get cancer to less than a fifty percent chance. This spe-

cific testimony quantitating his general statement amounts

to a likelihood that Pool will not get cancer. The evidence

38a

is not sufficient to establish that Pool’s reasonable and

necessary future medica] expenses in reasonable proba-

bility will be $190,000.

No evidence was offered as to what Pool’s future medi-

cal expenses would be for the absestos-related pleural

disease which he was diagonsed as having. Pool contends

that Dr. Britton’s testimony [while talking about Strong]

that “in the absence of cancer, that [the well over

$100,000] can go on down to less” is sufficient evidence to

support the award. While specificity is not required, this

vague reference is not sufficient to support a $100,000

medical award. While we find this constitutes some evi-

dence, we sustain appellants’ point of error that this evi-

dence is insufficient.

THE AWARD TO OLLIE FREEMAN

In the next point of error. appellant Garlock contends

that the trial court abused its discretion by permitting

Donna Freeman and Ollie Freeman to file answers to its

requests for admissions. Specifically, Garlock asserts that

Donna Freeman and Ollie Freeman ‘‘admitted themselves

out of court” by failing to timely respond to its request

for admissions and by failing to file a motion to extend

time for filing a response within the thirty-day period.

TEXx.R.Civ.P. 169.

After the expiration of thirty days from the date of

service. and in the absence of a motion to extend time for

filing a response, the admissions are automatically deemed

admitted and the trial court has no discretion to deem, or

refuse to deem, the admissions admitted. Curry v. Clayton,

715 S.W.2d 77, 79 (Tex.App.—Dallas 1986, no writ) ;

TEX.R.Civ.P. 169. The trial court has broad discretion to

permit or deny the withdrawal of deemed admissions when

the nonanswering party presents sufficient evidence to

establish gocd cause for his failure to make timely

answers to the requested admissions. Boone v. Texas

39a

Employers’ Ins. Ass’n, 790 S.W.2d 688, 688 (Tex.App.—

Tyler 1990, no writ). However, the court also must find

that the withdrawals can be ordered without causing undue

prejudice to the party relying on the admissions and that

the presentation of the merits of the action will be sub-

served by the withdrawal. Boone, 790 S.W.2d at 688. The

trial court’s ruling on the withdrawal will be set aside

only upon a clear showing of abuse. Employers Ins. of

Wausau v. Halton, 792 S.W.2d 462, 464 (Tex.App.—

Dallas 1990, writ denied). An abuse of discretion occurs

when the court acts without reference to guiding rules or

principles or acts arbitrarily or unreasonably, See Downer

v. Aquamarine Operators, Inc., 701 S.W.2d 288, 241 (Tex.

1985).

In the present case, Garlock filed a request for admis-

sions on August 14, 1989, for plaintiffs Reuben S. Pool,

Thomas R. Siedge, Charles W. Strong, Bobbie A. Free-

man, Donna G. Freeman and Ollie Freeman. On August

18, 1989, Pool. Sledge, Strong, and Bobbie Freeman filed

their responses. Counsel contends, however, that due to a

clerical error, Donna Freeman and Ollie Freeman were

omitted in the response. On September 21, 1989, eight

days after the thirty-day reply period had expired, Donna

Freeman and Ollie Freeman filed a motion to answer Gar-

lock’s request for admissions, together with their responses,

stating that they adopted Bobbie Freeman’s answers.

During the pretrial hearing, the trial court granted their

motion to answer.

Garlock argues that a clerical error is insufficient to

constitute good cause for failing to file answers to its

request for admissions. However, in Birdo v. Holbrook,

775 S.W.2d 411. 413 (Tex.App.—Fort Worth 1989, writ

denied), the court held that it was not an abuse of discre-

tion to allow counsel additional time to respond to request

for admissions when, due to a clerical error, counsel

answered “admit” instead of “deny.” Good cause can be

shown even though a party may have been negligent, if

40a

his negligence does not rise to the level of conscious

indifference. Halton, 792 S.W.2d at 466.

The record does not indicate that counsel in the present

case consciously disregarded his obligation to timely file

its answers to the requests. Counsel filed responses for

plaintiffs Pool, Sledge, Strong, and Bobbie Freeman four

days after Garlock filed its request for admissions and

filed answers for Donna Freeman and Ollie Freeman eight

days after the thirty days had expired. This suggests that

he was not attempting to avoid discovery. Furthermore,

there was no showing that Garlock was unduly prejudiced

by the withdrawal of the deemed admissions. We conclude

that the trial court did not abuse its discretion by with-

drawing the deemed admissions against Donna Freeman

and Ollie Freeman. This point of error is overruled.

Appellants next contend that the trial court erred in

rendering a judgment in favor of Ollie Freeman because

there was no evidence about any person named Ollie Free-

man and alternatively, the evidence was insufficient to

support the judgment for Ollie Freeman. We will apply

the standard for reviewing no evidence points and in-

sufficiency points as previously stated.

Ollie Freeman brought this suit as the surviving mother

of Donald Freeman. The voir dire, the opening state-

ments, and the summary of the pleadings and summation

identified Ollie Freeman as the mother of Donald Free-

man. At trial, Bobbie Freeman. Donald’s widow, testified

that Donald took care of his eighty-eight-year-old mother.

Bobbie stated that Donald would perform various errands

for his mother, such as taking her to the doctor and doing

repairs for her.

In an action by a parent for the death of an adult child,

the mother can recover pecuniary benefits, which include

such things as labor, services, advice, and counsel, as well

as attention in ministering to the wants and needs of the

parent. P.T. & E. Co. v. Beasley, 698 S.W.2d 190 (Tex.

4la

App.—Beaumont 1985, writ ref’d n.r.e.). Although Bob-

bie, in her testimony, did not identify Donald’s mother by

name, the jury could determine her identity in the context

of the trial. The better procedure would have been to

identify her by her proper name in the testimony; how-

ever. the failure to do so is not fatal. We find that there

is sufficient evidence for an award to Donald Freeman’s

mother, and based upon her status in the proceedings, the

jury could properly identify Ollie Freeman as that

person. The points of error are overruled.

THE AWARD TO THE WILLIAMS CHILDREN

Next, appellants contend that there was no evidence

and, alternatively, insufficient evidence to support the

jury’s award of $25,000 damages for pecuniary loss and

$25,000 damages for termination of parent/child relation-

ship to the Williams children. We have previously dis-

cussed the applicable standards of review for addressing

these points.

The jury was instructed to consider three elements of

damages and make a specific finding on each: (a) pecuni-

ary loss, (b) termination of the parent/child relationship,

and (c) mental anguish, past and future, suffered because

of the death of their father. No challenge is made to the

$50,000 awarded for mental anguish.

The jury also was instructed to “{c]onsider the care,

maintenance, support, services, education, advice, counsel,

and reasonable-contributions of a pecuniary value that

(the Williams children] would, in reasonable probability,

have received from George Williams, if he had lived.”

This broad instruction included not only monetary loss, but

it asked the jury to value other benefits that the children

received from their father.

The instruction regarding the termination of the

parent/child relationship directed the jury to “[{cjonsider

the love, support, companionship, and society that [the

42a

Williams children] would, in reasonable probability, have

received from George Williams, if he had lived.” In deter-

mining wrongful death awards, the Texas Supreme Court

stated in Moore v. Lillebo, 722 S.W.2d 683 (Tex.1986),

that factors to be considered could include (1) the rela-

tionship between the parent and child; (2) the living

arrangements of the parties; (3) any absence of the de-

ceased from the beneficiary for extended periods; (4) the

harmony of the family relationship; and (5) common

interests and activities.

Only one child, a son, testified about the relationship

between the father and the seven children. His testimony

was general and included that his father “pushed the

children hard” because he wanted them to excel, that he

was a good role model, that he was supportive of the

children, and that he was always available to help them

with their problems. Williams’ wife testified that he was

a good family man and was good with the children. Al-

though there are no specifics as to the living arrangements,

harmony of the family relationship, or interests or activi-

ties, there was no negative testimony in this regard.

Evidence of a father who is a good role modei and who

is always around to help his children. with no evidence

to the contrary, is sufficient to support the award of

damages. The points of error are overruled.

THE OWENS-ILLINOIS PERCENTAGE OF

RESPONSIBILITY

In the next point of error, appellant Owens-Illinois

challenges the sufficiency of the evidence for rendition of a

judgment against it, based upon the jury’s finding that it

caused twenty-five percent of the asbestos-related injuries

to Sledge and Pool. Owens-Illinois contends that this find-

ing is against the great weight and preponderance of the

evidence. We have previously set forth the standard of

review for addressing this point. The burden was on

Owens-Illinois to prove allocation of causation for its

43a

contribution. Duncan v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 665 S.W.2d

414 (Tex.1984).

Owens-Illinois manufactured an insulation product called

Kaylo, which was a hydrous calcium silicate that was

roughly fifteen percent asbestos. It was used in molded

pipe covering form, as well as in a block. Owens-Illinois

sold its insulation division to Owens-Corning Fiberglas

Corporation effective Aprii 30, 1958. Reuben Pool did not

begin work at the Texas Eastman plant until March 18,

1957. Therefore, he had only been employed for a year

and forty-two days when Owens-Illinois sold their unit

that manufactured Kaylo. Sledge did not begin working

for Texas Eastman until 1958 and only overlapped the

period of time that Owens-Illinois made and sold Kaylo

by two months.

Owens-Illinois thus takes the position that it caused less

than one-hundredth of one percent of Sledge’s asbestos-

related injury. It cites evidence showing that Sledge was

exposed to more than 140 other products that contained

asbestos. In the case of Pool, Owens-Illinois cites similar

factors and calculates that it should be responsible for less

than three one-hundredths of one percent of Pool’s as-

bestos-related injuries. Pool worked with 147 products

made by sixteen settling defendants.

There was evidence that Kaylo gave off less than

5,000,000 particles of asbestos per cubic foot (calculated

on the basis of forty hours’ exposure), but there were no

specific figures by which Kaylo can be compared to the

the products made by other companies as to how much

asbestos the other products contained and how much was

given off by each product. There was no medical evi-

cence offered to assist in establishing the percentage of

responsibility.

The use and exposure to the Owens-Illinois product can-

not logically be said to have terminated on the date that

the company quit manufacturing this product. Nothing in

44a

the evidence shows how much of the Owens-Illinois product

Texas Eastman may have had on hand for later use at

that time. Also, much of the exposure to this type of

product occurred when it was torn out and replaced. The

tearing out and replacement may have been years after

the installation of this product. Without these dates, the

specific date that the company sold its manufacturing

operation does not establish the date that the exposure to

the product ended.

Charles Strong testified that large quantities of Kaylo

were used at the Texas Eastman plant.’ Dr. J.D. Britton

testified that a short-term exposure to asbestos could be

damaging.® The argument by Owens-Illinois is flawed in

three respects:

5 Strong's specific testimony was as follows:

Q Was Kaylo one of the big products—a huge amount of prod-

ucts or small amount?

A It was—we used just worlds of Kaylo insulation.

Q Did you use a little or a lot of that Owens-Illinois Kaylo?

A We used a lot.

®’ Dr. Britton testified as follows:

Well, it’s important to recognize that asbestosis is something

—is a process that doesn’t stop when people are not around

asbestos fibers; in fact, it continues. Kind of a strange never

ending process, it goes on and on and on and on, even though

a person may_not be around asbestos any more, and this is

characteristic. ... A lot of people do not remember that they

did construction work or that they worked in the ship yards

or they were a welder or things along those lines, because some-

body may have not had much of an exposure at either their

work place or at home that happened 40 years ago. People forget

about a job they may have had—they may have worked briefly

for two or three days, and so I will really stress this point and

talk to people and make sure that the history is complete.

Q In connection with that, we’ve already seen some medical

literature or scientific literature on it where they mentioned

that just a small amount or small period of exposure years

iain lial aaa

45a

(1) their responsibility cannot be based upon exposure

time alone; |

(2) the time when Owens-Illinois stopped manufactur-

ing Kaylo is not necessarily the same time that Pool and

Sledge stopped being exposed to their product; and

(3) there is no showing how the amount of asbestos

given off by Kaylo compared with the amount given off by

the products of other companies.

The evidence does not offer an evidentiary formula

whereby the fact finder could make an exact mathematical

calculation of the percentage, and asbestos fibers found

in the lungs cannot be traced to a specific product. The

burden, however, was on Owens-Illinois to show the per-

centage of responsibility, and we conclude that the evi-

dence does not establish the percentage figures contended

by Owens-Illinois. The jury’s finding is not against the

great weight and preponderance of the evidence. These

points of error are overruled.

THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF PUNITIVE

DAMAGES

Appellants next contend that the award of punitive

damages violates the due process clauses of the United

States Constitution and the Texas Constitution, the ex-

cessive fines clause of the Texas Constitution, and the

common law of Texas. Appellants have not sought a remit-

titur to reduce the amount of the punitive damages award.

ago can be important as a disease producer. Do you recognize

that?

A No doubt. Actually, a brief exposure, perhaps one day can

stimulate some degree of process.

Q I guess what you’re telling us then that the—how many

years it’s been since your first exposure and then the total

amount of the exposure both are important?

A That’s correct.

46a

In Pacific Mutual Ins. Co. v. Haslip |sic], 553 So.2d 537

(Ala.1989), af’'d —— U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 1032, 113

L.Ed.2d 1 (1991), the United States Supreme Court held

that punitive damage awards do not violate the due proc-

ess provision of the fourteenth amendment when the

award is based on an objective criterion. The Supreme

Court conceded that unlimited jury or judicial discretion

in the fixing of punitive damages may invite extreme

results that are unacceptable under the due process clause.

Id. Therefore, the general concerns of reasonableness and

adequate guidance from the court must be considered in

determining whether punitive damages are unconstitu-

tional. Jd.

In the present case, the trial court’s instruction placed

reasonable constraints on the exercise of the jury’s dis-

cretion by defining exemplary damages as an amount

awarded to set an example to others and as a penalty.

The charge also required the jury to find that appellants’

acts were done “willfully, intentionally, or with a callous

or reckless and heedless disregard and indifference to the

rights, welfare, or safety of the persons affected by it’’

before awarding exemplary damages to the appellees. We

conciude that the punitive damage award was based on

an objective criterion, and thus, the due process provision

of the fourteenth amendment was not violated.

The United States Supreme Court held in Browning-

Ferris Industries v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 109

S.Ct. 2909, 106 L.Ed.2d 219 (1989), that the excessive

fines clause of the eighth amendment does not apply to

awards of punitive damages in civil cases between private

parties. The Texas Supreme Court has held that a civil

penalty is excessive, and thus unconstitutional, when it

becomes so manifestly violative of the constitutional pro-

hibition against excessive fines as to shock the sense of

mankind. Pennington v. Singleton, 606 S.W.2d 682, 690

(Tex.1980).

47a

In the Pennington case, the Texas Supreme Court con-

sidered whether punitive damages violated Article 1, § 13

(excessive fines) of the Texas Constitution and the four-

teenth amendment (due process) of the United States

Constitution. The court held that whether such damages

are excessive is determined by whether it was fixed with

reference to the object it is to accomplish according to the

seriousness of the wrong and the defendant’s culpability.

This constitutional test is in conformity with the factors

for determining if a punitive damages award is excessive,

set forth by the court in Alamo National Bank v. Kraus,

616 S.W.2d 908 (Tex.1981). Pursuant to the Alamo Na-

tional Bank decision, the tral court must consider (1) the

nature of the wrong, (2) the character of the conduct

involved, (3) the degree of culpability of the wrongdoer,

(4) the situation and sensibilities of the parties, and (5)

the extent to which the defendant’s conduct offends the

public’s sense of justice and propriety.

Appellant Owens-Illinois argues that the award of puni-

tive damages punishes today’s shareholders, management

and employees for “the alleged sins of management in

place forty to fifty years ago.” The law recognizes Owens-

Illinois as a corporate entity, and as such it must be liable

for its damages. Its liability cannot be diminished or re-

moved each time there is a change in management or

employees or stock is sold.

Owens-Illinois contends that it is now litigating more

than 70,000 asbestos claims and that it left the asbestos-

containing insulation business more than thirty years ago.

It points out that the Fifth Circuit stated, “the scope of

this mass litigation is without precedent and practically

*The Corpus Christi Court of Appeals recently held in Celotex

Corp. v. Tate that in the absence of any state action, the excessive

fines provision of the Texas Constitution does not apply to an

award of common law punitive damages. Celoter Corp. v. Tate,

797 S.W.2d 197, 208 (Tex. App.—Corpus Christi 1990, no writ).

48a

without dimension.” Jackson v. Johns-Manville Sales

Corp., 727 F.2d 506, 524-25 (5th Cir. 1984), rehearing

en banc, 750 F.2d 13814 (1985), cert. denied, 478 USS.

1022, 106 S.Ct. 3339, 92 L.Ed.2d 743 (1986). The evi-

dence, however, also indicates that a unprecedented num-

ber of workers will die from asbestos-related cancer.

The wrongful conduct was a failure to warn about the

use of a product which could result in serious illness and

death by suffocation, and we cannot conclude that punitive

damages of an approximately one-to-one ratio with actual

damages are such that would shock the sense of mankind.

In relationship to the actual damages and the nature of

the wrong, as well as the other factors, the record sup-

ports the award of punitive damages.

Fibreboard and Owens-Illinois contend that we must

look at the multiple imposition of punitive damages against

defendants in asbestos cases. They contend that substan-

tive due process prevents multiple imposition of punitive

damages for the same conduct or course of conduct, citing

Racich v. Celotex Corp., 887 F.2d 393 (2d Cir.1989); In

re School Asbestos Litigation, 789 F.2d 996 (8rd Cir.),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 852, 107 S.Ct. 182, 93 L.Ed.2d 117

(1986); King v. Armstrong World Industries, Inc., 906

F.2d 1022 (5th Cir.1990). While the courts in these cases

discuss in some detail the problems inherent in allowing

punitive damages in the voluminous asbestos cases, none

of the courts has held that awarding such damages vio-

lates substantive due process.

The thrust of the appellants’ arguments is that repeated

puntive damages awards in numerous cases go beyond pun-

ishment and allow windfalls for the plaintiffs. They also

endanger the rights of future claimants to recover actual

damages. Owens-Illinois contends in its brief that it has

been subjected to punitive damage awards of more than

$4,000,000 for its manufacture and sale of Kaylo insula-

tion products. While we recognize that there are numerous

49a

cases that have been decided and numerous cases are pend-

ing concerning damages claims based upon exposure to

asbestos, this Court cannot dictate policy in a mass tort

context, but can only decide the cases involved in the

present suit. Such broad policy considerations are left to

the Supreme Court of this state and the United States

and to the appropriate legislative bodies.

We find no constitutional violations and no support or

authorities for the appellants’ contention that the punitive

damages award violated the common law. Every state

and federal court that has considered the question of

whether punitive damages are unconstitutional has ruled

that the common-law method for assessing punitive dam-

ages does not in itself violate due process. Pacific Mutual

Ins, Co., 553 So.2d 587 [sic], aff'd US. —, 111

S.Ct. 1032, 113 L.Ed.2d 1. These points of error are

overruled.

GARLOCK’S LIABILITY

In the next point of error, appellant Garlock contends

that there was no evidence or insufficient evidence to show

that the products manufactured by Garlock were defective.

unreasonably dangerous, and contributed to the injuries of

Pool, Strong, Sledge, and Freeman. We shall apply the

standards for reviewing no evidence and insufficient evi-

dence points as previously stated.

Garlock contends that their products are not unreason-

ably dangerous and, therefore, are not defective. Garlock

contends that it had no duty to warn of dangers which

did not exist. Garlock has never manufactured or sold

asbestos insulation. This company manufactures gaskets

and valve packing. some of which contain small amounts

of asbestos in rubber, elastomers, and lubricants. The

evidence shows that these products in their initial appli-

cation release no asbestos particles into the air, but a

small number of particles may be released when it is cut.

The amount of asbestos released is far below the govern-

50a

ment standard. The court held in Gideon, 761 F.2d 1129,

that compliance with government safety standards consti-

tutes strong and substantial evidence that a product is

not defective. The federal courts have used this standard

on the basis that they were applying Texas law, but we

have found no Texas cases, other than diversity cases in

federal court, to so hold. See Lorenz v. Celotex Corp.,

896 F.2d 148 (5th Cir.1990). Under Texas law, a manu-

facturer’s complaince with a government safety standard

does not automatically preclude a finding of liability.

Appellees point to evidence from an article published

in 1931 in a journal called Safety Engineering. The article,

“The Very Least An Employer Should Know About Dust

and Fume Diseases” indicated that exposure to asbestos

in any form is dangerous. They also point to evidence

from the expert witness, Dr. Joseph Wagner, in which he

stated that it was known in the 1920’s that asbestos is a-

disease-causing mineral which causes asbestosis and also

many types of cancer, including lung cancer, pleural

mesothelioma, and perierdial mesothelioma. The evidence

also showed that there is no safe level of asbestos

exposure.

Manufacturers that know or should know of potential

harms to a user because of the nature of their products

are required to give adequate warnings of such dangers.

Bristol-Myers Co. v. Gonzales, 561 S.W.2d 801, 804 (Tex.

1978). When a product contains toxic or dangerous in-

gredients not obvious to the typical user, the manufacturer

has a duty to know the danger and to issue an appropri-

ate warning. Muncy v. Magnolia Chemical Co., 437 S.W.

2d 15 (Tex.Civ.App.—Amarillo 1968, writ ref’d n.r.e.).

Section 402A, comment K of the Restatement of Torts

defines an unavoidably unsafe product as those that are

incapable of being made safe for their ordinary and

intended use according to the scientific knowledge at that

time, and the failure to give adequate warnings under

these circumstances renders the product unreasonably

5la

dangerous. Borel, 493 F.2d at 1089; RESTATEMENT (SEC-

OND) OF TorTS $ 402A, comment K (1965). A product,

therefore, can be defective if the design is not sufficiently

safe or if the product does not have adequate instructions

or warnings. Carter v. Massey-Ferguson, Inc., 716 F.2d

344, 346 n.1 (5th Cir.1983). When a product has no

warning, a presumption exists that the plaintiff would

have read and heeded a proper warning had one been

given. Howard v. Faberge, Inc., 679 S.W.2d 644, 650

(Tex.App.—Houston [lst Dist.] 1984, writ ref’d n.r.e.).

The record contains testimony from Charles Strong,

who worked at Texas Eastman, and Charles Flint, the

purchasing agent for Texas Eastman, that Texas East-

man purchased and used Garlock products consisting of

asbestos sheet packing and square-braided asbestos pack-

ing. Strong testified that Garlock products had to be

replaced and when being replaced were dusty. Strong

also testified that when removing the worn-out packing

material, it was necessary to scrape, beat and pull on it.

There was testimony that the asbestos sheet packing had

to be cut to be used and was used in all the buildings in

Texas Eastman. He further testified that every time

the material was cut, dust and fibers were released.

Although there was no expert testimony concerning the

contents of the dust, the jury could infer that the dust

formed from a material containing asbestos would also

contain asbestos.

There was expert testimony that the cumulative ex-

posure to asbestos causes asbestos-related diseases and

that even the inhaling of small amounts of asbestos can

contribute to the disease process. There also was evi-

dence that Garlock failed to warn the appellees of the

dangers of their products and that the appellees’ injuries

were caused by exposure to asbestos. We find that there

was sufficient evidence to support the findings against

Garlock. These points of error are overruled.

52a

FLINTKOTE’S LIABILITY

Next, appellant Flintkote contends that the evidence

was insufficient to support the jury verdict against Flint-

kote. Flintkote challenges the evidence on the basis that

its products did not pose any danger nor did F'intkote

know or have any reason to know of any supposed danger

=in its products. We have previously discussed the appli-

cable standard for review. Flintkote cites the fact that

there was no evidence concerning any danger from liquid

asbestos products that Flintkote manufactured. Flint-

kote states the fact that none of the experts mentioned

Flintkote by name or referred to any liquid products. It

also argues that most of the expert testimony referred

to raw asbestos and asbestos insulation products. The

testimony showed that Flintkote products were used as

adhesives and joint compounds to seal joints and to place

a thermal coat over the pipe insulation. The product

came premixed in a liquid form in five-gallon buckets

or fifty-five-gallon drums and in that form emitted no

dust.

It cannot be presumed that all asbestos-containing

products are unreasonably dangerous or that all com-

panies have a duty to warn of supposed dangers. Hardy

v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 681 F.2d 334, 347 (dth

Cir.1982); Migues v. Fibreboard Corp., 662 F.2d 1182,

1188-89 (5th Cir.1981).

Flintkote is correct that there was no expert testimony

specifically stating that the Flintkote products emitted

a dust containing asbestos fibers. There was no dispute

that the Flintkote product was liquid at the time of its

application. Strong testified as follows:

Flintkote made some adhesion compound, they also

made some joint compound, they also made a thermal

coat which we used everyday. ... It was waterproof-

ing cement that we put on elbows, on vessels, after

we had insulated them with regular cement for

53a

weatherproofing. When this stuff dried and you went

back to tear it off is where you got your problem.

You got dust and stuff flying. Anything that dries

in asbestos, it forms a solid substance that when you

start beating it with hammers or stuff like that, you

got dust from it.

Q Was there any way to escape that dust if you

were working with it?

A Oh, no, sir. Not in the areas we had to work

in with it.

(Emphasis added. )

The evidence shows that Flintkote did not warn the

appellees of the dangers of asbestos and that it did

not test its products for the harmful effects of asbestos.

There was sufficient evidence to show that the appellees

inhaled the dried Flintkote product when it became dust

and that the product contained asbestos. The jury had

before it expert testimony showing the dangers of in-

haling asbestos products.

Flintkote specifically argues that the evidence did not

show that George Williams worked with Flintkote prod-

ucts. James Henry Read testified, “I remember the Flint-

kote name but I’m not sure about their product. I’m

just not sure about that one. I know we used some

cements put out by them and some insulation coatings.”

The testimony indicates that Williams worked at Texas

Eastman as an ironworker and insulator, and thus the

jury could have inferred that he was exposed to the same

products as the other appellants working at that job

site. This included the Flintkote products.

Both Garlock and Flintkote contend that if the appellees

suffered from asbestos-related injuries, the causation was

obviously the dust from the crumbling insulation prod-

=

54a

ucts of other companies. However, the record is undis-

puted that their products also emitted a dust after it

became dry and that such dust was inhaled by the workers

when removing their products. The emission of asbestos

dust when removing the dried products was a forseeable

problem. The testimony about how little asbestos the

product gave off in its initial form did not refer to the

emission of dust during the removal of these products.

The points of error are overruled.

PUNITIVE DAMAGES AGAINST GARLOCK,

FLINTHOTE, AND FIBREBOARD

Appellants Garlock, Flintkote, and Fibreboard contend

that there was no evidence or, alternatively, that there

was insufficient evidence to support the jury findings of

punitive damages. Punitive damages are assessed to

punish the mental attitude of the defendant, as opposed

to its conduct. Burk Royalty Co. v. Walls, 616 S.W.2d

911, 920 (Tex.1981). A plaintiff may prove the de-

fendant’s gross negligence by either Showing: (1) that

the defendant had actual subjective knowledge that his

conduct created an extreme degree of risk; or (2) that

under the surrounding circumstances, a reasonable person

would have realized that his conduct created an extreme

degree of risk to the safety of others. Williams v. Steves

Industries, 699 S.W.2d 570 (Tex.1985). It is not neces-

sary to prove a defendant’s subjective state of mind by

direct evidence. Williams, 699 S.W.2d 570. There is

- ample evidence in the record to show that as early as the

1920’s there was a general knowledge among the manu-

facturers in the asbestos industry concerning the dangers

of asbestos. Most of the evidence pertained to asbestos

insulation and raw absestos. Although there was no direct

evidence that Fibreboard was aware of these dangers, the

jury had sufficient evidence under a reasonable person

standard to have inferred that these companies had knowl-

edge of the dangers of asbestos. Fibreboard manufac-

55a

tured an insulation product which inherently produced

a dust with high levels of asbestos. From the surrounding

circumstances, the jury had sufficient evidence to infer

that Fibreboard’s decision not to warn the users of the

dangers of its products was made with conscious indif-

ference to the potential injuries to the users and that

this conduct created an extreme risk.

The evidence indicates that the products made by Gar-

lock produced a very small amount of asbestos fibers, and

at all times the amount of fibers was far below the gov-

ernmental standards (1,000 times safer than the 1972

OSHA regulation and 40 times safer than the current

OSHA regulation). This included the standard adopted

by the State of Texas in 1958. Appellees correctly contend

that Garlock had an affirmative duty, commensurate with

the potential dangers, to test its products before selling

them. Dartez, 765 F.2d 456. Appellees contend that be-

cause Garlock did not test its products until 1983, it

was grossly negligent. The record does show that Gar-

lock conducted a study of its products in 1983; however,

it does not support the appellees’ position that this was

the earliest study made by Garlock. The record further

established that studies of similar products were made

by other entities, which showed that the concentration

of asbestos fibers was extremely low. We find no evi-

‘dence of surrounding circumstanecs that rises to the level

that is required to show that Garlock made a conscious

decision not to warn about the dangers of its products.

Flintkote has not pointed out any evidence that the

levels of asbestos in its products met any standards, but

it contends that as a liquid product it did not emit any

respirable asbestos fibers. As previously discussed, there

is evidence that shows that its product could be inhaled

once it becomes dry and powders into dust. Although

Flintkete was aware that its company manufactured a

product containing asbestos, it admitted that it had never

conducted a study as to the level of asbestos fibers that

56a

might be emitted into the air in the process of removing

this dried product. Its conduct, therefore, could have

been found by the jury to have been one of conscious

indifference to those who worked with the product. Thus,

there was sufficient evidence from the surrounding cir-

cumstances to support the jury’s findings of gross negli-

gence on the part of Fibreboard and Flintkote. This

point of error is overruled as to Fibreboard and F'lint-

kote. Because there was no evidence that rose to the

level of showing a conscious indifference on the part of

Garlock, the point of error is sustained, and the exem-

plary damages awarded against it will be set aside.

FLINTKOTE’S OPENING STATEMENT

Appellant Flintkote next contends that the trial court

erred in refusing to allow it to make an opening state-

ment to the jury at the beginning of its case-in-chief.

The proper limitation of the opening statement is a

matter within the discretion of the trial court, subject to

review only for abuse of discretion. Ranger Insurance Co.

v. Rogers, 530 S.W.2d 162, 170 ‘Tex. Civ.App.—Austin

1975, writ ref’d n.r.e.).

Flintkote contends that the ruling of the trial court

that the appellants could not split their opening state

ment denied it an opportunity to point out to the jury the

difference between its liquid products and the insulation

products of the other defendants while the plaintiffs’ evi-

dence was still fresh in the jury’s mind. Rule 265 of the

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure sets forth. the order in

which a trial is to proceed. Section (a) permits the party

adverse to the plaintiff to make an opening statement

prior to either side introducing any evidence, or a party

may come under section (c) and make an opening state-

ment prior to the introduction of evidence by the adverse

party. The trial court did not rule that the defendants

could not exercise either option, but ruled that they could

not do both by having some defendants speak at the be

57a

ginning of the trial and others later on in the proceeding.

In a trial involving numerous parties, this ruling was

not an abuse of discretion. Furthermore, Flintkote did

not object to the ruling when it was made, and thus did

not preserve the right to complain about the error, if any.

The point of error is overruled.

JURY QUESTIONS ON SETTLING AND

NONSETTLING DEFENDANTS

Appellants next contend that the trial court erred in

submitting two identical sets of jury questions regarding

liability and causation based on the status of the defend-

ants, settling or nonsettling. In the first set of questions,

the nonsettling defendants were referred to as defend-

ants and in the second set of questions, the settling de-

fendants were referred to as companies. Appellants

objected to this double submission and requested that one

set of questions, listing all defendants alphabetically, be

submitted.

The Texas Supreme Court has held that the submission

of multiple issues raising the same factual inquiries,

whether identical in language or merely in form, is erro-

neous. Holmes v. J.C. Penny Co., 382 S.W.2d 472, 473

(Tex.1964). In Holmes, the court was concerned with a

multiple submission of a single theory of recovery by

slightly varying jury questions, all of which raised the

same factual inquiry. In the present case, the same

factual inquiries were submitted against each asbestos

manufacturer only once. Furthermore, the jury was

aware of the identities of the parties to the litigation,

and the separation into two issues reflected those identi-

ties and could not be deemed to imply anything else. In

addition, the settling and nonsettling defendants were

listed together in one issue for the jury’s determination

of each party’s percentage of comparative causation. See

Duncan, 665 S.W.2d at 427, n. 8. The trial court did not

err in separating the issues as to settling and nonsettling

defendants. The points of error are overruled.

58a

In the next points of error, appellants contend that the

jury’s answers to Questions No. 8 and 16 are against the

great weight and preponderance of the evidence. We

have previously discussed the applicable standard of re-

view for addressing this point. In Question No. 16, the

jury apportioned twenty percent of liability to two settl-

ing defendants (Owens-Corning Fiberglas and Baldwin-

Ehret-Hill) which were found in Question No. 8 to have

supplied asbestos-containing products causing appellees’

injuries. Appellants urge that a new trial should be

granted because the jury failed to find any exposure or

liability with respect to sixteen defendants that either

settled with the plaintiffs or were absent from the triai.

A fundamental principle of traditional products lia-

bility law is that the plaintiff must prove that the defend-

ants supplied the product which caused their injury.

Gaulding, 772 S.W.2d at 68. If there is sufficient evi-

dence presented by appellees showing that appellants sup-

plied any of the asbestos to which appellees were exposed,

then appellees have adequately met their burden of proof.

Celotex Corp. v. Tate, 797 S.W.2d 197, 204 (Tex. App.—

Corpus Christi 1990, no writ). When the plaintiff’s in-

juries are not necessarily caused by one defendant’s

products, the burden of proof as to apportionment shifts

to the defendants. Celotex Corp. v. Tate, 797 S.W.2d at

204; RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TorTS § 433B(2)

(1965).* If any defendant is held strictly liable, all de-

fendants shall be liable to the plaintiff jointly and sev-

erally for the entire amount, but as among themselves,

each of the defendants is to be held fiable only for its

percentage share in causing the injury. Moore v. Johns-

8 RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TorRTS § 433B(2) (1965) states

that:

Where the tortious conduct of two or more actors has com-

bined to bring about harm to the plaintiff, and one or more

of the actors seeks to limit his liability on the ground that the

harm is capable of apportionment amecng them, the burden of

proof as to the apportionment is upon each such actor.

59a

Manville Sales Corp., 781 F.2d 1061, 1063 (5th Cir.

1986) ; Duncan, 665 S.W.2d 414.

In the present case, the evidence reflects that while

working at Texas Eastman appellees were exposed to

asbestos-containing products manufactured by appellants.

Appellee Strong specifically identified using products

manufactured by all of the appellants, as well as Owens-

Corning Fiberglas and Baldwin-Ehret-Hill. Sledge and

Pool also testified to using these products.

The deposition testimony of witnesses Virgil M. Evans

and James Henry Read established identification of the

asbestos-containing products to which Williams was ex-

posed. Evans and Read stated that Williams used prod-

ucts manufactured by al! appellants, except Garlock,

Owens-Corning Fiberglas, Baldwin-Ehret-Hill, and Eagle

Pincher Industries. As to the other manufacturers,

Evans and Read either had conflicting testimony or they

were uncertain whether Williams had used any of the

products.

As stated supra, no evidentiary formula was presented

for the jury to make an exact mathematical calculation

of the percentage of asbestos contained in each manu-

facturer’s products. Appellants had the burden to show

the percentage of causation to be allocated to each manu-

facturer. We conclude that the finding of the jury was

not so against the great weight and preponderance of the

evidence as to be unjust. These points of error are

overruled.

RELEVANCE OF DEPOSITIONS TO FLINTKOTE

AND GARLOCK

Appellants contend that the trial court committed error

by admitting without limiting instruction five depositions

taken in cases in which Flintkote and Garlock were not

parties and which had no relevance to Flintkote and

Garlock.

60a

At trial, Flintkote and Garlock objected to the deposi-

tions on the basis that they were not relevant and were

highly prejudicial because Flintkote and Garlock did not

manufacture insulation products. Flintkote correctly

points out that the deposition of Dr. Kenneth Smith dis-

cusses the dangers known to Johns-Manville; that the

deposition of Dr. Barry Castleman discusses the knowl-

edge of Owens-Illinois regarding the dangers posed by

asbestos dust from their products; that the deposition of

Dr. Thomas Mancuso relates to the dangers of Philip

Carey Insulation products; that the deposition of Dr.

Arthur Mueller is testimony showing that Mueller was

unaware of the dangers explained by Mancuso; and that

the deposition of Dr. Richard Gaze concerns Pittsburgh

Corning’s knowledge of the dangers of asbestos. A" of

these depositions are relevant to show the knowledge in

the industry generally of the dangers of asbestos and are

admissible on that issue.

Garlock asked for a limiting instruction to the effect

that this evidence was not to be considered for any pur-

pose against Garlock at the trial. Flintkote adopted that

motion. The trial judge correctly denied the motion be-

cause the evidence was admissible and relevant to what

scientific knowledge was available to those companies at

that time in regard to the dangers of asbestos. These

points of error are overruled.

Garlock also complains that these depositions were in-

admissible as hearsay because they were taken in a suit

in which Garlock was not a party. The only hearsay

objection made to any of these depositions during the

trial was by the attorney for Celotex, who objected to the

depositions of Dr. Kenneth Smith and Richard Gaze on

the basis of hearsay. The trial court permitted an objec-

tion by any of the attorneys to inure to the benefit of the

other attorneys. However, Garlock has presented no ar-

gument, discussion; or authorities concerning its com-

plaint about the hearsay objection. This point of error

is overruled.

6la

WORDING OF JURY QUESTION ON

PUNITIVE DAMAGES

Next, appellants contend that the trial court erred in

submitting the jury questions relating to the assessment

of punitive damages “for the injuzies of” appellees Pool,

Sledge, and Strong and “for the death of” Freeman and

Williams. They argue that this question permits a double

recovery for compensatory damages by focusing the jury’s

attention on the appellees and their injuries rather than

on the misconduct of the appellants.* Furthermore, they

argue that the question assumes the appellees sustained

injuries for which each company should pay and that this

amounts to an impermissible comment on the weight of

the evidence and assumes the truth of material, contro-

verted facts. See Alvarez v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas Rail-

road Co., 683 S.W.2d 375, 377 (Tex.1984).

Special issues are to be worded so as to avoid assuming

the truth of a material, controverted fact. Alvarez, 683

S.W.2d 375. The charge in the present case did not pred-

icate the damage questions on affirmative findings of li-

ability, but the questions did contain the Savings clause

“Gf any.” The phrase “if any” was used twice in the jury

issue in question, once stating “for his injuries, if any,

.” and again “Answer separately in dollars and cents,

if any,....” The use of this term neutralizes the lan-

guage which the appellates contend constituted a com-

ment by the court on the weight of the evidence. See

Sharpe v. Safway Scaffolds Co. of Houston, 687 S.W.2d

* An example of the question which is the subject of the appel-

lants’ complaint is as follows:

Find from a preponderajice of the evidence what sum of

money, if any, should be assessed against each of such com-

panies as exemplary damages for the injuries of Reuben Pool.

“EXEMPLARY DAMAGES” means an amount that you may

in your discretion award as en example to others and as a

penalty or by way of punishment, in addition to any amount

you may have found as actual damages.

62a

386 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 1985, no writ) ;

Pace v. Gutierrez, 492 S.W.2d 356 (Tex.Civ.App.—

Amarillo 1973, writ ref’d n.r.e.) ; Loughry v. Hodges, 215

S.W.2d 669 (Tex.Civ.App.—Fort Worth 1948, writ ref’d

n.r.e.).

Appellants are correct that the punitive damages are

for the misconduct, Graham v. Roder, 5 Tex. 141 (1849) ;

Interfirst Bank Dallas, N.A. v. Risser, 739 S.W.2d 882

(Tex.App.—Texarkana 1987, no writ), but it is difficult

to believe that the jury was misled. The definition of

exemplary damages instructed the jury that these dam-

ages were to be an example to others and a penalty or a

punishment and that the amount is in addition to actual

damages. Under the terms of this definition, it is difficult

to believe that the jury could base its findings on any-

thing other than the conduct which caused the injuries.

The jury questions on Freeman and Williams follow the

standard format of 3 STATE BAR OF TEXAS, TEXAS PAT-

TERN JURY CHARGES PJC 81.06, 82.03 (1990), which ask

what sum of money should be assessed against the de-

fendant ‘as exemplary damages for the death of

[name]? This language is similar to the language used

in the present case asking for exemplary damages for the

injuries of Pool, Sledge, and Strong. This language does

not focus the jury’s attention on the appellees and their

injuries to such an extent that it led to double recovery.

There is no error. The point of error is overruled.

_THE ADMISSIBILITY OF THE CANTLON LETTER

Appellant Celotex next contends that the trial court

erred in refusing to admit a letter written by John Cant-

lon to Michael Cojohn. The appellees objected to the letter

as being hearsay. The letter was offered for the truth

of the matter stated therein, but Celotex contends that it

falls within exceptions to the hearsay rule because it

was essential to rebut evidence offered by appellees and

because it qualifies as an ancient document. Celotex

63a

points to the fact that a number of letters by Cantlon

were introduced by the appellees in Dr. Mancuso’s depo-

sition testimony. However, no objections were made to

the introduction of these letters. To qualify as an ancient

document under TEX.R.CIV.EvVID. 901(b)(8), the evi-

dence must show that the document is in such condition

as to create no suspicion concerning its authenticity, that

it was in a place where it would likely be if it were au-

thentic, and that it has been in existence twenty years or

more at the time it is offered. If such a predicate is laid,

it is admissible as an exception to the hearsay rule under

TEX.R.CIv.Evip. 803(16). No predicate was laid as to

where this letter had been kept, and therefore, it did not

qualify under the ancient document rule. The point of

error is overruled.

EXCLUSION OF EVIDENCE ABOUT

INSOLVENT DEFENDANTS

In the next point of error, appellant Flintkote contends

that the trial court erred in excluding its offer of evi-

dence regarding Johns-Manville*® and other companies.

Flintkote contends that by this evidence it could have

shown that Johns-Manville, and not Flintkote, caused in-

juries to the appellees. Flintkote contends that if the

jury had heard about the appellees’ extensive exposure to

Johns-Manville products, the fact finder would have

reached the conclusion that any exposure to Flintkote’s

10 Owens-Illinois states in a footnote that the trial court denied

its motion to sue Johns-Manville trust, but this was not complained

about in a point of error. A third-party petition is in the record

against Johns-Manville Corporation Asbestos Disease Compensation

Fund with a certificate of service dated August 14, 1989. An order

overruling Defendants’ Motion to Join Third Party Defendant Johns-

Manville was signed by the court September 8, 1989. The plaintiffs

never named Johns-Manville in any form as a defendant. On Oc-

tober 25, 1989, the court signed an Order of Dismissal As To Johns-

Manville Sales Corporation, Manville Personal Injury Settlement

Trust, Manville Corporation And All Its Entities And Thorpe Prod-

ucts Company.

64a

products was de minimis and thus no causal factor of

appellees’ injuries. Appellees take the position that

Johns-Manville was in bankruptcy court, that any claims

for contribution from that company should be asserted

by the defendants in the bankruptcy, and that its insolv-

ency must be borne by the solvent tortfeasors.

In Duncan, 665 S.W.2d 414, the Texas Supreme Court

determined that the defendants in a products liability

case were to be jointly and severally liable for the entire

amount that the plaintiff is entitled to recover, subject

to the right of contribution. Thus, the insolvency of co-

tortfeasors must be borne by the solvent co-tortfeasors.

In the case of Gideon, 761 F.2d 1129, the court held

that evidence of the plaintiff’s exposure to products of in-

solvent manufacturers was not material to the litigation,

so long as the jury found that the products of each

solvent defendant was a producing cause of the plaintiff’s

injury and that rights between the solvent and insolvent

defendants would be determined in some subsequent pro-

ceedings. In a contrary holding, in Gross v. Black &

Decker (U.S.), Inc., 695 F.2d 858 (5th Cir.1983), the

court held that it was reversible error not to admit evi-

dence about an employer’s conduct in a products liability

proceeding to allow the manufacturer to show the em-

plover’s responsibility for the injury. The plaintiff ar-

gued in that case that the conduct of the employer could

not be the sole cause of her injuries, but the court held

that this was a defense which the defendants were en-

titled to assert. In the case of Herrera v. FMC Corp.,

672 S.W.2d 5 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 1984,

writ ref’d n.r.e.}, the court held that evidence offered by

the manufacturer about the conduct of the employer

(who was not a party to the suit) was properly admitted

to support the manufacturer’s allega

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.