Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cowhig v. Stone
Supreme Court brief1993
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
a
93-200 ree
No. . ;' :
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1993
EDWARD D. COWHIG,
Petitioner, Pro Se
Vv.
MICHAEL P. W. STONE,
Secretary of the United States Army, Et Al
Respondents/Defendants
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
Edward D. Cowhig, Pro Se
245 C.J. Cushing Highway
Greenbush, MA 02040
(617) 545-4330
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Is the force of Statutory Law (10
U.S.C. 3785, now 1185) governing Regular
Army officers in the case of separation or
elimination from such service as in this
case at bar to be upheld and controlling in
the presence of a possibly conflicting
article in the Code of Federal Regulations
[32 C.F.R. 65.4(b) (ii) } granting
ecclesiastical endorsing agencies authority
to be able to withdraw an _ ecclesiastical
endorsement, while at the same time [32
C.F.R. 65.4(b)(v)] states that to be
considered for D.0O.D. recognition each
religious faith group shall; (v) abide by
the applicable regulations and policies of
the Department of Defense?
ii
2. Is not the failure to abide by the
applicable regulations and policies of the
Department of Defense, statutory law and
Army regulations on the part of the Chief
of Chaplains’ office in 1961 which would
have provided this plaintiff, then a
Regular Army officer, with at least an
opportunity to face his accusers, at least
some semblance of due process at that time,
and in addition to the subsequent loss,
destruction, suppression of the essential
accusatory document indicative of
recklessness, bad faith and an abdication
cf duty?
3 Are not the ex parte
communications between the Chief of
Chaplains’ office and officials of the
Military Ordinariate (now the Archdiocese
for Military Services, U.S.A.) in 1961
iii
indicative and support the charge of
collusion and recklessness, violative of
this pukithouse*s constitutional and
statutory rights?
4. Is not the present and
long-standing absence to 1993 of the
original fundamental accusatory document of
1961 and the supposed author’s written
denial of such authorship along with all
lower administrative agencies and judicial
tribunals’ failure to address the basic
issue of authenticity thereof when it was
challenged and the presence of fraud,
concealment thereof in a pattern of
obstruction and evasion, indicative of bad
faith, recklessness, and violative of
constitutional rights’ of freedom of
exercise of religion, due process, the
right to be free from arbitrary seizure of
property and liberty, as well as the
PrN d yee Le
Hs a Nieed Le Oe eS,
iv
denial of "equal protection under the
laws?"
5. Do not the Federal Rules of
Evidence require the original of a document
(1002), certainly when there is a question
as to authenticity thereof (1003) and in
the present circumstances where a primary
defendant denies legal responsibility for
custody and attempts to shift such to
another party when put on notice (1004)?
6. Does not the loss, suppression or
destruction of a document addressed to the
Chief of Chaplains, U.S. Army, hence
official, preclude the admissibility of a
duplicate and indicate bad faith in the
resent case, especially when the notes of
Committee of the Judiciary, House Report
No. 93-650, in approving Rule 1004(1) in
the form submitted to Congress asserted;
Vv
“However the committee intends that loss or
destruction of an original by another
person at the instigation of the proponent
should be considered as tantamount to loss
or destruction in bad faith by the
proponent himself?"
7. Is not the collusion between a
governmental enterprise and an
ecclesiastical enterprise and the
concomitant exclusion of this petitioner,
as a charged party, to essential accusatory
documents accompanied by intimidation and
threat, an obstruction of justice, a
deprivation of civil rights under color of
law, a violation of constitutional and
statutory rights, especially as and when
this petitioner was performing his Regular
Army duty in a foreign country under
hazardous conditions, in an exemplary
manner, and
Vi
constrained by top-secret military
classifications? Is this fair?
8. Can the statute of limitations
hold in the face of fraud, concealed fraud
and the ongoing attempt to obstruct justice
by foisting custodial responsibility for
essential evidence to another party while
that other party refuses to deny
responsibility until 1988, well within the
four year limitations period for RICO? Can
the absence of reasonable diligence be
maintained in such a situation?
9. Is it fair to hold res judicata
net only in the presence of fraud, but also
the presence of false certification as in
the history of this present case, while the
delayed brief of this petitioner is
declared "moot" and no consideration is
given to the obstruction tactics cf the
—s4
vii
government in withholding essential
evidence thereby denying this petitioner
the opportunity to face his accusers and
defend himself?
10. Cannot the actions, behavior and
conduct of military and medical personnel
in regard to this petitioner, some of whom
challenged his very vocation as merely self
interest, especially in 1961 while he was
in a very critical situation in southeast
Asia, be regarded as an infringement of
conscience and violative of the First
Amendment ’s quarantee of the “free
exercise" of religion "especially when this
petitioner, with "Top Secret" information
unknown to medical people and supervisory
chaplains was operating in accord with the
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.),
Department of the Army (D.O.D.) 510.1 which
state in regard
viii
to private ministrations and ordinances
"Chaplains will administer or arrange for
rites and sacraments for military personnel
and civilians under military jurisdiction
according to the respective beliefs and
conscientious practice of all concerned (RS
1125; 10 U.S.C 238)(16 FR 12931, Dec. 7,
1951)?
11. Does the history of this case and
the behavior of the courts below warrant a
relief from judgment or order under Rule
60(b) when as the Rule states: "On motion
and upon such terms as are just, the court
may relieve a party...from a final judgment
order or proceeding for the following
reasons: (3) fraud; misrepresentation, or
other misconduct of an adverse party; (6)
any other reason justifying relief from the
operation of the judgment?"
5 NAR RYE SINCERE ERY maa
1x
12. The respective beliefs and
conscientious practice of the Catholic
Church obliges its priests by pastoral
theology and Canon Law to be highly aware
of the "signs of the times" and more _ than
ordinarily involved in the sacraments of
Confession (Pennance, Reconciliation) and
the last rites when its people, in this
case the "troops," are "2a periculo
mortis?" Was not this the situation and
set of circumstances which prevailed in
Southeast Asia in 1961, as this
petitioner’s parachute unit was alerted
twice to jump into Laos?
eee
x
OTHER PARTIES
Chief of Chaplains; Surgeon General;
Chief, Legislative Liaison Office; ABCMR;
all of U.S. Army; the Archdiocese for
Military Services, U.S.A.; Respondents.
Questions Presented
Subject Index
Table of Authorities
Cases Cited
Other Authorities
Reference to Official Reports
Text
i-x
xi-xviili
xix-xxii
xxi
XX1i
xxii
1-65
xi
SUBJECT INDEX
Text Page
Fraud 2, 40, 51, 53, 58, G3
After Discovered Fraud 43, 44
Concealed Fraud (Fraudulent
Concealment) 2, 6, 33, 3S
"Due Process" ay Be 3-8
"Free Exercise" 2, 6, $2
Obstruction 2, 45
Adequate Notice 4
Opportunity to Present Evidence 4
Regular Army Commission 4, 10, 17, 19, 43
Reputation 43, 65
"Equal Protection-14th Amendment 4, 42
Religion 5, 10, 14, 17, 43, 60
Bad Faith (App. 26, 27) 5
Lawlessness 5, 17, 18
Oversight S, 17, 348, 32
xii
Attempt to Obstruct 8, 33-37, 45, 46, 59
Recklessness 3, 17, 63
Diligence 5, 21, 27, 42, 64, 59, 60
RICO(18 USC 1961 Et Seq) (App.408-409) 42,59
Military Intelligence (App. 249)
Church and State 5, 30, 64
Contempt of Congress 9, 8, 9, 10 ,11
Arrogance 5
Ignorance 5
Top Secret 6, 14, 29
Recently Discovered Evidence 6, 28, 38, 46
(App. 337-345; 355-360) 63
Rule 60 F.R.C.P. 6, 46, 52, 56, 58, 59
Rule 59 40, 46, 52, 57, 58, 59
Strict Scrutiny 7, 42
Denial of Access 4» kay 12, 17
Original Document 7, 23, 39, 45, 55, 56
Authenticity of Document 7, 8, 21, 60, 61
Denial by Putative Author (App.196-226)7,21
Injury 7, 65
xiii
Government Files (No Document)
ABCMR 8S, 9, 13, 22,
Senator Tsongas
Congressman Studds
Military Ordinariate (Archdiocese)
Congressman Moakley
Congressman Mavroules
Senator Edward Kennedy
Lt. Gen. Paul W. Caraway 9, 11, 15,
(App. 226)
No Original Document 10, lil,
Copy of Caraway (1961) Document 10,
Speaker T. P. O’Neill
Cardinal Spellman
Speaker John W. McCormack ll,
Misrepresentation oa, 45,
Security Clearance
FBI
Addressee of Document
eT
xiv
Chief of Chaplains 13, 25, 29, 30, 62
(App. Last 2 Folded Pages)
Involuntary Resignation 13
Cardinal Cushing 13
Diligent Efforts 15, 42, 55, 56
(Entire Appendix)
Partial Extracts 13
Archdiocese for Military Service 13, 60
No Show Cause Hearing 14
No Opportunity to Rebut 14
Ct. Claims (1980) 14
Certification of Official File iS, 22, €6
53
Judge Nichols 14, 15
Moot 15
10 U.S.C. 3785 (1974) (App.1) 13, 16
Judicial Error 16
Res Judicata 16, 19
False Certification 16
F.R.C.P. 44(b) (App. 1) 16
XV
Constitution
32 C.F.R. 64.4(b)(v)(ii) (App. 413, 414)
"Proximate Reason" (App. 374) 19,
Judge A. Caffrey
Prejudice 19, 36,
Appeals Court
Statute of Limitations
Official Military Personnel File
De Novo Hearing (1983)
Majority (ABCMR) Conclusion 23,
Unjust
Prin. Dep. Asst. Sec. Army 24, 25,
Col. (Ret.) R.E. McMahon (App. 2-9) 26,
(App. 251-260)
Col. (Ret.) C.B. McCoid (App. 19-20) 27,
(App. 277-260)
Dr. G.E. Roark, (App. 19-20) 28,
(App. 227-229)
17
17
19
37
20
21
22
23
24
24
26
27
28
29
XxV1
New Medical Testimony (1991) 28, 44, 47
(App. 20-24; 337-345; 353-360)
Clark Clifford 29
President Eisenhower (App. 24)
President Kennedy 29
Evidence Rejected List (App. 225) 33-37
RAD-Removed From Active Duty 30
(App. Folded Pages)
Judge P. Higginbotham 31
Judge Ruth B. Ginsburg 31
Judge W. Rehinquist 31
Judge W. Schwarzer 32
Judge W. Young 38, 40, 41
Judge F. Frankfurter 39
Chevron Doctrine 41
Rule of Equity 43, 44
No Official Notice 44, 45, 58
Denial of Legal Custody (App. 425-426)
Legal Custody 45
Judge Wolf 38, 46, 50, 57, 58
xvii
Alcoholism
Dr. Roark (1986)
Dr. Rohde (1985)
Col.(Ret) R.E. McMahon (1985) App.
Col. (Ret) C.B. McCoid (1985)
I. Hurwitz, Ph.D.
Dr. L. Clark (1985)
Dr. Kadarauskas (1985)
Dr. J. Dowling (1986)
Dr. R. Kilfoyle (1985)
Dr. Roark (10/18/91)
Dr. J. Day (10/31/91)
Lt. Col.(Ret) T. Kelly
(App.
Companion Case (91-2027)
Theory of Recovery
Bishop Roque
Bishop Dimino
RICO Suit
Extraordinary Writ
47, 48,
346-352)
53,
48
227-229
230-241
251-260
277-282
293-314
315-317
318-325
326-329
330-334
337-345
353-360
50, 56
55, 64
53
-
60
59
62
xviii
Post Judgment Motion
Procustes (App. 33)
False Conveyance 54,
Attempt to Obstruct (USC 1503,1505)
Liberty and Property
Rules of Evidence (App. 25-29;419-420)
C.1.D.
Extraordinary Writ
Failure of Private Association
Performance of Duty ats
(App 251-260; 277-282)
Joint Tort Feasors
"No A or N"
Writ of Mandamus
64
64
46
43
a3
33
62
63
28
63
48
62
xix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Appendix Page
Constitution
lst Amendment (Text 4,5,6,51)
4th Amendment (Text 8,9,10,12,13)
5th Amendment (Text 5) 403-
14th Amendment (Text 3,4,42)
Statutes
10 U.S.C. 3784 405-
10 U.S.C. 3785 (Now 1185) 405-
(Text 17,34,42,63)
5 U.S.C. 706 (Text 38,51) 410-
5 U.S.C. 552(4)(B) (Withholding
Record) (Text 7)
18 U.S.C. 1961 et seq. 408-
(Text 42,59)
18 U.S.C. 1505 (Text 46)
18 U.S.C. 1503 (Text 46)
Code of Federal Regulations 32 CFR 581.3
(Access to Records (Text 39)
403
403
404
404
407
406
412
31
409
410
xX
32 C.F.R. 65.4(b) (Criteria) 413
(Text 17)
C.F.R. 65.4(b)(v) (Text 17,61) 2
Cannon Law (1732-1739) (Text 61)
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
F.R.C.P. Rule 44(b) 1
(Text 16)
F.R.C.P. Rule 60(b) 417--418
(Text 6,46,52,56,58,59)
F.R.C.P. Rule 44(a) 29
F.R.C.P. Rule 59 (Text 40,46,52,56,57,59,
Federal Rules of Evidence
Rule 1002 Requirement of
Original (Text 52,55)
Rule 1003 Admissibility of
Duplicates (Text 52,55)
Rule 1004 Admissibility of
Other Evidence (Text 52)
58)
419
419
419
xxi
Rule 803 (10) Absence of Public
Public Record (Text 51,52) 25-29, 419
Rule 902 Extrinsic Evidence of
Authenticity 28-29
Army Regulations AR15-815,
Par. 22 (Text 33) 420
Certification of Record with
Seal, signed by J.A. Gen.
Corps and Sec. Army and
Admin. Assist (Text 22) 421-422
Department of Army (Involuntary
Release) 427
Cases Cited:
Greene v. U.S. 3760 U.S.
149 at 155 (Text 14, 63)
Hazel Atlas Co. v. Hartford
Co., 322 U.S. 238 (1943) (Text 43-44)
Marbury v. Madison, Kranch (Text 2)
(Unknown-Maybe Antifacist) 341 U.S.
123,171,71 S.Ct. 624 (Text 39)
XX1li
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Text Page
Chevron Doctrine 41
Clifford, Clark (1961) 29
Hand, Learned 3, 4
Holmes, Justice 5
Ginsburg, Ruth Bader 31
Marshall, Justice 2
Rehnquist, Wm. H. Chf. Justice 31
Schwarzer, Wm, Judge 32
Wyzanski, Charles E., Jr. Za, 2
REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL REPORTS
Appendix Page
These are in the Appendix 34 -192
Opinions immediately below 428-429
Jurisdiction 429
Constitutional Provisions Involved 430
Concise Statement of Grounds 431
Text 1
STATEMENT OF THIS CASE, ITS LONG-TORTURED
HISTORY AND THE REASONS FOR REVIEW,
DECISION OR REMAND
I apologize in the very beginning
that this petition is not structured as a
professional lawyer would do, but the
facts and the law, ignored so far by so
many should become more than clear in the
telling, even though the "facts" are not
usually considered by this Supreme Court.
This case cries out for an integrated
holistic hearing, for it is greater than
the sum of its parts. All the items I
cite in this brief and appendix have been
introdtced.at one time or another in the
record in the courts below, some
repeatedly in the course of this long,
long litigation. For the sake of
conciseness and brevity, I will refer to
the Appendix herein presented as the
Text 2
complete record below consists literally
of thousands of these pages. This should
render it more readable, convenient to the
court, and in the interest of justice.
The core of this case is that to date
fraud has been not only allowed to have
its way but has been concealed and covered
up in an obstruction of justice fashion by
attempting to foist legal custody for a
document which was and is the proximate
cause of this dispute involving
fundamental rights of "due process" and
the "free exercise" clause.
Justice Marshall stated "it is
emphatically the province and duty of the
judicial department to say what the law
is." Marbury v. Madison, Kranch, 137,
177, 178.
"Without judicial enforcement,
written constitutional declarations of
Civil liberties are apt to be mere
Text 3
admonitions. Absent on institutional
framework for their vindication they will
have no greater force than the parson’s
injunction. ...But our tradition has
always emphasized the role of the courts
in preserving fundamental rights." (Judge
Charles E. Wyzanski, Jr.- Footnote below.)
This petitioner has been a parson
both as a Regular Army officer and as a
civilian for 48 years, eleven as a
parachuting parson. He now cries out to
this Supreme Court for justice and redress
as his reputation, a "liberty interest,"
is at stake.
From the same source cited below,
Judge Learned Hand, pp. 44,45, said: "The
day is gone when this court uses the Due
Footnote:
An introduction to Judge Learned Hand at the
Oliver Wendell Holmes lectures, 1958, in a book
titled The Bill of Rights, originally published
by Harvard University Press, Published in 1986 by
Atheneum, NY)
Text 4
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment
to strike down state laws regulatory of
business.... It remained true that
procedurally the owner of property still
had the protection of adequate notice and
an opportunity to present his own evidence
and to be presented with his adversary’s;
and the same is true of less tangible
interests (my Regular Army Commission) ;
but for these there was a background of
precedent which has always been recognized
as interpretative."
He also asserted: "Moreover, it has
now become apparently accepted doctrine
that the ’Due Process Clause’ in the
Fourteenth Amendment covers the
prohibitions of the First." (p. 50 IDEM)
This is the fourth time I, a non
lawyer, have petitioned pro se for a writ
of certiorari to this Supreme Court in one
or another aspect of this constitutional
Text 5
and long-standing legal situation (1983,
1989, 1992, AND NOW). In terms of the
legal system in general and the laws
regulating religion in particular, Justice
Holmes’ statement has great importance:
"A page of history is worth a volume of
logic." I humbly petition this Supreme
Court to consider the long history of this
particular case, and the lawlessness,
oversight and recklessness, if not malice
and bad faith that has accompanied it from
the very beginning in 1961 and has gone
unrecognized by all. This contempt (of
Congress too), arrogance and ignorance is
still present in 1993, despite the
ersistent, most diligent efforts of this
petitioner to seek the truth from both
church and state and while being at the
same time thwarted by unconstitutional
procedures, namely, the continual denial
of "due process" and the violations of the
Text 6
"free exercise of religion" clause,
accompanied by the fraudulent concealment
of evidence and also hindered by the
requirements of “top secret" military
security classifications. Even recently
discovered, relevant evidence of 1991 has
been distorted and misinterpreted. The
First Circuit in denying the Rule 60
Motion at issue here has stated it to be
“non relevant," "could have been
discovered earlier," and not conducive "to
a reversal." But this petitioner insists
that it is absolutely relevant to the
charges and allegations, could not have
been reasonably discovered and accepted as
such before this time, and if properly
read and interpreted would have then and
should now produce a reversal. This is
the core of this particular petition for
certiorari but since it involves "due
process" and "freedom of religion” it
SN 2S ee > 0 tee OR G:
Text 7
demands "strict scrutiny” in a holistic
manner, which to date has been sadly
lacking.
The administrative and judicial
actions heretofore made by this petitioner
have consistently been blocked by a denial
of access (1961-1993) to the original
document asserting false allegations,
which constitutes the fundamental
indictment against me. Even the
authenticity of this putative official
original document, now missing from
government files, has never been
established by any authority, civil or
religious, administratively or judicially,
despite much dispute about it and its
contents and the fact that the putative
author has denied in writing that he is
the author (App. p. 226).
Yet, the contents therein have been
utilized to my further injury by agents of
Text 8
both the government and my church many
times despite the fact that there is no
record in government files of this
document. The Army Board for the
Correction of Military Records (ABCMR) has
stated in 1980 that it is the
responsibility of my Church to establish
or prove the authenticity of this document
and only them (App. p. 387). Ridiculous!
On 8 May 1980, the Executive
Secretary of the ABCMR stated: "The
letter is in the church files and the
authenticity can be determined only
(emphasis supplied) by the church
officials." (App. p. 387) This was ina
letter to Senator Paul Tsongas, who had
asked, "is the letter authentic?" But an
evasive reply was the result. A similar
response to Congressman Gerry E. Studds
from the ABCMR Executive Secretary was
given when the latter stated in regard to
Text 9
this document, "...which is properly in
the files of the Military Ordinariate in
New York City." (25 September 1980) (App.
p. 423, 424) The same response was given
to Congressman J. Joseph Moakley (29
September 1982) (App. p. 199-201, at 200).
Likewise, the response to Senator Edward
Kennedy from the Executive Secretary of
the ABCMR 19 June 1984 stated that the
Board was "unable to ascertain why the
original letter/document from Lieutenant
General Paul W. Caraway is not currently
in military files. However, it would
appear that the original letter/document
is or was in the hands of your Military
Ordinariate in New York." (App. p. 245-248
at 247)
On the same date, 19 June 1984, ina
letter addressed to this petitioner from
the Executive Secretary of the ABCMR, he
stated, "Pursuant to your request, please
Text 10
find enclosed a complete copy of the
entire file maintained by the Army Board
for Correction of Military Records
concerning the consideration of your
case." (App. p. 245-248) But there was no
original document of Lt. Gen. Paul W.
Caraway dated 11 October 1961 therein,
which the government itself previously
termed the “proximate reason" for my
separation from Regular Army status. The
copy from church files, addressed to the
Chief of Chaplains, was submitted by this
petitioner to the ABCMR hearing in 1983
(App. p. 361-365).
Previously on 2 March 1978, before I
received a copy of this nefarious
document, Lt. Col. Charles L. Moore,
U.S.A., Deputy, Congressionai
Correspondence Agency in response toa
letter of inquiry of Speaker of the House
Thomas P. O’Neill stated, "...examination
Text 11
of Reverend Cowhig’s official army
military record fails to disclose any
correspondence from Lieutenant General
Paul Caraway to officials in the
Department of the Army or to Cardinal
Spellman." (App. p. 385) To this pro se
petitioner, not a lawyer, this dilemma is
obviously nonsense. It is supposed to be
and has been considered by the ABCMR an
official document to the Chief of
Chaplains, U.S. Army, though the
Congressional Liaison office in 1964
erroneously stated in a letter to the
Speaker of the House, John W. McCormack,
that it was a "report... to Cardinal
Spellman."(App. p. 209-214 at 210) This
was a gross misrepresentation with serious
consequences, as I was refused access
there to church files until 1980, while
the Speaker considered it only as a church
affair, apparently.
Text 12
Also in 1964, I personally met
Cardinal Spellman who after review of
church files denied me permission to
reenter the army. Of course, a copy of
the spurious Caraway letter was in the
church’s files, most prejudicial and
harmful. Again in 1966, I was given
permission by the church to reenter the
service, but this was later withdrawn as
they stated it to Cardinal Cushing, "It is
our understanding that Father Cowhig
cannot receive a security clearance from
the F.B.I." (App. p. 379) The poison of
this "virus", the presence of a putative
document seems again to have contaminated
matters much worse that a computer
"virus." F.B.I. -- nothing! More harm!
I was denied access to this 1961
document by both church and state for many
years until I finally received a copy from
church files in August 1980, which clearly
Text 13
indicates the addressee, to have been the
Chief of Chaplains, U.S. Army (App. at
361). Previously in 1974, the Army Board
for Correction of Military Records (ABCMR)
had established and determined that my
forced resignation was involuntary under
10 U.S.C. 3785 (App. 427). Further
multiple efforts before that Board were
frustrated in subsequent years (1974-1980)
apparently due to partial extracts from
the basic spurious document sent in 1962
to my local religious superior, Cardinal
Cushing from the Military Ordinariate (now
termed the Archdiocese for Military
Services, U.S.A.) causing further injury,
which extracts I supplied to the Board
(App. p. 366-372). At no time was I
given the complete, full, copy of that
spurious document as I have said until
1980 (August). I was deliberately kept in
the dark! There was not even a semblance
Text 14
of “due process" in 1961. There was no
show cause hearing, no opportunity for
rebuttal! I could not face my accusers!
Also during this time, I was muted, in
effect silenced, by my possession of "top
secret" information on a "need to know"
basis, particularly in regard to civilian
religious authorities. (App. p. 249)
"...in the absence of explicit
authorizatrion from either the President
or Congress the respondents were not
empowered to deprive the petitioner of his
job in a preceding in which he was not
afforded the safeguards of confrontation
and cross examination." (Greene v. U.S.
376 U.S. 149, at 155.)
I petitioned the Court of Claims in
1980 (427-80C) for redress, but was denied
due to a ruling on a six-year statute of
limitations, 27 February 1981 (Motion to
revoke denied 3 April 1981). However, in
Text 15
that action which as Judge Nichols stated:
"We need not address the merits...," (App.
p. 37-39) the government certified with
seal my Official Military Personnel File
(OMPF) as "true and exact” on 11 October
1980 (App. p. 421-422) when it was not, as
there was no document purportedly authored
by Lt. Gen. Paul W. Caraway therein. It
was not part of the record. Acting pro
se, I was unable to respond in this Court
of Claims action because of poor legal
advice concerning the time required to
respond. In fact, my response when sent
and the order of the court passed each
other in the mail. Consequently, my reply
brief was declared "moot" and returned to
me. However, in that order, Judge Nichols
stated, "He was discharged from the Army
Chaplain Corps January 22, 1962, following
his voluntary resignation."(App. p. 38)
PO ee ey ee eee
Text 16
Certainly a prejudicial error with harmful
results.
This judicial statement was just not
true. My discharge had been declared
involuntary under Title 10 U.S.C. 3785 in
1974 by the ABCMR. This prejudicial
judicial error has perdured and has been
the source of much judicial error and
gross misinterpretation ever since.
Regretfully, this Court of Claims decision
has been the basis for the invocation of
"res judicata" over the years. This seems
pretty flimsy to me, not to say
unjustified, especially when corruption
upon this Court of Claims was practiced by
the government by false certification of
official records (App. p. 421-422). Or
the other side of that coin according to
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, 44(b)
(Endnote l1- App. p. 1) There is no record!
On either side of the coin, the government
nnn.
Text 17
is and has been at fault for a long, long
time. I was a Regular Army officer covered
by Title 10 U.S.C. 3785, now 1185)
(Endnote 2-App. p. 1-2).
None of these lawful rights were
permitted and none of the procedures
followed. The church’s responsibility is
covered by the Code of Federal Regulations
[32 C.F.R.64.4(b) (v) (Endnote 3-App.p.2).
Surely the regulations and policies
of the DOD should be in accord with
statutory law and the constitution. But
neither the Constitution nor statute, nor
Federal Code, were abided by church
authorities, deceived as they were by
false reports.
32 C.F.R. 64.4(b)(ii) states,
".++eEach religious faith group shall; (ii)
Be able to exercise ecclesiastical
authority to grant or withdraw
ecclesiastical endorsements." (App. p.
Text 18
413-414) But how can a faith group
properly exercise its authority if that
endorsing power is itself deceived and no
opportunity to present the true facts is
available, or is not offered, in effect
denied? The solution of this puzzle has
been constantly ignored or overlooked by
all agencies and courts so far, and so is
properly presented to this Supreme Court
for a solution by the exercise of its
extraordinary powers.
On 11 July 1979, retired Gen. Caraway
had handwritten and signed a letter to
this petitioner stating: "Sir, I am
satisfied that I did not prepare a letter
concerning you. Further, in as far as I
can discover, no letter concerning you was
prepared by any member of my staff or by
any employee in my headquarters, with or
without my consent." (App. p. 226)
Text 19
Yet, an unauthenticated, false,
spurious document which , as the
government has asserted was the "proximate
reason" for this petitioner’s separation
from Regular Army status was bouncing
around between church and state, and the
contents partially reported to my local
religious superior here in Boston (App. p.
366-372). It was a real "shell game."
Where is it? I don’t have it! Look, he
has it! No! I don’t have it! Can this
procedure be called fair, while I was
denied access and still am?
(I filed a complaint (81-1616C) 25
June 1981 in the District Court of
Massachusetts before Judge A. Caffrey
which was denied on the grounds of res
judicata 31 March 1982. In his written
opinion, this judge three different times
asserted, "all the evidence" had been
previously considered. That is
Text 20
predjudi::iial. He also stated, "The Board
considered the entire administrative
record (App. p. 44-53 at 47). This just
was not true then nor is it now in 1993.
More and more judicial and prejudicial
error!
The United States Court of Appeals
(lst Circuit) (82-1352) (App. p. 60-71)
affirmed the District Court 22 November
1982 asserting that the government had
been prejudiced due to failing memories,
but memories (App. p. 67) are certainly
not critical in this case involving much
documentary evidence. Papers and
documents do not forget! They do not
bleed! That Appeals Court stated, "This
(prejudice) is especially important in
this case in which Father Cowhig places
much of his reliance to a challenge to the
authenticity of a letter from a high
ranking Army officer shortly prior to the a
Text 21
plaintiff’s discharge, and also asserts
that the statements in that letter were
factually false." (App. p.67-68) Also,
"plaintiff’s course in pursuing relief
from other tribunals, before he sued in
the district court, does not show that his
delay in filing suit below was a diligent
or reasonable postponement." (App. p.
66-67) (Please remember that this was in
1982. Yet,the same rationale (lack of
diligence) was used by the same Court of
Appeals in 1992 to maintain and hold the
statute of limitations as a bar.(App.p.
188) The challenge as to authenticity was
raised, introduced, but left unresolved.)
Yet, neither the truth nor the
authenticity of the basic, fundamental
document containing false allegations were
addressed by the judges despite Lt. Gen.
P. W. Caraway’s hand written denial in
1979 of the putative 1961 document’s
Text 22
authorship (App. p. 196), which denial I
presented to the court. How can
limitations or res judicata hold in the
face of concealed fraud?
My Official Military Personnel File
(OMPF) certified under seal as "true and
exact" by the Department of the Army both
by the Judge Advocate Branch and the
Assistant Secretary of the Army in 1980
(App. p. 421-422) before the Court of
Claims is not true and exact, or is it?
If it is "true and exact" having no
document of Lt. Gen. Caraway therein, what
is the source of the church’s copy?
Another mystery! Unsolved!
This same certified record (OMPF) was
used by the Army Board for the Correction
of Military Records in its hearings of
September 1983 as Exhibit "B" (App. p.
421-422) and as evidence considered, in
addition to the church copy supplied by
Text 23
this petitioner (APp. p. 361-365). Two
sets of records! Two account books! The
Original was and is still missing in 1993.
A “de novo" hearing was held before
the Army Board for the Correction of
Military Records (ABCMR) in September of
1983 (App. p.72-94) The majority of this
civilian board found in my favor, while
the minority of two dissented.
The majority in its board
conclusions, No. 5 among others, stated,
"That although a conspiracy against the
applicant was not conclusively proved at
the hearings, sufficient evidence was
addressed to create the appearance of such
a conspiracy, and that conspiracy
ultimately led to the ill-advised, and
literally forced and truly involuntarv
resignation of the applicant from che
service." (App. at 81)
Text 24
Also No. 7 of the majority’s
conclusions is interesting, "that in view
of the foregoing findings and
conclusions,the Department’s acceptance of
the applicant’s resignation, without
affording him proper treatment and the
opportunity to be rehabilitated, has
deprived him of promotion to the grade of
major and twenty-year retirement benefits
and therefore is unjust." (App. p. 81-82)
The Principal Deputy Assistant
Secretary of the Army (Manpower and
Reserve Affairs), Mr. William D. Clark,
upheld and concurred with the minority 29
March 1984 and denied all relief, one day
after receiving the findings and
conclusions (App. p. 90-94). However,
during this hearing, the contents of this
disputed document, from the copy thereof,
the allegations of unsatisfactory
performance of duties both military and
ba Sh eteet | ad Oh hae Sih ,
yen)
ee ee ee Oe eS 2 ee er te
Text 25
religious, were utilized. Both the
probity and the competence of independent
medical testimony were disregarded, if not
impugned by the minority. The two
dissenters were in gross error in their
conclusion that there was incongruity
between my testimony at the 1974 ABCMR
hearing and that presented in 1983,
implying mendacity (App. p. 87-88 par f).
The Assistant Secretary of the Army,
Mr. William Clark, who made the ultimate
decision, endorsed the minority opinion
and stated in part, "...I find no
conspiracy...;" (App. at 92) "The
applicant’s resignation was tendered as a
result of the edict (emphasis supplied) of
the Military Ordinariate of the Catholic
Church which stated that he either resian
from the Army or lose his ecclesiastical
endorsement." (Is that not a threat? A
real Hobson’s choice!)(On a disposition
ie ON Sa ie AIAN
Text 26
form in the Chief of Chaplains office on
24 November 1961, Chaplain [Col.] Bernard
J. Fenton, under remarks thereon stated,
"The ecclesiastical endorsing agency
concerned will remove Chaplain Cowhig’s
ecclesiastical endorsement if his
resignation is not accepted.) (Last folded
item in Appendix) (How much pressure can
they put on a guy?) Clark continued,
"That edict was based solely on his
excessive abuse of alcohol, which was
affecting his performance of duty as an
Army Chaplain and sullying his reputation
as a chaplain and as a priest." (App. p.
93) This statement besides being
presumptuous is false as even a cursory
reading of the testimony, especially of my
commander and executive officer at the
hearing in 1983 would make manifest. In
fact, the Army by its own criteria rated
me in the top 5 percent worldwide.
no aby betel!
Text 27
Affecting his performance of duty?
Sullying his reputation? Nonsense!! In
fact and reality it was the allegations of
non-performance of religious duties as
contained in the 1961 so-called Caraway
document that motivated church authorities
to act as they did (App. p. 243).
Regarding performance of duty, a few
pages (240-244) of my airborne commander’s
testimony (231-273) at the 1983 ABCMR
hearing are listed in the Endnote Section
of the Appendix (Endnote 4 - App. p 2-9)
so that this Supreme Court may have some
clue and flavor as to the enormity of the
injustice done. The entire transcript
(411 pages) was available to the courts
below in addition to 78 Exhibits.
Voluminous indeed, and difficult to plow
through, but indicative of my pertinacious
diligence.
Text 28
Also parts (pp.59-70) of the
testimony of my Executive Officer of the
503rd Airborne Infantry Combat team who
also testified personally (pp.45-127) at
the 1983 ABCMR hearing are placed in the
Endnote Section of the Appendix as Endnote
5 (App. p. 9-19).
Dr. George Wheeler Roark, Jr., was
introduced to the ABCMR as a medical
doctor, as an expert medical witness on
behalf of the applicant (pp. 149-224).
This part of his 1983 testimony on page
152, 153 can be found in the Endnote
Section of the Appendix as Endnote 6 -
App. p.19-20).
I ask this Supreme Court to note that
the medical testimony of Dr. Roark briefly
cited in the appendix was impugned by the
minority of the Board in 1983. It was
reiterated as new evidence in 1991 ina
stronger fashion expressing his opinion of
Ad wai hnwhp ital’ etal aed
Text 29
that non-medical minority of the ABCMR and
the incompetence of the medical behavior
throughout. This also is new evidence of
1991 presented to the court, but
disregarded as "not new," "not relevant,"
but it goes to the heart of the
allegations! (Endnote 7, App. p. 20-24;
full text, App. p. 337-345)
I ask this Supreme Court to recognize
and remember that this petitioner was the
only Catholic priest paratrooper qualified
in the entire Pacific area and also with
top secret information on a strict
"need-to-know" basis. This knowledge
concerned airborne operations into Laos.
Plans were made on my desk!
The critical and hazardous nature of
the situation then prevailing in southeast
Asia may be discerned from a memo of 24
January 1961 of Clark M. Clifford to
President Kennedy in regard to a previous
Text 30
transition team meeting which is listed as
Endnote 8, App. p. 24).
This top secret information I could
not divulge even to the Chief of
Chaplain’s office without proper clearance
even if given the opportunity to do so,
which I was not. That office had already
determined before I left Okinawa and prior
to any document of General Caraway that
this petitioner was to be RAD, Removed
From Active Duty (App. second last folded
page). This pre-judgment also was kept
from me. No due process! Not even a show
cause hearing! I could not disclose this
top-secret information even to the Speaker
of the House when I personally talked to
him in 1963 in his office in Boston.
I also ask this Supreme Court of the
United States in accord with Rule 17 to
recognize there are special and important
reasons, impinging upon church and state
01 SNPS OC I bce See
Text 31
relations, to grant a writ of certiorari,
to remand, to decide or otherwise rule in
its discretion and also recognize that the
lower courts have "far departed from the
accepted and usual course of judicial
procedure" as to the proper ascertainment
of facts and so far "sanctioned such a
departure by a lower court" in law, as to
call for an exercise of this court’s
power. It seems as if the judicial
bureaucracy, “law clerks and elbow clerks"
as Judge Patrick Higginbotham of the Fifth
Circuit described them on C-Span during a
workshop of the Federal Appeals Court
Judges in February 1993, are writing the
opinions. He estimated that 98% of the
work was so done.
Ruth Bader Ginsburg, the recent
nominee for the Supreme Court on the
occasion of her nomination approvingly
quoted Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist
Pliage, igh tate 0 «
Text 32
as saying that a good judge is bound to
apply the facts and the law to come up
with a decision, even if it is "not what
the home crowd wants". (New York Times)
This petitioner expects no less.
Judge William W. Schwarzer states: "The
writing judge or the law clerk may read
some or all of the record. Time demands
being what they are, rarely will the other
judges read much of the record. But even
a reading of the cold record on appeal
gives the reader little confidence that he
or she has a fair understanding of the
import of the evidence and the
proceedings." (See footnote below.)
Again this petitioner reminds this
Supreme Court that the job description and
function of this petitioner as set out in
Footnote:
In his chapter on "Defining Standards of Review"
in the publication "The Federal Appellate
Judiciary in the Twenty-First Century" Federal
Judicial Center (1989) Chapter III, p. 102
Text 33
the Code of Federal Regulations (510.1)
pertains primarily to the internal forum
of conscience and especially so when
combat operations are imminent (App. p.
415).
Some of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure (F.R.C.P.) and the Federal Rules
of Evidence that have been ignored and
overlooked despite this petitioner’s
raising of the issues and a request for a
Civilian Investigative Demand (C.I.D.) in
the presence of fraud as a "Private
Attorney General" are listed (Endnote 9,
App. p. 25-32).
On February 1986, I petitioned the
ABCMR for reconsideration under Army
Regulation AR15-185, par. 22; and 18
U.S.C. 1552; based on new evidence not
previously considered. In the petition
for reconsideration I stated therein,
"...I have constantly and consistently
Text 34
asserted that my separation from the U.S.
Army was improper and unjust, illegal, and
fraudulent, consequently null and void.
Not only was my severance unjust, but was
in contrast and in violation of existing
Army regulations for a Regular Army
officer in addition to a violation of my
constitutional rights and statutory law
(10 U.S.C. 3785). I was denied due
process of law and was the subject of
prejudice, discrimination, hasty and
arbitrary judgments based on libel and
slander which have seriously affected my
Career and profession. I demand to be
made whole. I seek the restitution of my
Regular Army commission with all
appropriate adjustments in rank and
privileges. I demand to be restored "nunc
pro tunc,” "now for then."
Also therein, "I am enclosing
documents lately obtained from five
ere
Text 35
medical doctors which to me indicate the
presence of medical malpractice. I am
enclosing documents from three lawyers who
have analyzed my testimony of 1974 and
1983, asserting that there is no conflict
or contradictions in my testimony, as was
alleged in the ABCMR minority report of
1984...." "....I am also enclosing a
document from Dr. Hurwitz, a psychologist
at Boston College, who clearly indicates
the injustice that has been
perpetrated..." (App. p. 215-220).
This petition for reconsideration and
all the material, new relevant evidence at
that time, was arrogantly returned to me
with no covering letter, no explanation,
merely shipped back to me 10 March 1986.
I resubmitted my petition on 1 April
1986 and again this was opened and
returned without any comment on 7 April
1986.
Text 36
The third time I personally submitted
my petition on 29 April 1986 and
Congressman Mavroules’ office did the same
on 22 April 1986. In a letter to me dated
23 May 1986 from the Executive Secretary
of the ABCMR in response to my letters and
inquiries from Congressmen, he stated:
"Evidence which is repetitious or based on
emotion or which tends to elaborate on
facts supplied previously considered by
the Board is not deemed to be new or
relevant evidence..." (App. p. 221-224)
I again wrote to Senator Kennedy on 1
July 1986 indicating the grievous errors
by the Board and again presenting a record
from the Chief of Chaplains office which
had been previously withheld from the
Board in 1980 (App. p. 197, 198) and which
clearly, most clearly indicated the
Chief’s prejudgment that this petitioner
was to be Removed from Active Duty (RAD)
OE Ae ED EE, »
Text 37
even prior to my departure from Okinawa on
6 October 1961 (prior to putative Caraway
letter of 11 October 1961 - App. second
last folded page). All these petitions
for reconsideration incorporating the
scientific evidence of -several competent
medical doctors, my commanding officer and
others were arbitrarily rejected by the
Board (App. p. 227-334). This arbitrary
and arrogant rejection was to have further
negative ramifications as these
testimonies were apparently considered as
"not before the Board" in later judicial
actions or completely overlooked and
ignored by the courts. Again in 1992 this
material rejected arbitrarily by the ABCMR
in 1986 was considered "not new" by the
First Circuit. This continuous
Suppression of evidence, first by the
agency and then by the courts, is a prime
example of "sand bagging," caught between
PUT DEIR Rin CMR Pe hb hed
At Ra Tae th ARON NSBR EAD TAS cy cl A NE AD AY Rall eae a Ne a
ae te ee een
a
Text 38
two players, both antagonistic. This is
sad and sorry justice!
The U.S. Attorney argued that the
ABCMR decision was a "nonreviewable
military personnel decision." It is not!
The ABCMR is a civilian board.
This same evidence gathered in
1985-1986 in addition to the evidence of
1991 was later to be declared by the First
Circuit (92-1440, 7 December 1992), as not
new or recently discovered. Is this fair>
I certainly have not been sleeping on it
nor have I been lacking in diligence, but
I have been obstructed. This is the
particular issue at stake in this petition
for certiorari in 1993. Please remember
that all my motions under Rule 59, and
others to vacate, to reconsider, were
denied by Judges Young and Wolf.
In this second motion for
reconsideration to Judge Young, I cited
Text 39
Title 5 U.S.C. 706 (Endnote 11, App. p.
30-31)) on the Scope of Review and 5
U.S.C. 552(4)(B) (Endnote 12, App. p.
31-32) regarding the withholding of a
record and 32 C.F.R. 581.3(d)(5), Access
to Records (Endnote 13, App. p. 32).
On 25 November 1987, I presented a
motion to lay aside, to vacate the
judgment of 26 October 1987. Therein I
cited Judge Frankfurter; "The heart of the
matter is that democracy implies respect
for the elementary rights of men, however
suspect or unworthy. A democratic
government must therefore practice
fairness; and fairness can rarely be
obtained by secret, one sided
determination of facts... decisive of
rights." (341 U.S. 123, 171, 71S. Ct.
624, at 170, 70 S. Ct. at 647).
In this same motion under Rule 60, I
asserted that the basic unauthenticated
|
Text 40
document "has been fraudulently concealed
from me." (Endnote 12, App. p- 31-32).
I also asserted "misrepresentation to
Speaker McCormack in 1964 (App. p.
373-376);" fraud “upon the court in the
1980 court of claims action in that the
government certified as true and exact
what was not so (App. p.- 421), denial of
liberty; denial of "free exercise of
religion; denial of a basic show cause
hearing in 1961."
In 17 December 1987 Judge Young
declared that his court was without
subject matter jurisdiction and denied the
motion, "not on the merits but on
jurisdictional grounds." (App. p. 116,
117) Again not before the court?
However, I asked for clarification of this
decision of 17 December 1987 as I had also
timely presented a motion on 9 November
1987 under Rule 59 about which P.R.C.P.
Text 4]
4(a)(4) says that "a notice of appeal
filed before the disposition of the above
motions shall have no effect." But who am
I, a non lawyer, to contradict a federal
judge when he says he has no subject
matter jurisdiction and can take "no
action because the case is presently under
appeal” as he did on 7 January 1988?
Again in this action, the questions
remain was the whole record reviewed? Was
it ever whole? Which one was true and
exact? Who has legal custody? Was new
relevant medical evidence previously
spurned by the ABCMR and once more
presented to the court disregarded or
Overlooked? No basis for relief? Nonsense!
I was now faced with these judicial
decisions which I believe to be flawed,
erroneous, not fair and unjust. I realize
judges are not called upon to run the Army
and that they give great discretion to
Text 42
government agencies in regard to statutory
construction and interpretation (the
Chevron doctrine), as well as to the
latter’s presumed expertise when there is
some ambiguity. But a line has to be
drawn when there is no ambiguity, when
fraud, and further concealed fraud,
withholding of evidence, open violation of -
statutory law, the crime of conspiracy,
and the denial of basic constitutional
rights and their violation are involved,
requiring strict scrutiny by the courts.
Certainly the Statutory Law expressed in
10 U.S.C. 3785 (1185) is unambiguous as
is the Federal Code. This has not been
resolved so far. Too much discretion has
been allowed, if that is what it was. I
call it prejudice, bias and favoritism.
It can hardly be called equal justice
before the law, or "equal protection."
ie
“ee
ee
#
Text 43
Perseveringly and diligently, I once
more brought suit in the District Court of
Massachusetts (90-11297 WF) under RICO (18
U.S.C. 1961, seq.) 16 May 1990, asserting
among others that the government had
conspired with officials in my church, in
collusion, using mail and telephone to
defraud, extort, and take away illegally
my property (liberty also), namely my
Regular Army commission as well as my
reputation and had in a pattern obstructed
justice, as in a "racketeering activity."
In this instance, I reluctantly named my
church officials as co-conspirators in
joint actions, even though they themselves
had been deceived by a false report, which
they considered authentic (App.p.242-244).
This is a violation of the "Free Exercise
Clause," as I was deprived of exercising
my religion with the troops.
Text 44
This Supreme Court has stated, "From
i the beginning, there has existed a Rule of
Equity to the effect that under certain
circumstances, one of which is after
discovered fraud relief will be granted
against judgments regardless of the term
of their entry." --Hazel Atlas Gos Ws
Hartford Co., 322 U.S. 238 (1943) (cited
in plaintiff’s response in opposition to
Motion to Dismiss, p. 3-in District Court,
Sept. 1990) with tabs of medical evidence
of Dr. Rohde and military testimony of my
Okinawa period. All overlooked or
rejected then as well as later in 1991.)
After my briefs were submitted with
Opposition thereto by the assistant U.S.
commander and executive officer of the
Attorney, Judge Wolf called for a status
meeting on 5 April 1991 at which he stated
3 that he would read the case. But the
2 docket sheet shows that the case was
-,
re
w
fe
4s
z
Text 45
closed the same day despite the fact that
hundreds of pages had to be read and
analyzed. I suspect a "result oriented"
judgment..., but again, what is a pro se
non-lawyer to do? I did not receive the
official court report of this 5 April 1991
decision or the 25 April 1991 order and so
notified the court on 2 July 1991, having
learned of the judge’s decision
unofficially only by service through the
adversary attorney for the Archdiocese for
Military Services U.S.A. in a letter to
the court dated 18 June 1991 "to request
the entry of final judgment" in which was
enclosed a proposed judqment for the
court’s signature. What kind of monkey
business is that?
Again in this action as in so many
others no consideration was given to the
issue of whether the document of 1961
containing the basic allegations was
Text 46
authentic or not, nor to the issue of
where the original document was,
supposedly official and in legal custody
of the government, or if it was
fraudulently concealed and suppressed or
destroyed. 18 U.S.C. 1505 prohibits the
destruction of documents sought in
connection with an administrative
proceeding and 18 U.S.C. 1503 covers
judicial proceedings. Both statutes
prohibit the attempt to obstruct justice.
This petitioner filed several motions
to vacate, amend, under Rules 59 and 60
F.R.C.P. to no avail, denied 5 August
1991. Yet my letter of 25 April 1991 with
attachments was not entered on the docket
as Item 34 until 7 October 1991.
Questions do arise! (App. p. 148) Later
in these communications and motions was
one under Rule 60 F.R.C.P. on 19 November
1991 to Judge Wolf which charged fraud and
a
TS et
Text 47
presented new relevant recently discovered
evidence which rebutted the medical and
military charges expressed in the putative
1961 Lt. Gen. Paul W. Caraway document.
The denial of this motion on 21 March 1992
and the affirmation thereto is at bar
right now (App. p. 175).
One piece of testimony contained in a
letter dated 18 October 1991 of Doctor
George W. Roak, MD, who had also testified
in the 1983 ABCMR hearings, clearly
contradicted the medical assumptions
prevailing up to that time by the court
and administrative agencies. In effect,
this doctor accused the Military Medical
Service of incompetence. But this senior
doctor’s latest testimony which rebutted
any charge of "alcoholism" (App. p. 190)
was rejected again as somehow "out of
time." (App. p. 337-345).
Text 48
A fellow officer who served with me
on Okinawa (1960-1961), Lt. Col. T. Kelly
(Ret.) gave testimony clearly
contradictory to at least one of the
paragraphs of the putative 1961 Caraway
document. These letters were dated 6, 2li,
23 August 1991. (See App. p. 346-352.)
I had previously sworn in 1981 that
all the allegations were in error, (App.
p. 394) but again, no one has seen fit to
recognize my denials or give them any
credence at all! In fact, the first time
any diagnosis of alcoholism was made was 4
October 1961, two days before I flew off
Okinawa on 6 October 1961, despite the
fact that each admission sheet at the
hospital had recorded "No A or N" (n
alcohol or narcotics) at admission. The
Caraway letter (still missing in 1993 from
official files) was dated 11 October 1961
(App. p. 361-365). What a screw-up!
Text 49
Another letter of 31 October 199]
from Dr. John A. Day, Jr., MD, containing
medical information supportive of my
claims and challenging to the government’s
diagnoses was also sent to the District
Court 19 November 1991, but disregarded
(App. p. 353-360), as “out of time" (App.
p- 190), lacking "due diligence."
Lt. Col. (Ret.) Kelly’s 1991 letter
has been badly distorted and
misinterpreted by all so far. Lt. Col.
TRAP ALA Gig Ci They Gach tise admit 2
Kelly, then a lieutenant in 1961, was in
charge of all airborne operations for my
unit, the 2nd Airborne Battle Group on
Okinawa. Because of typhoon alerts and
actual typhoons, air craft had to be
evacuated from Okinawa in September 1961
and an airborne operation planned and
managed by this petitioner called "St.
Michael’s Day Jump" had to be canceled by
me_and Lt. Kelly, days before the
Text 50
scheduled parachute jump. Yet in the
putative Caraway letter of 1961 it was
stated therein that I was "incapacitated,"
and they had to call off the operation and
cancel the Catholic Mass that was to have
been celebrated by me after I jumped.
These comments in the 1961 Caraway letter
are pure fiction. But they have been
constantly employed against me in charges
of dereliction of duty and failure to
perform religious duties as in the copy I
finally obtained in 1980 (App. p.
361-365).
Lt. Col. (Ret.) T. Kelly’s letter
should put this lie and falsehood to rest,
but the courts have construed his
testimony as a mere meteorological
description undoubtedly because of their
lack of knowledge about airborne and
paratroop operations and their less than
careful reading of the testimony (App. p.
edit pth bse Sia ie Sana tan 3
Se ean ane eng an ee bandos
Text 51
346-352) and comparison with the 1961
letter. (App. p. 361-365)
It is interesting to note that briefs
and the appendix sent to Judge Wolf on 25
April 1991 (the same day as his order),
while this petitioner had no notice of any
decision were not placed on the docket
sheet as Item #34 until 7 October 1991
when I discovered them in place in the
court house, yet missing from the docket
sheet. Please note the time discrepancy
(App. p. 148). I informed the docket
clerk who then made note of it in the
docket sheet at that time (10/7/91). Once
more the suspicion, well founded, arises
that these matters were not even read, not
to speak of given consideration. Needless
to say that my confidence in judicial
bureaucracy has been shaken. This is
especially so since I had already written
to him 29 March 1991 complaining of fraud,
nr
Text 52
collusion, obstruction of justice,
violation of the First Amendment.
On 25 April 1991, I again complained
of the violation of the Administrative
Procedure Act (APA), the Freedom of
Information Act (FIOA), pointing out the
absence of a supposedly official document
from government files, prejudice in the
Chief’s office, the rejection of evidence
by the ABCMR in 1986, I indicated to him
the pertinent Rules of Evidence important
in this case, i.e., 803, 902, 1002, 1003,
1004, and 1005.
Yet, Judge Wolf denied all my motions
under F.R.C.P. Rules, 52(b); 38(a)(b); 59;
60(a)(b) on 5 August 1991 (Docket No. 27,
30;App. p. 149, 174, 175).
I moved to the U.S. Court of Appeals
(lst Circuit) (91-2027) which is a
"companion case" now in 1993, again
including much medical evidence from
eee A
Fe
Text 53
several doctors, testimonials of my
commander and executive officer while I
was on Okinawa, a psychiatrist, three
lawyers who reviewed the testimony before
the ABCMR in 1974, and 1983, plus the new
recently discovered evidence and the
government ’s continued failure to provide
access to the original disputed document.
In the Court of Appeals’ affirming
opinion, they asserted that this
petitioner was "merely changing his theory
of recovery" and it was an "endless
pouring of old wine into new bottles."
But, I have consistently asserted that the
government officials have put poison in
the wine and have so far tried to conceal
it. The presence of fraud and the
concealment thereof even to the point of
making a false certification of my
le _-
official record to the court itself is
clearly fraudulent, certainly unfair.
Pi
4)
:
se a
Text 54
This Appeals Court in the companion case
91-2027 acknowledge my complaint of
fraudulent concealment (App. p- 171), but
considers it merely of denial of access
when it is clear that the proximate cause,
the Caraway letter itself was a fraud, a
false conveyance and the governemnt has
tried to conceal this fraud by charging my
church with responsibility for legal
custody. If this isn’t fraud upon the
court and a nefarious, if not criminal
action, I, as a non lawyer, will eat my
hat. How much proof does the court
demand? I believe my papers, voluminous
and perhaps vexatious as they may seem to
be to the law clerks who are supposed to
read them, indicate fraud, concealment
thereof, suppression of evidence,
violation of constitutional rights.
This Court of Appeals has asserted
that I have had a "fair and full
Text 55
opportunity to litigate in previous
action” (App. p. 170). Not so! How can
this flawed adjudication be fair to any
reasonable person? The suppression of
evidence was permitted along with the use
by the ABCMR of flawed, tainted contents
of an unauthenticated document.
In the same way, how could I have
discovered the cause of my injury in 1962
as this appeals court asserts in 91-2027
(App. p. 171), even though aware of the
injury when the "proximate cause" was
illegally withheld and I was denied access
thereto to even a copy until 1980 and then
the government denied responsibility for
legal custody while the church through
Bishop Roque finally declared in 1988 that
it was not the legal custodian of military
documents and did not possess the original
(App. p. 425) which the Federal Rules of
Evidence demands (App. p. 25-29). Both
Text 56
entities played a game similar to two
people tormenting a dog by throwing a ball
to each other. Here it is! No there it
is! Can anyone call this fair treatment,
even to a dog? The same type of torment of
forcing me to chase from one agency to the
next, from one forum to another while no
one in authoritv chose to face the
unauthenticity of the basic document
containing false allegations is unfair.
Then after much chasing around, the courts
say the game is now over, you are too late
and you should have been more diligent in
chasing around. You should have chased
Lt. Col. (Ret) Thomas Kelly around the
world to Vietnam and back, and you should
F have pursued Dr. Roark even though he was
retired and had already misplaced some of
my letters. This seems to be the
are
rationale expressed in the latest opinion
of the First circuit, 92-1440 (7 December
Text 57
1992) in regard to a post-judgment motion
when they say, "None of these items of
evidence meet the Rule 60 (b) (2)
requirement that the evidence could not
have been discovered in time for a Rule 59
motion, i.e., by July 1991. Please
remember that Judge Wolf had denied a Rule
59 motion presented on 3 July 1991, after
the judgment of 2 July 1991 (App. p. 174).
The court ignores the fact that Dr.
Rohde’s testimony in 1985-1986, including
this partial quote, "...I do not believe
that the label of alcoholism can be, or
even was, justified by anything known to
me...” was arbitrarily spurned, arrogantly
spurned, by the ABCMR in 1986. In all
this maneuvering, the First Circuit
overlooked the fact that I had sent this
material to Judge Wolfe 25 April 1991, but
it was not placed on the docket sheet
until 7 October 1991, when I discovered
Text 58
the material in the court house obviously
unread, unconsidered. If an agency
rejects evidence and the court does not
read it until much later, after judgment,
if at all, can it properly be dismissed as
not new, not recently discovered? To do so
would seem to be a travesty.
Please remember I did present a Rule
59 motion, timely, but it was denied by
Judge Wolf on 5 August 1991 (App. p. 174).
Also please remember as I told the First
Circuit that I did not receive official
notice of Judge Wolfe’s action/decision of
25 April 1991 until 2 July 1991. Wow!
Please notice the time gap on the docket
sheet entry date between items #24, and
#34--both 4/25/91! (App. p- 148) Yet my
Rule 59, 60, 52(b) and 38 (a)(b) motions
were denied 5 August 1991 (App. p. 174).
But I again presented my Rule 60 motion
Claiming again fraud, concealed fraud,
Text 59
continued and continuing misconduct of the
adverse party for which the time of one
year is granted by the rules. This motion
which is at issue here now was filed 19
November 1991 and was denied by Judge Wolf
21 March 1992 (App. p. 175).
Please remember that Rule 60 (b) (3)
F.R.C.P. concerns fraud, misrepre-
sentation, or other misconduct of an
adverse party which I stated as reason for
that motion. Item 6 of that Rule speaks
of "any other reasons justifing relief."
Again we observe an incident or occasion
when probative evidence is Overlooked,
ignored, disregarded by the courts below
and, in effect, once more obstructs the
course of justice. Can limitations hold
in such circumstances? Or res judicata?
Yes, in 1979, I introduced the charge
to the ABCMR that "a forged document had
been submitted by unknown persons" as the
Ta NOTA At eat lt DB iene sca ENR
Text 60
Court of Appeals stated. The First
Circuit said in regard to limitations that
I_ filed a RICO suit (1990), "not until
eleven years later," but even a cursory
reading of this case history will make
more than clear that I was not sleeping on
it, but fighting all the way on many
fronts, despite the agency’s and the
court’s inattention.
The ABCMR had asserted many times
that the contested and sought after
document was "properly in the hands of
your church." The Archdiocese was
introduced reluctantly as co-defendant in
1990, as I am forbidden by Canon (church)
=
Law to bring suit against an ordinary, a
bishop, because of an act of discipline on
his part, even though they, both the
church in New York and Boston, had been
flummoxed and bambooseled! But the
Archdiocese of Military Services, U.S.A.,
a
Se thre ne tiee Yon iled
Text 61
acted as it did, relying on the
authenticity of the 1961 Caraway report
and Bishop Dimino in 1984 has so stated
(App. p. 242-244). The Archdiocese was a
duped and unwitting co-conspirator from
the beginning, but they were negligent and
reckless by not adhering to the Federal
Code of Regulations which states that they
"abide by the applicable regulations and
policies of the Department of Defense"
(DOD) 32 F.C.R. 65.4(b)(v). To dismiss
the Archdiocese as "time barred" is again
not fair as they withheld a copy of this
spurious report from me for twenty years
contrary to even church law (Canons
1732-1739) and supplied a copy only when
forced to do so by a higher authority in
the church in 1980. They refused to
declare that they did not have the
Original document or legal custody until
;
t]
7
Ss ee he
3
i
Text 62
1988 (App. p. 425), well within any
limitations period.
I also ask this Supreme Court to
remember that this petitioner had been
truly operating pro se, by himself alone,
in searching out the truth over many
years, as a non-professional lawyer and
investigator, but as one who has been long
aware of the injustice done, and has
experienced obstruction, evasiveness,
fraud, concealed fraud on the part of
others.
It may well be that an extraordinary
writ, a petition seeking a writ of
prohibition, or a writ of mandamus to the
U.S. Government, the Secretary of the
Army, the ABCMR, be issued in the wisdom
of this Supreme Court to clarify the
existence, or non-existence, as well as to
the authenticity or non-authenticity of
the missing document supposedly sent by
Text 63
Lt. Gen. Paul W. Caraway addressed to the
Chief of Chaplains, U.S. Army. If so, I |
do hereby petition. The copy clearly |
identifies the addressee (App. p. 361).
The intentionality of these actions by
both adversary entities can be termed
malicious when there is an element of
fraud, violence (intimidation and threat),
wantonness, and wilfulness or criminality.
It is not enough for them to declare that
they didn’t know all the facts to be
excused. They knew the law applicable to
Regular Army officers and illegally, by
threats, avoided the law (10 U.S.C. 3785),
in effect were joint tort feasors.
Recklessly! "...‘a private association’s
failure to afford procedural safeguards
may result in the imposition of damage
liability without inquiring into whether
the association’s action lacked
; substantive basis...’" (Greene v. U.S. 376
*
J
oa
cae
+
Text 64
, U.S. 149 at 162). I made an appeal on 16
April 1992 from the denial by the district
court of a post judgment motion for
reconsideration based on new, relevant,
newly discovered evidence numbered 92-1440
in the Appeals Court (Companion Case
91-2027).
The whole history of this case, not
only the denial of this motion, which
involves relations and interrelations
between church and state, law, top secret
security regulations, Federal Code of
Regulations, Rules of F.R.C.P., Federal
Rules of Evidence, and equity and common |
sense may be described as a case of one
who writes a phony check to draw from
another’s assets, from another’s deposits,
causing loss, damage and injury and
continues to do so while casting blame on
another for responsibility for the phony
check. I should think that the courts
Text 65
would be alert to false conveyances. To
say that this petitioner has not been
diligent in attempting to discover the
truth is a monstrosity. The above written
and described history should be sufficient
to discredit that canard, if indeed, this
history is carefully read.
This saga also should be more than
sufficient to rebut any prior holding of
res judicata or statute of limitations, or
that the ABCMR was "not arbitrary or
capricious." Actually the Department of
the Army was in violation of Statutory Law
and still is. This petitioner prays that
fundamental justice be done and proper
redress be made. My reputation is at
stake!
Sincerely,
i
LI eA
Rev. Edward D. Cowhig, Pro Se
245 C.J. Cushing Hwy.
Greenbush, MA 02040-0154
(617) 545-4330
ee ee ee ee ce er eae)
_” -. -. * sa?
eS a oe,
SEND OSE CEP Aa 4
Service Made By Mail of Reformed Petition,
Ss 1993:
U.S. Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, DC 20530
Army Board for Correction of Military
Records
The Pentagon
Washington, DC 20310
BRAG FEAR eG gt Bt ae
oe EN Ok a NB ERE EE ig RON BO Ge ALG PALES ALES SARE PR RE ah Lhe Pb
Surgeon General, U.S. Army
The Pentagon
Washington, DC 20310
The Chief of Chaplains, U.S. Army
The Pentagon
Washington, DC 20310
Parker, Coulter, Daley and White
Attorney Gary Busek
One Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02108
Assistant U.S. Attorney Annette Forde
Post Office and Court House Square
Boston, MA 02109
tree tance sh
COWHIG V. STONE, ET AL.
APPENDIX
APPENDIX
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Cowhig, pro se v. V. Stone, Sec.
Army, Et Al.
Endnotes
Docket Sheet - Court of Claims (427-80C)
Order /Opinion
Docket Sheet -- U.S. District Court
(81-1616C)
Order /Opinion
Docket Sheet -- U.S. Court of Appeals
(lst Circuit - 82-1352)
Order /Opinion
Proceedings (Hearing ABCMR - 1983)
Memorandum (Exec. Sec. ABCMR,
28 March 1984)
Decision (ABCMR) Asst. Sec. 29 Mar 1984
Docket Sheet (86-2192)
PAGE
54- 58
50- 71
72- 89
90
91-102
95-102
_
as a).
a are hd ee
Pa
Rt,
S
a
¢
Memorandum and Order on Settlement,
28 September 1987
Order/Opinion - Handwritten On Motion
Motion for Relief
Consolidation of Appeals
Docket Sheet - Court of Appeals
(1st Circuit - 88-1012)
Order /Opinion
Docket Sheet - U.S. District Ct.
(90-CV11297)
Order
Docket Sheet - U.S. Ct. App.
(lst Cir. - 91-2027)
Order /Opinion
Order/D. Ct. 5 Aug 91 Denying Motions
Filed Under Rule 52(b); 38(a) (b)
59, 60(a) (b)
103-108
109-112
113-120
121
122-130
131-141
142-152
153-155
156-163
164-173
174
*N.B. Motion - Reconsideration -
New Evidence and Misconduct of
Adverse Party
*N.B. Appeal from Rule 60 Denial
Docket Sheet - U.S. Ct. App. (92-1440)
Opinion
List of Letters (1962-1963)
letter to Cardinal Spellman, 1962
Letter of Lt. Gen. P.w. Caraway, 1979
Memorandum (ABCMR-1980)
Letter to Cong. Moakley from ABCMR, 1982
Letter from Archbishop Boston, 1982 -
Letter to Speaker J.W. McCormack
from petitioner, 1964
*N.B. Dept. of Amy to Speaker, 1964
letter from Speaker’s Assistant, 1964
Letter to ABCMR from petitioner, 1986
Response from ABCMR 23 May 1986
to petitioner and Cong. Studds
175
176
177-184
185-192
193
194-195
196
197-198
199-201
202-203
204-208
209-212
213-214
215-220
221-224
iv
*List of Documents Rejected by ABCMR
*Lt. Gen. Caraway Letter to Petitioner,
1979
Letter to Dr. George W. Roark, 1985
letter of Dr. W. A. Rohde, 1985
Letter from Military Ordinariate
Bishop Joseph T. Dimino, 1984
Letter fram ABCMR 19 June 1984
Dept .
Affidavit of Col. (Ret. R.E. McMahon,
of Army (FOIA) (DMAI)7 Aug 1984
1985
Summary and Opinion-R.E. Loring Esq.
letter of John Roache, Esq., 1985
Lettor of Col. (Ret.) C.B.McCoid, 1985
letter of A. DeVico, Esq., 1985
letter of Irving Hurwitz, PhD, 1985
Letter of Lawrence Clark, MD, 1985
Letter of Edmund N. Kudarauskas, MD,
1985
225
226
227-229
230-241
242-244
245-248
249-250
251-260
261-269
270-276
277-282
283-292
293-314
315-317
318-325
* Letter of John Dowling, MD, 1986 326-329
Letter of Richard M. Kilfoyle, MD, 1985 330-334
Pages Regarding New Evidence 335-336
*Letter of George W. Roark, MD, 1991 337-345
*Letter of Thomas J. Kelly (Lt. Col. Ret,
6 August 1991) 346-347
*Letter of Thomas J. Kelly (Lt. Col. Ret.,
21 August 1991) 348-350
*Letter of Thamas J. Kelly (Lt. Col. Ret.,
23 August 1991) 351-352
*Letter of Dr. John A. Day, October 1991 353-360
N.B.* Letter of Lt. Gen Paul W. Caraway
1961 361-365
Letter to Cardinal Cushing, 1962 366-372
*Letter to Speaker fram Cong. Liaison,
1964 373-376
letter to Petitioner Fram Ch. Chap.,
1967 377-378
vi
letter to Cardinal Cushing from M'l.
Ord., 1968
*Letter to Speaker McCormack from Ch.
Chap., 1968
Letter to petitioner from Card.
Medeiros
Letter to Speaker O’Neill fram
Cong. Correspondence Agency, 1978
Letter from Chancellor of Mil. Ord.
letter to Senator Tsongas from ABCMR
(1980)
Affidavit of Petitioner, 1986
Affidavit of Petitioner, 1981
Dept. Army, Ad. Gan., 1986
Motions in 90-11297 for Amendment
of Judgment, rules 52, 38, 59, 60
Bill of Rights
379-380
381-382
383-384
385
386
387-388
389-391
392-395
396-397
398-402
403-404
Vil
Statutory Law - 10 U.S.C. Regular Amny
(3785, 1185)
RICO - 18 U.S.C. 1961 Et. Seq,
Scope of Reviews 5 U.S.C. 706
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
Access to Records 32 C.F.R. 581.3
Criteria for Faith Groups 32 C.F.R.
Private Ministrations, Sacraments
(510.1)
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
(F.R.C.P.)
Rule 60(b)
Rules 1002, 1003, 1004
Certification of Official Military
Personnel File (OMPF)
405-407
408-409
410-412
410
413-414
415-416
417-418
419-420
421-422
Vill
Letter to Congressman Studds, 1980 423-424
Letter of Military Archdiocese, 1988 425
Declaration of Involuntary Release, 1974 427
Opinions Below 428-429
Jurisdiction 429
Constitutional Provisions Involved 430
Concise Statement of Grounds 430
A. N.B.Disposition Form #96 (24 Nov. 1961) to
Adjutant General from Chief of Chaplain’s office
Item #11, signed by Col. Bernard J. Fenton,
USA, under Remarks: "The ecclesiastical
indorsing agency will remove Chaplain Cowhig’s
ecclesiastical indorsement if his resignation
is not accepted" too camplex to be put into
Appendix. Full copy is in petitioner’s files.
B. N.B.List of all assignments in record kept in
Chief of Chaplain’s office in sequential order.
Three are cited here. Camplete copy in peti-
tioner’s files.
2nd Abn. Btl. Gp., 503rd Inf. Cambat team,
Apo. 50, SF, 10 June 1960 (66A)
Being medically evacuated from Okinawa (to
be RAD) (TWX to CG USARYIS)
Evacuated via air 6 October 1961 per TWx
fram CG USARYIS 7 October 1961 (DA in)
On second thought, the camplete copy of A
B above will make more sense to you and clarify
what happened in 1961 - apparently overlooked
by all below. - Inserted separately herein
in folded manner following the last two pages,
in the interest of clarity and justice.
ENDNOTES
(F.R.C.P.) 44(b) in regard to the lack of
record says: "A written Statement that after
diligent search no record or entry of a specified
tenor is found to exist in the records designated
by the statement, authenticated as provided in
Subdivision (a)(1) of this mle in the case of a
damestic record...is admissible as evidence that
the records contain no such entry or record."
* @itle 10 U.S.C. then 3785, now 1185,
stipulates under Rights and Procedures:
(a) Each officer under consideration for
removal from the active list of the Regular Army
under this Chapter shall be:
(1) notified in writing of the pendency of
any proceeding for his removal ;
(2) allowed reasonable time to prepare his
defense;
(3) allowed to appear in person and by
Counsel at proceedings before a board of inquiry
and a board of review; and
(4) allowed full access to and furnished
copies of records relevant to his case at all
stages of the proceeding.
3
32 CFR 64.4 (b)(v) states: Under (b) -
"Criteria for Ecclesiastical Endorsing Agencies;"
".+-each religious faith group shall: (v) "abide
by the applicable regulations and policies of the
Department of Defense."
* Q The record further indicates, and I
specifically refer I think to your statement of
23 September 1961, Colonel McMahon, that you had
a conversation, that you consulted a Colonel
Hannum who was the chief of neuropsychiatry at
the Okinawa hospital... (I, this petitioner
previously had a 15 minute conversation with
Doctor Hannum at which he asserted that they had
a great deal of difficulty handling bachelor
[celibate] chaplains.) (Supplied now by this
petitioner and previously in my pleadings. Dr.
Hannum had no knowledge of the critical situation
then prevailing. )
A Yes.
Q ...and that it was related to you that
the best environment for the Applicant, according
to Dr. Hannum, would have been to send him back
to CONUS.
A Yes, but I’d like to elaborate on that
later.
Q Please.
A Any time you say. Actually, in going
back and looking at this case, this man was
suffering from hypertension and nervousness, and
it was associated with the use of alcohol, I
guess, to take care of what was going on.
When I spoke to Hannum, Captain Hannum or
Major Hannum, he mentioned to me, now remember
I’m a layman, I don’t know anything = about
medicine, he mentioned the best thing to do with
him would be to put him on Alcoholics Anonymous.
And if that didn’t work then ship him back to the
States.
Well, I knew I had a gem _ in this man; in
fact as far as I was concerned he was the number
one_in the Army as far as chaplains were
concerned and I looked at him as being the future
Chief of Chaplains, is what I thought of the man.
So here was the case here of a man being
recommended to go on AA. I said all right, this
is what the medics say, that’s the only way we
can help the man.
Now remember, I got a unit on training
cambat and all like that, my mission is is there
and I wasn’t giving him too mich thought maybe,
which I should have given to the man. I knew
that because I had a wife and five children over
there, so I had a cammnication with the
dependents. I had people like McCoid, he’s one
of the many fine officers I had as well as
Sergeant Roeigiers, real good people. They
wouldn’t allow any scandal out there. Well, as
soon as this fellow goes dowm into the AA,
scandal would came up from all channels.
I wasn’t really thinking, to tell you the
truth, at that time. It’s what the doctor said
and that’s where I---and I say this is where the
problem started. This is where I should have
been thinking more and this is where I got the
wrong dope, from the doctor. So here I am saying
well, now I’m helping the guy, I should say
Father, and I wasn’t I was destroying him. I
utterly destroyed the guy because I put himin a
position...
(Witness becomes emotionally upset. )
Counsel: Are you all right, Colonel?
Chairman: Just take a few minutes to
campose yourself, Colonel. It’ll be all right.
Take your time.
(Witness continues upset for a few seconds.)
Counsel: Might I suggest...
A No, Icangoon. So I put him in a
position where he was realiy frustrated. I have
the efficiency report here. You people refer to
48A, that’s Colonel McCoid’s...
Counsel: That’s Exhibit 48A you’re
referring to?
A That’s 48A. If you look on page 2, "a"
paragraph, 10 lines up, here is Colonel McCoid:
"I am ashamed to admit that on at least two tests
I instructed Father Cowhig..." et cetera, et
cetera, "...let them go to hell."
So here’s the executive officer telling this
lowly captain, as far as USARYIS, "tell them to
go to hell." Here I am, a colonel, telling him
to go to AA.
So here is the man right in the middle.
What is he going to do? What would you do? = You
would have blown your stack, that’s what you
would have done. This man was remarkable that he
was able to stay in and do his job.
problem, because what you had here, and I didn’t
know it and the doctor I guess didn’t even know
it, that this man had hypertension and
nervousness, counter-balanced with the so-called
use of alcohol. Well, the use of alcohol might
have been minor then, but as soon as he moved
into the AA he got a stigma attached, and
everything was from then on he’s a drunk and
associated with liquor and so on. That was not
the case.
So what had happened was that we should have
in the Army treated this person for this medical
field, and instead this was overshadowed by the
use of alcohol. And that’s what I say the whole
thing °
Now, I’d say the whole cause of this, three
people. I’d say this guy, I’d say Father Walsh
was €a vain, opinionated, jealous of his
authority, and all this business here that came
up about the scandal, morale and welfare about
this guy, a bunch of lies.
Father Walsh tied in with a personality here
that overshadowed him, and he was on a senior
level. At this time I was down there and I was
banging into the staff from the line. And then we
ran an operation in Hiramota (phonetic), an
island close by, so we could get jungle training
for our men, E and E, evasion and escape.
We sent one of our officers to Malasia, to
the British jungle school. He came back and said
it was wonderful. So here I am, I thought boy, I
got samething really going. The next thing I’m
called in from USARYIS for tearing up the land
because it was the Okinawans’ area where they
wanted to live and so on.
Right away we started to get same behind the
eight ball, the novelty wore off. When we first
arrived there we had---so we would ingratiate
ourselves with the command who we called Legs,
incidentally, they were paratroopers, and when we
came in there we came in as a combat unit with
one idea, going into Southeast Asia. That’s the
way I_was briefed. And we were going into
Southeast Asia and we came into Okinawa as a
quiet, tranquil area.
The first few days we were there, you know,
get in nice with the command and tell them, so we
set up sky diving. We had five people jump out,
the winds were up and they were caming down and
thought they opened pretty good and the last one
I thought he was going in and who was it? Father
Cowhig.
The men were crazy about him, doing stuff,
just risking his life and all that stuff.
I just wanted to mention that I see the
cause of this, one fram Hannum, one from Walsh,
and one from me, for not having the foresight to
look in and take care of the guy. That’s the way
I look at it.
Q Colonel McMahon, if I may, the record
indicates, in certain elements of the record it
is indicated that the Applicant was relieved fram
command when his assignment was terminated...
A No...
. A We had been assigned a responsibility for
participating in a airborne entry into Laos with
the probability of dropping on the city of Hai
Binh Khouang and also to seize the Nong Khay
10
Ferry by drops, both north and south of the
river, so that larger numbers of American forces,
particularly the 3rd marine Division, would be
able to came in and secure the area. At the time
when Captain Kuong Lai had seized the government
temporarily and when the center- and right-wing
elements under Saravane Phu Bia and Phy Menovason
were particularly active and the United States
was very mich concerned because of the activity
of the Chinese on the northern frontier, and,
also, or course, the diversionary strength of
North Vietnam and their apparent aggressive
intentions there.
Q Colonel McCoid, at the time in question,
was the mission or the missions of your
organization of a classified nature?
A They were, highly classified, indeed.
Q Were some of these missions--I don’t want
to breach security--I have no security clearance
at this time--were missions of your organization
made known to the Applicant at that time?
11
A They were made known to the Applicant
because he was an important member of our staff
and essential to our success in battle. They
were not broadly known on the island of Okinawa.
they were known by the planning staffs, 9th
Corps; they were known to the planning staff of
the 3rd Marine Division and to our om people.
But, certainly, anyone without the need to know
was not given access to these.
Q Now, how frequently would you have
contact with the Applicant in this time frame
between June of 1960 and October of 1961?
A On an official basis, I would talk to him
with great regularity, two or three times a week,
but I saw him every day, and on a_ social basis,
of course, I saw him--we were a small, cohesive
organization, rather ingrown, perhaps, and I__ saw
him a great deal there.
Q Would this be including after-duty hours?
A Oh, yes. It was a close--quite close,
personal relationship, actually. Q All
12
right. Now, as far as offices were concerned,
where was your office in relation to the
Applicants?
A We were both on the second floor of the
Headquarters Building and the entrances to our
offices were diametrically, or diagonally
Opposite, I should say.
Q Incidentally, what was the size of the
island?
A Well, it was 67 miles long--and statute
miles--and it could be at one point as wide as 16
miles and as narrow at one point as just over a
mile. It was small and constricted.
Q In that statement, Colonel, you mentioned
the matter of pressure--pressure--the Applicant
being under pressure--and Counsel has indicated
to the Board in his opening remarks that one of
the factors that we feel are significant as far
as the Applicant’s functioning during this time
interval, particularly the June ‘’60-October ‘61
time frame, particularly in 1961, the matter of
13
their being essentially two chains of cammands,
two echelons of command, that he had to deal
with, each making demands upon him, one being
your organization and one being from the USARYIS,
9th Corps, particularly the one of the senior
chaplain, at all times relevant to the case, Rev.
Walsh. Is it in fact and was it in fact a
significant factor bearing upon the Applicant’s
performance of duty or his ability to perform
duty during this time?
A It certainly would have been. From my
point of view, I should say that--
Q Please.
A --his performance of duty was always
marvelously fine. I could never have reproved
him for any failure. He was a classic example of
what a chaplain should be. Now, I’m not a
Catholic and I do not know whether his
performance of all his Catholic functions met
muster with his ecclesiastical superiors. Fram
the soldier’s point of view, had I carved one
14
fram stone, I would not have had a better man
than this.
Q And did this prevail throughout his
entire tour of duty?
A In my experience, it certainly did. He
was never, never found wanting in any particular.
Q And is the Board to understand--Counsel
has mentioned this conflict--how did this--as you
perceived it and observed it, how did this
conflict affect his operating?
A Well--
Q What do you recall? Can you recall any
specific circumstances that you can--
A He was a noncomplainer, but he was on
occasion put into impossibly difficult situations
and I was sometimes the author of these. We
would have operational requirements and at the
same time he would have been assigned area
coverage responsibilities by Captain Walsh, who
was the Senior Catholic Chaplain, whose
responsibilities were chaplain coverage,
15
island-wide. And where these clashed he required
guidance and he would came to me and say, "Here,
I face these two conflicting requirements,
demands on my time. Which has priority?" I used
to say to him, "Chaplain, where are you assigned?
Who writes your efficiency report? And if that
leaves you with any doubt, you tell them to go to
hell, because you belong to us and you’re going
with us, and I don’t care whether these other
requirements are met. You belong to this
organization." I was a Lieutenant Colonel. He
was a Captain. It was unfair of me to have told
him to tell them to go to hell, but I did. I
suppose I was a bit less mature than I am now.
Q Did you in fact use such language?
A Oh, yes, certainly.
Q In fact, it may be tempered under the
circumstances?
A Well, I wouldn’t have used anything much
more profane than that, certainly, but I would
have asked them told them to.
16
Q Did the chaplain comply with your wishes?
A I am sure he did not. I’m sure he did
not. He is a few years older than I am amd I
think probably he understood the proper
approaches to be used and I’m perfectly persuaded
that he never communicated that to higher
headquarters.
Q No. What I’m saying, Colonel, he did
obey--
A He obeyed our instructions, yes. Yes, he
certainly did.
Q And you had a realization that this was
causing him--
A I didn’t know what it was causing to him
internally, but I certainly knew that he was
under--I can apply pressure and I applied it in
his case and there was no doubt left in his mind
as to where he was to be.
Q Now, when you went on these missions.
For instance, is the Board to understand you went
to the Philippines?
17
Yes.
Korea?
Yes.
And where else?
r Oo PrP OD O
Taiwan.
Q At those times, were your specific
missions highly-classified missions, or the plans
for them?
A Yes, they were certainly classified.
They were classified at secret level, as all
planning or exercises were at the time.
Q Now, is the Board to understand as far as
the Applicant went to Rev. Walsh who may have
made some--say do this or do that or do something
else, sorry, I’ve got to go off with my unit--is
it not a fact that the Applicant would not have
been able to disclose the specifics of the
actions or the operations?
A No. He would not have been because
Chaplain Walsh did not have a need to know.
Q And was the information on a need-to-know
18
basis?
A Yes, yes.
Q Did you perceive--and I believe in your
statement--I may be wrong--but it seems to me
that in your statement you indicated that he was
antagonizing his ecclesiastical superiors by
complying with the needs of his organization?
A- Yes. I felt he had to be because he was
not able to camply with them...
Q Did you at any time observe the applicant
under the influence of alcohol?
A Never...
Q Would you describe his personality and
his overall makeup one being a hard charging,
hard driving individual?
A One of the most aggressive and effective
chaplains I’ve ever seen. Our people weren’t all
Catholics by a long shot. We had same people who
didn’t believe in anything other than their om
physical powers, but they trusted him, they
confided in him and I suppose the word "love" is
19
extreme but perhaps a good number loved him.
© §@ Dr. Roark, in connection with your
testimony, you’re aware that the nature of the
request of the Applicant, namely, that he’s
requesting the voiding of his discharge in 1962
with a correction of the records to show that he
continued on active duty until he had campleted
sufficient service, either 20 or 30 years, to
retire, and then, thereafter, be retired by
reason of years of service. You’re aware of the
nature of the request?
A I’m so advised by Counsel.
Q All right. And in connection with the
correction of the records, as a matter of law one
would ordinarily need to be deemed ready, willing
and able to serve on active duty. In that
regard, is it the essence of your testimony that
he could have been treated in 1961 by campetent
medical authority and returned to duty? Is _ that
the essence of your conclusions? I’m getting the
cart before the horse, but is that the essence of
20
your conclusions?
A That’s my opinion...
7 As you will recall in my testimony before the
ABCMR I drew upon my 5-hour _ psychiatric
examination of you on September 7, 8 and 23,
1983, plus the report from Wolfgang Riedel,
Ph.D., of his 3 hours of psychological testing on
September 9, 1983. The opinion expressed in the
Dissent that my examination was invalidated by
the twenty plus years that had passed since your
illness on Okinawa (1961-61) does not take into
account the intensity, thoroughness and
sophistication of your 8 hour examination by Dr.
Riedel and myself. The Dissent also shows
naivete in assuming that the "facts" I adduced
from my examination were based solely on your
verbalized memory of events in your life twenty
years earlier. Another implication in the
Dissent was that my clinical judgment was
impaired or ofessionally influ by my
retention by your attorney for the sole purpose
21
of facilitating his presentation of our case. I
interpret this implication as suggesting that my
conclusions were less than objective, if not
myopic in effect; and that my motive in accepting
your case was less than professional, both of
which implications I reject outright. The
Opinion of the Board (which consisted entirely of
non-medical members) should have been reached on
the basis of weighing all the ffacts, as
presented, not (as in the Dissent) devaluing the
conclusions of the examining psychiatrist and
psychologist."
"The essence or central point of my
examination findings and conclusion was that your
illness on Okinawa in 1961 was due to a
psychoneurosis, (generalized anxiety disorder)
which you were attempting to self-treat through
increasing your use of alcohol ffor its
tension-reducing and sedative effects. I believe
that had your condition _ been accurately
diagnosed, and had appropriate treatment been
22
ided tent mili medical sonnel
in_ 1961 or 1962, that your symptams could have
been mitigated or resolved and you then could
have returned to duty."
"As_to Dr. Franklin’s inexperience and
questionable competence, the absence in the
narrative summary of your Walter Reed General
Hospital (WRGH) hospitalization of any reference
to the psychologically traumatic loss of your
mother, or to the’ childhood experiences
sensitizing you to the possibilities of
mutilating injury or death would suggest the
same. Presumably, he was supervised in his work
so that the failure to secure senior psychiatric
consultation and psychological testing may not be
laid entirely on him.
The absence of any medical or psychiatric
treatment at WRGH is not surprising, given the
guarded prognosis ffor rehabilitation and
recommendation for "administrative disposition"
of case Dr. Franklin. Once again, I
alli aa aati a ir tb Ar eat
23
believe that the outcame of your hospitalization
at WRGH represented an error in the diagnosis and
medical management of your case. Had you been
diagnosed as having an anxiety disorder and
treated appropriately for it, I believe there
~- would have been a _ favorable prognosis _for
remission of your symptams, allowing you _to
return to your military duties.
I believe the notation in the transcript "no
audible response" to a question by Mr.
Kabatchnick concerning whether I thought your
condition was in the line of duty (LOD) or
whether it had existed prior to service (EPTS)
reflected my uncertainty as to whether or not I
had fully understood his question. I did clarify
My Opinion on those questions on the bottom of p.
204, "I think...he was clearly in the performance
of his military duties (LOD) and...I doubt that
it (the condition of abuse of alcohol, manifested
by excessive alcoholic intake under stressful
situations) existed prior to service."
24
Finally, you asked me to clarify my response
to a Board member (Mr. Hobbs) asking me to
comment on whether your seeking justice and fair
treatment from the Amny via your petition to the
ABCMR amounted to "a crusade." I found my reply
on a page numbered "215B": I don’t know whether
he thinks of himself as a crusader. I think he
may well function in that capacity, in terms of
how diligent he’s been in persevering in bringing
his case to the attention of the authorities.
(See appendix)
. "At this point President Eisenhower stated
that Laos is the present key to the entire area
of southeast Asia. If Laos were lost to the
Communists, it would bring unbelievable pressure
to bear on Thailand, Cambodia and South Vietnam.
President Eisenhower stated that he considered
Laos of such importance that if it reached the
stage where we could not persuade others to act
with us, then he would be willing ‘as a last
desperate hope,’ to act unilaterally..."
25
Also pertinent in this situation and in
regard to Question 10 am 11, in questions
presented, is the official teaching of my Church,
in effect in 1961 by Canon Law and later (1965)
confirmed by the assertion of the Second Vatican
Council, "The Church, at all times, carries the
responsibility of reading the sians of the times
and interpreting them in the light of the
Gospel." (Pastoral Constitution of the Church
s
in the Modern World, No. 4)
’ Rules of Evidence in regard to Records:
Rule 1002 - Requirement of original - to
prove the content of a written recording or
photograph the original, writing, recording, or
photograph is required unless as_ otherwise
provided in these rules or by an Act of
Congress.
Rule 1003 - a duplicate is admissible to the
same extent as an original unless 1) a genuine
question is raised as to the authenticity of the
original, of 2) in the circumstances it would be
26
unfair to admit the duplicate in lieu of the
original.
Rule 1004 - Admissibility of other evidence
of contents - The original is not required, and
other evidence of the contents of a writing,
recording, or photograph is admissible if 1)
originals lost or destroyed. All originals are
lost or have been destroyed, unless the proponent
lost or destroyed them in bad faith; or 2)
original not obtainable. No original can be
obtained by any available judicial process or
procedure; or 3) original in possession of
Opponent. At a time when the original was under
the control of the party against wham offered
that party was put on notice, by the pleading or
otherwise, that the contents would be a_ subject
of proof at the hearing, and that party does not
produce the original at the hearing; or 4)
Collateral matters - the writing, recording or
photograph is not closely related to a
controlling issue.
27
Notes of Cammittee on the Judiciary, House
Report number 93-650. the committee approved
Rule 1004(1) in the form submitted to Congress.
However, the cammittee intends that loss or
destruction of an original by another person at
the instigation of the proponent should be
considered as tantamount to loss or destruction
in bad faith by the proponent himself.
Federal Rules of Evidence
Rule 1005 - The contents of an official
record, or of a document authorized to be
recorded or filed, including data compilations in
any form, if otherwise admissible, may be proved
by copy, certified as correct in accordance with
Rule 902 or testified to be correct by a witness
who has compared it with the original. If a copy
which complies with the foregoing cannot be
obtained by the exercise of reasonable
diligence,then other evidence of the contents may
be given" (but the government certified under
seal that my Official Military Personnel File
MIE eo, "5
ANS hk SU REE LN
28
(OMPF) was "true and exact" without any General
Caraway document).
Rule 803 - Federal Rules of Evidence; 803,
in regard to hearsay exceptions, the following
are not excluded by the hearsay rule, even though
the declarant is available as a witness. (10)
Absence of Public Record or Entry - To prove the
absence of a record, report, statement or data
campilation in any form, or the non occurrence or
non existence of a matter of which a _ record,
report, statement, or data compilation in any
form was regularly made and preserved by a public
office or agency, evidence in the form of a
certification in accordance with Rule 902, or
testimony, that diligent search failed to
disclose the record, report, statement or data
compilation, or entry.
Rule 902 - Extrinsic evidence of
authenticity as a condition precedent to
admissibility is not required with respect to the
following: 1) Domestic public records under
29
seal. A document bearing a seal purporting to be
that of the United States...or of a political
subdivision department, officer or agency
thereof, anda _ signature purporting to be an
attestation or execution. 4) Applies to certified
copies of public records.
Domestic. An official record kept within the
United States, ...when admissible for any purpose
may be evidenced by an official publication
thereof or by a copy attested by the officer
having the legal custody of the record.... The
certificate may be made...or may be made by any
public officer having a seal of office and having
official duties...in which the record is kept
authenticated by the seal of the officer’s
office.
10 (d) "The President shall from time to time
examine the organization of all agencies and
shall determine what changes in such organization
are necessary to carry out any policy set forth
30
in subsection (a) of this section." Title of
interest now is 5 U.S.C. 901(a), "The Congress
declares that it is the policy of the United
States to promote the better execution of the
laws...."
At 706 - To the extent necessary to decision
and when presented, the reviewing court shall
decide all relevant questions of law, interpret
constitutional and statutory provisions, and
determine the meaning or applicability of the
terms of an agency action. The reviewing court
shall:
(1) compel agency action unlawfully withheld
or unreasonably delayed; and
(2) hold unlawful and set aside agency
action, findings, and conclusions found to be--
(A) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of
discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with
law;
(B) contrary to constitutional right, power,
privilege, or immmnity;
31
(C) in excess of statutory jurisdiction,
authority, or limitation, short of statutory
right;
(D) without observance of procedure required
by law;
(E) unsupported by substantial evidence in a
case subject to sections 556 and 557 of this
title or otherwise reviewed on the record of an
agency hearing provided by statute; or
(F) unwarranted by the facts to the extent
that the facts are subject to trial de novo by
the reviewing court.
In making the foregoing determinations, the
courts shall review the whole record or those
parts of it cited by a part, and due account
shall be taken of the rule of prejudicial error.
12
(B) On camplaint, the district court of
the United States in the district in which the
complainant resides, or has his principal place
of business, or in which the agency records are
situated, or in the District of Columbia , has
32
jurisdiction to enjoin the agency from
withholding agency records and to order the
production of any agency records improperly
withheld fram the complainant. In such a case,
the court shall determine the matter de novo, and
may examine the contents of such agency records
in camera to determine whether such records or
any part thereof shall be withheld under any of
the exemptions set forth in subsection (b) of
this section and the burden is on the agency to
sustain its action.
13
Access to records (i) the applicant will be
assured access to all official recordes that are
necessary to an adequte presentation of his case
consistent with regulations governing privileged
or classified material. It is the responsibility
of the applicant to procure such evidence not
contained in the official records of the
Department of the Ammy as he desires to present
in support of his case.
Legendary brigand said to be the son of
14
33
Poseidon who lived between Athens and Eleusis.
He ensnared strangers with hospitality, then
seized them and fastened them into a bed which he
then made fit, cutting short their limbs if they
were too long for it or racking them if they were
too short. Theseus applied the same treatment to
Procrostes and cut off his head. [Oxford
Campanion to Classical Literature, p.- 464. Ed.
M. C. Howatson, New Edition, 1989}
34
General Docket - Court of Claims
Case No. 427-80C
EDWARD D. COWHIG
vs.
THE UNITED STATES “4
Service Pay - Army
Attorneys
For PLF:
Reverend Edward D. Cowhig
245 Cardinal Cushing Highway
Greenbush MA 02040
Pro se
For U. S.:
Alexander Younger
Petition Filed Aug 12 80
5 Copies of Petition to Defendant
Amount Claimed: Not Stated
Plaintiff’s Address: See Above
Date
Aug 12
Sep 3
Oct 14
Nov 24
Nov 24
Nov 24
Jan 12
1980
1980
1980
1980
1980
1980
1981
35
Case No. 427-80C
Filing fee of $10 paid by
plaintiff.
Notice of reference to Trial Judge
C. Murray Bernhardt filed. Copy to
parties.
Defendant’s answer filed. Copies
(5) to atty.
Defendant’s motion to dismiss or,
in the alternative, for summry
judgment filed. Copies (5) to
atty.
Administrative Record (in one
volume) filed.
Defendant’s motion to _ waive
reproduction of the administrative
record filed. Copies (2) to atty.
ALLOWED DEC 10 1980.
Submitted to the court on
defendant ’s motion to dismiss or,
Feb 27 1981
Mar 6 1981
Mar 16 1981
36
in the alternative, for summary
judgment.
Court filed order dismissing
plaintiff’s petition. Copy to
parties.
Plaintiff’s motion to revoke order
of dismissal and permit hearing on
defendant’s motion to dismiss and
for summary judgment filed. Copy
to deft. SEE COURT ORDER OF APR 3
1981.
Defendant ’s response to plaintiff’s
motion to revoke order of dismissal
and permit hearing on defendant’s
motion for summary judgment filed.
Copies (2) to atty.
Apr 3 1981 Court’ entered order denying
plaintiff’s motion of March 6,
1981. Copy to parties.
37
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS
NO. 427-80C
Edward D. Cowhig
Ve
The United States
Edward D. Cowhig, Pro se
Alexander Younger, with whom was Acting Assistant
Attorney General Thomas S. Martin, for defendant.
Before NICHOLS, Judge, Presiding, BENNETT and
SMITH, Judges.
ORDER
This action is before the court. on
defendant ’s motion to dismiss on the ground that
plaintiff’s claim is barred by the statute of
limitations or in the alternative for summary
38
judgment on the ground that there is no genuine
issue as to any material fact. Plaintiff has not
responded to this motion.
Plaintiff, Edward D. Cowhig, is a Roman
Catholic priest. He was discharged fram the Amy
Chaplain Corps on January 22, 1962, following his ;
voluntary resignation. He now seeks to have that
discharge declared null and void and requests
that this court remand the action to the Anny
Board for the Correction of Military Records and
direct the board to expunge his_ records.
Plaintiff also seeks money damage sin an
unspecified amount.
All claims brought against the United States
must be commenced within six years after the
right of action first occurs or they are barred.
28 U.S.C. 2401(a) (1976). A claim for active
duty pay accrues upon the discharge of the member
form the service. Since this action was not
brought until 18 1/2 years after discharge and
the right of action occurred, it is barred by the
39
statute of limitarions. We need not address
other defenses caused by the government or the
merits of the cause of action.
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, that defendant’s
motion to dismiss be and the same is granted,
plaintiff’s petition is dismissed.
BY THE COURT ’
(SIGNED)
PHILIP NICHOLS, JR.
JUDGE
40
DIST OFF DOCKET YR/NO FILING DATE J N/S O
101 1 81/1616 6 25 81 2 890 1
JUDGE NO COUNTY DOCKET YR/NO
0110 25023 81 1616-C
PLAINTIFFS
EDWARD D. COWHIG
(CITE THE US CIVIL STATUTE UNDER WHICH THE CASE
IS FILED AND WRITE A BRIEF STATEMENT OF CAUSE)
OTHER - 28 USC 1361 - Plaintiff seeks order
campelling Secretary of the Army to order hearing
before the Army Board for Correction of Military
Records.
41
ATTORNEYS
Alexander F. X. Matulewicz, esq.
Six Beacon St.
Boston MA 02108
742-6677
AUSA GREG FLYNN
42
CA 81-1616-C
NR.
01
02
03
04
05
PROCEEDINGS
Camplaint, FILED. Summons issued.
Deft.’s motion to. dismiss, FILED.
Memorandum of points and authorities in
support of same attached and FILED. cs.
Pltff.’s motion for enlargement of time to
file memorandum in opposition to deft.’s
motion to dismiss, FILED. cs.
CAFFREY, CH. J., re: #3 MOTION ALLOWED.
TIME EXTENDED TO 10-23-81. cc/cl.
Pltff.’s motion for enlargement of time to
file memorandum in opposition to deft.’s
motion to dismiss, FILED.
CAFFREY, CH. J., re: #4 MOTION ALLOWED.
TIME EXTENDED TO 10-26-81. cc/cl.
Pltff.’s reply to deft.’s motion to
dismiss, and memorandum in support of same
attached and FILED.
CAFFREY, CH. J., re: Case called for
hearing on deft.’s motion to dismiss;
06
07
08
43
arguments; motion taken under advisement.
CAFFREY, CH. J., MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
ENTERED...1) Deft.’s motion to dismiss is
allowed. 2) Complaint dismissed; ‘judgment
for the deft. cc/cl, BNA, NCAI, CCH, MLW &
MS.
Notice of appeal filed. c/s FF Pd.
Certified copy of docket & Original
pleadings forwarded to court of appeals.
Opinion received from the Court of Appeals
entered. ..affirmed.
Mandate received from the Court of Appeals
entered. ..affirmed.
44
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
EDWARD D. COWHIG
PLAINTIFF CIVIL ACTION NO. 81-1616-C
March 31, 1982
CAFREY, Ch.J.
This is a civil action, in the nature of
mandamis, in which the plaintiff, Edward D.
Cowhig, asks the Court fo compel "an officer or
employee of the United States...to perform a duty
owed...." 28 U.S.C. 1361. Specifically, the
plaintiff requests that this Court order the Amny
Board for the Correction of Military Records
(ABCMR) to hold an evidentiary hearing to
determine whether or not the plaintiff’s
discharge from active duty was improper and
45
should be declared null and void. The plaintiff
seeks a further order enjoining the ABCMR’s
consideration of evidence of his hospitalizations
in 1960 and 1961 during such hearing. The
defendant has moved to dismiss the action on the
grounds that the plaintiff’s claim is barred by
the doctrine of res judicata, the statute of
limitations and the doctrine of laches. After
hearing, I rule as follows.
In 1960, the plaintiff was a chaplain in the
United States Army stationed in Okinawa. It is
undisputed that prior to 1960, the plaintiff had
maintained an exemplary service record. During
1960 and 1961, the plaintiff was hospitalized on
four separate occasions for treatment of
alcoholism. the plaintiff’s final officer
efficiency report, dated October 7, 1961, stated
that he was an outstanding officer whose
performance had fallen below acceptable standards
due to alcohol abuse. On November 7, 1961, the
plaintiff tendered his unqualified resignation
46
from active duty. The resignation was accepted
on January 28, 1962, and the plaintiff received
an honorable, voluntary discharge.
In 1974, the plaintiff petitioned the ABCMR
for a change in his discharge status. The Board
held a lengthy hearing at which the plaintiff
testified. After hearing and after examination
of all the pertinent documents, the ABCMR found
that the plaintiff’s separation from the Anny
with an honorable discharge was in accordance
with the regulations in effect in 1962. The
Board also found, inbiaioetie; that the plaintiff had
resigned under duress since his ecclesiastical
endorsement had been withdrawn. Consequently,
the Board ordered that the plaintiff’s records be
corrected to show that his honorable discharge
was involuntary.
On April 13, 1977, the ABCMR agreed to
review an application by the plaintiff that it
reconsider the 1974 decision and declare that his
release from active duty in 1962 was null and
47
void. The Board considered the entire
administrative record and denied the plaintiff’s
request without a hearing, stating that the
plaintiff had failed to show "probable material
error or injustice." On September 24, 1979, for
a third time, the ABCMR agreed to review the 1962
discharge. The Board reached the same conclusion
as it had in 1977 and dismissed the plaintiff’s
claim without a hearing on March 26, 1980.
Thereafter, the ABCMR received several inquiries
from members of congress and once again agreed to
consider the plaintiff’s request for relief. the
Board reOexamined the administrative record and
additional evidence presented by the plaintiff.
On September 10, 1980, after extensive analysis
of all the evidence before it, the Board once
again dismissed the plaintiff’s claim without a
hearing.
While his last petition was pending before
the ABCMR, the plaintiff filed suit against the
United States in the Court of Claims. The
48
plaintiff sought to have his discharge declared
null and void and to obtain unspecified money
damages. On February 27, 1981, the Court of
Claims allowed the defendant’s motion to dismiss
the plaintiff’s petition. The Court of Claims
ruled that the cause of action had accrued in
1962 when the plaintiff was discharged fran
active duty and that consequently, the six-year
statute of limitations barred the plaintiff’s
claim.
On June 25, 1981 the plaintiff commenced the
present action against the Secretary of Army as
the person authorized to order the correction of
military records through the ABCMR. See 10
U.S.C. 1552(a).
Asserting that the Court of Claims decision
involved the issue of whether the ABCMR “abused
its discretion" by refusing to declare’ the
plaintiff’s discharge null and void,’ the
defendant argues that the instant action presents
49
the identical issue and is, therefore, barred by
the doctrine of res judicata. I agree.
A judicially created doctrine, res judicata
makes a final, valid judgment binding and
conclusive on the parties with respect to "all
matters, fact and law, that were or would have
been adjudicated in the proceedings." 1B Moore’s
Fed. Prac. 0..405(1) (1974) at 624. See e.g.
Lawlor v. vational Screen Service Corp., 349 U.S.
322 (1955). A party asserting res judicata must
prove that the parties are the same, that the
earlier judgment was final, and that the cause of
action resolved by a final judgment was the same
as that presently asserted. See e.g.
Missour-Kansas Pipe Line Co. v. United States,
312 U.S. 502 (1946).
I rule that the defendant has done so here
and that the doctrine of res judicata bars the
present action. First the defendant has shown
the required identity of parties between the
prior action and the present action. The fact
50
that the plaintiff nominally has brought the
present action against the Secretary of the Armny
does not disguise the reality that he still is
pursuing a claim against the United States. A
suit brought against "an officer of the United
States is a suit against the United States
itself." Hawaii v. Gordon, 373 U.S. 57 (1973).
Second, the Court of Claims clearly entered a
final judgment when it ruled that the statue of
limitations barred the plaintiff’s claim.
Finally, the plaintiff seeks the same ultimate
relief as he sought in the Court of Claims and
his contention that he seeks only a hearing
before the ABCMR simply exalts form over
substance.
Plaintiff seeks a hearing before the ABCMR
only in the hope that it will culminate in an
order that plaintiff recover back pay previously
denied as a result of several earlier
administrative and Court of Claims rulings. The
real purpose of this present case is to
51
ultimately gain the previously denied back pay.
As was stated in Mathis v. Laird, 324 F. Supp.
885 (M.D. Fla, 1971):
Plaintiff had his day in court. He
brought this same claim before the
Court of Claims which after
consideration dismissed it on the
ground that it was barred by the
statute of limitations. Plaintiff
cannot now file a new suit in a
different court...and relitigate his
claim.
Id. at 888; see also Boruski v. United States, 70
F.R.D. 553 (D. Mass., 1976) (present action an
effort to relitigate earlier claim; barred by res
judicata) .
Therefore, I rule that the doctrine of res
judicata bars plaintiff’s claim and that the
defendant’s motion to dismiss should be allowed.
Order accordingly.
Signed: Andrew A. Caffrey, Ch.J.
52
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
CIVIL ACTION
NO. 81-1616-C
53
ORDER
March 31, 1982
CAFFREY, Ch. J.
In accordance with memorandum filed this
date, it is ORDERED:
1. Defendant’s motion to dismiss is
allowed.
2. Camplain dismissed; judgment for the
defendant.
Signed: Andrew A. Caffrey, Ch.J.
54
GENERAL DOCKET
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT
APPEAL FROM UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
CASE NO. 82-1352
TITLE OF CASE
EDWARD D. COWHIG
Plaintiff, Appellant,
Ve
JOHN O. MARSH,
SECRETARY OF THE ARMY,
Defendant, Appellee.
ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT
Edward D. Cowhig, Pro se
245 Chief Justice Cushing Hwy.
Greenbush MA 02040
545-4330
55
ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLEE
Gregory C. Flynn, Esquire
1107 P.O. & Courthouse
Boston MA 02109
223-1755
No. Below: C.A. 81-01616
Judge Below: Caffrey, J.
Date of Order: March 31, 1982
Notice of Appeal Filed: April 14, 1982
(request for hearing)
Fees paid
56
GENERAL DOCKET
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT
CASE NO: 82-1352 EDWARD D. COWHIG V. JOHN O.
MARSH, SECRETARY OF THE ARMY.
DATE - FILINGS~PROCEEDINGS
1982
April 20 Copy of notice of appeal and district
court docket entries received and
filed and case docketed. Notices
mailed. (cb)
Apr. 23 Record on appeal consisting of one
volume received and filed. Notices
mailed. (1b)
Apr. 23 Appearance of Gregory C. Flym,
Esquire for appellee received and
filed. (1b)
Apr. 28
May 26
June 10
June 16
July 1
July 29
57
Appearance of Edward D. Cowhig, Pro
se for appellant received and filed.
(1b)
Statement of issues received and
filed. (1b)
Motions filed. Order (Campbell, J.)
granting leave to the parties to refer
to the original record without
reproduction in appendix form = and
enlarging the time for filing the
brief for appellant to June 10, 1982.
Notices mailed. (cb)
Brief for appellant received and
filed. Notices mailed. (lb)
Request for oral argument received and
filed. (lb)
Brief for appellee received and filed.
(1b)
Order (Campbell, J.) granting
appellant’s request for oral argument.
58
Aug. 23 Assigned for hearing at the September,
1982, session. Notices mailed. (cb)
Sept. 17 Heard by Davis, Campbell and Breyer,
JJ. (as)
Nov. 22 JUDGMENT: The judgment of the
district court is affirmed. Opinion
of the court by Davis, J. Notices
mailed. (lb)
Dec. 6 Petition for rehearing and rehearing
en Banc, received and filed. (as)
Dec. 17 ORDER: (Coffin, Ch.J., Davis,
Campbell, Bownes and Breyer, JJ)
denying the petition for rehearing and
rehearing en banc. Notices mailed.
Dec. 28 Taxation of costs filed. Mandate
issued, copy file and original papers
to follow. Notices mailed. (lb)
1983
Jan. 14 Original papers returned to _ the
district court. (lb)
Mar. 21 Petition for certiorari filed Supreme
Apr. 21
59
Court (No. 82-6395) March 16, 1983.
(ar)
Order of Supreme Court’ denying
certiorari (#82-6395) April 18, 1983.
60
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the First Circuit
No. 82-1352
EDWARD D. COWHIG,
Plaintiff, Appellant,
Ve
JOHN O. MARSH,
SECRETARY OF THE ARMY,
Defendant, Appellee.
APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
[Hon. Andrew A. Caffrey,
U.S. District Judge]
Before
Davis*, Campbell and Breyer
Circuit Judges.
61
Edward D. Cowhig, pro se
Gregory C. Flynn, Assistant United States
Attorney, with whom William F. Weld, United
States Attorney, was on brief, for appellee.
November 22, 1982
*Of the Federal Circuit, sitting by designation.
62
DAVIS, Circuit Judge. Appellant Edward D.
Cowhig, Jr. (Father Cowhig), then a Catholic
chaplain with the Regular Ammy, resigned from the
Anmy in January 1962 with an honorable discharge.
In 1981, he brought this civil suit in the
District Court for Massachusetts to direct the
Army Board for the Correction of Military Records
(Correction Board) to determine whether his
discharge from active duty was improper, and
whether he should be reinstated on active duty.
Chief Judge Caffrey (om March 31, 1982) dismissed
the action on the ground that it was barred by
res judicata. This appeal followed.
The procedural history of Father Cowhig’s
claim shows that, while stationed in Okinawa in
1960-61, he had same difficulties with alcohol,
and on November 7, 1961, he tendered his
resignation which was accepted on January 28,
1962. His claim has been that this resignation
was not voluntary but was induced by mistaken
action of ecclesiastical authorities attributable
63
to erroneous and perhaps fraudulent information
supplied by the Army personnel. Thereafter he
made numerous informal attempts to return to
active duty. In July 1973 he asked the
Correction Board to correct his records to show
that his release from active duty was. not
voluntary but involuntary. This was done in
1974. The next year (1975) he again applied to
the Correction Board, seeking to have his release
nullified and that he be returned to active duty.
In June 1977 this request was denied. Father
Cowhig again (in September 1979) sought relief
fram the Correction Board which denied it in
March 1980 and once more in September 1980.
Plaintiff brought suit in the Court of Claims
which held (in February 1981) that his claim,
having been brought more than eighteen years
after his discharge in 1962, was barred by the
six-year period of limitations applicable to the
Court of Claims (25 U.S.C. 250) because the time
began to run from the date of his 1962
64
separation. Cowhig v. United States, Ct. Cl. No.
427-80C (reconsideration denied, April 3, 1981).
The present district court suit was then filed on
June 25, 1981.
65
We hold that, from whatever viewpoint we can
appropriately approach this case, the district
court was right in dismissing the action. On one
view, the six-year limitations statute on
district court suits against the United states
(see 28 U.S.C. 2401, the district court analogue
of 25 U.S.C. 2501, supra) and the decision of
the Court of Claims both apply directly to this
case because it is in effect an attempt to obtain
the monetary relief of back-pay from the United
States--a claim which had already been explicitly
determined to be precluded by limitations. The
district court below so held.
If, however, we accept Father Cowhig’s
belated disavowal of monetary relief (see note
1, supra) and assume that he seeks no more than
the prospective affirmative relief of restoration
to active duty, we reach the same result. It may
be (we do not decide) that 28 U.S.C. ss 2401,
which is not in terms restricted to monetary
claims, likewise bars, in itself, this type of
66
action asking affirmative relief which would
inevitably lead to the payment of federal money,
if only prospectively.
But even if ss 2401 is not directly
applicable, this action would be precluded by the
doctrine of laches. At the least, the decision
of the Court of Claims shows that plaintiff’s
basic claim first accrued in 1962 when he was
discharged, not when the Correction Board later
acted on his requests. Over eighteen years
elapsed before he sued in the district court.
Pursuit of permissive administrative remedies,
whether before the Correction Board or through
Congressional intervention, did not necessarily
toll the running of either laches or
limitations. Here, plaintiff’s court of
pursuing relief from the other tribunals, before
he sued in the district court, does not show that
his delay in filing suit below was a diligent or
reasonable postponement. He did not’ even
petition the Correction Board until 1973 (eleven
67
years after his discharge), and his successive
but fruitless petitions thereafter did nothing to
enhance his diligence. Nothing in the Board’s
determinations warranted him in delaying this
suit; the partial relief granted by the first
Board ruling was all that he requested and the
later decisions were wholly adverse. It appears,
rather, that he continued with unsuccessful
petitions to the Board, then jumped from that
tribunal to another, and then still another, all
the while simply seeking a renewed chance to win
his case on the merits.
On the other hand, the Government has
undoubtedly been prejudiced. Memories of the
events of 1960-61 have faded in these 18 plus
years, and same personnel may no longer be
available. See Deering v. United States, 620
F.2d 242, 246, 223 Ct. Cl. 342, 350 (1980). This
is especially important in this case in which
Father Cowhig places mich of his reliance on a
challenge to the authenticity of a letter from a
68
high-ranking Army officer shortly prior to
plaintiff’s discharge, and also asserts that the
statements in that letter were factually false.
Even were we to view Father Cowhig’s claim
in the most favorable legal light we can
imagine--namely as seeking simple court review of
a recent agency decision not to reopen--these
facts are sufficient to show that the decision
was reasonable and hence lawful.
The short of it is that, on any view we can
properly take, appellant’s suit in the district
court was either barred by a prior judicial
decision or was too late.
Affirmed
69
No. 82-1352
EDWARD D. COWHIG,
Plaintiff, Appellant,
Ve
JOHN O. MARSH, SECRETARY OF THE ARMY,
Defendant, Appellee.
JUDGMENT
Entered: November 22, 1982
This cause came on to be heard on appeal
from the United States District Court for the
District of Massachusetts, and was argued by
counsel.
Upon consideration whereof, It is now here
ordered, adjudged and decreed as follows: The
judgment of the district court is affirmed.
By the Court:
70
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT
82-1352
EDWARD D. COWHIG,
Plaintiff, Appellant,
Ve
JOHN O. MARSH, SECRETARY OF THE ARMY
Defendant, Appellee.
Before Coffin, Chief Judge, *Judge Davis
and Campbell, Bownes and Breyer, Circuit Judges.
ORDER OF COURT
Entered: December 17, 1982
Upon consideration of appellant’s **‘Petition
for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc’’,
It is ordered that said petition be; and the
same hereby is, denied.
71
By the Court:
Clerk.
*Of the Federal Circuit,
sitting by designation.
72
PROCEEDINGS
IN THE CASE OF:
COWHIG, EDWARD D.
016-14-7279
DATE: 21 & 26 September 1983
DOCKET NUMBER: AC77-01666G
INDEX NUMBER: 111.01, 134.01
I certify that hereinafter is recorded the
true and camplete record of the proceedings of
the Army Board for Correction of Military Records
in the case of the above-named individual. A
quorum was present during the hearing = and
deliberation. The - following findings,
conclusions and recommendations were adopted by
the Board.
Applicant requests correction of military
records as stated in application to the Board and
restated herein.
The Board convened at the call of the Chairman on
the above date and, following consideration of
the the case and having made its determination
73
thereof, proceeded to other business.
Present:
Mr. Joseph P. Murphy; Chairman
Mr Adrian U. Dubuisson; Member
Mr. William D. Masters, Jr.; Member
Mr. Philip E. Lavigne; Member
Mr. Jack E. Hobbs; Member
Mr. George Sowa; Executive Secretary (Acting)
Mr. Loren G. Harrell; Examiner
Applicant did appear before the Board. He was
represented by counsel.
The Board considered the following evidence:
Exhibit A Application for correction of
military records.
Exhibit B Military Personnel Records
Exhibit C Case Summary
Exhibit D Transcript of Hearing with
applicant’s exhibits.
The Board finds:
1. That the application was timely filed or the
Board has found it to be in the interest of
74
justice to excuse failure to timely file; that
the applicant has exhausted all administrative
remedies afforded by existing law or regulations.
2. That it incorporates in these proceedings and
adopts by reference thereto so much of the
Exhibits above, as pertains to the factual
showing of the Department of the Army records
which generally reflect:
a. that the applicant requests, as amended
by counsel during the course of the hearing, his
records be corrected by:
(1) voiding of his discharge from the United
States Ammy on 23 January 1962;
(2) correction of his records, and any other
system(s) of departmental records, to show his
retroactive restoration to active duty in a
commissioned status, effective 23 January 1962;
(3) correction of his records, and any other
system(s) of departmental records, to show that
he has served continuously on active duty in a
cammissioned status since 23 January 1962 or, in
75
the alternative, that he served on active duty in
a cammissioned status from 23 January 1962 until
2 January 1971, or such other date as may be
deemed necessary and/or appropriate, at which
time applicant was retired by reason of years of
service under the provisions of 10 U.S.C. Section
3911;
(4) voiding and expunging from his records,
of any and all other system(s) of departmental
records, of any and all documentation/information
relating to the resignation submitted by him on 7
November 1961;
(5) voiding and expunging from his records
an officer efficiency report for the period 13
July to 1 October 1961; and
(6) such other and/or further relief as may
be deemed necessary and/or appropriate in order
to accord him full and complete relief;
b. that the applicant states that he was
requesting reconsideration of his petition to
this Board in the interests of justice and
76
equity; that as he claimed in 1973, he was again
claiming that his resignation from the Regular
Army in 1961 was forced and hence invalid, null
and void and should be so declared; that his
reputation had been damaged and his character
defamed by false reports; that to what extent
that could be redressed and repaired, he was
uncertain; that he was asking only what was
feasible; that his own personal opinion was that
it could be samewhat restored, if he were
permitted to reenter active service, even at his
present age; that he feels that he was ready and
the
willing to resume duty even. with
paratroopers; and that he was aware of
administrative obstacles to that desire, but the
about 240 priest shortage of Catholic Chaplains
in the Army could alleviate that difficulty;
c. that the applicant, who was born on 28
March 1919, was appointed as a first lieutenant,
United States Army Reserve, on 16 November 1950
and ordered to active duty on 2 January 1951;
77
that he was pramted to the grade of captain,
Army of the United States, on 25 June 1954; that
he was appointed as a captain, Regular Anny,
effective 2 January 1955; that he had an overall
Efficiency Index of 135 as of 1961; that he had
been awarded the Army Commendation Medal, the
Master Parachutist Badge, the Korean Service
Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, and
the United Nations Service Medal; that he had
served overseas in Korea, Germany and Okinawa;
that he was selected for promotion to the grade
of major by the 1961 pramotion selection board;
and that on 23 January 1962, he was _ honorably
discharged, based on his voluntary resignation,
in the grade of captain, with over 11 years
creditable service;
d. that, upon the applicant’s medical
evacuation fram Okinawa, an officer efficiency
report was rendered covering the period 13 July
to 1 October 1961, wherein he received an overall
numerical rating of 144.8 out of a possible 240;
78
that the rater stated, in fact, under remarks
that the applicant had recently suffered fram a
nervous condition which had prevented him from
reporting for duty at the appointed time; that
the indorsed stated, in fact, that the
applicant’s performance of duty as a chaplain
would be outstanding except for the fact that at
various times he had required treatment caused by
hypertension and nervousness involving
alcoholism; that on three separate occasions
during the past year, he had been admitted to the
hospital suffering from despondency and anxiety
associated with alcoholism, that on at least one
other occasion, his medical officer treated the
applicant in his quarters for the same symptoms;
that since his last efficiency report, the
applicant, after consulting with the Chief of
Neuropsychiatric service, agreed to enter into
the group therapy sessions at the hospital and to
join Alcoholics Anonymous; that according to the
doctor, the applicant half-heartedly accepted the
79
treatment at the hospital and several times, he
either failed to be present or was late for
scheduled conferences of the group therapy; that
subsequent to these failings, the applicant
lapsed into an extreme period of anxiety and once
again proved his inability to control himself
resulting in his third medical evacuation to the
hospital; that in spite of these periods of
unreliability, the applicant had done extremely
well in attaining his religious objectives with
the troops; that he had been a definite asset to
the cambat team; and that he did have a
deficiency which marred his otherwise fine record
and did tend to negate his fine accomplishments;
e. that on 15 October 1974, the Under
Secretary of the Army approved the Board’s
findings, conclusions and recommendation of 14
August 1974 that the applicant’s military records
be corrected to show that he was involuntarily
released from active duty under the provisions of
Title 10 U.S.C. 3785, on 23 January 1962; and
80
f. that on 13 April 1977, 26 March 1980 and
10 September 1980, respectively, the Board denied
the applicant’s requests to have his military
records corrected to show that his release from
active duty on 23 January 1962 was null and void.
THE BOARD CONCLUDES
1. That based on the medical evidence of record,
and the sworn testimony, in behalf of the
applicant, by a civilian psychiatrist, the Board
is of the opinion that the applicant was not an
alcoholic, but abused alcohol for self-medication
treatment of an underlying anxiety reaction.
2. That in conjunction with the foregoing the
Board is also of the opinion that, had the
applicant been properly diagnosed, in 1960 or
1961, by a qualified psychiatrist, his condition
could have been treated and he would have
responded to such treatment.
3. That, had the applicant been afforded this
treatment, he would have been fully rehabilitated
and restored to duty.
81
4. That, upon restoration to duty, it is
reasonable to presume that he would have been
pramoted to the grade of major and continued to
perform his assigned duties in a _ satisfactory
manner until he campleted 20 years of active
service for retirement purposes.
5. That although a conspiracy against the
applicant was not conclusively proved at the
hearings, sufficient evidence was adduced to
create the appearance of such a conspiracy and
that conspiracy ultimately led to the
ill-advised, and literally forced and truly
unvoluntary resignation of the applicant from the
service.
6. That through an unfortunate combination of
circumstances, the actions of his religious
superiors effectively precluded the applicant
from seeking any meaningful source of recourse.
7. That in view of the foregoing findings and
conclusions, the Department’s acceptance of the
applicant’s resignation, without affording him
82
proper treatment and the opportunity to be
rehabilitated, has deprived him of promotion to
the grade of major and 20-year retirement
benefits, and therefore, is unjust.
THE BOARD RECOMMENDS
1. That all of the Department of the Amy
records of EDWARD D. COWHIG be corrected to show:
a. that his resignation from the service
and honorable discharge on 23 January 1962 are
void and of no force or effect;
b. that he was promoted to the grade of
major, Army of the United States, effective on
the date he would have been pramted as
recommended by the 1961, Major, Army of the
United States, Promotion Selection Board;
c. that he remained on active duty until
such time as he completed 20 years of active
service for retirement purposes; and
d. that, upon completion of 20 years active
service and his written application, he was
retired for length of service in the grade on
83
major.
2. That so much of the = application for
correction of military records which is in excess
of the foregoing be denied.
DISSENT
A minority, Messrs. Hobbs and Masters, dissent
from so much of the foregoing conclusions and
recommendation, as pertains to the applicant’s
promotion, restoration to active duty and
retirement, and recommend that his application be
denied in its entirety for the following reasons:
a. that in view of the numerous conflicts
between previous testimony and that now given
concerning the applicant’s alcoholism and severe
drinking problem, they are of the opinion that,
due to passage of time, the current testimony
lacks sufficient credibility to support’. the
contention that he was neither an alcoholic nor
85
had a severe drinking problem which affected his
duty performance;
b. that the applicant was an alcoholic and
had a severe drinking problem at the time of his
resignation from the Army; that this was fully
supported by the applicant’s own sworn testimony
before this Board in 1974 wherein he testified,
in effect, that, while stationed in Okinawa, he
abused alcohol; that it got the best of him and
he got dependent on it; and that he was an
"alky";
c. that the applicant’s abuse of alcohol was
affecting his performance of duty and tarnished
his image as an officer and Army Chaplain; that
this was fully supported by his many
hospitalizations for alcoholism and alcohol
related problems; that medical summaries describe
his treatment for alcoholism, including a
statement that on one occasion he failed to go to
work for four days because of being incapacitated
86
due to abuse of alcohol; and that his drinking
problem was made a matter of record in an officer
efficiency report and his sworm testimony, in
1974, that he heard through the "grapevine" that
he was an “awful drunk";
d. that the applicant was not a good
candidate for treatment and further
rehabilitation efforts for his alcoholism at the
time of his discharge; that this was based on the
fact that the applicant had been an Alcoholics
Anonymous failure and stopped attending
Alcoholics Anonymous while stationed in Okinawa;
that the applicant testified that he had gone to
Alcoholics anonymous’ meetings, read _ their
literature, talked to their guys, and alcohol was
still a mystery; that nobody forced him to drink;
that he drank by himself; that for him to have
sought psychiatric care would have, at least
subconsciously, been inconsistent with his
position; and that this would, in effect, have
been an admission on his part that the Army was
87
right and he was wrong;
e. that the applicant did receive proper
medical treatment and psychiatric evaluation
while on active duty; that this was evidenced by
his many hospitalizations for alcoholism and
drinking related problems; and that he failed to
after being discharged from the Anny;
f. that having thoroughly considered the
testimony of the civilian psychiatrist
specifically employed by the applicant for the
limited purpose of testifying before this Board,
the minority rejects same for the following
reasons; first, the passage of time has
significantly changed the testimony of the
applicant as is evidenced by the fact that his
testimony at his latest hearing is contradicted
by the sworn testimony at his former hearing same
10 years ago; that inasmuch as all evidence
indicates that Dr. Roark was employed by the
applicant and recently interviewed the applicant
88
solely preparatory to his testimony here and not
a part of ongoing analysis or therapy, it is
logical to presume that the applicant would
relate his current story, which is much nore
favorable than that related at his hearing in
1974 or at his release in 1962; that being the
case, it is logical to presume that his medical
Opinion is not based on the facts as they existed
at the time of his discharge; furthermore, there
is no reason to reject the medical evidence of
record, the same evidence that the applicant
agreed with in 1974, which was_ created
concomitant with the activities and direct
observation of the applicant at the tim of
treatment prior to discharge; it is concluded
that this evidence is more probative that that of
the testimony of the applicant’s psychiatrist
which was developed same 20 years after the fact
and based on somewhat questionable facts;
g. that they firmly believe that had the
applicant not tendered his resignation, he would
89
have been involuntarily separated fram the
service in a very short period of time due to
alcoholism; that this was based on the fact that
the applicant would not have sought psychiatric
help, that he would have continued to abuse
alcohol as evidenced by his numerous episodes of
drinking after discharge, civilian
hospitalizations, and the loss of a church parish
due to his abuse of alcohol; and
h. that notwithstanding the foregoing, the
Military Ordinate of the Catholic Church directed
the applicant to either tender his resignation or
lose his ecclesiastical endorsement; that he
could not function as a military chaplain and
remain on active duty without this endorsement;
and that, accordingly, they are of the opinion
that there is no basis on which to correct his
90
DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY
OFFICE, ASSISTANT SECRETARY
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20310
MEMORANDUM
28 Mar 84
MEMORANDUM FOR MR. CLARK
SUBJECT: Cowhig, Edward D., 016-14-7279
PURPOSE: To obtain the signature of the PDASA.
DISCUSSION: The memoranda at the tabs
implements your instructions to me
regarding Father Cowhig’s petition to
the ABCMR.
RECOMMENDATION: Please sign the memoranda at the
tabs and return to me for dispatch.
(signed)
John W. Matthews
Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary
(DA Rev Board Personnel Security)
Attachments
’
91
29 March 1984
MEMORANDUM FOR EXECUTIVE SECRETARY, ARMY BOARD
FOR CORRECTION OF MILITARY RECORDS
SUBJECT: COWHIG, EDWARD D., 016-14-7279
I have reviewed and considered the report of
proceedings, the case summary, military and
medical records, and the transcript of the
hearing held on 21 and 26 September 1983,
‘ concerning Edward D. Cowhig.
You will recall that it was I who directed
that a second formal hearing be afforded Father
Cowhig so that he could personally appear again
and present whatever new evidence he had to
offer.
Based upon my review of this second hearing,
it is my determination that no error or injustice
exists. While the majority of the Board
concluded that the applicant was not an
alcoholic; that he was not properly diagnosed and
treated by a qualified psychiatrist for an
underlying anxiety reaction; and that, had he
92
been properly diagnosed and afforded treatment,
he would have been fully rehabilitated and
restored to duty, I am not persuaded that this
was the case. My review of the facts and
circumstances surrounding the applicant’s case
reveals that: (a) by his swom testimony in
1974, he admits to being an alcoholic and
dependent on alcohol while stationed in Okinawa;
(b) he was not a good candidate for
rehabilitation and restoration to duty; (c) he
was properly treated by both qualified medical
doctors and psychiatrists, but continued to drink
excessively; (d) he made little or no attempt to
participate in an alcoholics anonymous program
and he could not accept psychiatric care; and (e)
he continued to abuse alcohol after his discharge
from the service, to a degree which caused him to
lose his church parish and to be hospitalized on
many occasion for alcohol abuse.
Contrary to the majority’s opinion, I find
no conspiracy, on the part of the Army, in the
93
applicant’s resignation. The applicant ’s
resignation was tendered as a result of the edict
of the military ordinate of the Catholic church,
which stated that he either resign fram the Amny
or lose his ecclesiastical endorsement. That
edict was based solely on his excessive abuse of
alcohol, which was affecting his performance of
duty as an Army chaplain and sullying his
reputation as a chaplain and as a priest.
In support of my determination, I concur
with and adopt the rationale submitted by the
minority. A memorandum for The Adjutant General,
indicating that the application has been denied,
has been signed and is attached.
{signed)
William D. Clark
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
(Manpower and Reserve Affairs)
Attachment
94
DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY
OFFICE, ASSISTANT SECRETARY
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20310
29 March 1984
SFMR
MEMORANDUM FOR THE ADJUTANT GENERAL
SUBJECT: COWHIG, EDWARD D., 016-14-7279
Having considered the findings, conclusions
and recommendation of the Army Board for
Correction of Military Records, and under the
provisions of 10 U.S.C. 1552, it is directed:
That in the case of EDWARD D. COWHIG, his
application for correction of military records
be, and hereby is, denied.
{signed)
William D. Clark
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
(Manpower and Reserve Affairs)
95
DIST OFF DOCKET YR/NO. FILING DATE J N/S 0
101 1 86/2192 07 24 86 28901
JUDGE NO. COUNTY JURY DEM DOCKET YR/NO.
0122 25025 P 86/2192-y
PLAINTIFFS
EDWARD D. COWHIG
DEFENDANTS
JOHN O. MARSH,
Secy of the Arny
CAUSE
(CITE THE U.S. CIVIL STATUTE UNDER WHICH THE CASE
IS FILED AND WRITE A BRIEF STATEMENT OF CAUSE)
10 U.S.C. 3781-86; 10 U.S.C. 1552; Lack of due
process- U.S. Amny
ATTORNEYS
Edward D. Cowhig, pro se
245 C.J. Cushing Way
Greenbush, MA 02040-0154
(617) 545-4330
AUSA Gelhaar
NR. PROCEEDINGS
10
11
12
13
96
Camplaint, filed, S/I, LR10/I, fee paid
Return of summons wso Wm. Weld, Attorney for
US, dtd 7/24/86, filed
Return on Service wso 13 AUG 86, Filed.
Deft mtn to extend time, filed, c/s.
Pltf’s opposition to Deft mtn to extend
time, filed.
Pltf’s mtn for Entry of Default, filed.
Pltf’s mtn for Judgment by Default, filed.
Affidavit in support of #6, filed.
Deft opposition to pltfs mtn for entry of
default and for judgment by default, filed,
c/s.
Deft mtn to dismiss, or, in the alternative,
mtn for S/J, filed, c/s.
YOUNG, DJ: Re: #4, Mtn ALLOWED,cc/cl
Copies of papers served upon US Atty on
9-23-86, filed.
Pltf’s opposition to deft mtn to dismiss, or
in the alternative, mtn for S/J, filed, c/s.
Affidavit of Edward Cowhig, filed, c/s.
14
15
16
17
18
97
YOUNG, DJ: The within mtn (#10) is set for
hearing on Nov 12, 1986 at 2 pm, KH, cc/cl
YOUNG, DJ: MOTION SESSION: Deft’s mtn to
dismiss; or for S/J. Insofar as this axn
depends upon the actions of the Board for
corrections of military records it is not
precluded. Activities that are prior to
that board’s actions are precluded. With
respect to the 1983 decision of Judge
Caffrey, CH.J. the Court takes U/A the issue
of whether this’ case involves a
non-reviewable military decision.
Pltf’s Brief after Oral Argument on mtn to
dismiss, filed, c/s.
Pltf’s Additional Brief after Oral Hearing
on Mtn to Dismiss, filed, c/s
Pltf’s Third Brief on mtn to dismiss, filed,
c/s.
Pltf’s Fourth Brief on mtn to dismiss,
filed, c/s
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
98
Pltf’s Fifth Brief on mtn to dismiss, filed,
c/s.
Pltf’s Sixth Brief on mtn to dismiss, filed,
c/s.
Transcript of hearing on 11-12-86, Filed.
YOUSG, DJ: MEMORANXM & ORIER CONCERNING
SETTLEMENT: Ptys directed within 30 days of
the date of this order to inform Court and
each other in writing of willingness to
accept settlement proposed (see order). If
case settles, fine; the Court will proceed
to enter appropriate judgment for neither
pty. If not, Court will act promptly to
dispose of case on the merits, cc/cl
CC of Ltr from Fr. Cowhig to Atty Gelhaar,
dated 10-6-87, filed.
CC of Ltr to Fr. Cowhig from Mr. Gelhaar re
settlement, filed.
Pltf’s RESPONSE to # 24, filed.
CC of Ltr to US Atty fram Pltf dated
10-19-87, filed.
27
28
29
30
31
99
YOUNG, DJ: Re #10, Settlement in this case
having impossible, the Court has
thoroughly reviewed the merits and rules as
follows: 1) this action is barred by the
principles of res judicata. While’ the
present appeal stems from an agency hearing
subsequent to the last appeal to this Court,
the issue is precisely the same as that
earlier presented. 2) In the alternative,
the Court rules that the Dept of the Anny
decisions herein were not arbitrary or
capricious. Accordingly this action mst be
dismissed and judgment mist enter for the
deft ,cc/1
YOUNG,DJ: AGMENT: be am hereby is
entered for the deft,cc/1l
NOTICE OF APPEAL filed.
Pltf’s MOTION for reconsideration,
filed,c/s.
Pltf’s MEMD in support of #29, filed,c/s.
FILING FEE PAID.
32
33
34
35
36
37
100
Pltf’s SECOND BRIEF in support of # 29,
filed, c/s.
Pltf’s MOFION for reconsideration or
amendment of judgment, filed,c/s
Deft’s to mtn for
reconsideration, filed,c/s.
YOUNG, DJ: Re: #29, DENIED,c/cl
Certified copy of docket amd original
pleadings certified this date to Court of
Appeals
Pltf’s MOTION for relief fram
judgment /vacate, filed,c/s.
YOUNG, DJ: Re: #35, DENIED,c/cl
Pleading #35, forwarded to court of appeals
on supp cert.
Second Notice of Appeal, filed. (Filing fee
pd).
Pleading # 4,5,6,7,8,11,23,36, forwarded to
court of appeals on supp cert.
Receipt of transcript request from pltf,
filed.
38
39
40
101
Pltf’s MOFION for relief from judgment or
independent action for relief, filed,c/s.
YOUNG, DJ: Re: #33, Upon consideration of
the merits of this mtn, it is DENIED,cc/cl
YOUNG, DJ: Re: #38, The pltf has appealed to
the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
from the judgment he attacked by way of this
pleading. That appeal is pending.
Accordingly, this Court is presently w/o
subject matter jurisdiction to act on this
mtn and therefore DENIES it, not on the
merits but on jurisdictional grounds,cc/cl
Pleading # 38, forwarded to court of appeals
con supp cert.
Pltf’s MOTION for
reconsideration/clarification of Court’s
actions on 12-14-87, filed.
YOUNG, DJ: Re: #39, No action can be taken
hereon, the case presently being on
appeal ,cc/cl
Pltf’s MOFICE of appeal, filed,c/s.
102
Pleading # 40 forwarded to court of appeals
on supp cert.
Pleading # 39, forwarded to court of appeals
qn sgp cert.
U.S. COURT OF APPEAL. MANDATE entered:
Judgment of the D.C. is AFFIRMED. filed,
103
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
EDWARD D. COWHIG,
Plaintiff,
Vv. CIVIL ACTION
NO. 86-2192-Y
JOHN O. MARSH, as he is
Secretary of the Anny,
Defendant.
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER CONCERNING SETTLEMENT
YOUNG, D.J. September 28, 1987
After lengthy service as an officer in the
Corps of Chaplains of the United States Amny,
Edward D. Cowhig, a Raman Catholic priest, was,
he believed, involuntarily albeit honorably
discharged from active duty. Since that time
Father Cowhig has pursued, with virtual single
minded devotion his dream of restoration to
active duty as an army officer at his former rank
together with all back pay and allowances. He
104
has diligently engaged in every
military-administrative review available within
the Department of the Army, has _ repeatedly
brought his perceived plight to the attention of
his representatives in Congress, and has_ twice
appealed to this Court. His first appeal having
proved fruitless, he sought and obtained further
administrative review within the Department of
the Army with equally dismal results. It is from
this latest administrative set back that he has
again appealed to this Court.
This is a case that cries out for an
amicable settlement. On the one hand, Father
Cowhig’s dream of restoration to active duty as
an officer in the United States Army is, given
the extremely narrow scope of review available in
his Court, probably just that--a dream. On the
other hand, the military justice system is
occasionally arbitrary and, samewhat' more
infrequently, seriously flawed. A number of its
most celebrated decisions have not stood the
105
judgment of history. Consider, for example, the
following four cases chosen virtually at random.
1842-~Teen-aged Naval apprentice Philip Spencer
(son of the Secretary of War) and two seamen are
convicted at a drum head court martial by their
mentally unbalanced captain, Commander Alexander
Slidell MacKenzie, of conspiring to incite a
mutiny and are promptly hanged fran the yardarm
of the U.S.S. Somers. MacKenzie is subsequently
acquitted at a formal court martial of any
misconduct, E. Potter ed. The United States and
World Sea Power 278 (Prentice Hall Inc. 1955); J.
Sweetman, American Naval History 50 # (Naval
Institute Press 1984); 1861--Brigadier General
Charles P. Stone imprisoned without formal
charges after the disaster at Ball’s Bluff in
which Senator (and Colonel) Edward D, Baker had
been killed. B. Catton, Mr. Lincoln’s Amny 73-80
(Doubleday & Campany Inc. 1951); 1S. Foote, The
Civil War 104-09 (Randam House 1958); 1862--Major
General Fitz John Porter is court-martialed,
106
cashiered, and disgraced as a scapegoat for the
incompetence of Major General John Pope! 3
3 1 Bull Run, B. Catton, Mr. Lincoln’s Armny
at 32-39; 1S. Foote, The Civil War at 758;
1926--Brigadier General William "Billy" Mitchell,
the prophet of American air power,
court-martialed and suspended from his rank for
five years for accusing the Navy and War
Departments of "“incampetence, criminal
negligence, and almost treasonable administration
of the national defense." J. Keegan & A.
Wheatcroft, Who’s Who in Military History 222-23
(William Morrow & Co. Inc. 1976).
As near as one can glean from Father
Cowhig’s pro se pleadings, his major complaint
stems from his perception that his honor,
dedication, and pastoral campetence have been
impugned by the manner in which he was caused to
be separated from his active duty--a step he
believes was’ taken based on wholly
unsubstantiated allegations. For its part, the
107
Army stresses the monetary implications of paying
to Father Cowhig the salary which would have been
due him had he remained on active duty as well as
the impact of the pension benefits which would
now be his had he continued to serve on active
duty. These circumstances lead the Court to
propose the following settlement terms viz: That
the Army up-grade Father Cowhig’s discharge to
the highest grade of honorable discharge fram
active duty, amending all necessary orders and
administrative determinations, such discharge to
be effective as of the date of his original
separation fram active duty. On his part, Father
Cowhig would abandon his claim for restoration to
active duty status, back pay, and allowances. By
way of comparison, this is roughly equivalent to
the vindication "with honor" achieved by Major
General Fitz John Porter (see above) by
Congressional action after a twenty-four year
wait. 1S. Foote, The Civil War at 758.
108
As the parties appear to have sare
difficulty negotiating directly, they are each
directed, within thirty days of the date of this
order, to inform the Court and each other in
writing of their willingness to accept this
settlement proposed, or something like it. If
the case settles, fine; the court will proceed to
enter an appropriate judgment for neither party.
If not, the Court will act promptly to dispose of
the case on the merits.
109
APPENDIX F—DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR DISMISSA
WITH BAND WRITTEN ORDER DATED OCTOHER 22, 1987
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
CIVIL ACTION NO. 86-2192-Y
EDWARD D. COWHIG.
Plaintiff,
JOHN O. MARSH, Secretary to the Anny,
Defendant.
DEFENDANT ’S MOTION TO DISMISS OR, IN THE
ALTERNATIVE, MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
Defendant John O. Marsh, as Secretary of the
United States Army ("defendant"), moves pursuant
to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), that the Court
dismiss plaintiff’s complaint for failure to
state a claim upon which relief can be granted
or, in the alternative, that summary judgment
enter in defendant’s favor. As grounds
therefore, defendant states that plaintiff’s
110
claim is barred by the doctrine of res judicata.
Moreover, even if plaintiff’s claim is not so
barred, it results from a decision of the
defendant which is a nonreviewable military
personnel decision.
111 ’
Young, D.J.:
10/8/86
The within motion is set for hearing on Nov. 12,
1986 at 2:00 PM, by the Court, K. Hart, deputy
clerk
ko * *
October 22, 1987: Settlement in this case having
proved impossible, the court has’ thoroughly
reviewed the merits and rules as follows: (1)
This action is barred by the principles of res
judicata. While the present appeal stems from an
agency hearing subsequent to the last appeal to
this court, the issue is precisely the same as
that earlier presented. (2) In the alternative,
the court rules that the Department of the Anny
decisions herein were not. arbitrary or
capricious. Accordingly, this action must be
dismissed and judgment must enter for the
defendant.
s/ William G. Young
District Judge
112
JUDGMENT ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT,
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
DATED OCTOBER 26, 1987
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
CIVIL ACTION NO. 86-2192-y
EDWARD D. COWHIG,
Plaintiff,
Ve
JOHN O. MARSH, Secretary of the Amny,
Defendant.
JUDGMENT
YOUNG, D.J. October 26, 1987
In accordance with the Court’s order of
October 22, 1987, it is hereby ORDERED:
Judgment be and hereby is entered for the
Defendant.
s/ William G. Young
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
113
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
Edward D. Cowhig, Pro Se
Plaintiff
Vv. Civil Action No. 86-2192Y
John O. Marsh, Secretary of the Amny
Defendant
Plaintiff’s Motion for Relief fram Judgment
and/or To Set Aside Judgment or to Vacate
December 2, 1987
Motion denied
William G. Young
District Judge
114
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
Edward D. Cowhig, pro se
Plaintiff
Civil Action No. 86-2192Y
JOHN O. MARSH, Secretary of the Army
Defendant
MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION AND/OR
AMENDMENT OF JUDGMENT
December 17, 1987
Upon consideration of the merits of this motion
it is denied.
William G. Young
District Judge
115
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
EDWARD D. COWHIG
Plaintiff pro se
Vv. CIVIL ACTION NO. 86-2192Y
JOHN O. MARSH, SECRETARY OF THE
ARMY
Defendant
Motion for Relief From Judgment or
Independent Action For Relief
Under Rule 60(B)(2)(3)(6) I move for relief
fram the order of this Court dated 22 Oct. 1987
and the judgment for the defendant made on 26
Oct. 1987. I petition this court in the
alternative to accept this as an independent
action.
To substantiate my claim for relief I submit
as evidence the transcript of the hearing
conducted by the
This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.