Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kahn v. Juniper Development Group, 114 S. Ct. 303 (1993) (No. 93-187)

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

No. FILE Dp

1’ AUG 2 4993

938-187 wm [as:,

Supreme Court of the Hnited ‘States

a

October Term, 1993

IN RE HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC., BRISTOL

TERMINALS, INC.,

Debtors.

HERBERT C. KAHN, Trustee for HEMINGWAY

TRANSPORT, INC. and BRISTOL TERMINALS, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, a Massachusetts

Partnership; and GEORGE D. WHITTEN, AMY WHITTEN

and CHARLES WHITTEN, as Trustees of 60 OLYMPIA

NOMINEE TRUST,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A. VAN C. LANCKTON

Counsel of Record

WILLIAM F. MACAULEY

MARTIN P. DESMERY

CRAIG AND MACAULEY

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

Attorneys for Petitioner

Federal Reserve Plaza

600 Atlantic Avenue

Boston, Massachusetts 02210

(617) 367-9500

(800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL - (800) BRIEF 21

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A. Future Response Costs Under CERCLA.

1. Does § 502(e)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code mandate

disallowance of a contingent claim for reimbursement or

contribution of environmental response costs under CERCLA,

where the costs have yet to be incurred and both the claimant and

the debtor are jointly liable to EPA for the cleanup?

2. Does the “co-liability” element of § 502(e)(1)(B) of the

Bankruptcy Code require that both the claimant and the underlying

creditor file proofs of claim against a debtor’s estate?

3. Is § 502(e)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code designed solely

to prevent two creditors from recovering on tl 2 same claim; or is

the statute also intended to effectuate the orderly and efficient

distribution of assets to creditors?

B. Administrative Expense Priority.

1. Does § 503(b)(1)(A) of the Bankruptcy Code afford an

administrative expense priority with respect to contingent claims

for environmental response costs that have not been (and may never

be) incurred?

2. Does § 503(b)(1)(A) of the Bankruptcy Code afford an

administrative expense priority with respect to the costs incurred

by the claimant in removing hazardous waste from property that is

no longer owned by the bankruptcy estate?

3. Does § 503(b)(1)(A) of the Bankruptcy Code afford an

administrative expense priority with respect to the cost of

remediating environmental hazards created pre-petition, in the

absence of (a) an imminent and identifiable harm to public safety,

or (b) any actionable, post-petition conduct on the part of the

Trustee?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceeding are those set forth in the caption.

Herbert C. Kahn is the chapter 7 bankruptcy trustee of Hemingway

Transport, Inc. and its wholly owned subsidiary, Bristol Terminals,

Inc. There is no parent company of Hemingway Transport, Inc.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented forReview ................+4-- i

POFIIOSSG UNG PIOCCOGING .. ww... ccc cc ccc c ccc ness li

PCS Ce ET eT eee Tee EEE ETE EE EET lil

ka neh ce heehee ene sees eee sane Vv

Opinions Below .............esceeeeeeees oor ee 2

i assess eae sisecaneveues 2

Statutory Provisions Involved ............-..+++e+055 2

Se PO eee EEE ETE TEE EEE Ee 3

vice beeen sad se esecneecesees 3

B. Sdidantine ES en ee 4

ee EN EEEUOOEY, ncn cece seen ncvececes 6

Reasons for Granting the Writ ............. 0 ee ee eee 8

I. The First Circuit decision in Hemingway involves

important questions of federal law about the proper

balance between the competing objectives of

CERCLA and the Bankruptcy Code. ........... 8

II. The First Circuit decision in Hemingway is in

conflict with the reported decisions of other Courts

IS, vee e ssc e scene essesesescsesans 10

iv

Contents

Page

A. Future Response Costs Under § 502(e)(1)(B).

ee eT ree eee eee eee yee ere Te 10

B. Administrative Expense Priority. ...-..... 14

1. The First Circuit Granted. An

Administrative Priority To Juniper’s

Claim For Contingent, Not “Actual,”

Response Costs UnderCERCLA. ..... 14

2. The First Circuit Granted An

Administrative Priority To Juniper’s

Claim For Decontaminating Property

That Did Not Belong To The Estate. ... 15

3. The First Circuit’s Decision Conflicts

With The “Midlantic National Bank”

Fg err ree Tre rr rere ee 16

III. The Hemingway opinion is in conflict with the

Supreme Court’s decision in Reading Co. v. Brown

and the reported decisions of other Courts of

| ST eeT TTT Tee eT Tey ee Per Ee TT 18

IV. The Hemingway opinion calls for the Supreme

Court to exercise its supervisory powers over the

MET See e Te ere Tre eer eee 20

CIN i Cactus eck cae eh eee eee 22

Vv

Contents

Page

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Artesian Water Co. v. Government of New Castle County,

GPE Freee CaO Ga, SOE) voc kas Sacer avan cose 8

Carter-Wallace, Inc. v. Davis-Edwards Pharmacal Corp.,

RES FiO eT CU BOP ED 64h Seda ce eckved aces 18

Daigle v. Shell Oil Co., 972 F.2d 1527 (10th Cir. 1992) ... 8

Helling v. McKinney, 61 U.S.L.W. 4648 (U.S. June 18,

| ene Per rer Tee eee eS ee 21

InreA & H, Inc., 122 B.R. 84 (Bankr. W.D. Wis. 1990) ... 13

In re Brio Refining, Inc., 86 B.R. 487 (N.D. Tex. 1988) ... 16

In re Carpet Center Leasing Co., Inc., 991 F.2d 682 (11th

oo | Sr ee ree e Pre ry ee rr renee 15

In re Charter Company, 81 B.R. 644 (M.D. Fla. 1987),

aff'd, 862 F.2d 1500 (11th Cir. 1989) .......... 10,11, 13,14

In re Chateaugay Corp., 112 B.R. 513 (S.D.N.Y.

1990), aff'd, 944 F.2d 997 (2d Cir. 1991) ........ 8,15, 16, 17

In re Chicago, Mil., St. P. & Pac. R.R., 974 F.2d 775 (7th

se | eee eee ee eT eee TTT TTT err Te eee 8,17

In re Combustion Equip. Assocs., Inc., 838 F.2d 35 (2d Cir.

SNE skh vo aR Naa sake Sen ROWS Te he RCOaeS 9

VI

Contents

Page

In re Dant & Russell, Inc.,951 F.2d 246 (9th Cir. 1991) ..

Le Weldw bee Lakes ios eknee eee 11, 12,13, 15, 16,19

In re E.A. Nord., Co., Inc., 78 B.R. 289 (E.D. Wash. 1987)

aun ad ee ede shed etew ence te een eee reese iees 18

In re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 73 B.R. 494 (Bankr. D.

PeeOG. Ter) skh civ ks bawconneet eee eres 2,7

In re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 105 B.R. 171 (Bankr. D.

DORON, SSE ois 03 has eee eee eee eee 2,7, 11

In re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 108 B.R. 380 (Bankr. D.

Panes. COGt avin) oek eens se eee 2, 6,7

In re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 126 B.R. 656 (D. Mass.

ROPE) oc ackca saver neuen eee aeeee ee eee 2,7

In re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 993 F.2d 915 (1st Cir.

ROO sks civ oaes 2,8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21

In re Pettibone Corp., 90 B.R. 918 (Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1988)

WUTTTCOCT TUTTE or ee 19

In re Pierce Coal & Constr., Inc., 65 B.R. 521 (Bankr. N.D.

W.Va EOD bh back aenesccwekn eae eee 19

In re Security Gas & Oil, Inc., 70 B.R. 786 (Bankr. N.D.

oO: ss ee ere rr re ee 19

In re Stevens, 68 B.R. 774 (Bankr. D. Me. 1987) ........ 16

Vil

Contents

Page

In re T.P. Long Chemical, Inc., 45 B.R. 278 (Bankr. N.D.

RD a Sach cscs Ne RGACiay eee en eee 16

In re Wall Tube & Metal Products Co., 56 B.R. 918 (Bankr.

E.D. Tenn. 1986), rev’d on other grounds, 831 F.2d 118

SG SEED Sk webe suas eshe40k eek sae eS 15,17

In re Wedtech Corp., 85 B.R. 285 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1988)

eGNakee Rh eee Raneke VR e ese eR UAE e NNT eee 13

In the Matter of Provincetown-Boston Airlines, Inc., 72

RR... S57 CE. HEIs PUR. USSD in ck cee cccesnes li, 12

J. Catton Farms vy. First Nat. Bank of Chicago, 779 F.2d

orig, (| | rere errr err sre 20

Marden Corp. v. C.G.C. Music, Ltd., 804 F.2d 1454 (9th

ob Aes eee eee ee Se ee 19

Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey Department of

Environmental Protection, 106 S. Ct. 755 (1986) ....9, 16,17

NL Industries, Inc. v. GHR Energy Corp., 940 F.2d 957 (Sth

Se Tere ery errr rrr eres re ee re i =

Ohic v. Kovacs, 469 U.S.274(1985) ..........0.000e- 9

Pease & Curen Refining, Inc. v. Spectrolab, Inc., 744 F.2d

oe ee ere Ter ret ere eer ee 8

Pennsylvania v. Union Gas Co., 491 U.S. 1(1989) ...... 8

vill

Contents

Page

Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395 (1975) .............. 21

Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968) ........ 9,18,19,20

Riverside Market Dev. Corp. v. International Bldg. Prods.,

Inc., 931 F.2d 327 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

bee Bee Ot ee ee Aree. en ee 8

Stanton Road Association v. Lohrey Enterprises, 984 F.2d

DRC UE Seuvdccenchivebas caecvhees ees 9

Southern Railway Co. v. Johnson Bronze Co., 758 F.2d 137

Se 0 cd hace cea aa eae 16,19

United States v. Fleet Factors, 901 F.2d 1550 (10th Cir.

1990), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 1046(1991) .......... 8

U.S. Dept. of Interior v. Elliot, 761 F.2d 168 (4th Cir. 1985)

OP re Perr er ree err Tye Tere TT Te ee Te 18

Yorke v. NLRB, 709 F.2d 1138 (7th Cir. 1983), cert.

Gonied, 465 U.S. WZS CFCS) cc ccc ccccecasesuces 18

Statutes Cited:

CE Teese ee EO, ca eek eek bebe ee nee reeks 3

Se ee es can hock cea ue ciee vad eee ees 13,20

bE ei ee 6 5 nso aN oe eee eee eee 12

Te Rees OED ae k-b-cuh a wcae en bees rede aera 12

ix

Contents

Page

11 U.S.C. §502(e)(1)(B) .....1,3, 4, 7, 8,9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 21

hie foe ho 4. tS eee rere rere reer res i,4,14,15

Ggth tog ft) eee eer Tee eee ee TST eee 2,4, 14

GRRE ake ge ete) ena an a ere Oar ys 20

yD SRM tee Bb): eee ere erie a o: 2

Sere PUT 5 co akc eu ke oeercadekent ens 3

ee PII eeepc Rede ssensatses cee 3,7

Rte ee ee oe ra eet cciecawsees Cueherees 3

ae ee ne ee re 3

Rules Cited:

oo Peer rer erererrer er ree eer rere 20

NEY TOE FOOD oo eho c cee ne ween neha 20

et re eeerrer rere rer eee eres 21

Other Authority Cited:

oo err rer Tee ere ree Tere ee 6

x

Contents

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit Dated May 4, 1993 ....:.

Appendix B — Opinion of the United States District Court

for the District of Massachusetts Dated March 26, 1991

COSCO EGAES BHO EO O4 OBESE SRO O EBA SE OOO EEE ODO OYE OD

Appendix C — Opinion of the United States Bankruptcy

Court, District of Massachusetts Dated December 18,

PMU CUME oe Ls. ce eee nS es NA eee aA Oe EEO wR

Appendix D — Opinion of the United States Bankruptcy

Court for the District of Massachusetts Dated

I OU CU noes eh ccpndehaueekennawkee

Appendix E — Opinion of the United States Bankruptcy

Court for the District of Massachusetts Dated May 8,

SN ERAdaed4 RGN AARENEE UE MRMRESE SESS E TEES

Page

la

43a

60a

74a

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

+

October Term, 1993

IN RE HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC., BRISTOL

TERMINALS, INC.,

Debtors.

HERBERT C. KAHN, Trustee for HEMINGWAY

TRANSPORT, INC. and BRISTOL TERMINALS, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, a Massachusetts

Partnership; and GEORGE D. WHITTEN, AMY WHITTEN

and CHARLES WHITTEN, as Trustees of 60 OLYMPIA

NOMINEE TRUST,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

2

Herbert C. Kahn, Trustee of Hemingway Transport, Inc. and

Bristol Terminals, Inc., respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the First Circuit entered in this action on May 4, 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

First Circuit will be reported at 993 F.2d 915 (1st Cir. 1993).

The decision of the United States District Court for the

District of Massachusetts is reported at 126 B.R. 656 (D. Mass.

1991).

The decisions of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the

District of Massachusetts are reported at 108 B.R. 378 (Bankr. D.

Mass. 1989), 105 B.R. 378 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1989) and 73 B.R. 494

(Bankr. D. Mass. 1987).

A copy of each of the reported opinions below is included in

the Appendix (“App.”).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The final judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the First Circuit was entered on May 4, 1993. This Court has

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves 11 U.S.C. §§ 502(e)(1)(B) (Allowance of

Claims or Interests), 503(b)(1)(A) (Allowance of Administrative

Expenses), and 507(a)(1) (Priorities of Distribution). The pertinent

texts of the statutes are set forth in the Appendix.

EE

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE!

A. Introduction

This petition involves the confusing and often “hazardous”

interplay between the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. §§ 101 et seg.,

and the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation

and Liability Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 9601 et seg. (“CERCLA”). The

case arises out of an adversary proceeding commenced in the

United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Massachusetts

by Juniper Development Group, et al. (“Juniper”) against Herbert

C. Kahn, trustee (“Trustee”) of two Chapter 7 debtors: Hemingway

Transport, Inc. (“Hemingway”) and Bristol Terminals, Inc.

(“Bristol’’).

Juniper is the current owner and operator of a hazardous waste

facility. Hemingway and Bristol (collectively, the “Debtors”)

owned or operated the facility at the time of disposal of hazardous

substances. Both Juniper and the Debtors are jointly and severally

liable for “all costs of removal or remedial action” incurred by the

United States Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) in

connection with the cleanup of the property. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(a)(4)(A).

In the adversary proceeding, Juniper sought recovery of its

“response costs” under § 107(a)(4)(B) of CERCLA. On summary

judgment, the Bankruptcy Court held that § 502(e)(1)(B) of the

Bankruptcy Code mandated disallowance of Juniper’s claim for

future response costs on the grounds that (1) such claim was one for

reimbursement or contribution, (2) Juniper was jointly liable with

the Debtor on the claim of EPA, and (3) the claim was contingent

upon future events. After trial, the Bankruptcy Court found that the

1. The facts set forth below are supported by the Joint Appendix submitted

to the Court of Appeals (hereafter, “JA”).

4

Debtors were liable to Juniper under CERCLA for past response

costs in the amount of $38,763.63. In accordance with its previous

interlocutory order, the Bankruptcy Court held that Juniper’s claim

was entitled to an administrative expense priority under 11 U.S.C.

§§ 503(b)(1)(A) and 507(a)(1).

The Bankruptcy Court’s rulings were affirmed by the United

States District Court for the District of Massachusetts. Juniper took

an appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

on the applicability of § 502(e)(1)(B) to Juniper’s claim for future

response costs. The Trustee cross-appealed on the priority of

Juniper’s claim for past response costs. The First Circuit affirmed

the administrative expense ruling, but vacated the order under §

502(e)(1)(B).

B. Substantive Facts.

On July 28, 1982, Hemingway and Bristol simultaneously

filed voluntary Chapter 11 bankruptcy petitions. On March 29,

1983, Bristol entered into a written agreement with George

Whitten — a general partner of Juniper — regarding the purchase

and sale of Bristol’s trucking facility located at 60 Olympia Avenue

in Woburn, Massachusetts (the “Property”). Pursuant to the

contract, Whitten agreed to purchase the Property subject to “all

environmental and other applicable laws and ordinances.” JA 49.

The agreement also included the following language:

The BUYER acknowledges that the BUYER

has not been influenced to enter into this

transaction nor has he relied upon any

warranties or representations not set forth or

incorporated in this agreement. Buyer further

warrants and represents to Seller that Buyer has

made all such inspections of the premises as

Buyer wishes to make. . . .

a

5

JA 51 (emphasis supplied). On April 29, 1983, an order was

entered by the Bankruptcy Court approving the sale of the

Property, subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the

purchase and sale agreement. JA 194. The order was approved by

the District Court on May 3, 1983, and the Property was sold to

Juniper, Whitten’s nominee, on May 18, 1983.JA 194.

Juniper is a Massachusetts partnership involved in

commercial real estate development. JA 64, 93. At the time of the

sale, Juniper was familiar with the Woburn area, and had

developed several projects within half a mile of the Property. JA

65-66, 68. Juniper also was aware of the existence of a hazardous

waste Superfund site located within one mile of the Property. JA

67. Nevertheless, Juniper did not conduct a physical inspection of

the entire premises before the sale. JA 69, 224, 227-28. Juniper’s

inspection was limited to the paved portion of the Property, which

consisted of only 6.6 of the 21.4 total acres. /d.

On November 18, 1983, the Chapter 11 cases of Hemingway

and Bristol were converted to liquidation proceedings under

Chapter 7 of the Bankruptcy Code. Herbert C. Kahn was appointed

trustee of the Debtors one day later.

On December 30, 1985, Juniper received a “notice of potential

liability” under CERCLA from EPA. The notice advised Juniper

that EPA had discovered “approximately 12 drums in disintegrated

condition” at the southern end of the Property. Tests conducted by

EPA in September of 1985 revealed that the drums and surrounding

soil were contaminated by a variety of chemicals defined under

CERCLA as “hazardous substances.” An administrative order

directing Juniper to remove the drums was issued on February 7,

1986. JA 71-89.

The drums were located approximately 100 feet from the

6

railroad tracks on the western border of the Property,’ JA 347,

which was precisely the area that Juniper failed to inspect prior to

purchasing the Property.

On April 20, 1988, Juniper received another notice of

potential liability from EPA with respect to the Wells G & H

Superfund Site. JA 120-25. Wells G & H were municipal wells

developed in the 1960’s to supplement the water supply for the City

of Woburn. JA 151. In 1979, Woburn police discovered over 180

55-gallon drums of industrial waste abandoned in the vicinity of

the wells. JA 151. The resulting investigations led to the wells and

surrounding area being added to the Superfund National Priorities

List in 1982. See 48 Fed. Reg. 40,658. The cleanup plan proposed

by EPA in 1989 estimated the cost of remediating the Site at $40.3

million. JA 156-61. The 21.4 acre parcel currently owned by

Juniper, and formerly owned by the Debtors, is deemed by EPA to

be part of the 330-acre Wells G & H Site. JA 120.

By separate letters dated February 3, 1989, Hemingway and

Bristol also were notified of their potential liability to EPA with

respect to the Weils G & H Site. JA 126-35. The notice letters stated

that, unless an agreement could be reached, EPA would perform

the cleanup and seek to recover its response costs from Juniper,

Bristol, Hemingway and several other responsible parties. JA 126

& 130.

C. Procedural History.

Juniper commenced the adversary proceeding against the

2. The source of the drums and the circumstances regarding their pre-

petition disposal have never been determined. As stated by the Bankruptcy Court

after trial, “no allegation has ever been made that Hemingway was responsible

for generating the toxic wastes in the barrels or for depositing them on the

[Property].” Hemingway, 108 B.R. at 380.

anes

7

Trustee on May 7, 1986. The original adversary complaint alleged

that Juniper had incurred expenses in excess of $30,000 in

connection with the administrative order, and that Juniper was

awaiting “further orders [from EPA] for a possible future clean up”

of the Property. JA4. Juniper asserted claims under § 107(a)(4)(B)

of CERCLA for “contribution” (Count I) and “indemnity” (Count

IT) for “‘all past or future costs incurred or assessed for said cleanup,

plus interest, costs and attorney fees.”

On September 13, 1989, the Bankruptcy Court disallowed

Juniper’s claim for future response costs under § 502(e)(1)(B) of

the Bankruptcy Code on the grounds that (1) Juniper’s claim was

one for reimbursement or contribution, (2) Juniper was jointly

liable with the Debtor on the claim of EPA, and (3) Juniper’s claim

was contingent upon future events. /n re Hemingway Transport,

Inc., 105 B.R. 171 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1989).

On October 17, 1989, the Bankruptcy Court conducted a trial

on Juniper’s claim for past response costs in connection with the

administrative order. Judgment was entered in favor of Juniper in

the amount of $38,763.63. Jn re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 108

B.R. 378 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1989). In accordance with its prior

interlocutory order, 73 B.R. 494 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1987), the Court

held that Juniper’s claim for past response costs was an

administrative expense.

On March 26, 1991, the District Court affirmed the relevant

orders of the Bankruptcy Court. /n re Hemingway Transport, Inc.,

126 B.R. 656 (D. Mass. 1991). Juniper took an appeal to the United

States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit on the applicability of

§ 502(e)(1)(B) to its claim for future response costs. The Trustee

cross-appealed on the priority of Juniper’s claim for past response

costs. By memorandum and order dated May 4, 1993, the First

Circuit affirmed the administrative expense ruling, but vacated the

order disallowing Juniper’s claim for future response costs under

§ 502(e)(1)(B).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE FIRST CIRCUIT DECISION IN HEMINGWAY

INVOLVES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS OF FEDERAL LAW

ABOUT THE PROPER BALANCE BETWEEN THE

COMPETING OBJECTIVES OF CERCLA AND THE

BANKRUPTCY CODE.

The First Circuit decision in Hemingway presents important

questions of federal law regarding (1) the circumstances under

which environmental claims should be afforded administrative

expense priority, and (2) the scope of a debtor’s ability under

§ 502(e)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code to avoid liability with

respect to environmental claims. In light of CERCLA’s notorious

lack of clarity,» together with the competing objectives of

CERCLA and the Bankruptcy Code,‘ even the most experienced

3. Itis universally recognized that “CERCLA is not a paradigm of clarity

or precision.” Pease & Curen Refining, Inc. v. Spectrolab, Inc., 744 F.2d 945,

950 (C.D. Cal. 1990) (citations omitted); Pennsylvania v. Union Gas Co., 491

U.S. 1, 46 (1989) (White, J. dissenting) (“experienced jurists could disagree

about Congress’ intent under CERCLA”); Daigle v. Shell Oil Co. , 972 F.2d 1527,

1533 (10th Cir. 1992) (noting “convoluted path” of CERCLA’s definitions);

Riverside Market Dev. Corp. v. International Bldg. Prods., Inc., 931 F.2d 327,

330 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 636 (1991) (CERCLA was “hastily

drafted” and passed through a “lame-duck”™ session of Congress); United States

v. Fleet Factors, 901 F.2d 1550, 1554 n. 3 (10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 498 U.S.

1046 (1991) (CERCLA marred by “careless drafting”); Artesian Water Co. v.

Government of New Castle County, 851 F.2d 643, 648 (3rd Cir. 1988) (CERCLA

criticized for “inartful drafting and numerous ambiguities”).

4. Itis equally acknowledged that the legislative goals of CERCLA often

conflict with the policies embodied in the Bankruptcy Code. See, e.g., In re

Chicago, Mil., St. P. & Pac. R.R., 974 F.2d 775, 779 (7th Cir. 1992); In re

Chateaugay Corp., 944 F.2d 997, 1002 (2d Cir. 1991); In re Combustion Equip.

Assocs., Inc., 838 F.2d 35, 36 (2d Cir. 1988).

‘iis

9

environmental and bankruptcy attorneys need guidance on these

issues.

The purpose of CERCLA is to abate and prevent pollution by

imposing strict liability on a broad range of responsible parties,

and to channel as many resources as possible toward the cleanup of

hazardous waste. Stanton Road Associates v. Lohrey Enterprises,

984 F.2d 1015, 1020 (9th Cir. 1993). In contrast, the Bankruptcy

Code is designed to effectuate the fair and efficient distribution of

assets to all creditors having claims against a debtor’s estate.

Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471,477 (1968).

The issue of whether environmental claims should be afforded

an administrative expense priority presents a classic example of

the conflict between the competing aims of CERCLA and the

Bankruptcy Code.* On the one hand, the priority treatme..t of

environmental claims would promote the goal of ensuring that

sufficient funds are available to clean up contaminated property.

On the other hand, affording a priority to environmental claims

almost invariably eliminates any distributions to a debtor's

remaining creditors.

The applicability of § 502(e)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code to

contingent claims under CERCLA presents a similar problem.

Section 502(e)(1)(B) mandates disallowance of contingent claims

for reimbursement or contribution asserted by an entity that is

liable with the debtor on the claim of another creditor. As stated by

the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, § 502(e)(1)(B) “epitomizes

a considered Congressional policy that underlies the Bankruptcy

Code as a whole . . .; that is, the bankrupt’s estate should not be

5. The Supreme Court has declined on two occasions to address the

administrative expense issue. See Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey

Department of Environmental Protection, 106 S. Ct. 755, 758 n. 2 (1986); Ohio

v. Kovacs, 469 U.S. 274, 284-85 n. 12 (1985).

EE

10

burdened by estimated claims contingent in nature.” Jn re Charter

Co., 862 F.2d 1500, 1502 (11th Cir. 1989). This important federal

policy directly contradicts the equally fundamental goal of

requiring all potentially responsible parties to fund the cleanup of

hazardous waste facilities.

The decision in Hemingway presents several issues of first

impression. Resolution of these issues will help to bridge the gap

between the discordant policies of the Bankruptcy Code and

CERCLA, and will have a profound effect on the practice of

environmental law and the administration of bankruptcy estates.

The need for further guidance in each of these areas is evidenced by

the increasing number of bankruptcy filings that are motivated, in

whole or in part, by the existence of environmental claims.

II.

THE FIRST CIRCUIT DECISION IN HEMINGWAY IS

IN CONFLICT WITH THE REPORTED DECISIONS OF

OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS.

A. Future Response Costs Under § 502(e)(1)(B).

The Supreme Court has never addressed the applicability of

§ 502(e)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code, which provides as follows:

(e)(1) Notwithstanding subsections (a),

(b), and (c) of this section and paragraph (2) of

this subsection, the court shall disallow any

claim for reimbursement or contribution of an

entity that is liable with the Debtor on or has

secured the claim of a creditor, to the extent

that —

1]

(B)such claim for reimbursement or

contribution is contingent as of the time of

allowance or disallowance of such claim for

reimbursement or contribution; .. .

11 U.S.C. § 502(e)(1)(B). As indicated by the above language,

three elements must be established in order for the statute to apply

to particular claim: (1) the claim must be one for “reimbursement

or contribution;” (2) the entity asserting the claim for

reimbursement or contribution must be “liable with the debtor” on

the claim; and (3) the claim must be “contingent” at the time of its

allowance or disallowance. Jn the Matter of Provincetown-Boston

Airlines, Inc., 72 B.R. 307, 309 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1987) (hereafter,

“PBA”).

The first case to consider the applicability of section

502(e)(1)(B) to a private party claim under CERCLA was /n re The

Charter Company, 81 B.R. 644 (M.D. Fla. 1987), aff’d, 862 F.2d

1500 (11th Cir. 1989). In Charter, the debtor and the claimants

were jointly and severally liable for all future costs incurred by

EPA in responding to the disposal of dioxin-bearing waste.

Applying the three part test set forth in PBA, the bankruptcy court,

the district court and the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals each

held that the creditors’ contingent claims under CERCLA fell

squarely “within the ambit of § 502(e)(1)(B).”° See Charter, 862

F.2d at 1502.

The Ninth Circuit also has addressed the impact of section

502(e)(1)(B) on contingent claims for reimbursement or

contribution under CERCLA. See Jn re Dant & Russell, Inc., 951

6. Likewise, the Bankruptcy Court and the District Court in Hemingway

“had no difficulty” concluding that section 502(e)(1)(B) mandated disallowance

of Juniper's contingent claim for future response costs. See, e.g., Hemingway,

105 B.R. at 177.

12

F.2d 246 (9th Cir. 1991). In Dant & Russell, the claimant filed a

proof of claim in excess of $14,000,000, seeking approximately

$1,000,000 for “actually incurred” cleanup costs and the

remainder for future cleanup. With respect to future costs, the

Court of Appeals found that the proposed cleanup would be

performed voluntarily, rather than at the behest of EPA. Dant &

Russell, 951 F.2d at 248-49. Thus, § 502(e)(1)(B) did not apply

because there was no “third party” such as EPA to whom the

claimant was “liable with” the debtor. Dant & Russell, 951 F.2d at

249; see id. at 249-50 (disallowing contingent claim for future

costs on other grounds).

In Hemingway, the First Circuit Court of Appeals repeatedly

stated that section 502(e)(1)(B) was enacted only for the purpose

of ensuring that bankruptcy estates are not exposed to “double-

dipping” by holders of the same underlying claim. App. 12a-13a,

18a. Given that EPA had not filed a proof of claim against the

Debtors’ estate, the Court of Appeals expressed concern that the

disallowance of Juniper’s claim under § 502(e)(1)(B) “may

occasion a pointless financial loss to Juniper and result in a

windfall to the chapter 7 estate.” App. 23a-24a. For this reason, the

court in Hemingway fashioned a new and entirely unique

procedure for determining contingent claims under § 502(e)(1)(B)

in cases where one creditor has not filed a timely proof of claim;

namely, “mandatory resort” to the surrogate claim provisions of 1]

U.S.C. §§ 501(b) and (c).

Sections 501(b) and (c) of the Bankruptcy Code provide that,

“{iJf a creditor does not timely file a proof of such creditor’s

claim,” a surrogate claim may be filed by either the debtor or “an

entity that is liable to such creditor with the debtor.” 11 U.S.C.

§§ SO1l(b) and (c). The Court of Appeals in Hemingway

acknowledged that § 501 is permissible, and that the statutory

deadline for filing surrogate claims expired in 1984. App. 21a, 22a

n. 14. Nevertheless, the court held that Juniper’s claim could not be

TT

)3

disallowed under § 502(e)(1)(B) unless and until the Trustee

elected to file a surrogate proof of claim on behalf of EPA.

The Hemingway opinion is in direct conflict with the

decisions in Charter and Dant & Russell. Neither the Eleventh nor

the Ninth Circuit Courts of Appeals would require “mandatory

resort” to the surrogate claim procedures of § 501. Further, the

Hemingway opinion forces a trustee to establish the liability of the

claimant and the underlying creditor before obtaining the benefit

of § 502(e)(1)(B). A trustee is not permitted to rely upon the proofs

of claim. Cf. Charter, 862 F.2d at 1503 (claimants bound by

admissions in proofs of claim); JA 1-6 (Juniper admitted its joint

liaiblity in the adversary complaint and characterized its

contingent claim as one for reimbursement or contribution).

The conflict between Hemingway and Charter stems from a

fundamental difference in policy. The First Circuit’s view is that

the “singular purpose” of § 502(e)(1)(B) is to prevent redundant

recoveries on identical claims. In contrast, the Eleventh Circuit’s

opinion is that the statute “epitomizes a considered Congressional

policy” of providing “fair treatment to creditors by paying

ascertainable claims as quickly as possible.” Charter, 862 F.2d at

1502.’ Similarly, the Court of Appeals in Hemingway believes that

strict adherence to the Bankruptcy Code may thwart CERCLA’s

goal of obtaining broad financial participation in the cleanup of

hazardous wastes. Conversely, the Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals concludes that upholding the Code’s prohibition of

contingent claims encourages the expeditious cleanup of

contaminated sites, “since those seeking contribution will have to

incur [response costs] prior to stating an allowable claim to a

7. See also In re Wedtech Corp., 85 B.R. 285, 290 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1988)

(“purpose of disallowing contingent indemnity and contribution claims is

precisely because they are so contingent”); In re A & H, Inc., 122 B.R. 84, 85

(Bankr. W.D. Wis. 1990) (statue reflects dual policy of preventing double

payment and promptly satisfying ascertainable claims).

14

bankrupt’s estate.” Charter, 862 F.2d at 1503-04.

The decisions in Charter and Hemingway are diametrically

opposed. Given that the allowance or disallowance of

environmental claims in bankruptcy is a question of great national

significance, the applicability of § 502(e)(1)(B) to claims for

future response costs under CERCLA should not be resolved in a

piecemeal fashion by the remaining Circuit Courts of Appeals. The

Trustee respectfully submits that the Supreme Court should grant

his petition for certiorari in order to avoid any further confusion.

B. Administrative Expense Priority.

Under the Bankruptcy Code, administrative expenses are

entitled to a first priority of distribution. 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(1). The

Code defines administrative expenses in relevant part as the

“actual, necessary costs and expenses of preserving the estate

.... 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A). There is a large body of diverse

and conflicting case law regarding the circumstances under which

environmental claims should be afforded administrative expense

priority.

1]. The First Circuit Granted An Administrative Priority To

Juniper's Claim For Contingent, Not “Actual,” Response

Costs Under CERCLA.

A “contingent” administrative expense does not exist under

the Bankruptcy Code. See 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A) (only “actual”

costs are afforded priority treatment). Nevertheless, the Court of

Appeals in Hemingway held that Juniper’s future response costs —

which have not been (and may never be) “actually” incurred —

could give rise to an administrative expense claim.* The

8. The First Circuit in Hemingway held that Juniper's contingent claim,

once estimated and allowed, would be transformed into an “actual” expense of

administration. App. 29a.

15

unprecedented opinion in Hemingway conflicts with virtually

every other decision rendered by a United States Court of Appeals.

See, e.g., Inre Dant & Russell, Inc., 853 F.2d 700, 706-07 (9th Cir.

1988) (“actual” benefit must accrue); NL Industries, Inc. v. GHR

Energy Corp., 940 F.2d 957, 966 (Sth Cir. 1991) (only “actual,” not

punitive, damages constitute administrative expenses); /n re

Carpet Center Leasing Co., Inc., 991 F.2d 682, 688 (11th Cir.

1993) (priority granted only with respect to value of trustee’s

“actual,” not potential, use of collateral post-petition).

2. The First Circuit Granted An Administrative Priority To

Juniper’s Claim For Decontaminating Property That Did

Not Belong To The Estate.

As noted above, an administrative expense must be part of the

“necessary costs and expenses of preserving the estate.” 11 U.S.C.

§ 503(b)(1)(A) (emphasis supplied). In contrast, the Court of

Appeals in Hemingway afforded priority treatment to Juniper’s

claim for the past and future costs of preserving non-estate

property. The cleanup brought Juniper (nor the Debtors) into

compliance with environmental laws. Cf, In re Wall Tube & Metal

Products Co., 831 F.2d 118, 122-23 (6th Cir. 1987) (property

owner must comply with environmental laws).

In Wall Tube, the trial court expressly held that once property

is no longer part of the estate, “any expenses thereafter incurred in

connection with the [cleanup] cannot qualify as administrative

costs of preserving the estate.” Wall Tube, 56 B.R. 918, 923 (Bankr.

E.D. Tenn. 1986), rev’d on other grounds, 831 F.2d 118 (6th Cir.

1987). On appeal, the Sixth Circuit specifically noted that the

response costs at issue were incurred only “in connection with the

items that remain in the debtor’s estate.” Wall Tube, 831 F.2d at 120

Te hy

9. See In re Chateaugay Corp., 112 B.R. 513, 525 n.22(S.D.N.Y. 1990),

(Cont'd)

16

Both the Third Circuit and the Ninth Circuit have expressly

refused to grant an administrative expense priority to claims

arising from the cleanup of non-estate property. See Southern

Railway Co. v. Johnson Bronze Co., 758 F.2d 137 (3rd Cir. 1985);

In re Dant & Russell, Inc., 853 F.2d 700, 707-09 (9th Cir. 1988).

Moreover, the “property of the estate requirement” is implicit in all

cases holding that environmental response costs “preserve the

estate.” The Hemingway opinion directly conflicts with these

decisions.

3. The First Circuit's Decision Conflicts With The “Midlantic

National Bank” Line of Cases.

In Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey Department of

Environmental Protection, 106 S. Ct. 755, 762 (1986), the

Supreme Court held that a bankruptcy court “does not have the

power to authorize abandonment [of estate property] without

formulating conditions that will adequately protect the public’s

health and safety.” The Court noted, however, that the exception to

the abandonment power “is a narrow one,” which “does not

encompass speculative or indeterminate” dangers. Midlantic, 106

S. Ct. at 762-63 n. 9. In order to prevent abandonment, the moving

-party must show that an “imminent and identifiable harm” to

public safety would result. /d.

(Cont'd)

aff'd, 944 F.2d 977 (2d Cir. 1991) (noting that EPA did not seek priority for

“costs relating to property not owned by debtor”); /n re Brio Refining, Inc., 86

B.R. 487, 488-89 (N.D. Tex. 1988) (no priority where property was not part of

the estate at the time response costs were incurred); /n re Stevens, 68 B.R. 774,

76 (Bankr. D. Me. 1987) (“trustee confirmed that [storage area] and drums were

the property of the bankrupt estate” at the time of cleanup); /n re T.P. Long

Chemical, Inc., 45 B.R. 278, 281 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1985) (noting EPA’s own

admission that costs incurred to cleanup non-estate property were not allowable

as an administrative expense).

aT

17

Although the Court expressly reserved the issue of

administrative expenses, 106 S. Ct. at 758 n. 2, a growing number

of cases have relied upon Midlantic in granting priority status to

post-petition response costs.'°The reasoning of these decisions is

that, where property of the estate cannot be abandoned under

Midlantic, the trustee has an implicit duty to expend the debtor’s

funds to bring the property into compliance with environmental

laws. If the trustee is unwilling to perform the cleanup, the costs

incurred in substitute fulfillment of the trustee’s obligations are

deemed to confer a benefit on the estate.

The decision in Hemingway is in conflict with the Midlantic-

based cases in at least two critical respects. First, the property at

issue was not “property of the estate” at the time Juniper incurred

its response costs. See supra. Second, Juniper’s response costs

were not incurred in abating an “imminent and identifiable harm”

to the public health and safety. Juniper was awarded less than

$39,000 for removing 17 drums, which contained a “semi-solid,

tar-like substance.” The testimony at trial revealed that the

“petroleum constituents” contained in the drums presented only a

“minor threat” to the environment. Compare Wall Tube, 831 F.2d at

124 (“It is undisputed that the hazardous wastes still within the

debtor’s estate after the 1984 conveyance presented a danger to the

public’s health and safety”).

10. See, e.g., Chateaugay, 944 F.2d at 1002; In re Smith-Douglas, Inc., 856

F.2d 12 (4th Cir. 1988); Jn re Wall Tube & Metal Products, Co., 831 F.2d 12 (4th

Cir. 1987); see also, In re Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Co., 756

F.2d 517 (7th Cir. 1985) (pre-Midlantic case anticipating and effectively

following the Supreme Court's holding).

hl

18

Il.

THE HEMINGWAY OPINION IS IN CONFLICT WITH

THE SUPREME COURT'S DECISION IN READING CO. V.

BROWN AND THE REPORTED DECISIONS OF OTHER

COURTS OF APPEALS.

In Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968), a receiver was

appointed to operate a realty company under Chapter XI of the

Bankruptcy Act. The trial court found that a fire caused by the

receiver’s negligent operation of the debtor’s business destroyed

the property of certain creditors. In holding that the creditors’ tort

claims were entitled to priority status as costs of administration,

the Supreme Court emphasized one important and decisive

statutory objective: “fairness to all persons having claims against

an insolvent.” 391 U.S. at 477.

Reading stands for the proposition that the post-petition

operation of a debtor’s business may, in limited circumstances,

give rise to a first priority administrative expense. See Jn re E.A.

Nord., Co., Inc., 78 B.R. 289, 291-92 (E.D: Wash. 1987); Yorke v.

NLRB, 709 F.2d 1138, 1143 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S.

1023 (1984). The rationale is that existing creditors are presumed

to benefit from the continued operation of the debtor’s business,

and therefore any persons injured by such operation should recover

their claims ona priority basis. Reading, 391 U.S. at 478. Reading

and its progeny rest firmly on the existence of a post-petition act or

omission on the part of the person managing the debtor’s affairs."'

11. The post-petition character of the actionable wrong is common to all

cases decided under the Reading rationale. See, e.g., U.S. Dept. of Interior v.

Elliot, 761 F.2d 168 (4th Cir. 1985) (post-petition violation of Surface Mining

Control and Reclamation Act); Yorke v. NLRB, 709 F.2d 1138, 1143 (7th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1023 (1984) (estate must bear responsibility for

trustee’s intentional, post-petition unfair labor practice); Carter- Wallace, Inc. v.

Davis-Edwards Pharmacal Corp., 443 F.2d 867, 874 (2d Cir. 1971) (trustee

intentionally infringed upon plaintiff's patent).

aa aaa

19

Pre-petition events—even those resulting in strict liability—do not

give rise to administrative expense claims."*

To the extent that Hemingway can be construed as a Reading-

based opinion,"* the case is in conflict with the Supreme Court and

other courts of appeals because Juniper was not injured by the

operation of the Debtors’ businesses. The only “post-petition”

event was the sale of the property, which Juniper voluntarily

purchased (1) subject to “all environmental laws,” (2) without any

warranties or representations on the part of the estate, and (3) after

conducting “all such inspections of the premises as [Juniper]

wishe[d] to make.” JA 49-52; see Marden Corp. v. C.G.C. Music,

Ltd., 804 F.2d 1454, 1460 (9th Cir. 1986) (“nothing in CERCLA

suggests that it was intended to offer special protection to unwary

purchasers”).

There is no basis for concluding that it would be “more natural

and just” to permit Juniper to recover ahead of the Debtors’

remaining creditors. See Reading, 391 U.S. at 482. Juniper

voluntarily and knowingly contracted with a bankrupt company

12. See Southern Railway Co. v. Johnson Bronze Co., 758 F.2d 137 (3rd

Cir. 1985); In re Dant & Russell, Inc., 853 F.2d 700 (9th Cir. 1988); see also, In re

Pettibone Corp., 90 B.R. 918, 934 (Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1988) (products liability

claim based upon pre-petition acts); In re Security Gas & Oil, Inc., 70 B.R. 786,

795 n. 5 (Bankr. N.D. Cal. 1987) (environmental hazard created pre-petition

gives rise to general unsecured claim); Jn re Pierce Coal & Constr., Inc., 65 B.R.

521, 530 (Bankr. N.D. W. Va. 1986) (only environmental damages caused by the

post-petition operation of the bankruptcy estate are entitled to priority).

13. In Hemingway, the First Circuit sends conflicting signals regarding its

reliance upon the Reading line of cases. On the one hand, the court noted that

“Juniper dealt voluntarily on a contractual basis with the chapter 1] estate,” and

that the “fairness” doctrine in Reading was misapplied by the lower courts. On

the other hand, the court cited Reading in affording priority treatment to

Juniper's claim for past and future response costs.

ial

20

for the purchase and sale of commercial real estate; the remaining

creditors unwittingly provided goods and services to an entity that

later became insolvent. Juniper had the ability to avoid its losses by

conducting a simple inspection of the Property; the remaining

creditors found themselves “in a dilemma not of their own

making.” See Reading, 391 U.S. at 483. Therefore, a proper

balancing of the equities would not warrant a disturbance of the

priorities established by Congress. See J. Catton Farms v. First

Nat. Bank of Chicago, 779 F.2d 1242, 1249 (7th Cir. 1985)

(Reading “stressed the involuntary nature of the tort victim’s

relationship to the bankrupt . . . ,a consideration emphatically not

present in this case”).

IV.

THE HEMINGWAY OPINION CALLS FOR THE

SUPREME COURT TO EXERCISE ITS SUPERVISORY

POWERS OVER THE FEDERAL COURTS.

The Hemingway opinion is fundamentally flawed because it is

based upon facts that were not in evidence. The keystone of

Hemingway is the surrogate claim procedure under § 501 of the

Bankruptcy Code. Pursuant to Bankruptcy Rules 3004 and

3005(a), a surrogate claim must be filed within 30 days of the bar

date for filing proofs of claim. Although the bar date in

Hemingway expired in 1984, the First Circuit held that the Trustee

and Juniper, as EPA surrogates, could avail themselves of the

“extended filing” provisions of § 726(a)(2)(C)(i) of the Code. This

section authorizes distributions with respect to claims that were

tardily filed only if the claimant “did not have notice or actual

knowledge of the case in time for timely filing. ...” 11 U.S.C.

§ 726(a)(2)(C)(i). Without any factual support on the record

regarding “notice or actual knowledge,” the First Circuit found

that—almost 10 years after the bar date—‘“EPA can yet file a

belated claim that can receive payment along with other timely-

filed unsecured claims. .. .”

21

In addition to making factual determinations sua sponte, the

First Circuit in Hemingway decided at least one legal issue that was

never presented, briefed or argued on appeal: namely, the

circumstances under which Juniper’s claim for future response

costs may be entitled to administrative expense priority. In 1989,

the Bankruptcy Court entered summary judgment disallowing

Juniper’s cleim for future response costs under § 502(e)(1)(B).

Accordingly, the Bankruptcy Court refused to admit any evidence

at trial with respect to such claim. The scope of the trial was limited

to the actual costs incurred by Juniper in removing 17 barrels of

hazardous waste from the Debtors’ former trucking facility. The

priority of any future costs related to the entire Wells G & H Site

was never presented to the Bankruptcy Court. Four years after the

trial, the First Circuit decided this issue sua sponte.

The exercise of judicial power under Article III of the

Constitution depends upon the existence of an “actual

controversy,” which “must be extant at all stages of review.”

Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395, 401 (1975). In contrast, the Court

of Appeals in Hemingway improperly assumed facts not in

evidence and, without any notice to the parties, chose to establish

its position on the priority of future response costs under

CERCLA. The court’s opinion “so far depart[s] from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings ...as to call for an

exercise of this Court’s power of supervision.” See Supreme Court

Rule 10.1.(a); see also, Helling v. McKinney, 61 U.S.L.W. 4648

(U.S. June 18, 1993) (Court of Appeals improperly decided issues

and facts sua sponte).

22

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated and on the authorities cited, the

Trustee’s petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

A. VAN C. LANCKTON

Counsel of Record

WILLIAM F. MACAULEY

MARTIN P. DESMERY

CRAIG AND MACAULEY

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

Attorneys for Petitioner

600 Atlantic Avenue

Boston, Massachusetts 02210

(617) 367-9500

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

DATED MAY 4, 1993

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the First Circuit

No. 92-1040

IN RE HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC., ET AL.,

Debtors,

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, ETC., ETAL.,

Appellants,

Le

HERBERT C. KAHN, ETC.,

Appellee.

No. 92-1095

IN RE HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC., ETAL.,

Debtors,

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, ETC., ETAL.,

v.

HERBERT C. KAHN, ETC.,

Appellant.

————————————————————

2a

Appendix A

No. 92-1289

IN RE HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC., ET AL.

Debtors,

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, ETC., ETAL.,

Appellants,

y;

HERBERT C. KAHN, ETC.,

Appellee.

No. 92-1290

IN RE HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC., ETAL.,

Debtors,

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, ETC., ETAL.,

Appellees,

¥.

HERBERT C. KAHN, ETC.,

Appellant.

APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

[Hon. Rya W. Zobel, U.S. District Judge}

Before

Torruella, Cyr and Boudin,

Circuit Judges.

3a

Appendix A

Roy P. Giarrusso with whom Louis N. Massery and Cooley,

Manion, Moore & Jones, P.C. were on brief for appellants.

William F. Macauley with whom Martin P. Desmery and Craig

and Macauley were on brief for appellee.

Martin P. Desmery for trustee appellee in cross-appeal.

May 4, 1993

CYR, Circuit Judge. The bankruptcy court disallowed the

contingent claim Juniper Development Group (“Juniper”) filed

against the consolidated chapter 7 estate of Hemingway Transport,

Inc. (“Hemingway”) and Bristol Terminals, Inc. (“Bristol”) for

anticipated response costs for the removal and remediation of

hazardous substances discovered on property previously

purchased by Juniper from the Hemingway-Bristol chapter 11

estate. Juniper’s companion claim for cleanup-related attorney

fees was disallowed as well. The district court affirmed and Juniper

appeals. The chapter 7 trustee (“trustee”) cross-appeals the

allowance of Juniper’s priority claim for past cleanup costs as an

administrative expense.

I

BACKGROUND

Between 1963 and 1982, Hemingway and Bristol

continuously owned or operated a trucking business conducted

from a twenty-acre parcel of land located in Woburn,

Massachusetts (‘’facility’’).! In May 1980, the Massachusetts

1. Hemingway began business operations at the facility shortly after acquiring

itin 1963. In 1974, Hemingway sold the facility to Woburn Associates, but continued

to occupy it under a leaseback arrangement with Woburn. In 1980, Bristol, a wholly

owned Hemingway subsidiary, acquired the facility from Woburn.

| senate

4a

Appendix A

Department of Environmental Quality Engineering (DEQE)

discovered seventeen corroded drums leaching a semi-solid, tar-

like substance onto a 13.8 acre “wetlands” area at the facility.

DEQE informed Hemingway that the substance contained

petroleum constituents DEQE received assurances from

Hemingway that the drums would be removed. The drums were

still at the facility when DEQE conducted its last site inspection, in

August 1982.

In July 1982, Hemingway and Bristol filed chapter Il petitions.

With the approval of the bankruptcy court, appellant Juniper, a

local land developer, purchased the facility from debtor-in-

possession Bristol for $1.6 million on April 29, 1983. Prior to the

purchase, Juniper’s representatives conducted an _ on-site

inspection but did not walk the wetlands area where DEQE had

discovered the drums; Juniper contends that the area was

submerged at the time. Seven months after the sale, the

Hemingway-Bristol chapter 11 reorganization proceeding was

converted to a chapter 7 liquidation proceeding, and a chapter 7

trustee was appointed.

In April 1985, drums containing various solvents and

pesticides classified as “hazardous substances” under the

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and

Liability Act (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 9601-9657, 9601(14)

(1981), were discovered at the facility, in the same wetlands area,

by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”).

The following December, Juniper, then the “owner” of the facility,

received notice that the EPA considered Juniper a “potentially

responsible party” (“PRP”) under CERCLA, see id. § 9607(a).

Shortly thereafter the EPA issued an administrative order requiring

Juniper to remove the hazardous substances from the facility at its

own expense. See id. § 9606. Juniper claims $92,088 in response

5a

Appendix A

costs incurred pursuant to the EPA administrative order.’

Juniper initiated an adversary proceeding against the

Hemingway-Bristol estate for CERCLA response costs already

incurred under the EPA administrative order and for future

response costs required to complete the anticipated cleanup and

remediation. Initially, the bankruptcy court denied the trustee’s

motion for summary judgment on Juniper’s CERCLA claim. The

court determined that Juniper’s CERCLA claim, if ultimately

allowed, would be entitled to priority payment from the chapter 7

estate as an administrative expense of the chapter 11 estate, since

Juniper’s exposure to CERCLA liability had arisen from its

postpetition agreement to purchase the facility from the chapter 11

estate. Jn re Hemingway Transp., Inc., 73 B.R. 494, 505 (Bankr. D.

Mass. 1987) (citing Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968)).?

2. Juniper alleges that an engineering firm was paid $30,208 to remove the

drums; an environmental consulting firm was paid $7,880 to monitor the removal

action; anda law firm was paid $54,000 to ensure adequate compliance with the EPA

order.

In April 1988, EPA demanded $2.1 million in CERCLA contribution from

Juniper for costs incurred by EPA in assessing and evaluating the site. The PRP notice

advised that Juniper would be notified of future “cleanup response costs” as well. In

February 1989, EPA sent PRP notices to Hemingway and Bristol, as former owner-

operators of the facility. See infra note 9.

3. Although count of the original Juniper complaint did not assert a right to

CERCLA contribution, when the trustee’s motion for summary judgment on count I

was denied the bankruptcy court allowed Juniper to amend count I toassertaclaim for

contribution under 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a). In re Hemingway Transp.,73 B.R. at 507-08.

See also infra note 20. The court entered summary judgment for the trustee on count

II, which alleged a breach of warranty by Bristol, and on Count III, which sought

rescission of the land-sale agreement on the ground of fraudulent misrepresentation.

(Cont'd)

6a

Appendix A

The trustee renewed the motion for summary judgment on

Juniper’s claim for future response costs, and moved for

reconsideration of the “administrative expense priority” ruling

previously entered by the bankruptcy court. The bankruptcy court

then disallowed Juniper’s claim for future response costs, pursuant

to Bankruptcy Code § 502(e)(1)(B), 11 U.S.C. § 502(e)(1)(B), on

the ground that Juniper was the holder of a contingent CERCLA

contribution claim based on a debt owed EPA for which Juniper,

Hemingway, and Bristol were jointly and severally liable, in

connection with which Juniper had yet to incur any liability by the

time of the allowance of its claim. /n re Hemingway Transp., Inc.,

105 B.R. 171, 176-78 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1989). The bankruptcy

court reaffirmed its earlier ruling entitling Juniper to

administrative expense priority on its claim for past response

costs.

Following trial on Juniper’s $92,088 claim for CERCLA

response costs previously incurred, the bankruptcy court ruled that

Hemingway and Bristol were responsible parties “liable” to the

EPA, as they either owned or operated the facility at the time a

passive “disposal”, of hazardous substances occurred at the

facility. In re Hemingway Transp., Inc., 108 B.R. 378, 380 (Bankr.

D. Mass. 1989) (holding that CERCLA liability arising from

(Cont'd)

As tocountII, the bankruptcy court held that Juniper had forfeited any nght to recover

for breach of warranty by representing in the contract that it had “made all such

inspections of the premises as [it] wishe[d] to make.” /d. at 506. As to count III, the

bankruptcy court held that Juniper failed to allege fraud with the requisite

particularity. /d. (holding that Massachusetts law requires more than proof of the

seller’s nondisclosure of aknown defect; it requires proof that the seller deliberately

concealed, or prevented the buyer from discovering, known defects). Juniper does not

challenge this bankruptcy court ruling.

Ta

Appendix A

“disposal” need not result from affirmative acts, but encompasses

“leaking” of previously deposited waste during PRP’s ownership)

(citing United States v. Waste Indus., Inc., 734 F.2d 159, 164 (4th

Cir. 1984)). Significantly, however, the bankruptcy court noted no

evidence that Hemingway or Bristol, notwithstanding their

continuous ownership or possession of the facility for a period of

twenty years, either generated or deposited hazardous wastes at the

facility. /d. at 380.

The bankruptcy court allowed Juniper’s claim for past

response costs in the amount of $38,763 as an administrative

expense entitled to priority payment, id. at 382, but disallowed the

$54,000 claim on the ground that attorney fees are not recoverable

in a private action under 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(4)(B). /d. at 383.

Juniper appealed the rulings disallowing its claim for future

response costs and for attorney fees. The trustee cross-appealed the

order allowing Juniper’s $38,763 priority claim for administrative

expense. The district court affirmed. Jn re Hemingway Transp.,

Inc., 126 B.R. 656 (D. Mass 1991).

II

DISCUSSION

A. Juniper’s Appeal: Disallowance of Future Response Costs

(11 U.S.C. § 502(e)(1)(B).

1. The Intersection of CERCLA and the Bankruptcy

Code.

Juniper finds itself stranded at the increasingly crowded

“intersection” between the discordant legislative approaches

embodied in CERCLA and the Bankruptcy Code. See In re

8a

Appendix A

Chateaugay Corp., 944 F.2d 997, 1002 (2d Cir. 1991). CERCLA’s

settled policy objectives, reemphasized in the Superfund

Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (“SARA”),

prominently include the expeditious cleanup of sites contaminated

or threatened by hazardous substance releases which jeopardize

public health and safety, and the equitable allocation of cleanup

costs among all potentially responsible persons (“PRPs”). See

United States v. Cannons Eng’g Corp., 899 F.2d 79, 90-91 (Ist Cir.

1990); see also B.F. Goodrich Co. v. Murtha, 958 F.2d 1192, 1198

(2d Cir. 1992). The PRP class broadly encompasses, inter alia, past

and current owners or operators of a contaminated facility. See 42

U.S.C. § 9607(a). To foster CERCLA’s primary objective —

promotion of spontaneous private cleanup initiatives — all PRPs

are deemed strictly liable for the total response costs required to

remediate the contaminated facility. See United States v. Kayser-

Roth Corp., 910 F.2d 24, 26 n.3 (Ist Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111S.

Ct. 957 (1991). Strict liability is normally both joint and several.

See O'Neil v. Picilli, 883 F.2d 176, 178 (Ist Cir. 1989), cert. denied,

493 U.S. 1071 (1990); see also New York v. Shore Realty Corp.,

759 F.2d 1032, 1042 (2d Cir. 1985).*And the EPA is invested with

4. The defendant in an EPA enforcement action would have an especially

heavy burden to establish that the shared responsibility of the PRPs is divisible, so as

to elude imposition of joint and several liability. Cf O'Neil, 883 F.2d at 178-79

(“[R]esponsible parties rarely escape joint and several liability [because] itis [often]

impossible to determine the amount of environmental harm caused by each party.”’);

see also United States v. Chem-Dyne Corp., 572 F. Supp. 802, 808-10 (S.D. Ohio

1983). However, ina CERCLA contribution action among responsible parties who

are jointly and severally liable, the burden of proof is less demanding, though the

court nevertheless may undertake a comparable allocation of the relative

responsibilities of the joint obligors. See 42 U.S.C. § 9613(f)(1) (“[T]he court may

allocate response costs among liable parties using such equitable factors as the court

determines are appropriate.”’); see also Smith Land & Improvement Corp. v. Celotex

Corp., 851 F.2d 86, 90 (3d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1029 (1989). In

(Cont'd)

9a

Appendix A

broad administrative discretion to compel PRPs to undertake

immediate cleanup measures, a prerogative largely insulated from

judicial review at the pre-enforcement stage. See 42 U.S.C. § 9606;

see also 42 U.S.C. § 9613(f) (PRPs who settle with EPA are

immune from subsequent contribution claims); /n re CMC

Heartland Partners, 966 F.2d 1143, 1148 (7th Cir. 1992).

(Cont'd)

approaching these divisibility and apportionment determinations, the courts have

relied on various guideposts, including the legislative history in general, and the so-

called “Gore Factors” in particular:

(i) the ability of the parties to demonstrate that their

contribution to a discharge, release or disposal of a

hazardous waste can be distinguished;

(ii) the amount of the hazardous waste involved;

(iii) the degree of toxicity of the hazardous waste

involved,

(iv) the degree of involvement by the parties in the

generation, transportation, treatment, storage, OF

disposal of the hazardous waste,

(v) the degree of care exercised by the parties with

respect to the hazardous waste concerned, taking into

account the characteristics of such hazardous waste; and

(vi) the degree of cooperation by the parties with

Federal, State or local officials to prevent any harm to the

public health or the environment.

Environmental Transp. Sys., Inc. v. Ensco, Inc.,969 F.2d 503, 508-09 (7th Cir. 1992)

(“Gore factors” provide a nonexhaustive but valuable roster of equitable

apportionment considerations) (quoting United States v. A & F Materials Co., Inc.,

578 F. Supp. 1249, 1256(S.D. Ill. 1984)).

10a

Appendix A

Atthe same time, however, CERCLA section 9613(f) is aimed

at promoting equitable allocations of financial responsibility by

authorizing PRPs subjected to pending or completed EPA

enforcement actions under 42 U.S.C. §§ 9606 and 9607(a)(4)(A)

to initiate private actions for full or partial contribution from

nonsettling PRPs by way of impleader or an independent action.

See 42 U.S.C. § 9613(f).° Thus, targeted PRPs, relying on the

ultimate financial accountability of more “culpable” PRPs, are

encouraged to initiate prompt response efforts, at their own

expense, in cooperation with the EPA. See H.R. Rep. No. 253, 99th

Cong., Ist Sess. 80, reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2835

(“Private parties may be more willing to assume the financial

responsibility for some or all of the cleanup if they are assured that

they can seek contribution from others.”); Jn re Dant & Russell,

Inc., 951 F.2d 246, 248 (9th Cir. 1991).

On the other hand, Bankruptcy Code § 502(e)(1)(B) often

5. Section 9613(f)(1) provides:

Any person may seek contribution from any other person

who is liable or potentially liable under section

{9607(a)], during or following any civil action under

section [9606] or under section [9607(a)]. Such claims

shall be brought in accordance with this section and the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and shall be governed

by Federal law. In resolving contribution claims, the

court may allocate response costs among liable parties

using such equitable factors as he court determines are

appropriate. Nothing in this subsection shall diminish

the right of any person to bring an action for contribution

in the absence of a civil action under section [9606] or

section [9607].

42U.S.C. § 9613(f).

lla

Appendix A

serves to forestall CERCLA’s intended equitable allocation of

responsibility, as occurred in this case when the bankruptcy court

disallowed Juniper’s estimated claim for $6.2 million in

anticipated future CERCLA response costs. Section 502(e)(1)(B)

provides, in pertinent part:

[T]he court shall disallow any claim for

reimbursement or contribution of an entity

[viz., Juniper] that is liable with the debtor

[Hemingway-Bristol] on or has secured, the

claim of a creditor [EPA], to the extent that —

(B) such claim for reimbursement or

contribution is contingent as of the time

of allowance or disallowance of such

claim for reimbursement or

contribution....

11 U.S.C. § 502(e)(1)(B). There can be little doubt that, but for

section 502(e)(1)(B), the Hemingway-Bristol estate would share

some measure of financial responsibility for the anticipated $6.2

million in future response costs on which the Juniper claim is

based.

Nevertheless, section 502(e)(1)(B) would mandate

disallowance of the Juniper claim against the Hemingway-Bristol

chapter 7 estate if Juniper is jointly liable with the Hemingway-

Bristol estate on the same “debt” for estimated future CERCLA

response costs to EPA, and Juniper’s right to payment on its claim

— denominated a claim for reimbursement or contribution —

remained “contingent” at the time of its disallowance. See In re

Provincetown-Boston Airlines, 72 B.R. 307, 309 (Bankr. M.D. Fla.

12a

Appendix A

1987). The bankruptcy court, citing Jn re Charter Co., 862 F.2d

1500 (11th Cir. 1989), held that the Juniper claim met all three

criteria for disallowance under section 502(e)(1)(B). First, Juniper

denominated its claim as one for “indemnification” or

“contribution.” But see infra note 22. Second, Juniper and

Hemingway-Bristol are “liable” to the EPA for future CERCLA

response costs (hereinafter: the “EPA debt”) because all three

entities were designated PRPs by the EPA. Third, the Juniper claim

is “contingent” because the EPA has issued no further cleanup

orders against Juniper; hence, additional cleanup of the facility

may not be required. /n re Hemingway Transp., 105 B.R. at 177-78.

2. Applicability of Section 502(e)(1)(B) to CERCLA

Claims.

Section 502(e)(1)(B) was enacted for one purpose — “to

prevent[] competition between a creditor and his guarantor for the

limited proceeds of the estate.” H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist

Sess. 354 (1977); S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 65 (1978)

(emphasis added). Normally, section 502(e)(1)(B) is invoked

against claims based on debts or obligations arising from voluntary

contractual relationships. Even in the context of a CERCLA-

based, quasi-“tort” obligation, however, the practical need for

section 502(e)(1)(B) is evident; that is, but for section

502(e)(1)(B), see infra note 6, an estimation of Juniper’s claim for

anticipated response costs, see 11 U.S.C. § 502(c)(1), would entitle

Juniper to share in the distribution of the insolvent chapter 7 estate

under Bankruptcy Code 726(a), 11 U.S.C. § 726(a), see, e.g., In re

Butterworth, 50 B.R. 320, 322 (Bankr. W.D. Nich. 1984),

notwithstanding that its claim remained “contingent” until such

time (if ever) as EPA were to call upon Juniper to pay any future

CERCLA response costs incurred for further cleanup or

remediation of the facility.

——=—

13a

Appendix A

The Cade’s expansive definition of “claim” permits automatic

allowance of most “contingent” claims, see Bankruptcy Code

§§ 101(4), 502(a), 11 U.S.C. §§ 101(4), 502(a), against a chapter 7

estate upon timely filing, see id. §§ 501, 726; Fed. R. Bankr. P.

3002(c). The bankruptcy court simply estimates the amount of the

claim for purposes of its allowance, see id. § 502(c)(1),

discounting its value to reflect the uncertainty of the contingency,

in order to enable the holder to share in the distribution of the

insolvent estate.© On the other hand, where the filing of a

contingent claim for contribution or reimbursement entails risk

that the assets of the chapter 7 estate will be exposed to “double-

dipping” by holders of the same underlying claim against the

estate, section 502(e)(1)(B) mandates disallowance of the

contingent claim. The sole purpose served by section 502(e)(1)(B)

is to preclude redundant recoveries on identical claims against

insolvent estates in violation of the fundamental Code policy

fostering equitable distribution among all creditors of the same

class. The “double-dipping” threat in the present case would result

from the allowance and estimation of Juniper’s contingent claim,

6. Under CERCLA § 9607(a)(4)(B), see pp. 32-35 infra, “contribution” relief

is restricted to damages for past response costs (i.e., costs already “incurred’”’). On the

other hand, section 961 3(g)(2) authorizes a declaratory judgmentaction to determine

liability forresponse costs which “will be binding on any subsequent action or actions

to recover further response costs or damages,” a form of relief plainly encompassed

within Juniper’ s amended complaint. See Jn re Chateaugay Corp., 944 F.2d at 1008

(noting that, notwithstanding CERCLA’s ban on pre-enforcement judicial review, a

bankruptcy court may estimate CERCLA claims pursuant to Bankruptcy Code

§ §02(c)(1), “with ultimate liquidation of the claims to await the outcome of normal

CERCLA enforcement proceedings”). A “contingent” claim predicated on an

otherwise valid declaratory judgment entered pursuant to section 9613(g)( 2) would

be subject to estimation. See Bankruptcy Code § 502(c)(1), 11 U.S.C. § 502(c)(1)

(“There shall be estimated for purposes of allowance under this section . . . any

contingent or unliquidated claim, the fixing or liquidation of which, as the case may

be, would unduly delay the administration of the case. . . .”).

l4a

Appendix A

and the allowance of an EPA claim, for the same future CERCLA

response costs against the chapter 7 estate.

Section 502(e)(1)(B) is a fair and reasonable measure as

applied against a contract guarantor or surety. Confronted with the

prospect that its contingent claim for reimbursement or

contribution against a chapter 7 debtor estate may be subject to

disallowance under section 502(e)(1)(B), an entity may elect to

cause its contingent contract claim to become “fixed” prior to

disallowance, see Bankruptcy Code § 502(e)(2), by itself

satisfying the debt due the creditor of the debtor estate, leaving the

entity as the sole holder of a claim against the estate based on that

debt.’ See, e.g., In re Baldwin-United Corp, 55 B.R. 885, 895

(Bankr. S.D. Ohio 1985). On the other hand, the section 502(e)(2)

“fixing” option presents an especially difficult dilemma for an

owner or operator of a targeted facility, such as Juniper, involved in

a Superfund contribution action. The onerous CERCLA

remediation process may take years to complete, leaving PRPs

holding the bag; that is, holding unallowable contingent claims for

contribution or reimbursement against the chapter 7 estate, claims

typically totaling millions of dollars. In such circumstances,

section 502(e)(1)(B) may operate to preclude innocent PRPs from

7. Section 502(e)(2) provides.

A claim for reimbursement or contribution of such an

entity that becomes fixed after the commencement of the

case shall be determined, and shall be allowed under

subsection (a), (b), or (c) of this section, or disallowed

under subsection (d) of this section, the same as if such

claim had become fixed before the date of the filing of

the petition.

11 U.S.C. § 502(e)(2).

Oe

1Sa

Appendix A

recovering CERCLA response costs from a chapter 7 estate even

though the estate clearly is responsible for all or part of the

environmental contamination. If the EPA opts to refrain from

participating in any distribution from the chapter 7 estate, as it may

do simply by not filing a proof of claim, Juniper may end up as the

only potential EPA enforcement-action target still left standing and

solvent.® Thus, sometimes the fundamental policy embodied in

Bankruptcy Code § 502(e)(1)(B) may promote an expeditious

administration of the chapter 7 estate, see In re American

Continental Corp., 119 B.R. 216, 217 (Bankr. D. Ariz. 1990), at the

expense of a fundamental CERCLA policy: the equitable

allocation of environmental cleanup costs among all responsible

parties.

Although section 502(e)(1)(B) may have been devised

primarily with contract-based codebtor relationships in mind (e.g.,

guaranties, suretyships), however, its language (“liable with”) has

been found too plain and inclusive to exempt “joint and several”

tort-based obligations from disallowance, see, e.g., In re American

Continental, 119 B.R. at 217; In re Pacor, Inc., 110 B.R. 686, 688

(E.D. Pa. 1990); In re Wedtech Corp., 87 B.R. 279, 284 (Bankr.

S.D.N.Y. 1988), and the Bankruptcy Code elsewhere carves out no

exception for this variety of co-obligation. Moreover, even though

8. EPA enforcement actions generally are excepted from the automatic stay

provisions. See Bankruptcy Code § 362(b)(4), 11 U.S.C. § 362(b)(4); New York v.

Exxon Corp., 932 F.2d 1020, 1024-25 (2d Cir. 1991). Even were the EPA toreduce to

judgment its claim for prepetition damages against the chapter 7 debtors, however,

the judgment would not be enforceable against the debtors’ estate except through the

normal claim allowance process. See Bankruptcy Code § 362(b)(5), 11 uss.

§ 362(b)(5). Moreover, corporate debtors cannot receive a discharge, see id.

§ 727(a)(1), 11 U.S.C. § 727(a)(1) (“The court shall grant the debtor a discharge,

unless . . . the debtor is not an individual . . . .”). Consequently, virtually all such

chapter 7 proceedings end with the debtor in dissolution and its corporate cupboard

bare.

16a

Appendix A

CERCLA and SARA postdate the enactment of Bankruptcy Code

§ 502(e), and plainly envisfon private rights of action for CERCLA

contribution as inducements to spontaneous private cleanup

efforts by PRPs, neither environmental statute alludes to the

Bankruptcy Code, let alone exempts CERCLA contribution claims

from the Code’s normal claim procedures. Thus, notwithstanding

the purposive liberality with which courts are to construe

CERCLA’s remedial provisions, see Kayser-Roth, 910 F.2d at 26

(“ ‘[W]e will not interpret section 9607(a) in any way that

apparently frustrates the statute’s goals.’ ”) (citation omitted),

Bankruptcy Code § 502(e)(1)(B) obliges a construction consistent

with its plain terms. See Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485

U.S. 197, 206 (1988) (“[W]hatever equitable powers remain in the

bankruptcy courts must and can only be exercised within the

confines of the Bankruptcy Code.”).

Finally, we discern no inherent incompatibility between

section 502(e)(1)(B) and the congressional policies underlying

CERCLA, such as might enable a court reasonably to conclude that

Congress implicitly exempted CERCLA co-obligation claims.

Although on occasion section 502(e)(1)(B) may impede

CERCLA’s subsidiary policy of promoting equitable allocations

of environmental cleanup costs among responsible parties, pre-

“fixing” disallowance does not conflict with CERCLA’s primary

goal — encouraging targeted PRPs to initiate cleanup efforts as

expeditiously as practicable in the expectation that their contingent

claims may become “fixed” in time for allowance against the

debtor estate. See In re Charter Co., 862 F.2d at 1504 (noting

obvious environmental benefit from efforts to “fix” contingent

claims prior to the closing of the bankruptcy case); see also supra

note 7.

Accordingly, we conclude that Congress did not exempt

CERCLA claims from disallowance under section 502(e)(1)(B).

eisai

17a

Appendix A

3. Burdens of Proof in Section 502(e)(1)(B) Litigation.

In the litigation of a section 502(e)(1)(B) objection to a

contingent claim, however, the proper allocation of burdens of

proof and production may be decisive. A proof of claim which

comports with the requirements of Bankruptcy Rule 3001(f)

constitutes prima facie evidence of the validity and amount of the

claim. See Fed. R. Bankr. P. 3001(f). The interposition of an

objection does not deprive the proof of claim of presumptive

validity unless the objection is supported by substantial evidence.

Norton Bankruptcy Law & Practice, Bankruptcy Rules at 191

(1992); see also In re Beverages Int’l, Ltd., 50 B.R. 273, 276 (D.

Mass. 1985). Once the trustee manages the initial burden of

producing substantial evidence, however, the ultimate risk of

nonpersuasion as to the allowability of the claim resides with the

party asserting the claim. See Bankruptcy Rules, at 191-92; see

also Inre VTN, Inc., 69 B.R. 1005, 1006 (Bankr. S.D. Fla. 1987). In

the present case, therefore, the chapter 7 trustee was required to

come forward with substantial evidence that Juniper’s claim is one

for CERCLA “contribution,” which would implicate two related

questions: (1) whether Hemingway-Bristol is contingently

“liable” to the EPA for future response costs, and (2) whether

Juniper is “liable” to the EPA on the same “debt.”

4. Hemingway-Bristol “Liability” on Joint Obligation.

At the time it allowed Juniper’s claim for past response costs,

the bankruptcy court determined that Hemingway-Bristol had

owned or operated the facility when the passive “disposal” of

hazardous substances occurred and that Hemingway-Bristol had

actual knowledge of the presence of the leaking barrels. Hence,

Hemingway-Bristol is a “covered person,” strictly liable to the

EPA for future response costs pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(a)(4)(A).

18a

Appendix A

Juniper nonetheless suggests that the term “liable with”

should be interpreted in light of the singular legislative purpose

underlying the section 502(e)(1)(B) contingent claim

disallowance provision. Like any other claim for contribution,

says Juniper, its claim for future CERCLA response costs could

pose no “double-dipping” threat were the EPA, for whatever

reason, not to participate in any distribution from the chapter 7

estate. Moreover, the EPA has elected not to assert a claim against

the estate, despite considerable prodding by Juniper. Rather, the

EPA repeatedly has manifested its intention to forego any

immediate claim against the chapter 7 estate in favor of

administrative enforcement actions against other PRPs, such as

Juniper.’ The trustee responds that the literal language of section

502(e)(1)(B) directs disallowance of the codebtor’s [Juniper’s]

contingent claim even though the creditor [EPA] has not filed a

proof of claim by the time the codebtor’s claim is considered for

allowance.

Section 502(e)(1) directs disallowance of the claim of a

codebtor who is liable with the debtor on the “claim of a creditor.”

The pivotal terms — “claim” and “creditor” — are defined. A

“claim” is a “right to payment, whether or not such right is reduced

to judgment, liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed, undisputed, legal, equitable, secured, or

unsecured.” Bankruptcy Code § 101(4), 11 U.S.C. § 101(4)

(emphasis added). A“‘creditor” is an “eritity that has aclaim against

the debtor that arose at the time of or before the order for relief

concerning the debtor.” Jd. §§ 101(9), 301 (“The commencement

9. In a May 1987 letter to Juniper, the EPA suggested that it had already

exercised its discretion to refrain from asserting an enforcement action against the

chapter 7 estate, at least as of that time. Two years later, however, the EPA sent PRP

notices to Hemingway and Bnstol.

19a

Appendix A

of a voluntary case under a chapter of this title constitutes an order

for relief under such chapter.”).

The EPA presumably holds a prepetition claim against the

chapter 7 estate, since its contingent “right to payment” accrued

while Bristol and Hemingway owned or operated the facility at

which the hazardous waste “disposal” occurred. Cf. In re

Chateaugay, 944 F.2d at 1002-06 (EPA claim for CERCLA

response costs is a prepetition claim if the contamination occurred

prior to the petition, without regard to when EPA discovered

contamination, or incurred response costs). Although section

502(e)(1)(B) plainly does not require that a creditor’s right to

payment be evidenced by a timely proof of claim, or a previously

allowed claim, see In re Wedtech Corp., 85 B.R. 285, 289 (Bankr.

S.D.N.Y. 1988), it is nonetheless incumbent on the trustee to

produce substantial evidence of the existence of aright to payment

on the part of the creditor.

The co-liability clause in section 502(e)(1), viz., “liable with

the debtor,” interpreted in light of its singular purpose, might

permit allowance of a non-fixed codebtor claim for CERCLA

contribution if the creditor were foreclosed from participating in

any distribution from the estate under Bankruptcy Code § 726(a).

Nevertheless, though we reject the trustee’s contention that the

EPA might yet demonstrate “excusable neglect” warranting an

extension of time to file a proof of claim,'° we must examine other

10. Inachapter7 case, proofs of claim must be filed within ainety days after the

first date set for the first meeting of creditors. Fed. R. Bankr. P. 3002(c). See In re

Chirillo, 84 B.R. 120, 122 (Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1988). Since the EPA could no longer

satisfy any of the six conditions for extension of the ninety-day bar date set forth in

Bankruptcy Rule 3002(c), it is precluded from asserting a timely proof of claim

against the chapter 7 estate. See Fed. R. Bankr. P. 9006(b)(1). Rule 9006(b) plainly

precludes resort to Rule 9006(b)(1) to extend a time period prescribed in Rule

(Cont'd)

20a

Appendix A

means which may remain open to EPA’s participation in any

chapter 7 distribution.

The EPA may participate in a distribution to unsecured

creditors under section 726(a)(2)(C) if it was never scheduled as a

“creditor” of the estate, and had no actual knowledge of the

proceedings in time to file a proof of claim. See Jn re Global

Precious Metals, Inc., 143 B.R. 204, 205-06 (Bankr. N.D. II.

1992) (chapter 7).'' Thus, a remote “double-dipping” prospect

would remain if Juniper’s claim were to be allowed, as it is

| conceivable that EPA might yet file an allowable claim.”

| (Cont'd)

3002(c), except “to the extent and under the conditions stated in [Rule 3002(c)].”’ /d. at

9006(b)(3). ;

11. Bankruptcy Code § 726(a)(2)(C) provides for “payment of any allowed

unsecured claim, other than aclaim of a kind specified in paragraph (1), (3), or (4) of

| this subsection, proof of whichis... tardily filed under section 501 (a) of this title, if (i)

| the creditor that holds such claim did not have notice or actual knowledge of the case

in time for timely filing of a proof of such claim under section 501 (a) of this title; and

(ii) proof of such claim is filed in time to permit payment of such claim.” 11 U.S.C.

§ 726(a)(2)(C). The appellate record does not disclose whether EPA was listed as a

creditor. In addition, it is conceivable, though unlikely, that EPA’s CERCLA claim

might be entitled to share in any subordinate distribution under section 726(a)(3), as

an “allowed unsecured claim proof of which is tardily filed,” even if EPA was

scheduled, or had actual notice of the case prior to the bar date. See In re Melenyzer,

140B.R. 143, 156n.42 (Bankr. W.D. Tex. 1992) (chapter 7).

12. Of course, the bankruptcy court might condition its allowance of a

codebtor’s claim on the ultimate failure of the creditor to file a proof of claim. See

Bankruptcy Code § 502(j), 11 U.S.C. § 502(j) (“A claim that has been allowed or

disallowed may be reconsidered for cause.”). Instead of automatic disallowance,

some courts have suggested that the bankruptcy court sharply discount the codebtor’s

claim to offset this all-or-nothing contingency, or direct that any distribution to the

codebtor be placed in trust, to be expended only to reduce the common debt. See /n re

(Cont'd)

ee te

‘ee

21a

Appendix A

In this case, however, the harsh results occasioned by

Bankruptcy Code 502(e)(1)(B) are mitigable through recourse to

Bankruptcy Code 501(c), which provides that, “[i]fa creditor does

not timely file a proof of such creditor’s claim, the debtor or the

trustee may file a proof of such claim.” See also Fed. R. Bankr. P.

3004. Although section 501(c) is permissive (“may file”), rather

than mandatory, and is designed principally to prevent creditors

from depriving debtors of the benefit of a discharge under

Bankruptcy Code § 727, 11 U.S.C. § 727, cf. supra note 8, in these

circumstances there are sound reasons to require the chapter 7

trustee to shoulder the initial burden of filing a surrogate claim in

behalf of the EPA as a precondition to obtaining simultaneous

disallowance of Juniper’s contingent claim under section

501(e)(1)(B).

First, even if the chapter 7 trustee were to decline to act as an

EPA surrogate, Juniper could force the trustee’s hand. Under a

parallel Code provision, Juniper itself would be permitted to file a

surrogate claim for the EPA. See Bankruptcy Code § 501(b), 11

U.S.C. § 501(b) (“If acreditor [EPA] does not timely file a proof of

such creditor’s claim, an entity [Juniper] that is liable to such

creditor with the debtor... may file a proof of such claim.”).'’ Were

(Cont'd)

Allegheny Int'l. inc., 126B.R.919,924(W.D. Pa. 1991), aff'd, 950 F.2d 721 (3d Cir.

1991). However, these options find little support in the categorical language of

section 502(e)(1)(B).

13. Theequitable considerations underlying the section 501(b) surrogate-claim

procedure have been described as follows:

Section 501(b) and Rule 3005 protect the codebtor

against the danger that the creditor, faced with the

bankruptcy of the prime debtor, might decide to rely on

the solvency of the codebtor and therefore, to abstain

(Cont'd)

ee

22a

Appendix A

it to resort to the surrogate-claim procedure, Juniper would be

required to show simply that “the original debt [due EPA by

Hemingway-Bristol would] be diminished by the amount of the

distribution [to the EPA on the surrogate claim].” Fed. R. Bankr. P.

3005(a). Of course, even this modest burden would be obviated if

the surrogate claim were to be superseded by the EPA’s filing of its

own proof of claim. See id. '*

(Cont'd)

from filing a proof of claim. In such a case, while there

might be a prospect of securing at least partial

satisfaction from the assets of the debtor, the creditor

would forego this possibility and merely proceed with

his claim against the codebtor. By the time the creditor

decided to take such action, any period fixed for the

filing of claims might have elapsed. Indeed, the debtor’s

estate might have been fully administered by the trustee

so that the codebtor would be left without the possibility

of even partial reimbursement to the extent he has

satisfied the claim of the debtor’s creditor. The debtor’s

discharge would remove the possibility that his codebtor

could secure indemnification from him at some future

time... . [T]he unwillingness of th[{e] creditor to take the

necessary steps in the administration of bankruptcy to

insure . . . participation [in distribution of the debtor's

assets] would not deny the ability of the codebtor to do

so.

See Lawrence D. King, Collier on Bankruptcy J 509.02, at 509-6 (15th ed. 1991)

[hereinafter Collier on Bankruptcy}.

14. Although the EPA can no longer file a “timely” proof of claim now that

the bar date has passed, see supra note 10, its forbearance triggers the trustee’s

and Juniper’s rights to file a proof of claim in EPA’s behalf. Under Bankruptcy

Rules 3004 and 3005(a), the trustee and Juniper normally would have only thirty

days from the bar date to file their surrogate claims. But insofar as EPA “did not

have notice or actual knowledge of the case in time for timely filing of a proof of

(Cont'd)

23a

Appendix A

More importantly, mandatory resort to the trustee's option to

file a surrogate proof of claim under section 501(c) more readily

comports with the allocation of the burden of proof under section

502(e)(1)(B), which would require the trustee to come forward

with substantial support for the section 502(e)(1)(B) objection to

Juniper’s proof of claim, and hence, substantial evidence that

Hemingway and Bristol were “liable” to the EPA. See supra

Section II.A.3. In addition, the trustee has title and ready access to

the debtors’ records, see Bankruptcy Code § 521(4), 11 U.S.C.

§ 521(4) (“[D]ebtor shall . . . surrender to trustee all property of

the estate, including books, documents, records, and papers... .”’);

In re Bentley, 120 B.R. 712, 714 (S.D.N.Y. 1990), and the right to

require the debtors’ officers to submit to examination, see

Bankruptcy Code § 521(3), 11 U.S.C. § 521(3) (“[DJebtor shall...

cooperate with the trustee as necessary to enable the trustee to

perform the trustee’s duties . . . .”); Fed. R. Bankr. P. 4002(4)

(Debtor must “cooperate with the trustee in . . . the examination of

proofs of claim... .”); Jn re Neese, 137 B.R. 797, 801 (C.D. Cal.

1992) (* ‘[CJooperate’ is a broad term... .”). Thus, the trustee is in

a far better position than Juniper to ferret out evidence relevant to

the EPA’s claim against the debtors.

Although disallowance of Juniper’s CERCLA claim under

section 502(e)(1)(B) is not strictly foreclosed by EPA’s failure to

file timely proof of its claim, we cannot overlook the fact that the

trustee’s reliance on section 502(e)(1)(B) may occasion a pointless

(Cont'd)

... Claim,” Bankruptcy Code § 726(a)(2)(C)(i), see also supra note 11 and

accompanying text, the EPA can yet file a belated claim that can receive payment

along with other timely-filed unsecured claims, so long as “proof of such claim is

filed in time to permit payment of such claim.” /d. § 726(a)(2)(C)(ii). Thus, the

trustee and Juniper, as EPA surrogates, can avail themselves of the section

726(a)(2)(C) “extended filing” provision.

24a

Appendix A

financial loss to Juniper and result in a windfall to the chapter 7

estate, notwithstanding Juniper’s best efforts to induce EPA to file

its claim. In this vein, we note that resort to subsections 501(b) and

(c) would not compel EPA’s participation in the bankruptcy

proceedings, cf. In re Hemingway Transp., 70 B.R. 549 (Bankr. D.

Mass. 1987) (finding sovereign immunity would preclude

mandatory joinder of EPA as party); cf. also infra note 26, but

nevertheless would compel a set-aside for EPA’s benefit at the time

of distribution regardless of its decision to refrain from filing a

claim against the chapter 7 estate. The distribution to EPA would

result in a reduction in the total indebtedness to EPA for which

Juniper and the chapter 7 estate are alleged to be co-liable. In our

view, the EPA’s recalcitrance, whatever its administrative

justification, provides no relevant legal or equitable basis for

barring resort to the alternative surrogate-claim filing procedure

authorized under subsections 501(b) and (c).

Accordingly, we vacate the bankruptcy court order

disallowing Juniper’s claim under section 502(e)(1)(B). On

remand, the bankruptcy court should prescribe a reasonable bar

date by which the chapter 7 trustee must elect whether to file a

surrogate EPA claim pursuant to Bankruptcy Code § 50l1(c),

without prejudice to Juniper’s right to submit a surrogate claim

under subsection 502(b) as well.'® Should the trustee not file a

15. Unlike a creditor filing in its own behalf, or a trustee seeking to avail the

debtor of the full benefit of achapter 7 discharge, in this case the chapter 7 trustee may

have little incentive to maximize any surrogate claim in behalf of EPA, thus depleting

any pro-rata dividend available to other unsecured creditors. A similar problem may

arise if any superseding proof of claim filed by EPA were to understate (in Juniper's

view) the chapter 7 debtors’ share of the CERCLA obligation. We do not construe

subsections 501(b) and (c) as suggesting that the trustee could preempt a surrogate

EPA claim by Juniper under section 501(b) asserting that the chapter 7 estate’s

CERCLA liability to EPA is greater than that asserted in the trustee’s section 501(c)

(Cont'd)

25a -

Appendix A

timely surrogate claim (and should Juniper not do so), the section

§02(e)(1)(B) objection should be dismissed, and the court should

estimate Juniper’s direct claim against the chapter 7 estate

pursuant to normal claimallowance procedures. See Bankruptcy

Code § 502(c).

5. Juniper’s “Liability” on Joint Obligation.

In the event the trustee should file a surrogate claim in behalf

of the EPA pursuant to sections 501(c) and 726(a)(2)(C) following

remand, we outline the standards governing its consideration by

the bankruptcy court.

Juniper’s “contribution” claim differs in one important

respect from codebtor claims normally subjected to disallowance

under section 502(e)(1)(B). In the typical contractual relationship

between a principal and its surety or guarantor, the codebtor’s

(surety’s or guarantor’s) obligation on the common debt arises at

the same time as the creditor’s (principal’s) “right to payment”

from the debtor — during the prepetition period — which

necessarily means that both the creditor and the codebtor hold

prepetition claims against the debtor estate. Here, on the other

hand, regardless whether the EPA has a prepetition or a

postpetition claim, Juniper’s “right to payment” from

Hemingway-Bristol arose, at the earliest, when it purchased the

facility from the Hemingway-Bristol chapter 11 estate in April

1983. Only then did Juniper become an “owner and operator” of

the contaminated facility, hence a “covered person” under

(Cont'd)

surrogate claim. Rather, the bankruptcy court should entertain evidence from the

trustee and Juniper, for the purpose of estimating the value of the EPA claim under

section 502(c).

26a

Appendix A

CERCLA." Since Juniper undeniably holds a postpetition “claim”

Bankruptcy Code §§ 101(9), 301, 11 U.S.C. § 101(9), 301, its

“proof of claim” under Bankruptcy Code §§ 501 and 502 is no less

readily — and presumably even more accurately — characterized

as “a request for payment of an administrative expense” under

Bankruptcy Code § 503(a). See Bankruptcy Code § 348(d), 11

U.S.C. § 348(d) (providing that claims arising after the filing of a

_ chapter 11 petition and before conversion to chapter 7 shall be

treated as prepetition claims, unless they qualify as

“administrative expenses” under section 503(b))."’

Bankruptcy Code § 503(a)(1)(A) enables an entity to file a

request for payment of an administrative expense, including “the

actual, necessary costs and expenses of preserving the estate.” “As

16. The bankruptcy court implicitly acknowledged as much when it approved

Juniper’s request for past response costs as an administrative expense: “Juniper’s

cause of action under CERCLA arose when the property containing the drums was

transferred to Juniper or, alternatively, when Juniper expended money in response to

the EPA’s administrative order.” Jn re Hemingway Transp., 73 B.R. at 503.

17. Courts have long recognized a category of allowable administrative

expenses resulting in no discernible benefit to the debtor estate, see Jn re Charlesbank

Laundry, Inc., 755 F.2d 200 (Ist Cir. 1985), in instances where fundamental fairness

required that the claimant’s right to distribution take precedence over the rights of

general creditors. See Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S.471 (1968). In Reading, several

business firms, whose premises were damaged by a fire negligently caused by the

receiver appointed to operate a Chapter XI business, requested that their fire-loss

claims be allowed as administrative expenses of the Chapter XI estate,

notwithstanding the fact that the losses sustained as a result of the fire resulted in no

“benefit” to the Chapter XI estate. Noting the “decisive, statutory objective [of]

fairness to all persons having claims against the insolvent,” Reading, 391 U.S. at477,

the Supreme Court held that the claims for postpetition fire loss were allowable as

costs of administration. Its rationale was equitable in nature: unsecured creditors ina

Chapter XI reorganization anticipate that their agreement to defer receipt of payment

(Cont'd)

AON ih EI LORD RSE

ne Ales Ml aa

27a

Appendix A

a general rule, a request for priority payment of an administrative

expense pursuant to Bankruptcy Code § 503(a) may qualify if (1)

the right to payment arose from a postpetition transaction with the

debtor estate, rather than from a prepetition transaction with the

debtor, and (2) the consideration supporting the right to payment

was beneficial to the estate of the debtor.” Jn re Hemingway

Transp., Inc., 954 F.2d 1, 5 (Ist Cir. 1991) (citing In re Mammoth

Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950, 954 (ist Cir. 1976)). The trustee argues

that administrative expense priority under Mammoth Mart iS

(Cont'd)

on their prepetition claims may facilitate the reorganization debtor’s ultimate

rehabilitation, thereby enhancing their prospects for recovery on their prepetition

claims. Unlike holders of prepetition claims, however, the firms whose business

premises were damaged by the postpetition fire negligently caused by the receiver

had “the insolvent business [involuntarily] thrust upon them by operation of law.” /d.

Similarly, in Charlesbank, we extended Reading to postpetition fines imposed ona

chapter 1] estate for deliberate disregard of an injunction. See Charlesbank, 755 F.2d

at 203.

In citing Reading and Charlesbank as support for its provisional decision

granting Juniper administrative priority for its postpetition contribution claims, the

bankruptcy court focused entirely on the debtors’ failure to disclose the

environmental risk prior to the 1983 sale, and the perceived “unfairness” in the

“debtor attempting to transfer its liability or potential for liability under state or

federal environmental laws” in those circumstances. See In re Hemingway Transp.,

73 B.R. at 504. Thus interpreted, Reading might permit Juniper to recover the entire

cost of its extant “injury” — or the past and future costs of remediation — despite the

fact that it has yet to incur some of these response costs. Unlike the injured parties in

Reading and Charlesbank, however, Juniper dealt voluntarily onacontractual basis

with the chapter 1 1 estate. No principle of fundamental fairness would entitle Juniper

to administrative priority over other unsecured creditors of the Hemingway-Bristol

estate if it failed to exercise due diligence in all the circumstances to protect itself,

from the outset, against any imposition of CERCLA joint and several liability. In

addition, lack of due diligence would, for reasons explained below at pp. 36-38,

prevent Juniper from escaping the strictures of section 502(e)(1)(B)’s “fixing”

requirement.

28a

Appendix A

wholly unavailable to Juniper on its claims for past and future

response costs, as Juniper’s right to contribution from the chapter 7

estate was not supported by consideration (i.e., Juniper’s outlay of

response costs) which could “benefit” the estate. Thus, the trustee

points out that the contaminated facility was no longer property of

the chapter 11 estate, hence Juniper’s incurrence of response costs

would not bring the estate into compliance with federal or state

environmental regulations. Cf. Jn re Stevens, 68 B.R. 774, 783 (D.

Me. 1987) (finding that the State’s claim for cleanup expenses

incurred in substitute fulfillment of the trustee’s legal obligation

was entitled to administrative expense priority, where the trustee,

who would be prohibited from exercising his power of

abandonment in contravention of state environmental protection

laws, was still in “possession” of property posing an “imminent

and identifiable danger” to public health and safety; contrasting

case in which trustee had already been “dispossessed” of waste site

at time of government-financed cleanup); Jn re T.P. Long Chem.,

Inc., 45 B.R. 278, 284-85 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1985). Nor could the

CERCLA response costs incurred by Juniper “benefit” the chapter

11 estate while the estate remained jointly and severally liable on

the EPA debt. Although we agree that Juniper’s incurrence of

CERCLA response costs might not benefit the estate, on the facts

of this case we cannot agree that Mammoth Mart priority is

altogether unavailable to Juniper.

In the context of their arm’s-length purchase-sale transaction

in 1983, we must presume that Juniper and the chapter 11 estate

were cognizant of the federal and state environmental laws then in

effect, and that, notwithstanding Juniper’s resulting status as an

“owner or operator” of the contaminated facility, the chapter 11

estate could remain liable for any response costs later incurred by

Juniper and for which the debtors (or the debtor estate) were liable

under CERCLA section 9607(a), an obligation explicitly provided

29a

Appendix A

for presently in 42 U.S.C. §§ 9607(a)(4)(B) and 9613(f). See

O'Neil, 883 F.2d at 179 (noting that SARA contribution provisions

merely “codif[ied] [a remedy] that most courts had concluded was

implicit in the 1980 Act”); Marden Corp. v. C.G.C. Music, Ltd.,

804 F.2d 1454, 1457 n.3 (9th Cir. 1986) (collecting pre-SARA

caselaw recognizing implicit right of contribution in CERCLA).

There is no record evidence that the estate either contracted away

its obligation to contribute, or bargained for a right to

indemnification from Juniper. See 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e) (purported

transfers of CERCLA liability cannot exonerate transferor, but

indemnification agreements are permissible). Similarly, to the

extent that the $1.6 million purchase price for the facility

presumptively reflected the parties’ allocation of the risks relating

to these contribution costs, the $1.6 million constituted

“consideration” supporting Juniper’s right to payment for

contribution for response costs from the estate. Obviously, this

substantial infusion of cash benefitted the chapter 11 rehabilitation

effort. Thus, the $1.6 million in purchase monies constituted the

requisite baseline “consideration” for Juniper’s right to

contribution; and response costs subsequently incurred by Juniper

a mere maturation of that right, immaterial for Mammoth Mart

purposes.

On the other hand, we agree that Mammoth Mart priority is

unavailing to Juniper insofar as its right to contribution for future

response costs remains “contingent” at the time the bankruptcy

court considers Juniper’s claim for allowance against the debtor

estate. Only “actual” administrative expenses, not contingent

expenses, are entitled to priority payment under Bankruptcy Code

§ 503(b)(1)(A). Even though Juniper’s postpetition contribution

claim, once allowed, would be entitled to priority treatment under

section 503(b), the parallel restrictions in section 502(e)(1)(B)

pose an additional hurdle. Under its clear terms, section

30a

Appendix A

502(e)(1)(B) does not apply exclusively to “creditors,” or in other

words, to holders of prepetition claims for reimbursement or

contribution. Section 502(e)(1)(B) refers to the holder of the claim

as an “entity,” not as a “creditor” of the estate.'* Accordingly,

Juniper’s priority “claim for reimbursement or contribution”

would be allowable if either: (1) Juniper and the chapter 11 estate

are not strictly, jointly, and severally liable (“liable with the

debtor”) on the EPA debt under the liability provisions of the

CERCLA statute, or (2) Juniper’s response costs have become

“fixed” and “actual” (i.e., have been expended by Juniper for

remediation or paid over to the EPA) by the time Juniper’s claim is

considered for disallowance. As Juniper’s contingent claim for

future response costs is, by definition, not “fixed,” Juniper cannot

escape the consequences of section 502(e)(1)(B) unless it is not

strictly and jointly “liable” with Hemingway-Bristol on the EPA

debt. Cf. infra Section II.C. (Mammoth Mart administrative

expense priority would attach to Juniper’s “fixed” claim for past

response costs). We turn, therefore, to the question of Juniper’s

alleged liability to the EPA.

The threshold question is whether Juniper is even asserting a

direct CERCLA claim against the chapter 7 estate, or merely a

derivative claim for “contribution” from the chapter 7 estate.

CERCLA section 9613(f) is the sole statutory basis for a right to

“contribution,” see supra note 5 and accompanying text, but

CERCLA prescribes other remedial provisions as well. Unlike

section 9613(f), a private right of action for CERCLA response

costs under section 9607(a)(4)(B) is available to “any person” who

incurs necessary response costs, presumably without regard to

whether the plaintiff is an EPA target, i.e., a PRP or “covered

person” under section 9607(a). See 42 U.S.C. § 9601(21)

18. “Creditor” means an “entity that has a claim that arose at the time of or

before the order of relief.” Bankruptcy Code § 101(9), 11 U.S.C. § 101(9).

3la

Appendix A

(“person” includes “corporation”). Section 9607(a)(4)(B) simply

requires the private-action plaintiff to prove that (1) a rel-ase ofa

“hazardous substance” from the subject “facility” occurred or is

threatened; (2) the defendant comes within any of four categories

of “covered persons,” which include current owners or operators of

the facility, see 42 U.S.C. § 9601(9)(B), as well as the owners and

operators of the facility at the time the contamination occurred; (3)

the release or threatened release has caused (or may cause) the

claimant to incur response costs;'? and (4) the response costs are

“necessary” and “consistent with the national contingency plan.”

See Dedham Water Co. v. Cumberland Farms Dairy Inc. , 889 F.2d

1146, 1150 (Ist Cir. 1989).”°

19. Response costs,” 42 U.S.C. § 9601(25), include costs incurred in

“removal” actions, which address immediate threats to public health and safety

caused by hazardous substances, 42 U.S.C. § 9601(23), and costs incurred in

“remedial” actions, directed at long-term or permanent remediation of the

contamination, 42 U.S.C. § 9601(24).

20. Section 9607(a‘ provides, in pertinent part:

(1) [T]he owner and operator of a vessel or a facility,

(2) [A]ny person who at the time of disposal of any

hazardous substance owned or operated any facility at

which such hazardous substances were disposed of . . .

shall be liable for — ,

(A) all costs of removal or remedial action

incurred by the United States Government or

a State...

(B) any other necessary costs of response

incurred by any other person consistent with

the national contingency plan.

42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(2)(B) (emphasis added).

32a

Appendix A

For instance, a neighboring landowner, who is neither a

current nor a past owner or operator of the contaminated facility,

hence not strictly liable as a “covered person” under section

9607(a), may incur response costs as a result of a threatened release

and potential migration of hazardous substances from an adjoining

property, and may assert a right of action under section

9607(a)(4)(B). See, e.g., Dedham Water, 889 F.2d at 1146-48

(noting that water utility would have cause of action under section

9607(a)(4)(B) against neighboring property owner for response

costs relating to threatened release). On the other hand, in the event

the private-action plaintiff itself is potentially “liable” to the EPA

for response costs, and thus is akin to a joint “tortfeasor,” section

9607(a)(4)(B) serves as the pre-enforcement analog to the

“impleader” contribution action permitted under section 9613(f).

See 42 U.S.C. § 9613(f) (“Nothing in this subsection shall diminish

the right of any person to bring an action for contribution in the

absence of a civil action under section [9606] or section [9607].”);

see also Wickland Oil Terminals v. Asarco, Inc., 792 F.2d 887, 890-

91 (9th Cir. 1986) (holding that section 9607(a)(4)(B) grants

private right of action for response costs, without regard to any

prior EPA enforcement actions).

Because Juniper’s initial complaint in the instant adversary

proceeding invoked generic claims for “contribution” and

“indemnification,” without attribution to any statutory source, the

bankruptcy court specifically requested Juniper “to amend Count I

[of its complaint] to include the statutory prerequisite [sic] of 42

U.S.C. § 9607(a)(4)(B).” Although the amended complaint

represents at best an imperceptible improvement over its

predecessor, the bankruptcy court apparently considered it

adequate to assert such a claim.”! Juniper’s amended complaint

21. The bankruptcy court opinion states: “In the context of this case, it is

possible to view Juniper as a direct creditor of Hemingway and as an entity jointly

liable with the Debtor.” Jn re Hemingway Transp., 105 B.R. at 175.

Se Seer eter te aren

PUA Whe ees

33a

Appendix A

bears this out. It alleges that (1) Juniper is a current owner of the

facility, but not that it is a “covered person” under section 9607(a);

(2) Hemingway and Bristol fraudulently concealed the presence of

hazardous wastes at the facility prior to the 1983 sale; and (3)

Juniper neither knew nor had “reason to know” of the

contamination until 1985.

The bankruptcy court concluded that Juniper, as the current

“owner” of the facility, undoubtedly would be “liable” to the EPA

in an enforcement action simply by virtue of its prima facie status

as a “covered person” under section 9607(a).22 The undefined term

“liable” is common to both CERCLA 9607(a) and Bankruptcy

Code § 502(e)(1)(8). Its construction presents a question of law

subject to plenary review. See In re Erin Food Servs., Inc., 980 F.2d

792, 794 (Ist Cir. 1992) (citing In re LaRoche, 969 F.2d 1299, 1301

(Ist Cir. 1992)).

Of course, not all “covered persons” are strictly liable for

response costs. The harsh effects of the strict liability rule are

22. The bankruptcy court based its section 502(e)(1 )(B) disallowance on the

ground that Juniper had denominated its claim a derivative claim for “contribution,”

thereby conceding its co-liability with the Hemingway-Bristol estate for future

response costs. In our view, this ruling exalts form over substance, and ignores both

the liberality with which pleadings must be construed and the right to plead alternative

or seemingly “inconsistent” claims. See Fed. R. Bankr. P. 7008(a) (incorporating Fed.

R. Civ. P. 8(e), providing that “[a] party may set forth two or more statements of a

claim or defense alternatively or hypothetically ... regardless of consistency ....”)

(emphasis added); cf. also Schott Motorcycle Supply Inc. v. American Honda Motor

Co., 976 F.2d 58, 61-62 (1st Cir. 1992). Given the comparative breadth of the section

9607(a)(4)(B) remedy, and Juniper’s explicit allegation that it had no actual or

constructive knowledge of the contamination at the time it purchased the facility, we

think the trustee must come forward with substantial evidence from which the

bankruptcy court could conclude that Juniper is a “covered person” liable to the EPA

for future response costs.

34a

Appendix A

subject to mitigation through resort to certain affirmative defenses.

Section 9607(b) expressly provides that “[t]here shall be no

liability under section [9607)(a) . . . for a person otherwise liable

who can establish by a preponderance of the evidence [the

following defenses]... .” See also Environmental Transp. Sys. v.

Ensco, Inc., 969 F.2d 503, 504 n.3 (7th Cir. 1992). Section

9607(b)(3) would afford a complete defense to CERCLA liability

if Juniper were to establish that (1) it acquired the facility after the

initial deposit of the hazardous substances; (2) at the time of its

acquisition, it did not know and had “no reason to know” that any

hazardous substance was deposited at the facility; and (3) once the

presence of the hazardous substance became known, Juniper

exercised due care in the circumstances. The statute defines the

term “no reason to know” as follows:

[T]he [buyer] must have undertaken, at the

time of acquisition, all appropriate inquiry

into the previous ownership and uses of the

property consistent with good commercial or

customary practice in an effort to minimize

liability. For purposes of the preceding

sentence the court shall take into account any

specialized knowledge or experience on the

part of the [buyer], the relationship of the

purchase price to the value of the property if

uncontaminated, commonly known or

reasonably ascertainable information about

the property, the obviousness of the presence or

likely presence of contamination at the

property, and the ability to detect such

contamination by appropriate inspection.

42 U.S.C. § 9601(35) (B) (emphasis added); see also United States

35a

Appendix A

vy. Pacific Hide & Fur Depot, Inc., 716 F. Supp. 1341, 1347 (D.

Idaho 1989); cf. 42 U.S.C. § 9622 (g) (de minimis settlement

provisions not applicable to owners who purchased land with

actual or constructive knowledge of contamination). As an

acquiring party and an owner of the facility during a period of

“passive” disposal,”> Juniper would be held to an especially

stringent level of preacquisition inquiry — on the theury that an

acquiring party’s failure to make adequate inquiry may itself

contribute to a prolongation of the contamination.”

Thus, under either section 501(e)(1)(B) or section 503(a),

Juniper’s participation in any distribution from the chapter 7 estate

hinges entirely on the validity of its “innocent landowner” defense.

Notwithstanding its relevance, the “innocent landowner” defense

was never explicitly considered by the bankruptcy court in

connection with the trustee’s motion for summary judgment

disallowing Juniper’s CERCLA claim pursuant to section

502(e)(1)(B), nor in connection with its earlier provisional ruling

on Juniper’s entitlement to administrative priority. Cf. supra note

23. The parties do not challenge the bankruptcy court ruling that the

Hemingway-Bristol estate is “liable” for the “passive” disposal at the faciiity (i.e., the

leaking of previously generated or deposited containers of hazardous waste), even

absent evidence that the chapter 7 estate contributed to the generation or the deposit of

the hazardous substances in the first instance. Furthermore, the chapter 7 estate could

not establish an “innocent owner” defense: the 1982 DEQE notice afforded the

debtors actual knowledge that drums of contaminants were located at the facility. On

the other hand, the bankruptcy court found that “none of the interested parties,

including the Trustee, Juniper and the twocourts that approved the sale, were apprised

of the presence of hazardous wastes on the property, despite the DEQE action.” /n re

Hemingway Transp., 73 B.R. at 501-02.

24. The EPA informed Juniper in May 1987 that its alleged contribution to the

passive disposal was undetermined because the extent of the post- 1983 “contaminant

plume” at the facility had yet to be ascertained.

a

36a

Appendix A

17. The record contains mixed signals on the “innocent

landowner” defense. In a May 19, 1987 letter to Juniper, the EPA

opined that Juniper would not be entitled to the “innocent

landowner” defense, for several reasons: Juniper (1) knew in 1983

that the facility was in close proximity (200 feet) to a larger

Superfund site already included on the national priority list; (2)

made no preacquisition inquiry of EPA or DEQE concerning

possible contamination in the area; and (3) did not obtain available

maps showing an unpaved access road to the allegedly inaccessible

portion of the facility where the drums were found.

The EPA opinion is not necessarily dispositive as to the

allowability of a claim or an administrative expense request.

Nevertheless, after trial on the issue of Hemingway’s liability for

past response costs, the bankruptcy court noted (notwithstanding

Juniper’s contention that the drums were located in an area which

was inaccessible at the time of the 1983 sale) that “easy access to

the location of the barrels is possible along the City of Woburn’s

sewer easement, which parallels the MBTA tracks.” Jn re

Hemingway Transp., 108 B.R. at 380 (emphasis added). The record

further suggests that Juniper, an experienced land developer in the

Woburn area, may have been familiar with the environmental risks

posed by its acquisition of the facility, and therefore may have been

cognizant that the $1.6 million purchase price reflected a discount

due to contamination. Cf. Smith Land & Improvement Corp. v.

Celotex Corp., 851 F.2d 86, 90 (3d Cir. 1988) (in allocating

responsibility between vendor and purchaser, court may consider

any implicit discount in sale price as reflecting assumption of risk

of contamination).

On the other hand, the record indicates that the bankruptcy

court may have considered Juniper’s responsibility for any

contamination extremely minimal, especially in comparison to

37a

Appendix A

Hemingway-Bristol. For example, in allowing Juniper’s

contribution claims for past response costs, the bankruptcy court

allocated total financial responsibility to Hemingway-Bristol, see

supra note 4, despite the fact that the court also found no evidence

that Hemingway-Bristol, throughout twenty years’ occupancy,

ever generated or deposited hazardous wastes at the facility. The

bankruptcy court further found that Juniper was never “apprised of

the presence of hazardous wastes. .. .” In re Hemingway Transp.,

73 B.R. at 501. And, of course, discount prices are not uncommon

in forced sales of the assets of insolvent estates.

Since the bankruptcy court’s disallowance of Juniper’s claim

must be vacated on independent grounds, see supra Section II.A.4,

on remand the trustee will have the burden to file a surrogate claim

in behalf of the EPA and the burden to come forward with

substantial evidence that Juniper is not entitled to an “innocent

landowner” defense. The ultimate burden of proof on that defense,

however, will remain with Juniper. The bankruptcy court should

determine whether Juniper made “all appropriate” preacquisition

inquiry pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 9601(35), a factual finding which

would be subject to clear error review only. Should the bankruptcy

court find that Juniper did not have notice or actual knowledge of

the contamination at the time it purchased the facility in 1983,

Juniper’s claim for past and future response costs should be

estimated?’ and allowed as administrative expenses entitled to

25. Because of its earlier section 502(e) disallowance, the bankruptcy court

refused to permit Juniper to introduce evidence of anticipated future cleanup costs.

Although we need not decide the issue at this juncture, we note that the EPA’s

nonbinding preliminary allocation of responsibility may be inadmissible evidence as

to the value of Juniper’ s claim for future response costs, see 42 U.S.C. § 9622(€)(3)(C)

(“The nonbinding preliminary allocation of responsibility shall not be admissible as

evidence in any proceeding . . . [nor] constitute an apportionment or other statement

on the divisibility of harm or causation.”), and, on remand, that it may be incumbent

on Juniper to present other evidence of the extent of its “injury.”

i

38a

Appendix A

priority.”° On the other hand, if Juniper did not take all appropriate

steps to protect itself from CERCLA liability, its lack of diligence

exposed it to the harsh consequences of strict, joint and several

liability under CERCLA. In that event, Juniper’s claim would be

subject to the section 502(e)(2) “fixing” requirement and Juniper

would not be entitled to administrative expense priority with

respect to any allowable CERCLA claim.

B. Juniper’s Appeal: Disallowance of Attorney Fees (42

U.S.C. § 9607(a)).

Juniper argues for an award of attorney fees pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 9607(a)(4)(B), which makes no reference to “attorney

26. The determination of Juniper’s CERCLA “liability” by the bankruptcy

court is required solely for purposes of the allowance or disallowance of Juniper’s

proof of claim, a core proceeding in bankruptcy, and the court cannot ignore the

possibility that the EPA might yet maintain a successful enforcement action against

Juniper. But unlike the holder of a prepetition claim for contribution, which normally

must await final distribution under Bankruptcy Code § 726, Juniper would enjoy a

distinct distributional advantage should it succeed in establishing its entitlement to

the “innocent landowner” defense under section 9607(b)(3). The court properly could

provide for the immediate, pre-distribution payment of Juniper’s “claim” in trust, see,

e.g., Inre Allegheny Int'l, Inc., 126B.R. at 924 (“Creation of a trust to be expended on

contingent claims is a frequently used mechanism for insuring that such funds are

properly disbursed.”) (citing Jn re Johns-Manville Corp., 68 B.R. 618, 625-26

(Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1986, aff'd, 78 B.R. 407 (S.D.N.Y. 1987), aff'd, 843 F.2d 636 (2d

Cir. 1988)), exclusively for “necessary” future response costs at the facility. See 3

Collier on Bankruptcy J 503.01, at 503-5 (citing Jn re Verco Indus., Inc., 20B.R. 664,

665 (Bankr. 9th Cir. 1982) (holding that bankruptcy court has discretion to orderearly

payment of an administrative expense)); cf. supra note 12. In this manner, the EPA

debt would be reduced pro tanto by any disbursement from the trust account, thereby

effecting ade facto “fixing” of the EPA debt should EPA later attempt to file a claim

against the chapter 7 estate. See supra note 7.

39a

Appendix A

fees” in private cost recovery actions. Juniper contends that the

term “necessary costs of response” should be broadly construed to

encompass attorney fee awards so as to advance CERCLA’s

remedial purposes by inducing PRPs to cooperate in initiating

prompt cleanup efforts. We affirm on the grounds advanced in the

well-reasoned district court opinion. See Jn re Hemingway Transp.,

Inc., 108 B.R. at 383.

Absent an explicit statutory authorization, a party is not

entitled to recover attorney fees simply because it prevailed in the

litigation. Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 185 (1976).

CERCLA contains explicit provisions authorizing attorney fee

awards in certain other types of actions. See, e.g., 42 U.S.C.

§ 9610(c) (employee-whistleblowers may recover “all costs and

expenses (including attorney’s fees”) . . . .”); id. § 9659(f)

(prevailing parties in private citizen suits may recover costs of

litigation, “including reasonable attorney and expert witness

fees”). Moreover, Congress did not consider, and SARA did not

include, any attorney fee award amendment applicable to the

private cost recovery provision in section 9607(a)(4)(B). We

therefore conclude that Congress has elected not to authorize

attorney fee awards in these actions. Cf. Dedham Water, 972 F.2d at

461 (“[L)itigation-related expenses are, of course, noi

compensable as response costs incurred by private parties under

CERCLA § [9607].”) (citing Regan v. Cherry Corp., 706 F. Supp.

145, 149 (D.R.I. 1989)). Although a strong case might be made that

attorney fee awards in private cost recovery actions promote

CERCLA’s remedial aims, see, e.g., General Elec. Co. v. Litton

Indus. Automation Sys., Inc., 920 F.2d 1415 (8th Cir. 1990), cert.

denied, 111 S. Ct. 1390 (1991), that case is one for the legislative

venue. Alyeska Pipeline Serv. Co. v. Wilderness Soc’y, 421 U.S.

240, 263-64 (1975) (“[I]t would be difficult, indeed, for the court,

without legislative guidance, to consider some statutes important

40a

Appendix A

and others unimportant and to allow attorneys’ fees only in

connection with the former.”); see also U.S. Steel Supply Inc. v.

Chatwins Group, Inc., No. 89-C20241, 1992 U.S. App. LEXIS

13722, at 45-46(N.D. Ili. Sept. 9, 1992).

Juniper argues, nonetheless, that only a small portion of its

attorney fees were incurred in preparation for the “response cost”

recovery litigation itself, the greater portion having been incurred

to ensure that Juniper’s “response” was in compliance with the

administrative order issued by the EPA. We conclude that the

present claim was waived. At trial, Juniper’s attorney fee billings

were admitted in evidence. Juniper suggested no distinction

between attorney fees incurred for litigative and administrative

purposes.”’ Juniper’s failure to advance the present contention

below deprived the bankruptcy court of an opportunity to consider

it, thereby waiving the claim. See Jn re LaRoche, 969 F.2d 1299,

1305 (Ist Cir. 1992) (arguments not raised in bankruptcy court

cannot be raised for first time on appeal); Jn re 604 Columbus Ave.

Realty Trust, 968 F.2d 1332, 1343 (Ist Cir. 1992) (same).

27. Prior to admitting Juniper’s attorney fee billing in evidence, the

bankruptcy judge stated: “[A]ssuming only for the moment that legal services are a

compensable item of damage [under CERCLA), then aren’t all reasonable fees

incurred by the plaintiff resulting from the alleged harm, aren’tthey all compensable?

.. . [D)idn’t [Juniper’s attorneys} perform services as a result of the acts of the

defendant if I find the defendant liable?” Thus, the court plainly signaled its intention

to treat Juniper’s entire attorney fee request as either compensable or

noncompensable.

28. Even assuming the issue was preserved, the record on appeal does not

enable reliable appellate review. It is impossible to determine with reasonable

confidence whether the attorney fees incurred by Juniper were reasonably

“necessary” to facilitate its compliance with the EPA administrative order, or to

discover the existence or whereabouts of other PRPs who might be amenable to suit

by Juniper in an action for contribution.

'

’

j

I

i

'

:

i

;

'

4la

Appendix A

C. The Trustee’s Cross-Appeal: Administrative Expense

Priority for Past Response Costs.

The trustee appeals the allowance of Juniper’s claim for past

response costs as an administrative expense entitled to priority

distribution. The bankruptcy court ruled that Juniper’s CERCLA

liability resulted from its postpetition purchase of the facility from

Hemingway-Bristol, debtor in possession, during the course of the

chapter 11 proceeding. The bankruptcy court found that it would be

fundamentally “unfair” not to allow Juniper to receive payment of

~its contribution claim in advance of other creditors. See supra note

17 (noting court’s reliance on Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471

(1968)).

We affirm the allowance of Juniper’s claim for past response

costs as an administrative expense entitled to priority distribution

under Bankruptcy Code §§ 503(b)(1)(A), 507(a)(1) and 726(a)(1).

See Norris v. Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co., 881 F.2d 1144, 1151-52

(Ist Cir. 1989) (appellate court may affirm on any ground supported

by the record). As concerns Juniper’s claim for CERCLA response

costs previously incurred, its entitlement to priority does not hinge

on the court’s determination of the merits of Juniper’s “innocent

landowner” defense. Even if Juniper and the Hemingway-Bristol

estate are co-“liable” on the EPA debt, Juniper’s claim for past

response costs escapes the section 502(e)(1)(B) coliability

problem encountered by its claim for future response costs,

because Juniper’s right to payment for past response costs became

“fixed” upon Juniper’s incurrence of actual and necessary

response costs prior to the time its claim was considered for

allowance. On the other hand, if Juniper and the estate are not co-

“liable” on the EPA debt, because Juniper has the benefit of the

“innocent landowner” defense, both its past and future response

costs are recov: -able as priority administrative expenses under

either Mammoti Mart or Reading.

4h.

Appendix A

Il

CONCLUSION

We vacate the bankruptcy court’s section 502(e)(1)(B)

disallowance of Juniper’s claim for future response costs. On

remand, the bankruptcy court shall permit the chapter 7 trustee and

Juniper a reasonable time within which to file surrogate claims in

behalf of the EPA under sections 501(b) or 501(c) of the

Bankruptcy Code. Should the trustee file a timely surrogate claim,

and should Juniper choose to press for simultaneous allowance of

its so-called “direct” claim, the court should determine whether

Juniper would be entitled to an “innocent landowner” defense

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 9601(35)(B). If Juniper is so entitled, its

claim for “contribution” should be allowed as an administrative

expense. If not so entitled, its claim should be disallowed unless

and until Juniper “fixes” its right to contribution by actually

incurring any such response costs by the time its claim is

considered for allowance. If the chapter 7 trustee elects not to file a

surrogate claim under section 501(b), thereby waiving the section

502(e)(1) (B) objection to Juniper’s direct claim against the

chapter 7 estate, the court should receive evidence relating to the

extent of Juniper’s anticipated response costs and should allow

Juniper’s claim as an administrative expense of the chapter 11

estate.

The order disallowing an award of attorney fees, and the

order allowing Juniper’s claim for past response costs as an

administrative expense, are affirmed. The order disallowing

Juniper’s claim for future response costs is vacated and

remanded to the bankruptcy court for further proceedings

consistent with the opinion herein; costs to neither party.

. AVATT AR COP

43a

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF

MASSACHUSETTS DATED MARCH 26, 1991

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

CIVILACTION NOS.

-90)-10302-Z, 90-10431-Z and

90-10432-Z, Consolidated

In re HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC. and BRISTOL

TERMINALS, INC.,

Debtors

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, a Massachusetts

Partnership; and GEORGE D. WHITTEN, AMY WHITTEN and

CHARLES WHITTEN, as Trustees of 60 OLYMPIA NOMINEE

TRUST,

Appellants and Cross-Appellees

VS.

HERBERT C. KAHN, Trustee for HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT,

INC. and BRISTOLTERMINALS, INC.,

Appellee and Cross-Appellant

ee

44a

Appendix B

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

ZOBEL, D.J.

This consolidated bankruptcy appeal presents several issues

of law arising out of three different decisions of the Bankruptcy

Court. See In re Hemingway Transport, Inc., 108 Bankr. 378 (D.

Mass. 1989); 105 Bankr. 171 (D. Mass. 1989); 73 Bankr. 494 (D.

Mass. 1987). Briefly, the underlying facts are these: On July 28,

1982, the Debtors, Hemingway Transport, Inc. and Bristol

Terminals, Inc. (collectively, “Hemingway”), filed voluntary

petitions for bankruptcy under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.

(The proceedings subsequently were converted to Chapter 7 on

November 18, 1983.) While in Chapter 11, the Debtors, with Court

approval, sold a parcel of real property located at 60 Olympia

Avenue, Woburn, Massachusetts (“the Property”) to Juniper

Development Group.

In April, 1985, a representative of the Environmental

Protection Agency (“EPA”) discovered a number of barrels

containing hazardous waste on the Property. The EPA then issued

an order pursuant to section 106(a) of the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of

1980 (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. § 9606(a) (1988), directing Juniper

to remove the drums and surrounding soil. Juniper complied with

the order. In 1986, Juniper commenced the instant adversary

proceeding in which it seeks indemnification or contribution under

CERCLA for past and future “response costs” incurred as a result

of compliance with the EPA order. Two years later, on April 20,

1988, the EPA notified Juniper of its status as a “Potentially

Responsible Party” in connection with the so-called Wells G & H

Superfund Site, a 330-acre parcel of land which includes the

Property now owned by Juniper.

sceummceaaiail

4Sa

Appendix B

Three separate decisions of the Bankruptcy Court are at issue.

First, on May 8, 1987, the Bankruptcy Court, on a motion for

summary judgment, held that Juniper’s claims for response costs

were entitled to administrative expense priority under the

Bankruptcy Code. Hemingway appeals from this decision.

Second, Juniper appeals from a decision, dated September 13,

1989, which (on another motion for summary judgment)

disallowed, as contingent claims for reimbursement or

contribution under § 502(e)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code,

Juniper’s claims for future response costs. Third, in a decision

dated December 18, 1989 (following an evidentiary hearing on

October 17), the Bankruptcy Court held that neither attorney’s fees

nor prejudgment interest were recoverable as response costs under

CERCLA. At the October 17 hearing, the Bankruptcy Court also

excluded evidence concerning certain labor expenses which

Juniper claimed as recoverable response costs; Juniper appeals this

ruling as well.

Standards of Review

The opinions of the Bankruptcy Court, dated May 8, 1987 and

September 13, 1989, both resolved motions for summary

judgment. A district court, sitting in review, considers a

bankruptcy court’s decision to grant summary judgment de novo.

In re Two “S” Corp., 875 F.2d 240, 242 (9th Cir. 1989). The

standard for granting summary judgment in an adversarial

bankruptcy proceeding is the same as in Rule 56(c), Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure. Bankruptcy Rule 7056, 11 U.S.C. (1988).

Summary judgment is appropriate if, viewing the evidence in the

light most favorable to the party opposing the motion, the court

finds that there is no genuine issue of material fact. Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(c); see also General Office Prods. Corp. v. A. M. Capen’s Sons,

780 F.2d 1077, 1078 (Ist Cir. 1986).

46a

Appendix B

The appeals arising out of the October 17 evidentiary hearing

and the resulting opinion are governed by a different standard.

Bankruptcy Rule 8013 mandates the application of the “clearly

erroneous” standard of review with regard to findings of fact made

by the Bankruptcy Court, and “de novo” standard with respect to

conclusions of law. First Software Corp. v. Computer Assocs. Int'l,

107 Bankr. 417, 420 (D. Mass. 1989). The issues presented in the

instant appeal are questions of law.

Administrative Expenses

In enacting the Bankruptcy Code, Congress recognized that, if

a business that has filed for bankruptcy is to continue operating for

even a limited period of time, third parties must be willing to

provide necessary goods and services. Since these parties will

obviously not be so willing unless they are assured of payment

ahead of pre-bankruptcy creditors, Congress provided a priority

for administrative expenses, that is, “the actual, necessary costs

and expenses of preserving the estate. ...” 11 U.S.C.

§ 503(b)(1)(A) (1988).

The Bankruptcy Court undertook an extensive analysis of the

relevant case law before reaching its conclusion that Juniper’s

claims are properly classified as administrative expenses. The

Court relied primarily on a Supreme Court case, Reading Co. v.

Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968), and on a First Circuit opinion, /n re

Charlesbank Laundry, 755 F.2d 200 (Ist Cir. 1985).

In Reading, a fire caused by the negligence of a receiver acting

within the scope of his employment destroyed property in

adjoining premises. Fire loss claimants filed claims for

administrative expenses. The Supreme Court held that “tort claims

arising during a [Chapter 11 reorganization are] actual and

47a

Appendix B

necessary expenses of the [reorganization].” Reading, 391 U.S. at

482. The Court found that the “decisive statutory objective” was

“fairness to all persons having claims against an insolvent.” /d. at

477. Unlike creditors who chose to do business with the debtor

prior to its petitioning for bankruptcy, the fire victims “did not

merely suffer injury at the hands of an insolvent business: [they

had] an insolvent business thrust upon [them] by operation of law.”

Id. at 478.

More than ten years after Reading, the First Circuit in

Charlesbank held that a civil compensatory fine for a violation of a

state court injunction imposed on the debtor, when that debtor was

operating under Chapter 11, qualified for priority treatment as an

administrative expense. Charlesbank, 755 F.2d at 202-03. The

court noted:

The debtor in this case deliberately continued a

violation of law month after month presumably

because it was more lucrative for the business

to operate outside the zoning ordinance than

within it. If fairness dictates that a tort claim

based on negligence should be paid ahead of

pre-organization claims, then, a fortiori, an

intentional act which violates the law and

damages others should be so treated.

Id. at 202.

The reasoning in Reading and Charlesbank logically compel

the conclusion that Juniper’s claims must be granted

administrative expense priority. As the court below reasoned,

“clearly, if damages leading to a negligence claim against a

receiver qualify as administrative expenses then so do damages

ii

48a

Appendix B

giving rise to a strict liability claim against a Chapter 11 debtor-in-

possession under CERCLA.” Hemingway, 73 Bankr. at 505.

Hemingway takes issue with this analysis in several, related

ways. First, it argues, Juniper’s remedial efforts cannot be

construed as “preserving the estate” of the debtor within the

meaning of § 503(b)(1)(A), since the property had been sold and

transferred to Juniper three years before the EPA issued its cleanup

order. But while the costs themselves may not have materialized

until years later, Hemingway’s liability arose from acts and

omissions that were a part of its business operations. The eventual

cleanup order came about because Hemingway improperly

disposed of waste on its property, and later failed to remove these

drums. In addition, the sale of the Property to Juniper, out of which

Hemingway’s liability eventually arose, was an attempt to raise

money in order to continue business operations. That the drums

were only discovered by the authorities years later does not alter

the fact that their presence was a result of Hemingway’s post-

petition business operations. Moreover, all response cost claims

under CERCLA involve some delay between the acts or omissions

giving rise to liability, and the eventual cleanup order; to hold, as

urged by Hemingway, would necessarily deprive all such claims of

the benefit of administrative expense priority. CERCLA claims

would thus receive far less favorable treatment in the bankruptcy

context than do more conventional torts, a conclusion at odds with

the broad remedial purposes of CERCLA, Dedham Water Co. v.

Cumberland Farms Dairy, 805 F.2d 1074, 1081 (Ist Cir. 1986), and

the Supreme Court’s emphasis on using the administrative expense

priority system to achieve a fair result, Reading, 391 U.S. at 477.

Next, Hemingway contends that the Bankruptcy Court

misapplied Reading and Charlesbank to these facts. Hemingway

first points out that both of those cases involved debtors in Chapter

‘i

49a

Appendix B

11 proceedings (where the debtor is charged with the continued

operation of the insolvent business entity), rather than Chapter 7

liquidation proceedings. Chapter 7, however, also mandates that

administrative expenses be given priority, see 11 U.S.C. § 726

(1988). Moreover, neither the Bankruptcy Code nor any court has

drawn a distinction between Chapter 11 and Chapter 7 in

determining administrative priority. See In re Pierce Coal &

Constr., 65 Bankr. 521 (N.D. W. Va. 1986) (any damages caused by

debtor-in-possession under Chapter 11 or Chapter 7 trustee are

entitled to administrative priority). Hemingway has failed to

provide this Court with any authority mandating a difference in

analysis, or with a compelling rationale for creating one.

Hemingway also argues that, since Juniper entered into the

contract of sale with Hemingway “voluntarily and as a result of

arms-length negotiations,” it cannot be maintained that either

Hemingway or the property were “thrust upon [Juniper] by

operation of law.” Cf. Reading, 391 U.S. at 478. It is wrong to

conclude, however, that since Juniper’s response costs were the

result of its knowing acquisition of property, Juniper must now

meet these cleanup obligations without help. Such a position

contradicts one of CERCLA’s basic goals, that is, the redistribution

of response costs to previous owners of property who engaged in

improper waste disposal. Rather, the EPA order placed an

unexpected burden on Juniper for which it was legally entitled to

contribution; if Juniper is now deprived of this contribution, its

burden will have been increased by operation of the bankruptcy

law. This is exactly the sort of unfair situation which led the Court

in Reading to characterize the claims of tort victims as

administrative expenses.

Finally, Hemingway asserts that the First Circuit, in /n re

Mammoth Mart, 536 F.2d 950 (Ist Cir. 1976), endorsed a two-part

50a

Appendix B

inquiry for determining administrative priority, and that Juniper

has failed to meet that test. In Mammoth Mart, former employees

of a bankrupt corporation operating under Chapter 11 contended

that their claims for severance pay were entitled to administrative

priority. The court held that claims against a debtor-in-possession

are not entitled to such priority unless the debt arises “from a

transaction with the debtor-in-possession” and the bankrupt estate

gained benefit from that transaction, id. at 954. Hemingway

contends that Juniper’s claim neither arose from a transaction with

the trustee, nor did Hemingway gain any benefit from any such

transaction.

The court in Mammoth Mart was faced with the prospect of

giving administrative priority to claims arising in large part from

pre-petition activities. That is, the employees bringing the suit had

been hired before the estate entered Chapter 11, and now claimed

that their claim to severance pay was purely a post-petition

expense. To avoid that result, the First Circuit fashioned a test

designed to limit administrative priority to those claims arising

only from post-petition activity.

It is clear in the case at bar that Hemingway’s liability to

Juniper arose post-petition. As the court below succinctly put it,

“Juniper’s cause of action under CERCLA arose when the property

containing the drums was transferred to Juniper or, alternatively,

when Juniper expended money in response to the EPA’s

administrative order.” Hemingway, 73 Bankr. at 503. Hemingway

therefore must rely on a semantic argument that misses the essencé

of what the court in Mammoth Mart was trying to do. Hemingway

claims that, since Juniper’s claims do not arise entirely from the

sale of property alone, they do not arise from a “transaction” and

thus cannot be accorded administrative priority under Mammoth

Mart.

<= °°

Sla

Appendix B

Hemingway and Juniper were engaged in a post-petition

commercial relationship which promised to benefit both parties.

Juniper’s liability would obviously never have existed were it not

for this relationship. Its claim clearly arises out of a post-petition

transaction within the meaning of Mammoth Mart. To hold

otherwise would, once again, prevent classification of any

CERCLA response cost claim as an administrative expense,

because no such claim arises solely from a single “transaction.”

Disallowance under § 502(e)(1)(B)

Juniper contends that the court below erred in disallowing its

claims for future response costs under § 502(e)(1)(B) of the

Bankruptcy Code.' For a claim tocome within this provision, (i) it

must be one for reimbursement or contribution; (ii) the entity

asserting the claim must be “liable with the debtor” on or have

secured the claim of a creditor; and (iii) the claim must be

contingent at the time of its allowance or disallowance. 11 U.S.C.

§ 502(e)(1)(B) (1988); In re Weatech Corp., 85 Bankr. 285, 289

(S.D.N.Y. 1988). The court belowheld that Juniper’s claim against

Hemingway satisfied all three prongs. Hemingway, 105 Bankr. at

174-78. Juniper argues that neither the second nor third

requirements are met.

1. Appellee argues that appellant Juniper, in its opposition to the motion below,

failed to address the impact of § 502(e)(|)(B) on its claim against Hemingway;

therefore, appellee argues, Juniper is not entitled to raise any objections to the

application of that statute on appeal. The applicability of § 502(e)(1)(B) was,

however, the subject of the Memorandum of Decision which Juniper now appeals.

Hemingway, 105 Bankr. at 171. Because Juniper raises objections to matters

considered below, it is obviously within this Court's discretion to entertain these

arguments now.

52a

Appendix B

1. Co-liability

Juniper’s first argument, simply put, is that § 502(e)(1)(B)

must be read literally and applied narrowly. Appellant contends

that Hemingway and Juniper are not both liable on the claim of the

EPA, since the EPA has not yet filed a proof of claim against

Hemingway.’ Because the statute reads, “is liable” instead of

“could be” liable “on the claim of a creditor,” appellant argues, its

claim should not be disallowed.

In support of its interpretation of the statute, appellants assert

that the purpose of § 502(e)(1)(B), as illuminated by legislative

history, is the prevention of a double payment by the debtor (here,

Hemingway) on the same debt. Where there has not been a claim

against the debtor by the creditor (the EPA), the argument goes, the

debtor is not subjected to a dual claim, and there is no need to

protect the debtor by disallowing the codebtor’s claim under

§ 502(e)(1)(B).

It is true that “the legislative history concerning § 502(e)

indicates that a principal purpose of the entire subsection is to

prevent a double payment by the estate.” Wedtech, 85 Bankr. at

289; see H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 354 (1977).

Nevertheless, the plain language of § 502(e)(1)(B) suggests that

this particular provision also serves a different purpose: to

disallow contingent indemnity and contribution claims precisely

because they are contingent, thereby “enabling distribution to

unsecured creditors without a reserve for these types of contingent

2. Appellee points out that this argument relies on facts not presented to the

court below, namely, that the EPA has not filed a proof of claim against Hemingway.

Whether or not this fact may be considered on appeal, however, is of noconsequence,

as I hold here that the EPA is indeed a creditor of Hemingway within the meaning of

§ 502(e)(1)(B).

_

aalaa

53a

Appendix B

claims.” Wedtech, 85 Bankr. at 290; see also In re Amatex Corp.,

110 Bankr. 168, 170-72 (E.D. Pa. 1990). Juniper’s interpretation of

the statute would require both the debtor and the co-debtor (here,

Juniper) to have been adjudged liable before the codebtor’s claim

could be disallowed under § 502(e)(1)(B). This interpretation

simply does not comport with the wording of the statute.

Under CERCLA, Hemingway is potentially liable to the EPA

for “all costs of removal or remedial action incurred by the United

States Government. ... not inconsistent with the national

contingency plan.” 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(2)(A) (1988). Indeed, the

EPA has named both Juniper and Hemingway as potentially

responsible parties. The EPA is therefore a creditor of Hemingway

within the meaning of § 502(e)(1)(B), even assuming it has not yet

filed a proof of claim against Hemingway.

2. Contingency of the Claim

Juniper also claims that § 502(e)(1)(B) is not applicable here

because its claim against Hemingway for future response costs is

not “contingent” within the meaning of that statute. The court

below was unconvinced by Juniper’s argument:

[T]he contingency of Juniper’s claim for future

response costs is obvious. With respect to

obligations stemming from the administrative

order, Juniper states in its complaint that it is

awaiting “further orders for a possible future

clean up. ...” With respect to costs of

remediating the Wells G & H Site, any claim

that Juniper would have would be contingent

upon the United States commencing and

prevailing in an enforcement action under

54a

Appendix B

CERCLA or Juniper’s involvement in

performing or financing cleanup work at the

cite.

Hemingway, 105 Bankr. at 178.

Under § 502(e)(1)(B), the claim of a surety or co-debtor is

contingent until the claimant “pays the principal creditor and

thereby fixes his own right to payment from the debtor.” 3 Collier

on Bankruptcy { 502.05, at 502-88 (15th ed. 1990). Obviously,

Juniper has not yet incurred any future response costs; nor has it

been adjudged liable in an appropriate CERCLA enforcement

action. Therefore, Juniper cannot yet be said to have fixed its own

right of payment against Hemingway. Although Juniper has been

named by the EPA as a “Potentially Responsible Party,” this type of

agency notice letter is not definitive on the question of liability.

Pacific Resins & Chems. v. United States, 654 F. Supp. 249 (W.D.

Wash. 1986). Juniper’s claim against Hemingway for future

response costs is therefore contingent within the meaning of

§ 502(e)(1)(B).

Accordingly, the decision of the court below with respect to

the disallowance of Juniper’s claim under § 502(e)(1)(B) is

affirmed.

Response Costs

Appellant Juniper next appeals the bankruptcy court’s ruling

on December 18, 1989, that attorney’s fees, prejudgment interest

and other costs are not recoverable as response costs in a private

party action under § 107(a)(2)(B) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(a)(2)(B) (1988).

55a

Appendix B

Since CERCLA does not define “response costs,’”’ the issue is

one of statutory interpretation.

1. Attorney’s Fees

The courts that have addressed the question of whether

attorney’s fees are necessary response costs under CERCLA have

not reached consensus. See, e.g., General Elec. Co. v. Litton

Industrial Automation Systems, No. 89-2845 (8th Cir. Dec. 12,

1990) (private party can recover attorney’s fees under CERCLA);

Pease & Curren Ref., Inc. v. Spectrolab, Inc., 744 F. Supp. 945

(C.D. Cal. 1990) (same); Shapiro v. Alexanderson, 741 F. Supp.

472 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) (attorney’s fees recoverable for proper

response activities); cf. Fallowfield v. Strunk, No. 89 Civ. 8644

(E.D. Pa. Apr. 23, 1990) (attorney’s fees not recoverable); Mesiti v.

3. While it does not precisely define the phrase “necessary response costs,”

CERCLA does provide that “response” means “remove, removal, remedy and

remedial action. . . includ[ing] enforcement activities related thereto.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 9601.25) (1988). “Remove” and “removal” are defined as:

[T]he cleanup or removal of released hazardous

substances from the environment, such actions as may be

necessary taken in the event of the threat of release of

hazardous substances into the environment, such actions

as may be necessary to monitor, assess, and evaluate the

release or threat of release of hazardous substances, the

disposal of removed material, or the taking of such other

actions as may be necessary to prevent, minimize, or

mitigate damage to the public health or welfare or to the

environment, which may otherwise result from a release

or threat of release.

42U.S.C. § 9601(23) (1988) (footnote omitted).

56a

Appendix B

Microdot, 739 F. Supp. 57 (D.N.H. 1990) (same); T & E Indus. v.

Safety Light Corp., 680 F. Supp. 696 (D.N.J. 1988) (same).

A careful review of the statute persuades me that the costs of

litigation are not recoverable by a private litigant. I start with the

general principle that “[A]bsent explicit Congressional

authorization, attorneys’ fees are not a recoverable cost of

litigation.” Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 185 (1976).

CERCLA provides no such explicit authorization. The statute

elsewhere specifically provides that the government can recover

legal costs, 42 U.S.C. § 9604(b) (1988), but fails to extend that

right to private parties. Nor can private litigation expenses be

considered recoverable “enforcement activity” within the meaning

of the statute; while “plaintiffs may bring an action for recovery of

response costs, they may not bring an action to enforce CERCLA’s

cleanup provisions against another private entity.” T & E, 680 F.

Supp. at 708 n.13. Accordingly, plaintiffs are not entitled to

recover attorney’s fees that were incurred to pursue this litigation.

See also Regan v. Cherry Corp., 706 F. Supp. 145, 149 (D.R.I.

1989) (discussing Congress’ failure to amend § 9607 to allow

reimbursement of attorneys’ fees in response cost suits).

2. Labor Costs

Juniper next argues that the Bankruptcy Court improperly

excluded the value of the time of Juniper’s personnel from its

determination of recoverable response costs. Specifically, it

suggests that the cost to Juniper of the time and effort spent on the

problem by Mr. Charles Whitton, General Partner of Juniper,

shouid have been part of the award.

Nothing in the statutory language of CERCLA indicates that

employee time should be considered a cost of response. Rather,

seine aaa

S7a

Appendix B

employees must be paid whether or not they have spent their time

addressing waste cleanup efforts; these costs are not made

necessary by the improper disposal of wastes. To interpret

CERCLA to require reimbursement of employee time and effort

would, in effect, compensate CERCLA plaintiffs for lost employee

productivity. But CERCLA was never intended to provide for the

recovery of business losses. Artesian Water Co. v. Govt of New

Castle County, 659 F. Supp. 1269, 1287 (D. Del. 1987).

At the evidentiary hearing on October 17, the bankruptcy

judge excluded testimony by Mr. Whitton regarding the value of

his own efforts to address the waste problem. Because time spent

on cleanup efforts is nothing more than a cost of doing business, I

affirm that ruling. But see T & E, 680 F. Supp. at 706-07 (employee

time spent in cleanup effort recoverable as response cost).

3. Prejudgment Interest

The Bankruptcy Court did not include prejudgment interest in

its determination of Juniper’s recoverable response costs in its

decision of December 18, 1989. Hemingway, 108 Bankr. at 383-84.

Once again, defendant objects to the omission, and once again,

CERCLA does not specifically address the issue.

In the absence of legislative provision, the Supreme Court has

directed that the decision to grant or deny prejudgment interest

should hinge on whether to do so would further the congressional

purposes underlying the obligations imposed by the statute in

question. Rodgers v. United States, 332 U.S. 371, 373 (1947).

CERCLA has been described as “a remedial statute designed by

Congress to protect and preserve public health and the

environment. . . . [I]ts provisions [should therefore be] construed

liberally to avoid frustration of the beneficial legislative

a

58a

Appendix B

purposes.” Dedham, 805 F.2d at 1081. Atleast two district courts

have imposed prejudgment interest under CERCLA in private

party suits. General Elec. Co. v. Litton Business Sys., 715 F. Supp.

949, 959 (W.D. Mo. 1989); United States v. Northeastern

Pharmaceutical & Chem. Co., 579 F. Supp. 823, 852 (W.D. Mo.

1984). Itis clear, then, that prejudgment interest is available under

CERCLA.

In general, without statutory direction, the granting of

prejudgment interest lies within the discretion of the trial court.

Whitfield v. Lindemann, 853 F.2d 1298, 1306 (Sth Cir. 1988). Such

interest should be “given in response to considerations of

fairness.” Blau v. Lehrman, 368 U.S. 403, 414 (1962). The fact that

the bankruptcy court declined without comment to award

prejudgment interest makes it difficult to weigh the propriety of the

exercise of discretion in this case. Whitfield, 853 F.2d at 1306. This

issue, therefore, is remanded to the bankruptcy court to consider

the matter of prejudgment interest.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated, the decision of the court below granting

administrative expense priority to Juniper’s claims is affirmed, as

is its decision to disallow Juniper’s claims for future response costs

under 11 U.S.C. § 502(e)(1)(B). The decisions not to award

attorney’s fees to Juniper and to exclude evidence of Juniper’s

labor costs from its calculation of recoverable response costs are

also affirmed.

The case is remanded to the Bankruptcy Court to consider

whether prejudgment interest on the award to Juniper is

appropriate, and if so, to determine the proper amount of that

interest.

ai aa ali aoe |

March 26, 1991

DATE

59a

Appendix B

s/ Ryan Zobel

DISTRICT JUDGE

60a

APPENDIX C — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

BANKRUPTCY COURT DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

DATED DECEMBER 18, 1989

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

Chapter 7

Case No. 82-1340-JNG

Case No. 82-1341-JNG

Adversary Proceeding

86-1081

In re:

HEMINGWAY TRANSPORT, INC.

BRISTOL TERMINALS, INC.

Debtors

JUNIPER DEVELOPMENT GROUP, A MASSACHUSETTS

PARTNERSHIP AND GEORGE D. WHITTEN, AMY

WHITTEN, AND CHARLES WHITTEN AS TRUSTEES OF 60

OLYMPIA NOMINEE TRUST,

Plaintiffs

V.

HERBERT C. KAHN, TRUSTEE FOR HEMINGWAY

TRANSPORT, INC., AND BRISTOL TERMINALS, INC.,

Defendants

6la

Appendix C

HERBERT C. KAHN, TRUSTEE FOR HEMINGWAY

TRANSPORT, INC. AND BRISTOL TERMINALS, INC.,

Third-Party Plaintiffs

v.

WOBURN ASSOCIATES,

Third-Party Defendant

MEMORANDUM

I. FACTS

On October 17, 1989, this Court conducted an evidentiary

hearing with respect to the CERCLA claim of Juniper

Development Group (“Juniper”) against the Trustee of

Hemingway Transport, Inc. (“Hemingway”) and Bristol

Terminals, Inc. (“Bristol”) (collectively “Hemingway”). Three

witnesses testified during the hearing and nine exhibits were

introduced into evidence. The parties’ stipulated to the following

relevant facts:

1. Juniper, Hemingway, Bristol and Woburn

are “persons,” as that term is defined by

CERCLA. See 42 U.S.C.A. § 9601(21) (West

1983 & Supp. 1989).

1 Third-party defendant Woburn Associates (“Woburn”) joined the

Stipulation, and was permitted to participate at the trial without objection by Juniper.

62a

Appendix C

2. Woburn was an “owner,” as that term is

defined by CERCLA, of 60 Olympia Avenue

(“the property”) from June 26, 1974 to July 29,

1980. Jd. at § 9601(20).

3. Hemingway leased the property from

Woburn from June 26, 1974 to July 29, 1980.

4. Bristol, asubsidiary of Hemingway, was the

“owner,” as that term is defined by CERCLA,

of the property from July 29, 1980 to May 18,

1983.

5. Juniper purchased the property from Bristol

on May 18, 1983 and has been an “owner,” as

that term is defined by CERCLA, since that

date.

6. To the extent that itis found that “hazardous

substances” were “disposed of,” as those terms

are defined in CERCLA, on the property at the

time Hemingway, Bristol and Woburn owned

and/or operated the property then the property

is a “facility,” as that term is def

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.