Appendices — Advance Chemical Co. v. United States

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-6325

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

V.

RoyAL N. HARDAGE; Special Master; OKLAHOMA Na-

TIONAL STOCKYARDS COMPANY; Joc OIL; DAL-WorTH,

INDUSTRIES; DouBLE EAGLE; SAMUEL BISHKIN, Doing

Business as Eltex Chemical; L & S BEARING COMPANY;

KERR-MCGEE CORPORATION; CATO OIL; POWELL

SANITATION SERVICE, INC.; LOWE CHEMICAL; MOon-

SANTO; TEXTRON INC.,

Defendants.

UNITED STATES POLLUTION CONTROL,

Defendant-A ppellee,

V.

HARDAGE STEERING COMMITTEE; ADVANCE CHEMICAL

COMPANY; ALLIED-SIGNAL, INC.; AMERICAN TELE-

PHONE & TELEGRAPH COMPANY; ASHLAND OIL INC.;

ATLANTIC RICHFIELD COMPANY; BORG-WARNER Cor:

PORATION; BRIDGESTONE/FIRESTONE, INC., Formerly

Known as the FIRESTONE TIRE & RUBBER COMPANY;

BULL HN INFORMATION, Formerly HONEYWELL BULL

INc.; EXXON CORPORATION; GENCORP INC., (DIVERSI-

TECH GENERAL); MAGNETIC PERIPHERALS, INC.; MARE-

MONT CORPORATION; MCDONNELL-DOUGLAS Corpo-

RATION; MOBIL ~HEMICAL COMPANY: NALCO CHEMI-

2a

CAL COMPANY; OKLAHOMA GAS AND ELECTRIC CoM-

PANY; THE OKLAHOMA PUBLISHING COMPANY; ROCK-

WELL INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, Formerly Known

as, NORTH AMERICAN ROCKWELL; TEXACO REFINING

AND MARKETING, INC.; TEXAS INSTRUMENTS INCORPO-

RATED; UOP INnc.; UNIROYAL INC.; WESTINGHOUSE

ELECTRIC CORPORATION; WEYERHAEUSER,

Third-party-

defendants-A ppellants,

A.H. BELO, Doing Business as

DALLAS MORNING NEws,

Third-party-

defendant-A ppellee,

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.; BAXTER HEALTH CARE

Corp., Doing Business as PHARMASEAL LABORATORIES;

BENJAMIN Moore & COMPANY; BoB McBroom, Do-

ing Business as AMERICAN FURNITURE STRIPPING;

BROWN & Root, INC.; BROWNING-FERRIS, INC., For-

merly Known as CoLT INDusTRIES INC., Doing Busi-

ness as HOLLY SPECIALTY PRODUCTS; CONTINENTAL

INDUSTRIES INC.; CROWN INDUSTRIES, Also Known as

CROWN TRANSPORT Co. (GEO INTERNATIONAL); DE-

soTo, INC.; DELUXE CORPORATION, Doing Business as

DELUXE CHECK PRINTERS, INC.; DIFFEE Motor Co.,

INC.; ENGINEERING ENTERPRISES, INC.; First Na-

TIONAL MANAGEMENT, Also Known as FIRST OKLA-

HOMA Corp., Formerly Known as First OKLAHOMA

BANCORP, INC.; FRUEHAUF CORPORATION (Hosss &

KELSEY HAYES DIVISIONS); HALLIBURTON SERVICES,

a DIVISION OF HALLIBURTON COMPANY; INTERSTATE

TRUCK REPAIR; MACLANBURG-DUNCAN COMPANY;

MCALESTER PUBLIC SCHOOLS; OK GRAPHICS; OKLA-

HOMA NATURAL GAS COMPANY; PRESBYTERIAN Hos-

PITAL, INC. Doing Business as PRESBYTERIAN HEALTH

FOUNDATION; SAFETY-KLEEN CORPORATION; SHAKLEE

CORPORATION; SOONER FORD; SOUTHWESTERN STEEL

ROLLING Door COMPANY; the ARGICULTURE & Nu-

3a

TRITION COMPANY; THOMAS & BETTS CORPORATION;

UNISYS CORPORATION, Formerly Known as SPERRY

CORPORATION, Doing Business as SPERRY-VICKERS; the

UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA: W.O.L. CORPORATION,

also Known as WOLVERINE PIPE; WEBCO INDUSTRIES,

INc., Doing Business as SouUTHWEST TUBE MANUFAC-

TURING COMPANY; WELCH ENTERPRISES, INC., also

Known as WELCH OIL,

Fourth Party

Defendants-A ppellants.

Dec. 21, 1992

Terry W. Schackmann of Spencer Fane Britt & Browne.

Kansas City, MO (Jerome T. Wolf, Carl H. Helmstetter,

Spencer Fane Britt & Browne, Jeffrey N. Martin, Hunton

& Williams, Washington, DC, Kenneth N. McKinney,

Robert D. Tomlinson, Robert L. Roark, McKinney,

Stringer & Webster, Oklahoma City, OK, with him on the

brief), for Hardage Steering Committee, et al.

John T. Stahr, Atty., Environmental and Natural Re-

sources Div., Dept. of Justice, Washington, DC (Richard

B. Stewart, Asst. Atty. Gen., David C. Shilton, Steven

Novick, Gary §. Guzy, Attys., Environmental and Nat-

ural Resources Div., Dept. of Justice, Washington, DC,

Charles De Saillan, Atty., Office of Enforcement, E.P.A.,

Washington, DC with him on the brief), for U.S.

Before TACHA, and BALDOCK, Circuit Judges, and

BROWN, District Judge. *

BALDOCK, Circuit Judge.

——

*The Honorable Wesley E. Brown, Senior United States Dis-

trict Judge for the District of Kansas, sitting by designation,

4a

This case arises from the cleanup effort at the Hard-

age Superfund Site (Hardage site), a federally controlled

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,

and Liability Act (CERCLA) site near Criner, Okla-

homa. CERCLA § 101 et seqg., 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seq.

Third-party-defendants Hardage Steering Committee, et

al (HSC) appeal from the district court’s December 8,

1989 order granting, in part, the United States’ motion

for partial summary judgment and declaratory judgment

on response cost issues, United States v. Hardage, 733

F.Supp. 1424 (W.D.Okla.1989), and the district court’s

August 9, 1990 order entering Findings of Fact and Con-

clusions of Law for Remedy Selection Phase, United

States v. Hardage, 750 F.Supp. 1460 (W.D.Okla.1990).

In 1986, the government filed this action against thirty-

two generators and three transporters seeking injunctive

relief under CERCLA § 106(a), 42 U.S.C. § 9606(a),

to require them to clean up the Hardage site, and to re-

cover costs incurred by the government under CERCLA

§ 107(a)(4)(A), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(4)(A). Most

of these original defendants organized themselves as HSC

defendants. HSC stipulated to liability for the presence

of toxic waste at the Hardage site. The district court bi-

furcated the case into a remedy phase, at which a remedy

for the cleanup of the Hardage site would be selected,

and a liability phase, at which liability for the cleanup

would be determined for those who did not stipulate to

liability. Prior to the remedy phase of the trial, the gov-

ernment moved for partial summary judgment against

HSC to recover response costs it incurred at the Hardage

site. The district court granted the government’s motion

for all direct response costs and denied summary judg-

ment for the government’s indirect response costs. At the

same time, the court granted the government’s request for

a declaratory judgment that HSC was liable for all of

the government’s future response costs. The district court

entered this order prior to the commencement of the

remedy phase of the trial.

Sa

At the remedy phase of the trial, the government and

HSC presented the court with competing remedies. The

court ultimately rejected the government’s remedy and

ordered implementation of HSC’s remedy, with minor

modifications. At the remedy phase the court also

awarded the government its indirect response costs and

additional direct response costs against HSC. The court

awarded HSC only a portion of the response costs it

counter-claimed against the government as a4 responsible

party.’

HSC appeals the district court’s entry of partial sum-

mary judgment for the government on two grounds.

First, HSC contends that the court erred in granting par-

tial summary judgment, holding it liable for the govern-

ment’s direct response costs, because of the existence of

genuine issues of material fact. Second, HSC contends

that summary judgment should be reversed because the

court ultimately determined, during the remedy phase of

the trial, that the government’s trial remedy was incon-

sistent with the National Contingency Plan (NCP). HSC

also contends that the declaratory judgment in favor of

the government, holding that HSC is liable for all future

government response costs, must be reversed because it

does not allow HSC to contest these response costs as

inconsistent with the NCP. Lastly, HSC appeals the dis-

trict court’s denial of certain HSC response costs, claim-

ing that the court erroneously applied CERCLA § 122

(e)(6), 42 U.S.C. § 9622(e)(6), to its claim for costs,

and that the court disallowed certain HSC response costs

based on the erroneous presumption that private parties

may not recover litigation-related response costs. All

issues have been certified under Fed.R.Civ.P. 54(b) for

interlocutory review, and we exercise jurisdiction pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

1The government stipulated to liability for the disposal of ap-

proximately 920,000 gallons of hazardous substances at the Hardage

site.

6a

I. BACKGROUND

Defendant Royal N. Hardage owned and operated the

Hardage waste disposal site. The site operated from Sep-

tember 1972 until November 1980, receiving more than

twenty million gallons of waste for storage and/or dis-

posal. In 1979, the Environmental Protection Agency

(EPA) investigated and inspected the site and concluded

that the site posed a threat to the public health, welfare,

and environment. In September 1980, the United States

Department of Justice (DOJ) filed suit in United States

v. Hardage, No. CIV-80-1031-W (W.D.Okla. filed Sept.

8, 1980) [hereinafter Hardage I] against Mr. Hardage,

the site owner.

In Hardage I, the court found that the Hardage site

was dangerous and determined that Mr. Hardage was

liable under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

§ 7003, 42 U.S.C. § 6973, and CERCLA § 106, 42

U.S.C. § 9606. The court also awarded the government

partial judgment for its response costs incurred through

December 1982. The government was unable to obtain

payment from Mr. Hardage, however, because he filed for

bankruptcy and received a discharge of indebtedness in

June 1985. Thereafter, the government identified nu-

merous other parties responsible for the contamination of

the site, and notified them of their status as Potentially

Responsible Parties (PRP’s) pursuant to CERCLA § 104,

42 U.S.C. § 9604. In June 1986, the government filed

the instant action, United States v. Hardage, No. CIV-86-

1401-P (W.D.Okla. filed June 25, 1986) [hereinafter

Hardage II\ against the identified PRP’s, the majority of

whom ultimately formed HSC, to require them to clean ~

up the Hardage site, and to recover response costs in-

curred by the government.

Throughout the proceedings in Hardage I and prior to

the remedy phase of Hardage II, the EPA continued to

investigate and study the Hardage site to develop an

appropriate remedy, eventually settling on the remedy it

| |

Ta

presented at trial. Beginning in 1986, HSC also became

involved with the cleanup of the site, instituting interim

remedial measures as well as developing its own perma-

nent remedy for the Hardage site. At the remedy phase

trial of Hardage II, the court considered both the govern-

ment’s proposed remedy and HSC’s remedy, and after de-

termining that the HSC remedy was Superior, the court

ordered HSC’s remedy to be implemented with minor

modifications. Although the court conducted a de novo

review of the competing remedies, it stated that had it

limited its review to EPA’s administrative record, it would

have rejected the government’s remedy as arbitrary, capri-

cious, and an abuse of discretion. Finally, the court

found that the government’s excavation component of its

remedy did not satisfy NCP standards.?

If. PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

HSC contends that the district court erred in granting

the government’s motion for partial Summary judgment

*The rejected government remedy involves excavation of haz-

ardous wastes in addition to soil vapor extraction, which is a re-

medial measure designed to remove volatile organic compounds

from soil and to transfer them to the airstream. The HSC remedy

involves contaiiiment of hazardous wastes at the Hardage site by

controlling surface water pathways, preventing direct human con-

tract with wastes, controlling air emissions from the site, pre-

cluding the use of contaminated groundwater, and providing for a

contingent response plan to ensure continued maintenance of the

site. The court adopted HSC’s remedy finding that it was supported

by adequate data and analysis, was more cost-effective than the

government’s remedy, was feasible, posed little risk of adverse

effects to workers, and best mitigated and minimized threats to

the public health, welfare, and environment. The court rejected

the government’s remedy finding that, because the remedy was

developed without adequate deliberation and consideration, it could

ultimately fail and lead to future remedial action costs. The court

also found that the government’s remedy potentially threatened

human health and the environment, and cost substantially more

than HSC’s remedy without any demonstrable benefit to the public

health, welfare, or environment. The court also noted that the

State of Oklahoma opposed the government’s remedy.

8a

for response costs because HSC established the existence

of genuine issues of material fact. This argument has two

components: (1) HSC claims that its expert affidavits

raised a genuine issue of material fact that the govern-

ment’s response costs were excessive and unreasonable

and therefore unrecoverable, and (2) HSC claims that

the court erroneously rejected, as conclusory, its expert

affidavits relating to whether the government’s costs were

in fact incurred at the Hardage site. HSC also contends

that we should reverse the entry of summary judgment in

favor of the government in light of the district court’s

subsequent trial determination that the excavation com-

ponent of the government’s remedy is inconsistent with

the NCP. We review a district court’s order granting

summary judgmeiit de novo, Applied Genetics Int'l, Inc.

v. First Affiliated Sec., Inc., 912 F.2d 1238, 1241 (10th

Cir.1990).

Section 107(a) of CERCLA imposes liability on four

categories of persons, including owners and operators of

hazardous waste sites, and generators and transporters of

hazardous waste, for costs including:

(A) all costs of removal or remedial action incurred

by the United States Government or a State or an

Indian tribe not inconsistent with the national con-

tingency plan;

Id. § 107(a) (4) (A), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (4) (A). This

section authorizes the government to recover all costs of

removal or remedial response actions, incurred not incon-

sistent with the NCP. United States v. R.W. Meyer, Inc.,

889 F.2d 1497, 1500 (6th Cir.1989), cert. denied, 494

U.S. 1057, 110 S.Ct. 1527, 108 L.Ed.2d 767 (1990).

CERCLA defines remove or removal as follows:

The terms “remove” or “removal” means [sic] the

cleanup or removal of released hazardous substances

from the environment, such actions as may be neces-

9a

sary [sic] taken in the event of the threat of release

of hazardous substances into the environment, such

actions as may be necessary to monitor, assess, and

evaluate the release or threat of release of hazardous

substances, the disposal of removed material, or the

taking of such other actions as may be necessary to

prevent, minimize, or mitigate damage to the public

health or welfare or to the environment, which may

otherwise result from a release or threat of release.

The term includes, in addition, wthout being limited

to . . . action taken under section 9604(b) of this

title ....

CERCLA § 101(23), 42 U.S.C. § 9601(23) (footnote

omitted). The § 9604(b) authorized action, referenced

in the above definition, includes:

such planning, legal, fiscal, economic, engineering,

architectural, and other studies or investigations as

[the President] may deem necessary or appropriate

to plan and direct response actions, to recover the

costs thereof, and to enforce the provisions of this

chapter.

CERCLA § 104(b), 42 U.S.C. § 9604(b).

CERCLA goes on to define remedy or remedial action

as follows:

The terms “remedy” or “remedial action” means

[sic] those actions consistent with permanent remedy

taken instead of or in addition to removal actions in

the event of a release or threatened release of a

hazardous substance into the environment ... The

term includes, but is not limited to, such actions at

the location of the release as . . . any monitoring

reasonably required to assure that such actions pro-

tect the public health and welfare and the environ-

ment....

CERCLA § 101(24), 42 U.S.C. § 9601(24).

10a

Finally, CERCLA defines respond or response actions

as “remove, removal, remedy, and remedial action, all

such terms (including the terms ‘removal’ and ‘remedial

action’) include enforcement activities related thereto.”

CERCLA § 101(25), 42 U.S.C. § 9601(25).

As stated above, defendants found liable must pay “all

costs of removal or remedial action incurred by the

United States Government . . . not inconsistent with the

national contingency plan.” CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(A),

42 US.C. § 9607(a)(4)(A) (emphasis added). The

NCP was promulgated pursuant to CERCLA § 105, 42

U.S.C. § 9605, and is the EPA regulation that establishes

procedures for selection of response actions. See 40

C.F.R. pt. 300 (1989).° If the government’s response

actions are in harmony with the NCP, the costs incurred

pursuant to those actions are recoverable from liable

parties. We have not previously addressed the issue of

who has the burden of showing consistency or inconsis-

tency with the NCP when the government is seeking re-

sponse costs, however, we are guided by the Eighth Cir-

cuit’s approach in United States v. Northeastern Pharma-

ceutical & Chemical Co. (NEPACCO), 810 F.2d 726

(8th Cir.1986), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 848, 108 S.Ct.

146, 98 L.Ed.2d 102 (1987).

First, we adopt the Eighth Circuit’s holding that the

burden of proof of inconsistency with the NCP rests with

the defendant when the government seeks recovery of its

costs. Id. at 747. Accord R.W. Meyer, Inc., 889 F.2d

at 1508. As the Eighth Circuit reasoned, CERCLA

§ 107(a)(4)(A) provides that the federal government

can recover “all costs of removal or remedial action. . .

not inconsistent with the NCP.” NEPACCO, 810 F.2d

at 747 (quoting CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(A), 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(a)(4)(A)). By contrast, CERCLA § 107(a)

(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (4) (B), provides that “any

3 The 1989 NCP is relevant to this appeal.

lla

other person” can recover “any other necessary costs of

response . . . consistent with the [NCP].” Jd. (quoting

CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(B), 42 US.C. § 9607 (a) (4)

(B)). This statutory language indicates that Congress

intended that a different standard apply to parties other

than the federal government seeking response costs, and

that these parties affirmatively prove that their actions

are necessary and consistent with the NCP. See id. When

the government is seeking response costs, however, con-

Sistency with the NCP is presumed unless the defendant

can overcome this presumption by presenting evidence

of inconsistency. Jd.

We further are guided by the Eighth Circuit’s approach

concerning what a defendant must show in order to dem-

onstrate that the government’s costs are incurred incon-

sistent with the NCP. In order to show that a govern-

ment response cost is inconsistent with the NCP, a de-

fendant must demonstrate that the government’s response

action giving rise to the particular cost is inconsistent

with the NCP. See NEPACCO, 810 F.2d at 748. To

Show that the government’s response action is inconsist-

ent with the NCP, a defendant must demonstrate that the

EPA acted arbitrarily and capriciously in choosing a par-

ticular response action to respond to a hazardous waste

site. Id. We adopt the arbitrary and Capricious standard

of review “because determining the appropriate removal

and remedial action involves specialized knowledge and

expertise, [and therefore] the choice of a particular clean-

up method is a matter within the discretion of the EPA.”

Id. We follow the Eighth Circuit’s lead and give defer-

ence to the EPA’s choice of response action and will

not substitute our own judgment for that of the EPA.

See id.

This case differs from NEPACCO, however, in that

the recoverability of certain government response costs

was determined on the government’s motion for sum-

mary judgment. Further, the entry of summary judgment

occurred prior to the trial on the issue of the appropriate

12a

remedy for the Hardage site. We now turn to whether

the government was entitled to summary judgment on the

issue of HSC’s liability for the government’s response costs

under CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(A).

Summary judgment is appropriate when there is no

genuine dispute over a material fact and the moving party

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247, 106 S.Ct. 2505,

2509, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). The moving party carries

the initial burden of demonstrating the absence of a gen-

uine issue of material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 323, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265

(1986). Once the moving party meets this burden, the

burden then shifts to the nonmoving party to demonstrate

“the existence of an element essential to that party’s case,

and on which that party will bear the burden of proof

at trial.” Jd. at 322, 106 S.Ct. at 2552. “By its very

terms, [the summary judgment] standard provides that

the mere existence of some alleged factual dispute be-

tween the parties will not defeat an otherwise properly

supported motion for summary judgment.” Anderson,

477 U.S. at 247-48, 106 S.Ct. at 2510. Rather, “[o]nly

disputes over facts that might affect the outcome of the

suit under the governing law will properly preclude the

entry of summary judgment.” /d. at 248, 106 S.Ct. at

2510.

In the instant case, in support of its motion for partial

summary judgment, the government submitted extensive

documentation that it incurred $5,441,201.25 in response

costs. The documentation included affidavits of various

EPA and Department of Justice (DOJ) employees charged

with accumulating the cost data. These affidavits were

supported by summaries of cost data accumulated in con-

nection with the Hardage site, and the source of that

data. The district court held, and we agree, that the

documentation offered in support of the government’s re-

sponse cost claim established a prima facie case that the

eT |

13a

government is entitled to response costs in the amount

Stated above, |

Once the government established this prima facie case,

the burden shifted to HSC to demonstrate that the gov-

ernment’s response action that gave rise to the particular

cost submitted at summary judgment, was inconsistent

with the NCP in that the government’s choice of response

action was arbitrary and capricious. In opposition to the

government’s motion for summary judgment, HSC of-

fered the affidavits of two expert witnesses that disputed

each of the government’s claimed costs on a variety of

grounds. However, HSC failed to identify any response

actions by the government that were inconsistent with

the NCP. Instead, HSC claims that to the extent that the

expert affidavits challenged individual costs as excessive

and unreasonable, the affidavits created a genuine issue

of material fact for trial. We disagree.

CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(A) is a strict liability statute.

The only way a responsible party can escape liability for

the government’s costs incurred at the particular site is

to demonstrate that the government’s response actions—

i.e., removal or remedial actions—underlying the costs,

are inconsistent with the NCP. HSC contends that a

challenge that an individual cost is excessive or unreason-

able demonstrates inconsistency with the NCP. However,

CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(A) does not limit the govern-

ment’s recovery to “all reasonable costs;” rather, it per-

mits the government to recover “all costs of removal or

remedial action incurred . . . not inconsistent with the

[NCP].” CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(A), 42 U.S.C. §$ 9607

(a) (4) (A) (emphasis added). The NCP regulates

choice of response actions, not costs. See 40 CFR.

§§ 300.65, 300.68 (1989). Costs, by themselves, cannot

be inconsistent with the NCP. Only response actions—

i.e., removal or remedial actions—can be inconsistent

with the NCP, which can be demonstrated by a showing

that the government’s choice of response action was ar-

l4a

bitrary and capricious. As long as the government’s

choice of response action is not inconsistent with the

NCP, its costs are presumed to be reasonable and there-

fore recoverable. NEPACCO, 810 F.2d at 748.

HSC argues that if the NCP fails to require reasonable-

ness of individual costs, the EPA has failed its statutory

mandate to develop a national contingency plan [NCP]

that includes “means of assuring that remedial action

measures are cost-effective over the period of potential ex-

posure to the hazardous substances ... .” CERCLA

§ 105(a)(7), 42 U.S.C. § 9605(a)(7). First, we note

that CERCLA mandates that the NCP assure cost-

effectiveness for remedial actions only. CERCLA con-

tains no corresponding mandate for removal actions. The

NCP does assure that remedial action measures are cost-

effective by requiring the government to consider cost

when selecting remedial alternatives, 40 C.F.R. § 300.68

(g)(1) (1989), and by requiring the government to select

“a cost-effective remedial alternative.” Jd. § 300.68(i).

However, a challenge that an individual cost is excessive

or unreasonable does not demonstrate inconsistency with

either of these NCP provisions. Rather, to survive sum-

mary judgment by demonstrating inconsistency with sec-

tion 300.68(g)(1) or 300.68(i) of the NCP, a defendant

must show that the government acted arbitrarily and ca-

priciously in failing to consider cost, or in selecting a

remedial alternative that is not cost-effective. HSC’s affi-

davits charging that certain government costs were ex-

cessive and unreasonable failed to show that the under-

lying government response action was inconsistent with

the NCP in that the government’s choice of response ac-

tion was arbitrary and capricious. Because response ac-

tion inconsistency with the NCP is the sole defense to

liability for the government’s costs, HSC failed to estab-

lish a genuine issue of material fact for trial.‘

4HSC also contends that the NCP incorporates the Federal

Acquisition Regulations (FAR’s), 48 C.F.R. § 1500 et seq., and that

15a

HSC next alleges that the district court erroneously

rejected, as conclusory, its expert affidavits relating to

whether the government’s costs were in fact incurred at

the Hardage site. The affidavits in question challenged

certain government response costs by stating that the

government failed to produce adequate documentation

that the purposes for which some of these costs were in-

curred were response activities at the Hardage site. The

district court dismissed these challenges as conclusory and

therefore inadequate to defeat summary judgment. HSC

argues that expert witness affidavits do not fail to defeat

summary judgment solely because they are conclusory.

Without deciding whether conclusory expert witness affi-

davits are sufficient, in general, to defeat summary judg-

ment, we determine that the above challenge to the gov-

ernment’s response costs is insufficient to defeat sulamary

judgment here. The expert witness affidavits at issue

amount to no more than a denial that the government’s

documentation establishes a prima facie case that it is

entitled to recover $5,441,201.25, in response costs. As

we have already stated, we believe the government’s docu-

mentation does establish a prima facie case, and therefore

HSC’s expert affidavits fail to establish a genuine issue for

trial. Just because HSC’s denial comes in the form of

expert witness affidavits does not make it any more sig-

nificant than a simple denial made in a pleading and as

such is insufficient to defeat summary judgment. See

Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324, 106 S.Ct. at 2553 (nonmoving

party may not rest on its pleadings but must set forth

specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for

trial).

HSC also asserts that the entry of partial summary

judgment for the government must be reversed in light of

if the government violates a provision of the FAR’s then its asso-

ciated costs are inconsistent with the NCP. We find HSC’s argu-

ment irrelevant because HSC, at summary judgment, failed to pro-

vide any evidence that the government violated any provision of

the FAR’s.

16a

the district court’s subsequent remedy phase determina-

tions. Subsequent to the entry of summary judgment for

the government on the issue of response costs, the district

court conducted the remedy phase of the trial. At this

phase, the court considered both the government’s pro-

posed trial remedy and HSC’s proposed remedy. After

determining that HSC’s remedy was superior, the court

ordered HSC’s remedy to be implemented with minor

modifications. Incident to its decision concerning which

remedy to implement, the court stated that the excava-

tion component of the government’s trial remedy “does

not . . . satisfy NCP standards.” United States v. Hard-

age, 750 F.Supp. 1460, 1481 (W.D.Okla. 1990). HSC

argues that because, at the remedy phase of the trial,

the court found the excavation component of the govern-

ment’s trial remedy to be inconsistent with the NCP, and,

because inconsistency with the NCP is a defense to the

recoverability of the government’s costs, we must now re-

verse the district court’s prior entry of summary judgment.

We disagree.

As an appellate court reviewing the entry of summary

judgment, our review is confined to an examination of

the materials before the court at the time the ruling was

made. Voutour v. Vitale, 761 F.2d 812, 817 (lst Cir.

1985), cert. denied sub. nom, Saugus v. Voutour, 474

U.S. 1100, 106 S.Ct. 879, 88 L.Ed.2d 916 (1986).

“Neither the evidence offered subsequently at the trial nor

the verdict is relevant.” Jd. One who loses on summary

judgment cannot give a retroactive effect to a trial ver-

dict, using it in an effort to create a genuine issue of

material fact at the time the court was considering the

motion for summary judgment. Glaros v. H.H. Robertson

Co., 797 F.2d 1564, 1569 (Fed.Cir.1986), cert. dis-

missed, 479 U.S. 1072, 107 S.Ct. 1262, 94 L.Ed.2d 124

(1987).

Here, HSC is attempting to give retroactive effect to

the district court’s determination at the remedy phase of

17a

the trial that the excavation component of the govern-

ment’s trial remedy is inconsistent with the NCP. This

HSC cannot do. The time at which HSC was required to

establish the existence of a genuine issue of inconsistency

with the NCP, as to the particular response costs sub-

mitted by the government at summary judgment, was long

past when the remedy phase of the trial began. To de-

feat the government's claim for those response costs, HSC

was required to establish a genuine issue of inconsistency

with the NCP at the summary judgment phase, when re-

coverability of those particular government response costs

was at issue. The court’s subsequent remedy phase trial

determination is irrelevant to the prior entry of summary

judgment on the response cost issue. Our review is lim-

ited to the materials the district court had before it at

the time of the ruling, and as we stated above, based on

those materials, summary judgment was appropriate.

WI. DECLARATORY JUDGMENT

HSC contends that the declaratory judgment entered in

favor of the government must be reversed because it bars

HSC from contesting future response costs submitted by

the government, on the ground that the costs were in-

curred inconsistent with the NCP. We agree that, to the

extent the entry of declaratory judgment prevents HSC

from contesting future government costs on the basis that

the underlying government response actions giving rise

to the costs are themselves inconsistent with the NCP, the

judgment must be reversed.

CERCLA § 113(g)(2), 42 U.S.C. § 9613(g)(2) spe-

cifically provides that:

In any action [for recovery of response costs under

CERCLA § 107]... the court shall enter a decla-

tory judgment on Jiability for response costs or dam-

ages that will be binding on any subsequent action

or actions to recover further response costs or dam-

ages.

18a

(emphasis added). Thus, the entry of declaratory judg-

ment on the issue of liability for future response costs is

appropriate. The statute does not, however, contemplate

preventing challenges to future costs, submitted under the

declaration of liability, as having been incurred pursuant

to response actions that are inconsistent with the NCP.

The clear language of the statute dictates that a declara-

tory judgment determines Jiability for future response

costs, not recoverability of those costs. A defense that

the government’s response costs are incurred pursuant to

response actions that are inconsistent with the NCP is a

defense to the recoverability of particular response costs,

not a defense to liability for those costs. See United

States v. Kramer, 757 F.Supp. 397, 436 (D.N.J. 1991).

Therefore, a defendant who is declared liable for future

response costs may still challenge those costs as unre-

coverable because the underlying response actions giving

rise to the costs are inconsistent with the NCP. See eg.,

Kelley v. Thomas Solvent Co., 790 F.Supp. 710, 716

(W.D.Mich.1990); United States v. Fairchild Industries,

Inc., 766 F.Supp. 405, 415 (D.Md.1991); O'Neil vy.

Picillo, 682 F.Supp. 706, 730 (D.R.1.1988); United

States v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co.

(NEPACCO), 579 F.Supp. 823, 852 (W.D.Mo.1984),

aff'd in part and rev'd in part, 810 F.2d 726 (8th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 848, 108 S.Ct. 146, 98

L.Ed.2d 102 (1987).

In its order granting, in part, the government’s motion

for partial summary judgment and declaratory judgment

on response costs issues, the district court stated, “the

United States’ motion for a declaratory judgment for lia-

bility for future response costs associated with the Hard-

age site . . . shall also be granted.” United States v.

Hardage, 733 F.Supp. 1424, 1439 (W.D.Okla.1989).

Thereafter, in its Judgment and Order filed on August 9,

1990, the district court set out the procedure for the

government to collect its future response costs from

HSC. United States v. Hardage, No. CIV-86-140i-P

VX

19a

(W.D.Okla.1990). The court indicated that should HSC

dispute any portion of the government’s claim for costs,

and the dispute carrot be resolved between the parties,

the “disputed claim [shall] be brought to the [cJourt for

resolution.” Jd. at 10-11. This language makes it un-

clear as to whether the declaratory judgment, as entered

by the court, permits HSC to dispute costs submitted by

the government on the ground that the response actions

giving rise to the costs are inconsistent with the NCP.

However, a statement by the court in its August 9, 1990

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law for Remedy

Selection Phase indicates that the court did not contem-

plate allowing HSC to contest the recoverability of the

government’s response costs on the basis of inconsistency

with the NCP, and to this extent we hold that the court

erred.

In its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law for

Remedy Selection Phase, the district court, in response to

a defense by the HSC concerning costs submitted by the

government, dismissed HSC’s defense stating, “[h]owever,

. the [court] granted the United States a declaratory

judgment for all future response costs. Therefore, if the

United States presents proof that these costs were in-

curred, it is entitled to recover these costs.” United States

v. Hardage, 750 F.Supp. 1460, 1500 (W.D.Okla.1990).

Although HSC’s defense to these costs was not based on

inconsistency with the NCP,” we believe the court’s state-

ment indicates that the court, under the-declaratory judg-

ment, would not permit any HSC challenge to the re-

coverability of future government response costs as long

as the government presents proof that the costs were in-

curred. This is reversible error, because, as we stated

above, a declaratory judgment under CERCLA § 113

()(2) determines liability for future response costs, not

5 HSC objected to the government’s summary of its DOJ direct

costs because it had not had an opportunity to review the docu-

mentation.

20a

recoverability, and therefore, a challenge to the recover-

ability of future response costs—i.e., that the response ac-

tions giving rise to the costs are inconsistent with the

NCP—must be allowed.

IV. HSC RESPONSE COSTS

HSC appeals the district court’s denial of certain HSC

response costs, claiming that the court erroneously ap-

plied CERCLA § 122(e)(6), 42 U.S.C. § 9622(e) (6),

to its claim for response costs, and that the court dis-

allowed certain HSC response costs based on the erro-

neous presumption that private parties may not recover

litigation-related response costs. We review questions of

law de novo, Estate of Holl v. Commissioner, 967 F.2d

1437, 1438 (10th Cir.1992). and findings of fact under

a clearly erroneous standard, O’Connor v. R.F. Lafferty

& Co., 965 F.2d 893, 901 (10th Cir.1992).

At the remedy phase of the trial, HSC counterclaimed

against the government as a responsible party for re-

sponse costs it incurred in instituting interim remedial

measures and developing its trial remedy. The district

court awarded HSC $3,716,695.23 of its claimed

$9,530,984.72 in response costs. The HSC costs allowed

by the court included the costs of implementing interim

remedial measures, and $3,220,000 of HSC’s costs of con-

ducting a second operable unit Remedial Investigation

Feasibility Study pursuant to a consent decree entered by

the court. The court disallowed the remainder of HSC’s

costs finding them “not necessary costs of response .. .

consistent with the [NCP].” United States v. Hardage,

750 F.Supp. 1460, 1519 (W.D.Okla.1990) (quoting

CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(4)

(B)). Further, the court found that, based on the amount

of waste at Hardage attributable to the government, the

government was liable for 8.36% of HSC’s costs.

HSC contends that the district court erroneously ap-

plied CERCLA § 122(e)(6), 42 U.S.C. $ 9622(e) (6),

to its claim for response costs thereby disallowing costs

2la

which it was entitled to recover. We disagree. CERCLA

§ 122(e) (6) states:

~ When either the President, or a potentially respon-

sible party pursuant to an administrative order or

consent decree under this chapter, has initiated a

remedial investigation and feasibility study for a par-

ticular facility under this chapter, no potentially re-

sponsible party may undertake any remedial action

at the facility unless such remedial action has been

authorized by the President.

HSC contends that the district court improperly relied on

this section and, as a result, disallowed all HSC response

costs incurred without advance government approval.

HSC argues that § 122(e)(6) does not apply to

CERCLA § 106(a), 42 U.S.C. § 9606(a), injunction

actions. Because we find that the court did not, in fact,

apply § 122(e)(6) in disallowing any HSC response

costs, we need not decide whether § 122(e)(6) is appli-

cable to § 106(a) injunction actions.

In its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law for

Remedy Selection Phase, the district court included a

description of § 122(e)(6) as part of its general legal

discussion of CERCLA. Hardage, 750 F.Supp. at 1511.

However, following an extensive review of the record. we

find that the district court did not rely on this provision

in disailowing any of HSC’s claimed costs. For every

HSC cost disallowed, the district court found that HSC

failed to meet its burden of demonstrating that the cost

was necessary and consistent with the NCP. This is un-

doubtedly the standard that applies to private party re-

covery of response costs. See CERCLA § 107(a)(4)

(B), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (4) (B).

HSC directs our attention to language by the court

inviting the government to indicate with which costs the

government agreed, and further argues that it was not

22a

mere coincidence that the only costs allowed by the court

were those costs that the government did not dispute. We

agree that it was not a coincidence, however, we believe

that in requesting the government’s response to the costs

claimed by HSC, the court was merely asking whether

the government, at trial, conceded that HSC was entitled

to any of the costs. The court was not inquiring as to

whether HSC had obtained advance government approval

prior to incurring these costs, as would be required by

§ 122(e)(6). Rather, once the government conceded

that certain HSC costs were necessary and incurred con-

sistent with the NCP, the court awarded these costs as

undisputed. Therefore, HSC’s argument that the court

erroneously relied on § 122(e)(6) is without merit.

HSC’s last contention is that the district court erro-

neously disallowed certain HSC response costs as litiga-

tion-related. HSC claims that the district court disallowed,

as a matter of law, all costs that it determined were

litigation-related. As a result, HSC now invites us to

conduct de novo review and rule on whether private

parties are entitled to recover litigation-related costs under

CERCLA. Because we determine that the district court

clearly disallowed HSC’s costs finding that HSC failed to

prove that they are “necessary costs. . . . consistent with

the [NCP],” CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(B), we decline the

invitation, and instead determine whether the court’s

factual determination that certain litigation-related costs

were not necessary and consistent with the NCP was

clearly erroneous.

In its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law for

Remedy Selection Phase, the district court carefully set

out the legal standard that applies when a private party

is seeking cost recovery from liable persons under

CERCLA. See Hardage, 750 F.Supp. at 1509-11. The

court correctly determined that, under the language of

CERCLA, private parties may recover “any other neces-

sary cost of response incurred . . . consistent with the

2

<<<

23a

[NCP].” CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. § 9607

(a)(4)(B). In the context of discussing what is a neces-

Sary response cost and how a response cost is incurred

consistent with the NCP, the court addressed litigation-

related costs, Finding that there is no express authority

for the recovery of costs incurred to assist counsel in

their defense of litigation, Hardage, 750 F.Supp. at 1511,

the court went on to apply the “necessary and consistent

with the NCP” standard. Although the court ultimately

disallowed all HSC costs that it determined were litigation-

related, there is nothing in the record or court’s opinion

to suggest that the court found these costs per se un-

recoverable and therefore disregarded the “necessary and

consistent with the NCP” standard. On the contrary, in

its conclusions of law, the court specifically stated that

the various HSC costs “borne primarily to support the

HSC’s litigation position are not ‘necessary costs of re-

sponse . . . consistent with the [NCP].’” Jd. at 1519

(quoting CERCLA § 107(a)(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. § 9607

(a)(4)(B)). Therefore, because the court applied the

correct legal standard in determining which costs sub-

mitted by HSC are recoverable, we now review the

court's factual determinations under a clearly erroneous

standard.

In Daigle v. Shell Oil Co., 972 F.2d 1527, 1533 (10th

Cir.1992), we noted that CERCLA fails to define

“necessary costs of response.” However, we noted that

CERCLA did define the term response as a removal ac-

tion or a remedial action, and in turn defined removal

and remedy. /d. (citing CERCLA §§ 101(25), (23),

(24), 42 U.S.C. §$§ 9601(25), (23), 24)). We deter-

mined that the heart of the definitions of removal and

remedy, see supra Part I, are “directed at containing and

cleaning up hazardous substance releases.” Jd. at 1535.

We therefore concluded that “necessary costs of response”

must be necessary to the containment and cleanup of

hazardous releases. Id. at 1535-37.

lL

24a

Given the context of this litigation, it was not clearly

erroneous for the court to determine that costs, incurred

by HSC to defend against the government’s § 106(a) in-

junction action, were not necessary to the containment

and cleanup of hazardous releases at the Hardage site.

Unlike a situation where a site may remain hazardous

absent a private party's involvement, the EPA has been

involved at the Hardage site since 1979. The EPA con-

ducted studies of the site and developed a remedy to

contain and clean up the site. The EPA then sued for

an injunction to compel the responsible parties to enact

its remedy. Although the EPA’s trial remedy was rejected

by the court, the court had the authority to order the EPA

to revise its remedy until it developed an acceptable

method of dealing with the Hardage site. See generally

CERCLA § 106(a), 42 U.S.C. § 106(a) (district court

has jurisdiction to grant such relief as the public interest

and equities of the case may require). In other words,

regardless of whether HSC ever conducted any studies of

the site, or developed its own remedy, the Hardage site

would be cleaned up.

HSC, on the other hand, began investigating remedial

alternatives upon being named as a defendant in the gov-

ernment’s CERCLA § 106(a) injunction action. HSC’s

costs, although likely necessary for the development of its

trial remedy, are not necessary to the containment and

cleanup at the Hardage site. This is true even though

HSC’s remedy was ultimately accepted by the court with

modifications, for, as stated above, the court has the

authority to compel the EPA to submit an acceptable

remedy for the cleanup of Hardage, with or without any

involvement on the part of HSC. We hold that when a

private party incurs response costs in developing its own

remedy, solely to defend against the government’s § 106

(a) injunction action, the private party’s response costs

are not “necessary” within the meaning of CERCLA

S$ 107(a)(4)(B). For these reasons, we hold that it was

———

‘caine

25a

not clearly erroneous for the court to have concluded

that HSC’s litigation-related costs were not necessary and

therefore unrecoverable.

In sum, the district court’s order granting the govern-

ment partial summary judgment for recovery of response

costs is AFFIRMED. The district court’s judgment deny-

ing in part, HSC’s recovery of response costs against the

government as a liable party is AFFIRMED. The district

court’s entry of declaratory judgment in favor of the gov-

ernment is REVERSED and REMANDED for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

26a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-6325

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

v.

ROYAL N. HARDAGE, et al.,

Defendants,

and

UNITED STATES POLLUTION CONTROL,

Defendant-A ppellee,

Vv.

HARDAGE STEERING COMMITTEE, et al.,

Third-party

Defendants-A ppellants,

A. H. BELO, doing business as Dallas Morning News,

Third-party

Defendant-A ppellee,

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., et al.,

Fourth-party

Defendants-A ppellants,

ORDER

Entered February 17, 1993

a ee

27a

Before McKAY, Chief Circuit Judge, SEYMOUR,

MOORE, ANDERSON, TACHA, BALDOCK, BRORBY,

EBEL, and KELLY, Circuit Judges, and BROWN*, Dis-

trict Judge.

This matter comes on for consideration of appellants’

petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in

banc.

Upon consideration whereof, the petition for rehearing

is denied by the panel that rendered the decision.

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing in banc

was transmitted to all of the judges of the court who are

in regular active service. No member of the panel and no

judge in regular active service on the court having re-

quested that the court be polled on rehearing in banc,

Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the sug-

gestion for rehearing in banc is denied.

Judge Logan did not participate.

Entered for the Court

/s/ Robert L. Hoecker

ROBERT L. HOECKER

Clerk

* The Honorable Wesley E. Brown, United States District Court

for the District of Kansas, sitting by designation.

—

28a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

W.D. OKLAHOMA

No. CIV-86-1401-P

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

intiff,

" Plaintiff

ROYAL N. HARDAGE, et al.,

Defendants.

ADVANCE CHEMICAL COMPANY, et al.,

HARDAGE STEERING COMMITTEE,

Defendants and

Third-Party Plaintiffs.

¥.

ABCO, INc., et al.,

Third-Party Defendants.

Aug. 9, 1990

As Corrected Oct. 16, 1990

John R. Barker, Anna Wolgast, Trial Attys., Kurt

Weissmuller, Steven Novick, Gary S. Guzy, Bruce Buck-

heit, Kalyn C. Free, William Merrill, Jon Lipshultz,

Dianne M. Shawley, Jerry Schwartz, Department of Jus-

tice, Charles de Saillan, E.P.A., Steven Mullins, U.S.

Attys. Office, W.D. Oklahoma, Thomas Curtis, U.S. Air

Force, for U:S..

Jerome T. Wolf, Carl Helmstetter, Kansas City, Mo.,

Allan Gates, Little Rock, Ark., Jeffrey N. Martin, Wash-

ington, D.C., James C. Morriss, Stephen Fink, Dallas,

29a

Tex., Walter J. Hryszko, Houston, Tex., Michael D.

Graves, Tulsa, Okl., Howard Seitzman, Austin, Tex.,

Charles W. Shipley, Tulsa, Okl., Amanda G. Birrell,

Austin, Tex., Steve McKinney, Oklahoma City, Okl.,

Gavin McInnis, John D. White, Houston, Tex., Ross

Plourde, Andy Coats, Leanne Burnett, Jean McLemore,

Joseph F. Guida, Oklahoma City, Okl., Steve LeSatz,

Houston, Tex., Irwin Steinhorn, Oklahoma City, Okl., for

Hardage Steering Committee.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

FOR REMEDY SELECTION PHASE

PHILLIPS, District Judge.

I. INTRODUCTION

This Order arises from the trial of a bifurcated portion

of a CERCLA‘ case. The trial involved the selection of

a remedy for the cleanup of toxic wastes at the Hardage

Superfund Site (“Hardage Site”), a closed industrial waste

disposal site located near the town of Criner, Oklahoma.

The parties have presented the Court with competing

remedies.

The plaintiff United States of America advances an

“excavation” remedy that seeks to remove a substantial

portion of the wastes and hazardous substances from the

site. A second major component of the government’s

remedy involves “soil vapor extraction,” a technology de-

veloped to remove highly toxic and mobile compounds

from the subsurface.

‘Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and

Liability Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. §§ 9601-75 (1982 & Supp. V 1987),

as amended by the Superfund Amendments and Reauthoriation

Act of 1986, Pub.L. No. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1613 (1986) [hereinafter

“CERCLA” and “SARA” ].

30a

The defendants,” on the other hand, advance a “con-

tainment” remedy, which is designed to pump large quan-

tities of waste from the site, while at the same time leay-

ing substantial volumes of hazardous substances in the

subsurface. The defense theory relies on a combination

of natural bedrock features and man-made hydraulic bar-

riers to create a “bathtub” effect, which according to the

Hardage Steering Committee (“HSC”) defendants, will

contain the wastes and hazardous substances that are not

pumped out.

The United States estimates that its remedy will cost

approximately $70 million. However, the defendants con-

tend that the costs of the government’s proposed remedy,

including major repair contingencies, operation, and main-

tenance, will be $150 million. On the other hand, the

defendants estimate their remedy will cost approximately

$54 million. The government generally agrees with this

estimate. The defendants further argue that the site could

have been cleaned up under a plan proposed in 1982 by

the Oklahoma State Department of Health (“OSDH”) at

a cost, in 1989 dollars, of $17.75 million.

2The trial defendants included the defendants named in the

United States’ Amended Complaint. The majority of the defend-

ants organized themselves as the Hardage Steering Committee

(“HSC”) defendants. Section II of this Order contains a list of the

HSC defendants.

Other defendants for trial included the Consent Decree defend-

ants. On the eve of trial, the United States filed the Consent

Decree for the Implementation of a Partial Remedial Action:

Source Excavation and Soil Vapor Extraction, United States v.

Hardage, No. CIV-86-1401-P (W.D.Okla. Nov. 21, 1989) (filing

No. 2218). Under the provisions of the Consent Decree certain

settling defendants agreed to pay for and to perform components

of the United States’ preferred remedy at the Hardage Site. Sec-

tion VII of this Order describes and identifies the Consent Decree

defendants. These defendants supported the United States’ recom-

mended remedy.

3la

The government characterizes the defense proposal as

“peace in our time.” * The government argues that all con-

tainment remedies fail with the only question being when.

The defendants, on the other hand, portray the govern-

ment’s remedy as unscientific, costly, and a product of

“slavish adherence” to unsound litigation strategy. The

defendants also allege that the government’s proposed

remedy was a “moving target” that changed substantially

as the remedy trial drew closer.

As discussed more fully below, the Court divided the

entire Hardage Site litigation into four major phases: (1)

a remedy seiection phase; (2) a liability phase; (3) a

third-party claims phase; and (4) a cost allocation phase.

Because of the critical nature of the remedy disputes in

the case, the Court and the parties elected to proceed first

with the Remedy Phase. Although the parties’ estimates

of the time necessary for trial of the Remedy Phase ranged

from 52 days to several months,* the Court allocated only

20 days.” However, the trial was concluded in just 11

days, in part because of the streamlined procedures the

Court adopted,® and, in part because of the extremely

high caliber of legal representation on both sides of the

lawsuit.

* Reporter’s Transcript of Proceedings at 95 11.-6-7 (Nov. 24,

1989). The government attorney’s line during opening statements

was reminiscent of the late British Prime Minister Neville Cham-

berlain’s famous remark. Upon his return to London from Munich

on September 30, 1938. Chamberlain proclaimed a peace pact with

Hitler. Chamberlain told a throng of admirers. “I believe it is

peace for our time.” J. Bartlett, Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations

727 (15th ed. 1989) (footnotes omitted).

* See, e.g., Order at 11 (Jan. 20, 1989) (filing No. 1601) [herein-

after Jan. 20, 1989, Scheduling Order], attached hereto as Exhibit

A.

5 See Order Allocating Twenty (20) Days for Remedy Trial

(Nov. 6, 1989) (filing No. 2086).

® See Jan. 20, 1989, Scheduling Order at 3-6.

ee

32a

The streamlined nonjury trial procedure involved the

submission of witness affidavits in lieu of direct examina-

tion on most points. The parties were given an opporunity

to present both supplemental direct examination and full

cross-examination of the witnesses during trial. As or-

dered by the Court, the parties submitted comprehensive

stipulations on undisputed matters.’

The Court has reviewed and considered the testimony

of all of the 45 trial witnesses.” In addition, the Court

has examined more than 8,000 pages of affidavits and

deposition transcripts, 250 pages of stipulations, and more

than 470 exhibits introduced by the parties at trial, total-

ing more than 150,000 pages of record.

As a result of the trial, the Court is convinced that the

United States has not carried its burden of proof and has

not convinced the Court of the propriety of its proposed

remedy. Moreover, the Court is convinced that the HSC

defendants’ proposed containment remedy is markedly su-

perior to the government’s proposed remedy. The findings

of fact and conclusions of law set forth below resolve the

remedy issue in favor of the HSC defendants. In addition,

this Order sets forth the Court’s rulings on the other

claims and matters that were at issue in the remedy trial,

including: the Consent Decree,” the United States’ supple-

mental response cost claim,’® the HSC defendants’ re-

TId. at 3.

8 Review of the witnesses’ direct examination was facilitated

by the affidavit procedure described above. The Court carefully

considered the cross-examination of the witnesses by means of a

daily transcript service.

® Section IX of this Order discusses the Consent Decree.

10 Section X of this Order details the United States’ response

cost claim.

Ni ceeeieeianeneeeiemeimeinnieiteiiacteel

33a

sponse cost claim,"’ and other equitable defenses asserted

against the United States.’

Il. PARTIES AND APPEARANCES

The plaintiff was represented by the following counsel

for the Remedy Phase:

John R. Barker, trial attorney, Department of Justice

Anna Wolgast, trial attorney, Department of Justice

Kurt Weissmuller, Department of Justice

Steven Novick, Department of Justice

Gary S. Guzy, Department of Justice

Bruce Buckheit, Department of Justice

Kalyn C. Free, Department of Justice

William Merrill, Department of Justice

Jon Lipshultz, Department of Justice

Dianne M. Shawley, Department of Justice

Jerry Schwartz, Department of Justice

Charles de Saillan, Environmental Protection Agency

Steven Mullins, United States Attorney’s Office,

Western District of Oklahoma

Thomas Curtis, United States Air Force

Several groups of defendants, as well as individual de-

fendants, participated in the Remedy Phase. The HSC

defendants '* made an appearance to oppose the imposi-

tion of the United States’ proposed remedy, to oppose

11Section XI of this Order discusses the HSC defendants’ re-

sponse cost claim.

13 Id.

13 Many of the original 37 defendants organized and formed the

HSC defendants. At the direction of this Court in the Case Man-

agement Order issued on March 26, 1987, all defendants were

represented administratively by liaison counsel. Case Management

Order (Mar. 26, 1987) (filing No. 189).

34a

approval of the Consent Decree, and to offer their own

proposed containment remedy for implementation at the

Hardage Site. Earlier, the HSC defendants had stipulated

to liability.

The HSC defendants include: Advance Chemical Co.;

Allied-Signal, Inc.; AT & T Technologies, Inc.; Ashland

Oil, Inc.; Atlantic Richfield Co.; Borg-Warner Corp.;

BULL HN Information Systems, Inc. (formerly Honey-

well Bull, Inc.); Exxon Corp.; Bridgestone/Firestone,

Inc.; GenCorp, Inc.; Magnetic Peripherals, Inc.; Mare-

mont Corp.; McDonnell Douglas Corp.; Mobile Chemical

Co.; Nalco Chemical Co.; Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co.;

Oklahoma Publishing Co.; Rockwell International Corp.:

Texaco Refining and Marketing, Inc.; Texas Instruments,

Incorporated; Uniroyal, Inc.; UOP, Inc.; Westinghouse

Electric Corp.; Weyerhaeuser Co.; and Powell Sanitation

Service, Inc.

Common counsel provided primary representation for

the HSC in the remedy trial. Kenneth N. McKinney,

Robert D. Tomlinson, Mark Coldiron, and Dawn Northup

served in this capacity. Certain other attorneys provided

separate representation for individual HSC generator de-

fendants and participated in various aspects of the trial.

These corporations and their attorneys included:

Jerome T. Wolff, AT & T Technologies

Carl Helmstetter, AT & T Technologies

Allan Gates, Oklahoma Publishing Co.

Jeffrey N. Martin, Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co.

James C. Morriss, Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc.

Stephen Fink, Bridgestone/Firestone Tire & Rubber

Company

Walter J. Hryszko, Exxon Corporation

Michael D. Graves, Honeywell, Magnetic Peripherals,

and McDonnell Douglas Corp.

Howard Seitzman, Borg Warner Corp., Texas In-

- struments, Incorporated

35a

Charles W. Shipley, Atlantic Richfield Co., Ashland

Chemical Co., and Maremount Co.

Amanda G. Birrell, Nalco Chemical Co.

Other defendants and third-party defendants appeared

through the following counsel:

Steve McKinney, Oklahoma National Stock Yards

Co.

Gavin McInnis, Ralph L. Lowe

John D. White, JOC Oil Exploration Co., Inc.

Ross Plourde, Double-Eagle Refining Co.

As reflected by the trial record, participation at trial by

counsel for the other defendants and the third-party de-

fendants was minimal. Virtually all of the examination

was conducted by common counsel for the HSC defend-

ants.

Another group of defendants who participated in the

Remedy Phase consisted of the consent decree partici-

pants. These are the defendants who, on the eve of trial.

entered into a Consent Decree with the United States.

Under the provisions of the Consent Decree filed on No-

vember 21, 1989, the consent decree defendants agreed to

pay for, and to perform, certain elements of the United

States’ desired remedy for the Hardage Site.'* The consent

decree defendants who made appearance to support the

government's proposed remedy and to advocate the ap-

proval of the Consent Decree, and their counsel, included:

Andy Coats, Cato Oil and Grease Co., Kerr-McGee

Refining Corp.

14 Section IX of this Order discusses the Consent Decree in

detail.

lain cea acne iieatmianeele

36a

Leanne Burnett, Kerr-McGee Refining Corp.

Jeanie McLemore, L & S Bearing Co.

Joseph F. Guida, L & S Bearing Co., and Rotex

Corp.

Steve LeSatz, United States Pollution Control, Inc.

Irwin Steinhorn, United States Pollution Control,

Inc.

All counsel are to be complimented on their profes-

sionalism throughout the trial as well as during the other

aspects of this case. With minor exceptions, each attor-

ney’s in-court appearances and written submissions ex-

hibited an exceptionally high level of preparation, a good

grasp of the legal issues, submission of the most current

legal and statutory authority, and respect for of the Court

and fellow attorneys. Just as the Court inherited this liti-

gation from another judge of this district a number of the

attorneys who participated in the trial inherited the case

from others. As a result of the professionalism and spirit

of cooperation, the case was tried quickly and thoroughly.

il. ABBREVIATIONS

The Court and the parties agreed upon certain abbrevi-

ations and citation forms for purposes of the findings.

The abbreviations used by the Court:

Aff. Affidavit

App. Appendix

ARAR Applicable or Relevant and Appropriate

CERCLA Comprehensive Environmental Re-

sponse. Compensation, and Liability

Act

DE Defense Exhibit

Decl. Declaration

DNAPL Dense Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids

DOJ Department of Justice

37a

United States Environmental Protection

Agency

Feet

Figure

Gallons

Government Exhibit

Hardage Steering Committee

Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids

Non-Aqueous Phase Liquids

North Criner Creek

National Contingency Plan

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Safety and Health

Administration

Percent

Polychlorinated biphenyl

Paragraph

Parts per billion

Parts per million

Resource Conservation and Recovery

Act

Record of Decision

Superfund Amendments and Re-

authorization Act of 1986

United States

Volatile Organic Compounds

Years

Following is an explanation of the citation forms used

in this Order.

Affidavits

Aff. at

Witness’ Last Name Page

Declarations

Decl. at —— -

Witness’ Last Name Page

38a

Rebuttal Affidavits

R. Aff. at

Witness’ Last Name Page

Rebuttal Declarations

R. Decl. at

Witness’ Last Name Page

Supplemental Rebuttal Affidavits

S. R. Aff. at

Witness’ Last Name Page

Supplemental Affidavits

S. Aff. at

Witness’ Last Name Page

Supplemental Declarations

S. Decl. at -

Witness’ Last Name Page

Stipulated Cross-Examinations

Stip. Cross at

Witness’ Last Name Page

Trial Transcripts

at

Volume Page

Orders, Briefs, Motions, and Memoranda

at ( ) (—_—-———_)

Designation on document Page or subdivision Date Filing number

See Uniform Abbreviations filed December 26, 1989.

These abbreviations will be utilized by the Court in this

Order.

IV. STIPULATIONS

A number of stipulations among the parties expedited

the trial. Because some of the stipulations assist in a

fuller understanding of the case, they are set out in their

entirety. However, because of their length, the complete

stipulations are attached as exhibits. The Court adopts

all of the stipulations for purposes of this Order.

The stipulations '° are contained in the following plead-

ing filed in this case:

15 Because portions of these stipulations will be helpful to an

understanding of this Opinion, the above stipulations, absent the

rere rennet

39a

Filing Filing

Pleading Number Date

Supplemental Joint Statement of Uncon- 2212 11/21/89

tested Facts.14

Supplemental Joint Stipulation 17 2233 11/22/89

Stipulation Regarding Analytical Data: 2201 11/17/89

Samples On Which The Parties

Agree 18

Stipulation Regarding Analytical Data: 2190 11/17/89

Sampies On Which the Parties

Disagree.!

V. ADDITIONAL PROCEDURAL HISTORY

AND BACKGROUND

A. Site Location and Operating History

Defendant Royal N. Hardage owned and operated a

waste disposal site located in rural McClain County,

Oklahoma, approximately 15 miles southwest of Norman

and one-half of a mile west of Criner. The Oklahoma

State Department of Health (“OSDH”) permitted the

Hardage/Criner site as an Industrial Hazardous Waste

Land Disposal Facility in September 1972. The site be-

gan operating in September 1972 and closed in November

1980.

supporting data, are attached to this Order as Exhibits B, C, D,

and E. The complete stipulations and supporting data accompany

the original filings, which remain in the custody of the Clerk of

the United States District Court for the Western District of

Oklahoma.

16 See Exhibit B. This stipulation superseded a November 17,

1989, Joint Statement of Uncontested Facts.

17 See Exhibit C.

13 See Exhibit D.

19 See Exhibit E.

40a

Over the eight-year period of operation, in excess of

20 million gallons of waste were transported to the Hard-

age Site for storage and/or disposal. Supplemental Joint

Statement of Uncontested Facts para. 48 (Nov. 21,

1989) (filing No. 2212). Originally, liquids and sludges

from drums and tank trucks were discharged directly into

unlined pits. As disposal areas filled, wastes were trans-

fered to other areas. Later, drums were no longer emp-

tied, but piled into what became the drum or barrel

mound. Ultimately, the site consisted of chemical im-

poundments including the large unlined, unsealed “main

pit,” a series of small temporary pits, and two large

mounds (“barrel” and “sludge” mounds).*° The types

of waste generally accepted at the site included: oil re-

cycling wastes, acids, caustics, lead, cyanide, arsenic, pes-

ticides, PCBs, and other substances. The Record of De-

cision (“ROD”) describes in detail other types of wastes

accepted at the site, along with the hazardous contami-

nants present at the site. /d. at 3.2.

B. Enforcement History

In 1978, the State of Oklahoma filed complaints

against the facility for suspected lead poisoning of the

air around the site. In September 1979, the OSDH be-

gan proceedings to revoke the facility permit as a result

of Mr. Hardage’s use of unpermitted pits, his failure to

seal permeable lenses in the pits, his improper closure

of pits, his failure to retain runoff, and his improper

storage of wastes at the site.

During 1979, preliminary Environmental Protection

Agency (“EPA”) investigations and inspections of the

site indicated poor waste management practices posing

threats to public health and welfare and the environment.

In September 1980, the United States Department of Jus-

20 For a complete description of the operating history, see the

EPA Summary of Remedial Alternatives Selection for Source

Control sec. 2.0 (Nov. 14, 1986), in Defense Exhibit No. 100.

eel

es

4la

tice (“DOJ”) filed suit in United States v. Hardage™ on

behalf of the EPA against Mr. Hardage, the site owner.

The complaint alleged violations of section 7003 of the

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (“RCRA”).

42 U.S.C. § 6973, and sought iniuntive relief for proper

cleanup and closure of the site. Following the passage

of CERCLA, the United States amended its complaint

in June 1982 to add claims for injunctive relief under

section 106 of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9606, and for cost

recovery under section 107, 42 U.S.C. § 9607.

The Court bifurcated the trial in Hardage I to con-

sider Mr. Hardage’s liability first, and then to determine

the proper remedy and costs incurred or to be incurred

in any cleanup. On December 13, 1982. United States

District Judge Lee R. West entered his findings of fact

and conclusions of law in Hardage I. The Court found

contamination of soil and groundwater as well as releases

of contaminants into the air. The Court concluded that

the Hardage Site was dangerous and found Mr. Hardage

individually liable under section 7003 of RCRA and sec-

tion 106 of CERCLA. However, because the remedial

phase of the trial remained, the Court entered no judg-

ment on the injunctive claims. United States v. Hardage,

18 Env’t Rep. Cas. (BNA) 1687, 1696 (W.D.Okla.1982).

On August 19, 1983, the Court entered a partial judgment

under section 107 of CERCLA against Mr. Hardage for

$211,795, which represented the United States’ response

costs incurred through December 1982. The United

States thereafter sought to identify Mr. Hardage’s assets

and to obtain payment under the partial judgment. How-

ever, Mr. Hardage filed for bankruptcy on January 28,

1985, in the Bankruptcy Court for the Western District

of Oklahoma, and received a discharge in bankruptcy on

June 24, 1985.

After the Court’s liability ruling in Hardage I, the EPA

continued to study the Hardage Site through investiga-

21 No, CIV-80-1031-W (W.D.Okla. filed Sept. 8, 1980) [herein-

after Hardage /]}.

ee

42a

tions and- administrative review. The EPA prepared a

feasibility study to evaluate alternative remedial actions

to clean up the Hardage Site from technical, environ-

mental, and cost-eflective perspectives. The EPA con-

ducted studies of the Hardage Site in 1982, 1983, and

1984, The studies concluded that substantial work would

be necessary to clean up the Hardage Site. In addition,

the United States sought to identify other parties respon-

sible for the contamination, in light of Mr. Hardage’s

financial difficulties.

As the EPA compiled available records from site

operations, numerous Potentially Responsible Parties

(“PRPs”) were identified. In December 1984 the EPA

notified numerous companies, pursuant to section 104

of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9604, of their status as PRPs

pursuant to section 107 of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9607.

Following Mr. Hardage’s discharge in bankruptcy, the

United States requested, and the Court on July 18, 1985,

issued, an order administratively terminating Hardage I.

The administrative closing was ordered without prejudice

to the rights of the parties to reopen the proceedings by

April 1, 1986, “for good cause shown, for entry of any

stipulation or order, or for any other purpose required

to obtain a final determination of the litigation.” On

March 27, 1986, the United States moved to reopen the

proceedings and to amend its complaint in Hardage I.

The United States sought to add as party defendants vari-

ous generators and transporters of the hazardous sub-

stances located at the Hardage Site. The Court denied

the United States’ motion and dismissed the case on

April 1, 1986. The dismissal was without prejudice to

the United States’ rights to collect the earlier judgment

against Mr. Hardage, or to join Mr. Hardage in any sub-

sequent action, other than a money judgment, deemed

“necessary to allow EPA or its designees to remediate or

respond to conditions at the Site or take actions necessary

to protect the public health, welfare or the environment.”

43a

On June 25, 1986, the United States filed the instant

action, United States v. Hardage,” against 32 generators

and three transporters, each of whom allegedly shipped

between 100,000 and 1.7 million gallons of hazardous

wastes to the site. The United States also sued Mr. Hard-

age for the limited purposes specified in the Court’s

earlier dismissal. As in Hardage I, the complaint in

Hardage II sought injunctive relief under section 7003

of RCRA and section 106(a) of CERCLA to require

the defendants to clean up the site, and to recover costs

incurred by the United States under section 107 of

CERCLA.

Most of the original defendants in Hardage II or-

ganized themselves as the HSC defendants. The HSC’s

answer in Hardage II asserted numerous affirmative de-

fenses and counterclaims against the United States. The

HSC defendants in turn brought a third-party complaint

against approximately 180 additional third parties for

contribution, and to obtain reimbursement of the HSC’s

costs expended in taking response and remedial actions

at the Hardage Site.

C. Bifurcation of C.1se

In a Case Management Order issued on March 26,

1987, the Court bifurcated the case into two phases, with

the Liability Phase to be tried prior to the Remedy Phase.

Case Management Order at 7. The allocation of the

ultimate cost of any court-ordered cleanup would follow

later. Most of the defendants, however, stipulated to

liability under sections 106 and 107 of CERCLA. As a

result, the Court, in entering judgment as to the HSC

defendants’ liability on November 10, 1988, amended its

Case Management Order to provide for the Remedy

Phase to be tried as Phase I. Judgment and Order (Nov.

10, 1988) (filing No. 1553). The Court’s judgment also

22No. CIV-86-1401-P (W.D.Okla. filed June 25, 1986) (filing

No. 1) [hereinafter Hardage [1].

44a

delineated the scope of the Phase I trial. The trial was

to include “issues of appropriate response-remedial meas-

ures” for the Hardage Site, “the entitlement to and

amount of response costs, if any, and the extent, if any,

of [the United States’] liability” pursuant to the defend-

ants’ counterclaims and affirmative defenses. Yd. at 3.

The Court indicated that Phase II of the trial would de-

termine whether defendants, other than the HSC, were

liable under sections 106 and 107 of CERCLA, 42

U.S.C. $§ 9606 and 9607.** The judgment also indicated

that any trial of cross-claims or third-party claims for con-

tribution would be separate from the United States’ ac-

tion and would not commence until Phases I and II were

completed.

D. Alternate CERCLA Cleanup Provisions

The CERCLA provides the United States with three

alternate methods of providing for the cleanup of hazard-

ous waste sites. Section 104(a) permits the government

to use Superfund “* monies to clean up sites, and then to

seek recovery of the response costs from responsible par-

ties under section 107(a). Section 106 provides two

other methods for site cleanups when the EPA determines

that the site conditions “may [pose] an imminent and

substantial endangerment to the public health or welfare

or the environment.” 42 U.S.C. § 9606(a) (1982). Sec-

tion 106(a) permits the EPA either (1) to require the

Attorney General “to secure such relief as may be neces-

sary to abate such danger or threat” by filing a civil ac-

tion in federal district court seeking an injunction to

compel responsible parties to perform such relief, or (2)

_—_

23 The liability trial (Phase II) of this matter was conducted

from April 23-25, 1990.

*4The Superfund, formerly known as the Hazardous Substance

Response Trust Fund established by section 221, 42 U.S.C. § 9631,

continued as the “Hazardous Substances Superfund” under section

517 of SARA, 100 Stat. 1613, 1772, which added section 9507 to the

Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

45a

to issue administrative orders “as may be necessary to

protect public health and welfare and the environment.”

Id.

The EPA studied and investigated the Hardage Site

and incurred response costs in the process. However, the

EPA did not clean up the site itself under section 104(a)

of CERCLA. Instead, the United States pursued injunc-

tive relief, in Hardage I against Mr. Hardage and in this

case against the generators and transporters of hazardous

substances, to require the defendants to clean up the

Hardage Site. 42 U.S.C. § 9606 (1982 & Supp. V 1987).

This distinction is significant, because the scope of the

remedy trial conducted in December 1989 was deter-

mined directly by the EPA’s pursuit of injunctive relief

and by earlier rulings of this Court concerning the scope

of review of the EPA’s selection of response actions.

E. Scope of Review of the EPA’s Remedy Selection

Throughout this proceeding, the United States has ad-

vocated that the scope of judicial review of the EPA’s

remedy selection for the Hardage Site should be restricted

to review of the administrative record on an arbitrary

and capricious standard. However, on three separate oc-

casions, the Court ruled that the scope of review would

be de novo review of any remedy suggested by the EPA.

The record review issue first arose in the context of

the United States’ November 17, 1986, motion for pro-

tective order, which sought to limit the scope of deposi-

tion discovery by defendants of two contractors employed

by the EPA to aid in developing a remedy. Judge West,

on December 11, 1986, denied the motion for protective

order. United States v. Hardage, 25 Env’t Rep.Cas.

(BNA) 1343, 1986 WL 647 (W.D.Okla.1986). The

Court emphasized that the administrative record had not

vet been filed. /d. at 1344. The Court found that the

SARA record review provisions were not applicable to

the United States’ claim for injunctive relief under sec-

46a

tion 7003 of RCRA. ZId. at 1344-45. In addition, the

Court held that restrictions on judicial review did not

apply to injunctive actions generally. Id. at 1345. The

Court also concluded that the provisions of the Admin-

istrative Procedure Act were inapplicable. Jd. Judge

West ruled that section 106 injunctive claims “must be

resolved in traditional trials by federal district courts after

full discovery.” Jd. The Court further concluded that the

“defendants are entitled to de novo review of any sug-

gested remedy by EPA at the Hardage site.” /d.

On April 9, 1987, the Court denied the United States’

motion for reconsideration. United States v. Hardage,

663 F.Supp. 1280, 26 Env’t Rep.Cas. (BNA) 1053

(W.D.Okla.1987). The Court ruled, in addition to

its prior-stated rationale, that SARA record review pro-

visions could not be applied retroactively to actions filed

before the passage of SARA, and that a restricted judicial

review of the EPA’s remedial decision raised due process

concerns. Id. 663 F.Supp. 1280, 26 Env’t Rep.Cas.

(BNA) at 1055, 1059-61. The Court also distinguished

injunctive actions brought in federal district court pur-

suant to section 106 of CERCLA from those brought ad-

ministratively under section 106 for injunctive relief, and

from actions for cost recovery under section 107 in in-

stances in which the EPA funds site cleanups. Id. 663

F.Supp. 1280, 26 Env’t Rep.Cas. (BNA) at 1056.

Once it was compiled, the United States certified to this

Court on March 15, 1988, the administrative record sup-

porting the EPA’s November 14, 1986, ROD. The

United States then moved for the Court to restrict judicial

review of the EPA’s remedial decision to the administra-

tive record. On March 15, 1988, the United States also

moved to dismiss its count based on section 7003 of

RCRA.

On July 14, 1988, this Court granted dismissal of the

RCRA count. However, in a minute order dated Sep-

tember 9, 1988, the Court denied the United States’

47a

motion for record review, citing the Court’s prior deci-

sions on the motion for a protective order, dated Decem-

ber 11, 1986, and April 9, 1987. The Court also found

as a matter of law that section 106 claims “must be

resolved in traditional trials by federal district courts after

full discovery, and that retroactive application of Section

113(j}) of SARA is improper.” Minute Order Sept. 9,

1988) (filing No. 1435). On September 9, 1988, the

Court issued an accompanying memorandum decision

stating that reversal of the Court’s earlier rulings concern-

ing the scope of review was not warranted by the United

States’ withdrawal of the claim based on section 7003 of

RCRA or by the United States’ filing of the administra-

tive record in March of 1988. Order on Motion to Re-

strict Review (Sept. 9, 1988) (filing No. 1434).*

Accordingly. the Remedy Phase proceeded to trial with

this Court conducting a de novo review of the United

States’ proposed remedy for the Hardage Site. However,

under any standard of review, the Court’s decision on the

remedy would have been the same.

F. Special Master

Early in this litigation, the Court recognized that the

complexity of the issues, the number of parties, and the

need to expedite matters to ensure protection of the

public welfare might require the appointment of a special

25 The United States requested amendment of the Court’s Sep-

tember 9, 1988, order to allow certification of the record review

question for interlocutory appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

This Court initially allowed an interlocutory appeal on November

23, 1988, based upon trial estimates of from 6 to 10 months. Order

Allowing Interlocutory Appeal (Nov. 23, 1988) (filing No. 1559).

However, upon reconsideration, the Court withdrew its interlocutory

appeal certification when trial estimates agreed upon by the par-

ties reflected 52 days or less for trial. Minute Order (Jan. 11,

1989) (filing No. 1594).

48a

master under the provisions of Rule 53 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure. Toward that end, at a status

conference on September 3, 1986, the Court directed the

parties to submit a list of the names of 10 persons they

believed would be qualified to serve as a special master.

On October 1, 1986, the parties filed their lists of sug-

gested candidates for special master. In addition, the

United States supplemented its submission with the policy

of the Attorney General of the United States on the use

of special masters. The United States opposed the use

of a special master as a technical advisor to the Court,

but agreed a master might help resolve discovery dis-

putes and could assist with the settlement process.

After interviewing candidates for the position of spe-

cia! master, on February 25, 1987, the Court issued an

order citing the following reasons for appointing a special

master.”°

(1) The case would require urgent resolution due

to a threat to the public welfare.

(2) Analysis of technical and scientific data would be

required to determine complex issues of liability and

apportionment.

(3) Issues would be complicated by the number of

parties and the commingling of the waste.

(4) The vast amount of evidence necessary to litigate

this case would result in extensive discovery which would

require almost constant supervision.

In the order, the Court appointed Alexander H. Danz-

berger as a special master for the Hardage case. The

order delineated the master’s duties and authority. Order

of Reference to Special Master at 12-13. In addition, the

Court established a Master’s Reimbursement Fund of

26 Order of Reference to Special Master at 9 (Feb. 25, 1987)

(filing No. 166).

49a

$70,000 to meet the expenses of the master during his

term of service to the Court.

During his three years as special master, Mr. Danz-

berger:

(1) Conducted formal hearings on the record at the

Court’s direction concerning the proposed Case Manage-

ment Order and assisted in a hearing on a temporary

restraining order on drilling at the site.

(2) Served as hearing officer on pretrial matters.

(3) Provided negotiation assistance to facilitate agree-

ment on the Consent Decree for HSC’s performance of

the Second Operable Unit Remedial Investigation ’

Feasibility Study—-Management of Migration.

(4) Recommended settlement strategies in magis-

trate’s hearings.

(5) Facilitated discussion between the parties on site

characterization issues, on interpretation of scientific

data, and on the extensiveness of remedy requirements.

(6) Provided periodic reports to the Court regarding

litigation progress.

The Court publicly expresses its appreciation of Mr.

Danzberger’s service as special master. His efforts have

facilitated open discussion between the parties, have

aided in narrowing technical issues, and have streamlined

the efficiency of this litigation. Because of the scope of

review of the Remedy Phase, Mr. Danzberger played no

role in that trial or in the preparation of this Order.

VI. WITNESSES CALLED BY THE PARTIES

The Court began receiving testimony in this case on

November 27. 1989. The parties called the following

witnesses:

50a

686T ‘82 JaquisAON

686T ‘8a LequUIaAON

686T “8Z 4qUIaAON

6861

‘8Z-LZ Jaquisaon

686I ‘LZ Aaqueaaon

686T "LZ 1equIaAON

686T ‘LZ AaqQuUIZAON

686T ‘T tequiaseq

‘LZ ABQUIDAON

SIDIAJOS [VIP

“9a IOJ Aasvuevw yofoid [euoizay

yluelsAy [VLaysnp

“ul :Ajayes pue yyvey jo sasvuvpy

(ddississtyy

‘BANGSYITA “UOIZRYS JUBWIAedx Ty

SARMAN}V AA “AVBUIZUD [LAID Yyovasay

}SIJO[OII XO} ‘ guaptsead aor,

ysl YyI0e3

-O1pAY S1ossajoid younf{pe ayewossy

uoIs

-IAIp 848SVM SnoOpiezey pue sassad0id

[Vlajsnpul ay} Ul aAveUIsUa [woTWaYo

‘dasvuew yoloid/avaulsua ssa001g

dJasevuvw

pofoid pur 4sisojoaZoapAy ao1ueg

ysloisAyd [10s

:sadudtos dowd puv [los jo Jossajoag

AUOUWII4S9 J,

JO 07Bq

‘uy

‘JO1PUOD UOIZNT[O_g *S'A

‘ou

JOAQUOD UOTZNTIO”d “S7

sSis0uIsuy Jo sdi0g

AWLLY $278} pozuy

SdzVlOssY JUIWI[D

BUOZIAIY JO AZISIBAIUQ

‘OUT ‘IITH WHO

‘oU] ‘TH WHO

AJISIOAIUD JY FP YW sexoy

ydog “VY uaAa}s

Aouvay uuy Arvyy

‘ap ‘ouvuryng

uyor yoopaAn

ddrys "W eyouuy

AajpUueg ‘AA plorey

oyueg *g ydasor

MIP “YW LAT

UMOIg “AA Ary

pz UOTZEdNdIQO AO

uolssejoig ‘ssauisng

Jakojdury

*

OWUN SSOUPT MA

SII}IVq 9d109q] JUBSUOD puv JUEWIUAIAOY BY} Aq PaT[VO sessouyTM “WV

S5la

686T ‘0 JequIsAON

686T ‘OE JequisAoN

686T ‘OE Jequieaon

6861

‘08-6Z TequiaAon

6861 “6% JequisAON

6861 ‘62 JequiaAoN

6861 “6% JequisAoN

686T “62 JequisAoNn

6861 “6% JequisAON

Ec rmes

Sul190UIZUs pu sdUdINS

qUSMIIZVUCU [VYUSUIUOIIAUD UI 4Uey

-[Nsuod ‘!1e0uIsue [IAID [euOoIssezoid

peiejsiZo1 SUBUIIeYyo pue JuepIsolg

Yyoivesey

suol}yeiedG pues Sullveulsuy [AIO

jO JuewyIedag ‘1Ossejoid yueysissy

zUBYNSsUOD Zulsv8uU

“IZue SdcinOseat JayVM ‘4yuaepisoig

yUSpIseid 9A VAT}

-noexe pue ysIsZojoasoipAy jedioutsg

pWISO[OIpAY [4SIZ0[0a3 po1zsdysi3ey

[vedio

-ulid !AdAING [BdIZ0[0a4) 93e}g sIOUT]

“II 943 Jo youeag Aajstwayooar) pur

ABolOIt) [VJUDWMIUOAIAUT 9Yy} JO JoryD

youeig pue ysiweyooer) [edioulig

199UIZUa [LATO

:dnoir) ssadoig [elijsnpuy ‘1aseueyy

aIG wepivy oy} Iveu wary v

SUMO JaY}JOU BsOYyM JaysvuUpReay AWA

-peoe UBI}sSIIYD pue 10jsed ayeloossy

ays duinp esepiey vy} aAvou payeo

-O| Wey Altep A[IwWeBy B JO TauMo-09

‘dul ‘oylsod

SY PY uvwyiey ‘yonag

A}ISIBAIUL) UOJOUTAg

poezyerodoouy] ‘seyeloossy

y YWepug “y sewoyy

‘OUT ‘OLZO"JoayorpAH

WldYD 094) OApAH

sa}vloossy

Py uyYIy “yy :Aeaing

[BISojOay 93e}g sIOUTTI]

‘oul ‘ITH WZHO

BULOYRIYO ‘aloo ‘yoanyo

yideg enueay udssjseq

peAojdura-jlag

yonag "W uyor

ayer "Y 1a42q

Hey “y sewoyy,

uos}1aqoy “g uyor

T9zeOM “Y Arey

UWlID “y Jzaqoy

SIAR] “AA Woqoy

GyWs

adA0y [anues

peoyaziy, auely

6

52a

‘A[UO sesodind MAIAJaAO Joy St ALvWUNS SIU “Spley [B4laAes UL asipledxe pey pai}sea} oyA sessou

“jim Auvpy ‘“SUOIZBOYyT[ENdD ,sasseujIM 9y} 0} soYsnf Op you Op A1OZazeO SITY} UL SUOIZdIADSap ayy JO aWOS ,-

6861 ‘TT tequieseq

‘gz 1aquIsAON

6861 ‘8g TaquUIaAoN

JIIUIBUS [BJUSWUOAIAUG

:quepiseid aoIA AOluas pue [edioulg

S9JIAIVG YyBay [eyUeU

-U0IIAUG AOJ JQUOISSIUWOD Ajndeqg

AUOUWII}SI J,

jo oyeq

686I ‘F equiaseq

686T ‘T tequiavaq

686I ‘T taquiaseq

G8G6T ‘T 4equisdeq

686T ‘OF AequiaAoN

uolzednd0Q 410

uoIssejolg ‘ssauisng

queyunosoe o1qnd payiziad fUOIsIA

-Ip Sulynsuod JuoweseueW ‘aUyIeg

queyunosoe oqnd

peytyied ‘faeuzied pue dapunojog

quejunosse aqnd payiyled {aa[[014

-u0g 94} JO BdYQ ‘UOIJIas BuIzaA0d

-81 puB BurzUNodIE 4s09 ayy JO JoryO

qsiueyo ssa001d ‘yuepIseig

UOISIAIG, QUOT

-93BVUR 9ISVA, SNOpsezvy ‘10z0011G

Auowitysa J,

JO 038

pz UOTZEdNdIO 10

uOIssojoig ‘ssoulsng

uoljetodi09 NOUIANG

4WBEH JO JUSU

-yaedaqy 93eyg BWOYRLyO

sIIvH “H Hoqoy “2

uBWe[0D “S HAR “T

redojdurgy

OWBN SSOUyI A

syuBpuazeq] ey} Aq perleD ssouzTAL “

Bunox FY ysurq

pasodjaeyg

‘UlyaeHoW WF ourqny

AQuasYy UOlz}II4}O1g [eVyUEW

“UdDTIAUG =89}B}H = pez!us)

‘dul ‘SsyUBy[NSUOD

[vyUIWIUOITAU AaAOTY

Auesy UuolzoIj}OI1g [B}yUsW

-UOIIAUT §=§03B}g pezlUp

sovyousyy ydesor ‘Zz

ulyee DOW

‘V Hope” “TZ

9900) WITT “06

daAOY ouasNY ‘GT

saved ‘WUATIV ‘ST

zako|dury

OWEN SSOUBT AA

53a

686T ‘9 aquia.eg

686T “9 Jequisdagq

686L ‘p taquiedag

686I ‘ph Joquiaseq

6861 “ph Jequiasaq

6861 ‘pb taquieseq

6861 ‘T 4equis.eq

686T ‘2 tequiaveg

*8Z 19quIeAON

686T ‘TT tequia.aq

‘8Z JaquUIdAON

xedevA jo Japunoy pue

LopeatIp !ZulIvulsue [IAD Jo Jossay

-O1d 9381D0sse puke 94N}1YsU] Yores

“OY [BJUSMIUOIIAUM 94} JO 10,I0AI

qSI30

“[O1pAy Joyempunois {yuaptsaad aor A

Jaautsue

[BUOISsejoid paieysIZe1 ‘!yuapiserg

sulajqoid 13azVM

“punois Jo uorynfos ay} 07 pardde

soishydoas ajoyaioq ul 4uRznsu0g

ySISopoaZoipAYy AO eg

JgautZue [einjonays

pue [voluyIe}0es ‘asvuvul [RUOIZay

ue NsUuOD

Sulivoulsue = [ROTUYDa}0aS quepued

~O9pul *SulVeulsus [IAD Jo Iossojoig

AZojoApAY Ul JuRzNsuOd Yeys I0TUNG

4SIBo0[0a3

-o1pAy [euolssajoid dJazea punois

peyizie9 pur JaIeUIZUa [eJUBWIUOIIA

-ua ‘iasvuvw yofoud pue jedioug

‘OU. ‘selsojouysey, [ejuew

“uoltAUgq = xedeA {4nd

“Iyoouu0p «jo = (AYISIaATUG

‘UT ‘saz BID0S

“SV YY sojndopedeg ‘g's

‘UT ‘SazBID0Ss

“SV ¥ sojndopedeg ‘sg

qUB}[NSUOD o4BALIg

‘OUI ‘ysaMyzNOS-WyW

‘OUT “TITH WZHO

Aaaysag

‘BIudOsT[eO Jo AzIsIaATUp

uolzeIOdI0D LI

‘OUT QSaMYINOG-WYT

SvoyY “YW 2831005

uosie’y "gq uaAe}g

sojndopedeg

"§ SOIARYS

SABY 3309 “Ah

a IWIS Yavjl *f

(uorztsodap 4q)

uyey ueydazs

[243 “Y souree

xXO09H “Y Arey

380g “9 pavyory

54a

686T ‘ZT tequisseq

6861 ‘ZT tequis.eq]

686T ‘ZT tequisseqT

6861 ‘ZI Jequisseq

686T ‘TT 1equisseq

6861 ‘TT tequisseq

686T ‘L JequisoeqT

686T ‘9 Jequiedeq]

UOISIA

“Iq JusWeseueW [BIouBUIYy ‘10}0011G

esuodsey AouesZieuly pue

94ISPM PHOS JO BYO “Yeig Juow

-aseuey sdinosay 9Yy} JO 10zIIIG

UOISIAIG JUOWIAZeUR LY

soIjsne “Yeyg sodlAleg sAIZeIysIUTUI

“PV pue seiqt[oey 24} JO s10pIIG

ySlSo[oaZ0ipAy Butyjnsuod padojd

-wd-j[as ‘AZojoaZoipAy jo 1ossajoig

ysisojoipAy ‘yuepiseid puv [ediug

qUByUNOIe dT]

-qnd peyizies ‘1auzied yIpne aolueg

AZolouyoa, [VorweyD JO 10z 911

199uls

-ud [BolUYI4I0NS pajeysisei ‘{198UIT

-U9 [IAID pataysiser Sdnoriy Zutssvau3

“ug [[ypuey ‘10z0e1Ip yoafoid so01uag

Auoullysa J,

yo aeq

uorzednd00 10

uolssajoig ‘ssaursng

U0I}8.14S1

-UIWIPY SedlAJeg [e1aues

AduesYy uo0lja}01g [ejuoW

“UdTTAUTT «893835 psezlup

eo1ysne JO JuOW

-yaedeaq «= 894} pazUQ

opium

Jap uvA paljuRyy

(quaepyge Aq)

“ap “yezozsne

"T SnoeppeyL

(tAepyye Aq)

[[e41ng utwefueg

$

%

‘T

JUSWUABAOY) By} Aq pal[eO sessouzTAA [BWNQGeYy “CO

‘oleqUQ

‘oojtozeA, JO AjlsaaAlup

‘dU ‘se}eID

-ossy AZsojoipAY poiddy

puvigay F siado0g

‘OU

‘AZojouyoay, Aazempunosiy

uolIzeIOd10g LI

sakojdurg

ALY “Y UYor

Ill

‘o][94809 urmefueg

svunzeyy

“Vy sewuoyL

uMoIg “Y preyory

us[[V P1BvUuOs’T “Y

‘OT

“ST

“SI

OWEN SSOUzT AA

55a

686L “ET tequia.eq

686I ‘ZI Jequiaseq

686I ‘ZT Aequiasaq

686T ‘ZT Jequiaseq

4SL3o

-[O1pAy Ja}VMpunols “yuapisoad BIA

qSIWIayo [BoIzAyeur dtueZI9

AsxIUI SUI [IATD

ySIWaYy 0a

-O1pAy :1ossajoid younfpe syeroossy

“OUT ‘saqeId

-OSsSyY 2 sojndopedeg S'S

UOSIB’T ‘gq UaAd]IG “|

S}URpUata(y a4} Aq payeD sossauqzTA\ [eINGeYy-Ing “q

AduaBY UOl}DI}0I1g [eJUOW

“UOLIAUTT §=Seze}g pau

U41IY}.10 N-uaYyD

BuoZIAY Jo APIssaAIUp

JWY "TUpW °9

PULLPHIS “Yeap °¢

Ao[JUIT *M PlOleH “fF

56a

VII. FLAWS IN THE GOVERNMENT'S

PROPOSED REMEDY

A. Overview

1. The primary basis for the Court’s rejection of the

government’s proposed remedy and its selection of the

HSC remedy is fairly straightforward. The heart and soul

of the government’s proposed remedy is excavation.

While the Court was impressed with a number of the

government’s scil vapor extraction witnesses, the Court

was not persuaded at all by the few witnesses called by

the government and the Consent Decree parties who

testified in support of the appropriateness, feasibility, and

safety of excavation. Other reasons for the Court’s rem-

edy preference include the State of Oklahoma’s opposition

to the government’s excavation proposal, the lack of due

consideration given to the views of state authorities, the

ambiguity of the excavation proposals presented in the

government’s case, the unreliability of the government’s

estimates concerning the number of intact drums in the

main pit and barrel mound areas, the vacillating nature

of the government’s proposed remedy, and the observa-

tions found in government documents concerning excava-

tion and containment remedies at the Hardage Site. There

are also other flaws in the government’s remedy that are

discussed more fully below.

2. The Court believes the public health, safety, and

welfare and the environment are best served by the modi-

fied HSC remedy that will be ordered by the Court.

The Court thus finds that the government has failed to

establish the excavation aspect of its proposed remedy by

a preponderance of the evidence. The Court also finds

that excavation is similarly inappropriate for purposes of

the Consent Decree.

3. While the Court considered studying the possibility

of utilizing soil vapor extraction in connection with the

57a

HSC remedy, a review of all of counsels’ closing argu-

ments and final comments to the Court,”* as well as cer-

tain evidentiary factors identified by Dr. Richard Brown

on December 7, 1989,” and testimony by other witnesses

cited below, persuaded the Court that it should not at-

tempt a hybrid remedy or include soil vapor extraction

as part of the remedy ordered for the Hardage Site. Ac-

cordingly, there will be no soil vapor extraction com-

ponent in the remedy ordered by the Court.

B. Vacillating Nature of the Government’s Remedy

1. The government’s proposed remedy changed so

many times during the course of this litigation, and in

such drastic measures, that the Court lost confidence in

the deliberative process underlying the government’s final

proposal. The government’s final proposed remedy came

so late in the litigation that the Court has difficulty be-

lieving that it was carefully considered.

2. Despite years of preparation, partial excavation

combined with soil vapor extraction was not announced

as a part of the EPA’s trial remedy until October 1989.

GE 2 sec. 3.2.4, at 3-36.

3. The EPA’s ROD that contained the government's

selected remedy was not filed until November 22, 1989.

This was the Wednesday before the Thanksgiving holiday.

The trial of this case began on November 24, 1989, at

7:30 a.m., the Friday after the Thanksgiving holiday.

Allyn Davis, the EPA’s director of hazardous waste man-

agement for Region VI, signed the EPA’s ROD two hours

after giving his deposition on November 24. It was not

provided to defense counsel until the eve of the trial.

The ROD contains boxes and boxes of materials. V at

1160-63.

28 See, e.g., XII at 2344.

29 1X at 1730-49.

58a

4. The vacillating nature of the government's proposed

excavation remedy is demonstrated by comparing the

deposition testimony of the EPA hazardous waste direc-

tor, Mr. Davis, on November 22, 1989, with his trial

testimony on November 30, 1989. V at 1162-67; VI at

1191-96. Also the earlier EPA proposals involved exca-

vating more than the barrel mound and main pit. V at

1125, 1130, 1134. The earlier EPA proposals advanced

a “pin cushion” theory, under which the source areas

would be lanced and drained. This proposal was aban-

doned prior to trial. IV at 873-74; V at 1135-36. Un-

fortunately, it is extremely difficult for the Court to evalu-

ate a proposed excavation plan until the government has

decided on an excavation proposal. V at 1117. Various

government witnesses advanced more than three excava-

tion proposals. V at 1103-04.

5. The government's risk assessment was based on an

approach, suggested in the government’s remedy design

report, involving the extraction of liquids through wells

prior to extraction; but that method was not advanced as

part of the government’s trial remedy. GE 2 sec. 3.2.4,

at 3-36; III at 450.

6. On the morning of December 1, 1989, upon ques-

tioning by the Court, defense counsel pointed out the

different inconsistencies between Mr. Davis’ testimony,

the EPA’s ROD, and the government’s proposed remedy.

Government counsel acknowledged that there was an

“error in the draftsmanship” of the ROD in that the

ROD suggested vertical extraction well in all three source

areas, as well as pooled liquids in all three source areas,

concepts clearly inconsistent with the government’s trial

remedy. VI at 1191-96 V at 1162-67.

7. The government’s changing remedies also adversely

affected its evidentiary presentation at trial. One concep-

tual difficulty with the government expert’s soil vapor

excavation feasibility model was that the model was pre-

pared when the EPA’s lancing remedy was under con-

59a

sideration. This soil vapor extraction model, which was

based upon a lancing theory, was not changed after the

EPA's excavation remedy displaced the lancing remedy.

IV at 873-74; XII at 2359-60. See IV at 801.

C. The Excavation Component of the Government's

Remedy

1. In addition to the remedy components suggested by

the HSC, the remedy for the Hardage Site proposed by

the EPA includes partial excavation of materials from

the barrel mound and main pit, and soil vapor excava-

tion in the barrel mound, main pit, and sludge mound.

GE 2 at 2-1 to -4.

2. Excavation to remove buried hazardous wastes has

been successfully implemented as a remedial measure at

various hazardous waste sites around the country.

3. Excavation of buried hazardous wastes, including

drums, is a recognized method of remediating hazardous

waste sites. R. Davis R.Aff. at 3; V at 1098.

4. It is estimated that approximately 18,000 drums

are buried in the barrel mound and the main pit. Supple-

mental Joint Statement of Uncontested Facts para. 81.

5. At the outset of the trial, the Court was logically

and conceptually attracted to the government’s excava-

tion remedy. Although countered by defense experts,

three impressive government. witnesses (Dr. Kirk W.

Brown, Thomas Prickett, and John Robertson) testified

that the contamination was spreading at the Hardage Site

and that excavation would remove the bulk of the waste

from the source areas before the contamination could

spread further. None of these three witnesses, however.

were presented to the Court as excavation experts. In-

deed, had the government followed up these conceptual

presentations with credible evidence concerning the fea-

sibility, safety, and appropriateness of excavation at the

Hardage Site, a different result might have occurred. It

60a

was in the practical aspects of excavation at the Hardage

Site that the government’s case fell apart.

6. The government called two witnesses to testify to

the practical aspects of excavating the Hardage Site, Rob-

ert Davis and John Bruck. Also, a Consent Decree party,

United States Pollution Control, Inc. (“USPCI’), called

Steve Beck to testify on the same point. By agreement

of all parties, Mr. Beck’s testimony was to be consid-

ered by the Court for trial purposes as well as for the

Consent Decree. The testimony of these witnesses totally

failed to convince the Court that excavation was an ap-

propriate remedy for the Hardage Site. In fact, this testi-

mony convinced the Court of precisely the opposite—

that the government’s proposed excavation plan was

totally inappropriate for the Hardage Site.

7. The three government witnesses who testified about

the planned excavation at the Hardage Site each described

a different approach. V at 1103-04; IV at 745-50; III

at 541-46.

8. The failure of the government to present a detailed,

consistent proposal for drum excavation, an ultrahazard-

ous activity, raises serious questions about the ability of

the EPA to implement excavation safely at the Hardage

Site. V at 1117.

9. Photographs of site operations indicate that intact

drums were disposed of in the barrel mound and in the

main pit in a haphazard fashion. DE 30 tab D. A re-

cent test excavation in the main pit indicates that some

intact drums remain buried. DE 168.

10. The barrel mound and the west side of the main

pit were constructed haphazardly, resulting in drums ly-

ing in disarray within voids and channels within and

around them.- Schmittle Decl. at D-21 to -22; DE 30

tab D.

6la

11. Excavation is not an appropriate remedy for the

Hardage Site because of the way the drums were deposited

and dumped. DE 30 tab D. At other hazardous waste

sites, drums or barrels are placed in specific locations in

a specific array. The placement of drums at the Hardage

Site, however, was random. Jd. IV at 752-829. The

OSDH opposes the EPA remedy primarily because of the

proposed excavation. Coleman Decl. at B-5; III at 588-

620.

12. The OSDH is the agency of the State of Okla-

homa, which is responsible for regulating the manage-

ment and disposal of its hazardous waste, that should

ensure the protection of the public health and welfare

and the environment. The OSDH is the designated Super-

fund agency within the state. See Okla.Stai. tit. 63.

$§ 1-2001 to -2021 (1981 & Supp.1987).

13. Before its trial remedy report was issued, the EPA

had no discussions directed toward obtaining the OSDH’s

views on the proposed excavation remedy. III at 610-11.

14. The EPA had not sought the OSDH’s views prior

to selecting the excavation and vault remedy announced

in the EPA’s 1986 ROD. Coleman Decl. at B-3.

15. The OSDH vigorously opposed excavation of the

barrel mound and main pit, believing that harmful vapors

could be released from the site and that fires of explo-

sions could occur. Coleman Decl. at B-5; III at 588,

590, 620.

16. Excavation is not an appropriate remedy because

of the inaccurate nature of the government’s estimates of

the number of drums in the main pit and the barrel

mound, and the speculative nature of the assumptions

regarding the number of drums deposited at the Hardage

Site that have ruptured and leaked. IV at 752-833: III

at 565-66; VI at 1246-49; V at 1162-70.

17. Excavation experience at other sites suggests that

only a small portion, less than 10%, of the drums remain

62a

intact and full of liquid. III at 560-62. The government’s

assumption that more than 12,000 of the estimated

18,000 barrels at the site are full to the brim is fatally

flawed. IV at 755-56, 739-833; III at 565-66.

18. Given the manner in which drums were thrown

into the Hardage Site, many drums cannot be removed me-

chanically and placed into overpack drums without work-

ers physically handling the drums. III at 522-53; 583;

V at 1124-25. This poses serious risks to the handlers.

19. Although many buried drums can be detected as

excavation proceeds using subsurface instrumentation,

this instrumentation does not describe the nature of a

buried drum, the extent to which it has collapsed, and the

extent to which the workers may be exposed to contam-

inants as it is recovered.

20. Certain estimates provided during the testimony of

government witness Robert Davis on November 29, 1989,

suggesting that there are 660,000 gallons of drummed

liquids, are substantially inflated. The evidence, to the

contrary, suggests that most of the liquids are in the

“known pooled liquids” category. IV at 739-833.

21. A critical issue in this case is the number of buried

drums at the Hardage Site that remain intact and that

have not leaked or ruptured. Given the fact that the

evidence strongly suggests that most such drums have

ruptured or leaked in some fashion, the marginal utility

of excavation as a remedy declines. The evidence sug-

gests that most of the leaked materials can be recovered |

through the pumping of known pooled liquids. Both the

government and the HSC remedies call for such pumping.

The legitimate safety concern with respect to excavation |

at the Hardage Site, coupled with the marginal utility of

excavation given the evidence regarding the number of

ruptured drums, persuades the Court that excavation is

not appropriate.

22. Contrary to what the EPA representatives told

two citizen witnesses, excavation and soil vapor extrac-

——Seeaaaaae =

63a

tion will not remove 90% to 99% of the hazardous waste

within 10 to 20 years. IV at 708-32. Groundwater and

soil contamination problems will remain at the site for-

ever. DE 175 at 3. Moreover, the Hardage Site can

never be returned to its prewaste disposal condition under

any remedy. V at 1174. The EPA simply supplied these

citizens with copies of its experts’ affidavits and persuaded

them that the EPA remedy was the best remedy for the

citizens living near the Hardage Site. Critical information

was not supplied to these citizen witnesses. As a result

the Court has placed little, if any, weight on this testi-

mony in support of the government’s excavation remedy.

23. It is likely that very few of the drums remaining

at the Hardage Site contain liquids. Schmittle Decl. at

D-21 to -22; DE 44 at 1, 7, table 1; DE 21 at 3-26.

4-1 to 4-2; DE 30 tab D. In another excavation effort.

less than 500 drums were found intact in a 15.000 drum

removal! effort at a hazardous waste site. III at 560-62.

24. The review team leader for the EPA contractor

responsible for preparing the 1986 Feasibility Sudy ques-

tioned the propriety of spending millions of dollars to

remove the “source” of waste at the Hardage Site when

the groundwater and soil contamination problems could

never be eliminated. DE 175 at 3.

25. This review team leader of the EPA’s draft feasi-

bility study, Steven Hahn, a geotechnical engineer who

worked on hazardous waste sites, felt that a “fatal flaw”

in the feasibility study was that it did “not carry at least

one containment alternative through detailed evaluation.”

DE 175 at 3. Mr. Hahn believed a viable containment

alternative existed. He further noted that all of the exca-

vation alternatives were “terribly expensive” and ques-

tioned the justification “for spending so much money on

source removal, considering that extensive groundwater/

soil contamination problems will remain at the site for-

ever.” Jd. at 1, 3. This document was offered into evi-

64a

dence by the HSC, and was received without objection.

IV at 818-34.

26. Mr Hahn also pointed out the following with re-

spect to the 18,000 drums “assumed” to be at the Hard-

age Site.

I strongly suspect that most of these are empty now,

or will be punctured and/or crushed in the process

of excavating the landfill. That was our experience

at Berlin and Farro.

DE 175 at 4.

27. Mr. Hannesschlager, a senior EPA enforcement

official, in 1985 made a statement to the effect that the

Hardage Site was not an imminent threat to the public.

DE 174 at 3. In Mr. Davis’ opinion, he was qualified to

render such a view. Mr. Davis is the hazardous waste

director for the EPA’s Region VI. V at 1174-79.

28. Materials including DNAPL already have escaped

from barrels outside the areas to be excavated, thus fur-

ther reducing the viability of excavation. GE 19; IV at

830; V at 1163-64.

29. The Lyons Landfill site, upon which the govern-

ment relied as an example of a successful drum excava-

tion, involved fundamentally different conditions than

those at the Hardage Site. Hecox R. Decl. at 3-4; Ill

at 685-87.

30. The government’s excavation expert, Mr. Bruck,

acknowledged that the government had not yet completed

detailed plans for excavation. Excavation, according to

Mr. Bruck would fall into one of three approaches. He

could not tell the Court which approach should be used.

V at 1094-1140.

31. Soil removed from the excavation site would have

to be removed, perhaps more than once. R. Davis Re-

buttal Aff. at 3-4; V at 1104-05.

65a

32. Construction of the EPA remedy would require

workers to spend significantly more person-hours in Level

A and Level B protective equipment. Because this equip-

ment severely restricts a worker’s mobility and leads to

the buildup of heat within the equipment, implementation

of the EPA remedy would increase the risk to workers of

heat stress and heat stroke, particularly in the hot summer

months. Harris Decl. at C-18 to -23; III at 641-43; DE

141; V at 1112-14.

33. Excavating and handling buried drums containing

unknown and potentially ignitable, flammable, or reactive

chemicals is an ultrahazardous activity. Harris Supp.

R.Decl. at 2-3.

34. The testing of intact drums containing unknown

substances is an ultrahazardous activity that threatens

workers with risks of fire, explosion, and chemical reac-

tions as drums are opened to sample their contents. Harris

Supp.R.Decl. at 3.

35. Workers cannot be completely protected from the

tisk of injury or death if an explosion occurs during

excavation. V at 1138; VI at 1236.

36. Although government witnesses assured the Court

that measures would be taken to avoid subjecting work-

ers to heat stress during the excavation, including train-

ing and scheduling work during cooler periods of the day

or of the year, one excavation proposal envisioned work-

ers in protective gear working in summer afternoons.

GE 2 at 3-38; III at 523; Bruck Aff. at 4; V at 1105,

1107.

37. The government’s excavation witness, Mr. Bruck,

acknowledged that he had little on-site experience. His

work as a program manager involved minimal on-site

experience. He testified that two excavation shifts could

be utilized, one in the early morning and one in the after-

noon. The workers would wear level B protection. Level

B protection is high-level protection, involving suits,

66a

gloves, boots, respirators, etc. Level B protection poses

heat stress problems for workers that can be alleviated

by multiple work shifts. The notion, however, that work-

ers could perform such work in Oklahoma in summer

afternoon temperatures is at odds with the reality of

the state’s summer weather. Excavation difficulties would

be compounded because Mr. Bruck expected to uncover

the type of drum arrays depicted in Defense Exhibit No.

30, tab D. V at 1105-40.

38. During the summer and winter months it may not

be practicable, or even possible, to work in Level B pro-

tection on many days or for extended periods of time.

Harris Decl. at C-23; V at 1104, 1112.

39. In order to remove the drums during excavation,

workers would necessarily have to handle drums physi-

cally and would work in close proximity to waste liquids

and excavated drums. II at 206-07; V at 1129-30; DE

30 tab D; DE 44.

40. Because of the way the barrels were left at the

Hardage Site (DE 30 tab D), the excavation would re-

quire some hand digging. The EPA proposes to use

mechanized excavation to the maximum extent possible.

V at 1093-1140.

41. Level A protection involves a fully contained,

rubberized suit with a pressurized breathing apparatus.

Level A gear provides more protection for the worker.

The EPA’s proposed remedy would require that more

than 50% of the excavation work be performed in Level

A gear. The goverument’s excavation witness, Mr. Bruck,

was not aware that the remedy report of the EPA and

the Consent Decree require 50% of the excavation work

to be performed in Level A gear. V at 1122.

42. The government’s excavation plans are more

properly characterized as being at a general philosophical

Stage rather than at a specific stage. V at 1136; III at

567. The workers performing the excavation, however,

————————

67a

realistically would be exposed to a serious risk. V at

1106-41. This Court is not prepared to risk the safety

and lives of Oklahoma workers on such tenuous plans

and proposals.

43. The government’s remedy design document does

not adequately describe the manner or method of excava-

tion, or the actual procedures contemplated to address

the risks of excavation. GE 2 sec. 3.2.4., at 3-36; V at

1106-41.

44 The drum excavation proposed by the EPA en-

visioned that the drums would be removed intact in order

to avoid the release of liquids to the subsurface. II at

264. This plan is not supported by the likely condition

of the remaining drums.

45. Drums encountered in the barrel mound would be

in a deteriorated condition. Excavation could further

crush or puncture the drums, causing substances in them

to leak and react with potentially incompatible chemicals

present at the site. Schmittle Decl. at D-21 to -22: DE

30 tab D; DE 44; DE 179; Hecox III at 690: III at

588-89.

46. There were substantial discrepancies among the

government witnesses regarding the amount of exposed

surface area for the excavation working face, the plan

of excavation, the disposition of soil, and the number of

times soil would be moved, all of which adversely af-

fected the Courts’ ability to estimate the risks associated

with excavation. GE 2 at 3-36 to -39; III at 544, 545,

442-46, 644-68; IV at 778-83.

47. Emission control measures would have to be im-

plemented to prevent dust and vapor emissions during

the excavation. These measures would include vapor

suppressant foams, and might also include wetting agents,

plastic sheeting, visqueen, clean soil, and other materials.

R. Davis R.Aff. at 3-4; Bruck Aff. 7; GE 2 at 3-38:

If at 543; V at 1101. The government’s nebulous plans

68a

regarding this critical and dangerous aspect of excava-

tion do not justify inclusion of excavation as a remedy

component for the Hardage Site.

48. Because wind gusts are likely during any excava-

tion of the Hardage Site, the proposed use of a plastic

covering to control vapor emissions from stored materials

is unlikely to succeed. Bruck Memo (Oct. 5, 1988)

(attached to Administrative Record, GE 234).

49. Excavation-based remedies selected by the EPA

at various other sites, including the Petro Processors and

Rocky Mountain Arsenal sites, have been delayed or

reconsidered because of unacceptable vapor emissions.

Harris Decl. at C-7 to -8.

50. Excavation poses significant risks due to emis-

sions. The dangerous short-term risk to workers is not

outweighed by the alleged long-term benefits associated

with excavation. The HSC risk expert, Mr. Harris, pro-

vided persuasive testimony to the Court regarding the

dangers of excavation. III at 636-66. The Court found

this testimony more persuasive than the testimony pro-

vided by the government’s risk assesment expert. II at

409.

51. The EPA remedy includes certain remedy com-

ponents—excavation of the barrel mound, removal of

liquids by vacuum truck, transportation of excavated

wastes to a staging area, and construction, operation, and

maintenance of the soil vapor excavation system—that

create significant implementation risks in addition to the

risks created by the remedy components common to the

EPA and HSC remedies. Harris Decl. at C-10 to -23;

DE 140; III at 640, 643-44, 690-91.

52. Implementation of the government’s excavation

plan will result in significant risks to local residents.

Off-site cancer risks associated with the EPA remedy are

understated; estimates of the off-site cancer risks asso-

ciated with the HSC remedy are likely overstated.

53. Excavation will present a risk of fire, explosion,

and physical injury from direct contact with hazardous

——eaaeEeEeEEeEeee—eEeE

69a

wastes if incompatible wastes mix during the work.

Harris Decl. at C-10 to -15; DE 140; III at 640, 643-

44, 690-91; VI at 1231, 1233.23.

54. Excavation of the barrel mound/main pit to re-

move drums and drummed wastes will cause off-site re-

leases of exceedingly toxic substances, such as asbestos,

that can contaminate soil and surface water near the site.

Those substances can persist long after the remedy is

constructed. Harris Decl. at C-26, D-4.

55. The EPA failed to evaluate adequately the costs

and risks associated with the handling, testing, storage,

transportation, and incineration of drums, liquids, sludge,

and other materials. Harris Supp. R.Decl. at 3.

56. The EPA’s remedy would place workers in closer

proximity to hazardous wastes than the HSC remedy.

The EPA remedy thus carries with it a greater risk of

workers coming into direct physical contact with hazard-

ous wastes and of being involved in construction-related

accidents. Harris Decl. at C-18 to -23; DE 141; III at

641-43; V at 1112-14.

57. Excavation of the barrel mound and main pit and

soil vapor excavation in the source areas would result in

more contaminants being released through vapor and dust

emissions than will be released during construction of the

HSC remedy. Harris Decl. at C-10 to -23; DE 140:

III at 640, 643-44, 690-91.

58. Even after excavation, pumping, and soil vapor

extraction 500,000 gallons of waste would remain at the

Hardage Site under the EPA remedy. IV at 869.

59. Dr. Eugene Meyer assumed, as did other wit-

nesses for the government, that all of the barrels of

chemicals deposited at the Hardage Site were full to the

brim based on the fact that Mr. Hardage charged his

customers on a per barrel basis. The Court cannot ac-

cept this assumption. There is no way of determining

from the logs the accuracy of the information as to what

pieereeeell

70a

was delivered to the site, as the Hardage log simply

reflects what the Hardage employees were told when a

load arrived. VI at 1245-49. Moreover, the assumption

that these barrels remain intact and full today is without

factual support.

60. Although drum removal and soil vapor extraction

would reduce the volume of waste available for ground-

water contamination, the site would not be cleaner as a

result of soil vapor extraction and excavation in any

time frame that can be envisioned. The site will always

be contaminated. XI at 2092-2135.

61. The Court is not convinced by the testimony of

the government witnesses that excavation of the barrel

mound and portions of the main pit to remove buried

drums and free-phase liquids can be implemented safely,

minimizing or eliminating risks of injury to workers. Ajl-

though Dr. Meyer is an exceptionally qualified and im-

pressive witness in many areas, he has little expertise

in any aspect of excavation, much less its practical as-

pects, and the Court has placed little weight on the gov-

ernment’s effort to have him testify in this area.

62. Excavation of the barrel mound and certain por-

tions of the main pit to remove buried drums and free-

phase liquids is not a feasible remedial action for the

Hardage Site. The government witnesses’ primary point

is that a worker’s health and safety plan can be devised

for the EPA’s proposed remedy. III at 521-22; V at

1099. The Court, however, cannot order an excavation

undertaking such as- that proposed by the government

(in any form) to proceed on the state of this record.

The Remedy Phase was designated as the phase of this

litigation in which the Court was to order a remedy for

the site based on the evidentiary presentations of the par-

ties. This Court has no intention of deferring a remedy

decision to future excavation studies or plans that per-

haps could be developed on any one of several excava-

tion proposals. Cleanup at this site has been delayed

——

Tila

long enough. If excavation is an appropriate remedy for

the Hardage Site, the government has had more than

ample opportunity to prove it. This was not done during

the Remedy Phase.

63. Section 106 of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9606, ex-

pressly provides the standard that a court must follow

when awarding injunctive relief. That section states a

court has “jurisdiction to grant such relief as the public

interest and the equities of the case may require” in or-

der to abate what may be “an imminent and substan-

tial endangerment to the public health or welfare or the

environment because of an actual or threatened release

of a hazardous substance from a facility... .” 42 U.S.C.

$ 9606(a) (1982).

64. Insofar as the cleanup standards contained in sec-

tion 121 of CERCLA and in the national contingency

plan regulations are binding upon the Court, and inso-

far as these standards may be considered by the Court,

they require rejection of remedies that do not meet the

threshold standard of protecting the public health and

welfare and the environment. See, e.g., CERCLA § 121

(b), (d)(1); 40 C.F.R. § 300.68(a), (g)(3), (1) (1)

(1989).

65. Excavation was developed and proposed as a rem-

edy component without adequate consideration of site

characteristics, and was based on incomplete information

and incorrect assumptions about; (i) feasibility, effective-

ness, benefits, and cost; (ii) the risk to workers and to

the public from implementation; (iii) technical and prac-

tical compatibility with other remedy components; and

(iv) the views of the State of Oklahoma. Bost Decl. at

D-30 to -32.

66. The excavation remedy proposed by the EPA

presents unacceptable risks to workers, to nearby resi-

dents, and to the environment and relies on unspecified

approaches that are not cost-effective and that are other-

wise inappropriate for conditions of the Hardage Site.

72a

67. The EPA excavation remedy does not satisfy the

threshold requirements of sections 106 and 121 of

CERCLA and NCP standards for remedies that must

protect the public health and welfare and the environ-

ment.

68. The CERCLA provides that states shall have the

Opportunity to review and comment on proposed re-

medial actions. It does not provide that states shall have

a concurrent role in the selection of remedial actions.

42 U.S.C. § 9621(f) (1) (E) (Supp. V 1987).

69. The EPA has not provided the State of Oklahoma

with an adequate opportunity to review and comment on

the EPA’s proposed remedy for the Hardage Site. III at

586-629; GE 234; V at 1149-89.

70. Failure of the EPA to consult adequately with

the OSDH on selection of an appropriate remedy for the

Hardage Site is inconsistent with the state consultation

requirement contained in section 121(f) of CERCLA.

Coleman Decl. at B-3 to -4.

71. A remedial action for the Hardage Site that is

protective of human health and the environment and that

is consistent with cleanup standards established by 42

U.S.C. §$ 9621 does not include excavation of the barrel

mound and portions of the main pit to remove pooled

liquids and liquids in drums.

72. Excavation and soild vapor extradition are not ap-

propriate components of a remedy for the Hardage Site.

Bost Decl. at D-7 to -11; Cherry Decl. at D-22; Harris

Decl. at C-40; [X at 1737.

73. The unique nature of the Hardage Site renders

excavation a poor remedy based on the evidence pre-

sented.

73a

D. The Soil Vapor Extraction Component of the Gov-

ernment’s Remedy

1. Soil vapor extraction is a remedial technology that

has been developed to remove volatile organic com-

pounds from unsaturated soils and transfer them to the

airstream; the treatment is both effective and well-dem-

onstrated. Walter Aff. at 4; Danko Aff. at 6; IV at 843.

2. By creating subsurface air flow zones, soil vapor

extraction can, under appropriate site conditions, increase

the rate at which volatile contaminants will be removed

from the source areas. Walter Aff. at 6; Walter R. Aff.

at 6-7; Bentley Aff. at 4; IV at 898.

3. Soil vapor extraction can, under appropriate site

conditions, reduce or eliminate the production of certain

degradation compounds that are highly toxic and mobile

in the subsurface environment. Walter Aff. at 3, 10.

4. Having rejected excavation, there is little need for

further discussion of the soil vapor extraction component

of the government’s remedy. Both a defense expert, Dr.

Richard Brown, and government counsel have advised

the Court against the idea of attempting to combine this

feature of the government’s remedy with the HSC rem-

edy. IX at 1730-49; XII at 2344. Moreover, the re-

jection of excavation has not made soil vapor extraction

more attractive for the Hardage Site.

5. The Court has little doubt that soil vapor extrac-

tion can be an effective and important remedial technol-

ogy for a number of hazardous waste sites. Indeed, the

OSDH, while opposing the EPA remedy, supports the

concept of soil vapor extraction. The use of soil vapor

extraction at the Hardage Site, however, does have sev-

eral shortcomings and potential pitfalls, including the

following:

(a) Even when viewed in its best light, soil

vapor extraction would remove less than 165,000

gallons of residual liquids from the Hardage Stie,

74a

representing less than 10% of the 1.8 million gal-

lons at the site. IV at 853; GE 54(a)-(b); GE 56.

(b) Even if the Court adopted the government’s

remedy, some of the most mobile and most carcino-

genic of the compounds found at the Hardage Site

would be likely to volatilize (change from the liquid

phase to the air phase) during excavation, thus un-

dercutting the effectiveness of soil vapor extraction

and posing a danger as well. IV at 861-62.

(c) Even after excavation, pumping, and soil vapor

extraction, there will be approximately 500,000

gallons of waste left at the Hardage Site under the

EPA remedy. IV at 860.

(d) The same results that could be achieved

through soil vapor extraction will be obtained

through natural diffusion processes. Soil vapor ex-

traction, however, holds out the possibility of achiev-

ing these results in five years, as opposed to the

thousands of years necessary for the natural process

to take place. Unfortunately, no similar soil vapor

extraction process has been in operation long enough

to confirm such predictions for the Hardage Site.

(e) Sufficient data does not exist at this time to

accurately predict the success of soil vapor extrac-

tion at the Hardage Site. IV at 902. Gary R. Wal-

ter, an impressive government expert, testified that

he knew of no site like the Hardage Site where soil

vapor extraction has been successfully implemented.

IV at 902. The model for the government’s remedy

has not been validated at a similar site. IV at 903.

(f) Soil vapor extraction will not remove a sig-

nificant number of semi-volatile compounds. IV at

906.

(g) Significantly, the soil vapor extraction pro-

posed by the government would take place only af-

ter the government conducted tests to see if it was

———eS aaa a

75a

feasible. Thus, the soil vapor extraction component

of the government’s proposed remedy is actually a

pilot research program that may ultimately be re-

jected even if pursued initially. The total cost of

the soil vapor extraction system that would be borne

by the soil vapor extraction group under the Con-

sent Decree is $12,168,000. None of the soil vapor

extraction witnesses for the government could af-

firmatively recommend soil vapor extraction as an

appropriate remedial action at the Hardage Site.

V at 1138; GE 395; IT at 305-50, 382-86: IV at

865, 900-08.

(h) Site conditions often determine the effectiveness

of soil vapor extraction. Given the problems the

Court has found with excavation of the Hardage

Site, which one witness has credibly testified would

exacerbate any soil vapor extraction effort, the Court

is not inclined to order this promising technology

for the Hardage Site. IX at 1730-49.

(i) The EPA-proposed remedy requires more op-

eration and maintenance activity than the HSC rem-

edy because of the soil vapor extraction component.

DE 16 tables 7.2 & 7.3, at 3; R. Davis R. Aff.

table 1, at p. 12 of 12.

6 In short, while the experts on both sides of the

soil vapor extraction issue were persuasive, the soil

vapor extraction issue cannot be viewed in isolation. The

government experts have convinced the Court that solid

vapor extraction is an attractive, effective, and promising

remedial technology for certain hazardous waste sites.

While the Court discounts much of the criticism leveled

at this component of the government’s proposed remedy,

including that of HSC expert Dr. Hoag, the Court is not

convinced, in light of the failure of proof on the govern-

ment’s excavation component, as well as the other. is-

sue outlined above, that soil vapor extraction is appropri-

ate for the Hardage Site.

7. Similarly, under the range of plausible site condi-

tions, based on industry experience at other hazardous

76a

waste sites, the Court is not convinced by a preponder-

ance of the evidence that soil vapor extraction technol-

ogy is a feasible and effective technology for the removal

of volatile organic compounds from the source areas at

the Hardage Site.

Vill. REMEDIAL ACTION TO BE TAKEN IN

THIS CASE—ADOPTION OF THE PRIMARY

FEATURES OF THE HSC REMEDY

1. From a remedy selection standpoint, the Court

finds in favor of the HSC’s containment remedy as op-

posed to the government’s excavation/soil vapor extrac-

tion remedy. The Court specifically finds that the defense

has proved the appropriateness, safety, and feasibility

of this remedy by a preponderance of the evidence.*°

Aside from the conceptional and technical flaws asso-

ciated with the government’s proposed remedy, which are

discussed above, the additional reasoning for this rem-

edy preference is set forth below. The Court will, how-

ever, order certain modifications to the HSC’s proposed

remedy. As set forth below, the remedy ordered by the

Court generally adopts the HSC’s proposal concerning

recovery wells in the barrel mound, a V-shaped intercep-

tor trench, a southwest line of interceptor wells, surface

water monitoring, a water treatment system for ground-

water, and institutional controls. The Court, however,

also will order liquid recovery wells to be placed in the

main pit in light of (1) the clear evidence presented at

trial of barrel deposits in the main pit area, and (2) the

_ failure of the HSC remedy to provide for such wells. A

cap that was proposed by the HSC will be utilized at the

site.

2. In general, the remedy for the Hardage Site pro-

posed by the HSC consists of a composite cap over the

80In reaching this ruling, the Court realizes there are several

remedial elements common to both the government’s proposed

remedy and the defendants’ proposed remedy.

| |

77a

source areas, liquid recovery wells in the barrel mound

(and possibly part of main pit), a V-shaped interceptor

trench, interceptor wells in the southwest corner of the

site, a water treatment system for groundwater collected

from the trench and wells, institutional controls, natural

attenuation of the alluvial groundwater, and groundwater

and surface water monitoring. DE 16 at 1-4. The Court

adopts this remedy with the addition of liquid recovery

wells being mandated for the main pit, and any other

changes noted below. Except as modified in this Order,

the remedy ordered in this case shall be in accordance

with the HSC remedy design documentation.

3. The HSC remedy was designed to address in a

comprehensive way management of the wastes present at

the Hardage Site. DE 16 at 1-1.

4. Few if any hazardous waste sites have been studied

as thoroughly and as comprehensively by both the gov-

ernment and defendants as the Hardage Site. V at 987-

88; Schmittle Decl. at D-2 to -8, D-20 to -29; Cherry

Decl. at D-8.

5. EPA Director of Hazardous Waste for Region VI

Allyn Davis believes there are liquids that can be pumped

at all three source areas at the Hardage Site. V at 1163-

64. In the Court’s view, this testimony corroborates the

effectiveness of the HSC’s proposed pumping, as well as

the Court’s decision to order pumping from the main pit

area.

6. Mr. Davis outlined the four means through which

the agency planned to achieve its goal of protecting pub-

lic health at the site: to restrict public exposure to con-

taminants through surface water, groundwater, the at-

mosphere, and direct contact. V at 1186. The HSC

remedy meets these goals. IX at 1797-98.

7. Four routes for constituent migration from the

Hardage Site can be idenitfied: (1) surface or overland

flow during site operations; (2) surface or overland flow

78a

currently exiting the southwest corner of the site; (3)

groundwater flow through fractures in Strata I, II, and

Ill; and (4) groundwater flow through pore spaces of

the rock in Strata I, Il, and IJ. DE 111; VII at 1420.

8. The primary route by which constituents have mi-

grated from the source areas to the alluvium of NCC is

overland flow or surface runoff... Schmittle Decl. at D-18

to -20; DE 30 tabs B & C; DE 36.

9. Humans potentially may be exposed to hazardous

substances released at or from the Hardage Site through

four potential pathways for exposure: groundwater mi-

gration, surface water migration, air emissions, and direct

contact. DE 15 at 4-la; Bost Decl. at D-3 to -4, D-9;

DE 111; DE 177; III at 672; V at 1186; IX at 1797.

10. Despite the migration that has occurred, the Ok-

lahoma water quality standards for the waters of NCC

have never been exceeded. II at 202, 226; V at 1010,

1179; VIII at 1602.

11. Neither the HSC nor the EPA proposed a rem-

edy that would remove all contaminants from the Hard-

age Site. Moreover, neither proposed remedy would

make the site suitable for use by animals or humans in

the foreseeable future. DE 179; II at 201; IV at 805;

V at 1174-75.

12. A remedy for the Hardage Site that controls the

surface water pathway, precludes site access and direct

contact with waste, controls air emissions from the source

areas, precludes the use of affected groundwater, and

provides for a contingent response to ensure continued

maintenance of the quality of NCC goes a long way to-

ward the protection of public health and welfare and the

environment. Bost Decl. at D-3 to -7, D-10 to -11; DE

112; III at 672-76.

13. A remedy consisting of the following components

would arguably would be effective to address the re-

medial objectives identified in Finding No. 12: a cap,

ee

79a

surface water monitoring, groundwater monitoring, in-

stitutional controls, and contingency plans. Bost Decl.

at D-6 to -11; Cherry Decl. at D-23 to -25; XI at 2107.

14. The HSC remedy with the modifications ordered

by the Court: achieves the remedial objectives identified

in Finding No. 12 necessary to protect the public health

and welfare and the environment; affords a further meas-

ure of protection to the NCC alluvium and NCC by cut-

ting off migration of constituents from the site; accom-

plishes a further reduction in the already low potential

risks to the public health and welfare and the environ-_

ment posed by the Hardage Site; and captures and re-

moves contaminated groundwater and non-aqueous phase

liquids for treatment. Hecox Decl. at D-2 to -3; DE 26:

Cherry Decl. at D-25 to -26; Bost Decl. at D-11; DE

112; XI at 2108.

15. The HSC remedy as modified eliminates all four

potential pathways for exposure to substances at the

Hardage Site. IV at 1797; V at 1186-87.

16. The HSC remedy, consisting of the following pri-

mary components, other components described in the

HSC Preliminary Design Report (DE 16), and certain

modifications as indicated below, is protective of the

public health and welfare and the environment and should

be implemented at the Hardage Site:

(a) V-shaped, gravel-filled interceptor trench con-

structed at the top of Stratum IV to provide hydraulic

control of the source areas by capture and removal of

affected groundwater and non-aqueous phase liquids for

subsequent treatment. Hecox Decl. at D-4 to -5; DE 60

& 88; II at 221; VIII at 1589; [IX at 1788.

(b) Composite cap over source areas to prevent direct

contact with wastes, to control surface water flow in

source areas, to limit erosion of affected soils, to reduce

infiltration of precipitation, and to provide passive gas

collection and treatment. Hecox Decl. at D-4; DE 93 &

94; VIII at 1697-99.

80a

(c) Permanent vertical liquid recovery wells in the

barrel mound and the main pit to extract pumpable

liquids for off-site treatment by incineration and disposal

in order to protect the stability of the barrel mound and

main pit and to reduce the volume of free liquids. Hecox

Decl. at D-4; DE 92; Finding No. 26 infra; TX at 1789-

1818. In the event off-site disposal of pumpable liquids

is unavailable, the Hardage defendants shall submit an

alternative plan to the United States and to the Court

for incineration and disposal of such wastes.

(d) Southwest interceptor wells to prevent migration

of affected groundwater into the NCC alluvium (in con-

junction with the V-shaped interceptor trench). Hecox

Decl. at D-4; DE 60 & 88; II at 223.

(e) Water treatment system to treat groundwater col-

lected from the trench and wells to standards applicable

for discharge into NCC. Hecox Decl. at D-4; DE 95;

IX at 1796. The water treatment system will be oper-

ated in such a way as to avoid commingling of liquids

from different remedy components without EPA approval.

This limitation on commingling does not preclude the

commingling of liquids from the V-shaped interceptor

trench, vertical liquid recovery wells in the barrel mound

and main pit, and the underdrains beneath the cap as

shown on Figure No. 18 of the HSC Preliminary Design

Report (DE 16) with each other.

(f) Natural attenuation and, if necessary, control of

migration of constituents presently found in the alluvial

groundwater to effect cleanup of the alluvial groundwater

and to prevent significant expansion of the area of af-

fected groundwater. Hecox Decl. at D-4; VIII at 1595.

(g) Institutional controls to limit public access to

affected areas, to prohibit future withdrawal of affected

groundwater, and to continue the public water supply to

area residents. Hecox Decl. at D2, D-4; DE 97.

(h) A groundwater and surface water monitoring sys-

tem to monitor groundwater and surface water for con-

7 ©

8la

tinued effectiveness of the remedy. Hecox Decl at D-4:

DE 97.

17. Strata IV, V, and VI, which will constitute the

“bottom” of either the HSC or the EPA remedy, are

characterized by the following four natural features:

(a) Low permeability (Strata IV and V);

‘b) No material hydraulically conductive frac-

tures;

(c) Saline water; and

(d) Sluggish flow in Strata VI, which will pre-

clude migration of constituents to any usable water

supply for millions of years. XI at 2103, 2129.

18. Constituents, including any DNAPL, which have

left or will leave the source areas, generally will migrate

laterally through Stratum I, II, and III toward the HSC’s

proposed V-shaped interceptor trench and southwest in-

terceptor wells. Here they will be captured, removed,

and treated. Larson Decl. at D-8 to -10; DE 58, 60 &

88; IT at 221-23; V at 1026; V at 1182; V at 1069;

VIII at 1590-94.

19. The area of affected groundwater at the Hardage

Site extends to the east from the source areas toward the

east farm ponds and to the west and southwest into the

NCC alluvium. Schmittle Decl. at D-16-17; DE 33, 34

& 35.

20. Groundwater flow currently discharging into the

east farm ponds will be reversed by the V-shape trench

and will instead discharge into the trench. Larson Decl.

at D-9 to -10; Hecox Decl. at D-6; DE 60; II at 220.

21. Given the nature of the subsurface geology in

the southwest corner of the site, the use of interceptor

wells there instead of a trench will present less construc-

tion uncertainty and less risk to workers during installa-

tion. Hecox Decl. at D-7; VII at 1706-07.

82a

22. The southwest interceptor well system can be con-

structed and operated to prevent migration of affected

upgradient groundwater into the alluvium of NCC and

will be as effective in providing hydraulic control of

groundwater flow as would a trench. Hecox Decl. at

D-6 to -7; Larson Decl. at D-6 to -10; II at 223-24; VIII

at 1706-08; V at 1024.

23. By utilizing a southwest well system instead of

the trench proposed by the government, the wells will

have overlapping spheres of influence, and will be easier

to extend than a trench. VIII at 1706-07. The govern-

ment concedes that there is no significant difference be-

tween the trench system and the well system, or signifi-

cant advantage of one over the other.

24. Aqueous and non-acqueous phase liquids are pres-

ent at the base of the barrel mound and have been suc-

cessfully pumped. This indicates that their removal by

pumping is feasible during remediation. Schmittle Decl.

at D-23.

25. Defense Exhibit No. 26 shows the proposed HSC

remedy with vertical liquid extraction wells, trenches, etc.

Defense Exhibit No. 108 shows the barrel mound with

vertical extraction wells under the HSC remedy. With

the exception of the modifications discussed in this order,

these exhibits provide an accurate overview of the remedy

ordered for the Hardage Site.

26. An HSC witness, Mr. Hecox, testified that there

are no vertical extraction wells in the main pit under the

HSC proposal “because that is an area where Mr. Hard-

age apparently did not dispose of any drums.” IX at

1789. In response to the Court’s questioning, Mr. Hecox

modified this testimony, stating instead that there were

no “significant quantities” of drums in the main pit area.

Id. The magnetometer tests, however, show that there

are barrels there. GE 2 fig. 3-8; DE 30 tab D. Consid-

ering also the cross-examination on this issue by govern-

ment counsel, the Court finds that Mr. Hecox was im-

a |

83a

peached on this point. IX at 1801-18. There is in fact

a considerable concentration of drums on the west side

of the main pit.

27. The vertical liquid extraction wells can be con-

structed and operated effectively to remove existing

pumpable liquids in the barrel mound and the main pit,

and to remove any liquids that later drain into these

source areas. Hecox Decl. at D-7; IX at 1792, 1821-22.

28. Vertical liquid extraction wells at the spacing

proposed by the HSC “can effectively remove pumpable

waste liquids and contaminated water” from the barrel

mound and main pit. Robertson Aff at 10-11; IX at

1791-92.

29. Vertical liquid extraction wells, given the condi-

tions at the Hardage Site, are a substantially safer method

for removing liquids from the barrel mound and the main

pit than excavation. IX at 1791. If drums corrode or

collapse, the liquid will be picked up by the vertical ex-

traction wells. [IX at 1792. There is to be no termination

of the. vertical extraction wells absent a court order be-

cause of the possibility of continuing corrosion and col-

lapse of drums.

30. The primary function of the cap is to prevent

direct access of people and animals to potentially con-

taminated materials at the site. Differential settlement

could occur after the cap is installed attributable to col-

lapsing or disintegrating drums. There are, however, sim-

ilar problems with the government’s proposed cap as well.

VIII at 1698-1726. Mr. Allen described the defendants’

proposed landfill cap. It has vegetation on the top of it.

It is intended to be a permanent cap. It includes a pas-

sive vapor control system. VIII at 1697.

31. The Court is unable to see any significant advan-

tages in choosing either the government’s proposed cap

over the defendants’ proposed cap, or vice versa. Con-

sistent with the suggestion of the government’s counsel in

84a

closing arguments, the Court, having now selected the

HSC remedy, will adopt the HSC’s cap proposal rather

than the government’s. XII at 2344. However, as noted

in Finding No. 63 below, certain modifications will be

ordered to the cap.

32. A preload constructed over the barrel mound and

over a portion of the main pit will minimize long-term

total and differential settlements, thereby minimizing the

long-term maintenance costs of the cap. Allen Decl. at

D-5; VIII at 1697-98.

33. A multilayer cap system consisting of a vegetative

cover, topsoil, a clean select fill and drain layer, a re-

compacted fine-grain layer, and a gravel gas collection

layer can be constructed at the Hardage Site and will

limit infiltration, will control surface runoff, will control

gas emissions from the source areas, will prevent physical

exposure to waste material, will control seepage from the

sides cf the mounds, and will satisfy applicable regulatory

requirements. Allen Decl. at D-6 to -7; Hecox Decl. at

D-8 to -9; VIII at 1697-1700. The modifications set

forth below as suggested by the OSDH shall also be in-

corporated.

34. The remedy proposed by the HSC provides for

long-term monitoring and maintenance of the cap. VIII

at 1727. If problems with the cap develop, they are to

be promptly brought to the attention of the Court.

35. Toe drains installed at the base of the cap along

the west, south, and north sides of the source areas will

collect any lateral seepage. Hecox Decl. at D-9; VIII at

1697.

36. The groundwater treatment system proposed by

the HSC will be effective in reducing the volume, toxicity,

and mobility of any constituents present in the construc-

tion phase storm water runoff and in the groundwater

recovered from the V-shaped interceptor trench and south-

west interceptor wells. Hecox Decl. at D-9 to -10; IT at

222; V at 1173.

Te |

85a

37. Institutional controls, including the acquisition of

interests in adjacent property, an alternative water sup-

ply, and site security are necessary at the Hardage Site

under either the HSC remedy or the EPA remedy in order

to eliminate unauthorized withdrawal and use of affected

groundwater from the original Hardage Site and the NCC

alluvium. Hecox Decl. at D-2, D-10 to -{ 1; V at 1180.

38. The HSC’s proposed monitoring program will pro-

duce the data necessary to assess the operation of the

following remedial components: hydraulic control of the

V-shaned interceptor trench and southwest interceptor

wells, liquid levels in the vertical liquid extraction wells,

flushing of the NCC alluvium, and movement of constitu-

ents'in the alluvium. Hecox Decl. at D-11 to -12.

39. It is a common practice among scientists and en-

gineers addressing hydrogeologic issues to base conclu-

sions about subsurface conditions on information derived

from boreholes that sample only a small portion of the

whole site area. XI at 2103-04.

40. The subsurface geology of the Hardage Site to a

depth of about 300 feet consists of six distinctive bed-

rock strata (Strata I-VI) with separate hydraulic proper-

ties. These major lithologic units are unbroken by faults

or major offsets of any kind, are laterally continuous

across the site and for several miles, and are flat lying

(or nearly so). Schmittle Decl. at D-8 to -11, D-13 to

-14; Mitchell Decl. at D-3 to -4; Keys Decl. at D-5 to -7:

Papadopulos Decl. at D-4 to -5; DE 27, 28, 29, 30 tab

A, 53, 54 & 57; VI at 1343-44.

41. Based on the geophysical logging at the site, it

is possible to correlate stratigraphic units under the site

and to identify a predominance of mudstone. DE 53,

54-57; VII at 1473-75.

42. Hydrogeologically, the site is characterized by a

“fresh water zone in the shallow bedrock (Strata I, II,

and III) that flows toward and discharges to the allu-

86a

vium” of NCC, plus a “saline zone (Stratum VI) and

underlies the fresh water zone and is hydraulically sepa-

rated from it” by the low hydraulic conductivity mud-

stones and silty mudstones of Strata IV and V. Schmittle

Decl. at D-13. See DE 27, 28 & 29.

43. The lower part of Stratum IV (below elevation

1,020 mean sea level (m.s.l.)) and Stratum V have ex-

tremely low permeabilities or hydraulic conductivities.

Taking into account the results of packer tests, laboratory

tests, pressure pulse tests, water level recovery tests, and

regional modeling, the horizontal hydraulic conductivities

of these strata are indicated to be on the order of 10°

centimeters per second (cm/s) and the effective metrical

hydraulic conductivities are in the range of 10° to

10°* cm/s. Papadopulos Decl. at D-4 to -16.

44. The extremely low permeabilities result in the ver-

tical flow of water downward through Strata IV and V

being very slow, requiring approximately 40,000 years fer

water to travel one foot into the mudstone. Papadopulos

Decl. at D-19; DE 67; VII at 1520.

45. The presence of saline water at a depth beneath

the site indicates that the material above the saline water

is of very low permeability, as it has not permitted a

downward recharge of fresh water from the surface.

VII at 1475.

46. The geochemical evidence from the chloride leach

tests supports the hydraulic evidence that groundwater

flow in Strata IV and V is extremely slow. Cherry Decl.

at D-11 to -13; XI at 2099-2103.

47. In the light of chloride profiles for Stratum IV,

lateral groundwater movement below the upper 20 feet

of Stratum IV, as depicted in Government Exhibit No.

95, is highly unlikely. XI at 2100.

48. No credible evidence of interconnected, hydrauli-

cally conductive fractures in Stratum IV and V of the

site has been found. Cherry Decl. at D-13 to -18; Keys

mF

87a

Decl. at D-8 to -9; II at 173-74; VII at 1476-78, 1499,

1504; VII at 1519, 1522; XI at 2100-02.

49. Any fractures that might be present within the

lower portion of Stratum IV (below 1,020 feet m.s.]. )

and V do not constitute significant pathways for con-

Stituent movement; any movement of contaminants that

might occur would be to Stratum VI, which is character-

ized by saline water and extremely sluggish flow, and

thus such movement, if it should occur, would not con-

stitute a threat to the public health and welfare or the

environment. Cherry Decl. at D-13 to -19: XI at 2101-03.

50. The Stratum IV mudstone is very stable geo-

logically and will not shrink or crack when exposed to

deionized water, saline water, waste-containing water from

the Hardage Site, or DNAPLs. Mitchell Decl. at D-3 to

-4, D-6 to -7; DE 30 tab F; VI at 1345, 1349-56,

51. Strata IV and V form an effective, regionally

extensive, and continuous hydraulic barrier to vertical mi-

gration of constituents. Cherry Decl. at D-20; VII at

1522.

52. The water beneath Stratum III has no foreseeable

value as a water resource for either human consumption

or agricultural purposes. Cherry Decl. at D-10: VII at

1473; XI at 2098, 2103, 2130.

53. Stratum VI is a zone of lateral groundwater flow

in which the flow rate is negligible, even when considered

over thousands of years. Cherry Decl. at D-19; VII at

1521; VIL at 1647-48; XI at 2103, 2129-30.

54. The travel time of any contaminants through the

lower portion of Stratum IV and through Stratum V to

the saline water in Stratum VI, and eventually to the

Washita River, would be on the order of millions of

years. VII at 1421; VIII at 1647-48.

55. For the implementation of the HSC remedy, the

maximum individual lifetime cancer risk is “considerably

88a

less than that considered acceptable under the EPA’s

published guidelines.” Harris Decl. at C-24. See Harris

Decl. at C-33; III at 648-50.

56. The cancer risk associated with implementing the

HSC remedy is substantially less than that of implement-

ing the new EPA excavation and soil vapor extraction

remedy. Harris Decl. at C-24; DE 139; III at 648-50.

57. Implementation of the HSC remedy “will not re-

sult in either significant short-term or long-term public

health risks to off-site residents.” Harris Decl. at C-24;

see id. at C-33.

_58. The estimated cost of the HSC remedy, including

major capital replacement contingencies, operation, and

maintenance, in 1989 dollars, is $53,952,000. DE 16

tables 7.1 & 7.2; DE 98(a), (b).

59. Section 106 of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9606, ex-

pressly provides the standard that a court must follow

when awarding injunctive relief. Section 106 provides

that a court has “jurisdiction to grant such relief as the

public interest and the equities of the case may require”

in order to abate what may be “an imminent and sub-

stantial endangerment to the public health or welfare or

the environment because of an actual or threatened re-

lease of a hazardous substance from a facility... .” 42

U.S.C. § 9606(a) (1982).

60. The HSC’s remedy as modified by the Court

protects human health and the environment and complies

with ARARs, provides long-term effectiveness and _per-

manence, reduces the toxicity, mobility, and volume of

the wastes, provides short-term effectiveness, is easily

implemented, and is cost effective. Bost Decl. at D-15 to

-17; Hecox Decl. at D-13 to -14; Coleman Decl. at B-4;

IX at 1797-99.

61. The HSC has kept the OSDH informed about site

investigations and the remedy selection process since the

89a

HSC first became involved at the site. Coleman Decl.

at B-4; III at 612.

62. The OSDH supports a remedy consisting of the

components of the HSC remedy, but with a cap having

a thicker clay layer than that currently proposed by the

HSC, and with a system for removing vapors that gather

in the gas collection layer under the cap. Coleman Decl.

at B-4-5; IX at 1799.

63. The HSC remedy shall be modified to meet the

OSDH’s preferences about the thickness of the clay cap

and about an active gas removal system under the cap.

IX at 1799.

64. The HSC remedy is fully developed and can be

readily implemented to address conditions at the Hardage

Site. The HSC’s proposed remedy as reflected in the

HSC remedy design documentation contains sufficient de-

tail and specificity so that it may be ordered in a manda-

tory injunction under section 106 of CERCLA subject

to the modifications herein.

65. There are approximately 1.8 million gallons of

liquid waste at the Hardage Site. IV at 853, 860. Under

the HSC remedy a significant amount of liquid will re-

main in the source areas, particularly the barrel mound.

This is also true, however, of the government's proposed

remedy, which would leave at least 500,000 gallons in

the source areas even after the proposed excavation and

soil vapor extraction. IV at 860.

66. Insofar as the section 121 cleanup standards are

applicable or may be considered by the Court, the HSC’s

proposed remedy best satisfies those standards.

(a) The HSC’s proposed remedy complies more

fully with the provisions in CERCLA that require

that remedies address the “persistence, toxicity, mo-

bility, and propensity to bioaccumulate of . . . haz-

ardous substances and their constituents.” CERCLA

§ 121(b)(1)(C), 42 USC. § 9621(b)(1)(C)

90a

(Supp. V 1987). The HSC remedy will not release

as much dust and vapor into water, soils, and vege-

tation surrounding the site, and therefore is less

likely to introduce chemicals into the food chain

that may bioaccumulate and cause cancer and other

adverse health effects.

(b) The EPA’s proposed remedy, in contrast to

the HSC’s remedy, presents a significant “short- and

long-term potential for adverse health effects from

human exposure.” CERCLA § 121(b)(1)(D), 42

U.S.C. § 9621(b)(1)(D) (Supp. V 1987).

67. The HSC defendants have proven by a prepon-

derance of the evidence, and also by the clear weight of

the evidence, that the HSC remedy, as modified herein,

best:

(a) satisfies the section 106(a) standards for

health and welfare and the environment;

(b) satisfies, and is most consistent with, all ap-

plicable or relevant section 121 cleanup standards;

and

(c) satisfies, and is most consistent with, all ap-

plicable or relevant NCP standards.

IX. CONSENT DECREE FOR IMPLEMENTATION

OF PARTIAL REMEDIAL ACTION

A. Introduction

On the eve of trial, three days before the scheduled

opening statements in the trial of the Remedy Phase, the

United States on November 21, 1989, lodged with this

Court a Consent Decree for the Implementation of Par-

tial Remedial Action: Source Excavation and Soil Vapor

Extraction (“Consent Decree”). By the provisions of the

Consent Decree, eight defendants and six federal entities

agreed to pay for and perform certain elements of the

United States’ desired remedy for the Hardage Site.

9la

Based on the Consent Decree, and the fact other defend-

ants allegedly agreed to implement the remainder of the

United States’ remedy proposal, the government argued

that no Remedy Phase trial should be held. United

States’ Pretrial Brief at 2. However, the HSC defendants

strongly opposed the proposed settlement and its approval

in a brief submitted on November 22, 1989, and de-

manded that the Court reject the decree out of hand. HSC

Brief in Opposition to Proposed Carve-Out Settlement at

3. Alternatively, the HSC requested that the Court defer

consideration of the Consent Decree until after the Rem-

edy Phase trial.** Jd. at 34.

After hearing arguments on November 24, 1989, and

considering the procedures for lodging and standards of

review for consent decrees, the Court rearranged the trial

schedule to take testimony concerning the Consent

Decree. I at 62-66. Eight expert witnesses testified on be-

half of the United States and the settling defendants con-

cerning the hazardous wastes at the Hardage Site, tech-

nical aspects of the remedy elements of the Consent

Decree, and their implementation. Four HSC experts dis-

agreed with the appropriateness of excavation and soil

vapor extraction for the Hardage Site. In addition, the

HSC presented excerpts of the deposition of an EPA

official.

At the close of the presentation, the Court found the

record on the Consent Decree to be inadequate. III at

705. Questions concerning the wisdom of soil vapor ex-

traction at the Hardage Site remained, together with con-

cerns about the contribution provisions of the decree.

Id. In addition, the Court desired to ensure that the

31 The HSC filed a second brief opposing approval of the Con-

sent Decree on November 19, 1989. The Vapor Extraction Group

(defined in Section F, paragraphs six and seven of this Section)

supported approval of the Consent Decree on December 6, 1989.

The United States replied to the HSC’s Opposition Briefs on De-

cember 8, 1989.

92a

remedy “imposed in connection with the Hardage Site

is in the public interest.” III at 706. Accordingly, the

Court took the Consent Decree under advisement and

directed the rest of the Remedy Phase trial to proceed.

Id.

Earlier sections of this Order discuss the Court’s find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law concerning the flaws

in the United States’ proposed remedy and the remedial

action to be implemented at the Hardage Site. See supra

Section VII & VIII. The Court now considers the Con-

sent Decree.

On January 25, 1990, the United States filed a motion

to enter the Consent Decree as an order of this Court.

The motion reflected that Mark S. Coleman of the OSDH

had filed comments on December 20,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.