Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Windley v. City of Dover

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

F } S “a

~ 96 768 Nov 16 1996

No.

—— OTE ER

In The :

Supreme Court of the United States

dp

October Term, 1996

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY and VICTORIA WINDLEY,

Petitioners,

VS.

CITY OF DOVER,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LOIS J. DAWSON STEPHEN J. POKINIEWSKI, JR.

712 West Street Counsel of Record

Wilmington, Delaware 19801 SOL H. WEISS

(302) 984-0331 KRISTIN WERNER

ANAPOL, SCHWARTZ, WEISS

& COHAN, P.C.

1900 Delancey Place

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 735-2098

Attorneys for Petitioners

9955

(800) 3 APPEAL » (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21 pez

AZ enices, inc.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether this Court should issue a Writ of Certiorari to

review the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit to affirm the Delaware District Court’s entry

of Summary Judgment based upon the “public building”

exception to governmental immunity set forth in 10 Del. C.

§ 4012(2), where the Court of Appeals’ decision departs from

Delaware substantive law, which applies the “public building”

exception to entry of a public building for the purpose of

performing maintenance or repairs?

Ii. Whether this Court should issue a Writ of Certiorari to

review the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit to affirm the Delaware District Court’s entry

of Summary Judgment, where Delaware substantive law is

inconsistent regarding the scope and application of the

“equipment” exception to governmental immunity set forth in

10 Del. C. § 4012(1)?

|

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The names of all parties to the proceedings in the Court

whose judgment is sought to be reviewed appear in the caption

of this case.

The parties that do not appear in the caption but were a part

of the proceedings below are: POTTS WELDINGAND BOILER

REPAIR COMPANY, INC., a Delaware Corporation, WSMW

INDUSTRIES, INC., a Delaware Corporation, THE BABCOCK

& WILCOX COMPANY, a Delaware Corporation, ABB AIR

PREHEATER, INC., a Delaware Corporation and ERECTORS,

INC., a Delaware Corporation.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented for Review .................. i

a ae Ba Fp Rat RAM tgs Jaws ti

Stas aces dada s no daboteébede'e vot iii

ME eee ts eae ea se coe vsbiceces iv

I a 5 ee ee 1

Statement of Jurisdiction .............ccccccccees 1

Statutory Provisions Involved ................... l

Statement ofthe Case ........ ccc ccc ccccccccccces 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 8

I. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Departs from

the Express Language of 10 Del. C. § 4012

and Delaware Appellate Court Decisions

Regarding the Scope of the Exceptions to

Governmental Immunity. ................. 8

A. The Exceptions to Immunity Set Forth in

10 Del. C. § 4012 are Designed to Provide

Private Citizens with Relief from the

Injustices that are Inherent in the Doctrine

of Sovereign Immunity. .............. 8

iv

Contents

B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Ignores

the Delaware Superior Court’s Holding in

Buckalew v. Cranston Heights Fire Co.,

Inc., Which Extends § 4012 Protection to

Members of the Public Injured While

Performing Maintenance or Repairs at a

a Ree ee rere

C. This Court Should Grant Certiorari to

Review the Court of Appeals’ Decision to

Affirm Summary Judgment Based Upon

the “Exception” Where the Scope and

Application of the Equipment Exception

are the Subjects of Numerous Conflicting

Decisions Under Delaware Law. .......

CRONNOOOE oko onkaduin Beene cs Keke asus

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Bordas v. City of Neward, Del. Super., C.A. No. 90 C-

GSES ckcveke ied s decent ckosesetecsias sees

Buckalew v. Cranston Heights Fire Co., Inc., Del.

Super. C.A. No. 685 C-SE-122 (April 21, 1987)

Page

10

13

19

16

neouWneed es enéveceecasehgasauaepesseenes 10, 12, 13

Fiat Motors v. Mayor and Council, 498 A.2d 1062

CRUE, RGD ds wk vanes i vneseedeusecasdektkenes 9,10, 17

Contents

Page

Griggs v. BK Corporation, 981 F.2d 1429 (3d Cir.

SWPED Si fe heWe bautibsdan vine Geaeeenelnesers 10, 13

Moore v. Wilmington Housing Authority, 619 A.2d

ee PPP e yy Peer Fe re rer ee 3, 4%, 32,39

Porter v. Delmarva Power & Light Co., 488 A.2d 899

I, SIPOE van cd 6 has Sek wae x owns bk ckee 14, 15

Ritgert v. City of Rehobeth Beach, 655 F. Supp. 1101

CNET ea bacceubicccdavians Web civic 14

Sadler v. New Castle County, 565 A.2d 917 (Del.

se PEE Ob Tt POE ke Rost Ul enaaemi ste 14, 15, 16

Sussex County Delaware v. Morris, 610 A.2d 1354

GEE FRET iss dp eon ks a sddkls ce ki seeks 14, 15

Triple C. Railcar Service, Inc. v. City of Wilmington,

Pe eae ee CAs AOSD vcos cWdee ces cknecare 15, 16

Statutes Cited:

Se EE TE heb bk bcedekadsch sé cahatediek 1

SO des BADE IAHR Eis 7

Be Mets BOD a 6 6 eh ook Rb ooh keh ceekanes 3

SO U0l,. C.F AGI ME. 5 6 SS ISAS Ties 6,8, 10

A

vi

Contents

Page

10 Del. ©. BOGE iii e Kier eee 1,2,8

50 Dek. ©. FACE ECOME) ais ac ke dh desea Havessbereni 7

50) SPRL, S. SER wivecccvendccouts 2,3, 7, 8,9, 10,11, 19

BO Somk. Ci SO GRACED 6a oi Wei deas i, 6, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18

EO pens G. BOOEACAD Sebuce ses ctcer i, 6, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17

Rule Cited:

Suorenns Court REIS FS. so cc in ce cbis ccasiveadcches 1

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Judgment Order of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit Dated

Awgast 1D, LHS Se acces ie cea cvoresuvsticges la

Appendix B — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Dated May 14,

BOUG 0 kan cece donne wnedeusn es beseeiene Gunnin 3a

Appendix C — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Filed February 7,

EWOW dc cocsenescdsesnseaeuestuaveesbsentusss Sa

Appendix D — Memorandum Opinion and Order of

the United States District Court for the District of

Delaware Dated January 18, 1996 .............. 7a

vii

Contents

Appendix E — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Dated September

ie ee aitdieccht Uv as ekiecsed Mi dateedie. 63.

Appendix F — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Dated June 14,

ROS hen ata cciy Shake oes U5 bekdiuescic cs...

Appendix G — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Dated June 14,

NE BG 0a Whe Kaen kiko wh UR eats Bkdlewek,

Appendix H — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Dated June 14,

Pe ei oei i oie cea OO ek Ce ac

Appendix I — Order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware Dated February

Se CH a 8 ERs CN ecawei a veel RO

Page

18a

21a

23a

25a

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion in the United States District Court for the

District of Delaware in Windley v. Potts Welding & Boiler Repair

Company, Inc., et al., Civil Action No. 94-432-SLR, Memorandum

Opinion dated January 18, 1996 (Sue L. Robinson, District

Judge) is unreported. The United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit affirmed the Delaware District Court’s entry

of Summary Judgment, without Opinion.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioners seek to invoke jurisdiction in the Supreme Court

of the United States based upon 28 U.S.C. § 1254 which confers

jurisdiction upon decisions of the United States Courts of

Appeals by Writ of Certiorari granted upon the Petition of any

party to any civil or criminal case, before or after rendition of

judgment or decree. Petitioners’ Fetition for Certiorari seeks

review of the Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit dated August 19, 1996 affirming the decision

of the United States District Court for the District of Delaware

entering Summary Judgment in favor of The City of Dover and

is timely filed within 90 days of the Court of Appeals’ decision,

pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 13.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

A. 10 Del. C. § 4011 (1979)

§ 4011. Immunity from Suit

(a) Except as otherwise expressly provided

by statute, all governmental entities and their

employees shall be immune from suit on any

and all tort claims seeking recovery of

2

damages. That a governmental entity has the

power to sue or be sued, whether appearing

in its charter or statutory enablement, shall

not create or be interpreted as a waiver of

the immunity granted in this subchapter.

(b) Notwithstanding § 4012 of this title, a

governmental entity shall not be liable for

any damage claim which results from:

(3) the performance or failure to

exercise or perform a discretionary

function or duty, whether or not the

discretion be abused and whether or

not the statute, charter, ordinance,

order, resolution, regulation or resolve

under which the discretionary

function or duty is performed is valid

or invalid.

10 Del. C. § 4011 (1979).

B. 10 Del. C. § 4012 (1979)

§ 4012. Exceptions to Immunity.

A governmental entity shall be exposed to

liability for its negligent acts or omissions

causing property damage, bodily injury or

death in the following instances:

(1) In its ownership, maintenance or

use of any motor vehicle, special

mobile equipment, trailer, aircraft or

other machinery or equipmeni,

whether mobile or stationary.

So ee een

5

+

4

3

;

3

(2) In the construction, operation or

maintenance of any public building or

the appurtenances thereto, except as

to historic sites or uildings,

structures, facilities or equipment

designed for use primarily by the

public in connection with public

outdoor recreation.

(3) In the sudden and accidental

discharge, disposal, release or escape

of smoke, vapors, soot, fumes, acids,

alkaline, and toxic chemicals, liquids

or gases, waste materials or other

irritants, contaminants or pollutants

into or upon land, the atmosphere or

any watercourse or body of water.

10 Del. § 4012 (1979).

STATEMENT OF CASE

This is a personal injury action to recover for injuries

suffered by William T. Windley, Jr., on November 18, 1992

during repair of The Unit No. 2 Air Preheater at the McKee

Run Generating Station in Dover, Delaware. Jurisdiction in the

United States District Court for the District of Delaware was

appropriate based upon diversity of citizenship with the amount

in controversy exceeding Fifty Thousand Dollars, pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1332(a).

The City of Dover has owned the McKee Run Generating

Station for nearly thirty (30) years. The purpose of the McKee

Run Generating Station is to generate electricity for use by the

public, as well to create revenue for the City of Dover. In fact,

4

sale of electrical power generates more than fifty percent of the

City of Dover’s total revenue. In fiscal year 1992/93 alone, the

McKee Run Generating Station added $43,890,567 in revenue

to the City of Dover. The Unit Number 2 Air Preheater is part of

the Power Block Building at McKee Run. In the course of The

City’s normal use of the Unit Number 2 Air Preheater, every

year since the machine was purchased, the air preheater has

required maintenance. Each year, the City solicits bids from

members of the public for hourly and overtime rates for craft,

labor and supervision for the repair of three (3) steam boilers

and two (2) hot water boilers, miscellaneous heat exchangers,

condensers and plant piping for the period July 1 through June

30 of the succeeding year. The contractors, and their employees,

awarded the contract are members of the public who have access

to the plant during the course of the repairs. The invitation to

bid refers each bidder to the City of Dover’s Safety Standards

and requires compliance with same.

On May 19, 1992, Potts Welding & Boiler Repair Co., Inc.

(hereinafter “Potts”) submitted its bid for the period of July 1,

1992 through June 30, 1993. Potts had been the successful bidder

for the work at McKee Run for the prior twenty-one (21) years

and was once again awarded the contract. Potts began work on

the air preheaters on Units 1 and 2 on August 21, 1992. Potts

subcontracted some of the labor to WSMW Industries, Inc.

(hereinafter “WSMW”), a company that had previously

subcontracted work for Potts at McKee Run. WSMW’’s personnel

performed the initial repair on the air preheater for Unit Number

2. Robert Claussen, McKee Run Plant Manger, actively

supervised the repairs. The City of Dover found the WSMW

repairs more extensive than planned and incorrectly performed.

WSMW stopped working at the end of October, 1992.

Potts contracted with Erectors, Inc. to replace WSMW.

Erectors hired Petitioner, William Windley, a union millwright

Fe ag, ee Te ee a

Sitios. nari denne

5

employed by a subcontractor and member of the public, as its

general foreman. William Windley and the Erectors crew started

work on November 6, 1992, approximately one (1) week after

WSMwW left. William Windley observed that the welds WSMW

used on the upper and lower seal rings on the Unit Number 2

Air Preheater exacerbated the machine’s problems. Robert

Claussen agreed. To accelerate the repairs to the welds, Robert

Claussen required a millwright to sit inside the rotating drum

with a special tool to reduce the built up welds. Robert Claussen

pressured Potts and Erectors to expedite repairs to the preheater,

forcing work around the clock.

On Novewaber 18, 1992, at approximately 10:30 p.m.,

William Windley bent over to talk to Robert Fairful, another

employee, who was inside the rotating drum of the Unit Number

2 Air Preheater machining off the excess welds. The rotating

drum had been stopped. William Windley placed his head and

upper torso inside the access panel, thinking that all of the gate

valves had been closed and the motor lever had been locked off

according to procedure. Mr. Windley’s right knee hit the quick

action lever. Suddenly and without warning, the drum rotated,

crushing Mr. Windley’s pelvis against the side of the panel. In

the confusion, William Windley’s leg again hit the valve,

activating the rotating drum once more and further crushing his

pelvis. This time, George Duncan, a Potts employee, closed

down the gate valve.

The City of Dover Safety Rules, printed in or around 1972,

provide a forty-three (43) page comprehensive procedure for

accident prevention. Robert Claussen stated that the Rules

applied to employees of the City of Dover and to contractors

and subcontractors brought in to McKee Run to perform repairs.

Although the Invitation to Bid referred to the Safety Rules, the

City of Dover admits that the Rules were not furnished to

6

WSMW or Erectors employees for the work that was to be

performed in 1992 and 1993. Robert Claussen testified that he

did not realize the Rules were in existence until after the

accideni. Norris Hudson, Safety Coordinator for the City of

Dover, indicated that he gave a copy of the Rules to John Jones,

a principal at Potts, many years before the accident. Norris

Hudson felt no need to supply any more copies of the Rules to

Potts. Mr. Hudson rationalized if outside workers wanted a copy

of the Safety Rules, they could have requested same. Mr. Hudson

presupposed their knowledge that such rules existed.

The Safety Rules, in detail, provide the appropriate method

for entering confined spaces such as the rotating drum in the air

preheater. The Rules state that before an employee enters a

confined space, he shall notify his supervisor and shall see that

all valves, switches, control devices and other operating

mechanisms have been positioned, secured and tagged with

danger tags, and are in the “off” position. The rules state that,

when working with pneumatic airlines, the air hose should be

disconnected from the air source before making adjustments.

More importantly, under no circumstances shall safety be

sacrificed for speed. Each of these Rules were violated and

caused William Windley’s accident.

On November 11, 1995, the City of Dover moved the

District Court for Summary Judgment contending that the City

of Dover is immune from liability pursuant to the County and

Municipal Tort Claims Act, 10 Del. C. § 4010, et seg. On

November 22, 1995, William and Victoria Windley filed their

Answering Brief in Opposition to the City of Dover’s Motion

for Summary Judgment contending that the City of Dover

remains liable for William Windley’s injuries based upon the

“equipment” and “public building” exceptions to governmental

immunity set forth in 10 Del. C. § 4012(1) and (2). The Windley’s

also asserted that the City of Dover’s failure to comply with or

7

enforce its own mandatory safety rules is not a “discretionary

act” within the meaning of 10 Del. C. § 4011(b)(3).

In an Order and Opinion dated January 18, 1996, the District

Court entered Summary Judgment in favor of The City of Dover,

concluding that the McKee Run Generating Station and its

appurtenances do not constitute “public buildings” for purposes

of the public building exception to immunity because workers,

such as William Windley, performing maintenance at the McKee

Run Generating Station do not use the facility for its “public

purpose”. (App. at 7a-17a). The District Court also concluded

that the air preheater at issue does not constitute “equipment”

for purposes of the “equipment exception” to immunity because

it does not pose a particular hazard to members of the public in

its normal use or application. (App. at 7a-17a).

On February 14, 1996, William and Victoria Windley timely

filed a Notice of Appeal of the District Court’s January 18, 1996

Order to the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit,

contending that the District Court’s entry of Summary Judgment

was inappropriate based upon the “equipment” and “public

building” exceptions to governmental immunity. In addition,

the Windley’s asserted that the City of Dover’s failure to comply

with its mandatory safety rules is not a “discretionary act” within

the meaning of 10 Del. C. § 4011(b)(3). Jurisdiction in the Court

of Appeals was appropriate based upon 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

On March 20, 1996, William and Victoria Windley

Petitioned the Delaware District Court for Certification of

Questions of Law to the Delaware Supreme Court relating to

the proper interpretation of 10 Del. C. § 4012.

On May 14, 1996, the District Court entered an Order

denying William and Victoria Windley’s Petition for Certification

of Questions of Law. (App. at 3a-4a).

8

On August 15, 1996, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit heard oral argument on the Windley’s appeal

of the District Court’s January 18, 1996 Order. In an Order dated

August 19, 1996, the Court of Appeals affirmed the decision of

the District Court, without Opinion. (App. at la-2a).

This is William T. and Victoria Windley’s Petition for

Certiorari for Review of the Court of Appeals’ August 19, 1996

Order.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

J,

THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION DEPARTS

FROM THE EXPRESS LANGUAGE OF 10 DEL. C. § 4012

AND DELAWARE APPELLATE COURT DECISIONS

REGARDING THE SCOPE OF THE EXCEPTIONS TO

GOVERNMENTAL IMMUNITY.

A. The Exceptions to Immunity Set Forth in 10 Del. C.

§ 4012 are Designed to Provide Private Citizens with Relief

from the Injustices that are Inherent in the Doctrine of

Sovereign Immunity.

Section 4011 of the County and Municipal Tort Claims Act,

10 Del. C. §§ 4010, et seg. provides government entities with

immunity from suit on tort claims seeking recovery of damages.

Section 4012 of the Act delineates the exceptions to § 4011 and

provides:

§ 4012. Exceptions to Immunity.

A governmental entity shall be exposed to

liability for its negligent acts or omissions

9

causing property damage, bodily injury or

death in the following instances:

(1) In its ownership, maintenance or use of

any motor vehicle, special mobile equipment,

trailer, aircraft or other machinery or

(2) In the construction, operation or

maintenance of any public building or the

appurtenances thereto, except as to historic

sites or buildings, structures, facilities or

equipment designed for use primarily by the

public in connection with public outdoor

recreation.

(3) In the sudden and accidental discharge,

dispersal, release or escape of smoke, vapors,

soot, fumes, acids, alkaline, and toxic

chemicals, liquids or gases, waste materials

or other irritants, contaminants or pollutants

into or upon land, the atmosphere or any

watercourse or body of water. (62 Del. Laws,

c. 124, § 2).

10 Del. C. § 4012.

In Moore v. Wilmington Housing Authority, 619 A.2d 1166

(Del. 1993), the Delaware Supreme Court considered the General

Assembly’s intent in enacting the County and Municipal Tort

Claims Act and determined that “the General Assembly was

answering [the Delaware Supreme] Court’s call to provide

wronged private citizens with relief from the injustices that are

inherent in the Doctrine of Sovereign Immunity”. Moore, supra,

619 A.2d at 1169 (citing Fiat Motors v. Mayor and Council,

498 A.2d 1062, 1066-67 (Del. 1985). Moreover, the Delaware

aii ig |

vo 2

10

Supreme Court stated, “the General Assembly intended to strike

a balance between the rights of individuals and the interests of

society in general, as represented by municipal entities”. Jd.

It is well-settled that Federal Courts in diversity cases must

apply the substantive law of the state whose laws govern the

action. Griggs v. BK Corporation, 981 F.2d 1429, 1431 (3d Cir.

1992). The Court of Appeals’ decision in the case, sub judice,

departs from the express language of 10 Del. C. § 4012 and

Delaware appellate authority regarding the application of the

exceptions to governmental immunity. Therefore, this case

presents the opportunity for this Court to clarify the Federal

Courts’ obligations with respect to the application of state

substantive law in diversity actions, and to redress the injury to

Petitioners caused by the failure of the courts below to consider

relevant Delaware authority relating to the scope of the

exceptions to governmental immunity set forth in 10 Del. C.

§ 4012.

SS ee ee ee

ee ee a

B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Ignores the Delaware |

Superior Court’s Holding in Buckalew v. Cranston Heights }

Fire Co., Inc., Which Extends § 4012 Protection to Members |

of the Public Injured While Performing Maintenance or

Repairs at a Public Building.

The “public building exception” to governmental immunity

is set forth in § 4012(2) of the County and Municipal Tort Claims

Act, 10 Del. C. § 4010, et seg. Under § 4012(2), the City of

Dover is liable for its negligent acts or omissions causing bodily

injury:

(2) In the construction, operation or

maintenance of any public building or the

appurtenances thereto, except as to historic

sites or buildings, structures, facilities or

11

equipment designed for use primarily by the

public in connection with public outdoor

recreation.

10 Del. C. § 4012(2).

In the case at bar, the Court of Appeals’ decision to affirm

the Delaware District Court’s entry of Summary Judgment based

upon its conclusion that entry of a public building for the purpose

of performing maintenance or repairs in furtherance of the

building’s public purpose does not constitute “use of the building

for its public purpose” pursuant to 10 Del. C.§ 4012(2), is

directly contrary to Delaware appellate authority.

The Delaware Supreme Court’s decision in Moore, supra.,

619 A.2d at 1169, is the first published opinion by Delaware

Courts defining or analyzing the meaning of the term “public

building” as it is used in 10 Del. C. § 4012(2). Id. The issue in

Moore was whether a leased dwelling unit owned by a public

housing authority is a “public building” for purposes of 10 Del.

C. § 4012(2). The Delaware Supreine Court in Moore, supra.,

outlined the appropriate inquiry to be used by courts in

determining which structures constitute “public buildings”, for

purposes of § 4012. Under Moore, supra., a “public building”

is:

1. A building and its appurtenances;

2. operated and maintained by a government

entity for a public purpose; and

3. open to those members of the public who

use it for its intended purpose.

Id. at 1174-1175.

12

Applying this test, the Delaware Supreme Court, in Moore,

concluded that the dwelling unit at issue was a “building”,

thereby satisfying the first criteria for a public building. The

Court also found that providing low cost housing to needy

citizens constitutes a legitimate public policy objective, thereby

satisfying the second criteria. In addition, the Court concluded

that the building was open to members of the public (tenants

and guests) who use it for its intended purpose, thereby satisfying

the third criteria for a public building. Because all three elements

of a public building were present, the Delaware Supreme Court

concluded that the dwelling unit at issue is a “public building”

for purposes of 10 Del. C. § 4012(2). Id.

The Moore decision does not address the issue of whether

entry into a building by members of the public for the purpose

of performing maintenance or repairs in furtherance of the

building’s public purpose objectives constitutes “use of the

building for its intended purpose”, within the meaning of 10

Del. C. § 4012(2). In addition, no Delaware Supreme Court

decision since Moore addresses this issue.

However, the Delaware Superior Court’s decision in

Buckalew v. Cranston Heights Fire Co., Inc., Del. Super., C.A.

No. 685C-SE-122, Stiftel, J. (April 21, 1987), refused to permit

governmental immunity where a member of the public was

injured while performing maintenance. In Buckalew, supra, a

case factually similar to the instant case, the plaintiff entered

onto the property of the defendant fire company for the purpose

of performing maintenance to a fire truck. The plaintiff suffered

injury when he slipped and fell on an accumulation of ice and

snow outside the doorway to the garage of the fire company.

The defendant fire company moved for Summary Judgment on

the basis of its immunity under the County and Municipal Tort

Claims Act. The piaintiff argued that the “public building

exception” to immunity applied. The Delaware Superior Court

13

found that the public building exception applied and denied

Summary Judgment. Significantly, there was no finding that

the plaintiff’s entry onto the property to perform maintenance

failed to constitute “use of the building for its public purpose.”

In the case sub judice, Petitioners offered the Delaware

Superior Court’s decision in Buckalew, supra., in support of their

argument that William Windley’s injury while performing

maintenance and repairs to the Unit Number Two Air Preheater,

falls squarely within the “public building” exception to immunity

set forth in 10 Del. C. § 4012(2). Instead, the Court of Appeals

affirmed the District Court’s decision, which did not consider

Buckalew.

The Court of Appeals’ approach is contrary to the specific

language of 10 Del. C. § 4012(2), which expressly states that

government entities are liable for negligent acts or omissions in

the “construction, operation or maintenance of any public

building or the appurtenances thereto”. 10 Del. C. § 4012(2)

(Emphasis added). More importantly, the District Court’s failure

to consider the Delaware Superior Court’s decision in Buckalew,

supra., was improper and inconsistent with the Court’s obligation

to “apply the substantive law of the state whose laws govern the

action.” Griggs v. BK Corporation, 981 F.2d 1429, 1431 (3d

Cir. 1992). The Court of Appeals’ omission thus presents an

important question of federal judicial policy, review of which

by the United States Supreme Court, is appropriate.

C. This Court Should Grant Certiorari to Review the Court

of Appeals’ Decision to Affirm Summary Judgment Based

Upon the “Equipment Exception” Where the Scope and

Application of the Equipment Exception are the Subjects of

Numerous Conflicting Decisions Under Delaware Law.

The decisions of Delaware Courts are conflicting with

14

respect to the scope of the “equipment exception” to

governmental immunity set forth in 10 Del. C. § 4012(1). In

the absence of a definitive statement on this issue, inconsistent

decisions have been handed down by Delaware courts, creating

uncertainty among both plaintiffs and defendants in Delaware.

In the case, sub judice, the Court of Appeals’ decision to affirm

the District Court’s entry of Summary Judgment based upon its

determination that the Air Preheater involved in William

Windley’s accident does not constitute “other equipment” for

purposes of 10 Del. C. § 4012(1) was inappropriate, given the

uncertain state of Delaware law on this issue. Additionally, the

Court of Appeals’ decision directly conflicts with Delaware’s

express public policy in favor of a liberai interpretation of the

“equipment exception.” See, Sussex County Delaware v. Morris,

610 A.2d 1354 (Del. 1992); Sadler v. New Castle County, 565

A.2d 917 (Del. 1989); Porter v. Delmarva Power & Light Co.,

488 A.2d 899 (Del. Super. 1984).

In Porter, supra., the Delaware Superior Court advocated a

“liberal but realistic” application of the equipment exception.

At issue in Porter was whether the City of Dover was immune

from suit for injuries to a minor plaintiff who climbed a metal

utility pole and came in contact with high voltage electric

transmission lines, owned, operated and maintained by the City.

The Superior Court defined “equipment”, for purposes of 10

Del. C. § 4012(1), as “the implements (as machinery or tools)

used in an operation or activity”. Jd. at 906. The Delaware

Superior Court interpreted § 4012(1) broadly and held that the

City was not immune from liability for the minor’s injuries

because poles and lines were “equipment” for purposes of

§ 4012(1). Id.

In addition, in Ritgert v. City of Rehobeth Beach, 655 F.

Supp. 1101 (D. Del. 1987), the Delaware District Court expanded

the Porter Court’s definition of “equipment” under 10 Del. C.

15

§ 4012(1). The District Court concluded that under Delaware

law, the definition of “equipment”, for purposes of § 4012(1),

includes items which “play a vital role in some operation or

activity”. Jd. The District Court also reitereted the Delaware

Superior Court’s admonition in Porter, supra., for liberal but

realistic application of the “equipment” exception. /d.

The Delaware Supreme Court considered the “equipment

exception” in Sadler, supra., 565 A.2d at 917. In Sadler, the

Delaware Supreme Court acknowledged the ambiguous State

of Delaware law on this issue, and expressed its reluctance to

“impose a precise standard for application of the equipment

exception”. Sadler, supra, 565 A.2d at 923. Instead, the Sadler

Court advocated a broad definition of “equipment”, which

includes items “of unusual design or size ... which in their

normal use or application pose a particular hazard to members

of the public”. Jd.

In Sussex County Delaware, supra., 610 A.2d at 1354, the

Delaware Supreme Court considered the scope of the equipment

exception once again and advocated an even broader reading of

the statute to include “defective or inappropriate” equipment,

Stating:

Implicit in Sadler is the principle that use of

defective or inappropriate machinery or

equipment may divest a governmental entity

of immunity under Section 4012 irrespective

of Section 4011(b)(3) {relating to

discretionary acts].

Sussex County, supra, 610 A.2d at 1358.

In contrast, other Delaware decisions appear to narrow the

scope of the “equipment exception”. See, e.g., Triple C. Railcar

16

Service, Inc. v. City of Wilmington, 630 A.2d 629 (Del. 1993);

Bordas v. City of Newark, Del. Super., C.A. No. 90 C-09-182,

Taylor, J. (April 10, 1992) (clogged storm drain does not trigger

the equipment exception).

In Triple C. Railcar, supra, a property owner brought an

action for damages arising from a series of floods allegedly

caused by a clogged tidegate which was owned and operated by

the City of Wilmington. The plaintiff contended that the City

was not entitled to immunity for its negligent maintenance of

the tidegate because the tidegate qualifies as “other equipment”

for purposes of 10 Del. C. § 4012(1). The Delaware Supreme

Court disagreed and held that the “other equipment exception”

was inapplicable because the tidegate did not have characteristics

similar to objects that are mobile and/or objects that are

particularly hazardous to the public in its normal use. The

Delaware Supreme Court construed § 4012(1) narrowly and

concluded that the tidegate only became dangerous through

negligent repair. The Delaware Supreme Court also found that

there was no causative connection between the tidegate and the

plaintiff’s damages.

The Triple C. Railcar decision is problematic in that it is

inconsistent with the Delaware Supreme Court’s decision in

Sadler, supra., rejecting the need for physical similarity between

the equipment at issue and that enumerated in the statute, and

requiring only that equipment be of a similar “type” to that set

forth in the statute. The Sadler Court went on to define

equipment of a “similar type” as that with “potential to inflict

damages and injury when negligently maintained or used.”

Sadler, supra., 565 A.2d at 923.

More importantly, the Triple C. Railcar decision is

inconsistent with the plain language of 10 Del. C. § 4012(1)

under which governmental entities are liable for negligent acts

or omissions causing bodily injury:

os

8 aE a ae Oe a Mao?

AP RS RS Ae

Be SAE CUE SB A REN EIEN +g

ARE OP RE,

17

(1) In its ownership, maintenance or use of

any motor vehicle special mobile equipment,

trailer, aircraft or other machinery or

equipment, whether mobile or stationary.

10 Del. C. § 4012(2).

The Court of Appeals’ decision in the case at bar ignores

the conflicting decisions regarding the “equipment exception”

under Delaware law and affirms the District Court’s conclusion

that maintenance of a product is not part of its “normal use or

application” for purposes of 10 Del. C. § 4012(1), despite the

express language of § 4012(1) which imposes liability for

injuries arising out of “maintenance” of equipment.

Significantly, no published Delaware Supreme Court Opinion

addresses this issue.' In the absence of an affirmative statement

by the Delaware Supreme Court on this issue, the Court of

Appeals was required to predict how Delaware’s highest Court

would rule, or certify this case to the Delaware Supreme Court

for resolution of this issue. The foregoing examination of

Delaware appellate authority establishes that Court of Appeals’

decision to exclude maintenance from the “normal use” of the

air preheater is contrary to the express language of the statute,

as well as the policy underlying Delaware’s exceptions to

governmental immunity, namely to “provide private citizens with

relief from the injustices that are inherent in the Doctrine of

Sovereign Immunity.” Moore, supra., 619 A.2d at 1169 (citing

Fiat Motors v. Mayor and Council, Del. Supr., 498 A.2d 1062,

1066-67 (1985). Application of the approach advocated by the

Court of Appeals in the case at bar will have the undesirable

1. On March 20, 1996, William and Victoria Windley Petitioned the

Delaware District Court to certify this question to the Supreme Court of

Delaware for resolution. On May 14, 1996, the Windley’s Petition for

Certification was denied on jurisdictional grounds. (App. at 3a through 4a).

18

effect of excluding from relief al! Delaware workers injured

during maintenance or repair of equipment owned by

government entities. Such an approach will render the

“equipment exception” virtually meaningless.

The Court of Appeals’ decision to affirm the District Court’s

entry of Summary Judgment clearly departs from the express

language of 10 Del. C. § 4012(1) and Delaware Appellate

decisions regarding the scope of the “equipment exception.”

Therefore, review of the Court of Appeals’ decision by the United

States Supreme Court and certification of the issues relating to

the 10 Del. C. § 4012 exceptions to governmental immunity are

appropriate and necessary to review the propriety of the Court

of Appeals’ decision to affirm Summary Judgment, particularly

where the scope and application of the “equipment exception”

are the subjects of. numerous conflicting decisions under

Delaware law.

19

CONCLUSION

The foregoing establishes that the Court of Appeals’ decision

to affirm the District Court’s entry of Summary Judgment departs

from the express language of 10 Del. C. § 4012 and is

inconsistent with decisions of the Delaware Courts regarding

the scope and application of the “public building” and

“equipment” exceptions to governmental immunity. The Court

of Appeals’ decision thus implicates important questions of

federal judicial policy, review of which by the United States

Supreme Court, is appropriate. For all of the reasons set forth

herein, Petitioners William T. and Victoria Windley pray that

this Court grant a Writ of Certiorari to review the August 19,

1996 decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN J. POKINIEWSKI, JR.

Counsel of Record

SOL H. WEISS

KRISTIN WERNER

ANAPOL, SCHWARTZ, WEISS

& COHAN, PC.

1900 Delancey Place

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 735-1130

(215) 735-2098

LOIS J. DAWSON

712 West Street

Wilmington, Delaware 19801

(302) 984-0331

Attorneys for Petitioners

oor

we <a

a Dee BEY eee te Bad,

PORE, BEE SIN MO NET iH

aA

la

APPENDIX A — JUDGMENT ORDER OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD

CIRCUIT DATED AUGUST 19, 1996

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-7127

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY; VICTORIA WINDLEY, his wife

Vv.

POTTS WELDING AND BOILER REPAIR COMPANY, INC.,

a Delaware Corporation; MSMW INDUSTRIES, INC., A

Delaware Corporation; CITY OF DOVER: THE BABCOCK &

WILCOX COMPANY, a Delaware Corporation; ABB AIR

PREHEATER, JNC., A Delaware Corporation

ERECTORS, INC., A DELAWARE CORPORATION ;

Third-party Defendant

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR.; VICTORIA WINDLEY, his wife,

Appellants

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Delaware

(D.C. Civ. No. 94-00432)

District Judge: Honorable Sue L. Robinson

Argued August 15, 1996

2a

Appendix A

BEFORE: GREENBERG and ALITO, Circuit Judges

and DEBEVOISE, District Judge*

JUDGMENT ORDER

After consideration of the contentions raised by appellants,

it is

ADJUDGED and ORDERED that the judgment of the

district court entered January 19, 1996, be and is hereby

affirmed.

Costs taxed against appellants.

BY THE COURT:

s/ illegible

Circuit Judge

ATTEST

s/ illegible

Chief Deputy Clerk

Dated: August 19, 1996

* Honorable Dickinson R. Debevoise, Senior Judge of the United States

District Court for the District of New Jersey, sitting by designation.

- Se ate

3a

APPENDIX B — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF

DELAWARE DATED MAY 14, 1996

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action No. 94-432-SLR

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER CORPORATION CO., INC., a

Delaware corporation, and CITY OF DOVER,

Defendants and Third-Party Plaintiffs,

v.

ERECTORS, INC., a Delaware corporation,

Third-Party Defendant.

ORDER

At Wilmington this 14th day of May, 1996, plaintiffs having

filed, on February 14, 1996, an appeal with the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (D.I. 172); and plaintiffs

having subsequently filed, on March 20, 1996, a petition for

certification of questions of law to the Supreme Court of

Delaware (D.I. 176);

4a

Appendix B

IT IS ORDERED that plaintiffs’ petition for certification is

denied, as the court lacks jurisdiction over the case. See United

States ex rel. Tillery v. Cavell, 294 F.2d 12, 18 (3d Cir. 1961),

cert. denied, Tillery v. Maroney, 370 U.S. 945 (1962).

s/ Sue L. Robinson

United States District Judge

Sa

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF

DELAWARE FILED FEBRUARY 7, 1996

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action No. 94-432-SLR

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR., and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

POTTS WELDIING & BOILER CORPORATION CO., INC., a

Delaware corporation and CITY OF DOVER,

Defendants and Third-Party Plaintiffs,

v.

ERECTORS, INC., a Delaware corporation

Third-Party Defendant.

ORDER

At Wilmington this 7th day of February, 1996,

IT IS ORDERED that a teleconference has been scheduled

for Thursday, February 15, 1996 beginning at 8:30 a.m. to

discuss the status of the on-going negotiations as a result of

6a

Appendix C

mediation in this matter. Counsel for plaintiffs Windley shall be

responsible for initiating the conference call.

s/ illegible

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

7a

APPENDIX D — MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

DATED JANUARY 18, 1996

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action No. 94-432-SLR

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR CO., INC., a Delaware

Corporation, WSMW INDUSTRIES, INC., a Delaware

Corporation, CITY OF DOVER, THE BABCOCK & WILCOX

CO., a Delaware Corporation, AND AIR PREHEATER CORP.,

succeeded by BABCOCK & WILCOX CO., a Delaware

Corporation,

Defendants,

and

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR CO., INC.,

Third Party Plaintiff,

v.

ERECTORS, INC., a Delaware Corporation,

Third Party Defendant.

8a

Appendix D

ORDER

At Wilmington this 18th day of Janyary, 1996, consistent

with the memorandum opinion issued this same date;

IT IS ORDERED that defendant City of Dover’s motion

for summary judgment (D.I. 150) is granted. The clerk is directed

to enter judgment in favor of defendant City of Dover.

s/ Sue L. Robinson

United States District Judge

9a

Appendix D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action No. 94-432-SLR

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR CO., INC., a Delaware

Corporation, and CITY OF DOVER,

Defendants and Third Party Plaintiffs,

v.

ERECTORS, INC., a Delaware Corporation,

Third Party Defendant.

Lois J. Dawson, Esquire, Wilmington, Delaware, Sol H. Weiss,

Esquire, and Kristin Werner, Esquire, of Anapol, Schwartz, Weiss

and Cohan, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, counsel for plaintiffs.

Robert K. Pearce, Esquire, of Trzuskowski, Kipp, Kelleher &

Pearch, P.A., Wilmington, Delaware, attorney for defendant City

of Dover.

William J. Cattie, II, Esquire, of Heckler & Cattie, Wilmington,

Delaware, attorney for defendant Potts Welding and Boiler

Repair Company, Inc.

10a

Appendix D

Raymond W. Cobb, Esquire, of Saul, Ewing, Remick & Saul,

Wilmington, Delaware, attorney for third party defendant

Erectors, Inc.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Dated: January 18, 1996

Wilmington, Delaware

s/ Sue L. Robinson

ROBINSON, District Judge

I, INTRODUCTION

Plaintiffs brought this diversity suit after William Windley

sustained severe injuries while repairing an air preheater at the

McKee Run Power Plant in Dover, Delaware. Defendant City

of Dover has moved for summary judgment on the grounds of

governmental immunity. For the reasons discussed below, the

court will grant defendant City of Dover’s motion for summary

judgment.

Il. BACKGROUND

The facts of the case relevant to this motion are not in

dispute. Defendant City of Dover owns and operates the McKee

Run Power Plant, which supplies electricity to the public and

generates a substantial amount of revenue for the city. (D.1. 153

at 3) In the spring of 1992, the city solicited bids for maintenance

on the plant’s equipment, as it had done each year for the nearly

thirty years that the plant had been operational. (D.1. 153 at 3)

The contract was awarded to Potts Welding and Boiler Repair

lla

Appendix D

Company (“Potts Welding”), which had performed repairs on

the McKee Run Plant for twenty-one years. (D.I. 153 at 4) Potts

Welding in turn subcontracted first with a company called

WSMW, and later with Erectors, Inc., to make repairs on the

plant's air preheater number 2. (D.I. 151 at 3; D.I. 153 at 4; D.1.

155 at 4) Plaintiff William Windley, a union millwright, was

hired by Erectors, Inc. as its general foreman on the McKee run

subcontract. (D.I. 153 at 4-5)

The air preheater is a large self-contained unit with no

external moving parts. (D.I. 151 at 5) During the repairs,

however, the preheater’s access panels were open, and a

millwright was working inside a rotating drum on the interior

of the preheater. (D.I. 151 at 3; D.I. 153 at 5; D.I. 155 at 6) The

accident occurred on November 18, 1992, after the rotating drum

had been stopped to allow Mr. Windley to lean into the access

panel and converse with the millwright inside the drum. As he

did so, Mr. Windley’s knee tripped a valve that caused the drum

to begin spinning. The drum pinned Mr. Windley to the side of

the panel, crushing his pelvis. Two of his coworkers managed

to stop the drum from rotating, but in the confusion Mr. Windley

again knocked against the valve, causing the drum to crush him

further. (D.I. 151 at 3-4; D.1. 153 at 6; D.1. 155 at 7-8)

Ill. DISCUSSION

A. Summary Judgment Standard

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c) provides that a party

is entitled to a summary judgment where “the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file,

together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issue of material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

12a

Appendix D

judgment as a matter of law.” A party seeking summary judgment

always bears the initial responsibility of informing the Court of

the basis for its motion, and identifying those portions of “the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,” which it

believes demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue of material

fact.

Defendant City of Dover’s motion for summary judgment

presents only a question of law, namely, whether the city is

immune from suit under 10 Del. Code § 4010 et seq. There is

no dispute among the parties as to the pertinent facts underlying

the City of Dover’s claim of immunity. This question, therefore,

is properly decided at the summary judgment stage.

B. Statutory Basis for Immunity

Delaware’s Tort Claims Act grants broad immunity to county

and municipal entities and their employees within the state. The

statute provides:

Except as otherwise expressly provided by

statute, all governmental entities and their

employees shall be immune from suit on any

and all tort claims seeking recovery of

damages. That a governmental entity has the

power to sue or be sued, whether appearing

in its charter or statutory enablement, shall

not create or be interpreted as a waiver of

the immunity granted in this subchapter.

10 Del. Code § 4011(a). This grant of immunity is waived only

__in a very narrow range of circumstances:

13a

Appendix D

A governmental entity shall be exposed to

liability for its negligent acts or omissions

causing property damage, bodily injury or

death in the following instances: (1) In its

ownership, maintenance or use of any motor

vehicle, special mobile equipment, trailer,

aircraft or other machinery or equipment,

whether mobile or Stationary. (2) In the

construction, operation or maintenance of

any public building or the appurtenances

thereto, except as to historic sites or

buildings, structure, facilities, or equipment

designed for use primarily by the public in

connection with public outdoor recreation.

(3) In the sudden and accidental discharge,

dispersal, release or escape of smoke, vapors,

soot, fumes, acids, alkalines and toxic

chemicals, liquids or gases, waste materials

or other irritants, contaminants or pollutants

into or upon land, the atmosphere or any

watercourse or body of water.

10 Del. Code § 4012. The statute further provides that

“(notwithstanding § 4012 ... a governmental entity shall not

be liable for any damage claim which results from ... [t]he

performance or failure to exercise or perform a discretionary

function or duty... .” 10 Del. Code § 4011(b).

In construing these provisions, the Delaware courts have

focused on the Act’s broad grant of immunity and have

interpreted the exceptions narrowly. Plaintiffs and crossclaim

defendants Potts Welding argue that the power plant is a public

building under § 4012(2), and that the air preheater falls under

l4a

Appendix D

the “other equipment” exception of § 4012(1). The opponents

of the motion also contend that the city cannot claim the blanket

protection of § 4011(b)(3) because the duty to maintain safety

was not discretionary. Because the court concludes that none of

the exceptions to immunity applies in this case, it is unnecessary

to decide whether the city’s actions were discretionary.

C. Public Building Exception

The opponents of the motion for summary judgment argue

that the McKee Run facility falls under the public building

exception set forth in § 4012(2). A building does not have to be

accessible to the general public to fit within the exception. The

Delaware Supreme Court has ruled that to qualify as a public

building, a structure must 1) fit the “ordinary dictionary

meaning” of the term “building”;' 2) serve a public purpose;

1. The court adopted the following definition of “building”:

1: a thing built: a: a constructed edifice designed to

stand more or less permanently, covering a space of

land, usu. covered by a roof and more or less

completely enclosed by walls, and serving as a

dwelling, storehouse, factory ... or other useful

structure — distinguished from structures not

designed for occupancy (as fences or monuments). . . .

Moore, 619A.2d at 1174, citing Webster's Third New International Dictionary

292 (1986) (emphasis added). It is not altogether clear to the court that the

McKee Run Generating Station fits the definition of a building or appurtenance

thereto. The moving party, however, has conceded that the structure in question

is an appurtenance to a building. Lacking more complete information, the

court will proceed on this assumption.

ee eT

So i Oe ee ee ee | ee

i dea tee

15a

Appendix D

and 3) be “open to those members of the public who use it for

its intended purpose.” Moore v. Wilmington Housing Authority,

619 A.2d 1166, 1174-75 (Del. Supr. 1993). The parties agree

that the McKee Run plant is a building, and that it serves the

public purposes of producing electricity and generating revenue

for the city. The remaining question, therefore, is whether it is

open to members of the public who use it for these purposes.

Plaintiffs and defendant Potts Welding argue that the

contractors responsible for making repairs at the McKee Run

plant are members of the public, and that their work constituted

use of the building for its intended purpose. The court cannot

agree. The agreed purposes of the McKee Run Generating

Station are generating electricity and raising money for the city.

The workers were not present at the facility for the purpose of

making electricity or making money for the city. No members

of the public must physically enter the power plant to obtain

their electricity or pay their electric bills. In its normal operation,

when the plant is in fact engaged in fulfilling its intended

purpose, no members of the public are required, or even

permitted, to come into contact with it at all. The court

concludes, therefore, that it would strain the definition of “public

building” to include within it the McKee Run Generating Station.

D. Equipment Exception

Plaintiffs and defendant Potts Welding maintain that the air

preheater in which William Windley was injured constitutes

“other machinery or equipment” under § 4012. Although the air

preheater would seem to fit a layman’s definition of equipment,

the Delaware courts have interpreted this term more narrowly,

employing the rule of ejusdem generis. Triple C. Railcar Service,

Inc. v. City of Wilmington, 630 A.2d 629 (Del. Supr. 1993);

16a

Appendix D

Sadler v. New Castle County, 565 A.2d 917, 923 (Del. Supr.

1989). This rule of construction states that where a general term

follows a series of specific terms, the general term is to be

construed as applying only to things of the same type as those

specifically enumerated. Black’s Law Dictionary 517 (6th ed.

1990). The Delaware Superior Court articulated the rationale

for this interpretive choice in ruling that a stretcher and

backboard used by paramedics are not equipment under the

Statute:

Motor vehicles, special mobile equipment as

defined in Title 21, trailers, and aircraft are

instruments which are commonly at the

center of tort suits and which, by virtue of

their potential to inflict damage and injury

when negligently maintained or used, are

subject to regulation under our laws. The

same cannot be said for the devices here

claimed to fall within the exception.

Sadler v. New Castle County, 524A.2d 18, 24 (Del. Super. 1987),

affirmed, 565 A.2d 917 (Del. Supr. 1989). The air preheater in

question bears no resemblance to the devices listed before “other

equipment” in the statute.

The Delaware Supreme Court further refined its definition

of equipment as “limited to those items of unusual design or

size, such as motor vehicles, aircraft or electric transmission

lines, which in their normal use or application pose a particular

hazard to members of the public.” Sadler, 565 A.2d at 923

(emphasis added). Plaintiffs maintain that the air preheater poses

a danger during “its contemplated use during maintenance.” (D.I.

153 at 21) (emphasis added). While the parties agree that the

17a

Appendix D

air preheater in question is of unusual size and design, it was

only in the abnormal circumstances of this particular repair that

it posed a danger. Under the narrow construction of the

exceptions demanded by the statute and case precedent, this

court cannot accept plaintiffs’ interpretation.

Crossclaim defendant Potts Welding maintains that the air

preheater constitutes “equipment” because it is part of the

municipal electric system. Potts Welding notes that electrical

utility poles and lines have been found to be equipment under

the statute, Porter v. Delmarva Power & Light Co., 432 A.2d

899 (Del. Super 1984), rev'd on other grounds, 547 A.2d 124

(Del. Supr. 1988), and argues that the air preheater, as an

appurtenance to the electrical system, also falls within the

equipment exception. The Delaware Supreme Court rejected a

nearly identical argument in Triple C Railcar. The mere fact

that an item is part of a utility System, the court ruled, does not

put the item itself in the category of public hazards addressed

in the equipment exception. Triple C Railcar Service, Inc., 630

A.2d at 632-33. The court distinguished the tidegate in question

in that case from the utility lines judged to be equipment in

Porter, and concluded that “{uJnlike a dam or tidegate, an electric

transmission line presents a constant, ever-present potential for

harm simply through contact, even when the equipment is

operating as intended.” Jd. at 632. Similarly, an air preheater

presents no constant danger of harm simply through contact.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the forgoing reasons, the court concludes that defendant

City of Dover is immune from suit under 10 Del. Code § 4010

et seq. The city’s motion for summary judgment, therefore, will

be granted. An order consistent with this meraorandum opinion

will issue.

18a

APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF

DELAWARE DATED SEPTEMBER 26, 1995

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action No. 94-432-SLR

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER CORPORATION CO., INC., a

Delaware corporation, and CITY OF DOVER,

Defendants and Third-Party Plaintiffs,

v.

ERECTORS, INC., a Delaware corporation,

Third-party Defendant.

ORDER

At Wilmington this 26th day of September, 1995, having

conferred with counsel;

IT IS ORDERED that:

1. Settlement Conference. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636, this

19a

Appendix E

matter is referred to Magistrate Judge Trostle for the purposes

of exploring the possibility of a settlement.

2. Discovery. All discovery (fact and expert) shall be

initiated so that it can be completed on or before December 22,

1995.

3. Discovery Disputes. Should counsel find they are unable

to resolve a discovery dispute, they shall jointly call the court

to schedule a time for an office conference or telephone

conference call to review the matter. Should counsel for a party

determine that a discovery dispute requires the court’s attention

for resolution, he/she shall so inform Opposing counsel and

discuss the dispute one final time before calling the court to

schedule an office conference or telephone conference call to

review the matter. Once a conference has been scheduled, each

party may file with the court prior to such conference a one-

page letter memorandum setting forth the dispute and its position

with respect thereto. Motions filed pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.

37 without benefit of the above-described informal procedure

shall be denied.

Thereafter, should the court find a motion and briefing are

necessary, it shall establish an appropriate briefing schedule.

4. Case and Issue Dispositive Motions. All case and issue

dispositive motions and an opening brief and affidavits, if any,

in support of the motion, shall be served and filed on or before

December 22, 1995. Briefing shall be presented pursuant to D.

Del. LR 7.1.2. If counsel agree that no case or issue dispositive

motions are contemplated, they shall so inform the Court on or

before December 22, 1995.

20a

Appendix E

5. Pretrial Conference. On Monday, February 26, 1996,

the court will hold a final pretrial conference pursuant to Fed.

R. Civ. P. 16(d) and D. Del. LR 16 with counsel beginning at

5:00 p.m. On or before February 12, 1996, plaintiffs’ counsel

shall forward to defendants’ counsel a draft of the pretrial order

with the information plaintiffs propose to include in the draft.

On or before February 19, 1996, defendants’ counsel shall, in

turn, provide plaintiffs’ counsel with comments on the plaintiffs’

draft and the information defendants propose to include in the

proposed order. Each party shall include in the draft pretrial

order an identification of each expert witness that party expects

to call to testify at the trial and a brief statement of the substance

of each opinion that expert will testify to at the trial. Unless

otherwise ordered by the court, the parties should assume that

filing the pretrial order satisfies the pretrial disclosure

requirement in Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(a)(3). Where a case is to be

tried to a jury, pursuant to D. Del. LR 47 and 51, the parties

should file proposed voir dire, instructions to the jury, and special

verdicts and interrogatories three full business days before the

final pretrial conference.

6. Trial. This matter is scheduled for a jury trial

commencing on Monday, March 4, 1996, in Courtroom No. 3,

Sixth Floor Federal Building, 844 King Street, Wilmington,

Delaware. For the purposes of completing pretrial preparations,

counsel should plan on each side being allocated a total number

of hours to present its case.

7. The parties shall direct any requests or questions

regarding the scheduling and management of this matter to

Deputy Clerk Lisa Friedkin at (302) 573-6129.

s/ Sue L. Robinson

United States District Judge

2la

APPENDIX F — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

DATED JUNE 14, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

CIVIL ACTION NO. 94-432-JLL

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICT ORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR, CO., INC., a Delaware

corporation, CITY OF DOVER, and ABB AIR PREHEATER,

INC., a Delaware corporation,

Defendants.

ORDER

The Court having granted defendant ABB Air Preheater

Inc.’s (“ABB Air Preheater”) motion for summary judgment,

(Docket Item [“D.I.”] 88), based on ABB Air Preheater’s statute

of repose defense pursuant to 10 Del. C. § 8127, and thus

dismissing the plaintiff’s claims against it on June 9, 1995, (D.I.

119), it is

ORDERED that defendant Potts Welding & Boiler Repair,

Co., Inc.’s cross-claim for contribution or indemnification

against ABB Air Preheater, (D.I. 91), and defendant City of

Dover’s crossclaim for contribution or indemnification against

ABB Air Preheater, (D.I. 92), are hereby dismissed.

22a

Appendix F

Dated: June 14, 1995.

s/ James L. Latchum .

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed and/or

delivered this date to:

Lois J. Dawson, Esq.

Sol H. Weiss, Esq.

William J. Cattie III, Esq.

Robert K. Pearce, Esq.

Daniel L. McKenty, Esq.

Kevin Gray, Acting Clerk of Court

23a

APPENDIX G — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

DATED JUNE 14, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

CIVIL ACTION NO. 94-432-JLL

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. AND VICT: ORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR, CO.., INC., a Delaware

corporation, CITY OF DOVER, and ABB AIR PREHEATER,

INC., a Delaware corporation,

Defendants.

ORDER

The Court having considered defendant City of Dover’s

motion for leave to file a third-party complaint against Erectors,

Inc., (Docket Item [“D.1.”] 93), and defendant Potts Welding &

Boiler repair Co., Inc.’s motion for leave to file a third-party

complaint against Erectors, Inc., (D.I. 94), and no objection

having been made within the time limits prescribed by the Local

Rules, it is

ORDERED that both motions are granted.

Dated: June 14, 1995.

24a

Appendix G

s/ James L. Latchum

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed and/or

delivered this date to:

Lois J. Dawson, Esq.

Sol H. Weiss, Esq.

William J. Cattie III, Esq.

Robert K. Pearce, Esq.

Daniel L. McKenty, Esq.

Kevin Gray, Acting Clerk of Court

25a

APPENDIX H — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FORTHE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

DATED JUNE 14, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

CIVIL ACTION NO. 94-432-JLL

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

v.

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR, CO., INC., a Delaware

corporation, CITY OF DOVER, and ABB AIR PREHEATER,

INC., a Delaware corporation,

Defendants.

ORDER

The Court having considered plaintiffs motion for leave to

amend their complaint pursuant to Rule 15 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure to assert a claim for punitive damages against

defendant City of Dover, (Docket Item [“D.I.”] 107), and

defendant City of Dover having waived its right to respond, (D.I.

110), as did the other remaining defendant Potts Welding &

Boiler Repair Co., Inc., (D.I. 115), it is

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion is granted.

Dated: June 14, 1995.

26a

Appendix H

s/ James L. Latchum

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed and/or

delivered this date to:

Lois J. Dawson, Esq.

Sol H. Weiss, Esq.

William J. Cattie III, Esq.

Robert K. Pearce, Esq.

Daniel L. McKenty, Esq.

Kevin Gray, Acting Clerk of Court

27a

APPENDIX I — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

DATED FEBRUARY 23, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR 1HE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

CIVIL ACTION NO. 94-432-JLL

WILLIAM T. WINDLEY, JR. and VICTORIA WINDLEY, his

wife,

Plaintiffs,

POTTS WELDING & BOILER REPAIR, CO., INC., a Delaware

corporation, MSMW INDUSTRIES, INC., a Delaware

corporation, CITY OF DOVER, and AIR PREHEATER, INC.,

succeeded by Babcock & Wilcox Company, a Delaware

corporation,

Defendants.

ORDER

This Court having held a hearing on February 22, 1995 at

10:00 A.M., and having considered the arguments of both

plaintiffs’ and defendant Air Preheater Corporation’s counsel

enters the following findings:

1. The plaintiffs have failed to respond to defendant Air

Preheater Corporation’s motion to dismiss pursuant to Rule 12

(b) (6) of the Federal pRules of Civil Procedure and thereby

violated Local Rule 7.1.2.

28a

Appendix I

2. The Court also finds that the complaint failed to state a

claim against defendant Air Preheater Cosperation voon which

relief can be granted.

WHEREFORE IT IS ORDERED THAT the complaint

against Air Preheater Corporation is hereby dismissed without

prejudice and the plaintiffs are granted leave to amend the

complaint with respect to that defendant on or before March 9,

1995, subject however to any applicable statute of limitations

or statute of repose which may be asserted in defense by Air

Preheater Corporation.

Dated: February 23, 1995.

s/ James L. Latchum

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed and/or

delivered this date to:

Lois J. Dawson, Esq.

Sol H. Weiss, Esq.

William J. Cattie II, Esq.

Jeffrey K. Martin, Esq.

_ Robert K. Pearce, Esq.

Daniel L. McKenty, Esq.

J. R. McAllister, Jr., Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.