Opposition Brief — Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupremes Gourt, U8

|

RIDBD |

APR 27 1999 E

No. 98-1428 ; oFFict F THE CEERK |

\ iE CRER

| ee

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

<

HERMAN CORN, Trustee,

Petitioner

THE CITY OF LAUDERDALE LAKES, et al.,

Respondents

o-—

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

SI

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

*

MicHAgEL C. MArrTson JAMES C. Brapy

Counsel of Record Brapy & Coker, P.A.

Cooney, MATTsSON, LANCE, 1318 Southeast 2nd Ave.

BLACKBURN, RICHARDS & Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316

O’ConNor, PLA.

2312 Wilton Drive

P.O. Box 14546

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33302

(954) 568-6669

Attorneys for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING Ci BOO) 225-4

OR CALL COLLECT (4 M2283)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

LIST OF APPENDICES .. lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Ce Ce ONE i

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS ene l

A. The Disputed Property af nd carseat emer I

B. The State Court Litigation . pian 4

C. The Federal Court Litigation..........-. 6

1. The District Court Litigation; District Corn I 6

?. The Eleventh Circuit Appeal; Corn Ill.

§ «= Corn’s First Petition for Writ of Certiorart

4. The District Court Litigation; District Corn

il

5 [he Eleventh Circuit Appeal; Corn IV .. / &

6. Corn’s Second Petition for Writ of Certiorart Y

rhe District Court Litigation; District Corn III

; LO

8 The Eleventh Circuit Appeal; Corn V 10

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD NOT ISSUE... 11

| THE WRIT SHOULD NOT ISSUE BECAUSE THE

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISIONS DO

NOT CONFLICT WITH THE RULINGS OF ANY

OTHER COURT AND ARE BASED ON THE

APPROPRIATE LEGAL STANDARDS AS PREVI

OUSLY ENUNCIATED BY THIS COURT...... 1]

TABLE OF CONTENTS Continued

re of the “right” alleged by

velow properly found that

vere had been no taking such that just com

pensation would be required

Corn, the courts

lan C ify of lig rd still does not apply toa

substantive due process claim, and may not

|

r-

be considered with respect to Corn’s Fifth

\mendment just compensation claim

LUSTON

LIST OF APPENDICES

Page

APPENDIX K

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Cir

cuit, Dated February 11, 1994.. ie ee wie ie

APPENDIX |

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Cir

cuit, Dated August 15, 1997 .. ees L1-L40

APPENDIX M

Initial Brief of Appell int Dated March 10,

1998 .. es ae ee re 2. M1-Mé

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pa

Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51 (1979)...

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 RPT ARs wu

City of Lauderdale Lakes v. Corn. 427 So. 2d 239 (Fla.

ith Laci SO wba

COrn Vv City of Lauderdale Lakes, bh Pirin 1557

(S.D. Fla. 1991), aff'd in part, rev’ 1 part, 997

F.2d 1369 (11th Cir. 1993). . ke Di

ehEeO CH © 668 Ob OS C6 Be

rn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 997 F.2d 1369 (11th

Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 114 S.Ct. 1400 (1994)

® 4 ry (stay yf I a7 c ie | T . 1 >

OT re City of Lauder dale LaKes 51] L 2 9 L018

Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 95 F.3d 1066 (11th

Cir. 1996) cert. denied 118 S.Ct. 44] (1997)

je * Bi ce Seeeierene hereon ware e th oe 2, 2.

Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes. 118 S.Ct. 441 (1997)

Corn v City of Lauderdale Lakes. unpublished

Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 | (1994) ...9, 14 15,

Duignan v. U.S., 274 U.S. 195 (1927)

e v. Sarasota Co., 908 F.2d 716 (llth Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, 498 U.S. 1120 (1991)

Husty v. U.S., 282 U.S. 694 (| (1931)

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979)... a

ge

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Loretto v. Teleprompter A

Cia SE Lee ee cee.

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

1003 (1992).....

AT 7 _ en P- , eee ; a. ~ ii > , , let:

Nollan v. California Coastal Comm'n. 483 U.S. 825

(1987)

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S.

104 (1978)

Ruckleshaus v. Monsanto Co.. 467 U.S. 986 (1984)..

Tennessee v. Dunlap, 6276 U.S. 312 (i976)... =.

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove, 896 F2d 1347

fjaen Cir 19. eae er tens

FEDERAL RULES AND STATUTES

42 U.S.C. § 1983....

United States Constitution

Fifth Amendment............. Wieranwires “ty cae © 3

Fourteenth Amendment.

state Statutes and Ordinances

City of Lauderdale Lakes

reese Na See CP, aR ye cd

Ordinance No. 549............

Ordinance No. 552......... Re ae ee te ee wa

Ordinance No. 568............ agi tg ait genta Crate

—

v-

r

>

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

Petitioner has reported a portion of the relevant facts

accurately, but has omitted a number of items important

tor this court’s review of the petition. Accordingly, while

the facts cited by petitioner are accepted as correct to the

extent they are presented, additional facts have been

provided for this court’s consideration.

A. The Disputed Property

Of the original 261 acres (purchased for less than

$5,000 per acre by Herman Corn) annexed into the City of

Lauderdale Lakes in 1966, only 8.5 acres are at issue (the

Property). (App. B2, Corn IV; TR 57, 194).! While the

majority of Corn’s parcel was designated for residential

or business development, the City was concerned about

Corn’s use of the Property and accordingly created a new

zoning category, C-1A, for that specific portion of land

(App. D14, Corn III). The C-1A classification gave the City

the right to control the use of the Property, so that any

thing developed on that land would first have to be

approved by the City Council. (Id.)

Corn developed most of the 261 acres in accordance

with his original development plan. (App. B2; Corn IV).

While approximately $100,000 was expended by Corn in

preparation of development, no portion of this sum was

' References to the transcript of the trial proceedings before

Judge Paine in the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida (August 12-15, 1991) shall be designated “TR”

followed by the appropriate page number

4

directed specifically towards development of the Prop-

erty. (/d.) In fact, Corn did not submit a preliminary site

plan for the Property until 1976, some ten years after his

development expenditures and the annexation of the 261

acres. (/d.)

Prior to that time, in 1975, the City retained the

services of a planner to create a land use plan and certify

its compliance with Broward County’s Master Land Use

Plan. (D14; Corn III). By law, all municipalities within

Broward County had to be in compliance with Broward

County’s Master Plan by November of 1977. (TR 466,

food

526-527). That planner, Michael Shiff, recommended

rezoning of the property in light of its juxtaposition to the

residential portions of Corn’s land. (Jd.) The land was not

rezoned at that time, however, insofar as no development

was pending and it was assumed that the problem would

be addressed in the final land use plan. (App. D15; Corn

ITI).

In April of 1977, prior to the City Council’s initiating

any definitive action to rezone the Property, Corn submit-

ted a preliminary site plan which called for the construc-

tion of a 67,000 square foot strip shopping center on the

front portion of the property and a 900-unit, 103,000

square foot mini-warehouse storage facility on the rear

portion of the subject property. (App. E2-3; Corn v. City of

Lauderdale Lakes, 771 F.Supp. 1557 (S.D.Fla. 1991)).

The preliminary site plans submitted by Corn were

reviewed by the City in the ordinary course of govern-

ment. There were various meetings of the Planning and

Zoning Committee wherein Corn’s plans for development

ae)

were discussed. (TR 98). Ultimately, after various meet-

ings and discussions with Corn, the Planning and Zoning

Board eventually recommended on a 2-1 vote that Corn’s

preliminary site plan, as amended, be approved. (App

D16; Corn III).

The matter then came before the City Council for

approval of the preliminary site plan, and was discussed

at several City Council meetings. (App. D17-36; Corn III)

Members of the Council and members of the community

expressed concerns with the proposed development. (Id.).

The specific concerns voiced were that the mini-ware-

house development would adversely affect the property

values of the residences across the canal, that it would

destroy the residential character of the neighborhood,

that it would adversely affect traffic in their neighbor-

hood, that the peace and quiet of the neighborhood

would be destroyed by trucks and vehicles coming to the

warehouses in the early morning and late evening, and

that it would represent a significant fire hazard. (Jd.).

On July 12, 1977, approval of Corn's preliminary site

plan again came up for vote after having been tabled on

several prior occasions. (App. 1D24-34; Corn III). At that

meeting,

548 which eliminated, among other things, mini-ware-

the City passed on first reading Ordinance No.

houses as a permissible use under a C-1 zoning classifica-

tion. (App. J12-17). The City also passed on first reading

Ordinance No. 549 which rezoned Corn’s land from C-1A

to B-3. (App. J18-21). The ordinances were not enacted at

that time. Public hearings were held on Ordinances Nos.

548 and 549; they actually became law in September of

1977. (App. D31: Corn IID).

At a later meeting, on luly 19, 1977, the City passed

in first reading Ordinance No. 552 which called for a 150-

dav moratorium on construction on all C-1 property

within the City boundaries. (App. 1034: Corn III). This

ordinance became effective on August 9 1977. (App. }24).

At the expiration of! the 150-day period, the moratorium

was extended for an additional 180-days by Ordinance

Nio. 568, at whi h time it expired by its own terms. | App

126-28)

rhe effect of this legislation was to prevent all con-

struction on the subject property between August 9, 1977

and September 20, 1977. (App. J1-28). After September 20,

1977. Corn could build on the Property in any manner

permitted by the B-3 business classification. (TR 234-36,

583; App. B3; Corn IV)

B. The State Court Litigation

Corn instituted state court litigation on August 11,

1977. challenging both the validity of Ordinances Nos.

548 549 and 552 and the City s refusal to approve his

preliminary site plans. (App. B4; Corn IV). He was ulti-

mately successful, and the City was directed to approve

Corn’s preliminary site plans upon their resubmission

with several modifications. (Id.) The basis for the judg-

ment in favor of Corn at the state court level was the

judge s finding that Corn had a vested right to the C-1A

classification, thus estopping the City from changing that

classification or denying Corn usage of the property in

accordance with that classification. (App. H17). The City

was therefore ordered to approve Corn’s plans upon the

correction of three deficiencies. (/d.)

The judgment of the state trial court was affirmed by

Florida's lei Dunne) Court of Appeal in February

1983. (App. Gl1-11; 427 So.2d at 244). The appellate court

found that as. an owner of property typically

acquires no vested rights in the continuation of existing

zoning under Florida law, Corn had relied in good faith

on the zoning and had made substantial change in the

nature and contour 0! the land so as to equitably estop

the City from a change in zoning. (App. G8-9).

rhe mandate of the Fourth District Court of Appeal

was issued on March 4, 1983. (App. E5: 771 F.Supp. 1557

(S.D.Fla. 1991)). Corn did not resubmit a preliminary site

plan which complied with the directives of the final judg-

ment until October of 1983, a period of seven months

following issuance of the mandate. (App. E5: 771 F.Supp.

1557). At that time, Corn was advise .d that it would be

necessary for him to plat the property in order to comply

with County, not City, requirements. (Id.). Corn then did

nothing for a period of another year until he filed a

Motion to Enforce Final Judgment 1n Broward County

Circuit Court seeking a ruling that he did not have to

comply with any ‘ ‘ounty ordinances ; which were not in

existence in 1977. (App E4: 771 F.Supp. 1557). The action

was unopposed by the City, and Corn obtained the ruling

he desired. (TR 597). De spite h having prevailed at the state

court level, however, Corn elected to forego building the

proposed project and instead proceeded with the federal

itigation. (App. D3-4; Corn III).

C. The Federal Court Litigation

1. The District Court Litigation; District Corn

I

Corn filed his federal action against the City in 1984

and the case proceeded to trial as a § 1983 action on

Corn’s claims that the City had taken his property with-

out just compensation. (App. B5; Corn IV).* The district

court found that the City had acted arbitrarily and capri-

ciously and had deprived Corn of a constitutionally pro-

tected property interest and therefore had violated his

substantive due process rights. (App. E21; 771 F.Supp.

1557 (S.D.Fla. 1991)). The court did not pass on the issue

of whether Corn’s Fifth Amendment rights had been

E23 Contam, wy

4

violated. (App. 3; 771 F.Supp. 1557)

On the question of damages, the court reviewed the

evidence presented by Corn and the City in light of the

parameters set forth in Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove,

896 F.2d 1347 (11th Cir. 1990). The court entered judgment

in favor of Corn in the amount of $727,875.02. Corn, not

satisfied with this amount, appealed the judgment as

inadequate. The City cross-appealed the determination

that it had violated Corn’s Fourteenth Amendment sub-

stantive due process rights.

Corn had dismissed his procedural due process and equal

protection claims, so that the only remaining counts at trial were

those alleging violations of the just compensation and

substantive due process clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments, resepctfully.

2. The Eleventh Circuit Appeal; Corn III

The Eleventh Circuit opinion held that the trial court

erred as a matter of law in its determination that the City

Lad violated Corn’s Fourteenth Amendment substantive

due process rights and, consequently, reversed the find

ing of liability (App. D1; Corn III). Corn’s claim that the

trial court had erred in its damage determinations was

rendered moot by the reversal. (/Jd.). Remand of the case

was limited to the issue of whether Corn could prevail on

his Fifth Amendment just compensation claim. (App

D57: Corn III).

3. Corn’s First Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Corn filed his first Petition with this court in Febru

ary, 1994, and attacked the Eleventh Circuit’s findings

with respect to his substantive due process claim. (App

K). This Petition was denied. Corn v. City of Lauderdale

Lakes, 511 U.S. 1018 (1994)

4. the District Court Litigation; District Corn

Il

Upon remand, the district court addressed (

Fifth Amendment just compensation claim for the first

time. The district court received additional legal argu

ment from the parties in the form of written status

reports, but received no additional evidence beyond that

presented in the August 1991 bench trial. (App. C10)

The district court defined the legal issue presented as

follows:

CORN asserts through his just compensation

laim that the impact of the CITY’s invalid regu

lations effected a taking of his property interest

in either the Subject Property or his proposed

development. Therefore, the issue in this case is

the land or in the development project) has been

taken without just compensation by virtue of the

CITY’s ordinances and action affecting each

Ultimately, the district court rejected Corn’s just com

|

pensation claim with respect to both the mini-warehouse

project and

the Property. With respect to the former, the

rt found that Corn did not have a vested right to the

development of his mini-warehouse project because the

City had not issued a permit to Corn upon which he

relied to his detriment, nor did Corn have a reasonable

expectation in the unfettered development of the Prop-

erty. (App. C17). The court further found that the ordi-

nances did not effect a taking of the Property because

Corn was never deprived of all “economically viable use”

5. The Eleventh Circuit Appeal; Corn IV

In Corn IV, the Eleventh Circuit disapproved of that

portion of the district court’s opinion finding that Corn

did not have a vested right in the development of his

project, noting that “the district court failed to consider

the state court’s holding that, under Florida law, Corn

had acquired certain vested rights in the Project.” (App

Despite this, the court affirmed the district court's

rejection of Corn’s just compensation claim, because

regardless of Corn’s vested rights in the project, the

‘private property’ ” subject to the Fifth Amendment's

prohibition . does not include every single property

interest recognized by law.” (App. B16, Corn IV). Because

(orn failed to show that he was deprived of all econom!

‘lly viable use of his Property, the court rejected Corn’s

claim for the period of time after the moratorium expired

but remanded to the district court for further factual

findings as to Corn’s just compensation claim during the

moratorium period. (App. B21; Corn IV)

It was in this appeal, for the first time, that Corn

raised the issue of whether the rough proportionality

standard of Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994)

would apply to his case. Specifically, Corn argued that

the Eleventh Circuit in Corn III failed to apply the appro

priate standard of review to his substantive due process

claim, in light of this Court’s later opinion in Dolan. (App.

B9: Corn IV at n. 3). The Eleventh Circuit summarily

dismissed this claim as “meritless, insofar as “Dolan did

not address the type of substantive due process claim

asserted by Corn.” (Jd. at App B10).

6. Corn’s Second Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Corn filed a second Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

arguing the precise issues before the Court in his instant

petition. (App. L). Notably, in that Petition, Corn again

argued that the Eleventh Circuit erred in failing to apply

the Dolan rough proportionality standard by virtue of its

ngs in connection with his substantive due process

10

claim (App L34-39). Corn’s second Petition was also

denied. Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 118 S.Ct. 441

(1997).

7. The District Court Litigation; District Corn

II] :

On remand, the district court concluded that Corn

was not denied all economically viable use of the Prop-

erty during the moratorium because the moratorium

ordinance was reasonable in its length and there existed

economically viable uses of the property pursuant to the

B-3 zoning classification. (App. All). Accordingly, the

district court entered final judgment in favor of the City

and the individual council members.

8. The Eleventh Circuit Appeal; Corn V

In his most recent brief to the Eleventh Circuit, Corn

abandoned all of his prior arguments and focused on the

factual findings of the district court. (App. M). Speci-

fically, Corn alleged that the City had judicially admitted

that the moratorium applied to ban all building on the

Property, and was therefore bound by these admissions

(App. M32-35). The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district

court’s findings on a per curiam basis. (App. A1-2). None

of the issues raised in District Corn III or Corn V have

been addressed in the instant Petition, which is limited

solely to the issues previously raised in Corn’s prior

})

etition to this Court

r

}

|

1]

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD NOT ISSUE

I. THE WRIT SHOULD NOT ISSUE BECAUSE THE

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISIONS DO

NOT CONFLICT WITH THE RULINGS OF ANY

OTHER COURT AND ARE BASED ON THE

APPROPRIATE LEGAL STANDARDS AS PREVI-

OUSLY ENUNCIATED BY THIS COURT.

A. Introduction

For the third time, petitioner seeks a ruling from this

Court that would entitle him to just compensation simply

by virtue of the state court’s final judgment in his favor

Completely ignoring the Eleventh Circuit's findings with

respect to the existence of a “taking, petitioner implies

that a state court’s equitable finding of vested rights is in

the nature of a “physical invasion” of property and there

fore a per se entitlement to just compensation This unten

able position is directly contrary to the established

precedent of this Court, and has not been espoused by

any other court in the nation. Insofar as petitioner 1s

simply attacking the lower court's application of the law

to the facts, and has not implicated any important federal

question or confusion, certiorari should again be denied

B. Whatever the nature of the “right” alleged by

Corn, the courts below properly found that

there had been no taking such that just compen-

sation would be required

[Throughout this litigation, Corn has consistently

attempted to parlay the state court’s determination that

he had a vested right in the zoning classification of the

Property into a per se taking within the contemplation of

~

and focus on tl

S1S,

j

y

aspect of the ana

;

action

‘ernmental

POV

] .

uldal

yartic

to a deprivation

i

13

property ownership that their deprivation alone constl-

tutes a taking of the whole property. See, e.g., Loretto v

Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982)

I]

j

‘

(right to exclude others); Nollan v California Coastal

Comm'n. 483 U.S. 825 (1987) (same); Kaiser Aetna v. United

states. 444 U.S. 164 (1979) (same). In other words, they

have involved “traditional” property rights, as opposed

to the more peripheral interests asserted by Corn.

Even where such traditional rights are involved,

; i } : . “ =

however, there is no compensable Fifth Amendment tak-

ing where a balancing of the public interest involved and

tne property right affected will sustain the state s exercise

I

i " » . i sar tle Ilewn : rocf

of its regulatory power. LUCcas 7 South Carolina Coastal

a7 i] Le ge } Vi 2 i >) "cy 7 ~~ . ry _

uUNCLI 05 U.S. 1003 (1992). lo require compensation

} , a 5 s 2 \ 7 . ] . 5 as ,

whenever the economic potential of property 1s affected

would effectively compel the government to regulate by

' seal owe » Allard 1A 7 — - 1070 lher

purchase.” Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.9. o1, 69 (17. 9). Where,

i

; here, the regulation involved simply limits one portion

of the rights retained by the property owner, a finding of

1 compensable taking is even less compelling. “At least

where the owner possesses a full ‘bundle’ of property

}

rights, the destruction of one ‘strand’ of the bundle is not

1 taking, because the aggregate must be viewed in its

ntir ld , a A

ntirety. id. at 69-606

The Eleventh Circuit properly a

ind found that the zoning ordinances in question did not

rise to the level of a compensable taking. Corn was able

after a period of slightly more than a mot th, to build on

1

the Propery in any manner permitted by the B-3 business

classification. (TR 234-36, 583; App B3: Corn IV). He

simply chose not to do so, instead pursuing a ruling in

2 a4 nn | } in ' . . ~~: .

state court that he could build the specific project he

t

A

14

initially desired. Corn had already profited substantially

on the remainder of the parcel, and stood to profit on any

development of the Property within the confines of the

B-3 classification. Moreover, despite Corn’s allegation

that once the state court judgment enforced his “right” to

build the mini-warehouse project it was economically

infeasible, the district court explicitly found in its first

judgment that Corn failed to prove this aspect of his

claim. (App. E30; 771 F.Supp. 1557 (S.D.Fla. 1991)).

Corn’s requested disposition in this case is logically

insupportable. He concedes that property rights “are cre-

ated and their dimensions are defined by existing rules or

understandings that stem from an independent source

such as state law.” Ruckleshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S.

986, 1001 (1984), citing Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v.

Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 161 (1980), and Board of Regents

Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972). On the other hand, he fails

to recognize that he never had the expectation of compen-

sation for the right to build his mini-warehouse under

state law. Instead, he tries to equate an equitable remedy

with a traditional property right under federal Constitu-

tional law, and thereby requests this Court to protect his

conferred ability to build a mini-warehouse project in a

way never contemplated by any state court.

C. Dolan v. City of Tigard still does not apply to a

substantive due process claim, and may not be

considered with respect to Corn’s Fifth Amend-

ment just compensation claim.

Corn once again raises the applicability of the Dolan

v. City of Tigard rough proportionality standard to this

15

case. but fails to indicate the context in which he

addresses this argument. To the extent that Corn is now

attempting to challenge the Eleventh Circuit's just com

pensation analysis pursuant to the dictates of Dolan, he

has failed to preserve this issue by raising it below and it

should not be considered now. See Husty v. U.S., 282 U.S

694, 701-702 (1931); Duignan v. U.S., 274 U.S. 195, 198-200;

Tennessee v. Dunlap, 426 U.S. 312, 316, n. 3 (1976).

Moreover, as consistently argued by the City

throughout the pendency of this litigation, Dolan simply

does not apply to the substantive due process clain

advanced by Corn. A substantive due process claim

focuses not on the nature of the right allegedly “taken”

by the legislative body, but instead turns solely on the

propriety of the government's exercise of its police

power. Fide v. Sarasota Co., 908 F.2d 716, 721-722 (11th Cir.

1990). In other words, if the plaintiff is able to prove

arbitrary and capricious action by the government, if Is

unnecessary to prove the destruction of value of the

property right affected. Id.

[he “rough proportionality” standard discussed in

Dolan arises in the context of a Fifth Amendment just

compensation claim only, as the required nexus to be

established in determining whether the regulation at

issue “substantially advances legitimate state interests,”

as a part of the broader takings analysis. Nollan v. Califor

nia Coastal Comm'n, 483 U.S. 825, 834 (1987). The analysis

presupposes the existence of a constitutionally protected

right that has been taken from the property owner:

Without question, had the city simply required

petitioner to dedicate a strip of land along

16

Fanno Creek for public use, rather than condi-

tioning the grant of her permit to redevelop her

property on such a dedication, a taking would

have occurred

Dolan, 512 U.S at 384.

Conversely, Dolan distinguished the more traditional

land use regulation cases such as the instant one:

First, they [the land use regulations] involved

essentially legislative determinations classifying

entire areas of the city, whereas here the city

made an adjudicative decision to condition peti-

tioner’s application for a building permit on an

individual parcel. Second, the conditions

imposed were not simply a limitation on the use

petitioner might make of her own parcel, but a

requirement that she deed portions of the prop-

erty to the city.

Dolan, 512 U.S. at 385. The problem with Corn’s attempts

to apply Dolan to his case are that he has never ade-

quately shown that he was deprived of a constitutionally

protected property interest by the City. Instead, the fac-

tual findings of the district court have been that Corn

suffered, at most, a limitation on one use of his Property

for a short period of time.

Again, Corn desires a logical fallacy to dictate the

result in this case. He wishes to separate the state court

enforced right to enjoy the previous zoning classification

of the Property from the value of the Property itself, and

then merge the two once again to recover the full value of

the Property by virtue of his isolated loss. Alternatively,

he wishes to forego any proof of a loss of value or

interest, and simply recover whatever dubious damages

17

he may on the basis of a rough proportionality standard

measured in a vacuum.

This he may not do. Takings law has always required

a delicate balance of the competing interests of the prop-

erty owner and the government, and the lower courts’

rulings in this case have appropriately applied the appli-

cable legal standards to the facts of this case. Corn has

failed to point to any court that embraces his theory of

takings law, and has consequently failed to allege any

basis for review by this Court.

+

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of

>

Certiorari should be denied.

DATED: April 27, 1999

Respectfully submitted,

MicHAEL C. MATTSON

Counsel of Record

Cooney, Mattson, LANCE,

BLACKBURN, RICHARDS &

O’Connor, P.A.

2313 Wilton Drive

P.O. Box 14546

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33303

Attorneys for Respondents

Kl

APPENDIX K

No. 93-1308

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

Octroser TERM, 1993

seunnennemmenantnpene ® a

HERMAN CORN, Trustee,

Doe 194010¥

etitioner,

US.

THE CITY OF LAUDERDALE LAKES,

Respondents

— — —---- @ —- -- —

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

SE -@e- — =

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

— ¢- = -_ .

GIDEON KANNER

Counsel of Record

M. REED HUNTER

KEAFEY, ROACH & MAY

CROSBY,

Professional Corporation

700 South Flower Street, Suite 2200

Los Angeles, California 90017

(213) 896-8000

K2

ANDREW T. LAVIN

RICHARD A. IVERS

ROMANIK, LAVIN, HUSS & PAOLI

1901 Harrison Street

Hollywood, Florida 33020

+? 90911 fay D ot tor

Attorneys for Petitioner

Lawyers Brief Services ¢ Appellate Brief Printers e

(213) 613-1013 (714) 720-1510

1 he

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. (a) When a land owner, consistent with the direc-

ive of this Court in Williamson County Regional Planning

nmission Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985), defers

pursuing his federal constitutional and civil rights claims

ra

whee

use regulation controversy until a final adjudi-

on of his state law-defined rights in property in the

appropriate state court is reached, may a Federal Circuit

kurt of appeals ignore and override final factual find-

and legal determinations made in the earlier state

ourt proceedings (as well as the findings of the United

States District Court consistent with the earlier final state

court judgment) and purport to adjudicate that owner’s

rights to use his land as if a court of first instance?

(b) When such Circuit Court adjudication con

tlicts with the state court final judgment and the District

Court factual findings, does that adjudication (1) dety

this Court’s holding in Williamson County, (2) violate the

rights of that land owner to due process of the law, (3)

contravene the constitutional doctrine of comity; (4)

ignore federal law relating to full faith and credit (as well

as collateral estoppel and other doctrines of preclusion),

and (5) improperly divest the District Court of its func-

tion as finder of fact?

2. (a) Where a landowner enjoys a fully vested right

to build on his land in a City according to present zoning,

confirmed by a final judgment of a state court of compe-

tent jurisdiction, which judgment also expressly estops

the City from changing the zoning, may the City constitu-

tionally deprive him of that right by a purported change

in zoning?

(b) In this situation, when the City — in ostensible

review of a site plan consistent with a development plan

it has already approved (by state law, a nondiscretionary

ministerial review limited to insuring technical site plan

compliance) — nonetheless changes the zoning without

notice, prehearing investigation or competent supporting

evidence, thus depriving the landowner of his vested

rights and preventing him from building, does that City

deny the landowner due process of law and just compen-

sation?

ee .

3. In Eide v. Sarasota County, 908 F.2d 716, 720 (9th

Cir. 1990), cert. denied 498 U.S. 1120 (1991), the Eleventh

Circuit first articulated a conceptual construct that there

are precisely “four types of challenges [based on

allegedly unconstitutional land use regulation] a plaintift

may bring . . . [1] just compensation, 2} due process

takings, [3] arbitrary and capricious due process and [4]

equal protection claims.” This construct was the template

of the Circuit Court’s opinion below. Is this construct

consistent with this Court’s rule that challenges to the

K4

constitutionality of land use regulations are to be deter-

mined on an ad hoc basis?

4. Does the Eleventh Circuit’s explication of sub-

stantive due process rights in this case (and other land

use cases) correctly explicate the law of this court, or are

conflicting interpretations from other Circuit Courts of

Appeal, and other state courts, correct?

>. What is the proper measure of damages for a

temporary taking of property set aside for a particular

authorized and appropriate development if, when devel-

opment is unlawfully delayed and then finally permitted

the economic window of opportunity for that develop-

ment has vanished?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Plaintiff, appellant and cross-appellee, and petitioner

is Herman Corn, Trustee, Defendants and respondents

are the City of Lauderdale Lakes, a Florida municipal

corporation (the City), Howard Craft (Mayor), Alfonso

Gereffi, Jerome J. Cohan, Morris Klein, Lyman L. Allen,

Louis Greenwald and Harry Kaufman (C ity Councilmen).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED arrestee aoe Siew

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ........... ere cey | +

Lvs: GIN SEE CPR Fig bo Ci ee <ie aw tataes Ho 1X

|

K 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION .

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

SIONS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

B. In 1966, Mr. Corn And The City Enter Into An

Annexation Agreement That Included Approval

Of A Development Plan And Site-Specific Zoning

Consistent With That Development Plan

( A 1969 State Court Final Judgment Confirms Mr

Corn’s Right To Build And Estops The City From

Changing The Zoning On The Property

D. Defying The State Court Estoppel Order And

Reneging On Its Own Agreement, In 1977 The

City Council Purports To Deny The Development

It Had Approved At The Time Of Annexation

And To Rezone The Property

1. The Mini-Warehouse Presents Mr. Corn With

An Extraordinary Economic Opportunity

2. City Council Actions, Which Overruled Plan

ning And Zoning Board Recommendations,

Were Taken Without Advance Notice, Inves

tigations As To Their Appropriateness, Or

Supporting Evidence.

3. City Council Actions Were Taken In

Response To Pressure From Neighborhood

(NIMBY) Activists

Mr. Corn In The State Courts: Vested Rights, Lack

Of Discretion, And Illegality of City Acts Ar

Confirmed In A Final Judgment

K6

Mr. Corn In The Federal Courts: Damages

Awarded Based On Constitutional Violations .

[wenty-Four Years After The Annexation Agree-

ment And Thirteen Years After Commencement

Of Litigation Which Generated Seven Prior

Reported Decisions, The Eleventh Circuit Goes

Back To Square One, Ignores Prior Factual Deter-

minations By Both State And Federal Courts As

Well As Final And Preclusive Legal Findings,

And Proceeds As If It Were Writing On A Clean

Slate As A Court Of First Instance ............

tASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD ISSUE ......

The Startling August 13, 1993 Eleventh Circuit

Opinion Runs Counter To Monolithic Constitu-

tional, Statutory And Case Law And Threatens

To Destabilize The Clearly Defined Mode Of

Interaction Between Federal And State Trial And

Appellate COUtt ..6scr se idder eek beeeeens

l. Striking At The Very Heart Of Federalism,

The Eleventh Circuit Ignored Guiding Princi-

ples Of Full Faith And Credit, Comity, Pre-

clusion And Due Process Of Law..........

2. The Eleventh Circuit Opinion Penalizes Land

Owners Seeking Due Process And Just Com-

pensation For Unconstitutional Land Regula-

tion Who Follow The Procedural Dictates Of

RSG SAE nc fees BP Ne ore es eG ee egy

a

[he Eleventh Circuit Rode Roughshod Over

District Court Factual Findings (Including

Findings As To Motive And Intent) In Con-

travention Of The Well-Defined Allocation

Of Power And Duties Between Federal Trial

ANd Apmemale Sine oy bo accs conn whens

13

K7

B. In Contravention Of Mr. Corn’s Vested Rights

And An Established Body Of Constitutional Law,

The 1977 City Council Made Decisions It Was

Not Empowered To Make, Violating Its Own

Required Procedures, And Made Them On

Impermissible pT EE a PTE EES Pee

1. By 1977, Mr Corn’s Rights To Build The Mall

And Mini-Warehouse Were Vested; The City

Was Bound By A State Court Final Judgment

Estopping It From Changing The Zoning And

Divesting It Of Discretion To Deny The Site

ACE oe eee ee ee ee ee

2. Mr. Corn Was Ambushed By The No-Investi-

gation, No-Notice, No-Due Process Extrale-

ral Purported Zoning Change..........++---

5 i x ~

J

G2

Inappropriate Deference To Neighborhood

(NIMBY) Activists At The Expense Of Consti-

tutional Rights —- The Basis Of The City's 1977

Actions Here — Is An Increasing And Critical

Problem Needing Address By This Court...

C. The Eleventh Circuit Eide Construct, Central To

the Disposition Of This Case Below, Is Inconsis-

tent With The Teachings Of This Court, And

Requires Litigants Challenging Land Use Regula-

tions To Operate U nder A Set Of Rules Different

From Those In Other Circuits.........-+++++++:

D. This Case Presents A Vehicle For Resolving The

Significant Conflict Which Exists Between The

Several Circuits (And Between Federal And State

Courts) As To The Breadth Of Substantive Due

Process Guarantees In Land Use Cases ......

EF This Court’s Guidance Is Needed In Resolution

Of The Recurring Questions Of The Proper Mea-

sure Of Damages In A Land Use Case Where An

Economic Opportunity Is Lost Because Of A Tem-

porary Taking ........------eeeeeeeereee:

COOINOLUISIOIN onc csc cece:

18

2)

IQ

K8

LIST OF APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

OPINION, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS ELEV-

ENTH CIRCUIT, DATED AUGUST 13, 1993......., Al

AND

PETITION FOR REHEARING DENIED, FILED

A Suen: PE SOMES) oa oka vol oe Ge eb eo, ..A59

APPENDIX B

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF

LAW, UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT, S.D.

FLORIDA, DATED AUGUST 30, 1991............. BI

APPENDIX C

ORDER AWARDING ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND

COSTS, U.S. DISTRICT COURT, S.D. FLORIDA,

PE ED DEAL FO, SOG? rie et Cl

APPENDIX D

DECISION, DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF

FLORIDA, DATED FEBRUARY 16, 1983....... cous

APPENDIX E

ORDERS, CIRCUIT COURT IN AND FOR

BROWARD COUNTY, FLORIDA, DATED JAN-

VARY .28, 1970 AND MAY 18, 1971............... 81

APPENDIX F

CITY OF LAUDERDALE LAKES ORDI-

NANCES NOS. 103, 104, 105, 548, 548 549. 552... F]

K9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

A.A. Profiles, Inc. v. City of Ft. Lauderdale 850

F.2d 1483 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S.

1020 (1989).

Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 101 S.Ct. 411 (1980)

Bailey v. City of St. Augustine Beach, 538 So.2d 50

(Fla. App. 1989)....... sda os lg sa ie on a Ra ee ‘ce cae

Benenson v. United States, 548 F.2d 939 (Ct. Cl.

1977) 99

BML Investments Inc. v. City of Casselberry, 476

So2d 713 (la: Avo. ISS) ii

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

lefferson County, 721 F.Supp. 1212 (N.D. Ala

1989) 2

Z : | - ee | . 7 . n ™ erry

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473

Suche Ga TROD. 66.660 bee whe eee 23

City of Margate v. Amoco Oil Co., 546 So.2d 1091

(F \pn QOR9Q)

(Fla. App. 1 ae

Commercial Bank of Cincinnati v. Buckingham’s

Executors, 46 U.S. 5 How. 317 (1847) ey ees

i 4 PS om & 8) Te y . "1 .

(Concrete Pipe & Prods., Inc. v. Construction

Laborers Pension Trust, 113 S.Ct. 2264 (1993) ee

Coniston Corp. v. Village of Hoffman Estates, 844

F.2d 461 (7th Cir. 1988). aren o ara io

Connolly v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp., 47

U.S. 211 (1986) . Be ita matt SPUR rae 25

kide v. Sarasota County, 908 F.2d 716 (9th Cir.

1990) cert denied 198 [ te Bi (1991) ll, ge 13, 24,

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987).

Greenbriar, Ltd. v. City of Alabaster, 881 F.2d 1570

(lith Cir. 1989) CCC ee Pe Ge re: |

Hollywood Beach Hotel Co. v. City of Hollywood,

329 SO 2d LO (Fla 1976)

Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517 PR UEE ale aa habe

y

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) ..

Kremer v. Chemical Constr Corp., 456 U.S. 46]

Logan v. Zimmerman Br

Loretto \ leleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp.,

458 U.S. 419 (1982). Ch aie eRe EE Skee hd ee

“as V. South Carolina Coastal Comm’n, 505 U.S

~ "J 53 / te) wy

120 L.Ed.2d 798 GS go 8 SR, 17,

Household Fin. € orp., 405 U.S. 538 (1972) ....

‘ + } . : a

\ ) iid, Sommer & Frats v. Yolo ( ounty, 47;

oe 4 TOR,

Mark ty of Chesapeake, 883 F.2d 308 (4th Cir.

Migra v. Warren City Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ.. 465

ot 1i Corp. v. Shevin, 354 So.2d 372 (Fla

18

7 “~

1Yy))

s

f

4 ¥

rf

y

y

- r

ble PS

we

-

pond

a one

K12

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove (Wheeler I)

664F.2d 99 (5th Cir. Unit B 1981) cert. denied, 456

Sith Sie CAPE sen ye ris KAR EKd SECO a8 a hee Can 18, 21

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove (Wheeler III),

Dae Rikie eee AEE CEP BOG ois dic as ces co neey we’ 26

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove (Wheeler IV),

O70 Kuats does teeth Cir. T99O). 6 ace kc scene dese Rk, dk

Williamson County Regional Planning Commis-

sion v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985)

Se act e ou me ee Bae eee EcE A :, 10, 15, 17, 418, 20; 30

Younger Vv. Piartis, 407 01.5. 37 (1972) 20.0.5 can eccse 15

Constitution

United States Constitution

PR EEL TERI o's 5h a ple Wk wes bean oe ee

PEP UTNE PATTIE a Se i a 2, 10

USE UE ee ee 2

MUSE ON ee i eee 14, 16

Se 2 ee ee 2, 10

Lauderdale Lakes City Code § 25.5.5................. 7

City of Lauderdale Lakes

Mel sat, Ma | |<, SEROR AR bes IR ie pega C8 Sa amen 9, Wes, Boneh aha 3, 4

ONCE 200. FO on ee a ee ee

Ree Mati WN | RE cea Fee ie er ee we 3, 4

ordinance mo. 548. oo icc ccc ccc ca ncees 2, 3, 7, 9, 16

ordinance no. 549....... Sr Pere mem Sa har ee Ree

CE AG, Ei wae ke onl eke a 4 as ts ee ae

Fla. Stat. Section 171 et seq ..... 4

Text

Carroll, Alice in Wonderland, Ch. 12.............. 0

Miscellaneous

1990 presidential report by the Advisory Commit-

2.9

tee on Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Hous-

ing, “Not In My Back Yard” Removing Barriers to

a eae as.

ALTOVA TIGUSINE Sood one ies se caeves Serer ra

K14

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Herman Corn, Trustee, respectfully seeks Certiorari

to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

OPINIONS BELOW

The August 13, 1993 opinion of the United States

Court of Ap sip ils for the Eleventh Circuit is published at

997 F.2d 1369 (11th Cir. 1993), and is reproduced herein -

with the ace order denying rehearing and a sug-

gestion for hearing en banc - as Petitioner’s Appendix

41-60.

[That opinion affirmed in part and reversed in part

the August 30, 1991 decision of United States District

Court for the Southern District of Florida, published

771 F.Supp. 1557 (S.D. Fla. 1991) and reproduced herein

as Petitioner’s Appendix B1-32. The subsequent District

Court order awarding attorney’s fees is at 794 F.Supp. 364

(S.D. Fla. 1992), and reproduced herein as Petitioner’s

Appendix C1-16

Since the late 1960’s the extended controversy to

which these opinions speak has generated eight pub-

lished opinions and a number of unpublished decisions,

by state and federal courts. The remaining dagen

opinions are: 371 So.2d 1111 (Fla. 4th Dist.Ct.App.

115 So.2d 1270 (Fla. 1982); 427 So.2d 239 (Fla. 4th

Dist.Ct.App. 1983), reproduced herein as Petitioner’s

,

Appendix D1-11; 816 F.2d 1514 (11th Cir. 1987); and 904

1

F.2d 585 (11th Cir. 1990). A further order of the Eleventh

K15

Circuit, reversing an award of attorney’s fees to peti-

tioner, is at 3 F.3d 442 (11th Cir. 1993). Orders of the

Florida Circuit Court in and for Broward County dated

January 28, 1970 and May 18, 1971 (with accompanying

stipulation) are reproduced herein as Petitioner's Appen-

i

JURISDICTION

[his 1s an action tor deprivation of property witnout

i t

7 j . |

due process of law or just compensation in violation of

; ¥ , . ' A ‘ 7

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

j 5 oh Ar )

States Constitution and the Civil Rights Act (42 U.S.(

} go tT} | . y ~ +h of "39% TAT .

1983). The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit was entered

2 N , ‘ Sort , a ar ve; .

n August 13, 1993. Mr. Corn’s petition for rehearing and

suggestion for a hearing en banc was denied on October

1993. [The federal court action for damages followed a

tate action culminating in a final judgment invalidating

;' . ret etn

Citv ordinances 548, 549 and 552 and holding that the

f , ‘ - . a L, ~ cy - + =

City had no discretion to act as it did — holdings recog

IZEead DY\ the District ( ourt, vet iygnorea DY the | leve nth

An extension of time within which to file this petition

for a writ of certiorari to February 11, 1994, was granted

yr ¢ | 4 \A ‘

ler of Justi Anthony M. Kennedy, Circuit Justice

1 4 ia a io ~ 1OC¢ ,

for the Eleventh Circuit, on D mber 29, 1993

- 4

Th court hi jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.

| 4 1

ri i

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

1:ited States Constitution:

K16

‘i

nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.”

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution:

‘Section 1... nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property without due

process of law P

42 U.S.C. § 1983:

“Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom or usage, of any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the

party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,

or other proper proceeding for redress K

City of Lauderdale Lakes ordinances nos. 103, 104,

105, 548, 549, and 552 are reproduced herein as Peti-

tioner’s Appendix F1-25.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

Twenty-eight years ago, in 1966, the subject 261 acres

was annexed to the City of Lauderdale Lakes, to which it

was contiguous, by means of an annexation agreement

between the City and the property owner, Mr. Corn. The

agreement, which included a development plan and site-

specific zoning, was memorialized and implemented

through City ordinances nos. 103, 104 and 105, enacted at

the time of annexation.

K17

Since 1969, controversies having their genesis in the

City’s efforts to thwart Mr. Corn’s rights under the 1966

agreement (notably — but not exclusively - improvement

of 8.5 acres of commercial development) have generated

eight reported state and federal court decisions (identi-

fied ante), as well as several unreported decisions Until

the August 13, 1993 Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

opinion inexplicably returned to square one to decide a

novo issues previously and finally adjudicated in Florida

state courts (as a matter of state law) and reaffirmed

repeatedly in federal courts, the decisions have invariably

required the City to adhere to its commitments and held

(a) that Mr. Corn’s rights to build on his land had vested

under state law thus becoming protected property rights,

(b) that the City lacked discretion to deny approval of the

site plan, and (c) that the City was estopped from chang-

ing the existing zoning.

B. In 1966, Mr. Corn And The City Enter Into An

Annexation Agreement That Included Approval Of

A Development Plan And Site-Specific Zoning Con-

sistent With That Development Plan

In 1966, the City and Mr. Corn agreed

extended negotiations — to the annexation ol his 261 acres

(the Larger Site) located in an unincorporated area in

Broward County, Florida, contiguous to the City. (77

F.Supp. at 1559-60; App. B1-2)! As is often the case,

intrinsic part of the annexation agreement was the City

Without the cooperation of Mr. Corn, it would have taken

an act of the Florida legislature or a formal referendum to enable

the City to annex this land. Fla. Stat. Section 171 et seq

K18

approval of a proposed development plan - the raison

d'etre for the annexation. All this was memorialized in

ordinances adopted by the City on July 12, 1966. As the

Eleventh Circuit put it in its earlier 1987 Opinion: “The

ordinances, respectively, annexed Corn’s property [No.

104]; applied a variety of zoning classifications to his land

[No. 105]; and allowed Corn to construct mini-ware-

houses in a portion of his property zoned C-1A [No.

1L05].” (816 F.2d at 1515)? (Ordinance 103 created zoning

category C-1A from pre-existing category C-1.)

C. A 1969 State Court Final Judgment Confirms Mr.

Corn’s Right To Build And Estops The City From

Changing The Zoning On The Property

[he next event of significance was thus recounted in

a subsequent State court opinion:

In 1969 the city attempted to change the

zoning of a portion of appellee’s property to

prohibit a contemplated project [condominium

housing] permitted by the original zoning. Liti-

gation ensued resulting in a judgment holding

that the city was estopped from changing the

zoning. No appeal was taken from that judg-

ment.

City of Lauderdale Lakes v Corn, 427 So.2d at 240-41; App.

D2. An examination of the January 28, 1970 order and

The 1966 ordinances did not identify “mini-warehouse”

as the precise eventual use, but (in typical zoning terminology)

expressly_allowed any of several specified commercial and

industrial uses, one of which was warehouse. (See 997 F.2d at

1371; App. A2-3)

K19

May 18, 1971 final judgment (App. E2, 5), in context,

demonstrates that the estoppel reference was to the entire

Larger Site, including the 370 foot by 1030 foot 8.5 acres

zoned C-1A (the Property) (TR 84).3

Between 1966 and 1977, Mr. Corn developed much of

the Larger Site consistent with the approved develop-

ment plan, logically developing the housing first. (771

F.Supp. at 1560; App. B2; TR 81) In reasonable reliance on

the earlier approved development plan, he spent in

excess of $100,000 toward development of the Property;

improvements included waterways which formed a bar-

rier between the Property and the residential parts of the

Larger Site. (771 FSupp. at 1560; App. B2)

D. Defying The State Court Estoppel Order And

Reneging On Its Own Agreement, In 1977 The City

Council Purports To Deny The Development It Had

Approved At The Time Of Annexation And To

Rezone The Property

1. The Mini-Warehouse Presents Mr. Corn With

An Extraordinary Economic Opportunity

On April 1, 1977, Mr. Corn submitted a preliminary

site plan for a 67,000 square foot shopping mall which

would front the main adjoining thoroughfare (U.S. 411),

and a 103,000 Square foot mini-warehouse, separated

from the thoroughfare by the mall and from surrounding

* Another effort to renege on its 1966 commitments was

launched by the City in 1976 (Circuit Court for the 17th Judicial

District of Broward County, Florida case No. 76-7105). This, too,

was resolved in Mr. Corn’s favor.

K20

residences by the waterways. (771 F.Supp. at 1560; App.

B2-3) This site plan was (in the words of the final state

court opinion) “in accordance with the development plan

submitted to and approved by the City ...” (427 So.2d at

241; App. D3)

At that time, small warehouses in which individuals

might store personal property were just coming into

vogue; there was no such facility in Lauderdale Lakes.

(TR 3:500) Had the proposal been approved, this develop-

ment — as subsequent experience of other entrepreneurs

demonstrated - would have provided an exceptional

business opportunity for Mr. Corn, and also provided a

significant convenience for local residents.

2. City Council Actions, Which Overruled Plan-

ning And Zoning Board Recommendations,

Were Taken Without Advance Notice, Investiga-

tions As To Their Appropriateness, Or Support-

ing Evidence

On May 12, 1977, the City’s Planning and Zoning

Board recommended approval of Mr. Corn’s site plan; on

May 27, 1977, it reaffirmed that recommendation. (771

F.Supp. at 1560; App. B3)

When it finally acted on the Corn site plan on July 12,

1977 (having tabled consideration of the matter three

times), the City Council introduced and at the same meet-

ing formally enacted two ordinances: Ordinance 548 elim-

inated warehouses as a permitted C-1A use, and

Ordinance 549 rezoned the Property (and no other land)

to B-3. (771 F.Supp. at 1560; App. B3, F12-21) These ordi-

nances were passed without any advance notice to Mr.

allie

K2]

Corn or to the public that any act beyond passing on the

pending site plan would be considered. This ambush

manifestly violated not only constitutional due process

protections and basic fairness, but also the City’s own

duly enacted procedural standards: Lauderdale Lakes

City Code § 25.5.5 requires a ten-day notice and a Plan-

ning and Zoning Board hearing on any proposed zoning

change before the City Council may act.4 The Council

then denied approval of the Corn site plan as inconsistent

with the (newly) created zoning, with no suggestion that

the site plan might be modified to make it acceptable.

(771 F.Supp. at 1560; App. B3)

Prior to the July 12 hearing, the City had made no

effort to investigate mini-warehouses to determine empir-

ically their impact on traffic, noise, etc. (771 F.Supp. at

1560; App. B4; TR 3:500-02) At the hearing, the City

Council proposed a moratorium (later formally adopted

as Ordinance 552 and extended), ostensibly to study and

evaluate the impact of C-1 zone uses, and particularly

mini-warehouses. (771 F.Supp. at 1560; App. B3-4, F22-25

[he study thus post-dated the zoning change it wa su]

po ed to justify.

+ At the federal district court trial, former City Mavor

Howard Craft conceded that there was no notice. that there wa

no investigation prior to the hearing (“we never heard of mii

warehouses”), that the City did not consider its 196¢

agreements, that this was the only time of which he was awart

that the City Council did not follow a Planning and Zoning

Board recommendation, and that the rezoning and use deletion

was unprecedented in City history. (TR 3:470-71, 494-500

507-09)

K2?

3. City Council Actions Were Taken In Response

To Pressure From Neighborhood (NIMBY)

Activists

It is undisputed that all of these 1977 City Council

acts taken to frustrate Mr. Corn’s vested rights were a

response to political pressure by neighborhood NIMBY

(the often-used acronym for “Not In My Back Yard”)

activists — ironically for the most part living in the hous-

ing. Mr. Corn had developed. (See, e.g., 997 F.2d 1378-84;

App. A19-34) These activists appeared in significant

number, but - like the City itself - offered no sworn

testimony or other cognizable evidence which could sup-

port the City’s illegal rezoning (which, of course, would

have been impermissible anyway in view of the state

court judgment)

E. Mr. Corn In The State Courts: Vested Rights, Lack

Of Discretion, And Illegality Of City Acts Are Con-

firmed In A Final Judgment

After these City acts, Mr. Corn sued the City and the

City officials identified ante in the Circuit Court of the

seventeenth Judicial District in and for Broward County

(Case No. 77-12955). (771 F.Supp. at 1561; App. BA) At

that time (prior to this Court’s decision in First English

Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482

U.S. 304 (1987)), Florida categorically forbade money

damages as a remedy for unconstitutional land use regu-

lation, no matter how severe the consequences to the

landowner See Corn, S16 F.2d at 1517.

K23

Following a trial, the trial court entered its final

judgment on October 20, 1978, holding that the water-

ways and other improvements were made by Mr. Corn in

express reliance on the approved development plan, that

the City’s July 12 actions were taken without notice, and

that “Ordinances #548, #549 and #552 were enacted by

the City improperly and not in accordance with the

requirements of the City Charter.” (427 So.2d 241; App.

D4) The court specifically held that the City failed “to

follow its own notice and procedure requirements (and

did not make the requisite showing of compelling health,

safety or welfare considerations. (427 So.2d at 242, App.

D4) The City Council’s action was found to be in direct

response to the “demands” of the neighborhood activists

‘without consideration of the rights of the Plaintiff herein

pursuant to the Ordinances of the City of Lauderdale

Lakes.” And finally, the court expressly held that the City

was “estopped to deny Plaintiff's rights in [the original]

zoning classification.” (427 So.2d at 242; App. D5) and

that ordinances 548, 549 and 552 were void and

unenforceable. (App. D5) The Court’s writ of mandamus

irected the City to approve the site plan (upon the

making of minor technical adjustments), and to issue the

building permit. (427 So.2d 242; App. D5)

Che trial court judgment was affirmed in all relevant

particulars by the Florida Fourth District Court of Appeal

TT 7= . f } 2 S fete 4 T a woialo IT ako » finen g he? 4

Nn February, 16, 1983.° ¢ ITY « I auderdals LAKesS UV. COrn, 42,

Along the way, a dispute arose as to whether the City

would be required to post bond on appeal. This controversy was

resolved in a published decision at 415 So.2d 1270 (Fla. 1982)

} » ih _ —

re bonding

controversy has no significance in this matter.

K24

So.2d 239 (Fla. 1983) (App. D1-11). The court of appeal

held that the City was estopped from changing the zon-

ing (to do so would be “grossly unfair”), and that “no

element of discretion remains” in the City to deny the site

plan and the approval of the plat on the basis of control-

ling standards is described as “an administrative act” and

“ministerial” (427 So.2d at 243-44; App. D9-10), that

under Florida law the City’s legislative powers were in

no sense impinged (427 So.2d at 244; App. D10), that Mr.

Corn’s vested rights equitably estopped the City from

changing the zoning, and that the City should be “held to

the same standards of fair dealing that are applied to

other entities.” (427 So.2d at 244: App. D9-10) The Florida

Court of Appeal issued its mandate on March 4, 1983, at

which time the decision became final (771 F.Supp. at 1561;

;

A p p B! > )

t

F. Mr. Corn In The Federal Courts: Damages Awarded

Based On Constitutional Violations

By the time the illegality of the City’s acts of frustra-

tion had been definitively adjudicated (1985), Mr. Corn

1ad been deprived of the use of the Property for eight

years. The window of economic opportunity for the mini-

warehouse project had been lost; other warehouse facili-

ties in the area had preempted Mr. Corn’s opportunity

in spite of the mandate, the City refused to approve the

ite plan unless Mr. Corn complied with planning requirements

roperty platting) that came into existence after July 1977. (771

4 B5) On March 26, 1985, the 17th Judicial

ed the City to issue the building permit

-

+

-

+

x

without platting. (771 F.Supp. at 1562; App. B6)

K25

The market was saturated. the Property remains vacant

f

today.

On January 17, 1984, Mr. Corn filed the underlying

case below in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida No. 84-6034-CIV, seeking

damages for violation of the just compensation, due pro-

cess and equal protection clauses of the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments and the Civil Rights Act (42 U.S.(

§ 1983). (771 F.Supp. at 1

961; App. B5-6)

On October 22, 1985, the district court (Gonzalez, J.)

dismissed the action believing it to be unripe under the

Williamson County test. (771 F.Supp. at 1562; App. B7) In

Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 816 F.2d 1514 (11th Cir

1987), the Eleventh Circuit reversed, and (significantly)

acknowledged the final state court ruling: “A final judg-

ment rendered in Corn’s favor estopped the City from

—

~

~

oe

~

-

—_

~~

nm

J

rezoning the property during the pe

ownership of it.” Id. at 1515. The “property” thus referred

od

‘ 7 $4 ror 4 incl } Oo }

tO Was, again, the entire Large! Site inciuding tn

erty

\ 1 ] ~> -

L/nN Aus ust i8 7 i I iif Vii 1 f i 1 \ I

. } 1 - i . {p ~Aa T _ . ¢ -atiak

trial, the District Court (Paine, }.) issued its Op!

sisting of findings of fact, conclusions Of law and

} . > —4] ’ ] ] 7 ‘ -+ ; x ~ 11" +4 "

extended damages caiculations purportedly pursua t

the Eleventh Circuit standard expressed in W ele) ( y

f

( 14 1247 (148k Cie 1

| isa? (>? Oye F.2d LO iit II MN

y 1 + » > > AA,

Having failed to demonstrate that Mr. C

ir * ] inAnnanc§ > , a. 4 ‘ ,+

nripe, the City flip-flopped and argued tnat 1

t

But the district court held that the action was not Darred

lumitations or res judicata, and the tieventh Uircult

_ ‘ , westdowdala I ; OA 14 Rec teh ("3 ’

orn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 904 F.2d 585 (11th Cir. 19%

K26

IV). The district court’s substantive factual findings

echoed the state court final judgment, e.g., the passage of

critical ordinances on the first reading was without notice

and without even an attempt at investigation of the

appropriateness of the mini-warehouse use; “the City

Council was motivated solely by an irrational desire to

thwart CORN’s plans.” Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes,

771 F.Supp. at 1569; App. B22

rhe District Court presented its conclusions of law in

the frame of reference of the Erde v. Sarasota County con-

struct. Significant conclusions include: (1) Corn enjoyed

vested rights in the pre-luly 12, 1977 zoning, and “[t]his

issue, having been presented, fully litigated, and resolved

in a prior suit between these parties, cannot be reliti-

gated” (771 F.Supp. at 1566; App. B15); (2) Corn enjoyed a

protected property interest under Florida law (771

F.Supp. at 1566; App. B15-16); (3) the City acted arbi-

trarily and capriciously in its actions in July 1977 and

thereafter, including its so-called moratorium and report

which “seems nothing more than an attempt at post ho

rationalization.” (771 F.Supp. at 1569; App. B21-22).

G. Twenty-Four Years After The Annexation Agree-

ment And Thirteen Years After Commencement Of

Litigation Which Generated Seven Prior Reported

Decisions, The Eleventh Circuit Goes Back To

Square One, Ignores Prior Factual Determinations

By Both State And Federal Courts As Well As Final

And Preclusive Legal Findings, And Proceeds As If

It Were Writing On A Clean Slate As A Court Of

First Instance

This case reached the Eleventh Circuit for the third

time following an appeal by Mr. Corn and a cross-appeal

K27

by the City from the District Court’s decision. Mr. Corn

asserted error in the computation of damages under

Wheeler IV and in the holding that the individual defen-

dants enjoyed absolute immunity. The City sought to

relitigate issues previously and finally decided by the

Florida state courts (vested rights) and the Eleventh Cir

cuit (statute of limitations).

rhe Eleventh Circuit panel, consisting of three judges

who had participated in neither of the prior Circuit deci

sions, wrote as if it were a court of first Impression, as II

the state court proceedings had never happened or at

least as if they had no legal effect, and usurped the

District Court’s function as trier of fact as well. The

Opinion recites the basic state court determinations, but

never attempts to reconcile them with its own squarely

contrary conclusions, which include a finding that the

july 17, 1977 rezoning was proper (no mention is made of

371 ry.

the state court estoppel interdiction). (997 F.2d at 137

to he

App. A3-4)® Using as its conceptual framework the Ede

rhe Eleventh Circuit apparently saw its mission as not

just resolving the discrete controversy presented to it, but also

delivering a grand pronunciamento with broad impact

The district court’s error reaches beyond the fis«

of one Florida community and the merits of one

case .. More broadly this case involves question

about how decision-making is allocated between a

democratic institution, such as an elected city council,

and the federal courts. It involves fundamental issues

about the allocation of rights and powers within our

constitutional system. (997 F.2d at 1373; App. A7)

The problem with this grandiose language is that the

opinion does violence to the precise value it purports to

espouse: the proper “allocation of rights and powers within our

constitutional system.’

K28

Sarasota County template and focusing on substantive due

process, the court found that the City had not abused its

discretion on July 12, 1977 (997 F.2d at 1373-74, 1386;

App. A8, 40) (in contrast to the state court ruling that the

City had no discretion as a matter of state law), and that

what the City Council did was legislative (997 F.2d

1392-93; App. A54) (in contrast to the state court ruling

that it was administrative and ministerial).

The Opinion goes on at length about the neighbor-

hood activist input, in effect acknowledging that it was

the basis of the City’s decision. (997 F.2d at 1377-87; App.

A17-42)

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD ISSUE

A. The Startling August 13, 1993 Eleventh Circuit

Opinion Runs Counter To Monolithic Constitu-

tional, Statutory And Case Law And Threatens To

Destabilize The Clearly Defined Mode Of Interac-

tion Between Federal And State Trial And Appel-

late Courts

1. Striking At The Very Heart Of Federalism, The

Eleventh Circuit Ignored Guiding Principles Of

Full Faith And Credit, Comity, Preclusion And

Due Process Of Law

No concept is more fundamental to the system of

federalism than the motion that federal courts must yield

to state court determinations of state law, and give full

faith and credit to the final judgments of state courts. The

City had it exactly right when it wrote in a March 21, 1984

(unsuccessful) Motion to Dismiss:

K29

In 1980, the Supreme Court of the United States

held that issues actually litigated in a state court

proceeding are entitled to the same preclusive

effect in a subsequent federal § 1983 suit as they

enjoy in the courts of the state where judgment

is rendered. Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 101

S.Ct. 411 (1980).

What the City recognized as obvious, the Eleventh

Circuit — which must have known better — chose not to

recognize at all. Snubbing the Florida court system, the

Eleventh Circuit found that the City’s illegal acts were

valid.

For more than a century, this Court has recognized

that federal courts are bound by construction of state law

by state courts. See, e.g., Commercial Bank of Cincinnati v

Buckingham’s Executors, 46 U.S. 5 How. 317, 342-43 (1847).

Moreover, under 28 U.S.C. § 1738, judicial proceedings of

a state court “shall have the same full faith and credit in

every court within the United States and its Territories

and Possessions as they have by law or usage in the

courts of such State, Territory or Possession from which

they are taken.” Thus, with a few exceptions not relevant

here, matters finally determined in a state court of com-

petent jurisdiction are not open for reexamination in a

federal court. Kremer v. Chemical Constr. Corp., 456 U.S.

461, 485 (1982).

This bedrock rule not only avoids duplicative litiga-

tion and enhances the stability of the law; it also pro-

motes the comity between state and federal courts that is

the “bulwark of the federal system.” Allen, 449 U.S. at

95-96; see also Kremer, 456 U.S. at 478. The respect to a

K30

state court final adjudication comity dictates is partic-

ularly important when a federal court reviews a situation,

as here, where a party’s rights are grounded in fully

adjudicated state law. See generally Younger v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37, 44 (1971).

[his concept, which speaks to basic due process of

law, controls the relationship of federal and state courts

in every substantive field. However, because of the pro-

cedure prescribed by this Court in Williamson County for

“ripening” a land use regulation case, intellectual detours

by federal courts such as here present have a particular

potential for mischief in this area of the law.

N

The Eleventh Circuit Opinion Penalizes Land

Owners Seeking Due Process And Just Com-

pensation For Unconstitutional Land Regula-

tion Who Follow The Procedural Dictates Of

This Court

Williamson County holds that before a landowner may

seek damages in federal court arising out of unconstitu-

tional land regulation, he must first “seek compensation

through the procedure the state has provided for doing

so... {T]he State’s action is not ‘complete’ in the sense of

causing a constitutional injury ‘unless or until the State

fails to provide an adequate postdeprivation remedy for

the property loss.’” Id. at 194, 195 (quoting Hudson v

Palmer, 468 U.S. 517, 532 n.12 (1984)). Thus, Williamson

County compels a supplicant to litigate first in state court

to “ripen” his cause before seeking damages in federal

court. This is exactly what Mr. Corn did here. His reward

at the end of the trial for scrupulously following the

procedure this Court prescribed: a Circuit Court of

.

Appeal which simply ignored at least these state court

findings:

e that Mr. Corn had acquired vested rights

under Florida law to develop his property

ind

SO id

hn ®

according to the existing zoning

approved 1966 development plan (42

at 243; App. D8-9);

e that the City lacked discretion under Florida

law to change that zoning or to deny

appro\ al of the site plan (427 So.2d at 242-44

App 1D6-10):

e that the City was expressly estopped b

final judgment from a Florida court of com

petent jurisdiction from changing

(427 So.2d at 243; App. D9); and

PI

e that ordinances nos. 548, 549 and 552 wert

void and unenforceable. (427 So.2d at 241-42

App. D5)

[hese final determinations of state law would

manifestly received collateral estoppel effect under

ida law. Mobil Oil Corr Sh n, 354 So.2d 372. 374 (|

177); R.D.J. Enters. It Media Bank, 600 So.2d )

Fla. App. 1992). Under section 1738, they bind fed

courts as well. Allen, 449 U.S. at 96 (issue preclusion or

collateral estoppel applies in a § 1983 action); Migra

‘ ‘ ‘

lA irren City Crh Dist Rd 4 Fdu 165 LJ Cc = 2 Q7

1984) (claim preclusion or res judicata applies in a § 198

ction)

Hlad the Eleventh Circuit been faithful to its comity

= , , . '

Olivyator it could not have reached the result

K32

While the District Court understood for the most part the

limitations the prior proceedings placed on it,’ the Elev-

enth Circuit did not. In view of the preclusive finding

that Mr. Corn’s rights were vested and the 1977 ordi-

nances which forced the Property into idleness were

invalid, liability for a temporary taking was established.

See Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Comm'n, 505 U.S. ais

120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992). The Eleventh Circuit had but one

legitimate qustion [sic] to decide: how much monetary

damages should be awarded to Mr. Corn. If the August 13

opinion is followed, landowners will be required to liti-

gate liability in state court, only to face the pointless and

duplicative task of doing so all over again in federal

court. The horrendous extra burden this wil] place on

litigants and the judiciary cannot be what this Court

intended when it promulgated Williamson County.

3. The Eleventh Circuit Rode Roughshod Over

District Court Factual Findings (Including Find-

ings As To Motive And Intent) In Contravention

Of The Well-Defined Allocation Of Power And

Duties Between Federal Trial And Appellate

Courts

This caption needs little elaboration. The Eleventh

Circuit simply ignored findings of fact made by the Dis-

trict Court, which heard the evidence and observed the

’ The District Court made an “independent review of the

evidence” as to whether Mr. Corn’s substantive due process

rights were violated, reaching the same result as the state

courts. (771 F.Supp. at 1569; App. B21)

K33

witnesses.'? In its result-driven analysis, the Eleventh

Circuit badly overreached, divesting the District Court of

its allocated fact-finding powers.

B. In Contravention Of Mr. Corn’s Vested Rights And

An Established Body Of Constitutional Law, The

1977 City Council Made Decisions It Was Not

Empowered To Make, Violating Its Own Required

Procedures, And Made Them On Impermissible

Grounds

|. By 1977, Mr. Corn’s Rights To Build The Mall

And Mini-Warehouse Were Vested; The City

Was Bound By A State Court Final Judgment

Estopping It From Changing The Zoning And

Divesting It Of Discretion To Deny The Site

Plan

A brief look at the City actions the Eleventh Circuit

upheld demonstrates how far it wandereduafield. At the

time he went into the July 12, 1977 hearing, Mr. Corn

enjoyed:

e a development plan approved by the City

pursuant to the agreed annexation which

entitled him to develop the mini-warehouse

project;

'0 For example, the District Court found that the City was

“motivated solely by an irrational desire to thwart CORN’s

plans.” (771 F.Supp. at 1569; App. B22) But it is axiomatic that

findings as to motive and intent are factual, and uniquely within

the purview of the trial court. Rogers v Lodge, 458 U.S. 613,

622-23 (1982). The testimony of Mayor Howard Craft (see n.4,

ante) is alone sufficient to sustain this finding.

~

K34

vested 1 ights under Florida law to SO

dev elop; i]

* a state court final judgment that estopped the

City from changing the zoning on the Prop-

erty; and

e a City Council empowered only to conduct

an administrative-ministerial review.

By all reason this should have made“the site plan

hearing a technical review of details. But the reality was

otherwise

2. Mr. Corn Was Ambushed By The No-Investiga-

tion, No-Notice, No-Due Process Extralegal Pur-

ported Zoning Change

In enacting the 1977 ordinances with no advance

notice, the City not only ignored its own charter require

ments, but also ignored the standards which “seem to be

universally prescribed in ali systems of law established

[The definition of property interests and the

determination whether a particular interest is a vested property

right to which the protections of the United States Constitution

attach are, of course, quintessentially questions of state law

Preseault v. 1.C.C., 494 U.S. 1 (1990): Williamson ( ounty, 473 U.S

t 184; Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co.. 455 US 422, 430 (1982)

exaco, Inc. v. Short, 454 U.S. 516, 525 (1982): Wheeler v City of

Pleasant Grove, 664 F.2d 99, 100 (5th Cir Unit B 1981), cert. denied

456 U.S. 973 (1982). As to Florida law, see Hollywood Beach Hotel

Co. v. City of Hollywood, 329 So.2d 10, 16-17 (Fla. 1976). A

particularly insightful explication of the meaning of vested

rights (rights “which cannot be interfered with or taken away

without just comprensation”) is found in Nemmers v. City of

Dubuque, 716 F.2d 1194, 1197 (8th Cir. 1983).

by civilized countries.”'!2 Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U.S

/3, 110-11 (1908). Mr. Corn was blindsided: he had no real

opportunity to prepare to be heard on the subject matte

of any of the ordinances. And the curiously perverse

procedure the City adopted of enacting the ordinance

first and thereafter undertaking a study to justify the

ordinance, not only (again) violated the City charter, but

was disturbingly reminiscent of the command of the

Queen of Hearts: “Sentence first verdict afterwards

Carroll, Alice in Wonderland, Ch. 12.

As Mayor Craft testified (see p. 11 n.4, ante), the 197

City Council paid no attention whatsoever to the solemn

commitments the City made to Mr. Corn in 1966. The

whole scenario could serve as a textbook prototype Of

what this Court has defined as constitutionally, impermis

sible: frustration of “investment-backed profit expecta

)

tions.” Williamson County, 473 U.S. at 200.

[he denial of notice and hearing, and the failure of the

City to follow fair procedure: oreven its own procedures are

matters traditionally considered under the rubric of procedural

due process. But there is no conceptual reason they cannot be

part of a pattern of arbitrary and capricious behavior that

implicates substantive due process as well (the procedural due

process claim for relief in this case was dismissed before the

district court resolution). There is no clear delineation “| Tlhe

line between “procedure” and “substance” is hazy in the setting

of the regulation of land uses.” Coniston Corp. v. Village of

Hoffman Estates, 844 F.2d 461, 468 (7th Cir. 1988). “Where, as

here, the plaintiff alleges the denial of the process consists of an

official’s arbitrary action, a claim for violation of substantive

due process is indistinguishable from a claim for violation of

proc edural due proc ess.” Sierra l ake Reserve v. ( ity of Ro klis 935

F.2d 951, 957 (9th Cir. 1991), cert granted and judgment vacated,

113 S.Ct. 31 (1992), on remand, 987 F.2d 662 (1992)

K36

[he state court holding that the 1977 zoning change

was illegal came as no surprise. Florida law unequivo-

cally holds that when a city purports to change a zoning

ordinance to defeat a permit application and site plan

that would be approved under existing zoning, that City

acts “arbitrarily, capriciously, discriminatorily and ille-

gally.” City of Margate v. Amoco Oil Co., 546 So.2d 1091.

1093-94 (Fla. App. 1989).

3. Inappropriate Deference To Neighborhood

(NIMBY) Activists At The Expense Of Constitu-

tional Rights - The Basis Of The City’s 1977

Actions Here - Is An Increasing And Critical

Problem Needing Address By This Court

In its 1993 opinion, the Eleventh Circuit called Green-

briar, Ltd. v. City of Alabaster, 881 F.2d 1570 (11th Cir.

1989), a “red cow,” i.e., a precise precedent. (997 F.2d at

1390 & n.2; App. A48) (It is not even close.!3 But the

case at bench has one significant fact in common with

'S In Greenbriar, the landowner sought a change of zoning

to enable a desired project as to which he had no right, vested or

otherwise [id. at 1572, 1581]; here, Mr. Corn sought only to build

according to a vested right under existing zoning. In Greenbriar,

the City won below, thus getting the benefit of a favorable

review standard; that should have inured to Mr. Corn here. The

real “red cows” are A.A. Profiles, Inc. v. City of Ft. Lauderdale, 850

F.2d 1483 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1020 (1989);

Southern Co-Op Development Fund v. Driggers, 696 F.2d 1347 (11th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 463 U.S. 1208 (1983); and Wheeler v. City of

Pleasant Grove, 664 F.2d 99 (5th Cir. Unit B 1981) (Wheeler 1). In

each of these comparable vested rights-substantive due process

appeals, the landowner (whose position was not as strong as Mr.

Corn’s here) prevailed.

K37

Greenbriar: in both cases public officials abdicated their

governmental powers in favor of NIMBY activists.'4

'4 The August 13 Opinion notes that “[i]n Greenbriar... the

City’s decision was based upon “political pressure” from citizen

voters who turned out as a crowd to oppose the development.”

(997 F.2d at 1389; A46). This language from Greenbriar (881 F.2d

at 1579) is quoted with approval:

[N]othing is more common in zoning disputes than

selfish opposition to zoning changes. The

Constitution does not forbid government to yield to

such opposition; it does not outlaw the characteristic

operation of democratic . . . government, operations

which are permeated by pressures from special

interests . . . The fact “that town officials are

motivated by parochial views of local interests which

work against plaintiffs’ plan and which may

contravene state subdivision laws” . . . does not state

a claim of denial of substantive due process.” (997

F.2d at 1389; A47)

This harsh standard has drawn critical comment from

within the Eleventh Circuit. In an acerbic (but finally obedient)

opinion, one district judge wrote that Greenbriar “clearly stands

for the proposition that elected officials who vote on zoning

requests can act for purely political reasons, because partisan,

political decision-making, even by unknowledgeable, close-

minded politicians . . . is automatically deemed rational and,

therefore, cannot be arbitrary and capricious unless it is the

product of corruption . . . The only limitation appears to be that

there be no forty pieces of silver. . . Anything goes! ... [T]he

Greenbriar answer . . . simply says, ‘THAT’s politics!’.” Church of

Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints v. Jefferson County, 721 F.Supp.

1212, 1214-16 (N.D. Ala. 1989) (emphasis in original).

Something is disturbingly amiss in the Southeast United

States: obeisance to NIMBY activists is proliferating like kudzu.

K38

[here is virtually no dispute on this point:!5 the only

question is as to the propriety of the abdication.!¢

[his problem may be more severe in the Eleventh

Circuit than elsewhere, but it approaches crisis propor-

tions throughout the country. It is the subject of a 1990

presidential report by the Advisory Committee on Regu-

latory Barriers to Affordable Housing, “Not In My Back

Yard” Removing Barriers to Affordable Housing. Slogans

tend to be highminded; the reality behind the acronyms is

often no more than social or economic self-aggrandize-

ment. There is every incentive in this situation for public

officials — often motivated by nothing more exalted than a

desire to perpetuate themselves in office — to count noses

and pander. If a court overturns a decision (and they

1S

he concurring opinion of Judge Hatchett (997 F.2d at

1393-94; App. A57-58) is revealing. It makes but one point, and

makes it repeatedly: “nothing in the opinion should be

interpreted as creating a new rule of law that developers will

always be unsuccessful in stating a substantive due process

claim when a large number of citizens oppose a land use

proposal”; “we do not hold that local governments will always

prevail in defending substantive due process claims whenever

their zoning decision follows public meetings where citizens

express general welfare concerns” (997 F.2d at 1393, 1394; App.

A57-58). Why was this concurrence necessary? Precisely

because the majority opinion, fairly read, seems to do precisely

what the Judge Hatchett said it did not do; make NIMBY

protestation, no matter how self-serving or irrational, a

sufficient basis — in itself, without more — for land use decisions.

'6 To bolster its conclusion that the NIMBY opposition was

a good and sufficient basis for the 1977 City acts, the Eleventh

Circuit called the unsworn opinions and idiosyncratic concerns

of the activists “evidence” and “facts.” (997 F.2d at 1386: App.

A38-39)

K39

rarely do), the officials are personally absolved of respon-

sibility. In the process, constitutional safeguards take the

hindmost.

The most instructive precedent of this Court is Wash-

ington ex. rel. Seattle Trust Title & Trust Co. v. Roberge, 278

U.S. 116 (1928). Striking down a zoning ordinance that

made operation of a “philanthropic home for children or

for old people” contingent on approval of two-thirds of

neighbors living within a specified radius as an invalid

delegation of power and a violation of the due process

clause (id. at 118), this Court held (id. at 121):

The right of the trustee to devote its land to

any legitimate use is property within the protec-

tion of the Constitution.

What happened below is uncomfortably close to

Roberge redux, only worse: it lacks Roberge’s statutory

framework.!7

Mr. Corn does not suggest that barriers be placed

before citizens wishing to appear before a governmental

body and thus directly participate in the political process.

This is a cherished American tradition; the right to be

heard — even when speaking from misinformation or self-

17 Also instructive is City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living

Center, 473 US. 432, 448 (1985) (a city may not avoid the

strictures of the Constitution “by deferring to the wishes or

objections of some fraction of the body politic”). See also Marks v.

City of Chesapeake, 883 F.2d 308, 310-12 (4th Cir. 1989). Florida

state law is consistent that public opposition is not a sufficient

basis for zoning decision. Bailey v. City of St. Augustine Beach,

938 So.2d 50, 52 (Fla. App. 1989); BML Investments Inc. v. City of

Casselberry, 476 So.2d 713 (Fla. App. 1985).

K40

interest must be preserved. But this Court needs to

remind regulators that there is a “sanity check”; officials

must not yield to public pressure when constitutional

rights are at risk.

C. The Eleventh Circuit Eide Construct, Central To the

[sic] Disposition Of This Case Below, Is Inconsis-

tent With The Teachings Of This Court, And

Requires Litigants Challenging Land Use Regula-

tions To Operate Under A Set Of Rules Different

From Those In Other Circuits

In Eide v. Sarasota County, 908 F.2d 716 (9th Cir. 1990)

the Eleventh Circuit unveiled a construct for resolution of

constitutional challenges to land use regulations. The

Court noted that the required threshold step was “deter-

mining what type of claim Eide is making,” and then

pronounced that there were precisely “four types of chal-

lenges [based on allegedly unconstitutional land use reg-

ulation] a plaintiff may bring . [1] just compensation,

[2] due process takings, [3] arbitrary and capricious due

process and [4] equal protection claims.” Id. at 720.

since Eide, this construct has been used pervasively

in the Eleventh Circuit, at both trial and appellate levels.

see, €.@., Rearhard v. Lee County, 968 F.2d 1131, 1134-35

(11th Cir. 1992). It was the matrix for the decision below;

the construct is repeated at 997 F.2d 1373-74 (App. A

7-9), 18

'® The Eleventh Circuit construct has been referred to, to

Mr. Corn’s knowledge, in only one other circuit: it is mentioned

as unhelpful in a district court opinion (Pearson v. City of Grand

K4]

This Court has, of course, adopted its own quite

different approach:

[W]e have frequently observed that whether a

particular restriction will be rendered invalid by

the government's failure to pay tor any losses

proximately caused by it depends largely “upon

the particular circumstances [in that] case.”

(citations)

In engaging in these essentially ad hoc, fa

tual inquiries

Penn Central Trans. Co. v. City of New Yor} 138 U.S

124 (1978).!9

[his Court’s ad hoc, fact-focused construct posits an

almost infinite variety of situations; the Eleventh Circuit

posits but four rigid categories. The problem with the

kind of categorization exercise the Eleventh Circuit

attempted, however intellectually nimble in the abstrac t,

Blanc, 756 k.Supp 414, 318 (E.D. Mich. 1991)). and as helpful in

the Sixth Circuit affirmance of that opinion (Pearson v. City of

Grand Blanc, 961 F.2d 1211, 1215-16 (6th Cir. 1992))

19 See also Concrete Pipe & Prods., Inc. v. Construction Laborers

Pension Trust, 113 S.Ct. 2264, 2290 (1993): Lucas. 112 S.Ct it 2893

MacDonald, Sommer & Frate Yolo County, 477 U.S. 340. 349

(1986); Connolly v. Pension Benefit Guaranty ¢ orp., 475 U.S. 211

224 (1986). As this Court emphasized in Loretto v. Tel prompter

Manhattan CATV (¢ orp., 458 U.S. 419, 426 (1982), while ad ho

considerations control these cases, “the inquiry is not

standardless. The economic impact of the regulation, e: pecially

the degree of interference with investment-backed e» pectation

is Of particular significance.”

a

| ] 1

hat categorization inevitaDly Means exclusion [here

is, tor example iO really appropriate place in the Ele,

t I

enth Circuit template tor vested rights. This tact worked

} , ‘

iversely to Mr. Corn in this case: the construct had n¢

|

cit to recognize the Uperiol tatu hat state-court

j sci al ot adhe inal

ljudicated vested property rights enjoy in the hierarchy

prote ted interest

1'} , | ; ’ 7 , | 1,

Ihe Eide construct does not express the test this

" ; '

vuurt has established. It imposed upon Mr. Corn, and

FS | ve

will impose upon future Eleventh Circuit landowner-liti

rants, a straight-jacket landowners in other circuits will

{ ipre

D. This Case Presents A Vehicle For Resolving The

Significant Conflict Which Exists Between The Sev-

eral Circuits (And Between Federal And State

Courts) As To The Breadth Of Substantive Due

Process Guarantees In Land Use Cases

| ' }

[he substantive due process analysis in the August

to logic and precedent in a number of ways.?2! First, it

i

ignored Eleventh Circuit precedent that where a City act

In Eide, 908 F.2d at 724-25 n.15, the Eleventh Circuit

gently chided this Court for failing to make clear into which of

the four available pigeonholes one of its cases (Pennell v. City

in Jose, 485 U.S. 1 (1988)) fits

he district court found liability under substantive due

process. Since the measure of damages under this theory is the

me as under a takings claim (Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove

833 F.2d 267, 270 n.3 (11th Cir. 1987) (Wheeler IIT)) the district

court did not try the inverse condemnation claim: it was

>

remanded by the Circuit. (997 F.2d at 1393 & n.3; App. A56-57)

13 opinion (997 F.2d at 1374-76; App. A9-13) did violence

K435

}

al, as were the zoning change and site plan denial

ere. such act as a matter of law cannot “bear a substan

at

}

tial relation to the public health, safety, morals o1 general

welfare.” (997 | 2d at 1374 App Al1Q) See, e Q AA Pr

‘les, 850 F.2d at 1488. Second, one of the prongs of the test

j 1 . . j

ipplied was “whether the deprivation is the result of

in abuse of governmental power sufficient to raise an

tit

ordinary tort to the stature of a constitutional violation

‘

,

(997 F. 2d at 1374; App. A9) This suggests that the court

misperceived what was before it; a constitutional land

use regulation claim which implicates the exercise ot! the

state’s inherent police power and a self-executing Consti

tutional provision and does not sound in tort. See, ¢

Reardon v. San Francisco, 66 Cal. 492 505 (1885).22 Third

the Eleventh Circuit failed to factor in the vested rights

and preclusive ruling aspects of the case. The tact signifi

cant to this Court is that the analysis bore scant resem

, 1 : ! } _

blance to the substantive due process analysis this case

t

would have received in other circuits or state courts

throughout the land

, . ry

The Sixth Circuit opinion in Fearson v. 4 ity of Grand

Blanc contains a circuit-by-circuit review of substantive

due process land use law. (961 F.2d at 1217-20) According

to Pearson. the Third and Fourth Circuits are somewhat

more sensitive than others to landowner rights, the Ninth

and Eleventh Circuits are essentially congruent in

2 “TI}t is not a tort for government to govern (Dalehite

LInited States, 346 U.S. 15, 57 (1952) — even if that governance

takes private property Whether just compensation 1s payable is

in entirely separate question.” Kaiser Aetna v United States, 444

U.S. 164, 174 (1979)

K 44

approach (open to some question in view of the Eleventh

Circuit construct), the Eight [sic] Circuit decisions are in

such internal disorder that there is no ascertainable cir

cuit position and so on. The Sixth Circuit’s own test i:

extremely draconian; it will interfere in zoning abuse

cases only when such abuse is so extreme that it “shocks

the conscience Id. at 1222. With respect the “shocks the

conscience” standard shocks the conscience; the right ofa

citizen to receive rights guaranteed by the Constitution

should not be captive to the subjective emotional!

response Of a jurist

Pearson also stresses that federal courts are typically

much more deferential to public entities in substantive

due process challenges than state courts. Id. at 1221-24.

[There seems to be little rational basis for this dichot

omized hierarchy of protection, particularly when state

courts are often called on to determine and enforce rights

under the United States constitution.*' The Pearson court

concluded

We wish it were within our power to har

monize these decisions, but the conflicts among

circuits are too great. Harmony will have to await

iction by the Supreme Court. Id. at 1220 n.45

(Emphasis added)

Pearson suggests that a linchpin of the various analyses is

whether the critical decision is legislative (high deference) or

quasi-judicial, administrative, or ministerial (less deference), In

the case at bench, of course, the Eleventh Circuit somehow saw

the challenged acts as legislative, even though the preclusive

state court rulings held them to be administrative and

ministerial. No reason appears why a federal court should be

telling a state how to categorize its own governmental

dex ISIONS

K45

| protec tion a

i

The quantum of federal constitutiona

itizen enjoys should not depe nd on the serendipity ICC]

dent of geographical location. The case at bench extend

is Opportunity to cure the pervasive conflicts and conce]

tual confusion in the application of substantive due pri

law to land use cases

CeSS

EF. This Court’s Guidance Is Needed In Resolution Of

The Recurring Question Of The Proper Measure Of

Damages In A Land Use Case Where An Econom

Opportunity Is lost Because Of A Temporary Taking

In 1977, when Mr. Corn went before the City, he wa

on the brink of an exceptional economic opportunity

ownership of the first mini-warehouse in the Lauderdal

When the dust settled

IT} L985, ind he

Lakes agTeada

legally empowered to pursue that project the windo

opportunity was gone: the relevant market wa at

rated.24

In context, the related issues are

ernment acts cause the econom

lost torever, does the tempo!

plated project to be

position belov

taking become permanent (Mr. Corn

1 As noted ante, this question vas pre ented t Dut

addressed by the Eleventh Circuit ince una inta

returned to square one on the liability issue. The District ¢

r measure of damages for the partia

1570-71; App. B23-2¢

spoke to the prope

temporary taking (771 F.Supp. at

Corn presented the issue to the Eleventh Circuit at py

ss-Appellee

his Opening Brief, and p 15 of his Brief of Cro

Keply Brief For Appellant (question is what dama

by the time the regulations which effec ted a tempor:

no longer feasible

ges apply

"a

y

are set aside the confiscated project |

I Wihat Il WaS Prot to the revulatory freeze? I

required somehow to attempt to mitigate dam

king to build consistent with the less desirable

sification he is challenging (which would rendet

e vindication pyrrhic)? And where the ownet

o build part of an integrated project (here the

‘fore he 1s able to develop the remainder, must be

ith such partial levelopment even though

il construction 1s economically contra-indicated?

me law from lowe! vuurts that 1 helpful

nl I} lo 4 By pT] ; } lint ‘

F.2d 9 (Ct. Cl. 19 But this Court has not

these recurring problems. Its addr would

rness and uniformity, and effect a significant

ne and judicial resource

¢ offers almost an embarrassment of cet

thy issues. They engage in very fabric of fed

ind speak to the relationships largely

in the United States Constitution on which

m is based: the relationship of federal courts to

courts, of trial courts to appellate courts, of the

to local governments and of the several institu

governance to the rights secured in the constitu

[he Eleventh Circuit ignored the principles

ig these relationships and ran roughshod over

that embody those prin iples

if

rso

fual right at the enter of tl ontrovel

il right in propert That rights in

ic civil rights has long been recognized

id Fin. Corp., 405 ( Toye, (19 ) th

j j j , a Dr

} Cu ite ait L/S ‘ tr i i

114 ‘ ee 19 yt} (i yWY 4) xevgulating

1 re ie@~wiing court need to pe re ninded to

ith th onstitutio}r ii rignt >} it] (*T LT)

| |

Ot poitical expe Hency

, , ,

n almost a decade since tl ourt spoke in

infv. This petition oftet mn appropriate

} , .O | / oh.

olve the recurring problems raised in if

, ‘

kebrual il LYV4

7] ?

pectfully submitted

f TT ' » " ns '

(,1IIRON K AIN JI is

, . ,

MWrsel yf Re ru

CROSBY, HEAFEY

ROA I A MAY

Professional ¢ Orpo! ition

and

\NDREW T. LAVIN

RICHARD A. IVERS

ROMANIK, LAVIN,

HUSS & PAG LI

ittorneys for Petitioner

i

; \

HERMAN CORN, Trustee

ees

as

L1

APPENDIX L

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does a landowner have a constitutionally pro

tected property interest in a vested right to build a speci

} ua

fic project on land, which pursuant to state law the city is

estopped from thwarting, so that the landowner ts enti

tled to just compensation pursuant to the Fifth Amend

j

ment for the city’s confiscation of his vested right?

)

a). Does a landowner who has vested rights to

develop a specific project suffer the loss of all use of his

‘and during the pendency of state litigation through

which the landowner establishes his vested rights and the

city’s obligation to approve the project?

2(b). Even if the land can be developed for alternate

uses, must the landowner develop his land for any such

use during the pendency of the state litigation and

thereby moot his state claim, abandon his vested right

and forfeit his constitutional right to obtain just compen

sation for the confiscation of his project?

(a). Does a city commit a compensable taking of

property pursuant to the Fifth Amendment when it

wrongfully prevents development of land through

invalid regulation comprised of the enforcement of

invalid ordinances and the administrative rejection of a

site plan it lacks discretion to deny, since the city’s

invalid action can never substantially advance any legiti-

mate state interest?

3(b). Does the rough proportionality analysis of

Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S 374 (1994), apply to a city’s

administrative exaction of a landowner’s constitutionally

i

} ,

protected vested right to build a pecific project

} } } } j

condition to the landowner’s development of his land

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Plaintiff, Appellant and Petitioner 1 Herman Corn

irustee ( Corn )

Defendants and Responds nts are the City of Laude

dale Lakes, a Florida muni ipal corporation (the “City

Howard Craft (“Mavor’ ) Alfonso Geretti, lerome

Cohan. Morris Klein, Lyman L. Allen, Louis Greenwald

and Harrv Kaufman (collectively the “City Councilmen

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ij

LIST OF APPENDICES

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES Vill

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI

SIONS ...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE j

A. Introduction. .

B. Pre-Litigation Background

ocean areas

. yf i ; ; '

’

' ’ ] Te ' ! } |

'

+ '

r ‘ |

i } sot Fa 4

( |

‘ | = | a/] | 64 8

| | }

I VERE Ries OY 1] tT

' ’

; a mt ft } |

' t I i it }

+,? ; ‘ T?y ; ty, {

( Lal \ i

LA \

my nti ted for \

’ y i Fide

|

\ i tel

; A \

iy pt) | |

} : ;

i the Proje

I . |

roperty in

: :

Vhich Just ¢

‘ . , ,

eat ul ft What Property Inter im We

'

' j on } ‘

ry | tected 1 thy laking hase

+4 '

ria \ \ reat » | nstitu mati

| ') }

t \ " , ;

boc | Propert Interest t v ed Wwigh

. '> " “ie

he Fleventh Circuit Kec nize tmnat Ve

' , ,

Right re (C onstitutionall Protected |

, , '

ty Interests Under Florida Lav

, ’

; he i] Ti} V ¢ ted cen nt ! ‘ i

' ' ‘ tT) t ‘ ‘

tion Protected Property Interests Is |

| |

icf nit yvithn puIPreme *% irt bciKl

a | ’ i

purispruacnce

a ‘

r? i iled te Prot t Trl vi

I? by ¢

n

i}

i .

| » 4 cy frrti ona ‘

1 [he ( ontrise ition oO} {orn ( «¢ 1 stitute Mally

laking of the Property Throu

yf thie State Court

iItigation

;

‘rest in the Project Effec

yhout the Pen

itv’s Action

ny Legitimate

te

1

‘

'

’

re |

ror

{ i

1?)

I

ly

it

1?

;

ty |

d al

Mey

|}

BB

\h

VAT

MH

LL JU

{ f ee

DIS |

JUNE 1

PENDIDD

IC)

IT, DAI

|

PTTIOON

YCTOBEI

UN

{ ; bert ‘ ri

fry] | ;

‘ rt i tLab TNT

i | j } }

‘ yy i { t'T \ j

| ;

+ ;

i if ite i { if é

i | it '

| j Of

*

riST OF APPENDICES

| OURT O

ED SEPTEMBI

i ( ) | 1 {} i |

. '

1QQ

i

‘

IOMENT. FINDIN

TOON OOF LAY

RICT CO

1994

{

{ COURT OF A

FID AUGI ae

OF FACT AND

ITED STATES DIS!

DATED AUGI

Sale eee

ORDER AWARDING ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND

COSTS, U.S. DISTRICT COURT, S.D. FLORIDA,

DATED MAY 20, 1992 E1-E16

APPENDIX F

DECISION, DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OIF

FLORIDA, DATED FEBRUARY 16, 1983 F1-F1]

APPENDIX G

CORN V. CITY OF LAUDERDALE LAKES, CASE

NO. 77-12955, BROWARD COUNTY CIRCUIT

COURT, FINAL JUDGMENT DATED OCTO

BER 20, 1978 G1-G18

APPENDIX H

ORDERS, CIRCUIT COURT IN AND FOR

BROWARD COUNTY, FLORIDA DATED JAN

UARY 28, 1970 AND MAY 18, 1971 H1-H6

APPENDIX I

CITY OF LAUDERDALE LAKES ORDINANCES

NOS. 103, 104, 105, 548, 549, 552, 568... 11-128

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases Pages

AA Profiles v. Citv of Fort Lauderdale, 850 F.2d

1483, 1488 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S.

1020 (1989).... ete eae ais Ope 18

Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 95-96 . Petes > 2

Babbit v foupee, a7 SAY. Fass Gee COMMER % vc ch

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972)....... 16

\

trict v. Duquis

City of Lauderdale

First English Evangelical

Angeles County, 317 (1987)

Alachua County

Hernando County Board of (¢

Villiams Corporation, 630 So.z

ee

AIDE. OE EN RNY gy ORES Oe PRE ag

>

respon

opence V.

ae ;

\ }

, ,

|

i

t \ ‘

igraf v.

7

ry +

tt I

? ‘7

{ i

T

e® oul

;

“y/ ith

1

i

¢*T I he

f \ ( lil

om

\ in

‘¢ » |

iY,

rve Ltd

+ 1380 |

'y {1Y95

=

Keisnau

) 1)

ISK (

/in

ir. 1YRY)

co Short, 554 U.S

Florida

Wis LOO

Monsanto (¢

mMerman,

( Ompanies

\

h Hotel v. Citv of Hollywood

| , we

(la ify

il Constr. Cory | bf) |

' } ; j ) ‘

i hailm | odu | 1] ’ 14

: .

Lire mpter Mat 1) ttan ( \] y (

126 (1982)

1 , , | ’

f tock Land Kank Radford

6-( 1935

Carolina Coastal Council 0)

| 1QQ”

f yt ee. he ¥. | 1964

i , 4

ort (Coastal Commission, 48

Co Company Mahon, 260

ony Boat Key 17

916, 525 (1982)

( range ( ounty,

1011 (5th Cir. DCA 1982)

;

1s

,

‘i

ry

}

“

.

{

it

denied, 115 S.Ct

411

Ls

| Wi rf | if (

] } |

P SO.La I

Li ryite tate \ {

tote) 78 (194

Wheeler C ity |

, ‘ 7,

1451 (lith Car. 1990)

\ i ;

VVitliamson Count

} ? ]

tltton Bank 1/3

| | State ( Of

‘ A ;

? ith Lmen men?

| ort rth men

PLCC 1 ' wma

City of |

Ordinance

Ordinance

Ordinance

Ordinance

Ordinance

13 |

er

1 2A

LO4

i‘ 1qk

iva

State

1uderd ile

Ni 103

=

WO

No LOS

A

\

VO

No. 549

Sti

| ederal

Statutes and

Lake

Corp 123 |

) é SY | } | | ,4

mmission bian

| 1985)

: , 4 ,

i | i? ' i

ntutes

Ordinances

amr pet

Ord nance No 552. Hs rN me . 7 9

Ordinance No. 568 . x on ie

Text

D. Mandelker, Land Use Law, The Zoning Process

S G22; Ot ZkG CAO OR viécaséer 1Y

Hanes and Minchew, On Vested Rights For Land

Use and Development, 46 Washington Law

> sleds | » eed / »\ ‘

Review 373. 376 (1989)..... si ay LY

OPINIONS BELOW

[his Petition seeks review of the following opinions

issued by the United States Court of appeals for the

T

1. Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 95 F.3d 1066 (11th

Cir. 1996) (“Corn IV”), and the Order Denying Rehearing

and a Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, included as

Petitioner's Appendix A

Corn IV affirmed in part, vacated and remanded in

part the Findings of Fact and conclusions of Law Upon

Remand of the United States District Court for the South

ern District of Florida, (“Second final Judgment”

included as Petitioner’s Appendix B

’ } y ] y ? ae s , 7

sine Jaleo ’ er . (

OF Lauvaderaule Lakes NY; I 2d Feleb,

(lith Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 511 U.S. 1018 (1994) (Co?

III”), and the subsequent Order Denying Rehearing and a

‘ = ie } . . 2 \ ‘

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, included as Peti

tioner’s Appendix (

firmed in part and reversed in part the

_ rf) 1 . — } . | . . ar :

August 30, 1991 decision of the United States District

L10

( ourt fo!

71 FSupp. 1557 (S.D. Fla. 1991) (the “First |

Appe ndix D

ment”), included as Petitioner's

the Southern District of Florida, publis!

In addition to the opinions identified above, this

controversy has generated the following rele

lished opinions and unpublished decisions, by

federal courts:

.

vant pub

| " q . OA ) 17 .

} ry ( j r ,_auaderaai iA‘ 4 \ t | ~\A 85 (11th

’ 1]

28 iYV) . 4.07 ij }

) ; ‘ . l nwsino ] O71 t >] 1 ,-

b Lorn City QuUderadal Lak Sil [ Gd i014

(llth Cir. 1987) ( Corn I )

: e } ea > 4A +4

c Corn City of Lauderdale Lak § F.3d 442 (11t!

,

{ t 1993)

’ p ; . ' 7 , ‘ » 3

uu Ori ( j oF | wdaerdale 4] , SO a | U

Fla. 1982)

j i | 7 < ) i) cl.

Ty? ( 1fy f {HMUuUcruUHUi Lak 4. 50.2d : Yi (ria

Ith DCA 1983) (“State Corn I”), included as

4 rr \ iy i 4 ] rda “ik 7 1 SO d 111]

Ith DCA 19

’ } j i i

yy orn \ fy of Laua Uiliiit AC Last No

12955. Broward County Circuit Court, Final Judgment

‘ . : . a , : ’ ‘ » ' . ) s+ s

state Court Final Judgmert”), included as Petitioner's

| pendix (,

/ I J , al \ “oe

n Lorn City r ,auderdadale Lake ( ase NO. 6Y Y

4 }

Broward County Circuit Court, Orders on Summ \

st oe : i i QD reer

udgment, included as Petitioner Append) H

>

Petitioner

JURISDICTION

[his_is an action for just compensation for the admin

istrative taking of real property and the vested right to

build a specific project without due process of law in

violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution and the Civil Rights Act (42

U.S.C. § 1983). The judgments of the Eleventh Circuit

i

were entered as follow:

Corn IV was entered on September 23, 1996

)

orn’s Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehear

’ ' : inte 9 7

ing En Banc was denied on March 20, 199

Corn III was entered on August 13, 1993. Corn’s

Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En

Ta

Banc was denied on October 14, 199

\n extension of time within which to file this Petition

for Writ of Certiorari to August 15, 1997, was granted by

irder of Justice Anthony M. Kennedy, Circuit Justice for

the leventh Circuit, on June 6, 199

T . | ,

[} Court ha urisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.¢

4 |

i et |

CONSTITUTIONAIT

AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution

PVEbiwatts

|

shall private property be taken for

ublic use, without just compensation

L.12

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution

“Section 1... nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property without due

process of law

12? U.S.C. § 1983:

“Every person who, under color of any statute

ordinances, regulation, custom or usage, of any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities se ured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the

party injured in an action at law, suit in equity

or other proper proceeding for redress

Citv of Lauderdale Lakes ordinances nos. 103, 104

105 548, 549, 552, and 565 are reproduced as Petitione!

Appendix I.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

[his case presents takings issues which this Court

has identified without resolving, which importa! { rue:

tions have been incorrectly decided by the Eleventh Cir

"7,

¥

’

ié

cult

Through this litigation Corn is seeking just compen

& b oi |

ation for the City’s administrative confiscation of his

ested right to develop a mini-warehouse/self-storage

icility with an attendant strip shopping center (the “Pro

ject”), on an 8'/2 acre part el of property (the “Property” )

he City wrongfully prevented Corn from developing the

a wee eee ee

SSS

|

|

|

H

t

;

SS

L13

Project by rejecting Corn’s preliminary site plan (the “Site

Plan”), after illegally enacting ordinances rezoning and

placing a moratorium on development of the Property

and eliminating warehouses as an authorized use of land

in the City. Before seeking just compensation in federal

court Corn had successfully sued the City in state court,

establishing that the offending ordinances were improp

erly enacted and that the City was estopped from enforce

ing the ordinances against the Property because Corn had

a vested right to develop the Project. The state court

found that the City lacked discretion and was required to

approve the Site Plan and issue a building permit for the

Project

The state court litigation lasted almost eight years

Throughout this time the wrongful rejection of the Site

Plan remained in effect, preventing Corn from develop

ing the Project, thereby depriving him of all economically

viable use of both his vested right to develop the Project

and the Property

Through the federal litigation Corn has unsuc

cessfully sought the recovery of just compensation for the

confiscation of his constitutionally protected property

interest in the Project and the loss of his use of his

Property

B. Pre-Litigation Background

The Property was part of a 261 acre tract (the

“Tract”), acquired by Corn in 1966, when the Tract was

located in unincorporated Broward County, and zoned

ed

for agricultural use. (App. G-2, State Court Final Judg

PI z

a

nent!; App. D-1, First Final Judgment). Corn agreed to

the annexation of the Tract into the City? in return for

which the City approved Corn’s development plan for

the Tract. (App. A-2, Corn IV) Accordingly, ordinances

were simultaneously enacted annexing the Tract into the

City (Ordinance 104), zoning the property comprising the

lract for residential, commercial and industrial use, in

accordance with Corn’s development plan (Ordinance

105), and creating zoning category C-1A, an industrial

zone which allowed warehouses, to apply to the Property

(Ordinance 103). (App. D-2, First Final Judgment; App

A-2, Corn IV)

Corn expend d in excess of $100,000 in reliance upon

the City’s annexation and zoning of the Property, devel

oping the Property for C-1A use. (App. G-3, State Court

Final Judgment; App. D-2, First Final Judgment) rhe

Property fronted on a main thoroughfare on the east and

was bounded by a canal on the south. (App. D-2, First

Final Judgment). Corn constructed canals on the western

and northern borders of the Property to create a buffet

between the Property and the proposed residential area:

thereby fixing the dimensions of the Property at 370 feet

r/ (ia

vide, and 1.030 feet deep (Jad

i 17 17 ‘

[he partie: were collaterally e topped from relitigating

. ,

e fact conclusively estal lished in the state Court Final!

ludgment. Allen McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 96 (1980

Without ¢ Orn consent the ¢ ity would have had to hold a

f mal . ' , , ; f thy Rlorida lee lati ti

ormal referendum or secure an act of the Florida legisiature t

innex the Tract. Fla.Stat., Ch. 171, et seq

L15

Corn thereafter proceeded to develop the Tract in

accordance with his original development plans and the

zoning established by Ordinance 105, first building single

family homes and condominiums. (App. G-2, State Court

Final Judgment; App. D-2, First Final Judgment; App.

A-2, Corn IV). In 1969 the City attempted to change the

zoning of a portion of the Tract. (App. G-2-3, State Court

Final Judgment). Litigation ensued resulting in a judg-

ment holding that the City was estopped from changing

the zoning. (App. F-2, State Corn I). The ruling of estoppel

to change zoning was applicable to the entire Tract. (App.

H-2, Order Granting Summary Judgment).

On April 1, 1977, Corn submitted the Site Plan to the

City. (App. D-23, First Final Judgment). The Site Plan

depicted the construction of the Project, including an

approximate 103,000 square foot mini-warehouse situated

in the rear of the Property, and an approximate 67,000

square foot shopping center across the front of the Prop-

erty, between the main road and the mini-warehouse

facility. (/d.)

[he Site Plan was approved by the City’s Planning

and Zoning Board on two separate occasions. (App. G-9,

State Court Final Judgment; App. D-3, First Final Judg-

ment). The City Council tabled consideration of the Site

Plan on three occasions, at which meetings residents liv-

ing adjacent to the Property actively opposed the Project.

(App. G-9-10, State Court Final Judgment). While resi-

dents raised “concerns” regarding the Project, no resident

or member of the City presented any evidence supporting

any of the expressed concerns. (App. D-3, 21, First Final

Judgment). Indeed, each of the concerns had been consid-

ed by the City’s Planning and Zoning Board, which

L16

determined that the Site Plan complied with all of the

City’s regulations and ordinances regarding such matters

>

(App. G-7-9, State Court Final Judgment)

Ultimately, on July 12, 1977, the City acceded to the

residents’ vocal opposition to the Project. (App. F-4, State

5

Corn I; App. D-22, First Final Judgment; App. C-2, Corn

[I1I). Without having conducted any investigation of mini-

warehouses or study of whether there was any reason to

rezone the Property, (App. D-4, 21, First Final Judgment)

the City enacted Ordinance 549, which rezoned the Prop

erty from C-1A to B-3, a more restrictive category which

did not permit warehouses, and Ordinance 548, which

eliminated only storage warehouses as a permitted use in

the C-1A zone. (App. D-3, First Final Judgment). This was

the first time the City had considered rezoning the Prop-

he C-1lA

zoning category. (Id.). The City did not afford Corn o1

erty or changing the uses permitted within t

invone notice of its intention to enact these Ordinances

(App. F-4, State Corn I).

After enacting the Ordinances and based thereon, the

City Council denied approval of the Site Plan. (App

G-12, State Court Final Judgment; App. D-3, First Final

idgment)

The Citv soon thereafter enacted ordinance 552,

which imposed a 150 day building moratorium, prohibit-

ing the issuance of building permits for the two parcels of

C-1 property in the City, one of which was the Property

(App. G-11, State Court Final Judgment, App. D-3, First

Final Judgment). The moratorium was ostensibly enac ted

to evaluate the impact of C-1 zone uses on adjacent

yy 5

residential property. (App. 1-22-25. Ordinance 552). The

L17

Planning and Zoning Board’s report was not submittec

until December, 1977, months after the Property had

already been rezoned B-3. (App. C-35, Corn III). The

moratorium was extended by Ordinance 568, until July 4,

1978. (App. I-26, 27, Ordinance 568; App. D-4, First Final

Judgment). (Ordinances 548, 549, 552, and 568 shall col-

lectively be referred to as the “Ordinances”).

The City’s “purposeful action” prevented Corn from

developing the Project. (App. C-13, Corn III).

rn

The State Court Litigation —- Corn Has Vested

Rights in the Project and the City Must Approve the

Site Plan.

Corn sued the City in state court, challenging the

validity of the Ordinances and seeking to compel the City

to approve the Site Plan. (App. D-4, First Final Judg-

ment).? On October 20, 1978, the State Court Final Judg-

ment was entered, ruling in favor of Corn. (App. G, State

Court Final Judgment).

The trial court found that because Corn had both

expended money and made substantial physical changes

in the land in reliance upon the City’s undertaking in

adopting the original zoning ordinances, it was grossly

unfair to permit the City to change the zoning of the

Property. (App. G-14-15, State Court Final Judgment;

App. F-5, State Corn I). The City’s annexation and zoning

> At the time Corn instituted the state court litigation

Florida law did not afford a landowner the entitlement to

recover money damages for the unconstitutional taking of

property. Corn I at 1517.

of the Property and Corn’s reliance thereon in preparing

the Property for development conferred upon Corn

vested rights in the zoning of the Property, and in the

Project. (App. G-17, State Court Final Judgment; App

C-3, Corn III). As a result, the City was estopped from

rezoning the Property and from denying approval of the

Site Plan. Id. Further, the Ordinances were declared

invalid for the City’s failure to follow its own notice and

procedural requirements for their passage. Id. The City

had no discretion and was obligated to approve the Site

Plan and issue a building permit for the Project upon

Corn’s correction of three technical deficiencies which the

Citv had never afforded Corn the opportunity to correct

\pp. G-12, State Court Final Judgment; App. I State

\ rh }

nforcement of the State Court Final Judgment, so that

ame |

a

ae

—s

—

the Ordinances and denial of the Site Plan

effect during the pendency of the appeal. (App D-5, First

Final Judgment). The State Court Final Judgment was

ffirmed. (App. F, State Corn I) The Florida appellate

urt issued its mandate on March 4, 1983, at which time

the decision became final. (App. D-5, First Final Jude

ent

Thereafter. Corn submitted a revised Site Plan to the

, : | | / ™ - Py

ty for approval, which the City refused to approve

} ] . }

unless Corn complied with platting requirements that

A A ‘/

ame into existence after July, 1977. (App. D-5, First Final

ludgment). On March 26, 1985, the state court ordered the

City to issue Corn a building permit without platting

(App. D-6, First Final Judgment).

Between June, 1977 and March, 1985, Corn was

wrongfully prevented from developing the Project while

he successfully litigated with the City in state court and

established his vested right to build the Project. During

the pendency of the litigation Corn did not develop the

Property for any other use because he remained intent on

developing the Property in accordance with his vested

right to build the Project. By the time Corn succeeded in

establishing his vested right to develop the Project

changes in the area and the growth of competition in the

it years had rendered development of the

Project economically unfeasible.

1

Orn Nas UNSUCCE tu

ly attempted to sell the Prop-

erty since 1985. The Property is still owned by Corn and

innot be developed ror any economicali\ viable uS¢

D. Federal Court Litigation

On January 17, 1984, Corn filed the underlying

action, seeking damages for violation of the just compen

sation, due process and equal protection clauses of the

ifth and Fourteenth Amendments and the Civil Rights

Act. (App. D-5, 6, First Final Judgment). The jurisdiction

of the district court was invoked under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331

1a 124% Th " ‘ ¢ ArT AC a ermicc va. ; rine ler

cali i J. it ak it Was qgqismissea aS UNTIpE undael

| lleawr ‘4 Di aw 9170 ’ 9979019 ; [ 790771 > a a4]

VWiliiamson County | (AhnNnNING COMMISSION V. Hamilton Bank,

473 U.S. 172 (1985). (App. D-7, First Final Judgment). The

leventh Circuit reversed. (Corn I). The Eleventh Circuit

later contirmed that Corn’s claims were not barred by the

statute of limitations or res judicata. (Corn II).

On August 30, 1991, following a four day non-jury

trial, the district court issued the First Final Judgment,

L20

ruling in favor of Corn on his “substantive due process

takings claim”.4 The trial court concluded that the City

Council’s enactment of the Ordinances and rejection of the

Site Plan was motivated solely by an irrational desire to

thwart Corn’s Project. (App. D-22, First Final Judgment)

Specifically, the trial court made the following find

|. Corn had a vested right to build the Project

App. D-15, First Final Judgment).

?. Corn’s vested right in the Project was a constitu-

tionally protected property interest created by Florida

law. (App. D-20, First Final Judgment).

; The City acted arbitrarily and capriciously in

I~

ral of the Project, failing to independently

the merits of the Project, and instead blindly

following the will of the residents. (App. D-21, 22, First

Final Judgment)

, ;

The district court awarded damages as just compen

tion to Corn App. D-32, First Final Judgment)

7 " T ]

he First Final Judgment, claiming

awarded by the district court was

that the compensation

C-5, Corn III). The City

ot just. (App.

1.) The Eleventh Circuit reversed the First Final Judg-

ent, determining that certain findings of fact of the

district court were clearly erroneous. (App. C-38, 39 Cor

). The Eleventh Circuit ruled that the proper standard

' Through his substantive due proce taking laim Cc

1intained that the City’s wrongful rejection of the Site Pla

irbitrary and capricious. (App. C-4-5, Corn I]

L21

to be applied to Corn’s substantive due process claim was

whether a rational basis existed for the City’s action, and

reviewed the evidence and found that a rational basis

existed for enacting the Ordinances and rejecting the Site

Plan. (App. C-44, Corn III).

The Eleventh Circuit remanded the case to the dis-

trict court for a consideration of Corn’s just compensation

claim,° which had not been ruled upon. (App. C-56, Corn

III). The Eleventh Circuit also reversed the district court’s

dismissal of the City Councilmen, determining that the

denial of the Site Plan was an administrative act, for

which the City Councilmen only had qualified, rather

than absolute immunity. (/d.).

On remand, the district court issued the Second Final

Judgment, ruling in favor of the City and against Corn on

Corn’s just compensation claim (App. B, Second Final

Judgment). Corn appealed the Second Final Judgment to

the Eleventh Circuit, which affirmed the judgment in part

and remanded the cause to the district court solely for a

determination of whether Corn was deprived of all use of

q

the Property during the moratorium.® (App. A, Corn IV)

[The Eleventh Circuit concluded as follows

} f rr +13 . (oO r 1 TY) ( rr

Through Corn’s just compensation claim Corn

maintained that the City’s wrongful rejection of the Site Plan

1 7 » = . . ° . .

deprived him of economically viable use of his constitutionally

protected property interest in the Project and the Property.

(App. A-6-7, Corn IV)

6 The district court has entered an order concluding that

’ ’

7

f ; nas y } _ . hoe Pp norty deur Yea he

Corn was not deprived of! all use of the rroperty during the

moratorium, finding that the moratorium did not apply to the

Property, since the moratorium applied to C-1 property and the

Property was already rezoned to B-3. Corn has recently

aled this ruling to the Eleventh Circuit. The pendency of

iat

L22

1. While Corn was deprived of a use of the Prop-

erty, he was not deprived of all uses of the Property from

1977 through 1985, while he successfully established in

state court his vested rights and entitlement to build the

Project. During the pendency of the state court litigation

Corn could have and was obligated to develop the Prop-

ertv for some alternative use (App. A-! ,, 14, Corn

) Even if Corn had vested rights in the Project, the

ity’s denial of permission to build the Project does not

state a claim for just compensation because Corn was not

deprived of all uses of the Property. (App. A-19, Co lV)

\ denial of the right to develop a particular project may

J e ]

ritra r > . . a < " r ¢ : QO

vive rise to a claim for just compe nsation for the taking of

fhe nr van i . 7k t t} » oO ‘ rnrment Tae rm mm 1ec11e Ff +] }

ne project Only ll rie rovernment action In 1SSUeC TallS tO

‘

ae . . » % a ; . j ‘ A »1 r\/

1dvance a iegitimate state interest (App A-2Z1, ( nly

‘ |

' , te

\ party can have a constitutionally protectea

) ++ yh 17 i y +} 1a, y + 4 | Zz

i pre Y rly nt UNaeC! ne que process Ci 1Sé tne Pritt

rT) } Y y ar} 4 j ’ 1% " , Y ‘

menament wn m aoes no quai ry a tO} ‘ . At

| y 1 } A mann ‘ +}, : ‘

e takings clause OF tne Fiftl Amenamel! O that ju

‘ \ ] j 4

ympensation 1s not due for the taking or the propert'

-

“~ 19 Cor

pI

rs

ry } | . |

Through this Petition Cor eek evit of cert

] | ry 1

issue letermined in rn ind | }

ippeal doe not hi f ny impact whatever on the é

ea

} | | } : '

ed herein. Even if the Eleventh Circuit c ludes that

. : ( - f 1]

ratorium applied to and deprived Corn < e |

I

| t 1077 | lL | , a

i perty from june, i¥ througn jul I/D ] war ins

+ } T

entitle Corn to compensation ft he taking f the | e(

na by or pt. f F.ales 20°74

il the | roperty after july, 19/6

SNE I

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD ISSUE

Corn’s Vested Right to Build the Project Was a

Constitutionally Protected Property Interest Which

Was Confiscated For Which Just Compensation is

Due.

1. This Court Has Identified, Without Resolving,

the Issue of What Property Interest in Realty are

Protected by the Takings Clause.

It is well settled that a landowner who is deprived of

ymically viable use of his property has suffered a

ig for which compensation is due pursuant to the

Amendment : South Carolina Coast

sD. U.S. | 1016 (1992). In is, this court

tified and did not answer an issue which is squarely

1 D this Petition

If a landowner has a constitutionally protected

i

erty interest in an incident of land owner-

a ee . : marlo titlo an, io x ( ’

ship less than fee simple title and is de prived of

, 77 ’ i s ? dies "

all economically viable use of that property

interest, is the landowner entitled to just com-

,

sensation pursuant to the Fifth Amendment,

1]

i

he is deprived of all use

}

Regrettably, the rhetorical force of our ’ depriva

|

tion of 1 economically feasible use” rule is

greater than its precision, since the rule does not

make clear the “property interest” against which the

of value is to be measured. * * * Unsurprisingly,

this uncertainty regarding the composition of the

denominator in our “deprivation” fraction has pro-

: ‘ *y 7 ‘ = "

aduced inconsistent pronouncements DY the

2)

x

*

d protection to the

)

‘

recognition a!

]

;

I

da

Co

>)

»s a diminution in (or

a , —~ oben

, + — es

—— —o nal Pr.

a” -

e * ,

a —_

‘ i *

~ pa

++ - ‘=

~ :

~ r;

f of as

4 pa bet 5

~/ -~ ~

S om “

~~ wal iJ

= _ -_

-— os

_ ound ~

- al -

>

++ =

-¢. - ber n

/ anal a

—_ . ro) >

~~ — >

bH os re

Cc quand ot iB)

Pare, ond "s

f . ~~

ir pat

o~ "s ) +

—_— T ~~

- + =

— - v

~ / -

- 4 +

f i J Be

=x as -

- a

= - - --

ut 4

~ -~ —<_

7 "s >

~~~ oR , <>

~/

a ~ poo

4 7 =

a _— r

= j

r

orm +

t

OI

2. Florida Law Creates a Constitutionally Pro-

tected Property Interest in Vested Rights.

This Court has clearly explained that property inter-

ests protected by the Fifth Amendment’s takings clause

are not created by the Constitution, and instead, they are

created and their dimensions are defined by existing

rules or understandings that stem from an independent

source such as state law. E.g. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1016, n.7;

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Company, 467 U.S. 986, 1001

(1984).?

It was conclusively established through the state

court litigation that Corn had a vested right to build the

Project so that the City was estopped from rezoning the

Property and was compelled to approve the Site Plan and

In Corn IV, the Eleventh Circuit erroneously stated that

‘property” as used in the just compensation clause of the Fifth

Amendment is defined much more narrowly than in the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments due process clauses, so that while

certain property interests may not be taken without due

process, they may be taken without paying just compensation

(App. A-18, 19, Corn IV). The Eleventh Circuit is clearly wrong.

[his Court has employed the identical standard of looking

to existing rules or understandings that stem from an

independent source such as state law to determine whether a

party has a property interest for both takings cases, e.g. Lucas,

505 U.S. at 1030, and due process cases E.g. Board of Regents v.

Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972). Since resort is made to the same

legal standard, an interest is either a property interest for both

the takings clause and due process clause, or it is not a protected

property interest for either clause. See Texaco v. Short, 454 U.S.

516, 525 (1982) (evaluation of whether Indiana state law created

property interest in mineral rights for both claims of violation of

due process and taking of property).

L26

issue a building permit. (App. G, State Court Final Judg-

ment; App. F-9, State Corn I; App. C-3, Corn III). Florida

law creates a constitutionally protected property interest

in Corn’s vested right to develop the Project

A vested right under Florida law is a property right

which is created as a matter of fairness to protect the

property owner from the loss of an interest in property

which he has enjoyed. Hollywood Beach Hotel

Hollywood, 329 So.2d 10, 15-16 (Fla. 1976). A city is equita-

bly estopped from depriving a property owner of a par

? . 4 7 ,

ticular property right as a result of conduct of the city

— , rol: { h ; rim “4

upon which the landowner has relied to his detriment

EO SE I a et OT 2 ee Oe Yana)

ui Sakolsky mt ity of Corai Gables, | ] So.2d 4 oD 4 6H (t

1963). The city is estopped from exercising its police

power to prohibit a particular use of land when

landowner’s change of position in reliance on the city's

actions would render it inequitable and unjust to destroy

the right to use the land the landowner has acquired

ene SOS i a rare ee

rnanao County poara Commissioners 7 >.41 V\ ]

ATE 20) .. 5 1cc 114<¢ "1 . Cal. TVA 1002

Corporation, 630 So.2d 1155, 1156 (Fla. 5th DCA 19

Under such circumstances the landowner’s right to

ry

jevelop the pvrovertv for a particular use be ae wontod

aevelop Me property IOT a particuial use pecOomMes Vestea

Ty Ty ‘ J

and is not subject to revocation. Hollywood B

29 So.2d at 16.

Vested rights are based upon the recognition that

landowner’s reliance upon a city’s conduct creates

expectancy or an entitlement to certain rights which

would be inequitable to allow a city to revoke. 7

Largo v. Imperial Homes Corporation, 309 So.2d 571, 57

(Fla. 2d DCA 1975). Vested rights thus protect a land

owner against even otherwise valid zoning ordinances

because, as a matter of fairness, a city cannot

~ > —

YU »S —

~ la

a — =

—

- >

is — i -

>

Reese nes

Vested

Property

Recognizes that

Eleventh Circuit

The

»

,

;

Protected

Constitutionally

are

c

Interests

Rights

Law.

Under Florida

ermit or certificate of occupancy lI the city lacks discre

‘n and must issue the permit or certificate); AA Profil

City of Fort Lauderdale, 850 F.2d 1483, 1488 (11th Cir

1988). cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1020 (1989), (property interest

in woodchipping development); Wheeler v. City of Pleasant

rove. 896 F.2d 1347, 1351 (11th Cir. 1990) (property inte!

4. Recognizing Vested Rights as ¢ onstitutionally

Protected Property Interests is Consistent with

Supreme Court Takings Jurisprudence.

12 * j nor ; :

NnecovniZing that i vested | roperty right j onstl

) , i ,

tio! ’ otects 1 prope rt interes t for vn Nn compen

i r I

} t A. A y }

tion due under the Fifth Amendment for it vronegtiu

} \

king 1 onsistent with takings jurisprudence

I} | y+ } = A +} + mor rt. inter ot 17 rs

it) uli mas neia la a pr erry mterest 1 I

‘ ‘ + mr! r ry

tate which is less than fee simple titie ownersnip Can Dé

} TA?

onstitutionally protected property interest for whicn

} ] I

npensation 1 jue for its taking under the Fifti

i ‘ ; / | " 1

nenament. it in California Coastal mim

| ®C 1

tS U.d. ¢ 19% this court recognized that the right to

; |

r jars Na recognized tnat ested rignt have

]

titutional Dast nfrerring nstitutionai protection ¢

J ‘

, lay ; - ¢} Ehiic I {

perty rights a lat lowner has acquired in the use OF Mls 1ana

I

| i. y i} . la 7 iT i , L. : » ) . * ) 1A

1). Mandelker, Land Use Law, Che Zoning Process 66.12, at 214

QQ\ VY | j ;

8). Vested rights have been recognized as a super property

right”, being immune from exercise of the police power, and a

nh possessing more constitutional propriety weight than a

yroperty right. Hanes and Minchew, On Vested Rights To

ere T

i t At

* on alt site

ind Use and Development, 46 Wa hington Law Revi 173, 376

IOY ) | 1©@ E€XECICIse f re yulilatory pouice powel! that CallSeS the

, ~ +

liminishment of a vested right is one that goes too far ld

=

He Ss

SS Se SSS

alee aera

\

i

L29

exclude others from one’s property is a constitutionally

protected property interest. Id. at 834: see also Dolan v

City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 384. In Pennsylvania Coal

Company v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922), this court held that

the reservation of the right to mine underground coal was

a constitutionally protected property interest. Id. at 413

Invasion of a landowner’s airspace by planes whose noise

diminished but did not destroy all viable use of the land

was recognized as effecting a taking. United States v

Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 262 (1946). A tenant’s leasehold

interest in property, has been held to be a constitutionally

4

protected property interest. E.g. United States v. General

a real estate

Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 359, 378, 1945). Indeed,

lien to secure a mortgage has been held to be a constitu

tionally protected property interest. Louisville Joint Stock

Land Bank v. Radford, 295 U.S. 555, 596-602 (1935). The

taking of the right to devise a fractional interest in land

has been held to effect a compensable taking. Babbit

Toupee, 117 S.Ct. 727, 731-32 (1997).

In each of these cases the landowner had an expecta-

tion created by state law that the particular incident of

ownership in land would not be interfered with or taken,

thereby conferring constitutional protection upon each

such property interest. Each interest in land in issue was

an “essential stick in the bundle of rights that are com-

monly characterized as property”, see Nollan at 831,

because of the protection afforded the property interest

by state law and the landowner’s expectation of retaining

the particular interest as a result thereof. Such state law

legal recognition and protection creates a constitutionally

oe oo ~~

TT - - — ane

oe —S ~~

~~ +~ ” ~

_ wee “oA

~ + — on a4

" ~_ .

= al

=e --

_ ~

AN rate mem en aa a ee ner toe

rroject, entitling him to just compensation pursuant tO

[ 4 A . j l — com —T >I 7 .

t itth Amendment therefor, irrespective of whethe1

1 ,

{ ’ ' L £ 4} Peo eas

\ ry etainea otner:n® ¢€ on micallys V1laDit uses O taehe> 2 rOop

4

B. The Confiscation of Corn’s Constitutionally Pro-

tected Property Interest in the Project Effected a

Taking of the Property Throughout the Pendency of

the State Court Litigation.

+7 far-h 1ORS thoro wu a 2) 7 ATIVE ca re rarhich tho

nd March, LYS there Were alternative uses for W hich the

, “ ] }/ } uy Lh , ror 13 ] " } slo ‘

Property could mave peen developed. Nonetheless,

ee OPE eT Se, : 2 1072 ( a a ,

between june i1Y// and july, 19/5, Corn was prevented

oll

oe

+

~~

fre oam . »| yr the Py eter - 1 ,

rrOorm aeveioping tne rroperty for any useé pursual

‘ - s

is 1s the sole issue currently on

‘5 By March, 1985, due to changes in demographics and

»verbuilding in the area, there was no economically feasible uss

to which the Property could be put, so that the temporary taking

matured into a permanent taking

t

%

;

:

i

'

t

‘

:

"~ 1rd hh] tart ay ait hi ’ titutional ht

i Wa not oO bivtateu tv ValVe i 5S CONStITULLONaA! rig LS

} ,

‘nd moot his state court litigation by developing the

} | y : | 7

shing nis vested right to build the Project. As such, Corn

; 17 1 ) .

is deprived of all use of his Property

: f

, 7 : | , 7

_ +} ,O ’ } . _ +

The Eleventh Circuit held that Corn was not

me ] 3 . .}] ‘ 8. ee . er stey

eprived OT all economically viable use of the Froperty

i é i

» \ } * + - " + 7 i

luring the pendency ¢ t the state court litigation, expilall

been denied those uses to wit vants to pu

ll and: it is whether the landowner has been

denied all or substantially all economically via-

ble use of his land. (emphasis added) App

A-13, Corn IV)

The error in the Eleventh Circuit’s reasoning is that

Corn’s right to build the Project was not a use to which

he simply wanted to put the Property; inste ad, Corn had a

ed right to build the Project, with which right the City

illv interfere. While Corn successfully par-

ipated in the state court litigation and established that

the Project he was not legally obligated to develop the

Property for any alternative use.

As a practical matter, if Corn developed the Property

for an alternate use, he would not have been able to build

the Project. As a legal matter, development of an alternate

use would have rendered moot the controversy regarding

the City’s duty to approve the Site Plan. See Glisson

lachua County, 558 So.2d 1030, 1037 (Fla. 1st DCA 1990)

+

(issue of whether land use regulation effected taking o!

ad

ent

‘ m] »

he

+

—_

aaa ~

>

wr S

_ re

od b

— ve

—_ -

2 =

>

a

1) f

iJ

Lae e

ha «

noe ~

tet

f ’

c —

oui ra

~

+ pom

, 1 od

-

a

bey

>

;

bh.

~4

eh

be

—

j

>_<

+

>

»

+

ad

Ss oe

: j

» _

i. ~~

r=

a =

~ -

a .

+

j

oy

a

<

~

Invalid Ordinances

of

ul Rejection of tl

Enforcement

4

ity’s

nd Wrongft

e Site Plan Was an

+

i

a

Any

Abuse of Power Which Could Not Advance

Legitimate State Interest.

Inv

were

-eS

ap

prova

1ing

det

. - ped - " a ¥

CO > ~ .

~ —_— - #

° ~

_ s at P re

ou yack = posed be ~

= bo panne ~ é < aan

« - > - ~ : ; aan

- a “ bf ~

S - - $ P

~ ‘ - @) —

_ . — need ~~

pa = . p— r

- — ~ ~~ —_ .

ona + a“ {

f ~ ad re > ad

— a Ce : ow bee

gehts + - re _— _—~

- “-" = = _ —

"a od c » -

an —_ = bew » < — j

- 4% a > one oo

ooh — - S :

4 = —

WH — ~y —_ a 4

— SS - oa) 4 ~ iw

be -

- oat + > - -

> r, ey" ~-

» = = A ~~

. o + ~ .

bm ned )

- bent = ~ . vo e

a —_ —) a 4 4

saat ” “ i ‘ a

~ - > - io “

" r r

a” > > -

. - ae

f - £ — j os >

~— ~~ pas - “ 7 — =

ms _ a. pw

r f J

- ~~

es ‘ a

-~ - j ds f

. ~ ~_ — , <

. ~~ > i.

ecto —_ pos _ }

2 - -

* c ~ me

~ o" +

- — oat ,

* — :

~ i> - ~ - h

+

Se ani aN ONE IT CE Rh Neti ec Dn

——

= pa

~ oe

c f

J

C.

5 _

— _

ound

~

vn aed ”

~—/

ot ot

ar med

ai -

t

~

on f

~

>

bn ~

— a

~=

te

. new

” “

~ r~

wae Ss

6a ~~

el “

~

ao

“ ——

~ »

_ =

ae _

~~

+ “

~ ont

eC f

r J

» >

. Y

— =

al ~

o— ~

c

nae ad

loa ‘

= nad

7 ~

ft —

+ S\

f

» ~

_. -

~~ nm

_

rf

— -

~ pre

— n

~

ry >

~

~~ : oT.

- an

ww

~/ —_—

aad

~ ro

state

petween

nity

O!

.

L37

federal courts the ‘bulwark of the federal system’). The

Ordinances could not be invalid under state law yet

substantially advance any legitimate interest as a matter

of constitutional law. The City’s improper rejection of the

Site Plan could not be prohibited under state law yet pass

constitutional muster as advancing a legitimate interest.

Che full faith and credit which must be accorded the State

Court Final Judgment mandates the conclusion that the

city’s wrongful rejection of the Site Plan failed to substan-

tially advance any legitimate state interest.

The consequence of the City’s abuse of power was

the confiscation of Corn’s right to build the Project and

loss of all the use of the Property, thereby effecting a

compensable taking.

2. The Dolan Rough Proportionality Standard

Applies and Was Not Met by the City.

Alternatively, even if it is appropriate to analyze the

nexus between the City’s actions and any claimed legiti-

mate state interests, the Eleventh Circuit identified and

applied the incorrect standard of review. There must be a

greater nexus than a rational basis between the denial of

the Site Plan and the general welfare concerns identified

in Corn III

In Dolan, this Court identified the level of scrutiny to

be applied to a city’s actions to determine whether they

are substantially related to a legitimate state interest.

Dolan, 512 U.S. at 385. This Court identified the “essential

nexus” which must exist between the professed legiti-

mate state interest and the actions of the city. Id.

This Court held that when a city makes an adjudica-

tive decision as distinct from a legislative one, the burden

properly rests on the city to prove that its actions substan-

tially advance a legitimate state interest. Id. at 391 n.8.

[There must be a “rough proportionality” between a city’s

actions and the stated public purpose. Id. at 391. Rough

proportionality requires a reasonable relationship, a stan-

dard more strict than the rational basis level of scrutiny

under the equal protection clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment. Id. While no precise mathematical calcula-

tion is required, a city must make some effort to quantify

its findings in support of its actions, and cannot simply

believe that its actions will accomplish the desired result,

to substantially advance a legitimate state interest. Id. at

395, 396.

The Dolan rough proportionality standard is applica-

ble to this case. The City conditioned Corn’s right to

develop the Property on his forfeiture of his vested right

to develop the Project, thereby seeking to exact a consti-

tutionally protected property interest from Corn. Further

this exaction was effected by an administrative act — the

rejection of the Site Plan — and not a legislative act. (App.

F-10, State Corn I). Accordingly, under Dolan it was the

ity’s burden to establish that the rejection of the Site

Plan bore a reasonable relationship or rough propor-

tionality to the general health and welfare concerns the

City allegedly sought to achieve.

Dolan establishes that the City indeed had an obliga

tion to make a formal investigation of the Project before

rejecting the Site Plan. Expression of citizet ‘'s concerns

are not a sufficient basis upon which to take action. The

i+

ity had to have actual evidence that the Project would

]

|

i

nave a significant negative impact On traffic, parking,

noise, aesthetics and any other matters of public interest

f

before the City could lawfully reject the Site Plan in

‘ ay TOS

reliance thereon. See Dolan, 512 U.S at 395-96.

rhere is no dispute that the City lacked the requisite

findings to sustain its rejection of the Site Plan in the

name of the general welfare. Initially, the Planning and

f tl r 7 lfare. Initially, the | g

Zoning Board had recommended approval of the Site

Plan twice after becoming satisfied that the Project com-

plied with City regulations, including fire safety, traffic

and landscaping. The City Council did not investigate

mini-warehouses before acting. The City did not have the

benefit of the report it directed the Planning and Zoning

Board to prepare regarding the proximity of industrial

uses to residences when it rezoned the Property and

rejected the Site Plan. The City did not eliminate or

prohibit other allowable uses of the Property which

arguably cause more traffic, noise and air pollution.

\pp. D-21, First Final Judgment). While residents

attended City Council meetings and expressed opposition

to and concerns regarding the Project, the residents did

not present the City with any evidence establishing any

nexus between the Project and their concerns. There sim-

ply was no reasonable relationship between the repre-

sented public interest concerns and the Project to entitle

r

the City to reject the Site Plan.'®

If the Dolan rough proportionality standard does not

ly this Court must identify the standard for analyzing the

cus between a city’s actions and identified state interests in

takings cases. The record evidence establishes that the invalid

Ordinances and wrongful denial of the Site Plan failed to

ubstantially advance any legitimate state interest, regardless of

j J j aa

which standard applies.

L40

CONCLUSION

The Eleventh Circuit has acknowledged that the

issues presented through this Petition “reach beyond the

fisc of one Florida community and the merits of one case

and involve questions about how decision making is allo-

cated between a democratic institution such as an elected

I)

y

j

i

city council and the federal courts”. (App. C-7, Corn !

[The Eleventh Circuit has also acknowledged that the

issues presented herein have not been addressed or

decided by this Court. (App. A-16, n.5, Corn I\

}

[his case provides this Court with the opportunity to

establish legal guidelines to be applied by the federal

courts and state court in takings claims involving the

taking of vested rights and takings effected through

enforcement of invalid regulation. The issues presented

are both significant and commonplace. All gov ernmental

entities and landowners shall benefit from this Court's

resolution of the legal issues presented herein.

Corn respectfully requests this Court to grant Cer

tiorari to consider the issues presented herein

DATED: August 15, 1997

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW T. LAVIN

Counsel of Record

RICHARD A. IVERS

ROMANIK LAVIN HUSS

& PAOLI

Attorneys for Petitioner

HERMAN CORN, Trustee

APPENDIX M

In the United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

OF LAUDERDALE LAKES,

1 Florida municipal corporation, et al

o~

—

—

—

4 I]

f mpIicliiepwr<

AAPVEeLtees

ON APPEAL

FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

BRIEF OF APPELLANT

ANDREW T. LAVIN

NAVON, KOPELMAN, O’DONNELI

Attorneys for Appellant

2699 Stirling Road, Suite B-100

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33312

(954) 967-2788

March 10. 1998

HERMAN CORN, Trustee vs. CITY OF LAUDERDALI

LAKES, a Florida municipal corporation, et al., CASE

NO. 97-5336

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSONS

AND CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Counsel for Appellant, HERMAN CORN. Trustee,

—{

‘ ] 1} . — }

iereby certifies that the following is a complete list of the

' } See el pe i attornevsc. and all ve Ns accaociations of

(rlai UG Pye s, call attorne YO, ana ail i a | SUTLS, adSoUCIA IONS O!

persons, firms, partnerships or corporations that have

interest in the outcome of this particular case, including

-

} | ai . staace

identifiable legal entities

4

Lyman | \llen

lames C. Brady, P.A

Carolyn Caster

arolyn (aster, a Florida corporation

Milton Caster

Milton (aster, a Florid corporation

y

OT <

orn

. r

ARGUMENT

ORAIT

~_DING

2.

Pad

-.

Ss

/

——

—S

“

I

I

QT

>|

STATE

MENT OF TYPE SIZE AND STYLI

his brief has been prepared in the type size and

of: 14 point Times Roman

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RITIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSO? D

AT

STATEMENT

EMENT

+

at

statemer

OF JURISDICTION x11

OF THE ISSUES

it of the Facts

ANDARD AND SCOPE OF REVIEW

Deprived of All Economically Viable Use of the

Property

-

i

he District Court’s Finding that Corn Was Not

A 17 t7 . 2

A 4 .

During the Moratorium Was Cle

rroneous

M5

a. Legal Standard for Constitutional Takings Claims

she)

b [his Court Remanded a Specific Factual Issue to

eR aa” A a enna Ce eae ares 23

( The record Undeniably Establishes that the Mor-

atorium Applied to the property, hereby Depriv-

ing Corn of All Economically Viable Use of the

Property During the Moratorium... 25

(i) The Property Was Not Rezoned Until Sep-

RR ee ia Gi ot a fhe ae ake Steer.

(ii) The City Intended For, and Interpreted the

Moratorium Ordinances to Apply to the

Property we we ee Le eee eine ein ea 26

(iii) The City Has Made Binding Judicial Admis-

sions That the Moratorium Applied to the

Property Bie el ert tee can at tue! Bes oe Ree: oan e See

(iv) Courts Have Always Held That the Mor-

atorium Applied to the oo) ee bam. ~.

Il. Corn Was Denied Due Process of Law Because

He Was Not Given the Opportunity to be Heard

or Present Evidence on Remand .............. 35

CONCLUSION ee Svar 2 bu a nO) Dee

Ce eG eae Ge eh ree ie i a ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Pages

Armstrong v. Monzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552 (1965) ........ 37

Best Canvas Prod. & Supplies v. Ploof Truck Line

713 DF.2d 618, 621 (11th Cir. 1983) oO i

City of Lauderdale Lakes v. Corn, 427 So. 2d 239 (Fla.

Cth tx Bees fC ene Ces oda foc Cdhnecas ee aS 3

Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 816 F.2d 1514 (11th

Cir. 1987) (“Corn I”).. et esr Ok See . 5, 6 29, 33

i i t i 4 .

a a 7 e j ae -—— ot f 4 ‘9 i

f [ Ts

— =| es

~- » _ o L we — a a. = x — - . - i e C

— ~ oO — oo f re —™ BD ' re t j mm NN . ;

aed —_ cc — — . — ~ - x ic * [ ~ i. C 3 7

% se > >= a = - me ¥ — “ : .

r a ean > - J = 5 . ; :

a — CV qu — = — z TS - =

: _ f — ‘ R “i ~— ae

ic >) 1 C 4 ~ Pie = ~~ , : = sa >

- “a (Fr > “ av — . 4 x ;

x OV Oe . “ j ~/ [ ~ - : - ae ~an © © ~~

P r = od ON _ a ag j b

-

f _™ — eS ~ + . t - 4

) ~~! lia j

i ~~ 4 - emt > 4 . 4

~~ ey ~i wi —_e ~~ ory

| ~ ) — :

= aad =p ‘ - r ~ — ~ _/ > “

eo i” oot , ir <7" tT “—- oy ~ ° 8 » _ »

. © ea C _ i . — ‘ <r f - — j rn f J

re . ’ - - ar . wee a 2 a

ble i if i rr 4 “ - ih. 4

as) wund batt ~~ / ag (CC

b . “ + . ~-. ] ~ ~ *

— >’ i ont ~~ i la S. ound 2: j —— ~

~~ .— -4 ON | J J i i . J T

/ =. - J "Ss owas Zt as oo ” - _ ~

~ ~~ a + - ~ - — “@ ~ —~ = + oe

~ rt - ayy = ~ - cr ~~

a to } J

on j " ic ‘ > ul

_2 - J ~~ ° ~ -« . » CN ao + - -

J & j a

end - . - a. OF beg OC : y ™ . o ~ : “ j

- 4 4 J a - tng ~ - +. ~ > e

~ ae $ _— - ~ O °) 2° « F oe OQ

$ ~~ " _.. —— SO <+ ~ 7 - C ~ 7 ~ S D>

» —_ J ~ = : , ~ ; + 4 rs 4

¥ ~~ + es WZ es meal te . £ -

: se ~~ 2 — as = ow! ~ : > & ae =

ee a 7 ss ! => > > Oo <q cee . = “ : 5 ce YU

- ~ ~ — > - : = ~ - > “ = . ~ FS pnd

% > ~ w ij ~ + —_ . ON XV . : r )

~~~ ont ey ~ ts ae ~ “T™ ey ~~ - . > ~ ome

> ~ ~~ Quang m + 2 - . o : pa on >. c “ —

~ . » (te . ry = ~ if - a ee 5 - ~ . r ~~ -

_ ~ ———e ~ ~~ ~ . . ~ 4 ~~ . "

es SO = @ “S - ee a ~~ -- = 9 P a = )in =H Soe Gil

> ~ . 2 Vv e ~/ - - 4 ~ a = CJ

) ©» > o - _ ~ a4 * ~~» ae - " <<" oO ~~

” — a +. ” — ~ _— —_ . 2 a 4 ~ 4 — . -_ - - 7 if > ~~ I jn

~ - e . - x . A _ . ~~ Sune * J »

+ ee +, “ + ~~ VAZ an + | ~ ~* om a ee — we

. - $ oc - i . on : = ar f — | oy

—_ 7 al - = > S = ~ . _ ce ew - . ~ ~

> = _ - ~ — 2 - —_ a ark Si a gum . ene A as ™ ms

- 2 han ~ D> i - 7, ~ ; ~ I = a ~ oe ~ =< }

> — + _ ~~ 7 > —~ me i . : ~ and ~ y ~- -— rt e : ~~

: —d . aoa ad os f ~ ar —~ ~ ~_ - ~, ~ > ve?

~ . = 7 => ~~ — = o—_ ad ~ . et — : a " = v8

oe eal ~ —~ _ ft) JS “ +) ~ - - “wel | a ~ em - ome

ot oo st oe | ii = . 2 . e > = ~~ - >

glut ee | re 5 ~ / > or rc + my <

See oO > eae G rie a’ M > Go - a ~ » -

, : : om ¥ , _ ~ Cc +. x = >

~~ — ~ (F “I he 4 ~~ > ae a ~ mote "4

- — ead — «4 Pre a — ‘ = : _ ms , —_ 4 ~~ 2

» ( be oe Se aa ae Oo. i ae a 4 i oe [i -- te.

A -_/ eed - as “ -

=e

ort ok ot 8. Oe OT By we Um PS OO” wt ~

es russel ete . — mee pte Sa Phas rater

y y — —_ —~ ;

! " ~ > &

we , Sy oe a so

A — *' y

ban oa _ 0D

: -“- yor ow

+ : 4 ti, 2 YF

~ 4 bt ~ s

- s YA . .

~ ? ~ : a uJ oe “

> — 7 _~ Oo — ~— ? _

’ 5 ~ ¥ - > oe a — a 4. x

_ ~ . ~ r - weene ~ 2 sf pe

c Td Bs ~ “ 7

y . + ‘ < < ~ ~

. + < -

”" a , ‘eat _ nd _

. ™ Ls J — ? a

- . e _ Pome

= 4 *~ -_ _ r =

~ ~ + . —!7 ¢ — -

oe = - \. ” “

~— — — Ss) > cr ~ ”

rf = = - ~o —_ a « ~

~~ x - , - o ~f — -

: . Jo , < ~ os 2 -

dant os - eee ~ is

~ a 4 ~ “aie. ~ ) - - vo

— - : e “ _ ee — 2 - << _

>) " = _ ~~ - -

. < i heed -- ‘ aint ~ _ 5 ne

- - r « c ‘ ~ ead . — — —

} = { on > oo - > a

— ‘ “ - ¢ = i

~ a ms Nel -

“ + a 7 . ‘ ~ om — ut —

if = wee =

_ + “ - se

a as o ~~ ,

~ —s -— — - ~~ 4

- ated . 4 _ “4 - p=

— - ( be

if ~ —_ o { .. - =

_— ~ we “ ee ~ —

> . ~ ~ + ~

~ — ” ad — -

ee = ») S J Pd m — = ~~

> ™ ou + - ~ > ou ~ .

~ - ont a ~ “" an - >

- - ~ < ~< ounn _ a —

_ , — o . ~ - -. ~- _

be - - < we 1 - os -. » ~ hf os int

—" . “~ x *. — c >

~ ™ ~ ~ r = “ ~ 7 — < ~ >

ee )- hese - Sf o ~

pee) ~ . J =

* a — ~ =

~~ > ob - ~~ —_ ,

> 4 - : — “T ~~

f a on - - =

—— < ~? - i .

hes ° | o

- + - - + ee

= 7 — - " _ Y + — >

- am | 2!

a = h >

<

_« < =

nove

eA ALOE TT LLL

MS

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

\re the district court’s findings of! fact that the City

ne vear moratorium on issuance of building permits did

not apply to Corns property, sg that Corn was not

_— =

deprived of all economically viable use ol the property

} |

during the moratorium clearly erroneous when

‘ the record evidence is uncontr verted

that the City intended for the moratorium to

ipply to Corns property, and acted as if the

,

moratorium applied to the property,

} +h ( stv } Y i, ¥ 7 - ’ 11041 |

D) the City nas maae numerous jJUuqaiciai

admission ove! the Pp ist i) years that the It Tr

> _—

atorium applied to the Property and deprived

ne

Corn of all use of his property, and

. courts have found that the moratoriun

app ied ty the prope rtv al ad lepri ‘ | ( rn of |

use ofl the Prope rty?

Dida the listrict court Geprive Corn of his constitu

‘ | + . } . } |

t1i0Nnal rignt tg proceautladali qgiue Process on remand Dy

] }

failing to afford Corn an opportunity to be heard and

, |

present evidence on factual issues which were first raised

, }

by this Court on appeal because these matters ! id not

hy t 1 ici " + d 1 th ( +t ?

een Previdusi contestec DY tile it)

STATEMENT OF THE C ASE

| Nature of the Case

}

On July

City”), rejected a site plan, (t!

'’ for the deve

-

~~

a |

oa

= . Ila ’ .

by Appellant Corn

y

mini-warehouse facility \

center (the

¢

P|

12 1977 the City of! Lauderdale Lakes

pre yperty

A é

M9

(the “Property”), situated in the City. To ensure that Corn

could not develop the Project on the Property the City

rezoned the Property from C-1A to a B-3 zoning category,

eliminated warehouses as an authorized use in the C-]

zoning district and enacted a moratorium on the issuance

of building permits for Corn’s Property for one year.

Corn successfully sued the City in state court and

had all of the ordinances declared to have been wrong-

fully enacted and inapplicable to the Property. The state

court directed the City to approve the Site Plan and issue

a building permit for the Project upon Corn’s correction

of three minor items on the Site Plan. The City appealed

and the state court litigation was not finalized until 1985,

during which time Corn was prevented from building

» .

I rojyect

Through this federal litigation instituted in 1984,

Corn has sought just compensation for the City’s uncon-

stitutional taking of his Property. To date, Corn’s efforts

to secure compensation have been unsuccessful. Most of

Corn’s claims have been considered and rejected by this

Court

| 7 , ’ ] ' ’ levees ear ®) y {pp | - . “yar

[his appeal involves a review of the district court's

determination that the approximate one year moratorium

did not apply to the Property, and accordingly did not

deprive Corn of all economically viable use of the Prop-

erty. These findings are clearly erroneous. There is no

record evidence whatsoever to support the findings. To

the contrary, the record unequivocally establishes that the

city interpreted the ordinances imposing the moratorium

as applying to the Property and for the past twenty years

M10

has expressly acknowledged that the moratorium applied

to the Property.

Corn seeks the opportunity to recover just compensa-

tion for, at the least, the confiscation of his Property for

the one year during which the moratorium was in effect

and prevented him from using the Property

Il. The Course of Proceedings

t Si n » I ora? ; > litic ) Fy r

[This appeal is a continuation of litigation bs tween

r >

these parties which commenced in state court in 1977

and has continued since then, uninterrupted

During 1977, Corn instituted litigation in state court

(the “State Court Litigation”), against the City and its

individual City Council members (the ‘Appellee Council

men’). (PX-43, Amended Petition for Mandamus)

[Through the State Court Litigation Corn challenged the

validity of three ordinances which had been enacted by

the City, (collectively referred to as the “Ordinances

1e City’s denial of Corn’s Site Plan. The Ordinances

rezoned the Property, deleted warehouses as a permitted

use in the zoning category originally applicable to the

Property, and established a moratorium on the issuance

of building permits for the Property for approximately

one year (the one year ban referred to as the “Mor

atorium”). Corn sought a Writ of Mandamus, contending

that the Ordinances were invalid as applied to the Prop-

erty and that the City had a ministerial duty to approve

the Site Plan and issue a building permit for the Project

On October 20, 1978, the state court issued its Final

judgment, (the “State Court Final Judgment”), declaring

M11

the Ordinances invalid, and directing the City to approve

AGA

the Site Plan upon Corn’s correction of three minor defi-

ciencies, and to issue a building permit for the Project

(PX-48, State Court Final Judgment).

[he City appealed the State Court Final Judgment

On February 16, 1983, the appellate court affirmed the

ate Court Final Judgment. City of Lauderdale Lakes

197 o) A920 ‘1 ; Y 7A 1 > td af ON Pa a, 7th

Corn, 427 So.2d 39 (Fla. 4th DCA 1983) (“State Corn”).

On fanuary 17, 1984, Corn filed a Complaint in the

Southern District of Florida against Appellees seeking

- Putian tae 5 rc ¢ SC 19022 : Spe, , PRREEY

damages pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, for! Appellees

taking of Corn’s Property without just compensation in

violation of the Fifth Amendment and Fourteenth

nt). Corn alleged that Appel-

oe

~

=~

~

-)

pms

-

Comal

Fa)

o~

~

ne

pad

~~

—

4

-

} , | “Tcy . & > ~ +

ees’ enactment and entorcement of the Ordinances and

wrongful denial of the Site Plan in 1977 effected a tempo-

rary taking of the Project and the Property. Included in

the Complaint were counts seeking compensation for

ation, or the taking of the Property with-

‘ompensation, and the recovery of damages for

ranlatinn , Carn’ ~soh f . ro : _ Mena Tt

violation of Corn’s rights of substantive due process. id.

‘

Fa]

On October 26, 1984, Corn filed a Motion to Enforce

Final Judgment in the State Court Litigation. (PX-64A)

Corn sought to have the state court enforce the State

Court Final Judgment and require the City to uncondi-

tionally approve a revised Site Plan he had submitted and

issue Corn a building permit. Id. On March 26, 1985, the

state court entered an Order, finding in favor of Corn,

M12

and directing the City to forthwith issue a building per-

mit upon Corn’s submission of appropriate plans and

specifications. (PX-64b).

In the federal litigation, the district court dismissed

Corn’s Complaint, relying upon Williamson County

Regional Planning Commission v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S

172 (1985). (R2-49, Order). Corn appealed the dismissal of

the Complaint to this Court. (R2-51, Notice of Appeal).

[his Court reversed the dismissal of the Complaint, and

remanded the case to proceed to trial. Corn v. City of

Lauderdale Lakes, 816 F.2d 1514 (11th Cir. 1987) (“Corn I”).

Appellees again moved to dismiss the Complaint and

for summary judgment (R2-65, 67). The district court

denied the Motion to Dismiss and for Summary Judgment

of Appellee City, (R3-85), and ultimately granted the

Motion to Dismi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.