Petition for Writ of Certiorari — H. P. Y., Inc. v. Puerto Rico

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

992017 JUN 15 2000

No.——— OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

H.P.Y., INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO, et al.

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Puerto Rico

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel: SHELDON S. TOLL

(Counsel of Record for

JUAN J. RAMIREZ-R. Petitioner H.P.Y., Inc.)

PEDRO E. ORTIZ-ALVAREZ GREGORY J. DEMARS

JOSE F. RAMIREZ HONIGMAN MILLER SCHWARTZ

AND COHN

2290 First National Building

Detroit, Michigan 48226

June, 2000 (313) 465-7582

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. - (202) 789-0086 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

LIST OF RESPONDENTS

THE COMMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO; Luis A.

Acevedo Santiago; Oscar Acevedo Vega; Carmen M. Acosta;

David Acosta Cruz; José A. Acosta Cruz; Iris Acosta

Santiago; Rail Albizu Cruz; Andrés Albizu Rosado; Tomas

Albizu; Antonio Alc4zar Cruz; Antonio Alcdzar Martinez;

Antonio Alc4zar Martinez; Carmen Alcd4zar Martinez; Maria

Mercedes Alers; Alfredo L. Alfonso Mujfioz; Alfredo L.

Alfonso Mufioz; Alfredo L. Alfonso Mufioz; Daniel Alicea

Cossoles; Rigoberto Alicea Dapena; Mariano Alicea Davila;

Mariano Alicea Davila; Carmen Almodévar; Carlos

Almodévar Diaz; Jaime Almodévar; Maria Almodévar; Luis

Almodévar Montes; Francisco Almodévar Vega; Francisco

Almodévar Vega; Miguel Alvarez; Reymundo Alvarez

Torres; Carmen Antonetti; Eddie Aponte Alicea; Harry

Aponte Alicea; Miguel Aponte Alicea; Luis Aponte Davila;

Roberto Aponte Rangel; Ramén Aponte Torres; Luis Arce

Almodévar; Luis Arce Almodévar; Maritza Alvarado; Miguel

Alvarez Quiles; Elizabeth Arce Borraro; Lilliam M. Arce

Diaz; Roberto Arce Irizarry; Jaime Arciliares Hernandez;

Pedro J. Arroyo Rivera; Luis G. Arroyo Santiago; Mercedes

Arroyo Santiago; Carmen Dalic Astacio; Carmen D. Astacio

Cornier; Juan Aviles; Edgar L. Aviles Rodriguez; Gilberto

Ayala Mufioz; Marisol Ayala Rivera; Julio Ayala Rodriguez;

Angel Badillo Figueroa; Eleuterio Béez Lépez; Luz C.

Bajanda; José E. Barbora Vega; Elfas Batista Gonz4lez; Félix

Batista Gonzdlez; Santos Batista; Gilberto Batiz Irizarry;

Adelaida Batiz Rivera; Maria Bauza; Maria M. Belfort

Rodriguez; Milagros Belfort Rodriguez; Francisco L. Bello

Ortiz; Carmen I. Bernazard Méndez; Carmen I. Bernazard

Méndez; Juanita Blanco; Daniel Boffil Santana; Daniel Boffil

Santana; Jaime Burgos; Justino Caballero Miura; Wilfredo

Caban Aroche; Librado Cadiz; Wilfredo Camacho Rivera;

Edgardo Campos; Ramén Campos Morales; Agustina

Candelaria; Sandra Candelaria SAnchez; Ramén L. Candelaria

ii

Vega; Nahir Cappa Rupert; Edwin Cappello Santos; Carmen

E. Caraballo; Carmen Nolia Caraballo; Madeline Caraballo

Pabén Generoso Caraballo Rodriguez; Walter Carablanca

Vargas; Angel Carlo Semidey; Awilda Carrero Estrada;

Angela Carrillo Pagan; Luis A. Carriédn Santos; Domingo

Cartagena Colon; Ana M. Cartagena Padilla; Walter

Casablanca Vargas; Angel Casiano; Julio Castillo Veitia; Luis

Castro de Hoyos; Elba Castro Leén; Edwin Castro Torres:

Edwin Castro Torres; Edith Cadeno Cadeno; Francisco

Cadeno; Francisco Cadeno; Eric Chigliotty Rodriguez;

Francisco Cintrén Arroyo; Moisés Cintrén Diaz; Carlos

Cintron Ferrer; Enrique Cintrén Rivera; Angel L. Class; Eric

Collazo Colon; Fernando Collazo Colon; Gerardo Collazo

Negrén; Rafael Collazo Torrea; William Colon Albino;

Aurelia Colon; Roberto Colon Camacho; Roberto Colon

Camacho; Candida Colon Cruz; Jorge A. Colon Garcia;

Aurelia Colon Leén Daniel Colon Marrero; Ernestino Colon

Medina; Roberto Colon Medina; Alberto Colon Negrén;

Néstor R. Colon; Isidro Colon Ramos; Nelson Colon

Sanchez; Carmelo Colon Serrano; Nilda Colon Serrano; Luz

A. Colon Torres; Luz A. Colon Torres; Miguel A. Colon

Torres; Roberto Colon Vargas; Héctor Colon Vega; Haydee

Conde; José Cordero Rios; Jestis M. Cordero Rosado; Ariel :

Cornier Gracia; Pablo Correa Cedefio; Luis Genaro Correa;

Reynaldo Correa; Luis Correa Rodriguez; José A. Costas

Pagan; Edwin Cruz Arce; Juanita Cruz Bonaparte; Victor M.

Cruz Bonilla; Fabiana Cruz Cortes; Santiago Cruz Garcia;

Héctor M. Cruz; Juan F. Cruz; Obed Cruz; Juan R. Cruz

Mercado; Minerva Cruz Robles; Samuel M. Cruz; Juan

Cuevas Cortez; Carmelo Cuevas Ramos; Ramén Cuoscut

Figueroa; Nancy Custodio Santos; Gilberto Davila; Luis A.

Davila Martinez; Edwin Davila Ortiz; Edwin Davila Ortiz;

Orlando Davila; Orlando Davila Ramos; Rafael Declet Mas;

Gerardo de Hoyo; Evelyn de Hoyo Santiago; Alberto de Jestis

Castro; Héctor L. de Jestis La Torre Wilfredo de Jestis La

Torre; Héctor L. de Jestis; Héctor L. de Jestis Pacheco; Lewis

ili

de Jestis Rivera; Félix de la Cruz Alvarez; Juan de la Cruz

Santiago; Celestino Delgado; Milagros Delgado; Celestina

Delgado Rivera; Marie del Valentin; Luz E. del Valle;

William del Valle; Basilio Diaz; Marta Yolanda Diaz

Baergas; Mirta Yolanda Diaz Bauza; José S. Diaz Colon;

Félix Diaz; Félix Diaz; Inés Echevarria; Lidia Echevarria

Gandia; Nilda Echevarria Lugo; Noemf Echevarria; Conrado

Echevarria Rosado; Inés Echevarria Santiago; Noemf —

Echevarria Santiago; Norman L. Escébales Pérez; Divina

Vargas Torruellas; Edwin Febles Cruz; Margarita Febus;

Adalfredo A. Feliciano; Radames Feliciano Cruz; Pedro

Fern4ndez; Carlos A. Figueroa Aponte; Gilberto Figueroa

Colon; Esmeraldo Figueroa Costa; Julio Figueroa Lépez;

Heriberto Figueroa Ortiz; Gilberto Figueroa Pabén; Juan

Figueroa Payon; Josefa Figueroa Plaza; Ram6én Figueroa

Plaza; David Figueroa Torres; Wanda Figueroa; Rudy Flores

Mufiiz; Ram6én Flores V4zquez; Angel Fraticelli Santiago;

Esther Fuentes: Esther Fuentes Hernandez; José A. Galarza

Feliciano; Cesar A. Gandia; Cesar A. Gandia; Cesar A.

Gandia; Cesar A. Gandia; Elsa Gandia Cruz; Elsa Gandia

Cruz; Ilia L Gandia Cruz; Jorge Gandia Cruz; Luis Garcia

Astacio; Noel Garcia Astacio; Francisco Garcia Burgos;

Domingo Garcia; Eneida Sidis Garcia; Aurea Garcia

Rodriguez; José L. Garcia Santiago; Migdalia Garriga Alers

Oscar Garriga Alers; Juan A. Garriga Rodriguez; Zulma

Garriga; Ennie Gigleotty Rodriguez; Ana Girod Nazario;

Félix Gémez Mangual; Pablo Gonzalez Almodévar;

Armando Gonz4lez; Maria M. Gonzalez Belfort; Erin

Gonzalez Cruz; Lucinda Gonzélez Dominguez; José

Gonz4lez Hernandez; Johnny Gonzdiez; José A. Gonzalez;

José L. Gonzdlez; Magda Gonzdlez; Maria Gonz4lez; Maria

R. Gonz4lez; Melvin Gonzdlez; Jeannette Gonzdlez

Martinez,, Maria L. Gonzdlez Mercado; Ramén Gonzalez

Mercado; Pedro Gonzdlez Montero; Noelis Gonzélez; Pedro

Gonzalez; José Gonzalez Rivera; Jorge Gonzalez Santiago;

Eliseo Gonzélez Santos; Hernan Gonzdlez Torres; Martin

iv

Gonzalez Torres; Miguel Gonzalez Torres; Jarry Gotay

Borrero; Jorge E. Gracia Martinez; José A. Green Marrero;

Ramén Guelmi Martinez; Hortencio Gutierrez Bizardi;

Gilberto Gutierrez Rivera; Angel L. Hernandez; Justino

Hernandez; Alfredo Hernandez Pacheco; Edgardo L.

Hernandez Rivera; Modesto Hernandez Torres Modesto

Hernandez Vargas; Palmira Iglesia; Roberto Irizarry

Betancourt; Antonio Irizarry Delgado; José L. Irizarry

Justino; Luz M. Irizarry; Ral Irizarry Montalvo Luis Irizarry

Natal; Nicolin Irizarry Rodriguez; Reinaido Irizarry

Rodriguez; Andrés Irizarry Yambo; Andrés Laboy; Elba

Leén; Efrain Le6n Oquendo; Sergio Leén Rios; Sergio Leén;

Digna Elia Leén Torres; Maria Leiro Ramos; Maria Leyro

Ramos; Benjamin Lépez Ada Mirta Lépez Caraballo; Oscar

Lépez Caraballo; Luis Lépez de Haro; Maria Lépez; Carmen

Lépez Gonzalez; Rail Lépez Quiles; Juan A. Lépez

Rodriguez; Maria M. Lépez; Concepcién Lugo Alicea; Daniel

Lugo; Jaime Lugo Echevarria Francisca Lugo Gonzalez; José

Lugo Gonzalez; Marta Lugo Rivera; Maria Lugo Rodriguez;

Miguel A. Lugo Vazquez; Angel Rafael Machiavelo; Carmen

Malave Diaz; Carlos Maldonado; Carlos J. Maldonado; Luz I.

Maldonado Marti; Luz I. Maldonado Marti; Naida Maldonado

Netron; Carmen Maldonado Pérez; Rafael Maldonado;

Eliezer Maldonado Torres; Rubén Marcucci Rivera; Alfonso

L. Mariel Arenas; Pedro Marrero Cedefio; Gladys Martinez

Alcazar; Noel Martinez Alc4zar; Felicita Martinez Barreto;

Maritza Martinez de Cedefio; Rafael Martinez Diaz; Rail |

Martinez Lugo; Maria M. Martinez; Elisa Martinez Pinedo

Rafael Martinez; Luis Martinez Rodriguez; Rosa Julia

Martinez; Rene Martinez Torres; Alberto Martinez Vega;

Justiniano Martinez Villalobos; Luis Martino Velez; Luis

Martino Velez; Francisco Mattei; Luis Mattel; Ramén Matos

Pérez Benjamin Medina Acosta; Franklin Medina Arena;

Basilio Medina Delgado; Gloria Medina Echevarria;

Benjamin Medina; Benjamin Medina Lépez; Gilberto Medina :

Pises; Edward Medina Rodriguez; Gilberto Medina |

:

q

7

" :

Rodriguez; José L. Medina Rodriguez Miguel Medina

Rodriguez; Luz Maria Mejias; Luz M. Mejias; Inés Mejias

Rodriguez; Juan R. Meléndez Colon; José Manuel Meléndez;

Manuel Meléndez; Raymond Meléndez Torres; Emilio

Mercado Almodévar; Ana Delia Mercado Pedro Mercado de

Jestis; Efrain Mercado Gonzalez; Jorge L. Mercado; Justino

R. Mercado Leén; Justino R. Mercado Leén; Maribel

Mercado Martinez; Nelson W. Mercado; Nelson W. Mercado;

Adelina Mercado Pérez; Ferdinand Mercado Rodriguez;

Gilberto Mercado Rodriguez; Juan Mercado Rodriguez;

Angela Merlo; Jestis Millan Colon; José Miranda Montes;

Héctor Molina Rodriguez; Javier Molina Rodriguez; Vidal

Montalvo Martell; Humberto Montalvo Ramos; Ricardo

Montalvo Rodriguez; Reinelia Montalvo; Sonia Montero

Alvarado; Israel Montero Cruz; Heriberto Montero; Manuel

Montero: William Montero; José A. Montes Garcia Feliciano

Montijo Garcia, Jr.; Aquilino Morales; Rafael Morales

Arroyo; Gilberto Morales Blanco; Santos Morales Echevarria;

Lazaro Morales; Heriberto Morales Maldonado; Arleene

Morales Marquez; Charlie Morales Martinez; Humberto

Morales Pagan; Juan Morales Rodriguez; Migdalia Morales

Rodriguez; Raymond Morales Santiago; Juan Morales

Villarini; Jorge Mufiiz Almodévar, Eugenio Muiiiz

Echevarria; Luis E. Mufiiz; Eugenio Mufiiz Mufiiz; Gelson

Mufiiz Mufiiz; Heriberto Mufioz Vazquez; Jaime Nadal Bove;

Harry Nadal Cruz; Wilfredo Nazario Rodriguez; Reyes

Nazario Santiago; Julio E. Negrén Gonzdlez; Hiram Negron

Ortiz; Juan Negrén Negrén; Ursulina Negr6n Rios; Grisell

Negrén V4zquez; Griselle Negr6én Vazquez; Juan Nieves

Guevara; Walter Nieves Madera; Blanca Nieves Nieves; John

V. Nieves Pérez; Roberto Nieves Velazquez; Antonio Nunez

Santos; Catalina Ocasio Carrero; José E. Ocasio; Héctor

Olavarria Figueroa; José Olavarria Figueroa; José Olavarria

Figueroa; Isaac Oliver; Néstor Olivera Olivera; Juan Oliveras

Figueroa; Francisco C. Oliveras; Lesbia Oliveras; Félix

Oquendo Figueroa Angel L. Orenge; Carlos Orengo;

vi

Marcelino Orengo; Luis H. Orengo Ruiz; Fernando Orsini

Bonet; Porfirio Orta Zayas, Julio C. Ortiz Alvarez Félix Ortiz

Arroyo; Juan A. Ortiz Arroyo; Claudio Ortiz Carrasquillo

Crucita Ortiz; José D. Ortiz Cruz; Félix Ortiz; Luis Julio

Ortiz Delgado; Félix J. Ortiz; Enrique Ortiz Figueroa Carmen

Ortiz Garcia; Eidel F. Ortiz Garcia; Heriberto Ortiz; José A.

Ortiz; Julian Ortiz L6épez; Migdalia Ortiz Morales; Francisco

Ortiz Oquendo; He iberto Ortiz Oquendo; Fernando Ortiz

Ortiz; Ram6én Ortiz Pabén; Rigoberto Ortiz; Rigoberto Ortiz;

Angel Ortiz Rivera Cristino Ortiz Rivera, Ana Ortiz

Rodriguez; José Ortiz Rodriguez; José Ortiz Rodriguez;

Octavio Ortiz Rodriguez; Angel L. Ortiz Torres; Elias Ortiz

Torres; Juan Ortiz Torres; Modesto Ortiz Torres; Modesto

Ortiz Torres; Rosa Ortiz Torres; Roberto Ortiz Vega; Maria

L. Pacheco Arroyo; Maria Luisa Pacheco Arroyo; Confesor

Pacheco; Miguel A. Pacheco Cruz; Maria Pacheco Montalvo;

Roberto Pacheco Montalvo; Milagros Pacheco Negrén

Andrea Pacheco Rivera; Angel M. Pacheco Rodriguez; José

A. Pacheco Vega; José Padilla Mufioz; Gabriel Padilla

Rosado; Abbedavi Padilla Vargas; Abbedavi Padilla Vargas;

Augusto Pagan Collazo; Delia I. Pagan,- Luz E. Pagan Diaz;

Milka Pagan Diaz; Elsie Pagan Miguel Pagan Garcia; Héctor

L. Pagan; Salvador Pagan Ramos, Elsie Pagan Rivera; Crucita

Pagan Roman; Carlos Pena Mercado; Héctor L. Pena Pérez;

José E. Pérez Batista; Ricardo Pérez Bermejo; José A. Pérez

Cruz; Carlos Pérez de Jesiis; Maria E. Pérez Feliciano;

Orlando Pérez Ferrer; Maria Pérez Hernandez; José A. Pérez;

Delvis Pérez Martinez; Orlando Pérez Oquendo; William

Pérez Padilla; José Pérez Rivera; Juan Pérez Rivera; Nelson

Pérez Rodriguez; Rosa Pérez Rodriguez; Rosa Pérez

Rodriguez; Luis A. Pérez Rosado; Marla Pérez Rosado;

Miguel A. Pérez Santos; Julio Pérez Torres; Leopoldo Pietri;

Gladys Piri Colon; Maria Plaza Cartagena; Miguel Plaza

Cartagena; Maria Plaza Maldonado; Jesiis Pratts; Francisco

Quintana Caraballo; Rafael Quintana Caraballo; Héctor L.

Quintana Ramos; Haydee Quifiédnez Hernandez; Josué

vii

Quifiénez Marquez; Néstor L. Quifiénez Rodriguez; Eliezer

Quifiénez Sotomayor; Lucia Quifiénez Vega; Angel L.

Quirindongo Vega; Edwin Ramirez; Alberto Ramos; Angel L.

Ramos Aponte; Angel Ramos Camacho; Juan Ramos Cruz;

Carmelo Ramos Gonzélez; Javier Ramos; Angel L. Ramos

Jusino; Maritza Ramos Jusino; Luis Ramos Martinez; Luis

Ramos Martinez; Heriberto Ramos Morales; Olga M. Ramos;

Orlando Ramos; Juan A. Ramos Rivera; Leocadio Ramos

Rivera; Rafael Ramos Roche; Rosa N. Ramos; Elison Ramos

Rosado; Ramén Ramos Rosa; Edwin Ramos Ruiz, Edwin

Ramos Santiago; Maria E. Ramos Torres; Basilio Ramos

V4zquez; Rafael Renta Garcia; Rigoberto Renta; Julia Renta

Soba; Luis H. Reyes Cruz; Maria Dolores Reyes; Maria

Dolores Reyes; Dominga Reyes Rivera; Esther Reyes Rivera;

Milagros Reyes Rivera; Salvador Rimola Monjes; José L.

Rios Delgado; Victor Rfos Echevarria; Milagros Rios Lépez;

Jaime Rios Martell; Jorge Rfos Medina; Jorge Rfos Molina;

Luis A. Rios Pérez; Maria Rios Rosa; Orlando Rivera Blasini;

Ana Rosa Rivera; Angel Rivera; Marta Rivera; Samuel

Rivera Caban; Annette Rivera Caraballo; Axtonio Rivera;

Carmen L. Rivera; Hipdélito Rivera Rafael Rivera Cruz;

Edberto L. Rivera; Hipdlito Rivera Feliciano Wilfredo

Rivera Feliciano; Carmen Rivera Gonz4lez; Manuel Rivera

Gonzalez; Juan J. Rivera Jiménez; José Rivera; José A.

Rivera; José A. Rivera; José A. Rivera Le6n; Luis Alberto

Rivera; Angel M. Rivera Martinez; Moisés Rivera Martinez;

José Rivera Mercado; Juana Rivera; Ana Rosa Rivera

Miranda; Daniel Rivera Morales; Jorge Wilson Rivera; Rosa

Rivera Negr6én Miguel Rivera Nieves; Norma Rivera Nieves;

Norma A. Rivera; Angel Rivera Oliveras; David Rivera Ortiz;

Melvin Rivera Ortiz, Pedro Rivera Ortiz; Roberto Rivera

Ortiz; Maria Rivera Pérez; Rosa M. Rivera Pérez; Edwin J.

Rivera Rios; Jorge Rivera Rodriguez; Alfredo Rivera Roman;

Rubén Rivera; Ana M. Rivera Rodriguez; Luis Rivera Saez;

Cecilia Rivera Sdnchez; Gabriel Rivera Santana; Cerafina

Rivera Serrano; Ana Celia Rivera Torres; Yolanda Rivera;

viii

Dimas L. Robles Ruiz; Andrés Robles Torres; Bernardo

Rodriguez Alicea; Alba Nerida Rodriguez; Ana Elba

Rodriguez; Bienvenido Rodriguez; Brenda L. Rodriguez

Aponte; José Rodriguez; Rafael Rodriguez Camacho; Ramén

Rodriguez Cedefio; Edelmira Rodriguez Cintrén; Pedro Juan

Rodriguez; Pedro Rodriguez Colon; Luis Rodriguez Cruz;

Pedro A. Rodriguez Cruz; Erasto C. Rodriguez; Maria

Rodriguez Diaz; José L. Rodriguez Escobar; Peter Rodriguez

Figueroa; Pedro Rodriguez Hernandez; Luis A. Rodriguez La

Torre; Luis Rodriguez; Manuel Rodriguez Luciano; Maria

Teresa Rodriguez; Iris Yolanda Rodriguez Maldonado;

Héctor Rodriguez Martinez; Héctor Rodriguez Martinez;

Nelson Belén Rodriguez; Norma Rodriguez; Rene Rodriguez

Ortiz; Pedro Rodriguez; Eduardo Rodriguez Quifiénez;

-Heriberto Rodriguez Rodriguez; Ramén Rodriguez

Rodriguez; Rosa Rodriguez; Rude) Rodriguez; Reinaldo i

Rodriguez Sabater; Angel Rodriguez Santos; Dionisio |

Rodriguez Torres; Luis Rodriguez Torres; Miguel Angel

Rodriguez Torres: Wandelin Belén Rodriguez; Lidia Rojas

Ramos; Lidia Rojas Ramos; Ana Roman; Iris M. Roman

Davila; Iris Milagros Roman; Iv4n Rosado Alicea; Ivan

Rosado Alicea: Carmelo Rosado Alvarado; Carmen Rosado

Carmen M. Rosado; Tito Rosado Alverio; Luis A. Rosado

Gallardo; Maria E. Rosado; Antonio Rosado Mendoza;

Alberto Rosado Rivera; Luis Rosado Rosado; Emilio Rosado

Vargas; Carmen Rosario Alicea; Eugenio Rosario Alicea;

Leonides Rosario Berrios; José L. Rosario; Rosa Rosario;

Rafael Ruiz Carcai; Elving Ruiz Colon; Emesto Ruiz; Maria

Ruiz Pacheco; Basilisa Ruiz Rodriguez; Cesar Ruiz

Rodriguez; Luis Sa4ez Toledo; Pedro J. Salcedo; Maria E.

Salinas Torres; Maria M. Salvedo Torres; Mildred Sanabria;

Francisca Sdnchez Garcia; Francisco Sanchez Garcia; Jorge

L. Sanchez Garcia; José Sanchez Garcia; Santiago Sanchez

Rivera; Josué Santana Caraballo; Agapita Santiago; Jorge

Santiago; Susana Santiago Alicea; Jorge Santiago Alvarado;

Jorge Santiago Gloria Santiago Artruz; William Santiago

_

EOE ore ————

ix

Borrero; William Santiago Casiano; Alberto Santiago Cruz;

William Santiago Delgado; Esteban Santiago; José A.

Santiago Figueroa; Julio Santiago Figueroa; Janira Santiago

Gandia; Waldek Santiago Gonzd4lez; Hernan Santiago;

Alfredo Santiago Irizarry; Jestis A. Santiago José A. Santiago;

José L. Santiago; Julio Santiago; Braulio Santiago Mejias;

José Santiago Mejias; José Santiago Meléndez; Ivan Santiago

Narvaez; Neftali Santiago; Rafael Santiago Pérez; William

Santiago Pérez; Lilliam Santiago Ramfrez; Carlos Santiago

Santiago; Julio Santiago Toledo; Milagros Santiago Vega;

Wilfredo Santiago Vidro; William Santiago; Edelmildo

Santiago Soto; Ivan Santiago Torres; Wilfredo Santiago

Vidro Zoraida Santini Plumacher; Marangely Santos

Camacho; Wolfrand Santos Camacho; David Santos Medina;

Edith Santos Medina; Migdalia Santos; Luis M. Santos

Molina; Juan Santos Santiago; Orlando Santos Santiago;

Roberto Santos Santiago; William Santos Vélez; José

Schmidt Sanjurjo; Maria Seda Oquendo; José A. Seda

Rodriguez; Arcadio Segarra Maldonado; Arcadio Segarra

Maldonado; José A. Serrano Borrero; Walberto Serrano

Borrero; Eulalia Serrano; Edwin Serrano Negrén; Ivan

Serrano Rivera; Eneida Sides Garcia; Ricardo Sierra Torres;

Ramén L. Silvagnoli Alfonso; Ram6n L. Silvagnoli Alfonso;

Gabriel Sosa Rivera; Wilfredo Soto Centeno; Héctor Soto

Gonzélez; Miriam Soto Gonzdlez; Jaime Soto V4zquez;

Jaime Soto V4zquez; Edith Soto Vega; Edith Soto Vega; Luis

A. Tiré Soto; William Toledo Medina; Norberto Toro

Méndez; Efrain Torres Acevedo; Juan E. Torres Archeval;

Emilia Torres Arroyo; Justiniano Torres Bonilla; German

Torres Caquias; Carlos M. Torres; Luis Torres Colon; Luz

Torres Colon; Wilfredo Torres Colon; Miguel Torres Cortes;

Manuel Torres Diaz; Miguel Torres Dfaz; Luis A. Torres

Diaz; Olga Torres Echevarria; Edwin Torres; Aurel Esther

Torres Feliciano; Zenaida Torres Gardenas; Félix Torres

Gonz4lez; Edwin Torres Guzman; José Torres Irizarry; José

L. Torres; Efrain Torres Lépez; Lupercio Torres; Idalis Torres

X

Marcucci; Idalis Torres Marcucci; Franklin Torres Marreiro;

Aitsa Torres Ortiz; Miguel Torres Ortiz; Nelson Torres Ortiz;

Orlando Torres Ortiz; Francisco Torres Otero; Angel Torres

Pagan; Alfredo Torres Pérez; Jackeline Torres Pérez; Jakeline

Torres Pérez; José Torres Pérez; Jekson Torres Quifiones;

Emilia Torres Ramos; Héctor L. Torres Ramos; Blanca Torres

Rodriguez; Ana L. Torres Rosado; Domingo Torres Torres;

Johnny Torres Torres; Nelson Torres Torres; Néstor L. Torres

Torres; Ram6én Torres Torres; Rosa Torres Torres; Angel

Torres Valentin; Miguel A. Torres Valentin; Virginia Torres;

Benjamin Torres Zayas; José D.C. Torres Zayas; Hiram

Torruellas Rivas; Ana Trias Pacheco; Aurea Troche Ruiz;

Miriam Troche Ruiz; Sara Troche Ruiz; Juan Tull Arroyo;

Anselmo Valentin; Ladislao Valentin Cora; Ladislao

Valentin; Ram6n Valentin Lao; Luis Valladares Jorge; Victor

Vargas Cantilares; José Vargas Cruz; Mercedes Vargas Cruz;

Ramon Vargas; Ramén Vargas Cruz; Héctor Vargas; Ismael

Vargas; José A. Vargas; Pedro A. Vargas Mercado; Pedro A.

Vargas Mercado; Miguel Vargas; Francisco Vargas Pagan;

Francisco Vargas Pagan; Victor Vargaz Canizares; Wilfredo

Vazquez Aguirre; Emildo Vazquez de Jestis; José M.

Vazquez; Wilfredo Vazquez Montalvo; Santos Vazquez

Mufiiz; Norma I. V4zquez; Alexander Vazquez Rivera;

Joaquin Vazquez Rivera; Alexis Vazquez Rodriguez; Edwin

Vazquez Rodriguez; Edwin Vazquez Rodriguez; Rafael

Vazquez Romero; Julio I. Vega; Miguel Vega Lugo; José M.

Vega Martinez; Ramén L. Vega Martinez; Mayra E. Vega;

Ismael Vega Ramos; Ismael Vega Ramos; Andalicio

Velazquez; Carmelo Velazquez Feliciano; Daisy J. Velazquez

Flores; Luis A. Velazquez; José R. Velazquez Mercado; José

R. Velazquez Mercado; Maribel Velazquez Rosado; Walter

Velazquez; Ismael Vélez Acevedo; Carlos M. Vélez; Dernis

Vélez Figueroa; Edelmira Vélez; Gloria I. Vélez; Noel Vélez

Rivera; Orlando Vélez Ruberte; Wanda Vélez Ruberte; Ana

E. Vera Colon; Eufemia Eileen conocida por Eileen Mercado

Parra; Adriana Luisa Mercado Parra; Eileen Maria Coffey

xi

Mercado; David Mario Coffey Mercado; Maria Luisa Wilson

Mercado; Margarita Maria Wilson Mercado; Richard Wilson

Mercado; Manuel Vidro Diana; Israel Vidro Zayas; Mercedes

Vidro Zayas; Juan Vila Castillo; José E. Villoch Ocasio;

Angel Zapata, ESTATE OF MARIO MERCADO RIERA -

composed by: (a) Eufemia Eileen a/k/a Eileen Mercado

Parra, (b) Adriana Luisa Mercado Parra, (c) Eileen Maria

Coffey Mercado; (d) David Mario Coffey Mercado, (e) Maria

Luisa Wilson Mercado, (f) Margarita Maria Wilson Mercado,

y (g) Richard Wilson Mercado; Maricely Zapata Ruiz; the

parties known as Fulano de Tal y Mengano de Cual, also all

other citizens that acted in concert or in accord with the above

mentioned codefendants and have joined in the land invasion

and have built structures in the property or reside therein; in

relation to the married defendants, whose spouses are

unknown are hereby identified and designated as Fulana de

Tal, John Doe; Fulano de Tal representing all the unknown

defendants; FULANO DE TAL and MENGANO DE TAL,

representing all those natural or judicial or legal parties whose

addresses and domicile are unknown and who may have

interest in the case; to the parties that were brought to the

jurisdiction of the courts by the public notice published in the

Puerto Rico newspaper El Dia on March 20,1986, in the

present judicial proceedings; as well as the certified class

whose default was noted on January 19, 1988; As well as all

those parties, natural and/or legal who may have an interest,

and who may have erected structures and/or had squaterred

and/or had caused damages to the property HPY, INC. (Case

Number CS851459)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the rule of law prevails in Puerto Rico?

2. Whether denial, on grounds of unjust enrichment, of

property owners’ right to “just compensation” for structures

built by bad faith trespassers violates the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments of the United States Constitution?

3. Whether the Puerto Rico appellate court, lacking

statutory jurisdiction, erred in interfering with a final, binding,

and unappealable judgment, and disregarding a settled

stipulation of the parties?

(xiii)

XiV

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

There are no other parties to this proceeding besides those

listed in the caption. Pursuant to Rule 29.1 of this Court,

Petitioner states that it is a Delaware corporation that is not

publicly traded, and it has neither a parent nor a subsidiary.

Petitioner is owned by United States citizens who reside in

the continental United States

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED..............s.scssccsccscssessecsesserees Viii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ............:cccccesseeeeeteee ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............ccsccsssssssseereeeeeeeens xi

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI................++ |

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW .............:cccseesseeees 1

FU TN a ocssevcascencececeesssnssocacsesecveneceveansesneshenssnnes 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STAT-

UTES DIVE VED oiniciseccsescscctccsisssccvesscssecssncesnencoves 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE............:ccsccssseesseseeseereees | 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................0+. 13

CE IIIS asesiicintencensinnnesnsedsinnecincssesasaninensaistiqnmnenste 19

(xv)

XVi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Amezquita v. Hernandez-Colon, 518 F.2d 8 (Ast Cir.

PPE Dvn ciscicrscdeesmnatahiumdiassiasian ch iaaapaehcadaaadamianiaaes me

Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960) ........... 14

City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey,

Eg Tae WO es TE CE chive aictenvciedahianetesienesnsnaes 14, 18

Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994) ............0. 16

First Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987)............. 14, 17

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458

Sib SEED CRE brntniinvnsienircaciaddnheniaaiioiaeiabb sian >

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

CTE ss siicninirevisinipiniccaesiliialilieai dala neaimtaai a aie aa 16

Riviera-Rodriguez v. Popular Democratic Party, 45%

Riuiie 9: CI PMED <snsesnciceniaicensntatelinaiaihisielenanrenimndansuanas 14

Santiago-Rodriguez v. Torres-Massa, 342 F.Supp.

FAP LA as AD siicvuinieceetesascbcsisunbaditanbancinmniteians itgatiaess 4

United States v. Zenon,711 F.2d 476 (ist Cir. 1983)..... 17

STATUTES

ee Wee Asae Sb Ra cievinnsionsniecieiecdaenmatciealdepnicidbiiamanninen a

OD GE ae Re 0 Tie nrviscnncsnincsencieveadataantiohaibemieon 7

C2. CAIRO... SEY is inisssinteaniinnsinieicnembansaniodines 2

Jt CORRE... AE, FAO cctanicsstnisicncaineinisinnnaien 2

PUERTO RICO STATUTES

Article 4.002 of the Judiciary Act of Puerto Rico,

© UE Mc Ba sscinincvissvcnstecniniiciiaicapeacinaadithaliaee 4, 16

Civil Code of Puerto Rico, 31 L.P.R.A. § 1165.....3, 8, 14

Article 1204 of the Civil Code of Puerto Rico, 31

ed bts 1h OPED scseincisinassiniansiialeinidantianaliibataninas 4, 16

Puerto Rico Const., Article II, Sec. 7................0. 3

Puerto Rico Const., Article II, Sec. 9.0.0.0... 3

XVii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Rule 32 of the Rules of the Circuit Court of

Appeals of Puerto Rico 4 L.P.R.A. App. XXII,

Pi BR. SD vccciccocsciessssonsesscvisorenccesscccbetesssovensieccnoneses

OTHER

Callies, D. L., “Regulatory Takings and the

Supreme Court: How Perspectives on

Property Rights Have Changed from Penn

Central to Dolan, and What State and Federal

Courts Are Doing About It,” 20 Whittier L.

Rev. 181, 209 (1998) .............cccsscsssrcssrcceersrenses

Lazer, Hon. Leon D., “The Supreme Court's

Land Use Decisions,” 11 Touro L. Rev. 421

(1995) nceeccasscccessasesessensccscorconsesesssssnesneccassscoesasooess

Watson, M. S., “The Scope of the Supreme

Court’s Heightened Scrutiny Takings Doc-

trine,” 28 Stetson L. Rev. 523, 526 (1999)........

Page

4, 16

13

13

13

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, H.P.Y., Inc., ("Petitioner"), respectfully petitions

for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the Supreme

Court of Puerto Rico, denying a writ of certiorari to review

the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico,

Ponce Regional Circuit, rendered on August 27, 1999.

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The following opinions and orders are not reported, and are

reprinted, in translation, in the Appendix to this Petition:

Decision of the Court of First Instance, Ponce

Superior Division, rendered on June 4, 1991 (App. at

la);

Decision of the Court of First Instance, Ponce

Superior Division, entered on January 22, 1997 (App. at

25a);

Decision of the Court of First Instance, Ponce

Superior Division, entered on August 5, 1998 (App. at

31a);

Decision of the Court of First Instance, Ponce

Superior Division, entered on August 14, 1998 (App. at

34a);

Decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals, Ponce

Regional Circuit, rendered on August 27, 1999 (App. at

~ 50a);

' All documents included in the Appendix are originally in Spanish.

For convenience of the Court, these documents have been translated into

English.

? This Order was entered based upon a Stipulation on the Designation

of a Special Commissioner, executed by the parties on January 17, 1997

(App. at 18a)

2

Decision of the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico,

rendered on January 21, 2000 (App. at 95a);

Decision of the Supreme Court of Puerto P'co,

rendered on February 25, 2000 (App. at 96a); and

Decision of the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico,

rendered on March 17, 2000 (App. at 97a).

JURISDICTION

On January 21, 2000, the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico

declined to issue a writ of certiorari to review the decision of

the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico, Ponce Regional

Circuit. On February 25, 2000, the Supreme Court of Puerto

Rico denied Petitioner’s motion for reconsideration. On

March 17, 2000, the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico denied

Petitioner’s second motion for reconsideration. This Court

has jurisdiction to review the judgments and orders of the

Supreme Court of Puerto Rico and Circuit Court of Appeals

of Puerto Rico under 28 U.S.C. § 1258.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

INVOLVED

1. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part that:

“No person shall. . .be deprived of life, liberty or

property, without due process of law; nor shall private

property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.”

2. The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States”

Constitution provides in relevant part that:

“No State shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any person

3

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor deny any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.”

3. Article I, Sec. 7 of the Constitution of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico provides in relevant part that:

“It is recognized as a fundamental right. . the right to

life, liberty and the enjoyment of property. No person

shall be deprived of his liberty or property without due

process of law, and no person in Puerto Rico shall be

denied equal protection under the law. No laws shall

be enacted that undermine contractual obligations.”

4. Article I, Sec. 9 of the Constitution of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico provides in relevant part that:

“No private property shall be taken for public use

without just compensation and in the manner

prescribed by law.”

5. The Statutes of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 31

L.P.R.A. § 1165, provide in relevant part:

“He who builds, plants, or sows in bad faith on

another’s land, loses what he has built, planted or

sown, without having any right to indemnity.”

6. Article 4.002 of the Judiciary Act of Puerto Rico, 4

L.P.R.A. § 22K, provides in relevant part:

The writ of certiorari shall be executed by filing a

petition to such effects within thirty (30) days

following the date the copy of the notice of resolution

is filed of record in the case. This term is

jurisdictional.

3 Translation of this statute Appears in Amezquita v. Hernandez-Colon,

581 F.2d 8, 13 (1st Cir. 1975).

4

7. Rule 32 of the Rules of the Circuit Court of Appeals of

Puerto Rico 4 L.P.R.A. App. XXII, A, R.32, provides in

relevant part:

The writ of certiorari shall be executed by filing a

petition to such effects within thirty (30) days

following the date the copy of the notice of resolution

is filed of record in the case. . . . The term provided

herein shall be of strict compliance except when there

are special duly-grounded circumstances in the writ of

certiorari.

8. Article 1204 of the Civil Code of Puerto Rico, 31

L.P.R.A. §3343, provides in relevant part:

In order that the presumption of res adjudicata may be

valid in another suit, it is necessary that, between the

case decided by the sentence and that in which the

same is invoked, there be the most perfect identity

between the things, causes, and persons of the

litigants, and their capacity as such.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case should be of great interest to this Court. It in;

volves the largest land invasion in the history of Puerto Rico*

* The Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the District of

Puerto Rico observed nearly 30 years ago in Santiago- Rodriguez ' v.

Torres-Massa, 342 F.Supp. 1152, 1153 (D.P.R. 1972):

Due to many and various reasons which we need not elaborate

but which include overpopulation, unfulfilled expectations, and

the need of many to have a home of their own, together with the

unavailability of housing at a cost which the poor of Puerto Rico

can afford, Puerto Rico has experienced during the past year or

so a series of incidents which have become known as land

invasions. These are characterized mainly by a group of

homeless persons accompanied in some occasions by a sprinkling

:

and certain outrageous” conduct in the ensuing litigation by

the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. The trespassers usurped

an area of more than three hundred (300) cuerdas® of real

estate, where more than three thousand (3,000) families

invaded the land and built houses. Among the owners of the

illegally occupied land is the Petitioner, H.P.Y., Inc., a

corporation organized under the laws of Delaware with its

principal place of business in Winter Park, Florida. H.P.Y.,

Inc. has been litigating for 15 years to receive just

compensation for what this Court has recognized as the

“special kind of injury [that an owner suffers] when a stranger

directly invades and occupies the owner’ s property.”

The invasion began in 1985, when a group of squatters

commenced their trespass, in bad faith, on Petitioner’s land

and other adjacent land owners. The invasion spread rapidly,

and had the potential of becoming a problem of public order.

In response, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the

Regulations and Permits Administration (ARPE, as known by

its Spanish acronym) filed a motion in the Superior Court of

Ponce for provisional injunction against the squatters and the

owners of the land. They alleged in the motion that the

of speculators, who will occupy a parcel of rural land and build

their homes on the land. . . .

5 The Court of First Instance held (App. at 36a, 43a, 48a) that the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico was responsible for “assuming an unlaw‘ul

position and causing procedural confusion. . . . {T]he Government is

accused of bad faith in the circumstances of this case... . [The] conduct

. . of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico] can be categorized as reckless,

obtuse and intransigent.” On Appeal, the Circuit Court of Appeals of

Puerto Rico stated that “we respect the decision of the Court of First

Instance that the procedural conduct shown by the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico in this case was reckless and contradictory.” (App. at 84a).

6 A cuerda is 3930.396 square meters in area, slightly less than an acre.

7 Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 436

(1982).

6

buildings constructed by the squatters were violating ARPE

laws and that the construction was being carried out in

common agreement with the landowners and with the

approval of same. The landowners strenuously denied these

allegations.

In view of these events, that same year, both H.P.Y., Inc.

and the Mario Mercado Estate filed a lawsuit against the

squatters in the Superior Court of Ponce, in which they

requested that the squatters be certified as a class of

defendants, that a injunction for possession be issued, and that

an order for precarious eviction be entered against the

squatters.® The Court certified the defendants as a class.

While the litigation was pending, the number of squatters

rapidly increased.

In 1988, three years after the invasion began, the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico filed in the Expropriations

Court a Petition of Expropriation of 199 cuerdas of land

belonging to the Mario Mercado Estate. H.P.Y., Inc. tried to

intervene in that case on three separate occasions, alleging

that the Commonwealth had included a large part of its land

in the plan submitted to the Court with the Petition for

Expropriation. The Commonwealth opposed the intervention

of H.P.Y., Inc., and the Court of Expropriations denied the

requests for intervention finding that the Commonwealth did

not have any intention to expropriate land belonging to

.c. Gee. The Expropriations Court ordered the

Commonwealth to correct the plan to reflect that the land of

H.P.Y., Inc. was not part of the expropriation, but the

Commonwealth never made the correction.

® The government’s lawsuit and Petitioner’s lawsuit were consolidated

into a single case. However, one land owner in the consolidated action,

Alfonso A. Hernandez Ortiz, was successful in evicting approximately 32

squatters in 1997 and Mr. Hernandez Ortiz was removed from the case.

7

Also during 1988, incredibly, three public corporations (the

Electric Power Authority, the Aqueduct and Sewer Authority

and the Rural Housing Administration), using federal funds.?

Started to build infrastructure on the land belonging to the

Mario Mercado Estate, which had been expropriated, and the

land belonging to H.P.Y., Inc., which had not been

expropriated. In other words, while the Commonwealth

refused to grant H.P.Y., Inc. just compensation for its plots of

land, these public corporations were invading H.P.Y., Inc.’s

land, and taking the land from H.P.Y., Inc. without just

compensation, with the approval of the Commonwealth.

Due to the actions of the government through these public

corporations, H.P.Y., Inc.'° had no other remedy'! than to

continue with its lawsuit for Possessory injunction, precarious

eviction and accession. On June 4, 1991, the Superior Court

of Ponce entered judgment in the consolidated action,

ordering the squatters to cease and desist from disturbing the

plaintiffs in the possession of the property in question, and to

vacate the property of the plaintiffs, leaving it free and clear

in favor of the legitimate owners.'2 The Court also

” Petitioner's Puerto Rican counsel has received documents showing

that several million dollars were spent on infrastructure by the Electric

Power Authority, a government owned corporation.

'° The Mario Mercado Estate also remained a plaintiff in the

consolidated action because it owned 17 cuerdas of land that had not been

expropriated by the government, but were usurped nonetheless.

' H.P.Y., Inc. filed a civil action in the United States District Court for

the District of Puerto Rico under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against the Electric

Power Authority, the Puerto Rico Aqueduct and Sewer Authority, and the

Rural Housing Administration, alleging that these public agencies aided

and abetted the squatters. This suit was dismissed and the dismissal was

affirmed by the First Circuit in 1993 (App. at 98a).

2 It is important to remember that in a different case in the

Expropriations Court, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico had expropriated

199 cuerdas of land belonging to the Mario Mercado Estate, which was

8

determined that, since the squatters never acted in good faith

in illegally possessing the invaded land, they lost ownership

in the buildings and infrastructure in accordance with the

statutes of Puerto Rico.'* This judgment was duly noticed to

all the parties, including the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

and in order to give notice to the squatters, it was published in

a newspaper of general circulation in Puerto Rico. No one

made a timely request for reconsideration of the judgment or

filed a timely notice of Appeal or petition for certiorari.

Hence, the judgment became final, binding, and not subject to

appeal.

At the moment the Court of First Instance was ready to

execute the judgment to evict the trespassers, the

Commonwealth filed an objection alleging that there was a

discrepancy in the boundaries and, therefore, the eviction

should not be carried out. H.P.Y., Inc. replied that the

government’s position was contrary to positions it had taken

in the expropriation suit, in which the government had stated

that the property to be expropriated did not include any land

belonging to H.P.Y., Inc. In order to resolve the dispute, the

Court of First Instance appointed a court expert, Julio Rios, a

professor of surveying at the University of Puerto Rico. On

part of the land covered by the invasion. Therefore, on July 2, 1991, the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico requested a nunc pro tunc amendment to

the judgment that had been handed down so that the judgment would

exclude from execution of the judgment the 199 cuerdas of land

expropriated by the Commonwealth from the Mercado Estate. On April

10, 1992, the Superior Court issued an order to execute the judgment

which excluded the 199 cuerdas of land already expropriated by the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. However, another 17 cuerdas of land

belonging to the Mario Mercado Estate, and the 90 cuerdas of land

belonging to H.P.Y., Inc. were not excluded, and were thus covered by the

Judgment.

'3 See Statutes of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 31 L.P.R.A.

§1165, cited above.

9

July 28, 1992, the expert submitted his report which

confirmed the position of H.P.Y., Inc. that the

Commonwealth had included its land in the petition for

expropriation.

However, the Commonwealth ignored the expert’s report.

The position of the Commonwealth was not based on the rule

of law, but on political considerations. The more than 3,000

bad faith trespassers represented a substantial voting bloc in

the upcoming 1992 elections. Pre-election opinion polls

showed the election was a dead heat. The ruling party feared

a loss of power. Thus, the government continued to oppose

the eviction of the squatters and requested that the Court of

First Instance at Ponce stay the eviction order until the

Expropriations Court could determine the boundaries of the

expropriated property. The Court of First Instance stayed the

eviction order on the grounds that the Expropriations Court

had exclusive jurisdiction to determine the boundaries of an

expropriated property. On December 8, 1995, the Ex-

propriations Court entered a judgment providing that the -

government had expropriated 199 cuerdas of land belonging

to the Mario Mercado Estate and that the property of H.P.Y.,

Inc. was not included in the expropriated area.“

Because the judgment of the Expropriations Court clarified

the boundaries of the expropriated property, on February 22,

1996, H.P.Y., Inc. again requested the Court of First Instance

at Ponce, in the consolidated action, to immediately evict

those who had usurped its property. Surprisingly, the

government once again opposed the eviction request, arguing

that when it filed its petition for expropriation in 1988, its

intention was to expropriate all of the invaded land for the

benefit of the squatters, reversing its earlier positions in an

'* The judgment was based on a settlement between the Commonwealth

and the Mario Mercado Estate.

10

apparent attempt to deny Petitioner’s rights. Thus, the

Commonwealth continued to make _ self-contradictory

arguments, for it had consistently argued in_ the

Expropriations Court that it had no intention of expropriating

any land belonging to H.P.Y., Inc. and the only expropriation

was 199 cuerdas of land belonging to the Mario Mercado

Estate.

There were long hearings in the consolidated action in the

Court of First Instance at Ponce during March to May 1996.

Then, on May 14, 1996, Mr. Leandro Pefia, Assistant

Secretary of the Department of Housing and Executive

Director of the Housing Development and Improvement

Administration, made an institutional commitment and a

formal promise, in open court, on behalf of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, to acquire the physical

improvements and the invaded land that had not been

expropriated in accordance with applicable law as determined

by the Court of First Instance at Ponce (the 17 cuerdas of land

belonging to the Mario Mercado Estate and the 90 cuerdas of

land belonging to H.P.Y., Inc.).'> As discussed below, the

Court of First Instance at Ponce later concluded that the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico agreed to acquire the private

properties, with all the consequence of accession,

compensation and appraisal derived from judgment and the

law.'°

'S This commitment is discussed in the decision of the Circuit Court of

Appeals of Puerto Rico dated August 27, 1999, at p. 25 (App. 74a). The

Commonwealth made a partial payment of compensation of $2,000,000 to

Estate of Mercado and H.P.Y., Inc., which was divided equally among

them.

'© Decisions of the Court First Instance, Ponce Superior Division

entered on August 5 and 14, 1998, App. at 31a and 34a.

11

On January 22, 1997, the Court of First Instance at Ponce

issued an order,'’ based upon a stipulation’® between the

Commonwealth and H.P.Y., Inc., designating Domingo

Raffucci, a former judge of the Expropriations Court, as

Special Commissioner to settle the following disputes: (a) the

value of the land as of the date of May 15, 1996; (b) the value

of the buildings located on the land, subject to determination

by the Court on the appropriateness of compensation; and (c)

the value of the infrastructure, subject to determination by the

Court on the appropriateness of compensation. Incredibly,

the Commonwealth reneged on its formal commitment to

acquire the land invaded by the squatters (including the

houses and the infrastructure). The Commonwealth’s

commitment had been embodied in a stipulated order, and the

order had become final, binding, and not subject to appeal.

However, the Commonwealth reversed its position, and took

the opposite position that its commitment was only to

compensate the owners for the land per se, not for the houses

or the infrastructure.

In July, 1997, the Special Commissioner submitted his

report on the appraisal of the 90 cuerdas of land belonging to

H.P.Y., Inc., determining that the value per cuerda of the 90

cuerdas of land (not including the illegally built structures)

was $37,982.16, for a total of $3,418,508.80. The Court of

First Instance, in its ruling of August 5, 1998,'° approved the

report submitted by the Special Commissioner, and in its

ruling of August 14, 1998, reiterated that the owners had the

right to just compensation for the invaded land and also for

the structures erected on the land, since these lands and

'7 App. at 25a.

'8 App. at 18a.

* App. at 3la.

20 App. at 34a.

12

structures belonged to them by accession,”’ as the trespassers

had acted in bad faith.

The Commonwealth appealed these rulings in a Petition of

Certiorari to the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico on

October 5, 1998. Both H.P.Y., Inc. and the Mario Mercado

Estate opposed the appeal. On August 27, 1999, the Circuit

Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico issued a decision”, in which

it purported to set aside, without jurisdiction to do so, the

final and binding judgment of June 4, 1991, and improperly

amended the stipulation signed by the Commonwealth and

H.P.Y., Inc. more than two years previously. This decision

stated that the landowners, for reasons of unjust enrichment,

did not have a right to compensation for the trespassers’

buildings or infrastructure erected on their land (theirs by

accession). The Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico also

changed the stipulated date to determine the value of the

expropriated land to November 3, 1988, some 8 years earlier,

setting aside the date of May 15, 1996, which date H.P.Y.,

Inc. and the Commonwealth had stipulated to as the date to

determine the value.“ The Court did this unilaterally,

because the government, as appellant, never asked the date to

be changed. In addition, the Court of Appeals altered or

modified the contract of the parties as an appellate court and

not as a court of equity deciding the issue as a court of first

instance.

On December 2, 1999, Petitioner filed a timely petition for

appeal or certiorari in the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico from

?! This was the ruling in the final judgment dated June 4, 1991, App. at

16a. .

22 App. at 50a.

3 Stipulation dated January 17, 1997 (App. at 18a)

4 App. at 27a.

13

the decision of the Circuit Curt of Appeals of Puerto Rico.

On January 21, 2000, the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico

dismissed Petitioner’s petition. Thereafter, the Petitioner

filed two timely motions for reconsideration, the last of which

was denied by the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico on March

17, 2000.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Opinion Below Conflicts With Decisions of

This Court and the United States Court of Appeals

for the First Circuit, and Raises Important

Questions Concerning Fair Play, Protection of

Constitutional Rights, and Whether the Rule of

Law Prevails in Puerto Rico

Since 1987, this Court has been moving in the direction of

greater protection of property rights.*> Property rights, and, in

particular, rights in land, have always been fundamental to,

and part of, the preservation of liberty and personal freedom

in the United States.” In its recent decisions, this Court has

been taking a pro-privatist stance and strengthening the Fifth

Amendment’s takings clause.”” As a result, heightened

scrutiny must be applied to the decision of the Circuit Court

of Appeals of Puerto Rico in this case.

This case involves the largest known land invasion in

Puerto Rican history. The decisions of the appellate courts in

Puerto Rico, as they pertain to the facts of this case, raise

25 Hon. Leon D. Lazer, “The Supreme Court’s Land Use Decisions,” 11

Touro L. Rev. 421 (1995).

6 Callies, D. L., “Regulatory Takings and the Supreme Court: How

Perspectives on Property Rights Have Changed from Penn Central to

Dolan, and What State and Federal Courts Are Doing About It,” 28

Stetson L. Rev. 523, 526 (1999).

27 Watson, M. S., “The Scope of the Supreme Court’s Heightened

Scrutiny Takings Doctrine,” 20 Whittier L. Rev. 181, 209 (1998).

14

serious questions about whether the rule of law prevails in

Puerto Rico.” The right to just compensation for homes and

infrastructure built by bad faith trespassers contained in a

final, binding and unappealable judgment was abrogated by

an appellate court without jurisdiction. This decision

abrogated 100 years of statutory law in Puerto Rico.” In

addition, an appellate court freed one party from a contractual

Stipulation even though neither party sought a reformation in

equity before the lower court or the appellate court. The

result of the decision, if left unreviewed and unchanged, will

be that the Puerto Rican appellate courts have decided the

compensation question inconsistently with the requirements

of the Fifth Amendment,” First Evangelical Lutheran

Church of Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304,

311 (1987)(California courts decided the compensation

question inconsistently with the requirements of the Fifth

Amendment).

Government action that works a taking of property rights

necessarily implicates the “constitutional obligation to pay

just compensation,” Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40,

49 (1960), quoted with approval in First Evangelical

Lutheran Church of Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, 482

U.S. 304, 315 (1987). When the government initiates

8 Senator John W. Warner of Virginia, in a speech on the Senate floor

last year, referring to trespassers who built houses at the U.S. Naval base

on Vieques Island, Puerto Rico, in a similar manner to this case, criticized

the “unrestrained civil disobedience, in defiance of law” in Puerto Rico, as

quoted in The Virginian-Pilot, Norfolk, VA, October 30, 1999.

9 See Statutes of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 31 L.P.R.A.

§1165, cited above.

°° The Due Process Clause and other constitutional provisions are

Applicable in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico in the same manner as

they Apply to the States. Riviera-Rodriguez v. Popular Democratic Party,

457 U.S. 1, 7 (1982).

15

condemnation proceedings, it concedes the landowner’s right

to receive just compensation and seeks a mere determination

of the amount of compensation due, City of Monterey v. Del

Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S. 687, 712 (1999).

H.P.Y., Inc. had acquired ownership of the buildings and

infrastructure built on invaded land by statute*' and by the

right of accession set forth in the final, binding and

unappealable judgment dated June 4, 1991.7 The Circuit

Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico disregarded the law of the

case, the statutes of Puerto Rico,” and, more importantly, the

stipulation of the parties to conclude, improperly, that the

doctrine of unjust enrichment prevented the Petitioner from

being compensated for structures built by bad faith

trespassers.

For Fifth Amendment and due process reasons, the Court

of Appeals of Puerto Rico could not revoke the rights to just

compensation for the buildings and infrastructure that had

already been acquired in a final and binding judgment. The

decision of the Puerto Rico Court of Appeals to deny

31 See Statutes of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 31 L.P.R.A.

§1165, cited above.

32 App. at 16a. The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto

Rico dated August 27, 1999, at pp. 15-16, recognized that the Court of

First Instance on Jurs 4, 1991 “concluded that the properties had been

subject to illegal invasion and that the squatters did not have title to the

properties. It determined that the occupants were builders in bad faith,

since they did not have any right whatsoever to continue in possession of

their homes. The Court ordered eviction of the squatters from the

property.” (App. at 65a). However, the Court of Appeals chose to ignore

that ruling because of “the imposition on the Government of a payment of

millions of dollars for these items,” ibid., p. 38 (App. at 86a), clearly

violating Petitioner’s constitutional rights.

33 See text accompanying footnote 3, supra.

™ App. at 18a.

Re

16

Petitioner’s right to compensation for the buildings and

infrastructure also conflicts with the ruling of the United

States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in Amezquita v.

Hernandez-Colon, 518 F.2d 8, 13 (1* Cir. 1975)(Puerto Rican

trespassers do not own homes built on invaded land,”® and

thus have no protected property or privacy interests). In that

case, it should be noted that the Commonwealth of Puerto

Rico had argued that squatters dc not own homes built on

invaded land, a position directly at odds with the

Commonwealth’s position in this case.

In addition, the Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico did not

have jurisdiction to review the judgment of June 4, 1991, for

reasons set forth in Article 4.002 of the Judiciary Act of

Puerto Rico” and Rule 32 of the Rules of the Circuit Court of

Appeals of Puerto Rico,’ because there must be a timely

appeal. There was no timely appeal by the Commonwealth of

the earlier judgment and, hence, the Circuit Court of Appeals

of Puerto Rico could not intervene in that judgment. It also

violated the principle of res judicata established in Article

1204 of the Civil Code of Puerto Rico.*®

The Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico seized on the

doctrine of unjust enrichment, because it thought that the

government’s obligation to pay Petitioner for, ithe buildings

and infrastructure would cost too much money.” ° Apparently,

5 See text accompanying footnote 3, supra, citing the statute “He who

builds. ..in bad faith on another’s land, loses what he has built...”

4 LP.R.A. § 22K.

*74 L.P.R.A. App. XXII, A, R.32.

%31 L.P.R.A. § 3343.

* The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico dated

August 27, 1999, at p. 38, expresses concern about “the imposition on the

Government of a payment of millions of dollars...” (App. at 86a).

17

-

the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico thought it was

protecting the public purse strings. However, such a purpose

runs counter to the constitutional requirement of just

compensation. This Court has made it clear that “a strong

public desire to improve the public condition [will not]

warrant achieving the desire by a shorter cut than the

constitutional way of paying for the change.” Pennsylvania

Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 416 (1922), quoted with

approval in Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 396

(1994).

The Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico, exceeding its

jurisdiction, also improperly changed the date of determining

the value of the expropriated land to November 3, 1988, some

8 years earlier, setting aside the date of May 15, 1996, which

date H.P.Y., Inc. and the Commonwealth had stipulated to as

the date to determine the value.” This decision was

erroneous for several reasons. This issue was not before the

court because the Commonwealth did not raise it on appeal.

The Commonwealth never sought to change the 1996 date.

Furthermore, the Commonwealth would have been precluded

from raising this issue on appeal by the doctrine of cases such

as United States v. Zenon, 711 F.2d 476, 478 (1" Cir.

1983)(Breyer, J.)(we hold appellants to the basic rule that an

issue not presented to the district court cannot be raised for

the first time on appeal). Here, the decision was more

egregious because the appellate court raised and applied this

theory sua sponte and without jurisdicticn.

A settled stipulation to use the 1996 date is a contract

between the parties, which obligates them to comply with

same. Thus, once the parties have consented, the stipulation

cannot be changed by an appellate court. Here, the stipulation

was not only an agreement of the parties, it was also approved

” App. at 27a.

18

by an order of the Court of First Instance in Ponce.*’ That

order became final, binding and not subject to appeal.

Finally, the valuation of property which has been taken

must be calculated as of the time of the taking, First

Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v. County of Los

Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 320 (1987). Between 1988 and 1996,

the Commonwealth maintained in the expropriation

proceedings involving Estate of Mercado’s 199 cuerdas of

land that it had no intention to expropriate the land of H.P.Y.,

Inc. Therefore, use of the 1988 date for a government taking

is inconsistent with the Commonwealth’s position in the

expropriation litigation.

Throughout the 15 years of litigation over this land

invasion, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico has tolerated and

encouraged the illegal actions of the squatters, and obstructed

legal proceedings brought by the property owners, in effect

protecting the squatters for political reasons, in total disregard

of the law and Petitioner’s constitutional rights. It is highly

unusual for a government to protect trespassers. Thus,

Petitioner was treated in an unfair and irrational manner by

the government. See, e.g. City of Monterey v. Del Monte

Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S. 687, 699 (1999)(Del

Monte Dunes emphasized the shifting and sometimes

inconsistent positions taken by the city throughout the

process, and argued that it had been treated in an unfair and

irrational manner by the government). Add to this the fact

that the Circuit Court of Appeals of Puerto Rico modified a

final and binding judgment and amended a stipulation

between the parties, which had the approval of the Court of

First Instance at Ponce. These events violated the rule of law

that governs Puerto Rico in terms of property law, final and

binding judgments, and settled stipulations, resulting in

*! App. at 25a.

19

Petitioner’s constitutional rights being ignored and violated.

They raise troubling questions about fundamental fairness and

due process of law, which cry out for review by this Court.

CONCLUSION

Because the decision of the court below raises serious

questions about whether the rule of law prevails in Puerto

Rico and whether the question of compensation for a taking

was decided inconsistently with the requirements of the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments, a writ of certiorari should issue

to review the decision below. If left unreviewed, legal chaos

will continne in Puerto Rico with respect to property rights,

and whether appellate courts on appeal may interfere with

final, binding, and unappealable judgments, and disregard, or

modify and alter, settled stipulations of the litigants. This is

an opportunity for the Court to send a clear message that land

invasions will not be tolerated in Puerto Rico or elsewhere in

the United States.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: SHELDON S. TOLL

(Counsel of Record for

JUAN J. RAMIREZ-R. Petitioner H.P.Y., Inc.)

PEDRO E. ORTIZ-ALV AREZ GREGORY J. DEMARS

JOSE F. RAMIREZ HONIGMAN MILLER SCHWARTZ

AND COHN

2290 First National Building

| Detroit, Michigan 48226

June, 2000 (313) 465-7582

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.