Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Alabama v. Department of Energy

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i FILED

NO. 99-

INTHE ” Fe COrS © 2000

Supreme Court of the Anita Statescrerx

STATES OF ALABAMA, CALIFORNIA,

CONNECTICUT, IDAHO, INDIANA,

MARYLAND, MICHIGAN, MISSISSIPPI,

MONTANA, OHIO, SOUTH DAKOTA,

VERMONT, WISCONSIN, and WYOMING,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

and CHEVRON U.S.A. INC.,

Respondents,

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Bill Lockyer, James F. Flug

Attorney General Counsel of Record

Yeoryios Apallas, Paula N. Dinerstein

Deputy Attorney General DUNCAN, WEINBERG, GENZER &

50 Fremont St., PEMBROKE, P.C.

Suite 300 1615 M Street NW, Suite 800

San Francisco, CA 94105 Washington, D.C. 20036

(415) 703-5527 (202) 467-6370

Attorneys for Petitioner, Attorneys for Petitioners,

the State of California the States of Alabama,

Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana,

Maryland, Michigan,

Mississippi, Montana, Ohio,

South Dakota, Vermont,

Wisconsin, and Wyoming,

by and through their respective

Attorneys General

}

54 pP

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, where the assignment of jurisdiction to the Federal

Circuit is “issue jurisdiction,” that court has exclusive jurisdiction

over an appeal to the Tenth Circuit in which the original claims in

the district court related to a statute assigned to the Federal Circuit,

but the appeal challenges the district court’s interpretation of a

Statute not assigned to the Federal Circuit.

2. Whether, if the Federal Circuit and the Tenth Circuit are deemed

to have concurrent jurisdiction over an appeal filed in the Tenth

Circuit, the Tenth Circuit may abstain from the exercise of

jurisdiction where there is no possibility of duplicative proceedings

because no new appeal can be filed in the Federal Circuit, and the

Federal Circuit cannot provide an adequate alternative forum

because the Tenth Circuit intends not to transfer the case.

3. Whether, in a case potentially involving hundreds of millions of

dollars of restitution for the energy programs of all States, the

federal treasury and oil consumers, the “interest of justice” standard

in the Transfer Statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1631, can be applied to

exclude appellant states from all appellate forums because they

declined to proceed on the merits in two courts simultaneously.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS .

SE I gi. gc os seit hee ae eee i

WE I ss 6s & 60s en n kooks ea be ee li

Re eee er er iv

Potion Ber 6 Wel Ol Corre cw... a ids Beene ]

CINE INE gna xs bdo sane enc eee ]

PRT Tre re re rN Ke ]

rr es et ]

gt err rer ee ]

Reasons for Granting the Writ ....................00:. 1]

INTRODUCTION: _ Beyond the Strong Rule 10

Reasons, Review is Merited Because, by Denying

Both Junsdiction And Transfer, the Tenth Circuit

Left No Forum For an Important Case by Public

Officials Seeking to Vindicate Public Rights........ 1]

I. Decisions on Allocation of Jurisdiction

Among Federal Courts Present Important Issues of

Judicial Management, Fairness and Predictability

Which This Court Should Address in the Context

of the Senous Departure Here From The Accepted

And Usual Course of Judicial Proceedings. ........ 13

I. The Challenged Decision Directly

Conflicts With This Court’s Basic Abstention

Rules: Even If the Tenth Circuit Had Some

Discretion to Defer to Another Federal Court,

Such Abstention Is Not Appropriate Where There

Is No Threat of Duplicative Proceedings and

Where the Other Court Cannot Provide an

Adequate Alternative Forum. ................... 20

Il. This Court Should Exercise Supervisory

Power to Prevent The Transfer Statute -- Intended

to Insure a Proper Forum For Litigants Who Find

Themselves in The Wrong Court and to Avoid the

Need to Proceed in Two Courts at Once -- From

Being Turned on Its Head So as to Deny Any

Forum Because a Litigant Chose Not to Proceed in

NETS. 5 coe vec cs deduce tas Veceee 23

SE SS cia Sob S 4 <6 hk eh Ul enews died OX 26

APPENDIX

Order denying rehearing and attaching Amended Opinion

ee IIS: ics SACS ois ciGieieuwid. A-1

Onginal Order and Judgment of the Tenth Circuit ........ B-1

Memorandum and Order of the District Court in

ag eae ae ae Re Ce ree C-]

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Akenbrandt v. Richards, $04 U.S. 689 (1992) ........... 15

Arizona v. San Carlos Apache Tribe, 463 U.S. 545 (1983) . 23

Atari, Inc. v. JS& A Group, Inc., 747 F.2d 1422

Ped Ge. Te iii CORREO Peas .

Atlantic Richfield Co. v. DOE, 769 F.2d 771

Gs Se Ge oe a ERR 4,17

Baris v. Sulpicio Lines. Inc., 74 F.3d 567 (Sth Cir. ),

aff'd en banc, 101 F.3d 367 (Sth Cir. 1996),

cert denied, 520 U.S. 1168 (1997) ................. 26

Bowen v. Massachusetts, 487 U.S. 879 (1988) .......... 15

Bray v. United States, 423 U.S. 73 (1975) ........... 12,15.

Christianson v. Colt Industries,

een recres 17, 19, 25

Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 529 (1999) ............. 14

Coastal States Marketing v. New England Petroleum Corp.,

604 F268 179 GO Ce. WTP: oo ks A 7, 16,17

Cohens v. Virginia, 6 Wheat 264, 5 L.E. 257(1821) ...... 21

Coleman v. United States, 106 F.3d 339 (10th Cir. 1997) .. 24

Colorado River Waier Conservation District

v. United States, 424 U.S. 800 (1976) ........ 12, 21, 22

Vv

Consolidated Edison v. O'Leary,

131 F.3d 1475 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ............ 5, 6, 11, 19

Consumers Power Co. v. DOE,

SOOT we BOF e Cath LOO ok 5G ee eh 18

Continental Grain Co. v. Barge FBL-585,

Pee Ree, REE Gi sie eerie ss err corre 25

Costello v. United States, 365 U.S. 265(1961) .......... 25

Criales v. American Airlines, Inc., 105 F.3d 93 (2d Cir.),

OE I, ee ie PEED io wk cca hc ckeends 26

Deakins v. Monaghan, 484 U.S. 193 (1988) ............ 22

In re Department of Energy Stripper Well Exemption

Litigation, MDL 378, 653 F. Supp. 108 (D. Kan. 1986) . 2

In re Department of Energy Stripper Well Exemption

Litigation, 880 F. Supp. 1466 (D. Kan. 1995) ......... 2

Ferens v. John Deere, 494 U.S. 516 (1990) ............. 24

Gold v. Local 7 United Food and Commercial Workers

Union, 159 F.3d 1307 (10th Cir. 1997) ............. 10

Goldlawr, Inc. v. Heiman, 369 U.S. 463 (1962) ......... 24

MGPC, Inc. v. DOE, 673 F.2d 1277 (TECA 1982) ....... 16

Miller v. Hambrick, 905 F.2d 259 (9th Cir. 1990) ........ 24

Mobil Oil Corp. v. DOE, 983 F.2d 172 (10th Cir. 1992) ... 18

vi

Moses H. Cone Mem'! Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp.,

i gt | Ree Gare s bee aera e 22, 23

Mountain Fuel Supply Co. v. Johnson, 586 F.2d 1375

(10th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 952 (1979) ... 18

Navarro Savings Assn v. Lee, 446 U.S. 458 (1980) ....... 19

Ohio v. Wyandotte Chemicals Corp., 401 U.S. 493 (1971) . 2

Phoenix Petroleum Corp. v. Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission, 95 F.3d 1555 (Fed. Cir. 1996) ....... 7,17, 20

RJG Cab, Inc. v. Hodel, 797 F.2d 111 (3rd Cir. 1986) ..... Be:

Scallop Corp. v. Tully, 705 F.2d 645 (2d Cir. 1983) ...... 16

Shellman v. United States, 528 F.2d 675 (9th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 425 U.S. 936 (1976) ...........0..... 26

Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environment,

eee he Mo ee eee eters 10, 12, 18, 19

Texaco v. DOE, 616 F.2d 1193 (TECA 1979) ........ 13, 17

Texas American Oil Corp. v. DOE,

44 F.3d 1557 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (en banc).......... 16, 18

Turner Entertainment Co. v. Degeto Film, 25 F.3d i512

(ie. Tope is Sh ES ee eee 21

United States v. Cooper, 482 F.2d 1393 (TECA 1973) .... 15

United States v. Wyatt, 680 F.2d 1080 (Sth Cir. 1982) ..... 16

Wilton v. Seven Falls Co., 515 U.S. 277 (1995) .......... 21

Statutes and Rules

RI i i iris n'a) hina nraieng kh eee deck hes 14

Re NE Sid ss nici th ics asin nak we hens 5

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act,

EP Renae POE ECON 65555 0s ew ween 5

a Be oe i SS 14

SE US.C. 8 TOG FO in isi hekcias WPinp at 14

PE ace ED ekg CE Lk 65 Betws FEW as week ES ]

Ne 1,15

28 U.S.C.§ 1295(aX11) and(12) ................ 1, 15, 20

rb Sak Eee te bey el a ee ee ae 5

28 U.S.C.§ 1361 ..... inkeiss tered tain bt pada 5

RR ME BIG 55 as COURS ge Se BEV, CEA 08 passim

SRB Pe oes ire ect dvas cei ddtieess 14

I Me i a ee ut bans wh 14

Department of Energy Organization Act, §502(a),

Oe ss hci sos 4 an bin che ds isa X 5

Department of Energy Organization Act, §503,

RPE Ad inti neki ah suvaoiennld ENa's tp ave 3,6

| 14

a IE Soaieiis tess seni dis ted <i

vill

PO te PEED os ks vias cece wdvaeses ia eee 22

Pe ID bls CE ARCA ee eek 8

Legislative Materials

S. Rep. No. 275, 97th Cong. Ist Sess. (1981),

reprinted in 1982 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News sascha esapetbh sand aaind Oe el bead ter 23

H. Rep. No. 97-312, 97th Cong. Ist Sess. (1981) ......... 17

Miscellaneous

DOE Delegation Order No. 0204-24 .................... 4

DOE Delegation Order No. 0204-126 ................... 4

17 James Wm. Moore, et al., Moore's Federal Practice,

§ 122 (M. Bender 3d ed. 2000) ................ 21, 23

19 James Wm. Moore, et al., Moore's Federal Practice,

§ 208 (M. Bender 3d ed. 2000) ................... 14

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The States of Alabama, California, Connecticut, Idaho,

Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Ohio, South

Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, through their

respective Attorneys General, respectfully petition for a writ of

certiorari to review the Order and Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered in that court’s

docket Nos. 99-3065 and 99-3066 on March 6, 2000.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the court of appeals denying appellants’ petition

for rehearing, attaching an amended opinion dismissing the appeals

and denying the motions for transfer, is reproduced in Appendix A,

and is reported at 206 F.3d 1345 (10th Cir. 2000). The initial Order

and Judgment of the court of appeals, later amended, dismissing

the appeals, is set forth in Appendix B, and is not reported. The

unreported Memorandum and Order of the District Court for the

District of Kansas in MDL 378 is set forth in Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The Order of the court of appeals, denying Petitioners’ timely

petition for rehearing, and amending and reissuing its original

Order and Judgment, was entered on March 6, 2000. This Court’s

jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The texts of 28 U.S.C. § 1291 (Final Decisions of District Courts),

28 U.S.C. § 1295(a\(11) & (12) (Jurisdiction of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit), and 28 U.S.C. § 1631

(Transfer to Cure Want of Jurisdiction) are set out in Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves the effort of fourteen states (“the States”)

to enforce a 1986 Final Settlement Agreement (“FSA”) among all

the states, the federal government (through the Department of

Energy (“DOE”)), virtually the entire oil industry, including

2

respondent Chevron U.S.A., Inc. (“Chevron”), and thousands of

other parties. If left undisturbed, the Tenth Circuit’s action here

would deprive the States of any forum to hear the appeal of their

claim that DOE violated that Agreement in an enforcement

proceeding now valued at over six hundred million dollars, which,

in accordance with the FSA, would, if recovered, be disbursed to

benefit the energy-consuming public of this nation.

The FSA was “a settlement agreement of historic proportions”

resolving “monumental multidistrict litigation.” In re Department

of Energy Stnipper Well Exemption Litigation, MDL 378, 653 F.

Supp. 108, 109 (D. Kan. 1986)(“MDL 378").' The FSA

determined the distribution of over one billion dollars of oil

overcharges in the district court’s escrow. Jd. It also resolved two

other major matters: the distribution of crude oil overcharges

recovered by DOE in future enforcement cases and separate

litigation involving DOE’s “Entitlements Program.” The

Agreement was made subject to “the Court’s continuing equity

power to insure compliance,” id. at 121, which the Kansas district

court has exercised in numerous later proceedings.’

Under the FSA, 40% of all crude oil refunds collected by DOE

. is allocated among all of the states and territories as indirect

' Relevant portions of the FSA are reprinted in the Appellate Appendix

in No. 99-3065 (hereinafter “99-3065 App”) 148-161.

2 Jd. at 109, 112, 117. The court concluded that the Agreement would

“inure to the public good” in part because “groups and entities specifically

designated to represent the public interest -- such as the Department of Energy

and the fifty States” attorneys general -- have participated extensively in these

proceedings and have subjected the settlement agreement to the closest

scrutiny.” Jd. at 119, 118.

880 F. Supp. 1466, 1471 (D. Kan. 1995) (“Since the entry of the FSA, the

court has issued numerous opinions adjudicating disputes among various

signatories to the FSA regarding the interpretation of the FSA.”).

3

restitution for use in energy-related programs to benefit their oil-

consuming citizens.‘ Since 1986, the states have received

approximately two billion dollars under the FSA.° The FSA also

allocates 40% of the funds received to the United States Treasury

as indirect restitution to the public at large, and the remaining 20%

is set aside for a claims process for individuals who did not become

parties to the FSA and who assert injury from the violations at

issue. Jd. at 113. All Parties to the FSA -- except the States and

DOE -- waived any further claims to crude oil refunds. Jd. at 114.

All of the refiner Parties, such as Chevron, also settled all of their

claims under the Entitlements Program, signing waivers in “full

accord and satisfaction” of any claims based upon that program,

and particularly and explicitly arising from termination of that

program. 99-30€5 App 155, 157.

This case began with a Proposed Remedial Order (“PRO”)

brought in 1992 by DOE’s prosecutorial arm, the Economic

Regulatory Administration (“ERA”), against Chevron. ERA

charged that Chevron had violated continuing obligations it had

incurred under DOE’s pnior crude oil price controls. The PRO

sought restitution in an amount which with interest now exceeds

$600 million.®

The statutory authority for remedial order proceedings at DOE

is Section 503 of the 1977 Department of Energy Organization Act

(“DOE Act”), 42 U.S.C. § 7193. Pursuant to Delegation Orders

from the Secretary of Energy implementing the DOE Act, DOE’s

Office of Hearings and Appeals (“OHA”) has for over 20 years

* 653 F. Supp. at 113; 99-3065 App. 152-53. The States which are

petitioners here are entitled to 28.8% of the amount due to all of the states,

pursuant to the FSA. See, 653 F. Supp. at 113.

> See 653 F. Supp. at 12 (DOE estimated total crude oil overcharge

funds distributed under the Agreement would be $4-5 billion.)

® App A-5-6.

4

conducted “adjudicatory” proceedings in which oil companies can

contest PRO’s on factual and legal grounds.’

Here, Chevron availed itself of the opportunity to have the case

“adjudicated in an administrative proceeding before the OHA.”*

The States, because of their substantial financial interest, became

parties. 99-3065 App 52, n.10. OHA conducted a lengthy

adversarial proceeding, including extensive discovery, testimony,

cross-examination, briefing and oral argument, in which the States

participated actively. Jd. at 51-55. Chevron’s principal defense in

the proceeding was that, because of the termination of DOE’s

Entitlements Program, it was prevented from receiving the

regulatory benefit it had anticipated. See, App C-7; 99-3065 App

53. ERA and the States replied that in the FSA, Chevron had

explicitly waived any claims, including offsets to other liabilities,

based on the termination of the Entitlements Program, and that

DOE had likewise promised not to grant any further benefits based

on entitlements. See App C-3; 99-3065 App 80-81. ERA

characterized Chevron’s assertion of this defense as

“unconscionable” in light of its FSA waivers. 99-3065 App 16.

On March 25, 1996, OHA issued a “Decision and Order”

dismissing the enforcement action, based upon its acceptance of

Chevron’s entitlements defense. See, App C-8; 99-3065 App 53,

60-61, 69-70. OHA stated repeatedly that it was making “legal”

rulings, e.g., id. at 76, 82, and did sot claim to be exercising

prosecutorial discretion or departing in any way from its customary

adjudicatory role.

” See Atlantic Richfield Co. v. DOE, 769 F.2d 771 (D.C. Cir. 1984)

(“ARCO”); Delegation Order No. 0204-24 at § 9, 99-3065 App 185. DOE

delegated to ERA its prosecutorial powers and discretion, including the

“formulation and establishment of enforcement policy,” DOE Delegation

Order 0204-126 at § (a)(11), 99-3065 App 179, and the authority to initiate

(§ (a)(3)) and to settle (§ (a)(7)) enforcement cases. 99-3065 App 178, 179.

* As DOE described it to the district court. 99-3065 App 118-19.

* The OHA decision is reprinted in full at 99-3065 App 44-85.

5

C. The States’ Court Challenges to OHA’s Decision

On May 24, 1996, the States filed in U.S. District Court in

Kansas a “Motion to Enforce the Fina! Settlement Agreement” in

the existing MDL 378 docket, asserting that OHA’s action,

dismissing the PRO on the basis of Chevron’s entitlements defense,

violated the FSA as approved by that court, as well as other

Statutory and regulatory provisions. At the same time, anticipating

objections to the court’s considering all of the States’ claims in the

MDL 378 docket, the States also filed a separate complaint, No.

96-1180, which asserted-the same claims as those in the Motion to

Enforce. The two matters were consolidated for hearing. The

district court had jurisdiction of the MDL 378 action pursuant to

28 U.S.C.§§ 1331 and 1361, and also under the jurisdictional

provisions of the Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act (“EPAA”),

15 U.S.C. § 754(a)(1), and the DOE Act, § 502(a), 42 U.S.C. §

7192(a). The District Court’s jurisdiction in No. 96-1180 was

invoked under those same statutory provisions and under sections

210(a) and 211(b) of the Economic Stabilization Act (“ESA”),

formerly 12 U.S.C. § 1904 note.

D. The District Court’s Decisi

On January 21, 1999, the district court issued a decision in

each docket. In MDL 378 the court addressed only the States’

claims of violation of the FSA. It held that “OHA’s dismissal of

the remedial order against Chevron was a part of DOE’s

prosecutorial function and as such, was unreviewable.” App C-12.

In its decision in the separate docket, the District Court adopted the

MDL 378 decision dismissing the FSA claim, and dismissed the

States’ claims not based on the FSA for lack of standing, and

alternatively, for improper venue.

The district court’s dispositive ruling that OHA’s decision was

unreviewable prosecutorial discretion relied solely and entirely on

upon a particular passage on page 1481 of Consolidated Edison v.

Q’Leary, 131 F.3d 1475 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“Con Ed”). That case

involved a challenge to the same OHA decision involved here, but

6

by private plaintiffs who were not parties to the FSA and who thus

could not and did not raise any alleged violations of that

Agreement. In affirming the dismissal of their complaint for lack

of standing, the Federal Circuit, based on the legislative history and

terms of Seetion 503 of the DOE Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7193, had

concluded that:

the exercise of enforcement discretion ends, and the

adjudication of the alleged violation begins, after the

Office of Hearings and Appeals issues the Department’s

remedial order, not after the Economic Regulatory

Administration issues its proposed remedial order. . . .

[T]he task of reviewing the remedial order was

commutted to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

.... Congress [in the DOE Act] contemplated that those

procedures leading up to the issuance of the remedial

order would all be part of the “prosecutorial” function of

the Secretary of Energy. [131 F.3d at 1481.]

This passage was cited and quoted from by the district court

here as the basis of its unreviewability ruling. App C-12.

Despite its conclusion that it was statutorily barred from

reviewing the challenged OHA decision, the district court

nevertheless proceeded to address the States’ claims and DOE’s

and Chevron’s defenses on the merits. It rejected the claims and

accepted the defenses based upon its analysis of the OHA decision

and of certain provisions of the FSA, including Section IV(a)(2),

which stated that the Agreement did not “limit or render reviewable

the exercise of DOE’s prosecutorial discretion . . . with regard to

any enforcement matter.”"°

E. The States’ Appeals

The States timely appealed both district court decisions to the

Tenth Circuit. The States also filed “protective” notices of appeal

'° FSA IV.A.2, 99-3065 App 154, quoted in the district court opinion at

App C-12-13.

7

to the Federal Circuit. The States then moved to stay the protective

appeals pending final dispositive action by the Tenth Circuit, stating

that they had no Federal Circuit issues to raise unless and until

Tenth Circuit action left issues to be determined by the Federal

Circuit, and that a stay while the main action proceeded was the

routine practice with regard to protective appeals in the price

control field.'' DOE and Chevron opposed the stay motions.

In the Tenth Circuit, DOE and Chevron moved for summary

dismissal, claiming that exclusive jurisdiction lay in the Federal

Circuit. The States responded that under the “issue jurisdiction”

which the Federal Circuit had inherited from the Temporary

Emergency Court of Appeals (“TECA”), App A-8, it was the

issues actually raised on appeal, and not the issues involved in the

proceeding below, which determined appellate jurisdiction. The

States explained that the primary issue in their appeal was the

district court’s ruling, based on the DOE Act, that OHA’s decision

was not adjudicatory, but was an exercise of prosecutorial

discretion, and thus wholly unreviewable. Since the DOE Act is

undisputedly mot among the statutes assigned to the Federal

Circuit, the States argued, the appeal was clearly within the

jurisdiction of the Tenth Circuit.

On June 30, 1999, after briefing on the jurisdictional motions,

the Tenth Circuit “reserve[d] judgment” on the motions to dismiss,

referred the junsdictional issue to the merits panel, set the due date

for the States’ merits briefs as August 9, 1999, and stated its

intention to hear oral argument on the appeals in November 1999.

Subsequently, on July 22, 1999, a Federal Circuit panel issued a

'! “Protective appeals” in this field have a long history recognized by the

courts of appeals. See, e.g., Coastal States Marketing v. New England

604 F.2d 179, 186 n.9 (2d Cir. 1979); RJG Cab. Inc. v.

Hodel, 797 F.2d 111, 117 (3rd Cir. 1986). This practice has continued since

the Peay re was re Ni aca esa See, e.g., Phoenix

ission, 95 F.3d 1555,

1558-59 Fed. Cir. 1996). Suneaea tendiistn eaatindiy aged dieiiliog

completion of the primary appeal. £.g., Coastal States, 604 F.2d at 186 n.9.

8

non-precedential order, without explanation, denying the States’

motions to stay the protective appeais, and setting the due date for

the States’ initial briefs as August 12, 1999, three days after the

due date for their merits briefs in the Tenth Circuit.

F. Dismissal of the } is in the Federal Circui

On August 11, 1999, prior to the due date for their bnefs and

prior to any designation of issues, briefing, or rulings on any merits

or jurisdictional issues in the Federal Circuit, the States, in order to

avoid having both sets of appeals go forward on the merits

simultaneously, moved for voluntarily dismissal of their protective

appeals in the Federal Circuit. DOE and Chevron opposed this

motion, and Chevron also separately moved to dismiss the Federal

Circuit appeals with prejudice due to failure to file briefs.

The Federal Circuit issued a non-precedential order ruling on

the States’ and Chevron’s motions on August 31, 1999. Paragraph

(1) of the ordering language stated that “absent objection by

Alabama within 10 days,” the court would “grant Alabama’s

motion to withdraw its appeals and dismiss them with prejudice.”

The Federal Circuit also denied “Chevron’s motion to dismiss ...

due to Alabama’s failure to file briefs.”’* In its introductory

language prior to the ordering paragraphs, the Federal Circuit’s

non-precedential order commented that:

[a]s Chevron and DOE point out, if a dismissal is entered

without prejudice, Alabama could, in the event of an

adverse ruling by the 10th Circuit, seek to resurrect its

appeal here by way of transfer. That would be an

impermissible result, given our prior rulings’ and the fact

12 Pursuant to Fed. Cir. Rule 31(c), te States’ motion to voluntarily,

withdraw their appeals suspended the time for filing the briefs, and thus the

States’ briefs had not become due at the time of the dismissal of the appeals.

'3 The only “prior rulings” by the Federal Circuit were unexplained non-

precedential orders relating to the States’ stay and extension motions.

9

that appeal no. 99-1327 is proceeding in this court.'*

The States’ acceded to the court’s ordering language, ut

reserved all objections to the remainder of the August 31

issuance.'* On September 13, 1999 the Federal Circuit entered a

non-precedential order which did not reiterate its prior discussion

or question the States’ reservation of nghts. It stated only:

“Pursuant to the court order of August 31, 1999, appeal #99-1328

is dismissed with prejudice. Each party shall bear its own costs.”’®

G. TI Origi IT i Ci it D aoe t

On November 5, 1999, after full briefing on both jurisdiction

and merits, but before the scheduled argument, the Tenth Circuit

issued a non-precedential opinion granting Appellees’ motions to

dismiss the appeals, and holding that the Federal Circuit had

exclusive appellate jurisdiction, because the district court had

addressed and decided Federal Circuit issues. App B-10-11. The

court disclaimed jurisdiction, based on “the reasoning... [the

district court] offered in support of its decision”: “interpretation of

the FSA was integral to its decisionmaking process” as to whether

“substantive nghts under the FSA” were violated, App B-10, and

whether the FSA itself precluded review of the OHA decision.

App B-11.

4 No. 99-1327 was an appeal of a separate case brought by other states

and territories (“the Jurisdictions”), also as a Motion to Enforce the FSA in

MDL 378. That motion did not challenge the OHA decision at issue in the

States’ motion, but claimed that Chevron had received its funds under the FSA

by fraud. The District Court heard both matters together, and dismissed the

Jurisdictions’ claims in a separate portion of the decision which denied the

States’ Motion to Enforce. 99-1327 did not raise any DOE Act issues.

'S The States, on September 1, 1999, stated that “[w]ithout forgoing any

other rights or objections they may have in these or any other proceedings, the

States have no objection to the entry forthwith of an order in the form specified

in paragraph ‘(1)’ of the August 31 order.”

'6 The same day, an order to the same effect was entered with regard to

No. 99-1356, the appeal of the separate complaint.

10

The States filed a timely Petition for Rehearing En Banc, and

in the Alternative, for Panel Rehearing, asserting that the panel

decision was contrary to this Court’s decision in Steel Co. v.

Citizens for a Better Environment, 523 U.S. 83 (1998), and the

Tenth Circuit decision in Gold v. Local 7 United Food and

Commercial Workers Union, 159 F.3d 1307 (10th Cir. 1997).

The Petition argued that under these cases, the District Court’s

DOE Act determination that it lacked authority to hear the case

nullified discussion of any merits issues, and the court of appeals

was thus barred from considering those merits discussions in

assessing appellate junsdiction. The States also filed a conditional

motion pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1631, requesting transfer to the

Federal Circuit if the Tenth Circuit adhered to its position that the

Federal Circuit had exclusive jurisdiction.

H The/ led Tenth Circuit Decisi

On March 6, 2000, the Tenth Circuit panel issued an order

purportedly denying the petition for rehearing,- but also

withdrawing and substantially and substantively amending the

original opinion (“to clarify certain issues”), and re-issuing it as a

published opinion. App A. The amended opinion acknowledged,

as the States had urged, that under Steel, “the district court need

only have announced that it lacked jurisdiction over the matter and

dismissed the case. ... As such, we must consider the remainder

of the district court’s decision dicta.” App A-12. The new opinion

therefore eliminated the prior opinion’s explicit reliance on the

district court’s merits discussions as implicating the Federal

Circuit’s exclusive jurisdiction. However, referring to the States’

“claims” in the district court, App A-4, A-7, the Tenth Circuit still

found “exclusive jurisdiction over these claims” in the Federal

Circuit, App A-4, 7-8, because “only where these [Federal Circuit]

Statutes and their regulations are mere background will this court

exercise jurisdiction.” App A-9. It saw the case as an “FSA

dispute,” over which “appellate jurisdiction . . . is exclusively

vested in the Federal Circuit.” App. A-10. It speculated that if it

took the case it would have to face Federal Circuit issues not raised

1]

by the appellants because parts of the Con Ed standing decision

(other than the portion relied on by the District Court here) had

addressed such issues, and because a provision of the FSA

preserved “DOE'’s prosecutorial discretion,” and also because, it

claimed, Chevron had raised a defense implicating the FSA. App

A-12-13.

Finally, the amended decision denied the States’ conditional

motion for a § 1631 transfer to the Federal.Circuit. The Tenth

Circuit ruled that transfer would not be “in the interest of justice,”

because of what it viewed as the Federal Circuit’s “unequivocal

declaration . . . that it intended to finally dispose of the States’

appeals,” and “the States’ ample opportunity to pursue these cases

in the proper forum.” App A-17-18. The court did not address the

States’ argument that the protective appeals to the Federal Circuit

were withdrawn to avoid duplicative litigation of the merits of their

appeals at a time when the Tenth Circuit had ordered full briefing

and argument of the case on its merits.

It is this amended and reissued decision by the Tenth Circuit,

leaving the States without any forum to hear the merits of their

appeal, which is the basis for this Petition.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

INTRODUCTION: BEYOND THE STRONG RULE 10 REASONS,

REVIEW IS MERITED BECAUSE, BY DENYING BOTH

JURISDICTION AND TRANSFER, THE TENTH CIRCUIT LEFT No

FORUM FOR AN IMPORTANT CASE BY PUBLIC release

SEEKING TO VINDICATE PUBLIC RIGHTS.

Fourteen states, on behalf of all the states and their oil

consuming citizens, have asked a federal court to enforce a massive

settlement agreement among the states, the federal government, the

oil industry, and most of the nation’s largest oil consumers. If the

States’ case succeeds, and the underlying enforcement case is

ultimately won by DOE, the states as a group would receive some

$240 million in restitution for their energy conservation and

assistance programs, federal — would receive $240 million

12

through the U.S. Treasury, and individual oil users claiming injury

would share some $120 million. The District Court dismissed the

case as involving unreviewable prosecutorial discretion, based on

its interpretation of the 1977 DOE Acct, a statute indisputably within

the Tenth Circuit’s appellate authority and outside the Federal

Circuit’s exclusive junsdiction. The States asked the Tenth Circuit

to review that DOE Act ruling. The Tenth Circuit ruled that it

could not do so because the case in the district court made claims

under a different statute, and appeals involving that statute are

within the Federal Circuit’s exclusive jurisdiction. But, as noted

below, in 1984, faced with the same jurisdictional objections, the

D.C. Circuit, in a case later endorsed by the Federal Circuit, had no

problem separating out and deciding (by confirming that OHA is

an adjudicator) the same statutory issue raised by the States here.

Unless this Court intervenes, the merits of this appeal by

public officials in the public interest will never be heard anywhere.

For the Tenth Circuit also ruled that the States’ voluntary

withdrawal of a protective appeal in the Federal Circuit, to avoid

duplicative proceedings at a time when the Tenth Circuit had

ordered the case heard on the merits and when issue had not been

joined in the Federal Circuit, precluded transfer to the latter court.

The Tenth Circuit has conceded that its first decision in this

case was wrong because its reliance on merits discussions below

transgressed this Court’s rule in Steel. That concession should

have removed the perceived bar to Tenth Circuit jurisdiction, but

the court retreated to a general assertion that because the

underlying dispute involved a Federal Circuit statute, 1t should cede

junisdiction to that court, a basis which ignores this Court’s warning

in Bray v. United States that specialized jurisdiction should be

construed narrowly, and twenty-five years of decisions in other

circuits applying “issue jurisdiction” as the relevant standard.

Moreover, even assuming there were concurrent jurisdiction in the

two circuits, the Tenth Circuit decision to abstain in favor of the

Federal Circuit, when that court cannot hear the case, directly

conflicts with this Court’s clear declaration in Colorado River that

13

the critical element in federal-federal abstention is the threat of

duplicative proceedings, and with this Court’s repeated rulings in

other abstention contexts that a sine qua non for any abstention is

the availability of an adequate alternative forum for the case. Here,

of course, there is neither such a threat nor, because the Tenth

Circuit will not transfer the case, such an alternative forum.

With all due respect to the court of appeals, a large public case

for public benefit should not be treated so cavalierly. The States

deserved a straightforward decision on the appeal actually brought,

based on an issue clearly within the court’s jurisdiction. The D.C.

Circuit did so long ago in the same circumstances, without any

subsequent serious claim that it was usurping another court’s

jurisdiction. Had the Tenth Circuit decided the issue, there could

have been no serious jurisdictional challenge. Instead, the court has

taken a course which subjects it to serious challenge on three

different grounds: 1) its violation of the well-established rules of

appellate “issue jurisdiction” applicable here, 2) even giving it the

benefit of the doubt by assuming there is concurrent jurisdiction, its

total disregard for basic standards for abstention, and 3) its total

frustration of the intent of the transfer statute. If only to discourage

such squandering of judicial resources’’ and judicial credibility and

to promote orderly judicial management, this Court should grant

certiorari and give the States a chance to have their appeal heard.

I. DECISIONS ON ALLOCATION OF JURISDICTION AMONG FEDERAL

COURTS PRESENT IMPORTANT ISSUES OF JUDICIAL MANAGEMENT,

FAIRNESS AND PREDICTABILITY WHICH THIS COURT SHOULD

ADDRESS IN THE CONTEXT OF THE SERIOUS DEPARTURE HERE

FROM THE ACCEPTED AND USUAL COURSE OF JUDICIAL

PROCEEDINGS.

It is important to the efficient operations of the federal judicial

system that courts follow, and appellants can rely on, a consistent

'7 It was estimated that jurisdictional disputes occupied a third of the

decided cases in this field. Texaco v. DOE, 616 F.2d 1193, 1199 (TECA

1979) (Hoffman, J., dissenting).

14

interpretation of jurisdictional assignments so that cases are initially

taken to the proper forum as often as possible, and so that the

expenditure of litigants’ and judicial resources on jurisdictional

disputes is minimized. Issues of divided jurisdiction arise with

increasing frequency as Congress establishes more specialized

courts, and assigns special tasks to existing courts. See, e.g.,

Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 529 (1999) (discussing U.S. Court

of Appeals for Armed Forces jurisdiction).'* This Court should

grant certiorari to assure consistency in the approach to divided

junsdiction, to prevent erosion of the general appellate jurisdiction

of the regional circuits, and to assure that the federal court system

in general, and this Court in particular, is not burdened with

unnecessary jurisdictional disputes in cases that can and should be

decided by the courts which first receive them.

Here, the Tenth Circuit created a jurisdictional morass by

conjuring up problems that a straightforward approach would have

avoided. It ignored the rulings of this Court and the longstanding

practices of the other circuits; it abdicated its own broad

junsdiction without any statutory basis for doing so; it created an

avoidable jurisdictional conundrum which only this Court can

remedy; it left undecided a legal issue within its jurisdiction on

which two other circuits have split; and it left the States with no

forum for their appeal. This Court’s intervention to provide clear

procedural guidance for this and similar cases would prevent this

kind of unnecessary jurisdictional improvisation that harms both

litigants and the entire judicial system.

'® Many, but not all, aspects of Federal Circuit jurisdiction are addressed

in 19 James Wm. Moore et al., Moore’s Federal Practice, § 208 (Matthew

Bender 3d ed. 2000). Other issues of divided jurisdiction arise regarding, for

example, the Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, see, 10 U.S.C. § 867, the

Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, see, 38 U.S.C. § 7252 (2000), the

United States Tax Court, see, 26 U.S.C. §§ 7441, 7442, and the United States

Court of International Trade, see, 28 U.S.C. §§ 251, et seq., and with respect

to challenges to actions of, for example, the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission, see, 16 U.S.C. § 825/(b), and the Environmental Protection

Agency, 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b) (2000); 42 U.S.C. § 7607(1).

is

Federal courts do not create their own jurisdictional

boundaries: Congress has “‘the sole power of creating the tribunals

(inferior to the Supreme Court) . . . and of investing them with

jurisdiction either limited, concurrent, or exclusive, and of

withholding jurisdiction from them in the exact degrees and

character which to Congress may seem proper for the public

good.’”” Akenbrandt v. Richards, 504 U.S. 689, 698 (1992)

(citations omitted). The basic statutory jurisdictional assignments

to the circuit courts are simple: Congress assigned general

jurisdiction over “appeals from all final decisions of the district

courts” to the courts of appeals “other than the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.” 28 U.S.C. § 1291. “The

jurisdiction of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit shall be limited to the jurisdiction described in sections

1292(c) and (d) and 1295 of this title.” Jd.

General grants of jurisdiction, which cover all subjects unless

specified otherwise, differ from specialized grants, which are

strictly limited to the specified subjects or statutes. Bowen v.

Massachusetts, 487 U.S. 879, 908, n. 46 (1988) (citation omitted)

(statute conferring general jurisdiction on district courts is

interpreted broadly, while Statute conferring limited subject matter

jurisdiction must be given a “narrow interpretation’” and “‘strictly

construed’”). The specialized Federal Circuit jurisdiction at issue

here, 28 U.S.C.§ 1295(aX(11) and (12), was inherited from TECA.

App A-8. This Court ruled 25 years ago that the grant to TECA

“carved out a limited exception to the broad jurisdiction of the

courts of appeals over ‘appeals from all final decisions of the

district courts of the United States.”” Bray v. United States, 423

U.S. 73, 74 (1975) (citation omitted). This Court, id. at 75, also

approved TECA’s prior narrow interpretation of its jurisdiction in

United States v. Cooper, 482 F.2d 1393, 1398 (TECA

1973)(“loose construction [of TECA jurisdiction] is unacceptable

in light of the traditional rule that courts of special jurisdiction

should strictly construe their statutory grants of jurisdiction”).

The courts of appeals, including TECA and the Federal

16

Circuit, as well as Congress, recognize that the grant of limited

jurisdiction to TECA was “issue” jurisdiction, i.e., determined as

to each issue actually raised on appeal, as opposed to “case”

junsdiction, determined by the presence of the assigned subject in

the underlying case and extending to the entire case, including

issues falling outside of the subjects assigned to the special court.

For example, Federal Circuit patent jurisdiction covers all issues in

a case brought at least in part under the patent statute, because the

Statutory language applies to “‘cases’ in which the district court’s

jurisdiction ‘was based, in whole or in part, on Section 1338.’”

Atari, Inc. v. JS& A Group, Inc., 747 F.2d 1422, 1430 (Fed. Cir.

1984) (en banc)(emph. in onginal). That “case” jurisdiction

contrasts with the “issue jurisdiction” the Federal Circuit inherited

from TECA, because “[tJhe clause ‘in whole or in part’ is absent

from the TECA authorization.” Texas American Oil Corp. v.

DOE, 44 F.3d 1557, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (en banc).

Thus the uniform view of courts of appeals until this case has

been that in this type of assignment, “[t]o decide whether or not we

have jurisdiction to hear an appeal, we look at the nature of the

issue presented to us and not to the nature of the case or

controversy below.” MGPC, Inc. v. DOE, 673 F.2d 1277, 1281

(TECA 1982). The court must “conduct a jurisdictional inquiry

into each claim raised . . . on appeal.” United States v. Wyatt, 680

F.2d 1080, 1085 n.7 (Sth Cir. 1982). This Congressional direction

is SO strong that the courts of appeals have not hesitated to bifurcate

cases when necessary to have the proper issues decided in the

proper court. See, e.g., Coastal States Marketing. Inc. v. New

England Petroleum, 604 F.2d 179, 185 (2d Cir. 1979) (TECA’s

issue jurisdiction has resulted in “the development of a system of

bifurcated appeals from unitary judgments”); see also, Scallop

Corp. v. Tully, 705 F.2d 645, 650 (2d Cir. 1983). This clear

dichotomy between patent-type appellate jurisdiction and that under

the price control statutes was evident to members of this Court and

17

to Congress,’® which reassigned the TECA authority to the Federal

Circuit without altering this feature.

In this case, the Tenth Circuit had clear precedent for

accepting jurisdiction over the issue raised by the States, an issue

outside the Federal Circuit’s limited assignment. In ARCO, the

D.C. Circuit had also been asked to determine whether the DOE

Act permitted DOE to delegate adjudicatory authority to the Office

of Hearings and Appeals, or restricted OHA to a prosecutorial role,

the precise question raised in this case. That appeal also raised

other issues within TECA’s jurisdiction, but the D.C. Circuit ruled

that it was required to address the DOE Acct issue, and to leave the

other issues to TECA (where a protective appeal had been stayed).

The D.C. Circuit had no problem separating and deciding the DOE

Act issue.” Moreover, the Federal Circuit later endorsed ARCO’s

jurisdictional holding. Phoenix Petroleum, 95 F.3d at 1564-65.

(Fed. Cir. 1996).

Thus, the Tenth Circuit had before it an appeal (a) within its

general appellate authority, and outside the specific authority of the

Federal Circuit, (b) in a field where this Court had instructed that

'? Christianson v. Colt Industries, 486 U.S. 800, 820, n. 1 (1988)

(Stevens, J., joined by Blackmun, J., concurring) (TECA “has jurisdiction over

issues not claims”) (emph. in original), citing H.R. Rep. No. 97-312, 97th

Cong., Ist Sess. 41 (1981), in turn citing Coastal States Marketing, Inc.

- Reviewing the same statutory history and terms of the DOE Act as

control here, ARCO concluded, as DOE urged, that although the Act provided

for FERC review of remedial orders, it did not preclude a further level of

adjudication within DOE, or limit DOE to investigatory and prosecutorial

functions. 769 F.2d at 785-791. Thus DOE could, through OHA, provide a

“two-tiered adjudication.” 769 F.2d at 796. In Texaco, TECA itself declined

jurisdiction over the reviewability under the DOE Acct (in that case, by FERC)

of an OHA order involving the statutes assigned to TECA. The court rejected

the argument that “because . . . [the DOE Act] issue is part of a larger ‘case or

controversy” arising under the Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act (EPAA),”

it had jurisdiction. 616 F.2d at 1195. Rather, because “[j]urisdiction is to be

strictly construed,” the DOE Act issue fell within the general jurisdiction of the

regional circuits. 616 F.2d at 1198.

18

the specialized jurisdiction was to be construed narrowly, (c) where

numerous appellate decisions, recognized by Congress and

members of this Court, established that the focus is on “issues not

claims,” n.19, supra, (d) where bifurcation of cases was

customary, (e) where a regional circuit had long ago exercised

jurisdiction on the precisely the same issue, with the subsequent

endorsement of the specialized court, and (f) under circumstances

in which no regional circuit had ever declined jurisdiction.”'_ In this

Situation, a strong presumption should have attached that

junsdiction lay in the Tenth Circuit. What could overcome that

presumption? Certainly it could not be Congress’ desire to have

the specialized court decide DOE Act issues: Congress had simply

not chosen to add this subject to TECA’s authority when it wrote

the DOE Act in 1977. In fact, if this case were transferred to the

Federal Circuit, its own precedents would require it to look to

Tenth Circuit law in deciding the DOE Act issue,” the very law

which the Tenth Circuit has declined to declare. Certainly, the

Tenth Circuit was not looking for the other court’s guidance: it had

no intention to transfer the case to that court. The Tenth Circuit’s

reliance on the nature of the underlying case (FSA issues more than

“mere background”), was clearly inconsistent with the nature of its

“issue” jurisdiction. The court’s speculative (and on its face

unjustified) apprehension that other Federal Circuit issues might

anise if it took the case -- issues not raised by appellants (and, even

if discussed by the district court, nullified by Steel)-- could not be

a sufficient basis for abdicating clearly available issue jurisdiction,

*! The other Tenth Circuit cases relied upon by the court here, Mobil Oil

Corp. v. DOE, 983 F.2d 172 (10th Cir. 1992) and Mountain Fuel Supply Co.

v. Johnson, 586 F.2d 1375 (10th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 952

(1979), involved appeals in which the specialized court issues were central to

the district court decisions and essential to resolution of the appeals. See App.

A-8-9.

22 See, Consumers Power Co, v. DOE, 894 F.2d 1571, 1579 (TECA

1990). In Texas American, 44 F.3d at 1561, the Federal Circuit adopted

TECA precedent on both substantive and jurisdictional matters in cases that

reach the Federal Circuit as successor to TECA. .

19

especially when remand or bifurcation were fully available in the

event such issues did arise.”

A court “may not in any case, even in the interest of justice,

extend its jurisdiction where none exists.” Christianson v. Colt

Industnes, 486 U.S. at 818. But it is not required to, and should

not, search for new rationales -- not mandated by Congress and

inconsistent with the precedents -- to restrict its jurisdiction. If

federal courts improvise rules for allocating jurisdiction, the

credibility, efficiency, and predictability of the judicial system will

be at risk. The goal should be, as this Court has noted in another

junsdictional context, a simple rule “‘that will not invite extensive

threshold litigation over jurisdiction” because ““‘litigation over

whether the case is in the right court is essentially a waste of time

and resources.” Navarro Savings Ass'n v. Lee, 446 U.S. 458, 464

n.13 (1980) (citations omitted).

Here, the result is more than “exasperating for the litigants

(and wasteful for all concerned).” Christianson, , 486 U.S. at 818.

The litigants here lost even the chance for the “jurisdictional ping

pong” this Court decried in Christianson. Since appellants cannot

proceed in the other forum, the States’ case will be set adrift in a

Bermuda triangle from which there is no return. The Tenth

Circuit’s departure from the normal course of judicial proceedings

and the need for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory power to

assure the integrity, efficiency and fairness of the federal court

system are manifest. Only the grant of this petition can provide a

remedy that wiil resolve this case fairly and also provide general

guidance to avoid future such departures from logic and justice.

Plainly, the only such issues it listed, App A-12-14; pp.10-11, supra,

were not present. The district court’s reviewability decision relied on none of

the non-DOE Act holdings in Con Ed, see pp.5-6, supra; on its face, the

FSA’s reference to prosecutorial discretion (if reachable at all under Steel) did

not purport to alter the status quo, see p. 6, supra, and the purported FSA

defense was in fact a DOE Act defense. See App A-13, citing Chevron’s 99-

3065 Brief at 35.

20

II. THE CHALLENGED DECISION DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH THIS

COURT’S BASIC ABSTENTION RULES: EVEN IF THE TENTH CIRCUIT

HAD SOME DISCRETION TO DEFER TO ANOTHER FEDERAL COURT,

SUCH ABSTENTION IS NOT APPROPRIATE WHERE THERE IS No

THREAT OF DUPLICATIVE PROCEEDINGS AND WHERE THE OTHER

COURT CANNOT PROVIDE AN ADEQUATE ALTERNATIVE FORUM.

Respondents will surely invoke, as they did below, TECA and

Federal Circuit decisions holding that, presented with an appeal

within its junsdiction, the specialized court could assert jurisdiction

over “subsidiary” or other issues required to be considered “‘in the

course of deciding the issue before the court.” Phoenix Petroleum

Co. v. FERC, 95 F.3d at 1563. Even assuming these decisions can

be reconciled with this Court’s decisions barring judicial extensions

of jurisdiction, see pp. 15, 19, supra, they do not require or even

authorize the abdication of jurisdiction by the Tenth Circuit here.

The fact that the Federal Circuit, in a case properly before it

because the central issues on appeal are Federal Circuit issues,

might also decide an ancillary issue outside its exclusive

junsdiction does not mean that the Tenth Circuit, presented with an

appeal centered on that non-exclusive issue, is required, or even

allowed, not to decide that issue. Nothing in §1291, § 1295, or this

Court’s relevant decisions or in any other regional circuit’s

decisions suggests such a rule.

On the contrary, even if its action is deemed to be a case of

discretionary abstention in favor of a court with concurrent

junsdiction, the Tenth Circuit would have, in the words of Rule 10,

decided an important federal question either in a way that conflicts

with relevant decisions of this Court, or that has not been, but

should be settled by this Court. In the field of abstention, this Court

has spoken frequently and in detail and has given certain bnght-line

answers with which the Tenth Circuit’s decision clearly and

directly conflicts. The Court should therefore grant the Writ in

order to cure that conflict and to provide supervisory guidance to

the appellate courts so that they do not begin down a new, perilous,

and impermissible path of abstention from their Congressionally-

21

granted jurisdiction.

In dealing with abstention, this Court begins with the

proposition that “the normal principle [is] that federal courts should

adjudicate claims within their jurisdiction. . . .” Wilton v. Seven

Falls Co,, 515 U.S. 277, 288 (1995). They have a “virtually

eaingyny Congueen . . to exercise the jurisdiction ~ eastggenl

U. S. 800, 817 (1976) (Opinion of Court) and at 821 (Stewart, Be

dissenting but agreeing on this point). While that case and most

abstention cases deal with various forms of federal-state abstention

based on principles of federalism and avoidance of unnecessary

federal constitutional interpretation (see generally, 17 Moore’s

Federal Practice, supra, at § 122) the basic “unflagging obligation”

principle has also been applied to federal-foreign abstention, e.g. ,

Tumer Entertainment Co. v, Degeto Film, 25 F.3d 1512 (11th Cir.

1994), and generally to all federal cases. See, e.g, Ohio v.

Wyandotte Chemicals Corp., 401 U.S. 493, 496-97 (1971) (“it is

a time honored maxim of the Anglo-American common-law

tradition that a court possessed of jurisdiction generally must

exercise it. Cohens y. Virginia, 6 Wheat. 264, 404, 5 L.Ed. 257,

291 (1821)”).

As it has expanded its abstention rules to new needs of “wise

judicial administration,” this Court has listed factors to be applied:

“No one factor is necessarily determinative; a carefully considered

judgment taking into account both the obligation to exercise

jurisdiction and the combination of factors counseling against that

exercise is required... . Only the clearest of justifications will

warrant dismissal.” Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 818-19.

In this Court’s most specific discussion of federal-federal

deference, in Colorado River, the Court stated that

there are principles unrelated to considerations of proper

constitutional adjudication and regard for federal-state

relations which govern in situations involving the

contemporaneous exercise of concurrent jurisdictions,

22

either by federal courts or by state and federal courts.

These principles rest on considerations of “[w]ise judicial

administration giving regard to conservation of judicial

resources and comprehensive disposition of litigation.” .

. . [citations omitted] .... As between federal district

courts, however, though no precise rule has evolved, the

general principle is to avoid duplicative litigation.

[424 U.S. at 817 (emph. added)]

Since there is no difference between district courts and circuit

courts for these purposes, the first question in a federal-federal

deference context must be: is abstention necessary to avoid

duplicative proceedings? Here the answer is clearly no. No other

proceeding is pending or even possible. Since the protective

appeals in the Federal Circuit were dismissed “with prejudice”

(presumably meaning “with prejudice to reinstatement,” see, Fed.

Cir. Rule 27(h)(1)), and the time for filing a new appeal has

expired, no action at all is possible in that court, let alone a

duplicative action. Only if the Tenth Circuit transfers all or part of

the case to the Federal Circuit can there be any case there, and the

Tenth Circuit will not do so. Thus the threshold test of this Court’s

“general principle” is not met.

But there is more. In every variation of its abstention rules,

both federal-state and federal-foreign, a central factor applied by

this Court and uniformly by the courts of appeals “counseling

against’ abstention is the fact that the alternative forum to which a

federal court might defer is “in some respect inadequate to resolve”

the matters at issue. See, e.g., Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 820;

Deakins v. Monaghan, 484 U.S. 193, 204-05 (1988) (the district

court has no discretion to dismiss rather than to stay claims that

cannot be redressed in the alternative state proceeding); Moses H.

Cone Mem’] Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 28

(1983) (in order to abstain from jurisdiction, a federal court must

determine whether the “parallel state-court litigation will be an

adequate vehicle for the complete and prompt resolution of the

issues between the parties... . If there is any substantial doubt as

23

to this, it would be a serious abuse of discretion to grant the stay

or dismissal at all.”) (emph. supplied); see generally, 17 Moore’s

Federal Practice, supra, § 122.

The importance of an adequate alternative forum to deal with

the litigant’s claims is almost definitional: a key element of a

court’s decision whether to defer to another court with concurrent

jurisdiction must be whether the court deferred to can and will

exercise the jurisdiction being ceded to it. See, e.g., Arizona v. San

Carlos Apache Tbe, 463 U.S. 545, 559-60 (1983). The present

case presents a clear and compelling opportunity for this court to

clarify and explicitly apply its generic abstention rules to federal-

federal abstention, so as to serve both the interests of wise judicial

admunistration and fairness to litigants. The Tenth Circuit’s failure

to consider any relevant abstention factors,” and the resulting total

extinguishment of a claim by sovereign states for public benefit

because the Tenth Circuit declined to exercise its available

jurisdiction and deferred to a court with no ability to take the case,

commends the case for this Court’s review.

Ill. THIS COURT SHOULD EXERCISE SUPERVISORY POWER TO

PREVENT THE TRANSFER STATUTE -- INTENDED TO INSURE A

PROPER FORUM FOR LITIGANTS WHO FIND THEMSELVES IN THE

WRONG COURT AND TO AVOID THE NEED TO PROCEED IN TWO

COURTS AT ONCE -- FROM BEING TURNED ON ITS HEAD SO AS TO

DENY ANY FORUM BECAUSE A LITIGANT CHOSE NOT TO PROCEED

IN TWO COURTS AT ONCE. .

The Transfer Statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1631, provides that when

a federal court finds want of jurisdiction, “the court shall, if it is in

the interest of justice, transfer such action or appeal to any other

court in which the action or appeal could have been brought at the

* Besides the inadequate alternative forum, other factors counsel against

abstention here: the case was, in good faith, filed first in the Tenth Circuit, and

had been fully briefed and was ready for argument in that court, whereas only

the filmg (and withdrawal) of the protective appeals had occurred in the

alternative forum. See, e.g., Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 21-2.

24

time it was filed.” The intent of Congress in §1631, with TECA

explicitly in mind, was to preserve causes of action, without the

necessity of proceeding in two courts at once, by providing a

proper forum when, because of uncertainty as to jurisdiction as

between courts, a litigant finds itself in the wrong forum. See,

S.Rep. No. 275, 97th Cong. Ist Sess. 11 (1981), reprinted in, 1982

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News at 21.

Here, although the Tenth Circuit thought the basic conditions

of §1631 were met, it applied the “interest of justice” standard to

refuse transfer solely because the States, in order to avoid going

forward on the merits in two courts at once, withdrew protective

appeals to the Federal Circuit before issue was joined in that court.

Plainly this result directly contradicts congressional intent in §

1631. “Normally transfer [under § 1631] will be in the interest of

justice because normally dismissal of an action that could be

brought elsewhere is ‘time consuming and justice-defeating.’”

Miller v. Hambrick, 905 F.2d 259, 262 (9th Cir. 1990), citing,

Goldlawr, Inc. v. Heiman, 369 U.S. 463, 467 (1962). The

“interest of justice” standard is satisfied where suit was filed in

good faith in what was later ruled to be the “wrong” forum, and a

new appeal to the court with jurisdiction would be time-barred.

See, e.g., Coleman v. United States, 106 F.3d 339, 341 (10th Cir.

1997).

Nothing in the text of §1631, its legislative history, or its

judicial interpretation indicates that the withdrawal of a protective

notice of appeal in another court, in order to avoid duplicative

litigation on the merits of the case, removes the protections

Congress intended for litigants who find themselves in the wrong

forum. On the contrary, the States’ action comported with

Congress’ intent: as this Court stated with regard to the analogous

venue transfer statute, “[w]e have made quite clear that ‘[t]o permit

a situation in which two cases involving precisely the same issues

are simultaneously pending in different District Courts leads to the

wastefulness of time, energy and money that § 1404(a) was

designed to prevent.”” Ferens v. John Deere, 494 U.S. 516, 531

25

(1990), quoting Continental Grain Co. v. Barge FBL-585, 364 U.S.

19, 26 (1960). Congress enacted § 1631 so that proceeding in two

courts at the same time would no longer be “the litigant’s main

protective device.” S.Rep. No. 275, supra, at 11.7

Moreover, the denial of transfer here, based on the prospective

transferee court’s dicta in prefatory comments to a nonprecedential

proposed order granting a voluntary dismissal, is in conflict with

this Court’s decision in Christianson and with basic legal principles

applicable to claim preclusion. In Christianson, this Court made

clear that when a transferor court makes the decision on transfer,

the transferee court must treat it as the “law of the case,” to be

accepted unless “clearly erroneous.” 486 U.S. at 819. Therefore,

had the Tenth Circuit transferred the case to the Federal Circuit,

that court would have been required to accept it as long as it found

the jurisdictional findings “plausible.” Jd. The Tenth Circuit

tumed this principle on its head, by considering itself barred from

transfer based on informal comments not contained in the Federal

Circuit’s final order. The Federal Circuit never had the issue of

transfer properly before it, nor could it decide or preclude any issue

in the protective appeals, since they were withdrawn before issue

was joined. Thus, the Tenth Circuit’s statement that the Federal

Circuit intended to “finally dispose” of the States’ claims is legally

erroneous and makes no sense: this Court has made clear that “[i]f

the first suit . . . was disposed of on any ground which did not go

to the menits of the action, the judgment rendered will prove no bar

to another suit.” Costello v. United States, 365 U.S. 265, 286

> Despite this added protection, as noted above, n.11, supra, the clear

judicial mstructions in this field and consistent practice for over 20 years, pre-

and post- §1631, has been to file protective appeals. The Tenth Circuit placed

the States im a worse position than they would have been had they not followed

this standard procedure, even though the choice the States faced -- which court

to proceed in -- was the same choice protected by §1631.

26

(1961) (citation omitted). Voluntary dismissal prior to even the

designation of any issues presented for review, much less briefing

or decision of those issues, cannot be transmuted into a decision on

the merits of the States’ claims foreclosing the assertion of those

claims in a later-transferred case.’

In sum, the lower court’s unprecedented interpretation of the

“interest of justice” standard in § 1631, in flagrant violation of

Congressional intent and of judicial precedent, calls for an exercise

of this Court’s supervisory powers, especially when the dismissal

truncates without any possible forum an appeal seeking to vindicate

the public’s interest and the States’ nghts in a massive court-

approved settlement between the states and the federal government.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, this Petition for Writ of

Certiorani should be granted with respect to each of the questions

presented, and, if appropriate, the decision below dismissing the

appeals for lack of jurisdiction should be summarily reversed.

6 Moreover, the conditions which can be placed upon a voluntary

dismissal are limited to the payment of costs and other fees. Shellman v.

United States, 528 F.2d 675 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 936

(1976). No case suggests that such dismissals can be conditioned upon a

prohibition of any later transfer.

7” Obviously, since its ruling on the dismissal motion acknowledged that

the Tenth Circuit case would proceed, the Federal Circuit understood that it

was not adjudicating the merits, and it rejected Chevron’s invitation to dismiss

for failure to file briefs. The label “with prejudice” cannot change the fact that

the merits were not adjudicated, and cannot bar a future action. Baris v.

Sulpicio Lines, Inc., 74 F.3d 567, 570, 572 (Sth Cir.), aff'd en banc, 101 F.3d

367 (Sth Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1168 (1997) (dismissal designated

as “with prejudice” on forum non conveniens grounds is not a res judicata bar

because not “on the merits”). See also, Cniales v. American Airlines, Inc., 105

F.3d 93, 97, 98 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 906 (1997) (citation omitted)

(“[W]e would not permit the choice of labels to distort substance, especially

where the consequences would be so drastic as to deprive a party of the

opportunity to be heard.... ‘In properly seeking to deny a litigant two ‘days

in court,’ courts must be careful not to deprive him of one””).

27

Respectfully submitted,

James F. Flug

Counsel of Record

Paula N. Dinerstein

Duncan, Weinberg, Genzer

& Pembroke, P.C.

1615 M Street NW,Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 467-6370

Attorneys for Petitioners,

the States of Alabama,

Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana,

Maryland, Michigan,

Mississippi, Montana, Ohio,

South Dakota, Vermont,

Wisconsin, and Wyoming

June 5, 2000

Bill Lockyer,

Attorney General

Yeoryios Apallas,

Deputy Attorney General

50 Fremont St., Suite 300

San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 703-5527

Attorneys for Petitioner,

the State of California

APPENDIX

oe ee te eS i i i Be ek i i i ee 7 a a »

. shina gee 3 wigs >, ee OE RE Oe eS Nae er ee SET i ng el a a ae a

‘ . ’ ,

| »

| -

;

:

z

| “ >

r ?

oe : :

; 7

| a

.

4

5 °

| o

-

‘ ; | |

Me emt ”? 2 .

é -

;

: | ;

z ee |

f “ . « “a ;

.

. a

, ; |

ae

5 -

:

‘ ; .

~~ |

| :

—

. = . 7

j

: ' >

’ ; |

~~

| e

’ ; 3 | |

:

: e

- ‘ : |

> : 2 |

; | :

: ?

5 7

:

; : |

, |

:

; ;

. : ae :

: * . : :

ae : | |

: -

? >

‘ : |

y ;

5%

,

A-l

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

IN RE: THE DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

STRIPPER WELL LITIGATION.

THE STATES OF ALABAMA,

CALIFORNIA, CONNECTICUT, IDAHO,

INDIANA, MARYLAND, MICHIGAN,

MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, OHIO,

SOUTH DAKOTA, VERMONT,

WISCONSIN and WYOMING,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY and CHEVRON U.S.A. INC.,

Defendants-Appellees. No. 99-3065

THE STATES OF ALABAMA, No. 99-3066

CALIFORNIA, CONNECTICUT, IDAHO,

INDIANA, MARYLAND, MICHIGAN,

MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, OHIO,

SOUTH DAKOTA, VERMONT,

WISCONSIN and WYOMING,

Plaintiffs - Appellants,

v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY, Hazel O'Leary, Secretary;

OFFICE OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS,

Department of Energy, George B. Breznay,

T,

Defendants - Appellees,

and

CHEVRON, USA, INC.,

Intervenor-Defendant- Appellee.

A-2 -

DELAWARE, HAWAIL ILLINOIS, No. 99-3102

KANSAS, NEBRASKA, NEVADA,

NORTH CAROLINA, RHODE ISLAND

and WEST VIRGINIA, THE TERRITORY

OF GUAM AND THE VIRGIN ISLANDS,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY, and CHEVRON U:S.A., INC.

Defendants-Appellees.

ORDER

Filed March 6, 2000

Before EBEL, HOLLOWAY, and KELLY, Circuit Judges.

These matters are before the court on appellants’ petition for

rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en banc. Upon review, the

panel has determined rehearing is not warranted. Consequently,

the petition is denied. We have decided, however, that amendment

of our original Order and Judgment, filed on November 5, 1999, is

appropriate to clarify certain issues. We have also determined

publication is warranted. Accordingly, an amended published

opinion is attached to this order.

The mandate issued on November 5, 1999 is recalled and reissued

forthwith in accord with our amended disposition. A copy of the

rehearing petition was circulated to ali the active members of the

court. No judge having called for a poll, the en banc suggestion is

denied.

Entered for the Court

PATRICK FISHER, Clerk

by:

Elisabeth A. Shumaker

Chief Deputy Clerk

A-3

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

[SAME CAPTION AS ABOVE]

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Kansas

(D.C. Nos. 79-CV-378, 96-CV-1180-MLB, and 97-CV-378)

Submitted on the briefs:'(*)

Bill Lockyer, Attorney General, and Yeoryios Apallas, Deputy

Attorney General, San Francisco, California, for Plaintiff-Appellant

State of California.

James F. Flug and Paula Dinerstein, Duncan, Weinberg, Genzer &

Pembroke, P.C., Washington, D.C., for Plaintiffs-Appellants States

of Alabama, Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan,

Mississippi, Montana, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin

and Wyoming.

Stephen C. Skubel and Paul T. Michael, United States Department

of Energy, Washington, D.C., for Defendant-Appellee United

States Department of Energy.

Robert M. Westberg, Pillsbury, Madison & Sutro LLP, San

Francisco, California, for | Defendant-Appellee and

Intervenor-Defendant-Appellee Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

Berard Nash and Andrew P. Miller, Dickstein, Shapiro, Morin &

Oshinsky LLP Washington, D.C., for Plaintiffs-Appellants States

of Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, North

'(*) After examining the briefs and appellate record, this panel has

determined unanimously that oral argument would not materially assist the

determination of this appeal. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2); 10th Cir. R.

34.1(G). The cause therefore is ordered submitted without oral argument.

A-4

Carolina, Rhode Island and West Virginia, the Territory of Guam

and the Virgin Islands.

Before EBEL, HOLLOWAY and KELLY, Circuit Judges.

EBEL, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiffs-Appellants challenged a decision by the Department of

Energy; the District of Kansas denied their claims, and they now

seek review in this court. Defendant-Appellees have moved this

court to dismiss these appeals for lack of appellate jurisdiction, and

Appellants have opposed these motions. .We find that the Federal

Circuit has exclusive jurisdiction over these claims pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1295(a)(11)-(12), and Appellees’ motions to dismiss

cases 99-3065,

99-3102, and 99-3066 are therefore GRANTED.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs-Appellants in cases 99-3065 and 99-3066 are the states

of Alabama, California, Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana, Maryland,

Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont,

Wisconsin, and Wyoming (the "States"). Plaintiffs-Appellants in

case 99-3102 are the states of Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas,

Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Rhode Island, and West

Virginia, as well as the territories of Guam and the Virgin Islands

(the "Jurisdictions;” the States and the Jurisdictions are collectively

referred to as "Appellants"). Appellants sued Defendants-Appellees

United States Department of Energy ("DOE") and Chevron U.S.A.

Inc. ("Chevron;" DOE and Chevron are collectively referred to as

"Appellees") in connection with a settlement agreement purporting

to resolve the Stripper Well Litigation. '(1) That litigation concerned

'The present controversy between Appellants and Appellees took the form

of three separate lawsuits. First, the States filed a motion to enforce the

agreement in the District of Kansas, which was responsible for approving and

overseeing the agreement under its Multi-District Litigation 378 ("MDL 378")

A-5

the proper disbursement of over $1 billion in overcharge funds

collected by DOE pursuant to crude oil price controls imposed

under the Economic Stabilization Act of 1970 ("ESA") and the

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act of 1973 ("EPAA"). In 1986,

a multitude of interested parties, including the States and the

Junsdictions, entered into the Final Settlement Agreement ("FSA"),

which apportioned these and subsequently recovered funds among

DOE (40%), the fifty states and several territories (40%), and

reserved the remainder to settle individual claims (primarily those

of utilities and oil refineries). The FSA was approved by Judge

Theis of the District of Kansas, pursuant to that court's MDL 378

jurisdiction. Although intended to end this controversy, the FSA

has itself been the subject of extended litigation.

At the center of the present case is a decision by the Department of

Energy not to seek from Chevron some $500 million, which

Appellants maintain should then be disbursed under the FSA. In

1992, DOE's Economic Regulatory Administration ("ERA") issued

a Proposed Remedial Order ("PRO") alleging that Chevron had

improperly represented its status under the now-defunct Tertiary

Incentive Program ("TIP"),’and that it therefore must disgorge

docket. That is now case No. 99-3065 before this court. Second, the States

filed an original complaint in the same district court, docket No. 96-CV-1180,

which is now case No.

99-3066 before this court. Third, the Jurisdictions filed a separate motion to

enforce the agreement under the MDL 378 docket, advancing a different theory

than the States. That is now case No. 99-3102 before this court. All of these

cases concern the same disputed DOE decision. We consolidated cases

‘99-3065 and 99-3102, and companioned 99-3066 for oral argument. This

opinion addresses the Appellees’ Motions to Dismiss for Lack of Appellate

Jurisdiction filed in each case.

*The TIP was a DOE program designed to increase domestic oil

production and thus reduce the country’s dependence on foreign oil. Under

TIP, companies that extracted oil using more difficult and costly “tertiary”

methods were allowed to sell that oil at full market value, instead of at the

government-imposed price, in order to recoup the additional expense. Because

some refiners had greater access to price-controlled oil than others (who were

A-6

$124,989,588 it had received under the program (with interest, the

sum exceeds $500 million). Chevron challenged the PRO and the

matter was referred to DOE's Office of Hearings and Appeals

("OHA").

The OHA declined to enforce the PRO as a final Remedial Order,

finding that "the ERA has failed to establish[{] that Chevron was in

fact unjustly enriched by its participation in the TIP as alleged in

the PRO." (OHA Decision at 12-13.) As a result, none of the

Appellants received additional disbursements under the FSA. After

the OHA issued its decision in 1996, a group of private parties,

who stood to recover additional funds as individual claimants under

the FSA, directly challenged the ruling in the District of Columbia

District Court. That claim, however, was rejected by the Federal

Circuit. See Consolidated Edison v. O'Leary, 131 F.3d 1475 (Fed.

Cir. 1997) (dismissing plaintiffs’ claim because the OHA's decision

was not reviewable); cf. Consolidated Edison v. O'Leary, 117 F.3d

538 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (dismissing claims for lack of a private nght

of action and because the OHA's decision was not justiciable).

In 1996, the States and Jurisdictions brought the present actions in

the Distnct of Kansas, challenging the same OHA decision. That

court, however, dismissed all three suits. In its order denying both

the States’ and the Jurisdictions’ motions to enforce the FSA (Nos.

99-3065 & 99-3102 before this court), the district court identified

several reasons why these actions were improper. First addressing

the States' claims, it cited the Federal Circuit's recent decisions

regarding this controversy and found that "OHA's dismissal of the

forced to pay full market value), DOE also implemented the Entitlements

Program, which required that refiners with such greater access purchase

“entitlements” from other refiners. The price of the entitlements corresponded

with the difference between the market and controlled prices, the goal being

to avoid penalizing refiners buying TIP oil at full price. DOE issued an annual

Entitlements Notice, detailing which refiners were over or under their allotted

entitlements and requiring settlement of these accounts.

A-7

proposed remedial order against Chevron was a part of DOE's

prosecutorial function and as such, was unreviewable." (/d. at 13.)

Discussing the Jurisdictions’ claims, the court engaged in an

analysis of the FSA. The Jurisdictions alleged that Chevron

"fraudulently misled’ the court and the parties [to the FSA] by

misrepresenting its status as an entitlements seller under the draft

1981 Entitlements Notice [upon which the FSA distributions were

based.]" (/d. at 4.) Specifically, the Jurisdictions argued that when

Chevron claimed certain tax credits after DOE discontinued the

Entitlements Program, it automatically decertified itself as an

entitlements seller under the TIP. (See id.) The court responded,

however, that "[t]he jurisdictions assume that, in 1983; Chevron

had to elect between a windfall profit tax refund and remaining on

the entitlements list. There is nothing in the FSA requiring such an

election." (/d. at 15.) The court further found that “tax matters were

excepted from the settlement by Proviso (E) to the Refiners

_ Release,” and that "the FSA imposed no obligation on Chevron as

a settling refiner to disclose its pending windfall profit tax refund

claim.” (Jd. at 16.) Thus, its denial of the Jurisdictions’ motion

required a close inquiry into the terms of the FSA.

That same day, the district court issued a separate order dismissing

the States’ original complaint (No. 99-3066 before this court). The

court specifically incorporated its findings in the MDL order, and

dismissed the States’ FSA claims on those grounds. (See Order of

Dismissal at 2.) The States had also challenged DOE's

interpretation of the TIP regulations, DOE's legal authority to issue

or amend its regulations, and DOE's compliance with the

Administrative Procedure Act and the Department of Energy

Organization Act. The court dismissed these claims for lack of

standing or, alternatively, for lack of proper venue. (See id. at 1-4.)

The States and Jurisdictions now seek review in this court.

Appellees DOE and Chevron filed motions to dismiss for lack of

appellate junsdiction in each case, alleging that exclusive appellate

A-8

jurisdiction over these claims lies with the Federal Circuit. For the

reasons stated below, we agree.

DISCUSSION

A. Federal Circuit Jurisdiction

28 U.S.C. § 1295(a) provides that "[t]he United States Court of

Appeals forthe Federal Circuit shall have exclusive jurisdiction .

. (11) of an appeal under section 211 of the Economic

Stabilization Act of 1970; (12) of an appeal under section 5 of the

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act of 1973." Among the relevant

provisions of the ESA and the EPAA were the crude oil price

controls, which formed the basis for the controversy resolved by the

FSA. The Federal Circuit succeeded to this jurisdiction upon

abolition of the Temporary Emergency Court

of Appeals ("TECA") in 1993. See Pub. L. 102-572 § 102(d), (e)

(1992). Thus, this court cannot exercise jurisdiction over appeals

"under" these statutes.

B. Tenth Circuit Authority

The Tenth Circuit has carefully avoided encroaching on the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit and its predecessor,

TECA. In Mobil Oil Corp. v. United States Dep't of Energy, 983

F.2d 172 (10th Cir. 1992), this court found that a dispute over

moneys claimed by DOE in restitution proceedings against an oil

company involved issues arising under the ESA and EPAA and

required interpretation of the ESA and EPAA, and was therefore

subject to TECA's exclusive jurisdiction. See id. at 175-76. The

court found that the issue of liability for restitution was "intertwined

with the ESA and EPAA," and therefore could not properly be

— from TECA's domain. Jd. at 176. The court also noted

that "[a]Jnother Tenth Circuit decision recognizes TECA's

jurisdiction when interpretation of price ceilings regulations

imposed by the ESA and EPAA cause a contract dispute between

A-9

the parties.” Jd. (citing Mountain Fuel Supply Co. v. Johnson, 586

F.2d 1375 (10th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 952 (1979)).

The Tenth Circuit has never exercised jurisdiction over a disputed

issue arising under the FSA.

Appellants argue that our decision in In re Seneca Oil, 906 F.2d

1445 (10th Cir. 1990), points in favor of jurisdiction over the

present case. This argument is incorrect. In Seneca Oil, the court

held that where ESA/EPAA issues are merely a backdrop to an

wrote, "is not from an action to enforce DOE regulations or to

obtain an order of restitution; rather it is from a decision regarding

the priority of the restitution claim in bankruptcy." Jd. at 1454.

Moreover, the court was careful to note that TECA's exclusive

jurisdiction with respect to the ESA and EPAA is not to be

narrowly construed: "Thus, the phrase ‘arising under’ is interpreted

more expansively for purposes of TECA's jurisdiction than it is for

purposes of the federal question jurisdiction of the district courts.

For example, unlike federal question jurisdiction, the TECA's

jurisdiction can be created by defenses that raise ESA/EPAA

issues.” Jd. at 1454 n.i (emphasis added). In sum, only where these

Statutes and their regulations are mere background will this court

exercise jurisdiction.

The question remains, therefore, whether appeals relating to the

FSA arise under the ESA and EPAA, or whether those statutes

merely provide a backdrop for independent claims. In the absence

of Tenth Circuit precedent speaking directly to this issue, we find

it useful to seek guidance from the Federal Circuit's extensive

dealings with the FSA. As a preliminary matter, we note that the

Federal Circuit expressly held "that the TECA precedent and

practice on jurisdictional matters shall continue to apply to cases

Se ee

44 F 3d 1557, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Accordingly, we look to both

Federal Circuit and TECA authority in making this inquiry.

A-10

Such a review reveals that appellate jurisdiction over FSA disputes

is exclusively vested in the Federal Circuit. In In re Dep't of Energy

Stripper Well Exemption Litigation, 864 F.2d 796 (Temp. Emer.

Ct. App. 1988), the court held that "the case before the district

court of Kansas, No. 10-76 [MDL 378 Stripper Well Litigation]

seeking interpretation of the Final Settlement Agreement to resolve

a dispute between two signatories to that Agreement, [is] a cause

of action arising out of federal law, specifically out of the laws and

regulations conceming the Economic Stabilization Act." Jd. at 799.

Given the plain logic of this conclusion, as well as the experience

and expertise of the Federal Circuit in interpreting the FSA, we

hold that if a controversy presents an issue of interpretation of the

FSA, 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(11) grants exclusive appellate

jurisdiction to the Federal Circuit.

We also note that the exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit

obtains where a party raises an ESA/EPAA issue as a defense. See

In_re Seneca Oil, 906 F.2d at 1454 n11 ("[Tyhe TECA's

jurisdiction can be created by defenses that raise ESA/EPAA

issues."); Texas American Oil Corp. v. United States Dep't of

Energy, 44 F.3d 1557, 1563 (Fed Cir. 1995) ("The TECA has

exercised jurisdiction of any EPAA/ESA issue whether presented

nf — as a —— or aS a en Phoenix

95 F.3d 1555, 1563 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It follows from the above

discussion that where a party raises the FSA as a defense, the claim

"arises under" the ESA and EPAA and therefore vests exclusive

jurisdiction in the Federal Circuit.

C. Nature of the Present Case

(1) The Jurisdictions’ MDL 378 Case (No. 99-3102)

In their opposition to Appellees’ motion to dismiss, the Jurisdictions

admut that "[t]he Jurisdictions’ claims are all based on enforcing the

FSA." (Jurisdictions' Opposition at 3.) As we have previously

A-11

stated, claims under the FSA are within the exclusive jurisdiction

of the Federal Circuit and thus cannot be considered by this court.

The Jurisdictions cite several TECA and Federal Circuit cases for

the proposition that FSA claims do not arise under the ESA or

EPAA. (See Jurisdictions’ Opposition at 3-4.) None of these cases,

fail to discuss TECA's 1988 In re Stripper Well case explicitly

finding that FSA claims do indeed arise under those statutes. Thus,

because the Jurisdictions’ claims are based on the FSA, the Federal

Circuit has exclusive jurisdiction.

(2) The States' MDL 378 Case (No. 99-3065)

In their brief, the States have carefully phrased the issues presented

to this court to avoid any mention of the FSA. They ask this court:

"Did the lower court err in ruling that the 1977 Department of

Energy Organization Act ("DOEOA") requires the challenged

order of the Department of Energy's Office of Hearings and

Appeals to be deemed an unreviewable act of prosecutorial

discretion?” (States' 99-3065 Br. at 3.) Moreover, they urge that in

evaluating jurisdiction we must "look at the nature of the issue

presented to us and not to the nature of the

case or controversy presented below.” (States' 99-3065 Opposition

at 2 (quoting MGPC, Inc. v. DOE, 673 F.2d 1277, 1281 (Temp.

Emer. Ct. App. 1982).) The issues before this court, they argue,

“are discrete and severable from any ESA/EPAA issues raised by

the underlying claims or in the lower court's decision." (Jd. at 3-4.)

A careful review of the case, however, reveals otherwise.

Under the case or controversy requirement of Article III, courts

decide cases in the context of a particular dispute and not in a legal

vacuum. Thus, notwithstanding the States’ careful semantics, we

understand the primary question presented in this appeal to be:

"Did the district court err in determining that the OHA's decision

that Chevron did not receive excess tertiary incentive revenue and

A-12

therefore need not make restitution to the Stripper Well escrow

fund was unreviewable?"

The district court listed a variety of grounds for dismissing the

States' claims, including that the OHA's decision not to enforce the

PRO was an norte act of prosecutorial discretion. Under

= ) , 523 U.S. 83 (1998),

betta ea-heniet dettanhdbadthphan announced that it lacked

jJunsdiction over the matter and dismissed the case. Steel rejected

the use of so-called "hypothetical jurisdiction" to reach the merits

of a case, and a jurisdictional dismissal is all that is necessary to the

holding. As such, we must consider the remainder of the district

court's decision dicta. See also Gold v. Local 7 United Food and

Commercial Workers Union, 159 F.3d 1307, 1310 (10th Cir. 1998)

(noting Steel requires that jurisdictional issues must be resolved

first).

Nevertheless, determining whether the OHA's decision in this case

is properly reviewable would require this court to consider issues

arising both under the ESA and EPAA directly and under the FSA.

The district court based its ruling that the decision was not

reviewable on Consolidated Edison Co. v. O'Leary, 131 F.3d 1475

(Fed. Cir. 1997), and the States ask us to reject this authority. (See

States’ 99-3065 Br. at 27-29.) However, even a brief glance at that

case reveals that the Federal Circuit relied heavily on interpretation

of ESA/EPAA issues to reach its result. See O'Leary, 131 F.3d at

1478 ("Four statutes are pertinent to this issue: sections 209, 210,

and 211 of the ESA, which were incorporated into the EPAA, and

section 503 of the Department of Energy Organization Act

(DOEOA)."). The States would have us focus only on whether the

DOEOA precludes review of the OHA's decision, but it is clear

that the case relied upon by the district court to dismiss the States’

claims directly involved the ESA and EPAA. As such, this claim

clearly arises under those statutes.

A-13

Moreover, we would have to determine what effect paragraph

IV.A.2 of the FSA should have on our characterization of the

OHA's decision. That paragraph reads:

Foture DOE Actions: What dite soie exception set rortii in IT A.4;

nothing in this Agreement shall be read or construed to limit or

render reviewable the exercise of DOE's prosecutorial discretion in

determining the appropriate action to take, if any, with regard to

any enforcement matter. Further, nothing in this Agreement shall

be read or construed to impose any obligation or duty upon the

DOE regarding the enforcement or non-enforcement of its

regulations, and it remains solely in the DOE's discretion to

determine whether an enforcement proceeding should be initiated,

settled, pursued on particular terms or terminated.

We are at a loss to see how the issue presented to this court could

be decided without reference to this highly probative provision of

the agreement underlying this dispute. (See also FSA § VIB ("[The

FSA] shall not create any nght of action against DOE concerning

the initiation, continuation or conduct of any litigation.").)

Furthermore, Appellee Chevron relies in part on the FSA to

support its assertion that the district court's decision not to review

the OHA's action was correct. (See Aple. Chevron

99-3065/99-3012 Br. at 35.) It is clear that raising an ESA/EPAA

issue (which the FSA clearly is) in a defense is sufficient to invoke

the Federal Circuit's exclusive jurisdiction.

This court declines to participate in the fiction that this dispute does

not tum squarely on the ESA, the EPAA, and the FSA. In order to

grant the relief sought by the States, we would have to conduct

inquiries specifically committed to the expertise of the Federal

Circuit. Specifically, we would have to reject a Federal Circuit

decision explicitly resting on those statutes, interpret and

A-14

distinguish a paragraph of the FSA directly on point, and consider

a defense implicating the FSA.’

The States also contend that the district court erroneously excluded

certain arguments advanced in the States' reply bnef before that

court and that the district court "should have considered all of the

States’ claims together in the MDL 378 docket." While these claims

do not directly turn on an interpretation or application of the FSA,

the Federal Circuit nevertheless has exclusive jurisdiction to

resolve them. In Phoenix Petroleum Co, v. United States Fed'l

Energy Regulatory Comm'n, 95 F.3d 1555 (Fed. Cir. 1996), the

Federal Circuit explained that TECA's exclusive junsdiction

extended to issues that did not themselves arise under the EPAA

when "a meaningful ruling requires consideration of the issues as

a whole, the construction of the EPAA will control the litigation,

the issues are so commingled as to render separate treatment

impractical, or the non-EPAA issues are subsidiary, preliminary or

threshold to an EPAA issue."

Id. at 1563 (quoting Pennzoil Exploration & Prod. Co. v. Lujan,

928 F.2d 1139, 1141 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1991). We hold that

the same is true when issues not otherwise relating to the FSA are

so inextricably linked and subsidiary to the FSA claim that it would

be both impractical

and wasteful to consider those claims separately.

In the present case, whether the district court properly excluded

some of the States’ arguments and whether the district court

properly refused to consider certain claims under its MDL 378

docket are surely subsidiary to the States' primary FSA claims. As

we have explained at length above, it is clear that these appeals are

The States also alleged that "the court's conclusion that OHA was

exercising unreviewable prosecutorial discretion (a) precluded it from

addressing the merits and (b) fatally infected its review of the merits." Because

we have found that this court lacks jurisdiction to review the district court's

A-15

fundamentally based on the FSA, and it would merely waste the

courts’ and the lingants’ resources to remove these secondary issues

from their proper context. Indeed, the States nghtly acknowledge

that the "central issue" is their claim that the district court should

have reviewed the OHA decision. Furthermore, we note that

because the additional claims the States sought to raise were

themselves based on the FSA, whether the district court properly

excluded these claims is merely a threshold inquiry to an FSA

claim. Thus, it appears that the States’ claims that do not on their

face implicate the FSA in fact are so secondary in relevance and

importance to their FSA companions that they must fall within the

Federal Circuit's exclusive jurisdiction.

(3) The States’ Original Complaint (No. 99-3066)

On the same day the district court dismissed the States’ and

Junisdictions' motions to enforce the FSA, it issued a separate order

dismissing the States’ concurrent original complaint. In that order,

the district court held that the States’ allegation that DOE had

violated the FSA failed to state a claim upon which relief could be

granied. The court then dismissed the remainder of the States'

claims for lack of standing, or, alternatively, for lack of proper

venue. (See Order of Dismissal at 2.) The States have appealed

these dismissals to this court.

In dismissing the States' FSA claim, the district court explicitly

adopted the reasoning of its order dismissing the MDL 378 claims.

(See Order of Dismissal at 2.) For the same reasons we cannot

review the MDL 378 decisions, this court does not have

jurisdiction to review the States’ claim that the district court

erroneously adopted the MDL 378 rulings.

The same result obtains with regard to the district court's dismissals

for lack of standing. In its brief, Appellee DOE argues that the

States do indeed lack standing under ESA:

A-16

The standing issue centers on an interpretation of ESA sections

209-11 and the bases on which Congress authorized public and

private actions to enforce the ESA, the EPAA or regulations issued

thereunder. An unbroken line of controlling decisions stand [sic] for

the proposition that private parties, such as the States, lack standing

to seek judicial review of a DOE enforcement decision made under

the purview of the ESA, the EPAA or regulations issued

thereunder.

As noted above, this court has held that "the TECA's jurisdiction

can be created by defenses that raise ESA/EPAA issues." In re

Seneca Oil, 906 F.2d at 1454 n.11. Consideration of Appellees’

counter arguments on appeal would require this court to interpret

statutes that are plainly within the exclusive jurisdiction of the

Federal Circuit. Allowing this appeal to proceed would inevitably

thwart either the will of Congress in granting exclusive jurisdiction

to the Federal Circuit or the Appellees’ right to have their defenses

heard by the appropriate authority. Thus, Appellants’ claims may

not be presented to this court.‘

D. Transfer

28 U.S.C. § 1631 states: $

Whenever a civil action is filed in a court as defined in section 610

of this title or an appeal, including a petition for review of

administrative action, is noticed for or filed with such a court and

that court finds that there is a want of jurisdiction, the court shall,

if it is in the interest of justice, transfer such action or appeal to any

other such court in which the action or appeal could have been

brought at the time it was filed or noticed, and the action or appeal

shall proceed as if it had been filed in or noticed for the court to

“Because we find that the district court's dismissal for lack of standing

cannot be reviewed in this court, it is unnecessary to determine whether the

court's alternative rationale (lack of venue) was correct.

A-17

which it is transferred on the date upon which it was actually filed

in or noticed for the court from which it is transferred.

The plain language of this provision indicates we are required to

consider whether transferring these cases to the Federal Circuit

would be "in the interest of justice."

We note that the States and the Jurisdictions have previously

comunenced proceedings in these cases before the Federal Circuit.

After filing "protective" notices of appeal in that court, Appellants

sought but were denied a stay of those proceedings pending our

disposition. Appellants then sought to voluntarily withdraw those

appeals, but the Federal Circuit ruled that failure to proceed would

result in dismissal with prejudice. The Jurisdictions chose to

continue in that court, while the States accepted a dismissal with

prejudice. In the order directing the States to proceed with the

appeals or face dismissal, the Federal Circuit anticipated that the

States might request that this court transfer the actions back to the

Federal Circuit:

In light of these circumstances, any dismissal entered in appeal nos.

99-1328 and 99-1356 will be with prejudice. As Chevirjon and

DOE point out, if a dismissal is entered without prejudice, [the

States] could, in the event of an adverse ruling by the 10th Circuit,

seek to resurrect [their] appeal here by way of transfer. That would

be an impermissible result, given our prior rulings and the fact that

appeal no. 99-1327 [(the Jurisdictions’ appeal)] is proceeding in

this court.

In light of this unequivocal declaration by the Federal Circuit that

it intended to finally dispose of the States’ appeals, and in light of

the States’ ample opportunity to pursue these cases in the proper

A-18

forum, we cannot say that justice would be served by transfer to the

Federal Circuit. Accordingly, the States' motion is denied.”

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, we find that all of Appellants’ claims raised

in these three cases are within the Federal Circuit's exclusive

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a). Accordingly,

Appellees’ motions to dismiss these appeals for lack of appellate

jurisdiction are hereby GRANTED, and the States’ motions for

rehearing and transfer are DENIED.

* The DOE's motion to file its responsive brief on the transfer

issue Out of time is granted.

B-1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

IN RE: THE DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

STRIPPER WELL LITIGATION.

THE STATES OF ALABAMA,

CALIFORNIA, CONNECTICUT, IDAHO,

INDIANA, MARYLAND, MICHIGAN,

MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, OHIO,

SOUTH DAKOTA, VERMONT,

WISCONSIN and WYOMING,

Plaintiffs-Appellants, No. 99-3065

v. (D.C. No. 79-CV-378)

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF _ (D. Kan.)

ENERGY and CHEVRON U.S.A. INC.,

Defendants-Appellees

THE STATES OF ALABAMA,

CALIFORNIA, CONNECTICUT, IDAHO,

INDIANA, MARYLAND, MICHIGAN,

MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, OHIO, No. 99-3066

SOUTH DAKOTA, VERMONT,

WISCONSIN and WYOMING, (D.C. No. 96-CV-

1180-MLB)

Plaintiffs - Appellants, (D. Kan.)

¥.

B-2

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY, Hazel O'Leary, Secretary;

OFFICE OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS,

Department of Energy, George B. Breznay,

Director,

Defendants - Appellees,

and

CHEVRON, USA, INC.,

Intervenor-Defendant-

Appellee.

DELAWARE, HAWAII, ILLINOIS, No. 99-3102

KANSAS, NEBRASKA, NEVADA,

NORTH CAROLINA, RHODE (D.C. No. 97-CV-378)

ISLAND and WEST VIRGINIA,

THE TERRITORY OF GUAM (D. Kan.)

AND THE VIRGIN ISLANDS,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF

ENERGY, and CHEVRON U:S.A., INC.

Defendants-Appellees.

B-3

ORDER AND JUDGMENT()

Before EBEL, HOLLOWAY and KELLY, Circuit Judges.

Plaintiffs-Appellants challenged a decision by the Department of

Energy, the District of Kansas denied their claims, and they now

seek review in this court. Defendants-Appellees have moved

this court to dismiss these appeals for lack of appellate

jurisdiction, and Appellants have opposed these motions. We

find that the Federal Circuit has exclusive jurisdiction over these

claims pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a){11)-(12), and

Appellees’ motions to dismiss cases 99-3065, 99-3102, and

99-3066 are therefore GRANTED.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs-Appellants in cases 99-3065 and 99-3066 are the

states of Alabama, California, Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana,

Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Ohio, South

Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming (the "States").

Plaintiffs-Appellants in case 99-3102 are the states of Delaware,

Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina,

Rhode Island, and West Virginia, as well as the territories of

Guam and the Virgin Islands (the "Jurisdictions;" the States and

the Jurisdictions are collectively referred to as "Appellants").

: This order and judgment is not binding precedent,

except under the doctrines of law of the case, res judicata,

and collateral estoppel. This court generally disfavors the

citation of orders and judgments; nevertheless, an order and

judgment may be cited under the terms and conditions of 10th

Cir. R. 36.3.

B-4

Appellants sued Defendants-Appellees United States

Department of Energy ("DOE") and Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

("Chevron;" DOE and Chevron are collectively referred to as

"Appellees") in connection with a settlement agreement

purporting to resolve the Stripper Well Litigation.’ That

litigation concerned the proper disbursement of over $1 billion

in overcharge funds collected by DOE pursuant to crude oil

price controls imposed under the Econonuc Stabilization Act of

1970 ("ESA") and the Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act of

1973 ("EPAA"). In 1986, a multitude of interested parties,

including the States and the Jurisdictions, entered into the Final

Settlement Agreement ("FSA"), which apportioned these and

subsequently recovered funds among DOE (40%), the fifty

states and several territories (40%), and reserved the remainder

to settle individual claims (primarily those of utilities and oil

refineries). The FSA was approved by Judge Theis of the

} The present controversy between Appellants and

Appellees took the form of three separate lawsuits. First, the

States filed a motion to enforce the agreement in the District

of Kansas, which was responsible for approving and

overseeing the agreement under its Multi-District Litigation

378 ("MDL-378") docket. That is now case No. 99-3065

before this court. Second, the States filed an original

complaint in the same district court, docket No. 96-CV-1180,

which is now case No. 99-3066 before this court. Third, the

Jurisdictions filed a separate motion to enforce the agreement

under the MDL 378 docket, advancing a different theory than

the States. That is now case No. 99-3102 before this court.

All of these cases concern the same disputed DOE decision.

We consolidated cases 99-3065 and 99-3102, and

companioned 99-3066 for oral argument. This Order

addresses the Appellees’ Motions to Dismiss for Lack of

Appellate Jurisdiction filed in each case.

B-5

District of Kansas, pursuant to that court's MDL 378

jurisdiction. Although intended to end this controversy, the FSA

has itself been the subject of extended litigation.

At the center of the present case is a decision by the Department

of Energy not to seek from Chevron some $500 million, which

Appellants maintain should then be disbursed under the FSA.

In 1992, DOE's Economic Regulatory Administration ("ERA")

issued a Proposed Remedial Order ("PRO") alleging that

Chevron had improperly represented its status under the

now-defunct Tertiary Incentive Program ("TIP"),” and that it

therefore must disgorge $124,989,588 it had received under the

program (with interest, the sum exceeds $500 million). Chevron

challenged the PRO and the matter was referred to DOE's

Office of Hearings and Appeals ("OHA").

. The TIP was a DOE program designed to increase

domestic oil production and thus reduce the country's

dependence on foreign oil. Under TIP, companies that -

extracted oil using more difficult and costly "tertiary"

methods were allowed to sell that oil at full market value,

instead of at the government-imposed price, in order to

recoup the additional expense. Because some refiners had

greater access to price-controlled oil than others (who were

forced to pay full market value), DOE also implemented the

Entitlements Program, which required that refiners with such

greater access purchase "entitlements" from other refiners.

The price of the entitlements corresponded with the

difference between the market and controlled prices, the goal

being to avoid penalizing refiners buying TIP oil at full price.

DOE issued an annual Entitlements Notice, detailing which

refiners were over or under their allotted entitlements and

requiring settlement of these accounts.

ana ENN AO en A REN Ne rt carr —

B-6

The OHA, however, declined to enforce the PRO as a final

Remedial Order, finding that "the ERA has failed to establish[]

that Chevron was in fact unjustly enriched by its participation in

the TIP as alleged in the PRO." (OHA Decision at 12-13.) As

a result, none of the Appellants received additional

disbursements under the FSA. After the OHA issued its decision

in 1996, a group of private parties, who stood to recover

additional funds as individual claimants under the FSA, directly

challenged the ruling in the District of Columbia District Court.

That claim, however, was twice rejected by the Federal Circuit.

See Consolidated Edison v. O'Leary, 117 F.3d 538 (Fed. Cir.

1997) (dismissing plaintiffs’ claims for lack of a private right of

action and because the OHA's decision was not justiciable),

Consolidated Edison v. O'Leary, 131 F.3d 1475 (Fed. Cir.

1997) (dismissing plaintiffs’ claim because the OHA's decision

was not reviewable).

In 1996, the States and Jurisdictions brought the present actions

in the District of Kansas, challenging the same OHA decision.

That court, however, dismissed all three suits. In its order

denying both the States' and the Jurisdictions’ motions to

enforce the FSA (Nos. 99-3065 & 99-3102 before this court),

the district court identified several reasons why these actions

were improper. First addressing the States’ claims, it found that

one provision of the FSA upon which the States relied "does

not provide any substantive rights." (Order at 11.) It further

noted that "[t]he FSA settled the stripper well litigation, along

with the entitlements litigation, but it did not place OHA and its

enforcement proceedings under this court's oversight." (Id.) The

court then turned to the second FSA provision that the States

claimed DOE's decision violated, but found that no such

violation in fact occurred. (See id. at 12-13.) Citing the Federal

Circuit's recent decisions regarding this controversy, the court

found that "OHA's dismissal of the proposed remedial order

against Chevron was a part of DOE's prosecutorial function and

B-7

as such, was unreviewable." (Id. at 13.) "Finally," the court

continued, "paragraph IV.A.2 of the FSA specifically preserves

DOE's prosecutorial discretion and shields it from review." (Id.)

Discussing the Jurisdictions’ claims, the court similarly engaged

in an analysis of the FSA. The ‘Jurisdictions alleged that

Chevron "fraudulently misled’ the court and the parties [to the

FSA] by misrepresenting its status as an entitlements seller

under the draft 1981 Entitlements Notice [upon which the FSA

distributions were based.]" (Id. at 4.) Specifically, the

Jurisdictions argued that when Chevron claimed certain tax

credits after DOE discontinued the Entitlements Program, it

automatically decertified itself as an entitlements seller under the

TIP. (See id.) The court responded, however, that "[t]he

jurisdictions assume that, in 1983, Chevron had to elect

between a windfall profit tax refund and remaining on the

entitlements list. There is nothing in the FSA requiring such an

election." (Id, at 15.) The court further found that “tax matters

were excepted from the settlement by Proviso (E) to the

Refiners Release," and that "the FSA imposed no obligation on

Chevron as a settling refiner to disclose its pending windfall

profit tax refund claim." (Id. at 16.) Thus, its denial of the

Jurisdictions’ motion required a close inquiry into the terms of

the FSA.

That same day, the district court issued a separate order

dismissing the States’ original complaint (No. 99-3066 before

this court). The court specifically incorporated its findings in the

MDL order, and dismissed the States' FSA claims on those

grounds. (See Order of Dismissal at 2.) The States had also

challenged DOE's interpretation of the TIP regulations, DOE's

legal authority to issue or amend its regulations, and DOE's

compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act and the

Department of Energy Organization Act. The court dismissed

B-8

these claims for lack of standing or, alternatively, for lack of

proper venue. (See id. at 1-4.)

The States and Jurisdictions now seek review in this court.

Appellees DOE and Chevron filed motions to dismiss for lack

of appellate jurisdiction in each case, alleging that exclusive

appellate jurisdiction over these claims lies with the Federal

Circuit. For the reasons stated below, we agree.

\. Federal Circuit Jurisdicti

28 U.S.C. § 1295(a) provides that "[t]he United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit shall have exclusive jurisdiction

of an appeal .. . (11) under section 211 of the Economic

Stabilization Act of 1970; (12) of an appeal under section 5 of

the Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act of 1973." Among the

relevant provisions of the ESA and the EPAA were the crude

oil price controls, which formed the basis for the controversy

resolved by the FSA. The Federal Circuit succeeded to this

_ jurisdiction upon abolition of the Temporary Emergency Court

of Appeals ("TECA") in 1993. See Pub. L. 102-572 § 102(d),

(e) (1992). Thus, this court cannot exercise jurisdiction over

appeals "under" these statutes.

B. Teuth Circuit Author:

The Tenth Circuit has carefully avoided encroaching on the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit and its predecessor,

TECA. In Mobil Oil Corp. v. United States Dep't of Energy,

983 F.2d 172 (10th Cir. 1992), this court found that a dispute

over moneys claimed by DOE in restitution proceedings against

an oil company implicated the ESA and EPAA and was

therefore subject to TECA's exclusive junsdiction. See id. at

175-76. The court found that the issue of liability for restitution

was "intertwined with the ESA and EPAA," and therefore could

B-9

not properly be removed from TECA's domain. Id, at 176. The

court also noted that "[aJnother Tenth Circuit decision

recognizes TECA's jurisdiction when interpretation of price

ceilings regulations imposed by the ESA and EPAA cause a

contract dispute between the parties." Id. (citing Mountain Fuel

Supply Co. v. Johnson, 586 F.2d 1375 (10th Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 441 U.S. 952 (1979). The Tenth Circuit has never

exercised jurisdiction over a dispute concerning the FSA.

Appellants argue that our decision in In re Seneca Oil, 906 F.2d

1445 (10th Cir. 1990), points in favor of jurisdiction over the

present case. This argument is incorrect. In Seneca Oil, the

court held that where ESA/EPAA issues are merely a backdrop

to an independent claim, jurisdiction may obtain. "This appeal,"

the court wrote "is not from an action to enforce DOE

regulations or to obtain an order of restitution; rather it is from

a decision regarding the priority of the restitution claim in

bankruptcy.” Id. at 1454. Moreover, the court was careful to

note that TECA's exclusive jurisdiction with respect to the ESA

and EPAA is not to be narrowly construed: "Thus, the phrase

‘arising under’ is interpreted more expansively for purposes of

TECA's jurisdiction than it is for purposes of the federal

question jurisdiction of the district courts. For example, unlike

federal question jurisdiction, the TECA's jurisdiction can be

created by defenses that raise ESA/EPAA issues." Id. at 1454

n.1 (emphasis added). In sum, only where these statutes and

their regulations are mere background will this court exercise

jurisdiction.

The question remains, therefore, whether appeals relating to the

FSA arise under the ESA and EPAA, or whether those statutes

merely provide a backdrop for independent claims. In the

absence of Tenth Circuit precedent speaking directly to this

issue, we find it useful to seek guidance from the Federal

Circuit's extensive dealings with the FSA. As a preliminary

B-10

matter, we note that the Federal Circuit expressly held "that the

TECA precedent and practice on jurisdictional matters shall

continue to apply to cases that reach the Federal Circuit by

virtue of succession to the TECA." Texas American Oil Corp.

v. United States Department of Energy, 44 F.3d 1557, 1564

(Fed. Cir. 1995). Accordingly, we look to both Federal Circuit

and TECA authority in making this inquiry.

Such a review reveals that appellate jurisdiction over FSA

disputes is exclusively vested in the Federal Circuit. In In re

Dep't of Energy Stripper Well Exemption Litigation, 864 F.2d

796 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1988), the court held that "seeking

interpretation of the Final Settlement Agreement to resolve a

dispute between two signatories to that Agreement, [is] a cause

of action arising out of federal law, specifically out of the laws

and regulations concerning the Economic Stabilization Act." Id.

at 799. Given the plain logic of this conclusion, as well as the

experience and expertise of the Federal Circuit in interpreting

the FSA, we hold that if a controversy requires interpretation of

the FSA, 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a){11) grants exclusive appellate

jurisdiction to the Federal Circuit.

C. Nature of the Present Case

-1) The Jurisdictions’ MDL 378 Case (No. 99-3102

In their opposition to Appellees' motion to dismiss, the

Jurisdictions admit that "[t]he Jurisdictions’ claims are all based

on enforcing the FSA." (Jurisdictions' Opposition at 3.) As we

have previously stated, claims under the FSA are within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit and thus cannot be

considered by this court. The Jurisdictions cite several TECA

and Federal Circuit cases for the proposition that FSA claims do

not arise under the ESA or EPAA. (See Jurisdictions’

Opposition at 3-4.) None of these cases, however, directly

B-11

addresses this point; moreover, the Jurisdictions fail to discuss

TECA's 1988 In re Stripper Well case explicitly finding that

FSA claims do indeed arise under those statutes. Thus, because

the Jurisdictions’ claims are based on the FSA, the Federal

Circuit has exclusive jurisdiction.

(2) The States’ MDL 378 Case (No. 99-3065).

In their brief, the States have carefully phrased the issues

presented to this court to avoid any mention of the FSA. They

ask this court: "Did the lower court err in ruling that the 1977

Department of Energy Organization Act ("DOEOA") requires

the challenged order of the Department of Energy's Office of

Hearings and Appeals to be deemed an unreviewable act of

prosecutorial discretion?" Moreover, they urge that in

evaluating jurisdiction we must “look at the nature of the issue

presented to us and not to the nature of the case or controversy

presented below." (States 99-3065 Opposition at 2 (quoting

MGPC, Inc. v. DOE, 673 F.2d 1277, 1281 (Temp. Emer. Ct.

App. 1982).) The issues before this court, they argue, "are

discrete and severable from any ESA/EPAA issues raised by the

underlying claims or in the lower court's decision." (Id. at 3-4.)

A careful review of the case, however, r eveals otherwise.

Under the case or controversy requirement of Article III, courts

decide cases in the context of a particular dispute and not in a

legal vacuum. Thus, notwithstanding the States’ careful

semantics, we understand the primary question presented in this

appeal to be: Did the district court err in determining that the

OHA's decision that Chevron did not receive excess tertiary

incentive revenue and therefore need not make restitution to the

Stripper Well escrow fund was unreviewable? In order to

determine whether the district court erred, we must first

evaluate the reasoning it offered in support of its decision. Even

a cursory review of the district court's Memorandum and Order

B-12

indicates that interpretation of the FSA was integral to its

decisionmaking process, and appellate review is therefore

committed exclusively to the Federal Circuit.

First, we note that before declining to review the OHA's

decision, the district court determined whether a certain

provision of the FSA conferred a substantive nght upon the

plaintiffs. (See Order at 11.) Finding that it did not, the court

went on to analyze a second provision pertaining to the States'

claims, also finding that "DOE did not violate this provision."

(Id. at 12.) Only after determining that other substantive nghts

under the FSA were not infringed did the court examine

whether the OHA decision was unreviewable as prosecutorial

discretion. In order for this court to determine whether the

district court erred in finding that parties to the FSA cannot

challenge such an OHA decision, we would likewise have to

consider the impact of the FSA on this situation. The States

were before the district court on its MDL 378 docket precisely

because they are parties to the FSA, and it was in this context

that the district court reached its decision. This court cannot

don judicial blinders and evaluate merely one part of the district

court's reasoning it offered in -finding the OHA decision

unreviewable. In short, the States ask us not to review the

district court's decision, but simply to reverse it. This court

cannut so abdicate its core appellate function.

Even were we to accept the States’ invitation to decide merely

whether the district court erred in finding an OHA decision

unreviewable, such an examination would require interpretation

of the FSA and thus infringe upon the Federal Circuit's

exclusive jurisdiction over such matters. In support of its finding

that "there is no right for the Secretary of Energy or any other

person to appeal OHA's decision not to issue a remedial order,"

the court noted that "paragraph IV.A.2 of the FSA specifically

preserves DOE's prosecutorial discretion and shields it from

B-13

review." (Id, at 13.) It would be impossible for this court to

discern whether the district court erred without evaluating the

reasoning on which its decision was based.

This court declines to participate in the fiction that this dispute

does not tum squarely on the FSA. As the district court's order

clearly indicates, the holding that the OHA's decision is

unreviewable rested in large part on the provisions of the FSA,

and it is beyond this court's jurisdiction to consider such

matters. Accordingly, this claim may only be presented to the

Federal Circuit.’

The States also contend that the district court erroneously

excluded certain arguments advanced in the States’ reply brief

before that court and that the district court "should have

considered all of the States’ claims together in the MDL 378

docket." (Aplt. Br. 99-3065 at 38, 43.) While these claims do

not directly turn on an interpretation or application of the FSA,

the Federal Circuit nevertheless has exclusive jurisdiction to

resolve them. In Phoenix Petroleum Co. v. United States Fed'l

Energy Regulatory Comm'n, 95 F.3d 1555 (Fed. Cir. 1996), the

Federal Circuit explained that TECA's exclusive jurisdiction

extended to issues that did not themselves arise under the

EPAA when "a meaningful ruling requires consideration of the

issues as a whole, the construction of the EPAA will control the

litigation, the issues are so commingled as to render separate

: The States also alleged that "the court's conclusion

that OHA was exercising unreviewable prosecutorial

discretion (a) precluded it from addressing the merits and (b)

fatally infected its review of the merits." (Aplt. Br. 99-3065 at

33.) Because we have found that this court lacks jurisdiction

to review the district court's primary determination, we

likewise cannot consider these subsidiary claims.

B-14

treatment irnpractical, or the non-EPAA issues are subsidiary,

preliminary or threshold to an EPAA issue."

' Id. at 3563 (quoting Pennzoil Exploration & Prod. Co, v, Lujan,

928 F.2d 1139, 1141 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1991). We hold

that the same is true when issues not otherwise relating to the

FSA are so inextricably linked and subsidiary to the FSA claim

that it would be both impractical and wasteful to consider those

claims separately.

In the present case, whether the district court properly excluded

some of the States’ arguments and whether the district court

properly refused to consider certain claims under its MDL 378

docket are surely subsidiary to the States' primary FSA claims.

As we have explained at length above, it is clear that these

appeals are fundamentally based on the FSA, and it would

merely waste the courts’ and the litigants’ resources to remove

these secondary issues from their proper context. Indeed, the

States nghtly acknowledge that the "central issue" is their claim

that the district court should have reviewed the OHA decision.

(See States' Opposition 99-3065 at 4.) Furthermore, we note

that because the additional claims the States sought to raise

were themselves based on the FSA, whether the district court

properly excluded these claims is merely a threshold inquiry to

an FSA claim. Thus, it appears that the States’ claims that do

not on their face implicate the FSA in fact are so secondary in

relevance and importance to their FSA companions that they

must fall within the Federal Circuit's exclusive jurisdiction.

3) The States’ Original Complaint (No. 99-3066

On the same day the district court dismissed the States' and

Jurisdictions’ motions to enforce the FSA, it issued a separate

order dismissing the States' concurrent original complaint. In

that order, the district court held that the States’ allegation that

B-15

DOE had violated the FSA failed to state a claim upon which

relief could be granted. The court then dismissed the remainder

of the States’ claims for lack of standing, or, alternatively, for

lack of proper venue. (See Order of Dismissal at 2.) The States

have appealed these dismissals to this court.

In dismissing the States' FSA claim, the district court explicitly

adopted the reasoning of its order dismissing the MDL 378

claims. (See Order of Dismissal at 2.) For the same reasons we

cannot review the MDL 378 decisions, this court does not have

jurisdiction to review the States’ claim that the district court

erroneously adopted the MDL 378 rulings.

The same result obtains with regard to the district court's

dismissals for lack of standing. In it brief, Appellee DOE argues

that the States do indeed lack standing under ESA:

The standing issue centers on an interpretation of ESA sections

209-11 and the bases on which Congress authorized public and

private actions to enforce the ESA, the EPAA or regulations

issued thereunder. An unbroken line of controlling decisions

stand [sic] for the proposition that private parties, such as the

States, lack standing to seek judicial review of a DOE

enforcement decision made under the purview of the ESA, the

EPAA or regulations issued thereunder.

(DOE Br. 99-3066 at 10.) As noted above, this court has held

that "the TECA's jurisdiction can be created by defenses that

raise ESA/EPAA issues." In re Seneca Oil, 906 F.2d at 1454

n.11. Consideration of Appellees' counter arguments on appeal

would require this court to interpret statutes that are plainly

within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit. Allowing

this appeal to proceed would inevitably thwart either the will of

Congress in granting exclusive jurisdiction to the Federal Circuit

_ or the Appellees’ right to have their defenses heard by the

B-16

appropriate authority. Thus, Appellants’ claims may not be

presented to this court.‘

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, we find that all of Appellants’ claims

raised in these three cases are within the Federal Circuit's

exclusive jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a).

Accordingly, Appellees’ motions to dismiss these appeals for

lack of appellate jurisdiction are hereby GRANTED.

The mandate shall issue forthwith.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT

David M. Ebel

Circuit Judge

. Because we find that the district court's dismissal for

lack of standing cannot be reviewed in this court, it is

unnecessary to determine whether the court's alternative

rationale (lack of — was correct.

[Filed January 21, 1999]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

)

)

IN RE: THE DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY )

STRIPPER WELL EXEMPTION LITIGATION ) M.D.L. 378

)

)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Before the court are: (1) motion of the states’ to enforce

the Department of energy’s obligations under the Final Settlement

Agreement (Doc. 2264); and (2) motion of the jurisdictions’ to

enforce the Final Settlement Agreement against Chevron U.S.A.

Inc. and the Department of Energy (Doc. 2274). A hearing on the

motions was held on May 7, 1997 before the Honorable Frank G.

Theis. Following oral argument, the court took the matters under

advisement. Supplemental briefs were filed, and the matter was

not fully briefed at the time of Judge Theis’s death. The cases were

subsequently transferred to the undersigned judge. The court has

carefully considered the voluminous briefs and the transcript of the

'This motion is brought by the states of Alabama, California,

Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Ohio,

South Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

*This motion is brought by the states of Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois,

Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Rhode Island and West Virginia,

and the Territory of Guam and the Virgin Islands.

=

C-2

hearing. For the reasons stated herein, the motions to enforce in

M.D.L. 378 shall be denied.

Background

The lengthy history of this case is well known to the parties

and will not be recounted here. Judge Theis’s decision approving

the M.D.L. 378 final Settlement Agreement (FSA) of the litigation

is found at 653 F. Supp. 108 (1986) and may be consulted by

anyone unfamiliar with the case. Judge Theis entered several

subsequent orders, none of which are material to the issues

presented by the motions.

When Judge Theis heard oral argument on the motions, he

made the following observations which give some perspective to

the scope and complexity of this litigation:

As of February of 1996, 2,263 pleadings have been filed in

this case. This Court has entered 77 opinions and orders

resulting in dozens of published opinions. This Court

entered 579 other orders, while 23 orders have been signed

by other judges in this district as a matter of courtesy. A

total of 24 appeals have been filed, and as of February of

1996, 12 mandates have been issued from TECA affirming

substantially all of the Court’s rulings. 10 appeals have

been dismissed by the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals

primarily on jurisdictional grounds. There are 2 appeals

that remain pending in the United States Court of Appeals

for the federal circuit, and those have not dissipated, they

have either been resolved or they are in the process of

being resolved. In addition to the 6-day trial conducted in

1981, a total of 36 additional hearings have been conducted

on the record.

(Doc. 2327 at 5-6.)

Hopefully, this order will be the final chapter in this

protracted case.

Claims of the States

C-3

In their motion and supporting memorandum, the states

make two arguments based on the FSA. They argue that the

Department of Energy (DOE) violated is undertaking in the FSA

to “fully support the procedures and policies set forth herein in all

present and future proceedings involving Alleged Crude Oil

Violations.” FSA J VIB. (Doc. 2264 at 16-19). Additionally, the

states argue that by allowing Chevron to offset its restitutionary

obligations under the TIP program based on Chevron’s entitlements

claims, DOE’s office of Hearings and Appeals’ (OHA) decision

violated DOE’s commitment in the FSA not to grant any benefits

arising out of entitlements claims based on crude oil sales after

December 31, 1980. FSA 9 V.F. (Doc. 2264 at 19-20). Pertinent

aspects of the TIP program and the OHA decision are summarized,

infra.

The states request the court to vacate OHA’s decision and

to remand with directions (1) to conduct the proceedings in

accordance with the provisions of the FSA, along with instructions

that DOE not consider any entitlements benefits to Chevron arising

out of the unissued January 1981 Entitlements Notice or arising out

of post-December 31, 1980 crude oil transfers and (2) to conduct

the proceedings in accordance with the regulatory definition of

tertiary incentive revenue, without regard to the receipt or lack of

receipt of entitlements benefits in connection with the refining of

TIP-certified oil. (Doc. 2264 at 26-27).

The states make several arguments which are not based

upon the FSA. The states argue OHA’s decision violates DOE’s

TIP regulations; constitutes the promulgation or amendment of

regulations after DOE’s authority to do so has expired; violates the

Administrative Procedure Act; violates the Department of Energy

Organization Act; and is beyond the powers of OHA. The court

has no demonstrated jurisdiction to decide these non-FSA claims.

peer nae tare ees ee

C-4

864 F.2d 796, 800 (Temp. Emer. Ct APP 1988)? Cf

F.3d 538, 545 (Fed. Cir. 19997), cert denied 118 S. Ct. 1036

(1998).

laine of the Suites

The jurisdictions make two arguments based on the FSA.

They contend that Chevron “fraudulently misled” the court and the

parties by misrepresenting its status as an entitlements seller under

the draft January 1981 Entitlements Notice. They claim that this

allegedly fraudulent misrepresentation allowed Chevron to share in

the $257-plus million distributed among refineries under the FSA.

653 F. Supp. at 112. The jurisdictions also contend that the federal

goverment should forfeit its right to funds because DOE failed to

uphold the FSA and failed to discharge is enforcement

responsibility against Chevron by reporting Chevron’s allegedly

fraudulent conduct to this court. (Doc. 2274 at 6 and Doc. 2295 at

13-14).

The jurisdictions ask the court to require Chevron to

disgorge $61,665,472, plus interest, the amount Chevron received

pursuant to the FSA, and to deposit that sum into the court’s

escrow account. The jurisdictions argue that because DOE has

failed to fulfill its obligations to “fully support the procedures and

policies set forth herein in all present and future proceedings

>The states also raise several new arguments in a reply brief. one of

the new claims is that Chevron’s attempt to offset its TIP obligations on the

basis of an entitlements claim is barred by paragraph R to the Refiners

Release, FSA, Settlement Exh. A, Attachment A, 2™ proviso, para. R. The

states also take issue with OHA’s computation methodology. The court

declines to address these complex issues raised for the first time in the reply,

since DOE and Chevron did not have an opportunity to respond to those

arguments. Martin v, State of Kansas, 996 F. Supp. 1282, 1296 (D. Kan.

1998); Thurston v. Page, 931 F. Supp. 765, 768 (D. Kan. 1996). The efficacy

of the rule is well demonstrated by this case. The states have had several years

to formulate their positions. There is no excuse for the states to wait to raise

these arguments in a reply brief.

C-5

involving Alleged Crude Oil Violations . . ..” FSA ¥ VLB, the

federal government should not be allowed to share in the funds.

(Doc. 2274 at 13-14).

The TIP Program

In July 1978, DOE promulgated the TIP program to

encourage the use of risky and more expensive tertiary recovery

methods in the production of domestic crude oil. The regulations

allowed ka producer to sell at market prices the oil recovered

through a tertiary recovery project, thus avoiding the price controls

hen in effect. The regulations gave producers an additional

incentive -- producers were allowed to charge market prices on oil

that was being produced before the TIP project was in place,

allowing the producer “front-end” money to recoup the expenses

of the tertiary project, regardless of the success of the tertiary

project. OHA Decision, p. 2.

Beginning January 1, 1980, under the TIP, a producer

could self-certify a qualified tertiary project to the Economic

Regulatory Administration (ERA) and first sales of crude oil were

not subject to ceiling prices, providing the tertiary incentive revenue

from the sales did not exceed the recoupable allowed expenses

attributable to that producer. “Tertiary incentive revenue” meant

in the case of first sales of crude oil the difference between the

market-clearing price and the otherwise applicable ceiling price,

less an ad valorem severance or windfall profit tax attributable to

the excess. 10 C.F.R. 212.78(a)(2). “Recoupable allowed

expenses” were those “allowed expenses” that had been reported.

“Allowed expenses” were 75% of certain specified expenses, not

to exceed $20 million per property. Producers were also allowed

to recover “prepaid expenses” for goods and services to be

delivered in the future in connection with a tertiary incentive

project. The producer was required to file certain reports as a

condition of participating in the TIP. OHA Decision, pp. 2-3.

The DOE Entitlements Program

Interrelated with the TIP was the DOE Entitlements

C-6

Program, 10 C.F.R. 211.67. The Entitlements Program was

established in 1974 to equalize the benefits of access to lower

priced domestic crude oil among domestic refiners. Under the

Entitlements Program, a refiner was required to have one

“entitlement” for each barrel of “deemed old oil” that it refined.

The price of an entitlement was roughly the difference between the

price of controlled and uncontrolled crude oil. If the number of

entitlements issued to a refiner for a month was less than its

adjusted receipts of deemed old oil (defined in 10 C.F.R. 211.62),

the refiner was required to purchase entitlements from other

refiners, a situation which was disadvantageous to a refiner like

Chevron. If the number of entitlements issued was greater than its

adjusted deemed old oil receipts, the refiner received benefits

through the sale of entitlements to other refiners. DOE set the price

of the entitlements and assigned the obligations to buy or sell

through a list (the Entitlements Notice) published during the second

month after the transactions on which the computations were based.

OHA Decision, pp. 16-176.

In February 1981, following the termination of price

controls on January 28, 1981, the DOE issued the December 1980

Entitlements Notice. The DOE also issued a draft January 1981

Entitlements Notice which later became important in the settlement

of the Striper Well Litigation. However, the DOE never issued a

final Entitlements Notice for January 1981. OHA Decision, pp. 3-4

and FSA para. V.

TheF LR lial Order (PRO)

In the PRO, ERA charged Chevron with receiving TIP

revenues substantially in excess of those to which it was entitled.

OHA Decision, p. 4. According to the PRO, the excessive revenue

resulted from wadfall profit and severance tax refunds and other

monies received by Chevron between December 1983 and 1990.

The ERA contended that Chevron should make restitution of

almost $125 million, plus interest. Id, at 8. Chevron, as might be

expected, objected to ERA’s position. If the PRO he been issued

as a final order, the 50 States and 6 Territories ana © ossession of

C-7

the United States would have been entitled to 40% of all

restitutionary funds collected form Chevron. Each of the 23 states

and 2 territories presently before the court would recover its share

of that 40% pursuant to the percentages set forth in the FSA.

OHA scheduled a hearing, with the primary question being

whether Chevron actually received approximately $205 million in

tertiary incentive revenue as a result of its 1981 TIP certifications.

This dollar figure represented the incremental value of the crude oil

attributable to Chevron’s TIP certifications, i.e., the difference

between the value of the crude oil if it had been sold at the

regulatory controlled price and the value of the crude oil if sold at

the unregulated market price authorized by the TIP. Chevron

claimed, inter alia, that it never actually received this amount in

“real money” since it sold most of its crude oil production to its

own refiners. Chevron contended that it was prevented from

benefitting from the TIP certifications as a result of the termination

of other Entitlements Program. OHA Decision, pp. 9-10.

One effect of Chevron’s TIP certification was an immediate

tax liability -- windfall profit taxes were payable to the Internal

Revenue Service (IRS) and severance taxes to the relevant states.

Chevron paid some $178 million in gross windfall profit tax on the

incremental value of the oil. In December 1983, Chevron claimed

a refund of some $84 million from the IRS (by taking a credit

against windfall profit taxes due in December 1983 and early

1984), claiming that is 1981 recertification’ was a mere

bookkeeping matters, since it had not received any economic

benefit. In 1990, the IRS matter was settled, with Chevron

retaining the refund for which it had taken credit in 1983 and

paying some $15.9 million to IRS to settle the claim.

The OHA Decisi

“This term is used several times in the OHA Decision. See, ¢.g., pp.

21-24, 28, 30-31 and 36-39. The court cannot find a specific definition of the

term.

C-8

According to OHA, the issue for the evidentiary hearing

was “whether as a result of its participation in the TIP, Chevron

was unjustly ennched by receipt of excessive TIP revenue in

violation of the TIP regulations, and therefore should be required

to make restitution in the amount of such unjust enrichment.”

OHA ultimately concluded “that the ERA has failed to established

[sic] that Chevron was in fact unjustly enriched by its participation

in the TIP IAs alleged in the PRO and, accordingly, the PRO

should be dismissed.” OHA Decision, pp. 12-13.

The bulk of the OHA decision is devoted to a discussion of

the evidence regarding whether Chevron actually received excess

tertiary revenue. OHA considered two questions: (1) how much,

if any, did Chevron actually receive in money or other valuable

benefit as a result of its 1981 TIP certifications; and (2) whether

Chevron should be held liable for its 1981 TIP certifications under

some alternative theory of restitution, irrespective of its actual

receipt of money. OHA Decision, p. 16.

The decision discusses at length the evidence and

conclusions relative to Chevron’s actually 1981 TIP revenue.

Chevron asserted it did not actually receive tertiary incentive

revenue, since it delivered virtually all of the crude to its own

refineries and sold less than 1.4% of the tertiary crude to third

parties. Instead, Chevron argued that its TIP certifications of

uncontrolled tertiary oil resulted in a benefit by reducing the

number of entitlements it was required to purchase under the

applicable Entitlements Notice. Chevron contended that, by virtue

of its more favorable entitlements position resulting form its 1981

TIP certifications, it would have been a seller of entitlements in the

amount of $114.3 million, had the January 1981 Entitlements

Notice been issued. The termination of price controls intervened,

and the January 1981 Entitlements Notice was never issued. OHA

Decision, pp. 17-18.

The draft January 9181 Entitlements Notice was used as a

basis for dividing the Refiners Escrow in the Stripper Well

Litigation. Chevron’s position on the draft January 1981

C-9

Entitlements Notice was the basis for Chevron receiving

$61,665,472 under the FSA in the Stripper Well Litigation. OHA

counted that figure as being “tertiary incentive revenue” for

purposes of its proceeding. OHA Decision, p. 24. The OHA

determined the FSA settlement amount should be counted as

tertiary incentive revenue for Chevron because Chevron “would not

have received this amount but for its enhanced entitlements position

resulting from the TIP recertifications.” OHA Decision, p. 24.

Nevertheless, the OHA concluded that the evidence had failed to

show that Chevron received excess tertiary incentive revenue as the

result of its participation in TIP. It found that while Chevron may

have violated the letter of the TIP regulations with regard to

certification of TIP crude oil, it never violated the substance of the

regulations because it did not receive an excess amount of actual

revenue. OHA therefore dismissed the PRO. OHA Decision, p.

39.

Discussion of the S FSA Clai

The states contend that OHA’s decision violates DOE’s

duty under paragraph VI.B of the FSA. That paragraph provides:

Support of Agreement. The Parties to this Agreement shall

support approval of all of its provisions, shall take all steps

and make all filings necessary to its implementation at their

own expense or from their respective Escrow funds. DOE

will undertake the defense of this Agreement in response

to any litigation, in which DOE is named as a party,

challenging this Agreement or any action required to be

taken by DOE pursuant thereto. However, DOE’s

agreement to this provision doe not circumscribe the

discretion of the Attorney General to authorize or preclude

the filing of particular pleadings or the making of

arguments by DOE in any litigation, and this Agreement

shall not create any right of action against DOE concerning

the initiation, continuation or conduct of any litigation. All

parties agree to cooperate (1) in defending this Agreement

and (2) in any action required to be taken pursuant thereto

C-10

in any litigation challenging its validity. All parties also

agree that they will fully support the procedures and

policies set forth herein in all present and future

proceedings involving Alleged Crude Oil Violations and,

to the extent any counsel approving the form and content of

this Agreement by signature hereon enters an appearance

in any such proceeding, counsel will not oppose or do

anything inconsistent with such policies and procedures,

the terms of this Agreement, or any orders pursuant

thereto. Any Party may enforce this Agreement against

any other Party but this Agreement confers no such

enforcement nght upon any non-Party hereto.

FSA § VA.B. The language relied upon by the states is

emphasized by italics.

As written, this provision is a commitment by all parties to

the FSA to support the various substantive policies and procedures

contained in the FSA. Paragraph VIB does not provide any

substantive nghts. The states do not identify any procedures and

policies of the FSA not supported by DOE. They just disagree

with the OHA decision (Doc. 2265 at 17-19).

Judge Theis noted on more than one occasion that this court

doe not sit as a court of appeals for OHA decisions: “As this court

noted in denying the States’ second motion to enforce, this court

does not sit as a court of appeals for individual OHA refund

decisions.” In _re the Department of Energy Stripper Well

Exemption Litigation, 746 F. Supp. 1446, 1451 (D. Kan. 1990)

(denying States’ third motion to enforce). This court is not about

to assume that role now. The FSA settled the stripper well

litigation, along with the entitlements litigation, but it did not place

OHA and its enforcement proceedings under this court’s oversight.

The other provision of the FSA relied upon by the states is

paragraph V.F, dealing with the termination of the entitlements

litigation. That paragraph provides:

Termination of Entitlements Actions by DOE. After

C-1]

commencement of the Entitlements Disbursement and

vacation of the judgment in Texaco v. DOE, DOE agrees

that it shall not order the purchase or sale of any further

entitlements, either through entitlements lists or as a result

of any exception decisions, and shall not institute or

voluntarily participate in any judicial or administrative

proceedings pertaining to the publication of any further

entitlements notices. After commencement of the

Entitlements Disbursement and vacation of the judgment

in Texaco v. DOE, DOE shall take no action whatsoever

pertaining to entitlements obligations based on runs-to-

stills or crude oil receipts after December 31, 1980, and

further agrees to take no such action on the basis of any

entitlements report filed by a Refiner with DOE for any re

porting period after December 31, 1980, including reports

filed with respect to the Entitlements Adjustment Notice

(10 C.F.R. § 211.69).

FSA { V.F. Once again, the particular language relied upon by the

states is emphasized. This paragraph does set forth a policy or

procedure for the breach of which DOE could be held liable. The

court finds, however, that DOE did not violate this provision.

First, by taking the action it did, OHA did not take any

“action . . . pertaining to entitlements” benefits. The states argue

that OHA violated FSA 4 V.F by eliminating Chevron’s alleged

restitutionary obligation based on entitlements benefits Chevron

could have received had the January 1981 Notice been issued.

However, OHA did not eliminate Chevron’s alleged restitutionary

obligation based on the entitlements program. OHA’s role was to

conduct a factual review to determine how much Chevron actually

received as a result of its TIP certifications. OHA made a factual

determination that Chevron was not unjustly enriched by the receipt

of TIP revenue in excess of the amount allowed by the TIP

regulations. Restitution is a remedy by which the defendant is

made to disgorge an ill-gotten gain, or to restore the status quo, or

both. See, e.g., Kem Oil & Refining Co. v. Tenneco Oil Co., 868

C-12

F.2d 1279, 12823 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1989). Since there was

no ill-gotten gain under the TIP certifications, there was no factual

basis for an order of restitution. Nothing in the FSA barred

Chevron from showing that it did not receive an unlawful benefit

from the TIP.

Second, OHA was exercising prosecutonal discretion when

it entered its decision. Consolidated Edison Company of New

York, Inc. v. O’Leary, 131 F.3d 1475, 1481 (Fed. Cir. 1997).°

OHA’s dismissal of the proposed remedial order against Chevron

was a part of DOE’s prosecutorial function and as such, was

unreviewable. A determination by OHA not to issue a remedial

order is not appealable under the regulations. There is no nght for

the Secretary of Energy or any other person to appeal OHA’s

decision not to issue a remediai order. As the Federal Circuit

recently stated in discussing this very same OHA proceeding,

“Pursuant to the regulatory scheme, the decision of the Office of

Hearings and Appeals not to issue a remedial order brought the

proceeding against Chevron to an end.” Id at 1477. The

procedures “leading up to the issuance of the remedial order would

all be part of the ‘prosecutorial’ function of the Secretary of

Energy.” Id. at 1481.

Finally, paragraph IV.A.2 of the FSA specifically preserves

DOE’s prosecutorial discretion and shields it from review:

Future DOE Actions. With the sole exception set froth in

IL A.4, nothing in this Agreement shall be read or construed

to limit or render reviewable the exercise of DOE’s

prosecutorial discretion in determining the appropriate

action to take, if any, with regard to any enforcement

matter. Further, nothing in this Agreement shall be read or

construed to impose any obligation or duty upon the DOE

regarding the enforcement or non-enforcement of its

‘This case was brought by the same entities which appear as amicus

before this court. They challenged the same OHA decision in the Chevron

proceeding that is the subject of the states’ motion to enforce.

C-13

regulations, and it remains solely in the DOE’s discretion

to determine whether an enforcement proceeding should be

initiated, settled, pursued on particular terms or terminated.

FSA ¥ IV.A.2. The sole limitation referenced in this paragraph

pertains to DOE’s waiver of civil penalties against all parties to the

FSA arising out of or relating to the counting of injection wells to

qualify a property as a stripper property. FSA ¥ 11.A.4. This

provision is in applicable to the dispute before the court. Further,

paragraph V1.B of the FSA provides that the FSA did not “create

any right of action against DOE conceming the initiation,

continuation or conduct of any litigation.” FSA 4 VLB.

Discussion of the Jurisdictions’ FSA Clai

The junsdictions assert Chevron violated the FSA by

misrepresenting to the states, DOE, and the court its position as an

entitlements seller on the unissued January 1981 Entitlements

Notice and by receiving the $61.7 million distribution under the

FSA. In approving the Final Settlement Agreement, the court

noted that $257 million “will be distributed among those refiners

who would have had the nght to sell entitlements if the remaining

entitlements notices had been issued.” In re the Department of .

Energy Stripper Well Exemption Litigation, 653 F. Supp. 109, 112

(D. Kan. 1986), aff'd, 855 F.2d 865 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.

19988). The jurisdictions argue Chevron had no “night to sell

entitlements” upon the issuance of the final notice because Chevron

previously decertified its TIP oil.

Following DOE’s November 1983 announcement that it

would not publish the January 1981 Entitlements Notice, Chevron

claimed tax credits from the IRS for its windfall profit tax liability

resulting from its prior TIP certification. The basis for Chevron’s

tax refund claims was its belief that it would not receive economic

value from its prior TIP certification. The jurisdictions’ argument

rests on the assumption that when Chevron claimed a refund of

windfall profit taxes in 1983, it effectively decertified the TIP crude

oil, and that, therefore, in 1986 when the FSA was approved,

C-14

Chevron had no right to sell entitlements if the January 1981 list

had been issued.

OHA considered and rejected a similar argument during

the administrative proceedings. The ERA claimed “that Chevron

was duplicitous in its conduct in seeking from the IRS a refund of

WPT [windfall profit taxes] associated with its 1981 TIP

recertifications while maintaining its entitlements position in the

event the January 1981 Entitlements Notice were ultimately issue.”

OHA Decision, p. 28. OHA found nothing sinister in Chevron’s

decision to “hedge its bets” by seeking an IRS refund of windfail

profit taxes at a time when it was uncertain whether the January

1981 Entitlements Notice would be issued. When DOE

determined not to issue the list, Chevron was vindicated in its

action in seeking a refund of other taxes associated with its 1981

TIP recertifications. Id As a result of its favorable position on the -

draft January 1981 Entitlements Notice, Chevron received $61.6

million under the FSA, and OHA concluded that Chevron must

include that amount as tertiary revenue for 1981. Id.

The junsdictions assume that, in 1983, Chevron had to

elect between a windfall profit tax refund and remaining on the

entitlements list. There is nothing in the FSA requiring such an

election. The jurisdictions cite no authority treating a claim for

windfall profit tax refiind as a downward certification of oil that has

been certified upward. There is no support for the claim that by

filing a claim for windfall profit tax refund, Chevron repudiated its

position as an entitlements seller. The pursuit of alternative courses

of action is not fraud.

Further, tax matters were excepted from the settlement by

Proviso (E) to the Refiners Release. FSA, Settlement Exh. A,

Attachment A, 2™ proviso, para E. The Refiners Release of

Claims preserved to the refiners participating in the settlement the

right to pursue state or federal claims for severance or windfall

profit tax refunds. Judge Theis observed in another context, tax

se ee ied ere ee 8 a eee

xemption

C-15

Litigation, 739 F. Supp. 1449, 1454 (D. Kan. 1990). Windfall

profit tax refunds were outside the scope of the FSA.

Finally, the FSA imposed no obligation on Chevron as a

settling refiner to disclose its pending windfall profit tax refund

claim. Accordingly, Chevron cannot be found to have committed

fraudulent misrepresentation.

Because Chevron did not commit fraud, the jurisdictions’

claim that DOE fezled to report Chevron’s fraud to this court

collapses of its own weight.

Conclusion

The states’ and jurisdictions’ motions to enforce shall be

denied.

A motion for reconsideration is neither invited nor

encouraged. Any motion for reconsideration must comply with

Rule 7.3 of this court and the standards set out in Comeau v. Rupp,

810 F. Supp. 1172, 1174 (D. Kan. 1992). The motion may not

exceed five double-spaced pages in length, including supporting

arguments and authorities, regardless of the number of points

raised. Responses shall be limited to four double-spaced pages. No

replies may be filed. Motions for extension of these time periods

will be viewed with disfavor. The filing of such a motion does not

relieve the party of its obligation to meet the relevant deadline, even

if the motion is not ruled upon prior to the expiration of the

deadline.

IT IS BY THIS COURT THEREFOR ORDERED that

the states’ motion to enforce (Doc. 2264), filed in M.D.L. 378) is

hereby denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the jurisdictions’

motion to enforce (Doc. 2274, filed in M.D.L. 378) is hereby

denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated this 20th day of January 1999, at Wichita, Kansas

C-16

Monti L. Belot

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

D-1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Code, Title 28:

§ 1291 Final Decisions of District Courts.

The courts of appeals (other than the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit) shall have jurisdiction of

appeals from all final decisions of the district courts of the

United States, the United States District Court for the District of

the Canal Zone, the District Court of Guam, and the District

Court of the Virgin Islands, except where a direct review may be

had in the Supreme Court. The jurisdiction of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit shall be limited to the

jurisdiction described in sections 1292(c) and (d) and 1295 of

this title.

§ 1295 Jurisdiction of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Federal Circuit.

(a)The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit shall have exclusive jurisdiction --

OE

(11) of an appeal under section 211 of the

Economic Stabilization ‘Act of 1970;

(12) of an appeal under section 5 of the

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act of 1973; . ..

§ 1631 Transfer to Cure Want of Jurisdiction.

Whenever a civil action is filed in a court as defined in

section 6120 of this title or an appeal, including a petition for

review of administrative action, is noticed for or filed with

D-2

such a court and that court finds that there is a want of

jurisdiction, the court shall, if it is in the interest of justice,

transfer such action or appeal to any other such court in

which the action or appeal could have been brought at the

time it was filed or noticed, and the action or appeal shall

proceed as if it had been filed in or noticed for the court to

which it is transferred on the date upon which it was actually

filed in or noticed for the court form which it is transferred.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.