Opposition Brief — Dier v. Merck & Co.

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

TF

Q

No. 10-666

AN2 | 299

IN THE

Supreme Court of the GAnited States

GLENN L. DIER ET AL.,

Petitioners,

MERCK SHARP & DOHME CORP.,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To

The United States Court Of Appe.!;

For The Fifth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

PHILLIP A. WITTMANN

DOROTHY H. WIMBERLY

STONE PIGMAN

WALTHER WITTMANN

LLC

546 Carondelet St.

New Orleans, LA 70130

Telephone: (504) 581-3200

Facsimile: (504) 581-3361

pwittman@stonepigman.com

DOUGLAS R. MARVIN

WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY

LLP

725 Twelfth Street, N.W

Washington, D.C. 20005

Telephone: (202) 434-5000

Facsimile: (202) 434-5029

dmarvin@wcec.com

JOHN H. BEISNER

Counsel of Record

JESSICA D. MILLER

GEOFFREY M. WYATT

SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATE,

MEAGHER & FLOM LLP

1440 New York Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

Telephone: (202) 371-7000

Facsimile: (202) 393-5760

John. Beisner@skadden.com

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

After years of personal-injury litigation concern-

ing the prescription drug Vioxx, attorneys

representing plaintiffs and the defendant, Merck

Sharp & Dohme Corp., agreed to establish a private

claims-resolution program for plaintiffs alleging that

Vioxx caused them to sustain a heart attack, an

ischemic stroke or sudden cardiac death. Participa-

tion in the program was volurtary, and the program

resulted in the resolution of tens of thousands of

clain.s. In order to streamline resolution of unsettled

claims, the district court entered pretrial orders re-

quiring non-settling plaintiffs to submit a case-

specific expert report linking their alleged injury to

Vioxx. The orders stated that plaintiffs who failed to

comply with their terms would face dismissal of their

claims. Petitioners refused to comply with the orders.

After extending the time to comply with the orders by

more than a year, and entertaining multiple motions

by the petitioners to set aside the settlement and to

modify or vacate the orders, the district court dis-

missed their claims. The court of appeals affirmed.

The questions presented are the following:

1. Did the court of appeals correctly find that pe-

titioners, who did not settle their claims and were

free to pursue them in court, lacked standing to chal-

lenge a private, opt-in settlement agreement?

2. Did the court of appeals properly hold that the

district court acted within its broad authority to

manage multidistrict litigation in entering a pair of

orders requiring non-settling Vioxx plaintiffs to sub-

mit an expert report linking their alleged injuries to

Vioxx?

1

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED..................... Mase earee

TABLE OF CONTENTS ....0.0..........-0.cccccccccscosesessenes. 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........ccccseccccsavveccesee. IN

FUP EE RN is ocd vices esse aceee ae renee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......ciccceccosccsccsseccsnasses

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION....... 13

I. The Decision Below Does Not Present A

Question Of “Exceptional National

Importance” And Does Not Conflict

With The Precedents Of This Or Any

Pere 0 cece 14

IT. The Court Of Appeals Correctly Appled

Established Rules Of Law. .....00..0. eee. 18

A. Petitioners Do Not Have Standing

To Challenge A Settlement To

Which They Were Not Parties. ......... 18

B. The District Court Acted Within

Its Discretion Jn Adopting

Discovery Orders For Non

petting Pintvtitls. ....5. oi. k 23

CONCLUSION

United States District Court, Eastern District

of Louisiana, No. 05-1657. Pretrial Order

No. 28, Prima Facie Evidence of Usage, Injury

Sr A oe ee ew, A-]

United States District Court, Eastern District

of Louisiana, No. 05-1657, Pretrial Order

No. 29, Rules and Procedures Relating to All

Cases Filed or Transferred On or After

PNOWOMNHOE D ZO07 «5. oon ccccvecsacneccce cccsesetlecticc. A-19

United States District Court. Eastern District

of Louisiana, No. 05-1657. Pretrial Order

(ge | RAR ey Raa led ai dee am OA on treed nen OOo an SON yas A-35

United States District Court, Eastern District

of Louisiana, No. 05-1657. Pretrial Order

No. 31, Registration of Claims....................0...... A-38

United States District Court, Eastern District

of Louisiana, Nos. 05-1089, et al.. Order &

FROBSOMNS ....occccncccccccocccccccccccccecseecces. Pert eee A-46

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Acuna v. Brown & Root Inc..

200 F.3d 335 (5th Cir. 2000).................. ic. 20. 26

Agretti v. ANR Freight System,

ee ee ee TRE AE, BE oo iioclesvesn ince 22

Alumax Mill Products, Inc. v. Congress Fi-

nance Corp.,

912 F.2d 996 (8th Cir. 1990) 0.000.000... cee eee. ao

Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor,

> BR SS i kf fn 15, 19

Baker v. Chevron USA, Inc.,

No 1:05-CV-227, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

6601 (S.D. Ohio Jan. 30, 2007)..............0......0c000 25

Bass v. Phoenix Seadrill/78, Lid.,

74) F206 1354 Cath Car. 1965) .......cc.c we 23

In re Beef Indus. Antitrust Litig.,

GOT F260 167 CBG Cie, TST) ors cicncccicnccGicsccccsconsee A

Bender v. Williamsport Area Sch. District,

TET, BO ETD esis css ences diccsvcceencntavcccess. 3

Burns v. Universal Crop Prot. Alliance,

No. 4:07-CV-535, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

71716 (B.D. Ark. Sept. 25, 2007)......0000000 ce. 24

Claar v. Burlington N. R.R. Co.,

29 F.3d 499 (9th Cir. 1994) ........... aeegcavees dethc ae

In re Disbarment of Benjamin,

488 U.S. 1000 (1989) ............ ieuereuacaeas ee

Kichenholtz v. Brennan.

52. F.3d 478 (3d Cir. 1995)............ TE i Se

In re GMC Pick-Up Iruck Fuel Tank Products

Liability Litigation,

55 F.3d 768 (3d Cir. 1995)............ ee 15

In re Integra Realty Resources, Inc.,

262 F.3d 1089 (10th Cir. 2001) ..... PORE OI Ly, Ze

Mayfield v. Barr,

985 F.2d 1090 (D.C. Cir. 1993).......... rae.) Tae +.

McCray v. New York,

SGI US. S61 (19GB) .......0...cccccscccccccccccecesss: 14

McLeod, Alexander, Powel & Apffel, P.C. '

Quarles,

894 F.24 1482 (5th Cir. 1990)....... - oe

Medalie v. Bayer Corp.,

510 F.3d 828 (8th Cir. 2007) . . ,20; 20

Munoz v. Orr,

200 F.3d 291 (5th Cir. 2000) nee are «Zo

In re NASDAQ Market-Makers Antitrust

Litigation,

176 F.R.D. 99 (S.D.N.Y. 1997) . Sesksediddoes 19

v1

New Mexico ex rel. Energy & Minerals De-

partment,

S20 F276 441 CA. Cir, TOG Tyan coos cv casevscdbasesanecss 19

Olden v. LaFarge Corp.,

472 F. Supp. 2d 922 (E.D. Mich. 2007).............. 19

Ortiz v. Fibreboard, Corp.,

EE TF ee TRE ans nn ic sesdocevoucesicsixcuvasivevecss 1S

Plunkett v. Merck & Co.,

401 F. Supp. 2d 565 (E.D. La. 2005).................... 2

Quad/Graphics, Inc. v. Fass,

Te © ee Be CIER CIh, BGS) oivncccncvevsccsveccevessscess 19

Ramos v. Playtex Products, Inc.,

Nos. 08-CV-2703, 08-CV-2828,

08-CV 3352, 2008 WL 4066250 (N.D. III.

PRA I ss cn sadn isesancisavieniassces aueceneaeeertd 24-25

In re Sch. Asbestos Litigation,

AEF 2k LS CO CE, TI vnc cvccccccccessvecscassvece ee

Steering Committee v. Exxon Mobil Corp.,

Ek BO CETy Cie, FOG oirsvvcvcvccaccscccecacsacess 27

Transam. Refining Corp. v. Dravo Corp..,

ORE FO re CRT AE: TOFD ho vacnccascoecencscsscpsoises 19

In re Viatron Computer System Corp.

Litigation,

BLA 2 EL CURE Cae. WB onan escivcvencccessecczesssyerass 19

In re Vioxx Products Liability Litigation,

360 F. Supp. 2d 1352 (J.P.M.L. 2005).......... 3

In re Vioxx Products Liability Litigation,

239 F.R.D. 450 (E.D. La. 2006)..................... 3, 15

In re Vioxx Products Liability Litigation,

057 F. Supp. 2d 741 (E.D. La. 2008)....3, 9, 26, 27

In re Vioxx Products Liability Litigation,

574 F. Supp. 2d 606 (E.D. La. 2008)..... 3, 4

In re Vitamins Antitrust Class Actions,

215 F.00 26 (D.C. Cw. 200)........... 2(

Waller v. Finance Corp. of America,

828 F.2d 579 (9th Cir. 1987) ............. . 19, Zo

Zupnick v. Fogel,

989 F.2d 93 (2d Cir. 1993)................ .19, 22

STATE CASE

Lore v. Lone Pine Corp..,

No. L-33606-85, 1986 WL 637507 (N.J. Su

per. Ct. Law Div. Nov. 18, 1986).......... 6

RULES

S. Ct. R. 10(a)..... 1D

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12.........

Vill

OTHER AUTHORITY

John Bronsteen, Class Action Settlements: An

Opt-In Proposal,

2005 U. Ill. L. Rev. 903, 923-25 16-17

Alba Conte & Herbert B. Newberg, Newberg

on Class Actions (4th ed. 2002) 20)

Howard M. Erichson, Beyond the Class Action

Lawyer Loyalty and Client Autonomy in

Non-Class Collective Representation

2003 U. Chi. Legal F. 519..

David F. Herr, Ann. Manual for Complex Lit

gation (4th ed. 2010).. oer

Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice &

Procedure (3d ed. 2010)..

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction is lacking with respect to the first

question presented. Although petitioners cite 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1), they fail to present a “Case” or

“Controversy” as required for the invocation of fed-

eral jurisdiction under Article III of the U.S.

Constitution because they lack standing to challenge

the private, opt-in settlement agreement to which

they were not parties.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners ask the Court to set aside a private,

opt-in settlement agreement to which they are not

parties. According to petitioners, the private agree-

ment, in combination with a set of modest discovery

orders entered by the district court below, operated

as a de facto class-action settlement. But no one

other than petitioners has ever accepted that theory,

and there is no division of authority on the question.

Thus, even accepting petitioners’ contention that the

issue presented is one of “exceptional public impor-

tance,” there is no serious public disagreement about

its resolution, leaving no need for this Court’s inter-

vention.

Moreover, even if petitioners’ theory had merit,

the court of appeals’ ru'ing, affirming dismissal of pe-

titioners’ claims, would still have been proper. Every

court to consider the question has held that non-

settling parties — even parties who opt out of class

settlements — lack standing to challenge a private

agreement between other parties. The court of ap

peals properly applied this unanimous precedent to

dispose of petitioners’ challenge.

The court of appeals also properly rejected pet

tioners’ argument that the district court abused its

discretion in dismissing their claims for failure to

comply with simple discovery orders requiring peti

tioners and other non-settling parties to produce

expert reports linking their ingestion of Vioxx to

their alleged injuries Courts and commentator

alike have acknowledged that such discovery order:

are crucial tools for managing multidistrict mass tort

litigation, particularly n mature slages, and are

well within a district court's broad discretion to en

ter

The Underlying MDL Proceeding. this case

grew out of the settlement of certain claims in the

litigation over the prescription drug Vioxx, a non

steroidal anti-inflammatory drug approved by the

Food and Drug Administration in 1999 for the treat

ment of osteoarthritis pain. Litigation over Vioxx

has spanned almost a decade. Beginning as early a:

2001, plaintiffs in various jurisdictions filed cases as

serting that Vioxx poses an increased nisk of

cardiovascular injuries. Vioxx was withdrawn from

the market in September 2004, and MDL proceedings

were established in the U.S. District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana in 2005, ultimately

comprising thousands of individually filed claims

Judge Eldon Fallon has overseen these proceedings

since their inception. See generally Plunkett v. Merck

& Co., 401 F. Supp. 2d 565, 570-72 (E.D. La. 2005)

Petitioners attack on the discovery orders 1s, 1n

any event, a red herring: their calculated defiance of the

discovery orders was merely an instrument to secure an

appellate forum for their attack on a settlement that ha:

nothing to do with them

In re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 360 F. Supp. 2d 1352

(J.P.M.L. 2005).

To manage the sprawling proceeding, the district

court appointed attorneys to serve on the Plaintiffs’

Steering Committee (“PSC”) and Defendant's Steer

ing Committee. /n re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 574 F

Supp. 2d 606, 608 n.3 (E.D. La. 2008). The court held

monthly status conferences with the committees to

review the progress of the ltigation Id. at 608

However, the court did not require individual plain

tiffs to rely on the PSC to represent their interests at

these conferences; the conferences were open to any

one who wished to attend In re Vioxx Prods. Liab

Litig., 557 F. Supp. 2d 741, 744 (E.D. La. 2008).

The district court quickly directed the parties to

address whether it could certify a class of personal]

injury plaintiffs. In November 2006, after the parties

briefed the issue, the court entered an order denying

certification of a nationwide class. Jn re Vioxx Prods.

Liab. Litig., 239 F.R.D. 450, 459 (E.D. La. 2006). The

court found that the choice-of-law analysis would

“present{] significant hurdles to certification of a na

tionwide class... because the application of the laws

of fifty-one jurisdictions .. . creates problems for typi-

cality, adequacy, predominance, and superiority ‘

Id. The court also noted that the personal injury

claims raised numerous individualized questions of

fact that would prevent the putative class from satis

fying Rule 23(a) and (b)(3). /d. at 460-63.

After the district court denied class certification,

the parties continued with bellwether tnals — “test

cases’ intended to assist the parties in moving to

ward resolution of the litigation. /n re Vioxx, 574 F

Supp. 2d at 608-09. The majority of these trials re

}

ulted in defense verdict ld. During the same time

period, there were thirteen trials in state court

around the country, and the majority of those trial

resulted in defense verdicts too. /d. at 609. GSee also

Pet. 29 n.12.)

f

Master Settlement Agreement. On November 9

2007, following several years of litigation, discovery

of millions of documents and depositions of numerou

witnesses and experts, counsel for Merck and the

Negotiating Plaintiffs’ Counsel (“NPC”) announced a

private agreement to ettle many Vioxx personal in

jury cases pending in the MDL proceeding and othe)

jurisdictions around the country (See Master Set

tlement Agreement, /n re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig

MDL No. 1657 (E.D. La. Nov. 9, 2007) (“MSA”), ava

lable at http://www.brownygreer.com

ioxxsettleme nt.)

The MSA established a $4.85 billion fund to re

Olve cases pending on November 9, 2007, in which

the plaintiffs claimed that Vioxx caused a heart at

tack, ischemic stroke or sudden cardiac death. MSA,

Recitals. The parties requested that Judge Fallon

carry out certain administrative responsibilities un

der the Avreement in connection with the settlement

(id. § 6.1.1.)

Claimants could enroll in the MSA if they met

certain criteria that the MSA identified as “gates.

(See MSA § 2.2.1.) Claimants passed the “injury

sate if they asserted one of three injuries heart at

tack, ischemic stroke or sudden cardiac death “a

defined by the MSA. (See id. Ex. 2.2.1.1.) Claimant

passed the “proximity” gate if they produced evidence

that they had ingested Vioxx within 14 days of then

alleved injury. (See id. Ex. 2.2.1.3.)

Unhke a class settlement, the MSA bound only

those claimants who affirmatively consented to its

terms and opted into the resolution program it cre

ated. Plaintiffs’ counsel were to decide whether they

could ethically recommend settlement to all of then

chents. Ud. § 1.2.8.1.)2 Many did so, but the decision

whether to enroll was left exclusively with the ind)

vidual plaintiffs

Petitioners were not eligible to participate in the

MSA because the injuries they allege were not cov

ered by the agreement (and because some of them

filed their cases after November 9, 2007, the last fil

ing date on which claims” were) eligible for

resolution)

The MSA’s resolution program is essentially com

plete At this time, all claims submitted for

Counsel were also free to recommend the settle

ment to some or none of their chents, but they could not

automatically enroll their chents in the resolution pro

gram under those circumstances. The MSA _ permitted

Merck to waive objection to partial enrollment in these

situations or to raise an objection to be resolved by Judge

Fallon. (MSA §§ 1.2.8, 1.2.9.) Plaintiffs’ counsel who rec

ommended settlement to all chents were permitted to

enroll only those chents who wished to participate in the

program, provided that counsel attempted to withdraw

from representation of clients who did not. wish to partici

pate. (Ud. § 1.2.8.2.) These provisions of the MSA were

carefully applied to ensure that each htigant had repre

sentation and that each attorney could comply with his or

her ethical obhgations

Petitioners do not identify their alleged injuries in

their petition, but the alleged injuries include heart palp)

tations, loss of consciousness and chest pain

resolution have beep re olved and nearly all pay

ments have been made

The District Court’s Discovery Orders. De

spite the success of the MSA, it did not resolve (and

was not intended to resolve) all outstanding Vioxx

personal injury claims. Recognizing as much, on the

day the MSA was announced, the district court en

tered several new pretrial orders (“PTOs”) to prepare

the remaining cases for the next phase of htigation

T'wo of these orders — PTOs 28 and 29 — impose

limited document-preservation and discovery obliga

tions on plaintiffs with pending claims. The orders

imposed substantially identical requirements, but

PTO 28 covered claims that were pending on the date

of the settlement, while PTO 29 covered claims that

were filed thereafter. In relevant part, PTOs 28 and

29 both required plaintiffs to submit a Rule 26(a)(2)

case-specifie expert report from a medical expert at-

testing that the plaintiff sustained an mjury and that

Vioxx caused the injury. (PTO 28 § TI, A-9-A-10; PTO

29 § Il, A-26.) Such orders are common in mass-tort

litigation and are sometimes called “Lone Pine” or

ders, named for the first case to employ such case

management techniques.

The document productions required by PTOs 28

and 29 were to be made within specific time periods

For cases pending on the date of the settlement,

4 See Lore v. Lone Pine Corp., No. L-33606-85, 1986

WL 637507 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. Nov. 18, 1986); see

also David F. Herr, Ann. Manual for Complex Litigation §

11.8 (4th ed. 2010) (explaining that Lone Pine orders

“have been widely used in mass torts to isolate spurnous

claims’) (collecting illustrative cases)

plaintiffs whose last names began with A through I.

(“A-L, plaintiffs’) were to produce all required docu

ments by May 1, 2008; plaintiffs whose last’ names

began with M through Z (“M-Z plaintiffs”) were to

produce the documents by July 1, 2008. (PTO 28

§ 11.C, A-10-A-11.) Plaintiffs filing after the settle

ment date were given 45 days to produce required

documents (PTO 29 SILA, A-23.) In the event

plaintiffs failed to comply with the requirements of

either PTO 28 or 29, they were entitled to 30 extra

days to cure any deficiency, after which time Merck

was permitted to move for an order to show cause

why the noncomplying cases should not be dismissed

with prejudice. (PTO 28 §§ I.D, II.D, A-5, A-12; PTO

29 §§ I.E, H.C, A-22, A-27.)

To make clear that PTO 28 apphed only to non

settling cases that were pending prior to November 9

2007, the order expressly provided that it did not ap

ply if “(a) the injury alleged is) a’ Myocardial

Infarction (MIT), Sudden Cardiac Death (SCD’), or

Stroke as those terms are defined, infra., in Section

Ill], and (b) the Plaintiff or Claimant has submitted

the claim to the Resclution Program.” (PTO 28 § ILA,

A-6.) Section JII of PTO 28 defined those injuries

necessarily tracking the definitions employed in the

MSA itself to ensure that PTO 28 reached non

settling plaintiffs only, as no further discovery ot

preservation was required for plaintiffs who had de

cided to resolve their claims by settlement. (PTO 28

§ III, A-13-A-18.) No similar definition section was

included in PTO 29 - and none was needed — because

no claim filed after November 9, 2007, was eligible

for resolution under the MSA (MSA. Recitals. q H )

The district court also entered two other orders to

facihtate management of the ltigation while the

MSA registration and resolution process was pending.

The first, PTO 30, imposed a stay of discovery to al

low plaintiffs to consider whether to enroll in the

MSA's resolution program, with an exception for the

discovery requirements set forth in PTOs 28 and 29.

(Pet. App. A, at 4a; PTO 30, A-35-A-37.) The second,

PTO 31, required plaintiffs’ counsel to register all

claims 1n which they had an interest with the district

court and indicate whether they planned to recom

mend enrollment in the resolution program.”

Challenges to the MSA and PTOs 28-31. Be

cause petitioners alleged injumes that were not

covered under the MSA’s terms, they could not settle

their claims. Rather, they set out to challenge the

MSA and the requirements set forth in the district

court’s new PTOs. In December 2007, less than a

month after the MSA was announced, a group of

plaintiffs represented by petitioners’ counsel (“Agard

plaintiffs’)® appealed to the Fifth Circuit ostensibly

from the MSA and PTO 28. Because neither the

MSA nor PTO 28 was a final judgment, and because

no other basis existed for appeal, Merck moved to dis

‘>

' Petitioners mischaracterize PTO 31 as “requiring

all plaintiffs’ counsel of record ... to recommend to each

chient that they enroll in the MSA.” (Pet. 14.) PTO 31 re

quired no such thing. It) merely required counsel to

indicate whether they intended to make such a recom

mendation, or whether they instead recommended apainst

settlement. (PTO 31 Ix. A, A-43-A-45.)

‘ Among the Agard plaintiffs was Robert D. Gates,

who 1s a petitioner in the instant matter.

Q

miss the appeal. The Fifth Circuit granted Merck's

motion without an opinion. (See Pet. App. C, at 19a.)

Shortly after the Fifth Circuit dismissed the

Avard plaintiffs’ appeal, anether group of plaintiffs

represented by the Oldfather Law Firm (“Oldfather

plaintiffs”) moved the district. court. to modify or sus

pend PTO 28. The district court rejected their

arguments that the PTO was premature and unfairly

burdensome. See In re Vioxx, 557 F. Supp. 2d at 743

(explaining that Lone Pine orders like PTO 28 are a

recognized and appropriate means “to identify and

cull potentially merit less claims and streamline lita

gation’) (internal quotation marks and = citation

omitted). According to the court, “it 1s not too much

to ask a Plaintiff to provide some kind of evidence to

support their claim that Vioxx caused them personal

injury.” /d. at 744. After all, “if Plaintiffs’ counsel

beheve that such claims have merit, they must have

some basis for that behef.” /d. Nonetheless, the

court extended the PTO 28 deadlines “to ensure that

all Plaintiffs ha[d] a fair opportunity to comply with

(the limited discovery] provision of PTO 28.” Id. at

745. The court extended the deadline for A-L plain

tiffs to July 1, 2008 and the deadline for M-Z

plaintiffs to August 1, 2008. Jd.’

On the day before the first of these extended

deadlines, the Agard plaintiffs filed a motion making

substantially the same arguments as those made by

Thus, while petitioners contend that the Oldfather

challenge was “rejected by the district court” (Pet. 16), the

reality is that the primary relief those plaintiffs sought

an extension of time limits to comply with PTO 28 - was

in fact granted

the Oldfather plaintiffs. In addition, the Agard

plaintiffs argued that the district court's role as set

tlement. administrator and coordinator of the MDL

proceeding created an incurable conflict. of interest,

requiring Judge Fallon to resign as settlement ad-

ministrator. Further, they sought to eliminate the

case-specific-expert-report requirement and argued

that the MSA should be vacated or declared void un

der Rule 23. Finally, they sought an extension of the

PTO 28 deadline to September 30, 2008 for A-L

plaintiffs and October 31, 2008 fer M-Z plaintiffs.

(See Pet. App. C, at 21la-22a.)

On December 10, 2008, the district court denied

the Agard plaintiffs’ motion in its entirety. The court

upheld the requirements of PTO 28, relying on its

reasoning in the Oldfather ruling that PTO 28 ts a

standard Lone Pine order designed to streamline

mass litigation. (A-55-A-58.) The court described the

Agard plaintiffs’ complaint regarding the ostensible

burdensomeness of PTO 28 as “simply not credible.”

(A-57.) In addition, the court ruled that Judge Fallon

need not resign as administrator of the settlement.

According to the district court, “|t}]he facts of the in

stant case do not warrant recusal” because “the

[clourt serves in an administrative capacity” 1n con-

nection with the settlement “that has no substantive

effect on its management of the MDL proceedings.”

(A-53.) In his ruling, Judge Fallon emphasized that

“[t]he Court played no role in drafting the private set-

tlement agreement reached by the parties; the Court

has taken no position as to what types of claims

should or should not have been included in the set-

tlement; and, finally, the Court has consistently

stated th.t it neither encourages nor discourages

participation in the settlement.” (A-54.) The court

also declined the Agard plaintiffs’ invitation to void

the MSA, explaining that “[u]nlke a class settlement,

the MSA is a private, opt-in settlement that was not

secured through a settlement class vehicle and |it]

therefore poses no risk of binding any unwilling

plaintiff to its terms.” (A-55.)

Dismissal of Petitioners’ Ciaims. On Novem

ber 26, 2008, Merck filed a motion for an order to

show cause why petitioners’ claims should not be dis-

missed in light of their failure to comply with PTOs

28 and 29.8 The district court granted the motion

and ordered petitioners to respond by January 9,

2009. (Pet. App. C, at 22a.) Petitioners filed two re

sponses purporting to show why their cases should

not be dismissed and two cross motions, again re

questing an extension of discovery deadlines and

recusal of Judge Fallon. (See td. at 22a-23a.) The

filings substantially repeated the arguments made by

the Oldfather and Agard plaintiffs in their respective

challenges to PTO 28.

The district court rejected petitioners’ arguments,

denied their cross motions, and dismissed their cases.

In so doing, the district court “adoptied] its earlier

reasoning and [found] that the plaintiffs’ redundant

requests for recusal, additional extensions of time, or

modification of PTOs 28 and 29 are without merit.”

(Pet. App. C, at 23a.) In its ruling, the court noted

that the deadlines for petitioners’ compliance with

the PTOs had long passed; yet, “rather than simply

8 Merck moved under both PTOs 28 and 29 because

some of the petitioners had filed their claims after No-

vember 9, 2007 — the date of the MSA — and were thus

covered by PTO 29.

comply with the Court’s orders, their attorney con-

tinues to argue that the deadlines are either too

harsh or are inapplicable.” (Ud. at 23a-24a.) The dis

trict court also found that, “la]t this stage of the

proceedings, dismissal with prerudice is the only ap-

propriate remedy for the plaintiffs’ repeated failure

to produce reports in accordance with PTOs 28 and

29.” (Ud. at 24a.) It further noted that petitioners’

counsel had been reprimanded by other courts for

engaging in similarly obstinate behavior.” (d. at 25a

& n.3.)

Appellate Proceedings. After the district court

dismissed their cases, petitioners sought review in

the court of appeals. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the

district court’s ruling in a per curiam opinion. First,

the court of appeals held that petitioners lacked

standing to challenge the MSA. Even “in the context

of class settlements,” 1t explained, “non-settling par

ties generally have no standing to challenge the

settlement.” (Pet. App. A, at 7a.) The only “excep

tion to the general rule” applics where an “agreement

strips non-settling parties of mghts to contribution or

indemnity” or “in some other manner” that “results

in plain legal prejudice.” (Ud. (nternal quotation

marks and citation omitted).) “But mere allegations

of ... tactical disadvantage as a result of a settle

Q

Petitioners have been represented by two attorneys

from the Law Office of Ronald R. Benjamin through the

course of these proceedings — Ronald Benjamin and Marya

Young. The district court’s comments were in reference to

Mr. Benjamin. Only Ms. Young represents petitioners be-

fore this Court, presumably because Mr. Benjamin has

been disbarred from practicing before it. See Jn re Dis

barment of Benjamin, 488 U.S. 1000 (1989).

ment simply do not rise to the level of plain legal

prejudice.” (/d. at 8a (alternations, interna! quota

tion marks and citation omitted).) And because the

MSA was structured as an “opt-in’ private settle-

ment” to which petitioners were not parties, they

could not show they suffered the legal prejudice nec-

essary to establish standing. Cd.)

Second, the court of appeals held that the district

court had not abused its discretion by entering a

Lone Pine pretrial order or by dismissing petitioners’

cases for failure to comply with that order. The court

of appeals explained that the district court had fol-

lowed established Fifth Circuit precedent, which

acknowledged that Lone Pine “orders are issued un-

der the wide discretion afforded district judges over

the management of discovery under Fed. R. Civ. P

16.” Ud. at 13a (quoting Acuna v. Brown & Root In

200 F.3d 335, 340 (5th Cir. 2000)).)!°

Petitioners now seek this Court’s. discretionary

review,

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

1. The Court should deny the petition because

this case presents no departure from the Court’s

precedents and no question over which lower courts

are divided.

2. The Court should also deny the petition be

cause the decisions below were correct. First,

petitioners lacked standing to challenge the MSA, a

10 ~The court of appeals also affirmed the district

court's order denying petitioners’ recusal argument, which

is not pressed before this Court. (See Pet. App. A, at 8a

lla.)

private, opt-in agreement to which they were not par

ties. Second, the district court acted well within its

broad discretion to manage multidistrict proceedings

when it entered, and later enforced, two pretrial or

ders with which petitioners refused to comply.

I. The Decision Below Does Not Present A

Question Of “Exceptional National Impor

tance” And Does Not Conflict With The

Precedents Of This Or Any Other Court.

The petition should first be denied because pet

tioners have failed to present any remotely

compelling reason for the Court to exercise its discre-

tionary review.

First, petitioners do not point to any conflict be-

tween the decision of the court below and those of

any other lower court. See S. Ct. R. 10(a). ‘To the

contrary, petitioners themseives concede that the

Fifth Circuit “is the first federal appellate court to

review ...an agreement” such as the MSA.!! (Pet

20.) This alone warrants denial of the petition. See

McCray v. New York, 461 U.S. 961, 963 (1983) (Ste

vens, J., respecting denial of certiorari) (opining that

petition for writ of certiorari should be denied where

the issue requires further study in the lower courts

before it is addressed by this Court).

11 Petitioners state that the decision below is the first

“to review such an agreement with approval” (Pet. 20

(emphasis added)) — as if to suggest that some other

courts have reviewed and disapproved of private, opt-in

settlement agreements lke the one 2t issue in this case.

But petitioners do not cite any such cases, and Merck is

not aware of any.

LD

Second, petitioners advance no argument that the

decisions belew “so far departed from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings... as to call

for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory power.” 5S.

Ct. Rule 10(a). In fact, petitioners again suggest the

contrary, noting that federal courts have pursued

similar courses to resolving mass-tort ltigation for

“the past decade.” (Pet. 20.)

Third, the decisions below do not “conflict{] with

relevant decisions of this Court.” S. Ct. Rule 10(c).

Petitioners argue that they do, contending that the

decisions below are “[cJontrary to the letter and

spirit” of cases like Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor,

521 U.S. 591 (1997), and Ortiz v. Fibreboard, Corp..,

527 U.S. 815 (1999). They are wrong.

Amchem and Ortiz involved class settlements

The Court held those settlements to be infirm be

cause they purported to bind the interests of certain

absent class members who had no way to opt out of

the agreements. Settlements in those circumstances

raise due process concerns because they are binding

by default. See, e.g., In re GMC Pick-Up Truck Fuel

Tank Prods. Liab. Litig., 55 F.3d 768, 784 (3d Cir.

1995) (explaining that the “overarching concern”

relative to class settlements is “that absentees’ inter

ests are being resolved and quite possibly bound by

the operation of res judicata even though most of the

plaintiffs are not the real parties to the suit”).

There is no such danger with the MSA. The MSA

has never been viewed as a “class settlement”; after

all, the district court expressly considered and denied

certification earlier in the litigation. See In re Vioxx,

239 F.R.D. at 459: see also Amchem, 521 U.S. at 619-

20 (explaining that class settlements are subject to

16

the same requirements as non-settlement class ac

tions, witn the possible exception of the

manageability requirement of Rule 23(b)(3)).?:

It is just as clear that the MSA was not a “de

facto’ class-action settlement, as petitioners suggest.

(f.g., Pet. 23.) After all, this Court’s concerns in Am

chem and Ortiz were animated by the fact that class

settlements bind all class members except for those

who affirmatively opt out — raising the nsk of unwit

ting involvement. But that risk is not presented here

because the MSA was only binding as to individuals

who affirmatively opted in to the agreement, elimi-

nating any risk of unintentional participation.!?® See

John Bronsteen, Class Action Settlements: An Opt-In

Nonetheless, Petitioners repeatedly and errone

ously refer to themselves as “absent class members,” see,

e.g., Pet. 22 (“The Fifth Circuit erred in the first instance

by classifying petitioners as non-settling parties when in

fact they were absent class members.”), and characterize

the MSA as a class settlement, see id. at 19 (“On its face,

the Vioxx MSA established a nationwide administrative

claims regime similar to the schemes that were before this

Court in Amchem, and later in Ortiz. . . .”).

Petitioners suggest otherwise, noting that one

hird of the claimants who entered the program “received

nothing” and asserting that these claimants were thereby

“excluded from any compensation.” (d. 28-29.) Not so.

While it 1s true that some claimants entered the resolu

tion program and were deemed ineligible for settlement,

each of those individuals had the option of returning his

or her claim to the court system for litigation upon learn

ing of ineligibility for settlement, meaning that ultimate

compensation remained a possibility were those claimants

to prevail at trial or reach some other form of resolution

with Merck. (See MSA 8§§ 2.7.3-2.7.3.1.)

Proposal, 2005 U. Ill. L. Rev. 903, 923-25 (differenti

ating consensual settlements, which are not typically

subject to challenge on fairness grounds, and class

settlements, which are not treated as contracts and

“must be approved by a court’); Howard M. Erichson,

Beyond the Class Action: Lawyer Loyalty and Client

Autonomy in Non-Class Collective Representation,

2003 U. Chi. Legal F. 519, 555 (“[A]n opt-in process

protects client autonomy more fully than the opt-out

process of Rule 23... .”), id. at 571 (“The clhent’s

right to reject a settlement maintains an important

incentive on lawyers to negotiate adequate settle-

ments.”). Because plaintiffs who were ineligible for

settlement or who decided not to opt in remained free

to litigate their individual claims against Merck, no

one was at risk of being bound against his or her

knowledge or consent. Accordingly, the proceedings

below were in keeping with both the “letter and

spirit’ of this Court’s prior holdings

Petitioners suggest that the opt-in character of

the settlement was illusory, citing scattered evidence

of a supposed conspiracy theory: the failure of the

NPC to represent all Vioxx plaintiffs, as evidenced by

the MSA’s exclusion of plaintiffs with injuries other

than heart attacks, strokes or sudden cardiac death

(Pet. 21-22); the purported “lack of adversarial pres

entation” to the district court before it adopted PTOs

28-31 (id. 28, 30); and petitioners’ own “inference

[that] the power of the purse had an influence in let-

ting a wealthy defendant get out cheap” (id. 25). Not

one of these “facts” — either by itself or in collection

with the others — operated to negate the voluntary

nature of the MSA. Eligible litigants retained the

choice whether to settie, and not everyone did. Those

who chose not to settle or who were ineligible for set

tlement could pursue their claims in court by simply

producing a single expert report that they would

have inevitably been required to produce in order to

take their cases to trial — and many did, belyiny peti

tioners unsubstantiated claim that the MSA

accomplished the “extinguishment” of all Vioxx:

related claims. (Pet. 21.) Although petitioners’

claims were extinguished, they affirmatively sought

out that result by refusing to comply with the district

court’s case-management orders

For all of these reasons, petitioners have failed to

demonstrate any question meriting this Court’s re

view, and the petition should therefore be denied

Il. The Court Of Appeals Correctly Applied Es-

tablished Rules Of Law.

This Court’s review is also unnecessary because

the decision of the court of appeals was correct

First, the court of appeals properly applhed the

settled rule that an individual who is not a party to a

private settlement has no standing to challenge it

Second, the court of appeals correctly held that the

distmet court acted within its broad discretion to

manage multidistrict proceedings in entering Lone

Pine discovery orders requiring parties to produc

evidence that their claims have merit

A. Petitioners Do Not Have Standing To

Challenge A Settlement To Which They

Were Not Parties.

he court of appeals correctly found that petition

ers lacked standing to challenge the MSA

“Generally, a non-settling defendant lacks stand

Ing to object LO approval] of a settlement because the

lY

non-settling defendant is not affected by that settle-

ment.” dn re NASDAQ Market-Makers Antitrust

Litig., 176 F.R.D. 99, 103 (S.D.N.Y. 1997) (citing

Zupnick v. Fogel, 989 F.2d 93, 98 (2d Cir. 1993) (col

lecting authority)). This rule has a simple rationale:

because non-settling parties cannot be bound by the

agreement, their legal rights remain unaffected by it.

See, e.g., New Mexico ex rel. Energy & Minerals Dept,

820 F.2d 441, 445 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (Only the parties

who signed the settlement agreement are bound by

the contract formed in ‘it.”); see also Waller v. Fin.

Corp. of Am., 828 F.2d 579, 582-83 (9th Cir. 1987);

Quad /Graphics, Inc. v. Fass, 724 F.2d 1230, 1232-35

(7th Cir. 1983); In re Viatron Computer Sys. Corp.

Litig., 614 F.2d 11, 14 (ist Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

449 U.S. 826 (1980).!4

The same rule applies in the context of class set

tlements. See, e.g., Transam. Refining Corp. v. Dravo

Corp., 952 F.2d 898, 900 (5th Cir. 1992). Thus, class

members who opt out of a class settlement lack

standing to challenge the settlement. “[O]pting out

of a settlement and choosing to object logically are

mutually exclusive options: if one actually opts out,

she has no standing to object to the settlement as she

will not be bound by it.” Olden v. LaFarge Corp., 472

14 ~—-In addition, “|t]his rule advances the policy of en

couraging the voluntary settlement of lawsuits.” Jn re

Integra Realty Res., Inc., 262 F.3d 1089, 1102 (0th Cir

2001) (quoting Waller, 828 F.2d at 583). Voluntary set

tlements play an essential role in the resolution of mass

product liability claims, which are “ordinarily not. appro

priate” for class treatment under Rule 23. Amchem,

521 U.S. at 625 (quoting Fed. R. Civ. 23, Advisory Com

mittee Notes, 1966 Amendment)

Ik Supp. 2d 922, 930-31 (E.D -Mich. 2007) (citing Be

cherer v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith,

Inc., 1983 F.3d 415, 426 (6th Cir. 1999): 4 Alba Conte

& Herbert B. Newberg, Newberg on Class Actions

§ 11:55, at 168 (4th ed. 2002)); see also In re Vitamins

Antitrust Class Actions, 215 F.3d 26, 31 (D.C. Cir.

2000) (nonsettling plaintiffs lacked standing to chal

lenge class settlement because “the nonsettling

plaintiffs have fully preserved their ‘right to litigate

their claims independently”) (citation omitted); May-

field v. Barr, 985 F.2d 1090, 1092 (D.C. Cir. 1993)

(“[Njonsetthng parties in multi-party cases lack

standing to object to settlement agreements on ap

peal.”)

In re Vitamins Antitrust Class Actions, 215 F.3d

26, is instructive. There, the class had negotiated a

settlement with certain defendants to resolve claims

that the appellees had allegedly fixed prices on bulk

vitamin sales in violation of antitrust laws. /d. at. 28.

The appellants — who opted out of a class settlement

moved to intervene and challenge the settlement

Id. The district court denied the motion to intervene,

holding that the appellants lacked standing. /d. The

D.C. Circuit agreed “(C]lass members who have

opted out of a 23(b)(3) class action have no standing

to object to a subsequent class settlement” because

“by opting out they ‘escape the binding effect of the

class settlement.” Jd. at 28-29 (quoting Mayfield,

985 F.2d at 1093 (class members who opt. out cannot

challenge class settlements because “those who fully

preserve their legal rights cannot challenge an order

approving an agreement resolving the legal rights of

ot hers’))

The same is true here. Class settlement or not,

the MSA could not be challenged by petitioners be

cause they did not participate in it and thus

“escape|d] the binding effect of” the program it cre

ated. And because petitioners do not have standing

this Court lacks jurisdiction to review their challenge

to the MSA. See, e.g., Bender v. Williamsport Area

Sch. Dist., 475 U.S. 534, 541 (1986)

Petitioners’ only apparent theory of standing 1:

that they were injured because the MSA “limitfed]

compensation to heart attacks, ischemic strokes and

sudden cardiac death” (Pet. 33) —1.e., that petitioner

were prejudiced because the MSA failed to cover

their alleged injuries.'® But that is not a cognizable

basis for standing

To be sure, courts have developed a narrow exce}

tion to the general rule barring challenges t

settlements by non-settling parties where necessary

to shield non-settling parties from “prejudice” created

by a settlement. Z/n re Integra Realty, 262 F.3d at

1102; Zupnick, 989 F.2d at 98; Mayfield, 985 F.2d at

1092-93; Agretti v. ANR Freight Sys., 982 F.2d 242,

246-47 (7th Cir. 1992); In re Sch. Asbestos Litig., 921

F.2d 1330, 1332 (3d Cir. 1990). But “[p]rejudice’ i

this context means ‘plain legal prejudice, as whet

‘the settlement strips the party of a legal claim or

cause of action,” Jn re Integra Realty, 262 F.3d at

1102 (quoting Mayfield, 985 F.2d at 1093, and citing

kichenholtz v. Brennan, 52 ¥.3d 478, 482-83 (3d Cir

1995), Zupnick, 989 F.2d at 98, Alumax Mill Prods

Inc. v. Congress Fin. Corp., 912 F.2d 996, 1001-0:

(Sth Cir. 1990), Waller, 828 F.2d at 583, and In re

See note 3, supra

Beef Indus. Antitrust Litig., 607 F.2d 167, 172 (5th

Cir. 1979)), or where the settlement interferes “with

a party’s contract rights or a party’s ability to seek

contnbution or indemnification,” Agrelli, 982 F.2d at

247 (citing Quad/Graphics, 724 F.2d at 1232).

By contrast, plain legal prejudice is not demon

strated by “[mJere allegations of tnjury in fact or

tactical disadvantage as a result of a settlement.”

Agretti, 982 F.2d at 247; accord, e.g., Eichenholtz, 52

F.3d at 482-83; Zupnick, 989 F.2d at 98; Alumax Mill

Prods., 912 F.2d at 1001-02; Waller, 828 F.2d at 583;

In re Beef, 607 F.2d at. 172. Nor is it demonstrated by

allegations that a defendant has settled with fewer

than all plaintiffs, or that such a settlement will re

move the “economic incentive to settle with” other

parties. Bass v. Phoenix Seadrill/78&, Ltd., 749 F.2d

1154, 1165 (5th Cir. 1985). Otherwise, there could be

no partial settlements, since “any settlement with

less than all” parties produce some effect on non

settlhng parties. /d. at 1165

Here, petitioners do not and cannot point to

any provision in the MSA that affected the rights of

any non-settling party to continue pursuit of his or

her claim. To the contrary, petitioners have been thi

masters of their own destinies at all points in time;

they filed their own complaints, were free to be rep

resented by their counsel at = monthly = status

conferences throughout the course of the Vioxx mul

tidistrict proceedings, and were free to continue to

litigate their claims despite exclusion from the MSA

terms

Instead, petitioners rely on an assortment of ar

guments that are nothing more than complaints of

strategic advantage and exclusion from settlement

that. Merck’s defense strategy made it difficult to try

a case (Pet. 27); that the NPC should have sought a

settlement that covered petitioners (id. 21, 25-26

n.10); and that the district court should somehow

have stopped a private settlement (id. 27-28).'© But

these are precisely the kinds of arguments that

courts have uniformly held cannot confer standing on

non-settling parties because petitioners do not con-

tend that the settlement agreement extinguished

their causes of action or other legal rights.

Accordingly, the court of appeals correctly held

that petitioners sustained no plain legal prejudice

from the MSA and thus lack standing to challenge it

B. The District Court Acted Within Its

Discretion In Adopting Discovery

Orders For Non-Settling Plaintiffs.

Just as Petitioners have failed to raise any viable

grounds that provide them standing to challenge the

MSA, they have also failed to provide any reason why

the district court abused its discretion in entering

PTOs 28 and 29

* It is clear that the thrust of petitioners’ complaint

not that they were unable to pursue their claims in

court, but that they were somehow entitled to have their

claims compensated under the MSA regardless of eligibil

ity or merit. (See Pet. 22 (denying that petitioners ever

want “their day in court” and stating that a “representa

tive sult” presumably one conceived, financed and

prosecuted by others, since petitioners suggest that the

production of one expert report is too burdensome for

them (id. 15-16) — “may be an appropriate vehicle to re

solve their claims’).) Not surprisingly, petitioners offer no

support for this absurd proposition

24

As the court of appeals recognized, district courts

have wide discretion to manage discovery in the pro-

ceedings over which they preside. See, e.g., Burns v.

Universal Crop Prot. Alliance, No. 4:07-CV-535, 200%

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 71716 (E.D. Ark. Sept. 25, 2007);

Ramos v. Playtex Prods., Inc., Nos. 08-CV-2703, O8-

CV-2828, 08-CV 3352, 2008 WL 4066250, at *6 (N.D.

Ill. Aug. 27, 2008). Moreover, such “broad discretion

is. particularly important in complex litigation.”

Munoz v. Orr, 200 F.3d 291, 305 (5th Cir. 2000): see

also Acuna, 200 F.3d at 340; 6A Charles Alan Wright

et al., Federal Practice & Procedure § 1525, at 112

(3d ed. 2010) (‘Rule 16(c)(2)(L) explicitly authorizes

the adoption of special procedures to expedite the ad

judication of potentially difficult or protracted

cases....’). Indeed, management of discovery 1s one

of the primary purposes underlying 28 U.S.C. § 1407

(See Pet. 26 (recognizing that MDL proceedings were

designed to effectuate “consolidated discovery” and

that “the district court necessarily had to enjoy broad

ranging discretionary authority to manage litiga-

tion’).)

A district court’s discretion to manage complex,

multidistrict proceedings includes the power to issue

Lone Pine orders, as recognized by both the court be

low and other courts of appeals. See A una, 200 Bo8d

at 340 (‘It was within the court’s discretion to take

steps to manage the complex and potentially very

burdensome discovery that the cases would require.”);

cf., e.g., Medalie v. Bayer Corp., 510 F.3d 828, 830

(Sth Cir. 2007) (acknowledging district court’s use of

such orders and upholding dismissal based on lack of

complhiance with such orders); Claar v. Burlington N.

RR. Co., 29 F.3d 499, 500-01 (9th Cir. 1994) (uphold-

ing dismissal based on infirmity of expert affidavits

filed in connection with such orders). Lone Pine or-

ders are widely recognized as an effective way to “cull

potentially meritless claims and streamline litigation

in complex cases,” Baker v. Chevron USA, Inc., No

1:05-CV-227, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6601, at *2 (S.D

Ohio Jan. 30, 2007), by “requirling] plaintiffs to es

}

tablish certain elements of their claims through

expert affidavits,” Acuna, 200 F.3d at 338

Relatedly, dismissal is a firmly established san¢

tion for noncomphance with the trial court’s orders

See, e.g., Medalie, 510 F.3d at 830 (affirming dis

missal of personal injury claim because plaintiff had

“failed to comply with the discovery order to submit

an expert’s report attesting personal injuries from

use of Baycol’); Acuna, 200 F.3d at 340; Claar, 29

F.3d at 500-501 (affirming grant of summary judg

ment because physicians’ affidavits failed to meet th:

requirements of case management order); McLeod

Alexander, Powel & Apffel, P.C. v. Quarles, 894 F.2d

1482, 1486 (5th Cir. 1990)

The district court acted consistently with tl

precedent in adopting PTOs 28 and 29, which were

carefully crafted to “strike [a] balance between effi

clency and equity,” Jn re Vioxx, 557 F. Supp. 2d at

744, while preparing the parties for the next phase of

htigation. These PTOs merely required all plaintiffs

including petitioners, to produce what experience ha:

shown to be indispensable for tral: expert evidencs

of specific causation (.e., that Vioxx actually caused

the plaintiff's injury)

Ze

Petitioners question the merit of PTOs 28 and ¢

contending that they were unnecessary and burden

some But neither argument has merit Kiven

petitioners acknowledge the critical role played by

specific-causation evidence in the underlying litiga

tion, arguing that most of Merck’s trial wins resulted

from the “individual plaintiffs inability to prove spe-

cific causation.” (Pet. 29 n.12.) A preliminary

determination of whether any such evidence exists

for a particular plaintiff would thus figure heavily in

both sides’ decision either to try a case or attempt to

resolve it in some other fashion.

Petitioners’ claim of burdensomeness likewise

fails. The PTOs simply required petitioners to pro-

duce evidence that they should have had before

bringing sult; as the district court put it, “it 1s not too

much to ask a Plaintiff to provide some kind of ev

dence to support their claim that Vioxx caused them

personal injury.” /n re Vioxx, 557 F. Supp. 2d at 744

(quoting Acuna, 200 F.3d at 340); see also Steering

Comm. v. Exxon Mobil Corp., 461 F.3d 598, 604 (5th

Cir. 2006). For this reason, petitioners’ suggestion

that the PTOs “drove up plaintiffs[’] litigation costs’

(Pet. 16) is difficult to understand. If petitioners art

uggesting that they were compelled to hire an ex

pert, that suggestion lacks merit. The district court

was clear that any report from a treating physician

would do — it was “not requiring that Plaintiffs pro

vide expert reports sufficient to survive a Daubert

challenge or even provide an expert who will testify

it trial.” In re Vioxx, 557 F. Supp. 2d at 744

Petitioners rhetoric regarding their inability t

reach the courthouse steps on the merits of their claims

rings hollow. (Pet. 27.) The Federal Rules establish myr

iad tools to weed out frivolous or meritless claims, and,

thus, many such cases never reach the merits stage of lti

vation. See. e.g.. Fed. R. Civ. P. 12

Petitioners also complain about the process by

which PTOs 28 and 29 were adopted, contending that

there was a “lack of adversarial presentation” — and

that the orders subjected non-settling plaintiffs to

“assembly line motions to dismiss.” (Pet. 28, 30.)

That is not a fair characterization. Although the dis-

trict court entered the orders on its own initiative,

those orders were subjected to testing by the adver-

sarial process for more than a year thereafter, at the

(repeated) behest of petitioners and other litigants

below. The deadlines for compliance were officially

extended once for all plaintiffs and then unofficially

extended several additional times for petitioners, as

they filed motion after motion seeking vacatur of the

order and recusal of the district court judge below. It

was only after petitioners made it apparent that they

would never comply with these orders that the dis-

trict court dismissed their claims.'!8 As the court

explained: “[I]t 1s now a year and a half since many

of the plaintiffs in these cases were first directed to

produce expert reports, but, rather than simply com-

ply with the Court’s orders, their attorney continues

to argue that the deadlines are either too harsh or

are inapplicable. At this stage of the proceedings,

dismissal with prejudice is the only appropriate rem

edy for the plaintiffs’ repeated failure to produce

reports in accordance with PTOs 28 and 29.” (Pet

App. C, at 23a-24a.)

The district court also noted that petitioners’ coun

sel had engaged 1n such tactics outside of the instant MDL

proceeding and, as a result, had been denied pro hac vice

admission in at least one other junsdiction. (See Pet. App

C, at 25a & n.3.)

For all of these reasons, the district court acted

well within its discretion in issuing and enforcing

PTOs 28 and 29.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should de

the petition for a writ of certiorari

Xe spectfully ubmiutte

PHILLIP A. WITTMANN JOHN H. BEISNEI

DOROTHY H. WIMBERL) Counsel of Record

STONE PIGMAN JESSICA D. MILLER

WALTHER WITTMANN GEOFFREY M. WYAT‘’

LLC SKADDEN, ARPS, SLATI

546 Carondelet St MEAGHER & FLOM LLP

New Orleans, L.A. 70130 1440 New York Ave., N.W

Telephone: (504) 581-3200 Washington, D.C. 20005

Facsimile: (504) 581-3361 Telephone: (202) 371-700

pwittman@’stonepigman.ci Facsimile: (202) 393-576(

lohn.Beisnet kadads

DOUGLAS R. MARVIN

WILLIAMS & CONNOLI

LLP

725 Twelfth Street, N.W

Washington, D.C. 20005

Telephone: (202) 434-500!

Facsimile: (202) 434-5029

dmarvin@wce.com

January 21. 2011

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Inre: VIOXX ‘ MDL Docket No.

1657

PRODUCTS '

LIABILITY ”

LITIGATION ‘ SECTION L

x JUDGE FALLON

. MAG. JUDGE

. KNOWLES

THIS DOCUMENT RELATES TO ALL CASES

PRETRIAL ORDER NO. 28

Prima Fade Evidence of Usage, Injury and

Causation),

This Order requires all parties who ar

plaintiffs with personal injury claims pending in

MDL Docket No, 1657 (“Plaintiff or “Plaintiffs”) as of

November 9, 2007, or (2) claimants who have sought

tolling pursuant to the tolling agreement dated Jun:

1, 2005 (collectively “Claimant” or “Claimants’) to

produce specified information regarding their claim

unless the claim is eligible for, and has been

submitted to, the Resolution Program. This Order

however, does not apply to plaintiffs who file claim

after November 9, 2007 (“Post 11.09 Plaintiffs’). Post

eparate order

rd No. 29 Persons who represent

proceeding shall comply

emselves pro se in thi:

/ of coun e | by thi

fully with all obhgations requir

} } }

T cy

Order, unl otherwise rte

I. PRESERVATION NOTICE

REQUIREMENT

ntry ol tl

Order, counsel for a_ Plaintiff

Claimant subject to this Order shall

notify the following individuals’ or

entities, by registered mail, that they

may have records relevant to. the

Plaintiffs or Claimant’s claim in thi

MDL Proceeding (“Claim”) and that any

records relating to the Plaintiff o1

Claimant must be preserved pursuant t

Pretrial Order No. 1 entered by this

Court on February 17 ZUV9 the

“Notice’), pending collection by th

Plaintiff or Claiman

\ll Pharmacies that dispensed

‘ 1.

ny medications to the Plaintiff o1

Claimant for the period from

y

All Physicians, Medical Faciliti

ther Healthcare Providers and/or

other persons (“Other Providers”

who Plaintiff or Claimant claim

provided any samples of Viox»

he Plaintiff or Claimant

All Physicians, Medical Facilities

and/or other Healthcare Providers

who prescribed Vioxx for the

Plaintiff or Claimant:

\]] Physimans and/or’ other

Healthcare Providers who treated

Plaintiff or Claimant for’ the

period from January 1, 1995 to

the present; and

{f Plaintiff or Claimant is seeking

lost wages, all of his employers

for the period from three years

prior to the date for which he is

seeking lost wages through the

last day for which Plaintiff or

Claimant is seeking lost wages

A copy of Pre Trial Order No. 1 shall be

attached to the Notice and all copies ol

the Notice shali be preserved by Counsel]

for Plaintiff or Claimant for so long as

the claim remains pending in this

‘eeding.

By no later than March 15, 2008

Plaintiff or Claamant shall serve a

statement listing the names and

addresses of all individuals or entities to

which Notices were sent, along with

pies Ol the Notices and a= signed

certification that the Notices were sent

as required by this Order. Service by

Plaintiffs shall be made in accordance

with the service procedures of PTO No.

8 and paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

I8C. Service by Claimants shall be

made on Susan Giamportone at Womble

Carlyle Sandrige & Rice, PLLC.

Plaintiffs or Claimants who fail to fully

comply with the requirements of this

Order shall be given notice by e-mail or

fax from Defendants’ Liaison Counsel or

his designee and shall be provided thirty

(30) additional days to cure such

deficiency (“Cure Period’). No other

extensions will be granted, except for

vood cause shown. If Plaintiff or

Claimant fails to cure the deficiency

within the Cure Period, Defendant's

Liaison Counsel shall file a Motion to

Show Cause why the claim should not

be dismissed with prejudice or, if tolled,

why the tolling for that Claimant should

not be terminated. Plaintiff or Claimant

shall thereupon have thirty (30) days to

respond to the Notice to Show Cause.

Any failure to respond to the Motion

within the required period of time shall

lead to the dismissal of the claim with

prejudice or, if tolled, the termination of

tolling for that claim, except for good

cause shown

A-6

I Plaintiff or Claimant may not seek to

introduce into evidence at trial any

document or information asserting that

Vioxx was dispensed by a pharmacy or

that Vioxx was provided to the Plaintiff

or Claimant as a sample if a Notice were

not sent to the Plaintiffs or Claimant’s

pharmacy, physician, other healthcare

provider and/or Other Provider as

required by this Order, except upon

leave of court for good cause shown. A

Plaintiff or Claimant who fails to comply

with this Order may also be subject to

other sanctions or orders

II. DISCOVERY REQUIREMENTS

\ All Plaintiffs or Claimants who claim to

have suffered an injury as a result of

taking Vioxx must produce all of the

information described in this Section I]

unless (a) the injury alleged is a

Myocardial Infarction (“MI”), Sudden

Cardiac Death (“SCD”), or Stroke as

those terms are defined, infra., in

Section III]. and (b) the Plaintiff or

}

|

A

Claimant has submitted the claim to the

Resolution Program:

\ll pharmacy records regarding

the dispensing of drugs to the

Plaintiff or Claimant for the

period from January 1, 1995 to

the present, along with a signed

certification from the respective

pharmacy or pharmacies

indicating that the production is

complete

If any death is claimed, a

statement to that effect along

with a copy of the death

certificate and autopsy report, if

one was performed.

Kor Plaintiffs or Claimants

alleging a MI, SCD or Stroke

Injury, an Amended and

Supplemental Plaintiff Profile

Korm” (“ASPPF’) and

authorizations or “Claimant

Profile Form” (“CPE”) in a form

attached hereto as. Exhibit A

unless Plaintiff or Claimant has

as of the date of this Order

submitted a Plaintiff Profile Form

or Claimant Profile Form. Service

by Plaintiffs shall be made in

accordance with the © service

procedures of PTO No. 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

18C. Service by Claimants shall

be made on Susan Giamportone

at Womble Carlyle Sandrige &

Rice, PLLC.

A-8

or Plaintiffs not alleging a MI,

SCD or Stroke Injury, an ASPPF

and authorizations in the forms

attached hereto as Exhibit A and

served in accordance with the

service methods of PTO 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 9 of 18C.

Answers to the Interrogatories set

out as Exhibit B. Service by

Plaintiffs shall be made in

accordance with the _— service

procedures of PTO No. 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

18C. Service by Claimants shall

be made on Susan Giamportone

at Womble Carlyle Sandrige &

Rice, Piaa.

All medical records relating to the

Plaintiff or Claimants from all

healthcare providers requested in

the Amended and Supplemental]

Plaintiff Profile Form for the

period from January 1, 1995 to

the present, along with a signed

certification from each healthcare

provider who has records relating

to the Plaintiff indicating that all

records in the possession, custody

or control of the Provider have

been produced. Service — by

Plaintiffs shall be made. in

accordance with the service

A-9

procedures of PTO No. 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

18C. Service by Claimants shall

be made on Susan Giamportone

at Womble Carlyle Sandrige &

Rice, PLLC.

An affidavit signed by the

Plaintiff or Claimant (a) attesting

that records have been collected

from all pharmacies that

dispensed drugs to, or for, the

Plaintiff or Claimant; (11)

attesting that all medical records

described in subparagraph (6)

above have been collected; and (i111)

attesting that all records collected

pursuant to subparagraphs A (1),

(2) and (6) have been produced

pursuant to this Order, along

with an index or list identifying

the source of the records. Service

by Plaintiffs shall be made in

accordance with the © service

procedures of PTO No. 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

18C. Service by Claimants shal]

be made on Susan Giamportone

at Womble Carlyle Sandrige &

Rice, PLLC.

A Rule 26(a)(2) case specific

expert report from a= medical

expert attesting (1) to a

A-10

reasonable degree of medical

probability that the Plaintiff or

Claimant suffered an injury and

(i) that Vioxx caused the injury.

The case specific expert report

must include (1) an explanation of

the basis of the attestation that

Vioxx caused the Plaintiff or

Claimant to suffer the injury, (1)

an identification of any other

causes that were considered in

formulating the opinion, (i) a

description of the specific injuries

allegedly suffered; (iv) a

description of the specific medical

findings that support the

diagnosis of those injuries; and (v)

and identification of all

documents relied on by the expert

in forming his opinions.

If any of the documents described in

paragraphs (A) (1), (2) and (6) above do

not exist, the Plaintiff shall state that

fact in his or her affidavit and the

reason why they do not exist and

provide a- certified “No Records

Statement” from the pharmacy. or

healthcare provider.

Plaintiffs and Claimants shall produce

the items set forth above in this Section

Il in accordance the following schedule:

A-1]

For Plaintiffs and Claimants

whose last name begins with the

letters A through L, on before

May 1, 2008;

For Plaintiffs and Claimants

whose last name begins with the

letters M through Z, on or before

July 1, 2008.

Plaintiffs shall serve the items set

forth above in accordance with

the service procedures of PTO 8

and paragraphs 5 through 7 of

PTO 18C. Claimants shall serve

the items set forth above on

Susan Giamportone at Womble

Carlyle Sandrige & Rice, PLLC

Plaintiffs whose cases are

subsequently transferred or

removed to this Court shall

produce the items set forth above

within sixty (60) days of removal

(measured from the date the

notice of removal is filed in this

Court) or transfer (measured from

the date of filing in this Court of

the Transfer Order issued by the

Judicial Panel on Maultidistrict

Litigation) of their case to this

proceeding

D.

A-12

Plaintiffs or Claimants who fail to fully

comply with the requirements of this

Order shall be given notice by e-mail or

fax from Defendants’ Liaison Counse! or

his designee and shall be provided thirty

(30) additional days to cure_ such

deficiency (“Cure Period’). No other

extensions will be granted, except for

good cause shown. If Plaintiff or

Claimant fails to cure the deficiency

within the Cure Period, Defendant's

Liaison Counsel shall file a Motion to

Show Cause why the claim should not

be dismissed with prejudice or, if tolled,

why the tolling for that Claimant should

not be terminated. Plaintiff or Claimant

shall thereupon have thirty (30) days to

respond to the Notice to Show Cause.

Any failure to respond to the Motion

within the required period of time shall

lead to the dismissal of the claim with

prejudice or, if tolled, the termination of

tolling for that claim.

Nothing in this Order abrogates or

replaces each Plaintiffs obligation to

submit the Plaintiff Profile Form,

authorizations, and other materials

required under Pretrial Order 18C. The

Plaintiff need not re-submit a Plaintiff

Profile Form if one has already been

submitted with respect to his or her

claim.

Wi. DEFINITIONS

A For purposes of this Order onl;

“Myocardial Infarction” (“MI”) is defined

as follows:

1 A final or discharge diagnosis

ontemporaneous medical record

of a myocardial infarction o1

heart attack; or

2 A diagnosis or affirmative finding

in the contemporaneous medical

records (eg., a report of

consultation) by a cardiologist of a

myocardiai infarction or heart

attack; or, within 14 days of

discharge from the hospitalization

related to the Event, an

independent diagnosis by a

treating cardiologist that the

Event was a myocardial!

infarction or heart attack;

provided that, in either instance,

the final or discharge diagnosis

does not rule out a myocardial

infarction; or

3 If the medical records are silent

as to whether or not plaintiff had

a myocardial infarction, new

pathological Y) Wave i: tv !

more contiguous leads: O!

lf the medical records are silent

is to whether or not plaintiff had

a myocardial infarction, (1) Sign:

and symptoms’7 described in

medical records of a heart attack

(including but not limited to chest

pain, pressure, tightness _ or

discomfort, pain or discomfort in

the upper areas of the body

including but not limited to one or

both arms, the back, neck, jaw or

stomach, or shoulders; shortness

of breath, weakness, dizziness,

cold sweat, or excessive sweating,

nausea, weakness, fatigue, loss of

consciousness or posture,

lightheadedness, feeling of

z r

faintness, heart-burn O}

indigestion sensations, feelings of

restlessness or anxiousness, a

sense of impending doom,

disorientation, lips, hands or feet

turning shghtly blue, abnormal

heart rhythms (arrhythmias), or

loss of consciousness, cardiac

arrest, blood pressure

fluctuations or drops requiring

medical intervention) or new

ischemic ST-T wave changes on

an electrocardiogram in two or

more contiguous leads; AND (11) a

rise and tall of cardia enzyme

that includes a mse in serun

creatine kinase MB (CK-MB) to

greater than two times the upper

limit of normal (based on the

individual’s laboratory norma!

range) or a rise 1n serum cardia

troponin greater tnan two time

the upper limit of normal tha

oiven laboratory consider

diagnostic for infarctions. (In the

event that the laboratory record

do not reflect the norma!

liagnostic range for troponin that

utilized by that pecifi

laboratory, a rise in the troponir

to greater than 1.5 ng/ml] shall be

deemed CO indicate ad mvocardla

infarction.)

i

+

A] event n< a mvyocarala

infarction under definition No

Or } above if myocardia!}

infarction is ruled out a a

diagnosis un the dischargs

summary or by an_ in-house

cardiology consult at the time of

the event, or the final diagnos}

angina or unstable ang1!

xe). purpost¢ )] thi (Orde!

Sudden Cardia Death (SCD)

defined asa witnessed instantaneou

near-instantaneo

one hour of non diagnosti Symptoms, Oo!

in unwitnessed unexpected udden

deatt In which criterla lor a fatal

coronary. cerebrovascular event or other

iu revent are not met

} y | rp i ( )Y y ?

Iischen >t tro} lefined

n or ad narge dlagnos)

ntemporaneous medical record

if an ischemic stroke or ischemi«

cerebrovascular event or accident

e., 1schemlk troke Intrac}) ial

thrombos! cerebral emt m

thrombotic troke, embolic troke

icunar infarct, lacunar stroke

thromboti« occlusion

cerebrovascular event or accident

that is not a primary hemorrhagic

vent. and cerebral! infarction: or

d hemorrhag { ke that l

e( ndary | Lne rry previou ly

tec) 7

li tne I i Y } narve qd) rmnO

lent a to whnetner or not

laimant had an Ischemic Stroke

diagnosis or affirmative finding

the CONveTMNporaneou medica!

lization related to th

vent, an independent diagno

by a treating neurologist tnat

t ? rT) ‘ t [ "4

a

Kivent 1ot Ischen

% de

I 3% re YG {

iccident is ruled out

lliagnosis in tne discha)

1+ 4 1241

urologist within 1 day

qischarge Iron tI

} a ne, eer ; P

yOSpitalizatl r ¢

e Event

I rri

hemorrhagi

ePreprova L] ‘

tne qliagnosi tne

mscnarge summary or Dy

’ 4 . - “a “Ee

reating neurologist witnl

{1 days of discharge fro)

the hospitalization related

transient ischemic attack 1:

the diagnosis in the

discharge summary or 1s

the diagnosis of a treating

14 day:

yf discharge from the

neurologist with

hospitalization related Oo

the Event

[\ PENALTIES FOR FRAUD AND

DECEPTION

— Siw send . i ] : _++ . h

ANY fialntliil (and nis r ner attorneys) wno

ubmits false or intentionally misleading information

or otherwise attempts to satisfy the documentation

requirements of this Order through any form of

deception, dishonesty or fraud shall be subj to

appropriate sanctions (including monetary sanctions

] }

and costs) and dismissal with prey

Fed. R. Civ. P

ce Nur ] 1t 1

New Orleans, Louisiana, this

day of 2007.

ELDON EF. FALLON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGI

A-19

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

KASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Inre: VIOXX * MDL Docket No. 1657

x

PRODUCTS :

LIABILITY ,

LITIGATION ad SECTION L

JUDGE FALLON

THIS DOCUMENT

RELATED TO

ALL CASES

° MAG. JUDGE

? KNOWLES

PRETRIAL ORDER NO. 29

Rules and Procedures Relating to

All Cases Filed or Transferred On or After

November 9, 2007

This Order applies to all plaintiffs who file

personal injury claims directly in, or whose claims

are transferred into, MDL Docket No. 1657 on or

after November 9, 2007 (“Post 11.09 Plaintiffs”).

Persons who represent themselves pro se in this

proceeding shall comply fully with all obligations

required of counsel by this Order, unless otherwise

stated

I. PRESERVATION NOTICE

REQUIREMENT

\ Pnor to filing a claim, counsel or if a

plaintiff is proceeding pro. se, the

plaintiff shall be responsible for

ensuring that all records in_ the

possession of the plaintiffs’ pharmacies

and healthcare providers as described in

paragraph (8B) below’ have © been

preserved, collected and reviewed

Within thirty (380) days of agreeing to

accept a client for purposes of pursuing

Vioxx litigation, counsel shall notify the

individuals or entities listed below in

Paragraph B, by registered mail, that

they may have records relevant to the

putative plaintiff's (“Plaintiff or

Plaintiffs”) claim In this MDL

proceeding (“Claim”) and that any

records relating to the Plaintiff must be

preserved pursuant to Pretrial Order No

l entered by this Court on February 17,

2005 (the “Notice’), pending collection

by the Plaintiff. Plaintiffs proceeding

pro se must notify the individuals or

‘>

entities listed below in Paragraph

within thirty (30) days of filing an action

\

A-2]

All Pharmacies that dispensed

any medications to the Plaintiff

for the period from January l,

1995 to the present;

All) Physicians, Medical Facilities,

other Healthcare Providers and/or

others persons (“other Providers’)

who Plaintiff claims provided any

samples of Vioxx to the Plaintiff;

All Physicians, Medical Facilities

and/or other Healthcare Providers

who prescribed Vioxx for the

Plaintiff;

All Physicians and/or’ other

Healthcare Providers who treated

Plaintiff for the period from

January 1, 1995 to the present:

and

lf Plaintiff is seeking lost wages,

all of his/her employers for the

period from three years prior to

the date for which he/she is

seeking lost wages through the

last day for which Plaintiff or

Claimant is seeking lost wages

copy ol Pre frnal Order No

(Paragraph 13 Preservation of

Evidence) shall be attached to the

Notice and all copies of the Notice shaj)

be preserved by Counsel for Plaintiff for

so long as the claim remains pending in

this Proceeding.

Within ten (10) days of filing a claim,

Plaintiff shall serve a statement listing

the names and addresses. of all

individuals or entities to which Notices

were sent, along with copies of the

Notices and a signed certification that

the Notices were sent as required by

this Order. Service shall be made in

accordance with the service procedures

of PTO No. 8 and paragraphs 5 through

7 of PTO 18C.

Plaintiffs who fail to fully comply with

the requirements of this Order shall be

fiven notice by e-mail or fax from

Defendants’ Liaison Counsel or his

designee and shall be provided thirty

(30) additional days to cure such

deficiency (“Cure Period”). No other

extensions will be granted. If Plaintiff

fails to cure the deficiency within the

Cure Period, Defendant’s — Liaison

Counsel shall file a Motion to Show

Cause why the claim should not be

dismissed with prejudice. Plaintiff shall

thereupon have thirty (30) days to

respond to the Notice to Show Cause.

Any failure to respond to the Motion

within the required period of time shall

lead to the dismissal of the claim with

prejudice, except for good cause shown.

oe Plaintiff may not seek to introduce into

evidence at tmal any document or

information asserting that Vioxx was

dispensed by a pharmacy or that Vioxx

was provided to the Plaintiff as a

sample if a Notice were not sent to the

Plaintiffs pharmacy, physician, other

healthcare provider and/or Other

Provider as required by this Order,

except upon leave of court for good cause

shown. A Plaintiff who fails to comply

with this Order may also be subject to

other sanctions or orders.

IT. DISCOVERY REQUIREMENTS

A. Within forty-five (45) days of filing his

or her claim in this MDL, or within

forty-five (45) days of their case being

transferred (measured from the date of

filiung with this Court of the Transfer

Order issued by the Judicial Panel on

Multicistrict Litigation) or removed

(measured from the date of filing with

this Court of the Notice of Removal) to

this MDL, all Post 11.09 Plaintiffs who

claim to have suffered an injury as a

result of the use of Vioxx must produce

the following information:

A-24

All pharmacy records regarding

the dispensing of drugs to the

Plaintiff for the period from

January 1, 1995 to the present,

along with a signed certification

from the respective pharmacy or

pharmacies indicating that the

production is complete.

All medical records relating to the

Plaintiff from all healthcare

providers requested in_ the

Amended and Supplemental

Plaintiff Profile Form for the

period from January 1, 1995 to

the present, along with a signed

certification from each Healthcare

Provider who has records relating

to the Plaintiff indicating that all

records in the possession, custody

or control of the Provider have

been produced

If any death is claimed, a

statement to that effect along

with a copy of the death

certificate and autopsy report, 1

one was performed

An Amended and Supplemental

Plaintiff Profile Form (attached

as Exhibit A), records requested

therein. and executed

A Zo

Authorizatiens for Release of

Records pursuant to PTO 18A, B

or C, as applicable. Service by

Plaintiffs shall be made _ in

accordance with the © service

procedures of PTO No. 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

IBC. Service by Claimants shail

be made on Susan Giamportone

at Womble Carlyle Sandrige &

Rice, PLLC

Answers to the Interrogatories set

our in Exhibit B. Service by

Plaintiffs shall be made _ in

accordance with the © service

procedures of PTO No. 8 and

paragraphs 5 through 7 of PTO

18C. Service by Claimants shall

be made on Susan Giamportone

at Womble Carlyle Sandrige &

Rice, PLLC

An affidavit signed by the

Plaintiff @) attesting that records

have been collected from all

pharmacies that dispensed drugs

to, or for, the plaintiff; (i)

attesting that all medical records

described in paragraph (2) above

have been collected; (an) attesting

that all records collected

pursuant to subparagraphs (1), (2)

and (3) have been’ produced

\-26

pursuant to the Order, along with

an index or list identifying the

source of the records; and (iv)

citing the specific page of the

medical records containing the

diagnosis of the alleged injury.

A Rule 26(a)(2) case-specific

expert report from a medical

expert attesting (1) that the

Plaintiff suffered an injury and (11)

that Vioxx caused the injury. The

case-specific expert report must

include (1) an explanation of the

bases of the attestation that

Vioxx caused the plaintiff to

suffer the injury; (11) an

identification of any other causes

that were considered in

formulating the opinion; (ali) a

description of the specific injuries

allegedly suffered: (iv) a

description of the specific medical

findings that support the

diagnosis of those injuries; and (v)

an identification of all documents

relied on by the expert in forming

his Opinions.

lf any of the documents described in

paragraphs A (1), (2) and (3) do not exist,

the Plaintiff shall state that fact in his

or her affidavit and the reason why they

do not exist and provide a certified “No

Records Statement” from the pharma

or healthcare provider

Plaintiffs who fail to fully comply with

the requirements of this Order shall be

given notice by e-mail or fax from

Defendants’ Liaison Counsel or hi:

designee and shall be provided thirty

(30) additional days to cure’ such

deficiency (“Cure Period”). No other

extensions will be granted, except for

good cause shown. If Plaintiff fails to

cure the deficiency within the Cure

Period, Defendant's Liaison Counsel

shall fue a Modem to Show Cause why

the claim should not be dismissed with

prejudice. Plaintiff shall thereupon hav:

thirty (30) days to respond to the Notice

to Show Cause. Any failure to respond

to the Motion within the required period

of time shal] lead to the dismissal of the

laim with prejudice

Nothing in this Order abrogate:

replaces each Plaintiff's obligation to

submit the Plaintiff Profile Form

authorizations, and other material

required under Pretrial Order 18C. The

Plaintiff need not re-submit a Plaintiff

Profile Form if one has already been

submitted with respect to his or he

claim

| ( ) ’( )

PLAINTIFFS

: f rt ! ‘

} , ~ + } {) rc Ve {

Prior peptember 39 ZUU04

approximately 100 lawsuit nad

been filed against Merck & Co. by

plaintiffs alleging variou

Wnyurie

from the use of

4 A 7

Vioxx. In New

Jersey an Order 10) peen

entered O} May (0). 2003

establishing a coordinated

proceeding for Vioxx htigants and

on September 30. 2002. an Order

vas entered in California for the

ime purp

} pept mbde} 18, (O04 Mi re

Vithdrew Vioxx from the market

The withdrawal of Vioxx led te

tensive publicity nationwide 11

newspapers and magazines, on

elevision and radio

ie Internet. While plaintiff

ounse!] had xTte

and acro

nsivel

idavertised eeKIng chent

pursu¢ laim against Mercl

relating to the use of Vio before

pt m he MVOA {

t

+ —

os ~

P ~

oo — ~~

—_ ss

< = _ ~~ + a ~~ sis a

2 . » ee 1 — I a we , —_

¥ = om re - — t ~ — «

> - - > ~ A ~ a

an “ > - hn _— » = _ A - >

’ + > -—— + ~ — gid - naa — + o ¢

“ _ + “ " 4 _— we — ~ »

, > _ - ~ _

al - as ar _ > < as

- “ = 4 ae = S < = —_ >

— = +> - . 2 _

. ~ — -» aa - aN ~~ — = ~ ~ a“

“ Peg ~_— — > ~ ~~ a“ _ = ~

“a - < 1 e - _ ae as < - _ ~ on - ~ - ~

= > ws a = —e eo . -

ne » < - _ _ ~ Ae >

. << . ear - - » a“ - ~ - ‘ =

4 ~~ — . a > 4 —_~ » —

. = - = . a

— ~ “ —d _ _ ~ > -

4 C . « ond -

. < + . < a - » — a ) ~ —~

= 4 + — + + =

_~ - ben . a ~ — -

— ~~ » - = ~

e “ “ - » <

> - a » ~ _ ™ - aaa 4

4 a ‘ ~ - o ae - “ 4 “ ~ _ “ >

s - 7 > rn . ~~ —_ ~ — ~ —"

- = £ t . of , °

— aut ~ ~ ~ A 2 — “ ~ ne gue a _— - =

J ~ } ~ 1 « - 7 C eal

° -— _— + > >

< ~ _ = 4 a ~ > 7 - — et o

> _ ~ _ od 4 = . = - =’ = —

¥ _ cite = 3 “ = = -

— ~ ont ~ - “ an — a = 7 - - —

-T- - - s -

: . . 7 a ¥

t Fe

| Tne

S Ie

be hal

aersi

TY

rir:

|

> > | , > 7

Lil Lia \ ii «

DY neine iQ Y)

> rigivpiny Cialll

nts 1n persona

be compe ated

yn the lawyer

re over\ |

y +} — 4

P .

7 } ’

Darticula

, A io 7

ae ,

Wi

. .

. 4

y ' x ’ ’ y°

I} ‘ © Simil

+ «+ +a ro +

— y ze,

) Ort iLi-at

}

"

Uaily

xpens

’

+ =e + cy

ne riy Stages. 1]

ry -

ooa tnatl pre

‘ ot t =

t I RALIUIT

PYNHEN

PCI

‘ ri? C > . }

id mil | a

{

‘ y

defendants may take a long time

and much effort

However, the cost and risk

inherent in prosecuting the first

series of claims in a large-scale

pharmaceutical tort is not the

Same throughout the btigati nN

because of the extensive publicity

and extensive advertising that

followed the withdrawal of Vioxx,

users of Vioxx (and their lawyers)

have had ample notice of the

possibility that they may have a

claim against Merck in connection

with their use of the drug. The

uncertainty of the number of

potential claims in a litigation of

this magnitude makes the

management of this proceeding

exceedingly difficult both for the

parties and the Court

The Vioxx litigation is an extremely

mature litigation. To date, MDL and

state court lawyers have tried 17 cases

and taken over 1,800 depositions; more

)

than 50 mullion pages of documents

have been produced, and an enormous

volume of electronic data, and

substantial Third Party discovery has

curred. Because of this extensive work

done by the PSC and certain state court

lawyers, the cost of litigating Vioxx

claims has been substantially reduced

Given the extensive amount of discovery

and trial preparation that has been

undertaken and already achieved as

well as the work on, and lessons learned

from, bellwether trials conducted in this

Court and others over the last several

years counsel filing new claims can

reasonably expect to expend much less

time and resources prosecuting those

cases than counsel who have. been

involved in those proceedings from the

beginning, and I encourage counsel to

consider such disparity in negotiating

IV. PENALTIES FOR FRAUD AND

DECEPTION

Any Plaintiff (and his or her attorneys) whi

submits false or intentionally misleading information,

or otherwise attempts to satisfy the documentation

requirements of this Order through any form of

deception, dishonesty or fraud shall be subject to

appropriate sanctions (including monetary sanctions

and costs) and dismissal! with prejudice pursuant to

Fed. R Civ. P. 37. Post 11.09 Plaintiffs who fail to

fully comply with the requirements of this Order may

be subject to sanctions and dismissal of their claims

pursuant to Fed. R. C

New Orleans, Louisiana, this day ef

November, 2007.

~

'

ve

—_

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Inre: VIOXX * MDL Docket No. 1657

*

PRODUCTS al

LIABILITY *

LITIGATION * SECTION L

*

* JUDGE FALLON

This document *

related to: *

ALL CASES * MAG. JUDGE

* KNOWLES

*

* * * *

PRETRIAL ORDER NO. 30

Having reviewed the Resolution Program

agreement entered into by the PSC and Merck on

November 9, 2007, the Court finds that with some

exceptions, further activity in this MDL proceeding

should be stayed temporarily in order to give each

eligible plaintiff, with the advice of counsel, sufficient

time to determine whether it is in his or her best

interest to participate in the Resolution Program,

and to give counsel sufficient time to comprehend the

Resolution Program and advise thei clients

accordingly.

A-386

Accordingly, the Court hereby QRDERS as

follows.

e All activities in this MDL _ proceeding

GQneluding all activities in each case in

which a plaintiff is eligible to participate in

the Resolution Pregram) are hereby stayed

pending further order of this Court, except

as follows:

The stay shall not apply to cases

currently pending in this proceeding

that are not eligible for participation in

the Resolution Program, but only to the

extent that plaintiffs are required to

engage in certain discovery and other

pretrial actavities by Pretrial Order 28,

entered by this Court on November 9,

2007.

The stay shal] not apply to any cases in

this proceeding (or that may be later

transferred into this proceeding) filed on

or after November 9, 2007, but only to

the extent that plaintiffs are required to

engage in certain discovery and other

pretrial activities by Pretrial Order 29,

entered by this Court on November 9Q,

2007.

This Order shall not operate to stay the

various de bene esse depositions that the

parties previously scheduled, including

the discovery depositions related thereto.

Such depositions will be important to

the outcome of this htigation, regardless

of whether individual plaintiffs choose

to participate in the Resolution Program.

e At the appropriate time, the Court intends

to issue a further order lifting this stay with

respect to the eligible plaintiffs who decide

not to participate in the Resolution Program

Further, the Court will consider motions to

lift the stay with respect to specific

activities in this litigation upon good cause

shown.

ITISSO ORDERED.

pew

New Orleans, Louisiana, this (

November, 2007.

ELDON E. FALLON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

A-38

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

In re: VIOXX * MDL Docket No. 1657

.

PRODUCTS *

LIABILITY *

LITIGATION x SECTION L

‘

“ JUDGE FALLON

* MAG. JUDGE

* KNOWLES

* x **k * *

THIS DOCUMENT RELATES TO ALL CASES

PRETRIAL ORDER No. 31

(Registration of Claims)

The Court hereby orders as follows’ with

respect to the registration of claims:

(1) The Court hereby orders the

registration of claims as follows:

(a) All Counsel of Record in

this proceeding shall be responsible for

designating Primary Counsel for any claim

pending in this coordinated proceeding in

which they have an Interest (as defined below

in paragraph 5) and that Primary Counsel

A-39

shall register such claims in accordance with

this Order.

(b) All Counsel of Record in

this proceeding who have at any time

submitted a request for tolling for a claimant

(hereinafter “Tolling Claimant”) pursuant to

the Notice of Filing of Tolling Agreement

which was filed in Federal Multidistrict

Litigation No. 1657 on June 9, 2005

(hereinafter “Tolling Agreement”) © shall

designate Primary Counsel for each Tolling

Claimant's claims, and that Primary Counsel

shall register such claims in accordance with

this Order.

(c) All Counsel of Record with

claims pending in this_ proceeding = shall

register (or ensure that other attorneys

register) all claims in which they have an

Interest (as defined below in Paragraph 5) that

are pending in any court or other tribunal in

the United States.

(d) All persons who represent

themselves pro se in this proceeding shall

register their claims in_ accordance with

Paragraph 4 below.

(2) The registration of claims’ by

counsel shall be provided in the form of a

Registration Affidavit and its Exhibit 1, altogether

set forth as Exhibit A to this Order. Counsel shall

provide the intormation required by Exhibit A

completely and accurately. The form shall provide

the information required as of (a) October 1, 2007, (b)

November 9, 2007, and (c) the date on which the

Registration Affidavit is served and filed. The

A-40

Registration Affidavit shall be filed no later than

January 15, 2008.

(3) Registration Affidavits, along

with their exhibits, shall be served on Defendant

Merck & Co., Ine. (“Merk”), the Executive

Committee to the Plaintiffs’ Steering Committee

(“PEC”), and the Claims Administrator.

(4) Persons who represent

themselves pro se in this proceeding shall complete

the Pro Se Registration Affidavit attached hereto as

Exhibit B and shall serve Defendant Merck, PEC,

and the Claims Administrator, by no later than

January 15, 2008.

(5) Counsel shall be deemed to have

an “Interest” in the claim of a Plaintiff or Tolling

Claimant if Counsel or any person affiliated with, or

related in any way to, Counsel: (a) has an

engagement or retainer agreement with such

Plaintiff or Tolling Claimant; (b) is listed as _ the

counsel of record for such Plaintiff in filed pleadings

related to Vioxx; (c) has entered a Tolling Claimant

into a Tolling Agreement; (d) has entered an

appearance for such Plaintiff or Tolling Claimant in

any legal action related to Vioxx; (e) would benefit

directly or indirectly from any payment to settle any

claim of such Plaintiff or Tolling Claimant connected

with Vioxx; or (f) otherwise has any financial interest

of any kind whatsoever in any claim of such Plaintiff

or Tolling Claimant connected with Vioxx.

(6) Primary Counsel shall file the

Registration Affidavit and its Exhibit 1 in the

manner applicable in this coordinated proceeding for

filing documents with the Court under seal. Pro Se

Claimants shall do likewise with respect to their Pro

Se Registration Affidavit. Primary Counsel shall also

A-4]

serve the Registration Affidavit and its Exhibit 1 on

Merck, the PEC, and the Claims Administrator via

electronic mail. Specifically, Primary Counsel shall

attach three files to a_ single electronic mail

message—(i) the executed Registration Affidavit in

Adobe pdf format; (ii) Exhibit 1 to the Registration

Affidavit in Excel format; and (iii) a certification of

service in Adobe pdf format—and send that message

to the following addresses:

a. For Merck:

registration@hugheshubbard.com

b. For the PEC: rherman@hhkc.com

C, For the Claims Administrator:

claimsadmin@browngreer.com

(7) The subject line in the email

should state: “Registration Affidavit and Exhibit 1 for

[insert name of firm]. Pro Se Claimants shall serve

their Registration Affidavits on Merck, PEC and the

Claims Administrator at the above email addresses

If the Pro Se Claimant does not have access to email,

the Plaintiff or Tolling Claimant shall send the

Registration Affidavit via U.S. Mail postmarked no

later than January 8, 2008 to:

Claims Administrator

115 8. 15th Street

Suite 400

Richmond, VA 23219-4209

Main Number: 804.521.7200

(8) Primary Counsel and Pro Si

Claimants must certify in heu of oath [pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1746] that the information contained in the

Registration Affidavit is true and correct to his or her

knowledge. Intentionally incomplete or misleading

responses shall subject Primary Counsel and Pro Se

Claimants to sanctions.

(9) Primary Counsel shall serve a

revised Registration Affidavit and Exhibit 1 when he

or she acquires or loses his or her Interest in a

Plaintiffs or Tolling Claimant’s claim, when he or

she becomes Primary Counsel or ceases to be

Primary Counsel, or when because of changed

circumstances his or her Registration Affidavit

otherwise becomes materially untrue, in whole or in

part. In such instances, Primary Counsel must serve

a true and correct Registration Affidavit within 30

days of the changed circumstances. The revised

Registration Affidavit shall identify all Plaintiffs and

Tolling Claimants in whose claims Primary Counsel

has an Interest as of the date that he or she executes

the Registration Affidavit. This obligation § shall

terminate on September 1, 2008.

(10) The Court expects all Counse!

and all Pro Se Plaintiffs and Tolling Claimants to

comply with this Order. Failure to meet the

requirements of this Order by the deadlines set

herein will subject non-compliant Counsel to a show

cause hearing as to why they have not complied with

this Order and as to why claims in which they have

an Interest should not be dismissed

Registration Affidavit

j I dal

itted to practice law 1n the state ol!

The nan ire I |

}

4 T } } ‘

| ] K ¢ tT? ertificat f : lant t 4

.

etrial ()rdey \ ( rere? ] itne irrent

ord nated proceed ni

Kixhibl i to this certlilcation contalns a

} 1. ‘ P ,

of all of the Plaintiffs and/or

}

complete hi

Interest” and

along with a

true ana

Tolling Claimants in which I have an

for whom | am “Primary

notation of all firms with n Interest in

t ()ctober 9007

ertiyy unde? pe iit I !

; a re ne Trile 1corre

( ‘

OR

other

cases

terms

myself and al

on behalf of m:

counsel with an Interest in the

listed in Exhibit 1, agree to the

of the MSA and will recommend

all Plaintiffs and/or Tolling Claimants

listed

1}

on Exhibit I should enroll in the

Program

a

, dO not agree to the terms

of the MSA and will not recommend that

any of the Plaintiffs and/or

Tolling Claimants listed on Exhibit

enroll

in the Program

A-46

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

IN RE: VIOXX MDL NO. 1657

PRODUCTS

LIABILITY

LITIGATION SECTION: L

JUDGE FALLON

MAG. JUDGE

KNOWLES

THIS DOCUMENT RELATES TO:

David Agard, et al. v. Merck & Co., 05-1089

Glenn Dier, et al. v. Merck & Co., 05-1088

Adnan Aljibory, et al. v. Merck & Co., 05-1090

Rosemary Holobosky, et al. v. Merck

& Co., 05-1091

Marjorie Connolly, et al. v. Merck & Co., 06-2708

Marilyn Core, et al. v. Merck & Co., 05-2583

Carlo Devincentiis, et al., v. Merck

& Co., 05-2297

Kathleen Hoffner, et al. v. Merck & Co., 06-2238

Robert D. Gates, et al. v. Merck & Co., 05-6221

ORDER & REASONS

Before the Court are certain Plaintiffs’ Motion

for Miscellaneous Relief (Rec. Doc. 14938) and Motion

for a Stay (Rec. Doc. 16803). For the foilowing

reasons, both motions are DENIED.

I. BACKGROUND

On November 9, 2007, the parties announced

the establishment of a Vioxx Resolution Program

that encompasses all claims that allege a_ heart

attack, sudden cardiac death, or stroke.! Also on that

date, the Court entered two pre-trial orders requiring

Plaintiffs to provide certain information to Merck by

certain deadlines. Pre-Trial Order No. 28 (“PTO 28”)

requires. all plaintiffs and tolling agreement

claimants with claims pending as of November 9,

2007, to produce specified information regarding

their claims if they are not eligible for or have not

submitted their claims to the Vioxx Resolution

Program. Under PTO 28, plaintiffs and _ tolling

agreement claimants must provide case-specific

expert reports to Merck by certain dates based on the

first letter of the plaintiffs last name. Plaintiffs

whose last names begin with the letters A through L

were initially required to submit this information by

May 1, 2008, and plaintiffs whose last names begin

For a more detailed factual background

describing the events that took place before the

inception of this Multidistrict Litigation, see Jn re

Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 401 F. Supp. 2d 565 (E.D.

La. 2005) (resolving Daubert challenges to a number

of expert witnesses). For a more detailed factual

background describing the terms of the Vioxx Master

Settlement Agreement and the events that took place

after the parties reached a settlement, see Jn re Vioxx

Prods. Liab. Litig.,. MDL No. 1657, 2008 WL 3285912

(E.D. La. Aug. 7, 2008) (denying third-party payors’

motions to enjoin interim payments).

A-49

with the letters L through Z were initially required to

submit this information by July 1, 2008. Pre-Trial

Order No. 29 imposes similar requirements on

plaintiffs whose claims are filed or transferred to the

MDL after November 9, 2007.

On December 10, 2007, certain plaintiffs (the

“Benjamin Plaintiffs”), all of whom are represented

by attorney Ronald Benjamin, appealed Pre-Trial

Order No. 28 to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit. The Benjamin Plaintiffs sought

to have the Fifth Circuit vacate the Court’s

requirement that plaintiffs’ counsel produce case-

specific expert reports. On March 28, 2008, the Fifth

Circuit dismissed the Benjamin Plaintiffs’ appeal

without an opinion. See In re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig.,

Case No. 07-31164 (5th Cir. March 28, 2008) (per

curlam).

On Apnil 17, 2008, certain other plaintiffs (the

“Oldfather Plaintiffs”) filed a motion to suspend or

modify the requirements of Pre-Trial Order No. 28.

The Oldfather Plaintiffs argued that PTO 28's

requirements were premature as to those plaintiffs

who alleged injuries for which the PSC had not yet

developed general causation expert reports. With

respect to plaintiffs who were eligible for the Vioxx

Settlement Program, the Oldfather Plaintiffs argued

that PTO 28 did not provide sufficient time to

develop expert reports or seek new counsel. In

essence, the Oldfather Plaintiffs contended that PTO

28 “is unfair and unilaterally slanted in favor of

Merck, both in general and specific causation.” See In

re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 557 F. Supp. 2d 741, 743

(E.D. La. 2008).

On May 30, 2008, the Court issued an Order &

Reasons (the “May 30th Order’) denying in part and

A-50

granting in part the Oldfather Plaintiffs’ motion to

vacate PTO 28. Id. In the Court’s May 30th Order,

the Court explained that PTO 28 “is a type of pre-

trial order commonly known as a Lone Pine order,”

and that “[t]he United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit has recognized the value of and

approved the use of Lone Pine orders in mass tort

litigation.” /d. (citing Acuna v. Brown & Root, Inc.,

200 F.3d 335, 340 (5th Cir. 2000) (holding that it is

within a district court’s discretion to issue a Lone

Pine scheduling order that essentially requires the

production of “information that plaintiffs should have

had before filing their claims’)). In lhght of the

advanced stage of the Vioxx htigation, the Court

found that PTO 28 was appropriate and that, after

nearly a decade of discovery, “it is not too much to

ask a Plaintiff to provide some kind of evidence to

support their claim that Vioxx caused them personal

injury, whether the injury be deep vein thrombosis, a

heart attack, an ulcer, or some other malady.” /d.:

)

‘The Court explained that a Lone Pine order

was particularly appropriate given the advanced

stage of the Vioxx litigation, both in the federal MDL

and the state courts:

{IIn the present case, a Lone Pine

order may not have been appropriate

at an earlher stage before any

discovery had taken place since little

was known about the structure,

nature and effect of Vioxx by anyone

other than perhaps the manufacturer

of the drug. But this case is no longer

(cont a)

(cé nt'd from previous page)

in its embryonic stage. It has existed

In state courts for over seven years

and in this Court for over three years,

and much discovery has taken place....

For xearly a decade, Plaintiffs’ counsel

throughout the country have been

studying, exploring, and discovering

all of the effects of Vioxx on the

human body. In this MDL, the PSC

did not selectively discovery only MI’s

or strokes, but rather they conducted

general discovery on the effects Vioxx

may or may not have on individuals.

All of this material is and has been

available to counsel in the individual

Cases.

The Court finds that at this

advanced stage of the litigation, it is

not too much to ask a Plaintiff to

provide some kind of evidence to

support their claim that Vioxx caused

them personal injury, whether that

injury be deep vein thrombosis, a

heart attack, an ulcer, or some other

malady. Surely if Plaintiffs’ counsel

beheve that such claims have merit,

thev must have some basis for that

belief; after al! this time it its

reasonable to require Plaintiffs to

come forward and show some kind of

basic evidence of specific causation.

In re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 557 F. Supp. 2d at 744

A-52

Accordingly, the Court denied the Oldfather

Plaintiffs’ request to vacate PTO 28. To ensure that

all plaintiffs had a fair opportunity to comply with

the requirements of PTO 28, however, the Court

granted the Oldfather Plaintiffs’ request to extend

the deadlines for providing case-specific expert

reports, allowing that claimants whose last names

begin with the letters A though IL should submit

reports by July 1, 2008, whereas claimants whose

last names begin with the letters M though Z should

submit reports by August 1, 2008

II. PRESENT MOTIONS

On June 30, 2008, the Benjamin Plaintiffs filed

a motion seeking miscellaneous relief, including,

inter alia: (1) the Court’s resignation as Chief

Administrator of the Vioxx Master Settlement

Agreement; (2) an order vacating the Vioxx Master

Settlement Agreement because it is 1n fact a class

settlement subject to the requirements of Rule 23; (3)

an amendment to PTO 28 to allow for alternate forms

of proof or to extend the deadlines for submission of

expert reports; (4) an order lifting the stay of

discovery imposed by PTO 28; and (5) an order

vacating Pre-Trial Order No. 37, which sets forth the

terms of access to the PSC tmal package. The

Benjamin Plaintiffs have also filed a motion to stay

any further orders of dismissal based on PTO 28

pending the Court’s decision on their motion for

miscellaneous relief. Both the Plaintiffs’ Steering

Committee and Merck have filed responses in

opposition to the Benjamin Plaintiffs’ motion. The

Court will now address each of the Benjamin

Plaintiffs’ arguments in turn

A-53

WI. LAW & ANALYSIS

A. Motion for the Court’s Resignation

as Chief Administrator of tie Vioxx

Master Settlement Agreement

First, the Benjamin Plaintiffs seek the Court’s

resignation as Chief Administrator of the Vioxx

Master Settlement Agreement. Accord ng to the

Benjamin Plaintiffs, the Court should resign its role

as Chief Administrator of the Settlement in part

because the Court “is duty bound to exclude from

compensation under the MSA the same injuries that

are being pursued by plaintiffs in MDL 1657, and

will have to rule on the viability of those injuries in

the tort system.” The Benjamin Plaintiffs offer no

meaningful legal basis for their request. To the

extent that the Benjamin Plaintiffs’ motion might be

interpreted as seeking judicial recusal pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 455, however, the request is without merit.

Title 28, United States Code, Section 455

provides that a judge “shall disqualify himself in any

proceeding in which his” impartiality § might

reasonably be questioned.” 28 U.S.C. § 455. The Fifth

Circuit has explained that recusal under § 455 is

warranted only in those cases in which a “reasonable

man, were he to know all the circumstances, would

harbor doubts about the judge’s impartiality.” /Q

Prods. Co. v. Pennzoil Prods. Co., 305 F.3d 368, 378

(5th Cir. 2002). The facts of the instant case do not

warrant recusal. As Chief Administrator of the Vioxx

Master Settlement Agreement, the Court serves in

an administrative capacity that has no substantive

effect on its management of the MDL proceedings.

A-54

See In re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., MDL No. 1657,

2008 WL 4091672, at *2 (E.D. La. Aug. 27, 2008)

(explaining that the Court “has consistently exercised

its inherent authority over the MDL proceedings in

coordination with its express authority under the

terms of the Settlement Agreement to ensure that

the settlement proceedings move forward in a

uniform and efficient manner’). The Court played no

role in drafting the private settlement agreement

reached by the parties; the Court has taken no

position as to what types of claims should or should

not have been included in the settlement; and, finally,

the Court has consistently stated that it neither

encourages nor discourages participation in the

settlement. Accordingly, the motion for the Court’s

resignation is without merit.

B. Motion to Vacate the Master

Settlement Agreement Pursuant to

Rule 23

Second, the Benjamin Plaintiffs argue that the

Vioxx Master Settlement Agreement should be

vacated because the private, contractual agreement

is in fact a class settlement subject to the

requirements set forth in Rule 23. The Plaintiffs

argue, among other things, that they were not

adequately represented in the settlement discussions

and that the settlement does not protect their

individual interests.

The Benjamin Plaintiffs’ reliance on Rule 23 is

misplaced. This Court has previously denied class

certification of personal injury Vioxx cases. See In re

Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 239 F.R.D. 450, 462-63 (E.D.

La. 2006) (finding that the “number, uniqueness,

singularity, and complexity of the factual scenario

surrounding each case swamp any predominating

issues’). Unlike a class settlement, the MSA is a

private, opt-in settlement that was not secured

through a settlement class vehicle and therefore

poses no risk of binding any unwilling plaintiff to it:

terms. Despite the Benjamin Plaintiffs’ rather

unspectacular argument that plaintiffs’ lead counsel

may not bind the litigants in an MDL to a settlement

agreement, the Benjamin Plaintiffs are unable to

show how in fact they are “bound” by the terms of thi

private, opt-in settlement they seek to vacate

Lacking any support for their argument in legal

precedent, the Benjamin Plaintiffs appear to base

their request more on their own individual desire to

rewrite the terms of the settlement. Accordingly, the

motion to vacate 1s denied

C. Motion to Modify Pre-Trial Order

No. 28 to Allow for Alternate Forms

of Proof or to Extend the Deadlines

for Submission of Expert Reports

Third, the Benjamin Plaintiffs seek an orde:

amending Pre-Trial Order No. 28 to allow fo:

alternate forms of proof or to extend the deadlines fo)

submission of expert reports. The Benjamin Plaintiff

propose two alternate forms of proof in lieu of case

specific expert reports: first, an attorney affirmation

that the plaintiff has an expert who will opine that

the plaintiffs injury was in fact causally related to

Vioxx; or, second, a single affirmation opining a

causal relationship between ingestion of Vioxx and

the plaintiffs’ non-eligible injuries. Alternatively, the

Benjamin Plaintiffs seek an extension of th

deadlines for submission of case-specific expert

reports for Injumes not covered by the MSA The

Benjamin Plaintiffs allege that they were caught by

surprise by PTO 28 because they were under thi

impression thet it was the PSC’s responsibility to

pursue and prepare such information

Although the precise legal basis for the

request is somewhat unclear, the Benjamin Plaintiffs

do claim that their request 1s “injunctive, at least in

part,’ and recite the four requirements for a

preliminary injunction: (1) a substantial lhkelihood of

success on the merits; (2) threat of irreparable injury

if the relief is not granted; (3) injury to the movant

outweighs injury to the non-movant; and (4) granting

relief will serve the public interest. See Enter. Jnt7,

Inc. v. Corporacion Estatal Petrolera Ecuatoriana

162 F.2d 464, 472 (5th Cir. 1985). Nevertheless, it 3

lear that the Plaintiffs do not seek injunctive relief

To the extent that the request might be interpreted

as a motion for injunctive relief, however, the Court

finds that the Plaintiffs have made no showing as to

iny of the four el ley) necessary to ucceed on uch

1reque !

‘Lhe request 1 Imi-arly without merit to the

extent that 1t might be interpreted as a motion fo

reconsideration, “A court's reconsideration of a prior

order 1s an extraordinary remedy which should be

used sparingly.” Motiva knters. LLC v. Wegman, No

00-3096, 2001 WL 246414, at *2 (B.D. La. Mar. 12

2001) Indeed, allowing the _ partie to eek

reconsideration of the Court orders Imply becau e

the parties might individually prefer a different

iad

tor the reasons set forth in the Court's earlher

opinion regarding PTO 28, the Plaintiffs’ argument

rings hollow. See In re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig., 557

l’, Supp. 2d at 743. As the Court explained, Lone Pine

orders such as PTO 28 are intended “to handle the

complex issues and potential burdens on defendant:

and courts in mass tort htigation.” Acuna, 200 F.3d

at 340. By requiring plaintiffs to produce case-specifue

expert reports, PTO 28 enables the Court “to identify

and cull potentially meritless claims and streamline

litigation” in this complex MDL. Baker v. Chevron

USA, Inc., Civ. A. No. 05-227, 2007 WL 315346, at *]

(S.D. Ohio Jan. 30, 2007). The Benjamin Plaintiff:

proposal to substitute alternate methods of proof

would undermine the express purposes of the Lon

Pine order. Similarly, the Plaintiffs’ argument that

PTO 28 imposes unduly burdensome requirements 1

imply not credible. As the Court has previously

explained, “after all this time it is reasonable t

require Plaintiffs to come forward and show the ba

for their behefs and show some kind of basic evidencs

of specific causation.” /n re Vioxx Prods. Liab. Litig

57 F. Supp. 2d at % Under scrutiny, the Benjamiu

Plaintiffs motion ( fro} . amount

nmi pre

,

result would rende) ntire niefing

irrelevant and [would] lead to endle is ti

reconsider. /reeport-McMoran Sulphur, LLC v. Mike

Mullen Energy Equip Re: No. 038-1496, 2004 WI

1488665, at *1 (£.D. La. June 30, 2004). According];

to the extent that . njamin Plaintiffs request

n ight be inte rpret¢ 1 me onsiderati

denied

littie more than a thiniv-vejiled motion to vacate the

rder ' According !\ the motion denied

In connection with their request to amend

the terms of PTO 28, the Benjamin Plaintiffs also

seek an order lifting the stay imposed by PTO 28, a

well as an order vacating PTO 37, which sets forth

the terms for access to the PSC’s trial package. A

the PSC makes clear in its response bnef, however

the Benjamin Plaintiffs are free to “inspect and

photocopy at their expense any non-work product

document available in the depository consistent with

this Court's other pretrial orders but without the

obligation imposed by PTO No. 37.” Accordingly, the

request to vacate PIO 37 is dismissed as moot

Similarly, with respect to the Benjamin Plaintiffs’

request to lift the stay imposed by PTO 28, the

Plaintiffs’ request 1s denied. The Court imposed the

tav of discovery for rood reason and will lift the 1\

tan appropriate time

Both the Plaintiffs’ Steering Committee and

Merck contend that Mr Benjamin} merely

employing ne ame failed discovery Lact that

resulted in dismissal of his chents’ cases in the /n re

Diet Drug litigation. See Jn re Lheg Drugs, 30 Fed

\ppx 27, 2002 WL 272351 at *1 (3d Cir. Feb AS

2002). In that htigation, the Third Circuit affirmed

the district court’s dismissal of Mr. Benjamin’s case

after hi repeatedly refused to comply with the

district court's requirement that plaintiffs produce

case-specific expert reports. In affirming dismissal of

the plaintiffs’ cases, the Third Circuit explained that

cont'd from previous page

the dismissal was warranted given Mr. Ben

litany of discovery abuses

Suffice it to say, appellants hav

been the victim of some bad lawyering

by their trial counsel, Ronald R

Benjamin. Indeed, Benjamin’s discovery

abuses can be summarized as a parade

of obstinance that ultimately cost his

chents their day in court. The origin

Benjamin’s discovery mischief dates

back to October 18, 1999, when cass

specific expert designations were due

Benjamin failed to honor this deadline

Instead, he objected to the need for

disclosure before the District Court

ruled on a related Daubert motion

citing the cost of obtaining expert

reports.

It is not necessary to burden this

Opinion with a recounting of each and

every subsequent instance of Benjamin’s

obstinance. In_ short, counsel had

numerous opportunities to comply with

the District Court’s longstanding

discovery order, yet stubbornly clung to

his argument that he should not have to

designate experts. Neither multiple

express rejections of this. already

rejected argument, nor threats of

dismissal ameliorated counsel's defianc:

to the discovery scheduls

IV. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Benjamu.

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Miscellaneous Relief (Rec. Doc.

14938) and Motion for a Stay (Rec. Doc. 16803) ARE

DENIED.

NI ax .} OY 13 IO YF thn 1 [ A

New Orleans, Loursiana. this U Q Cl

December. 2008.

UNITED STATES DiSTRICT JU

A

248

On August 24, 2000, more than

€

he Special Discovery Master gave

3enjamin yet another chance to do what

1e had, over many months, been ordered

to do. Benjamin failed to seize this

opportunity and the Special Master

recommended dismissal as a sanction

In re Diet Drugs, 30 Fed. Appx. 27, 2002 WL 272351

at *1 (3d Cir. Feb. 26, 2002).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.