Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Morales v. Campbell

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme

p Mm (Court U.S.

10-527 OCT 15 2010

din the

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

HAROLD MORALES,

Petitioner,

ROSANNE CAMPBELL, Warden, Mule Creek State Prison,

and PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Robert Joseph. Beles California Bar no. 41993

Paul Gilruth. McCarthy California Bar no. 189497

1 Kaiser Plaza, Suite 2300

Oakland, California 94612-3642

Tel. No. (510) 836-0100

Fax No. (510) 832-3690

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Is this Court’s decision in Giles v. California, — U.S. —, 128

S. Ct. 2678; 171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008) retroactive to the time

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 124 S.Ct. 1354, 158 L.

Ed. 2d 177 (2004) was decided?

2. Assuming this Court’s decision in Giles v. California is

retroactive to the time Crawford v. Washington was decided,

where Crawford was decided while petitioner’s direct appeal

was still pending, would Giles be applicable to his case?

3. Were the homicide victim’s prior complaints to four law

enforcement officers that petitioner wished to harm or kill her

“testimonial hearsay” under the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendment within the meaning of Crawford v. Washington

and Giles v. California, which could not be introduced into

evidence absent a prior defense opportunity to cross-examine

the victim?

4. Assuming this Court’s decision in Giles v. California is

retroactive to the time Crawford v. Washington was decided,

was the California Court of Appeal’s decision that petitioner

had forfeited his right to cross-examine the victim because he

allegedly killed the victim contrary to or an unreasonable

application of Giles v. California, where there was no evidence

that petitioner killed the victim to prevent her from testifying?

5. Assuming that this Court’s decision in Giles v. California is

not retroactive to the time of Crawford v. Washington, was the

Court of Appeal’s decision that petitioner had forfeited his

right to cross-examine the victim because he allegedly killed

the victim contrary to or an unreasonable application of

Crawford v. Washington, in that Crawford established that this

Court will not recognize any exception to the confrontation

clause that did not exist at the time of the founding of the

Constitution and the Court of Appeal made no attempt to show

that its version of the forfeiture by wrongdoing rule existed at

the time of the founding of the Constitution?

6. Were the admission of the statements subject to the

harmless error rule, and if so, was such admission harmless?

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioner

HAROLD MORALES.

Respondents

ROSANNE CAMPBELL, Warden, Mule Creek State Prison.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA.

TABLE OF CONTENTS AND TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Table of Contents

section page number

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ................0-. i

RAT OF ART PATO qc oo cke 4 554 a ee ee il

TABLE OF CONTENTS AND TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....... ili

Tels OF COMERS ok. ois 6 098 4S eee ee iil

Table of AuscnOVtIOS jw ww 5 5 oc 0 0k 05 os 0 esa Vil

CITATIONS OF THE OFFICLAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF THE

OPINIONS AND ORDERS ENTERED IN THE CASE BY COURTS OR

ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES, ......... 0c cncvccccccccceee 1

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THE SUPREME COURT......... 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES INVOLVED ... J

United States Constitution ......ccscvccnvsnnwtes 1

Pemeren TINE ong kk 8b 0% KAGE Oa wo eee 2

Biate Bias go kh 8 oe eee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE, INCLUDING BASIS OF JURISDICTION IN

TAT CID Cn ck oo ks ER ee 6

iil

section page number

1. Basis of jurisdiction in federal court .............. 6

2. Related and similar cases .................2.42- 6

S. Btatement of the UMee .. .. ho ccc secan |

a. Facts of Conviction and Custody. .............. 7

Ch, Fe AE SPT es hr Se 7

i. Witnesses to the crime ..................5. 7

ik. SCROTAEAING OVIGOTICE kk oe is ee eee 9

ili. Nelva’s prior complaints

to IAW OMTOTCOIMONE. . 0. ce cece eee eies 10

iv. Cothner testimony. . wn occ ev ersenes 12

eg ys ae 14

vi. The trial court’s decision. ..........0.0.00. 15

c. Proceedings in the direct appeal. ............. 17

d. Proceedings in the federal courts. ............ 17

section page number

NE art C02 eat tate aaasaa eng ahs ake eae re ees 19

1. The Supreme Court should grant certiorari because

of the exceptional importance of determining the

retroactivity of its decision in Giles v. California, —

US. —, 1288S. Ct. 2678; 171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008). ... 19

2. Crawford applies to petitioner. ................. 20

3. Nelva’s statements to the four law enforcement

officers were “testimonial.” ...................e-. 21

4. Giles v. California is retroactive to the time of

So NRCS SAD Ae TREO yO gm PR ect ae ds ea ar we 21

a. Crawford established the rule that Confrontation

Clause exceptions would not be recognized unless

they existed at the time of the founding. ......... 21

b. Giles v. California was simply an application of

Crawford’s principle of analysis to the forfeiture by

wrongdoing Confrontation Clause exception. ..... 22

c. By treating the “purposeful” version of the

forfeiture by wrongdoing rule as established law,

and California’s version of the rule as a very recent

departure, Giles implies retroactivity ........... 23

d. In determining that Giles v. California stated a

“new rule”, the Ninth Circuit improperly relied on

cases that failed to foliow the historical analysis

principles dictated by Crawford. .............. 30

5. The erroneous admission of the prior statements was

either not subject to the harmless error rule or was not

ee ee ew euenneseeas 35

ed 4 ale ca-b ae Noa eee 37

ee a ae 6 WS Oa ew welees A-]

1. Opinions, Orders, Findings of Fact, and Conclusions

of Law, Whether Written or Orally Given and

Transcribed, Entered in Conjunction with the Judgment

Sought to Be Reviewed .............ccceecveces A-i

2. Any Other Opinions, Orders, Findings of Fact, and

Conclusions of Law Entered in the Case by Courts or

Administrative Agencies ...........ccccsvcccens A-4

a. District Court opinion .............00s000. A-4

b. California Court of Appeal Opinion ........ A-57

vi

Table of Authorities

cases page number

Caspari v. Bohlen, 510 U.S. 383, 114 S. Ct. 948,

Dire Bes Ws ED kb 5 ooo eon wks brdensenare 32

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 124 S.Ct. 1854,

158 L. Ed. 2d 177 (2004) ...... i, ii, 17, 19-23, 26, 28, 30-33

Davis v. Washington, 547 U.S. 813, 126 S. Ct. 2266,

RUee Ba. Wes WE EC) nk cee cece esac rcioneres 21

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 106 S. Ct. 1431,

Be Ba. BO, TO CRD neck eect ect eccicceciceseer 36

Giles v. California, — U.S. —, 128 S. Ct. 2678;

171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008) ... i, 6, 18-23, 25, 27, 29-31, 33, 34

Harrison’s Case, 12 How. St. Tr. 833, 851 (H. L. 1692) ... 27

Heller v. District of Columbia, — U.S. —, 128 S. Ct. 2783;

RPE Ea Ms TE COD iv bik oc hoe cece acesestavves 20

Lord Morley’s Case, 6 How. St. Tr. 769, 771

Ry RRND ROR ar oer Oa Legs Se er 27

MacDonald v. Chicago, — U.S. —, 130 S. Ct. 3020,

Be Bas Ee snk cs oc svete s vwscecwcoweces 20

Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 243, 39 L. Ed. 409,

ee oe as pe eg EER Bes we PCE AAR OU 22

cases page number

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S. Ct. 2531,

eS ee 19, 29

People v. Alcala (1984) 36 Cal.38d 604 ................. 36

People v. Breverman (1998) 19 Cal.4th 142. ........... 35

People v. Giles, 40 Cal. 4th 833, 55 Cal. Rptr. 3d 133,

oo Be Es Pie Gy re 31, 33, 34

People v. Romero, 26 Cal. App. 4th 315 (1992 .......... 33

Ponce v. Felker, 606 F.3d 596

gl. 6, 18, 30, 31, 33

Queen v.Scaife, 117 Q. B. 238, 242, 117 Eng. Rep. 1271,

es a oe bcd eee) 66d 68 08 He a0 27

Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S. 145,

Be As, Me, BOO ROTO) 6 ccc ccc sceccens 17, 20, 26, 27, 30-32

Ruse v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570, 106 8. Ct. 3101,

Dee i ES ops bec vec s sb aveeecrreseseee 35

Saffle v. Parks, 494 U.S. 484, 488, 110 S. Ct. 1257,

re ee aaa vey bas eseednesvee sees 29

State v. Jensen, 2007 WI 26, 299 Wis. 2d 267,

pep B mb Go Fay ) Re 31, 33

Vill

cases page number

State v. Langley, 354 N.W.2d 389 (Minn. 1984) ......... 32

State v. Mason, 160 Wn.2d 910, 162 P3d 396,

I MED gs so-so bee blo ome ee ee ee 31, 33

State v. Mechling, 219 W. Va. 366, 633 S.E.2d 311

Sy ss 4084 ew 0s 6 030 ee ee 31

State v. Meeks (2004) 277 Kan. 609, 88 P3d 789. . 20, 31, 33

State v. Moua Her, 750 N.W.2d 258 (Minn, 2008) .... 31, 32

State v. Sanchez, 2008 MT 27, 341 Mont. 240,

177 P3d 444, 456 (Mont. 2008) ................... 31, 33

Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275, 113 S. Ct. 2078,

Ae BT eh.) re 35

United States v. Cromer, 389 F.3d 662 (6™ Cir. 2004) .... 32

United States v. Emery, 186 F.3d 921 (8" Cir. 1999) ..... 20

United States v. Garcia-Meza, 403 F.3d 364

PO I) ow cede cccscoenvudeecss eens eee 31, 33

United States v. Rouco, 765 F.2d 983 (CA11) ........... 27

Whorton v. Bockting, 549 U.S. 406, 127 S. Ct. 1173,

ee Ges Oe, Oe A CT) nce cenvacves t+ s4eeeee 20, 29

ix

statutes page number

I ES MICE ov cw ete ess ccccscccsseseses 1

eee 6

| 2

California Evidence Code section 1370. ............ 3, 10

California Evidence Code section 240 ................. 2

California Penal Code section 187. ..............0008. 2

California Penal Code section 188. ...............00.. 5

California Penal Code section 190. .................... 6

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment . 1, 30

United States Constitution,

Sixth Amendment ............ 1, 19, 21, 22, 27, 29, 31, 33

United States Constitution, Second Amendment ....... 20

treatises and law review articles page number

G. Gilbert, Law of Evidence 140-141 (1756) ......... 28

Richard D. Friedman, Confrontation and the

Definition of Chutzpa, 31 Israel L. Rev. 506 (1997) ..... 33

x

CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS

OF THE OPINIONS AND ORDERS ENTERED IN THE

CASE BY COURTS OR ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES.

Both the Ninth Circuit’s decision affirming petitioner’s

appeal from the denial of his federal habeas corpus petition,

and the California Court of Appeals’ opinion affirming

petitioner’s direct appeal are unpublished.

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THE SUPREME COURT

1. Date of entry of order sought to be reviewed: July 21,

2010 (memorandum decision).

2. Date of any order respecting rehearing: none

3. Statutory provision believed to confer on this Court

jurisdiction to review on a writ of certiorari the judgment or

order in question: 28 U.S.C. section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES INVOLVED

United States Constitution

Sixth Amendment. [n all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right . . . to be confronted with the witnesses

against him...

Fourteenth Amendment, Section. 1. ..... No State shall ...

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law...

Federal Statutes

28 U.S.C. section 2254(d). An application for a writ of

habeas corpus on behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the

judgment of a State court shall not be granted with respect to

any claim that was adjudicated on the merits in State court

proceedings unless the adjudication of the claim—- (1) resulted

in a decision that was contrary to, or involved an unreasonable

application of, clearly established Federal law, as determined

by the Supreme Court of the United States...

State Statutes

California Evidence Code section 240.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (b),

“unavailable as a witness” means that the declarant is any

of the following:

(1) Exempted or precluded on the ground of privilege

from testifying concerning the matter to which his or

her statement is relevant.

(2) Disqualified from testifying to the matter.

(3) Dead or unable to attend or to testify at the hearing

because of then existing physical or mental illness or

infirmity.

(4) Absent from the hearing and the court is unable to

compel his or her attendance by its process.

(5) Absent from the hearing and the proponent of his

or her statement has exercised reasonable diligence

but has been unable to procure his or her attendance

by the court’s process.

(b) A declarant is not unavailable as a witness if the

exemption, preclusion, disqualification, death, inability,

or absence of the declarant was brought about by the

procurement or wrongdoing of the proponent of his or

her statement for the purpose of preventing the

declarant from attending or testifying.

(c) Expert testimony which establishes that physical or

mental trauma resulting from an alleged crime has

caused harm to a witness o sufficient severity that the

witness is physically unable to testify or is unable to

testify without suffering substantial trauma may

constitute a sufficient showing of unavailability

pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (a). As used in

this section, the term “expert” means a physician and

surgeon, including a psychiatrist, or any person

described by subdivision (b), (c), or (e) of Section 1010.

The introduction of evidence to establish the

unavailability of a witness under this subdivision shall

not be deemed procurement of unavailability, in absence

of proof to the contrary.

California Evidence Code section 1370.

(a) Evidence of a statement by a declarant is not made

inadmissible by the hearsay rule if all of the following

3

conditions are met:

(1) The statement purports to narrate, describe, or

explain the infliction or threat of physical injury upon

the declarant.

(2) The declarant is unavailable as a witness pursuant

to Section 240.

(3) The statement was made at or near the time of the

infliction or threat of physical injury. Evidence of

statements made more than five years before the filing

of the current action or proceeding shall be inadmissible

under this section.

(4) The statement was made under circumstances that

would indicate its trustworthiness.

(5) The statement was made in writing, was

electronically recorded, or made to a physician, nurse,

paramedic, or to a law enforcement official.

(b) For purposes of paragraph (4) of subdivision (a),

circumstances relevant to the issue of trustworthiness

include, but are not limited to, the following:

(1) Whether the statement was made in contemplation

of pending or anticipated litigation in which the

declarant was interested.

(2) Whether the declarant has a bias or motive for

fabricating the statement, and the extent of any bias or

4

motive.

(3) Whether the statement is corroborated by evidence

other than statements that are admissible only

pursuant to this section.

(c) A statement is admissible pursuant to this section only

if the proponent of the statement makes known to the

adverse party the intention to offer the statement and the

particulars of the statement sufficiently in advance of the

proceedings in order to provide the adverse party with a

fair opportunity to prepare to meet the statement.

California Penal Code section 187.

(a). Murder is the unlawful killing of a human being, or a

fetus, with malice aforethought. . . .

California Penal Code section 188. Such malice may be

express or implied. It is express when there is manifested a

deliberate intention unlawfully to take away the life of a fellow

creature. It is implied, when no considerable provocation

appears, or when the circumstances attending the killing show

an abandoned and malignant heart.

When it is shown that the killing resulted from the intentional

doing ofan act with express or implied malice as defined above,

no other mental state need be shown to establish the mental

state of malice aforethought.

an

California Penal Code section 190.

(a) Every person guilty of murder in the first degree shall

be punished by death, imprisonment in the state prison for

life without the possibility of parole, or imprisonment in the

state prison for a term of 25 years to life. . .

Except as provided in subdivision (b), (c), or (d), every

person guilty of murder in the second degree shall be

punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a term of

15 years to life.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE, INCLUDING

BASIS OF JURISDICTION IN FEDERAL COURT

1. Basis of jurisdiction in federal court

The basis for jurisdiction in the federal court in the first

instance was 28 U.S.C. section 2254.

2. Related and similar cases

Petitioner had been advised that a petition for writ of

certiorari will be filed from the Ninth Circuit’s decision in

Ponce v. Felker, Ninth Circuit Appeal No. 08-56218, reported

at 606 F3d 596 (May 24, 2010) involving the same issue of

retroactivity of Giles v. California, — U.S. —, 12858. Ct. 2678;

171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008), but has not seen any indication that

such a petition was ever filed.

3. Statement of the Case

a. Facts of Conviction and Custody.

Petitioner was convicted of first degree murder and

sentenced on February 7, 2003 to a term of 26 years to life. He

is presently in the custody of respondent Rosanne Campbell,

Warden, Mule Creek State Prison, Ione, California. Petitioner

is not on bail.

b. Proceedings at trial

Petitioner was tried for the October 8, 1988 homicide Nelva

Omar ' in a non-jury trial.

i. Witnesses to the crime

The events occurred during the evening of October 8, 1988,

in Fremont, California, a city located on the eastern side of San

Francisco Bay. There were no eyewitnesses to the actual

stabbing. Petitioner did not testify.

Samuel Dorrough heard a woman scream three times and

each time the scream was cut short. Dorrough also heard the

voice saying “help me”, and a honking horn. Dorrough later

heard a sound like a car trunk closing three times, heard a car

start up, saw headlights, and saw a red car coming out of a

driveway. (ER 51-52.) ”

Nelva Omar is referred to as “Nelva” in this brief to distinguish her from

Zelika Omar, a prosecution witness.

2 “BR” refers to the Excerpts of Record filed in the Ninth Circuit appeal.

7

Janeen Leech saw a red hatchback coming up Wilson Street

with its passenger door swinging open. She then heard

something hitting the ground. Leech then saw a man carrying

what looked like a mannequin, which he then threw into the

red car (ER 52.)

Gary Eoff saw a red car stopped with the door open. The

driver got out, picked up a girl and threw her inside the car.

The girl was not moving. (ER 52.)

Franklin Bryan heard a woman screaming “Oh, God, help”,

a man yelling, and a horn honking. He then heard something

hit the ground near the car. He then saw a man get out of a car

and try to force the passenger door closed. After the man got

back in the car, Bryan heard some more arguing. (ER 52.)

Leech, Eoff, and Bryan did not identify petitioner as the

man that they saw. Later, however, Paul Lightfoot,

petitioner’s stepfather, woke up to see petitioner cutting at his

wrists and throat. Petitiomer said that he’d done something

terrible and the police would lock him up. (ER 52.)

Deputy Frank Buschhueter found a red hatchback parked

on Aires Court with nobody inside, but lots of blood on the

interior. He then heard a woman calling for help, saying that

her son was trying to hurt himself. Buschhueter entered an

apartment and saw petitioner trying to stab himself. Petitioner

then ran to a balcony and dove to the ground. Petitioner was

emotional and crying. (ER 52.)

Deputy Robert Burnham saw petitioner fall to the

pavement from a balcony, get up and run away. Burnham

8

caught petitioner and handcuffed him. Petitioner had cut his

throat very deeply and had severed an artery. (ER 53.)

Lieutenant Donna Jay looked inside the red hatchback and

saw blood everywhere, a knife on the dashboard, and a purse

with Nelva’s license in it. (ER 53.)

Burnham and Jay then looked in the rear compartment of

the red hatchback and found Nelva’s body. She appeared to

have been dead for some time.

ii. Scientific evidence

The coroner testified that Nelva’s body had a skull fracture,

blunt injuries to the head and face, bruises and abrasions, (ER

50), and twenty three knife wounds (ER 50-51.) The coroner

described only one of the knife wounds as life threatening, a

stab wound to the upper chest that was between 5’ and 6%

inches long that penetrated the lower lobe of Nelva’s lung. The

coroner described the other knife wounds as “superficial”,

“small”, “cuts”, or “scratches”, or “affecting muscle tissue

only” (ER 51.) The coroner could not match the wounds to any

particular knife. (ER 51.) The cause of death was a skull

fracture and the previously mentioned stab wound. (ER 51.)

The coroner could not determine whether there had been

a struggle. The skull fracture could have been caused by a fall

to the street. The wounds described as “cuts” could have been

inflicted when Nelva had the knife in her hand during a

struggle. (ER 51.)

The parties stipulated that a DNA analysis of the blood on

9

a serrated steak knife found in Nelva’s car showed both

petitioner’s and Nelva’s blood on it. No evidence or

stipulations were presented coricerning the origin or ownership

of the knife. (ER 53.)

iii. Nelva’s prior complaints

to law enforcement.

The prior complaints were admitted under California

Evidence Code section 1370, which allows the introduction of

prior statements of a witness relating a threat or infliction of

physical injury if the witness in unavailable. The defense

unsuccessfully objected to the introduction of Nelva’s prior

complaints to law enforcement officers David Snider, Beverly

Young, Huey Tran, and Jeffrey Andrade on grounds of hearsay

and violation of petitioner’s confrontation rights under the

Sixth Amendment. (ER 58-59.)

March 14, 1998 incident: Alameda County Sheriff’s

deputy David Snider took a battery report at 5:35 pm from

Nelva in a Safeway parking lot in Fremont, California. Nelva

had been crying, was upset, and had a very slight scrape mark

on the left eye, which Snider thought was “consistent with” an

assault. Nelva told Snider that she had gotten into a fight with

petitioner in the Safeway parking lot at about 11:00 am that

day, during which petitioner struck her with his fist. Nelva

declined to press charges. Nelva mentioned “a hundred

previous assaults” but gave no details. Snider checked with

dispatch, who told him that there had been no argument or

fight reported in the Safeway parking lot that morning. (ER

53.)

10

April 14, 1998 incident: Hayward Police Officer Beverly

Young was dispatched to Southland Mall in Hayward,

California, at 8:30 pm to interview Nelva. Nelva was crying

“hysterically” that petitioner had broken one of her car

windows. Nelva told Young that petitioner called her on his

cell phone, and when she refused to meet her by her car, said

he would break the windows of her car. Nelva showed Young

a bruise that she said that petitioner had made on her 4 days

before, and said petitioner had beaten her “exactly 15 times”

before. Young advised Nelva to get a restraining order, Nelva

said that if she did, petitioner would kill her. There were no

witnesses to anyone breaking the car window. No other

witness reported anything. (ER 53-54.)

July 10, 1998 incident: Milpitas Police Officer Huey

Tran interviewed Nelva at the Burlington Coat Factory in the

Great Mall in Milpitas, California. Nelva told Tran that she’d

broken up with petitioner eight months before, but gotten back

together four days ago. She said that at about 9:30am that

morning, petitioner called her and threatened to kill her. Then,

around noon, petitioner went to her jewelry kiosk and

threatened to kill her. She yelled at him, he threw a shoe at

her, and the security officer chased him away. During Tran’s

interview, there was a call that Nelva said was from petitioner.

Tran took phone and heard an angry male voice yelling

obscenities. Tran told petitioner that he was a police officer.

Petitioner said that he’d only been arguing with Nelva and

hung up. There was another call which Nelva answered; Nelva

then told Tran that it was petitioner saying that he hopes she

died. (ER 54.)

Tran also interviewed two witnesses to the altercation,

11

Salvador Baron and Michael Savedra, who told Tran that they

saw the shoe being thrown but that it was just an argument.

Later, Nelva called the police department and recanted most

of what she had told Tran. She said that she had told petitioner

to “go to hell, fuck you” on the telephone and to “drop dead”

and that she would “get him back” in person, and petitioner

had only asked her what was wrong without making any death

threats.” (ER 54.)

August 2, 1998 incident: Alameda County Sheriffs

deputy Jeffrey Andrade responded to a domestic violence call

on August 2, 1998 at about 8:30 pm on Redwood Road in

Castro Valley, California. Chief Norman Lapera of the East

Bay Regional Parks Police was present, talking to Nelva. Nelva

had a bruise on her neck and scratches, and was upset and

crying. Petitioner had been arrested and was angry. After

Chief Lapera left with petitioner, Nelva told Andrade that she

and petitioner had been behind Southland Mall in Hayward,

California, when an old high school friend said “hi” to her.

Petitioner punched her, choked her, and said that he was going

to kill both of them that night. Nelva Omar would not give the

name of the witness that she said was an old friend. (ER 54-

55.)

iv. Other testimony.

East Bay Regional Parks Police Chief Norman Lapera was

stopped at a stoplight on Redwood Road at 8 pm alongside a

maroon Honda. He saw Nelva in the passenger seat of the

Honda, crying and saying “no” and “leave me alone.”

Petitioner was in the driver’s seat. Petitioner took the woman

by the back of the hair and put her in an arm bar choke hold.

12

She resisted and tried to grab petitioner’s forearm. While

Lapera was calling dispatch, Nelva got out of the car and got

into Lapera’s police car, crying and saying “help he’s trying to

hurt me.” (ER 55.) Lapera ordered petitioner to get back in his

car. Petitioner did so, drove through the intersection, and

stopped when Lapera pulled him over. Petitioner then got out

of his car, walked toward Lapera’s car, and started yelling at

Nelva to get back in his car. Lapera arrested and handcuffed

petitioner. (ER 55.)

Wida Akbar saw Nelva on October 8, 1988 at about 4-5 pm.

(RT 276-277.) Nelva told Wida that she wanted to go to the

Spaghetti Factory that evening with petitioner, but couldn’t

make herself look really beautiful because appellant would kill

her. (RT 276-280). (RT 280.) °

Zelika Omar, Nelva’s sister, testified that on an unspecified

evening, as she and Nelva were driving away from Zelika’s

home in Fremont, California, petitioner jumped out from the

side of the bushes onto the hood of the car, jumped off,

laughed, and said it was a joke. (ER 56-57.) On another

occasion about five months before Nelva’s death, she, Nelva,

and petitioner were in Nelva’s car in Castro Valley, California.

Some yelling occurred and petitioner told Nelva he had it all

planned out and if Zelika was there too he would take care of

her too. (ER 56-57.) Zelika also said that she played about 30

telephone messages on Nelva’s phone in which petitioner was

yelling and saying he was going to “chop [Nelva’s] body up and

send it in a box to Nicaragua.” Zelika did not produce any

recorded messages or say when these messages were left. (ER

5 «RT” refers to the original reporter’s transcript in the direct appeal.

13

56-57.)

Eleanor McDonald, a neighbor of Nelva’s, testified that she

had heard petitioner and Nelva arguing occasionally and had

seen petitioner hit Nelva 2 years before she died. (ER 57.)

v. Closing argument

The prosecutor argued that Nelva’s prior complaints to the

police and petitioner’s prior threats against her was evidence

of premeditation, and that the multiple stab wounds showed

that petitioner deliberated because he could have stopped

whenever he wanted to. (ER 59.)

The defense agreed that the prosecution had proven a case

of homicide, but not a case of premeditated first degree

murder. The prosecution had the burden of of showing a lack

of provocation and lack of unreasonable self-defense that would

negate malice. Nelva’s history of provoking petitioner was

circumstantial evidence that she had acted in the same manner

on October 8, 1998, 2nd the evidence that Nelva had told

defendant in the past that she was going to have her friends

kick his ass was evidence that petitioner could have believed,

albiet unreasonably, that he was in danger on October 8, 1998.

(ER 59-60.) There was evidence that the two were sitting in

the car quietly before the screaming was heard. Evidence that

Nelva’s body was partially nude when discovered suggested

that the two had had sex in the car, which, if true, would tend

to disprove a deliberate, premeditated first degree murder and

tend to show that the killing resulted from a sudden argument.

The coroner had testified that the knife wounds could have

been inflicted in a matter of seconds, and that the cutting-type

14

wounds (as opposed to the stab wounds) were consistent with

two people struggling over a knife. Dorrough’s testimony that

a matter of seconds had gone by between the first and second

screams suggested a quick and volatile event. ‘The blood from

inside the car was never tested; there was no evidence about

how much of it might have been petitioner’s. There was no

evidence about who brought the knife or where it came from,

and that if it had been in the car before Nelva picked up

petitioner, this would be evidence of reasonable doubt that

petitioner had planned the murder in advance. (ER 59-60.)

In rebuttal, the prosecution argued that there was no

specific evidence that Nelva’s killing was the result of

provocation or heat of passion, and no evidence that Nelva

might have “done something to bring this on herself” except

for petitioner’s blood on the knife. It was “quite probable and

quite likely” that petitioner had cut hinaself while stabbing

Nelva. (ER 60-61.)

vi. The trial court’s decision.

The court recognized that the issue was between voluntary

manslaughter and murder in first or second degree, but found

that petitioner had premeditated and deliberated based on the

evidence of prior threats:

“Does the evidence show beyond a reasonable doubt

that Mr. Morales has premeditated the murder? Yes, it

does. He had talked about the threat of murder before.

He once had even beaten Miss Omar while driving

during the - toward the empty reaches of Redwood

Road, telling her he was taking her there to kill her.

1S

Perhaps the fortuitous intervention of Chief Perrea (sic)

saved her. Perhaps Mr. Morales would not then have

carried out his threats had he not been stopped. Because

it is abundantly and overwhelmingly clear that he

manifestly considered a proposed course of action before

the action that ended Miss Omar’s life.”

(ER 6! .)

The court did not discuss the issues of provocation or

unreasonable self defense as they related to manslaughter.

Instead, the court saw the issue as a choice between first and

second degree murder, defining the choice as follows:

“So here’s the crux of the case. That Mr. Morales

premeditated the murder of Miss Omar and that his use

of the knife was willful is proven beyond a reasonable

doubt. The Court is asked to accept on the one hand

that based upon a volatile, demeaning, vicious and

harsh relationship that Mr. Morales was pushed to the

breaking point and that he killed upon an unconsidered

and rash impulse. On the other hand, the Court is asked

to find the killing was not only premeditated and willful

but deliberate and not a rash impulsive response.”

(ER 61.)

The court acknowledged that “something (might have)

happened in the car to force a rash, impulsive act by Mr.

Morales.” but held there was “no evidence” to support this.

The court found that petitioner’s “threats and actions,

recorded over several months by various individuals, showed

16

that he manifested the intention to unlawfully kill Nelva

Omar.” This showed that petitioner had deliberated the killing.

(ER 61.)

c. Proceedings in the direct appeal.

Petitioner timely pursued a direct appeal and a state

companion collateral relief petition. During the direct appeal,

this Court decided Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 124

S.Ct. 1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177 (2004), which generally barred

the introduction of “testimonial hearsay” unless the defense

has had a prior right to cross-examine the declarant.

The California Court of Appeal acknowledged that Nelva’s

prior statements to the police were of the type generally barred

by Crawford as “testimonial hearsay”, but held that petitioner

had forfeited his confrontation rights by killing Nelva and thus

making her unavailable as a witness. The Court of Appeal

relied on this Court’s decision in Reynolds v. United States, 98

US. 145, 158-159, 25 L. Ed. 244 (1879), even though Reynolds

had involved a defendant who deliberately procured the

witness’ absence, holding that Reynolds’ forfeiture by

wrongdoing rule did not require a showing that petitioner

killed Nelva to prevent her from testifying. (ER 26.)

On October 26, 2005, the California Supreme Court denied

review. Petitioner filed a timely federal habeas corpus petition

on October 25, 2006.

d. Proceedings in the federal courts.

On February 13, 2008, the United States District Court for

17

the Northern District of California held that the Court of

Appeal’s decision that petitioner had forfeited his right to

confront Nelva by killing her and thereby making her

unavailable as a witness was neither contrary to nor an

unreasonable construction of established U.S. Supreme Court

decisional law, even in the absence of any evidence that

petitioner had killed Nelva for the purpose of making her

unavailable as a witness. (ER 25-27.)

Approximately three months after the dismissal and after

petititoner had filed a timely appeal to the Ninth Circuit, this

Court decided appealability, this Court decided Giles v.

California, — U.S. —, 128 S. Ct. 2678; 171 L. Ed. 2d 488

(2008.) Giles held that the forfeiture by wrongdoing rule

required a showing that the defendant intended to prevent a

witness from testifying.

On July 21, 2010, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court in a two page

memorandum decision. The decision was based on the Ninth

Circuit’s published opinion in Ponce v. Felker, 606 F3d 596

(9 Cir. May 24, 2010) in which the Ninth Circuit held that

Giles v. California is not retroactive.

Petitioner did not file a petition for rehearing or rehearing

en banc. Petitioner was informed that the petitioner in Ponce

vu. Felker intended to file a petition for certiorari with this

Court, but to date, has not been able to find any indication on

this Court’s docket that such a petition was ever filed.

18

ARGUMENT

1. The Supreme Court should grant certiorari

because of the exceptional importance of

determining the retroactivity of its decision

in Giles v. California, — U.S. —, 128 S. Ct.

2678; 171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008).

This case is of importance because the main issue is

whether this Court’s recent decision in Giles v. California , —

US. —, 128 S. Ct. 2678; 171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008) is

retroactive. The only Federal Circuit to have ruled on the

issue of Giles’ retroactivity is the Ninth Circuit.

In so ruling, the Ninth Circuit undermined the rule of

analysis of Confrontation Clause questions established by this

Court in Crawford v. Washington. Before Crawford, this Court

followed a rule based on “reasonableness”, see Ohio v. Roberts,

448 US. 56, 100S. Ct. 2531, 65 L. Ed. 2d 597 (1980). Crawford

overruled Ohio v. Roberts and held that any exception to the

Confrontation Clause would have to have existed at the time

of the founding:

“The text of the Sixth Amendment does not suggest any

open-ended exceptions from the confrontation

requirement to be developed by the courts. Rather, the

‘right .. . to be confronted with the witnesses against

him,’ Amdt. 6, is most naturally read as a reference to

the right of confrontation at common law, admitting

only those exceptions established at the time of the

founding.”

19

Crawford v. Washingon, 541 US. at 54.

After Crawford, any exception to the Confrontation Clause,

to be justified, had to be done so based on the scope of that

right at the time of the founding. * The California Court of

Appeal clearly did not attempt any historical analysis of the

“forfeiture by wrongdoing” exception, however, basing its

interpretation of Reynolds v. United States on two very recent

cases, United States v. Emery, 186 F3d 921 (8 Cir. 1999), and

State v. Meeks (2004) 277 Kan. 609, 88 P3d 789. By finding

Giles non-retroactive, the Ninth Circuit, in essence, ruled that

a court need not follow Crawford’s historical analysis rule in

analyzing an exception to the Confrontation Clause until this

Court issues an opinion specifically dealing with that particular

exception.

2. Crawford applies to petitioner.

This Court decided Crawford v. Washingon while

petitioner’s direct appeal was still pending. Crawford is thus

applicable to petitioner. Whorton v. Bockting, 549 U.S. 406, 127

S. Ct. 1178, 1180-1181, 167 L. Ed. 2d 1 (2007.)

* Since Crawford, the historical analys is of the Bill of Rights has played a

major role in this Court’s decisions. See, e.g. Heller v. District of Columbia,

— US. —, 128 S. Ct. 2783; 171 L. Ed. 2d 637 (2008) and MacDonald v.

Chicago, — U.S. —, 130 S. Ct. 3020, 177 L. Ed. 2d 894 (2010) (both

decisions holding that the historical meaning of the Second Amendment, to

protect a personal right to keep and bear arms, controlled.)

20

3. Nelva’s statements to the four law

enforcement officers were “testimonial.”

The California Court of Appeal assumed that Nelva’s prior

statements to law enforcement officers Snider, Young, Tran,

and Andrade would qualify as “testimonial hearsay” under

Crawford v. Washington. The district court described these

statements as “potentially testimonial” (district court

memorandum opinion, p. 19.) There appears to be no serious

dispute that Nelva’s reports of petty crimes and threats to law

enforcement officers would be considered testimonial under

Crawford and would not fall within the limited “exigency”

exception of Davis v. Washington, 547 U.S. 818, 126 S. Ct.

2266, 165 L. Ed. 2d 224 (2006.) Nelva’s statements were all

taken in the field by investigating officers when petitioner was

not physically present and there was no ongoing emergency.

4. Giles v. California is retroactive

to the time of Crawford.

a. Crawford established the rule that Confrontation

Clause exceptions would not be recognized unless

they existed at the time of the founding.

Crawford established a basic rule for determining whether

an exception exists to the Sixth Amendment Confrontation

Clause. After Crawford, the Court would only recognize those

exceptions that were in existence at the time of the founding:

“The text of the Sixth Amendment does not suggest any

open-ended exceptions from the confrontation

requirement to be developed by the courts. Rather, the

21

‘right .. . to be confronted with the witnesses against

him,’ Amdt. 6, is most naturally read as a reference to

the right of confrontation at common law, admitting

only those exceptions established at the time of the

founding.”

Crawford v. Washingon, 541 US. at 54, citing Mattox v, United

States, 156 U.S. 237, 243, 39 L. Ed. 409, 15S. Ct. 337 (1895).

The only exception discussed in Crawford was the historical

“dying declarations” rule:

“The one deviation we have found involves dying

declarations. The existence of that exception as a

general rule of criminal hearsay law cannot be disputed.

.. . If this exception must be accepted on historical

grounds, it is sui generis.”

Crawford v. Washingon, 541 U.S. at 56, fn 6.

Thus, after Crawford, lower courts were on notice that they

could not rely on exceptions to the Confrontation Clause that

may have been judicially developed since the “the time of the

founding.”

b. Giles v. California was simply an application of

Crawford’s principle of analysis to the forfeiture by

wrongdoing Confrontation Clause exception.

In Giles v. California, this Court identified the principle

established in Crawford and stated that the issue facing the

Court in Giles was simply “whether the theory of forfeiture by

22

wrongdoing accepted by the California Supreme Court is a

founding-era exception to the confrontation right:

“We held in Crawford that the Confrontation Clause is

‘most naturally read as a reference to the right of

confrontation at common law, admitting only those

exceptions established at the time of the founding.’ Id.,

at 54, 1248S. Ct. 1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177. We therefore

ask whether the theory of forfeiture by wrongdoing

accepted by the California Supreme Court is a

founding-era exception to the confrontation right.”

Giles v. California, 128 S. Ct. at 2682. By so framing the issue,

this Court recognized that the analysis required was simply a

specific application of the principle already established in

Crawford.

c. By treating the “purposeful” version of the

forfeiture by wrongdoing rule as established law,

and California’s version of the rule as a very

recent departure, Giles implies retroactivity.

Giles v. California discussed the traditional version of the

forfeiture by wrongdoing exception to the Confrontation

Clause in the following manner:

“The terms used to define the scope of the forfeiture

rule suggest that the exception applied only when the

defendant engaged in conduct designed to prevent the

witness from testifying. The rule required the witness to

have been ‘kept back’ or ‘detained’ by ‘means or

procurement’ of the defendant. Although there are

a3

definitions of ‘procure’ and ‘procurement’ that would

merely require that a defendant have caused the

witness’s absence, other definitions would limit the

causality to one that was designed to bring about the

result ‘procured.’....

Cases and treatises of the time indicate that a

purpose-based definition of these terms governed. A

number of them said that prior testimony was

admissible when a witness was kept away by the

defendant’s ‘means and contrivance.’ .... This phrase

requires that the defendant have schemed to bring

about the absence from trial that he ‘contrived.’ .. . .

An 1858 treatise made the purpose requirement more

explicit still, stating that the forfeiture rule applied

when a witness ‘had been kept out of the way by the

prisoner, or by some one on the prisoner’s behalf, in

order to prevent him from giving evidence against him.’

....The wrongful-procurement exception was invoked

in a manner consistent with this definition. We are

aware of no case in which the exception was invoked

although the defendant had not engaged in conduct

designed to prevent a witness from testifying, such as

offering a bribe.

The manner in which the rule was applied makes plain

that unconfronted testimony would not be admitted

without a showing that the defendant intended to

prevent a witness from testifying. In cases where the

evidence suggested that the defendant had caused a

person to be absent, but had not done so to prevent the

24

person from testifying — as in the typical murder case

involving accusatorial statements by the victim — the

testimony was excluded unless it was confronted or fell

within the dying-declaration exception. Prosecutors do

not appear to have even argued that the judge could

admit the unconfronted statements because the

defendant committed the murder for which he was on

trial.”

Giles v. California, 128 S. Ct. at 2683-2684.

The Court noted that a lack of a “purposeful” component to

the forfeiture rule would have made the dying declaration

exception to the Confrontation Clause unnecessary:

“Judges and prosecutors also failed to invoke forfeiture

as a sufficient basis to admit unconfronted statements

in the cases that did apply the dying-declarations

exception. This failure, too, is striking. At a murder

trial, presenting evidence that the defendant was

responsible for the victim’s death would have been no

more difficult than putting on the government’s case in

chief. Yet prosecutors did not attempt to obtain

admission of dying declarations on wrongful-

procurement-of-absence grounds before going to the

often considerable trouble of putting on evidence to

show that the crime victim had not believed he could

recover.”

Giles v. California, 128 S. Ct. at 2686.

The Court finally observed that what they called

25

California’s “proposed exception” to the right of confrontation

did not even arise until very recently.

“Not only was the State’s proposed exception to the

right of confrontation plainly not an ‘exceptio[n]

established at the time of the founding,’ [Crawford] id.,

at 54, 124 S. Ct. 1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177; it is not

established in American jurisprudence since the

founding. American courts never — prior to 1985 —

invoked forfeiture outside the context of deliberate

witness tampering.

This Court first addressed forfeiture in Reynolds v.

United States, 98 U.S. 145, 25 L. Ed. 244 (1879), where,

after hearing testimony that suggested the defendant

had kept his wife away from home so that she could not

be subpoenaed to testify, the trial court permitted the

government to introduce testimony of the defendant’s

wife from the defendant’s prior trial. See id., at 148-150,

25 L. Ed. 244. On appeal, the Court held that admission

of the statements did not violate the right of the

defendant to confront witnesses at trial, because when

a witness is absent by the defendant’s “wrongful

procurement,” the defendant ‘is in no condition to

assert that his constitutional rights have been violated’

if ‘their evidence is supplied in some lawful way.’ Id., at

158, 25 L. Ed. 244.....

Reynolds relied on these maxims (as the common-law

authorities had done) to be sure. But it relied on them

(as the common-law authorities had done) to admit

prior testimony in a case where the defendant had

26

engaged in wrongful conduct designed to prevent a

witness’s testimony. The Court’s opinion indicated that

it was adopting the common-law rule. It cited leading

common-law cases — Lord Morley’s Case [6 How. St. Tr.

769, 771 (H. L. 1666)], Harrison’s Case |12 How. St. Tr.

833, 851 (H. L. 1692)], and [Queen v.] Scaife [117 Q. B.

238, 242, 117 Eng. Rep. 1271, 1273 (K. B. 1851)] -

described itself as ‘content with’ the ‘long-established

usage’ of the forfeiture principle, and admitted prior

confronted statements under circumstances where

admissibility was open to no doubt under Lord Morley’s

Case. Reynolds, supra, at 158-159.

If the State’s rule had an historical pedigree in the

common law or even in the 1879 decision in Reynolds,

one would have expected it to be routinely invoked in

murder prosecutions like the one here, in which the

victim’s prior statements inculpated the defendant. It

was never invoked in this way. The earliest case

identified by the litigants and amici curiae which

admitted unconfronted statements on a forfeiture

theory without evidence that the defendant had acted

with the purpose of preventing the witness from

testifying was decided in 1985. United States v. Rouco,

765 F.2d 983 (CA11).”

Giles v. California, 128 S. Ct. at 2687.

This Court rejected California’s claim that there was any

historical support for its version of the forfeiture by

wrongdoing exception to the Confrontation Clause, and held

that allowing California to broaden this exception would be

a7

contrary to Crawford’s principles:

“The State and the dissent note that common-law

authorities justified the wrongful-procurement rule by

invoking the maxim that a defendant should not be

permitted to benefit from his own wrong. See, e.g., G.

Gilbert, Law of Evidence 140-141 (1756) (if a witness

was ‘detained and kept back from appearing by the

means and procurement’ testimony would be read

because a defendant ‘shall never be admitted to shelter

himself by such evil Practices on the Witness, that being

to give him Advantage of his own Wrong’). But as the

evidence amply shows, the ‘wrong’ and the ‘evil

Practices’ to which these statements referred was

conduct designed to prevent a witness from testifying.

The absence of a forfeiture rule covering this sort of

conduct would create an intolerable incentive for

defendants to bribe, intimidate, or even kill witnesses

against them. There is nothing mysterious about courts’

refusal to carry the rationale further. The notion that

judges may strip the defendant ofa right that the

Constitution deems essential toa fair trial, on the

basis of a prior judicial assessment that the

defendant is guilty as charged, does not sit well

with the right to trial by jury. It is akin, one

might say, to ‘dispensing with jury trial because

a defendant is obviously guilty.’ Crawford, 541 US.,

at 62, 1248S. Ct. 1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177.

Giles v. California, 1288S. Ct. at 2686, emphasis added.

The Court finally concluded:

28

“We decline to approve an exception to the

Confrontation Clause unheard of at the time of the

founding or for 200 years thereafter.”

Giles v. California, 128 S. Ct. at 2693, emphasis added.

In doing so, this Court treated the purposeful version of the

forfeiture-by-wrongoing exception as the established rule and

California’s elimination of the purpose requirement as a new

departure from this rule. By doing so, this Court implied that

Giles v. California would have to be considered retroactive to

the time of Crawford.

The most recent decision of this Court concerning

retroactivity is Whorton v. Bockting, in which this Court held

that Crawford itself was not retroactive to any earlier time.

This Court stated the general principle of retroactivity, that a

decision that sets forth an “old rule applies both on direct and

collateral review, but a new rule is generally applicable only to

cases that are still on direct review.” Whorton v. Bockting, 127

S.Ct at 1180. This Court further noted that “‘the explicit

overruling of an earlier holding doubtless creates a new rule’”

Whorton v. Bockting, 12758.Ct. at 1181, quoting Saffle v. Parks,

494 US. 484, 488, 110 S. Ct. 1257, 108 L. Ed. 2d 415 (1990),

and on that basis, held that Crawford undoubtedly created a

new rule because it specifically overruled Ohio v. Roberts, 448

U.S. 56, 100 S. Ct. 2531, 65 L. Ed. 2d 597 (1980). Jd.

This Court was undoubtedly correct in ruling that

Crawford created a “new rule” for purposes of retroactivity.

Giles, however, is different. Giles did not overrule any prior

decision of this court. Instead, this court followed Crawford,

29

analyzed the forfeiture-by-wrongdoing exception as it was

understood at the time of the founding and thereafter, and

held that California’s purposeless version of the rule was

“unheard of at the time of the founding or for 200 years

thereafter.” Giles v. California, 128 8, Ct. at 2693. The

“ourposeful” version of the forfeiture-by-wrongdoing exception

was thus not regarded as “new”, but an old, established rule.

It was California’s departure from the _ forfeiture-by-

wrongdoing exception that was the “new rule.”

d. in determining that Giles v. California stated

a “new rule”, the Ninth Circuit improperly relied

on cases that failed to follow the historical analysis

principles dictated by Crawford.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision in Ponce v. Felker is perhaps

explained by the manner in which the retroactivity issue was

presented to that court. The petitioner in Ponce v. Felker

apparently argued that Giles v. California should be

retroactive to the time of Reynolds v. United States, 98 US.

145, 25 L. Ed. 244 (1879). As discussed above, this Court, in

Giles, indeed held that Reynolds v. United States adopted “the

common-law rule” that prior testimony would only be admitted

“where the defendant had engaged in wrongful conduct

designed to prevent a witness’s testimony.” Giles v. California,

128 S. Ct. at 2687. Petitioner here, however, argued only that

Giles should be retroactive to the time of Crawford, since Giles

was a specific application of the rule in Crawford that

thereafter, this Court would recognize only those exceptions to

the Confrontation Clause that were “established at the time of

the founding.” Crawford v. Washingon, 541 U.S. at 54.

40

Ponce v. Felker held that Giles stated a new rule because, prior

to Giles, various courts had approved a non-purposeful version

of the forfeiture-by-wrongdoing exception. Besides the

California Supreme Court’s opinion in People v. Giles, 40 Cal.

4th 833, 55 Cal. Rptr. 3d 133, 152 P3d 433, 443 (Cal. 2007),

the Ninth Circuit cited a single Federal Circuit level case,

United States v. Garcia-Meza, 403 F.3d 364, 370-71 (6 Cir.

2005), and a handful of state cases: State v. Moua Her, 750

N.W.2d 258, 270-74 (Minn. 2008); State v. Sanchez, 2008 MT

27, 341 Mont. 240, 177 P3d 444, 456 (Mont. 2008); State v.

Mason, 160 Wn.2d 910, 162 P3d 396, 404 (Wash. 2007); State

v. Mechling, 219 W. Va. 366, 633 S.E.2d 311, 326 (W.Va. 2006);

State v. Jensen, 2007 WI 26, 299 Wis. 2d 267, 727 N.W.2d 518,

535 (Wis. 2007), and State v. Meeks, 277 Kan. 609, 88 P3d 789,

794 (Kan. 2004). Ponce v. Felker, 606 F.3d at 603-605.

While the existence of these cases may be relevant to

whether Giles would be retroactive to the time of Reynolds,

they would not be relevant at all to the issue of whether Giles

should be retroactive to the time of Crawford —- unless,

following Crawford’s requirement, they conducted a historical

analysis to determine whether a purposeless version of the

forfeiture-by-wrongdoing exception to the Confrontation

Clause was “established at the time of the founding.” Crawford

v. Washingon, 541 USS. at 54.

None of these cases even attempted the historic analysis

dictated in Crawford to determine what version of the

forfeiture-by-wrongdoing rule was established at the time of

the founding. Indeed it is notable that, except for State v.

Jensen, all of the cases cite Crawford for the statement that

the forfeiture-by-wrongdoing rule “extinguishes confrontation

31

claims on essentially equitable grounds.” Crawford, 541 US.

at 62, but do not even mention Crawford’s bedrock principle

that, thereafter, this Court would only recognize Confrontation

Clause exceptions that were “established at the time of the

founding.” Crawford, 541 U.S. at 54. All of these cases treated

the issue as if the courts had the right to construe the

forfeiture-by-wrongdoing rule as they saw fit, without

reference to the scope of the exception at the time of the

founding. Such an approach contradicts Crawford and is an

unreasonable application of Crawford’s “timie of the founding”

requirement for proposed Confrontation Clause exceptions.

They are not examples of reasonable jurists disagreeing over

the scope of the forfeiture by wrongdoing rule, Caspari v.

Bohlen, 510 U.S. 383, 395, 114 S. Ct. 948, 127 L. Ed. 2d 236

(1994), since a reasonable jurist who sought to follow Crawford

would have had to determine whether a non-purposeful version

of the forfeiture-by-wrongdoing exception existed at the time

of the founding.

The Sixth Circuit, in United States v. Garcia-Meza, 403

F.3d at 370-71. relied only on a prior Sixth Circuit decision,

United States v. Cromer, 389 F.3d 662, 679 (6th Cir. 2004) and

its own analysis of Crawford and Reynolds. United States v.

Garcia-Meza, 403 F.3d at 370-71. Cromer, in turn, relied only

on an opinion that it admitted was “postulated” by Professor

[apparently Richard] Friedman in a pre-Crawford law review

article. Cromer, td. at 679.

State v. Moua Her, 750 N.W.2d at 270, relied ona previous

Minnesota case, State v. Langley, 354 N.W.2d 389, 400 (Minn.

1984), which appears to have arrived at the conclusion that the

exception does not require a showing of purpose on its own.

32

State v. Sanchez, 341 Mont. at 252, treated the case as a

matter of first impression and relied primarily on United States

v. Garcia-Meza. State v. Mason, 160 Wn.2d at, 926 does not

appear to rely on any prior authority but bases its opinion that

“specific intent to prevent testimony is unnecessary” on

general equitable grounds. State v. Mechling, 219 W. Va. at

381, relied on a depublished, non-citeable California case,

People v. Romero, 26 Cal. App. 4th 315 (1992), that did not

even discuss forfeiture-by-wrongdoing but only held that

domestic abuse can cause a battered women to be afraid.

The court, in State v. Jensen, 727 N.W.2d at 533-534, was

the only one of the cases relied on in Ponce v. Felker that even

acknowledged that Crawford established the rule that

Confrontation Clause exceptions would not be admitted unless

they were “established at the time of the founding”, id. at 534,

but the Jensen court thereafter conducted no analysis to

determine what version of the forfeiture-by wrongdoing

exception was, in fact, “established at the time of the

founding.” Instead, the court relied on State v. Meeks and

United States v. Garcia-Meza. Id. at 533-534.

In State v. Meeks, 277 Kan. at 615, the court relied on a

1997 law review article by Richard D. Friedman, Confrontation

and the Definition of Chutzpa, 31 Israel L. Rev. 506 (1997) that

argued for forfeiture without the need for showing a purpose

to prevent a witness from testifying. State v. Jensen, 727

N.W.2d at 533, also mentioned this article, but acknowledged

that Professor Friedman was “one of the first to argue for a

broad forfeiture by wrongdoing doctrine” in the 1997 article.

Finally, concerning People v. Giles, this Court stated in

33

Giles v. California, 1285. Ct. at 2687:

“Not only was the State’s proposed exception to the

right of confrontation plainly not an ‘exceptio[n]

established at the time of the founding,’ id., at 54, 124

S. Ct. 13854, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177; it is not established in

American jurisprudence since the founding. American

courts never — prior to 1985 — invoked forfeiture outside

the context of deliberate witness tampering.”

People v. Giles did not inquire as to the state of the forfeiture

by wrongdoing exception at the time of the founding.

Apparently in response to the above holding in Giles, the

Ninth Circuit set forth an unusual definition of what

constitutes “new law” for retroactivity purposes:

“Moreover, although Giles itself traced the intent

requirement back to common law, it also acknowledged

that post-1985 forfeiture cases and state evidence codes

do not all require proof of intent. 128 S. Ct. at 2687-88

& n.2. Giles thus represented a departure from this

more modern trend regarding the _ forfeiture

exception. The holding of Giles is a new rule for Teague

purposes.”

Ponce v. Felker, 606 FE3d at 603-604. Ponce appears to

acknowledge that Giles restated a principle that would have

been “old law” prior to 1985! The Ninth Circuit does not cite

any decision of this Court establishing that an “old rule” can

become a “new rule” for retroactivity purposes simply because

34

a few lower courts disagree with it, ° or how what it termed the

“more modern trend” became “old law” for purposes of

retroactivity when this Court never purported to follow this

“modern trend” in any of its decisions.

5. The erroneous admission of the prior

statements was either not subject to the

harmless error rule or was not harmless.

In its memorandum decision, the Ninth Circuit did not

reach the issue of whether prejudice needed to be shown if

admission of Nelva’s prior statements to law enforcement was

error, or whether admission of such statements would have

been prejudicial. Petitioner raises these issues here to avoid

any question of inadvertent waiver.

Petitioner was tried by the court, however, not a jury, and

the court explicitly relied on Nelva's prior statements to the

police both to find the premeditation and deliberation

components of first degree murder and to find that Nelva's

killing was not the result of provocation that could render

petitioner's culpability for killing Nelva less than first or even

second degree murder. See, e.g., People v. Breverman (1998) 19

Cal.4th 142. This case was like a jury trial in which the court

has directed a verdict on one or more of the elements of an

offense, to which the harmless error rule does not apply. Rose

v. Clark, 478 US. 570, 577, 106 S. Ct. 3101, 92 L. Ed. 2d 460

° Since many of these cases rely on the 1997 law review article by Professor

Friedman, Confrontation and the Definition of Chutzpa, petitioner wonders

whether a single law professor can transmute “old law” into “new law”

simply by writing an article.

35

(1986), Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 US. 275, 279, 113 S. Ct.

2078, 124 L. Ed. 2d 182 (1993).

But even assuming the harmless error rule applies, the

admission of the prior statements was not harmless. The

evidence showed that petitioner intentionally killed Nelva, but

an intentional killing can be either a first or second degree

murder or a voluntary manslaughter under California law.

Respondent would have to show that no reasonable trier of fact

would have failed to find premeditation, deliberation, and a

lack of provocation sufficient to reduce Nelva's killing to

second degree murder or voluntary manslaughter. Delaware

v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 106 S. Ct. 1431, 89 L. Ed. 2d 674

(1986).

Without the prior statements, the trier of fact would have

been left with the bizarre, questionable testimony of Nelva’s

sister Zelika, hardly an unbiased witness, and the cororner’s

testimony that all but one of the knife wounds were “small” or

“superficial” (RT 93-100) suggesting that they were inflicted

in a random explosion of violence inconsistent with

premeditation, deliberation, or a lack of provocation. People v.

Alcala (1984) 36 Cal.3d 604, 626 (“a brutal manner of killing

is as consistent with a sudden, random explosion of violence as

with calculated murder.”) There was no direct evidence of

premeditation, and while such an intent could have been

inferred had the evidence showed that petitioner brought the

knife with him, there was no such evidence, either.

Under such circumstances, respondent could not have

shown that admission of the prior statements was harmless

beyond a reasonable doubt.

36

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, this honorable Court should grant

certiorari in this case. The language in Giles was about as

clear a statement that the purposeful version of the forfeiture-

by-wrongdoing exception was an “old rule” as one is likely to

find in an opinion of this Court not explicitly deciding the issue

of retroactivity. To allow the lower courts to hold, by default,

that Giles is not retroactive to the time of Crawford, based on

a handful of opinions that failed to follow Crawford’s

requirements concerning analysis of Confrontation Clause

exceptions, would simply be to encourage lower courts to

ignore the decisions of this Court.

Dated: Oakland, California, Tuesday, October 12, 2010.

fruitrt J Difax (Fess ty Cathey

Robert Joseph. Beles Paul Gilruth McCarthy

Attorneys for Petitioner HAROLD MORALES

37

APPENDIX

1. Opinions, Orders, Findings of Fact, and

Conclusions of Law, Whether Written or Orally

Given and Transcribed, Entered in Conjunction

with the Judgment Sought to Be Reviewed

2010 U.S. App. LEXIS 15039, *

HAROLD MORALES, Petitioner - Appellant,

V.

ROSANNE CAMPBELL, Warden, Respondent - Appellee,

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Real-party-in-interest - Appellee.

No. 08-16294

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

2010 U.S. App. LEXIS 15039

June 29, 2010, Submitted **

** The panel unanimously concludes this case is suitable for

decision without oral argument. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2).

July 21, 2010, Filed

NOTICE: PLEASE REFER TO FEDERAL RULES OF

APPELLATE PROCEDURE RULE 32.1 GOVERNING THE

CITATION TO UNPUBLISHED OPINIONS.

PRIOR HISTORY: [*1]

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern

District of California. D.C. No. 3:06-CV-06645-MHP Marilyn

H. Patel, District Judge, Presiding.

Morales v. Campbell, 2008 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10597 (N.D. Cal.,

Feb. 13, 2008)

DISPOSITION: AFFIRMED.

COUNSEL: For HAROLD MORALES, Petitioner - Appellant:

Robert Joseph Beles, Oakland, CA; Paul McCarthy, Attorney,

ROBERT J. BELES LAW OFFICES, Oakland, CA.

For ROSANNE CAMPBELL, Warden, PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, Respondents - Appellees: Sharon

Birenbaum, Deputy Attorney General, AGCA - OFFICE OF

THE CALIFORNIA ATTORNEY GENERAL, San Francisco,

CA.

JUDGES: Before: ALARCON, LEAVY , and GRABER, Circuit

Judges.

OPINION

MEMORANDUM *

FOOTNOTES

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and is not

precedent except as provided by 9th Cir. R. 36-3.

A-2

California state prisoner Harold Morales appeals from the

district court’s judgment denying his 28 U.S.C. § 2254 habeas

corpus petition. We have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 2253,

and we affirm.

Morales contends that the trial court violated his Sixth

Amendment rights by admitting statements by the woman he

was convicted of murdering. Morales argues that Giles uv.

California, 128 S.Ct. 2678, 171 L. Ed. 2d 488 (2008), applies

retroactively, or alternatively, the state court’s application of

the “forfeiture by wrongdoing” doctrine [*2] was contrary to

or an unreasonable application of clearly established federal

law as determined by the United States Supreme Court at the

time of his appeal. These contentions are foreclosed. See Ponce

v. Felker, 606 F.3d 596 (9th Cir. 2010).

AFFIRMED.

2. Any Other Opinions, Orders, Findings of

Fact, and Conclusions of Law Entered in the

Case by Courts or Administrative Agencies

a. District Court opinion

2008 U.S. DIST. LEXIS 10597

HAROLD MORALES, Petitioner,

v.

ROSANNE CAMPBELL, Warden, Respondent.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, Real Party in

Interest.

No. C 06-06645 MHP

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

2008 U.S. Dist. LEXTS 10597; 75 Fed. R. Evid. Serv.

(Callaghan) 883

February 13, 2008, Decided

February 13, 2008, Filed

SUBSEQUENT HISTORY: Affirmed by Morales v. Campbell,

2010 U.S. App. LEXIS 15039 (9th Cir. Cal., July 21, 2010)

PRIOR HISTORY: People v. Morales, 2005 Cal. LEXIS 11917

(Cal., Oct. 26, 2005)

COUNSEL:

[*1)

For Harold Morales, Petitioner: Robert Joseph Beles, LEAD

ATTORNEY, Paul Gilruth McCarthy, Law Offices of Robert J.

Beles, Oakland, CA.

For Rosanne Campbell, Warden, Mule Creek State Prison,

Respondent: Sharon G. Birenbaum, Deputy Attorney General,

San Francisco, CA.

JUDGES: MARILYN HALL PATEL, United States District

Court Judge.

OPINION BY: MARILYN HALL PATEL

OPINION

MEMORANDUM & ORDER Re: Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus & Motion for Evidentiary Hearing Harold Morales, a

prisoner at the Mule Creek State Prison in Ione, California,

filed this petition for writ of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C.

section 2254. This matter is now before the court for

consideration on the merits. For the reasons discussed below,

the petition will be DENIED.

OVERVIEW On June 30, 1999 the Alameda County District

Attorney charged petitioner Morales, pursuant to California

Penal Code section 187, with the murder of Nazaneen “Nelva

“ Omar (“Omar”). The information did not specify whether the

charge was for murder in the first or second degree. Petitioner

was also alleged to have used a deadly and dangerous weapon

in violation of Penal Code section 12022(b) and to have

A-5

intentionally and personally inflicted great bodily injury in

violation of

tye

section 1203.075 and 12022.7(d). CT 289-90 1. On October 3.

2002 petitioner waived his right to a jury trial and, following a

bench trial, he was convicted of all charges. Id. at 473; 493-94

lic was sentenced on February 7, 2003 to a term of twenty-five

years to life with the possibility of parole. Id. at 519-20, 553-54

| “CT “ refers to the clerk’s transcript of petitioner's state

court trial, which this court received as Exhibit A in support of

Respondent’s Opposition Brief. “RT “ refers to the reporter’s

transcript of the trial, which this court received as Exhibit B in

support of Respondent’s Opposition Brief

Petitioner pursued state direct appeal and state habeas corpus

review with the California Court of Appeal, which affirmed

Petitioner’s conviction and denied the habeas petition. Resp.’s

Opp., Exh’s. C-I. Most recently, petitioner timely pursued a

petition for review with the California Supreme Court. Id.,

Exh. J. The California Supreme Court dismissed petitioner’s

claims without prejudice until such time as the Court reached

a decision in People v. Cage, case number S127344 2,

interpreting the Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment

Id., Exh. K. The issue in Cage was whether

1*33]

an ostensible victim’s statements to a police officer in response

to general investigative questioning constitutes testimonial

hearsay under Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 1248S. Ct

1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177 (2004). Petitioner claims the

decedent’s statements to law enforcement officers were

testimonial hearsay and therefore inadmissible because

petitioner had no opportunity to cross-examine the declarant

2 The California Supreme Court actually referred to case

number 812737. This case number was assigned to a related

case, but appears to have been referenced in error

In anticipation of re-filing with the California Supreme Court,

petitioner waited one full year subsequent to dismissal, but

ultimately bypassed this last stage of state review and filed the

petition now before this court on October 25, 2006--

immediately prier to the expiration of the period of limitation

for such relief. An opinion was subsequently issued in the

matter of People v. Cage on April 9, 2007, but the State does

not challenge this petition on exhaustion grounds

Petitioner now mukes a variety of claims related to his Due

Process rights and his right to a fair trial under the Sixth

Amendment. He also requests that the court grant a writ of

|*4]

habeas corpus on the basis of cumulative error supported by

these claims

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

This court has subject matter jurisdiction over this habeas

action for relief under 28 U.S.C. section 2254.28 U.S.C. § 1331

Petitioner was convicted and sentenced in Alameda county,

which lies in the Northern District of California. Therefore,

this court has jurisdiction over his claims. 28 U.S.C. §$§ 84,

2241(d).

EXHAUSTION

I. Basic Requirement

Prisoners in state custody who wish to challenge collaterally in

federal habeas proceedings either the fact or length of their

confinement are first required to exhaust state judicial

remedies. See 28 U.S.C. §$ 2254(b), (c). Either by direct appeal

or through collateral proceedings, the prisoner must give a

state’s highest court an opportunity to rule on the merits of

each and every claim the prisoner seeks to raise in federal

court. See O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838, 845, 119 S. Ct.

1728, 144 L. Ed. 2d 1 (1999).

When, however, it would be futile or create undue delay to

strictly adhere to the requirement, it is appropriate for a

district court to entertain a petitioner’s claims on the merits

despite incomplete exhaustion. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(b)(1)(B)

(writ may be granted when

“there is an absence of available State corrective process” or

“circumstances exist that render such process ineffective to

protect the rights of the applicant”). Moreover, “a writ of

habeas corpus may be denied on the merits, notwithstanding

the failure of the applicant to exhaust the remedies available

A-8

in the courts of the State,” although the court is not required

to do so. 28 U.S.C. 2254(b)(2); Gatlin v. Madding, 189 F.3d

882, 889 (9th Cir. 1999).

In analyzing exhaustion, a federal court should evaluate

whether a prisoner’s claims were exhausted at the time they

were filed, rather than when the court ultimately addresses the

claims. Brown v. Maass, 11 F.3d 914, 915 (9th Cir. 1993).

Il. Finality of the State Proceedings

Petitioner characterized the dismissal without prejudice by the

California Supreme Court of his direct appeal and collateral

relief petition as a final decision qualifying for exhaustion

purposes pursuant to the Antiterrorism and Effective Death

Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”). The State does not challenge

this characterization.

This court holds that petitioner’s characterization of the

dismissal as final is incorrect, but it acknowledges that the

statute of limitations

[*6]

imposed by AEDPA created a unique predicament in this

action. The statute mandates that a “l-year period of

limitation shall apply to an application for 3 a writ of habeas

corpus by a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a

State court.” 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1). The period of limitation

begins to run from “the date on which the judgment became

final by the conclusion of direct review or the expiration of the

time for seeking such review.” Id. § 2244 (d)(1)(A). Here, this

A-9

period of limitation began to run from the date the California

Supreme Court issued its dismissal, October 26, 2005, and

ultimately expired prior to the Court’s final disposition in

Cage, on April 9, 2007. Petitioner filed for relief with this court

on October 25, 2006, prior to the expiration of the AEDPA

period of limitations. Had he waited for an opportunity to

exercise his last available state remedy, he would have forfeited

his opportunity to access his federal remedy. See, e.g.,

Ferguson v. Palmateer, 321 F3d 820, 823 (9th Cir. 2003)

(Oregon petitioner who filed for state post-conviction relief

within state two-year statutory period was not permitted to

proceed on federal habeas action).

This court refuses

bea if

to make petitioner choose between his state and federal

remedies. The exhaustion requirement, while necessary,

becomes unduly burdensome if applied in a manner that strips

petitioner of his opportunity to seek federal habeas review.

Petitioner waited until the last possible day prior to the

expiration of the statutory period to file his habeas petition

with this court. This demonstrates that he waited in good faith

for an opportunity to exercise his state remedy until the final

date practicable.

Because of the unique procedural circumstances of the case,

this court will review petitioner’s claims on the merits.

Specifically, the court will review the findings of the California

Court of Appeal as to each of petitioner’s claims since that

court was the last to issue a decision on the merits.

A-10

STANDARD OF REVIEW

I. Habeas Corpus Review

This Court may entertain a petition for writ of habeas corpus

“Con] behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment

of a State court only on the ground that he is in custody in

violation of the Constitution or laws or treaties of the United

States.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a). The petition may not be granted

with respect to any claim that was adjudicated on

[*8]

the merits in state court unless the state court’s adjudication

of the claim: “(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to, or

involved an unreasonable application of, clearly established

Federal law, as determined by the Supreme Court of the

United States; or (2) resulted in a decision that was based on

an unreasonable determination of the facts in light of the

evidence presented in the State court proceeding.” Id. $

2254(d). Petitioner has the burden to prove the violation by a

preponderance of the evidence. Silva v. Woodford, 279 F.3d

825, 835 (9th Cir. 2002).

Under AEDPA, state court rulings are to be evaluated under

a “highly deferential” standard of review. Woodford v. Visciotti,

537 U.S. 19, 24, 123 S. Ct. 357, 154 L. Ed. 2d 279 (2002) (per

curium). Decisions challenged as unreasonable applications of

Supreme Court law must not merely be erroneous, but

“objectively unreasonable.” Lockyer v. Andrade, 538 U.S. 63,

75, 123 S. Ct. 1166, 155 L. Ed. 2d 144 (2003). Where the state

court does not provide a reasoned decision, this court performs

A-11

“an ‘independent review of the record’ to ascertain whether

the state court decision was objectively unreasonable.” Himes

v. Thompson, 336 F.3d 848, 853 (9th Cir. 2003) (citing Delgado

v. Lewis, 223 F.3d 976, 981-82 (9th Cir. 2000)).

Furthermore,

[*9]

this court analyzes claims of harmless error on habeas

petitions pursuant to the standard adopted in Brecht uv.

Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619, 638, 113 S. Ct. 1710, 123 L. Ed. 2d

353 (1993). See Morales v. Woodford, 336 F.3d 1136, 1148 (9th

Cir. 2003) (applying Brecht review). The court considers

harmful only those errors shown to have a “’substantial and

injurious effect or influence in determining a jury’s verdict.’”

Brecht, 507 U.S. at 637 (quoting Kotteakos v. United States,

328 U.S. 750, 776, 66 S. Ct. 1239, 90 L. Ed. 1557 (1946)). In

other words, only error from which petitioner can establish

“actual prejudice” will survive harmless error analysis. Id.

(citing United States v. Lane, 474 U.S. 438, 106 S. Ct. 725, 88

L. Ed. 2d 814 (1986)).

Finally, this court presumes factual findings of a state court to

be correct, and the burden falls upon petitioner to rebut this

presumption by clear and convincing evidence. 28 U.S.C. §

2254(e)(1). Factual findings made by state courts, whether trial

or appellate, are given this deference. Rushen v. Spain, 464

U.S. 114, 120, 104 S. Ct. 453, 78 L. Ed. 2d 267 (1983) (per

curium); Tinsley v. Borg, 895 F.2d 520, 526 (9th Cir. 1990).

However, where a petitioner challenges a state court’s findings

based entirely on the state record, the “unreasonable

A-12

determination” standard of 28 U.S.C. section 2254(d)(2)

[*10]

must be applied. Taylor v. Maddox, 366 F.3d 992 (9th Cir.

2004).

If. Due Process

Decisions of state courts involving application of state law

cannot be upset on federal habeas review unless they “so

fatally infected the proceedings as to render them

fundamentally unfair” in violation of petitioner’s right to due

process. Kealohapauole v. Shimoda, 800 F.2d 1463, 1465 (9th

Cir. 1986). When a state court applies a state standard stricter

or functionally equivalent to a corresponding federal standard,

this court will defer to the state court’s determination.

Stephens v. Hall, 294 F.3d 210, 214-15 (11th Cir. 2002); Cox v.

Burger, 398 F.3d 1025, 1030 (8th Cir. 2005); Owens v. Frank,

394 F.3d 490, 501 n.7 (7th Cir. 2005); McCambridge v. Halli,

303 F-3d 24, 35 (1st Cir. 2002).

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Petitioner dated Omar for approximately two or three years

prior to stabbing her to death on October 8, 1998. RT 226, 229.

Omar’s sister, Zelika, described the relationship between her

sister and petitioner as “sick” and “crazy”. Id. at 228. At

petitioner’s trial, she described seeing bruises on her sister and

witnessing petitioner verbally abuse Omar. Specifically, she

had also listened to numerous voice

(*11]

mail messages petitioner had left for her sister, in which he

screamed threats such as “watch out, bitch, I’m going to cut

you up. I’m going to fuck you up. I’m going to cut your body,

chop youup... and you think I’m a fucking joke. I’m not. Just

you watch.” Id. at 256. She also described petitioner alluding

to killing both sisters, saying he had “everything planned out

“and “if you’re there too, Zelika, I’m going to take care of you

too.” Id. at 234-58.

Petitioner’s stepfather, Paul Lightfoot, who lived with

petitioner at the time of the killing, testified that petitioner

and Omar used bad language, had problems in their

relationship and were mutually abusive both verbally and

physically. Id. at 371-74. Lightfoot relayed that prior to the

killing petitioner told him that Omar had obtained a

restraining order against him and that he was concerned about

going to jail over a case Omar had filed against him. Id. at 380-

82. About six months prior to the killing, a neighbor witnessed

petitioner yell at Omar, grab her and hit her on the head while

Omar cried hysterically. Id. at 215-16. On four separate

occasions Omar called the police in response to violent or

threatening acts by the

[*12]

petitioner. Id. at 58, 62, 141-48, 157-63, 184, 522-37. In

addition, Michael Tong, an acquaintance of petitioner,

acknowledged having made a statement to the police about an

incident in which petitioner told him that he had tried to choke

Omar. Id. at 191, 198.

Omar and Zelika both attended Heald College, and Zelika

testified that her sister had planned to stop dating petitioner

when she started classes, but petitioner had nonetheless

remained a part of Omar’s life--confronting her at school,

following her, and discouraging her from her studies by telling

her she was a loser and would not make it through her first

quarter. Id. at 254-58. On the day of the killing, Omar had just

completed that first quarter. A friend Omar was living with,

Wida Akbar, testified that Omar was going out to dinner with

petitioner to celebrate. Id. at 277, 279. Akbar also testified that

Omar told her that she could not dress up too much or make

herself look really beautiful because petitioner would kill her.

Id. at 279-80.

Samuel Dorrough heard Omar’s screams at 8:00 p.m. He

testified he had heard three screams--each cut short--coming

seconds apart from a red hatchback, and that the car horn was

blowing. Id. at 290-98.

(*13]

After leaving to call 911 and returning to the vicinity of the

car, he testified he heard what sounded like someone trying to

close a car truck with something preventing the latch from

catching. Id. at 298. He saw only a man in the car at this point,

and watched the car drive down the street, hesitate, and turn

down the road. Id. at 298-302. Other neighbors heard the same

horn-honking and screaming. Id. at 475-76. Frank Bryan

testified to seeing two people in the car moving around and

hearing frantic screaming--a woman yelling, “Oh, God, help,”

and a man yelling. Id. at 476-78, 491. Bryan heard keys being

thrown from the car at one point, saw the man get out, walk

A-15

around the car and struggle to forcefully close the passenger

door. Id. at 478-80.

Janeen Leech and Gary Eoff both saw petitioner run a stop

sign while speeding down Redwood Road around 8 p.m. Id. at

319-20, 349-51. Leech heard a thud, saw petitioner get out of

the car and scoop up what would later be determined to be

Omar’s body and throw it back in the car. Id. at 323-25. Eoff

also saw petitioner bending over to pick a limp, unmoving

Omar up off the ground and throw her in the car. Id. at 349-51.

After petitioner resumed

[*14]

driving, Leech could see a spatter of red on the passenger

window, which prompted her to call 911. Id. at 321-22, 327.

When officers arrived at the location, they found a puddle of

blood. Id. at 328.

Petitioner’s stepfather, Lightfoot, was awakened by his wife

shortly after these events. Petitioner was in the hallway of

their home slicing his throat and wrists with a knife. Id. at 3'76-

77. Lightfoot attempted to physically restrain petitioner, and

testified that while doing so, petitioner said, “Please don’t stop

me. I’ve done something terrible and the police and going to

lock me up.” Id. at 378. At that point police officers arrived at

the residence. Id. at 379. They recovered the keys to the red

hatchback. Id. at 470. Officers who inspected the car found a

large amount of blood and a bent knife on the dashboard of the

vehicle. Id. at 394-95, 452-54, 497. When officers asked

petitioner--who was covered with blood from his self-inflicted

wounds, was behaving irrationally and had been strapped to a

A-16

backboard--the whereabouts of the girl, petitioner was non-

responsive. Id. at 421-26, 500-03. After being repeatedly asked,

petitioner told the officers that he and his girlfriend had just

[*15]

broken up and that she had overdosed on sleeping pills because

she was upset. Id. at 426-28.

Omar was eventually found in the back of the hatchback. Id. at

430, 452. An autopsy revealed that Omar had suffered 23 stab

and incise wounds to her upper back, left shoulder, left arm,

upper chest, lower chest, lower left abdomen and her face and

neck. Id. at 93-99. One wound to her upper chest penetrated

her lung, which caused bleeding to her chest cavity and leakage

of air from her lung, which without medical attention, would

have alone been fatal. Id. at 105-06, 132. She also suffered

blunt force injuries to her head, face, legs and back, including

a skull fracture in the back of her head, consistent with a fall,

which alone could also be fatal without immediate medical

attention. Id. at 89-90, 104, 106-07. The forensic pathologist

determined the cause of Omar’s death to be shock and

hemorrhage due to the multiple stab and incise wounds and

blunt head trauma. Id. at RT 106.

DISCUSSION

Petitioner Morales cites four categories of error he believes

violated his rights to Due Process in violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment and to a fair trial under the Sixth Amendment. He

claims: (1) the state

[*16]

trial court made “instructional errors” when determining

sentencing; (2) the state trial court erred in its evidentiary

rulings--allowing evidence that should have been excluded to

be admitted, while excluding admissible evidence; (3) he was

unduly prejudiced by prosecutorial misconduct during the

closing arguments of his trial; and (4) he received ineffective

assistance of counsel. This court will address each category of

error in turn, and will then weigh the cumulative effect of any

demonstrated errors. I. Instructional Errors As a general

matter, “judges are presumed to know the law and to apply it

in making their decisions.” Walton v. Arizona, 497 U.S. 639,

653, 110 S. Ct. 3047, 111 L. Ed. 2d 511 (1990), overruled on

other grounds by Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584, 122 S, Ct.

2428, 153 L. Ed. 2d 556 (2002)). A trial court judge need not

explain his or her reasoning in reaching a particular decision,

Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497, 517, 98 S. Ct. 824, 54 L.

Ed. 2d 717 (1978), and in instances in which the record does

not indicate the standards used by the court, the court is

presumed to have applied correct legal standards, Wainwright

v. Witt, 469 U.S. 412, 431, 105 S. Ct. 844, 83 L. Ed. 2d 841

(1985).

Morales claims the state trial judge erred in the following

ways: (1) improperly defined the terms “premeditation,”

[*17]

“deliberation” and “unconsidered rash impulse,” (2) failed to

A-18

consider the defense of “unreasonable belief of self defense,”

(3) incorrectly ruled that there was no evidence of provocation

or of a “rash, impulsive act “ and (4) improperly required the

defense to show evidence of provocation or a rash impulse. The

State counters that the trial court judge in this case issued no

“instructions” because petitioner waived his right to a jury

trial and the court is presumed to have applied correct legal

standards. Further, it argues that the trial court applied

appropriate legal standards and definitions, considered

relevant defenses--including imperfect self defense--and

reasonably found no evidence of provocation on the victim’s

part. The State ultimately asserts that the errors, if any, are

harmless.

The California Court of Appeal rejected each of petitioners

claims relating to reliance on legal error. It found that the trial

judge applied appropriate legal standards, reached reasonable

conclusions based on the evidence available and sufficiently

considered unreasonable self defense. This court considers

each of petitioner’s claims in turn.

A. “Premeditation” and “Deliberation”

Petitioner

[*18]

first argues that the trial court erred in its definition of the

terms “premeditation” and “deliberation.” Without citation to

the record, he specifically faults the trial judge for considering

petitioner’s past deliberations as to whether he should kill his

victim as opposed to deliberations related to the particular

A-19

instance in which he actually kiiled her. He cites California

Jury Instruction (““CALJIC”) 8.20 3, which requires “the

proposed course of action”--the actual killing--to be

“considered beforehand.” The portion of the jury instruction

petitioner appears to refer to currently reads as follows: The

word “deliberate” means formed or arrived at or determined

upon as a result of careful thought and weighing of

considerations for and against the proposed course of action.

The word “premeditated’” means considered beforehand. If you

find that the killing was preceded and accompanied by a clear,

deliberate intent on the part of the defendant to kill, which was

the result of deliberation and premeditation, so that it must

have been formed upon pre-existing reflection and not under

a sudden heat of passion or other condition precluding the idea

of deliberation, it is murder of the

\*19]

first degree

CALJIC 8.20 (emphasis added)

3 In its entirety, CAL-JIC 8.20 reads as follows

All murder which is perpetrated by any kind of willful,

deliberate and premeditated killing with express malice

aforethought is murder of the first degree

The word “willful,” as used in this instruction, means

intentional.

The word “deliberate” means formed or arrived at or

A-20

determined upon as a result of careful thought and weighing of

considerations for and against the proposed course of action.

The word “premeditated” means considered beforehand

If you find that the killing was preceded and accompanied by

a clear, deliberate intent on the part of the defendant to kill,

which was the result of deliberation and premeditation, so that

it must have been formed upon pre-existing reflection and not

under a sudden heat of passion or other condition precluding

the idea of deliberation, it is murder of the first depree

The law does not undertake to measure in units of time the

length of the period during which the thought must be

pondered before it can ripen into an intent to kill which is truly

deliberate and premeditated. The time will vary with different

individuals and under varying circumstances

The

[*20]

truce test is not the duration of time, but rather the extent of

the reflection. A cold, calculated judgment and decision may be

arrived at in a short period of time, but a mere unconsidered

and rash impulse, even though it includes an intent to kill, is

not deliberation and premeditation as will fix an unlawful

killing as murder of the first degree.

To constitute a deliberate and premeditated killing, the slayer

must weigh and consider the question of killing and the

reasons for and against such a choice and, having in mind the

consequences, [he] [she] decides to and does kill,

A-21

Petitioner also argues that the trial court misapplied a three-

category analysis for determining premeditation and

deliberation outlined by the California Supreme Court in

People v. Anderson, 70 Cal. 2d 15, 26-27, 73 Cal. Rptr. 550, 447

P2d 942 (1968). The Anderson analysis focuses on three types

of evidence: (1) planning activity, (2) motive and (3) manner of

killing, and that court held that first degree murder is

supported “when there is evidence of all three types” or “at

least extremely strong evidence of (1) or evidence of (2) in

conjunction with either (1) or (3).” Id. Petitioner contends that

no evidence of either the first or second

[*21]

type existed in the trial record, and that the trial judge

improperly considered prior threats he made against Omar not

as circumstantial evidence of motive but as proof of

premeditation and deliberation. He contends that the abstract

desire to kill does not con™itute planning activity and that no

other evidence of planning activity was presented to the court.

And, he argues that because there was no pattern to the cuts

and slashes on his victim’s body and only a few stabs were

deep, the injuries are more zonsistent with a sudden explosion

of violence than a calculated murder.

Based on his view of the Anderson factors as mandatory to a

finding of premeditated murder, petitioner, citing Keating v.

Hood, 191 F-3d 1053 (9th Cir. 1999), argues his due process

rights were violated when the trial court convicted him without

finding, beyond a reasonable doubt, every necessary element to

support the conviction. This, he argues, was not harmless error

because such a finding is contingent upon the additional

A-22

determination that sufficient evidence supports the trial

court’s verdict.

The State maintains that petitioner misrepresents the trial

court’s premeditation analysis. The trial judge, it

[*22]

argues, cited not only petit :oner’s past general threats to kill

Omar but evidence of his prior attempt to kill her only two

months earlier, 4 the volatile, demeaning, vicious and harsh

relationship petitioner had with Omar as well as her own

actions immediately prior to her death, which a witness had

testified were aimed at pleasing petitioner rather than inviting

an angry response. 5 The State also argues that petitioner

improperly relies on an erroneous challenge of the trial court’s

application of state law. The State cites the California Supreme

Court’s more recent statements interpreting the Anderson

factors in People v. Perez, 2 Cal. 4th 1117, 9 Cal. Rptr. 2d 577,

831 P2d 1159 (1992), which it argues advises against accepting

petitioner’s reading of Anderson.

4 East Bay Regional Park Police Chief Norman LaPera

testified having pulled up next to petitioner and Omar on

Redwood Road at Castro Valley Boulevard on August 2, 1998,

where he could hear Omar crying, saying “no “ and “leave me

alone,” and that when he made eye contact with her, she

mouthed the words “help me. “ RT 522-28, 532. He further

testified that he stopped petitioner’s vehicle, at which time he

witnessed Omar run from the car to the back seat of his

[*23]

A-23

own car while petitioner ran towards her, saying he was going

to hurt her and swearing at her. Id. at 529-530. Upon pulling

into a strip mall at the side of the intersection, Omar continued

to cry and told LaPera several times that petitioner had told

her he was driving up the road to kill her. Id. at 531-32. Once

both vehicles were parked, LaPera said petitioner continued to

yell at Omar and ultimately had to be restrained and placed in

another police car. Id. at 535-36. LaPerla testified that Omar

continued to be upset, and repeatedly stated petitioner was

taking her up the road to kill her. Id. at 535. Omar had a three-

inch abrasion on the back of her neck and a smaller one on the

front of her neck, as well as superficial scratches on her neck

and wrists. Id. at 179. In his discussion of premeditation, the

judge stated, “[petitioner] once-had even beaten Miss Omar

while driving during the -- toward the empty reaches of

Redwood Road, telling her he was taking her there to kill her.

Perhaps the fortuitous intervention of Chief Perrea [sic] saved

her.” CT 506.

5 The judge stated that “[t]he evidence shows that Miss Omar,

in a celebrating frame of mind, dressed in party clothes, was

planning

(*24]

on a special night out with her boyfriend . . . . She dressed in

clothes that were specifically chosen not to upset Mr. Morales.”

CT 507-08.

The California Court of Appeals agreed with the State’s

analysis of the law, explaining that in Perez the California

Supreme Court held that the specific categories described in

A-24

Anderson were not a “sine qua non to finding first degree

premeditated murder, nor are they exclusive.” Resp.’s Opp.,

Exh. I at 8 (quoting Perez, 2 Cal. 4th at 1125). Instead, the

California Supreme Court said that “Anderson did not purport

to establish an exhaustive list that would exclude all other

types and combinations of evidence that could support a

finding of premeditation and deliberation” and it treated the

categories as guidelines for determining whether a killing has

been the result of “careful thought and weighing of

considerations for and against the proposed course of action.”

Perez, 2 Cal. 4th at 1123, 1125. Proceeding in a manner

consistent with Perez, petitioner’s trial judge stated that he

had “made reference to guiding principles referenced in

CALJIC, “ that for a killing to be deliberate “it must have been

formed as a result of careful thought and weighing

[*25]

oY considerations for and against the proposed course of

action” and that “the true test of deliberation is the extent of

reflection.” CT 504-07. Based on this, the appellate court

affirmed the trial court’s application of state law.

In reviewing the manner in which the trial judge applied the

appropriate state law to the facts, the appellate court noted

that petitioner “had threatened to kill [his victim] by ‘cutting’

her, virtually the same manner in which he committed the

murder.” Resp.’s Opp., Exh. [ at 8. It also cited the fact that he

had stabbed her 23 times, “including a wound to the chest that

alone would have been fatal,” citing People v. Hillery, 62 Cal.

2d 692, 703-04, 44 Cal. Rptr. 30, 401 P2d 382 (1965), and

People v. Perrotta, 224 Cal. App. 2d 498, 505, 36 Cal. Rptr. 813

A-25

(1964), for the propositions, respectively that “plunging a

lethal weapon into the chest evidences a deliberate intention

to kill” and “severe and numerous wounds require[] more than

a fleeting period of time to inflict.” The appellate court

corcluded that the nature and extent of the injuries petitioner

inflicted on his victim coupled with his prior threats of violence

supplied sufficient evidence in the record to justify the trial

court’s finding of premeditation

[*26]

and deliberation.

This court finds nothing unreasonable in the California Court

of Appeal’s interpretation of the facts, and petitioner has not

argued that the state law is inconsistent with federal standards

for determining the existence of premeditation or that the

state standard is less protective of his rights. 6 Instead,

petitioner argues that Perez and other cases interpreting the

Anderson factors should be considered factually

distinguishable from his case because specific evidence of

unhurried or calculated action was more plentiful in those

cases. See, e.g., Perez, 2 Cal. 4th at 1126 (defendant had parked

car away from victim’s home, “surreptitiously entered,” and in

the course of killing broke one knife and had taken pause to

retrieve a second), People v. Sanchez, 12 Cal. 4th 1, 18, 47 Cal.

Rptr. 2d 843, 906 P2d 1129 (defendant and accomplice

cooperated--one helping to restrain while the other stabbed).

However, this court is required to give appropriate deference

to reasonable findings of fact and applications of state law by

the state trial court. It is not this court’s role to re-evaluate the

facts based on petitioner’s disagreement with the state court’s

A-26

analysis. Nor is it proper for this court to second-guess

[*27]

the state appellate court’s application of state law. Therefore,

this court holds that the state pre-eedings were not so flawed

as to have been fundamentally unfair in violation of

petitioner’s due process rights.

6 The State correctly argues that the law applied conforms to

the equivalent federal law for determining premeditation.

Specifically, the State points to United States v. Free, 841 F.2d

321, 325 (9th Cir. 1988), in which the Ninth Circuit held that

premeditation may be established by “circumstantial evidence

and inferences drawn from it,” including but not limited to

consideration of a defendant’s “prior relationship to the victim,

the defendant’s carrying of the murder weapeén to the scene,

and the manner of the killing.”

B. “Unconsidered Rash Impulse”

Petitioner claims, again without citation to the record, that the

trial judge equated “unconsidered rash impulse” with “lack of

provocation” in discord with CALJIC 8.20 and state law.

CALJIC 8.20, petitioner relays, emphasizes the contrast

between cold, calculated judgment and decision with an

unconsidered rash impulse. He asserts that finding a lack of

provocation is not sufficient to support finding deliberation

and premeditation,

A-2.7

[*28]

and he thus argues that because instructions that a reasonable

juror could interpret as shifting the burden of proof violate due

process, his rights have been so violated.

The State relies upon the Court of Appeal’s determination that

this argument is without merit because, on the whole, the trial

court’s statements show no misunderstanding of the law. The

State cited the trial judge’s relevant remarks that “[t]he Court

is asked to accept on the one hand that based upon a volatile,

demeaning, vicious and harsh relationship that Mr. Morales

was pushed to the breaking point and that he killed upon an

unconsidered and rash impulse.” Resp.’s Opp., Exh. I at 9. The

appellate court concluded that such remarks “reflect that [the

trial court] considered the evidence presented in light of the

theories presented and determined that the killing constituted

first degree murder.” Id. Petitioner argued at trial that his

tumultuous relationship with his victim should be considered

evidence that he may have had reason to become angry with

her and suddenly engage in an unpremeditated act of violence

against her. The appellate court reasonably interpreted the

trial court’s comments as referring to petitioner’s

[*29]

own theory of the case.

Moreover, the trial judge stated that there was “overwhelming

direct and circumstantial evidence that the critical element of

expressed ‘malice aforethought [was] proven beyond a

reasonable doubt.’” CT 509. The State provides the court

A-28

elaboration on this point:

Omar suffered 23 stab wounds on her face, neck, back and

chest. There was evidence that petitioner was jealous of Omar

and did not want her to look too beautiful. The wounds to her

face show a deliberated and calculated intent to disfigure her.

Omar screamed and honked the horn several times when

petitioner was attacking her; each time her screams were cut

short. There was also evidence that Omar attempted to get out

of the car to escape the attack: petitioner got out of the car,

went to the passenger side, and struggled to close the door.

After petitioner drove from the scene, Omar fell from the car.

Petitioner callously picked her up and literally threw her

motionless body back in the car.

Resp.’s Opp. at 22.

Petitioner’s trial was before a judge, not a jury. The trial judge

is presumed to have understood correct legal standards in the

absence of evidence in his statements to the contrary. In light

of

[*30]

the evidence on record and theories presented by petitioner at

his trial, the appellate court reasonably concluded that no

statements of the trial judge indicate the court misunderstood

the law. It was therefore appropriate that the appellate court

rejected petitioner’s claim, and this court will similarly deny

relief.

C. Defense of “Unreasonable Belief of Self Defense”

A-29

Petitioner next contends that the trial court did not adequately

consider evidence of unreasonable or imperfect self defense.

For support, petitioner cites to People v. Uriarte, 223 Cal. App.

3d 192, 198, 272 Cal. Rptr. 693 (1990), which requires that a

judge instruct ajury on the meaning of the defense where some

evidence has been presented to support it. He claims that

testimony from witnesses that the victim at some time told

petitioner she would “kick [his] ass,” and the fact that some of

petitioner’s blood was found on the knife which he used ‘to stab

her, should have sufficed to require an instruction about the

defense.

The State maintains that the only evidence petitioner

presented regarding Omar’s ability to do him harm was that

she had at some point in their relationship told him she had

“the capability through friends and family

[*31]

to have his ass kicked.” RT 752. Omar herself was five feet, one

inch tall and weighed only 110 pounds. Id. at 159. Petitioner

appears to have presented no evidence as to what could have

made him either rationally or irrationally fearful of his victim

on the evening of the killing. DNA testing admitted during the

trial did indicate petitioner could not be excluded from “minor

types of blood” collected from the knife used in the killing;

however, the State points out that many of the stab wounds

petitioner inflicted on Omar required “a great deal of force”--so

much so that “the blade of the knife was bent”--so it would not

be unreasonable to conclude that he might have incurred some

minor cuts, which would have caused some amount of his blood

to end up on the knife. Id. at 132, 454.

A-30

Further, the State suggests that imperfect self defense is

essentially equivalent to finding that a killing was a form of

voluntary manslaughter, and that the court was not required

to consider sua sponte this lesser included offense because of

a lack of substantial evidence that defendant killed Omar in

unreasonable self defense.

The Court of Appeals cited the trial court’s statement that it

was “convinced

[*32]

beyond a reasonable doubt that the wounds were not inflicted

in self-defense,” and it stated it was satisfied that the trial

court properly applied and followed the law. Resp.’s Opp., Exh.

I at 10. It cited California Evidence Code (“CEC”) section 664,

which in relevant part provides: “[I]t is presumed that official

duty has been regularly performed.” Id. at 9.

Again, the appellate court conducted the appropriate analysis;

a judge sitting in place of a jury is presumed to know the law.

Walton, 497 U.S. at 653. Petitioner’s reliance on Uriarte is

nonsensical in the context of appeal from a bench trial, in

which there is nojury to instruct. The only question is whether

the judge himself considered correct legal standards and

weighed the evidence correctly, and nothing in the trial record

indicates he did not. Rather, the trial court appears reasonably

to have concluded that self defense--reasonable or otherwise--

was not the motivation of defendant’s actions based on the

weight of the evidence. Petitioner stabbed Omar no less than

23 times, the strikes were wilfully inflicted upon her back,

front, and face, and time elapsed between cuts. CT 506. There:

A-31

is no indication that the court failed

[*33]

to entertain petitioner’s defense or consider relevant evidence.

For these reasons, this court finds the Court of Appeal’s

rejection of petitioner’s claim appropriate.

D. Evidence of Provocation or of a “Rash, Impulsive Act”

Petitioner argues next that the trial court erred in finding no

evidence of provocation or of a rash, impulsive act. He suggests

that because witness accounts that Omar’s screams during the

killing came 10 to 15 seconds apart and because he was

extremely distraught after the killing, evidence existed which

supported impulse. He claims the trial court erred in requiring

proof of provocation to support a finding that he acted in a

rash, impulsive manner, and he argues that the trial court

impermissibly shifted the burden of proving he acted in a rash,

impulsive manner to the defense in violation of his due process

rights.

The State contends petitioner takes the trial court’s words out

of context. The Court of Appeal agreed with the State and

rejected petitioner’s claim. At trial, petitioner relied on hisown

assertion that some provocation sparked the rash, impulsive

act of killing. In context, the trial judge stated:

Several scenarios have been proposed, Defense suggested [*34]

the evidence shows a volatile, physical, abusive and self

destructive relationship. And something happened in the car

to force a rash, impulsive act by Mr. Morales. While of course,

A-32

possible, there is ro evidence to support this version. While

acknowledging a mercurial temperament, all the evidence

points to a vibrant young woman out for a happy celebration.

CT 508.

The appellate court held that the trial court’s comments “|do]

not demonstrate that the court placed the burden upon

defendant of introducing direct evidence of provocation in the

car “ but that the trial court “was simply reviewing the

evidence and theories presented and giving its conclusion that

the evidence failed to support defendant’s theory.” Resp.’s

Opp., Exh. I at 10. The court reasonably deemed the relevant

statements made by the trial judge to be a rejection of

petitioner’s theory that Omar provoked him to act in a rash,

impulsive manner--not a requirement that petitioner prove an

act of provocation to demonstrate impulsive behavior sufficient

to escape a first degree murder conviction. Id. This court

agrees, Petitioner’s contention that there was some evidence

supporting a rash act which the trial court ignored

[*35]

is not supported by the record; rather, as the state courts both

found, the weight of the evidence in the case, much of which

has already been discussed, convinced the trial judge beyond a

reasonable doubt that petitioner committed premeditated and

deliberate murder. Petitioner was not forced to carry an

inappropriate burden; he failed to raise sufficient facts to

negate the prosecution’s showing. Because this court finds the

determination by the appellate court to be reasonable,

petitioner’s argument fails and no error is assigned.

A-33

If. Evidentiary Determinations

Petitioner asserts that the trial court impermissibly: (1)

admitted harmful testimonial! hearsay evidence of his deceased

victim; (2) admitted a similarly damaging prior statement

given to the police by Michael Tong; and (3) excluded evidence

of Omar’s past violent acts. The State argues that: (1)

admission of statements previously made by Omar to police

were reasonable pursuant to CEC section 1370, (2) petitioner

waived objections to the admission of Michael ‘Tong’s

statements; and (3) the trial court properly excluded evidence

of the victim’s alleged prior violent conduct. The Court of

Appeal reviewed petitioner’s claims, and

| *36 |

determined that the trial court committed no error

A. Admission of Omar's prior statement:

At trial, Nelva Omar’s statements made to the police about

prior acts of misconduct by petitioner on four separate

occasions were admitted into evidence pursuant to CEC section

1370.7 These statements narrated threats made by petitioner

to Omar at various times. CT 422. Petitioner has challenged

the admission of these sLatements, claiming a violation of his

right of confrontation under the Sixth Amendment because he

had no opportunity to cross-examine Omar about the

statements. &

7 CHC 1370 provides for the introduction into evidence the

hearsay statements of a declarant “if all of the following

conditions are met”

(1) The statement purports to narrate, describe, or explain the

infliction or threat of physical injury upon the declarant

(2) The declarant is unavailable as a witness pursuant to

Section 240

(3) The statement was made at or near the time of the

infliction or threat of physical injury. Evidence of statements

made more than five years before the filing of the current

action or proceeding shal! be inadmissible under this section

(4) The statement was made under circumstances that would

[*537]

indicate its trustworthiness

8 Petitioner did not object to the admission of these statements

at trial on the basis of inability to confront because at the time

of trial the Supreme Court had not yet decided Craw/ord v

Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 124 S. Ct. 1354, 158 L. led. 2d 177

(2004). As the state appellate court held, it is appropriate to

excuse this lack of objection on the basis that such objection

would have been “unsupported by substantive law then in

existence.” People v. Welch, 5 Cal.4th 228, 237, 19 Cal. Rptr. 2d

520, 851 P2d 802 (1993). This court, however, considers the

facts of petitioner's case in light of the rules of confrontation

set forth in Crawford because that case was decided while

petitioner's direct state appeal was pending. See Linkletter v

Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 627, 85 S. Ct. 1731, 14 L. Ed. 2d 601

(1965) (“a change in law will be given effect while a case is on

direct review”).

The State contends that admission of the prior statements was

reasonable because petitioner forfeited his right of

confrontation, and alternatively, the statements were properly

admitted under the standard set forth in Crawford uv.

Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 124 S. Ct. 1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177

(2004), as refined by the United States and California Supreme

Courts in Davis v. Washington, 547 U.S. 813, 126 S. Ct. 2266,

165 L. Ed. 2d 224 (2006), and People v. Cage, 40 Cal. 4th 965,

56 Cal. Rptr. 3d 789, 155 P3d 205 (2007).

[*38]

The State further argues any potential error was harmless

because the question of Morales’ identity as the person who

killed Omar was not at issue. In response to the State’s

forfeiture argument petitioner urges this court to impose a

specific intent requirement into the equitable rule of forfeiture.

Petitioner claims he cannot be deemed to have forfeited his

right to confrontation unless he killed Omar in order to

specifically keep her from testifying at trial. In support of this

position, petitioner cites Federal Rule of Evidence (“FRE”)

804(b6)(6), which requires a showing that the party against

whom a statement has been offered “has engaged or acquiesced

in wrong-doing that was intended to, and did procure the

unavailability of the declarant as a witness.” Petitioner cites to

various cases and official commentary to the rule which bolster

the argument that FRE 804(6)(6) requires a specific intent to

make a witness unavailable.

A-36

The Court of Appeal deemed petitioner’s right of confrontation

forfeited pursuant to Crawford and Reynolds, and cited cases

from other circuits to illustrate the appropriateness of the

forfeiture exception despite a lack of specific intent to make the

witness

[*39]

unavailable. 9 Resp.’s Opp., Exh. I at 10-13. This court agrees

with the appellate court’s conclusion and finds that petitioner

forfeited his right to confront Omar when he killed her.

9 The court cited United States v. Emery, 186 F3d 921, 926

(8th Cir. 1999), and State v. Meeks, 277 Kan. 609, 88 P3d 789,

794 (Kan. 2004).

Petitioner’s forfeiture argument, although superficially logical,

is untenable because petitioner errs by conflating the common

law rule of equitable forfeiture of the right of confrontation

with the more recently developed and distinct FRE 804(6)(6).

The rationale for rejecting petitioner’s argument was

succinctly stated by the California Supreme Court in the case

of People v. Giles, 40 Cal. 4th 833, 55 Cal. Rptr. 3d 133, 152

P3d 433 (2007). 10 That court recognized that the United

States Supreme Court reaffirmed an equitable forfeiture

exception to the right of confrontation in Crawford, as it was

originally defined in the case of Reynolds v. United States, 98

U.S. 145, 25 L. Ed. 244 (1879). Id. at 840-41; see also

Crawford, 541 U.S. at 62 n. 9 (“rule of forfeiture by

wrongdoing (which we accept) extinguishes confrontation

claims on essentially equitable grounds”). The court then

reasoned that equity should not allow another

A-37

[*40]

to take advantage of his or her own wrong; and, additionally,

explained that the equitable rule referred to in Crawford is one

of forfeiture, rather than waiver, and therefore does not

require the same element of intent that must be shown to

trigger application of FRE 804(6)(6). Giles, 40 Cal. 4th at 849-

49 (citing Reynolds, 98 U.S. at 159 (“no one shall be permitted

to take advantage of his own wrong” and “ifa witness is absent

by his own wrongful procurement, he cannot complain if

competent evidence is submitted to supply the place of that

which he has kept away”)); United States v. Garcia-Meza, 403

F.3d 364, 370 (6th Cir. 2005) (Supreme Court’s rationale for

affirming rule of forfeiture “strongly suggests that the rule’s

applicability does not hinge on the wrongdoer’s motive.”);

United States v. Olano, 507 U.S. 725, 733, 113 S. Ct. 1770, 123

L. Ed. 2d 508 (1993) (“forfeiture” and “waiver” are distinctly

different terms); Freytag v. Commissioner, 501 U.S. 868, 894-

95, 111 S. Ct. 2631, 115 L. Ed. 2d 764 (“Waiver, the

‘intentional relinquishment or abandonment of a known right

or privilege’ is merely one means by which a forfeiture may

occur. Some rights may be forfeited by means short of

waiver.”) (citations omitted)).

10 This court notes, but does

(*41]

not rely on, the holding in Giles. The court agrees with the

analysis put forth by the Giles court and cites it for illustrative

purposes.

e

oy)

io)

The equitable principle of not rewarding wrongdoing and

recognizing that the exception at issue is one of forfeiture

rather than waiver both negate requiring specific intent to

make a witness unavailable when a defendant has caused the

unaveilability of that witness. When an exception to the

hearsay rule would otherwise make a statement admissible, the

Confrontation Clause does not stand as a bar if the defendant

is responsible for the unavailability of the declarant.

Here, it is undisputed that petitioner killed Nelva Omar.

Although statements made on at least three of the four

occasions in question were potentially testimonial in nature,

the statements were all properly admitted pursuant to CEC

section sections 1370 and 1240. 11 This court finds that the

state appellate court correctly found that petitioner suffered no

constitutional error by the admission of Omar’s statements at

trial.

li The court notes, but finds no need to address, petitioner’s

objection based on People v. Kons, 108 Cal. App. 4th 514, 133

Cal. Rptr. 2d 520 (2003), that CEC section 1370 has been

deemed

[*42]

not to qualify as a firmly rooted, reliable hearsay exception

under the test of Ohio v. Roberts because that test is no longer

applicable. The Court of Appeal noted that, based on the

evidence in the record, the trial court did not err in ruling that

the statements were sufficiently trustworthy to meet the

fourth requirement for admission under 1370. It found that

the trial court reasonably deemed the statements trustworthy

A-39

for this purpose based on the lack of pending litigation, the fact

that Omar’s injuries were consistent with her complaints, and

that although she “may have had bias or motive for fabrication

due to her increasingly volatile relationship with [petitioner],

her demeanor at the time of the reports suggested she was

more likely to be credible.” Resp.’s Opp., Exh. I at 13-14. B.

Admission of Michael Tong’s statements

Petitioner argues that the trial court impermissibly admitted

a prior statement by Michae! Tong--a former highschool

classmate of petitioner--made to the police in October 1998.

The statement acknowledged that he had met petitioner’s

girlfriend--most likely Omar--and provided some minimal

description about her. It also acknowledged that petitioner had

told

[*43]

Tong he suspected his girlfriend of cheating, and that during

an argument petitioner had thrown his girlfriend on the bed,

began to choke her and considered smothering her with a

pillow. RT 198. The statement was admitted because Tong

testified that although he remembered talking to sheriff

deputies on several occasions and recalled meeting petitioner’s

girlfriend, he did not recall speaking to the police on the

particular date when the statement was made. Tong

maintained that he probably made and signed a statement

about petitioner, and that the statement was truthful. The

trial court admitted the statement pursuant to CEC section

1237 as a past recollection recorded. 12 Petitioner argues that

admission under section 1237 was inappropriate because Tong

had been a drug user for nearly 10 years and that his

A-40

statement was not fresh.

12 CEC 1237 provides:

(a) Evidence of a statement previously made by a witness is not

made inadmissible by the hearsay rule if the statement would

have been admissible if made by him while testifying, the

staiement concerns a matter as to which the witness has

insufficient present recollection to enable him to testify fully

and accurately, and the statement

[*44]

is contained in a writing which:

(1) Was made at a time when the fact recorded in the writing

actually occurred or was fresh in the witness’ memory;

(2) Was made (i) by the witness himself or under his direction

or (ii) by some other person for the purpose of recording the

witness’ stat~ >ent at the time it was made;

(3) Is offered after the witness testifies that the statement he

made was a true statement of such fact; and

(4) Is offered after the writing is authenticated as an accurate

record of the statement. (b) The writing may be read into

evidence, but the writing itself mey not be received in evidence

unless offered by an adverse party.

The State asserts that petitioner explicitly waived objection to

the admission of Tong’s statement so he is therefore

A-41

proceduraily barred from complaint. Alternatively, it argues

that the admission of Tong’s statement was not prejudicial

because petitioner was able to and did cross-examine Tong

about the statement. Moreover, the State argues any error that

might be assigned should be deemed harmless because Tong’s

statement was only one of many pieces of evidence

demonstrating petitioner had been physically abusive and

threatening towards Omar.

The Court

[*45]

of Appeal accepted the State’s waiver argument. It relied upon

the fact that although petitioner initially moved to strike

Tong’s testimony on redirect, wherein Tong admitted he told

the deputy sheriff the facts in his statement, petitioner

subsequently appears to have withdrawn the initial objection.

Resp.’s Opp., Exh. I at 15. After the parties had rested, the

Court of Appeal noted that in the context of discussion about

evidentiary motions, and specifically in relation to Tong’s

testimony, the prosecution stated, “I don’t know if counsel is

still objecting to the admissibility of that testimony,” and that

in reply, petitioner’s counsel said “No.” Id. The appellate court

also cited the trial court’s statement that “[t]here being no

objection, there’s no issue.” Id.

This court finds no error in the appellate court’s determination

that waiver occurred at trial. The conclusion was reasonable

based on the cited statements made by counsel and the trial

court judge, and the result does not impose any stricter

standard than is recognized by federal law. See Peretz v. United

A-42

States, 501 U.S. 923, 936-37, 111 S. Ct. 2661, 115 L. Ed. 2d 808

(1991) (“No procedural principal is more familiar to this Court

than that a constitutional

[*46]

right may be forfeited in criminal as well as civil cases by the

failure to make timely assertions of the right before a tribunal

having jurisdiction to determine it.”)

C. Exclusion of Omar’s prior conduct

Petitioner argues that the trial judge erred in not admitting

evidence regarding a particular instance in which Omar struck

and injured another individual with her car during a dispute

with another gir] in high school. He cites CEC section 1103,

which provides that evidence of a character trait may be

introduced through evidence of a specific instance of conduct.

13 The State argues that the evidence was appropriately

deemed irrelevant and unduly prejudicial by the trial court,

and excluded within the court’s discretion. 13 CEC 1103

provides: (a) In a criminal action, evidence of the character or

a trait of character (in the form of an opinion, evidence of

reputation, or evidence of specific instances of conduct) of the

victim of the crime for which the defendant is being prosecuted

is not made inadmissible by Section 1101 if the evidence is:

(1) Offered by the defendant to prove conduct of the victim in

conformity with the character or trait of character.

(2) Offered by the prosecution

A-43

[*47]

to rebut evidence adduced by the defendant under paragraph

(1),

The trial court exciuded the evidence for lack of relevance

because it did not relate directly to Omar’s relationship with

petitioner, didn’t touch upon her credibility, and because,

having occurred three years prior, it was too remote in time to

show that Omar had any significant propensity for violence.

The court concluded that because the testimony would have

“negligible weight” it would be “ultimately meaningless.” RT

718.

The Court of Appeal upheld the trial court’s determination. It

held that CEC section 352 allows a trial court to preclude

admission of evidence pursuant to section 1103 if “the evidence

and the danger of prejudice, confusion and undue time

consumption” substantially outweigh the probative value of

the evidence. Resp.’s Opp., Exh. I at 15-16. Acknowledging the

California Supreme Court’s statement in People v. Wright, 39

Cal. 3d 576, 588, 217 Cal. Rptr. 212, 703 P2d 1106 (1985), that

“the danger of these evils” must “substantially outweigh the

probative value of the evidence,” the appellate court then

reviewed the trial court’s decision for abuse of discretion, citing

People v. Rodriguez, 20 Cal. 4th 1, 9-10, 82 Cal. Rptr. 2d 413,

971 P2d 618 (1999), and determined that

[*48]

because there was already ample evidence that Omar and

petitioner were abusive toward one another and argued

A-44

frequently and because the testimony was “weak and

contradicted in cross-examination,” the trial court had

proper'y ruled the evidence inadmissible.

The State argues that although the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments guarantee petitioner a meaningful opportunity to

present a complete defense, not every unfavorable evidentiary

ruling, even if erroneous, is a constitutional deprivation, and

that “the Constitution permits judges to exclude evidence that

is repetitive, only marginally relevant, or poses an undue risk

of harassment, prejudice, or confusion of the issues.” Holmes

v. South Carolina, 547 U.S. 319, 326-27, 126 S. Ct. 1727, 164

L. Ed. 2d 503 (2006) (internal quotations omitted); Montana v.

Egelhoff, 518 U.S. 37, 42-43, 116 S. Ct. 2013, 135 L. Ed. 2d 361

(1996) (defendants do not have unfettered right to offer

evidence); Dowling v. United States, 493 U.S. 342, 352-54, 110

S. Ct. 668, 107 L. Ed. 2d 708 (1990) (prejudice of evidentiary

ruling determined by rules of evidence rather than concept of

due process); Jammal v. Van De Kamp, 926 F:2d 918, 919 (9th

Cir. 1991) (“We are not a state supreme court of errors; we do

not review questions of state evidence law. On federal habeas

[*49]

we may only consider whether the petitioner’s conviction

violated constitutional norms.”)

The appellate court’s determination appears to have been

reasonable in light of the state rule of evidence applied, which

does not appear to violate any federal constitutional standard.

Petitioner has failed to show that the court’s admission was for

any reason so unfair as to have violated his right to due

A-45

process. Therefore, this court declines to find any error in the

appellate court’s approval of the trial court’s discretionary

decision to exclude the evidence.

III. Prosecutorial Misconduct

Petitioner next asserts that he was unduly prejudiced by

several statements made by the prosecutor during the closing

arguments, which he argues denied him his right to a fair trial.

Specifically, petitioner claims the prosecutor: (1) accused

defense counsel of presenting a bad-faith defense; (2) appealed

to passion and prejudice--urging the judge to overlook the law;

and (3) imposed testimony by body language by commenting

on petitioner’s demeanor when sitting in court.

The State argues that petitioner’s claim is procedurally barred

because petitioner failed to object at the time of the alleged

misconduct.

[*50)

Moreover, the State asserts that if considered on the merits--

even if viewed cumulatively--any comments the prosecutor

made should be considered harmless because there was no

prejudicial effect upon the bench trial proceedings.

The Court of Appeal found for the State on the basis of

petitioner’s failure to object, citing People v. Cunningham, 25

Cal. 4th 926, 1000-01, 108 Cal. Rptr. 2d 291, 25 P3d 519

(2001) (a claim is preserved only when a defendant timely

object and requests a curative admission), and People v. Scott,

15 Cal. 4th 1188, 1217, 65 Cal. Rptr. 2d 240, 939 P2d 354

A-46

(1997) (same is true in a proceeding before the court rather

than a jury). The court also deemed the prosecutor’s

statements--although acknowledging that some were improper

14--harmless because during this bench trial the judge was less

likely to be significantly affected by the prosecutor’s

statements. Moreover, the court addressed the merits of each

of petitioner’s particular claims, and found that only one of the

three was actually misconduct. 14 The prosecutor commented

on petitioner’s courtroom demeanor--saying that petitioner

had a “smug little look on his face” and was pouting--in a

manner that petitioner argued below constituted unfair

comment on his choice not to testify.

[*51)

The appellate court acknowledged that these comments were

improper pursuant to state law, citing People v. Boyette, 29 Cal.

4th 381, 434, 127 Cal. Rptr. 2d 544, 58 P3d 391 (2002).

Petitioner asserts that the following comments by the

prosecutor in rebuttal argument improperly implied that

defense counsel fabricated a defense: “The defense knows

perfectly well that the evidence in this case is that this is a

crime of murder. The defense knows perfectly well that this is

not a manslaughter. There is no evidentiary basis to support

manslaughter. This is a murder.” RT 780. Petitioner cited two

California Supreme Court cases and one state appellate court

case for precedent to support the claim that the prosecutions

comments about bad-faith defense were misconduct: People v.

Bain, 5 Cal. 3d 839, 847, 97 Cal. Rptr. 684, 489 P2d 564

(1971); People v. Nolan, 126 Cal. App. 623, 641, 14 P2d 880

(1932); and People v. Perry, 7 Cal. 3d 756, 789, 103 Cal. Rptr.

A-47

161, 499 P2d 129 (1972). However, the Court of Appeal--citing

the more recent California Supreme Court case People v. Hill,

17 Cal. 4th 800, 819, 72 Cal. Rptr. 2d 656, 952 P2d 673 (1998)-

-found that on this point the prosecutor had merely made “fair

comment on the evidence.” In Ifill, the Court held that

“[clonduct by a prosecutor that does not render acriminal trial

fundamentally unfair is

|*52]

prosecutorial misconduct under state law only if it involves the

use of deceptive or reprehensible methods to attempt to

persuade either the court or the jury.” !d. The Court further

explained that

a prosecutor is given wide latitude during argument. ‘The

argument may be vigorous as long as it amounts to fair

comment on the evidence, which can include reasonable

inferences, or deductions to be drawn therefrom. It is also clear

that counsel during summation may state matters not in

evidence, but which are common knowledge or are illustrations

drawn from common experience, history or literature. A

prosecutor may vigorously argue his case and is not limited to

“Chesterfieldian politeness”, and he may use appropriate

epithets ....

Id. This court finds the prosecutor's statements to be vigorous

advocacy and holds that the appellate court below was not

unreasonable in finding petitioner's statements proper in light

of Hill,

Petitioner’s claim that the prosecution appealed to the trial

A-48

judge’s passion and prejudice is also misguided. Petitioner

points to the prosecutor’s statement that petitioner’s defense

was merely an “intellectual exercise” and a “charade.”

However, petitioner cites cases

1753]

which condemn calls for a jury to “make a statement,” United

States v. Weatherspoon, 410 F.3d 1142, 1149 (9th Cir. 2005),

“send a message” to socicty at large, United States v. Solivan,

I37 F2d 1146, 1153 (6th Cir, 1991), or “be the conscience of

the community” when such appeal is “specifically designed to

inflame the jury,” United States v. Koon, 34 F.3d 1416, 1443

(9th Cir. 1994). These cases are factually distinguishable from

petitioner’s and therefore do not lend support to petitioner's

argument. ‘he Court of Appeal reasonably determined the

statements did not. constitute misconduct but merely critiqued

defense counsel’s presentation of the case

As for comments with regard to petitioner’s passive courtroom

demeanor, petitioner cites to United States v. Schuler, 813 EF

2d 978, 979 (9th Cir. 1986), and other cases in which several

circuit courts have deemed it reversible error to allow comment

on a defendant’s off-the-stand behavior. Llowever, the Court of

Appeal did not deny this behavior was misconduct; it found

that such misconduct was not prejudicial because, unlike cases

such as Schuler where improper comments were made to a

jury, the comments made before the judge at petitioner's

[*54]

bench trial could not be presumed to have the same prejudicial!

A-49

effect.

This court finds that the Court of Appeal properly analyzed

petitioner’s misconduct claims. It followed California Supreme

Court precedent in determining that petitioner’s failure to

raise objection at the time the statements were made precludes

his subsequent challenge of the statements, and this result

does not conflict with federal law. Additionally, the appellate

court nonetheless analyzed each of petitioner’s claims, but

based on the reasons mentioned found only one claim to have

merit. This court is satisfied with the appellate court’s ultimate

conclusion that even that claim--were it not barred by

petitioner’s failure to object--could not be considered harmful

because under the Brecht standard, petitioner must show that

the trial judge was significantly influenced by the prosecutor's

comments; in light of the overall record, this court cannot say

that such actual prejudice occurred.

IV. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

The Sixth Amendment guarantees criminal defendants the

right of “effective assistance of counsel.” Strickland uv.

Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 684-85, 104 S. Ct. 2052, 80 L. Ed.

2d 674 (1984) (quotation omitted). Counsel is required

(*55] to provide “reasonably effective assistance” from an

objective standpoint. Jd. at 687. In Strickland, the Supreme

Court defined the test for determining whether effective

assistance of counsel has been denied:

First, the defendant must show that counsel’s performance was

deficient. This requires showing that counsel made errors so

A-SO

”

serious that counsel was not functioning as the “counsel

guaranteed the defendant by the Sixth Amendment. Second,

the defendant must show that the deficient performance

prejudiced the defense. This requires showing that counsel’s

errors were so serious as to deprive the defendant of a fair

trial, a trial whose result is reliable. Unless a defendant makes

both showings, it cannot be said that the conviction or death

sentence resulted from a breakdown in the adversary process

that renders the result unreliable.

Id. (emphasis added).

A. Petitioner’s Claims

Petitioner’s ineffective assistance of counsel claim is based on

two allegations of failure on his attorney’s part. First, that his

counsel did not object to inappropriate comments made by the

prosecutor during closing arguments of petitioner’s trial; and

second, that his attorney failed to investigate the origin

[*56]

of the weapon petitioner used in the commission of his crime.

Petitioner contends that his counsel’s failure to object could

not have been an intentional strategic decision, and he argues

that the failure to investigate foreclosed the possibility that

counsel might have discovered evidence undermining the

government’s proof of premeditation and deliberation.

The Court of Appeal rejected petitioner’s claims of ineffective

assistance of counsel, finding that counsel’s failure to object

was not prejudicial because “any prosecutorial misconduct was

A-51

harmless.” Resp.’s Opp., Exh. I at 19. As to the failure to fully

investigate the origin of the murder weapon, the appellate

court determined that “[tjhe facts alleged in the petition do not

prove that defense counsel failed to investigate the origin of

the knife; only that he did not ask defendant’s mother about

the issue,” that “counsel was not ineffective in not pursuing

the origin of the knife with defendant’s mother,” and that even

if counsel had been ineffective in this regard, “evidence of the

origin of the knife would not have had an effect on the verdict

in view of the overwhelming evidence of premeditation and

deliberation.” Id.

This

court has already deemed any error resulting from the

prosecutor’s closing statements was reasonably deemed

harmless by the state appellate court. For the same reasons,

the court finds reasonable the appellate court’s determination

that the failure to object to the statements was harmless.

This court also finds reasonable the appellate court’s

determinations regarding the claim of failure to investigate.

The appellate court correctly applied the Strickland standard,

and in doing so determined that petitioner did not allege facts

that if proven true would demonstrate prejudice. Resp.’s Opp.,

Exh. I at 18-19. Petitioner contends that if it could be shown

that the knife he used to kill Omar had been in her car, it

would suggest he had not planned to kill Omar. Although this

court acknowledges the same is a reasonable inference,

petitioner merely suggests that a declaration from his mother

A-52

“did tend to show” he had not brought the knife because it

“was a serrated kitchen knife, petitioner was living at his

mother’s house at the time of the killing, and his mother

declared that no knives were missing from her kitchen.” Pet’s

Reply in Support of Motion for Evid. Hearing at 5. That the

common

[*58]

kitchen knife may not have come from his mother’s home does

not negate the possibility that petitioner obtained it from any

number of places other than Omar’s car. Moreover, even if

petitioner found the knife in Omar’s car, petitioner has not

shown that the trial court would have drawn petitioner’s

desired inference in light of all of the other evidence presented

at trial. Absent this showing, this court finds the Court of

Appeal’s holding that any failure to investigate did not rise to

the level of ineffective assistance of counsel, or if it did it was

nonetheless harmless, was reasonable.

B. Petitioner’s Motion for Evidentiary Hearing

On September 27, 2007 petitioner filed a motion for

evidentiary hearing pursuant to Rule 8 of the Rules Governing

Section 2254 cases (“Rule 8”) and Local Rule 2254-7, based on

his asserted need for further expansion of the record to support

his claim of ineffective assistance of counsel. Relying on Karp

v. Ornoski, 431 F.3d 1158 (9th Cir. 2005), petitioner argues he

is entitled to an evidentiary hearing because he has presented

a colorable claim of ineffective assistance of counsel and the

state court’s decision was based on an _ unreasonable

determination

A-53

of facts.

In an opposition motion submitted on October 1, 2007 the

State argued that a hearing should not be granted for three

reasons. First, petitioner is not entitled to such hearing

because he has not met the requirements of 28 U.S.C. section

2254(e)(2). Section 2254(e)(2) requires petitioner to have

developed the factual basis for his claim in state proceedings,

or in the alternative to show that a new rule of constitutional

law or new factual predicate is the basis of his claim. Second,

even if the factual allegations were established to be true, they

would not support a finding that the offending conduct was

prejudicial. Third, petitioner did not comply with local rule

2254-7(a), which requires both that a request for an

evidentiary hearing be made within 15 days from the

expiration of the time for filing a traverse and that the request

specify which factual issues in particular require a hearing and

what evidence will be offered.

The State correctly points out that petitioner has not complied

with the timing requirements of the local rule for filing his

request. However, petitioner counters that the court has an

independent duty under Rule 8 to determine whether an

evidentiary

{*60]

hearing is warranted--whether mandatory or merely desirable.

Petitioner also asserts his failure to request an evidentiary

hearing in the state court proceedings is excusable because he

A-S4

had no practical ability to make such a request since the state

appellate court never issued an order to show cause, which he

argues was a necessary precursor to raising the issue.

Claims which can be resolved on an existing record do not

warrant a federal evidentiary hearing. Baja v. Ducharme, 187

F'38d 1075, 1078 (9th Cir. 1999). Although mindful of its

obligations, this court will not grant petitioner an evidentiary

hearing because the court finds the factual determinations

made by the appellate court below in resolving the ineffective

assistance of counsel claims to be reasonable for the reasons

previously stated. See Karp, 431 F'3d at 1166-67 (“Because a

federal court may not independently review the merits of a

state court decision without first applying the AEDPA

standards, a federal court may not grant an evidentiary

hearing without first determining whether the state court’s

decision was an unreasonable determination of the facts.”).

Petitioner has failed to sufficiently demonstrate what, if

[*61]

any, new facts could be established during such a hearing that

would undermine the reasonable determination of the Court of

Appeal below that the offending conduct, even if true, was not

prejudicial.

V. Cumulative Error

This court recognizes that in some instances it is appropriate

to consider the cumulative effect of several errors that

otherwise viewed separately would not result in a sufficient

degree of prejudice to warrant reversal. See Alcala uv.

A-55

Woodford, 334 M3d 862, 893-95 (9th Cir. 2003). Petitioner,

however, is unable to establish any federal constitutional error

whatsoever, let alone an accumulation of errors. Therefore, no

basis for finding cumulative error exists. See Fuller v. Roe, 182

F:3d 699, 704 (9th Cir. 1999) (where no single constitutional

error exists “nothing can accumulate to the level of a

constitutional violation.”); accord Mancuso v. Olivarez, 292

F38d 939, 957 (9th Cir. 2002) (“Because there is no single

constitutional error in this case, there is nothing to accumulate

to a level of a constitutional violation.”).

CONCLUSION

Because petitioner has failed to demonstrate any error rising

to the level of actual prejudice, or any combination of errors

that taken

(*62]

together rise to such level, the petition for writ of habeas

corpus is DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: February 13, 2008

/s/ Marilyn Hall Patel

MARILYN HALL PATEL

United States District Court Judge

Northern District of California

A-56

b. California Court of Appeal Opinion

THE PEOPLE, Plaintiff and Respondent,

HAROLD MORALES, Defendant and Appellant.

In re HAROLD MORALES, on Habeas Corpus.

A102198, A108550

COURT OF APPEAL OF CALIFORNIA,

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION FOUR

2005 Cal. App. Unpub. LEXIS 6377

July 20, 2005, Filed

NOTICE: [*1]

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS.

CALIFORNIA RULES OF COURT, RULE 977(a), PROHIBIT

COURTS AND PARTIES FROM CITING OR RELYING ON

OPINIONS NOT CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION OR

ORDERED PUBLISHED, EXCEPT AS SPECIFIED BY RULE

977(B). THIS OPINION HAS NOT BEEN CERTIFIED FOR

PUBLICATION OR ORDERED PUBLISHED FOR THE

PURPOSES OF RULE 977.

PRIOR HISTORY: Alameda County Super. Ct. No. CH27122.

A-57

DISPOSITION: The judgment is affirmed. The petition for

habeas corpus is denied.

JUDGES: RIVERA, J.; REARDON, Acting PJ., SEPULVEDA,

J. concurred.

OPINION BY: RIVERA

OPINION

Harold Morales appeals from a judgment of conviction upon a

court verdict of first degree murder (Pen. Code, § 187). The

court also found true the allegation that defendant was armed

with a deadly weapon and that he inflicted great bodily injury

( §§ 12022, subd. (b), 1203.075, 12022.7, subd. (d)). Defendant

raises numerous issues on appeal including that the trial court

relied on several erroneous definitions in reaching its verdict,

that it erred in its evidentiary decisions, and that the prosecutor

committed misconduct. In a petition for habeas corpus, which

we consider with this appeal, defendant argues that his trial

counsel was ineffective.

[*2]

We affirm the judgment and deny the petition.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

On the evening of October 8, 1998, Nazaneen Omar had just

completed her first quarter at Heald College and wanted to

celebrate with defendant, her boyfriend. Omar left the house

between 4:30 and 6:00 p.m.

A-58

Frank Bryan lived on Jamison Way in Castro Valley. On the

evening of October 8, at about 8:00 p.m., Bryan and his wife

were walking their dog and going to Safeway. As they walked,

their dog became very anxious and began growling and barking.

Bryan then heard screaming and a horn honking. He heard a

female voice screaming “Oh, God, help.” Bryan’s dog was

pulling him in the direction of a red car that was parked nearby.

Bryan could also hear a male voice that was yelling and

argumentative. He looked over toward the red car and saw a

couple in the car arguing. He also saw a man get out of the car

and go over to the passenger side and force the passenger door

to close. After he forced the door to close, he got back in the car.

Bryan and his wife went to Safeway to call the police.

Janeen Leech was in the vicinity of Redwood Road and Wilson

Avenue in Castro Valley at about 8:00 p.m. on the evening of

October

(*3]

8. She heard a car’s horn honking on Wilson Avenue and saw

that the sound was coming from a red hatchback car. She

noticed that the passenger door of the car was open and

swinging back and forth. The car was going fast but stopped

suddenly when Leech heard a thud. Leech walked toward the

car which was now on Redwood Road and saw a man scoop up

what she thought was a dummy and put it back in the car. The

dummy appeared to be a human form with long hair, wearing

skintight pants, a short top and jacket, and black bulky shoes.

Leech did not see the dummy move so she thought it was a

teenage prank. But when the car took off, she noticed a splatter

of red on the passenger door window and decided to call 911.

A-5S9

When sheriff deputies arrived, Leech went with the deputies to

the area where the car had stopped; a puddle of blood was there.

Gary Eoff was also driving on Redwood Road that evening. He

saw a red car stopped in the middle of the street with the

driver’s door open. He also saw a man bending down over

something outside the car. He stopped his car about 20 feet

away and asked the man, “what’s up.” Eoff then saw the man

pick up a girl from the ground and throw her inside the car. The

[*4]

man got in the car and drove away. Eoff pursued him while his

wife tried to write down the license plate number. The man was

driving fast and running stop signs so Eoff stopped following

him. He went back to the area where he had observed the

incident and saw sheriff's cars in the parking lot of a

convenience market. He reported the incident to the sheriff

deputies.

At approximately 8:00 p.m., Samuel Dorrough and his daughter

walked from the driveway of their home at 3612 Jamison Way

in Castro Valley to the recycling bins located on the sidewalk.

As they approached the bins, Dorrough heard a woman

screaming. The screams were coming from a red car across the

street. Dorrough heard the woman scream three times; each

time her scream was cut short. He also heard the red car’s horn

blaring. Dorrough returned to his home to get his phone. He

walked back outside and called 911. He heard the sound of a car

trunk closing but not catching. He then saw the red car drive

away and turn left on Jamison Way. He noticed that the only

person in the car was a male. Sheriff deputies responded to the

A-60

scene a few minutes later. Dorrough went to Safeway after

talking to the deputies. When he returned,

(*5]

the deputies were still at the scene. Dorrough then saw the

same red car coming down the street.

Deputy Sheriff Buschhucter responded to the _ scene.

Approximately 45 minutes later, he was directed to a car

turning onto Aires Court. Buschhueter and other deputies

followed the car. The car was parked on Aires Court and was

unoccupied. There was a large amount of blood throughout the

interior of the car and a knife was on the dashboard. While the

deputies were investigating the car, a woman called out for help

from the balcony of the townhouse nearby. They responded to

the townhouse where the woman told them that her son was

trying to hurt himself. Buschhueter saw defendant and another

man struggling over a large knife. When the deputies

approached the men, defendant had the knife. He started to use

the knife on his neck and he was covered in blood. He ran into

the bedroom and prevented the deputies from entering.

Defendant said that he wanted to die, his life was over, she had

left him, he had no reason to live, and he wanted to talk to his

mother. When Buschhueter kicked the lower hinge to the

bedroom door, defendant ran to the balcony and jumped to the

ground.

Defendant landed flat

[*6]

A-61

on the ground, but immediately got up and started to run away.

Deputy Burnham and other officers were able to detain him.

Burnham observed that defendant had a deep cut in his throat.

After defendant was on a gurney, Sergeant Jay learned that

defendant had a girlfriend who might be connected with the

earlier incident in the parking lot. Sergeant Jay also learned

that a purse found in the red car belonged to defendant’s

girlfriend, Omar. She asked defendant about Omar’s

whereabouts. Defendant responded that he wanted to talk with

his mother.

Burnham accompanied defendant in the ambulance to the

hospital. Burnham made further inquiries of defendant

concerning the whereabouts of his girlfriend. Defendant told

him that they had just broken up and that she was despondent.

over the break up and had taken an overdose of pills. Defendant

told Burnham that he left her on Center Street in Castro Valley.

Paul Lightfoot, defendant’s stepfather, testified that on the

evening of October 8 he had fallen asleep early. His wife woke

him up and told him that defendant was trying to kill himself.

Lightfoot got out of bed and saw Hurold with a knife in the

hallway. Lightfoot tried to restrain him and

L*7)

they struggled. Defendant told him, “please don’t stop me, I’ve

done something terrible and the police are going to lock me up.”

Shortly thereafter, the police arrived. The following day when

Lightfoot was cleaning up, he found two sets of keys in the area

in which he had struggled with defendant. He turned the keys

over to the police.

A-62

At approximately 10:00 p.m. on October 8, Burnham returned

to the scene. Lieutenant Hoig, who was at the scene, found

Omar in the hatchback area of the red car. Burnham, who is

also an emergency medical technician, assessed her condition

and determined that she was dead. She was wearing a black

shirt and was nude below the waist. Deputies recovered a bent

knife from the dashboard of the car.

Sharon Van Meter, a pathologist, testified that Omar suffered

23 stab and incise wounds and numerous blunt force injuries to

her body, particularly to her head and face. One of the stab

wounds to Omar’s left chest incised her lung; this injury alone

would have been fatal without emergency medical treatment. In

addition, Omar suffered a skull fracture, which was also, in and

of itself, fatal without medical intervention. Dr. Van Meter

determined the cause of death

[*8]

to be shock and hemorrhage due to multiple stab and incise

wounds associated with blunt trauma to the head

The prosecution also presented evidence concerning several

prior acts involving violence or threats by defendant against

Omar:

Officer Snider testified that on March 14, 1998, he responded to

a call concerning a battery and took a report from Omar. Omar

was crying and upset and her left eye had a bruise and was red

and swollen when Snider arrived at a residence on Maubert

Avenue in San Leandro. Omar reported that she argued with

defendant and that he hit her on the leg, chest and left eye with

A-63

his fist and then spit on her several times. Omar told Snider

that during her two and a half year relationship with defendant,

he had assaulted her about 100 times. Omar did not want to file

a criminal complaint. She had not previously contacted the

police about prior assaults because she did not want to get

defendant in trouble.

Detective Beverly Young testified that on April 14, 1998, she

was on patrol and responded to an incident occurring at the

Southland Mall in Hayward. There, she met Omar, who was

extremely upset and crying hysterically. The right rear window

of her BMW had been

[*9]

broken. Omar told Young that she had broken up with

defendant after dating him for some time. Defendant was

calling her and threatening her and had stopped by the mall to

try to talk to her. He subsequently called her and told her to

meet him by her car when she got off work. When she refused,

he said he was going to break her car window.

Omar told Young that defendant had threatened to kill her on

prior occasions and that she was afraid. Referring to the

incident at the mall, Omar told Young that defendant said “you

fucking bitch. I’m going to end your life.” Omar showed Young

bruises that she had on her inner thighs and arms that were the

result of an assault by defendant four days prior to the incident

in Hayward. Young testified that the bruising was consistent

with Omar’s claim. Omar said that she did not want to involve

the police because defendant threatened to kill her if she did so.

A-64

Officer Huy Tran testified that on July 10, 1998, he responded

to a report of a domestic disturbance at the Great Mall in

Milpitas. Omar told Tran that she dated defendant for about

three years but broke up with him approximately eight months

ago. She had gotten back together with him four days

[*10]

before but had broken up with him again the previous evening.

Defendant was angry about the break up and called her at work

threatening to kill her. At approximately noon that day,

defendant approached her at her work site and whispered in her

ear, “I’m going to kill you. This is not a joke.” She became upset

and yelled at him to stop harassing her. Defendant yelled

obscenities at her and threw a shoe at her grazing the right side

of her head. A security mall officer chased defendant away.

Omar requested a restraining order. Tran was able to obtain an

emergency protective restraining order for her. Omar told Tran

that she wanted to press charges. On September 4, 1998, Omar

recanted her statement, claiming that she was upset the day of

the incident and that defendant had not threatened her or hit

her with a shoe.

The fourth incident occurred on August 2, 1998. Police Chief

Norman LaPera of the East Bay Regional Park Police

Department was on patrol traveling northbound on Redwood

Road at about 8:00 p.m. He pulled up alongside a car that was

in the lane adjacent to his and saw that Omar, the passenger in

a maroon Honda was crying. He heard her say “no” and “leave

me alone.” He made

A-65

(*11]

eye contact with her and she mouthed the words, “help me.”

LaPera then saw defendant, who was driving the car, reach over

with his right hand and grab Omar by the back of her hair and

pull her close to him. Defendant began to choke her. Defendant

tried to keep her from looking in LaPera’s direction.

LaPera alerted dispatch that he was going to make a traffic stop

in a domestic violence incident. When he was trying to get in

position, Omar exited from the car. LaPera got out of his car

and directed Omar to get in his car. Omar was crying. and

telling LaPera that defendant was trying to hurt her. Defendant

got out of his car and followed Omar, swearing at her and

telling her to get back in the car.

When the hght at the intersection changed to green, LaPera

directed defendant to move his car through the intersection and

to pull over. As they followed defendant through the

intersection, Omar told LaPera that defendant planned to drive

her up to Redwood Road and kill her. After LaPera stopped his

car behind the Honda, defendant got out of the car and started

to yell at Omar to get back in his car. LaPera put defendant into

a control hold to physically restrain him. Defendant resisted

[*12]

but LaPera was able to handcuff defendant.

Deputy Sheriff Andrade arrived and took defendant into

custody. Andrade spoke with Omar and observed a three-inch

abrasion on the back of her neck, an abrasion on her chest area,

A-66

and superficial scratches on her neck and wrist. Omar was

crying, very emotional, and distraught. Andrade was eventually

able to obtain a written statement from Omar in which she

related that defendant said he was going to kill both of them

and when he saw the officer, he threatened to kill her if she got

out of the car.

In defense, defendant presented several witnesses who testified

about defendant and Omar’s tumultuous relationship and that

they were abusive to each other. They used aggressive language

and profanity, and were jealous of each other. Omar was often

angry with defendant because he had other girlfriends. A few

weeks before her death, Omar approached defendant when he

was talking to a friend and accused him of having a sexual

relationship with her. Omar also knew how to “push

[defendant’s] buttons” by casting aspersions on his masculinity;

he would respond by pushing her back and telling her to quit.

In short, according to defendant’s friend, the

[*13]

relationship was “crazy for both of them.”

The parties stipulated that DNA tests of the blood on the knife

found in the car showed that Omar could not be excluded as a

major contributor and that defendant could not be excluded as

a minor contributor of the blood.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Instructional Errors

A-67

Defendant contends that the trial court relied on erroneous

definitions of premeditation and deliberation in concluding that

he w

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.