Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Addington v. US Airline Pilots Ass'n

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

VL 10-463 oi 5- 2010

No. 10-9 FFiGe OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of The United States

DON ADDINGTON, JO! OSTIC, MARK BURMAN,

AFSHIN IRANPOUR, ROGER VELEZ, and STEVE

WARGOCKI, individually and representing a class of

persons similarly situated,

Petitioners,

v.

US AIRLINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuut

PETITION FOR WRIF OF CERTIORARI

Marty Harper

MHarper@polsmelli.com

Counsel of Record

Kelly J. Flood

Andrew S. Jacob

Katherine V. Brown

POLSINELLI SHUGHART, P.-C.

One East Washington Street,

Suite 1200

Phoenix, AZ 85004-2568

Ph. (602) 650 2000

Counsel for Petittoners

October 4, 2010

QUESTION PRESENTED

US Airways and America West merged in 2005

The airlines and their pilots agreed that a final and

binding arbitration would determine how — to

bly integrate the pilots’ semiority lists. That

arbitration was completed in May 2007. ‘The airline

has been willing to implement the arbitrated

seniority list since December 2007. Nearly three

years later, the pilots’ union steadfastly refuses to

do so. Petitioners, at a cost of $1.8 million in legal

fees, obtained an order from the district court that

the union must make all reasonable efforts to

implement the arbitration award. In light of the

federal policy favoring prompt resolution of divisive

internal union disputes that affect collective

bargaining, is Petitioners’ claim to enforce

compliance with the arbitration award ripe?

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

No petitioners are corporations

-}11-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented ....... REIS tile aR ROP RE Rae Ba

Rule 29.6 Statement...... oS Pe oor eee een eee 11

Tanie of Contents ......6..0.s.009: pee hate i ket

Th ET Oe PRU oi occ tive ceed cxisccsacccntevesvny SALA.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorart...... ae as eaten eae

CPTINIOTG FGI occ ccccccicscescsccsssescs: PO RE ae are em ie eet

Bn. aS AED SOE AE ee aa aR TP Serotec

DCRLUTONY PYOVIGION TMVORVEG ©....6.0.0.0ccccesscccscacessaces: Z

Statement of the Case....................... Re Ree en pee 2

Reasons for Granting the Petition..... Re aay /

| The Ninth Circuit decided an important

federal question in conflict with this Court’s

5 CRETE Met es Rens fe Rat titi er APS a SEER ery despot Ae Ra 8

A. The Ninth Circuit disregarded a strong

federal interest in prompt resolution of

internal union disputes that affect

COLTOCE IVS TOPS ooo oiiclnns nckcssccvsscctesscscvees 8

B. The federal interest 1n prompt resolution

of internal union disputes that affect

collective bargaining 1s_ particularly

strong where the dispute concerns

seniority integration after an _ airline

NN a oes caves brs hs rect tk vce eee race eee 1]

Cc. The Ninth Circuit disregarded Clayton's

admonition that delayed adjudication of

an internal union dispute must not

merely exhaust an aggrieved worker.......... 13

ll. The Ninth Circuit misapplied prudential

PATIO. cssicissdsnincs cacscsvedousscsissevesecenceissanssssentexsds 15

A. The duty of fair representation applies at

all stages of union representation.............-. 15

B. This matter is ripe because the

hardships of postponing adjudication are

ereat and there are no corresponding

EAD EO IR RE ALTE BMRA LAS 16

ER Se ur uavecaiaaucesiiaanncnssotadernuniee 19

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Ninth Circuit opinion, dated June 4,

NY 57 1 2s 5 aoeayansenesavactyeanessedeammisaeneiieeapereraaen la

Appendix B: District Court order, dated July 17,

I ince da csksimekesixususkssstashasisibecneantsuateeeenere 34a

Appendix C: McCaskill-Bond Amendment, 121

Stat. 2383, Div. K, Title I, § 117 (Dec. 26,

NE cikcccovcasntacnasduiedsssveecextoisasinbarsieinenreieee 106a

Appendix D: Allegheny-Mohawk Labor

Protective Provisions, §§ 3, 13....... EECA F 109a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136

“5 aS 2a ES ee Breras aenaneenes Ceancuuta 16

Addington v. US Airline Pilots Ass’n, 2009 WL

2169164 (D. Ariz. July 17, 2OO9)............cccccscsccsess l

Addington v. US Airline Pilots Ass’n, 606 F.3d

nS oss savscdecnscvavcnsasebectsstsgedss l

Adler uv. Bd. of Educ., 342 U.S. 485 (1952)............ 17

Aur Wisconsin Pilots Protection Com. v.

Sanderson, 909 F.2d 213 (7th Cir. 1990)........... 11

Alleghany-Mohawk Merger Case, 59 C.A.B. 22

Ne oir Fasc Waasiaen dann vannd peed oceans secs 12

Bernard v. Atr Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l, 873 F.2d

naan a eda yceuibanedcaeasehaxs 1]

Burlington N. R.R. v. Bhd. of Maint. of Way

Employees, 481 U.S. 429 (1987) ...................eeee 11

Chauffeurs, Teamsters & Helpers Loc. No. 391

v. Terry, 494 U.S. 558 (1990)....................cecccseeee 15

Chavez v. Director, OWCP, 961 F.2d 1409 (9th

eee oe aA a cape cgana dey asdeniies 16

Clayton v. Intl Union, United Auto., Aerospace,

& Agr. Implement Workers of America, 451

eo ss cuxncnaduxbaansenavedences 8, 13, 14

-V1-

Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v.

United States, 424 U.S. 800 (1976) .................... 17

Consol. Coai Co. v. Fed. Mine Safety & Heaiih

Rev. Comm’n, 824 F.2d 1071 (D.C. Cir. 1987)... 16

Cummings v. John Morrell & Co.,

36 F.3d 499 (6th Cir. 1994)................... zeae ka tapas 19

Czosek v. O’Mara, 397 U.S. 25 (1970).................. 18

DelCostello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983) ..... 10

Frandsen v. Bhd. of Ry., Airline & S.S. Clerks,

Freight Handlers, Exp. & Station Employees,

oP me Eyl deg Ce Bl > Serererrrerrrerrr rs 14

Laborers & Hod Carriers, Loc. No. 341 v.

NLRB, 564 F.2d 834 (9th Cir. 1977).................. 15

NLRB v. Marine Workers Local 22, 391 U.S.

Re CR eh dec nach catcicccsssunsserseccesacess ee eA ae on, 14

Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930 (2007) ......... 17

Rakestraw v. United Airlines, 981 F.2d 1524

OPE CP ROI ove cc non ccncsascssececerssasunsctacnarevexsayss 11

Reed v. United Transportation Union, 488 U.S.

319 (1989) .occccccccscscsecesvsseseeveseseeeesvesesesesteseees 7, 8,9

Reno v. Catholic Soc. Servs., Inc., 509 U.S. 43

CII canis cadvusscexcvenes-cusensscsgieatisnnreusinannsaueisenseatenies 16

Steele v. Louisville & Nashville R.R. Co., 323

CFs Ae 0 A cine cekccccvavetvsdiasicsenseiuieshsoicensses 13, 15

Vii-

United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Mitchell, 451 U.S

I e acesiaven

Williamson County Regional Planning Comm'n

v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985) ...

Yahoo! v. La Ligue Contre Le Racisme,

433 F.3d 1199 (9th Cir. 2006)..... ;

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). eoeeee tees

ee eT, Oe osc cocina Steg dnahsagkneinedneawes

McCaskill-Bond Amendment, 121 Stat. 2383,

Div. K, Title I, § 117 (Dec. 26, 2007).......... pa

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq11, L

ee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of

certiorart be issued to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals (Case No

09-16564) (9th Cir. June 4, 2010) is reported at GOG

F.3d 1174 (9th Cir. 2010). Appendix (“App.”) A, la-

33a. Petitioners’ motion for rehearing en banc was

denied by the court of appeals on July 8, 2010, in

an unpublished order. The relevant U.S. District

Court, District of Arizona, order is Addington v. US

Airline Pilots Ass’n, which is unofficially reported

at 2009 WL 2169164 (D. Ariz. July 17, 2009). App.

B, 34a-105a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit sought to be reviewed was

entered on June 4, 2010, and the order denying the

motion for rehearing en banc was entered on July

8, 2010. This petition is timely under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2101(c) because it is being filed within 90 days of

the entry of the order denying rehearing en banc.

This Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment

of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The relevant statutory provision is_ the

McCaskill-Bond Amendment, 121 Stat. 2383, Div

K, Title I, § 117 (Dec. 26, 2007). App. C, 10Ga—108a

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 2005, the airlines US Airways and America

West entered into a merger agreement. App. B,

37a. More than three years have passed since the

pilots from these airlines completed what they (and

the airlines) agreed would be a final and binding

arbitration to determine how to equitably integrate

their two seniority lists. Jd. Yet, the pilots’ union,

which was formed and dominated by the larger

pilot group, steadfastly and emphatically refuses to

implement the seniority list awarded by that

arbitration

Petitioners sought relief in the district court. At

a cost of more than $1.8 million in legal fees, they

obtained a jury verdict that the union, U.S. Airline

Pilots Association (““USAPA”), is in breach of its

duty of fair representation. The district court

ordered USAPA to make all reasonable efforts to

implement the arbitration award

USAPA appealed and the Ninth Circuit

dismissed the action for lack of ripeness. In doing

so, it disregarded established rulings by this Court

as well as federal policy strongly favoring prompt

resolution of divisive internal union disputes that

affect collective bargaining, a policy that Congress

recognized in the specific context of airline merger:

—“~

when it passed the 2007 McCaskill-Bond

Amendment

The two pilot groups have diametrically

opposite positions on semiority list inteyzration, The

West Pilots’! position is that pilots who were

actively working at the time of the merger should

be put ahead of pilots who were on furlough. App

13, 40a. In contrast, the Kast Pilots’ position 1s that

the seniority list should be ordered strictly by date

of-hire, even though that order would place more

than a thousand [ast Pilots who were on furlough

in 2005 (and who had not worked for years) ahead

of West Pilots who were working. /d

ollowing procedures that were subsequently

codified into federal law by the McCaskill-Bond

Amendment, the two pilot’ groups agreed to use

binding arbitration to determine an equitable

method of integrating their seniority lists. App. B,

4la. The result of that arbitration, referred to as

the Nicolau Award, put 500 Kast Pilots at the top of

the seniority list and placed all East Pilots who

were on furlough in 2005 below West Pilots who

were working. /d

The Kast Pilots objected to the Nicolau Award

and vigorously prevented its implementation. App

B, 42a. For example, they refused to participate in

the collective bargaining of a new contract that

would be used to implement an integrated seniority

' The pilot groups from the pre omerger airlines are

referred to as West Pilots (America West) and Kast Pilots (US

Airways)

se

list. Id. They also withdrew support from the union

that was then representing both pilot groups,

causing it to be decertified. App. B, 43a. They

formed a new union, USAPA, that they elected to

represent the bargaining unit. App. B, 44a. USAPA

promised that, if elected to represent the merged

pilot groups, it would disregard the Nicolau Award

and would present the date-of-hire seniority list

favored by the East Pilots to the airline. Jd. This 1s

the same date-of-hire list that was rejected by the

arbitration because it put more than a thousand

East Pilots who had been on furlough in 2005

ahead of hundreds of West Pilots who had been

working.

Petitioners initiated an action to stop USAPA

from disregarding the Nicolau Award, arguing that

this puts it in breach of its duty of fair

representation. App. B, 48a. The district court

found this action was ripe, in part, because USAVPA

unequivocally repudiated any duty to implement

the Nicolau Award. App. B, 86a. It explained, for

example, that USAPA’s “constitution includes a

commitment ‘to maintain uniform principles of

seniority based on date of hire” and that “USAPA

officers have promised to ‘overturn’ the Nicolau

Award, and USAPA considers itself constitutionally

bound never to implement it.” App. B, 47a.

The district court held a jury trial to decide

USAPA’s liability. App. B, 50a. After a 10-day trial,

the jury found that USAPA was hable because its

sole objective was to benefit East Pilots, rather

than the bargaining union as a whole. /d. The

district court therefore permanently enjoined and

ordered USAPA to:

1. “make all reasonable efforts to negotiate and

implement a single [CBA] ... that will

implement the Nicolau Award seniority

proposal. . .”;

2. “fmlake all reasonable efforts to support and

defend the ... Nicolau Award in negotiations

with US Airways”; and

oe)

“InJot negotiate for separate collective

bargaining agreements for the separate pilot

”

groups....

App. A, 8a-9a.

Petitioners incurred attorneys’ fees and costs in

excess of $1.8 million in the district court litigation,

which entailed filing more than 600 documents and

a ten-day jury trial. Petitioners also lost wages as a

consequence of furloughs and missed promotions

that would not have occurred “[u]nder a single CBA

incorporating the Nicolau Award.” App. A, 8a.

Petitioners sought an award of their fees and costs

pursuant to common benefit doctrine and claimed

damages to remedy their lost wages. App. B, 49a-

50a. The district court. deferred addressing these

claims during the pendency of USAPA’s appeal to

the Ninth Circuit.

The Ninth Circuit did not decide the substantive

merits of USAPA’s appeal. Instead, in a divided

opinion, it found a lack of prudential ripeness and

ordered the action dismissed. In so doing, it gave no

weight to the “time, effort, and expense” incurred

by the parties, the district court or the jury and did

not recognize the strong federal policy favoring

prompt adjudication of internal union disputes that

-Ge

affect collective bargaining. App. A, 9a.

Notwithstanding that it found a lack of ripeness,

the Ninth Circuit cautioned USAPA that unless it

“bargain[ed] in good faith pursuant to its DFR,’

with the interests of all members—both East and

West—in mind,” there would be “an unquestionably

ripe DFR suit, once a contract 1s ratified.” App. A,

12a-l3a.

In a well-reasoned dissenting opinion, Judge

Bybee argued that the case was ripe:

Although a CBA would supply tangible

evidence of a violation of the DFR, in this

case, there is sufficient evidence to consider

the West Pilots’ complaint without the CBA.

The issues are concrete and were well

developed in district court proceedings that

included a jury trial (for damages) and a

bench trial (for equitable relief).

App. A, 24a.

As soon as the Ninth Circuit denied a petition

for rehearing en banc, USAPA reaffirmed its

unwavering commitment to disregard the Nicolau

Award and announced its intention to impose a

date-of-hire seniority list. A few days later, US

Airways filed a declaratory action — sceking

clarification of its duties and liabilities in regard to

this internal union seniority dispute. In_ that

declaratory action, US Airways states three claims

that primarily raise these two issues:

2“DFR” stands for duty of fair representation.

ty

1. If USAPA is in breach of its duty of fair

representation, is US Airways hable_ to

Petitioners if it acquiesces to USAPA’s

demand to disregard the Nicolau Award?

and

2. If USAPA is not in breach of the duty of fair

representation, is US Airways liable to

USAPA if it refuses to make every

reasonable effort to reach agreement on

USAPA’s demand to disregard the Nicolau

Award?

If the answer to both these questions is affirmative,

then, unless US Airways knows whether USAPA is

in breach of its duty of fair representation, it

cannot know what it must do to avoid habuility.

Hence, the very question that the Ninth Circuit

held was unripe when brought by Petitioners 1s

raised by US Airways’ declaratory action.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Petitioners respectfully submit that this Court

should grant their petition for a writ of certiorari

because the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals wrongly

decided an important federal question—the

ripeness of an action to enforce compliance with a

union seniority arbitration required to fully

implement an airline merger. It did so in conflict

with federal policy that strongly favors prompt

resolution of divisive internal union disputes that

affect collective bargaining. It did so in conflict also

with Reed v. United Transportation Union, 488

U.S. 319 (1989); Clayton v. Int'l Union, United

a.

Auto., Aerospace, & Agr. Implement Workers of

America, 451 U.S. 679 (1981); and the 2007

McCaskill-Bond Amendment.

1. THE NINTH CIRCUIT DECIDED AN

IMPORTANT FEDERAL QUESTION IN

CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT'S

RULINGS.

A. The Ninth Circuit disregarded a

strong federal interest in

prompt resolution of internal

union disputes that affect

collective bargaining.

Delaying adjudication of Petitioners’ claim

conflicts with a well-established federal interest in

prompt resolution of internal union disputes that

“directly relate in any way to collective bargaining

or dispute settlement under a collective-bargaining

agreement.” Reed, 488 U.S. at 330; see also United

Parcel Service, Inc. v. Mitchell, 451 U.S. 56, 63

(1981) (same). In Reed, this Court explained this as

an interest in avoiding unfavorable consequences

that arise when such disputes are too long left

unresolved:

Internal union disputes, if allowed to fester,

may erode the confidence of union members

in their leaders and possibly cause 4

disaffection with the union, thus weakening

the union and its ability to bargain for its

members. Such prolonged disputes may also

distract union officials from their sole

purpose representation of union members

in their relations with their employer. These

probable effects of protracted disputes may

-9-

be destabilizing to labor-management

relations.

488 U.S. at 330.

Petitioners’ claim impacts the federal interest

addressed in Reed because it concerns a divisive

internal union dispute that affects collective

bargaining. Seniority disputes are by nature

divisive because one worker's gain is necessarily

another’s loss. This dispute is particularly divisive

because it involves a dishonored agreement. After

agreeing in 2005 that the Nicolau Arbitration

would be “final and binding,” the East Pilots, and

later USAPA, rejected its outcome. App. B, 55a.

There is no question, therefore, that this dispute is

highly divisive. Petitioners’ claim also concerns a

dispute that directly affects collective bargaining.

Until there is a new _ collective bargaining

agreement (“CBA”), the airline cannot fully merge

its operations.* The dispute over enforcement of the

Nicolau Award prevents reaching such agreement.

Petitioners’ claim, therefore, implicates the federal

interest in prompt adjudication. That interest is

3 An example of the divisiveness of this dispute is described by

the district court: “The Nicolau Award caused outrage among many

East Pilots. The East Merger Representatives sought to have the award

overturned and petitioned ALPA to revisit it. Emotions flared for weeks

and months to follow while ALPA attempted to broker a compromise

between the two pilot groups.” App. B, 42a.

* The district court explained: “Because no new CBA is in place,

the Airline carries on in a state of separate operations. Efforts toward a

new CBA have been complicated by the process of deciding what

seniority list the CBA will include.” App. B, 39a.

-10-

offended by delaying adjudication of Petitioners’

claim on the basis of prudential ripeness.

Delaying adjudication of Petitioners’ claim also

conflicts with the federal interest in prompt

resolution of internal union disputes that

“challenge the stable relationship between the

employer and the union.” 488 U.S. at 331

(alteration and quotation marks omitted). Federal

courts apply a 6-month limitations to duty of fair

representation disputes. DelCostello v. Teamsters,

462 U. S. 151, 172 (1983). In Reed, this Court

explained that courts do so in furtherance of an

interest in prompt resolution of such claims. 488

U.S. at 331. This interest is offended when, as

happened here, resolution of such claims is delayed

on prudential ripeness grounds.

A highly divisive internal union dispute that

directly affects collective bargaining or challenges

the stable relationship between the carrier and its

union must not be left to fester for more than five

years. That is far too long. See Cummings v. John

Morrell & Co., 36 F.3d 499, 507 (6th Cir. 1994)

(‘{F]ive or six years is simply too long a time to let

a labor dispute fester.”). Yet, that is what results

from the Ninth Circuit’s decision.

tA

B. The federal interest in prompt

resolution of internal union

disputes that affect collective

bargaining is particularly

strong where the dispute

concerns seniority integration

after an airline merger.

Airline-merger related seniority disputes are

frequently quite contentious and often involve the

courts. See, e.g., Rakestraw v. United Atrlines, 981

F.2d 1524 (7th Cir. 1992); Air Wisconsin Pilots

Protection Com. v. Sanderson, 909 F.2d 213 (7th

Cir. 1990); Bernard v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l,

873 F.2d 213 (9th 1989). Such judicial involvement

is consistent with the federal interest in a stable

nationai transportation system. Burlington N. R.R.

v. Bhd. of Maint. of Way Employees, 481 U.S. 429,

450 (1987) (noting, “the major purpose of Congress

in passing the RLA®5 [was] [t]o prevent, if possible,

wasteful strikes and interruptions of interstate

commerce”) (alteration and quotation marks

omitted). That interest, in turn, strengthens the

interest in prompt resolution of disputes that

interfere with airline mergers. This _ logically

underlies the 2007 McCaskill-Bond Amendment,®

5 “RLA” refers to the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151

et seq.

6 McCaskill-Bond provides that “sections 3 and 13 of the

labor protective provisions imposed by the Civil Aeronautics

Board in the Allegheny-Mohawk merger... shall apply to the

integration of covered employees of the covered air carriers.”

121 Stat. 2383, § 117. App. C, 10G6a. In the event two merging

pilot groups cannot agree on how to integrate their seniority

list, §§ 3 and 13 provide that an NMB arbitrator would decide

-12-

which mandates expedient, final and binding

arbitration of seniority disputes arising from

airline mergers.

Pursuant to McCaskill-Bond, workers involved

in an airline-merger related seniority dispute can

compel a “final and binding” arbitration of their

dispute using procedures nearly identical to those

used in the Nicolau Arbitration. App. D, 110a. Such

arbitrations must be held “within 20 days after the

controversy arises” and must be decided “within 90

days after the controversy arises.” App. D, 109a-

110a. This narrow time frame for arbitration

reflects a strong federal interest in obtaining an

expedient resolution of such disputes.

The federal interests underlying the McCaskill-

Bond Amendment demonstrate a_ heightened

federal interest in obtaining prompt resolution of

seniority disputes arising from airline mergers. The

Ninth Circuit’s ruling that delays resolution of

Petitioners’ claim on prudential ripeness grounds

conflicts with that interest.

the issue and that “[{t]he decision of the arbitrator shall be

final and binding on the parties.” Alleghany-Mohawk Merger

Case, 59 C.A.B. 22, 45 (1972) (LPP § 13 ). App. D, 109a-110a.

Although the Nicolau Arbitration was not conducted pursuant

to McCaskill-Bond, it was conducted pursuant to the same

Alleghany-Mohawk Labor Protective Provisions. There is no

material basis, therefore, to distinguish the ripeness of a

claim to enforce the Nicolau Arbitration, here, from the

ripeness of claims to enforce a McCaskill-Bond arbitration.

oni

C. The Ninth Circuit disregarded

Clayton’s admonition that

delayed adjudication of an

internal union dispute must not

merely exhaust an aggrieved

worker.

When Congress provides a right in the context

of the Railway Labor Act, it implicitly provides a

remedy to enforce that right. See Steele v. Louisville

& Nashville R.R. Co., 323 U.S. 192, 207 (1944)

(“That right would be sacrificed or obliterated if it

were without the remedy which courts can give for

breach of such a duty or obligation and which it is

their duty to give in cases in which they have

jurisdiction.”). A remedy, in turn, would be

“sacrificed or obliterated” if federal doctrine worked

to exhaust aggrieved workers’ resources or resolve

before they could obtain meaningful rehef on a

meritorious claim. Where the district court has

jurisdiction to provide a remedy, therefore, it

should not delay such remedy on_ prudential

grounds if that would only impair’ workers’

ultimate remedy.

Clayton addressed delay in the context of

internal union disputes. 451 U.S. at 692. It

balanced the hardships of delaying adjudication of

such disputes against the general institutional

advantages of nonjudicial resolution. Jd. Clayton

admonishes federal courts to not delay adjudication

of such disputes unless “internal union procedures

are capable of fully resolving meritorious claims

short of the judicial forum.” Jd. Delay that can only

exhaust an aggrieved workers’ resources or resolve

is unfair and inconsistent with federal policy.

-14-

“(W]here ‘the member [may] become exhausted

instead of the remedies,’ it would be unfair to the

employee to insist that internal union remedies be

exhausted before going to court.” Mrandsen v. Bhd.

of Ry., Airline & S.S. Clerks, Freight Handlers,

Exp. & Station Employees, 782 F.2d 674, 679 (7th

Cir. 1986) (quoting NLRB v. Marine Workers Local

22, 391 U.S. 418, 425 (1968)). See also Clayton 451

U.S. at 693, n.22 (“Of course exhaustion might

deplete the employee’s energy and resources to the

point where he chooses not to pursue his § 30]

claim in court, but that result is surely inconsistent

with federal policy.”).

Clayton explained that, unless delay in favor of

internal union procedures can be justified, 1

merely undermines the policy favoring prompt

adjudication:

As we recently stated, one of the important

federal policies underlying § 301, is the

“relatively rapid disposition of labor

disputes.’ ” This policy is undermined by an

exhaustion requirement unless the internal

procedures are capable of either reactivating

the employee’s grievance or of redressing it.

Id. at 693 (citations omitted).

Given that USAPA is constitutionally

committed to a date-of-hire seniority list, delay of

adjudication by the district court cannot possibly

lead to extra-judicial resolution in Petitioners’

favor. No matter how meritorious their claim might

be, Petitioners will never obtain relief from

USAPA. Nothing positive can be gained, therefore,

by delaying adjudication of Petitioners’ claim-—as

directed by the Ninth Circuit—until after

“negotiations are complete.” App. A, 17a. This delay

can do nothing other than exhaust Petitioners’

cl the, ¢

resources and reenhwo Tha adaicmicenl 4 7.

yun - Aba © BETES we a BEN SAAS ABAA 44a 4% sy saat

Ninth Circuit, therefore, is contrary to federal

policy recognized by this Court. Indeed, it sets a

bad precedent that will likely encourage similar

mischief in future airline mergers.

tf. THE NINTH CIRCUIT MISAPPLIED

PRUDENTIAL RIPENESS.

A. The duty of fair representation

applies at all stages of union

representation.

“The duty of fair representation is the quid pro

quo for the union's right lo exclusive

representation; it protects employees in the

minority from arbitrary discrimination by the

majority union.” Laborers & Ilod Carriers, Loc. No

341 uv. NLRB, 564 F.2d 834, 839-40 (9th Cir. 1977)

“So long as a labor union assumes to act as the

statutory representative of a craft, it cannot rightly

refuse to perform the duty, which is inseparable

from the power of representation conferred upon it,

to represent the entire membership of the craft.”

Steele, 323 U.S. at 204. As well as in enforcing

contract terms, “[a] union must discharge its duty

in bargaining with the employer.” Chauffeurs,

Teamsters & Helpers Loc. No. 391 v. Terry, 494 U.S.

558, 563 (1990). It logically follows, therefore, that

a union can breach the duty of fair representation

at all stages of representation, including while it is

bargaining with the employer over contract terms

16-

B. This matter is ripe because the

hardships of postponing

adjudication are great and

there are no corresponding

benefits.

Ripeness “is drawn both from Article Ill

limitations on judicial power and from prudential

reasons for refusing to exercise jurisdiction.” Reno

v. Catholic Soc. Servs., Inc., 509 U.S. 43, 57 n. 18

(1993). Prudential ripeness “evaluate[s] both the

fitness of the issues for judicial decision and the

hardship to the parties of withholding court

consideration.” Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387

U.S. 136, 149 (1967). Prudential ripeness is lacking

where a “systemic interest in postponing

adjudication due to a lack of fitness outweighs the

hardship on the parties created by — the

postponement.” Chavez v. Director, OWCP, 961

I’. 2d 1409, 1414 (9th Cir. 1992)

A court determining prudential ripeness weighs

the hardships of postponing adjudication only

where there are “institutional interests that

militate in favor of deferral of review.” Consol. Coal

Co. v. Fed. Mine Safety & Health Rev. Comm'n, 824

2d 1071, 1088-89 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (idwards, C.d.,

concurring). If there is no benefit’ to delaying

review, if no institutional interest militates in favor

of deferral of review, there is no reason to weigh

hardship. There is no such benefit where, as here,

there is no internal union procedure to fairly

resolve a dispute over seniority

Prudential ripeness must not be used to deny a

person any forum to resolve an important federal

9.

question. Federal courts, for example, apply the

closely related abstention doctrines only where an

alternative forum exists that can resolve” the

dispute. See, C2, Colorado lviwer Water

Conservation Dist. v. United States, 424 U.S. 800,

817 (1976) (recognizing considerations of “jwise

judicial administration, yiving revard to

conservation of judicial resources and

comprehensive disposition of htigation’). Where an

alternative forum could provide comprcehensive

rehef, this Court often requires exhaustion of that

forum as a prerequisite to ripeness. /2.g., Panette v

Quarterman, 551 U.S. 980 (2007) (state habens):

Williamson County Regional Planning Comm'n ov

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 186 (1985) (state

takings).

The question of prudential ripeness, therefore,

largely hinges on whether an alternative forum

could provide a comprehensive disposition of the

legal questions at issue. The answer to the ripeness

inquiry, therefore, may depend on how the question

at assue is framed. Hence, a court addressing

ripeness must focus on “the precise legal question

to be answered.” Yahoo! vo La Ligue Contre Le

Racisme, 433 F.3d 1199, 1212 (9th Cor. YOOG),

relying on Adler vo. Bd. of Hduc., 3842 US. 485

(1952).

The precise legal question to be answered here

is whether USAPA 1s breaching its duty of fair

representation by refusing to support the Nicolau

Award and by adopting and promoting the Mast

Pilots’ date-of-hire semiority scheme. Under the

Railway Labor Act, only the district court) can

resolve this issue. Czosek v. O'Mara, 307 U.S. 25,

-18-

27-28 (1970) (‘{[A] suit against the union for breach

of its duty of fair representation is not within the

jurisdiction of the National Railroad Adjustment

Board or subject to the ordinary rule that

administrative remedies should be exhausted

before resort to the courts.”). In other words, there

is no alternative forum that might resolve

Petitioners’ claim if it were dismissed for lack of

ripeness. No institutional interest, therefore,

militates in favor of postponing adjudication.

Not only does no institutional interest militate

in favor of postponing adjudication, but substantial

hardships strongly militate against such delay. The

Ninth Circuit correctly noted that “considerable

time, effort, and expense have been devoted to the

merits of Plaintiffs’ [duty of fair representation]

claim before both this Court and the district court.”

App. A, 9a. Wasting that time, effort and expense is

surely a burdensome hardship. This must be

considered and given substantial weight. On

balance, therefore, this action is ripe.

-19-

CONCLUSION

This petition for a writ of certiorari should be

eranted so that the Court can address the ripeness

of claims to enforce arbitrated integrations of

seiority lists.

Respectfully submitted,

Marty Harper

MHarper@polsinelli.com

Counsel of Record

Kelly J. Flood

KF lood@polsinelli.com

Andrew S. Jacob

AJacob@polsinelli.com

Katherine V. Brown

KVBrown@polsinalli.com

POLSINELL! SHUGHART, P.C.

One East Washington Street,

Suite 1200

Phoenix, AZ 85004-2568

(602) 650-2000

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX

-1a-

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Ninth Circuit opinion, dated June

Me IE cviavaesciuycka badsccnrays tors shar eeu used shan tend ee clncaa la

Appendix B: District Court order, dated July

BF eis peace once ghee hag ea eee 34a

Appendix C: McCaskill-Bond Amendment, 141

Stat. 2383, Div. K,-Title I, § 117 (Dec. 26,

Appendix D: Alegheny-Mohawk Labor Protec-

CIV PHOVISIONS, BO SF, 18 oo occiccccsccsccsscesssccvsersevns 109a

-la-

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Don ADDINGTON, individual resident of the

State of Arizona formerly employed by America

West Airlines, Inc. and presently employed by

its successor after merger, U.S. Airways, Inc.;

John Bostic, individual resident of the State of

Arizona formerly employed by America West

Airlines, Inc. and presently employed by its suc-

cessor after merger, U.S. Airways, Inc.; Mark

Burman, individual resident of the State of Ar-

zona, formerly employed by America West Air-

lines, Inc. and presently employed by its succes-

sor after merger, U.S. Airways, Inc.; Afshin

Iranpour, individual resident of the State of Ari-

zona, formerly employed by America West Air-

lines, Inc. and presently employed by its succes-

sor after merger, U.S. Airways, Inc.; Roger

Velez, individual resident of the State of Ani-

zona, formerly employed by America West Air-

lines, Inc. and presently employed by its succes-

sor after merger, U.S. Airways, Inc.; Steve War-

gocki, individual resident of the State of Arizona,

formerly employed by America West Airlines,

Inc. and presently employed by its successor af-

ter merger, U.S. Airways, Inc.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

i i ae eae ae ae ae ae ae ae ae Lae a a ae a a, ae La a ee a a ee a

-2a-

-V.-

US AIRLINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, an un-

incorporated association representing the p1-

lots in the employment of U.S. Airways lnc., a

Delaware corporation,

Defendant-Appellant,

-and-

US Airways, Inc., a Delaware corporation;

Stephan Bradford; Robert Davison; Douglas L.

Mowery,

Defendants.

Nee ee eee ee eee ee SS”

No. 09-16564.

Argued and Submitted Dec. 8, 2009.

Filed June 4, 2010.

Background: Airline pilots brought action against

newly-certified union, alleging that union breached

its duty of fair representation by negotiating con-

tract that favored certain pilots over others in

merging of seniority lists of two merged airlines.

After jury found in favor of pilots on issue of

breach, the United States District Court for the

District of Arizona; Neil V. Wake, District Judge,

2009 WL 2169164, following bench trial on remain-

ing issues, granted pilots' request for injunction.

Union appealed.

-3a-

Holding: The Court of Appeals, Tashima, Circuit

Judge, held that, as a matter of first impression,

action was not ripe.

Remanded.

Bybee, Circuit Judge, dissented and filed opinion.

Andrew 8S. Jacob, Polsinelli Shughart, PC, Phoenix,

AZ, for the plaintiffs-appellees.

Lee Seham, Nicholas Paul Granath, Lucas Middle-

brook and Stanley Silverstone, Seham, Seham,

Meltz & Petersen, LLP, White Plains, NY, for the

defendant-appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the District of Arizona, Neil V. Wake, District

Judge, Presiding. DC No. CV 08-1633 NVW.

Before A. WALLACE TASHIMA, SUSAN P. GRA-

BER, and JAY S. BYBEE, CIRCUIT Judges.

Opinion by Judge TASHIMA; Dissent by Judge

BYBEE.

TASHIMA, Circuit Judge:

This case arose out of a bitter seniority dispute pre-

cipitated by the merger of U.S. Airways, Inc., and

America West Air-lines (“AWA”). Following the

merger, the companies’ respective seniority lists

had to be integrated to create a single list for the

merged airline. The U.S. Airways, Inc., pilots

(“East Pilots”) and the AWA pilots (“West Pilots”),

who were both represented by the Air Line Pilots

Association (“ALPA”), began exploring methods of

-4a-

integration pursuant to ALPA's policy regarding

mergers. The East Pilots generally had been hired

earlier and favored a strict date-of-hire system,

while the West Pilots sought a seniority system

that would take into consideration the relative pre-

merger strength of their airline over U.S. Airways,

Inc. Ultimately, the union submitted the internal

dispute to arbitration.

Although it is common for a merger to raise the is-

sue of integrating seniority lists, this case contains

an added wrinkle. The East Pilots, who were dis-

satisfied with the seniority integration proposal

ALPA arrived at through the union's internal arb)-

tration, led a successful effort to decertify ALPA

and replace it with a new union, U.S. Airline Pilots

Association (‘“USAPA”). Headed by an East Pilot,

USAPA was constitutionally committed to pursuing

date-of-hire principles, in contrast to ALPA, whose

merger policy committed it to pursuing the arbi-

trated seniority list.

Certain West Pilots brought this action against the

newly-certified union alleging that USAPA

breached its duty of fair representation (“DFR”) by

negotiating a contract that would impermissibly

favor the East Pilots at the expense of the West P1-

lots. A jury found that the union had breached its

DFR, and the district court, after a bench trial on

the remaining equitable issues, granted the West

Pilot Plaintiffs an injunction against USAPA.

Addington v. U.S. Airline Pilots Ass'n, 2009 WL.

2169164 (D.Ariz. July 17, 2009). USAPA contends,

inter alia, that the district court never had jurisdic-

tion because the West Pilots' claim is not ripe. We

agree.

Da

BACKGROUND

In 2005, U.S. Airways, Inc., and AWA merged to

form a single carrier called U.S. Airways (or the

“alrline”’). At the time of the merger, ALPA was the

collective bargaining representative for both the

Kast Pilots and the West Pilots. Each group had a

separate collective bargaining agreement (“CBA”)

which was administered by each group's Master

Mxecutive Council. As with most mergers, an inte-

grated seniority list had to be created. The Kast Pi-

lots were the bigger group-about 5,100, compared to

about 1,900 West Pilots-and were generally hired

before the West Pilots. The West Pilots received

more favorable wages under their CBA and, unlike

the East Pilots, no West Pilots were furloughed at

the time of the merger.

The two merging airlines and ALPA entered into a

Transition Agreement (“TA”), which incorporated

by reference ALPA's Merger Policy. Under the TA,

the carriers agreed not to object to AILPA's seniority

integration proposal, provided it did not result in

certain additional costs. The seniority inteyration

proposal could be implemented only as part of a

single CBA. The single CBA would require ap

proval by the Kast Master Executive Council, the

West Master Executive Council, and a majority of

each of the East and West pilot groups, effectively

giving each side a veto. Until the single CBA was

negotiated, with few exceptions, the T'A placed a

“fence” between Kast and West operations, such

that each would continue to operate under its re-

spective CBA.

m9

Pursuant to the ALPA Merger Policy, the two pilot

proups began nevoliating seniority integration, but

tg no avail. Under the union's Merger Polhecy, uf ne

sotiation and mediation between the two : ides faal,

the issue is submitted to “final and binding” arbi

tration. ‘I'he merged seniority list is then presented

to the airline, and ALVA is to “use all reasonable

means at its disposal to compel the company to ac

cept and implement the merged semiority list.” The

arbitrated list is not subject to a separate ratifica

tion vote, but becomes part of the single CBA

which is subject to member ratification

George Nicolau was selected to chair the arbitra

tion panel, pursuant to the Meryver Policy Arbitra

tion commenced between “the U.S. Airways Pilot

Merger Representatives and the America West P)

lot Merger Representatives.” In early May 2007,

the panel issued its award (the “Nicolau Award’). A

majority of Hast Pilots “strenuously objected” to the

Nicolau Award and opposed its implementation

The East Pilot’ representatives sought to have

ALPA prevent implementation of th Nicolau

Award. ALPA unsuccessfully attempted to get the

two sides to reach a compromise

While the arbitration was pending, negotiation

with the airline progressed, and the airline pro

posed a comprehensive CBA in May 2007, In late

July 2007, the Kast Master I:xecutive Council de

termined that the Kast Pilots would never ratify a

CBA that incorporated the Nicolau Award. On

Auyvust 15, 2007, the Kast Pilots withdrew then

representatives from the committee negotiating the

new CBA with the airline, halting those negotia

tions. In late 2007, ALPA submitted the Nicolau

7a

Award to the airline, which accepted the award on

December 20, 2007

In the meantime, several Mast Pilots bevan explor

ing the possibility of forming, a new umion that

would not implement the Nicolau Award. ‘They

formed USAPA and, on November 29, 2007, the

National Mediation Board certified a representa

tion election. USAPA won the election and was cer

tified as the collective baryvaining representative for

the entire group of pilots, Mast and West, on April

18, 2008. From the date the East Pilots withdrew

from nevotiations until ALPA was decertified, there

were no further negotiations with the arrline

USAPA adopted a constitution that established an

“objective” of “maintainting| uniform principles of

seniority based on date of hire and the perpetuation

thereof, with reasonable conditions and restrictions

to preserve each pilot's unmergved career expecta

tions.” Under USAPA's constitution, ratification re

quires a majority vote of the entire union member

ship, such that each pilot group no longer has its

own veto power.

hive months after certification, USAPA presented a

semority proposal to the airline. The proposal in

corporated date-of-hire principles. Althouph the

proposal contaimmed some protections for West I)

lots, if was not nearly as favorable to West Pilots as

the Nicolau Award. The airline had not yet re

sponded to the proposal when the distriet court en

tered its permanent injunction

The airline has been forced to reduce flying because

of economic considerations. The reductions have

-8a-

mostly hit the western operations. Because of the

continuing separate operations, approximately 175

of the 300 furloughs the airline had announced by

the time of trial were West Pilots. At the time of

trial, 140 West Pilots had been furloughed. Under a

single CBA incorporating the Nicolau Award, none

of the West Pilots would have been furloughed.

Six individual West Pilot-Plaintiffs (“Plaintiffs”)

filed this hybrid action against USAPA and U.S.

Airways, seeking damages and injunctive rehef.

The district court dismissed the claims against the

airline because the System Board of Adjustment

had exclusive jurisdiction over them. Addington v.

U.S. Airlines Pilots Ass'n, 588 F.Supp.2d 1051,

1064 (D.Ariz.2008). Plaintiffs amended their com-

plaint in the surviving DFR action, specifying that

the claim was brought on behalf of similarly situ-

ated West Pilots. The district court certified a class

of West Pilots and set a bifurcated trial schedule.

After a jury trial on liability, the jury found that

USAPA had violated the DFR because it abandoned

the Nicolau Award in favor of a date-of-hire list

solely to benefit the East Pilots at the expense of

the West Pilots.

After a bench trial on remedy, the district court or-

dered injunctive relief, permanently enjoining and

ordering USAPA to (1) “Immediately, and in good

faith, make all reasonable cfforts to negotiate and

implement a single [CBA] with U.S. Airways that

will implement the Nicolau Award seniority pro-

posal ...”; (2) “Make all reasonable efforts to support

and defend the seniority rights provided by or aris-

ing from the Nicolau Award in negotiations with

U.S. Airways”; and (3) “Not negotiate for separate

-9a-

[CBAs] for the separate pilot groups....” The district

court denied USAPA's post-trial motions for judg-

ment as a matter of law and for a new trial. USAPA

timely appealed, and this court granted USAPA's

ase

DISCUSSION

Although considerable time, effort, and expense

have been devoted to the merits of Plaintiffs' DFR

claim before both this Court and the district court,

we are without jurisdiction to address the merits of

the claim unless it is ripe. See S. Pac. Transp. Co. v.

City of L.A., 922 F.2d 498, 502 (9th Cir.1990). We

review ripeness de novo. See Manufactured Home

Cmtys. Inc. v. City of San Jose, 420 F.3d 1022, 1025

(9th Cir.2005); Laub v. U.S. Dep't of Interior, 342

F.3d 1080, 1084 (9th Cir.2003). If the claim before

us is not ripe, we must dismiss. See S. Pac. Transp.,

922 F.2d at 502.

No published case has expressly addressed when a

DFR claim based on a union's negotiation of a CBA

becomes ripe. Thus, we apply the general principles

underlying the ripeness doctrine and take guidance

from our decisions regarding the related issue of

when a DFR claim accrues for statute of limitations

purposes in the context of the administration of a

CBA. We conclude that Plaintiffs’ DFR claim is not

yet ripe.

The ripeness doctrine rests, in part, on the Article

II] requirement that federal courts decide only

cases and controversies and in part on prudential

concerns. See Maldonado v. Morales, 556 F.3d

1037, 1044 (9th Cir.2009), cert. denied, --- U.S. ----,

-10a-

130 S.Ct. 1139, --- L.Ed.2d ---- (2010); W. Oil & Gas

Ass'n v. Sonoma County, 905 F.2d 1287, 1290 (9th

Cir.1990). The ripeness inquiry is “intended to ‘pre-

vent the courts, through avoidance of premature

adjudication, from entangling themselves in ab-

stract disagreements.’ ” Maldonado, 556 F.3d at

1044 (quoting Abbott Labs. v. Gardner, 387 U.S.

136, 148, 87 S.Ct. 1507, 18 L.id.2d 681 (1967),

overruled on other grounds by Califano v. Sanders,

430 U.S. 99, 97 S.Ct. 980, 51 L.Ed.2d 192 (1977)).

To determine whether a case is ripe, “we consider

two factors: ‘the fitness of the issues for judicial de-

cision,’ and ‘the hardship to the parties of withhold-

ing court consideration.’ ” Yahoo! Inc. v. La Ligue

Contre Le Racisme Et L'Antisemitisme, 433 F.3d

1199, 1211-12 (9th Cir.2006) (en banc) (per curiam)

(quoting Abbott Labs., 387 U.S. at 149, 87 S.Ct.

1507). Both factors militate in favor of finding this

claim premature.

A question is fit for decision when it can be decided

without considering “contingent future events that

may or may not occur as anticipated, or indeed may

not occur at all.” Cardenas v. Anzai, 311 F.3d 929,

934 (9th Cir.2002) (internal quotation marks omit-

ted); see also United States v. Streich, 560 F.3d 926,

931 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, --- U.S. ----, 180 S.Ct.

320, 175 L.Ed.2d 211 (2009). “At the same time, a

litigant need not ‘await the consummation of

threatened injury to obtain preventive relief. If the

injury is certainly impending, that is enough.’ ” Id.

(quoting 18 Unnamed “John Smith” Prisoners. v.

Meese, 871 F.2d 881, 883 (9th Cir.1989) (emphasis

in Stretch )).

-lla-

We conclude that this case presents contingencies

that could prevent effectuation of USAPA's pro-

posal and the accompanying injury. At this point,

neither the West Pilots nor USAPA can be certain

what seniority proposal ultimately will be accept-

able to both USAPA and the airline as part of a fi-

nal CBA. Likewise, it is not certain whether that

proposal will be ratified by the USAPA membership

as part of a new, single CBA. Not until the airline

responds to the proposal, the parties complete ne-

gotiations, and the membership ratifies the CBA

will the West Pilots actually be affected by

USAPA's seniority proposal-whatever USAPA's fi-

nal proposal ultimately is. Because these contin-

gencies make the claim speculative, the issues are

not yet fit for judicial decision.

We also conclude that withholding judicial consid

eration does not work a direct and immediate hard-

ship on the West Pilots. “To meet the hardship re-

quirement, a litigant must show that withholding

review would result in ‘direct and immediate’ hard-

ship and would entail more than possible financial

loss.” Winter v. Cal. Med. Review Bd., Inc., 900 F.2d

1322, 1325 (9th Cir.1990) (citing Cal. Dep't of Educ.

v. Bennett, 833 F.2d 827, 833-34 (9th Cir.1987)); see

also Am. Trucking Ass'ns v. ICC, 747 F.2d 787, 790

(D.C.Cir.1984) (finding no hardship where the pol

icy statement the plaintiffs challenged “neither im

pose[d] any obligation upon [the plaintiffs], nor in

any other respect ha|d] any impact upon them ‘felt

immediately ... in conducting their day-to-day af-

fairs'” (quoting Toilet Goods Ass'n v. Gardner, 387

U.S. 158, 164, 87 S.Ct. 1520, 18 L.Ed.2d 697

(1967))).

-12a-

Plaintiffs correctly note that certain West Pilots

have been furloughed, whereas they would still be

working under a single CBA implementing the

Nicolau Award. It is, however, at best, speculative

that. a single CBA incorporating the Nicolau Award

would be ratified if presented to the union's mem-

bership. ALPA had been unable to broker a com-

promise between the two pilot groups, and the East

Pilots had expressed their intentions not to ratify a

CBA containing the Nicolau Award. Thus, even un-

der the district court's injunction mandating

USAPA to pursue the Nicolau Award, it 1s uncer-

tain that the West Pilots' preferred seniority sys-

tem ever would be effectuated. That the court can-

not fashion a remedy that will alleviate Plaintiffs’

harm suggests that the case is not ripe.*™!

FN1. The dissent asserts that “nothing

would be gained by postponing a decision,

and the parties' interest would be well

served by a prompt resolution of the West P1-

lots' claim.” Diss. op. at 8017 (internal al-

terations, quotation marks, and citation

omitted). To be sure, the parties’ interest

would be served by prompt resolution of the

seniority dispute, but that is not the same as

prompt resolution of the DFR claim. The

present impasse, in fact, could well be pro-

longed by prematurely resolving the West Pi-

lots' claim judicially at this point. Forced to

bargain for the Nicolau Award, any contract

USAPA could negotiate would undoubtedly

be rejected by its membership. By deferring

judicial intervention, we leave USAPA to

bargain in good faith pursuant to its Dik,

with the interests of all members-both Itast

-l3a-

and West-in mind, under pain of an unques-

tionably ripe DFR suit, once a contract is

ratified.

Plaintiffs seek to escape this conclusion by framing

their harm as the lost opportunity to have a CBA

implementing the Nicolau Award put to a ratifica-

tion vote. Because merely putting a CBA effectuat-

ing the Nicolau Award to a ratification vote will not

itself alleviate the West Pilots furloughs, Plaintiffs

have not identified a sufficiently concrete injury.?N2

Additionally, USAPAs final proposal may yet be

one that does not work the disadvantages Plaintiffs

fear, even if that proposal is not the Nicolau

Award.FN3

FN2. Plaintiffs’ alleged hardship cannot in-

stead be premised on any delay caused by

USAPA in reaching a single CBA. As the dis-

trict court noted, Plaintiffs abandoned their

claim that USAPA is intentionally delaying

negotiation of a CBA. Addington, 2009 WL

2169164, at *22 (“During discovery, Plain-

tiffs retreated from any notion of deliberate

delay on the part of USAPA.”). The dissent's

assertion that “the absence of a CBA is itself

powerful evidence of a DFR violation,” Diss.

op. at 1184, is therefore misplaced. Although

absence of a CBA might be evidence of a

DER violation, if the violation were based on

deliberate delay by the union, it is not evi-

dence of a union's improper preference of one

seniority system over another. As demon-

strated by ALPA's similar difficulties in

reaching a CBA, the pilot groups, and indi-

vidual pilots with their ratification/non-

-14a-

ratification powers, are the major contribu-

tors to the absence of a CBA in these circum-

stances.

FN3. We do not address the thorny question

of the extent to which the Nicolau Award is

binding on USAPA. We note, as the district

court recognized, that USAPA is at least as

free to abandon the Nicolau Award as was its

predecessor, ALPA. The dissent appears im-

plicitly to assume that the Nicolau Award,

the product of the internal rules and proc-

esses of ALPA, is binding on USAPA. See

Diss op. at 1187-88.

Although we do not hold that a DFR claim based on

a union's promotion of a policy is never ripe until

that policy is effectuated, we conclude that, in this

case, there is too much uncertainty standing in the

way of effectuation of Plaintiffs' harm to warrant

judicial intervention at this stage. Cf. Sergeant uv.

Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pac., 346 F.3d 1196,

1200 (9th Cir.2003) (examining Labor Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act issue “in hght of the

well-established federal policy of avoiding unneces-

sary interference in the internal affairs of unions

and according considerable deference to the inter-

pretation and application of a union's rules and

regulations’”).?N4

FN4. The dissent agrees with “the general

rule that we evaluate the duty of fair repre-

sentation based on the fairness of the actual

representation as memorialized in_ the

[CBA,]” but would hold that this “is an un-

usual case and ... an exception” to that rule.

-15a-

Diss. op. at 1184. As much as the dissent

stresses the case-specific nature of our in-

quiry, however, there is no disputing that

this case would be the first time we allowed a

DFR suit to proceed in a collective bargain-

ing/ contract negotiating context before the

CBA at issue was ratified. Such a departure

from the norm would invite parties to bring

suit long before internal disputes have had a

chance to work themselves out. It would also

force us in each case to decide-without the

benefit of hindsight that 1s enjoyed in statute

of limitations accrual cases-whether a un-

ion's position is a mere announcement of a

bargaining position or the adoption of a per-

manent change in position. Although the dis-

sent believes that it is an easy question in

this case, it will not always be so.

Our conclusion that Plaintiffs’ claim is not ripe is

consistent with our DIR decisions, which have

found DFR violations based on contract negotiation

only after a contract has been agreed upon.FN® See,

e.g., Williams v. Pac. Mar. Ass'n, 617 F.2d 1321,

1328, 1330 (9th Cir.1980) (involving suit for breach

of DFR in negotiating CBA brought after rules at

issue were adopted); Bernard v. Air Line Pilots

Ass'n, 873 F.2d 213, 215 (9th Cir.1989) (involving

suit for breach of DFR during negotiations brought

after agreement between union and employer was

reached); Hendricks v. Atrline Pilots Ass'n, 696

F.2d 673, 674-75 (9th Cir.1983) (same).

FN5. Plaintiffs have identified only one case

in which a court allowed a DFR suit to pro-

ceed before a contract had been executed. See

-16a-

Mount v. Grand Int'l Bhd. of Locomotive

Eng'rs, 226 F.2d 604, 608 (6th Cir.1955). In

Mount, the union notified employees that it

would negotiate a contract amendment in di-

rect opposition to a series of rulings that had

been made pursuant to the union's internal

policies. Id. at 605-06. The Sixth Circuit held

that the fact that the proposed contract had

not been executed did not make the plain-

tiffs DFR action premature. Id. at 608.

Mount, however, contained only a cursory

analysis of the ripeness issue, and we are not

persuaded to apply its conclusion to this

case. More recent cases have held that a

claim does not accrue when the union merely

announces its intention to breach its DFR in

the future. See Ramey v. Dist. 141, Int'l Ass'n

of Machinists & Aerospace Workers, 378 F.3d

269, 279 (2d Cir.2004) (“[WJe do not require,

or even permit, union members to bring a

suit against their union simply because the

union has announced its future intention to

break its duty.”); Teamsters Local Union No.

42 v. NLRB, 825 F.2d 608, 615-16 (Ist

Cir.1987) (“Knowledge of a party's predispo-

sition to commit an unfair labor practice or

suspicion that, when the moment is oppor-

tune, the knife thrust will follow, is not

enough to galvanize § 10(b). The statute be-

gins to run only when the impermissible act

or omission-the unfair labor practice-actually

takes place.”).

Indeed, the Supreme Court case that clarified that

the DFR was applicable during contract negotia-

tions articulated its holding in terms that imply a

-l7a-

claim can be brought only after negotiations are

complete and a “final product” has been reached.

See Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l v. O'Neill, 499 U.S.

65, 78, 111 S.Ct. 1127, 113 L.Ed.2d 51 (1991)

(“[Tjhe final product of the bargaining process may

constitute evidence of a breach of duty only if it can

be fairly characterized as so far outside a ‘wide

range of reasonableness,’ that it is wholly ‘irra-

tional’ or ‘arbitrary.’ ” (quoting Ford Motor Co. uv.

Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 338, 73 S.Ct. 681, 97 L.Ed.

1048 (1953))).

Notably, even in the cases on which Plaintiffs rely

most heavily, the policy that the plaintiffs claimed

injured them had already been effectuated when

the plaintiffs brought the claim. See Ramey v. Dist.

141, Int'l Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers,

378 F.3d 269, 275-76 (2d Cir.2004) (noting that air-

line had accepted union's seniority system and the

plaintiffs had been furloughed as aé_ée result);

Teamsters Local Union No. 42 v. NLRB, 825 F.2d

608, 611 (1st Cir.1987) (noting that shifts had been

assigned according to union's seniority system). Al-

though both the Ramey court and Teamsters court

concluded the claim accrued (for statute of limita-

tions purposes) before effectuation of the policy at

issue, see Ramey, 378 F.3d at 279-80 (holding that

claim accrued when union advocated seniority posi-

tion to employer during contract negotiations);

Teamsters, 825 F.2d at 614-15 (holding that claim

accrued when union announced to the plaintiffs

that they had been assigned to less desirable shift,

even though negotiations with employer regarding

the seniority system that would dictate shift as-

signments occurred two months later), the holdings

are not as easily applied in our situation as plain-

-18a-

tiffs urge.?N¢ In both Ramey and Teamsters, the un-

ions argued that the plaintiffs’ claims had accrucd

more than six months prior to filing, such that the

cases were barred by the statute of limitations.

Ramey, 378 F.3d at 276; Teamsters, 825 I’. 2d at

614. In addressing whether the cases were time-

barred, each court was faced with the issue

whether the claim accrued when the union an-

nounced its intention to take a negotiating position

that would amount to a DFR breach (a date that

fell outside the six-month period) or when the un-

ion actually advocated that position to the employer

during negotiations (a date that fell within the six-

month period). Ramey, 378 F.3d at 278-80;

Teamsters, 825 F.2d at 614-15. The court in each

case found that the claim accrued at the later date.

Ramey, 378 F.3d at 279-80; Teamsters, 825 i.2d at

614-15. Significantly, however, because the date

the union advocated its position in negotiations fell

within the six-month period in both cases, there

would have been no need for the plaintiffs to argue

that the claim did not accrue until effectuation of

the policy. Moreover, because the seniority systems

at issue already had been effectuated in both cases,

the courts simply were not faced with the possibil

ity of interfering in a union's internal conflict be-

fore the conflict manifested as concrete injury to

the plaintiffs.

I'N6. Indeed, we are hesitant to transplant a

rule from cases analyzing claim accrual for

statute of limitations purposes to the ripe-

ness context. Although we have noted the re-

lationship between the statute of limitations

and ripeness inquiries, see Levald, Inc. v.

City of Palm Desert, 998 ¥'.2d 680, 687 (9th

1Ya

Cir.1993) (Determining when the cause of

action accrues is merely the corollary to the

ripeness inquiry.’), there are key difference:

in the posture of a case that presents a stat

ute of limitations issue and one that. present:

a ripeness issue. In a statute of limitations

case, unlike a ripeness case, the injury has

unquestionably culminated, and the issue is

whether the plaintiffs learned or should have

learned of the injury so long avo that it

would no longer be fair to bring the suit. In

deciding these cases, courts often decline to

identify a specific date on which the claim

accrued, instead identifying the “earliest” or

“latest” date it could have accrued, depend

ing on whether the court determines the

claim to have fallen inside or outside the ap

plicable statute of limitations. See, e.yp.,

Gvuozdenovic v. United Atr Lines, Inc., 933

k2d 1100, 1106 (2d Cir.1991) (concluding

that claim was time-barred because it ac

crued “at the latest” on the date the union

ratified the allegedly violative agreement,

which was more than six months before fil

ing).

We also note in these cases the apparent absence of

contingencies that stood between the union's advo

cating to the employer a position on a certain policy

and the implementation of that policy. Neither

Ramey nor Teamsters references a ratification re

quirement, and in both cases the employer scemed

predisposed to follow the union's’ proposal. In

Teamsters, the court found accrual at the date the

union communicated its adverse action to the em

ployees. 825 F.2d at 614-15. Although the negotia

20a

tions that would result in that adverse action had

not yet been completed, the announcement was de

finitive. Id. In Ramey, the underlying district court

decrsion indicates that the employer had already

agreed to accept whatever semority system the un

ion proposed. See Ramey v. Dist. 141, Int'l Ass'n of

Machinists & Aerospace Workers, 2002 WI.

399152292. at *4 (18.D.N.Y. Nov.4, 2002) (noting that

the transition agreement in effect gave the union

“complete control over the issue of semority”). Be

cause of these distinctions, we are not convinecd

that these cases, even if they were binding on u:

would require a finding of ripeness in the circum

stances of the case at bench.'N’

FN7. Plaintiffs correctly note that /tamey

suggests a DFR claim can accrue before im

plementation of the policy at issue. Analogiz

ing to anticipatory repudiation in a breach ol

contract case, the amey court noted that it

would be possible-but not required-for a

claim to be brought when @ umion unequivo

cally communicates its intention to breach

its DFR, but that for statute of limitation:

purposes, the claim did not accrue until “the

date on which performance was duc, namely

the date on which [the union] advocated a

position on the semiority issue to {the em

ployer].” 378 F.3d at 279-80. ‘The court went

on, however, to qualify its holding, recogni

ing the requirement of likelihood of harm

Because we hold that [the union] has not

met its burden to demonstrate that plain

tiffs reasonably should have known that

the breach occurred before January 28%,

244

1999 |the date six months before filing

date]

unsettled question of how certain it must

_ we do not address the difficult and

be that harm will be caused by a union's

breach in order to trigger the statute of

lymitations. We have held that the statute

of limitations is triypvered even if it ors not

absolutely certain that a umion member

will be harmed by a breach. However, we

note that there must be some Ihkelhood

that a harm will result from a. union's

breach before a member may file suit. Oth

erwise, such claims would be unduly specu

lative. We caution distmet courts to con

sider this issue in the future when faced

with a suit brought after a union breaches

but before tanguble harm is caused

Id. at 2BO nn. 5 (eitations omitted)

hinally, we find instructive our cases analyzing: ae

crual of DER claims that are based on a union's al

leged errors outside the contract nepotiation pro

ess."N* In the prievance context, too, we have re

quired that a final outcome be reached before al

lowing a suit based on a unmion's allepedly violative

conduct that led to the decision. See Kozy uv. Wings

W. Airlines, Ine., 89 F.3d 635 (8th Cir. 1996). In

Kozy, an employee brought a DER claim allegaung

the union committed errors while representings bin

Ina ymevance hearing before an arbitrator. Jd. at

638. We held that the claim had not accrued until

the arbitrator's written decision was issued. /d. at

639. We noted that

FN8. The DFR applhes both to contract nego-

tiation and contract administration. See

O'Neill, 499 U.S. at 67, 111 S.Ct. 1127.

“There was, at one time, some indication in

this Circuit that the employee ‘should

know’ of his Union's errors in representing

him at a hearing when he saw the errors

committed during the hearing, and that the

six-month [statute of limitations] period be-

gan to run from that date even if the gnev-

ance board had not yet rendered its final

decision.”

Id. at 640 (citing Galindo v. Stoody Co., 793 F.2d

1502, 1509 (9th Cir.1986)). However, we stated,

Galindo resolved that confusion, holding that a

claim accrues for statute of limitations purposes

only when the employee learns of the arbitrator's

award. Kozy, 89 F.3d at 640 (citing Galindo, 793

F.2d at 1509). The holding in Galindo “recog-

nize[d] that the arbitrator's final decision could

make the employee whole despite the union's er-

rors, and that the arbitrator could change his

mind at any time prior to issuing a final and bind-

ing decision.” Kozy, 89 F.3d at 640 (citing

Galindo, 793 F.2d at 1509). Similarly, in the con-

text of negotiations toward a CBA, the parties

could shift positions until negotiations are com-

plete, and the final agreement could be acceptable

to Plaintiffs.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that Plaintiffs’

DFR claim is not ripe; therefore, the case is RE-

MANDED to the district court with directions that

the action be DISMISSED. No costs to either side.

BYBEE, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

i ayree with much of the majority opinion. | concur

that, in general, we should not decide duty of fair

representation (“DFR”) challenges until “after a

contract has been agreed upon.” Ma). Op. at 1181

In the typical case, the contract will be the best

evidence of fair representation or lack thereof. In

my view, however, the contract 1s not the sine qua

non of unfair representation, and the fact that a

case could be more ripe-in the sense that the issues

could be more concrete, more focused-is not evi

dence of the contrary proposition that the case is

not ripe.

This 1s an unusual case and, in my view, an excep

tion to the general rule that we evaluate the duty of

fair representation based on the fairness of the ac

tual representation as memorialized in the Collec:

tive Bargaining Agreement (“CBA”). Here, the ab-

sence of a CBA is itself powerful evidence of a DFR

violation. As set forth quite fairly in the majority

opinion and in a lengthy and careful opinion by the

district court, the Air lane Pilots Association

(“ALPA”) was decertified and a new union, the U.S.

Airline Pilots Association (““USAPA”), certified pre-

cisely to frustrate implementation of the Nicolau

Agreement and to negotiate a CBA with U.S. Air-

ways that favors the East Pilots. As the district

court found, “USAPA's sole objective in adopting

and presenting its seniority proposal to the Airline

was to benefit East Pilots at the expense of West

Pilots, rather than to benefit the bargaining union

-24a-

as a whole.” Thus, “the terms of USAPA's semority

proposal are substantially less favorable to West

Pilots than the Nicolau Award” made through bind-

ing arbitration, an award that “USAPA concedes

that it will never bargain for.” It has been nearly

five years since the two airlines merged, and the

pilots are further from, not closer to, a CBA that

reflects the interests of both pilot groups. Although

a CBA would supply tangible evidence of a violation

of the DFR, in this case, there is sufficient evidence

to consider the West Pilots' complaint without the

CBA. The issues are concrete and were well devel-

oped in district court proceedings that included a

jury trial (for damages) and a bench trial (for equ.-

table relief). IT would hold the case is ripe for deci-

sion and decide the appeal on the merits

The “basic rationale” of the ripeness doctrine “is to

prevent the courts, through premature adjudica-

tion, from entangling themselves in abstract dis-

agreements.” Thomas v. Union Carbide Agric.

Prods. Co., 473 U.S. 568, 580, 105 S.Ct. 3325, 87

L.Ed.2d 409 (1985). “Constitutional ripeness, 1n

many cases, ‘coincides squarely with standing's in-

jury in fact prong’ and ‘can be characterized as

standing on a timeline.’ ” Stormans, Inc. v. Selecky,

586 F.3d 1109, 1122 (9th Cir.2009) (quoting

Thomas v. Anchorage Equal Rights Comm'n, 220

F.3d 1134, 1138 (9th Cir.2000)). Ripeness is a case-

specific inquiry and does not lend itself to broad,

bright-line rules based on the type of claim as-

serted. In Yahoo! Inc. v. La Ligue Contre Le

Racisme Et L'Antisemitisme, 433 F.3d 1199, 1212

(9th Cir.2006) (en banc), we wrote that “fi]t is [ ]

impertant to a ripeness analysis that we specify the

precise legal question to be answered. Depending

on the legal question, the case may be ripe or un

ripe. If we ask the wrong legal question, we risk

getting the wrong answer to the ripeness auestto:

Getting the legal question riglit is critical. ‘Two r

lated cases from the Supreme Court are particu

larly instructive here. In Ruckelshaus v. Monsar

Co., 467 U.S. 986, 104 S.Ct. 2862, 81 L.Ed.2d 81

(1984), the Court held that a plaintiff's challeng:

to the constitutionality of an arbitration and con

pensation scheme in the Federal Insecticide, Fun;

cide, and Rodenticide Act (““KIEFRA’) would not. be

come ripe until the “|[Environmental Protectio

Aven y | ha lcd} considered data ubmitted by{t!

plaintiff] in evaluating another application and

arbitrator hald] made an award ” Id. at 1020. 104

S.Ct 2S62 The very next tern howevel!

lhomas v. Union Carbide Agricultural Pri

Co., the Court held that a similar con

challenge to FIFRA's arbitration provisions wa

ripe even though none of the thirteen plaintiffs wa

actually challenging an arbitration award. 473 U.S

at 579-82, 105 8.Ct. 3325. Only one plaintiff

Stauffer Chemical Company-had engaged in arbi

tration, and it sought to enforce the award. None of

the twelve other plaintiffs had actually engaged

an arbitration under FIFRA, but they alleged that

they were “aggrieved by the t/reat of an unconsti

tutional arbitration procedure.” /d. at 579, 10

S.Ct. 3325. The Court did not dismiss any plain

tiffs claims on ripeness grounds: “One does not

have to await the consummation of threatened tn

-26a

jury to obtain preventive relief. If the injury 1s cer-

tainly impending, that is enough. Nothing would be

gained by postponing a decision, and the public in-

terest would be well served by a prompt resolution

of the constitutionality of FIFRA's arbitration

scheme.” Jd. at 581-82, 105 S.Ct. 3325 (quotation

marks and citations omitted) (emphasis added)

What our decision in Yahoo! and the Court's deci

sions in Monsanto and Thomas make clear is that

ripeness is a contextual and commonsense doctrine

If the unique circumstances of a particular claim

render it fit for decision, the claim jis ripe. | submit

that this is a case in which “[nJothing would be

rained by postponing a decision, and the [parties']

interest[s] would be well served by a prompt resolu

tion of” the West Pilots’ DER claim Id. at 582, 105

S.Ct. 3320

eda

B

“(A] union breaches the duty of fair representation

when its conduct toward a member of the bargain-

ing unit is arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad

faith.” Marquez v. Screen Actors Guild, Inc., 525

U.S. 33, 44, 119 S.Ct. 292, 142 L.ied.2d 242 (1998).

“The duty ... is the quid pro quo for the union's

right to exclusive representation; 1t protects em

ployees in the minority from arbitrary discrimina-

tion by the major’ty union.” Laborers & Hod Carrt

ers, Local No. 341 v. N.L.R.B., 564 F.2d 834, 839-40

(9th Cir.1977).

The majority describes three DFR cases from this

circuit- Williams v. Pacific Maritime Association,

617 F.2d 1321 (9th Cir.1980), Bernard v. Air Line

J at |

eo:

Pilots Association, 873 F.2d 213 (Sth Cir.1989), and

Hendricks v. Atrline Pilots Association, 696 F.2d

673 (9th Cir.1983)-as “flinding] DFR violations

based on contract negotiation only after a contract

has been agreed upon,’ Maj. Op. at 1181. These

cases are not only distinguishable, but completely

inapposite. First, none of these cases even mentions

ripeness Together, Williams, Bernard, and

Hendricks stand for the uncontroversial proposition

that a DER claim can be brought after a CBA or fi

nalized seniority integration agreement has been

completed. The issue here, however, 1s whether =a

DER claim must be brought after a CBA or final

ized seniority integration agreement, which none of

our cases cited by the majority even purport: Te

dress

Just as importantly, none of these cases addressed

the “precise legal question” advanced by the West

Pilots. In Williams, “[t]he heart of the employees'

claim of unfair representation [wals that the unton

breached its statutory duty to plaintiffs by agreeing

to the adoption of [certain] standards for deregis

tration.” 617 F.2d at 1328 (emphasis added). In

Bernard, the factual situation was basically a mir

ror image of this case: the merger of Alaska Air

Group and Jet America became effective on October

1, 1987, and a seniority integration agreement was

completed less than a week later, on October 6,

1987. 873 F.2d at 215. The plaintiffs in Bernard

sued immediately thereafter and were quickly

granted preliminary injunctive relhef, which we up-

held. Jd. at 215, 219. Here, the West Pilots claim to

be aggrieved by the failure to pursue the memori-

alization of an arbitration award in a finalized sen-

iority integration agreement, while in Bernard the

-20a-

claim was the opposite: an agreement was memor}-

alized almost immediately, without taking into ac-

count a preexisting merger policy. Finally, in

Hendricks, plaintiffs argued that “the umon| |

breached its duty of fair representation because |a

contract | amendment was arbitrary and discrimt-

natory.” 696 F.2d at 677 (emphasis added). Like the

theory in Williams, the plaintiffs' theory in

Hendricks actually challenged a memorialized

agreement and was therefore not the “precise” legal

theory advanced here

The majority also cites Atr Line Pilots Association

v. O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65, 111 S.Ct. 1127, 113 L.Ed.2d

51 (1991) (* ALPA ”), for the proposition that “a

claim can only be brought once negotiations are

complete and a ‘final product’ has been reached.”

Maj. Op. at 1182. With all due respect, this over

states what ALPA said. ALPA said nothing about

the ripeness doctrine. What the Court said was

that “lajny ibstantive examination of a union's

performance must be highly deferential, recog

’

nizing the wide latitude that negotiators need fo

the effective performance of their bargaiming re

sponsibilities. For that reason, the final product of

the bargaining process may constitute evidence of a

breach of duty....” 499 U.S. at 78, 111 S.Ct. 1127

(internal citations omitted). The Court's statement

in ALPA only confirms what we already know: a

CBA may be the best evidence of satisfaction of or

violation of the DFR. But the Court's equivocal

“may constitute evidence” falls well short of con

firming that “a claim can only be brought” once

there is a CBA

-29a-

None of these cases are relevant with respect to the

ripeness issue here. They stand for the noncontro-

versial proposition that a DFR claim can _ be

brought after a CBA has been completed. By con-

trast, the issue here is whether a DFR claim can be

brought prior to the completion of a CBA

l agree with the majority that this case would be

ripe 1f USAPA and U.S. Air had entered into a

CBA. That is not the question that this case pre-

sents. We are asked whether our Article III juris

diction extends to a DFR claim based on a union

“constitutionally committed,” Maj. Op. at 1177, to

voiding a binding arbitration award and adopting a

“date of hire” seniority principle that plainly favors

one side of a merger. When the question is posed in

this way, I beleve the ripeness of the West Pilots'

claims becomes clear

We employ a two-part test to determine whether a

claim 1s ripe for review, evaluating “(1) whether the

issues are fit for judicial decision, and (2) whether

the parties will suffer hardship if we decline to con-

sider the issues.” San Diego County Gun Rights

Comm. v. Reno, 98 F.3d 1121, 1132 (9th Cir.1996),

The issues raised by the West Pilots' DFR claim are

straightforward, and the uncontested facts of this

case make clear that the issues involved are fit for

decision on this record.

The West Pilots' DFR theory does not depend on

any contingent future events such as the memor}-

alization of a finalized CBA or seniority integration

agreement. The district court explained why the

-30a-

issues were fit for decision and the parties will suf-

fer hardship if we decline to consider the issues:

The issues fit for decision are these:

Whether USAPA adopted and presented its

seniority proposal without any legitimate

union objective, solely to benefit East Pilots

at the expense of West Pilots, and if so

whether the West Pilots are entitled to

damages and an injunction therefore....

LISAPA concedes it will never bargain for

implementation of the Nicolau Award. It is

constitutionally hostile to doing so. The Atr-

line has accepted the Nicolau Award, ex-

pressing no opposition to it, and the union

has failed to show any legitimate reason (or

plausible future reason) for abandoning it

Liability flows from the process and aims of

USAPA's seniority position. The outcome of

negotialions is irrelevant. Without an tn

junction, USAPA's seniority position inevt

tably impairs the collective bargaining pro

CSS.

For this same reason, denying judicial r

view would work a substantial hardship

upon the parties, including the Airline.... In

addition to depriving the West Pilots of le

gitimate representation, USAPA's bargain

ing position leaves the Airline to decide be

tween a lack of a single CBA and an unlaw-

ful single CBA

(Emphasis added)

-dla-

I agree with the district court that, given the “pre-

cise legal question” raised by the West Pilots, this

case is “fit for decision.” As the district court cor-

rectly observed, given the constitutional commit

ment of USAPA to date-of-hire principles-principles

irreconcilably opposed to the compromise embodied

in the Nicolau Award-“the outcome of negvtiations

is irrelevant.” As a result, the question presented in

this case does not pivot on any “ ‘contingent future

events that may or may not occur as anticipated, or

indeed may not occur at all.’ ” Maj. Op. at 1179

(quoting Cardenas v. Anzai, 311 F.3d 929, 934 (9th

Cir.2002)). The West Pilots' claamed “injury 1s cer

tainly impending, [and} that is enough.” United

States v. Stretch, 560 F.3d 926, 931 (9th Cir.2009)

(quotation marks omitted). Instead, as the district

court found, “USAPA has misled the majority about

its power to improve their seniority prospects at the

expense of the West Pilots. The will of the East Pi

lots springs from a mistaken understanding of the

law and mismanaged expectations. /[f this ts an im

passe, tt is one USAPA has goaded on.” (Emphasi:

added). The impasse is not evidence of the lack of

ripeness of the West Pilots’ claims. It is xhibit A

in their case-it is itself evidence of USAPA's intrac

tability on behalf of the East Pilots. Again, as the

district court found, “USAPA has made plain its in

tent never to bargain for the Nicolau Award,” and

time appears to be on the side of the Kast Pilots.FN!

Under these circumstances, the West Pilots need

not “await the consummation of threatened injury

to obtain preventive relief.” /d. (quotation marks

omitted).

EFN1. Although the West Pilots are not claim

ing that USAPA has “deliberately” delayed

-3d32A-

completing a CBA, Ma). Op. at 1180-81 n. 2,

the majority notes that West Pilots have

been furloughed and that they would not

have been furloughed under the Nicolau

Award, td. at 1180.

When the East Pilots campaigned to decertily

ALPA and replace it with USAPA, a new union

constitutionally committed to pursuing date-of-hire

principles, a DIR claim by the West Pilots would

not have been ripe. As the Second Circuit explained

in Ramey v. District 141 International Association

of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, 378 }.3d 269

(2d Cir.2004), “a breach fof the duty of fair repre

sentation does not) occur[ | when a union an

nounces an intention, even if it does so unequivo

cally, to advocate against the interests of its mem

bers in the future.” Jd. at 278. But when USAPA

won the certification election and refused tn prac

tice to bargain for implementation of the Nicolau

Award, a previously bargained-for award that the

Airline had already accepted and continues to ac

cept, this was not the announcement of an imten

tion, but actual “actfion] against the interest|s] of

the West Pilots-the precise point at which, it seem:

to me (and to the Second Circuit), a DFR breach oc

curs. Id. (‘the breach occurs when the union acts

against the interests of its members’); see also

Santos v. Dist. Council of New York City & Vicinity

of United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

Am., AFL-CIO, 619 F.2d 963, 970-71 (2d Cir.1980)

(holding that a union breached its duty of fair rep

resentation, and a DFR claim began to accrue, at

the time “appellants were aware that the [union]

was not proceeding in good faith to seck enforce

ment of [an arbitration] award’).

The majority argues that this case will not be ripe

until “the airline responds to [USAPA' emiority|

proposal, the parties complete negotiations, and thi

membership ratifies the CBA,” Maj. Op. at 1180

but I respectfully disagree. Certainly thi CASE

might be “riper” were plaintiffs to wait for these fu

ture events, but when USAVPA took the reins as thi

West Pilots' union and refused to pursue the N}

lau Award, USAPA's promise moved from abstract

disagreement to adjudi able legal controversy. ‘The

future events cited by the majority are not hkels

occur anytime soon, and plaintiffs will be harme

all the while. In the words of the Thomas Court

fnjothing would be gamed by postpon

on 173 U.S. at 582, 105 8.Ct. 3325

‘war ripen Inquiry ] not. CoOmMcenrtiye ] Vit Vile

1 CASP ) i ripe iT po ibty could aT welve |

thie plaintiff 11T) Phoma had never even entere

into KIERA arbitration ‘The claim would have

iergone RIERA arbitrate

prior to joining with Stauffer in a challenge to FI

been riper had they un

kRA's arbitration procedure Yet the Court note

these plaintiffs' “continuing uncertainty and

pense’ and explained that “|o]ne does not have t

await the consummation of threatened injury to ob

tain preventive rehef Id. at 58] 1O5 S.Ct. 332

(quotation marks omitted). No one disput: that

the West Pilots are now suffering, and will continu

to suffer, “continuing uncertainty and expense’ dus

to the seniority im pa They are entitled to hav

their claims heard

| respectfully dissent

LPPIENDIA B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COUK!

D. ARIZONA

¥ () ( \ Os lo356 PHA NVVW

('VO8-1728-PHX-NVW

kiled July 17, 2009

Andrew SS. Jacob, Don ©. Stevens, Tl, Katherme V

Brown, Kelly Joyee Flood, Marty Harper, Polsinelh

Shughart PC, Phoenix, AZ, for Plaintiff,

Nicholas Paul Granath, Seham Seham Meltz &

Petersen LIP, Minneapolis, MN, James K. Brenyle

Duane Morris LLP, Vhilade bpbupat, PA. Lee Seham

Lucas I Middlebrook, Stanley Suiverstorm

Theresa Ryan Murphy, Seham Seham Meltz &

Petersen IL. White Plains, NY. Nicholas dason

Isnoch, Stanley Lubin, Lubin & lenoeh PC, Phociis

AZ, Karen Gollen, Sarah Ann Asta, US Airways Ine

Tempe, AZ, Rachel S. danger, Tom A. Jderman

Omelveny & Myers LIP, Washington, DC, Robert

Alan Siegel, Omelveny & Myers LLP, Los Angel

(‘A for Defendant

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF

LAW and ORDER

NitiIh V. WAKE, District Judve.,

IL INSRRODUCTION

Plaintiff pilots brought this suit on behalf of a ela

of similarly situated pilots formerly cmployed by

America West Airlines. They allege that their cu

rent unmion, the U.S. Airline Pilots) Association

(SUSAPA”’) breached its duty of fair representation

The case was tried to a jury. On May 13, 2ZOO9. the

jury found in Plaintiffs’ favor that USAPA had

breached its duty by abandoning an arbitrated sen

iority list in favor of a date-of-hire list’ solely to

benefit one group of pilots at the expense of an

-36a-

other. At the conclusion of the jury trial, a bench

trial was held to determine the propriety, nature,

and scope of any injunctive relief that would issue.

The Court will now award injunctive relief as sup-

ported by the following findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law. These findings are entered as required

by Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 52(a) and 65(d),

consistent with and supplementary to the facts al-

ready found by the jury in this case. The nature

and scope of relief depends upon the specific facts

underlying liability.

Il. FINDINGS OF FACT

This dispute arises out of a particularly fraught

area of labor relations: the integration of pilot sen-

iority lists upon the merger of two airlines. Irom

the perspective of the individual airline pilot, sen-

iority is of the utmost importance. Wages improve

with a pilot's position on the seniority list. So do

working conditions. Seniority gives pilots priority

for bidding on work opportunities-the more senior

the pilot, the better the choices. Seniority impacts

the rank a pilot may take, the aircraft a pilot may

fly, and the control a pilot has over the work sched-

ule. Seniority also determines the availability of

preferred routes and “domiciles”-the locales where

pilots are based. Seniority represents a significant

investment of time in an industry where many pi-

lots spend the bulk of their career at one airline.

Most importantly, a pilot's position on the semority

list creates or limits exposure to demotions and

“furloughs,” the airline industry's euphemism for

layoffs. Generally, the most junior pilots are fur-

loughed first. Furloughed pilots enjoy a night of re-

call when hiring resumes, but until then they are

-3/a-

out of work at the airline. For all of these reasons,

the process of combining two seniority lists during

an airline merger raises stakes, emotions, and the

risk of betrayal cf principle to new heights. Such is

the case here.

A. The Merger

In May 2005, two airlines, America West and U.S.

Airways, merged to become a single airline known

as U.S. Airways (“the Airline”). The America West

pilots who were on the America West seniority list

at the time of the merger are known as West Pilots.

The U.S. Airways pilots who were on the U-S. Air-

ways seniority list at that time are known as the

Kast Pilots. As part of the merger, the two airlines

planned to combine their operations into one, and

as part of that process, the seniority lists of the two

airlines would be integrated into a single list. As

with any attempt to combine two separate seniority

lists, this process pitted the seniority interests of

the East Pilots against the seniority interests of the

West Pilots. Any gain for one side would come at

the expense of the other.

Adding tension was the comparative makeup of

each pilot workforce. At the time of the merger and

now, the East Pilots have been the bigger group:

about 5100 pilots compared to about 1900 West Pi-

lots. America West not only was the smaller of the

two airlines, but it also was the younger. The 1900

West Pilots were generally hired within a more re-

cent time frame than the East Pilots. The two

groups differed in their wages and work status. The

America West wages in place at the time of the

merger were significantly more favorable than the

-38a-

U.S. Airways wages. And all West Pilots were ac-

tively flying at the time of the merger, with hiring

ongoing at the airline and a negligible history of

furloughs. US Airways, on the other hand, found

itself in the midst of bankruptcy proceedings with

approximately 1700 of its pilots on furlough and no

recall in sight. Many of the furloughed pilots had

not flown for U.S. Airways for years.

From the time of the merger until April 2008, both

pilot groups were represented by one union: the Air

Line Pilots Association (“ALPA”). The internal

structure of ALPA played a central role in the sen-

iority integration process. Two different Master Ex-

ecutive Councils (‘MECs”) pursued the interests of

each pilot group: the U.S. Airways Master Execu-

tive Council (“the East MIEC”) and the- America

West Master Executive Council (“the West. MEC’).

The union members of each pilot group elected rep-

resentatives who chose officers for their respective

MECs. The MECs, in turn, appointed individuals to

various union committees. For instance, the MECs

each appointed individuals to a single Joint Nego-

tiating Committee charged with negotiating collec-

tive bargaining terms with the Airline on behalf of

both groups. ‘The MECs also appointed individuals

to separate standing Merger Committees. Each p1-

lot group's Merger Committee consisted of two pilot

Merger Representatives who would participate in

the integration process for the two seniority lists.

Under ALPA's structure, any new collective bar-

gaining agreement (“CBA”) would require ratifica-

tion by a majority of pilots in each of the two pilot

groups.

s)

-39a-

On September 23, 2005, ALPA and the two merg-

ing airlines entered into a Transition Agreement

setting forth the process of achieving the opera-

tional integration of the two airlines. The chairman

of each MEC signed the agreement, witnessed by

other union officials. The Transition Agreement

provides that until operations are combined, “[t}he

pilot workforces of America West and U.S. Airways

will remain separate and covered by their respec-

tive collective bargaining agreements.” With few

exceptions, this status of separate operations places

a fence between the former America West opera-

tions and the former U.S. Airways operations so

that pilots for one side cannot fly the other side's

routes or aircraft.

The Transition Agreement requires three cond?

tions to be met before operational integration can

take place. First, an integrated seniority list must

be created. Second, the union must conclude a sin

gle CBA for both pilot groups, incorporating the in-

tegrated seniority list. Third, the Airline must ob-

tain a single FAA operating certificate, which it has

done. Because no new CBA is in place, the Airline

carries on 1n a state of separate operations. Efforts

toward a new CBA have been complicated by the

process of deciding what seniority list the CBA will

include.

B. The Nicolau Award

The Transition Agreement also specifies how to in

tegrate the two seniority lists: “Ihe seniority lists

of America West pilots and U.S. Airways pilots will

be integrated in accordance with ALPA Merger Pol-

icy and submitted to the Airline Parties for accep-

-40a-

tance.” In turn, ALPA Merger Policy [ex. 3, herein-

after cited as “MP”] provides a step-by-step process

of integrating the lists. At the first stage, the par-

ties attempt to negotiate a single list. [MP pt. 1.G.]

If negotiations fail, a mediator is selected from a

predetermined list through a series of strikes, and

mediation ensues. [MP pt. 1.H.] If mediation fails,

the mediator conducts a “final and binding” arbi-

tration to arrive at a merged list, sitting as the

chairman of a three-person arbitration board. [MP

pt. 1.H.] Once the representatives conclude the

process of integrating the seniority lists, the lst 1s

not subject to a separate ratification vote by the un-

ion membership. [MP pt. 1.D.}] The integrated list is

to be presented as part of any new CBA, however,

which is subject to membership ratification.

In accordance with the Transition Agreement and

ALPA Merger Policy, the Merger Representatives

for the East and West Pilots began negotiating over

seniority in August 2005. The circumstances of the

two pilot groups prevented the two sides from

reaching agreement. In particular, the East Merger

Representatives thought that East Pilots were enti-

tled to seniority rights based upon their dates of

hire, including East Pilots who were on furlough at

the time of the merger. The West Merger Represen-

tatives thought that these furloughees should be

placed at the bottom of the list, with the remaining

pilots merged into one list according to their rela

tive positions on the original seniority lists for each

of the merging airlines.

Failing to reach any negotiated compromise, the

Merger Representatives began the next step of the

ALPA Merger Policy process: mediation. By alter-

-41a-

nating strikes from the predetermined list of me-

diators, George Nicolau was selected as the media-

tor. Mediation took place in October 2006. Like ne-

gotiation, the mediation failed to produce an

agreed-upon, integrated seniority list. The Merger

Representatives then proceeded to the third step of

the ALPA Merger Policy process, entering into ar-

bitration (the “Nicolau Arbitration”) with George

Nicolau presiding along with two non-voting pilot

representative from other airlines, one designated

by each pilot group. The arbitration proceedings

began in December 2006 and concluded—in-Febru-

ary 2007.

The Nicolau Arbitration panel issued its award (the

“Nicolau Award”) in the first week of May 2007.

The award struck a compromise between the re-

quests of both sides. It placed about 500 senior East

Pilots at the top of the list, against the wishes of

West Pilots, because of their special experience

with wide-body international aircraft that America

West was not operating before the merger. It placed

approximately 1700 Kast Pilots who had been fur-

loughed at the time of the merger at the bottom of

the list because of their greatly diminished career

expectations. ‘Then 1t blended the remainder of the

Mast Pilot list with the West Pilot list generally ac-

cording to the relative position of the pilots on their

original lists.

Before, during, and after the arbitration, both sides

understood that any arbitrated result would be fi-

nal and binding as provided in ALPA Merger Pol-

icy, and that the Transition Agreement required

implementation of the Nicolau Award along with

any new single CBA. Each side presented exhaus-

-42a-

tive proof in support of its case over the course of 18

days of hearings, with 20 witnesses and 14 volumes

of exhibits. They filed comprehensive post-hearing

briefs. There is no persuasive evidence that any

East or West Pilot doubted the finality of the arbi-

tration before it took place.

The Nicolau Award caused outrage among many

East Pilots. The East Merger Representatives

sought to have the award overturned and _peti-

tioned ALPA to revisit it. Emotions flared for weeks

and months to follow while ALPA attempted to

broker a compromise between the two pilot groups.

Understanding that ratification of any single CBA

by both pilot groups was essential, ALPA's Execu-

tive Council passed a resolution on May 24, 2007,

urging both MECs to “explore consensual ap-

proaches that promote career protection and mu-

tual success, and achieve an acceptable single

{CBA] that improves pay, benefits, work rules, and

job security for both pilot groups.” Further efforts

at compromise took place at certain union-

organized conferences over the summer. No com-

promise resulted.

While the arbitration was pending, negotiations

with the Airline progressed. In May 2007, the

ALPA Joint Negotiating Committee received a

comprehensive CBA proposal from the Airline

known as the Kirby proposal. [Ex. 98.] While the

union and the Airline remained far apart on many

terms of employment, this proposal represented

significant progress in negotiations and included a

pay increase for both pilot groups worth $122 mil-

lion per year. The West Pilots’ increase was modest,

but the introduction of equal pay for both pilot

-43a-

groups would mean a pay increase for East Pilots

worth $108 million per year. This proposal has re-

mained on the table.

On August 15, 2007, the East MEC withdrew its

representatives from the Joint Negotiating Com-

mittee. This tactic halted negotiations between the

union and the company toward a single new CBA.

By October 1, 2007, the ALPA Executive Council

had determined that there were no grounds under

ALPA Merger Policy for setting aside the Nicolau

Award. ALPA's president criticized the East MECs

actions and stated that it was “time for the [East]

MIEC to comply with its representational and legal

obligations under the Constitution & Bylaws,

ALPA Merger ‘olicy, the Transition Agreement,

and implementing resolutions of the lExecutive

Council” and “adopt a resolution ... reversing all

prior efforts to bar or precondition the continuation

of joint negotiations.” [Ix. 19.]

The East MIC never returned to negotiations.

ALPA submitted the Nicolau Award to the Airline

in late 2007. The Airline accepted the award on De-

cember 20, 2007, as it was required to do if the

award complied with certain basic requirements of

the Transition Agreement.

C. The Formation and Election of USAPA

Another story was unfolding during this course of

events. On May 16, 2007, shortly after the issuance

of the Nicolau Award, East Pilot Stephen Bradford

wrote a lecter to the ALPA [Executive Board an-

nouncing his intent to leave ALPA. He voiced hos-

tility to the Nicolau Award, claiming that he did

-44a-

not want to leave the union but that the Nicolau

Award left him little choice. In his view, it was nec-

essary to leave in order to “write our own merger

policy into our bylaws” and “just to protect what

little we [East Pilots] have left.” [fx. 107 at 1-2.}

He asserted that the East Pilots' majority status in

the union would enable them to achieve their aims.

He and other East Pilots formed a committee to ex-

plore how to prevent implementation of the Nicolau

Award by forming and certifying a new union with

a different seniority objective. They received advice

from a lawyer to take care with “the language you

use in setting up your new union” and not to “give

the other side a large body of evidence that the sole

reason for the new union is to abrogate an arbitra-

tion.” [Ex. 14.]

Mr. Bradford and other East Pilots proceeded to

form Defendant USAPA. On August 10, 2007, they

announced that they held nearly enough popular

support to force a representation election. On No-

vember 29, 2007, the National Mediation Board

certified a representation election. USAPA's cam-

paign purported to address other areas of pilot dis-

content, but it communicated a clear message to

East Pilots that its seniority policy would be more

favorable to them than the Nicolau Award. USAPA

promised that as certified bargaining representa-

tive, it would negotiate for a date-of-hire seniority

integration rather than the Nicolau Award. Many

West Pilots opposed the campaign, and ALPA ob-

jected to the East MECs “failure to respond to and

defend against” it. [Ex. 19.] USAPA won the elec-

tion, and the National Mediation Board certified

USAPA as the East and West Pilots' collective bar-

-45a

gaining representative on April 18, 2008, with Mr.

Bradford as its president.

Five months later, USAPA adopted and presented

to the Airline its own seniority proposal. This pro-

posal constructs a seniority list based upon each

pilot's date of hire, with West Pilots generally fal-

ling to the bottom of the list. The proposal also in-

cludes certain conditions and restrictions providing

limited protection to West Pilots. For example, it

provides that reductions in the number of captain

positions would be shared between the _two pilot

groups on a pro rata basis. Also, West Pilot posi-

tions in existence on June 1, 2008, are protected

such that East Pilots cannot bid into those posi-

tions. But significant limitations attend these pro-

tections. First, they expire after ten years. Second,

a West Pilot “forfeit[s] his/her right with respect to

all protected position provisions” if he or she fails to

bid on or accept an available protected position or

bids on a non-protected position. Third, the date-of

hire list supersedes all conditions and restrictions,

including the pro rata allocation of position reduc-

tions, in the event of a catastrophic reduction of

25% or more of the total number of pilot positions.

Finally, all furloughs and recalls still are imple-

mented “on an integrated |date-of-hire] seniority

list basis” regardless of protected position provi-

sions.

Taking all of the conditions and restrictions into

account, the Court finds that the terms of USAPA's

seniority proposal are substantially less favorable

to West Pilots than the Nicolau Award. The ten.

year period of conditions and restrictions provides

some protection to West Pilots, but once that period

-46a-

expires, even assuming rapid attrition of senior

East Pilots, the West Pilots find themselves with

diminished career opportunities relative to their

position on the Nicolau List. More importantly,

USAPA's proposal exposes the West Pilots to grave

new economic perils. Any furlough will take a dis

proportionate toll on West Pilots, as will any cata-

strophic reduction in force-both realistic possibil-

ties. At the time of the merger, 33% of East Pilots

were on furlough status, a number roughly corre

sponding to 24% of the merged pilot workforce and

89% of the West Pilot workforce. If the very circum

stances at the time of the merger were to recur un-

der USAPA's seniority proposal, many of the West

Pilots would lose their jobs to now-working Ivast

Pilots who were unemployed at the time of the

merger. While all of these factors support the find.

ing, they are not all necessary. The sole fact that

USAPA's seniority proposal disfavors West Pilots

for furlough purposes compels, on its own, the con-

clusion that the proposal is far less favorable to

West Pilots than the Nicolau Award. Barton

Brands, Ltd. v. NLRB, 529 F.2d 793, 796, 800 (7th

Cir.1976).°™)

FN1. USAPA also argues that the minimum

fleet requirements of the ‘Transition Agree

ment prevent any further significant fur

loughs. This argument has little force be

cause USAPA's integrated seniority proposal

only goes into effect when operations are In

teprated after the conclusion of a single new

CBA, which may or may not have its own

fleet requirements, The fleet requirements of

the Transition Agreement are expressly lim

ited to the period of separate operations. |lox

21, at TI.B.]

The Airline has received USAPA's seniority pro

posal but has not responded to it. USAPA and the

Airline continue to negotiate toward a new CBA

Any new CBA is now subject to USAPA's ratifica

tion process, which differs from ALPA's. Under

USAPA's constitution, ratification requires a ma

jority vote of the entire union membership, not

separate votes of the two pilot groups. This system

deprives both pilot groups ol thei eparate veto

powell

ID. USAPA's Objectives

USAPA's sole objective in adopting and presenting

its seniority proposal to the Airline was to benefit

Kast Pilots at the expense of West Pilots, rather

than to benefit the bargaining unit as a whole. It

constitution includes a commitment “to maintain

uniform principles of seniority based on date of hire

and perpetuation thereol, with reasonable cond)

tions and restrictions to preserve mach pilot’ un

merged career expectations.” USAVA officers have

promised to “overturn the Nicolau. Award and

LISAPA considers itself constitutionally bound

never to implement it. Counsel for USAPA concede

that the union will never do (Doc. # 574 at

1047.}

\s explains d below, other motivations USAPA pr

ented at tral were insulfiment a a matter of lav

Lo yustily 11 course of action ome were imply

pretextual!

‘Pet

ik. Furloughs of West Pilots

Continuiny in a state of separate operations, eco

nomic forees have caused the Airline to reduce fly

ing. Most of these reductions have oc urred in the

western operations. As a result, the Airline has an

nounced plans to furlough 300 pilots, including ap

proximately 175 West Pilot: The ‘Transition

Avreement generally prevents last and West Pilot

from flying in the other group's operations, so tu

loughs take place in the locales where flying is re

duced, according to the two separate semiority list

Approximately 140 West Pilots had been fur

louyhed by the time of trial. The group of pre: ently

furloughed pilots includes’ Plaintill Worvock

Plaintiff Bostic, and Plaintiff Iranpour. If a single

CBA that incorporated the Nicolau Award were in

place and operations integrated, none of the West

Pilots would be furloughed at this time

ik. Procedural History

On September 4, 200%, in response to LU SAPA's ae

tions. six individual West Pilot Plaintill brought

this action ayainst USAPA and the Airline allegiuny

that USAPA had breached its duty of fair represen

tation and that the Airline had breached a CBA

The complaint sought damages a: well as myun

tive relief. Plaintiffs also moved for a preliminary

injunction to restrain the Airline from furloughing

West Pilots ahead of Kast Pilots who had been on

furlough at the time of the meryer The Court

eranted the Airline's motion to dismiss tor failure

to exhaust administrative remedie It demed

LISAPA's motion to dismiss the tair representation

ADA

claam under Fed R.Civ. Po 120b)01) and (6); that

claim is the subject of this trial

Around the same time, Phlamtiffs also filed a state

court action on behalf of a class of West Pilots

against a class of Mast Pilots. ‘This complaint al

leged various state law causes of action against the

Kast Pilots. After removal and consoldation, the

state-law causes of action were dismissed as pre

empted by the Railway Labor Act

On November 21, 2008, trialin the fair representa

tion case was accelerated and bifurcated ito two

stages to expedite resolution of this urgent case

The first stage would address the lability of the

union and the propmety of ingunetive rehet. In the

event of a verdict finding USAPA hable, the second

stage would address the causation and quantifies

tion of any damapes owed to Plarntiffs. Trial on th

ability was set to oecur no later than February 17,

2009. One week after tral was set, Plaintiffs filed

an amended complaint on the fair representation

action, specifying: that the suit was brought on be

half of a class of similarly situated West Pilots. Be

cause of the surprise to USAPA and the need for

class discovery, tral was continued. Briefing: fol

lowed on certification as well as the right to a pury

trial. The Court certified the class of West Pilots

and granted USAPA's request for a jury trial under

the Seventh Amendment. The Ninth Cireauit denied

USAPA's request for interlocutory review of the

certification order, Because the class was not certs

fed as to Plamtiffs' compensatory damages claims,

the jury tralompht attached only to the damage:

claims of the six individual Plammtaffs.! 9" Ao jury

trial would nonetheless be held at the lability

-50a-

stage because the damages claims would hinge on

the adjudication of liability.

FN2. Plaintiffs' motion to certify the class

also referred to a class-wide refund of union

dues and fees. USAPA's Motion for Judg-

ment on the Pleadings was granted as to this

claim.

On March 3, 2009, shortly before the class was cer-

tified, a new trial date was set. Over USAPA's ob-

jection, trial on the hability facts and injunctive re-

lief would now take place beginning April 28, 2009.

The parties proceeded to and through trial accord-

ing to plan. The jury retired after approximately

nine days of evidence and returned a verdict for

Plaintiffs. Bench proceedings then were held re-

specting the propriety and scope of injunctive rehief.

No new evidence was introduced at the bench trial

beyond that presented to the jury.FX?

FN3. Plaintiffs offered new testimony of

Brian Stockdell regarding certain Airline lo-

gistics but withdrew the request for relief for

which it was offered. Therefore, this with-

drawn testimony is not considered and has

no effect upon the present order. Cross-

examination of Stockdell was not permitted

when USAPA could not state any purpose for

cross-examining other than to refute his

withdrawn testimony concerning the with-

drawn remedy.

Iii. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

-5la-

“In chasing down the myriad arguments of the par-

ties, [the Court has] pursued both the fox of en-

hghtenment and the hare of obfuscation through

the bramble of labor law.” Teamsters Local Union

No. 42 v. NLRB, 825 F.2d 608, 609 (1st Cir.1987).

The First Circuit wrote those words about a conten-

tious union seniority case, and the same sort of

chase has occurred here. While neither side has re-

frained from taking dubious legal positions, USAPA

has at various stages misstated law, facts, and pro-

cedural history, with frequent recourse to the “con-

tradiction or confusion ... produced by a-medley of

judicial phrases severed from their environment.”

Guaranty Tr. Co. of N.Y. v. York, 326 U.S. 99, 106,

65 S.Ct. 1464, 89 L.Ed. 2079 (1945) (Frankfurter,

J.). It is therefore necessary to cut a path through

much labor law bramble on the way to granting re-

hef. First, this Order explains the theory support-

ing liability. Second, it reaffirms and elaborates

upon the subject matter jurisdiction and ripeness,

best understood in light of the merits. Third, it out-

lines the propriety, scope, and nature of relief

granted.

A. Duty of Fair Representation

A jury has already found that USAPA breached its

duty of fair representation with respect to the West

Pilots. In short, USAPA violated the duty because

it cast aside the result of an internal seniority arbi-

tration solely to benefit East Pilots at the expense

of West Pilots. USAPA failed to prove that any le-

gitimate union objective motivated its acts.

In general, a union owes a duty of fair representa-

tion to all members of the bargaining unit it repre-

-52a-

sents. McNamara-Blad v. Ass'n of Prof'l Flight At-

tendants, 275 F.3d 1165, 1169 (9th Cir.2002). This

duty “arises from a union's statutory role as the ex-

clusive bargaining representative for a unit of em-

ployees”; it attaches only at the tume that a union

becomes certified as the exclusive bargaining rep-

resentative for the bargaining unit. See rd. at 1169-

71. The duty has evolved as a judicial check on the

union “to prevent arbitrary union conduct against

individuals stripped of traditional forms of redress

by the provisions of federal labor law.” ld. at 1169

(quoting Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 177, 87 S.Ct.

903, 17 L.Ed.2d 842 (1967)).

“Under this doctrine, the exclusive agent's statu-

tory authority to represent all members of a desig-

nated unit includes a statutory obligation to serve

the interests of all members without hostility or

discrimination toward any, to exercise its discretion

with complete good faith and honesty, and to avoid

arbitrary conduct.” Vaca, 386 U.S. at 177. Put an-

other way, the duty prohibits unions from acting in

a way that is “arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad

faith.” Beck v. United Food & Commercial Workers

Union, Local 99, 506 F.3d 874, 879 (9th Cir.2007)

(quoting Vaca, 386 U.S. at 190).

1. Bargaining Backdrop

“The integration of a seniority list is a difficult un-

dertaking because of the inevitability that some 1n-

dividual employees will be disadvantaged in com-

parison to others. In these circumstances, a union

does not breach its duty of fair representation to

others as long as it proceeds on some reasoned ba-

sis.” Herring v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 894 F.2d 1020,

-53a-

23 (9th Cir.1990). For this reason, ALPA had es-

tablished an internal procedure for the integration

of seniority lists in the merger scenario. Bernard v.

Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l, 873 F.2d 213, 217 (9th

Cir.1989); see also Guvozdenovic v. United Air Lines.

Inc., 933 F.2d 1100, 1107 (2d Cir.1991).

The Nicolau Arbitration was intended to provide a

conclusive resolution of the conflicting seniority 1n-

terests of the Kast Pilots and the West Pilots. The

Transition Agreement generally required the par-

ties to follow ALPA Merger Policy to integrate the

seniority lists. The parties bound by that agree-

ment included the union “by and through the Mas-

ter Executive Councils of the America West and

U.S. Airways pilots.” Both MIC chairmen signed

the Rarcement with the ALPA President, witnessed

by other union officials.

ALPA Merger Policy (cited as “MP”) provided for

the procedures ieading up to and resulting in ‘the

issuance of the Nicolau Award. It also dictated the

award's significance. “Che purpose of arbitration

shall be to reach a fair and equitable resolution

consistent with ALPA policy.” [MP § 1.H.1.b.] “The

Award of the Arbitration Board shall be final and

binding on all parties to the ogee and shall

be defended by ALPA.” [MP § 1.H.5.}] “The merged

seniority list will be presented to management and

ALPA will use all reasonable means at its disposal

to compel the company to accept and implement the

merged seniority list.” [MP § 1.1.1.] “The arbitration

award issued after proceedings under [the Merger

Pohcy] shall be the position of ALPA with man-

agement ....” [MP § 1.1.7.] The Policy Compliance

provision states that “[a]ny attempt by a member

-54a-

or members of ALPA to obtain an agreement which

would operate to frustrate the objectives of this pol-

icy shall be considered an act contrary to the best

interests of ALPA and its members.” [MP § 3.C.]

USAPA does not dispute that it succeeded to

ALPA's rights and obligations under the Transition

Agreement. Nonetheless, USAPA contends that the

Nicolau Award does not limit USAPA in any sense.

USAPA relies heavily on the following stipulation:

“The parties to the Nicolau Arbitration were stated

to be ‘the U.S. Airways Pilot Merger Representa-

tives and the America West Pilot Merger Represen-

tatives. ” USAPA suggests that the Nicolau Award

bound only the merger representatives, with the

sole effect of precluding those representatives from

asserting the existence of any disagreement be-

tween them regarding the Nicolau Award. The

award, according to USAPA, was imposed on the

Kast Pilots without their consent; ALPA, and by

extension USAPA, remained free to order its affairs

as though the award had never happened.

This argument offends common sense, the evidence,

and fundamental principles of law. In the context of

labor rights, it is both discordant and irrelevant.

Generally, properly appointed representatives act-

ing within the scope of their authority do bind those

they represent. ALPA Merger Policy provides that

the Merger Representatives “shall have complete

and full authority to act for and on behalf of the

flight deck crew members of their respective air-

lines for the purpose of concluding a single flight

deck crew member seniority list, which shall not be

subject to ratification.” [MP § 1.D.3.] This 1s not a

dispute about the personal contractual obligations

-55a-

of East Pilots.’N4 The East Pilots took on the bene-

fits and burdens of ALPA's representative actions

when they elected to be represented by that union.

They gave their political consent to the actions of

the merger representatives when thev elected the

Kast MEC that appointed them. Cf. Ackley v. W.

Conference of Teamsters, 958 F.2d 1463, 1478 (9th

Cir.1992) (explaining that unions exist and take

action subject to union members' voting rights); 45

U.S.C. § 152 Fourth (protecting a bargaining unit's

right to choose a union by majority vote). The East

Pilots and ALPA were therefore bound, in the legis-

lative sense of collective bargaining, by ALPA's

Transition Agreement commitment “by = and

through” the Fast MEC to follow ALPA Merger Pol-

icy In merging the seniority lists. See Humphrey v.

Moore, 375 U.S. 335, 337-38, 347-48, 84 S.Ct. 363,

11 L.Ed.2d 370 (1964) (holding that union dis-

charged its duty of fair representation by resolving

a seniority dispute in accordance with negotiation

and arbitration procedures of a CBA negotiated by

a multi-local union and executed by each appropri-

ate loval union).

N4. As already noted, Plaintiffs' parallel

suit alleging state law claims against a puta-

tive class of Kast Pilots was dismissed as

preempted by the statutory duty of fair rep-

resentation.

Although the Court finds that the unambiguous

language of the ‘Transition Agreement resolves the

question on its own, the East MECs course of con-

duct during and after the Nicolau Proceedings con-

firms that the award was intended to be “final and

binding” as to the two pilot groups. USAPA pre-

-56a-

sented no evidence that the Kast MEC or any East

Pilots regarded the Nicolau Arbitration as an aca-

demic exercise before or while it took place. To the

contrary, the East Pilots exhibited a solemn resolve

to make their case. Both sides presented volumi-

nous economic evidence over the course of several

weeks of hearings. The East MEC pressed hard to

have the award overturned within the ALPA

framework. Finally, the East MEC attempted to

subvert the award's implementation by withdraw-

ing from merger negotiations altogether. Rather

than cast doubt on the final and binding nature of

the award, these actions show that from the East

MECs perspective, the award was most final and

most binding. ALPA's attempts to negotiate a com-

promise between the two pilot groups do not belie

the award's finality; those attempts reflect an un-

derstanding that the West Pilots, through the West

MEC, were entitled to sit on their rights. At no

time did ALPA assert the power to impose a differ-

ent seniority proposal on the West Pilots without

their consent.

The award shapes USAPA's duty here even though

the Transition Agreement could be amended by

mutual agreement of the union and the Airline. US

Airways has already accepted the Nicolau seniority

list, and the evidence shows no reason for amend-

ment other than USAPA's internal purposes. As

explained further on, amendment needs some le-

gitimate union objective. Amendment is not a suffi-

cient purpose unto itself, a kind of union wild card

that covers for any purpose, good or ill. The power

of amendment does not trump the union's duty of

fair representation; it must serve It.

-57a-

2. Theory of Liability

In general, a union meets its duty of fair represen-

tation as long as its actions fall within a “wide

range of reasonableness.” Atr Line Pilots Ass'n v.

O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65, 78, 111 S.Ct. 1127, 113

L.Ed.2d 51 (1991). This latitude includes a right on

the part of the union to change bargaining positions

midstream. Barton Brands, Ltd. v. NLRB, 529 F.2d

793, 800 (7th Cir.1976). inere is nothing intrinsi-

cally wrong with bargaining for seniority integra-

tion based upon the date of hire; date-of-hire sen-

iority is “genérally ... an equitable and feasible so-

lution” to the problem of merging seniority lists.

Truck Drivers, Local Union 568 v. NLRB, 379 F.2d

137, 143 n. 10 (D.C.Cir.1967); see also Laturner v.

Burlington N., Inc., 501 F.2d 593, 598-603 (9th

Cir.1974). Seniority rights do not “vest” with the

union members in any proprietary sense. See Hass

v. Darigold Dairy Prods. Co., 751 F.2d 1096, 1099

(9th Cir.1985). Even when an internal union arbi-

tration resolves a seniority dispute, it is not neces-

sarily improper for a union to pursue an alternative

outcome. Associated Transport, Inc., 185 NLRB

631, 635 (1970) (unfair labor practice case).

USAPA clings to these generalities, but they give

no protection here. ‘The question is not whether

USAPA made a seniority proposal that is accept-

able in the abstract, or whether USAPA deprived

certain employees of their property rights, or what

position it could have taken before agreement to a

different final and binding process. The question is

not whether USAPA has the right to adjust its bar-

gaining position, even after playing out an agreed

final and binding process, for some good reason.

-58a-

The legal question is whether USAPA-or any un-

ion-violates its duty of fair representation by adopt-

ing and promoting a certain integrated seniority

list for no reason other than to favor one group of

employees at the expense of another. An estab-

lished genre of fair representation decisions says

yes.

The first is Bernard v. Air Line Pilots Association,

International, which concerned the merger of

Alaska Airlines and Jet America, Inc. 873 F.2d 213

(9th Cir.1989). ALPA was the certified bargaining

representative for all Alaska Airlines pilots, but the

Jet America pilots were not members of the union.

Id. at 214. Nonetheless, ALPA owed a duty of fair

representation to the Jet America pilots. /d. at 216.

When it came time to integrate the seniority lists of

the two airlines, ALPA did not follow its own policy,

namely the process of negotiation, mediation, and,

if necessary, arbitration. Jd. at 215. The employer

excluded all Jet America pilots from seniority nego-

tiations. Jd. The Jet America Pilots succeeded in

their fair representation action because they had

been excluded from negotiations and because ALPA

did not follow its own policy. Jd. at 216-17. The

court rejected the union's purported justifications

for its actions: that it was reasonable to “speak [ ]

to management as one voice,” that the union's sen-

iority decisions were consistent with the respective

career expectations of the pilot groups, and that

ALPA's duty to the Jet America Pilots was no

broader than its general duty to the pilot group as a

whole. Jd. ALPA had disregarded its neutral

merger policy to discriminate against the previ-

ously non-unionized pilots. Jd. at 217. Indeed, at

the time of the seniority negotiation, ALPA's presi-

-59a-

dent had disclaimed any duty to the Jet America

pilots. Jd. Under Bernard, a union may not diverge

from its merger policy solely to advance the senior-

ity rights of union members at the expense of non-

union members. /d.

A similar rule finds expression in Jruck Drivers,

Local Union 568 v. NLRB, 379 F.2d 137

(D.C.Cir.1967).°85 Truck Drivers holds that a un-

ion's fulfillment of its promise to “renounce| | any

good faith effort to reconcile” the seniority interests

of two employee groups would lead to a violation of

its duty of fair representation. Jd. at 142-43. Of

particular relevance was the union's sole motiva-

tion to “win[ }] an election by a promise of preferen-

tial representation to the numerically larger num-

ber of voters.” Jd. at 143; see also Hardcastle v. W.

Greyhound Lines, 303 F.2d 182, 186-87 & n. 10 (9th

Cir.1962) (affirming grant of summary judgment

for defendants in fair representation claim because

plaintiffs failed to show a lack of “discriminatory

action in favor of one politically stronger local or

faction of the union against a politically weaker lo-

cal or faction”); Associated Transport, 185 NLRB at

635 (union may not revisit seniority for improper

purpose).

FN5. Truck Drivers concerned allegations of

unfair labor practices, but the Board's impo-

sition of liability was affirmed with reference

to standards of fair representation.

The Seventh Circuit has embraced the same prin-

ciple. In Barton Brands, two seniority hsts were

dovetailed, that is, combined on a date-of-hire ba-

sis, upon the merger of two companies. 529 F.2d at

-60a-

795-96. Layoffs began, and the larger of the two

merged workforces decided that the existing senior-

ity integration was unfair. Jd. at 796. The union

formulated a new proposal that dovetailed the two

lists for most purposes, but placed the smaller

workforce at the bottom of the list for layoff pur-

poses. /d. A majority of the union membership rati-

fied the new arrangement. Jd. The union met judi-

cial rebuke. Abridging “the established seniority

rights of a minority of the Barton employees ... for

no apparent reason other than political expediency’

constituted an unfair labor practice reflective of fair

representation doctrine. See id. (citing Hargrove v.

Bhd. of Locomotive Engineers, 116 F.Supp. 3

(D.D.C.1953) (fair representation case)), On re-

mand, the Board was instructed “that in order to be

absolved of liability the Union must show some ob-

jective justification for its conduct beyond that of

placating the desires of the majority of the unit

employees at the expense of the minority.” /d.

The Seventh Circuit has reaffirmed this theory of

liability, addressing USAPA's very posture in dic-

tum. In Air Wisconsin Pilots Protection Committee

v. Sanderson, 909 F.2d 213 (7th Cir.1990) (Posner,

J.), two airlines merged, and both p‘lot groups were

represented by ALPA. ALPA foliowed its merger

policy and the seniority integration issue went to

arbitration. Id. at 215. “The arbitrators split the

difference,” giving each group of pilots Jess than it

had asked for. Jd. Some pilots from one of the merg-

ing airlines “tried to replace ALPA as a collective

bargaining representative ... with a newly created

union” but they were outvoted. Jd. When the MEC

for the disgruntled pilot group proposed replacing

the arbitrated list with a list based on length of

-6la-

service-a proposal corresponding to their position

before the arbitration panel-ALPA placed the MIC

in trusteeship. Jd. at 216. Then, as now, ALPA

MECs may be placed in trusteeship if they fail to

comply with ALPA's Constitution, By-Laws, or rep-

resentational obligations. /d. at 215.

The disgruntled pilots brought a fair representation

suit, and its dismissal was affirmed, The court rea-

soned that the arbitration process was fair and the

arbitrators' award definitive under ALPA policy.

Id. at 216. “If ALPA were free to ignore the merged

seniority list, the employees of the post-merger air-

line would have very little job security” and “dis-

putes over seniority would fester-as they have done

in this case.” Jd. In a concluding dictum, the court

noted that “an attempt by a majority of the employ

ees in a collective bargaining unit to gang up

against a minority of employees in the fashion ap-

parently envisaged by plaintiffs,” that is, by “oust-

ing ALPA in favor of a union not pledged to defend

the arbitrators' award |,] ... could itself be thought a

violation of the duty of fair representation by the

union that the majority used as its tool.” /d. at 217,

In Rakestraw v. United Airlines, Inc., 981 F.2d

1524 (7th Cir.1992), ALPA was allowed to depart

from its Merger Policy and to change its negotiat-

ing position midstream by promoting a semority

list that favored the preference of a majority of the

employees in the bargaining unit. Rakestraw did

not abandon or undercut the rule that a union may

not reshuffle a seniority list for improper reasons.

To the contrary, it reaffirmed Barton Brands, hold-

ing that “a union may not juggle the seniority ros-

ter for no reason other than to advance one group of

2a

employees over another.” and it cited Aur Wisconsin

without criticism. Rakestraw, 981 F.2d at 1530

533, 1535. There was no breach of duty where no

ll motive existed or where ALPA acted, at least in

part, to “rationally promote the ayvpreyate welfare

of employees in the bargaining unit” by pursuimp

“two rational and appropriate objectives” without

discrimination between different groups of employ

ees. Id. at 1535

The mfluence of Barton Brands extend well be

yond the Seventh Circuit. The Second Cireuit fol

lows its holding. See Ramey vu. Dist. 141, Int'l Ass'n

of Machinists, 378 I'.3d 269, 247 (Yd Cir.2Z0O04). So

too does the First Circuit. See Teamsters Local U/n

ion No. 42 v. NLRB, 825 F.2d 608, 611° (Ist

(jr. 1987). *N6 “Union members are to be accorded

equal rights, not subjugated arbitrarily to the de

jres of a ‘stronger, more politically favored group

Id. (quoting Barton Brands, 529 b Yd at 799)

(alterations original)

MN6. Like Truck Drivers, this untair labor

practices case relies upon fair representation

principles

3. Legitimate Union Objectives

The question then arises, what kind of pustihlicatior

can the union rely upon to avoid lability? USAPA

has udvanced a broad reading of Rakestraw unde

which any rational relation to a legitimate umion

objective will suffice, regardless of the umon's a

tual motives. Plaintiffs, on the other hand, pro

posed an alternate view where the court would

evaluate a union's primary motive for the actions 1t

Goa-

takes. Neither approach is reflected im the case law.

Liability attached because USAPA's only actual

motivation in adopting and presenting: its senrority

proposal was to benefit Mast Pilots at the expense

of West Pilots.

Union lability for discrimination or bad faith re

quires a subjective examination of the union's ae

tual motives and purposes. Simo vo. Union Nee

dletrades, Indus. & Textile Mmployees, Sw. Mist.

Council, 822 F.3d GO2, GIS (9th Cir 2003). Rak

estraw consones to this rule, resting: not on hypo

thetical connections to legitimate union objectives,

but rather on the actual reasons the union had for

choosing: its course of action. OST Po2d at 153%. ‘That

“ase took up two fact situations addressingg the

same legal issue. In the first, a larger airhine ae

quired a simaltler airline. /d. at 1526. ALPA disre

garded its Merger Pohey in the process of mibeprat

ing the semority lists, and the smaller pilot yroup

acquiesced in the result-a date-of- hire list favoring

the majority. /d. at 1527. Later, the minority

brought suit against the union. Jd. The union was

held to be in pursuit of a legatimate objective be

cause the larger, acquiring airline did not need the

smaller group of pilots and was unlikely to agree to

any arrangement disfavoriny its own pilots, Jd. at

1533. Moreover, “there [was] no evidence that

ALPA's leaders had it in for the [smaller pilot

group].” Id. at 1527.

In the second Fakestraw situation, ALVA was in

the process of negotiating a post-meryer CIA, in-

cluding a date-of-hire seniority list Jd at 1527

Negotiations broke down and the pilots went on

strike. Id. at 1528. In response, the airline em

-64a-

ployer hired 219 replacement pilots. It also hired

320 student pilots who did not begin work during

the strike. Jd. At the same time, almost all 570

striking pilots honored the picket line. /d. After the

strike, no CBA was in place, and ALPA had no al-

ternative but to accept the airline's proposed sen-

iority list with strike-breakers and student trainees

at the top of the lst. /d. at 1528-29. The striking

pilots, constituting a majority in the union, made

aggressive protest. /d. at 1529. Ultimately, man-

agement and the union agreed to put the 570 strik-

ing pilots at the top of the lst according to date of

hire, above the 219 strikebreakers and the 320 stu-

dent pilots. Jd. The strike-breakers brought a fair

representation claim. Jd.

The union “detested” the strike-breakers and “[t]his

loathing played a role in the union's efforts to in-

crease the seniority of the Group of 570.” Id. None-

theless, ill wili or a desire for retribution does not

“spoil an agreement that rationally serves the in-

terests of labor as a whole, and that treats employ-

ees who are pariahs in the union's eyes no worse

than it treats similarly situated supporters of the

union.” FN7 981 F.2d at 1532, 1535. Critical to the

court's reasoning was that “ALPA had at least two

rational and appropriate objectives” satisfying the

rule of Barton Brands. Id. at 1535. It wanted to

harm the strike-breakers, and it also sought to re-

store the seniority of the 570 pilots that it had de-

fended before the strike. By punishing employees

who crossed the picket line, the umion could

“strengthen the hand of organized labor in future

conflicts with management,” in effect “shor|ing] up

the monopolistic quality of organized labor.” Id. By

acting to restore a seniority system vis-a-vis newly

-65a-

hired pilots, the union served the legitimate objec-

tive of “stability” by protecting long-term employee

expectations against outright erasure. 7d. (citing

McCann v. City of Chicago, 968 F.2d 635 (7th

Cir.1992) (equal protection case) and Nordlinger v.

Hahn, 505 U.S. 1, 112 S.Ct. 2326, 120 L.Ed.2d 1

(1992) (same)). No holding of Rakestraw precludes

hability for discriminatory or bad faith action when

a union's sole motivation is improper.

FN7. Analogizing to the legislative sphere,

the court stated, “A discriminatory motive

without a discriminatory rule does not. con-

demn a statute.” Rakestraw, 981 F.2d at

1532.

In Ramey v. District 141, International Association

of Machinists, the Second Circuit considered Rak-

estraw's statement that “[a] rational person could

conclude that dovetailing seniority lists in a merger

... serves the interests of [the union membership] as

a whole.” 378 F.3d 269, 277 (2d Cir.2004) (altera-

tions original). The Ramey court distinguished be-

tween a bare challenge to union action and a chal-

lenge to union action with evidence of an improper

purpose. “Unlike in Rakestraw,” where the first

fact pattern presented no evidence of hostility in

merging seniority lists on a date-of-hire basis,

“plaintiffs here do not suggest that [the union]

acted improperly merely by dovetailing the senior-

ity lists.” Id. “Rather, they argue that [the union]

was motivated by retaliatory animus in choosing

which seniority dates to apply.” Jd. Liability at-

tached because the alteration of seniority based

solely on retaliatory animus was not objectively

reasonable. Jd. Once the jury rejected the union's

-66a-

purported neutral motivation as pretext, it could

conclude that hostile metives alone motivated the

union action. Jd. at 284. A rational relation to pur-

portedly neutral purposes could not defeat hability

where the only actual motive was improper. [d.*N8

IFN8. Ramey imposed hability because the

union was motivated to punish employees

who had been affihated with another union.

These employees had also refused to partici-

pate in a strike. Ramey does not address

Rakestraw' s holding that punishing stnke-

breakers is a legitimate union objective, and

that issue 1s not before the Court.

For these reasons, the jury in this case was in-

structed as follows: “Even if the union's conduct

could be rationally related to a legitimate union ob-

jective, the union can be hable for violating its duty

of fair representation if its actions are shown to be

solely motivated by objectives that are not legiti-

mate union objectives.” ‘To the extent USAPA reads

a stronger rule into Rakestraw, a rule that would

validate all union conduct that could be rationally

related to legitimate union objectives irrespective of

actual motive, USAPA's reading is rejected and

would not be persuasive if accepted because it runs

against the scheme of fair representation doctrine

already discussed, including Ninth Circu:t prece-

dent. See Rakestraw, 989 F.2d 944, 945-48 (7th

Cir.1993) (Ripple, J., dissenting from denial of re-

hearing en banc ) (interpreting the panel decision

in this strong manner and arguing that it violates

Supreme Court and Seventh Circuit precedent);

Bernard, 873 F.2d at 216-17 (looking beyond plau-

sibly rational basis to actual union motive); Simo,

-67a-

322 F.3d at 618 (requiring this inquiry in the Ninth

Circuit); Associated Transport, 185 NLRB at 635

(examining actual union motive). USAPA's pro-

posed rule would collapse “bad faith” and “dis-

crimination” into an arbitrariness inquiry that does

not apply. See Beck v. United Kood & Comm. Work-

ers Unton, Local 99, 506 F.3d 874, 879 (9th

Cir.2007).

Conversely, this Court rejected the Plaintiffs' sug-

gestion that a bad motive combined with a good

motive could still produce hability where the bad

motive predominates. See Rakestraw 981 F.2d at

1534 (rejecting mixed-motive habilty); Ramey 378

i 3d at 284 (relying upon a showing of pretext);

Barton Brands, 873 F.2d at 217 (noting that ALPA

acted solely on the basis of union membership). It

may be possible and desirable to fashion a frame-

work for adjudicating mixed-motive fair represen-

tation cases, but Plaintiffs cite nothing allowing

this Court to thus better the precedents. Regard-

less, the jury found that only an improper motive,

and no proper motive animated USAPA's seniority

agenda.

4. USAPA's Seniority Objective

There is no merit to USAPA's argument that the

pursuit of date-of-hire seniority principles auto

matically Jegitimates USAPA's actions because

date-of-hire seniority is “the gold standard” of inte-

gration methods. [Doc. # 482, at 1902.) The jury

was instructed that “[iJn this case, a general pref-

erence for any particular seniority system other

than the Nicolau Award, standing alone, is not a

legitimate union objective.” USAPA's argument is

-68a-

little more than a circular rationalization for its

departure from the Nicolau Award to favor the ma-

jority. ‘The Nicolau Arbitration occurred on the

premise that insisting in advance on one semority

system or another could not reconcile the interests

of the two pilot groups. The decision to follow a

given seniority philosophy in this case could always

be viewed as politically motivated by the interests

of one pilot group or the other. Fairness could be

found only in an agreed procedure, not in an agreed

outcome. The Transition Agreement and the Nico-

lau Arbitration provided USAPA with a “final and

binding” internal compromise. The union no longer

lacked an appropriate resolution of these irrecon-

cilable interests.

There is no authority for a magic rule that date-of-

hire stops al! inquiry on the duty of fair representa-

tion, in disregard of circumstances. The significance

of date-of-hire seniority varies from one labor nego-

tiation to the next. The bankrupt position of U.S.

Airways at the time of the merger, with almost as

many furloughed pilots as America West had work-

ing, and with a significant furlough history, lent

date-of-hire integration some hues of inequity it

might not have had in another merger. The ques-

tion before the arbitrator was not whether date-of-

hire seniority, in the abstract, was a desirable

thing, but whether it would provide a fair and equ)-

table answer to the career expectations of the un-

merged pilot groups.

USAPA has maintained from the beginning that no

union has ever faced hability based on the pursuit

of date-of-hire principles."N9 Ramey refutes this m

its holding. 378 F.3d at 274-75."N10 ‘The union in

-69a-

Ramey was hable, notwithstanding its date-of-hire

list, because it drew up that lst so as to punish in-

imical employees. /d. A date-of-hire proposal does

not immunize or condemn union action; the policy

preference is generally permissible. It 1s the ma-

nipulation of the seniority proposal in context that

gives rise to the claim. USAPA's date-of-hire

agenda is just a means of changing the arbitrated

outcome for no purpose other than to favor the ma

jority.

KN9. The record contains at least twelve rep-

resentations to this effect. |See, e.g., doc.80 at

61, 149, 162; 215 at 5 & n. 5; 348 at 96; 351

at 3, 8; 359 at 2; 389 at 55; 444 at 6-7; 482 at

1757; 495 at 4-5.] USAPA quite recently

stated, “The mere fact that-the mere evi-

dence that Wate-of-Hire was preferred by

USAPA, that's not itself evidence of anything

other than that they preferred an entirely le-

gitimate end. Your Honor, there has never

been a case finding Date-of-Hire in a merger

context of [sic] violation of the duty.” [Doc. #

482 at 1757.]

FN10. Atr Wisconsin also notes in dictum

that liability could attend a length-of-service

seniority list, that is, a list based upon date-

of-hire that accounts for time spent on fur-

lough. 909 F.2d at 215, 217.

USAPA concedes the broad sweep of its argument,

which implies that the Railway Labor Act does not

permit “hopelessly irreconcilable labor groups to

enter into a binding neutral process to resolve their

mutual disagreement so they can go forward on

-70a-

their areas of mutual interest.” [Doc. # 574, at 1071

(question from the Court).] To agree with this con-

clusion would dismantle the framework of honest

intentions and fair dealing, of stability and consis-

tency, that is the premise of all bargaining, not less

labor negotiations. ‘lo this extent-an extent as lim-

ited and minimal as it is important-the Nicolau

Award constrains USAPA as a preexisting dis-

charge of its duty, not to be abandoned without jus-

tification.

Practical problems also dog USAPA's argument.

Even if date-of-hire seniority were a per se legiti-

mate union objective, what about qualified date-of-

hire seniority? USAPA's own proposal includes

conditions and restrictions professed to mitigate its

date-of-hire aspect. At what point would such con-

ditions and restrictions forfeit the dateof-hire im-

munity? The fact is, USAPA's very decision to in-

clude conditions and restrictions is an acknowl-

edgment that the date-of-hire method is sometimes

a Procrustean fit.

5. USAPA's Impasse-Related Objective

USAPA asserts that its seniority proposal was jus-

tified by its necessity to get any new single CBA. In

USAPA's view, ALPA's system of requiring both pi-

lot groups to ratify any new CBA doomed all pro-

gress. First, the East MEC had withdrawn its rep-

resentatives from the Joint Negotiating Committee,

halting CBA negotiations indefinitely. Second,

USAPA asserts that the East Pilots would never

ratify the arbitrated seniority proposal as part of

any new CBA. The evidence of a supposed impasse

requiring sacrifice of the West Pilots to angry East

-71a-

Pilots was pretextual; in any event, it did not per-

suade the jury or the Court that an actual impasse

existed; and the so-called impasse could not, as a

matter of law, justify USAPA's actions toward the

West Pilots and the Nicolau Award.

i. Pretext

The evidence well supports the conclusion, implicit

in the verdict and persuasive to the Court, that any

asserted impasse was a pretext for bare favoritism

of the East Pilots. As soon as the Nicolau Award

was announced, USAPA's founder and future

president Mr. Bradford wrote that it was necessary

to leave ALPA “if this award stands” and “just to

protect what httle we have left.” [Ex. 107 at 1-2.]

Later, an attorney advised Mr. Bradford to conceal

this objective. [Ex. 14.| A USAPA memo dated Feb-

ruary 10, 2008, stated that an attorney had advised

USAPA that “if we could replace ALPA as the bar-

gaining agent we could prevail in achieving a Date

of Hire seniority integration.” [Ex. 315 at 4.] The

same memo states, “If ALPA is not there, the

award is not there.” It shows a deleted sentence

stating that “USAPA would not exist” if any lawyer

had advised that the renegotiation of seniority was

“not possible or very dangerous and likely to fail.”

Editorial annotations explain that the deletion was

necessary to avoid the appearance that “Nif[cJolau is

the only reason for USAPA's existence.” [IEx. 315 at

5.] USAPA publicly expressed the sentiment that

“ALPA = Nicolau.” [Ex. 39.] Some pre-election

USAPA correspondence refers to an impasse, but

USAPA's “Frequently Asked Questions” pages from

the campaign invoke date-of-hire seniority without

any discussion of impasse. [Ex. 37, 39, 96, 100-105.]

-12a-

When USAPA does talk about the impasse, it prom-

ises to “overturn” the Nicolau Award without any

explanation of why this step is needed to get

around ALPA's dual-ratification structure. [Ex. 39.]

Mr. Bradford, who is beyond the subpoena power of

this Court, missed an opportunity for persuasion

when he declined to testify and be cross-examined

at trial concerning motives and pretext in defense

of the union he founded and governed.

ii. Non-persuasion

The East MEC's walkout from the negotiations did

not create an impasse. ALPA possessed the consti-

tutional power to place the recalcitrant East MEC

into trusteeship to continue negotiations toward a

single new CBA. [Ex. 509/2189 at 89-90.]; see also

Air Wisconsin, 909 F.2d at 215 (describing use of

trusteeship powers to resolve seniority dispute).

The former chairman of the West MEC Negotiating

Committee testified that ALPA officials were dis-

cussing that possibility after negotiations broke

down. [Doc. # 475, at 372.] Before certification,

USAPA repeatedly asserted that a contract was

likely to be presented for ratification soon. [/.g., ex.

100 at 3, 7.) And Doug Mowery, an East Pilot for-

merly on ALPA's Joint Negotiating Committee, la-

mented in a March 2008 letter that the East MEC

was likely to be placed in trusteeship. [Ex. 20, at 2.]

FN1I1

FN11 USAPA had every opportunity to pre-

sent evidence that ALPA had abandoned use

of its trustee powers, but USAPA did not

present any, relying instead upon misrepre-

sentations of the record. [E.g., Doc.451 at 10-

-V3a-

11; 482 at 1774-81, 1789-94, 1798-1802}.

ALPA pledged not to deprive the two pilot

groups of their separate ratification rights,

but that pledge would not be inconsistent

with imposing a trusteeship on the East

MEC in order to cenclude, short of ratifica-

tion, a single CBA incorporating the Nicolau

Award.

Nor did the evidence show that the two pilot groups

would never ratify a single CBA under ALPA. It is

wholly speculative to say the Kast Pilots would vote

against any single CBA incorporating the Nicolau

Award no matter how long separate operations con-

tinued and no matter the cost to them. The East

MEC passed a resolution stating that the East Pi-

lots would never ratify a CBA containing the Nico-

lau Award, but this self-serving statement about an

unknown future is not binding or even persuasive.

Moreover, speculation about what could have been

ratified under the ALPA voting system became ir-

relevant when USAPA was certified as bargaining

representative on April 18, 2008. USAPA's struc-

ture allows a simple majority of the membership to

ratify a new CBA. The lack of an actual and legiti-

mate union purpose for jettisoning the Nicolau

Award and the promised improvements in wages

and working conditions from a new CBA may yield

a rmajority coalition of Kast and West Pilots, if not

at first, at least eventually.

iii. Legal insufficiency

Even if an impasse did exist, it would not justify

USAPA's actions as a matter of law. Majority oppo-

-74a-

sition does not defeat the duty of fair representa-

tion; the duty exists to restrain the majority. Air

Wisconsin, 909 F.2d at 216. USAPA's argument

would allow a union to punish any disfavored mi-

nority by pointing to the majority preference in the

union as long as that majority threatens to obstruct

the collective bargaining process, in this case by hi-

jacking contract ratification. Discrimination and

bad faith would be permitted as long as a zealous

majority of union members insisted. Majority will

alone does not corrupt union action. See Rakestraw,

981 F.2d at 1533 (“If the union's leaders took ac-

count of the fact that the workers at the larger firm

preferred this outcome, so what? Majority rule is

the norm.”). It does not exculpate all union action,

either. The union's obligation to federal labor law

includes an obligation to stand up to its member:

ship. USAPA argues that ALPA's merger policy

only requires the union to use “all reasonable

means” to implement the Nicolau Award, but this

phrase is quoted out of context. The policy requires

the union to use “all reasonable means ... to compel

the company to accept and implement the merged

seniority list.” [MP Pt. 1.1.1.] It does not allow the

union to capitulate to an abusive majority."N!2

I'N12. As a historical matter, the duty of fair

representation could not have developed if

this impasse theory were valid. Surely, in

those early cases, unions that discriminated

against black workers were catering to a

stubborn racism of the majority. The duty

would mean nothing if a majority could undo

it by force of stubbornness.

-Tpa-

This principle goes to the core of union politics and

bargaining assumption... A union is required to ex-

plain agreements to union members prior to a

mandatory ratification vote. White v. White Lose

Food, a Div. of DiGiorgio Corp., 237 F.3d 174, 1838

(2d Cir.2001). Before and after its election, USAPA

has misled the majority about its power to improve

their seniority prospects at the expense of the West

Pilots. The will of the East Pilots springs from a

mistaken understanding of the law and misman

aged expectations. If this is an impasse, it is one

USAPA goaded on.

If the membership were correctly advised on the

limits of fair representation that constrain the

agreement-and all the collective bargaining of

every union-then they would perceive no incentive

to hold out for an improper bargaining objective.

Those employees would be left with a choice: To

vote in favor of ratifying a single CBA that incorpo-

rated the Nicolau Award, or to vote against it.

What they could not do is vote against it and expect

the next CBA or the next union to violate the duty

of fair representation in the very same way as the

first one could not. In effect, USAPA claims that

the East Pilots hold such strong objections to the

Nicolau Award that they always will vote as a bloc

against any new CBA with it, enjoying the self.

denial of a single CBA with improved wages and

working conditions into perpetuity. Even if this un

believable story is believed, it only means that the

Kast Pilots have the power of self-inflicted harm. It

does not mean that the union's duty of fair repre

sentation falls victim to self-hostagetaking.

-76a-

Whether considered as a matter of fact or law, the

asserted impasse does not absolve USAPA from h.-

ability.

6. USAPA's Other Objectives

USAPA asserted a range of other union objectives.

These included compliance with its union constitu-

tion, comphance with majority will, dissatisfaction

with ALPA policies and procedures, and dissatis-

faction with the procedures of the Nicolau Arbitra-

tion. All of these objectives were rejected as a mat-

ter of law.

(1) USAPA's constitutional commitment to date-of-

hire seniority docs not excuse its acts. “lhe inter

pretation or construction of the constitution and

laws of a union is for the union.” Laturner v. Bur-

lington N., Inc., 501 F.2d 593 (9th Cir.1974) (quot-

ing Wirtz v. Local Union No. 125, Int'l Hod Carriers

B. & C.L. U., 270 F.Supp. 12, 16 (N.D.Ohio 1966)).

However, that interpretation does not govern if it

would cause the union to “transgress the bounds of

reason, common sense, or fairness, or act arbitrar-

ily, or contravene public policy or the law of the

land.” Local Union No. 125, 270 F.Supp. at 16

(quoting 87 C.J.S. Trade Unions § 13, at 766 (late

ed.)); tetana v. Apartment, Motel, Hotel & Klevator

Operators Union, Local No. 14, 453 F.2d 1018,

1024-25 (9th Cir.1972) (union's internal policies

and practices are subject to the duty of fair repre.

sentation).

(2) Political expediency standing alone-whatever it

takes to win an election-does not provide a legiti-

mate union objective. Jruck Drivers, Teamsters Lo

Tila

cal Union No. 42, Barton Brands, and the Ninth

Circuit's Hardcastle case say with one voice that a

union cannot act solely to benefit a majority of em

ployees in the bargaining unit at the expense of the

minority

(3) Dissatisfaction with ALPA policies and proce

dures, unrelated to the Nicolau Award, could not

provide a leyitimate objective. The evidence sup

gested that some Ikast Pilots had yveneral com

plaints about ALPA and that the seniority issue

was just the last straw. The testimony centered on

a lack of direct representation, extravayant life

styles of umion officials, loss of pension rights, in

adequate contract terms, and inferior safety poh

es. They also complained that more than a decade

ago ALPA, instigated by other pilot groups, sub

verted a merger that would have benefitted U.S

Airways pilots. The pilots may have had many rea

sons for abandoning ALVA and they were entitled

to do so. But this case does not turn on the rejection

of ALPA. It turns on USAPA's consequent motiva

lion to present a new semiorily proposal to the au

line. lor these reasons, the instructions prevented

the jury from finding that “dissatisfaction with the

practices or policies of the previous umion, ALPA,

unrelated to the merged pilot seniority list” was a

leyitimate union objective in this case

(4) Dissatisfaction with the previously agreed-upon

ALPA merger procedures was not a legitimate un

ion objective. Honest disagreement required hon

esty up front. It was only after the Nicolau Award

was issued, and the pilots lost their veil of igno

rance, that so many East Pilots decided that the

procedures were inherently unjust. ‘The umion can

-78a-

not satisfy its duty by catering to this self-

interested hindsight.FN!8

FN13. The evidentiary and legal failure of all

of USAPA's alleged objectives might have

supported summary judgment or judgment

as a matter of law. However, the urgency of

the case did not leave time to brief and de-

cide summary judgment motions before trial,

and Plaintiffs' motion for Judgment as a

Matter of Law did not address the issues

necessary for such a ruling. [Doc. # 446.]

7. Taxonomy of Liability

It is clear that USAPA's conduct violates its duty as

set forth in a special genre of fair representation

cases. It is less clear what subheading of lability

applies: The duty of fair representation prohibits

conduct that is arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad

faith. This metaphysical question has no impact on

the outcome under existing law, but it has en-

thralled both parties.

At the outset, USAPA's failure to adopt the Nicolau

Award is not “arbitrary” in the technical sense. The

exercise, even the wrongful exercise, of a union's

policy judgment-including CBA interpretation-is

virtually immune to charges of arbitrariness; liabil-

ity under this heading has been limited to proce-

dural or ministerial acts. See Beck v. United Food &

Commercial Workers Union, Local 99, 506 F.3d

874, 879 (9th Cir.2007); Peters v. Burlington N.

R.R., 931 F.2d 534, 540 (9th Cir.1990). The ques-

tion then remains whether such union actions may

be considered “discriminatory” or “in bad faith.”

-79a-

In truth, both headings support liability, separately

and together. ‘The original fair representation cases

concerned racial discrimination, see Vaca v. Stpes,

386 U.S. 171, 177, 87 S.Ct. 903, 17 L.Ed.2d 842

(1967), and clearly the duty excludes all forms of

invidious discrimination based upon _ protected

classes. Stmo v. Union of Needletrades, Indus. &

Textile Emplovees, Sw. Dist. Council, 322 F.3d 602,

618 (9th Cir.2003). However, the Ninth Circuit has

expressly held that it is “too restrictive” to limit l-

ability to cases of invidious discrimination, and

that impermissible discrimination may take other

forms. /d. at 618-19. For this reason, the jury was

instructed that “discriminatory” action could be a

basis for hability. The instructions articulated the

difference between lawful and unlawful treatment

of different employee groups, granting the union

wide latitude to resolve conflicting interests even if

the resolution adversely affects one group, as long

as the union took action to further a legitimate un-

ion objective. Contrary to the objections of USAPA,

these instructions articulated the contours of un-

lawful “discrimination” as expressed in tiie applica-

ble cases. See Bernard, 873 F.2d at 216 (prohibiting

discrimination “on the basis of union membership’);

Barton Brands, 529 F.2d at 799 (prohibiting dis-

crimination against the smaller of two merging

workforces); Air Wisconsin, 909 F.2d at 217 (union's

duty prohibits discrimination against “a group of

dissidents on the outs with union's leadership”);

Truck Drivers, 379 F.2d at 144 (“campaign promise

to discriminate” against politically weaker em-

ployee group is a promise to breach duty of fair rep-

resentation); Ramey, 378 I°.3d at 277 (holding that

“a union violates [its duty] when it causes an em-

ployer to discriminate against employees on arbi-

-80a-

trary, hostile, or bad faith grounds”) (quoting

Barton Brands, 529 F.2d at. 799); Teamsters Local

Union No. 42, 825 F.2d at 611-12 (holding, without

limitation, that “discrimination” on the basis of un-

ion membership is an unfair labor practice) (citing

fair representation cases). USAPA “discriminated”

when it adopted a seniority proposal for no reason

other than to advantage the majority East Pilots at

the minority West Pilots' expense.

USAPA also complained at the instructio

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Addington v. US Airline Pilots Ass'n · 562 U.S. 1136 | Frix