Opposition Brief — Apotex, Inc. v. Sebelius

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

wf

Nos_J0-453

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

APOTEX, INC.,

Petitioner,

we

KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, IN HER OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS

SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, E7'AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT

TEVA PHARMACEUTICALS USA, INC.

JAY P. LEFKOWITZ, P.C. MICHAEL D. SHUMSKY

KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP Counsel of Record

153 Kast 53rd Street AARON L. NIELSON

New York, NY 10022 KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

(212) 446-4800 655 Fifteenth St., N.W.

jay.lefkowitz@kirkland.com Washington, DC 20005

(202) 879-5000

mshumsky@kirkland.com

anielson@kirkland.com

December 10, 2010

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the D.C. Circuit erred in holding that

the district court did not abuse its discretion by

denying Petitioner’s motion for — preliminary

injunctive relief.

11]

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner Apotex, Inc. was the plaintiff-appellant

below.

Respondents Kathleen Sebelius, in her official

capacity as Secretary of Health and Human Services;

Margaret Hamburg, M.D., in her official capacity as

Commissioner of Food and Drugs; the U.S. Food and

Drug Administration; and the U.S. Department of

Health and Human Services were the defendants-

appellees below.

Respondent Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. was

an intervenor-defendant/appellee below.

Non-party Roxane Laboratories, Inc. was a

plaintiff-appellant below and thus is a respondent

under this Court’s Rule 12.6.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Respondent Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.

(“Teva”) is an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of

Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. through the

following parent companies: (i) Orvet UK Unlimited

(Majority Shareholder), which in turn is directly

owned by Teva Pharmaceuticals Europe B.V., which

in turn is directly owned by Teva Pharmaceutical

Industries Ltd.; and (1) Teva Pharmaceutical

Holdings Cooperatieve U.A. (Minority Shareholder),

which in turn is directly owned by IVAX LLC, a

direct subsidiary of Teva Teva Pharmaceutical!

Industries Ltd. is the only publicly traded direct or

indirect parent company of Teva, and no other

publicly-traded company owns more than 10% of its

stock.

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ee ee 1x

INTRODUCTION ........ cpaeumeneeate canitea catia oiauenae

OPINIONS BELOW...... :

PUG) fh kl by ye) ete {

STATUTORY PROVISIONS ...................00eeee: Pr

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............. acccaasonsas ae

A. The Hatch-Waxman Framework...................5

i EE TNO i ovcccccnccscécecaieccntetscsaccosncains 8

C. Losartan Potassium Products ............ ce

D. The Teva Litigation....................... eer

K. Post-Judgment Proceedings ........................ 12

KF. Post-Remand Proceedings ......................0000 13

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............... .16

I. i ft 8 eee. |

A. ‘This Case Was Moot Even Before

Apotex Filed Its Petition...................... 16

B. This Issue Will Not Evade Review...... 17

Vi

] The Petition Arises In The Interlocutory

Context Of A Preliminary Injunction

Proceeding. ..... 19

A. ‘There Has Been No Final Judgment. .19

B. ‘The Legal Issue Apotex Seeks To

Raise Is Not Squarely Presented. 20

Ill. There Is No Circuit Spht, And Apotex

Kixaggerates the Likelihood That The

K;mbedded Merits Issue Will Recur..... ae

A. There Is No Circuit Split. ......... 22

B. Apotex Exaggerates The Likelihood

That The Issue It Purports To Raise

Will Recur........... 24

IV. The D.C. Circuit’s Preliminary Analysis Of

The Merits Was Correct............c.cccccceeees sees BO

A The MMA Did Not Abrogate

I PO ERIE LEO roe ee

B. The D.C. Circuit Properly Resolved

The Patent Expiry Issue...................... 29

C The D.C. Circuit’s Decision Is

Consistent With The Statute’s

Purposes. ....... vr are 33

CONCLUSION ... .. 36

APPENDIX CONTENTS

21 U.S.C. § 355G)(5)(C) :

35 U.S.C. § 41(c)(5)

Response Of Apotex Inc. ‘To Show Cause Orde)

(D.D.C. Oct. 18. 2010)

David Belian, FDA Expects More Litigation Over

Generic Exclusivity, GENERIC LINI

Oct. 27, 2010

,

1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases

aaiPharma Inc. v. Thompson,

296 F.3d 227 (4th Cir. 2002) ... error ee

Alvarez v. Smith,

Beer Oe, CD vin vccccaccvceuducecbinvsnsulelecedasecs 16

American Constr. Co. v. Jacksonville, T. & K.W.R.

C..

ic) ge RR ye aos. | eee DN ARS ARATE Rhy ee |

Apotex, Inc. v. Thompson,

347 F.3d 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2003).......................23

Bunting v. Mellen,

ST 67.5. LORD COO) inn cccceccccvcocsse: wees y

Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Aviall Servs., Inc.,

ve Bee. eee Ci” | re inc aceuses 18

Dolan Vv. USPS,

546 U.S. 481 (2ZO0G)........ccccscoscsssss ieeatvceuimee aa

Dr. Reddy's Labs., Inc. v. Thompson,

302 F. Supp. 2d 340 (D.N.J. 2003).......8, 23, 32

Eli Lilly & Co. v. Medtronic, Inc.,

496 U.S. 661 (1990)................ AESOP Oe

Erlenbaugh v. United States,

MEF UF es Be CRE vcinc i cctecccsscsncwsseseces Tecesnaee

Granutec, Inc. v. Shalala,

Nos. 97-1873, 97-1874,

1998 WL 153410 (4th Cir. Apr. 3, 1998)........2%

Gutierrez v. Ada,

528 U.S. 250 (2000) pce ae ice

X

Lewis v. Cont'l Bank Corp.,

494 U.S. 472 (1990).....cccccccceccecceccesceseceeeeseeseees 17

Locomotive Firemen v. Bangor & Aroostook R. Co.,

GRO U.S. B27 (2OGF).......ccccccccccosceoccceecssesecesessee. 20

MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. AT&T Co.,

US US, DES CUD. cao secs accsccnsses 9, 26

Mova Pharm. Corp. v. Shalala,

140 F.3d 1060 (D.C. Cir. 1998)......c.ccccccecccvervess 6

Munaf v. Geren,

553 U.S. 674 (2008).....ccccccccccecscecceseesscsseeeeceees 21

Mylan Pharms., Inc. v. FDA,

464 F.3d 270 (4th Cir. ZOOB) .........cccccccesscsnssess 23

Mylan Pharms., Inc. v. Thompson,

266 F390. 1323 (red. Cit. 2001 ).......cccscceservessaces aa

Pakootas v. Teck Cominco Metals, Ltd., 452 F.3d

TE Fe Cs as os schists 18

Powell v. McCormack,

eer ty Ue © Ris incciscicadianinn descr oe 16

Purepac Pharm. Co. v. Thompson,

e04 F.3G G77 (O).0, Cir, BIS)... 5.02. .ccccscscvccoseses 6

Ranbaxy Labs. Ltd. v. Leavitt,

469 F.3d 120 (D.C. Cir. 2006)............ 4, 8, 9, 13,

22, 25, 26, 34

Schering Corp. v. FDA,

51 F.3d 390 (3d Cir. 1995)......................s0.000. 23

Serono Labs., Inc. v. Shalala,

1668 F.3d 1313 (2.0. Cir. 1OBB) oicccscccciscccsscccesccD

Sociedad Anonima Vina Santa Rita v. Dep't of

Treasury,

193 F. Supp. 2d 6 (D.D.C. 2001)..................... 21

x1

Spencer v. Kemna,

G23 U.S. ECL) oo cccvisecs cased 17

Tandy v. City of Wichita,

380 F.3a 1277 (10th Cir. SOP see 18

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. v. Sebelius,

595 F.3d 1303 (D.C. Cir. 2010)........ L. Be ae. 2h

12, 13, 14, 15, 18,

22, 24, 26, 26, 27.

28, 29, 30, 33, 35

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. v. Sebelius, 638 IF.

Supp. 2a 42 (D.2).C. DOOR). 2.2.0.1 ences ]

United States v. Brandau,

578 F.3d 1064 (9th Cir. 2009) ........-..00.- ie

VM1 v. United States,

508 U5. O46 (10Ge). .dessicladicnennteeeeee 19

Winter v. NRDC, Inc.,

129 S.Ct. 366 ClOOG? onockciccsc ee eee

Wisconsin Gas Co. v. FERC,

4188 F.260 669 2.0). (a8: 2 ki oiscecese ee 21

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, and

Regulations

21 C.F.R. § 314.500) .......:cscnun

21 CFR. € 914.GOD) «cicada ers.

Bi UGC, © BUG icc cccsecsncecsalacca ee

Zi UF... & SEI) occ cocuaiveudacsneseversusiensscueeneeeeee

21 U.S.C. § 355(b)(2) «...ccceeceeeeee svelte ee

21 U.S.C. § BSG eric cceisssccdicuacac eee 6

21 U.S.C. § S66G)IMA) kc 6

21 U.S.C. § 355G)(2)(A)(vi1)..... ened Sai geee hae eien 6

Beers, © SOOUNZA)(Vii)(IILT) .................0eecsscceeeces. a1

eee SOOO) E)(IV) (ZOOZ)..............cessececcceesene 8

21 U.S.C. § 355G)(5)(B)CGiv)(ID (bb) o.....eecccceeceeeeeeeseesees 8

OE STONE 00] 0 re (Pe x

21 U.S.C. § 355(5)(5)(D) (a) (I)................... Naess traci 7, 29

21 U.S.C. § 355(j)(5)(D)(i)(D(bb)(CC) «cece. 9, 27, 28

en. © OI D)(DI)(1)(V1I) ..........000ccsceceseees 8, 30, 32

21 U.S.C. § 355(j)(7)(a) .......-. ee le eae eee 6

NEE) © SEGA ..............00ce0c..00c00000000- AE 10

METE FB5A(1)...............0...00000-0-c0cceeesceeccerceerceeees.

SE 7

I MEO DD... csncncccscccscocccsccccsscvcscccssccessesese

EEE ios. scsccvscscsccvcsesscecsscsssscsccccccesoses \eees

Other Authorities

David Belian, FDA Expects More Litigation Quer

Generic Exclusivity,

Seem, sme. Oct, 27, 2010 ..................006 4, 23

R. Stern, E. Gressman, & S. Shapiro,

SUPREME COURT PRACTICE § 4.18 (6th ed.

INTRODUCTION

Respondent Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.

(“Teva”) began selling generic losartan potassium

products on the evening of April 6, and its 180-day

period of marketing exclusivity for those products

thus ended at the stroke of midnight on October 3—

the day before Apotex, Inc. (“Apotex”) filed its

Petition challenging Teva’s then-expired exclusivity

period. Accordingly, this case was moot on arrival,

and the Petition should be denied. Nothing this

Court can say or do would revive Apotex’s lone claim,

which sought only declaratory and injunctive relhef

that would have allowed the company to launch its

losartan potassium products before the scheduled

expiration of Teva’s now-concluded exclusivity

period. Needless to say, this Court is not in the

business of exercising its discretionary jurisdiction to

render advisory opinions on purely academic

matters, and it should not do so here.

This case would in any cvent be a spectacularly

poor vehicle for doing so, because it bears the

dubious distinction of attempting to raise a moot

question in an interlocutory posture. After all, no

final judgment has been entered below. The district

court merely denied Apotex’s motion to preliminarily

enjoin Teva from marketing its products, and the

D.C. Circuit’s opinion simply affirmed — that

discretionary decision before remanding the case.

Pet. App. 3a.

While Apotex nonetheless pretends that the

merits of its claim are before the Court, see Pet. at 1,

that simply isn’t so. The preliminary injunction

calculus turns not only on whether the movant has

shown a likelihood of success, but also requires proof

that the movant is “likely” to suffer irreparable harm

in the absence of interim relief. Winter v. NRDC,

Inc., 129 S.Ct. 365, 375-76 (2008). Apotex, however,

does not challenge the district court’s factual finding

that it would not have suffered an irreparable harm

from the denial of injunctive relief—and, given that

Teva’s exclusivity period has come and gone, Apotex

cannot possibly make that showing now. ‘There is

thus no basis for reaching the merits. The D.C.

Circuit’s decision to affirm the district court’s denial

of Apotex’s preliminary injunction motion could be

summarily affirmed based solely on the equities,

leaving any discussion of the merits for an appeal in

which the legal issues are presented squarely (and

actually matter).

And while the fact that Apotex’s requests for

preliminary and permanent injunctive rehef both are

moot seemingly would leave the district court with

little left to do on remand, Apotex apparently doesn’t

think so. When the district court recently issued an

order to show cause why judgment should not be

entered in favor of FDA (and Teva), Apotex opposed

the entry of final judgment; indeed, it would not even

commit to dismissing its lawsuit in the event this

Court denies certiorari. Resp. App. 8a.

Kven if there were no jurisdictional or procedural

impediment to this Court’s review, and even if the

merits were squarely presented, there still would be

no need for the Court to intervene. In short, there is

no division of authority on the single question

presented by the Petition. Two different panels of

the D.C. Circuit now have rejected Apotex’s

arguments, in decisions that are fully consistent with

that of a third D.C. Circuit panel that rejected

3

Apotex’s arguments under the prior version of the

statute, see Ranbaxy Labs. Ltd. v. Leavitt, 469 F.3d

120 (D.C. Cir. 2006). Suffice it to say, no other court

has weighed in on the other side (whether under this

version of the statute or its predecessor).

Apotex tries to downplay the courts’ consistent

rejection of its arguments by speculating that a

circuit split is unlikely to develop because most

Hatch-Waxman cases are filed in the District of

Columbia. But there is no reason why that must be

so: Unlike many federal agencies whose decisions are

subject to exclusive review in the D.C. Circuit, FDA

can be—and often is—sued in other jurisdictions.

That likely explains why the Agency’s senior Hatch-

Waxman counsel reportedly told a recent conference

that the issues implicated by this litigation are

“likely to arise again soon tin other courts.” David

Behan, FDA Expects More Litigation Over Generic

Exclusivity, GENERIC LINE, Oct. 27, 2010 (Resp. App.

lla) (emphasis adde@).

Finally, and perhaps most important, the D.C.

Circuit’s analysis was correct. Contrary to Apotex’s

assertion that the appellate court “gave no

meaningful consideration to thle statute’s] text,” Pet.

29, that’s precisely what the D.C. Circuit did. In

fact, Apotex’s real complaint is not that the D.C.

Circuit failed to consider the statutory text; it is that

the appellate court considered the whole text of the

statute and not just the snippets Apotex focuses on.

Indeed, as Judge Williams carefully explained in the

precursor to the decision at issue here, Apotex’s

proposed interpretation of the statute’s forfeiture

triggers 1s both inconsistent with the remainder of

the statute’s text and structure and unsupported by

even “a single cogent reason.” Pet. App. 62:

(emphasis in original).

In sum, certiorari is unwarranted by = any

measure. This case is both moot and interlocutory;

there is no circuit split; and the decision below is

plainly correct. The Petition should be denied.

OPINIONS BELOW

The D.C. Circuit’s unreported per curiam

disposition is reprinted at Pet. App. la-3a. The

district court’s opinion is reported at 700 F. Supp. 2d

138 (D.D.C. 2010) and reprinted at Pet. App. 4a-1la.

The Food and Drug Administration’s unreported

Letter Decision is reprinted at Pet. App. 12a-30a.

Neither FDA nor Apotex timely petitioned this

Court for review of the D.C. Circuit’s related decision

in Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. v. Sebelius, which

is reported at 595 F.3d 1303 (2010). Nonetheless,

much of Apotex’s Petition addresses the merits of

that decision, which is reprinted at Pet. App. 3la-

Jia. The underlying district court decision in that

case 1s reported at 638 F. Supp. 2d 42 (D.D.C. 2009)

and reprinted at Pet. App. 72a-106a.

JURISDICTION

The D.C. Circuit’s judgment was entered on July

6, 2010, and Petitioner has invoked this Court's

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1354(1). As set forth

below, however, the Petition does not present a live

‘ase or controversy, and this Court accordingly lacks

Article III jurisdiction to reach the merits. See U.S.

CONST. art. III.

5

PERTINENT STATUTORY AND

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Petitioner’s Appendix includes some—but not

all—of the pertinent statutory provisions. The

remainder are set forth at Resp. App. la-6a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Hatch-Waxman Framework

As modified by the Medicare Modernization Act

(“MMA”), the Hatch-Waxman Act establishes the

procedure for obtaining new drug approvals in the

United States. 21 U.S.C. § 355 et seq. It requires the

manufacturer of a proposed brand-name drug to

complete a New Drug Application (“NDA”) that

contains clinical data showing the proposed drug’s

safety and efficacy, id. § 355(b)(1), as well as

information regarding each patent the applicant

asserts as claiming the proposed drug (including its

scheduled expiration date), id. § 355(b)(2); 21 C.F-.R.

§ 314.50(h); id. § 314.53(b).

Generic drugs contain the same_ active

ingredients and provide the same benefits as their

brand-name counterparts, but typically are less

expensive. Before Hatch-Waxman, generic companies

had to complete a full NDA to obtain FDA approval;

that requirement almost invariably made generic

market entry cost-prohibitive. In 1984, Congress

enacted Hatch-Waxman to remove that barrier,

increase the availability of generics, and reduce drug

costs. Serono Labs., Inc. v. Shalala, 158 F.3d 1313,

1326 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

To that end, Hatch-Waxman authorizes FDA to

approve a generic drug if the generic applicant can

6

demonstrate its product’s bioequivalence to a “listed”

(or previously approved) brand-name drug. Generic

applicants do so by submitting an Abbreviated NDA

(““ANDA”) that includes’ studies demonstrating

bioequivalence. 21 U.S.C. § 355Q). If FDA accepts

those studies, the generic applicant need not

replicate the brand manufacturer’s clinical studies.

Id. § 355G9)(2)(A); see also Mova Pharm. Corp. v.

Shalala, 140 F.3d 1060, 1063 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

The statute also requires each ANDA to include a

“certification” to each patent the brand manufacturer

identified as claiming the brand-name drug. /d.

§ 355G)(2)(A)(v11). To make this system work, FDA

must “publish” the patent information it receives

from brand companies. Id. § 355G)(7)(A). FDA's

official patent list is known as “the Orange Book.”

Purepac Pharm. Co. v. Thompson, 354 F.3d 877, 880

(D.C. Cir. 2004).

Generic applicants consult that list and then

make one of four certifications: (1) that no patent

information was filed for the brand-name drug

(“Paragraph I certification”); (2) that a listed patent

“has expired” (“Paragraph II certification”); (3) that

the generic drug will not be marketed until “the date

on which [a listed] patent will expire” (“Paragraph

lll certification”); or (4) that a listed patent is

invalid, unenforceable, and/or will not be infringed

by the proposed generic drug (“Paragraph IV

certification”). 21 U.S.C. § 355G)(2)(A)(vii).

Paragraph IV _ certifications are critically

important. They typically signal the generic’s intent

to sell its products before the scheduled expiration of

a listed patent and thereby provide consumers with

expedited price relief. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc. v.

7

Leavitt (“Teva v. Leavitt’), 548 F.3d 103, 106 (D.C.

Cir. 2008) (“The legislative purpose underlying

paragraph IV is to enhance competition by

encouraging generic drug manufacturers to challenge

the patent information provided by NDA holders in

order to bring generic drugs to market earlier.”).

But filing such certifications is risky. The first

Paragraph IV challenger bears significant research-

and-development and legal costs to design around

and/or contest the validity of a listed patent. And if

those efforts succeed, merely filing such a

certification is an act of infringement that could

result in years of costly patent litigation. See 35

U.S.C. § 271(e); see also Eli Lilly & Co. v. Medtronic,

Inc., 496 U.S. 661, 678 (1990).

To encourage generics to accept those risks, the

statute rewards the first patent challenger with a

180-day period of marketing exclusivity during

which no other generic version of the drug may be

sold. See, e.g., Teva v. Leavitt, 548 F.3d at 104

(“Marketing exclusivity is valuable, designed to

compensate manufacturers for research = and

development costs as well as the risk of litigation.”).

Pursuant to the MMA, the first patent challenger

can “forfeit” its exclusivity in certain circumstances.

21 U.S.C. § 355G)(5)(D)(i).. Two such circumstances

are relevant here. First, the first generic applicant

can forfeit exclusivity if it fails promptly to market

its products after certain events—including (in

general terms) a_ successful outcome in patent

litigation, or after the brand manufacturer

withdraws (or “delists”) a patent from the Orange

Book. Jd. § 3559)(5)(D)G)(ID. These provisions are

known as the “failure-to-market” forfeiture trigger.

8

Second, the first applicant may forfeit exclusivity

if “[ajll of the patents as tc which the applicant

submitted a [Paragraph IV certification] have

expired.” Jd. § 355()(5)(D)G)(VI). ‘This provision

codified FDA’s longstanding practice of rejecting

exclusivity where the first applicant failed to begin

selling its products before the challenged patent

expired naturally—i.e., at the end of its scheduled

term. See Dr. Reddy’s Labs., Inc. v. Thompson, 302

F. Supp. 2d 340, 354-55 (D.N.J. 2003).

B. The Delisting Rule

Shortly after Congress passed Hatch-Waxman,

brand companies realized that delisting a challenged

patent could eliminate exclusivity and thereby

undercut the incentive for generic applicants to

challenge patents over the long-run. That was so

because generic applicants can certify only to patents

listed in the Orange Book, and can _ receive

exclusivity only if they maintain a Paragraph IV

certification. 21 U.S.C. § 355())(5)(B)(iv) (2002); id.

§ 355(G)(5)(B)(iv) TD(bb) (2003). FDA acquiesced in

this practice, and given the ease with which brand

manufacturers thus could eviscerate the incentive for

challenging their patents, FDA’s approach to

delisting substantially reduced the motivation for

generic applicants to develop and file early patent

challenges.

Teva eventually sued FDA, and the D.C. Circuit

rejected the Agency’s acquiescence in_ this

manipulative practice at Chevron’ step. one.

Ranbaxy, 469 F.3d at 126. As Ranbaxy explained,

FDA’s delisting policy gutted the exclusivity reward

by allowing brand companies to “reduce[] the

certainty of receiving a_ period of marketing

9

exclusivity,” and thereby “diminish[ed] the incentive

for [generics] ... to challenge a [listed] patent.” /d.

at 126. In sum, the Court held, “FDA may not

change the incentive structure adopted by the

Congress, for the agency is bound ‘not only by the

ultimate purposes Congress has selected, but by the

means it has deemed appropriate, and prescribed, for

the pursuit of those purposes.” /d. (quoting MC/

Telecomms. Corp. v. AT&T Co., 512 U.S. 218, 231 n.4

(1994)).

Ranbaxy, however, was decided before the MMA.

And seizing upon the MMA’s new “failure-to-market”

forfeiture clause—which in certain circumstances

provides for forfeiture after a delisting, 21 U.S.C.

§ 355(G)(5)(D) (Gi) (D(bb)(CC)—-FDA held that Ranbaxy

did not survive the MMA. Pet. App. 36a. Instead,

according to FDA, “[b]rand manufacturers are ... free

to delist challenged patents whenever they please—

and any such delisting [causes a forfeiture].” /d. at

58a (emphasis added). This approach was known as

the “Delisting Rule.”

C. Losartan Potassium Products

Losartan potassium is an antihypertensive agent.

Merck holds two NDAs for the losartan potassium

products Cozaar® and Hyzaar®. When those drugs

were approved, Merck listed the same three patents!

in the Orange Book for both: U.S. Patent No.

5,138,069 (“the ‘069 patent”), which was scheduled to

block competition through February 11, 2010; U.S.

! Merck also listed a fourth patent for Cozaar®, but that patent

relates to a treatment for which Teva did not seek approval and

thus posed no barrier to the approval of Teva's ANDA

LO

Patent No. 5,153,197 (“the ‘197 patent”), which was

scheduled to block competition through April 6, 2010;

and U.S. Patent No. 5,608,075 (“the ‘075 patent”),

which was scheduled to block competition through

September 4, 2014.

On December 18, 2003, Teva submitted its

generic Cozaar® ANDA. ‘Teva’s ANDA contained

Paragraph III certifications to the ‘069 and ‘197

patents, meaning that it would not market its

products until the ‘197 patent’s scheduled expiration

in April 2010. However, Teva also submitted a

Paragraph IV certification to the ‘O75 patent,

claiming that that patent is invalid, unenforceable,

and/or would not be infringed by Teva’s products

and thus that Teva intended to begin marketing its

products years before that patent’s scheduled

expiration in 2014. ‘Teva was the first generic

applicant to challenge the ‘075 patent. Pet. App. 40a.

On May 24, 2004, Teva submitted its generic

Hyzaar® ANDA. That ANDA contained the same

patent certifications as Teva’s Cozaar® ANDA

including a Paragraph IV certification to the ‘075

patent. Once again, Teva was the first generic

Hyzaar® applicant to challenge the ‘075 patent. /d.

As the first Paragraph IV filer, Teva became

eligible for 180-day exclusivity for both drugs. /d.

Teva then notified Merck of its certifications,

explaining that most of the ‘O75 patent’s claims were

* Each patent actually was scheduled to expire before these

dates. However, Merck received a period of “pediatric

exclusivity” which prevented FDA from approving ANDAs until

six months after each patent expired. 21 U.S.C. § 355a

11

invalid based on prior art and that Teva’s products

would not infringe the patent’s remaining claims

under the doctrine of equivalents. Merck, however,

did not sue Teva. Jd. Instead, in March 2005—after

Teva submitted its exclusivity-qualifying Paragraph

IV certifications to the ‘075 patent—“Merck asked

the FDA to delist the ‘075 patent, which the agency

did.” Jd. Then, after asking FDA to delist the ‘075

patent, Merck apparently stopped paying

“maintenance fees” on the now-worthless patent.

Id. at 6a.

By doing so, Merck effectively conceded that

Teva’s Paragraph IV challenge was so strong that

Merck could not reasonably assert that patent

against any generic applicant. Teva thus achieved

precisely what Congress sought to reward with

exclusivity: It identified a competition-blocking

patent, invested the resources needed to challenge it,

and successfully removed it as a barrier to

competition—thereby opening the market to generic

entry more than four years earlier than would have

been possible without Teva’s challenge. Under

FDA’s Delisting Rule, however, “Teva had by the fall

of 2008 already forfeited” its exclusivity because of

Merck’s unilateral decision to delist the ‘075 patent.

Id. at 41a (emphasis original).

D. The Teva Litigation

In June 2009, Teva sued FDA to protect its 180-

day exclusivity period, arguing that the Dehsting

Rule was arbitrary, capricious, and inconsistent with

the statute. The district court (Collyer, J.)

ultimately consolidated Teva’s initial request for

preliminary injunctive relief with a trial on the

merits, and entered judgment for FDA. Jd. at 33a.

12

Teva appealed, and the D.C. Circuit (per

Williams, J.) reversed on March 2, 2010. Jd. at 66a.

Paying close attention to the statute’s text and

structure, Judge Williams’s opinion for the court held

there was “no reason to conclude that the 2003

addition of forfeiture provisions meant to give the

brand manufacturer a right to unilaterally vitiate a

generic’s exclusivity.” Jd. at 63a; see also id. at 62a

(“The agency ... offers not a single cogent reason why

Congress might have ... provided for a scenario in

which the brand maker can unilaterally deprive the

generic of its exclusivity.”) (emphasis original).

The D.C. Circuit then remanded the case for the

entry of appropriate relief, id. at 66a, but

simultaneously entered a routine order withholding

its mandate until seven days after FDA’s deadline

for seeking rehearing.

E. Post-Judgment Proceedings

That routine order would have prevented the

district court from entering relief on remand before

FDA could have approved other applicants on April

6. So on March 9, Teva moved the D.C. Circuit to

issue its mandate forthwith. Emer. Mot. To Issue

Mandate (Mar. 9, 2010).

That same day, however, Apoiex apparently

informed FDA that Merck’s ‘075 patent may have

prematurely expired in March 2009 due to Merck’s

unilateral failure to pay maintenance fees. FDA

then opposed Teva’s motion for immediate issuance

of the mandate, asserting (like Apotex here) that

Merck’s decision to halt maintenance fee payments

meant that “a forfeiture event other than the

delisting of the ‘075 patent—namely, expiration of a

patent that is the subject of a paragraph IV

13

certification[—]has, in fact, occurred.” FDA Opp. to

Emer. Mot. To Issue Mandate at 7 (Mar. 11, 2010).

Teva promptly replied, explaining that FDA’s

effort to divorce Merck’s unlawful delisting request

from its failure to pay maintenance fees

boils down to the absurd proposition that

brand manufacturers somehow are allowed to

achieve through the back door (by not paying

maintenance fees on a challenged patent)

precisely what th[e D.C. Circuit]’s decisions in

both this case and Ranbaxy forbid them from

doing through the front door (by delisting the

challenged patent in the first place). As |7Jeva]

recognized, however, there is ‘not a_ single

cogent reason why Congress might have

permitted ... a scenario in which the brand

maker can unilaterally deprive the generic of

its exclusivity, and that judgment is

controlling here.

Reply in Supp. of Emer. Mot. at 11 (Mar. 12, 2010)

(quoting Pet. App. 62a). After considering the

parties’ submissions, the D.C. Circuit granted Teva’s

motion and issued its mandate on March 12.3

F. Post-Remand Proceedings

On remand, the district court directed FDA to

promptly file an administrative decision addressing

the potential impact of Merck’s conduct on Teva’s

eligibility for exclusivity, and suggested that any

challenge to that decision could be raised “in a new

3 FDA later petitioned for rehearing en banc, but the D.C.

Circuit unanimously denied the petition on May 17.

14

lawsuit.” Order Amending Judgment at 3 n.4

(D.D.C. Mar. 26, 2010).

On March 26, FDA then issued the Letter

Decision giving rise to this litigation. Pet. App. 12a-

30a. Although the Agency took issue with the D.C.

Circuit’s delisting opinion, it nonetheless held that

the appellate court’s reasoning “preclude[s] a

forfeiture of exclusivity on the basis of a patent

expiration where the expiration is in the control of

the NDA holder.” /d. at 28a (discussing td. at 62a).

It therefore declared that FDA “will not approve any

other [losartan] ANDA until [Teva] has received

approval of its ANDA, begun commercial marketing,

and the 180-day exclusivity period has expired.”

Id. at 29a.

Apotex then filed a new lawsuit, seeking a TRO

and preliminary injunction that together would bar

FDA from awarding Teva exclusivity and compel the

Agency to approve Apotex’s ANDA immediately. On

April 2, the district court denied the motion. Jd. at

lla. With respect to Apotex’s likelihood of success,

the district court held that FDA properly “applied

the reasoning of the Circuit to a different but, on

these facts, closely related question.” Jd. at 9a. And

on the equities, the court held that Apotex’s purely

economic injuries did not constitute irreparable

harm, id. at 10a; that the requested relief “would

certainly injure Teva,” id.; and that the public

interest weighed against relief given the exclusivity

reward’s “pro-consumer” goals. Id. at 10a-lla

(quoting id. at 64a).

On April 5, Apotex asked the D.C. Circuit to stay

all generic losartan approvals and summarily reverse

the district court’s decision. The D.C. Circuit

_"

wn

promptly denied those motions, and FDA approved

Teva’s ANDAs on April 6. Teva began selling its

products that evening, thereby triggering its 180-day

exclusivity period.

On July 6, another D.C. Circuit panel (Tatel,

Griffith, Kavanaugh, JJ.) affirmed the district court’s

denial of Apotex’s preliminary injunction request in

an unpublished per curiam order. Pet. App. la-3a.

That summary disposition explained that once “the

Hatch-Waxman Act’s forfeiture provisions are viewed

in the context of the statute’s incentive structure, it

becomes clear that Congress could not have intended

a brand manufacturer’s unilateral decision to cause

the premature expiration of a patent ... to strip the

first generic applicant of the 180-day period of

marketing exclusivity granted by the statute.” Jd. at

2a-3a.

Teva’s 180-day period of exclusivity ended on

October 3. The next day, Apotex filed its Petition.

Apotex received approval to market its generic

losartan potassium products on October 6, and

apparently has been selling its products ever since.‘

4 See FDA, Drugs @ FDA: FDA Approved Drug Products, at

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/drugsatfda/index.cfm

?fuseaction=Search.Set_Current_ Drug&App|INo=090790&Drug

Name=LOSARTAN%20POTASSIUM&ActiveIngred=LOSARTA

N%20POTASSIUM&SponsorApplicant=A POTEX%20CORP&P

roductMktStatus=1 (last visited Dec. 9, 2010).

16

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. This Case Is Moot.

Apotex’s complaint—and the preliminary

injunction motion addressed by the sole D.C. Circuit

decision at issue here, Pet. App. 2a-3a—sought only

prospective relief challenging Teva’s entitlement to

180-day marketing exclusivity. But Teva’s 180 days

of exclusivity have come and gone, and while this

Court can do many things, it can’t turn back time.

There is thus no case or controversy left for the

Court to resolve; any opinion regarding the merits

would be purely advisory.

Nor does this case present one of those

“exceptional situations” involving an issue that is

“capable of repetition while evading review.” Alvarez

v. Smith, 130 S. Ct. 576, 581 (2009) (internal

citations and quotations omitted). Though Apotex

has identified a handful exclusivity-grounding

patents that the brand manufacturer deliberately let

lapse, there is no reason why the question it seeks to

raise here will evade review if, as Apotex speculates,

it ever arises again. After all, challenges to the legal

rules FDA apples in making exclusivity decisions

can be brought well before an exclusivity period is

scheduled to begin—and with ample time for this

Court to review the issue Apotex seeks to raise in a

case where it actually matters.

A. This Case Was Moot Even Before

Apotex Filed Its Petition.

It is black-letter law that “a case is moot when

the issues presented are no longer ‘live’ or the parties

lack a legally cognizable interest in the outcome.”

Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 496 (1969).

17

Accordingly, a given case or controversy not only

must be “live” at the outset of litigation; it must

remain so “through all stages of federal judicial

proceedings, trial and appellate.” Spencer v. Kemna,

523 U.S. 1, 7 (1998) (quoting Lewis v. Contl Bank

Corp., 494 U.S. 472, 477-478 (1990)).

Apotex’s lawsuit, however, was moot even before

the Petition was filed. This case involved a single

180-day period of marketing exclusivity that began

on April 6 and ended at midnight on October 3.

Apotex is now selling its products, unhindered by the

exclusivity period it sought to challenge. Any

interest Apotex had when it filed suit long ago ceased

to exist; nothing this Court can do would give Apotex

relief. Accordingly, the Petition should be denied.

See Lewis, 494 U.S. at 480 (“Where on the face of the

record it appears that the only concrete interest in

the controversy has terminated, reasonable caution

is needed to be sure that mooted litigation is not

pressed forward, and unnecessary ‘judicial

pronouncements ... obtained.”); see also Bunting v.

Mellen, 541 U.S. 1019, 1021 (2004) (Stevens, Breyer,

and Ginsburg, JJ., respecting the denial of certiorari)

(explaining that certiorari is properly denied where

“there no longer is a live controversy’).

B. This Issue Will Not Evade Review.

Nonetheless, Apotex half-heartedly suggests that

this case falls within the “capable of repetition, yet

evading review’ exception to mootness. See Pet. 17

n.8. But that bald assertion is incorrect: There is no

reason to assume that future cases raising this issue

cannot be filed with “ample time to obtain judicial

review.” Lewis, 494 U.S. at 482.

18

That is so, as the D.C. Circuit’s original delisting

decision made clear, because there is no bar to pre-

enforcement review of exclusivity issues. Given that

the issues presented in such cases are “purely legal”

and implicate a cognizable “hardship,” Pet. App. 43a,

46a, courts “routinely reach the merits of generic

manufacturers’ claims to exclusivity before the FDA

has granted final approval to any ANDA concerning

the drug at issue.” Jd. at 48a (citations omitted).

That, of course, explains why Apotex does not

even try to argue that subsequent cases cannot be

filed with sufficient lead-time to permit full judicial

review. All a subsequent applicant would have to do

is file a declaratory judgment action next time it

faces an allegedly unlawful exclusivity period—and if

Apotex is to be believed, there are 27 possible cases

in which one might do so, see Pet. 25 (though that

considerably overstates the number of cases in which

the actual merits issue embedded in this preliminary

injunction appeal might arise, see infra at ITI.B.).

In any event, this Court need “not decide in the

first instance” whether an exception to the mootness

doctrine applies. Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Aviall Servs.,

Inc., 543 U.S. 157, 168-169 (2004) (internal citation

and quotations omitted). As explained below, this

case remains pending before the district court—

which can and should resolve the mootness issue (by

making any necessary findings that bear on that

inquiry) in the first instance. See, e.g., United States

v. Brandau, 578 F.3d 1064, 1065 (9th Cir. 2009);

Pakootas v. Teck Cominco Metals, Ltd., 452 F.3d

1066, 1071 n.10 (9th Cir. 2006); Tandy v. City of

Wichita, 380 F.3d 1277, 1291 (10th Cir. 2004).

19

II. The Petition Arises In The Interlocutory

Context Of A Preliminary Injunction

Proceeding.

Even if this case were not moot, it would be a poor

vehicle to address the question it purports to present,

because it arises in the interlocutory context of a

preliminary injunction proceeding. Again, the D.C.

Circuit merely affirmed the district court’s denial of

Apotex’s motion for interim relief, and the case

remains pending below.

This Court typically does not exercise its

discretionary jurisdiction over interlocutory appeals,

and petitions arising from preliminary injunction

proceedings are particularly ill-suited for review.

After all, the legal issues embedded in such petitions

are not squarely presented: The question on appeal

from the denial of a preliminary injunction is not

whether the lower courts properly resolved the

merits, but whether the court abused its discretion

by denying interim relief. While that inquiry turns

in part on a tentative assessment of the merits, it

also requires the movant to demonstrate a likelihood

of irreparable injury absent immediate relief. Here,

of course, Apotex cannot possibly demonstrate such

an injury because Teva’s exclusivity period is over—

and the D.C. Circuit’s decision thus would have to be

affirmed without respect to the merits.

A. There Has Been No Final Judgment.

As set forth above, no final judgment has been

entered in this case. That fact alone is fatal to the

Petition, because this Court’s settled practice is to

“await final judgment in the lower courts before

exercising ... certiorari jurisdiction.” VMI v. United

States, 508 U.S. 946, 946 (1993) (Scalia, J.,

20

respecting the denial of certiorari) (citing American

Constr. Co. v. Jacksonville, T. & K.W.R. Co., 148 U.S.

372, 384 (1893); Locomotive Firemen v. Bangor &

Aroostook R. Co., 389 U.S. 327, 328 (1967) (per

curiam); R. Stern, E. Gressman, & S. Shapiro,

SUPREME COURT PRACTICE § 4.18, pp. 224-226 (6th

ed. 1986)).

That approach controls here, where the only

decision before this Court is the D.C. Cuircuit’s

unpublished order affirming the district court’s

denial of Apotex’s preliminary injunction motion.

Pet. App. 2a-3a. The legal merits remain pending

before the district court on remand. And while one

might think there is little left for the district court to

resolve given that Teva’s exclusivity period now has

ended, Apotex continues to resist the entry of a final

judgment; indeed, Apotex won’t even commit to

dismissing its lawsuit in the event this Court denies

certiorari. See Resp. App. 8a (“Should the petition

not be granted, Apotex will then consider whether to

dismiss the case ....”) (emphasis added).

The Petition thus should be denied. While Teva

has no idea what Apotex intends to do at the district

court, this Court’s review can surely await the entry

of judgment after Apotex decides it has finished

litigating the merits of its case.

B. The Legal Issue Apotex Seeks To Raise

Is Not Squarely Presented.

The fact that this Petition arises from the denial

of a preliminary injunction provides an additional

basis for denying review. While Apotex purports to

raise the purely legal question of whether the D.C.

Circuit properly interpreted the Hatch-Waxman Act,

see Pet. i, that question isn’t actually presented.

21

Instead, the only question before this Court is

whether the district court abused its discretion when

it applied the four-factor preliminary injunction test

to deny Apotex’s motion. See Winter, 129 S. Ct. at

374; Munaf v. Geren, 553 U.S. 674, 690-91 (2008).

Yet for all the ink it spills on the underlying

merits, Apotex doesn’t say a word about the

preliminary injunction standard—and for good

reason. As the district court recognized, Pet. App.

8a-9a, that standard requires Apotex to demonstrate,

among other things, both a likelihood of success on

the merits and a likelihood of irreparable injury in

the absence of immediate equitable relief. Winter,

129 S. Ct. at 374-75.

Apotex cannot satisfy either requirement. On one

hand, the fact that Apotex’s sole legal claim is moot

forecloses any _ possibility that Apotex could

demonstrate a likelihood of success. On the other

hand, Apotex does not contest the district court’s

factual finding that the company would not suffer

irreparable injury absent injunctive relief. Pet. App.

10a (citing Wisconsin Gas Co. v. FERC, 758 F.2d 669,

674 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (per curiam); Sociedad Anonima

Vina Santa Rita v. Dep’t of Treasury, 193 F. Supp. 2d

6, 14 (D.D.C. 2001)). And Apotex certainly cannot

demonstrate such an injury now: Teva's exclusivity

period is over, and Apotex is on the market. There is

thus nothing left to enjoin, and no need for this

Court to reach the merits. The case would have to be

affirmed based solely on the equities. See, e.g.,

Winter, 129 S. Ct. at 374-76 (conditioning injunctive

relief on proof that irreparable injury is “likely,” and

denying such relief without addressing the merits

22

based on “[a] proper consideration of the[ equitable]

factors alone”) (emphasis added).

Ill. There Is No Circuit Split, And Apotex

Exaggerates the Likelihood That The

Embedded Merits Issue Will Recur.

Separate and apart from those grounds for

denying the Petition, there is no circuit split on the

issue Apotex purports to raise, and Apotex in any

event exaggerates the likelihood that it will recur.

A. There Is No Circuit Split.

Apotex concedes that the D.C. Circuit is the only

appellate court that has addressed whether the

Hatch-Waxman Act allows brand manufacturers to

deprive generic applicants of 180-day exclusivity by

ceasing to pay maintenance fees on Orange Book-

listed patents. Pet. 26. And the appellate court’s

decision on this point is both fully consistent with

two prior D.C. Circuit cases, see Pet. App. 3la-71la;

Ranbaxy, 469 F.3d at 126, and uncontested by any

other circuit court.

Despite this uniformity, Apotex claims that

certiorari is appropriate because it believes a circuit

split is unlikely to develop. See Pet. 26-27. That is

so, Apotex asserts, because “the D.C. Circuit is the

usual forum for these disputes.” /d. at 26 (internal

quotation omitted).

Unlike many federal agencies, however, FDA is

not subject to exclusive suit in the D.C. Circuit. And

despite Apotex’s best efforts to obscure the record,

lawsuits regarding FDA’s interpretation of the

Hatch-Waxman Act (including its 180-day exclusivity

provisions) commonly are filed outside Washington

D.C. Indeed, these out-of-circuit cases include some

23

of the most significant Hatch-Waxman cases that

have ever been litigated. See, e.g., Mylan Pharms.,

Inc. v. FDA, 454 F.3d 270 (4th Cir. 2006) (180-day

exclusivity); Apotex, Inc. v. Thompson, 347 F.3d 1335

(Fed. Cir. 2003) (Orange Book patent listings);

aaiPharma Inc. v. Thompson, 296 F.3d 227, 230 (4th

Cir. 2002) (same); Mylan Pharms., Inc. v. Thompson,

268 F.3d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (Orange Book patent

listings); Granutec, Inc. v. Shalala, Nos. 97-1873, 97-

1874, 1998 WL 153410 (4th Cir. Apr. 3, 1998) (180-

day exclusivity); Schering Corp. v. FDA, 51 F.3d 390

(3d Cir. 1995) (generic approval requirements); Dr.

Reddy’s Labs., 302 F. Supp. 2d at 340 (180-day

exclusivity); Mylan Pharms., Inc. v. Thompson, 207

F. Supp. 2d 476 (N.D. W.Va. 2001) (180-day

exclusivity).

That perhaps explains why FDA itself is

preparing to litigate these issues in_ other

jurisdictions. Indeed, as the Agency’s senior Hatch-

Waxman counsel recently explained, FDA expects

that the issues addressed in the losartan cases are

“likely to arise again soon in other courts.” Resp.

App. lla (emphasis added). There is thus no basis

for Apotex’s attempt to rule out the possibility of a

future circuit split.

Faced with these facts, Apotex ultimately resorts

to speculation. It hypothesizes that future first

applicants might be able to channel all 180-day

exclusivity cases to the D.C. courts before

subsequent applicants are “able to bring suit

elsewhere.” Pet. 27. But without belaboring the

point, such admittedly creative conjecture—which

even Apotex concedes rests on an “unclear” premise,

id.—hardly provides a basis for granting certiorari.

24

B. Apotex Exaggerates The Likelihood

That The Embedded Merits Issue Will

Recur.

Of course, the absence of a circuit split does not

automatically preclude review; this Court sometimes

takes cases that present particularly important

issues which are likely to recur. Apotex thus tries to

shoehorn its Petition into this narrow class of cases,

asserting that “billions of dollars” are at stake

because “[m]Jany more [cases] are coming down the

pike.” Pet. 24-25. Indeed, Apotex argues, it has

identified “27 patents for brand-name drugs ... for

which ... the challenged patent has been delisted or

allowed to expire.” Jd. at 25 (emphasis added).

That not only overstates the case; it highlights

yet another problem with the Petition. Despite

Apotex’s best efforts to challenge the D.C. Circuit's

original delisting decision (Pet. App. 3la-7la), this

Petition does not arise from ‘Teva's’ lawsuit

challenging the FDA’s Delisting Rule, and the

decision in that case is not before the Court. Instead,

this case arises from Apotex’s subsequent—

separate—lawsuit challenging FDA’s application of

the patent-expiry forfeiture trigger, and that’s the

only merits issue addressed in the appellate court’s

preliminary injunction decision, Pet. App. 2a-3a.

That matters, because as Apotex noted in the

district court (but tellingly declines to mention here),

only four of the “27 patents” it claims to be at issue

involve alleged patent expiry—and one of those is the

losartan patent at issue in this case. See Apotex

Reply to Opp. to Mot. for Prelim. Inj. at 8 & n.3

(D.D.C. Apr. 1, 2010). Thus, contrary to Apotex’s

suggestion that another 27 cases are likely to raise

25

the issue addressed by the appellate court, just 3

other cases implicate this issue—and one of them

appears to arise under the pre-MMA statute (and so

would not be controlled by a decision in this case).

Neither of the remaining two cases involves a

“blockbuster” drug, cf. Pet. 25, and even if they did,

the prospect that two future cases may (or,

depending on their unique facts, may not) give rise to

similar litigation is far too thin a reed on which to

ground certiorari.

IV. The D.C. Circuit’s Preliminary Analysis

Of The Merits Was Correct.

Finally, there is no need for this Court’s review

because the appellate court’s preliminary analysis of

the merits was correct. As three different panels of

the D.C. Circuit now have recognized, it upends both

law and logic to think that Congress created an

elaborate incentive scheme designed to encourage

generic companies to challenge dubious brand-name

patents, but simultaneously empowered the brand

companies who assert those dubious patents to

eviscerate that incentive scheme. Ranbaxy, 469 F.3d

at 126; Pet. App. 64a-66a; Pet. App. 2a-3a. In short,

because Apotex’s interpretation of the statute would

allow brand companies to manipulate the exclusivity

incentive despite the absence of any suggestion in

the text, history, or structure of the statute that

Congress intended to give brand companies that

power, the D.C. Circuit properly held that Apotex

was unlikely to prevail on the merits. Pet. App. 2a.

A. The MMA Did Not Abrogate Ranbaxy’s

Holding On Delisting.

Long before this case arose, the D.C. Circuit held

that the plain text and structure of the Hatch-

26

Waxman Act precluded FDA’s policy of acquiescing

in a brand manufacturer’s unilateral request to

delist a patent from the Orange Book following the

submission of an exclusivity-qualifying Paragraph IV

certification. As then-Chief Judge Ginsburg’s

opinion in Ranbaxy explained, “FDA’s policy allows

an NDA holder [to] diminish[] the incentive for a

manufacturer of generic drugs to challenge a patent

listed in the Orange Book.... FDA may not, however,

change the incentive structure adopted by the

Congress, for the agency is bound ‘not only by the

ultimate purposes Congress has selected, but by the

means it has deemed appropriate, and prescribed, for

the pursuit of those purposes.” Ranbaxy, 469 F.3d

at 126 (quoting MCI, 512 U.S. at 231 n.4).

Apotex did not challenge that holding in either

the original delisting case or its follow-on case

regarding patent expiry. And apart from a stray

footnote that would not be sufficient to raise the

issue here even if it were not waived below, Pet. 26

n.11, Apotex does not seriously contest that holding

now. Accordingly, as the D.C. Circuit recognized in

its original delisting decision, “[t]he real issue” is

whether the MMA “altered the statute’s incentive

structure to the point that Ranbaxy’s reasoning no

longer controls ....” Pet. App. 60a.

Apotex contends that that’s precisely what the

MMA did, and points to the statute’s new “forfeiture

triggers” for support. Pet. 29-32. Indeed, Apotex

claims that “[t]he D.C. Circuit gave no meaningful

consideration to that text.” Jd. at 29: see also id. at

30 (“[T]he D.C. Circuit ... ignored those clear textual

commands ....”). The court did no such thing.

" 27

To the contrary, its original delisting decision

began by addressing the MMA’s failure-to-market

forfeiture trigger head-on—and carefully explained

that the text of each of its subsections requires some

action by the generic applicant before it kicks in:

Setting aside the subsection at issue in this

cuse—|the delisting forfeiture trigger] codified

as (bb)(CC)—the “failure to market” forfeiture

provision does not permit a_ brand

manufacturer to vitiate a generic’s exclusivity

without the generic manufacturer’s having

had some say in the matter. No forfeiture can

take place unless the brand manufacturer

brings an infringement suit against the

generic and either loses on the merits or

enters an unfavorable settlement agreement.

The latter necessarily entails some

participation by the generic; the former

invariably involves significant expense for the

brand manufacturer, and_ affords’ the

victorious generic the opportunity to ask the

court to delay entering final judgment until a

date that would not trigger forfeiture

prematurely.

Pet. App. 6la-62a (discussing 21 U.S.C.

§ 355G)(5)(D)G@))).

Apotex nonetheless claims that the delisting

forfeiture trigger is different than the provisions to

which it is connected: “lhe MMA specifically

identified patent delisting as a ‘forfeiture event’ and

gave no indication that it would not apply if that

delisting was the result of ‘unilateral’ action by the

brand-name manufacturer.” Pet. 29. But the

appellate court carefully considered—and quite

28

properly rejected—that argument as well. As Judge

Williams explained, that trigger does apply if “the

patent targeted in a= paragraph-IV filing ‘is

withdrawn by the’ brand manufacturer.” Pet. App.

62a (quoting 21 U.S.C. § 355G9)(5)(D)@)()(bb)(CC)).

But that language says nothing about when brand

manufacturers are permitted to withdraw challenged

patents. As the appellate court then explained,

another provision of the statute helps answer that

question, and it makes clear that the delisting

trigger—just like the forfeiture provisions to which it

is lhnked—also requires action by the generic

applicant before it can be activated. /d. (discussing

21 U.S.C. § 355G)(5)(C) Gi) (1).

That key statutory provision, which Apotex

inexplicably omits from its statutory appendix, is

known as the “delisting counterclaim,” and it was

enacted at the same time Congress added the

delisting forfeiture trigger. See id. at 57a & n.4. As

the appellate court explained, “[t]he [MMA]

introduced a new procedure, a counterclaim in the

brand manufacturer’s patent infringement suit,

through which generic companies can force brand

companies to delist an improperly asserted patent.

This counterclaim provision is the only portion of the

statute that explicitly provides for the delisting of a

patent after it has been challenged in an ANDA.”

Id. at 57a (emphases added; citing 21 U.S.C.

§ 355g)(5)(C)(@)(D).

And reading the delisting forfeiture trigger tn

part materia with the delisting counterclaim

provision, see Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S.

239, 243 (1972)); construing the language of the

delisting forfeiture trigger in the context of the other

29

failure-to-market forfeiture provisions, see Gutierrez

v. Ada, 528 U.S. 250, 255, (2000) (“[WJords ... are

known by their companions.”); and interpreting these

provisions in light of “the whole statutory text,

considering the purpose and context of the statute,”

Dolan v. USPS, 546 U.S. 481, 486 (2006), the

appellate court explained that there is “not a single

cogent reason why Congress might have permitted

brand manufacturers to trigger subsection (CC) by

withdrawing a challenged patent, outside the

counterclaim scenario identified by Teva.” Pet. App.

62a (second emphasis added).

Given the .).C. Circuit’s meticulous analysis of

the Act’s interwoven text and structure, it is unclear

how Apotex possibly can assert that the appellate

court “gave no meaningful consideration to” the

statute’s language. Pet. 29. And with all due respect

to Apotex, it is not Judge Williams’s analysis of the

statute that “wholly misses the point.” Pet. 30. It is

Petitioner’s.

B. The D.C. Circuit Properly Resolved

The Patent Expiry Issue.

Against this backdrop, it is easy to see why

Judges Tatel, Griffith, and Kavanaugh concluded

that Apotex’s patent-expiry arguments warranted no

more than a two-page per curiam disposition. Pet.

App. 2a-3a. As FDA itself had concluded, Pet. App.

28a, the D.C. Circuit’s prior decision in the delisting

case foreclosed Apotex’s claim: If brand companies

cannot “unilaterally’ deprive the generic applicant of

its exclusivity [by] delisting” a challenged patent,

they cannot “unilaterally’ deprive the generic

applicant of its exclusivity” through the simple

artifice of ceasing to pay maintenance fees on such a

30

patent. Jd.at 27a-28a (quoting id.at 35a, 63a;

discussing 21 U.S.C. § 355g)(5)(D)G)(VI)).

Any other outcome would be absurd. It would

allow brand manufacturers to do through the back

door (not paying maintenance fees) precisely what

the statute bars them from doing through the front

door (delisting a patent), despite the lack of “a single

cogent reason why Congress might have permitted

brand manufacturers [to] unilaterally deprive the

generic of its exclusivity.” /d. at 62a (emphasis

original). FDA thus did not remotely err by reading

the patent expiry forfeiture trigger in the context of

the broader statute and pertinent caselaw. As the

appellate court explained, when “viewed in the

context of the statute’s incentive structure, it

becomes clear that Congress could not have intended

a brand manufacturer’s unilateral decision to cause

the premature expiration of a [challenged] patent ...

to strip the first generic applicant of the 180-day

[exclusivity] period.” Pet. App. 2a-3a (citing td. at

62a-64a); see also Dolan, 546 U.S. at 486

(“Interpretation of a word or phrase depends upon

reading the whole statutory text, considering the

purpose and context of the statute, and consulting

any precedents or authorities that inform the

analysis.”) (emphasis added).

Indeed, wholly apart from its consistency with the

D.C. Circuit’s original decision on delisting, there are

independent reasons for construing the patent-expiry

trigger to prevent this sort of backdoor manipulation

by brand manufacturers.

First, Hatch-Waxman’s other references to patent

expiration demonstrate that Congress was concerned

only with natural patent expiration. In particular,

3]

the statute requires Paragraph III certifications to

state, at the time certification is filed, “the date on

which [the listed] patent will expire.” 21 U.S.C.

§ 355()(2)(A)(vi) TID (emphasis added). But if brand

manufacturers can cause listed patents to “expire”

for Hatch-Waxman purposes by simply declining to

pay maintenance fees, Paragraph III would be

reduced to a guessing game: Because the brand

manufacturer could quit paying those fees at any

time, generic applicants could only speculate about

what date to list. By contrast, the only date that can

be stated with certainty is the date when the patent

is scheduled to expire naturally, and as Paragraph

III thus makes clear, that is the one that counts for

purposes of the Hatch-Waxman Act.

Second, unlike patents that expire naturally,

patents which “expire” for non-payment of

maintenance fees don’t actually die. Instead, they

can be revived—in some cases “at any time”—and

thereafter “shall be considered as not having

expired” at all. 35 U.S.C. § 41(c)(1). There simply is

no reason to think that Congress intended Hatch-

Waxman exclusivity to turn on a technical form of

patent expiry that may only be transient and

fleeting. Indeed, that interpretation of the statute is

doubly absurd. It not only would allow brand

companies to deliberately strip the first generic’s

exclusivity, but would allow them to do so negligently

as well. In particular, if the brand manufacturer

inadvertently misses a fee payment and the first

applicant is deemed to have forfeited exclusivity,

FDA could approve all ANDAs immediately—leaving

the first applicant without recourse if the patent

later is revived and thus treated “as not having

expired.” Jd. Congress could not possibly have

32

intended the patent-expiry trigger to produce such

an absurdity.

Finally, the underlying rationale for divesting the

first applicant of exclusivity based on patent

expiration does not remotely apply where a brand

manufacturer artificially pretermits a challenged

patent’s natural term. Long before the MMA was

enacted, FDA interpreted the statute to preclude

exclusivity after a patent’s natural expiration. See

Dr. Reddy’s, 302 F. Supp. 2d at 354-55. The basis for

that approach was simple. Paragraph IV challenges

are designed to help expedite generic competition,

Teva v. Leavitt, 548 F.3d at 106, but where the first

applicant fails to launch before the challenged patent

expires on its own, “there is no longer a need to

provide an incentive to challenge it.” Dr. Reddy’s,

302 F. Supp. 2d at 354. In other words, where a

Paragraph IV challenge accomplishes nothing, there

is nothing to reward.

By contrast, where a patent lapses not by the

mere passage of time, but rather (as here) because

the first applicant’s Paragraph IV certification

caused the patentee to abandon its patent, the

applicant’s challenge has accomplished precisely

what the statute rewards: It has opened the market

to competition years earlier than would have been

possible absent that challenge, and there is no

reason to think that Congress intended to deprive

generic applicants of their reward for achieving

precisely what Paragraph IV challenges are designed

to achieve.

Against this backdrop, it is clear that the patent-

expiry trigger simply codified FDA’s prior practice of

stripping exclusivity following a patent’s natural

33

expiration; there is no support in the text, structure,

or history of the MMA for any otlrer interpretation,

as the D.C. Circuit’s decision in this case recognized.

Pet. App. 3a (“Congress could not have intended a

brand manufacturer’s unilateral decision to cause

the premature expiration of a patent (in the face of a

generic applicant’s challenge to the patent in a

paragraph IV certification) to strip the first generic

applicant of the 180-day period of marketing

exclusivity.”).

C. The D.C. Circuit’s Decision Is Consistent

With The Statute’s Purposes.

Finally, Apotex asserts that awarding exclusivity

under these circumstances harms consumers, and

indeed that it only serves the brand manufacturer’s

interests. Pet. 32-34. Nothing could be further from

the truth. As the D.C. Circuit repeatedly has

explained, the Hatch-Waxman Act’s’ 180-day

exclusivity incentive exists to encourage generic

companies to challenge bogus patents as quickly as

possible; without that incentive, fewer patent

challenges will be filed, and those that are filed will

not be filed as fast. E.g., Pet. App. 63a-64a.

Apotex does not deny that reality, but seeks to

downplay it by asserting that “any discouraging

effect such action might have on_- generic

manufacturers would be, at best, indirect and

delayed.” Pet. 33. That assertion is at odds with the

reality of this business. Like every other company,

Teva has a limited budget—and every day it must

make decisions about how to use its limited

resources. So when the company is comparing two

potential patent challenges head-to-head, a_ key

question 1s which of those two opportunities is most

34

likely to yield exclusivity. After all, that reward “is

valuable, designed to compensate manufacturers for

research and development costs as well as the risk of

litigation.” Teva v. Leavitt, 548 F.3d at 104. But if

the company’s analysis reveals that one of the

patents at issue is held by a serial patent delister (as

the record demonstrates to be the case here), the

economics would change dramatically under Apotex’s

interpretation of the statute; as the D.C. Circuit long

ago recognized, and with some understatement,

“reducing the certainty of receiving a period of

marketing exclusivity ... diminishes the incentive for

a manufacturer of generic drugs to challenge a

patent.” Ranbaxy, 469 F.3d at 126.

Far from being “indirect and delayed,” Pet. 33,

the impact of Apotex’s proposed interpretation would

be felt every day, in virtually every ANDA filing

decision—at least at any rational company. And

make no mistake: Those consequences would have a

significant adverse impact on the public’s health and

welfare over the long-run. As the D.C. Circuit once

again explained in its original delisting decision:

The statute’s grant of a 180-day delay in

multiple generic competition for the first

successful paragraph IV filer is a_ pro-

consumer device. And it happens to be

precisely the device Congress has chosen to

induce challenges to patents claimed to

support brand drugs. The statute thus

deliberately sacrifices the benefits of full

generic competition at the first chance allowed

by the brand manufacturer’s patents, in favor

of the benefits of earlier generic competition,

brought about by the promise of a reward for

35

generics that stick out their necks (at the

potential cost of a patent infringement suit) by

claiming that patent law does not extend the

brand maker’s monopoly as long as the brand

maker has asserted. As Congress deliberately

created the 180-day exclusivity bonus, the

FDA cannot justify its interpretation by

proudly proclaiming that it has eviscerated

that bonus.

Pet. App. 64a.

Teva thus earned its exclusivity here. It made

enormous investments to both design around and

mount a legal challenge to Merck’s patent, all in the

hopes of securing exclusivity and launching its

products early. That effort resulted in a Paragraph

IV certification so powerful that Merck simply gave

up—first by delisting that patent, and then by

ceasing to pay maintenance fees on a patent that

Teva’s Paragraph IV certification had rendered

worthless.

Teva's Paragraph IV certification thereby cleared

the path for generic competition to begin on these

$1.5-billion-per-year drugs four years earlier than it

would have if Teva had not challenged that patent—

and thus will save consumers literally billions of

dollars between April 6, 2010 (when Teva launched)

and September 4, 2014 (when generics could have

launched in the absence of a Paragraph IV

challenge). ‘There is no basis for thinking that

Congress intended to let Merck punish Teva for

delivering those savings to the public, and the D.C.

Circuit thus properly affirmed the district court’s

decision denying Apotex’s motion for preliminary

injunctive relief.

36

CONCLUSION

Kor the foregoing reasons, the Petition should be

denied.

JAY P. LEFKOWITZ, P.C MICHAEL D. SHUMSKY

KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP Counsel of Record

153 East 53rd Street AARON L. NIELSON

New York, NY 10022 KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

(212) 446-4800 655 Fifteenth St., N.W

jay.lefkowitz@kirkland.com Washington, DC 20005

(202) 879-5000

mshumsky@kirkland.com

anielson@kirkland.com

APPENDIX

APPENDIX CONTENTS

35 USC S Li(c)(d)

Response O)] Apotex, Inc. ‘To Show Cause Orde

(D.D.C. Oct. 18, 2010)

David Belian, FDA Expects More Litigation O

Generic Exclusivity, GENERIC LINI

Oct. 27, 2010

21 U.S.C. § 355(j)(5)(C)

(C) Civil action to obtain patent certainty.

G) Declaratory judgment absent infringement

action.

(I) In general. No action may be brought

under section 2201 of title 28 by an applicant

under paragraph (2) for a declaratory judgment

with respect to a patent which is the subject of

the certification referred to in subparagraph

(B)(iii) unless—

(aa) the 45-day period referred to in such

subparagraph has expired;

(bb) neither the owner of such patent nor

the holder of the approved application under

subsection (b) of this section for the drug that

is claimed by the patent or a use of which is

claimed by the patent brought a civil action

against the applicant for infringement of the

patent before the expiration of such period;

and

(cc) in any case in which the _ notice

provided under paragraph (2)(B) relates to

noninfringement, the notice was accompanied

by a document described in subclause (III).

(I) Filing of civil action. If the conditions

described in items (aa), (bb), and as applicable,

(cc) of subclause (I) have been met, the applicant

referred to in such subclause may, in accordance

with section 2201 of title 28, bring a civil action

under such section against the owner or holder

referred to in such subclause (but not against any

owner or holder that has brought such a civil

action against the applicant, unless that civil

2a

action was dismissed without prejudice) for a

declaratory judgment that the patent is invalid or

will not be infringed by the drug for which the

applicant seeks approval, except that such civil

action may be brought for a declaratory judgment

that the patent will not be infringed only in a case

in which the condition described in subclause

(I)(ec) is applicable. A civil action referred to in

this subclause shall be brought in the judicial

district where the defendant has its principal

place of business or a regular and established

place of business.

(III) Offer of confidential access to application.

For purposes of subclause (I)(cc), the document

described in this subclause is a document

providing an offer of confidential access to the

application that is in the custody of the applicant

under paragraph (2) for the purpose. of

determining whether an action referred to in

subparagraph (B)(ilil) should be brought. The

document providing the offer of confidential

access shall contain such restrictions as_ to

persons entitled to access, and on the use and

disposition of any information accessed, as would

apply had a protective order been entered for the

purpose of protecting trade secrets and other

confidential business information. A request for

access to an application under an offer of

confidential access shall be considered acceptance

of the offer of confidential access with the

restrictions as to persons entitled to access, and

on the use and disposition of any information

accessed, contained in the offer of confidential

access, and those restrictions and other terms of

the offer of confidential access shall be considered

3a

terms of an enforceable contract. Any person

provided an offer of confidential access shall

review the application for the sole and limited

purpose of evaluating possible infringement of the

patent that is the subject of the certification

under paragraph (2)(A)(vii)(IV) and for no other

purpose, and may not disclose information of no

relevance to any issue of patent infringement to

any person other than a person provided an offer

of confidential access. Further, the application

may be redacted by the applicant to remove any

information of no relevance to any issue of patent

infringement.

(i) Counterclaim to infringement action.

(1) In general. If an owner of the patent or the

holder of the approved application under

subsection (b) of this section for the drug that is

claimed by the patent or a use of which is claimed

by the patent brings a patent infringement action

against the applicant, the applicant may assert a

counterclaim seeking an order requiring the

holder to correct or delete the patent information

submitted by the holder under subsection (b) or

(c) of this section on the ground that the patent

does not claim either

(aa) the drug for which the application was

approved; or

(bb) an approved method of using the drug.

(II) No independent cause of action. Subclause

(I) does not authorize the assertion of a claim

described in subclause (I) in any civil action or

proceeding other than a counterclaim described in

subclause (I).

1a

Gn) No damages. An applicant shall not be

entitled to damages 1n a civil action under clause

(i) or a counterclaim under clause (11)

35 U.S.C. § 41(c)

(c)

(1) The Director may accept the payment of any

maintenance fee required by subsection (b) of

this section which is made within twenty-four

months after the six-month grace period if the

delay is shown to the satisfaction of the Director

to have been unintentional, or at any time after

the six-month grace period if the delay is shown

to the satisfaction of the Director to have been

unavoidable. The Director may require the

payment of a surcharge as a condition of

accepting payment of any maintenance fee after

the six-month grace period. If the Director

accepts payment of a maintenance fee after the

six-month grace period, the patent shall be

considered as not having expired at the end of

the grace period.

(2) A patent, the term of which has been

maintained as a result of the acceptance of a

payment of a maintenance fee under this

subsection, shall not abridge or affect the right

of any person or that person’s successors in

business who made, purchased, offered to sell,

or used anything protected by the patent within

the United States, or imported enything

protected by the patent into the United States

after the 6-month grace period but prior to the

acceptance of a maintenance fee under this

subsection, to continue the use of, to offer for

sale, or to sell to others to be used, offered for

sale, or sold, the specific thing so made,

purchased, offered for sale, used, or imported.

The court before which such matter is in

6a

question may provide for the continued

manufacture, use, offer for sale, or sale of the

thing made, purchased, offered for sale, or used

within the United States, or imported into the

United States, as specified, or tor’ the

manufacture, use, offer for sale, or sale in the

United States of which substantial preparation

was made after the 6-month grace period but

before the acceptance of a maintenance fee

under this subsection, and the court may also

provide for the continued practice of any process

that is practiced, or for the practice of which

substantial preparation was made, after the 6-

month grace period but before the acceptance of

a maintenance fee under this subsection, to the

extent and under such terms as the court deems

equitable for the protection of investments made

or business commenced after the 6-month grace

period but before the acceptance of a

maintenance fee under this subsection.

7a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

APOTEX, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v.

KATHLEEN SEBELIUS et ai.,

Defendants.

Case No. 1:10-cv-00517-RMC

RESPONSE OF APOTEX, INC. TO SHOW

CAUSE ORDER

On September 27, 2010, this Court issued an

Order requiring Apotex, Inc. (“Apotex”) to show

cause why this case should not be dismissed for

failure to state a claim. Apotex respectfully requests

that the Court continue to stay the proceedings in

this case for an additional limited period of time in

order to allow the Supreme Court to consider the

petition for writ of certiorari filed by Apotex on

October 4, 2010.

As this Court is aware, in this case Apotex

challenged the Food and Drug Admuiunistration’s

(“FDA”) determination that the decision in Teva _v.

Sebelius, 595 F.3d 1303 (D.C. Cir. 2010), precluded

the forfeiture of exclusivity based on _ unilateral

action by the brand-name manufacturer resulting in

the expiration of a patent. This Court affirmed

FDA’s conclusion that Teva was entitled to

Sa

exclusivity for its ANDAs referencing Cozaar or

Hyzaar. Apotex appealed and filed an emergency

motion to stay the commencement of Teva’s

exclusivity period. The Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia denied Apotex’s motion and, on

July 6, 2010, issued a per curiam judgment affirming

this Court’s decision. The mandate was filed in this

Court on September 2, 2010. On October 4, 2010,

Apotex filed a petition for writ of certiorari in the

Supreme Court from the decision of the Court of

Appeals, docketed as Apotex, Inc. v. Kathleen

Sebelius, et al., No. 10-453. A copy of the petition is

attached. A response to the petition currently is due

on November 4, 2010.

In the event the petition is granted, the Supreme

Court would be expected to address the merits of

FDA’s interpretation of the Hatch-Waxman

forfeiture provisions. Should the petition not be

granted, Apotex will then consider whether to

dismiss the case, thereby rendering further

proceedings unnecessary. Apotex’s counsel will

notify the Court promptly of any action taken by the

Supreme Court.

For these reasons, Apotex respectfully requests

that the Court stay further proceedings in this case

pending consideration of Apotex’s petition for

certiorari.

9a

Date: October 18, 2010 Respectfully submitted

Carmen M. Shepard

D.C. Bar No. 331314

Kate C. Beardsley

D.C. Bar No. 416806

Buc & Beardsley, LLP

919 18th Street, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 736-3600

Counsel for Apotex, Inc.

10a

FDA NEWS

Generic Line

Oct. 27, 2010 | Vol. 27 No. 21

FDA Expects More Litigation Over Generic

Exclusivity

A senior FDA attorney has admitted that Teva’s

successful challenge of the agency’s policy for

withdrawing a_generic-drug maker’s’ exclusivity

period caught the FDA off-guard and predicted the

issue is almost certain to come up again.

The case in question took place earlier this year

when the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit overturned FDA precedent and

ruled that any unilateral action by a brand-drug

maker, such as delisting a patent or letting it expire,

cannot be used as a means for canceling a generic-

drug maker’s 180-day exclusivity period.

FDA Precedent

Teva had brought the case against the FDA in an

attempt to stop the agency from withdrawing its

exclusivity on generic versions of Merck’s

hypertension drugs Cozaar (losartan potassium) and

Hyzaar (hydrochlorothiazide/losartan potassium)

(Generic Line, March 17).

Prior to that ruling, the FDA had interpreted the

Medicare Modernization Act (MMA), which contains

the regulations for withdrawing an_ exclusivity

period, as stating that patent delisting or expiration

were valid reasons a generic-drug maker could lose

its exclusivity.

While the agency said it disagreed with the

appellate court’s ruling, it nonetheless approved

lla

Teva’s exclusivity, saying the court’s interpretation

of the MMA gave it no choice (Generic Line, March

31).

Since that time, numerous companies have

questioned the FDA about the decision and the

agency feels it is likely to arise again soon in other

courts, Elizabeth Dickinson, senior counsel in the

FDA’s Office of Chief Counsel, said this month at the

Generic Pharmaceutical Association/FDA Fall

Technical Conference in Bethesda, Md.

“The outcome of that case was something that

surprised FDA,” Dickinson said. “It severely

constrained our decisionmaking on any exclusivity

that appeared to be within the control of the

innovator company.”

The first place the issue may arise again could be

the Supreme Court. Despite Teva’s exclusivity on

the drugs having already expired, generic-drug

maker Apotex is appealing the case to the Supreme

Court, saying that how exclusivity is awarded in all

future cases is at stake (Generic Line, Oct. 13).

“If left undisturbed, the decision will benefit

brand-name manufacturers, who want nothing more

than to see a first applicant win exclusivity and

thereby delay full-scale competition with multiple

generic manufacturers,” Apotex says in its petition

for a writ of certiorari filed earlier this month. “It

will also richly reward the generic manufacturer who

wins a race to file a Paragraph IV certification but is

unable promptly to bring the generic drug to

market.” — David Belian

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.