Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Life Settlement Corp. v. Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd's

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court. 1's

A (() FITeEn

\y 10-168 UG C2?

No. 10-

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

LIFE SETTLEMENT CORPORATION

Vb/a PEACHTREE LIFE SETTLEMENTS,

Petitioner

GOSHAWK DEDICATED LIMITED AND KITE

DEDICATED LIMITED F/K/A GOSHAWK DEDICATED

(NO. 2), AS MEMBERS OF SYNDICATE 102

AT LLOYD'S,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

Court OF APPEALS OF NEW YORK

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Jesus E. Cuza ELLIOT H. SCHERKER

INA M. BERLINGERI Counsel of Record

GREENBERG TRAURIG, PA. JULISSA RODRIGUEZ

401 East Las Olas Blvd. GREENBERG TRAURIG, PA.

Suite 2000 1221 Brickell Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 Miami, FL 33131

(954) 765-0500 (305) 579-0500

ScherkerE@egtlaw.com

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Who determines whether an arbitration

agreement is valid and enforceable when, as a result of

Hall Street Associates, LLC v. Mattel, Inc., 552 U.S.

576 (2008), a party has been deprived of its right to

judicial review for errors of law under a contractual

provision without which that party would not have

assented to arbitration, the courts or the arbitrators?

2. Who decides, in light of Sections 2 and 4 of the

Federal Arbitration Act, if a party has failed to comply

with an obligation that the parties agreed was a

condition precedent to arbitration, the courts or the

arbitrators?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner, who was the appellant below, is Life

Settlement Corporation d/b/a Peachtree Life

Settlements.

Respondents, who were the appellees below, are

Goshawk Dedicated Limited and Kite Dedicated

Limited f/k/a Goshawk Dedicated (No. 2), as Members

of Syndicate 102 at Lloyd's.

Life Settlement Corporation is wholly owned by

Peach Holdings, LLC, which in turn is wholly owned by

Peach Holdings, Inc., which in turn is wholly owned by

Orchard Acquisition Company, which in turn is wholly

owned by Peach Group Holdings, Ine.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING .......... i

TABU OF COR TGINEO: cic viersu sees ssuenas lil

TABLE OF APPENUSUES oes ses ees cses ese vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................. Viil

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI .... I

OPINIONS Bila on < acc iscnvstossaeeees l

FEIT SET Ty EN, bk ewe ee as 2

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS ............ 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............... 3

A, THE COl CONTRACTS ssissctles 3

B. LLOYD'S FAILS TO COMPLY WITH

THE CONDITION PRECEDENT TO

ACE ECE: 600 a eR ooo ee eee

C. PEACHTREE CHALLENGES THE

VALIDITY AND ENFORCEABILITY

OF THE ARBITRATION PROVISION

S22 )e ss SS 6. Owe OSS Ole S64 S 6 ee ee eee es ef OS ee eS ee

COoOnrents

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE

THE NEW YORK COURT OF

APPEALS’ DECISION ESTABLISHES

PRECEDENT THAT CONFLICTS

WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS

AND MISINTERPRETS FEDERAL

PSR ER a Pont i TR he ss Aare

A. SUBSTANTIVE FEDERAL

Mid tg 29 l )e P. || Seeee

1. ARBITRATION IS A MATTER

ee Ree ee i an ve eae

2. UNDER THE FAA, IT IS FOR

THE COURTS TO

DETERMINE WHETHER AN

ARBITRATION AGREEMENT

ORL TP | 0 Spee ea ea

B. PEACHTREE HAS CHALL

ENGED THE VALIDITY AND

KENFORCEABILITY OF THE

ARBITRATION PROVISION

CONTAINED IN THE CCl

CNae SPR Bee es ae ee eens eee

Page

LS

Contents

C. THE DECISION OF THE NEW

YORK COURT OF APPEALS IS

CONTRARY TO THE FAA AND

THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS ..

l.

THE COURT OF APPEALS’

EIU UPREERIE Co-ed os abso eee e es

BECAUSE PEACHTREE HAS

CHALLENGED THE

VALIDITY AND ENFORCE-

ABILITY OF THE PARTI-

CULAR ARBITRATION

PROVISION AT ISSUE, IT IS

FOR THE COURTS TO

DECIDE THAT THRESHOLD

QUESTION 6.06.05 ccxcideesss

THE PARTIES DID NOT

COMMIT THE THRESHOLD

QUESTION OF VALIDITY

AND ENFORCEABILITY TO

Pik ogo. 4g mere

CONCLUDING STATEMENTS

REGARDING THE DECISION

Ol THE COURT OF

Be eee oi a wee

Page

20

vi

Contents

REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE

THERE IS A QUESTION OF

FEDERAL LAW THAT HAS NOT

BEEN, BUT SHOULD BE, SETTLED

OY THe COUNT ooo. esccccecciesaec,

A. UNDER HALL STREET, PARTIES

ARE PRECLUDED FROM

CONTRACTING OUT OF THE

EXPRESS TERMS OF THE FAA ..

B. IT IS UNSETTLED BY THIS

COURT WHETHER ISSUES

INVOLVING COMPLIANCE WITH

A CONDITION PRECEDENT CAN

BE DECIDED BY THE

ARBITRATORS IN LIGHT OF THE

CLEAR TEXT OF SECTIONS 2

Pi ty 0) ge tog YT,

C. UNDER SECTIONS 2 AND 4 OF

THE FAA, THE DETERMINATION

OF WHETHER LLOYD’S HAS

COMPLIED WITH A CONDITION

PRECEDENT TO ARBITRATION

iS POR 6G COURIS ..ccuscears

NEDO 5.0544 sG 64k Gane a ee edd Odea ees

Page

23

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The Court Of Appeals

Of New York Dated May 4, 2010 ............

Appendix B — Opinion Of The Supreme Court,

Appellate Division, First Department, New

York Dated October 13, 2009 ...............

Appendix C — Order Of The Supreme Court,

Appellate Division, First Department, New

York Dated December 22, 2009 .............

Appendix D Opinion Of The

Supreme Court Of The State Of New York,

County Of New York, Commercial Division

Dated September 19, 2008 And Filed

COIOT BO, Be o.vc cs uc sive vs un vdewine

Appendix FE — Order Of The Court Of Appeals

Of New York Dated July 1, 2010 ............

Appendix F — Relevant Statutes .............

3a

17a

ola

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Federal Cases

3M Co. v. Amtex Sec., Inc.,

542 F.3d 1193 (8th Cir. 2008) ............... 26

Cap Gemini Ernst & Young, US, LLC v. Nackel,

346 F.3d 360 (2d Cir. 2008) ................. 9,10

Contec Corp. v. Remote Solution Co., Lid.,

398 F.3d 205 (2d Cir. 2005) ................. 9,10

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn,

SED UB BD CIP | odin Ci oes ease sane 2

Granite Rock Co.

v. Int'l Brotherhood of Teamsters,

__§. Ct. , 2010 WL 2518518 (June 24, 2010)

PP er Se ee ere en Pee: 14, 21, 22

Hall Street Associates, LLC v. Mattel, Inc.,

GRE 1.8. Be Ge) oss oven devas passim

HIM Portland, LLC v. DeVito Builders, Inc.,

SIT F.36 AF 12" Cle Bee) oss dienes eee 26

Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,

Bae 3.5. Fe CD oh cs oboe ee ee eee 27, 28

John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston,

576 U.S. GOS GGG) cs ck cave dsetesosnseeeees 27

LX

Authorities

Kemiron Atl., Inc. v. Aguakem Int'l Inc.,

Be Wed BO? CAE” CAP, JOUR) onc scccccccess 26

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc.,

ccc c cc ce cece ccccce 14, 22, 26

Moses H. Cone Mem’ Hosp.

v. Mercury Constr. Corp.,

EE ss case nscceseseccecccces 14

Nichols v. Washington Mut. Bank,

2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 85936

Ss § rr 10

Perdue Farms, Inc.

v. Design Build Contracting Corp.,

263 Fed. Appx. 380, 2008 WL 345430

ieee cece wc cc scsccccsee 26

Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg.,

ES passim

Rent-A-Center, West, Inc. v. Jackson,

__§.Ct. _, 2010 WL 2471058

ctw ca cc sss cece nce PASSiM

Southland Corp. v. Keating,

465 U.S. 1 (1984) 2

Stolt-Nielsen S.A. v. Animalfeeds Int’l Corp.,

er 14, 22

Authorities

State Cases

Life Receivables Trust

v. Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s,

14 N.Y.3d 850, = N.E.2d_,_

N.Y.S.2d (N.Y. May 4, 2010) ..............

Life Receivables Trust

v. Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s,

2008 WL 4461446, 2008 N.Y. Slip Op. 32626(U)

(N.Y. Sup. Sept. 30, 2008) ..................

Life Receivables Trust

v. Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s,

66 A.D.3d 495, 888 N.Y.S.2d 458

(IN, Rodacks. BUG GOUG, D 6 vc cscs eteuansaens

Matter of Arbitration Between County of

Rockland and Primiano Construction Co.,

Si We. Gee © CRD 6. 020 ba sie cckcet crete

Federal Statutes

SER Re 2 | ee rer re Ae

Page

)

Ka

BR tee > Greer Tree ee re re NS passim

BP ae y ee rere ee rer rey war passim

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Life Settlement Corporation d/b/a

Peachtree Life Settlements (Peachtree) respectfully

requests the Court to grant its Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari to review the decision of the New York Court

of Appeals.

OPINIONS BELOW

‘The Memorandum Decision of the New York Court

of Appeals, issued on May 4, 2010, appears at Appendix

(“App.”) A to this Petition at la to 2a and is reported at

Life Receivables Trust v. Goshawk Syndicate 102 at

Lloyd’s, 14 N.Y.8d 850, N.i.2d _ , N.Y.S.2d _

(N.Y. May 4, 2010). The New York Court of Appeals’

denial of reargument, which is unpublished, appears at

App. IE at 29a to 30a.

The October 13, 2009 order of the New York

Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department,

affirming the trial court’s denial of a stay of arbitration,

appears at App. B at 3a to 16a and is reported at Life

Receivables Trust v. Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s,

66 A.D.3d 495, 88% N.Y.S.2d 458 (N.Y.A.D. Ist Dept.

2009). The Appellate Division’s December 22, 2009 order

granting Peachtree leave to appeal is unpublished and

appears at App. C at 17a to 18a. The September 30,

2008 order of the New York Supreme Court, County of

New York, Commercial Division appears at App. D at

19a to 28a and is reported in Life Receivables Trust v.

Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s, 2008 WI. 4461446,

2008 N.Y. Slip Op. 32626(U) (N.Y. Sup. Sept. 30, 2008).

JURISDICTION

The New York Court of Appeals affirmed the

supreme Court of New York, Appellate Division, First

Department's order denying a request to stay

arbitration on May 4, 2010, App. A. On July 1, 2010, the

Court of Appeals denied Peachtree’s request for

reargument. App. Kk. This Court has jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)

CONSTIPUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS

ection Z of the kederal Arbitration Act, 9 |

2, provide

\ written provision in any maritime

Lransaction or a contract evidencing a

transaction involving commerce to settle by

arbitration a controversy thereafter arising

out of such contract or transaction, or the

refusal to perform the whole or any part

thereof, or an ayreement in writing to submit

Lo arbitration an existing controversy arising

out of such a contract, transaction, or refusal

hall be valid, irrevocable, and enforceabl

ave upon such vrounds as exist at law or in

equity for the revocation of any contract

Aithe vn Une I r} { il ( [>] i te on |

ntemplates further proceeding this Court ha Irisdictior

Lo review the court judgement ee, @.Q outhland Corp

Keating 165 | | 6-¢ (1 ORA): Cr Broadcasting Cor ('y)/

120 | 169 1ib-? i)

3

oO

Section 4 of the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C.

§ 4, provides in pertinent part:

The court shall hear the parties, and upon

being satisfied that the making of the

agreement for arbitration or the failure to

comply therewith is not in issue, the court shall

make an order directing the parties to proceed

to arbitration in accordance with the terms of

the agreement... . If the making of the

arbitration agreement or the failure, neglect,

or refusal to perform the same be in issue, the

eourt shall proceed summarily to the trial

thereof.

App. F at 32a-33a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. THE CCI CONTRACTS

This case concerns a request to enjoin certain

arbitrations, involving disputes relating to four

contingency cost insurance policies (the “CCI

Contracts”). Respondents Goshawk Dedicated Limited

and Kite Dedicated Limited f/k/a Goshawk Dedicated

(No. 2), as Members of Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s

(collectively, “Lloyd’s”),? submitted the disputes to

* In the complaint, Lloyd’s was originally named “Goshawk

Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s.” Recently, the New York Supreme

Court amended the caption to reflect Lloyd’s name as “Goshawk

Dedicated Limited and Kite Dedicated Limited f/k/a Goshawk

Dedicated (No. 2), as Members of Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s.”

arbitration, pursuant to an arbitration provision

included in the CCI Contracts. (A-333)3 Under the CCI

Contracts, Life Receivables Trust (“LRT”), the original

plaintiff in the underlying state-court proceedings,‘ is

the assured, Lloyd’s is the insurance underwriter, and

Peachtree is the originator and servicer of the life

insurance policies covered by the CCI Contracts. (A-377,

407-487)

The CCI Contracts contains one (and enly one)

arbitration provision,” which submits “all disputes and

differences arising under or in connection with [the CCI

* The briefs and letters filed before the Court of Appeals

and the briefs filed before the Appellate Division make

reference to the documents included in the joint appendix that

the parties submitted with the Appellate Division, as “A-__.” To

be consistent, this brief includes the same designations that

were used below.

* LRT was the original plaintiff in the underlying state

case and one of two appellants in the appeal filed before the

Appellate Division. LRT, however, did ne? appeal to the Court

of Appeals. Shortly after Peachtree appealed before the Court

of Appeals, LRT and Lloyd’s entered into a settlement

agreement, as a result of which LRT was removed as a party to

this action. The case now continues between Peachtree and

Lloyd’s sub nom Life Settlement Corporation v. Goshawk

Dedicated Limited and Kite Dedicated Limited f/k/a Goshawk

Dedicated (No. 2), as Members of Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s.

® In another section of the CCI Contracts, the parties are

instructed to refer claims in dispute to arbitration. Under that

section, claims must be resolved pursuant to the arbitration

provision that is the subject matter of this petition. (A-382, 411,

456, and 492) That section also imposes a condition precedent

to arbitration, as discussed in more detail below. /d.

5

Contracts] to arbitration under the American

Arbitration Association Rules.” (A-399, 428, 473, 509)

The parties further agreed that “[t]he Arbitration

Tribunal may in its sole discretion make such orders and

directions as it considers to be necessary for the final

determination of the matters in dispute,” conditioned

on the parties retaining “the right to appeal errors of

law to a court of law.” (A-399, 428, 473, 509) Importantly,

nowhere in the CCI Contracts do the parties include a

provision submitting to arbitration disputes regarding

the determination of the validity or enforceability of the

agreement to arbitrate.

As shown by the following language, Lloyd’s “sole

and exclusive remedy” under the CCI Contracts is to

seek indemnification against Peachtree after (and only

after) Lloyd’s has paid a claim to LRT:

Sole Remedy. Paragraph 3 of this section sets

forth the sole and exclusive remedy of

| Lloyd’s] for losses arising out of, in relation

to or in connection with any and all (i) breaches

of or inaccuracies in any representations,

warranties, certifications or statements made

by [LRT], [Peachtree] or the Back-Up

Servicer or their respective affiliates or their

respective directors, members, agents,

employees or representatives in this

[Insurance or in any Coverage Certification,

monthly bordereaux, Claim Certification or

other notice, certificate, report or other

document delivered pursuant to or in

connection with this Insurance, (ii) instances

of fraud or misrepresentation committed by

>

{

)

[LRT], [Peachtree] or the Bacn- Up § ervicer

or their respective affiliates or their respective

directors, members, agents, employees or

representatives in connection with this

Insurance, (iii) breaches of any covenants or

agreements of [LRT], [Peachtree], the Back-

Up Servicer or any other person or entity in

this Insurance or the Servicing Agreement

or any other agreement or instrument or of

any legal requirement, or (iv) any other

matter covered in paragraph 2 of this section.

(A-394, 423, 468 and 504) (Emphasis added.)

The mentioned paragraph 3

states that:

[Peachtree] agree[s] to indemnify [Lloyd’s]}

against losses in respect of any Qualified Life

Insurance Policy as to which [Lloyd’s/]

make[s] payment to the extent such losses

result from the breach by [Peachtree] of

specified representations, warranties,

covenants or provisions herein that materially

and adversely affect the amounts realized as

proceeds of the Qualified Life Insurance

Policy.

(A-393, 422, 467 and 503) (Emphasis added.)

circumstances .

establishing Lloyd’s

“sole and exclusive remedy” under the CCI Contracts—

Significantly, Lloyd’s agreed “that under no

. shall [Lloyd’s] be entitled to submit

any dispute as to [Lloyd’s] obligation to pay a Claim

7

under [the CCI Contracts] to arbitration prior to

payment of such Claim.” (A-882, 411, 456, and 492)

(Emphasis added.)°

B. LLOYD’S FAILS TO COMPLY WITH THE

CONDITION PRECEDENT TO ARBITRATION

Even though the parties limited the disputes that

Lloyd’s could arbitrate and expressly agreed “that

under no circumstances” Lloyd’s could arbitrate those

disputes unless Lloyd’s first paid a claim to LRT, Lloyd’s

failed to pay any claim under the CCI Contracts. (A-375

1 24) By doing so, Lloyd’s failed to satisfy a condition

precedent to arbitration under the CCI Contracts, in

essence foreing arbitration to which the parties

categorically did not agree.

C. PEACHTREE CHALLENGES THE VALIDITY

AND ENFORCEABILITY OF THE

ARBITRATION PROVISION

Peachtree claims that the arbitration provision in

the CCI Contracts was rendered invalid and

unenforceable as a matter of law, in light of this Court’s

decision in Hall Street Associates, LLC v. Mattel, Inc.,

552 U.S. 576 (2008), which holds that the Federal

Arbitration Act (FAA) prohibits parties to expand by

agreement the scope of judicial review beyond that

authorized by the FAA.’ Specifically, Peachtree argues

* There are some exceptions to that provision, none of which

are pertinent to these proceedings. (A-382, 411, 456, and 492)

’ See, e.g., appellate brief filed by Peachtree before the

Appellate Division, at pp. 19-29, reply brief filed by Peachtree

before the same court, at pp. 14-26. It is noteworthy that,

(Cont'd)

8

that, because in the arbitration agreement the parties

expanded the seope of review beyond the grounds

enumerated in the FAA, and because that standard-of-

review provision cannot be severed from the rest of the

arbitration provision as a matter of state law, the

arbitration agreement is not valid. /d.°

On April 24, 2008, LRT moved to enjoin the pending

arbitration proceedings to which LRT was a party.

Peachtree filed a response on May 21, 2008, also

requesting a stay of the arbitrations. In a supporting

affidavit, Peachtree’s Chief Executive Officer attested

that Peachtree had initially rejected a proposed

arbitration clause because that clause did not provide

for the right to judicial review of legal errors in an

arbitral decision. Peachtree’s Chief Executive Officer

also declared that, but for the ultimate inclusion of the

judicial review provision, Peachtree would not have

agreed to arbitration. (A-565-6) No one with knowledge

refuted that declaration, which remained undisputed in

the record. (A-757-8)

The trial court issued an order on September 19,

2008, denying the request to enjoin the arbitrations.

(App. D) The court ruled that the validity and

enforceability of the arbitration agreement are for the

(Cont'd)

pursuant to Rule 500.11 of the Rules of Practice of the New

York Court of Appeals, Peachtree’s appeal to that court was

decided on the submissions made with the Appellate Division.

(App. A, at 2a)

5’ Among other things, Peachtree also argued that Lloyd’s

had failed to comply with a condition precedent to arbitration.

9

arbitrators to decide, because the CCI Contracts

provide that disputes arising out from contracts are to

be referred to arbitration under the AAA Rules—under

which rules arbitrators have the power to determine “the

existence, scope or validity” of arbitration agreements.

(App. D, at 24a) Relying on Contec Corp. v. Remote

Solution Co., Ltd., 398 F.3d 205 (2d Cir. 2005), the court

concluded that “[w]here, as here, the parties explicitly

incorporate rules that empower an arbitrator to decide

issues of arbitrability, that incorporation constitutes

clear and unmistakable evidence that arbitrability is to

be decided by the arbitrators.” (App. D, at 24a)

Relying on Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin

Mfg., 388 U.S. 395, 403-04 (1967), and Cap Gemini Ernst

& Young, US, LLC v. Nackel, 346 F.3d 360, 365 (2d Cir.

2003), Peachtree appealed the trial court’s order,

reiterating that the threshold questions of the

arbitration agreement’s validity and enforceability is for

the court, not the arbitrators, to decide. See Peachtree’s

Appellate Brief and Peachtree’s Motion for Reargument

or for Leave to Appeal.’ On October 30, 2008, the

* In its briefs below, Peachtree argued how the courts

confused the question of the validity of the arbitration

agreement with the issue of arbitrability. See, e.g., motion for

reargument filed before the Appellate Division, at pp. 12-13;

and motion for reargument filed before the Court of Appeals,

at pp. 5-12. As noted by Peachtree below, in Cap Gemini, the

Second Circuit makes an unequivocal distinction between the

questions of validity and arbitrability as follows:

It may well be true... that ‘the plain language of the

arbitration clause at issue... evidences a clear and

unmistakable intent to refer the issue of

(Cont'd)

10

Appellate Division First Department granted a stay of

the arbitration proceedings pending resolution of the

appeal.

(Cont’d)

arbitrability to the arbitrators.’ However, before

proceeding to determine the scope of the arbitration

agreement, the court must first confirm that the

agreement is valid and enforceable.

346 F.3d at 366. Peachtree also cited to Nichols v. Washington

Mut. Bank, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 85936, at *19-20 (E.D.N_-Y.

Nov. 21, 2007), where the Eastern District of New York court

held that “[wJhen a party challenges ...the existence or validity

of the arbitration clause itself, courts must determine whether

the arbitration clause itself exists, and whether it is valid.” Jd.

at 23 (emphasis added). Rejecting that the case involved the

issue of arbitrability (as in Contec), the court further explained:

{T]he particular challenges Nichols makes must be

decided by a court. When a party challenges not the

validity of the entire contract, see Prima Paint...

(noting that challenges to the validity of a[n entire]

contract are for the arbitrator), or the application of

a valid arbitration clause to the particular dispute

at issue, but rather the existence or validity of the

arbitration clause itself, courts must determine

whether the arbitration clause itself exists, and

whether it is valid. Cap Gemini [346 F.3d at 366)

(noting that inquiry into enforceability of

arbitration clause preceded question of whether

that clause could refer the issue of arbitrability to

the arbitrators). Nichols’s challenges are to the

existence and validity of the arbitration clause, and

so {the court] must decide them.

2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 85936, at *22-23.

1]

The Appellate Division affirmed the trial court’s

order on October 13, 2009, with one justice especially

concurring. (App. B) The majority held that “the scope

and validity of the arbitration agreement, necessarily

including issues of arbitrability, are for the arbitration

tribunal to determine.” (App. B, at 4a). Although

acknowledging, in light of Hall Street, that the parties’

agreement to subject the arbitrators’ decisions to

judicial review for legal errors could not be enforced,

the court declined to hear the parties in order to

determine whether the standard of review provision

could be severed to avoid invalidating the entire

arbitration agreement, ruling as follows: “that issue is

necessarily included among the arbitrability issues that

the parties’ agreement reflects would be decided by the

arbitrators.” (App. B, at 5a)

On December 22, 2009, the Appellate Division

granted leave to appeal. (App. C, at 17a-18a) The New

York Court of Appeals affirmed the Appellate Division’s

order on May 4, 2010. (App. A)

Although the Court of Appeals recognized that,

under Hall Street, parties are prohibited “from

expanding, by their own agreement, the scope of judicial

review beyond that authorized by the [FAA],” the court

held that “clear and unmistakable evidence exists in this

case that the parties agreed to arbitrate questions of

arbitrability, including whether the parties’ arbitration

agreement is invalid under Hall St. Assoc. or whether

the apparently offending provision could be severed

from the remainder of the agreement.” (App. A, at 2a)

12

Peachtree moved for reargument, asserting that the

Court of Appeals had overlooked this Court’s controlling

precedent in Prima Paint in holding that the question

of the arbitration agreement’s validity and enforceability

should be decided by the arbitrators in the first instance.

Peachtree thereafter submitted this Court’s decision in

Rent-A-Center, West, Inc. v. Jackson, _ S.Ct. __, 2010

WL 2471058 (June 21, 2010), as supplemental authority.

The Court of Appeals denied the reargument motion

on July 1, 2010. (App. E, at 29a-30a)

None of the courts below addressed Peachtree’s

challenge to the enforceability of the arbitration

provision in light of Lloyd’s failure to comply with a

condition precedent to arbitration.”

0 Ina concurring opinion of the Appellate Division, Justice

McGuire did address the challenge, noting that although it

appeared that Lloyd’s had not complied with the condition

precedent, that was a “question regarding arbitrability that...

must be decided by the arbitrators.” (App. B, at 16a)

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE

THE NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS’

DECISION ESTABLISHES PRECEDENT

THAT CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S

DECISIONS AND MISINTERPRETS

FEDERAL LAW.

A. SUBSTANTIVE FEDERAL ARBITRATION LAW

l. ARBITRATION IS A MATTER OF

CONTRACT

Section 2 of the FAA provides:

A written provision in... a contract

evidencing a transaction involving commerce

to settle by arbitration a controversy

thereafter arising out of such contract or

transaction, or the refusal to perform the

whole or any part thereof, or an agreement in

writing to submit to arbitration an existing

controversy arising out of such a contract,

transaction, or refusal, shall be valid,

irrevocable, and enforceable, save wpon such

grounds as exist at law or in equity for the

revocation of any contract.

9 U.S.C. § 2 (emphasis added). This Court recently held

that this section, which is “the primary substantive

provision” of the act, “requires courts to enforce

[written provisions to settle by arbitration] according

14

to their terms.” Rent-A-Center, 2010 WL 2471058, at *3-

4, “Like other contracts, however, [these provisions] may

be invalidated by ‘generally applicable contract

defenses.” Jd. at *4.

While this Court has recognized a pro-arbitration

presumption under the FAA, it has only applied it

where it reflects, and derives its legitimacy

from, a judicial conclusion that arbitration

of a particular dispute is what the parties

intended because their express agreement to

arbitrate was validly formed and (absent a

provision clearly and validly committing such

issues to an arbitrator) is legally enforceable

and best construed to encompass the dispute.

Granite Rock Co. v. Int’l Brotherhood of Teamsters,

— §. Ct. __, 2010 WL 2518518, *9 (June 24, 2010)

(citations omitted; emphasis added).

Thus, although “doubts concerning the scope of

arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor of

arbitration,” Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp. v. Mercury

Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24-25 (1983), the FAA's pro

arbitration policy must yield to the parties’ contractual

rights and expectations. See e.g., Stolt-Nielsen S.A. v.

Animalfeeds Int'l Corp., 13808. Ct. 1758, 1773-74 (2010);

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 514

U.S. 52, 57 (1995).

15

2. UNDER THE FAA, IT IS FOR THE COURTS

TO DETERMINE WHETHER AN

ARBITRATION AGREEMENT IS VALID

As per the preceding section, the fundamental

principle that underpins the FAA and this Court's

precedents is that arbitration is a matter of contract

and that parties can only be forced to arbitrate disputes

they validly agreed to arbitrate.

Consistent with this principle, Section 4 of the FAA

provides that “(t]he court shall hear the parties, and

upon being satisfied that the making of the agreement

for arbitration or the failure to comply therewith is not

in issue, the court shall make an order directing the

parties to proceed to arbitration in accordance with the

terms of the agreement.” 9 U.S.C. § 4 (emphasis added).

The section further provides that “li]f the making of

the arbitration agreement or the failure, neglect, or

refusal to perform the same be in issue, the court shall

proceed summurily to the trial thereof.” 1d. (emphasis

added),

In light of the clear and unambiguous language of

the FAA, this Court has reiterated that it is for the courts

to decide the question of the validity of an arbitration

agreement. In /tent-A-Center, for example, the Court

stated that

lilf a party challenges the validity under § 2

fof the FAA] of the precise agreement to

arbitrate at issue, the federal court must

consider the challenge before ordering

compliance with that ayreement under § 4 [of

lb

the AA] ‘To LVILVILUELILAEZE Oe arbitration

agreement from judicial challenge would

he to elevate rt over other forms of contract

2010 WL 2471058, at *7 (emphasis added); accord, e.¢.,

Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg., 388% U.S

395, 403-04 (1967) (courts may compel arbitration under

section 4 of the FAA only when satisfied that the making

of the ayreement to arbitrate is not at issue)

As recognized further by the Court in Granite lock

our precedents hold that court hould ordet

arbitration of a dispute only where the court

is satisfied that neither the formation of th

parties’ arbitration ayreement nor (absent a

valid provision specifically committing such

disputes to an arbitrator) its enforceability o:

applicability to the dispute is in issue, Where

a party contests either or both matters, “th

court” must resolve the di agreement

‘ 10) W # Z Re 1x, "Cy (¢ Triporia ] clade (])}

Bb. PEACHTREE HAS CHALLENGED THE

VALIDITY AND ENFORCEABILITY OF TIE

ARBITRATION PROVISION CONTAINED EN

THE CCECONTRACTS

A tated previou ly, the Ce | Contracts contain one

(and only one) arbitration provision, which submits to

arbitration under the AAA Rules “alll disputes and

differences arising under or in connection with’ the Ce ]

Contracts. The parts yrreed that the arbitrators have

17

the power to rule and reach a final determination in any

such arbitration “provided that the parties shall each

retain the right to appeal errors of law to a court of law.”

(A-399, 428, 473, 509) (Emphasis added.) Nowhere in the

CCI Contracts do the parties include any other

arbitration provision delegating to the arbitrators any

other disputes, including those relating to the question

of the validity or enforceability of the agreement to

arbitrate. Id.; see also generally A-377-406, 407-451, 452-

486, 487-560.

Peachtree has raised before the courts of New York

that, because there is no possibility of judicial review of

the arbitrators’ errors of law post-Hall Street and

because the clause providing for such review cannot be

severed from the arbitration agreement as a matter of

law, the parties’ arbitration agreement has been

rendered invalid and unenforceable.!! Simply put,

Peachtree has challenged the validity and enforceability

of the arbitration provision in the CCI Contracts.

See Rent-A-Center, 2010 WL 2471058, *4 n.1, *8&."*

ll See supra note 7 and accompanying text.

'? Peachtree raises an argument which is similar to one

that was made in Rent-A-Center. In Rent-A-Center, the petitioner

argued (albeit belatedly) that the provision delegating certain

disputes to the arbitrator was

substantively unconscionable because the quid pro

quo he was supposed to receive for it—that “in

exchange for initially allowing an arbitrator to

decide certain gateway questions,” he would receive

“plenary post-arbitration judicial review”—was

eliminated by the Court’s subsequent holding in Hall

Street[], that the nonplenary grounds for judicial

review in §10 of the FAA are exclusive.

(Cont'd)

18

As such, under the clear mandate of the FAA, Peachtree

cannot be foreed to arbitrate unless and until a court

has determined whether the arbitration provision is in

fact valid and enforceable. See id. at *7.

C. THE DECISION OF THE NEW YORK COURT

OF APPEALS IS CONTRARY TO THE FAA AND

THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS

1. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION

Despite the unambiguous language of the FAA and

this Court’s clear precedents, the trial court in New York

refused to address Peachtree’s challenge to the validity

(Cont'd)

Rent-A-Center, 2010 WL 2471058, *7,8 & n. 5. However, the Court

did not decide this question in that case because the petitioner

had not raised it in the court below. The Court now has the

opportunity to answer this question, as Peachtree timely raised

it below.

The Court should also consider the fact that in Hall Street

it also left undecided whether the judicial review provision that

the Court held therein to be unenforceable is severable from

the rest of the arbitration agreement. In footnote 6 of the

opinion, the Court noted that the petitioner was suggesting

that the agreement predicated entry of judgment on adherence

to the judicial-review standard; 2.e., that beeause the judicial

review provision at issue there could not be severed, the district

court had no authority to confirm the arbitration award without

conducting judicial review. However, the Court did not address

the merits of that argument, noting that the petitioner had not

sought certiorari review of the Ninth Circuit’s severability

analysis. 552 U.S. at 587. Peachtree has argued in this case that

the judicial review proviso is not severable, but the courts below

have refused to address that issue.

19

of the arbitration provision at issue, holding that the

matter is for the arbitrators to decide. The New York

Court of Appeals agreed.

While recognizing that the parties’ agreed-upon

standard of review cannot survive Hall Street, the New

York Court of Appeals held that the threshold question

of the arbitration agreement’s validity is nonetheless

for the arbitrators to decide, based on what it

understood to be “clear and unmistakable evidence ...

that the parties agreed to arbitrate questions of

arbitrability, including whether the parties’ arbitration

agreement is invalid under Hall St. Assoc. or whether

the apparently offending provisions could be severed

from the remainder of the agreement.” (App. A, at 2a)

2. BECAUSE PEACHTREE HAS

CHALLENGED THE VALIDITY AND

ENFORCEABILITY OF THE PARTICULAR

ARBITRATION PROVISION AT ISSUE, IT

IS FOR THE COURTS TO DECIDE THAT

THRESHOLD QUESTION

Here, Peachtree has challenged the validity of the

one and only provision in the CCI Contracts which

submits to arbitration under the AAA Rules

“all disputes” arising under or relating to the CCI

Contracts. Thus, not only has Peachtree challenged the

only provision that submits every single dispute to

arbitration, but Peachtree has challenged the validity

and enforceability of the particular provision that

submits the resolution of disputes under the AAA Rules.

As such, the FAA and this Court’s precedents command

judicial determination of Peachtree’s challenge,

20

something the New York Court of Appeals simply

overlooked. See Rent-A-Center, 2010 WL 2471058, at *7;

Prima Paint, 388 U.S. at 403-04.

3. THE PARTIES DID NOT COMMIT THE

THRESHOLD QUESTION OF VALIDITY

AND ENFORCEABILITY TO ARBITRATION

The same conclusion would be reached even if

Peachtree is not considered to have challenged the

particular arbitration provision at issue (which it did)

because, contrary to what Lloyd’s suggested before the

New York Court of Appeals, the parties did not commit

to arbitration the threshold question of the validity and

enforceability of the agreement to arbitrate. As noted

above, there is absolutely no provision in the CCl

Contracts submitting to arbitration the threshold

questions. The CCI Contracts do not contain anything

even remotely similar to the so-called “delegation

provision” in Rent-A-Center, where the parties expressly

agreed to submit to arbitration “disputes relating to the

.. enforceability ... of this Agreement including . . .

any claim that all or part of this Agreement is void or

voidable.” 2010 WL 2471058, at *4.}8

'S Indeed, the arbitration provision in the CCI Contracts

is almost identical to the one that was at issue in Prima Paint,

where the parties submitted to arbitration “[a]ny controversy

or claim arising out of or relating to this Agreement, or the

breach thereof, shall be settled by arbitration in the City of

New York, in accordance with the rules then obtaining of the

American Arbitration Association.” Prima Paint, 388 U.S. at

398. The Court held therein that where parties challenge the

arbitration provision, Section 4 of the FAA compelled the courts

(Cont'd)

21

Furthermore, the AAA Rules do not commit the

resolution of the threshold questions to the arbitrators.

To be sure, the AAA rule to which the Court of Appeals

referred does not state that the arbitrators “shall rule”

on the threshold question, but simply that the

arbitrators have “the power to rule” on such questions.

AAA Rule 7(a). Before the arbitrators can act upon such

authority, however, a court must first determine whether

(i) the parties committed that particular dispute to

arbitration and, of course, (ii) whether such agreement

was valid and is legally enforceable. Granite Rock, 2010

WL 2518518, *10 (Court will only compel arbitration of

a dispute only after the Court is “persuaded that [1.]

the parties’ arbitration agreement was validly formed

and that (2.][a.] it covered the dispute in question and

[b.] was legally enforceable.”).

(Cont’d)

to first resolve the threshold question regarding the making of

an arbitration agreement before ordering arbitration. The fact

that the AAA rules were involved in Prima Paint did not affect

this decision.

Yet, the Court of Appeal’s precedent in essence stands for

the proposition that, notwithstanding the mandatory language

of Section 4 of the FAA, in all AAA arbitrations, the

arbitrators— and not the courts— must resolve issues of validity

and enforceability of arbitration agreement. This is not only at

odds with Prima Paint and Section 4 of the FAA, it also appears

to be in conflict with the teachings of Hall Street, in that this

Court made clear that no one can contract out of the language

of the FAA. The Court of Appeals’ precedent necessarily raises

a number of questions, including whether the AAA now has the

power to 27 essence change sections of the FAA by simply

incorporating in its rules language that goes against the FAA.

22

‘4, CONCLUDING STATEMENTS REGARDING

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS

n Granite Rock, the Court held that

a court may order arbitration of a particular

dispute only where the court is satisfied that

the parties agreed to arbitrate that dispute.

To satisfy itself that such agreement exists,

the court must resolve any issue that calls into

question the formation or applicability of the

specific arbitration clause that a party seeks

to have the court enforce.

2010 WL 2518518, *8 (internal citations omitted;

emphasis added). Here, as a result of Hall Street,

Peachtree challenges the validity and enforceability of

the particular arbitration provision at issue—which

includes the reference to the AAA Rules. Peachtree

further contends that no provision (valid or invalid)

commits the resolution of such challenge to arbitration.

Therefore, it is the duty of the courts to decide the issue

before Peachtree is coerced into arbitrating an issue

against its contractual rights and expectations. See e.g.,

Stolt-Nielsen, 130 S. Ct. at 1773-74; Mastrobuono, 514

U.S. at 57.

By refusing to address this issue, the decision of the

Court of Appeals conflicts with the decisions of this Court

and misinterprets federal law, to the detriment of

parties’ substantive rights under the FAA. This case

provides the Court the opportunity to do away with this

dangerous precedent in the State of New York.

9

23

Moreover, the case gives the Court the opportunity to

address the question it left unanswered in Rent-A-

Center, which is whether a challenge by a party to the

enforceability of an agreement after this Court’s

decision in Hall Street is a question to be determined

by the courts or the arbitrators. See supra note 12.

REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE

THERE IS A QUESTION OF FEDERAL

LAW THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT

SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THE COURT

A. UNDER HALL STREET, PARTIES ARE

PRECLUDED FROM CONTRACTING OUT OF

THE EXPRESS TERMS OF THE FAA

In Hall Street, the plaintiff argued that the

agreement to allow for judicial review of the arbitration

award for legal error—which is beyond what the FAA

provides—had to prevail because the parties had agreed

as much and “arbitration is a creature of contract.”

552 U.S. at 587. In response, the Court acknowledged

that parties are able to contract for certain aspects of

the arbitration, including the set of procedural rules to

be applied. Jd. (“Hall Street is certainly right that the

FAA lets parties tailor some, even many features of

arbitration by contract, including the way arbitrators

are chosen, what their qualifications should be, which

issues are arbitrable, along with procedure and choice

of substantive law.”). The Court added, however, that

having the ability to agree on certain aspects of the

arbitration did not mean that parties could agree to

24

arbitration under terms that are inconsistent with the

text of the FAA:

to rest this case on the general policy of

treating arbitration agreements as

enforceable as such would be to beg the

question, which is whether the FAA has textual

features at odds with enforcing a contract to

expand judicial review following the

arbitration. To that particular question we

think the answer is yes.

Id. The Court then explained that, as per Section 9 of

the FAA, on application for an order to confirm the

arbitration award, the court “must grant” the order

“unless the award is vacated, modified, or corrected”

on the grounds prescribed in the FAA. Jd. The Court

concluded that the judicial review provision at issue

there (similar to the one involved here) was

unenforceable, as it went beyond the grounds

prescribed in the FAA.

Consequently, per this Court’s decision in Hall

Street, an arbitration agreement cannot be enforced in

a manner that is at odds with the “textual features” of

the FAA, which necessarily includes Section 4 of the FAA.

Moreover, it also means that parties may not contract

out of the express terms of the FAA, as a matter of law.

25

B. IT IS UNSETTLED BY THIS COURT

WHETHER ISSUES INVOLVING

COMPLIANCE WITH A _ CONDITION

PRECEDENT CAN BE DECIDED BY THE

ARBITRATORS IN LIGHT OF THE CLEAR

TEXT OF SECTIONS 2 AND 4 OF THE FAA

This Court has not explained who, in light of Sections

2 and 4 of the FAA, decides if a party to an arbitration

agreement has complied with a condition precedent to

arbitration. However, as noted above, the Court has

held that Section 2 of the FAA “requires courts to

enforce [written provisions to settle by arbitration]

according to their terms.” Rent-A-Center, 2010 Wi

2471058, at *8-4 (emphasis added).

Furthermore, the mandate in Section 4 of the FAA

is straightforward: “[t]he court shall hear the parties,

and ... [iJf the making of the arbitration agreement or

the failure, neglect, or refusal to perform the same be

in issue, the court shall proceed summarily to the trial

thereof.” 9 U.S.C. § 4 (2008) (emphasis added). Just like

with the “must grant” language of Section 9 at issue in

Hall Street, “there is nothing malleable about [the terms

‘the court shall,’ in Section 4} which unequivocally tells

courts” to decide the issue of a party’s “failure, neglect

or refusal” to comply with its obligations under an

arbitration agreement. Hall Street, 552 U.S. at 587.

Therefore, as a matter of federal substantive law

and this Court’s decisions in Rent-A-Center and Hall

Street, it is for the ecourts—not the arbitrators—to

determine the threshold questions of whether, as a

matter of contract, a party has failed or refused to abide

by a condition precedent to arbitration.

26

At least three Circuit Courts of Appeal have had

the opportunity to address this issue, and have ruled

that a party may not be forced to arbitrate unless there

has been compliance with such a condition. The Fourth

Circuit, for example, recently held that where a condition

precedent to arbitration is not met, there is no right to

arbitration, because the FAA “does not mandate the

arbitration of all [contract] claims, but merely the

enforcement ... of privately negotiated arbitration

agreements.” Perdue Farms, Inc. v. Design Build

Contracting Corp., 263 Fed. Appx. 380, 383, 2008 WL

345430, *38 (4 Cir. 2008) (parties agreed to submit

dispute to mediation prior to initiating arbitration).

Similarly, the First Circuit held that an arbitration

provision is not triggered until the condition precedent

to arbitration is met, because “Congress did not enact

the FAA to ‘operate without regard to the wishes of the

contracting parties.” HIM Portland, LLC v. DeVito

Builders, Inc., 317 F.3d 41, 44 (1* Cir. 2003) (quoting

Mastrobuono, 514 U.S. at 57); see also Kemiron ALtL.,

Inc. v. Aguakem Int’l Inc., 290 F.3d 1287, 1291 (11" Cir.

2002). Under these decisions, therefore, the question

of compliance with a condition precedent to the

arbitration process could never be answered by an

arbitrator. Indeed, to coerce a party to arbitrate the

threshold question of compliance with a condition

precedent to that very process would essentially

eviscerate that party’s contractual rights and

expectations of not arbitrating unless the other party

has complied with its obligations prior to arbitration.

However, at least one other Circuit Court of Appeal

has reached the opposite conclusion. See 8M Co. v. Amtex

Sec., Inc., 542 F.3d 1193, 1200 (8th Cir. 2008) (where party

27

claimed that other party did not comply with a condition

precedent to arbitration by failing to conduct quarterly

expense reviews was a matter to be decided by the

arbitrator).

4 In Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 5387 U.S. 79

(2002), the Court held that “the applicability of the NASD time

limit rule is a matter presumptively for the arbitrator, not for

the judge,” because “in the absence of an agreement to the

contrary, issues of substantive arbitrability ... are for a court to

decide and issues of procedural arbitrability, i.e., whether

prerequisites such as time limits, notice, laches, estoppel, and

other conditions precedent to an obligation to arbitrate have

been met, are for the arbitrators to decide.” 537 U.S. at &5

(emphasis added). However, the holding in Howsam is

inapposite. First of all, the parties herein clearly and

unambiguously agreed “that under no circumstances” would

Lloyd’s be allowed to submit any dispute to arbitration without

first complying with the condition precedent. See supra.

Therefore, there is “an agreement to the contrary” of

arbitrating any question prior to compliance of the condition

precedent. Moreover, the condition precedent at issue here is

not of a procedural nature, as it does not “grow out of the dispute

and bear on its final disposition.” John Wiley & Sons, Ince. v.

Livingston, 376 U.S. 548, 557-558 (1964). Instead, it is a

substantive condition precedent dealing with the right to

institute an arbitration process at all. As explained by the New

York Court of Appeals:

Whether [a particular condition] falls within the

jurisdiction of the courts or of the arbitrators

depends on its substance and the function it is

properly perceived as playing—whether it is in

essence a prerequisite to entry into the arbitration

process or a procedural prescription for the

management of that process. Under the first

heading [the prerequisite to entry into the

arbitration process] will come provisions which in

(Cont'd)

28

This case gives this Court the opportunity to settle

these conflicting decisions, and hold that it is for the

courts, not the arbitrators, to rule on issues bearing on

a party’s “failure, neglect, or refusal” to comply with a

condition necessary to commence an arbitration

agreement.

(Cont'd)

point of time are intended to be preliminary to the

institution of any arbitration proceeding and in a

precise sense are unrelated to it, e.g., a requirement

that before any demand for arbitration can be made

the dispute between the parties be referred to the

architect or to the partnership—“conditions

precedent” in the literal meaning of that term.

Under the second heading [the procedural

conditions] will come provisions relating to the

conduct of the arbitration proceeding itself...

Matter of Arbitration Between County of Rockland and

Primiano Construction Co., 51 N.Y.2d 1, 8-9 (1980) (emphasis

added). The court went on to explain that where, as here,

“contractual limitations are expressly made conditions

precedent to arbitration by the terms of the arbitration

agreement,” a party may be forced to arbitrate “only if the court

determines that this portion of the agreement to arbitrate has

been complied with.” 51 N.Y. 2d at & (citations omitted;

emphasis added).

It should be noted that Howsum did not consider Section 4

of the FAA and that it was decided before Hall Street. As

explained here, under //all Street, the resolution of a condition

precedent could not be submitted to arbitration if doing so

would be at odds with the mandatory language of the FAA (in

this case Section 4).

7 AS

C. UNDER SECTIONS 2 AND 4 OF THE FAA, THE

DETERMINATION OF WHETHER LLOYD'S

HAS COMPLIED WITH A CONDITION

PRECEDENT TO ARBITRATION IS FOR THE

COURTS

Lloyd’s agreed that it could only raise disputes as

to claims on “which [Lloyd’s] makel[s] payment” and

“that under no circumstances” it would be entitled to

submit any such dispute “prior to payment of such

[cllaim.” (A-882, 411, 456, and 492) (I]amphasis added.)

However, by submitting to arbitration disputes it

categorically agreed not to submit “prior to payment of

such [ejlaim,” Lloyd’s failed to comply with a condition

precedent to arbitration. Because the “failure, neglect,

or refusal to perform” its obligations under the

arbitration agreement is therefore at issue, the courts

are commanded by Section 4 of the FAA to “proceed

summarily to the trial thereof.” 9 U.S.C. § 4 (2008),

Thus, in light of the languaye of the FAA and the

fundamental principles of arbitration law, this Court

should hold that it is for courts—and not the

arbitrators—to decide whether Lloyd’s has failed to

comply with conditions precedent to arbitration.

30

CONCLUSION

THIS COURT SHOULD INTERCEDE IN

THIS MATTER OF COMPELLING

FEDERAL ISSUE, AS THE NEW YORK

COURT OF APPEALS PUBLISHED

DISPOSITION HAS CREATED

PRECEDENT THAT ALLOWS PARTIES

IN NEW YORK TO CIRCUMVENT THE

FAA AND THIS COURT'S DECISIONS

In the CCI Contracts, Peachtree baryvained for

expanded review of arbitral awards, with the expectation

of meaningful judicial review of the arbitrators’ legal

errors, without the constraints of the FAA’s narrow

review standards. If the parties’ expanded standard of

review cannot be enforced after //all Strect (which it

cannot), neither can the AAA Rules provision, even if

that provision properly delegates to the arbitrators the

threshold issue of an arbitration ayreement’s validity

and enforceability. This is so because, to the extent the

parties agreed to arbitrate their disputes under the

AAA Rules, it was with the understanding and

expectation that they would have the ability to review

all of the arbitrators’ rulings for leyal errors. Indeed,

Peachtree specifically rejected a proposed arbitration

agreement that did not include the expanded judicial

review provision and it is undisputed that, but for the

inclusion of that provision, Peachtree would not have

agreed to arbitrate the parties’ disputes in the first

instance

Hall Street fundamentally chanyed the parties’

bargain and the Court of Appeals was wrony in

enforcing the remainder of that baryain by oblivating

3]

Peachtree to proceed with arbitration to the detriment

of Peachtree’s expectations. This is more so, considering

that the parties agreed in the CCI Contracts “that under

no circumstances” would Lloyd’s be allowed to arbitrate

any dispute unless it first complied with a certain

condition—a condition which Lloyd’s failed to comply

prior to coercing Peachtree into arbitration.

Thus, unless the Court reverses the decision below,

Peachtree’s contractual rights and expectations will be

trampled. Indeed, unless the Court reverses the

decision below, any party in New York who follows this

precedent will be allowed to circumvent Sections 2 and

4 of the FAA and trump the federal legal framework

established by this Court’s decisions. That would have

the result of “elevating” agreements that refer to the

AAA Rules “over other forms of contract,” something

this Court expressly rejected as contrary to substantive

arbitration law. Rent-A-Center, 2010 WL 2471058, at *7.

32

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ELLIot H. SCHERKER

Counsel of Record

JULISSA RODRIGUEZ

GREENBERG TRAURIG, PA.

1221 Brickell Avenue

Miami, FL 33131

(305) 579-0500

ScherkerE @gegtlaw.com

JESUS E. CuzAa

INA M. BERLINGERI

GFREENBERG TRAURIG, PA.

401 East Las Olas Blvd.

Suite 2000

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

(954) 765-0500

Counsel for Petitioner

August 2, 2010

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF NEW YORK

DATED MAY 4, 2010

COURT OF APPEALS OF NEW YORK

No. 1388 SSM 12

LIFE RECEIVABLES TRUST,

Plaintiff,

v.

GOSHAWK SYNDICATE 102 AT LLOYD'S,

Respondent,

Life Settlement Corporation, Doing Business as

Peach Tree Life Settlements,

Appellant.

May 4, 2010

MEMORANDUM:

The order of the Appellate Division should be

affirmed with costs. The certified question should not

be answered as unnecessary.

The Appellate Division properly concluded that the

scope and validity of the parties’ arbitration agreement,

including issues of arbitrability, are for the arbitration

tribunal to determine (see Matter of Smith Barney

Shearson v Sacharow, 91 NY2d 39, 45-47, 689 N.E.2d

2a

Appendix A

884, 666 N.Y.S.2d 990 [1997]; Contec Corp. v Remote

Solution, Co., Ltd., 398 F3d 205, 211 [2d Cir 2005]).

Although Hall St. Assocs., L.L.C. v. Mattel, Inc. (552

U.S. 576, 128 S. Ct. 13896, 170 L. Ed. 2d 254 [2008})

prohibits parties from expanding, by their own

agreement, the scope of judicial review beyond that

authorized by the Federal Arbitration Act, clear and

unmistakable evidence exists in this case that the parties

agreed to arbitrate questions of arbitrability, including

whether the parties’ arbitration agreement is invalid

under Hall St. Assoc. or whether the apparently

offending provision could be severed from the remainder

of the agreement.

On review of submissions pursuant to section 500.11

of the Rules, order affirmed, with costs, and certified

question not answered upon the ground that it is

unnecessary, in a memorandum.

Chief Judge Lippman and Judges Ciparick, Graffeo,

Read, Smith, Pigott and Jones concur.

3a

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION,

FIRST DEPARTMENT, NEW YORK

DATED OCTOBER 13, 2009

SUPREME COURT OF NEW YORK,

APPELLATE DIVISION,

FIRST DEPARTMENT

194N, 601244/08

LIFE RECEIVABLES TRUST,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

GOSHAWK SYNDICATE 102 AT LLOYD?’s,

Defendant-Respondent,

Life Settlement Corporation, doing business as

Peach Tree Life Settlements,

Defendant-Appellant.

Oct. 13, 2009

SAXE, J.P, BUCKLEY, McGUIRE, DeGRASSE,

FREEDMAN, JJ.

Order, Supreme Court, New York County (Charles

kK. Ramos, J.), entered September 30, 2008, which

denied plaintiff’s motion to stay or enjoin arbitrations

pending before the American Arbitration Association

(AAA), affirmed, without costs.

4a

Appendix B

The arbitration agreement at issue requires that

“{a]ll disputes and differences arising under or in

connection with this [contract] ... be referred to

arbitration under the American Arbitration Association

Rules.” The AAA rules authorize the arbitration

tribunal to rule on its own jurisdiction, including

objections with respect to the existence, scope or validity

of the arbitration agreement. Although the question of

arbitrability is generally an issue for judicial

determination, when the parties’ agreement specifically

incorporates by reference the AAA rules, which provide

that “[t]he tribunal shall have the power to rule on its

own jurisdiction, including objections with respect to the

existence, scope or validity of the arbitration

agreement,” and employs language referring “all

disputes” to arbitration, courts will “leave the question

of arbitrability to the arbitrators” (see Matter of Smith

Barney Shearson v Sacharow, 91 NY2d 39, 47, 689

N.E.2d 884, 666 N.Y.S.2d 990 [1997] [internal quotation

marks omitted]). Thus, the motion court was correct in

finding that the scope and validity of the arbitration

agreement, necessarily including issues of arbitrability,

are for the arbitration tribunal to determine.

The stay and injunctive relief sought by plaintiff are

not warranted by the inclusion in the arbitration

agreement of a provision that gives the parties the right

to challenge the arbitrators’ determination on the

ground that the panel made an error of law. Although

the United States Supreme Court recently held that

the Federal Arbitration Act does not permit parties to

expand, by their own agreement, the scope of judicial

Sa

Appendix B

review beyond that authorized by the Act (see Hall St.

Assoc., L.L.C. v Mattel, Inc., 552 U.S. 576, 128 S. Ct.

1396, 170 L. Ed. 2d 254 [2008]), this Court need not reach

the issue of whether that portion of the parties’

arbitration provision is severable from the remainder

of the arbitration provision, since that issue is

necessarily included among the arbitrability issues that

the parties’ agreement reflects would be decided by the

arbitrators (see Contec Corp. v Remote Solution Co.,

Ltd., 398 F3d 205, 211 (2d Cir 2005)).

The policy of this State, like the federal policy

discussed in Hall Street Associates, favors arbitration

“with just the limited review needed to maintain

arbitration’s essential virtue of resolving disputes

straightaway,” and therefore seeks to avoid “the full-

bore legal and evidentiary appeals that can render

informal arbitration merely a prelude to a more

cumbersome and time-consuming judicial review process

. and bring arbitration theory to grief in post-

arbitration process” (id. at 1405 [internal citations,

quotation marks and brackets omitted]). “|TJhis State

favors and encourages arbitration as a means of

conserving the time and resources of the courts and the

contracting parties ... Therefore New York courts

interfere as little as possible with the freedom of

consenting parties to submit disputes to arbitration”

(Smith Barney, 91 NY2d at 49-50 [internal citation and

quotation marks omitted]). Permitting the arbitration

to proceed at this juncture fully comports with that

policy.

6a

Appendix B

All concur except McGUIRE, J. who concurs in a

separate memorandum as follows: McGUIRE, J.

(concurring)

The parties agree that their arbitration agreement

is subject to the Federal Arbitration Act (FAA) (9 USC

§ 10[a]). The agreement provides in relevant part that

“the parties shall each retain the rights to appeal errors

of law to a court of law having jurisdiction in the matters

addressed herein .. .” In Hall Street Assocs. v Mattel,

Inc. (552 U.S. 576, 128 S Ct 1396, 170 L. Ed. 2d 254

[2008]), an arbitration agreement contained a similar

provision, purporting to authorize judicial review of any

erroneous conclusions of law by the arbitrator; and the

Supreme Court held that the grounds for judicial review

specified in the FAA cannot be supplemented by

contract. Thus, Hall Street renders unenforceable the

provision in the arbitration agreement providing for

judicial review of errors of law by the arbitrator. The

principal issue on this appeal is whether a court or the

arbitration panel should decide if the arbitration

agreement is invalid because of the unenforceability of

the provision providing for judicial review of errors of

law.

To resolve that issue, the principles set forth in

First Options of Chicago, Inc. v Kaplan (514 U.S. 938,

115 8. Ct. 1920, 181 L. Ed. 2d 985 [1995]) should be

reviewed. As the Supreme Court reiterated, “[w]hen

deciding whether the parties agreed to arbitrate a

certain matter (including arbitrability), courts generally

. Should apply ordinary state-law principles that

Ta

Appendix B

govern formation of contracts” (id. at 944). Here, as in

First Options, “(t]he relevant state law ... would require

the court to see whether the parties objectively revealed

an intent to submit the arbitrability issue to arbitration”

(id.). The Court stressed, however, that “[c]ourts should

not assume that the parties agreed to arbitrate

arbitrability unless there is clear and unmistakable

evidence that they did so” (2d. [brackets and internal

quotation marks omitted]). As the Court explained, “{iJn

this manner the law treats silence or ambiguity about

the question who (primarily) should decide arbitrability’

differently from the way it treats silence or ambiguity

about the question whether a particular merits-related

dispute is arbitrable because it is within the scope of a

valid arbitration agreement” (2d. at 944-945 [emphasis

in original)).

Although a presumption in favor of arbitrability

applies when the latter question is at issue, the Court

provided two reasons supporting a presumption against

arbitration when the former question is at issue. First,

because the question of “ who (primarily) should decide

arbitrability’...is rather arcane,” “[a] party often might

not focus upon that question or upon the significance of

having arbitrators decide the scope of their own powers”

(2d. at 945 [internal quotation marks omitted]). Second,

“given the principle that a party can be forced to

arbitrate only those issues it specifically has agreed to

submit to arbitration,” courts are hesitant “to interpret

silence or ambiguity on the who should decide

arbitrability’ point as giving the arbitrators that power”

(.d.). After all, so to interpret silence or ambiguity “might

8a

Appendix B

too often force unwilling parties to arbitrate a matter

they reasonably would have thought a judge, not an

arbitrator, would decide” (id.).

In this case, there is “clear and unmistakable”

evidence that the parties’ dispute about the validity of

the arbitration agreement in light of the Supreme

Court’s decision in Hall Street is one they agreed to

arbitrate. Putting aside the breadth of their agreement

to arbitrate “{a]ll disputes and differences arising under

or in connection with this Insurance” (even though the

current dispute about the validity of the arbitration

agreement is one that “arises” both “under” and “in

connection with” the Contingent Cost Insurance

contracts of which the arbitration agreement is a part),

the parties also agreed in each of the four CCI contracts

that all such disputes and differences would be referred

to arbitration under the rules of the American

Arbitration Association (AAA). Article 15.1 of the AAA

rules specifies that “[tJhe tribunal shall have the power

to rule on its own jurisdiction, including objections with

respect to the existence, scope or validity of the

arbitration agreement.”

Appellants, commercially sophisticated entities, do

not claim they were unaware of the content of the AAA

rules to which they expressly agreed to be bound. Thus,

far from being silent or ambiguous about the question

of who should decide arbitrability, the arbitration

agreement provides objective and unequivocal proof

that the parties did “focus upon that question [and]

upon the significance of having arbitrators decide the

Ya

Appendix B

scope of their own powers” (First Options, 514 U.S. at

945, supra). Indeed, the Second Circuit has held that

“when... parties explicitly incorporate rules that

empower an arbitrator to decide issues of arbitrability,

the incorporation serves as clear and unmistakable

evidence of the parties’ intent to delegate such issues

to an arbitrator” (Contec Corp. v Remote Solution, Co.,

Ltd. (398 F3d 205, 208 [2005]). Thus, in Contec, where

the arbitration agreement incorporated a rule identical

in relevant part to article 15.1, the Second Circuit

rejected the claim of Remote Solution, a signatory to

the arbitration agreement, that it could not be compelled

to arbitrate with a non-signatory, i.e., the corporate

successor to the agreement’s other signatory. Agreeing

with the “virtually indistinguishable” (id. at 210) decision

of the First Circuit in Apollo Computer, Inc. v Berg (886

I'2d 469 [1989]), the Second Circuit concluded that

because Remote Solution “agreed to be bound by

provisions that clearly and unmistakably allow the

arbitrator to determine her own jurisdiction over an

agreement to arbitrate whose continued existence and

validity is being questioned, it is the province of the

arbitrator to decide whether a valid arbitration

ayreement exists” (Contec, 398 F3d at 211 [internal

quotation marks omitted]).'

l. Similarly, in Matter of Smith Barney Shearson 1

Sacharow (91 NY2d 39, 689 N.I¢.2d 884, 666 N.Y.S.2d 990 [1997 ])

the arbitration agreement incorporated the rules of the NASD

Code, including a provision that arbitrators are “ empowered

to interpret and determine the applicability of all provision:

under this Code and to take all appropriate action to obtain

(Cont'd)

Oa

Appendix B

Relying principally on Cap Gemini L'rnst & Young,

US, LLC v Nackel (346 F3d 360 [2003]) and Nichols v

Washington Mut. Bank (2007 WL 4198252, 2007 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 85936 [ED NY 2007]), appellants advance

a formidable argument in support of their position that

judicial resolution of their challenge to the validity of

the arbitration agreement is necessary. In Cap Gemini,

the employment agreement between the parties

contained an arbitration clause that broadly provided

for arbitration of, inter alia, “|a|ny dispute, controversy

or claim... arising out of [the] employment,” and

incorporated the “commercial arbitration rules then

obtaining of the [AAA]” (346 F3d at 364 n3. It appear:

(id. at 364 n3, 366), and we are informed by appellants,

that those rules included a provision identical in

relevant part to article 15.1. The employee argued he

could not be compelled to arbitrate his claims against

Cap Gemini because the arbitration agreement was

invalid as unconscionable under California law (7d, at

364). Although the Second Circuit remanded to the

District Court to determine, inter alia, whether New

York or California law governed the validity of the

(Cont'd)

compliance with any ruling by the arbitrator(s)'” Gd. at 46.47)

Although that provision is surely less unequivocal on the

question of who should decide arbitrability than the AAA rule

at issue in this case and in Contec, the Court of Appeals noted

with apparent approval that “[cjourts have interpreted the

incorporation of this provision in the agreements of parties a

a clear and unmistakable expression of their intent to leave the

question of arbitrability to the arbitrators” (d. at 47 [internal

quotation marks omitted ])

12a

Appendix B

courts must determine whether the arbitration clause

exists, and whether it is valid” (WL 7d., LEXIS 7d. at

*22-23).

Cap Gemini does not purport to hold that all issues

concerning the validity of an arbitration agreement are

invariably for the courts. To the contrary, the Second

Circuit limited its holding to validity questions “relating

to the unconscionability of the underlying arbitration

agreement” (346 F3d at 365). Moreover, a sweeping rule

that all questions relating to the validity of an arbitration

agreement must be resolved by the courts would entail

a startling proposition: parties to an arbitration

agreement lack the power (freedom of contract) to agree

that any issues relating to the validity of the agreement

should be submitted to arbitration. That this proposition

is contrary to settled law is apparent when one considers

a hypothetical arbitration agreement that both envisions

the possibility the Supreme Court might rule as it did

in Hall Street and expressly provides that in the event

of such a holding the question of the validity of the

arbitration agreement would be submitted to

arbitration. Such an agreement surely would be

enforceable, given that “it is settled that the validity of

an arbitration agreement is to be determined by the

law applicable to contracts generally” (Sablosky v

Gordon Co., 73 NY2d 1338, 137, 5385 N.E.2d 648, 538

N.Y.S.2d 513 [1989]), public policy strongly favors

arbitration (Smith Barney, 91 NY2d at 49) and “New

York courts interfere as little as possible with the

freedom of consenting parties to submit disputes to

arbitration” (id. at 49-50 [internal quotation marks

omitted ]).

I3a

Appendix B

In light of the holding in Hall Street, the conclusion

that the issue of the validity of the arbitration agreement

is one the parties agreed to arbitrate is not as

indisputable in this case as it is in the hypothetical case.

But it nonetheless is supported by clear and

unmistakable evidence (Contec, 398 F3d at 208, supra)

and should be enforced. The effect of the agreement to

arbitrate under the rules of the AAA was to adopt and

incorporate article 15.1 into each of the CCI contracts

(Matter of Level Export Corp. |Wolz, Aiken & Co.], 305

NY 82, 86, 111 N.E.2d 218 [1953]). Under settled

principles of contract law, the contract language stating

that disputes about the validity of the arbitration

agreement are to be arbitrated cannot be disregarded

(Bretton v Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co., 110 AD2d 46, 49,

492 N.Y.S.2d 760 [1985], affd for reasons stated 66 NY2d

1020, 489 N.E..2d 1299, 499 N.Y.S.2d 397 [1985] [stating

that courts should not disregard provisions of contract

that are clear and unequivocal]). Rather, as appeliants

do not even claim that they failed to read article 15.1,

they are conclusively bound by its terms (Arnav Indus.,

Inc. Retirement Trust v Brown, Raysman, Millstein,

Felder & Steiner, 96 NY2d 300, 304, 751 N.E.2d 936,

727 N.Y.S.2d 688 [2001] [“‘a party who signs a document

is conclusively bound by its terms absent a valid excuse

for having failed to read it”).

On the other hand, not all questions relating to the

validity of an arbitration agreement are for the

arbitrator when an arbitration agreement expressly

provides for arbitration of questions relating to its

validity. Rather, judicial resolution of some such

l4a

Appendix B

questions is appropriate. If, for example, a signatory to

the agreement did not knowingly agree to arbitration

at all (or to arbitration of disputes about its validity) as

a result of fraudulent conduct by the other signatory,

the assent necessary to enforcement of a contract would

be lacking (Joseph Martin, Jr, Delicatessen v

Schumacher, 52 NY2d 105, 109, 417 N.E.2d 541, 436

N.Y.S.2d 247 [1981] [“before one may secure redress in

our courts because another has failed to honor a promise,

it must appear that the promisee assented to the

obligation in question”]).* A claim that an arbitration

agreement is unconscionable similarly calls into question

the fundamental matter of its enforceability (Matter of

State of New York v Avco Fin. Serv. of N.Y., 50 NY2d

383, 390, 406 N.E.2d 1075, 429 N.Y.S.2d 181 [1980]

[noting that claim of uneonscionability of contract clause

encompasses “deception ... as to the clause’s content

or existence or the presence of language difficulties or

illiteracy affecting its execution, or any other reasons

that would have made it unlikely that consent was freely

and knowingly given”) [emphasis added; citations

2. Thus, in Nichols, Nichols also claimed that she was

unaware of the arbitration clause in the contract and the District

Court reviewed (and rejected) that claim (2007 WL 4198252 at

*7, 2007 US Dist LEXIS 859386, *24-25). The District Court also

reviewed and rejected Nichols’ claim that the arbitration clause

was invalid under General Business Law § 399-c, which

prohibits mandatory arbitration clauses in contracts for the sale

or purchase of consumer goods (WL id. at *9, LEXIS 7d. At

*29-30). We need not determine whether we agree that such a

challenge to an arbitration agreement is one that courts must

resolve when the parties agree to arbitrate questions relating

to its validity.

[Sa

Appendix B

omitted]; see also King v Fox, 7 NY3d 181, 191, 851

N.E.2d 1184, 818 N.Y.S.2d 833 [2006]).

To be sure, appellants contend that the arbitration

agreement is entirely unenforceable because they would

not have agreed to arbitration if they had known, as

Hall Street subsequently held, that the provision

authorizing appeals of errors of law to a court of law

was invalid. That contention, however, is inconsistent

with the parties’ agreement to arbitrate questions

relating to the validity of the agreement. The parties

did not agree to arbitrate only meritless challenges to

the validity of the arbitration agreement. Rather, they

clearly contemplated the possibility that the arbitrators

might determine to invalidate the arbitration

agreement. It makes no sense to suppose that the

parties contemplated that such a determination itself

would be invalid.

It may be that appellants would not have agreed to

arbitration if they had known the parties could not obtain

judicial review of errors of law. And it also may be that

for this reason they cannot be compelled to arbitrate

any substantive disputes with respondent. But it does

not follow that the specific agreement to arbitrate

disputes over the validity of the arbitration agreement

is unenforceable. To the contrary, that agreement

should be regarded as a distinct agreement that is

enforceable unless a specific challenge to its validity is

raised. Because appellants do not contend that they did

not freely and knowingly consent to arbitrate questions

relating to the validity of the arbitration agreement,

16a

Appendix B

their challenge to the validity of the agreement is one

for the arbitrators to determine.

Appellants’ additional arguments in support of a

stay of the arbitration proceeding are similarly not

subject to judicial review. Although respondent

apparently commenced the arbitration prior to paying

the claims in violation of the contract’s “pay first”

provision,’ the effect of such a violation raises a question

regarding arbitrability that, as discussed above, must

be decided by the arbitrators.

3. The contract provided that indemnification from

appellant Peachtree is respondent Lloyd’s “sole and exclusive

remedy” and that “under no circumstances . . . shall [Lloyd's]

be entitled to submit any dispute” regarding its obligation to

pay a claim to arbitration “prior to payment of such claim...”

l7a

APPENDIX C— ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT,

APPELLATE DIVISION, FIRST DEPARTMENT,

NEW YORK DATED DECEMBER 22, 2009

At a Term of the Appellate Division of the Supreme

Court held in and for the First Judicial Department in

the County of New York on December 22, 2009.

PRESENT: Hon. David B. Saxe, Justice Presiding,

John T. Buckley

James M. McGuire

Leland G. DeGrasse

Helen E. Freedman, Justices.

M-5179

Index No. 601244/08

Life Receivables Trust,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

-against-

Goshawk Syndicate i102 at Lloyd’s,

Defendant-Respondent,

Life Settlement Corporation, doing business as

Peach Tree Life, Settlements,

Defendant-Appellant.

8a

Appendix C

Defendant-appellant having moved for reargument

of, or leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals from, the

decision and order of this Court entered on October 13,

2009 (Appeal No. 194N),

Now, upon reading and filing the papers with respect

to the motion, and due deliberation having been had

thereon,

It is ordered that the motion, insofar as it seeks

reargument, is denied.

It is further ordered that the motion, to the extent

it seeks leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals, is

granted and this Court, pursuant to CPLR 5713,

certifies that the following question of law decisive of

the correctness of its determination, has arisen, which

in its opinion ought to be reviewed by the Court of

Appeals:

“Was the order of this Court, which affirmed

the order of the Supreme Court, properly

made?”

This Court further certifies that its determination

was made zs a matter of law and not in the exercise of

diseretion.

ENTER:

s/ [illegible]

DEPUTY CLERK

19a

APPENDIX D — OPINION OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

COUNTY OF NEW YORK, COMMERCIAL

DIVISION DATED SEPTEMBER 19, 2008

AND FILED SEPTEMBER 30, 2008

SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF NEW YORK

COUNTY OF NEW YORK:

COMMERCIAL DIVISION

Index No.

601244/08

LIFE RECEIVABLES TRUST,

Plaintiff,

-against

GOSHAWK SYNDICATE 102 at LLOYD'S,

Defendant

Charles Edward Ramos, J.S.C.:

Motion sequence number 001 and 002 are

consolidated for disposition.

In motion sequence 001, plaintiff Life Receivables

Trust (LRT) moves to stay the arbitration before the

American Arbitration Association’s (AAA) International

Center for Dispute Resolution (ICDR) arising out of a

20a

Appendix D

rescission agreement’ (Rescission Arbitration) pursuant

to 9 USC § 1 of the Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), and

to enjoin the arbitration before the ICDR, entitled the

Wang Arbitration.’

In motion sequence 002, defendant Goshawk

Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s (Syndicate 102) moves to join

non-party Life Settlement Corporation d/b/a Peachtree

Life Settlements pursuant to CPLR 1001.

Background ®

LRT is a special purpose business trust that owns a

portfolio of life insurance policies originally purchased

by non-party Peachtree, a life settlement provider. As

the owner and beneficiary of the policies, LRT funds

payment of the premiums and becomes entitled to the

insurance proceeds when the policies mature.

1. This arbitration is entitled Goshawk Dedicated Ltd., as

the sole Member of Syndicate 102 at Llioyd’s for the 2000

Underwriting Year of Account, and Kite Dedicated Ltd., f/k/a

Goshawk Dedicated (No. 2) Ltd., as the sole Member of

Syndicate 102 at Lloyd’s for the 2001-2003 Underwriting Years

of Account v. Life Receivables Trust, and Life Settlement

Corporation, d/b/a Peachtree Life Settlements.

2. This arbitration is entitled Life Receivables Trust v.

Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd's. There is an additional

arbitration proceeding involving the parties, referred to in their

papers as the Omnibus Arbitration.

3. The facts set forth herein are taken from the pleadings,

or the Affidavit of Dale Christensen, Esq., unless otherwise

noted.

2la

Appendix D

A life settlement provider may purchase insurance

policies and sell them to investors. Contingency cost

insurance (CCI) is used as a financial guarantee against

the risk that the seller of the life insurance policy will

live beyond a specified period.

Beginning in 2000, Syndicate 102 issued CCI

agreements to LRT, pursuant to which it charged and

collected nearly $8 million to hedge LRT’s risk that a

life insured might live beyond the specified life

expectancy. Non-party Peachtree was the servicer and

originator under the CCI agreements. LRT alleges that

Syndicate 102 has not paid a single claim to date under

the CCI agreements.

The CCI agreements contain identical arbitration

provisions in section 30 (Arbitration Agreement), that

state,

1. All disputes and differences arising under

or in connection with this Insurance shall be

referred to arbitration under the American

Arbitration Association Rules.

3. The Arbitration Tribunal may in its sole

discretion make such orders and directions as

it considers to be necessary for the final

determination of the matters in dispute

provided that the parties shall each retain the

right to appeal errors of law to a court of law

having jurisdiction of the matters addressed

herein (emphasis added).

2):

Appendix D

The CCI agreements additionally contain identical

provisions entitled “Recourse,” (Recourse Provision)

that state that Syndicate 102’s obligation to pay is

absolute, and not subject to any set-off or counterclaim.

Further, the Recourse Provision requires Peachtree

to indemnify Syndicate 102 against any losses as to which

Syndicate 102 make payment to LRT, if the losses result

from breach by Peachtree of certain representations and

warranties.

In September 2005, LRT commenced the Wang

Arbitration to recover damages under certain CC]

agreement for two claims denied by Syndicate 102 in

July 2005.

In March 2008, defendant Syndicate 102 commenced

the Rescission Arbitration against both LRT and

Peachtree, seeking to rescind its obligations under the

CCI agreements to which LRT and Syndicate 102 are

parties, based on alleged fraudulent life expectancies

that Peachtree supplied for a number of life insured

(Smoak Affidavit, Exhibit 1).

When syndicate 102 sought an order from the AAA

directing the parties to name arbitrators, LRT filed a

federal action seeking to stay both the arbitrations,

which was dismissed for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction. Thereafter, LRT commenced this action.

23a

Appendix D

Discussion

LRT seeks a stay of the Arbitrations on the ground

that the U.S. Supreme Court’s recent decision in //all

Street Assocs. L.L.C. v Mattel, Inc. 128 US 1396 [2008 ])

renders the parties’ Arbitration Agreement a nullity,

because it expands the scope of judicial review of

arbitration awards beyond the grounds explicitly set

forth in the FAA.

Moreover, LRT contends that Syndicate 102’s

obligation to pay its claims are absolute, and that the

Recourse Provision in the CCI agreements precludes

Syndicate 102 from asserting any defense to coverage

against LRT or any of its beneficiaries. LRT argues that

Syndicate 102’s sole and exclusive remedy involving

losses relating to wrongdoing on the part of Peachtree

is against Peachtree only, under the Recourse Provision.

In opposition, Syndicate 102 and Peachtree assert

that in the Arbitration Agreement, the parties

unequivocally agreed that arbitrators, and not the

Court, would determine issues of arbitrability, and that

the issues decided by the Supreme Court in //all Street

Assocs. (128 US 1396) are inapplicable to this action.

This Court agrees, and for the reasons set forth below,

the motion to stay arbitration is denied.

The Federal Arbitration Act (IAA) applies to the

determination of whether the parties made a valid

agreement to arbitrate their disputes, because the CCI

agreements affect interstate commerce (Gerling Global

4a

{fppendix D

Reinsurance Corp. 4 Hlome lis. Co., 8302 AD2d 118, 124

(I Dept 2002], lv denred 302 AD2d 11% [2003]))

The plain and expansive language employed in

section 30 of the Arbitration Agreement unequivocally

establishes that the parties agreed to arbitrate their

disputes arising out of the CCI agreements, by use of

the phrase “all disputes and differences arising under

or in connection with this Insurance shall be referred

to arbitration under the [AAA] (Louis Dreyfus Neqgoce

S.A. v Blystad Shipping & Trading Inc., 252 3d 218,

226 [2d Cir], cert denied 534 US 1020 [2001] | terms such

as “any dispute, “relating to” and “arising under”

indicate a broad arbitration clause ])

Moreover, the Arbitration Ayreement Incorporale

by reference all of the AAA rules. Under Article 15.1 of

the IDPR rules of the AAA, arbitrators, not the court,

decide the “existence, scope, or validity” of an

arbitration agreement (IDRP Article 15.1)

Where, as here, the parties explicitly incorporate

rules that empower an arbitrator to decide issues of

arbitrability, that incorporation constitutes clear and

unmistakable evidence that arbitrability is to be decided

by the arbitrators (Contec Corp. v Remote Solution Co

Ltd., 398 IF 38d 205, 208 |2d Cir. 2005])

LRT challenges the scope of the Arbitration

Agreement, and contends that the dispute over payment

of claims is not subject to arbitration because of the

Kecourse Provision. Additionally, LRT challenyves the

26a

Appendix D

§§ 9-11. The Supreme Court concluded that the grounds

set forth in the FAA for vacating or modifying an

arbitration award constitute the exclusive grounds for

vacatur and modification, and that parties cannot, by

contract, expand upon these grounds (id. at 1405).

Ultimately, the Supreme Court remanded the case for

determination of issues independent of the grounds for

judicial enforcement of arbitration awards (7d. at 1399).

There is no basis to conclude that the holding in

Hall Street Assocs. (128 US 1396) mandates the

invalidation of the parties’ agreement to arbitrate by

this Court, simply because the Arbitration Agreement

contains a provision expanding the availability of judicial

review of an award beyond those exclusive grounds set

forth in the FAA. Undoubtedly, such an application of

Hall Street Assocs. (id.) would conflict with the strong

federal policy favoring arbitration that seeks to “place

arbitration agreements on equal footing with ali other

contracts” (Hall Street Assocs., 128 US at 1402).

Additionally, it is not a basis upon which to stay

arbitration (see generally Kyocera Corp. v Prudential

-Bache Trade Services, Inc., 341 F 3d 987 [9" Cir 2003],

cert dismissed 540 US 1098 [2004]).

Nonetheless, the issue that arises is whether the

holding in Hall Street Assocs. requires severability of

that portion of the Arbitration Agreement that runs

afoul of the FAA.°

5. The Supreme Court chose not to address the issue of

severability, because it was not a basis for certiorari (Hal/ Street

Assocs., 128 US at 1405, fn 6).

te

Appendix D

The issue of whether an agreement’s provisions are

severable is ordinarily a question of the parties’ intent

for the Court to determine (Atlantic Mut. Ins. Co. v.

Balfour MacaLaine Intl. Ltd., 85 F 3d 68, 81 [2™4 Cir

1996]). However, determining the severability of an

expanded judicial review clause in the context of

arbitration agreements subject to the FAA has not been

addressed by a New York court subsequent to Hall

Street Assocs.

In light of the parties’ explicit agreement that the

existence, scope, or validity of the Arbitration

Agreement is to be determined by the arbitrators, and

the strong federal policy favoring arbitration that

dictates that any doubts concerning the seope of

arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor of

arbitration (//all Street Assocs., 128 US at 1402; Bank

Jultus Baer & Co. v Waxfield Ltd., 424 F3d 278, 281 [2d

Cir 2005]), the severability of the expanded judicial

review clause is for the arbitrators to determine. In any

event, severability prior te an application to confirm,

vacate or modify an arbitration award is premature.

Therefore, LRT’s motion to stay arbitration is denied.

Finally, Syndicate 102’s motion to join Peachtree as

a necessary party is granted without opposition (June

25, 2008 Transcript, 41:3-12).

Accordingly, it is

ORDERED that plaintiff’s Life Receivables Trust’s

motion to stay arbitration is denied; and it is further

28a

Appendix D

ORDERED that defendant’s motion to join non-

party Life Settlement Corporation d/b/a Peachtree Life

Settlements is granted.

Dated: September 19, 2008

ENTER:

s/ Charles E. Ramos

HON. CHARLES E. RAMOS

J.C.

29a

APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS OF NEW YORK DATED JULY 1, 2010

STATE OF NEW YORK

COURT OF APPEALS

At a session of the Court, held at Court of

Appeals Hall in the City of Albany

on the first day of July, 2010

Present, Hon. JONATHAN LIPPMAN, Chief Judge, presiding.

Mo. No. 2010-708

Life Receivables Trust.

Plaintiff,

"

Goshawk Syndicate 102 at Lloyd's,

Respondent

Life Settlement Corporation,

Doing Business as Peach Tree Life Settlements,

Appellant.

A motion for reargument to the Court of Appeals

and for a stay in the above cause having heretofore been

made upon the part of the appellant herein, papers

having been submitted thereon and due deliberation

having been thereupon had, it is

30a

Appendix E

ORDERED, that the said motion for reargument be

and the same hereby is denied with one hundred dollars

costs and necessary reproduction disbursements; and it is

ORDERED, that the said motion for a stay be and the

same hereby is dismissed as academic.

s/ Stuart M. Cohen

Stuart M. Cohen

Clerk of the Court

3la

APPENDIX F — RELEVANT STATUTES

§ 2. Validity, irrevocability, and enforcement of

agreements to arbitrate

A written provision in any maritime

transaction or a contract evidencing a

transaction involving commerce to settle by

arbitration a controversy thereafter arising

out of such contract or transaction, or the

refusal to perform the whole or any part

thereof, or an agreement in writing to submit

to arbitration an existing controversy arising

out of such a contract, transaction, or refusal,

shall be valid, irrevocable, and enforceable,

save upon such grounds as exist at law or in

equity for the revocation of any contract.

32a

Appendix F

S.C. § 4

§ 4. Failure to arbitrate under agreement; petition

to United States court having jurisdiction for order

to compel arbitration; notice and service thereof;

hearing and determination

A party aggrieved by the alleged failure,

neglect, or refusal of another to arbitrate

under a written agreement for arbitration

may petition any United States district court

which, save for such agreement, would have

jurisdiction under Title 28, in a civil action or

in admiralty of the subject matter of a suit

arising out of the controversy between the

parties, for an order directing that such

arbitration proceed in the manner provided

for in such agreement. Five days’ notice in

writing of such application shall be served

upon the party in default. Service thereof

shall be made in the manner provided by the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The court

shall hear the parties, and upon being satisfied

that the making of the agreement for

arbitration or the failure to comply therewith

is not in issue, the court shall make an order

directing the parties to proceed to arbitration

in accordance with the terms of the

agreement. The hearing and proceedings,

under such agreement, shall be within the

district in which the petition for an order

directing such arbitration is filed. If the

33a

Appendix F

making of the arbitration agreement or the

failure, neglect, or refusal to perform the same

be in issue, the court shall proceed summarily

to the trial thereof. If no jury trial be

demanded by the party alleged to be in

default, or if the matter in dispute is within

admiralty jurisdiction, the court shall hear and

determine such issue. Where such an issue is

raised, the party alleged to be in default may,

except in cases of admiralty, on or before the

return day of the notice of application,

demand a jury trial of such issue, and upon

such demand the court shall make an order

referring the issue or issues to a jury in the

manner provided by the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, or may specially call a jury for that

purpose. If the jury find that no agreement

in writing for arbitration was made or that

there is no default in proceeding thereunder,

the proceeding shall be dismissed. If the jury

find that an agreement for arbitration was

made in writing and that there is a default in

proceeding thereunder, the court shall make

an order summarily directing the parties to

proceed with the arbitration in accordance

with the terms thereof.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.