Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Andrews v. Howard

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Cotrt, US.

} FILED

(1) 10-58 JUL 8- 2010

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SS —————— —— eee - —— — o>—e a

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

Mark Epw. ANDREWS,

Petitioner,

V.

D. DouGcLas Howarp, JR.,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARK Epw. ANDREWS

Counsel of Record

ANDREWS Arts & Sciences Law, LLC

7104 COLISEUM STREET

New Or.LEANS, LA 70118-4818

MEA@MEALAW.COM

504-383-3632

Attorney for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

After being sued for malicious prosecution in state

court for prior ltigation in federal court, defendant

attorney removed to the same federal court, on both

federal-question and officer-of-the-court grounds. The

district court remanded and ordered fee shifting.

Defendant appealed the fee shifting and quantum of

award, which were affirmed by the circuit court, with

the addition of Rule-38 sanctions for frivolous appeal.

l. Is officer-of-the-court removal under 28 USC

§1442 categorically unavailable to admitted attorneys?

2. Is fee shifting on remand under 28 USC §1447(c)

properly imposed in the absence of clearly-established

law demonstrating a lack of reasonable basis for removal?

3. Is an appeal on an unresolved or novel question

frivolous and sanctionable under F.R.A.P. Rule 38?

4. May lodestar analysis of fee shifting be bypassed

if a court regards litigation to be vexatious?

ll

RULE 14.1(B) STATEMENT

A list of all parties to the proceeding in the court

whose judgment is the subject of this petition is as

follows:

Plaintiff-Appellee and Respondent:

Desmond Douglas Howard, Jr., Attorney at Law, is

a natural person of majority, admitted to practice in

Louisiana, Bar. No. 7021, maintaining a professional

office in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Defendant-Appellant and Petitioners:

Mark Edw. Andrews, Attorney at Law and

Registered U.S. Patent Attorney, is a natural person

of majority, admitted as an attorney in Louisiana (No.

26172) and Cahfornia (No. 232519), maintaining a

professional office in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Other Defendants-Appellants below:

Andrews Arts & Sciences Law, LLC, organized in

Louisiana, is the solo-practice law firm of Mark Edw.

Andrews.

Lesley Simmons St. Germain is a natural person of

majority and resident of New Orleans, Louisiana.

Hillary Rose Smith is a natural person of majority

and resident of New Orleans, Louisiana.

Melissa Branighan is a natural person of majority

and resident of Jefferson Parish, Louisiana.

David E. Simmons, DDS, is a natural person of

majority and resident of New Orleans, Louisiana, and

is the father of Lesley Simmons St. Germain.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented .

Rule 14.1(b) Statement

Table of Authorities

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction .....

Statutory Provisions Involved

Statement of the Case .

,ontrolling Preceder

Controlling P lent

Reasons for Granting the Petition

A. Fifth Circuit ruled broadly that attorneys

cannot remove under §1442, on a question

not properly before that court

B. Fifth Circuit seriously misapprehends

Willingham v. Morgan (U

.2., 1000)

No controlling caselaw existed at the time of

removal, as shown by Herron.. .

D. Seventh-Circuit rule is rejected by the Fifth

EK. Other reasonable grounds for removal were

asserted and supported, but overlooked.

KF. Neither the district court nor the Fifth Circuit

applied the proper Martin standard.

G. Appeal of quantum was overlooked, and no

proper lodestar analysis was done by any court

H. The Fifth Circuit’s Rule-38 sanctions conflict

with its own precedent.

Commas ee es

Appendix A, Circuit. Court Opinion

Appendix B, Circuit Court Denial of Rehearing

Appendix C, District Court Minute Order .

Appendix D, District Court Order. .....

Appendix E, Supervisory Writ (La.App.)

Appendix F, Relevant Statutes

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

( anime TTS. 399 (1i9bf

LUCTTLE | Saks Fifth (venue a)

(CAS 12/28/2002) 8 F.3d 1171

are Re,ablo : \ — . } j

itt nbuckle { otate karm Lloyds

re High Sulfur Content Gasoline Products Liab

07-30384 (CA5 2/4/2008) 517 F.3d 22

V4 4( k li Lt ( uty of Neu Orleans

01-31039 (CAS 7/25/2002) 300 } i

Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp

546 U.S. 1382 (2005)

Miranti v. Lee, 92-3576 (CA5 10/7/1993) 3 |} 1 92

Valdes v. Wal-Mart Stores, In«

99-20519 (CA5 1/12/2000) 199 F.3d 290 .

Watson v. Phtlup Morris Cos.. 551 U.S. 142 (200

Willingham Morgan, 395 U.S. 402 (1969)

Statutes

101 (19438)

8

28 USC §1254 (1988)

S

$1367 (1990)

28 USC §1441 (2002) 2. 3,

28 USC §1442 (1996) L, 2, 4, 6,

28 USC §1447 (1996) 1 2,4,6

28 USC §2101 (1994)

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I, Mark Edw. Andrews, Defendant—Appellant in

the action below, respectfully petition for a writ of

certiorarl to review the opinion and judgment of the

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The published opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit, Howard v. Si. Germain, et al, 09-30642

(CA5 3/5/2010), is reproduced at Appendix A, pp.la-4a.

The Fifth Circuit’s order denying rehearing was entered

13 April 2010, and is reproduced at Appendix B, p.5a.

The Minute Order of the U.S. District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana in case number 09-3450,

entered 24 June 2009, and Order entered 20 July 2009,

are reproduced at Appendices C, p.6a, and D, pp.7a—9a.

The Supervisory Writ granted by the Louisiana Court

of Appeal after the action was remanded to state court

is informative— although not directly at issue— and is

reproduced at Appendix E, pp.10a-38a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals sought to be

reviewed was entered on 5 March 2010. Rehearing was

timely sought, and was denied on 13 April 2010. This

petition is timely under 28 USC §2101() and Supreme

Court Rule 13.1 because it is being filed within 90 days

of the denial of rehearing on the opinion and judgment

sought to be reviewed. This Court has jurisdiction to

review the judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit under 28 USC §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant statutes are 28 USC §1367(d) (pendant

jurisdiction), and §1441, §1442, & §1447 (removal and

remand), reproduced at Appendix F, pp.39a—40a.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was removed under 28 USC §1441 and

§1442, with jurisdiction continuing under 28 USC §1447.

I am an attorney. My clients and I were sued in

state court for malicious prosecution— in retaliation for

filing a civil-RICO action in federal court. I removed to

the federal court where the RICO action had been filed.

The federal district court remanded and ordered me to

pay attorney fees under 28 USC §1447(c). I appealed

the fee-shifting and the quantum of attorney fees

awarded, but did not appeal the fact of remand. The

circuit court affirmed and ordered additional Rule-38

sanctions against me for bringing a frivolous appeal.

This petition is not about the remand— it 1s about

the imposition of fee-shifting and sanctions even though

there was no controlling caselaw foreclosing removal at

the time of removal. It is also about the circuit court

making a broad decision— affecting all attorneys

admitted before the federal courts— on an issue that

was not properly before the circuit court for decision.

My notice of removal stated multiple grounds, one of

which was removal as an officer of the court under 28

USC §1442. I researched before removing, and saw that

the only statement in the Fifth Circuit about admitted

attorneys removing as officers of the court was footnote

2 of a case about a private process server, where the

Fifth Circuit stated: “We do not attempt to fashion a

definition of “officer of the court,’ nor do we opine as

to whether attorneys are ‘officers of the courts of the

United States’ within the meaning of Sec. 1442.”!. I

found no out-of-circuit caselaw that directly addressed

the question of attorneys removing under §1442.

1. Herron v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 95-10645, note 2 (CA5

1/23/1996) 73 F.3d 57, 59.

As their new attorney, I represent three former

clients of a divorce attorney named Howard. Those

former clients filed a civil-RICO action in federal court

against Howard, with pendant state-law claims of legal

malpractice and breach of contract. The RICO claims

were dismissed from federal court, and the pendant

state-law claims were dismissed without prejudice to

be re-filed in state court under 28 USC §1367(d).

The three former clients unsuccessfully appealed

the federal dismissal, and did not immediately re-file

in state court, but their time to do so had not expired.

Meanwhile, in state court, Howard filed a defamation

action against me and my clients who were formerly his

clients. I filed in state court my clients’ legal-malpractice

claims as a reconventional demand, or counterclaim, to

Howard's state-court action. These legal-malpractice

claims were the ones formerly pending in federal court

as pendant claims to the civul-RICO action. Howard

later added claims for malicious prosecution, and the

malicious prosecution was specified as being the filing

and appeal of the civil-RICO action against Howard

in federal court, and the filing of counterclaims

in state court that were said to be time-barred. By

amending his lawsuit to add claims for the filing of the

counterclaims, Howard created a circular mess where

normally-defensive issues of time-bar were made part

of the main claims.

Louisiana imposes peremption, or a statute of

repose, on claims against attorneys. Federal law at 28

USC §1367() either does or does not toll Louisiana’s

time-bar. Such a question is normally a defensive

issue, but in this circular case it was an issue in the

supplemented main claims. One of my grounds for

removal, under 28 USC §1441, was this question of

federal law 28 USC §1367(d).

4

Another of my grounds for removal— the one that

cost me $12,955 in sanctions— was officer-of-the-court

removal under 28 USC §1442. Howard explicitly sued

me for acting as the attorney in federal court in the

federal! civil-RICO action and appeal. My research

showed that removal as an officer of the court was—

theoretically— available, and that there was no caselaw

in the entire nation to inform me one way or the otaer,

although there was one footnote in one case in the Fifth

Circuit confirming that there was no settled caselaw.

After removal the case was transferred to the same

section of federal district court that heard the earlier

RICO action. The district court remanded the action

to state court and assessed costs and fee-shifting under

28 USC §1447(c) against me— attorney Mark Andrews

specifically by name— in the minute entry. J opposed

the fee-shifting and the quantum of the award, but the

other co-defendants did not oppose because they were

not subject to the fee-shifting assessment. The district

court’s written order, however, assessed the fee-shifting

against all of the co-defendants jointly and severally.

An appeal was taken on the issues of fee-shifting,

quantum of award, and due-process— not the remand

itself. Howard filed a motion for Rule-38 sanctions

against me only— specifically disclaiming any sanctions

against the other co-defendants. The Fifth Circwt

affirmed the district court’s fee-shifting, and added

Rule-38 sanctions against all of the co-defendants. The

Fifth Circuit held— very broadly— that removal under

§1442 was categorically not available to attorneys, and

that my removal was therefore improper. The opinion

was silent about §1441 federal-question removal and the

quantum of award. In deciding that admitted attorneys

cannot remove under §1442, the Fifth Circuit decided

an issue that was not before it, since the remand itself

was not appealed. As support, the Fifth Circuit cited a

misapprehended version of a 1969 Supreme Court case.

To protect my clients, I personally paid $12,955 into

the registry of the federal court, covering all fee-shifting

and sanctions. In three years of this litigation, I have

not collected any money in fees from these clients, so

the money | lost was my own.

After remand, the state district court ruled against

my clients and me, but the state appeals court reversed

on all significant issues and threw out all of Howard's

case; ordered that Howard pay me sanctions; and

reinstated the reconventional demand. The Louisiana

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal had to analyze the

application of federal law 28 USC §1367(d) to the state-

law time-bar, as I predicted in my notice of removal,

but they analyzed it correctly.*? The Louisiana Supreme

Court refused Howard’s application for certiorari,

and the defamation and malicious-prosecution action

against my clients and me is finally dismissed.

CONTROLLING PRECEDENT

Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp. controls this case,

and Martin, in turn, endorses a rule from the Fifth

Circuit. The Fifth Circuit regarded that Cammer v.

U.S.4 and Willingham v. Morgan’ controlled the issue of

attorney removal under §1442, which is disputed here.

Appendix E, Supervisory Writ in Howard v. St. Germain, et

al., 09-1344 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1/26/2010) at pp.16a,18a—22a

Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp., 546 U.S. 132, 141 (2005),

citing Hornbuckle v. State Farm Lloyds, 03-10938 (CA5

9/10/2004) 385 F.3d 538, 541, and Valdes v, Wal-Mart Stores,

Inc., 99-20519 (CA5 1/12/2000) 199 F.3d 290, 293.

Cammer v. United States, 350 U.S. 399 (1956).

Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402 (1969)

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. Fifth Circuit ruled broadly that attorneys

cannot remove under §1442, on a question

not properly before that court.

The Fifth Circuit made a very broad ruling that

attorneys cannot remove as officers of the court under

28 USC §1442, but that was not at issue in the appeal.

The issue was §1447(c) fee-shifting, and whether I had

a reasonable objective basis at the time of removal.

Although the Fifth Circuit’s holding is sweeping,

it does not address this actual appeal. Because the

remand itself was neither appealed nor appealable, the

propriety of the removal in absolute terms was not at

issue. Also, because I stated other §1441 grounds for

removal, which were overlooked, the §1442 question

was not essential. Had the issue been properly before

the court, several important questions would have

been briefed and considered: (1) what effect does the

extensive 1996 amendment of 28 USC §1442 have on

officer-of-the-court removal; (2) does any caselaw in

the half-century since Cammer have any effect; and (3)

does the broad “acting under” language that expands

28 USC §1442(a)(1) removal to private persons® also

apply to §1442(a)(2). The decision was rendered without

the benefit of such information or deliberation, but the

future implications of the decision are of exceptional

importance, and certiorari is warranted.

B. Fifth Circuit seriously misapprehends

Willingham v. Morgan (U.S., 1969).

The Fifth Circuit’s published opinion seriously

misapprehends and misstates Willingham v. Morgan’,

where the removing parties were a warden and a

6. Watson v. Philip Morris Cos., 551 U.S. 142 (2007)

7. Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 406-08 (1969)

medical officer at a federal prison, and where the

Supreme Court's decision says nothing whatsoever

about private attorneys or officers of the court. In the

Fifth Circuit’s opinion here, the synopsis of Willingham

is “(interpreting the purpose of 28 U.S.C. § 1442 as

applying to only those cases where a federal officer

required a federal forum and not intended for a private

attorney to use to remove a state action to federal court

on the basis that he was an ‘officer of the court’)’.®

This 1s completely wrong, and was highly prejudicial

to my appeal. The Fifth Circuit based the sweeping

holding that attorneys cannot remove under §1442 on

a completely-wrong synopsis of the Willingham case,

which now sits in a published opinion that needs the

corrective attention of this Supreme Court.

C. No controlling caselaw existed at the time of

removal, as shown by Herron.

In Herron v. Continental Atrlines the Fifth Circuit

held a private process server could not remove under

§1442. Removal by an attorney was not at issue, and

the Fifth Circuit explicitly stated in footnote 2 “[wle

do not attempt to fashion a definition of “officer of the

court,” nor do we opine as to whether attorneys are

‘officers of the courts of the United States’ within the

meaning of Sec. 1442”.”

The Fifth Circuit opinion here does not explain how

the 1956 Supreme Court case of Cammer v. United

States controls any kind of removal, but it treats the

Cammer opinion as settled caselaw giving me notice

that removal was not available, notwithstanding (1)

that Cammer says nothing at all about any kind of

removal, (2) that there is no circuit-court caselaw

8. Appendix A, Circuit Court Opinion, p.3a

9. Herron v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 95-10645, note 2 (CA5

1/23/1996) 73 F.3d 57, 59

anywhere applying Cammer to the question of an

admitted attorney removing under §1442, and (3) that

the Fifth Circuit’s own Herron case acknowledges the

question as being unresolved. Cammer’s holding was

“(wje hold that a lawyer is not the kind of ‘officer’ who

can be summarily tried for contempt under 18 USC

§401(2).""" Cammer’s reasoning, in part, was that

an attorney is not an “officer of the court” within the

ordinary meaning of that term. “Ordinary meaning”

informs but does not control the meaning of that term

in the text of the statute 28 USC §1442, and the Fifth

Circuit was unwarranted in holding that it does

In some different appeal— with the issue properly

presented and _ briefed a court might apply and

extend the reasoning of the 1956 Cammer decision to

synthesize a new holding that attorneys cannot remove

under 28 USC §1442. Such a new holding would become

controlling caselaw, which would put all attorneys

in the future on notice that attempted removal was

unreasonable. But such controlling caselaw did not

exist on 5 May 2009 when I filed my Notice of Removal.

The Cammer decision had nothing to do with removal,

but the Fifth Circuit punishes me for failing to foresee

that the Cammer decision might be extended a half

century later to disallow removal by attorneys, and

punishes me twice by upholding the district court’s

fee-shifting, and then adding sanctions for a frivolous

appeal. By doing so, the Fifth Circuit conflicts with

both Supreme-Court and its own precedent,'' which

holds that the reasonable objective bases for removing

must be analyzed as of the time of removal; that a

10. Cammer vu. United States, 350 US. 399, 407-08 (1956)

11. Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp., 546 U.S. 132, 141 (2005),

citing Hornbuckle v. State Farm Lloyds, 03-10938 (CA5

9/10/2004) 385 F.3d 538, 541, and Valdes v. Wal-Mart Stores,

Inc., 99-20519 (CA5 1/12/2000) 199 F.3d 290, 293

9

court’s discretion in awarding fees should be faithful to

the law’s purposes; and that the threat of fee-shifting

should not be so strong as to discourage all but the most

obvious removals. This conflict warrants certiorari.

D. Seventh-Circuit rule is rejected by the Fifth.

In the Seventh Circuit:

As a general rule, if, at the time the defendant

filed his notice in federal court, clearly

established law demonstrated that he had

no basis for removal, then a district court

should award a plaintiff his attorneys’ fees.

By contrast, if clearly established law did not

foreclose a defendant’s basis for removal, then a

district court should not award attorneys’ fees.’

This rule 1s useful to courts and to attorneys trying to

avoid sanctions. I briefed and urged the Seventh-Circuit

rule on the district and circuit courts, who rejected it

without comment. This makes a conflict between the

Seventh and Fifth Circuits, warranting certiorari.

E. Other reasonable grounds for removal were

asserted and supported, but overlooked.

Federal-officer removal under §1442 was only one of

the grounds asserted and supported. The removal was

also based on §1441 federal-question removal because

of the question of 28 USC §1367(d) in the plaintiffs

complaint when viewed as a well-pleaded complaint. A

Constitutional issue— subsidiary to the other issues—

was also identified. If the district and circuit courts

had applied the proper standard and analyzed whether

these other grounds for removal were reasonable, then

the §1442 grounds would likely have been recognized

as being not essential to an inquiry of whether the

removal as a whole was reasonable.

12. Lott v. Pfizer, Inc., 06-3372 (CA7 6/25/2007) 492 F.3d 789, 793.

10

F. Neither the district court nor the Fifth

Circuit applied the proper Martin standard.

The Fifth Circuit reverted to the older discretion

standard of Miranti v. Lee'*, which has been superceded

by Valdes“ and Hornbuckle” in the Fifth Circuit, and

by Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp.'® everywhere.

The district court only cited the 1993 Miranti case,

and declined to acknowledge the newer cases. The

district court also declined to make any proper findings

regarding reasonableness of any of the grounds for

removal as required to support fee-shifting under the

current caselaw, and instead based the fee-shifting

award solely upon its “discretion upon a finding that

removal is improper’,”’ citing only Miranti. The Fifth

Circuit acknowledged the existence of the Martin,

Valdes, and Hornbuckle cases, but overlooked them

and affirmed only on the basis of the district court’s

discretion, with citations to Miranti and to a 1996

district court case.'®

In Martin, in 2005, the Supreme Court provided

detailed guidance regarding discretion as it applies to

§1447(c) fee-shifting.'? The Fifth Circuit has overlooked

this guidance and reverted to an older, outdated notion

of discretion, which warrants certiorari here.

13. Miranti v. Lee, 92-3576 (CA5 10/7/1993) 3 F.3d 925.

14. Valdes v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 99-20519 (CA5 1/12/2000)

199 F.3d 290, 293.

15. Hornbuckle v. State Farm Lloyds, 03-10938 (CA5 9/10/2004)

385 F.3d 538, 541.

16. Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp., 546 U.S. 132, 141 (2005).

17. Appendix D, District Court Order of 20 July 2009, p.7a.

18. Appendix A, Circuit Court Opinion of 5 March 2010, p.2a.

19. Martin v. Franklin Capital Corp., 546 U.S. 132, 139 (2005).

11

G. Appeal of quantum was overlooked, and no

proper lodestar analysis was done by any

court.

My appeal contained a detailed objection to specific

hours claimed, where the impropriety of the hours are

shown on the face of the billing, and with citation to the

relevant Fifth Circuit precedent. This entire aspect of

the appeal was overlooked. The district court failed

to analyze and confirm the quantum of attorney fees

in a proper lodestar analysis, but instead summarily

endorsed the quantum because of the “vexatious” nature

of the prior litigation. The Fifth Circuit overlooked this

and let it stand, and by doing so was in conflict with

its own precedent, which states “[w]e must determine

whether the record clearly indicates that the district

court has utilized the Johnson framework as the

basis of its analysis, has not proceeded in a summary

fashion, and has arrived at an amount that can be

said to be just compensation”*®. My detailed objection

to the attorney fees awarded as Rule-38 sanctions was

likewise overlooked, and none of the $12,955 I was

sanctioned ever got a proper lodestar analysis by either

of the courts, in conflict with Fifth Circuit precedent,

and warranting certiorari here.

H. The Fifth Circuit’s Rule-38 sanctions

conflict with its own precedent.

Fifth-Circuit precedent states that an appeal of

a novel or unresolved question or a question of first

impression is not considered frivolous or sanctionable.?!

Whether an admitted attorney may remove as an

20. In re High Sulfur Content Gasoline Products Liab., 07-30384

(CA5 2/4/2008) 517 F.3d 220, 227 (internal quotes omitted).

21. Macklin v. City of New Orleans, 01-31039 (CA5 7/25/2002)

300 F.3d 552, 554; Estiverne v. Saks Fifth Avenue, 93-3317

(CA5 12/28/2002) 8 F.3d 1171, 1174.

12

“officer of the court” was a novel, unresolved question

and an issue of first impression. Consequently the

question actually at issue on appeal— whether I had

a reasonable objective basis for removal at the time of

removal— was also a novel, unresolved question and

an issue of first impression. Therefore, existing Fifth

Circuit precedent says that I should not have been

sanctioned for a frivolous appeal, and the decision here

imposing sanctions is in conflict with Fifth Circuit

precedent, warranting certiorari.

CONCLUSION

Because the district and circuits courts did not

apply the proper standard in awarding fee-shifting on

remand, and did not apply a proper lodestar analysis

to the quantum of award, and because the circuit court

declined to follow the rule of another circuit, and did not

follow its own precedent in ordering Rule-38 sanctions,

and because the circuit court has made a broad ruling

on an issue not properly on appeal before it, this Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted:

Mark Edw. Andrews

Counsel of Record

Andrews Arts & Sciences Law, LLC

7104 Coliseum St.

New Orleans, LA 70118-4818

504-383-3632

mea@mealaw.com

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Appendix A, Circuit Court Opinion

of 6 March 2010......... la

Appendix B, Circuit Court Denial of

Rehearing 13 April 2010. .5a

Appendix C, District Court Minute

Order of 24 June 2009 ...6a

Appendix D, District Court Order

of 20 July 2009 ......... 7a

Appendix KE, Supervisory Writ (La.App.)

of 26 January 2010..... 10a

Appendix F, Relevant Statutes .......39a

la

APPENDIX A, CIRCUIT COURT OPINION

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 09-30642

Summary Calendar

Filed March 5, 2010

Charles R. Fulbruge III, Clerk

D DOUGLAS HOWARD, JR..,

Plaintiff - Appellee

v.

LESLEY SIMMONS ST. GERMAIN, ET AL

Defendants - Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

USDC No. 2:09-cv-03450

Before BENAVIDES, PRADO, SOUTHWICK, Circuit

Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Defendants-Appellants Mark Edw. Andrews,

Lesley Simmons St. Germain, and David E. Simmons

(“Appellants”) appeal the imposition of fee-shifting

by the district court. Plaintiff-Appellee D. Douglas

Howard (“Appellee”) sued the Appellants in state court

for defamation, and the Appellants removed the case to

federal court. After hearing arguments on the issue,

the district court remanded the case to state court

and assessed attorney’s fees against Appellants under

28 U.S.C. § 1447(c). Appellants do not seek review of

2a

the district court’s decision to remand. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1447). Thus, we only consider the district court’s

decision to impose liability on all Appellants for

Appellee’s legal fees.

We review a district court’s award for attorney’s

fees under the deferential abuse of discretion standard.

Hornbuckle v. State Farm Lloyds, 385 F.3d 538, 541

(5th Cir. 2004). Subsidiary factual findings underlying

this award are reviewed for clear error. League of

United Latin Am. Citizens No. 4552 (LULAC) v. Roscoe

Indep. Sch. Dist., 119 F.3d 1228, 1232 (5th Cir. 1997).

The decision to impose any fee award against one or

all the Defendants, jointly and severally, is within the

court’s discretion. See, e.g., Park Nat. Bank of Houston

v. Kaminetzky, 976 F. Supp. 571, 584 (S.D. Tex. 1996).

Section 1447(c) permits a district court to award “just

costs and any actual expenses, including attorney’s fees”

that are incurred as a result of the removal. 28 U.S.C.

§ 1447(c); see also Miranti v. Lee, 3 F.3d 925, 927-28

(5th Cir. 1993) (stating that both costs and attorney’s

fees against the removing party may be imposed if the

court finds that removal is improper under § 1447(c)).

The Supreme Court in Martin v. Franklin Capital

Corp., 546 U.S. 132, 141 (2005) nected that courts may

award attorney’s fees when the removing paity lacks

an objectively reasonable basis for removal. Similarly

in Hornbuckle, we stated that attorney’s fees should

be denied if an objectively reasonable basis exists. See

Hornbuckle, 385 F.3d at 541.

The district court did not err in assessing attorney’s

fees against the Appellants. Appellants argue that their

removal is supported by reasonable grounds because he

is an officer of the court and because his case raises

a constitutional question. While Section 1442 permits

a pending state action to be removed for “any officer

3a

of the courts,” the district court correctly found that

Andrews was not an officer of the court in this context.

The Supreme Court in Cammer v. United States, 350

U.S. 399, 405-08 (1956), determined that an attorney is

not an officer of the court within the ordinary meaning

of that term. See also Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. 333,

378 (1866). In Cammer, the Court reversed the lower

court’s order because a contempt finding under 18

U.S.C. § 401 could only be assessed against “officers”

of the federal courts. See Cammer, 350 U.S. at 408:

see also Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 406-08

(1969) (interpreting the purpose of 28 U.S.C. § 1442

as applying to only those cases where a federal officer

required a federal forum and not intended for a private

attorney to use to remove a state action to federal court

on the basis that he was an “officer of the court”).

Moreover, in the instant case, a constitutional

question was not raised by the petition’s state claims

nor did the prior RICO legislation raise a federal

question. Thus, the district court did not abuse its

considerable discretion in taxing costs and attorney’s

fees to Appellants because an objectively reasonable

basis for removal did not exist.

Appellee has moved under Rule 38 for sanctions and

double costs and attorney’s fees against Appellants.

Federal courts have inherent power to impose sanctions

for abuse of the judicial process. Chambers v. NASCO,

Inc., 501 U.S. 32, 43-44 (1991). Rule 38 of the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure authorizes an award of

“just damages and single or double costs to the appellee”

if we determine that an appeal is frivolous. See Buck

v. United States, 967 F.2d 1060, 1062 (5th Cir. 1992).

An appeal is frivolous if “the result is obvious or the

arguments of error are wholly without merit.” See id.

(quoting Coghlan v. Starkey, 852 F.2d 806, 811 (5th

4a

Cir. 1988)). We recently considered a similar request

by Appellee in litigation involving these parties in

St. Germain v. Howard, 556 F.3d 261, 264 (5th Cir.

2009) (“Howard I’). In Howard I, we dismissed the

Appellant’s appeal concerning their RICO suit brought

against Appellee and two law firms with which he is

affiliated without imposing sanctions. See id. at 264.

However, we noted that it was a “close case” on our

decision to deny sanctions because the Appellants did

not clearly present a cognizable civil RICO claim. Jd.

Here, we impose sanctions of double costs and attorney’s

fees against Appellant. Supreme Court cases exclude

a private attorney from the meaning of “officer of the

court,” and the district court found Appellant’s “officer

of the court” argument to be a ridiculous, “farfetched

notion.” Appellants were on notice that the overruling

of objections to remand was an obvious result when they

were unable to support their argument at the district

court. This appeal is frivolous for purposes of Rule 38.

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the

judgment of the district court and GRANT the motion

for sanctions and double costs and attorney’s fees.

Ha

APPENDIX B, CIRCUIT COURT DENIAL OF

REHEARING

Case: 09-30642 [...] Date Filed 4/13/2010

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 09-30642

D DOUGLAS HOWARD, JR..,

Plaintiff - Appellee

v.

LESLEY SIMMONS ST. GERMAIN, HILLARY

ROSE HILLYER, formerly known as Hillary Rose

Smith; MELISSA BRANIGHAN LUMINAIS;

MARK EDWARD ANDREWS; ANDREWS ARTS &

SCIENCES LAW, LLC; DAVID E. SIMMONS, D.D.S.,

Defendants - Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana, New Orleans

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Before BENAVIDES, PRADO, SOUTHWICK, Circuit

Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a

Petition for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel

Rehearing is DENIED. No member of the panel nor

judge in regular active service of the court having

requested that the court be polled on Rehearing En

Banc (Feb. R. App. P. and 5™ Cir. R. 35), the Petition

for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ FORTUNATO P. BENAVIDES

United States Circuit Judge

ba

APPENDIX C, DISTRICT COURT MINUTE ORDER

MINUTE ENTRY

BARBIER, J.

JUNE 24, 2009

JS-10: 40 min.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

D. DOUGLAS HOWARD JR. CIVIL ACTION

NUMBER: 09-3450

VERSUS SECTION: J

LESLEY SIMMONS ST. GERMAIN, ET AL

COURTROOM DEPUTY: COURT REPORTER:

KILEEN STENSRUD CATHY PEPPER

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 24, 2009 9:30 A.M.

JUDGE CARL J. BARBIER PRESIDING

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION TO REMAND TO STATE

COURT (17)

Argued; ORDERED GRANTED

[TIS FURTHER ORDERED that the amount of

attorneys fees and costs associated with filing this

motion be assessed to Mark Andrews, defendants’

counsel.

Plaintiffs are to file a motion for fees and costs by

JULY 6, 2009. Traverse to this motion is to be filed by

JULY 13, 2009.

ATTORNEYS: D. Douglas Howard Jr., Esq. & Shawn

C. Reed, Atty at Law, for plaintiff

Mark Andrews, Esq., for defendants

APPENDIX D, DISTRICT COURT ORDER

Case: 2:09-cv-3450-CJB-KWR Doc. 63 Filed 7/20/2010

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

D. DOUGLAS HOWARD, JR CIVIL ACTION

VERSUS NUMBER: 09-3450

ST. GERMAIN ET AL SECTION: J(4)

ORDER

Before the Court is Plaintiffs Motion for Attorney’s

Fees (Rec. Doc. 59), filed in accordance with the Court’s

ruling in open-court on June 24, 2009, which granted

Plaintiff's motion to remand the above-captioned matter

and awarded attorney’s fees and costs under 28 U.S.C

§ 1447(c) in connection with Defendants’ wrongful

removal of this case. Plaintiff avers that no costs were

incurred in the filing of the motion to remand, and

thus he seeks only a reasonable attorney’s fee in the

present motion. The Defendants’ opposition attempts

in large part to argue against the validity of the

Court's determination that a fee award is warranted in

the present circumstances. As the Court has already

made its determination as to the propriety of an award

under § 1447(c), the Court will not address Defendants

arguments that such an award is improper

To the extent Defendants oppose the quantum

of Plaintiffs requested award, the Court finds that

Defendants arguments are unavailing Under the

provisions of § 1447(c), “[a]|n order remanding [a] case

may require payment of just costs and any actual

expenses, including attorney’s fees, incurred as a result

of the removal.” 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c). “[T]he imposition

of both costs and attorneys’ fees against the removing

party may be awarded in the Court's discretion” upon

a finding that. removal 1s improper under § 1447(c)

Mirants v. Lee, 3 F.3d 925, 928 (5th Cir, 1993)

The Fifth Circuit adheres to the “lodestar” method

for calculating reasonable attorneys’ fees in the context

of an award under § 1447(c). Halliburton Latin America

SA v. Intern. Technical Solutions, 273 38d 392. 3892

(5th Cir. 2001). This method requires the district court

to “determine the reasonable number of hours expended

on the litigation and the reasonable hourly rate for the

participating lawyers” based on “contemporaneous

billing records or other sufficient documentation so that

the district court can fulfill its duty to examine the

application for noncompensable hours.” La. Power &

Light Co. v. Kellstrom, 50 F.3d 319, 324 (5th Cir. 1995)

“A lodestar 1s calculated by multiplying the number of

hours reasonably expended by an appropriate hourly

rate in the community for such work.” Hetdtman ¢

County of El Paso, 171 F.3d 1038, 1043 (5th Cir. 1999)

The lodestar is presumed to be the reasonable fee, but

it may be adjusted after considerations of the factors

listed in Johnson v. Georgia Highway xpress, Ine

488 F.2d 714, 717-19 (5th Cir.1974), overruled on other

grounds, Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87 (1989)

Gonzalez v. Associates Health & Welfare Plan, 2002

WL 31933208, 1 (5th Cir. 2002)

In this case, Plaintiff has requested a fee award in

the amount of $7,088.00, which the Court finds to be

appropriate in light of the hours reasonably expended

and the hourly rate charged in procuring 4 remand of

this matter. The Court notes that the $7,088.00 fe

award 1s especially appropriate in light of the two-year

history of vexatious litigation against Plaintiff by the

Defendants in this matter, which has already neurly

resulted in sanctions against Defendants on two prior

occasions. See Civil Action No. 07-9040. Ree. Do

9a

and 39. Additionally, the Court notes that Defendants’

various grounds for removal - while ultimately baseless

- were wide-ranging and complicated, and thus required

significant effort by counsel for plaintiff.

Finally, tothe extent that Defendant Andrews argues

that an award of $7,088.00 against him individually

would be financially ruinous, the Court notes that it is

within the Court’s discretion to impose any fee award

against all the Defendants, jointly and severally, as

parties to the improper removal. See, e.g., Park Nat.

Bank of Houston v. Kaminetzky, 976 F. Supp. 571, 584

(S.D. Tex. 1996). Thus, Andrews’ arguments related to

his individual financial situation are irrelevant.

As such, the Court finds that Plaintiffs requested fee

award of $7,088.00 is reasonable in the circumstances

of this case. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that Plaintiffs Motion for

Attorney’s Fees (Rec. Doc. 59) is hereby GRANTED.

Plaintiff is hereby awarded $7,088.00 under 28 U.S.C. §

1447(c) as a reasonable attorney’s fee for the remand of

this matter, to be paid by Defendants Lesley Simmons

St. Germain, Hillary Rose Hillyer, Melissa Branighan

Luminais, Mark Edward Andrews, Andrews Arts &

Sciences Law, LLC, and David E. Simmons, jointly and

severally.

New Orleans, Louisiana this 20th day of June,

2009.

s/ CARL J. BARBIER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

[note— signing date was 20 July 2009]

10a

APPENDIX E, SUPERVISORY WRIT (La.App.)

[26 Jan. 2010]

NO. 2009-C-1344

COURT OF APPEAL, FOURTH CIRCUIT

STATE OF LOUISIANA

D. DOUGLAS HOWARD JR.

VERSUS

LESLEY SIMMONS ST. GERMAIN, HILLARY

ROSE SMITH, MELISSA BRANIGHAN,

MARK EDW. ANDREWS, ANDREWS ARTS &

SCIENCES LAW, LLC & DAVID E. SIMMONS, DDS

IN RE: LESLEY SIMMONS ST. GERMAIN,

HILLARY ROSE SMITH, MELISSA BRANIGHAN,

MARK EDW. ANDREWS, ANDREWS ARTS &

SCIENCES LAW, LLC & DAVID E. SIMMONS, DDS

APPLYING FOR: SUPERVISORY WRITS

DIRECTED TO: HONORABLE LLOYD J. MEDLEY,

JR., CIVIL DISTRICT COURT, ORLEANS PARISH,

DIVISION “D-16”, 2009-2267

WRIT GRANTED IN PART;

WRIT DENIED IN PART

Attorney D. Douglas Howard brought this defamation

action against three former clients, their attorney, Mark

Andrews, and the father of one of the clients, David

E. Simmons. Thereafter, although not necessarily in

this order, Mr. Howard filed a motion to disqualify

defendants’ attorney, exceptions of prescription and res

judicata, and an ex parte motion directing defendants

to pay security costs, while the defendants, jointly, filed

a special motion to strike, reconventional demand, and

counter motion to strike order for security for costs.

The defendants also filed a motion for contempt against

Mr. Howard that the district court did not hear, but

instead, set for hearing on October 16, 2009.

lla

On September 4, 2009, following a contradictory

hearing on the various motions, the district court

granted all of Mr. Howard’s motions, denied the

defendants’ motions, and dismissed their reconventional

demand. This ruling was memorialized on September

10, 2009, when the district court signed the following

three judgments which:

(1) ordered that Mark Andrews be disqualified from

representing all of the defendants except himself,

(2) granted Mr. Howard's’ exceptions of

prescription and res judicata, dismissing all of the

defendants’ claims with prejudice, and

(3) denied attorney Mark Andrews’ special motion

to strike dated March 18, 2009, and amended motion

to strike dated June 26, 2009. Defendants now seek

supervisory review of these judgments. On October 15,

2009, the plaintiff filed a motion requesting additional

time to file a response and a motion to dismiss the

instant writ application as untimely, unauthorized,

and improperly filed. Specifically, plaintiff argues

that the abovementioned writ application should be

dismissed because it does not comply with Rules 4-4(C)'

1. Uniform Rules, Court of Appeal, Rule 4-4(C) provides:

In ali applications requesting a stay order or other priority

consideration, the applicant must certify in affidavit form that

the trial court and all counsel and unrepresented parties have

been notified by telephonic or other equally prompt means of

communication that said writ application has been or is about

to be filed and that said application has been served forthwith

on the trial court and all parties at interest or their counsel,

by means equal to the means used to effect filing with the

appellate court. (That is, if filing with the appellate court 1s by

overnight mail, the same means shall be employed for service

on the trial court and all palties at interest or their counsel. If

filing 1s by hand to the appellate court, service must be made

on the trial court and all patties at interest or their counsel by

an equally prompt means.)

12a

and 4-5? of the Uniform Rules - Courts of Appeal,

2. Uniform Rules, Courts of Appeal, Rule 4-5 provides:

The original application for writs shall be signed by the

applicant or counsel of record, and shall contain an affidavit

verifying the allegations of the application and certifying that a

copy has been delivered or mailed to the respondent judge and

to opposing counsel, and to any opposing party not represented

by counsel. The affidavit shall list all parties and all counsel,

indicating the parties each represents. The affidavit also shall

list the addresses and telephone numbers (if available) of the

respondent judge, opposing counsel and any opposing pariy not

represented by counsel. The original and duplicates shall have

the pages of the application and attached documents and exhibits

consecutively numbered: the entire submission shall be hole

punched and bound in two places along the top margin, preferably

with 4 1/4 inch metal file fasteners such that no part of the text on

any page is obscured, and in sections consisting of no more than

250 pages; and the submission shall contain these items:

(A) an index of all items contained therein;

(B) aconcise statement of the grounds on which the jurisdiction

of the court is invoked;

(C) a concise statement of the case, including the status of the

case at the time the writ application is filed, in order to reflect any

trial dates or hearing dates that are pending;

(D) the issues and questions of law presented for determination

by the court;

(E) the assignments or specifications of errors and a

memorandum in support of the application. in accordance with

Rules 2-12.2 and 2-12.10, and a prayer for relief;

(F) a copy of the judgment, order, or ruling complained of (if

by written judgment, order, or ruling);

(G) a copy of the judge’s reasons for judgment, order, or ruling

(if written);

(H) a copy of each pleading on which the judgment, order, or

ruling was founded, including the petition(s) in civil cases and the

indictment or the bill of information in criminal cases;

(1) a copy of pertinent court minutes; and

(J) the notice of intent and return date order required by

Rules 4-2 and 4-3.

(K) A separate page entitled ‘REQUEST FOR EXPEDITED

CONSIDERATION’ and indexed as such shall be included if the

13a

because it does not contain: (1) asignature, (2) an affidavit

of notification or affidavit verifying the allegations,

as required by Rule 4-4(C) and 4-5, respectively, (3)

evidence that the applicant notified the other defendants

that this application was filed on their behalf, one of

whom has retained new counsel, and (4) evidence of

notice to Shawn Reed, plaintiffs co-counsel/counsel

of record. Alternatively, plaintiff argues that issues

raised by defendants regarding the district court’s ex

parte order for security for costs dated August 25, 2009,

should be dismissed because a return date was never

requested and the thirty day time period has expired

The plaintiffs argument is overstated, as plaintiff signed

the petition but failed to provide an order enrolling

Shawn Reed. However, Shawn Reed appeared of record

at the hearing, along with Joanne Rinardo, plaintiffs

attorney on the reconventional demand. The remaining

arguments of plaintiff are without merit because the

original writ application is signed as required by Rule

4-5, the ex parte order for security for costs dated

August 25, 2009, is timely as defendants’ opposition

was denied on September 10, 2009, and the ruling on

the motion to disqualify is presented for review herein.

The request for expedited consideration was denied, so

issues related to Rule 4-4(C) are moot.

applicant seeks expedited relief or a stay order as required by

Rule 4-4(B) and a corresponding affidavit as required by Rule

4-4(C).

(L) If any trial or hearing date is set after a writ application

is filed or if any trial] or hearing date included in a filed writ

application is changed or continued, the applicant shall notify

the court by facsimile or by email, if directed by the Court of

Appeal, of the setting, change, or continuance of the hearing date

no later than three business days after the setting, change or

continuance. The filed writ application shall be supplemented

with this information not later than one week after the setting,

change or continuance.

14a

The defendants complied with the Uniform Rules -

Courts of Appeal, Rules 4-2 and 4-3, by simultaneously

notifying the judge and parties of their intent to apply

for supervisory writs, requesting a return date by oral

motion in open court immediately after the hearing,

and timely filing this writ application on the return

date of October 5, 2009, in compliance with Rule 4-5,

except for several deficiencies, noted above. On October

22, 2009, the defendants filed a supplement to the writ

application as evidence of having corrected the noted

deficiencies, and filed an opposition to the motion to

dismiss on October 26, 2009. Accordingly, the plaintiffs

motion to dismiss the instant writ application is denied.

The current course of events commenced when

‘ Lesley Simmons St. Germain, Hillary Rose Smith, and

Melissa Branighan, three former clients of attorney

D. Douglas Howard, joined together and sued him

in federal court alleging a pattern of behavior that

violated the federal civil RICO statute. Finding no

claim under RICO, the federal court dismissed the

complaint, without prejudice, and directed that the

state law pendant claims should be heard by the state

court. But, before his former clients filed any action

in state court, Mr. Howard filed the instant action

for defamation against them, their attorney, Mark E.

Andrews, his law practice, Andrews Arts & Sciences

Law, LLC, and David E. Simmons, DDS, the father of

former client Lesley Simmons St. Germain.

In the instant suit, Mr. Howard is seeking damages

for injuries he allegedly sustained to his personal and

professional reputation as a result of alleged defamatory

publications made by the defendants, malicious

prosecution of these claims, and abuse of process. In

summary, Mr. Howard alleges that the defendants

injured his personal and professional reputation,

lda

caused him humiliation, embarrassment, mental and

emotional distress, lost business opportunities, and

loss of enjoyment of life. He alleges that these damages

were caused by the former clients publishing defamatory

communications in legal proceedings filed against him

for malpractice, their attorney by representing them in

said proceedings, and St. Germain’s father by providing

her with financial assistance.

Specifically, Mr. Howard alleges that the defendants

produced the following malicious publications:

(1) Lesley Simmons St. Germain by filing a(n) (a)

answer to Howard's suit on open account, (11) petition

for nullity, (111) suit for malpractice, (iv) RICO action,

and ({v) reconventional demand in the case at bar,

in which she alleged Mr. Howard breached their

contract, performed unauthorized work, over-billed,

fraud, inadequate representation, failure to prosecute,

exerting duress and undue influence by bullying,

yelling, and threatening to withdraw with a pending

court date;

(2) Hillary Hillyer Smith by filing the RICO action

in which she alleged that Mr. Howard breached their

contract by conducting her divorce with complete

disregard for her clearly stated wishes and committed

malpractice by his abrupt, unlawful withdrawal;

(3) Melissa Branighan Luminais by filing the RICO

action in which she alleged that Mr. Howard committed

legal malpractice, breach of contract, and over billing

for unauthorized work;

(4) Attorney Mark Andrews by initiating and

persisting in prosecuting the afore-mentioned actions

on behalf of these former clients; and

(5) David Simmons by maliciously conspiring with

the attorney and former clients in their campaign to

16a

tarnish Mr. Howard’s reputation and by paying for the

services of numerous attorneys, presumably on behalf

of his daughter, for this purpose.

Mr. Howard amended his petition to add allegations

of malicious prosecution, abuse of process, and

conspiracy, and defendants filed a joint answer and

reconventional demand. Next, plaintiff moved to

disqualify Mark Andrews as the defendants’ attorney

for an alleged conflict of interest, and defendants filed

a special motion to strike the allegations related to

the alleged conflict. Defendants opposed plaintiff's

exceptions of prescription and res judicata, and filed a

counter motion to strike plaintiff's ex parte order for

defendants to pay security for costs, and then filed a

motion for contempt.

With the exception of the motion for contempt that

was set for hearing on October 16,2009, the district court

heard argument on all motions on September 4, 2009,

and immediately thereafter issued the aforementioned

three judgments.

Asserting error by the district court, defendants

have raised the following issues for review:

1. Whether the judgment granting exceptions

of prescription and res judicata, and dismissing

defendants’ reconventional demand:

a. Whether defendants’ reconventional demand

was properly dismissed where it consists essentially of

state-law claims formerly brought as pendant claims to

an action in federal court that were dismissed, without

prejudice, by the federal court in order to be refiled in

state court, in light of 28 U.S.C. § 1367(d) and La. R.S.

9:5605.

b. Whether defendants’ reconventional demand

was properly dismissed where, it contains a subset of

l7a

claims that could theoretically have been brought as

a permissive, not compulsory, reconventional demand

to a suit on open account when a default judgment

was taken, limiting the preclusive effect of the default

judgment to its own narrow terms.

2. Whether the judgment denying defendants’

special motion to strike, under La. C.C.P. art. 971:

a. Whether, under La. C.C.P. art. 971, a plaintiff can

establish a “probability of success” without sufficient

evidence of the required elements of his claims for

defamation, malicious prosecution, and emotional

distress.

b. Whether, under La. C.C.P. art. 971, aspecial motion

to strike was properly denied where the defendants’

constitutional right to petition was established, and the

plaintiff failed to establish a probability of success on

every element of these claims.

c. Whether, under La. C.C.P. art. 971, attorney’s fees

and costs requested by defendants were properly denied,

when defendants established a constitutional right to

petition, and plaintiff failed to establish a probability

of success on every required element of these claims.

3. Whether the judgment disqualifying Mark

Andrews as attorney for the co-defendants:

a. Whether a plaintiff has standing to assert a

conflict of interest among co-defendants and their

attorney because the defendants’ attorney has been

made a co-defendant, where the co-defendants did

not assert a conflict, the attorney is prevented from

testifying against the codefendants’ interests by the

continuing duties of confidentiality and loyalty, and

the attorney-testimony rule only operates to restrict an

attorney from being an advocate at trial, and does not

operate to disqualify an attorney.

18a

b. Whether the district court properly disqualified

Mark Andrews from representing his own solo-practice

law firm, which was made a co-defendant, when plaintiff

did not motion the court to do so.

4. Whether the district court properly granted the

plaintiff's ex parte motion for security costs under La.

R.S. 13:1215 and ordered the defendants in the main

action to pay security costs of $6,500, which the statute

states can only be required from the plaintiff in the

main action and demanded by the defendant in the main

action, regardless of whether or not any reconventional]

demand is filed.

DISCUSSION

I. EXCEPTIONS

Exception of Prescription

The first judgment presented for review granted the

plaintiffs exceptions of prescription and res judicata,

and dismissed all claims made by defendants with

prejudice.

The defendants argue that the claims asserted in

their reconventional demand are not prescribed because

under Louisiana law, the filing of a claim in any court of

competent jurisdiction interrupts prescriptive periods,

and that the claims for legal malpractice and breach

of contract were formerly pending in federal court.

Federal law, specifically, 28 U.S.C. § 1367(), controls

the time for refilling pendant state claims dismissed

from federal court and tolls the state law limitation

periods. The defendants argue that their claims are

not prescribed because under 28 U.S.C. § 1376(d), the

claims were tolled while the RICO action, dismissed

on March 6, 2008, was pending on appeal, and as

the appellate court’s ruling was issued on February

19a

11, 2009, their claims were timely filed in state court

on March 3, 2009. Defendants also argue that their

claims are compulsory under La. C.C.P. art. 1061.

The plaintiff filed an exception of prescription on

grounds that the defendants’ claims were prescribed

before the RICO action was filed in federal court, and

at the latest, thirty days after it was dismissed.

The general rule is that the peremptory exception

may be pleaded at any stage of the proceeding in

the trial court prior to a submission of the case for a

decision. La. C.C.P. art. 928. The standard of review

on an exception of prescription is manifest error when

the trial court makes its ruling based on factual

determinations. Jn re Noe, 2004-0760, p. 4 (La.App.

4 Cir. 8/3/2005), 916 So.2d 1138, 1140. The trier of

fact is afforded great discretion. Turnbull v. Thensted,

99-0025, p. 4 (La.App. 4 Cir. 3/1/2000), 757 So.2d 145,

149. Therefore, an appellate court may only reverse the

finding of the trial court if a reasonable factual basis

for the findings does not exist and those findings are

manifestly erroneous. Jn re Noe, 916 So.2d at 1140.

However, when the appellate court finds that there is a

reversible error of law, we must redetermine the facts

de novo from the entire record and render a judgment

on the merits. Perez v. Shook, 97-0420, p. 5 (La.App. 4

Cir. 12/3/97), 703 So.2d 821, 826.

The RICO action and pendant state law claims

were filed in the federal district court on November

20, 2007. After being dismissed on March 6, 2008,

the defendants filed an appeal. On June 20, 2008, the

district court granted plaintiff's motion for attorney’s

fees and ordered the defendants (St. Germain, Hillyer,

Luminais, Andrews, Andrews’ law practice, and

Simmons) to pay $7,088.00 to plaintiff.

20a

Federal jurisdiction over pendant state claims is

governed by 28 U.S.C. § 1367. When a district court

dismisses the federal claims serving as the basis for

its jurisdiction and elects not to exercise supplemental!

jurisdiction over state law claims, the unadjudicated

pendant state law claims must be dismissed without

prejudice to allow the plaintiff to refile in state court.

Davison v. Weston, 2003 WL 21350344, p. 1 (N.D.Tex.),

6/30/2003, citing Bass v. Parkwood Hosp., 180 F.3d

234,246 (5th Cir. 1999).

The defendants argue that their reconventional

demand should not have been dismissed because it

contained a subset of claims that could theoretically

have been brought as a permissive, but not compulsory,

reconventional demand to a suit on open account, but

where a default judgment before answer was taken in

the suit on open account, limiting the preclusive effect

of such default judgment to its own narrow terms.

La. R.S. 9:5605 is the defining authority on legal

malpractice and limits an action for damages to one

year from the date of the alleged negligence, or within

one year from the date that the alleged negligence is or

should have been discovered, but not more than three

years from the date of the negligence regardless of

when it is discovered. Once this period has passed the

right of a claimant to begin an action for malpractice

is extinguished. This authority is supported by

subsequent case law. Turnbull, 99-0025, p. 3, 757 So. 2d

at 150, states “Prescription commences to run when a

claimant knew or should have known of the existence

of facts that would have enabled him to state a cause

of action for legal malpractice”, citing Olivier v. Poirier,

563 So.2d 1227 (La.App. 1 Cir. 1990).

In addressing the issue of prescription on the face

of the petition, the court in Jaussig v. Leithead, 96-

Zla

960, p. 10 (La.App. 3 Cir. 2/19/97), 689 So.2d 680

686, stated that “[t]he burden of proof is normally on

the party pleading prescription. Prescription begins

to run at the time a claimant knew or should have

known of the existence of facts that enable him or het

to state a cause of action for legal malpractice. When,

however, the plaintiffs petition on its face indicates that

prescription has run, the burden shifts to the plaintiff

to show why the claim has not prescribed

Plaintiff argues that the defendants’ claims are

prescribed, but presented no evidence to support thi

claim. Instead, he merely alleges that his representation

of Hillyer ended on June 5, 2006, St. Germain on

November 21, 2006, and Luminais in October 2007

However, La. R.S. 9:5605 also provides that the claim

may be filed “within one year from the date that the

alleged act, omission, or neglect is discovered or should

have been discovered.” While the statute also allow:

for suspension of the running of this one-year period

until the negligent conduct is “discovered or should have

been discovered,” this 1s a showing that the plaintiff

must bear.

The federal complaint was filed on November 20,

2007, so St. Germain’s claim for malpractice 1s not

prescribed; but Hillyer’s and Luminais’ malpractice

claims appear prescribed on their faces

Thus, if the defendant shows that, on the face

of the petition, the action has prescribed by

the passage of more than one year from the

date of the act or omission which constitutes

the alleged malpractice, it becomes the

plaintiffs burden to prove that the action is not

prescribed. As we interpret this statute, this

may be done by showing that facts constituting

malpractice were not discovered nor should not

have been discovered until | Lal T

before suit was filed

faussig, 96-960, p.11, 689 So.2d at 68!

The defendant arg ue that tla ik r560

exempts their claims for malpractice asserted in thei

reconventional demand because they were defrauded

by the plaintiff under La. C.C.P. art. 1953. In Coffey

v. Block, 99 1221 (La.App. 1 Cir. 6/23/2000), 762 So

2d 1181, the court held that the fraud alleyations of

the plaintiffs petition were sufficient for purposes of

La. R.S. 9:5605, where the plaintiff alleged that her

attorney misrepresented the status of a prescription

issuc with the intent to obtain an unjust advantage over

her, and to cause the loss of her cause of action against

Nevertheless, the party pleading

him for malpractice

fraud must allege with particularity the circumstance

constituting fraud. Kenner v. DeSalvo, 2001-2223, p. ¢

(la.App. 4 Cir. 4/17/2002), 826 So.2d 39, 44

The defendants breach of contract claim is no

prescribed because under La. C.C. Art. 4499, the

prescriptive period for a breach of contract claim }

ten years from the date when the cause of actus

arose. Summons v. Templeton, 97-2349 (La.App. 4 Cu

11/10/98), 723 So.2d 1009. Claims under a contract

prescribe ten years from the date they arise rather

than from the date of the contract. Scobee v. Lewis

264 So.2d 704,708 (La.App. 1 Cir 1972). ‘Ten year

have not clapsed since the initiation of the defendant

employment contracts with the plaintiff. Thus, the

claims for breach of contract asserted by defendant

Hillyer, Luminais, and St. Germain are not prescribed

Kxception of Res Judicata

A cause of action arising out of the sume subject

matter aS a pending suit must be asserted in the

pending suit to avoid the risk of the cause of action

23a

being res judicata. If the cause of action is rot asserted

and the pending suit is finally decided in favor of the

defendant, all causes of action that existed at the time

of the final judgment that arose out of the transaction

or occurrence that was the subject matter of the

pending suit are barred. Tower Partners, LLC v. Wade,

2003-0665, p. 3 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1/21/2004), 869 So.2d

126, 133. However, defendant St. Germain apparently

voluntarily dismissed the claims filed against Mr.

Howard, without prejudice in the matter entitled St.

Germain v. Howard, case no. 2007-6516, Civil District

Court, on September 28, 2007. Accordingly, those

unresolved claims are not res judicata.

The standard of review for the peremptory exception

of res judicata requires this Court to determine if the

“trial court’s decision is legally correct or incorrect.”

Glass v. Alton Ochsner Med. Found., 2004-1824, p. 5

(La.App. 4 Cir. 6/1/2005), 907 So.2d 782, 785. If the

decision of the district court is based on an erroneous

application of law rather than on a valid exercise of

discretion, the decision is not entitled to deference by

the reviewing court. Kem Search, Inc. v. Sheffield, 434

So.2d 1067, (La. 1983); Glass, 2002-0412, p. 4, 832

So.2d at 406. Louisiana law provides “[t]he doctrine of

res judicata is stricti juris and any doubts concerning

the application of this principle must be resolved

against its application.” Alonzo v. State of Louisiana,

ex rel. Dep’t of Natural Resources, 2002-0527, p. 8 (La.

App. 4 Cir. 9/8/2004); 884 So.2d 634, 638.

Res judicata applies when a final judgment precludes

the same parties from reasserting the same claims

in subsequent litigation. The district court erred

in granting plaintiffs exception of res judicata and

dismissing defendants’ reconventional demand because

the record does not indicate that defendants’ claims for

24a

breach of contract, fraud, and legal malpractice were

previously adjudicated. Specifically, plaintiff's suit on

open account is not related to the instant case, so the

default judgment issued in that matter has no bearing

in this matter. The federal court did not rule on the

state pendant claims asserted in the RICO action, but

simply dismissed them so that they could be reasserted

in state court.

II. SPECIAL MOTION TO STRIKE

The second judgment raises issues surrounding the

denial of defendants’ special motion to strike under La.

C.C.P. art. 971, which defendants argue was an error

of law because the district court applied the wrong

standard in reaching its decision, and the plaintiff

failed to show a probability of success on all essential

elements of his claims.

Appellate courts review special motions to strike

using the de novo standard of review because it involves

issues of law and examines whether the trial court was

legally correct. Melius v. Keiffer, 2007-0189, p. 2 (La.

App. 4 Cir. 3/12/2008), 980 So.2d 167, 170. The burden

of proof begins with the party filing the motion to strike

to prove that “the cause of action arises from an act in

the exercise of his right of free speech regarding a public

issue.” Aymond v. Dupree, 2005-1248, p. 7, (La.App. 3

Yir. 4/12/2006) 928 So.2d 721, 727. Once proven, the

plaintiff must then demonstrate a probability of success

on the claim. Jd. In determining whether the plaintiff

established a probability of success on his claims, the

court will “consider the pleadings and supporting and

opposing affidavits.” La. C.C.P. art. 971(A)(2). Melius,

2007-0189, p. 3, 980 So.2d at 171.

The special motion to strike is authorized by La.

C.C.P. art. 971, which the Louisiana legislature enacted

“to screen out meritless claims pursued to chill one’s

25a

constitutional rights under the First Amendment of the

United States Constitution to freedom of speech and

press.” Lee v. Pennington, 2002-0381, p. 4 (La.App. 4

‘ir. 10/16/2002), 830 So.2d 1037, 1041. It is also known

as the anti-SLAPP statute. This article was enacted in

Section 1 of Acts 1999, No. 734. Section 2 of this act

provides:

The legislature finds and declares that there

has been a disturbing increase in lawsuits

brought primarily to chill the valid exercise

of the constitutional rights of freedom of

speech and petition for redress of grievances.

The legislature finds and declares that it is

in the public interest to encourage continued

participation in matters of public significance,

and that this participation should not be chilled

through abuse of the judicial process. To this

end, it is the intention of the legislature that

the Article enacted pursuant to this Act shall

be construed broadly.

In the instant case, the plaintiff has sued the

defendants for defamation, malicious prosecution, abuse

of process, and conspiracy. The defendants argue that

the plaintiff's causes of action arise from the defendants’

acts in furtherance of their constitutional right to

petition, and as the plaintiff has failed to establish a

probability of success on every required element of his

claim, they are entitled to an award for attorney’s fees

and costs under La. C.C.P. art. 971. The defendants

are correct. The district court erred in denying the

defendants’ award of attorney’s fees.

Defamation

The essential elements of a defamation action are:

defamatory words; publication or communication to

a person other than the one defamed; falsity; malice,

26a

actual or implied; and injury. Williams v. Touro

Infirmary, 578 So.2d 1006, 1009 (La.App. 4 Cir.

1991). A communication, although defamatory, may be

protected under a qualified privilege if the statement

is made in good faith and without malice. Melancon

v. Hyatt Corp., 589 So.2d 1186 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1991).

“Good faith’ in this sense means the party making

the statement had reasonable grounds for believing

that the statement was true. 7d. at 1189. “Without

malice” means that the statement was made without

knowledge of its falsity or without reckless disregard

for the truth. Adseru Corp. v. Lincecum, 385 So.2d 432

(La.App. 1 Cir. 1980). To be privileged, an otherwise

defamatory statement must be made in good faith on

any subject matter in which the person communicating

has an interest or in reference to which he has a duty,

to a person having a corresponding interest or duty.

Melancon, 589 So.2d at 1189, citing Toomer v. Breaux,

146 So.2d 723 (La.App. 3 Cir. 1962).

In order to prevail on a defamation claim, the

plaintiff must prove all of the following five elements

by a preponderance of the evidence: (1) a false or

defamatory statement concerning another; (2) an

unprivileged publication to a third party; (8) fault

(negligence or greater) on the part of the publisher; and,

(4) resulting injury. Melius, 2007-0189, p. 5 (La.App. 4

Cir. 3/12/2008), 980 So.2d 167, 172. If even one of these

elements is absent, the cause of action fails. Sommer

v. State, Dept. of Transp. and Development, 97-1929, p.

25-26 (La.App. 4 Cir. 3/29/2000), 758 So.2d 923, 939.

In Louisiana, defamatory words have traditionally

been classified into two categories: those that are

defamatory per se and those that are susceptible of a

defamatory meaning. Lemeshewsky v. Dumaine, 464

So.2d 973, 975 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1985). Words which

27a

expressly or implicitly accuse another of criminal

conduct, or which by their very nature tend to

injure one’s personal or professional reputation, even

without considering extrinsic facts or surrounding

circumstances, are considered defamatory per se.

Lemeshewsky, 464 So.2d at 975. When a plaintiff proves

publication of words that are defamatory per se, the

elements of falsity and malice (or fault) are presumed,

but may be rebutted by the defendant. Costello v.

Hardy, 2003-1146 (La. 1/21/2004) 864 So.2d 129. The

element of injury may also be presumed. Costello, p.

13, 864 So.2d at 140. When the words at issue are not

defamatory per se, a plaintiff must prove, in addition to

defamatory meaning and publication, the elements of

falsity, malice (or fault), and injury. Costello, p. 14, 864

So.2d at 140.

The plaintiff argues that the defendants’ allegations

in the RICO action are defamatory per se, and that

malice is to be inferred. This Court must first consider

whether the words were defamatory per se, permitting

an inference of malice. The meaning of “defamatory per

se” was set forth in the often quoted case of Madison v.

Bolton, 234 La. 997, 102 So.2d 433 (1958), wherein the

court said:

Words charged to be libelous have been

classified as those that are susceptible of

a defamatory meaning and those that are

indisputably defamatory on their face. In the

latter category they are actionable per se; they

impute to the person the commission of a crime

or subject him to public ridicule, ignominy

or disgrace, and are susceptible of but one

meaning. Words not actionable per se fall

short of those requirements, and are found in

numerous categories, among which are words

28a

that are actionable only in consequence of

extrinsic facts, in which case the surrounding

circumstances and conditions must be taken

into account to determine the matter, or

statements that contain language which

unjustifiably tends to injure the reputation of

a person, or reflect shame and disgrace upon

him. The intent and meaning of an alleged

defamatory statement must be gathered not

only from the words singled out as libelous, but

from the context as well, and the true meaning

must be ascertained from a consideration

of all parts of the statement as well as the

circumstances of its publication. The test is

the effect the article is fairly calculated to

produce, the impression it would naturally

engender, in the minds of the average persons

among whom it is intended to circulate.” Id., at

437,438 (footnotes omitted) (citations omitted).

Shylock, Inc. v. Covenant Broadcasting Corp. of

Loutistana, 352 So.2d 359, 382 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1977).

Defamatory words are, by definition, words which

tend to harm the reputation of another so as to lower

the person in the estimation of the community, to deter

others from associating or dealing with the person,

or otherwise expose a person to contempt or ridicule.

Costello v. Hardy, 2003-1146, p. 13 (La. 1/21/2004), 864

So.2d 129, 140. Words that convey an element of personal

disgrace, dishonesty, or disrepute, are defamatory. /d.

The question of whether a communication is capable

of a particular meaning and whether that meaning

is defamatory is ultimately a legal question for the

court. /d. The question is answered by determining

whether a listener could have reasonably understood

the communication, taken in context, to have been

intended in a defamatory sense. Jd. In Mitchell v.

29a

Truck Service, Inc., 286 So.2d 112, 116 (La.App. 4 Cir.

1973), this Court noted:

The intent and meaning of an alleged

defamatory statement must be gathered not

only from the words singled out as libelous, but

from the context as well, and the true meaning

must be ascertained from a_ consideration

of all parts of the statement as well as the

circumstances of its publication. The test is the

effect the article is fairly calculated to produce,

the impression it would naturally engender, in

the minds of the average person among whom

it is intended to circulate.

In the instant case, the plaintiff objects to the

defendants’ allegations of mail fraud asserted in the

RICO complaint and the defendants’ reconventional

demand. The defendants argue that the allegations

in the RICO complaint are protected by privilege and

that the allegations in the reconventional demand are

affirmative defenses. The federal court dismissed the

RICO action in its entirety and ordered defendants to

pay attorney’s fees. Such action clears Mr. Howard of

said violations, and thereby clears his name.

Certain statements are protected by privilege. A

person may enjoy a qualified or conditional privilege in

making a statement, if it is made (1) in good faith; (2)

on a subject in which the person communicating has

an interest or owes a duty; and (3) to a person having a

corresponding interest or duty. In order to establish the

element of good faith, it must be shown that the person

making the allegedly defamatory statements had

reasonable grounds for believing that the statements

were true and that he honestly believed the statements

were correct. Albarado v. Abadie, 97-478, p. 7 (La.App.

5 Cir. 11/12/97), 703 So.2d 736,741.

30a

While the allegations in the federal complaint were

found insufficient to qualify as violations under RICO,

they are not necessarily defamatory per se. Prevailing

on a claim for defamation requires the plaintiff to

prove every element of a claim for defamation. Plaintiff

has not proven the elements of falsity and malice, i.e.

reckless disregard for the truth. Reckless conduct

is not measured by the standard of a reasonably

prudent man, rather the proper inquiry is whether “the

defendant in fact entertained serious doubts as to the

truth of his publication. Davis v. Borskey, 92-2339,

p.7 (La.App. 1 Cir 8/22/94), 643 So.2d 179, 184. Thus,

plaintiffs assertions are insufficient to support a claim

for defamation. If one element of defamation is lacking,

the claim cannot prevail. 7’rentecosta v. Beck, 96-2388,

p. 10 (La. 10/21/97), 703 So.2d 552,559.

Malicious Prosecution

Actions for malicious prosecution have never been

favored, and hence, in order to sustain them, a clear

case must be established. Kelly v. West Cash & Carry

Bldg. Materials Store, 99-0102, p. 29 (La. App. 4 Cir.

10/20/99), 745 So.2d 743, 761. The law protects persons

who resort to the courts to redress wrongs when they act

in good faith upon reasonable grounds in commencing

such a proceeding. Id.

The Louisiana Supreme Court defined the

elements necessary to support a claim for malicious

prosecution which requires the plaintiff to prove (1)

{t]he commencement or continuance of an original

criminal or civil law judicial proceeding; (2) its legal

causation by the present defendant in the original

proceeding; (3) its bona fide termination in favor of the

present plaintiff; (4) the absence of probable cause for

such proceeding; (5) the presence of malice therein; and

(6) damage conforming to legal standards resulting to

3la

plaintiff. Robinson v. Goud«aux's, 307 So.2d 287, 289

(La. 1975); Darden v. Smith, 2003-1144, p. 11, (La.App.

3 Cir. 6/30/04), 879 So.2d at 398-99. All elements must

be present for him to prevail. Meliws, 2007-0189, p. 8,

980 So.2d at 173.

The fifth element requires malice. Without malice,

Mr. Howard’s claim cannot stand. Malice has been

defined by the Supreme Court in Miller v. East Baton

Rouge Parish Sheriffs Dept., 511 So.2d 446, 453 (La.

1987), as follows:

Malice is found when the defendant uses the

prosecution for the purpose of obtaining any

private advantage, for instance, as a means

to extort money, to collect a debt, to recover

property, to compel performance of a contract,

to “tie up the mouths” of witnesses in another

action, or aS an experiment to discover who

might have committed the crime. Malice may

be inferred from the lack of probable cause

or inferred from a finding that the defendant

acted in reckless disregard of the other person’s

rights.

In civil cases, probable cause is a standard of proof

employed in defense of malicious prosecution claims

to determine if a party was justified in filing criminal

charges or civil lawsuits. State v. One (1) 1991 Pontiac

Trans Sport Van, VIN #1IGMCU06D3MT208532, 98-64

(La. App. 5 Cir. 7/9/98), 716 So.2d 446.

A claim for malicious prosecution is subject to a

liberative prescriptive period of one year. La. C.C. art.

3492. The liberative prescriptive period for a malicious

prosecution claim does not begin to run until the

underlying prosecution is dismissed. Munay v. Town

of Mansura, 2006-355, p. 7 (La.App. 3 Cir. 9/27/2006),

940 So.2d 832, 838 (Citing Manuel v. Deshotels, 160

32a

La. 652, 107 So. 478 (1926)). See Ortiz v. Baniffe, 523

So.2d 896, 898 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1988). Damage awards

in malicious prosecution suits should be compensatory

only. Jones v. Soileau, 448 So.2d 1268, 1271 (La. 1984).

Thus, plaintiff cannot commence a claim for

malicious prosecution on the reconventional demand

prior to the reconventional demand being dismissed,

and cannot sustain this claim for malicious prosecution

of the RICO action because he presented no evidence to

prove the element of malice.

Abuse of Process

Abuse of process is a cause of action originating from

the common law and recognized in our jurisprudence as

a compensable tort under La. C.C. Art. 2315. Mini-Togs

Inc. v. Young, 354 So.2d 1389 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1978).

The two essential elements of abuse of process are an

ulterior purpose and a willful act in the use of the

process not proper in regular conduct of the proceeding.

Simon v. Penet, 619 So.2d 155 (La.App. 3 Cir. 1993).

Simply stated, abuse of process mandates that the

plaintiff prove that the defendant had an _ ulterior

motive and an irregularity in the process itself. Alden

v. Lorning, 2004-0724, p. 5 (La.App. 4 Cir. 5/4/2005),

904 So.2d 24, 28. When the irregular use of process

is found, an ulterior motive is presumed. Jd. Using

the legal process for an improper reason is the crux of

finding an abuse of process. Id. Melius, 2007-0189, p.

7, 980 So.2d at 173.

Under this cause of action, plaintiffs must allege

irregularity in the process itself. Mini-Togs, Inc., 354

So.2d at 1391. “Regular use of process cannot constitute

abuse, even though the user was actuated by a wrongful

motive, purpose, or intent, or by malice.” Mini-Togs,

Inc., 354 So.2d at 1390. Absent a showing of abuse

through an illegal, improper or irregular use of process,

33a

a plaintiff will have failed to state a cause of action.

Waguespack, Seago and Carmichael (A PLC) v. Lincoln,

99-2016 (La. App. 1 Cir. 9/22/2000), 768 So.2d 287.

In order to prevail on the claim of abuse of process,

plaintiff must show that defendants misused a process

already legally issued and intended to use that process

to obtain a result not proper under the law. Goldstein

uv. Serio, 496 So.2d 412 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1986). Plaintiff

has not shown an irregularity in the proceeding. As a

result, plaintiff has failed to allege a cause of action for

abuse of process.

Conspiracy

Louisiana recognizes no tort of conspiracy, per se.

Rather, the actionable element in La. C.C. art. 2324—

providing that “[h]e who conspires with another person

to commit an intentional or willful act is answerable in

solido, with that person, for the damage caused by such

act,’—is the underlying tort. Ross v. Conoco, Inc., 2002-

0299, pp. 7-8 (La. 10/15/2002), 828 So.2d 546, 552; see

also Thomas v. North 40 Land Development, Inc., 2004-

0610, p. 23 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1126/2005), 894 So.2d 1160,

1174. The actionable element of a conspiracy claim is

not the conspiracy itself; rather, it is the tort that the

conspirators agree to perpetrate and actually commit

in whole or in part. Conspirators can tacitly agree to

enter into a conspiracy to cause injury or damage for

purposes of La. C.C. art. 2324. Miller v. Keating, 339

So.2d 40, 43 (La.App. 3 Cir. 1976).

To succeed on a conspiracy claim, a plaintiff must

prove an unlawful act and assistance or encouragement

that amounts to a conspiracy, and such assistance or

encouragement must be of such quality and character

that a jury could infer from it an underlying agreement

and act that is the essence of the conspiracy. Thomas,

2004-0610, p. 22, 894 So.2d 1160, 1174.

34a

The plaintiff has brought a claim of conspiracy

against the father of defendant St. Germain for

allegedly conspiring to injure plaintiff by helping his

daughter pay legal fees and expenses. Such behavior

is not conspiracy. The plaintiff has not demonstrated

that David EK. Simmons committed an unlawful act, or

that he conspired with the co-defendants to commit an

unlawful act. Therefore, the district court erred in not

dismissing the plaintiff's claim for conspiracy

Il. MOTION TO DISQUALIFY ATTORNEY

The third issue presented for review is the order

granting the plaintiffs motion to disqualify attorney

Mark Andrews from representing all co-defendants,

including his own solo practice law firm, based upon a

possible conflict of interest

In assessing whether a conflict of interest exists,

a court must be convinced that the conflict is actual,

not merely hypothetical or speculative. State v. Lobato,

621 So.2d 103 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1993). An actual conflict

of interest is established when the defendant proves,

through specific instances in the record, that his attorney

was placed in a situation inherently conducive to divided

loyalties. State v. Tart, 93-0772 (La. 2002/09/96), 672

So.2d 116, cert. denied, 519 U.S. 934, 117 S.Ct. 310, 136

L.Ed.2d 227 (1996). The mere possibility of divided

loyalties is insufficient proof of actual conflict. Lobato,

621 So.2d 103 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1993).

Attorney/defendant Mark Andrews argues that

the district court improperly disqualified him from

representing his own solo-practice law firm, also made

a co-defendant, as plaintiff did not offer a motion to the

court to do so. Mr. Andrews is correct. The district

court erred when it disqualified Mr. Andrews from

representing his own solo-practice law firm because it

creates no conflict. Such representation would be the

ime pbecause Ni luty nun

duty to hi olo-practi (

Ihe plaintiff argu tnat lark rew

properly disqualified } ittorney tor the defendant

under the La. Rules of Prof ional Conduct, Rule

ion ts adverse to the

1.7 because his own representat

representation of his chents. The plaintiff asserts th

Mark Andrews either acted alone

chents in making the allegations again

he plaintiff also alleges that Mark Andrews may hav

intimate relationship with one |

or in concert with hi}

t the plaintill

possibly been in a1

the co-defendant Plaintiff argues that a conflict

exists under Rul // because M) \Yndrev Will

both a witness and a party in this case

Ihe defendants filed a peremptory excep n

irgued that the plaintiff has no standing t asse!

i conflict of interest or potential conflicl amon

codefendants and their attorney, Mark Andrew Th

aLLorney 1S als

lcfendants point out that although thei

none of the co-defendants have a

co-defendants maintain th

o-delendant orte

i conflict of interest. The

Mark Andrews 1s prevented from testifying again

th co-defendant interest Dy a ntinuinp bul

f confidentiality and loyalty hey assert that the

ittorney-testimony rule only operat to restrict al

attorney from bi Ingvg an advocate at tria nd dor

perate to disqualify an attorn

Combining the roles of advocate and witne CA

, conti

posing party and can involv

prejudice the

The OVPOsln

t between the lawyer and chent

the combination ¢

ft intere

party has proper objection where

roles may prejudice that partys rights in the litigation

farrington v. Law I'irm of Sessions, 'ishman

plaintill has not all

» (La. App. 4 Cir. 5/8/96), 674 So.2d 448, 450. The

37a

Thus, we find that the district court erred in

disqualifying Mark Andrews from representing the

defendants and his solo law firm in this matter.

IV. EX PARTE ORDER FOR SECURITY COSTS

The final issue presented for review pertains to

the issuance of an ex parte order for defendants to pay

security costs of $6,500, which defendants argue is

improper because only plaintiffs can be ordered to pay

security costs, and never the defendants.

Defendants are correct. This order is clearly

contrary to Louisiana law as La. R.S. 13: 1215 requires

the plaintiff or party prosecuting the cause to give bond

or other security, not the defendant. In addition, this

Court has held that the defendant can not be required

to post bond for costs, either in the capacity of defendant

or in the capacity of plaintiff in reconvention. Herzog’s

Automotive Parts, Inc. v. Baronne Auto Supply, Inc.,

94-1054, p. 1 (La.App. 4 Cir. 6/30/94), 639 So.2d 1223,

1224; Wabnig v. Royal Crystal Art Co., Inc., 301 So.2d

366 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1974). In Wabnig, this Court

stated that the fact that the defendant is a plaintiff in

reconvention cannot serve as a basis for requiring the

defendant to post bond, and held that a separate suit

filed by the defendant that was consolidated with the

original proceeding did not provide a basis for requiring

the defendant to post bond in the original case. Wabnig,

301 So.2d at 367.

The plaintiff first argues that this issue is untimely,

unauthorized, and improperly filed because the thirty

day delay has expired since the order was issued on

August 25, 2009, and the defendants did not request

a return date, and then argues that the issue is moot

because the district court dismissed all claims filed

by the defendants. The record is replete with motions

38a

and oppositions filed by both parties, so it is unclear

whether the issue of the ex parte order for costs was

intended to be dismissed or forgotten. The defendants

timely filed a counter motion to strike the ex parte order

for the defendants to pay security costs on August 28,

2009, which was apparently overlooked for argument at

the hearing on September 4, 2009. Thus, it cannot be

considered for review herein.

DECREE

Hence, this writ application is granted and we order

that the corresponding district court judgments are

reversed with respect to:

1. The judgment granting plaintiffs exception of res

judicata;

2. The judgment denying defendants’ special motions

to strike;

3. The judgment disqualifying Mark Andrews from

representing the defendants and his solo law practice:

4. The exception of prescription as it relates to:

a) The co-defendants’ claims for breach of contract

and

b) Lesley Simmons St. Germain’s claim for legal

malpractice.

All other claims raised in this writ application are

denied.

New Orleans, Louisiana this 26th day of January 2010

s/ JUDGE CHARLES R. JONES

s/ JUDGE DENNIS R. BAGNERIS, SR.

s/ JUDGE EDWIN A. LOMBARD

39a

APPENDIX F, RELEVANT STATUTES

28 USC §1367. Supplemental jurisdiction

al

(d) The period of limitations for any claim asserted

under subsection (a), and for any other claim in the same

action that is voluntarily dismissed at the same time as

or after the dismissal of the claim under subsection (a),

shall be tolled while the claim is pending and for a period

of 30 days after it is dismissed unless State law provides

for a longer tolling period.

[...]

28 USC §1441. Actions removable generally

(a) Except as otherwise expressly provided by Act

of Congress, any civil action brought in a State court

of which the district courts of the United States have

original jurisdiction, may be removed by the defendant or

the defendants, to the district court of the United States

for the district and division embracing the place where

such action 1s pending. [...]

28 USC §1442. Federal officers or agencies sued or

prosecuted

(a) A civil action or criminal prosecution

commenced in a State court against any of the following

may be removed by them to the district court of the

United States for the district and division embracing the

place wherein it is pending:

(1) The United States or any agency thereof or

any officer (or any person acting under that officer) of

the United States or of any agency thereof, sued in an

official or individual capacity for any act under color of

such office or on account of any right, title or authority

claimed under any Act of Congress for the apprehension

or punishment of criminals or the collection of the

revenue.

40a

(2) A property holder whose title is derived from

any such officer, where such action or prosecution affects

the validity of any law of the United States.

(3) Any officer of the courts of the United States,

for any act under color of office or in the performance of

his duties;

(4) Any officer of either House of Congress, for any

act in the discharge of his official duty under an order of

such House.

[...]

28 USC §1447. Procedure after removal generally

[...]

(c) A motion to remand the case on the basis of

any defect other than lack of subject matter jurisdiction

must be made within 30 days after the filing of the notice

of removal under section 1446 (a). If at any time before

final judgment it appears that the district court lacks

subject matter jurisdiction, the case shall be remanded.

An order remanding the case may require payment of

just costs and any actual expenses, including attorney

fees, incurred as a result of the removal. A certified copy

of the order of remand shall be mailed by the clerk to the

clerk of the State court. The State court may thereupon

proceed with such case.

(d) An order remanding a case to the State court

from which it was removed is not reviewable on appeal

or otherwise, except that an order remanding a case to

the State court from which it was removed pursuant to

section 1443 of this title shall be reviewable by appeal or

otherwise.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.