Opposition Brief — United Financial Systems, Corp. v. Indiana ex rel. Indiana State Bar Ass'n

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Supremes Goat, US

| FILEH ~

f i

Af tss

‘aere fr # =

(ots ie 0 avg

Vv

No. 10-90

OFFICE OF Tue x. 5 |

‘

Sve en |

'

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

*

UNITED FINANCIAL

SYSTEMS CORPORATION, et al.,

Petitioners,

3

STATE OF INDIANA, EX REL.

INDIANA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Indiana

>

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

KEVIN P. MCGOFF

Counsel of Record

KARL L. MULVANEY

RAFAEL A. SANCHEZ

MARGARET M. CHRISTENSEN

BINGHAM MCHALE LLP

2700 Market Tower

10 West Market Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

317-635-8900

kmegoff@binghammchale.com

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

ITT.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Petitioners have presented compelling

reasons to grant the Petition, where unautho~

ized practice of law (“UPL”) has been defined in

Indiana to include the sale of estate plans by

non-lawyers and where Petitioners’ actions do not

implicate fundamental First and Fourteenth

Amendment Freedoms.

Whether Petitioners have presented compelling

reasons to grant the Petition, where pursuant to

a Court order requiring all settlement agree-

ments be submitted to the Indiana Supreme

Court for approval, the Indiana State Bar Associ-

ation (““ISBA”) made a partial settlement pro

posal at Petitioners’ invitation.

Whether Petitioners have presented compelling

reasons to grant the Petition, where the Indiana

Supreme Court held all Petitioners jointly and

severally liable for UPL based on each individual

Petitioner's participation and role in UPL

RULE 29.6 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The ISBA is not a subsidiary or affiliate of a publicly

held company. No publicly owned company owns 10%

or more of the membership interests of the ISBA.

11]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Us 0 Ted EER End RUE? secisccedivesscausecerassenssnsess

RULE 29.6 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT .............

EPR I CAFE OE ask xs oss nkatene vuscapecssanasatecvans

PRPs OPE PUBS BE ee ssecsnascarinerscrsannerreniss

Ee Er WE os seins scan cuaeaixsbasecstinpavtertei cranes

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..................... eee eeeee eee

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .......

I.

Those Committing UPL Are Not Entitled

to Retain Unlawfully Collected Fees...........

A.

B.

Disgorgement of Fees Collected by Non-

Lawyers for Legal Services Is Not a

Penalty Subject to Criminal Due Pro-

cess Standards, but a Restitutionary

A INNO isco cvcuia cokes hccwmacicceatelandiecues

Disgorgement Is a Long-Standing

RUGUIIOTEY 100 EEMEIBIAD oe ccvissisccevecncaccssccceness

Rule 24 Is Not Impermissibly Vague

and Petitioners Cannot Claim an Un-

witting Violation of Indiana’s Prohibi-

COOHE FMP RIOUAE TINO TI isis sos ones cc csdsccnsssvescsss

l. A Rule 24 enforcement action is not

criminal or quasi-criminal, thus

the vagueness doctrine is not ap-

WRRIININOND ci vesinswinneccaegrsaer oe canta crac ceeier tees

6

6

10

14

14

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

_

to

vague on its face, or as applied to

Page

; af ,

2. Evenif the vagueness doctrine were

apply to Rule 24, the rule is not

Petitioners’ conduct................... Laren

a.

Fees and

CONCLUSION

The Indiana Supreme Court has

defined UPL so that Rule 24 is

not unconstitutionally vague on

Se ea SO: AERO Fee PERE

In addition to the plethora of

case law defining UPL in Indi-

ana, Petitioners knew that their

conduct was prohibited because

they obtained legal advice as to

legality of their practices and

admitted that identical conduct

constituted UPL in Ohio ..... NG

Il. The Indiana Supreme Court Found Peti-

tioners’ Accusations of Prosecutorial Mis

conduct by the ISBA to be Without Merit.....

Ill. The Indiana Supreme Court Correctly

Held the Individual Petitioners Jointly and

Severally Liable for the Disgorgement of

Payment of Costs ............. eeetenwees

20

23

36

QU 44

38

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Associated Builders and Contractors, Saginaw

Valley Area Chapter v. Director, Dept. of Con-

sumer & Indust. Serv., 705 N.W.2d 509

Ss Pec IN, MUI sss scavcccsecysciceaaudevecsuhvcaecacaunscbeds 21

Bellows v. Merchants Despatch Transp. Co.,

257 A.D. 15 (N.Y. App. Div. 1939), judgment

Oy ae Reg ie eg Go |: } ee re 21

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973)............ 21

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Va. ex rel.

Va. State Bar, 377 U.S. 1 (1964)................... 6,18, 19

Cincinnati Bar Ass’n v. Kathman, 748 N.E.2d

I ct. ss os cage vavansendieedimaevetbeicusioal 24

Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. Wills, 717 N.E.2d 151

kL) iS eer Baap

City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41 (1999).......... 17

Cleveland Bar Ass’n v. Sharp Estate Seruvs.,

Inc., 837 N.E.2d 1183 (Ohio 2005).......... 2, 10, 23, 36

Cline v. Frink Dairy Co., 274 U.S. 445 (1927)........... 21

Conally v. General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385

MAIREAD Rapier hperyness Poet reo lee emir eny wens © REN EN Ta Rare 17

Fink v. Peden, 17 N.E.2d 95 (Ind. 1938)....9, 13, 22, 23

In the Matter of Fletcher, 655 N.E.2d 58 (Ind.

NEE a ERAS ter NP ERED RTT Ne at TI RE ROR PESO 16, 17

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Gonzales v. Carhart, 550 U.S. 124 (2007).................. 17

Hackin v. Arizona, 389 U.S. 143 (1967)..................... 23

Harris v. Clark, 81 Ind. App. 494 (Ind. 1924)............ 13

Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates,

Me Fe Me OI ovngisxsoniscsdconsccccaccadecvcsosns 14, 17, 27

Ind. Fam. and Social Servs. Admin. v.

Amhealth, 790 N.E.2d 162 (Ind. Ct. App.

IE Iai SAR np eet re Ty en A en ae 11

Ind. State Bar Ass’n v. Diaz, 838 N.E.2d 433

ase naaseanvedaseuaiede 17

State ex rel. Ind. State Bar Ass’n v. Northouse,

848'N.E.2d 668 (Ind. ZO06).............ccocccesssceeess passim

State ex rel. Ind. State Bar Ass’n v. United Fin.

Sys. Corp., 926 N.E.2d 8 (Ind. 2010).................... 5,9

Jerman v. Carlisle, McNellie, Rint, Kramer &

Ulrich LPA, 130 S. Ct. 1605 (2010) .............ccsscsesess 21

Keyishian v. Board of Regents of University of

State of N.Y ., S69 U.S. BBS (1967) .......cccscrcvcscoscssese 21

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238

a teas 29, 30, 31

Miller v. Vance, 463 N.E.2d 250 (Ind. 1984)...... 7,8, 23

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963)................ 18, 19

NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S.

A AER terre eee seats cael 32

Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373 (1913)......... 21, 26

V11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Ohio State Bar Ass’n v. United Fin. Sys. Corp.,

921 N.E.2d 1054 (Ohio 2010) 4,5, 10, 23, 26

Qhralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass’n, 436 U.S. 447

(U.S. 1978)

State ex rel. Pearson v. Gould, 437 N.E.2d 41

RE ) RTTEAN IMRAN APY CPT REESE re ARE RR Ae eA 2:

In the Matter of Perrello, 386 N.E.2d 174 (Ind.

PINE 207.) ccncecac nein cudambcnkavaruntextrastcpncsttunevewincichavesiiive 7

Porter v. Warner Holding Co., 328 U.S. 395

, 19

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 632 (1976)...........................2

In the Matter of Roberts, 442 N.E.2d 986 (Ind.

RRR RR RAR IE Ne ote At Mee Ss RAG Ai De PAO IO a 5

Rollings v. Smith, 716 N.E.2d 502 (Ind. Ct.

CE: PLATS ERPS ERIN Or AA PAS OOD EN A

Sedima v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479 (1985)

Sperry v. Florida, 373 U.S. 379 (1963)

Staie v. Indiana Real Estate Ass’n, Inc.,

N.E.2d 711 (Ind. 1963)

In the Matter of Thrasher, 661 N.E.2d 546 (Ind.

1996)

Trumbull Cty. Bar Ass’n v. Hanna, 684 N.E.2d

eh uat Ns guannacauanes 24

Tull v. United States, 481 U.S. 412 (1987)

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927)

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

United Mine Workers of America v. Illinois

State Bar Ass’n, 389 U.S. 217 (1967)...............0.. 6,19

United States v. Newman, 144 F.3d 531 (7th

ase te as acu sennndenivonshees 11

United Transportation Union v. State Bar of

hs PR Wile IF CREE Ades cscsesceccosecccescsvcesscsaousesss 19

Wainright v. Stone, 414 U.S. 21 (1978)... ee. 22

Young v. United States ex rel. Vuitton Et Fils

ee 0, POE OED ccccnccccdbscdnccaveccsuacveveasss 29, 30

STATUTES

Se es Oe aE, . ccneusccvescesedecuvnevesseeactverescents 6

i ee eo cvéausoosensdisebesenediensupecss 16

RULES

By ee PUNE, GE BNI OG viscccesesapesecserecsacvavscrcaves passim

RUN CO, BOE Bhs WESC PIED ovicdececcccsnscevensscnssossccsnercvensss 24

BE, Ss Be BO sedcesvestndencecensis TE elsitatatdavaidaciaussistesreivintnas 6

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

es sunduksnbocddaGuevedesucdees 6,18

INTRODUCTION

The ISBA petitioned the Indiana Supreme Court

to enjoin Petitioners’ actions violating Indiana Rule

of Admission and Discipline 24 (“Rule 24”) (the “En-

forcement Action”). The Indiana Supreme Court en-

tered an order enjoining Petitioners’ actions and

ordering Petitioners to disgorge certain fees (the “Dis-

gorgement Order”). The thrust. of Petitioners’ request

for certiorari is to avoid disgorgement of unlawfully

collected fees. The Petition should be denied because

Petitioners have not demonstrated a cognizable vio-

lation of the United States Constitution so as to

warrant review by this Court.

Petitioners now acknowledge that their business

practices constituted UPL, but assert that prior to the

Enforcement Action they were not on notice that their

model of selling and delivering estate planning pack-

ages by non-lawyers, without attorney supervision,

was UPL. Petitioners contend that because they did

not know their actions amounted to UPL at the time,

and they were not on notice that they could be or

dered to disgorge those fees, it was a due process

violation for the Indiana Supreme Court to order

disgorgement. This argument fails because Petition-

ers were advised by outside counsel, and thus were on

notice no later than 1999, that the business practices

employed in Indiana would constitute UPL.

In addition, Petitioners had been conducting

business in Ohio for many years. The Ohio Supreme

Court held in 2005 that it was UPL for non-lawyers to

sell estate planning packages and provide legal ad

vice regarding the same and imposed joint and sever

al liability in its disgorgement order. Cleveland Bar

Ass’n v. Sharp Estate Servs., Inc., 837 N.E.2d 1183,

1188 (Ohio 2005). Similarly, in 2006, the Indiana

Supreme Court issued State ex rel. Ind. State Bar

Ass’n v. Northouse, 848 N.E.2d 668, 675 (Ind. 2006),

citing to the Ohio case, and finding that disgorgement

was an appropriate remedy for non-lawyers who sold

estate planning documents and provided legal advice

regarding the same. Finally, in 2009, two months

prior to the hearing in this case, United Financial

Systems Corporation (“UFSC”) admitted that operat

ing its business model in Ohio, and administering it

from its Indiana headquarters, constituted UPL

Petitioners’ claim that they did not or could not know

that their actions constituted UPL in Indiana and

that they had no notice that their unlawful actions

could result in disgorgement is simply untenable

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent adopts the facts contained in the

Disgorgement Order and the Commissioner’s Report,

both of which are included in the Petition’s Appendix

However, the following facts, downplayed or omitted

by Petitioners, must be addressed for this Court to

properly review the relevant legal arguments

The fact upporting rhe bindings

connection with Petitione busine

pract ices are

Non-lawver sale people

home and el] eslLacle pli Cay ; COT)

misson-only basis witho itt VISIO!

(App ~)

The non-lawyer lespeople pushed

expensive package of estate documer!

by UFSC. which cost $2. 695 QQ) 2O0O9

full or partial payment on

received commissions ran

$900.00 (App. 5-6

The no; lawve!r ale pcop

financial information from

The information is routed to Indian poll

URS ASS] each customer to the pan

ney contracted to complete the estat pl im p

Ave for the cu rome! (App t

UFSC pays the panel attorney a |

complete the estate plan package ld

lhe lawyer in most cases has only one phon

with the client and fills in the blanks on form

with the documents, often containing provision

inapplicable te the client or even Indiana law

App. 6-7; 102, 4 i44; 111, | 176; 123, 4] 216; 12%

4 214; 135, 4 237); and

UFSC pays another non lawye! $75.00 to deliver

the estate plan documents and assist the custom

er in executing the documents without any su

pervision by the panel attorney (App. 9

Petitioners’ statement of facts notes only that

Attorney William Hodes advised and testified that

their practices did not violate Rule 24. (Petition 3-6)

Petitioners omit the evidence supporting the Dis

gorgement Order that another of UFSC’s attorneys

earlier advised that the business mode] employed

here would be unlawful. Bruce Kotzan advised Pets

tioners in 1999 that “{[t]here must be contact between

the client and the attorney. In the event employees of

the company engage in the gathering of information

for the preparation of documents, these employee:

must be acting under the direction of the attorney.”

(App. 36, 4] 17). Petitioners ignored this advice, as the

business practices at issue in the Enforcement Action

did not involve attorneys supervising the non-lawyers

who interacted with the customers for whom the

attorneys completed legal documents. (App. 5; 81,

{| 98). Moreover, the “testimony of various panel

attorneys reveals minimal independent consultation

with clients and heavy reliance on the communica

Lions between the client and the company’s salesper

on.” (App. 9)

Additionally, Petitioners fail to mention the fact

that UFSC admitted the very practices at issue in the

Kenforcement Action constitute UPL in Ohio. Ohto

State Bar Ass’n v. United Fin. Sys. Corp., 921 N E.2d

1054 (Ohio 2010) [hereinafter “Ohio Bar v. USC” |

UFSC apreed that its activities in Ohio involving the

sale and delivery of estate plans by non-attorneys and

“its activities at its principal place of business in the

state of Indiana designed and intended to take effect

in Ohio,” amounted to UPL. /d. at 1054-55. This

admission, which was not disclosed to the ISBA by

the Petitioners, came on March 31, 2009, nearly two

months before the hearing on the merits in the En-

forcement Action. Final Report of the Board on the

UPL at 1, 921 N.E.2d 1054 (No. 09-1645), available at

http://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/tempx/65 1092.pdf.

Finally, the parties to the Enforcement Action

participated in settlement discussions. Some individ-

uals admitted violating Rule 24 and, jointly with the

ISBA, submitted settlement agreements for approval

to the Indiana Supreme Court, which were approved.

(App. 55, { 36). Petitioners and the ISBA did not

engage in settlement discussions that reached the

question of liability, but upon Petitioners’ invitation,

the ISBA proposed a settlement concept intended to

resolve a dispute over the scope of possible disgorge-

ment that could be ordered as a remedy by the Indi-

ana Supreme Court. (Petition 5; App. 62, { 45). While

Petitioners quote a portion of the letter sent, they

omit the portion that states it was written “on the

invitation extended in [Petitioners’ counsel’s] recent

letter to engage in the discussion of concepts for

resolving the historical issues in the case.” Reply

Brief in Support of Motion to Dismiss or, In the

Alternative, Motion to Strike, Ex. 1, State ex rel. Ind.

State Bar Ass’n v. United Fin. Sys. Corp., 926 N.E.2d

8 (Ind. 2010) (No. 94S00-0810-MS-551) [hereinafter

“Settlement Letter”.

>

6

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The Enforcement Action concerns the regulation

of UPL — a matter reguiated exclusively by the states.

Petitioners’ due process rights were not violated by

the Disgorgement Order because: 1) Petitioners had

due notice under Indiana and federal law that their

actions constituted UPL and thus might result in an

order of disgorgement; 2) there is no evidence of

impermissible prosecutorial bias; and 3) Petitioners

each personally participated in UPL and can be held

jointly and severally lable for their actions. Accord-

ingly, Petitioners have not demonstrated any “compel-

ling reasons” to grant the Petition. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.

I. Those Committing UPL Are Not Entitled

to Retain Unlawfully Collected Fees.

The Indiana Supreme Court has no original

jurisdiction “except in admission to the practice of

law; discipline or disbarment of those admitted; the

unauthorized practice of law. ...” Ind. Const. Art. 7

$4. See also Ind. Code § 33-24-1-2. This Court has

repeatedly held that the regulation of the practice of

law is within the province of state courts. United

Mine Workers of America v. Illinots State Bar Ass’n,

389 U.S. 217, 222 (1967) (“That the states have the

broad power to regulate the practice of law is, of

course, beyond question.”); Brotherhood of Railroad

Trainmen v. Va. ex rel. Va. State Bar, 377 U.S. 1, 6

(1964) (“Virginia undoubtedly has broad powers to

regulate the practice of law within its borders”);

Sperry v. Florida, 373 U.S. 379, 383 (1963) (a state

has a “substantial interest in regulating the practice

of law within the state”).

The state interests implicated in this case

are particularly strong. In addition to its

general interest in protecting consumers and

regulating commercial transactions, the

State bears a special responsibility for main-

taining standards among members of the li-

censed professions.

Ohralitk v. Ohio State Bar Ass'n, 4386 U.S. 447,

(U.S. 1978) (internal citations omitted).

In this regard, the Indiana Supreme Court

defined the practice of law as follows:

The core element of practicing law is the giv-

ing of legal advice to a client and the placing

of oneself in the very sensitive relationship

wherein the confidence of the client, and the

management of his affairs, is left totally in

the hands of the attorney. The undertaking

to minister to the legal problems of another

creates an attorney-client relationship with-

out regard to whether the services are actu-

ally performed by the one so undertaking the

responsibility or are delegated or subcon-

tracted to another.

Miller v. Vance, 463 N.E.2d 250, 251 (Ind. 1984)

(quoting, In the Matter of Perrello, 386 N.E.2d 174,

179 (Ind. 1979)). Moreover, the Indiana Supreme

Court has determined that where the filling in of

blanks in legal documents prepared by attorneys

8

“involves considerations of significant legal refine-

ment, or the legal consequences of the act are of great

significance to the parties involved, such practice may

be restricted to members of the legal profession.”

Miller at 251. (quoting, State v. Indiana Real Estate

Ass’n, Inc., 191 N.E.2d 711, 715 (Ind. 1963)). See also

In the Matter of Thrasher, 661 N.E.2d 546, 549 (Ind.

1996) (“It is essential to the integrity of any legal

practice that lawyers maintain independent profes-

sional judgment and not fully abdicate the responsi-

bility of providing legal advice, guidance and

expertise to nonlawyers.”). Indeed, over seventy (70)

years ago, the Indiana Supreme Court noted:

The general meaning of the term, “practice

law” or “practice of law,” is of common

knowledge.... [I]t is not confined to per-

forming services in an action or proceeding

pending in courts of justice, and, in a larger

sense, it includes legal advice and counsel,

and the preparation of legal instruments and

contracts by which legal rights are secured,

although such matter may or may not be de-

pending in a court. To “practice law” is to

carry on the business of an attorney at law; to

do or practice that which an attorney or

counselor at law is authorized to do and

practice; to exercise the calling or profession

of the law, usually for the purpose of gaining

a livelihood, or at least for gain; to make it

one’s business to act for, and by the warrant

of, others in legal formalities, negotiations, or

proceedings.

9

Fink v. Peden, 17 N.E.2d 95, 96-97 (Ind. 1938) (em-

phasis in original). To argue that the conduct prohib-

ited by Rule 24 is unclear and/or undefined is to

ignore nearly a century’s worth of Indiana jurispru-

dence regarding the practice of law.

The ISBA originally requested the disgorgement

of fees collected for the sale of estate planning ser-

vices dating back to 1995, when UFSC was founded

and began using the business model addressed in the

Enforcement Action. At oral argument before the

Indiana Supreme Court, counsel for Petitioners

argued that there was no notice that disgorgement of

fees could be a remedy for Petitioners’ actions occur-

ring prior to 2006, but admitted that Northouse, 848

N.E.2d at 675, gave notice that disgorgement could be

a remedy. Video of Oral Argument at 32:39, State ex

rel. Ind. State Bar v. United Fins. Sys. Corp., 926

N.E.2d 8 (No. 94S00-0810-MS-551), available at http://

mycourts.in.gov/arguments/default.aspx?view=detaill&

id=990, [hereinafter “Oral Argument”]. While the

Indiana Supreme Court noted that Petitioners could

be required to disgorge fees collected prior to 2006,

consistent with Petitioners’ arguments, the Court

limited the Disgorgement Order to those fees collect-

ed after the Northouse decision. (App. 22-23). The

main thrust of Petitioners’ argument is that they

were not on notice that disgorgement was a potential

remedy for their specific actions.

UFSC obtained legal advice in 1999 that the

practices at issue in the Enforcement Action violated

Rule 24. (App. 36, {| 17). At a minimum, Petitioners

10

learned in 2006 that non-lawyers may not sell estate

plans in Indiana and that the Indiana Supreme Court

cited with approval Ohio case law in defining the

term “practice of law.” Northouse, 848 N.E.2d at 672

(citing Cleveland Bar, 837 N.E.2d at 1186). The

Cleveland Bar case held in 2005 that it was UPL to

sell estate planning packages like Petitioners were

doing in Indiana since 1995. 837 N.E.2d at 1186. Just

recently, UFSC admitted the very practices at issue

in Indiana amounted to the UPL in Ohio. Ohio Bar v.

UFSC, 921 N.E.2d 1054. Thus, Petitioners’ use of

non-lawyers to give legal advice about estate plan-

ning and to market and sell estate planning packages

without attorney supervision in Indiana, as in Ohio,

constituted UPL. (App. 5 & 14). In light of these facts,

Petitioners’ attempt to attack the Disgorgement

Order on the basis of lack of notice defies logic and

raises the question of whether any justiciable case or

controversy actually exists here.

A. Disgorgement of Fees Collected by

Non-Lawyers for Legal Services Is Not

a Penalty Subject to Criminal Due

Process Standards, but a Restitutionary

Measure.

Disgorgement is not recognized as a punishment,

but rather is considered restitutionary. Tull v. United

States, 481 U.S. 412, 424 (1987): Porter v. Warner

Holding Co., 328 U.S. 395, 402 (1946) (restitution

serves the public interest by restoring the status quo

and ordering the return of that which rightfully

11

belongs to another; it is “within the highest recog-

nized power and within the highest tradition of a

court of equity.”).

Restitution [does not] qualify as a criminal

punishment. Restitution has _ traditionally

been viewed as an equitable device for re-

storing victims to the position they had occu-

pied prior to a wrongdoer’s actions. It is

separate and distinct from any punishment

visited upon the wrongdoer and operates to

ensure that a wrongdoer does not procure

any benefit through his conduct at the oth-

ers’ expense.

5 *

Restitution ts not “punishment” within the

meaning of the Ex Post Facto Clause.

United States v. Newman, 144 F.3d 531, 538-39 (7th

Cir. 1998) (internal citations omitted) (emphasis

added).

Indiana similarly holds disgorgement is an

equitable remedy designed to nullify any unjust

enrichment when fees or other property are improper-

ly acquired. Ind. Fam. and Social Servs. Admin. v.

Amhealth, 790 N.E.2d 162, 169 (Ind. Ct. App. 2003)

(Brook, C.J., concurring) (“Restitution is described as

a return or restoration of what the defendant has

gained in the transaction.”). Where the remedy of

disgorgement of fees is merited, such is not retribu-

tive in nature, but serves to “deter similar conduct in

the future.” Northouse, 848 N.E.2d at 674. Further,

“Cajn action to compel a restitution of benefits accrued

12

need not be founded upon any supposed wrong.”

Rollings v. Smith, 716 N.E.2d 502, 507 (Ind. Ct. App.

1999). Because both federal and Indiana courts

consider disgorgement to be restitutionary and not

punitive, the same due process considerations that

apply in the context of criminal and civil penalties do

not apply here.

B. Disgorgement Is a Long-Standing Rem-

edy in Indiana.

Although disgorgement of fees dating back to

1995 was at issue, Petitioners were ordered to dis-

gorge only those fees collected after the issuance of

the 2006 Northouse opinion (App. 23), which they

admitted put them on notice that disgorgement was a

potential remedy in cases involving UPL.’ Oral Ar-

gument at 32:39. There was no lack of notice to

Petitioners and thus no violation of due process.

Notwithstanding Petitioners’ admission that

Northouse put them on notice that disgorgement is a

potential remedy for Rule 24 violations, disgorgement

of fees collected for UPL in Indiana is not a recent

development. First, the Indiana Supreme Court

' The potential disgorgement aiiount is around $2.7 million

in fees for the sale of estate planning documents. The Disgorge-

ment Order notes that from October, 2006 through May, 2009,

UFSC collected more than $29 million, which includes invest

ments sold as a result of gaining access to the individual “cli-

ents” through the impermissible sale of estate planning

documents. (App. 140-141, 44] 252 & 255).

13

explained in Northouse, “[ajlthough the rule uses the

terms ‘enjoin’ and ‘injunction’ when referring to the

relief available and ‘injunctions typically order those

to whom they are directed to refrain from doing

something, the relief afforded by equity may be

extended to compel affirmative action when neces-

sary.” 848 N.E.2d at 674. Northouse provided notice

that “[aJn injunction is a formal command of the

court, directing the person named therein to refrain

from doing certain specified acts ... or, where the

relief is mandatory in form, directing such persons

to take certain steps to undo the wrong or injury

with which they are charged.” Id. (emphasis

added). Thus, even before the Northouse decision, the

Indiana Supreme Court had the authority pursuant

to Rule 24 to order the disgorgement of unlawfully

collected fees.

Moreover, Indiana courts have long recognized

that “a person who was not duly admitted to practice

law in this state, in conformity to the provisions of

the statute, could not recover for legal services ren-

dered.” See, e.g., Fink, 17 N.E.2d at 97; Harris uv.

Clark, 81 Ind. App. 494, 496 (Ind. 1924) (“where a

statute forbids carrying on a business without first

procuring a license, paying a tax, and complying with

prescribed tests, inspection, registration or the like

contracts made by persons in carrying on such busi-

ness are void, though the statute contains no express

provision to that effect”). Accordingly, it was foreseea-

ble that the Indiana Supreme Court would disgorge

fees in the Enforcement Action — it was not a novel or

14

unprecedented concept and as explained in more

detail below, Petitioners had notice that they were

violating Rule 24. Thus, the Disgorgement Order does

not violate Petitioners’ due process rights.

C. Rule 24 Is Not Imperniissibly Vague

and Petitioners Cannot Claim an Un-

witting Violation of Indiana’s Prohibi-

tion Against the UPL.

1. A Rule 24 enforcement action is not

criminal or quasi-criminal, thus the

vagueness doctrine is not applicable.

Petitioners’ argument that Rule 24 is impermis-

sibly vague fails because Petitioners advocate for a

level of specificity required only of criminal or quasi-

criminal statutes. For Fourteenth Amendment pur-

poses, courts demand less precision of statutes that

impose only civil remedies, in contrast to criminal

statutes, because their consequences are less severe.

The degree of vagueness that the Constitution

tolerates-as well as the relative importance of

fair notice and fair enforcement-depends in

part on the nature of the enactment. Thus,

economic regulation is subject to a less strict

vagueness test because its subject matter is

often more narrow, and because businesses,

which face economic demands to plan behav-

ior carefully, can be expected to consult rele

vant legislation in advance of action.

Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, 455

U.S. 489, 498 (1982).

A Rule 24 enforcement action, by nature, is not

quasi-criminal, but is akin to an attorney or judicial

disciplinary action. Just as disciplinary actions are

intended to protect Indiana’s citizens and courts from

those who are not fit for membership in the bar, Rule

24 enforcement actions are intended to restrain or

enjoin those individuals from the practice of law who

are not qualified by virtue of the fact that they are

not attorneys. The Indiana Supreme Court has rec

ognized that:

[Djisbarment and suspension proceedings

are neither civil nor criminal in nature but

are special proceedings, sul generis, and re-

sult from the inherent power of courts over

their officers. Such proceedings are not law-

suits between parties litigant but rather are

in the nature of an inquest or inquiry as to

the conduct of the respondent. They are not

for the purpose of puntshment, but rather

seek to determine the fitness of an officer of

the court to continue in that capacity and

protect the courts and the public from the of-

ficial ministration of persons unfit to prac-

tice.

In the Matter of Roberts, 442 N.E.2d 986, 987 (Ind.

1983) (emphasis added). The Indiana Supreme Court

has held that “civil or criminal law definitions are

”

generally not controlling in [disciplinary] actions. . . .

In the Matter of Gerard, 634 N.E.2d 51, 53 (Ind.

1994).

16

Similarly, Rule 24 enforcement actions are not

intended “to find fault or assess liability but to pro

tect the public from those not properly licensed or

otherwise qualified to act as attorneys.” Northouse,

848 N.E.2d at 674. If Rule 24 enforcement actions

were indeed intended to punish those who practice

law without a license, criminal laws regarding UPL

in Indiana would be unnecessary. However, the

Indiana General Assembly enacted a criminal UPL

provision (Ind. Code § 33-43-2-1) and the Indiana

Supreme Court enacted Rule 24. Kach has its own

distinct procedures and remedies. Requiring the same

procedures and blurring the lines between the two

provisions would render one superfluous.’

The Indiana Supreme Court has also noted that

its “primary responsibility in admission and disci

pline matters is to protect the public against incom

petent and unscrupulous professionals.” /n the Matter

of Fletcher, 655 N.E.2d 58, 60 (Ind. 1995) (holding the

Indiana Supreme Court had the power to discipline

an individual who was licensed to practice law in

Illinois for UPL in Indiana). Individuals who purport

to provide legal advice, despite being unlicensed to

practice law in Indiana, are within the purview of

“incompetent and unscrupulous professionals” referred

In this regard, the Indiana Supreme Court has expressly

stated that a Rule 24 enforcement action “does not preclude, and

should not discourage, the State from filing criminal charges in

appropriate cases against those who violate the prohibition on

the unauthorized practice of law.” Northouse, 848 N.E.2d at 675

17

to by the Court in Fletcher. Moreover, the Indiana

Supreme Court directly compared Rule 24 enforce

ment actions to disciplinary actions in determining the

appropriate standard of proof in a Rule 24 enforce

ment action. Ind. State Bar Ass’n v. Diaz, 838 N.E.2d

433, 438 (Ind. 2005). Thus, Rule 24 enforcement

actions are not quasi-criminal and do not require the

same procedural safeguards as a criminal action

Petitioners base their vagueness challenge to

Rule 24 on City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41

(1999): Gonzales v. Carhart, 550 U.S. 124 (2007); and

Conally v. General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926)

Kach of these cases is inapplicable to the Enforce

ment Action because each addressed the due proces:

considerations at issue in enacting, interpreting, and

enforcing criminal statutes. Because Rule 24 is not a

criminal provision, these cases are inapposite

Petitioners also cite Klipside, 455 U.S. at 499

500, for the proposition that quasi-criminal statute

are subject to the same strict vagueness test a

criminal statutes. (Petition 14). This assertion over

states the Court’s conclusion in Flipside that the

admittedly “‘quasi-criminal’ |statute| and its prohibi

tory and stigmatizing effect may warrant a relatively

strict test.” Flipside, 455 U.S. at 499. In any event,

Similarly, Petitioners’ reliance on Sedima v. Imrex Co.,

473 U.S. 479, 492-93 (1985), is misplaced. The Court's concern in

that case was whether statutorily mandated civil penalties in a

RICO action could be limited to instances in which the defend

ant had previously been found yuilty in a criminal matter of a

(Continued on following pape)

Kule 24, which is grounded in Indiana’s Constitution

1s not quasi-criminal, but quasi-disciplinary. See Ind

Const. Art. 794. Thus, Petitioners’ argument that the

prohibition on UPL in Indiana is unconstitutionally

vague fail:

While courts have recognized a limited applica

Lion of the vaguens doctrine to cases involving

certain fundamental freedom Petitioners have not

asserted, nor can they, that Rule 24 affect these

rights. Petitioners seek review of Rule 24 under the

standard et forth in NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415

(1963), and Vrainmenr, 377 U.S. 1. As asserted by

Petitioners, both cases apply the vayuene doctrine

to statutes poverning the practice of law. However,

Bullon analyzes a tatute which limited” First

Amendment nght:

The objectionable quality of vagueness and

overbreadth does not de pe nd on absence of

fair notice to a criminally accused or upon

unchanneled delegation of legislative power

hut upon the danger of tolerating in the

related violation. Sedima } (Court found, however!

criminal conviction was not nece iry im order » impart

penalties under a civil standard of proof. /d. at 491. Almost a

an aside, and without determining whether the availability of

treble damayes as a civil remedy was quasi-criminal in nature

this Court reasoned that the due proce concerns at issue could

be repaired by raring the standard of proof in the civil action

rather than by requiring: a previous criminal conviction in orders

to utilize the eivil remedy. /d. at 49'27-934

19

area of First Amendment freedoms, the

existence of a penal statute susceptible of

sweeping and improper application.

Button, 317 U.S. at 432-33 (emphasis added). Similar-

ly, Trainmen considers an injunction which limited

First and Fourteenth Amendment rights. Trainmen

at 1118. The scope of Rule 24 does not reach First or

Fourteenth Amendment freedoms, and Petitioners

present no argument that it does reach such free-

doms.’” Neither their life, liberty, or property is at risk

here. Disgorging ill-gotten gains is not the taking of

property. See, e.g., Porter, 328 U.S. at 402. Thus,

because Rule 24 enforcement actions are neither

criminal nor quasi-criminal, the vagueness doctrine

does not apply.

* Petitioners inexplicably exclude this critical reference to

the First Amendment in their analysis of Button. (Petition 14).

* Petitioners portray their conduct as that of a simple

lawyer-referral service, rather than owning up to the elaborate

scheme involving a sales force of non-lawyers who give legal

advice without attorney supervision. (Petition at 27). Such a

characterization of the UFSC model invites a misapplication of

many cases cited by Petitioners in their favor. Specifically,

United Transportation Union v. State Bar of Mich., 401 U.S. 576,

582-84 (1971); Button, 371 U.S. 415; Trainmen, 377 U.S. 1; and

United Mine Workers of America, 389 U.S. 217, 221-22, each

involve referral systems and First Amendment speech and

assembly issues. None of these cases are analogous to the UFSC

system of selling estate planning services without an initial

legal analysis conducted by a licensed attorney.

20

2. Even if the vagueness doctrine

were to apply to Rule 24, the rule is

not vague on its face, or as applied

to Petitioners’ conduct.

Petitioners’ attack on the alleged vagueness of

Rule 24 fails. First, Rule 24 is not facially vague

because, as outlined above, the Indiana Supreme

Court has defined Rule 24 through decades of case

law, and these definitions provide sufficient specifici-

ty as to the definition of the practice of law in Indi-

ana. Second, Rule 24 is not vague as applied to

Petitioners because their practices fell squarely

within the Indiana Supreme Court’s definition of the

practice of law. Moreover, UFSC’s recent admission

that identical practices amounted to the UPL in Ohio,

coupled with Petitioners’ employee training regarding

the practice of law, disclaimers regarding the practice

of law, and legal advice warning them that their

practices flirted with Rule 24 violations, defeat their

claim that they could not discern what conduct was

prohibited.

a. The Indiana Supreme Court has

defined UPL so that Rule 24 is

not unconstitutionally vague on

its face.

A statute is unconstitutionally vague where its

language does not convey a_ sufficiently definite

warning as to the proscribed conduct when measured

by common understanding and practices, or stated

otherwise, where its language is such that people of

21

common intelligence must necessarily guess at its

meaning. See Keyishian v. Board of Regents of Uni-

versity of State of N.Y., 385 U.S. 589 (1967). However,

a statute is not unconstitutionally vague when an

ordinary person exercising ordinary common sense

can sufficiently understand and comply with it. See

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973).

Generally the decisions of this Court “upholding

statutes as sufficiently certain, rested upon the

conclusion that they employed words or phrases

having a technical or other special meaning ... or a

well-settled common law meaning, notwithstanding

an element of degree in the definition as to which

estimates might differ.” Cline v. Frink Dairy Co., 274

U.S. 445, 459 (1927) (citing Nash v. United States,

229 U.S. 373, 377 (1918)). Judicial interpretations of

a statute can settle the meaning of terms employed

therein. Jerman v. Carlisle, McNellie, Rint, Kramer &

Ulrich LPA, 130 S. Ct. 1605, 1616 (2010). See also

Bellows v. Merchants Despatch Transp. Co., 257 A.D.

15, 16 (N.Y. App. Div. 1939) Gf the meaning of terms

employed in the statute “have long been recognized in

law and life”, they will be considered sufficiently

definite), judgment aff'd, 27 N.E.2d 440 (1940);

Associated Builders and Contractors, Saginaw Valley

Area Chapter v. Director, Dept. of Consumer & Indust.

Serv., 705 N.W.2d 509 (Mich. Ct. App. 2005) (a statute

is sufficiently definite for purposes of due process if

its meaning can be fairly ascertained by reference to

judicial interpretations, the common law, dictionaries,

22

treatises, or the commonly accepted meanings of

words).

In this regard, “{fJor the purpose of determining

whether a state statute is too vague and indefinite to

constitute valid legislation ‘[this Court] must take the

statute as though it read precisely as the highest

court of the State has interpreted it.’” Wainright v.

Stone, 414 U.S. 21, 22-23 (1973). “When a state

statute ‘has been construed to forbid identifiable

conduct so that ‘interpretation by [the state court]

puts these words in the statute as definitely as if it

had been so amended by the legislature,’ claims of

impermissible vagueness must be judged in that

light.” Id. a 23.

As noted previously herein, Northouse is the most

recent pronouncement of the parameters of the defi-

nition of the practice of law in Indiana, which has

long been defined to include giving “legal advice and

counsel”. Fink, 17 N.E.2d at 96. Northouse specifical-

ly addressed a situation in which a non-lawyer met

with clients and discussed the clients’ current estate

planning efforts, collected information, and discussed

the idea of estate planning documents such as living

trusts, wills, and powers of attorney with clients. 848

N.E.2d at 670. During this same visit, the non-lawyer

collected payment from the clients for the estate

planning documents he had recommended during

their meeting. Jd. The non-lawyer then modified

forms that had been previously drafted by an attor-

ney and met with the clients again to assist them

in executing the legal documents. /d. at 671. The

23

Indiana Supreme Court cited prior Indiana case law

in finding that the practices described in the

Northouse opinion amounted to UPL. Id. at 672

(citing Miller, 463 N.E.2d at 251 (giving legal advice,

managing the affairs of a client, and ministering to

the legal affairs of another is the practice of law);

State ex rel. Pearson v. Gould, 487 N.E.2d 41, 42 (Ind.

1982) (giving advice as to the contents and legal effect

of a will is the practice of law)). The Northouse opin-

ion recognized decisions from other jurisdictions in

finding UPL where non-lawyers sold estate planning

services. Jd. (citing among others, Cleveland Bar, 837

N.E.2d at 1186). See also Hackin v. Arizona, 389 U.S.

143 (1967) (appeal dismissed for “want of a federal

question” on a claim that Arizona UPL statute was

“too vague and indefinite” to meet Constitutional

standards).

b. In addition to the plethora of case

law defining UPL in Indiana, Peti-

tioners knew that their conduct

was prohibited because they ob-

tained legal advice as to legality

of their practices and admitted

that identical conduct constitut-

ed UPL in Ohio.

Petitioners’ dismay and surprise that their

actions in Indiana amounted to UPL is not credible

because UFSC admitted in Ohio that the identical

business scheme was UPL. The model is recited at

Ohio Bar v. UFSC, 921 N.E.2d at 1054-55. (Cf App.

24

30, ¥ 2-36, { 16). The Supreme Court of Ohio accepted

and approved the proposed consent decree submitted

by UFSC and the Ohio State Bar Association setting

forth the essential elements of UFSC’s estate plan-

ning practices, which closely mirror the practices

recited in the Commissioner’s Findings of Fact and

the Disgorgement Order.° Given UFSC’s admission

that virtually the same conduct at issue here was

UPL in Ohio, Petitioners’ claim that they could not

have known their conduct in Indiana was UPL is

dubious at best.

Moreover, Petitioners solicited (and ignored) legal

advice from Attorney Bruce Kotzan, who advised in

1999:

It is my opinion that you can employ attor-

neys to represent individuals in the course of

your marketing of estate planning products,

but the lawyer’s representation of the clients

must truly be independent. The attorney

must represent the client and not the com-

pany. There must be contact between the cli-

ent and the attorney. In the event employees

* The Ohio rules prohibiting UPL, like Indiana’s are

judicially defined. While Ohio’s Gov. Bar R. VII(2)(A) defines the

UPL as “the rendering of legal services for another person by

any person not admitted to practice in Ohio,” the Supreme Court

of Ohio turns to its own precedent to further specify that

definition. See, e.g., Cincinnati Bar Ass’n v. Kathman, 748

N.E.2d 1091, 1095 (Ohio 2001) (citing Trumbull Cty. Bar Ass’n v.

Hanna, 684 N.E.2d 329, 331 (Ohio 1997) for the proposition that

non-attorneys engage in UPL when they market and sell living

trusts).

25

of the company engage in the gathering of in-

formation for the preparation of documents,

these employees must be acting under the

direction of the attorney.

(App. 36, | 17). The Indiana Supreme Court agreed

that “UFSC’s business model has marginalized the

attorney’s role to such a degree as to cross the line of

permissible practices.” (App. 13-14).

In advising UFSC about its business model and

practices, UFSC’s inside and outside counsel could

have easily found Indiana case law such as State ex

rel. Pearson v. Gould, 437 N.E.2d 41, 42 (Ind. 1982),

which held that preparing and drafting a will, and

giving legal advice about the contents and effect of a

will, constitute the practice of law. Petitioners simi-

larly could have reviewed Northouse, which held that

“siving advice as to the contents and legal effect of a

will constitute the practice of law.” 848 N.E.2d at 672.

Indeed, because of the similarity of the facts in

Northouse to Petitioners’ business scheme, the Indi-

ana Supreme Court noted that Northouse “should

have put UFSC on clear notice that its practices were

unlawful. Regardless of whether UFSC acted proper-

ly prior to Northouse to ascertain whether its practic-

es were lawful, the illegality of UFSC’s business

model certainly should have been apparent after

Northouse.” (App. 22-23).

Apparently in anticipation of litigation, UFSC

hired Professor William Hodes. (App. 52). Hodes

testified at length that Petitioners’ business model

26

and practices did not violate Rule 24. (App. 52, 44 26,

28). The Commissioner then admitted rebuttal testi-

mony by Sarah McShea, who testified that Petition-

ers’ practices amounted to UPL. (App. 52, { 26).

Petitioners’ argument that the testimony of Ms.

McShea proves the confusing nature of Indiana’s UPL

restriction is a non sequitur, as borne out by UFSC’s

admission in Ohio that it knew its business practices

amounted to UPL. Ohio Bar v. UFSC, 921 N.E.2d at

1054-55.

In addition to the fact that UFSC admitted its

practices violated the prohibition on UPL in Ohio,

UFSC devoted substantial resources to training its

employees as to the boundaries of the practice of law

and included disclaimers in its consumer materials,

purportedly to alert customers that its representa-

tives were not engaging in the practice of law. (App.

70, | 62; 78, { 88). If the definition of the practice of

law in Indiana is truly so mystifying that Petitioners

could not discern the line dividing permissible and

prohibited conduct, it is incredible that they would

tread so close to the line and train employees as to

where that boundary lies. See Nash v. United States,

229 U.S. 373, 377 (1913) (“the law is full of instances

where a man’s fate depends on his estimating rightly

. some matter of degree”).

Petitioners’ argument that not even the facts of

Northouse put them on notice that their practices

were illegal essentially advocates for a legal standard

requiring an Indiana case presenting the exact same

facts at issue for a Rule 24 violator to have received

27

sufficient notice that its actions may lead to dis-

gorgement of fees. (Petition at 21). Northouse already

presented the similar situation of a non-attorney

providing legal advice and selling legal documents,

including wills and trusts, to individuals. (App. 13).

The Ohio cases from 1997, 2001, and 2005 also pre-

sented similar sales of estate plan packages as those

sold by Petitioners. The due process requirements

applicable to a state’s governance of the practice of

law within its boundaries do not require further

specificity of the offense in this context. Flipside, 455

U.S. at 498 (“The degree of vagueness that the Con-

stitution tolerates-as well as the relative importance

of fair notice and fair enforcement-depends in part on

the nature of the enactment.”). Petitioners had fair

notice and received all the process that was due. Rule

24, and the definition of the practice of law in Indiana

are sufficiently specific that Petitioner’s request for

certiorari should be denied.

II. The Indiana Supreme Court Found Peti-

tioners’ Accusations of Prosecutorial Mis-

conduct by the ISBA to be Without Merit.

The ISBA’s settlement demand did not violate the

Petitioners’ due process rights. Though not mentioned

in the Petition, Petitioners’ argument of prosecutorial

misconduct has already been deemed “baseless” and

“without merit” by the Indiana Supreme Court. While

Petitioners contend that the ISBA’s settlement pro-

posal evidences prosecutorial bias, the Indiana Su-

preme Court specifically found that the effort was not

28

“indicative of any improper self-interest by the ISBA

in bringing unauthorized practice action under Rule

24.” (App. 17). In an attempt to resolve some of the

issues in the case, and in response to an “invitation

extended” by counsel for Petitioners, the ISBA pro-

posed various settlement concepts which would

ultimately be presented to the Indiana Supreme

Court for approval if they evolved into an agreement

between the parties. The Petitioners rejected this

effort. Settlement Letter at 1.

The ISBA had no authority to independently

resolve the Enforcement Action. The Indiana Su-

preme Court’s Order of January 30, 2009, encouraged

settlement and specifically required the Court’s

approval of any settlement. January 30, 2009 Order,

{| 7. In essence, the settlement process was akin to a

consent judgment — the parties were to present an

agreement as to the violation and appropriate sanc-

tion to the Indiana Supreme Court, which retained

the ultimate discretion to accept or reject that agree-

ment. The notion that the ISBA was improperly

attempting to use Rule 24 for financial benefit is

directly at odds with the reality that the Indiana

Supreme Court approved all settlements. Moreover,

this assertion was flatly rejected by the Commission-

er and the Indiana Supreme Court. (App. 16-18; 61-

63, 9 41-47). There was no basis for Petitioners’

claim that this action was predicated on such an

attempt. (App. 16-18; 61-63, | 41-47).

29

The parties’ settlement discussions did not reach

the merits of the charged Rule 24 violations. Al-

though the ISBA has the authority to bring a Rule 24

enforcement action, the Indiana Supreme Court is the

entity that ultimately decides whether Rule 24 was

violated and the appropriate remedy. The ISBA was

not in a position to drop all the claims, it was merely

able to stipulate certain facts and issues, in a joint

effort to streamline litigation and curtail the expendi-

tures of time and resources by the Indiana Supreme

Court, the Commissioner, and the parties. The set-

tlement discussions at no point contemplated that the

alleged rule violations would be reduced. Indeed,

there is no concept such as a “lesser included charge”

for which Petitioners could have bargained. A re-

spondent to a Rule 24 enforcement action has either

violated Rule 24 or has not; there is no middle

ground.

The primary case Petitioners rely on in support

of their position, Marshall v, Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S.

238 (1980), concludes that the strict requirements

against the impermissible risk of bias “designed for

officials performing judicial or quasi-judicial func-

tions, are not applicable to those acting in a prosecu-

torial or plaintiff-like capacity.” /d. at 248. The

requirements against bias have been extended to

prosecutors and those in quasi-prosecutorial roles in

instances where the decision whether to initiate or

reduce criminal charges can result in some pecuniary

gain to the prosecutor. See, e.g., Young v. United

States ex rel. Vuitton Et Fils S.A., 481 U.S. 787, 805

30

(1987). As explained in Young, a prosecutor represent

ing the interests of a private party in a related civil

action “may be tempted to bring a tenuously support

ed prosecution if such a course promises financial or

legal rewards for the private client. Conversely, a

prosecutor may be tempted to abandon a meritorious

prosecution if a settlement providing benefits to the

private client is conditioned on a recommendation

against criminal charges.” /d.

The ISBA’s role in a Rule 24 enforcement action

is not subject to these concerns because the ISBA

could not have unilaterally settled this Enforcement

Action. The ISBA had not previously engaged in

settlement negotiations presenting an opportunity for

financial gain via a Rule 24 enforcement action. (App.

16-18; 61-63, 7] 41-47). The appearance of improprie-

ty warned against in Young does not exist because the

Indiana Supreme Court ordered that it must approve

all settlement agreements. This arrangement guards

against even the appearance of impropriety. Young,

481 U.S. at 811.

This case does not present a situation akin to

Young, in which an individual prosecuting an action

could realize a private benefit from the result. Rather,

as in Marshall, “no governmental [or other] official

stands to profit economically from vigorous enforce-

ment” of Rule 24. 446 U.S. at 239. In Marshall, this

Court upheld the propriety of a statutory provision

requiring civil penalties be returned to the govern-

mental agency charged with investigating and enforc-

ing child labor violations as reimbursement for the

expenses incurred in the enforcement process. /d. at

247. As explained in Tumey v. Ohto “the legislature of

a State may, and often ought to, stimulate prosecu

tions for crime by offering to those who shall initiate

and carry such prosecutions rewards for thus acting

in the interest of the State and the people.” Tumey ¢

Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 535 (1927) (emphasis added). As

in Marshall, the ISBA does not ultimately assess a

Rule 24 violation or determine the appropriate sanc

tion; the Indiana Supreme Court reserves this func

tion to itself. See Marshall 446 U.S. at 247 (“The

function of assessing a violation is akin to that of a

prosecutor or civil plaintiff, and the alleged violator

is entitled to a hearing before a judge)

The ISBA is merely the relator of the State’

interest in protecting Indiana citizens from the harm

ful effects of UPL. To the extent that the ISBA’s role

in the Rule 24 proceedings can be deemed analogous

to that of a criminal prosecutor, Petitioners failed to

develop any facts or law demonstrating that the ISBA

was unfairly interested in the outcome of this action

The ISBA had no expectation that initiating the

Enforcement Action would result in financial pain

and there was no evidence of prosecutorial bias

il. The Indiana Supreme Court Correctly

Held the Individual Petitioners Jointly

and Severally Liable for the Disyvoryge

ment of Fees and Payment of Costs.

Petitioners incorrectly argue that the Indiana

Supreme Court did not enter any findings to support

the imposition of joint and several hability for the

disgorgement of fees and costs over the individual!

Petitioners. (Petition, 35). Both the Commissioner

Findings of Fact and the Indiana Supreme Court’

opinion offer generous factual support for finding the

individual Petitioners just as lable as UFSC for

engaging in the UPL. Indeed, contrary to the Pets

lioners argument, this 1s not a case of “guilt by

association rather, the individual Petitioners here

are the “association.” (Petition, 38)

In a practical sense, UFSC cannot sit for the bar

exam, and thus, technically cannot practice law. See

Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. Wills, 717 N ke 2d 151. 158 (Ind

1999) (noting that “only a natural person c; he

The cases cited by Petitioners in upport of this argument

NAACT v. Clatborne Tlardware Co 1654 US. BRE (1982) and

Rizzo v. Goode, 2. S 642 (1976 i Inapposite ‘The

Claiborne case + with the exeremse of First Amendment

lrecdoms ip connection with legitimate activity Here, there

ire no First Amendment concerns and the activity at issue is not

lawtlul : imilarly, the ei: @ Cast involved thie | thiitiee ol iT)

injunction against persons who had no connection with the

activity being enjoined. Here, the individual Petitioners are not

innocent bystander: they were the individuals at UFSC© that

orchestrated, participated in, and profited from, the unlawful

wctivily

33

admitted to the bar”). However, the Indiana Supreme

Court has noted that, in the context of the practice of

law, “agency doctrine permits an unlicensed legal

entity to employ licensed agents to perform those acts

requiring a license.” Jd. at 160 (internal citation

omitted). In other words, to the extent a corporation

is said to practice law, it does so through its agents.

On this point, the Court stated:

Regardless of whether a partnership, a pro-

fessional corporation, an insurance company,

or any other legal entity may be said to be

practicing law in some sense, we believe

the proper focus of the unauthorized

practice inquiry is whether the chal-

lenged activity results in the “unauthor-

ized” practice by the _ individuals

involved.

Id. (emphasis added). Ignoring this precedent, the

individual Petitioners engage in misdirection by

attempting to now distance themselves from the

UFSC entity — the very entity they owned, managed,

worked for, and/or profited from. Consistent with the

standard set forth in Wills, the examination of

UFSC’s business model and practices in the underly-

ing Enforcement Action necessarily centered around

the activities being performed by the _ individual

Petitioners who acted on behalf of UFSC.

During the course of the proceedings, including

the 3-day evidentiary hearing, the ISBA proved that

UFSC’s business model and practices constituted

UPL. For instance, it was established that non-lawyer

34

salespeople without attorney supervision engaged in

UPL by, among other things, marketing and selling

estate plans, providing legal advice, and explaining

the relevance and purpose of legal documents to

customers. (App. 29-38, |J 1-23). It logically follows

that Petitioners Jody Waugh, Raymond Phillips and

James Boyles, who worked as non-lawyer salespeople

for UFSC, engaged in acts constituting UPL in their

respective capacities.

Moreover, several of the individual Petitioners

owned and/or managed the UFSC enterprise and

facilitated UPL. Since the company’s inception in

1995 to late 2008, Petitioners Richard Follett and

Jayne Follett were principals of UFSC, whose sole

shareholder was the Jayne A. Follett Family Limited

Partnership (“Follett Family L.P.”). (App. 71, 4 63).

Then, after a curious corporate restructuring of UFSC

during the pendency of the Enforcement Action,

UFSC became owned by United Financial Resources,

which in turn, was held by the Follett Family L.P.

(App. 71, 4 64). The members of the Follett Family

L.P. include Petitioners Dick Follett, Jane Follett,

Richard L. Follett II, Beau Follett, and James Boyles.

(App. 71, 964). These individuals (who have an

ownership interest in UFSC), in addition to Petition-

ers Raymond C. Phillips, Gary Lovelady, Sharon

Dorsey, and Sherry Jordan, formed UFSC’s home

* Each of these Petitioners was specifically implicated in

UPL activities concerning certain UFSC customers that were

named in the ISBA’s Petition. (App. 98-138, 134-248).

35

office senior management during the relevant time

period — a fact stipulated by the parties. (App. 72,

{| 65). John Joyce was subsequently hired as a Panel

Attorney for UFSC in February 2000.” (App. 74, 4 79).

Referring to non-lawyer salespeople and Panel

Attorneys, the Indiana Supreme Court noted that “all

of these persons are essential to UFSC’s core business

model.” (App. 7). In like fashion, each of the individu-

al Petitioners also played a role in the UFSC business

model, whether in training, managing and/or aiding

non-lawyer salespeople, or in marketing and selling

estate plans to customers while dispensing legal

advice in the process. Ultimately, all of the Petition-

ers share at least one thing in common — they each

personally profited from the unlawful activities of the

UFSC enterprise, whether in the form of a dividend,

distribution, salary, or commission. As the Disgorge-

ment Order recognizes, the individual Petitioners

should not be allowed to profit from these illicit gains.

Notwithstanding Petitioners’ argument to the

contrary, the State is not required to pierce the corpo-

rate veil in order to impose liability on an individual

that engages in UPL on behalf of a corporation.

Petitioners cite to no authority for this proposition.

Individuals, just like the entities they work for, are

* On April 17, 2609, the ISBA moved to amend its Petition

to include claims against the named Panel Attorneys, including

John Joyce, for aiding or assisting non-lawyers in the UPL. The

Commissioner granted the ISBA’s motion on May 18, 2000

36

equally subject to the restrictions Rule 24 imposes

and cannot shield themselves from hability by simply

hiding behind a corporate structure. Indeed, in the

context of a UPL action, it is not unique to hold

individual violators liable despite the fact they were

acting on behalf of a corporation. See, e.g., Cleveland

Bar, 837 N.E.2d at 1187-88 (imposing joint and

several liability on the individual respondents of a

trust mill in a UPL action). Like the individual re-

spondents’ relationship with the entity in Cleveland

Bar, the individual Petitioners here were under

contract with UFSC, were agents of UFSC, and

“received extensive training from [UFSC] on market-

ing and selling trust and estate plans to customers.”

Id. at 1187.

In imposing joint and several liability, the Ohio

Supreme Court in Cleveland Bar noted, inter alia,

that the respondents’ violations “were flagrant be-

cause they aggressively targeted customers even after

[a prior 2001 Ohio decision], which warned that trust-

mill operations are UPL violations.” Jd. at 1188. The

Court also held that the individual respondents had

“willfully defrauded their customers by selling trusts

and estate documents without authorization.” Jd. The

instant case is analogous in virtually every way. The

individual Petitioners were agents of UFSC, they

continued to aggressively target customers despite

the decision in Northouse in 2006. As in Cleveland

Bar, joint and several liability is warranted here.

Finally, the notion that the individual Petitioners

were not afforded “even the basic procedural safe-

guards” and were given “little if any opportunity to

conduct discovery” (Petition, 39) is unsupported by

the record. First, counsel for Petitioners admitted

during oral argument before the Indiana Supreme

Court that formal discovery in this matter was not

necessary and that the parties fully cooperated in

informal discovery efforts. Oral Argument at 45:19.

Further, these individuals were named respondents

in the ISBA’s Petition since its inception and were

represented by the same counsel that defended

UFSC. Through their counsel, they participated in

the proceedings, engaged in discovery, and had an

opportunity to present their defense at the 3-day

evidentiary hearing.” Prior to the hearing, they filed

seven (7) pre-trial motions, including a motion to

dismiss the Enforcement Action, which was denied.

(App. 57, ¥ 40).

After conducting the evidentiary hearing includ-

ing three days of testimony and hundreds of UFSC’s

internal documents, the Commissioner correctly

entered findings detrimental to the Petitioners. The

Indiana Supreme Court reviewed the record and held

that Petitioners engaged in UPL. The individual

'° Despite being individually named as respondents in the

enforcement action, Petitioners Jayne A. Follett, Sharon Dorsey,

Sherry Jordan, and Gary Lovelady did not personally appear for

the evidentiary hearing. (App. 56, 4] 37).

38

Petitioners received appropriate due process, proce-

dural and substantive, and cannot now argue other-

wise.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, Respondent

respectfully requests that Petitioners’ request for

certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

KEVIN P. McGOFF

Counsel of Record

KARL L. MULVANEY

RAFAEL A. SANCHEZ

MARGARET M. CHRISTENSEN

BINGHAM MCHALE LLP

2700 Market Tower

10 West Market Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

317-635-8900

kmegoff@binghammchale.com

Attorneys for Respondent

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.