Appendix — Shope v. New Jersey

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE SUPERIOR

COURT OF NEW JERSEY, APPELLATE DIVISION

DECIDED SEPTEMBER 4, 2009

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET NO. A-4591-07T1

COUNTY OF WARREN, a body politic and

corporate of the State of New Jersey,

Plaintiff,

and

DAVID SHOPE, HANK KILUMPP CHARI.ES SHOOP

ROBERT BEST, RUTH BEST, ANDREW DRYSDALF,

LOIS DRYSDALE, JERRY W. KERN, and

SANDRA KERN,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, NEW JERSEY DEPART-

MENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION, NEW

JERSEY HIGHLANDS WATER PROTECTION AND

PLANNING COUNCIL, and NEW JERSEY WATER

SUPPLY AUTHORITY,

Defendants-Respondents.

2a

Appendix A

Submitted May 6, 2009 - Decided September 4, 2009

Before Judges Rodriguez, Payne and Waugh.

On appeal from Superior Court of New Jersey,

Law Division, Mercer County,

Docket No. L-1021-07.

WAUGH, J.A.D.

The individual plaintiffs appeal the dismissal of their

declaratory judgment action against the State of New

Jersey, the Department of Environmental Protection

(DEP), the Highlands Water Protection and Planning

Council (Council), and the New Jersey Water Supply

Authority (Authority)! (collectively, defendants).

We affirm.

3

According to the complaint, the individual plaintiffs

are New Jersey farmers owning tracts of land, ranging

in size from 18 to 150 acres, within the “preservation

urea” created by the Highlands Water Protection and

Planning Act (Highlands Act), N.J.S.A. 13:20-1 to -35,

which was signed into law in August 2004. Plaintiffs,

along with the County of Warren (Warren County),

alleged that: (1) the Council’s failure to meet the

statutory deadlines established by N.J.S.A. 13:20-8 for

1. The Authority was added as a defendant in the amended

complaint.

3a

Appendix A

the adoption of a master plan frustrated the legislative

scheme, such that the Council’s decision to extend its

time to act should be declared ultra vires (count one);

(2) the statutory exemptions established by N../.S.A.

13:20-28 improperly placed the entire burden of

development restrictions upon owners of larger parcels

of land, unlawfully treating similarly situated property

owners differently in violation of the equal protection

guarantee inherent in article one, paragraph one of the

New Jersey Constitution (count two); (3) the transfer

of development rights program to be established under

N.J.S.A. 13:20-13 is not a viable funding source for the

acquisition of exceptional natural resource lands to be

protected under the Highlands Act (count three); and

(4) the boundaries of the preservation area set forth in

N.J.S.A. 13:20-7(b) were created without a legitimate

scientific basis, and therefore violate the equal

protection and due process guarantees of the New

Jersey Constitution (count four).

In lieu of an answer, defendants moved to dismiss.

The motion judge ultimately granted the motion and

dismissed the amended complaint, relying in large part.

on our opinion in OF P, L.L.C. v. State, 395 N.J. Super.

571 (App. Div. 2007), aff'd o.b., 197 N.S. 418 (2008), which

upheld the Highlands Act on due process and other

grounds. The judge also dismissed the challenge to the

Council’s action in extending its time to adopt the master

plan for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, finding that

the issue was a final decision of a state administrative

agency subject only to our direct review pursuant to

Rule 2:2-3(a)(2). The judge found that there was no legal

da

Appendix A

merit in plaintiffs’ remaining claims. Finally, he denied

plaintiffs’ cross-motion for leave to file a further

amended complaint, which would have added an

additional plaintiff and stated a claim pursuant to 42

U.S.CLA. § 1983.

Plaintiffs filed a motion for reconsideration. That

motion was denied in April 2008, with the resulting

order filed on May 15, 2008. This appeal followed. Warren

County did not file an appeal and has not participated

in the appeal filed by the individual plaintiffs.

Ll.

On appeal, plaintiffs raise the following issues:

POINT ONE: THE NEW JERSEY HIGH-

LANDS WATER PROTECTION AND PLAN-

NING COUNCIL HAS ACTED ULTRA

VIRES BECAUSE IT DID NOT ADOPT A

MASTER PLAN WITHIN THE STATUTORY

MANDATED DEADLINES AND THERE-

FORE THE ACT MUST BE SET ASIDE.

POINT TWO: THE COURT BELOW ERRED

BECAUSE IT DID NOT RECOGNIZE THE

RIGHT TO FARM AS A FUNDAMENTAL

RIGHT, AND THEREFORE APPLIED THE

RATIONAL BASIS STANDARD INSTEAD

OF THE STRICT SCRUTINY STANDARD

IN CONSIDERING PLAINTIFF-FARMERS’

KQUAL PROTECTION RIGHTS.

5a

Appendix A

POINT THREE: EVEN IF THE COURT

BELOW APPLIED 'THE CORRECT STAN-

DARD TO APPELLATE-PLAINTIFFS’

EQUAL PROTECTION CHALLENGE TO

THE HIGHLANDS ACT, [T SHOULD HAVE

FOUND THAT THE ACT VIOLATES THE

PLAINTIFF-FARMERS’ EQUAL PROTEC-

TION RIGHTS UNDER THE RATIONAL

BASIS TEST BECAUSE THE HIGHLANDS

ACT IS NOT JUSTIFIED BY AN APPROPRI-

ATE SCIENTIFIC BASIS.

POINT FOUR: THE COURT BELOW

ERRED BY NOT FINDING THAT THE

STATUTORY EXEMPTIONS TO THE HIGH-

LANDS ACT VIOLATED THE EQUAL PRO-

TEC'TION RIGHTS OF FARMERS BY IM

POSING THE MOST STRINGENT DEVEL-

OPMENT RESTRICTIONS ON OWNERS

OF LARGE PIECES OF LAND.

POINT FIVE: 'THE COURT BELOW ERRED

BECAUSE IT DID NOT CONSIDER THE

EXPERT REPORTS AND OTHER DOCDU-

MENTS THAT WERE MADE PART OF THIS

RECORD BELOW.

A.

The motion judge dismissed the case on the basis of

the defendants’ Rule 4:6-2 motion, which should

generally be granted “in only the rarest of instances.”

6a

Appendix A

NCP Litig. Trust v. KPMG LLP, 187 N.J. 353, 365 (2006)

(quoting Printing Mart-Morristown v. Sharp Elecs.

Corp., 116 N..J. 739, 772 (1989)). A motion judge’s review

of acomplaint is to be “undertaken with a generous and

hospitable approach,” zbid. (quoting Printing Mart-

Morristown, supra, 116 N.J. at 746), and “the court

should assume that the nonmovant’s allegations are true

and give that party the benefit of all reasonable

inferences,” zbid. (citing Smith v. SBC Comme’ns Inc.,

178 N.J. 265, 282 (2004)). “If ‘the fundament of a cause

of action may be gleaned even from an obscure

statement of claim,’ then the complaint should survive

this preliminary stage.” /Jbid. (quoting Craig »v.

Suburban Cablevision, Inc., 140 N.J. 623, 626 (1995)).

Where, however, it is clear that the complaint states

no basis for relief and that discovery would not provide

one, dismissal of the complaint is appropriate. Sickles

v. Cabot Corp., 379 N.J. Super 100, 106 (App. Div.),

certif denied, 185 N.J. 297 (2005) (“|A} court must

dismiss the plaintiff’s complaint if it has failed to

articulate a legal basis entitling plaintiff to relief.”);

Holmin v. TRW, Inc., 330 N.J. Super 30, 32 (App. Div.

2000), aff'd o.b., 167 N..J. 205 (2001); Camden County

Energy Recovery Assocs. v. Dep't of Envtl. Prot., 320

N.J. Super. 59, 64 (App. Div. 1999), aff'd o.b., 170 N.J.

246 (2001); Pressler, Current N.J. Court Rules, comment

4.1.1 to R. 4:6-2 (2009). “However, a dismissal is

mandated where the factual allegations are palpably

insufficient to support a claim upon which relief can be

granted.” Rieder v. State, 221 N.J. Super. 547, 552 (App.

Div. 1987).

Ta

Appendix A

If materials “outside the pleadings are considered,

the motion is treated as a motion for summary

judgment.” Hnourato v. New Jersey Bldg. Auth., 182

N.J. Super. 58, 64-65 (App. Div. 1981) (citing R. 4:6-2).

Although the motion judge did not specifically refer to

treating the motion as one for summary judgment, he

acknowledged that both sides submitted extensive

exhibits. In reviewing a motion for summary judgment,

a motion judge must “consider whether the competent

evidential materials presented, when viewed in the light

most favorable to the non-moving party, are sufficient

to permit a rational factfinder to resolve the alleged

disputed issue in favor of the non-moving party.” Brill

v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of Am., 142 N.J. 520, 540

(1995). For present purposes, that standard is

substantially the same as the standard for a Rule 4:6-2

motion.

Because there was no evidentiary hearing, and

hence no judicial factfinding in the Law Division, our

review of the decision is plenary. Marshak v. Weser, 390

N.J. Super. 387, 390 (App. Div. 2007).

LB.

We turn first to the issue of the validity of the

regional master plan. With respect to that issue, there

were clearly no factual disputes, so we are dealing with

a question of law only.

The Highlands Act created the Highlands Council,

N.J.S.A. 13:20-4, which was “delegated responsibility

8a

Appendix A

for land use planning in the Highlands Region, consisting

of nearly 800,000 acres in eighty-eight municipalities

located in parts of Morris, Sussex, Passaic, Bergen,

Warren, Hunterdon and Somerset Counties, N.J.S.A.

13:20-7(a).” OF P, supra, 395 N.J. Super. at 576. Pursuant

to N.J.S.A. 13:20-8(a), the Council was required, “within

18 months after the date of its first meeting, and after

holding at least five public hearings in various locations

in the Highlands Region and at least one public hearing

in Trenton, [to] prepare and adopt a regional master

plan for the Highlands Region.” The Council held its

initial organizing meeting on December 16, 2004,

consequently it was statutorily required to adopt a

regional master plan by June 2006.

In April 2006, the Council adopted Resolution 2006-

17, setting forth its schedule for adopting the regional

master plan with a target date for adoption in December

2006. The Governor did not veto the Council’s action,

although he had the authority to do so pursuant to

N.J.S.A. 13:20-5()).

On November 30, 2006, the Council adopted its

tesolution 2006-30, authorizing the release of a draft

regional master plan and providing for January 2007

public hearings on the plan. The comment period was

subsequently extended through May 11, 2007.

Consequently, the plan had not yet been adopted when

plaintiffs filed their initial complaint on April 19, 2007.

By Resolution 2008-27, the Council adopted its final

regional master plan on July 17, 2008, and transmitted

Oa

Appendix A

it to the Governor and other State entities for review.

40 N.J.R. 5852(b) (Oct. 6, 2008). The plan became

effective on September 8, 2008. /bzd.

Plaintiffs contend that, because the Council was

required to adopt a regional master plan within the

eighteen-month period following the Council’s initial

meeting, the Council was powerless to act thereafter

without additional authorization from the Legislature

and, consequently, its purported actions extending the

time for adoption were ultra vires and its subsequent

adoption of the regional master plan was void. They cite

no cases to support that result.

Plaintiffs correctly observe that the Highlands Act,

and particularly N.J.S.A. 13:20-8(a), did not grant the

Council specific authority to extend the time for adoption

of the regional master plan. It does not, however, follow

that the Council’s failure to act within the time set hy

the Legislature resulted in the extinguishment of its

authority to adopt such a plan. There is nothing in the

Highlands Act to suggest that the Legislature intended

such a drastic result. We view the eighteen-month period

as directory, rather than as a mandatory deadline that

would invalidate any subsequent adoption of the plan.

See New Jersey State Hotel-Motel Asso. v. Male, 105 N.J.

Super. 174, 177 (App. Div. 1969). See also Syquia v. Bd.

of Educ. of Harpursville Cent. Sch. Dist., 606 N. F.2d

1387, 1390 (N.Y. 1992) (“|CJourts have held in various

contexts that deadlines imposed by statute will be read

as directory rather than mandatory.”). That in one

10a

Appendix A

instance involving the State Planning Act, N.J.S.A.

52:18A-196 to -207, the Legislature actually extended

such a deadline by statute does not alter the result.

C.

We next address plaintiffs’ equal protection

arguments, which were also not decided on the basis of

disputed facts. As previously noted, we have already

rejected a due process attack on the constitutionality

of the Highlands Act in OF P, supra, 395 N.J. Super. 571.

We start with the well established principles that

statutes are presumed to be constitutional and that

anyone challenging the constitutionality of a statute

bears the burden of establishing its unconstitutionality.

State v. One 1990 Honda Accord, 154 N.J. 373, 377

(1998). In addition, we are obligated to construe

a challenged statute to avoid constitutional defects

if the statute is “‘reasonably susceptible’ of such

construction.” New Jersey Bd. of Higher Educ. v. Bd. of

Dirs. of Shelton College, 90 N.J. 470, 478 (1982) (quoting

State v. Profaci, 56 N.J. 346, 350 (1970)).

In Brown v. City of Newark, 113 N.J. 565, 573-74

(1989), the Supreme Court set forth the parameters for

an equal protection analysis as follows:

As distinguished from standards

governing due process claims, federal equal

protection analysis involves different tiers or

levels of review. If a fundamental right or

lla

Appendix A

suspect class is involved, the legislative

classification is subject to strict scrutiny, barone

[v. Dept. of Human Servs.], 107 N.S. (355,} 364-

65 [(1987)]; Greenberg v. Kimmelman, 99 NJ.

552, 564 (1985), which requires that a statute

further a compelling state interest and that

there be no less restrictive means of

accomplishing that objective. Barone, supra, 107

N.J. at 365 (citing Graham v. Richardson, 403

U.S. 365, 91S. Ct. 1848, 29 L. Ed. 2d 534 (1971)).

When it regulates a “semi-suspect” class, a

legislative act is examined under “intermediate

scrutiny,” and must be substantially related to

the achievement of an important governmental

objective. Barone, supra, 107 N.J. at 365 (citing

Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 97 S. Ct. 451, 50

L. Ed. 2d 397 (1976), reh’g denied, 429 U.S. 1124,

97 S. Ct. 1161, 51 L. Hd. 2d 574 (1977)). If, as

here, the enactment does not affect a suspect

or semi-suspect class and does not attempt to

regulate a fundamental right, it need be only

rationally related to a legitimate state interest

to satisfy federal equal protection requirements.

Ibid. (citing Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S.

471, 90S. Ct. 1153, 25 L. Fd. 2d 491, reh’g denied,

398 U.S. 914, 90 S. Ct. 1684, 26 L. Ed. 2d 80

(1970)).

When conducting equal protection

analysis under article I, paragraph 1 of the

New Jersey Constitution, we have rejected a

multi-tiered analysis and employed a

12a

Appendix A

balancing test. Barone, supra, 107 N.J. at 368;

Greenberg, supra, 99 N.J. at 567; Right to

Choose v. Byrne, 91 N.J. 287, 308-09 (1982).

“In striking the balance, we have considered

the nature of the affected right, the extent to

which the governmental restriction intrudes

upon it, and the public need for the

restriction.” Greenberg, supra, 99 N.J. at 567.

Although stated differently, an equal

protection analysis of rights under article I,

paragraph 1 of the New Jersey Constitution,

like an analysis of equal protection and due

process under the fourteenth amendment of

the United States Constitution, may lead to

the same results. /d. at 569.

Plaintiffs assert that the motion judge erred first

by applying the “rational basis” test for equal protection

purposes rather than the “strict scrutiny” test because

he failed to recognize a fundamental right to farm - an

argument raised for the first time in their motion for

reconsideration. However, they argue that, even if the

“rational basis” standard is applicable, the motion judge

should have found that the Highlands Act violated their

right to equal protection.

In rejecting plaintiffs’ argument that farming is a

fundamental right under the New Jersey constitution

such that a strict scrutiny test must be applied, the

motion judge held:

With regard to the arguments concerning

farming being a protected right or a suspect

13a

Appendix A

classification, the Court has given plaintiffs

every opportunity to cite authority that would

demonstrate to this Court that farming as an

economic activity is a protected right or a

suspect classification even though those

arguments could have been raised at the time

of the original motion and were not raised.

Plaintiffs have not been able to offer the

Sourt any demonstration by way of legal

authority that farming activity is such a

protected right or economic or suspect

classification.

Despite the historical background of

farming it’s clear to the Court that the

economic activity of farming does not fall

within those categories.

We agree with that analysis.

Plaintiffs have cited no constitutional provision,

statute, or case that specifically articulates a right to

farm of constitutional dimension or that recognizes the

status of being a farmer or engaging in farming as a

protected, suspect or semi-suspect class. In Gurdner v.

New Jersey Pinelands Commission, 125 N.J. 1938, 220

(1991), although the plaintiff farmer did not argue that

he was a member of “a suspect or semi-suspect class”

or that farming was a right of constitutional dimension,

as the plaintiffs contend here, the Supreme Court held

that the “right at issue|, his right and freedom to use

\da

Appendix A

and enjoy his farmland property,’|] also is not a

fundamental right because it involves only plaintiff’s

ability to use his property in the most profitable or

economically-valuable manner, not the right to derive

some beneficial use of the property.”

That there was, as demonstrated by documents in

the record, discussion among State officials in the early

1980s about proposing legislation recognizing such a

constitutional right does not support plaintiffs’

argument that there is one, particularly when the

proposed legislative finding was never enacted.

The draft legislation on which plaintiffs rely was

eventually enacted as the Right to Farm Act (RFA),

N.J.S.A. 4:1C-1 to -10.4. The Legislature set forth the

purposes for enactment of the RFA in its legislative

findings, N.J.S.A. 4:1C-2, as follows:

a. The retention of agricultural activities

would serve the best. interest of all citizens of

this State by insuring the numerous social,

economie and environmental benefits which

accrue from one of the largest industries in

the Garden State;

b. Several factors have combined to

create a situation wherein the regulations of

various State agencies and the ordinances of

individual municipalities may unnecessarily

constrain essential farm practices;

2. Gardner, supra, 125 N.J. at 211-12.

15a

Appendix A

ec. It is necessary to establish a systematic

and continuing effort to examine the effect of

governmental regulation on the agricultural

industry;

d. All State departments and agencies

thereof should encourage the maintenance of

agricultural production and a positive

agricultural business climate;

e. It is the express intention of this act to

establish as the policy of this State the

protection of commercial farm operations from

nuisance action, where recognized methods and

techniques of agricultural production are

applied, while, at the same time, acknowledging

the need to provide a proper balance among the

varied and sometimes conflicting interests of all

lawful activities in New Jersey.

The RFA protects commercial farmers by preempting

municipal and county land use authority over commercial

farms and by shielding them from nuisance suits

brought by neighbors. N.J.S.A. 4:1C-9, -10; Twp. of

Franklin v. Den Hollander, 172 N.J. 147, 149-50 (2002);

Borough of Closter v. Abram Demaree Homestead, Inc.,

365 N.J. Super. 338, 347-48 (App. Div.), certif denied,

179 N.J. 372 (2004). The RFA does not, as was apparently

discussed during the early drafting stages, establish,

recognize, or make any reference to a constitutionally

protected right to farm.

16a

Appendix A

Interestingly, the Highlands Act itself refers to the

RFA and sets forth the Legislature’s intent to further

its purposes through the Highlands Act itself.

The Legislature further finds and declares

that there are approximately 110,000 acres of

agricultural lands in active production in the

New Jersey Highlands; that these lands are

important resources of the State that should

be preserved; that the agricultural industry

in the region is a vital component of the

economy, welfare, and cultural landscape of

the Garden State; and, that in order to

preserve the agricultural industry in the

region, it is necessary and important to

recognize and reaffirm the goals, purposes,

policies, and provisions of the “Right to Farm

Act,” ... ({N.J.S.A.] 4:1C-1 et seq.) and the

protections afforded to farmers thereby.

[N.S.S.A. 13:20-2.]

The Legislature further specified that the Council should

act to support the agricultural uses of the area:

In preparing and implementing the

regional master plan or any revision thereto,

the council shall ensure that the goals,

purposes, policies, and provisions of, and the

protections afforded to farmers by, the “Right

to Farm Act,” ... ({N.J.S.A.] 4:1C-1 et seq.),

and any rules or regulations adopted pursuant

17a

Appendix A

thereto, are recognized and not compromised

in any manner.

[|N.J.S.A. 13:20-9(c¢).]

However, there is nothing in the Highlands Act to

support an assertion that there exists a constitutional

right to farm or that farmers are a protected, suspect

or semi-suspect class for constitutional, equal protection

purposes.

Moreover, the Highlands Act included other

provisions that were expressly meant to benefit farmers.

N.J.S.A. 13:20-3 excludes agriculture and horticulture

use and development from the definition of “Major

Highlands development,” which lists types of

development that need a Highlands permit. N.J.S.A.

13:20-29(a)(2) provides a means for farms to increase

their “agricultural impervious cover” under the

supervision of the local soil conservation district.

Included among the Council’s many powers, duties, and

responsibilities, is its direction

[tlo work with the State Agriculture

Development Committee and the Garden

State Preservation Trust to establish

incentives for any landowner in the Highlands

Region seeking to preserve land under the

farmland preservation program that would be

provided in exchange for the landowner

agreeing to permanently restrict the amount

of impervious surface and agricultural

18a

Appendix A

impervious cover on the farm to a maximum

of five percent of the total land area of the

farm.

[N.J.S.A. 13:20-6(w).]

In addition to failing to support their assertion that

farming is a constitutionally protected endeavor or that

farmers are a protected, suspect or semi-suspect class,

the plaintiffs fail to articulate how the Highlands Act

impedes their right or ability to farm or engage in the

business of farming. In their brief, they make the

following assertion in that regard:

In Appellant’s Motion for Reconsideration,

the trial court was requested to address the

equal protection standards associated with

discrimination against farmers as a suspect

classification and the related constitutional

issue, the right to engage in farming as a

livelihood and as a way of life is a fundamental

right protected by the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the United States Constitution

and Article One of the New Jersey Constitution.

By stripping 75% of the equity from their lands,

the State of New Jersey through the Highlands

Water Protection and Planning Act is depriving

farmers and the individual plaintiffs in the

preservation area of this right.

That is simply not an articulation of how the Highlands

Act prevents plaintiffs from “farming as a livelihood and

19a

Appendix A

as a way of life.” See also Gardner, supra, 125 N.J. at

210-16. Indeed, as already noted, the Highlands Act

contains provisions that favor rather than disfavor

farming.

Like the Gardner case, the present case involves

only the plaintiffs’ “ability to use [their] property in the

most profitable or economically-valuable manner, not the

right to derive some beneficial use of the property.”

Id. at 220. Additionally, although still in its infancy, a

transfer of development rights program (TDR) exists

for the Highlands Act pursuant to N.J.S.A. 13:20-13.

Consequently, just as the Gardner plaintiff had “at

minimum” a right to Pineland Development Credits,

similarly plaintiffs here have, at minimum, the

opportunity to participate in the Highlands Act’s TDR

program.

The exemption provisions about which plaintiffs

complain may also inure to their benefit, particularly

those provisions allowing construction of a single family

dwelling on each lot, any improvement to a single family

dwelling including an addition, garage, or shed, and

harvesting of forest products in accordance with an

approved forest management plan. N.J.S.A. 18:20-

28(a)(1), (2), (5), (7).

Finally, plaintiffs have the opportunity to seek

waivers under the Highlands Act to the extent they

consider the Act’s impact to constitute a taking of their

property. OF P, supra, 395 N.J. Super. at 584-87.

20a

Appendix A

To the extent plaintiffs assert a diminution in the

value of their land, which would appear more directly

related to their interest in selling or developing their

land rather than farming it, they raise the issue of an

unconstitutional taking already decided in OF'P, supra,

395 N.J. Super. at 580-85.

Plaintiffs further contend that the Highlands Act

violates their equal protection rights by imposing the

most stringent development restrictions upon owners

of large tracts of land in the preservation area,

apparently assuming that most such owners are farmers.

‘They assert that those landowners have lost seventy-

five percent of the equity in their property, while values

for owners of small, fully developed lots that are eligible

for Highlands Act exemptions under N.J.S.A. 13:20-28

have remained stable or increased. Plaintiffs essentially

argue that because their larger tracts of land experience

a proportionately greater loss of value from the

Highlands Act’s development restrictions, the

Highlands Act has unfairly targeted larger landowners,

such as farmers.

The motion judge, after citing cases referring to a

“rational basis” standard for cases involving “economic

legislation which does not implicate a fundamental right,

a suspect class or a semi-suspect class,” held:

In this case the legislative decision to

allow development on larger parcels of land

only if consistent with the goals and purposes

of the Act is certainly consistent with the

2la

Appendix A

stated purposes of the Act. That is the

protection of the Highland region and its vital

natural resources from the consequences of

over development.

Additionally the Act permits all owners,

whether owners of large or small parcels, to

seek the same relief under the Act. The Act

also provides all disgruntled owners with

administrative remedies.

Based upon the foregoing the Court finds

that the defendants are entitled to dismissal

of the plaintiffs’ equal protection claims in

Count II of the complaint.

We ayree with his conclusion.

Having determined that there is no constitutionally

protected right to farm and that farming is not a

protected, suspect or semi-suspect classification, we

apply the rational-basis test. Brown, supra, 113 N.J. at

073. We need discern only a “conceivable rational basis.”

Greenberg v. Kimmelman, 99 N.J. 552, 563 (1985).

Absent any form of invidious discrimination or suspect

classification, “all that the Constitution requires is that

the statute be rationally related to the achievement of

a legitimate state objective.” Drew Assocs. of NJ, LP v.

Travisano, 122 N.J. 249, 264 (1991).

22a

Appendix A

As the Supreme Court held in New Jersey

Restaurant Ass’n, Inc. v. Holderman, 24 N.J. 295, 300

(1957):

The burden of demonstrating that a statute

contravenes the equal protection clause is

extremely formidable, as is attested by the

long trail of failure. In addition to the strong

presumption of constitutionality with which all

organic challenges are approached, one who

assails a statute on this ground must contend

with principles of unusual elasticity. It is easily

stated that the classification (1) must not be

palpably arbitrary or capricious, and (2) must

have a rational basis in relation to the specific

objective of the legislation. But the second

proposition is qualified by limitations which

compound the difficulties of one who assails the

legislative decision. Thus it is not enough to

demonstrate that the legislative objective might

be more fully achieved by another, more

expansive classification, for the Legislature may

recognize degrees of harm and hit the evil where

it is most felt. [((Citations omitted).] The

Legislature may thus limit its action upon a

decision to proceed cautiously, step by step, or

because of practical exigencies, including

udministrative convenience and expense,

[(citations omitted)|, or because of “some

substantial consideration of public policy or

convenience or the service of the general

welfare.” De Monaco v. Renton, 18 N.J. 352, 360

23a

Appendix A

(1955). Hence, it may “stop short of those cases

in which the harm to the few concerned is

thought less important than the harm to the

public that would ensue if the rule laid down

were made mathematically exact.” Domenion

Hotel, Inc. v. State of Arizona, [249 U.S. 265,

268, 39 S. Ct. 273, 274, 63 L. E'd. 597, 598 (1919)].

See also Drew, supra, 122 N.J. at 264.

In Greenberg, supra, 99 N.J. at 570, the Supreme

Court upheld the constitutionality of N.J.S.A, 52:13D-

17.2, wh.ch banned immediate family of State officials

who resided with the official from employment in casinos.

The Court recognized that the statute treated spouses

differently from partners of State officials who

cohabitated but did not marry. Greenberg, supra, 99 N.J.

at 577. The Court went on to note:

Although it is arguable that the ban

should extend to unmarried persons who live

together, the Legislature may address the

problem one step ata time. Willzamsomn vv.

Lee Optical of Okla., [] 348 U.S. [483,] 489, 75

S. Ct. [461,] 465, 99 L. Fd. [563,] 573 [11 955)).

Proper classification for equal protection

purposes is not a precise science. With the

passage of time and the acquisition of further

experience, the Legislature may want to

reconsider statutory classifications or

restrictions. As long as the classifications do

24a

Appendix A

not discriminate arbitrarily between persons

who are similarly situated, the matter is one

of legislative prerogative.

[Tbid.]

See also Williamson v. Lee Optical of Okla., 348 U.S.

483, 489, 75 S. Ct. 461, 465, 99 L. Ed. 563, 573 (1955)

(“T]he reform may take one step at a time, addressing

‘itself to the phase of the problem which seems most

acute to the legislative mind.”).

The plaintiffs argue that the Highlands Act puts

them in an unequal position relative to individuals who

are arguably “similarly situated,” i.e., owners of

relatively small parcels of land, as well as land not in a

core area to be protected. As was recognized in

Greenberg, however, classifications “are not a precious

science.” The classifications at issue, which are

applicable to owners of relatively large parcels of land

in a core protection area, are clearly and rationally

related to the Legislature’s purpose in protecting the

Highlands from “fragmented and [{] unplanned

development” and “the environmental impacts of sprawl

development.” N.J.S.A. 13:20-2. We will not second-

guess the Legislature’s determination that this is best

done by focusing on larger parcels in what it has found

to be the most sensitive area of the Highlands.

25a

Appendix A

D.

Plaintiffs argue that count four of their complaint

as erroneously dismissed because the Highlands Act’s

establishment of a Highlands Region with a core

preservaticn zone is “a legal fiction without scientific

basis.” They assert that the Highlands land area is

distinguishable from the hydrogeologic conditions in the

Pinelands, where those conditions warranted regulating

the land by establishing a preservation area. For present

purposes, we will assume that they are correct.

However, they ignore the legislative findings, contained

in N.J.S.A. 13:20-2, that express the Legislature’s

concerns to protect “other exceptional natural resources

such as clean air, contiguous forest lands, wetlands,

pristine watersheds, and habitat for fauna and flora,”

as well as “many sites of historic significance.”

As the trial court noted, the OF’P court addressed a

similar argument:

The stated purposes of the Act are not limited

to preserving clean drinking water. The Act’s

purposes also include protection of the “natural

resources of the New Jersey Hightands

against the environmental impacts of sprawl

development|,| [discouragement of] piecemeal.

scattered and inappropriate development, in

order to accommodate local and regional growth

and economic development in an orderly way

.|and]| maintenance of agricultural production

and a positive agricultural business climate[.]}”

26a

Appendix A

N.J.S.A. 13:20-2. Consequently, even if it could

be shown that a limitation of development of

OFP’s property would not serve to preserve

clean drinking water, such a limitation still could

further the other stated purposes of the Act.

Moreover, the Legislature was not required

to consider the condition of each individual]

property within the preservation area in

establishing its boundaries, because such

boundaries are not required to “be formulated

with mathematical perfection.” Toms River

Affiliates v. Dep’t of Envtl. Prot., 140 N.J.

Super. 135, 147-48 (App. Div.), certzf denzed,

71 N.J. 345 (1976).

[OF'P, supra, 395 N.J. Super. at 595-96. ]

The Legislature drew boundaries relating to the Act’s

overall goals for water and natural resource protection

in the Highlands area, and any imprecision in creating

those boundaries is not for the courts to second-guess.

Accordingly, count four of plaintiffs’ complaint was

properly dismissed.

BK

de

We have considered plaintiffs’ remaining issues in

light of the record and the applicable law, and we are

satisfied that none of them is of sufficient merit to

warrant discussion in a written opinion. AR. 2:11-

3(e)(1)(B).

27a

Appendix A

Tf.

In summary, for the reasons set forth above, we

affirm the dismissal of plaintiffs’ declaratory judgment

action as a matter of law, finding that there were no

disputed issues of fact raised that would require an

evidentiary proceeding.

Affirmed.

28a

APPENDIX B — ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFFS’

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION PURSUANT

TO R. 4:49-2 OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW

JERSEY, LAW DIVISION, MERCER COUNTY

FILED MAY 15, 2008

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION - MERCER COUNTY

DOCKET NO. MER-L-1021-07

Civil Action

COUNTY OF WARREN, DAVID SHOPE, HANK

KLUMP CHARLES SHOOP ROBERT BEST, RUTH

BEST, ANDREW DRYSDALE, LOIS DRYSDALE,

JERRY W. KERN & SANDRA KERN,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION & THE NEW

JERSEY WATER PROTECTION AND PLANNING

COUNCIL,

Defendants.

ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR

RECONSIDERATION PURSUANT TO R. 4:49-2

29a

Appendix B

THIS MATTER HAVING BEEN OPENED TO

THE COURT by Plaintiffs County of Warren

represented by Stephen H. Shaw, Esq. (Hueston

McNulty PC) and David Shope, et al represented by

John Zaiter, Esq. seeking reconsideration of the court’s

Order of January 18, 2008 granting Defendants’ motion

and dismissing the Complaint against all defendants with

prejudice for failure to state a claim pursuant to

k- 4:6-2(e), and denying a cross-motion by all Plaintiffs

to amend Count ITI and Count IV of the Complaint to

assert due process and equal protection claims under

the federal constitution and to amend Count V of the

Complaint to assert civil rights violations pursuant to

28 U.S.C. §1983;

And the Court having considered the County’s

letter-brief dated February 15, 2008 alleging the Court

erred by disregarding expert reports and other

documents attached to the Complaint; erred in applying

a rational basis test to the Highlands Act, N.J.S.A. 13:20-

1, et seq., because it implicated a fundamental

constitutional right, 2.e., farming; and erred in denying

plaintiffs permission to assert federal claims alleged to

be prerequisite to petitioning the United States

Supreme Court for review;

And the Court having considered Defendants’ March

7, 2008 letter-brief in opposition to the motion filed by

Barbara L. Conklin D.A.G. on behalf of Anne Milgram,

Attorney General of | !2w Jersey, as well as plaintiff’s

March 10, 2008 letcer and April 4, 2008 leiter-

memorandum and exhibits;

30a

Appendix B

And the Court having heard oral argument on April

11, 2008;

It is on this 15" Day of May, 2008 hereby ORDERED

THAT

1. The Plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration of the

Court’s January 18, 2008 Order granting Defendants’

motion and dismissing the Complaint for failure to state

a claim is denied for reasons set forth on the record April

11, 2008; and that

2. The Plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration of the

Court’s January 18, 2008 Order denying plaintiffs’

motion to amend the Complaint is denied for reasons

set forth on the record April 11, 2008.

s/ Paul J. Innes

PAUL J. INNES, J.S.C.

PRESIDING JUDGE, CIVIL DIVISION

Oral Argument Held:

x Yes_ No

Date: April 11, 2008

Motion Opposed:

x Yes __ No

31a

APPENDIX C — EXCERPTED TRANSCRIPT OF

MOTION DATED APRIL 11, 2008

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION, CIVIL PART

MERCER COUNTY, NEW JERSEY

DOCKET NO. MER-L-1021-07

A.D. #

COUNTY OF WARREN, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vz

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Defendants.

Place: Mercer County Civil

Courthouse

175 South Broad Street

Trenton, NJ 08650

Date: April 11, 2008

TRANSCRIPT

OF

MOTION

BEFORE:

THE HON. PAUL INNES, PJ.Cv.P

32a

Appendix ©

[commencing at page 24]

* oe *

THE COURT: Allright. Back on January 18th this

Court granted the State’s motion to dismiss the

plaintiff’s complaint and entered an order accordingly.

That was a — there’s a challenge brought by the

plaintiffs to the Highlands Water Protection and

Planning Act and the Court of course dismissed that

complaint back on January 18th. And this is plaintiff’s

application for reconsideration of that Court’s prior

order.

Rule 4:49-2 governs motions for reconsideration of

an order of final judgment. Reconsideration is granted

in the Court’s discretion and in the interest of justice.

D’Atria v. D’Atria, 242 NJ Superior Court Reports 392

(Ch, Div. 1990).

The Rule lists three elements that a motion for

reconsideration must satisfy in order to be successful.

First, it must be made within 20 days of entry of the

order of judgment; second, the motion must state the

basis for reconsideration; third, the motion must specify

which cases or facts the Court erred in regards to or

overlooked. Rule 4:49-2.

In addition our case law requires that [25]

s bag ;

reconsideration be utilized only for those cases which

fall into the narrow corridor in which either, one, the

Court has expressed its decision based upon a palpably

33a

Appendix C

incorrect or irrational basis; two, it is obvious that the

Court either did not consider or failed to appreciate the

significance of probative, competent evidence; or, three,

if a litigant wishes to bring new or additional information

to the Court’s attention which it could not have provided

on the first application the Court should in the interest

of justice and in the exercise of its sound discretion

consider the evidence. Cummings v. Bahr, 295 NJ Super.

374 (App. Div. 1996).

A motion should be denied if it is based on unraised

facts known to the movant prior to the entry of the

underlying order. DelVecchio v. Ilemburger, 388 NJ

Superior Court Reports 179 (App. Div. 2006).

With respect to the issues related to this motion the

Court finds that its prior decision was not based upon a

palpably incorrect or irrational basis. In addition some

of the arguments made by plaintiffs were arguments

that could have been raised prior and were not.

Even if the reports proffered by the plaintiffs were

or are a part of the public record and [26] even taking

such reports into consideration with respect to the

arguments made in the original motion to dismiss, the

Court finds that they are insufficient to overcome the

arguments placed upon the record during oral argument

by counsel and the decision and reasoning of the Court

in rendering its decision.

With respect to the motion to amend the complaint,

the Court finds that the parallel Federal constitution —

34a

Appendix ©

constitutional issues raised by plaintiff’s counsel were

properly denied before and that such does not deprive

the plaintiff of the opportunity to raise those issues on

appeal at the Appellate Division.

With regard to the arguments concerning farming

being a protected right or a suspect classification, the

Court has given plaintiffs every opportunity to cite

authority that would demonstrate to this Court that

farming as an economic activity is a protected right ora

suspect classification even though those arguments

could have been raised at the time of the origina] motion

and were not raised.

Plaintiffs have not been able to offer the Court any

demonstration by way of legal authority that farming

activity is such a protected right or economic or suspect

classification.

(27] Despite the historical background of farming

it’s clear to the Court that the economic activity of

farming does not fall within those categories.

Based upon these factors the Court denies the

motion for reconsideration. Thank you all very much.

3Sa

APPENDIX D— ORDER OF THE SUPERIOR COURT

OF NEW JERSEY, LAW DIVISION, MERCER COUNTY

DISMISSING COMPLAINT

DATED AND FILED JANUARY 18, 2008

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION - MERCER COUNTY

DOCKET NO. MER-L-1021-07

COUNTY OF WARREN, DAVID SHOPE, HANK

KLUMP CHARLES SHOOR ROBERT BEST, RUTH

BEST, ANDREW DRYSDALE, LOIS DRYSDALE,

JERRY W. KERN & SANDRA KERN,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION & THE NEW

JERSEY WATER PROTECTION AND

PLANNING COUNCIL,

Defendants.

Civil Action

ORDER DISMISSING COMPLAINT

THIS MATTER HAVING BEEN OPENED TO THE

COURT by Anne Milgram, Attorney General of New

Jersey, attorney for Defendants, by Barbara Conklin,

Deputy Attorney General, seeking an Order dismissing

the Complaint against all Defendants with prejudice for

failure to state a claim pursuant to /?. 4:6-2(e);

36a

Appendix D

And notice having been given to Plaintiffs’ counsel

Stephen H. Shaw, Esq. (Hueston Menulty, PC.) and John

M. Zaiter, Esq. (Broscious, Fisher and Zaiter);

And the Court having considered Defendants’ Brief,

Certification of Counsel and Exhibits, Plaintiffs’ written

opposition; and counsels’ oral argument before the

Court on January 18, 2008;

And good cause having been -10wn;

Itis hereby ORDERED on this 18th Day of January,

2008 that the Complaint in this matter is hereby

dismissed with prejudice for failure to state a claim

pursuant to R&R. 4:6-2(e), for the reasons placed on record

by the Court on January 18, 2008.*

s/ Paul Innes

PAUL INNES, J.S.C.

Oral Argument Held:

x Yes No

Date: 1/18, 2008

Motion Opposed:

x Yes _ No

* And, it is ;urther ordered that Plaintiffs’ Cross

Motion to amend the complaint is denied.

37a

APPENDIX E — EXCERPTED TRANSCRIPT OF

MOTION HEARING DATED JANUARY 18, 2008

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION, CIVIL PART

MERCER COUNTY, NEW JERSEY

DOCKET NO. MER-L-1021-07

A.D. #

COUNTY OF WARREN, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, et al.,

Defendants.

Place: Mercer County Courthouse

175 South Broad Street

Trenton, NJ 08650

Date: January 18, 2008

TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION HEARING

BEFORE:

THE HON. PAUL INNS, J.S.C.

38a

Appendix E

(Commencing at page 42]

* * *

THE COURT: Okay. Thank you.

All right. The plaintiffs of the County of Warren and

nine individuals who own property in the preservation

area as delineated in the Highlands Water Protection

and Planning Act, N.J.S.A. 13:20-1 et seq. The

defendants are the State of New Jersey, New Jersey

Water Supply Authority and the New Jersey Water

Protection and Planning Council; the council.

The plaintiffs have brought this action challenging

the Highlands Water Protection and Planning Act on

various federal and state constitutional grounds. The

defendants have brought this motion to dismiss the

complaint pursuant to Rule 4:6-2.

The Highlands Act went into effect on August 10th,

2004. The goals of the Act as set forth in the Act are to

protect the State’s drinking water and to preserve the

State’s natural resources, including clean [43] air, forest

lands, pristine watersheds, habitats for flora and fauna.

Additionally, the Act is intended to protect historic

sites and recreational areas from being fragmented and

consumed by “piecemeal, scattered and inappropriate

development;” N.J.S.A. 13:20-2.

39a

Appendix E

The provisions of the Act include measures for the

protection of the property owners affected by the

regulation. The Act permits property owners in the

preservation area to extract equity from their property

through a variety of mechanisms including exemption

from permitting requirements, DIP waiver, permitting

requirements, land purchased by Green Acres, Farmland

Preservation, or the Garden State Preservation Trust

or sale of transferrable development rights; TDRs.

The Act established boundaries fur the preservation

area and the planning area of the Highlands region. The

Act created the council and authorized the council to

prepare and adopt a regional master plan, RMP for the

Highland region within 18 months from the date of the

council’s first meeting and after a minimum of five public

hearings; N.J.S.A. 13:2-8a.

The council first met on April the 6th, 2006. 4” that

meeting the council voted to change the [44] schedule

for the adoption of the RMP and to adopt a final RMP

by the end of 2006.

The council notified the Governor and the

Legislature of its decision. The Governor never vetoed

the minutes of the meeting of the council. The Act also

authorized the Commissioner of the Department of

Environmental Protection to establish a permitting

program implementing the environmental standards set

forth in the Act and others which the commissioner

deemed necessary to achieve the goals and purposes of

the Act; N.J.S.A. 13:20-30 through 32.

40a

Appendix E

The DEP adopted the Highlands Water Protection

and Planning Act rules effective May 9th, 2005. And

those rules became effective on December the 4th, 2006.

The plaintiffs filed the instant complaint on July 5th,

2007. In Count 1 the plaintiffs challenged the council’s

failure to promulgate an RMP within 18 months of the

first meeting in accordance with the statute, 13:20-8a,

and to implement the TDR Program.

In Count 2 the plaintiffs attack the Act’s formuletion

of exemptions to the permitting requirements on €;ual

protection grounds.

In Count 3 the plaintiffs challenge the failure of the

State to provide funding for the TDR [45] Program. And

in Count 4 of the plaintiff’s complaint that the

boundaries of the preservation area as set forth in the

Act are arbitrary, capricious and unreasonable and

violative of the plaintiffs’ equal protection and due

process rights under the New Jersey Constitution.

Defendants have filed this motion to dismiss

oursuant to Rule 4:6-2. On a motion to dismiss a complaint

pursuant to Rule 4:6-2 the Court’s inquiry is limited to

examining the legal sufficiency of the facts alleged on

the face of the complaint; Printing Mart Morristown v.

Sharp Electronics Corporation 116 N.J. 739 (1989);

Rieder v. Department of Transportation 221 N.J.

Superior Court Reports 547 (App. Div. 1987).

4la

Appendix E

The Court is required to search the complaint in

depth and with liberality to ascertain whether the

fundament of a cause of action may be gleaneu even from

an obscure statement of claim, opportunity being given

to amend if necessary; DiCristofaro v. Laurel Grove

Memorial Park 43 N.J. Superior Court Reports 244

(App. Div. 1957).

The Court is not concerned with the ability of the

plaintiffs to prove the allegations contained in the

complaint at this preliminary stage of litigation.

Therefore, plaintiffs are entitled to every reasonable [46]

inference of fact; /ndependent Dairy Workers Union v.

Milk Drivers Local 680 23 N.J. 85 (1956).

In Count 1 plaintiffs challenge the council’s failure

to adopt an RMP and implement a TDR Program within

18 months of the first meeting in contravention of the

Act.

The council is a state agency and as such its decisions

are review able only by the Appellate Division, Rule 2:2-

3a(2); Infinity Broadcasting Corporation v. New Jersey

Meadowlands Commission 187 N.J. 212 (2006).

Therefore, the court grants the defendant’s motion

to dismiss Count 1 of the complaint.

In Count 2 of the complaint the plaintiffs allege that

the exemptions contained in the Act unfairly placed the

burden of the development restrictions on owners of

larger parcels of land and therefore amount to a violation

of the plaintiff’s equal protection rights.

42a

Appendix E

In New Jersey the courts employ a flexible approach

in considering equal protection arguments; New Jersey

State Bar Association v. State 387 N.J. Superior Court

Reports 24 (App. Div. 2006). The critical issue is whether

an appropriate governmental interest is suitably

furthered by the differential treatment [47] involved.

The courts are to consider the nature of the affected

right, the extent to which the governmental restriction

intrudes upon it and the public need for the restriction;

Barone v. Department of Human Services 107 N.J. 355

(1987).

In the case of economic legislation which does not

implicate a fundamental right, a suspect class or a semi-

suspect class, the courts apply the test of minimal

rational basis scrutiny; Brown v. City of Newark 113 N.J.

565 (1989).

Statutes and legislative classification survive equal

protection claims if supported by “a conceivable rational

basis.” As long as there is a just and reasonable

connection between the purpose of the legislation and

the classification, the legislation is beyond judicial

review; David v. Vesta Company 45 N.J. 301 (1965).

In this case the legislative decision to allow

development on larger parcels of land only if consistent

with the goals and purposes of the Act is certainly

consistent with the stated purposes of the Act; that is,

the protection of the Highlands region and its vital

natural resources from the consequences of over-

43a

Appendix E

development. Additionally, the Act permits all [48]

owners, whether owners of large or small parcels, to

seek the same relief under the Act.

The Act also provides all disgruntled owners with

administrative remedies. Based upon the foregoing the

Court finds that the defendants are entitled to dismissal

of the plaintiffs’ equal protection claim in Count 2 of the

complaint.

In Count 3 plaintiffs allege that the State’s failure

to fund the TDR Program created by the Act is a

violation of plaintiffs’ constitutional rights. The

Appellate Division addressed a similar argument against

the Act in OF P LLC v. State 395 N.J. Superior Court

Reports 571 (App. Div. 2007).

In OF P the Court recognized that the TDR Program

was market driven and uncertain. But, the Court ruled

that even without implementation of a TDR Program

the Act survived the challenge that it was a regulatory

taking of the owner’s property due to the availability of

the hardship waiver.

Likewise here, notwithstanding the lack of funding

for the TDR the hardship waiver application provided

under the Act serves to prevent regulatory takings of

the plaintiffs’ property.

The Court grants defendant’s motion to dismiss

Count 3.

44a

Appendix E

[49] Finally, in Count 4 of the complaint the plaintiffs

challenge the Act’s setting of boundaries as arbitrary,

capricious and unreasonable and therefore in violation

of the plaintiffs’ equal protection and due process rights.

Again, this argument was addressed by the Appellate

Division in OF P

In rejecting the plaintiff/landowner’s challenge to

the inclusion of its property within the Act’s preservation

zone, the Court held that the Legislature was not

required to consider the condition of each individual

property within the preservation area in establishing

its boundaries because the boundaries are not required

to be formulated with mathematical perfection; OF'P at

596; quoting Toms River Affiliates v. DEP 140 N.J.

Superior Court Reports 135 (App. Div.) certif denied

71 N.J. 345 (1976).

The Legislature did in fact base its decision on a

number of sources, including the United States Forest

Service, the Highlands Task Force, New Jersey Water

Supply Authority and Rutgers University.

As stated earlier, the provisions of the Act including

the boundaries of the preservation area are rationally

related to the purposes and goals of the Act.

And for these reasons the Court grants the [50]

defendant’s motion to dismiss Count 4 of the complaint.

Now, as a consequence of having found there’s no

constitutional deprivations here, I’m also going to deny

4Sa

Appendix E

the plaintiffs’ application to amend the complaint. I

understand that the amended complaint would also seek

to raise some federal constitutional challenges, but I

think that the constitutional challenges under the

federal and state constitutions here would be so similar

that a finding by this court that there’s no basis for the

complaint under the state constitutional grounds suffice

for the Court to rule that the application to amend the

complaint should also be denied at this juncture.

Thank you very much. We’re in recess.

5 + 4: +

46a

APPENDIX F — ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF NEW JERSEY DENYING PETITION FOR

CERTIFICATION DATED JANUARY 12, 2010

AND FILED JANUARY 14, 2010

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

C-490 September Term 2009

064879

COUNTY OF WARREN, ETC., ET AL.,

PLAINTIFFS,

AND

DAVID SHOPE, AN ADULT INDIVIDUAL, ET AL.,

PLAINTIFFS-PETITIONERS,

V.

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY, THE NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION, ET AL.

DEFENDANTS-RESPONDENTS.

ON PETITION FOR CERTIFICATION

To the Appellate Division, Superior Court:

A petition for certification of the judgment in A-

004591-07 having been submitted to this Court, and the

Court having considered the same:

47a

Appendix fk

tis ORDERED that the petition for certification i

denied, with costs.

WITNESS, the Honorable Virginia A. Long,

Presiding Justice, at Trenton, this 12th day of January,

2010.

s/ [illegible]

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

48a

APPENDIX G — RELEVANT STATUTES

TITLE 13.) CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT—

PARKS AND RESERVATIONS

13:20-13 Use of regional master plan elements for

TDR program.

13. a. The council shall use the regional master plan

elements prepared pursuant to sections 11 and 12 of

this act, including the resource assessment and the

smart growth component, to establish a transfer of

development rights program for the Highlands Region

that furthers the goals of the regional master plan. The

transfer of development rights program shall be

consistent with the “State Transfer of Development

Rights Act,” PL.2004, ¢.2 (C.40:55D-137 et seq.) or any

upplicable transfer of development rights program

created otherwise by law, except as otherwise provided

in this section.

b. In consultation with municipal,’county, and State

entities, the council shall, within 18 months after the

date of enactment of this act, and from time to time

thereafter as may be appropriate, identify areas within

the preservation area that are appropriate as sending

zones pursuant to PL.2004, ¢.2 (C.40:55D-137 et seq.).

c. In consultation with municipal, county, and State

entities, the council shall, within 18 months after the

date of enactment of this act, and from time to time

thereafter as may be appropriate, identify areas within

the planning area that are appropriate for development

as voluntary receiving zones pursuant to PL.2004, c.2

49a

Appendix G

(C.40:55D-137 et seq.) considering the information

gathered pursuant to sections 11 and 12 of this act,

including but not limited to the information gathered

on the transfer of development rights pursuant to

paragraph (6) of subsection a. of section 11 of this act.

For the purposes of the council establishing a transfer

of development rights program prior to the preparation

of the initial regional master plan, the council in

identifying areas appropriate for development as

voluntary receiving zones shall consider such

information as may be gathered pursuant to sections

11 and 12 of this act and as may be available at the time,

but the council need not delay the creation of the

transfer of development rights program until the initial

regional master plan has been prepared. The council

shall set a goal of identifying areas within the planning

urea that are appropriate for development as voluntary

receiving zones that, combined together, constitute four

percent of the Jand area of the planning area, to the

extent that the goal is compatible with the amount and

type of human development and activity that would not

compromise the integrity of the ecosystem of the

planning area.

d. The council shall work with municipalities and the

State Planning Commission to identify centers,

designated by the State Planning Commission, as

voluntary receiving zones for the transfer of

development rights program.

e. In consultation with municipal, county, and State

entities, the council shall assist municipalities or counties

in analyzing voluntary receiving zone capacity.

50a

Appendix G

f. In consultation with municipal, county, and State

entities, the council shall work with municipalities

outside of the preservation area to assist these

municipalities in developing ordinances necessary to

implement the transfer of development rights. The

council shall also establish advisory or model ordinances

and other information for this purpose.

The counci. shall make assistance available to

municipalities that desire to create additional sending

zones on any lands within their boundaries which lie

within the planning area and are designated for

conservation in the regional master plan.

g. Notwithstanding the provisions of PL.2004, ¢.2

(C.40:551D-137 et seq.) to the contrary, the council shall

perform the real estate analysis for the Highlands

Region that is required to be performed by a

municipality prior to the adoption or amendment of any

development transfer ordinance pursuant to PL.2004,

C.2.

h. (1) The council shall set the initial value of a

development right. The Office of Green Acres in the

Department of Environmental Protection and the State

Agriculture Development Committee shall previde

support and technical assistance to the council in the

operation of the transfer of development rights

program. The council shall establish the initial value of

a development right considering the Department of

environmental Protection rules and regulations in effect

the day before the date of enactment of this act.

Sia

Appendix G

, The council shall give priority consideration for

inclusion in a transfer of development rights program

any lands that comprise a major Highlands development

that would have qualified for an exemption pursuant to

paragraph (5) of subsection a. of section 30 of this act

but for the lack of a necessary State permit as specified

in subparagraph (b) or (c), as appropriate, of paragraph

(3) of subsection a. of section 30 of this act, and yor which

an application for such a permit had been submitted to

the Department of Environmental Protection and

deemed by the department to be complete for review

on or before March 29, 2004.

i. (1) The council may use the State Transfer of

Development Rights Bank established pursuant to

section 3 of P1LL.1993, ¢.339 (C.4:1C-51) for the purposes

of facilitating the transfer of development potential in

accordance with this section and the regional master

plan. The council may also establish a development

transfer bank for such purposes.

(2) At the request of the council, the Department

of Banking and Insurance, the State Transfer of

Developments Right Bank, the State Agriculture

Development Committee, and the Pinelands

Development Credit Bank shall provide technical

assistance to the council in establishing and operating

a development transfer bank as authorized pursuant to

paragraph (1) of this subsection.

52a

Appendix G

(3) Any bank established by the council shall

operate in accordance with provisions of general law

authorizing the creation of development transfer banks

by municipalities and counties.

j. The Office of Smart Growth shall review and

coordinate State infrastructure capital investment,

community development and financial assistance in the

planning area in furtherance of the regional master plan.

Prior to the council establishing its transfer of

development rights program, the Office of Smart Growth

shall establish a transfer of development rights pilot

program that includes Highlands Region municipalities.

k. Any municipality in the planning area whose

municipal master plan and development regulations

have been approved by the council to be in conformance

with the regional master plan in accordance with section

14 or 15 of this act, and that amends its development

regulations to accommodate voluntary receiving zones

within its boundaries which are identified pursuant to

subsection ec. of this section and which provide for a

minimum residential density of five dwelling units per

acre, shall, for those receiving zones, be: eligible for an

enhanced planning grant from the council of up to

$250,000; eligible for a grant to reimburse the reasonable

costs of amending the municipal development

regulations; authorized to impose impact fees in

accordance with subsection m. of this section; entitled

to legal representation pursuant to section 22 of this

act; accorded priority status in the Highlands Region

for any State capital or infrastructure programs; and

53a

Appendix G

eligible for any other appropriate assistance, incentives,

or benefits provided pursuant to section 18 of this act.

l. Any municipality located outside of the Highlands

Region in any county that has a municipality in the

Highlands Region that has received plan endorsement

by the State Planning Commission pursuant to the

“State Planning Act,” PL.1985, c.398 (C.52:18A-196 et

al.), that establishes a receiving zone which provides for

a minimum residential density of five dwelling units per

acre for the transfer of development rights from a

sending zone in the Highlands Region, and that accepts

that transfer of development rights shall, for those

receiving zones, be eligible for the same grants,

authority, and other assistance, incentives, and benefits

as provided to municipalities in the planning area

pursuant to subsection k. of this section except for legal

representation as provided pursuant to section 22 of this

act and priority status in the Highlands Region for any

State capital or infrastructure programs.

m. (1) A munic'pality that is authorized to impose

impact fees under scbsection k. of this section shall

exercise that authority by ordinance.

(2) Any impact fee ordinance adopted pursuant to

this subsection shall include detailed standards and

guidelines regarding: (a) the definition of a service unit,

including specific measures of consumption, use,

generation or discharge attributable to particular land

uses, densities and characteristics of development; and

(b) the specific purposes for which the impact fee

revenues may he expended.

54a

Appendix G

(3) An impact fee ordinance shall also include

a delineation of service areas for each capital

improvement whose upgrading or expansion is to be

funded out of impact fee revenues, a fee schedule which

clearly sets forth the amount of the fee to be charged

for each service unit, and a payment schedule.

(4) An impact fee may be imposed by a municipality

pursuant to this subsection in order to generate revenue

for funding or recouping the costs of new capital

improvements or facility expansions necessitated by new

development, to be paid by the developer as defined

pursuant to section 3.1 of PL.1975, ¢.291 (C.40:55D-4).

Improvements and expansions for which an impact fee

is to be imposed shall bear a reasonable relationship to

needs created by the new development, but in no case

shall an impact fee assessed pursuant to this subsection

exceed $15,000 per dwelling unit unless and until impact

fees are otherwise established by law at which time the

impact fee shall be 200% of the calculated impact fee.

(5) No impact fee shall be assessed pursuant to this

subsection against any low or moderate income housing

unit within an inclusionary development as defined

under P1.1985, ¢.222 (C.52:27D-301 et al.).

No impact fee authorized under this subsection shall

include a contribution for any transportation

improvement necessitated by a new development in a

county which is covered by a transportation development

district created pursuant to the “New Jersey

Transportation Development District Act of 1989,”

P-L.1989, ¢.100 (C.27:1C-1 et al.).

55a

Appendix G

13:20-28 Exemptions.

30. a. The following are exempt from the provisions

of this act, the regional master plan, any rules

or regulations adopted by the Department of

Environmental Protection pursuant to this act, or any

amendments to a master plan, development regulations,

or other regulations adopted by a local government unit

to specifically conform them with the regional master

plan:

(1) the construction of a single family dwelling, for

an individual’s own use or the use of an immediate family

member, on a lot owned by the individual on the date of

enactment of this act or on a lot for which the individual

has on or before May 17, 2004 entered into a binding

contract of saie to purchase that lot;

(2) the construction of a single family dwelling ona

lot in existence on the date of enactment of this act,

provided that the construction does not result in the

ultimate disturbance of one acre or more of land or a

cumulative increase in impervious surface by one-

quarter acre or more;

(3) a major Highlands development that received

on or before March 29, 2004:

(a) one of the following approvals pursuant to the

“Municipal Land Use Law,” PL.1975, ¢.291 (C.40:55D-1

et seq.):

56a

Appendix G

(i) preliminary or final site plan approval;

(ii) final municipal building or construction permit;

(iii) minor subdivision approval where no

subsequent site plan approval is required;

(iv) final subdivision approval where no subsequent

site plan approval is required; or

(v) preliminary subdivision approval where no

subsequent site plan approval is required; and

(b) at least one of the following permits from the

Department of Environmental Protection, if applicable

to the proposed major Highlands development:

(i) a permit or certification pursuant to the “Water

Supply Management Act,” PL.1981, ¢.262 (C.58:1A-1 et

seq.);

(ii) a water extension permit or other approval or

authorization pursuant to the “Safe Drinking Water

Act,” PL.1977, ¢.224 (C.58:12A-1 et seq.);

(iii) a certification or other approval or

authorizs*ion issued pursuant to the “The Realty

Improvement Sewerage and Facilities Act (1954),”

PL.1954, e.199 (C.58:11-23 et seq.); or

S7a

Appendix G

(iv) a treatment works approval pursuant to the

“Water Pollution Control Act,” PL.1977, ¢.74 (C.58:10A-

1 et seq.); or

(c) one of the following permits from the

Department of Environmental Protection, if applicable

to the proposed major Highlands development, and if

the proposed major Highlands development does not

require one of the permits listed in subsubparagraphs

(i) through (iv) of subparagraph (b) of this paragraph:

(i) a permit or other approval or authorization

issued pursuant to the “I'reshwater Wetlands Protection

Act,” PL.1987, ¢.156 (C.13:9B-1 et seq.); or

(11) a permit or other approval or authorization

issued pursuant to the “Flood Hazard Area Control Act,”

PL.1962, c.19 (C.58:16A-50 et seq.).

The exemption provided in this paragraph shall

apply only to the land area and the scope of the major

Highlands development addressed by the qualifying

approvals pursuant to subparagraphs (a) and (b), or (c)

if applicable, of this paragraph, shall expire if any of

those qualifying approvals expire, and shall expire if

construction beyond site preparation does not

commence within three years after the date of enactment

of this act;

58a

Appendix G

(4) the reconstruction of any building or structure

for any reason within 125% of the footprint of the lawfully

existing impervious surfaces on the site, provided that

the reconstruction does not increase the lawfully existing

impervious surface by one-quarter acre or more. This

exemption shall not apply to the reconstruction of any

agricultural or horticultural building or structure for a

non-agricultural or non-horticultural use;

(5) any improvement to a single family dwelling in

existence on the date of enactment of this act, including

but not limited to an addition, garage, shed, driveway,

porch, deck, patio, swimming pool, or septic system;

(6) any improvement, for non-residential purposes,

to a place of worship owned by a nonprofit entity, society

or association, or association organized primarily for

religious purposes, or a public or private school, or a

hospital, in existence on the date of enactment of this

act, including but not limited to new structures, an

addition to an existing building or structure, a site

improvement, or a sanitary facility;

(7) an activity conducted in accordance with an

approved woodland management plan pursuant to

section 3 of PL.1964, ¢c.48 (C.54:4-23.3) or a forest

stewardship plan approved pursuant to section 3 of

PL.2009, ¢.256 (C.13:1L-31), or the normal harvesting

of forest products in accordance with a forest

management plan or forest stewardship plan approved

by the State Forester;

59a

Appendix G

(8) the construction or extension of trails with non-

impervious surfaces on publicly owned lands or on

privately owned lands where a conservation or

recreational use easement has been established;

(9) the routine maintenance and operations,

rehabilitation, preservation, reconstruction, or repair

of transportation or infrastructure systems by a State

entity or local government unit, provided that the

activity is consistent with the goals and purposes of this

act and does not result in the construction of any new

through-capacity travel lanes;

(10) the construction of transportation safety

projects and bicycle and pedestrian facilities by a State

entity or local government unit, provided that the

activity does not result in the construction of any new

through-capacity travel lanes;

(11) the routine maintenance and operations,

rehabilitation, preservation, reconstruction, repair, or

upgrade of public utility lines, rights of way, or systems,

by a public utility, provided that the activity is consistent

with the goals and purposes of this act;

(12) the reactivation of rail lines and rail beds

existing on the date of enactment of this act;

(13) the construction of a public infrastructure

project approved by public referendum prior to January

1, 2005 or a capital project approved by public

referendum prior to January 1, 2005;

60a

Appendix G

(14) the mining, quarrying, or production of ready

mix concrete, bituminous concrete, or Class B recycling

materials occurring or which are permitted to occur on

any mine, mine site, or construction materials facility

existing on June 7, 2004;

(15) the remediation of any contaminated site

pursuant to PL.1993, ¢.189 (C.58:10B-1 et seq.);

(16) any lands of a federal military installation

existing on the date of enactment of this act that lie

within the Highlands Region; and

(17) amajor Highlands development located within

an area designated as Planning Area 1 (Metropolitan),

or Planning Area 2 (Suburban), as designated pursuant

to PL.1985, ¢.398 (C.52:18A-196 et seq.) as of March 29,

2004, that on or before March 29, 2004 has been the

subject of a settlement agreement and stipulation of

dismissal filed in the Superior Court, or a builder's

remedy issued by the Superior Court, to satisfy the

constitutional requirement to provide for the fulfillment

of the fair share obligation of the municipality in which

the development is located. The exemption provided

pursuant to this paragraph shall expire if construction

beyond site preparation does not commence within three

years after receiving all final approvals required

pursuant to the “Municipal Land Use Law,” PL.1975,

¢.291 (C.40:55D-1 et seq.).

b. The exemptions provided in subsection a. of this

section shall not be construed to alter or obviate the

6la

Appendix G

requirements of any other applicable State or local laws,

rules, regulations, development regulations, or

ordinances.

¢. Nothing in this act shall be construed to alter the

funding allocation formulas established pursuant to the

“Garden State Preservation Trust Act,” PL.1999, ¢.152

(C.13:8C-1 et seq.).

d. Nothing in this act shall be construed to repeal,

reduce, or otherwise modify the obligation of counties,

municipalities, and other municipal and public agencies

of the State to pay property taxes on lands used for the

purpose and for the protection of a public water supply,

without regard to any buildings or other improvements

thereon, pursuant to R.S.54:4-3.3.

13:20-32 Rules, regulations, standards.

34. The Department of Environmental Protection

shall prepare rules and regulations establishing the

environmental standards for the preservation area upon

Which the regional master plan adopted by the council

and the Highlands permitting review program

administered by the department pursuant to this act

shall be based. These rules and regulations shall provide

for at least the following:

a. a prohibition on major Highlands development

within 300 feet of any Highlands open waters, and the

establishment of a 300-foot buffer adjacent to all

Highlands open waters; provided, however, that this

62a

Appendix G

buffer shall not extend into the planning area. For the

purposes of this subsection, major Highlands

development does not include linear development tor

infrastructure, utilities, and the rights-of-way therefor,

provided that there is no other feasible alternative, as

determined by the department, for the linear

development outside of the buffer. Structures or land

uses in the buffer existing on the date of enactment of

‘his acl may remain, provided that the area of

tisturbance shall not be increased. This subsection shall

not be construed to limit any authority of the

lepartment to establish buffers of any size or any other

protections for category one waters designated by the

department pursuant to the “Water Pollution Control

Act.” PL.1977, ¢.74 (C.58:10A-1 et seq.), or any other

law, or any rule or regulation adopted pursuant thereto,

for major Highlands development or for other

development that does not qualify as major Highlands

development;

bh. measures to ensure that existing water quality

shall be maintained, restored, or enhanced, as required

pursuant to the “Water Pollution Control Act,” PL.1977,

¢.74(C.58:10A-1 et seq.) or the “Water Quality Planning

Act.” PL.1977, ¢.75 (C.58:11A-1 et seq.), or any rule or

regulation adopted pursuant thereto, in all Highlands

open waters and waters of the Highlands, and to provide

that any new or expanded point source discharge, except

discharges from water supply facilities, shall not degrade

existing water quality. In the case of water supply

facilities, all reasonable measures shall be taken to

eliminate or minimize water quality impacts;

63a

Appendix G

c. notwithstanding the provisions of section 23 of

PL.1987, ¢.156 (C.13:9B-23), or any rule or regulation

adopted pursuant thereto, to the contrary, the criteria

for the type of activity or activities eligible for the use

of a general permit for any portion of an activity located

within a freshwater wetland or freshwater wetland

transition area located in the preservation area,

provided that these criteria are at least as protective as

those provided in section 23 of RL.1987, c.156 (C.13:;9B-

23);

d. notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a.

of section 5 of PL.1981, ¢.262 (C.58:1A-5), or any rule or

regulation adopted pursuant thereto, to the contrary, a

system for the regulation of any diversion of more than

50,000 gallons per day, and multiple diversions by the

same or related entities for the same or related projects

or developments of more than 50,000 gallons per day, of

waters of the Highlands pursuant to the “Water Supply

Management Act,” PL.1981, ¢.262 (C.58:1A-1 et seq.),

and any permit issued pursuant thereto shall be based

on consideration of individual and cumulative impacts

of multiple diversions, maintenance of stream ase flows,

minimization of depletive use, maintenance of existing

water quality, and protection of ecological uses. Any new

or increased diversion for nonpotable purposes that is

more than 50% consumptive shall require an equivalent

reduction in water demand within the same subdrainage

area through such means as groundwater recharge of

stormwater or reuse. Existing unused allocation or

allocations used for nonpotable purposes may be

revoked by the department where measures to the

64a

Appendix G

maximum extent practicable are not implemented to

reduce demand. Al} new or increased diversions shall

be required to implement water conservation measures

to the maximum extent practicable;

e. a septic system density standard established at

a level to prevent the degradation of water quality, or

to require the restoration of water quality, and to protect

ecological uses from individual, secondary, and

cumulative impacts, in consideration of deep aquifer

recharge available for dilution;

f. a zero net fill requirement for flood hazard areas

pursuant to the “Flood Hazard Area Control Act,”

P1..1962, ¢.19 (C.58:16A-50 et seq.);

ge. the antidegradation provisions of the surface

water quality standards and the stormwater regulations

applicable to category one waters to be applied to

Highlands open waters;

h. a prohibition on impervious surfaces of greater

than three percent of the land area, except that

Highlands open waters shall not be included in the

calculation of that land area;

i. notwithstanding the provisions of the “Safe

Drinking Water Act,” PL.1977, ¢.224 (C.58:12A-1 et seq.),

or any rule or regulation adopted pursuant thereto, to

the contrary, a limitation or prohibition on the

construction of new public water systems or the

extension of existing public water systems to serve

65a

Appendix G

development in the preservation area, except in the case

of a demonstrated need to protect public health and

safety;

j. a prohibition on development, except linear

development for infrastructure, utilities, and the rights-

of-way therefor, provided that no other feasible

alternative, as determined by the department, exists for

the linear development, on steep slopes in the

preservation area with a grade of 20% or greater, and

standards for development on slopes in the preservation

area exhibiting a grade of between 10% and 20%.

The standards shall assure that developments on

slopes exhibiting a grade of between 10% and 20%

preserve and protect steep slopes from the negative

consequences of development on the site and the

cumulative impact in the Highlands Region. The

standards shall be developed to prevent soil erosion and

sedimentation, protect water quality, prevent

stormwater runoff, protect threatened and endangered

animal and plant species sites and designated habitats,

provide for minimal practicable degradation of unique

or irreplaceable land types, historical or archeological

areas, and existing scenic attributes at the site and

within the surrounding area, protect upland forest, and

restrict impervious surface; and shall take into

consideration differing soil types, soil erodability,

topography, hydrology, geology, and vegetation types;

and

k. a prohibition on development that disturbs

upland forested areas, in order to prevent soil erosion

66a

Appendix G

and sedimentation, protect water quality, prevent

stormwater runoff, and protect threatened and

endangered animal and plant species sites and

designated habitats; and standards to protect upland

forested areas that require all appropriate measures be

taken to avoid impacts or disturbance to upland forested

areas, and where avoidance is not possible that all

appropriate measures have been taken to minimize and

mitigate impacts to upland forested areas and to prevent

soil erosion and sedimentation, protect water quality,

prevent stormwater runoff, and protect threatened and

endangered animal and plant species sites and

designated habitats.

13:20-33 Highlands permitting review program.

35. a. The Department of Environmental

Protection shall establish a Highlands permitting review

program to provide for the coordinated review of any

major Highlands development in the preservation area

based upon the rules and regulations adopted by the

department pursuant to sections 33 and 34 of this act.

The Highlands permitting review program established

pursuant to this section shall consolidate the related

aspects of other regulatory programs which may

include, but need not be limited to, the “Freshwater

Wetlands Protection Act,” PL.1987, ¢.156 (C.13:9B-1 et

seq.), “The Endangered and Nongame Species

Conservation Act,” PL.1973, ¢.809 (C.23:2A-1 et seq.),

the “Water Supply Management Act,” PL.1981, ¢.262

(C.58:1A-1 et seq.), the “Water Pollution Control Act,”

P.L.1977, ¢.74 (C.58:10A-1 et seq.), “The Realty

67a

Appendix G

Improvement Sewerage and Facilities Act (1954),”

PL.1954, ¢c.199 (C.58:11-23 et seq.), the “Water Quality

Planning Act,” PL.1977, ¢.75 (C.58:11A-! et seq.), the

“Safe Drinking Water Act,” PL.1977, ¢.224 (C.58:12A-1

et seq.), the “Flood Hazard Area Control Act,” PL.1962,

c.19(C.58:.16A-50 et seq.), and any rules and regulations

adopted pursuant thereto, and the rules and regulations

adopted pursuant to sections 33 and 34 of this act. For

the purposes of this section, the provisions of RL.1975,

c.232 (C.13:1D-29 et seq.) shall not apply to an

application for a permit pursuant to the “Flood Hazard

Area Control Act,” PL.1962, ¢.19 (C.58:16A-50 et seq.).

b. The Highlands permitting review program

established pursuant to this section shall include:

(1) a provision that may allow for a waiver of any

provision of a Highlands permitting review on a case-

by-case basis if determined to be necessary by the

department in order to protect public health and safety;

(2) a provision that may allow for a waiver of any

provision of a Highlands permitting review on a case-

by-case basis for redevelopment in certain previously

developed areas in the preservation area identified by

the council pursuant to subsection b. of section 9 or

subparagraph (h) of paragraph (6) of subsection a. of

section 11 of this act; and

(3) a provision that may allow for a waiver of any

provision of the Highlands permitting review on a case-

by-case basis in order to avoid the taking of property

without just compensation.

68a

Appendix G

The grant of a waiver pursuant to this subsection

by the department shall be conditioned upon the

department’s determination that the major Highlands

development meets the requirements prescribed for a

finding as listed in subsection a. of section 36 of this act

to the maximum extent possible.

c. The waiver provisions of subsection b. of this

section are limited to the provisions of the rules and

regulations adopted pursuant to section 34 of this act,

and shall not limit the department’s jurisdiction or

authority pursuant to any other provision of law, or any

rule or regulation adopted pursuant thereto, that is

incorporated into the Highlands permitting review

program.

d. The Highlands permitting review program

established pursuant to this section may provide for the

issuance of a general permit, provided that the

department adopts rules and regulations which identify

the activities subject to general permit review and

establish the criteria for the approval or disapproval of

a general permit.

e. Any person proposing to construct or cause to

be constructed, or to undertake or cause to be

undertaken, as the case may be, a major Highlands

development in the preservation area shall file an

application for a Highlands permitting review with the

department, on forms and in a manner prescribed by

the department.

69a

Appendix G

f. The department shall, in accordance with a fee

schedule adopted as a rule or regulation, establish and

charge reasonable fees. necessary to meet the

administrative costs of the department associated with

the processing, review, and enforcement of any

application for a Highlands permitting review. These

fees shall be deposited in the “Environmental Services

Fund,” established pursuant to section 5 of PL.1975,

¢.232 (C.13:1D-33), and kept separate and apart from

all other State receipts and appropriated only as

provided herein. There shall be appropriated annually

to the department revenue from that fund sufficient to

defray in full the costs incurred in the processing, review,

and enforcement of applications for Highlands

permitting reviews.

N.J.A.C. § 7:38-6.8 Waiver to avoid the taking of

property without just compensation

(a) In accordance with N.J.S.A. 13:20-33b, the

Department may, on a case by case basis, waive any

requirement for an HPAA if necessary to avoid the

taking of property without just compensation.

(b) A waiver under this section shall apply only after

the Department determines that the proposed

development does not meet all the requirements in this

chapter as strictly applied, all the applicant’s

administrative and legal challenges to that

determination as set forth in (b)1 below have concluded,

and the HPAA applicant meets the requirements in

(g¢) below.

70a

Appendix G

1. An applicant may challenge any Department

HPAA decision under the rules as strictly applied if the

applicant disputes the Department’s findings of facts

or application of the rules to those facts. Following an

administrative hearing, the Commissioner shall issue a

Final Decision approving or denying a HPAA under the

rules as strictly applied. The applicant may appeal a

Final Decision which denies the HPAA or approves it

with conditions to the Appellate Division of Superior

Court. If a court finds that the applicant is not entitled

to an HPAA under the rules as strictly applied, the

Department shall review and decide the applicant’s

request for a waiver to avoid a taking of property. The

applicant may challenge the Department’s final agency

action on the waiver application after any hearing in the

OAL.

(c) In determining whether to waive any

requirement of this chapter to avoid an alleged taking

of property without just compensation, the Department

shall consider:

1. The investments the property owner made in the

property as a whole on which regulated activities are

proposed and whether the investments were reasonable,

in accordance with (d) below;

2. The minimum viable and economically beneficial

use of the property as a whole, in accordance with (e)

below; and

Tila

Appendix G

‘

3. The environmental impacts of the minimum viable

and economically beneficial use for the property as a

whole, and the consistency of these impacts with the

goals of the Highlands Act, in accordance with (f) below.

(d) In determining whether the property owner’s

investments in the property as a whole were reasonable,

the Department shall consider:

1. Conditions at the time of the investment. That

is, the investment shall have been made in pursuit of

development that would likely have been legally and

practically possible on the property as a whole,

considering all constraints existing and reasonably

ascertainable at the time of the investment. For example,

if a property owner bought property containing

freshwater wetlands regulated under N.J.A.C. 7:7A, it

would not be reasonable for that owner to assume that

the property could be developed without constraints.

In determining conditions at the time of the investment,

the Department shall consider, at a minimum, the

following:

i. Existing zoning and other’ regulatory

requirements and conditions;

ii. Historic landmarks or other historie or cultural

resources on the property that would be adversely

impacted by the proposed development;

72a

Appendix G

iii. The likelihood the proposed development could

obtain other necessary approvals such as wastewater

treatment approvals or approvals from other local, State

or federal agencies;

iv. Terrain and other site conditions, and/or

environmental constraints, which could affect the

potential uses of the property as a whole;

v. The existence of, or likelihood of obtaining,

services to the property such as sewers or electricity;

and

vi. Compatibility with and adverse effects upon land

uses located on adjacent properties and in the area

where the property is located;

2. Costs actually incurred by the property owner in

pursuit of development of the property as a whole that

were reasonable in amount, related to the development,

and unavoidable. For example, if the property owner

began construction without the necessary permits or

approvals, the owner’s costs defending a prosecution

or enforcement action for this violation or the payment

of fines and penalties would not constitute reasonable

investment costs; and

3. Any other factor affecting the property or the

property owner, which is related to the reasonableness

of the investments claimed and/or the proposed use of

the property.

73a

Appendix G

(e) In assessing the minimum beneficial

economically viable use of the property as a whole, a

use shall not be excluded from consideration merely

because it does not result in a profit, reduces the

marketability of the property as a whole, or does not

allow the property owner to recoup all aT ree

identified under (c) above.

(f) In determining the environmental impacts of the

minimum beneficial economically viable use of the

property as a whole and the consistency of those impacts

with the goals of the Highlands Act under (c) above, the

Department shall evaluate whether the use would, to

the maximum extent possible:

1. Have a de minimis impact on water resources

and would not cause or contribute to a significant

degradation of surface or groundwaters. In making this

determination, the Department shall consider the extent

of any impacts on water resources resulting from the

proposed major Highlands development, including, but

not limited to, the regenerative capacity of aquifers or

other surface or groundwater supplies, increases in

stormwater generated, increases in impervious surface,

increases in stormwater pollutant loading, changes in

land use and changes in vegetative cover;

2. Cause the minimum feasible interference with

the natural functioning of animal, plant, and other

natural resources at the site and within the surrounding

area, and the minimum feasible individual and

cumulative adverse impacts to the environment both

74a

Appendix G

onsite and offsite of the proposed major Highlands

development;

3. Result in the minimum feasible alteration or

impairment of the aquatic ecosystem including existing

contours, vegetation, fish and wildlife resources, and

aquatie circulation of a freshwater wetland;

4. Not jeopardize the continued existence of species

listed pursuant to the Endangered and Nongame

Species Conservation Act, N.J.S.A. 23:2A-1 et seq. or

the Endangered Plant Species List Act, N.J.S.A. 13:1B

15.151 et seq., or which appear on the Federal

endangered or threatened species list, and will not

result in the likelihood of the destruction or adverse

modification of habitat for any rare, threatened or

endangered species of animal or plant;

5. Not be located or constructed so as to endanger

human life or property or otherwise impair public health,

safety or welfare;

6. Result in the minimum practicable degradation

of unique or irreplaceable land types, historical or

archeological areas, and existing public scenic attributes

at the site and within the surrounding area; and

7. Meet all other applicable Department standards,

rules, and regulations and State and Federal laws.

(¢) An applicant for an HPAA may request that the

Department waive a requirement of this chapter under

75a

Appendix G

(a) above only after the Department has rendered a

decision on an HPAA application under the rules as

strictly applied, all legal challenges to the decision that

the applicant chooses to bring have concluded pursuant

to (b)1l, above, and the applicant satisfactorily

demonstrates the following to the Department:

1. No alternative to the proposed major Highlands

development exists;

2. That the applicant has made a good faith effort

to transfer development rights for the subject site

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 13:20-138, and has not obtained a

commitment from the Highlands Council or a receiving

zone municipality to purchase said development rights;

3. The property has been offered for sale at an

amount no greater than the specifie fair market

value to all property owners within 200 feet of the

property as a whole, and to the land conservancies,

environmental organizations, and the Highlands Council

and all other government agencies on a list provided by

the Department, at an amount determined in compliance

with N.J.S.A. 138:8C-26] or 13:8C-38], as applicable by

letter sent by certified mail, return receipt requested,

using the form provided by the Department, disclosing

the location of all Highlands resource areas on the

property and stating that an application for a waiver of

the requirements of this chapter to permit development

on the property has been filed and enclosing a copy of a

fair market value appraisal, that was performed by a

State-licensed appraiser and that assumed that the

76a

Appendix CG

minimum beneficial economically viable use of the

property is allowable under local law; and

4. That no reasonable offer based upon the

minimum beneficial, economically viable use for the

property has been received;

i. Documentation for (7)3 and 4 above shall include

the following:

(1) A copy of each letter that the applicant sent

under this subsection;

(2) All responses received. Each response shal! be

submitted to the Department within 15 days after the

applicant’s receipt of the response;

(3) A list of the names and addresses of all owners

of real property within 200 feet of the property as a

whole, as certified by the municipality, including owners

of easements as shown on the tax duplicate;

(4) Receipts indicating the letters were sent by

certified mail; and

(5) A copy of the fair market value appraisal

required under (g)3 above.

(h) After consideration of the information required

in (g) above, the Department shall not approve a waiver

under this section if an applicant has refused a fair

market value offer to purchase the property for which

T7a

Appendix G

the waiver is sought or if there is an alternative to the

proposed project that constitutes a minimum beneficial

economically viable use for the property.

(i) Upon written notice from the Department

advising a person that the conditions in (g) have been

satisfied, the person may request a waiver under this

section in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:38-9.

(j) The Department shall complete a written analysis

of the factors it considers under (c) above, which shall

incorporate its decision on the request for a waiver

under this section no later than 180 days from the

Department’s receipt of a complete request under (h)

above.

(k) An HPAA with a waiver to avoid a taking of

property without just compensation shall:

1. Allow only the minimum relief necessary to enable

the property owner to realize the minimum beneficial

economically viable use of the property as a whole,

designed and built. in a manner that will conserve the

resources of the Highlands to the maximum extent

possible; and

2. Ensure that any part of the property that the

Department does not allow to be developed is protected

from future development by a recorded conservation

restriction containing those terms deemed necessary by

the Department to preserve the undeveloped property

and the mitigation plantings thereon, if any.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.