Petition for Writ of Certiorari — McSherry v. City of Long Beach

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

Supren ILED

NA 9 91284 — APR 20 2010

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Su The

Supreme Court of the United States

e

LEONARD JAMES McSHERRY,

Petitioner,

V.

CITY OF LONG BEACH; LONG BEACH POLICE

DEPARTMENT; NORMAN TURLEY AND

CARTHEL S. ROBERSON, IN ‘THEIR INDIVIDUAL

AND OFFICIAL CAPACITIES,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Ninth Circuit Court Of Appeals

— fee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARK E. OVERLAND

LAW OFFICES OF

MARK E. OVERLAND

100 Wilshire, Ste. 950

Santa Monica, CA 90401

Telephone: (310) 459-2830

Fax: (310) 459-4621

email: mark@overlaw.net

Attorney for Petitioner

Leonard James McSherry

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Despite a conflict in circuit authority, does Malley

v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986), mandate that

summary judgment be granted to a defendant

police officer who fabricated evidence to implicate

an innocent man, on the ground that a prose-

cutor’s decision to file criminal charges against

an innocent suspect is an independent cause that

insulates the officer from 42 U.S.C. §1983 habil-

ity for the resulting wrongful criminal conviction

and 14-year imprisonment, where the prosecutor

had no knowledge of the officer’s unconstitutional

conduct?

Despite a conflict in circuit authority, does

Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1983), which

granted absolute immunity to police officers for

trial perjury, mandate summary judgment in

favor of a 42 U.S.C. §1983 defendant police officer

for his highly prejudicial, perjured trial testimo-

ny where the officer was functionally equivalent

to a “complaining witness,” in light of Malley v.

Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986)?

Despite a conflict in circuit authority, does the

rule of Hartman v. Moore, 547 U.S. 250 (2006),

that, in order to avoid summary judgment, a

retaliatory prosecution plaintiff must establish

absence of probable cause for arrest and prose-

cution in order to prevail, apply to section 1983

claims based on Fourth Amendment and Due

Process violations?

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....0..............cceeseeeceeees i

OPINION BELOW ......csccccesccssacssesennepusnaeeeeeeeeeeeee ]

JURISDICTION .......0<cseecexsesssssunsueserseeea ]

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATU-

TORY PROVISIONS ...<<<<scessesessarsensenssaseneeaee ]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.......................0ececeeees 3

Factual Background..........::<....:61e 3

PROCEEDINGS BELOW ..........ssu0eee

WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED.... 7

ARGUMENT ........<¢+0:<+0s0c«ssseeu tein niin 1]

I. 42 U.S.C. §1983 DOES NOT SHIELD A

CULPABLE DEFENDANT OFFICER FROM

LIABILITY FOR RESULTING DAMAGES

AFTER THE PROSECUTOR FILES FOR-

MAL CHARGES BASED ON THE UNCON-

STITUTIONAL ACTS OF THE OFFICER,

WHERE THE PROSECUTOR IS UN-

AWARE OF THESE ACTS AND THE OF-

FICER DOES NOT DISCLOSE THEM......

If. POLICE OFFICERS WHO ACT AS COM-

PLAINING WITNESSES ARE NOT EN-

TITLED TO ABSOLUTE IMMUNITY FOR

PERJURED TRIAL TESTIMONY..............

11

11]

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

Il. THE RULE OF HARTMAN v. MOORE

SHOULD BE LIMITED TO RETALIA-

TORY PROSECUTION CLAIMS AND NOT

BE APPLICABLE .TO 42 U.S.C. §1983

CLAIMS BASED ON THE FIFTH AMEND-

Arad ca seve; shai edadyeaiueevanavsasasbesspins> 20

A. Even If Hartman Were Applicable To

This Case Respondent Is Not Entitled

To Summary Judgment In His Favor

Where He Manufactured The Probable

ND RE ey avsccdsausecssecssexsdvonsaens 23

ds iss iuy evnaviadssevibestoeatensiues 27

APPENDIX

Order and Opinion of Court of Appeals dated

ccs suiccsnssvinsuecessunnvasesdvssavunersene App. 1

Opinion of Court of Appeals dated March 30,

ee irri AL ida dudantensuscsiexstebanivesesen App. 45

Judgment of District Court dated May 31,

eds aera daw uiweckinieaienbarsens App. 60

Amended Civil Minutes General of District

Court dated May 15, 2006 —- Summary Judg-

sora cs sacapacacadveiueicuenericnesens App. 62

Denial of Rehearing of Court of Appeals dated

ET OD aiciecrsisesscnicsadscsorsssenevecssnsiee App. 73

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

EDERAL CASES

Anthony v. Baker, 767 F.2d 657 (10th Cir. 1985)......... 8

Anthony v. Baker, 955 F.2d 1395 (10th Cir.

PO oa ccnsasstecdsevnieuidei mie tiacsbasieress ae ene 17, 18, 19

Barlow v. Ground, 943 F.2d 1132 (9th Cir.

| f ARR EE oh Rp nena N MRED CAEN AURDRIS iA RENE RIE Ae APRA IE CE 25

Borunda v. Richmond, 885 F.2d 1384 (9th Cir.

2 | RRA etry Sener iene etree ett Ata RRR ey Ue? A AT ERS Stes orn Se RIE ene 25

Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1988)............... passim

Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. 259 (1993)............ 16

Buenrostro v. Collazo, 973 F.2d 39 (1st Cir.

| RR REED AN ae nt ee ae Race som Rene aE Recs onan eA RON 13

Burke v. McDonald, 572 F.3d 51 (1st Cir. 2009).......... 8

Curley v. Village of Suffern, 268 F.3d 65 (2d Cir.

BPE s caissnvecses tetassins ieee acredesnn ees cece eek 22

Dahl v. Holley, 312 F.3d 1228 (11th Cir. 2002).......... Py

DeLoach v. Bevers, 922 F.2d 618 (10th Cir.

| | RDN ES SERED Sen EROS SA Soe RRS TIO Nn cat ELA eae AORN oo y

Duncan v. Nelson, 466 F.2d 939 (7th Cir, 1972)....9, 13

Egervary v. Young, 366 F.3d 238 (3d Cir. 2004)......... 14

Enlow v. Tishomingo County, Miss., 962 F.2d

BPR Oe Aa ee ws ch vic eae cic san cco cerascccecssecevciss 18, 19

Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967)............... 14

Greene v. Barber, 310 F.3d 889 (6th Cir. 2002).......... 22

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Gutierrez-Rodriguez v. Cartagena, 882 F.2d 553

Oe ee aac asc svacsunicuensan staves esixeursucsseuncariserias 26

Hand v. Gary, 838 F.2d 1420 (5th Cir. 1988)......8, 14, 26

Harris v. Roderick, 126 F.3d 1189 (9th Cir.

| ere ieiphviadtsdsesuineeactbccaestipee: (eviasadeaee 17,19

Hartman v. Moore, 547 U.S. 250 (2006) ............ passim

Hector v. Watt, 235 F.3d 154 (3d Cir. 2000) ........... 9,15

Jones v. City of Chicago, 856 F.2d 985 (7th Cir.

Os hs cn sag eu tig canis cis gvaseraachaydasicasntesatyihaacataaes 8, 26

Kalina v. Fletcher, 522 U.S. 118 (1997).......0..0..... 17,18

Keenan v. Tejeda, 290 F.3d 252 (5th Cir. 2002) ......... 22

Kerman v. City of New York, 374 F.3d 93 (2d

We 0, eos n na lanascmn passe i meeantaveseacienyiel 8,12

Kulas v. Flores, 255 F.3d 780 (9th Cir. 2001)............. 17

Lanier v. Sallas, 777 F.2d 321 (5th Cir. 1985)........... 27

Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986)................ passim

McKinley v. City of Mansfield, 404 F.3d 418

NN ao eave wanna divckasseccaobarce piaveedies eee 8,14

McSherry v. City of Long Beach, 423 F.3d 1015

Cae cisa vse cc sy scccstusedecsk endieaeeebescv asta 7

McSherry v. City of Long Beach, 560 F.3d 1125

PN I oo cs cpeeacsaieessnariespenersnaanecaeerenane 7,15

McSherry v. City of Long Beach, 584 F.3d 1129

Se I Bal sync ta vactsnenuaptulexdteeneusseapevdeasansavelnanas 7

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) ......... ee 7,12

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Skoog v. County of Clackamas, 469 F.3d 1221

aos siuussenursdotentuneuavedeswassins 21

Smuiddy v. Varney, 665 F.2d 261 (9th Cir. 1981)....... 8, 25

Smiddy v. Varney, 803 F.2d 1469 (9th Cir. 1986)....... 8, 25

Smithson v. Aldrich, 235 F.3d 1058 (8th Cir.

seca ca sani veainbnsabutsenepesinnss 22

United States v. Crawford, 576 F.2d 794 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 851 (1978)................... 24

Wagenmann v. Adams, 829 F.2d 196 (1st Cir.

a a hi vadavus¥euandnkartaavkacaes 26

Warner v. Orange County Dep’t of Probation,

116 F.3d 1068 (2d Cir. 1996).....................000 8, 13, 26

White v. Frank, 855 F.2d 956 (2d Cir. 1988)........ 19, 26

Zahrey v. Coffey, 221 F.3d 342 (2d Cir. 2000) ........ 8,12

FEDERAL STATUTES

NE occ canscosnencacconasoneencaccavececoouscanccesenssevs l

42 U5.C. $1983 .............. BEEN Ea ONE DOP eT passim

FEDERAL RULES

as can acuahevevasapecvevenevens takers 7

MISCELLANEOUS

United States Const. Amend. IV........................ 2,6, 10

United States Const. Amend. XIV .......................208- 2,6

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Leonard James McSherry respectfully

petitions for a writ of certiorari to the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

is published at 584 F.3d 1129 (2009). App. 1. The

relevant trial court proceedings and summary judg-

ment order are unpublished.

*

JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit denied rehearing and rehear-

ing en banc on January 20, 2010. App. 73. The juris-

diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL

AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

42 U.S.C. §1983 provides:

“Every person who, under color of any stat-

ute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage,

of any State or Territory or the District of

Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected,

any citizen of the United States or other

person within the jurisdiction thereof to the

2

deprivation of any rights, privileges, or im-

munities secured by the Constitution and

laws, shall be liable to the party injured in

an action at law, suit in equity, or other

proper proceeding for redress, except that in

any action brought against a judicial officer

for an act or omission taken in such officer’s

judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be

granted unless a declaratory decree was

violated or declaratory relief was unavail-

able. For the purposes of this section, any Act

of Congress applicable exclusively to the

District of Columbia shall be considered to be

a statute of the District of Columbia.”

United States Const. Amend. IV provides in rel-

evant part:

“The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall

not be violated.” |

United States Const. Amend. XIV provides in rel-

evant part:

“No State shall make or enforce any law

which shall abridge the privileges or im-

munities of citizens of the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.”

.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Factual Background

On March 11, 1988, a six-year-old girl was kid-

napped from a playground on a Naval Base in Long

Beach, California. The perpetrator took her to a loca-

tion where he raped her before releasing her several

hours later.

When the victim was located on March 12, she

told the patrol officers who initially interviewed her

she was taken by the perpetrator to a smal! place

with two rooms that was white on the outside with

the numbers “1” and “O” on the door. She described

the kidnapper as a white male with black hair and

mustache, short, fat and older than her grandfather.

She stated he forced her to get into a green, “strange

car.” That same day, the victim’s four-year-old

brother, who witnessed the abduction, reported to

officers that his sister had gotten into a green car

with a man who was “red in color” and had black hair.

Shortly thereafter, Respondents Norman Turley

and his supervisor, Carthel Roberson, members of the

Long Beach Police Department, drove the victim

around Long Beach for approximately one hour trying

to find the location of the rape. The victim told them

the place was either brown or had a brown door, had

stairs, was upstairs, and had a TV, a bedroom with no

pictures on the wall.

On March 14, 1988, a witness described a sus-

picious looking man near the playground around the

time that the victim was abducted. She described the

man as white, 35+ years old, 5'7" to 5'9" and “heavy,”

with dark brown to black hair, mustache, heavy black

eyebrows and a chubby pock-marked face. She no-

ticed a green pickup truck, which she had not seen

before, in the area.

Petitioner did not fit the physical descriptions

given by any of the witnesses, nor did he have access

to any location described by the victim. At the time,

Petitioner drove a yellow station wagon.

On May 17, 1988, Respondent Turley arrested

Petitioner at his grandparent’s home, where he had

been living in March 1988. The home was a blue,

single family, one-story dwelling, numbered 829, with

a kitchen, several bedrooms, blue sheets on the bed

and pictures on the walls in Petitioner’s room. Fol-

lowing the arrest, Petitioner was interrogated by

Turley and Roberson and gave a detailed description

of the interior of his grandparents’ home.

At Petitioner’s criminal trial, the victim had little

recollection of the relevant events and did not testify

about them. Instead, Respondent Turley testified

about the victim’s photo identifications of Petitioner,

the yellow vehicle and the detailed description of the

rape location allegedly given by the victim on May 18,

1988, the day after Petitioner gave a detailed de-

scription of the interior of the home in which he

resided to Turley. Thus, the evidence which, according

to the state trial court, compelled the guilty verdict,

came not from the victim, but from Turley.’

Petitioner was convicted after jury trial in

October 1988 and sentenced to state prison for a term

of 48 years to life.

In December 2001, nearly fourteen years into his

sentence, Petitioner was exonerated by DNA evi-

dence. The DNA revealed that a then state prison

inmate had kidnapped and raped the victim. He later

According to Turley’s trial testimony, the victim described

a picture on a wall, blue sheets on a bed with a white blanket, a

black chair near a mirror, the location of a T.V., a white, push-

button telephone, a fold-up door, a big window with a seat and a

bird singing next door. This detailed description matched the in-

terior of Petitioner’s grandparents’ hor..e at which he was arrested

Turley also testified that the victim identified a photo of Peti-

tioner’s grandparents’ house as that where she had been raped.

The prosecutor focused on this evidence in his argument to

the jury:

“How could anybody talk about [the] house like that?

She must have been in the house. How did she know

labout the} blue sheets?

Do you think that that gives credence and credibility

to [the victim]? You bet. .. .

That she is able to describe the inside of a house. This

is an unimaginable coincidence.”

In denying Petiiioner’s motion for new trial, the state

criminal trial judge remarked that the most convincing prose-

cution evidence was the victim’s description of the interior of

Petitioner’s grandparents’ home.

“That bedspread stands out in my mind... . Her testi

mony weighed very heavily in how I felt about the

rightness of the jury’s verdict.”

6

confessed to the crimes using his green pickup truck

and taking her to a motel where he committed the

rape.

On December 28, 2001, Petitioner was released

from prison pursuant to a writ of habeas corpus

issued by the Los Angeles Superior Court. The state

court vacated the judgment, set aside his October

1988 conviction, dismissed all charges and declared

him factually innocent of the charges.

In May 2002, Petitioner brought suit under 42

U.S.C. §1983, alleging: (1) Fourteenth Amendment

due process violations for unconstitutional police inter-

view procedures; (2) Fourth and Fourteenth Amend-

ment false arrest claims based on false witness

identifications; (3) failure to train and supervise;

(4) negligent hiring; and (5) supervisory liability,

seeking damages against the City of Long Beach and

the two Respondent Long Beach police officers. The

claims were based on Turley and Roberson’s (1) fab-

ricating the victim’s identification of the vehicle used

in the kidnapping; (2) fabricating the victim’s detailed

description of the interior of the home where the rape

occurred; (3) coercing the six-year-old victim’s identifi-

cation of McSherry as the perpetrator; (4) ignoring

exculpatory evidence; and, (5) arresting Petitioner

without probable cause. In sum, Petitioner alleged

that Turley and Roberson had arrested and pursued

prosecution of McSherry, based on evidence they

fabricated, knowing he was innocent.

— -¢@

PROCEEDINGS BELOW

In October 2003, on the first day scheduled for

trial, the district court granted Respondents’ Motion

for Judgment as a Matter of Law under Fed.R.Civ.P.

50, on the ground of qualified immunity. Petitioner

appealed. The Ninth Circuit reversed. McSherry

v. City of Long Beach, 423 F.3d 1015, 1021 (9th Cir.

2005) (“McSherry 1”).

Following remand, the district court granted

summary judgment in favor of all Defendants on the

ground of qualified immunity. Following appeal, the

Ninth Circuit again reversed. McSherry v. City of

Long Beach, 560 F.3d 1125 (9th Cir. 2009) (“McSherry

II”). App. 45. Thereafter, rehearing was granted and

the Court of Appeals withdrew its opinion in

McSherry Il and affirmed the district court’s grant of

summary judgment in its entirety. McSherry v. City of

Long Beach, 584 F.3d 1129 (2009) (“McSherry IIT”).

App. 1. Petitioner’s petition for rehearing and re-

hearing en banc was denied, App. 73.

¢-—

WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

1. Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 345 n.7

(1986), citing Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 187

(1961), is the only case where this Court has men-

tioned the applicability of the common law super-

seding cause principle on the causation requirement

of 42 U.S.C. §1983. In a somewhat cryptic footnote,

this Court indicated its interpretation of section 1983

8

would not allow for judicial action to break the chain

of causation between an officer’s unlawful conduct

and resulting damages because “§1985 should be read

against the background of tort liability that makes a

man responsible for the natural consequences of his

actions.”

Several circuits apply Malley’s common law

principle of natural consequences or foreseeability in

analyzing the effect of an independent, intervening

cause. See Kerman v. City of New York, 374 F.3d 98,

126 (2d Cir. 2004); Zahrey v. Coffey, 221 F.3d 342, 352

(2d Cir. 2000); Warner v. Orange County Dep’t of Pro-

bation, 115 F.3d 1068, 1072-73 (2d Cir. 1996). Other

circuits have found an independent intervening cause

where no facts have been withheld from the allegedly

independent cause. See Hand v. Gary, 838 F.2d 1420,

1427-28 (5th Cir. 1988); McKinley v. City of Mans-

field, 404 F.3d 418 (6th Cir. 2005). Still other circuits,

including the Ninth, have created a presumption that

section 1983 officer defendants are not liable for their

unconstitutional acts causing damages to an arrested

person after a district attorney uses independent

judgment to file formal charges. Smiddy v. Varney,

665 F.2d 261, 267 (9th Cir. 1981) (““Smiddy [”). This

presumption of independent judgment may be re-

butted if the prosecutor’s judgment is not based on all

information relevant to the initiation of the prosecu-

tion. Burke v. McDonald, 572 F.3d 51, 58 (1st Cir.

2009); Jones v. City of Chicago, 856 F.2d 985, 994 (7th

Cir. 1988); Anthony v. Baker, 767 F.2d 657, 660 (10th

Cir. 1985); Smiddy v. Varney, 803 F.2d 1469, 1471

9

(9th Cir. 1986) (““Smiddy II”). Some Circuits apply a

more stringent test to determine whether the causal

chain remains unbroken when there is another con-

tributing cause to the section 1983 plaintiff’s dam-

ages. See Duncan v. Nelson, 466 F.2d 939, 943 (7th

Cir. 1972). Finally, some courts avoid the issue alto-

gether because of the lack of clarity regarding the

applicability of the common law principle of supersed-

ing causation to section 1983. See Hector v. Watt, 235

F.3d 154, 161 (3d Cir. 2000).

This case allows this Court to resolve the conflict

between the circuits regarding the effect of the prose-

cutor’s filing decision on the liability of the officer for

his unconstitutional conduct, where the prosecutor

did not know the evidence on which he was relying

was fabricated.

Is there a presumption the prosecutor’s decision

to file charges breaks the chain of causation for an

officer’s unconstitutional conduct and, if so, can the

prosecutor’s decision to file charges be the result of

independent judgment and insulate the section 1983

defendant officer from further responsibility for dam-

ages, even though the prosecutor is unaware the officer

seeking charges fabricated evidence and _ provided

perjured testimony in order to convict and imprison the

section 1983 plaintiff? Is there no such presumption

and does the common law tort principle of foresee-

ability determine whether an intervening cause can in-

sulate the offending officer from section 1983 liability?

2. In Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1983), this

Court granted absolute immunity to police officers for

10

perjured trial testimony. In Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S.

335, 340 (1986), absolute immunity was held unavail-

‘

able to testifying officers who acted as “complaining

witnesses” in applying for arrest warrants.

The unfounded criminal prosecution and convic-

tion of Petitioner was based on the unconstitutional

conduct by Respondent Turley, who manufactured

probable cause for McSherry’s arrest, manipulated

and coerced the six-year-old victim to allegedly make

a false identification, fabricated evidence and testi-

fied falsely at Petitioner’s trial. Turley thus was re-

sponsible for initiating the prosecution and obtaining

the conviction of Petitioner. This Court should grant

certiorari to determine the applicability of Malley to

Briscoe.

3. This Court’s decision in Hartman v. Moore,

547 U.S. 250 (2006), has been interpreted by the

Ninth Circuit as requiring that in all claims under

42 U.S.C. §1983, including those based on Fourth

Amendment and Due Process grounds, the plaintiff

must establish the absence of probable cause for

arrest and prosecution in order to prevail. This case

allows the Court to resolve a conflict between the

circuits on whether Hartman is applicable to claims

other than those based on First Amendment retali-

atory prosecution. Additionally, if this Court should

find the rule of Hartman is so applicable, should it be

interpreted to entitle a defendant police officer to

summary judgment on his behalf where he manufac-

tures probable cause for arrest to inculpate the know-

ingly innocent section 1983 plaintiff, and thereafter

1]

gives perjured testimony at the plaintiff’s criminal

trial, causing his wrongful conviction and 14-year

imprisonment?

ARGUMENT

I. 42 U.S.C. §1983 DOES NOT SHIELD A

CULPABLE DEFENDANT OFFICER FROM

LIABILITY FOR RESULTING DAMAGES

AFTER THE PROSECUTOR FILES FOR-

MAL CHARGES BASED ON THE UNCON-

STITUTIONAL ACTS OF THE OFFICER,

WHERE THE PROSECUTOR IS UNAWARE

OF THESE ACTS AND THE OFFICER

DOES NOT DISCLOSE THEM.

Here, Turley fabricated and presented evidence

to an unaware prosecutor, without disclosing the

fabrication to him. Nevertheless, the district court

granted summary judgment against Petitioner on the

ground that the prosecutor’s filing decision broke the

causal connection between Turley’s unconstitutional

conduct and Petitioner’s wrongful conviction and

imprisonment. The Circuit Court did so on summary

judgment, after Petitioner raised a triable issue that

the prosecutor did not know the evidence presented to

him as the basis for the criminal filing was fabricated

and in fact, relied on the fabricated evidence in

making the filing decision.

In Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 345 n. 7 (1986),

this Court stated it would reject the argument that a

section 1983 defendant police officer would not be

12

liable for damages caused by his misconduct in seek-

ing an arrest warrant because the judge’s decision to

issue the warrant breaks the causal chain between

the officer’s application for the warrant and an un-

lawful arrest. Citing Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167

(1961), this Court stated section 1983 “should be read

against the background of tort liability that makes a

man responsible for the natural consequences of his

actions. Since the common law recognized the causal

link between the submission of a complaint and an

ensuing arrest, we read §1983 as recognizing the

same causal link.” (Internal quotations omitted).

This footnote has resulted in conflicting Circuit

opinions concerning the applicability of common law

intervening cause principles to the causation require-

ments of section 1983.

Some circuits have interpreted this Court’s Malley

footnote as incorporating into section 1983, the “nat-

ural and probable consequences” tort principle of

causation. For example, in Kerman v. City of New

York, 374 F.3d 93, 126 (2d Cir. 2004), the court held

a police officer could be liable for plaintiff’s loss of

liberty after the plaintiff was sent to a mental hos-

pital because of an officer’s wrongful conduct, even

though the plaintiff’s subsequent detention in the

hospital resulted from the independent judgment of

the physicians. The court stated: “Tort defendants, in-

cluding those sued under §1983, are responsible for

the natural consequences of their actions.” In Zahrey

v. Coffey, 221 F.3d 342, 352 (2d Cir. 2000), the Court

stated “it is not readily apparent why the chain of

13

causation should be considered broken where the

initial wrongdoer can reasonably foresee that his mis-

conduct will contribute to an ‘independent’ decision

that results in a deprivation of liberty.” In Warner v.

Orange County Dep’t of Probation, 115 F.3d 1068,

1072-73 (2d Cir. 1996), the appeals court concluded

that a sentencing judge’s adoption of a probation

officers’ wrongful recommendation was entirely fore-

seeable; therefore, the judge’s decision did not break

the chain of causation with respect to the probation

officers’ liability under section 1983. In Buenrostro v.

Collazo, 973 F.2d 39, 45 (1st Cir. 1992), the Court of

Appeals citing Malley, held this Court “has made it

crystal clear that principles of causation borrowed

from tort law” apply to constitutional terts, and a jury

“could conceivably find a causal nexus between [an]

unlawful arrest and [a] consequent imprisonment,”

even after an independent magistrate determined

there was probable cause to detain the plaintiff.

At least one circuit court applies a more stringent

test to determine whether the causal chain remains

unbroken when there is another contributing cause to

the section 1983 plaintiff’s damages. Duncan v. Nel-

son, 466 F.2d 939, 943 (7th Cir. 1972), held no section

1983 cause of action exists for violation of Fifth

Amendment rights resulting from admission into

evidence at trial of a coerced confession, since the

officers did not proximately cause the violation.

Some circuits note that “the chain of causation is

broken only where all the facts are presented to the

grand jury, or other independent intermediary, where

the malicious motive of the law enforcement officials

14

does not lead them to withhold any relevant informa-

tion from the independent intermediary.” Hand uv.

Gary, 838 F.2d 1420, 1427-28 (5th Cir. 1988). In

McKinley v. City of Mansfield, 404 F.3d 418 (6th Cir.

2005), the defendant officer, in violation of the 5th

Amendment rule of Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S.

493 (1967), compelled the section 1983 plaintiff to in-

criminate himself during an internal police investiga-

tion. The officer, like Respondents here, then turned

the statements over to the prosecutor, who filed for-

mal criminal charges against the section 1983 plain-

tiff and used the officer as a witness to introduce the

statements at the criminal trial. The McKinley court

held the damages resulting from the introduction of

the statements at trial were the natural and probable

consequences of the officer’s constitutional depriva-

tion. Id. at 438. The Court of Appeals suggested “[a]

police officer may defend on the grounds that he

attempted to prevent the use of the allegedly incrim-

inating statements at trial, or that he never turned

the statements over to the prosecutor in the first

place.” Id. The Court of Appeals in Egervary v. Young,

366 F.3d 238, 248 (3d Cir. 2004), held a legally

erroneous ruling under the International Child Ab-

duction Remedies Act authorizing seizure and re-

moval of plaintiff’s child without notice was an

intervening superseding cause of the plaintiff’s

injuries precluding a Bivens claim against State De-

partment officials. “(T]o the extent that the common

law recognized the causal link between a complaint

and the ensuing arrest, it was in the situation where

‘misdirection’ by omission or commission perpetuated

the original wrongful behavior.”

15

This conflict in the Circujts regarding principles

of superseding causation to section 1983 claims has

resulted in some courts avoiding the issue altogether.

See Hector v. Watt, 235 F.3d 154, 161 (3d Cir. 2000)

(declining to reach the question of whether proximate

cause prevented a section 1983 plaintiff from suing

police officers for fabricating evidence as “there is a

great deal of tension in the caselaw about when offi-

cial conduct counts as an intervening cause.”).

In this case, the Ninth Circuit adopted the most

extreme view of intervenir g causation: that the pros-

ecutor’s decision to file charges based on fabricated

evidence, breaks the causal connection between the

police officer’s wrongful conduct and the lengthy,

wrongful imprisonment. McSherry II, 584 F.3d at

1146-47. Indeed, the Ninth Circuit’s decision that the

prosecutor’s filing decision broke the causal chain

was based on the prosecutor’s acceptance of the fabri-

cated evidence in making the filing decision.’ Ac-

cordingly, this case presents the ideal circumstances

for the Court to resolve the conflict in the circuits

* The prosecutor averred in his declaration:

“A When [the victim’s] description of a room where

these events took place meets a description of a room

that’s found that fits that description, that’s corrob

oration of her testimony.

Q Did you ever talk to [the victim] about the original

description that she had given about the place where

she had been taken and raped?

eee

McSherry II, 584 F.3d at 1145.

16

relating the applicability to section 1983 claims of the

common law tort rules of superseding, intervening

causation. The Court should grant certiorari and hold

that when a police officer presents a prosecutor with

fabricated evidence and the prosecutor makes a

charging decision based on that evidence, without

knowing the evidence was false, the causal connection

between wrongful conduct and section 1983 damages

is not broken. Here, Petitioner should be permitted to

proceed to trial to present to the jury the evidence of

fabrication and the prosecutor’s absence of knowledge

that the evidence was fabricated.

If. POLICE OFFICERS WHO ACT AS COM-

PLAINING WITNESSES ARE NOT EN-

TITLED TO ABSOLUTE IMMUNITY FOR

PERJURED TRIAL TESTIMONY.

Absolute immunity to section 1983 claims is avail-

able only under certain narrow exceptions and it is

the burden of the party claiming immunity to justify

the exception. Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 340 (1986);

Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. 259, 269 (1993).

In Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1983), this

Court held police officers in some circumstances may

be entitled to absolute immunity for perjury com-

mitted in the course of official proceedings. This

Court found that absolute immunity for witnesses

and parties “for testimony in judicial proceedings as

well as absolute immunity for officials in the judicial

17

process was established in English common law”

prior to 1871.”

Three years later, in Malley, 475 U.S. at 341-45,

this Court held an officer who functions as “com-

plaining witness” by providing an affidavit in support

of an arrest warrant to a magistrate, is not entitled to

absolute immunity for the falsity of the affidavit.

Relying on Malley, a number of circuit opinions have

expanded the exception to the Briscoe rule of absolute

immunity to perjury by police officers who func-

tionally act as complaining witnesses by wrongfully

bringing and perpetuating a prosecution in prelim-

inary hearings, grand jury and trial proceedings. See

Harris v. Roderick, 126 F.3d 1189, 1198-99 (9th Cir.

1997) (no absolute immunity for trial perjury by offi-

cer who acted as complaining witness).

“A complaining witness is a person ‘who actively

instigated or encouraged the prosecution of the plain-

tiff”” Kulas v. Flores, 255 F.3d 780, 783 (9th Cir.

2001) (quoting Anthony v. Baker, 955 F.2d 1395, 1399

n. 2 (10th Cir. 1992). There can be more than one

complaining witness in a case. See, e.g., Kalina v.

Fletcher, 522 U.S. 118, 129-30, 131 (1997) (prosecutor

was acting as a complaining witness when she

* The common law distinguished between defamation ac-

tions for which the witness was absolutely immune and actions

for malicious prosecution, for which there was no absolute im-

munity. Briscoe, 460 U.S. at 330-31. Section 1983 is a codifi-

cation of §1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1871. See id., 460 U.S. at

337.

1%

certified in affidavit in support of arrest warrant that

accused burglary suspect was positively identified

“from a photo montage” by another witness). Jd. at

121. By personally vouching for the truth of the state-

ments of another witness inculpating the petitioner,

the prosecutor acted as a “complaining witness.” /d.

at 131.

Here, the district court determined on summary

judgment that Turley was not a complaining witness

despite evidence to the contrary. But the question of

whether a police officer is a complaining witness is a

question of fact. Anthony v. Baker, 955 F.2d at 1399-

1400; see also Enlow v. Tishomingo County, Miss., 962

F.2d 501, 511 (5th Cir. 1992) (declining to grant ab-

solute immunity to defendant officer where “disputed

factual issues remain regarding [defendant]’s role in

actively instigating, encouraging, and/or perpetuating

| plaintiffs’] prosecution”); Anthony v. Baker, 955 F.2d

at 1396-97, 1402 (plaintiff’s allegations that sheriff

instigated grand jury investigation of plaintiff and

testified falsely against plaintiff at grand jury pro-

ceedings and state court probable cause hearing could

provide a factual basis for the district court to con-

clude that [sheriff] indeed was a complaining witness

at both proceedings). Hence, the appeals court. dis-

regarded the cardinal rule on summary judgment

that in the face of conflicting evidence and inferences,

the jury must resolve the ultimate facts, as in this

case, whether Respondent Turley was or was not a

“ . 7 4 »”

complaining witness.

19

In Harris v. Roderick, 126 F.3d 1189, 1198-99

(9th Cir. 1997), defendant officers constructed a false

version of events, knowing that it would lead to the

section 1983 plaintiff’s indictment, arrest, and trial

for murder. Jd. at 119. The court, interpreting Malley

as an exception to Briscoe, held the officers acted as

“complaining witnesses” and were not entitled to

absolute immunity for false testimony, either before

the grand jury that indicted the plaintiff or at his

criminal trial on those charges. In reaching its con-

clusion, the Harris court relied on opinions of other

circuits. See White v. Frank, 855 F.2d 956, 961 (2d Cir.

1988) (his role as a “complaining witness” renders

him liable to the victim under section 1983, just as it

did at common law, and the fact that his testimony at

a judicial proceeding may have been the means by

which he initiated the prosecution does not permit

him to transpose the immunity available for defama-

tion as a defense to malicious prosecution); Anthony

v. Baker, 955 F.2d 1395, 1400 (10th Cir. 1992) (officer

not entitled to absolute immunity for grand jury

testimony “that is relevant to the manner in which he

initiated or perpetuated the prosecution”); Enlow v.

Tishomingo County, 962 F.2d 501, 512 (5th Cir. 1992)

(no immunity for grand jury witness who initiates or

perpetuates the prosecution).

This case is a prime example of the fateful con-

sequences of providing absolute immunity to police

officers for perjured testimony where they instigate the

prosecution and provide testimony which is the sine

qua non of conviction and imprisonment. Respondent

20

Turley fabricated probable cause for Petitioner’s

arrest and thereafter committed perjury that directly

caused Petitioner’s wrongful conviction and 14-year

imprisonment. Trial perjury was just part of the full

range of falsehoods by Turley without which Peti-

tioner’s unconstitutional deprivations would not have

occurred. Indeed, because the victim was just 6 years

old, Turley provided both the evidence to the fil-

ing prosecutor and trial testimony about the victim’s

statements, that resulted in conviction. He was func-

tionally the complaining witness, since the victim

herself was unable to testify about the facts necessary

for conviction.

This Court should grant certiorari to determine

the extent of Malley’s exception to the absolute im-

munity granted to police officers for trial perjury

under Briscoe, and whether, on summary judgment,

the appeals court can make a factual determination

about whether the testifying police office was a

“complaining witness” in the face of conflicting

evidence.

tl. THE RULE OF HARTMAN v. MOORE

SHOULD BE LIMITED TO RETALIATORY

PROSECUTION CLAIMS AND NOT BE

APPLICABLE TO 42 U.S.C. §1983 CLAIMS

BASED ON THE FIFTH AMENDMENT.

In Hartman v. Moore, 547 U.S. 250, 257 n. 5, 265-

66 (2006), this Court decided a Bivens plaintiff must

plead and prove the absence of probable cause for

21

prosecution in order to prevail on a First Amendment

retaliatory prosecution claim. This Court reasoned

the requisite causation between the defendant’s retal-

iatory animus and the plaintiff’s injury in such cases

is more complex than in other retaliation cases since

the retaliatory animus is not merely that of one per-

son and that person’s own action causing the injury,

but between the retaliatory animus of one person and

the action of another who is immune from liability. Jd.

at 259-62.

The Hartman decision was a response to circuit

opinions holding evidence of retaliatory motive and

discharge was sufficient to establish causation. This

Court concluded:

“Demonstrating that there was no probable

cause for the underlying criminal charge will

tend to reinforce the retaliation evidence and

show that retaliation was the but-for basis

for instigating the prosecution, while estab-

lishing the existence of probable cause will

suggest that prosecution would have oc-

curred even without a retaliatory motive.”

Id. at 261.

But Hartman also made a clear distinction be-

tween retaliatory prosecution actions to which the no-

probable cause pleading and proof requirements

apply, and “ordinary” retaliation actions to which the

requirements do not apply (i.e., those where there is

no independent prosecutorial action). Jd. at 259-62;

accord Skoog v. County of Clackamas, 469 F.3d 1221,

22

1233-34 (9th Cir. 2006) (recognizing Hartman’s

absence of probable cause pleading and_ proof

requirement applies to “a particular subcategory of

retaliation claims: retaliatory prosecution claims”);

Greene v. Barber, 310 F.3d 889, 895 (6th Cir. 2002)

(holding that a claim for retaliatory arrest can be

made even if probable cause existed for the arrest);

DeLoach v. Bevers, 922 F.2d 618, 620 (10th Cir. 1990)

(same). Cf. Dahl v. Holley, 312 F.3d 1228, 1236 (11th

Cir. 2002); Keenan v. Tejeda, 290 F.3d 252, 261-62

(5th Cir. 2002); Curley v. Village of Suffern, 268 F.3d

65, 73 (2d Cir. 2001); and Smithson v. Aldrich, 235

F.3d 1058, 1063 (8th Cir. 2000).

This case does not involve a retaliation claim.

Accordingly, although there is an intervening prose-

cutorial filing decision, there is no complex issue of

proof of retaliatory animus causation involving an

immunized actor and therefore no need to apply the

objective no probable cause requirement of Hartman.

This Court should grant review and hold that Hart-

man does not apply to non-retaliatory constitutional

claims and resolve the split in authority in the Circuit

courts regarding this issue.

23

A. Even If Hartman Were Applicable To

This Case, Respondent Is Not Entitled

To Summary Judgment In His Favor

Where He Manufactured The Probable

Cause For Arrest.

Petitioner presented evidence to the trial court

that probable cause to arrest him arose only after

Respondents Turley and Roberson became involved in

the investigation and unduly suggested or coerced

identifications of McSherry and the vehicle associated

with him or fabricated such identifications. Petitioner

also presented evidence from which the jury could

infer that Respondents knew Petitioner was innocent

and intentionally violated his rights to Due Process.

The original witness descriptions of the perpe-

trator and the vehicle given to police officers matched

the physical description of the actual perpetrator and

his vehicle, which was used to abduct the victim.

Additionally, in her deposition, the victim testified

that, during the photo showup, Turley suggested Peti-

tioner as the perpetrator and she also denied ever

selecting Petitioner’s vehicle from a photo array, as

Respondent Turley claimed and testified.

Because of the DNA evidence and the confession

of the actual perpetrator, it is evident the victim and

her brother did not see Petitioner or the vehicle asso-

ciated with him on the date of the crimes. Further,

the victim, who had never been in Petitioner’s grand-

parents’ house, denied at her deposition giving the

detailed description of it which Respondent Turley

24

falsely claimed and testified she described in extra-

ordinary detail. Yet the prosecutor relied on this de-

scription of the interior of the house in filing charges.

Under these circumstances, there is a factual dispute

as to whether the prosecutor’s decision to file formal

charges was an independent cause of the wrongful

conviction and fourteen years imprisonment suffered

by Petitioner. It is for the jury and not the appellate

court to resolve this factual dispute.*

* In affirming the district court’s grant of summary judg-

ment against Petitioner, the court below failed to consider evi-

dence establishing the prosecutor’s investigation relating to the

victim’s photo showups was not “independent” because he was

unaware of Respondent Turley’s coercive tactics, unduly sugges-

tive identifications and fabrications and merely reinterviewed

the victim tainted by those unconstitutional tactics. Additionally,

the prosecutor determined the photo showup by Turley was not

suggestive merely by looking at the photos without inquiring

whether Turley influenced the victim’s identification. Yet “con-

duct on the part of the government agents tending to focus the

witness’s attention on the defendant” is one of the factors to

consider in determining the suggestiveness of a pretrial identifi-

cation. United States v. Crawford, 576 F.2d 794, 797 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 439 U.S. 851 (1978). Additionally, although the pros-

ecutor was aware of the victim’s initial description of the perpe-

trator that was contrary to Petitioner’s physical characteristics, he

asked her no questions to a‘tempt to resolve the discrepancies. The

prosecutor was similarly unaware of and did not inquire into the

circumstances of the purported photo identification by the victim of

the vehicle or the interior of the house. Finally, the court below

supported the prosecutor’s independent judgment by his averred

reliance on the description of the interior of Petitioner’s grand-

parents’ house. (“She was without any hesitation about the

description of the room”; “her description matched the interior of

McSherry’s grandparents’ home.”) This description could only

(Continued on following page)

25

The causation issue in the Ninth Circuit initially

depends on a rebuttable presumption that the pros-

ecutor used independent judgment in filing formal

charges. However, this presumption “can be over-

come, for example, by evidence that the officers

knowingly submitted false information.” Smiddy v.

Varney, 665 F.2d 261 (9th Cir. 1981). Whether

evidence rebuts the Smiddy I presumption is a

factual question that cannot be resolved on summary

judgment. Smiddy v. Varney, 803 F.2d 1469, 1470 (9th

Cir. 1986); see also Barlow v. Ground, 943 F.2d 1132,

1136 (9th Cir. 1991) (holding police officers can be

liable if they “made false reports to the prosecutor,

omitted material information from the reports, or

otherwise prevented the prosecutor from exercising

independent judgment”); Borunda v. Richmond, 885

F.2d 1384, 1390 (9th Cir. 1988) (presumption rebutted

by “evidence that the investigating officers made

material omissions or gave false information to the

prosecutor”).

Other circuits establish no presumption of inter-

vening causation and simply apply tort principles

of causation in holding defendants in section 1983

cases are liable for the consequences of their acts

have been suggested or fabricated by Respondent Turley, since

the victim was never inside that house. Under these circum-

stances, Petitioner presented ample evidence from which the

jury could conclude the prosecutor did not use independent judg-

ment in filing formal charges against Petitioner.

26

caused by “reasonably foreseeable intervening forces,”

Gutierrez-Rodriguez v. Cartagena, 882 F.2d 553, 561

(Ist Cir. 1989). See also Warner v. Orange County

Dep’t of Probation, 115 F.3d 1068, 1071 (2d Cir. 1997),

reinstated after opinion vacated, 173 F.3d 120, 121

(2d Cir. 1999) (decision of a sentencing judge does not

break the causal chain between the wrongful recom-

mendation of a probation officer and an unconstitu-

tional sentence); Wagenmann v. Adams, 829 F.2d 196,

212-13 (1st Cir. 1987) (decision of court clerk acting

as bail commissioner in setting bail did not insulate

police officer from liability for violating plaintiff’s

right to be free from excessive bail); White v. Frank,

855 F.2d 956, 962 (2d Cir. 1988) (“As with the grand

jury, ... the public prosecutor’s role in a criminal

prosecution will not necessarily shield a complaining

witness from subsequeni civil liability where the wit-

ness’s testimony is knowingly and maliciously false.”);

Jones v. City of Chicago, 856 F.2d 985, 994 (7th Cir.

1988) (“{A] prosecutor’s decision to charge, a grand

jury’s decision to indict, a prosecutor’s decision not to

drop charges but to proceed to trial — none of these

decisions will shield a police officer who deliberately

supplied misleading information that influenced that

decision”); Hand v. Gary, 838 F.2d 1420, 1427-28 (5th

Sir. 1988) (“the chain of causation is broken only

where all the facts are presented to the grand jury, or

other independent intermediary where the malicious

motive of the law enforcement officials does not lead

them to withhold any relevant information from the

independent intermediary. Any misdirection of the mag-

istrate or the grand jury by omission or commission

27

perpetuates the taint of the original official be-

havior’): Lanier v. Sallas, 777 F.2d 321, 324-25 (5th

‘ir. 1985) Gudge’s decision to commit plaintiff to

mental health facility did not sever chain of causation

where that decision was based in part on mis-

representation made by defendants).

Thus, either under the Ninth Circuit rebuttable

presumption rule of independent prosecutorial judg-

ment or under general tort causation principles, Peti-

tioner presented ample evidence precluding summary

judgment against him on the issue of causation.

This Court should grant certiorari and hold that

the tort causation principles mentioned in Hartman

v. Moore, 547 U.S. at 257 n. 5, include foreseeabiiity

of natural and probable consequences which apply to

intervening official conduct in a section 1983 non-

retaliatory prosecution claim when police officers

withhold relevant material information from the

prosecutor who files formal charges.

¢

CONCLUSION

As a result of Respondent Turley’s unconstitu-

tional fabrication of evidence, coercive and suggestive

identification techniques and perjured testimony at

trial, Petitioner was wrongfully convicted and served

14 years of a 48-year prison sentence before being

fully exonerated of all charges.

28

The court below on reconsideration of its original

decision to reverse and remand the trial court’s sum-

mary judgment, has upheld a grant of summary

judgment against Petitioner based on (a) an unreason-

able application of the causation requirement of 42

U.S.C. §1983, (b) a misapplication of Malley v. Briggs,

475 U.S. 335, 340 (1986), and (c) a misinterpretation

of Hartman v. Moore, 547 U.S. 250 (2006) concerning

the need to plead and prove absence of probable cause

in section 1983 claims other than First Amendment

retaliatory prosecution claims.

This Court should grant certiorari to settle these

issues and resolve their conflict in the opinions of

various circuit courts.

Respectfully submitted,

MarK E. OVERLAND

Attorney for Petitioner

Leonard James McSherry

App. 1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LEONARD MCSHERRY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

ie

No. 06-55837

D.C. No.

City OF LONG BEACH; LONG BEACH

OF LONG BEACH; LONG BEACH J 17 no negae -paK

POLICE DEPARTMENT; NORMAN

TURLEY, Officer; CARTHEL S. ORDER AND

ROBERSON, 1n his individual OPINION

and official capacities,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

R. Gary Klausner, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

February 14, 2008 — Pasadena, California

Order and Opinion Filed October 20, 2009

Before: Stephen S. Trott, Richard R. Clifton,

and Consuelo M. Callahan, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Trott

COUNSEL

Mark E. Overland, Overland Borenstein Scheper &

Kim LLP, Los Angeles, California, for the plaintiff-

appellant.

App. 2

Michael M. Mullins and Nowland C. Hong (argued),

Akerman Senterfitt LLP, Los Angeles, California, for

the defendants-appellees.

ORDER

The Opinion filed March 30, 2009, slip op. 3805,

and appearing at 560 F.3d 1125 (9th Cir. 2009), is

withdrawn. It may not be cited as precedent by or to

N

this court or any district court of the Ninth Circuit.

The superseding opinion will be filed concur-

rently with this order. The parties may file an addi-

tional petition for rehearing or rehearing en banc. All

other pending motions are denied as moot.

OPINION

TROTT, Circuit Judge:

I

After Leonard McSherry (“McSherry”) served

almost fourteen years in prison for kidnaping, raping,

and molesting a six-year-old girl, he was exonerated

by DNA evidence acquired from George Valdespino

and Valdespino’s subsequent confession to these

crimes. McSherry was released from prison pursuant

to a writ of habeas corpus issued by the Los Angeles

Superior Court. Alleging violations of his civil rights

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, he then filed suit

related to his arrest and conviction against De-

fendants City of Long Beach, Long Beach Police

App. 3

Department (““LBPD”), and the officers he claimed

were responsible for his faulty conviction, Detective

Norman Turley (“Turley”), and Sergeant Carthel S.

Roberson (“Roberson”).

This appeal follows the district court’s plenary

grant of summary judgment to Defendants on the

basis of qualified immunity. We have jurisdiction, and

we affirm. San Jose Christian College v. City of

Morgan Hill, 360 F.3d 1024, 1030 (9th Cir. 2004) (“We

may affirm the district court’s grant of summary

judgment on any basis supported in the record.”).

II

BACKGROUND

A. Factual Background

1. The initial descriptions of the suspect

and car

In March of 1988, a_ six-year-old girl was

kidnaped frem a playground on a Navy base in Long

Beach, C «lifornia. She was molested and raped by her

kidnapper and then released. The abduction was wit-

nessed by her four-year-old brother. Within ten hours

of the kidnaping, LBPD patrol officers interviewed

her. Initially she described her kidnapper as a short,

fat, white male with black hair, who was older than

her grandfather. Her brother told police that the man

who took his sister was “red in color” and had black

hair. Both sister and brother said the suspect made

her get into a green car.

App. 4

Shortly after the victim’s return, a neighbor,

Robin Davis (“Davis”), reported she had seen a white

male, thirty-five years old or older, 5'7"-5'9" tall,

heavy, with dark brown to black hair, a mustache,

heavy black eyebrows, and a chubby pock-marked

face, in the area on the day the victim was abducted.

Davis said she saw an unattended 1970’s model, dark

green, larger model pickup truck with a white cab-

over camper in the parking lot by the playground.

2. Photo and physical identifications of

McSherry and the vehicle

On April 19, 1988, Officer Turley interviewed the

victim in the Charter Hospital in Long Beach, Cali-

fornia. He showed her a photo line-up that included a

suspect named John Larocco. The other photos in the

lineup, including McSherry’s, were simply “fillers.”

McSherry’s photo was on file because of his

criminal record. On June 16, 1970, McSherry forcibly

abducted and sexually molested a six-year-old girl

and later pleaded guilty to felony child molestation.

On January 15, 1975, McSherry was convicted of

lewd and lascivious conduct towards an eight-year-old

girl and served four years in state prison. On July 8,

1979, McSherry was convicted of kidnaping a fifteen

year-old girl, and served six years before being

paroled. In 1986 McSherry was convicted of a misde-

meanor involving children and sentenced to county

jail. Turley was a witness in that case. McSherry’s

official record shows that he first registered as a sex

App. 5

offender in California with respect to children in 197]

and renewed that registration in 1985.

Turley said that because he believed McSherry

was still in jail on his 1986 misdemeanor conviction

at the time the crime under investigation was com-

mitted, McSherry was not a suspect. Unexpectedly,

the victim picked McSherry’s photo out of the lineup.

Later, Turley learned that McSherry had _ been

released early from jail before this crime occurred.

During that same interview, Turley showed the

victim pictures of sixteen different campers/trucks to

try and determine in what kind of vehicle she had

been kidnaped, but she said the vehicle was a car, not

a truck. Turley said she seemed confused but could

communicate.

On April 21, 1988, Turley re-interviewed the

victim. He showed her the same photo lineup as he

had shown her on the 19th, but, out of “fairness,” in a

different order. She again picked McSherry. Turley

also showed her photographs of nine cars. She identi-

fied a car, and then after Turley asked her if she was

sure, she identified a different car. Turley determined

that she was confused and told her that he wanted

her to look at all of the cars before she told him if she

saw the car or not. Turley changed the order of the

photographs, and she picked out McSherry’s father’s

yellow station wagon.

On May 16, 1988, Turley and Navy Investigative

Officer Tammy Warmack (“Warmack”) interviewed

the victim’s brother. They showed him a photo lineup

App. 6

of nine vehicles, and he picked out the same car his

sister had chosen. He then identified McSherry from

a photo lineup.

Subsequently, on July 21, 1988, the victim and

her brother were taken at the request of McSherry’s

attorney to a court-ordered physical lineup. After the

lineup was over and she was out in the hallway, she

volunteered first to her mother and then to Warmack

that the person who took her was number three

(McSherry), not number six, as she had written down.

She said that she wrote down six because she was

afraid. Ten minutes later, she reaffirmed these state-

ments to Roberson. During the same lineup, her

brother picked out number four. The victim also

positively identified McSherry under oath during a

preliminary hearing and later at trial.

Robin Davis picked McSherry’s photo out of a

lineup on May 18, 1988, the day after McSherry was

arrested. This lineup was witnessed by Warmack.

Warmack said that Davis’ selection of McSherry

“appeared independent” (i.e., not coached). Davis

selected McSherry again in a later physical lineup,

made an in-court identification of him during a pre-

liminary proceeding, and identified him again in

court at his trial.

At McSherry’s trial, Turley testified that each

time he showed photos to the victim, her brother, and

Davis, he told them that they did not have to identify

anyone, or any particular vehicle. With respect to the

victim and her brother, this admonition is reflected in

App. 7

the police reports. Warmack testified at McSherry’s

trial that Turley did not make any effort to influence

the victim in her selections during the photo lineups.

.

3. The descriptions and identification of

the house

Turley and Roberson arrested McSherry for these

crimes on May 17, 1988. In her initial interview with

police, the victim described the place where she was

taken as a white house with two rooms, a bedroom

and a bathroom. She said the numbers one and zero

were on the door. At some other point, when Turley

and Roberson were driving her around, she said that

the house was brown.

The day after McSherry’s May 17th arrest,

Turley and Warmack interviewed the victim again.

She picked McSherry’s grandparents’ home out of a

photo lineup, identifying it as the place McSherry had

taken her. The grandparents’ residence was blue and

white. She provided specific details about the room

where she had been raped. Warmack said most of the

questions were open ended. On the same day, Deputy

District Attorney Ken Lamb authorized on behalf of

the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office the

filing of a felony complaint charging McSherry with

various felonies against the victim.

On May 19th, police served a search warrant at

McSherry’s grandparents’ house. The victim’s descrip-

tion generally matched a bedroom in the residence.

While executing the warrant, officers noticed a bird in

App. 8

the living room area, and a barking dog in the

backyard. Turley re-interviewed the victim on May

24th and asked if she had heard or seen any animals.

She said she heard a bird. He asked her several other

questions regarding the interior of the house, and her

responses matched details of the residence. Finally,

when asked if she saw a phone, she said she saw a

white push button phone. McSherry’s room contained

only a black rotary phone.

B. Procedural History of the Present Case

McSherry brought suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

alleging (1) Fourteenth Amendment due _ process

violations for unconstitutional interview procedures;

(2) Fourth and Fourteenth Amendment false arrest

claims based on false witness identifications; (3) fail-

ure to train and supervise; (4) negligent hiring; and

(5) supervisory liability. He claimed damages arising

from Turley’s and Roberson’s alleged errors that

directly and proximately caused his wrongful arrest,

trial, conviction, and incarceration.

In October 2003, on the first day scheduled for

trial, the district court granted Defendants’ Motion

for Judgment as a Matter of Law under Fed. R. Civ. P.

50 on the ground of qualified immunity. McSherry ap-

pealed. A panel of our court held on procedural

grounds that a “district court may not grant a motion

filed under Rule 50 prior to the presentation of any

evidence in a case ... because the non-moving party

must be afforded the opportunity to present evidence,

App. 9

and the court must evaluate that evidence. ...” Mc-

Sherry v. City of Long Beach, 423 F.8d 1015, 1021

(9th Cir. 2005). The panel explained that it was con-

cerned that “McSherry was not provided an adequate

opportunity to present evidence in his case. Further-

more, disputed issues of fact evident on the face of

McSherry’s pre-trial contentions, of fact render judg-

ment as a matter of law on the basis of qualified

immunity inappropriate at this time.” Jd. The panel

explained also that treating the motion as a motion

for judgment on the pleadings, “|tJhe facts alleged by

McSherry support a claim of deliberate fabrication,

and thus, on the basis of the pleadings, the defen-

dants are not entitled to qualified immunity as a

matter of law.” Jd. at 1021-22 (emphasis added). In a

footnote, we said that McSherry “was not informed

that he should treat |Defendants’ motion] as a motion

for summary judgment and provide evidence in sup-

port of his claims.” /d. at 1021 n.4. We remanded to

the district court “for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion.” Jd. at 1022. We denied McSherry’s

request that the case be remanded to a different

judge. Id. at 1024.

On remand, the district court granted summary

judgment to Defendants on the ground of qualified

immunity. The court held that probable cause existed

for McSherry’s arrest. It further held that the fabrica-

tion of the evidence claim failed because (1) McSherry

did not present “any evidence that Defendants de-

liberately fabricated evidence, or acted in a way that

produced false information”; (2) the District Attorney

App. 10

had conducted an independent investigation of the

evidence, and under the totality of the circumstances,

there was “no evidence that Defendants knew or

should have known that McSherry was innocent’;

and (3) McSherry “failed to make or support any

factual allegations of any fabrication of evidence . .

that were logically capable of supporting” a claim that

Turley used unconstitutionally suggestive interview

techniques. Finally, the district court held that the

Monell v. Dep’t of Soc. Servs. of City of New York, 436

U.S. 658 (1978), claim against the City and LBPD

failed because McSherry did not show a constitu-

tional violation by either Roberson or Turley.

Hil

DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

This court reviews de novo a district court’s grant

of summary judgment on the ground of qualified

immunity. Blankenhorn v. City of Orange, 485 F.3d

463, 470 (9th Cir. 2007). “We may not affirm a grant

of summary judgment if there is any genuine issue of

material fact or the district court incorrectly applied

the substantive law.” Jd. Stripped to its core, our in-

quiry is “whether the evidence presented a sufficient

disagreement to require submission to a jury or

whether it is so one-sided that one party must prevail

as a matter of law.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 251-52 (1986). In making this deter-

mination, we view the evidence in the light most

App. 1]

favorable to McSherry. All justifiable inferences are to

be drawn in his favor and his evidence is to be

believed. We may affirm on the basis of any ground

supported by the record. San Jose Christian College,

360 F.3d at 1030.

B. Analysis

1. Probable cause for the arrest

McSherry claims that Defendants lacked prob-

able cause to arrest him because they: (1) used

suggestive interview techniques; (2) manipulated or

coerced witnesses; (3) fabricated evidence; and (4)

disregarded exculpatory evidence.

“Probable cause arises when an officer has

knowledge based on reasonably trustworthy informa-

tion that the person arrested has committed a crim-

inal offense.” Gausvik v. Perez, 345 F.3d 813, 818 (9th

‘ir. 2003) (citing Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 91

(1964)). “Because many situations which confront offi-

cers in the course of executing their duties are more

or less ambiguous, room must be allowed for some

mistakes on their part.” Brinegar v. United States,

338 U.S. 160, 176 (1949).

Here, before McSherry was arrested, the victim

on two occasions positively identified McSherry as

her attacker, and also identified his father’s car as

the vehicle used to facilitate the crime. Scientific

evidence reported by the Sheriff’s Crime Laboratory

indicated that semen taken from the _ victim’s

App. 12

underwear could belong to McSherry in that he could

not be excluded as the person whose semen was

found. Also, McSherry’s modus operandi known to the

police from previous convictions was similar to the

manner in which the victim was abducted and

sexually assaulted.

McSherry attempts to undercut probable cause

with allegations that the officers violated the Due

Process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment by ig-

noring exculpatory evidence. “A police officer’s failure

to preserve or collect potential exculpatory evidence

does not violate the Due Process Clause unless the

officer acted in bad faith.” Cunningham v. City of

Wenatchee, 345 F.3d 802, 812 (9th Cir. 2003).

McSherry claims that Defendants acted in bad

faith when they ignored: 1) George Valdespino’s

arrest for a crime similar to the victim’s abduction

one week later in a nearby county; 2) the fact that

initial identification statements by Davis, the victim,

and the victim’s brother did not resemble McSherry;

and 3) the possibility that Davis’s identification was

influenced by a newspaper photograph of McSherry.

These claims fail.

First, McSherry does not offer any evidence that

Defendants knew in 1988 that Valdespino was

arrested in a nearby county for a similar crime.

Absent such a showing, there is no evidence of bad

faith.

Second, as to the descriptions of the perpetrator

given by the victim and her brother, police officers

App. 13

“must be given some latitude in determining when to

credit witnesses’ denials and when to discount them,

and we are not aware of any federal law ... that

indicates precisely where the line must be drawn.”

Devereaux v. Abbey, 263 F.3d 1070, 1075 (9th Cir.

2001) (en banc). Turley and Roberson do not dispute

that McSherry did not closely resemble the initial

descriptions given by the two children, however,

nothing in the record shows that the officers acted in

bad faith by relying on the children’s photo lineup

identification of McSherry rather than their initial

descriptions.

Third, with respect to Davis’ identification of

McSherry in a photo lineup, McSherry argues that

Davis was shown a photo lineup after McSherry’s

picture appeared in the paper, implying that she

chose him because she recognized him from the

newspaper photo. This bald assertion does not

demonstrate bad faith. McSherry does not offer any

evidence whatsoever that Davis ever saw the picture,

or that she based her subsequent identification on

that picture.

Fourth, McSherry’s allegations of the use of im-

proper, unreliable and suggestive identification pro-

cedures turn out upon examination to be without

adequate factual support. Surmise, conjecture, theory,

speculation and an advocate’s suppositions cannot “do

duty for probative facts” and valid inferences. Poppell

v. City of San Diego, 149 F.3d 951, 962 (9th Cir. 1998).

App. 14

As for McSherry’s allegations of fabrication of

evidence, this claim pertains to incidents involving

McSherry’s grandparents’ home as_ possibly the

location of the sexual assault. These matters occurred

after McSherry’s arrest and are therefore irrelevant

to the question of probable cause.

The probable cause to arrest McSherry as well as

to hold him to answer for trial was confirmed in a

preliminary hearing held before a neutral magistrate

where the victim again identified McSherry as her

attacker, this time under oath. Gerstein v. Pugh, 420

U.S. 103, 114 (1975) (““(Wje hold that the Fourth

Amendment requires a judicial determination § of

probable cause as a prerequisite to extended restraint

of liberty following arrest.”). Neither Turley nor

Roberson testified at this hearing which resulted in

the filing of a felony information against McSherry in

los Angeles Superior Court.

“In California, ... it is a long-standing principle

of common law that a decision by a judge or mag-

istrate to hold a defendant to answer after a pre-

liminary hearing constitutes prima facie — but not

conclusive — evidence of probable cause.” Awabdy uv.

City of Adelanto, 368 F.3d 1062, 1067 (9th Cir. 2004)

(emphasis in original). We held in Awabdy that one

way a “plaintiff can rebut a prima facie finding of

probable cause is by showing that the criminal prose-

cution was induced by fraud, corruption, perjury,

fabricated evidence, or other wrongful conduct under-

taken in bad faith.” Jd. To do so, a plaintiff must be

“able to prove the allegations in his complaint that

App. 15

the criminal proceedings were initiated on the basis

of the defendants’ intentional and knowingly false ac-

cusations and other malicious conduct.” Jd. McSherry

has not alleged facts sufficient to create a genuine

dispute on this issue for reasons discussed in section

B.2 of this opinion.

Accordingly, we hold that there exists no genuine

issue of material fact regarding probable cause or the

legality of McSherry’s arrest and detention for trial.

Finding no constitutional violation on this issue, we

affirm the district court.

2. Causation

In Beck v. City of Upland, 527 F.8d 853 (9th

Cir. 2008), a case decided after briefs were filed and

we heard oral argument in this matter,’ we held that

“in any constitutional tort case ... in which a pros-

ecutor has instigated a prosecution, it is necessary, if

not. sufficient, that a plaintiff seeking to sue non-

prosecutorial officials alleged to be responsible post-

complaint for the arrest or prosecution show the

absence of probable cause.” Jd. at 865 (citing Smiddy

v. Varney, 665 F.2d 261 (9th Cir. 1981), and Hartman

v. Moore, 547 U.S. 250 (2006)). Relying on the Su-

preme Court’s decision in //artman, we said “la] pros-

ecutor’s independent judgment may break the chain

of causation between the unconstitutional actions of

Both parties have now given us their views on Beck and

Hartman.

App. 16

other officials and the harm suffered by a constitu-

tional tort plaintiff.” Beck, 527 F.3d at 862. We added

that “[pJut in traditional tort terms, the prosecutor’s

independent decision can be a superseding or inter-

vening cause of a constitutional tort plaintiff’s injury,

precluding suit against the officials who made an

arrest or procured a prosecution.” Id. See also, Stoot

v. City of Everett, _ F.8d __, __. (No. 07-35425

9th Cir. August 13, 2009) (an intervening decision of

an informed neutral decision-maker may break the

chain of causation).

In Beck, we concluded on the record (1) that Beck

was arrested without probable cause, and (2) that the

officers had not met their burden to show that the

prosecutor’s charging decisions acted as an “interven-

ing cause,” thus shielding them from liability. Beck,

527 F.3d at 870.

On the record in this case, however, the opposite

is true. Substantial evidence of probable cause

existed for McSherry’s arrest and to bind him over for

trial. There is no question that the prosecutor’s ac-

tions in authorizing all charges against McSherry and

conducting his prosecution were (1) amply supported

by probable cause at all stages of the process, and (2)

the result of his independent professional judgment

based upon a thorough review of the evidence, a judg-

ment that was predicated on eyewitness identifica-

tion related to him and uninfluenced by either Turley

or Roberson or the “evidence” McSherry claims

was fabricated. Because McSherry cannot survive

App. 17

summary judgment on this critical issue, his related

claims must fail.

In the ordinary course of business, Turley took

McSherry’s case to Deputy District Attorney Ken

Lamb, a prosecutor with ten years of previous experi-

ence as a police officer. Lamb’s declaration filed in

support of the officers’ motion for summary judgment

reads as follows:

DECLARATION OF DEPUTY

DISTRICT ATTORNEY KEN LAMB

I, Ken Lamb, declare and state as follows:

1. J am a Deputy District Attorney for

the County of Los Angeles, and I was the

trial deputy in the case of the People v.

Leonard McSherry, Case No. A 040264.

2. Before I became a Deputy District

Attorney, I was a member of the Los Angeles

Police Department for ten years. During my

career as a police officer and as a district

attorney, I have interviewed over a thousand

children, and have now been involved in the

investigation of sexual abuse crimes for over

eighteen years. I have conducted training

seminars on sexual assault crimes, including

techniques for interviewing children. Through-

out my career, I have prosecuted over 600

felony jury trials.

3. I make this declaration in support of

the Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judge-

ment. The facts set forth herein are true of

my own personal knowledge, except for those

App. 18

things stated on information and _ belief,

which are believed to be true, and if called

upon to testify thereto, I could and would

competently do so under oath.

4. Leonard McSherry (“McSherry”) was

arrested for the kidnap and rape of six year-

old[ J]... on May 17, 1988. On May 18, 1988,

I authorized that he be charged with (1)

forcible rape; (2) oral copulation of a person

under age 14 and more than 10 years

younger; (3) rape by a foreign object; and (4)

kidnaping to commit child molestation of a

victim under the age of 14.

5. After McSherry’s arrest, I reviewed

all of the evidence, including the witnesses’

identifications, the witnesses’ statements,

the police officers’ statements, the physical

evidence, the criminal lab results, and other

corroborating evidence, to ensure that there

was a case against McSherry.

6. In addition, I reviewed the _ police

reports, the photo lineups, and the live line-

ups in order to ensure their lawfulness.

7. Furthermore, | interviewed the wit-

nesses in order to verify the information

provided to me by the police officers.

8. I personally interviewed |the victim]

on more than one occasion. During the inter

views, I was convinced by her demeanor and

language that she was describing what she

remembered from her kidnaping, rather than

from any coaching or outside influence.

App. 19

Based upon my experience with child victims

of sexual assault, I further believed that her

emotional state was such that it would have

been virtually impossible for anyone to have

coached her on what to say.

9. I personally interviewed ... , [the

victim’s] four year-old brother. ‘There were no

indications that anyone had coached him or

otherwise inappropriately attempted to influ-

ence him.

10. I personally interviewed the adult

witnesses, and clearly explained to them that

they were to testify only to those things

about which they had personal knowledge,

and not about anything they might have

heard from other sources. Based upon my

conversations with the adult witnesses, I

believed that they were recounting their

personal experiences.

11. Based on my independent investi-

gation, I concluded the photo lineups and the

live lineups were not misleading or sugges-

tive. | further concluded that the testimony

of the witnesses was of their own recall, and

not the result of influence by police officers.

I declare under penalty of perjury under

the laws of the United States of America that

the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on March 27

Angeles, California.

2006, in Los

>

SIGNED

Ken Lamb, Declarant

App. 20

The prosecutor’s assertions that he personally

made the decision to approve and to file a felony com-

plaint against McSherry and to prosecute the case,

and that he did so based solely upon his own indepen-

dent investigation, were closely tested by McSherry’s

counsel in lengthy depositions. We have scoured

this record to uncover any facts or valid inferences

uncovered in those depositions or elsewhere that

materially undermine the credibility of Lamb’s asser-

tions as to the independence of his judgment and

have found none. It is not enough to demonstrate a

genuine issue of material fact simply to say, as

McSherry has, “McSherry disputes Defendants’ factu-

al premise that Lamb used independent judgment.”

Summary judgment requires facts, not simply unsup-

ported denials or rank speculation. Poppell, 149 F.3d

at 954. McSherry’s statement of genuine issues in

opposition to Defendants’ motion for summary judg-

ment does no better. At most, the facts relied upon by

McSherry take issue with the thoroughness of Lamb's

investigation, not the convincing evidence that it was

entirely independent. Because this appeal is about

the facts in the record, we array them in detail

greater than our ordinary practice.

For example, McSherry’s counsel asked Lamb,

“It|he circumstances of the original identification by

[the victim]... as far as you know are based on what

Turley said; isn’t that right?” Lamb’s answer was,

“No, I interviewed |the victim] herself. I personally

interviewed her.” Later, McSherry’s counsel pressed

the same point, asking Lamb, “So what you know

App. 2]

about that identification fof McSherry] is what has

been related to you by Mr. Turley; correct?” Answer,

“No, that’s not correct. I also know what’s been re-

lated to me [by the victim].”

Lamb elaborated about the victim’s initial identi-

fication of McSherry in great detail:

@® (by counsel for McSherry) And what

was it that [the victim] said to you?

A (by Ken Lamb) Throughout various

interviews?

() What do you remember about what

she said to you?

A That she referred to the individual

who did these acts as “the stranger.” She was

unable to recall sexual — a great deal about

the sexual acts themselves. She remembers

going to a house, that in the bedroom there

was a photograph of the stranger on the

wall, that she was dropped off and went up

to some other house, that — I think that

would be her initial sort of description about

what happened.

() Okay. Anything else that you re-

member?

A At some point we talked about the

photographic identification. Do you want me

to go into that?

@ Yeah.

App. 22

A Okay, I at some point — I don’t recall

when — J explained to her that she’s not in

any trouble, that no matter what she says,

none of this is her fault. Kids frequently

think that somehow when they get abused,

when they get sexually assaulted, that they

did something wrong, that it’s their fault. I

told her you didn’t do anything wrong, it’s

not your fault. I told her that whatever she

said, that as long as it was the truth, it didn’t

matter, she wasn’t going to get into any

trouble.

We would have had some conversation

about — to make sure that she understood

what it meant to tell the truth. In my mind -

she was a child. When I interview kids, I rate

them on © one to ten scale. On their ability to

communicate her biggest problem was that

she could communicate about portions of

things that had happened, but there were

areas that she was totally blank on. The best

example I can give of that is what I did in

closing argument was I broke up a record

album. You might be young enough that you

don’t know a record album, but I broke it and

I held up pieces. She was — it was like trying

to put a record album back together. There

were pieces that you could hear, but then

there would be spots missing. She came

across in that way.

She was afraid. I told her that nothing

was going to happen to her, that if she didn’t

remember something, it was okay. There

were no wrong answers. We talked about —- I]

App. 23

tried to get some information about the

stranger. She was really not very able to give

information other than stranger. I asked her

if she had seen photographs of which she

said and that the stranger was one of them. I

told her if she was guessing, that she didn’t

have to guess. If there was nobody there, she

could say that. There was no wrong answers.

And she told me that she identified the

stranger, that he was in a photographic line-

up, that nis picture had been on the wall in

the house. I think that’s the extent of how

the conversations would have gone. I don’t

believe that they got — as we progressed

through the conversations up to the trial, |

don’t believe that they got much more in

detail things.

() When you had a conversation with

her about what it meant to tell the truth,

what did you say to her?

A I asked here {sic} if she understood

that it was important that she tell the truth.

She said yes, and I said —I held up a pen or

something and I said if this was a yellow pen

and it was a black one (sic), would that be

the truth, and she said no, and Im giving

that example. That’s not the — I’m not citing

word for word. Im doing some sort of

description like that, some item. If I said it

was a black pen it would be the truth; yes. I

said what do you think would happen if you

told me that it was not the truth, like the

App. 24

black pen was yellow when it really wasn’t.

She said she would be in trouble, and I said

do you understand that if people tell you

what to say, it doesn’t matter, tell the truth.

If someone else has told you what to say in

the past — one of the tests that I use — and

again, I don’t want to mislead you. This is

general things that [ do. I can’t give you

specific word for word of what happened.

I give kids the example after they’re

done talking — I let them talk. I try not to

give them suggestions or say things to them.

At some point I will then say, well, what if

your mother told me that, an example, that

you were in a bathtub and these things

happened t« you. When kids tell me, oh,

yeah, I remember that, Pll go into that con-

versation with them. That’s not good. That

tells me that they’re very easily influenced

and that they’re probably not going to be a

very good witness. Other kids who are on the

other end and say if mom told you that, she’s

wrong, that’s not what happened, I know

that they’re going to be a good witness, and

we had conversations to that type of extent

because in my mind it’s important kids

understand they’re not going to be in trouble,

and that they don’t — there’s no one they

have to please I guess is the best way to put

it.

+ * +

A She was without any hesitation that

the stranger was in fact the person that she

identified which I knew to be, now know to

App. 25

be, McSherry. She was without any hesi-

tation about the description of the room. She

was very — had extreme difficulties in dis-

cussing the sex aspects of the crime. Those

are the areas that I know.

The victim herself corroborated in her deposition

the officers’ and Lamb’s recitations of her multiple

positive identifications of McSherry

@ (by counsel for the Defense) Were

you told that you didn’t have to pick out

anybody if the person wasn’t there?

A (the victim) Yes.

@ Were you then shown the _ photo-

graphs?

A Yes.

© Did you pick out somebody?

A Yes.

@ Okay. Now, as to that somebody, did

you ultimately pick that somebody out of the

live line-up?

A Yes.

@ And did you ultimately identify that

same somebody in a courtroom at a trial in

Long Beach?

A Yes.

@ Who was that somebody?

A Mr. McSherry.

App. 26

@ And is that the person that you

picked out on your own when you were first

shown the photographs?

A Yes.

@ And was that the same person you

identified in the courtroom?

A Yes.

@ And were you being honest at the

time on all three occasions?

A At the time, yeah.

@ When you picked out the photograph

of McSherry, did you honestly believe it was

McSherry who had done this to you?

A Can you say that again.

@ Yeah. When you first picked out the

picture of McSherry at a hospital, did you

believe at that time McSherry was the indi-

vidual who had done this to you?

[objection by counsel}

A Yes.

@ Your answer is yes?

A Yes.

@ When you told them at the live line-

up whether it was in the room or just outside

the room that it was McSherry, was that a

trutnful statement?

[objection by counsel]

App. 27

A Yes.

Q@ Yes?

A Yes.

Q@ And when you identified him in

court, was that a truthful statement?

A Yes.

@ And the “him” you identified in court

was who?

A McSherry.

As for Lamb’s acceptance at face value of the

police reports, he said this:

@ (by counsel for McSherry) And the

evidence that you have is the evidence that’s

given to you by the police officers in the case;

correct?

A (by Ken Lamb) No, because I inter-

view witnesses. It’s coming directly from the

witnesses.

McSherry’s counsel probed Lamb during his

deposition for evidence of bias against a suspect in a

sexual assault case. He found none.

() (by counsel for McSherry) And is the

ultimate goal to obtain a conviction within

those parameters?

A (by Ken Lamb) No.

Q What is the ultimate goal?

App. 28

A_ Is to examine the evidence in a fair

and equitable manner. It’s no — it’s just as

good if somebody who is accused of a crime

you determine isn’t guilty than it is that if

you have the evidence and you convict some-

body. I don’t believe a prosecutor or deputy

district attorney’s role is ever as if it’s a game

and you have to win. You win — if it turns out

<omebody is innocent, you win. If it turns out

somebody is guilty, then that’s an appro-

priate win, too.

@ That’s a pretty good job, you win no

matter what.

A That’s why I like it.

We also find it noteworthy that McSherry was

offered a DNA test by the prosecution before trial,

and he declined, preferring instead to go to trial with-

out delay. Lamb testified that he was willing to waive

time to allow the DNA test to be performed, but that

McSherry was not.

At the core of McSherry’s substantive constitu-

tional claims as well as his rejoinder to the issue of

causation is the assertion that the officers’ allegedly

improper conduct materially influenced the prose-

cutor’s decision to file charges against him and to

pursue a conviction. In this regard, McSherry relies

in large measure on (1) a discrepancy between the

victim’s initial description of her attacker and

McSherry, (2) allegedly flawed identification pro-

cedures used by Turley, and (3) what Turley said

about the victim’s incrimir “ting description of the

App. 29

interior of the house where she was assaulted, which

was at odds with the facts as well as denied by the

victim 14 years later. McSherry argues specifically

that “Lamb’s ‘independent investigation’ was tainted

by Defendant's fabricated evidence and unconstitu-

tionally suggestive interview procedures and tech-

niques.” This, of course, could be a valid claim — if

McSherry had facts to back it up. See Borunda ov.

Richmond, 885 F.2d 1384, 1390 (9th Cir. 1988);

Barlow v. Ground, 943 F.2d 1132, 1136-1137 (9th Cir.

1991).

We recognize that McSherry presented evidence

to support one of his contentions, notably that one of

the police officers may have fabricated evidence

against him. In support of that claim, McSherry

pointed in particular to the description of the interior

of his grandparents’ residence and argues that: 1) he

provided ‘Turley a detailed description of his grand-

parents’ house after he was arrested; 2) Turley in-

terviewed the victim the next day, then later

documented in his police report and also testified at

trial that the victim provided a detailed description of

the interior of the residence during that interview; 3)

the victim’s detailed description differed from her

initia) description but matched the grandparents’

residence; 4) after Turley searched the house, he

reported that the victim provided another description

with more matching details; 5) albeit fourteen years

after she was kidnaped, the victim denied giving the

descriptions that Turley documented and testified to;

and 6) because McSherry was exonerated of the

App. 30

crimes and another party confessed, the victim ob-

viously was never in the residence and could not have

provided such a detailed description.

But McSherry’s presentation fell short and failed

to raise a genuine issue of material fact as to whether

the alleged fabrication or any misconduct by Defen-

dants caused his arrest, prosecution, and conviction.

As described: above, there was probable cause to

justify McSherry’s arrest and prosecution. In addi-

tion, even examining the evidence in the light most

favorable to McSherry, the evidence presented before

the district court was simply insufficient to sustain a

finding that Lamb’s investigation and decision mak-

ing was not independent and was tainted by the

alleged fabrication of evidence. Again, we refer to

Lamb’s lengthy deposition where he was repeatedly

challenged on these issues.

@ (by counsel for McSherry) Do you

remember anything else other than what

you’ve told us about your independent con-

versation with [the victim]?

A (by Ken Lamb) I may have

mentioned it already, I don’t know, but my

telling her it was important to tell the truth.

Part of the interviewing of her was to eval-

uate whether or not she was a competent

witness and could actually communicate and

testify, so I was looking for that, and the only

other thing would be looking to see other

things that she was saying that were issues

that I call red flags I would have had to

address or deal with.

ele FARES HTM

Mee

Val ioht coriatet

App. 31

@ Do you remember anything else?

A No.

@ You stated here, “The evidence is

reviewed to ensure that there is not a bias or

unfair inference placed upon witnesses.”

What do you mean by that?

A When I’m looking at a case, I’m

trying to do a couple of things. Obviously if

there’s evidence that shows that somebody

didn’t commit the crime, I don’t want that

evidence to be ignored, and second, | need to

make sure that we have evidence that will

stand up in court, a jury will hear it and say,

yes, beyond a reasonable doubt I believe this

person cou.mitted this crime. In order to do

that I try to think and look for things that a

defense attorney representing somebody will

argue. Whether they’re, one, meritorious or

have any value doesn’t mean, with all re-

spect to the defense attorneys, that they’re

not going to still argue it, so if there’s some-

thing that even if it’s not there — example, if

a police officer says I saw this person drop a

gun, there may be no evidence that that

officer is lying, but the defense is going to

argue how can you trust the police officer’s

testimony, so you have to be alert for those

things, and in evaluating a case I’m looking

to see if there’s any indications or evidence

that a defense attorney is going to raise

questions about. In this case there was a

huge red flag immediately, and that was how

Mr. McSherry’s photograph was identified.

App. 32

@ When you say “The evidence is re-

viewed,” are you saying that this is what you

did with respect to Mr. McSherry’s case?

A Correct.

Q@ And when you say, “The evidence is

reviewed,” what evidence are you talking

about? Are you talking about the police re-

ports that are presented to you by the police

department?

A No, I’m talking about all of the — let’s

make sure we're talking about a time frame

here. Back then I’m talking about state-

ments by witnesses, physical evidence that

you have, statements by police officers, any

evidence that’s going to be presented in

court,

@ And when you look at this evidence

are you looking at the formal police reports,

are you looking at the officers’ notes, what

are you looking at?

A I’m looking at whatever I have which

would be police reports, statements of

witnesses, interviews with witnesses. or

victims, physical evidence, testing of physical

evidence and results of that, whatever evi-

dence | have that could find its way into

court.

Q@ And the evidence that you have ts the

evidence thats given to you by the police

unvestigators in the case; correct ¢

App. 33

A No, because when I interview wit-

nesses, it’s coming directly from the witnesses.

Q Other than your own independent

investigation?

A No, because it could come from crime

lab people, not police officers.

@ Other than that? Whatever investi-

gations the police officers have done and they

present it to you —

A Right.

Q — do you independently search for

any documents relating to that investigation

that they've done, or do you rely on the

documents that they give to you”?

A I’m sorry, I don’t understand the

distinction you’re trying to make.

Q Okay. Let’s say I’m an investigator

on {this} case.

A Right.

@ And I go to you and I say here, Mr.

Lamb, I want the charges filed and here are

the reports on this case, and | give you the

reports in this case. You then review those

reports and you make a determination. Do

you then say, well, do you have anything else

in connection with this case, do you have any

notes, do you have any other reports, do you

have something else that you haven't given

me?

App. 34

A Yes, and frequently

@ Did you do that in this case?

A Yes, and frequently direct them to do

other things.

@® And were you given what to your

satisfaction was all the reports that they had

in connection with the McSherry case?

A Yes.

Q@ Were you given all their handwritten

notes to your satisfaction?

A At Some point, yes

Q@ And did you review all those?

A Yes

@ Now you say here, “The photo line

ups and live line-ups were not misleading or

suggestive.” What photo line-ups are you

talking about?

A The photo that I refer to as the six

pack of McSherry.

@ Any other photo line-ups?

A There were | believe there were

some photo line-ups of the vehicle, and

possibly — well, I’m not positive there were

any of the house. I think it was just the

vehicle.

@ And what did you do to determine

that the photo let’s talk about them in

App. 35

terms of show-ups — that the photo show-ups

of the individuals were not suggestive?

A J looked at the photo line-ups.

@ And?

A They weren't suggestive.

And what criteria did you use to

determine that they weren’t suggestive?

A Well, for example, if you’re trying to

identify or eliminate an African-American

and you put his photo in with five male

Caucasians, that’s the argument and there’s

a distinction here again. Now we're talking

about what will happen in a trial versus the

reality aspect. The argument is that’s going

to be highly suggestive. ’'m not commenting

on whether that’s true or not true, but that’s

the argument.

( I’m sorry to interrupt you. Maybe

you didn’t understand my question. My ques-

tion is not a general question. My question is

vith respect to the six-pack in this case, in

the MeSherry case, what criteria did you use

to determine that that six-pack was not

suppestive?

A That’s what I’m explaining. I looked

at the photographs and made sure that if you

were showing somebody these photographs

without any knowledge of who they were

supposed to be looking for, would anybody be

picking a specific photograph for whatever

reasons. Did the officers tell me or write

App. 36

anything that suggested in any way that the

photographic line-up could be questioned.

For example, if someone showed me your

photograph by itself and they said is this the

person who was asking you questions in the

deposition, well, the answer would be yes,

but there still could be the argument of,

sec, that was suggestive because they only

showed one photograph. Doesn’t change that

il’s actually the truth, but that argument

could exist, so that’s what I mean by looking

at the photographs and determining that.

® Kut that didn’t exist in this case

because there were six photographs.

A Correct.

@ So we're not dealing with a single

photograph being shown.

A J understand.

() What was it about this particular

six-pack that lead you to believe that it was

not suggestive in any way?

A I didn’t see — if you didn’t know that

McSherry was involved in a case, I didn’t see

any photographs that if you showed it to

general people the consensus would be they

would be picking the same photograph be-

cause something stood out in that photo-

yvraph, nor did I have any information to lead

me to believe that contrary to — let’s assume

you get past that stage, that the photographs

are okay, that something else was occurring

that made people pick the same photograph.

App. 37

() What was the description that the

witnesses gave of the individual who had

kidnapped [the victim}?

A I don’t know exactly. 1 am aware that

it was not fitting of McSherry.

@ In your conversations with [the vic-

tim], were you aware of the description that

she had given of the individual?

A Yes.

() And were you aware that it didn’t fit

Mr. McSherry?

A Yes.

® And did you talk to [the victim]

about the difference between that description

and her identification of Mr. McSherry?

A I wouldn’t say it that way because it

would be too suggestive. I would say it more

on when you looked at the photographs, are

you certain that the person you picked was

the stranger.

( My question was did you talk to [the

victim| at all about her initial description of

the individual?

A No.

[freak in the deposition]

@ Mr. Lamb, we were talking before

the lunch break about Exhibit 1022 which

is your Rule 26 report, and in there you state

if you look at the paragraph that says

App. 38

“Information relied upon by the Expert,”

the last sentence you say, “The testimony of

witnesses was cross-checked with other in-

formation to ensure that there was corrob-

oration.” What other information are you

referring to?

A Witnesses corroborate other’ wit-

nesses, events that were corroborated by —

for example, [the victim’s] description of the

house. There was a house that had a room

with that description. Things like that.

@ Anything else that you mean by

that?

A Other than evidence corroborating

evidence and witnesses, no.

@® When you say “corroboration,” are

you talking about whether the testimony of

the witnesses corroborated cach other?

A Sure, that’s one way of corroboration.

@® What other — other than that, other

than testimony corroborating, what other

aspects of corroboration did you mean to

include with the word “information”?

A When |the victim’s| description of a

room where these events took place meets a

description of a room that’s found that fits

that description, that’s corroboration of her

testimony.

Q@ Did you ever talk to [the victim]

about the original description that she had

App. 39

given about the place where she had been

taken and raped?

A No. What I would ask her is what

. 3

can you tell me about the place. Now if that’s

asking her about her original description,

that would be, I guess, a yes, but I wouldn’t

tell her details, if that’s what you’re asking.

I’m not sure.

Q Well, you were aware that she had

originally given a description of the place to

where she had been taken; correct?

A Correct.

@ You were aware of that description;

correct?

A Correct.

( Did you ever ask her anything about

that original description that she gave?

A If there were issues that were

contradictory, I may have very well asked

her about it without giving her — letting her

give me the information first, and then say-

ing could it have been this or this instead, or

do you recall saying something like this to

somebody else.

Q Did you feel that there were any, as

you say, issues that were contradictory?

A Yes, I believe there were description

contradictions, but not that she was giving to

me, if that’s what you're asking.

App. 40

Q Well, ’m not sure I understand your

question. You say that you believe that there

were description contradictions?

A_ I believe that from the initial reports

the description of the suspect and the descrip-

tion of the location would be somewhat

contradictory to what she was now telling me.

@ And my question is did you attempt

to resolve those contradictions by asking her

questions concerning the contradictions?

A Yes.

@ And what did you ask her?

A | don’t recall.

@ How were the contradictions resolved

in your own mind?

A From talking to [the victim], the in-

formation that she was telling me I believed

over things that were in the reports.

Q@ Are you saying you did not believe

that she had originally given the description

contained in the reports?

A No, 'm saying that whether she gave

them then or didn’t give them, I didn’t be-

heve that they were accurate.

Q Why?

A Because I’m talking to [the victim]

and she’s telling me information.

@ Any other reason other than that?

App. 41

A Well, the information that she’s tell-

ing me is then corroborated by other infor-

mation.

Q Which is what?

A Robin Davis, her brother, the loca-

tion, the description of the location.

* > **k

Q Did you personally attempt to estab-

lish the veracity or credibility of any of the

reports that were prepared by police officers?

A Yes.

( How did you do that?

A By personally interviewing the wit-

nesses myself.

@ In interviewing the witnesses your-

self was your purpose to try to determine the

veracity of the police reports?

A I would phrase it differently because

it seems to imply that I had some question

about the veracity. I had nothing that lead

me to believe that there was a problem other

than I had to focus on the photo line-up

because of how — the uniqueness of it,

because of the way the person was selected,

being a filler, not having a reason why he

as in the line-up, but I would have been

examining those areas so that they would

not have been trial issue areas.

App. 42

© When you say “so that they would

not have been trial issue areas,” what do you

mean?

A Well, | want to make sure that when

a witness is on the stand and | say thinking

back to that day and that time and looking at

the defendant here, are you absolutely cer-

tain it’s that defendant, that their answer is

yes and that they weren’t influenced by

anybody to say yes, and that on the stand

they’re not going to be telling me things that

I should have known before they were

testifying.

(emphases added).

Against this record, McSherry has put forward

insufficient facts and evidence to proceed past sum-

mary judgment. The record is devoid of any informa-

tion, facts, or valid inferences that might undermine

the prosecutor’s testimony. In fact, the evidence —

including the victim’s continuing affirmation of her

identification of McSherry as her attacker — supports

Lamb’s deposition testimony. Accordingly, this case

is particularly distinguishable from Borunda and

Barlow where the prosecutors relied only on police

reports in making their decision to file charges. See

Borunda, 885 F.2d at 1390; Barlow, 943 F.2d at 1136-

37. In the words of Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. at 252, this case is manifestly so “one-sided”

that it need not be submitted to a jury.

McSherry argues also that Turley is liable for

his allegedly false trial testimony regarding the

App. 48

descriptions of the interior of the residence. This

claim is foreclosed by Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325,

326 (1983) (holding that police officers are immune

from liability under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for perjured

testimony).

3. Monell claims

Because McSherry has no case against the offi-

cers, and because he tenders no facts other than their

alleged personal misdeeds as evidence of a_ policy

statement, ordinance, regulation, decision, custom,

usage, or practice of either the City of Long Beach or

the Long Beach Police Department that caused his

injury, see Poppell, 149 F.3d at 970-71, his Monell

claim also fails as a matter of Jaw. City of Los Angeles

v. Heller, 475 U.S. 796, 799 (1986) (per curiam) (“If a

person has suffered no constitutional injury at the

hands of the individual police officer, the fact that the

departmental regulations might have authorized the

use of constitutionally excessive force is quite beside

the point.”); Scott v. Henrich, 39 F.3d 912, 916 (9th

Cir. 1994) (“While the lability of municipalities

“ McSherry relies on Harris v. Roderick, 126 F.3d 1189,

1198-99 (9th Cir. 1997) for the proposition that Turley is not

entitled to immunity because he initiated the prosecution. We do

not find this argument persuasive. Harris holds that if officers

“functionally served as complaining witnesses who may be said

to have initiated [the] prosecution they are not entitled to ab-

solute immunity for their false statements.” Jd. In Harris, unlike

the case at bar, there were no other complaining witnesses, only

the officers. Here, the victim served as the complaining witness.

App. 44

doesn’t turn on the liability of individual officers, it is

contingent on a violation of constitutional rights.”);

Jackson v. City of Bremerton, 268 F.3d 646, 653-654

(9th Cir. 2001) (“Neither a municipality nor a super-

visor ... can be held liable under § 1983 where no

injury or constitutional violation has occurred.”). This

case is distinguishable from cases such as Chew v.

Gates, 27 F.3d 1432, 1444 (9th Cir. 1994), where the

City of Los Angeles maintained an explicit policy

involving the use of biting police dogs, one of which

allegedly inflicted excessive force upon the plaintiff.

AFFIRMED.

App. 45

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LLEONARD MCSHERRY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v. No. 06-55837

CITY OF LONG BEACH; LONG BEACH D.C. No.

POLICE DEPARTMENT; NORMAN CV-02-03767-RGK

TURLEY, Officer; CARTHEL S.

ROBERSON, 1n his individual

and official capacities,

OPINION

Defendants-Appellees. |

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

R. Gary Klausner, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

February 14, 2008 — Pasadena, California

Filed March 30, 2009

Before: Stephen S. Trott, Richard RK. Clifton,

and Consuelo M. Callahan, Circuit Judges

Opinion by Judge Trott

COUNSEL

Mark A. Borenstein, Overland Borenstein Scheper &

Kim LLP, Los Angeles, California, for the plaintiff

appellant.

App. 46

Michael M. Mullins and Nowland C. Hong, Akerman

Senterfitt LLP, Los Angeles, California, for the

defendants-appellees.

OPINION

TROTT, Circuit Judge:

This case is before us for the second time.’ In this

appeal, Leonard McSherry appeals the district court’s

order granting summary judgment on the ground of

qualified immunity to the City of Long Beach (“City”),

Long Beach Police Department (“LBPD”), Officer

Norman Turley, and Sergeant Carthel S. Roberson.

The allegations in this case stem from a kidnaping,

rape, and molestation that occurred in Long Beach,

California, in March of 1988. After McSherry served

almost fourteen years in prison for these crimes, he

was exonerated by DNA evidence and a confession by

the actual perpetrator. McSherry then brought this

suil, alleging violations of his civil rights pursuant to

A2 U.S.C. § 1983

McSherry argues that Defendants violated his

civil rights by: 1) fabricating the victim’s descriptions

of the interior of the home where the rape occurred;

2) fabricating the victim’s identificalion of the ve

hicle used in the kidnaping; 3) coercing the victim’s

' The first decision, McSherry v. City of Long Beach, (“Mo

Sherry 1”), is reported at 423 F.3d 1015, 1016 (9th Cir. 2005). It

reviews in greater detail the facts leading to MecSherry’s arrest

and conviction

App 47

identification of McSherry as the perpetrator; 4) ig-

noring exculpatory evidence; and 5) arresting Mce-

Sherry without probable cause. We have jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, and we affirm in part,

reverse in part, vacate in part, and remand.

We conclude that genuine issues of material fact

exist as to whether Turley deliberately fabricated

evidence. See Devereaux v. Abbey, 263 F.3d 1070, 1076

(9th Cir. 2001) (en banc). Accordingly, we reverse and

remand this claim against Turley, but affirm the

district court with respect to all other claims against

him. Because the district court dismissed the Monell

v Dep't of Soc. Servs. of New York, 436 U.S. 658

(1978), claim against the City and LBPD only because

McSherry did not show a constitutional violation at

the hands of Turley or Roberson, and these defen-

dants did not assert any other ground for dismissal

on appeal, we vacate and remand the claim. We

affirm the district court's grant of summary judgment

to Roberson on all claims. We deny McSherry’s re

quest for reassignment to a different judge for the

reasons we articulated in McSherry ]

I

BACKGROUND

‘This appeal comes to us following remand to the

district court after we determined that the district

correct incorrectly granted judgment as a matter of

law to Defendants on the first day of the trial. Mi

Sherry 1, 423 F.3d at 1022. On remand, the district

App. 48

court granted summary judgment to Defendants

on the ground of qualified immunity. The district

court held that probable cause existed for McSherry’s

arrest. It further held that the fabrication of the

evidence claims against Defendants failed because: 1)

McSherry did not present “any evidence that Defen-

dants deliberately fabricated evidence, or acted in

any way that produced false information”; 2) District

Attorney Ken Lamb conducted an independent inves-

tigation of the evidence; and 3) McSherry “failed to

make or support any factual allegations of any fabri-

cation of evidence ... that were logically capable of

supporting” a claim that Turley used unconstitu-

tionally suggestive interview techniques. The district

court held also that the Monell claim against the City

and LBPD failed because McSherry did not show a

constitutional violation by either Roberson or Turley

The issues now before us arise out of the fol-

lowing facts. In March of 1988, the six-year-old victim

was kidnaped from a playground on a Navy Base in

California. The perpetrator raped and molested her

before releasing her several hours later. According

to police reports, the victim and her four-year-old

brother, a witness to the kidnaping, both provided

descriptions of the suspect to the police. Several

weeks later, Turley showed both children a photo

lineup separately, and both identified MeSherry as

the perpetrator. Turley’s police reports indicate that

he showed the victim and her brother photos of cars,

Both selected a yellow Mazda station wagon belong-

ing to McSherry’s fother, identifying it as the vehicle

App 49

used in the abduction. After MecSherry’s arrest, an

adult witness, Kobin Davis, picked McSherry out of a

lineup, identifying him as a person she had seen in

the area on the day of the kidnaping.

McSherry was arrested for the crime on May 17,

198%. According to police reports, Turley and Rober-

son interrogated McSherry, and he provided a de-

tailed description of the interior of his grandparents’

residence. On May 1%, the day after MeSherry’s

arrest, ‘Turley and Navy Investigative Officer Tammy

Warmack interviewed the victim to obtain a descrip

tion of the place she had be-n taken. Turley’s report

documenting this interview states that the victim

picked McSherry’s grandparents’ home out of a photo

lineup, identifying it as the place McSherry had

taken her. The report lists specific details allegedly

provided by the victim about the room where she had

been raped, including: descriptions of 1) a picture of

the kidnapper on the wall; 2) a small brown television

sitting on a pray dresser; 3) a small, possibly twin

size bed, with blue sheets and a white blanket; 4) a

black chair; and 5) a mirror alongside the door.

Qn May 19, Turley and Warmack served a search

warrant at McSherry’s grandparents’ house. Turley’s

subsequent police report states that the victim’s

description provided on May 18, matched a bedroom

in the residence. Furthermore, according to the re-

port, while executing the warrant officers noticed a

bird in the livingroom area and a barking dog in the

backyard

App. 50

On May 24, following the execution of the search

warrant, Turley and Warmack re-interviewed the vic-

tim to determine if she could provide a more detailed

description of the location where she was taken.

During ** | interview, the officers asked if she had

heard or seen any animals at the place she was

taken. According to Turley’s report, the victim said

she heard a bird. Turley asked her several] other

questions regarding the interior of the house, and the

victim’s responses matched details of the interior of

the residence. Specifically, according to Turley, the

victim gave the following additional details: 1) the

room had one door that folded up and one door that

swung open; 2) the mirror was big and round; 3) the

picture of the kidnapper was round and hanging on

the same wall where the television was located; and

4) the room had a window with a seat.”

Turley testified at trial, again attributing the

descriptions of the interior of the residence to the

victim. Also at trial, the victim and Davis identified

McSherry as the perpetrator. Medical evidence indi-

‘ated that McSherry was a possible donor of the

semen taken from the victim’s underwear.

“ According to Turley’s report, although the victim said also

that there was a white push button phone in the bedroom, offi-

cers only observed a black rotary phone in the room. Turley

stated in his report that the investigators believed the victim

may have been remembering the phone in the house where the

kidnapper released her.

App. 5]

Following the trial, McSherry was convicted of

the crimes. In December of 2001, nearly fourteen years

into his forty-eight-year to life sentence, McSherry

was exonerated by DNA evidence. The DNA revealed

that George Valdespino had committed the crime.

aldespino later confessed

Ij

STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review de novo a district court’s grant of sum-

mary judgment on the ground of qualified immunity.

Blankenhorn v. City of Orange, 485 F.3d 463, 470 (9th

Cir. 2007). “We may not affirm a grant of summary

judgment if there is any genuine issue of material

fact or the district court incorrectly applhed the sub-

stantive law.” Id. All justifiable inferences are to be

drawn in favor of the non-moving party and his evi-

dence is to be beheved. Id.

IT]

DISCUSSION

“Qualified immunity is ‘an entitlement not to

stand trial or face the other burdens of litigation.”

Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 200 (200]) (quoting

Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 526 (1985)). Quali-

fied immunity is a two-part test. We must determine

whether, taken in the light most favorable to McSherry,

Defendants’ conduct amounted to a constitutional

violation, and, if so, we must determine whether or

App. 52

not the right was clearly established at the time of

the violation. Jd. at 201 We may address the prongs

in the sequence we see fit. Pearson v. Callahan,

U.S.___, 129 S.Ct. 808, 818 (2009).

A. Fabrication of Evidence

1. Turley

In support of his claim that officers deliberately

jabricated evidence, McSherry points in particular to

the description of the interior of his grandparents’

residence and argues that: 1) he provided Turley a

detailed description of his grandparents’ house after

he was arrested; 2) Turley interviewed the victim the

next day, then later documented in his police report

and also testified at trial that the victim provided a

detailed description of the interior of the residence

during that interview; 3) the victim’s detailed descrip-

tion differed from her imitial description but matched

the grandparents’ residence; 4) after Turley searched

the house, he reported that the victim provided

another description with more matching details, 5)

fourteen years after she was kidnaped, the victim

denied giving the descriptions that Turley docu-

mented and testified to; ana 6) because McSherry was

exonerated of the crimes and another party confessed,

the victim obviously was never in the residence and

could not have provided such a detailed description.

The victim’s deposition creates a genuine issue of

material fact as to whether Turley fabricated evi-

dence. She denied prowiding the detailed description

App. 53

of the residence ascribed to her by Turley. Specifically,

the victim said she did not tell police there was a

picture on the wall because there was not one. She

also denied telling the police that there were blue

sheets and a white blanket on the bed. When asked

whether she had told police that there was a folded

up door in the room where she was taken, she said

“No. There was no way that a five-year-old can actu-

ally remember everything in the house. I mean that’s

too much for a five-year-old. There’s no way. That’s

too much information in a house for a five-year-old to

describe.” She denied also telling police that there

was a window seat, that she heard a bird, or that

there was a circular mirror. That Turley included tha

information, attributed to the victim, in his reports

means there are genuine issues of material fact as to

whether Turley fabricated the descriptions. Credi-

bility is an issue for the trier of fact.

As a result, Turley is not entitled to qualified

immunity. If the evidence was fabricated, Turley vio-

lated McSherry’s “clearly established constituticnal

due process right not to be subjected to criminal

charges on the basis of false evidence that was delib-

erately fabricated by the government.” Devereaux,

263 F.3d at 1074-75. Consequently, we reverse the

judgment of the district court as to this claim that

Turley deliberately fabricated evidence. At trial, Mc-

Sherry may support his deliberate fabrication claim

with evidence that Turley “used investigative tech-

niques that were so coercive and abusive that [he]

knew or should have known that those techniques

App. 54

weuld yield false information.” id. at 1076. McSherry

may present direct or circumstantial evidence, in-

cluding evidence about identifications of McSherry by

the victim, the victim’s brother, and an adult witness,

and identifications of McSherry’s father’s car by the

victim and the victim’s brother.

McSherry argues also that Turley is liable for his

allegedly false trial testimony regarding the descrip-

tions of the interior of the residence. This claim is

foreclosed by Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325, 326

(1983) (holding that police officers are immune from

liability under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for perjured testi-

mony).

2. Roberson

We hold that no genuine issue of material fact

exists as to whether Roberson fabricated evidence.

There are no police reports by Roberson in the record

attributing the allegedly fabricated descriptions of

the interior of the residence to the victim. Roberson

* McSherry relies on Iarris v. Roderick, 126 F.3d 1189,

1198-99 (9th Cir. 1997) for the proposition that Turley is not

entitled to immunity because he initiated the prosecution. We do

not find this argument persuasive. Harris holds that if officers

“functionally served as complaining witnesses who may be said

to have initiated [the] prosecution they are not entitled to

absolute immunity for their false statements.” 126 F.3d at 1199

In Harris, unlike the case at bar, there were no other com-

plaining witnesses, only the officers. Here, the victim served as

the complaining witness.

App. 55

did not participate in the interviews with the victim,

nor did he participate in serving the search warrant

at the residence. Furthermore, nothing in the victim’s

deposition testimony indicates that Roberson attrib-

uted fabricated descriptions of the residence to her.

3. Monell Claim against the City

Under the Monell doctrine, McSherry may re

cover from the City and LBPD if his injury was in-

flicted pursuant to city policy, regulation, custom, or

usage. See Monell, 486 U.S. at 690-91, 694. The

district court dismissed the claims against the City

and LBPD only because McSherry did not show a

constitutional violation at the hand of Turley or

Roberson, and the City and LBPD did not present

any other argument in support of the judgment in

favor of the City and LBPD. Based on our deter

mination that there is a genuine issue of material fact

as to whether Turley committed a constitutional vio-

lation, and because the defendants have not asserted

any other ground for dismissal on appeal, we vacate

and remand the Monell claim against the City and

LBPD.

B. Exculpatory Evidence

McSherry argues also that Defendants violated

the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment by ignoring exculpatory evidence. “A_ police

officer’s failure to preserve or collect potential excul-

patory evidence does not violate the Due Process

—— ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee Oe ee Se ee ee ee ee ee eee ee ee Cee ee ee ee ee ae ee

App. 56

Clause unless the officer acted in bad faith.” Cun-

ningham v. City of Wenatchee, 345 F.3d 802, 812 (9th

Cir. 2003).

McSherry claims that Defendants acted in bad

faith when they ignored: 1) Valdespino’s arrest for a

crime similar to the victim’s abduction one week later

in a nearby county; 2) the fact that initial identi-

fication statements by Davis, the victim, and the

victim’s brother did not resemble McSherry; and 3)

the possibility that Davis’s identification was influ-

enced by a newspaper photograph of McSherry. These

claims fail. First, McSherry does not offer any evi-

dence that in 1988 Defendants knew that Valdespino

was arrested in a nearby county for a similar crime.

Absent such a showing, there is no evidence of bad

faith.

Second, as to the descriptions given by the

children, Defendants “must be given some latitude in

determining when to credit witnesses’ denials and

when to discount them, and we are not aware of any

federal law ... that indicates precisely where the line

must be drawn.” Devereaux, 263 F.3d at 1075. Defen-

dants do not dispute that McSherry did not resemble

the imitial descriptions given by the two children,

however, nothing in the record shows that Defen-

dants acted in bad faith by relying on the children’s

photo lineup identification of McSherry rather than

their initial descriptions.

Third, with respect to Davis’ identification of

McSherry in a photo lineup, McSherry argues that

App. 57

Davis was shown a photo lineup after McSherry’s pic-

ture appeared in the paper, implying that she chose

him because she recognized him from the newspaper

photo. This evidence does not prove bad faith because

we

McSherry must “‘put forward specific, nonconclusory

factual allegations’ that establish improper motive.”

Jeffers v. Gomez, 267 F.3d 895, 907 (9th Cir. 2001)

(per curiam) (quoting Crawford-El v. Britton, 523

U.S. 574, 598 (1998)). McSherry does not offer any

evidence that Davis ever saw the picture nor that she

based her subsequent identification on that picture.

Furthermore, because Davis selected McSherry’s pic-

ture from the lineup, we do not find bad faith on the

part of Defendants in relying on this identification

rather than her initial description.

‘

> Probable Cause

McSherry claims that Defendants had no prob-

able cause to arrest him because they: 1) fabricated

evidence; 2) used suggestive interview techniques;

3) manipulated or coerced witnesses; and 4) disre-

garded exculpatory evidence. “Probable cause arises

when an officer has knowledge based on reasonably

trustworthy information that the person arrested has

committed a criminal offense.” Gausvik v. Perez, 345

I. 3d 818, 818 (9th Cir. 2003) (citing Beck v. Ohio, 379

U.S. 89, 91 (1964)).

We have already determined that there are no

genuine issues of material fact as to whether Defen-

dants used improper interview techniques or ignored

App. 58

exculpatory evidence. Even if the description of the

interior of the residence was fabricated, Defendants

had probable cause for the arrest. Here, the victim

and her brother identified McSherry as the perpe-

trator and his father’s car as the vehicle used to per-

petrate the crime. Medical evidence indicated that

semen taken from the victim’s underwear could be-

long to McSherry. We hold that these facts estab-

lished probable cause for the arrest. See id.

D. Independent Investigation by District Attor-

ney Lamb

Defendants argue that they cannot be held liable

for any damages McSherry suffered after the district

attorney filed charges against him. We disagree.

“|W Jhere police officers do not act maliciously or with

reckless disregard for the rights of an arrested per-

son, they are not liable for damages suffered by the

arrested person after a district attorney files charges

unless the presumption of independent judgment by

the district attorney is rebutted.” Smiddy v. Varney,

665 F.2d 261, 267 (9th Cir. 1981). The presumption

may be rebutted if McSherry met his burden of show-

ing that “officers knowingly withheld relevant infor-

mation with the intent to harm [him], or that the

officers knowingly supplied false information.” Smiddy

v. Varney, 803 F.2d 1469, 1471 (9th Cir. 1986).

In this case, the presumption may be rebutted

because, if Turley fabricated evidence regarding the

victim’s description of the interior of the residence, he

App. 59

knowingly supplied false information to Lamb. We

hold that the investigation and filing of charges by

District Attorney Lamb does not insulate Defendants

from hability.

IV

CONCLUSION

Because genuine issues of material fact exist as

to whether ‘Turley fabricated evidence, we reverse the

grant of summary judgment as to Turley on this claim

and vacate and remand the grant of summary judg-

ment on the Monell claim against the City and LBPD.

We affirm the district court’s grant of summary

judgment to Roberson on all claims, and to Turley, the

City, and LBPD on all remaining claims.

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in part, VA-

CATED in part, and REMANDED.

The parties shall bear their own costs of this

appeal.

App. 60

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

LEONARD McSHERRY, ) CASE NO.

Plaintiff CV 02-3767 RGK

(MANx)

JUDGMENT

(Filed May 81, 2006)

Va

)

)

)

CITY OF LONG BEACH, ©?

LONG BEACH POLICE

DEPARTMENT, in his )

individual and official

capacities, SERGEANT

CARTHEL S. ROBERSON, ?

in his individual and official ’

capacities, and DOES 2

through 10, inclusive, :

)

Defendants.

TO ALL PARTIES AND THEIR COUNSEL OF

RECORD:

The Motion for Summary Judgment (“Motion”)

by Defendants City of Long Beach (“City”), Long

Beach Police Department (““LBPD”), Officer Norman

Turley (“Turley”), and Sergeant Carthe! S. Roberson

(“Roberson”) (collectively “Defendants”) was taken

under submission by the Honorable R. Gary Klaus-

ner, District Judge Presiding. The Court, after fully

considering the issues and evidence presented by the

Motion, including all written argument and other

paper in support and in opposition thereto, rendered

decision granting summary judgment in favor of

App. 6]

Defendants and against Plaintiff Leonard McSherry

(“McSherry )

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED AND AD

JUDGED that judgment in this action is entered in

favor of Defendants Turley and Roberson on the basis

of qualified immunity and all other individual claims

against Turley and Roberson are dismissed. The

municipal liability claims against City and LBPD are

dismissed as pendant to the individual liability claims

Plaintiff McSherry take nothing, that the action be

dismissed with prejudice, on the merits, and Defen

dants may apnly to recover their costs by Application

to the Clerk Court

DATED: } "26, 2006

Gary Klausner

R. Gary Klausner, Judge

United States District Court

App. 62

P-SEND, CLOSED

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

AMENDED CIVIL MINUTES - GENERAL

Case No. CV 02-3767-RGK (MANx)

Date May 15, 2006

Title LEONARD McSHERRY v.

CITY OF LONG BEACH, et al.

Present: The Honorable R. GARY KLAUSNER,

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

Sharon L. Williams Not Reported N/A

Deputy Clerk Court Reporter Tape No

Recorder

Attorneys Present for Plaintiffs: Not Present

Attorneys Present for Defendants: Not Present

Proceedings: (IN; CHAMBERS) PLAINTIFF'S

MOTION TO CONTINUE TRIAL

DATE (DE 214); DEFENDANTS’

MOTION ©rOR SUMMARY JUDG.-

MENT (DE 216)

lL INPRODUCTION

Plaintil! Leonard McSherry (“McSherry”), brings

this civil rights action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against

multiple Defendants: the City of Long Beach (“City”),

Long Beach Police Department (“LBPD”"), Officer

Norman Turley (“Turley”), and Sergeant Carthel S

App. 63

Reberson (“Roberson”) (collectively “Defendants”).

McSherry alleges that Defendants’ improper investi-

gative practices and policies violated his Fourth,

Fifth, and Fourteenth Amendment rights which led to

his conviction for child molestation.

The following facts are undisputed, unless other-

wise stated:

On March 11, 1988, six year-old Candice Birr

(“Candice”) was abducted from a playground near her

home in Long Beach, California and raped. Her ab-

duction was witnessed by her four year-old brother,

Matthew Birr (“Matthew”) and Robin Davis (“Robin”),

a neighbor who reportedly saw a suspicious looking

man driving in unfamiliar green pick-up truck in the

area on the day of the abduction. On May 17, 1988,

McSherry was arrested at his grandparents’ home for

the kidnaping and rape of Candice.

Shortly after McSherry’s arrest, Defendants Tur-

ley and Roberson interrogated McSherry, who pro-

vided a detailed description of the bedroom where the

alleged rape occurred. Turley interviewed Candice the

following day to obtain a description of the place to

which she had been taken. Candice provided Turley

with specific details of the interior, including the color

of the sheets on the bed, and a description of a photo-

graph hanging on the wall. The description conformed

to the interior of the bedroom in McSherry’s grand-

parents’ house. Candice also identified McSherry’s

grandparents’ house from an array of photographs.

App 64

Turley served a search warrant on McSherry’s grand-

parents’ house the following day. McSherry argues

that in her next interview, Candice added more de-

tails to her description of the interior of the house,

including the shape of the mirror, the location of a

photograph, and the sound of a bird in the next room.

During the course of the investigation, McSherry was

positively identified as the perpetrator by Candice,

Matthew, and Robin in separate photographic show-

ups, live line-ups, and in-court identifications. Can-

dice and Matthew also identified McSherry’s father’s

small yellow Mazda station wagon as the vehicle used

in the kidnaping.

In December 2001, McSherry had served nearly

fourteen years of a 48-year to life prison sentence

before his conviction was overturned based on sub-

sequent DNA analysis. The DNA matched that of

George Valdespino, who later confessed in December

2001 that in 1988 he had kidnaped a girl in Long

Beach in a green Ford Ranchero and molested her in

a motel room

On May 8, 2002, McSherry filed a Complaint

against City, LBPD, and Turley, and subsequently

filed a First Amended Complaint (“FAC”) on March

21, 2003 to add Roberson as a defendant, alleging

the following claims pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983:

(1) Fourteenth Amendment due process claim against

Turley and Roberson for unconstitutional interview

procedures; (2) Fourth and Fourteenth Amendment

claim against Turley and Roberson for false arrest;

(3) unconstitutional identification techniques against

App. 65

City and LBPD; (4) failure to train and supervise

against City and LBPD; (5) negligent hiring and re-

tention against City and LBPD; and (6) supervisory

liability against Roberson and LBPD.

On October 21, 2003, just prior to the commence-

ment of trial, Defendants filed a Motion for Judgment

as a Matter of Law under Federal Rule of Civil Proce-

dure 50 (“Rule 50”) on the basis of qualified immu-

nity. The Court heard oral argument on the first day

of trial, and on November 13, 2003, the Court granted

Defendants’ Rule 50 Motion.

On November 18, 2003, McSherry filed an appeal

to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit. In its appeal, McSherry argued that dismissal

was improper under Rule 50. Defendants, however,

maintained that their motion was proper under Rule

50(a)(2), permitting motions “at any time before sub-

mission of the case to the jury.”

The Ninth Circuit rejected Defendants’ interpre-

tation, and held that the use of Rule 50 at the outset

of trial, prior to the presentation of any evidence is

not supported by the language of the rule, the advi-

sory committee’s notes to the 1991 Amendments, or

caselaw. Specifically, the Ninth Circuit concluded that

the advisory committee’s notes made clear that a

court may not grant a Rule 50 motion before a party

has presented evidence in the case, emphasizing that

Rule 50(a)(2) clearly sets forth the requirement that a

party be “fully heard” on an issue prior to the grant of

a Rule 50 motion. While “early action” is permissible

App. 66

under Rule 50, the Ninth Circuit further stated that

in the present case, it was “too early: McSherry was

not afforded an opportunity to present evidence bear-

ing on the issue of qualified immunity, nor was he

‘apprised of the materiality of the dispositive fact.’”

Accordingly, on January 18, 2006, the Ninth Circuit

issued a Mandate vacating and remanding the No-

vember 13, 2003 Order.

On March 27, 2006, Defendants filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment, which is presently before the

Court. For the reasons stated below, the Court grants

Defendants’ Motion.

Il. JUDICIAL STANDARD

Summary judgment is proper only where “the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if

any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

a judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

Upon such a showing, the Court may grant summary

judgment as to “all or any part thereof.” Fed. R. Civ.

af 56(a), (b).

To prevail on a summary judgment motion, the

moving party must show there are no triable issues of

fact as to matters upon which it has the burden of

proof at trial. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.

317, 325 (1986). On issues where the moving party

does not have the burden of proof at trial, the mov-

ing party is required only to show that there is an

App. 67

absence of evidence to support the nonmoving party’s

case. Id. at 326.

To defeat a summary judgment, the non-moving

party may not merely rely on its pleadings or on con-

clusory statements. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e). Nor may

the non-moving party merely attack or discredit the

moving party’s evidence. Nat'l Union Fire Ins. Co. v.

Argonaut Ins. Co., 701 F.2d 95, 97 (9th Cir. 1983). The

non-moving party must affirmatively present specific

admissible evidence sufficient to create a genuine is-

sue of material fact for trial. See Celotex Corp ov.

Catrett, 477 U.S. at 324.

III. DISCUSSION

A. Qualified Immunity Is Warranted

Generally, the actions of government officials are

protected from civil liability under the doctrine of

qualified immunity. Camarillo v. McCarthy, 998 F.2d

638, 639 (9th Cir. 1993) (citing Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982)). When a public official as-

serts qualified immunity from liability in a Section

1983 action, the Court must determine whether, in

light of clearly established principles governing the

conduct in question, the official objectively could

have believed that his conduct was lawful. Act Up!/

Portland v. Bagley, 988 F.2d 868, 871 (9th Cir. 1993)

(citing Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 64]

(1987)). The Court must determine whether officials

acted reasonably under settled law in the circum-

stances, not whether another reasonable approach

App. 68

can be invented after the fact. Hemphill v. Kincheloe,

987 F.2d 589, 591-92 (9th Cir. 1993).

The Supreme Court has instructed that qualified

immunity shields officers from § 1983 actions where a

reasonable officer could conclude, even if he is mis-

taken, that probable cause is present. See Hunter uv.

Bryant, 502 U.S. 224, 227 (1991). Moreover, the quali-

fied immunity doctrine “gives ample room for mis-

taken judgments by protecting all but the plainly

incompetent or those who knowingly violate the law.”

Id. at 229. Because qualified immunity is “an entitle-

ment not to stand trial” rather than a defense to

liability, it is important to resolve immunity questions

at the earliest possible stage of litigation. Saucier v.

Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 201 (2001). If a reasonable official

could have believed that his actions were lawful, sum-

mary judgment on the basis of qualified immunity is

appropriate. Hemphill, 987 F.2d at 598.

This Court finds that even though modern DNA

analysis revealed that another suspect, George Val-

despino, committed the crime against Candice, De-

fendants had probable cause to arrest and charge

McSherry because McSherry was positively identified

as the culprit by several eyewitnesses supported by

corroborating evidence. Candice identified McSherry

twice prior to his arrest in a photo showup and later

in a live lineup. Matthew and neighbor Robin also

positively identified McSherry in a photo showup and

live lineup. In addition, Candice and Matthew selected

from an array of photographs, McSherry’s father’s

small yellow Mazda station wagon as the car used in

App. 69

the kidnaping. It is undisputed that McSherry had

been seen driving the vehicle. Corroborating evidence

from the Los Angeles County Sheriff ’s crime lab fur-

ther concluded that McSherry was a possible donor of

the semen taken from Candice’s rape kit. Thus, based

on the totality of the evidence, Defendants had prob-

able cause to arrest and charge McSherry.

B. Deliberate Fabrication of Evidence

McSherry argues that because it is uncontro-

verted that Candice was never inside McSherry’s

grandparents’ house, Turley’s testimony at trial relat-

ing to Candice’s alleged description of the interior of

the grandparents’ house was deliberately fabricated.

To prove this claim, McSherry “must, at a minimum,

point to evidence that ... Defendants continued their

investigation ... despite the fact that they knew or

should have known that he was innocent” or that “De-

fendants used investigative techniques that were so

coercive and abusive that they knew or should have

known that those techniques would yield false in-

formation. Devereaux v. Abbey, 263 F.3d 1070, 1076

(9th Cir. 2001) (en banc). This claim fails because

McSherry has not adduced or presented any evidence

that Defendants deliberately fabricated evidence, or

acted in a way that produced false information.

McSherry was charged for the crime based on an

independent investigation of the evidence by District

Attorney Ken Lamb. McSherry was later convicted on

App. 70

the basis of the testimony and in-court identifications

by Candice, Matthew, Robin, and Turley’s testimony

about Candice’s identification and description of

McSherry’s grandparents’ house. In light of the to-

tality of the circumstances, there is no evidence

that Defendants knew or should have known that

McSherry was innocent.

Moreover, McSherry specifically argues that Tur-

ley employed unconstitutionally suggestive procedures

to cause Candice and Matthew to identify McSherry

and McSherry’s father’s yellow Mazda during the

photographic show-ups. However, mere allegations

and inferences that Defendants used interviewing

techniques that were in some sense improper does not

give rise to a due process claim under Section 1983.

There is no constitutional due process right to have

child witnesses in a sexual abuse case be interviewed

in any “particular manner, or to have the investi-

gation carried out in a particular way.” Devereaux,

263 F.3d at 1075. Interviewers of child witnesses in

sexual abuse investigation “must be given some lati-

tude in determining when to credit witnesses’ denials

and when to discount them.” /d. Thus, suggestive

interviewing methods, even if it “violated state regu-

lations, without more, cannot serve as the basis for a

claim under § 1983. Jd. McSherry has failed to make

or support any factual allegations of any fabrication

of evidence against Defendants that were logically

capable of supporting such a claim.

App. 71

C. Monell Liability for the City and the

LBPD

McSherry brings § 1983 claims against City and

LBPD under Monell v. Dep't. of Soc. Serus., 436 U.S.

658 (1978), alleging that City and LBPD maintained

policies or practices that included failure to train or

supervise officers on investigation procedures, and

reckless retention or assignment of officers. The

Monell claim against City and LBPD fails because

McSherry has not shown a constitutional violation

at the hand of Turley or Roberson. See City of Los

Angeles v. Heller, 475 U.S. 796, 799 (1986); see also

Larez v. City of Los Angeles, 946 F.2d 630, 646 (9th

Cir. 1991) (holding that a governmental officer or

entity can be found liable in an official capacity “only

if policy or custom or a one-time decision by a govern-

mentally authorized decision-maker ... played a part

in the violation of federal law.”)

D. McSherry’s Motion to Continue Trial

In light of the Court’s granting of Defendants’

Motion for Summary Judgment, McSherry’s Motion

to Continue Trial is deemed as moot.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Defendants Turley and

Roberson’s Motion for Summary Judgment on the

basis of qualified immunity is hereby granted and all

other individual claims against Turley and Roberson

are dismissed. The municipal liability claims against

App. 72

City and LBPD are dismissed as pendant to the 1

dividual liability claims.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Initials of Preparer

App. 73

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LEONARD MCSHERRY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

No. 06-55837

'D.¢ ». No.

: CV-02-03767-RGK

|

j

ee | |

CITY OF LONG BEACH, |7entral District of

LONG BEACH POLICE | ‘alifornia, Los Angeles

DEPARTMENT; NORMAN |ORDER

TURLEY: CARTHELS

ROBERSON, in his

individual and official

(Filed Jan. 20, 2010)

capacities,

Defendants-Appellee:

Before: TROTT, CLIFTON and CALLAHAN, Circuit

Judge:

The panel as constituted above has voted to deny

the petition for rehearing. Judges Clifton and Calla

han have voted to deny the petition for rehearing en

banc and Judge Trott so recommend:

The full court has been advised of the suggestion

for rehearing en banc and no judge of the court ha:

reques ted a vote on it. Fed. R App P. 35(b

The petition for rehearing and the petition for

rehearing en banc are DENIED

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.