Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bapte v. West Caribbean Airways

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supresne Court US.

_——————— 991199 MAR 30 2010

Jn The OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

+

SYLVIA BAPTE, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

WEST CARIBBEAN AIRWAYS, NEWVAC

CORPORATION, GO 2 GALAXY, INC., JACQUES

CIMETIER, and ASEGURADORA COLSEGUROS,

Respondents.

Se ee

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

$——— —— ————— —— ——____

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

JORGE A. DUARTE*

ANDREW T. TRAILOR

JORGE A. DUARTE, P.A.

5975 Sunset Drive, Suite 601

Miami, Florida 33143

(305) 358-2400

jorgeaduartepa@hotmail.com

Attorneys for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The 1999 Montreal Convention is an interna-

tional treaty that has been ratified by the United

States. It amended important provisions of the War-

saw Convention concerning compensation for the

victims of air disasters while maintaining the core

provisions which have successfully served the inter-

national air transport community for several decades

(i.e. the “Warsaw System”). The Montreal Convention

modernized a number of key areas. The inclusion of

the procedural device of forum non conveniens was

not one of the modernizations adopted by the member

states at the 1999 Montreal Convention when it was

specifically rejected. The jurisdictional provisions of

the Montreal Convention allow Plaintiffs to select

where to file their actions. Petitioners in the instant

are French citizens of Martinique who brought suit

against Respondent Newvac in a District Court in

Florida (where Newvac’s home offices are located)

following an air disaster. To avoid an Amcrican jury,

Respondent Newvac moved to dismiss the case to

Martinique on forum non conveniens grounds and

offered to confess to lability and pay reduced dam-

ages in Martinique under French law if a forum non

conveniens dismissal was granted. Over objection, the

District Court accepted Newvac’s confession of lia-

bility and then performed an incomplete forum non

conveniens analysis only as to the remaining damage

issues in the case which resulted in the dismissal of

the action to Martinique. The questions presented

here are:

1]

QUESTIONS PRESENTED -— Continued

1. Did the District Court err in applying forum non

conveniens to the Montreal Convention claims brought

by Petitioners when Petitioners are given the express

right to select jurisdiction under the treaty?

2. Did the District Court err in allowing Newvac to

confess to liability only to then apply a forum non

conventens venue analysis, limited only to damage

claims, which resulted in dismissal to Martinique?

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners:

Petitioners are the representatives of 102 of the

152 passengers who perished in the crash of Flight

708 on August 16, 2005. Each Petitioner is a natural

person and resident of the Republic of France, De-

partment of Martinique. The List of Parties are con-

tained in a separate letter filed with the Court.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESEN TEED o..cccsscscevcccsccccsrscsssenes i

ae Pe ee Si hacax ks venue acsindesasesssaxdasdetivaceioeae iil

Re Ee Te Me ams Ne iiev sco insta tapsndcesdousesess iV

ge YOR Ge) we ayy) 8. ly y |: > nnn vil

See IE I II is oa otk n sss sa hesepsk sans ca vaseanncanaxes 1

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THIS COURT... 1

TREATIES AND STATUTES INVOLVED .......... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..............cccccccccescscee: 3

ARGUMENT FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....... 6

I. This Court should grant certiorari to re-

solve not only conflict with decisions be-

tween the Districts but also conflict with

prior decisions of the United States Su-

MI I visas ddd eke eared ena 6

A. The Eleventh Circuit’s application of

the forum non conveniens doctrine to

dismiss claims brought under the

Montreal Convention when the treaty

specifically requires that an action

for damages ‘must be brought, at the

option of the plaintiff, in the territory

of one of the States Parties’ is in con-

flict with the Ninth Circuit Decision

in Hosaka v. United Airlines, 305 F.3d

ER CEES SIU, isi cvsckc ccs dsscescscsarrecen 6

V

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

B. The Eleventh Circuit failed to follow

Sinochem Int’l Co. Ltd. v. Malaysia

Int'l Shipping Corp., 549 U.S. 422

(2007) and Ruhrgas AG v. Marathon

Oil Co., 526 U.S. 574, 585 (1999)

when it accepted a domestic Defen-

dant’s confession of liability provided

it was dismissed on forum non con-

ventens grounds which resulted in

dismissal to a foreign tribunal for

only a damage determination.............. 11

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit Denying Petitioner’s

Appeal in the matter of Sylvia Bapte, et al. v.

West Caribbean Airways, et al., United

States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit Court Case No. 07-15830 ..... eyeeavaeatae App. l

Order of Clarification of Order of Dismissal for

Forum Non Conveniens in the matter of In

Re: West Caribbean Airways, 8.A., United

States District Court Southern District of

Florida Case No. 06-22748-UNGARO........... App. 21

Order of Dismissal for Forum Non Conveniens

in the in the matter of In Re: West Caribbean

Airways, S.A., United States District Court

Southern District of Florida Case No. 06-

Be aa svi bac casvwansasacasindinisesevsenicnasis App. 88

TABLE OF CONTENTS —- Continued

Page

Preliminary Order on Defendants’ Motion to

Dismiss on Grounds of Forum Non Con-

veniens in the matter of In Re: West Carib-

bean Airways, S.A., United States District

Court Southern District of Florida Case No.

06-22748-UNGARO

Order Denying Motion for Rehearing and Re-

hearing En Banc In the matter of Sylvia

Bapte, et al. v. West Caribbean Airways, et al.,

United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-

enth Circuit Court Case No. 07-15830 App.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Baah v. Virgin Atlantic Airways,

F.Supp.2d 591 (S.D.N-Y. 2007)

Bryant v. Rich, 530 F.3d 1368 (11th Cir. 2008)

First Natl Bank of Arizona v. Cities Service

Co., 391 U.S. 253, 88 S.Ct. 1575 (1968) .......... uaasien

Gulf Oil v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 67 S.Ct. 839,

91 L.Ed. 1055 (1947)

Hosaka v. United Airlines, 305 F.3d 989 (9th

RN ENN a csh dail vrebeccbedininceroracetecss isotuaicasan canoe: passim

La Seguridad v. Transytur Line, 707 F.2d 1304

(11th Cir. 1983)

Manley v. Engram, 755 F.2d 1463 (11th Cir.

SNE Sasucs phkunns Gasudantadkducissid onteiardassaneetiakasebneaekes Ropes 13

Milor v. British Airways, Plc. [1996] Q.B. 702

pL SB) PO Iiie corer Pir eee nen Ties der ear a ee on aR 8

Pierre-Louis v. Newvac Corp., 584 F.3d 1052

SEE vs euntccbcavasnass faa thuus cbdueceecumces tate euee on ar appearen =

Pure Oil Co. v. Suarez, 384 U.S. 202, 86 S.Ct.

RRR RR ap ren oreo ep SN eh rd An ean 2

Ruhrgas AG v. Marathon Oil Co., 526 U.S.

574, 119 S.Ct. 15638, 143 L.Ed.2d 760

I as ceoaaxeuseunc twas aetececasiosnteldedcuun 1, 11, 13, 14, 15

Sinochem Int'l Co. Ltd. v. Malaysia Int'l Shipping

Corp., 549 U.S. 422, 127 S.Ct. 1184 (2007) .....passim

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Sumitomo Shoji America, Inc. v. Avagliano,

et ee ayy oc cua sanecscneneuwschnkcoscudhoksaceces 10

U.S. v. Giordano, 94 S.Ct. 1820 (1974) .....c.ccccccccccccccses 2

CF. O. Crees, BS BAA. DGD CRI 1 eae ccescccccccsccscscnsecscccee

STATUTES

a nec css ukvet ucnins bakakswtwasasieussunenes l

OTHER

The Convention For The Verification Of Cer-

tain Rules Relating To International Car-

riage By Air (the “1929 Warsaw Convention”),

PUIG Be 0) UN Be ion ks cccnccvcceccisevervcccocsccscssecess. 3, 7

The Convention For The Unification Of Certain

Rules For International Carriage By Air (the

“1999 Montreal Convention”), Articles 33-1

Shy [nee Nae a ah Pe eee ee ree OEE 2, 7,8, 10

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee’s Re-

EG et ae SOROS ivan ca sxtshetcstncrnccdscessbcieacacszuhubrotboes 9,10

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully pray that a Writ of Certi

orari issue to review the decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.

i

OPINION BELOW

The decision below is reported at Picrre-Louts v.

Newvac Corp., 584 F.3d 1052 (2009), reh’g denied, and

is reprinted in the appendix at App. 1.

e

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THIS COURT

Petitioners invoke certiorari jurisdiction pursu-

ant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals entered its

opinion on October 8, 2009, and then denied rehear-

ing on December 30, 2009. This petition is timely filed

within 90 days of December 30, 2009.

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision

conflicts with Hosaka v. United Airlines, 305 F.3d 989

(9th Cir. 2002) as it pertains to application of the

doctrine of forum non convenitens to claims hrought

under the Montreal Convention. There is also con-

flict with Sinochem Intl Co. Ltd. v. Malaysia Int'l

Shipping Corp., 549 U.S. 422, 127 S.Ct. 1184 (2007)

and Ruhrgas AG v. Marathon Oil Co., 526 U.S. 574,

585, 119 S.Ct. 1563, 143 L.Ed.2d 760 (1999) as it

pertains to when forum non conveniens can be applied

during a lawsuit. Certiorari jurisdiction exists to de-

termine whether the Eleventh Circuit Court of Ap

peal’s decision departed from the foregoing. Pure Oil

Co. v. Suarez, 384 U.S. 202, 86 S.Ct. 1894 (1966); and

First Natl Bank of Arizona v. Cities Service Co., 391

U.S. 253, 88 S.Ct. 1575 (1968) (conflict with a deci-

sion of United States Supreme Court) and U/.S. 1

Giordano, 94 8.Ct. 1820 (1974) and U.S. v. Chavez, 94

S.Ct. 1849 (1974) (conflict between circuits).

TREATIES AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Convention For The Unification Of Certain

Rules For International Carriage By Air (the “1999

Montreal Convention”):

Article 33 — Jurisdiction

l. An action for damages must be

brought, at the option of the plaintiff, in the

territory of one of the States Parties, either

before the court of the domicile of the carrier

or of its principal place of business, or where

it has a place of business through which the

contract has been made or before the court at

the place of destination.

k

4. Questions of procedure shall be

governed by the law of the court seised of the

Case.

The Convention For The Verification Of Certain

Rules Relating To International Carriage By Air (the

“1929 Warsaw Convention”):

Article 28

(1) An action for damages must be

brought, at the option of the plaintiff, in the

territory of one of the High Contracting

Parties, either before the Court having

jurisdiction where the carrier is ordinarily

resident, or has his principal place of busi-

ness, or has an establishment by which the

contract has been made or before the court

having jurisdiction at the place of desti-

nation.

(2) Questions of procedure shall be gov-

erned by the law of the court seised of the

Case

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Newvac is a Florida corporation

whose offices are located in Dania Beach, Florida.

Petitioners maintain in this appeal and below that

Newvac is a “clandestine airline,” which is a label

given Lo unauthorized U.S. entities that compete with

legitimate U.S. air carriers by chartering cheaper

foreign aircraft with less stringent safety standards.

Below, discovery revealed that Newvac, while licensed

only as a tour guide, was the de facto operator of a

Colombian airline, West Caribbean Airline (“WCA”),

and that Newvac provided to WCA administrative

support, personnel, landing fees, fuel, airline control

fees, baggage handling fees, pilot training, set routes,

set schedules, and provided spare parts -- all while

avoiding FAA licensing and safety regulations — and

doing so from within Newvac’s offices in South

Florida.

On August 16, 2005, and under charter to

Newvac, WCA Flight 708 crashed in Venezuela while

carrying 152 passengers and an 8-member crew

aboard an overworked MD-80 aircraft which had been

cobbled together with a sundry of spare parts. All

aboard perished. These consolidated actions ensued

in the District Court for the Southern District of

Florida pursuant to the 1999 Montreal Convention.

Petitioners alleged that the American corporation

Newvac was essentially operating the Colombian

airline WCA and was therefore legally responsible for

the crash as the “contracting carrier” under the Mon-

treal Convention. Newvac initially denied liability.

When discovery began to reveal otherwise, and when

the chance of facing a jury increased, Florida based

Newvace filed an Affidavit attesting that the French

Court in Martinique was not only available and ade-

quate, but that Newvac would concede liability and

waive damage limits if the District Court dismissed the

‘ase on forum non conveniens grounds to Martinique

where reduced damages would be awarded under

French law. Petitioners never so agreed. Five days

later, the District Court entered a preliminary Order

determining that Newvac was indeed a “contracting

carrier” under the Montreal Convention, rendering it

D

lable for Petitioners’ damages. The District Court,

also ruled that the doctrine of forum non conveniens

did apply to Petitioner’s claims brought under the

Montreal Convention. On that same date, Newvac

filed a Renewed Motion to Dismiss on forum non

conveniens grounds, offering to consent to hability

and waiving the damage limits, provided the Court

dismiss the action on forum non conveniens grounds

to Martinique for resolution of the remaining damage

issues under French law.

The District Court applied forum non conveniens

to the Petitioners’ Montreal Convention claims, ac-

cepted Wewvae’s adiuissivlm of Liability and then

performed an improper forum non conveniens analy-

sis only as to the remaining damage issues. In so

doing, the District Court never considered any of

Newvac’s liability factors which occurred in Florida,

where it was incorporated and maintained its home

offices, and which surely would have resulted in the

action remaining in the District Court. As a result,

the liability portion of the case was determined by the

District Court and the remaining ‘damage’ case was

dismissed on December 7, 2007 to Martinique on

forum non conveniens grounds for a determination of

damages in a French Court. Meanwhile, the Peti-

tioners steadfastly argued that the application of

forum non conventens and the forum non conveniens

analysis which failed to include all public and private

factors was flawed. The Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals affirmed the application of the doctrine of

forum non conveniens to the Petitioners’ Montreal

Convention claims and the forum non conveniens

6

dismissal on October 8, 2009; a rehearing was denied

on December 30, 2009.

a ¢

ARGUMENT FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. This Court should grant certiorari to re-

solve not only conflict with decisions be-

tween the Districts but also conflict with

prior decisions of the United States Su-

preme Court.

A. The Eleventh Circuit’s application of the

forum non conveniens doctrine to dis-

miss claims brought under the Montreal

Convention when the treaty specifically

requires that an action for damages

‘must be brought, at the option of the

plaintiff, in the territory of one of the

States Parties’ is in conflict with the

Ninth Circuit Decision in Hosaka uv.

United Airlines, 305 F.3d 989 (9th Cir.

2002).

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeal’s decision is

contrary to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeal’s deci-

sion in Hosaka v. United Airlines, 305 F.3d 989 (9th

Cir. 2002) regarding the application of the doctrine

of forum non conveniens to actions brought pursuant

to the “Warsaw System.” In the instant case, the

' See the Introduction to the Minutes of the International

Conference on Air Law — Convention for the Unification of Certain

Air Rules for International Carriage by Air (the 1999 Montreal

(Continued on following page)

actions were brought under the Montreal Convention

versus the Warsaw Convention provisions interpreted

in Hosaka. But, as addressed herein, the Montreal

Convention is merely the successor to the Warsaw

Convention, the current evolution of the “Warsaw

System” that has been in place for over 80 years, and

little difference exists between the two nearly iden-

tical jurisdictional provisions.

Article 33-1 and 33-4 of the Montreal Convention’

provides:

1. An action for damages must be brought,

at the option of the plaintiff, in the ter-

ritory of one of the States Parties, either

before the court of the domicile of the

carrier or of its principal place of busi-

ness, or where it has a place of business

Convention) page 1] describing the purpose of convening the

convention; for the “Modernization and Consolidation of the

‘Warsaw System.’”

* Article 33-1 and 33-4 of the Montreal Convention are

almost identical to Article 28-1 and 28-2 of the Warsaw Conven-

tion. Compare Article 28:

(1) An action for damages must be brought, at the

option of the plaintiff, in the territory of one of the

High Contracting Parties, either before the Court hav-

ing jurisdiction where the carrier is ordinarily resi-

dent, or has his principal place of business, er has an

establishment by which the contract has been made or

before the court having jurisdiction at the place of

destination.

(2) Questions of procedure shall be governed by the

law of the court seised of the case.

8

through which the contract has been

made or before the court at the place of

destination.

she < te

4. Questions of procedure shall be governed

by the law of the court seised of the case.

Points of contention arise when the doctrine of

forum non conveniens is applied as a procedural rule

of the Court seised of the case to defeat the express

right of a plaintiff under Article 33-1 of the Montreal

Convention to select where to bring suit.

In reaching its conflicting ruling, the Eleventh

Circuit Court disregarded Hosaka, the only United

States Appellate decision to have interpreted the al-

most identical language as contained in the prede-

cessor Warsaw Convention. After extensive analysis

in its opinion, the Hosaka Court concluded that the

Warsaw Convention did not permit application of

forum non conveniens.’ In an effort to distance itself

from the Hosaka precedent and to find a method by

which to apply forum non conveniens, the Eleventh

Circuit declared the Montreal Convention to be a new

and different treaty from the Warsaw Convention.

The Eleventh Circuit also made clear note that the

Warsaw Convention was drafted in 1929 implying

* See also Milor v. British Atrways, Pic. [1996] Q.B. 702

(Eng. C.A.), a decision by a treaty sister state, wherein the Brit-

ish Court of Appeals also rejected application of forum non

conveniens to a Warsaw Convention claim.

9

that its provisions were dated and that the I/osaka

decision was ruling on the Warsaw Convention. What

the Eleventh Circuit glossed over was that the

Hosaka decision interprets the same language from

the Warsaw Convention as is currently at issue and

that the Hosaka decision was rendered in 2002,

making it considerably more contemporary.

Perhaps more important to the instant case and

to the value of Hosaka, as conflict precedent, is that

although the 1999 Montreal Convention was called to

modernize and make changes to some portions of the

Warsaw Convention (mainly having to do with com-

pensation to victims of air disasters), the negotiators

for the various contracting states (including the

United States) when negotiating the Montreal Con-

vention intended to preserve the language and sub-

stance of the Warsaw Convention in order to preserve

the large body of judicial rulings and precedent (such

as Hosaka) that had been previously rendered by its

member states under the Warsaw Convention.

Such consistent interpretation is what the Senate

Foreign Relations Committee expressed when it sub-

mitted the 1999 Montreal Convention to the full

Senate:

In the nearly seventy years that the Warsaw

Convention has been in effect, a large body of

judicial precedent has been established in

the United States. The negotiators of the

Montreal Convention intended to preserve

these precedents. According to the Executive

Branch testimony, “[wJhile the Montreal

10

Convention provides essential improvements

upon the Warsaw Convention and its related

protocols, efforts were made in the negoti-

ations and drafting to retain existing lan-

guage and substance of other provisions to

preserve judicial precedent relating to other

aspects of the Warsaw Convention, in order

to avoid unnecessary litigation over issues

already decided by the courts under the

Warsaw Convention and its related proto-

cols.” S. Exec. Rep. 108-8, at 3 (2003). Baah

v. Virgin Atlantic Airways, Ltd., 473 F.Supp.2d

591, 596 (S.D.N-Y. 2007).

Accordingly, the fact that Hosaka interprets the

Warsaw Convention’s Article 28 on jurisdiction versus

the Montreal Convention’s Article 33 on jurisdiction is

of limited relevance. The pertinent provisions of both

conventions were retained and the language as to

jurisdiction remain nearly indistinguishable in both

Conventions maintaining consistency. Further, when

there were attempts to include forum non conveniens

language into the Montreal Convention, those at-

tempts were voted down. Even the District Court

acknowledged in its Preliminary Forum Non Con-

veniens Order, “l|aJjlthough not conclusive, the mean-

ing attributed to treaty provisions by the Government

agencies charged with their negotiation and enforce-

ment is entitled to great weight,” citing to Sumitomo

Shojt America, Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176, 184-85

(1982).

11

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee’s report

on the Montreal Convention to the Senate contradicts

the Eleventh Circuit’s suggestion that because the

treaty is different, prior rulings such as Hosaka are

distinguishable. To the contrary, it appears that por-

tions were purposefully left untouched so that the

precedential value of decisions such as Hosaka, al-

though made under the Warsaw Convention, would

be preserved for interpreting the jurisdictional provi-

sions contained in the Montreal Convention and to

avoid the unnecessary relitigation of issues already de-

cided. Hosaka is still good law. Accordingly, the deci-

sion of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals in this

matter conflicts with the Ninth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals decision in Hosaka. Relief to the passengers of

WCA Flight 708 based on conflict with Hosaka is in

order.

B. The Eleventh Circuit failed to follow

Sinochem Int’l Co. Ltd. v. Malaysia Int'l

Shipping Corp., 549 U.S. 422 (2007) and

Ruhrgas AG v. Marathon Oil Co., 526

U.S. 574, 585 (1999) when it accepted a

domestic Defendant’s confession of liabil-

ity provided it was dismissed on forum

non conventens grounds which resulted

in dismissal to a foreign tribunal for

only a damage determination.

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeal’s decision is

contrary to Sinochem and Ruhrgas regarding the

application of a forum non conveniens analysis after

the District Court had already resolved Newvac’s

12

liability issues. Further, the forum non conveniens

analysis performed by the District Court at that junc-

ture was performed only as to the remaining damage

issues, rendering same incomplete and defective. A

court that fails to balance all relevant forum non

conventens factors abuses its discretion. La Seguridad

v. Transytur Line, 707 F.2d 1304 (llth Cir. 1983)

(ciling Gulf Oil v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 67 S.Ct. 839,

91 L.Ed. 1055 (1947). The forum non conveniens anal-

ysis by the District Court was performed too late in

the litigation since all merits issues save for damages

had already been resolved. Forum non conveniens is a

threshold venue issue, and is to be applied before a

court exercises its jurisdiction or significantly ad-

dresses the merits of an action.

A forum non convenitens analysis should be per-

formed without addressing the merits of a lawsuit,

since “Resolving a forum non conventens motion does

not entail any assumption by the court of the sub-

stantive law-declaring power.” Sinochem, 549 U.S. at

424: citing Ruhrgas AG v. Marathon Oil, 526 U.S.

574, 584 (1999) (forum non conveniens is a threshold

ground for “denying audience to a case on the mer-

its”); accord Bryant v. Rich, 530 F.3d 13868, 1376 (11th

Cir. 2008) (“it is proper for a judge to consider facts

outside of the pleadings and to resolve factual dis-

putes so long as the factual disputes do not decide the

merits and the parties have sufficient opportunity to

develop a record.”) (fn. omitted).

In the instant case, it was only after it became

evident that the District Court would find Newvac to

13

be a “contracting carrier” that Newvac gamed the

court by stipulating to liability, attempting to whittle

down the forum non conveniens factors to damages, to

avoid trial in South Florida so that it would allow an

escape to Martinique to face nominal damages. In so

doing, Newvac invoked the “Law Declaring” judicial

power and the exercise of the District Court’s

jurisdiction with its confession of lability. At that

instant, all matters up to and through liability and

causation were decided in their entirety, leaving only

the assessment of damages. To then perform a forum

non conventens analysis at that late juncture only on

the remaining damage isSues was improper and con

stituted error under Sinochem and Ruhrgas, supra.

Looking at the inverse, all that was sent to the Judge

in Martinique was a case to determine damages,

albeit under French law. In order to get to that point,

the District Court exercised its jurisdiction and re-

solved all of the merits issues in the action except for

damages. It could not thereafter “bifurcate” or apply a

“damages only forum non conveniens” analysis which

is a preliminary threshold venue challenge.

A party can waive venue by clear, overt acts

evidencing an intent to waive, or impliedly, by taking

some action inconsistent with an intent to pursue a

venue challenge motion, and generally, these actions

invoke the judicial power and jurisdiction of the

courts. Manley v. Engram, 755 F.2d 1463, 1468 (11th

Cir. 1985). Newvac’s act of stipulating to liability was

not only the equivalent of admitting to all liability

14

allegations in the Petitioners’ Complaint [venue alle-

gations included] but it also invoked the District

Court’s jurisdiction which was inconsistent with and

waived any subsequent right to a venue challenge

(“forum non conveniens is a Supervening venue pro-

vision”).

As to the evaluation of forum non conveniens

factors addressed by the District Court, once having

done the limited forum non conventens analysis, one

cannot dispute that the factors analyzed were less

than would have been taken into consideration had

all hability and damage issues been addressed. By

that measure alone, the forum non conveniens analy-

sis was flawed as less than all of the relevant public

and private interest factors were considered.

The District Court clearly erred three times; first,

it disregarded Sinochem and Ruhrgas by exercising

its jurisdiction over the merits of the case to the point

that only the damages issues remained and there-

after performing the forum non conveniens analysis

on damage issues only; second, it allowed Newvac to

stipulate to liability, invoke the District Court’s juris-

diction, and then seek a forum non conveniens venue

analysis when the stipulation effectively waived

venue challenges; and third, when it failed to con-

sider all of the relevant liability factors as part of its

forum non conventens analysis.

Accordingly, relief to the passengers of WCA

Flight 708 is in order as the Eleventh Circuit’s deci

sion is in conflict with Sirochem and [Ruhrgas.

+

CONCLUSION

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision has raised not

only conflict between the Districts but also conflict

with prior decisions of the United States Supreme

Court. Air travelers are now left uncertain as to

me |

t r aan . ” ”

Appis A wv. *¥ , P » , A

f

Iu Ww AA ae

States District Court pursuant to the Montreal Con-

vention and if so, the nature and extent of the

application of the doctrine of forum non conventens

This Court should grant the Petition and resolve the

conflict between the Districts and between the Elev-

enth Circuit’s decision and this Court, providing

uniformity for the international carriage by air, the

very foundation of the Warsaw System

Respectfully submitted,

JORGE DUARTE

ANDREW ‘I’. ‘TRAILOR

JORGE A. DUARTE, P.A.

5975 Sunset Drive, Suite 601

Miami, Florida 33143

(305) 358-2400

Attorney for Petitioners

Dated: March 30, 2010

App. 1

|PUBLISH]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-15828

D. C. Docket No. 07-61165-CV-UU

ANNICK JOELLE PIERRE-LOUIS, ANTOINE

VINCENT GUYARD, THIBAUD GUYARD,

a minor, by his father Antoine Vincent Guyard,

individually as heirs of Abdon Joesph [sic] Pierre

Louis, deceased and individually as heirs of Lawrence

Pierre-Louis, deceased, LEON NOEL EDMOND

LORNE, MELANIE SUZIE MARTINE, a minor,

by her mother Marie-Nelly Martie individually as

heirs of Serge Nal, deceased,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

versus

NEWVAC CORPORATION, a Florida corporation,

GO 2 GALAXY, INC., a Florida corporation,

WEST CARIBBEAN AIRWAYS, 8.A.,

a Columbian corporation,

Defendants-Appellees.

App. 2

No. 07-15830

D. C. Docket No. 06-61813-CV-UU

SYLVIA BAPTE, Individually and as

personal representative of the Estates of

CHRISTIANE BAPTE, deceased, and

SYLVAIN BAPTE, deceased,

STEPHANIE ISABELLE BAPTE,

AUBIN CASIMIR, MARYVONNE BAPTE, et. al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

versus

NEWVAC CORPORATION, a Florida corp.,

GO 2 GALAXY, INC., a Florida corp.,

WEST CARIBBEAN AIRWAYS, S.A.,

a Columbiay Corp

Defendants-Appellees

No. 07-15902

I) C. Docket No. 06-22748-CV-UU

HENRI GALBERIT, as personal representative

of the Estate of Nicolas Massal, Deceased, et al..

Plaintiffs,

NICOLAS MASSAL, MURIELLE MASSAL,

MAEVA MASSAL, JOSEPH GALBERT,

MARIE GALBERT, JOACHIM-ARNAUD,

PAU, BERISSON, GEORGES BERISSON,

RAPHOSE, MARIE LUCE, JOSEPH BONIFACE,

App. 3

SCAGLIONT, LANOIR, MONTLOUIS FELICTE,

ALEX PETERS, BERTON, RAPHAELLE COUFFE,

ROBERT COUFFE, MARIE PETERS, VIOLTON,

SOHAN VENTAKAPEN, MICHEL VENTAKAPEN,

EUDARIC, BERTIN MARIE-LUCE, CHARLES

CABRERA, ROSAMOND, CATHERINE

CABRERA, DENIS RAMIN, LAURENCE

RAMIN, DURANVILLE, HENRI HOSPICE,

ADREE HOSPICE, MAQUIABA, VICTORIN,

IPHAINE, LEGENDART, BERMONT, FLORINE,

LAURENT, MAGLOIRE, SAINTE-ROSE,

ANTISTE, JEREMIE BOCLE, NAL, DIJON,

PEPINTER, PORRO, BAPTE, TAUPIN,

Piaintifis-Appeliants

Cross-Appellees,

TIE ESTATE OF FRANCIS BERTON,

THE ESTATE OF MARIE-PIERRE CADARE,

THE ESTATE OF RAPHAELLE COUFFE,

MARIE-ODILE MONLOUIS-FELICITE,

THE ESTATE OF DAVID SCAGLIONT,

Plaintiffs,

versus

WEST CARIBBEAN AIRWAYS, a Colombian

corporation, ASEGURADORO COLSEGUROS, 8.A.,

a Colombian corporation,

Defendants-Appellees,

NEWVAC CORPORATION, a Florida corporation,

GO 2 GALAXY, INC., a Florida corporation,

JAQUES CIMETIER, individually,

Defendants-Appellees

Cross-Appellants.

App. 4

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Florida

(October 8, 2009)

3efore BARKETT and HULL, Circuit Judges, and

QUIST,* District Judge.

BARKETT, Circuit Judge:

This consolidated appeal arises from several]

wrongful death actions brought by the survivors of

passengers killed in the crash of a McDonnell

Douglas MD-82 aircraft, operating as West Caribbean

Airways Flight 708, in the mountains of Venezuela.

All of the appellants/cross-appellees, plaintiffs in the

proceedings below (“Plaintiffs”), are natural persons

and residents of Martinique, a Department of the

Republic of France, and represent the deceased pas-

sengers of Flight 708.' The appellees/cross-appellants,

defendants below (“Defendants”), are (1) West Carib-

bean Airways, a Colombian corporation operating the

chartered plane that crashed, (2) two Florida Corpo-

rations, Newvac and Go 2 Galaxy, Inc., and (3) the

president of Newvac and Go 2 Galaxy, Jacque

* Honorable Gordon J. Quist, United States District Judge

for the Western District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

' The crew members of Flight 708 are not plaintiffs in this

action and have filed a separate action in the Southern District

of Florida.

App. 5

Cimetier.. Newvac is the entity that chartered the

West Caribbean plane for round-trip flights from

Martinique to Panama. After entering into the char-

ter contract with West Caribbean, Newvac contracted

with Globe Trotter Agency, a Martinique travel

agency, and agreed to provide the aircraft it had

chertered, as well as hotel, transportation, and sight-

seeing services, for excursions between Martinique

and Panama. These excursion packages were then to

be sold by Globe Trotter to individual passengers in

Martinique.

Newvac moved to dismiss the suit on the basis of

forum non conveniens and the district court granted

the motion, finding that Martinique was the more

convenient forum for resolution of the survivors’

claims.’ Plaintiffs appeal that ruling, arguing that the

doctrine of forum non conveniens does not apply

because the international treaty that regulates the

hability of carriers to passengers on international

flights, the Convention for the Unification of Certain

Rules for International Carriage by Air (the “Mon-

treal Convention” or “Convention”), precludes appli-

cation of the doctrine as a matter of international

* We will refer to Newvac, Go 2 Galaxy, and Cimetier

collectively as “Newvac.”

° Defendant West Caribbean Airways filed a motion to

dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction which has been held in

abeyance until the forum non conveniens issue is finally decided.

App. 6

law.* Alternatively, Plaintiffs argue that, even if the

Convention permits application of the doctrine, the

district court abused its discretion in applying it here.

I.

The doctrine of forum non conveniens permits a

court with venue to decline to exercise its jurisdiction

when the parties’ and court’s own convenience, as

well as the relevant public and private interests,

indicate that the action should be tried in a different

forum. A defendant seeking dismissal for forum non

conveniens bears the burden of demonstrating:

G) that an adequate alternative forum is

available, (ii) that relevant public and

private interests weigh in favor of dismissal,

and (i) that the plaintiff can reinstate his

suit in the alternative forum without undue

inconvenience or prejudice. Pertinent private

interests of the litigants include relative ease

of access to evidence in the competing fora,

availability of witnesses and compulsory

process over them, the cost of obtaining

evidence, and the enforceability of a judg-

ment. Relevant public interests include the

familiarity of the court(s) with the governing

law, the interest of any foreign nation in

having the dispute litigated in its own

“ The district court’s conclusions regarding the availability

of forum non conveniens under the Montreal Convention is a

legal determination which we review de novo.

App. 7

courts, and the value of having local contro-

versies litigated locally.

Liquidation Comm’n of Banco Intercontinental, S.A.

v. Renta, 530 F.3d 1339, 1356-57 (11th Cir. 2008)

(quotations and citations omitted).

Plaintiffs argue that the district court was

precluded from applying this doctrine by _ the

Montreal Convention, which is the exclusive means

by which international air travel passengers can seek

damages for death or personal injury in cases covered

by it.. Chapter III of the Convention is entitled

“Liability of the Carrier and Extent of Compensation

for Damage.” Article 33, located in Chapter III, is the

jurisdictional provision which specifies in which fora

such suits can be brought:

1. An action for damages must be brought,

at the option of the plaintiff, in the

territory of one of the States Parties,

either before the court of the domicile of

the carrier or of its principal place of

business, or where it has a place of

business through which the contract has

been made or before the court at the

place of destination.

2. In respect of damage resulting from the

death or injury of a passenger, an action

may be brought before one of the courts

* Both the United States and France are parties to the

Montreal Convention.

App. 8

mentioned in paragraph 1 of this Article,

or in the territory of a State Party in

which at the time of the accident the

passenger has his or her principal and

permanent residence and to or from

which the carrier operates services for

the carriage of passengers by air. .

Thus, under Article 33 of the Convention, suits

for damages by passengers on international flights

can be filed in a limited number of fora, including,

inter alia, the domicile of the “carrier” or the principal

place of business of the “carrier.” In the case of

damage resulting from the injury or death of a

passenger, suit may be brought in the passenger’s

permanent residence if the “carrier”

carriage services to or from that location.

operates air

The term “carrier” is undefined in the Conven-

tion. However, Chapter V of the Convention, entitled

“Carriage by Air Performed by a Person other than

the Contracting Carrier,” addresses situations in

which there is both a “contracting carrer” and an

“actual carrier.” Article 39, located in Chapter V of

the Convention, provides the definitions for “con-

tracting carrier” and “actual carrier”:

The provisions of |Chapter V] apply when a

person (hereinafter referred to as “the

contracting carrier”) as a principal makes a

contract of carriage governed by this

Convention with a passenger or consignor or

with a person acting on behalf of the

passenger or consignor, and another person

(hereinafter referred to as “the actual

App. 9

carrier”) performs, by virtue of authority

from the contracting carrier, the whole or

part of the carriage, but is not with respect

to such part a successive carrier within the

meaning of this Convention. Such authority

shall be presumed in the absence of proof to

the contrary.

These definitions are significant because Article 40,

in Chapter Y, provides that “[ijJf an actual carrier

performs the whole or part of carriage which,

according to the contract referred to in Article 39, is

governed by this Convention, both the contracting

+h

rier and the actual carrier shall, except as cther

wise provided in (Chapter VJ], be subject to the rules

of this Convention, the former for the whole of the

carriage contemplated in the contract, the latter

solely for the carriage which it performs.”

In turn, Article 45 provides that a plaintiff may

bring an action for damages under the Convention

against the actual carrier or the contracting carrier,

or against both together or separately, and Article 46

specifies the fora in which a plaintiff may bring such

a suit. Article 46 provides that “[a]ny action for

damages contemplated in Article 45 must be brought,

at the option of the plaintiff, in the territory of one of

the States Parties, either before a court in which an

action may be brought against the contracting carrier,

as provided in Article 33, or before the court having

jurisdiction at the place where the actual carrier has

its domicile or its principal place of business.” The

district court found that Newvac and/or Go 2 Galaxy

App. 10

was the “contracting carrier” for the flight at issue,

and thus the lawsuit was filed in an appropriate

. ‘ . 6

forum pursuant to the Convention.

The district court next found, however, that

although it had jurisdiction, the Convention did not

preclude application of forum non conveniens. In so

holding, the district court relied on Article 33(4) of

the Convention, which provides that “[qluestions of

procedure shall be governed by the law of the court

seised of the case.” The district court reasoned that

because the doctrine of forum non conveniens is part

of United States civil procedure, the Convention

unambiguously permits its application in accordance

with the law of the forum. The district court also

concluded that the shared expectation of the states

party to the Convention was that those states which

* Newvac challenges this holding on cross-appeal. We find

no merit to this contention. The district court properly concluded

that because “Newvac knowingly assumed the responsibility to

supply the aircraft and crew, and to otherwise conduct itself as a

carrier, for the transportation of Glebe Trotter’s customers,” it

was a “contracting carrier” within the meaning of Article 39 of

the Montreal Convention. The court correctly rejected Newvac’s

argument that because the actual passengers were not known to

Newvac at the time it contracted with Globe Trotter, Newvac

could not be a “contracting carrier” under the Convention. The

Newvac-Globe Trotter contract clearly provided that Globe

Trotter would procure passengers for the flights and tour

packages that would be supplied by Newvac and that, once the

passengers had been procured, Globe Trotter would forward

their information to Newvac so Newvac could issue the rclevant

travel documents, including individual passenger tickets.

App. 11

recognized the doctrine could continue to apply it. We

find no error in these conclusions.

When interpreting a treaty, we begin with the

words of the treaty in the context in which the words

are used. Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk,

486 U.S. 694, 699 (1988). Plaintiffs concede that the

starting point of treaty interpretation is the relevant

text and recognize that the treaty expressly provides

that “[qjuestions of procedure” are governed by the

law of the forum in which the case is validly brought.

They argue, however, that because the Convention

does not specifically affirm the availability of forum

non conveniens, it should not be permitted in cases

arising under it. We find this argument untenable for

two reasons. First, there is no dispute that forum non

conveniens is a “question[ ] of procedure” under U.S.

law and thus it clearly falls within the ambit of

Article 33(4). Second, under Plaintiffs’ theory, all

state procedural rules would have to be specifically

enumerated in order to be applicable under the

Convention, and we do not believe the Convention’s

drafters intended such an absurd result.

Plaintiffs further argue that to permit the appli-

cation of forum non conveniens would undermine

the purpose and implementation of the Convention’s

jurisdictional provisions, which have already enumer-

ated the five “convenient” jurisdictions for purposes of

adjudicating international carrier liability. Although

we acknowledge Plaintiffs’ concerns, we think the

purpose of the Convention is adequately safeguarded

under traditional forum non conveniens analysis. As

App. 12

the district court pointed out, forum non conveniens

would permit dismissal under the Convention only if

the alternative forum was authorized to hear the case

under Article 33(1) or (2) and was “demonstrably the

more appropriate venue.”

We therefore find no ambiguity or limitation in

the express language of Article 33(4), which states in

no uncertain terms that questions of procedure —

which can only reasonably be read to include all

questions of procedure — are governed by the rules of

the forum state.’ As the district court correctly noted,

the doctrine of forum non convenience is “firmly

entrenched in the procedural law of the United

States.” In addition, we are satisfied that a district

court may — where appropriate — exercise its discre-

tion to apply forum non conveniens, without inter-

fering with the implementation of the Convention, so

The two cases on which Plaintiffs principally rely, Hosaka

v. United Atrlines, Inc., 305 F.3d 989 (9th Cir. 2002), and Milor v.

British Airways, Pic., [1996] Q.B. 702 (Eng. C.A.), are distin-

guishable and do not, as Plaintiffs suggest, create an ambiguity

in Article 33(4). Among other distinguishing factors, both cases

involved interpretation of the Warsaw Convention, a predecessor

to the Montreal Convention drafted in 1929, at which time

forum non conveniens, in its current form, was not recognized

under U.S. law. Indeed, the Hosaka court explicitly noted that it

was not addressing the applicability of forum non conveniens

under the (at the time unratified) Montreal Convention.

App. 13

long as another Convention jurisdiction is available

and can more conveniently adjudicate the claim.”

If.

Having found that the Convention is not a bar to

the application of forum non conveniens, we turn to

Plaintiffs’ alternative argument that the district court

abused its discretion in applying it here. As noted, a

party seeking dismissal for forum non conveniens

must demonstrate:

(1) that an adequate alternative forum is

available,

(2) that relevant public and private inter-

ests weigh in favor of dismissal, and

(3) that the plaintiff can reinstate his suit

in the alternative forum without undue in-

convenience or prejudice.

Plaintiffs do not challenge the district court’s deter-

mination that Martinique is an adequate alternative

forum or that they can reinstate their suit in

Martinique without undue prejudice or inconven-

ience. Rather, Plaintiffs argue that the district court

abused its discretion by failing to adequately analyze

* Contrary to Plaintiffs’ assertions, we think the drafting

history of the Convention is clear that it was the shared intent

of the states party that each state could continue to apply its

procedural rules, including forum non conveniens.

App. 14

the relevant private and public interest factors. We

find no merit to Plaintiffs’ arguments.

In determining whether to grant a motion to

dismiss for forum non conveniens, courts consider

such private interests as the comparative ease of

access to evidence in the competing fora, the avail-

ability of witnesses and compulsory process over

them, and the cost of obtaining evidence. See, e.g.,

Renta, 530 F.3d at 1356-57; Aing v. Cessna Aircraft

Co., 562 F.3d 1374, 1383-84 (llth Cir. 2009); La

Seguridad vu. Transytur Line, 707 F.2d 1304, 1307

(llth Cir. 1983).

Ordinarily, these private factors would weigh in

favor of a plaintiff residing in the forum state and

therefore, we apply a presumption of convenience to

U.S. residents suing in U.S. courts. See SME Racks,

Inc. v. Sistemas Mecanicos Para Electronica, S.A., 382

F.3d 1097, 1100-01 (llth Cir. 2004). This deference,

though still applicable, is weakened when plaintiffs

are non-U.S. residents. Jd. Plaintiffs argue, however,

that although they are not U.S. residents, their choice

of forum is entitled to heightened deference because

their access to U.S. courts is granted by an inter-

national treaty with a specific venue provision. The

logic of this conclusion stems from the fact that the

Convention has already done part of the work in

selecting a convenient forum -- all potential jurisdic-

tions under the Convention bear some connection,

broadly speaking, to the air crash. Thus, their choice

of forum is entitled to greater deference than non-

U.S.-resident plaintiffs not acting pursuant to a

App. 15

treaty. Among other things, Plaintiffs point out that,

unlike other defendants who may be surprised by

U.S. lawsuits by foreign plaintiffs, international air

carriers are aware of the Montreal Convention and

can prepare, with their insurers, for the possibility of

liability under it.

Regardless of the merits of Plaintiffs’ argument

on this point, however, the analysis cannot end with a

presumption of convenience, but must address the

actual convenience of the various available fora. See

Cessna Aircraft Co., 562 F.3d at 1383 (noting that

“although citizenship often acts as a proxy for conven-

ience in the forum non conveniens analysis, the

appropriate inquiry is indeed convenience”); see also

>

Aldana v. Del Monte Fresh Produce N.A., Inec., —__

F.3d__, No. 07-15471, 2009 WL 2460978, at *9 (11th

Cir. Aug. 13, 2009) (affirming the district court’s

dismissal on the basis of forum non conveniens where

plaintiffs were residents of the U.S., but all other

private interest factors favored dismissal). As the

district court correctly pointed out, the greater defer-

ence accorded to a U.S. resident follows from the

reasonable assumption that a plaintiff choosing her

home forum does so because it is convenient. See

Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 255-56

(1981).

In this case, as the district court noted, Defen-

dants have conceded hability and waived applicable

damage caps under the Convention in the Martinique

court. Thus, the only issue to be tried — and therefore

the principle focus of the convenience analysis — is

App 16

the amount of damages to which each Plaintiff is

entitled. Therefore, with respect to the availability of

evidence and witnesses, the analysis strongly favors

Martinique, the residence of all the Plaintiffs.

Plaintiffs do not dispute that all of the witness and

documentary evidence regarding damages, as well as

all or virtually all of the non-party factual] witnesses,

are located in Martinique, beyond the compulsory

process of the district court. To the extent that non-

party witnesses in Martinique would be willing to

testify in Florida, they would have to travel to the

United States at considerable expense and personal

inconvenience.

Plaintiffs counter that any expense or other

burden associated with gathering and producing

damages evidence will be theirs to bear, because it is

their burden to prove damages. They further point

out that Defendants have offered no details regarding

any actual inability to procure non-U.S. witnesses or

evidence on the damages issue and that, in the days

of satellite telephones and inexpensive air travel,

these arguments are entitled to less weight. Although

we acknowledge Plaintiffs’ arguments on this point,

we cannot say that the district court abused its

discretion in determining that the United States was

an inconvenient forum for both parties in which to

determine damages. In other words, the ability of the

Defendants to prepare their defensive case with

App. 17

respect to damages is a proper consideration in the

convenience analysis

Nor did the district court err when it rejected

Plaintiffs’ argument that because Defendants’ poten-

tial third-party claims against U.S. manufacturers

could more conveniently be brought in the United

States, private interest considerations militated

against dismissal. Plaintiffs do not contend that the

” The district court recently denied a dismissal on forum

non conveniens grounds in the related case brought by the crew

members who perished in the same crash as Plaintiffs. /n re

West Caribbean Crew Members, 632 F. Supp. 2d 1193 (S.D. Fla

2009). Plaintiffs point out that the crew members, like Plaintiffs,

are non-U.S. residents, and therefore litigation of their claim in

a U.S. court gives rise to the same evidence issues the district

court relied upon in dismissing their case on forum non

conveniens grounds. We disagree. The crew member claims are

product liability claims and thus are distinct from Plaintiffs’

claims under the Montreal Convention, pursuant to which

liability is presumed. We are therefore not persuaded that the

district court’s forum non conveniens analysis as to Plaintiffs’

claims is inconsistent with, or should be affected by, its adjudi-

cation of the crew member claims in a U.S. forum.

Plaintiffs argue that the process of apportioning liability

between the carrier Defendants and the U.S. manufacturers in

France, with its complex evidentiary and translation issues, will

cause them an “inconvenient” delay. However, we are not con-

vinced that such a delay will be significantly worse in France

than in the United States, nor in any event do we believe that

the district court’s rejection of this argument constitutes an

abuse of discretion. Moreover, Plaintiffs’ reliance on Piper

Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 255-56 (1981) is somewhat

misplaced. In that case, it was Defendants who argued that

Plaintiffs’ choice of forum would prejudice their abilitv to

implead third parties, and the Supreme Court agreed that it was

(Continued on following page)

App. 18

U.S. manufacturers cannot be impled [sic] in an

action in Martinique nor that evidence pertaining to

such third-party claims is not available’ in

Martinique.” Although access to U.S. manufacturers’

evidence is admittedly somewhat more difficult in a

foreign forum as opposed to the United States, the

district court did not abuse its discretion in finding

that this burden — which is Defendants alone to bear

in any event — was outweighed by the inconvenience

to both parties of accessing damages evidence in

Martinique, respecting over a hundred decedents and

their beneficiaries.

Public interest considerations include factors

such as (1) the forum’s interest in entertaining the

suit; (2) court congestion and jury duty generated by

more convenient to resolve all claims in one forum. Here, of

course, Defendants have proposed the alternative forum.

Plaintiffs argue that it is not their burden to demonstrate

that evidence regarding third-party claims will be accessible in

Martinique, Leon v. Million Air, 251 F.3d 1305, 1311 (11th Cir.

2001), and that the district court impermissibly shifted the

burden of persuasion to Plaintiffs to demonstrate why Martinique

would be inconvenient to them. While it is true as a matter of

law that Defendants bear the burden of persuasion on forum

non convemiens, we are not persuaded by this argument. The

district court’s observation that Plaintiffs would not be incon-

venienced by litigating third-party claims in Martinique did not

impermissibly shift the burden to Plaintiffs but instead was

simply one of many factors to be weighed in assessing the

various private interests of the litigants. And, we agree with the

district court that the relative ease of access to third-party

evidence, unlike damages evidence, ultimately will be of concern

only to Defendants.

App. 19

the lawsuit; (3) the desirability of having localized

controversies decided at home; and (4) the difficulty

in determining applicable law and applying foreign

law. La Seguridad, 707 F.2d at 1307. The district

court likewise did not abuse its discretion in deter-

mining that these factors weigh in favor of Mar-

tinique as the proper forum for Plaintiffs’ claims.

As the district court pointed out, although the

United States has an interest in deterring the alleged

tortious conduct of Newvac and other U.S. third-party

defendants, that interest is outweighed by Mar-

tiniaue’s interest in adjudicating actions that aim to

A

° ° . ° ace 12

redress injuries to its citizens.” Moreover, any

deterrent impact on Newvac is not eliminated merely

because damages are determined in Martinique

rather than in the United States. Therefore, the

United States’ interest in adjudicating Plaintiffs’

claims does not justify the enormous commitment of

time — both of the court and of jurors — and other

judicial resources that would be consumed by the

presentation of live testimony and documentary

12

Plaintiffs argue that Martinique has a state interest in

ensuring that the rights of its citizens to their choice of forum

under the Montreal Convention are respected. They further

argue that the United States has a significant interest in

deterring corporate misconduct like that of Newvac, which

continues to act as a contracting carrier under U.S. laws. Again,

while we acknowledge the competing public interests at work in

this analysis, we do not believe the district court abused its

discretion in crediting the undeniable interest of Martinique in

redressing injuries to its citizens.

App. 20

evidence in a foreign language. Finally, the district

court found that although litigating third-party

claims in Martinique would be more convenient in a

U.S. forum than in Martinique, the burden of transla-

tion in Martinique with respect to these claims is not

as great as the burden of presenting French damages

evidence in the United States. This is so because the

Martinique court designated to hear Montreal Con-

vention claims does so in writing only and will not

hear testimony. Thus, Defendants will not bear the

burden of translating live testimony in Martinique as

both parties would in the United States.”

In sum, the district court did not err in deter-

mining that the Montreal Convention does not pre-

clude the use of forum non conveniens in U.S. courts

nor did it abuse its discretion in dismissing Plaintiffs’

claims on forum non conveniens grounds.

AFFIRMED.

We are not persuaded by Plaintiffs’ argument that the

district court erred in failing to consider the fact that Defen-

dants made no argument that the congestion factor supports

dismissal. The failure of Defendants to make an argument on

this issue is not fatal to their forum non conveniens argument if,

as the district court determined, other factors clearly support a

dismissal.

App. 21

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 06-22748-CIV-UNGARO

IN RE: WEST CARIBBEAN

AIRWAYS, S.A., et al.,

Defendants.

PRELIMINARY ORDER ON DEFENDANTS’

MOTION TO DISMISS ON GROUNDS

OF FORUM NON CONVENIENS

(Filed Sept. 26, 2007)

THIS CAUSE is before the Court upon Defen-

dants’ Motion to Dismiss on Grounds of Forum Non

Conveniens. D.E. 54’ This order follows a May 11,

2007 status conference during which the parties

apreed to brief the following discrete issues per-

taining to Defendants’ Motion: (1) whether Newvac is

a “contracting carrier” within the scope of the Mon-

treal Convention;’ and, whether the Court may apply

the forum non conveniens doctrine in an action

arising under the Montreal Convention. See D.E.

94 (Order Setting Briefing Schedule); 95 (Order

Requesting a Statement of Interest from the United

' The Motion was filed by Defendants Jacques Cimetier,

Newvac Corporation, and Go 2 Galaxy, Inc.

* The Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules for

International Carriage by Air, May 28, 1999 (entered into force

on Nov. 4, 2003), reprinted in S. Treaty Doc. No. 106-45, 1999

WL 33292734 (hereinafter “Montreal Convention”).

App. 22

States);? 97 (Tr. of Status Conf.). The Court has con-

sidered the parties’ memoranda (D.E. 101, 113), the

United States’s Statement of Interest (D.E. 116), and

is otherwise fully advised in the premises.

Facts

This action arises out of the August 16, 2005

airplane crash in Venezuela of West Caribbean Air-

ways flight 708, while en route from Panama to

Martinique. Plaintiffs are, and the decedents were,

residents of Martinique, a Department of the Repub-

lic of France. See D.E. 152 (Am. Compl.) at paras. 7,

74. Defendant West Caribbean Airways, §8.A. is a

Colombian corporation with offices in Medellin, Colom-

bia. Jd. at para. 9. Defendants Newvac Corporation

and Go 2 Galaxy, Inc. are Florida corporations. /d. at

para. 15.

On March 15, 2005, Newvac entered into a

“charter contract” with West Caribbean Airways in

Medellin, Colombia, pursuant to which West Carib-

bean was to provide a 152-passenger MD-81 aircraft

and crew, for charter flights occurring during May,

July and August 2005. See D.E. 99 (McCune Decl.),

* The Court permitted the United States to submit a state-

ment of interest, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 517, respecting its

position as to the availability of the forum non conveniens

doctrine in a case governed by the Montreal Convention.

* See Brian Ellsworth, Airline Crash in Venezuela Kills 160

(visited Aug. 14, 2007) <http://www_npr.org/templates/story/story.

php?storyld=4802464>.

App. 23

Ex. “5” (English translation of Charter Contract,

originally in Spanish, executed by Jacques Cimetier

on behalf of Newvac, d/b/a Go-2 Vacations). There-

after, on April 25, 2005, Newvac entered into a “con-

tract for air chartering” with Globe Trotter Agency, a

travel agency in Martinique, whereby Newvac agreed

to provide the aircraft it chartered from West

Caribbean to Globe Trotter for a series of excursions

between Martinique and Panama. See D.E. 99 (McCune

Decl.), Ex. “7” (English translation of Charter Con-

tract, originally in French, executed by Jacques

Cimetier on behalf of Newvac, d/b/a Go-2 Vacations).

Newvac aiso provided Globe ‘lrotter with the hotel,

transportation and “sightseeing” for these excursions.

See D.E. 145 (Cimetier Depo.) at 185:6-186:4. All of

the passengers were killed when West Caribbean’s

aircraft crashed during their return trip from Pana-

ma following one of the excursions sold by Globe

Trotter. See D.E. 152 (Am. Compl.) at paras. 31-33,

41, 52, 75; D.E. 113 (Defs.’ Reply) at 5.

Contracting Carrier

The parties dispute whether Newvac is a “con-

tracting carrier,” as that term appears in Article 39 of

the Montreal Convention (titled “Contracting Carrier

— Actual Carrier”), which states:

App. 24

The provisions of this Chapter” apply when

a person (hereinafter referred to as “the

contracting carrier”) as a principal makes a

contract of carriage governed by this Con-

vention with a passenger or consignor or

with a person acting on behalf of the passen-

ger or consignor, and another person (here-

inafter referred to as “the actual carrier”)

performs, by virtue of authority from the

contracting carrier, the whole or part of the

carriage, but is not with respect to such part

a successive carrier within the meaning of

this Convention. Such authority shall be

presumed in the absence of proof to the

contrary.

Montreal Convention, art 39. This issue has impor-

tance because Plaintiffs wish to argue that this Court

has jurisdiction over, and is required to adjudicate

this dispute pursuant to Articles 33 and 46 of the

Montreal Convention due to Newvac’s domicile in the

Southern District of Florida. See, e.g., D.E. 101 (Pls.’

Mem. in Opp’n to Mot.) at 4-5.

Plaintiffs first submit that there must be a “con-

tracting carrier” in this case because the actual car-

rier — West Caribbean Airways — “had no opportunity

to enter into a direct contractual relation with the

passengers,” and according to Plaintiffs, only Newvac

fits within the term’s definition. /d. at 6. Specifically,

* “(This Chapter” refers to Chapter V of the Convention,

titled “Carriage by Air Performed by a Person other than the

Contracting Carrier.”

App. 25

Plaintiffs submit that Newvac acted as a principal in

this case because it profited by contracting for the

seating capacity on the West Caribbean aircraft,

thereafter reselling it for a higher price to Globe

Trotter, which acted on behalf of passengers when it

sold individual seats on the aircraft. Jd. Plaintiffs add

that West Caribbean performed “the whole or part of

the carriage” under the authority of its contract with

Newvac. Id. at 6-7 (also citing law review articles”

that Plaintiffs submit in support of their argument

that a tour operator that packages and resells air

transportation is a “contracting carrier” under the

Montreal Convention).

Plaintiffs further note that the term “carrier” is

not defined in the Warsaw’ or Montreal Conventions,

and therefore, urge consideration of how the United

States defines “carrier” in other related contexts.

Id. at 8. In this regard, Plaintiffs cite section

40102(a)(2) of the Federal Aviation Act (i.e., 49 U.S.C.

“

§ 40102(a)(2)), which defines an “air carrier” as “a

* Trevor Atherton, Unlimited Liability for Air Passengers:

The Position of Carriers, Passengers, Travel Agents and Tour

Operators Under the LATA Passenger Liability Agreement Scheme,

63 J. Air L. & Com. 405, 417-18 (1997); Tory A. Weigand, The

Modernization of the Warsaw Convention and the New Liability

Scheme for Claims Arising Out of International Flight, 84 Mass.

L. Rev. 175, 180 (2000).

" The Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relat

ing to International Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, 49

Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), note following 49 U.S.C. § 40105

(hereinafter “Warsaw Convention”).

App. 26

citizen of the United States undertaking by any

means, directly or indirectly, to provide air transpor-

tation.” Jd. (emphasis added). In addition, Plaintiffs

cite 14 C.F-R. § 380.2, promulgated thereunder, which

states in pertinent part: “Indirect air carrier means

any person who undertakes to engage indirectly in air

transportation operations and who uses for such

transportation the services of a direct air carrier.” Jd.

Plaintiffs also refer to the Air Transportation Opera-

tions Inspector’s Handbook of the U.S. Federal Avia-

tion Administration, Order 8400.10, Change 36, Vol.

2, Ch. 1, § 2 at 2-12, which provides in pertinent part

that:

An indirect air carrier is a company that

contracts aircraft and crew services from an

air carrier or commercial operator but may

not engage in control over the operational

function of any flight. Examples of indirect

air carriers include freight forwarders, brok-

ers, or public charter operators. An indirect

air carrier will act as an agent for either the

customer or the air carrier... .

See D.E. 99 (McCune Decl.), Ex. “12”. In addition,

Plaintiffs cite federal cases supporting the proposition

that travel agents, tour operators, charterers and

nominal “social clubs” that sell tours and air trans-

portation publicly may be considered “indirect air

carriers” subject to certification and similar require-

ments under the FAA. See D.E. 101 (Pls.’ Mem. in

Opp’n to Mot.) at 9 (citing Monarch Travel Servs. v.

Associated Cultural Clubs, 466 F.2d 552 (9th Cir.

App. 27

1972), cert. denied, 410 U.S. 967 (1973); Arkin uv.

Trans Int. Airlines, Inc., 568 F. Supp. Ll (E.D.N-Y.

1982); U.S. v. Caribbean Ventures, Lid., 387 F. Supp.

1256 (D.N.J. 1974)).

Plaintiffs also cite the U.S. Department of Trans-

portation’s “Notice on the Role of Air Charter Brokers

in Arranging Air Transportation,” which states in

pertinent part:

The Enforcement Office has become aware

that there are air charter brokers not hold-

ing economic authority from the Department

who solicit and directly with 2

charter customer for air transportation and

then solicit and separately contract directly

with a direct air carrier to operate the air

service promised to the charter customer

under the charter broker’s contract with that

customer. With respect to payment for the

proffered air transportation, two separate

transactions commonly occur: (1) The air

charter broker collects all of the monies paid

by the charter customer pursuant to the

broker’s contract with the customer, and

(2) the air charter broker then turns over a

portion of these monies to the direct air

carrier pursuant to the broker’s separate

contract with the carrier. In such instances,

the air charter broker is not acting as an

agent for the operating carrier or for the

charter customer. Rather, the air charter

broker is acting as a principal in both trans-

actions, and, with respect to its relation-

ship with the customer, is engaged in air

App. 28

transportation as an indirect air carrier

without economic authority in contravention

of the statutory and Department licensing

requirements described above.

Id. (citing 69 Fed. Reg. 61429-02, 61430 (2004)).

Plaintiffs submit that this description fits Newvac’s

role in the instant case, as Newvac made two sepa-

rate transactions, one with Globe Trotter and the

other with West Caribbean, making a profit on the

difference between what it paid for the air trans-

portation and the price it received from Globe Trotter.

Id. at 9-10.

Finally, Plaintiffs suggest Newvac is a “loophole

airline” and that public policy dictates that therefore,

Newvac be considered a “contracting carrier.” /d.

at 10. The “loophole airline” label is given to un-

regulated U.S. entities that compete with U.S. car-

riers by chartering cheaper foreign-flagged aircraft

with less stringent safety standards. /d. The problem

of “loophole airlines” was addressed in a 1991 hearing

before the Subcommittee on Investigations and Over-

sight of the U.S. House of Representatives’ Commis-

sion on Public Works and Transportation. /d.

In response to Plaintiffs’ arguments, Defendants

maintain that Newvac was not a “contracting carricr”

because there were no passengers with whom to con-

tract when Newvac entered into its contract with

Globe Trotter. See D.E. 113 (Defs.’ Reply) at 4. Thus,

Defendants submit that Newac [sic] could not have

made a “contract of carriage” with any “passenger”

App. 29

nor “a person acting on behalf of the passenger,” as

required by the literal terms of Article 39. /d.

Defendants add that Newvac was an “indepen-

dent intermediary” not in privity with any passenger

in that: (a) Newvac sold the entire capacity of each

flight to Globe Trotter; (b) it was for Globe Trotter, at

its own risk, to sell individual seats to passengers;

and; (c) the “carrier” to operate the flights was West

Caribbean. /d. at 4-5. Further, Defendants note that

Globe Trotter advertised the subject flights, solicited

ihe passengers, and entered into “contracts of car-

riage” at the retail ievel with each of them. /d. Thus,

Defendants submit that it is impossible to argue that

Newvac, whether as principal or agent, entered into

any contracts of carriage with any of the passengers.

Id.

With respect to Plaintiffs’ argument that Newvac

acted as a principal because it sold the seats on the

aircraft for more than it paid West Caribbean, Defen-

dants submit that if that is the test, then Globe

‘Trotter was likewise acting as a principal in entering

into contracts of carriage with the passengers because

Globe Trotter sold the seats to each passenger for

more than it paid Newvac. /d. at 5. According to

Defendants, “it is an entirely illogical leap for plain-

liffs to argue that merely because Newvac was acting

as a principal vis-a-vis |West Caribbean], it was also

acting as a principal in making contracts of carriage

with the individual passengers.” [d

App. 30

Defendants also note, respecting Plaintiffs’ cita-

tion to U.S. Department of Transportation precedent

and law, that Newvac’s contracts with West Carib-

bean and Globe Trotter were executed abroad. ld. at

5-6. Accordingly, Defendants submit that “[f Jor plain-

tiffs to argue that U.S. or U.S.D.O.T. law should

apply to such foreign executed contracts, especially

when the flight had no contact with the United States

and none of the passengers was an American citizen

or resident, would represent an extraterritorial exten-

sion of U.S. jurisdiction that would be both unprece-

dented and highly precarious in the history and

current practice of international air law.” Jd. at 6.

Finally, Defendants submit that Plaintiffs’ posi-

tion would be bad policy in that it would expose

“ordinary travel agents, individuals and small com-

panies” to full common carrier liability. /d. at 6.

According to Defendants, the liability requirements of

a carrier operating to or from the United States are

minimally $300,000,000, and for France $450,000,000

Id. Thus, Defendants maintain that imposing such

requirements on individuals like Cimetier or com

panies like Newvac “would jeopardize the economic

viability of very substantial segments of the airline

industry.” Jd.

App. 3l

Treaty Interpretation Principles

As noted in Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 499

U.S. 530 (1991):

When interpreting a treaty, we begin with

the text of the treaty and the context in

which the written words are used. Other

general rules of construction may be brought

to bear on difficult or ambiguous passages.

Moreover, treaties are construed more liber-

ally than private agreements, and to ascer-

tain their meaning we may look beyond the

written words to the history of the treaty, the

negotiations, and the practical construction

adopted by the parties.

Id. at 534-35 (internal citations and quotation marks

omitted); see also El Al Israel Airlines, Ltd. v. Tsui

Yuan Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 167 (1999) (stating: “It is

our responsibility to give the specific words of the

treaty a meaning consistent with the shared expec-

tations of the contracting parties. Because a treaty

ratified by the United States is not only the law of

this land, see U.S. Const., Art. II, § 2, but also an

agreement among sovereign powers, we have tradi-

tionally considered as aids to its interpretation the

negotiating and drafting history (travaux prépara-

toires) and the postratification understanding of the

contracting parties”) (internal citation and quotation

marks omitted). Further, “[allthough not conclusive,

the meaning attributed to treaty provisions by the

Government agencies charged with their negotia-

tion and enforcement is entitled to great weight.”

App. 32

Sumitomo Shojt America, Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S.

176, 184-85 (1982).

Analysis

Again, Article 39 of the Montreal Convention

states:

The provisions of this Chapter apply when a

person (hereinafter referred to as “the con-

tracting carrier”) as a principal makes a

contract of carriage governed by this Con-

vention with a passenger or consignor or

with a person acting on behalf of the passen-

ger or consignor, and another person (here-

inafter referred to as “the actual carrier”)

performs, by virtue of authority from the

contracting carrier, the whole or part of the

carriage, but is not with respect to such part

a successive carrier within the meaning of

this Convention. Such authority shall be

presumed in the absence of proof to the

contrary.

Montreal Convention, art. 39. The Court finds that

the foregoing language is unambiguous and that un-

der the facts of this case, it applies to Newvac.

3y the plain terms of Article 39, Newvac is a

“contracting carrier” in this case if it was: (1) a person

(“the contracting carrier”) that made a contract of car-

riage governed by the Montreal Convention; (2) it did

SO as a principal; (3) the contract was with a passen-

ger or consignor, or with a person acting on either’s

behalf; and (4) another person (“the actual carrier”)

App. 33

performed the carriage by virtue of authority from

the [sic] “the contracting carrier.”

First, Newvac is “a person” that made a “contract

of carriage governed by [the] Convention.” In this

regard, the Court notes that the Convention “applies

to all international carriage of persons ... by air-

craft. ..” (id., art. 1(1)), and that the contract

between Newvac and Globe Trotter concerned the

“nternational carriage” of persons by aircraft (Z.e.,

carriage of passengers from Martinique-Panama-

Martinique onboard West Caribbean’s MD-81 air-

craft). See D.&. SS (McCune Deci.), Ex. “7” Cingiisn

translation of Newvac-Globe Trotter contract); Montreal

Convention, art. 1(2) (providing that “international

carriage means any carriage in which, according to

the agreement between the parties, the place of

departure and the place of destination ... are situ-

ated either within the territories of two States Par-

ties,” or within the territory of a single State Party if

there is an agreed stopping place within the territory

of another State, even if that State is not a State

Party... .”). Thus, the Court finds that the Newvac-

Globe Trotter contract is a contract of carriage gov-

erned by the Montreal Convention.

“ France and Panama became “State Parties” to the Con-

vention prior to the accident at issue herein. See International

Civil Aviation Organization List and Current Status of Inter-

national Air Law Multilateral Treaties/Montreal Convention

(available at <http://www.icao.int/icao/en/eb/mtl99.pdf> (visited

Sept. 4, 2007)).

App. 34

Further, Newvac acted as a “principal” when it

made the contract of carriage with Globe Trotter.

Under international and maritime law, a “person” can

act either as an ayent or a principal when contracting

for transportation, depending on whether it acts on

its own initiative or for another.” In this case, Newvac

acted as a “principal” because it contracted with West

Caribbean for its aircraft and crew, and then in-

dependently contracted to supply air transportation

and ancillary services to Globe Trotter. See D.E. 99

” Cf. James N. Kirby, Pty Ltd. v. Norfolk Southern Ry. Co.,

300 F.3d 1300, 1305-06 (11th Cir. 2002), rev'd on other grounds

sub nom. Norfolk Southern Railway Co. v. Kirby, 543 U.S. 14

(2004) (explaining that freight forwarders may act as agents of

cargo owners or as principals and concluding that the freight

forwarder under consideration acted as a principal]); accord Clive

M. Schmitthoff, Schmitthoff’s Export Trade, The Law and Prac-

tice of International Trade 302-05 (9th ed. 1990) (also noting that

in the context of modern international transportation Conven-

tions such as the Guadalajara Convention, a “contractual carrier

is a person who has contracted to move the goods from one placc

to another, although he does not carry out the transportation

himself but leaves this task to the actual carrier with whom he

has contracted”); id. at 623 (noting that a “contracting carrier” is

one who “as a principal, makes an agreement for carriage with

the consignor or the consignor’s agent. In many cases the con-

tracting carrier will be the first or sometimes the only carrier by

air, but the contracting carrier may also be one who merely

issues a waybill, or an aircraft charterer, or a cargo consolidator

or forwarder”); see also 69 Fed. Reg. 61429-02, 61430 (2004)

(quoted above, outlining the scenario where an air charter brok-

er acts as a principal, not as agent, respecting its relationship

with both the air carrier and the customer, and with respect to

the latter, “is engaged in air transportation as an indirect air

Carrier. ...”).

App. 35

(McCune Decl.). Ex. “7” (English translation of Newvac-

Globe Trotter contract) at 1 (providing that “[Globe

Trotter] wishes to charter seats from [Newvac]” and

that “[Newvac] shall make available ... passenger

transport... .”).

In reaching this conclusion, the Court has con-

sidered Defendants’ contention that Newvac cannot

be deemed a “principal” because it merely assigned

the aircraft's seating capacity to Globe Trotter. But

this argument, as the Court understands it, assumes

that Newvac cannot be characterized as a “principal”

witnous the Court identifying a cerresponding agent,

in this case Globe Trotter. This assumption is un-

warranted. The language of Article 39 is derived from

the Guadalajara Convention’s definitions of “contract-

ing carrier” and “actual carrier.” See S. Treaty Doc.

No. 106-45, 1999 WL 33292734, at 10, 18, 34." The

term “principal” under Guadalajara did not contem-

plate the necessity of an agency relationship; that is,

that because there is a “principal” there must be an

agent. The term was specifically used to ciarify that

those acting solely as agents could not qualify as

“contracting carriers.” In any event, Defendants’

Citations are to the page numbers in the printed docu-

ment.

' See International Civil Aviation Organization Doc. 8301-

14°0/149-1, Minutes of the International Conference on Private

Air Law, Guadalajara, Aug.-Sept. 1961, at 39-48, 186-89, 199-

200, 262-64; Doc. 8301-LC/149-2, Documents, at 19, 46, 48;

Restatement (Third) of Agency § 1.01 cmt. b (2006) (recognizing

that: “the terminology of agency is widely used in commercial

(Continued on following page)

App. 36

argument relies on a distortion of the facts because

during the term of its contract with Globe Trotter,

Newvac remained responsible for supplying the air-

craft and crew, and monitoring and ensuring West

Caribbean’s performance of the Newvac-Globe Trotter

contract. See D.E. 99 (McCune Decl.). Ex. “7” (English

translation of Newvac-Globe Trotter contract) at 1;

D.E. 145 (Cimetier Depo.) at 178:16-179-12, 190:25-

191:7, 212:21-214:17. These facts show that West

Caribbean was acting “by virtue of authority from

[Newvac]}” in transporting the passengers. More im-

portantly, they illustrate that Newvac stepped into

the shoes of and assumed the role of “carrier.”

Finally, although Defendants advance an inter-

pretation of the language, “acting on behalf of the

passenger,” as requiring Globe Trotter to be acting on

behalf of passengers identified prior to Newvac’s

execution of the Newvac-Globe Trotter contract, the

Court declines to adopt this rigid construction. Courts

utilize flexible principles to interpret treaty provi-

sions and effect the drafters’ intentions. See Floyd,

499 U.S. at 535 (noting that treaties are construed

more liberally than private agreements); accord

Western Digital Corp. v. British Airways, PLC, [2001]

1 All E.R. 109 at paras. 38-40; Air France v. Saks, 470

settings and academic literature to characterize relationships

that are not necessarily encompassed by the legal definition of

avency.... In commercial settings, the term “principal” is often

used to designate one who benefits from or is affected by the acts

of another, or one who sponsors or controls another’).

App. 37

U.S. 392, 405 (1985) (defining the term “accident” in

the context of Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention

and noting that “[t]his definition should be flexibly

applied after assessment of all the circumstances sur-

rounding a passenger’s injuries”). Newvac and Globe

Trotter clearly contemplated that Globe Trotter would

procure passengers for the flights and the fully in-

clusive tour packages that were to be supplied by

Newvac, and that Globe Trotter would act on behalf of

the passengers in this regard. The parties’ expecta-

tions are evident from the Newvac-Globe Trotter

contract, which required that once the passengers

purchased their tour packages from Globe Trotter,

Globe Trotter was obligated to forward the passen-

gers’ information to Newvac so that Newvac could,

among other things, issue the corresponding travel

documents, including the individual passenger tickets.

See D.E. 99 (McCune Decl.), Ex. “7” (English trans-

lation of Newvac-Globe Trotter contract) at 4, para. 8;

145 (Cimetier Depo.) at 212:21-214:17. Thus, the fact

that the actual passengers were not known at the

inception of the Newvac-Globe Trotter contract should

not, in the Court’s view, be determinative. Cf. Block v.

Compagnie Nationale Air France, 386 F.2d 323, 334-

36 (5th Cir. 1967) (examining whether the Warsaw

Convention applied in the context of an accident

involving a chartered aircraft and determining, inter

alia, that under the facts of the case (e.g., the char-

terer “was to obtain the passengers for the flight”),

the charterer acted on behalf of the passengers in

entering into the charter agreement). Rather, the

focus should be on the fact that Newvac knowingly

App. 38

assumed the responsibility to supply the aircraft and

crew, and to otherwise conduct itself as an air carrier,

for the transportation of Globe Trotter’s customers.

Therefore, the Court finds that Newvac was a “con-

tracting carrier” within the meaning of Article 39 of

the Montreal Convention.”

Forum Non Conveniens

Plaintiffs, relying in large part on Hosaka uv.

United Airlines, Inc., 305 F.3d 989 (9th Cir. 2002),

contend that Newvac’s status as a “contracting car-

rier” confers mandatory jurisdiction on this Court

pursuant to Article 33 of the Montreal Convention,

thereby precluding dismissal of the actions based on

forum non conveniens. See, e.g., D.E. 101 (Pls.” Mem.

in Opp’n to Mot.) at 11-27. Defendants respond that

the Montreal Convention’s drafting history reflects

that the signatory countries contemplated that forum

non conveniens would remain a valuable procedural

* Although the Court is not persuaded that the authority

Plaintiffs cite from the Federal Aviation Act (see D.E. 101 (Pls.’

Mem. in Opp’n to Mot.) at 8-10) is applicabie to the issue of

whether Newvac is a “contracting carrier” under the Montreal

Convention, the citations were at least helpful in illustrating the

role that “indirect air carriers,” which engage in conduct not

unlike that of Newvac herein, play in relation to passengers and

carriers. See, e.g., Romualdo P. Eclavea, Annotation, Regulation

of air travel clubs, charter flights, and the like, by the Civil

Aeronautics Board, 27 A.L.R. Fed. 154 (1976) (outlining federal

decisions interpreting pertinent statutory and regulatory provi-

sions).

App. 39

tool for the dismissal of litigation with tenuous rela-

tionships to the United States. See, e.g., D.E. 113

(Defs.’ Reply) at 9-16.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals held in

Hosaka that “Article 28(1)'’ of the Warsaw Conven-

tion overrides the discretionary power of the federal

courts to dismiss an action for forum non conveniens.”

Hosaka, 305 F.3d at 993, 1004. In so holding, the

Ninth Circuit rejected the decision of the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals, the only other United States appel-

late court to have considered the issue, that Article

28(1) of the Warsaw Convention did not prevent a

district court from considering and applying the

doctrine of forum non conveniens. See In re Air Crash

Disaster Near New Orleans, La., on July 9, 1982, 821

F.2d 1147 (5th Cir. 1987) (en banc), vacated on other

grounds sub nom. Pan American World Airways, Inc.

'* Article 28 provided:

(1) An action for damages must be brought, at the

option of the plaintiff, in the territory of one of the

High Contracting Parties, either before the court of

the domicile of the carrier or of his principal place of

business, or where he has a place of business through

which the contract has been made, or before the court

at the place of destination.

(2) Questions «f procedure shall be governed by the

law of the cour. to which the case is submitted.

Warsaw Convention, art. 28.

App. 40

v. Lopez, 490 U.S. 1032 (1989), vacated in part and

aff’d in part on remand 883 F.2d 17 (5th Cir. 1989).

In reaching its conclusion, the Ninth Circuit in

Hosaka found the text of Article 28 to be ambiguous,

but that the treaty’s purposes, its drafting history, as

well as evidence of the parties’ post-ratification

understanding and the treatment of the issue in other

treaties and by other courts, supported its decision.

See Hosaka, 305 F.3d at 1003-04. However, the War-

saw Convention was negotiated at a time when the

doctrine of forum non conveniens, as it exists today,

was not even recognized by United States courts. /d.

at 999, n.13, 1002-08; Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454

U.S. 235, 248 n.13 (1981). Further, the Ninth Circuit

acknowledged in Hosaka that the Montreal Conven-

tion is an entirely new treaty and that Article 33,

although similar to Article 28, has its own distinct

drafting history shedding no light on the intention of

the drafters of the Warsaw Convention respecting the

availability of forum non conventens in a case arising

14

The only other published decision from a United States

court addressing the availability of forum non conveniens in

Warsaw Convention cases is In re Air Crash Off Long Island,

N.Y., on July 17, 1996, 65 F. Supp. 2d 207 (S.D.N.Y. 1999). In

that case, the district court held that “[f Jorum non conveniens is

a procedural tool available to U.S. courts and thus squarely falls

within the literal language of [Warsaw Convention] Article

28(2).” Id. at 214. On the other hand, in Milor S.R.L. v. British

Airways, PLC, [1996] Q.B. 702 (Eng. C.A.), the Court of Appeal

of England concluded that Article 28 of the Warsaw Convention

precluded application of the forum non conveniens doctrine in

Convention cases.

App. 41

thereunder. See Hosaka, 305 F.3d at 999-1001. Thus,

the Ninth Circuit made clear in Hosaka that it was

not opining on the availability of forum non conven

tens dismissals under the then unratified Montreal

Convention: “We offer no opinion as to whether the

text and drafting history of the Montreal Convention

demonstrate whether forum non conveniens would be

available in an action brought under that as-yet-

unratified treaty.” Jd. at 1001 n.17.

For these reasons, Hosaka has limited preceden-

tial value on the ultimate issue of the availability of

tion. Accordingly, this Court is left with the duty to

resolve — apparently as a matter of first impression —

whether the doctrine of forum non conveniens can be

considered in a case arising under the Montreal Con-

vention. To do so, the Court again resorts to the

flexible principles applicable to treaty interpretation,

examining first the text of the treaty and the histori-

cal context in which it was drafted, the purpose of the

treaty, its drafting history, and the post-ratification

understanding of the Convention States. See Floyd,

499 U.S. at 534-35; Tseng, 525 U.S. at 167. The Court

also considers the United States’ Statement of Inter-

est filed in this action; “[aJlthough not conclusive, the

meaning attributed to treaty provisions by the

Government agencies charged with their negotiation

and enforcement is entitled to great weight.” Avagli-

ano, 457 U.S. at 184-85; accord Sanchez-Llamas ov.

Oregon, 126 S. Ct. 2669, 2685 (2006). In the final

analysis, however, it is the Court’s responsibility “to

App. 42

give the specific words of the treaty a meaning consis-

tent with the shared expectations of the contracting

parties.” Tseng, 525 U.S. at 167 (quoting Saks, 470

U.S. at 399).

a. Text of the Treaty

Article 33 (“Jurisdiction”) provides that:

1. An action for damages must be brought,

at the option of the plaintiff, in the territory

of one of the States Parties, either before the

court of the domicile of the carrier or of its

principal place of business, or where it has a

place of business through which the contract

has been made or before the court at the

place of destination.

2. In respect of damage resulting from the

death or injury of a passenger, an action may

be brought before one of the courts men-

tioned in paragraph 1 of this Article, or in

the territory of a State Party in which at the

time of the accident the passenger has his or

her principal and permanent residence and

to or from which the carrier operates services

for the carriage of passengers by air, either

on its own aircraft, or on another carrier’s

aircraft pursuant to a commercial agree-

ment, and in which that carrier conducts its

business of carriage of passengers by air

from premises leased or owned by the carrier

itself or by another carrier with which it has

a commercial agreement.

App. 43

For the purposes of paragraph 2,

(a) “commercial agreement” means an

agreement, other than an agency agree-

ment, made between carriers and relat-

ing to the provision of their joint services

for carriage of passengers by air;

(b) “principal and permanent residence”

means the one fixed and permanent

abode of the passenger at the time of the

accident. The nationality of the passen-

ger shall not be the determining factor

in this regard.

4. Questions of procedure shall be governed

by the law of the court seised of the case.

Montreal Convention, art. 33.

Like Article 28 of the Warsaw Convention, the

text is silent respecting the forum non conveniens

doctrine, but it expressly provides that questions of

procedure shall be governed by the law of the forum.

However, unlike the Hosaka Court, this court finds

the above-quoted language to be unambiguous and

dispositive: since the doctrine of forum non conven-

lens was firmly entrenched in the procedural law of

the United States by the time the Montreal Conven-

tion was drafted, the text by implication clearly

permits the application of the doctrine in domestic

litigation.

This construction, moreover, comports with the

rules commonly used by courts to construe treaty

provisions. It is consistent with the international law

App. 44

principle endorsed by the Supreme Court of the

United States, that “absent a clear and express state-

ment to the contrary, the procedural rules of the

forum State govern the implementation of the treaty

in that State.” Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371, 375

(1998) (per curiam); accord Sanchez-Llamas, 126

S. Ct. at 2682-83; Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft

v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 700 (1988): Société Nation-

ale Industrielle Aérospatiale v. U.S. Dist. Court for

Southern Dist. of Towa, 482 U.S. 522, 539 (1987); see

also Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint

Corp., 466 U.S. 248, 262 (1984) (Stevens, J., dissent-

ing) (noting that “|gjiven the gulfs of language, cul-

ture, and values that separate nations, it is essential

in international agreements for the parties to make

explicit their common ground on the most rudimen-

tary of matters”). It harmonizes and gives effect to

every word of Article 33 by construing the language

“brought, at the option of the plaintiff” to mean the

place where the plaintiff may initiate the action,

subject to the application of the procedural dectrine of

forum non conveniens as provided for in subsection

(2)."°

It also avoids the need to graft language onto

lf ’ > ’ ‘ ‘ s , € ‘ »r7

See In re Commissioner’s Subpoenas, 325 F.3d 1287

, 1296

(llth Cir. 2003) (noting that “in treaty interpretation as in

statutory interpretation, particular previsions may not be

divorced from the document as a whole and read in insolation”);

Itel Containers Int’l v. Huddleston, 507 U.S. 60, 65-66 (1993)

(rejecting an interpretation of an international convention that

would render some of its language superfluous); see also

Maximov v. U.S., 373 U.S. 49, 54 (1963) (stating that “it is par-

ticularly inappropriate for a court to sanction a deviation from

(Continued on following page)

App. 45

subsection (2) so that it would read: “Questions of

procedure, other than forum non conveniens, shall be

governed by the law of the court seised of the case”

a result the law plainly does not permit.”

Notwithstanding the conclusion that the text un-

ambiguously permits application of the forum non

conventens doctrine in Montreal Convention cases, it

remains the Court’s responsibility to interpret Article

33 consistently with the shared expectations of

the contracting parties. Tkeng, 525 U.S. at 167.

Accordingly, the Court considers below whether the

the clear import of a solemn treaty between this Nation and a

foreign sovereign, when ... there is no indication that applica-

tion of the words of the treaty according to their obvious mean-

ing effects a result inconsistent with the intent or expectations

of its signatories”).

'* As early as 1821, the Supreme Court recognized that

(T)his Court does not possess any treaty-making power.

That power belongs by the constitution to another de-

partment of the Government; and to alter, amend, or

add to any treaty, by inserting any clause, whether

small or great, important or trivial, would be on our

part an usurpation of power, and not an exercise of

judicial functions. It would be to make, and not to con-

strue a treaty. Neither can this Court supply a casus

omissus in a treaty, any more than in a law. We are to

find out the intention of the parties by just rules of

interpretation applied to the subject matter; and

having found that, our duty is to follow it as far as it

goes, and to stop where that stops — whatever may

be the imperfections or difficulties which it leaves

behind.

The Amiable Isabella, 19 U.S. 1, 71 (1821); accord Sanchez-

Llamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2679.

App. 46

historical context in which the Convention was

drafted, the purpose, the drafting history, the post-

ratification understanding of the contracting parties,

if any, and the meaning accorded to Article 33 by the

agencies responsible for its negotiation and enforce-

ment, support the conclusion that forum non con-

veniens may be employed in Montreal Convention

cases pursuant to Article 33(4). Id.; Floyd, 499 U.S. at

534-35; Sanchez-Llamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2685.

b. Historical Context

In reaching the conclusicn that the plain lan-

guage of Article 33 permits the application of forum

non conveniens in Montreal Convention cases, the

undersigned acknowledges that subsection (1) and

subsection (4) of Article 33 are nearly identical to

Article 28(1),(2) of the Warsaw Convention, and that

the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in Hosaka, as well

as Lord Phillips in Milor S.R.L. v. British Airways,

PLC, [1996] Q.B. 702 (Eng. C.A.), concluded that the

sentence “[q]uestions of procedure shall be governed

by the law of the court to which the case is submitted”

in Article 28(2) did not authorize the application of

forum non conveniens in Warsaw Convention cases.

However, the authors of those opinions were seeking

to ascertain the shared expectations of the signatories

to a treaty that was drafted in 1925 and 1929, at a

time when the forum non conveniens doctrine was

rarely utilized, its contours were undeveloped and its

“procedural” character was unsettled. See Hosaka,

305 F.3d at 999, n.13, 1002-03; accord Milor S.R.L. v.

App. 47

British Airways, PLC, [1996] Q.B. 702 (Eng. C.A.);

Saks, 470 U.S. at 401." Therefore, there is little,

if any evidence, reflecting that the drafters of the

Warsaw Convention then understood that the inclu-

sion of the language “[q]uestions of procedure shall be

governed by the law of the court seised of the case”

encompassed forum non conveniens.

The same conclusion cannot be reached with

respect to the Montreal Convention; federal courts in

the United States faced with cases arising out of

international transactions and mass torts, among

others, have utilizea tne doctrine routinely since

1947 to assess whether litigation should occur in a

more convenient foreign forum, including in Warsaw

As of 1929, when the Warsaw Convention was negotiated,

the term “forum non conveniens” was not even in use in courts in

the United States, although some American courts had recog-

nized the discretion of trial courts to refuse jurisdiction in

certain types of cases. See Edward L. Barrett, Jr., The Doctrine

of Forum Non Conveniens, 35 Cal. L. Rev. 380, 386-89 (1947):

Alexander Reus, Judicial Discretion: A Comparative View of the

Doctrine of Forum Neon Conveniens in the United States, the

United Kingdom, and Germany, 16 Loy. L.A. Int'l & Comp. L.J.

455, 460-464. By 1941, Justice Frankfurter referred to the “fa-

miliar doctrine of forum non conveniens’” as a manifestation of a

civilized judicial system which is “firmly imbedded in our law.”

Baltimore & O.R. Co. v. Kepner, 314 U.S. 44, 55-56 (1941)

(Frankfurter, J., dissenting). Even then, however, the parame-

ters of the doctrine remained unclear until 1947, when the

United States Supreme Court decided Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert,

330 U.S. 501 (1947), and Koster v. Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co.,

330 U.S. 518 (1947). See Reyno, 454 U.S. at 248 n.13.

App. 48

Convention cases.” The historical context of the

Montreal Convention thus reflects that, by the time it

was drafted, the doctrine was widely understood to be

a procedural device frequently employed in United

States courts. See generally 14D C. Wright, A. Miller

& E. Copper [sic], Federal Practice and Procedure

§ 3828 (3d ed. 2007); American Dredging Co. v. Miller,

510 U.S. 443, 453 (1994) (noting that forum non

conveniens is a doctrine of procedure rather than

substance). Moreover, Hosaka had not been decided

in 1999, when the final draft of the Montreal

Convention was completed. At that time, the only

United States decision that had addressed directly

the availability of forum non conventens in Warsaw

Convention cases in the United States was the Fifth

Circuit’s decision in Jn re... New Orleans, and it had

“ McLoughlin v. Commercial Atrways (Pty) Ltd., 602

F. Supp. 29 (E.D.N.Y. 1985) (denying motion); Harpalani v. Air

India, Inc., 622 F. Supp. 69 (N.D. Ill. 1985) (denying motion); Jn

re Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, La., on July 9, 1982,

821 F.2d 1147 (5th Cir. 1987) (en banc) (affirming district court’s

denial of motion); Galu v. Swiss Air Transport Co., Ltd., No. 86

Civ. 5551, 1987 WL 15580 (Aug. 3, 1987) (denying motion);

Robert Bosch Corp. v. Air France, 712 F. Supp. 688 (N.D. II.

1989) (denying motion); Lu v. Air China Intern. Corp., No. CV

92-1254, 1992 WI. 453646 (E.D.N-Y. Dec. 16, 1992) (unreported

case granting motion, and agreeing (id. at *1 n.1) with the Fifth

Circuit’s reasoning in New Orleans that forum non conveniens 1s

applicable to a Warsaw Convention case); Thach v. China Air-

lines, Ltd., No. 95 Civ. 8468, 1997 WL 282254 (S.D.N.Y. May 27,

1997) (denying motion); In re Air Crash Off Long Island, N. Y.,

on July 17, 1996, 65 F. Supp. 2d 207 (S.D.N.Y. 1999) (denying

motion).

App. 49

held that forum non conveniens was available,

stating:

The delegates, however, recognized that

the [Warsaw] Conven''on’s provisions would

have to be applied and adopted to a variety

of legal systems, so they provided in Article

28(2) that “[q]uestions of procedure shall be

governed by the law of the court to which the

case is submitted.”

Plaintiffs insist that article 28(1)’s lan-

guage “at the option of the plaintiff” grants

thawm tha absolut ann emnlié¢arahtl a ann orl, + +

vwaswdii waav CAnmwovils = Caaarva Baataavwl Atiw dipjtiv vO

choose the national forum in which their

claims will be litigated. We cannot agree....

The party initiating the action enjoys the

perogative [sic] of choosing between these

possible national forums but that selection is

not inviolate. That choice is then subject to

the procedural requirements and devices that

are part of that forum’s internal laws. ... We

simply do not believe that the United States

through adherence to the Convention has

meant to forfeit such a valuable procedural

tool as the doctrine of forum non conveniens.

In re Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, La., on

July 9, 1982, 821 F.2d 1147, 1161-62 (5th Cir. 1987)

(internal citations and footnotes omitted).

'? The Second Circuit also had stated in Smith v. Canadian

Pacific Airways, Ltd., 452 F.2d 798 (2d Cir. 1971), that:

[I]n a Warsaw Convention case there are two levels of

judicial power that must be examined to determine

(Continued on following page)

App. 50

Viewed in this context, the undersigned cannot

agree with Plaintiffs’ argument that interpreting

Article 33 to allow for application of forum non

conveniens would be inconsistent with Article 57 of

the Montreal Convention prohibiting “reservations.”

The difficulty with this argument is that it presup-

poses that the drafters did not understand that forum

non conveniens is part of the procedural law of the

United States and that they did not anticipate that

forum non conventens would continue to be employed

in United States courts. Neither the text of Article 33

nor its historical context support this pre-supposition

for the reasons explained above, and therefore no

“reservation” is necessary for a United States court

to be able to consider the “procedura! question” of

Whether an action under the Montreal convention

should be dismissed pursuant to forum non conven-

Lens,

whether suit may be maintained. The first level... is

that of jurisdiction in the international or treaty sense

under Article 28(1). The second level involves the pow-

er of a particular United States court, under federal

statutes and practice, to hear a Warsaw Convention

case — jurisdiction in the domestic law sense. It is only

ufter jurisdiction in both senses is had that the ques-

tion of venue is reached and a determination made

regarding the appropriateness and convenience for the

parties of a particular domestic court.

Id. at 800 (footnote omitted) (emphasis added); accord Campbell

v. Air Jamaica, Ltd., 863 F.2d 1 (2d Cir. 1988); Kapar v. Kuwait

Airways Corp., 845 F.2d 1100, 1104-05 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

App. 51

The Court also is not persuaded by Plaintiffs’

argument that the drafters’ failure to address the

location of the fora to which a case could be

“transferred” indicates that they did not intend to

allow the application of forum non conveniens in

United States courts and elsewhere the doctrine is

employed. While the drafters may have aspired to

achieve uniformity and predictability in the imple-

mentation of the Montreal Convention’s liability

regime, the historical record reflects that the drafters

were tasked with harmonizing the conflicting inter-

ests of numerous countries with different legal

systems, including widely disparate procedural rules.

The Montreal Convention, like most treaties, was the

product of consensus and the absence of a provision

does not necessarily imply anything more than mere

compromise. See, e.g., Franklin Mint Corporation, 466

U.S. at 262 (Stevens, J., dissenting) (noting that

“(tlhe great object of an international agreement is to

define the common ground between sovereign nations.

Given the gulfs of language, culture, and values that

separate nations, it is essential in international

agreements for the parties to make explicit their com-

mon ground on the most rudimentary of matters”).””

” That the Montreal Convention was the product of com-

promise and consensus is ®vident from the remarks of the

Chairman. quoted at page 44, infra, in advocating the adoption

of a “consensus package” that included the language now found

in Article 33.

App. 52

c. Purpose of the Treaty

Plaintiffs also submit that Hosaka’s reasoning

respecting the primary purposes of the Warsaw Con-

vention is equally applicable to cases arising under

the Montreal Convention. See D.E. 101 (Pls.’ Mem. in

Opp’n to Mot.) at 19. In Hosaka, the Court found that

application of the forum non conveniens doctrine

would undermine the Warsaw Convention’s dual

goals of (i) uniformity, and (11) the balance that the

drafters sought to strike between the interests of air

carriers and passengers. See Hosaka, 305 F.3d at 996-

97. In reaching this conclusion, the Hosaka Court

relied on the Milor Court’s reasoning, citing with

approval the statement that Article 28 of the Warsaw

Convention is “a self-contained code” harmonizing

different national views on jurisdiction. Jd. at 997.

Plaintiff ’s argument fails to take account of the

fact that the stated purpose of the Montreai Conven-

tion was to “modernize and consolidate the Warsaw

Convention and related instruments,” and to “en-

surle] protection of the interests of consumers in in-

ternational carriage by air and the need for equitable

compensation based on the principle of restitution.”

Montreal Convention, Preamble. As such, it was in-

tended to replace the system of liability contained in

the Warsaw Convention:

' Namely, the Hague Protocol of 1955, the Guadalajara

Supplementary Convention of 1961, the Guatemala City protocol

of 1971, and the Montreal Protocols 1-4 of 1975. See Montreal

Convention, art. 55.

App. 53

The Montreal Convention is the product of

an effort by the International Civil Aviation

Organization, a specialized agency of the

United Nations, to reform the Warsaw Con-

vention so as to ‘harmonize the hodgepodge

of supplementary amendments and _ inter-

carrier agreements’ of which the Warsaw

Convention system of liability consists...

The Montreal Convention is not an amend-

ment to the Warsaw Convention. Rather, the

Montreal Convention is an entirely new

treaty that unifies and replaces the system of

liability that derives from the Warsaw

Convention....

Ehrlich v. Am. Atrlines, Inc., 360 F.3d 366, 371 n.4

(2d Cir. 2004) (internal citations omitted).” Thus,

Hosaka’s reliance on the purposes of the Warsaw

Convention to conclude that forum ron conveniens

dismissals were unavailable in United States courts

under the earlier treaty, 1s not entirely persuasive to

* As noted by President Clinton in his letter of transmittal

to the Senate:

Among other benefits, the Convention eliminates the

cap op carrier liability to accident victims; holds car-

riers strictly liable for proven damages up to 100,000

Special Drawing Rights (approximately $135,000) ... ;

provides for U.S. jurisdiction for most claims brought

on behalf of U.S. passengers; clarifies the duties and

obligations of carriers engaged in code-share opera-

tions; and, with respect to cargo, preserves all of the

significant advances achieved by Montreal Protocol

No. 4.

S. Treaty Doc. No. 106-45, 1999 WL 33292734, at 8.

App. 54

this Court which is tasked with deciding the avail-

ability of this procedural tool under the new treaty.

Indeed, at least one of the purposes of the Mon-

treal Convention, modernization, actually supports

the viability of forum non conveniens dismissals in

cases arising thereunder. As already noted, at the

time the Montreal Convention was drafted, the only

case in the United States directly addressing the

availability of forum non conveniens in cases brought

under the Warsaw Convention had found the doctrine

to be applicable and other courts had applied the

doctrine in Warsaw Convention cases without engag-

ing in treaty interpretation. See supra note 18. Also,

at least one other foreign court had employed the

doctrine in a Warsaw Convention case. See Brinker-

hoff Maritime Drilling Corp. v. PT: Airfast Servs.

Indonesia [1992] SGCA 45 (available at http://app.

supremecourt.gov.sg/default.aspx?pgID=1127 (visited

Aug. 28, 2007)). Thus, utilization of the doctrine com-

ported with modern practice at the time the Montreal

Convention was negotiated and is consistent with the

Montreal Convention’s stated goal of “modernization.”

Nonetheless, the Court accepts Plaintiffs’ asser-

tion that the drafters of the Montreal Convention,

like the drafters of the Warsaw Convention, aspired

to uniformity and predictability in the implemen-

tation of its hability scheme. These goals, however, do

not necessarily suggest that the drafters of the

Montreal Convention viewed forum non conveniens as

repugnant or incompatible with its jurisdictional

provisions. Although the delegates clearly knew that

App. 55

United States courts were applying forum non con-

ventens in Warsaw Convention cases, not a single

proposal appears in the Minutes of the Conference

or related documents precluding the application of

forum non conveniens in Montreal Convention cases.

Instead, the drafting history, explained in greater

detail below, reflects that the delegates considered

various proposals which would have expressly sanc-

tioned the use of forum non convueniens in cases

brought in the fifth a or clarified its status

rwur noar A w+3 cle he 3(4): bhowev rer

e4e4ee\sAOi sae vl wu\ 4

no consensus veil reached due mainly to the fear

that codification would be interpreted as requiring

countries unfamiliar with the doctrine to employ it.

The absence of language articulating forum non con-

ventens principles in the final document, thus,

suggests that the drafters intended to maintain the

status quo: that United States courts, as well as the

courts of other States recognizing the doctrine, would

continue to apply forum non conveniens in Montreal

Convention and other cases, while others would not.

Moreover, Hosaka, in buying into the Milor

Court’s reasoning that the Warsaw Convention was

intended to include a “self contained jurisdictional

code” with which forum non conveniens conflicted,

appears to have overlooked that in the United States

the doctrine of forum non conveniens has co-existed

with the concept of jurisdiction for many decades. In

Smith, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals explained

pelucidly the relationship between jurisdiction and

venue in the context of a Warsaw Convention case.

App. 56

See supra note 19 (citing Smith, 452 F.2d 798). Forum

non conveniens is not a jurisdictional question, but

rather a supervening question of proper venue. See

Am. Dredging Co. v. Miller, 510 U.S. 443, 453 (1994).

Therefore, whether under Warsaw or Montreal, the

first issue in any case should be whether there is

treaty jurisdiction, meaning whether the case has

been brought in one of the fora described by the

applicable treaty, the second issue should be whether

there is subject matter jurisdiction under domestic

law, and the third issue should be whether venue is

proper and appropriate. See supra note 19.

The record also does not reflect that drafters of

the Montreal Convention, assuming they understood

forum non conveniens to be a jurisdictional question,

accorded the objective of formulating a “self-contained

jurisdictional code” the primacy ascribed in the

Hosaka and Milor opinions to the drafters of the

Warsaw Convention. Like the Warsaw Convention,

the predominant objectives of the Montreal Conven-

tion were the creation of a new uniform system of

liability governing the international transportation of

passengers and cargo, and the balancing of the inter-

ests of the air carriers and passengers. However,

when the Warsaw Convention was drafted the doc-

trine of forum non conveniens was undeveloped and

rarely invoked. By 1999, its contours had been

defined and it had been widely employed in United

States courts in international cases, although never

App. 5%

to the detriment of a Warsaw Convention plaintiff in

a reperted case.” In other words, the dectrine did not

pose a significant threat to uniform implementation

of the Montreal Convention’s liability regime. Hence,

there were no proposals at the Conference to exclude

it as a procedural device.

In any event, the Court simply does not perceive

how application of the doctrine, as a practical matter,

undermines uniform implementation of the Montreal

Convention or the balance it seeks to strike between

the interests of the passengers and the airiines.

Forum non conventens, as it has developed in the

United States, requires, among other factors, that the

movant, in order to upset the plaintiff's choice of

forum, demonstrate the existence of an “adequate

alternative forum” that has a paramount private and

public interest in the case. See Reyno, 454 U.S. at 255

n.22, 257-261; 14D C. Wright, A. Miller & E., Copper

lsic], Federal Practice and Procedure §$§§ 3828.3,

3828.4 (3d ed. 2007). Since treaty jurisdiction can be

established only in one of the fora described in Article

33 (see, e.g., Smith, 452 F.2d at 802-03), it is difficult

to conceive of a dismissal based on forum non con

veniens in a Montreal Convention case in a United

See supra note 18. In an unreported case, the district

court for the Eastern District of New York dismissed a case

arising under the Warsaw Convention on the basis of forum non

conveniens, agreeing with the Fifth Circuit’s reasoning in Neu

Orleans that the doctrine is applicable to a Warsaw Convention

case. See Lu v. Air China Int'l. Corp., No. CV 92-1254, 1992 WL

453646, at *1n.1(E.D.N_-Y. Dec. 16, 1992)

App. 58

States court unless the alternative forum is (i) autho-

rized to hear the case pursuant to Article 33(1) or (2),

and (11) demonstrably the more appropriate venue.

Further, a decision to dismiss in favor of one of

the fora designated by Article 33 would not appear to

upset the balance the drafters of the Montreal Con-

vention intended to strike between the interests of

the passengers and the airlines. The requirements to

invoke the fifth jurisdiction show that the drafters

concluded that plaintiffs should have the initial choice

of furum, but that the choice should be constrained to

ensure litigation in a location with a significant

connection to the defendant.’ The doctrine of forum

non conventens, as established in the United States,

is consistent with that balance by requiring that

a court defer to plaintiff's choice of forum in assess

ing whether one of the other fora would be more

For a plaintiff to invoke a Convention State as the fifth

jumsdiction: (1) there must be damage resulting from the death

or injury of a passenger, (2) the State must be the “principal and

permanent residence” of the passenger at the time of the

accident, (3) the State must be one to or from which the carrier

operates services tor the carriage of passengers by air, either on

its own aircraft or on another carmer’s aircraft pursuant to a

“commercial agreement,” and (4) the State must be one in which

the carrier conducts its business of carriage of passengers by air

from premises leased or owned by the carrier itself or by another

carrier with which it has a “commercial agreement.” Se

Montreal Convention, art. 33(2)-(3); see also generally Devendra

Pradhan, The Fifth Jurisdiction Under the Montreal Liability

Convention: Wandering American or Wandering Evervbody?, 68

J. Air L. & Com. 717 (2003) (discussing the adoption and

potential impact of the fifth jurisdiction)

App. 59

appropriate in a case arising under the Convention.

See Reyno, 454 U.S. at 255; but see id. at n.23 (noting

that although not dispositive, citizens or residents

deserve “somewhat more deference” than foreign

plaintiffs); 14D C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Fed-

eral Practice and Procedure § 3828.2 (3d ed. 2007).

Finally, forum non conveniens encourages uniform

implementation of the liability system and consis-

tency of results because it facilitates the consolidation

of multiple lawsuits arising out of a single air

disaster in a single forum state.

d. Drafting History

Plaintiffs argue that the drafting history of Article

33 is inconclusive with respect to the applicability of

forum non conventens in Montreal Convention cases:

“The only clear and verifiable truth is that ultimately,

the Montreal Convention, like its predecessor says

nothing about the FNC doctrine.” D.E. 101 (Pls.’

Mem. in Opp'’n to Mot.) at 24. The undersigned dis-

agrees. While it is certainly true that the Montreal

Convention does not expressly refer to the doctrine of

forum non conveniens, it was a subject of extensive

discussions in connection with the inclusion and

drafting of the fifth jurisdiction that in the final

instrument appears in Article 33(2). Those discus-

sions show that no consensus could be reached for the

inclusion of express language codifying the doctrine,

but they also show no inclination on the part of the

delegates to restrict existing practices among the

App. 60

signatory States. Importantly, the Minutes of the

Conference and related documents contain not a

single proposal that would prohibit the courts of

Convention States from employing forum non con-

veniens.

The discussion of forum non conveniens began in

the Conference meetings in response to the proposal,

supported by the United States, that the convention

include a fifth jurisdiction allowing passengers or

their heirs to sue in the state where the passenger

lived. In supporting the proposal, the United States

had anticipated that the addition of the fifth juris-

diction would aid in addressing the problem of “forum

shopping” in the United States: “U.S. courts are far

more likely to dismiss lawsuits brought by non-U.S.

residents on the grounds of forum non conveniens if a

convenient homeland court is available to the plain-

tiff because of the fifth jurisdiction.” D.F. 151 (Con-

ventional Filing of the Conference Minutes and

Documents (hereinafter “Minutes” or “Documents”))”

at 108 (DCW Doc. No. 12 (“forum shopping” aspect of

paper presented by the U.S. titled “Article 27 — Fifth

Jurisdiction”)).”” The United States also had provided

The Minutes and Documents are published hb, the

International Civil Aviation Organization, Doc. 9775.

The United States advocated for the addition of the fifth

jurisdiction, noting, unter alia, that it was “a matter of funda

mental fairness;” U.S. citizens had been prevented from filing

suits in Li.S. courts in a number of Warsaw Convention cases

due to the unavailability of a fifth jurisdiction. Jd. at 104. It was

the view of the United States that passengers or heirs with

(Continued on following page)

App. 61

a position paper to the Conference for its considera-

tion in the adoption of the fifth jurisdiction explaining

the operation of the doctrine of forum non conveniens

in United States courts. /d. at 151-54 (DCW Doc. No.

27 (paper presented by U.S. titled “Two Cases Reflect-

ing United States Law on Forum Non Conveniens”)).

In the paper, the United States had explained “[tJhe

primary purpose of forum non conveniens is to allow a

court to resist impositions upon its jurisdiction and to

protect the interests of parties to the litigation by

adiudiceting the claim in the most suitabie and

convenient forum. A forum is suitable and convenient

when the entire case and all the parties come within

the jurisdiction of that forum.” Jd. at 154.

The Minutes of the Conference meetings from

May 17, 1999, reflect that the French delegate op-

posed the creation of a fifth jurisdiction because he

was concerned that its inclusion would both encour-

age forum shopping in high compensation states and

make it easier for courts applying forum non con-

ventens to dismiss foreign plaintiffs’ claims in favor of

courts located in poorer countries. See Minutes at

103-04, paras. 44-45.*° The United States delegate

claims arising under the new convention “should have the right

to bring suit in the courts of the State where the passenger

lived.” Jd. at 101

“ The French delegate’s views were endorsed by the dele-

gates from Madagascar, India, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Lesotho,

Cameroon, Korea, China and Gabon. /d. at 105, para. 49. More

importantly, the French delegate’s statements reflect that he

(Continued on following page)

App. 62

responded that he disagreed that inclusion of the fifth

jurisdiction would increase forum shopping since he

anticipated that the increase in the number of cases

brought in the United States due to the fifth jurisdic-

tion [i.e., by U.S. residents] would be offset by the

number of cases that would be dismissed on forum

non conveniens grounds due to the availability of a

“home court” convenient forum for a “forum shopping”

plaintiff. Jd. at 108, para. 62. He further suggested

that the French delegate’s concern that foreign plain-

tiffs would be consigned to litigation in their home

countries through the application of forum non con-

veniens was not well-founded because, under the

proposal, the fifth jurisdiction could not serve as an

alternative forum unless it was both the principal!

and permanent residence of the passenger and a loca-

tion where the carrier had a significant commercial

presence. /d. at 108-09, paras. 63-64.

On May 19, 1999, the discussions respecting the

fifth jurisdiction and forum non conveniens continued.

The Minutes reflect, among other comments on the

doctrine, that the Swedish delegate indicated that he

would welcome the inclusion of any language that

would authorize States to continue to apply forum

non conventens but would oppose any effort to impose

the doctrine on others. The Minutes show that he

commented as follows:

anticipated that forum non conveniens dismissals would remain

a possibility in some countries under the proposed jurisdiction.

App. 63

With reference to draft Article 27 [z.e., Article

33 in the final instrument], the Delegate of

Sweden recalled that reference had been

made to the possibility of provisions on

forum non conveniens and his Delegation

welcomed any such wording that would en-

able States presently applying that principle

to continue doing so. However, he advised

against any attempt to make that a standard

provision for all States. It had been proposed,

through lengthy discussions in other fora,

that it should be a standard requirement

applicable to all States, although no conclu-

sions had been reached at this point in time.

He stated that forum non conveniens was

unknown to most civil law countries and a

number of States had firm instructions on

such a position.

Id. at 144, pera. 18.

The fifth jurisdiction and forum non conventens

were also considered later that day in the “Friends of

the Chairman” Group.” In that meeting, the Chair-

man offered two ideas for further consideration in

addressing fears that there would be a tendency for

plaintiffs to favor a fifth jurisdiction “home base” as

being more favorable to them “even in circumstances

in which the critical connecting links between the

passenger, the accident and the injury might be such

that that forum could be regarded as an inconvenient

* For a listing of the Group’s members, see Minutes at 109,

para. 66.

App. 64

forum....” Jd. at 148-49, paras. 6-7. The first idea

concerned the possibility of codifying forum non

conveniens within Article 27 so that a court seized of

a case “would not be able to exercise its jurisdiction in

circumstances in which it would be inconvenient or

would create formidable difficulties, having regard to

the connecting links of the case.” Jd. The second idea

was to consider the first four bases of jurisdiction as

primary, and if a plaintiff resorted to the fifth juris-

diction, he would have to show that it would be highly

inconvenient or disadvantageous for him to resort to

the existing four jurisdictions. Id.

In the context of these discussions, the

Australian delegate proposed that Article 27 might be

made subject to a provision requiring a court to be

satisfied that it would be “manifestly unfair to permit

the matter to be heard and decided in that juris-

diction and that there existed another jurisdiction in

which the matter might properly, and with a view to

the interests of all the parties, more fairly and

conveniently heard and decided, in which case the

Court might dismiss the matter.” Jd. at 158, para. 17.

The Chairman understood the proposal to be applica-

ble to only the fifth jurisdiction: “The substance of the

proposal was that a resort to the fifth jurisdiction

would place a responsibility on the plaintiff to satisfy

the Court on two counts: that there was not another

jurisdiction in which the matter might properly,

and with a view to the interests of all the parties,

more fairly and conveniently be heard and decided;

and that it would be manifestly unfair in all the

App. 65

circumstances for the matter to be heard and decided

in that jurisdiction.” /d., para. 18. The proposal as

formulated by the Chairman was tentatively en-

dorsed by the delegates from Saudi Arabia and Cana-

da, with the Minutes reflecting that the Canadian

delegate observed that “while the doctrine of forum

non conveniens might have elaborated originally in

common law jurisdictions, it was now spreading

throughout the world and was taken into account in

modern Civil Codes, such as the new Quebec Civil

Code” and that the “doctrine was entirely compatible

with civil law systems... .” /d. at 158-59, para. 19.

The United States delegate underscored in his

response that his delegation was unalterably opposed

to any provision that would create a higher hurdle for

the application of the fifth jurisdiction than would be

applicable to the other four jurisdictions, as would be

the case if only the fifth jurisdiction was made subject

to forum non conveniens analysis. Jd. at 159, para. 21.

The United States delegate further made clear that,

regardless of the action ultimately taken by the

Conference on the issue of forum non conveniens, the

United States would continue to apply the doctrine in

any and all Convention cases in its courts. Id. The

Minutes recount his comments as follows:

Indicating that he [ze., the U.S. delegate]

was somewhat puzzled by the direction which

the debate had taken, he noted that DCW

Doc No. 27 presented by his Delegation

described the doctrine of forum non _ con-

veniens as it was currently applied in the

App. 66

Courts of the United States to the existing

four jurisdictions and as it would be applied

to a fifth, sixth, seventh or eighth juris-

diction, if such jurisdictions were created.

The Delegate of the United States noted that

the doctrine of forum non conveniens would

be applied to all five jurisdictions in his

country whether the Group prescribed that

or not. It seemed to him that that should

provide substantial comfort to those con-

cerned about judgments in his jurisdiction.

The Delegate of the United States was

concerned not only about not creating a

higher hurdle for the application of the fifth

jurisdiction than existed for the other four

jurisdictions but also about the ratifiability

of the new Convention. As has already been

noted, there were jurisdictions which did not

apply, understand or perhaps even desire

forum non conveniens. He was concerned

that, by proposing to impose such an alien

concept on such jurisdictions, it would make

it more difficult for them to accept the result.

The Delegate of the United States was also

concerned that, in attempting to codify on

paper a doctrine which already existed in his

country, the Group would do it in a way

which would alter the jurisprudence which

was already applicable in the United States

and that such an alteration would be found

to be obnoxious to the process which the

Group had to follow.

The Delegate of the United States thus

suggested that, to provide some measure of

comfort to those concerned about the level of

App. 67

judgments in his jurisdiction and perhaps

to others where forum non conveniens or

similar doctrines which perhaps did not bear

that precise name were applicable and to

avoid any concern that by having the fifth

jurisdiction, some Court would conclude that

the forum non conveniens doctrine should not

be applied, paragraph 4 of Article 27 (“Ques-

tions of procedure shall be governed by the

law of the Court seised of the case.”) should

be amended by adding the phrase “including

the doctrine of forum non conveniens or other

similar doctrines”. If any Delegate had such

a similar doctrine that had a name, it could

be included in that provision. The Delegate

of the United States hoped that with his

proposed amendment a certain degree of

comfort might be gained without, as in the

adage, throwing away the baby with the

bathwater.

Id., paras. 21-22.

Consistent with his remarks, it was also observed

by other delegates that the forum non conveniens

doctrine was relatively unknown in some European

countries (id., para. 20 (Swiss delegate’s comment in

this respect)), would be difficult to harmonize within

some countries’ legal systems (id. at 160, para. 26

(Chilean delegate’s comments respecting Chile and

several other unidentified Latin American countries)),

and in fact, in an apparent reference to Milor, that

the doctrine was inapplicable in England in cases

arising under the Warsaw Convention. /d. at 161-62,

paras. 31, 33.

App. 68

In the course of these discussions the Conference

Chairman questioned whether in the interest of

achieving predictability and uniformity, it might be

necessary to forge a common understanding of forum

non conventens. Id. at 159-60, para. 23; 162, paras.

32, 34; also 171, para. 15; 181, para. 28. The Minutes

present the following account:

To the point raised by the Delegate of the

United States that the imposition of that

alien concept — a term which he found

strange — might pose jurisdictional problems,

the Chairman emphasized that the Group

was involved in the process of seeking

uniformity. ... Recognizing, as he did, that

in some jurisdictions the concept of forum

non conveniens might not exist in a par-

ticular form, as well as that many of the

elements of the Convention relating to the

burden of proof, what was required to be

proved and the limits of liability also did not

exist in the domestic legislation of many

countries, the Chairman indicated that it

would be necessary to make adjustments to

such legislation in order to achieve uni-

formity. He therefore appealed to the Group

to search for solutions which were commonly

acceptable, even in the knowledge that they

might entail adjustments to domestic juris-

dictions.

Id. at 159-60, para. 23. The Chairman further noted

that “the Group would need to look most carefully as

to whether or not in all the circumstances it would be

achieving its purposes if it did not expressly provide

App. 69

for [forum non conveniens] in the Convention. It

would seem that if forum non conveniens was to play

a role, that would have to be clearly indicated, having

regard to the jurisprudence which might or might not

exist in some countries.” Jd. at 161-62, paras. 31-32.

Next, the Minutes reflect that the delegate from

the United Kingdom, apparently referring to the

Milor decision, indicated that “[i]t did not seem to

him that the Group would really be modernizing and

consolidating the Warsaw Convention if the Group

were to make it necessary tor the piaintiff to fight for

his existing right to bring his action at the place of

his choice and to leave a decision thereon to the

Court.” Jd. at 162, para. 33. In response:

The Chairman indicated that the last two

comments had left him in a state of some

confusion: the Delegate of the United King-

dom had stated that in his jurisdiction, it

was the option of the plaintiff to determine

which of the four jurisdictions would apply

and that the principle of forum non con-

veniens had been determined not to apply; it

had also been indicated that it was desirable

to add a fifth jurisdiction and to circumscribe

its application so as to ensure that the

mischief that was perceived by many to exist

in relation to that jurisdiction might indeed

be fenced in. Averring that the Group could

not have it both ways, he considered that

if the Group did recognize that it gave rise

to such mischief, then either it would de-

termine that the fifth jurisdiction had its

App. 70

peculiar problems and that it therefore

might be desirable to put fences in appro-

priate places to deal with those problems, or

it would recognize that all of the jurisdictions

would be subject to a forum non conveniens

rule and, to that extent, would modify even

the existing Convention rules. If, as indi-

cated by the Observer from the IUAI, there

were no cases in the United States in which

the principle of forum non conveniens had

been applied to Convention cases, then it

would indicate the importance of dealing

with that as an issue, certainly in relation to

the fifth jurisdiction. If it were to be dealt

with in relation to the other jurisdictions,

then it would have to be done on the basis

that the rules were being changed or

clarified so that there would be uniformity in

the application of the rules across the whole

spectrum of jurisdictions. The issue which

the Group would have to decide upon was

whether it was fair to circumscribe the

conditions under which the fifth jurisdiction

would be exercisable, in the knowledge that

concerns had been expressed and in the hope

that the Group would be able to deal with

the question of how to achieve uniformity

and a degree of universality in dealing with

the issue. The suggestion had been made

that perhaps it could be dealt with under

paragraph 4 of Article 27, in which questions

of procedure were governed by the Court

seised of the case, and that that could be

elaborated upon in dealing with the intro-

duction of the basic parameters of forum non

App. 71

conveniens. However, if, in hght of what had

just been said, it were dealt with in para

graph 4, which was of general application to

all of the provisions contained in Article 27,

then it would apply to all jurisdictions

ld., para. 34

The Minutes show that the delegate of Singapore

next remarked that:

[OjJne possible, logical] interpretation of

paragraph 1 of Article 27 would be that the

plaintiff had the option of bringing his action

for damages in one of the four jurisdictions

indicated. It was up to him to make the

choice. The rules in that chosen jurisdiction

would accordingly apply to him. He observed

that the doctrine of forum non conventens

was a common law doctrine which would

apply in all cases unless there were a statu-

tory provision against it. Thus all that the

expression “at the option of the plaintiff”

meant was that it was for the plaintiff to

decide in which jumsdiction to bring his

action. Even if he did not succeed in having

his case heard in the first jurisdiction so

chosen, nothing would prevent him from

bringing his action in one of the other juris

dictions. Thus even if that expression were

retained, the action would be initiated and

the preliminary question of whether the

jurisdiction chosen by the plaintiff was the

most appropriate forum would be overcome

The case would then proceed

ld. at 162-63, para. 36

App. 72

The Group returned to the discussion of Article

27 and the “fifth jurisdiction” during May 20-21,

1999, considering proposed language specifying that a

court could decline jurisdiction in certain circum-

stances where a plaintiff filed her action in the fifth

jurisdiction. /d. at 167, para. 1; 170-71, paras. 13-17;

Documents at 491 (DCW-FCG No. 1, “Draft Consen-

sus Package”), art. 27(4).~ Upon inquiry from the

Swiss delegate on whether the language under con-

sideration contained the same elements as when one

spoke about forum non conveniens, the Minutes

reflect that the Chairman explained:

[T]he concept of forum non conveniens Was a

concept which allowed the court to make a

determination that it was inappropriate for a

matter to be brought in a certain forum,

having regard to a variety of considerations

Che lanvuayve under

j Wuestions ol proced ire shall be

law of the Court seised of the cast

decline to exercise jurisdiction on the

additional jurisdiction set out in paragray

Article lt.e., the fifth jurisdictior

a) that having regard t

the accident and the issues t

would plac » onerous a burder

for the case to be heard and d

jurisdiction

b there exists

App. 73

The considerations which were outlined in

Article 27 were indicative of those which a

court could properly take into account. Sub-

paragraph b) of paragraph 4 addressed also

the need to highlight the fact that it was not

enough to say that it was an inconvenient

forum; it was necessary to also show that

there was access to another forum which was

more convenient. The Chairman was not

certain that in some jurisdictions, apart from

indicating that a forum was not convenient,

a court would in fact go further and indicate

where a more convenient forum could be

found. Recognizing, therefore, that the Con-

vention itself established other bases for

jurisdiction, it then became necessary to

examine the other bases in order to deter-

mine whether or not there was another

convenient forum. The Chairman therefore

regarded paragraph 4b) of Article 27 as being

appropriate because the Convention deline-

ated the forum. It was correct that the

provision covered more than the forum non

conveniens mentioned in Article 28, para-

graph 4. The fact remained, however, that

different jurisdictions applied, with different

rules in the application of forum non con

veniens. What the Conference was attempt-

ing to do was provide a Convention rule.

Minutes at 174, para. 28

The delegate of the United States voiced his Oppo-

sition to the draft forum non conveniens provision,

again, because it lirmited the fifth jurisdiction in a

App. 74

manner not applicable to the other four jurisdictions;

in his view the provision would be counter-productive

to the notion that the fifth jurisdiction would help

minimize “forum shopping,” as he had suggested in

initially supporting its addition. Jd. at 180, para. 24.

Thus, the delegate from the United States suggested

that the provision should be clarified to state that it

was not intended “to limit the ability of courts, in

their discretion, applying the law of the court seised

of the case to dismiss cases that more properly

belonged in one of the other jurisdictions.” Jd. The

Chairman requested the United States delegate to

provide his proposal in writing. /d., para. 25. The

Swedish delegate expressed support for the clarifica-

tion proposed by the United States delegate because,

in conjunction with the language that “questions of

procedure shall be governed by the law of the court

seised of the case,” the clarification would be consis-

tent with an interpretation that States that currently

applied forum non conventens could continue to do so,

while not making it mandatory for States that did not

apply the doctrine to insert it into their national laws,

thus presenting problems of ratifiability. Jd. at 181,

para. 27; see also para. 29 (European Community

Observer echoing Swedish delegate’s comments, not-

ing that forum non conveniens was “foreign to the

legal system in a large number of courts” and that

“tijf it was to go in, it would have to do so in a very

careful manner, perhaps in the way that had been

suggested”).

App. 75

The Swiss delegate then summarized his under-

standing of the forum non conveniens doctrine, noting

that it is a matter of procedural, not substantive law.

Id. at 181-82, para. 30. He also observed that the

doctrine had been said to apply differently in differ-

ent legal systems, and that it was unknown in his

country, where a court had to take every case in

which there was jurisdiction. Jd. Thus, the Swiss

delegate proposed maintaining the language of

Article 28(2) of the Warsaw Convention — “[q]uestions

of procedure shall be governed by the law of the Court

seised of the case” — and not the additional language

under consideration that was intended to apply only

to cases brought in the fifth jurisdiction. Jd., paras.

30, 34. The Swiss delegate was of the view that

the additional language would not enhance the Con-

ference’s efforts to unify the law. /d., para. 32.

Specifically, he noted that the mandatory language of

Article 27(4) (z.e., “questions of procedure shall be

governed by the law of the court seised of the case”)

allowed a court to examine the forum non conveniens

issue, whether the parties argued it or not, in those

jurisdictions in which the doctrine was observed,

while the proposed additional language would intro-

duce the concept, albeit as a discretionary tool, even

in jurisdictions like Switzerland that did not apply

the doctrine. /d., paras. 30-33. Citing the uncertain

treatment that the proposed language would receive

in States where the doctrine was not part of the

local iaw, the Swiss delegate suggested that “[t]he

Conference should not try to unify one special ele-

ment of procedure by adding an unclear rule in the

App. 76

Convention.” Id., paras. 33, 34. Thus, the Swiss

delegate was of the opinion that the wording of

Article 28(2) of the Warsaw Convention should be

maintained and that the additional proposed lan-

guage should be deleted. Jd., para. 34.”

The Minutes reflect that by the conclusion of the

Group’s meetings, the Chairman had come to believe

that if the treaty expressly allowed for the application

of forum non conveniens by those States employing

the doctrine, its inclusion would not undermine the

delegates’ efforts to unify and codify the hability

regime of the Montreal Convention. They contain the

following account of the Chairman’s closing comments

respecting forum non conventens:

In relation to what was contained in para-

graph 4 of Article 27 in dealing with the

question of forum non conveniens, there nad

been a rather intensive discussion as to the

place it could occupy, having regard to the

different jurisprudential bases of the civil

law and common law systems in particular,

and that forum non conveniens was a foreign

concept in some jurisdictions. Indeed, there

was the view that in those countries which

did not recognize the concept there would be

“°° Whether as a result of this Swiss delegate’s suggesticn, or

for other reasons not reflected in the Minutes, the final instru-

ment maintains the language of Article 28(2) of the Warsaw

Convention, and not the additional language then under consid-

eration. Compare Warsaw Convention, art. 28(2), with Montreal

Convention, art. 33(4).

App. 77

problems of ratification. Without prejudice to

the legitimacy of the questions as to whether

or not an injustice could be brought about by

persons who would seek to resort to an in-

convenient jurisdiction and in the search for

uniformity and codification of law, the Charr-

man indicated that the suggestion made by

the Representative of the United States, to

indicate that it would be enough to indicate

that nothing in this article is intended to

limit the ability of the court seised of the case

to dismiss cases which could more properly

belong to another of the jurisdictions stated

in the Convention, would in fact preserve the

right of those States which had the forum non

conveniens principle and in no way derogated

from those who did not have it. It would leave

the door open to the latter to think tn the

future as to whether tt may well be appropri-

ate to change their own law if they so wished.

Id. at 183-84, para. 38 (emphasis added). According to

the Minutes, this was the last time the “Friends of

the Chairman Group” met; the Conference then pro-

ceeded with meetings of the “Commission of the

Whole” and “Plenary” meetings. Jd. at iv-vii (Table of

Contents).

Thereafter, in his report to the Commission on

Friday, May 21, 1999, the Chairman described the

status of the negotiations regarding the codification

of forum non conveniens in Article 27 as ongoing.

According to the record of proceedings, he reported:

App. 78

There had also been intense discussion on the

question of forum non conveniens; i.e. wheth-

er or not in relation to the jurisdiction pro-

vided by the Convention it might be possible

to find any appropriate language which

would assist in the elimination of the prac-

tice of “forum shopping”, whereby people

would go to what they considered to be the

jurisdiction in which they would be able to

get the best result. This matter had arisen

primarily in articulation of the fifth jurisdic-

tion, although it might well be appropriate to

other jurisdictions. Suggestions made in this

connection would have sought to require the

court to determine whether or not it was a

convenient jurisdiction. Those discusstons had

remained somewhat inconclusive, although

the Chairman was encouraged by the fact

that the Conference had reached a stage of its

discussions where specific suggestions for

addressing specific problems were now being

made. Therefore, to the extent that delega-

tions had problems, it was expected that they

would make specific proposals to resolve

those problems rather than simply assert

that the problems existed.

Id. at 187, para. 9 (emphasis added). The Chairman

indicated that consultations would continue bilater-

ally and across delegations during the weekend, and

that he expected that a revised draft of the language

under consideration would be available on Monday,

May 24, 1999. Id., para. 10. However, the drafts

circulated during this time reflect that all language

related to the forum non conveniens principle had

App. 79

been deleted from consideration by May 24, 1999. See

Documents at 495-502 (Revisions to DCW-FCG No. 1,

“Draft Consensus Package”), art. 27.

Late on Tuesday, May 25, 1999, the Chairman

presented the consensus package that included Artic-

le 27; it did not contain forum non conventens lan-

guage. See Minutes at 199, para. 1; Documents at 271

(DCW No. 50, “Consensus Package”), art. 27." In

31

Article 27 of the consensus package provided:

i. An action for damages must be brougnt, at the

option of the plaintiff, in the territory of one of the

States Parties, either before the Court of the domicile

of the carrier or of its principal place of business, or

where it has a place of business through which the

contract has been made or before the Court at the

place of destination.

2. In respect of damage resulting from the death or

injury of a passenger, an action may be brought before

one of the Courts mentioned in paragraph 1 of this

Article, or in the territory of a State Party in which at

the time of the accident the passenger has his or her

principal and permanent residence and to or from

which the carrier operates services for the carriage of

passengers by air, either on its own aircraft, or on

another carrier’s aircraft pursuant to a commercial

agreement, and in which that carrier conducts its

business of carriage of passengers by air from prem-

ises leased or owned by the carrier itself or by another

carrier with which it has a commercial agreement.

3. For the purposes of paragraph 2,

{a) “commercial agreement” means an agree-

ment, other than an agency agreement, made

between carriers and relating to the provision of

their joint services for carriage of passengers by

alr;

{Continued on following page)

App. 80

advocating approval of the package as a whole, “[t]he

Chairman reiterated that the consensus package was

to be seen in the context of the Group’s having ex-

hausted all possible means of arriving at consensus.

It had done so on the basis of the widest possible

consultations, of taking into account the concerns of

all, of recognizing that no Delegation would find it an

ideal solution to all its States’ problems.” Documents

at 205, para. 17. The Chairman further noted that:

While it was not possible to solve the prob-

lems of the world in one Conference, the

Conference could make a beginning, an im-

portant step forward which would lead to

something which would be a significant

advance on that which the Conference had.

The Conference could do so in recognition of

the fact that the consequences of a failure to

make a beginning would be far more disas-

trous that [sic] not accepting a package of

this kind. Recalling that he had presented

the package as being indivisible, the

Chairman indicated that it was because he

firmly believed that the Conference had a

unique opportunity, a unique challenge, to

(b) “principal and permanent residence” means

the one fixed and permanent abode of the pas-

senger at the time of the accident. The nation-

ality of the passenger may be considered as a

factor, but shall not be the determining factor in

this regard.

4. Questions of procedure shall be governed by the

law of the Court seised of the case.

App. 81

lay better foundations for the liability régime

in respect of the carriage of passengers,

baggage and cargo, and that if it allowed

that opportunity to pass, the consequences

would be far worse than accepting a package

in this form. The Chairman thus commended

the consensus package of the Conference for

its acceptance as a whole. He implored that

it be accepted as all possible means had been

exhausted. He affirmed that history would

not forgive the Conference if it lost this

opportunity.

Id.

The consensus package was adopted (id. at 206,

para. 19), and the final instrument, which was

ratified by the United States Senate on July 31, 2003,

contains substantially the same language from the

package,” renumbered as Article 33.

What the preceding drafting history shows is

that no State advanced a proposal which if adopted

would have precluded the application of forum non

conveniens to Montreal Convention cases in the

courts of States adhering to the doctrine. Instead, it

shows that the doctrine was extensively discussed,

“ The only difference between Article 27 in the consensus

package and Article 33 in the final instrument is the deletion of

the following italicized language in the final instrument: The

nationality of the passenger may be considered as a factor, but

shall not be the determining factor in this regard. Compare

supra note 31, with Montreal Convention, art. 33(3)(b), quoted

supra p. 16-17.

App. 82

mainly with respect to the creation of the fifth

jurisdiction, that proposals addressing the doctrine

were advanced, including proposals which would have

made forum non conventens applicable only to the

fifth jurisdiction or clarified its applicability to all

jurisdictions, and that the United States actively and

persistently opposed the inclusion of any forum non

conveniens language except to clarify its general

applicability, all while making it abundantly clear

that United States courts would continue to employ

the doctrine in Montreal Convention and other inter-

national cases. In the end, the consensus among the

delegates was to omit any language respecting the

applicability of forum non conveniens to avoid impos-

ing the doctrine on States that do not employ it and

distorting its application in States where it is com-

monly employed. In other words, the delegates deter-

mined to maintain the status quo: signatory countries

employing the doctrine would continue to do so pursu-

ant to subsection (2): “Questions of procedure shall be

governed by the law of the court seised of the case,”

and signatory countries that do not employ the doc-

trine would not be required to adjust their legal

systems to accommodate the doctrine in cases arising

under the Convention.

d.{sic] Post-Ratification Understanding

Plaintiffs concede the absence of any post-

ratification history reflecting the signatories under-

standing whether forum non conveniens would contin-

ue to be applicable in Montreal Convention cases

App. 83

brought in States adhering to the doctrine. See D.E.

101 (Pls. Mem. in Opp’n to Mot.) at 24. Nonetheless,

Plaintiffs argue on the basis of representations made

by the Executive Branch to the United States Senate

to secure ratification of the Montreal Convention that

“(1) preserving the right of U.S. Courts to apply

[forum non conveniens]| was not a central concern, and

(2) the jurisdictional provisions of the Montreal

Convention give plaintiffs a right to pursue their

claims in the enumerated forums.” Id. at 24-25

(emphasis in ori

wehbe =

In support of their first point, Plaintiffs quote

testimony of John R. Byerly, Deputy Assistant Secre-

tary for Transportation Affairs, to the Senate Foreign

Relations Committee, in which he stated that the

United States delegation achieved “all of America’s

core objectives” and that “[tlhe Convention contains

all of the key provisions sought by the United States

at the outset of the negotiations.” /d. at 25 (citing

http//www.state.gov/e/eeb/ris/rm/2003/21869.htm). These

statements do not show that the United States relin-

quished forum non conveniens in the negotiations for

the Convention. Moreover, Plaintiffs omit to acknowl-

edge that Mr. Byerly also stated that “prior judicial

interpretations under [the Warsaw Convention] are

expected to have continuing validity.” At the time of

these remarks, the Ninth Circuit’s Hosaka decision

stood in opposition to the Fifth Circuit’s decision in

In re... New Orleans, and the Southern District of

New York’s decision in /[n re... Long Island. There-

fore, Byerly’s remarks do not demonstrate that the

App. 84

United States or any other signatory State understood

at the time of ratification that forum non conveniens

was precluded in Montreal Convention cases.

As to the second point, Plaintiffs quote the fol-

lowing testimony of Jeffrey Shane, Under Secretary

for Policy in the U.S. Department of Transportation:

A second major passenger benefit provided

by the Montreal Convention is the right of

claimants to bring action in a forum related

to the passenger’s principal and permanent

residence. This provision will ensure in the

vast majority of cases that an injured Ameri-

can passenger or a claimant on behalf of a

deceased American passenger will be able to

bring action in a U.S. court.

Id. at 25 (quoting S. Exec. Rpt. 108-8, at 13) (empha-

sis added by Plaintiffs). Plaintiffs also point to

Deputy Secretary of State Strobe Talbott’s letter of

submittal to President Clinton:

[T)his fifth jurisdiction provision should en-

sure that nearly all U.S. Citizens and other

permanent residents of the United States

have access to U.S. Courts to pursue claims

under the convention.

Id. (quoting S. ‘Treaty Doc. No. 106-45, 1999 WL

33292734, at 15-16). According to Plaintiffs, these

statements “would have been singularly misleading if

they harbored an unstated belief that the new “right”

to file in the U.S. was qualified by the airlines’ “right”

to secure prompt dismissals on [forum non conven-

tens| grounds.” Jd. But these statements are not

App. 85

untrue or misleading. The fact is that in most cases,

United States citizens and permanent residents will

be able to maintain actions under the Montreal

Convention in United States courts because United

States citizens enjoy significant deference in their

choice of forum under the forum non conveniens

doctrine” and because, as required by Article 33(2),

the fifth jurisdiction, most airlines operate or con-

duct business in the United States either directly or

through a commercial agreement with another car-

rier

e. Position of the United States

“Although not conclusive, the meaning attributed

to treaty provisions by the Government agencies

charged with their negotiation and enforcement is

entitled to great weight.” See Avagliano, 457 U.S. at

184-85; accord Sanchez-Llamas, 126 S. Ct. at 2685.

That understanding is contained in the Statement of

Interest filed in this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 517,

by attorneys from the United States Department of

Justice, with attorneys from the Department of State

and the Department of Transportation appearing as

of counsel. See D.E. 116 (Statement of Interest of the

United States).

The Statement of Interest makes clear that the

United States did not relinquish the ability of its

* See Reyno, 454 U.S. at 255; 14D C. Wright, A. Miller & E.

Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure § 3828.2 (3d ed. 2007).

App. 86

courts to apply forum non conveniens in Montreal]

Convention cases because it and its component agen-

cies are often named in suits arising under the

Convention and because the United States has a

significant interest in avoiding forum shopping and

congestion in its courts when a foreign forum pro-

vides a more just, convenient and suitable allterna-

tive. Accordingly, the United States understands the

text of Article 33(4) to mean that the Montreal

Convention “defers to the forum’s laws on all ques-

tions of procedure and manifests an intent by

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.