Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Textron Inc. v. United States

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

el 1% bene

08 750 ODE 24 7p

No. ORRICE OF-THNG-CLERK

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

TEXTRON INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES, PETITIONER

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN A. TARANTINO KANNON K. SHANMUGAM

PATRICIA K. ROCHA Counsel of Record

NICOLE J. DULUDE ANNA-ROSE MATHIESON

ADLER POLLOCK & SHEEHAN GEORGE W. HICKS, JR.

P.C. SARAH F’. TEICH

One Citizens Plaza, 8th Floor ALLISON B. JONES

Providence, RI 02903 WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP

725 Twelfth Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20005

(202) 484-5000

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the work-product privilege in Federal Rule

of Civil Procedure 26(b)(3), which protects documents

that are “prepared in anticipation of litigation or for tri-

al,” is limited to documents that are prepared for use in

litigation.

(T)

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Textron Inc. has no perent corporation, and no pub-

licly held company owns 10% or more of Textron’s stock.

(IT)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

II TU cvvscccncecsnccecesccdesahtintvanmasedenatiamsaieiaaiaiesemmmaanaail 1

POT dcriccsvststotiasvicnvestanccnniieisliannapaianiniiinaama 2

Bene I snsistsstitinrniencecsetscsainlinsiensdiiemaemamnmnnan alacant 2

OE scinsecicistssitenisininguleiiinnnnminanaaeiaia 2

Reasons for granting the petition............0sssessssssererrrseeressseneres 11

A. The decision below deepens a circuit

conflict concerning the scope of the work-

IE Si ssirsieinsseninecincaintitnnitdninersntinsnticinimnaiete 12

B. The court of appeals’ decision is erroneous. ..............0+ 20

C. The question presented is an exceptionally

important and recurring one that merits

the Court’s review in this CaS@...........sscssesseersssssseresseess 25

CIN, oi icicccerrasssarebinnecrioiediniccnnemmecunnlnamananeananenn 31

I De bas sisisissisiviceiacnesstinaacnsinictanpeanseiiaminaiiiameaamammaia la

PIE © csccsssisrevisisticczcrimaviscinavcncaniiniainmaeienl 47a

FE eesisstoseissstrinsntisimandaclainaniinteaniniaaasmaanaan 89a

PIE FD scscscvsssssevisosiasinissninntanamunidaasnsanseiammaenmminiaaiael 119a

PIII GE snseivvisestesesnnrisniriidicciapiaiamnamisieaaniaaaads 12la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Binks Manufacturing Co. v. National Presto

Industries, Inc., 709 F.2d 1109 (7th Cir. 1983)............. 12

Carcieri v. Salazar, 129 S. Ct. 1058 (2009)... ecceceeeees 21

Commissioner of Revenue v. Comcast Corp.,

901 N.B.2d 1185 (Mass. 2009) ....scsccscrsrsrosssscrrscecevosersesees 17

Delaney, Migdail & Young, Chartered v. IRS,

Ge Fe Cs ly BED wens etcninsasesnissensentosassisesscesesee 26

Department of Interior v. Klamath Water Users

Protective Association, 5382 U.S. 1 (2001)............0.ccceeee 3

FTC v. Grolier, Inc. , 462 U.S. 19 (1988)..........ecsccccecesseeeees 21

Gottlieb v. Wiles, 143 F.R.D. 241 (D. Colo. 1992).............. 16

(IIT)

Cases—continued:

Henderson v. Newport County Regional YMCA,

ns Es sechlarecnciustuanabimsaninna 17

Hickman Vv. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495 (1947) ....ccccscceeceeees passim

In re Grand Jury Subpoena,

357 F.3d 900 (9th Cir. 2004)................. ecco 12, 18, 14, 18

In re Honeywell International, Inc., Securities

Litigation, 230 F.R.D. 293 (S.D.N.Y. 2008) .........ccececee 27

In re Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Co.,

214 F.3d 586 (5th Cir. 2000), cert. denied,

ERR ete cea cae 15

In re Sealed Case, 146 F.3d 881 (D.C. Cir. 1998)......... 12, 14

Lawrence E. Jaffe Pension Plan v. Household

International, Inc.,

Be Fes BE ats Bits ae sntnccsacicassensttenrsesseceisscenees 27

Maine v. United States Department of Interior,

BS FBG GO CAGE Cae, BED ccc evcccocercesscesccserccsscsevesssossesevene 16

Martin v. Bally’s Park Place Hotel & Casino,

983 F.2d 1252 (3d Cir. 1993) ..............-.--00+ gidincsiaannaiida 12

McEwen v. Digitran Systems, Inc.,

155 F.R.D. 678 (D. Utalh 1994) .....cccccscsccsessrcsssessecsocescenees 16

Mohawk Industries, Inc. v. Carpenter,

RE nC 30

National Union Fire Insurance Co. v. Murray

Sheet Metal Co., 967 F.2d 980 (4th Cir. 1992)............0. 12

NLBB vy. Sears, Roebuck & Co.,

ei ciimantnsabasions 20, 21

Regions Financial Corp. v. United States,

No. 06-895, 2008 WL 2139008

(N.D. Ala. May 8, 2008), appeal dismissed,

No. 08-13866 (11th Cir. Dec. 30, 2008) .................0+ 16, 19

Senate of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

ex rel. Judiciary Committee v. United States

Department of Justice,

823 F.2d 574 (D.C. Cir. 1987) ........... Saas ies 14, 20

Simon v. G.D. Searle & Co., 816 F.2d 397 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 484 U.S, 917 (1987)......cccccsssssscsssessscesseeees 12

Page

Cases—continued:

Springfield Terminal Railway Co. v. Department of

Transportation, 754 A.2d 353 (Me. 2000).............:ce0e 17

Swidler & Berlin v. United States,

eo ciueuetsunsvenbinieanieidioia 3

Textron Inc. v. Commissioner,

Le 18

Tronitech, Inc. v. NCR Corp.,

108 F.R.D. 655 (S.D. Ind. 1985) ..........cccccssssccssessessseceereee 27

United States Fire Insurance Co. v. Bunge North

America, Inc., 247 F.R.D. 656 (D. Kan. 2007).............. 16

United States v. Adlman,

BIO Fee Be Ge Cire BIMOD csceccrsesescscnsveciscrencecesenen passim

United States v. Arthur Young & Co.,

I os csaccsnsennsissamebdniniadisianntaass 26, 29, 30

United States v. Davis,

636 F.2d 1028 (5th Cir. Unit A Feb. 1981),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 862 (1981).........c.cccscccssesereesssneees 15

United States v. El Paso Co.,

682 F.2d 530 (5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, .

ee ie ica ciicsionnacoetnsnilasnlidecicsansiaseesaanis 15, 20

United States v. Hubbell, 530 U.S. 27 (2000) ...............:0000- 3

United States v. Nobles, 422 U.S. 225 (1975) ......ccccccscsseees 22

United States v. Roxworthy,

457 F.3d 590 (6th Cir. 2006)...............cccccsescseseees 12, 18, 19

Upjohn Co. v. United States, 449 U.S. 383 (1981) ............. 22

Statutes and rules:

ES hy ET aS mT Ae ae Ce aT TSS AE 6

Be I aiia ss inasinssi cee consanincapedadeissacdaabieluaueeaatanmame 2

Re EX RONEN TENT passim

Be eo ED vciccccvcscnsssanieosseenaicesstaeansanaacnmiiie 2

Ps ie SEs Fs I iscscsnenensssnsesesstvscstnintesmenasnesamenii 4

2 Rt A ____. ; REE 4, 23

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(3) advisory committee’s note

PUTT tesidedasntenadinitinannndevsasth senisdbeciepaseetammnauiaamaiasnanaial 23

Page

Miscellaneous:

Stuart J. Bassin, Managing Tax Accrual

Workpapers After ‘Textron,’

Se ee Ny TIT a sacissococscsnesecsnsnnsseqneesssescsesncasevens 29

Nancy T. Bowen, William S. Lee & Robert C.

Morris, Newly Minted ‘For Use in Possible

Litigation’ Test of ‘Textron’ May Have Far-

Reaching Implications for Companies,

TT since scsctsnnntennstessectnomeseneannnenesees 28

Kim Dixon, U.S. IRS Could Seek More in Company

Audits—Official, Reuters, Nov. 19, 2009............000000 26

Amir Efrati, Ruling in Tax-Auditing Case Puts

Corporations on Edge,

Wall St. J., Ata. 20, 2008, at Ad ...ccccrccoccrsrorcerrccscoseccoscece 28

Michelle M. Henkel, ‘Textron’ Eviscerates the 60-

Year-Old Work Product Privilege,

By re I aaa a ccsiancntnesnnspenenecsncccsonsocssees 28

I.R.S. Announcement 2002-63, 2002-2 C.B. 72.......ceccesesesees 5

I.R.S. Notice 2005-13, 2005-1 C.B. 630 ............ceccceeesereseeees 5

Robert Khuzami, Remarks at AICPA Nationa! Con-

ference on Current SEC and PCAOB Develop-

ments (Dec. 8, 2009) <www.sec.gov/news/

speech/2009/spch120809rsk. htm >. .........ccsceeeceseseeeereeees 28

Scott Novick, What In-House Tax Professionals

Should Do in Light of ‘Textron,’ Global Tax Blog

(Aug. 31, 2009) <tinyurl.com/scottnovick > .................. 29

Claudine Pease-Wingenter, Prophetic or Mis-

guided? The Fifth Circuit's (Increasingly) Un-

popular Approach to the Work Product Doctrine,

I aca eatnpnssscsoniocéns 15

Robert W. Pommer III, First Circuit Reverses

Course in Closely Watched Work Product

Case; E'stablishes Broad New Standard

That Could Extend Outside Tax Area,

41 Sec. Reg. & Law Report 2050 (2009) ...............0c0000 29

VII

Page

Miscellaneous—continued:

Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Richard L.

Marcus, Federal Practice and Procedure

(2d ed. 1994 & Supp. 2009)...........:ceceeseeeeseree 13, 23, 26, 28

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No.

TEXTRON INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES, PETITIONER

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Textron Inc., together with its subsidiaries, respect-

fully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the First

Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the en banc court of appeals (App., in-

fra, 1a-46a) is reported at 577 F.3d 21. The opinion of

the court of appeals panel (App., infra, 47a-88a) is re-

ported at 553 F.3d 87. The district court’s order denying

respondent’s petition to enforce administrative summons

(App., 7nfra, 89a-118a) is reported at 507 F. Supp. 2d

138.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

August 18, 2009. On October 20, 2009, Justice Breyer

extended the time within which to file a petition for a

writ of certiorari until December 24, 2009. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

RULE INVOLVED

In relevant part, Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

26(b)(3)(A) provides:

Ordinarily, a party may not discover documents and

tangible things that are prepared in anticipation of

litigation or for trial by or for another party or its

representative (including the other party’s attorney,

consultant, surety, indemnitor, insurer, or agent).

STATEMENT

In 2008, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) com-

menced an audit of petitioner’s tax returns for tax years

1998 to 2001. In connection with that audit, the IRS is-

sued an administrative summons for petitioner’s work-

papers relating to its potential tax liabilities for tax year

2001. Citing, inter alia, the work-product privilege, peti-

tioner withheld certain documents, including a spread-

sheet prepared by petitioner’s lawyers that listed items

on its return whose treatment was uncertain (and, as to

each item, estimated the likelihood of success in the

event of a dispute). The government then filed a petition

to enforce the summons in the United States District

Court for the District of Rhode Island. The district

court denied the petition. App., infra, 89a-118a. A panel

of the court of appeals initially affirmed. /d. at 47a-8&a.

After granting rehearing en banc, however, the court of

appeals reversed. /d. at la-46a.

1. This case presents a substantial circuit conflict on

an issue of immense practical importance: the scope of

the work-product privilege. The Court first recognized

that privilege in Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495

(1947).’ In the course of discovery, the plaintiff in Hick-

man had sought materials “secured by an adverse par-

ty’s counsel in the course of preparation for possible liti-

gation after a claim ha[d] arisen.” /d. at 497. Although

the then-recent Federal Rules of Civil Procedure took a

“broad and liberal” approach to discovery, id. at 507, and

by their terms seemingly permitted the plaintiff to ob-

tain the materials in question, see id. at 505-506, the

Court held that the “work product” privilege protected

“written materials obtained or prepared by an adver-

sary’s counsel with an eye toward litigation.” /d. at 511.

The Court explained that the work-product privilege was

justified by historical practice, see id. at 510 n.9, and that

a contrary rule would lead to “[iJnefficiency, unfairness

and sharp practices,” with the result that “the legal pro-

fession would be demoraliz[ed}” and “the interests of the

clients and the cause of justice * * * poorly served,”

id. at 511.

In 1970, the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure were

amended to codify the work-product privilege. Rule

26(b)(3) provides that the work-product privilege covers

“documents and tangible things that are prepared in an-

ticipation of litigation or for trial by or for another party

' Hickman has variously been described as giving rise to a “doc-

trine,” “protection,” or “privilege.” In keeping with the terminology

of the Court’s more recent decisions, we refer here to the “work-

product privilege.” See, eg., Department of Interior v. Klamath

Water Users Protective Ass'n, 582 U.S. 1, 7 (2001); United States v.

Hubbell, 530 U.S. 27, 31 (2000); Swidler & Berlin v. United States,

524 U.S. 399, 402-408 (1998).

or its representative.” The privilege is qualified rather

than absolute: where a party to litigation can show that

it “has substantial need for the materials to prepare its

case and cannot, without undue hardship, obtain their

substantial equivalent by other means,” the party can

obtain production of otherwise protected materials. Fed.

R. Civ. P. 26(b)(3)(A)(ii). +Even upon such a showing,

however, the party may not obtain production of so-

called “opinion work product”: that is, materials that

would “disclos[e] * * * the mental impressions, con-

clusions, opinions, or legal theories of a party’s attorney

or other representative concerning the litigation.” Fed.

R. Civ. P. 26(b)(8)(B). This case concerns the issue of

when a document has been prepared “in anticipation of

litigation,” and is therefore protected by the work-

product privilege, under Rule 26(b)(3).

2. Textron Inc. is a miulti-industry corporation

whose subsidiaries and operating units include such well-

known businesses as Cessna Aircraft and Bell Helicop-

ter. Textron and its subsidiaries file consolidated tax re-

turns; they are collectively the petitioner before this

Court. Because Textron is one of the Nation’s largest

corporations, petitioner’s tax returns are routinely au-

dited; in fact, the IRS has audit staff permanently based

onsite at Textron, and, during the relevant period, had

approximately 20 employees assigned to audit petition-

er’s returns. In 2003, the IRS commenced a scheduled

audit of petitioner’s tax returns for tax years 1998 to

2001. As part of that audit, the IRS issued more than

500 formal requests for information; petitioner produced

“many file cabinets” worth of material in response to

those requests. App., infra, 4a, 90a-91a; C.A. App. 184,

194-195, 227.

In tax year 2001, one of Textron’s subsidiaries had

engaged in several “sale-in, lease-out” transactions in-

volving telecommunications and rail equipment. In 2002,

the IRS adopted a policy under which, where a taxpayer

claims benefits from two or more similar “listed transac-

tions” (ie., transactions whose tax treatment was, in the

IRS's view, open to question), the IRS would seek all of

the taxpayer’s “tax accrual workpapers” (ie., workpa-

pers relating to potential tax liabilities) for the tax year

in question, regardless whether those workpapers per-

tained to the transactions at issue. See I.R.S. An-

nouncement 2002-63, 2002-2 C.B. 72. Although the “sale-

in, lease-out” transactions were not classified as “listed

transactions” at the time Textron’s subsidiary engaged

in them, they were so classified several years later, and

petitioner duly informed the IRS of the transactions.

See I.R.S. Notice 2005-13, 2005-1 C.B. 630; App., infra,

4a, 91a; C.A. App. 252-255.

Based on those transactions, and notwithstanding the

fact that the subsidiary had received legal advice that its

tax treatment of those transactions was appropriate, the

IRS issued a request, followed by an administrative

summons, for petitioner’s 2001 workpapers. In re-

sponse, petitioner expressed its willingness to produce

documents relating to the transactions at issue. But it

withheld other documents relating to its return as a

whole, including, most notably, a spreadsheet prepared

by its in-house lawyers that listed items on its return

whose treatment was uncertain (and, as to each item, es-

timated the likelihood of success in the event of a dis-

pute),? and background memorandums that set out the

legal analysis behind those estimates. By its own admis-

* A redacted version of a comparable spreadsheet from a prior tax

year was introduced as an exhibit in the district court and is repro-

duced in the appendix to this petition at pages 121a to 122a.

sion, the IRS sought those documents in order to obtain

a “roadmap” to petitioner’s tax return, because those

documents would “provid[e] guidance” in reviewing peti-

tioner’s tax return and “disclos[e] unidentified issues.”

App., infra, 5a, 3la, 91a-93a; Gov't C.A. Br. 7, 19; Gov’t

C.A. Reply Br. 16 n.7.

3. Pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 7604, the government then

filed a petition to enforce the summons in the United

States District Court for the District of Rhode Island.

As is relevant here, petitioner contended that the with-

held documents were protected by the work-product pri-

vilege. In support of that contention, petitioner submit-

ted affidavits regarding the method by which the docu-

ments were prepared, and also presented testimony at

an evidentiary hearing concerning the documents’ pur-

poses. Specifically, the head of petitioner’s tax depart-

ment testified that, although one purpose of the docu-

ments was to assist petitioner’s independent auditor in

reviewing the amount set aside in reserve for potential

tax liabilities in the event of disputes, another purpose

was to guide petitioner in making litigation or settlement

decisions concerning the tax treatment of the specified

items. See C.A. App. 200 (testimony of Norman Rich-

ter).

After the evidentiary hearing, the district court de-

nied the government’s petition. App., infra, 89a-118a.

As is relevant here, the district court held that the doc-

uments at issue were covered by the work-product privi-

lege. Jd. at 105a-110a. The district court noted that, al-

though courts had “applied * * * different tests in de-

termining whether a document was prepared ‘in antici-

pation of litigation,’” 7d. at 107a, “the relevant inquiry is

whether the document was prepared or obtained ‘be-

cause of the prospect of litigation.” /bid. Applying that

standard, the court determined that the documents

“would not have been prepared at all ‘but for’ the fact

that [petitioner] anticipated the possibility of litigation

with the IRS.” Jd. at 108a. The court explained that,

“lilf [petitioner] had not anticipated a dispute with the

IRS, there would have been no reason for it to establish

any reserve or to prepare the workpapers used to calcu-

late the reserve.” Jbid. The court added that, “even if

the workpapers were needed to satisfy [petitioner’s audi-

tor] that [petitioner’s] reserves complied with [generally

accepted accounting principles], that would not alter the

fact that the workpapers were prepared ‘because of an-

ticipated litigation with the IRS.” Jd. at 109a.°

4. The government appealed. A divided panel of the

court of appeals initially affirmed in relevant part, agree-

ing with the district court that the documents at issue

were covered by the work-product privilege. App., infra,

47a-88a. After granting the government’s petition for

rehearing en banc, however, the court of appeals re-

versed by a 3-2 vote. Jd. at la-46a.

a. The en banc court of appeals first noted that, un-

der Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26(b)(3), the work-

product privilege extends to documents that are “pre-

pared in anticipation of litigation or for trial.” App., in-

fra, 1la. At the same time, the court reasoned that “how

far work product protection extends turns on a balancing

of poicy concerns rather than application of abstract log-

ic.” Jd. at 9a The court of appeals also observed that

“the Supreme Court has not ruled on the issue before us,

* The district court determined that the documents at issue were

also covered by the attorney-client privilege, App., infra, 99a-102a,

but that petitioner had waived that privilege by disclosing the doc-

uments to its auditor, id at 110a-112a. Petitioner did not challenge

the latter determination on appeal.

namely, one in which a document is not in any way pre-

pared ‘for’ litigation but relates to a subject that might or

might not occasion litigation.” Jbid.

Although the court of appeals acknowledged that it

had previously suggested that the relevant inquiry was

whether the documents were prepared “because of” the

prospect of litigation, App., infra, 9a, it ultimately held

that the work-product privilege reached only documents

that were “prepared for use in possible litigation.” Jd. at

lla. In adopting that standard, the court explained that

“{i]t is not enough to trigger work product protection

that the subject matter of a document relates to a subject

that might conceivably be litigated,” zd. at 16a, “(nJor is

it enough that the materials were prepared by lawyers

or represent legal thinking,” 7d. at 17a. The court added,

without elaboration, that “[e]lvery lawyer who tries cases

knows the touch and feel of materials prepared for a cur-

rent or possible * * * lawsuit.” Ibid.

Applying the “for use” standard, the court of appeals

determined that the documents at issue were not cov-

ered by the work-product privilege, reasoning that

“{a]Jny experienced litigator would describe the tax ac-

crual work papers as tax documents and not as case

preparation materials.” App., infra, 15a. The court

noted that one purpose of the documents was to assist

petitioner’s auditor in reviewing the amount set aside in

reserve for potential tax liabilities in the event of dis-

puted, zd. at 1la, and summarily discounted petitioner’s

evidence that another purpose was to guide petitioner in

making litigation or settlement decisions concerning the

tax treatment of the specified items, id. at 14a-15a. The

court concluded that “(t]here is no evidence in this case

that the work papers were prepared for * * * use [in

litigation] or would in fact serve any useful purpose for

[petitioner] in conducting litigation if it arose.” Jd. at

18a-19a. In so concluding, the court conceded that

“Cojther circuits have not passed on tax audit work pa-

pers and some might take a different view.” /d. at 18a.

b. Judge Torruella, joined by Judge Lipez, dis-

sented. App., infra, 21a-46a. He criticized the majority

for “abandon[ing] our ‘because of test”; “ignor[ing] a

tome of precedents from the circuit courts”; “brush[ing]

aside the actual text of Rule 26(b)(3)”; and “contra-

ven{ing| m[any] of the principles underlying the work-

product doctrine.” Jd. at 21a-22a.

At the outset, Judge Torruella noted that, while the

majority had “claim[ed] allegiance” to the court of ap-

peals’ earlier decision applying the “because of” stan-

dard, App., infra, 22a, the majority in fact adopted a nar-

rower standard by concluding that documents must be

prepared “for use” in litigation in order to be protected

by the work-product privilege. Jd. at 23a. He explained

that “no court * * * hasso ruled,” id. at 24a, and that

the “for use” standard could not be reconciled either

with the “because of” standard applied by the majority of

the circuits or even with the narrower standard of the

Fifth Circuit, which turns on whether the “primary pur-

pose” for which the document was prepared was to assist

in future litigation. Jd. at 24a-27a. And as to the majori-

ty’s application of the “for use” standard, Judge Torru-

ella noted that “[l]lower courts deserve more guidance

than a simple reassurance that a bare majority of the en

banc court knows work product when it sees it.” Jd. at

27a.

Judge Torruella then contended that the majority's

“for use” standard was incorrect, primarily because it

was inconsistent with the language of Rule 26(b)(3),

which protects not only documents prepared “for trial”

but also documents prepared “in anticipation of litiga-

tion.” App., infra, 28a. He explained that “the term ‘an-

10

ticipation of litigation’ should not be read out of the rule

by requiring a showing that documents be prepared for

trial.” Jbid. Judge Torruella also contended that this

case “squarely implicated” the policy rationales for the

work-product privilege articulated in Hickman, because

the documents at issue “contain counsel’s ultimate im-

pression of the value of the case” and thus “contain ex-

actly the sort of mental impressions about the case that

Hickman sought to protect.” Jd. at 31a. He added that,

‘Sf attorneys who identify good faith questions and un-

certainties in their clients’ tax returns know that putting

such information in writing will result in discovery by the

IRS, they will be more likely to avoid [doing so], thus

diminishing the quality of representation.” Jd. at 32a.

And he noted that the majority's approach would have

significant ramifications beyond the specific context of

this case, because it would allow parties to access docu-

ments assessing litigation risks more generally. Jd. at

33a-34a.

Judge Torruella next determined that, under the

“because of’ standard, the documents at issue in this

case would be covered by the work-product privilege.

App., 7nfra, 34a-45a. He noted that the district court had

found both that “anticipation of litigation was the ‘but

for’ cause of the documents’ creation,” id. at 36a, and

that the documents were created for a litigation-related

purpose as well as a business purpose, id. at 35a-36a.

Judge Torruella contended that “(t]he majority ma[de]

no effort to reject these factual findings,” id. at 36a, but

instead ignored them as irrelevant “without any finding

of clear error,” id. at 38a. Because the documents “were

not prepared irrespective of the prospect of litigation,”

he reasoned, they would be protected under the correct

standard. /d. at 43a (internal quotation marks omitted).

11

Judge Torruella concluded that the majority’s deci-

sion “throw{s] the law of work-product protection into

disarray,” App., infra, 45a, and “will be viewed as a dan-

gerous aberration in the law of a well-established and

important evidentiary doctrine,” ibid. He added that the

majority’s decision “further[s] the split” in the circuits

concerning the meaning of Rule 26(b)(3), ibid., and that

“(t]he time is ripe for the Supreme Court to intervene

and set the circuits straight on this issue which is essen-

tial to the daily practice of litigators across the country,”

ibid.

5. The court of appeals subsequently granted a stay

pending the filing of a petition for certiorari. App., infra,

119a-120a. In so doing, the court of appeals acknowl-

edged that “the work product privilege finds its origin in

a Supreme Court decision that has not often been revi-

sited by the Court,” zd. at 120a, and that “there is some

difference in the interpretations adopted in different cir-

cuits,” ibid.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

When measured in terms of its practical significance

for civil litigants, this is one of the more important cases

to come before the Court in some time. In the decision

below, the en banc First Circuit adopted an unpreceden-

tedly narrow interpretation of the work-product privi-

lege in Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26(b)(3), holding

that the privilege is limited to documents that are pre-

pared “for use” in litigation. That holding deepens a

preexisting and longstanding circuit conflict: nine other

courts of appeals have adopted inconsistent (but un-

iformly broader) views of the privilege’s scope. The

First Circuit’s analysis, moreover, was deeply flawed,

because its “for use” standard cannot be reconciled ei-

ther with the language of Rule 26(b)(3) or with the poli-

12

cies underlying the work-product privilege. As the

enormous amount of attention that this case has gar-

nered reflects, the scope of the privilege is a recurring

issue of obvious practical significance, and this case is an

optimal vehicle in which to consider the issue. In sum,

because this case is a compelling candidate for further

review in every respect, certiorari should be granted.

A. The Decision Below Deepens A Circuit Conflict Con-

cerning The Scope Of The Work-Product Privilege

1. As the First Circuit seemingly recognized, see,

e.g., App., infra, 18a, 120a, its decision conflicts with the

decisions of nine other courts of appeals concerning the

scope of the work-product privilege. That conflict war-

rants this Court’s review.

a. Eight courts of appeals have held that, for pur-

poses of determining whether a document was prepared

“in anticipation of litigation” under Rule 26(b)(3), the re-

levant inquiry is whether the document was prepared or

obtained “because of” the prospect of litigation. See, e.g.,

In re Sealed Case, 146 F.3d 881, 884 (D.C. Cir. 1998);

United States v. Adlman, 134 F.3d 1194, 1202-1203 (2d

Cir. 1998); Martin v. Bally’s Park Place Hotel & Casino,

983 F.2d 1252, 1260 (8d Cir. 1993); National Union Fire

Ins. Co. v. Murray Sheet Metal Co., 967 F.2d 980, 984

(4th Cir. 1992); United States v. Roxworthy, 457 F.3d

590, 593 (6th Cir. 2006); Binks Mfg. Co. v. National Pres-

to Indus., Inc., T09 F.2d 1109, 1118-1119 (7th Cir. 1983);

Simon v. G.D. Searle & Co., 816 F.2d 397, 401 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 917 (1987); In re Grand Jury Sub-

poena, 357 F.3d 900, 907 (9th Cir. 2004). That standard

appears to have originated in the leading treatise on civil

procedure, which states that, for purposes of the “in an-

ticipation of litigation” requirement, “the test should be

whether, in light of the nature of the document and the

13

factual situation in the particular case, the document can

fairly be said to have been prepared or obtained because

of the prospect of litigation.” 8 Charles Alan Wright, Ar-

thur R. Miller & Richard L. Marcus, Federal Practice

and Procedure § 2024, at 348 (2d ed. 1994) (Wright &

Miller).

In applying the “because of” standard, courts of ap-

peals have focused on whether the document at issue

would not have been prepared but for the prospect of lit-

igation—or whether the document was prepared for a

litigation-related purpose, even if it was prepared for

another purpose as well. For example, in Adlman—

perhaps the most influential lower-court decision on the

scope of the work-product privilege—the Second Circuit

held that the privilege covered a document that, inter

alia, made “predictions about the likely outcome of liti-

gation” with the IRS that could result from a company’s

planned merger. 134 F.3d at 1195. The court concluded

that, “[w]here a document was created because of antic-

ipated litigation, and would not have been prepared in

substantially similar form but for the prospect of that

litigation, it falls within Rule 26(b)(3).” bid. In so con-

cluding, the court determined that “(t]he fact that [the]

document’s purpose [was] business-related”—viz., to as-

sist the company in deciding whether to proceed with the

merger in the first place—“appears irrelevant to the

question whether it should be protected under Rule

26(b)(3).” Id. at 1200.

Similarly, in Grand Jury Subpoena, the Ninth Cir-

cuit held that the work-product privilege extended to

documents that were created not only to assess a compa-

ny’s potential liability, but also to comply with certain

regulatory requirements. 357 F.3d at 909-910. In adopt-

ing the “because of” standard, the court explained that

the standard “does not consider whether litigation was a

14

primary or secondary motive behind the creation of a

document,” but rather “affords protection” when the

document “would not have been created in substantially

similar form but for the prospect of that litigation.” Jd.

at 908 (quoting Ad/man, 134 F.3d at 1195).

And in Sealed Case, the District of Columbia Circuit

held that certain documents could be privileged despite

the fact that no “specific claim” had arisen at the time

the documents were prepared. 146 F.3d at 882. In the

course of doing so, the court reaffirmed its adoption of

the “because of” standard, reiterating that “the ‘testing

question’ for the work-product privilege” is whether a

document “can fairly be said to have been prepared or

obtained because of the prospect of litigation.” Jd. at 884

(internal quotation marks omitted) (quoting Senate of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico ex rel. Judiciary Com-

mittee v. United States Dep't of Justice, 823 F.2d 574,

586 n.42 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (R.B. Ginsburg, J.)). The court

noted that lawyers often prepared documents “prior to

the emergence of specific claims,” such as when lawyers

“consider whether business decisions might result in an-

titrust or securities lawsuits” or “assess the possibility

that new products might give rise to tort actions.” Jd. at

886. The court reasoned that, if the work-product privi-

lege were not available in those situations, lawyers

“would not likely risk taking notes about such matters or

communicating in writing with colleagues, thus severely

limiting their ability to advise clients effectively.” Jbid.

b. Even before the First Circuit’s decision in this

case, there was a longstanding circuit conflict between

the foregoing circuits and the Fifth Circuit, which has

repeatedly held that, for purposes of determining wheth-

er a document was prepared “in anticipation of litiga-

tion” under Rule 26(b)(3), the relevant inquiry is whether

the “primary motivating purpose” for which the docu-

15

ment was prepared was to assist in litigation. United

States v. Davis, 636 F.2d 1028, 1040 (5th Cir. Unit A Feb.

1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 862 (1981). Perhaps most

significantly, in United States v. El Paso Co., 682 F.2d

530 (1982), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 944 (1984), the Fifth

Circuit held that the work-product privilege did not cov-

er workpapers like those at issue in this case, on the

ground that, even though the workpapers “forecast{] the

ultimate likelihood of sustaining [the company’s] position

in court,” the “primary motivating force” behind their

preparation was “not to ready [the company] for litiga-

tion over its tax returns,” but rather “to anticipate, for

financial reporting purposes, what the impact of litiga-

tion might be on the company’s tax liability.” 682 F.2d at

543.

Notably, in adopting the “because of” standard, nu-

merous courts have expressly rejected the Fifth Circuit’s

more stringent “primary purpose” standard. See, e.g.,

Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1198-1199 (noting, after citing Da-

vis and El Paso, that “a requirement that documents be

produced primarily or exclusively to assist in litigation in

order to be protected is at odds with the text and the pol-

icies of [Rule 26(b)(3)]”). Commentators have criticized

the Fifth Circuit’s standard as well. See, e.g., Claudine

Pease-Wingenter, Prophetic or Misguided? The Fifth

Circuit’s (Increasingly) Unpopular Approach to the

Work Product Doctrine, 29 Rev. Litig. 121, 161 (2009)

(contending that “[t]he Fifth Circuit’s ‘primary purpose’

test is clearly at odds with the plain meaning of the text

of Rule 26(b)(3) and undercuts the policy goals of the

work product doctrine”). In the face of mounting criti-

cism, however, the Fifth Circuit has adhered to its stan-

dard. See, e.g., In re Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Co.,

—"

o>

214 F.3d 586, 593 (2000), cert. denied, 532 U.S. 919

(2001).*

c. Although a panel of the First Circuit had pre-

viously suggested that it would follow the prevailing “be-

cause of” standard, see Maine v. United States Dep't of

Interior, 298 F.3d 60, 68 (2002), the en bane First Circuit

took a different approach in this case and held that, for

purposes of determining whether a document was pre-

pared “in anticipation of litigation” under Rule 26(b)(3),

the relevant inquiry was whether the documents were

“prepared for use in possible litigation.” App., infra,

lla. While the First Circuit at one point purported to

reaffirm its earlier decision in Maine, id. at 9a, it did not

otherwise refer to the “because of” standard (on which

the district court and the court of appeals panel had re-

lied, see, e.g., id. at 55a-57a, 107a-108a), but instead re-

peatedly reiterated the novel requirement that a docu-

ment must possess a litigation-related wse in order to be

protected. See, ¢.g., id. at 14a (“could be useful” in litiga-

tion); id. at 15a (“prepared for use in litigation”); id. at

18a (“prepared for potential use in litigation”). And in

applying that standard to the facts of this case, the court

concluded that “[t]here is no evidence in this case that

* The remaining three circuits—the Tenth, Eleventh, and Federal

Circuits—have not addressed the issue. A district court recently

predicted that the Eleventh Circuit would “align itself with the ma-

jority of the other courts of appeal[s] and adopt the ‘because of liti-

gation’ test.” Regions Fin. Corp. v. United States, No. 06-895, 2008

WL 2139008, at *5 (N.D. Ala. May 8, 2008), appeal dismissed, No.

08-13866 (11th Cir. Dec. 30, 2008). By contrast, several district

courts in the Tenth Circuit have adupted the Fifth Circuit’s “prima-

ry purpose” standard. See, eg., United States Fire Ins. Co. v.

Bunge North America, Inc., 247 F.R.D. 656, 658-659 (D. Kan. 2007);

McEwen v. Digitran Sys., Inc., 155 F.R.D. 678, 682 (D. Utah 1994);

Gottlieb v. Wiles, 143 F.R.D, 241, 253 (D. Colo. 1992).

17

the work papers were prepared for * * * use [in liti-

gation] or would in fact serve any useful purpose for [pe-

titioner] in conducting litigation if it arose.” /d. at 18a-

19a. As the dissent below explained, the First Circuit

thus adopted a standard that is narrower than either the

“because of” standard applied by eight other circuits or

the “primary purpose” standard applied by the Fifth

Circuit, neither of which requires a litigation-related use.

See id. at 23a-27a (opinion of Torruella, J.). The First

Circuit thereby deepened a circuit conflict that merits

this Court’s review.”

2. This case constitutes an ideal vehicle for the

Court to resolve the well-entrenched circuit conflict con-

cerning the scope of the work-product privilege, because

the choice of the appropriate standard would plainly be

dispositive of whether the privilege covers the docu-

ments at issue here.

a. As the district court and the court of appeals pan-

el correctly determined, the documents at issue would be

covered under the “because of” standard. See App., in-

fra, 55a-74a (court of appeals panel); id. at 105a-110a

(district court). To begin with, as the district court

® In addition, numerous States have rules codifying the work-

product privilege in materially identical terms to Federal Rule

26(b)(3), and many state courts of last resort (including courts within

the First Circuit) have applied the “because of” standard in deter-

mining whether a document was prepared “in anticipation of litiga-

tion” under the applicable state rule. See, eg., Commissioner of

Revenue v. Comcast Corp., 901 N.E.2d 1185, 1203-1204 (Mass. 2009);

Springfield Terminal Ry. Co. v. Department of Transp., 764 A.2d

358, 357-358 (Me. 2000); Henderson v. Newport County Regional

YMCA, 966 A.2d 1242, 1247 (R.I. 2009). In many cases, therefore,

the practical effect of the decision below will be to render the availa-

bility of the work-product privilege in the First Circuit dependent

on whether the case is being litigated in federal or state court.

18

found, “it is clear” that the documents “would not have

been prepared at all ‘but for’” the prospect of litigation

with the IRS concerning the specified items from peti-

tioner’s tax return. Jd. at 108a; see, e.g., Adlman, 134

F.3d at 1195. That is true for the simple reason that,

“{ilf [petitioner] had not anticipated a dispute with the

IRS, there would have been no reason for it to establish

any reserve or to prepare the workpapers used to calcu-

late the reserve.” App., infra, 108a. Petitioner, more-

over, presented ample evidence that there was a reason-

able prospect of litigation with the IRS: all but one of its

eight previous audits had resulted in at least some form

of adversarial proceedings, with three resulting in litiga-

tion in federal court (including one proceeding that was

still ongoing at the time the documents at issue were be-

ing prepared). See id. at 109a; Textron Inc. v. Commis-

sioner, 336 F.3d 26, 28-30 (1st Cir. 2003).

In addition, to the extent that courts applying the

“because of” standard have focused more specifically on

whether the documents at issue were prepared for a liti-

gation-related purpose (even if they were prepared for

another purpose as well), see, e.g., Roxworthy, 457 F.3d

at 598-599; Grand Jury Subpoena, 357 F.3d at 907-908, it

is clear that the “because of” standard would still be sa-

tisfied, because petitioner presented uncontroverted tes-

timony to the district court that the documents were

prepared not simply to assist petitioner’s auditor in re-

viewing che amount set aside in reserve for potential tax

liabilities, but also to guide petitioner in making litigation

or settlement decisions concerning the tax treatment of

the specified items. See C.A. App. 200. Although the en

bane majority appeared to discount that testimony in

applying its “for use” standard, see App., infra, 14a, the

district court seemingly credited it in reaching a con-

trary result under the “because of” standard, see, e.g., 2d.

19

at 93a-94a, and the government did not challenge the

credibility of that testimony on appeal, see Gov't C.A. Br.

52 n.16. In sum, because the documents at issue would

not have been prepared but for the prospect of litigation

and were in fact prepared for a litigation-related pur-

pose, they would be covered under the “because of”

standard.

b. Lower-court decisions applying the “because of”

standard confirm that conclusion. At least one district

court has extended work-product protection to similar

decuments under the “because of” standard, reasoning

that, “[wJere it not for anticipated litigation, [the compa-

ny] would not have to worry about contingent liabilities

and would have no need to elicit opinions regarding the

likely results of litigation.” Regions Fin. Corp. v. United

States, No. 06-895, 2008 WL 2139008, at *5-*6 (N.D. Ala.

May 8, 2008), appeal dismissed, No. 08-13866 (11th Cir.

Dec. 30, 2008). And although no court of appeals apply-

ing the “because of” standard has specifically considered

documents provided to a company’s auditor for the pur-

pose of reviewing the amount set aside in reserve for po-

tential tax liabilities, courts of appeals applying that

standard have suggested that the privilege would reach

documents that assess potential tax liabilities, see, e.9.,

Roxworthy, 457 F.3d at 592; Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1196,"

and documents provided to a company’s auditor for the

purpose of reviewing the amount set aside for potential

litigation liabilities more generally, see, ¢.g., Adlman,

134 F.3d at 1200. Because the documents at issue here

do not meaningfully differ from the documents discussed

* The government contended below that the Sixth Circuit’s deci-

sion in Roxworthy was “incorrect{].” Gov't C.A. Reply Br. 48 n.19.

20

in those cases, they would surely be covered under the

“because of” standard applied by the majority of circuits.

By contrast, the only lower courts to hold that docu-

ments of the type at issue here would not be subject to

the work-product privilege are the en banc First Circuit,

applying its newly minted “for use” standard, and the

Fifth Circuit, applying its distinct “primary purpose”

standard. See El Paso, 682 F.2d at 542-544. The choice

of the appropriate standard would therefore be disposi-

tive of whether the documents at issue are covered by

the privilege—and, for that reason, this case constitutes

a suitable vehicle for resolution of the circuit conflict on

the privilege’s scope.

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Erroneous

The en banc First Circuit erred in holding that the

work-product privilege in Federal Rule of Civil Proce-

dure 26(b)(3) is limited to documents that are prepared

for use in litigation.

1. Most importantly, the First Circuit’s novel “for

use” standard cannot be reconciled with the plain lan-

guage of Rule 26(b)(8). By its terms, that provision

reaches not only documents prepared “for trial,” but also

documents prepared “in anticipation of litigation”: we.,

documents prepared “in contemplation of litigation.”

Senate of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 823 F.2d at

586 (emphasis added) (quoting NLRB v. Sears, Roebuck

& Co., 421 U.S. 182, 154 (1975)). The First Circuit’s

standard, however, seemingly writes the “broader cate-

gory” of documents prepared “in anticipation of litiga-

tion” out of the rule altogether, because a document that

is prepared for use in litigation would presumably always

qualify as a document prepared “for trial.” Ad/man, 134

F.3d at 1198; see zbid. (noting that, “[i]f the drafters of

the Rule intended to limit its protection to documents

21

made to assist in preparation for litigation, this would

have been adequately conveyed by the phrase ‘prepared

* * * for trial’”) (second alteration in original). The

First Circuit’s interpretation would therefore apparently

contravene the familiar canon of construction that a

court should “give effect, if possible, to every word [the

provision] used.” Carcieri v. Salazar, 129 S. Ct. 1058,

1066 (2009) (citation omitted). And even if some inde-

pendent meaning could be attributed to the phrase “in

anticipation of litigation,” the First Circuit’s “for use”

standard would at best engraft a substantial limitation

on the scope of the work-product privilege that is no-

where to be found in the language of Rule 26(b)(3)—as

the en banc majority implicitly acknowledged. See App.,

infra, 16a; Adiman, 134 F.3d at 1198 (noting that “[n]o-

where does Rule 26(b)(3) state that a document must

have been prepared to aid in the conduct of litigation in

order to constitute work product”).’

7 In adopting the “for use” standard, the First Circuit cited two of

this Court’s decisions, neither of which is apposite. The First Cir-

cuit first quoted FTC v. Grolier, Inc., 462 U.S. 19 (1983), for the

proposition that “the literal language of [Rule 26(b)(3)] protects ma-

terials prepared for any litigation or trial as long as they were pre-

pared by or for a party to the subsequent litigation.” App., infra,

16a (emphasis in First Circuit’s opinion) (quoting Grolier, 462 U.S.

at 25). In Grolier, however, the Court was addressing only the dis-

crete question whether the work-product privilege “extended

beyond the litigation for which the documents at issue were pre-

pared,” 462 U.S. at 24—as the original emphasis in the Court’s opi-

nion makes clear. See zd. at 25 (stating that “the literal language of

[Rule 26(b)(3)) protects materials prepared for any litigation or trial

as long as they were prepared by or for a party to the subsequent

litigation”). The First Circuit also cited Sears. App., infra, 17a.

That opinion, however, stands only for the proposition that docu-

ments prepared “in contemplation of” litigation “fall squarely” with

the definition of protected work product—a proposition that is more

22

2. The First Cireuit’s standard is irreconcilable not

only with the language of Rule 26(b)(3), but also with the

policies animating the work-product privilege. In first

recognizing the privilege in Hickman, this Court ex-

plained that the privilege was necessary because “it is

essential that a lawyer work with a certain degree of pri-

vacy, free from unnecessary intrusion by opposing par-

ties and their counsel.” 329 U.S. at 510. And the Court

expressed a particular solicitude for an attorney’s

“thoughts,” “mental impressions,” and “personal be-

liefs,” which, the Court noted, had previously been

viewed as “inviolate.” Jd. at 511, 512. Notwithstanding

the government’s contention that the work-product privi-

lege “hamper [s] the search for the truth,” Gov't C.A. Re-

ply Br. 4, this Court has repeatedly reaffirmed the

“strong public polic[ies]” underlying the privilege, e.g.,

United States v. Nobles, 422 U.S. 225, 236 (1975) (inter-

nal quotation marks omitted), and those policies were

“substantially incorporated” in Rule 26(b)(3), Upjohn Co.

v. United States, 449 U.S. 383, 398 (1981).

The First Circuit’s standard would strip protection

from documents embodying an attorney’s opinion as to

the “likelihood of success in litigation,” Adlman, 134

F.3d at 1200—documents that most directly implicate

the policies underlying the work-product privilege (and

therefore lie at the “core” of the privilege). See Nobles,

422 U.S. at 238; ef. Hickman, 329 U.S. at 516 (Jackson,

J., concurring) (explaining that “[dJiscovery was hardly

intended to enable a learned profession to perform its

functions * * * on wits borrowed from the adver-

consistent with other circuits’ “because of” standard than with the

First Circuit’s “for use” standard. See p. 20, supra.

23

sary”). If such documents are not covered by the privi-

lege, it would have a chilling effect on lawyers, who

would be loath to commit their opinions to paper if the

resulting documents were “open{] to the free scrutiny” of

the IRS and other litigants. Hickman, 329 U.S. at 514.

An approach that permitted discovery of such documents

would therefore lead to the “inefficiency” of which

Hickman warned, with the result that “the legal profes-

sion would be demoraliz[ed}” and “the interests of the

clients and the cause of justice * * * poorly served.”

Id. at 511.

3. In support of its “for use” standard, the First Cir-

cuit cited an advisory committee note to Rule 26(b)(3),

which indicates that “[mJaterials assembled in the ordi-

nary course of business, or pursuant to public require-

ments unrelated to litigation, or for other nonlitigation

purposes” are not protected by the privilege. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 26(b)(3) advisory committee’s note (1970). That

note, however, speaks only to situations in which a doc-

ument has only a non-litigation-related purpose—not, as

here, a non-litigation-related purpose and a litigation-

related purpose as well. See, e.g., 8 Wright & Miller

§ 2024, at 346 (citing the advisory committee note for the

proposition that, “even though litigation is already in

prospect, there is no work-product immunity for docu-

ments prepared in the regular course of business rather

than for purposes of litigation”) (emphasis added); id. at

198 (Supp. 2009) (adding that “‘{djual purpose’ docu-

® Indeed, the government has not disputed in this case that, if the

documents at issue are subject to the privilege in the first place,

they would qualify as “opinion work product” and would therefore

be protected from disclosure even upon a showing of substantial

necessity. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(3)(B).

24

ments created because of the prospect of litigation are

protected even though they were also prepared for a

business purpose”). As the dissent below noted, a con-

trary understanding of the advisory committee note

would create an atextual exception to Rule 26(b)(8), by

excluding documents that would otherwise fall within the

scope of the rule whenever the documents possessed an

additional purpose beyond a litigation-related purpose.

See App., infra, 42a-43a (opinion of Torruella, J.).°

In sum, there is no valid justification for the First

Circuit’s novel limitation on the scope of the work-

product privilege. This Court should grant review in or-

der to eliminate the circuit conflict and correct the First

Circuit’s seriously flawed approach.

® Before the First Circuit, the government argued that the docu-

ments at issue should not be covered by the work-product privilege

because petitioner was legally required to generate them. See Gov't

C.A. Supp. Br. 24. The First Circuit did not rely on that argument,

and for good reason. That is because, at most, the law “requires

that [petitioner] prepare audited financial statements reporting total

reserves based on contingent tax liabilities” and does not “require

the form and detail of the documents prepared here.” App., infra,

32a (Torruella, J., dissenting). To be sure, petitioner prepared the

documents for the purpose, inter alia, of assisting petitioner’s audi-

tor in reviewing the amount set aside in reserve for potential tax

liabilities (and thus in performing its obligation to review petition-

er’s financial statements for compliance with generally accepted ac-

counting principles). The salient point, however, is that, but for the

prospect of litigation with the IRS, petitioner would not have needed

to prepare the documents at all. See, e.g., C.A. App. 200 (testimony

of Norman Richter) (explaining that, if petitioner had not antic-

ipated litigation with the IRS, the documents “would be blank” and

“[w]e would have nothing there”).

25

C. The Question Presented Is An Exceptionally Impor-

tant And Recurring One That Merits The Court’s Re-

view In This Case

Finally, the question presented in this case is an ex-

ceptionally important one because it concerns the scope

of the work-product privilege—an issue that is “essential

to the daily practice of litigators across the country.”

App., infra, 45a (Torruella, J., dissenting). If the First

Circuit’s unprecedented interpretation of the work-

product privilege is allowed to stand, it will have pro-

found consequences for civil litigants in a variety of dif-

ferent contexts.

1. As a preliminary matter, the factual context in

which this case arises—ze., whether the work-product

privilege extends to documents assessing risks in tax lit-

igation for the purpose, inter alia, of assisting a compa-

ny’s auditor in reviewing the amount set aside in re-

serve—is important in its own right. Because of the size

and complexity of their operations, publicly held compa-

nies inevitably find themselves taking positions on their

tax returns that fall into “gray areas” as to which there is

legal uncertainty (because the relevant statutory or reg-

ulatory language is unclear and the IRS has provided no

guidance on point). For that reason, virtually all publicly

held companies generate so-called “tax accrual workpa-

pers” in some form. If a company is required to disclose

such documents to the IRS, it will give the IRS a “blue-

print” to the company’s thinking in preparing its tax re-

turn (as the en banc majority acknowledged, see App.,

infra, 20a); indeed, the IRS has freely admitted that it

sought the documents at issue here for that reason. See

pp. 5-6, swpra. But that kind of disclosure would contra-

vene the fundamental principle, established in Hickman,

that a party is not entitled to an opposing attorney’s “as-

sessment of * * * legal vulnerabilities in order to

26

make sure it does not miss anything in crafting its legal

case.” Delaney, Migdail & Young, Chartered v. IRS, 826

F.2d 124, 127 (D.C. Cir. 1987).

Not surprisingly, the decision below has already em-

boldened the IRS—which, before 2002, had only rarely

sought workpapers from taxpayers, see C.A. App. 238;

United States v. Arthur Young & Co., 465 U.S. 805, 820-

821 (1984)—to declare that it will aggressively pursue

such workpapers in future. See Kim Dixon, U.S. IRS

Could Seek More in Company Audits—Official, Reu-

ters, Nov. 19, 2009 (quoting comments by William Wil-

kins, IRS Chief Counsel). And because disclosure to an

adverse party waives the work-product privilege, see 8

Wright & Miller § 2024, at 369, a company that is re-

quired to disclose its workpapers to the IRS will likely be

obligated to turn over those workpapers to state taxation

authorities (even if a state court would construe the pri-

vilege more broadly, see p. 17, n.5, swpra) and even to

private litigants, thereby compounding the consequences

of the First Circuit’s approach.

2. The practical significance of the First Circuit’s

approach, however, sweeps far beyond the particular

context of this case. The First Circuit’s “for use” stan-

dard is in no way cabined to that context—nor could it

iogically be, as the government seemingly recognized at

oral argument below. See C.A. En Banc Tr. 4-5, 16

Tronically, in Delaney, the IRS argued that the work-product

privilege covered documents it had prepared to analyze the legal

vulnerability of a particular auditing method, and the District of Co-

lumbia Circuit agreed. See 826 F.2d at 126-128; cf. C_A. Panel Tr. 20

(Sept. 5, 2008) (stating that the government “spend[s] a lot more

time defending our documents from requests on the grounds of

work product than we do * * * seek[{ing] them [from other par-

ties]”).

27

(June 2, 2009) (conceding that the “work product test”

adopted by the court “will apply” both “to the IRS” and

“to everyone else,” including “outside the tax realm”).

Under the First Circuit’s standard, work-product

protection would no longer extend to any documents

prepared by counsel that assess the risks of ongoing or

potential litigation, because such documents could not

meaningfully be said to have been prepared “for use” in

litigation. For example, the work-product privilege

would not cover a document that a company prepares in

order to inform a potential merger partner of the litiga-

tion risks that the company faces—risks that the partner

would assume in the event the merger is consummated.

See, e.g., Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1195. Nor would it cover

so-called “audit response letters”: that is, letters rou-

tinely prepared by outside counsel at their corporate

clients’ request assessing pending or threatened litiga-

tion against the company for the purpose of assisting the

company’s auditor in performing its duties. See, e.g.,

Lawrence E. Jaffe Pension Plan v. Household Int'l, Inc.,

237 F.R.D. 176, 179-181 (N.D. Ill. 2006) (holding that

work-product privilege covers audit response letters); Jn

re Honeyweii Int'l, Inc., Sec. Litig., 230 F.R.D. 298, 300

(S.D.N.Y. 2068) (same); Tronitech, Inc. v. NCR Corp.,

108 F.R.D. 655, 656 (S.D. Ind. 1985) (same)."’ In those

and other similar contexts, the documents at issue con-

tain information that would be enormously valuable to

adverse parties in litigation, and the work-product privi-

lege would provide the only potential source of protec-

"' The government conceded below that, if the documents at issue

in this case were not protected by the work-product privilege, audit

response letters would not be protected either. See C.A. En Banc

Tr. 19 (June 2, 2009).

28

tion against disclosure (because the attorney-client privi-

lege is waived by disclosure to any third party, even a

potential merger partner or auditor). See 8 Wright &

Miller § 2024, at 367-368.”

Perhaps for that reason, the First Circuit’s decision

has received an enormous amount of attention from the

news media and commentators—and, belying the First

Circuit’s belief that “[n]o one with experience of law

suits” would reach a contrary conclusion, App., infra,

17a, the decision has also been greeted with widespread

consternation by practitioners. See, e.g., Nancy T. Bo-

wen, William S. Lee & Robert C. Morris, Newly Minted

‘For Use in Possible Litigation’ Test of ‘Textron’ May

Have Far-Reaching Implications for Companies, 78

U.S.L.W. 2199, 2199 (2009) (stating that the decision be-

low is “highly controversial”; “may have far-reaching

implications, particularly for publicly traded companies”;

and “adds further uncertainty to [an] already confused

legal arena”); Amir Efrati, Ruling in Tax-Auditing Case

Puts Corporations on Edge, Wall St. J., Aug. 20, 2009, at

A9 (suggesting that the decision below “is causing law-

yers for big companies some sleepless nights” and has

been seen as “signal{ing] an attack by the courts on the

‘work-product doctrine’”); Michelle M. Henkel, ‘T'extron’

Eviscerates the 60-Year-Old Work Product Privilege,

125 Tax Notes 237, 237 (2009) (contending that, “[ble-

cause of the widespread impact of [the decision below],

In fact, relying on the decision below, the Director of the SEC’s

Division of Enforcement recently made the unqualified assertion

that “audit documentation * * * relied on by an auditor in con-

nection with an audit report” is not covered by the work-product

privilege. See Robert Khuzami, Remarks at AICPA National Con-

ference on Current SEC and PCAOB Developments (Dec. 8, 2009)

<www.sec.gov/news/specch/2009/spch120809rsk.htm >.

29

the entire legal profession and all corporations should be

in a state of disbelief”).

In addition, in the wake of the First Circuit’s deci-

sion, practitioners have already begun recommending

that companies take steps to avoid the disclosure to ad-

verse parties of their litigation risk assessments. See,

e.g., Scott Novick, What In-House Tax Professionals

Should Do in Light of ‘Textron,’ Global Tax Blog (Aug.

31, 2009) <tinyurl.com/scottnovick> (contending that

“tax departments can and should * * * [l}imit[{] tax

accrual work papers to numerical analysis with minimal

supporting narrative”); Robert W. Pommer III, First

Circuit Reverses Course in Closely Watched Work

Product Case; Establishes Broad New Standard That

Could Extend Outside Tax Area, 41 Sec. Reg. & Law

Report 2050, 2053 (2009) (recommending that companies

“exercise greater caution when sharing documents with

the[ir] outside auditors”); cf. Stuart J. Bassin, Managing

Tax Accrual Workpapers After ‘Textron,’ 123 Tax Notes

571, 580 (2009) (suggesting, while this case was still

pending below, that the drafters of workpapers “should

choose their words carefully”). Those recommendations

amply support the prediction that the First Circuit’s de-

cision will have a broad chilling effect if it is allowed to

stand.

3. Although issues concerning the applicability of

the work-product privilege arise in courts around the

Nation on a daily basis, this Court has not directly ad-

dressed the scope of the privilege since its decision more

than sixty years ago in Hickman. See App., infra,

120a.° But notwithstanding the frequent recurrence in

% In Arthur Young, the Court refused to recognize an “accoun-

tant work-product privilege” for workpapers generated by a compa-

30

lower courts of issues concerning the privilege, if the

Court does not grant review in this case, it is far from

clear when the Court will have the opportunity to do so

again. In ordinary civil litigation, a party that wishes to

appeal a determination that a document is not covered

by the work-product privilege may not be able to do so

immediately, cf. Mohawk Indus., Inc. v. Carpenter, No.

08-678 (Dec. 8, 2009), slip op. 9-10 (explaining options for

appeal of denial of attorney-client privilege), and, even if

it can, the party will have to bear the expense of litigat-

ing what is an inherently collateral issue all the way to

this Court.

At all events, there is simply no reason for the Court

to wait to address the scope of the work-product privi-

lege. Ten circuits have now spoken on the issue, taking

three different (and irreconcilable) positions on the privi-

lege’s scope. This case, moreover, is an optimal vehicle

for consideration of that issue. As the dissent below ob-

served, “[t]he time is ripe for the Supreme Court to in-

tervene and set the circuits straight.” App., infra, 45a

(opinion of Torruella, J.). The Court should grant review

in this extraordinarily important case and correct the

First Circuit’s excessively narrow interpretation of the

work-product privilege.

ny’s auditor. See 465 U.S. at 815-821. In some respects, this case

presents the flipside of the issue in Arthur Young, because it in-

volves workpapers generated by the company’s own lawyers.

3]

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted.

JOHN A. TARANTINO

PATRICIA K. ROCHA

NICOLE J. DULUDE

ADLER POLLOCK & SHEEHAN

P.C,

One Citizens Plaza, 8th Floor

Providence, RI 029038

DECEMBER 2009

KANNON K. SHANMUGAM

ANNA-ROSE MATHIESON

GEORGE W. HICKS, JR.

SARAH F’. TEICH

ALLISON B, JONES

WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP

725 Twelfth Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20005

(202) 434-5000

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 07-2631

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Petitioner,

Appellant,

v.

TEXTRON INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES, Respondent,

Appellee.

August 13, 2009

Before: LYNCH, Chief Judge, TORRUELLA,

BOUDIN, LIPEZ and HOWARD, Circuit Judges.

BOUDIN, Circuit Judge.

The question for the en banc court is whether the at-

torney work product doctrine shields from an IRS sum-

mons “tax accrual work papers” prepared by lawyers

and others in Textron’s Tax Department to support Tex-

tron’s calculation of tax reserves for its audited corpo-

rate financial statements. Textron is a major aerospace

and defense conglomerate, with well over a hundred sub-

sidiaries, whose consolidated tax return is audited by the

IRS on a regular basis. To understand the dispute, some

(la)

2a

background is required concerning financial statements,

contingent tax reserves and tax audit work papers.

As a publicly traded corporation, Textron is required

by federal securities law to have public financial state-

ments certified by an independent auditor. See 15 U.S.C.

§§ 781, 78m (2006); 17 C.F.R. § 210 et seg. (2009). To pre-

pare such financial statements, Textron must calculate

reserves to be entered on the company books to account

for contingent tax liabilities. Such liabilities, which affect

the portrayal of assets and earnings, include estimates of

potential liability if the IRS decides to challenge debata-

ble positions taken by the taxpayer in its return.

The calculation of such reserves entails preparing

work papers describing Textron’s potential liabilities for

further taxes; these underpin the tax reserve entries in

its financial statement and explain the figures chosen to

the independent auditor who certifies that statement as

correct. By examining the work papers the accountant

discharges its own duty to determine “the adequacy and

reasonableness of the corporation’s reserve account for

contingent tax liabilities.” United States v. Arthur

Young & Co., 465 U.S. 805, 812 (1984) (rejecting claim of

accountant work product privilege protecting such work

papers).' The work papers are thus one step in a process

whose outcome is a certified financial statement for the

company.

The procedural requirement that auditors examine tax accrual

work papers is based on a combination of Statement on Auditing

Standards No. 96, Audit Documentation (2002), superseded by Au-

diting Standards No. 3, Audit Documentation (2004); Statement on

Auditing Standards No. 326, Evidential Matter (1980); and Auditing

Interpretation No. 9326, Evidential Matter: Auditing Interpreta-

tions of Section 326 (2003).

3a

In Textron’s case, its Tax Department lists items in

the tax return that, if identified and challenged by the

IRS, could result in additional taxes being assessed. The

final spreadsheets list each debatable item, including in.

each instance the dollar amount subject to possible dis-

pute and a percentage estimate of the IRS’ chances of

success. Multiplying the amount by the percentage fixes

the reserve entered on the books for that item. The

spreadsheets reflecting these calculations may be sup-

ported by backup emails or notes.

A company’s published financial statements do not

normally identify the specific tax items on the return

that may be debatable but incorporate or reflect only the

total reserve figure. As the Supreme Court explained in

Arthur Young, tax accrual work papers provide a re-

source for the IRS, if the IRS can get access to them, by

“pinpoint[ing] the ‘soft spots’ on a corporation’s tax re-

turn by highlighting those areas in which the corporate

taxpayer has taken a position that may, at some later

date, require the payment of additional taxes” and pro-

viding “an item-by-item analysis of the corporation’s po-

tential exposure to additional liability.” 465 U.S. at 813.

The IRS does not automatically request tax accrual

work papers from taxpayers; rather, in the wake of

Enron and other corporate scandals, the IRS began to

seek companies’ tax accrual work papers only where it

concluded that the taxpayer had engaged in certain

listed transactions “that [are] the same as or substantial-

ly similar to one of the types of transactions that the

{IRS] has determined to be a tax avoidance transaction.”

4a

26 C.F.R. § 1.6011-4(b)(2) (2009). Only a limited number

of transactions are so designated.”

The present case began with a 2003 IRS audit of Tex-

tron’s corporate income tax liability for the years 1998-

2001. In reviewing Textron’s 2001 return, the IRS de-

termined that a Textron subsidiary—Textron Financial

Corp. (“Textron Financial”)—had engaged in nine listed

transactions. In each of the nine instances, Textron Fi-

nancial had purchased equipment from a foreign utility

or transit operator and leased it back to the seller on the

same day. Although such transactions can be legitimate,

the IRS determined that they were sale-in, lease-out

(“SILO”) transactions, which are listed as a potential tax

shelter subject to abuse by taxpayers.

SILOs allow tax-exempt or tax-indifferent organiza-

tions—for example, a tax-exempt charity or a city-owned

transit authority—to transfer depreciation and interest

deductions, from which they cannct benefit, to other tax-

payers who use them to shelter income from tax. Where

the only motive of a sale and lease back is tax avoidance,

it can be disregarded by the IRS and taxes assessed on

the wrongly sheltered income.®

2 A current list of such transaction types, amounting to less than

three dozen, appears at Internal Revenue Service, Recognized Ab-

usive and Listed Transactions-LMSB Tier I Issues, http:/Avww.irs.

gov/businesses/corporations/article/0,id=120633,00.htm] (visited July

7, 2009).

* See AWG Leasing Trust v. United States, 592 F. Supp. 2d 953,

958 (N.D. Ohio 2008) (upholding denial of depreciation and interest

deductions for SILO transaction); I.R.S. Notice 2005-13, 2005-9

I.R.B. 630 (Feb. 11, 2005); Shvedov, Tax Implications of SILOs,

QTEs, and Other Leasing Transactions with Tax-Exempt Entities

10-12, CRS Report for Congress (Nov. 30, 2004).

5a

Textron had shown the spreadsheets to its outside

accountant, Ernst & Young, but refused to show them to

the IRS. The IRS issued an administrative summons

pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 7602 (2006), which allows the

IRS, in determining the accuracy of any return, to “ex-

amine any books, papers, records, or other data which

may be relevant or material to ‘such inquiry.” /d.

§ 7602(a)(1). According to IRS policy, where the taxpay-

er claims benefits from only a single listed transaction,

the IRS seeks only the workpapers for that transaction;

but where (as in Textron’s case) the taxpayer claims

benefits from multiple listed transactions, the IRS seeks

all of the workpapers for the tax year in question. I.R.S.

Announcement 2002-63, 2002-27 I.R.B. 72 (July 8, 2002).

The summons also sought related work papers created

by Ernst & Young in determining the adequacy of Tex-

tron’s reserves that Textron might possess or could ob-

tain. Textron again refused.

The IRS brought an enforcement action in federal

district court in Rhode Island. See 26 U.S.C. § 7604(a)

(2006). Textron challenged the summons as lacking legi-

timate purpose and also asserted, as bars to the demand,

the attorney-client and tax practitioner privileges and

the qualified privilege available for litigation materials

under the work product doctrine. The IRS contested all

of the privilege claims. Both the IRS and Textron filed

affidavits and, in addition, the district court heard wit-

nesses from both sides.‘

* Textron’s evidence came from Norman Richter, chief tax coun-

sel and manager of Textron’s Tax Department; Roxanne Cassidy,

director of tax reporting; Edward Andrews, director of tax audits;

Debra Raymond, vice president, taxes, of Textron Financial; and

Mark Weston, a partner in Ernst & Young. IRS evidence was pro-

vided by Internal Revenve Agent Edward Vasconcellos; Professor

6a

Textron agreed that it usually settled disputes with

the IRS through negotiation or concession or at worst

through the formal IRS administrative process; but it

testified that sometimes it had litigated disputed tax is-

sues in federal court. Its evidence also showed that the

estimates for tax reserves and the supporting work pa-

pers were generated within its Tax Department but that

tax lawyers in that department were centrally involved

in their preparation and that Textron Financial also used

an outside counsel to advise it on tax reserve require-

ments.

Textron described generically the contents of the

work papers in question: these included (1) summary

spreadsheets showing for each disputable item the

amount in controversy, estimated probability of a suc-

cessful challenge by the IRS, and resulting reserve

amounts; and (2) back up e-mail and notes. In some in-

stances the spreadsheet entries estimated the probabili-

ty of IRS success at 100 percent. Textron said that the

spreadsheets had been shown to and discussed with its

independent auditor but physically retained by Textron.

Neither side disputed that the immediate purpose of

the work papers was to establish and support the tax re-

serve figures for the audited financial statements. Tex-

tron’s evidence was to the effect that litigation over spe-

cific items was always a possibility; the IRS did not deny

that in certain cases litigation could result although it

said that this was often unlikely. Whether Textron’s evi-

Douglas Carmichael, former chief auditor of the regulatory body for

auditors of public companies (the Public Company Accounting Over-

sight Board); and Gary Kane, an IRS expert on tax accrual work

papers.

Ta

dence is materially different than that of the IRS re-

mains to be considered.

Ultimately, the district court denied the petition for

enforcement. United States v. Textron Inc., 507 F. Supp.

2d 138, 150, 155 (D.R.I. 2007). The court agreed with the

IRS that the agency had a legitimate purpose for seek-

ing the work papers. Jd. at 145. It also ruled that insofar

as the Textron-prepared work papers might otherwise

be protected by attorney-client privilege, or the counter-

part tax practitioner privilege for non-lawyers engaged

in tax practice, see 26 U.S.C. § 7525 (2006), those privi-

leges had been waived when Textron disclosed the work

papers’ content to Ernst & Young. /d. at 152.

However, the district court concluded that the papers

were protected by the work product privilege, which de-

rived from Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495 (1947), and

is now embodied in Rule 26(b)(3) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure. This privilege, the district court held,

had not been waived by disclosure of the work papers to

the accountant. Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 152-53. The

district court’s decision that the work papers were pro-

tected work product involved both a description of fac-

tual premises and a legal interpretation of applicable

doctrine.

The district court first said (paraphrasing a Textron

witness) the work papers were prepared to assure that

Textron was “adequately reserved with respect to any

potential disputes or litigation” over its returns; the

court also said that, by fair inference, the work papers

served “to satisfy an independent auditor that Textron’s

reserve for contingent liabilities satisfied the require-

ments of generally accepted accounting principles

(GAAP) so that a ‘clean’ opinion would be given” for Tex-

8a

tron financial statements. Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at

143.

Then, in its discussion of legal doctrine, the district

court stated:

As the IRS correctly observes, the work

product privilege does not apply to “doc-

uments that are prepared in the ordinary

course of business or that would have been

created in essentially similar form irres-

pective of the litigation.”” Maine, 298 F.3d

at 70 (quoting [United States v. Adlman,

134 F.3d 1194, 1202 (2d Cir. 1998)]). How-

ever, it is clear that the opinions of Tex-

tron’s counsel and accountants regarding

items that might be challenged by the IRS,

their estimated hazards of litigation per-

centages and their calculation of tax re-

serve amounts would not have been pre-

pared at all “but for” the fact that Textron

anticipated the possibility of litigation with

the IRS .... Thus, while it may be accu-

rate to say that the workpapers helped

Textron determine what amount should be

reserved to cover any potential tax liabili-

ties and that the workpapers were useful

in obtaining a “clean” opinion from E&Y

regarding the adequacy of the reserve

amount, there would have been no need to

create a reserve in the first place, if Tex-

tron had not anticipated a dispute with the

IRS that was likely to result in litigation or

some other adversarial proceeding.

Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 150.

9a

The court concluded that the work papers were

therefore prepared “because of” the prospect of litiga-

tion, Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 150, a phrase used in

Maine v. United States Dep't of Interior, 298 F.3d 60, 68

(1st Cir. 2002). The court rejected the IRS’ reliance on a

Fifth Circuit decision rejecting work product protection

for tax accrual work papers on the ground that the Fifth

Circuit followed a different “primary purpose” test for

work protect. Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 150 (discussing

United States v. El Paso Co., 682 F.2d 530, 548 (5th Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 944 (1984)).

On appeal, a divided panel upheld the district court’s

decision. The en banc court then granted the govern-

ment’s petition for rehearing en banc, vacated the panel

decision, and obtained additional briefs from the parties

and interested amici. We now conclude that under our

own prior Maine precedent—which we reaffirm en

banc—the Textron work papers were independently re-

quired by statutory and audit requirements and that the

work product privilege does not apply.

The case presents two difficulties. One, which can

rea‘lily be dispelled, stems from the mutability of lan-

guage used in the governing rules and a confusion be-

tween issues of fact and issues of legal characterization.

The other problem is more basic: how far work product

protection extends turns on @ balancing of policy con-

cerns rather than application of abstract logic; here, two

circuits have addressed tax accrual work papers in the

work product context, but, apart from whatever light is

cast by Arthur Young, the Supreme Court has not ruled

on the issue before us, namely, one in which a document

is not in any way prepared “for” litigation but relates to a

subject that might or might not occasion litigation

10a

In origin, the work product privilege derives from the

Supreme Court’s decision in Hickman v. Taylor, 329

U.S. at 510-11, and focused at the outset on the materials

that lawyers typically prepare for the purpose of litigat-

ing cases. Hickman v. Taylor concerned ongoing litiga-

tion in which one side filed interrogatories seeking from

opposing counsel memoranda recording witness inter-

views that the latter had conducted after receiving notice

of possible claims. Often such material and other items

designed for use at trial (e.g., draft briefs, outlines of

cross examination) are not obtained from or shared with

clients and are unprotected by the traditional attorney-

client privilege.

Hickman v. Taylor addressed “the extent to which a

party may inquire into oral and written statements of

witnesses, or other information, secured by an adverse

party’s counsel in the course of preparation for possible

litigation after a claim has arisen.” 329 US. at 497. The

Court cited a privilege in English courts protecting

[a]ll documents which are called into exis-

tence for the purpose-but not necessarily

the sole purpose-of assisting the deponent

or his legal advisers in any actual or antic-

ipated litigation .... Reports... if made in

the ordinary course of routine, are not pri-

vileged....

Id. at 510 n. 9.

This history led the Court to practical considerations:

Proper preparation of a client’s case de-

mands that he assemble information, sift

what he considers to be the relevant from

the irrelevant facts, prepare his legal theo-

ries and plan his strategy without undue

lla

and needless interference . . . . This work is

reflected, of course, in interviews, state-

ments, memoranda, correspondence,

briefs, mental impressions, personal be-

liefs, and countless other tangible and in-

tangible ways—aptly though roughly

termed .. . as the “work product of the

lawyer.”

Td. at 511.

On this basis the Court declared that the interrogato-

ries, which sought witness interviews conducted by op-

ponent counsel in preparation for litigation, were pro-

tected by < qualified privilege. See id. at 511-12. When in

1970 the Supreme Court through the rule-making

process codified the work product privilege in Rule

26(b)(3), it described the privilege as extending to docu-

ments and other tangible things that “are prepared in

anticipation of litigation or for trial.” This phrase, as il-

luminated by Hickman v. Taylor’s reasoning, is the one

to be applied in this case.

Turning back to the present case, the IRS is unques-

tionably right that the immediate motive of Textron in

preparing the tax accrual work papers was to fix the

amount of the tax reserve on Textron’s books and to ob-

tain a clean financial opinion from its auditor. And Tex-

tron may be correct that unless the IRS might dispute

an item in the return, no reserve for that item might be

necessary, so perhaps some of the items might be liti-

gated. But in saying that Textron wanted to be “ade-

quately reserved,” the district judge did not say that the

work papers were prepared for use in possible litiga-

tion—only that the reserves would cover liabilities that

might be determined in litigation. If the judge had made

12a

a “for use” finding—which he did not—that finding

would have been clearly erroneous.

That the purpose of the work papers was to make

book entries, prepare financial statements and obtain a

clean audit cannot be disputed. This was the testimony of

IRS expert and former Chief Auditor of the Public Com-

pany Accounting Oversight Board Douglas Carmichael:

Q. ... Would you please explain what tax

accrual workpapers are?

A... . Tax accrual workpapers really in-

clude all the support for the tax assets and

liabilities shown in the financial statements

A. Well, from the company’s perspective,

they’re created because, for example, for a

public company, the key officers of the

company sign a certification saying that

those financial statements are fairly pre-

sented, and they need support for that.

From the auditor’s perspective, it’s the

same thing, the auditor needs to record in

the workpapers what the auditor did to

comply with generally accepted auditing

standards. So the workpapers are the

principal support for the auditor’s opinion.

Q. And why do public companies prepare

financial statements?

A. Usually, to meet requirements for rais-

ing capital. If they’re a public company,

they need to file annual financial state-

ments on a form 10K with the SEC and

quarterly information on a 10Q.

13a

The Textron witnesses, while using the word “litiga-

tion” as often as possible in their testimony, said the

same thing. Textron’s testimony differed from that of the

IRS expert only in its further assertion that, without the

possibility of litigation, no tax reserves or audit papers

would have been necessary. For example, Roxanne Cas-

sidy, Textron’s director of tax reporting, testified as fol-

lows:

Q. . . . [W)hat was Textron’s purpose in

preparing those tax reserve papers?

A. The purpose primarily was to determine

whether Textron was adequately reserved

with respect to any potential disputes or

litigations that would happen in the future.

We would need to ensure that we were

adequately reserved in the current year on

Textron’s financial statements.

Q. And as a publicly traded company, is

Textron required to file its financial state-

ments with the Securities and Exchange

Commission?

A. Yes.

Q. And do those financial statements in-

clude tax reserves?

BR, TOBeces

Q. And in having its tax reserves audited

by an independent auditor, must Textron

be able to support the determinations it

l4a

has made regarding the adequacy of its tax

reserves with some type of evidence?

A. Yes, the support needs to be to the sa-

tisfaction of the auditors.

As the IRS expert stated, even if litigation were “re-

mote,” the company would still have to prepare work pa-

pers to support its judgment. Textron’s own witness ac-

knowledged that it would “have to include in its .. . tax

accrual work papers any new transactions that the com-

pany entered into that year that there might be some tax

exposure on” regardless of whether it anticipated likely

litigation. Judged by Textron’s own experience, most—

certainly those with high percentage estimates of IRS

success—would never be litigated.

To complete the story, we note one suggestion by one

Textron witness that, if litigation did occur, the work pa-

pers could be useful to Textron in that litigation.’ This

assertion was not supported by any detailed explanation,

was not adopted by the district judge and is more than

dubious: the main aim of audit work papers is to estimate

the amount potentially in dispute and the percentage

chance of winning or losing. Even an academic supporter

of Textron’s legal position conceded that “it is doubtful

that tax accrual workpapers, which typically just identify

and quantify vulnerable return positions, would be useful

in the litigation anticipated with respect to those posi

° Textron Vice President of Taxes Norman Richter said that Tex-

tron would still prepare tax accrual workpapers absent GAAP re-

quirements “[bjecause it guides us—it’s—the analysis is still—it

would guide us in making litigation and settlement decisions later in

the process.” This assertion was not contained in Richter’s affidavit,

which instead said that Textron prepared the work papers “to comp-

ly with GAAP” as required for reporting taxes to the SEC, and was

not supported by detail or explanation in the record.

15a

tions.” Pease-Wingenter, The Application of the Attor-

ney-Client Privilege to Tax Accrual Workpapers: The

Real Legacy of United States v. Textron, 8 Houston Bus.

& Tax L.J. 337, 346 (2008).

Any experienced litigator would describe the tax ac-

crual work papers as tax documents and not as case

preparation materials. Whether work product protection

should apply to such documents is 4 legal question in-

formed by the language of rules and Supreme Court doc-

trine, direct precedent, and policy judgments. The first

of these sources—Supreme Court doctrine and the word-

ing of the rules—is helpful to the IRS; direct circuit

precedent and the underlying policy of the doctrine and

other prudential considerations are more helpful still.

Legal commentators can be found on each side; the most

persuasive of them favors the IRS.°

From the outset, the focus of work product protection

has been on materials prepared for use in litigation,

whether the litigation was underway or merely antic-

ipated. Thus, Hickman v. Taylor addressed “the extent

to which a party may inquire into oral and written

statements of witnesses, or other information, secured

by an adverse party’s counsel in the course of prepara-

tion for possible litigation after a claim has arisen.” 329

USS. at 497 (emphasis added). Similarly, the English pri-

vilege, invoked by Hickman v. Taylor, privileged “doc-

uments which are called into existence for the purpose—

but not necessarily the sole purpose—of assisting the

® See Ventry, Protecting Abusive Tax Avoidance, 120 Tax Notes

857, 870-83 (2008); Johnson, The Work Product Doctrine and Tax

Accrual Workpapers, 124 Tax Notes 155, 160-68 (2009). The Pease-

Wingenter article, supra, identifies many weaknesses in the Textron

argument, id. at 343-48, although Pease now says her own ultimate

view favors Textron.

l6a

deponent or his legal advisers in any actual or antic-

ipated litigation.” Id. at 510 n. 9 (emphasis added) (in-

ternal] quotation marks omitted).

The phrase used in the codified rule—“prepared in

anticipation of litigation or for trial” did not, in the refer-

ence to anticipation, mean prepared for some purpose

other than litigation: it meant only that the work might

be done for litigation but in advance of its institution.

The English precedent, doubtless the source of the lan-

guage in Rule 26, specified the purpose “of assisting the

deponent or his legal advisers in any actual or antic-

ipated litigation . . . .” The Advisory Committee’s Note

cited with approval a decision denying work product pro-

tection to a driver’s accident report, made pursuant to

Interstate Commerce Commission rules, even though it

might well have become the subject of litigation. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 26 advisory committee’s note (1970).’

It is not enough to trigger work product protection

that the swhject matter of a document relates to a subject

that might conceivably be litigated. Rather, as the Su-

preme Court explained, “the literal language of [Rule

26(b)(3)] protects materials prepared for any litigation or

trial as long as they were prepared by or for a party to

the subsequent litigation.” Federal Trade Commission v.

Grolier Inc., 462 U.S. 19, 25 (1988) (emphasis added).

” Goosman. v. A. Duie Pyle, Inc., 320 F.2d 45 (4th Cir. 1963). In

Goosman, the Fourth Circuit denied work product protection to

reports a truck driver made to the lessee and owner of the truck

following an accident. The court explained that the reports “were

made in the ordinary course of business under ICC regulations and

do not represent the lawyer’s work product within the holding in

Hickman: v. Taylor.” Id. at 52. See also, e.g., Calabro v. Stone, 225

F.R.D. 96, 99 (E.D.N.Y. 2004); Jn re Raytheon Securities Litiga-

tion, 218 F.R.D. 354, 359 (D. Mass. 2003).

17a

This distinction is well established in the case law. See,

e.g.. NLRB v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 421 U.S. 132, 138

(1975).3

' Nor is it enough that the materials were prepared by

lawyers or represent legal thinking. Much corporate ma-

terial prepared in law offices or reviewed by lawyers falls

in that vast category. It is only work done in anticipation

of or for trial that is protected. Even if prepared by law-

yers and reflecting legal thinking, “{mJaterials assem-

bled in the ordinary course of business, or pursuant to

public requirements unrelated to litigation, or for other

nonlitigation purposes are not under the qualified im-

munity provided by this subdivision.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 26

advisory committee’s note (1970). Accord Hickman v.

Taylor, 329 U.S. at 510 n. 9 (quoting English precedent

that “[rJeports . . . if made in the ordinary course of rou-

tine, are not privileged”),

Every lawyer who tries cases knows the touch and

feel of materials prepared for a current or possible (z.¢.,

“fn anticipation of”) law suit. They are the very materials

catalogued in Hickman v. Taylor and the English

precedent with which the decision began. No one with

experience of law suits would talk about tax accrual work

papers in those terms. A set of tax reserve figures, calcu-

lated for purposes of accurately stating a company’s fi-

nancial figures, has in ordinary parlance only that pur-

8 Accord United States v. Roxworthy, 457 F.3d 590, 595 (6th Cir.

2006) (Nevertheless, the key issue in determining whether a docu-

ment should be withheld is the function that the document serves.”);

Coastal States Gas Corp. v. Dep't of Energy, 617 F.2d 854, 858 (D.C.

Cir. 1980) (same); Church of Scientology Int'l v. IRS, 845 F. Supp.

714, 723 (C.D. Cal. 1993) (“The Ninth Circuit test focuses on the

function of a document as part of the deliberative process rather

than on the contents of the document.”).

18a

pose: to support a financial statement and the indepen-

dent audit of it.

Focusing next on direct precedent, work product pro-

tection for tax audit work papers has been squarely ad-

dressed only in two circuits: this one and the Fifth. In

Maine, we said that work product protection does not

extend to “documents that are prepared in the ordinary

course of business or that would have been created in

essentially similar form irrespective of the litigation.”

Maine, 298 F.3d at 70 (quoting United States v. Adlman,

134 F.3d 1194, 1202 (2d Cir. 1998)) (internal quotation

marks omitted). Maine applies straightforwardly to Tex-

tron’s tax audit work papers—which were prepared in

the ordinary course of business—and it supports the IRS

position.

Similarly, the Fifth Circuit in #1 Paso denied protec-

tion for the work papers because the court recognized

that the company in question was conducting the rele-

vant analysis because of a need to “bring its financial

books into conformity with generally accepted auditing

principles.” 682 F.2d at 543. The Fifth Circuit, which

employs a “primary purpose” test, feund that the work

papers’ “sole function” was to back up financial state-

ments. /d. at 543-44. Here, too, the only purpose of Tex-

tron’s papers was to prepare financial statements.

Other circuits have not passed on tax audit work pa-

pers and some might take a different view. But many of

the debatable cases affording work product protection

involve documents unquestionably prepared for potential

use in litigation if and when it should arise.’ There is no

* See, ¢.g., Delaney, Migdail & Young, Chartered v. IRS, 826 F 2d

124, 127 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (protection for “attorneys’ assessment of

... legal vulnerabilities in order to make sure it does not miss any-

19a

evidence in this case that the work papers were prepared

for such a use or would in fact serve any useful purpose

for Textron in conducting litigation if it arose.

Finally, the underlying prudential considerations

squarely support the IRS’ position in this case, and such

considerations have special force because Hickman v.

Taylor was the child of such considerations, as the quo-

tations above make clear. The privilege aimed centrally

at protecting the litigation process, Coastal States Gas

Corp. v. Department of Energy, 617 F.2d 854, 864 (D.C.

Cir. 1980), specifically, work done by counsel to help him

or her in litigating a case. It is not a privilege designed

to help the lawyer prepare corporate documents or other

materials prepared in the ordinary course of business.

Where the rationale for a rule stops, so ordinarily does

the rule.

Nor is there present here the concern that Hickman

v. Taylor stressed about discouraging sound preparation

for a law suit. That danger may exist in other kinds of

cases, but it cannot be present where, as here, there is in

substance a legal obligation to prepare such papers: the

tax audit work papers not only have a different purpose

but have to be prepared by exchange-listed companies to

comply with the securities laws and accounting principles

for certified financial statements. Arthur Young made

this point in refusing to create an accountant’s work

product privilege for tax audit papers:

[T]he auditor is ethically and professional-

ly obligated to ascertain for himself as far

as possible whether the corporation’s con-

thing in crafting its legal case”); see also In re Sealed Case, 146 F.3d

881, 885 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (protection for documents to “protect the

client from future litigation about a particular transaction”).

20a

tingent tax liabilities have been accurately

stated. . . . Responsible corporate man-

agement would not risk a qualified evalua-

tion of a corporate taxpayer’s financial

posture to afford cover for questionable

positions reflected in a prior tax return.

465 U.S. at 818-19; see also Johnson, supra, at 160-61.

Textron apparently thinks it is “unfair” for the gov-

ernment to have access to its spreadsheets, but tax col-

lection is not a game. Unuerpaying taxes threatens the

essential public interest in revenue collection. If a blue-

print to Textron’s possible improper deductions can be

found in Textron’s files, it is properly available to the

government wnless privileged. Virtually all discovery

against a party aims at securing information that may

assist an opponent in uncovering the truth. Unprivileged

IRS information is equally subject to discovery.”

The practical problems confronting the IRS in disco-

vering under-reporting of corporate taxes, which is likely

endemic, are serious. Textron’s return is massive—

constituting more than 4,000 pages—and the IRS re-

quested the work papers only after finding a specific

type of transaction that had been shown to be abused by

taxpayers. It is because the collection of revenues is es-

sential to government that administrative discovery,

along with many other comparatively unusual tools, are

furnished to the IRS.

” See Abel Inv. Co. v. United States, 53 F.R.D. 485, 488 (D. Neb.

1971) (holding that IRS documents created during an audit were not

protected work product, despite containing attorneys’ mental im-

pression and legal theories, because an IRS audit is not litigation).

2la

As Bentham explained, all] privileges limit access to

the truth in aid of other objectives, 8 Wigmore, Evidence

§ 2291 (McNaughton Rev. 1961), but virtually all privi-

leges are restricted—eithe~ (as here) by definition or (in

many cases) through explicit exceptions—by countervail-

ing limitations. The Fifth Amendment privilege against

self-incrimination is qualified, among other doctrines, by

the required records exception, see Grosso v. United

States, 390 U.S. 62, 67-68 (1968), and the attorney client

privilege, along with other limitations, by the crime-

fraud exception, see Clark v. United States, 289 U.S. 1,

15 (1933).

To sum up, the work product privilege is aimed at

protecting work done for litigation, not in preparing fi-

nancial statements. Textron’s work papers were pre-

pared to support financial filings and gain auditor ap-

proval; the compulsion of the securities laws and auditing

requirements assure that they will be carefully prepared,

in their present form, even though not protected; and

IRS access serves the legitimate, and important, func-

tion of detecting and disallowing abusive tax shelters.

The judgment of the district court is vacated and the

case is remanded for further proceedings consistent with

this decision.

It 1s 80 ordered.

TORRUELLA, Circuit Judge, with whom LIPEZ,

Circuit Judge, joins, dissenting.

To assist the IRS in its quest to compel taxpayers to

reveal their own assessments of their tax returns, the

majority abandons our “because of” test, which asks

whether ““in light of the nature of the document and the

factual situation in the particular case, the document can

be fairly said to have been prepared or obtained because

22a

of the prospect of litigation.” Maine v. United States

Dep't of the Interior, 298 F.3d 60, 68 (1st Cir. 2002) (em-

phasis in original) (quoting United States v. Adlman, 134

F.3d 1194, 1202 (2d Cir. 1998)). The majority purports to

follow this test, but never even cites it. Rather, in its

place, the majority imposes a “prepared for” test, asking

if the documents were “prepared for use in possible liti-

gation.” Maj. Op. at 13. This test is an even narrower va-

riant of the widely rejected “primary motivating pur-

pose” test used in the Fifth Circuit and specifically repu-

diated by this court. In adopting its test, the majority

ignores a tome of precedents from the circuit courts and

contravenes much of the principles underlying the work-

product doctrine. It also brushes aside the actual text of

Rule 26(b)(3), which “[nJowhere . . . state[s] that a docu-

ment must have been prepared to aid in the conduct of

litigation in order to constitute work product.” Adlman,

134 F.3d at 1198. Further, the majority misrepresents

and ignores the findings of the district court. All while

purporting to do just the opposite of what it actually

does.

I. The Majority Quietly Rejects Circuit Precedent

The majority claims allegiance to our prior decision

in Maine, 298 F.3d at 70. Specifically, the majority seizes

upon a single line from that decision: “the ‘because of

standard does not protect from disclosure ‘documents

that are prepared in the ordinary course of business or

that would have been created in essentially similar form

irrespective of the litigation.” Jd. (quoting Adlman, 134

F.3d at 1202). This qualification is important to be sure,

and I will address it infra, Section III.B.2. But I must

start by addressing the rest of the Maine decision, which

the majority is careful to ignore.

23a

In that decision, Maine sought documents prepared

by the Department of the Interior regarding its decision,

made during pending related litigation, to classify sal-

mon as a protected species. 7d. at 64. The district court

found some of these administrative documents unpro-

tected as the Department had not shown that litigation

preparation was “the primary motivating factor for the

preparation of the documents.” Jd. at 66-67. This formu-

lation of the test for “anticipation of litigation” was based

on the Fifth Circuit rule that the work-product doctrine

did not protect documents that were “not primarily mo-

tivated to assist in future litigation.” United States v. El

Paso, 682 F.2d 530, 542-43 (5th Cir. 1982) (emphasis

added) (citing United States v. Davis, 636 F.2d 1028,

1040 (5th Cir. 1981)). On appeal in Maine, we specifically

repudiated this test and adopted the broader “because

of’ test, which had been thoughtfully and carefully ex-

plained by Judge Leval in the Second Circuit decision in

Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1202-03. See Maine, 298 F.3d at 68

(“In light of the decisions of the Supreme Court, we

therefore agree with the formulation of the work-product

rule adopted in Adiman and by five other courts of ap-

peals.”).

In the present case, the majority purports to follow

Maine, but really conducts a new analysis of the history

of the work-product doctrine and concludes that docu-

ments must be “prepared for any litigation or trial.”

Maj. Op. at 18 (emphasis in original) (quoting F'7C v.

Grolier Inc., 462 U.S. 19, 25 (1983)). Similarly, at another

point, the majority suggests that documents must be “for

use” in litigation in order to be protected. Jd. at 13.

Grolier did not establish such a test and the majority can

24a

point to no court that has so ruled.” Rather, the majority

of circuit courts, led by the Second Circuit’s decision in

Adlman, have rejected such a rule.

Adlman’s articulation of the “because of” test is fatal

to the majority’s position. In that case, Judge Leval dis-

cussed the application of the work-product doctrine “to a

litigation analysis prepared by a party or its representa-

tive in order to inform a business decision which turns on

the party’s assessment of the iikely outcome of litigation

expected to result from the transaction.” Adlman, 134

F.3d at 1197. In other words, Adiman asked whether the

work-product doctrine applies where a dual purpose ex-

ists for preparing the legal analysis, that is, where the

dual purpose of anticipating litigation and a business

" To support its conclusion, the majority commits a plain logical

error. The majority states that work-product protection must not be

judged solely on its subject matter, but rather whether the docu-

ments’s purpose is for use in litigation. In support of this proposi-

tion, the majority cites a number of cases that propound the uncon-

troversial proposition that a document must be judged according to

its purpose, not solely its content. Maj. Op. at 18 n.8. But those cases

do not establish the majority’s rule that the documents’ purpose

must be limited to use in litigation. Rather, one of the cases the

majority cites adopts the test that the document must have been

created “because of” litigation, which, as Adlman describes, is anti-

thetical to the majority’s new requirement. l/nited States v. Rox-

worthy, 457 F.3d 590, 593-94 (6th Cir. 2006) (adopting Adiman’s

“because of” test). Another of the majority’s citations is from the

D.C. Circuit, which has also since adopted the “because of” test. Se-

nate of Puerto Rico v. United States Dep't of Justice, 823 F.2d 574,

587 n.42 (D.C. Cir. 1987). The final decision cited by the majority,

from the Northern District of California, deals with the deliberative

process privilege, not the work-product doctrine. Church of Scien-

tology Int'l v. IRS, 845 >. Supp. 714, 723 (C.D. Cal. 1993). In any

event, the Ninth Circuit also applies the “because of” test. Jn re

Grand Jury Subpoena, 357 F.3d 900, 907-08 (9th Cir. 2004) (praising

and following Adiman).

25a

purpose co-exist. To answer that question, the Adlman

court examined and rejected the “primary purpose” test

adopted by the Fifth Circuit in El Paso, 682 F.2d at 542-

43, which only grants work-product immunity to work-

papers prepared “primarily motivated to assist in future

litigation over the return,” id. at 543:

[Protection] is less clear, however, as to

documents which, although prepared be-

cause of expected litigation, are intended

to inform a business decision influenced by

the prospects of the litigation. The formu-

lation applied by some courts in determin-

ing whether documents are protected by

work-product privilege is whether they are

prepared “primarily or exclusively to assist

in litigation”—a formulation that would po-

tentially exclude documents containing

analysis of expected litigation, if their pri-

mary, ultimate, or exclusive purpose is to

assist in making the business decision.

Others ask whether the documents were

prepared “because of” existing or expected

litigation—a formulation that would in-

clude such documents, despite the fact that

their purpose is not to “assist in” litigation.

Because we believe that protection of doc-

uments of this type is more consistent with

both the literal terms and the purposes of

the Rule, we adopt the latter formulation.

Adiman, 134 F.3d at 1197-98, quoted in part in Maine,

298 F.3d at 68. And if it needs to be spelled out any more

clearly, Adiman makes it explicitly clear that the broad-

er “because of” formulation is not limited to documents

prepared for use in litigation:

26a

We believe that a requirement that docu-

ments be produced primarily or exclusively

to assist in litigation in order to be pro-

tected is at odds with the text and the poli-

cies of the Rule. Nowhere does Rule

26(b)(3) state that a document must have

been prepared to aid in the conduct of liti-

gation in order to constitute work product,

much less primarily or exclusively to aid

in litigation. Preparing a document “in an-

ticipation of litigation” is sufficient.

The text of Rule 26(b)(3) does not limit its

protection to materials prepared to assist

at trial. To the contrary, the text of the

Rule clearly sweeps more broadly. It ex-

pressly states that work-product privilege

applies not only to documents “prepared

... for trial” but also to those prepared “in

anticipation of litigation.” If the drafters of

the Rule intended to limit its protection to

documents made to assist in preparation

for litigation, this would have been ade-

quately conveyed by the phrase “prepared

... for trial.” The fact that documents pre-

pared “in anticipation of litigation” were

also included confirms that the drafters

considered this to be a different, and

broader category. Nothing in the Rule

states or suggests that documents pre-

pared “in anticipation of litigation” with

the purpose of assisting in the making of a

business decision do not fall within its

scope.

27a

Id. at 1198-99 (emphasis and alterations in original). Ra-

ther than confront this language, the majority resorts to

simplistic generalizations. Using its novel “prepared for”

test, the majority unhelpfully explains that “(elvery law-

yer who tries cases knows the touch and feel of materials

prepared for a current or possible . . . law suit.” Maj. Op.

at 19. Once the majority ignores decades of «controlling

precedent, the matter becomes so clear that “({n]o one

with experience of law suits” could disagree. /d.

I need say little else; the majority’s new “prepared

for” rule is blatantly contrary to Adlman, a leading case

interpreting the work-product doctrine that we specifi-

cally adopted in Maine. The majority’s opinion is simply

stunning in its failure to even acknowledge this language

and its suggestion that it is respecting rather than over-

ruling Maine.

Il. The Majority Announces a Bad Rule

The majority acts as if it is left to this court to draw a

line from Hickman to the present case. In so doing, the

majority ignores a host of cases which grapple with

tough work product questions that go beyond the stuff

that “[e]very lawyer who tries cases” would know is work

product. Lower courts deserve more guidance than a

simple reassurance that a bare majority of the en banc

court knows work product when it sees it.’* Of course,

2 This test is reminiscent of Justice Stewart’s famously unhelpful

test for identifying obscenity:

[C}rimina] laws in this area are constitutionally limited to

hard-core pornography. I shall not today attempt further

to define the kinds of material I understand to be em-

braced within that shorthand description; and perhaps I

could never succeed in intelligibly doing so. But I know it

28a

since this is an en banc proceeding, the majority is free

to create a new rule for the circuit—though it would be

better if it admitted that it was doing so. But our new

circuit rule is not even a good rule.

First, as Judge Leval observed in Adiman, a “pre-

pared for” requirement is not consistent with the plain

language of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26, which

provides protection for documents “prepared in anticipa-

tion of litigation or for trial.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(3)(A)

(emphasis added); see also Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1198-99.

There is no reason to believe that “anticipation of litiga-

tion” was meant as a synonym for “for trial.” Claudine

Pease-Wingenter, Prophetic or Misguided? The Fifth

Circuit’s (Increasingly) Unpopular Approach to the

Work Product Doctrine, 29 Rev. Litig. (forthcoming

2009) (analyzing and rejecting many of the arguments

advanced by the majority in favor of a narrow construc-

tion of the phrase “anticipation of litigation”). Since the

terms are not synonymous, the term “anticipation of liti-

gation” should not be read out of the rule by requiring a

showing that documents be prepared for trial. See Car-

cieri v. Salazar, 129 S. Ct. 1058, 1066 (2009) (discussing

the basic principle that statutes should be construed to

give effect to each word).

Second, though the majority goes into some depth

describing the foundational case of Hickman v. Taylor,

329 U.S. 495 (1947), it misses the fundamental concern of

that decision with protecting an attorney’s “privacy, free

from unnecessary intrusion by opposing parties and

their counsel.” Jd. at 510. Without such privacy, litigants

when I see it, and the motion picture involved in this case

is not that.

Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 197 (1964) (Stewart, J., concurring).

29a

would seek unfair advantage by free-riding off another’s

work, thus reducing lawyers’ ability to write down their

thoughts:

Were the attorney's work accessible to an

adversary, the Hickman court cautioned,

“much of what is now put down in writing

would remain unwritten” for fear that the

attorney’s work would redound to the ben-

efit of the opposing party. Legal advice

might be marred by “inefficiency, unfair-

ness and sharp practices,” and the “effect

on the legal profession would be demoraliz-

ing.” Neither the interests of clients nor

the cause of justice would be served, the

court observed, if work product were free-

ly discoverable.

Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1197 (quoting Hickman, 329 U.S. at

511) (citations omitted). The majority posits that these

rationales do not apply to documents containing a law-

yer’s legal analysis of a potential litigation, if that analy-

sis was prepared for a business purpose. Maj. Op. at 21.

This is both unpersuasive and directly contrary to the

policy analysis in Adlman, which we adopted in Maine.

Adlman identified an example of a protected document:

A business entity prepares financial state-

ments to assist its executives, stockhold-

ers, prospective investors, business part-

ners, and others in evaluating future

courses of action. Financia] statements in-

clude reserves for projected litigation. The

company’s independent auditor requests a

memorandum prepared by the company’s

attorneys estimating the likelihood of suc-

cess in litigation and an accompanying

30a

analysis of the company’s legal strategies

and options to assist it in estimating what

should be reserved for litigation losses.

Id. at 1200. Discussing this example, the court concluded

that in this scenario “the company involved would re-

quire legal analysis that falls squarely within Hickman’s

area of primary concern—analysis that candidly dis-

cusses the attorney’s litigation strategies, appraisal of

likelihood of success, and perhaps the feasibility of rea-

sonable settlement.” Jd. Further, there is “no basis for

adopting a test under which an attorney’s assessment of

the likely outcome of litigation is freely available to his

litigation adversary merely because the document was

created for a business purpose rather than for litigation

assistance.” Jd. In other words,

[iJn addition to the plain language of the

Rule, the policies underlying the work-

product doctrine suggest strongly that

work-product protection should not be de-

nied to a document that analyzes expected

litigation merely because it is prepared to

assist in a business decision. Framing the

inquiry as whether the primary or exclu-

sive purpose of the document was to assist

in litigation threatens to deny protection to

documents that implicate key concerns un-

derlying the work-product doctrine.

Id. at 1199; see also Roxworthy, 457 F.3d at 595 (stating

“the IRS would appear to obtain an unfair advantage by

gaining access to KPMQ’s detailed legal analysis of the

strengths and weaknesses of [the taxpayer’s] position.

This factor weighs in favor of recognizing the documents

as privileged.”).

dla

The majority offers no response to this sound policy

analysis and no reason to doubt that inefficiency and

“sharp practices” will result from its new rule allowing

discovery of such dual purpose documents, which contain

confidential assessments of litigation strategies and

chances. Instead of addressing these concerns, the ma-

jority’s policy analysis relies instead on case-specific ra-

tionales—namely the need to assist the IRS in its diffi-

cult task of reviewing Textron’s complex return. See

Maj. Op. at 22-23. Such outcome determinative reasoning

is plainly unacceptable. Thus, properly framed, it is clear

that the rationales underlying the work-product doctrine

apply to documents prepared in anticipation of litigation,

even if they are not also for use at trial.* ~

And these policy rationales are squarely implicated in

this case. First, Textron’s litigation hazard percentages

contain exactly the sort of mental impressions about the

case that Hickman sought to protect. In fact, these per-

centages contain counsel’s ultimate impression of the

value of the case. Revealing such impressions would have

clear free-riding consequences. With this information,

the IRS will be able to immediately identify weak spots

and know exactly how much Textron should be willing to

spend to settle each item. Indeed, the IRS explicitly ad-

mits that this is its purpose in seeking the documents.

8 Perhaps because of these very same concerns about privacy

and fairness, the IRS itself argued for the protection of its docu-

ments prepared for the dual purposes of helping the IRS under-

stand the litigation risks-that might result if the IRS made the ad-

ministrative decision to adopt a new program. Delaney, Migdail &

Young, Chartered v. IRS, 826 F.2d 124 (D.C. Cir. 1987). This point

was also noted by the Ad/man court when it observed that “the IRS

successfully argued against the very position it here advocates.”

Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1201.

32a

Second, as argued to us by amici, the Chamber of

Commerce of the United States and the Association of

Corporate Counsel, if attorneys who identify good faith

questions and uncertainties in their clients’ tax returns

know that putting such information in writing will result

in discovery by the IRS, they will be more likely to avoid

putting it in writing, thus diminishing the quality of re-

presentation. The majority dismisses such concerns,

concluding that tax accrual workpapers are required by

law. Maj. Op. at 21. But the majority fails to cite the

record for this conclusion, likely because the majority is

simply wrong. As the majority opinion earlier admits,

Maj. Op. at 2-3, the law only requires that Textron pre-

pare audited financial statements reporting total re-

serves based on contingent tax liabilities. Accounting

standards require some evidential support before such

statements can be certified, but do not explicitly require

the form and detail of the documents prepared here by

Textron’s attorneys with respect to each potentially chal-

lenged tax item. See also Michelle M. Henkel, Textron:

The Debate Continues as to Whether Auditor Transpa-

rency Waives the Work Product Privilege, 50 Tax Man-

agement Memorandum 251, 260 (2009) (distinguishing

auditor’s workpapers and corporate workpapers and ex-

plaining that the latter are not mandatory but serve to

evaluate a company’s litigation risks). Rather, all that

must be actually reported is the final tax reserve liability

amount. Thus, as amici worry, the majority’s new rule

will have ramifications that will affect the form and detail

of documents attorneys prepare when working to con-

vince auditors of the soundness of a corporation’s re-

serves.

These concerns are even more clearly implicated in

this case because the majority’s decision will remove

protection for Textron’s “backup materials” as well as its

30a

actual workpapers. The district court found that these

materials included “notes and memoranda written by

Textron’s in-house tax attorneys reflecting their opinions

as to which items should be included on the spreadsheet

and the hazard of litigation percentage that should apply

to each item.” United States v. Textron Inc., 507 F.

Supp. 2d 138, 143 (D.R.I. 2007). Thus, these documents

thus go beyond the numbers used to compute a total re-

serve. Rather, they explain the legal rationale underpin-

ning Textron’s views of its litigation chances. The major-

ity fails to acknowledge this subtlety, explain why it

views such documents as required by regulatory rules,

or explain why such mental impressions should go un-

protected. Exposing such documentation to discovery is

a significant expansion of the IRS’s power and will likely

reveal information far beyond the basic numbers that the

IRS could discover through production of Textron’s au-

ditor’s workpapers.

But more important are the ramifications beyond this

case and beyond even the case of tax accrual workpapers

in general. The scope of the work-product doctrine

should not depend on what party is asserting it. Rather,

the rule announced in this case will, if applied fairly, have

wide ramifications that the majority fails to address.

For example, as the IRS explicitly conceded at oral

argument, under the majority’s rule one party in a litiga-

tion will be able to discover an opposing party’s analysis

of the business risks of the instant litigation, including

the amount of money set aside in a litigation reserve

fund, created in accordance with similar requirements as

Textron’s tax reserve fund. Though this consequence

was a major concern of the argument in this case, the

majority does not even consider this “sharp practice,”

which its new rule will surely permit.

34a

And there are plenty more examples. Under the ma-

jority’s rule, there is no protection for the kind of docu-

ments at issue in Adlman, namely “documents analyzing

anticipated litigation, but prepared to assist in a business

decision rather than to assist in the conduct of the litiga-

tion.” 134 F.3d at 1201-02. Nearly every major business

decision by a public company has a legal dimension that

will require such analysis. Corporate attorneys prepar-

ing such analyses should now be aware that their work

product is not protected in this circuit.

III. The Workpapers Are Protected Under the Right

Test

Applying the “because of” test thoughtfully adopted

in Adlman and Maine, the majority should have con-

cluded that Textron’s workpapers are protected by the

work-product doctrine. The proper starting point in

reaching this legal conclusion should be the factual find-

ings of the district court, which held an evidentiary hear-

ing to understand the nature of the documents sought

here by the IRS.

A. Factual findings

After considering affidavits and testimony, the dis-

trict court found that the tax accrual workpapers are:

1. Aspreadsheet that contains:

(a) lists of items on Textron’s tax returns,

which, in the opinion of Textron’s counsel,

involve issues on which the tax laws are

unclear, and, therefore, may be challenged

by the IRS;

(b) estimates by Textron’s counsel express-

ing, in percentage terms, their judgments

regarding Textron’s chances of prevailing

35a

in any litigation over those issues (the

“hazards of litigation percentages”); anc

(c) the dollar amounts reserved to reflect

the possibility that Textron might not pre-

vail in such litigation (the “tax reserve

amounts”).

Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 142-143 (emphasis added).

These workpapers do not contain any facts about the

transactions that concerned the IRS. Jd. at 143.

The district court also found, “[als stated by Norman

Richter, Vice President of Taxes at Textron and Rox-

anne Cassidy, Director, Tax Reporting at Textron, Tex-

tron’s ultimate purpose in preparing the tax accrual

workpapers was to ensure that Textron was ‘adequately

reserved with respect to any potential disputes or litiga-

tion that would happen in the future.” Jd. at 143. Fur-

ther, “there would have been no need to create a reserve

in the first place, if Textron had not anticipated a dispute

with the IRS that was likely to result in litigation or

some other adversarial proceeding.” Jd. at 150.

In addition to recognizing these litigation purposes,

the district court also recognized the dual purposes driv-

ing the creation of these documents and found that the

workpapers’ creation “also was prompted, in part” by the

need to satisfy Textron’s auditors and get a “clean” opi-

nion letter. Jd. at 143. The district court later clarified:

Thus, while it may be accurate to say that

the workpapers helped Textron determine

what amount should be reserved to cover

any potential tax liabilities and that the

workpapers were useful in obtaining a

“clean” opinion from [the auditor] regard-

ing the adequacy of the reserve amount,

36a

there would have been no need to create a

reserve in the first place, if Textron had

not anticipated a dispute with the IRS that

was likely to result in litigation or some

other adversarial proceeding.

Id. at 150. Relatedly, the district court found that antici-

pation of litigation was the “but for” cause of the docu-

ments’ creation. /d. Thus, the district court clearly found

two purposes leading to the creation of the workpapers.

The majority makes no effort to reject these factual

findings, but simply recharacterizes the facts as suits its

purposes. For example, the majority declares, without

reference to the district court’s more nuanced findings,

that the “the IRS is unquestionably right that the imme-

diate motive of Textron in preparing the tax accrual

work papers was to fix the amount of the tax reserve on

Textron’s books and to obtain a clean financial opinion

from its auditor.” Maj. Op. at 12-13. At another point, the

majority boldly pronounces, “the only purpose of Tex-

tron’s papers was to prepare financial statements.” Jd. at

20. Of course, as explained above, the district court’s fac-

tual findings about Textron’s “ultimate purpose” were

directly contrary to these pronouncements. Discarding a

district court’s factual finding on causation without any

demonstration of clear error is not within this court’s

proper appellate function. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a)

(“Findings of fact, whether based on oral or other evi-

dence, mus* not be set aside unless clearly erroneous,

and the revie"ving court must give due regard to the trial

court’s opportunity to judge the witnesses’ credibility.”);

see also Constructora Maza, Inc. v. Banco de Ponce, 616

F.2d 573, 576 (1st Cir. 1980) (noting that clear error re-

view applies even when “much of the evidence is docu-

37a

mentary and the challenged findings are factual infe-

rences drawn from undisputed facts”).

Instead, the majority exalts in the fact that the dis-

trict court made no finding that the documents were “for

use in possible litigation.” Maj. Op. at 13. That proposi-

tion is true. But, as described above, “for use” (i.e. “pre-

pared for”) is not and has never been the law of this cir-

cuit.

The majority does suggest that the documents busi-

ness purpose “cannot be disputed.” Jd. This is also un-

controversial. The district court found both a litigation

and a business purpose. But, in straining to ignore the

documents’ litigation purposes, the majority proceeds to

rely heavily on the IRS’s expert. In so doing, the majori-

ty makes no effort to explain why the district court

should have been required to adopt the view that the

workpapers existed only for a non-litigation purpose.

The majority claims that Textron’s witnesses agreed

with the IRS expert, but the majority fails to reconcile

this proclamation with the competing view of Textron’s

witnesses, which the district court explicitly relied upon

in its factual findings regarding Textron’s “ultimate pur-

pose.” Textron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 143. This is another

corruption of the proper role of an appellate court. See

Anderson v. Besserier City, 470 U.S. 564, 574 (1985)

(“Where there are twe permissible views of the evidence,

the factfinder’s choice between them cannot be clearly

erroneous. ”’).

The majority does suggest that the district court’s

findings regarding the cause of the workpapers’ creation

was only stated in its legal analysis section. Maj. Op. at 9.

But the actual purpose of the documents’ creators, or, in

the words of the district court, “but-for” causation, is a

38a

factual issue, and the majority makes no effort to explain

why such issue should be reviewed as a legal conclusion.

The majority also proclaims, without record support,

that “[a]ny experienced litigator would describe the tax

accrual work papers as tax documents and not as case

preparation materials.” Maj. Op. at 15. As described

above, this conclusion reverses, without any finding of

clear error, the district court’s factual findings. Further,

this language dangerously suggests that this court can,

from its general knowledge, offer an expert opinion as to

how such documents are always seen by “experienced

litigators.” Another of the many errors of this approach

is revealed by reference to undisputed record testimony.

Namely, the majority's assumption that tax accrual

workpapers are a uniform class from corporation to cor-

poration is simply wrong. When the district court care-

fully and specifically defined what documents were ac-

tually at issue in this case, it explained that “there is no

immutable definition of the term ‘tax accrual papers,”

and that their content varies from case to case, Textron,

507 F. Supp. 2d at 142, a conclusion that is consonant

with the testimony of the government’s expert. Jd. at 142

n.2. Thus, even were it not our rule that we defer to the

district court’s factfinding, such a rule would make good

sense in handling the wide range of workpapers likely to

confront district courts in the future as the IRS increa-

singly seeks their discovery.

Even if we looked at the purpose of tax accrual work-

papers as a general matter, the district court’s conclu-

sion that Textron’s anticipation of litigation drove its re-

porting obligations is not so outrageous as to leave us

with a firm conviction of error. Rather, other courts re-

viewing similar kinds of documents have reached similar

conclusions. Regions Fin. Corp. & Subsidiaries v. Unit-

39a

ed States, No. 2:06-CV-00895-RDP, 2008 WL 2139008, at

*6 (N.D. Ala. May 8, 2008) (concluding, in examining

another company’s workpapers that “[wJere it not for

anticipated litigation, Regions would not have to worry

about contingent liabilities and would have no need to

elicit opinions regarding the likely results of litigation”);

Comm’r of Revenue v. Comcast Corp., 453 Mass. 298, 901

N.E.2d 1185, 1191, 1205 (2009) (affirming a finding of

work-product protection for a business memorandum

analyzing the “pros and cons of the various planning op-

portunities and the attendant litigation risks” since the

author “had ‘the prospect of litigation in mind when it

directed the preparation of the memorandum” and

would not have been prepared irrespective of that litiga-

tion (quoting Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1204)).

B. Analysis

This court should accept the district court’s factual

conclusion that Textron created these documents for the

purpose of assessing its chances of prevailing in potential

litigation over its tax return in order to assess risks and

reserve funds. Under these facts, work-product protec-

tion should apply.

1. The “because of” test

First, the majority does not develop any analysis con-

testing the proposition that disputes with the IRS in an

audit can constitute litigation, within the meaning of

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(8)(A). Indeed, such a conclusion is

clear. For these purposes, the touchstone of “litigation”

is that it is adversarial. See Restatement (Third) of the

Law Governing Lawyers § 87 emt. h (2000). Though the

initial stages of a tax audit may not be adversarial, the

disputes themselves are essentially adversarial; the sub-

40a

ject of these disputes will become the subject of litigation

unless the dispute is resolved.

Applying the “because of” test as articulated in Adl-

man and Maine, the workpapers are protected. Under

these precedents, a document is protected if, “in light of

the nature of the document and the factual situation in

the particular case, the document can be fairly said to

have been prepared or obtained because of the prospect

of litigation.” Maine, 298 F.3d at 68 (emphasis in origi-

nal) (quoting Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1202). The “because

of” test “really turns on whether [the document] would

have been prepared irrespective of the expected litiga-

tion with the IRS.” Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1204. As the dis-

trict court found, the driving force behind the prepara-

tion of the documents was the need to reserve money in

anticipation of disputes with the IRS. Textron, 507 F.

Supp. 2d at 143. Though other business needs also con-

tributed to Textron’s need to create the documents,

those needs depended on Textron’s anticipating litigation

with the IRS. In other words, without the anticipation of

litigation, there would be no need to estimate a reserve

to fund payment of tax disputes. Jd. at 150. In this way,

the dual purposes leading to the documents’ creation

were intertwined, and work-product protection should

apply. See Jn re Grand Jury Subpoena, 357 F.3d at 910

(“The documents are entitled to work product protection

because, taking into account the facts surrounding their

creation, their litigation purpose so permeates any non-

litigation purpose that the two purposes cannot be dis-

cretely separated from the factual nexus as a whole.”);

see also Andrew Golodny, Note: Lawyers versus Audi-

tors: Disclosure to Auditors and Potential Waiver of

Work-Product Privilege in United States v. Textron, 61

Tax Law. 621, 629 (2008) (“As a commentator noted, ‘in

the case of tax contingency reserves, the prospect of fu-

4la

ture litigation and the business need for the documents

are so intertwined that the prospect of future litigation

itself creates the business need for the document.”

(quoting Terrence G. Perris, Court Applies Work Prod-

uct Privilege to Tax Accrual Workpapers, 80 Prac. Tax.

Strategies 4 (2008))).

The majority simply refuses to accept the district

court’s finding that the documents would not exist but

for Textron’s need to anticipate litigation. This rejection

is essential to the majority’s erroneous conclusion. Ac-

cepting the district court’s findings regarding purpose

compels a finding of work-product protection, since the

precedents are clear that under the “because of” test,

dual purpose documents are protected. In fact, that is

one of the very reasons some courts have adopted the

test. 8 Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Richard

L. Marcus, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2024

(2d ed. 2009) (“Dual purpose’ documents created be-

cause of the prospect of litigation are protected even

though they were also prepared for a business pur-

pose.”); see also Roxworthy, 457 F.3d at 598-99

(“[Djocuments do not lose their work product privilege

‘merely because [they were] created in order to assist

with a business decision,’ unless the documents ‘would

have been created in essentially similar form irrespective

of the litigation.” (quoting Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1202));

In re Grand Jury Subpoena, 357 F.3d at 907 (adopting

Wright and Miller’s “because of” test in order to handle

“dual purpose” documents); Maine, 298 F.3d at 68

(adopting Adiman after recounting the distinction be-

tween the “because of” test and the “primary purpose”

test in their handling of dual purpose documents); Adl-

man, 134 F.3d at 1197-98, 1202 (“Where a document is

created because of the prospect of litigation, analyzing

the likely outcome of that litigation, it does not lose pro-

42a

tection under this formulation merely because it is

created in order to assist with a business decision.”); Jn

re Special Sept. 1978 Grand Jury (Il), 640 F.2d 49, 61

(7th Cir. 1980) (“We conclude that the materials . . . were

indeed prepared in anticipation of litigation, even though

they were prepared as well for the filing of the Board of

Elections reports.”).

2. The exception to the “because of” test

The majority reads too much into one sentence from

Maine and Adiman. Specifically, it is true that “the ‘be-

cause of’ standard does not protect from disclosure ‘doc-

uments that are prepared in the ordinary course of busi-

ness or that would have been created in essentially simi-

lar form irrespective of the litigation.’”” Maine, 298 F.3d

at 70 (quoting Adiman, 134 F.3d at 1202). This proviso

relates to the advisory notes to the rule, which excludes

from protection “[mJaterials assembled in the ordinary

course of business, or pursuant to public requirements

unrelated to litigation, or for other nonlitigation purpos-

es.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 26 advisory committee’s note (1970).

Understood in light of the fact that the “because of” test

unequivocally protects “dual purpose” documents, this

proviso does not strip protection for dual purpose docu-

ments that have one business or regulatory purpose. Ra-

ther, the best reading of the advisory committee’s note is

simply that preparation for business or for public re-

quirements is preparation for a nonlitigation purpose in-

sufficient in itself to warrant protection. The note states

that there is no protection for documents created for

business, regulatory, or “other nonlitigation purposes.”

This language suggests the note is considering business

and regulatory purposes as nonlitigation purposes, but

does not suggest that the presence of such a purpose

should somehow override a litigation purpose, should one

43a

exist. Thus, correctly formulated, this exception should

be understood as simply clarifying the rule that dual

purpose documents are protected, though “there is no

work-product immunity for documents prepared in the

regular course of business rather than for purposes of

the litigation.” Wright & Miller, supra, § 2024 (emphasis

added); see also Roxworthy, 457 F.3d at 599 (“{A] docu-

ment can be created for both use in the ordinary course

of business and in anticipation of litigation without losing

its work-product privilege.”). Under the majority’s in-

terpretation, the exception swallows the rule protecting

dual purpose documents.

So understood, the exception does not control this

case. After citing this exception, the district court con-

cluded that the documents were not created irrespective

of litigation because Textron would not have prepared

the documents but for the anticipation of litigation. Tez-

tron, 507 F. Supp. 2d at 150. The majority makes no ef-

fort to label this finding clearly erroneous. To the con-

trary, the finding is correct. The tax accrual workpapers

identify specific tax line items, and then anticipate the

likelihood that litization over those items will result in

Textron having to pay the IRS more money. That Tex-

tron will not ultimately litigate each position does not

change the fact that when it prepared the documents,

Textron was acting to anticipate and analyze the conse-

quences of possible litigation, just like the memorandum

example in Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1200. The documents

would not be the same at all had Textron not anticipated

litigation. So, under the “because of” test, as applied in

Adiman and the many circuit courts that have followed

it, these documents were not prepared “irrespective” of

the prospect of litigation. They should be protected.

3. Arthur Young and El Paso do not control

Neither the Supreme Court’s decision in United

States v. Arthur Young & Co., 465 U.S. 805 (1984), nor

the Fifth Circuit’s decision in El Paso, 682 F.2d at 530,

support a different result.

In Arthur Young, the Court declined to recognize an

accountant’s work-product doctrine, thus holding that

tax accrual workpapers created by an independent audi-

tor were not protected. Arthur Young, 465 U.S. at 815-

21. But unlike the Court in Arthur Young, we are not

now confronted with the question of whether to recog-

nize a new privilege. Here, the doctrinal decision we face

is how to apply existing worl-product doctrine to the

present facts, in other words whether the “because of”

test protects dual purpose documents, as the Maine and

Adlman courts so held. This question was not at all pre-

sented in Arthur Young.

On the other hand, El Paso is clearly factually on

point—there the Fifth circuit rejected work-product pro-

tection for similar tex accrual workpapers. Hl Paso, 682

F.2d at 542. But, as explained above, that court applied a

different definition of the work-product doctrine, asking

whether the “primary motivating purpose behind the

creation of the document was to aid in possible future

litigation.” Jd. at 542-44 (concluding that the document

should not be protected as it “carries much more the au-

ra of daily business than it does of courtroom combat”).

Finding Textron’s workpapers protected would not

create a circuit split, but be merely an application of a

widely acknowledged existing difference between our

law and the law of the Fifth Circuit. It is precisely in

these “dual purpose” situations that the “because of” test

used in this circuit is meant to distinguish itself from the

“primary purpose” test used in the Fifth Circuit. Maine,

45a

298 F.3d at 68 (citing Adlman for the proposition that

the primary purpose test “is at odds with the text and

the policies of Rule 26 because nothing in it suggests that

documents prepared for dual purposes of litigation and

business or agency decisions do not fall within its

scope”). Thus, unlike the Fifth Circuit, we need not as-

sess whether the tax accrual workpapers carry more of

one “aura” than another.

IV. Conclusion

The majority’s decision may please the IRS and some

tax scholars who understandably see discovery of tax ac-

crual workpapers as an important tool in combating

fraud. But this decision will be viewed as a dangerous

aberration in the law of a well-established and important

evidentiary doctrine. Whatever else one may think about

this case, the majority’s assertion that it is following

Maine is plainly erroneous. Rather, the majority’s “pre-

pared for” tes: is directly contrary to Adlman, a decision

we explicitly adopted in Maine.

In straining to craft a rule favorable to the IRS as a

matter of tax law, the majority has thrown the law of

work-product protection into disarray. Circuits have al-

ready split interpreting the meaning of “anticipation of

litigation,” between the “primary purpose” and “because

of” tests. Now this court has proceeded to further the

split by purporting to apply the “because of” test while

rejecting that test’s protection for dual purpose docu-

ments. In reality, the majority applied a new test that

requires that documents be actually “prepared for” use

in litigation. The time is ripe for the Supreme Court to

intervene anc set the circuits straight on this issue which

is essential to the daily practice of litigators across the

country.

46a

The correct test is that spelled out in Adlman, and

adopted by most circuit courts. Applying that test to the

facts actually found by the district court, these tax ac-

crual workpapers should be protected. For these rea-

sons, I respectfully dissent.

47a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 07-2631

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Petitioner,

Appellant,

Vv.

TEXTRON INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES, Respondent,

Appellee.

January 21, 2009

Before TORRUELLA, BOUDIN, Circuit Judges,

and SCHWARZER,’ District Judge.

TORRUELLA, Circuit Judge.

The question presented by this appeal is whether the

work-product doctrine protects documents prepared by

Textron Inc. for the purpose of calculating tax reserve

liability from production to the IRS pursuant to an inves-

tigative subpoena. Like other companies, Textron pre-

pares “tax accrual workpapers” which, generally speak-

ing, list the questionable positions Textron took on its

“Of the Northern District of California, sitting by designation.

48a

tax returns, estimate the likelihood that those positions

will not withstand scrutiny, and calculate the amount of

additional tax liability that would result from revision of

those positions. Textron prepares these estimates so that

it can maintain an adequate reserve fund, properly re-

port its assets and liabilities, and obtain independent cer-

tification of its financial statements. As part of the audit-

ing process, Textron showed these tax accrual workpa-

pers to Ernst & Young (“E&Y”) an independent auditor.

This case arose when the Internal Revenue Service

(“IRS”), after noticing potential tax shelter transactions,

issued an administrative summons to Textron pursuant

to I.R.C. § 7602 seeking tax accrual workpapers for Tex-

tron’s 2001 tax returns. Textron refused to comply and

asserted a number of defenses. The IRS sued to enforce

the subpoena. After an evidentiary hearing, the district

court ruled for Textron on its work-product protection

claim, but rejected its other defenses. The district court

also found that Textron’s disclosure to E&Y did not con-

stitute waiver. The IRS appeals. After careful review,’

we affirm in part, vacate in part, and remand.

I. Background

The IRS subpoena sought “Tax Accrual Workpa-

pers,” defined as:

1 Textron was joined by amici curiae Committee on Taxation and

Committee on Corporate Reporting of Financial Executives Inter-

national, Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America,

and Association of Corporate Counsel. The IRS has submitted two

scholarly articles which we have considered: Dennis J. Ventry, Jr.,

Protecting Abusive Tax Avoidance, 120 Tax Notes 857 (2008); and

Claudine Pease-Wingenter, The Application of the Attorney-Client

Privilege to Tax Accrual Workpapers: The Real Legacy of United

States v. Textron, 8 Houston Bus. & Tax L.J. 337 (2008).

49a

[AJll accrual and other financial workpa-

pers or documents created or assembled

by the Taxpayer, an accountant for the

Taxpayer, or the Taxpayer’s independent

auditor relating to any tax reserve for cur-

rent, deferred, and potential or contingent

tax liabilities, however classified or re-

ported on audited financial statements, and

to any footnotes disclosing reserves or con-

tingent liabilities on audited financial

statements. They include, but are not li-

mited to, any and all analyses, computa-

tions, opinions, notes, summaries, discus-

sions, and other documents relating to

such reserves and any footnotes.

The subpoena sought all documents in the actual or con-

structive possession, custody, or control of Textron or its

accountants. The district court held oral arguments

where the government reiterated that it was seeking tax

accrua] documents prepared by Textron or E&Y. Tex-

tron argued that it had created the documents in antici-

pation of a dispute with the IRS regarding its tax re-

turns.

The district court then held an evidentiary hearing on

the types of documents included in the definition of “tax

accrual workpapers” and the basis for Textron’s work

product claim. At the evidentiary hearing, the IRS’s ex-

pert witness, Professor Douglas Carmichael, testified

that securities law requires that public companies obtain

a letter from an independent auditor approving the com-

pany’s financial statements, and that part of that audit

was an ana.ysis of the company’s reserves for covering

tax loss. Textron’s former Director of Tax Reporting,

Roxanne Cassidy, countered that the tax accrual work-

50a

papers were created “to determine whether Textron was

adequately reserved with respect to any potential dis-

putes or litigations that would happen in the future.”

Cassidy and Norman Richter, Textron tax counsel, ex-

plained that the tax accrual workpapers listed positions

Textron was taking on its tax returns that might require

that a reserve be set aside. These positions were then

analyzed by Textron attorneys who estimated a percen-

tage likelihood that the position would not prevail if chal-

lenged by the IRS. Textron calls this the “hazards of liti-

gation percentage.” The reserve requirement was calcu-

lated by multiplying this percentage times the tax bene-

fit claimed.

In response, Carmichael, the IRS expert witness,

contended that public companies prepare these papers

every year to comply with securities law regardless of

whether they expect litigation. But, Richter testified that

the tax accrual workpapers were prepared under the as-

sumption that issues identified would be challenged by

the IRS and would need to be defended. He further testi-

fied that if Textron did not anticipate any disputes, the

tax accrual workpapers would be blank. The IRS disa-

greed, arguing that some workpapers would neverthe-

less be necessary to handle deferred taxes or to justify

setting aside no tax reserve.

It was undisputed that the IRS audits every Textron

return in multi-year cycles. Testimony also showed that

in each audit cycle hundreds of IRS adjustments to Tex-

tron’s returns were simply accepted by Textron. Where

Textron and the IRS do dispute tax liability, their dis-

pute could be resolved through a conference with the au-

dit team, by presentation of arguments to the IRS Office

of Appeals, or, ultimately, federal court litigation. In sev-

en of the last eight audit cycles, Textron and the IRS

5la

have brought at least one issue to the IRS Office of Ap-

peals. Between 1959 and present, Textron and the IRS

have litigated three disputes in federal court. Textron

admitted that it expected to concede several issues iden-

tified in the workpapers, and that the percentage for

those issues was listed as “100%.” Textron explained that

those items were due to instances where legal develop-

ments rendered a prior position undefendable.

IRS agents explained that access to the workpapers

would help them navigate Textron’s 4000 page tax return

which was accompanied by “9 four-drawer file cabinets”

of paper. The IRS witnesses explained that the tax ac-

crual workpapers would help the [RS understand the

substance of a transaction and could help the IRS identi-

fy potential issues with Textron’s return. An agent testi-

fied that in 2006 the IRS adopted the policy of seeking

tax accrual workpapers when the audit team becomes

aware (sometime through self-reporting) of certain

transactions by the taxpayer which potentially constitute

abusive tax shelters.

As to the waiver issue, the IRS’s expert, Carmichael,

testified that companies create these tax accrual work-

papers, knowing that they will be shared with an auditor.

Evidence also showed that the auditor’s code of ethics

requires information be kept confidential unless required

to be produced in response to a subpoena or other legal

obligation. Mark Weston, a partner at E&Y, submitted

an affidavit explaining these confidenuiaiity obligations

and further stating that E&Y had not in fact disclosed

any information regarding Textron’s 2001 tax accrual

computations. But the IRS expert opined that auditors

ultimately owe an allegiance to the investing public and

have legal obligations of disclosure in some instances.

52a

Textron countered that it let E&Y look at its tax ac-

crual workpapers, but did not allow E&Y to retain a copy

of them. Debra Raymond, a Textron tax manager,

averred that she had reviewed E&Y’s files and that E&Y

did not in fact retain a copy of Textron’s workpapers.

The IRS subpoena also requested any tax-accrual

documents prepared by E&Y regarding Textron. After

the evidentiary hearing, the district court found that the

“tax accrual workpapers” at issue did not include facts

about the issues they identified, and could be described

as follows:

1. Aspreadsheet that contains:

(a) lists of items on Textron’s tax returns,

which, in the opinion of Textron’s counsel,

involve issues on which the tax laws are

unclear, and, therefore, may be challenged

by the IRS;

(b) estimates by Textron’s counsel express-

ing, in percentage terms, their judgments

regarding Textron’s chances of prevailing

in any litigation over those issues (the “ha-

zards of litigation percentages”); and

(c) the dollar amounts reserved to reflect

the possibility that Textron might not pre-

vail in such litigation (the “tax reserve

amounts”).

2. Backup workpapers consisting of the

previous year’s spreadsheet and earlier

drafts of the spreadsheet together with

notes and memoranda written by Textron’s

in-house tax attorneys reflecting their opi-

nions as to which items should be included

on the spreadsheet and the hazard of liti-

58a

gation percentage that should apply to

each item.

United States v. Textron Inc., 507 F. Supp. 2d 138, 142-

143 (D.R.1. 2007). The government objects on appeal that

the district court did not include in this definition any tax

accrual workpaper that E&Y prepared in its audit of

Textron.

The district court then found that the subpoenaed

documents were relevant, requested for a proper pur-

pose, and were privileged attorney-client communica-

tions. Jd. at 143-48. But, the district court found that the

attorney-client privilege was waived by disclosure to

E&Y. /d. at 151-62.

As to the work-product protection claim, the district

court credited Textron’s testimony that its ultimate pur-

pose in preparing the tax accrual workpapers was to en-

sure that it was “adequately reserved with respect to

any potential disputes or litigation that would happen in

the future.” Jd. at 143 (quoting the testimony of Norman

Richter). The court found that this desire to ensure ade-

quate reserves was also prompted, in part, by its wish to

satisfy independent auditors that Textron had properly

reported its financial information. Jd. at 150. The court

acknowledged the First Circuit’s “because of” test for

determining whether documents were prepared in antic-

ipation of litigation and recognized that under that test

there is no protection for “documents that are prepared

in the ordinary course of business or that would have

been created in essentially similar form irrespective of

the litigation.” /d. (quoting Maine v. United States Dep't

of the Interior, 298 F.3d 60, 70 (1st Cir. 2002)). The dis-.

trict court then held that the tax accrual workpapers

“would not have been prepared at all ‘but for’ the fact

that Textron anticipated the possibility of litigation with

64a

the IRS.” /d. The district court reasoned that while the

papers were used to obtain a favorable opinion letter

from E&Y regarding Textron’s reserves, there would

have been no need for such reserves “if Textron had not

anticipated a dispute with the IRS that was likely to re-

sult in litigation or some other adversarial proceeding.”

Id. The IRS appeals the conclusion that the work-

product doctrine protects the tax accrual workpapers.

The district court then noted that the standard for

waiver of the work-product protection was different than

for attorney-client privilege. /d. at 152. The district court

concluded that disclosure of Textron’s tax accrual work-

papers to E&Y did not effect a waiver since disclosure

“did not substantially increase the IRS’s opportunity to

obtain the information contained in them.” /d. at 153.

The district court based its decision on E&Y’s profes-

sional confidentiality obligations and the fact that E&Y

averred that it had not actually disclosed the informa-

tion. Jd.’ The IRS also appeals this conclusion.

The district court then ruled that the government

could not make the showing needed to overcome work-

product protection since the government sought Tex-

tron’s “mental impressions, conclusions, opinions or legal

theories.” /d. at 154 (internal quotations omitted). The

IRS does not appeal this conclusion.

* The district court also found that E&Y had promised to keep the

documents confidential. The IRS contends that this fact is not sup-

ported in the record. As explained infra n.10, we need not decide this

dispute.

Il. Discussion

Three issues are thus presented for appeal: (1)

whether the work-product doctrine protects Textron’s

workpapers; (2) whether any such work-product protec-

tion was waived through disclosure to E&Y; and (3)

whether the district court erred in not considering the

IRS’s request for E& Y's workpapers.

On these evidentiary issues, we “review district court

rulings on questions of law de novo; we review district

court fact findings for clear error; and we review ‘discre-

tionary judgments such as evidentiary rulings’ for abuse

of discretion.” Cavallaro v. United States, 284 F.3d 236,

245 (1st Cir. 2002) (quoting United States v. Mass. Inst.

of Tech. (“MIT”), 129 F.3d 681, 683 (1st Cir. 1997)).

‘(Tjhe party who invokes the privilege bears the

burden of establishing that it applies to the communica-

tions at issue and that it has not been waived.” XYZ

Corp. v. United States, 348 F.3d 16, 22 (1st Cir. 2008).

A. Work-Product Protection

1. Applicable law

“(The work-product doctrine does apply in tax sum-

mons enforcement proceedings.” Upjohn Co. v. United

States, 449 U.S. 383, 386 (1981). The work-product doc-

trine protects “documents and tangible things that are

prepared in anticipation of litigation or for trial by or for

another party or its representative.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

26(b)(3)(A). In assessing whether a document was pre-

pared in anticipation of litigation, this circuit uses the

“because of” test. Maine, 298 F.3d at 68. Under this test,

a document is protected “if, ‘in light of the nature of the

document and the factual situation in the particular case,

the document can be fairly said to have been prepared or

56a

obtained because of the prospect of litigation.” /d. at 70

(quoting United States v. Adlman, 134 F.3d 1194, 1202

(2d Cir. 1998)) (emphasis in original). It is also our law

that, “the ‘because of’ standard does not protect from

disclosure ‘documents that are prepared in the ordinary

course of business or that would have been created in

essentially similar form irrespective of the litigation.”

Id. (quoting Adlman, 134 F.3d at 1202). As discussed be-

low, we hold in this case that the presence of a business

purpose does not defeat work-product protection.

The work-product doctrine originates in Hickman v.

Taylor, where the Supreme Court laid out the problems

with allowing the discovery of work product:

Were such materials open to opposing

counsel on mere demand, much of what is

now put down in writing would remain un-

written. An attorney’s thoughts, heretofore

inviolate, would not be his own. Inefficien-

cy, unfairness and sharp practices would

inevitably develop in the giving of legal ad-

vice and in the preparation of cases for tri-

al. The effect on the legal profession would

be demoralizing. And the interests of the

clients and the cause of justice would be

poorly served.

Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495, 511 (1947). The doc-

trine is rightly seen as a protection for the adversary

system, not simply the attorney. Coastal States Gas

Corp. v. Department of Energy, 617 F.2d 854, 864 (D.C.

Cir. 1980) (noting the doctrine does not protect all docu-

ments prepared by a lawyer and instead “focuses on the

integrity of the adversary trial process itself” (quotation

omitted)).

57a

The Restatement has offered a definition of litigation

in the work product context:

“Litigation” includes civil and criminal trial

proceedings, as well as adversarial pro-

ceedings before an administrative agency,

an arbitration pane

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Textron Inc. v. United States · 560 U.S. 924 | Frix