Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rogerson v. United States (No. 09-721)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, US.

rt (Ww 09-721 DEC 14 2009

No, OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

KAY L. ROGERSON, In propria persona,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Respondent,

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court Of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Kay L. Rogerson*

615 Westwind Dr.

Rapid City, SD 57702-2067

Phone: (605) 343-3262

Cell phone: (605) 484-3920

*Pro Se Petituoner of Record

1

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The following questions are related to a complaint

filed on 7/23/2008 that disputes the validity of a Title

VII agreement drafted by the United States District

Court for the District of South Dakota, Western Divi-

sion on 1/31/1996 (Appendix, p. 55) in settlement of a

Civil Rights complaint between Petitioner and the

United States Air Force (U.S.A.F.).

a.

Whether the agreement becomes a federal crime

in itself when it does not conform to the Civil

Rights laws and includes subject matter that was

not within the jurisdiction of the Court, or

whether it becomes (or is) simply “void”, or both?

Whether the validity of said agreement, can be

deemed "valid" at the US District Court level by

the same Court that drafted and signed it, and

then be dismissed for jurisdictional reasons at the

US Court of Appeals for the same District without

telling a pro se plaintiff, who was a previous fed-

eral employee, who has jurisdiction”

Whether the agreement violates the establish-

ment of a person's right to hfe, hberty, and the

pursuit of happiness, and due process of law

clause of the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Consti-

tution; and whether Petitioner must remain ac-

cused of a felony crime by the U.S.A.F. without a

trial by an impartial jury in accordance with the

Sixth Amendment to the Constitution?

Whether a “local rule” allowing “papers to be filed,

signed, or verified by electronic means’ is a lawful

process to dismiss the validity of this agreement

when the judge in the case 1s incapacitated and

does not (or cannot) personally sign any certificate

verifying this dismissal 1n accordance with 8th

Circuit Rule 25A?

1}

LIST OF PARTIES

1) KAY L. ROGERSON, Plaintiff , Petitioner

2) UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Defendant,

Respondent

Including:

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

Western Division

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

UNITED STATES ATTORNEY’S OFFICE

FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................................sessessesss 1

Sn score coseecisssevsarssaneevenesaroueusesuens il

Ce SEE xevicssecceecesenesseresorecssaccsosonvsvaroonesece i

TP SUE TIGL LES oc0.cccsccccccssesessecesssccoseserenensees Vv

Co cc eusebanispeubaan qaspuakenehahanl 1

SEER a Oe 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

AND REGULATIONS AT ISSUE ......0..0..00.cccccee cece. 5

SST Aree GPE BBMM RAIMI conse esccssccscssonccvecccscensonecnes 9

Facts Giving Rise To This Case...............ccc:cccsesceeeeeeees 9

The District Court Proceedings...............0.ccc0cccceeee ees 12

The Appellate Court Proceedings ........0.......cccccceseeeeeee 14

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE

SER EREEEE ASD Si SE SOSAER ASE Sh HOON C= 15

I. Review 1s Warranted Because The Courts of Fed-

eral Appeals have Territorial and Subject Matter

Jurisdiction to oversee the U.S. District Court per

the Constitution, Article III (1783) and 28 USC §

1291, and this should not exclude the Validity of

Agreements Made Under Federal Civil Rights

Statutes at the District Court Level ................. 17

Il. Review of the Validity of a Civil Rights Settlement

Agreement Is Warranted Because Of The National

Importance In Determining Whether The Civil

Rights Act Can be Used by the United States Gov-

ernment as an Unconventional Means to Dismiss

Federal Crimes within their Own Doors ........... 21

III. Review is Warranted Because of the Importance In

Determining Whether the United States Attorney’s

Office can Make Decisions to Dismiss a Complaint

when the District Court Judge Becomes Incapaci-

tated and/or After He Is Deceased, and When the

Court Has Not Appointed a New Judge to Take His

OMI ciskcnrviisscingcciusedetcdnes shies uaesdeee tae ee 25

1V

IV. Review Is Warranted Because the Title VII Civil

Rights Settlement Agreement Conflicts With The

Supreme Court’s Holding in Abermarle Paper Co.

TE Tee an =o CRI RONEN Se Se A He RON CNR EST 26

V. Review Is Warranted Because Of the Precedence

That Could Be Set In Regard to the Abuse of a US

District Court’s Electronic Filing System .............. 27

IE 0s, vaisdencneveskuaekenismagediietmnieiniaasconsh . 28

Ti iit ick vcs sii caniubiecchn Mekas usenet nbataidasanacn delat 32

ORDER Denying Petition for Panel Rehearing dated

PN ia chitiicias cncckccalstndbeibinbdalcsmaxammumiaaieiioeeens 33

MANDATE Dismissing Appeal from US District

CI I BO oo csvcanene: aiscbscccccsnnccacdssesesacsiaces 34

JUDGMENT for Dismissal of Appeal per Eighth Cir-

cuit Rule 47A(b) dated 8/31/2009 ........................cee 35

UNITED STATES’ MOTION FOR SUSPENSION

OF BRIEFING SCHEDULE OR TO EXTEND

BRIEFING DEADLINE AND FOR AFFIRMANCE

PURSUANT TO EIGHTH CIRCUIT RULE 47B

I foes cool cetcscencudous je bencduegesaedctseenses sucess 36

ORDER GRANTING MOTION TO DISMISS dated

I kcisii ot ailacs asc scuaiuaas nanlaies so hdliaa ean imiacadenls 45

STIPULATION FOR COMPROMISE SETTLE-

MENT dated 1/31/1996 (for Original case numbered

Sf 8 SESIYERER RAG Ae By ase AOE ME Ee NO Se Ce ed 55

SUMMONS mm a Civil Action (for Original case

numbered CIV 90-5038) dated 3/13/1992.............. 59

COMPLAINT (for Origirial case numbered CIV 90-

5038 that accompanied SUMMONS) dated

NEI SCORE ST RR Hee Sipe RET ee HDS eee ne 60

AMENDED COMPLAINT (for Original case num-

bered CIV 90-5238) dated 3/15/1995 ..................... 65

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Abermarle Paper Co. v. Moody

422 U.S. 405 (1975) under Title VII

Armstrong v. Obucino

300 Ill. 140, 143 (1921)

Austin v. Smith

312 F.2d 337, 343 (1962)

Bates v. Board of Education, Allendale

Community Consolidated School District

No. 17

136 I11.2d 260, 267 (1990)

Bindell v. City of Harvey

212 Ill.App.3d 1042, 571 N.E.2d 1017

(1st Dist. 1991)

Blassingame v. United States,

33 Fed. Cl. 504, 505

Bracey v. Warden

U.S. Supreme Court No. 96-6133

(6/9/1997)

Cohens v. Virginia

19 US (6 Wheat) 264, 404, 5 L.Ed 257

(1821)

Brown v. GSA (Supreme Court decision)

425 U.S. 820 (1976), referring to 42

U.S.C. Sections 2000e-16 and 2000e-5(f)

through (k)

12, 26,

28

20

24

19

28

23

26

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES (continued)

Brown v. GSA, 425 U.S. at 828-829, 26

referring to 118 Cong. Rec. 4942 (1972)

Brown v VanKeuren 19

340 Ill. 118 122 (1930)

Editorial Photocolor Archives v Granger 19

Collection

61 NY2d 517, 523 ee

Elliott v. Peirsol 29

1 Pet. 328, 340, 26 U.S. 328, 340 (1828)

English v. English, 72 Ill.App.3c 736, 28

393 N.E.2d 18 (1st Dist. 1979)

Fiorello v. Department of Justice 9

795 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1986

Flake v. Pretzel 24, 25

381 Ill. 498, 46 N.E.2d 375 (1943)

Hallberg v. Goldblatt Bros. 26, 26

363 Ill. 25 (1936)

Hanes v United States 19

44 Fed. Cl. 441, 449 (1999)

In Interest of M.V. 18, 19

288 Ill.App.3d 300, 681 N.E.2d 532 (1st

Dist. 1997)

vu

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES (continued)

In re TIP-PA-HANS Enterprises, Inc. 29

27 B.R. 780, 783 (1983)

Janove v. Bacon, 6 Ill.2d 245, 249, 28

128 N.E.2d 706, 708 (1955

Johnson v. Zerbst 26, 28

304 U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019 (1938)

Johnson v. Theis, 282 Ill.App. 3d 966, 20

669 N.E.2d 590 (2nd Dist. 1996)

Lee v. United States 19

33 Fed. Cl. 374, 379 (1995)

Levy v. Industrial Comm'n (1931) 20

346 Ill. 49, 51, 178 N.E. 370, 371

Library of Congress v. Shaw 26

106 S. Ct. 2957 (1986) | id

McCullough v United States, 19

76 Fed Cl. at 5

Midland Coal Co. v. Knox County 19

268 Ill.App.3d 485, 644 N.E.2d 796 (4th

Dist. 1994)

Old Wayne Mut. I. Assoc. v. McDonough 15, 16

204 U.S. 8, 27S.Ct 236 (1907)

People v. Wade 16

116 Ill.2d 1, 506 N.E.2d 954 (1987)

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES (continued)

People ex rel Gowdy v Baltimore & Ohio

“RR Co

385 Ill. 86, 92, 52 N.E.2d 255 (1943)

Pure Oil Co. v. City of Northlake

10 Ill.2d 241, 245, 140 N.E.2d 289 (1956)

Rose v. Himely

4 Cranch 241, 269, 2 LEd 608, 617 (1808)

Rosenstiel v. Rosenstiel

278 F.Supp. 794 (S.D.N.Y. 1967)

State Bank of Lake Zurich v. Thill

113 Ill.2d 294, 497 N.E.2d 1156 (1986)

U.S. v. Will

449 U.S. 200, 216, 101 S.Ct. 471, 66

L.Ed.2d 392, 406 (1980)

Vallely v. Northern Fire & Marine Ins. Co.,

254 U.S. 348, 41 S.Ct. 116 (1920)

Von Kettler et.al. v. Johnson

57 Ill. 109 (1870)

Vulcan Materials Co v. Bee Const. Co., Inc.

101 Ill. App.3d 30, 40, 427 N.E.2d 797

(1st Dist. 1981)

Williamson v. Berry,

8 How 495, 540, 12 L.Ed.1170, 1189

(1850)

26, 28

15

28

24

23

15

25, 28

19

15

1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATUTES

18 U.S.C. § 1001, Fraud and False State- 9,

ments

28 USC § 13438. Civil rights and elective

franchise

or

29 Code of Federal Regulations, Part

1614—Federa! Sector Equal Employ- 18,

ment Opportunity

42 USC § 1985 Conspiracy to interfere nd

with civil rights

Civil Rights Act of 1964 - CRA - Title VII?»

- Equal Employment Opportunities - 20,

42 US Code Chapter 21 44,

Whistleblower Protection Act -

CONSTITUTION

Fifth Amendment To The United States

Constitution s

Sixth Amendment To The United States

Constitution

16,

23

18

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the U.S. District Court, District

of South Dakota, Western Division in regard to

the validity of a Title VII Civil Rights settlement

is reported under Rogerson v. United States of

America, CV. 08-5060-AWB, dated 5/13/2009. "As

the Court concludes as a matter of law that the

terms of the Settlement are clear and unambigu-

ous, the Court chooses to enforce the agreement.

Accordingly, it dismisses Plaintiff's claims which

relate to the conduct of the Air Force and its em-

ployees prior to January 31, 1996, as barred by

the Settlement signed by Plaintiff" (Appendix p.

53.) The "Court dismisses with prejudice Plain-

tiff's claims with regard to the validity of the set-

tlement and allegations of Defendant's breach of

the settlement" (Appendix p. 54.)

The opinion of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Eighth Circuit, filed on August 31,

2009 1s reported as Kay L. Rogerson v. United

States of America, 09-2506. The case was dis-

missed upon the “motion of appellee for dis-

missal" using Eighth Circuit Rule 47A(b)

(Appendix, p. 35) : "The appellee may file a mo-

tion to dismiss a docketed appeal on the

grounds the appeal is not within the court's ju-

risdiction." This was based on the United States

Attorney's Motion to dismiss dated August 12,

2009; however, the United States Attorney's

motion to dismiss was based on Eighth Circuit

Rule 47B, and not 47A(b) (Appendix, pp. 38, 43).

Appellant filed a Petition for Panel Rehear-

ing on September 18, 2009 with the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

The motion denying rehearing by the panel,

2

filed by appellant, was dated October 22, 2009

and can be found under Kay L. Rogerson v.

United States of America, No: 09-2506

(Appendix, p. 33).

JURISDICTION

On July 23, 2008, Plaintiff brought suit against

the United States of America in the United States

District Court for the Western Division of South

Dakota, alleging that Defendant had violated a T1-

tle VII Civil Rights settlement agreement which

had been drafted and signed by this same Court on

1/31/1996 while Plaintiff was depressed and receiv-

ing Federal Employees Compensation Act (FECA)

benefits. Suit was brought because Plaintiff was

terminated from her FECA benefits on 3/18/2007,

denied her right to re-employment by her previous

federal employer - the United States Air Force

(USAF), denied employment for any federal agency,

her federal retirement was demied, and her federal

medical insurance was retroactively cancelled; and

because the Civil Rights settlement agreement had

alluded to the fact that the USAF had control of her

FECA benefits and status by agreeing they would

not “act or fail to act" in regard to an adverse im-

pact to Plaintiff's FECA benefits and status. The

complaint was filed after Plaintiff had exhausted

all other administrative avenues of redress for her

complaint including the Employees Compensation

Appeals Board (who refused to answer any ques-

tions in regard to the civil rights settlement agree-

ment), the Department of Labor (LABR), the Office

of Personnel Management (OPM), and the Office of

Special Council (OSC) who advised Plaintiff to ad-

dress her issues to the Merit Systems Protection

Board (MSPB).

3

In conjunction with breaching this agreement,

Plaintiff alleged the agreement was in violation of

Civil Rights laws and Articles V and VI of the Con-

stitution because the agreement not only involved

those Civil Rights issues which were rightfully be-

fore the Court on 1/31/1996 (see original complaints,

Appendix pp. 60, 65), but 1t also dismissed Whistle-

blower Protection Act (WPA) issues and federal

crimes which Plaintiff and her attorneys had previ-

ously exposed to her superiors at Ellsworth AFB,

SD and to the Court, and were under federal inves-

tigation at the time of the signing of the agreement.

Petitioner had also filed a complaint with the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) due

to the breach of contract, and the EEOC advised

her to file her complaint with the US District Court

where the agreement was drafted and signed.

MSPB also decided that the issues were out of their

jurisdiction because the settlement agreement was

made at the US District Court level.

Nine months later, on 4/22/2009, someone other

than the judge who was ordered to handle this case

(Judge Andrew Bogue) entered an ORDER DENY-

ING MOTION TO CHANGE VENUE AND DENY-

ING MOTION FOR EXPEDITION OF COM-

PLAINT AND TEMPORARY RELIEF, typing Judge

Bogue's name on the dismissal document.

On 5/13/2009, someone other than The Honor-

able Judge Andrew Bogue entered an ORDER

GRANTING MOTION TO DISMISS this complaint,

typing Judge Bogue's name on the dismissal docu-

ment.'! On page 9 of that ORDER (Appendix, p. 54)

' Please note that the Honorable Judge Andrew Bogue was at

his home in a remote area in the Black Hulls of South Dakota,

several miles from the Court, on his death bed. He died just 27

days after his name was typed on this document.

4

it states, "the Court dismisses with prejudice Plain-

tiffs claims with regard to the validity of the settle-

ment and allegations of Defendant's breach of the

settlement."

On 5/22/2009 Plaintiff Petitioned the US Court

of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit for a Writ of Man-

damus because she had been the victim of federal

crimes in which the investigations were terminated

with the agreement.

On 6/8/2009, the US Court of Appeals DENIED

the Petition for Writ of Mandamus.

Because the Court had acted on the validity and

breach of the agreement and dismissed it with

prejudice, Plaintiff filed a NOTICE OF APPEAL on

6/15/2009 in regard to the validity and breach of the

Title VII Civil Rights settlement agreement.

The US Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit filed

their ORDER _ d§ismissing this Appeal on

8/31/2009 using Eighth Circuit Rule 47A(b)

(Appendix, p. 35).

Appellant filed a Petition for Panel Rehear-

ing on 9/18/2009. The motion denying rehear-

ing by the panel, filed by appellant, was denied

10/22/2009.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the

Judgment of the Eighth Circuit 1s invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). Petitioner is filing this Peti-

tion for a Writ of Certiorari within the 90 days

of the 10/22/2009 date when the motion for

Panel Rehearing was denied, in accordance

with Rule 13.1.

5

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

AND POLICIES AT ISSUE

Civil Rights Act of 1964, CRA, Title VIT,

Equal Employment Opportunities

42 USC CHAPTER 21 - CIVIL RIGHTS

2000e-5 (3) “...Each United States district court

and each United States court of a place subject to

the jurisdiction of the United States shall have ju-

risdiction of actions brought under this subchap-

ter.”

2000e-16 (e) “Government agency or official not

relieved of responsibility to assure nondiscrimina-

tion in employment or equal employment opportu-

nity. Nothing contained 1n this Act shall relieve any

Government agency or official of its or his primary

responsibility to assure nondiscrimination in em-

ployment as required by the Constitution and stat-

utes or of its or his responsibilities under Executive

Order 11478 relating to equal employment opportu-

nity in the Federal Government...”

28 USC § 1343 Civil rights & elective franchise

(a) “The district courts shall have original jurisdic-

tion of any civil action authorized by law to be com-

menced by any person:

(1) To recover damages for injury to his person or

property, or because of the deprivation of any right

or privilege of a citizen of the United States, by any

act done 1n furtherance of any conspiracy mentioned

in section 1985 of Title 42;

(2) To recover damages from any person who fails to

prevent or to aid in preventing any wrongs men-

tioned in section 1985 of Title 42 which he had

knowledge were about to occur and power to pre-

vent;

(3) To redress the deprivation, under color of any

6

State law, statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or

usage, of any right, privilege or 1mmunity secured

by the Constitution of the United States or by any

Act of Congress providing for equal rights of citizens

or of all persons within the junsdiction of the

United States;

(4) To recover damages or to secure equitable or

other relief under any Act of Congress providing for

the protection of civil rights, including the right to

vote.”

42 USC § 1985 Conspiracy to interfere with

civil rights

(2) Obstructing justice; intimidating party, wit-

ness, or juror: "...1f two or more persons conspire

for the purpose of impeding, hindering, obstruct-

ing, or defeating, in any manner, the due course of

justice in any State or Territory, with intent to

deny to any citizen the equal protection of the

laws, or to injure him or his property for lawfully

enforcing, or attempting to enforce, the right of

any person, or class of persons, to the equal pro-

tection of the laws; or

(3) Depriving persons of rights or privileges in

any case of conspiracy set forth in this section, if

one or more persons engaged therein do, or cause

to be done, any act 1n furtherance of the object of

such conspiracy, whereby another ts injured 1n his

person or property, or deprived of having and ex-

ercising any right or privilege of a citizen of the

Umited States, the party so injured or deprived

may have an action for the recovery of damages

occasioned by such injury or deprivation, against

any one or more of the conspirators.

Fifth Amendment To The U.S. Constitution

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

7

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment

or indictment of a grand jury, except 1n cases aris-

ing in the land or naval forces, or in the militia,

when 1n actual service 1n time of war or public dan-

ger; nor shall any person be subject for the same of-

fense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor

shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a wit-

ness against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without

just compensation.

Sixth Amendment To The U.S. Constitution

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall en-

joy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an im-

partial jury of the state and district wherein the

crime shall have been committed, which district

shall have been previously ascertained by law, and

to be informed of the nature and cause of the accu-

sation; to be confronted with the witnesses against

him; to have compulsory process for obtaining wit-

nesses 1n his favor, and to have the assistance of

counsel for his defense.

29 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 1614

Federal Sector Equal Employment Opportunity

Subpart A—Agency Program to Promote Equal

Employment Opportunity

1614.101 General policy.

(a) “It is the policy of the Government of the United

States to provide equal opportunity in employment

for all persons, to prohibit discrimination in employ-

ment because of race, color, religion, sex, national

origin, age or handicap and to promote the full re-

alization of equal employment opportunity through

a continuing affirmative program in cach agency.

8

(b) No person shall be subject to retaliation for op-

posing any practice made unlawful by title VII of

the Civil Rights Act (title VII) (42 USC 2000e et

seq.), the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

(ADEA) (29 USC 621 et seq.), the Equal Pay Act (29

USC 206(d)) or the Rehabilitation Act (29 USC 791

et seq.) or for participating 1n any stage of admunis-

trative or judicial proceedings under those statutes.

Whistleblower Protection Act

"[A]jny disclosure of information" that a covered

employee "reasonably believes” evidences "a viola-

tion of any law, rule, or regulation" or evidences

"gross mismanagement, a gross waste of funds, an

abuse of authority,..." 1s protected on the condition

that the disclosure 1s not prohibited by law nor re-

quired to be kept secret... Moreover, "any disclo-

sure" made to the Special Counsel or to the Inspec-

tor General of an agency or another employee desig-

nated by the head of the agency to receive such dis-

closures, which the employee "reasonably believes"

evidences "a violation of any law, rule, or regula-

tion," or evidences "gross mismanagement, a gross

waste of funds, an abuse of authority, or a substan-

tial and specific danger to public health or safety" 1s

also protected (5USC §2302(b)(8)(B). Agency heads

are required to inform their employees of these pro-

tections (5USC §2302(c)).

The WPA expressly provides that "any disclosure

of information" 1s protected With enactment of the

WPA, Congress amended its statutory predecessor,

the CSRA (Civil Service Reform Act of 1978, P.L. 95

-454, 92 Stat. 1114). In so doing, it changed the

phrase "a disclosure" to "any disclosure," emphasiz-

ing the point that the courts, the OSC, and the

MSPB should not erect barriers to disclosures that

will limit the necessary flow of information from

9

employees with information of government wrong-

doing (S.Rept. 100-413 (1988) at 13). In the Com-

mittee Report accompanying the WPA legislation,

the Senate specifically criticized a 1986 decision by

the US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit,

Fiorello v. Department of Justice (795 F.2d 1544

(Fed. Cir. 1986))..."

18 U.S.C. § 1001, Fraud and False Statements

(a) ...whoever, in any matter within the jurisdiction

of the executive, legislative, or judicial branch of the

Government of the United States, knowingly and

willfully—

(1) falsifies, conceals, or covers up by any trick,

scheme, or device a material fact;

(2) makes any materially false, fictitious, or

fraudulent statement or representation; or

(2) makes or uses any false writing or document

knowing the same to contain any materially false,

fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry;

shall be fined under this title, imprisoned not more

than 5 years...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Facts Giving Rise To This Case

On 1/31/1996, during a pre-trial settlement ne-

gotiations hearing for a Civil Rights case in US Dis-

trict Court in Rapid City, SD, while Plaintiff was

suffering from depression and receiving FECA

benefits, Assistant USA Bonnie Ulrich admitted

that criminal issues involving USAF personnel

were strictly prosecutorial in nature and not a part

of the civil rights case; however, she then helped

draft and signed an agreement that dismissed these

actions when federal Magistrate Marshall Young

10

initiated a "global settlement" to terminate the

Civil Rights lawsuit rightfully before US District

Judge Richard Battey. This was done after Judge

Battey had bifurcated the most condemning civil

rights violations from the case before the Court.

Three. of the criminal issues involving USAF

personnel which Assistant USA Ulrich had dis-

cussed and which the Court was aware of were 1)

stolen identity under investigation by the USAF's

Office of Special Investigation (OSI); 2) a money-

laundering scheme between the USAF and Rock-

well which Plaintiff had reported to USAF person-

nel, who then threatened her life if she continued to

report it, and who then wrongfully accused her of a

federal crime (an "Anti-Deficiency Act" violation);

and 3) obscene telephone calls by a military mem-

ber to her home. The Anti-Deficiency Act violation

was annotated on her performance rating and the

rating downgraded. Then, unbeknownst to Plaintiff

at the time, her Civil Service job level was down-

graded from a GS-13 to a GS-12, and her FECA

benefits were paid at the lower GS-12 level the en-

tire time she was receiving these benefits, including

the day this agreement was made. None of this 1n-

formation was relayed to Plaintiff. Instead, they

covered up this information, and tried to protect

themselves with paragraphs in the agreement

which state:

1. "That the parties... agree to settle and com-

promise the above-entitled action [which was the

Civil Rights case before the Court] involving alle-

gations of employment discrimination, including

but not limited to sex, sexual harassment, age,

and reprisal, and any and all claims relevant to

the plaintiff's past and present employment with

the United States Air Force, upon the terms ind1-

11

cated herein." (Appendix, p. 55.)

2. "This... agreement does not constitute an ad-

mission of lability or fault of the defendant, or

any past, present or future employees, represen-

tatives, servants, agents, or any other persons

standing in any representative capacity, nor shall

this agreement or any provision hereof, be used

in conjunction with any judicial, administrative,

quasi-judicial, or any other form of proceeding,

for the purpose of attempting to establish any

such liability or fault " (Appendix, p. 55.)

5.b. "Plaintiff... will withdraw any and all vend-

ing grievances, complaints and/or appeals relat-

ing to her employment with the United States Air

Force, whether or not they are discrimination re-

lated, against the Umited States Aur

Force." (Appendix, p. 57)

This agreement was never tied to Plaintiff's recov-

ery from a compensable injury, which was not the

issue before the Court; however, the judges and at-

torneys also included the following statement in re-

gard to her FECA status and benefits:

3.b. "The United States Air Force agrees that it

will not officially act, or fail to act, for the pur-

pose of adversely affecting plaintiff ,ROGER-

SON'S Department of Labor, Office of Workers

Compensation Program (OWCP) benefits or

status.” (Appendix, p. 56.)

The above statements have caused major contro-

versy 1n this case. In essence, this Civil Rights set-

tlement agreement covered subject matter/issues

which were not within the subject matter jurisdic-

tion of this Court. The matter before the Court was

strictly a Title VII Civil Rights case (see original

complaint, Appendix, pp. 60, 65.) Further, it does

12

not conform to the Civil Rights statute 29 CFR 1614

for federal employees or Supreme Court decisions in

regard to Title VII agreements (see Supreme Court's

holding in Abermarle Paper Co. v. Moody.)

The above agreements were also made under the

auspices that Plaintiff never return to her job at

Ellsworth AFB, SD or any other United States Air

Force (USAF) position "in exchange" that the USAF

would never "act or fail to act" in regard to her

FECA "status and benefits." Also, the US Attorney's

Office threatened Plaintiff with monetary sanctions

and injunctive relief should she even talk to the

USAF about re-employment. Plaintiff depended

upon the federal government to "act" in regard to

her FECA benefits, which they now admit they

have no control over, and as a result of this Civil

Rights settlement agreement has been denied a fed-

eral job, has been denied her retirement, and her

medical insurance was retroactively cancelled; and,

she remains wrongfully accused of a crime - an Anti

-Deficiency Act violation as annotated on her per-

sonnel records. She is now 65 years of age.

The District Court Proceedings

Petitioner filed a complaint in US District Court,

pro se, asking for a change of venue, expedition of

complaint, temporary relief, and that the case be

handled in accordance with 18 USC, Part II Crimi-

nal Procedure, Chapter 237, Section 3771 Crime

Victim's Rights because the Title VII agreement

dismissed the criminal activity surrounding the

USAF's wrongful accusation of Plaintiff of an Anti-

Deficiency Act violation, and which she remains

wrongfully accused of to this very day, and her life

was threatened by the USAF should she report it

further.

13

The case was first given to US District Court

Judge Karen Schrier, who recused herself. She was

the US Attorney (USA) who signed/approved the

agreement. Chief District Court Judge Lawrence

Piersol then ORDERED this case be given to Judge

Andrew Bogue, who was 90 years old and in dete-

riorating health. He never issued any ORDERS, or

made any DECISIONS himself, on this case. He

made no responses to Plaintiff's letters.

The United States (Defendant) did not respond

to the Summons and Complaint within 60 days in

accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(a)(3). Instead,

the US Attorney's office issued a document to Plain-

tiff for a different case; the service of process was not

made pursuant to statute; and they abused the elec-

tronic filing system by filing a response to the cor-

rect case with the Court.

Plaintiff wrote a letter to Judge Bogue asking

about default judgment. There was no response.

Plaintiff responded to motions by Defendant. There

was no action on the case after three months. It was

later learned from his obituary and news articles in

the Rapid City Journal that Judge Bogue quit prac-

ticing as a US District Court Judge in January

2009. No decisions were made in regard to the mo-

tions for a change of venue, expedition of complaint,

or temporary relief until 4/22/2009, when Judge

Bogue was incapacitated. The unsigned order de-

nied all Plaintiff's motions for change of venue, ex-

pedition of complaint, and temporary relief.

On 5/13/2009, someone other than Judge An-

drew Bogue entered an ORDER GRANTING MO-

TION TO DISMISS, typing Judge Bogue's name on

the dismissal document (Appendix, p. 45). This OR-

DER states:

14

"As the Court concludes as a matter of law that

the terms of the Settlement are clear and unam-

biguous, the Court chooses to enforce the agree-

ment. Accordingly, it dismisses Plaintiff's claims

which relate to the conduct of the Air Force and

its employees prior to January 31, 1996, as

barred by the Settlement signed by Plain-

tiff." (Appendix, p. 53.)

"...the Court has found that the Settlement re-

quires no affirmative conduct from Defendant to

protect Plaintiff's benefits, no breach can result

from their failure to so act. Additionally, Plaintiff

states no claim when she contends that staff of

the US Attorney's Office have informed her that

her continued attempts to gain reemployment

with the Air Force are prohibited by the Settle-

ment, as their conduct in doing so 1s 1n accor-

dance with the unambiguous terms of the Settle-

ment." (Appendix, p. 54.)

"..the Court dismisses with prejudice Plaintiff's

claims with regard to the validity of the settle-

ment and allegations of Defendant's breach of the

settlement." (Appendix, p. 54.)

The Appellate Court Proceedings

Petitioner filed a Notice of Appeal with the US

District Court on 6/15/2009. The opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit, filed on 8/31/2009 is reported as Kay L.

Rogerson v. United States of America, 09-2506

(Appendix, p. 35.)

On 8/12/2009, two months after The Honor-

able Judge Bogue died, the US Attorney’s Office

issued a motion: UNITED STATES’ MOTION

FOR SUSPENSION OF BRIEFING SCHEDULE

OR TO EXTEND BRIEFING DEADLINE AND

15

FOR AFFIRMANCE PURSUANT TO 8th CIR-

CUIT RULE 47B. The USAO based their argu-

ment on (4) no error of law appears. (Appendix,

p. 36.)

The case was dismissed upon the “motion of

appellee for dismissal" using Eighth Circuit

Rule 47A(b): "The appellee may file a motion to

dismiss a docketed appeal on the ground the ap-

peal is not within the court's jurisdiction.” How-

ever, the U.S. Attorney's Motion to dismiss

dated 8/12/2009 used Rule 47B(4) “no error of

law appears.” (The case was still assigned to

Judge Bogue, who was deceased.)

Petitioner/Plaintiff filed a Petition for Panel

Rehearing on 9/18/2009 with the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. The motion de-

nying rehearing by the panel, filed by appel-

lant, was dated October 22, 2009 and can be

found under Kay L. Rogerson v. United States

of America, No: 09-2506 (Appendix, p. 33.)

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE

GRANTED

The law is well-settled that a void order or judg-

ment is void even before reversal. Vallely v. Northern

Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 254 U.S. 348, 41 S.Ct. 116

(1920) "Courts are constituted by authority and they

cannot go beyond that power delegated to them. If

they act beyond that authority, and certainly in con-

travention of it, their judgments and orders are re-

garded as nullities. They are not voidable, but simply

VOID, and this even prior to reversal”; Old Wayne

Mut. I. Assoc. v. McDonough, 204 U.S. 8, 27 S.Ct. 236

(1907); Wilhamson v. Berry, 8 How. 495, 540, 12

L.Ed.1170, 1189 (1850); Rose v. Himely,4 Cranch 241,

269, 2 L.Ed. 608, 617 (1808).

16

It is also clear and well established law that a void

order can be challenged in any court at any time. Peo-

ple v. Wade, 116 I[ll.2d 1, 506 N.E.2d 954 (1987) "A

void judgment may be attacked at any time, either

directly or collaterally;" Old Wayne Mut. L. Assoc. v.

McDonough, 204 U.S. 8, 27 S.Ct. 236 (1907)

"jurisdiction of any court exercising authority over a

subject “mey be inquired into in every other court

when the proceedings in the former are relied upon

and brought before the latter by a party claiming the

benefit of such proceedings,' and the rule prevails

whether ‘the decree or judgment has been given, in a

court of admiralty, chancery, ecclesiastical court, or

court of common law, or whether the point ruled has

arisen under the laws of navions, the practice in chan-

cery, or the municipal laws of states."

The Defendant was prejudiced in their dismissal

of the validity and breach of this agreement as they

are the same offices that drafted, signed, and ap-

proved of this agreement, dismissing federal crimes

under investigation by federal agencies, and forever

dismissing Plaintiffs rghts to due process of law in

accordance with the Fifth Amendment to the Const1-

tution to clear her name of a wrongful felony accusa-

tion of an Anti-Deficiency Act violation by the USAF.

The record clearly shows that instead of responding

to the fact that the agreement was written outside

the subject-matter jurisdiction of the Court, the De-

fendant tries to defend their unlawful actions by stat-

ing the agreement is unambiguous and therefore, it 1s

valid.

This case began as a complex civil rights case

against the United States Air Force and has evolved

into a case about the validity of the resulting agree-

ment. It includes judges that have acted outside their

jurisdictional authority by dismissing criminal activ-

17

ity by federal agencies/personnel through a civil

rights settlement agreement, and judicial disability,

by ordering this case be given to a 90 year old judge

whose health deteriorated to the point that he was

incapacitated when the Court issued dismissal orders

in his name, was deceased at the time the U.S. Attor-

neys responded to the appeal of this case, and the

Court never appointed a judge to replace him in ac-

cordance with Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Petitioner will show that this case has so far de-

parted from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings, and that the US Court of Appeals has

sanctioned such a departure by a lower court, that

Petitioner pleads that the Supreme Court will exer-

cise it’s supervisory power over the lower courts.

I. Review is Warranted Because The Courts of

Federal Appeals have Territorial and Subject

Matter Jurisdiction to oversee the U.S. Dis-

trict Court per the U.S. Constitution, Article

III (1783) and 28 USC § 1291, and this should

not exclude the Validity of Agreements Made

Under Federal Civil Rights Statutes at the

District Court Level.

The courts of appeals have jurisdiction of appeals

from all final decisions of the district courts per the

United States Constitution, Article III (1783) and 28

USC § 1291. Civil mghts laws and 29 CFR 1614 gave

US District Courts exclusive jurisdiction to hear civil

rights claims. Because the US District Court has the

authority to issue a Decision in this case, then the US

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit should also

have jurisdiction to hear this case. If they have no ju-

risdiction in regard to District Court decisions of Civil

Rights matters, then the Civil Rights Statute denies

a previous federal employee her mght to due process

of law to appeal a final decision by a US District

18

Court in accordance with the Fifth Amendment To

The U.S. Constitution

The question becomes, “Where does a previous

federal employee go to for help in resolving the valid-

ity of a Title VII Civil Rights settlement agreement

drafted and signed at the US District Court level

which includes subject matter which was not within

the jurisdiction of the Court, nor was it ripe for any

Court action?” After exhausting all other avenues, a

complaint was filed in US District Court.

On 5/13/2009, the US District Court concluded:

"As the Court concludes as a matter of law that the

terms of the Settlement are clear and unambiguous,

the Court chooses to enforce the agreement.” There

is absolutely no way the Court can enforce this

agreement because neither the Court, nor the US

Air Force, nor the US Attorney’s Office have subject

matter jurisdiction to dismiss federal crimes which

were not properly before the Court, nor do they

have jurisdiction over the Federal Employees Com-

pensation Act, all of which became an unlawful part

of a Civil Rights settlement agreement. The subject

matter correctly before the Court was strictly a

Civil Rights case brought about in accordance with

29 CFR 1614, per order of the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission (EEOC). The District

Court’s actions are in total disagreement with cases

in other federal circuits and with previous Supreme

Court rulings:

Subject-matter jurisdiction 1s the authority of the

court to hear and make a determination in a court

action. In Interest of M.V., 288 Ill. App.3d 300, 681

N.E.2d 532 (1st Dist. 1997). Without subject-matter

jurisdiction, all of the orders and judgments issued by

a judge are void under law, and are of no legal force

4

.

‘

19

or effect. And, "Every act of the court beyond that

power is void".

In Interest of M.V., 288 Ill.App.3d 300, 681 N.E.2d

532 (1st Dist. 1997) "Where a court's power to act 1s

controlled by statute, the court 1s governed by the

rules of limited jurisdiction, and courts exercising ju-

risdiction over such matters must proceed within the

strictures of the statute." Also, in Vulcan Materials

Co. v. Bee Const. Co., Inc., 101 Ill. App.3d 30, 40, 427

N.E.2d 797 (1st Dist. 1981) "Though a court be one of

general jurisdiction, when its power to act on a par-

ticular matter 1s controlled by statute, the court is

governed by the rules of limited jurisdiction." In the

instant case, the US District Court has exclusive ju-

risdiction in all Civil Rights matters per the Civil

Rights Act of 1964 and 29 CFR 1614 (see also McCul-

lough v United States, 76 Fed. Cl. at 5; Hanes v

United States, 44 Fed. Cl. 441, 449 (1999): Blassin-

game v United States, 33 Fed. Cl. 504, 505 affd, 73

F.3d 349 (Fed. Cir. 1995), 517 U.S. 1237 (1996); Lee

v. United States, 33 Fed. Cl 374, 379, 1995.)

"A judgment or order issued without subject mat-

ter jurisdiction 1s void, and that defect may be raised

at any tume and may not be waived." Editorial Photo-

color Archives v Granger Collection, 61 NY2d 517,

523. Therefore, a judgment from a court that did not

have subject-matter jurisdiction is forever a nullity.

Brown v_ VanKeuren 340 Ill. 118 122 (1930),

"Whatever the rank of the court exercising a special

statutory jurisdiction, 1t 1s governed by the same

rules as courts of limited jurisdiction."; Midland Coal

Co. v. Knox County, 268 Ill.App.3d 485, 644 N.E.2d

796 (4th Dist. 1994) "Special statutory jurisdiction is

lamited to the language of the act conferring it, and

the court has no powers from any other source... [T]he

authority of the court to make any order must be

20

found in the statute.” Levy v. Industrial Comm'n

(1931), 346 Ill. 49, 51, 178 N.E. 370, 371." In the in-

stant case, the authority for the Civil Rights settle-

ment agreement 1s found under The Civil Rights Act

of 1964, 29 CFR 1614, and 42 USC § 1985 Conspiracy

to interfere with civil rights. There is absolutely no

authority for the Court to include these other issues

in a Civil Rights settlement.

Johnson v. Theis, 282 [ll.App.3d 966, 669 N.E.2d

590 (2nd Dist. 1996) "A court in the exercise of special

statutory jurisdiction is limited in its power by the

language of the act conferring such jurisdiction." In

the instant case, the Court was lmited by the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 29 CFR 1614, and 42 USC

§ 1985 .

The criminal proceedings interlaced with this

agreement should be reported to the FBI and these

matters should be prosecuted by that federal agency;

however, the validity and breach of the agreement 1s

still a civil matter that was rightfully before the

Court, giving the US Court of Appeals for the 8th Cir-

cuit subject matter and territorial jurisdiction regard-

ing the validity of the agreement, unless, of course,

they recognized it as a “void” contract without so

specifying.

Because a void order has no legal force or effect

there can be no time limit within which to challenge

the order or judgment. Further, since the order has

no legal force or effect, 1t can be repeatedly chal-

lenged, since no judge has the lawful authority to

make a void order valid. Bates v. Board of Education,

Allendale Community Consolidated School District

No. 17, 136 Ill.2d 260, 267 (1990) - a court "cannot

confer jurisdiction where none existed and cannot

make a void proceeding valid."; People ex rel. Gowdy

v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co., 385 Ill. 86, 92, 52

21

N.E.2d 255 (1943). The US Court of Appeals for the

8th Circuit has a Constitutional obligation to review

the decision of the lower court.

II. Review of the Validity of a Civil Rights Settle-

ment Agreement Is Warranted Because Of The

National Importance In Determining Whether

The Civil Rights Act Can be Used by the Fed-

eral Government as an Unconventional Means

to Dismiss Federal Crimes within their Own

Doors

Federal judges, federal magistrates, and United

States attorneys take oaths of office and make code of

ethics promises to uphold the Constitution and laws

of the land. They have a judicial obligation to further

expose alleged criminal activity by federal employees

and federal agencies when it is reported to them. This

case 1s about a Title VII civil mghts settlement which

the Court and US Attorneys interlaced with criminal

issues which were under investigation by federal of-

fices, and which were divulged to the Court and US

Attorney’s Office during the course of a Civil Rights

trial. Instead of exclusively settling the Civil Rights

case before them in accordance with the Civil Rights

Act, 29 CFR 1614, and previous Supreme Court hold-

ings, a settlement agreement was drafted and signed

which included a dismissal of “any and all claims

relevant to the plaintiff's past and present employ-

ment with the United States Air Force”, and de-

manded “Plaintiff... will withdraw any and all

pending grievances, complaints and/or appeals re-

lating to her employment” with the United States

Air Force, “...whether or not they are discrimination

related...” The USAF failed to turn these criminal 1n-

vestigations over to the Federal Bureau of Investiga-

tion (FBI), and terminated the investigations and

processing through a conspiracy with the US District

22

Court and US Attorney’s office in Rapid City, SD us-

ing a Title VII Civil Rights settlement agreement—a

violation of 42 US Code § 1985. Conspiracy to inter-

fere with civil rights, the WPA, and other criminal

statutes.

The same US District Court that drafted the Civil

Rights agreement, is now stating that this same

criminal activity cannot be adjudicated because a

"private person" cannot bring criminal actions

against the federal government into US Dhistrict

Court - a complete reversal of the fact that it was the

Court and United States attorneys who included the

dismissal of these crimes with the settlement agree-

ment. A Court of Law cannot have it both ways, and

Plaintiff has a Constitutional right to due process of

law. If they have no jurisdiction to adjudicate these

criminal actions, then they are admitting the agree-

ment 1s not valid. It 1s “void” because they lacked sub-

ject-matter jurisdiction to dismiss criminal issues un-

der federal investigation with a Title VII agreement

Plaintiff 1s due relief in accordance with several regu-

lations in regard to these issues, including 18 U.S.C.

Part 1, Chapter 47 § 1031; 5 U.S.C. § 8151; the Civil

Rights Act and 29 CFR 1614; and the Whistleblower

Protection Act, among others; and the Title VII civil

rights settlement agreement is unlawfully prohibiting

her from her Constitutional rights to due process of

law, employment or re-employment with the federal

government, and her retirement. Because the agree-

ment dismissed federal crimes, there is also the ques-

tion of whether the agreement itself becomes a viola-

tion of 18 U.S.C. § 1001, Fraud and False Statements.

It appears that the US District Court and US At-

torney’s Office personnel that drafted, signed, and ap-

proved of this Title VII agreement are prejudiced and

will not make a non-biased ruling 1n regard to the va-

23

lidity of same. They have dismissed all aspects of this

case to protect themselves and members of the jud1-

cial system who were directly involved with drafting,

signing, and approving of this agreement. Petitioner/

plaintiff has been wrongfully accused of a federal

crime in retaliation for reporting federal crimes, and

it is time the federal government deals with these

matters in accordance with the law instead of con-

tinuing to cover them up with a Civil Rights agree-

ment long overdue to be deemed invalid and VOID.

The judge has a duty to continually inspect the

record of the case. Should a judge act in any case in

which he does not have subject-matter jurisdiction,

he is acting unlawfully, U.S. v. Will, 449 U.S. 200,

216, 101 S.Ct. 471, 66 L.Ed.2d 392, 406 (1980);

Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat) 264, 404, 5

L.Ed 257 (1821), and without any judicial authority.

In the original case Judge Richard Battey and Magis-

trate Marshall Young acted unlawfully by including

subject matter that was not within their jurisdiction

according to Civil Rights statutes. This is also a viola-

tion of 42 US Code § 1985. Conspiracy to interfere

with civil mnghts.

The same US District Court that wrote the origi-

nal agreement has once again deemed it to be “valid”;

thereby, contributing to, and approving of, the fraud

and unlawful actions of the previous District Judge

and Federal Magistrate who drafted and approved of

the unlawful agreement to begin with. This is an ad-

ditional violation of 18 J.S.C. § 1001, Fraud and

False Statements.

In a court of limited jurisdiction, which 1s the case

when the US District Court adjudicates a civil mghts

complaint, whenever a party denies that the court

has subject-matter jurisdiction, 1t becomes the duty

24

and the burden of the party claiming that the court

has subject-matter jurisdiction (in this case the Court

itself) to provide evidence from the record of the case

that the court holds subject-matter jurisdiction Bin-

dell _v. City of Harvey, 212 [ll App.3d 1042, 571

N.E.2d 1017 (1st Dist. 1991) "the burden of proving

jurisdiction rests upon the party asserting 1t." In the

present case, the Court wrongfully portrayed it had

subject-matter jurisdiction by including other matters

besides the civil rights issues directly before the

Court into a Title VII civil mghts settlement agree-

ment, and the record will show that neither the Court

nor the US Attorney’s Office proved differently. In

fact, they now agree they had no subject matter ju-

risdiction; however, they are still maintaining the

agreement is “valid” because it 1s unambiguous. A

judge should not proceed in any action in which he/

she does not have subject-matter jurisdiction, since

he/she has no lawful authority to act.

A court must proceed exactly according to the law

or statute under which it operates. Flake v. Pretzel,

381 Ill. 498, 46 N.E.2d 375 (1943). In State Bank of

Lake Zurich v. Thill, 113 [11.2d 294, 497 N.E.2d 1156

(1986), the Supreme Court has ruled that "Because a

court does not acquire jurisdiction by a mere recital

contrary to what is shown in the record", the record of

the case 1s the determining factor as to whether a

court has jurisdiction. The US District Court has ex-

clusive jurisdiction for all civil rights issues in accor-

dance with the Civil Rights Act and 29 CFR 1614 and

case history as previously cited. It does not have ju-

risdiction to include dismissal of criminal acts by fed-

eral agencies, nor to make promises 1n regard to the

FECA, in conjunction with a Title VII civil mghts

agreement.

25

If the US District Court and the Appeals Court for

the Eighth Circuit continue to uphold the validity of a

Title VII Civil Rights settlement agreement that

unlawfully dismisses federal crimes and makes false

promises in regard to the FECA, all of which are not

within the jurisdiction of the Civil Rights Act or 29

CFR 1614, then the integrity of the judicial system

and the US Constitution are at stake.

III. Review is Warranted Because of the Impor-

tance In Determining Whether the U.S. Attor-

ney’s Office can Make Decisions to Dismiss a

Complaint when the District Court Judge Be-

comes Incapacitated and/or After He Is De-

ceased, and When the Court Has Not Ap-

pointed a New Judge to Take His Place

Motions made by the US Attorney’s Office to the

US Appeals Court, were made two months after

Judge Bogue was deceased, and the District Court

had not appointed another judge to replace him. The

US Attorney’s O* ice used Eighth Circuit Rule 47B in

their motion to dismiss, stating that “no error of law

appears.” This agency helped draft, and signed, the

unlawful agreement. They were prejudiced and bi-

ased and tried to protect themselves. As previously

stated, a court must proceed exactly according to the

law or statute under which it operates. Flake v. Pret-

zel, 381 Ill. 498, 46 N E.2d 375 (1943). Neither the

Civil Rights Act or federal rules of court procedure

allow the US Attorney's Office to take over a civil

rights case once a judge is incapacitated or deceased.

In this instance, the US Attorney is a “trespasser of

the law” because those who advise and act with [a

judge who has no subject-matter jurisdiction], or exe-

cute his process, are trespassers", Von Kettler et.al. v.

Johnson, 57 Ill. 109 (1870).

26

Again, this entire case has so far departed from

the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings

that Petitioner pleads that the Supreme Court will

exercise it’s supervisory power over the lower courts.

This also appears to be a violation of due process,

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019 (1938);

Pure Oil Co. v. City of Northlake, 10 Ill.2d 241, 245,

140 N.E.2d 289 (1956); Hallberg v. Goldblatt Bros.,

363 Ill. 25 (1936).

IV. Review Is Warranted Because the Title VII

Civil Rights settlement agreement Conflicts

With The Supreme Court’s Holding in Aber-

marle Paper Co. v. Moody

The Supreme Court has provided guidance as to

the nature and scope of remedies available under T1-

tle VII. In Abermarle Paper Co. v Moody, 422 U.S.

405 (1975) under Title VII, the Court held that the

purpose of Title VII 1s to make victims of discrimina-

tion whole, and have also held that the scope of relief

available to federal employees under Title VII 1s gov-

erned by the provisions of 42 U.S.C. Sections 2000c-

16 and 2000e-5(f) through (k). In Brown v. GSA, 425

U.S. 820 (1976), referring to 42 U.S.C. Sections

2000e-16 and 2000e-5(f) through (k); and Brown,

425 U.S. at 828-829, referring to 118 Cong. Rec.

4942 (1972), the Court examined the legislative his-

tory and language of Section 717 of Title VII

(42U S.C. Section 2000e-16), and found that Congress

had intended it to create an exclusive, pre-emptive

administrative and judicial scheme for the redress of

federal employment discrimination. Further, EEOC

regulations specifically provide that a victim of dis-

crimination shall be extended an unconditional offer

of placement in the position that the person would

have occupied but for the discrimination (See e.q. Li-

brary of Congress v. Shaw, 106 S. Ct. 2957 (1986).)

27

The District Court has ignored the Supreme Court’s

ruling and has destroyed the integrity of the United

States government by failing to set the highest stan-

dards for Civil Rights and non-discriminatory em-

ployment practices.

V. Review Is Warranted Because Of the Prece-

dence That Could Be Set In Regard to the

Abuse of a US District Court’s Electronic Fil-

ing System

ALL of the dismissal orders from The Honorable

Andrew Bogue were made while the judge was inca-

pacitated and someone other than the judge submitted

the documents by using the US District Court’s Elec-

tronic Filing System, typing his name on the docu-

ments. The Court could not prove that these documents

were, in fact, the judge’s orders because the judge did

not sign any certificate in accordance with Rule 25A of

the 8th Circuit Rules for Electronic Filing. Further,

the judge was incapacitated, and neither the Court

nor the US Attorney’s office notified the plaintiff, and

no one processed the paperwork in accordance with

Fed R. Civ. P. 63 - Judge's Inability to Proceed. Also,

the US Attorney’s office provided the US District

Court with a different document than they provided

the plaintiff in answer to the Summons and

Complaint. They used the electronic filing system to

provide their response to the Court, and this differed

from the response to Petitioner/Plaintiff. The judge

was incapacitated, and the US Attorney would not

admit to his own errors of improperly responding to

the complaint. His service of process was not made

pursuant to statute. The US Attorney was given a

free ride by the Court to destroy the career of the

Plaintiff while protecting themselves and the judicial

officers of yudicial wrongdoing.

28

CONCLUSION

A few of the main elements in which the US Dis-

trict Court was without subject-matter jurisdiction in

regard to the Title VII civil rights settlement agree-

ment, and in the instant complaint questioning the

validity of the agreement, making the document void

are: (1) a judge/federal magistrate does not follow

statutory procedure, Armstrong v. Obucino, 300 III.

140, 143 (1921); (2) unlawful activity of a judge/

federal magistrate, Code of Judicial Conduct; (3) vio-

lation of due process, Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458,

58 S.Ct. 1019 (1938); Pure Oil Co. v. City of North-

lake, 10 Ill.2d 241, 245, 140 N.E.2d 289 (1956), Hall-

berg v. Goldblatt Bros., 363 Ill. 25 (1936); (4) the

court exceeded its statutory authority, Rosenstiel v.

Rosenstiel, 278 F. Supp. 794 (S.D.N.Y. 1967); (5)

where a response to a summons and complaint was

not properly issued by the Defendant; (6) where ser-

vice of process was not made pursuant to statute, Ja-

nove v. Bacon, 6 II].2d 245, 249, 128 N.E.2d 706, 708

(1955); (7) where the judge does not act impartially,

Bracey v. Warden, U.S. Supreme Court No. 96-6133

(June 9, 1997); and/or (8) where an order/judgment is

based on a void order/judgment, Austin v. Smith, 312

F.2d 337, 343 (1962); English v. English, 72

Ill. App.3d 736, 393 N.E 2d 18 (1st Dist. 1979).

Because of the many elements of law that were

not comphed with, the judge is without subject-

matter jurisdiction and his/her orders and judgments

are void and of no legal force or effect. Should the

judge not have subject-matter jurisdiction, then the

law states that the judge has not only violated the

law, but is also a trespasser of the law. Von Kettler

et.al. v. Johnson, 57 Ill. 109 (1870) "if the magistrate

has not such jurisdiction, then he and those who ad-

vise and act with him, or execute his process, are

29

trespassers."; Elhott v. Peirsol, 1 Pet. 328, 340, 26

U.S. 328, 340 (1828) "without authority, its judg-

ments and orders are regarded as nullities. They are

not voidable, but simply void; and form no bar to a

recovery sought, even prior to a reversal in opposition

to them. They constitute no justification; and all per-

sons concerned in executing such judgments or sen-

tences, are considered, in law, as trespassers. This

distinction runs through all the cases on the subject;

and it proves, that the jurisdiction of any court exer-

cising authority over a subject, may be inquired into

in every court, when the proceedings of the former

are relied on and brought before the latter, by the

party claiming the benefit of such proceedings."; In re

TIP-PA-HANS Enterprises, Inc., 27 B.R. 780, 783

(1983) a judge “lacks jurisdiction in a particular case

until it has been demonstrated that jurisdiction over

the subject matter exists", when a judge acts "outside

the limuts of his jurisdiction, he becomes a tres-

passer ... ". "... courts have held that where courts of

special or limuted jurisdiction exceed their mghtful

powers, the whole proceeding 1s coram non judice ... "

If a judge acts without subject-matter jurisdiction,

the judge 1s acting unlawfully, he/she has committed

an unlawful interference with one's person, property,

or rights. And all orders and judgments issued by a

judge who acts without subject-matter jurisdiction

are, as a matter of law, void.

The short and basic questions are: how far can the

federal government, including the federal judicial

system, go to deny a federal employee, or a previous

federal employee, their Constitutional rights to due

process of law in regard to Civil Rights violations and

criminal wrongs; how far can they be allowed to go to

deny an injured federal employee re-employment;

how many federal officials does 1t take for the federal

30

government to admit to a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 241

Conspiracy against rights; and how destitute does a

previous federal employee have to become before

someone in the federal government or judicial system

has the integrity to act in accordance with the law to

undo the previous wrongs”?

Plaintiff has been directly and proximately

harmed as the result of government officials commuit-

ting numerous Federal offenses throughout the entire

time she was employed at Ellsworth AFB and while

she was receiving FECA benefits. She is the victim of

major crime. The Agreement, signed by Plaintiff un-

der duress, deceit, and coercion while she was receiv-

ing FECA benefits for depression brought upon by the

very issues covered up by the Agreement, clearly gave

the federal government an illegal open book to con-

tinue to harass, threaten, and bully Plaintiff with to-

tal disregard of criminal laws or Civil Rights laws.

Federal officials acted unlawfully in drafting this

agreement while imposing additional harm to Plain-

tiff, failing to protect her in accordance with the

Whistleblowers Protection Act, the Constitution, and

other laws of the land, completely destroying her

right to a career and happiness in life. Petitioner/

plaintiff is caught in a merry-go-round of time lhmits,

prohibited personnel practices, unlawful agreements,

and corroboration of unlawful procedures between

federal agencies and federal Courts. Her case was

ORDERED to be handled by a dying, and now de-

ceased, federal judge, who the US Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit deemed “able” to do his job, dis-

missing petitioner's Judicial! Disability complaint that

the judge was both mentally and physically disabled

while he was at home dying. Someone else in the

Court was signing his name to dismissal documents

using the electronic filing system. And, the US Court

31

of Appeals got around making any decisions by sim-

ply dismissing the case for some unknown

“Jurisdictional” reason.

This entire case has so far departed from the ac-

cepted and usual course of judicial proceedings that

Petitioner pleads that the Supreme Court will exer-

cise it’s supervisory power over the lower courts. The

federal government and our courts should be leading

the way in upholding the Constitution and laws of

our land.

Based on the foregoing, pro se Petitioner Kay L.

Rogerson respectfully submits that this Petition for

Writ of Certiorari should be granted. The Court

may wish to consider reversal of the decision of

the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals to deny an ap-

peal of the validity of a Title VII Civil Rights settle-

ment agreement drafted, signed and approved of by

a lower court of law within their circuit and which

includes issues/elements outside the jurisdiction of

the judges of that court; or it may wish to order the

settlement agreement “void”, and remand this case

back to the US District Court to expedite the proc-

essing of the Civil Rights issues in this case in a

lawful manner.

Dated: __)4 Wday of December 2009.

Respectfully submitted,

Kay L Foneraen

Kay L. Rogerson,

pro se Petitioner of Record

615 Westwind Dr.

Rapid City, SD 57702-2067

Phone: (605) 343-3262

Cell phone: (605) 484-3920

APPENDIX

33

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No: 09-2506

Kay L. Rogerson,

Appellant

We

United States of America,

Appellee

Appeal from U-S. District Court

for the District of South Dakota

(5:08-cv-05060-AWB)

ORDER

The petition for rehearing by the panel filed by appel-

lant is denied.

October 22, 2009

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

/s/ Michael E. Gans

Note: The Appeals Court did not list the names of the judges

who denied this Petition for Panel Rehearing.

34

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No: 09-2506

Kay L. Rogerson,

Appellant

v.

United States of America,

Appellee

Appeal from U.S. District Court

for the District of South Dakota

(5:08-cv-05060-AWB)

MANDATE

In accordance with the judgment of 08/31/2009, and

pursuant to the provisions of Federal Rule of Appel-

late Procedure 41(a), the formal mandate is hereby

issued 1n the above-styled matter..

October 29, 2009

(unsigned)

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

35

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No: 09-2506

Kay L. Rogerson,

Plaintiff—Appellant

v.

United States of America,

Defendant—Appellee

Appeal from U.S. District Court

for the District of South Dakota

(5:08-cv-05060-AWB)

JUDGMENT

The motion of appellee for dismissal of this appeal

is granted. The appeal is hereby dismissed. See

Eighth Circuit Rule 47A(b)

Appellee’s motion for suspension of briefing sched-

ule or to extend briefing deadline 1s denied.

August 31, 2009

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

/s/ Michael E. Gans

Note: The Appeals Court did not list the names of the judges

who demied this Appeal

36

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Kay L. Rogerson, No: 09-2506

Plaintiff-Appellant

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant-Appellee

UNITED STATES’ MOTION FOR SUSPENSION

OF BRIEFING SCHEDULE OR TO EXTEND

BRIEFING DEADLINE AND FOR AFFIR-

MANCE PURSUANT TO EIGHTH CIRCUIT

RULE 47B

Appeal from the U.S. District Court for the District of

South Dakota, Western Division

The Honorable Andrew W. Bogue

United States District Judge*

This matter is before the Court upon the motion of

the United States to summarily affirm the District

Court’s Order granting Defendant’s Motion to Dis-

miss entered May 13, 2009. This motion is based

upon Eighth Circuit Rule 47B and the reasons set

forth in the following legal argument. The United

States also seeks the suspension of the current brief-

ing schedule pending the determination of this mo-

tion. Currently, the United States’ bnef is due Au-

gust 19, 2009. If this Court is not inclined to suspend

the schedule indefinitely, the Government, alterna-

tively, requests that it extend the briefing deadline by

* Note: The Honorable Andrew W. Bogue had been deceased for

over two months when the US Attorney’s office made this Mo-

tion on his behalf.

37

thirty (30) days in order to allow the disposition of

the motion for summary affirmance.

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner Kay Rogerson (“Rogerson”) 1s appealing

the District Court’s Order granting Defendant’s Mo-

tion to Dismiss her Complaint. See Addendum 1

(5/13/09 Order). Rogerson’s appeal should be summa-

rily dismissed because all of the issues presented in

this appeal have been previously litigated and dis-

posed of in several oth>: actions brought by Rogerson.

Each time Rogerson filed a Complaint against the

United States, she has alleged the same issues which

are before this Court. Each lawsuit has either been

dismissed by Rogerson or disposed of by the District

Court after a finding that Rogerson’s pro se Com-

plaints are without merit.

Rogerson initially filed a Complaint against the

United States Air Force on March 13, 1992 alleging

sexual discrimination, sexual harassment, and re-

taliation. Rogerson dismissed her Complaint pursu-

ant to the Stipulation for Compromise Settlement

filed February 8, 1996 (“Settlement Agreement”).

Rogerson received $360,000 as consideration for the

dismissal of her Complaint.

On April 3, 2000, Rogerson brought another action

against the United States Aur Force alleging the very

same issues raised in her current Complaint. Roger-

son alleged that her federal worker’s compensation

benefits were illegally terminated and challenged the

validity of the Settlement Agreement. She alleged

that she was coerced and intimidated into signing the

Settlement Agreement. In addition, Rogerson claimed

the Settlement Agreement was void because it

stripped her of her Constitutional rights, violated the

Privacy Act, and denied her due process. Finally, just

as she does 1n the present action, Rogerson claimed in

38

her prior action that the United States deprived her

the right to receive unemployment benefits, the right

to employment by the United States Aur Fore, the

right to priority placement once her worker’s compen-

sation benefits were terminated, her right to be em-

ployed in any position with the United States Aur

Force, her Vocational Rehabilitation rights, and

many other claimed rights too numerous to mention.

On November 15, 2000, Rogerson stipulated to the

dismissal of her April 3, 2000 action on the merits

with prejudice. On November 21, 2000, the District

Court entered its Order dismissing the April 3, 2000

action pursuant to the Stipulation and with preju-

dice.

Rogerson filed the action that is the subject of the

current appeal in District Court on July 23, 2009

[sic]. In her Complaint, Rogerson alleges various vio-

lations of numerous federal criminal statutes, RICO

allegations, allegations regarding her loss of health

insurance, allegations that the Settlement Agreement

is unenforceable, allegations that the United States

breached the terms of the Settlement Agreement, and

complaints of the Merit System Protection Board’s

findings regarding her re-employment and restora-

tion rights. The United States moved to dismiss

Rogerson’s Complaint on the ground that the Com-

plaint failed to state a claim for which relief could be

granted. The District Court granted the United

States’ motion and, subsequently, Rogerson filed this

appeal.

ARGUMENT

Eighth Circuit Rule 47B allows this Court to sum-

marily affirm the District Court “where a comprehen-

sive opinion from this court would add nothing of sub-

stance to the reasoning set forth by the district

court...” Barnes v. United States, 230 F3d 1362, 2000

WL 889838 (8th Cir. 2000) (unpublished). The rule

39

describes the standard in similar terms:

A judgment or order appealed may be affirmed or

enforced without opinion if the court determines

an opinion would have no precedential value and

any of the following circumstances disposes of the

matter submitted to the court for decision:

(4) no error law appears.

8th Cir. R. 47B (citing relevant excerpts).

A. Settlement Agreement

The current appeal involves issues which are un-

timely, unsupported, lacking 1n jurisdiction, and pre-

viously litigated and disposed of. The primary issue

before this Court is (1) whether the District Court

erred in holding that the Settlement Agreement is

enforceable; and, (2) whether the District Court’s ap-

plication of the terms contained in the Settlement

Agreement to Plaintiffs Complaint was an error of

law.

The District Court held that, as a matter of law, —

the terms of the Settlement Agreement were unamb1-

guous and clear and, therefore, it was unnecessary to

resolve any factual issues. The plain language of the

Settlement Agreement dictates that Rogerson waived

her right to bring any future lawsuits which are

based upon the conduct of the Air Force arid its em-

ployees regarding discrimination, sexual harassment,

age, and reprisal, as well as “any and all claims rele-

vant to the plaintiffs past and present employment

with the United States Air Force.” See Addendum 2

(Settlement Agreement filed 2/8/96)

The District Court correctly held that, as a matter

of law, the valid Settlement Agreement barred all of

Rogerson’s claims which relate to the conduct of the

Air Force and its employees prior to January 31,

1996.

40

1. Benefits Under the Office of Worker’s

Compensation Program

As it relates to Rogerson’s compiaint that the

United States breached the terms of the Settlement

Agreement affecting Rogerson’s benefits or status un-

der the Office of Worker’s Compensation Program

(““OWPC’”) [sic], the District Court held as a matter of

law that the provision in the Settlement Agreement

was not reasonably capable of being understood in

more than one sense and, therefore, 1t was unneces-

sary to hold an evidentiary hearing. The plain lan-

guage of the Settlement Agreement provides that the

United States Air Force “will not officially act, or fail

to act, for the purpose of adversely affecting” Plain-

tiffs benefits or status under the OWCP. The District

Court held there 1s no obligation on the part of the

United States to forever protect Rogerson’s FECA

status and benefits, as claimed by Rogerson.

Because Rogerson erroneously believes that the

United States Air Force has an obligation to forever

protect her FECA status and benefits, when indeed

there is no obligation to do so, the District Court cor-

rectly held, as a matter of law, the United States had

not breached the unambiguous terms of the Settle-

ment Agreement.

2. Health Insurance

Rogerson’s Complaint alleged that her health in-

surance was improperly terminated. However, Roger-

son failed to plead in her Complaint that she had pre-

viously exhausted her administrative remedies. The

District Court properly dismissed Rogerson’s claim

regarding health insurance without prejudice, be-

cause she failed to set forth the jurisdictional require-

ment, to-wit: exhaustion of administrative remedies.

3. FECA Benefits

Rogerson presented a claim regarding the termi-

nation of her Federal Employees’ Compensation Act

41

(“FECA”). The District Court also properly dismissed

this claim for lack of subject matter jurisdiction be-

cause 20 CFR § 10.600 does not authorize judicial re-

view of the Office of Worker's Compensation Pro-

gram’s decision to deny a payment under FECA.

4. MSPB Appeal

Rogerson attempted to obtain recognition of her re

-employment and restoration mghts from the Merit

Systems Protection Board (““MSPB”). The MSPB 1s-

sued an unfavorable decision to Rogerson. The Dis-

trict Court correctly concluded that 5 USC § 7703

bars the District Court from jurisdiction over com-

plaints Rogerson has regarding the MSPB’s decision.

B. Criminal Allegations

Rogerson’s Complaint alleged that the United

States violated various federal criminal statutes:

Fraud and false statements, 18 USC § 1018; Fraud in

connection with electronic mail, 18 USC § 1037; At-

tempt and conspiracy to commit mail fraud, 18 USC §

1349; Obstruction of proceedings before departments,

agencies, and committees, 18 USC § 1505; Conspir-

acy, 18 USC § 371; Conspiracy against rights, 18 USC

§ 241; Deprivation of relief benefits, 18 USC § 246;

Solicitation of employment and receipt of unapproved

fees concerning federal employees’ compensation, 18

USC § 292; contracts in excess of specific appropria-

tion, 18 USC § 435; False statement or fraud to ob-

tain federal employees’ compensation, 18 USC § 1920;

Criminal racketeering, 18 USC § 1957; Criminal

racketeering, 18 USC § 1954; and, Torture, 18 USC §

2340, 2341.

The District Court correctly concluded that, as a

matter of law, none of the above criminal statutes

create a private cause of action, based upon a review

of the factors listed in Wisdom v. First Midwest Bank

of Poplar Bluff, 167 F.3d 402, 407 (8th Cir. 1999). Be-

cause Rogerson has no private cause of action against

42

the United States for alleged violations of criminal

statutes, this Court should summarily affirm the Dis-

trict Court’s ruling.

C. RICO Allegations

Rogerson claimed that the United States violated

various provisions under the Racketeer Influenced

and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO). The District

Court held that it lacked subject matter jurisdiction

over these claims. It 1s well established that no provi-

sion under RICO waives the sovereign immunity of

the United States. Accordingly, the District Court

correctly concluded that, because there is no waiver

of sovereign immunity, the court lacked subject mat-

ter jurisdiction.

D. Validity of District Court’s Order

Rogerson complains that the Order dismissing her

Complaint is an “unsupported conclusion” because

Judge Bogue’s original signature 1s not on the Order.

Rogerson provides no legal authority that an Order

containing a conformed signature renders it invalid.

On the contrary, Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(d)(3) specifically

provides that electronically signed documents may be

filed by the District Court.

A court may, by local rule, allow papers to be filed,

signed, or verified by electronic means that are

consistent with any technical standards estab-

lished by the Judicial Conference of the United

States... A paper filed electronically in compliance

with a local rule is a written paper for purposes of

these rules.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(d)(3)(citing relevant excerpts).

Local Rule 5.1 for the District of South Dakota

provides that, “documents may be filed, signed, and

verified by electronic means to the extent and in the

manner authorized by the Case Management/

43

Electronic Case Filing (CM/ECF) Administrative Pro-

cedures established by the Court.” D.S.D. Civ. LR 5.1.

This Court has rejected an argument similar to

Rogerson’s regarding the validity of an unsigned or-

der in United States v. Euge, 691 F.2d 379 (8th Cir.

1982). The Court stated, “Appellant cites no authority

for the alleged requirement that the show cause order

served upon the appellant must be an original or copy

signed by the district judge, and we know of none.

The conformed copy served bore the official seal of the

district court and the signature of the clerk. No more

was required.” Id. At 382.

The District Court’s Order contains a valid signa-

ture in accordance with Local Rule 5.1 and Fed. R.

Civ. P. 5(d)(3) and, accordingly, no error of law exists

which would render the District Court’s Order invalid

or unenforceable.

CONCLUSION

The United States submits that this appeal is well

-suited for summary affirmance under the provisions

of Rule 47B since an opinion would have no preceden-

tial value and there are no errors of law. Rogerson’s

appeal is simply a rehashing of her previous lawsuits

which have either been dismissed by Rogerson or dis-

posed of by the Court. A review of Rogerson’s brief

supports the conclusion that there are no issues

which would give rise to a decision of precedential

value and that disposition of the appeal by virtue of

Eighth Circuit Rule 47B 1s in the interests of justice

as well as judicial economy. The jurisprudence of the

Eighth Circuit would not benefit from a formal opin-

ion from the Court. Accordingly, the United States

respectfully requests that this Court summarily af-

firm the District Court’s Order and hold the current

briefing schedule in abeyance pending its determina-

tion.

44

Dated this 12th day of August, 2009.

MARTY J. JACKLEY

United States Attorney

By:

/s/

DANETA WOLLMANN

_ Assistant U.S. Attorney

515 Ninth Street, Suite 201]

Rapid City, SD 57701

(605) 342-7822

(605) 342-1108 (fax)

Daneta.Wollmann@usdo}.gov

45

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

WESTERN DIVISION

KAY L. ROGERSON, )

Plaintiff, ) CV 08-5060-AWB

)

hie ) ORDER GRANTING

UNITED STATES, _) MOTION TO DISMISS

OF AMERICA )

Defendant. )

Pursuant to the Order Granting Defendant's Mo-

tion to Dismuss, it 1s hereby

ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED that

judgment 1s entered in favor of defendant and against

plaintiff.

Dated: May 13, 2009

BY THE COURT:

(unsigned document, how-

ever the following 1s typed

above the judge’s name)

“/s/ Andrew W. Bogue”

ANDREW W. BOGUE

SENIOR DISTRICT

JUDGE

46

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

WESTERN DIVISION

KAY L. ROGERSON, )

Plaintiff, ) CV 08-5060-AWB

vs )

UNITED STATES , ) ORDER GRANTING

OF AMERICA ) MOTION TO DISMISS

Defendant. )

Defendant has filed a motion to dismiss and sup-

porting documents. Docket 14, 15, 17, 20. Plaintiff

has responded. Docket 16, 21. For the reasons stated

below, the motion 1s granted.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

On March 13, 1992, Plaintiff filed a complaint

against the United States Air Force alleging sexual

discrimination, sexual harassment, and retaliation.

CIV 92-5038, Docket 1. On February 8, 1996, a Stipu-

lation for Compromise Settlement (Settlement) was

filed, stating that it was a settlement of the action

which included “allegations of employment discrim1-

nation,...and all claims relevant to the plaintiff's past

and present employment with the United States Aiur

Force.” CIV. 92-5038, Docket 152. In the settlement

agreement, the USAF agreed to pay a monetary set-

tlement and promised that 1t would not “official act,

or fail to act, for the purpose of adversely affecting

plaintiff ROGERSON’S Department of Labor, Office

of Workers Compensation Program (OWCP) benefits

or status.” Id. at J 3. In exchange, Plaintiff agreed to

release the US4.F and its employees of all causes of

action “of every nature” which arose out of the factual

basis of that proceeding. Id. at 4 4. Rogerson also

agreed that she would not apply for employment with

the USAF “and will never work for the Air Force

47

again from this day forward.” Id. at | 5a.

In Apnl 2000, Plaintiff filed a complaint against

the United States Air Force, alleging that the USAF

discriminated against her both before and after the

Settlement was signed; was in breach of the Settle-

ment; and improperly terminated her employment,

refused to reemploy her, and ended her medical bene-

fits CV.00-5033, Docket 1. She also challenged the

validity of the Settlement and alleged that she was

coerced into signing it. Id. at 4 4] 8-11. Six months

later, Plaintiff and her attorney signed a stipulation

for dismissal with prejudice, which the Court

granted. CV.00-5033, Docket 25, 26.

Plaintiff filed this action in July 2008. CV.08-

5060, Docket 1. Her complaint contains the following

allegations:

e Allegations based on federal criminal statutes:

e Fraud and false statements, 18 USC § 1018

e Fraud in connection with electronic mail, 18

USC § 1037

e Attempt and conspiracy to commit fraud, 18

USC § 1349 (defined in § 1346)

e Obstruction of proceedings before departments,

agencies, and committees, 18 USC § 1505

Conspiracy, 18 USC § 371

Conspiracy against rights, 18 USC § 241

Deprivation of relief benefits, 18 USC § 246

Solicitation of employment and receipt of unap-

proved fees concerning federal employees’ com-

pensation 18 USC § 292

e Contracts in excess of specific appropriation,

18 USC § 435

e False statement or fraud to obtain federal em-

ployees’ compensation, 18 USC § 1920

e Criminal racketeering; Engaging in monetary

transactions in property derived from specified

48

unlawful activity, 18 USC § 1957

e Criminal racketeering’ Offer, acceptance, or

solicitation to influence operations of employee

benefit plan, 18 USC § 1954

e Torture, 18 USC § § 2340, 2341

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations

(RICO) allegations: 18 USC § 1961 et seq.

Allegations related to the loss of health insurance,

5 USC § 8901 et al.

Allegations challenging the validity of the Settle-

ment: Specifically, Plaintiff alleges that the Settle-

ment is unenforceable as a waiver of her rights to

seek reemployment with the USAF and/or the fed-

eral government and to file subsequent lawsuits.

Further, Plaintiff alleges that the USAF promised

“under false pretenses” to “not officially act, or fail

to act, for the purpose of adversely affecting”

plaintiffs OWCP benefits or status, all the while

knowing that it did not have any control over

Plaintiffs OWCP benefits See Docket 1-3, 4 3b.

Plaintiff complains of the actions of the USAF, the

United States Attorney’s Office, and the United

States District Court in ratifying the “fraudulent”

Settlement and 1n dismissing her 2000 civil action

with prejudice.

Plaintiff alleges that the United States has

breached the terms they agreed to in the Settle-

ment. Plaintiff alleges that, since the Settlement,

the USAF and other entities have failed to act to

“uphold” her OWCP benefits, as she believes they

promised in the Settlement. Docket 1, page 13; see

also pages 7-9, 11-13. As she believes that the Set-

tlement has been breached, Plaintiff alleges that

her attempts to secure reemployment with the

USAF are not prohibited, and that actions by U.S.

employees to discourage her from seeking reem-

ployment are improper as violative of her rights,

49

including her freedom of speech. Docket 1, p12-14.

e Plaintiff also complains of the Merit Systems Pro-

tection Board’s (MSPB) findings that she was not

entitled to reemployment or restoration rights.

Docket 1, page 9-11; Docket 1-4, 1-5, 1-6 (MSPB

decisions). However, Plaintiff alleges that this ac-

tion is not an appeal of the MSPB’s decisions.

Docket 16, page 6.

Defendant filed « motion to dismiss the complaint.

Docket 14. The matter 1s now fully briefed and ripe

for disposition.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Defendant moves to dismiss Plaintiff's complaint,

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1), for lack of subject

-matter jurisdiction, and Fed R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), o the

ground that the complaint fails to state a claim

against them for which relief can be granted. A mo-

tion to dismiss pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Pro-

cedure 12(b)(1) will be granted 1n cases where the

Court finds it lacks subject matter jurisdiction over

Plaintiffs claims. The Court may look at matters out-

side the pleadings on a motion to dismiss under Rule

12(b)({1). Osborn v. United States, 918 F.2d 724, 728

n.4(8th Cir. 1990). Whether they involve questions of

law or fact, jurisdictional issues are for the court to

decide. Id. at 729. Unlike a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, “no

presumptive truthfulness attaches to the plaintiffs

allegations and the existence of disputed material

facts will not preclude the trial court from evaluating

for itself the merits of jurisdictional claims.” Id. at

730. The plaintiff has the burden of proof to show

that the court has jurisdiction. Id

A motion to dismiss for a failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted pursuant to Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) requires the court to

review only the pleadings to determine whether they

50

state a claim upon which relief can be granted. “A

complaint must not be dismissed under 12(b)(6)

‘unless it appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff can

prove no set of facts that would demonstrate an enti-

tlement to relief.” Doe v. Sch. Dist. Of Norfolk, 340

F.3d 605, 613 (8th Cir. 2003) (quoting Gordon v. Han-

sen, 168 F.3d 1109, 1113 (8th Cir. 1999)). “[W]e ac-

cept the complaint’s factual allegations as true and

construe them 1n a light most favorable to the plain-

tiff.” Id. (citation omitted). The Eighth Circuit has

emphasized that

[a] complaint must be viewed 1n the light most fa-

vorable to the plaintiff and should not be dis-

missed merely because the court doubts that a

plaintiff will be able to prove all of the neces-

sary factual allegations. Thus, as a practical

matter, a dismissal under Rule 12(b)(6) 1s

likely to be granted only 1n the unusual case in

which a plaintiff includes allegations that show

on the face of the complaint that there 1s some

insuperable bar to relief.

Parnes v. Gateway 2000, Inc., 122 F.3d 539, 546 (8th

Cir. 1997).

DISCUSSION

I. The Settlement

The majority of Plaintiffs complaint challenges

the validity of the Settlement signed on February 8,

1996. Specifically, she argues that the Settlement 1s

“fraudulent” because Defendant promised things

which it knew it could not deliver, and because the

Settlement improperly restricts her nghts to seek

employment with the USAF or any United States

agency and her night to sue the United States. In its

motion to dismiss, Defendant states that these chal-

lenges to the terms of the Settlement should be dis-

missed under res judicata in light of her earlier civil

51

claim, CV. 00-5033. That action was dismissed with

prejudice, pursuant to a stipulation to dismiss signed

by Plaintiff and her attorney.

Under res judicata, “a final judgment on the mer-

its of an action precludes the partes or their privies

from relitigating issues that were or could have been

raised in that action.” Yankton Sioux Tribe v. U.S.

Dep’t of Health and Human Servs., 533 F.3d 634, 639

(8th Cir. 2008) (citing Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90,

94 (1980)). A party seeking dismissal based on res ju-

dicata must show:

(1)the first suit resulted in a final judgment on the

merits; (2) the first suit was based on proper juris-

diction; (3) both suits involve the same parties (or

those 1n privity with them); and (4) both suits are

based upon the same claims or causes of action.

Id. (citation omitted). The Eighth Circuit has stated

that res judicata does “not apply where... the issues

or causes of action sought to be precluded in a subse-

quent proceeding were allegedly determined in a

stipulation or a judgment by consent.” Gall v. South

Branch Nat’) Bank of S.D., 783 F.2d 125, 127 (8th

Cir. 1986); see also Gronseth v. Chester Rural Fire

Protection Dist., 2009 WL 983130, *3-4 (D.S.D. Apr.

9, 2009). The Court does not believe that Plaintiffs

voluntary dismissal of her previous civil case, Docket

CV.00-5033, is a judgment on the merits, even though

the stipulation provides that the case be dismissed

“with prejudice.” The Court in that case never consid-

ered the merits of the case, including a pending sum-

mary judgment motion, prior to 1ts dismissal pursu-

ant to the stipulation. Therefore, the Court concludes

that the dismissal of Plaintiffs 2000 civil case does

not render this immediate claim precluded under the

doctrine of res judicata.

Plaintiffs settlement agreement is a different

story, however. If the Settlement is found to be valid,

52

the majority of Plaintiffs claims related to the con-

duct of Defendant and its agents prior to the date of

the Settlement are not actionable, as she waived her

right to bring such claims by the terms of the Settle-

ment. See Larken v. Wray, 189 F.3d 729, 732 (8th

Cir. 1999).

“Trial courts have ‘the inherent power to summa-

rily enforce a settlement agreement as a matter of

law when the terms of the agreement are clear and

unambiguous.” Lewis v. Benjamin Moore & Co., 574

N.W.2d 887, 888 (S.D. 1998) (citing Gatz v. South-

west Bank of Omaha, 836 F.2d 1089, 1095 (8th Cir.

1988)). A settlement agreement 1s contractual in na-

ture and subject to the same rules of construction as

contracts. Id. At 889. It is a question of law as to

whether a settlement agreement is ambiguous.

“Ambiguity exists in a settlement agreement when

the language is reasonably capable of being under-

stood 1n more than one sense.” Id. “Parol or extrinsic

evidence will not be admitted to vary the terms of a

written instrument that 1s not found ambiguous.” Id.

(citations omitted). The Court must hold an eviden-

tiary hearing only when there is a “substantial fac-

tual dispute concerning the existence or terms of the

settlement agreement or when the situation presents

complex factual issues.” Id. at 888 (citing Gatz, 836

F.2d at 1095).

In this case, the Court finds that the Settlement 1s

not ambiguous. Plaintiff clearly waives her right to

bring any future lawsuits which are based upon the

conduct of the Air Force and its employees regarding

discrimination, sexual harassment, age, and reprisal,

as well as “any and all claims relevant to the plain-

tiffs past and present employment with the United

States Air Force.” Docket 1-3 94 1, 4. Plaintiff also

agreed “that she will not return to work for the Air

53

Force in her current position or any other position...

[and] will not apply for employment with the Aiur

Force in the future, and will never work for the Air

Force again from this day forward[.}” Id. at 4 5a. The

Court finds as a matter of law that these provisions

are unambiguous and clear, and the Court does not

believe that any substantial factual issues exist

which must be resolved before 1t reaches this conclu-

sion. See Gatz, 836 F.2d at 1095.

The obligations of the Air Force are equally clear

to the Court. In agreeing that “it will not officially

act, or fail to act, for the purpose of adversely affect-

ing” Plaintiffs benefits or status under the OWCP,

the Aur Force merely agreed that they would not do

anything which would harm Plaintiffs worker’s com-

pensation benefits. Id. At 4] 3b (emphasis added). The

Court finds that this provision 1s unambiguous, as

this provision 1s not “reasonably capable of being un-

derstood in more than one sense.” Lewis, 574 N.W.2d

at 889. It 1s unreasonable for Plaintiff to conclude

from this provision that the Aur Force promised in the

Settlement that her “FECA status and benefits would

be forever protected.” Docket 1, page 12. Additionally,

as no substantial factual disputes exist concerning

the terms of the settlement agreement an evidentiary

hearing is not necessary. See TCBY Systems, Inc. v.

EBG Assoc., Inc., 2 F.3d 288, 291 (8th Cir. 1993)

(finding no hearing was required to evaluate defen-

dant’s subjective understanding of the legal effect of a

dismissal with prejudice).

As the Court concludes as a matter of law that the

terms of the Settlement are clear and unambiguous,

the Court chooses to enforce the agreement. Accord-

ingly, it dismisses Plaintiffs claims which relate to

the conduct of the Aur Force and its employees prior

to January 31, 1996, as barred by the Settlement

signed by Plaintiff.

54

Further, the Court concludes that, based on the

unambiguous terms of the Settlement, Defendant has

not breached the terms of the Settlement. Plaintiff

alleges that Defendant has failed to protect her FECA

benefits and status, and that she has been damage as

a result. However, as the Court has found that the

Settlement requires no affirmative conduct from De-

fendant to protect Plaintiffs benefits, no breach can

result from their failure to so act. Additionally, Plain-

tiff states no claim when she contends that staff of

the U.S. Attorney’s Office have informed her that her

continued attempts to gain reemployment with the

Air Force are prohibited by the Settlement, as their

conduct in doing so is in accordance with the unamb1-

guous terms of the Settlement. For all of these rea-

sons, the Court dismisses with prejudice Plaintiffs

claims with regard to the validity of the settlement

and allegations of Defendant’s breach of the settle-

ment.

II. Criminal Allegations

Plaintiff alleges that Defendant and its agents vio-

lated many criminal laws. Generally, in determining

whether a criminal statute provides an implied pri-

vate right of action, the courts examine four factors to

evaluate whether Congress intended such a private

right. Wisdome v. First Midwest Bank of Poplar

Bluff, 167 F.3d 402, 407 (8th Cir. 1999).

Dated: May 13, 2009

BY THE COURT:

(unsigned document, however

the following 1s typed above the

judge’s name)

“/s/ Andrew W. Bogue”

ANDREW W. BOGUE

SENIOR DISTRICT JUDGE

55

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

WESTERN DIVISION

KAY L. ROGERSON,

Plaintiff,

-VS- : CIV. 92-5038

SHEILA E. WIDNALL,

Defendant.

STIPULATION FOR

COMPROMISE SETTLEMENT

It is hereby agreed and stipulated by and between

the plaintiff, KAY L. ROGERSON, personally, and

the defendant, SHEILA E. WIDNALL, Secretary,

United States Air Force, by and through their respec-

tive attorneys, as follows:

1. That the parties do hereby agree to settle and

compromise the above-entitled action involving alle-

gations of employment discrimination, including but

not lmuted to sex, sexual harassment, age, and repri-

sal, and any and all claims relevant to the plaintiffs

past and present employment with the United States

Air Force, upon the terms indicated herein.

2. This settlement agreement does not constitute

an admission of habuility or fault of the defendant, or

any past, present or future employees, representa-

tives, servants, agents, or any other persons standing

in any representative capacity, nor shall this agree-

ment or any provision hereof, be used 1n conjunction

with any judicial, administrative, quasi-judicial, or

any other form of proceeding, for the purpose of at-

tempting to establish any such hiability or fault.

3. That, in consideration of the undertakings of

plaintiff ROGERSON herein,

a. The United States, on behalf of the defen-

dant Secretary, United States Air Force, agrees to

56

pay plaintiff the sum of $300,000 in compensatory

damages, and $60,000 in attorney fees and costs,

which sums represent payment in full settlement, ac-

cord and satisfaction of any and all monetary claims

by the plaintiff, including, but not hmuted to all attor-

neys’ fees and costs, paid by check made payable

jointly to plaintiff ROGERSON and Attorneys of Re-

cord, MARK S. FALK AND KENNETH E. JASPER.

b. The United States Air Force agrees that it

will not officially act, or fail to act, for the purpose of

adversely affecting plaintiff ROGERSON’S Depart-

ment of Labor, Office of Workers Compensation Pro-

gram (OWCP) benefits and status.

4. Plaintiff KAY L. ROGERSON hereby agrees to

accept said actions set forth in paragraph 3 herein in

full settlement and satisfaction of any claims or other

rights of action and does, by these premises remise,

release, acquit and forever discharge said defendant,

United States Air Force, and/or any of tts past, pre-

sent or future employees, representatives, servants,

agents or any other persons standing in any repre-

sentative capacity by virtue of law, equity, statutory

or administrative ruling or provision, of all debts, ac-

tions, suits, causes of action, damages, grievances,

any and all claims, demands and lhabulities whatso-

ever of every nature, whether in law, equity, adminis-

tratively or otherwise, specifically releasing all causes

of action, rights to recovery or other rights which

might arise out of said acs, facts, transactions and

circumstances upon which the instant proceeding was

based, or which might arise out of any acts, facts,

transactions and circumstances upon which any

pending administrative and/or judicial complaints are

based, or could have been based, and any other dis-

crimination in employment as alleged by Plaintiff in

her complaint or in the administrative process, which

formed or could have formed the basis of the instant

57

proceeding, whether known or unknown, suspected or

unsuspected, presently existent or such as might

arise in the future.

This release 1s made by plaintiff ROGERSON

for herself, and on behalf of her heirs, executors, ad-

ministrators, assigns, devisees, legatees, subrogees

and any other persons standing in any representative

capacity whatsoever by virtue of law, equity, statu-

tory or administrative ruling or provision, each and

all of whom shall be bound by the terms of this agree-

ment.

5. That in exchange for the actions enumerated in

paragraph 3:

a. plaintiff ROGERSON agrees that she will

not return to work for the Air Force in her current

position or any other position, effective the date of the

signing of this agreement. As part of this settlement

agreement plaintiff will not apply for employment

with the Air Force in the future, and will never work

for the Air Force again from this day forward. Plain-

tiff understands that this will result in her termina-

tion from employment with the Air Force pursuant to

this agreement and agrees not to challenge this invol-

untary termination in any judicial, administrative or

grievance forum.

b. plaintiff ROGERSON will withdraw with

prejudice all pending EEO complaints, both admunis-

trative and judicial, harassment, age and reprisal

complaints, and will withdraw any and all pending

grievances, complaints and/or appeals relating to her

employment with the United States Air Force,

whether or not they are discrimination related,

against the United States Aur Force.

c. plaintiff ROGERSON will file with the Clerk

of this Court, a dismissal of the above action with

prejudice, each party bearing its costs.

6. The parties to this compromise settlement rep-

58

resent that the respective undersigned parties and

counsel have full authority to approve the provisions

of this compromise settlement, to execute this com-

promise settlement and to legally bind the parties to

this compromise settlement, in full and final settle-

ment of their disputes.

7. The plaintiff Rogerson specifically warrants to

all parties and signatories to this agreement that she

is entering :nto this agreement voluntarily and with-

out any coercion or duress, that she has read this

agreement in full and discussed all of its provisions

with her undersigned attorneys of record and that

she fully understands the meaning and consequences

of all of its provisions, and further that she fully un-

derstands that by entering into this agreement she 1s

terminating her employment relationship with the

United States Air Force and terminating any and all

past and pending employment related disputes of any

kind whatsoever, with the United States Aur Force.

8. The plaintiff Rogerson specifically warrants to

all parties and signatories to this agreement that she

is mentally competent, and that she is currently suf-

fering no mental disability which prevents her from

understanding the full meaning and consequences of

entering into this agreement.

Executed this Slst day of January, 1996.

/s/ /s/

KAY L. ROGERSON, MARK E. FALK,

Plaintiff /s/

KENNETH E. JASPER

Attorneys for Plaintiff

(no signature on Plaintiffs copy)

KAREN E. SCHRIER

/s/

BONNIE P. ULRICH

Assistant U.S. Attorney

Attorneys for Defendant

59

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

District of South Dakota, Western Division

KAY L. ROGERSON

PLAINTIFF,

SUMMONS

Vv IN A CIVIL ACTION

Case Number: CIV 92-5038

DONALD B. RICE,

Secretary,

United States Air Force,

DEFENDANT

TO: Secretary of the Air Force

The Honorable Donald B. Rice

The Pentagon

Washington, D.C. 20330-1000

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED and required to

file with the Clerk of this Court and serve upon

Plaintiffs Attorney: Mr. Dennis H. Hill

COSTELLO, PORTER, HILL

HEISTERKAMP & BUSHNELL

P.O. Box 290

Rapid City, SD 57709

an answer to the complaint which 1s herewith served

upon you, within 60 days after service of this sum-

mons upon you, exclusive of the day of service. If you

fail to do so, judgment by default will be taken

against you for the rehef demanded 1n the complaint.

WILLIAM F. CLAYTON March 13, 1992

(Date)

/s/ Jeanne L. Faiurhead

BY DEPUTY CLERK

60

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

WESTERN DIVISION

KAY L. ROGERSON ) Civil No. 92-5038

Plaintiff )

vs )

DONALD B. RICE ) COMPLAINT

Secretary, United States )

Department of the Air Force )

Defendant.

I.

Plaintiff, Kay Rogerson, a female civilian em-

ployee of the United States Department of the Air

Force, brings this action under 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16

to redress the wrongs done to her by Defendant,

whose actions towards Plaintiff have constituted sex-

ual discrimination, sexual harassment, and retalia-

tion.

IT.

On February 4, 1986, Plaintiff made a formal com-

plaint of her charges to the Air Force. After extensive

administrative litigation, this complaint was settled

on January 9, 1991. Defendant, however, has contin-

ued the course of sexual discrimination, sexual har-

assment, and retaliation, and has failed to comply

with the 1991 settlement. Plaintiff timely sought to

reinstate her 1986 complaint before the agency, and

has exhausted her administrative remedies in this

regard, including an appeal before the United States

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. On

February 17, 1992, Plaintiff received a copy of the de-

cision of the EEOC, informing Plaintiff of her right to

sue within thirty (30) days.

ITI.

Jurisdiction 1s conferred on this Court by 42

U.S.C. §§ 2000e-5, 2000e-16 and 28 U.S.C. § 1343.

61

IV.

Plaintiff 1s employed as a supervisory General En-

gineer in the Engineering and Environmental Plan-

ning Branch at Ellsworth Air Force Base, South Da-

kota. Plaintiff has at all times rendered consistently

superior performance of her duties 1n this position.

¥.

Foilowing the settlement of a previous EEO com-

plaint filed in 1981, Plaintiff was subjected to a

“counseling” conducted by Colonel Beauchemin on

October 17, 1985. In this meeting Plaintiff was

“counseled” to wear suits lke men, but without ties,

even though no civilian dress code existed; Plaintiff

was “counseled” reflecting stricter employment stan-

dards than those imposed on males of the same level

as Plaintiff; and during this meeting Colonel

Beauchemin continually referred to the short period

of time she had held her job, the “transition period”,

and her job performance, all referring to Plaintiffs

having been placed 1n her position as the result of the

outcome of her earlier complaint. Moreover, Plain-

tiffs performance rating was downgraded from

“superior” to “excellent”, resulting 1n a loss of raises

which she would have otherwise received.

VI.

Such actions constituted sexual discrimination, in

that Plaintiff is a female and received treatment dif-

ferent from that accorded similarly situated male em-

ployees.

VII.

Such actions constituted retaliation, in that Plain-

tiff had engaged in the protected activity of filing an

EEO complaint against the Air Force; the Air Force

was aware of this complaint; and the Air Force took

actions adversely impacting Plaintiff with the motive

to retaliate against her for her complaint.

62

VIII.

Such conduct constituted sexual harassment in

that it was verbal conduct of a sexual nature with the

purpose or effect of unreasonably interfering with an

individual's work performance and creating an in-

timidating, hostrle, and offensive working environ-

ment.

IX.

On January 9, 1991, Plaintiff and Defendant

agreed to a settlement of Plaintiffs administrative

complaint arising from said sexual discrimination,

sexual harassment, and retaliation, 1n which Defen-

dant agreed that:

a. The Complainant’s personnel records will reflect

a Supervision rating on her annual performance

rating for the period of 1 July 1984 through 30

June 1985. [Complainant] has previously been

awarded, on 11 September 1986, the monetary

benefits resulting from the Superior rating.

b. The Complainant’s annual performance rating for

the period of 1 July 1985 to 30 June 1986 will be

upgraded from Excellent to Superior. The Com-

plainant will be awarded appropriate adyjust-

ments to merit pay and the Performance Manage-

ment and Recognition System (PMRS) perform-

ance award based on the Superior rating.

c. The Complainant’s annual performance rating for

the period of 1 July 1988 to 30 June 1989 will be

upgraded from Fully Successful to Excellent. The

Complainant will be awarded appropriate adjust-

ments to merit pay and the PMRS performance

award based on the Excellent rating.

d. The Agency will use its best efforts to have a

Classification Specialist from either Military Air-

lift Command or Air Force Logistics Command

conduct an audit upon the Complainant’s posi-

63

tion. The Classification audit will be scheduled

for July 1991. The selected Classification Special-

ist will assist the Complainant’s rating official

(Base Civil Engineer) and the Complainant pre-

pare a position description for the Complaint’s

(sic) position. The position description will be

based upon the current duties performed by Com-

plainant as Branch Chief, Engineering and Envi-

ronmental Planning Branch, as of the date of the

Settlement Agreement. When conducting the

classification audit the Classification Specialist

will consider necessary information to determine

the proper classification of the Complainant’s po-

sition. In the event the Base Civil Engineer and

the Complainant cannot agree upon content and

terminology of the position description within 30

days after the outside Classification Specialist

commences the classification audit, the recom-

mendations and findings of the outside Classifica-

tion Specialist as to the content of the position

description will be accepted by the parties.

Defendant has failed to carry out these provisions.

X.

Throughout her employment in her position and

continuing to the present time, Plaintiff has been

subjected to extreme mental cruelty and extreme

stress; has been denied promotion and has had to

fight for her performance ratings when other simi-

larly situated male General Engineer employees were

upgraded; has had to perform at much higher stan-

dards than her male counterparts; and has been sub-

jected to continuous ridicule adversely affecting her

health, attitude, and well-being, all solely on account

of the fact that she 1s a female.

64

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff requests that the Court en-

ter its order:

1. Enjoining Defendant and Defendant’s agents,

employees and officers from further acts of sexual dis-

crimination, sexual harassment, and _ retaliation

against Plaintiff;

2. Requiring Defendant to abide by its settlement

agreement of January 9, 1991;

3. Awarding Plaintiff such promotions and 1n-

creases in pay and benefits to which she would have

been entitled in the absence of Defendants’ acts of

sexual discrimination, sexual harassment, and re-

taliation;

4. Awarding Plaintiff her attorney’s fees, costs,

and disbursements; and

5. For such other relief as this Court deems fit and

proper.

COSTELLO, PORTER, HILL

HEISTERKAMP & BUSHNELL

/s/

By: Dennis H. Hill

Attorneys for Plaintiff

PO Box 290

Rapid City, SD 57709

605-343-2410

65

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

WESTERN DIVISION

KAY L. ROGERSON ) Civil No. 92-5038

Plaintiff )

vs ) AMENDED

DONALD B. RICE ) COMPLAINT

Secretary, United States )

Department of the Aur Force )

Defendant. )

[Please note that the first ten paragraphs of this

AMENDED COMPLAINT are exactly the same as

the first ten paragraphs of the original complaint

submitted to the Court on March 13, 1992. Therefore,

petitioner has avoided duplication of information and

is just providing the actual amendments to the com-

plaint, as follows. ]

XI.

Those acts alleged in Paragraph X, including

those constituting unwelcome sexual harassment and

retaliation, occurring subsequent to November 21,

1991, and up to the present date constitute unlawful

intentional discrimination by Defendant against

Plaintiff, and as a result she has suffered future pe-

cuniary losses in the form of future wages and fringe

benefits lost because of Defendant’s wrongful acts,

emotional pain, suffering, inconvenience, mental an-

guish, loss of enjoyment of life, and other nonpecuni-

ary losses.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff requests that the Court

enter its order:

1. Enjoining Defendant and Defendant's agents,

employees and officers from further acts of sexual dis-

crimination, sexual harassment, and_ retaliation

against Plaintiff;

66

2. Awarding Plaintiff such promotions and 1in-

creases in pay and benefits to which she would have

been entitled in the absence of Defendants’ acts of

serual discrim:nation, sexual harassment, and re-

taliation;

3. Awarding Plaintiff compensatory damages, in

an amount to be proved at trial for those intentional

discriminatory acts by Defendant against Plaintiff

occurring subsequent to November 21, 1991 and up to

the present date for Plaintiffs future pecuniary

losses, emotional pain, suffering, inconvenience, men-

tal anguish, loss of enjoyment of hfe, and other non-

pecuniary losses;

4. Awarding Plaintiff her attorney’s fees, costs,

and disbursements; and

5. For such other relief as this Court deems fit and

proper.

Dated this 15th day of March, 1995.

COSTELLO, PORTER, HILL

HEISTERKAMP & BUSHNELL

/s/

By: Dennis H. Hull

Attorneys for Plaintiff

PO Box 290

Rapid City, SD 57709

605-343-2410

PLAINTIFF REQUESTS TRIAL BY JURY FOR HER

CLAIM FOR COMPENSARY DAMAGES FOR ACTS

OCCURRING SUBSEQUENT TO NOVEMBER 21,

1991.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.