Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Konop v. Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. (No. 09-649)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 09-649 DEC 2- 2009

_ORBAGEHGRAHE GLERIC

Wittam IX. Suter, Clerk

an The

Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT C. KONOP,

Petitioner,

HAWAIIAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT C. KONOP

8601 Falmouth #406

Playa del Rey, CA 90293

(310) 305-2837

Petitioner

With a Dissent, the Court of Appeals reversed a

U.S. District Court Order to Vacate an arbitration

award which had wrongly upheld Hawaiian Airlines’

termination of Boeing 767 Captain Robert Konop.

Captain Konop was fired for claimed “disloyalty”

when he led employee opposition to the ratification of

a concessionary labor contract. Based on the record,

the District Court found that the arbitrator exceeded

his defined jurisdiction when he considered and relied

on “matters” which had not first been handled as

contractually mandated. The plain language of the

labor agreement (“CBA”) required both a “precise”

pre-termination “Statement of Charges” and a pre-

discharge company hearing on those charges.

Questions Presented for Review

1. Regardless of the arbitrator’s professional

censure for misconduct, in behalf of Hawaiian

Airlines, did the Court of Appeals create a

conflict between the circuits, and with the

law, when it reversed the district court’s Order

to Vacate the arbitration award as was issued

contrary to the plain language limits for

jurisdiction specified in the labor contract?

2. Has the Court of Appeals misconstrued, or

misapplied, the Supreme Court’s directions in

Machinists v. Central Airlines, 372 U.S. 682

(1963), so as to mistakenly undermine the

important public policies respecting airline

arbitrations under the Railway Labor Act?

ee

LIST OF PARTIES

The caption of the case in this Court contains the

names of all of the parties.

- iil -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... l

SO Te POE sividiehicivine ti onmeanaiaiaen 1]

TEE CARPET 8 BED tititttitrrrcconianiceaumnamn lll

TAREE OF AU Ere seee BBG os cesersecsssvesessveassnrssstiasevenns vi

OPINIONS AND JUDGMENT BELOW .......000000.. 001

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..............0..000.... ]

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ....00000.o. eects 2

UII oociccaucsscssustuantannsscocssssincenmenmenansmnieaue 3

IEE i osccsssccinisecctinceatrasticouaindanuenesaannid 5

The District Court Proceedings .....................066008 10

Proceeding in the Court of Appeals .................... 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ...... 13

L The Review of Jurisdictional Breaches by

Arbitrators is Within the Proper Purview

OF CE CR. | Secnccccccintiewdenaenaan 13

I. Title Il of the RLA Specifically Excepts

Air Carriers from the Exceedingly Narrow

Scope of Judicial Review Set Forth in RLA

Title I, Where Airline Arbitrations are not

Provided the Review and Appeal Mechan-

isms of the National Railway Adjustment

-iv-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IL Review Will Provide Needed Clarification

of the Limited Role of the Courts in Rail-

way Labor Act Arbitration Cases, and of

the Necessity for Arbitrators to Adhere

to the Plain Language Limits of their

pS SPR iain, SR eareaiye enptt ena a eo ROY 31

III vis cieduia sanadcvunuuneineile checedondsteabaaeeaaiine 36

APPENDIX

Memorandum Decision of the U.S. Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, reversing

the District Court’s Order to Vacate (June

30, 2009) ...... OM ane naan App. la

Dissent to the Memorandum Decision of the

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,

supporting the District Court’s Order to

VECUES CFUIG BD, BOG) nvsccccccicsessccsesseserseccenes App. 5a

Order to Vacate from the U.S. District Court

for the Central District of California

ne Eo caceacsenvauainaswindiune App. 8a

Arbitration Award from the Hawaiian System

Board of Adjustment (Undated) ............. App. 40a

-V-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

APPENDIX (cont.)

Order of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit denying the Petition for

Rehearing or for Rehearing En Banc

CIIINIION Eh, FD ences rcseccecvsecscconsconeses App. 46a

MOUWAY LADOF ACE OF 1626 ..cccccoccsccsccsecccesevesss App. 48a

rs Ae I a dsccudnsexinestusvanvacssiecenanes . App. 48a

Be ee PUN prickossavvccuvsanecisessasecvensooon App. 48a

I i ac csasnacbssdncecausacoanngs App. 49a

ee is devadl coecnineeuserccusaxavdsaeavenata App. 5la

I I asap epeanaieneinih App. 5la

Hawaiian Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement

[Excerpts] Sections 16 and 17 ................. App. 53a

Grievance Submission Letter from the Air

Line Pilots Association to the Hawaiian

System Board (April 26, 2005) ............... App. 57a

Censure Decision from the National Academy

of Arbitrators (April 5, 2009) .................. App. 6la

Arbitral Discretion - The Tests of Just Cause

[Excerpt] Proceedings of the National

Academy of Arbitrators, Arbitration 1989,

ee IN, SD si vicivecaincsnsesccisanereccsvadaiainn App.

66a

o Was

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

American Postal Workers Union v. U.S.

Postal Service,

789 F.2d 1 (D.C. Cir. 1986)

A.T.&T. Technologies, Inc. v. Communications

Workers of America,

475 U.S. 643 (1986)

Barnett v. Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore

Lines, 245 F.2d 579. (3rd Cir. 1957)

Bates v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co..,

9 F.3d 29 (7th Cir. 1993)

Beacon Journal Publishing Co v. Akron Newspaper

Guild, 114 F.3d 596 (6th Cir. 1997)

Boise Cascade v. Paper Allied-Industrial,

Chemical and Energy Workers,

309 F.3d 1075 (8th Cir. 2002)

Bower v. Eastern Airlines, Inc.,

214 F.2d 623 (3rd Cir. 1954)

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v.

Templeton, 181 F.2d 527 (8th Cir. 1950)

Champion International Corp. v. United

Paperworkers International Union,

168 F.3d 725 (4th Cir.1999)

- Vl -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Cont.

Chernak v. Southwest Airlines,

778 F.2a 578 (10th Cir. 1986) .......................000.. 26

Clinchfield Coal Co. v. Dist. 28, United Mine

Workers, 720 F.2d 1365 (4th Cir.1983) ............ 19

Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of St. Louis v. Teamsters

Local Union No. 688, 959 F.2d 1438

ee eeeidaneddicauusial 19

Cole v. Burns International Security Services,

105 F.3d 1465 (D.C. Cir. 1997) cocccccccccessscseeseeeees 35

CSX Transportation., Inc. v. United

Transportation Union,

Be ae Pe CN OOD cvkecasishedsccesscscnncsexecsesers 18

D'Elia v. New York, New Haven & Hartford

Railroad, Co. 230 F.Supp. 912 (D. Conn.1964),

affd 338 F.2d 701 (2nd Cir. 1964) ................... 25

Edwards v. Capital Airlines, Inc.,

176 F.2d 755 (D.C. Cir. 1949),

cert denied; 338 U.S. 885 (1949) .....0 25

Edwards v. St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad,

SEL Fee DOS CIEE Cie. TGS) ccceccccccvssccccccscescssces 24

Ellerd v. Southern Pacific Railroad Co.,

BOY Fe GEL CFE Ce, FBT) ccccscccccvcesscasscvecsceses 25

- Vill -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Cont.

Page

George A. Hormel & Co. v. United Food &

Commercial Workers, Local 9,

879 F.26 347 (Gti Cir. 1968) ......cccccscccccccccvcceses oe

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

a a ceasecbeseverenaancss 34

Giordano v. Modern Air Transport, et al,

504 F.2d 882 (5th Cir. 1974) oo... eee eee 27

Hall v. Eastern Airlines,

511 F.2e GSS (Gt Cir. 1978) .....cccccccccsocccccsecccess 29

Hart v. Overseas National Airways, Inc.,

541 F.2d 386 (3rd Cir. 1976) ..........0......2.. . 26, 27

Hornsby v. Dobard,

291 F.2G 483 (GE Cir, 1961) ....ccrcccccccceccscscccceess 25

Hunt v. Northwest Airlines,

600 F.2d 176 (8th Cir. 1979) ..............ccecceee. 24, 29

International Association of Machinists v.

Central Airlines, 372 U.S. 682 (1963) ........ passim

International Woodworkers v. Weyerhaeuser Co.,

Fe He RUPEE denccas nnnncnscescoccvecscccesoccee 13

Konop v. Hawaiian Airlines, Inc.,

302 F.3d 868 (9th Cir. 2002), cert. denied;

re Rn, Ok EN IEEE | cvs cccsencnsbasdevscencdsvusdsenbecvesonse —

- ix -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Cont.

Page

Local 1199, Hospital & Health Care Employees

Union, etc. v. Brooks Drug Co.,

956 F.2d 22 (2nd Cir, 1992) coccceccccccecsescseceeseresven 18

Loveless v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.,

GB F264 TATE Ce eee E casccvccecs ccs ccsccccceees 18

Mitsubishi Motors, Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) .. 34

Morin v. Consolidated Rail Corp.,

810 F.2G TAO Cie Wee ED caccccesesccccscccces: oe 25

Norfolk and Western Railway Co. v. Trans-

portation Communications International

Union, 17 F.3d 696 (4th Cir. 1994) ................... 17

Norfolk Shipbuilding v. International

Brotherhood of Boilermakers,

671 F.2d 797 (4th Cir. 1982) ooocccccccccccccceeeseeee B2

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots

Association International,

530 F.2d 1048 (D.C. Cir. 1976) ............... 28

Pokuta v. Trans World Airlines,

191 F.3d 834 (7th Cir. 1999) ..occcccccccccesceeeeeee 25, 29

Rosen v. Eastern Airlines, 400 F.2d 462 (5th Cir.

1968), cert. denied; 394 U.S. 959 (1969) .......... 29

Singer v. Flying Tiger Line,

652 F.2d 1349 (9th Cir 1981) 21, 26, 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Cont.

United Paperworkers v. Misco,

484 U.S. 29 (1987) ................. . 24,

United Steelworkers of America t

Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp..,

363 U.S. 593 (1960)

United Steelworkers v. American

Manufacturing Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960)

United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf

Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960)

Wells v. Southern Airways,

517 F.2d 132 (5th Cir. 1975)

W.R. Grace v. United Rubber Workers,

461 U.S. 757 (1983)

STATUTES

Federal Arbitration Act

9 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq.

Judiciary and Judicial Procedure

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. § 1331

28 U.S.C. § 1337

Page

31. 34. 36

passim

35

Ls

- X] -

Railway Labor Act

45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. —

ih Roe 2) | eee Lessesees PCSSLM

45 U.S.C. § 153(p) cccecececcccssseeeseenre: .. 2, 20, 21, 23

15 U.S.C. § 153(q) =

45 U.S.C. § 181 ...... | sesseeses Sly 2a, 20, GU, 31

Rules

Supreme Court Rule 13(1)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Enterprise Wire Co.,

46 LA 359, Daugherty (1966) 15

How Arbitration Works, Elikouri and Elikouri.

6th edition, BNA Books,

WU RIED, TDCi, BID ccccocccsccccesvessonece sonseooces 23

Judicial Review of Labor Arbitration Awards;

A Second Look at Enterprise Wheel.

75 Mich. L. Rev. 1137 (1977) ..............cecceeeeees 35

Just Cause: The Seven Tests, Third Edition.

Koven and Smith, BNA Books, 2006 .. on

Moore’s Seafood Products, Inc.,

50 LA 83, Daugherty (1968) | sok 15

Proceedings of the National Academy

of Arbitrators - Arbitration 1989,

BNA Books, 1990 App. 66a

~

OPINIONS AND JUDGMENT BELOW

The U.S. District Court’s Order to Vacate is

unpublished, and it is provided here in the Appendix

(“App.”) at pp. 8a-39a. The Memorandum Decision of

the Court of Appeals, reversing the District Court’s

Order, and including the Dissent of Judge Callahan, is

also unpublished and reprinted here at App. pp. la-

7a. The Award of the Hawaiian System Board, the

basis for this case, is provided at App. pp. 40a-45a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The District Court had jurisdiction to hear and act

on Captain Robert Konop’s Petition to Vacate under

the terms of 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1337. The Court

of Appeals issued its Memorandum Decision, with the

Dissent, on June 30, 2009 (App. pages la-7a). The

Court of Appeals denied Captain Konop’s timely

Petition for Rehearing on September 11, 2009 (App. at

pages 46a-47a). Thus, this Petition has been timely

filed in line with Supreme Court Rule 13(1), and the

Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Subject to specified limitations, Title /] of the

Railway Labor Act (“RLA”) (45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.),

confers upon the National Railway Adjustment Board

(“NRAB”) the power to hear and to decide labor

disputes which arise with respect to the application

or interpretation of labor agreements in the Railroad

Industry. The provisions of RLA Title I, however,

also provide an “analogous” framework for other

= =

arbitrations, and specifies a process for court review

of arbitration cases in the airline industry, as take

place under the requirements of RLA Title Hl. See:

International Association of Machinists v. Central

Airlines, 372 U.S. 682 (1968).

The relevant provisions of Title Jand Title I of the

Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.) are

reprinted in the Appendix (App. pages 48a-52a).

Included therein, as apply here for review, is 45

U.S.C. §§ 153); 153(p); 153(q); 181, and; 184.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

During oral argument before the Court of Appeals,

Judge Consuelo Callahan chastised Hawaiian

Airlines, and its legal counsel, for their “appalling

behavior.” This condemnation apparently arose with

respect to Hawaiian’s efforts to interfere in the

arbitration review processes, as was wrongly accom-

plished through the attorneys’ solicitation of ethical

breaches from Arbitrator James Scearce. However,

the record before the Appeals Court panel also

included undisputed evidence of Hawaiian’s longer

history of anti-labor misconduct, and its criminal

violations of electronic privacy laws, all undertaken

in the airlines’ wrongful pursuit of collective

bargaining advantages over its employees. Sce:

Konop v. Hawaiian Atrlines, Inc., 302 F.3d 868 (9th

Cir. 2002), cert. denied; 537 U.S. 1193 (2003).

Regardless of the reasons for Judge Callahan’s

concern, Hawaiian’s counsel simply called Arbitrator

> 2

James Scearce’s formal Censure, by the National

Academy of Arbitrators (“NAA”) (App. pp. 61la-65a),

“a tempest in a teacup.” This remark was given after

Hawaiian attorney Mark Perry attempted to orally

downplay Mr. Scearce’s misconduct, portraying the

arbitrator’s professional censure as the least possible

sanction which might have been imposed. (See also:

Page 5 of Hawaiian’s 4/28/2009 Response to Captain

Konop’s Request for Judicial Notice).

In the NAA’s evaluation of the arbitrator’s mis-

conduct, however, Arbitrator Scearce was formally

disciplined for his "serious and_ inexcusable"

violations of the NAA’s Code of Professional

Responsibility. Mr. Scearce was also denounced by

the NAA for his “inexcusable violation of funda-

mental fairness,” and for his “insensitivity to the

requirements of ordinary due process.” (App. pp. 63a-

65a). All of this, however, is merely the immediate

backdrop against which this Petition arises. These

are not the issues brought for review.

Introduction

When the district court issued its Order to Vacate

the arbitration award, which had wrongly sustained

the employment termination of widebody jet Captain

Robert Konop, the court relied on the plain language

jurisdictional limitations provided within the

Hawaiian Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement (App. pages

53a-56a). That collective bargaining agreement

(“CBA”) required that, prior to any action for

discipline or discharge, Hawaiian Airlines was to

oe

provide the accused pilot with a statement of the

“precise charge or charges” which he would face. App.

page 53a. In fact, in the record before the district

court, Hawalan Airlines had provided Captain

Konop with a Statement of Charges (“SOC”) (App.

pages 14a-17a). The CBA, however, also required a

company hearing and a written decision on the

“precise charge or charges,” before action on

employment discharge could be attempted. App. 53a.

Unfortunately, at the arbitration hearing with

respect to Captain Konop’s termination, where Konop

could disprove the company’s original allegations,

Hawaiian instead focused on entirely new charges.

Those new charges had not been subject to a prior

Statement of Charges, had not been provided the

required company hearing, and had not been included

as a part of the required company written decision in

the matter. Under such circumstances the Hawaiian

Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement (“CBA”) prohibited the

Hawauan System Board of Adjustment from under-

taking any review or consideration of those new

“matters.” Thus, as both the Dissent and the district

court noted, the arbitrator exceeded his authority

when he considered and relied on new allegations,

which had only first arisen at the arbitration hearing.

The plain language of the CBA provided:

“No matter shall be considered by the

Board that has not first been handled in

accordance with the _ provisions of

Section 16 (Grievances) and a decision

thereon by the Company.”

=

App. p. 56a; CBA Section 17(D)(2)

Both the district court, and the Dissent, correctly

concluded that no interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement was necessary in order to

conclude, from its plain language, that the arbitrator

exceeded the scope of his contractually limited

authority. The arbitrator improperly sustained

Captain Konop’s termination on the basis of entirely

new charges, which had neither been’ provided in

writing prior to Captain Konop’s termination, nor

been a part of the prior company investigative hearing,

which was also a jurisdictional prerequisite (App. pp

53a & 56a). This petition, thus, arises where the

Court of Appeals erroneously further limited its

review beyond those already extremely limited

circumstances provided by statute, and contrary to

the standards applied by most other circuits.

In fact, the CBA contained a default remedy in the

event Hawaiian failed to timely provide its charges,

failed to conduct the required investigative hearing,

or failed to timely provide a written decision with

respect to allegations which were ultimately pursued.

That jurisdictional default required, as now applies

here, that the “grievant’s position shall be sustained,

and the relief requested shall be granted.” App. page

54a. In this case, the “relief requested” was Captain

Konop’s reinstatement. App. p. 59a.

Background

Immediately after Hawaiian Airlines’ pilots voted

to reject the ratification of a concessionary labor

» 6.

contract, in March of 2005, the airline fired Captain

Robert Konop. Captain Konop was a 20 year veteran

Boeing 767 pilot for Hawaiian, with an unblemished

safety and disciplinary record. It was undisputed,

however, that Captain Konop was also a vocal leader

in opposition to pilot contract concessions, and that

Hawaiian blamed him for a pilot vote, just a few days

earlier, to reject a new concessionary labor contract.

At the time of Captain Konop’s job termination,

Hawaiian was demanding a new round of concessions

from its pilots in anticipation of an ownership

change. This was taking place just as the airline was

experiencing the most profitable period in its 80 year

history. In fact, the airlines’ huge operating profits

had come in spite of a bankruptcy filing, and it was a

period during which the airline had accumulated

more cash from those profitable operations than at

any other time, When he was discharged, Hawaiian

charged that Captain Konop had been “disloyal,” that

he had “failed to work with management,” and the

airline further asserted that Hawaian’s pilots had

voted to reject the ratification of concessions based on

Captain Konop’s claimed “misrepresentations.”

Concurrently, in a related Motion for Contempt in

the bankruptcy court in Honolulu, the airline separ-

ately accused Captain Konop of ‘interference with

negotiations’ and of ‘tnterference with the contract

ratification process.’ Hawaiian there alleged that

pilots voted to reject ratification on the basis of

“Konop rhetoric.” Hawaiian also asserted that

Captain Konop was guilty of “misrepresentation”

-7-

where he had stated his belief that an employee-

sponsored, alternative bankruptcy recrganization

plan was a viable option for Hawaiian. This plan

was brought as an alternative to a bankruptcy

trustee’s proposal, which otherwise resulted in an

over $40 million windfall to Hawaiian’s former

Chairman of the Board, while effectively absolving

that former chairman, and his business partner, of

liability for a stock buyback scam which improperly

netted the pair approximately $18 million more.’

Where the bankruptcy trustee’s Plan ultimately

prevailed, and when Hawaiian eventually gained the

concessions that they sought from its pilots, after

Captain Konop’s discharge, that court appointee then

applied for an $8 million “success fee,” and a total 2

year compensation package of approximately $10

million for his relatively minimal time at Hawaiian.*

}

Hawaiian’s Board Chairman and CEO later entered

into a ‘disgorgement’ agreement with the U.S. S.E.C.

requiring the return of nearly $2.5 million to minority

shareholders. They admitted that key company stock

information had been intentionally misstated. S.E.C.

File No. 3-11676, Order 59870, dated May 6, 2009.

Through its bankruptcy, Hawaiian was able to avoid

scrutiny of the fact that its former CEO had converted

nearly $25 million of Hawaiian’s federal 9/11 impact

grant money to a fund which was wrongly used to buy

back Hawaiian’s stock from the CEO and his partner.

Hawaiian also avoided nearly $100 million in

interest and penalties for the airlines’ failure to pay

federal fuel excise taxes, public money which was

fraudulently used to bolster Hawaiian’s balance

sheet for the purposes of justifying the company stock

buyback swindle, this just before the bankruptcy.

=~ 2

The matter of Captain Konop’s termination was

then “grieved,” and taken to the Hawaiian System

Board of Adjustment. There, the case was heard by a

three member panel, as chaired by arbitrator James

Scearce. During four days of hearings before the

System Board, and in spite of objections by the Air

Line Pilots’ Association, the arbitrator allowed

Hawaiian to raise new charges, without any prior

notice, without a prior company hearing, and without

the required company written decision with respect to

those new charges. Hawaiian, in fact, provided scant

evidence to support its original charges, other than

with respect to assertions the Captain Konop had

made objections to proposed expenditures, which

required bankruptcy court approval, objections that

the bankruptcy court had overruled.* Hawaiian also

provided evidence that Captain Konop’s concerted

opposition had influenced the pilot vote to reject the

ratification of the proposed new contract.

These objections first arose to oppose Hawatian’s

claimed justification for seeking court approval to

suspend payments into the pilots’ retirement fund.

During the 18 months over which Captain Konop had

filed his objections, Hawaiian never provided any

warning or indication that it might consider such

objections a violation of company “House Rules,” as

was later claimed at the arbitration. Objections were

also filed for proposed extraordinary expenditures,

which had been requested regardless of the airlines’

failure to fund the pilots retirement plan. These

proposals included plans for a new Honolulu airport

terminal, for which the initial planning ‘consultations’

alone were estimated to cost several million dollars.

However, no new terminal was never built.

_

After the case was submitted, the arbitrator held

Captain Konop culpable for the previously uncharged

allegation of having made “false or unproven” state-

ments, rather than the company’s prior “precise

charges,” or the conclusions made in line with the

airlines’ contractually required written decision.’

That company written decision asserted Captain

Konop to be guilty of “intentional misstatements and

acts of dishonesty.” The arbitrator also referenced

his consideration and reliance on what he termed “a

serious error,” by Captain Konop, with regard to a

claimed shortfall in “due diligence” concerning the

employee alternative plan of reorganization for

Hawaiian.

At the same time, where Hawaiian had “precisely”

asserted that Captain Konop was guilty of false

representations, made with respect to a posting on

the employee website which Konop owned, the arbi-

trator instead concluded Captain Konop to be liable

for any mistaken information appearing on the

website. It was undisputed before the System Board

that Captain Konop had not made a posting which

Hawaiian had cited in its Statement of Charges. In

this regard, the arbitrator failed to reference or to

At that hearing, Hawauan simply referenced the first

bankruptcy objection Captain Konop filed, opposing

Hawaiian’s effort to avoid a $500,000 retirement fund

payment. For 18 months, Hawaiian failed to provide

any warning or notice that it considered this earlier

objection a violation of any company “rule.” The issue

only first arose five (5) days after pilots voted to reject

the ratification of a new concessionary labor contract.

» es

apply the plain language provisions of the Hawaiian

Pilots Agreement, the airlines’ written charges, or the

well established industrial Common Law _ with

respect to “Just Cause” for employment termination.

(App. 66a-76a; The Test of Just Cause).

The District Court Proceedings

After the Hawaiian System Board of Adjustment

issued its undated arbitration award, on or about

April 7, 2006, on July 14, 2006 Captain Konop filed a

Petition for Review and to Vacate that award in the

U.S. District Court for the Central District of

California (Case No. 06-04426-CBM) (18 USC §

1337). An extensive Excerpts of Record, of the

underlying arbitration proceeding, was also filed and

served at that time. Thereafter, on August 21, 2006,

Hawaiian Airlines filed its Opposition to the Petition.

Concurrently, Captain Konop filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment, again opposed by Hawaiian.

The Petition to Vacate was thereafter taken under

submission on the record, without oral argument.

On January 4, 2008, the U.S. District Court

issued its Order to Vacate the arbitration award, as

had wrongly sustained Captain Konop’s discharge.

Based upon the plain language of the applicable labor

contract, the district court concluded that the

arbitrator exceeded the scope of his authority where

his decision was predicated on new allegations which

had “not first been handled in accordance with the

provisions of the Section 16’ of the CBA.” The district

court's Order to Vacate was correctly predicated on the

ee

plain language requirement that there first be a

company hearing and written decision on any “charge

or charges,” rather than allowing them to be raised

for the first time at the later arbitration hearing.

Hawaiian appealed that court Order.

Proceedings In The Court of Appeals

On June 30, 2009, with a Dissent from Judge

Consuelo Callahan, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit issued a Memorandum which granted

Hawaiian Airlines’ appeal of the district court’s Order

to Vacate. Jurisdiction was under 18 USC §§ 1337. In

the 2-1 majority decision, the Appeals Court opined

that, in order to determine whether the arbitrator

had violated the scope of his jurisdiction, the district

court was required to “interpret” the Collective

Bargaining Agreement, concerning what the CBA

required that Captain Konop was to be timely

provided with regard to the written statement of “the

precise charge or charges” he faced. There was no

dispute that, before being brought into a prerequisite

company investigative hearing, and prior to a

required company written decision in the case, a

written company Statement of Charges (“SOC”) was

to be provided, and that certain time limits had been

specified for each of these procedural steps.

The full appeals court panel, however, agreed to

deny Captain Konop’s cross-appeal of the fact that

the district court’s Order to Vacate had mistakenly

been too narrow. Therein, Captain Konop noted that

the arbitration award should also have been vacated

12.

where it was issued in “manifest disregard of the

law,” and where it showed that the arbitrator had

wrongly “dispensed his own brand of industrial

justice.” Captain Konop further noted that the issue

of “fraud and corruption” in the case, as would also

justify vacatur, had only first become evident after

the district court issued its Order to Vacate.

In contrast to the majority view, Judge Callahan’s

Dissent concluded that the arbitrator had exceeded

his jurisdiction when he considered and relied on

“matters” which had not first been provided in the

SOC, nor been subjected to the required company

hearing and written decision. In fact, the company

written decision had also been “precise,” but did not

include “matters” upon which the district court

concluded that the arbitrator had considered and

relied. The Dissent, however, did not detail how this

particular shortfall also adversely impacted the

contract’s plain language requirement for a company

hearing on the charges, or the mandate that there

also be a written company decision on their “precise”

charges. In fact, neither the majority opinion, nor the

Dissent, discussed the fact that Hawaiian had

provided a precise Statement of Charges, and a

written decision, which were effectively abandoned at

the arbitration hearing.

Ina 2-1 vote, on September 11, 2009, the Appeals

Court panel denied Captain Konop’s Petition for

Panel Rehearing. Further, no judge of the court

requested a vote concerning the concurrent Petition for

a Rehearing En Banc.

-13-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Appeals Court majority created a conflict in

how the various circuits now view the issue of arbitral

jurisdiction. Though rare, the lack jurisdiction has

been the most common basis for courts to vacate

arbitration awards. At the same time, there is still

no circumstance in which an arbitrator is allowed to

simply “dispense his own brand of industrial justice.”

Thus, in this case, it was not necessary for the

district court to consider the arbitrator’s ethical

violations to conclude that the arbitrator had

breached the limits of his authority. This violation

took place when the arbitrator’s actions were contrary

to the plain language limits of the contract (App. pp

53a & 56a), lacked justification in industrial common

law (App. pp. 66a-76a), and when the arbitrator did

not undertake any query into the intent of the parties

with regard to the allowable due process limits of

“Just Cause” for a pilot's job termination.

L. The Review of Jurisdictional Breaches by

Arbitrators is Within the Proper Purview

of the Courts:

In reversing the district court’s Order to Vacate,

the appeals court majority ignored the requirement

that an arbitrator must operate within the plain

language limits of his jurisdiction. In taking its

action the appeals majority, first, mistakenly

assumed an ambiguity in the CBA’s requirement for

a “precise statement of the charge or charges” against

Captain Konop. Second, the panel majority wrongly

Rte

surmised that the word “precise” might be viewed

differently in the context of the labor agreement than

in the real world, rather than to apply it as Hawaiian

itself had done, providing Captain Konop with a

“precise” pre-discharge statement of charges, then a

written company decision on those’ charges.

(Hawaiian, however, later effectively abandoned

those charges at the arbitration hearing.) Third, the

appeals majority created a conflict with the law, and

with the other circuits, when the arbitration award

did not comply with the clear limits of the

arbitrator's jurisdiction, and did not draw “its

essence from the collective bargaining agreement.”

“|A]n arbitrator is confined to interpretation

and application of the collective bargaining

agreement; he does not sit to dispense his

own brand of industrial justice. He may

of course look for guidance from many

sources, yet his award is legitimate only

so long as it draws its essence from the

collective bargaining agreement.”

United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel &

Car Corp, 363 U.S. 593, 597 (1960) (emphasis added)

The only issue submitted for the arbitrator's

review was whether or not Hawailian’s stated charges

demonstrated “Just Cause” to terminate Captain

Robert Konop on the basis of his lawful conduct off

the job and away from the workplace. The grievance

was brought to the Hawaiian System Board based

on: 1) Hawalian’s precise Statement of Charges

» De

against Captain Konop; 2) in light of the completion

of the required company hearing on those charges,

and; 3) in opposition to the written decision on the

precise charges which Hawaiian described and enum-

erated, as contractually required, shortly after the

completion of the company hearing. App. p. 57a-59a.

Over multiple objections, however, at the hearing

before Arbitrator James Scearce and the Hawaiian

System Board, the arbitrator allowed Hawaiian to

raise entirely new allegations against Captain

Konop. The contract prohibited any such expansion of

charges under several plain language provisions. The

long established requirements of labor common law

also unequivocally mandated the reversal of any

company discharge under the circumstances present

in thiscase. App pp. 66a-76a.’

In fact. as the district court noted, and as the

Hawatian did not object to, supplement, or disagree

with this case submission to the System Board

‘he “Seven Tests,” developed by arbitrator Carrol

KR. Daugherty, is the most common reference in the

industrial cormmon law for termination “just cause.”

It has been adopted by the National Academy of

Arvitrators, the American Arbitration Association,

and the American Bar Association. App. pp. 68a

76a (See: Enterprise Wire Co., 46 LA 359, Daugherty

(1966); Moore's Seafood Products, Inc., 50 LA 83,

Daugherty (1968)). A “no” answer to any one of the

seven provided questions signifies that “just cause”

for a termination did not exist. In this case, all of

the seven questions had a “NO” answer. See Also

Just Cause The Seven Tests, Koven and Smith,

Third Edition, BNA Books, 2006

~16-

Dissent agreed, in reaching the decision to sustain

Hawaiian’s termination, the arbitrator considered

and relied on matters which had not been a part of

Hawaiian’s SOC, and had not been subject to a

company hearing. Thus, those new charges were also

NOT a part of Hawaiian’s required written decision

in the matter, and the arbitrator ignored the limits of

his authority. In fact, under these circumstances, the

jurisdictional default in the CBA required that

Captain Konop’s “position shall be sustained, and

the relief requested shall be granted.” App. p. 54a.

Hawalian’s written decision had precisely ruled

that Captain Konop was guilty of “numerous falsifi-

cations and acts of dishonesty.” (Excerpts of Record,

Tab 27)' The arbitrator, however, simply ignored

these assertions, and this justification for termina-

tion, when the charges could not be proven by

Hawaiian at the hearing. As the district court noted,

the arbitrator then considered and_ relied on

“matters” which were not properly before the System

Board, where they were not in either the SOC or in

Hawalian’s own written decision, and they had not

been submitted for review. App. p. 55a. The district

court noted that the CBA was unambiguous:

“No matter shall be considered by the

Board that has not first been handled in

accordance with the provisions of

These materials were supplied to the Court of

Appeals as a part of the required Excerpts of Record,

as had been in the record presented to the district

court as part of the original Petition to Vacate.

«27.

Section 16 (Grievances) and a decision

thereon by the Company.”

App. p. 56a; CBA Section 17(D)(2)

The appeals panel majority, instead, mistakenly

focused on the fact that the arbitrator had failed to

act on the basis of the “precise charge or charges”

which were before him. The majority reversed the

district court reasoning that use of the word “precise”

was imprecise, while that word might also be

interpreted’ as requiring something different than the

actual “precise” written statement of charges which

Hawaiian had originally provided, as was the

airlines’ apparent understanding of the CBA and the

“intent of the parties.” However, the arbitration

award never mentioned the “precision” of the charges,

any lack thereof, or even hinted that any definition

played a factor in the arbitrator’s considerations.

“(Wjhere an arbitrator fails to discuss a probative

contract term, and at the same time offers no clear

basis for how he construed the contract to reach his

decision without such consideration, there arises a

strong possibility that the award was not based on

the contract." George A. Hormel & Co. v. United Food

& Commercial Workers, Local 9, 879 F.2d 347, 351

(8th Cir.1989). “[A court] may reverse an arbitral

decision as in excess of a board's jurisdiction only

where the arbitration board's order ‘does not draw its

essence from the collective bargaining agreement,' "

Norfolk and Western Katlway Co. v. Transportation

Communications International Union, 17 F.3d 696,

~ 18.

701 (4th Cir. 1994), quoting; W.R. Grace v. United

Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 764 (1988).

It was only the panel majority, however, who

somehow discerned ambiguity in the contractual use

of the word “precise.” There was no inquiry, briefing,

or evidence offered in this regard at the arbitration or

on appeal. In such circumstances, by contrast, the

Eighth Circuit requires that, where there is an

“ambiguous provision,” the arbitrator’s failure to

seek “the parties’ guidance as to its intent” requires

vacatur where an award under such circumstances

would constitute the arbitrator having “dispensed his

own brand of industrial justice, and his award cannot

be said to draw its essence from the collective

bargaining agreement.” IJnternational Woodworkers v.

Weyerhaeuser, Co., 7 F.3d 133, 136-137 (&th Cir.

1993). “Determining the intent of the parties is the

essential inquiry.” CSX Transportation, Inc. v. United

Transportation Union, 29 F.3d 931, 936 (4th Cir.

1994), quoting; Local 1199, Hospital & Health Care

Employees Union, etc. v. Brooks Drug Co., 956 F.2d 22,

25 (2nd Cir.1992), and; Loveless v. Eastern Air Lines,

Inc., 681 F.2d 1272, 1279 (11th Cir. 1982).

If an interpretation of the word “precise” had been

necessary, as the panel majority discerned, that lack

of review also constituted a violation of the arbitra-

tors authority as defined by the Fourth Circuit.

"Where, as here, the arbitrator fails to discuss

critical contract terminology, which terminology

might reasonably require an opposite result, the

award cannot be considered to draw its essence from

« Ste

the contract." Clinchfield Coal Co. v. Dist. 28, United

Mine Workers, 720 F.2d 1365, 1369 (4th Cir.1983).

Although an arbitrator’s award is due great

deference, that respect is not without its limits.

“[Fjederal courts have repeatedly vacated arbitral

awards that failed to discuss probative terms.” Boise

Cascade, Corp. v. Paper Allied-Industrial, Chemical

and Energy Workers, 309 F.3d 1075, n. 9 (8th Cir.

2002), referencing; Champion International Corp. v.

United Paperworkers International Union, 168 F.3d

725, 731 (4th Cir.1999) (An arbitrator's failure to

address certain contractual provisions was "evidence

of a basic abdication of [his] duty to apply the

contract that governs the grievance"). In fact, the

Ninth Circuit’s majority here has effectively rejected

the Dissent, and the differing view of the Eighth

Circuit. In this regard, conflict now arises where the

applicable corollary holds that “[t]he arbitrator did

not have the authority to alter the agreement by

interpreting unambiguous language in a way contrary

to its plain meaning.” Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of St.

Louis v. Teamsters Local Union No. 688, 959 F.2d

1438, 1442 (8th Cir.1992).

If, indeed, a question of the violation arbitral

jurisdiction turns on a deferral to an arbitrator's

“interpretation” of the word “precise,” which defini-

tion the Dissent found to be unequivocal when read in

conjunction with the plain language restrictions of the

CBA (App. pp. 6a-7a), the Ninth Circuit would now

necessarily defer all review of arbitral jurisdiction

issues back to the arbitrator himself. This does not

- 20 -

jibe with the requirements of the law, or any mean-

ingful application. In fact, this new deference not only

defeats the intent and purposes of the law, regardless

of how narrow the scope of court review is allowed,

but it is contrary to the views of virtually all of the

other circuits, and contrary to the prior directions of

the Court. It is for this reason that the Court should

exercise its supervisory discretion in this case, to

resolve this growing split between the circuits, and to

clarify the Court’s intentions with regard to any

necessary limits for judicia] review of jurisdictional

violations by arbitrators.

IT. Title II of the RLA Specifically Excepts

Air Carriers from the Exceedingly Narrow

Scope of Judicial Review Set Forth in RLA

Title I (45 U.S.C. §§ 153(p) and (q)), Where

Airline Arbitrations Are Not Provided the

Review and Appeal Mechanisms of the

National Railway Adjustment Board.

Both the district court and the Court of Appeals

rejected review of this arbitration case beyond the

issue of jurisdiction. The courts paid no attention to

the arbitrator’s “serious and inexcusable” breach of

professional ethics, his “inexcusable violation of

fundamental fairness,” or Arbitrator Scearce’s

complete “insensitivity to the requirements of

ordinary due process.” App. 65a. Although judicial

review of arbitration cases is exceptionally narrow,

the award in this case should also have been vacated

where Hawaiian, and the arbitration panel, failed in

o Bi a.

the most basic requirements of ordinary due process.

While other circuits recognize a slightly broader

scope of judicial review for airline arbitrations, and

that a breach of due process or basic fairness also

exceeds an arbitration panel’s jurisdiction, judges in

the Ninth Circuit are strictly constrained by circuit

case law, in airline arbitration cases, to review only

on the basis of those specific factors set forth within

45 U.S.C. § 153(p) and (q). Singer v. Flying Tiger

Line, 652 F.2d 1349, 1355-6 (9th Cir 1981)

(Concluding that the standard for judicial review for

arbitration decisions, as applicable to the National

Railroad Adjustment Board, are also applicable to

airlines). App. 12a. This rigid limitation, however,

neither reflects RLA Title Il’s specific airline excep-

tion, nor is it consistent with several of the other

circuits. There is, however, a reason for this conflict.

First, where airline arbitration cases arise under

RLA Title IJ (45 U.S.C. § 181 et seq.), the law

provides a specific exception to the applicability of

the review standards set forth in RLA Title I:

“All of the provisions of subchapter I of this

chapter except section 153 of this title are

extended to and shall cover every common

carrier by air engaged in interstate or foreign

commerce, and every carrier by air transport-

ing mail for or under contract with the United

States Government, and every air pilot or

other person who performs any work as an

employee or subordinate official of such

- 22-

carrier or carriers * * *.”

45 U.S.C. § 181 (emphasis added). App. p. 51a.

When examined in context, this exception has a

clear and specific foundation. Cases arising under

the purview of the National Railroad Adjustment

Board have at least three, and in some cases more,

layers of available-review and appeal! before they can

be brought to the courts. There is no similar review

hierarchy for airlines, or for any other industry.

In this regard, the National Railroad Adjustment

Board is a permanent adjudicative body with a

permanent staff. Beyond the system, group, or

regional Boards of Adjustment which airlines might

form, railroads have the benefit of non-judicial

appeal and review through the four permanent

Divisions of the NRAB, and even to the full NRAB

itself. The issues of “fundamental fairness” and

“basic due process” are, thus, already subject to

significant scrutiny. At the same time, with all these

layers of available review, ethical breaches would be

much less likely.

A railroad employee grievance, in contrast to that

of an airline employee, has a well established path

for review through a number of appeal layers.

Depending on a particular agreement, railroads and

employees may first proceed to a System or Group

Board of Adjustment (as for this case), then to the

Regional Board of Adjustment, and/or to one of the

permanent Divisions of the National Railroad

Adjustment Board, then even to the full National

o 22 eo

Railroad Adjustment Board. As a practical point,

“[tlhe NRAB is essentially an appellate tribunal.”

How Arbitration Works, Elikouri and Elikoun, 6th

edition, p. 165, note 105, BNA Books, Washington

D.C., 2003. There is no comparable mechanism

available to the airline industry.

Thus, where a particular grievance under 45 USC

§ 153 already has the benefit of a substantial review

and appeal mechanism, beyond the designation of a

single review panel, or arbitrator, there is little

justification for further court review of railroad cases

beyond those exceptionally limited circumstances

defined for the courts under RLA Title 1(45 U.S.C. §

153(p) and(q)). In contrast, under the law, airlines

are actually treated as is any other party to an

arbitration. Court review is narrow, but slightly

greater than that which is defined for railroads under

RLA Title I. However, in this case, even under that

most limited scope of review, the district court was

compelled to vacate the award of the Hawaliian

System Board. Arbitrator Scearce exceeded the scope

of his plain language authority, going outside the

explicit limits of the labor agreement. Nonetheless, a

slightly broader scope of review would have provided

even more reasons for vacatur. See: App. p. 38a.

Oddly, the reasons underlying the application of

the most limited scope of review under RLA § 153, to

airlines, first arose from the Fighth Circuit, rather

than from this Court’s seminal decision § in

International Association of Machinists v. North

Central Airlines, 372 U.S. 682 (1963). In referencing

o 24.

the Court’s determination of the intent that “airline

system board awards would ‘have legal effect, not

merely that of private advice,” in Hunt v. Northwest

Airlines, Inc., 600 F.2d 176, 178 (8th Cir. 1979), the

Eighth Circuit’s panel took a leap of logic. Under the

Eighth Circuit’s assumptions, not only would airline

arbitration awards be subject to court review, as the

Court found was the Congressional intent in

Machinists, supra, but court review for airlines would

also be limited to the exceptionally narrow reasons

set out in 45 U.S.C. § 153 for railroads, rather than

the standard set for arbitration cases in general.

United Paperworkers v. Misco, supra at 38. This was

contrary to the specific statutory exception, and it

was without meaningful explanation by the Eighth

Circuit beyond referencing Machinists, supra.

Thereafter, the Ninth Circuit, and other of the

circuits, adopted the Eighth Circuit’s conclusion,

without examination of the apparent leap of logic

contained there, and without examining the statutory

exception or the practical reasons for such exception.

In fact, while the Ninth Circuit has strictly applied

the most limited scope of review for airlines, which

the Eighth Circuit first adopted in Hunt v. Northwest,

supra, the Eighth Circuit, in fact, had actually taken

a slightly more relaxed view.

In Hunt, the Eighth Circuit instead recognized the

existence of a less stringent standard of review for

airlines, noting the propriety of vacatur “where there

has been a denial of due process ‘By some conduct of

the * * * Board,” citing , Edwards v. St. Louis-San

- 25.

Francisco Railroad, 361 F.2d 946, 953 (7th Cir. 1966)

(A Board’s denial of due process provides the courts

with authority for the review of an arbitration award,

citing; D'Elia v. New York, New Haven & Hartford R.

Co., 230 F.Supp. 912 (D. Conn.1964), aff'd 338 F.2d

701 (2nd Cir. 1964); Hornsby v. Dobard, 291 F.2d 483

(5th Cir. 1961); Ellerd v. Southern Pacific Railroad

Co., 241 F.2d 541 (7th Cir. 1957); Barnett ov.

Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines, 245 F.2d 579.

(3rd Cir. 1957); Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v.

Templeton, 181 F.2d 527 (8th Cur. 1950), and;

Edwards v. Capital Airlines, Inc., 176 F.2d 755 (D.C.

Cir. 1949), cert. denied; 338 U.S. 885 (1949)).

By the same token, the Seventh Circuit has also

recognized that its review of airline arbitration cases

is not strictly limited under the terms 45 U.S.C. §

153(q). In Pokuta v. Trans World Airlines, 191 F.3d

834, 839 (7th Cir. 1999), the court noted that, while

the review of airline arbitration cases is extremely

limited, that court undertakes a slightly broader

review, including when an arbitration board denies

“due process,” as is the situation in the present case.

“(Wje have recognized a fourth category of

objections that supply jurisdiction over the

award -- an allegation that a party was

denied due process. E.g., Bates v. Baltimore &

Ohio R.R. Co., 9 F.3d 29, 31 (7th Cir. 1993);

‘Morin v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 810 F.2d

720, 722 (7th Cir. 1987) (per curiam).”

Id

° 26 -

The Tenth Circuit, however, has taken a position

similar to that of the Ninth Circuit in Singer v. Flying

Tiger Line, supra. The 10th Circuit notes that

“statutory restrictions on judicial review of these

decisions are to be strictly enforced.” Chernak v.

Southwest Airlines, 778 F.2d 578, 580 (10th Cir.

1985). In fact, the Tenth Circuit even seems to have

gone one step further, as the Ninth Circuit majority

did in the present case, leaving the interpretation’ of

jurisdiction solely to the arbitrator, regardless of the

plain language. However, the Tenth Circuit failed to

reconcile its view in this regard with the prior

direction of the Court, which would require that

federal courts review the issue of jurisdiction, just as

even the strictest standard of review under RLA Title

I directs. In fact, the Tenth Circuit did not acknow-

ledge that the question of arbitral jurisdiction and

arbitrability is one which is left to the courts.

A.T.&T. Technologies, Inc. v. Communications Workers

of America, 475 U.S. 643, 656 (1986).

The Third Circuit has also questioned the strict

applicability of 45 U.S.C. § 153 to airlines. Without

deciding the issue of the applicable ‘Standard of

Review,’ in Hart v. Overseas National Airways, Inc.,

the court noted that “there is a serious question as to

whether the entire § 153 applies to the airline

industry.” (541 F.2d 386, 392 n.15 (3rd Cir. 1976)).

In fact, under the terms of 45 U.S.C. § 181 it

specifically DOES NOT apply. The Third Circuit then

went on to note that in Machinists v. Central Airlines

(supra), the Court had indicated “that the arbitration

provisions of § 153 were nevertheless to be utilized by

analogy in airline disputes.” /d (emphasis added).

Machinists, however, only discussed the propriety

of court review of arbitration awards, where the issue

there had been a district court’s dismissal of an

airline arbitration review case for “lack of juris-

diction.” Thus, where RLA Title lJ did not specifically

provide for court review in airline arbitration cases,

in Machinists the Court noted that such review was

necessary just as it was for railroad cases, whether

that necessity arose under the ALA itself, or under

some more gencral authority of the federal courts (i.e.

28 U.S.C. § 1337).

In fact, the Third Circuit has long held that in its

review of airline arbitration awards, the court would

consider “questions of jurisdiction or of the essential

fairness of the administrative proceeding” before an

airline System Board. Bower v. Eastern Airlines, Inc.,

214 F.2d 623, 626 (3rd Cir. 1954). The Third Circuit

later restated this as a requirement for “a full and

fair hearing” requiring the arbitration panel to have

“exercised its honest judgment in reaching its

conclusions and decisions on the full record.” Hart v

Overseas National Airways, supra at 392-393.

With regard to airline arbitrations, even the Fifth

Circuit has stated its similar view, that a System

Board’s denial of due process has long been a proper

basis to vacate an arbitration award. Giordano uv.

Modern Air Transport, et al, 504 F.2d 882, 883 (5th

Cir. 1974) (A court can reverse a System Board

- 28.

“where there is a denial of due process”). In fact, the

Fifth Circuit has also noted its view that “[a] federal

court does have power to set aside |ja System] Board’s

determination where there is a fundamental absence

of due process.” Wells v. Southern Airways, 517 F.2d

132, 133, (5th Cir. 1975). The D.C. Circuit has taken

this a step further, however, defining even a “mistake

of fact” by a System Board as potentially rendering

an arbitration award as reviewable by the courts.

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Association

International, 530 F.2d 1048, 1050 (D.C. Cir. 1976)

(The courts have “both the power and duty to refuse

to enforce [an] award” predicated on a dispositive

“mistake of fact.”). The D.C. Circuit’s view in this

regard, however, is more of an aberration, but still in

conflict with this case, and with the other circuits.

Naturally, where Congress established the semi-

public review and appeal hierarchy as a function of

the NRAB, for the railroad industry, there is no

meaningful need for the slightly broader court review

as might be available to other arbitration cases, in

general, or to arbitration cases which might also

arise under the Federal Arbitration Act (9 U.S.C. §§ 1

et seq.). In fact, in view of this lack of NRAB

oversight and review for airlines, Congress quite

properly excepted airlines from the most extreme

standard of court review which RLA_ Title I

established for NRAB originated cases.

Of course, where arbitration review arises in the

context of an issue of procedural or substantive due

process, it is impossible to conclude such violations as

29

having been allowable within the intent of any

agreement. ‘Thus, arbitration awards which are

issued in violation of due process. standards,

especially as defined by contract or common law, have

also been an issue of varying review standards by the

different circuits. Most circuits have decisions which

reference due process requirements 1n some form.

As example, in Pokuta v. Trans World Airlines,

supra at 839, the Seventh Circuit was clear that the

denial of due process properly fell into its review

authority. In fact, it was the deniai of due process

which the Eighth Circuit also noted as an exception

for its own very strict standard of review in Hunt uv.

Northwest Airlines, supra at 179. The Fifth Circuit

has also espoused a similar view of due process as a

requirement, where a violation would subject an

arbitration decision to review and vacatur. See: Hall

v. Kastern Airlines, 511 F.2d 663 (5th Cir. 1975), and:

Rosen v. HKastern Airlines, 400 F.2d 462 (5th Cir

1968), cert. demed; 394 U.S. 959 (1969)

In Captain Konop’s case, to a certain extent, the

issues of jurisdiction and due process intersected at

several junctures. Although, during the oral argu-

ment before the Ninth Circuit’s panel, Judge

Callahan noted the due process issues which had

arisen in relation to some of the misconduct of the

Hawaiian System Board, she was constrained by

circuit precedent in Singer v. Flying Tiger (supra), to

limit her reasoning, in support of the district court's

Order to Vacate, to the narrow issue of jurisdiction

alone. Judge Callahan noted that the System Board

- $0.

lacked authority to act on “matters” which had not

first been handled in accordance with the grievance

procedures of the labor agreement. See: App. p. 38a

As several of the circuits have recognized, whether

or not airlines are subject to the extremely limited

standard of review set for railroads, the issue of

jurisdiction, even under the strictest standard of

review, encompasses a question of due process. More

important is the fact that, contrary to the Ninth

Circuit majority's opinion, “review is not toothless

when an arbitrator’s award disregards the collective

bargaining agreement and its terms.” Beacon

Journal Publishing Co v. Akron Newspaper Guild, 114

F.3d 596, 599 (6th Cir. 1997).

Thus, it has now become important for the Court

to clarify its intent, as discussed in Machinists’ v.

Central Airlines (supra), with respect to the

“analogous” handling of airline disputes, as RLA Title

I specifies for railroads. Given the existence and

function of the NRAB, as a appeal and review body, it

is difficult to reconcile applying the most restrictive

standard of review, under RLA Title [, to airlines

which are subject to a specific statutory exception

from such application under RLA Title Lf (45 USC §

181). The reasons for the different railroad standard

is otherwise quite clear. However, an arbitrator is

not allowed to simply “dispense his own brand of

industrial justice” under any circumstance. United

Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel & Car

Corp., supra 597. Given the growing conflicts, the

Court’s guidance on this issue has become necessary.

.

Review Will Provide Needed Clarification

of the Limited Role of the Courts in

Railway Labor Act Arbitration Cases, and

of the Necessity for Arbitrators to Adhere

to the Plain Language Limits of Their

Authority

In Machinists v. Central Airlines (supra), the Court

definitively settled that the judiciary primarily plays

a supervisory role in the review and enforcement of

airline arbitration awards under Title IJ of the RLA

(45 U.S.C. §§ 181 et seq.). However, there has been

conflict and confusion among the circuits concerning

both the nature of that limited review, and of the

necessity for arbitration panels to act within the

defined limits of their contractual authority. Misco,

supra at 38. Some courts, now including the Ninth

Circuit, entirely defer to the arbitrator, even to the

extent of declining review of plain language juris-

dictional violations, as occurred in this case.

The Ninth Circuit majority essentially held that

even the review of the plain language limits of a

arbitrator’s authority should be left solely to the

arbitrator. App. pp. 2a-3a. That was Hawaiian

Airlines’ central position in its appeal. Thus,

Hawanian’s self-serving viewpoint has now been

adopted by the panel majority, where there was

supposedly no_ specific contractual definition

providing the explicit intent of the phrase “precise

charge or charges,” as was incorporated by the labor

contract in terms of the due process notice which was

to be provided to Captain Robert Konop.

- 32 -

The Dissent, however, found no ambiguity in the

precision required of any charges, nor did the district

court. Hawaiian was not free to simply abandon the

precise charges it had provided for something more

likely to gain the arbitrator’s sympathy. However,

the panel majority not only disregarded what the

NAA termed the arbitrator’s “insensitivity to the

requirements for ordinary due process,” and an

“inexcusable violation of fundamental fairness” (App.

p. 58a), but they also ignored contrary case law. For

example, if there had indeed been any contract

ambiguity, the Eighth Circuit holds that, given the

arbitrator’s failure to seek input from the parties as

to their “intent,” or their “past practices,” any

resultant decision “cannot be said to draw its essence

from the collective bargaining agreement” and, thus,

was given outside the scope of the arbitrator’s

authority. Boise Cascade, supra at 1080. At the

same time, “[i]n construing the collective bargaining

agreement, however, the arbitrator must take into

account any existing common law * * * for it is an

integral part of the contract.” Norfolk Shipbuilding v.

International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, 671 F.2d

797, 800 (4th Cir. 1982). App. 66a-76a.

It was undisputed that Hawaiian provided

Captain Konop with a pre-termination Statement of

Charges, including the “precise charges” which had

been subject to the required pre discharge company

hearing and written decision. However, the arbi-

trator did not act on those charges, instead relying on

new charges, raised for the first time at the

- F

arbitration hearing. Moreover, it was not necessary

to interpret’ any contract provision, concerning the

definition of “precise charge,” when the arbitrator

considered and relied on charges which were not even

arguably incorporated into the broader rules

originally cited by Hawaiian as a part of its

Statement of Charges. However, it is also wholly

irrelevant that all this was simply a pretext for the

purposes of eliminating Captain Konop as a leader in

the opposition to ratification of a concessionary labor

contract by Hawalian’s pilots.

As an example of how far afield the arbitrator

traveled in Hawaiian’s behalf, there was nothing in

Hawaiian’s charges which faulted Captain Konop for

a shortfall in “due diligence,” which the arbitrator

concluded in relation to the plan of reorganization

which Captain Konop and most of Hawauian’s other

pilots supported. App. 14a-17a. At the same time,

Hawaiian had never previously alleged that the

initial financing proposed for the employee alterna-

ive plan had been through a financial institution

with “mob ties,” as the arbitrator referenced in his

award and in his discussion of “due diligence.” App.

43a. Beyond that, where Hawaiian had accused

Captain Konop of intentional misstatements, there

was nothing in Hawaian’s charges which asserted

that he might also be held culpable for all internet

posts on the hawalianpilots.com website, regardless

of the lack of dispute that a single, cited erroneous

posting had not been made by Captain Konop, as

Hawaiian had originally alleged. App. 44a.

-34-

It was the panel Dissent, and the district court,

which followed the law most faithfully. Nothing in

the Court’s admonitions in Enterprise Wheel & Car

(supra) conflicts in any way with the review standard

established for arbitration cases which arise under

the Railway Labor Act, whether it be for railroads

under RLA Title J or for airlines under RLA Title II.

In all cases, an arbitrator is not free to “dispense his

own brand of industrial justice.” Further, “[t]he

arbitrator [wa]s not free to ignore the plain language

of the contract.” Misco, supra 38. Thus, the district

court’s Order to Vacate was properly given in line with

even the most restrictive possible standard of review.

In Gilmer vv. Interstate/Johnson, the Court

recognized that arbitration is not designed to be a

perfect system of justice. Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson

Lane Corp.,500 U.S. 20, 31 (1991) (“[A] party ‘trades

the procedures and opportunity for review of the

courtroom for the simplicity, informality, and

expedition of arbitration” quoting; Mitsubishi Motors,

Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614,

628 (1985)). However, the fundamental expectation

in every arbitration agreement is that the arbitrator

will act ethically, within the bounds of his defined

authority, and that the ultimate award “draws its

essence from the collective bargaining agreement.”

Enterprise Wheel & Car, supra 597. None of that

occurred in this case.

No intent has ever been stated, either in the

Congressional Record, or in the decisions of the

Court, that airline employees were somehow expected

. 35-

to bear any particularly different or more onerous

burden with respect to arbitration. An arbitrator’s

violation of the plain language limits of his

jurisdiction, his “inexcusable violation of funda-

mental fairness,” his total “insensitivity to the

requirements of ordinary due process,” and his

“serious and inexcusable” ethical breaches, do not fall

within the contemplations of any arbitration

agreement. App. 63a-65a. Thus, the appeals panel

majority erroneously reversed the district court, both

under the most restrictive standard set in RLA Title

I, and even more so under the slightly broader scope

of review which most of the other circuits have

defined in reference to the Steelworkers trilogy. °

The views of the appeals panel majority, in

adopting Hawaiian’s appeal premise, would have far

reaching adverse consequences, and not just in terms

of a lack of fairness which the Dissent noted. App. 7a.

* Theodore J. St. Antoine, Professor Emeritus and

former dean of the Michigan School of Law, was a

member of the NAA Tribunal which Censured the

arbitrator. App. 65a. Professor St. Antoine is an

expert on the Steelworkers Trilogy, and is regularly

cited by the courts concerning the role of arbitrators.

i.e. American Postal Workers Union v. U.S. Postal

Service, 789 F.2d 1, 6-7 (D.C. Cir. 1986); Cole uv.

Burns International Security Services, 105 F.3d

1465 (D.C. Cir. 1997); Judicial Review of Labor

Arbitration Awards, 75 Mich. L.Rev. 1137 (1977).

* Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960);

United Steelworkers v. American Manufacturing Co.

363 U.S. 564 (1960); United Steelworkers v. Warrior

& Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960).

- 36-

As was the case with arbitrator Scearce, and as was

implied by the National Academy of Arbitrators’ in

its Censure, the panel majority would do little beyond

encouraging a more cavalier and haphazard attitude

with respect to arbitral decision making. This is a

situation which would only detract from the Railway

Labor Act’s clear and fundamental purposes. It would

also upset the goal of relative consistency and

simplicity in the process of judicial review.

CONCLUSION

Thus, this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should

be granted to resolve the growing conflict between the

circuits. It should also be granted for those reasons

cited in the Dissent of Appeals Court Judge Callahan

(App. 5a-7a), as was given in support of the district

court’s Order to Vacate (App. 8a-39a). An arbitrator

“is not free to ignore the plain language of a contract.”

Enterprise Wheel & Car, supra at 597. By the same

token, an arbitrator is not free to “dispense his own

brand of industrial justice.” United Paperworkers v.

Misco, supra at 38.

Respectfully submitted,

DATED: December 1, 2009

Robert C. Konop

8601 Falmouth #406

Playa del Rey, California 90293

(310) 305-2837

Petitioner

- App. la -

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT C. KONOP, ! No. 08-55248

Petitioner - Appellee, | D.C. No. ev-06-4426-

| CBM

Vv. |

| Central District of

HAWALIAN AIRLINES, INC.,! California, Los

Respondent - Appellant. | Angeles

_|

MEMORANDUM

ROBERT C. KONOP, 1 No. 08-55248

Petitioner - Appellant, | D.C. No. cv-06-4426-

| CBM

Vv. |

| Central District of

HAWAIIAN AIRLINES, INC.,! California, Los

Respondent - Appellee. | Angeles

|

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Consuelo B. Marshall, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted April 17, 2009

‘This disposition is not appropriate for publication

and is not precedent except as provided by 9th Cir.

R. 36-3.

- App. 2a -

Pasadena, California

Before: SILVERMAN and CALLAHAN, Circuit

Judges, and QUIST,” District Judge.

Appellant/Cross-Appellee Hawaiian Airlines,

Inc. ("Hawaiian") appeals the district court's order

vacating an award by the Hawaiian Airlines System

Board of Adjustment (the "Board") affirming

Hawaiian's discharge of Appellee/Cross-Appellant

Robert C. Konop ("Konop"). Konop cross-appeals the

district court's denial of his alternative grounds for

vacating the award. We have jurisdiction pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1291, and we reverse that portion of the

district court's order vacating the Board's award,

affirm in all other respects, and remand for entry of

judgment confirming the Board's award.

The district court correctly recognized that the

required notice of "the precise charge or charges" to

the employee limits the Board's authority to decide

disputes. The district court erred, however, by

equating "charges" with "facts" or "evidence." The

CBA leaves open what constitutes or suffices as a

charge. It does not define a charge, nor does it specify

what information, or degree of factual detail, if any, is

required. Cf Fed. Express Corp. v. Holowecki, 128 8.

Ct. 1147, 1154 (2008) ("Even with the aid of

The Honorable Gordon J. Quist, United States District

Judge for the Western District of Michigan, sitting

by designation.

- App. 3a -

regulations the meaning of charge {as used in the

ADEA] remains unclear .... "). While the charge must

be "precise," this might be merely the difference

between a general allegation that the employee's

conduct violated the House Rules and an allegation

that the employee violated a particular House Rule.

In light of this ambiguity and lack of specific guidance

from the CBA, the sufficiency and scope of the

charges were properly left to the Board's

interpretation. Desert Palace, Inc. v. Local Joint

Executive Bd. of Las Vegas, 679 F.2d 789, 792 (9th

Cir. 1982). Because the Board's consideration of facts

not specifically alleged in the Statement of Charges

did not conflict with any express provision of the

CBA, the district court should not have substituted

its judgment for the Board's. W.R. Grace & Co. v.

Local Union 759, Int'l union of United Rubber, Cork,

Linoleum & Plastic Workers of Am., 461 U.S. 757,

765, 103 C. St. 2177, 2183 (1983) ("Because the

authority of arbitrators is a subject of collective

bargaining, just as is any other contractual provision,

the scope of the arbitrator's authority is itself a

question of contract interpretation that the parties

have delegated to the arbitrator."). While an

arbitrator may not ignore the plain language of the

contract in favor of “his own notions of industrial

justice," United Paperworkers Int'l Union v. Misco,

484 U.S. 29, 38,108 S. Ct. 364, 371 (1987), so long as

the arbitrator is even arguably construing the

contract, the reviewing court's view of the correctness

of the arbitrator's decision - whether factually or

legally flawed or even "silly" - is irrelevant. Major

- App. 4a -

League Baseball Players Ass'n v. Garvey, 532 U.S. 504,

509,121 S. Ct. 1724, 1728 (2001) ("[I]fan ‘arbitrator

is even arguably construing or applying the contract

and acting within the scope of his authority,’ the fact

that 'a court is convinced he committed serious error

does not suffice to overturn his decision. "’) (quoting L.

Assoc ‘d Coal Corp. v. Mine Workers, 531 U.S.

57,62,121 S. Ct. 462, 466 (2000)).

Il.

In Konop's cross-appeal, we affirm the issues

presented below for the reasons cited by the district

court. We decline to consider Konop's claim of fraud

and corruption as he failed to raise it before the

district court. See FSLIC v. Butler, 904 F .2d 505, 509

(9th Cir. 1990) ("As a general rule, an appellate court

will not consider arguments which were not first

raised before the district court, absent a showing of

exceptional circumstances."),

Each party shall bear its own costs.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART and

REMANDED.

FILED

June 30, 2009

Molly C. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

- App. 5a -

Konop v. Hawaiian Airlines, Inc.,

Nos. 08-55248 & 08-55314

June 24, 2009

FILED

June 30, 2009

Molly C. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

CALLAHAN, Circuit Judge, concurring and

dissenting:

I would affirm the district court's order in its

entirety. A decision by the Hawaiian Airlines System

Board of Adjustment (the "Board") is entitled to

considerable deference, see Rossi v. Trans World

Airlines, Inc., 507 F.2d 404, 405 (9th Cir. 1974),

including any plausible interpretation of the

underlying collective bargaining agreement ("CBA").

See Sprewell v. Golden State Warriors, 266 F.3d

979,986 (9th Cir. 2001). However, an award may be

unenforceable when the arbitrator "strays from

interpretation and application of the agreement and

effectively ‘dispense[s] his own brand of industrial

rr ‘

justice." Major League Baseball Players Ass 'n v.

Garvey, 532 U.S. 504, 509 (2001) (quoting United

Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel & Car

Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 597 (1960)). Moreover, an

arbitrator is bound to abide by the plain language of

a collective bargaining agreement that limits his

authority. United Puperworkers Int'l Union v. Misco,

Inc.. 484 U.S. 29, 38 (1987); Hawaii Teamsters and

- App. 6a -

Allied Workers Union, Local 996 v. United Parcel

Service, 241 F.3d 1177, 1181 (9th Cir. 2001) (holding

that an award does not draw its essence from the

CBA when the arbitrator ignores the plain language

of the agreement).

In this matter, the CBA grants the Board

authority to interpret the CBA. ("The Board shall

have jurisdiction over disputes ... growing ... out of

interpretation or application of any of the terms of

the [CBA]."). However, the CBA explicitly states

that "[b Jefore a pilot is ... discharged, such pilot shall

be notified in writing ... of the precise charge or

charges against him or her." On appeal, the Board

may not consider a "matter" that has not yet been

handled in accordance with the previous disciplinary

procedure, i.e. a statement of charges and hearing.

Here the Board interpreted "matter" broadly

to allow it to consider charges that had not been

included in the Statement of Charges ("SOC") filed

against Konop. A review of the applicable portions of

the CBA indicates that the Board's interpretation of

"matter" to mean anything besides specific instances

of misconduct charged in the SOC is contrary to the

clear purpose and intent of the parties as set forth in

the CBA. Thus, the Board's interpretation failed to

"draw its essence" from the CBA. When read in

conjunction with Section 16, which requires that the

precise charge or charges be set forth in the SOC, the

only "plausible" reading of the CBA requires that the

Board rely only on factual instances of misconduct set

App. 7a

forth in the SOC. Konop was entitled to rely on the

SOC to determine what actions he had to defend.

The scheme set forth in the CBA is disrupted

when Hawaiian Aijurlines ("HAL") is allowed to

advance new charges before the Board because this

deprives an employee of fair standards of notice and

renders him unprepared to defend new allegations

not set forth in the SOC.’ Indeed, Konop's attorney

made this objection at the hearing. Moreover, the

materials before this court suggest that neither HAL

nor at least one of the three arbitrators were

concerned with fairness. I would affirm the district

court's determination that the Board exceeded its

jurisdiction when it based its decision on charges

that had not been set forth in the SOC,

This is particularly true in this case because the

charges against Konop arosc out of his participation

in HAL's bankruptcy proceedings, not from his

performance of his duties as a pilot. Furthermore,

Konop's right to participate in HAL's bankruptcy

proceedings had been established in prior htigation

between the parties. Konop v. Hawaiian Airlines,

Inc., 302 F .3d 868, 883 (9th Cir. 2003). Although

the case was cited to the Board, it is not mentioned

in the Board's award

After the district court issued its decision in this

case one of HAL's attorneys sent an ex parte letter

to the arbitrators asking them to “clarify” their

award to avoid the impact of the district court's

opinion. One of the arbitrators responded with

such a clarification. The district court subsequently

found that this attempted clarification was outside

the Board's jurisdiction

- App. 8a -

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

WESTERN DIVISION

JS-6

FILED

Clerk, U.S. District Court

JAN 4, 2008

Central District of California

ROBERT C. KONOP, | No. 06-4426-CBM

Petitioner, |

| Order re Petition for

v. | Review and to

| Vacate an Award of

| the Hawaiian Airlines

| System Board of

_| Adjustment

HAWAIIAN AIRLINES, INC.

Respondent.

The matter before the Court, the Honorable

Consuelo B. Marshall, United States District Judge

presiding, 1s Petitioner Robert C. Konop's Petition for

Review and to Vacate an Award of the Hawaiian

Airlines System Board of Adjustment ("Petition" or

"Pet."). The Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1331 and 45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.

PROCEDURAL AND FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Pro Se Petitioner Robert C. Konop ("Konop" or

"Petitioner") was employed as a pilot by Defendant

- App. 9a -

Hawanan Ail$rlines, Inc. ("HAL") for approximately

twenty (20) years until his termination on Apru 20,

2005. Petitioner's employment was terminated while

HAL was attempting to emerge from bankruptcy

protection. HAL's stated reasons for the termination

related exclusively to Petitioner's participation in the

bankruptcy proceedings.

HAL pilots are represented by the Air Line

Pilots Association ("ALPA"), and the terms and

conditions of Petitioner's employment during his

tenure with the Airline were at all times governed by

a collective bargaining agreement ("CBA") between

HAL and the ALPA. Konop appealed his termination

witn the Hawaiian Airlines System Board of

Adjustment ("the Board"). Pursuant to the CBA, the

grievance was first submitted to a four member

System Board of Adjustment, consisting of two

members selected by the ALPA and two members

selected by HAL. When the four member Board

deadlocked, the grievance was submitted to a three

member arbitration Board consisting of a union-

preferred member, a management-preferred member,

and a neutral outside arbitrator. On or about April 7,

2006, the three member Board affirmed Konop's

termination by a 2-1 vote; the dissenting panel

member was the union-preferred arbitrator. Pet.,-r

116; System Board of Adjustment Award re

Grievance No. HAL-19-05DS ("Award") (attached as

Exh. A to the Petition).

On October 11, 2005, Petitioner brought an

action under the Railway Labor Act ("RLA") ‘alleging

- App. 10a -

the termination violated his rights as enumerated in

that statute. This Court dismissed the complaint

without prejudice for failure to state a claim and for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction. See Civil No. 05-

7298, Order dated June 27, 2006 at 2. The Court

explained that the proper method for attacking the

termination was through a petition to vacate the

arbitration award. Id. On July 14,2006, Konop filed

the instant Petition alleging various grounds for

vacating the Board's Award.

STANDARD OF LAW

The scope of judicial review of adjustment

board awards under the RLA is among the narrowest

known to the law. English v. Burlington Northern R.R.

Co., 18 F.3d 741,743 (9th Cir. 1994). The RLA limits

review of adjustment board decisions to three specific

grounds: (1) failure of the board to comply with the

RLA; (2) failure of the board to conform, or confine

itself to matters within its jurisdiction; and (3) fraud

or corruption. ld.; 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q); see also

Union Pac. R.R. Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89,93

(1978). The findings and order of the adjustment

board are conclusive on the parties and may be set

aside only for the three reasons specified in Section

153 First (q). 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q); Sheehan, 439

U.S. at 93. A legal exception to the lhmited scope of

judicial review exists where an arbitration award is

unenforceable as contrary to public policy. Hastern

Assoc. Coal Corp. v. United Mine Workers of America,

Dist., 531 U.S. 57,62 (2000).

- App. lla -

DISCUSSION

Petitioner does not challenge the System

Board's Award on the grounds of fraud or corruption.

Rather, Petitioner argues that the Award should be

vacated because it (1) exceeded the scope the Board's

jurisdiction; (2) failed to comply with the RLA; (3)

violated public policy; and (4) that the Board award

was issued in disregard of the law.

A. Whether the Board Exceeded the Scope of Its

Jurisdiction

Petitioner alleges that the Board failed to

conform, or confine itself to matters within its

jurisdiction by (1) proceeding on allegations raised

for the first time at the System Board hearing; (2)

upholding the termination based on of Petitioner's

participation in HAL's bankruptcy proceedings; and

(3) applying HAL "House Rules" that were never

ratified by the ALPA or by Petitioner. Pet. at 18-23,

Reply Brief in Support of Petition ("Reply") at 3-5.

1. The Board Failed to Confine Itself to Matters

Within Its -Turisdiction When It Considered

and Relied on Matters that Were Not Included

in HAL's Statement of Charges

Courts will not review the merits of an

arbitration award so long as the award is based

properly on the applicable collective bargaining

agreement and the subject matter is within the

board's jurisdiction. Rossi v. Trans World Airlines,

- App. 12a -

Inc., 507 F.2d 404, 405 (9th Cir. 1974); Singer v.

Flying Tiger Line Inc., 652 F.2d 1349, 1356 (9th Cir.

1981) (overruled on other grounds). An arbitration

award must be confirmed if it "draw[s] its essence

from collective bargaining agreement." Hawaii

Teamsters and Allied Workers Uxion, Local 996 v.

United Parcel Serv., 241 F.3d 1177, 1181 (9th Cir.

2001); United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise

Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 597, (1960).

However, the "strong admonitions" that steer courts

away from the merits and circumscribe judicial

review "do not mean that an arbitrator may ignore

the plain language of the contract." Hawait

Teamsters, 241 F.3d at 1181 (citations omitted).

"{[A]n arbitrator has no authority to ignore the plain

language of a collective bargaining agreement that

limits the scope of his authority." Jd.

(a) The Plain Language of the CBA Limits

the Board's Authority

The CBA between HAL and the ALPA

provides that, "[bJefore a pilot is disciplined or

discharged, such pilot shall be notified in writing ... of

the precise charge or charges against him or her." See

HAL 2000 Pilots Agreement § 16.B.1 (attached as

Ex. B to Excerpt of Record in Support of Petition). "A

hearing shall be held by the Vice President-Flight

Operations ... within ten (10) calendar days after

receipt of the letter of charge to determine what

action, if any, should be taken on the charge or

charges." Id. "If the pilot is dissatisfied with any

- App. 18a -

discipline or discharge action of the Company and

desires to appeal, s/he shall, through the Association

. make a written appeal to the Hawaiian Airlines

Pilots' System Board of Adjustment ...." Id. §

16.B.2.

The CBA provides that the Board has

jurisdiction "over disputes between any employee

covered by the Pilots' Agreement and the Company

growing out of grievances or out of interpretation or

application of any of the terms of the Pilots'

Agreement. Jd. § 17.C.1. The jurisdiction of the Board

covers "any dispute properly submitted to it by the

President of the Association or by the Company,

when such dispute has not been previously settled in

accordance with the terms provided for in Section 16

(Grievances)." Id. However, "[n]o matter shall be

considered by the Board that has not first been

handled in accordance with the provisions of Section

16 (Grievances) and a decision thereon by the

Company." Id. § 17.D.2.

(b) The Board Both Considered and Relied

On Matters That Were Not First Handled

in Accordance With The Grievance

Procedures Set Forth in the CBA

Pursuant to Section 16.B of the CBA, on March

31, 2005, HAL proffered a "Statement of Charges"

("SOC") and removed Petitioner from service with

pay pending the outcome of a hearing to "determine

what action, if any, should be taken" on the charges.

SOC at 1,3 (attached as Ex. C to Excerpt of Record in

- App. 14a -

Support of Petition). The Statement of Charges,

which referred exclusively to Petitioner's partici-

pation in HAL's bankruptcy proceedings as the basis

for the company's disciplinary action, are set forth

below in their entirety:

I. FACTS

Your involvement in the Hawaiian Airlines

Bankruptcy Case No. 03-00817-RJF (Chapter

11) ceased on March 11, 2005 with your

withdrawal of all of your motions filed in

such case, the dismissal with prejudice of

your Plan of Reorganization ("POR") by the

Bankruptcy Court and a harsh judicial

admonishment directed toward you for lying

about the court's actions on your public

website.

A. The facts surrounding the dismissal] of

your POR included numerous

falsifications and acts of dishonesty by

you including, but not limited to, the

following:

- Your filing with the court in September

2004 stating that you had a commitment of

$100 million dollars to back up your POR;

followed by your admission during your

deposition on March 4, 2005 that you did

not have such financial commitments at

the time of that filing;

- App. 15a -

Your filing with the court in September

2004 stating that your commitment was

from "financial institutions and accredited

investors" when in fact you admitted in

deposition that: (i) you had no under-

standing of whether either Paul Boghosian

or The Barron Group is a financial

institution or an accredited investor; and

(ii) your belief that Dr. Spencer was an

“accredited investor" was based upon Dr.

Spencer's affidavits, the first of which was

not filed until January 2005, or several

months after your September 2004 filing;

Your admission in March 2005 that you in

fact had no agreement in effect to deliver

the funds underlying your POR; and that

you had never met, corresponded by letter

or email, or talked on the phone to a Dr.

Spencer, the man who you presented to

the court as the source of $300 million in

funds to support your plan through his

E&M Trust;

Your admission that you visited Dr.

Spencer's E&M Trust address and

observed it to be some sort of "mission" or

“community services" building that was

located in a bad neighborhood, but you

continued on with your representations to

the court despite what should have caused

you to have serious reservations about the

- App. 16a -

legitimacy of the E&M Trust;

The filing, on behalf of your POR, of (i) a

redacted print-out of a Euroclear

computer screen, which purported to

show approximately $500 million available

in an ABN-Amro Bank of NV account held

in the name of E&M Trust and (ii) a letter

cosigned by two purported ABN-Amro

bank officials confirming that the cash

was in the account, both of which later

proved to be false documents containing

phony names for bank officials and an

invalid account number;

Your censure by the bankruptcy court for

representing that the court had approved

your Disclosure Statement when in fact, as

you admitted during your deposition, just

the opposite was true.

. You were disloyal to the Company through:

Your attempts to derail the bankruptcy

case by objecting to nearly every

substantive motion filed by the Trustee,

which in nearly every single case, your

objections were overruled by the court

and your motions denied;

Your filing of a sham POR that has

disrupted and caused additional,

unnecessary expense to the Company in

- App. 17a -

the processing of its bankruptcy case.

Il. RULES VIOLATED

Your above cited actions violated Flight Oper-

ations Manual Section 2-1-6, House Rules:

he

House Rule 14: Falsification or

Dishonesty of Any Kind;

House Rule 14: Making False

Statements About Other Employees;

House Rule 16: Failure or Refusal to

Work With Management;

House Rule 19: Improper conduct at

any time or any place which adversely

affects the employees relationship with

his fellow workers and/or superwisors;

House Rule 19: Improper conduct at

any time or any place which is detri-

mental to Hawaiian Airlines reputation

and/or goodwill among its customers

and/or the community as determined

by the Company;

House Rule 20: Conduct or communica-

tion that disparages the Company or its

reputation, its employees, and/or the

quality of its service or product;

House Rule 20: Disloyalty to the

Company

- App. 18a -

SOC at 1-3.

At the conclusion of the three member Board

arbitration, the System Board of Adjustment issued

an Award concluding that HAL demonstrated just

cause for the termination of Konop's employment. A

review of the 49-page Award reveals that the Board

considered and/or relied on several matters that

were not included as "precise charges" in the 3-page

Statement of Charges. For example, in the

"Background" section, the Award references a March

2003 "incident" in which Petitioner Konop visited

HAL's System Operations Control Center, and sent

a letter advising the Company's Vice President of

Operations of his opinions of the Control Center's

effectiveness. Award at 4-5. By letter dated April 9,

2003, the Vice President of Operations responded to

Petitioner "that his presence in the SOC was

unsolicited and without authorization, that his

interaction with personnel at the Center was

unwelcome and considered a disruption of work

progress." Id. This incident is not included in HAL's

Statement of Charges against Konop.

The Award also details several motions and

applications filed by Konop with the bankruptcy

court. See e.g., Award at pp. 8-9 (discussing Konop's

motion for "Air Safety Conservator"); Award at 10-

11 (detailing Konop's motion for "Preliminary

Injunction Barring Extraordinary Expenditures by

Trustee Gotbaum"); Award at 22-23 (describing

Konop's TRO "Prohibiting Extraordinary Expendi

tures by the Trustee"). While the Statement of

- App. 19a -

Charges generally references Konop's "object[ions] to

nearly every substantive motion filed by the

Trustee," and details some of Konop's POR-related

filings, the SOC does not mention any of the

affirmative motions and applications filed by Konop

and discussed in the Award. See Statement of

Charges, passim.

At the outset, the Award indicates that where

appropriate, and "for the sake of continuity, the

Board may include references to related events, that

do not necessarily bear on the issue." Award at 3.

Thus, it is unclear whether uncharged information

that was only cited in the Background section of the

Award supported the Board's decision to uphold the

termination. However, the Board's factual findings,

contained in the "Discussion and Findings" section of

the Award, likewise include facts that were not

alleged in the Statement of Charges.

The Discussion and Findings provide that,

during the bankruptcy proceedings, Konop “derided

members of management, criticized Company

procedures, accused officials of causing’ the

bankruptcy through improper decision making,

challenged the integrity of certain individuals - all

without offering proof of such charges." Award at 46.

The Board concluded that "the company has

demonstrated that the Grievant repeatedly made

false or unproven statements about other employees

.. " Award at 48.

The Board also found that Konop "disparaged

- App. 20a -

Company officials to other employees’ and

potentially the general public via his website" and

that he "brought adverse attention to the Company

by the notoriety associated with attempting to

involve the company with disreputable persons."

Award at 48-49. Although these factual findings

may support the Board's conclusion that Konop

violated certain "House Rules," the factual

allegations themselves are not found in the

Statement of Charges.

The System Board of Adjustment lacks

jurisdiction over matters that have “not first been

handled in accordance with the provisions of Section

16" of the CBA, and Section 16 requires that "[b

jefore a pilot is disciplined or discharged, such pilot

shall be notified in writing ... of the precise charge or

charges against him or her." Because the Board

considered and relied on allegations and facts that

are not set forth as precise charges against

Petitioner in HAL's Statement of Charges, the Court

finds that the Board failed to confine itself to

matters within its jurisdiction in issuing its Award.

2. The Board Did Not Exceed Its Jurisdiction By

Applying HAL's "House Rules"

Petitioner alleges that the Board also

exceeded its authority by imposing and applying

HAL's "House Rules," which had been expressly

rejected during the collective bargaining process, not

only by his union representative, but also specifically

- App. 2la -

and individually by him. Pet. at 21-23. According to

Petitioner, the Rules are not, therefore, part of the

collective bargaining agreement.

While an arbitrator has "no authority to ignore

the plain language of a collective bargaining

agreement that limits the scope of his authority," if

the CBA is not explicit, the arbitrator may look for

guidance from other sources, including "house rules,"

or the "common law of the shop." Rossi, 507 F.2d at

405; Hawaii Teamsters, 241 F.3d at 1178, 1181-84

(upholding termination for violation of “house rules").

The law of the shop is “equally a part of the collective

bargaining agreement although not expressed in it."

Hawaii Teamsters, 241 F.3d at 1181. This approach

is necessary because CBAs cannot expressly regulate

every conceivable employment matter. As_ the

Supreme Court has stated:

Collective bargaining agreements regulate or

restrict the exercise of management

functions; they do not oust management from

the performance of them. Management hires

and fires, pays and promotes, supervises and

plans. All these are part of its function, and

absent a collective bargaining agreement, it

may be exercised freely except as limited by

public law and by the _ willingness of

employees to work under the particular,

unilaterally imposed conditions.

United Steelworkers of Am. v. Warrior and Gulf

Navigation Co., 863 U.S. 574, 583 (1960).

- App. 22a -

Here, the Board explicitly stated that it

applied HAL's "House Rules" in its analysis of

Konop's termination. See Award at 3 (indicating that

Board limited "its attention to ... the question as to

whether actions by the Grievant that are set out in

the record are properly deemed to be violations of the

several House Rules cited by the Company .... ").

Although the House Rules are not mentioned in the

2000 Pilots Agreement, there is no evidence that the

House Rules conflict with any express provision of the

Pilots Agreement. Further, the Board found that

HAL was permitted under the CBA to "promulgate

and enforce reasonable rules and_ regulations

concerning the performance of its employces,"

provided such rules did not conflict with a negotiated

term of the agreement. Award at 45-46.

In upholding Konop's termination, the Board

interpreted the CBA to allow disciplinary action for

violation of HAL's House Rules. See English, 18 F.3d

at 746 (finding Board "implicitly interpreted" the

CBA to permit termination for employee's conduct).

"Unfamiliar with 'the practices of the industry and

the shop,' courts are not competent to second-guess

an arbitrator's judgment." Stead Motors of Walnut

Creek v. Automotive Machinists Lodge No. 1173,

Intern. Ass'n of Machinists, 886 F.2d 1200, 1207 (9th

Cir. 1989). More importantly, even if this Court

disagreed with the arbitrator's findings, the Court is

"barred from disregarding the arbitrator's factual

determinations" respecting the terms of the parties'

CBA. Id. The Court therefore finds that the Board did

- App. 23a -

not exceed its jurisdiction when it upheld Petitioner's

termination based his violation of HAL’s "House

Rules."

3. The Board Upheld Petitioner's Termination.

Based on the Manner of Petitioner's

Bankruptcy Participation and Not Because of

the Participation Itself

Petitioner asserts that the Board exceeded its

jurisdiction because all of the charges in the

Statement of Charges’ reference Petitioner's

participation in HAL's bankruptcy. Specifically,

Petitioner asserts that the Board (i) lacks

jurisdiction to interpret or enforce the Bankruptcy

Code, and (2) exceeded its jurisdiction by sustaining

“"Konop's employment termination for lawful off-the-

job activities, conducted away from the workplace."

Pet. at 19-20. Petitioner is incorrect on both points.

The Board did not endeavor to interpret or

enforce the Bankruptcy Code when it upheld

Petitioner's termination. It merely considered

Petitioner's conduct during’ the bankruptcy

proceedings, and whether that conduct violated

HAL's House Rules. The Board did not deny that

Petitioner had "standing" to participate in the

Bankruptcy (Award at 47), but found that the

manner of his participation violated the House Rules

and justified his termination. Award at 45-49. This

Court will not consider the merits of the Board's

factual findings. Eastern, 531 U.S. at 62 citing

- App. 24a -

United Steelworkers of Am. v. Enterprise Wheel & Car

Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 596 (1960) (holding the proper

judicial approach to a labor arbitration award is to

refuse to review the merits).

Nor did the Board exceed the scope of its

jurisdiction when it affirmed the discharge based on

Konop's off-the-job activities. See English, 18 F.3d at

745-46. A system board "exceeds its jurisdiction if it

issues a decision without foundation in reason or

fact." ld. at 746. "The basis of the Board's award

must be rationally inferable from the letter or

purpose of the collective bargaining agreement." Id.

Again, however, the "interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement is for the Board to decide and

not the courts." ld.

In English, a_ railroad employee was

terminated for an off-duty incident in which he

assaulted another employee on private property. Id.

at 743, 746. The arbitration board upheld the

termination, ruling it was justified because the

assault was "related to his employment" in that it

was provoked by on-the-job events, and because it

"adversely affected the railroad.” Id. On appeal, the

Ninth Circuit found that the "Board implicitly

interpreted the [CBA] to allow disciplinary action for

conduct such as English’'s, even though the conduct

occurred while off-duty and not on Burlington's

property." Id. The Ninth Circuit concluded that this

decision was not wholly without foundation in reason

or fact and therefore did not exceed the Board's

jurisdiction. Id.

- App. 25a -

The Board here interpreted the CBA to permit

termination for violation of HAL "House Rules." The

Board also found that Petitioner's conduct adversely

affected HAL by inter alia disparaging Company

officials to other employees and potentially the

general public via his website, bringing adverse

attention to the company, and by delaying or

interfering with the efforts of the Trustee to bring the

Company out of bankruptcy, including making false

claims before the bankruptcy court. Award at 48-49.

The Board concluded that the "fact that such

activities were not related to his status as a pilot

does not detract from the gravity of the violations of

the House Rules." Award at 49. Like the decision in

English, the Board's decision here is "not wholly

without foundation in reason or fact and thus, the

Board's decision does not exceed its jurisdiction"

merely because it rests on Petitioner's off- the-job

conduct. English, 18 F.3d at 746.

B. Whether the Board Failed to Comply with the

RLA

Petitioner claims the Board Award violated

the RLA because he was terminated for his concerted

labor activities in contravention of 45 U.S.C. § 151

(a). Pet. at 23-24. One of the purposes of the RLA is

to "forbid any limitation upon freedom of association

among employees or any denial, as a condition of

employment or otherwise, of the right of employees to

join a labor organization." 45 U.S.C. § 151(a). The

- App. 26a -

RLA also provides for "the complete independence of

carriers and of employees in the matter of self-

organization to carry out the purposes" of the RLA.

Id.

Petitioner alleges that he was engaged in a

number of concerted activities that were protected

under the RLA, including (1) opposing ratification of

concessionary labor contracts; (2) seeking a change in

union representation; (3) seeking changes in elected

union officers; (4) aiding other pilots in filing

grievances; and (5) supporting an alternative plan of

reorganization ("POR") for HAL in bankruptcy court

that would leave HAL employces "unimpaired by

Hawailian's reorganization." Pet. at 24.

Petitioner claims that he worked in concert

with other employees to encourage HAL employees to

reject newly proposed concessionary labor contracts

by (I) establishing an internet website to facilitate

employee communication regarding labor contract

proposals; (2) distributing materials on file with the

bankruptcy court relating to HAL's financial

condition; (3) distributing materials related to the

legal rights of employees in light of HAL's

bankruptcy; (4) distributing materials relating to the

trustee's POR; (5) proposing an alternative POR; (6)

conducting business research and planning regarding

HAL's post reorganization operations; and (7)

authoring a proposed business plan that would leave

employee labor contracts intact. Petitioner argues

that the System Board's decision violates the RLA

because it is based on tnese purported concerted

- App. 27a -

labor activities.

However, only two of these activities - the POR

submission and website maintenance - were

expressly referenced in the Board's "Discussion and

Findings" upholding Petitioner's termination. With

respect to Petitioner's proposed alternative PORs,

the Board upheld Petitioner's termination, not

because he submitted alternative PORs, but because

the company "demonstrated" that Petitioner

"falsified and made _ representations concerning

crucial aspects of the POR with which he was

associated before the Bankruptcy Court." Award at

48. The Board also found that the PORs did not meet

with "appropriate standards" for submissions to the

Court, including that such submissions be "factual,

truthful and free of deception." Award at 47.

Regarding the website, the Board found

Petitioner's termination was justified, not because he

maintained the website, but because the website

made false claims regarding the status of the

alternative POR in the bankruptcy court. Id. Although

Petitioner disclaimed responsibility for preparing the

false statement, the Board found he was "reasonably

held responsible" for the content of his website. Id.

The Board concluded that these activities violated

HAL's House Rules. This Court may not consider the

substantive merit of these findings on review.

Finally, the jurisdiction of the System

Adjustment Board over "minor" disputes is limited

- App. 28a -

to disputes growing out of interpretation of the CBA.’

Fennessy v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 91 F.3d 1359,

1361-62 (9th Cir. 1996); Norris, 512 U.S. at 252-66

(1994) ("the category of minor disputes contemplated

by § 15la are those that are grounded in the

collective-bargaining agreement"). RLA statutory

claims are outside the jurisdiction of the Board. See

Fennessy, 91 F.3d at 1364 (holding the "Board of

Adjustment has no jurisdiction over the statutory

claim" under section 152); see also Norris, 512 U.S. at

254 ("[Bloth the traditional role of the arbitrator and

admonitions of the courts require the Board to refrain

from attempting to construe any of the provisions of

the [RLA]" (quoting Northwest Airlines/Airline Pilots

Assn., Int'l Sys. Bd. Of Adjustment, Decision of June

28, 1972, p.13)). Petitioner's claim, that he was

discharged for engaging in protected labor activities,

"rests not upon a collective bargaining contract, but

upon a charge that [HAL] violated the statute;" such

charge is "within the jurisdiction of the district court

rather than an adjustment board." /d. quoting

Roscello v. Southwest Airlines Co., 726 F2d 217, 220,

n.2 (5th Cir. 1984). Indeed, Petitioner has separately

filed a Complaint with this Court alleging he was

wrongfully terminated for his concerted labor

activities in violation of the RLA.

The System Board also has jurisdiction over

"major" disputes relating to the "formation of

collective bargaining agreements or efforts to

secure them." Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Norris,

512 U.S. 246, 252-53 (1994).

- App. 29a

C. Whether the Board Award Violates Public

Policy

Because the parties bargain for the System

Board's construction of the CBA, courts view

arbitration awards as interpreting the contractual

agreement between the parties. HKdstern, 531 U.S. at

61-62. As with any contract, courts will not enforce an

award that contravenes public policy. Stead Motors,

886 F.2d at 1210 n.9. However, the scope of judicial

review of arbitration awards under the public policy

exception is "extremely narrow." United Transp.

Union v. Union Pac. R.R. Co., 116 F.3d 430, 433 (9th

Cir. 1997); Stead Motors, 886 F.2d at 1212.

While a court should be reluctant to do so, it

may vacate an award for violating a public

policy that is explicit, well-defined, and

dominant as ascertained by reference to the

laws and legal precedents and not from general

considerations of proposed public interest. The

court must focus on the award itself, not the

behavior or conduct of the party in question ....

In other words, to vacate an award on public

policy grounds, the court must find that the

policy is one that specifically militates against

the relief ordered by the arbitrator.

S. Cal. Gas Co. v. Util. Workers Union of Amer., Local

132, AFL-CIO, 265 F.3d 787, 794-95 (9th Cir. 2001)

(emphasis supplied) (citations omitted). The relevant

inquiry is whether the "specific terms contained in

the [Award] violate public policy," by creating an

- App. 30a -

"explicit conflict with other ‘laws and _ legal

precedents’ .... United Paperworkers Int'l Union,

AFL-CIO v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. 29,43 (1987); see also

Eastern, 531 U.S. at 62-63.

Petitioner alleges that the arbitration Award

should be vacated as contrary to explicit public

policies articulated in (1) the California Labor Code,

(2) the Railway Labor Act, and (3) the federal

Bankruptcy Code.

1. The California Labor Code Does Not Support.

Vacating the Award

Petitioner argues that his termination

violates explicit public policy because California

Labor Code Sections 98.6(a) and 96(k) prohibit

employers from discharging employees as a result of

lawful off-the-job conduct. Pet. § 114. Cal. Labor

Code § 98.6 proscribes termination for employee

conduct specified in delineated Labor Code

provisions, “including the conduct described in

subdivision (k) of Section 96." See Cal. Labor Code §

98.6(a). Section 96, subdivision (k), provides, in

pertinent part:

"The Labor Con:missioner...shall, upon the

filing of a claim therefor by an employee...

take assignments of ... [§] (k) Claims for loss

of wages as the result of demotion, suspen-

sion, or discharge from employment for

lawful conduct occurring during non-working

hours away from the employer's premises."

- App. 3la -

Cal. Labor Code § 96(k). However, Section 96(k) does

not set forth independent public policy that provides

employees with substantive rights or protections.

Barbee v. Household Auto. Fin. Corp., 113 Cal. App.

4th 525, 533 (2003). Section 96(k) merely establishes

a procedure by which the Labor Commissioner may

assert, on behalf of employees, "recognized

constitutional rights." Id. (emphasis supplied).

Petitioner alleges that he was terminated for

participating in HAL’s bankruptcy proceedings and

for concerted labor activities undertaken during

nonworking hours and away from his employer's

premises. Pet. 44] 115, 120. However, as set forth

above, Petitioner's termination was not upheld

because he was engaged in lawful activities outside of

work, but because of the manner in which he engaged

in those activities. Further, Petitioner neither alleges

nor argues that his termination violated "recognized

constitutional rights" as required to assert a

violation of Cal. Labor Code §§ 98.6(a) and 96(k).

2. The Award Does Not Violate Pubic Policy of

the RLA

Petitioner alleges that the public policy of the

RLA, which prohibits an employer from interfering

with the organization of its employees, supports this

Court's exercise of its narrow. discretion § in

overturning the Board Award. Pet. 94 111, 120. The

Court is constrained in this review to determine

whether the "specific terms'

contained in the Award

- App. 32a -

violate public policy. See Misco, 484 U.S. at 43;

Eastern, 531 U.S. at 62-63. As discussed above, to

the extent the Award relies on actions that

Petitioner describes as concerted labor activities, it

does so based on its findings that Petitioner's

misrepresentations and falsifications violated HAL's

House Rules and justified his termination. The

Award does not create an "explicit conflict" with the

RLA because its findings and conclusions do not

support Petitioner's claim that the termination was

upheld because of his concerted labor activity. See id.

In conducting this review, the Court does not

consider the conduct of the parties in question. See S.

Cal. Gas Co., 265 F.3d at 794-95. ("The court must

focus on the award itself, not the behavior or conduct

of the party in question."). Focusing, as it must, on

the terms of the Award, the Court concludes that the

Award does not create an explicit conflict with the

RLA.

3. The Bankruptcy Code Does Not Support

Vacating the Award

Petitioner looks to the Bankruptcy Code as a

third source of public policy, and argues that, as a

creditor of HAL, he had a right to “appear and be

heard" by the bankruptcy court, and a right to

propose a reorganization plan. Pet. §/"| 112-123 citing

11 U.S.C. § 1109(b); 11 U.S.C. § 1121(c). Petitioner is

correct that the Bankruptcy Code authorizes such

participation. 11 U.S.C. § 1109(b) provides: "A party

App. 33a

in interest, including ... a creditor ... may raise and

may appear and be heard on any issue in a case

under this chapter." 11 U.S.C. § 1109(b) (emphasis

supplied). 11 U.S.C. § 1121(c) provides: "Any party in

interest, including ...acreditor may file a plan if

and only if -- (1) a trustee has been appointed undei

this chapter..." 11 U.S.C. § 1121(c) (emphasis

supplied). However, even assuming this statutory

authority permitting Petitioner's bankruptcy

participation also constitutes an "explicit, well

defined, and dominant" policy that "specifically

militates" against terminating him for’ such

participation, the Board's Award did not uphold

Petitioner's termination because he participated in

HAL's bankruptcy pursuant to these statutes

HAL argues that the Board upheld Konop's

termination because of his dishonest conduct before

the bankruptcy court. The Award confirms that the

Board relied, at least in part, on its factual findings

concerning Petitioner's false representations to the

court

While the Association pointed out that the

Grievant had standing with the Court, as

evidenced by acceptance oj his Motions and

Objections, the Grievant also had an obligatlon

to meet appropriate standards for such

presentations. It is reasonable to conclude that

uch submissions would be factual, truthful

and free of deception The PORs presented bs

the Grievant on behalf of himself, as well a

with others, did not meet that standard: thi

- App. 34a -

was particularly true insofar as the important

aspect of available funding was concerned.

While the Grievant made repeated

representations to the Court of the availability

of such funding, in point of fact none ever

existed, or if it did, no proof was presented to

substantiate such clarms. Moreover, the source

of such alleged funds was determined to be

suspect as to its legitimacy. It was his

obligation to do due diligence to ensure the

validity of his clainis before the Court. When

questioned about that aspect of the PORs, the

Grievant attempted to avoid responsibility by

belatedly contending that he lacked the

necessary qualifications or experience to do so.

Whether he intentionally made false claims

before the Court or failed to ensure the

integrity of such claims out of a lack of

competency he committed a serious error for

which he was personally responsible. The fact

that the Court did not charge him with fraud

does not detract from the wiolation of

applicable House Rules that occurred.

Award at 47-48. The Court agrees that public policy

does not support making false statements or

misrepresentations in court, and that a party

appearing before the court has an obligation to

exercise due diligence to ensure the validity of claims

made to the court

The Award also indicates. however, that the

Board did not rely exclusively on Petitioner's

dishonest participation in the bankruptcy

- App. 35a -

proceedings as a basis for termination. In response

to the ALPA' s contention that the charges brought

against Grievant only related to his involvement with

several versions of PORs filed with the Court, the

Board pointed to HAL's Statement of Charges, which

include a charge of disloyalty for Konop's “attempts

to derail the bankruptcy case by objecting to nearly

every substantive motion filed by the Trustee .

Award at 46. The Board then made factual findings

in support of the disloyalty charge:

In point of fact, the Grievant involved himself

in the bankruptcy right from its outset: he

derided members of management, criticized

Company procedures, accused officials of

causing the bankruptcy through improper

decision making, challenged the integrity of

certain individuals -- all without offering proof

of such charges .... His repeated challenges to

the Trustee's actions by his presentations to

the Court were rejected by the Court.

Award at 46-47. The Board concluded that "the

Company has demonstrated that the (Grievant

repeatedly made false or unproven statements about

other employees, falsified and made representations

concerning crucial aspects of the POR with which he

was associated before the Bankruptcy Court, [and]

delayed or interfered with the cfforts of the Trustee

A)

to bring the Company out of bankruptcy

The relevant INqULry is not whether

Petitioner's participation in the bankruptcy could

- App. 36a -

support just cause for upholding his termination;

rather, it is whether the Board's interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement which resulted in

upholding the termination violated public policy.

Eastern, 531 U.S. at 62-63. Having reviewed the A

ward, the Court concludes that the Board found that

Petitioner's participation in HAL's bankruptcy was

dishonest and served to delay and interfere with the

Trustee's efforts to bring HAL out of bankruptcy in

violation of HAL's House Rules. The Court finds that

there is no public policy, explicit or otherwise, that

supports dishonest participation in court

proceedings, or actions that serve to delay or interfere

with court proceedings. Accordingly, the Court finds

that the Board Award upholding Petitioner's

termination does not implicate any public policy

stated in the Bankruptcy Code.

D. Courts May Not Reverse Arbitration Awards

on the Ground of Legal Error

Petitioner argues that the Award, which found

that Konop "made false or unproven statements

about other employees [and] disparaged Company

officials to other employees and potentially the

general public via his website," was issued in

manifest disregard of the law. Reply at 9. Petitioner

claims that the Board was supplied the full text of

the Ninth Circuit's opinion in Konop v. Hawaiian

Airlines, Inc., 302 F.3d 868 (9th Cir. 2002), and that

the ALPA post-hearing brief provided an explanation

of the case and its implications. Reply at 10. In

- App. 37a -

Konop, the Ninth Circuit held, inter alia, that

Konop's website publication constituted protected

union organizing activity under the RLA, and that the

RLA protects "even false and defamatory statements

unless such statements are made with actual malice

- 1.e. knowledge of falsity or with reckless disregard

for the truth." Konop, 302 F.3d at 882-83.

Petitioner claims that the Court may vacate

the Award where "(1) the arbitrators knew of a

governing legal principle yet refused to apply it or

ignored it altogether, and (2) the law ignored by the

arbitrators was well defined, explicit, and clearly

applicable to the case." Reply at 10-11. However,

none of the cases cited by Petitioner in support of this

argument involved arbitration awards under the

RLA, and the standard and scope of available review

in those cases differed from scope of review available

here.”

Petitioner's effort to characterize the issue

Appalachian Reg. Healthcare, Inc. v. United

Steelworkers of Amer. , 245 F.3d 601 (6th Cir.

2001) (employment arbitration award, but not

under the RLA); Halligan v. Piper Jaffray, Inc.,

148 F .3d 197, 202 (2d Cir. 1998) (NASD

arbitration board entered award pursuant to

employment arbitration agreement); DiRussa v.

Dean Witter Reynolds Inc., 121 F.3d 818 (2d Cir.

1997) (same); Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith v. Jaros, 70 F.3d 418 (6th Cir. 1995)

(arbitration award entered pursuant to securities

account arbitration clause); Wilko v. Swan, 346

U.S. 427 (1953) (same).

- App. 38a -

presented as one of law "does not alter the

availability or scope of judicial review: The

dispositive question is whether the party's objections

to the Adjustment Board's decision fall within any of

the three limited categories of review provided for in

the Railway Labor Act." Sheehan, 439 U.S. at 93. As

stated above, the RLA limits review of adjustment

board decisions to three specific grounds: (1) failure of

the board to comply with the RLA; (2) failure of the

board to conform, or confine itself to matters within

its jurisdiction; and (3) fraud or corruption. Further,

Section 153 First (q) of the RLA "unequivocally

states that the ‘findings and order of the [Adjustment

Board] shall be conclusive on the parties' and may be

set aside only for the three reasons specified therein."

Id. quoting 45 U.S.C. § 153. Courts "do not sit to hear

claims of .. legal error by an arbitrator as an

appellate court does in reviewing decisions of lower

courts." Hawaii Teamsters, 241 F.3d at 1180.

The Board, in issuing its Award, considered

the ALPA's argument that Petitioner's disparaging

statements were protected speech (see Award at 43),

but nonetheless found that HAL had just cause to

terminate him for violating HAL's House Rules. See

Award at 43, 46-49. Even if the Board's decision

reflects an error of law, this Court may not reverse

the Award on the ground of "legal error" without

exceeding the proper scope of its review. Hawaii

Teamsters, 241 F.3d at 1180; Sheehan, 439 U.S. at

92-93; see also Phoenix Newspapers, Inc. v. Phoenix

Mailers Union Local 752, Int'l Brotherhood of

- App. 39a -

Teamsters, 989 F.2d 1077, 1080 (9th Cir. 1993)

(holding that "a reviewing court is bound-under all

except the most limited circumstances-to defer to the

decision of the arbitrator, even if that decision finds

the facts and states the law erroneously") (citations

omitted).

CONCLUSION

Pursuant to 45 U.S.C. § 1538 First (q), the

Court GRANTS the Petition for Review. The Court

VACATES the award of the Hawaian Airlines

System Board of Adjustment on the grounds that the

Board exceeded the scope of its jurisdiction when it

considered and relied on factual allegations against

Petitioner that were not set forth as precise charges

in HAL's Statement of Charges.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATE: January 4, 2008

s/ Consuclo B. Marshall

CONSUELO B. MARSHALL

United States District Judge

- App. 40a -

In the Matter of Arbitration

Between

: Grievance No.

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. : HAL-19-05DS

“Comnany” :

and : Robert C. Konop

Air Line Pilots Association

“Association”

Before: System Board of

Adjustment

This case involves a dispute over the discharge of the

Grievant, Robert C. Konop, on the charge of violating

"House Rules" 1 4, 16, 19 and 20 as found in the

Flight Operations Manual, Section 2-1-6. The hearing

was held October 25-27, 2005 at the offices of Marr,

Hipp, Jones and Wang, Attorneys at Law, in

Honolulu, Hawaii and was continued on December

10, 2005 at the offices of the Air Line Pilots

Association in San Bruno, California. Both parties

were afforded a full opportunity to present, examine

and cross-examine witnesses and to submit exhibits.

The proceedings were’ recorded by public

stenographers. Copies of the transcripts were

received in due course. Both parties closed argument

by briefs, which were received March 14, 2006.

KEK

- App. 41a -

[Pages 2-45 Not Included Here]

THE ISSUE

Did the company have just cause to terminate

the employment of the Grievant, Robert Konop;

if not, what shall the remedy be?

DISCUSSION AND FINDINGS

It is important at the outset to establish that the

Company has a right to promulgate and enforce

reasonable rules and regulations concerning the

performance of its employees; it also has an

obligation to apply them uniformly and consistently.

Such right is not diminished or altered by the

presence of a collective bargaining relationship for an

employee group, unless the it can be demonstrated

that such rule(s) is in confiict with a negotiated term

of the Agreement or thet a company otherwise agrees

to make any such change(s). This right is intact even

if the bargaining representative has not participated

in the drafting of such rules and regulations. The

effectiveness of such rules is not diminished by the

refusal of an employee to sign a commitment to abide

by then [sic], although such refusal might better be

dealt with at that point in time. Conversely, it is the

right of a bargaining representative to challenge any

such rule if it is deemed to conflict with a negotiated

provision of the collective bargaining agreement.

The Association contends that the Charges

brought against the Grievant relate only to his

- App. 42a -

activities involving several versions of the PORS,

which he either personally executed or was a

participant with others as a "principal proponent."

The statement of Charges dated March 31, 2005

indicate otherwise: As part of Section 13 of such

document includes the Charge of disloyalty for

"Your attempts .to derail the bankruptcy case

by objecting to nearly every substantive

motion filed by the Trustee, which in nearly

every single case, your objections were

overruled by the court and your motions

denied; ... “

(Jt Ex 2)

In point of fact, the Grievant involved involved

himself in the bankruptcy right from its outset: he

derided members of management, criticized

Company procedures, accused officials of causing the

bankruptcy through improper decision making,

challenged the integrity of certain individuals - - all

without offering proof of such charges. The full scope

of such activities on the Grievant's part is set out in

some detail in this document. His repeated

challenges to the Trustee’s actions by his presen-

tations to the Court were rejected by the Court.

While the Association pointed out that the

Grievant had standing with the Court, as evidenced

by acceptance of his Motions and Objections, the

Grievant also had an obligation to meet appropriate

standards for such presentations. It is reasonable to

conclude that such submissions would be factual,

- App. 43a -

truthful and free of deception. The PORs presented

by the Grievant on behalf of himself, as well as with

others, did not meet that standard; this was

particularly true insofar as the important aspect of

available funding was concerned. While the Grievant

made repeated representations to the Court of the

availability of such funding, in point of fact none ever

existed or, if it did, no proof was presented to

substantiate such claims. Moreover, the source of

such alleged funds was determined to be suspect as

to its legitimacy. It was his obligation to do due

diligence to ensure the validity of his claims before

the Court. When. questioned about that aspect of the

PORs, the Grievant attempted to avoid responsibility

by belatedly contending that he lacked the necessary

qualifications or experience to do so. Whether he

intentionally made false claims before the Court or

failed to ensure the integrity of such claims out of a

lack of competency, he committed a serious error for

which he vas personally responsible. ‘The fact that

the Court did not charge him with fraud does not

detract from the violation. of applicable House Rules

that occurred.

Finally, the Grievant attempted to excuse himself

from any responsibility for the statement on his

website which alleged that the Bankruptcy Judge had

accepted the financial exhibits presented by the

HIP/HARC/Konop group as_ proof of financial

capability. He contended he did not prepare such

statement, and that his website was available to a

number of other people who could have done so. Even

- App. 44a -

if the Grievant did not prepare such statement, he is

reasonably held responsible for the contents of such

website, which apparently was made available to

Company employees, if not others. In this specific

incident, it is apparent that the intent was to

influence other employees by use of false claims

concerning the financial status of the HIP/HARC

/Konop POR.

While the Association presented a well-reasoned

and insightful defense, the Company has demon-

strated that the Grievant repeatedly made false or

unproven statements about other employees,

falsified and made representations concerning crucial

aspects of the POR with which he was associated

before the Bankruptcy court, delayed or interfered in

the efforts of the Trustee to bring the Company out of

bankruptcy, disparaged Company officials to other

employees and potentially the general public via his

website and brought adverse attention to the

Company by the notoriety associated with attempt-

ing to involve the Company with disreputable

persons. The fact that such activities were not related

to his status as a pilot does not detract from the

gravity of the violations of the House Rules. The

Award is drawn according.

AWARD

The Company has demonstrated just cause

for the termination of employment of the

Gnievant, Robert Konop; grievance is denied.

App. 45a

System Board Members

ct

s/ James S. Scearce

James S. Scearce

Chairman/Neutral Member

s/Barbara Falvey s/Steve Malin

Barbara Falvey Steve Malin

Company Member Association Member

“s/Concur” “s/ Dissent”

- App. 46a -

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

FILED

September 11, 2009

Molly ©. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

ROBERT C. KONOP, | No. 08-55248

Petitioner - Appellee, | D.C. No. ev-06-4426

| CBM

Vv. |

| Central District of

HAWAILAN AIRLINES, INC.,! California, Los

Respondent - Appellant. | Angeles

-_ 7 |

ORDER

ROBERT C. KONOP, | No. 08-55248

Petitioner - Appellant, | D.C. No. cev-06-4426-

| CBM

Vv.

| Central District of

HAWAILLAN AIRLINES, INC.,! California, Los

Respondent - Appellee. | Angeles

|

Before: SILVERMAN and CALLAHAN, Circuit

Judges, and QUIST, District Judge

The Honorable Gordon J. Quist, Senior United

States District Judge for the Western District of

Michigan, sitting by designation

App. 47a

Judges Silverman and Quist have voted to

deny Petitioner-Appellee's petition for rehearing and

Judge Callahan has voted to grant the petition for

rehearing. Judges Silverman and Callahan have

voted to reject the petition for rehearing en banc and

Judge Quist so recommends

The full court has been advised of the petition

for rehearing en banc and no active judge has

requested a vote on whether to rehear the matter en

banc Fed. R. App. P. 35

The petition for rehearing and the petition for

rehearing en banc are DENIED

- App. 48a -

RAILWAY LABOR ACT (Excerpts)

45 U.S.C.§ 153. National Railroad Adjustment

Board

There is established a Board, to be known as the

“National Railroad Adjustment Board”, the

members of which shall be selected within thirty

days after June 21, 1934, and it is provided —

*k“**

(i) The disputes between an employee or group of

employees and a carrier or carriers growing out of

grievances or out of the interpretation or application

of agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, or

working conditions, including cases pending and

unadjusted on June 21, 1934, shall be handled in the

usual manner up to and including the chief operating

officer of the carrier designated to handle such

disputes; but, failing to reach an adjustment in this

manner, the disputes may be referred by petition of

the parties or by either party to the appropriate

division of the Adjustment Board with a full

statement of the facts and all supporting data

bearing upon the disputes.

kKk*

(p) Ifa carrier does not comply with an order of a

division of the Adjustment Board within the time

limit in such order, the petitioner, or any person for

whose benefit such order was made, may file in the

- App. 49a -

District Court of the United States for the district in

which he resides or in which is located the principal

operating office of the carrier, or through which the

carrier operates, a petition setting forth briefly the

causes for which he claims relief, and the order of the

division of the Adjustment Board in the premises.

Such suit in the District Court of the United States

shall proceed in all respects as other civil suits,

except that on the trial of such suit the findings and

order of the division of the Adjustment Board shall

be conclusive on the parties, and except that the

petitioner shall not be liable for costs in the district

court nor for costs at any subsequent stage of the

proceedings, unless they accrue upon his appeal, and

such costs shall be paid out of the appropriation for

the expenses of the courts of the United States. If the

petitioner shall finally prevail he shall be allowed a

reasonable attorney's fee, to be taxed and collected as

a part of the costs of the suit. The district courts are

empowered, under the rules of the court governing

actions at law, to make such order and enter such

judgment, by writ of mandamus or otherwise, as may

be appropriate to enforce or set aside the order of the

division of the Adjustment Board: Provided, however,

that such order may not be set aside except for failure

of the division to comply with the requirements of

this chapter, for failure of the order to conform, or

confine itself, to matters within the scope of the

division's jurisdiction, or for fraud or corruption by a

member of the division making the order.

(q) lf any employee or group of employees, or any

- App. 50a -

carrier, is aggrieved by the failure of any division of

the Adjustment Board to make an award in a dispute

referred to it, or is aggrieved by any of the terms of an

award or by the failure of the division to include

certain terms in such award, then such employee or

group of employees or carrier may file in any United

States district court in which a petition under

paragraph (p) could be filed, a petition for review of

the division’s order. A copy of the petition shall be

forthwith transmitted by the clerk of the court to the

Adjustment Board. The Adjustment Board shall file

in the court the record of the proceedings on which it

based its action. The court shall have jurisdiction to

affirm the order of the division, or to set it aside, in

whole or in part, or it may remand the proceedings to

the division for such further action as it may direct.

On such review, the findings and order of the division

shall be conclusive on the parties, except that the

order of the division may be set aside, in whole or in

part, or remanded to the division, for failure of the

division to comply with the requirements of this

chapter, for failure of the order to conform, or confine

itself, to matters within the scope of the division’s

jurisdiction, or for fraud or corruption by a member of

the division making the order. The judgment of the

court shall be subject to review as provided in

sections 1291 and 1254 of title 28.

% RSE

- App. 5la-

45 U.S.C.§ 181. Application of subchapter I to

carriers by air

All of the provisions of subchapter I of this chapter

except section 153 of this title are extended to and

shall cover every common carrier by air engaged in

interstate or foreign commerce, and every carrier by

air transporting mail for or under contract with the

United States Government, and every air pilot or

other person who performs any work as an employee

or subordinate official of such carrier or carriers,

subject to its or their continuing authority to

supervise and direct the manner of rendition of his

service.

ve ve ¥

45 U.S.C. § 184. System, group, or regional

boards of adjustment

The disputes between an employee or group of

employees and a carrier or carriers by air growing out

of grievances, or out of the interpretation or

application of agreements concerning rates of pay,

rules, or working conditions, including cases pending

and unadjusted on April 10, 1936 before the National

Labor Relations Board, shall be handled in the usual

manner up to and including the chief operating officer

of the carrier designated to handle such disputes; but,

failing to reach an adjustment in this manner, the

disputes may be referred by petition of the parties or

by either party to an appropriate adjustment board,

as hereinafter provided, with a full statement of the

- App. 52a -

facts and supporting data bearing upon the disputes.

It shall be the duty of every carrier and of its

employees, acting through their representatives,

selected in accordance with the provisions of this

subchapter, to establish a board of adjustment of

jurisdiction not exceeding the jurisdiction which may

be lawfully exercised by system, group, or regional

boards of adjustment, under the authority of section

153 of this title.

Such boards of adjustment may be established by

agreement between employees and carriers either on

any individual carrier, or system, or group of carriers

by air and any class or classes of its or their

employees; or pending the establishment of a

permanent National Board of Adjustment as

hereinafter provided. Nothing in this chapter shall

prevent said carriers by air, or any class or classes of

their employees, both acting through their

representatives selected in accordance’ with

provisions of this subchapter, from mutually agreeing

to the establishment of a National Board of

Adjustment of temporary duration and of similarly

limited jurisdiction.

i

- App. 58a -

Hawaiian Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement

[Excerpts]

Section 16

GRIEVANCES

KE*

DISCIPLINE AND DISCHARGE

Before a pilot is disciplined or discharged, such

pilot shall be notified in writing by certified mail,

return receipt requested, of the precise charge

or charges against him or her. S/he shall be

given the necessary time, not to exceed seven (7)

calendar days from date of receipt, in which to

secure the presence of witnesses and shall have

the right to be represented by a Company

employee of his or her choice or his or her duly

accredited representative(s). A hearing shall be

held by the Vice President-Flight Operations,

or his or her designee, within ten (10) calendar

days after receipt of the letter of charge to

determine what action, if any, should be

taken on the charge or charges.

a. Within ten (10) calendar days after the

close of the hearing, a decision shall be

announced in writing and, if requested by

the pilot, a copy shall be furnished to the

Contract Administration Department of

the Association, MEC Grievance

Chairman and the MEC Chairman.

zk«z&*

D.

1.

- App. 54a -

Hawaiian Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement

GENERAL

The time limits set forth in Paragraphs A & B

of this Section may be extended by mutual

agreement of the Company and the grievant or

the Association.

If any decision of the Company under the

provisions of this Sectior is not appealed by

the grievant(s) within the time _ limits

prescribed herein for such appeal or any

extension mutually agreed upon, the decision of

the Company shall be final and binding. If any

hearing or decision required of the

Company under the provisions of this

Section is not provided within the time

limits herein, or any extension mutually

agreed upon, the grievant(s) position shall

_ be sustained, and the relief requested shall

be granted.

All notification in writing’ shall be

accomplished by certified mail, return receipt

requested, addressed to the last known

address of the party to whom the notice is

being given. All time limits specified in this

Section shall be determined by the date on the

return receipt.

A.

- App. 55a -

Hawaiian Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement

[Excerpts]

Section 17

ESTABLISHMENT OF SYSTEM BOARD OF

ADJUSTMENT.

. In compliance with Section 204, Title Il of the

Railway Labor Act, as amended, there is hereby

established a System Board of Adjustment,

which shall be known as the "Hawaiian Airlines

Pilots System Board of Adjustment" hereinafter

referred to as the "Board". The Board's purpose

shall be to adjust and decide disputes that may

arise under the terms of the Pilots’ Agreement

when such disputes have been properly

submitted to the Board.

*k*¥*

JURISDICTION OF THE BOARD

The Board shall have jurisdiction over disputes

between any employee covered by the Pilots’

Agreement and the Company growing out of

grievances or out of interpretation or application

of any of the terms of the Pilots’ Agreement. The

jurisdiction of the Board shall not extend to

proposed changes in hours of employment, rates

of compensation, or working conditions covered

by existing agreements between the parties

hereto, or as subsequently executed.

2.

D.

ie

- App. 56a -

Hawaiian Airlines 2005 Pilots Agreement

The Board shall consider any dispute

properly submitted to it by the President

of the Association or by the Company, when

such dispute has not been previously settled in

accordance with the terms provided for in

Section 16 (Grievances).

kk

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE BOARD

All disputes properly submitted to the Board

for consideration shall be addressed to the

Members of the Board, including all papers

and exhibits in connection therewith. Each

case submitted shall show:

a. Question or questions at issue;

b. Statement of facts;

c. Position of employee or employees; and

d. Position of the Company.

When possible, joint submissions should be

made but if the parties are unable to agree

upon a joint submission, then either party may

submit the dispute and its position to the

Board. No matter shall be considered by

the Board that has not first been handled

in accordance with the provisions of

Section 16 (Grievances) and a decision

thereon by the Company.

kkk

- App. 57a -

San Francisco Contract Administration

Air Line Pilots Association, International

1150 Bayhil Drive, Suite 2200 San Bruno,

California 94066-3004

Phone 650-872-7028 FAX 650-872-7086

April 26, 2005

Certified Mail - Return Receipt

Receipt # 7002 2410 0004 7397 3737

Mr. Robert Glasgow

Company System Board Member

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc.

PO Box 30008

Honolulu International Airport

Honolulu, HI 96820-0008

Captain Steven Malin

ALPA System Board Member

2333 Kapiolani Blvd, Suite # 2909

Honolulu, HI 96826

Captain Bill Seavy

Company System Board Member HAWAIIAN

AIRLINES, INC.

3375 Koapaka St Ste G350

Honolulu, HI 96819-1804

Captain Ray Moudy

ALPA System Board Member

92-328 Kiowao Place

Kapolei, Hawaii 96707

Re: HAL-19-05DS, Robert Konop (Discharge)

- App. 58a -

Dear Gentlemen:

In the Agreement between Hawaiian Airlines, Inc.,

and the airline pilots in its service, as represented by

the Air Line Pilots Association, International,

relating to the establishment and maintenance of a

System Board of Adjustment, which Agreement was

effective January 1, 2001, there appears the following

paragraph:

The Board shall consider any dispute properly

submitted to it by the President of the

Association or by the Company, when such

dispute has not been previously settled in

accordance with the terms provided for in

Section 16 (Grievance).

Herewith is submitted for consideration and decision

by the above-described Board, the individual grie-

vance filed by Robert Konop.

1. Question at Issue:

a. Whether the Company had just cause to

terminate the employment of Captain

Robert Konop, as set forth in its letter of

April 20, 2005.

b. If not, what shall be the remedy?

2. Statement of Facts:

The Company issued pilot Robert Konop a

“Statement of Charges" on March 31, 2005. A

hearing on the Company's charges was held

on April 12, 2005. The Company issued its

- App. 59a -

written letter of termination on April 20,

2005. (Exhibit 1). The disposition of this

matter is unsatisfactory and it is herewith

submitted to this board for final hearing and

determination.

3. Position of the Association:

It is the position of the Association that the

Company is in violation of the Agreement as

herein alleged.

4. Position of the Company:

It is presumed that the position of the

Company is as set forth in its decision

attached hereto (Exhibit 1). If such is not the

position of the Company, it is requested to

submit its position to the Board in writing

upon receipt of a copy of this Letter of

Submission.

WHEREFORE, the grievant requests the Board to

decide:

a. That the Company be ordered to reinstate

Captain Robert Konop to his previous position

and capacity and make him whole by awarding

him full back pay and benefits for the entire

duration of said termination;

b. That the Company be ordered to remove the

“Statement of Charges" and all references

from the pilot's personnel record; and

c. That the Association have such other, further

or different relief as has been requested in the

- App. 60a -

grievance or as this Board may be deem just

and proper.

It is respectfully requested that the Board hear this

grievance at its next regular or special session.

Sincerely,

s/Duace E. Woerth rc

Duane E. Woerth

President

Air Line Pilots Association International

CC: Robert Konop

HAL MEC Chairman

HAL MEC Grievance Chairman

ALPA SFO/CA

- App. 61a -

National Academy of Arbitrators

Tribunal Appeals Committee

In re Appeal by:

ROBERT C. KONOP

Complainant

against

JAMES F. SCEARCE

Charged Member

Background Facts, Analysis and Decision

On September 1, 2008, Robert C. Konop

submitted a complaint to the Committee on

Professional Responsibility and Grievances (CPRG),

alleging that James F. Scearce, a member of the

Academy, had violated the Code of Professional]

Responsibility for Arbitrators of Labor Management

Disputes (Code). At the request of Shyam Das, Chair

of the CPRG, Robert Landau, a member of the CPRG,

conducted a preliminary investigation of the charges

set forth in the complaint. After following the

procedures outlined in Article IV, Section 2 (d) of the

Bylaws, Chair Das prepared a report, setting forth a

summary of the relevant facts and holding that there

was cause to proceed on the charges alleging violation

of Sections 6-0-1 and 6-D-2 of the Code. Chair Das

- App. 62a -

appointed Dennis R. Nolan, to serve as Hearing

Officer (H.O.) to proceed as provided in Article IV,

Section 2 (e) of the Bylaws.

Background Facts

In the proceeding before H.O. Nolan, the

parties did not disagree with any of the facts, as set

forth in the summary prepared by Chair Das. Those

facts are as follows:

"Mr. Scearce served as the neutral member of a

three-member arbitration panel (System

Board of Adjustment) in a grievance arising

from the termination of Mr. Konop, an airline

pilot, by Hawaiian Airlines (Hawaiian) in

April 2005. Mr. Konop was represented by the

Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA).

kk *

Mr. Konop prepared an appeal of the decision

of H.O. Nolan to the Tribunal Appeals Committee

(Committee), dated March 9, 2009, pursuant to the

provisions of Article IV, Section 2 (f) of the Bylaws.

The Chair of the Committee received a copy of the

appeal on March 12, 2009. The other two members of

the Committee received their copies shortly

thereafter.

Based on our reading of the record and appeal,

which set forth Mr. Konop's arguments in some

- App. 63a -

detail, the members of the Committee were of the

view that the appeal in this case could be decided on

the basis of written arguments. The Chair of the

Committee advised Mr. Konop and Mr. Scearce of

that fact, and set forth a suggested schedule and

procedure for filing written arguments. Both parties

accepted the Committee's proposal.

kk *

Analysis and Decision

In his appeal, Mr. Konop argues that H.O.

Nolan failed to take into account the "egregious

nature" of Mr. Scearce's ethical breaches, and the

"corruption of the arbitration process" that resulted.

It is Mr. Konop's view that H.O. Nolan erred when he

concluded that Mr. Scearce's conduct called for a

penalty that involved correction rather’ than

condemnation or punishment and issued a remedy

consisting of "formal advice."

In arguing that Mr. Scearce's conduct was

egregious, Mr. Konop cites a number of matters

having to do with his dissatisfaction with the

arbitration proceeding that were not included in the

"cause" finding made by Chair Das. We do not wish to

minimize the significance of the violations that

occurred in this case. We agree with H.O. Nolan that

Mr. Scearce's violations were "serious and

inexcusable." However, they need to be viewed for

what they were, and in light of the "conflicting

- App. 64a -

factors" referred to by H.O. Nolan.

As he put it in his latest submission, Mr.

Scearce apparently viewed the request for

clarification as "a System Board matter." He wrongly

concluded that he was being asked to clarify the

intent of the award so the company could share it

with the court, and that the other party to the

proceeding before the System Board (ALPA)

apparently agreed or at least did not object to that

request, as evidenced by the lack of response. Those

conclusions demonstrated a woeful lack of knowledge

of the provisions of the Code and appreciation of the

due process reasons for their inclusion in the Code.

Further, they do nothing to excuse his decision to sign

the proposed clarification and send it to counse} for

the company alone. His failure to obtain the views of

both parties and the other two System Board

members before acting was an inexcusable violation

of fundamental fairness.

On the other hand, there is no showing that

Mr. Scearce's erroneous conclusions and careless

conduct amounted to "corruption of the arbitration

process." More to the point, they did not amount to

intentional misconduct of the type that would justify

suspension or expulsion of an arbitrator with no

record of any prior code violations.

We do differ with one of the conclusions of H.O.

Nolan - his conclusion that censure was not

appropriate in this case. The violations in this case

- App. 65a -

were, aS H.G. Nolan himself found, "serious and

inexcusable." They not only demonstrated a lack of

awareness of the requirements of the Code, but

insensitivity to the requirements of ordinary due

process. We believe that his conduct calls for a "wake

up call," forcefully reminding him of his need to be

aware of the provisions of the Code and the reasons

underlying their inclusion in the Code.

For these reasons, we hold that the

appropriate discipline for Mr. Scearce's conduct is to

censure him for his’ serious and_ inexcusable

violations of Sections 6-0-1 and 6-0-2 of the Code.

s/ George R. Fleischli 3/31/09

George R. Fleischh, Chair Date

s/ Theodore J. St. Antoine 4/2/09

Theodore J. St. Antoine Date

s/ Walter J. Gershenfeld 4/5/09

Walter J. Gershenfeld Date

- App. 66a -

Proceedings of the National Academy of Arbitrators;

Arbitration 1989; BNA Books, 1990. [Footnotes

Omitted]

Chapter 3

Arbitral Discretion

The Tests of Just Cause

I.

John E. Dunsford

ke *

The Seven Tests

Perhaps the most widely known attempt to

reduce just cause to precise criteria is the checklist of

seven tests devised by the late Carroll R. Daugherty,

a member of this Academy and a professor of labor

economics and labor relations at Northwestern

University. The tests were first published by him in

the early 1960s as an appendage to an arbitration

opinion, and were given their final formulation in

another case in 1972.

kk *

Inasmuch as the company investigation serves

the purpose of giving an employee his or her day in

court, what is the function of the arbitrator in the

- App. 67a -

Daugherty world view? He is quite specific in his

answer to that question, in his comments introducing

the Seven Tests in their final formulation:

It should be understood that, under the

statement of issue as to whether an

employer had just cause for discipline ...

it is the employer and not the

disciplined employee who is "on trial"

before the arbitrator. The arbitrator's

hearing is an appeals _ proceeding

designed to learn .. . whether the

employer, as sort of trial court, had

conducted, before making his decision, a

full and fair inquiry into the employee's

alleged "crime"; whether from the

inquiry said trial court had obtained

substantial evidence of the employee's

guilt .... In short, an arbitrator "tries"

the employer to discover whether the

latter's own "trial" and treatment of the

employee was proper. The arbitrator

rarely has the means for conducting, at a

time long after the alleged offense was

committed, a brand new trial of the

employee.

kkk

It comes as a Surprise, then, to learn that the

Department of Education and Training of the

American Arbitration Association (AAA) includes the

Seven Tests in its Discipline Workshop Manual for

- App. 68a -

the education of new advocates and arbitrators.

While it is true that a full statement of Daugherty's

philosophy of arbitration is not included in the AAA

Manual, the tests as reported there still convey the

following propositions:

1. If there is a "no" answer to any of the seven

questions, normally there is no cause for

discipline.

2. Arbitrators are entitled to substitute their

judgment for management's only if there is an

abuse of managerial discretion.

3. A full and fair investigation must normally be

made before a disciplinary decision is made,

since the subsequent use of the grievance

procedure will not suffice to give the employee

his “day in court."

4. At the investigation the "judge" for the

company must obtain substantial evidence

that the employee is guilty.

kke*

The Questions

1. Did the company give to the employee forewarning

or foreknowledge of the possible or probable

disciplinary consequences of the employee's

conduct?

Note 1: Said forewarning or foreknowledge may

properly have been given’ orally’ by

management or in writing through the medium

2.

- App. 69a -

of typed sheets or booklets of shop rules and of

penalties for violation thereof.

Note 2: There must have been actual oral or

written communication of the rules and

penalties to the employee.

Note 3: A finding of lack of such communication

does not in all cases require a "no" answer to

Question No. 1. This is because certain

offenses such as insubordination, coming to

work intoxicated, drinking intoxicating

beverages on the job, or theft of the property of

the company or of fellow employees are so

serious that any employee in the industrial

society may properly be expected to know

already that such conduct is offensive and

heavily punishable.

Note 4: Absent any contractual prohibition or

restriction, the company has the _ right

unilaterally to promulgate reasonable rules

and give reasonable orders; and same need not

have been negotiated with the union.

Was the company's rule or managerial [sic]

reasonably related to (a) the orderly, efficient, and

safe operation of the company's business and (b)

the performance that the company might properly

expect of the employee?

Note 1: Because considerable thought and

judgment have usually been given to the

development and promulgation of written

- App. 70a -

company rules, the rules must almost always

be held reasonable in terms of the employer's

business needs and usually in terms of the

employee's performance capacities. But

managerial orders often given on the spur of

the moment, may be another matter. They may

be reasonable in terms of the company's

business needs, at least in the short run, but

unreasonable in terms of the employee's

capacity to obey. Example: A foreman orders

an employee to operate a high-speed band saw

known to be unsafe and dangerous.

Note 2: If an employee believes that a company

rule or order is unreasonable, he must

nevertheless obey same (in which case he may

file a grievance thereover) unless he sincerely

feels that to obey the rule or order would

seriously and immediately jeopardize his

personal safety and/or integrity. Given a firm

finding to the latter effect, the employee may

properly be said to have had justification for

his disobedience.

3. Did the company, before administering discipline

to an employee, make an effort to discover

whether the employee did in fact violate or

disobey a rule or order of management?

Note 1: This Question (and No. 4) constitutes the

employee's "day in court" principle. An

employee has the right to know. with

- App. 71a -

reasonable precision the offense with which he

is being charged and to defend his behavior.

Note 2: The company's investigation must

normally be made before its disciplinary

decision is made. If the company fails to do so,

its failure may not normally be excused on the

ground that the employee will get his day in

court through the grievance precedure after the

exaction of discipline. By that time there has

usually been too much hardening of positions.

In a very real sense the company is obligated to

conduct itself like a trial court.

Note 3: There may of course be circumstances

under which management must _ react

immediately to the employee's behavior. In

such cases the normally proper action is to

suspend the employee pending investigation,

with the understanding that (a) the final

disciplinary decision will be made after the

investigation and (b) if the employee is found

innocent after the investigation, he will be

restored to his job with full pay for time lost.

4. Was the company's investigation conducted fairly

and objectively?

Note 1: At said investigation the management

official may be both "prosecutor" and "judge,'

but he may not also be a witness against the

employee.

Note 2: It is essential for some higher, detached

- App. 72a.-

management official to assume and

conscientiously perform the judicial role, giving

the commonly accepted meaning to that term

in his attitude and conduct.

Note 3: In some disputes between an employee

and a management person there are not

witnesses to an incident other than the two

immediate participants. In such cases it is

particularly important that the management

"judge" question the management participant

rigorously and thoroughly just as an actual

third party would.

Note 4: The company's investigation should

include an inquiry into possible justification

for the employee's alleged rule violation.

Note 5: At his hearing the management "judge"

should actively search out witnesses and

evidence, not just passively take what

participants or "volunteer" witnesses tell him.

5. At the investigation did the company "judge"

obtain substantial and compelling evidence or

proof that the employee was guilty as charged?

Note 1: It is not required that the evidence be fully

conclusive or “beyond all reasonable doubt."

But the evidence must be truly weighty and

substantial and not flimsy or superficial.

Note 2: When the testimony of opposing witnesses

at the arbitration appeals hearing is

irreconcilably in conflict, an arbitrator seldom

- App. 73a -

has any means for resolving the contradictions.

His task is then to determine whether the

management "judge" originally had reasonable

grounds for believing the evidence presented to

him by his own people instead of that given by

the accused employee and his witnesses. Such

grounds may include a decision as to which

side had the weightier reasons for falsification.

6. Has the company applied its rules, orders, and

penalties evenhandedly and without discrimi-

nation to all employees?

Note 1: A "no" answer to this question requires a

finding of discrimination and warrants nega-

tion or modification of the discipline imposed.

Note 2: If the company has been lax in enforcing

its rules and orders and decides henceforth to

apply them rigorously, the company may avoid

a finding of discrimination by telling all

employees beforehand of its intent to enforce

hereafter all rules as written.

Note 3: For an arbitral finding of discrimination

against a particular grievant to be justified, he

and other employees found guilty of the same

offense must have been in_ reasonably

comparable circumstances.

Note 4: The comparability standard considers

three main items— the degree of seriousness

in the offense, the nature of the employees'

employment records, and the kind of offense,

- App. 74a -

(a) Many industrial offenses, e.g., in-plant

drinking and insubordination, are found in

varying degree. Thus, taking a single nip of gin

from some other employee's bottle inside the

plant is not so serious an offense as bringing

in the bottle and repeatedly tippling from it in

the locker room. Again, making a small, snide

remark to and against a foreman is consider-

ably less offensive than cussing him out with

foul language, followed by a fist in the face, (b)

Even if two or more employees have been found

guilty of identical degrees of a particular

offense, the employer may properly impose

different degrees of discipline on them, pro-

vided their records have been significantly

different. The man having a poor record in

terms of previous discipline for a given offense

may rightly, i.e., without true discrimination,

be given a considerably heavier punishment

than the man whose record has been relatively

unblemished in respect to the same kind of

violation, (c) The words “same kind of vio-

lation,” just above, have importance. It is

difficult to find discrimination between two

employees found guilty of totally different

sorts (not degrees) of offenses. For example,

poor work performance or failure to call in

absences have little comparability with

insubordination or

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.