Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Programmers Guild v. Napolitano

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

The Programmers Guild, Inc.; American Engineering

Association, Inc.; Bright Future Jobs; Michael

Amanti; Mark Blackburn; Toni L. Chester; David

Huber; John G. Marson; Harrison Picot, II; Paul E.

Polak; Mike Rothschild; Robert Sanchez; Stephen

Berry; and Stephanie M. Berry,

Petitioners,

v.

Janet Napolitano and United States Department of

Homeland Security,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BARNABY W. ZALL JOHN M. Miano

Counsel of Record GARRETT ROE

Weinberg & Jacobs, LLP Micuaet. HETHMON

11300 Rockville Pike, #1200 Immigration Reform Law

Rockville, MD 20852 Institute

(301) 231-6943 25 Massachusetts Ave. N.W.

bzall@aol.com Suite 335

Washington. DC 20001

November 13. 2009

1

QUESTION PRESENTED

Foreign students are admitted to the United

States under the “F-1” visa program “solely for the

purpose of pursuing ... a course of study.” 8 U.S.C.

§ 1101(a)(15)(F)G). In 1991, the Immigration and

Naturalization Service issued regulations permitting

“Optional Practical Training” (“OPT”) employment by

foreign students under terms intended to “avoid ad-

versely affecting the domestic labor market.” 56 Fed.

Reg. 55,610 (Oct. 29, 1991).

In 2008, after Congress had rejected similar mea-

sures to expand the OPT program, the Department

of Homeland Security issued an Interim Final Reg-

ulation which changes the OPT program so an esti-

mated 40,000 alien science, technology, engineering

and mathematics (“STEM”) graduates can remain

in the United States for up to 29 months as “foreign

students” while secking employment. 73 Fed. Reg.

18,944 (April 8, 2008). The U.S. Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit held that American STEM workers

do not have standing to challenge the regulation be-

cause they are not within the zone of interests of the

foreign student visa provision.

The Question Presented is as follows:

Whether American science, technology, engineer-

ing and mathematics workers can challenge changes

to U.S. Department of Homeland Security regulations

which allow aliens in those fields to work in the Unit-

ed States for an extended period of time after gradua-

tion as “foreign students.”

ul

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

All parties are named in the caption above. Peti-

tioners who were plaintiffs/appellants below are: The

Programmers Guild, Inc.; American Engineering As-

sociation, Inc.; Bright Future Jobs; Michael Amant};

Mark Blackburn; Toni L. Chester; David Huber; John

G. Marson; Harrison Picot, Il; Paul E. Polak; Mike

Rothschild; Robert Sanchez; Stephen Berry; and

Stephanie M. Berry.

Respondents who were defendants/appellees below

are: Janet Napolitano (who replaced Michael Chert-

off), Secretary of Homeland Security, and the United

States Department of Homeland Security.

The organizational Petitioners are nonprofit corp-

orations without stock and there are no parent corp-

orations or publicly-held corporations which own

stock in any of the Petitioners.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented................c....scesseseeeees Hebe ap Apne ete ]

Parties to the Proceedings Below............................2. il

Table of Authorities ...... Soialenelgancueashaleiceraa tenn i eiis Vv

CHa TIE vices ccvesnseinevessengtvnecabiveccin SG ROSA D 1

Basis for Jurisdiction................ nic dcevetvuaumamenevenineeencen 1

Statutes and Regulations at Issue ....................... sce

BON oo os vcs cosas sacteascensnn CON RR Ream IPM rl 3

Peete: OE CR TOO sii sais secsceesiniseacivincstneecsenlovceans 6

Reasons to Grant the Petition................................. 18

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With the

Statutory Language, Congress’s Expressed

Intent, Respondents’ Prior Policy and Other

Circuits’ Longstanding Views on Worker

Protections in the F-1 Visa Statute and on

American Workers’ Ability to Challenge the

Admission of Foreign Workers Competing for

EINE IIIs. cidicavccccxctncencacasesccsieen eee 19

A. The Statutory Language of the Foreign

Student Program Permits Only Educational,

Not Employment, Activities .................. cic ae

B. Congress Has Long Been Concerned with

Labor Protections in F-1 Visas................... 21

C. Before 2008, Respondents Themselves Had

a Policy of Preserving American Jobs from

FORINT ak i. ss sidevapnvaesccsassccsevarsinnes 22

lV

D. The Third Circuit’s Opinion Conflicts with

Other Circuits Which Have Held that the

F-1 Student Visa Includes Protections for

PMT FOOT ONG .anoncccncencccescesscevcésccvcoevcesse 24

E.. The Third Circuit’s Opinion Conflicts with

Other Circuits Which Have Held that

American Workers Can Challenge the

Admission of Competing Alien Workers.... 24

SII Godin Sescpacavasscanedieaces snd ataciasaaeenasdackiusaious dest 29

Appendix A—Opinion of the Third Circuit

(July 17, 2009).......... js Gonceidebes abdvdnmmeiaaeddasieetestees la

Appendix B—District Court’s Dismissal Opinion

(Oct. 31, 2008) ............ Windlass cruntrabcevuacncudaatoaientice 13a

Appendix C—Denial of Preliminary Injunction

nS Se wang ieenaseceds 23a

Appendix D—Denial of Rehearing

OS GRRE a eat it eae a ene Ee OTE 35a

Appendix E—Student Visa Regulations Related

to Optional Practical Training...................... wes OEM

Appendix F—Optional Practical Training

Regulation Changes (April 8, 2008).................. 45a

Appendix G—First Amended Complaint

naa coe de soc ce pevaaumancpadss 97a

Appendix H—Chertoff Remarks ......................... 113a

Appendix I—Job Advertisements Seeking OPT

IE SCF so ata os cee ousnasearemetimedooeael 123a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Ahmed v. United Siates,

BOO FG BEE CEG Cae. TO 7G) onc ivicnsnccesnsccesceccvssccescesses 22

Allen v. Wright,

Me Be FT ED wnenevctessccesessincess BR ie RA Di se sees 24

Clarke v. Securities Indus. Ass’n.,

ee isin ssc uc cinecicdcscinecenssennvavesonsnres 26

Digilab v. Sec’y of Labor,

MO Fe Be CUBE Ce. 1ST) qo cccccescccscecccesesscecveses. 18

Fed'n for Am. Immigration Reform v. Reno,

93 F.3d 897 (D.C. Cir. 1999)......... 16, 19, 25—26, 27

INS v. Nat'l Center for Immigrants’ Rights,

ec casvcivkcsiveccinudasnucnveseneuprs 18

Int'l Union of Bricklayers &

Allied Craftsman v. Meese,

761 F.2d 798 (D.C. Cir. 1985) ....... 16, 17, 19, 26-27

Int'l Longshoremen’s and Warehousemen’s Union uv.

Meese, 891 F.2d 1374 (9th Cir. 1989) .....0..000000.0... 18

Kirong v. Mukasey,

BS Fe BO COE Cie. BOD) oon accccccccccccnsesessseccecae 11

Karnuth v. United States,

Be ee I odio tccenendvscesseccarsccenesates epee 18

Londono v. INS,

433 F.2d 635 (2d Cir. 1970)........ SOSPT RESTS PR en ne 18

Medellin v. Bustos,

854 F.2d 795 (6th Cir. 1OGS) .........0...0c.cececcecnscc-cees 18

Patel v. INS,

811 F.2d 377 (7th Cir. 1986) ........................... 18, 24

Sure-Tan, Inc. v. NLRB,

ME He re CE cdo ccs cx coanecvecocesssennseuaices a ee 18

vi

Texas Learning Tech. Corp. v. Comm’,

96 T.C. 686 (Tax Court, 1991) .......................... me

United States v. Igbatayo,

7164 F.2d 10389 (5th Cir. 1985)........................... eet |

United States v. Oloyede,

GER F.Be LBS (40H Cir, LODS) ...........0ccccccseccesssccess0e. 21

Statutes and Legislative Materials

OER ORB 6) 16, 27

8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)(i)...................3, 8, 13, 20, 21

BUG. & LAD U AG IIGND) ...00..ccccccecccccccscccccecsccsess 3

es We FIED soicenssscacccensscces Ti: TNO ee acca okus 8

Be I acs vdsssnesvcccvvsesovoceocessisssavcosceavsces 12

Ee cig esccsvarsecssececesescocee sesrssseee, 8

B U.S.C. § 1184(n)(2Z)....ccceccccccccesesscccccccesescesesesesesceees 21

26 U.S.C. § 31210b)(19) o.ceccccccceccesceeeeeeeceeseees Deals 9

Immigration and Nationality Act of 1990,

Pub. L. 101-649, § 205, 104 Stat. 4978................... 3

Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006,

Bhs SIE © CPGee GMIIOGED occ ccccesccccccncesscorcscesseosessene 4

Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2007,

Bo. RP Oee Co BOEE GMRIIOOED onc. s cecsesccssecsessscosvncosccesesces 4

H. Res. 558, “Grace Hopper National Computer

Science Education Weck,” Oct. 20, 2009,

___ Stat.__, 155 Cong. Rec. H11477

(daily ed. Oct. 20, 2009) .............. AS Pg oN Oa NO 6

H. R. Rep. No. 101-723 (1990) ..........-00+. 6, 7-8, 11, 21

Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986,

Pub. L. 99-603, 100 Stat. 3359................ aN AR NAR 21

Regulations

8 C.F.R. § 214.2 (f)(2009) ......ccccceccccecceseseveeeeeeeeeseees ae

Vil

8 C.F.R. § 125.15(b) (1947) ...ccccceccececcecceceseeceeeeeereeeees 11

Extending Period of Optional Practical Training by

17-Months for F-1 nonimmigrant Students with

STEM (Science, Technology, Mathematics, and

Engineering) Degrees and Expanding Cap Gap

Relief for All F-1 Students with Pending H-1B

Petitions, 73 Fed. Reg. 18,944—56 (April 8, 2008)

(codified at 8 C.F.R. §§ 214, 274a)............... passim

Nonimmigrant Classes; Students, F and M

Classifications, 56 Fed. Reg. 55,608—11

(proposed Oct. 29, 1991) (codified at

8 C.F_R. §§ 214, 274a) ...-cccccccceeee- 11-12, 17, 22-23

Rules

Ne ey I ET ass ca cuarehnscicsceuchdavevaxenatateseneenertees 15

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1)........ Boy Pee das OF 10, 14, 15

eRe eR Se reer 14,18

Other Authorities

Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational

Employment Statistics,

avatlable at http://www.bls.gov/oes .......... PERT? 8

Moira Herbert, Study: No Shortage of U.S.

Engineers, Businessweek, Oct. 28, 2009

available at http://www.businessweek.com/

bwdaily/dnflash/content/oct2009/

db20091027_723059.htam ...............0.ccssssceee spd eR et 7

Miriam Jordan, Slump Sinks Visa Program,

The Wall Street Journal, Oct. 30, 2009

available ai http://online.wsj.com/article/

$11266772667359 14549. Tt. .......cccccescesscccccesessess 3

vill

Norman Matloff, On The Need For Reform Of The

H-1B Non-Immigrant Work Visa In Computer-

Related Occupations,

36 Univ. Mich. J. L. Reform, 815............................ 7

Statement of William H. Gates, Chairman, Microsoft

Corporation, before the U.S. Senate Committee

on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions,

March 7, 2007, available at

http://help.senate.gov/Hearings/2007_03_07/

SN occ isovexcuncs iacaueeas SE Ree ; er

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service,

Characteristics of Specialty Occupation

Workers (H-1B): Fiscal Year 2006, Annual Report,

yoo. PERE OPE LSD Ree AT RT EOE RST OA Laren 8

U.S. Dept. of Education, ints of the Academic

Competitiveness Council (May 2007) available at

http://www.ed.gov/about/inits/ed/

competitiveness/acc-mathscience/report.pdf..........7

U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security, Press Release,

Remarks by Homeland Security Secretary Michael

Chertoff and Department of Commerce Secretary

Gutierrez at the State of Immigration Address,

(June 9, 2008) .............0000 5, 9-10, 12-13, 20-21, 23

U.S. Dept. of Labor, The STEM Workforce Challenge:

the Role of the Public Workforce System in a

National Solution for a Competitive Science,

Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

(STEM) Workforce (2007) available at http://www.

doleta.gov/Youth_services/pdf/

STEM _ Report 4962007 di .............ccccccccccccssoccesssees 6

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners are American science, technology, engi-

neering, and mathematics workers who respectfully

request that this Court issue a writ of certiorari to re-

view the decision and judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit denying them

an opportunity to challenge the regulations issued by

Respondents.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the District of New Jersey, filed on Oct. 31, 2008, is

unreported and reproduced below as Appendix B. The

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit, filed on July 17, 2009, is unreported,

available at 2009 WL 2096292 (July 17, 2009), and

reproduced below as Appendix A. The Third Circuit’s

Order denying rehearing and rehearing en banc is un-

published and 1s reproduced below as Appendix C.

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

A judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

July 17, 2009. A petition for rehearing was denied on

August 17, 2009. Jurisdiction was invoked in the dis-

trict court under 8 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1346 and 1361,

and 5 U.S.C. § 706(2). The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS AT ISSUE

8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)(Q) (2009). Definitions

(a) As used in this chapter

(15) The term “immigrant means every alien except

an alien who is within one of the following classes of

nonimmigrant aliens

2

(I*)(i) an alien having a residence in a foreign coun-

try which he has no intention of abandoning, whois a

bona fide student qualified to pursue a full course of

study and who seeks to enter the United States tem-

porarily and solely for the purpose of pursuing such

a course of study consistent with section 1184(l) of

this title at an established college, university, semi-

nary, conservatory, academic high school, elementary

school, or other academic institution or in a language

training program in the United States, particularly

designated by him and approved by the Attorney

General after consultation with the Secretary of Edu-

cation, which institution or place of study shall have

agreed to report to the Attorney General the termina-

tion of attendance of cach nonimmigrant student, and

if any such institution of learning or place of study

fails to make reports promptly the approval shall be

withdrawn.

Relevant portions of the regulations at issue in this

case, 8 C.F_R. § 214.2(f), are reproduced as Appen-

dix E.

The Interim Final Notice at issue in this case,

8 C.F_R. §§ 214, 274a (Extending Period of Optional

Practical Training by 17-Months for F-1 nonimmi-

grant Students with STEM (Science, Technology,

Mathematics, and Engineering) Degrees and Expand-

ing Cap Gap Relief for All F-1 Students with Pend-

ing H-1B Petitions, 73 Fed. Reg. 18,944—56 (Apmil 8,

2008)), is reproduced as Appendix F.

INTRODUCTION

This case involves two of the principal ways in

which aliens can seek temporary employment in the

United States in science, technology, engineering or

mathematics (collectively known as “STEM” fields).

“Foreign students” with “F-1” visas’ can apply for an

administratively-created’? “Optional Practical Train-

ing” (“OPT”) program which allows them to work to

“further their educational objectives” and “prepare for

careers in their home countries.”*

In 1990, Congress created‘ a visa category, known

as “H-1B,”° which allows aliens in “specialty occupa-

tions” to work in the United States for up to six years.

Many thousands of F-1 foreign students, especially in

STEM fields, seek H-1B visas each year to remain in

the U.S.6

Congress limits the number of H-1B visas available

each year.' In some years, the H-1B program receives

many more applications than the number of available

visas, and applicants have their applications denied

or delayed.* This is not true in the current Fiscal Year.

Miriam Jordan, Slump Sinks Visa Program, The Wall

Street Journal, Oct. 30, 2009 (“thousands of spots un-

filled for the first time since 2003”).

Some American employers proposed an increase in

the H-1B annual visa availability limit and an expan-

'8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)(G) (2009).

78 C.F.R. § 214.2(f)(10)(i1)(A) (ia) (2009).

556 Fed. Reg. 55,611 (Oct. 29, 1991).

‘ Immigration and Nationality Act of 1990, Pub. L. 101-649,

§ 205, 104 Stat. 4978.

58 USC. § 1101(a)(15)(H))(b) (2009)

" App 5la; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,946.

“8 U.S.C. § 1184(g) (2009).

* App. 52a—53a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,946.

sion of the OPT program to allow foreign students to

work for up to 24 months after graduation.’ Despite

four opportunities to do so in 2006 and 2007, Congress

did not enact either change."®

In April, 2008, the Respondents—-expressly citing

employer requests, Congressional inaction and the

need to address the then-over-subscribed H-1B quo-

ta''—admunistratively expanded the OPT program to

provide a 29-month work period to STEM graduates

and authorization to remain in the U.S. while unem-

ployed.'* The expansion of OPT ignored any F-1 visa

category requirements that the “foreign students” be

“bona fide students” in the United States “solely” to

pursue a “course of study,”'* and Respondents’ own

prior regulatory requirements that OPT employment

be to “further their educational objectives” and to pre-

pare for “careers 1n their home countries.”"

This expansion created, by regulation, a new visa

category for foreign student STEM graduates, who

have up to 29 months to seek employment or work

* Statement of William H. Gates, Chairman, Microsoft Corpo-

ration, before the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education,

Labor & Pensions, March 7, 2007 (‘Statement of Bill Gates”),

available at http://help senate .gov/Hearings/2007_03_07/Gates

pdf

'© See Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2007, S. 1348

(110th Congress), § 507, 153 Cong. Rec. 87,271-—313, S7,279 (dai-

ly ed. June 7, 2007); Id., 153 Cong. Rec. at 87,313; Comprehen-

sive Immigration Reform Act of 2007, S. 1639 (110th Congress),

§ 418, 153 Cong. Rec. S8,641-51 (daily ed. June 28, 2007); Com-

prehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006, S. 2611 (109th Con

gress) § 507, 152 Cong. Rec. S$5,135-91 (daily ed. May 25, 2006).

'' App. 52a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,946.

2 App. F; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,944—56.

‘38 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)(i) (2009)

'4 56 Fed. Reg. 55,610-11

5

visas to remain in the United States. The new cat-

egory is expressly intended to bridge the “gap” be-

tween F-1 foreign student and H-1B foreign worker

programs by keeping “students” “in place doing pro-

ductive work while they are awaiting the work visa

process.”'® There is no express statutory authoriza-

tion for this new “bridge” visa program.

This case asks whether, after Congress refuses to

do so, a federal agency may reverse long-standing fed-

eral policy on foreign students’ employment to permit

an estimated 40,000 aliens who have completed their

STEM education to remain in the United States as

“foreign students” so that they can compete for jobs

against American STEM workers. This Petition asks

whether American STEM workers have standing

to challenge the expanded OPT regulations and the

29-month-long “bridge” between foreign student and

alien worker statuses. The courts below dismissed this

challenge because they felt that the American STEM

workers were not within the “zone of interests” of the

immigration laws, as evidenced by the fact that the

F-1 visa provision does not include express American

worker protection language.

The Third Circuit’s holdings below conflict with

those of this Court and other Circuits. The Third Cir-

cuit held that Congress was not “concerned” about

protecting American workers in the foreign student

visa provisions, even though Congress, Respondents

and other Circuits have long recognized that foreign

'S App. 60a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,948.

‘6 U.S. Dept. of Homeland Secunty, Press Relese, Remarks

by Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff and Depart-

ment of Commerce Secretary Gutierrez at the State of Immigra-

tion Address (June 9, 2008) (“Chertoff Remarks”), reprinted in

App. H. at App. 114a.

6

students’ employment should be primarily tied to

their educational programs and should not affect the

American labor market. In addition, the Third Cir-

cuit held that worker protections must be explicit in

the immigration law, which conflicts with decades of

law recognizing that American workers can challenge

the admission of foreign workers. The decision below

weakens the protections Congress intended in the

immigration laws, and limits the ability of American

workers to block ultra vires regulations which affect

them.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics

(“STEM”) workers are vital to the American econo-

my.'’ It 1s federal policy that STEM jobs should be

filled by American STEM workers.'®

'7 U.S. Dept. of Labor, The STEM Workforce Challenge: the

Role of the Public Workforce System in a National Solution for

a Competitive Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathemat-

ics (STEM) Workforce (2007); H. Res. 558, “Grace Hopper Na-

tional Computer Science Education Week,” Oct. 20, 2009, ___

Stat. _, 155 Cong. Rec. H11477 (daily ed. Oct. 20, 2009): “The

legislature finds that the economic well-being of Texas and the

United States, including our competitiveness in national and

world markets, is increasingly dependent on technology and will

require a citizenry that possesses general and specific skills in

mathematics, science, computer science, and related technolog1-

cal subjects.” Texas Learning Tech. Corp. v. Comm, 96 T.C.

686, 687-88 (Tax Court, 1991), quoting. Texas Educ. Code Ann. §

13.501 (Vernon Supp. 1990).

'SH_ R. Rep. No. 101-723 at 45 (1990) (Employers seeking for-

eign workers have a special obligation to ensure that obtaining

workers from abroad is a last resort.”)

7

The federal government spends billions of dollars

each year on STEM education.'? American colleges

are graduating record numbers of American STEM

workers.”°

Nevertheless, some employers prefer to hire foreign

STEM workers.”' Foreign STEM workers often cost

less and do not complain about adverse working con-

ditions. See, e.g., Norman Matloff, On The Need For

Reform Of The H-1B Non-Immigrant Work Visa In

Computer-Related Occupations, 36 Univ. Mich. J. L.

Reform 815, 868—69 (2003) (“Matloff’).277 “The desire

for cheap, compliant labor is so strong that often an

employer will not even consider hinng Americans.”

Id. at 818; App. I.

By 1990, the number of foreign STEM workers ad-

mitted to the United States on temporary work visas

had “resulted in a labor impact necessitating a limita-

'S In Fiscal Year 2007, federal agencies spent $3,473,886,648

on STEM education programs. U.S. Dept. of Education, Re-

port of the Academic Competitiveness Council 50 (May 2007)

available at http://www.ed.gov/about/inits/ed/competitiveness/

acc-mathscience/report.pdf.

°° Moira Herbert, Study: No Shortage of U.S. Engineers, Bus:-

nessWeek, Oct. 28, 2009 available at http://www.businessweek.

com/bwdaily/dnflash/content/oct2009/db2009 1027_723059_htm.

7 or.

2 “The de facto indentured servitude of the H-1Bs is key to

their being exploited as cheap, compliant labor. This is a major

driving force underlying employer preference for H-1Bs [foreign

workers] over American workers.” Matloff, 36 Univ. Mich. J. L

Reform at 869-70.

8

tion on those admissions.””™ H. R. Rep. No. 101-723, at

67. In response, Congress created a new alien worker

program, known as “H-1B,” that imposed annual quo-

tas on foreign labor and included other American la-

bor force protections. 8 U.S.C. §§ 1182(n), 1184(g).

The annual limit on H-1B visas disturbs some

American employers, who have sought to increase

their ability to hire foreign STEM workers. See, e.g.,

Statement of Bill Gates.

The limits on H-1B STEM worker visas also prompt-

ed industry to seek expanded work eligibility on stu-

dent visas.** App. 55a. Employing F-1 student visa

holders provides a number of advantages compared

to aliens on H-1B visas. Because there 1s no statutory

authorization for work on student visas, for example,

there are no explicit domestic labor protections be-

yond the statutory restriction of “solely to pursue ...

a course of study”. 8 U.S.C § 1101(a)(15)(F)(@). Thus,

employers need not show that Americans are unavail-

able, nor are they required to pay the prevailing wage.

Employers also do not have to pay Medicare and So-

*% Between May 2005 and May 2006, total U.S. employment in

computer science grew by 123,460 and in engineering by 47,770.

Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment Statis-

tics, available at http://www.bls.gov/oes. In Fiscal Year 2006,

the number of new H-1B visas for foreign workers in those fields

was equivalent to 39% of job growth. USCIS, Characteristics of

Specialty Occupation Workers (H-1B): Fisca. Year 2006, Annual

Report 11 (2008).

“Representatives of high-tech industries in particular have

raised significant concerns that the inability of U.S. companies

to obtain H-1B visas for qualified F-1 students in a timely man-

ner continues to result in the loss of skilled technical workers to

countries with more lenient employment visa regimes, such as

Canada and Australia.” App. 55a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,947.

9

cial Security payroll taxes for work performed on F-1

visas. 26 U.S.C. § 3121(b)(19).

Congress, however, has refused to authorize work

on F-1 visas. Secretary Chertoff noted: “[T}his prob-

lem is going to persist until Congress grabs the nettle

and decides that we're going to put together a compre-

hensive immigration reform program that everybody

can live with.” Chertoff Remarks, App. 117a.

The Respondents then authorized work on F-1 vi-

sas by regulation.”* This change was based on employ-

ment, not educational, purposes. “This interim final

rule addresses the immediate competitive disadvan-

tage faced by U.S. high-tech industries, and thus may

quickly ameliorate some of the adverse impacts on the

U.S. economy.” App. 56a—57a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,947.

As Secretary Chertoff put it:

What this does is it allows us to continue to

keep smart, well-educated foreign students

who want to come over and ultimately get a

work visa, allows us to keep them in place

doing productive work while they are await-

ing the work visa process. And that’s not just

good for them. I[t actually creates jobs in the

American economy for others as well. Soit’sa

win-win both for the students, a win-win for

the employers and a win-win for American

workers.

Chertoff Remarks at App. 11]14a.

This challenge was brought by American STEM

workers who don’t believe that they “won” under the

Department’s expansion of foreign student work eligi-

2 See n9, supra

*6 Chertoff Remarks at App. 117a

10

bility. Petitioners are qualified and available to do the

type of STEM jobs addressed in the Respondents’ IFR.

Yet, as soon as the F-1 OPT program was expanded

from educational to employment-based, Petitioners

found that employers were advertising exclusively for

“foreign students” who were participating in the new

expanded OPT program. See, e.g., App. 126a.

Petitioner Michael Amanti, for example, is a Java

and Java Enterprise programmer with bachelor’s and

master’s degrees; he is currently unemployed, and

sees advertisements for jobs he is qualified to take as

being only available to foreign students who have re-

cently graduated. App. 100a—101la, 4 6 (Comp).). He

is excluded from applying for these jobs because he is

an American citizen. The same is true of the other in

dividual STEM worker Petitioners. App. 100a—105a:

4 6-17 (Comp!l.)

Petitioners filed suit to block the expansion of elig-

ibility for foreign student graduates in American

STEM jobs. App. G (Compl). The Court of Appeals be-

low found that up to 40,000 foreign “students would

compete with the Plaintiffs for STEM jobs.” App. 4a.

Nevertheless, the suit was dismissed under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 12(b)(1), because the courts below felt that the

Petitioners lacked standing.

Statutory and Regulatory Background

The “F-1” student visa authorizes admission to the

United States for “bona fide student[s]} ... solely for

the purpose of pursuing ... a course of study. 8 U.S.C.

§ 1101(a)(15)(F)(a).

There is no statutory authorization for work under

the student visa. A foreign student who works with-

out authorization 1s in violation of the terms of the F-1

visa and becomes removable from the United States.

11

See, e.g., Kirong v. Mukasey, 529 F.3d 800, 802 (8th

Cir. 2008); United States v. Igbatayo, 764 F.2d 1039,

1040 (5th Cir. 1985).

Nevertheless, from 1947-1991, the INS permit-

ted six months of work (called “practical training”)

required or recommended by the school. 8 C.F.R.

§ 125.15(b) (1947). That work period could be renewed

twice. Id.

Aware of the potential for abuse, Congress was con-

cerned about the possibility of foreign students com-

peting with American workers. In 1990, the House

Judiciary Committee criticized “inadequate propos-

als” under consideration by the INS to expand foreign

student employment that “did not contain any labor

safeguards.” H. R. Rep. No. 101-723, at 45, 67.

In 1991 the INS expanded practical training to per-

mit any student to engage in one year of work after

graduation as “Optional Practical Training” (““OPT’).”’

This work period was permitted only so students could

“further their educational objectives” and to “prepare

students for careers in their home countries.” 56 Fed.

Reg. 55,611.

At that time, the agency expressly recognized the

need to protect American workers against competi-

tion from foreign student workers:

The F-1 student employment program in the

final rule represents a careful balance be-

tween the [Immigration and Naturalization]

Service’s desire to allow foreign students ev-

ery opportunity to further their educational

77 Nonimmigrant Classes: Students, F and M Classifications.

56 Fed. Reg. 55,608 (proposed Oct. 29, 1991) (codified at 8 C_F.R.

§§ 214, 274a).

12

objectives in this country and the need to

avoid adversely affecting the domestic labor

market. The House Judiciary Committee

report on HR 4300 ... demonstrated a clear

Congressional concern about the Service's

plan to expand student. employment au-

thorization without any built-in labor safe-

guards.

56 Fed. Reg. 55,610.

As noted supra, at 4, after Congress refused to ex-

pand the OPT time period to 24 months after gradua-

tion, Respondents expanded the F-1 visa regulations

to do the same thing:

In April we published an interim final rule

that extends the total period of Optional

Practical Training from 12 to 29 months

for-—_immigrant students[*] with a degree in

science, technology, engineering or mathe-

matics, who have accepted employment with

an employer enrolled in E- Verify.

Chertoff Remarks, App. 114a.

DHS enacted the Rule without notice and comment

on April 8, 2008 as an Interim Final Rule (“IFR”).

App. 71a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,944.

In addition to those foreign graduates who have a

job offer from an American employer, as suggested

by Secretary Chertoff, this change of the OPT pro-

8 Secretary Chertoff's characterization of these aliens as “immi-

grant students” was not correct; foreign students are by definition

non-immigrants “having a residence in a foreign country which

he has no intention of abandoning.” 8 U.S.C. §§ 1101(a)(15)(F)(i),

1184(b). Intending immigrant workers are not eligible for the

OPT program.

13

gram from educational to employment-based also al-

lows STEM graduates to remain in the United States

while unemployed and looking for work for as long

as 120 days. App. 68a—69a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,950. DHS

does not require this extended period of work or un-

employment to be related to a “course of study” or

that aliens who have graduated and seeking employ-

ment be a “bona fide student” as required under the

F-1 student visa statute. ”

DHS estimates that this expansion has “the poten-

tial to add tens of thousands of OPT workers to the to-

tal population of OPT workers in STEM occupations in

the U.S. economy.” App. 70a; 73 Fed. Reg. 18,950. The

Third Circuit below estimated the number of foreign

yraduates who would remain in the United States to

take STEM jobs at 40,000. App. 4a.

The Third Circuit found that “[t]hose F-1 students

compete with the plaintiffs for STEM jobs.” Id. The

Third Circuit also found, without the expansion, those

40,000 foreign graduate workers would have had to

return home, rather than continue working in the

United States. Jd.

Procedural Background

On May 29, 2008, Petitioners filed this challenge, al-

leging that the foreign graduate worker rule exceeded

DHS’s statutory authority, was implemented without

notice and comment, and was arbitrary and capri-

cious. Petitioners also filed a motion for a preliminary

injunction and attached copies of job advertisements

specifically seeking foreign student workers. App. I.

” A second work expansion 1n the IFR allows any alien worker

with a pending H-1B petition to continue working until either

the petition is reyected or the H-1B visas for the next fiscal year

become effective. App. 66a—68a.

14

Before Respondents answered the Complaint, the

District Court denied Petitioners’ preliminary injunc-

tion motion and issued an order to show cause why

the case should not be dismissed for lack of standing.

App. D. “[T]his allegation expresses a general dissat-

isfaction with the DHS policy towards employment of

non-immigrant visa holders. The complaint also seeks

relief that no more directly benefits Plaintiffs than it

does the public at large.” App. 27a.

On August 20, 2008, Petitioners filed an Amended

Complaint adding plaintiffs and allegations of spe-

cific harms. App. G. Respondents responded to the

Amended Complaint with a Motion to Dismiss under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6).

On Oct. 31, 2008, the District Court granted the

Respondents’ Motion to Dismiss under Fed. R. Civ.

P. 12(b)(1). App. B. The District Court held that Peti-

tioners’ increased competition with “foreign students”

was not an injury in fact, App. 15a—16a, that regula-

tory-created competition is an injury in fact only to

businesses but not to workers, App. 16a n.3, and that

the Rule did not increase the number of foreign work-

ers so it did not increase competition. App. 17a n.6.

The District Court also held that Petitioners’ injuries

were not redressable since, even if the Rule were in-

validated, there would still be foreign workers com-

peting with Petitioners. App. 18a n.6.

Furthermore, the District Court held that the Rule

was lawful and that DHS properly waived notice and

comment. App. 20a n.10. The district court held the

petitioners alleged no facts that the DHS acted arbi-

trarily and capriciously. App. 20a—21a.

Petitioners filed a timely notice of appeal on Nov.

21, 2008. The case was argued on June 2, 2009. The

15

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

affirmed the dismissal under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1)

in an unpublished, “non-precedential”™” opinion is-

sued on July 17, 2009. App. A.

The Third Circuit first looked at Petitioners’ stand-

ing. “Particularly relevant to this case, the plaintiff,

to establish prudential standing, must demonstrate

that the interest it seeks to protect is arguably within

the zone of interests to be protected ... by the statute

. In question.” App. A (citation omitted).

The plaintiffs claim that they were and con-

tinue to be injured by F-1 STEM students

who, instead of leaving the country after 12

months of OPT, remain in the country by

taking on additional OPT and filing an H-1B

petition. Those F-1 students compete with

the plaintiffs for STEM jobs. Absent the IFR,

those students would be forced to return to

their home countries after 12 months of OPT

and would not threaten the plaintiffs’ job

prospects. Yet, perhaps because they viewed

the relevant statute as the entire INA, the

plaintiffs never argue precisely why this inju

ry arguably falls within the zone of interests

protected by § 1101(a)(15)(F)(j) in particular.

We hold that this injury does not fall within

that zone, and, therefore, that the plaintiffs

lack prudential standing.

App. 8a.

® But see, Fed. R. App. P. 32.1; Comm’r of INS v. McCoy, 484

U.S 3. 7 (1987) (unpublished opinion exceeded jurisdiction)

16

The Third Circuit, citing Federation for Am. Immi-

gration Reform|[*'] v. Reno, 93 F.3d 897, 899 (D.C. Cir.

1999) (“FAIR”) (citizens cannot use immigration laws’

American worker protections to challenge non-worker

“humanitarian parole” decisions), held that the lack

of language in the F-1 provision explicitly protecting

American workers meant that Petitioners were not

within the zone of interests of the immigration laws.

App. lla.

The Third Circuit also relied on another case, Jntl

Union of Bricklayers & Allied Craftsman v. Meese,

761 F.2d 798 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (“Bricklayers”), “a case

where the court held that domestic workers’ interest

in limiting competition in the job market generated

by an influx of alien laborers fell within the zone of

interests protected by a provision of the INA,” which

it thought relied on express language in the statute

protecting American workers.*? App. 9a—10a.

The Third Circuit noted that the INS had offered

practical training and OPT for many years, and that

Congress had several opportunities to reject or ad-

| The Federation for American Immigration Reform, a non-

profit organization, is affiliated with the Immigration Reform

Law Institute, which provided trial and appellate counsel to Pe-

titioners.

“@ The Third Circuit was incorrect in its understanding of the

situation in Bricklayers. The alien workers in Bricklayers were

admitted on “B” visitors visas. 761 F.2d at 800-801. Like the F-1

visa provision, the “B” visa category has no express language pro-

viding American worker protections. 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(B)

(“[A]n alien (other than one coming for the purpose of study or

of performing skilled or unskilled labor or as a representative

of foreign press, radio, film, or other foreign information media

coming to engage in such vocation) having a residence in a for-

eign country which he has no intention of abandoning and who is

visiting the United States temporarily for business or temporar

ily for pleasure.”)

17

dress these opportunities for foreign students to

work. App. 10a—1lla. The Third Circuit believed that

Congressional inaction:

[P]rovides further evidence that protection of

domestic workers was not among Congress's

concerns in enacting and re-enacting the F-1

status provision, and it tends to suggest that

Congress—like DHS in issuing the IFR—was

concerned with increasing the country’s pool

of available STEM workers.

App. 10a.

The Third Circuit did not cite or note the 1990

House Judiciary Committee Report criticizing foreign

student employment or the congressional rejections

of the same expansion undertaken by Respondents,

both described supra, at 4, 11-12. Nor did the Third

Circuit note Respondents’ 1991 regulations creating

the OPT program itself, with its “careful balance”

between the needs of the students and “the need to

avoid adversely affecting the domestic labor market.”

56 Fed. Reg. 55,610.

The Third Circuit also did not address the Fed.

R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) or merits holdings by the District

Court. App. lla, n.2.

The Third Circuit denied a timely petition for re

hearing on Aug. 17, 2009. App. C.

18

REASONS TO GRANT THE PETITION

A primary purpose of the immigration statutes

is to “preserve jobs for American workers.” JNS uv.

Natl Center for Immigrants’ Rights, 502 U.S. 183,

194 (1991); Sure-Tan, Inc. v. NLRB, 467 U.S. 883,

893 (1984). One of the “great purposes was to protect

American labor against the influx of foreign labor.”

Karnuth v. United States, 279 U.S. 231, 244 (1929).

Other courts have universally accepted protection

of American labor as a fundamental purpose of the

immigration statutes. FAIR, 93 F.3d at 904 (“clear

concern about protecting the job opportunities of

United States citizens”); Bricklayers, 761 F.2d at 805

(“Congress has thus been concerned with the impact

of competition by foreigners on the American labor

force since 1885, and has passed increasingly restric-

tive legislation on the entry of non-immigrant alien

workers.”); Intl Longshoremen’s and Warehousemen's

Union v. Meese, 891 F.2d 1374, 1379 (9th Cir. 1989);

Medellin v. Bustos, 854 F.2d 795 (5th Cir. 1988); Patel

v. INS, 811 F.2d 377 (7th Cir. 1986) (“Patel”’); Lon-

dono v. INS, 433 F.2d 635, 636 (2d Cir. 1970); Digilab

vu. Sec'y of Labor, 495 F.2d 323, 326 (1st Cir. 1974).

In their 2008 regulatory expansion of the chal-

lenged regulations, Respondents eliminated that fo-

cus on protecting American labor. The lower courts

here adopted that reversal of policy, as well as a ratio-

nale that conflicts with Congress's express language,

Respondents’ prior policies and statements, and sev-

eral lines of judicial precedent.

19

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With the

Statutory Language, Congress’s Expressed

Intent, Respondents’ Prior Policy and Other

Circuits’ Longstanding Views on Worker

Protections in the F-1 Visa Statute and on

American Workers’ Ability to Challenge the

Admission of Foreign Workers Competing for

Domestic Jobs:

The Third Circuit’s opinion below is the first post-

1990 decision on foreign student work authorization

under the OPT program. In contrast to the umform

understanding of the immigration laws as protecting

American workers, as shown supra at 18, the Third

Circuit found that:

[P]jrotection of domestic workers was not

among Congress’s concerns in enacting and

re-enacting the F-1 status provision, and it

tends to suggest that Congress—lhke DHS

in issuing the [FR—was concerned with

increasing the country’s pool of available

STEM workers. See Lorillard v. Pons, 434

U.S. 575, 580 (1978) (“Congress is presumed

to be aware of an administrative ... interpre-

tation of a statute and to adopt that inter-

pretation when it re-enacts a statute without

change.”).

App. 10a.

The Third Circuit also held that American work-

ers were not within the “zone of interests” of the im-

migration laws because there was no express worker

language in the F-1 visa provision. App. 10a. It sug-

gested that the D.C. Circuit in FAIR and Bricklayers

agreed that express language is required for Ameri-

20

can workers to be within the zone of interests. App.

Ya—10a.

This finding that Congress was “not ... concern{ed]”

about protecting U.S. workers in enacting and revis-

iting the F-1 visa provisions conflicts with the statu-

tory language, Congress's express statements about

protecting American workers, with the agency’s own

prior positions and policies, and with other Circuits’

holdings on Congressional intent. The holding that

American workers are not within the zone of inter-

ests of the immigration laws conflicts with numerous

decisions of this and the Circuit Courts on the abil-

ity of American workers to challenge the admission of

competing alien workers.

A. The Statutory Language of the Foreign

Student Program Permits Only

Educational, Not Employment, Activities:

The statutory language of the F-1 visa program

permits an alien to enter the United States only if

the alien, “is a bona fide student qualified to pursue a

full course of study and who seeks to enter the United

States temporarily and solely for the purpose of pursu-

ing such acourse of study.” 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)@).

There is no statutory authorization for an alien ad-

mitted on an F-1 visa to work in the United States.

The sole rationale for the expansion is to allow F-1

students who have already graduated to remain in the

United States to search for and take jobs. “What this

does is it allows us to continue to keep smart, well-

educated foreign students who want to come over and

ultimately get a work visa, allows us to keep them in

place doing productive work while they are awaiting

the work visa process.” Chertoff Remarks, App. 114a.

21

There is no statutory authority in 8 U.S.C.

§ 1101(a)(15)(F)Q) to do this. There may be authority

in another section of the immigration laws,™ but the

F-1 visa category cannot be expanded by regulation to

include non-students. Any expansion or creation of a

new visa category for foreign STEM graduates must

be done by Congress, which has chosen not to do so.

B. Congress Has Long Been Concerned with

Labor Protections in F-1 Visas:

In the Immigration Reform and Control Act of

1986, Pub. L. 99-603, 100 Stat. 3359 (“IRCA”), Con-

gress “corrected abuse by many groups, including

foreign students.” United States v. Oloyede, 982 F.2d

133, 137-38 (4th Cir. 1993), quoting, H.R. Rep. No.

99-682(1), 99th Cong., 2nd Sess., U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 1986, 5654 (“the Committee has placed

restrictions on the ability of these students to remain

in the United States and seek lawful permanent resi-

dent alien status.”).

In 1990, the House Judiciary Committee com-

plained that INS proposals to expand foreign student

employment “did not contain any labor safeguards.”

H. R. Rep. No. 101-723, at 45, 67 (1990). When Con-

gress addressed employers’ requests for more STEM

workers in 1990, it did so through the H-1B visa pro-

vision, whose limits include strict annual quotas on

visa issuance and other worker protections. Id.

These specific Congressional actions cannot be re-

conciled with the Third Circuit's contention that “pro-

tection of domestic workers was not among Congress’s

83 See, e.g..8 USC. § 1184(n)(2). providing for temporary resi-

dence for a worker while waiting for a permanent resident work-

er visa.

22

concerns in enacting and re-enacting the F-1 status

provision.” App. 10a. In addition, the Third Circuit’s

contention that “Congress—like DHS in issuing the

IFR—was concerned with increasing the country’s

pool of available STEM workers,” conflicts both with

existing federal policy to use domestic STEM workers

and with Congress’s decision not to expand either the

H-1B visa quotas or F-1 student employment.

C. Before 2008, Respondents Themselves Had

a Policy of Preserving American Jobs from

Foreign Students:

Respondents themselves have long been concerned

with protecting American workers.

One of the conditions stated in the [foreign

students’ Maintenance of Status} Bond, a

condition designed, of course, to preserve

American jobs for bona fide members of the

American labor force, was that, being admit-

ted as a foreign student, during Islam’s stay

in the United States as a student, Islam would

not accept “unauthorized employment,” that

is, employment that had not received prior

approval from the Service.

Ahmed v. United States, 480 F.2d 531, 532 (2d Cir.

1973) (‘Ahmed’) (emphasis added).

Sumilarly, in 1991 when Respondents administra-

tively created the OPT program itself, Respondents

were careful to reflect Congressional intent to protect

American workers: “The House Judiciary Committee

report on HR 4300 ... demonstrated a clear Congress-

ional concern about the [Immigration and Natural-

ization} Service’s plan to expand student employment

23

authorization without any built-in labor safeguards.”

56 Fed. Reg. 55,610.

In response, Respondents crafted a “careful bal-

ance” which existed until the challenged April 2008

expansion of the program: “The F-1 student employ-

ment program in the final rule represents a careful

balance between the Service’s desire to allow foreign

students every opportunity to further their educa-

tional objectives in this country and the need to avoid

adversely affecting the domestic labor market.” Id.

(emphasis added).

If, as the Third Circuit contends in its decision

below that Congress was “aware” of the F-1 foreign

student OPT work program, and acquiesced in the

F-1 regulations, App 10a, it is precisely because Con-

gress was told by Respondents that the OPT program

“contain[ed] labor safeguards” and “avoid[ed] ad-

versely affecting the domestic labor market.” 56 Fed.

Reg. 55,610. In fact, as shown supra, at 4, by rejecting

numerous attempts to increase the number of foreign

STEM workers, Congress had considered “increas-

ing the country’s pool of STEM workers” and believed

that the increase should come from domestic, not for-

eign student, workers.

The Third Circuit flipped Congressional intention

on its head. Only Secretary Chertoff rationalized the

program as a “win-win” for American workers. App.

114a. Congress did not do so by acquiescence.

24

D.The Third Circuit’s Opinion Conflicts with

Other Circuits Which Have Held that the

F-1 Student Visa Includes Protections for

American Workers:

Unhke the Third Circuit, other Circuits have held

that protection of domestic workers was among Con-

gress’s concerns in enacting and re-enacting the F-1

status provision. See, e.g. Patel, 811 F.2d at 383 (Board

of Immigration Appeals entitled to deny foreign stu-

dent’s adjustment of status based on unauthorized

employment because “In large measure the immigra-

tion laws are intended to protect the domestic labor

force.”); Ahmed, 480 F.2d at 532 (foreign students’

employment authorization condition “designed, of

course, to preserve American jobs for bona fide mem-

bers of the American labor force.”).

E. The Third Circuit’s Opinion Conflicts

with Other Circuits Which Have Held that

American Workers Can Challenge the

Admission of Competing Alien Workers:

The Third Circuit made findings which indicate

that Petitioners had standing to maintain this case:**

“Those F-1 students compete with the plaintiffs for

STEM jobs. Absent the IFR, those students would

be forced to return to their home countries after

12 months of OPT and would not threaten the plain-

tiffs’ job prospects.” App. 4a.

Nevertheless, the Third Circuit held that, “the

plaintiffs never argue precisely why this injury ar-

4A plaintiff must allege three elements to satisfy the constitu-

tional component of standing: 1) injury in fact; 2) a fairly trace-

able causal connection between defendants’ conduct and the

injury; and 3) the injury is likely to be redressed by the rehef

sought. Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 750—51 (1984).

25

guably falls within the zone of interests protected by

§ 1101(a)(15)(F)G) in particular. We hold that this in-

jury does not fall within that zone, and, therefore, that

the plaintiffs lack prudential standing.” App. 8a.

The Third Circuit’s holding was predicated on its

belief that, “the F-1 status provision contains no lan-

guage conditioning entry into the United States on

noninterference with domestic labor conditions.” App.

10a.

This belhet has no foundation. As shown supra, at

21—24, the Third Circuit was mistaken about the lack

of worker protections in the foreign student program.

Congress, Respondents and reviewing courts have

long held that the foreign student program cannot be

used to “interfere[{] with domestic labor conditions.”

App 10a.

The Third Circuit was also similarly mistaken

about the need for specific worker protection language

in the F-1 provision itself. The Third Circuit cited two

opinions from the D.C. Circuit as support, but each

of those opinions actually rejects the Third Circuit’s

reasoning.

1. FAIR v. Reno, Like “Zone-of-Interest”

Decisions of This Court, Does Not Require

Express Language in the Specific Immigration

Law Provision:

In support of its position, the Third Circuit cited the

D.C. Circuit’s decision in FAIR. App. 8a—10a (“sup-

ports our determination that the STEM workers fail

the zone-of-interests test in this case.”). Yet neither

FAIR nor any other “zone of interests” case r-~uires

that there be specific language 1n the provision chal-

lenged in a case:

26

We do not believe that an affirmative signal

of Congressional intent to permit a suit is re-

quired for a finding of prudential standing; a

different conclusion would be difficult to rec-

oncile with the Court’s statement in Clarke

that “the [zone-of-interests] test is not meant

to be especially demanding; in particular,

there need be no indication of congressional

purpose to benefit the would-be plaintiff.” 479

U.S. at 399-400.

93 F.3d at 902 (emphasis in original).

FAIR said, “we have viewed parties as showing

a protected interest if either they were intended by

Congress as ‘beneficiaries’ of the statute or we could

infer that Congress intended them as a ‘suitable chal-

lenger.” 93 F.3d at 900. By a “suitable challenger,”

the D.C. Circuit meant having “more than a marginal

relationship to the statutory purposes.” Jd., quoting

Clarke v. Securities Indus. Ass’n., 479 U.S. 388, 399

(1987).

Petitioners are STEM workers who are available

to do the jobs which the “foreign students” are being

allowed to seek. The Third Circuit recognized that

the challenged regulations deal specifically and only

with STEM jobs: “Congress—like DHS in issuing the

IFR—was concerned with increasing the country’s

pool of available STEM workers.” App. 10a. American

STEM workers would seem to be either “beneficiaries”

of the worker protections every other observer sees in

the F-1 program, or to have “more than a marginal

relationship to the statutory purposes.” Rather than

supporting the Third Circuit's analysis, FAIR actu-

ally conflicts with it.

27

2. Contrary to the Third Circuit’s

Characterization, Bricklayers v. Mecse

Does Not Require Express Language in the

Specific Provision, and the American Workers

in Bricklayers Relied on a Provision Which

Contained No Such Express Language:

The Third Circuit, in its discussion of FAIR, also

mentioned Jnt’l Union of Bricklayers v. Meese, 761

F.2d 798, as supporting its “no language” rationale.

App. 9a—10a. In Bricklayers, U.S. workers challenged

an INS procedure that admitted foreign bricklayers

on “B” visitor visas. Jd. at 800.

The Third Circuit mischaracterized the situation in

Bricklayers, since “B” visitor visas, like F-1 student

visas, do not have language incorporating worker pro-

tections.*° The Bricklayers court, on facts very similar

to those in this case, held that the competition from

the foreign workers was an injury in fact. Jd. at 802

“We must conclude that appellants fall within the

‘zone of interest’ created by the Act before us.” Jd. at

805.

Bricklayers, therefore, stands for the proposition

that American workers have standing to challenge

foreign workers’ admission even if the specific visa

provision used by the aliens contains no express lan-

guage regarding the protection of American workers.

This is the exact opposite of the Third Circuit’s main

3% 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(B) (‘an alien (other than one coming

for the purpose of study or of performing skilled or unskilled

labor or as a representative of foreign press, radio, film, or other

foreign information media coming to engage in such vocation)

having a residence in a foreign country which he has no inten-

tron of abandoning and who ts visiting the United States tempo-

rarily for business or temporarily for pleasure.”).

28

holding, and the opposite of the Third Circuit’s char-

acterization of Bricklayers.

The Third Circuit’s rationale for denying pruden-

tial standing will produce uncertainty about the zone-

of-interest test and the applicability of worker protec-

tions in the immigration laws. This Court in Clarke

did not require specific language in the exact chal-

lenged statutory language, yet the Third Circuit used

a “specific language” test as its entire rationale for

denying standing.

The Third Circuit's rationale would have resulted

in different outcomes in prior cases. Bricklayers, for

example, had a very similar factual situation: Ameri-

can workers challenging foreign workers competing

in their specific occupation, admitted under a statuto-

ry provision without specific protections for American

workers. In Bricklayers, the American workers had

standing; here the American workers did not.

The Court should issue a writ to prevent the Third

Circuit’s unsupported rationales from confusing both

the protections available to American workers and

the zone-of-interest tests.

29

CONCLUSION

Petitioners therefore respectfully urge the Court to

issue the writ.

Barnaby W. Zall John M. Miano

Counsel of Record Garrett Roe

Weinberg & Jacobs, LLP Michael Hethmon

11300 Rockville Pike, #1200 Immigration Reform

Rockville, MD 20852 Law Institute

(301) 231-6943 25 Massachusetts Ave. N.W.

bzall@bzall.com Suite 335

Washington, DC 20001

November 13, 2009

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A—Opinion of the Third Circuit

(July 17, 2009)

Not Precedential

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 08-4642

THE PROGRAMMERS GUILD, INC.; AMERICAN

ENGINEERING ASSOCIATION, INC.; BRIGHT

FUTURE JOBS; MICHAEL AMANTI; MARK

BLACKBURN; TONI L. CHESTER; DAVID

HUBER; JOHN G. MARSON; HARRISON PICOT,

Il; PAUL E. POLAK; MIKE ROTHSCHILD;

ROBERT SANCHEZ; STEPHEN BERRY;

STEPHANIE M. BERRY, Appellants

U.

MICHAEL CHERTOFPF, In his capacity as Secretary

of Homeland Security, United States Department

of Homeland Security; UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

On Appeal From the United States District Court for

the District of New Jersey

(No. 08-cv-2666)

District Judge: Honorable Faith S. Hochberg

Argued June 2, 2009

Before: FISHER and CHAGARES, Circuit Judges,

and DIAMOND,’ District Judge

(Filed : July 17, 2009)

“Honorable Paul S. Diamond, United States District Judge for

the Easterm District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation

John Miano (argued)

Michael Hethmon

Immigration Reform Law Institute

25 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Ste. 330B

Washington, DC 2000!

Counsel for Appellants

Samuel P. Go (argued)

United States Dep't of Justice

Office of Immigration Litigation

Room 6042

450 5th St., N.W.

Washington, DC 20001

James B. Clark

Office of the United States Attorney for the District

of New Jersey

970 Broad St.

Room 700

Newark, NJ 07102

Counsel! for Appellees

Opinion of the Court

CHAGARES, Circuit Judge.

The plaintiffs appeal from the District Court's or

der dismissing their complaint. We will affirm.

I.

Because we write solely for the benefit of the par-

ties, we will recite only the essential facts.

An alien seeking to attend school in the United

States may apply for “F-1" status—and, if granted,

may reside lawfully in the country—for as long as he

is a full-time student. After he completes his academ-

3a

ic program, he can maintain F-] status for a limited

time while engaging in employment directly related

to his field of study, called “optional practical train-

ing” (“OPT”). After OPT ends, the student has a short

grace period in which to arrange for a new method

of remaining in the United States or, failing that, to

leave it.

One popular method of remaining in the country is

obtaining “H-1B” status in connection with anticipated

future employment in a technical field requiring ad-

vanced study. To obtain H-1B status, the prospective

employer files a petition on the student’s behalf. If the

petition is granted, the F-1 student can be present in

the country for up to six years from the date that em-

ployment begins. Congress caps the number of indi-

viduals who may assume H-1B status each year. The

application timetable, however, causes the average

student to have a gap between the expiration of his F-1

status and the commencement of his H-1B status.

Prior to April 8, 2008, the Department of Homeland

Security (“DHS”) limited OPT to 12 months. Also, a

student whose F-1 status had expired but whose H-1B

petition was pending was not entitled to remain in

the country while it was being considered. On April

8, 2008, DHS, citing its authority pursuant to the Im-

migration and Nationality Act of 1952 (“INA”), issued

an interim final rule (‘IFR”) addressing these issues.

The IFR extends OPT to 29 months for students in

science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (the

so-called “STEM” fields). It also allows an F-1 student

with a pending H-1B petition to remain in the country

until the petition is formally ruled upon and, if ulti-

mately granted. until he begins work.

The Administrative Procedure Act (“APA”), 5 U.S.C.

§ 553(b), (d), provides that an agency normally must

4a

give public notice of a proposed rulemaking, solicit

comments from interested persons, and, once the rule

is ultimately issued, wait 30 days before enforcing it.

DHS invoked a statutory “good cause” exception al-

lowing it to skip these steps and declare the IFR effec-

tive immediately, on the ground that any delay was

“impracticable, unnecessary, or contrary to the public

interest.” DHS found that STEM fields were experi-

encing a severe labor shortage, and it estimated that

the IFR would allow over 40,000 STEM students, who

otherwise would have to leave the country, to remain

in the United States and help alleviate the shortage.

A handful of domestic workers in or about to enter

the STEM job market, and organizations representing

them and others similarly situated, filed a complaint

in federal court seeking to invalidate the IFR. Invok-

ing the APA’s judicial-review provision, 5 U.S.C. § 702,

they claimed that, in issuing the IFR, DHS exceeded

the scope of its INA authority, acted arbitrarily and

capriciously, and failed to justify its use of the “good

cause” exception to full-blown rulemaking procedure.

The plaintiffs allege that the rule has harmed them

by increasing the supply of workers who compete with

them for jobs, forcing wages down, prompting employ-

ers to replace non-OPT workers with OPT workers,

and causing employers to fill open positions only with

OPT workers.

DHS filed a motion to dismiss for lack of standing

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1), and, in the alter-

native, pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) for failure to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted. The District

Court granted the motion, holding that the plaintiffs

lacked standing and that their claims were meritless

as a matter of law. The plaintiffs then filed this ap-

peal.

5a

Il.

The District Court had jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1346. We have jurisdiction pursu-

ant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

To maintain an action in federal court, a plaintiff

must demonstrate constitutional standing by satisfy-

ing several requirements imposed by Article III of the

Constitution. See Toll Bros., Inc. v. Twp. of Reading-

ton, 555 F.3d 131, 137—38 (3d Cir. 2009) (outlining Ar-

ticle III’s “irreducible constitutional minimum”). The

plaintiff must also demonstrate prudential standing

by meeting certain judge-made requirements designed

to limit the exercise of federal jurisdiction. Elk Grove

Unified Sch. Dist. v. Newdow, 542 U.S. 1, 11 (2004).

Particularly relevant to this case, the plaintiff, to

establish prudential standing, must demonstrate that

the interest it seeks to protect “is arguably within the

zone of interests to be protected...by the statute...

in question.” Ass’n of Data Processing Serv. Orgs. v.

Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 153 (1970) (discussing zone-of-

interests test in context of APA challenge to agency

action). The “statute...1n question” encompasses more

than just the provision allegedly violated by the ad-

ministrative action. It also includes other provisions

having an “integral relationship” to that provision. Air

Courier Conference v. Am. Postal Workers Union, 498

U.S. 517, 530 (1991). The “integral relationship” re-

quirement should not be applied too rigidly, see Davis

uv. Phila. Housing Auth., 121 F.3d 92, 98 n.8 (3d Cir.

1997), but it also should not be applied so loosely— uch

as by deeming each section of an act “integrally relat-

ed” to all other sections — as to render it meaningless,

Air Courier Conference, 498 U.S. at 529-30. Factors to

consider in determining whether two provisions in an

act are integrally related include whether both pro-

6a

visions address similar subject matter, whether leg-

islative history reveals that they share a common

purpose, and whether they are located in a common

section or subsection of the act. See Fed’n for Am.

Immig. Reform v. Reno, 93 F.3d 897, 903—04 (D.C.

Cir. 1999) (discussing “integral relationship” analy-

sis).

After the court identifies the “statute...in ques-

tion,” it must determine whether the plaintiff's 1n-

terests “arguably fall within the zone of interests

to be protected” by it. This determination, like the

“integral relationship” analysis, is “not meant to be

especially demanding.” Clarke v. Sec. Indus. Ass'n,

A479 U.S. 388, 399-400 (1987). The plaintiff need not

show that Congress intended him, in particular, to

benefit from the provisions. Jd. But, he must show

that his interests are more than “marginally related

to...the purposes implicit in the statute.” Jd.

ITT.

A.

The plaintiffs argue that the relevant statute is

the entire INA. The Supreme Court has squarely

disallowed such a kitchen-sink approach, however,

and requires litigants to identify the relevant provi-

sions with some particularity. See Air Courier Con-

ference, 498 U.S. at 529-30.

The relevant provision here is the one the

plaintiffs allege DHS actually violated: 8 U.S.C.

§ 1101(a)(15)(F)Q), defining F-1 status. It states

that an alien “who seeks to enter the United States

temporarily and solely for the purpose of pursuing

... a course of study” at a DHS-approved education-

al institution is deemed a “non-immigrant.” Subse-

la

quent provisions allow the Attorney General to ad-

mit such non-immigrants into the country.'

'For the first time on appeal, the plaintiffs 1 identify two oth-

er potentially relevant INA provisions: § 1182(a)(5)(A)(Q@) and

(n)(1){A). The first, § 1182(a)(5)(A)(i), states:

Any alien who seeks to enter the United States for the

purpose of performing skilled or unskilled labor is inad-

missible, unless the Secretary of Labor has determined

and certified ... that ...the employment of such alien will

not adversely affect the wages and working conditions of

workers in the United States similarly employed.

The second, § 1182(n)(1){A), requires an employer filing an H-1B

petition on an alien’s behalf to include such a certification in the

application.

Resort to these labor-certification provisions fails for two reasons.

First, the plaintiffs failed to bring these provisions to the atten-

tion of the District Court. Therefore, we need not consider them

on appeal. See Common Cause v. Pennsylvania, 558 F.3d 249,

263 (3d Cir. 2009) (explaining that even though this Court has

an obligation to determine whether the plaintiff had standing in

the district court, “[a] litigant generally cannot create standing

through new allegations raised for the first time on appeal”).

Second, even if we were to entertain these arguments, we would

hold that the labor-certification provisions are not “integralfly]

relat[ed}” to the F-1 status provision within the meaning of Air

Courier Conference and therefore do not enter into our zone-of-

interests analysis. The provisions address different subjects. The

F-1 status provision addresses eligibility to enter the country to

study, whereas the labor-certification provisions address eligibility

to enter the country to work. True, OPT employers often arrange

for F-1 students to become H-1B workers, but F-1 status is neither

necessary nor sufficient to obtain H-1B status. The plaintiffs point

to no legislative history linking the purpose of the labor-certifica-

tion provisions with the purpose of the F-1 status provision. In

addition, the labor-certification provisions are located in an INA

subsection different from that containing the F-1 status provi-

sion. See Fed n for Am. Immug. Reform, 93 F.3d at 903-04 (hold-

ing INA immigration quota provision not “integralfly] relat{[ed]”

to INA provision allowing Attorney General to parole aliens into

8a

B.

The plaintiffs claim that they were and continue

to be injured by F-1 STEM students who, instead of

leaving the country after 12 months of OPT, remain

in the country by taking on additional OPT and filing

an H-1B petition. Those F-1 students compete with

the plaintiffs for STEM jobs. Absent the IFR, those

students would be forced to return to their home coun-

tries after 12 months of OPT and would not threaten

the plaintiffs’ job prospects. Yet, perhaps because

they viewed the relevant statute as the entire INA,

the plaintiffs never argue precisely why this injury

arguably falls within the zone of interests protected

by § 1101(a)(15)(F)(@j) in particular. We hold that this

injury does not fall within that zone, and, therefore,

that the plaintiffs lack prudential standing.

The Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

bia Circuit’s opinion in Federation for American Im-

migration Reform addresses the application of the

zone-of-interests test in the context of a limitation on

the Attorney General’s ability to allow aliens to en-

ter the country and supports our determination that

the STEM workers fail the zone-of-interests test in

this case. In 1994, the Government entered into an

agreement with Cuba whereby it would admit at least

20,000 Cubans per year as legal immigrants. 93 F.3d

at 899. The Attorney General decided to help achieve

this goal by “paroling” several thousand Cubans each

year and then permitting them to apply for lawful

the country for a limited time because the two provisions ad-

dressed different subject matter, no legislative history linked the

purpose of one provision with the purpose of the other, and the

provisions were located 1n different subsections of the INA).

9a

permanent resident status. Jd. A coalition of Miami

residents filed suit, alleging that this decision violated

the parole statute, § 1182(d)(5)(A), which provides:

The Attorney General may... in his discretion

parole into the United States temporarily...for

emergent reasons or for reasons deemed strictly

in the public interest any alien applying for ad-

mission to the United States, but such parole of

such alien shall not be regarded as an admis-

sion of the alien and when the purpose of such

parole shall, in the opinion of the Attorney Gen-

eral, have been served the alien shall forthwith

return or be returned to the custody from which

he was paroled ....

Specifically, the residents alleged that the Attorney

General was using parole effectively to admit the

aliens (rather than allow them to be present tem-

porarily), a practice the statute expressly prohibits.

93 F.3d at 900. They asserted that the unlawfully-pa-

roled Cubans were damaging their employment pros-

pects by entering the job market and providing addi-

tional competition. Id. at 903.

The court of appeals held that this injury did not

arguably fall within the zone of interests protected by

the parole statute. Jd. at 903-04. It rejected the Mi-

ami residents’ argument that harm to job prospects

is within the zone of interests protected by immigra-

tion laws under International Union of Bricklayers &

Allied Craftsman v. Meese, 761 F.2d 798 (D.C. Cir.

1985), a case where the court held that domestic work-

ers’ interest in hmiting competition in the job market

generated by an influx of alien laborers fell within the

zone of interests protected by a provision uf the INA.

In that case, the plaintiffs alleged a violation of what

is now § 1182(a)(5)(A)Q), a provision requiring the

10a

Secretary of Labor to certify that “the employment of

such aliens will not adversely affect the wages and

working conditions of workers in the United States

similarly employed.” The Federation for American

Immigration Reform court observed that the parole

statute, in contrast, contained no such language. See

93 F.3d at 903.

This suggests that the plaintiffs here, too, fail to

meet the zone-of-interests test. Like the parole stat-

ute at issue in Federation for American Immigration

Reform, the F-1 status provision contains no language

conditioning entry into the United States on noninter-

ference with domestic labor conditions. Furthermore,

at least since 1947, federal agencies dealing with im-

migration have interpreted § 1101(a)(15)(F)(i) to al-

low a student to engage in on-the-job training to sup-

plement his in-the-classroom training. See 8 C.F.R.

§ 125.15(b) (1947). Yet, each time Congress has re-en-

acted § 1101(a)(15)(F)G@) — including October 10, 2008,

see Pub. L. No. 110-391, § 2(a)-(b), 122 Stat. 4193,

4193-94 (2008) (amending § 1101(a) but leaving sub-

section (15)(F)(i) intact), six months after DHS issued

the IFR —it has chosen not to add language mandating

that those OPT students not adversely affect simuar-

ly-employed domestic workers. This provides further

evidence that protection of domestic workers was not

among Congress’s concerns in enacting and re-enact-

ing the F-1 status provision, and it tends to suggest

that Congress-lke DHS in issuing the IFR-—was con-

cerned with increasing the country’s pool of available

STEM workers. See Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575,

580 (1978) (“Congress is presumed to be aware of an

administrative ... interpretation of a statute and to

adopt that interpretation when it re-enacts a statute

without change.”). That Congress has over the years

lla

chosen to include such language in defining other

categories of non-immigrants, see § 1101(a)(15)(Q)

(defining as non-immigrant “an alien coming tempo-

rarily ...to the United States as a participant in an

international cultural exchange program...for the

purpose of providing practical training, employment,

and the sharing of the history, culture, and traditions

of the country of the alien’s nationality and who will

be employed under the same wages and working con-

ditions as domestic workers,” thereby preventing such

an alien from undercutting domestic workers’ salary

demands) (emphasis added), reinforces this conclu-

sion.

In sum, case law and our own examination of Con-

gress’s treatment of the F-1 status provision lead us

to hold that the plaintiffs’ injury does not fall within

the zone of interests protected by § 1101(a)(15)(F)(a).

IV.

For the reasons mentioned above, we will affirm the

District Court’s order dismissing the complaint pur-

suant to Rule 12(b)(1).”

? Because we will affirm the District Court’s order for lack

of prudential standing, we express no opinion on the District

Court's resolution of the other issues in this case, namely con-

stitutional standing and the merits of the plaintiffs’ substantive

challenges.

13a

Appendix B—District Court’s Dismissal

Opinion

(Oct. 31, 2008)

NOT FOR PUBLICATION CLOSED

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

THE PROGRAMMERS GUILD, INC.; AMERICAN

ENGINEERING ASSOCIATION; BRIGHT FUTURE

JOBS; et al., Plaintiffs,

Vv.

MICHAEL CHERTOFF in his capacity as Secretary of

Homeland Security and UNITED STATES DEPART-

MENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY, Defendants.

Civil Case No. 08-2666 (FSH)

OPINION and ORDER

Date: October 31, 2008

HOCHBERG, District Judge

This matter having come before the Court upon the

Motion to Dismiss for lack of standing pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1) and for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ. P. 12(b)(6) filed by the Defendants, the Depart-

ment of Homeland Security (“DHS”) and Secretary of

DHS, Michael Chertoff; and the Court having consid-

ered the written submissions of the parties pursuant

to Fed. R. Civ. P. 78; and

it appearing that Plaintiffs The Programmers Guild,

Inc.; American Engineering Association: Bright Fu

ture Jobs; Michael Amanti; Mark Blackburn; Toni L.

Chester; David Huber; John G. Marson; P. Harrison

l4a

Picot Il; Paul E. Polak; Mike Rothschild; Robert San-

chez; Stephen Berry; and Stephanie Berry (“Plaintiffs”),

a group of three representative organizations and elev-

en individuals trained in computer programming and

engineering, seek to enjoin the implementation and

enforcement of an Interim Final Rule (“IFR”) extend-

ing the period of time in which technically-trained stu-

dents may remain within the United States as lawful

nonimmigrants while participating in the Optional

Practical Training (“OPT”) program;' and

it appearing that Plaintiffs bear the burden of estab-

lishing their standing to bring this action, see Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 561 (1992); and

it appearing that “[s]tanding has constitutional and

prudential components, both of which must be satis-

fied before a litigant may seek redress in the federal

courts,” UPS Worldwide Forwarding, Inc. v. U.S. Post-

al Service, 66 F.3d 621, 625 (3d Cir. 1995); and

it appearing that courts recognize that “the irre-

ducible constitutional minimum of standing contains

three elements. First, the plaintiff must have suffered

an ‘injury in fact’ - an invasion of a legally protected in-

terest which is (a) concrete and particularized, and (b)

‘actual or imminent, not ‘conjectural’ or ‘hypothetical.”

Second, there must be a causal connection between the

injury and the conduct complained of - the injury has

to be ‘fairly trace[able} to the challenged action of the

defendant, and not ... th[{e] result [of] the independent

action of some third party not before the court.’ Third,

it must be ‘likely,’ as opposed to merely ‘speculative,’

that the injury will be ‘redressed by a favorable deci-

'See 73 Fed. Reg. 18944-02, 2008 WL 925258 (F_R.); 8 U.S.C

§ 1 101(a)(15)(F)Q@)

15a

sion.’ Lujan, 504 U.S. at 560-561 (internal citations

omitted); and

it appearing that the rules of prudential standing re-

quire that “(1) a litigant assert his [or her] own legal

interests rather than those of third parties, (2) courts

refrain from adjudicating abstract questions of wide

public significance which amount to generalized griev-

ances and (3) a litigant demonstrate that her interests

are arguably within the zone of interests intended to

be protected by the statute, rule or constitutional pro-

vision on which the claim is based,” Wheeler v. Travel-

ers Ins. Co., 22 F.3d 534, 538 (3d Cir.1994) (internal

quotations and citations omitted); and

it appearing that Plaintiffs, relying on the “competi-

tor standing doctrine,” cite the “increased economic

competition” resulting from an increas 4 supply of

workers in their professional fields as the injury-in-fact

caused by implementation of the IFR; and

it appearing that Plaintiffs have failed to establish

an injury-in-fact because courts have applied the com-

petitive standing doctrine only in limited circumstances

and only when an agency action imposes a competitive

* The “competitor standing doctrine,” also known as the “com-

petitive standing doctrine,” arises when a regulatory change cre-

ates additional competition for a plaintiff, who challenges the

competition itself as an injury-in-fact. Courts have, for example,

considered the imminent loss of business to be an injury-in-fact.

See UPS Worldwide Forwarding, 66 F.3d at 626; see also Adams

v. Watson, 10 F.3d 915, 921 (1st Cir. 1993) (surveying precedent

establishing economic competition as injury-in-fact).

16a

injury to businesses, rather than to individuals such as

job applicants;’ and

it appearing that, even if increased competition

for jobs constituted an injury-in-fact, Plaintiffs have

failed to allege facts establishing that their injuries

are “concrete and particularlized” or “actual or immi-

nent,” rather than “conjectural or hypothcetical;"* and

it appearing that Plaintiffs argue that their unem-

ployment or under-employment is causally linked to

the 17-month extension of OPT eligibility; and

it appearing that the “causal connection aspect of

standing requires that the injury be fairly traceable

to the challenged conduct of the defendant and not be

a result of independent actions of third parties not be-

fore the court,” Hartz Mountain Indus., v. Polo, 2005

WL, 2807355, *8 (D.N.J. Oct. 26, 2005); and

7 As Defendants argue, the competitor standing doctrine has

not been applied to prevent competition among job applicants.

The cases highlighted by the parties focus, instead, on imminent

competitive injuries to businesses. Plaintiffs have not offered a

compelling justification for expanding the competitor standing

doctrine to cover individuals competing for jobs, and the Court

declines to do so.

* See, e.g., Schurr v. Resorts Intern. Hotel, Inc., 196 F.3d 486,

495 (3d Cir. 1999) (finding that plaintiff, a job apphcant chal-

lenging a regulation setting minority employment goals, was un-

able to prove that implementation of the regulations caused “im

minent injury” and, as a result, lacked the standing to challenge

future rather than past application of the regulation).

l7va

it appearing that Plaintiffs have not established a

causal nexus between their alleged injuries and the

IFR because neither the individual nor organizational

Plaintiffs are directly regulated by the IFR, and be-

cause their employment status 1s dependent upon the

independent actions of third parties;> and

it appearing that Plaintiffs argue that an injunc-

tion will redress their alleged injury by reducing the

number of OPT workers in their fields by up to 59%;

and

it appearing that a plaintiff must allege that an in-

jury is “likely to be redressed by the requested relief,”

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 751 (1984); and

it appearing that Plaintiffs’ alleged injuries are not

likely to be redressed by a favorable decision because

invalidating the proposed extension would neither

5 Plaintiffs do not, and in fact cannot. show that the IFR is

solely, or even primarily, responsible for their alleged injuries.

Plaintiffs are currently unemployed or under-employed as a re-

sult of a wide range of independent factors. While the existence

of the OPT program itself may be such a factor, Plaintiffs are not

challenging the program overall. In the context of these other

factors, such as “job saturation ... high fuel costs, outsourcing,

[and] improved technology,” it can not be established that the ex-

tension implemented by the IFR is on its own the cause of their

employment problems.

18a

eliminate competition for jobs in their field nor guar-

antee the improved economic conditions sought;® and

it appearing that Plaintiffs have failed to establish

prudential standing because the threat of increased

competition for jobs posed by the IFR is only a gener-

alized grievance with a particular government policy

rather than a concrete and particularized injury;‘ and

it appearing that Plaintiffs have also failed to satisfy

the zone of interests test required to establish pruden-

tial standing because the purposes of the IFR are to im-

prove the U.S.’s competitive position for students and

workers in these fields while easing visa application

procedures for OPT students, not to increase competi-

® As Defendants emphasize, even with invalidation of the IFR,

Plaintiffs would still face competition from existing OPT stu-

dents and aliens with H-1B visas. Moreover, the IFR does not

itself increase the number of visas available and does not, there-

fore, directly increase the number of applicants competing with

Plaintiffs for jobs in this field. The number of visas available in

total is unaffected by the IFR, so the number of potential foreign

competitors is also unaffected. As the DHS has made clear, the

IFR primarily affects how OPT students can secure such visas.

"See Lujan, 504 U.S. at 574 (“a plaintiff raising only a general-

ly available grievance about government - claiming only harm to

his and every citizen's interest in proper application of the Con-

stitution and laws, and seeking relief that no more directly and

tangibly benefits him than it does the public at large - does not

state an Article II] case or controversy.”); see also Allen, 468 U.S.

at 754; Va.ley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for

Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 483 (1982).

19a

tion within the U.S. for these jobs or harm American

workers in these professions;® and

it appearing, in the alternative, that a motion to dis-

miss under Rule 12(b)(6) should be granted “if it ap-

pears to a certainty that no relief could be granted un-

der any set of facts which could be proved,” see Morse

uv. Lower Merion Sch. Dist., 132 F.3d 902, 906 (3d Cir.

1997);° and

it appearing that to survive a Rule 12(b)(6) Motion

to dismiss, “factual allegations must be enough to

raise a right to relief above the speculative level, on

the assumption that all the allegations in the com-

plaint are true even if doubtful in fact,” Bell Atlantic

® Under the zone of interests test, plaintiffs must establish that

the “interest [they] seek[] to vindicate is arguably within the

‘zone of interests to be protected or regulated by the statute’ in

question.” Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs,

Dept. Of Labor v. Newport News, 514 U.S. 122, 128 (1995). Be-

cause the DHS clearly explained that the purpose of the IFR

is to make it easier for foreign students to continue working in

OPT programs and, therefore, make it easier for U.S. employers

to hire and benefit from these highly skilled students, it is clear

that the interests of similarly skilled American workers were not

the intended target of the IFR.

® Although a court does not need to credit a complaint’s “bald

assertions’ or “legal conclusions,” it is required to accept as true

all of the allegations in the complaint as well as all reasonable in-

ferences that can be drawn therefrom and view them in the light

most favorable to the plaintiff. Morse, 132 F.3d at 906, citing

Rocks v. City of Philadelphia, 868 F.2d 644, 645 (3d Cir. 1989).

See also In re Burlington Coat Factory Sec. Litig., 114 F.3d 1410.

1429-30 (3d Cir. 1997). In evaluating a motion to dismiss pursu-

ant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), the Court may consider only the

Complaint. exhibits attached to the Complaint, matters of public

record, and undisputedly authentic documents if the Plaintiffs

claims are based on those documents. Pension Guaranty Corp. v.

White Consol. Indus., 998 F.2d 1192, 1196 (3d Cir. 1992).

20a

Corp. v. Twombly, 127 S.Ct. 1955, 1964-1965 (2007);

and

it appearing that Plaintiffs allege (1) that the IFR

does not comply with the statutory authorization of

8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)(i); (2) that Defendants acted

arbitrarily and capriciously in implementing the IFR;

and (3) that Defendants improperly waived the no-

tice and comment requirements of the Administrative

Procedure Act (“APA”); and

it appearing that Plaintiffs cannot allege facts es-

tablishing that the IFR exceeds the DHS’s statutory

authorization pursuant to 8 U.S.C. § 1103(a)(3), which

grants the Secretary of the DHS the power to “estab-

lish such regulations...as he deems necessary for car-

rying out his authority under the provisions of [the

Immigration and Nationality] Act;”'° and

it appearing that Plaintiffs allege no facts that tend

to establish that DHS acted arbitrarily and capri-

'© Congress also conferred regulatory 10 authority upon the

DHS to set the time period in which nonimmigrants can remain

in the country. This means that the DHS is within its authority

to promulgate the IFR. “All agencies charged with enforcing and

administering a statute have inherent authority to issue interpre-

tive rules informing the public of the procedures and standards

it intends to apply in exercising its discretion.” Metropolitan Sch.

Dist. v. Davila, 969 F.2d 485, 490 (7th Cir. 1992). See also 8 U.S.C.

§ 1184(a)(1) (‘The admission to the United States of any alien as

a nonimmigrant shall be for such time and under such conditions

as the [Secretary of Homeland Security] may by regulations pre-

scribe...”). Moreover, courts “give deference to the interpretation

of a statute by the agency charged with administering it.” South-

ern Cal. Edison Co. v. Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n, 770 F.2d 779,

782 (9th Cir. 1985).

2la

ciously;'' and it appearing that Plaintiffs have failed

to allege facts beyond a speculative level that tend to

establish that DHS acted without good cause in giv-

ing the interim IFR immediate effect;'”

1! Pursuant to the Chevron Doctrine, when Congress express-

ly delegates the authority to make regulations such as these,

“[s]uch legislative regulations are given controlling weight un-

less they are arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly contrary to

the statute.” Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 844 (1984). In their Amended Com-

plaint, Plaintiffs allege that “[t]he implementation of the final

rules by the Defendant was arbitrary and capricious...” but fail

to provide facts that raise that conclusion above the “speculative

level,” as required by current legal standards. See Bell Atlantic

Corp. 127 S.Ct. at 1964-1965.

2 Plaintiffs incorrectly allege that DHS provided no justifica-

tion for giving the IFR immediate effect. In fact, DHS explained

that “good cause” was established because delayed implementa-

tion would be “contrary to the public interest” for thousands of

students whose visas, arranged through OPT, would have ex-

pired during public consideration of the IFR. If the IFR had not

been given immediate effect through the “good cause” exception,

students already holding approved H-1B petitions would have

had to terminate employment and either leave the United States

or enroll in another course of study to maintain their F-1 status

at the end of their OPT terms. Such a situation would have been

contrary to the expressed public interest in keeping these qualli-

fied graduates from going to other countries to find work in these

fields. See 73 Fed. Reg. 18944-18950.

22a

IT IS on this 31st day of October, 2008,

ORDERED that the Motion to Dismiss Plaintiffs

First Amended Complaint filed by Defendants DHS

and Michael Chertoff is GRANTED; and it is further

ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ claims against Defen-

dants are DISMISSED for lack of standing; and it is

further

ORDERED that, in the alternative, Plaintiffs’

claims are DISMISSED for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted; and it is further

ORDERED that this case 1s CLOSED.

/s/ Faith S. Hochberg

Hon. Faith S. Hochberg, U.S.D.J.

23a

Appendix C—Denial of Preliminary Injunction

(Aug. 5, 2008)

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

THE PROGRAMMERS GUILD, INC.; AMERICAN

ENGINEERING ASSOCIA-TION; BRIGHT FU-

TURE JOBS; MICHAEL AMANTI; MARK BLACK-

BURN; TONI L. CHESTER; DAVID HUBER; JOHN

G. MARSON; GENE A. NELSON; P. HARRISON

PICOT Il; PAUL E. POLAK; MIKE ROTHSCHILD;

and ROBERT SANCHEZ,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

MICHAEL CHERTOFF in his capacity as Secretary

of Homeland Security and UNITED STATES DE-

PARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY,

Defendants.

Civil Case No. 08-2666 (FSH)

ORDER and OPINION

Date: August 5, 2008

HOCHBERG, District Judge

This matter comes before the Court upon Plaintiffs

apphcation for a preliminary injunction pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 65(a). The Court has reviewed the sub-

missions of the parties and considered the motion on

the papers in accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 78.

I. BACKGROUND

The Programmers Guild, Inc.; American Engineer-

ing Association: Bright Future Jobs: Michael Amantti:

Mark Blackburn; Toni L. Chester; David Huber; John

G. Marson; Gene A. Nelson; P. Harrison Picot IT; Paul

24a

E. Polak; and Mike Rothschild, (“Plaintiffs”) are a

group of three representative organizations and ten

individuals trained in computer programming and

engineering. Plaintiffs bring this motion for a prelimi-

nary injunction to enjoin Defendants, the Department

of Homeland Security (“DHS”) and Secretary of DHS,

Michael Chertoff, from implementing an Interim Fi-

nal Rule (“IFR’), which extends the period of time

technically-trained students may remain within the

United States as lawful nonimmigrants' while par-

ticipating in the Optional Practical Training (“OPT”)

program. The IFR, adopted by the DHS on April 8,

2008, provides for eligible alien students with degrees

in mathematics, engineering, science, or technology

disciplines who are applying for H-1B? visas to work

under an F-1? student visa for 29 months.

Prior to the promulgation of the IFR, the DHS had

limited OPT to 12 months. See 8 C.F.R. § 214.2((11)

(207). The IFR allows for eligible graduates to apply

to the United States Citizenship and Immigration

Services (“USCIS”) for an extension of post-comple-

tion OPT for an additional 17 months. The govern-

ment has changed these time periods in the past: a

‘See 8 U.S.C. § 101(a)(15)(F)(i).

* An H-1B visa is a temporary visa for guest workers in special-

ty occupations, valid up to 6 years. 8 U.S.C. § § 1101(a)(15)(H);

1182(g)(4).

3 An F-1 nonimmigrant is defined at 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(F)

as an alien having a residence in a foreign country which he has

no intention of abandoning, who is a bona fide student quali-

fied to pursue a full course of study and who seeks to enter the

United States temporarily and solely for the purpose of pursuing

such a course of study consistent with [8 U.S.C. § 1184(1)] at an

established college, university, seminary, conservatory, academ-

ic high school, elementary school, or other academic institution

or in a language training program in the United States...

25a

maximum of 18 months in 1947; a maximum of 12

months in 2007; and, under the challenged provision,

a maximum of 29 months in 2008. Consequently, De-

fendants argue that the IFR did not create a new clas-

sifica-tion of foreign workers or a new visa category,

but instead, increased the period for a long-standing

benefit.

Plaintiffs claim that IFR was promulgated by Sec-

retary Chertoff and the DHS without notice and com-

ment, in violation of the Administrative Procedure

Act. Plaintiffs further argue that without a prelimi-

nary injunction, they will face an immediate increase

in job competition from the F-1 guest workers in the

competi-tive industries of engineering and comput-

ers. According to Plaintiffs, the grant of the injunction

would not cause any irreparable harm to Defendants,

who do not have an interest in the promulgation of the

IFR. Lastly, Plaintiffs contend that the injunction is

in the public interest of protecting the jobs and wages

of U.S. workers and ensuring that Defendants follow

procedures under the Administrative Procedure Act.

Il. STANDARD FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

The Supreme Court has stated that “a preliminary

injunction is ‘an extraordinary and drastic remedy’;

it is never awarded as of right.” Munaf vu. Geren, _

U.S. __, 128 S. Ct. 2207, 2219 (2008) (quoting 11A C.

Wright, A. Miller, & M. Kane, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 2948, p. 129 (2d ed. 1995)). The Third

Circuit has held that to obtain a preliminary injunc-

tion, the moving party must demonstrate:

(1) the reasonable probability of eventual success in

the litigation and

(2) that the movant will be irreparably injured pen-

dent lite if relief is not granted. Moreover, while the

26a

burden rests upon the moving party to make these

two requisite showings, the district court ‘should take

into account, when they are relevant,

(3) the possibility of harm to other interested per-

sons from the grant or denial of the injunction, and

(4) the public interest.

Instant Air Freight Co. v. C.F. Aur Freight, Inc., 882

F.2d 797, 800 (3d Cir. 1989). In the current case, Plain-

tiffs have the burden of establishing the that they sat-

isfy the requirements for a preliminary injunction.

III. DISCUSSION

A. Plaintiffs fail to demonstrate likelihood of success

on the merits.

To prevail on their motion for a preliminary injunc-

tion, Plaintiffs must demonstrate a likelihood of suc-

cess on the merits. The Supreme Court has stated,

Review of a preliminary injunction ‘is not con-

fined to the act of granting the in-junctio[n], but

extends as well to determining whether there is

any insuperable objection, in point of jurisdiction

or merits, to the maintenance of [the] bill, and if

so, to directing a final decree dismissing it.’

Id. at 2219 (quoting City and County of Denver v.

New York Trust Co., 229 U.S. 123, 136 (1913) (altera-

tion in original). In the current case, the government

argues that Plaintiffs lack standing.‘ Though the

Court will permit further bnefing before making a fi-

nal determination of Plaintiffs’ standing, the serious

questions related to standing cast doubt on Plaintiffs’

* The Court does not decide standing issue in this opinion; the

Court today issues an Order to Show Cause why the case should

not be dismissed for lack of standing.

27a

likelihood of success. Instead of alleging a concrete

injury, Plaintiffs assert a generalized grievance with

a particular government policy. Courts have consis-

tently held that

a plaintiff raising only a generally available

grievance about government—claiming only

harm to his and every citizen’s interest in prop-

er application of the Constitution and laws, and

seeking relief that no more directly and tangibly

benefits him than it does the public at large --

does not state an Article III case or controversy.

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 574

(1992).° Plaintiffs claim that by promulgating the IFR,

the DHS threatens the jobs and wages of U.S. citizens.

However, this allegation expresses a general dissatis-

faction with the DHS policy towards employment of

nonimmigrant visa holders. The complaint also seeks

relief that no more directly benefits Plaintiffs than it

does the public at large. Thus, the Plaintiffs’ claim

suffers from serious potential standing problems.

In addition, Plaintiffs are unlikely to succeed on

their claim because the DHS had authority to promul-

® See Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 754 (1984); Valley Forge

Christian College v. Americans United for Separation of Church

and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 483 (1982) (“assertion of a nght

to a particular kind of Government conduct, which the Govern-

ment has violated by acting differently, cannot alone satisfy the

requirements of Art. III without draining those requirements

of meaning’); see also Lujan, 504 U.S. at 575 (quoting United

States v. Richardson, 418 U.S. 166, 171, 176-77 (1974)) (where

plaintiffs, who sued the government for an alleged constitutional

violation of failure to disclose expenditures, raised an impermis-

sible “generalized grievance that was inconsistent with “the

framework of Article III” because “the impact on [plaintiffs was]

plainly undifferentiated” and “common to all members of the

public”).

28a

gate the IFR. Congress granted the Secretary of the

DHS statu-tory authority to “establish such regula-

tions...as he deems necessary for carrying out his au-

thority under the provisions of [the Immigration and

Nationality] Act.” 8 U.S.C. § 1103(a)(3). Congress also

conferred regulatory authority upon the DHS to set

the time period in which nonimmigrants can remain

in the country.* This means that the DHS is within

its authority to promulgate the IFR. “All agencies

charged with enforcing and administering a statute

have inherent authonity to issue interpretive rules in-

forming the public of the procedures and standards

it intends to apply in exercising its discretion.” Met-

ropolitan Sch. Dist. v. Davila, 969 F.2d 485, 490 (7th

Cir. 1992). Courts “give deference to the interpreta-

tion of a statute by the agency charged with admin-

istering it.” Southern Cal. Edison Co. v. Fed. Energy

Reg. Comm’n, 770 F.2d 779, 782 (9th Cir. 1985). The

practice of giving discretion to agencies further un-

dermines Plaintiffs’ complaint against the DHS.’

B. Plaintiffs fail to demon strate irreparable harm.

Plaintiffs also fail to show that they will be irrep-

arably harmed if the preliminary injunction is not

® See 8 U.S.C. § 1184(a)(1) “The admission to the United States

6 of any alien as a nonimmigrant shall be for such time and un-

der such conditions as the [Secretary of Homeland Security] may

by regulations prescribe...”)

7 Congress has also incorporated OPT into its own interpreta-

tion of the Immigration and Nationality Act by repeatedly re-en-

acting the Act after OPT was implemented. See Lorillard v. Pons,

434 U.S. 575, 580 (1978) (“Congress is presumed to be aware of

an administrative or judicial interpretation of a statute and to

adopt that interpretation when it re-enacts a statute without

change.’) Given that various forms of OPT have been part of the

immigration policy for 60 years, Plaintiffs’ claim that DHS is

creating a “guest worker program” is not likely to succeed.

29a

granted. The Third Circuit has held that “a failure

to show a like-lhood of success or a failure to dem-

onstrate irreparable injury must necessarily re-sult

in the denial of a preliminary injunction.” /nstant Air

Freight Co. v. C. F. Air Freight, Inc., 882 F.2d 797, 800

(3d Cir. 1989) (quoting Jn re Arthur Treacher’s Fran-

chisee Litigation, 689 F.2d 1137, 1143 (3d Cir. 1982).

In the present case, Plaintiffs claim irreparable

harm from the admission of alien guest workers be-

cause of its alleged impact upon Plaintiffs’ employ-

ment opportuni-ties and compensation. Plaintiffs’

complaint, however, does not show irreparable injury,

but instead, attacks the underlying policy of the IFR.

Plaintiffs contend they are harmed each day they are

not able to work in a job filled by an OPT employee,

and the IFR compounds the injury to them as well

as other U.S. workers. Plaintiffs state that the Unit-

ed States approved 330,000 H1-B visas for computer

workers between 1999 and 2005 and 95,925 H-1B vi-

sas for engineers. Plaintiffs attribute the decline in

employment in engineering and computer fields to

the amount of nonimmigrant workers allowed by the

DHS.

Plaintiffs further argue that the IFR allowing more

guest workers would have an even greater adverse ef-

fect upon the jobs of American workers. This argu-

ment, however, attacks the underlying DHS policy of

nonimmigrant employment, rather than addressing

an irreparable harm faced by Plaintiffs. In addition,

the DHS projects that the IFR will allow 12,000 stu-

dents to apply for an OPT extension. In-terim Final

Rule, 73 Fed. Reg. at 18951. These applications rep-

resent 0.2% of the 5.5 million jobs in computer and

engineering fields in the United States in 2006. The

students within the OPT who seek H-1B visas are al-

30a

ready included in the total number of H-1B petitioners

previously established by the DHS. Thus, the 12,000

applications will be a subset of the 163,000 petitions

set for fiscal year 2009.°

A lack of causal connection between Plaintiffs’ al-

leged injury and DHS action fur-ther undermines

Plaintiffs’ claim of irreparable harm. The extension

of OPT eligi-bility by 17 months through the IFR did

not cause Plaintiffs’ unemployment or under-employ-

ment. As the government argues, Plaintiffs may find

adequate employment tomorrow or next week. Final-

ly, even if there was a nexus between Plaintiffs’ injury

and DHS action, the injury still is not “irreparable”

to qualify for injunctive relief because it is economic

harm compensable in damages.’ Therefore, Plaintiffs

fail to adequately demonstrate irreparable harm if

the preliminary injunction is not granted.

C. Granting a preliminary injunction would harm

other interested parties.

The grant of the preliminary injunction would cre-

ate a possibility of harm to other interested persons.

Although Plaintiffs contend that the injunction would

not cause irreparable harm to the Defendants, the

®* See “USCIS Releases Preliminary Numbers of FY2009 H-1B

Cap 8 Filings” (Apr. 10, 2008), available at www.uscis.gov.

° See Adams v. Freedom Forge Corp., 204 F.3d 475, 485 (3d Cir

2000) (“The irreparable harm requirement is met if a plaintiff

demonstrates a significant risk that he or she will experience

harm that cannot adequately be compensated after the fact by

monetary damages”); see also Morton v. Beyer, 822 F.2d 364,

371--72 (3d Cur. 1987) (holding that plaintiff claiming unlawful

discharge, and consequently, irreparable harm, was not entitled

to a preliminary injunction because the nature of plaintiff's rem-

edy was “purely economic in nature and thus compensable in

money’)

3la

technically-trained students who are law-fully pres-

ent in the United States would suffer hardships. The

students would have to leave the country to apply for

an H-1B visa. Furthermore, eligibility for OPT de-

pends on a student’s maintaining lawful status.'° The

grant of a preliminary injunction would harm these

students by forcing them to be classified as out-of-sta-

tus. Such harm must be taken into account before is-

suing a preliminary injunction.

D. A preliminary injunction would not serve the pub-

lic interest.

Lastly, Plaintiffs maintain that granting the pre-

liminary injunction is consistent with the public in-

terest in preserving jobs and wages for American

workers. There are, however, competing interests. As

discussed in the previous section, a prelimi-nary in-

junction would cause extreme hardships to lawfully

present guest students, such as being forced out-of-

status and facing deportation. In addition, the gov-

ern-ment points out that third parties and members

of the public would be harmed if the guest workers

were stripped of lawful status. The predictable guest.

worker system would turn into one of confusion and

unpredictability because neither the employers nor

the guest workers would know the length of time the

nonimmigrants were eligible for working.

The government also has a compelling interest in

being able to create necessary extensions to ease rigid

10 See 8 U.S.C. § 1258(a) (“The Secretary of Homeland Secu-

rity may, under such conditions as he may prescribe, authorize a

change from any nonimmigrant classification to any other non-

immigrant classification in the case of any alien lawfully admit-

ted to the Untied States as a nunimmigrant who ts continuing to

maintain that status...).

32a

time line requirements in order to maximize the ef-

ficiency of its programs. Since the federal government

has the “responsibility...to regulate immigration,”

it is essential to allow it a degree of flexibility to do

so. In re Alien Children Education Litigation, 501 F.

Supp. 544, 549 (S.D. Tex. 1980). The Supreme Court

has stated:

For reasons long recognized as valid, the respon-

sibility for regulating the relationship between the

United States and our alien visitors has been commit-

ted to the political branches of the Federal Govern-

ment. Since decisions in these matters may implicate

our relations with foreign powers, and since a wide

va-riety of classifications must be defined in the light

of changing political and economic circumstances,

such decisions are frequently of a character more ap-

propriate to either the Legislature or the Executive

than to the Judi-ciary...{[There is a] need for flexibility

in policy choices rather than the rigidity often charac-

teristic of constitutional adjudication.

Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67, 81 (1976). In the in-

stant case, the DHS has identified a need for extend-

ing the post-OPT period and promulgating the IFR.

The administrative and practical purposes that un-

derlie the IFR support giving deference to the DHS in

implementing its immigration program.

IV. CONCLUSION

Although there are public interest arguments on

the sides of both Plaintiffs and the DHS, Plaintiffs

clearly fail the first three prongs of the test for a pre-

liminary in-junction. For the reasons given above, the

motion for a preliminary injunction is denied. The

Court also is concerned about whether Plaintiffs have

standing to bring this case. Standing is an issue that

33a

courts properly raise sua sponte at the outset of an

action. See, e.g., Munaf v. Geren, _ U.S. __, 128 S.

Ct. 2207 (2008) (calling for sua sponte dismissal). For

this reason, Magistrate Judge Shwartz has permitted

an expedited period of discovery related to standing,

which shall not be extended. The-reafter, the Court

orders the parties to brief whether this case should be

dismissed for lack of standing.

ACCORDINGLY IT IS on this 5th day of August,

2008

ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary

Injunction is DENIED; and it is further

ORDERED that both parties bref by November 14,

2008 whether this case should be dismissed lack of

standing; and it is further

ORDERED that both parties shall have the oppor-

tunity to respond to the submissions by November 21,

2008.

/s/ Faith S. Hochberg

Hon. Faith S. Hochberg, U.S.D.J.

35a

Appendix D—Denial of Rehearing

(Aug. 17, 2009)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

08-4642

THE PROGRAMMERS GUILD, INC.; AMERICAN

ENGINEERING ASSOCIATION, INC.; BRIGHT

FUTURE JOBS; MICHAEL AMANTI; MARK

BLACKBURN; TONI L. CHESTER; DAVID HU-

BER; JOHN G. MARSON; HARRISON PICOT, I;

PAUL E. POLAK; MIKE ROTHSCHILD; ROBERT

SANCHEZ; STEPHEN BERRY; TEPHANIE M.

BERRY,

Appellants

Vv.

MICHAEL CHERTOFF, In his capacity as Secretary

of Homeland Security, United States Department

of Homeland Security; UNITED STATES DEPART-

MENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: SCIRICA, Chief Judge, SUOVITER, McKEE,

RENDELL, BARRY, AMBRO, FUENTES, SMITH,

FISHER, CHAGARES, JORDAN, and HARDIMAN

Circuit Judges, and DIAMOND, District Judge*

‘As to panel rehearing only.

36a

The petition for rehearing filed by appellant in the

above entitled case having been submitted to the judg-

es who participated in the decision of this court and to

all the other available circuit judges of the circuit in

regular active service, and no judge who concurred in

the decision having asked for rehearing, and a major-

ity of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular active

service not having voted for rehearing by the court en

banc, the petition for rehearing is denied.

By the Court,

MICHAEL A. CHAGARES

Circuit Judge

DATED: August 17, 2009

CRG/cc: John M. Miano, Esq.

Michael M. Hethmon, Esq.

Samuel P. Go, Esq.

37a

Appendix E—Student Visa Regulations Related

to Optional Practical Training

8 C.F.R. 214.2(f) Students in colleges, universities,

seminaries, conservatories, academic high schools, el-

ementary schools, other academic institutions, and in

language training programs—

[...]

(5) Duration of status—(i) General. Except for bor-

der commuter students covered by the provisions of

paragraph (f)(18) of this section, an F—1 student is

admitted for duration of status. Duration of status

is defined as the time during which an F—1 student

is pursuing a full course of study at an educational

institution approved by the Service for attendance

by foreign students, or engaging in authorized prac-

tical training following completion of studies, except

that an F—1 student who is admitted to attend a

public high school is restricted to an aggregate of 12

months of study at any public high school(s). An F—1

student may be admitted for a period up to 30 days

before the indicated report date or program start

date listed on Form I—20. The student 1s considered

to be maintaining status if he or she is making nor-

mal progress toward completing a course of study.

bead

(vi) Extension of duration of status and grant of

employment authorization.

(A) The duration of status, and any employ-

ment authorization ,ranted under 8 CFR

274a.12(c)(3)()(B) and (C_ of an F—1 student who

is the beneficiary of an H—1B petition and request

for change of status shall be automatically ex-

tended until October 1 of the fiscal year for which

such H-1B visa 1s being requested where such pe-

tition:

38a

(1) Has been timely filed; and (2) States that the

employment start date for the F—1 student is Oc-

tober 1 of the following fiscal year.

(B) The automatic extension of an F-—1 student’s

duration of status and employment authorization

under paragraph (f)(5)(vi)(A) of this section shall

immediately terminate upon the rejection, denial,

or revocation of the H—1B petition filed on such

F—1 student’s behalf. (C) In order to obtain the

automatic extension of stay and employment au-

thorization under paragraph (f)(5)(vi)(A) of this

section, the F—1 student, according to 8 CFR part

248, must not have violated the terms or condi-

tions of his or her nonimmigrant status. (D) An

automatic extension of an F—1 student’s duration

of status under paragraph (f)(5)(vi)(A) of this sec-

tion also applies to the duration of status of any

F—2 dependent aliens.

[...]

(6) Full course of study—(a) General. Successful

completion of the full course of study must lead to

the attainment of a specific educational or profes-

sional objective. A course of study at an institution

not approved for attendance by foreign students as

provided in § 214.3(a)(3) does not satisfy this re-

quirement. A “full course of study” as required by

section 101(a)(15)(F)(i) of the Act means:

(A) Postgraduate study or postdoctoral study at a

college or university, or undergraduate or postgrad-

uate study at a conservatory or religious seminary,

certified by a DSO [Designated School Official] as a

full course of study;

(B) Undergraduate study at a college or university,

certified by a school official to consist of at least

twelve semester or quarter hours of instruction per

academic term in those institutions using standard

39a

semester, trimester, or quarter hour systems, where

all undergraduate students who are enrolled for a

minimum of twelve semester or quarter hours are

charged full-time tuition or are considered full-time

for other administrative purposes, or its equivalent

(as determined by the district director in the school

approval process), except when the student needs

a lesser course load to complete the course of study

during the current term;

(C) Study in a postsecondary language, liberal arts,

fine arts, or other non-vocational program at a

school which confers upon its graduates recognized

associate or other degrees or has established that

its credits have been and are accepted uncondition-

ally by at least three institutions of higher learn-

ing which are either: (1) A school (or school system)

owned and operated as a public educational insti-

tution by the United States or a State or political

subdivision thereof; or (2) a school accredited by a

nationally recognized accrediting body; and which

has been certified by a designated school official to

consist of at least twelve clock hours of instruction

a week, or its equivalent as determined by the dis-

trict director in the school approval process;

(D) Study in any other language, liberal arts, fine

arts, or other nonvocational training program, cer-

tified by a designated school official to consist of at

least eighteen clock hours of attendance a week if

the dominant part of the course of study consists of

classroom instruction, or to consist of at least twen-

ty-two clock hours a week if the dominant part of

the course of study consists of laboratory work; or

(E) Study in a curriculum at an approved private

clementary or middle school or public or private

academic high school which is certified by a desig-

nated school official to consist of class attendance

40a

for not less than the minimum number of hours a

week prescribed by the school for normal progress

toward graduation.

(F) Notwithstanding paragraphs (f)(6)(i)(A) and

(f)(6)(i)(B) of this section, an alien who has been

granted employment authorization pursuant to the

terms of a document issued by the Commissioner

under paragraphs (f)(9)(i) or (f)(9)(ii) of this section

and published in the FEDERAL REGISTER shall

be deemed to be engaged in a “full course of study”

if he or she remains registered for no less than the

number of semester or quarter hours of instruction

per academic term specified by the Commissioner

in the notice for the validity period of such employ-

ment authorization.

(G) For F—1 students enrolled in classes for credit

or classroom hours, no more than the equivalent

of one class or three credits per session, term, se-

mester, trimester, or quarter may be counted to-

ward the full course of study requirement if the

class is taken online or through distance education

and does not require the student’s physical atten-

dance for classes, examination or other purposes

integral to completion of the class. An on-line or

distance education course is a course that is offered

principally through the use of television, audio, or

computer transmission including open broadcast,

closed circuit, cable, microwave, or satellite, audio

conferencing, or computer conferencing. If the F—1

student’s course of study is in a language study

program, no on-line or distance education classes

may be considered to count toward a student’s full

course of study requirement.

(H) On-campus employment pursuant to the terms

of a scholarship, fellowship, or assistantship is

Ala

deemed to be part of the academic program of a

student otherwise taking a full course of study.

[...]

(10) Practical training. Practical training may be au-

thorized to an F~—1 student who has been lawfully

enrolled on a full time basis, in a Service-approved

college, university, conservatory, or seminary for

one full academic year. This provision also includes

students who, during their course of study, were

enrolled in a study abroad program, if the student

had spent at least one full academic term enrolled

in a full course of study in the United States prior

to studying abroad. A student may be authorized 12

months of practical training, and becomes eligible

for another 12 months of practical training when he

or she changes to a higher educational level. Stu-

dents in English language training programs are

ineligible for practical training. An eligible student

may request employment authorization for practical

training in a position that is directly related to his

or her major area of study. There are two types of

practical training available:

[...]

(ii) Optional practical training.

(A) General. Consistent with the application and

approval process in paragraph (f)(11) of this sec-

tion, a student may apply to USCIS for autho-

nization for temporary employment for optional

practical training directly related to the student's

major area of study. The student may not begin

optional practical training until the date indicat-

ed on his or her employment authorization docu-

ment, Form I—766. A student may be granted au-

thorization to engage in temporary emplovment

for optional practical training:

A2a

(1) During the student’s annual vacation and at

other times when school is not in session, if the

student is currently enrolled, and is eligible for

registration and intends to register for the next

term or session;

(2) While school is in session, provided that prac-

tical training does not exceed 20 hours a week

while school is 1n session; or

(3) After completion of the course of study, or,

for a student in a bachelor’s, master’s, or doc-

toral degree program, after completion of all

course requirements for the degree (excluding

thesis or equivalent). Continued enrollment,

for the school’s administrative purposes, after

all requirements for the degree have been met

does not preclude eligibility for optional practi-

cal training. A student must complete all practi-

cal training within a 14-month period following

the completion of study, except that a 17-month

extension pursuant to paragraph (f)(10)(i1)(C) of

this section does not need to be completed within

such 14-month period.

(B) Termination of practical training. Authori-

zation to engage in optional practical training

employment is automatically terminated when

the student transfers to another school or begins

study at another educational level.

(C) 17-month extension of post-completion OPT

for students with a science, technology, engineer-

ing, or mathematics (STEM) degree. Consistent

with paragraph (f)(11)(i)(C) of this section, a qual-

ified student may apply for an extension of OPT

while in a valid period of post-completion OPT.

The extension will be for an additional 17 months,

for a maximum of 29 months of OPT, if all of the

following requirements are met.

43a

(1) The student has not previously received a

17-month OPT extension after earning a STEM

degree.

(2) The degree that was the basis for the stu-

dent’s current period of OPT is a bachelor’s,

master’s, or doctoral degree in one of the degree

programs on the current STEM Designated De-

gree Program List, published on the SEVP Web

site at http://www. ice.gov/sevis.

(8) The student’s employer is registered in the E-

Verify program, as evidenced by either a valid E-

Verify company identification number or, if the

employer is using a designated agent to perform

the E-Venfy queries, a valid EVerify client com-

pany identification number, and the employer is

a participant in good standing in the E-Verify

program, as determined by USCIS.

(4) The employer agrees to report the termina-

tion or departure of an OPT employee to the

DSO at the student’s school or through any oth-

er means or process identified by DHS if the ter-

mination or departure is prior to end of the au-

thorized period of OPT. Such reporting must be

made within 48 hours of the event. An employer

shall consider a worker to have departed when

the employer knows the student has left the em-

ployment or if the student has not reported for

work for a period of 5 consecutive business days

without the consent of the employer, whichever

occurs earlier.

(D) Action of the DSO-Non SEVIS schools. In

making a recommendation for practical training,

a designated school official must:

(1) Certify on Form [-538 that the proposed

employment is directly related to the student's

44a

major area of study and commensurate with the

student's educational level;

(2) Endorse and date the student's Form I-20 1D

to show that practical training in the student's

major field of study is recommended “full-time

(or part-time) from (date) to (date)”; and (3) Re-

turn to the student the Form I-20 ID and send

to the Service data processing center the school

certification on Form I—538.

(E) Periods of unemployment during post-comple

tion OPT. During post-completion OPT, F—1 sta-

tus is dependent upon employment. Students may

not accrue an aggregate of more than 90 days of

unemployment during any post-completion OPT

carried out under the initial post-completion OPT

authorization. Students granted a 17-month OPT

extension may not accrue an aggregate of more

than 120 days of unemployment during the total

OPT period comprising any post-completion OPT

carried out under the initial postcompletion OPT

authorization and the subsequent 17-month ex-

tension peniod.

45a

Appendix F—Optional Practical Training

Regulation Changes

(April 8, 2008)

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

8 CFR Parts 214 and 274a

[DHS No. ICEB—2008—0002; ICE No. 2124—08]

RIN 1653—AA56

Extending Period of Optional Practical Training by 17

Months for F—1 Nonimmigrant Students With STEM

Degrees and Expanding Cap-Gap Rehef for All F—1

Students With Pending H—1B Petitions

AGENCY: U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforce-

ment, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services;

DHS.

ACTION: Interim final rule with request for com-

ments.

SUMMARY: Currently, foreign students in F—1 non-

immigrant status who have been enrolled on a full-

time basis for at least one full academic year in a col-

lege, university, conservatory, or seminary certified by

U.S. Immigration and Custom Enforcement’s (ICE’s)

Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP) are

eligible for 12 months of optional practical training

(OPT) to work for a U.S. employer in a job directly

related to the student’s major area of study. This in-

terim final rule extends the maximum period of OPT

from 12 months to 29 months for F-1 students who

have completed a science, technology, engineering, or

mathematics (STEM) degree and accept employment

with employers enrolled in U.S. Citizenship and Im-

migration Services’ (USCIS’) E-Verify employment

verification program. This interim rule requires F—1

students with an approved OPT extension to report

46a

changes in the student’s name or address and changes

in the employer’s name or address as well as periodi-

cally verify the accuracy of this reporting information.

The rule also requires the employers of F—1 students

with an extension of postcompletion OPT authoriza-

tion to report to the student’s designated school offi-

cial (DSO) within 48 hours after the OPT student has

been terminated from, or otherwise leaves, his or her

employment with that employer rrior to end of the

authorized period of OPT.

This rule also amelorates the socalled “cap-gap”

problem by extending the authorized period of stay

for all F— 1 students who have a properly filed H—- 1B

petition and change of status request (filed under the

cap for the next fiscal year) pending with USCIS. If

USCIS approves the H—1B petition, the students will

have an extension that enables them to remain in the

United States until the requested start date indicated

in the H—1B petition takes effect. This interim final

rule also implements a programmatic change to allow

students to apply for OPT within 60 days of conclud-

ing their studies.

DATES: This interim final rule is effective April 8,

2008. Written comments must be submitted on or be-

fore June 9, 2008.

ADDRESSES: You may submit comments, which

must be identified by Department of Homeland Se-

curity docket number ICE B—2008—0002, using one of

the following methods:

Federal Rulemaking Portal: http:// www.regula-

tions.gov. Follow the instructions for submitting com-

ments.

- Mail: Office of Policy, U.S. Immigration and Cus-

toms Enforcement, Department of Homeland Secu-

4ila

rity, 4251 Street, NW., Room 7257, Washington, DC

20536.

- Hand Delivery/Courier: The address for sending

comments by hand delivery or courier is the same as

that for submitting comments by mail. Contact tele-

phone number is (202) 514-8693.

- Facsimile: Comments may be submitted by facsimi-

le at (866) 466— 5370.

Viewing Comments: Comments may be viewed on-

line at http:// www.regulations.gov or in person at US.

Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Department

of Homeland Security, Chester Arthur Building, 425

I Street, NW., Room 7257, Washington, DC 20536.

You must call telephone number (202) 514-8693 in

advance to arrange an appointment.

Public Participation

This is an interim final rule with a request for pub-

lic comment. The most helpful comments reference

the specific section of the rule using section number,

explain the reason for any recommended change, and

include data, information, and the authority that sup-

ports the recommended change.

Instructions: All submissions must include the

agency name and Department of Homeland Securi-

tydocket number ICEB—-2008—0002. All comments

(including any personal information provided) will

be postedwithout change to http://www.regulations.

gov. See ADDRESSES above for methods to submit

comments. Mailed submissions may be paper, disk, or

CD-ROM.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Louis Farrell, Director, Student and

Exchange Visitor Program; U.S.

Immigration and Customs Enforcement,

48a

Department of Homeland Security;

Chester Arthur Building, 425 I Street, NW., Suite

6034, Washington, DC 20536;

telephone number (202) 305-2346. This is not a toll-

free number. Program information can be found at

http://www.ice.gov/sevis/.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Table of Contents

I. Background and Purpose

A. Optional Practical Training and Need To Extend

for F-1 Students With STEM Degrees

B. “Cap-Gap” and Need To Expand Relief to All

F—1 Students With Pending H-1B Petitions

II. Discussion of This Interim Final Rule

A. Extension of Optional Practical Training by 17

Months for F—1 Students With STEM Degrees

1. Requirements for Students Seeking a 17-Month

OPT Extension

2. Requirement for Employers of Students with a

17-Month OPT Extension

B. Expansion of Cap-Gap Relief for All F—1

Students With Pending H-1B Petitions

C. Related Changes to the OPT Provisions

1. Changes to Post-Completion OPT

2. Validation That OP’ Employment Is Related to

the Student’s Degree Program

{{f. Regulatory Requirements

A. Administrative Proceduve Act

B. Regulatory Flexibility Act

C. Small Business Regulatory Enforcement

Fairness Act of 1996

D. Executive Order 12866

E. Executive Order 13132

F. Executive Order 12988 Civil Justice Reform

G. Paperwork Reduction Act

49a

List of Subjects in 8 CFR Part 214

TABLE OF ABBREVIATIONS

Abbreviation Amplification

APA. ...... Administrative Procedure Act

Se Application Support Center

AS ics Compliance Enforcement Unit

+. a U.S. Customs and Border Protection

CFR ...... Code of Federal Regulations

DHS ..... Department of Homeland Security

DSO ..... Designated School Official

EAD ...... Form I—766, Employment Authorization

Document

|. U.S. Immigration and Customs

Enforcement

ITRIRA .. legal Immigration Reform and Immigrant

Responsibility Act of 1996

INA ....... Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952,

as amended

oe Immigration and Naturalization Service

OMB. ..... Office of Management and Budget

CMe scene Optional Practical Training

RFA ...... Regulatory Flexibility Act

SEVIS .. Student and Exchange Visitor Information

System

SEVP ... Student and Exchange Visitor Program

STEM ... Science, Technology, Engineering, or Math

U.S. ...... United States

USA PATRIOT Act. Uniting and Strengthening

America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required

to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act

USCIS .. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

I. Background and Purpose

A. Optional Practical Training and Need To Extend

by 17 Months for F—1 Students With STEM Degrees

50a

Section 101(a)(15)(F)G@) of the Immigration and

Nationality Act of 1952, as amended (INA), 8 U.S.C.

1101(a)(15)(F)G), establishes the F—1 nonimmigrant

classification for individuals who wish to come to the

United States temporarily to attend an academic or

language training institution certified by the Student

and Visitor Exchange Program (SEVP) for U.S. Im-

migration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). F—1 stu-

dents may remain in the United States for the dura-

tion of their educational programs if they otherwise

maintain status. 8 CFR 214.2(f(5). Once an F-1 stu-

dent has completed his or her course of study, and

any authorized practical training following comple-

tion of studies, the student must either transfer to

another SEVP-certified school to continue studies,

change to a different nonimmigrant status, other-

wise legally extend their period of authorized stay in

the United States, or leave the United States. 8 CFR

214.2(f)(5)(iv). F—-1 students are allowed 60 days after

the completion of such studies and practical training

to prepare for departure from the United States. 8

CFR 214.2(f)(5)(iv).

F—1 students generally are not authorized to work

in the United States during the term of their educa-

tional program, with limited exceptions. Currently,

students in F—1 nonimmigrant status who have been

enrolled on a full-time basis for at least one full ac-

ademic year in a college, university, conservatory,

or seminary certified by SEVP, and have otherwise

maintained status, are eligible to apply for up to 12

months of optional practical training (OPT) to work

for a U.S. employer in a job directly related to the

student’s major area of study. 8 CFR 214.2(f)(10). F-1

students may obtain OPT either during their educa-

tional program (“pre-completion OPT’) or after the

5la

student graduates (“postcompletion OPT’). The stu-

dent remains in F-1 status throughout the OPT pe-

riod.

An F-1 student in post-completion OPT, therefore,

does not have to leave the United States within 60

days after graduation, but is authorized to remain in

the United States for the entire postcompletion OPT

period. If the student has not used any pre-completion

OPT, then the student’s post-completion OPT period

could be up to 12 months. Once the post-completion

OPT period has concluded, the student must depart

the United States within 60 days, unless he or she

changes status or otherwise legally extends his or her

stay in the United States (e.g., starts a graduate pro-

gram).

During his or her authorized period of stay, a quali-

fied F—1 student may receive a change of nonimmi-

grant status to H-1B nonimmigrant status if an em-

ployer has timely filed, and USCIS grants, a petition

on behalf of that student. The employer must submit

a Form I—129, Petition for a Nonimmigrant Worker to

USCIS. The Form includes a section for the employ-

er to indicate whether change of status is being re-

quested for the beneficiary (if eligible), or whether the

beneficiary will instead apply for a visa outside of the

United States at a U.S. consulate. USCIS may grant

H-—1B status to eligible nonimmigrants employed in

or offered a job by the petitioner in a specialty occu-

pation. 8 CFR 214.2(h)(1)(i)(B). A specialty occupa-

tion is one that requires the theoretical and practical

application of a body of specialized knowledge and a

bachelor’s or higher degree in the specific specialty as

a minimum qualification. INA Section 214(3).

Congress, however, has prohibited USCIS from

granting H-1B status to more than 65,000 nonimm1-

52a

grant aliens during any fiscal year (referred to as the

“cap”).' See INA Section 214(g). The H—1B category is

greatly oversubscribed.

When USCIS determines that the cap will be

reached for that fiscal year, based on the number of

H-—1B petitions received, it announces to the public

the final day on which USCIS will accept such peti-

tions for adjudication in that fiscal year. USCIS re-

fers to this day as the “final receipt date.” See 8 CFR

214.2(h)(8)(i1)(B). USCIS then randomly selects from

among the petitions received on the final receipt date

the number of petitions necessary to reach the 65,000

cap. Jd. If the final receipt date falls within the first

five business days on which petitions subject to the

applicable cap may be filed, USCIS will randomly se-

lect the number of petitions necessary to reach the

65,000 cap from among those filed during the accep-

tance period.

There is a significant amount of competition among

employers of highly skilled workers for the lhmited

number of H—1B visas available each fiscal year. Each

year, the cap has been reached earlier in the year.

For FY05, the cap was reached on October 1, 2004,

the first day of that fiscal year. In FY06, the cap was

reached on August 10, 2005; and in FY 07, the cap

' The 65,000 person cap does not, however, apply to certain

limited classes of aliens, including individuals who are employed

by, or have received offers of employment at: (1) An institution

of higher education, or a related or affiliated nonprofit entity, or

(2) a nonprofit research organ:zation or a governmental research

organization. Additionally, there is an exemption from the H—-1B

cap for up to 20,000 individuals who are advanced degree gradu-

ates (master’s degree or higher) from U‘S. institutions of higher

education.

53a

was reached on May 26, 2006. Last year, the cap was

reached on April 2, 2007, the first business day for

filing. On that single day, USCIS received more than

twice the number of petitions needed to reach the cap

for that fiscal year.’

Many employers who hire F—1 students under the

OPT program eventually file a petition on the students’

behalf for classification as an H—1B worker in a spe-

cialty occupation. If the student is maintaining his or

her F—1 nonimmigrant status, the employer may also

include a request to have the student’s nonimmigrant

status changed to H—1B. Because the H—1B category

is greatly oversubscribed, however, OPT employees

often are unable to obtain H— 1B status within their

authorized period of stay in F—1 status, including the

12-month OPT period, and thus are forced to leave the

country. The inability of U.S. employers, in particular

in the fields of science, technology, engineering and

mathematics, to obtain H—1B status for highly skilled

foreign students and foreign nonimmigrant workers

has adversely affected the ability of U.S. employers to

recruit and retain skilled workers and creates a com-

petitive disadvantage for U.S. companies.

The National Science Foundation (NSF), in its Sci-

ence and Engineering Indicators 2008 (SEIND0O8),°

took note of these trends. NSF observed that global-

ization of science and technology has proceeded at a

quick pace since the early 1990s. Increased interna-

tional travel coincided with the development of the

Internet as a tool for unfettered worldwide informa-

tion dissemination and communication. “By the late

* See USCIS Update at http://www uscis.gov/files/pressrelease/

H1BFY08Cap040307 pdf.

3 This publication may be found at http://www_nsf gov/statis-

tics/seindO08.

54a

1990s,” the report continues “many governments had

taken note of these developments. They increasingly

looked to the development of knowledgeintensive eco-

nomics for their countries’ economic competitiveness

and growth.” SEINDO8 at 0-4. NSF further reports

that “twenty-five percent of all college education sci-

ence and engineering occupations in 2003 were for-

eign born, as were [forty percent] of doctorate holders

in science and engineering.” According to the Task

Force on the Future of American Innovation, Measur-

ing the Moment: Innovation, National Security and

Economic Competitiveness (November 2006),‘ the pro-

portion of American students in the United States ob-

taining degrees in STEM fields has fallen from 32% to

27%. Later, the report reveals that since 2000, there

have been more foreign graduate students studying

engineering and the physical, computer and math-

ematical sciences in U.S. graduate schools than U.S.

citizens and permanent residents.

The NSF goes on to say that “U.S. [Gross Domes-

tic Product] growth is robust but cannot match large,

sustained increases in China and other Asian econo-

mies.” And because of this globalization, the United

States, while still the leading producer of scientific

knowledge, faces a labor market in which it must in-

creasingly compete with these countries. The econo-

mies of the Organization of Economic Cooperation

and Development (OECD) countries, particularly

Australia, Canada, and certain European countries,

are also providing increased opportunities for STEM

scientists. And STEM graduates from the growing

economies of China, India, and Russia, for example,

have increased employment opportunities in their na-

* This report may be accessed at http://www.futureofinnov

ation.org/PDF/BII-FINALHighRes-11-14-06_nocover.pdf.

55a

tive countries. Thus, the Task Force on the Future of

American Innovation reports “the impact of China and

India on global R&D [research and development] is sig-

nificant and growing rapidly: In 1990, these two coun-

tries accounted for 3.4% of foreign R&D staff, which

increased to 13.9% by 2004. By the end of 2007, China

and India will account for 31% of global R&D staff,

up from 19% in 2004.” See Measuring the Moment:

Innovation, National Security and Economic Compet-

tiveness (November 2006). In short, with their large

and growing populations of STEMgraduate scientists,

high-tech industries in these three countries and oth-

ers in the OECD now compete much more effectively

against the U.S. high technology industry.

DHS has received communications from a wide

range of concerned stakeholders, including compa-

nies in the high-tech industry, members of Congress,

and U.S. educational institutions, about the adverse

impact on the U.S. economy and the ability of U.S.

schools to attract talented foreign students for STEM

study programs due to the immigration and employ-

ment practices in the United States. Representatives

of high-tech industries in particular have raised sig-

nificant concerns that the inability of U.S. companies

to obtain H—1B visas for qualified F—1 students in a

timely manner continues to result in the loss of skilled

technical workers to countries with more lenient em-

ployment visa regimes, such as Canada and Austra-

lia. See Testimony of Bill Gates, Chairman, Microsoft

Corporation, before the U.S. Senate Committee on

Health, Education, Labor & Pensions, “Strengthen

ing American Competitiveness for the 21st Century”

(Washington. D.C.; March 7, 2007).°

* A copy of this testimony can be accessed at http://help senate

gov/hearings/2007_03_07/ Gates.pdf.

56a

Notably, the European Union recently proposed a

“Blue Card” program, similar to the U.S. H—1B visa

program, under which skilled workers would be able

to obtain a temporary work visa for employment in

the European Union. Unlike the H—1B program, the

European Union’s Blue Card program proposal would

not have a cap. The European Union estimates that

workers would usually be able to obtain their visas

in 90 days or less. If the Blue Card proposal is ad-

opted, U.S. employers could be at a competitive dis-

advantage to employers in the European Union when

recruiting foreign national candidates. U.S. high-tech

employers are particularly concerned about the H-1B

cap because of the critical shortage of domestic sci-

ence and engineering talent and the degree to which

high-tech employers are as a consequence necessarily

far more dependent on foreign workers than other in-

dustries. See The National Science Foundation, Rising

Above the Gathering Storm: Energizing and Employ-

ing America for a Brighter Economic Future (2007),

pp. 78-83 (describing the critical shortages of science,

math, and engineering talent in the United States).®

Many F-1 students who graduated last spring will

soon be concluding their 12-month periods of OPT.

Unless employers for those students are able to ob-

tain H—1B visas when the filing period commences

on April 1, 2008 for FY09 (October 1, 2008), many of

these students will need to leave the United States

when their current postcompletion OPT period con-

cludes.

This interim final rule addresses the immediate

competitive disadvantage faced by U.S. high-tech

"This publication may be found at http://www.nap.edu/catalog.

php?record_id=11463.

57a

industries, and thus may quickly ameliorate some

of the adverse impacts on the U.S. economy. It does

this by allowing an F-—1 student already in a period

of approved postcompletion OPT to apply to extend

that period by up to 17 months (for a maximum total

period of 29 months of OPT) if the student received

a STEM degree. As discussed in Section II below,

this extension is only available to F—1 students with

STEM degrees who have accepted employment with

an employer registered and in good standing with US-

CIS’ E-Verify employment verification program. In

addition, employers of F—1 students who qualify for

this 17-month extension of post-completion OPT must

report to the student’s school DSO within 48 hours if

the student’s employment ends prior to the end of the

student’s authorized OPT employment period.

B. “Cap-Gap” and Need To Expand Relief to All F-1

Students With Pending H-1B Petitions

As discussed above, nonimmigrant F—1 students on

post-completion OPT maintain valid F—1 status until

the expiration of the OPT period and the subsequent

60-day departure preparation period. Employers of

students already working for the employer under

OPT often file petitions to change the students’ status

to H-1B so that these nonimmigrant aliens may con-

tinue working in their current or a similar job. Many

times, however, an F—1 student’s OPT authorization

will expire prior to the student being able to assume

the employment specified in the approved H—1B peti-

tion.

Currently, anemployer may not file, and USCIS may

not approve, an H—1B petition submitted earlier than

six months before the date of actual need for the ben-

eficiary’s services or training. 8 CFR 214.2(h)(9)(i)(B).

As a result, the earliest date that an employer can file

58a

an H—1B petition for consideration under the next fis-

cal year cap is April 1, for an October 1 employment

start date. If that H-1B petition and the accompany-

ing change of status request are approved, the earliest

date that the student may start H-1B employment is

October 1. Consequently, F—1 students who are the

beneficiaries of approved H—1B petitions, but whose

period of authorized stay (including authorized peri-

ods of post-completion OPT and the subsequent 60-

day departure preparation period) expires before the

October 1 H—-1B employment start date, would have

a gap in authorized stay and employment. This situa-

tion is commonly referred to as the “cap-gap.”

An F-—1 student in a cap-gap situation would have

to leave the United States and return at the time his

or her H—1B status becomes effective at the beginning

of the next fiscal year. This gap creates a hardship to

a number of students and provides a disincentive to

remaining in the United States for employment. The

cap-gap therefore creates a recruiting obstacle for

U.S. employers interested in obtaining F—1 students

for employment and submitting H—1B petitions on

their behalf. Moreover, when the student is already

working for a U.S. company on OPT and has to leave

the United States, frequently for several months, dur-

ing the cap-gap period, the employer suffers a major

disruption.

USCIS is already authorized to extend the status of

F-1 students caught in a cap-gap between graduation

and the start date on his or her approved H-—1B pe-

tition. 8 CFR 214.2(f)(5)(vi). However, before USCIS

can offer students any relief from the cap-gap, it must

first determine that the cap has been reached for the

current fiscal year, or is likely to be reached prior to

the end of the current fiscal year, and then publish

59a

a notice in the Federal Register announcing that

status is extended for students with pending H—1B

petitions. Significantly, the existing regulations do

not take into account the fact that the H—1B category

is now oversubscribed to such a degree that USCIS’

final receipt date for petitions is now announced even

before the start of the fiscal year for which the peti-

tions are being submitted and, in the absence of an

expansion of the 65,000 cap by Congress, this state of

affairs will likely continue indefinitely. The existing

regulations, therefore, are not an effective means of

addressing the cap-gap problem suffered by student

beneficiaries of pending H—1B petitions (and their

employers).

This interim rule amends USCIS procedures by

eliminating the requirement that USCIS issue a Fed-

eral Register notice. Instead, this rule extends the

authorized period of stay, as well as work authoriza-

tion, of any F—1 student who is the beneficiary of a

timely-filed H—1B petition that has been granted by,

or remains pending with, USCIS. The extension of

status and work authorization terminates on October

1 of the fiscal year for which the H—1B visa has been

requested. This amendment better reflects the real-

ity of the current situation, where demand for H—1B

visas is so high that USCIS regularly receives enough

petitions to reach the cap before the beginning of the

fiscal year for which petitions are filed,and offer more

substantial cap gap relief to both students and em-

ployers.

60a

II. Discussion of This Interim Final Rule

A. 17-Month Extension of Optional Practical

Training for F—1 Students Who Have Obtained a

STEM Degree

This interim rule will allow F—1 students who have

received a degree in a STEM field to obtain an exten-

sion of their existing post-completion OPT period for

up to 17 months, for a maximum period of post-com-

pletion OPT of 29 months. The extension, however,

is only available to students who are employed, or

will be employed, by an employer enrolled (and deter-

mined by USCIS to be in good standing) in USCIS’ E-

Verify employment verification program at the time

the student applhies for the 17-month extension. A stu-

dent seeking an extension must agree to report to a

DSO at his or her school the following: Changes to the

student’s name, the student’s residential and mailing

address, the student’s employer, and the address of

the student’s employer. The student must also report

to a DSO every six months from the date the OPT ex-

tension starts to verify this information. In addition,

the employer of a student under extended OPT must

report to the student’s school DSO within 48 hours

after the student leaves employment with that em-

ployer. The DSO must report all of this information

in SEVIS.

1. Requirements for Students Seeking a 17-Month

OPT Extension

This interim final rule will allow qualified F—1 stu-

dents who currently have approved post-completion

OPT to apply for a 17-month extension of OPT. The

student’s degree, as shown is SEVIS, must be a bach-

elor’s, master’s, or doctorate degree with a degree

6la

code that is on the current STEM Designated Degree

Program List.

The STEM Designated Degree Program List is

based on the “Classification of Instructional Pro-

grams (CIP) developed by the U.S. Department of

Education’s National Center for Education Statis-

tics (NCES). See Classification of Instructional Pro-

grams—2000: (NCES 2002-165) U.S. Department of

Education, National Center for Education Statistics.

Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office.’

To be eligible for the 17-month OPT extension, a stu-

dent must have received a degree in the following:

- Actuarial Science. NCES CIP Code 52.1304

- Computer Science: NCES CIP Codes 11.xxxx

(except Data Entry/Microcomputer Applications,

NCES CIP Codes 11.06xx)

- Engineering: NCES CIP Codes 14.xxxx

- Engineering Technologies: NCES CIP Codes

15.xxxx

- Biological and Biomedical Sciences: NCES CIP

Codes 26.xxxx

- Mathematics and Statistics: NCES CIP Codes

7.XXxXx

- Military Technologies: NCES CIP Codes 29.xxxx

- Physical Sciences: NCES CIP Codes 40.xxxx

- Science Technologies: NCES CIP Codes 41.xxxx

- Medical Scientist (MS, PhD): NCES CIP Code

51.1401

The approved list is available on SEVP’s Web site

at http://www.ice.gov/sevis. DHS welcomes comment

on the list and any recommendations for additional

degrees that the Department should consider for in-

* This publication may be found at http://nces.ed.gov/

pubs2002/2002165_ 2 pdf.

62a

clusion in the list. DHS will continue to work with

interested parties to evaluate the degrees that may be

added to this list in the future, and will be reaching

out to other agencies in the development of the final

rule. The Department, however, must also continue to

ensure that the extension remains limited to students

with degrees in major areas of study falling within a

technical field where there is a shortage of qualified,

highly-skilled U.S. workers and that is essential to

this country’s technological innovative competitive-

ness.

DHS will announce any future changes to the list

on this Web site. Note that catch-all NCES CIP codes

ending in “99” are not considered STEM designated

degrees.

Students who wish to extend OPT must request

that their DSO recommend the 17-month OPT exten-

sion. DSOs recommending the extension must veri-

fy the student’s eligibility, certifythat the student’s

degree is on the STEM Designated Degree Program

List, and ensure that the student is aware of his or

her responsibilities for maintaining status while on

OPT. The DSO must make the recommendation to

extend OPT for the student through SEVP’s Student

and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS),

a Webenabled database for the collection of informa-

tion related to F, M and J nonimmigrants, certified

schools, and State Department approved exchange

visitor programs. SEVP will implement an interim

update to SEVIS to ensure schools can recommend ex-

tending the authorized OPT period for 17 months for

qualified students. The changes will be minimal due

to the short time for planning and the reduced testing

cycle. SEVP is also planning a major SEVIS release in

the first part of FY 2009 to more fully support the new

63a

regulatory requirements. SEVP will publish interim

instructions for the period between the interim update

and the major release and provide training opportuni-

ties for DSOs. SEVIS help desk personnel will provide

assistance with the proper interim procedures. Once

the DSO recommends a student for the extension, the

student must submit a Form I—765 and appropriate

fees (as indicated in the form instructions) to USCIS.

Instructions for filing the Form I—765 can be found at

USCIS’ Web site at http://www.uscis. gov.

This interim final rule also extends EADs for stu-

dents with pending requests for extension of postcom-

pletion OPT. An F—1 student who has properly filed

Form I-—765 prior to the end date of his or her post

completion OPT is allowed to maintain continuous

employment for up to 180 days while USCIS adjudi-

cates the request for the extension. To implement the

changes discussed in this rulemaking, USCIS is mak-

ing conforming amendments to Form I—765 to ensure

that that the F—1 students seeking a 17-month exten-

sion of their post-completion OPT are, in fact, eligible

to do so. USCIS is amending this form to add, among

other things, a new question #17 asking students to

identify the degree they have received, so that USCIS

may determine that the student has received a de-

gree in a STEM field. The new Form I—765 also will

ask the student seeking the extension to provide the

name of their employer (as listed in E-Verify), and

their employer's E-Verify Company I.D. number or, if

the employer is using a Designated Agent to perform

the E-Verify queries, a valid EVenfy Chent Company

I.D. number

64a

2. Requirement for Employers of Students With a 17-

Month OPT Extension

a. USCIS E-Verify Employment Verification

Program

As discussed above, only students who are employed

by employers who have enrolled, and are determined

by USCIS to be in good standing, in USCIS’ E-Ver-

ify program will be eligible for the 17-month exten-

sion of post-completion OPT. The E-Verify program

is an Internet-based system operated by USCIS, in

partnership with the Social Security Administration

(SSA). E-Verify is currently free to employers and is

available in all 50 states, the District of Columbia,

Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. E-

Verify electronically compares information contained

on the Employment Eligibility Verification Form I-—

9 (herein Form I—9) with records contained in SSA

and DHS databases to help employers verify identity

and employment eligibility of newly-hired employees.

This program currently is the best means available

for employers to determine employment eligibility

of new hires and the validity of their Social Security

Numbers.

Before an employer can participate in the E-Verify

program, the employer must enter into a Memoran-

dum of Understanding (MOU) with DHS and SSA.

This memorandum requires employers to agree to

abide by current legal hiring procedures and to en-

sure that no employee will be unfairly discriminated

against as a result of the E-Verify program. Viola-

tion of the terms of this agreement by the employer

is grounds for immediate termination of its participa-

tion in the program.

65a

Employers participating in E-Verify must still com-

plete a Form I—9 for each newly hired employee, as re-

quired under current law. Following completion of the

Form I—9, the employer must enter the newly hired

worker's information into the E-Verify Web site, and

that information is then checked against information

contained in SSA and USCIS databases. E-Verify

compares employee information against more than

425 million records in the SSA database and more

than 60 million records stored in the DHS database.

Currently, 93 percent of all employer queries are in-

stantly verified as work authorized.

It is important to note that, once an employer enrolls

in E-Verify, that employer is responsible for verifying

all new hires, including newly hired OPT students

with 17-month OPT extensions, at the hiring site(s)

identified in the MOU executed by the employer and

DHS. New hires must be verified to be authorized to

work in the United States through E-Verify within

three days of hire. If, however, an employer enrolls in

E-Verify to retain the employment of an OPT student,

the employer may not verify the employment elig:-

bility of the OPT employee in E-Verify as the MOU

prohibits the verification of existing employees. Ad-

ditional information on enrollment and responsibili-

ties under E.Verify can be found at http:// www.uscis.

gov/E-Verify.

Employers can register for E-Verify on-line at http://

www.uscis.gov/EVerify. The site provides instructions

for completing the MOU needed to officially register

for the program.

b. Emplover Reporting Requirement

SEVP’s ability to track nonimmigrant students in

the United States relies on reporting by the students’

66a

DSOs. DSOs obtain the needed information from the

school’s recordkeeping systems and contact with the

students. Students on OPT, however, are often away

from the academic environment, making it difficult

for DSOs to ensure proper and prompt reporting on

student status to SEVP. While DHS regulations cur-

rently require DSOs to update SEVIS, the current re-

porting requirements depend entirely on the student’s

timely compliance. DSOs are not currently required

to review and verify information reported by students

on a recurring basis. This combination of factors hin-

ders systematic reporting and SEVP’s ability to track

F -1 students during OPT.

Accordingly, DHS will only extend post-completion

OPT for students employed by employers that agree

to report when an F-1 student on extended OPT ter-

minates or otherwise leaves his or her employment

with the employer prior to end of the authorized pe-

riod of OPT. The employer must report this informa-

tion to the DSO of the student’s school no later than

48 hours after the student leaves employment. Em-

ployers must report this information to the DSO at

the student’s school unless DHS announces another

means to report such information through a Feder-

al Register notice. The contact information for the

DSO is on the student’s Form I-20. DHS welcomes

comments on possible means for directly reporting to

DHS, such as through electronic means similar to or

associated with the E-Verify platform.

B. Expansion of Cap-Gap Relief for All F—1 Students

With Pending H-1B Petitions

Currently, F—1 students who are the beneficiaries

of approved H—1B petitions, but whose period of ad-

mission (including authorized periods of post-comple-

tion OPT an

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.