Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Friedland v. TIC - The Industrial Industrial Co. (No. 09-551)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- Supremes Co uid iy S

4 “4 —

M3 1 ae

No. f ‘ :2

IN THE ~

Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT M. FRIEDLAND, PETITIONER

Vv.

TIC - THE INDUSTRIAL COMPANY; GEOSYNTEC

CONSULTANTS INC., F/K/A GEOSERVICES, INC.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN D. FOGNANI

Counsel of Record

FRITZ W. GANZ

TIFFANY L. GRANT

Fognani & Faught, PLLC

1700 Lincoln Street,

Suite 2222

Denver, CO 80208

303-382-6200

CURRY & TAYLOR @ (202) 393-4141

;

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the collateral source rule applies to the

Comprehensive Environmental Response,

Compensation and Liability Act of 1980, as

amended, specifically, 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) cost

recovery and 42 U.S.C. $ 9613(f) contribution

actions.

Whether the Tenth Circuit erred in refusing to

apportion prior settlements in order to determine

if complete common damages were present.

i?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pap

Se TRON PREMENTED .0....00scccccccsescseses edna citsssivobensecsuslbiens

SS Ee ill

rao cs csnevonesesccnosdecesaccsocecenscceesecs 1

i airsrs ccc scesspcsstacesevesessoeoncececocvcscosenoceoeecsooons l

RELEVANT PROVISIONS INVOLVED ...........cccccseesccesesessecseseeeeees 2

resco snnssdeeusescesnvsovosctaceocccsassocesosconssecere 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........cccccsssseeeesesseseeeees 5

a. sccconeton ponscneeoncsonccesocsssooees 17

APPENDIX

Circuit Corwrt of Appeals Opinions ....cccccccccecssscssssesseessecsseees la

District Court Memrorard ivr Order......ccccccccccseccscececseceees 20a

ES 30a

Relevant Statutory Provisions..............00csecceesssssessecssscecese 3la

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

ATLANTIC RICHFIELD CoO. Vv. AM. AIRLINES, INC.,

836 F’. SUPP. 763 (N.D. OKLA. 1998)............cccccccceescceeeeeseeeeee 14

BOEING Co. V. CASCADE CORP., 207 F.3D 1177, 1185

TR a II cacicaicinei secunssciemssnicabacenscbinrcnsaneniiiadatibid taal atta a a 15

BOYETT V. KEENE CORP., 815 F’. SUPP. 204, 209 (E. D.

aig I ie cesictiscsitininincaiitcnieitaiiitehccibaaccbta talbott ia ace 14

CITY & COUNTY OF DENVER V. ADOLPH COORS Co.,

829 F’. SUPP. 340 (D. COLO. 1998)..................cccccesseeeee 13, 14,15

COLO. SCH. OF MINES V. AK STEEL CorRP., 2001 WL

34041780, AT *2 (D. COLO. SEPT. 26, 2001) .................065 14,16

F'MC CORP. V. DEP'T OF COMMERCE, 29 F.3D 833, 843

RINE TI, TTI csisaceaiiinadcsdiptinhabiabtniasnatediniaaedameensiaeak ualadsiinalieacateanbtinees 10

GYPSUM CARRIER, INC. Vv. HANDELSMAN, 307 F.2D

a He Cri: NID vi ccecctiestasccssnvcsescrtentstinasacistnisaaserceess 7,8

HECLA MINING Co. Vv. N. H. INS. Co., 811 P.2D 1083

IN iit ainda cele etal A 16

HESS OIL VIRGIN ISLANDS CORP. V. UOP, INC., 861

BF BEd Re Ce Gris Bie vcccesccnccsesnsesseseasenscsenvaiveseosrseee 12,13

HIDDEN LAKES DEV., LP V. ALLINA HEALTH SYS.,

2004 WL 2203406, AT *11(D. MINN. SEPT. 27, 2004).......... 14

JACKSON V. BNSF Ry. Co., 2008 WL 410591, AT *1

CE, Sa Be ics iaiescccstchsicceccoceutitansniiatiicsiicniondnececesases 7

I.A. DEP'T OF TRANSP. AND DEV. V. KAN. CITY S. RY.

COW... BEB SOB TAG, TE Cl, BED vavectecsvccossscncccaccesesecesecsesscees 8

MCDERMOTT, INC. Vv. AMCLYDE, 511 U.S. 202, 219

CE iiciseschciadihscenssccnnsiuiiiicecbicmem tinea ia 10

Mo. PACIFIC Ry. Co. V. JARRARD, 65 TEX. 560, 1886

PF ic SE Ce Fe Bai Be iaccckvcsbencccncsanscrnsonenicsiesesseccereeeces 7

OHIO AND MISS. Ry. Co. Vv. DICKERSON, 59 IND. 317,

STE Fe a es, CG OF icticnccoicc en hcvnccedcnictrinianieda tain stinncosncnvesnes 7

OWEN V. UNITED STATES, 713 F.2D 1461, 1466 (9TH

OIE BI ck aceiccceaircuaicbscidla dtaasdedecentdd ean a i aiicicinis 16

RAYTHEON AIRCRAFT CO. V. UNITED STATES, 2007

WL 4300221, *5 (D. KAN. DEC. 8, 2007) .........csecesesereceeenee 15

Hi

RUHLMANN V. SMITH, 3523 FL SUPP. 2D 356, 368 (N.D.

a cae sis 14

STANLEY V. RERTRAM-TROJAN, [INC., 868 F. SUPP.

wh csentpicdnpnnesnconnio’ 7

TECHNICAL COMPUTER SERVS., INC. V. BUCKLEY,

844 P.2D 1240, 1254 (COLO. APP. 10D2).......ccccccccocsccescscscsceeee 11

THYSSEN, INC. v. S/S EUROUNITY, 21 F.3D 538, 537-

RIES OD ir to t+ 7

TOWN OF E. TROY V. Soo LINE R.R. Co., 653 F.2D

re a in seecsnnosnevennsens 9

UNITED STATES V. ATLANTIC RESEARCH CORP., 127

Fe SRST INGE este ee ae ne 10

UNITED STATES V. BESTFOODS, 524 U.S. 51, 55-56

Tle ninonunegsniunn’ 9

UNITED STATES V. BURLINGTON N. R. R., 200 F.3D

GTB, GES CLOTH CUR. TODD) vccccscesccccccescrcosscseseccesseeess 12, 138, 14, 15

UNITED STATES V. OCCIDENTAL CHEM. CORP., 200

Fe i Oe Oe Bi iccicsicsececeenstnncdsonssssvecocsvessosesscenees 9

VITKUS V. BEATRICE Co., 127 F.3D 936, 941, 944

RII ERS PEAT cet A eC 16

WEBER V. THE MORRIS AND ESSEX R. R. CO., 36

N.J.L. 213, 1873 WL 6884 (NJ. SUP. 1878)...........0e0ecseeeeeeeees 7

YOUNG V. UNITED STATES, 394 F.3D 858, 862 (10TH

SSI Iie ea tin re A ce OI) ESCO CREE RC 9

STATUTES

BE, aN LEE SETS ORCC R ROE EO l

a ao aeaicaaolamicabscmiandaeaduuia l

ia ab ipa eiakademacanmimatambaaasobadios 1

Ne ea peeae ae, 5

ET RE ERE TER INE IR ETS Soe RENT ERE MOTOR 2

ns acu eae peadaaaceniaabeananl 2

gS GRE, RI RR SRN RB a eo DAI DS 2

RULES

ee RIE ENS BI vi veins ccesceescccntcantsanescroindasanasesvbuasuecs 1

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Robert M. Friedland hereby petitions this Court

for a writ of certiorari to review the opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

On January 18, 2008, the United States District

Court for the District of Colorado dismissed Mr.

Friedland’s claims. That opinion is unpublished and can

be found at 2008 WL 185693 and reproduced at 20a. On

May 29, 2009. The United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit affirmed the Federal District Court

decision. That opinion is published at 566 F.3d 1203 and

reproduced at la.

JURISDICTION

The District Court had jurisdiction over Mr.

Friedland’s claims pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331. The

Court of Appeals had jurisdiction to review the District

Court’s final judgment pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals filed its opinion on

May 29, 2009; Mr. Friedland filed his Petition for

Rehearing En Banc on June 15, 2009, which the court of

appeals denied on July 28, 2009. Thus, pursuant to

Supreme Court Rule 13, this Petition is filed timely

within 90 days of the entry of final judgment. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

yA

ae

RELEVANT PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Sections 107 and 113(f) of the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability

Act of 1980, as amended (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. §§

9607 and 9613(f), govern actions for cost recovery and

contribution for costs incurred as a result of the release

or threatened release of hazardous substances caused

by operations or actions of potentially responsible

parties (“PRPs”).

42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) provides, in relevant part,

that covered persons shall be liable for

all costs of removal or remedial action

incurred by the United States Government or a

State....not inconsistent with the national

contingency plan [and] any other necessary costs

of response incurred by any other person

consistent with the national contingency plan....

The amounts recoverable in an action under this

section shall include interest on the amounts

recoverable....

42 U.S.C. § 9613(f) provides that

any person may seek contribution from

any other person who is liable or potentially

liable under section 9607(a) of this title, during or

following any civil action under section 9606 of

this title or under section 9607(a) of this title....

In resolving contribution claims, the court may

allocate response costs among liable parties

using such equitable factors as the court

determines are appropriate.

3

Article III, § 2, cl. 1, of the United States

Constitution provides as follows:

The judicial power shall extend to all

Cases, in Law and Equity, arising under this

Constitution, the Laws of the United States,

and Treaties made, or which shall be made,

under their Authority; to all Cases affecting

Ambassadors, other public Ministers and

Consuls; to all Cases of admiralty and maritime

Jurisdiction; to Controversies to which the

United States shall be a Party; to Controversies

between two or more States; between a State

and Citizens of another State; between Citizens

of different States; between Citizens of the same

State claiming Lands under Grants of different

States, and between a State, or the Citizens

thereof, and foreign States, Citizens or Subjects.

STATEMENT

In 1996, the United States and the State of

Colorado filed suit against Petitioner Robert M.

Friedland, styled United States of America and State of

Colorado v. Robert M. Friedland, et al., Civil Action

No. 1213 (D. Colo. filed May 23, 1996) (“Underlying

Litigation”), seeking to recover the costs under

CERCLA of responding to environmental

contamination at the Summitville Mine Superfund Site

located near Del Norte, Colorado. In 2000, Mr.

Friedland settled the CERCLA case with the United

States and the State of Colorado and entered into a

Consent Decree that resolved the Underlying

Litigation. Pursuant to the Consent Decree Mr.

Friedland paid $20,723,181 to the United States and the

4

State of Colorado in exchanye for a complete release of

the governments’ claims.

Following the entry of the Consent Decree, Mr.

Friedland sought to recoup some of the amounts puaid in

settlement of the Underlying Litigation, as well as an

amount in excess of $28,000,000 in defense costs he had

incurred in defending himself in that action and related

matters. Mr. Friedland recovered a portion of his costs

from United States Fidelity and Guaranty Company

(““USF&G”) and The Travelers Indemnity Company

and related Traveler's entities (“Travelers”) pursuant to

insurance contracts under which Mr. Friedland was a

first party insured.

This case, filed by Mr. Friedland in the United

States District Court for the District of Colorado

against Defendants-Appellees TIC-The Industrial

Company (“TIC”) and GeoSyntec Consultants Inc. f/k/a

GeoServices, Inc. (“GeoSyntec”), was a cost recovery

action pursuant to CERCLA § 107 and a contribution

action pursuant to CERCLA § 113 in which Mr.

Friedland proceeded against TIC and GeoSyntec as

potentially responsible parties (“PRPs”). This action

was filed to recover the costs Mr. Friedland incurred as

a result of the release or threatened release of

hazardous substances caused by operations or actions

TIC and GeoSyntec managed, controlled and/or

conducted at the Summitville Mine Site. The damages

at issue in this CERCLA contribution action are not

the same as the breach of contract claims and related

claims resolved by Mr. Friedland’s settlements with his

insurers, USF&G and Travelers. That

notwithstanding, TIC and GeoSyntec filed a Joint

Motion for Summary Judgment on Damages claiming

o

full credit in this case as a result of the prior insurance

recoveries by Mr. Friedland. On January 18, 2008, the

District Court granted the motion and dismissed with

prejudice Mr. Friedland’s claims for cost recovery and

contribution under CERCLA. On May 29, 2009, the

Tenth Circuit affirmed the decision below, effectively

rendering the recovery and contribution portions of

CERCLA §8§ 107 and 113 superfluous. Mr. Friedland

filed his Petition for Rehearing En Banc on June 15,

2009, which the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals denied

on July 28, 2009. This Petition followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The spirit and intent of the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability

Act of 1980, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 9601, et seg.

(“CERCLA”) provides that polluters pay their

respective shares of the cleanup costs. Application of

the collateral source rule in the context of cost recovery

and contribution actions under CERCLA is appropriate

and necessary to achieve that purpose.

In the event the damages sought in a cost

recovery or contribution action under CERCLA are

appropriately setoff by prior settlements with other

potentially responsible parties (“PRPs”), there must be

a determination that the damages among the claims

settled and the damages at issue in the CERCLA

action are completely common. If such a determination

is not made, or cannot be made, courts must undertake

the factual inquiry and analysis to allocate and

apportion the settlement amounts before any setoff

may reasonably be made. Any other result necessarily

6

undermines the very principle of joint and several

liability upon which CERCLA rests.

The result offered by the Tenth Circuit has a

profoundly negative impact on the ability of PRPs

under CERCLA to engage in voluntary cleanup

activities or enter into settlements with their insurers

or other PRPs. The requirement that settlement

agreements expressly allocate the settlement amount

between indemnity and defense costs will have a

chilling effect on settlement and adversely impact the

public interest in judicial economy and prompt

environmental response. The Tenth Circuit’s holding

cannot be reconciled with the express provisions or the

spirit and intent of CERCLA.

I, THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION

CONFLICTS WITH THE LEGISLATIVE

INTENT OF CERCLA §§ 107 AND 113(f)

The legislative intent and purpose of CERCLA

Sections 107 and 113(f) is to ensure that polluters pay

their way. It follows that the collateral source rule,

consistently applied in tort contexts and other

statutory frameworks, be applied to actions for cost

recovery and contribution from others whose

operations or actions resulted in the release or

threatened release of hazardous substances for which

those remedial or removal costs were incurred.

A. The Collateral Source Rule _ is

Consistently Applied Outside’ the

Context of Traditional Common Law

Tort Claims

The collateral source rule holds that a wrongdoer

is not entitled to have damages for which he is liable

reduced by proof that the plaintiff has received or will

receive compensation or indemnity for the loss from an

independent source. Jackson v. BNSF Ry. Co., 2008

WL 410591, at *1 (D. Colo. Feb. 18, 2008). The

fundamental premise of the collateral source rule has

been recognized in the common law of the United

States for more than 125 years. See Mo. Pacific Ry. Co.

v. Jarrard, 65 Tex. 560, 1886 WL 4714 (Tex. Feb. 23,

1886); The Ohio and Miss. Ry. Co. v. Dickerson, 59 Ind.

317, 1877 WL 6623 (Ind. 1877); and Weber v. The Morris

and Essex R. R. Co., 36 N.J.L. 218, 1873 WL 6884 (N.J.

Sup. 1873).

Federal courts have recognized the doctrine as

“well established and generally prevailing, and have

repeatedly expressed their approval of it [and] ... have

applied it as a rule of federal law when called upon to do

so ....” Gypsum Carrier, Inc. v. Handelsman, 307 F.2d

525, 534 (9th Cir. 1962) (applying collateral source rule

in context of Jones Act litigation); Thyssen, Inc. v. S/S

Eurounity, 21 F.3d 533, 5387-38 (2nd Cir. 1994) (applying

collateral source rule in context of Carriage of Goods by

Sea Act); Jackson, 2008 WL 410591 (applying collateral

source rule in context of Federal Employer’s Liability

Act); Stanley v. Bertram-Trojan, Inc., 868 F. Supp. 541,

543 (S.D.N.Y. 1994) (applying collatera] source rule in

context of maritime law).

ra

The question [is} not whether a windfall is to be

conferred, but rather who shall receive the

benefit of a windfall which already exists. As

between the injured person and the tortfeasor,

the former’s claim is the better. This may permit

a double recovery, but it does not impose a

double burden. The tortfeasor bears only the

single burden for his wrong. That burden is

imposed by society, not only to make the plaintiff

whole, but also to deter negligence and

encourage due care.

Gypsum Carrier, Inc. v. Handelsman, 307 F.2d 525, 534

(9th Cir. 1962).

Collateral source funds that are created through the

prudence and foresight of the plaintiff should not be

turned to the benefit of a party against whom that

plaintiff has a claim for damages. /d., at 534-535.

B. The Collateral Source Rule Should

Apply to CERCLA Cost Recovery and

Contribution Actions

The application of the collateral source rule in

the context of a CERCLA § 113 contribution action is a

question of first impression in the United States

Supreme Court. The collateral source rule has,

however, been applied in comparable situations

involving the recovery of contribution damages for

environmental response costs incurred under an

analogous state environmental law. See La. Dep’t of

Transp. and Dev. v. Kan. City S. Ry. Co., 846 So.2d 734,

740 (La. 2003) (collateral source rule applies in cases

under the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act where

9

a damaged party is seeking reimbursement for

remediation expenses); Town of E. Troy v. Soo Line

R.R. Co., 653 F.2d 1128, 1132 (7th Cir. 1980) (the

collateral source rule “prefers double recovery for a

plaintiff to allowing a defendant to avoid paying for the

consequences of his or her wrongful acts”).

This philosophy is perfectly aligned with the

purpose of CERCLA. “(T]he twin aims of CERCLA

are to cleanup hazardous waste sites and impose the

costs of such cleanup on parties responsible for

the contamination.” Young v. United States, 394

F.3d 858, 862 (10th Cir. 2005) (emphasis added).

CERCLA was enacted at least in part “[s]lo, those

actually ‘responsible for any damage, environmental

harm, or injury from chemical poisons [may be tagged

with] the cost of their actions.”” United States v.

Bestfoods, 524 U.S. 51, 55-56 (1998) (quoting S. Rep. No.

96-848, pp. 6119, 18, U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

1980, p. 6119 (1980)). “Although [the United States

Environmental Protection Agency] has _ several

alternative strategies for achieving the statute’s

objective, each ultimately involves ‘forc[ing] polluters

to pay for costs associated with remedying their

pollution.”” United States v. Occidental Chem. Corp.,

200 F.3d 143, 147 (8rd Cir. 1999) (quoting United States

v. Alcan Aluminum Corp., 964 F.2d 252, 257-58 (3rd

Cir. 1992)).

it is further recognized that “CERCLA’s

‘essential purpose of making those responsible for

problems caused by the disposal of chemical poisons

bear the costs and responsibility for remedying the

harmful conditions they created”’ is promoted by the

collateral source doctrine. /d. (quoting FMC Corp. v.

10

Dep't of Commerce, 29 F.8d 888, 843 (3d Cir. 1994)). In

addition, the statute contains no rigid rule against

overcompensation. To the contrary, “several doctrines,

such as the collateral benefits rule, recognize that

making tortfeasors pay for the damage they cause can

be more important than preventing overcompensation.”

McDermott, Inc. v. AmClyde, 511 U.S. 202, 219 (1994).

C. The Tenth Circuit’s Decision Conflicts

with this Court’s Analysis in Atlantic

Research Corp.

This Court has recently compared the concept of

contribution under CERCLA to the traditional form of

contribution commonly applied in tort law. United

States v. Atlantic Research Corp., 127 S.Ct. 2331 (2007).

In Atlantic Research, this Court noted _ that

“{cJontribution is defined as the ‘tortfeasor’s right to

collect from others responsible for the same tort after

the tortfeasor has paid more than his or her

proportionate share, the shares being determined as a

percentage of fault.’”” Jd. at 2338 (quoting Black’s Law

Dictionary 353 (8th ed. 1999)). This Court also cites the

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TORTS § 886A(2) (1979) in

its analysis of contribution under CERCLA, and

further acknowledges that “[nlothing in § 113(f)

suggests that Congress used the term ‘contribution’ in

anything other than this traditional sense.” Jd. at 2339

As demonstrated above, the Tenth Circuit’s

decision to dismiss the collateral source rule as a

creation of “tort law” is inconsistent with the findings of

this Court. The collateral source rule is consistently

applied outside of the context of tort law. See e.g.

Technical Computer Servs., Inc. v. Buckley, 844 P.2d

11

1249, 1254 (Colo. App. 1992) (“the common law

collateral source rule is equally applicable to contract

actions.”). The collateral source rule should be applied

in the context of a CERCLA contribution or recovery

action just as it is in the context of many other claims

asserted under federal law.

II. THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S FAILURE TO

APPORTION PRIOR SETTLEMENTS AS

REQUIRED BY UNITED STATES V.

BURLINGTON N. R. R. CO. RESULTED IN

RESPONDENTS OBTAINING A WINDFALL

Defendants are entitled to a credit against the

amount recovered by the plaintiff only to the extent the

damages sought are completely common with those

giving rise to and resolved by the settlement. If there

is a lack of commonality between and among the

damages settled and the damages at issue, the

settlement must be allocated and apportioned to

determine the amount of the offset, if any. Mr.

Friedland’s prior settlements with USF&G and

Travelers included claims separate and distinct from his

claims against TIC and GeoSyntec. The District Court

should have undertaken the factual inquiry and analysis

necessary to allocate and apportion the settlement

amounts to those damages, if any, that are common

with those claims in the CERCLA action against TIC

and GeoSyntec. The District Courts failure to analyze

and apportion the settlements to determine what, if any

common damages exist was improper.

12

A. Complete Common Damages are

Required for a Total Setoff of a Prior

Settlement

Prior to applying any prior settlement to setoff

damages in a pending litigation, it is essential that the

court first find common damages among the claims

settled upon and the damages at issue in the present

action. See e.g. Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp. v. UOP,

Inc., 861 F.2d 1197 (10th Cir. 1988). In Hess, the Tenth

Circuit held that:

When a plaintiff receives an amount from a

settling party, it is generally credited against the

amount recovered by the plaintiff from a non-

settling defendant, provided both the settlement

and the judgment represent common damages.

The ‘one satisfaction’ rule is applicable only

where the defendant’s conduct resulted in a

single injury.

Hess, 861 F.2d at 1208 (emphasis added); see also

United States v. Burlington N. R. R., 200 F.3d 679, 698

(10th Cir. 1999) (citing Hess, supra). Upon finding

complete common damages among claims, the court did

not attempt to allocate the lump-sum settlements with

the settling defendants and applied the entire

settlement to the damages judgment.

A finding of “common damages” is an essential

condition of the “one satisfaction” rule applied in Hess.

Id. at 1208. Courts that have addressed whether a

setoff is appropriate first determined whether the

party seeking the setoff is liable for part or all of the

claims addressed in the prior settlement. See e.g.

13

Burlington, 200 F.3d 679; City & County of Denver v.

Adolph Coors Co., 829 F. Supp. 340 (D. Colo. 1993).

B. Mr. Friedland’s Prior Settlements

Included Claims Separate and Distinct

from Contribution Claims under

CERCLA

The common damages analysis has no application

in the present case because the prior settlements were

based on insurance contracts and not the “single

indivisible injury” contemplated in Hess. 861 F.2d at

1208. In his insurance coverage action against USF &G,

Mr. Friedland alleged and_ settled claims for

investigation, indemnity and defense costs, as well as

bad faith trade practices related to costs Mr. Friedland

incurred in responding to the Underlying Litigation. In

his insurance coverage action against Travelers, Mr.

Friedland alleged and settled claims for investigation,

indemnity and defense costs related to costs Mr.

Friedland incurred in responding to the Underlying

Litigation. The settlements resolved all of

Mr. Friedland’s claims against the named insurers and

both settlements also encompassed the value of Mr.

Friedland’s “buy-back” of his insurance coverage from

USF&G and Travelers such that neither insurer owed

any future obligations under the insurance policies at

issue. Mr. Friedland indemnified USF&G and

Travelers against any future claims or actions arising

under the policies, consideration for which was

necessarily included in the settlements.

In contrast, the present action against TIC-The

Industrial Company (“TIC”) and GeoSyntec

Consultants Inc. f/k/a GeoServices, Inc. (“GeoSyntec’”)

14

involves Mr. Friedland’s CERCLA contribution claims

for recovery of TIC and GeoSyntec’s respective shares

of the response costs that were due to the release of

hazardous substances caused by TIC and GeoSyntec’s

operations at the Summitville Mine Site. If the prior

settlement and the potential damages judgment do not

involve complete “common damages,” — i.e., TIC and

GeoSyntec could not be held liable for Mr. Friedland’s

investigation and defense costs, the value of

Mr. Friedland’s “buy-back” of his insurance coverage,

or the bad faith claims against USF&G —- a complete

setoff cannot apply. The burden of proving that a

settlement and a subsequent judgment represent

common damages, so that the respondent would receive

an impermissible double-recovery if setoff were not

allowed, rests on the party seeking the setoff credit.

Boyett v. Keene Corp., 815 F. Supp. 204, 209 (E.D. Tex.

1993); see also Ruhlmann v. Smith, 323 ¥. Supp. 2d 356,

368 (N.D. N.Y. 2004)

C. Apportionment of Mr. Friedland’s

Prior Settlements is Required to

Prevent Manifest Injustice

Courts routinely engage in allocation analyses in

CERCLA contribution actions. See e.g. Burlington,

200 F.3d at 697, 698. Courts determine whether harm

is divisible and, as in Burlington, also take on the task

of apportioning settlement amounts. /d. at 698; see also

Atlantic Richfield Co. v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 836 F.

Supp. 763 (N.D. Okla. 1993); Hidden Lakes Dev., LP v.

Allina Health Sys., 2004 WL 2203406, at *11 (D. Minn.

Sept. 27, 2004); Adolph Coors Co., 829 F. Supp. 340;

Colo. Sch. of Mines v. AK Steel Corp., 2001 WL

34041780, at *2 (D. Colo. Sept. 26, 2001). This allocation

15

necessarily involves questions of fact, such that

summary judgment is not appropriate. See Raytheon

Aircraft Co. v. United States, 2007 WL 4300221, *5 (D.

Kan. Dec. 8, 2007). At most, only a partial setoff may

apply to that portion of the settlements relating to

indemnity for response costs, but that will first require

an apportionment of the settlements, as the Tenth

Circuit properly instructs in other cases. Burlington,

200 F.3d at 698; see also Adolph Coors Co., 829 F’. Supp.

at 347.

The liabilities of TIC and GeoSyntec for

CERCLA response costs due to harm caused by their

operations and activities at the Summitville Mine Site

cannot be extinguished simply because the prior

settlements between Mr. Friedland and his insurers did

not expressly allocate between response and defense

costs. The Tenth Circuit’s decision here undermines

the principles of joint and several liability inherent in

CERCLA’s critical and well-established remedial

scheme. Burlington, 200 F.3d at 696. Further, as noted

by the Ninth Circuit,

[oJne of the goals of CERCLA was to affix the

ultimate cost of cleaning up these disposal sites

to the parties responsible for the contamination.

To leave one party shouldering the entire cost of

investigation and remediation while another

rides for free frustrates this goal, rather than

ensuring that those who’ caused _ the

contamination pay their fair share of the costs

associated with the clean-up.

Boeing Co. v. Cascade Corp., 207 F.3d 1177, 1185 (9th

Cir. 2000) (internal quotations omitted). Nothing in

16

CERCLA or Hess advocates the windfall to TIC or

GeoSyntee and penalty to Mr. Friedland that has

resulted from the full setoff and dismissal on summary

judgment.

Additionally, even if Mr. Friedland could have

extracted express allocations from his insurers, prior to

a setoff, the agreements would have been subject to a

reasonableness inquiry. See Owen v. United States, 713

F.2d 1461, 1466 (9th Cir. 1983) (the presumption that

parties have reasonably allocated a settlement amount

should be preserved for a settlement by parties with

truly adverse interests in the allocation); see also Colo.

Sch. of Mines., 2001 WL 34041780, at *2 (court

reviewed “good faith” of pending settlements between

plaintiff and settling PRPs in CERCLA contribution

action); Vitkus v. Beatrice Co., 127 F.3d 936, 941, 944

(10th Cir. 1997) (court undertook reasonableness

inquiry of insurance settlement in non-CERCLA action

to determine whether the allocation “reasonably

reflected the [insured’s] potential exposure in the

underlying litigation”).

As noted above, the Tenth Circuit erred in

determining TIC and GeoSyntec were entitled to a

setoff of Mr. Friedland’s prior settlements. The record

clearly illustrates a lack of common damages among the

amounts encompassed in Mr. Friedland’s settlements

with his insurers and the CERCLA contribution claims

against TIC and GeoSyntec. Additionally, because an

insurer’s duty to defend is broader than its duty to

indemnify, Hecla Mining Co. v. N. H. Ins. Co., 811 P.2d

1083 (Colo. 1991), the Tenth Circuit erred in refusing to

engage in settlement allocation to determine the

amount of the settlement funds received by

17

Mr. Friedland from his insurers applied to the liabilities

of TIC and GeoSyntec for CERCLA response costs.

The Tenth Circuit’s error in reaching such a conclusion

that could jeopardize CERCLA’s mandate must be

corrected to avoid future confusion in effecting

CERCLA’s fundamental purpose.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for Certiorari should be granted

because the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit erred in interpreting CERCLA §§ 107

and 113(f), by failing to apply the collateral source rule

and by refusing to apportion Mr. Friedland’s prior

settlements.

Respectfully submitted:

John D. Fognani

Fritz W. Ganz

Tiffany L. Grant

FOGNANI & FAUGHT, PLLC

1700 Lincoln Street

Suite 2222

Denver, CO 80203

Telephone: 303-382-6200

E-mail: fganz@fognanilaw.com

Attorneys for Petitioner

la

(any footnotes trail end of each document)

No. 08-1042

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT M. FRIEDLAND,

Plaintiff - Appellant,

v.

TIC - THE INDUSTRIAL COMPANY;

GEOSYNTEC CONSULTANTS INC., f/k/a

Geoservices, Inc.,

Defendants - Appellees.

UNISYS CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Amicus Curiae.

May 29, 2009, Filed

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO. (D.

Ct. No. 1:04-C V-01263-REB-KLM).

COUNSEL: Perry L. Glantz (John D. Fognani and

Fritz W. Ganz, with him on the briefs), Fognani &

Faught, PLLC, Denver, Colorado, appearing for

Appellant.

Terence M. Ridley, Wheeler Trigg Kennedy, LLP,

Denver, Colorado, and Colin C. Deihl, Faegre &

Benson, LLP, Denver, Colorado (Lamar F. Jost,

Wheeler Trigg Kennedy, LLP, Denver, Colorado;

Delmar R. Ehrich and Bruce Jones, Faegre & Benson

LLP, Denver, Colorado, with them on the brief),

appearing for appellees.

2a

Raymond B. Ludwiszewski, Peter E. Seley, and

Michael K. Murphy, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, LLP,

Washington, DC, filed an amicus curiae brief on behalf

of Unisys Corporation.

Before TACHA, BALDOCK, and O'BRIEN, Circuit

Judges.

OPINION

TACHA, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiff-appellant Robert M. Friedland filed this

contribution action pursuant to the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability

Act ("CERCLA") § 113(f), 42 U.S.C. § 9613(D, against

defendants-appellees The Industrial Company ("TIC")

and GeoSyntec Consultants Inc. ("GeoSyntec"). The

district court entered summary judgment in favor of

the defendants-appellees based on its determination

that Mr. Friedland has already recouped all of his

recoverable costs from other entities and therefore has

no damages to recover in this case. Mr. Friedland

appeals. We have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291

and AFFIRM.

I. BACKGROUND

Mr. Friedland is a former director and president of

Summitville Consolidated Mining Company, Inc.

("SCMCI"). From about 1984 to 1992, SCMCI operated

a large gold mine facility in the Summitville Mining

District near Del Norte, Colorado ("the Summitville

mine"). TIC helped construct the Summitville mine.

GeoSyntec provided quality assurance regarding the

3a

mine's heap leaching system, a process in which a

cyanide solution is sprayed on gokl-bearing ore to

precipitate the gold.

In December 1992, SCMCI declared bankruptcy and

abandoned the mine. That same month, the United

States Environmental Protection Agency ("EPA") took

over management of the Summitville mine and

instituted response actions to address actual or

threatened releases of contaminated water from the

mine into the environment. In 1996, after an

investigation of numerous potentially responsible

parties ("PRPs"), the United States and the State of

Colorado sued Mr. Friedland under CERCLA § 107, 42

U.S.C. § 9607, to recover their response costs. As part

of that lawsuit ("the cost-recovery action"), Mr.

Friedland filed a third-party contribution complaint

under CERCLA § 113, 42 U.S.C. § 9613, against twelve

separate PRPs, including an entity called Industrial

Constructors Corp. ("ICC"). He did not name TIC or

GeoSyntec in that complaint. In December 2000, Mr.

Friedland settled the claims brought against him by the

United States and Colorado for $ 20,723,181. Mr.

Friedland spent approximately $ 28 million on legal fees

in the cost-recovery action.

Prior to that settlement, Mr. Friedland initiated at

least two lawsuits relevant to this appeal. In 1999, he

sued ICC and United States Fidelity & Guaranty

Company ("USF&G") in Montana state court. ICC had

performed work on the Summitville mine from 1987-

1990 and was contractually bound to indemnify SCMCI

against losses caused by ICC, and to reimburse SCMCI

for settlements it had to pay as a result of those losses.

USF&G had issued insurance policies covering Mr.

dit

Friedland and ICC for the contractual liabilities

undertaken by ICC. In his complaint, Mr. Friedland

contended that ICC was obligated to pay all of his costs

of defense, investigation, and leyal liabilities, including

all sums spent in settlement, in connection with the

cost-recovery action. He further claimed that USF &G

was obligated under the insurance policies it had issued

to provide a defense and indemnification for the claims

raised in the cost-recovery action.

Approximately nine months after Mr. Friedland, the

United States, and Colorado reached the $ 20,723,181

settlement agreement in the cost-recovery action, Mr.

Friedland and ICC entered into a_ confidential

settlement agreement as to Mr. Friedland's third-party

CERCLA contribution claim and to the claims he

raised in the Montana state proceeding. ICC agreed to

pay a certain sum! to Mr. Friedland and further agreed

(because ICC had filed for bankruptcy) to assign him

the rights to all insurance claims ICC might have

against USF &G. With all claims against ICC resolved,

Mr. Friedland amended his Montana state complaint to

name only USF&G as a defendant. USF&G

subsequently settled that suit for a specific dollar

amount in December 2002.’

In the second lawsuit relevant to this appeal, in June

2002 Mr. Friedland sued The Travelers Indemnity

Company ("Travelers") in Colorado state court for "a

declaration that Travelers is fully obligated to pay the

costs of investigation, defense, and liability that Mr.

Friedland has incurred in connection with the legal

actions brought against him claiming or asserting

property damage and other alleged injuries at the

Summitville Mine Site." Mr. Friedland alleged that he

da

was a named insured under a Travelers liability policy

covering sums he was legally obligated to pay because

of property damage, as well as costs he incurred to

defend himself. Mx. Friedland and Travelers settled the

suit in October 2005.

Mr. Friedland initiated this CERCLA contribution

action against TIC and GeoSyntec in June 2004. In

response to an interrogatory during discovery, Mr.

Friedland stated that he sought contribution for the $

20,723,181 he agreed to pay to settle the cost-recovery

action brought against him by the United States and

Colorado. He also stated that he had already recovered

more than that amount from other sources, including

the USF&G and Travelers settlements. As a result of

this disclosure, the defendants moved for summary

judgment, arguing that because Mr. Friedland had

already recovered from others amounts exceeding the

payment he made to the United States and Colorado,

he has no damages and no right to contribution under

CERCLA § 113(f) as a matter of law. Mr. Friedland

advanced two theories in response. He contended that

the collateral source rule prohibits crediting the

defendants in the amount of the settlement money he

received from USF &G and Travelers. Alternatively, he

urged the district court to allocate the settlement

money to his $ 28 million defense costs, rather than the

$ 20,723,181 settlement amount. In this way, Mr.

Friedland argued that he still has recoverable damages.

The district court rejected both arguments and granted

the motion. Mr. Friedland maintains the same two

positions on appeal.

Il. DISCUSSION

A. The Collateral Source Rule

Gu

Derived from the common law. the collateral source

rule posits that "|playments made to or benefits

conferred on the injured party from other sources are

not credited against the tortfeasor's liability, although

they cover all or a part of the harm for which the

tortfeasor is liable." Restatement (Second) of Torts §

920A(2) & cmt. d (1979). The rule thus permits an

injured plaintiff to recover more than the damages he

has suffered as the result of an injury:

the common law did not require setoffs against

damage awards. Rather, plaintiffs were allowed

to recover the full damages awarded against

defendants even though the plaintiffs also

received compensation from collateral sources.

This principle of double recovery, known as the

collateral source rule,’ provided _ that

compensation or indemnity received by an

injured party from a collateral source, wholly

independent of the wrongdoer and to which he

has not contributed, will not diminish the

damages otherwise recoverable from. the

wrongdoer. ... Subject to... limited exceptions,

courts would not reduce a judgment because the

plaintiff had received compensation from a

collateral source even if the result was that the

plaintiff recovered twice for a single loss.

The purpose of the collateral source rule was to

prevent the defendant from receiving credit for

such compensation and thereby reduce the

amount payable as damages to the injured party.

To the extent that either party received a

windfall, it was considered more just that the

benefit be realized by the plaintiff in the form of

7a

double recovery rather than by the tortfeasor in

the form of reduced liability.

Van Waters & Rogers, Inc. v. Keelan, 840 P.2d 1070,

1074 (Colo. 1992) (quotations and citations omitted). See

also Green v. Denver & Rio Grande W. R.R. Co., 59

F.3d 1029, 1032 (10th Cir. 1995) ("The rationale for the

rule is [that]... public policy favors giving the plaintiff

a double recovery rather than allowing a wrongdoer to

enjoy reduced liability simply because the plaintiff

received compensation from an independent source.").

Thus, courts have applied the rule when the injured

plaintiff has been compensated by, for example, social

security disability payments or unemployment

compensation, see id., or by the plaintiff's insurance. See

Miera v. Dairyland Ins. Co., 143 F.3d 1337, 1341 (10th

Cir. 1998).

Turning to the case before us, it is far from clear that

this common-law tort principle applies to claims

brought pursuant to CERCLA, a comprehensive

federal statute that addresses. liability for

environmental cleanup costs. Indeed, the section of

CERCLA that governs contribution actions clarifies

that “[sluch claims [for contribution] . . . shall be

governed by Federal law." CERCLA § 113(f)(1), 42

U.S.C. § 9613(f)(1). But even assuming that CERCLA

generally contemplates application of the collateral

source rule, it is clearly inapplicable in the specific

context of a § 113(f) contribution action by a PRP such

as Mr. Friedland. CERCLA provides for two types of

actions to recoup environmental cleanup costs: cost-

recovery actions under § 107(a), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a), and

contribution actions under § 133(f), 42 U.S.C. § 9613(f).

Young v. United States, 394 F.3d 858, 862 (10th Cir.

>.

Sil

2005). In a contribution action, a person who has settled

a cost-recovery claim with the government (as Mr.

Friedland has) may seek contributions from other

PRPs. Sun Co., Luc. v. Browning-Ferris, Inc., 124 F.3d

1187, 1194 (10th Cir. 1997); CERCLA § 113(f)(1), 42

U.S.C. §$ 9613(f)(1). We have explained that a claim for

contribution is a claim "by and between jointly and

severally liable parties for an appropriate division of

the payment one of them has been compelled to make ..

.." Sun Co., Inc., 124 F.3d at 1190 (quotations omitted).

Thus, a CERCLA contribution action is not a personal

injury action by an innocent plaintiff. Instead, it is a

claim between two or more culpable tortfeasors, and

the policy underlying the collateral source rule--to

provide the innocent party with the benefit of any

windfall--is simply not advanced in such cases.

At least one other federal court has reached the same

conclusion on materially indistinguishable facts. In

Basic Management Inc. v. United States, 569 F. Supp.

2d 1106 (D. Nev. 2008), the plaintiffs filed a CERCLA

contribution claim after they agreed to pay $ 22 million

in cleanup costs to the state of Nevada. The plaintiffs’

insurance policies, however, covered near'ly all of those

costs, leaving the plaintiffs with only a relatively small

amount of out-of-pocket expenses. /d. at 1112.

Nonetheless, the plaintiffs argued that the collateral

source rule precluded the defendants from offsetting

their CERCLA liability in the amount of the insurance

proceeds. Jd. at 1123. The court’ disagreed.

Distinguishing tort cases in which the collateral source

rule applies, the court explained that "CERCLA

contribution actions are not injury actions in which the

injured party is seeking compensation for damages to

9a

be made whole again." Jd. at 1123-24. The court went

on:

In other words, Plaintiffs have not been

damaged and are not "entitied" to money as a

damaged party; but rather, Plaintiffs can only

receive reimbursement for the costs they

expended beyond their share of actual

responsibility for the environmental damage.

There is an actual dollar amount associated with

those costs, and in this case, almost all of those

costs have been paid directly by Plaintiffs’

insurers, and without further right of

subrogation in the insurers. In other words, no

party or potential party here has incurred a cost

as a PRP for which they could _ seek

"contribution" from another PRP. Allowing

Plaintiffs to recover those costs "again" from

Defendants would in essence allow Plaintiffs to

profit from their own and prior contamination of

the site simply because they are in the

subsequent chain of title. The purpose of the

Contribution element of CERCLA was to

reallocate the remedial cost to those who were

ultimately responsible for the pollution, not to

provide a windfall recovery for parties who

happen to be in the chain of title.

Id. at 1124. Thus, the court refused to apply the

collateral source rule. /d. at 1125."

Moreover, permitting a CERCLA contribution-action

plaintiff to recoup more than the response costs he paid

out of pocket flies in the face of CERCLA's mandate to

apportion those costs equitably among liable parties.

10a

See CERCLA § 113(f)(1), 42 U.S.C. § 9613(Q1) ("In

resolving contribution claims, the court may allocate

response costs among liable parties using such

equitable factors as the court determines are

appropriate."). Every federal court that has addressed

the issue has reached the same conclusion, either with

or without reference to the collateral source rule. See,

é.g., K.C.1986 Ltd. P'ship v. Reade Mfg., 472 F.3d 1009,

1018 (8th Cir. 2007) ("Because the settlement credits

[from other PRPs to the plaintiff] present a significant

allocation factor funder § 9613(f)(1)] ... the district

court should have exercised its discretion to consider

them when calculating the amount of the judgment.");

Boeing Co. v. Cascade Corp., 207 F.3d 1177, 1189 (9th

Cir. 2000) ("[Olne equitable factor is preventing

someone from recovering for the same harm twice.");

Basic Mgmt. Inc., 569 F. Supp. 2d at 1125 (refusing to

apply the collateral source rule because "[eJquity and

common sense . . . dictate that Plaintiffs cannot recover

the remediation costs paid for by their insurance

policies."); Vine St., LLC v. Keeling, 460 F. Supp. 2d

728, 765 (E.D. Tex. 2006) (refusing to apply the

collateral source rule, reasoning that because "the

Court has a broad duty to consider facts bearing on the

proper equitable allocation of response costs, the

monies [the plaintiff] has already recovered are

relevant."); United States v. Davis, 31 F. Supp. 2d 45, 64

(D.R.I. 1998) ("There is nothing ‘equitable’ about [the]

kind of an allocation" that permits the plaintiff "to

recover a portion of the costs for which it already has

been or will be compensated."); Raytheon Aircraft Co.

v. United States, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 89671, 2007

WL 4300221, at *3 (D. Kan. Dec. 5, 2007) (following

K.C.1986, Boeing, Davis, and Vine Street and refusing

to apply the collateral source rule).'

lla

The two primary cases Mr. Friedland cites in support of

his argument do not undermine this conclusion. In

Louisiana Department of Transportation v. Kansas

City Southern Railway, 846 So.2d 734 (La. 2003), the

Louisiana Department of ‘Transportation and

Development ("DOTD") cleaned up a site that had been

polluted by Kansas City Southern Railway. The federal

government reimbursed the DOTD for approximately

90% of the remediation costs it incurred cleaning the

site. Id. at 736. Thereafter, DOTD sued Kansas City

Southern Railway under the Louisiana Environmental

Quality Act ("LEQA") to recover the entire cleanup

cost. Jd. Emphasizing the policy behind the collateral

source rule, id. at 740-44, the Louisiana Supreme Court

held that the rule permitted DOTD to seek the entire

cleanup cost from Kansas City Southern Railway

rather than only the 10% it had not recouped from the

federal government: "We . . . hold that the collateral

source rule applies in cases arising under the LEQA, at

least where a damaged party is seeking reimbursement

only for remediation expenses." Id. at 740 (emphasis

added).

Similarly, in Town of East Troy v. Soo Line Railroad,

653 F.2d 1123 (7th Cir. 1980), the town of East Troy

cleaned up ground water that had been polluted by Soo

Line Railroad Company. The town paid for the cleanup

costs with federal grant money. /d. at 1126. Thereafter,

the town sued Soo Line under a Wisconsin nuisance

statute to recover the full amount of the town's cleanup

costs. Jd. The Seventh Circuit affirmed the district

court's conclusion that under Wisconsin law, the

collateral source rule permitted the town to seek the

entire amount of the cleanup. /d. at 1132.

l2a

Louisiana Department of Transportation and Town of

East Troy are distinguishable in at least two significant

respects. First, the plaintiffs in those cases were

innocent parties, not PRPs seeking contribution from

other PRPs. Indeed, the court in Lowmisiana

Department of Transportation specifically limited its

holding to cases in which the plaintiff is the injured

party seeking reimbursement for remediation costs.

Second, the causes of action in both cases arose under

state law, not CERCLA. As we explained, CERCLA

contribution actions are governed by federal law and

permit the district court to consider equitable factors in

allocating response costs. Those factors include a prior

payment to the contribution plaintiff. Thus, we disagree

with Myr. Friedland that these cases have any bearing

on the issue before us and hold that the district court

did not err in refusing to apply the collateral source

rule in this CERCLA contribution action.

B. Common Damages and Settlement Allocation

Relying on Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp. v. UOP, Inc.,

861 F.2d 1197 (10th Cir. 1988) and United States v.

Burlington Northern Railroad, 200 F.3d 679 (10th Cir.

1999), Mr. Friedland argues that the district court

erred in reducing his damages by the full amount of the

USF&G and Travelers settlements because those

settlements clo not represent damages in common with

the ones at issue in this case. We disagree.

In Hess Oil, Hess Oil sued UOP and other defendants

after a fire caused several million dollars in damage to

one of Hess Oil's refineries. 861 F.2d at 1199.

Defendants other than UOP settled with Hess Oil for $

1.5 million. /d. at 1207. After a jury verdict against

l3a

UOP, the district court credited it with the $ 1.5 million

settlement and required it to pay only the remaining

balance on Hess Oil's damages. /d. at 1199, 1206-07. We

rejected Hess Oil's argument on appeal that UOP was

not entitled to a credit. Jd. at 1209. We reasoned that

under the “one satisfaction rule," when the conduct of

multiple defendants results in a single injury with

common damages, and one of the defendants settles

with the plaintiff, the amount of the settlement is

credited against the amount that may be recovered

from the non-settling defendants. Jd. at 1208. We found

a single injury and common damages in that case

because the settlement agreement referred to all

damages and all causes of action; it did not expressly

apportion damages to specific claims. /d.

We reinforced this proposition in Burlington Northern.

The United States sued a wood treatment facility, BIC,

to recover cleanup costs on a 64-acre tract of land.

Burlington Northern, 200 F.3d at 681, 683. During the

suit, the United States learned that another company, a

predecessor of Burlington Northern Railroad, had

owned 17.5 acres of the tract during the time of the

polluting activities. Jd. at 687. Thus, the United States

added Burlington as a defendant. /d. Thereafter, the

court entered summary judgment against the first

defendant, BIC, concluding that it was liable for all

response costs for the entire 64-acre tract. /d. After a

bench trial on Burlington's liability, the court found

Burlington liable only for the costs to clean up the 17.5-

acre portion of the tract. /d. at 687-88, 695-96. It

reasoned that there were two separate and distinct

areas of contamination in the tract, and that Burlington

only owned one of those areas. After the judgment, BIC

settled with the United States for $ 10.7 million. 7d. at

lta

696. Although the settlement agreement lid not

llocate cleanup costs between the two distinct polluted

areas, the district court ruled that the harm was

divisible (that is, not common to both defendants) and

thus Hess Oil was distinguishable. /d. at 698. The court

accordingly credited Burlington's liability with only a

portion--rather then the full amount--of the $ 10.7

million that the United States had received from BIC.

Thus, under Hess Oil and Burlington Northern, if Mr.

Friedland's injury and the damages he alleges in this

lawsuit are the same as those addressed by the USF &G

and Travelers settlements, then the defendants are

entitled to a full credit in the amount of the

settlements.” We agree with the district court that this

is the case. Mr. Friedland admitted as much in his

responses to the defendants’ interrogatories. When

asked to "[ildentify Your costs, damages, injuries or

expenses arising from or caused by the Cost Recovery

Action for which You seek contribution in the lawsuit,"

Mr. Friedland responded:

The "costs, damages, injuries or expenses caused

by the Cost Recovery Action" for which Plaintiff

seeks contribution in this lawsuit are the

amounts he paid to settle the CERCLA claims

against him by the State of Colorado and the

United States, i¢., $ 20,288,081, and the

additional response costs Plaintiff incurred when

he paid $ 435,100 for the Conceptual

Remediation Plan [for a total of $ 20,723,181}.

And when the defendants asked Mr. Friedland to

identify all payments he had received related to his

"costs, damages, injuries or expenses arising from or

loa

caused by the Cost Recovery Action for which You

seek contribution in the lawsuit,'--costs which Mr.

Friedland himself had admitted extended only to the

$ 20,723,181 settlement amount-he disclosed that he

had received the USF&G and Travelers settlements.

He further characterized those settlements as resolving

his "claims for damages he sustained in the Cost

Recovery Action," which we interpret as referencing

the $ 20,723,181 settlement figure. (Emphasis added.)

Thus, by Mr. Friedland's own admissions, the USF&G

and Travelers settlements remedied the $ 20,723,181 he

incurred in settling the cost-recovery action with the

United States and Colorado, and this contribution

action reasserts the same injury and resultant damages.

In an apparent attempt to create divisible harm where

it otherwise does not exist, Mr. Friedland also

contended in his interrogatory responses that a

substantial portion of the amounts recovered in the

USF &G and Travelers settlements were attributable to

his $ 28 million in defense costs and not to the $

20,723,181 settlement amount. The USF&G and

Travelers settlement agreements, however, do not

expressly or impliedly allocate the settlement money

toward amounts Mr. Friedland paid in settling the

underlying litigation on the one hand and for legal

defense costs on the other. In Hess Oil, we held that the

plaintiff's failure to allocate costs in this manner was

fatal to its contention that the defendant was not

entitled to a credit in the settlement amount. Hess Oil,

861 F.2d at 1209 ("If [Hess Oil] wanted to have any

particular application of its settlement with the settling

defendants [allocated] towards UOP's liability, it should

have specifically stipulated in the settlement

LGu

documents what allocations of damages were applicable

to each cause of action.").

In the district court, Mr. Friedland's expert witness

submitted an opinion concerning which portions of the

USF&G and Travelers settlements were puid to

indemnify him and which portions were paid for

defense costs. Mr. Friedland argues that the court

rejected that testimony without first performing the

"gatekeeping" function required by Daubert v. Merrell

Dow Pharmaceuticals, 509 U.S. 579, 113 S. Ct. 2786,

125 L. Ed. 2d 469 (1993). See Goebel v. Denver & Rio

Grande W. R.R., 215 F.3d 1083, 1087 (10th Cir. 2000)

("[The] gatekeeper function requires the judge to assess

the reasoning and methodology underlying the expert's

opinion, and determine whether it is scientifically valid

and applicable to a particular set of facts." (citing

Daubert, 509 U.S. at 592)). We disagree. It is apparent

from the district court's order that it did not refuse to

consider the expert opinion based on deficiencies in the

expert's qualifications or methodology. Rather, the

court simply explained that "[gliven the silence of the

settlement agreements regarding allocation, this

testimony is far too speculative to be admissible and

consequently, does not create a genuine issue of

material fact for trial." Friedland v. The Indus. Co.,

2008 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4076, 2008 WL 185693, at *2 n.4

(D. Colo. Jan. 18, 2008). This was not an abuse of

discretion. See Eastridge Dev. Co. v. Halpert Assocs.,

Ine., 853 F.2d 772, 782-83 (10th Cir. 1988) (trial court

did not abuse its discretion in excluding expert

testimony regarding the allocation of settlement money

to particular claims when the settlement agreement did

not contain an express allocation; proposed testimony

was "tentative and speculative").

l7a

Finally, Mr. Friedland suggests that the district court's

conclusion rested on the erroneous view that USF&G

and Travelers are joint tortfeasors. The district court

pointed out that attorneys' fees are not recoverable in

CERCLA contribution actions, see 42 U.S.C. §

9607(a)(4); Key Tronic Corp. v. United States, 511 U.S.

809, 817-19, 114 S. Ct. 1960, 128 L. Ed. 2d 797 (1994),

and that settling parties should therefore make any

variance from the statute absolutely clear. We agree

that this statement is misplaced, as Mr. Friedland did

not sue USF&G and Travelers under CERCLA. A

review of the entire order, however, clarifies that this

lone misstatement was harmless. The district court had

already determined that Mr. Friedland's "claims are not

divisible, and the general rule of [Hess Oil], permitting

defendants full credit for the amount of any settlement,

applies in the absence of an express allocation in the

settlement agreements themselves." Friedland, 2008

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4076, 2008 WL 185693, at *2. As we

explained, that conclusion is correct, and any further

commentary was simply superfluous.

III. CONCLUSION

The district court correctly concluded that the

collateral source rule does not apply in this CERCLA

contribution action. The court also properly determined

that the alleged injury and damages in this lawsuit are

the same as those addressed in the USF&G and

Travelers settlements. We therefore AFFIRM the

entry of summary judgment against Mr. Friedland. We

GRANT the appellees' motion to file their response

brief under seal and Mr. Friedland's motion to file his

reply brief under seal.

LNa

Footnote(s)

1The amount of this sum is subject to a confidentiality

agreement and was filed under seal with this court.

2As with the ICC settlement, the amount of the

USF&G settlement is subject to a confidentiality

agreement and was filed under seal with this court.

3We are unaware of any court that has applied the

collateral source rule to a claim for contribution, even

outside the CERCLA context.

4Mr. Friedland argues that Raytheon Aircraft and Vine

Street fail to distinguish between payments from

insurance policies and private settlements from other

PRPs. Although Mr. Friedland is correct that the

source of the payment is relevant to whether the

collateral source rule applies, the source of the payment

is not relevant in the context of § 9613(f)(1)'s instruction

to allocate response costs equitably. What matters is

that the contribution plaintiff has recovered some or all

of its response costs; the identity of the entity

providing the recovery is irrelevant

5We recognize that Hess Oil and Burlington present a

different procedural posture than the one we face in

this appeal. Those cases involved a single lawsuit

against multiple defendants, whereas Mr. Friedland

recovered in two previous suits against two different

defendants and now seeks contribution against other

defendants. We consider this distinction immaterial.

Hess Oil and Burlington Northern center on the

plaintiffs right to recover only to the extent of his

damages, which is the sole issue in this appeal and

19a

which can arise in a_= variety of procedural

circumstances.

20a

United States District Court,

D. Colorado.

Robert M. FRIEDLAND, Plaintiff,

Vv.

TIC-THE INDUSTRIAL COMPANY; and Geosyntec

Consultants Inc., f/k/a Geoservices, Inc., Defendants.

Civil Action No. 04-cv-01263-REB-KLM.

Jan. 18, 2008.

Perry L. Glantz, Fognani & Faught, PLLC, Denver,

CO, for Plaintiff.

Colin Christopher Deihl, Faegre & Benson, LLP,

Steven Matthew Kelso, Terence M. Ridley, Marian Lee,

Wheeler Trigg Kennedy, LLP, Denver, CO, Delmar R.

Ehrich, Faegre & Benson, Minneapolis, MN, Paul J.

Sanner, Hanson, Bridgett, Marcus, Vlahos & Rudy,

LLP, San Francisco, CA, for Defendants.

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS' JOINT

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON

DAMAGES

BLACKBURN, Judge.

The matter before me is Defendants’ Joint Motion for

Summary Judgment on Damages [# 153], filed

October 30, 2006. I grant the motion.

I. JURISDICTION

I have subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

Z2la

§ 1331 (federal question).

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Summary judgment is proper when there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and the movant is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law. FED.R.CIV. P. 56(c);

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U .S. 317, 322, 106 S.Ct.

2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). A dispute is

“genuine” if the issue could be resolved in favor of

either party. Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348,

1356, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986); Farthing v. City of

Shawnee, 39 F.3d 1131, 1135 (10th Cir.1994). A fact is

“material” if it might reasonably affect the outcome of

the case. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986);

Farthing, 39 F.3d at 1134.

A party which does not have the burden of proof at trial

must show the absence of a genuine fact issue. Concrete

Works, Inc. v. City & County of Denver, 36 F.3d 1513,

1517 (10th Cir.1994), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 1815 (19985).

Once the motion has been properly supported, the

burden shifts to the nonmovant to show, by tendering

depositions, affidavits, and other competent evidence,

that summary judgment is not proper. /d. at 1518. All

the evidence must be viewed in the light most favorable

to the party opposing the motion. Simms v. Oklahoma

ex rel Department of Mental Health and Substance

Abuse Services, 165 F.3d 1321, 13826 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 120 S.Ct. 53 (1999).

III. ANALYSIS

22u

Plaintiff, « former director and officer of the

Summitville Consolidated Mining Company, was sued

in a cost recovery action related to cleanup of the

Summitville Mine Superfund Site. That cost recovery

action, United States v. Friedland, Civil Action No. 96-

ev-01213-EWN-OES (D.Colo.), ultimately was resolved

by consent decree, pursuant to which plaintiff agreed to

pay $20,723,181 in recovery costs.

While that case was still pending, plaintiff and others

filed suit in Montana state court against Industrial

Constructors Corp. (“ICC”) and its insurer, United

States Guaranty and Fidelity Corp. (“USF & G”),

among others, seeking indemnification pursuant to a

contract for work performed by ICC at the site. Not

long after the cost recovery action was resolved, the

plaintiffs in the Montana suit settled their claims

against ICC. As part of that agreement, ICC assigned

its claims against its insurers, including USF & G, to

plaintiff. Plaintiff subsequently settled the assigned

claims against USF & G. In 2002, plaintiff initiated

another action, under his employer's liability insurance

policy, against The Travelers Indemnity Company and

related entities (“Travelers”) in Colorado state district

court. That case also was ultimately settled.'*' It is

undisputed that as a result of the USF & G and

Travelers settlements, plaintiff has recovered more

than he agreed to pay in recovery costs.***

In the instant suit, plaintiff seeks contribution from

defendants pursuant to the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability

Act (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. $§ 9613(MC1) & (f(3)(B).

CERCLA provides, in relevant part, that the

settlement of claims for contribution thereunder “does

23a

not discharge any of the other potentially liable persons

.... but it reduces the potential liability of the others by

the amount of the settlement.” Jd. § 9613(f)(2). See also

United States v. Burlington Northern Railroad Co., 200

F.3d 679, 697 (10th Cir.1999). Defendants now move for

summary judgment arguing that, having received via

settlement more than he was ordered to pay in

damages, plaintiff is entitled to no further recovery.

Plaintiff does not dispute that defendants are entitled

to credit for some portion of the settlements, counters

that the amounts he recovered should be allocated

between response costs and legal defense costs and

that, given such allocation, he still has compensable

damages as against these defendants.

The parties agree that neither the Travelers nor the

USF & G settlement makes any express or implied

allocation between indemnification for amounts plaintiff

agreed to pay in the cost recovery action, on the one

hand, and legal defense costs, on the other. Generally, a

party can insist on a particular allocation of settlement

proceeds as against a non-settling party only if it is

“specifically stated in the settlement documents what

allocations of damages were applicable to each cause of

action.” Hess Oil Virgin Island Corp. v. UOP, Inc., 861

F.2d 1197, 1209 (10th Cir.1988). In the absence of such

specific language, the non-settling party is entitled to

full credit for the entire amount of the settlement. /d.

On the other hand, if the harm to which the settlement

is directed is divisible, settlement amounts may be

allocated accordingly even in the absence of specific

language in the settlement agreement. Burlington

Northern, 200 F.3d at 698. See generally,

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TORTS § 438A

(“Damages for harm are to be apportioned among two

24a

or more causes where: (a) there are distinct harms, or

(b) there is a reasonable basis for determining the

contribution of each cause to a single harm. Damages

for any other harm cannot be apportioned among two or

more causes.”).

There is absolutely no indication that the settlement

amounts plaintiff received are attributable to divisible

harms in the sense contemplated by Burlington

Northern.*™ Plaintiff argues that the case parallels

Burlington Northern because his pleadings in the

Travelers and USF & G lawsuits made separate claims

for indemnification of response costs and recovery of

defense costs. Plaintiff cites no authority and does not

further expound or expatiate this “just so” argument,

but it fails as a matter of simple logic. Without question,

plaintiff's claim for defense costs arose proximately and

directly from his liability for response costs. The two

could not have been other than _ inextricably

intertwined. Thus, plaintiff's claims are not divisible,

and the general rule of Hess Oil Virgin Island Corp.,

permitting defendants full credit for the amount of any

settlement, applies in the absence of an express

allocation in the settlement agreements themselves. *4

My conclusion in this regard is bolstered by the

recognition that contribution under CERCLA is

available only for “necessary costs of response,” see 42

U.S.C. § 9607(a)(4), and not for attorney fees or costs

associated with defending the original litigation, see

Key Tronic Corp. v. United States, 511 U.S. 809, 817-19,

114 S.Ct. 1960, 1966-67, 128 L.Ed.2d 797 (1994);

Atlantic Richfield Co. v. American Airlines, Inc., 98

F.3d 564, 571 (10th Cir.1996)."** Of course, a party may

settle on terms other than those permitted by statute.

25a

Nevertheless, when the statute sued under expressly

excludes recovery of defense costs, a settling party

would be well-advised to ensure that his settlement

agreement makes the intended variance from the

statute absolutely pellucid.'**

Plaintiff argues in the alternative that the collateral

source rule prohibits me from crediting defendants with

any insurance payments received by him. I

wholeheartedly disagree. CERCLA contribution

actions such as this one are governed by federal law. 42

U.S.C. § 9613((1). Despite the fact that the collateral

source rule has been applied under federal law in other

contexts, see Stanley v. Bertram-Trojan, Inc., 868

F.Supp. 541, 543 (S.D.N .Y.1994), it has never been

applied in the context of a CERCLA action, see

Raytheon Aircraft Co. v. United States, 2007 WL

4300221 at *4 (D.Kan. Dec. 8, 2007) (slip op.) (citing

Vine Street, LLC v. Keeling ex. rel. Estate of Keeling,

460 F.Supp.2d 728, 765 (E.D.Tex.2006)). Nor is it likely

that it will be, considering that the collateral source

rule derives from tort law, whereas CERCLA does not.

See Young v. United States, 394 F.3d 858, 862 (10th

Cir.2005) (“CERCLA is not a genera! vehicle for toxic

tort claims.”).

In sum, plaintiff has not shown a genuine issue of

material fact for trial with respect to damages. The

settlement agreements into which plaintiff entered are

attributable to common, indivisible harms and contain

no express allocation as between recovery costs and

defense costs. Accordingly, defendants are entitled to

full credit for the amount of the settlements. Because

those settlements collectively account for more than

plaintiff agreed to pay out in recovery costs, he has no

262

compensable damayes to recover as against these

defendants.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED as follows:

1. That Defendants' Joint Motion for Summary

Judgment on Damages [# 153], filed October 30, 2006,

is GRANTED;

2. That plaintiff's claims against defendants for

contribution are DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE;

3. That judgment SHALL ENTER in favor of

defendants, TIC-The Industrial Company = and

GeoSyntec Consultants, Inc., f/k/a Geoservices, Inc.,

and against plaintiff, Robert M. Friedland, as to all

claims and causes of action asserted herein;

4. That all other pending motions in this lawsuit are

DENIED AS MOOT, including, but not limited to,

(a) Defendant GeoSyntec's Motion for Summary

Judgment [# 41], filed November 18, 2005;

(b) Defendant TIC-The Industrial Company's Motion

for Summary Judgment [# 62], filed February 8,

2006;

(c) GeoSyntec's Motion To Strike Certain Exhibits

To Plaintiffs Response in Opposition to Motion for

Summary Judgment [# 76], filed February 22, 2006;

(d) Notice of Errata and Motion To Substitute New

Exhibit 10 to Plaintiff's Brief in Response to

GeoSyntec's Motion for Summary Judgment [# 86],

filed March 13, 2006;

(e) Robert M. Friedland's Motion To Supplement the

Record Regarding Defendant GeoSyntec

Consultants Inc.'s Motion for Summary Judgment

{# 148], filed October 27, 2006;

(f) Robert M. Friedland's Motion To Supplement the

Record Regarding Defendant TIC-The Industrial

Company's Motion for Summary Judgment [# 149],

filed October 27, 2006;

(g) Plaintiff Robert Friedland's Motion for Summary

Judgment Regarding Plaintiffs CERCLA

Liability [# 150], filed October 30, 2007;

(h) Plaintiff Robert Friedland's Motion and

Memorandum for Partial Summary Judgment that

Mr. Friedland's CERCLA Response Costs for

Government Directed Remediation Were

Consistent with the National Contingency Plan [#

152], filed October 30, 2006;

(1) Defendant TIC-The Industrial Company's Motion

To Remove Confidential Designation from

Travelers and USF & G Settlement Agreements

(Filed Under Seal) [# 200], filed January 3, 2007; and

(j) Defendant TIC-The Industrial Company's

Unopposed Motion To Submit Response to

Plaintiffs Supplemental Authority [# 298], filed

December 19, 2007;

5. That the Trial Preparation Conference set for Friday,

September 26, 2008, at 9:00 a.m., as well as the trial,

282

currently set to commence on Monday, September 29,

2008, are VACATED; and

6. That defendants are AWARDED their costs to be

taxed by the Clerk of the Court pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 54(d)(1) and D.C.COLO.LCivR 54.1.

Footnotes

FN1. In addition, plaintiff has settled with a number of

other defendants for activities related to the

Summitville Mine.

F'N2. It is not necessary for purposes of resolving the

present motion to reveal the exact dollar amounts of

either of these settlements. Nor is the mere fact of the

existence of a settlement confidential under either

agreement. For these reasons, Defendant TIC-The

Industrial Company's Motion To Remove

Confidential Designation from Travelers and USF &

G Settlement Agreements (Filed Under Seal) [# 196],

filed January 2, 2007, will be denied as moot.

FN3. In Burlington Northern, the court considered a

non-settling CERCLA defendant's right to credit for

the settlement of a co-defendant in regard to the Rocky

Mountain Arsenal Superfund Site. The site was

comprised of two distinct parcels: a pond impoundment

on the western portion of the site, as to which

defendants were found jointly and severally liable; and

a plant impoundment at the eastern portion of the site,

as to which only the settling defendant was found liable

for recovery costs. Burlington Northern, 200 F.3d at

696. The Tenth Circuit affirmed the district court's

conclusion that the harms caused by the two defendants

29a

were clivisible between the two separate sites, and that

credit for the settlement could be apportioned

accordingly, even absent specific language in the

settlement agreement to that effect. See id. at 697-98.

F'N4. The expert report of Garth Allen, submitted by

plaintiff in support of his position that the settlement

funds may be allocated between indemnification and

defense costs, does not change this result. Given the

silence of the settlement agreements regarding

allocation, this testimony is far too speculative to be

admissible and consequently, does not create a genuine

issue of material fact for trial.

F'N5. There is a limited exception to this rule, which

allows recovery of attorney fees incurred in identifying

other potentially responsible parties, but there is no

indication that this exception is implicated in this case.

See Atlantic Richfield Co., 98 F.3d at 571.

FN6. Plaintiff's argument that any allocation he might

have bargained for would have been meaningless, since

the settling defendants had no vested interest in how

the settlement monies were allocated and would have

agreed to any allocation he suggested (PIf. Resp. Br. at

16-17), is logically unsound. As _ plaintiff himself

recognizes, settlement agreement allocations are

subject to judicial scrutiny. See Vitkus v. Beatrice Co.,

127 F.3d 936, 944 (10th Cir.1997). Thus, contrary to

plaintiffs argument, it is, in fact, quite likely that

settling defendants, interested in preserving the

integrity of their settlements, will not blithely agree to

any allocation proposed by plaintiffs without regard to

reasonableness. See id.

30a

Filed: 7/28/09

No. 08-1042

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT M. FRIEDLAND,

Plaintiff - Appellant,

v.

TIC - THE INDUSTRIAL COMPANY;

GEOSYNTEC CONSULTANTS INC., f/k/a

Geoser'vices, Inc.,

Defendants - Appellees.

UNISYS CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Amicus Curiae.

ORDER

Before TACHA, BALDOCK, and O'BRIEN, Circuit

Judges.

Appellant’s petition for rehearing is denied.

The petition for rehearing en banc was transmitted to

all of the judges of the court who are in regular active

service. As no member of the panel and no judge in

regular active service on the court requested that the

court be polled, that petition is also denied.

3la

USCA Title 42. The Public Health and Welfare

Chapter 103. Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation, and Liability

Subchapter I. Hazardous Substances Releases,

Liability, Compensation

§ 9607. Liability

(a) Covered persons; scope; recoverable costs and

damages; interest rate; “comparable maturity” date

Notwithstanding any other provision or rule of law, and

subject only to the defenses set forth in subsection (b)

of this section--

(1) the owner and operator of a vessel or a facility,

(2) any person who at the time of disposal of any

hazardous substance owned or operated any facility at

which such hazardous substances were disposed of,

(3) any person who by contract, agreement, or

otherwise arranged for disposal or treatment, or

arranged with a transporter for transport for disposal

or treatment, of hazardous substances owned or

possessed by such person, by any other party or

entity, at any facility or incineration vessel owned or

operated by another party or entity and containing

such hazardous substances, and

(4) any person who accepts or accepted any hazardous

substances for transport to disposal or treatment

facilities, incineration vessels or sites selected by such

person, from which there is a release, or a threatened

release which causes the incurrence of response costs,

of a hazardous substance, shall be liable for--

32a

(A) all costs of removal or remedial action incurred

by the United States Government or u State or an

Indian tribe not inconsistent with the national

contingency plan;

(B) any other necessary costs of response incurred

by any other person consistent with the national

contingency plan;

(C) damages for injury to, destruction of, or loss of

natural resources, including the reasonable costs of

assessing such injury, destruction, or loss resulting

from such a release; and

(D) the costs of any health assessment or health

effects study carried out under section 9604(i) of this

title.

The amounts recoverable in an action under this

section shall include interest on the amounts

recoverable under subparagraphs (A) through (D).

Such interest shall accrue from the later of (i) the

date payment of a specified amount is demanded in

writing, or (ii) the date of the expenditure

concerned. The rate of interest on the outstanding

unpaid balance of the amounts recoverable under

this section shall be the same rate as is specified for

interest on investments of the Hazardous Substance

Superfund established under subchapter A _ of

chapter 98 of Title 26. For purposes of applying such

amendments to interest under this subsection, the

term “comparable maturity” shall be determined

with reference to the date on which interest

accruing under this subsection commences.

53a

(b) Defenses

There shall be no liability under subsection (a) of this

section for a person otherwise liable who can establish

by a preponclerance of the evidence that the release or

threat of release of a hazardous substance and the

dlamages resulting therefrom were caused solely by--

(1) an act of God;

(2) an act of war;

(3) an act or omission of a third party other than an

employee or agent of the defendant, or than one

whose act or omission occurs in connection with a

contractual relationship, existing directly or

indirectly, with the defendant (except where the sole

contractual arrangement arises from a_ published

tariff and acceptance for carriaye by a common carrier

by rail), if the defendant establishes by a

preponderance of the evidence that (a) he exercised

due care with respect to the hazardous substance

concerned, taking into consideration the

characteristics of such hazardous substance, in light of

all relevant facts and circumstances, and (b) he took

precautions against foreseeable acts or omissions of

any such third party and the consequences that could

foreseeably result from such acts or omissions; or

(4) any combination of the foregoing paragraphs.

(c) Determination of amounts

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this

subsection, the liability under this section of an owner

da

or operator or other responsible person for each release

of a hazardous substance or incident involviny release

of a hazardous substance shall not exceed--

(A) for any vessel, other than an incineration vessel,

which carries any hazardous substance as cargo or

residue, $300 per gross ton, or $5,000,000, whichever

is greater;

(B) for any other vessel, other than an incineration

vessel, $300 per gross ton, or $500,000, whichever is

greater’

(C) for any motor vehicle, aircraft, hazardous liquid

pipeline facility (as defined in section 60101(a) of Title

49), or rolling stock, $50,000,000 or such lesser amount

as the President shall establish by regulation, but in

no event less than $5,000,000 (or, for releases of

hazardous’ substances as_ defined in_ section

9601(14)(A) of this title into the navigable waters,

$8,000,000). Such regulations shall take into account

the size, type, location, storage, and handling capacity

and other matters relating to the likelihood of release

in each such class and to the economic impact of such

limits on each such class; or

(D) for any incineration vessel or any facility other

than those specified in subparagraph (C) of this

paragraph, the total of all costs of response plus

$50,000,000 for any damages under this subchapter.

(2) Notwithstanding the limitations in paragraph (1) of

this subsection, the liability of an owner or operator or

other responsible person under this section shall be the

full and total costs of response and damages, if (A)(i)

Boa

the release or threat of release of a hazardous

substance was the result of willful misconduct or willful

negligence within the privity or knowledge of such

person, or (ii) the primary cause of the release was a

violation (within the privity or knowledge of such

person) of applicable safety, construction, or operating

standards or regulations; or (B) such person fails or

refuses to provide all reasonable cooperation and

assistance requested by a responsible public official in

connection with response activities under the national

contingency plan with respect to regulated carriers

subject to the provisions of Title 49 or vessels subject to

the provisions of Title 33, 46, or 46 Appendix,

subparagraph (A)(ii) of this paragraph shall be deemed

to refer to Federal standards or regulations.

(3) If any person who is liable for a release or threat of

release of a hazardous substance fails without sufficient

cause to properly provide removal or remedial sction

upon order of the President pursuant to section 9604 or

9606 of this title, such person may be liable to the

United States for punitive damages in an amount at

least equal to, and not more than three times, the

amount of any costs incurred by the Fund as a result of

such failure to take proper action. The President is

authorized to commence a civil action against any such

person to recover the punitive damages, which shall be

in addition to any costs recovered from such person

pursuant to section 9612(c) of this title. Any moneys

received by the United States pursuant to this

subsection shall be deposited in the Fund.

(1) Rendering care or advice

(1) In general

36a

Except as provided in paragraph (2), no person shall

be liable under this subchapter for costs or damayes

as a result of actions taken or omitted in the course of

rendering care, assistance, or advice in accordance

with the National Contingency Plan (“NCP”) or at the

direction of an onscene coordinator appointed under

such plan, with respect to an incident creating a

danger to public health or welfare or the environment

as a result of any releases of a hazardous substance or

the threat thereof. This paragraph shall not preclude

liability for costs or damages as the result of

negligence on the part of such person.

(2) State and local governments

No State or local government shall be lable under

this subchapter for costs or damages as a result of

actions taken in response to an emergency created by

the release or threatened release of a hazardous

substance generated by or from a facility owned by

another person. This paragraph shall not preclude

liability for costs or damages as a result of gross

negligence or intentional misconduct by the State or

local government. For the purpose of the preceding

sentence, reckless, willful, or wanton misconduct shall

constitute gross negligence.

(3) Savings provision

This subsection shall not alter the liability of any

person covered by the provisions of paragraph (1), (2),

(3), or (4) of subsection (a) of this section with respect

to the release or threatened release concerned.

(e) Indemnification, hold harmless, etc., agreements or

37a

conveyances; subrogation rights

(1) No indemnification, hold harmless, or similar

agreement or conveyance shall be effective to transfer

from the owner or operator of any vessel or facility or

from any person who may be liable for a release or

threat of release under this section, to any other person

the liability imposed under this section. Nothing in this

subsection shall bar any agreement to insure, hold

harmless, or indemnify a party to such agreement for

any liability under this section.

(2) Nothing in this subchapter, including the provisions

of paragraph (1) of this subsection, shall bar a cause of

action that an owner or operator or any other person

subject to liability under this section, or a guarantor,

has or would have, by reason of subrogation or

otherwise against any person.

(f) Natural resources liability; designation of public

trustees of natural resources

(1) Natural resources liability

In the case of an injury to, destruction of, or loss of

natural resources under subparagraph (C) of

subsection (a) of this section liability shall be to the

United States Government and to any State for

natural resources within the State or belonging to,

managed by, controlled by, or appertaining to such

State and to any Indian tribe for natural resources

belonging to, managed by, controlled by, or

appertaining to such tribe, or held in trust for the

benefit of such tribe, or belonging to a member of

such tribe if such resources are subject to a trust

38a

restriction on alienation: Provided, homwerer, That no

liability to the United States or State or Indian tribe

shall be imposed under subparagraph (C) of

subsection (a) of this section, where the party sought

to be charyed has demonstrated that the damages to

natural resources complained of were specifically

identified as an _ irreversible and_ irretrievable

commitment of natural resources in an environmental

impact statement, or other comparable environment

analysis, and the decision to grant a permit or license

authorizes such commitment of natural resources, and

the facility or project was otherwise operating within

the terms of its permit or license, so long as, in the

case of damages to an Indian tribe occurring pursuant

to a Federal permit or license, the issuance of that

permit or license was not inconsistent with the

fiduciary duty of the United States with respect to

such Indian tribe. The President, or the authorized

representative of any State, shall act on behalf of the

public as trustee of such natural resources to recover

for such damages. Sums recovered by the United

States Government as trustee under this subsection

shall be retained by the trustee, without further

appropriation, for use only to restore, replace, or

acquire the equivalent of such natural resources.

Sums recovered by a State as trustee under this

subsection shall be available for use only to restore,

replace, or acquire the equivalent of such natural

resources by the State. The measure of damages in

any action under subparagraph (C) of subsection (a) of

this section shall not be limited by the sums which can

be used to restore or replace such resources. There

shall be no double recovery under this chapter for

natural resource damages, including the costs of

damage assessment or restoration, rehabilitation, or

39a

acquisition for the same release and natural resource.

There shall be no recovery under the authority of

subparagraph (C) of subsection (a) of this section

where such damages and the release of a hazardous

substance from which such damages resulted have

occurred wholly before December 11, 1980.

(2) Designation of Federal and State officials

(A) Federal

The President shall designate in the National

Contingency Plan published under section 9605 of

this title the Federal officials who shall act on behalf

of the public as trustees for natural resources under

this chapter and section 1321 of Title 33. Such

officials shall assess damages for injury to,

destruction of, or loss of natural resources for

purposes of this chapter and such section 1321 of

Title 33 for those resources under their trusteeship

and may, upon request of and reimbursement from a

State and at the Federal officials' discretion, assess

damages for those natural resources under the

State's trusteeship.

(B) State

The Governor of each State shall designate State

officials who may act on behalf of the public as

trustees for natural resources under this chapter

and section 1321 of Title 33 and shall notify the

President of such designations. Such State officials

shall assess damages to natural resources for the

purposes of this chapter and such section 1321 of

Title 33 for those natural resources under their

40a

trusteeship.

(C) Rebuttable presumption

Any determination or assessment of damages to

natural resources for the purposes of this chapter

and section 1321 of Title 33 made by a Federal or

State trustee in accordance with the regulations

promulgated under section 9651(c) of this title shall

have the force and effect of «a rebuttable

presumption on behalf of the trustee in any

administrative or judicial proceeding under this

chapter or section 1321 of Title 33.

(g) Federal agencies

For provisions relating to Federal agencies, see section

9620 of this title.

(h) Owner or operator of vessel

The owner or operator of a vessel shall be liable in

accordance with this section, under maritime tort law,

and as provided under section 9614 of this title

notwithstanding any provision of the Act of March 3,

1851 (46 U.S.C. 183ff) or the absence of any physical

damage to the proprietary interest of the claimant.

(i) Application of a registered pesticide product

No person (including the United States or any State or

Indian tribe) may recover under the authority of this

section for any response costs or damages resulting

from the application of a pesticide product registered

under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and

dla

Rodenticide Act [7 U.S.C.A. § 1386 et seq.]. Nothing in

this paragraph shall affect or modify in any way the

obligations or liability of any person under any other

provision of State or Federal law, including common

law, for damages, injury, or loss resulting from a

release of any hazardous substance or for removal or

remedial action or the costs of removal or remedial

action of such hazardous substance.

(j) Obligations or liability pursuant to federally

permitted release

Recovery by any person (including the United States or

any State or Indian tribe) for response costs or

damages resulting from a federally permitted release

shall be pursuant to existing law in lieu of this section.

Nothing in this paragraph shall affect or modify in any

way the obligations or liability of any person under any

other provision of State or Federal law, including

common law, for damages, injury, or loss resulting from

a release of any hazardous substance or for removal or

remedial action or the costs of removal or remedial

action of such hazardous substance. In addition, costs of

response incurred by the Federal Government in

connection with a discharge specified in section

9601(10)(B) or (C) of this title shall be recoverable in an

action brought under section 1319(b) of Title 33.

(k) Transfer to, and assumption by, Post-Closure

Liability Fund of liability of owner or operator of

hazardous waste disposal facility in receipt of permit

under applicable solid waste disposal law; time, criteria

applicable, procedures, etc.; monitoring costs; reports

(1) The liability established by this section or any other

42a

law for the owner or operator of a hazardous waste

disposal facility which has received a permit under

subtitle C of the Solid Waste Disposal Act [42 U.S.C.A.

§ 6921 et seq.], shall be transferred to and assumed by

the Post-closure Liability Fund established by section

9641 of this title when--

(A) such facility and the owner and operator thereof

has complied with the requirements of subtitle C of

the Solid Waste Disposal Act [42 U.S.C.A. § 6921 et

seq.] and regulations issued thereunder, which may

affect the performance of such facility after closure;

and

(B) such facility has been closed in accordance with

such regulations and the conditions of such permit,

and such facility and the surrounding area have been

monitored as required by such regulations and permit

conditions for a period not to exceed five years after

closure to demonstrate that there is no substantial

likelihood that any migration offsite or release from

confinement of any hazardous substance or other risk

to public health or welfare will occur.

(2) Such transfer of liability shall be effective ninety

days after the owner or operator of such facility notifies

the Administrator of the Environmental Protection

Agency (and the State where it has an authorized

program under section 3006(b) of the Solid Waste

Disposal Act [42 U.S.C.A. § 6926(b) ] ) that the

conditions imposed by this subsection have been

satisfied. If within such ninety-day period the

Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency

or such State determines that any such facility has not

complied with all the conditions imposed by this

43a

subsection or that insufficient information has been

provided to demonstrate such compliance, the

Administrator or such State shall so notify the owner

and operator of such facility and the administrator of

the Fund established by section 9641 of this title, and

the owner and operator of such facility shall continue to

be liable with respect to such facility under this section

and other law until such time as the Administrator and

such State determines that such facility has complied

with all conditions imposed by this subsection. A

determination by the Administrator or such State that

a facility has not complied with all conditions imposed

by this subsection or that insufficient information has

been supplied to demonstrate compliance, shall be a

final administrative action for purposes of judicial

review. A request for additional information shall state

in specific terms the data required.

(3) In addition to the assumption of liability of owners

and operators under paragraph (1) of this subsection,

the Post-closure Liability Fund established by section

9641 of this title may be used to pay costs of monitoring

and care and maintenance of a site incurred by other

persons after the period of monitoring required by

regulations under subtitle C of the Solid Waste

Disposal Act [42 U.S.C.A. § 6921 et seq.] for hazardous

waste disposal facilities meeting the conditions of

paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(4)(A) Not later than one year after December 11, 1980,

the Secretary of the Treasury shall conduct a study and

shall submit a report thereon to the Congress on the

feasibility of establishing or qualifying an optional

system of private insurance for postclosure financial

responsibility for hazardous waste disposal facilities to

44a

which this subsection applies. Such study shall include a

specification of adequate and realistic minimum

standards to assure that any such privately placed

insurance will carry out the purposes of this subsection

in a reliable, enforceable, and practical manner. Such a

study shall include an examination of the public and

private incentives, programs, and actions necessary to

make privately placed insurance a _ practical and

effective option to the financing system for the Post-

closure Liability Fund provided in subchapter II of this

chapter.

(B) Not later than eighteen months after December 11,

1980, and after a public hearing, the President shall by

rule determine whether or not it is feasible to establish

or qualify an optional system of private insurance for

postclosure financial responsibility for hazardous waste

disposal facilities to which this subsection applies. If the

President determines the establishment or qualification

of such a system would be infeasible, he shall promptly

publish an explanation of the reasons for such a

determination. If the President determines the

establishment or qualification of such a system would

be feasible, he shall promptly publish notice of such

determination. Not later than six months after an

affirmative determination under the preceding

sentence and after a public hearing, the President shall

by rule promulgate adequate and realistic minimum

standards which must be met by any such privately

placed insurance, taking into account the purposes of

this chapter and this subsection. Such rules shall also

specify reasonably expeditious procedures by which

privately placed insurance plans can qualify as meeting

such minimum standards.

45a

(C) In the event any privately placed insurance plan

qualifies under subparagraph (B), any person enrolled

in, and complying with the terms of, such plan shall be

excluded from the provisions of paragraphs (1), (2), and

(3) of this subsection and exempt from the

requirements to pay any tax or fee to the Post-closure

Liability Fund under subchapter II of this chapter.

(D) The President may issue such rules and take such

other actions as are necessary to effectuate the

purposes of this paragraph.

(5) Suspension of liability transfer

Notwithstanding paragraphs (1), (2), (3), and (4) of this

subsection and subsection (j) of section 9611 of this title,

no liability shall be transferred to or assumed by the

Post-Closure Liability Trust Fund established by

section 9641 of this title prior to completion of the study

required under paragraph (6) of this subsection,

transmission of a report of such study to both Houses of

Congress, and authorization of such a transfer or

assumption by Act of Congress following receipt of such

study and report.

(6) Study of options for post-closure program

(A) Study

The Comptroller General shall conduct a study of

options for a program for the management of the

liabilities associated with hazardous waste treatment,

storage, and disposal sites after their closure which

complements the policies set forth in the Hazardous

and Solid Waste Amendments of 1984 and assures the

Ae

protection of human health and the environment.

(B) Proyram elements

The program referred to in subparagraph (A) shall be

designed to assure each of the following:

(i) Incentives are created and maintained for the

safe management and disposal of hazardous wastes

so as to assure protection of human health and the

environment.

(ii) Members of the public will have reasonable

confidence that hazardous wastes will be managed

and disposed of safely and that resources will be

available to address any problems that may arise

and to cover costs of long-term monitoring, care, and

maintenance of such sites.

(iii) Persons who are or seek to become owners and

operators of hazardous waste disposal facilities will

be able to manage their potential future liabilities

and to attract the investment capital necessary to

build, operate, and close such facilities in a manner

which assures protection of human health and the

environment.

(C) Assessments

The study under this paragraph shall include

assessments of treatment, storage, and disposal

facilities which have been or are likely to be issued a

permit under section 3005 of the Solid Waste Disposal

Act [42 U.S.C.A. § 6925] and the likelihood of future

insolvency on the part of owners and operators of

47a

such facilities. Separate assessments shall be mace for

different classes of facilities and for different classes

of land disposal facilities and shall include but not be

limited to--

(i) the current and future financial capabilities of

facility owners and operators;

(ii) the current and future costs associated with

facilities, including the costs of routine monitoring

and maintenance, compliance monitoring, corrective

action, natural resource damages, and liability for

damages to third parties; and

(iii) the availability of mechanisms by which owners

and operators of such facilities can assure that

current and future costs, including post-closure

costs, will be financed.

(D) Procedures

In carrying out the responsibilities of this paragraph,

the Comptroller General shall consult with the

Administrator, the Secretary of Commerce, the

Secretary of the Treasury, and the heads of other

appropriate Federal agencies.

(FE) Consideration of options

In conducting the study under this paragraph, the

Comptroller General shall consider’ various

mechanisms and combinations of mechanisms to

complement the policies set forth in the Hazardous

and Solid Waste Amendments of 1984 to serve the

purposes set forth in subparagraph (B) and to assure

45a

that the current and future costs associated with

hazardous waste facilities, including post-closure

costs, will be adequately financed and, to the greatest

extent possible, borne by the owners and operators of

such facilities. Mechanisms to be considered include,

but are not limited to--

(i) revisions to closure, post-closure, and financial

responsibility requirements under subtitles C and I

of the Solid Waste Disposal Act [42 U.S.C.A. §§ 6921

et seq. and 6991 et seq. ];

(ii) voluntary risk pooling by owners and operator's;

(iii) legislation to require risk pooling Ly owners and

operators;

(iv) modification of the Post-Closure Liability Trust

Fund previously established by section 9641 of this

title, and the conditions for transfer of liability

under this subsection, including limiting the transfer

of some or all liability under this subsection only in

the case of insolvency of owners and operator's;

(v) private insurance;

(vi) insurance provided by the Federal Government;

(vii) coinsurance, reinsurance, or pooled-risk

insurance, whether provided by the private sector

or provided or assisted by the Federal Government;

and

(viii) creation of a new program to be administered

by a new or existing Federal agency or by a

49xn

federally chartered corporation.

(F) Recommendations

The Comptroller General shall consider options for

funding any program under this section and shall, to

the extent necessary, make recommendations to the

appropriate committees of Congress for additional

authority to implement such program.

(1) Federal lien

(1) In general

All costs and damages for which a person is liable to

the United States under subsection (a) of this section

(other than the owner or operator of a vessel under

paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of this section) shall

constitute a lien in favor of the United States upon all

real property and rights to such property which--

(A) belong to such person; and

(B) are subject to or affected by a removal or

remedial action.

(2) Duration

The lien imposed by this subsection shall arise at the

later of the following:

(A) The time costs are first incurred by the United

States with respect to a response action under this

chapter.

Ot

(B) The time that the person referred to in

paragraph (1) is provided (by certified or registered

mail) written notice of potential liability.

Such lien shall continue until the liability for the

costs (or a judgment against the person arising out

of such liability) is satisfied or becomes

unenforceable through operation of the statute of

limitations provided in section 9613 of this title.

(3) Notice and validity

The lien imposed by this subsection shall be subject to

the rights of any purchaser, holder of a security

interest, or judgment lien creditor whose interest is

perfected under applicable State law before notice of

the lien has been filed in the appropriate office within

the State (or county or other governmental

subdivision), as designated by State law, in which the

real property subject to the lien is located. Any such

purchaser, holder of a security interest, or judgment

lien creditor shall be afforded the same protections

against the lien imposed by this subsection as are

afforded under State law against a judgment lien

which arises out of an unsecured obligation and which

arises as of the time of the filing of the notice of the

lien imposed by this subsection. If the State has not

by law designated one office for the receipt of such

notices of liens, the notice shall be filed in the office of

the clerk of the United States district court for the

district in which the real property is located. For

purposes of this subsection, the terms “purchaser”

and “security interest” shall have the definitions

provided under section 6323(h) of Title 26.

dla

(4) Action in rem

The costs constituting the lien may be recovered in an

action in rem in the United States district court for

the district in which the removal or remedial action is

occurring or has occurred. Nothing in this subsection

shall affect the right of the United States to bring an

action against any person to recover all costs and

damages for which such person is liable under

subsection (a) of this section.

(m) Maritime lien

All costs and damages for which the owner or operator

of a vessel is liable under subsection (a)(1) of this

section with respect to a release or threatened release

from such vessel shall constitute a maritime lien in

favor of the United States on such vessel. Such costs

may be recovered in an action in rem in the district

court of the United States for the district in which the

vessel may be found. Nothing in this subsection shall

affect the right of the United States to bring an action

against the owner or operator of such vessel] in any

court of competent jurisdiction to recover such costs.

(n) Liability of fiduciaries

(1) In general

The liability of a fiduciary under any provision of this

chapter for the release or threatened release of a

hazardous substance at, from, or in connection with a

vessel or facility held in a fiduciary capacity shall not

exceed the assets held in the fiduciary capacity.

a2a

(2) Exclusion

Paragraph (1) does not apply to the extent that a

person is liable under this chapter independently of

the person's ownership of a vessel or facility as a

fiduciary or actions taken in a fiduciary capacity.

(3) Limitation

Paragraphs (1) and (4) do not limit the liability

pertaining to a release or threatened release of a

hazardous substance if negligence of a fiduciary

causes or contributes to the release or threatened

release.

(4) Safe harbor

A fiduciary shall not be liable in its personal capacity

under this chapter for--

(A) undertaking or directing another person to

undertake a response action under subsection (d)(1)

of this section or under the direction of an on scene

coordinator designated under the National

Contingency Plan;

(B) undertaking or directing another person to

undertake any other lawful means of addressing a

hazardous substance in connection with the vessel

or facility;

(C) terminating the fiduciary relationship;

(D) including in the terms of the _ fiduciary

agreement a covenant, warranty, or other term or

53a

condition that relates to compliance with an

environmental law, or monitoring, modifying or

enforcing the term or condition;

(E) monitoring or undertaking 1 or more inspections

of the vessel or facility;

(F) providing financial or other advice or counseling

to other parties to the fiduciary relationship,

including the settlor or beneficiary;

(G) restructuring, renegotiating, or otherwise

altering the terms and conditions of the fiduciary

relationship;

(H) administering, as a fiduciary, a vessel or facility

that was contaminated before the fiduciary

relationship began; or

(I) declining to take any of the actions described in

subparagraphs (B) through (H).

(5) Definitions

As used in this chapter:

(A) Fiduciary

The term “fiduciary”--

(i) means a person acting for the benefit of another

party as a bona fide--

(I) trustee;

dda

(II) executor’

(III) administrator;

(IV) custodian;

(V) guardian of estates or guardian ad litem;

(VI) receiver;

(VII) conservator;

(VIII) committee of estates of incapacitated

persons;

(IX) personal representative;

(X) trustee (including a successor to a trustee)

under an indenture agreement, trust agreement,

lease, or similar financing agreement, for debt

securities, certificates of interest or certificates

of participation in debt securities, or other forms

of indebtedness as to which the trustee is not, in

the capacity of trustee, the lender; or

(XI) representative in any other capacity that

the Administrator, after providing public notice,

determines to be similar to the capacities

described in subclauses (1) through (X); and

(ii) does not include--

(I) a person that is acting as a fiduciary with

respect to a trust or other fiduciary estate that

was organized for the primary purpose of, or is

vva

engaged in, actively carrying on a trade or

business for profit, unless the trust or other

fiduciary estate was created as part of, or to

facilitate, 1 or more estate plans or because of

the incapacity of a natural person; or

(II) a person that acquires ownership or control

of a vessel or facility with the objective purpose

of avoiding liability of the person or of any other

person.

(B) Fiduciary capacity

The term “fiduciary capacity” means the capacity of

a person in holding title to a vessel or facility, or

otherwise having control of or an interest in the

vessel or facility, pursuant to the exercise of the

responsibilities of the person as a fiduciary.

(6) Savings clause

Nothing in this subsection--

(A) affects the rights or immunities or other

defenses that are available under this chapter or

other law that is applicable to a person subject to

this subsection; or

(B) creates any liability for a person or a private

right of action against a fiduciary or any other

person.

(7) No effect on certain persons

Nothing in this subsection applies to a person if the

DG6a

person--

(A)Gi) acts in a capacity other than that of a

fiduciary or in a beneficiary capacity; and

(ii) in that capacity, directly or indirectly benefits

from a trust or fiduciary relationship; or

(B)() is a beneficiary and a fiduciary with respect to

the same fiduciary estate; and

(ii) as a fiduciary, receives benefits that exceed

customary or reasonable compensation, and

incidental benefits, permitted under other

applicable law.

(8) Limitation

This subsection does not preclude a claim under this

chapter against--

(A) the assets of the estate or trust administered by

the fiduciary; or

(B) a nonemployee agent or independent contractor

retained by a fiduciary.

(o) De micromis exemption

(1) In general

Except as provided in paragraph (2), a person shall

not be liable, with respect to response costs at a

facility on the National Priorities List, under this

chapter if liability is based solely on paragraph (3) or

ata

(4) of subsection (a), and the person, except as

provided in paragraph (4) of this subsection, can

demonstrate that--

(A) the total amount of the material containing

hazardous substances that the person arranged for

disposal or treatment of, arranged with a

transporter for transport for disposal or treatment

of, or accepted for transport for disposal or

treatment, at the facility was less than 110 gallons of

liquid materials or less than 200 pounds of solid

materials (or such greater or lesser amounts as the

Administrator may determine by regulation); and

(B) all or part of the disposal, treatment, or

transport concerned occurred before April 1, 2001.

(2) Exceptions

Paragraph (1) shall not apply in a case in which--

(A) the President determines that--

(i) the materials containing hazardous substances

referred to in paragraph (1) have contributed

significantly or could contribute significantly,

either individually or in the aggregate, to the cost

of the response action or natural resource

restoration with respect to the facility; or

(ii) the person has failed to comply with an

information request or administrative subpoena

issued by the President under this chapter or has

impeded or is impeding, thre agh action or inaction,

the performance of a response action or natural

bSa

resource restoration with respect to the facility; or

(B) a person has been convicted of a criminal

violation for the conduct to which the exemption

would apply, and that conviction has not been

vitiated on appeal or otherwise.

(3) No judicial review

A determination by the President under paragraph

(2)(A) shall not be subject to judicial review.

(4) NonGovernmental third-party contribution actions

In the case of a contribution action, with respect to

response costs at a facility on the National Priorities

List, brought by a party, other than a Federal, State,

or local government, under this chapter, the burden of

proof shall be on the party bringing the action to

demonstrate that the conditions described in

paragraph (1)(A) and (B) of this subsection are not

met.

(p) Municipal solid waste exemption

(1) In general

Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this

subsection, a person shall not be liable, with respect

to response costs at a facility on the National

Priorities List, under paragraph (3) of subsection (a)

of this section for municipal solid waste disposed of at

a facility if the person, except as provided in

paragraph (5) of this subsection, can demonstrate that

the person is--

o9a

(A) an owner, operator, or lessee of residential

property from which all of the person's municipal

solid waste was generated with respect to the

facility:

(B) a business entity (including a parent, subsidiary,

or affiliate of the entity) that, during its 3 taxable

years preceding the date of transmittal of written

notification from the President of its potential

liability under this section, employed on average not

more than 100 full-time individuals, or the

equivalent thereof, and that is a small business

concern (within the meaning of the Small Business

Act (15 U.S.C. 621 et seq.)) from which was

generated all of the municipal solid waste

attributable to the entity with respect to the facility;

or

(C) an organization described in section 501(c)(3) of

Title 26 and exempt from tax under section 501(a) of

Title 26 that, during its taxable year preceding the

date of transmittal of written notification from the

President of its potential liability under this section,

employed not more than 100 paid individuals at the

location from which was generated all of the

municipal solid waste attributable to the

organization with respect to the facility.

For purposes of this subsection, the term “affiliate” has

the meaning of that term provided in the definition of

“small business concern” in regulations promulgated by

the Small Business Administration in accordance with

the Small Business Act (15 U.S.C. 631 et seq.).

(2) Exception

60a

Paragraph (1) shall not apply in a case in which the

President determines that--

(A) the municipal solid waste referred to in

paragraph (1) has contributed significantly or could

contribute significantly, either individually or in the

aggregate, to the cost of the response action or

natural resource restoration with respect to the

facility;

(B) the person has failed to comply with an

information request or administrative subpoena

issued by the President under this chapter; or

(C) the person has impeded or is impeding, through

action or inaction, the performance of a response

action or natural resource restoration with respect

to the facility

(3) No judicial review

A determination by the President under paragraph

(2) shall not be subject to judicial review.

(4) Definition of municipal solid waste

(A) In general

For purposes of this subsection, the term “municipal

solid waste” means waste material--

(i) generated by a household (including a single or

multifamily residence); and

(ii) generated by a commercial, industrial, or

Gla

institutional entity, to the extent that the waste

material--

(I) is essentially the same as waste normally

generated by a household;

(II) is collected and disposed of with other

municipal solid waste as part of normal municipal

solid waste collection services; and

(III) contains a relative quantity of hazardous

substances no greater than the relative quantity

of hazardous substances contained in waste

material generated by a typical single-family

household.

(B) Examples

Examples of municipal solid waste under

subparagraph (A) include food and yard waste,

paper, clothing, appliances, consumer product

packaging, disposable diapers, office supplies,

cosmetics, glass and metal food containers,

elementary or secondary school science laboratory

waste, and household hazardous waste.

(C) Exclusions

The term “municipal solid waste” cloes not include--

(i) combustion ash generated by resource recovery

facilities or municipal incinerators; or

(ii) waste material from manufacturing or

processing operations (including pollution control

O22

operations) that is not essentially the same as

waste normally generated by households.

(5) Burden of proof

In the case of an action, with respect to response costs

at a facility on the National Priorities List, brought

under this section or section 9613 of this title by--

(A) a party, other than a Federal, State, or local

government, with respect to municipal solid waste

disposed of on or after April 1, 2001; or

(B) any party with respect to municipal solid waste

disposed of before April 1, 2001, the burden of proof

shall be on the party bringing the action to

demonstrate that the conditions described in

paragraphs (1) and (4) for exemption for entities and

organizations described in paragraph (1)(B) and (C)

are not met.

(6) Certain actions not permitted

No contribution action may be brought by a party,

other than a Federal, State, or local government,

under this chapter with respect to circumstances

described in paragraph (1)(A).

(7) Costs and fees

A nongovernmental entity that commences, after the

date of the enactment of this subsection, a

contribution action under this chapter shall be liable

to the defendant for all reasonable costs cof defending

the action, including all reasonable attorney's fees and

G3a

expert witness fees, if the defendant is not liable for

contribution based on an exemption under this

subsection or subsection (0) of this section.

(q) Contiguous properties

(1) Not considered to be an owner or operator

(A) In general

A person that owns real property that is contiguous

to or otherwise similarly situated with respect to,

and that is or may be contaminated by a release or

threatened release of a hazardous substance from,

real property that is not owned by that person shall

not be considered to be an owner or operator of a

vessel or facility under paragraph (1) or (2) of

subsection (a) solely by reason of the contamination

if--

(i) the person did not cause, contribute, or consent

to the release or threatened release;

(ii) the person is not--

(I) potentially liable, or affiliated with any other

person that is potentially liable, for response

costs at a facility through any direct or indirect

familial relationship or any _ contractual,

corporate, or financial relationship (other than a

contractual, corporate, or financial relationship

that is created by a contract for the sale of goods

or services); or

(II) the result of a reorganization of a business

(da

entity that was potentially liable;

(iii) the person takes reasonable steps to--

(1) stop any continuiny release;

(II) prevent any threatened future release; and

(III) prevent or limit human, environmental, or

natural resource exposure to any hazardous

substance released on or from property owned

by that person;

(iv) the person provides full cooperation,

assistance, and access to persons that are

authorized to conduct response actions or natural

resource restoration at the vessel or facility from

which there has been a release or threatened

release (including the cooperation and access

necessary for the installation, integrity, operation,

and maintenance of any complete or partial

response action or natural resource restoration at

the vessel or facility);

(v) the per'son--

(I) is in compliance with any land use restrictions

established or relied on in connection with the

response action at the facility; and

(II) dees not impede the effectiveness or

integrity of any institutional control employed in

connection with a response action;

(vi) the person is in compliance with any request

Gda

for information or administrative subpoena issued

by the President under this chapter;

(vii) the person provides all legally required

notices with respect to the discovery or release of

any hazardous substances at the facility; and

(viii) At the time at which the person acquired the

property, the person

(I) conducted all appropriate inquiry within the

meaning of section 9601(35)(B) of this title with

respect to the property; and

(II) did not know or have reason to know that

the property was or could be contaminated by a

release or threatened release of one or more

hazardous substances from other real property

not owned or operated by the person.

(B) Demonstration

To qualify as a person described in subparagraph

(A), a person must establish by a preponderance of

the evidence that the conditions in clauses (i)

through (viii) of subparagraph (A) have been met.

(C) Bona ficle prospective purchaser

Any person that does not qualify as a person

described in this paragraph because the person had,

or had reason to have, knowledge specified in

subparagraph (A)(vili) at the time of acquisition of

the real property may qualify as a bona fide

prospective purchaser under section 9601(40) of this

(Ge

title if the person is otherwise described in that

section.

(D) Ground water

With respect to a hazardous substance from one or

more sources that are not on the property of a

person that is a contiguous property owner that

enters ground water beneath the property of the

person solely as a result of subsurface migration in

an aquifer, subparagraph (A)(iii) shall not require

the person to conduct ground water investigations

or to install ground water remediation systems,

except in accordance with the policy of the

Environmental Protection Agency concerning

owners of property containing contaminated

aquifers, dated May 24, 1995.

(2) Effect of law

With respect to a person described in this subsection,

nothing in this subsection--

(A) limits any defense to liability that may be

available to the person under any other provision of

law; or

(B) imposes liability on the person that is not

otherwise imposed by subsection (a) of this section.

(3) Assurances

The Administrator may--

(A) issue an assurance that no enforcement action

67a

under this chapter will be initiated against a person

described in paragraph (1); and

(B) grant a person described in paragraph (1)

protection against a cost recovery or contribution

action under section 9613(f) of this title.

(r) Prospective purchaser and windfall lien

(1) Limitation on liability

Notwithstanding subsection (a)(1) of this section, a

bona fide prospective purchaser whose potential

liability for a release or threatened release is based

solely on the purchaser's being considered to be an

owner or operator of a facility shall not be liable as

long as the bona fide prospective purchaser does not

impede the performance of a response action or

natural resource restoration.

(2) Lien

If there are unrecovered response costs incurred by

the United States at a facility for which an owner of

the facility is not liable by reason of paragraph (1),

and if each of the conditions described in paragraph

(83) is met, the United States shall have a lien on the

facility, or may by agreement with the owner, obtain

from the owner a lien on any other property or other

assurance of payment satisfactory to the

Administrator, for the unrecovered response costs.

(3) Conditions

The conditions referred to in paragraph (2) are the

68a

following:

(A) Response action

A response action for which there are unrecovered

costs of the United States is carried out at the

facility.

(B) Fair market value

The response action increases the fair market value

of the facility above the fair market value of the

facility that existed before the response action was

initiated.

(4) Amount; duration

A lien under paragraph (2)--

(A) shall be in an amount not to exceed the increase

in fair market value of the property attributable to

the response action at the time of a sale or other

disposition of the property;

(B) shall arise at the time at which costs are first

incurred by the United States with respect to a

response action at the facility;

(C) shall be subject to the requirements of

subsection (1)(3); and

(D) shall continue until the earlier of--

(i) satisfaction of the lien by sale or other means;

or

69a

(ii) notwithstanding any statute of limitations

under section 9613 of this tile, recovery of all

response costs incurred at the facility

70a

USCA Title 42. The Public Health and Welfare

Chapter 103. Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation, and Liability

Subchapter I. Hazardous Substances Releases,

Liability, Compensation

§ 9613. Civil proceedings

(a) Review of regulations in Circuit Court of Appeals of

the United States for the District of Columbia

Review of any regulation promulgated under this

chapter may be had upon application by any interested

person only in the Circuit Court of Appeals of the

United States for the District of Columbia. Any such

application shall be made within ninety days from the

date of promulgation of such regulations. Any matter

with respect to which review could have been obtained

under this subsection shall not be subject to judicial

review in any civil or criminal proceeding for

enforcement or to obtain damages or recovery of

response costs.

(b) Jurisdiction; venue

Except as provided in subsections (a) and (h) of this

section, the United States district courts shall have

exclusive original jurisdiction over all controversies

arising under this chapter, without regard to the

citizenship of the parties or the amount in controversy.

Venue shall lie in any district in which the release or

damages occurred, or in which the defendant resides,

may be found, or has his principal office. For the

purposes of this section, the Fund shall reside in the

District of Columbia.

Tla

(c) Controversies or othe matters resulting from tax

collection or tax regulation review

The provisions of subsections (a) and (b) of this section

shall not apply to any controversy or other matter

resulting from the assessment of collection of any tax,

as provided by subchapter II of this chapter, or to the

review of any regulation promulgated under Title 26.

(d) Litigation commenced prior to December 11, 1980

No provision of this chapter shall be deemed or held to

moot any litigation concerning any release of any

hazardous substance, or any damages associated

therewith, commenced prior to December 11, 1980.

(e) Nationwide service of process

In any action by the United States under this chapter,

process may be served in any district where the

defendant is found, resides, transacts business, or has

appointed an agent for the service of process.

(f) Contribution

(1) Contribution

Any person may seek contribution from any other

person who is liable or potentially liable under section

9607(a) of this title, during or following any civil

action under section 9606 of this title or under section

9607(a) of this title. Such claims shall be brought in

accordance with this section and the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, an« shall be governed by Federal

law. In resolving contribution claims, the court may

T2it

llocate response costs among liable parties using

such equitable factors as the court determines are

appropriate. Nothing in this subsection shall diminish

the right of any person to bring an action for

contribution in the absence of a civil action under

section 9606 of this title or section 9607 of this title.

(2) Settlement

A person who has resolved its liability to the United

States or a State in an administrative or judicially

approved settlement shall not be liable for claims for

contribution regarding matters addressed in the

settlement. Such settlement does not discharge any of

the other potentially liable persons unless its terms so

provide, but it reduces the potential liability of the

others by the amount of the settlement.

(3) Persons not party to settlement

(A) If the United States or a State has obtained less

than complete relief from a person who has resolved

its liability to the United States or the State in an

administrative or judicially approved settlement, the

United States or the State may bring an action

against any person who has not so resolved its

liability.

(B) A person who has resolved its liability to the

United States or a State for some or all of a response

action or for some or all of the costs of such action in

an administrative or judicially approved settlement

may seek contribution from any person who is not

party to a settlement referred to in paragraph (2).

Ta

(C) In any action under this paragraph, the rights of

uny person who has resolved its liability to the United

States or a State shall be subordinate to the rights of

the United States or the State. Any contribution

action brought under this paragraph shall be

governed by Federal law.

(g) Period in which action may be brought

(1) Actions for natural resource damages

Except as provided in paragraphs (3) and (4), no

action may be commenced for damages (as defined in

section 9601(6) of this title) under this chapter, unless

that action is commenced within 3 years after the

later of the following:

(A) The date of the discovery of the loss and its

connection with the release in question.

(B) The date on which regulations are promulgated

under section 9651(c) of this title.

With respect to any facility listed on the National

Priorities List (NPL), any Federal facility identified

under section 9620 of this title (relating to Federal

facilities), or any vessel or facility at which a

remedial action under this chapter is otherwise

scheduled, an action for damages under this chapter

must be commenced within 3 years after the

completion of the remedial action (excluding

operation and maintenance activities) in lieu of the

dates referred to in subparagraph (A) or (B). In no

event may an action for damages under this chapter

With respect to such a vessel or facility be

Thu

commenced (i) prior to 60 days after the Federal or

State natural resource trustee provides to the

President and the potentially responsible purty a

notice of intent to file suit, or (ii) before selection of

the remedial action if the President is diligently

proceeding with a remedial investigation and

feasibility study under section 9604(b) of this title or

section 9620 of this title (relating to Federal

facilities). The limitation in the preceding sentence

on commencing an action before giving notice or

before selection of the remedial action does not

apply to actions filed on or before October 17, 1986.

(2) Actions for recovery of costs

An initial action for recovery of the costs referred to

in section 9607 of this title must be commenced--

(A) for a removal action, within 3 years after

completion of the removal action, except that such

cost recovery action must be brought within 6 years

after a determination to grant a waiver under

section 9604(c)(1)(C) of this title for continued

response action; and

(B) for a remedial action, within 6 years after

initiation of physical on-site construction of the

remedial action, except that, if the remedial action is

initiated within 3 years after the completion of the

removal action, costs incurred in the removal action

may be recovered’ in the cost recovery action

brought under this subparagraph.

In any such action described in this subsection, the

court shall enter a declaratory judgment on liability

(Ou

for response costs or dlamages that will be binding

on any subsequent action or actions to recover

further response costs or damages. A subsequent

action or actions under section 9607 of this title for

further response costs at the vessel or facility may

be maintained at any time during the response

action, but must be commenced no later than 3 years

after the date of completion of all response action.

Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, an

action may be commenced under section 9607 of this

title for recovery of costs at any time after such

costs have been incurred.

(3) Contribution

No action for contribution for any response costs or

damages may be commenced more than 3 years after-

(A) the date of judgment in any action under this

chapter for recovery of such costs or damages, or

(B) the date of an administrative order under

section 9622(g) of this title (relating to de minimis

settlements) or 9622(h) of this title (relating to cost

recovery settlements) or entry of a judicially

approved settlement with respect to such costs or

damages.

(4) Subrogation

No action based on rights subrogated pursuant to this

section by reason of payment of a claim may be

commenced under this subchapter more than 3 years

after the date of payment of such claim.

76a

(5) Actions to recover indemnification payments

Notwithstanding any other provision of this

subsection, where a payment pursuant to an

indemnification agreement with a response action

contractor is made under section 9619 of this title, an

action under section 9607 of this title for recovery of

such indemnification payment from a _ potentially

responsible party may be brought at any time before

the expiration of 3 years from the date on which such

payment is made.

(6) Minors and incompetents

The time limitations contained herein shall not begin

to run--

(A) against a minor until the earlier of the date

when such minor reaches 18 years of age or the date

on which a legal representative is duly appointed for

such minor, or

(B) against an incompetent person until the earlier

of the date on which such _incompetent's

incompetency ends or the date on which a legal

representative is duly appointed for such

incompetent.

(h) Timing of review

No Federal court shall have jurisdiction under Federal

law other than under section 1332 of Title 28 (relating

to diversity of citizenship jurisdiction) or under State

law which is applicable or relevant and appropriate

under section 9621 of this title (relating to cleanup

Tia

standards) to review any challenges to removal or

remedial action selected under section 9604 of this title,

or to review any order issued under section 9606(a) of

this title, in any action except one of the following:

(1) An action under section 9607 of this title to

recover response costs or damages or for

contribution.

(2) An action to enforce an order issued under section

9606(a) of this title or to recover a penalty for

violation of such order.

(3) An action for reimbursement under section

9606(b)(2) of this title.

(4) An action under section 9659 of this title (relating

to citizens suits) alleging that the removal or remedial

action taken under section 9604 of this title or secured

under section 9606 of this title was in violation of any

requirement of this chapter. Such an action may not

be brought with regard to a removal where a

remedial action is to be undertaken at the site.

(5) An action under section 9606 of this title in which

the United States has moved to compel a remedial

action.

(i) Intervention

In any action commenced under this chapter or under

the Solid Waste Disposal Act [42 U.S.C.A. § 6901 et

seq.] in a court of the United States, any person may

intervene as a matter of right when such person claims

an interest relating to the subject of the action and is so

situated that the disposition of the action may, as a

Tha

practical matter, impair or impede the person's ability

to protect that interest, unless the President or the

State shows that the person's interest is adequately

represented by existing parties.

(j) Judicial review

(1) Limitation

In any judicial action under this chapter, judicial

review of any issues concerning the adlequacy of any

response action taken or ordered by the President

shall be limited to the administrative record.

Otherwise applicable principles of administrative law

shall govern whether any supplemental materials may

be considered by the court.

(2) Standard

In considering objections raised in any judicial action

under this chapter, the court shall uphold the

President's decision in selecting the response action

unless the objecting party can demonstrate, on the

administrative record, that the decision was arbitrary

and capricious or otherwise not in accordance with

law.

(3) Remedy

If the court finds that the selection of the response

action was arbitrary and capricious or otherwise not

in accordance with law, the court shall award (A) only

the response costs or damages that are not

inconsistent with the national contingency plan, and

(B) such other relief as is consistent with the National

Contingency Plan.

(4) Procedural erron's

In reviewing alleged procedural errors, the court may

disallow costs or damages only if the errors were so

serious and related to matters of such central

relevance to the action that the action would have

been significantly changed had such errors not been

made.

(k) Administrative record and participation procedures

(1) Administrative record

The President shall establish an administrative record

upon which the President shall base the selection of a

response action. The administrative record shall be

available to the public at or near the facility at issue.

The President also may place duplicates of the

administrative record at any other location.

(2) Participation procedures

(A) Removal action

The President shall promulgate regulations in

accordance with chapter 5 of Title 5 establishing

procedures for the appropriate participation of

interested persons in the development of the

administrative record on which the President will

base the selection of removal actions and on which

judicial review of removal actions will be based.

(B) Remedial action

The President shall provide for the participation of

Oa

interested persons, including potentially responsible

parties, in the development of the administrative

record on which the President will base the

selection of remedial actions and on which judicial

review of remedial actions will be based. The

procedures developed under this subparagraph shall

include, at a minimum, each of the following:

(i) Notice to potentially affected persons and the

public, which shall be accompanied by a brief

analysis of the plan and alternative plans that

were considered.

(ii) A reasonable opportunity to comment and

provide information regarding the plan.

(iii) An opportunity for a public meeting in the

affected area, in accordance with section 9617(a)(2)

of this title (relating to public participation).

(iv) A response to each of the _ significant

comments, criticisms, and new data submitted in

written or oral presentations.

(v) A statement of the basis and purpose of the

selected action.

For purposes of this subparagraph, the

administrative record shall include all items

developed and received under this subparagraph

and all items described in the second sentence of

section 9617(d) of this title. The President shall

promulgate regulations in accordance with

chapter 5 of Title 5 to carry out the requirements

of this subparagraph.

(C) Interim record

Until such regulations under subparagraphs (A) and

(B) are promulgated, the administrative record shall

consist of all items developed and received pursuant

to current procedures for selection of the response

action, including procedures for the participation of

interested parties and the public. The development

of an administrative record and the selection of

response action under this chapter shall not include

an adjudicatory hearing.

(D) Potentially responsible parties

The President shall make reasonable efforts to

identify and notify potentially responsible parties as

early as possible before selection of a response

action. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed

to be a defense to liability.

(1) Notice of actions

Whenever any action is brought under this chapter in a

court of the United States by a plaintiff other than the

United States, the plaintiff shall provide a copy of the

complaint to the Attorney General of the United States

and to the Administrator of the Environmental

Protection Agency.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.