Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hammer v. Ashcroft

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

OF ILE hi

09-504 OCT 23 2009

No.

cee cere bff ap paeficeenenhapiatentnmenmemanere-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Sites

DAVID PAUL HAMMER,

Petitioner,

Vv.

JOHN D. ASHCROFT, HARLEY G. LAPPIN,

KATHLEEN HAWK-SAWYER, and KEITH OLSON,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Jerold S. Solovy Barry Sullivan

Counsel of Record Cooney & Conway Chair in

John R. Storino Advocacy and Professor of Law

Chad E. Bell LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO

JENNER & BLOCK LLP 25 East Pearson Street

353 N. Clark Street Chicago, Illinois 60611

Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 915-7787

(312) 222-9350

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Under 28 C.F.R. § 540.63, federal prisoners may

be interviewed face-to-face by the press, unless the

warden determines after an individualized inquiry

that the interview would endanger the interviewer or

“probably cause serious unrest or disturb the good

order of the institution.” However, after the

broadcast of an interview with Timothy McVeigh,

Attorney General John Ashcroft banned all face-to-

face press interviews with male federal death row

inmates. The Attorney General cited no security

reasons, but stated that such prisoners should be

denied “a podium” to communicate their ideas. Two

- questions are presented:

1. Whether the en banc Seventh Circuit erred in

upholding this abridgement of First Amendment

rights, when it held, contrary to decisions of the

Second, Third, Fighth, and Ninth Circuits, that the

“legitimate penological interest” required by Jurner

v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), may be established as a

matter of law through post-hoc iitigation

declarations referrirg to “security concerns,” or,

alternatively, by a court’s ability to imagine or

hypothesize such concerns, even where the stated

reason for the abridgement was unconstitutional.

2. Whether the en banc Seventh Circuit erred by

ignoring the four factor test set forth in Turner and

by adopting a test of its own, under which it held

that a permanent ban on _ face-to-face _ press

interviews with male-death-row inmates, a sub-class

of federal prisoners, does not violate the First

Amendment.

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner David Paul Hammer was the plaintiff-

appellant below. Respondents John D. Ashcroft,

Harley G. Lappin, Kathleen Hawk-Sawyer, and

Keith Olson were defendants-appellees below.

lll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............. eee i

Eels CO PALF Cee Reee FB esintssvicnisssssancsanaictecavssvsanes vi

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............. 1

STE SEAT vitnsanenes ease snnussessvaninicanenslainssaieaiid 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .......0 ee. 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND REGULATORY

Rr VES BOE I RED isin ces senssvassucdvecevevedisrseiene 2

STATEMEGINE OF TEE CABS .00.00cccccccscsssvssssrnsesenssrees 2

Bi, — TR Re sen siiccsaiieivsnacodancesenssctuersvaracees 2

BH. FEAL E CP PACTS cvcsicccicccoscssecencssssene 4

C. PRROPCIDIUAL, FEEL IEE ciccccsccnsssccveccssseesess 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................ 11

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With Prior

Decisions Of This Court, And With

Decisions Of Other Federal Courts Of

Appeals, By Holding That T7urners

“Legitimate Penological Interest”

Requirement May Be Satisfied By FPost-

Hoc, Litigation Declarations Or By Purely

Hypothetical Explanations, Even Where

Contemporaneous Statements Show That

The Restriction Was Adopted For Patently

Unconstitutional Reason... .................sccccscscseeseeeee 13

1V

II. The Decision Below Departs From This

Court’s Prior Holdings By Disregarding

Turner And Upholding The

Constitutionality Of A Permanent

Restriction On The First Amendment

Rights Of A Sub-Class Of Prisoners....................

IIT sa vies ischeixiscacashuinibedadsscsivmoscanusesiabiciins

Appendix A

Hammer v. Ashcroft, 570 F.3d 798 (7th Cir.

RRS ROA EL GOT es AE. Hee evn

Appendix B

Hammer v. Ashcroft, 512 F.3d 961 (7th Cir.

RE ee rear ie MORE AACR PS eR SEE PER EOD

Appendix C

Hammer v. Ashcroft, No. IP 01-558-C-T/G,

2006 WL 456177 (S.D. Ind. Feb. 23, 2006)

eeeteee

Appendix D

Hammer v. Ashcroft, 42 F. App’x 861 (7th

pS AASR Aa ees Dea! Ben shAL DO ie he contra

Appendix E

Hammer v. Ashcroft, No. IP 01-558-C-T/G

(S.D. Ind. May 24, 2001)

See eee eee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeseee

Appendix F

Constitutional Provisions and Regulations

INI ic 7c. co canchcacgeueacsiaiaicrsdeaneeinateussuagnioareenveueen 80a

Appendix G

Ashcroft Press Conference..............cccccecesecececeees 85a

Appendix H

Institution Supplement THA-1480.05A.......... 103a

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154 F.3d 128 (3d Cir.

eee daseowenei 12, 19

Battle v. Anderson, 564 F.2d 388 (10th Cir.

Teen seecennell 15

Beard v. Banks, 548 U.S. 521 (2006).. 13, 23, 27, 28

Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) ........ccc:cccceeees 27

Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United

States, 371 U.S. 156 (1962) .............ccsccsssssssoeses 17

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v.

ee, BOT TFB. GE CITED vninsecccscssscesisessessess..:. 17

Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499 (2005).......... 15

Motor Vehicle Manufactures Ass’n of the

United States, Inc. v. State Farm Mutual

Automobile Insurance Co., 463 U.S. 29

SR LE IY 9: a ON RT OP 17

O’Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482 U.S. 342

is 13, 23, 27

Overton v. Bazzetta, 539 U.S. 126 (2003)..... 13, 16,

23, 27, 28

Pell v. Procunter, 417 U.S. 817 (1974) .......... 15, 23,

24, 27

Police Department of Chicago v. Mosley,

ee I aa aiicccchacssacecnucoustneseetemssauscicans 26

Quinn v. Nix, 983 F.2d 115 (8th Cir. 1993)....12, 20

vii

RA.V. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377

III is scersina sina sacebsahaadhasmeapaataieasae snare mea dnaiabuseliaed 26

Salahuddin v. Goord, 467 F.3d 263 (2d Cir.

a SaaS Se Os 12, 18, 19

Saxbe v. Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843

a ee 23, 24

SEC v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1943)........... 17

SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194 (1947)......... 17

Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401 (1989)...23, 27

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ............ passim

United States v. Hammer, 404 F. Supp. 2d

676 (M.D. Pa. 2005), appeals dismissed,

BO4 F.BG GES God Cle. BOODP cocccccesccccsccescoscccocseoccs 4

Walker v. Sumner, 917 F.2d 382 (9th Cir.

| ___RaRRReas Sa acne Re es NEN NPE NSAN APS TOO MAU A 12, 20

West Virginia State Board of Education v.

Barnette, 319 U.S. 624 (1943)... cece cece eee 22

Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927),

overruled in part on other grounds by

Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444

Lcd eh Ree SO ct SSI SUT) NET OI OO 14

Wirdmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981).............. 26

Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23 (1968) ............... 26

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974) ............. 14

STATUTES

ee ek, Ss iia chic eknci'sa bashed vasuuedeeka vaciuaececovscesaneens 2

Se ets Oe I cahabaiesececbocsasencncaes 2, 0, bp Ge Bb, OO

28 U.S.C. § 540.63(g)(4) .........ccccccsccccceees acdatae neuen 27

OTHER AUTHORITIES

OR, Tes Cae We i kccdcindisiacecentsa cae 8

Mary Bosworth, The U.S. Federal Prison

I Fi ikasesecstevcsecvearedanseeeeee 15

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David Paul Hammer respectfully petitions for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Seventh Circuit, by a vote of 5-to-3, reversed

the unanimous panel decision in this case. The

majority and dissenting opinions of the en banc court

are reported at 570 F.3d 798 (7th Cir. 2009) and

reprinted at App. la-30a. The panel opinion is

reported at 512 F.3d 961 (7th Cir. 2008) and

reprinted at App. 31la-48a. The memorandum

opinion and order of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Indiana, which granted

summary judgment in favor of respondents and

dismissed petitioner’s pro se amended complaint, is

not reported, but is reprinted at App. 49a°62a. An

earlier Seventh Circuit opinion, reversing the district

court’s dismissal of petitioner’s original pro se

complaint for failure to state a claim, is reported at

42 F. App’x 861 (7th Cir. 2002) and reprinted at App.

63a-70a. The district court’s memorandum opinion

and order dismissing the original complaint is not

reported, but is reprinted at App. 7la-79a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Seventh Circuit entered judgment on June

25, 2009. (App. la). On September 15, 2009, Justice

Stevens extended the time in which to file a petition

for a writ of certiorari to and including October 23,

2

2009. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §

1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND REGULATORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First and Fifth Amendments to the United

States Constitution and the pertinent provisions of

Section 540.63 of Title 28, Code of Federal

Regulations, and Institution Supplement THA-

1480.05A are reprinted at App. 80a-84a, 103a-111a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

To strike a proper balance between First

Amendment rights and prison security, the Federal

Bureau of Prisons (“BOP”), after notice-and-comment

rulemaking, promulgated 28 C.F.R. § 540.63, which

allows federal inmates to participate in face-to-face

press interviews, unless the warden determines,

after a individualized inquiry, that the interview

would “endanger the health or safety of the

interviewer, or would probably cause serious unrest

or disturb the good order of the institution.” (App.

82a). Absent such a finding, the interview must

proceed.

Following a nationally-televised interview with

Timothy McVeigh, however, Attorney General John

D. Ashcroft banned face-to-face interviews with all

male federal death row inmates. (App. 90a). The

Attorney General did not rely on any security

concern or other “legitimate penological purpose,”

but on his personal view that such prisoners should

3

be prevented from communicating their ideas to the

public. (App. 90a). He ordered the ban “to restrict a

mass murderer’s access to the public podium” and to

prevent the “irresponsible glamorization of a culture

of violence.” (App. 90a). Warden Harley G. Lappin,

who was then the warden at the United States

Penitentiary at Terre Haute, Indiana (“USP-TH”)

(which houses all male federal death row inmates),

subsequently memorialized the ban in Institution

Supplement THA-1480.05A. (App. 103a-111a).

Petitioner David Paul Hammer, a male federal

death row inmate, brought this pro se action to

challenge the constitutionality of the ban. The

district court dismissed his complaint for failure to

state a claim (App. 79a), but the Seventh Circuit

reversed and remanded, with instructions that the

case proceed to discovery. (App. 70a). On remand,

respondents refused to answer any of Mr. Hammer's

pro se discovery requests. (7th Cir. JA at 76-86).

The district court nonetheless granted respondents’

motion for summary judgment and again dismissed

Mr. Hammer’s pro se claims. (App. 62a). On appeal,

a panel of the Seventh Circuit unanimously reversed

the district court’s dismissal order, and once again

remanded for discovery and trial. (App. 48a).

The Seventh Circuit granted respondents’

petition for rehearing en banc. By a 5-to-3 vote, the

en banc court reversed the panel decision, holding

that respondents were entitled to summary

judgment because Mr. Hammer was not entitled to

discovery and had not presented a triable issue.

(App. 15a). According to the Seventh Circuit

4

majority, and contrary to the decisions of every other

circuit to have considered the question, respondents’

actual reasons for adopting the total ban were not

relevant to the inquiry mandated by Turner v.

Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987). According to the

majority, Turners “legitimate penological interest”

requirement may be satisfied, as a matter of law, by

the submission of conclusory, post-hoc declarations

as to the existence of “security concerns.” (App. 10a-

lla). Indeed, the majority held that Turner would be

satisfied even without such declarations, if a court

could simply imagine or hypothesize a “legitimate

penological interest” for violating First Amendment

rights. (App. 5a). Thus, summary judgment was

appropriate, according to the majority below, even

though Attorney General Ashcroft had cited only

constitutionally impermissible reasons to justify the

ban at the time he announced it.

B. Statement of Facts

Mr. Hammer, who was sentenced to death for

killing a cellmate, resides at the Special Confinement

Unit (““SCU”) of USP-TH. (7th Cir. JA at 125).' The

Although Mr. Hammer’s death sentence was later vacated, no

date has been set for resentencing, and the government has

been granted an extension of time to April 28, 2010 to state its

intentions with respect to resentencing. See United States v.

Hammer, No. 96-CR-239 (M.D. Pa. Aug. 27, 2009) (order

granting United States an extension of eight months to indicate

whether it will request a new death penalty phase trial); United

States v. Hammer, 404 F. Supp. 2d 676 (M.D. Pa. 2005),

appeals dismissed, 564 F.3d 628 (3d Cir. 2009). As respondents

concede, Mr. Hammer continues to reside on death row and is

subject to the policy. (App. 4a, 32a n.1)

5

SCU houses all male federal prisoners who have

been sentenced to death. (7th Cir. JA at 200). In

addition, the SCU houses prisoners who have not

been sentenced to death, but who have been placed

on “administrative detention status.” (7th Cir. JA at

200).

Mr. Hammer has received many requests for

press interviews to discuss conditions on death row,

his own case, and other matters related to his

confinement. In 1999, Mr. Hammer participated

without incident in three face-to-face press

interviews. (7th Cir. JA at 126-28). Those

interviews were conducted under 28 C.F.R. § 540.63,

which permits federal prisoners to participate in

face-to-face interviews unless a warden determines,

after an individualized inquiry, that the interview

would “endanger the health or safety of the

interviewer, or would probably cause serious unrest

or disturb the good order of the institution.” (App.

82a).

On March 12, 2000, “60 Minutes” aired an

interview with Timothy McVeigh, a federal death

row inmate known as the Oklahoma City Bomber.

(7th Cir. JA at 175). The public outcry was

immediate. Among other things, on March 14, 2000,

Senator Byron Dorgan sent a letter to BOP Director

Kathleen Hawk-Sawyer, to demand that the BOP

prohibit future interviews with federal death row

inmates. (7th Cir. JA at 175).

6

No other face-to-face interview with a male

federal death row inmate was ever allowed.” In late

2000 and early 2001, Mr. Hammer attempted to

communicate with the press through press releases

issued by his attorney, through personal written

correspondence, and by using his ordinary 15-minute

daily allotments of telephone time. Even in these

contexts, Warden Lappin repeatedly warned Mr.

Hammer that he was prohibited from disclosing “any

information about another inmate through any

manner of communication (oral, written, etc.).” (7th

Cir. JA at 172) (emphasis in original).

On April 12, 2001, Attorney General Ashcroft and

BOP Director Hawk-Sawyer held a press conference

announcing a categorical ban on _ face-to-face

interviews with male federal death row inmates.

That ban (which was not adopted pursuant to notice-

and-comment rulemaking) permanently and

categorically prohibits male federal death row

inmates (but not female death row inmates, non-

death row inmates housed on the SCU, or, indeed,

any other inmate in the federal prison system) from

having face-to-face interviews with any print or

broadcast journalist on any subject at any time.

(App. 95a-96a). The Attorney General explained:

From March 2000 until April 16, 2001, USP-TH Warden

Lappin denied all media requests for face-to-face interviews

with male federal death row inmates, including nine such

requests for interviews with Mr. Hammer. (7th Cir. JA at 177-

92). After April 16, 2001, THA-1480.05A was specifically

invoked to bar such interviews. (App. 105a).

7

As an American who cares about our culture, I

want to restrict a mass murderer’s access to

the public podium. On an issue of particular

importance to me as Attorney General of the

United States, I do not want anyone to be able

to purchase access to the podium of America

with the blood of 168 innocent victims. ... I’m

concerned about irresponsible glamorization of

a culture of violence, and that concern has

shaped our approach to these _ issues

profoundly.

(App. 90a, 97a).

Four days later, Warden Lappin signed

Institution Supplement THA-1480.05A, which

purportedly was designed to “provide guidelines for

implementing” the case-by-case review process

required by 28 C.F.R. § 540.63. (App. 103a). In fact,

THA-1480.05A did not “implement” the regulation; it

negated the regulation insofar as death row inmates

were concerned. In place of the case-by-case review

required by 28 C.F.R. § 540.63, THA-1480.05A

substituted a permanent and total ban, stating that

“in-person interviews (including video-recorded

interviews) will not be permitted.” (App. 105a). In

addition to banning the broadcast of recorded

interviews, the policy banned all face-to-face

interviews, even non-recorded interviews with print

journalists. (App. 105a).

It is undisputed that THA-1480.05A does not

apply (a) to prisoners housed on the SCU on

“administrative detention status,” (b) to female

federal prisoners sentenced to death, (c) to other

8

federal prisoners who have been convicted of murder,

but not sentenced to death, or (d) to other federal

prisoners who may be objects of acute public interest

because of who they are or what crimes they have

committed. (App. 35a, 105a). With respect to each of

those four groups of prisoners, interview requests

remain subject to the case-by-case policy set forth in

28 C.F.R. § 540.63. (App. 81a-84a).

C. Procedural History

Mr. Hammer filed an amended pro se complaint

on January 2, 2003, claiming that THA-1480.05A

violated both his First Amendment rights and his

Fifth Amendment right to equal protection of the

laws. He sought declaratory and injunctive relief, as

well as damages, under Bivens v. Six Unknown

Named Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics,

403 U.S. 388 (1971). (7th Cir. JA at 26-40).° Mr.

Hammer served three separate pro se discovery

requests. (7th Cir. JA at 56-62). Respondents

objected to all of those requests and moved for

summary judgment, without complying with any of

the requests. (7th Cir. JA at 63-65, 76-86).

Mr. Hammer filed a pro se motion to extend the

time for discovery under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(f), but the

district court denied that motion. (7th Cir. JA 87-90,

3

Mr. Hammer filed his original pro se complaint on April 24,

2001. The district court dismissed that complaint for failure to

state a valid claim for relief. (App. 79a). Mr. Hammer filed a

pro se appeal. The Seventh Circuit reversed and remanded the

case for further proceedings, including discovery, on July 26,

2002. (App. 70a).

9

225). Thereafter, the district court granted summary

judgment against Mr. Hammer, holding that

“Hammer has not identified a genuine issue of

material fact as to his claims... .” (App. 62a). Mr.

Hammer filed a timely notice of appeal, and the

Seventh Circuit later appointed counsel to assist Mr.

Hammer with the briefing and argument of his

appeal. (7th Cir. JA at 238-39).

On January 15, 2008, a panel of the Seventh

Circuit unanimously reversed the district court’s

grant of summary judgment. The panel held that

Mr. Hammer had raised a triable issue of fact as to

whether the “proffered [security] justification for the

policy banning face-to-face interviews is pretextual.”

(App. 32a). That was so, according to the panel,

because Attorney General Ashcroft’s

contemporaneous’ explanation conflicted with

respondents’ litigation declarations and showed that

the actual purpose of the ban was “to control a

disfavored message rather than to secure the SCU.”

(App. 41a).

The Seventh Circuit granted respondents’

petition for rehearing en banc. (App. 3a).

On June 25, 2009, the Seventh Circuit, by a 5-to-3

vote, held that “Institution Supplement THA

1480.05A is consistent with the Constitution.” (App.

15a). In an opinion by Chief Judge Easterbrook, the

court held that respondents’ actual reasons for

adopting the ban were not relevant because “lilt is

not clear why one bad motive would spoil a rule that

is adequately supported by good reasons.” (App.

10a). The “good reasons,” of course, were not those

10

stated at the time the ban was adopted, but those

that respondents put forth in defense of Mr.

Hammer’s litigation, some three years later. Indeed,

according to the majority, it was not necessary for

respondents to provide any reasons at all, even after

the fact. So long as a court could hypothesize “good

reasons” for the ban, there was no need for discovery

or a trial concerning the abridgement of Mr.

Hammer’s First Amendment rights. (App. 5a, 10a-

lla). The majority further held that “[t]he Supreme

Court did not search for ‘pretext’ in Turner; it asked

whether a rule is rationally related to a legitimate

goal. That’s an objective inquiry.” (App. 10a).

Three judges dissented. Judge Rovner, joined by

Judge Bauer, noted that:

With scarcely a reference to 7urner, today’s

opinion holds that a ban on face-to-face

interviews in the prison system is justified if a

judge can “imagine” a legitimate basis for its

existence, glosses over facts regarding the

application of the relevant policies, and

concludes with the astonishing proposition

that the government may limit a prisoner’s

access to the media based on its distaste for

the anticipated content of the prisoner’s

speech.

(App. 16a).

Judge Wood dissented separately. Among other

things, she noted that “the majority has. . . adoptled]

a rule permitting wholesale censorship in prisons —

one that goes much farther than anything the

11

Supreme Court sanctioned in Pell v. Procunier, 417

U.S. 817 (1974), or Saxbe v. Washington Post Co.,

417 U.S. 848 (1974).” (App. 24a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. This case raises a fundamental question of

First Amendment law on which the courts of appeals

are divided. In a 5-3-decision with far-reaching

consequences, the en banc court held that a federal

prisoner could not challenge the constitutionality of a

policy prohibiting him from having face-to-face

access to print or broadcast journalists, even if there

was evidence to show that the ban was adopted for

unconstitutional, content-based purposes.

Indeed, the evidence here was compelling:

Attorney General Ashcroft stated that the purpose of

the ban was to prohibit death row inmates from

communicating their ideas to the public, not because

of any reason related to prison security, but because

the Attorney General deemed such prisoners, and

any ideas they might express, to be repugnant and

unworthy of First Amendment protection. (App. 90a,

97a). That evidence was irrelevant, according to the

majority below, because respondents had provided

litigation declarations asserting that the ban served

a “legitimate penological interest.” That evidence

was also irrelevant, according to the majority below,

because a court could “imagine” a legitimate purpose

that might be furthered by the ban.

This Court has never held that the abridgement

of First Amendment rights may be justified by after-

the-fact or imagined reasons, or that the actual,

12

unconstitutional reasons for an abridgement of First

Amendment rights should be ignored.

Clearly, the decision below conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78

(1987). In addition, the decision below conflicts with

decisions of the Second, Third, Eighth, and Ninth

Circuits, all of which have held that the existence of

a “legitimate penological interest,” and thus the

constitutionality of restrictions placed on a prisoner’s

First Amendment rights, must be measured by

reasons that were put forth at the time the policy

was adopted. In those courts, unlike the Seventh

Circuit, First Amendment rights do not give way to

post-hoc, \et alone hypothetical, explanations. See

Salahuddin v. Goord, 467 F.3d 263, 276-77 (2d Cir.

2006); Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154 F.3d 128, 132-34 (3d

Cir. 1998); Quinn v. Nix, 983 F.2d 115, 118-19 (8th

Cir. 1993); Walker v. Sumner, 917 F.2d 382, 385-87

(9th Cir. 1990).

2. Although this Court has held that prison

restrictions on First Amendment rights are to be

evaluated under the four-part test articulated in

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), the Seventh

Circuit barely mentioned any of the Turner factors

and effectively created an analytical framework that

stands in competition with Jurner. The Seventh

Circuit’s decision did not even purport to address the

question whether THA-1480.05A “is reasonably

related to legitimate penological interests” under the

four-factor Turner test, and it never considered

whether the ban provided male federal death row

inmates with any reasonable alternative means for

13

communicating with the press. See Turner, 482 U.S.

at 89-90. Furthermore, the decision below

constitutes a dangerous innovation in First

Amendment law: no other reported decision has ever

upheld the constitutionality of a permanent

restriction on the First Amendment rights of a sub-

class of prisoners, particularly a sub-class identified

solely based on gender and sentence. Indeed, this

Court previously has expressed skepticism that a

permanent ban on the First Amendment rights of a

sub-class of prisoners could ever be deemed

“reasonable” under the Vurner criteria. Beard v.

Banks, 548 U.S. 521, 535-36 (2006); Overton v.

Bazzetta, 539 U.S. 126, 134 (2003). This case

squarely presents that question.

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With Prior

Decisions Of This Court, And With Decisions Of

Other Federal Courts Of Appeals, By Holding

That Zurner’ “Legitimate Penological Interest”

Requirement May Be Satisfied By Post-Hoc,

Litigation Declarations Or By #£Purely

Hypothetical Explanations, Even Where

Contemporaneous Statements Show That The

Restriction Was Adopted For Patently

Unconstitutional Reasons.

This Court has long recognized that “(lawful

incarceration brings about the necessary withdrawal

or limitation of many privileges and rights .

justified by the considerations underlying our penal

system.” O'Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482 U.S. 342,

348 (1987) (quoting Price v. Johnson, 334 U.S. 266,

285 (1948)). But this Court also has recognized that

14

there is no “iron curtain drawn between the

Constitution and the prisons of this country.” Wolff

v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 555-56 (1974).

Indeed, this Court has recognized that the ability

to share one’s ideas and opinions with others is a

fundamental right that is central to the concept of

human personhood and citizenship in a democratic

society. As Justice Brandeis noted long ago:

Those who won our independence

believed that freedom to think as you will and

to speak as you think are means indispensable

to the discovery and spread of political truth:

that without free speech and assembly

discussion would be futile: that with them,

discussion affords ordinarily adequate

protection against the dissemination of

noxious doctrine; that the greatest menace to

freedom is an inert people; that public

discussion is a political duty, and that this

should be a fundamental principle of American

government.

Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357, 375 (1927)

(Brandeis, J., concurring), overruled in part on other

grounds by Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444

(1969).

The right to communicate one’s thoughts — a

right that is no less important to those who have lost

their physical freedom — is not extinguished by

conviction and incarceration. Once the requirements

of prison security have been satisfied, “a prison

inmate retains those First Amendment rights that

15

are not inconsistent with his status as a prisoner or

with the legitimate penological objectives of the

corrections system.” Pel/ v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817,

822 (1974); see also Johnson v. California, 543 U.S.

499, 510 (2005). In that way, our law gives

recognition to the fundamental principle that

“persons are sent to prison as punishment, not for

punishment.” Battle v. Anderson, 564 F.2d 388, 395

(10th Cir. 1977); see also Mary Bosworth, The U.S.

Federal Prison System 53 (2004).

To reconcile the First Amendment rights of

prisoners with legitimate penological demands, this

Court, in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89-90 (1987),

announced a framework for evaluating’ the

constitutionality of prison regulations. In Turner,

the Court held that “when a prison regulation

impinges on inmates’ constitutional rights, the

regulation is valid if it is reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests.” /d. at 89. To

structure that inquiry, the Court adopted a four-

factor test, focused on: (1) whether there is “a valid,

rational connection between the prison regulation

and the legitimate governmental interest put

forward to justify it”; (2) whether “alternative means

of exercising the right . . . remain open to prison

inmates”; (3) whether accommodating the

constitutional right will significantly impact prison

resources; and (4) whether there are “ready

alternatives” that could address the penological

interest without infringing on constitutional rights.

Id. at 89-91.

16

In Turner, this Court did not specifically explain

how, in the context of Turners first requirement, the

requisite reasonable relationship between a

restriction and a legitimate penological purpose was

to be established. /d. at 89. In subsequent cases, the

Court likewise has not had occasion to consider

whether a “legitimate penological interest” must be

articulated at the time the policy is adopted. Thus,

while this Court has held that TVurner requires

courts to “accord substantial deference to the

professional judgment of prison administrators,”

Bazzetta, 539 U.S. at 132, the Court did not consider

whether such deference must be given to non-

contemporaneous explanations offered only in

litigation declarations authored by lawyers long after

the fact. Certainly, no case from this Court suggests

that a post-hoc explanation will be given conclusive

effect in the face of contemporaneous statements

which admit that the contested action was taken for

constitutionally impermissible reasons. Moreover,

relevant decisions from the courts of appeals have

categorically rejected that notion.

In addition, this Court has never suggested that

the Turner test will be satisfied whenever the

reviewing court can “imagine” a_ legitimate

penological interest. Indeed, the holding below

simply negates this Court’s decision in 7urner, which

assumed that the courts would inquire into the

adequacy of the real reasons for administrative

action, rather than some hypothetical reason that

might be conjured to justify the administrative

17

determination. That is not the standard by which

administrative action is evaluated.*

The Seventh Circuit held otherwise. The Seventh

Circuit noted that Mr. Hammer had presented

evidence (including the Attorney General’s

contemporaneous explanation for his actions) to

show that “those who adopted or approved THA

1480.05A took content or viewpoint into account”

* this Court often has had occasion to hold that administrative

determinations may be upheld only on grounds that the agency

actually relied on at the time it acted, and that the propriety of

an agency’s action must be evaluated based on a properly

developed administrative record. SEC v. Chenery Corp., 318

U.S. 80, 95 (1943) (“Chenery I); SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332

U.S. 194, 196 (1947) (“Chenery IJ’); Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n

of the U.S., Inc. v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29,

50°52 (1983). “It will not do for a court to be compelled to guess

at the theory underlying the agency’s action; nor can a court be

expected to chisel that which must be precise from what the

agency has left vague and indecisive.” Chenery //, 332 US. at

196-97.

A reviewing court “must judge the propriety of such action

solely by the grounds invoked by the agency lat the time it

acted]. If those grounds are inadequate or improper, the court

is powerless to affirm the administrative action by substituting

what it considers to be a more adequate or proper basis.” /d. at

196; accord Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe,

401 U.S. 402, 416, 419-20 (1971). Contrary to the decision

below, untested, post-hoc litigation affidavits cannot fill that

void, particularly where, as here, the affidavits directly

contradict the rationale given by the decision-maker at the time

he acted. See Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 419; Burlington Truck

Lines, Inc. v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 168-69 (1962);

Chenery /, 318 U.S. at 87.

18

when they adopted the permanent ban. (App. 7a, 8a-

9a). According to the Seventh Circuit, however, a

contemporaneous admission of an unconstitutional

purpose was not relevant to Jurners’ “legitimate

penological interest” requirement, so long as the

court record contained a post-hoc litigation

declaration asserting that the challenged action

furthered some legitimate penological interest. (App.

10a-lla). Indeed, the Seventh Circuit held that a

court could enter summary judgment so long as it

could hypothesize a plausible permissible penological

interest, even where a patently unconstitutional,

contemporaneous explanation had been given. (App.

5a, 10a-lla). The Seventh Circuit majority stated:

“It is not clear why one bad motive would spoil a rule

that is adequately supported by good reasons.” (App.

10a).

The Seventh Circuit’s decision clearly conflicts

with decisions of the Second, Third, Eighth, and

Ninth Circuits, which have held that the only

relevant “penological interest” is that which actual/y

motivated the policy’s adoption.

In Salahuddin v. Goord, 467 F.3d 263 (2d Cir.

2006), the Second Circuit reversed a district court’s

dismissal, on summary judgment, of a prisoner's

challenge to a rule requiring Sunni and Shi'ite

Muslim inmates to participate in joint Ramadan

services, as well as the dismissal of his claim that he

was denied the opportunity to participate in Islamic

holiday services while placed in_ disciplinary

keeplock. The Second Circuit held that “[ulnder both

Turner and O'’Lone, once a prisoner shows that a

19

prison regulation impinges on a protected right,

prison officials must show that the disputed official

conduct was motivated by a legitimate penological

interest.” Salahuddin, 467 F.3d at 276-77. According

to the Second Circuit, Turners “legitimate

penological interest” standard ‘“requires’ the

government to close the circle — prison officials

must have been pursuing the interest in inmate

safety when limiting” First Amendment rights. /d.

at 277. “This requirement makes good sense because

it ensures that prison officials actually had, not just

could have had, a legitimate reason for burdening

protected activity.” Jd.

In Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154 F.3d 128 (3d Cir.

1998), the Third Circuit ordered the district court to

issue a preliminary injunction enjoining enforcement

of a policy that prohibited inmates from running

businesses after the policy was challenged by a death

row inmate who was publishing articles, books, and

radio commentaries. In that case, as here, the

inmate had presented evidence to show that the

“(t]he Department [of Corrections] began its

investigation [into the inmate’s press

communications] under public pressure to do so, and

because of the content of [his] writing,” and that the

decision to enforce the policy against him was

“motivated, at least in part, by the content of his

articles.” Abu-~Jamai/, 154 F.3d at 134. Based on this

evidence of an improper purpose, the Third Circuit

held that the policy did not satisfy Turners

“legitimate penological interest” requirement. /d. at

134, 137.

20

In Quinn v. Nix, 983 F.2d 115 (8th Cir. 1993), the

Eighth Circuit likewise held that a “pretextual” post-

hoc articulation of security concerns could not satisfy

Turner, because “[p]rison officials are not entitled to

the deference described in Turner and Procunier [v.

Martinez, 416 U.S. 396, 404-05 (1974)] if their

actions are not actually motivated by legitimate

penological interests at the time they act.” Quuznn,

983 F.2d at 118 (emphasis added).

Finally, in Walker v. Sumner, 917 F.2d 382 (9th

Cir. 1990), the Ninth Circuit held that “{plrison

officials must ‘put forward’ a __ legitimate

governmental interest to justify their regulation, and

must provide evidence that the interest proffered is

the reason why the regulation was adopted or

enforced.” Jd. at 385-86 (internal citations omitted).

Post-hoc declarations created for litigation were not

sufficient to satisfy Turner. “Prison authorities

cannot rely on general or conclusory assertions to

support their policies. Rather, they must first

identify the specific penological interests involved

and then demonstrate both that those specific

interests are the actual bases for their policies and

that the policies are reasonably related to the

furtherance of the identified interests.” Jd. at 386.

The Seventh Circuit’s holding directly conflicts

with these decisions, as Judge Rovner recognized:

With scarcely a reference to Turner, today’s

opinion holds that a ban on face-to-face

interviews in the prison system is justified if a

judge can “imagine” a legitimate basis for its

existence, glosses over facts regarding the

21

application of the relevant policies, and

concludes with the astonishing proposition

that the government may limit a prisoner’s

access to the media based on its distaste for

the anticipated content of the prisoner's

speech. The en banc opinion thus authorizes

the government to deny the public a chance to

hear directly from prisoners who can offer a

glimpse of situations that may embarrass the

government, such as torture and prisoner

abuse, by invoking pretextual justifications for

policies that are unrelated to security.

(App. 16a).

There is no constitutional right more precious in a

democratic society than the right to speak, convey

information about the workings of government, and

communicate one’s ideas, whatever they may be.

Equally important is the right to receive information

and to hear what others have to say about matters of

public concern. In our day, much public attention

has been given to the administration of the death

penalty and to the proper treatment of prisoners.

Indeed, these matters have been the subject of acute

public attentic.: and vigorous debate. In this

context, the ban ordered by Attorney General

Ashcroft does not simply abridge the First

Amendment rights of those with special knowledge

and a particular viewpoint, it impedes the right of all

of us to hear what those individuals know and think.

Judge Wood illustrated this point with a vivid

example:

22

It is likely that the military authorities

running the infamous Abu Ghraib prison

would not have wanted the inmates talking to

the media, either about their own experience

or those of their fellow prisoners (some of

whom may have been too injured, or too

intimidated, to speak for themselves). Closer

to home, the sad but true fact is that abuse by

prison guards or police has not been entirely

abolished. One prisoner might want to write

letters that are self-aggrandizing, just as the

authorities feared, but another might want to

alert the media to the fact that human rights

abuses were occurring in a place like the

Special Confinement Unit.

(App. 28a).

The rights to speak and hear are too important in

themselves, and play too important a role in the

workings of a democratic society, to be extinguished

by executive fiat simply because the Attorney

General, no matter how wise or well-meaning, finds

communications from a subset of federal prisoners to

be personally repugnant. Justice Jackson identified

the genius of our governmental system, and its

relationship to First Amendment freedoms, when he

wrote: “If there is any fixed star in our

constitutional constellation, it is that no official, high

or petty, can prescribe what shall be orthodox in

politics, nationalism, religion or other matters of

opinion.” West Virginia State Bd. of Educ. v.

Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 642 (1943).

23

Mr. Hammer may have been convicted of serious

crimes, but he retains the right to speak, subject to

the legitimate demands of prison security. And the

rest of us, subject to those demands, have the right to

hear what Mr. Hammer has to say. Neither the

Attorney General nor the court below paid sufficient

attention to that basic fact of democratic

government, and the decision below requires review

for that reason.

Il. The Decision Below Departs From This Court’s

Prior Holdings By Disregarding TYurner And

Upholding The Constitutionality Of A Permanent

Restriction On The First Amendment Rights Of A

Sub-Class Of Prisoners.

This Court has repeatedly held that Turners

four-factor analysis “contain[s] the basic substantive

legal standard[s]” and is the proper inquiry for

evaluating constitutional challenges to prison

regulations. Banks, 548 U.S. at 528-29; Bazzetta,

539 U.S. at 132; Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401,

404, 413-14 (1989); O'Lone, 482 U.S. at 348-50. The

decision below warrants review for the additional

reason that the Seventh Circuit simply disregarded

Turner and its progeny, and chose to create its own

standard for reviewing the constitutionality of prison

restrictions.

Instead of assessing Mr. Hammer’s claims under

the Yurner framework, the court below used the

opinions in two older cases — Pell v. Procunier, 417

U.S. 817 (1974), and Saxbe v. Washington Post Co.,

24

417 U.S. 843 (1974) — to fashion an alternative test.

(App. la-2a, 4a-7a, 13a-14a).

Obviously, it is not the business of an

intermediate appellate court to improve on this

Court’s jurisprudence. Even if it were, the court

below erred because neither Pel/ nor Washington

Post would support upholding THA-1480.05A.

Unlike the policy upheld in this case, the press

restrictions in Pel] and Washington Post applied

equally to all inmates in their respective prison

systems. Pell, 417 U.S. at 819; Washington Post, 417

U.S. at 844. In addition, and also unlike the case at

bar, it was undisputed in both Pel/ and Washington

Post that the restrictive policies were actually

motivated by legitimate “security” concerns. Fell,

417 U.S. at 826; Washington Post, 417 U.S. at 848-

49.

Moreover, neither policy restricted an inmate’s

ability to communicate with the press through

written correspondence (Pe//, 417 U.S. at 824, 827-

28; Washington Post, 417 U.S. at 847-48), whereas

Mr. Hammer has_ been_ prohibited from

communicating to the press “any information about

another inmate through any manner. of

communication (oral, written, etc.).” (7th Cir. JA at

172). As Judge Wood stated in dissent:

[Nleither Pel/ nor Washington Post approved a

total ban on contact with the media. To the

contrary, Fel] relied on the existence of

“alternative methods of communication that

are open to prison inmates,” 417 U.S. at 504,

and Washington Post made clear that

25

“members of the press are accorded

substantial access to the federal prisons in

order to observe and report the conditions they

find there,” 417 U.S. at 518. Washington Post

mentioned specifically the fact that “[olutgoing

correspondence from inmates’ to _ press

representatives is neither censored nor

inspected.” Jd. To the extent that the

majority’s opinion has swept away the need to

show adequate alternative avenues for

communication [under Turner’ second factor],

it has, in my view, overstepped an important

boundary that the Court has drawn.

(App. 29a). Unlike Pell and Washington Post, Mr.

Hammer presented evidence creating a _ triable

question as to whether any “reasonable alternatives”

existed for him to communicate with the press

regarding his case or his observations of prison

conditions — both being subjects that he was

prohibited from discussing in amy manner because of

the ban on communications regarding fellow

inmates. (App. 110a; 7th Cir. JA at 172).

The court below also erred in holding that this

Court’s decisions in Pel/ and Washington Post can be

extended to justify First Amendment restrictions

applied only to a sub-class of prisoners — especially

a sub-class defined solely by gender and sentence.

While Pel/ and Washington Post may permit prison

officials to bar all inmates equally from face-to-face

communication with the media, the Constitution

does not permit prison officials to grant the right to

communicate with the press selectively, or to deny

26

face-to-face communication with the press to a

disfavored group. See Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S.

263, 267-68 (1981) (“The Constitution forbids [the

government] to enforce certain exclusions from a

forum generally open to the public, even if it was not

required to create the forum in the first place”);

R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377, 391-92

(1992) (holding that government’s power to proscribe

“fighting words” generally does not include power to

punish only “fighting words” directed at particular

disfavored topics).

While real differences between male and female

death row inmates (or between death row inmates

and inmates convicted of similar crimes but not

sentenced to death) might necessitate some

differences in their conditions of confinement, it is

not clear how those differences could ever be relevant

to adopting, let alone justifying, differential

treatment under the First Amendment. “Freedom of

expression, and its intersection with the guarantee of

equal protection, would rest on a soft foundation

indeed if government could distinguish among

[groups] on such a wholesale and categorical basis.”

Police Dep’t of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 101

(1972). This Court has recognized that “invidious

distinctions [in the allocation of cor.stitutional rights]

cannot be enacted without a violation of the Equal

Protection Clause.” Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23,

30 (1968). Restricting only male federal death row

inmates from face-to-face interviews with both print

and electronic media (while allowing such access to

all other federal prisoners, including female federal

27

death row inmates) fails even rational-basis analysis

under Yurners first criteria that a restriction be

“reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” 482 U.S. at 89.

The permanent nature of the Attorney General’s

ban also offends the Constitution. Indeed, neither

this Court nor any other court has approved a

permanent restriction on First Amendment rights

that applies only to a sub-class of prisoners, let alone

a sub-class defined entirely by gender and sentence.

This Court has upheld prison restrictions on First

Amendment rights in two contexts. First, the Court

has upheld “permanent” restrictions that apply

equally and neutrally to an entire prison population.

See Abbott, 490 U.S. at 409-10, 415-16; Turner, 482

U.S. at 81, 89-90; O’Lone, 482 U.S. at 350-52; Pell

417 U.S. at 828; Bel] v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 551

(1979). Second, this Court has upheld temporary

restrictions on First Amendment rights applied to a

sub-class of recalcitrant inmates as a disciplinary

sanction. See Bazzetta, 539 U.S. at 134; Banks, 548

U.S. at 535-36. No reported case, however, has

upheld a permanent prison restriction on First

Amendment rights applied only to a sub-class of

prisoners based on gender and sentence.

Under 28 C.F.R. § 540.63, a federal prisoner will

be permitted to participate in a face-to-face press

interview unless his warden determines, after a case-

specific inquiry, that permitting the interview would

endanger the safety of the interviewer or “would

probably cause serious unrest or disturb the good

order of the institution.” 28 C.F.R. § 540.63(g)(4)

28

(emphasis added) (App. 82a). Female federal death

row prisoners, prisoners housed in the SCU with

death row prisoners because of individualized

security concerns, and all other non-death row

prisoners are entitled to have press interview

requests evaluated by their respective wardens, on a

case-by-case basis, under the test set forth in 28

C.F.R. § 540.63. (App. 81a-84a).

In the case of male death row prisoners, however,

no such case-by-case analysis is available, and the

warden has no duty to make the reasoned decision

required by 28 C.F.R. § 540.63. Instead, male

inmates sentenced to death are categorically

prohibited from having face-to-face press interviews

by THA-1480.05A. (App. 105a).

This Court has previously expressed skepticism

that a permanent restriction on the _ First

Amendment rights of a sub-class of prisoners could

ever satisfy the Turner standard. In Bazzetta, 539

U.S. at 134, the Court stated:

We agree the restriction is severe. And if

faced with evidence that [the] regulation is

treated as a de facto permanent ban on all

visitation for certain inmates, we might reach

a different conclusion in a challenge to a

particular application of the regulation. Those

issues are not presented in this case... .

539 U.S. at 134; see also Banks, 548 U.S. at 536.

Here, of course, those issues are squarely

presented. The Seventh Circuit went well beyond

this Court’s jurisprudence by upholding a ban on

29

First Amendment rights that was both “severe” and

“permanent” and applied only to “certain inmates.”

It is not surprising that the Seventh Circuit declined

to evaluate the ban at issue in this case under the

Turner framework. ‘The reason is clear: it is

inconceivable that the First Amendment restrictions

imposed by THA-1480.05A could ever pass muster

under Turner and its progeny. This case warrants

review for that reason as well.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerold S. Solovy Barry Sullivan

Counsel of Record Cooney & Conway Chair in Advocacy

John R. Storino and Professor of Law

Chad E. Bell LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO

JENNER & BLOCK LLP 25 East Pearson Street

353 N. Clark Street Chicago, Illinois 6061 1

Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 915-7787

(312) 222-9350

Attorneys for Petitioner

October 23, 2009

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A

United States Court of Appeals,

Seventh Circuit

DAVID PAUL HAMMER, Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

JOHN D. ASHCROFT, et al., Defendants-Appellees.

No. 06-1750

ARGUED SEPTEMBER 10, 2008—

DECIDED JUNE 285, 2009

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Indiana, Indianapolis Division.

No. IP 01-0558-C-T/G—John Daniel Tinder, Judge.

Before EASTERBROOK, Chief Judge, and BAUER,

POSNER, KANNE, ROVNER, WOOD, EVANS, and

SYKES, Circuit Judges.t

EASTERBROOK, Chief Judge. “[Nlewsmen have no

constitutional right of access to prisons or their

inmates beyond that afforded to the general public.”

Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817, 834 (1974). The

Supreme Court applied that principle in Saxbe v.

Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843 (1974), when

holding that the Federal Bureau of Prisons did not

violate tiie Constitution by preventing face-to-face

interviews between reporters and inmates.

* Circuit Judges Flaum, Williams, and Tinder did not

participate in the consideration or decision of this appeal.

2a

In the years after Washington Post the Bureau

authorized some in-prison interviews. By the late

1990s reporters could talk to prisoners throughout

the federal system. See Program Statement 1480.05

(News Media Contacts) (promulgated Sept. 21, 2000,

and in force since). That changed in 2001, however,

for inmates housed in some of the Bureau’s most-

secure locations—including the “Special Confinement

Unit” at the prison in Terre Haute, Indiana, which

houses most federal prisoners under sentence of

death, plus some others in administrative detention

for disciplinary or security reasons.

Program statements generally applicable to federal

prisons may be modified by institution-specific

supplements. See Program Statement 1480.05(13)

(applying this exception-making power to media

contacts in particular). The Warden of Terre Haute

proposed, and the Bureau’s Director approved,

Institution Supplement THA 1480.05A, which bans

person-to-person meetings between reporters and

inmates of the Special Confinement Unit, though it

allows phone calls and correspondence. (The current

revision, THA 1480.05B, contains the same rule; for

simplicity we refer only to THA 1480.05A.) Phone

calls with reporters are subject to Program

Statement 1480.05(7)(d), which provides that “[a]

representative of the news media may not obtain and

use personal information from one inmate about

another inmate who refuses to be interviewed.”

Correspondence is unlimited; an inmate’s letters to

reporters are not subject to inspection or censorship.

3a

“All properly identified and labeled correspondence

from an inmate who is not on restricted mail status

to qualifying representatives of the news media shall

be sealed and forwarded without inspection, directly

and promptly.” Program Statement 5265.11(17)(a)

(July 9, 1999).

David Paul Hammer, who was sentenced to death for

killing another federal prisoner, contends in this suit

under Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal Narcotics

Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), that he is entitled to

money damages from former Attorney General

Ashcroft and other public officials who drafted or

approved THA 1480.05A. Relying on Fel/ and

Washington Fost, the district court’ granted

summary judgment for the defendants. 2006 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 9306 (S.D. Ind. Feb. 23, 2006). A panel

of this court reversed, 512 F.3d 961 (7th Cir. 2008),

and that decision was vacated in turn by the order

granting defendants’ petition for rehearing en banc.

Hammer's’ attempt to obtain damages _ has

complicated matters. The validity of federal

administrative rules usually is resolved in actions

under the Administrative Procedure Act seeking

prospective relief, not in suits for money against

officials whose positions and roles generally entitle

them to qualified if not absolute immunity. A district

judge held the policy valid, after all. Although the

panel thought that, on an enlarged record, Hammer

might yet prevail, “liJf judges . . . disagree on a

constitutional question, it is unfair to subject [public

officials] to money damages for picking the losing

4a

side of the controversy.” Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S.

603, 618 (1999). Accord, Pearson v. Callahan, 129 S.

Ct. 808, 823 (2009). Indeed, a Bivens action is

improper when statutes specify how administrative

deeds are reviewed. See Wilkie v. Robbins, 127 8S. Ct.

2588, 2597-2605 (2007). But because we agree with

the district court that THA 1480.05A is valid, we

sidestep the complications introduced by Hammer’s

quest for damages. (Hammer’s death sentence was

set aside in 2005, United States v. Hammer, 404 F.

Supp. 2d 676 (M.D. Pa. 2005), but he remains in the

Special Confinement Unit pending appeal, now

under advisement in the Third Circuit, and so has an

ongoing interest in the rule’s constitutionality. His

other sentences exceed 1,200 years’ imprisonment, so

release is not imminent.)

Pell v. Procunier and Saxbe v. Washington Post

establish that the Bureau of Prisons could enforce a

system-wide rule against personal or _ video

interviews between. prisoners and _ reporters.

Hammer contends, however, that by curtailing press

access to some prisoners but not others, the Bureau

offends the equal-protection component of the due

process clause in the Constitution’s fifth amendment.

Yet it is hard to understand why all prisoners should

be treated the same. Some are in minimumz-security

prisons and others in more secure confinement; no

one thinks these differences unconstitutional. The

Justices observed in Pel/ and Washington Post that

the principal reason for limiting press contacts is the

maintenance of security; this implies that the greater

the need for security at a given prison (or unit within

da

a prison), the easier it is to justify limits on meetings

between reporters and prisoners. By the time the

Court decided Washington Fost, the Bureau of

Prisons had begun to allow reporters to interview

inmates of minimum-security prisons. See 417 U.S.

at 844 & n.2. The Justices did not perceive any

problem in this distinction. It is easier to justify

limiting press contacts at the few places holding the

most incorrigible prisoners (USP Florence and the

Special Confinement Unit at Terre Haute) than at all

medium- and maximum-security prisons.

Hammer’s argument amounts to a contention that,

once a prison system starts to allow access more

liberally, it must go all the way; any intermediate

position violates equal-protection principles. That

understanding is inconsistent with many established

doctrines. For example, thirty years ago a court held

that Congress had violated equal-protection limits by

subjecting members of the diplomatic service, but not

other federal workers, to mandatory retirement. The

Justices held, however, that it is possible to draw

such lines as long as a rational basis for them may be

imagined; the basis need not be supported in the

record. Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93 (1979). Just as

it was possible to imagine a rational basis for

distinguishing diplomats from postal carriers, so it is

possible to imagine a_e rational basis for

distinguishing the nation’s most secure institutions

from others. Indeed, to state the distinction is to

furnish the justification: security.

6a

The security justification that carried the day in Pe//

and Washington Post was that interviews with the

press make celebrities of some inmates. This

increases tensions within prisons (those who don’t

receive public attention may react with envy); and if

some inmates use the press to disparage others (or

their beliefs, or the organizations to which they

belong), the tensions will be greater. More: the

interviewed prisoners get swelled heads and “tend to

become the source of substantial disciplinary

problems that can engulf a large portion of the

population at a prison.” Washington Post, 417 U.S.

at 848-49. Prisons for tax evaders and credit-card

forgers may tolerate such tensions; prisons for killers

are more explosive, and the need to prevent lighting

the fuse to the powder keg is compelling.

Hammer maintains that prisons must use the least-

restrictive available options and that the Bureau’s

experience since Washington Post shows that the

risks associated with interviews are manageable.

This line of argument marks a transition from equal

protection to the first amendment, for it incorporates

elements of both bodies of doctrine. But this, too, is a

tired theme. It has been made in several cases

dealing with press interviews and correspondence

among prisoners, and the Justices have rejected it.

See, e.g., Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401, 409—

14 (1989); cf. Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S. 223 (2001).

The question is not whether prisons could find ways

to accommodate one or another change. It is whether

the rule that the prison chooses to implement is

“reasonably related to legitimate security interests.”

7a

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 91 (1987). And the

Court has held in Pel/ and Washington Post that a

no-interview policy is “reasonably related to

legitimate security interests.” The Justices added

that an attempt to be “less restrictive” by making

individual decisions could undermine security: “such

a selective policy would spawn serious discipline and

morale problems of its own by engendering hostility

and resentment among inmates who were refused

interview privileges granted to their fellows.”

Washington Post, 417 U.S. at 849.

Hammer maintains, however, that the Bureau has

engaged in content or viewpoint discrimination by

silencing inmates on death row. This may well be

true of a selective (or “less restrictive”) approach;

wardens who allow some prisoners but not others to

invite the press into their cells might well take

account of what they expect the inmates to say or the

reporters to relate to the public. But a blanket ban—

no inmate in a given prison or unit may meet face-to-

face with any reporter—is neutral with respect to

both content and viewpoint. This is one reason why

the Justices approved the policies at issue in Pe// and

Washington Post, giving the exception-free quality of

the policies as proof that the decisions were not

based on content. See Pel/ 417 U.S. at 825-26.

Perhaps Hammer’s point is not that the ru/e employs

content or viewpoint as a ground of decision, but that

those who adopted or approved THA 1480.05A took

content or viewpoint into account when deciding to

change the rules for some federal prisoners but not

8a

others. This line of argument starts with the fact

that reporters freely interviewed inmates of the

Special Confinement Unit, including Hammer

himself, for the first nine months of the Unit’s

existence—until shortly after an interview with

Timothy McVeigh was broadcast by CBS on “60

Minutes” in March 2000. (The Special Confinement

Unit was established in July 1999; Hammer and

McVeigh were among its first inmates.) McVeigh had

been sentenced to death for killing 168 people by

bombing the Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma

City. He used the forum of national TV to justify and

extol terrorism. Shortly after the interview was

broadcast, Byron Dorgan, who represents North

Dakota in the Senate, wrote to Kathleen Hawk-

Sawyer, Director of the Bureau of Prisons,

complaining about the interview. Senator Dorgan

stated, among other things:

The American people have a right to expect

that the incarceration of a convicted killer

will not only remove him physically from

society, but will also prevent him from

further intrusion in our lives’ through

television interviews and from using those

forums to advance his agenda of violence.

About a month after Senator Dorgan sent that letter,

Attorney General Ashcroft and Director Hawk-

Sawyer announced arrangements for closed-circuit

telecasting of McVeigh’s execution and took some

questions. Ashcroft also announced that the Bureau

would replace its case-by-case evaluation system

with a prohibition on in-person interviews of inmates

9a

at the Special Confinement Unit. Hammer finds

telling these statements:

I am aware that several media outlets have

requested access to interview inmate

McVeigh. As an American who cares about

our culture, I want to restrict a mass

murderer’s access to the public podium. On

an issue of particular importance to me as

Attorney General of the United States, I do

not want anyone to be able to purchase

access to the podium of America with the

blood of 168 innocent victims.

I’m concerned about irresponsible

glamorization of a culture of violence, and

that concern has shaped our approach to

these issues profoundly.

On April 15, 2001, three days after the press

conference, Harley Lappin, the Warden of Terre

Haute, issued Institution Supplement THA

1480.05A.

Hammer wants discovery during which former

Attorney General Ashcroft, former Director Hawk-

Sawyer, and former Warden Lappin must explain

under oath why they adopted the policy in question.

If a belief that terrorists should not be able to obtain

publicity by committing murder played a role in the

decision, Hammer contends, the motivation for the

policy is infirm, and the policy itself would fall with

the bad motive.

10a

It is not clear why one bad motive would spoil a rule

that is adequately supported by good reasons. See

Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 394-95 (1983). The

Supreme Court did not search for “pretext” in

Turner; it asked instead whether a rule is rationally

related to a legitimate goal. That’s an objective

inquiry. If motive matters, why examine the

thoughts of those who adopted the rule to the

exclusion of those who have maintained it in force?—

Attorney General Gonzales, Solicitor General

Clement (who authorized the petition for rehearing

en banc), Attorney General Mukasey (who was in

office when the Department of Justice defended the

policy before the en banc court), and Attorney

General Holder, who could revoke THA 1480.05A

with one sentence plus a signature but has not done

so. (There is no special burden to justify a change of

administrative policy. See FCC v. Fox Television

Stations, Inc., 129 S. Ct. 1800, 1810-11 & n.2

(2009).)

Nor do we see how a demand that a Cabinet officer

give testimony about his thinking could be squared

with United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409 (1941),

and PBGC v. LTV Corp., 496 U.S. 633 (1990). These

decisions hold that courts evaluating the validity of

an administrative action may not enlarge the

administrative record by demanding that the people

who proposed or approved the rule testify about their

thinking. See also Richard J. Pierce, Jr., I

Administrative Law Treatise § 8.6 (2002).

lla

For current purposes, however, we assume that

Attorney General Ashcroft’s successors share his

views. There’s nothing unconstitutional about them,

so we need not decide whether they led to the policy’s

adoption and maintenance, how motivation could be

proved consistent with Morgan, or what role it plays

in evaluating a policy’s validity. Opposing a “culture

of violence” is an ordinary, and desirable, goal for a

criminal prosecutor. Attorney General Ashcroft’s

statements combine the idea that criminals should

not be allowed to benefit from their deeds (see Simon

& Schuster, Inc. v. New York Crime Victims Board,

502 U.S. 105 (1991) (a state may apply all of a

criminal’s income, including royalties from books, to

satisfy restitution awards, though it can’t pick and

choose among books)) with variations of propositions

that can be found in Pell and Washington Post.

One of the reasons that state and federal prison

administrators gave for curtailing press access was

that they did not want people to become celebrities

by committing crimes. The Justices thought this a

good basis to curtail press access, not a

constitutionally infirm one. See Washington Post,

417 U.S. at 848-50. This is a reason why prisoners

are separated from society: Most prisons are remote,

and access to them tightly controlled, not simply to

make escape difficult, but because solitude is a

legitimate part of punishment. Becoming a celebrity

makes crime more attractive—and if not so

attractive as to outweigh the costs of prison, still

anything that reduces the (effective) punishment for

crime is of legitimate concern to Attorneys General

12a

and prison officials. For murderers on death row or

serving life sentences, celebrity is especially

attractive, as these persons do not expect to return to

the civilian world. They will receive few other

rewards in life.

Some criminal acts are both costly to society and

potentially attractive to imitators; the most notorious

criminals can be trend-setters. Timothy McVeigh

was such a person. He had a following, and one of his

admirers was recently convicted of threatening to

blow up a federal building in Milwaukee. See United

States v. Parr, 545 F.3d 491 (7th Cir. 2008). Other

“cause” criminals want to recruit; think of those who

blow up abortion clinics and kill physicians. Social

interests in curtailing and punishing crime support

keeping these prisoners in seclusion. No one

doubts—at least, no one should doubt—that a person

serving time for tax evasion may be prevented from

using the prison print shop to run off tracts

advocating the proposition that the _ sixteenth

amendment is invalid and no one need pay a penny

of taxes. See United States v. Benson, 561 F.3d 718

(7th Cir. 2009) (affirming an injunction that prevents

a convicted tax evader from selling a “16th

Amendment Reliance Package” that purports to give

other tax protesters a means to avoid both payment

and criminal liability). If what Attorney General

Ashcroft said in April 2001 evinces’ an

unconstitutional motive, much of what this court

wrote in Benson suffers from the same failing.

l3a

Naturally, Hammer insists that he is no McVeigh

and would not use the press to promote murder. He

wants to speak instead about prison conditions, his

current professed respect for life, and what he sees

as misconduct by guards and wardens. A system of

rules that permitted prison administrators to conceal

beatings or starvation of prisoners, violations of

statutes and regulations, and other misconduct

would be intolerable. The Court said as much in Pe//

and Washington Fost. It was important to both

decisions that all prisoners could correspond freely

with reporters, even though face-to-face interviews

were impossible. See fell, 417 U.S. at 824-28;

Washington Post, 417 U.S. at 847-48. Hammer sees

this as an opening, because (he says) the Bureau of

Prisons does not allow any uncensored channel of

communication to the press.

This line of argument relies on Program Statement

1480.05(7)(d), which we quoted at the outset of this

opinion. It provides: “A representative of the news

media may not obtain and use personal information

from one inmate about another inmate who refuses

to be interviewed.” As far as we can tell, this rule

applies to interviews (in person or by telephone) but

not to correspondence. Program Statement

5265.11(17)(a), which sets out the rules for written

exchanges, says that “[a]ll properly identified and

labeled correspondence from an inmate who is not on

restricted mail status to qualifying representatives of

the news media shall be sealed and forwarded

without inspection, directly and promptly.” That’s

exactly the sort oof uncensored outgoing

l4a

correspondence that the Court deemed adequate in

Pell and Washington Post. (Hammer does not

contend that persons held in the _ Special

Confinement Unit are “on restricted mail status” or

that the prison has ever red-penciled any letter he

sent to a reporter.) The limit on information about

other inmates deals only with oral interviews. And if

Hammer were to prevail in this suit, he would not be

rid of Program Statement 1480.05(7)(d), for it covers

in-person and televised interviews as well as phone

interviews.

To the extent that Hammer may be contesting the

validity of Program Statement 1480.05(7)(d) as

applied to phone calls with the press (the only way it

affects him), he has not’ established any

constitutional problem. The restriction is a rational

one, for reasons covered in Fel/ and Washington

Post. Telling tales about fellow inmates may make

them angry (if the tales are defamatory) or may

make yet other inmates envious (if the tales are

flattering). In either event, disorder may follow. As

the district court put it, “insults or provocations, real

or imagined, can result in inmate-on-inmate violence

and thus can have dire consequences for inmates,

penitentiary staff, and the public at large.” 2006 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 9306 at *11-*12. Defamation is less

likely if the other inmate agrees to talk to the press;

Hammer may discuss such inmates by phone with

reporters. And if, to take the worst case, another

inmate is beaten and unable to talk, Hammer

remains free to send a letter informing a reporter

about that event. Pel// and Washington Post held that

15a

free correspondence supplies the needed channel of

communication; Hammer has that plus 15 minutes of

telephone time a day.

Correspondence is not the only way to expose

misconduct by guards and administrators. Prisoners

are free to file lawsuits, and papers sent to courts (or

lawyers) cannot be censored. See Bounds v. Smith,

430 U.S. 817 (1977); Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S.

396 (1974). So the limit in Program Statement

1480.05(7)(d) is not going to conceal any misconduct

in which the public has a legitimate interest.

Institution Supplement THA 1480.05A is consistent

with the Constitution, and the judgment of the

district court is

AFFIRMED.

ROVNER, Circuit Judge, with whom Judge Bauer

joins, dissenting. The original panel’s opinion was

firmly rooted in the Supreme Court’s long-standing

rule that a prison regulation infringing on an

inmate’s constitutional rights is valid only if “it is

reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987).

When a prisoner challenges a prison policy on

constitutional grounds, the government must put

forward a “legitimate” government interest to justify

the restriction. Jd. Suppressing speech because

government officials find the content offensive is not

a legitimate penological interest. /d. at 90. The

original panel concluded that David Paul Hammer

presented evidence that created a question of

16a

material fact that the district court overlooked: is the

jailhouse-celebrity concern articulated by the warden

“legitimate,” or is it simply a convenient explanation

to justify a policy designed to control the speech

content of a particular subset of prisoners? Given the

fact dispute, the original panel reached the limited—

indeed, even pedestrian—conclusion that a trier of

fact must resolve the conflict.

Today’s en banc opinion is almost entirely unmoored

from the original panel’s narrow treatment of the

issues presented in this appeal. With scarcely a

reference to Turner, today’s opinion holds that a ban

on face-to-face interviews in the prison system is

justified if a judge can “imagine” a legitimate basis

for its existence, glosses over facts regarding the

application of the relevant policies, and concludes

with the astonishing proposition that the

government may limit a prisoner’s access to the

media based on its distaste for the anticipated

content of the prisoner’s speech. The en banc opinion

thus authorizes the government to deny the public a

chance to hear directly from prisoners who can offer

a glimpse of situations that may embarrass the

government, such as torture and prisoner abuse, by

invoking pretextual justifications for policies that are

unrelated to security. For the reasons set forth in the

original pancl’s opinion, I dissent. I write separately

only to memorialize my additional disagreement

with the unexpected breadth of the en banc opinion.

Let me begin with the most troubling aspect of

today’s opinion: the majority’s willingness to push

17a

aside Attorney General Ashcroft’s statement that “as

an American who cares about our culture” and is

“concerned about the irresponsible glamorization of a

culture of violence,” he wanted to prevent death-row

inmates, and only death-row inmates, from engaging

in face-to-face interviews with the media on any

subject. This rationale for censorship assumes that

what death-row inmates have to say, if broadcast

outside the prison, necessarily corrodes American

culture. But First Amendment jurisprudence is

grounded in the idea that the government may not

prevent a person, including a prisoner, from

speaking merely because it disapproves of the

speaker or what the speaker might say. See, e.g,

R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, 505 U.S. 377, 382 (1992)

(noting that “content-based restrictions are

presumptively invalid”); Turner, 482 U.S. at 90

(stating that prison regulations that infringe on

inmates’ First Amendment rights must operate “in a

neutral fashion, without regard to the content of the

expression”); Regan v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641, 648-

49 (1984) (“Regulations that permit the Government

to discriminate on the basis of the content of the

message cannot be tolerated under the First

Amendment.”). Indeed, this court has recognized

that the government may not pass_ speech

restrictions in an effort to preserve its own notions of

valued American culture:

Racial bigotry, anti-semitism, violence on

television, reporters’ biases-these and many

more influence the culture and shape our

socialization. None is directly answerable by

18a

more speech, unless that speech too finds its

place in the popular culture. Yet all is

protected as speech, however insidious. Any

other answer leaves the government in

control of all of the institutions of culture, the

great censor and director of which thoughts

are good for us.

See American Booksellers Assn, Inc. v. Hudnut, 771

F.2d 323, 330 (7th Cir. 1985) (Easterbrook, J.). Yet

Attorney General Ashcroft said publicly that

preserving his version of American culture is exactly

why the Bureau decided to limit death-row inmates’

access to the media.

In order to circumvent this problem, the majority

applies its own interpretive spin to Attorney General

Ashcroft’s statements and decides that the Attorney

General meant that “criminals should not be allowed

to benefit from their deeds.” The majority thus

concludes that Attorney General Ashcroft articulated

a legitimate penological purpose to the interview ban

because he saw restricting face-to-face interviews as

a form of punishment or deterrence. But that is a

question for a fact finder, who might reject this post-

hoc rationalization and instead take Attorney

General Ashcroft at his word and conclude that what

actually “shaped” his mind in enacting the ban is his

desire to prevent death-row_ prisoners’ from

influencing our “culture.” That desire is not a

legitimate penological purpose.

The majority's comparison of this case to United

States v. Benson, 561 F.3d 718 (7th Cir. 2009), is

19a

unhelpful. In Benson we held that a convicted tax

offender may not market materials that encourage

other people to evade tax laws. Benson dealt with

commercial speech, which occupies its own niche in

First-Amendment jurisprudence, see Central Hudson

Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n of New

York, 447 U.S. 557, 562-63 (1980), and concluded

tliat it is permissible to enjoin a person from making

false statements in connection with the sale of a

product, Benson, 561 F.3d at 725-26. Even accepting

the majority’s assumption that Attorney General

Ashcroft wanted to prevent inmates’ from

encouraging violence, the parallel to Senson is

unpersuasive. Deceiving the public into buying a

product designed to evade payment of required taxes

is illegal, see 26 U.S.C. § 6700(a); advocating

unpopular ideas is not, see Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395

U.S. 444, 448-49 (1969).

The original panel was also concerned that the

Special Confinement Unit’s prohibition on face-to-

face interviews does not leave sufficient alternatives

for death-row inmates to access the media. Today’s

opinion concludes that the alternatives are sufficient

because death-row inmates have 15 minutes of

telephone time each day that they can use to speak

with reporters, and because they are entitled to

unlimited correspondence. But the government

concedes that death-row inmates are not allowed—

1 Of course the government may regulate speech that amounts

to incitement of violence, see Brandenburg, 395 U.S. at 447, but

not even today’s majority suggests that Ashcroft intended the

media ban to target that category of speech.

20a

through any method of communication—to discuss

other inmates with members of the media. I am

particularly troubled by this aspect of the policy

because it may prevent inmates from reporting

prison abuse. Under the current policies an inmate

could be disciplined for informing the media—

whether on the phone or by letter—that another

inmate is being abused by a guard. When this

concern was raised at the en banc argument, counsel

for the defendants asserted that a victimized inmate

could report the abuse himself. But that suggestion

ignores the reality that any guard who abuses an

inmate is likely to pressure his victim not to disclose

the abuse, and such threats are particularly

effective.

Today the majority brushes aside this concern,

because “as far as [it] can tell,” the ban on talking

about other inmates does not apply to written

correspondence. It relies on a program statement

that says that outgoing mail to the media is sent

without inspection. But at the en banc argument,

counsel for the defendants said that all mail sent by

inmates at the Special Confinement Unit must be

given to prison officials unsealed for inspection

before it is mailed. When asked what would be the

consequence to an inmate who sends a letter

discussing another inmate, counsel for’ the

government had no answer. Thus our original fears

are unabated; on this record we cannot tell whether

there is any satisfactory alternative for inmates at

the Special Confinement Unit to give the media any

information that involves other inmates.

21a

Which leads to another concern that today’s opinion

glosses over completely—Hammer was denied the

opportunity to create a full record at the summary

judgment stage. As discussed in the original opinion,

the government moved for summary judgment before

the close of discovery and only then responded to

Hammer’s discovery requests by objecting to them.

Hammer asked for a continuance to allow him to

build an adequate record, but the district court did

not rule on his motion before the deadline for his

summary-judgment response. To avoid missing his

deadline, Hammer was forced to respond without

receiving any discovery from the defendants. Today’s

opinion is quick to fill in the blanks itself in the face

of ambiguity about the interests underlying the

challenged policy. That is a task that may not have

been necessary had Hammer had the chance to

conduct proper discovery or if the district court had

granted any of Hammer’s three requests for counsel.

The majority's treatment of Hammer’s_ equal-

protection argument is also untethered from the

governing legal standard and the facts of this case.

The majority assumes that the media ban applies to

all inmates housed in the Special Confinement Unit

and concludes that the policy passes constitutional

muster because the majority can “imagine a rational

basis for distinguishing the nation’s most secure

institutions from others.” But the parties agree that

the media ban applies only to those members of the

Special Confinement Unit who are under a death

sentence. It is not, as the majority assumes, a unit-

22a

wide ban, as not all inmates at the Special

Confinement Unit are death-row inmates. That

distinction casts doubt on the legitimacy of the

‘Jailhouse celebrity’ concern articulated by the

government because, as Hammer point out, it is

irrational to distinguish among inmates based solely

on their particular sentence. Under the policy as

applied by the Bureau of Prisons, famous mafia

members, leaders of violent drug gangs, and the

former governor of Illinois may all meet face-to-face

with the press. But an unknown inmate under a

death sentence may not because, the Bureau says,

such access could make them “jailhouse celebrities.”

It is unclear why speaking in-person with a

journalist would give an unknown death-row inmate

more influence over other prisoners than would, for

example, allowing Martha Stewart or George Ryan

to give face-to-face interviews during their

incarceration, which they would have been or are

free to do under the Bureau’s policies. As the

majority points out, distinguishing among inmates

risks “engendering hostility and resentment among

inmates who were refused interview privileges

granted to their fellows.” See Saxbe v. Washington

Post Co., 417 U.S. 8438, 849 (1974). Yet here the

Bureau of Prisons applies the media ban in such a

way as to risk the very dangers it says it wants to

avoid.

Finally, the majority is concerned that a remand in

this case could subject the former, and perhaps

current, Attorney General to discovery, and that any

demand for his testimony would rub up against

23a

United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409 (1941). The

Morgan cases hold that an agency head should not be

required in lhitigation to explain all of the

considerations that went into a decision that was the

result of formal rulemaking or a quasi judicial

proceeding. /d. at 421-22. Administrative decisions

must be judged based on the administrative record or

evidence adduced by the parties. The Morgan

principle is not offended here because the media ban

was not the result of any formal agency process. On

the contrary, there was neither notice nor a hearing

before the media ban went into effect. Accordingly,

even if on remand Hammer sought to depose

Attorney General Ashcroft—who, after all, chose to

speak publicly about the rationale behind the media

ban—such scrutiny would not upset “the integrity of

the administrative process.” /d.

I believe that in the rare circumstances where a

prisoner submits evidence casting doubt on the

legitimacy of the security rationale supposedly

supporting a policy, he deserves to have the chance

to create a full record to shed light on those

circumstances, and ultimately, to have a trier of fact

resolve disputes of fact. I stand by that holding, and

accordingly, I dissent.

WOOD, Circuit Judge, dissenting. Although I agree

with much of Judge Rovner’s dissent, I write

separately in order to highlight my own concerns

with the majority’s opinion. Bricfly put, they are as

follows: first, the record does not support certain key

assumptions made in the majority’s opinion; second,

24a

and related to the first point, it was error to grant

summary judgment in favor of the defendants

without permitting the plaintiff, David Hammer, to

develop the record properly; and third, the majority

has erred by adopting a rule permitting wholesale

censorship in prisons—one that goes much farther

than anything the Supreme Court sanctioned in Pel/

v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817 (1974), or Saxbe v.

Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843 (1974).

First, we must look at the record. Central to the

majority’s analysis is the assumption that inmate

“(clorrespondence is unlimited; an inmate’s letters to

reporters are not subject to inspection or censorship.”

Ante at 3. In support of this proposition, the majority

cites Bureau of Prisons (“BOP”) Program Statement

(“PS”) 5265.11(17)(a) (July 9, 1999). It then goes on

to say that “[p]hone calls with reporters are subject

to [PS] 1480.05(7)(d), which provides that ‘[a]

representative of the news media may not obtain and

use personal information from one inmate about

another inmate who refuses to be interviewed.”

What the majority brushes over, however, is the fact

that there is nothing in paragraph 7(d) of the

Program Statement (or any other part of that

Statement) that limits this restriction to information

collected through telephone calls. In fact, materials

in the record suggest strongly that the prohibition

extends to all forms of communication. For example,

the record includes a letter from Warden Lappin to a

lawyer who published a news release that included

statements that inmate Hammer made about other

inmates. (Plaintiffs Appendix at A169.) The

25a

Warden’s letter rebukes the lawyer and informs him

that 28 C.F.R. § 540.61(d) prohibits this publication.

That regulation applies to all collection of

information by the media, not just to telephone calls.

Id. In a memorandum of December 22, 2000, from

the Warden directly to Hammer, the Warden

reprimands Hammer for providing information

concerning other inmates “during a recent news

media interview.” (Plaintiff's Appendix at A171.) The

memorandum says nothing about the form the

interview took. Two weeks later, in response to

Hammer’s request for clarification, Warden Lappin

replies “You are hereby ordered not to provide any

information concerning other inmates during news

media interviews, social calls, or correspondence

with the media.” (Plaintiffs Appendix at A172;

emphasis added.)

At oral argument before this court, counsel for the

governmental defendants did not endorse the narrow

rule that the majority has postulated. To the

contrary, counsel said that a// mail sent by inmates

in the Special Confinement Unit (where Hammer is

incarcerated) must be given to prison officials

unsealed for inspection before it is mailed. Although

this might seem to conflict with PS 5265.11(17)(a),

which provides that properly identified and labeled

correspondence from an inmate not on restricted

mail status to qualifying representatives of the news

media “shall be sealed and forwarded without

inspection, directly and promptly,” that rule is not

unqualified. Most importantly, mail from inmates on

restricted special mail status is subject to inspection,

26a

and PS 5265.11(17) is expressly made subject to the

Program Statement on News Media Contacts—that

is, to PS 1480.05. The record does not establish

whether Hammer was on restricted mail status, but

it indicates that he may have been. (It would not

surprise me if everyone in the Special Confinement

Unit were subject to additional restrictions.)

Furthermore, it is still necessary to reconcile 28

C.F.R. § 540.61(d), PS 5265.11(17), and PS

1480.05(7)(d). It seems most consistent with all of

these materials (and consistent with both Warden

Lappin’s interpretation and the government's

representation) to conclude that if a prisoner wrote a

letter to a representative of the media that conveyed

information about a fellow inmate, the letter would

be confiscated. Without the linchpin provided by its

assumption that correspondence is_ free, the

majority’s rationale collapses.

This brings me to my second point—again one that

Judge Rovner has also emphasized: Hammer was

blocked completely from developing a record at the

summary judgment stage. The government moved

for summary judgment before the close of discovery

and then refused to comply with Hammer’s requests.

This left Hammer with little or nothing on which to

rely when he attempted to oppose the summary

judgment motion. The majority here sets up a straw

man, claiming that the only thing that would suffice

would be direct depositions of former Attorney

General John Ashcroft, former Director of the BOP

Kathleen Hawk-Sawyer, and former Warden of the

U.S. Penitentiary at Terre Haute Harley Lappin, in

27a

which Hammer tried to unmask their “true” reason

for the new rules. The majority is worried that such

untrammeled discovery would be inconsistent with

United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409 (1941), and

PBGC v. LTV Corp., 496 U.S. 633 (1990). Its

concerns are misplaced. First, it is a mistake to lump

all three defendants into the same group. As the

Supreme Court’s recent decision in Ashcroft v. Iqbal,

129 S.Ct. 1937 (2009), undersccres, it is one thing to

acknowledge that a high official has knowledge of a

particular policy, or even approves of it personally; it

is quite another to plead that the official was

personally responsible for a_ violation of

constitutional rights. Here, the record already

includes the public statements—reproduced ante at

8-9—that former Attorney General Ashcroft made

about the media ban. In my opinion, the district

court could easily respect the policies animating

Morgan and LTV simply by limiting to publicly

available information (including whatever falls

within the scope of the Freedom of Information Act)

any further exploration of the Attorney General’s

position.

It is by no means unprecedented to seek the

deposition of the Director of the BOP or the warden

of a particular prison. Once again, the district court

would be in a position to decide whether such a

measure was necessary, or if alternatives (including

production of documents oor answers to

interrogatories; perhaps even depositions upon

written questions) would suffice. Hammer has a

right to explore whether the media ban was based

28a

upon legitimate penological concerns—in which case

it is legal under the well-established standards of

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987)—or if it was

ins*ead designed to stifle speech because the

authorities fear that the content will be unwelcome.

The latter is, unfortunately, not beyond imagination.

It is likely that the military authorities running the

infamous Abu Ghraib prison would not have wanted

the inmates talking to the media, either about their

own experiences or those of their fellow prisoners

(some of whom may have been too injured, or too

intimidated, to speak for themselves). Closer to

home, the sad but true fact is that abuse by prison

guards or police has not been entirely abolished. One

prisoner might want to write letters that are self-

aggrandizing, just as the authorities feared, but

another might want to alert the media to the fact

that human rights abuses were occurring in a place

like the Special Confinement Unit. Censorship of all

avenues of communication—which, as I have said, is

what this record shows—would be an all-too-effective

way to prevent the public from ever learning about

such problems.

That leads me to the final moint, which is the one

that Judge Rovner has emphasized: the First

Amendment implications of the media ban. While I

certainly agree with her that there is a potential

First Amendment problem here, I see this case as a

textbook example of the wisdom of the rule of

constitutional avoidance. It seems elementary to me

that before this court, or any court, should reach an

important constitutional question, the record should

29a

be developed properly and we should know what we

are talking about. That has not happened in this

case. The majority has filled in the gaps with

speculation, both about possible loopholes that might

make written correspondence an adequate outlet for

prisoners despite the media rule, and about possible

penologicai justifications for the rule. This is not the

way that we should approach a question as

important as the balance between First Amendment

rights of prisoners—which J7urner recognizes are not

forfeited entirely—and the critical job of prison

officials to ensure security and safety within the

prison walls. It is worth noting, however, that

neither Pel] nor Washington Post approved a total

ban on contact with the media. To the contrary, Pel/

relied on the existence of “alternative methods of

communication that are open to prison inmates,” 417

U.S. at 504, and Washington Post made clear that

“members of the press are accorded substantial

access to the federal prisons in order to observe and

report the conditions they find there,” 417 U.S. at

518. Washington Post mentioned specifically the fact

that “lolutgoing correspondence from inmates to

press representatives is neither censored nor

inspected.” /d. To the extent that the majority's

opinion has swept away the need to show adequate

alternative avenues for communication, it has, in my

view, overstepped an important boundary that the

Court has drawn.

As the original panel opinion did, I would therefore

reverse the grant of summary judgment and remand

this case to the district court for further proceedings,

30a

along the lines I have outlined here. I therefore

respectfully dissent.

3la

Appendix B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

DAVID PAUL HAMMER,

Plaintiff-Appeliant,

Vv.

JOHN D. ASHCROFT, et al.,

Detendants-Appellees.

No. 06-1750.

Argued Nov. 26, 2007.

Decided Jan. 15, 2008.

Rehearing En Banc Granted,

Opinion Vacated Aug. 19, 2008."

ROVNER, Circuit Judge.

David Hammer, a federal prisoner on death row,

sued various Bureau of Prisons (“BOP”) officials

alleging that they violated his First Amendment and

equal protection rights by implementing and

enforcing a policy that prevents him from giving

face-to-face interviews with the media and from

talking with the media about other inmates. The

current defendants-the former Attorney General of

the United States, John Ashcroft; a former BOP

Director, Kathleen Hawk-Sawyer: and _ former

wardens of the federal prison in Terre Haute,

Indiana, Harley Lappin and Keith Olson-moved for

* Judges Flaum, Williams and Tinder did not participate.

32a

summary judgment, arguing that the challenged

policy is rationally related to legitimate penological

interests. The district court granted the defendants’

motion, and Hammer appeals. Because we conclude

that Hammer raised a genuine issue of fact as to

whether the defendants’ proffered justification for

the policy banning face-to-face interviews is

pretextual, we reverse and remand.

I. Background

In July 1999 the BOP opened the Special

Confinement Unit (“SCU”) at the federal prison in

Terre Haute, Indiana, to house male inmates

sentenced to death by the federal courts. The SCU

also houses inmates who are not under a death

sentence, but who are considered to be on

“administrative detention status.” Hammer-who was

under a federal death sentence for killing his

cellmate-was among the first inmates transferred to

the SCU.!

Between August and December 1999, Hammer

gave three face-to-face interviews with members of

the media in the SCU’s non-contact visiting area. No

‘ Hammer's death sentence has been vacated, see United States

v. Hammer, 404 F. Supp. 2d 676 (M.D. Pa. 2005)-a decision the

government is challenging in the Third Circuit Court of

Appeals, see Hammer v. United States, No. 06-9001, 128 S. Ct.

43, 169 L. Ed.2d 41. Although Hammer is no longer under a

death sentence, Hammer’s counsel informed us during oral

argument-and the appellees do not dispute-that he is still

housed on death row at the SCU and is still subject to the

challenged policy.

33a

security problems arose as a result of these

interviews. But in late December 2000, Lappin

ordered Hammer not to provide information to

members of the media about other inmates. When

Hammer asked Lappin for clarification, he stated

that Hammer was “prohibited from disclosing to a

media representative any information about another

inmate through any manner of communication (oral,

written, etc.).” Just over a month later, the BOP

disciplined Hammer for providing information about

a fellow death row inmate to a reporter. Lappin did

not, however, generally prohibit Hammer from

giving face-to-face interviews.

That situation changed a few months later. In

March 2000, CBS aired a national broadcast of “60

Minutes” featuring an interview with Timothy

McVeigh. At that time McVeigh was housed at the

SCU awaiting execution for his role in the 1995

bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah federal building in

Oklahoma City. Following this interview, U.S.

Senator Byron Dorgan wrote to BOP Director Hawk-

Sawyer on March 14, 2000, criticizing the BOP for

allowing the McVeigh interview and demanding that

the BOP prohibit similar interviews with other death

row inmates. The published account of this criticism

described Dorgan’s view of the value of such

interviews:

The American people have a right to expect

that the incarceration of a convicted killer

will not only remove him physically from

society, but will also prevent him from further

intrusion in our lives through television

34a

interviews and from using those forums to

advance his agenda of violence.

Soon thereafter Lappin (then the SCU warden)

denied every media request for a _ face-to-face

interview with Hammer. When Hammer filed an

administrative grievance to protest these denials,

Lappin informed him that the procedures for

granting interviews “have evolved” since the SCU

opened and that requests for in-person media

interviews are evaluated on “a case-by-case basis.”

The policy on face-to-face interviews evolved

further one month later. On April 12, 2001, Ashcroft

and Hawk-Sawyer gave a press conference during

which tney announced a change from the case-by-

case policy to a blanket policy preventing SCU

inmates from having face-to-face interviews with

members of the media on any subject at any time.

The policy allows SCU inmates to speak to the media

only by telephone during their ordinary 15-minute

daily allotment of telephone time. In announcing

this policy, Ashcroft explained that it is designed to

prevent murderers from, in his view, altering our

culture by glamorizing violence:

I am aware that several media outlets have

requested access to interview’ inmate

McVeigh. As an American who cares about

our culture, I want to restrict a mass

murderer’s access to the public podium. On

an issue of particular importance to me as

Attorney General of the United States, I do

not want anyone to be able to purchase access

35a

to the podium of America with the blood of

168 innocent victims.

kke*

I’m concerned about irresponsible glamorization

of a culture of violence, and that concern has shaped

our approach to these issues profoundly.

Hawk-Sawyer announced that the 15-minute

telephone limitation “will become the policy for the

[SCU] in general.”

Three days after the press conference, Lappin

signed Institution Supplement 1480.05A (‘the media

policy”), which states that “[tlo maintain safety,

security and the good order of the SCU, in-person

interviews (including video-recorded interviews) will

not be permitted.” To gain permission for a 15-

minute telephone interview under the new media

policy, members of the press must agree that they

will not ask an SCU inmate any questions about

other federal or state prisoners. And members of the

press must agree not to publish any information that

an SCU inmate volunteers about other prisoners. All

parties agree that the media policy does not apply to

all SCU inmates-it applies only to those SCU

inmates who have been sentenced to the death

penalty.

Hammer sued the defendants under Bivens v. Six

Unknown Named Agents of the Federal Bureau of

Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 91 S. Ct. 1999, 29 L. Ed. 2d

619 (1971), alleging that the media policy’s ban on

in-person interviews and discussions about other

inmates violated his First Amendment and equal

protection rights. The district court dismissed the

36a

complaint under the Prison Litigation Reform Act, 28

U.S.C. § 1915A(b)(1), but we reversed, finding that

Hammer’s allegations-specifically, that the

defendants implemented the media policy to prevent

death row inmates from speaking publicly rather

than to further security concerns-stated a claim, see

Hammer v. Ashcroft, et al, 42 Fed. Appx. 861, 863

(7th Cir. 2002).

After we remanded the case, Hammer moved

three times for the court to recruit counsel on his

behalf. The district court denied each motion.

Hammer also filed three requests for discovery, but

instead of responding to those requests, the

defendants moved for summary judgment a full

month before the close of discovery. Only after filing

their summary judgment motion did the defendants

respond to Hammer’s discovery requests by objecting

to them all. Hammer filed a motion for a continuance

under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(f), arguing

that he needed additional time to procure discovery

from the defendants. He also filed a brief opposing

the motion for summary judgment. The court

entered an order granting the continuance “to the

extent that his filings in this action ... shall be

deemed to have been timely made,” but it denied

Hammer any extension of time to conduct further

discovery.

In support of the defendants’ motion for summary

judgment, Lappin submitted a _ declaration

purporting to justify the SCU’s media policy. He

explained that broadcasting face-to-face interviews of

inmates can create “jailhouse celebrities,” giving

them heightened status among the inmates and

37a

leading to security breaches. He also explained that

it was necessary to restrict inmates from discussing

other inmates with the media to prevent privacy

breaches or “real or imagined slights, insults or

provocations” that could inflame tensions in the

SCU. In his response, Hammer argued that Lappin’s

articulated security rationale for the ban on face-to-

face interviews was “a guise” to cover up “the real

reason” behind the ban-anger over the McVeigh

interview and the resulting outrage over death row

inmates speaking to a national audience. The court

granted the defendants’ motion for summary

judgment, stating that the media policy is reasonably

related to legitimate penoiogical interests.

Il. Analysis

On appeal Hammer argues that the SCU’s media

policy preventing death row inmates from giving

face-to-face interviews with the media violates his

equal protection, First Amendment, and procedural

due process rights. Specifically, he argues that the

media policy treats death row inmates differently

from all other federal inmates based on an untested

assumption that giving death row inmates access to

the media poses a categorically heightened security

risk. Hammer also asserts that he submitted

evidence sufficient to show that the media policy was

passed for the impermissible reason of preventing

death row inmates from speaking publicly, and not to

further security interests. He also argues that the

manner in which the BOP adopted the media policy

deprived him of due process. Finally, Hammer

challenges the district court’s denial of his three

38a

motions for counsel and his Rule 56(f) motion for a

continuance.

A. Constitutional Claims

We review de novo the district court’s grant of

summary judgment for the defendants on Hammer’s

constitutional challenges to the media policy. See

Steen v. Myers, 486 F.3d 1017, 1021 (7th Cir. 2007).

Inmates retain constitutional rights that are

consistent with incarceration; those rights include

access to the media. See Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S.

78, 84, 107 S. Ct. 2254, 96 L. Ed. 2d 64 (1987); Pell v.

Procunier, 417 U.S. 817, 827-28, 94 S. Ct. 2800, 41 L.

Ed. 2d 495 (1974). But recognizing the deference

owed to the administrative judgment of prison

officials, the Supreme Court has held that a prison

regulation infringing on an inmate’s constitutional

rights is valid if “it is reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests.” Turner, 482 U.S.

at 89, 107 S. Ct. 2254. Accordingly, a prison

regulation that restricts an inmate’s access to the

media will be upheld if there is a “valid, rational

connection between the prison regulation and the

legitimate governmental interest put forward to

justify it.” Jd. (quotation marks omitted). Other

relevant factors include whether the regulation

leaves open alternative means of exercising the right;

the impact accommodation would have on other

inmates, guards, and prison resources; and whether

there are obvious, easy alternatives to the

restriction. Jd. at 89-90, 107 S. Ct. 2254; see also

Lindell v. Frank, 377 F.3d 655, 657 (7th Cir. 2004).

39a

Hammer argues that we should apply strict

scrutiny to his equal protection claim, rather than

the Yurner analysis, because he maintains that

Turner applies only to policies that affect all inmates

within a prison equally or that apply temporarily to

individual inmates in response to a disciplinary

infraction. Hammer argues that strict scrutiny

should apply here becauce the media policy

arbitrarily deprives death row inmates of First

Amendment freedoms that other federal prisoners

enjoy-namely, face-to-face media access. But the

Supreme Court has held that the Turner analysis

“applies to all circumstances in which the needs of

prison administration implicate constitutional

rights.” Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210, 224,

110 S. Ct. 1028, 108 L. Ed. 2d 178 (1990); see also

Russell v. Richards, 384 F.3d 444, 447 (7th Cir.

2004). Post-7urner, the Supreme Court applies

strict scrutiny only to prison regulations involving

suspect classifications such as race. See, eg,

Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 505, 125 S. Ct.

1141, 160 L. Ed. 2d 949 (2005). Federal inmates on

death row are not a suspect class. Cf Pryor v.

Brennan, 914 F.2d 921, 923 (7th Cir. 1990).

Accordingly, courts have declined to apply

heightened scrutiny in cases involving equal

protection challenges to prison regulations that

implicate First Amendment rights, see, eg,

Williams v. Lane, 851 F.2d 867, 881 (7th Cir. 1988);

Taylor v. Johnson, 257 F.3d 470, 474 (5th Cir. 2001);

Morrison v. Garraghty, 239 F.3d 648, 654-55 (4th

Cir. 2001), even where the regulations distinguish

among groups of inmates within a prison, see

DeHart v. Horn, 227 F.3d 47, 61 (3d Cir. 2000);

40a

Benjamin v. Coughlin, 905 F.2d 571, 575 (2d Cir.

1990). Thus we view Hammer’s equal protection and

First Amendment claims through the 7urner lens.

Turning then to the first prong of the J7urner

analysis and Hammer’s First Amendment claim, we

ask whether a valid, rational connection exists

between the media ban on face-to-face interviews

and the cited security interest. See Turner, 482 U.S.

at 89, 107 S. Ct. 2254. No such connection exists if

the purpose of the policy is to suppress the content of

the restricted message. See id. at 90, 107 S. Ct.

2254. And the penological interest that the prison

officials invoke in court to justify the restriction must

have actually motivated them at the time they

enacted or enforced the restriction; the invoked

interests fail under Turner if they are a pvretext for

an illegitimate, content-specific motivation. See

Salahuddin v. Goord, 467 F.3d 263, 276-77 (2d Cir.

2006) (holding that prison officials must show that

they “actually had, not just could have had, a

legitimate reason for burdening protected activity” to

survive summary judgment); Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154

F.3d 128, 134 (3d Cir. 1998) (noting that a prison

rule is “not content neutral as required by 7urner” if

it is enforced at least in part due to public pressure

rather than security concerns); Quinn v. Nix, 983

F.2d 115, 118 (8th Cir. 1993) (stating that “[p]rison

officials are not entitled to the deference described in

Turner ... if their actions are not actually motivated

by legitimate penological interests at the time they

act.”); Walker v. Sumner, 91: F.2d 382, 386-87 (9th

Cir. 1990) (holding that where a prisoner alleges that

a policy is enforced for a “dubious purpose” officials

4la

must demonstrate that the asserted penological

interests “are the actual bases for their policies”);

Baraldini v. Thornburgh, 884 F.2d 615, 620 (D.C.

Cir. 1989) (noting that “[al reviewing court must

always be careful to make certain that prison

administrators are not pretextually using alleged

concerns in order to punish an inmate for his or her

political or other views.”).

Here, Hammer submitted evidence suggesting

that the driving force behind the ban on face-to-face

interviews was not a security concern, but rather

outrage over McVeigh’s message and a desire to

prevent other death row inmates from expressing

their views about themselves or their fates and

thereby influencing “our culture.” For example,

without any concerns about security breaches Lappin

allowed Hammer face-to-face media interviews until

the McVeigh interview aired; after that (and after a

senator's written protest to the BOP about such

broadcasts) Lappin denied all media requests for

face-to-face interviews with Hammer. Most

significantly, in unveiling the blanket restriction on

face-to-face interviews with death row inmates,

Ashcroft-with Hawk-Sawyer at his side-explained

that he wanted to deny such inmates a platform from

which they could spread their “irresponsible

glamorization of a culture of violence.” This is

evidence from which a jury could conclude that when

Ashcroft’s subordinate Lappin implemented the

restriction at the SCU just three days later, the

defendants desired to control a disfavored message

vather than to secure the SCU.

42a

The defendants argue that this evidence amounts

to nothing more than “a coincidence of timing.” But

the evidence is more than just timing. Ashcroft

explained that his distaste for the content of

interviews given by death row inmates was the

reason for the policy. That is direct evidence of the

actual motivation, and it creates a genuine issue of

material fact as to whether Lappin was motivated by

a desire to prohibit a disagreeable viewpoint or to

advance prison security.

The defendants also argue that we must defer to

Lappin’s judgment that the challenged policy is

needed to combat the problem of jailhouse

celebrities. But in reviewing a grant of summary

judgment we must be careful to distinguish between

matters of prison administration-on which we give

substantial deference to prison officials’ professional

judgment-and matters of disputed fact on issues like

motivation-on which we draw inferences in favor of

the non-moving party. See Beard v. Banks, 548 U.S.

521, 126 S. Ct. 2572, 2578, 165 L. Ed. 2d 697 (2006).

If an inmate submits evidence showing that the

penological interests invoked by prison authorities

are pretextual, the policy is not neutral and fails

under Turner. See Abu-Jamal, 154 F.3d at 134.

Hammer submitted evidence from which a

reasonable jury could conclude that the media policy

was implemented and is now enforced not because of

safety concerns, but rather in response to public

pressure to prevent death row inmates from voicing

their views’ publicly. Accordingly, summary

judgment is inappropriate on Hammer's First

Amendment challenge to the ban on face-to-face

43a

interviews based on the first Vurner factor. See

Salahuddin, 467 F.3d at 276-77.

Summary judgment on the First Amendment

claim was also inappropriate as to two other 7urner

factors because Hammer has cast doubt on whether

the media policy leaves open sufficient alternate

routes of access to the media and whether there are

reasonable alternatives to the ban on face-to-face

interviews. See Turner, 482 U.S. at 90, 107 S. Ct.

2254. For example, Lappin’s justification for the ban

on face-to-face interviews is that the broadcast of

inmate interviews creates the risk of jailhouse

celebrity. The government has not explained why,

then, the prison needs to ban face-to-face interviews

that are not recorded or broadcast. Moreover, there

is a question of material fact whether the ban on

discussing other inmates with the media allows

Hammer an alternate route for discussing his

criminal case. Hammer's goal is to discuss his

criminal case (which involves inmate witnesses) with

members of the press to highlight his disagreement

with the prosecution. But he is subject to discipline

if he engages in those discussions. Thus there is a

question of material fact as to whether the policy

leaves open any meaningful way for Hammer to

access the media to discuss his case. Cf Pell, 417

U.S. at 827-28, 94S. Ct. 2800.

Turning to Hammer's equal protection claim, we

note that the district court gave this claim short

shrift, stating only that the media policy applies

equally to all inmates housed in the SCU. But this

ignores Hammer's evidence that the media policy

applies only to SCU inmates under a death sentence,

44a

a fact that the defendants do not dispute on appeal.

And Hammer’s evidence of pretext also casts doubt

on whether the defendants had a valid interest in

treating death row inmates differently from all other

federal inmates. The equal protection clause

prohibits the government from making distinctions

among groups of speakers based on the content of

their speech. See, e.g., Police Dep't of Chi. v. Mosley,

408 U.S. 92, 96, 92 S. Ct. 2286, 33 L. Ed. 2d 212

(1972). Here, Ashcroft said that his concern about

the “glamorization of violence” in American culture

shaped the BOP’s approach to the SCU-specific ban

on death row inmates giving face-to-face interviews.

A reasonable jury could thus conclude that death row

inmates are treated differently not because they are

disproportionately likely to become jailhouse

celebrities or inflame tensions with other inmates,

but because the policy makers believed that death

row inmates are disproportionately likely to promote

a “glamorization of violence.” Accordingly, the

defendants are not entitled to summary judgment on

Hammer’s equa! protection claim.

The district court did not address what Hammer

now argues is a claim that the defendants violated

his due process rights by adopting the media policy

without offering him notice or the opportunity to

comment. But the court did not address this claim

because Hammer did not make it; nothing in his

complaint or opposition to summary judgment would

have put the defendants or the court on notice that

he objected to the process through which the policy

was adopted. Because Hammer’s purported due

process claim is outside the scope of the court’s grant

45a

of summary judgment for the defendants, we need

not address it here.

We note that it can be an easy thing for an

inmate to allege that prison officials are lying about

the rationale behind a prison restriction; it is only

because Hammer has backed up his allegations with

admissible evidence from which a reasonable jury

could infer that an illegitimate reason lies behind the

interview ban that his First Amendment and equal

protection claims survive summary judgment.

B. Personal Involvement

The district court granted summary judgment for

Ashcroft and Hawk-Sawyer because, in its view, they

had no personal involvement in the_ events

underlying the allegations. A supervisory defendant

is personally involved in and liable for a

constitutional violation if he “create[s] a custom or

policy fostering the violation or allow[s] the custom

or policy to continue after learning of it.” Thomas v.

Ashcroft, 470 F.3d 491, 496-97 (2d Cir. 2006).

Ashcroft’s and Hawk-Sawyer’s participation in the

press conference in which they called for the BOP

ban on face-to-face interviews raises a triable issue of

whether they fostered the ban for the purpose of

suppressing expression. See Whitford v. Boglino, 63

F.3d 527, 531 (7th Cir. 1995). Thus summary

judgment on the basis of their non-involvement was

unwarranied.

Before addressing Hammer’s procedural

challenges to the district court’s decision, we note

two issues that the district court may address on

remand. Hammer has sued the defendants in their

46a

individual and official capacities for damages, and

for injunctive and declaratory relief. The defendants

may be entitled to qualified immunity from damages,

but given the unresolved issues of fact, we leave that

determination to the district court in the first

instance. Hammer’s claim for injunctive relief

against the defendants in their individual capacities

is now moot because none of the defendants

currently hold the positions in which they were sued.

But pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure

43(c)(2) and Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 25(d),

the district court should substitute the current

officeholders for the official-capacity claims and

consider which of them are proper defendants for

injunctive relief under Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123,

157, 28 S. Ct. 441, 52 L. Ed. 714 (1908) (requiring a

“special relation” between the public official sued and

the challenged rule).

C. Denial of Motions for Counsel and for a

Continuance

Hammer also argues that the district court

erroneously denied his three motions to recruit

counsel and his Ruie 56(f) motion for a continuance.

We review the district court’s rulings on these

motions for abuse of discretion. See Johnson v.

Doughty, 433 F.3d 1001, 1006 (7th Cir. 2006); Davis

v. G.N. Mort. Co., 396 F.3d 869, 885 (7th Cir. 2005).

In resolving a motion for the recruitment of counsel,

the district court must consider both the complexity

of the case and the pro se plaintiffs ability to htigate

it himself. Prustt v. Mote, 503 F.3d 647, 654-55 (7th

Cir. 2007). The court must analyze the plaintiffs

capabilities in light of the challenges specific to his

47va

case, including “the tasks that normally attend

litigation: evidence gathering, preparing and

responding to motions and other court filings, and

trial.” Jd. at 655. In reviewing a court’s decision to

deny a motion for counsel, we must ensure that the

court meaningfully engaged in the correct analysis,

and did not render a decision arbitrarily. /d. at 658,

660.

Here, the district court’s three orders denying

Hammer’s requests for counsel do not demonstrate

that the court meaningfully considered’ the

complexity of Hammer’s claims. Its first order is

silent regarding the difficulty of his case. The second

two orders state that Hammer “has demonstrated

familiarity with his claims and the ability to present

them, because the issues presented by his claims are

not complex, and because this does not appear to be a

case in which the presence of counsel would make a

difference in the outcome.” But this is nothing more

than a restatement of the applicable legal standard,

without any reasoning showing that the court

actually considered the standard in light of the

particulars of Hammer’s case. See id. at 660.

But we wil! reverse the district court’s decision to

deny counsel only on a showing of prejudice, see id.

at 659, which leads us to Hammer’s Rule 56(f)

motion for a continuance. Hammer asked for more

time to conduct discovery because the defendants

moved for summary judgment before the close of

discovery and then objected to all of his discovery

requests. Because Hammer filed his opposition to

summary judgment before the court ruled on his

motion, it concluded that he did not need further

48a

time for discovery. But the fact that Hammer filed

his response before waiting to see if the court would

grant the continuance shows only that he made the

best of what he had, not that he had a fair

opportunity to avail himself of discovery. And

nothing in the court’s order denying the continuance

suggests that it considered the impact that the

defendants’ premature summary judgment motion

had on Hammer’s ability to obtain the discovery

necessary to defend against the motion.

The appellees now defend the district court’s

denial of the continuance on the ground that

Hammer did not specify what documents he needed

time to procure. But that is precisely the kind of

failure that could have been cured had the court

granted his motion for counsel. The appellees cannot

have it both ways-they cannot argue that Hammer

has the ability to litigate his own claims and then

fault him when he fails to do so with the

sophistication of an attorney. We thus conclude that

the denial of counsel prejudiced Hammer, and,

especially in light of Hammer’s pro se status, that

the court abused its discretion in denying his Rule

56(f) motion for a continuance.

For the reasons set forth above, the district

court’s decision is REVERSED and REMANDED for

further proceedings.

49a

Appendix C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

DAVID PAUL HAMMER,

Plaintiff,

7:

JOHN ASHCROFT, Attorney General

of the United States, et al.,

Defendants.

No. IP 01-558-C-T/G.

Feb. 23, 2006.

TINDER, J.

This cause is before the court on the amended

complaint of plaintiff David Paul Hammer, on the

defendants’ answer, and on the defendants’ motion

for summary judgment.

Whereupon the court, having considered the

pleadings, the motion for summary judgment, the

response thereto and the defendants’ reply, and

being duly advised, now finds that the motion for

summary judgment must be granted. This conclusion

rests on the following facts and circumstances:

1. As used in this Entry, “Hammer” refers to the

plaintiff, David Paul Hammer, “USPTH” refers to

the United States Penitentiary at Terre Haute,

Indiana, “BOP” refers to the Federal Bureau of

Prisons, “Attorney General Ashcroft” refers to former

50a

United States Attorney General John Ashcroft,

“Director Lappin” or “Warden Lappin” refers to BOP

Director Harley Lappin, “Director Sawyer-Hawk”

refers to former BOP Director Kathleen Sawyer-

Hawk, and “Warden Olson” refers to USPTH Warden

Keith Olson.

2. As noted, the defendants seek resolution of

Hammer’s claims through the entry of summary

judgment.

a. The purpose of summary judgment is to

“pierce the pleadings and to assess the proof

in order to see whether there is a genuine

need for trial.” Advisory Committee Note to

1963 Amendment of FED. R. CIV. P. 56(e)

(quoted in Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587, 106

S. Ct. 1348, 89 L. Ed. 2d 538 (1986)).

“Summary Judgment is not appropriate ‘if

the evidence is such that a reasonable jury

could return a verdict for the nonmoving

party.” In a motion for summary judgment,

the court “may not make _ credibility

determinations, weigh the evidence, or

decide which inferences to draw from the

facts; these are jobs for a factfinder.” Payne

v. Pauley, 337 F.3d 767, 770 (7th Cir. 2003)

(citations omitted). “Rather, ‘[t]he court has

one task and one task only: to decide, based

on the evidence of record, whether there is

any material dispute of fact that requires a

trial.” Jd. (quoting Waldridge v. Am.

Hoechst Corp., 24 F.3d 918, 920 (7th Cir.

1994)). If a reasonable jury could return a

5la

verdict in favor the nonmovant, summary

judgment should not be_ granted. Id.

(citation omitted).

b. A court will grant summary judgment if

“there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.” Scott v.

Edinburg, 346 F.3d 752, 755 (7th Cir. 2003)

(quoting FED. R. CIV. P. 56(c) and citing

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322,

106 S. Ct. 2548, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265 (1986)).

The court must “construe all facts in a light

most favorable to ... the party opposing

summary judgment, anda ... draw all

reasonable inferences in his favor.” McGreal

v. Ostrov, 368 F.3d 657, 672 (7th Cir. 2004)

(citation omitted). “In the light most

favorable’ simply means that summary

judgment is not appropriate if the court

must make ‘a choice of inferences.” Draghi

v. County of Cook, 184 F.3d 689, 691 (7th

Cir. 1999) (quoting Smith v. Severn, 129

F.3d 419, 425 (7th Cir. 1997)). However, the

nonmoving party bears the burden of coming

forward with specific facts from the record

which show a genuine issue of material fact.

Morfin v. City of E. Chi., 349 F.3d 989, 997

(7th Cir. 2003) (citation omitted). “It is a

well-settled rule that a party opposing a

summary judgment motion must inform the

trial judge of the reasons, legal or factual,

why summary judgment should not be

52a

entered.” JLiberles v. County of Cook, 709

F.3d 1122, 1126 (7th Cir. 1983).

3. “Relief from misconduct by federal agents may

be obtained either by a suit against the agent for a

constitutional tort under the theory set forth in

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388,

91 S. Ct. 1999, 29 L. Ed. 2d 619 (1971), or by a suit

against the United States under the Federal Tort

Claims Act [FTCA] ... which permits claims based

upon misconduct which is tortious under state law.

28 U.S.C. §§ 1346(6), 2680.” Sisk v. United States,

756 F.2d 497, 500 n.4 (7th Cir. 1985). Hammer has

chosen the Bivens route.

a. Claims asserted under a Bivens theory

are brought pursuant to subject matter

jurisdiction conferred by 28 U.S.C. § 1331,

which provides that “[t]he District Courts

shall have original jurisdiction of all civil

actions arising under the Constitution, laws,

or treaties of the United States.”

b. A prerequisite to maintaining an action

under § 1331 is that the plaintiff “must

allege a violation of the United States

Constitution or a federal statute.” Goulding

v. Feinglass, 811 F.2d 1099, 1102 (7th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 929, 107 S. Ct.

3215, 96 L. Ed. 2d 701 (1987).

c. Bivens “authorizes the ffiling’ of

constitutional tort suits against federal

officers in much the same way that 42

U.S.C. § 1983 authorizes such suits against

53a

state officers.” King v. Federal Bureau of

Prisons, 415 F.3d 634, 636 (7th Cir. 2005).

Thus, one feature of a Bivens action is that

the plaintiff must allege that the individual

defendants were personally involved in the

violation of his constitutional rights. See

Barbera v. Smith, 836 F.2d 96, 99 (2d Cir.

1987), cert. denied sub nom. Barbera v.

Schlessinger, 489 U.S. 1065, 109 S. Ct. 1338,

103 L. Ed. 2d 808 (1989).

4. Hammer’s claims which survive prior rulings

and certain voluntary dismissals are that the

defendants violated his First Amendment rights by

denying and restricting his access to the news media

based on the content of his message and his status as

a federal death-row inmate. He alleges that between

March 2000 and April 2001 a number of news

organizations wished to conduct face-to-face or video-

conference interviews with him, but that Warden

Lappin denied every one of his requests. to

participate in the interviews. In addition, Hammer

alleges that Warden Lappin unconstitutionally

restricted Hammer’s ability to communicate with the

media via telephone or maii correspondence.

Hammer seeks compensatory and punitive damages

and injunctive relief.

5. Several general principles guide the court’s

consideration of the free speech and association

claims presented. Among these principles are those

on which the Court of Appeals relied in finding that

the dismissal of the present action pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1915A(b) was premature. Hammer v.

54a

Ashcroft, 2002 WL 1732580 (7th Cir. 2002)

(unpublished).

a. Lawful “incarceration brings about the

necessary withdrawal or limitation of many

privileges and rights, a retraction justified

by the considerations underlying our penal

system.” O’Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482

U.S. 342, 348, 107 S. Ct. 2400, 96 L. Ed. 2d

282 (1987) (citing Price v. Johnston, 334

U.S. 266, 285, 68 S. Ct. 1049, 92 L. Ed. 1356

(1948)).

b. Nonetheless, “convicted prisoners do not

forfeit all constitutional protections by

reason of their conviction and confinement

in prison.” Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520,

545, 99S. Ct. 1861, 60 L. Ed. 2d 447 (1979).

c. Inmates retain First Amendment rights

that are consistent with incarceration, and

prison restrictions limiting or interfering

with those rights must reasonably relate to

legitimate penological interests. Turner v.

Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89, 107 S. Ct. 2254, 96

L. Ed. 2d 64 (1987); Rowe v. Shake, 196 F.3d

778, 782 (7th Cir. 1999).

d. While inmates’ free-speech rights include

access to the media, inmates do not have a

right to face-to-face interviews so long as

other avenues of communication are open to

them, and regulations denying face-to-face

interviews are applied in a neutral, equal

manner without regard to content. See Pe/l/

v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817, 827-28 (1974);

55a

Rowe, 196 F.3d at 782; Abu-Jamal v. Price,

154 F.3d 128, 134 (3d Cir.1998). Prison

officials are given deference in establishing

regulations and in determining appropriate

restrictions, and a court will not second:

guess regulations or practices that serve

legitimate penological interests. 7urner,

482 U.S. at 89. Additionally, as an incident

of their incarceration, prisoners lack the

same freedom to criticize they would enjoy

on the outside. Gibbs v. King, 779 F.2d 1040

(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1117, 106 S.

Ct. 1975, 90 L. Ed. 2d 659 (1986).

e. The Supreme Court has delineated four

factors for determining whether a specific

regulation or practice serves a legitimate

penological interest. 7urner, 482 U.S. at 89-

90. The primary factor is whether a valid,

rational connection exists between the

restriction and a legitimate interest. /d A

restriction on speech that fails to meet this

connection fails under Turner. See Shaw v.

Murphy, 532 U.S. 223, 229-30, 121 S. Ct.

1475, 149 L. Ed. 2d 420 (2001). The other

factors relevant in determining” a

restriction’s reasonableness include whether

the inmate has alternative means of

exercising the right; the impact

accommodation of the asserted right would

have on guards, other inmates, and prison

resources; and the absence of a reasonable

alternative to the regulation or practice.

Turner, 482 U.S. at 90.

56a

f. In determining whether a _ prison

regulation is “reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests,” a prisoner

“must overcome the presumption that the

prison officials acted within their ‘broad

discretion.” Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S. 223,

121 S. Ct. 1475, 149 L. Ed. 2d 420 (2001).

“The burden, moreover, is not on the State to

prove the validity of prison regulations but

on the prisoner to disprove it.” Overton v.

Bazzetta, 582 U.S. 126, 132 (2003).

6. As to each of the various specifications of

improper action, whether it be the promulgation or

implementation of BOP policies or actions assertedly

taken outside the bounds of such policies, Attorney

General Ashcroft and Director Hawk-Sawyer were

not personally involved. The consequence of this is

that these defendants are not liable to Hammer for

any of those actions and they are entitled to the

entry of summary judgment as to the claims against

them.

7. Warden Lappin was Warden of the USPTH

from October 25, 1998, until July of 2001. As

Warden, Lappin had overall responsibility of all

functions of the institution and in that role he

planned, directed and _ coordinated institution

programs covering a broad range of diverse issues

related to complex institution safety and security

requirements. Warden Olson was Warden of the

USPTH from August 26, 2001, until September 30,

2004.

57a

8. On July 13, 1999, the Special Confinement

Unit (““SCU”) was activated at the USPTH. The SCU

is the assigned housing unit for male prisoners under

federal sentences of death. While at the USPTH,

Hammer has been assigned to the SCU.

9. The BOP promulgates Program Statements

that contain the internal operating policies and

procedures of the Bureau in order to provide

direction to Bureau personnel in the operation of the

federal prison systems. Following the activation of

the SCU, numerous institution supplements were

reviewed to ascertain if modifications were needed to

specifically address the special and unique needs of

the SCU. An institution supplement is a statement

of procedure which is required in order to given

direction to operations of a BOP facility because of

local conditions. Institution supplements are

reviewed by institution staff and signed by the

Warden. Because the USPTH is the only federal

facility with such a unit, these policies are specific to

the USPTH. Management of the SCU at the USPTH

requires consideration of factors not present, or not

present to the same degree, in other housing units of

the USPTH or other units of other prisons operated

by the BOP. The SCU is unique, as is its inmate

population. In considering the supplement to

Program Statement 1480.05, prison personnel

(including Warden Lappin) intended to balance the

interests of the inmate and the journalist along with

the interests of the BOP with respect to its

responsibility of maintaining security and good order

at the institution. Additionally, it was the intent of

those involved with implementing the Supplement to

58a

safeguard the safety and the rights (including

privacy rights) of institution staff and of the inmate

population. These were legitimate concerns in the

specific environment which was being administered.

There was the potential for inmates to be perceived

as “jail celebrities,” which could disrupt the orderly

operation of the prison by undermining prison

security. Additionally, the right of privacy of other

inmates was a consideration. In a correctional

setting, slights, insults or provocations, real or

imagined, can result in inmate-on-inmate violence

and thus can have dire consequences for inmates,

penitentiary staff, and the public at large. The

result of this effort was the adoption of Institution

Supplement THA 1480.05A. !

The procedures implemented as the result of

these concerns were determined to be the least

restrictive method of protecting the various interests

involved-the interest of the individual inmate, the

interests of the inmate as a whole, and the interests

of the public as a whole. Although Institution

Supplement THA 1480.05A restricts Hammer's

access to face-to-face interviews with members of the

media, it does so in a manner fully in accord with the

standard established in Turner. That is, the

restriction contained in Institution Supplement THA

1480.05A is reasonably related to legitimate

penological interests. Hammer has not shown

' Institution Supplement THA 1480.05A was replaced with In

stitution Supplement THA 1480.05B in January 2003. For the

purpose of the present record, no substantive changes were

made to the section addressing media interviews for SCU in-

matcs.

59a

otherwise, even though it is his burden to do so,

Overton v. Bazzetta, 532 U.S. 126, 132 (2003), and

the evidentiary record shows in every respect that

the regulation adopted by Warden Lappin via

Institution Supplement THA 1480.05A withstands

Hammer's constitutional challenge. Not only is the

restriction reasonably related to legitimate

penological interests, but the restriction is applied in

a neutral manner without regard to content. The

restriction is applied equally among inmates housed

in the SCU. Hammer and other inmates assigned to

the SCU may contact media representatives through

general and special mail, as well as through

monitored and unmonitored telephone calls, giving

these inmates an alternative means of exercising the

right. Accommodating the unfettered right Hammer

asserts would have a disruptive impact on the

operation of the prison. Institution Supplement THA

1480.05A sets forth restrictions on inmate content

with the media only in areas reasonably deemed

proper for the purpose of operating the prison.

Although Warden Lappin denied several requests by

media representatives for personal interviews with

Hammer, Hammer and other inmates assigned to

the SCU have meaningful access to the media, and

Institution Supplement THA 1480.05A does not

infringe on the constitutional guarantee of that

access. See Johnson v. Stephan, 6 F.3d 691, 692

(10th Cir. 1993) (prisoner’s First Amendment rights

not violated when prison officials denied face-to-face

interview with prisoner since alternative means of

communication were available); Mitford v. Pickett,

363 F. Supp. 975, 978 (E.D. Ill. 1973) (prison

regulations limiting personal interviews of inmates

60a

by the press is an internal] affair of prison and does

not violate the First Amendment where inmates and

the press have ample opportunity to communicate by

mail). The fact that Hammer does not assess his

own history of communication with the media as

anything other than benign is not significant, Lujan

v. National Wildlife Federation, 497 U.S. 871, 888,

110 S. Ct. 3177, 111 L. Ed. 2d 695 (1990) (“[t]he

object of [Rule 56(e) ] is not to replace conclusory

allegations of the complaint or answer’ with

conclusory allegations of an affidavit”), just as the

fact that the restrictions imposed in Institution

Supplement THA 1480.05A were not always in place

is not significant, for inmates acquire no interest in

unchanging conditions of their confinement.

Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215, 225, 96 S. Ct. 2532,

49 L. Ed. 2d 451 (1976) (transfer of inmates to prison

with more burdensome conditions of confinement not

a violation of due process). The Supreme Court has

stated that content-based speech restrictions are

“neutral” so long as distinctions are drawn “solely on

the basis of their potential implications for prison

security.” Vhornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401, 415-

16, 109 S. Ct. 1874, 104 L. Ed. 2d 459 (1989). Thus,

while the government here is proscribing the content

of the speech of SCU inmates, this is “neutral” for

purposes of this analysis. See also Giano v.

Senkowski, 54 F.3d 1050, 1055 (2d Cir. 1995)

(discussing neutrality under Turner).

10. Warden Olson was not involved in the

drafting or implementation of Institution

Supplement 1480.05A in any respect. He did

approve the replacement document in January 2003,

6la

this being Institution Supplement THA 1480.05B.

As noted, however, no substantive changes were

made to the section addressing media interviews for

SCU inmates.

11. Hammer’s case is built around the view that

he is entitled to participate in interviews without

regard to the management and control of the SCU.

This ignores the realities of the SCU, the reason for

its existence, and the legitimate-even' the

paramount-interests of prison authorities in carrying

out the difficult task of operating the SCU.2 This

task warrants deference from the courts, which must

be sensitive to their expert judgment and mindful

that the judiciary is “ill equipped’ to deal with the

difficult and delicate problems of prison

management.” Vhornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401,

407-08, 109 S. Ct. 1874, 104 L. Ed. 2d 459 (1989). At

the same time, that deference “must be schooled, not

absolute.” Campbell v. Miller, 787 F.2d 217, 227 n.17

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1019, 107 S. Ct. 673,

93 L. Ed. 2d 724 (1986). The fact that initial

responsibility for the prison is vested in prison

administrators “does not mean that constitutional

rights are not to be scrupulously observed.” Bell, 441

U.S. at 562. For the reasons explained above, prison

authorities-including the defendants-have not

overstepped the constitutional limits, and _ the

regulation they have crafted is not, as Hammer

characterizes it, a simple limit on speech they would

find offensive. In the specific environment in which

2 As Hammer himself concedes, he is on death row for having

murdered a fellow inmate at a federal prison in Pennsylvania.

62a

Hammer finds himself, the regulation is a compelling

adjunct to the sound management of the SCU-amply

passing the constitutional challenge pressed in this

case. See, e.g., Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460, 473,

1U8 S. Ct. 864, 74 L. Ed. 2d 675 (1983) (“[t]he safety

of the institution’s guards and inmates is perhaps

the fundamental responsibility of the prison

administration”); Pel/ v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817,

823, 94 S. Ct. 2800, 41 L. Ed. 2d 495 (1974) (security

is “central to all other corrections goals”).

12. Claims such as those presented in this case

must be considered in light of the special

environment of a prison, where administrators “must

be accorded wide-ranging deference in the

execution of policies and practices that in their

judgment are needed to preserve internal order and

discipline and to maintain institutional security.”

Pardo v. Hosier, 946 F.2d 1278, 1280-81 (7th Cir.

1991) (internal quotations omitted). Nonetheless,

“[flederal courts must take cognizance of the valid

constitutional claims of prison inmates.” Babcock v.

White, 102 F.3d 267, 275 (7th Cir. 1996) (quoting

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 84, 107 S. Ct. 2254, 96

L. Ed. 2d 64 (1987)). Hammer has not identified a

genuine issue of material fact as to his claims

against the defendants. Their motion for summary

judgment is therefore granted.

Judgment consistent with this Entry shall now

issue.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

63a

Appendix D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

DAVID PAUL HAMMER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

JOHN D. ASHCROFT,

Attorney General of the United States, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 01-2898.

Submitted July 24, 2002.}

Decided July 25, 2002.

Before BAUER, RIPPLE, MANION, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

Federal death-row inmate David Paul Hammer

brought this lawsuit under Bivens v. Six Unknown

Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S.

388, 91 S. Ct. 1999, 29 L. Ed. 2d 619 (1971), alleging

that the defendants violated his First Amendment

rights by denying and restricting his access to the

1 Appellees notified this court that they were never served with

process in the district court and would not be participating in

this appeal, which has been submitted without a brief from

them. After examining the appellant’s brief and the record, we

have concluded that oral argument is unnecessary. Thus, the

appeal is submitted on the appellant’s brief and the record.

64a

news media. The defendants are Attorney General

John D. Ashcroft, Warden Harley G. Lappin, and

Federal Bureau of Prisons Director Kathleen Hawk-

Sawyer. The district court screened the complaint

under the Prison Litigation Reform Act, 28 U.S.C. §

1915A(b)(1), and dismissed it for failure to state a

claim. Mr. Hammer appeals, and, for the reasons

explained below, we reverse and remand.

Mr. Hammer is incarcerated in the Federal Death

Row Unit at the United States Penitentiary in Terre

Haute, Indiana. In April 2001 Mr. Hammer filed

this lawsuit, alleging that since March 2000 the

defendants have unconstitutionally infringed on his

right to freedom of speech by denying and restricting

his access to the news media based on the content of

his message and his status as a federal death-row

inmate. In his complaint, Mr. Hammer alleged that

between March 2000 and April 2001 a number of

news organizations wished to conduct face-to-face or

video-conference interviews with him, but that

Warden Lappin denied every one of his requests to

participate in the interviews. In addition, Mr.

Hammer alleged that the Warden Lappin

unconstitutionally restricted his ability’ to

communicate with the media via telephone or mail

correspondence.

According to Mr. Hammer, these restrictions

limiting his access to the media are part of the

defendants’ deliberate plan to deny him a public

forum and are in response to “public outcry” over a

television interview conducted in March 2000 of

federal death-row inmate Timothy McVeigh. Mr.

Hammer further alleged that the reasons prison

65a

officials provided for restricting his speech and

denying his requests-namely, safety and privacy

concerns-are not the real reasons they are restricting

his speech. He contended that the prison’s purported

reasons are a “guise.” He claimed that prison

officials are restricting his speech because he is a

death-row inmate and they want to prevent his views

from being publicized. In particular, he alleged, they

seek to suppress his views about capital punishment

and his experience on federal death row. Mr.

Hammer also alleged that before March 2000 he was

allowed to participate in a number of interviews

without causing any disruptions or prompting safety

concerns.

In May 2001 the district court dismissed Mr.

Hammer’s complaint under § 1915A for failure to

state a claim. The district court concluded that Mr.

Hammer failed to state a claim because he had no

constitutional right to face-to-face interviews, and

because the restrictions on his access to the media

served legitimate penological interests of safety,

privacy, and order.

We review de novo a district court’s dismissal

under § 1915A for failure to state a claim. Wynn v.

Southiward, 251 F.3d 588, 591 (7th Cir. 2001). We

apply the same standard as for dismissals under

Rule 12(b)(6): we take all well-pleaded allegations in

the complaint as true and draw _ reasonable

inferences in the plaintiffs favor. Id. at 592;

Zimmerman v. Tribble, 226 F.3d 568, 571 (7th Cir.

2000). A complaint fails to state a claim only if relief

could not be granted under any set of facts consistent

with the allegations. Wynn, 251 F.3d at 592.

66a

Inmates retain First Amendment rights that are

consistent with incarceration, and prison restrictions

limiting or interfering with those rights must

reasonably relate to legitimate penological interests.

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89, 107 S. Ct. 2254, 96

L. Ed. 2d 64 (1987); Rowe v. Shake, 196 F.3d 778,

782 (7th Cir. 1999). While inmates’ free-speech

rights include access to the media, inmates do not

have a right to face-to-face interviews so long as

other avenues of communication are open to them,

and regulations denying face-to-face interviews are

applied in a neutral, equal manner without regard to

content . See Pel/ v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817, 827-28,

94 S. Ct. 2800, 41 L. Ed. 2d 495 (1974). Prison

officials are given deference in_ establishing

regulations and in_ determining’ appropriate

restrictions, and we will not second-guess regulations

or practices that serve legitimate penological

interests. Turner, 482 U.S. at 89.

The Supreme Court has delineated four factors

for determining whether a specific regulation or

practice serves a legitimate penological interest. Jd.

at 89-90. The primary factor is whether a valid,

rational connection exists between the restriction

and a legitimate interest. /d. A restriction on speech

that fails to meet this connection fails under Jurner.

See Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S. 223, 229-30, 121 S.

Ct. 1475, 149 L. Ed. 2d 420 (2001). Relevant to this

factor is whether the restriction on speech is applied

in a neutral manner without regard to content and is

applied equally among inmates. Turner, 482 U.S. at

90; Rowe, 196 F.3d at 782; Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154

F.3d 128, 134 (3d Cir. 1998). The other factors

67a

relevant in determining a restriction’s

reasonableness include whether the inmate has

alternative means of exercising the right; the impact

accommodation of the asserted right would have on

guards, other inmates, and prison resources; and the

absence of a reasonable alternative to the regulation

or practice. Turner, 482 U.S. at 90.

Given these standards, Mr. Hammer’s complaint

stated a claim. In regard to whether the restrictions

on his speech have a valid, rational connection to a

legitimate interest, Mr. Hammer specifically alleged

that the defendants are restricting his speech based

on his status as a death-row inmate and to suppress

his views, and, despite their assertions to the

contrary, not to serve legitimate interests. In

addition, he alleged that the prison is not applying

the restrictions in a neutral fashion, but is instead

using the guise of unspecified security concerns to

restrict his speech based on status and content. In

regard to whether alternative avenues are open to

him, Mr. Hammer alleged that the prison not only

restricts his access to face-to-face interviews, but also

unconstitutionally restricts his access via telephone

and mail correspondence. He also alleged that the

prison is already equipped for video-conferencing and

that this would provide a_ readily available

alternative to face-to-face interviews. In regard to

the impact that accommodating his rights would

have on the prison, Mr Hammer alleged that prior to

March 2000 he participated in a number of

interviews and that these interviews did not create

any disruptions or security concerns. Finally, Mr.

Hammer also alleged that the prison’s practice of

68a

ordering him, under threat of reprimand, not to

mention any other inmate in any type of

communication with the media does not conform to

the Bureau of Prison’s own regulations.2. These

allegations state a claim. See Turner, 482 U.S. at 89-

90; Abu-Jamal, 154 F.3d at 134 (prison’s restrictions

directed at content of inmate’s writings and in

response to public pressure not valid under Turner);

see also Antonelli v. Sheahan, 81 F.3d 1422, 1432

(7th Cir. 1996) Gnmate’s allegations stated a first

amendment claim, and “lalt this early stage in the

litigation, we cannot determine, of course, whether

the defendants may be able to justify” their conduct);

Shimer v. Washington, 100 F.3d 506, 510 (7th Cir.

1996) (“The prison administration must proffer some

evidence to support its restriction.”).

Rather than taking the allegations in Mr.

Hammer’s complaint as true, the district court

erroneously relied on materials outside’ the

2 On this point, Mr. Hammer alleged that the restrictions the

prison placed on him were broader than those provided for in

the regulations. Mr. Hammer alleged that in ordering him not

to mention any other inmate in his communications with the

media, Warden Lappin mainvained that the restriction was

warranted by Bureau of Prisons Regulation 28 C.F.R. §

540.61(d). The district court also relied on this regulation to

conclude that the restrictions placed on Mr. Hammer’s speech

were warranted. On appeal, Mr. Hammer correctly points out

that § 540.61(d) states that, “the news media may not obtain

and use personal information from one inmate about another

inmate who refuses to be interviewed,” whereas, he alleged that

he was ordered not to mention any other inmate under any cir”

cumstances, regardless of whether or not the inmate refused to

be interviewed.

69a

complaint in order to conclude that it failed to state a

claim. See Covington v. Illinois Sec. Serv., Inc., 269

F.3d 863, 864-65 (7th Cir. 2001) (motion to dismiss

under Rule 12(b)(6) erroneously granted by relying

on attached EEOC letter rather than complaint);

Jacobs v. City of Chicago, 215 F.3d 758, 766 (7th Cir.

2000). Mr. Hammer had attached several

administrative-review documents to his complaint to

show that he had exhausted his administrative

remedies. 42 U.S.C. § 1997e(a); Dixon v. Page, 291

F.3d 485, 488 (7th Cir. 2002). The district court

focused on two documents that were responses from

Warden Lappin denying two of Mr. Hammer’s

requests for interviews on the basis of safety and

privacy concerns. Instead of accepting Mr. Hammer’s

allegations that these explanations were a “guise”

and not the reasons his speech is being restricted,

the district court accepted Warden Lappin’s

explanations as true: “Warden Lappin’s response

shows that he considered the very unique

environment of the death row unit ... It is clear that

Lappin’s decision and the supporting regulations are

reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” At this early pleading stage, the district

court erred by relying on those documents rather

than on Mr. Hammer’s complaint. Covington, 269

F.3d at 865; Wynn, 251 F.3d at 593-94; Jacobs, 215

F.3d at 766.

To be clear, we express no opinion about the

merits of Mr. Hammer’s claim, whether the prison’s

restrictions were justified, or the constitutionality of

any regulations. But Mr. Hammer has properly

70a

stated a claim and his complaint should not have

been dismissed.

Accordingly, we REVERSE and REMAND to the

district court for further proceedings.

7la

Appendix E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

DAVID PAUL HAMMER,

Plaintiff,

v.

JOHN ASHCROFT, Attorney General

of the United States, et al.,

Defendants.

No. IP 01-0558-C-T/G.

ENTRY DISCUSSING COMPLAINT AND

DIRECTING ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

I.

“A provision added to the Judicial Code by the

rison Litigation Reform Act of 1996 requires the

district judge to screen prisoner complaints at the

earliest opportunity and dismiss the complaint, in

whole or part, if... it “fails to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted.” Sanders v. Sheahan,

198 F.3d 626 (7th Cir. 1999) (quoting 28 U.S.C. §

1915A(b)(1)).

The screening process just described must be ap-

plied to the complaint of plaintiff David Paul Ham-

mer, a prisoner at the United States Penitentiary at

Terre Haute, Indiana, even though the filing fee pre-

scribed by 28 U.S.C. § 1914(a) has been paid. See

Rowe v. Shake, 196 F.3d 778 (7th Cir. 1999) (affirm-

ing that the district court is required to screen pris-

72a

oner complaints at the earliest opportunity and dis-

miss the complaint, in whole or part, if it fails to

state a claim upon which relief can be granted)(citing

§ 1915A(b)(1)).

U.

A.

Plaintiff David Paul Hammer is an inmate on

death row at the United States Penitentiary in Terre

Haute (USPTH). In his complaint, signed on April

14, 2001, and filed with the clerk on April 24, 2001,

Hammer alleges that the defendants have violated

his First Amendment rights. He seeks damages and

injunctive relief. The defendants are (1) John

Ashcroft, Attorney General of the United States, (1)

Harley Lappin, Warden of the USPTH, and (3) Kath-

leen Hawk-Sawyer, Director of the Federal Bureau of

Prisons (BOP). Each defendant is sued in both his or

her official and individual capacities. He seeks com-

pensatory and punitive damages and injunctive and

declaratory relief. He invokes the theory set forth in

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388

(1971).

Hammer alleges that since March of 2000, the de-

fendants have personally denied, or supported the

policy of such denials, several media requests for

face-to-face or videoconference interviews’ with

Hammer. Hammer alleges that although the defen-

dants have approved access to the media through

telephonic interviews and correspondence, they have

placed the condition on Hammer that he not provide

information concerning any other inmate to any

member of the media. The defendants have also re-

73a

quired the media to sign an agreement that they will

not ask Hammer any questions about any other in-

mate, will not print anything Hammer might say

about any other inmate, and will not broadcast any

recording made of any telephonic interview. An addi-

tional requirement, that media agree to submit a

prepublication draft to the Warden to review for any-

thing that might adversely affect the orderly or safe

operation the prison, was eliminated some time prior

to December 13, 2000.

B.

Hammer’s complaint fails to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted. It must therefore be

dismissed, with this disposition being compelled by

the following facts and circumstances:

1. To the extent Hammer complains of restric-

tions placed by the defendants on members of the

media, he lacks standing to assert such claims. See

Johnson v. Stephan, 6 F.3d 691, 692 (10th Cir.

1993)(prisoner has no standing to assert claims on

behalf of the media).

2. It is true that, “above all else, the First

Amendment means that government has no power to

restrict expression because of its message, its ideas,

its subject matter, or its content.” Police Department

v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 95 (1972). Nonetheless, under

the circumstances alleged, Hammer has no constitu-

tional right to give face-to-face interviews with the

media. “Denying media access to conduct face-to-face

interviews with inmates is constitutional as long as

alternative means for communicating with the media

are available.” Johnson v. Stephan, 6 F.3d at 692

74a

(citing Pel/ Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817, 834

(1974); Saxbe v. Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843

(1974)). Here,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hammer v. Ashcroft · 559 U.S. 991 | Frix