Petition for Writ of Certiorari — SMC Corp. v. Norgren, Inc. (No. 09-412)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\Ly |

Aen

No. 09-412 001 6- <8

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

INTHE yiffasn K. Suter, Cierk

Supreme Court of the United States

SMC CORPORATION and

SMC CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Petitioners,

v.

NORGREN, INC.,

Respondent,

and

U.S. INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ARTHUR I. NEUSTADT

Counsel of Record

THOMAS J. FISHER

BARRY J. HERMAN

ERIC W. SCHWEIBENZ

OBLON, SPIVAK, MCCLELLAND,

MAIER & NEUSTADT, L.L.P.

1940 Duke Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

(703) 413-3000

Counsel for Petitioners

1

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The claims in a patent are critical since they

define the scope of the exclusionary right. Prior to

Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc., 52 F.3d 967

(Fed. Cir. 1995) (en band, affd, 517 U.S. 370 (1996),

the jury construed the claims. Although this Court in

its Markman decision supra held as a matter of policy

that the claims should be construed by the district

court, this Court did not hold that this construction

was entitled to no deference upon appeal.

In Cybor Corp. v. FAS Techs., Inc., 138 F.3d

1448 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (en band, the Federal Circuit

held that a district court’s claim construction was

entitled to no deference upon appeal. This ruling has

resulted in a highly unsatisfactory situation during

the last eleven years, fe, a claim construction

reversal rate of roughly 40%, a need for many patent

cases to be tried more than once, and increasing

dissatisfaction by the district courts whose claim

constructions are afforded no deference and are

reversed almost half the time. Although some

Federal Circuit judges have long recognized this

problem, it appears that its correction can only come

from this Court. Thus, the question presented for

review is -

Should the Federal Circuit accord deference to a

district court’s claim construction?

|

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

SMC Corporation is the parent of SMC

Corporation of America. No publicly held company

owns 10% or more of its stock.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. ................. i

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT. ............ il

TERE CO SE EIA tinker erteniannaue iil

EPARaes IE PATE CRGP ORE 0 LBD vevessescsnscsssovscecesasoccaxescenses V

Fe EE UT sth tscaesstnisnissaintdeisesissieesdecmnureaaeien 1

PU as visxistinssiecsuisiancdeniisees 1

SEA ee PE CRI sic scnsecicsdcutcspscssencaxabsinancenmnes 1

FUORI TENG vi vsserivssnsimccticnntmnsanncne 1

ae Br MIO vcscvick scanstesrorestvinccannarcancans ania 2

POOP MEGE © GD FORGE q..06.cccescccscescccessccsarsecessees 3

FAR I ves testchicvensceerr ecto 3

Federal Circuit’s Decision...................ccssesesseees 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... 8

Cybor’s “No Deference” Rule Has

Resulted in an Unacceptably High

Roughly 40% Reversal Rate.....................0.00008. 8

1V

Cybor’s “No Deference” Rule Has

Alienated the District Courts Whose

Claim Constructions Are Reversed Almost

Be I Gio sca caus ctcwiedenercedccnepeddnsvosseiavinses 18

Cybor’s “No Deference” Rule Is Not

Supported By This Court’s Markman

IIE ul ccdaikchcatnduasincontnassxtsaatavevtaixseadenrnosts 21

a III :isiduss sch-cniaeionevenscdaidencheeunedagiexiehieslainnanl 23

APPENDIX

Appendix A - Federal Circuit decision,

I oo ccs cen china ai pads npennavonnaacionss la

Appendix B - ITC decision, April 14, 2008 ............. lla

Appendix C - ALJ decision, February 13, 2008...... 15a

Appendix D - Order denying petition for

rehearing en banc, August 21, 2009.................. 99a

Appendix E - American Bar Association Amgen

amicus brief, April 25, 2007 ...............ccccccsoccees. 101la

Appendix F - Federal Circuit Bar Association

Amgen amicus brief, April 25, 2007 ................ 110a

Appendix G - James F. Holderman, et al.,

The Patent Litigation Predicament

in the United States,

2007 U. Ill. J.L. Tech. & Pol’y 1 (2007)............ 129a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Amgen Inc. v. Hoechst Marion Roussel Inc.,

469 F.3d 1039 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (en banzo)......... 11, 12

Certain Connecting Devices (“Quick-Clamps”), For

Use with Modular Compressed Air Conditioning

Units, Including Filters, Regulators, and

Lubricators (“FRL’s’) That Are Part of Larger

Pneumatic Systems and the FRL Units They

Connect, ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-587,

ES FS Cette BU CE BOE onc cscccccscsccecccceccaces 1

Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp.,

I BD opicoacissscensnkevssincexscdwincesecaensvvcesnved 14

Cybor Corp. v. FAS Techs., Inc.,

138 F.3d 1448 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (en bano)........ passim

Irdeto Access, Inc. v. Echostar Satellite Corp.,

383 F.3d 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2004)............:ssssserseeserees 6-7

Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,

Be re I oosss vovcsccshaviceuuasiivsv.chassccdaneces 9,18

Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,

52 F.3d 967 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (en banc)........ 11, 17, 18

Norgren v. ITC,

2009 U.S. App. LEXIS 10984 (Fed. Cir. 2009) ........ 1

vl

Phillips v. AWH Corp.,

415 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en bano)........ passim

Salve Regina College v. Russell,

NN cnccessurcsinssarsassssescvsuesecoasvesnevesens 14

Vitronics Corp. v. Conceptronic Inc.,

00 F.Sd 1676 (red. Cir. 1906)...........0:ssscrssscerrcsssceess 6

Statute

I I os css cdh dsaesncceaninnnxnevensebetiointioens 1

Other

Gretchen Ann Bender, Uncertainty and

Unpredictability in Patent Litigation:

The Time is Ripe for Consistent Claim

Construction Methodology,

8 J. Intell. Prop. L. 175 (Spring 2001) ..............0c008s )

Christian A. Chu, Empirical Analysis of the

Federal Circuit's Claim Construction Trends,

16 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 1075 (Fall 2001) «0.000.000.0000. )

James F’. Holderman, et al., The Patent

Litigation Predicament in the United States,

2007 U. Ill. J.L. Tech. & Pol’y 1 (2007) ...8, 19, 20, 21

Kimberly A. Moore, Markman Eight Years Later:

Is Claim Construction More Predictable?

9 Lewis & Clark L. Rev. 231 (2005) ............. 9,10, 13

vl1l

Andrew T. Zidel, Patent Claim Construction in

the Trial Courts: A Study Showing the Need

for Clear Guidance from the Federal Circuit,

33 Seton Hall L. Rev. 711 (2009)................ Sas LO

OPINIONS BELOW

The Federal Circuit’s decision is reported at

2009 U.S. App. LEXIS 10984 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The

ALJ’s decision (adopted by the ITC) is reported at

2008 ITC LEXIS 285 (ITC 2008).

JURISDICTION

The Federal Circuit’s decision was entered on

May 26, 2009. SMC’s petition for rehearing en banc

was denied on August 21, 2009. The basis for this

Court’s jurisdiction is 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATEMENT OF CASE

Procedural History

Respondent Norgren Inc. (“Norgren”) filed a

complaint before the U.S. International Trade

Commission (“ITC”) against SMC Corporation and

SMC Corporation of America (collectively “SMC”)

asserting infringement of U.S. patent 5,372,392 (“the

‘392 patent”). Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”)

Carl C. Charneski conducted a hearing and developed

an evidentiary record. Based on this record, the ALJ

provided claim constructions for the disputed claim

terms, and found non-infringement based upon his

construction of the claim term “a_ generally

rectangular ported flange.” The ITC adopted this

decision as its final determination.

Norgren appealed to the Federal Circuit and

SMC intervened. The Federal Circuit afforded the

ALJ’s construction no deference, adopted its own de

novo construction, held that SMC literally infringed

and remanded to the ITC to reconsider validity of the

‘392 patent under the Federal Circuit’s new claim

construction. SMC filed a petition for rehearing en

banc in which it challenged, snter a/ia, the Federal

Circuit’s rule in Cyhor that a district court’s claim

construction is entitled no deference, but its petition

was denied.

SMC’s Products

The subject matter of this suit pertains to a

connector (or clamp) used to connect components,

such as a filter (“F”), regulator (“R”) or lubricator

(“L”), in a pneumatic (air) line. The accused SMC

connectors are designed to connect FRL’s having two

mounting ears (an ear on each side of a face), which

are received into the connector. These mounting ears

are shown below in orange.

SMC’s Mounting Ears

3

Norgren’s ‘392 Patent

Norgren’s ‘392 patent is directed to a connector

which, instead of connecting mounting ears, is

designed to connect to a generally rectangular ported

flange on the FRL units. Norgren’s flange, claimed as

“a generally rectangular ported flange,” is shown

below in red. (SMC’s mounting ears preceded

Norgren’s rectangular ported flange by about ten

years).

Norgren’s Generally Rectangular Ported Flange

ALJ’s Decision

After a three day evidentiary hearing during

which the ALJ heard testimony on claim construction

by both Norgren’s and SMC’s experts, and after the

submission of extensive post trial briefing, the ALJ

issued a comprehensive 66 page Initial

Determination, that includes a 33 page section on

claim construction, App. 23a°62a, of which 15 pages

are dedicated to the construction of the claim term “a

4

generally rectangular ported flange,” App. 35a-52a,

concluding that “a generally rectangular ported

flange’ is a flange of rectangular shape with

projections on all four sides and a hole in the middle

that is used as a port.” App. 44a, emphasis added.

This construction was not surprising since a

rectangle has four sides.

The ALJ discounted the testimony of Norgren’s

expert since, during the hearing, he admitted that he

did not review the prosecution history, he did not

even know what a prosecution history was, and he

had no concern that his interpretation of claim

language might be inconsistent with the prosecution

history. App. 48a.

The ITC declined Norgren’s request to review

the ALJ’s decision, adopting it as _ its final

determination. App. 1la-ld4a.

Federal Circuit’s Decision

Despite the ALJ’s detailed consideration of the

proper claim construction for “a generally rectangular

ported flange,” the Federal Circuit gave his decision

short shrift, holding that “[wle review claim

construction de novo,” citing Cybor. Unbound by any

requirement that it afford any deference to the ALJ's

decision, the Federal Circuit proceeded to find for

reasons not entirely clear in its decision that the

language a “generally rectangular ported flange” did

not require a flange which was generally rectangular

with a port in its center.

5

The Federal Circuit afforded no deference to the

ALJ’s consideration of what transpired at the

evidentiary hearing, or to his well-reasoned claim

construction, and concluded with little explanation

that “[nJothing in the claims, written description or

prosecution history requires four projecting rims.”

App. 7a. However, the claims do require a “generally

rectangular” ported flange and a rectangle has four

sides. The Federal Circuit further stated that “[t]he

claims of the ‘392 patent do not recite the terms ‘rim’

or ‘projection.” Jd. However, the claims do recite the

term “generally rectangular ported flange” which

requires four “rims” or “projections” since a rectangle

has four sides.

The Federal Circuit also concluded with little

explanation that “under the _ well-established

prohibition on importing limitations from the

specification into the claims, see Phillips v. AWH

Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1320, 1323, the ‘generally

rectangular ported flange’ of the asserted claims of

the ‘392 patent is not limited to a flange having four

projecting rims.” App. 8a. This conclusion is directly

contrary to the ALJ’s determination that:

In view of the fact that the clamp must be

four-sided, and the clamp is _ specifically

adapted to engage the generally rectangular

ported flanges of the FRLs, it is reasonable

to conclude that each rectangular flange is

engaged on all four of its sides by the four:

sided clamp. Thus, the clamp is adapted to

engage flanges with four projecting rims.

App 52a.

6

The ALJ further explained that:

Norgren offers no explanation as to why, if

the clamp were adapted to engage a flange

with only two projecting rims, the claim

emphasizes the generally rectangular shape

of the flange, and moreover, why the claim

requires as a limitation that the clamp be

four-sided. There is nothing in the claim

language, the specification, or the

prosecution history (quoted above) to

indicate that somehow a four-sided clamp

fitting over a generally rectangular (ie.,

four-sided) flange could fit over only two

sides of the rectangle, or how a rectangle

could have only two sides.

App. 57a, emphasis added.

The Federal Circuit’s decision is also contrary to

the fundamental claim construction rule in PaAil/ips,

supra, that the specification is “the single best guide

to the meaning of a disputed term.”

Assigning such a limited role to _ the

specification, and in particular requiring

that any definition of claim language in the

specification be express, 1s inconsistent with

our rulings that the specification 1s “the

single best guide to the meaning of a

disputed term,” and that the specification

“acts as a dictionary when it expressly

defines terms used in the claims or when it

defines terms by implication.” Vitronics, 90

F.3d at 1582; Jrdeto Access, Inc. v. Echostar

7

Satellite Corp. 383 F.3d 1295, 1300 (Fed.

Cir. 2004) (“Even when guidance is not

provided in explicit definitional format, the

specification may define claim terms by

umplication such that the meaning may be

found in or ascertained by a reading of the

patent documents.”) (citations omitted).

Phillips, 415 F.3d at 1320-21, emphasis added.

Phillips was followed by the ALJ but the Federal

Circuit failed to heed its mandate that the focus be

upon the language of the claim as supported by the

specification (and drawings) and not upon extrinsic

matters. Pursuant to this mandate, the Federal

Circuit should have focused upon the claim language

“a generally rectangular ported flange” and not upon

the extrinsic terms “rim” or “projection.”

Had the Federal Circuit accorded deference to

the ALJ’s claim construction, its conclusion likely

would have been different and correct. In short, the

ALJ correctly held that the claim term rectangular

ported flange required a flange in the shape of a

rectangle, e., one with four sides. The Federal

Circuit, however, according no deference to the ALdJ’s

claim construction, held that the claim term

rectangular ported flange did not require a flange

with four sides (“nothing in the claims ... requires

four projecting rims [sides]”). Cybor’s “no deference”

rule permitted the Federal Circuit to summarily

dismiss the ALJ’s construction and find that a

rectangular ported flange need not have four sides.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Cybor’s “No Deference” Rule Has Resulted in an

Unacceptably High Roughly 40% Reversal Rate

In his law review article entitled “The Patent

Litigation Predicament in the United States,” Chief

Judge James F. Holderman of the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Illinois

states that “the reversals by the Federal Circuit of

district court decisions on patent claim construction

are nothing of which to be proud” and describes

reversal rates of 33-50%. App. 132a, emphasis added.

Depending on what statistics and whose

opinion one looks at, the reversals by the

Federal Circuit of district court decisions on

patent claim construction are nothing of

which to be proud. The rate of these

reversals adds to the uncertainty In patent

litigation. In 1998, two years after the

United States Supreme Court’s opinion in

Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.

affirming the Federal Cuircuit’s decision,

Federal Circuit Judge Randall Rader, in his

concurrence in the en banc decision Cybor

Corp. v. FAS Technologies, Inc., opined that

from his vantage point it appeared the

reversal rate regarding patent claim

construction by district court judges was

“hovering near 50%” for the cases decided

during the approximately two and a half

year period of April 1995 through November

1997. After that startling revelation from a

highly respected appellant jurist, Professor

9

Kimberly Moore, now herself a judge of the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit, undertook a = detailed

analysis of all Federal Circuit claim

construction cases from April 23, 1996, (the

day the Supreme Court issued its decision in

Markman) through December 31, 2000, and

concluded “that district judges improperly

construe patent claim terms in 33% of the

cases appealed to the Federal Circuit.”

Another scholar, Christian A. Chu, studied

Federal Circuit cases between January 1,

1998, and April 30, 2000. Chu found that

the reversal rate was 44%. Other similar

studies placed the reversal rate around 40%.

App. 132a°133a, emphasis added, footnotes omitted.

Although the case at bar involves the ITC, the ALJ

in an ITC proceeding functions as a trial judge

similar to a district court judge with respect to claim

construction.

Judge Holderman’s article refers to a number of

studies showing a 40% reversal rate which, not

surprisingly, leads to “uncertainty and

unpredictability in patent litigation.”

E.g., Gretchen Ann Bender, Uncertainty and

Unpredictability in Patent Litigation: The

Time is Ripe _ for Consistent Claim

Construction Methodology, 8 J. Intell. Prop.

L. 175, 206-07 (Spring 2001) (finding a 40%

reversal rate from Markman opinion through

2000); Kimberly A. Moore, Markman Eight

Years Later: Is Claim Construction More

10

Predictable?, 9 Lewis & Clark L. Rev. 231,

236-39 (2005) |hereinafter Moore, Markman

Eight Years Later] (indicating a 40.8%

reversal rate if summary affirmances are

excluded, a 34.51% if summary affirmances

are included, and a 37.5% reversal rate in

cases in which the Federal Circuit held one

or more patent claims wrongly construed);

Andrew T. Zidel, Patent Claim Construction

in the Trial Courts: A Study Showing the

Need for Clear Guidance from the Federal

Circuit, 33 Seton Hall L. Rev. 711, 745-46

(2003) (showing a 41.5% reversal rate (39 out

of 94) of district court claim construction

decisions during 2001).

App. 161a-162a, n.11, emphasis added.

There can be little disagreement that a 40%

reversal rate is unacceptably high for a properly

functioning patent system. At least four Federal

Circuit judges have expressed a desire to overrule

Cybor’s “no deference” rule, but it does not appear

that the Federal Circuit is willing to do so.

Chief Judge Michel stated that Cybor’s “no

deference” rule is the source of four serious problems

- (1) a steadily high reversal rate, (2) a lack of

predictability which “confounds” trial judges and

discourages settlements, (3) a waste of the district

court’s claim construction, especially where the

district court spent much more time on it than the

Federal Circuit ever could and (4) the need for the

Federal Circuit to redo the tedious “minutia” of claim

construction.

11

Rehearing this case en banc would have

enabled us to reconsider Cybor’s rule of de

novo review for claim construction in light of

our eight years of experience with its

application. J have come to believe that

reconsideration is appropriate and revision

may be advisable.

In my view, four practical problems have

emerged under the Markman-Cybor regime:

(1) a steadily high reversal rate (2) a lack of

predictability about appellate outcomes,

which may confound trial judges and

discourage settlements; (3) Joss of the

comparative advantage often enjoyed by the

district judges who heard or read all of the

evidence and may have spent more time on

the claim constructions than we ever could

on appeal; and (4) inundation of our court

with the minutia of construing numercus

disputed claim terms (in multiple claims and

patents) in nearly every patent case.

K*E*

Whatever our resolution, however, I believe

the time has come for us to re-examine

Cybor’s no deference rule. | hope that we

will do so at our next opportunity, and I

expect we will.

Amgen Inc. v. Hoechst Marion Roussel Inc., 469 F.3d

1039, 1040-41 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (Michel, C.J., with

whom Rader, J., joins, dissenting from the denial of

the petition for rehearing en banc), emphasis added.

12

Similarly, Judge Newman stated:

I continue to believe that findings of

science/technology-based facts in [claim

constructions in] patent cases should receive

appellate review on the same basis as other

science-based findings, guided by Daubert

and the Court’s ensuing elaborations. ... Jt

is time to reopen the question and to rethink,

en banc, the optimum approach to accuracy,

consistency, and predictability in the

resolution of patent [claim construction]

disputes, with due attention to judicial

structure, litigants’ needs, and the national

interest in invention and innovation.

Td. at 1043 (Newman, J., dissenting), emphasis

added.

Judge Rader was of a like view - “I agree with

the reasoning of Chief Judge Michel’s and Judge

Newman’s dissents. Like them, I urge this court to

accord deference to the factual components of the

lower court’s claim construction.” Id. at 1044 (Rader,

J., dissenting), emphasis added.

Judge Moore also dissented - “I dissent because

I believe this court should have taken this case en

banc to reconsider its position on deference to district

court claim construction articulated in Cybor Corp. v.

FAS Tech., Inc., 138 F.3d 1448, 1454-55 (Fed. Cir.

1998) (holding that claim construction was purely a

matter of law and therefore subject to de novo

review).” Jd. at 1046 (Moore, J., dissenting),

emphasis added.

13

The American Bar Association (“ABA”), whose

Intellectual Property Law Section is the world’s

largest organization of intellectual property

professionals (App. 102a), previously submitted an

amicus brief to this Court seeking to overturn

Cybor’s “no deference” rule, noting that this rule has

resulted in “a high reversal rate” which in turn has

“increased the cost of litigation by frequently

requiring relitigation of issues following a reversal.”

One consequence of the Federal Circuit’s

plenary de novo review of these fact-

intensive issues, as one would expect, has

been a Aigh reversal rate® This high

reversal rate has significantly increased the

cost of litigation by frequently requiring

relitigation of issues following a reversal, or

at the very least forcing parties to put in

proof and make arguments in the alternative

because of the uncertainty of the final claim

construction.

3 See, e.g., Kimberly A. Moore, Markman

Eight Years Later: Is Claim Construction

More Predictable?, 9 Lewis & Clark L. Rev.

231, 232 (2005) (citing 34.5% reversal rate

for 1996-2003); Cybor Corp. v. FAS

Technologies, Inc., 138 F.3d 1448, 1476

(Fed. Cir. 1998) (Rader, J., dissenting)

(38.3% reversal rate per court’s 1997

official statistics).

App. 103a-104a, emphasis added, footnotes omitted.

14

The ABA further pointed out that Cybor’s “no

deference” rule is particularly inappropriate since it

is the district courts and not the Federal Circuit that

are better situated to apply a fact-dependent legal

standard such as the standard used in claim

construction (the meaning of the claims to one skilled

in the art).

The Cybor approach gives insufficient

recognition to the proper competencies of the

trial and appellate courts. As this Court has

recognized, district courts are better situated

to apply fact-dependent legal standards. See

Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S.

384, 402 (1990) (“Familiar with the issues

and the litigants, the district court is better

situated than the court of appeals to marshal

the pertinent facts and apply the fact-

dependent legal standard.”); see also Salve

Regina College v. Russell, 499 U.S. 225, 233

(1991) (“deferential review of mixed

questions of law and fact is warranted when

it appears the district court is ‘better

positioned’ than the appellate court to decide

the issue in question or that probing

appellate scrutiny will not contribute to the

clarity of legal doctrine”). District court

findings on fact-intensive inquiries

underlying claim constructions, Phillips, 415

F.3d at 1331, should be given deference for

precisely these reasons.

App. 106a, emphasis added.

15

The ABA further noted that Cybor’s “no

deference” rule resulted in “a substantial reversal

rate, ... considerable inefficiencies, unpredictability

and added expense.”

The de novo review of all aspects of claim

constructions under Cybor has contributed to

a substantial reversal rate of district court

rulings by the Federal Circuit. Members of

the ABA have observed that instead of

having the intended effect of “providing

national uniformity to the construction of a

patent claim,” Cybor, 138 F.3d at 1455, this

approach instead has introduced into patent

litigation considerable inefficiencies,

unpredictability, and added expense.

App. 107a, emphasis added, footnotes omitted.

The ABA concluded that reviewing’ the

underlying findings of fact in a claim construction for

clear error would decrease the reversal rate which

would reduce patent litigation costs which in turn

would benefit both patentees and accused infringers

alike.

Reviewing a district court’s ultimate claim

construction de novo and the underlying

findings of fact for clear error will decrease

the reversal rate at the Federal Circuit. A

lower reversal rate would help reduce patent

litigation costs by limiting instances of

relitigation and the use of inefficient trial

strategies that account for the likelihood of

16

reversal, which in turn would benefit both

patentees and accused infringers alike.

App. 107a-108a, footnotes omitted.

The Federal Circuit Bar Association (“FCBA”), a

national organization consisting of approximately

2,400 attorneys whose practice concerns the Federal

Circuit in all aspects of its jurisdiction (App. 111a),

also previously submitted an amicus brief to this

Court seeking to overturn Cybor’s “no deference”

rule, noting that this rule “has produced an

unacceptably high appellate reversal rate of claim

constructions, spawning uncertainty among patent

litigants, postponing resolution of patent cases, and

discouraging settlement.” App. 112a.

The FCBA further noted the _ surprising

reluctance of the Federal Circuit to reconsider

Cybor’s “no deference” rule.

The Federal Circuit has refused to reconsider

Cybor despite widespread recognition among

practitioners—and even a majority of the

Federal Circutt’s own judges—that Cybor is

seriously flawed. In the nine years since the

Federal Circuit decided Cybor, de novo

review of claim construction has rendered

patent litigation less predictable, spawned

unnecessary legal conflict, and discouraged

settlement.

App. 113a, emphasis added.

The FCBA further pointed out that its members

had litigated patent claims under Cyhor’s “no

17

deference” rule for many years with highly

unsatisfactory results.

Our members have now litigated patent

claims under the Cybor rule for nine years.

As the result of this experience, the FCBA

has concluded that, not only has de novo

review of claim construction failed to

“improve the process of patent litigation”; it

has spawned an unacceptably high reversal

rate and, with it, endemic uncertainty among

litigants and practitioners.

App. 116a, emphasis added, footnote omitted.

In fact, as pointed out by the FCBA, Cybor’s “no

deference” rule has produced the opposite of its

desired effect.

As a result, Cybor has produced the opposite

of its desired effect. Far from encouraging

authoritative early construction: of patent

claims, de novo review instead defers until

the appellate decision the point at which

litigants and _ practitioners can_ reliably

assess their likelihood of prevailing. At that

point, the opportunity for early resolution is

long past. As Judge Rader explains, the

“Markman I regime means that the tria/

court’s early claim interpretation provides no

early certainty at all, but only opens the

bidding. The meaning of a claim is not

certain until nearly the last step in the

process—decision by the Court of Appeals for

18

the Federal Circuit.” Cybor, 138 F.3d at

1476 (Rader, J., dissenting).

App. 117a, emphasis added.

The FCBA also noted the inconsistency between

the statements of a number of Federal Circuit judges

that they desired to revisit Cybor’s “no deference”

rule with the contradictory fact that the Federal

Circuit continually fails to do so.

As recently as 2005, the Federal Circuit

refused to revisit the Cybor rule en banc,

even after requesting briefing from the

parties on whether it is “appropriate .. . to

accord any deference to any aspect of trial

court claim construction rulings.” /PaAzi/lips,

415 F.3d at 1328. Because the Federal

Circuit has inexplicably refused to revisit

Cybor despite the inclination of many of its

Judges to do so, and because the Cybor rule

undermines the _ orderly and_ timely

resolution of patent cases, this Court should

grant the Petition for Certiorari.

App. 122a, emphasis added, footnote omitted.

Cybor’s “No Deference” Rule Has Alienated the

District Courts Whose Claim Constructions Are

Reversed Almost Half the Time

There is little dispute that claim construction

proceedings require a great deal of time and effort.

Claim construction or Markman hearings “are often

longer than jury trials” and, in these hearings, the

19

parties battle over experts offering

conflicting evidence regarding who qualifies

as one of ordinary skill in the art; the

meaning of patent terms to that person; the

state of the art at the time of the invention;

contradictory dictionary definitions and

which would be consulted by the skilled

artisan; the scope of specialized terms; the

problem a patent was solving; what is

related or pertinent art; whether a

construction was disallowed during

prosecution; how one of skill in the art would

understand statements during prosecution;

and on and on.

Phillips, supra, 415 F.3d at 1332 (Mayer, J.,

with whom Newman, J., joins dissenting),

emphasis added.

Not surprisingly, district courts are alienated by

a system requiring they devote extensive time and

effort to hear and decide claim construction issues

only to have their decisions reversed almost half the

time since the Federal Circuit, pursuant to Cybor,

affords their decisions no deference.

Judge Holderman, in his law review article,

laments the “high reversal rate” and characterizes

Cybor’s “no deference” rule as “another major factor

contributing to the number of patent claim

construction reversals.”

Before we district court judges shoulder all

the responsibility for the part of the patent

litigation predicament stemming from the

20

high reversal rate, mentioned earlier, let me

just say in our defense that there 1s another

major factor contributing to the number of

patent claim construction reversals. The

decisions we district judges make regarding

patent claim construction are currently

reviewed by the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit under a de

novo standard, which allows the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit to determine the correctness of our

rulings as to the definition of patent claim

terms without any deference to what we did

in the district court.

App. 138a, emphasis added, footnotes omitted.

Judge Holderman further complains about the

impact of Cybor’s “no deference” rule.

As a result of the de novo standard of

appellate review applied to our claim

construction determinations, we United

States district court judges feel like the late

comedian Rodney Dangertield because our

opinions “get no respect.” The de novo

standard allows the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit to look at our

determinations anew and determine the

correctness of our rulings based upon factual

and legal arguments presented by counsel to

the Court of Appeals for the Federal! Circuit,

rather than what was presented to us trial

court judges.

21

App. 139a, emphasis added, footnotes omitted.

Judge Holderman also points out that it makes

little sense to review claim construction de novo

because the meaning of a patent claim term has no

precedential effect on the meaning to be given to that

same claim term used in another patent in another

field of art.

While claim construction involves many of

what one would consider to be factual

determinations, it is reviewed entirely de

novo as an issue of law by the Federal

Circuit, even though the meaning of a patent

claim term at the time of filing of the patent

application has no precedential affect on the

meaning to be given to that same claim term

used in another patent in another field of

art.

App. 139a-140a, emphasis added.

Cybor’s “No Deference” Rule Is Not Supported By

This Court’s Markman Decision

The Federal Circuit’s stated basis for Cybor’s “no

deference” rule is this Court’s Markman decision.

Cybor, 138 F.3d at 1451. However, this Court held

only that, as a matter of policy, judges not juries

should construe the claims and did not hold that this

policy requires the Federal Circuit to review district

court claim constructions without deference. As

pointed out by then Chief Judge Mayer Qoined by

Judge Newman) dissenting in Cybor,

22

... | respectfully disagree with the opinion

because it profoundly misapprehends

Markman y. Westview Instruments, Inc.,

116 S.Ct. 1384 (1996). The Supreme Court

... decided as a matter of policy that judges,

not juries, are better able to perform this

task [claim construction] given the

complexity of evidence and documentation.

. Nevertheless, having so ruled, it seems to

me the Court would not also have repealed

part of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

and Evidence without so much as a mention

that district courts ... need not find facts

when evidence is disputed in these cases.

Nor would it have so excused this court from

the normal, historical role of appellate courts

to review for reversible error, and installed it

as a collegial trial court.

Cybor, 138 F.3d at 1463-64, emphasis added (except

for “policy”).

Judge Newman also submitted a separate

dissent Goined by Chief Judge Mayer),

Thus it is quite discouraging to observe this

en banc ruling wherein the Federal Circuit

prohibits itself from considering the findings

of fact made by the trial court. ... This

disavowal deprives the court, and the

parties, of the accumulated progress and

experience of the trial, including the findings

of the trial judge, and leaves us on appeal

with an expurgated record and generally

inferior basis of decision. Recognizing that

23

our appellate role is to decide whether the

claims were correctly interpreted in light of

all of the evidence, it 1s mysterious why we

choose to self-censor what we will consider

on appeal. It is equally obscure why this

court would prohibit itself from relying on a

trial court’s findings, or from choosing

between disputed expert positions.

Id. at 1481, emphasis added.

CONCLUSION

The Federal Circuit has been reviewing district

court claim constructions under Cybor’s “no

deference” rule for over eleven years. This rule has

led to an unacceptably high roughly 40% reversal

rate for claim constructions. Further, this rule has

alienated the district courts whose’ claim

constructions are accorded no deference and are

reversed almost half the time. Although some

Federal Circuit judges want to reconsider this rule,

the Federal Circuit has not done so and does not

appear to be willing to do s». As a practical matter,

only this Court can vacate this rule and its highly

unacceptable roughly 40% claim _ construction

reversal rate.

October 6, 2009

24

Respectfully submitted,

ARTHUR I. NEUSTADT

Counsel of Record

THOMAS J. FISHER

BARRY J. HERMAN

ERIC W. SCHWEIBENZ

OBLON, SPIVAK, MCCLELLAND

MAIER & NEUSTADT, L.L.P.

1940 Duke Strect

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A

NOTE: This disposition is nonprecedential.

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

2008-1415

NORGREN INC.,

Appellant,

Vv.

INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION,

Appellee,

and

SMC CORPORATION and

SMC CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Intervenors.

On appeal from the United States International

Trade Commission in Investigation No. 337-TA-587.

DECIDED: May 26, 2009

Before SCHALL, GAJARSA, and MOORE, Circuit

Judges.

2a

MOORE, Circuit Judge.

Norgren, Inc. (Norgren) appeals from a final

determination of the International Trade Commission

(ITC) in a section 337 investigation. See 19 U.S.C. §

1337. Norgren is the assignee of U.S. Patent No.

5,572,392 (the ’392 patent). The ITC instituted this

investigation based on a complaint filed by Norgren

that named SMC Corporation and SMC Corporation

of America (collectively, SMC), among others, as

respondents. The administrative law judge (ALJ)

concluded in an initial determination that SMC did

not violate section 337 because the accused SMC

structures do not infringe the 392 patent. The ALJ

also determined that the asserted claims of the ’392

patent are nonobvious. The ITC declined to review

the ALJ’s initial determination and terminated the

investigation with a finding of no violation. Norgren

appeals. For the following reasons, we reverse-in-

part, vacate-in-part, and remand.

BACKGROUND

The technology at issue concerns structures that

connect fluid-conditioning units—e.g., filters,

regulators, and lubricators (FRLs)--in a compressed

air pipeline. Between an air compressor and a point

of use, a pipeline can include various conditioning

units connected in series. Problems associated with

prior art connecting structures included high

production costs and loose parts requiring assembly

by a user. An object of the invention of the ’392

patent was to permit ready disconnection of FRLs.

These compressed air systems are typically found in

assembly-line manufacturing operations, and ready

3a

disconnection of FRLs limits the amount of service

time for which an assembly line might need to be

shut down. The ’392 patent claims a connecting

structure wherein one side of the structure can be

pivoted in and out of its operating position. Figures 1

and 4 show the preferred embodiment of the ’392

patent:

oy

Ny

8 6

=

Fig. 4

Figure 4 depicts a connecting structure as it connects

two FRL units having outlet ports (27 and 31) and

flanges (26 and 30). The parties and the ALJ refer to

the vertical portions of the flanges as projecting rims,

and we will do the same. Figure 1 is an exploded

view of the connecting structure. The rectangular

spacer (2) slides into the u-shaped member (1) along

channels (5, 6, and 7), with elongated member (3) in

the raised position. The projecting rims of the flanges

slide in between the spacer and the channel walls.

The elongated member is then lowered and bolted

closed. The primary issue on appeal—claim

construction—focuses on the projecting rims of the

flanges.

4a

DISCUSSION

Norgren filed a complaint with the ITC in which

it alleged violations of section 337 in the importation

into the United States, the sale for importation, and

the sale within the United States after importation of

certain SMC connecting structures that allegedly

infringe claims 1—5, 7, and 9 of the ’892 patent. The

ALJ held an administrative tral, received post-

hearing briefing from the parties, and then issued an

initial determination in which he concluded that

there was no violation of section 337. More

specifically, the ALJ found that the accused SMC

connecting structures do not infringe the asserted

claims because they do not meet the claim limitation

of “a four-sided generally rectangular clamp adapted,

in its operative clamping position, to engage, in

parallel relationship with one another, the pair of

ported flanges.” The ALJ also determined that the

asserted claims of the ’392 patent are nonobvious.

The ITC decided not to review the initial

determination and terminated the investigation with

a finding of no violation.

Norgren appeals, challenging the ALJ’s claim

construction. Both the ITC (as appellee) and SMC (as

intervenors) respond that the ALJ’s finding of

noninfringement was correct because the underlying

claim construction was correct. SMC also argues that

the ALJ erred in concluding that the asserted claims

are not invalid for obviousness. We have jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(6).

5a

We review claim construction de novo. Gemstar-

TV Guide Int'l, Inc. v. Int'l Trade Comm’n, 383 F.3d

1352, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also Cybor Corp. v.

FAS Techs., Inc., 138 F.3d 1448, 1455-56 (Fed. Cir.

1998) (en banc). Independent claim 1 of the ’392

patent recites as follows:

1. Connecting structure for contiguously

connecting together a pair of fluid-flow

elements, each fluid flow element

including a_generally rectangular ported

flange so as to define a pair of ported

flanges associated with the fluid-flow

elements, said connecting structure

comprising:

a four-sided, generally rectangular

clamp adapted, in its operative

clamping position, to engage, in

parallel relationship with one

another, the pair of ported

flanges, one of said sides of the

clamp being pivotally mounted so

that said one side can be pivoted

out of said operative clamping

position in order to permit

reception of said flanges into the

clamp and then pivoted back into

said operative clamping position,

6a

sealing means for establishing fluid-

tight communication between the

respective ports formed in said

flanges, and

locking means for releasably locking

said one side in said operative

clamping position, in which

position the clamp urges the

flanges towards one another

thereby establishing together

with said sealing means, said

fluid-tight communication

between said ports.

Because this claim recites a “clamp adapted . . . to

engage ... the pair of ported flanges,” the parties

agree that we must construe “generally rectangular

ported flange,” which appears in the preamble of

claim 1, insofar as the flange is configured to permit

engagement by the clamp. The ALJ explained,

“whether or not the flange on an FRL must have two

or four . . . rims is the salient issue to be determined.”

The ALJ stated:

the word “flange,” as used in the claims of

the ’392 patent, is the structure that is

received into the claimed clamp, and

further that “a generally rectangular

ported flange” is a flange of rectangular

shape with projections on all four sides

and a hole in the middle that is used as a

port.

The ALJ further explained:

7a

In view of the fact that the clamp must be

four-sided, and the clamp is _ specially

adapted to engage the generally

rectangular ported flanges of the FRLs, it

is reasonable to conclude that each

rectangular flange is engaged on all four of

its sides by the four-sided clamp. Thus,

the clamp is adapted to engage flanges

with four projecting rims.

Norgren argues that the ALJ’s claim construction is

erroneous for requiring that cach flange has

projections (or projecting rims) on all four sides.! We

agree.

Nothing in the claims, written description or

prosecution history requires four projecting rims.

The claims of the 392 patent do not recite the terms

“rim” or “projection.” Indeed the term “rim” does not

appear anywhere in the ‘’392 patent. The

specification refers to two items as projections—the

hook attached to the rectangular spacer and a ridge

in another embodiment of the u-shaped member—

neither of which are present on the flanges or relate

' In its briefs, Norgren also maintained that the ALJ’s claim

construction incorrectly requires that the entire flange be

received into the clamp. At oral argument, however, counsel for

Norgren and counsel for SMC conceded that for the SMC

accused structures, flanges do not extend beyond the clamp.

Oral Argument Tr. 9:07-11:46 (Norgren), 35:08—-36:47 (SMC).

In other words, the accused SMC connecting structures permit

reception of two flanges entirely into the clamp. Accordingly, we

do not address this issue.

8a

to the flanges in any way. See ’392 patent col.2 1.62,

col.3 1.1, col.4 1.19. It is true that the figures of the

’°392 patent depict a preferred embodiment that

includes two flanges, each with four projecting rims.

See id. figs.3 & 4. But these figures are the full

extent to which the patent refers to flanges with four

projecting rims. Thus under the well-established

prohibition on importing limitations from the

specification into the claims, see Phillips v. AWH

Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1320, 1323, the “generally

rectangular ported flange” of the asserted claims of

the 392 patent is not limited to a flange having four

projecting rims.

The “generally rectangular” language pertains to

the overall shape of the flange. The figures below

depicting the Norgren and SMC flanges attached to

the FRLs show that cach is gencrally rectangular.

The subsequent Figures show just the two flanges.

The dotted lines indicate the projections (rims). The

SMC device has two, the Norgren device four.

A Generally Rectangular Ported Flange SMC’s Moanting Ears

Norgren SMC

Generally Rectangular Mounting Ears

Ported Flange

SMC Br. 23-24. The claim limitation “rectangular” is

satisfied by the overall shape of the flange and does

necessitate four rims. The “ported” language

indicates that the flange have a port or hole in the

center for the passage of fluid. This cannot be the

source of the four rims limitation. That leaves the

word “flange.” Neither party is suggesting that one of

ordinary skill in the art would understand the word

flange alone to necessitate four rims. Although the

word flange necessarily calls to mind a protrusion,

rim or projection, nothing in the specification of the

‘392 patent suggests that the claimed flange must

always include four rims. A “generally rectangular

ported flange” is a generally rectangular projection

with a hole for fluid passage. Norgren admitted,

however, that the flange must have “sufficient

projecting rims for the clamp to function.” See Initial

Determination at 18. But this does not require four

rims.

10a

Although it is possible for a four-sided, generally

rectangular clamp to engage each generally

rectangular flange on all four sides, nothing in the

claims or the rest of the specification requires that

every side contain a rim. For these reasons, the

ALJ’s construction is erroneous as it reads a

limitation into the claims.

It is undisputed that the accused SMC structures

are ported and generally rectangular. The accused

SMC structures have two “mounting ears,” 1.e., two

projecting rims. Applying the correct claim

construction of “generally rectangular ported flange”

to the undisputed facts, we _ reverse’ the

noninfringement determination of the ITC.

Lastly, SMC asserts that we could affirm the ITC

determination of no violation by concluding that the

ALJ erred in concluding that the ‘392 patent is

nonobvious. We believe, however, that the ALJ

should evaluate obviousness in the first instance

under the correct construction of “generally

rectangular ported flange’—1i.e., a construction that

does not require a flange having projections on all

four sides.

CONCLUSION

In light of the change to claim construction, we

reverse the ITC’s determination of noninfringement,

vacate the ITC’s determination of nonobviousness,

and remand.

lla

Appendix B

UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE

COMMISSION

Washington, D.C.

In the Matter of

Certain-Connecting Devices

(“Quick-Clamps”) for Use with

Modular Compressed Air Investigation No.

Conditioning Units, Including | 337-TA-587

Filters, Regulators, and

Lubricators ““FRL’s”) That

Are Part of Larger Pneumatic

Systems and the FRL Units

They Connect

NOTICE OF COMMISSION DECISION NOT TO

REVIEW AN INITIAL DETERMINATION OF THE

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE FINDING NO

VIOLATION OF SECTION 337; TERMINATION OF

THE INVESTIGATION

AGENCY: USS. International Trade Commission.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: Notice is hereby given that the U.S.

International Trade Commission has determined not

to review an initial determination (“ID”) issued by the

presiding administrative law judge (“ALJ”)

determining that there is no violation of section 337

of the Tariff Act of 1930.

12a

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Mark

B. Rees, Office of the General Counsel, U.S.

International Trade Commission, 500 E Street, S.W..,

Washington, D.C. 20436, telephone (202) 205-3116.

Copies of non-confidential documents filed in

connection with this investigation are or will be

available for inspection during official business hours

(8:45 a.m. to 5:15 p.m.) in the Office of the Secretary,

U.S. International Trade Commission, 500 E Street,

S.W., Washington, D.C. 20436, telephone (202) 205-

2000. General information concerning’ the

Commission may also be obtained by accessing its

Internet server at Attp//www.usitc.gov. The public

record for this investigation may be viewed on the

Commission’s electronic docket (EDIS) at

http-/edis.usitc.gov. Hearing-impaired persons are

advised that information on this matter can be

obtained by contacting the Commission’s TDD

terminal on (202) 205-1810.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The

Commission instituted this investigation on

November 13, 2006, based on a complaint filed by

Norgren, Inc. (““Norgren”) of Littleton, Colorado. 71

Fed. Reg. 66193 (Nov. 13, 2006). An amended

complaint was filed on October 25, 2006. A

supplement to the complaint was filed on November

1, 2006. The amended complaint alleged violations of

section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930 (19 U.S.C. §

1337) in the importation into the United States, the

sale for importation, or the sale within the United

States after importation of certain devices for

modular compressed air conditioning units and the

FRL units they connect by reason of infringement of

claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 5,372,392 (“the ‘392

13a

patent”). The amended complaint also alleged that a

domestic industry exists with regard to the ‘392

patent. under subsection (a)(2) of section 337. The

amended complaint named SMC Corporation of

Japan; SMC Corporation of America of Indianapolis,

Indiana (collectively, “SMC”); AIRTAC of China; and

MFD Pneumatics (“MFD”) of Chicago, Illinois as the

respondents and requested a limited exclusion order

and a cease and desist order. On July 13, 2007, the

Commission determined not to review an ID

terminating the investigation with respect to MFD

and AIRTAC on the basis of a consent order

stipulation and consent order.

On February 13, 2008, the ALJ issued his final

ID finding no violation of section 337 of the Tariff Act

of 1930 (19 U.S.C. § 1337). Specifically, the ALJ

found that there had been an importation of SMC’s

accused products and that none of the accused

products infringe the asserted claims of the ‘392

patent. He also found that the asserted claims are

not invalid due to obviousness. He further found that

Norgren satisfies the domestic industry requirement

with respect to the ‘392 patent. On February 285,

2008, the ALJ issued a recommended determination

on remedy and bonding in the event the Commission

reversed his finding of no violation of section 337.

On February 25, 2008, Norgren and SMC each

filed a separate petition for review of the ID. The

Commission Investigative Attorney (“IA”) did not file

a petition for review. On March 3, 2008, Norgren and

SMC filed responses in opposition to each other’s

petitions for review, and the IA filed her response in

opposition to both petitions.

l4a

On March 5, 2008, the Commission determined

to extend the deadline for determining whether to

review the ID by 14 days, ze., until April 14, 2008.

Having examined the record of this investigation,

including the ALJ’s final ID and the submissions of

the parties, the Commission has determined not to

review the ALJ’s determination and has terminated

this investigation with a finding of no violation.

The authority for the Commission’s

determination is contained in section 337 of the Tariff

Act of 1930, as amended (19 U.S.C. § 1337), and in

section 210.42-45 of the Commission’s Rules of

Practice and Procedure (19 C.F.R. § 210.42-45).

By order of the Commission.

/s/

Marilyn R. Abbott Secretary to

the Commission

Issued: April 14, 2008

15a

Appendix C

UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE

COMMISSION

Washington, D.C.

In the Matter of

Certain-Connecting Devices

(“Quick-Clamps”) for Use with

Modular Compressed Air Investigation No.

Conditioning Units, Including | 337-TA-587

Filters, Regulators, and

Lubricators (““FRL’s”) That

Are Part of Larger Pneumatic

Systems and the FRL Units

They Connect

INITIAL DETERMINAT‘ON

Administrative Law Judge Carl C. Charneski

Pursuant to the notice of investigation, 71 Fed.

Reg. 66193 (2006), this is the Initial Determination

in the matter of Certain Connecting Devices

(“Quick-Clamps”) for Use with Modular

Compressed Air Conditioning Units, Including

Filters, Regulators, and Lubricators (“FRL’s”) That

Are Part of Larger Pneumatic Systems and the

FRL Units They Connect, United States

International Trade Commission Investigation No.

337-TA-587. See 19 C.F.R. § 210.42(a).

It is held that no violation of section 337 of the

Tariff Act of 1930, as amended, 19 U.S.C. § 1337, has

16a

occurred in the importation into the United States,

the sale for importation, or the sale within the

United States after importation of certain connecting

devices for use with modular compressed air

conditioning units, including filters, regulators, and

lubricators (“FRL’s”) that are part of larger

pneumatic systems and the FRL units they connect

by reason of infringement of one or more of claims 1

through 9 of United States Patent No. 5,372,392.

17a

The following abbreviations may be used in this

Initia] Determination:

ALJ - Administrative Law Judge

ALJX- Administrative Law Judge Exhibit

CDX - Complainant’s Demonstrative Exhibit

CPX - Complainant’s Physical Exhibit

CX - Complainant’s Exhibit

Dep. - Deposition

EDIS -_ Electronic Document Imaging System

FF - Finding(s) of Fact

JPX - Joint Physical Exhibit

JX - Joint Exhibit

PCL - Proposed Conclusion of Law (CPCL, RPCL

or SPCL)

PFF - Proposed FF (CPFF, RPFF or SPFF)

PRF - Proposed Reply or Rebuttal Finding (CPRF,

RPRF or SPRF)

RDX - Respondents’ Demonstrative Exhibit

RPX - Respondents’ Physical Exhibit

RX - Respondents’ Exhibit

SX - Commission Investigative Staff Exhibit

Tr. - Transcript.

* Table of Contents omitted for printing

18a

I. BACKGROUND

A. Institution and Procedural History of This

Investigation

By publication of a notice in the Federal Register

on November 13, 2006, pursuant to subsection (b) of

section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930, as amended, the

Commission instituted this investigation with respect

to U.S. Patent No. 5,372,392 (“the ‘392 patent”) to

determine:

[W]hether there is a violation of

subsection (a)(1)(B) of section 337 in the

importation into the United States, the sale

for importation, or the sale within the

United States after importation of certain

devices for modular compressed _ air

conditioning units and the FRL units they

connect by reason of infringement of one or

more of claims 1-9, and whether an

industry in the United States exists as

required by subsection (a)(2) of section 337.

71 Fed. Reg. 66193 (2006).!

Norgren, Inc. (“Norgren”) of Littleton, Colorado is

the complainant. The respondents named in the

complaint were: SMC Corporation of Tokyo, Japan

and SMC Corporation of America of Indianapolis,

Indiana (collectively, “SMC”); AIRTAC of Ningbo,

China; and MFD Pneumatics of Chicago, Illinois.

The Commission Investigative Staff (“Staff’) of the

' As discussed, infra, only claims 1-5, 7, and 9 of the ‘392 patent

are asserted to be infringed.

19a

Commission’s Office of Unfair Import Investigations

is also a party in this investigation. Jd.

AIRTAC and MFD Pneumatics were terminated

from this investigation on the basis of consent orders.

See Order No. 7 (Initial Determination), Notice of

Commission Decision Not to Review (July 13, 2007).

Thus, the SMC companies are the only respondents

remaining in this investigation.

The evidentiary hearing on the question of

violation of section 337 commenced _ on

November 27, 2007, and concluded on November 29,

2007. All parties, ze., Norgren, SMC and the Staff,

were represented at the hearing. Hearing Tr. 21-772.

B. The Products at Issue

This investigation pertains to products used in

the compressed air and pneumatics industry. In

particular, this investigation concerns “connecting

devices” used to connect filters, regulators or

lubricators installed in compressed air systems,

typically in assembly line type manufacturing

applications. In the industry, and during this

investigation, fi/ters, regulators and Jubricators are

commonly referred to as “FRLs.” See, e.g., Norgren

Br. at 21-23; SMC Br. at 1-4; Staff Br. at 3.2. While

FRLs are prominently featured by the parties, it is

? The benefits of FRLs are generally as follows: a “filter” rids

pollutants, such as water, from the compressed air system; a

“regulator” reduces the amount of compressed air appropriate

for the specific process; and a “lubricator” injects lubrication into

the air flow to protect the air tools from pollutants. See

Wiskamp Tr. 238-240; Kuchta Tr. 503.

20a

important to keep in mind the fact that the focus of

this investigation is upon the connecting devices by

which the FRLs are attached to the compressed air

systems. See p. 10 (Figs. 1 & 2), infra, for an

illustration of a connecting device; see also, p. 11,

infra, (for illustration of an FRL).

Norgren accuses SMC’s more recently designed

FRL connectors, referred to as “new style” connectors,

of infringing the ‘392 patent.’ Norgren argues that

SMC’s FRLs also infringe the patent, as do

pneumatic systems that incorporate SMC’s accused

connectors and FRLs. Norgren Br. at 21. There is

disagreement among the parties as to whether any

accused SMC connector infringes the ‘392 patent, and

whether the ‘392 patent can be construed to cover

FRLs and all the possible types of compressed air

systems accused by Norgren. There is also

disagreement as to the range of downstream

products, if any, that should be included in any

exclusion order that might issue. See, e.g., Staff Br.

at 27-28; SMC Br. at 10-16.4 Nevertheless, the three

specific categories of products put in issue by Norgren

are the following:

> Older-style connectors are still manufactured by SMC. See

Kuchta Tr. 532. They are not, however, the subject of Norgren’s

case. See, e.g., Norgren Br. at 21; Wiskamp Tr. 331.

“The scope of any exclusion order that should issue as a result

of this investigation, including the possible exclusion of

downstream products, shall be discussed in the Recommended

Determination on remedy to issue pursuant to 19 C.F.R. §

210.42(a)(1)(ii).

21a

(1) SMC’s “new style” connectors with at

least the following model numbers (Y100,

Y100T, Y200, Y200T, Y300, Y300T, Y400,

Y400T, Y500, Y500T, Y600 and Y600T),

and which may be exemplified by the SMC

Y400;

(2) SMC FRLs; and

(3) “Additional Downstream Products,”

identified as lelvery larger pneumatic

system that incorporates the SMC

connector and FRLs.”

Norgren Br. at 21-23.

There is no dispute that for the purposes of this

investigation, the “new style” SMC connectors do not

differ materially from each other. See, e.g., Norgren

Br. at 21 (illustrating an SMC Y400 as representative

of the accused connectors); Staff Br. at 26 & n.7

(referring to the SMC Y400 as representative, and

noting the similarity of the SMC connectors, except

for the Y100 which has only “a slightly different

configuration for the sealing means”).

Il. IMPORTATION OR SALE

The importation or sale requirement of section

337 has not been contested. Thus, it is found that

SMC sells for importation, imports and, or, sells after

importation articles accused in this investigation.

The importation or sale requirement of section 337 is

satisfied.

22a

Indeed, the record evidence shows that SMC

manufactures the accused connectors and FRLs in

Japan and China, and then imports them into the

United States by selling them to its United States

subsidiary. Although occasionally SCM attaches

connectors to FRLs prior to importation, SMC usually

brings the components into the United States in their

individual state. Thereafter, combinations of FRLs

and connectors are usually made in this country by

SMC, distributors or customers. Kuchta Tr. 536;

Pusateri Tr. 551, 554-556.

In addition, Norgren cites an admission by SMC

that other companies not named as respondents (/.e.,

Nippei Toyama Corp., Makino Milling Machine Co.,

Ltd., Mitsui Seiki Kogyo Co., Ltd., Tsugami Corp.,

Okuma Corp., Yamazaki Mazak Corp., Mori Seki Co.,

Ltd., and Fanuc Ltd.) may ship both its older version

connectors, and its newer (accused) version

connectors into the United States either alone, or as

part of a “larger product.” The details of those

products are not specified in the record. See CX-

143 (Interrog. Responses), SMC Resp. No. 31;

Kuchta Tr. 534 535.5

* Norgren relies on no evidence other than that cited above, and

the fact that no contrary evidence was presented during the

hearing. See Norgren Br. at 3, 53: see also CPFF 12.3 (“SMC's

FRLs are present in larger OEM (Original Equipment

Manufacturer) equipment. Kuchta Tr. 534-535”); Kuchta Tr.

534-535 (In this context, “a larger machine that contains some

series of FRL components” is “any industrial automated

machine that uses compressed air.”).

23a

Ill. CLAIM CONSTRUCTION

This investigation is based on Norgren’s

allegation that certain products manufactured and,

or, sold by SMC infringe one or more specified claims

of Norgren’s United States Patent No. 5,372,392. See

JX-1. The claims of the patent are subject to

numerous corrections contained in the Certificate of

Correction (dated Dec. 13, 1994 and issued Apr. 11,

1995), included in JX-1. A copy of the patent’s

prosecution history is marked as JX-2.

A. Applicable Law

Pursuant to the Commission’s notice of

investigation, this is a patent-based investigation.

See 71 Fed. Reg. 66193 (2006). Accordingly, all of the

unfair acts alleged by Norgren to have occurred are

instances of alleged infringement of the ‘392 patent.

Any finding of infringement or non-infringement

requires a two-step analytical approach. First, the

asserted patent claims must be construed as a matter

of law to determine their proper scope.* Second, a

factual determination must be made as to whether

the properly construed claims read on the accused

devices. See Markman v. Westview Instruments,

Inc., 52 F.3d 967, 976 (Fed. Cir. 1995)(en banc), affd,

517 U.S. 370 (1996).

6 Only those claim terms that are in controversy need to be

construed, and only to the extent necessary to resolve the

controversy. Vanderlande Indus. Nederland BV v. Intl Trade

Comm., 366 F.3d 1311, 1323 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Vivid Tech., Inc. v.

American Sci. & Engg, Inc., 200 F.3d 795, 803 (Fed. Cir. 1999).

24a

Claim construction begins with the language of

the claims themselves. Claims should be given their

ordinary and customary meaning as understood by a

person of ordinary skill in the art, viewing the claim

terms in the context of the entire patent. Phillips v.

AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1312-13 (Fed. Cir. 2005),

cert. denied, 546 U.S. 1170 (2006). With respect to

claim preambles, the Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit has explained that:

[A] claim preamble has the import that the

claim as a whole suggests for it. In other

words, when the claim drafter chooses to

use both the preamble and the body to

define the subject matter of the claimed

invention, the invention so defined, and

not some other, is the one the patent

protects.

Eaton Corp. v. Rockwell Int'l Corp., 323 F.3d 1332,

1339 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (quoting Bel] Communications

Research, Inc. v. Vitalink Communications Corp., 55

F.3d 615, 620 (Fed. Cir. 1995)).

In some instances, claim terms do not have

particular meaning in a field of art, and claim

construction involves little more than the application

of the widely accepted meaning of commonly

understood words. Phillips, 415 F.3d at 1314. In

such circumstances, general purpose dictionaries

may be helpful. In many cases, claim terms have a

specialized meaning, and it is necessary to determine

what a person of skill in the art would have

understood disputed claim language to mean, by

analyzing the words of the claims themselves, the

25a

remainder of the specification, the prosecution

history, and extrinsic evidence concerning relevant

scientific principles, as well as the meaning of

technical terms, and the state of the art. Jd. (quoting

Innova/Pure Water, Inc. v. Safari Water Filtration

Sys., Inc., 381 F.3d 1111, 1116 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).

In cases in which the meaning of a claim term is

uncertain, the specification usually is the best guide

to the meaning of the term. /d. at 1815. As a general

rule, the particular examples or embodiments

discussed in the specification are not to be read into

the claims as limitations. Markman, 52 F.3d at 979.

However, the specification is always highly relevant

to the claim construction analysis. The specification

is usually dispositive. It is the single best guide to

the meaning of a disputed term. Phillips, 415 F.3d at

1315. Moreover; “[t]he construction that stays true to

the claim language and most naturally aligns with

the patent’s description of the invention will be, in

the end, the correct construction.” Jd. at 1316.

If the intrinsic evidence does not establish the

meaning of a claim, then extrinsic evidence may be

considered. Extrinsic evidence consists of all

evidence external to the patent and the prosecution

history, including inventor testimony, expert

testimony and learned treatises. Id. at 1317.

Inventor testimony can be useful to shed light on the

relevant art. In evaluating expert testimony, a court

should discount any expert testimony that is clearly

at odds with the claim construction mandated by the

claims themselves, the written description, and the

prosecution history, in other words, with the written

record of the patent. /d. at 1318. Extrinsic evidence

26a

may be considered if a court deems it helpful in

determining the true meaning of language used in

the patent claims. /d.

B. The ‘392 Patent

The ‘392 patent, which is entitled “Connecting

Devices,” issuec to Myron Dunn, Kevin T. Dickson,

and Urs T. Moeker on December 13, 1994, based on

an application filed on June 24, 19938. JX-1; JX-2.

None of the listed inventors was called as a witness

during the hearing.

As described in the ‘392 patent specification, the

field of the claimed invention “relates to devices for

connecting together fluid flow elements, especially

but not exclusively fluid-conditioning units, such as,

for example, pressure regulators, filters and

lubricators for use in compressed air systems.” JX-1,

col. 1, ll. 6-10. With respect to the prior art, the

patent explains:

As is well-known, a compressed air pipeline

usually includes, intermediate the air

compressor and a point of use, a plurality of

conditioning units through which the

compressed air sequentially passes.

Depending on the circumstances, there will

usually be two or more such_ units

positioned adjacent to one another. For

example, a typical arrangement might

comprise a bank of three units, namely a

filter, regulator and lubricator. In any

event, it is known to provide “modular”

units, and means for connecting them,

27a

whereby any number of units, as desired,

may be readily connected together and into

the compressed air pipeline so that the air

will pass though them in the desired

sequence, for example through a filter,

pressure regulator and lubricator, in that

order. Several connecting means have over

— the years been developed and

commercialized but, whilst technically

satisfactory, many have been relatively

expensive to produce and/or have consisted

of loose parts that have to be assembled by

the user, some of which are susceptible to

being lost.

Id., col. 1, ll. 12-31. Thus, the patent states, it “is an

object of the present invention to provide a simple,

relatively inexpensive, preferably unitary connecting

means for sealingly connecting together fluid flow

elements which permits ready disconnection of the

elements when desired.” Jd, col. 1, Ill. 32-36

(Background of the Invention).

To summarize the claimed invention, the

specification states:

In its broadest aspect, the present invention

provides connecting means for contiguously

connecting together a pair of fluid-flow

elements, said means comprising a four-

sided, generally rectangular clamp adapted,

in its operative clamping position, to

engage, in parallel relationship with one

another, a pair of ported flanges associated

respectively with said elements and further

28a

comprising sealing means for establishing

fluid-tight communication between the

respective ports formed in said flanges, one

of said sides of the clamp being pivotally

mounted so that said one side can be

pivoted out of said operative clamping

position in order to permit reception of said

flanges into the clamp and then pivoted

back into said operative clamping position,

and locking means to lock said one side in

said operative clamping position.

In a preferred embodiment, the sealing

means comprises a rectangular, plate-like

spacer having a fluid flow bore extending

through it between its two major faces, the

bore being about the same diameter as the

ports in said flanges, and the spacer is

located centrally within the _ generally

rectangular clamp by, for example, one or

more screws or rivets. Each major face of

the spacer has a_= sealing’ surface

circumscribing the opposite extremities of

the bore and each sealing surface may

support, for example in an annular groove,

an O-ring seal. In such preferred

embodiment, the locking means preferably

comprises a screw or bolt held captive by

the pivotally mounted side of the clamp and

which can be screwed to tightness into a

threaded bore formed in the spacer or in an

adjacent side of the clamp. Preferably, the

said one side of the clamp is pivotally

mounted on the spacer or on an adjacent

29a

side of the clamp by means of a hinge-like

mounting.

Accordingly, it will be appreciated that the

connecting means of the invention may be a

unitary structure in the sense that it has no

loose parts that might otherwise get lost by

the user.

Td. col. 1, 1. 39 through col. 2, 1. 8 (“Summary of the

Invention”).

Various aspects of the preferred embodiments

are illustrated in the ‘392 patent specification,

including Figure 1 and Figure 2, reproduced below.

Figure 1 is described as “a perspective view, in

exploded form, of a connecting means constructed in

accordance with the invention.” Figure 2 is “a cross-

section on the line II - II of Fig. 1.” JX-1, col. 2, ll. 14-

17. While this illustration does not depict the entire

scope of the patent claims, it is helpful in

understanding the nature of the connecting devices

covered by the patent.

30a

Similarly, one may obtain a visual representation

of how the preferred embodiment of the claimed

connecting device might connect a compressed air

filter unit and a compressed air lubricator unit by

referring to the specification’s Figure 3, which is

reproduced below, in which diagram 22 represents an

air filter unit, and diagram 23 represents an air

lubricator unit. See JX-1, col. 2, ll. 18-21, col. 3, ll.

21-24.

C. One of Ordin Skill in the Relevant Art

As discussed in the background and summary

portions of the specification (quoted above), the

subject matter of the ‘392 patent encompasses the

engineering of a mechanical device, as well as its

practical and common application in the compressed

air industry in 19938.

3la

With respect to the question of one of ordinary

skill in the art relevant to the claims of the ‘392

patent, Norgren discounts the need for a bachelor’s

degree. Rather, it submits that “lolnly a person with

a deep understanding of the FRL industry at the time

of the invention would know what these claim terms

meant in that industry and only such a person would

have the proper perspective to know what would have

been obvious to engineers designing devices for the

industry at the time.” Norgren Br. at 8. (Norgren

apparently is referring to its non-degreed expert,

John Wiskamp. See Tr. 209-210.) Norgren further

submits, “Of much greater importance is experience

in the FRL and pneumatics industry at the time. of

the invention allowing one to understand the market

demands, product performance and _ design

requirements.” Jd.

Accordingly, Norgren proposes that a person of

ordinary skill in the art relevant to the ‘392 patent is

“a person with several years of experience in the

pneumatics and air preparation (FRL) fields, with

specific experience in the design and development of

commonly used FRL product lines such as the

Excelon and Quik Clamp products lines.” Norgren

Br. at 8.’

SMC argues that a “person of ordinary skill in

the art to which the ‘392 patent is directed would

have a bachelors degree in engineering and two to

” Excelon and Quik Clamp are Norgren products that were

developed in the early 1990s. Wiskamp Tr. 224-225; Robertson

Tr. 44-47. In fact, the Quik Clamp (interchangeably referred to

as a Quick-Clamp) is the connecting device that is the subject of

the ‘392 patent at issue in this investigation.

32a

four years of industry experience.” SMC Br. at 12.

(SMC apparently is referring to the

accomplishments of its own expert, Dr. David

Trumper. See Tr. 596-598.)

The Staff believes that both Norgren and SMC

are partly correct. Staff submits that one of ordinary

skill in the art “should have either (1) several years of

experience in the FRL industry (essentially Norgren’s

position) or (2) an engineering degree with two years

of industry experience (essentially SMC’s position).”

Staff Reply Br. at 1-2 n.1.8

In determining the level of ordinary skill here,

Staff points out that the person who designed the

accused SMC connectors holds an engineering degree,

while the inventors listed on the ‘392 patent, who

concurrently designed Norgren’s Quik Clamp

product, include both engineers and non-engineers.

Staff also bases its analysis on Norgren’s admission

during the pre-hearing phase of this investigation

that the technology at issue is “simple.” Jd.

The record in this investigation, including the

specification of the ‘392 patent, shows that one of

ordinary skill in the art relevant to the ‘392 patent

would have a thorough understanding of how FRLs

are connected in a compressed air pipeline, and would

* Staff submits that in determining the level of skill in the art, a

court looks at six factors: “(1) the educational level of the

inventor; (2) type of problems encountered in the art; (3) prior

art solutions to those problems; (4) rapidity with which

innovations are made; (5) sophistication of the technology: and

(6) educational level of active workers in the field.

Environmental Designs, Ltd. v. Union Oil Co., 713 F.2d 693, 696

(Fed. Cir, 1983).” Staff Reply Br. at 1 n.1.

33a

understand engineering concepts sufficiently to

design a workable connector for such FRLs. The

evidence shows that in 1993, one could have acquired

such ordinary skill through education, practical

industry experience, or both. See Wiskamp Tr. 216-

220, 224-225, 750-752; ‘Trumper' Tr. 600.

Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the relevant art

in 1993 would have had several years of industry

experience working with FRLs and connectors, or

would have had an engineering degree with two years

of industry experience.

D. The Di lai d ir

Proper Construction

Norgren asserts claims 1, 2, 3, 4,5, 7and 9 ofthe |.

‘392 patent against SMC in this investigation. See

Norgren Br. at 23-38. Claim 1 is the only

independent claim of the patent. See JX-1, col. 4, 1.

44 through col. 6, 1. 21 (all nine claims of the ‘392

patent). In its corrected form, claim 1 provides as

follows:

1. Connecting structure for contiguously

connecting together a pair of fluid-flow

elements, each fluid flow’ element

including a generally rectangular ported

flange so as to define a pair of ported

flanges associated with the fluid-flow

elements, said connecting _— structure

comprising:

a four-sided, generally rectangular clamp

adapted, in its operative clamping position,

to engage, in parallel relationship with one

34a

another, the pair of ported flanges, one of

said sides of the clamp being pivotally

mounted so that said one side can be

pivoted out of said operative clamping

position in order to permit reception of

said flanges into the clamp and then

pivoted back into said operative clamping

position,

sealing means for establishing fluid-tight

communication between the _ respective

ports formed in said flanges, and

locking means for releasably locking said

one side in said operative clamping

position, in which position the clamp urges

the flanges towards one another thereby

establishing together with said sealing

means, said fluid-tight communication

between said ports.

JX-1, col. 4, ll. 44-66 (ee Certificate of Correction).

The parties’ proposed claim constructions differ

from one another, and their different interpretations

of the claimed invention affect numerous portions of

the asserted claims. Nevertheless, upon consideration

of all the parties’ post-hearing filings, including their

reply briefs, it is evident that the _ relevant

infringement, validity and domestic industry issucs

in this investigation turn upon the _ proper

construction of the following claim terms or

limitations, cach of which is found in claim 1, w7z., (1)

“a generally rectangular ported flange,” (2) “a four-

sided generally rectangular clamp adapted, in its

35a

operative clamping position, to engage, in parallel

relationship with one another, the pair of ported

flanges” and (3) “pivotally mounted.” See, eg,

Norgren Br. at 9; SMC Reply Br. at 1-9; Staff Br. at

1-4. Each of these limitations is discussed in

separate sections below.

1. “a generally rectangular ported flange”

As quoted above, the preamble of claim 1 refers

to “a generally rectangular ported flange.” Norgren

argues that because the term “appears in the

preamble of the claim and does not breathe life and

meaning into the claim .. . [the] FRLs and the

corresponding flanges on their sides are not per se

limitations of claim 1-8.” Norgren Br. at 6, 9

(paraphrasing Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard

Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305 (Fed. Cir. 1999)).

Nevertheless, Norgren concedes that the term must

be construed in order to understand other portions of

the claims which undisputably do recite limitations

on the claimed invention, such as the subsequently

required “clamp” that engages the flanges of an FRL.

Norgren Br. at 9-10.

Norgren argues that during the hearing its

expert, John Wiskamp, testified that a flange was a

“connection device,” and further that “a person of

ordinary skill in the art circa 1993 would understand

flange to be any general connection feature used to

join two faces together.” Norgren Br. at 13 (citing

Wiskamp Tr. 260-261, 455 (emphasis in original);

CPFF 7.2 and 7.2.1).9 Thus, Norgren proposes the

* It is evident that Norgren relies on its expert’s testimony to

argue that a flange is a structure greater in scope than the

36a

following construction for “a generally rectangular

ported flange”:

A rectangular or close to rectangular

attachment feature that allows’ the

connector to engage and/or align two FRLs

in parallel relationship with each other

such that a fluid tight seal is maintained

between the respective ports on the FRLs.

Td. at 13.

As seen in Norgren’s proposed construction, as

well as in portions of the claim preamble, the claimed

connector engages the flanges of two separate FLRs

so as to align them in parallel. It is not disputed that

the claimed connector must accommodate a “port” or

hole that allows fluid (such as compressed and

treated air which is often called a “fluid” in the art) to

flow from one FLR to another after the FLRs have

been aligned. Nor is it disputed by any party that the

alignment and creation of a fluid-tight seal is

performed by means of a clamp that is expressly

required by the body of the claim (and which is

discussed in detail below). Consequently, Norgren

expressly admits that the “rectangular attachment

feature,” which it identifies as a “flange,” “Includes

sufficient projecting rims for the clamp to function, it

projecting rims. However, Norgren’s argument that a flange is

separate from the claimed connecting device (an argument with

which this Tribunal happens to concur) is not advanced by its

own expert’s testimony which, as summarized in Norgren’s brief

and also quoted supra, was to the effect that a flange is in fact a

“connection device.” See Norgren Br. at 13.

37a

is rectangular, and it has a port.” Norgren Br. at 15

(emphasis added).

Norgren does not admit that the projecting rims

themselves constitute a flange or flanges. Rather,

Norgren argues that to equate the projecting rims

with the flanges recited in the preamble of the claim

would require an improper reliance on excerpts from

the specification’s description of the preferred

embodiment, would contradict statements made on

behalf of the applicants during prosecution, and

would be contrary to admissions made by SMC’s

expert (Dr. Trumper) during the hearing. Jd.

It further argues that equating the projecting

rims of the flange with the flange itself would make

little sense when one considers the devices at issue

and the function they are designed to accomplish. In

particular, complainant asserts:

It would make no sense that the rims

themselves are either rectangular or

ported as it would serve no purpose in the

claimed invention or in any of the

embodiments disclosed within the patent.

If the flanges are rims or edges as SMC

argues, they would not have holes or ports

in them as needed to accomplish the

invention claimed in the patent.

Norgren Br. at 15.

Norgren’s brief contains a depiction of a device

that allegedly exhibits “a generally rectangular

ported flange,” according to its proposed construction.

In that regard, Norgren argues that during the

38a

hearing, SMC’s expert witness (Dr. Trumper)

referred to a portion of a prior art device depicted in

RX-20 (the patent to “Ribble”) as containing such a

flange. According to Norgren, Dr. Trumper testified

that the so-called flange was not restricted to the

projecting rims themselves (called “wedges” in

Ribble), and that the flange in question had only two

projecting rims (or “wedges”), not four. Norgren Br.

at 13-14. (As discussed, infra, SMC takes issue with

Norgren’s’ characterization of Dr. Trumper’s

testimony.)

The Figure at right

from the Ribble

specification (and

Norgren’s brief),

highlighted by Norgren

to exemplify “a generally

rectangular ported

flange,” is illustrative of

complainant’s argument.

See Norgren Br. at 14.

Norgren states that the reason SMC’s expert

“could testity that such a structure is a flange —

indeed a generally rectangular ported flange — is

because that structure is just that: generally

rectangular, ported, and an attachment feature that

allowls] the connector to engage and/or align two

FRLs.” Jd. Indeed, Norgren argues, that inasmuch

as patent claims are not bound by the preferred

embodiments of the specification, “the generally

rectangular ported flanges that the clamp is adapted

to engage in the claims can not require the flanges to

39a

have any projecting rims, let alone four projecting

rims.” Jd. at 12 (emphasis in original). This

statement appears to conflict with another that is

also contained in Norgren’s brief, and which is quoted

above, to the effect that the flange must have

“sufficient projecting rims for the clamp to function.”

See Norgren Br. at 15.

In any event, it is clear Norgren argues that the

flange referred to in the preamble of claim 1 may

have either four projecting rims (as in a described in

the preferred embodiment) or two such rims (as

illustrated in the prior art Ribble patent), and

possibly Norgren may be arguing that the flange

could have no projecting rims at all. In this

investigation, all prior art cited against the ‘392

patent has a rim or rims, or similar features; and all

accused devices, and all devices used to establish a

domestic industry have two or four projecting rims.

Thus, whether or not the flange on an FRL must have

two or four such rims is the salient issue to be

determined.

SMC argues that “a generally rectangular ported

flange’ should be construed to mean a flange of

rectangular shape with projections on all four sides

and a hole in the middle that is used as a port.” SMC

Br. at 13, 16.19 Thus, in contrast to Norgren’s

proposed construction, SMC would require rims

' SMC provides a representation of such a flange in RDX-1

(illustration on the left portion of the exhibit), which is

reproduced in its brief at page 27. RDX-1 also contains a

representation of part of an accused device (illustration on the

right), which is not relevant to the claim construction issue.

40a

projecting from all four sides of the flange. While

SMC’s proposed construction of this term is not as

broad as Norgren’s, it should be noted that contrary

to Norgren’s concerns about SMC’s_ proposed

construction, SMC does not limit its construction of

“flange” to projecting rims. Rather, SMC views the

rims as projecting from the larger flange structure.

SMC argues that the specification of the ‘392

patent does not impart any special meaning to the

claim term “a generally rectangular ported flange.”

Nevertheless, SMC also argues that one cannot

disregard the specification, and in this case, the

embodiments of the specification consistently depict

in figures, and describe in words, a_ generally

rectangular flange with rims projecting on all four

sides, as well as a four-sided clamp that receives the

rims projecting from all four sides of the flange. SMC

Br. at 13-14.

In addition, SMC submits that, as stated by its

expert, Dr. Trumper, one of ordinary skill would

understand a generally rectangular ported flange to

be rectangular with rims projecting on all four sides

with a hole in the middle. /d. at 14, citing Trumper

Tr. 601. In SMC’s view, such a claim construction

“stays true to the claim language, and most naturally

aligns with the patent’s description of the invention.”

Id. (citing Phillips, 415 F.3d at 1316; SafeTCare Mfg.

Co. v. Tele-Made, Inc., 497 F.3d 1262, 1269-70 (Fed.

Cir. 2007)(specification relied on to understand what

the patentee had claimed and disclaimed)).

SMC further submits that Norgren

mischaracterizes Dr. Trumper’s testimony regarding

4la

the prior art Ribble patent (RX-20). SMC argues that

Dr. Trumper did not testify that this prior art

discloses a generally rectangular ported flange as

described in the claim preamble. Rather, Dr.

Trumper testified that Ribble discloses a three-sided

clamp, and “li]f you wanted to add a flange projecting

rim on the top and bottom of Ribble and then add a

fourth side that hinges, all of those would be

standard mechanical design choices.” SMC Reply Br.

at 5 (quoting Trumper Tr. 621).1!

SMC also argues that its proposed claim

construction is consistent with arguments made on

behalf of applicants during patent prosecution in

which Norgren amended the claims to restrict each

fluid-flow element so as to include “a generally

rectangular ported flange.” Thus, it is asserted that

Norgren cannot now argue that the term, “a generally

rectangular ported flange”, covers flanges that are not

'' Dr. Trumper may have misspoken during the hearing, or if

not, perhaps SMC should have moved to correct the transcript.

However, the quotation, supra, from the hearing testimony of

Dr. Trumper accurately reflects the official transcript which

indicates that he said “top and bottom,” rather than “top or

bottom” as stated in SMC’s reply brief.

In any event, it is clear from the transcript that while Dr.

Trumper did refer to the Ribble embodiment as having a sort of

a flange, contrary to Norgren’s characterization of his

testimony, he did not say that Ribble disclosed a flange such as

that referred to in claim 1. More particularly, as part of the

same testimony on the issue of alleged obviousness, Dr.

Trumper explained how one would have to modify the Ribble

clamp in order for it to have a “four-sided generally rectangular

shape.” See Trumper Tr. 620-621.

42a

rectangular or are not ported. SMC Br. at 15 (citing

Omega Eng’g, Inc. v. Raytek Corp., 334 F.3d 1314,

1323-28 (Fed. Cir. 2003)(holding that claim cannot be

construed to encompass subject matter that patentee

disavowed during prosecution to obtain allowance)).

SMC further submits that its proposed claim

construction is consistent with the position taken by

Norgren in connection with the domestic industry

issue to the effect that Norgren’s own “Quik Clamp”

connector, which engages four projecting rims,

practices the patent. Jd.

Finally, SMC argues that one should ignore

Norgren’s position that “a generally rectangular

ported flange” is not a claim limitation due to its

placement in the claim preamble inasmuch as

reference to the flange occurs four times in the body.

of claim 1. Jd. at n.4. Thus, both Norgren and SMC

argue that the term “a generally rectangular ported

flange” must be construed, albeit for different

reasons.

The Staff proposes that a “generally rectangular

ported flange” should be construed as “a flange

having a rectangular or close to rectangular shape

with projections on all four sides with an opening in

the middle.” Staff Br. at 7.12 Although later portions

'? The term “middle” as used by SMC and the Staff has not been

placed in contention. No precise definition of the term is

proposed by any party. It appears to be at least tacitly agreed

by all parties that a port must be provided somewhere within

the space delineated by the outer edges of the flange, and by

necessity in such a location and in such dimensions so as to

accommodate the fluid (compressed air) flowing through the

predetermined openings in the FRLs.

43a

of the Staffs brief do refer to flanges as rims, see,

e.g., Staff Br. at 9, this definition identifies flanges as

comprising projections, as well as a surface that

provides an opening in the middle. The Staff bases

its proposed construction in large part on the fact

that all asserted claims require a_ four-sided,

generally rectangular clamp adapted to engage a pair

of the (generally rectangular ) flanges at issue. /d. at

7-8.

The Staff also argues that SMC has offered a

definition that is consistent with evidence intrinsic to

the patent, consistent with extrinsic evidence, and

consistent with evidence presented at the hearing.

Thus, the Staff states that it can concur with SMC’s

proposed claim construction of this term. /d. at 8-9.

In contrast, the Staff argues, Norgren has sought

to justify a tenuous infringement position by

attempting during the course of this investigation to

move away from a “projecting rim” construction of the

flange at issue in favor of an “amorphous and generic

definition” that “ignores the claim language of claim

1, disregards the ‘392 patent specification, and

moreover conflicts with the plain and ordinary

meaning of the term ‘flange.’ /d. at 8 (citing, inter

alia, Norgren’s Mot. for Partial Summ. Deter., Mot.

Dkt. No. 587-10 at 15 (in which Norgren’s expert

defined a “flange” as a “projecting rim to attach to

something else”)).

Based on the arguments of the parties, it is

evident that all agree that whether the claim term “a

generally rectangular ported flange” appears in the

preamble of claim 1 by way of explanation, or

44a

whether it is present in the preamble to add a

particular limitation to the claimed invention, it must

be construed because of the relationship between the

flange and the clamp, the latter of which is

indisputably a claim hmitation. Further, it must be

determined what the claim indicates by use of the

term “a generally rectangular flange” with particular

emphasis on defining the word “flange” which is in

dispute. Finally, it must be determined whether or

not the generally rectangular flange referred to in the

preamble must have four projecting rims.

For the reasons detailed below, it is determined

that the word “flange,” as used in the claims of the

‘392 patent, is the structure that is received into the

claimed clamp, and further that “a _ generally

rectangular ported flange” is a flange of rectangular

shape with projections on all four sides and a hole in

the middle that is used as a port.

We begin with the critical inquiry whether “a

generally rectangular ported flange” is a claim

limitation contained in the preamble of claim. This

inquiry is most clearly decided by referring again to

the text at issue, which by way of review, is as

follows:

Connecting structure for contiguously

connecting together a pair of fluid-flow

elements, each fluid flow element

including a generally rectangular ported

flange so as to define a pair of ported

flanges associated with the fluid-flow

elements, said connecting — structure

comprising...

45a

JX-1, col. 4, ll. 44-48 (emphasis added).

According to the plain language of the preamble,

a connecting structure is claimed, and required

elements or limitations of which are to follow in the

body of the claim. The preamble does, however, set

forth the context in which the claimed “connecting

structure” is to be used, which is the contiguous

connection of a pair of “fluid flow elements” (or FRLs)

having certain features. The features of each FLR

include “a generally rectangular ported flange” so

that when taken together, two FRLs present “a pair

of ported flanges.!° It is undisputed that language

found in the body of the claim, particularly the text

that recites a clamp adapted for use with the flanges

of the FRLs, refers back to this preamble language.

However, there is no indication in the plain language

of the claim that the flanges on the FRLs are

limitations placed on the claimed “connecting

structure.” In fact, as may be seen from the plain

language quoted above, the claimed connector is

actually described as a “connecting structure” that is

not the same as the “fluid flow elements” (7e., FRLs)

which bear the flanges.!4 It is clear that the

' A “pair” of flanges does not refer to the flanges located on

opposite sides of a single fluid flow element. Rather, when the

flange on one side of one unit is positioned next to the flange on

the side of a second unit, those two flanges located on two units

constitute “a pair” of flanges that are to be engaged by the

claimed connector.

'* An argument made by Norgren on behalf of the applicants

during prosecution of the ‘392 patent is not consistent with this

fact. Specifically, in order to overcome an _ indefiniteness

rejection of claims 1-8 before the U.S. Patent and Trademark

46a

“connecting structure” is the subject matter claimed

by claim 1, and not the FRLs or any of the FRL

features.

Inasmuch as limitations contained in the body of

the claim interact with the generally rectangular

ported flanges of the FRLs described in the preamble,

a question is raised as to the meaning of the term

“flange.” At the outset, it may be noted that two

possible issues stand resolved in the parties’ brief.

First, no party has confounded the rims that

project from a flange with the entirely of the flange

itself. In any event, Norgren correctly points out that

the claim refers to a “ported flange,” and it would

make no sense for the projecting rims to have a “port”

or hole through which compressed air could flow.'5

Clearly, the “ported flange” referred to in the claim

must pertain to a structure greater than projecting

rims to be engaged by the clamp.

Office, Norgren made the following argument to the effect that

fluid flow elements are not a part of the claimed combination:

The fluid flow elements and flanges defined in the

preamble of claim 1 are not part of the claimed

combination. The claimed combination provides a

clamp, sealing means and locking means for connecting

the fluid flow elements.

JX-2 (‘392 Prosecution History), May 25, 1994 Amendment, page

4 (emphasis added).

'S As seen in the summary of the parties’ arguments, supra,

there is no dispute that the flanges must be “ported,” or have a

hole, to allow the flow of fluid (most likely treated, compressed

air).

47a

Second, the parties do not disagree with respect

to the words, “generally rectangular.” All agree that

a precise definition of “rectangular” or “generally

rectangular” is not required by the claim and the art.

All also agree that the flange in question nee@. not be

perfectly rectangular, and proportions of the sides

need not be set forth with specificity.

Nevertheless, SMC and the Staff cannot agree

with Norgren on a proper definition of the term

“flange.” Norgren has, as already mentioned,

proposed more than one definition of the term

“flange” during the course of this investigation. Ina

motion for summary determination, Norgren argued

that a flange is a “projecting rim to attach to

something.” See Norgren’s Mot. for Partial Summ.

Deter., Mot. Dkt. No. 587-10 at 15. During the

hearing, Norgren’s expert, John Wiskamp, testified

that after consulting various dictionaries, he learned

that the word “flange” can have a number of

meanings, but testified that “the jargon for my

industry of flange would be the connection device,

that which allows a connection to be guided into a

connection and the connection to be completed.”

Wiskamp Tr. 442.

Norgren put forth no other evidence to support or

detail such a_ definition. Moreover, although

Wiskamp may have consulted dictionaries to learn

the various definitions of “flange,” he never consulted

the prosecution history of the ‘392 patent for any

purpose whatsoever, a significant short-coming. That

Norgren’s expert paid no attention whatsoever to the

prosecution history, and deemed it irrelevant to the

claim construction of the disputed terms, alleged

48a

infringement and patent validity, is demonstrated by

the following hearing testimony:

Q@. During your direct testimony, you went

through, you described to us what you had

done which led to your conclusion of

infringement, during this investigation that

you made. Did you review the prosecution

history of the ‘392 patent?

A. No, I did not.

Q. Do you know what a prosecution history

is?

A. Not necessarily.

Q. Did you have any concern that when you

were interpreting claim 1 and_ the

remainder of the claims that your

interpretation would be inconsistent with

the prosecution history?

A. No, I did not.

Wiskamp Tr. 428.

Mr. Wiskeamp’s failure to consider’ the

prosecution history means that although he may be a

technical expert who can provide factual and opinion

testimony concerning the compressed air and

pneumatics industry and FRL connections in general,

his testimony concerning the meaning of the patent

(not just the term “flange”) is clouded by the fact that

he surprisingly did not review all of the intrinsic

patent evidence. One can never know whether his

testimony would have changed if he had reviewed it.

49a

At this post-hearing stage, Norgren has finally

settled upon a definition that is, as correctly argued

by the Staff, “amorphous and generic.” Indeed,

Norgren now argues in its brief that to one of

ordinary skill in 1993, a “flange” was simply “any

general connection feature used to join two faces

together.” Similarly, “a generally rectangular

flange,” according to Norgren’s brief, is a “rectangular

or close to rectangular attachment feature that allows

the connector to engage and/or align two FRLs in

parallel relationship with each other such that a fluid

tight seal is maintained between the respective ports

on the FRLs.” When trying to locate a “flange,”

Norgren simply directs one to an “attachment

feature.” See, eg., Norgren Br. at 13-14 (claim

construction), 37 (infringement).

Furthermore, Norgren argues that one must look

at the “entire attachment feature.” Norgren Br. at 13,

15 (“The term ‘flange’ in the ‘392 patent claims can

only refer to the entire attachment feature on the

FRL.”). However, it is difficult, if not impossible, to

determine exactly what Norgren would delineate as

an “attachment feature” or more precisely, an “entire

attachment feature.”

Still, there are some illustrations of such features

provided by Norgren in connection with the

infringement issuc, and also specifically with regard

to claim construction, which shed some light on how

Norgren’s position could be applied. For example,

above in this section in which Norgren’s argument

was first summarized, see p. 17, there is a figure from

the Ribble prior art patent that was highlighted by

Norgren to show a “flange” such as that mentioned in

50a

the claim preamble. In that illustration, Norgren has

highlighted, among other things, the projecting rims

(or wedges), the structure that exists on a plane

between the rims (which includes the hole or port

through which fluid may flow), and the top part of the

structure that stands between the main body of the

FRL and the aforementioned surface with rims and a

port. However, there is no support in _ the

specification for designating any structure not

received into the clamp as a “flange” or a part thereof.

The language of claim 1 provides in part: “one of

said sides of the clamp being pivotally mounted so

that said one side can be pivoted out of said operative

clamping position zn order to permit reception of said

flanges into the clamp and then pivoted back into

said operative clamping position....”. JX-1, col. 4, ll

53-55 (emphasis added). Thus, the “flanges”

according to the plain language of claim 1 are the

portions each FRL that are received “into the clamp.”

This is consistent with the definition of a flange

proposed by SMC (and as to which the Staff is

amenable). However, this portion of the claim

language is contrary to the arguments set forth by

Norgren that would encompass the so-callea “entire

attachment feature,” which (although vague) is

shown by Norgren to include portions of the structure

behind the flange, which are not received into the

clamp. '®

16

As discussed, supra, the value, if any, of Wiskamp’'s

statements concerning patent terms is called into question by

the fact that he had not read the prosecution history at the time

of the hearing. Nevertheless, it should be noted that at one

point during the hearing, Norgren, though its expert, admitted

5la

The specification of the ‘392 patent provides

written and pictorial descriptions of flanges that are

consistent with the understanding provided by the

claim language. These portions of the specification

pertain to a preferred embodiment of the claimed

invention, and no need has been shown to restrict the

that the flange is the structure received into the clamp, as

follows:

Q. You testified, I believe yesterday, that a flange

means a connecting device. Is that true?

A. It goes into a connecting device, that’s what I meant

to say, the flange -- are we talking about the flange on

the compressor units?

Q. The flange that’s discussed in claim 1?

A. Yes. It’s part of that connection, it’s the connection

method it receives -- it’s used to make the connection.

Q. What’s your understanding of the term flange as it’s

used in claim 1 of the °392 patent?

A. It’s easier for me to show, but essentially if I were to

take a Norgren product or an SMC product, and note

ine entire structure that is received by the clamping

system, that which would be inside of the clamp would

be what I would consider the flange structure of the

compressed air components.

Q. So the flange would be inside the clamp —

A. What goes into the clamp, what would be -- what

would fit into the corresponding surfaces in the clamp.

It might be easier to show.

Wiskamp Tr. 441-442 (emphasis added).

52a

claims to the preferred embodiment. Thus, for

example, the claimed connecting structure need not

necessarily be adapted to engage flanges that are

exactly like those depicted in the specification.

Nevertheless, it is to be assumed that the

embodiments of the specification are consistent with

the claim language. In this instance, the flanges

described in the specification are consistent with the

understanding of the term provided by the claim

language. For example, in Figure 3 (reproduced above

in section III B) item 30 is labeled as “a rectangular

connecting flange,” and item 26 also depicts a flange

and the edges of the flanges. They are shown (to use

the precise claim language) following their “reception

into the clamp.” JX-1, col. 3, ll. 29-38, col. 4, 1. 28. See

Trumper Tr. 601-602 (discussing the flanges

described in the specification).

Consequently, the flange referred to in the

preamble of claim 1 is the structure with projecting

rims that is received into the clamp. A question

remains, however, as to whether there must be four

projecting rims, or whether it may have only two.

In view of the fact that the clamp must be four-

sided, and the clamp is specially adapted to engage

the generally rectangular ported flanges of the FRLs,

it is reasonable to conclude that the each rectangular

flange is engaged on all four of its sides by the four-

sided clamp. Thus, the clamp is adapted to engage

flanges with four projecting rims. The nature of the

clamp is further detailed immediately below.

53a

2. “a four-sided generally rectangular clamp

adapted, in its operative clamping

position, to engage, in parallel relationship

with one another, the pair of ported

flanges”

This portion of the language of claim 1 could be

addressed in unison, or broken into two parts, 1e., “a

four-sided generally rectangular clamp,” and the

remaining portion focused on the term “adapted”

(“adapted, in its operative clamping position, to

engage, in parallel relationship with one another, the

pair of ported flanges”). However, all of this claim

language occurs in series, and is punctuated after the

word “adapted” so as to group together the terms

“clamp” and its modifier “adapted.” Thus, it is useful

to discuss this text together, rather than treating it

as two separate claim limitations. In any event, as

seen throughout this claim construction analysis and

in many of the briefs filed by the parties, “flange,”

“clamp” and “adapted” are claim terms that

undisputedly have a close relationship in the ‘392

patent claims that reflects the fact that the flange

and adapted clamp structures work together in the

claimed connecting device to join together two fluid

flow elements (such as FRLs).!7

'? Norgren and the Staff have tied the “adapted” portion of the

claim language to other, specific portions of text that act as

distinct claim limitations. For example, in its main post-hearing

brief, Norgren groups under the same heading the term

“adapted” with the previously discussed claim term (ie, a

generally rectangular ported flange) because the adaptation at

issue relates to ported flanges. However, the text of Norgren’s

54a

Norgren argues that the words in the phrase “a

four-sided generally rectangular clamp” “need no

special definition and none of the parties contendls]

that there are any terms of art in this phrase or that

the specification limits the scope of the ordinary

meaning of the words.” Norgren, therefore, proposes

that the term be construed to mean “a clamp that has

four sides and is either rectangular or close to

rectangular in shape.” Norgren Br. at 15-16.

Further, as discussed above, while Norgren takes

that position that the generally rectangular ported

flanges are not a claim limitation, Norgren admits

that the four-sided clamp must be, as per the claim

language, “adapted in its operative clamping position,

to engage, in parallel relationship with one another,

the pair of ported flanges.” See Jd. at 9-10 (fn.

omitted). Of course, Norgren argues that such an

adaptation includes engagement with a flange having

only two projecting rims (or apparently even no such

rims), while SMC and the Staff argue that four rims

must be provided.

SMC states that the term “a _ four-sided,

generally rectangular clamp’ should be construed to

discussion also closely ties the “clamp” element to the term

“adapted.” See Norgren Br. at 9.

The Staff discusses the phrase “adapted . . . to engage” in

relation to the generally rectangular ported flanges, but treats it

as a separate limitation. See Staff Br. at 7 (claim construction),

14-16 (claim construction), 29 (infringement), 31-32

(infringement).

SMC does not treat “adapted” and text that immediately

follows it as a distinct claim limitation. See SMC Br. at 12-19.

55a

mean a rectangular-shaped clamp having four sides.”

SMC Br. at 16. SMC states that this construction in

consistent with the ‘392 patent specification and

prosecution history, as well as the testimony of its

expert concerning the understanding of one of

ordinary skill in the art. /d. at 16-19. SMC observes

in its reply brief that its proposed construction agrees

with that of Norgren and the Staff. SMC Reply Br. at

6.

In its reply, SMC further notes Staff's concern

that SMC may be attempting to read the term

“generally” out of the claims by, among other things,

leaving the word “generally” out of its proposed

construction for this term as recited in its proposed

construction. See /d. at 6 (citing Staff Br. at 16-18).

However, SMC clarifies in its reply that “the

pertinent feature being claimed by this limitation is

that the clamp has four sides and is rectangular in

shape (be it perfectly or imperfectly rectangular).” Jd.

In addition, SMC concurs with the view of the Staff

(detailed below) that the four sides of the rectangular

clamp must “engage” the generally rectangular

ported flanges so as to fit over said flanges and not

merely be in contact with them. Jd.

Indeed, the Staff argues that “a four-sided

generally rectangular clamp” is a “rectangular or

close to rectangular shaped clamp having four sides.”

Staff Br. at 16. Further, the Staff does argue (as

anticipated by SMC) that the clamp must be adapted

so as to “fit over the ‘generally rectangular ported

flanges’ not merely be in contact with them.” Staff

Br. at 14. Staff submits that such a construction is

consistent with the specification, and also the

56a

prosecution history in which Norgren, on behalf of

the applicant, distinguished the claimed clamp from

the prior art by arguing that its clamp can be pivoted

out of its operative position in order “to fit the clamp

over flanges of fluid flow element.” Jd at 14-15

(quoting JX-2, May 29, 1994 Amendment, pages 4-5).

This Tribunal concurs that “a four-sided

generally rectangular clamp” is rectangular or close

to rectangular in its shape, and thus has four sides.

It is further determined that the clamp must be

adapted to engage the generally rectangular ported

flanges of the “fluid flow elements” described in the

claim preamble. Thus, the dimensions of the sides of

the clamp must accommodate the sides of the flanges.

In addition, for the reasons stated by the Staff,

which are grounded in the prosecution history of the

asserted patent, the clamp must be adapted so that it

fits over the flanges of the FRLs. See Hkchian v.

Home Depot, Inc., 104 F.3d 1299, 13804 (Fed. Cir.

1997)(“[Slince by distinguishing the claimed

invention over the prior art, the applicant is

indicating what the claims do not cover, he is by

implication surrendering such protection.”). Indeed,

it is clear that when the applicants amended their

claims to overcome a prior art rejection under 35

U.S.C. § 103 (obviousness), they differentiated their

claimed invention by stating that the clamp fits over

the flanges, as follows:

Neither of the primary references,

Edmaier and Abbes, discloses a clamp of

rectangular shape wherein one of the sides

is pivotally mounted so that it can be

57a

pivoted out of its operative position in

order to fit the clamp over flanges of fluid-

flow elements.

JX-2, May 29, 1994 Amendment, pages 4-5 (emphasis

added). Norgren’s application was subsequently

allowed. See JX-002, June 8, 1994 Notice of

Allowability.

The four-sided clamp must engage, or fit over,

the flanges of the fluid flow elements, and in doing so

it necessarily fits over all four edges of the generally

rectangular flanges. The applicants did not tell the

examiner that the clamp fits over only part of the

flange. In fact, there is nothing in the claim

language, the specification, or the prosecution history

to suggest anything less.

Norgren offers no explanation as to why, if the

clamp were adapted to engage a flange with only two

projecting rims, the claim emphasizes the generally

rectangular shape of the flange, and moreover, why

the claim requires as a limitation that the clamp be

four-sided. There is nothing in the claim language,

the specification, or the prosecution history (quoted

above) to indicate that somehow a four-sided clamp

fitting over a generally rectangular (.e., four-sided)

flange could fit over only two sides of the rectangle, or

how a rectangle could have only two sides.

The mechanics of how the clamp in the claimed

invention engages, or fits over, all four sides is

clarified by understanding that one side of the clamp

is “pivotally mounted,” a claim limitation discussed

immediately below.

58a

3. “pivotally mounted”

With respect to the sides of the required four-

sided, generally rectangular clamp, claim 1 provides:

“one of said sides of the clamp being pivotally

mounted so that said one side can be pivoted out of

said operative clamping position in order to permit

reception of said flanges into the clamp and then

pivoted back into said operative clamping position ....”

JX-1, col. 4, 11.53-57 (emphasis added).

The fact that the claimed clamp has a side that is

“pivotally mounted” relates to the manner in which

the clamp engages the flanges on the two fluid flow

elements in order to join them. As discussed above,

the connector’s clamp structure must cover the flange

on each fluid flow element, rather than merely

coming into contact with the flanges. As described in

the claim language, to allow the clamp to fit around a

flange, one of its sides may be moved and then

secured back in place. In the words of the claim, one

side is “pivotally mounted” on the remaining portion

of the clamp. That much is undisputed.

However, questions have been raised in this

investigation regarding the mounting itself, and

specifically whether the clamp is limited so that the

side that can pivot must be mounted in a “hinge-like”

manner so as to have “no loose parts.”

SMC relics on the specification and expert

testimony to argue that “the proper construction of

the term ‘pivotally mounted’ is a hinge-like mount

with no loose parts.” SeeSMC Br. at 19-21. Norgren

rejects any such additional hmitations to the claim

59a

structure, and proposes that “pivotally mounted”

means “placed or fastened in a way that allows an

object to move about a point.” See Norgren Br. at 16-

20. Similarly, the Staff rejects the additional

limitations proposed by SMC, and argues that

“pivotally mounted” should be construed as “placed or

fastened in a way that allows an object to move about

a point.” See Staff Br. at 18-23.

SMC’s proposed construction is rejected. The

term at issue, ze, “pivotally mounted,” tells the

reader “how” the side of the clamp moves, z.e., it

“pivots;” it is “pivotally mounted.” SMC seeks to

convert the language at issue into the noun, or the

thing itself, 2e., SMC argues that “pivotally mounted”

means “a hinge-like mount.” Yet, the term “pivotally

mounted” says nothing about the physical structure

of the side of the claimed clamp that pivots, or the

structure by which it is mounted on the rest of the

clamp. It does not say whether the side is capable of

pivoting because it is mounted on a hinge, hinge-like

structure, or by some other means. Nor does the

term “pivotally mounted” indicate whether or not

there are loose parts.

SMC’s claim construction would also

impermissibly limit the claims of the ‘392 patent to a

preferred embodiment. Although the ‘392

specification repeatedly emphasizes “a hinge-like

mount” and “no loose parts,” it does so exclusively in

the context of preferred embodiments. }8

18 See JX°1, col. 1, ll. 32-36 (a “preferably unitary connecting

means’); col. 2, ll. 1-4 (“Preferably, the said one side of the clamp

is pivotally mounted on the spacer or on an adjacent side of the

clamp by means of a hinge-like mounting.”); col. 2, ll. 5-9

60a

Consequently, inasmuch as the inventors emphasized

that a “hinge-like mount” and “no loose parts” are

preferred embodiments, the claims should not be so

limited. See E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343

F.3d 1364, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2003)(“An invention may

possess a number of advantages or purposes, and

there is no requirement that every claim directed to

that invention be limited to encompass all of them.”).

Moreover, as noted by the Staff, it appears that

the ‘392 specification discloses an embodiment that

does not require a “hinge-like mount” for purposes of

“pivotally mounting” one side of the clamp.!9 In

particular, the device depicted in Figure 1

(reproduced above in section III B, at page 10)

utilizes “a generally U-shaped stirrup 17 pivotally

hung on the L-shaped projection 14,” attached to a

spacer (labeled as item 2). JX-1, col. 2, 1. 66 through

col. 4, 1. 1. The specification does not characterize

this embodiment as having a “hinge-like mount.” In

contrast, the specification also discloses in Figure 5,

an “alternative design” to that disclosed in Figure 1,

(“Accordingly, it will be appreciated that the connecting means

of the invention may be a unitary structure in the sense that it

has no loose parts that might otherwise get lost by the

user.”emphasis added); col. 3, ll. 57-61 (“[T]he preferred

connecting means of the invention described above is, when its

components are assembled together, unitary in nature, is

relatively simple and inexpensive to manufacture and is simple

to manipulate.”)(emphasis added)); col. 3, ll. 62-66 (a “hingedly

mounted” preferred embodiment).

'? As a general rule, claim interpretations that operate to

exclude the preferred embodiment, are “rarely, if ever, correct

and require highly persuasive evidentiary support.” Vitronics

Corp. v. Conceptronic, Inc., 90 F.3d 1576, 1583 (Fed. Cir. 1996).

6la

in which the elements are “retained together in

hinge-like fashion by means of a pin 37 that passes

through the bore 35.” JX-1, col. 2, ll. 24-27; col. 4, ll.

3-15. Thus, the specification supports a broader

definition of the term “pivotally mounted,” than one

requiring a hinge-like mount.

Finally, although claim differentiation cannot be

used unjustifiably to broaden the scope of the claims,

it can be relied on as support for a claim construction

that is entirely consistent with the intrinsic record.

See Phillips, 415 F.3d at 1324-35 (relying on the

doctrine of claim differentiation to support the

conclusion that one skilled in the art reading the

specification would not limit the claims to a preferred

embodiment). Moreover, a claim construction that

renders a dependent claim _ superfluous is

presumptively unreasonable. Beachcombers _ v.

Wilde Wood Creative Prods., Inc., 31 F.3d 1154, 1162

(Fed. Cir. 1994). In this instance, dependent claims 5

and 7, add the limitation that “one side of the clamp

is captively and pivotally mounted.” The use of the

term “captively” suggests that one side of the clamp is

mounted in a secure or confined fashion such that

there are no loose parts. The use of the word

“captive” in claims 5 and 7 also shows that the

patentee did not intend the “pivotally mounted” side

of the clamp inclaim 1 necessarily to be captive.

When questioned during the hearing about the

difference between “pivotally mounted” and

“captively,” as used in the claims, SMC’s expert

testified that they meant the same thing. See

Trumper Tr. 659. This trend continues in SMC’s

brief that downplays the dependent claims with

62a

additional limitations based on the term “captively.”

However, if those words have the same meaning in

the ‘392 patent, then the dependent claims have

sought to add superfluous limitations. It is improper,

however, to eliminate claim limitations as every word

in a claim is material and must be considered.

Bincon, Inc. v. Strauman Co., 441 F.3d 945, 950 (Fed.

Cir. 2006)(“[C]laims are interpreted with an cye

toward giving effect to all terms in the claim.”).

Accordingly, for the reason stated above,

“pivotally mounted” is construed to mean “placed or

fastened in way that allows an object to move about a

point.” A hinge-like mounting with no loose parts is

not required.

IV. INFRINGEMENT DETERMINATION

As detailed above, Norgren accuses SMC

products of infringing one or more claims of the

asserted ‘392 patent. It is argued that although the

products literally infringe the asserted claim,

infringement could, in the alternative, be found

under the doctrine of equivalents. See Norgren Br. at

23-38.

A. Applicable Law

In a section 337 investigation, the complainant

bears the burden of proving infringement of the

asserted patent claims by a preponderance of the

evidence. Certain Flooring Products, Inv. No. 337-

TA-443, Commission Notice of Final Determination of »

No Violation of Section 337, 2002 WL 448690 at 59,

(March 22, 2002); Enercon GmbH v. Int'l Trade

Comm'n, 151 F.3d 1376 (Fed. Cir. 1998).

63a

Each patent claim element or limitation is

considered material and essential. London v. Carson

Pirie Scott & Co., 946 F.2d 1534, 1538 (Fed. Cir.

1991). Literal infringement of a claim occurs when

every limitation recited in the claim appears in the

accused device, ie, when the properly construed

claim reads on the accused device exactly. AmaAz/

Enters., Ltd v. Wawa, Inc., 81 F.3d 1554, 1562 (Fed.

Cir. 1996); Southwall Tech. v. Cardinal IG Co., 54

F.3d 1570, 1575 (Fed Cir. 1995).

If the accused product does not literally infringe

the patent claim, infringement might be found under

the doctrine of equivalents. The Supreme Court has

described the essential inquiry of the doctrine of

equivalents analysis in terms of whether the accused

product or process contains elements identical or

equivalent to each claimed element of the patented

invention. WarnerJenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton

Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 40 (1997).

Under the doctrine of equivalents, infringement

may be found if the accused product or process

performs substantially the same function in

substantially the same way to obtain substantially

the same result. Va/mont [ndus., Inc. v. Reinke Mfg.

Co., 983 F.2d 1039, 1043 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The

doctrine of equivalents does not allow claim

limitations to be ignored. Evidence must be presented

on a limitation-by-limitation basis, and not for the

invention as a whole. Warner-Jenkinson, 520 U.S. at

29; Hughes Aircraft Co. v. U.S., 86 F.3d 1566 (Fed.

Cir. 1996). Thus, if an element is missing or not

satisfied, infringement cannot be found under the

doctrine of equivalents as a matter of law. See, e.g.,

64a

Wright Medical, 122 F.3d 1440, 1444 (Fed. Cir. 1997);

Dolly, Inc. v. Spalding & Evenflo Cos., Inc., 16 F.3d

394, 398 (Fed. Cir. 1994); London v. Carson Pirie

Scott & Co., 946 F.2d 1534, 1538-39 (Fed. Cir. 1991);

Becton Dickinson and Co. v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 922 F.2d

792, 798 (Fed. Cir. 1990).

The concept of equivalency cannot embrace a

structure that is specifically excluded from the scope

of the claims. AtA/etic Alternatives v. Prince Mfg.,

Inc., 73 F.3d 1573, 1581 (Fed. Cir. 1996). In applying

the doctrine of equivalents, the Commission must be

informed by the fundamental principle that a patent’s

claims define the limits of its protection. See Charles

Greiner & Co. v. Mari-Med. Mfg., Inc., 92 F.2d 1031,

1036 (Fed. Cir. 1992). As the Supreme Court has

affirmed:

Each element contained in a patent claim

is deemed material to defining the scope of

the patented invention, and thus the

doctrine of equivalents must be applied to

individual elements of the claim, not to the

invention as a whole. It is isaportant to

ensure that the application of the doctrine,

even as to an individual element, is not

allowed such broad play as to effectively

eliminate that element in its entirety.

Warner-Jenkinson, 520 U.S. at 29.

Prosecution history estoppel may bar the

patentee from asserting equivalents if the scope: of

the claims has been narrowed by amendment during

prosecution. A narrowing amendment may occur

65a

when either a _ preexisting claim limitation is

narrowed by amendment, or a new ciaim limitation is

added by amendment. These decisions make no

distinction between the narrowing of a preexisting

limitation and the addition of a new limitation.

Either amendment will give rise to a presumptive

estoppel if made for a reason related to patentability.

Honeywell Int] inc. v. Hamilton Sundstrand Corp.,

370 F.3d 1131, 1139-41 (Fed. Cir. 2004), cert. denied,

545 U.S. 1127 (2005)(citing Warner-Jenkinson, 520

U.S. at 22, 33-34; and Festo Corp. v. Shoketsu

Kinzoku Kogyo Kabushiki Co., 535 U.S. 722, 733-34,

741 (2002)). The presumption of estoppel may be

rebutted if the patentee can demonstrate that: (1) the

alleged equivalent would have been unforeseeable at

the time the narrowing amendment was made; (2) the

rationale underlying the narrowing amendment bore

no more than a tangential relation to the equivalent

at issue; or (3) there was some other reason

suggesting that the patentee could not reasonably

have been expected to have described the alleged

equivalent. Honeywell, 370 F.3d at 1140 (citing, inter

alia, Festo Corp. v. Shoketsu Kinzoku Kogyo

Kabushiki Co., 344 F.3d 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2003)(en

bano)).

B. Analysis of the Accused Products

As discussed above in section I B (Products at

Issue), Norgren alleges that some or all of the SMC

products at issue infringe all claims of the ‘392

patent, except claims 6 and 8, as follows: claim 1 (all

connectors), claim 2 (all connectors), claim 3 (all

connectors), claim 4 (all connectors), claim 5 (all

connectors), claim 7 (all connectors), and claim 9

66a

(SMC’s fluid flow elements when engaged with a

connector). It is alleged that the infringement occurs

literally, or in the alternative, under the doctrine of

equivalents. See Norgren Brief at 21-38.

1. Claim 1

a. No Literal Infringement

As discussed above in section I B, SMC’s Y400 is

representative of the “new style” connectors accused

of infringing independent claim 1, as well as several

dependent claims of the ‘392 _ patent. A

representative depiction of SMC’s new style

connector, similar to that found in Norgren’s brief,

the Staff's brief, and CX-82 (an SMC catalog) is

reproduced below:

Y400

For the reasons stated below, it is found that the

accused Norgren connectors do not literally infringe

claim 1.

i. a four-sided generally rectangular clamp

adapted, in its operative clamping position, to

engage, in parallel relationship with one

another, the pair of ported flanges

67a

As held in the section on claim construction,

claim 1 requires a four-sided, generally rectangular

clamp adapted to engage a pair of generally

rectangular ported flanges located on two fluid flow

elements. In particular, it was determined that the

clamp must engage four projecting rims on each

flange. As seen in a representative sample of an

SMC FRL, marked as RPX-11, the SMC units to

which the accused products connect have two, not

four, ear-like projections on either side of the port.

See RPX-11. This distinction is fatal to Norgren’s

infringement case.

Taku Tomita, the designer of the accused SMC

products and FRL units, explained during the

hearing that the accused products are all adapted to

connect to these two ear-like projections rather than

a generally rectangular ported flange. See Tomita Tr.

586-588. SMC’s technical expert, Dr. Trumper,

confirmed that SMC’s FRL units have two ear-like

projections and not a generally rectangular ported

flange. In particular, Dr. Trumper explained that

there are no projections on the top and bottom of

SMC’s modular FRL units. There are mounting ears

only on the left and right sides of the unit. See

Trumper Tr. 606. Dr. Trumper also confirmed that

SMC’s accused products are not adapted to connect to

a “generally rectangular flange” with four projecting

rims. See Trumper Tr. 601, 604-605, 607.

Norgren has argued, however, that SMC’s

accused products are adapted to engage flanges of

various types, including a modified flange of a

Norgren product that normally has four projecting

rims, as represented by CPX-8. See Norgren Br. at

68a

27-28. This exhibit and Norgren’s related testimony

have no probative value, and do not demonstrate that

SMC’s accused products meet the claim limitation for

at least two reasons.

First, Norgren was unable at the hearing to

explain how the Norgren FRL unit was modified, or

who made the modifications. Nor was any

explanation provided by complainant for the fact the

modified FRL had been repainted in a manner such

that the modifications were not readily apparent. See

Wiskamp Tr. 433-436. Second, and perhaps most

telling, is the fact that Norgren had to modify the

Norgren FRL unit in order to attach it to SMC’s

accused connector. This modification demonstrates

that the connector is not in fact adapted to engage 2

generally rectangular ported flange.

Further, as explained above in the section on

claim construction, in the context of the asserted

claims, “engage” means “fits over.” Thus, claim 1

requires that each side of the four-sided, generally

rectangular clamp must fit over a corresponding side

of the “generally rectangular ported flange.” SMC’s

accused connector, however, does not fit over a

generally rectangular ported flange, ie, a flange

having projections on all four sides, as claimed by the

‘392 patent. The evidence presented at the hearing

confirms that only the two wing-like parts on the

retainer located on SMC’s accused connectors fit over

the two ear-like projections on the SMC FRL unit.

See Tomita Tr. 586-587.29 Thus, the fact that SMC’s

*° A visual inspection of RX-6 (an SMC connector) and RX-10 (an

SMC FRL) shows that when they are connected, the wings on

69a

accused devices only fit over two “projecting ears,”

rather than a flange having projecting rims on all

four sides, is yet another reason why the SMC

accused devices do not literally infringe claim 1 of the

‘392 patent.

In sum, based on the above, the evidence shows

that the accused products do not provide a four-sided,

generally rectangular clamp that is adapted to

engage a pair of generally rectangular ported flanges,

as required by claim 1. Thus, SMC’s infringement

claim must fail.

Nevertheless, it is found that the accused SMC

connectors do provide a “four-sided generally

rectangular clamp,” even though that clamp is not

adapted in such as way as to infringe. SMC and its

expert contends that the accused connectors are two-

sided, not four-sided. See, e.g., Trumper Tr. 609. The

record evidence shows otherwise.

At the hearing, SMC contended that the two

sides of its accused connectors consist of a front

the sides of the clamp fit over the projecting rims on the sides of

an FRL flange, while the top of the flange rests against two

small, block-like features that Dr. Trumper calls “alignment

details” located at the top of the clamp. The flange is not

received into that portion of the clamp. In fact, Dr. Trumper

testified that the top of the “FRL,” rather than the top of the

“flange” rests against the so-called alignment details,

presumably because there is no projecting rim on that edge of

the FRL. Meanwhile, the bottom of the flange stops at the point

of a long horizontal indentation or “groove” into which a bar or

“spacer” of the clamp fits. The spacer does not, however, fit over

the bottom of the flange. It is simply tightened into the groove.

See Trumper Tr. 640-642 (cross-examination concerning the

connection between RPX-6 and RPX-10).

70a

retaining clip and a back retaining clip. See Trumper

Tr. 609 (“Yes, this is a two-sided clamp, the clamping

is effected with these retaining clippings, as we’ve

called them, or retainers, there’s an outer retainer,

and then there’s an inner retainer... .”). However,

as observed at the hearing, in order for SMC’s

connector to function properly all four sides of the

connecter were needed, which include the bolt, the

pin, and the spacer. See Trumper Tr. 684-685. Thus,

as assembled in the accused devices, the clamps do

have four sides as required by claim 1. There is no

dispute that its shape is generally rectangular.

Nonetheless, as noted above, because the accused

connectors do not accept generally rectangular ported

flanges, Norgren’s infringement assertion as to claim

1 must still fail.

it. SMC’s Accused Connectors Include a

Pivotally Mounted Side

As detailed above in the section on claim

construction, claim 1 does not require that one side of

the clamp be hingedly-mounted so as to have no loose

parts, as argued by SMC. Rather, in order to meet

the “pivotally mounted” limitation, the side need only

be “placed or fastened in way that allows an object to

move about a point.”

SMC’s accused connectors contain at least one

side that is placed or fastened in such a way that it

can move about a point. While it is not hingedly-

mounted, which SMC would require, there is no

genuine dispute that the accused connectors contain

such a feature. See SMC Br. at 28-30; Wiskamp Tr.

275. However, for the reasons mentioned above, the

7la

finding that the accused devices do not infringe claim

1 remains unchanged.

b. The Doctrine of Equivalents

Norgren devotes approximately three pages of its

post-hearing brief to its argument that to the extent

the elements of the ‘392 patent are not literally

present in the SMC devices, SMC infringes under the

doctrine of equivalents. See Norgren Br. at 36-38.

SMC and the Staff argue that Norgren is estopped

from arguing the doctrine of equivalents, at least

with respect to claim 1, the only independent claim

asserted, and further that the record lacks of any

pertinent evidence. See SMC Br. at 31-34; Staff Br.

at 31-32.

It is found that Norgren is barred from asserting

the doctrine of equivalents as to key claim limitations

that are relevant to the infringement issues in this

investigation. As discussed above in section IV A,

under the Supreme Court’s Festo opinion and similar

case law, prosecution history estoppel may bar the

patentee from asserting equivalents if the scope of

the claims has been narrowed by amendment during

prosecution. In this case, claim 1 was initially

rejected by the PTO examiner under 35 U.S.C. § 112

because it was unclear as to whether the FRLs with

their flanges were part of the claimed combination.

See JX-2, February 25, 1994 Office Action, page 2. In

response, Norgren amended claim 1, as follows:

Connecting [means] structure for

contiguously connecting together a pair of

fluid-flow elements, each fluid flow element

72a

including a generally rectangular _ ported

flange so as to define a pair of ported

flanges associated with the _fluid-flow

elements....

JX-2, May 29, 1994 Amendment, page 1.?!

Thus, when Norgren amended claim 1, it

relinquished coverage of a clamp designed to engage

fluid-flow elements with flanges of any configuration.

Instead, Norgren limited the scope of claim 1 to a

clamp designed to operate with elements that have

generally rectangular ported flanges, ie. flanges

having four sides. Moreover, as discussed in

connection with the claim construction issues,

Norgren distinguished its claimed invention, and

traversed the examiner’s rejection, by arguing that

its connector is designed “to fit the clamp over flanges

of fluid flow elements.” JX-2, May 29, 1994

Amendment, pages 4-5. Thus, Norgren argued that

the clamp fits over generally rectangular flanges, not

parts of flanges (e.g., only two sides) or not at all (e.z.,

a flange with no rims over which a clamp could fit).

Norgren cannot now seek to regain, through the

doctrine of equivalents, that which it surrendered to

obtain issuance of the patent. Thus, it could not be

found that claim 1 is infringed, even under the

doctrine of equivalents, by a clamp that fits around

only two sides of a generally rectangular flange,

effectively rendering the rectangular shape of the

flanges and the clamp meaningless. Nor could

7! Pursuant to PTO practice, underlining indicates language

added to the claim and brackets indicate language deleted from

the claim. See Grauer Tr. 728.

73a

Norgren argue that the clamp engages the flanges in

any manner other than by fitting around them. For

at least those reasons, the SMC connector, which

does not fit around four sides of a flange (but rather

fits over only a portion of two projecting rims), could

not be found under the doctrine of equivalents to

satisfy the lmitations of independent claim 1.

In addition, SMC and the Staff are correct in

their arguments that the record contains little, if any,

evidence to support a finding of infringement under

the doctrine of equivalents. Norgren’s scant citations

to the record (which largely depend upon the

testimony of SMC’s Dr. Trumper and Taku Tomita)

do not present a case of infringement under the

doctrine of equivalents. See Norgren Br. at 37. In

fact, SMC’s witnesses aside, Norgren would have

been hampered in any attempt to put on a case of its

own concerning the doctrine of equivalents given the

damaging testimony of its own expert. In that

regard, during cross-examination at the hearing in

this investigation, SMC adduced the following

testimony from Norgren’s expert:

Q. And I guess the correct lines would be 4

through 15. And the question was, “do you

understand what type of infringement

you're arguing there?

“Answer: No.I|“]

“Question: Do you’ understand the

difference between literal infringement

and infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents?”

74a

And then the answer is “no.”

And this was your testimony on, as I say,

October 12 of ‘07. So would it be fair to say

at that time, you did not understand the

difference between literal infringement

and infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents?

A. I stand by what I said.

Q. And do you recall that you had already

submitted an expert report at that time?

A. Yes.

Q. And the testimony you gave on direct,

do you think any of that testimony was

directed to doctrine of equivalents

infringement?

A. I don’t know.

Q. Would it be fair to say that even today

you do not understand the difference

between literal infringement and doctrine

of equivalents infringement?

A. Correct.

Wiskamp Tr. 432-433 (emphasis added).??

*? Despite this admission, Wiskamp’s expert reports nonetheless

contain statements that were written in view of the doctrine of

equivalents. Most notable is the following:

75a

Due to the fact that Norgren is estopped from arguing

the doctrine of equivalents with respect to certain

aspects of claim 1, and in view of the lack of record

evidence concerning the doctrine of equivalents, it is

not found that the accused SMC products infringe

claim 1 under the doctrine of equivalents.

2. Claims 2-5, 7 and 9

Inasmuch as each claim limitation must be

present in an accused device in order for

infringement to be found (either literally or under the

doctrine of equivalents), a device cannot infringe a

dependent claim if it does not practice every

limitation of the independent claim from which it

depends. See WarnerJenkinson Co., 520 U.S. at 40;

Monsanto Co. v. Syngenta Seeds, Inc., 503 F.3d 1352,

1359 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Therefore, in this instance,

83. If the court determines that the flange must

have rims on each of the four sides, then the SMC

attachment feature performs the same function

described in the ‘392 patent specification in the

same way and with the same result. The SMC

attachment feature has flanges with two edges that

urge the two air conditioning units together when

the connector’s locking means is tightened.

Rebuttal Expert Report of John C. Wiskamp, { 83, page 17 (filed

Sept. 19, 2007)(emphasis added).

Yet, as seen in the transcript portion, quoted supra, Mr.

Wiskamp testified that he was ignorant of the doctrine of

equivalents. In any event, during the hearing he did not

analyze SMC’s devices in terms of the function-way-result test

recited in the rebuttal report, nor did he in any other manner

provide testimony to support the statements that are contained

in his expert reports which relate to the doctrine of equivalents.

76a

inasmuch as no accused product contains each

limitation of the only independent claim, which is

claim 1, none of the other asserted, dependent claims

can be found to infringe.

However, it noted that with respect to the

infringement issue (as opposed to the claim

construction issue), SMC did not brief the particular

limitations added by the asserted dependent claims.

Rather, SMC relied on its non-infringement of

independent claim 1 to argue that the dependent

claims are not infringed. See SMC Br. at 31; SMC

Reply Br. at 10-14. In contrast, Norgren provided at

least a cursory briefing for all of the dependent

claims, with citations to record evidence. See

Norgren Br. at 32-36. Consequently, if it were found

that SMC infringed claim 1, SMC might also be

exposed to liability for infringement of the other

asserted claims.

In addition, claim 9 deserves special attention

because it contains a substantially more detailed

definition of a fluid flow element, and Norgren sets

forth broader infringement allegations with respect to

claim 9. Claim 9 provides, as follows:

9. Connecting structure according to claim

1, wherein said fluid flow elements include

a first compressed air-conditioning unit

and a second air-conditioning unit, said

clamp being constructed and arranged to

connect said first compressed _§air-

conditioning unit to said second air

conditioning unit.

T7a

JX-1, col. 6, ll. 16°21.

Norgren argues that “[c]]aim 9 includes within

its scope the FRLs that are adapted to engage with

the SMC connector.” Norgren Br. at 34. It submits

that contrary to some of the arguments raised during

the pre-hearing phase of this investigation, nothing

in the prosecution history prevents FRLs from being

added as an additional limitation on the invention by

claim 9. However, Norgren offers little to

demonstrate that FRLs are actually added as a

limitation. See /d. at 34-36.

Rather, claim 9 by its plain language defines the

fluid flow elements referred to in claim 1 (beginning

in the preamble) such that according to claim 9 they

must include first and second air-conditioning units.

However, as discussed at length above, this Tribunal

agrees with Norgren that the fluid flow units are not

in and of themselves limitations on the invention

claimed in claim 1; and nor are they limitations with

respect to claim 9. Claim 9 merely further defines

the fluid flow elements to be joined by the claimed

connector. As in the case of claim 1, the clamp of

claim 9 is a limitation on the invention. The claimed

clamp must not only be adapted to engage generally

rectangular ported flanges, as in claim 1, but in

accordance with claim 9 the clamp must be

“constructed and arranged to connect said first

compressed air-conditioning unit to said second air-

conditioning unit.”

Granted, there is a symmetry between claim 1

and claim 9 in the way that the fluid flow elements

are further defined in claim 9, and in the way that

78a

the plain language of claim 9 further limits the clamp

to be used with such air-conditioning units. There is,

however, no indication in the language of claim 9 that

the air-conditioning units are limitations on the

claimed invention. Indeed, as in the case of claim 1,

the plain language of claim 9 states that a

“Iclonnecting structure” is claimed, not a fluid flow

element such as an FRL, or any type of air-

conditioning unit.

In addition, Norgren cites to no support for this

broader infringement argument in the specification,

and indeed none is there. This fact further supports

a finding that Norgren’s infringement argument with

respect to claim 9 is in error. If claim 9 were

construed to cover FRLs or an “air conditioning unit,”

a substantial question would be raised as to whether

or not the specification adequately supports claim 9.

Consequently, claim 9 is not infringed because

independent claim 1 is not infringed. Further, even if

claim 9 were infringed, a finding of infringement

could not extend to SMC’s FRLs, but would cover only

the accused connectors.

As stated above in section I B, Norgren accuses of

infringement SMC’s FRLs and “lelvery larger

pneumatic system that incorporates the SMC

connector and FRLs.” See Norgren Br. at 21-23. Yet,

the only infringement argument made by Norgren

that could possibly be understood to address products

other than SMC’s connectors is the above argument

concerning claim 9. Even if Norgren had intended to

set forth other legal or factual arguments are to why

devices other than connectors should be found to

79a

infringe, it did not do so. Nevertheless, as stated

above, the question of whether SMC FRLs and

pneumatic systems should be excluded = as

downstream products, not necessarily as infringing

products, will be discussed in the Recommended

Determination on the question of remedy.

V. VALIDITY

A. Background

One cannot be held lable for practicing an

invalid patent claim. See Pandro/ USA, LP v.

AirBoss Railway Prods., Inc., 320 F.3d 1354, 1365

(Fed. Cir. 2003). However, the claims of a patent are

presumed to be valid. 35 U.S.C. § 282; DMI Inc. v.

Deere & Co., 802 F.2d 421 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Although

a complainant has the burden of proving a violation

of section 337, it can rely on this presumption of

validity. A respondent that has raised patent

invalidity as an affirmative defense must overcome

the presumption by “clear and convincing” evidence of

invalidity. Checkpoint Systems, Inc. v. United States

Int'l Trade Comm’n, 54 F.3d 756, 761 (Fed. Cir.

1995).

SMC argues as an affirmative defense in this

investigation that the asserted claims of the ‘392

patent are invalid. In particular, SMC argues that

the claims are invalid as obvious under 35 U.S.C. §

103. SMC asserts that its allegations are not

dependent on the application of Norgren’s proposed

claim construction, but that the claims are obvious

even under SMC’s narrower proposed construction.

Numerous grounds of potential obviousness were

80a

raised during this investigation. However, in its

post-hearing brief, SMC argues that the claims are

invalid in view of (1) SMC’s older style connector from

1984, with U.S. Patent No. 4,533,020 to Yamazaki

(RX-22) as a description of SMC’s older style

connector, and (2) a combination of U.S. Patent No.

4,400,018 to Abbes et al. (RX-21) and U.S. Patent No.

4,915,418 to Palatchy (RX-27).23 See SMC Br. at 34-

43; RPFF 93-94 (concerning the Yamazaki patent,

which is not raised directly in SMC’s brief); RPCL 4-

6.

Norgren denies that its asserted claims are

invalid. See Norgren Br. at 38-44. The Staff argues

that the asserted claims are not invalid when

properly construed. The Staff does, however, argue

that under Norgren’s overly broad construction of the

claims, they would be invalid. See Staff Br. 33-43.

B. Applicable Law of Obviousness

Obviousness is grounded in 35 U.S.C. § 103,

which provides, znter alia, that:

A patent may not be obtained though the

invention is not identically disclosed or

described as set forth in section 102 of this

title, if the differences between the subject

matter sought to be patented and the prior

art are such that the subject matter as a

whole would have been obvious at the time

the invention was made to a person having

ordinary skill in the art to which said

23 SMC made only passing reference to other prior art to

reinforce its main arguments. See SMC Br. at 39 n.7.

8la

subject matter pertains. Patentability

shall not be negatived by the manner in

which the invention was made.

35 U.S.C. § 103(a).

An allegation of obviousness is evaluated under

the so-called Graham factors: (1) the scope and

content of the prior art; (2) the differences between

the prior art and the claims at issue; (3) the level of

ordinary skill in the art; and (4) objective evidence of

nonobviousness. Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S.

1, 13-17 (1966).

“One of the ways in which a patent’s subject

matter can be proved obvious is by noting that there

existed at the time of invention a known problem for

which there was an obvious solution encompassed by

the patent’s claims.” ASR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.,

No. 04-1360, _.. U.S. __., 127, 3.Ct. 1727, 1742

(2007). “[A]ny need or problem known in the field of

endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by

the patent can provide a reason for combing the

elements in the manner claimed.” /d.

Specific teachings, suggestions or motivations to

combine prior art may provide helpful insights into

the state of the art at the time of alleged invention.

Id. at 1741. Nevertheless, “an obviousness analysis

cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the

words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by

overemphasis on the importance of published articles

and the explicit content of issued patents. The

diversity of inventive pursuits and of modern

technology counsels against limiting the analysis in

82a

this way.” Jd. “Under the correct analysis, any need

or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time

of invention and addressed by the patent can provide

a reason for combining the elements in the manner

claimed.” Jd. at 1742. A “person of ordinary skill is

also a person of ordinary creativity...” Jd.

The Federal Circuit has harmonized the KSR

opinion with many prior circuit court opinions by

holding that when a patent challenger contends that

a patent is invalid for obviousness based on a

combination of prior art references, “the burden falls

on the patent challenger to show by clear and

convincing evidence that a person of ordinary skill in

the art would have had reason to attempt to make

the composition or device, or carry out the claimed

process, and would have had a reasonable expectation

of success in doing so. PharmaStem Therapeutics,

Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1360 (Fed. Cir.

2007)(citing Medichem S.A. v. Rolabo S.L., 437 F.3d

1175, 1164 (Fed. Cir. 2006)); Noelle v. Lederman, 355

F.3d 1343, 1351-52 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Brown &

Wiliamson Tobacco Corp. v. Philip Morris, Inc., 229

F.3d 1120, 1121 (Fed .Cir. 2000) and ASR, 127 S.Ct.

at 1740 (“a combination of elements ‘must do more

than yield a predictable result’; combining elements

that work together ‘in an unexpected and fruitful

manner’ would not have been obvious”).

The ultimate determination of whether an

invention would have been obvious is a legal

conclusion based on underlying findings of fact. Jn re

Dembiczak, 175 F.3d 994, 998 (Fed. Cir. 1999).

83a

C. Analysis of the Asserted Claims

1. Claim 1

SMC argues that Norgren’s expert admitted that

the only difference between SMC’s 1984 connector

and claim 1 of the ‘392 patent is that Norgren’s

claimed connector includes a pivotally mounted side

or hinge so that there are no loose parts. SMC argues

that it would have been obvious to use a hinge if one

were concerned about having loose parts, and in fact

the prior art Palatchy patent specifically disclosed a

circular flange connector in which one of the halves

was connected to the other half with a hinge for ease

of closing and thus had no loose parts. Further, SMC

argues, there was nothing new about Norgren’s

connector adapted to receive a ported rectangular

flange because prior art such as the Abbes patent was

adapted to receive a circular flange with a clamp, and

the use of a rectangular shape would have simply

been a design choice to one of ordinary skill.24 It is

argued that even the use of a hinge such as that

disclosed in Palatchy would have been merely a

design choice. See SMC Br. at 38-42. As stated

above, these arguments are rejected by Norgren and

the Staff.

It must observed that Norgren’s expert did, in

fact, admit during his deposition that the only

24 SMC argues that inasmuch as Norgren has argued that the

definition of a rectangular ported flange and a rectangular

clamp are so broad that SMC connector infringes, only the use of

a hinged mount with no loose parts is genuinely at issue. See

SMC Br. at 40 (citing Evans Cooling Sys., Inc. v. General Motors

Corp., 125 F.3d 1448 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).

84a

difference between prior art such as the old SMC

connector and the claimed invention of the ‘392

patent is the fact that one side of the clamp pivots.

At the hearing, it was impossible for him to distance

himself from that prior testimony. See Wiskamp Tr.

331-343. Indeed, he had little choice but to make this

admission in view of the fact that by the time of the

hearing Norgren’s proposed construction of the term

“generally rectangular ported flange,” and the four-

side clamp limitation (including the “adapted” nature

of the clamp) had become extremely broad so as to

capture the accused SMC devices. As argued by

SMC, it would, therefore, be permissible to look only

to the “pivotally mounted” limitation of claim 1 to

determine whether or not the claim is valid. Indeed,

if Norgren’s broad interpretation of claim 1 were

adopted as the proper construction of the claim there

would be no choice but to do so. However, when the

claim is properly construed to be more limited, as

detailed above in the section on claim construction,

the record does not contain clear and convincing

evidence of obviousness.

The Palatchy patent discloses circular pipe

couplings formed from segments that provide a

circular housing which encircle and connect pipes

together. RX-27, col. 1, ll. 5-7. In particular, the

Palatchy inventors provide that the segments that

form the pipe couplings are “hingedly interconnected

together so that the plumber may position and hold

one segment upon the pipes to be coupled and the

remaining segments may simply be hung beneath

that one segment in position and ready to be pivoted

into coupling position when the plumber is ready.”

RX-27, col. 2, ll. 18-24. SMC’s expert also confirmed

85a

that Palatchy discloses a clamp with a hinge-like

connection capable of pivoting. See Trumper Tr. 617-

618.

The Abbes and Yamazaki patents (and the old

SMC connector) disclose different shaped clamps.

Specifically, Abbes discloses a circular-shaped clamp

consisting of semi-circular halves that are connected

together by two bolts. The Abbes clamp connects to a

circular shaped flange. Tramper Tr. 616-617.

Yamazaki, or the SMC old-style connector, is a

generally rectangular-shaped clamp that connects to

mounting ears. See Wiskamp Tr. 338-339; RPX-1.

It might be tempting to suggest that one skilled

in the art would have modified Abbes in view of

Palatchy to arrive at the connecting structure of

claim 1. Yet, both of those references were before the

examiner during prosecution, and claim 1 was

amended specifically to avoid the prior art. Further,

none of the prior art that SMC has identified

discloses a four-sided generally rectangular clamp

that is adapted to engage a generally rectangular

ported flange. Abbes, Yamazaki and the old SMC

relate to clamps adapted to engage mounting ears or

a circular flange. The claimed invention of the ‘392

patent is not merely a combination of old elements.

Nor is there evidence as to why one skilled in the

art would have made modifications in view of the

prior art to arrive at the claimed invention. Yet,

under ASR, a party claiming obviousness must still

“identify a reason that would have prompted a person

of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine the

elements in a way the claimed new invention does.”

86a

See KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1741; PharmaStem, 491 F.3d

at 1360. In particular, SMC’s expert testimony failed

to establish that generally rectangular ported flanges

were known in the art at the time of the invention, or

that one skilled in the art would have had a reason to

modify the prior art connectors so that they were

adapted to fit such flanges. Nor does the record

explain how one of ordinary skill would have

integrated a pivoting side into the clamp design. See,

e.g., Trumper Tr. 618-619. Asserting that such

structures would have been design choices fails to

explain how such choices would have been made, the

ease with which they would have been executed, and

the expectations that one might have had in

implementing such _ designs. Perhaps more

importantly, the record evidence does not explain

why one would have chosen to combine the elements

at issue from all of the other design choices that were

available in 1993.

Accordingly, it has not been shown by clear and

convincing evidence that claim 1 would have been

obvious.

2. The Dependent Asserted Claims 2-5, 7 and 9

SMC argues that during the hearing Norgren

“did not assert that there was anything unique or

unobvious with respect to the subject matter of the

asserted dependent claims.” For each asserted

dependent claim, SMC provides a brief citation to the

testimony of its expert that the dependent claims

would in fact have been ob

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.