Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Virginia Beach, Virginia v. Tanner (No. 09-314)

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

aa a

No. 9 -3 14 SEP 1.0 2009

Jn The OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Wer States

slesaleh ie

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Petitioner,

BRADLEY S. TANNER, et al.,

Respondents.

°

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Christopher S. Boynton

Counsel of Record

Mark Stiles

OFFICE OF THE CITY ATTORNEY

Municipal Center, Building One

2401 Courthouse Drive

Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456

(757) 385-4531

Counsel for Petitioner Dated: September 10, 2009

THE LEX GROUP®® @ 1750 K Street N.W. @ Suite 475 @ Washington, DC 20006

(202) 955-0001 @ (800) 815-3791 @ Fax: (202) 955-0022 @ www.thelexgruup.com

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is a noise ordinance which _proscribes

“unreasonably loud, disturbing and unnecessary

noise” — applying a reasonable person standard

impermissibly vague under the Due Process Clause

of the United States Constitution?

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner:

City of Virginia Beach

Respondents:

Bradley S. Tanner

Eric Alexander Williams

BAE Ventures, Inc. t/a The Peppermint Beach Club

1

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The City of Virginia Beach is not a publicly

held corporation and does not have a parent or

publicly held company owning 10% or more of the

corporation's stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ........................:eceeee es kere

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING............ il

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT. ......:sccccccccsccsrseeseesees Renee ili

Fe CI Ce EE ncn scnicnenncnesonsnncccsassnvigseosccesn lV

Sas APE FAs BORE RAMEE vs iccivccceusdcacecnnnecacanacnonres V1ll

CPOE MRI oes ciseercaitcacacccscssckanasscssapsupasscnensonte l

IT cio vin Giihiessiwasatdsianiecenscacsetanoasundgudersaees 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .....0... ee. 3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

ES BEC E BY ING sess te pssccrecersssiesonssssessvessens 3

FETAL REEIE USE BOARS CAP essnscanssneccocnccssancvsncserseses 6

A. Proceedings in the Circuit Court.......... 6

B. Proceedings in the Supreme

COMME GE HI ons civics sivcneehesessosccsvsseses 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI........... 10

I. The Virginia Supreme Court’s Opinion

Conflicts with this Court’s Due Process

Jurisprudence and Misinterprets and

Misapplies the Law Regarding the

Reasonable Person Standard.....................000. 10

A. This Court has held that the

reasonable person standard in a

criminal law provides sufficient

standards to satisfy the Due

Pe RIOD ici kes eshte 10

B. The “reasonable person”

standard permeates this Court’s

MII 55570 niccnackcckicbigutemeieeuien LZ

C. This Court has held that the

words “loud” and “disturbing” are

not vague in the context of other

IS SII ives kcsdriexatscmcnreecka 15

II. Federal Courts of Appeal and State

Supreme Courts Have Upheld Noise

Ordinances Similar to the One Struck

Down by the Supreme Court of Virginia....... 18

A. PS CII oi 0k vas dacssSescendesastecamanes 18

B. State Cases ..........c.c00... susickenesianseentemnaaae 20

Vi

IIIf. The Decision Below is Grounded on

Authority Which does not Support the

Conclusion the Supreme Court of

oo en ceuarageenacsean’ 27

CONCLUSION... set ao

APPENDIX

Opinion of

The Supreme Court of Virginia

entered April 17, ZOOB............cc..cccce la

Final Order of

The Circuit Court of

The City of Virginia Beach

entered April 21, 2O0B.........cccsecccscrss l3a

Letter Opinion of

The Circuit Court of

The City of Virginia Beach

entered April 8, 2008.....................065. l7a

Order of

The Circuit Court of

The City of Virginia Beach

entered September 7, 2007 ............... 23a

Letter Opinion of

The Second Judicial Circuit of

The Circuit Court of

The City of Virginia Beach

entered August 13, 2007 ............ aacaaal

Order of

The Supreme Court of Virginia

Re: Denying Rehearing

entered June 12, 2009 ...... a ...o0a

Defendant's Demurer

filed September 27, 2007.................. la

Defendant's Demurer

Re I I co iccccecndvcscvascenns ..38a

Plaintiffs’ First Amended Complaint for

Declaratory and Injunctive Relief

filed September 6, 2007....... 47a

Plaintiffs’ Complaint for

Declaratory Injunctive Relief

SS pS ane

Ordinance § 23-47 “Loud, Disturbing

and Unnecessary Noise”

ARERR NOLEN ter SA AR ER A 70a

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

Ashcroft v. ACLU,

ED SF es CD oc vecccn nia cascdvonsvesncebsenssovsainns 13

Cameron v. Johnson,

ee CFs ME OC BED on cucccéscessonsdcssscess ey ye

City of Beaufort v. Baker,

432 S.E.2d 470 (S.C. 1993) .20

City of Madison v. Baumann,

470 N. W .2G ZE6 CWB. LOB]) .ncccccscecvcecsseseccscses 20

Coates v. City of Cincinnati,

GO Ue Ge Cae EE) sc cevnesesccoviecastszesounctauns 12, 17

Kanes v. State,

569 A.2d 604 (Md. 1990)...... . 2)

Harley v. State,

789 P.2d 374 (Alaska App. 1990)................... 21

Florida v. Royer,

460 U.S. 491 (1988)...... ese’ cease iicawniiueaanaleaane

Grayned v. City of Rockford,

408 U.S. 104 (1972) : passim

Harlem Yacht Club v.

New York City Environmental Control Bd.,

40 A.D.3d 331 (N.Y. 2007) 22

Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

457 U.S. 800 (1982) whe

Howard Opera House Associates

Urban Outfitters, Inc.,

322 F.3d 125 (2d Cir. 2003) 18

Kovacs v. Cooper,

336 U.S. 77 (1949) 11,15, 16, 17

Lutz v. City Of Indianapolis,

820 N.E.2d 766 (Ind. App. 2005) 22

Nichols y. City of Gulfport,

589 S0.Z2d 1ZSEO (LOO) ........cccccccscccesses DO"SE, SE

Perk v. Vector Resources Group, Ltd.,

253 Va. 310, 485 S.E.2d 140 (1997) 9

People v. Lord,

796 N.Y.S.2d 511 (N.Y. 2005) .. 23

People v. New York Trap Rock Corp.,

442 N.Y.2d 1222 (N.Y. 1982).... 29

Reeves v. McConn,

631 F.2d 377 (5th Cir. 1980) 19

Smith v. United States,

431 U.S. 291 (1977).. 13

State v. Dorso,

446 N.E.2d 449 (Ohio 1983) 23

State v. Friedman,

697 A.2d 947 (N.J. 1997).. | ssesee dl

State v. Garren,

451 S.E.2d 315 (N.C. 1994) 28

State v. Holcombe,

187 S.W.3d 496 (Tex. Crim. App. 2006) 24

State v. Johnson,

542 P.2d 808 (Ariz. 1975).. 25

Tanner v. The City of Virginia Beach,

277 Va. 432, 674 S.E.2d 848 (2009) |

Thelen v. State,

526 S.E.2d 60 (Ga. 2000) eseeree dl, 20, 29

Thompson v. Skate America, In:

261 Va. 121, 540 S.E.2d 723 (2001).............6, 9

Thornburgh yv. Abbott,

490 U.S. 401 (1989) 14

Town of Baldwin v. Carter,

794 A.2d 62 (Me. 2002) .... _ 25

Township of Plymouth v. Hancock,

600 N.W.2d 380 (Mich. 1999)... " 26

Turner v. Safely,

482 U.S. 78 (1987) 13,14

US. v. Drayton

536 U.S. 194 (2002) l4

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

l). S. CONST. amend. | Ls

U.S. CONST. amend. I\ 14

U.S. CONST. amend. \ 3, 4

U.S. CONST. amend. AI\ |

U.S. CONST. amend. AIV § 1 i

STATUTE

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) 3

RULE

REGULATION

Virginia Beach City Code § 23-47 1,4

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mark D. Stiles, City Attorney for the City of

Virginia Beach, on behalf of the City of Virginia

Beach (“the City”), respectfully petitions this Court

for a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of the

Supreme Court of Virginia in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Circuit Court of Virginia Beach, Virginia

denied facial and “as-applicd” challenges to the

Virginia Beach Noise Ordinance by letter opinions

dated August 13, 2007 and April 8, 2008,

respectively. These opinions are reprinted at App.

26a,! and App. 17a. The Supreme Court of Virginia’s

Opinion reversing the circuit court is reported as

Tanner v. The City of Virginia Beach, 277 Va. 432,

674 S.#.2d 848 (2009), and is reprinted at App. la

The Supreme Court of Virginia denied The City of

Virginia Beach’s Petition for Rehearing on June 12,

2009. (App. 30a).

INTRODUCTION

The Supreme Court of Virginia struck down

as unconstitutional the entire Virginia Beach Noise

Ordinance, City Code § 23-47 (“the Ordinance”). The

Ordinance prohibits “unreasonably loud, disturbing

and unnecessary noise in the city or any noise of

such character, intensity and duration as to be

' References to the Appendix contained in the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari will be denoted “(App. _)

2

detrimental to the life or health of persons of

reasonable sensitivity or to disturb or annoy the

quiet, comfort or repose of reasonable persons.”

(App. 70a). The Ordinance incorporates a

“reasonable person” standard that law enforcement

officers must apply before issuing a citation for

violating the Ordinance. (App. 70a).

The Virginia Supreme Court found that the

Ordinance is impermissibly vague under the Due

Process Clause of the United States Constitution

because it does not contain “ascertainable

standards.” (App. 9a). Rather, the court reasoned,

“the determinations required by the ordinance can

only be made by police officers on a subjective basis.”

(App. lla). In so finding, the court concluded that

the words “loud, disturbing and unnecessary,” as

used in this Ordinance, “are inherently vague

because they require persons of average intelligence

to guess at the meaning of those words.” (App. 10a).

This Court has already held that the

adjectives “loud” and “disturbing’—when read in

context—pass constitutional muster in a vagueness

challenge. Thus, the Virginia court’s opinion

conflicts with jurisprudence from this Court. And,

the Virginia court’s opinion is a marked departure

from the existing case law from both federal and

state courts that have reviewed similar noise

ordinances. More importantly, though, this case

raises the jurisprudentially significant question

whether inclusion of the established and familiar

“reasonable person” standard in a noise ordinance

satisfies constitutional due process requirements, or

whether noise ordinances must contain

mathematically precise standards such as decibel

ranges or distance parameters in order to survive

constitutional scrutiny.

These reasons compel this Court’s review

under Rule 10 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of

the United States.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Virginia issued its

decision on April 17, 2009, and denied Petitioner’s

request for Rehearing on June 12, 2009. This Court

has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS

1. The Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides:

No person shall be held to answer for a

capital, or otherwise infamous crime,

unless on presentment or indictment of

a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forces, or in the

Militia, when in actual service in time

of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense

to be twice put in jeopardy of life or

limb; nor shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against

himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.

U.S. Const. amend. V.

2.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides, in pertinent part:

Section 1. All persons born or

naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the

state wherein they reside. No state

shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the _ privileges’ or

immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any state deprive any

person of l:fe, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor deny to

any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.

U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1.

3.

Virginia Beach City Code § 23-47 states:

It shall be unlawful for any person to

create, or allow to be created any

unreasonably loud, disturbing and

unnecessary noise in the city or any

noise of such character, intensity and

duration as to be detrimental to the life

or health of persons of reasonable

sensitivity or to disturb or annoy the

quiet, comfort or repose of reasonable

persons. The following acts, among

others, are declared to be loud,

disturbing and unnecessary noise in

violation of this section, but such

enumeration shall not be deemed to be

exclusive:

(1) The playing of any television

set, radio, tape player, phonograph or

any musical instrument in such a

manner or with such volume as to

annoy or disturb the quiet, comfort or

repose of reasonable persons.

(2) The keeping of any animal!

which, by causing frequent or long-

continued noise, shall disturb the quiet,

comfort or repose of the neighborhood to

such an extent as to constitute a

nuisance.

(3) The creation of any excessive

noise on any street adjacent to any

school, institution of learning or court,

while the same is in session, or adjacent

to any building used as a place of public

worship, while being so used or

adjacent to any _ hospital, which

unreasonably interferes with the

workings of such school, institution or

court or the services being conducted in

such place of public worship or which

disturbs or unduly annoys patients in

such hospital.

(4) The shouting and crying of

peddlers, hawkers and vendors which

disturbs the peace and quiet of the

neighborhood.

(5) The use of any drum,

loudspeaker or other instrument or

device for the purpose of attracting

attention, by creation of noise, to any

performance, show or sale or display of

merchandise.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Proceedings in the Circuit Court

On June 22, 2007, Bradley S. Tanner, Eric

Alexander Williams, and BAE Ventures, Inc. t/a the

Peppermint Beach Club (hereinafter, “Tanner,”

“Williams,” or collectively “the Peppermint,”) filed a

Complaint in the Circuit Court of the City of

Virginia Beach, Virginia seeking declaratory and

injunctive relief against the enforcement of the

Ordinance. (App. 59a).

The City filed a demurrer? contending that the

Ordinance was facially valid. (App. 38a). In a letter

opinion dated August 13, 2007, the circuit court

sustained the demurrer in part, holding that the

Ordinance was facially valid. The circuit court relied

upon a prior circuit court opinion which had found

2 A demurrer tests the legal sufficiency of a pleading.

Thompson v. Skate America, Inc., 261 Va. 121, 128, 540 S E.2d

123, 126 (2001). Therefore, the circuit court did not consider

evidence in ruling on the Peppermint’s facial. challenge.

that the Ordinance was “not facially vague or

overbroad and does not, as written, violate any due

process” rights under the Virginia Constitution.

(App. 28a-29a). The circuit court dismissed the

facial challenge, (App. 23a), and subsequently denied

the Peppermint’s motion to reconsider this ruling.

(App. 14a, 19a).

Following a hearing on July 11, 2007, the

circuit court denied the Peppermint’s request for

preliminary injunction, largely on grounds that the

Peppermint could not “show a likelihood of success

on the merits.” (App. 28a).

By Order entered nunc pro tunc September 7,

2007, the circuit court overruled the City’s demurrer

as to the “as apphed” challenge. (App. 23a-25a). A

trial on the “as-applied” claim, as well as the

selective enforcement claim, was held on February

26, 2008.

The Peppermint is a nightclub located in the

1800 block of Atlantic Avenue. (App. la, 47a). City

police officers have repeatedly warned the

Peppermint’s owners, Tanner and Williams, that the

music emanating from the interior of their

establishment was unreasonably loud. (App. 2a,

48a). Failing to heed these warnings, on several

occasions Tanner and Williams received Class 4

misdemeanor citations for unreasonably loud,

disturbing and unnecessary noise, in violation of the

Ordinance. (App. 2a-3a, 48a).

In a letter opinion dated April 8, 2008, the

circuit court denied the Peppermint’s “as-applied”

challenge. (App. 20a-22a). With regard to the facial

challenge, the circuit court again noted that it had

dismissed this claim on a demurrer, and held that it

would not reverse its earlier ruling. (App. 19a).

Although the original Complaint purported to

challenge the constitutionality of the Ordinance

pursuant to the Constitution of Virginia, in its letter

opinion issued on April 8, 2008, the trial court

addressed the issue of constitutionality pursuant to

the United States Constitution. Specifically, the

trial court based its analysis upon the Equal

Protection Clause contained in the United States

Constitution and the case law regarding same. (App.

20a).

The circuit court entered a final order on April

21, 2008. (App. 13a).

B. Proceedings in the Supreme

Court of Virginia

The Peppermint appealed to the Supreme

Court of Virginia, arguing that (1) the circuit court

erred in denying the facial challenge, (2) the

ordinance is facially unconstitutional, (3) “as-

applied” the ordinance is unconstitutional, and (4)

the circuit court erred in denying relief given the

specific finding of uneven enforcement. The

Supreme Court of Virginia awarded the Peppermint

a writ on October 30, 2008.

On April 17, 2009, the Supreme Court of

Virginia issued an opinion reversing the circuit

court. It found that the Ordinance as written

violated the Due Process Clause.* (App. Qa).

Specifically, the court determined that the

Ordinance fails to give “fair notice” -- as required by

the Due Process Clause -- because the words “loud,

disturbing and unnecessary” are inherently vague.4

The Supreme Court of Virginia declined to address

the per-se violations contained in the Ordinance, and

did not reach the “as applied” selective enforcement

claim.

The court refused the City’s Petition for

Rehearing. (App. 30a).

> As the Supreme Court of Virginia was reviewing the facial

validity claim on the trial court’s resolution of the City’s

demurrer, it was limited to review of the Complaint. E.g.,

Thompson v. Skate America, Inc., 261 Va. 121, 124, 540 S.E.2d

123, 124 (2001) (“Our review is governed by the well-settled

principle that when we consider the trial court's sustaining of a

demurrer ‘we look solely at [the plaintiffs] allegations in his

motion for judgment to determine whether he stated a cause of

action.) (quoting Perk v. Vector Resources Group, Ltd., 253

Va. 310, 312, 485 S.E.2d 140, 142 (1997)).

4 Although the court did not expressly articulate whether its

holding was based upon federal or state principles, the court

relied primarily upon jurisprudence from this Court

interpreting the United States Constitution.

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

I. The Virginia Supreme Court’s

Opinion Conflicts with this Court’s

Due Process Jurisprudence and

Misinterprets and Misapplies the

Law Regarding the Reasonable

Person Standard.

The Supreme Court of Virginia’s ruling that

the Ordinance is vague under the Due Process

Clause and thus unconstitutional, conflicts with this

Court's prior holdings that the words “loud” and

“disturbing” in a criminal statute—when read in a

limited context—withstand a vagueness challenge

under the Due Process Clause. The Virginia Court's

opinion also conflicts with this Court’s established

reliance on the “reasonable person standard” in

criminal cases. Finally, its opinion departs from the

jurisprudence from federal courts and other state

supreme courts addressing the issue whether the

“reasonable person” standard saves an otherwise

unconstitutional noise or similar ordinance.

A. This Court has held that the

reasonable person standard

in _a criminal law provides

sufficient standards to satisfy

the Due Process Clause.

The Supreme Court of Virginia erred in

finding that the Ordinance did “not contain

ascertainable standards.” (App. 9a). The Virginia

court found the “reasonable person” standard

contained in the Ordinance to be constitutionally

11

deficient, requiring instead a standard that sets

forth “what noise levels are prohibited.” (App. lla).

Because the City’s Ordinance contains an objective,

ascertainable standard by which a noise violation is

measured — the “reasonable person” standard — it

satisfies the Due Process Clause.

The Due Process Clause is not as demanding

as the Supreme Court of Virginia found. Contrary to

the Virginia court’s holding, the Due Process Clause

does not require municipalities to adopt bright-line

rules or mathematical formulas in penal laws. See

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 110

(1972) (“Condemned to the use of words, we can

never expect mathematical certainty from our

language.”) Rather, an ordinance may allow for

flexibility and reasonable breadth, and need not be

drafted with meticulous specificity so long as it is

clear what the ordinance as a whole prohibits. See

generally Grayned, 408 U.S. 104; Kovacs v. Cooper,

336 U.S. 77, 79 (1949); Cameron v. Johnson, 390

U.S. 611, 616 (1968).

The Due Process Clause does not require a

noise ordinance to define impermissible noise levels

in decibel ranges or other mathematical parameters.

Grayned, 408 U.S. at 112 (upholding a _ noise

ordinance even though “the prohibited quantum of

disturbance is not’ specified” and it lacked

mathematical precision). Here, prohibited

disturbances are easily measured by their impact on

the familiar “reasonable man.” Id. Thus, the

Virginia court’s insistence on legislatively drafted

noise levels impermissibly rewrites this Court’s Due

Process law.

12

Equally important, the Virginia Supreme

Court’s rejection of the “reasonable person” standard

as a reasonably certain and definite standard for

determining proscribed conduct under the Due

Process Clause stands in stark contrast to this

Court's jurisprudence. In Cameron, the petitioner

argued that the addition of “unreasonably” to a

criminal picketing statute made the _ statute

impermissibly vague. 390 U.S. at 616. However,

this Court held that the word “unreasonably” “is a

widely used and well understood word and clearly so

when juxtaposed with obstruct and interfere.

[T]he statute clearly and precisely delineates its

reach in words of common understanding.” Id.

Similarly, this Court has held that so long as

an ordinance’s construction contains an

“ascertainable standard” such as “the sensitivity of a

hypothetical reasonable man,” the ordinance is not

unconstitutionally vague. See Coates v. City of

Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611, 613-614 (1971) (emphasis

added). Where this Court ascribes sufficient clarity

to the “reasonable person” standard to survive a

vagueness challenge under the Due Process Clause

—even when used to define specific criminal

conduct—an opinion from the Virginia Supreme

Court cannot have the opposite result.

B. The “reasonable person”

standard permeates _ this

Court’s jurisprudence.

The reasonable person standard permeates

this Court’s jurisprudence. In the context of federal

prosecution for mailing obscene materials, this Court

13

held that two prongs of a three prong test to

determine whether the material is obscene are

issues of fact for the jury to determine applying

contemporary community standards. See Smith v.

United States, 431 U.S. 291, 301 (1977) (discussing

the first and second prongs, appeal to prurient

interest and patent offensiveness). This Court then

carefully crafted the third prong, stating “[t]he First

Amendment protects works which, taken as a whole,

have serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific

value, regardless of whether the government or a

majority of the people approve of the ideas these

works represent.” Id. Thus, for the third prong the

relevant question is “whether a reasonable person

would find ... value in the material, taken as a

whole.” Ashcroft v. ACLU, 535 U.S 564, 579 (2002)

(emphasis added).

In the context of Section 1983 claims against

government employees, this Court has held that the

defense of “qualified immunity” requires courts to

enter judgment in favor of a government employee

unless the employee's conduct violates “clearly

established statutory or constitutional rights of

which a reasonable person would have known.”

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982)

(emphasis added).

In addressing the interplay between prison

regulations and the First Amendment, this Court

“adopted a standard of review that focuses on the

reasonableness of prison regulations: the relevant

inquiry is whether the actions of prison officials were

reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” Turner v. Safely, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987)

(emphasis added). In other words, in order to

survive a constitutional challenge, a_ prison

regulation that burdens fundamental rights must be

“reasonably related” to legitimate penological

objectives. Id. This Court reasoned that “such a

standard is necessary if prison administrators

and not the courts, [are] to make the difficult

judgments concerning institutional operations.”

Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401, 409 (1989)

(internal citations omitted). This Court also noted

that this standard is not “toothless.” Id. at 414.

And in the context of Fourth Amendment

seizures, the law is well settled that “law

enforcement officers do not violate the Fourth

Amendment’s prohibition of unreasonable seizures

merely by approaching individuals on the street or in

other public places and putting questions to them if

they are willing to listen.” U.S. v. Drayton, 536 U.S.

194, 200-201, 122 (2002) (citing Florida v. Royer, 460

U.S. 491, 497 (1983)). Instead, if a reasonable

person would feel free to terminate the encounter,

then he or she has not been seized. Id. (emphasis

added).

In a myriad of criminal law settings, this

Court recognizes that the “reasonable person”

standard is ascertainable and readily evident to the

Common man,

C. This Court _has held that the

words | “loud” __ and

“disturbing” are not vague in

the context of other noise

ordinances.

The Supreme Court of Virginia found the

words “loud, disturbing and unnecessary” to be

unconstitutionally vague. (App. 10a). This holding

departs from scttled, controlling law.

In Kovacs, this Court addressed whether the

terms “raucous and “loud” were so vague as to be

unenforceable. 336 U.S. at 79 In rejecting the

vagueness claim, Justice Reed opined

The contention that the section is so

vague, obscure and indefinite as to be

unenforceable merits only a _ passing

reference. The objection centers around

the use of words “loud and raucous.”

While these are abstract words, they

have through daily use acquired a

content that conveys to an interested

person a sufficiently accurate concept of

what is forbidden

ld Thus, the words “ioud” and “raucous” were not

unconstitutionally vague

Like the ordinance in Kovacs, the City's

Ordinance prohibits “loud” noises, but only those

that are unreasonably loud The Ordinance is

therefore narrower than the one upheld in Kovacs,

16

and gives fair notice of the proscribed conduct as

required by the Due Process Clause.

Although the Virginia Supreme Court found

that the words “unreasonably loud and disturbing”

are vague and allow for’ subjective police

enforcement, this Court has concluded that the use

of the word “loud” and other “abstract words” which

“have through daily use acquired a content that

conveys to any interested person a_ sufficiently

accurate concept of what is forbidden,” is sufficient

to save a statute from a vagueness challenge under

the Due Process Clause. Kovacs, 336 U.S. at 79.

Similarly, in Grayned, this Court held that an

ordinance prohibiting noise that “disturbs or tends to

disturb” was not impermissibly vague under the

Constitution. 408 U.S. at 109. This Court rejected a

vagueness challenge under the Due Process Clause,

writing that

[c]londemned to the use of words, we can

never expect mathematical certainty

from our language. The words of the

Rockford ordinance are marked by

flexibility and reasonable breadth,

rather than meticulous specificity, but

we think it is clear what the ordinance

as a whole prohibits.

Id. at 108.

The Grayned Court noted that “although the

prohibited quantum of disturbance is not specified in

the ordinance, it is apparent from the statute's

17

announced purpose that the measure is whether

normal school activity has been or is about to be

disrupted.” Id. at 112. The “particular context’—

i.e., the statute when read in its entirety-—gives “fair

notice to those to whom (the ordinance) is directed.”

Id.

Like the statute in Grayned, the Ordinance

prohibits noise which disturbs, but limits what

constitutes a criminal offense to only “unreasonably

loud, disturbing and unnecessary noise” and noise of

such character as “to disturb or annoy the quiet,

comfort, or repose of reasonable persons.”

Additionally, the reasonable person standard, and

the per se violations contained in the body of the

Ordinance, provide the context for the words

“unreasonably loud, disturbing and unnecessary” to

sufficiently warn what conduct it prohibits.

Finally, unlike the ordinance upheld in

Kovacs, the City’s Ordinance places an additional

restriction on what constitutes a criminal noise

violation—i.e., that the noise must be loud,

disturbing, and unnecessary to a reasonable person.

As discussed, this Court has identificd the:

“reasonable person” standard as providing an

ascertainable standard, enabling a person of

common intelligence to identify what conduct the

statute prohibits. See generally Coates, 402 U.S. at

614. Taken together, where the reasonable person

standard as well as the specific words “loud” and

“disturbing” have all been found by this Court to be

sufficiently definite to defeat a vagueness challenge

under the Due Process Clause, the Virginia Supreme

18

Court's opinion unquestionably conflicts with

jurisprudence from this Court.

II. Federal Courts of Appeal and State

Supreme Courts Have Upheld

Noise Ordinances Similar to the

One Struck Down by the Supreme

Court of Virginia.

Several noise ordinances similar to the City’s

Ordinance have survived constitutional scrutiny.

While many courts have acknowledged that the

challenged ordinances contain abstract or imprecise

adjectives, those courts have also held that, when

read in the context of a statute containing the

reasonable person standard, those ordinances

nonetheless survive a vagueness challenge. Thus,

although none of these cases is binding on this

Court, they underscore the dangerous. conflict

created by the Supreme Court of Virginia’s decision,

as the following summary demonstrates.

A, Federal Cases

Howard Opera House _ Associates v. Urban

Outfitters, Inc., 322 F.3d 125, 128 (2d Cir. 2003)

(“The argument’ _ that the

Burlngton noise ordinance is

unconstitutionally vague is effectively

precluded by our decision in Pro-Choice

Network v. Schenck, 67 F.3d 359 (2d

Cir.1994), where we held that an

injunction prohibiting ‘excessively loud

sound that ‘injures, disturbs, or

endangers the health or safety’ of

19

others is sufficiently clear to withstand

a vagueness challenge. Here, we have

an ordinance that prohibits ‘loud or

unreasonable noise,’ with

‘unreasonable’ noise defined as that

which ‘disturbs, injures or endangers

the peace or health of another or ..

endangers the health, safety or welfare

of the community... . [Wle find that

the differences between the Schenck

injunction and the Burlington noise

ordinance are minor at best, and hold

that the portion of the Burlington noise

ordinance here applied passes

constitutional muster.”) (internal

citations omitted);

Reeves v. McConn, 631 F.2d 377, 386 (5th Cir. 1980)

(“The Supreme Court has

approved the use of the word

‘unreasonably’ in similar statutes that

are otherwise precise and narrowly

drawn. The Court has also approved

the terms ‘loud’ and ‘raucous’ as

standards of prohibited sound

amplification. Though these words are

abstract, ‘they have through daily use

acquired a content that conveys to any

interested person a sufficiently accurate

concept of what is forbidden. We

approve the words ‘jarring’ and

‘nuisance’ on the same grounds, even

though they fall short of providing

“mathematical certainty. ‘Flexibility

20

and reasonable breadth, rather than

meticulous specificity, is acceptable in

this area.”) (internal citations omitted);

B. State Cases

City of Beaufort v. Baker, 432 S.E.2d 470, 474 (S.C.

1993)

(“In similar fashion, we here

apply normal meanings to words of

common understanding and conclude

that speech that is so unreasonably

Joud as to unreasonably intrude on the

privacy of a captive audience may be

punished. We hold that the words ‘loud

and unseemly, so construed, give

sufficient notice of what conduct is

penalized. ‘Unseemly’ modifies ‘loud’

and means ‘unreasonably loud in the

circumstances. That is clear enough.

The objective ‘reasonable’ test is used in

many areas of the law as an

appropriate determinant of liability and

thus a guide to conduct.”)(internal

citations omitted);

City of Madison v. Baumann, 470 N.W.2d 296, 302

(Wis. 1991)

(“[T]he word, reasonably, saves

the ordinance from the infirmity of

vagueness The reasonable-person

standard is one that has been relied

upon in all branches of the law for

Zi

generations. .. . The reasonable

person is a reasonable person in the

circumstances. ... In the instant case,

the circumstances are adequately

spelled out. They are simply what a

reasonable person would conclude

would disturb the peace and quiet of the

vicinity. The test for a possible violator

is simply the time honored and time

validated reasonable person test, 1.e.,

what effect will my conduct [] have

upon persons in the vicinity under the

circumstances.’);

Eanes v. State, 569 A.2d 604, 616 (Md. 1990)

(“In similar fashion, we _ here

apply normal meanings to words of

common understanding and conclude

that speech that is so unreasonably

loud as to unreasonably intrude on the

privacy of a captive audience may be

punished. We hold that the words loud

and unseemly, so construed, give

sufficient notice of what conduct is

penalized. Unseemly modifies loud and

means unreasonably loud in_ the

circumstances. That is clear enough.

The objective reasonable test is used in

many areas of the law as an

appropriate determinant of liability and

thus a guide to conduct.”);

Earley v. State, 789 P.2d 374, 376 (Alaska App.

1990)

22

(“A statute is not vague merely because a fact

finder must determine questions of reasonableness.

Having examined AS 11.61.110(a) and (b), we are

satisfied that the statute gives reasonable notice of

the conduct it prohibits and that the phrase

unreasonably loud noise as_ defined is_ not

unconstitutionally vague.”);

Harlem Yacht Club v. New York City Environmental!

Control Bd., 40 A.D.3d 331, 332, (N.Y. 2007)

(“Nor is the ordinance, which

bans ‘unreasonable noise, defined as

‘any excessive or unusually loud sound

that disturbs the peace, comfort or

repose of a reasonable person of normal

sensitivities, injures or endangers the

health or safety of a reasonable person

of normal sensitivities or which causes

injury to plant or animal life, or damage

to property or business’ (Administrative

Code § 24-203[62]), impermissibly

vague.”);

Lutz v. City Of Indianapolis, 820 N.E.2d 766, 769

(Ind. App. 2005)

(“The myriad of noises that the

Ordinance in the instant case prohibits

is exactly the reason that it is

unconstitutionally vague. Indiana’s

disorderly conduct statute is narrowly

tailored to prohibit ‘unreasonable’ noise

made only after an individual has been

warned about his conduct. The

23

Ordinance in the instant case, however,

does not include an objective test;

instead, Lutz correctly notes that it

prohibits any noise that is ‘loud,’

‘unnecessary, or ‘unusual, or that

annoys or disturbs others.”);

People v. Lord, 796 N.Y.S.2d 511, 511 - 512 (N.Y.

2005)

(‘It is well settled that an

ordinance may penalize ‘unreasonable’

noise under circumstances as defined in

the ordinance at issue and_ that

‘unreasonableness’ is an_ objective

standard of evaluation. There is no

constitutional requirement that a

decibel meter or other such device be

used to determine whether a noise level

will be considered illegal. By employing

a reasonableness standard, which can

be interpreted on the basis of common

life experience, the ordinance provides

greater comprehensible notice of

prohibited behavior and better

implements the legislative intent

behind such an ordinance.”) (internal

quotations and citations omitted);

State v. Dorso, 446 N.E.2d 449, 452 (Ohio 1983)

(“[WJe construe the Cincinnati

ordinance at issue to prohibit the

playing of music, amplification of

sound, etc., in a manner which could be

24

anticipated to offend the reasonable

person, t.e., the individual of common

sensibilities. Specifically, we find the

ordinance to proscribe the transmission

of sounds which disrupt the reasonable

conduct of basic human activities, e.g.,

conversation or sleep. Our construction

of the ordinance does not permit the

imposition of criminal liability upon a

party whose conduct disturbs only the

hypersensitive. Thus, the standard

hereby adopted vitiates the claimed

vagueness of the ordinance.”);

State v. Friedman, 697 A.2d 947, 950 (N.J. 1997)

(“Neither the Law Division Judge

nor the Municipal Court Judge

considered the reasonableness of the

Friedmans’ conduct in determining

whether their dog’s barking violated the

anti-noise ordinance. A purely

subjective standard of behavior was

utilized to determine whether the dog’s

barking constituted a disturbance of the

peace; such a standard is

unconstitutionally vague.”);

State v. Holcombe, 187 S.W.3d 496, 499 —500 (Tex.

Crim. App. 2006)

(“We agree with the State that

the Bedford noise ordinance contains

objective criteria for determining what

conduct is prohibited and therefore does

25

not permit arbitrary enforcement. The

ordinance clearly establishes an

objective reasonable-person standard by

referring to neighboring persons of

ordinary sensibilities and banning noise

that unreasonably’ disturb[s] | or

interfere[s] with the peace, comfort and

repose of such persons. These words

describe noise of the type or volume

that a reasonable person would not

tolerate under the _ circumstances.”)

(internal quotations omitted);

State v. Johnson, 542 P.2d 808, 810 (Ariz. 1975)

(“In order to determine whether

the noise made by appellant was loud

and unusual, it must be evaluated in

terms of a reasonable man standard.

Our inquiry must determine whether

the noise would disturb a person of

ordinary sensitivities; that is, the

language or conduct is to be adjudged to

be disorderly, not merely because it

offends some supersensitive or

hypercritical individual, but because it

is, by its nature, of a sort that is a

substantial interference with (our old

friend) the reasonable man.”) (internal

quotations omitted);

Town of Baldwin v. Carter, 794 A.2d 62, 68 (Me.

2002)

26

(‘We interpret the Town's

ordinance in this case to mean that

continuous or repeated dog barking that

is unnecessary is actionable only if it is

unreasonable. . .. Reasonableness is 4

well defined concept under the common

law. Reasonable compliance is not an

unconstitutionally vague concept. If it

were, most tort. law doctrines and a host

of other legal standards would be

invalid-the reasonable person, beyond

reasonable doubt, reasonable good faith

efforts, etc.”) (internal citations and

quotations omitted);

Township of Plymouth v. Hancock, 600 N.W.2d 380,

382-83 (Mich. 1999)

(“The people argue the use of the

reasonable person standard in the

ordinance saves the ordinance from

being impermissibly vague. We agree.

The ordinance plainly states that the

type of conduct that is prohibited is that

which tends ‘to unreasonably annoy or

disturb the quiet, comfort and repose of

persons in the vicinity. (Emphasis

added.) .. . .We believe the reasonable

person standard serves to provide fair

notice of the type of conduct prohibited,

as well as preventing abuses in

application of the ordinance. The

reasonable person standard assures

that ‘the person of ordinary intelligence

[has] a reasonable opportunity to know

27

what is prohibited, so that he may act

accordingly.’”) (internal citations

omitted).

Given the conflict created by the decision of

the Supreme Court of Virginia regarding the

constitutionality of noise ordinances under the Due

Process Clause, and in particular, those which

contain a limiting and objective reasonable person

standard, this Court’s guidance is necessary to

clarify this important issue. Specifically, the City

respectfully submits that this Court should find that

a noise ordinance prohibiting any “unreasonably

loud, disturbing and unnecessary noise” — as

measured under the familiar “reasonable person

standard” — does not violate the Due Process Clause

of the United States Constitution.

Ill. The Decision Below is Grounded on

Authority Which does not Support

the Conclusion the Supreme Court

of Virginia Reached.

In holding that the Ordinance’s use of the

“reasonable person” standard does not save it from a

vagueness challenge under the Due Process Clause,

the Virginia Supreme Court relies on Thelen v.

State, 526 S.E.2d 60, 62 (Ga. 2000). In Thelen, the

Georgia Supreme Court held that a noise ordinance

prohibiting “any ... unnecessary or unusual sound or

noise which ... annoys ... others in the county” failed

to provide the requisite clear notice of the prohibited

conduct. Id. Specifically, the court held that “(t]he

adjectives unnecessary and unusual modifying the

noun noises are inherently vague and elastic and

28

require men of common intelligence to guess at their

meaning. The same may be said of the verb annoys.”

Id. (internal citations and quotations omitted).

Thus, the court found the ordinance to be

unconstitutional.

The noise ordinance in Thelen did not have a

“reasonable person” standard by which the

prohibited conduct could be measured. Rather, the

ordinance resorted to “others in the county” to

determine what noise was prohibited. The Thelen

court found the ordinance unconstitutional because,

in order to comply with or enforce the ordinance, an

individual would be required to apply a “completely

subjective standard.” Id.

As further proof that the absence of an

objective “reasonable person” standard doomed the

Georgia ordinance, the Thelen court compares its

holding with that set forth in State v. Garren, 451

S.E.2d 315, 318-319 (N.C. 1994). In Garren, the

Court of Appeals of North Carolina upheld a portion

of the noise ordinance at issue because the ordinance

included the “objective” standard of “reasonable

persons of ordinary sensibilities.” Id. In other

words, implicit in Thelen’s holding is that a

“reasonable person standard” could have saved the

ordinance from being declared vague and thus

unconstitutional. Because the noise ordinance in

Thelen lacked the objective, reasonable person

standard found in the City’s Ordinance, the Supreme

Court of Virginia’s reliance on Thelen is misplaced.

Similarly, the Supreme Court of Virginia

holding is not supported by Nichols _v. City of

PAS)

~*

Gulfport, 589 So.2d 1280 (1991), because the

Gulfport ordinance did not employ a “reasonable

person” standard. In Nichols, the Supreme Court of

Mississippi held that an ordinance which prohibited

“unnecessary or unusual noises ... which either

annoys, injures or endangers the comfort, repose,

health or safety of others ...” was unconstitutionally

vague. Because the ordinance in Nichols makes no

reference to a reasonable person standard, the

Supreme Court of Virginia’s reliance on Nichols is

misplaced.

Nor does the decision in People v. New York

Trap Rock Corp., 442 N.Y.2d 1222, 1224 (N.Y. 1982),

support the Virginia courts decision that a

“reasonable person” standard is impermissibly vague

in a noise ordinance. In that case, the Court of

Appeals of New York held that a noise ordinance

stating, “[njo person shall make ... any

unnecessary noise” including, among other things,

“any excessive or unusually loud sound or any sound

which either annoys, disturbs, injures or endangers

the comfort, repose, health, peace or safety of a

person.” As in Thelen and Nichols, the ordinance in

New_York Trap Rock did not contain a reasonable

person standard, nor did the court address the

question whether such a standard would cure the

vagueness of the statute.

The Supreme Court of Virginia also relied

heavily on this Court’s decision in Grayned, although

the Grayned Court actually found that the Rockford

noise ordinance was not impermissibly vague, and

survived constitutional scrutiny. It is particularly

difficult to reconcile the Virginia court’s opinion with

30

Grayned, which found the following noise ordinance

sufficiently definite to satisfy the requirements of

the Due Process Clause: “any noise or diversion

which disturbs or tends to disturb the peace or good

order of such school session or class.” In short,

Grayned, like the other cases on which the Virginia

court justified its conclusion, neither compels nor

particularly supports the result. To the contrary,

under this Court’s Due Process jurisprudence, the

City’s Ordinance is constitutional.

31

CONCLUSION

This Petition for Writ of Certiorari presents

an important question of federal constitutional law.

This Court should grant certiorari to address and

clarify the constitutional vagueness’ standards

applicable to noise ordinances which explicitly

include a “reasonable person” standard. And, this

Court should grant certiorari to reverse the Supreme

Court of Virginia’s erroneous interpretation and

application of both this Court’s jurisprudence and

the Due Process Clause.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Christopher S. Boynton

Counsel of Record

OFFICE OF THE Ciry ATTORNEY

Municipal Center, Building One

2401 Courthouse Drive

Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456

(757) 385-4531

Counsel for the Petitioner

September 10, 2009

APPENDIX

la

[ENTERED APRIL 17, 2009]

PRESENT: All the Justices

BRADLEY S. TANNER, ET AL.

Vv. Record No. 080998

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

OPINION BY

JUSTICE BARBARA MILANO KEENAN

April 17, 2009

FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY OF

VIRGINIA BEACH

A. Joseph Canada, Jr., Judge

{In this appeal, we consider whether the circuit

court erred in rejecting a constitutional challenge to

a municipal noise control ordinance.

Bradley S. Tanner and Eric A. Williams

(collectively, the owners) own and operate BAE

Ventures, Inc., t/a The Peppermint Beach Club (the

club), a licensed restaurant and entertainment

venue located in the 1800 block of Atlantic Avenue in

the City of Virginia Beach (City). The club is located

in a part of the City commonly referred to as the

“oceanfront,” which includes restaurants, bars,

hotels, and outdoor entertainment venues.

The club, which is on the ground floor of the

Howard Johnson Hotel, hosts disc jockeys and

occasional “live” entertainment groups that play

2a

” «ec

various types of music including “hip-hop,” “punk

rock,” “emo,” and “indie” music. The owners

repeatedly have been warned by City police officers

about music sound levels, and have. received

citations for violations of Virginia Beach City Code §

23-47 (the ordinance). The ordinance states:

It shall be unlawful for any person to

create, or allow to be created any

unreasonably loud, disturbing and

unnecessary noise in the city or any

noise of such character, intensity and

duration as to be detrimental to the life

or health of persons of reasonable

sensitivity or to disturb or annoy the

quiet, comfort or repose of reasonable

persons. The following acts, among

others, are declared to be loud,

disturbing and unnecessary noise in

violation of this’ section, but such

enumeration shall not be deemed to be

exclusive:

(1) The playing of any television

set, radio, tape player, phonograph or

any musical instrument in such a

manner or with such volume as to

annoy or disturb the quiet, comfort or

repose of reasonable persons.

(2) The keeping of any animal

which, by causing frequent or long-

continued noise, shall disturb the quiet,

comfort or repose of the neighborhood to

such an extent as to constitute a

nuisance.

3a

(3) The creation of any excessive

noise on any street adjacent to any

school, institution of learning or court,

while the same is in session, or adjacent

to any building used as a place of public

worship, while being so used or

adjacent to any _ hospital, which

unreasonably interferes with the

workings of such school, institution or

court or the services being conducted in

such place of public worship or which

disturbs or unduly annoys patients in

such hospital.

(4) The shouting and crying of

peddlers, hawkers and vendors which

disturbs the peace and quiet of the

neighborhood.

(5) The use of any drum,

loudspeaker or other instrument or

device for the purpose of attracting

attention, by creation of noise, to any

performance, show or sale or display of

merchandise.

Virginia Beach City Code § 23-47. Any violation of

the ordinance constitutes a class 4 misdemeanor. Id.

In June 2007, the owners filed a complaint

seeking a declaratory judgment that the ordinance is

unconstitutional on its face because it is vague, and

that it is unconstitutional as applied to the club. The

owners alleged that the ordinance is vague because

it fails to provide citizens with “fair notice” regarding

what conduct is unlawful, and because the ordinance

language invites selective prosecution by granting

4a

law enforcement officials the “unfettered individual

discretion” to make enforcement decisions. The

owners separately alleged that City police officers

have applied and enforced the ordinance against the

owners “in a subjective and selective manner.”

In response to the owners’ complaint, the City

filed a demurrer, which the circuit court sustained in

part based on its previous determination that the

ordinance was constitutional on its face. Relying on

that prior decision, the circuit court held, among

other things, that the ordinance is not vague, and

dismissed the owners’ facial constitutional challenge

with prejudice.

The case proceeded to trial on the issue of the

City’s application of the ordinance to the sound

levels generated by the club’s music. Certain City

police officers testified that the City used two

enforcement standards in evaluating noise

emanating from oceanfront business establishments.

The first standard used was the “reasonable person”

standard provided for by the ordinance. The second

standard employed was an “across the _ street”

assessment established by Police Captain Anthony

F. Zucaro.

Addressing the “reasonable person” standard,

Captain Zucaro testified that police officers

determine whether noise is “unreasonably loud,

disturbing and unnecessary” by employing the

officers’ “{b]ackground, experience, knowledge of the

dynamics of the moment, listening, [and]

witnessing.” Officers Albert L. Mills, Christopher D.

D’Orio, and Steven J. Kennedy testified that officers

5a

usually exercise their discretion whether to issue a

citation for violation of the ordinance. These officers

generally conceded that “reasonableness” is a

standard that depends on an individual officer’s

assessment and on environmental factors such as

the weather, the volume of ambient noise, and the

time of day.

In 2007, Zucaro issued a letter that was

distributed to oceanfront business owners in an

effort to achieve voluntary compliance with the

ordinance. The letter informed the business owners

that police officers would take enforcement action if

“(t]he intensity of the noise emanating from an

establishment is at such a level it can be definitively

linked to that particular establishment from across

the street or a distance equal to that measurement

despite the presence of other ambient noise levels.”

Several police officers testified regarding

incidents in which noise emanating from the club

resulted in the issuance of citations to the owners.

Relying on this and other evidence, the circuit court

determined that the evidence “unequivocally

establishe[d] that the enforcement of the noise

ordinance is selective and uneven.” However, the

circuit court held that because the owners failed to

prove that this selective enforcement was motivated

by a discriminatory purpose, the club’s constitutional

challenge to the City’s application of the ordinance

failed. The owners appealed from the circuit court's

judgment.

On appeal, the owners first argue that the

circuit court erred in_ rejecting their facial

6a

constitutional challenge to the ordinance. They

contend that the ordinance is vague and, thus, is

unconstitutional on its face because business owners

must engage in guesswork to determine whether

certain sound levels violate the ordinance. The

owners further assert that several terms in the

ordinance, including the terms “unnecessary,” “loud,”

“disturbing,” “character,” and “intensity,” are purely

subjective and do not establish clear standards that

permit uniform enforcement.

In response, the City argues that the

ordinance clearly articulates an _ objective,

“reasonable person” standard that is well established

and is sufficiently definite to permit persons to

conform their conduct to the law. The City concedes

that the terms of the ordinance are _ not

quantitatively precise, but argues that such a level

of precision is not required to survive a vagueness

challenge. The City contends that only a flexible

standard such as the one prescribed by the

ordinance can fairly define criminal conduct related

to the “wide swath of settings and circumstances”

involved when assessing noise levels.

The City further argues that the term

“unnecessary” does not render the ordinance vague

because the ordinance requires that noise be

unreasonably loud, disturbing, and unnecessary

before a criminal citation can issue. The City

contends that instead of rendering the ordinance

vague, the term “unnecessary” narrows the category

of noise that constitutes a criminal violation and

provides added protection to potential offenders.

However, the City further maintains that if this

7a

Court disagrees, it should sever any offending

language rather than invalidate the entire

ordinance. We disagree with the City’s arguments.

Our review of the ordinance begins with the

principle that that duly enacted laws are presumed

to be constitutional. Marshall v. Northern Virginia

Transp. Auth., 275 Va. 419, 427, 264 Va. 656, 665,

571 S.E.2d 122, 126 (2002); 657 S.E.2d 71, 75 (2008);

In re Phillips, 265 Va. 81, 85, 574 S.E.2d 270, 272

(2003); Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A. v. QuillianFinn

v. Virginia Retirement System, 259 Va. 144, 153, 524

S.E.2d 125, 130 (2000). We are required to resolve

any reasonable doubt concerning the

constitutionality of a law in favor of its validity. In re

Phillips, 256 Va. at 85-86, 574 S.E.2d at 272; Finn,

259 Va. at 1538, 524 S.E.2d at 130; Walton v.

Commonwealth, 255 Va. 422, 427, 497 S.E.2d 869,

872 (1998). Thus, if a statute or ordinance can be

construed reasonably in a manner that will render

its terms definite and_ sufficient, such an

interpretation is required. See INS v. St. Cyr, 533

U.S. 289, 299-300 (2001); United States v. Harriss,

347 U.S. 612, 618 (1954); Pedersen v. City of

Richmond, 219 Va. 1061, 1065, 254 S.E.2d 95, 98

(1979).

In this context, we consider the constitutional

principles applicable to a vagueness challenge

involving a penal statute or ordinance. The

constitutional prohibition against vagueness derives

from the requirement of fair notice embodied in the

Due Process Clause. See United States v. Williams,

553 U.S. __, _ _, 128 S.Ct. 1830, 1845 (2008); City

of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 56 (1999);

8a

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108

(1972). The doctrine requires that a statute or

ordinance be sufficiently precise and definite to give

fair warning to an actor that contemplated conduct

is criminal. See Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352,

357 (1983); Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108. Thus, the

language of a law is unconstitutionally vaguc if

persons of “common intelligence must necessarily

guess at [the] meaning [of the language] and differ

as to its application.” Connally v._ General

Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391 (1926); accord

Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611, 614

(1971); Cameron v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 611, 616

(1968).

The constitutional prohibition against

vagueness also protects citizens from the arbitrary

and discriminatory enforcement of laws. A vague law

invites such disparate treatment by impermissibly

delegating policy considerations “to policemen,

judges, and juries for resolution on an ad hoc and

subjective basis, with the attendant dangers of

arbitrary and discriminatory application.” Grayned,

408 U.S. at 108-09; see Kolender, 461 U.S. at 357-61.

Because legislative bodies are “[clondemned to

the use of words,” courts cannot’ require

“mathematical certainty” in the drafting of

legislation. Grayned, 408 U.S. at 110. For this

reason, an ordinance that lacks’ meticulous

specificity nevertheless may survive a vagueness

challenge if the ordinance as a whole makes clear

what is prohibited. See _id.; Esteban v. Central

Missouri State College, 415 F.2d 1077, 1088 (8th Cir.

1969).

9a

A different concern arises, however, when a

vague statute implicates citizens’ rights under the

First Amendment. In such circumstances, vague

language in a statute or ordinance may cause

citizens to avoid constitutionally permissible conduct

based on a fear that they may be violating an

unclear law. Thus, a vague statute may inhibit the

exercise of constitutionally protected activities.

Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09.

In applying these principles, we first

acknowledge that the regulation of noise by a locality

creates special problems regarding the drafting and

enforcement of legislation. See Nichols v. City of

Gulfport, 589 So. 2d 1280, 1283 (Miss. 1991); People

v. New York Trap Rock Corp., 442 N.E.2d 1222, 1226

(N.Y. 1982). These problems arise from the nature of

sound, which invites the use of broadly stated

definitions and prohibitions. Nichols, 589 So. 2d at

1283; Trap Rock, 442 N.E.2d at 1226.

The ordinance before us_ prohibits § any

“unreasonably loud, disturbing and unnecessary

noise,” noise of “such character, intensity and

duration as to be detrimental to the life or health of

persons of reasonable sensitivity,” or noise that

“disturb[s] or annoy[s] the quiet, comfort or repose of

reasonable persons.” The ordinance also describes

various acts that constitute per se violations.

We conclude that these provisions fail to give

“fair notice” to citizens as required by the Due

Process Clause, because the provisions do not

contain ascertainable standards. See Thelen v. State,

526 S.E.2d 60, 62 (Ga. 2000); Nichols, 589 So. 2d at

10a

1284. Instead, the reach of these general descriptive

terms depends in each case on the _ subjective

tolerances, perceptions, and sensibilities of the

listener.

Noise that one person may consider “loud,

disturbing and unnecessary” may not disturb the

sensibilities of another listener. As employed in this

context, such adjectives are inherently vague

because they require persons of average intelligence

to guess at the meaning of those words. See Thelen,

526 S.E.2d at 62; Lutz v. City of Indianapolis, 820

N.E.2d 766, 769 (Ind. Ct. App. 2005); Nichols, 589

So. 2d at 1283.

The references in the ordinance to “reasonable

persons,” and to persons of “reasonable sensitivity,”

do not provide a degree of definiteness sufficient to

save the ordinance from the present vagueness

challenge. Such terms, considered in their context,

delegate to a _ police officer the subjective

determination whether persons whom the police

officer considers to be of reasonable sensitivity would

find the noise detrimental to their life or health.

Likewise, these terms leave to a police officer the

determination whether persons the police officer

considers to be reasonable would be disturbed or

annoyed in their comfort or repose by the particular

noise at issue.

Determinations of this nature invite arbitrary

enforcement. Police officers likely will have differing

perceptions regarding what levels of sound exceed

the described tolerance levels and sensitivities of

reasonable persons. Because these determinations

lla

required by the ordinance can only be made by police

officers on a subjective basis, we hold that the

language of the ordinance is impermissibly vague.

See Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09; U.S. Labor Party v.

Pomerleau, 557 F.2d 410, 412 (4th Cir. 1977);

Thelen, 526 S.E.2d at 62. The imposition of criminal

penalties for the violation of an ordinance cannot

rest on the use of subjective standards, nor may an

ordinance consign a person to penal consequences

without first providing sufficiently definite notice of

prohibited activities. See Thelen, 526 S.E.2d at 62;

Nichols, 589 So. 2d at 1284.

We find no merit in the City’s argument that

its use of the term “reasonable persons” nevertheless

rescues the ordinance from the present vagueness

challenge because the criminal law employs a

“reasonable person” standard in various other types

of determinations. Such comparisons are inapposite.

Here, the City attempts to satisfy the notice

requirement of the Due Process Clause by using a

standard that does not notify or warn citizens in

clear and definite terms what noise levels are

prohibited. In contrast, the use of a “reasonable

person” standard elsewhere in the criminal law does

not attempt to provide notice to citizens regarding

the reach of a criminal statute or ordinance, but sets

a standard for a court to use in determining police

compliance with certain constitutional and other

legal requirements. See, e.y., Brendlin v. California,

551 U.S. 249, __, 127 S.Ct. 2400, 2405-06 (2007)

(“seizure” within meaning of Fourth Amendment

occurs when reasonable person would not feel free to

leave); Buhrman v. Commonwealth, 275 Va. 501,

505, 659 S.E.2d 325, 327 (2008) (probable cause

12a

exists when facts and circumstances of which police

officer has “reasonably trustworthy information...

warrant a person of reasonable caution to believe

that an offense has been or is being committed”)

(quoting Taylor v. Commonwealth, 222 Va. 816, 820,

284 S.E.2d 833, 836 (1981)).

In concluding that the ordinance is vague, we

do not directly address the list of per se violations

contained in the ordinance. Each of these per se

violations is defined as constituting “loud, disturbing

and unnecessary noise” and, thus, cannot be

evaluated separately from those vague terms.

Finally, we hold that we are unable to sever

from the ordinance the unconstitutional language

that we have identified and give its remaining

language a definite and permissible construction.

Instead, the vague language adjudged

unconstitutional in this opinion affects the content of

the entire ordinance.’

For these reasons, we will reverse the circuit

court’s judgment and will enter final judgment for

the owners declaring that the entire ordinance is

unconstitutional because it is vague.

Reversed and final judgment.

In view of our holding that the ordinance is vague, we

do not reach the owners’ remaining contentions alleging that

the ordinance is overbroad and has been enforced selectively by

City police.

1l3a

[ENTERED APRIL 21, 2008]

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY

OF VIRGINIA BEACH

BRADLEY S. TANNER

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS

and BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

V. Case No. CLO07-3754

THE CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Defendant.

FINAL ORDER

THIS MATTER came to be heard on the 16%

day of February, 2008, upon the First Amended

Complaint filed by the plaintiffs, and evidence and

argument were received and considered by the court,

in addition to evidence, testimony and materials

previously received by the court and already in the

record; thereafter, the parties filed additional

materials with the court, and, thereafter, the court

issued a letter opinion dated April 8, 2008;

WHEREAS, after consideration of the evidence,

exhibits, arguments and materials submitted to the

court; and

l4a

WHEREAS, for the reasons stated in this

court’s April 8, 2008 opinion, which is incorporated

herein by reference;

It is ADJUDGED, ORDERED and DECREED

that the plaintiffs’ facial and “as applied”

constitutional challenges to City of Virginia Beach

Ordinance §23-47 are denied, to which plaintiffs’

objections and exceptions are duly noted as set forth

below. Accordingly, the subject litigation is dismissed,

with prejudice.

It is so ORDERED.

ENTER:

/s/

The Honorable A. Joseph Canada, Jr.

4-21-08

CERTIFIED TO BE A TRUE COPY

OF RECORD IN MY CUSTODY

TINA. E. SINNEN, CLERK

CIRCUIT COURT, VIRGINIA BEACH, VA

BY/s/

DEPUTY CLERK

I ask for this:

ae

Christopher S. Boynton

Senior City Attorney

Counsel for the City of Virginia Beach

15a

Seen and respectfully objected to for the reasons

argued to the court and set forth in the pleadings,

memoranda, letters and legal authority previously

submitted. Additionally, plaintiffs note these

particular objections: (1) facially and according to the

evidence submitted on the “as applied” challenge, the

subject ordinance violates due _ process, equal

protection and free speech/expression principles

guarantced by the Virginia Constitution; (2) the

court's latter opinion/ruling (“the opinion”

mischaracterizes the nature of the leave to amend

that was granted with respect to the First Amended

Complaint (i.e., the leave to amend was general in

nature, and not limited to the “as applied” challenge);

(3) the opinion fails to address and rule on the

vagueness and free speech/expression challenges

brought by the plaintiffs; (4) the opinion fails to

address and resolve the conflicting facts set forth in

the record, especially the conflicting (and often self-

contradicting) testimony offered by Virginia Beach

police officers; (5) the opinion fails to recognize and

give sufficient weight to the unrebutted evidence of

the plaintiffs and the concessions and admissions of

the police and defense witnesses; (6) the opinion

makes the erroneous ruling that there is _ no

constitutional violation presented where the police

possess “unfettered discretion” in law enforcement

and/or where it is established factually that “the

ordinance is enforced inconsistently and selectively.”

a eS

Kevin E. Martingayle

Counsel for Plaintiffs Bradley S. Tanner,

Eric Alexander Williams and

BAE Ventures, Inc. t/a

l6a

The Peppermint Beach Club

Bradley S. Tanner, Eric Alexander Williams and BAE

Ventures, Inc. t/a The Peppermint Beach Club v. The

City of Virginia Beach, Case No.: CLO7-3754

lla

[ENTERED APRIL 8, 2008]

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

EDWARD W. HANSON, JR.

THOMAS S. SHADRICK

FREDERICK B. LOWE

A. BONWILL SHOCKLEY

H. THOMAS PADRICK, JR.

A. JOSEPH CANADA, JR.

PATRICIA L. WEST

STEPHEN C. MAHAN

WILLIAM R. O’BRIEN

CIRCUIT COURT

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

JUDICIAL CENTER, BLDG. 1

2425 NIMMO PARKWAY

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA 23456

(757) 385-4501

www.vbgov.com/courts

SECOND JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

Direct Dial: 757-385-4262

April 8, 2008

Kevin E. Martingayle, Esq.

Stallings & Bischoff, P.C.

P.O. Box 1687

Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4160.

Christopher S. Boynton, Esq.

Office of the City Attorney

18a

2401 Courthouse Dr.

Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9004

Re: Tanner, et al. v: City of Virginia Beach

Docket No.: CL0O7-3754

Dear Counsel:

Plaintiffs, Bradley Tanner, Eric Alexander

Williams, and BAE Ventures, Inc., trading as the

Peppermint Beach Club (hereinafter “the

Peppermint’), filed suit against Defendant, the City

of Virginia Beach (hereinafter “the City’). Tanner

and Williams own and operate the Peppermint, a

restaurant and entertainment venue located at 1801

Atlantic Avenue in Virginia Beach. Plaintiffs seek to

declare unconstitutional Virginia Beach Ordinance §

23-47. Section 23-47 is a class four (4) misdemeanor

noise ordinance. The plaintiffs allege that over the

past year, they have been repeatedly charged with

violations of the noise ordinance. They allege that

the ordinance is facially unconstitutional because it

is overly vague.

The plaintiffs also claim that the ordinance is

unconstitutional as applied by the Virginia Beach

Police Department. The plaintiffs allege that law

enforcement officials possess unfettered discretion in

deciding whether to charge individuals’ with

violations of the ordinance. The plaintiffs allege that

officers have testified that a decision to charge a

violation of the ordinance is a matter of opinion and

admit that violations have routinely been alleged

without any underlying citizen complaints at all. The

plaintiffs indicate that the police, citizens, and

Virginia Beach judges have been unable to identify

19a

and utilize any consistent standards with regard to

this noise ordinance, and the result has been utter

chaos.

On September 7, 2007, this Court denied the

plaintiffs motion for a temporary. injunction.

Furthermore, this Court sustained the City’s

Demurrer to Plaintiffs’ Complaint as to the facial

validity of the City’s Noise Ordinance, and dismissed

that claim with prejudice. This Court granted

Plaintiffs leave to amend their Complaint, limited to

their “as-applied” challenge.

On February 28, 2008, a hearing was held in

order for the Court to hear additional testimony and

evidence as to the as-applied challenge. This matter

was taken under advisement at the conclusion of the

hearing. The Court has now reached a final decision

in this matter.

Plaintiffs’ Facial Challenge to

Virginia Beach City Code S 23-47

The plaintiffs once again set forth their

argument as to why this Court should declare the

Virginia Beach Noise Ordinance facially

unconstitutional. The Court acknowledges that the

plaintiffs are fully within their rights to proffer such

argument, despite the previous dismissal of this

claim. However, the petitioners fail to persuade this

Court to reverse its earlier ruling. Therefore, the

Court denies the plaintiffs’ facial challenge based

upon the reasons set forth in the Court’s letter

opinion dated August 13, 2007.

20a

Plaintiffs’ As-Applied Challenge to § 23-47

The “qual Protection Clause of the 14th

Amendment provides that no state shall “deny to

any person the... Equal Protection of the laws.” U.S.

Const. Amend. XIV, § 1. The application of the Equal

Protection Clause prevents a state from prosecuting

individuals for certain crimes based upon “an

unjustifiable standard such as race, religion, or other

arbitrary classification.” Branche v. Commonwealth,

25 Va. App. 480, 486 (1997) (quoting City of Clebume

v. Clebume Living Center, 473 U.S. 432, 439 (1985)).

However, unequal application of the law, absent

such discriminatory purpose, does not trigger an

equal protection violation. Sims v. Cunningham, 203

Va. 347, 352 (1962).

In Sims v. Cunningham, the Virginia

Supreme Court addressed selective enforcement of

the law in regards to a habitual offender statute. /d.

at 349. Sims received an additional ten year jail

sentence due to his status as a repeat offender. Id.

Sims asserted in his habeas corpus petition that the

applicable statute, as applied, denied him the equal

protection of the laws. Jd. at 351. Specifically, Sims

pointed out that the Commonwealth failed to

sentence other individuals who qualified as habitual

offenders under the statute. Jd.

The Court indicated that the Commonwealth

adopted a deliberate policy to invoke the provisions

of the statute only against Virginia offenders. Jd. at

352. However, the Court found that Sims failed to

meet his burden to show clear, intentional, or

purposeful discrimination. For, “the unlawful

2la

administration by State officers of a State statute

fair on its face, resulting in its unequal application

to those who are entitled to be treated alike, is not a

denial of equal protection unless there is shown to be

present in it an element of intentional or purposeful

discrimination.” /d. (quoting Snowden v. Hughes,

321 U.S. 1, 8 (1944) (emph. added).

The testimony in this case unequivocally

establishes that the enforcement of the noise

ordinance is selective and uneven. The _ police

generally adhere to an “across the street” rule to

measure the noise emanating from an

establishment. However, the acceptable level of noise

differs based on the ambient noise of the

surrounding area. Virginia Beach police officers

possess wide discretion in determining whether

music violates the ordinance, and the ordinance is

not enforced the same throughout the city. Until

recently, a third party complaint was not even

required before the issuance of a citation.

The “across the street” rule is also relaxed,

and possibly abandoned, in regards to outdoor

entertainment Testimony established that music

from the outdoor stages at the Virginia Beach

oceanfront, especially the Hilton Hotel on 3lst

Street, is louder then the music emanating from the

Peppermint Lounge or other oceanfront clubs. The

sity is unable to point to any specific complaints

from citizens due to noise emanating from the

Peppermint Lounge. In contrast, one witness

testified that he complained to the city over one-

hundred times about outdoor music levels.

In order to prove their claim, the plaintiffs

must present clear evidence to rebut the

presumption that a state did not violate his equal

protection rights. See Branche, supra at 486. The

plaintiffs must “show both... a [resultant] criminal

effect and that [the discriminatory effect] was

motivated by a discriminatory purpose.” Jd. (quoting

Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598, 608 (1985).

The plaintiffs fail to meet this burden.

The plaintiffs succeed in demonstrating that

other persons’ similarly’ situated were not

prosecuted. However, the plaintiffs fail to address

any unjustifiable standard by which the _ police

department enforces this ordinance. See e.g. Boyd uv.

County of Henrico, 42 Va. App. 495, 522 (2004) (a

selective prosecution claim requires a showing that

the charges were brought for reasons forbidden by

the Constitution). The fact that the police may

possess “unfettered discretion” in enforcement does

not raise this constitutional issue. Nor does the fact

that the ordinance is enforced inconsistently and

selectively. See Malibu Auto Parts v. Comm., 218 Va.

467 (holding that territorial uniformity in

prosecution is not a constitutional pre-requisite).

For these reasons, the plaintiffs’ as-applied

challenge to § 23-47 is denied.

Very truly vours,

Is/ os

A. Joseph Canada, Jr

AJC,jr:dls

~

[ENTERED SEPTEMBER 7, 2007]

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

BRADLEY S. TANNER,

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS

and

BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. Case No. CL07-3754

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Defendant.

ORDER

On the 11" day of July, 2007, came the

parties, by counsel, upon the Complaint and Motion

for a temporary injunction filed by Plaintiffs and the

Demurrer filed by the Defendant, City of Virginia

Beach. An ore tenus hearing was held on the

temporary injunction motion, and counsel for the

parties argued the matter. The parties, by counsel,

again came before the Court on September 7, 2007

upon the Defendant’s motion for entry of order, upon

the Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration, and upon

the Plaintiffs’ Motion for Leave to Amend

24a

Upon consideration of Virginia Beach City

Code Section 23-47, the pleadings, motions, and

memoranda, applicable law, testimony and evidence,

and the arguments of counsel, the Court hereby

OVERRULES Plaintiffs’ Motion for a temporary

injunction.

Further, upon consideration of Virginia Beach

City Code Section 23-47, the pleadings, motions, and

memoranda, applicable law, and the arguments of

counsel, the Court hereby SUSTAINS the City’s

Demurrer as to the facial validity of Virginia Beach

City Code § 23-47, and OVERRULES the City’s

Demurrer as to the as-applied challenge to § 23-47.

The Court further GRANTS Plaintiffs leave to

amend, and deems the First Amended Complaint

FILED. The Court further ORDERS that the as-

applied challenge be set for an evidentiary hearing.

This order is without prejudice to the City’s right to

file and have heard a Demurrer or other responsive

pleading to the First Amended Complaint, which

shall be filed on or before September 28, 2007. The

Court DISMISSES, WITH PREJUDICE,

Plaintiffs’ Facial Challenge to Virginia Beach City

Code § 23-47; however this is not a final order and

no portion of this order shall be construed as or

become final until all claims and counts asserted in

this action are dispositively resolved by the Court.

It is so ordered.

Entered, nunc pro tunc, this 7% day of

September, 2007.

/s/ 7 ee

Hon. A. Joseph Canada, Jr., Judge

I ask for this, save and except for the Court’s

overruling the City’s Demurrer as to the as-applied

challenge, to which the City objects tor the reasons

set forth in the pleadings, motions, and memoranda

and at the hearings:

/s/ mae

Christopher S. Boynton, Senior City Attorney

Counsel for the City of Virginia Beach

Seen and Objected to for the Reasons Set Forth

In the Pleadings, Motions and Memoranda, and at

the Hearings, and in accordance with all arguments

and authority presented to the Court:

Is/

Kevin E. Martingayle, Esquire

Counsel for Plaintiffs

CERTIFIED TO BE A TRUE COPY

OF RECORD IN MY CUSTODY

TINA E. SINNEN, CLERK

CIRCUIT COURT, VIRGINIA BEACH, VA

BY /s/

DEPUTY CLERK

26a

[ENTERED AUGUST 13, 2007]

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

EDWARD W. HANSON, JR.

THOMAS S. SHADRICK

FREDERICK B. LOWE

A. BONWILL SHOCKLEY

H. THOMAS PADRICK, JR.

A. JOSEPH CANADA, JR.

PATRICIA L. WEST

STEPHEN C. MAHAN

WILLIAM R. O’BRIEN

CIRCUIT COURT

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

JUDICIAL CENTER, BLDG. 1

2425 NIMMO PARKWAY

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA 23456

(757) 385-4501

www.vbgov.com/courts

SECOND JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

Direct Dial: 757-385-4262

August 13, 2007

Christopher S. Boynton, Esq.

Office of the City Attorney

2401 Courthouse Dr.

Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9004

Kevin E. Martingayle, Esq.

Stallings & Bischoff, P.C.

24a

P.O. Box 1687

Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4160

Re: Bradley S. Tanner, Eric Alexander

Williams and BAE Ventures, Inc.

v. The City of Virginia Beach

Docket No.: CL 07-3754

Dear Counsel:

I have received your briefs and rule as follows:

INJUNCTION

In order to obtain the issuance of a

temporary/preliminary injunction, the moving party

must show:

; There must be no adequate remedy at

law;

z. An injunction would be an effective and

enforceable means of redressing the

problem;

2. The likelihood of irreparable harm to

the Plaintiff and the harm to the

Defendant if an injunction is granted.

If the balance of the hardships test

results in a finding that the harm to the

plaintiff greatly outweighs that to the

defendant, then this is enough to

permit issuance of the injunction;

4. If the harm to the plaintiff does not

greatly outweigh the harm to _ the

defendant, then the plaintiff has the

burden of proving that it is likely to

succeed on the merits.

28a

5. Finally, the court. must consider

whether issuance of an _ injunction

would serve the public interest.

Plaintiffs seek a temporary injunction to

enjoin the City of Virginia Beach from enforcing the

noise ordinance while this suit is pending. It is

unclear whether Plaintiffs are trying to enjoin the

enforcement of the ordinance against anyone, or just

against themselves. Either way, it is not an

appropriate remedy at this stage in the proceeding.

Plaintiffs do not show sufficient irreparable harm if

the ordinance is allowed to be enforced. On the

other hand, the City will suffer a great deal of harm

if they are prohibited from enforcing one of its laws.

Furthermore, Plaintiffs are unable to show a

likelihood of success on the merits at this point,

given the prior case law that leans heavily in favor of

the City. Lastly, it would not serve the public

interest to place restraints on the City’s ability to

regulate the behavior of its citizens and

establishments. Plaintiffs’ request for a temporary

injunction is overruled.

DEMURRER

Judge Lowe previously ruled on the issue of

whether § 23-47 is facially unconstitutional. IN the

case of Feeney v. City of Virginia Beach (CHO3-

3636), Judge Lowe sustained the City’s demurrer

regarding the facial validity of the statute. His order

States:

Upon consideration of the language

employed in Virginia Beach City Code

29a

section 23-47 and the case law relating

to similar ordinances, the Court finds

as a matter of law that Virginia Beach

City Code section 23-47 is not facially

vague or overbroad and does not, as

written, violate any due process or

equal protection rights guaranteed by

the Virginia Constitution. Likewise,

the Court finds that the ordinance on

its face meets an _ objective and

reasonable standard and that section

23-47, to the extent it is enforced

consistent with its terms, does not

violate any right to freedom of express

guaranteed by the Virginia

Constitution.

As this issue has previously been ruled upon,

the demurrer is sustained and the matter is

dismissed. Mr. Boynton is to prepare and circulate

an order consistent with this ruling.

Sincerely,

[sf ae

A. Joseph Canada, dr.

AJC, jr:dls

30a

[ENTERED JUNE 12, 2009]

In the Supreme Court of Virginia held at the

Supreme Court Building tin the City of Richmond on

Friday the 12th day of June, 2009.

Bradley S. Tanner, et al., Appellants,

against Record No. 080998

Circuit Court No. CLO7-3754

City of Virginia Beach, Appellee.

Upon a Petition for Rehearing

On consideration of the petition of the

appellee to set aside the judgment rendered herein

on the 17th day of April, 2009 and grant a rehearing

thereof, the prayer of the said petition is denied.

A, Copy,

Teste:

Patricia L. Harrington, Clerk

By: original order signed by a deputy

clerk of the Supreme Court of

Virginia at the direction of the

Court

Deputy Clerk

3la

[FILED SEPTEMBER 27, 2007]

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

BRADLEY S. TANNER,

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS

and

BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. Case No. CL07-3754

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Defendant.

DEMURRER

COMES NOW the City of Virginia Beach

("City"), by counsel, and files its Demurrer to

Plaintiffs’ First Amended Complaint, on _ the

following grounds:

1. Plaintiffs contend the City’s Noise

Ordinance (Virginia Beach City Code § 23-47) is

unconstitutional under the Virginia Constitution,

both on its face and as applied. Plaintiffs seek

declaratory and _ injunctive relief from its

enforcement.

Zs Following an _ extensive temporary

injunction hearing on July 11, 2007 — during which

32a

Plaintiffs called almost a dozen witnesses — the

Court denied the temporary injunction.

a. The Court sustained the City’s

Demurrer to Plaintiffs’ Complaint as to the facial

validity of the City’s Noise Ordinance, and dismissed

that claim.

4. The Court granted Plaintiffs leave to

amend their Complaint, limited to their “as-applied”

challenge. This Demurrer is in response to the “as

applied” challenge as asserted in Plaintiffs First

Amended Complaint. No response is required to the

facial challenge contained in the First Amended

Complaint, since that claim was dismissed with

prejudice by the Court’s September 7, 2007 ruling

and Order.

5. Plaintiffs’ “as applhed” challenge is

found primarily at paragraphs 5 and 6 of the First

Amended Complaint.

6. Plaintiffs assert in paragraph 5 that

“...as applied’, the ordinance has been utilized tn a

subjective and ‘selective manner, in violation of

rights guaranteed by the Virginia Constitution”

a Plaintiffs assert in paragraph 6 that

“fals applied and enforced, the subject ordinance is

unlawful and violates the Virginia Constitution

because law enforcement officials in Virginia Beach

exercise unfettered individual discretion in deciding

whether to charge individuals with noise ordinance

violations...” They further contend that some City

police officers have stated the decision to charge a

33a

violation is a matter of opinion, and that sometimes

charges are made without private citizen complaints.

8. The remainder of the Complaint

chronicles several Virginia Beach general district

and circuit court prosecutions under the City Noise

Ordinance that had a variety of outcomes with a

variety of judges based upon a variety of operative

facts. While some judges have declined to convict

certain defendants, and some have offered dicta from

the bench about how the ordinance would be better

enforced, no judge to date has found the City Noise

Ordinance unconstitutional, either facially or as-

applied. Rather, several have patently refused to

find the ordinance unconstitutional even where they

have declined to convict a defendant under the facts

of the case at hand.

9. The allegations contained in the First

Amended Complaint, even when taken as true for

purposes of Demurrer, and combined with any fair

inferences or implications, simply do not assert that

Plaintiffs are engaged in protected conduct or speech

when they are cited for “unreasonably loud,

disturbing and unnecessary’ noise and are having

their constitutional rights infringed upon by the

enforcement of this content-neutral ordinance.

10. Where an ordinance is a_content-

neutral regulation of conduct that does not unduly

burden any protected speech, Plaintiffs cannot claim

they were targeted for constitutionally suspect

reasons. Boyd v. Henrico, 42 Va. App. 495, 522

(2004). As the Virginia Court of Appeals wrote in

that case:

34a

“Appellants’ as-applied selective

enforcement claim fails for the same

reason their content-based attack fails:

The dancers have no First Amendment

right to wear pasties and G-strings

rather than the lingerie-like tops and

bottoms required by the Henrico

ordinance. Because the ordinance

involves a content-neutral regulation of

conduct that does not unduly burden

any protected erotic speech, appellants

cannot claim they were being targeted

for constitutionally suspect reasons. Put

another way, appellants cannot show

that Henrico prosecuted them “because

of’ their expression of constitutionally

protected speech.”

Id. (internal citation omitted). Just as the

appellants in the Boyd case had no constitutionally

protected right to wear pasties and G-strings,

Plaintiffs in this action have no constitutional right

to play unreasonably loud, disturbing and

unnecessary music that can be heard across or down

the street from their indoor establishment.

ll. Plaintiffs’ First Amended Complaint

wholly fails to state a claim that the City has applied

or enforced the Noise Ordinance in a manner that

unlawfully infringes upon any _ constitutionally

protected free speech rights.

i2. Moreover, as the Virginia Court of

Appeals has observed: “Although actual selective

enforcement of a statute might give rise to an equal

35a

protection challenge,... the statute itself will not be

struck down ‘unless its clarity has been ‘designedly

avoided so as to allow the net to be cast at large.”

Tjan v. Commonwealth, 46 Va. App. 698, 710 (2005)

(internal citations omitted).

13. Here, the only remedy Plaintiffs seek is

for the ordinance to be struck down. This remedy is

plainly not available to Plaintiffs based upon their

allegations in the First Amended Complaint.

14. Moreover, while Plaintiffs allegations at

paragraph 19 challenge facially the City Noise

Ordinance, stating “this type of blanket prohibition

violates free speech, due process and _ cqual

protection rights guaranteed by the Virginia

constitution,” their facial challenge was previously

dismissed and further, Plaintiffs have not alleged

either that they are members of a protected class or

that their equal protection rights have been violated.

15. Finally, plaintiffs scek injunctive relicf

and asserts in paragraph 21 that “Plaintiffs are

sustaining ongoing, irreparable harm and their

constitutional rights are being violated.” The only

“facts” alleged in support of this conclusory

allegation of irreparable harm are found in

paragraph 4 of the First Amended Complaint.

16. In that paragraph, Plaintiffs allege:

they “have been charged, repeatedly, with violations’

of the ordinance; “they have also been threatened

with arrest and detention in jail even though the

subject ordinance is a Class 4 misdemeanor

punishable by nothing more than a fine;” it is “very

36a

unsettling, disturbing, and upsetting to them;” it has

significantly impaired their ability to conduct

business;” enforcement of the ordinance in the past

month is at “the point of being intolerable.”

17. Nothing in these allegations remotely

constitutes irreparable harm, and in fact, Plaintiffs

concede that all harms alleged are of either a

financial or minor emotional nature. Plaintiffs

further concede that nobody has been arrested under

the Ordinance since, as Plaintiffs’ correctly point out,

a Noise Ordinance violation is a Class 4

misdemeanor subject only to fines.

18. Because Plaintiffs have failed to state

sufficient facts to assert a claim that the City’s Noise

Ordinance is unconstitutional as applied to them, or

that they are suffering irreparable harm and are

without an adequate remedy at law, the Demurrer

should be sustained and the case dismissed.

WHEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, the

City respectfully requests that its Demurrer be

granted and the First Amended Complaint be

dismissed with prejudice.

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

By: /s/

Of Counsel

37a

Mark D. Stiles (VSB No. 30683)

Deputy City Attorney

Christopher S. Boynton (VSB No. 38501)

Senior City Attorney

Office of the City Attorney

2401 Courthouse Drive, Building 1

Virginia Beach, VA 23456

(757) 385-4531- Telephone

(757) 385-5687- Facsimile

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true copy of the

foregoing Demurrer was faxed and mailed to. Kevin

E. Martingayle, Esquire, Stallings & Bischoff, P.C.,

2101 Parks Avenue, Suite 801, Virginia Beach,

Virginia 23451 this 27** day of September, 2007.

/s/

Christopher S. Boynton

38a

[FILED JULY 6, 2007]

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

BRADLEY S. TANNER,

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS

and

BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. Case No. CLO7-3754

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Defendant.

DEMURRER

COMES NOW the City of Virginia Beach

(“City”), by counsel, and demurs to the Complaint for

Declaratory Injunctive Relief [sic] (‘Complaint”),

filed herein by the Plaintiffs on the following

grounds:

l. Plaintiffs Complaint challenges the

constitutionality of the City’s Noise Ordinance

(codified at Virginia Beach City Code § 23-47), and

seeks declaratory and injunctive relief from its

enforcement.

2. Paragraph 5 of the Complaint asserts

that “[o]m its face, the subject noise ordinance 1s

39a

legally defective and _ violates the Virginia

Constitution because it is overly vague, contains no

standards or criteria for enforcement, and fails to

provide citizens with ‘fair notice’ of what specific

conduct is unlawful.”

3. The City’s Noise Ordinance is attached

and incorporated into the Complaint and therefore

may be considered for purposes of this Demurrer.

4. The rules of statutory construction

require the Court to interpret the ordinance

according to its terms and give all words employed

therein their commonly accepted meanings.

5. The ordinance, by its terms, provides an

objective and reasonable standard. It prohibits “any

unreasonably loud, disturbing and unnecessary

noise.” It simply requires that Plaintiffs, like all

establishments, play any music they may choose to

play inside at such volume and under such

conditions and at such times so as to _ not

unreasonably disturb those persons who choose not.

to be patrons of the Plaintiffs’ establishment.

6 In a prior case filed by attorney for

Plaintiffs challenging this exact same ordinance,

Christopher Ieeney et al v. City of Virginia Beach,

Chancery No. CH03-3636, the Honorable Frederick

B. Lowe of this Court sustained the City’s demurrer

and entered an Order explicitly upholding the

constitutionality of the City’s Noise Ordinance (copy

attached as Exhibit 1). In that Order, Judge Lowe

wrote:

40a

Upon consideration of the language

employed in Virginia Beach City Code

Section 23-47 and the case law relating

to similar ordinances, the Court finds

as a matter of law that Virginia Beach

City Code Section 23-47 is not facially

vague or overbroad, and does not, as

written, violate any due process or

equal protection rights guaranteed by

the Virginia Constitution. Likewise,

the Court finds that the ordimance on

its face meets an objective and

reasonable standard and that Section

23-47, to the extent it is enforced

consistent with its terms, does not

violate any right to freedom of

expression guaranteed by the Virginia

Constitution.” (emphasis added)

‘# The Virginia Supreme Court has also

previously considered the City’s Noise Ordinance

and found it to be constitutional. In City of Virginia

Beach v. Murphy, 239 Va. 353, 389 S.E.2d 462

(1990), the Supreme Court reversed Judge Austin

Owen, who had found the City’s Noise Ordinance

unconstitutional after the defendant was prosecuted

for loud music emanating from her restaurant (copy

attached as Exhibit 2). In that case, the legal issue

was not vagueness or overbreadth, but rather

whether the illegal conduct constituted a private

nuisance or a public nuisance. Importantly, in

ruling that the conduct punishable under the City’s

Noise Ordinance was a public nuisance and that the

ordinance was constitutional, the Court wrote that

“the right not to be subjected to ‘unreasonably loud,

4la

disturbing and unnecessary noise’ as provided in

Virginia Beach Code § 23-47, is ‘common to all

members of the general public...’ and not particular

to individuals in the enjoyment of their property.”

Id. at 356, 464.

8. When the City’s Noise Ordinance is

enforced consistent with its terms, the Ordinance

sufficiently identifies and defines the conduct it

prohibits and, as a matter of law, is. not

unconstitutionally vague or overbroad.

9. Paragraph 6 of the Complaint asserts

that “as applied and enforced, the subject ordinance

is unlawful and violates the Virginia Constitution

because law enforcement officials in Virginia Beach

exercise unfettered individual discretion in deciding

whether to charge individuals with noise ordinance

violations.”

10. The allegations in Paragraph 6 of the

Complaint, even when combined with the few factual

allegations contained in the Complaint (specifically

that the decision to charge a violation is “...purely a

matter of opinion...” and that violations are “...often

alleged without any underlying citizen

complaints...”) fails to state a claim that the City has

applied or enforced the Noise Ordinance in an

unlawful or unconstitutional manner.

11. Nowhere in the City’s Noise Ordinance

is its required that there be an underlying citizen

complaint. Therefore, charging a violation in the

absence of a complaining witness (other than a police

officer) constitutes enforcement of the ordinance

42a

consistent with its terms.

12. Moreover, the Virginia Supreme Court,

in Murphy, wrote that “the distinction between a

public and a private nuisance does not depend solely

upon the number of people who are actually affected,

as the trial court held.” The Court continued:

“As one jurisdiction has noted: If the

annoyance is one that is common to the

public generally, then it is a public

nuisance... The test is not the number

of persons annoyed, but the possibility

of annoyance to the public by _ the

invasion of its rights. A public nuisance

is one that injures the citizens generally

who may be so circumstanced as to

come within its influence.”

Id. at 356, 463 (quoting Couture v. Bd. Of

Educ. of Town of Plainfield, 6 Conn.App. 309,

315, 505 A.2d 432, 4385 (1986) (internal

citation omitted)) (emphasis added).

13. Clearly, the Virgina Supreme

Court, in sustaining this Ordinance once

previously, contemplated that a _ violation

could occur, be prosecuted and a conviction be

obtained, all in the absence of a citizen

complaint.

14. Moreover, the assertion that an

officer’s decision to charge a violation of the

Ordinance is “purely a matter of opinion” is

simply not accurate. While officers

43a

necessarily employ some level of discretion in

making a decision to charge a person with a

Noise Ordinance violation, they employ that

same level of discretion every day in deciding

whether to write a speeding ticket, to charge a

person for public intoxication, or to issue a

ticket for failing to come to a complete stop at

a road sign or signal.

15. The Noise Ordinance’ under

which an officer initiates a charge requires, on

its face, that the officer make a determination

that the noise is “unreasonably loud,

disturbing and unnecessary” and/or is

sufficient to “annoy or disturb the quiet,

comfort or repose of reasonable persons.” This

standard has already been ruled by this Court

to be an “objective and reasonable standard.”

The officer cannot make the charge unless he

determines that probable cause exists to

conclude that the defendant has violated this

objective and reasonable standard.

16. If an officer's conclusion that the

ordinance has been violated — which was

made based upon his or her in-person

observations — does not convince the trier of

fact, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the

reasonable person standard has been violated,

then the defendant is properly found not

guilty.

17. Each charge must rise and fall on

its own individual facts, but the decision to

charge is not without an objective and

44a

reasonable standard.

18. At paragraph 14, Plaintiffs allege

that “the police are habitually’ bringing

charges that cannot be proved in court.”

However, in 7 of the 8 instances cited in

Plaintiffs’ Complaint (paragraphs 10-13), the

Virginia Beach General District Court found

the evidence sufficient and convicted the

defendant, only to have the Circuit Court later

try the case de novo, and dismiss the charge.

In the eighth instance, the officer failed to

appear. Therefore, Plaintiffs’ own Complaint

admits that these cases can and are often

proved beyond a reasonable doubt to a judge

under the existing Ordinance.

19. ‘Finally, plaintiff seeks injunctive

relief and asserts in paragraph 17 that

“Plaintiffs are sustaining ongoing, irreparable

harm and their constitutional rights are being

violated.” The only “facts” alleged in support

of this conclusory allegation of irreparable

harm are found in paragraphs 4 and 14 of the

Complaint.

20. In those paragraphs, Plaintiffs

allege: they “have been charged, repeatedly,

with violations” of the ordinance; “they have

also been threatened with arrest and

detention in jail even though the subject

ordinance is a Class 4 misdemeanor

punishable by nothing more than a fine;” it is

“very unsettling, disturbing, and upsetting to

them;” it has significantly impaired their

45a

ability to conduct business;” enforcement of

the ordinance in the past month is at “the

point of being intolerable;” and (in paragraph

14) that prosecutions under the ordinance are

being done at “great expense, both financial

and emotional, to the defendants, and in a

manner which wastes judicial resources.”

20. Nothing in these allegations

remotely constitutes irreparable harm, and in

fact, Plaintiffs concede that all harms alleged

are of either a financial or minor emotional

nature. Plaintiffs further concede that nobody

has been arrested under the Ordinance since,

as Plaintiffs’ correctly point out, a Noise

Ordinance violation is a Class 4 misdemeanor

subject only to fines.

21. Because Plaintiffs have failed to

state a claim, as a matter of law, that the

City’s Noise Ordinance is unconstitutionally

vague or overbroad on its face, or that it is

unlawful or violative of the Virginia

Constitution as applied, the Demurrer should

be sustained and the case _ dismissed.

Moreover, Plaintiffs’ have wholly failed to

state sufficient facts to allow a court to find

irreparable harm or issue an injunction.

22. Finally, Plaintiffs essentially ask

the Court to substitute its judgment for that of

the legislative body as to how best to regulate

excessive noise. This request violates the

separation of powers doctrine and should be

rejected as a matter of law.

46a

WHEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, the

City respectfully requests that its Demurrer be

granted and the Complaint for Declaratory

Injunctive Relief be dismissed with prejudice.

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

By: /s/

Of Counsel

Mark D. Stiles (VSB No. 30683)

Deputy City Attorney

Christopher S. Boynton (VSB No. 34731)

Senior City Attorney

Office of the City Attorney

2401 Courthouse Drive, Building 1

Virginia Beach, VA 23456

(757) 385-4531- Telephone

(757) 385-5687- Facsimile

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true copy of the

foregoing Demurrer was faxed and mailed to Kevin

E. Martingayle, Esquire, Stallings & Bischoff, P.C.,

2101 Parks Avenue, Suite 801, Virginia Beach,

Virginia 23451 this 6 day of July, 2007.

/s/

Christopher S. Boy nton

AZ7a

[FILED SEPTEMBER 6, 2007]

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

BRADLEY S. TANNER,

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS and

BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. Case No. CL07-3754

THE CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Defendant.

FIRST AMENDED COMPLAINT FOR

DECLARATORY AND INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

NOW COME your plaintiffs, Bradley S.

Tanner (hereinafter “Tanner’), Eric Alexander

Willams (hereinafter “Williams’) and BAE

Ventures, Inc. t/a The Peppermint Beach Club

(hereinafter “The Peppermint”), by counsel, and in

support of their complaint, state as follows:

i. Tanner is a resident of the City of

Suffolk and Williams is a resident of the City of

Virginia Beach.

2. The Peppermint is a _ Virginia

corporation operating as a- restaurant and

entertainment venue located at 1801 Atlantic

48a

Avenue in the City of Virginia Beach.

3. The City of Virginia Beach (hereinafter

“the City”) is a municipal corporation created and in

existence pursuant to applicable provisions of the

Code of Virginia. Among other functions, the City

operates a police department. Additionally, the City

has created and passed into law certain ordinances,

including one which is the subject of this complaint,

§ 23-47.

4. Tanner and Williams are owners and

operators of The Peppermint. Over the past year or

more, they have been charged, repeatedly, with

violations of City ordinance §23-47, always because

of music volume. In addition to the times when they

have been issued summonses, they have also been

threatened with arrest and detention in jail, even

though the subject ordinance is a Class 4

misdemeanor punishable by nothing more than a

fine. Obviously, this has been very unsettling,

disturbing and upsetting to them, and it has

significantly impaired their ability to conduct

business at The Peppermint, and has damaged the

ability of The Peppermint to conduct business and

satisfy its customers. Enforcement of the ordinance

has been stepped up significantly in recent months

to the point of being intolerable.

5. On its face, the subject noise ordinance

is legally defective and violates the Virginia

Constitution because it is overly vague, contains no

standards or criteria for enforcement, and fails to

provide citizens with “fair notice” of what specific

conduct is unlawful. Moreover, this ordinance

A9a

violates free speech and _ expression rights

guaranteed by the Virginia Constitution. Facially,

the noise ordinance invites selective prosecution and,

“as applied”, the ordinance has been utilized in a

subjective and selective manner, in violation of

rights guaranteed by the Virginia Constitution.

6. As applied and enforced, the subject

ordinance is unlawful and violates the Virginia

Constitution because law enforcement officials in

Virginia Beach exercise unfettered individual

discretion in deciding whether to charge individuals

with noise ordinance violations. Over the years, City

police officers have testified in numerous attempts at

prosecution of the ordinance that the decision to

charge a violation of the ordinance is purely a matter

of opinion, and have further admitted that violations

have routine)., been alleged without any underlying

citizen complaints at all. Accordingly, potential

violators of the noise ordinance are left guessing as

to whether or not their conduct is “criminal”, and

numerous witnesses have testified that they are

unable to tell when they are acting in a manner that

violates the noise ordinance. Witnesses have also

testified that from their perspective, they are not

acting in a manner which violates the ordinance.

Notwithstanding, these witnesses have endured

criminal charges. with unpredictable and

inconsistent results being reached in the courtroom

when their cases have been tried. Currently, the

police, citizens and Virginia Beach judges have been

unable to identify and utilize any consistent

standards with regard to the noise ordinance, and

the result has been utter chaos.

5Oa

ti Special rules of statutory construction

apply to penal statutes, which are strictly construed

against the government and may not be extended by

implication. Stevenson v, City of Falls Church, 243

Va 3 434, 486 (1992). Lack of sufficient

“definiteness” and “clear and unequivocal tests to

ascertain guilt” will lead to penal statutes being

invalidated. Goldstein v. Commonwealth, 200 Va.

25,27-28 (1958) (obscenity statute struck down). If “a

person could not receive fair notice of the relevant

law by reading [the] penal ordinance”, it is

unenforceable. Rollins v. Gordonsville, 216 Va 25, 26

(1975). “We have often held that a penal statute

must be definite and certain to be valid, and it

denies due process of law if it is vague .or

ambiguous.” Sharp v. Commonwealth, 213 Va. 269,

271 (1972) (internal citations omitted). “The

Constitution does not permit the legislature to set a

net large enough to catch all possible offenders, and

leave it to the courts to step inside and say who

should be rightfully detained, and who should be set

at large.” Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 60 (1999)

(internal citations omitted) (invalidating an anti-

loitering ordinance). See also Booth _v.

Commonwealth, 197 Va. 177 (1955) (declaring the

term “improper person” to be unconstitutionally

vague and indefinite in the context of an alcohol

interdiction order); Squire v. Pace, 380 F. Supp. 269,

(W.D. Va. 1974), affd. 516 F. 2d 240 (4" Cir. 1975),

cert, demied 423 U.S. 840 (1975) (granting habeas

corpus and striking down on both free speech and

vagueness grounds a Virginia “disorderly conduct”

statute). As these cases and others make perfectly

clear, the requirement of certainty in penal statutes

and ordinances is fundamental to American

5la

jurisprudence. See Papachristouv. City of

Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972) (vagrancy

ordinance ruled void for vagueness); Coleman v. City

of Richmond, 5 Va. App. 459 (1988) reh’g. denied, 6

Va. App. 296 (1988) (invalidating Richmond

ordinance prohibiting loitering in a public place

under circumstances manifesting the purpose of

engaging in prostitution).

8. In the specific context of noise

ordinances, cases from many jurisdictions around

the United States constitute strong and persuasive

authority in support of plaintiffs’ arguments that the

standardless Virginia Beach noise ordinance is

invalid because it violates free speech, equal

protection and due process rights guaranteed by the

Virginia Constitution. See, e.g., U.S. Labor Party v.

Pomerleau, 557 F. 2d 410 (4 Cir. 1977): People v.

New York Trap Rock Corp., 57 N.Y. 2d 371, 456

N.Y.S. 2d 711 (N.Y. 1982); Jim Crockett Promotion,

Inc._v. City of Charlotte, 706 F.2d 486 (C.A.4 (NC)

1983); Fratiello v. Mancuso, 653 F. Supp. 775 (R.1.

1987): Lanaford v. City of Omaha, 755 F. Supp. 1460

{Neb. 1989): Vae..Woo.Kimy..City of New York, 774 F.

Supp. 164 (S.D. N.Y.1991); Nichols vu. City of

Gulfport, 589 So. 2d 1280 (Miss. 1991); Asauith_v.

City of Beaufort, 911 F. Supp. 974 (S.C. 1995);

Duores v. Citu of Newport. RJ., 978 F. Supp. 429 (D.

R.I. 1997); Lionhart v. Foster, 100 F. Supp. 2d 383

(E.D, La. 1999): Thelen v. State, 526 S.E. 2d 60 (Ga

2000); Deeganv. Citu of Ithaca, 444 F.3d 135 (2 Cir.

2006). Copies of these cases have all been filed with

the Court previously. In each of these cases, the

subject noise ordinance was at feast .as specific as

the Virginia Beach noise ordinance, and in some

52a

cases much more specific, and yet in each instance,

the ordinance failed to pass muster and was deemed

to violate constitutional rights.

9. The Virginia Beach courts have been

the site of a great deal of prior litigation involving

the Virginia Beach noise ordinance. The subject

dispute involves music emanating from a restaurant

located at 1801 Atlantic Avenue. Notably, the

restaurant is on the ground floor of a hotel, and the

owners/operators of The Peppermint have had no

citizen or hotel complaints concerning the music

volume at the restaurant. Nevertheless, the police

continue to allege violations and have even

threatened arrest.

10. In 2003, other individuals associated

with the predecessor restaurant at this same

location mounted a challenged to the subject

ordinance in Feenev. et. al. v. City of Virginia Beach,

CHO3-3636. The case proceeded before’ the

Honorable Frederick B. Lowe on the initial question

of whether the ordinance is facially defective. Judge

Lowe found that it was not, but left for future

determination the issue of whether it was being

applied selectively and unconstitutionally. However,

before any further determinations could be made,

the case was non-suited because the City and

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

effectively drove the restaurant out of business.

However, less than one month after Judge Lowe

entered an order in Feeney. he presided over

Co nwealth v. Joh ard Lewis, CRO3-2866-

00, CRO3-2996-00; CRO3-2996-01; CRO3-4413-00 and

CRO3-4751 (5 charges/incidents consolidated for

53a

trial). The case involved music volume at a

restaurant located diagonally across the street from

where The Peppermint is now, and it was tried on

July 15, 2004. All of the charges against the

defendant were dismissed on a motion to strike. A

copy of the transcript from that proceeding was

supplied previously, and the testimony of the police

officers in that case demonstrate the problems with

the ordinance and the way in which it is enforced,

ll. On October 14, 2004, the Honorable

Stephen C. Mahan presided over Commonwealth v.

Joshua Erik Price, CR04-3117. A copy of the

transcript from that proceeding was supplied

previously. In this case involving musig volume at

another oceanfront area restaurant, the prosecution

was utterly unable to articulate any type of objective

standard or test. Judge Mahan dismissed the charge

on a motion to strike.

12. On January 19, 2006, the Honorable

Patricia L. West presided over Commonwealth v.

Anthony Smith, CR05-4748. A copy of the transcript

of that proceeding was supplied previously. In this

case involving music at an establishment in the 2100

block of Atlantic Avenue, the prosecution was unable

to present any evidence that articulated a clear

standard or which would otherwise provide for “clear

notice” to the public. Judge West received briefs on

the constitutional issues, but, ultimately, declined to

reach the constitutional questions and _ simply

dismissed the charge on the basis of insufficient

evidence.

‘3. On September 12, 2005, Andrew C.

Edwards, an owner of “Chicho’s” (a restaurant

located at 2112 Atlantic Avenue) went before the

General District Court for an alleged noise ordinance

violation in case GC0O5-13176. Like the others, this

case involved music volume. The charging officer

failed to show up for court and the case was

dismissed. A copy of the disposition from that case

was supplied previously.

14. On July 9, 2007, Tanner was tried in

Virginia Beach General District Court on two alleged

noise violations in case nos. GC07-9605 and GC0O7-

4711. The Honorable Calvin R. Depew, Jr.

dismissed the charge in case no. GCO7-9605, but

convicted in case no. GCO7-4711 (with the conviction

appealed and currently pending in Virginia Beach

Circuit Court). The transcript of those proceedings

was filed previously and further demonstrates the

confusion and unpredictability associated with noise

ordinance enforcement and legal proceedings.

15. On August 28, 2007, The Honorable W.

Edward Hudgins, Jr. presided over two noise

ordinance cases. In GC0O7-10231, a charge was

dismissed against Matthew Potter. A copy of the

transcript of that case is attached hereto as Exhibit

A. In GC07-9642, Judge Hudgins convicted Tanner

(who has appealed to the Virginia Beach Circuit

Court, with that case pending). A copy of the

transcript of that case is attached hereto as Exhibit

B. In both instances, the charging officers did not

allege that any person complained or was disturbed

by the music which led to issuance of a summons.

In Tanner’s case, Officer W. Ahern testified that the

55a

standard used was whether he could “hear the noise

clearly from one establishment from across the

street.” (TR 8). Notably, this testimony from Officer

Ahern indicates that the standard he and his fellow

officers have been using is the exact same standard

that Judge Lowe advised was unacceptable in

Commonwealth v. John Leonard Lewis, referenced

in 1J10 herein above. In other words, in the

aftermath of Judge Lowe's ruling in the Lewis case

three years ago, the Virginia Beach Police

Department appears to have institutionalized the

precise enforcement methodology that a Virginia

Beach Circuit Court judge advised was unacceptable

and improper.

16. On September 5, 2007, Carlos Cooke

(case no. GCO7-8455) and Matthew Potter (case no.

GCO07-8551) were before the Virginia Beach General

District Court on alleged violations of the noise

ordinance. That morning, Kathy D. Rountree

appeared on behalf of the city attorney’s office and

agreed that due to Officer D’Orio’s anticipated

testimony, the charges should be dismissed. A copy

of the case printouts/are attached hereto as Exhibits

C and D.

‘7. These case transcripts and dispositions

highlight the problem that confronts citizens in

general, and _ operators of oceanfront area

restaurants in particular. The police are habitually

and repeatedly bringing charges that often cannot be

proved in court. This is being done at great expense,

both financial and emotional, to the individuals

charged with criminal violations, and in a manner

which wastes judicial resources. In the instances

56a

where judges have deemed the evidence ‘to be

sufficient for the finding of guilt, the reasoning has

been vague and confusing, with no guidance

provided to these defendants or anyone else to

enable them to know how to determine the legality

or illegality of their conduct on a “go-forward basis’.

18. For years the City has known that its

ordinance is defective, and yet it has made no

changes. By contrast, numerous other localities have

enacted ordinances which use decibel levels. The

ability to measure sound levels has been in existence

for decades, yet Virginia’s largest city refuses to

enact a modern, measurable ordinance. However,

back in 1995, the City of Virginia Beach reached a

“Noise Restrictions Agreement” with the operator of

the Virginia Beach Amphitheater. A copy of that

agreement was filed with the Court previously. This

agreement demonstrates that the City knows how to

measure sound.

19. Additionally, certain aspects of §23-47

constitute blanket prohibitions against certain types

of sound or noise, including, but not limited to §23-

47(a)(5). This type of blanket prohibition violates

free speech, due process and equal protection rights

guaranteed by the Virginia constitution.

20. Despite knowing how to measure sound

and create an ordinance with objective standards,

and despite losing a great number of cases in the

courtroom where the City has attempted to enforce

its standardless ordinance over a period spanning

years, the City has steadfastly and stubbornly

refused to enact any changes. Evidently, if there is to

57a

be any meaningful change, it is going to have to start

with a ruling from this court.

Si. Plaintiffs are sustaining ongoing,

irreparable harm, and their constitutional rights are

being violated. Accordingly, declaratory and

injunctive relief is required to remedy the situation.

WHEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, your

plaintiffs, Bradley S. Tanner, Eric Alexander

Wiliams and BAE Ventures, Inc., t/a The

Peppermint Beach Club, respectfully request that

this Honorable Court declare that Virginia Beach

Ordinance § 23-47 is violative of the Virginia

Constitution, both facially and as applied, and is

therefore void and unenforceable. Moreover,

plaintiffs request that this Court enjoin the City of

Virginia Beach, temporarily and permanently, from

enforcing its noise ordinance (§ 23-47), and plaintiffs

request such other and further relief as deemed

appropriate under the circumstances, including, but

not limited to, an award of attorneys’ fees and costs.

BRADLEY 8S. TANNER,

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS,

BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB

/s/

Of Counsel

Kevin E. Martingayle, Esquire

STALLINGS & BISCHOFF, P.C.

2101 Parks Avenue, Suite 801

Post Office Box 1687

y8a

Virginia Beach, VA 23451

(757) 422-4700 (telephone)

(757) 428-6982 (facsimile)

CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing

was sent via facsimile and first class mail this 6

day of September, 2007, to Christopher S. Boynton,

Senior City Attorney, Office of the City Attorney,

Municipal Center; Building 1, Room 260, 2401

Courthouse Drive, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456.

—— :

Kevin E. Martingayle

59a

[FILED JUNE 22, 2007]

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF

THE CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

BRADLEY S. TANNER,

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS

and

BAE VENTURES, INC., t/a

THE PEPPTERMINT BEACH CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

v. Case No.

THE CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

Defendant.

Serve: Leslie L. Lilley,

City Attorney

Office of the City Attorney

Municipai Center,

Building 1, Room 260

2401 Courthouse Drive

Virginia Beach,

Virginia 23456

COMPLAINT FOR DECLARATORY

INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

NOW COME your plaintiffs, Bradley

60a

S. Tanner (hereinafter “Tanner’), Eric

Alexander Williams (hereinafter

“Williams”) and BAE Ventures, Inc. t/a The

Peppermint Beach Club (hereinafter “The

Peppermint’), after having been duly

sworn, and in support of their complaint,

state as follows:

3. Tanner is a resident of the

City of Suffolk and Williams is a resident of

the City of Virginia Beach.

2. The Peppermint is a Virginia

corporation operating as a restaurant and

entertainment venue located at 1801

Atlantic Avenue in the City of Virginia

Beach.

3. The City of Virginia Beach

(hereinafter “the City”) 1s a municipal

corporation created and in_- existence

pursuant to applicable provisions of the

Code of Virginia. Among other functions,

the City operates a police department.

Additionally, the City has created and

passed into law certain’ ordinances,

including one which is the subject of this

complaint, § 23-47 (copy attached).

4. Tanner and Wilhams_ are

owners and operators of The Peppermint.

Over the past year or more, they have been

charged, repeatedly, with violations of City

ordinance § 23-47, always because of music

volume. In addition to the times when they

6la

have been issued summonses, they have

also been threatened with arrest and

detention in jail, even though the subject

ordinance is a Class 4 misdemeanor

punishable by nothing more than a fine.

Obviously, this has been very unsettling,

disturbing and upsetting to them, and it

has significantly impaired their ability to

conduct business at The Peppermint, and

has damaged the ability of The Peppermint

to conduct business and _ satisfy its

customers. Enforcement of the ordinance

has been stepped up significantly in the

past month to the point of being intolerable.

5. On its face, the subject noise

ordinance is legally defective and violates

the Virginia Constitution because it is

overly vague, contains no standards or

criteria for enforcement, and fails to provide

citizens with “fair notice” of what specific

conduct is unlawful.

6. Moreover, as applied and

enforced, the subject ordinance is unlawful

and violates the Virginia Constitution

because law enforcement officials in

Virginia Beach exercise unfettered

individual discretion in deciding whether to

charge individuals with noise ordinance

violations. Over the years, City police

officers have testified in numerous attempts

at prosecution of the ordinance that the

decision to charge a_ violation of the

ordinance is purely a matter of opinion, and

62a

have further admitted that violations are

often alleged without any underlying citizen

complaints at all.

if Special rules of statutory

construction apply to penal statutes, which

are strictly construed against the

government anc may not be extended by

implication. Stevenson _v. City of Falls

Church, 243 Va. 434, 486 (1992). Lack of

sufficient “definiteness” and “clear and

unequivocal tests to ascertain guilt” will

lead to penal statutes being invalidated.

Goldstein v. Commonwealth, 200 Va. 25, 27-

28 (1958) (obscenity statute struck down). If

“a person could not receive fair notice of the

relevant law by reading [the] penal

ordinance’, it is unenforceable. Rollins ov.

Gordonsville, 216 Va. 25, 26 (1975). “We

have often held that a penal statute must

be definite and certain to be valid, and it

denies due process of law if it 1s vague or

ambiguous.” Sharp v. Commonwealth, 213

Va. 269, 271 (1972) (internal citations

omitted). “The Constitution does not permit

the legislature to set a net large enough to

catch all possible offenders, and leave it to

the courts to step inside and say who should

be rightfully detained, and who should be

set at large.” Chicago _v. Morales, 527 U.S.

41, 60 (1999) (internal citations omitted)

(invalidating an anti-loitering ordinance).

See also Booth v. Commonwealth, 197 Va.

177 (1955) (declaring the term “improper

person” to be unconstitutionally vague and

63a

indefinite in the context of an alcohol

interdiction order); Squire v. Pace, 380 F.

Supp. 269, (W.D. Va. 1974), affd. 516 F. 2d

240 (4th Cir. 1975), cert, denied 423 U.S.

840 (1975) (granting habeas corpus and

striking down on both free speech and

vagueness grounds a Virginia “disorderly

conduct” statute). As these cases and others

make perfectly clear, the requirement of

certainty in penal statutes and ordinances

is fundamental to American jurisprudence.

See Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville,

405 U.S. 156 (1972) (vagrancy ordinance

ruled void for vagueness); Coleman v. City

of Richmond, 5 Va. App. 459 (1988) reh’g.

denied, 6 Va. App. 296 (1988) (invalidating

Richmond ordinance prohibiting loitering in

a public place under circumstances

manifesting the purpose of engaging in

prostitution).

8. In the specific context of noise

ordinances, cases from many jurisdictions

around the United States constitute strong

and persuasive authority in support of

plaintiffs’ arguments that the standardless

Virginia Beach noise ordinance is_ invalid.

See, e.g., U.S. Labor Party v. Pomerleau,

557 F. 2d 410 (4th Cir. 1977); Thelen ov.

State, 526 S.E. 2d 60 (Ga. 2000); Lionhart v.

Foster, 100 F. Supp. 2d 383 (E.D. La.1999);

Dupres_v. City of Newport. RJ., 978 F.

Supp. 429 (D. R.I. 1997); Nichols v. City of

Gulfport, 589 So. 2d 1280 (Miss. 1991); Dae

Woo Kirn v. City of New York, 774 F. Supp.

64a

164 (S.D. N.Y.1991); People v. New York

Trap Rock Corp., 57 N.Y. 2d 371, 456 N.Y.S.

2d 711 (N.Y. 1982). Copies of these cases

are attached hereto. In each of these cases,

the subject noise ordinance was at least as

specific as the Virginia Beach noise

ordinance, and in some cases much more

specific, and yet in each instance, the

ordinance failed to pass muster and was

deemed to violate constitutional rights.

9. This court has been the site of

a great deal of prior litigation involving the

Virginia Beach noise ordinance. The subject

dispute involves music emanating from a

restaurant located at 1801 Atlantic Avenue.

Notably, the restaurant is on the ground

floor of a hotel, and the owners/operators of

The Peppermint have had no citizen or

hotel complaints concerning the music

volume at the restaurant. Nevertheless, the

police continue to allege violations and

threaten arrest.

10. In 2003, other individuals associated

with the predecessor restaurant at this

same location mounted a challenged to the

subject ordinance in Feenev. et. al. v. City

of Virginia Beach, CHO3-3636. ‘The case

proceeded before the Honorable Frederick

B. Lowe on the initial question of whether

the ordinance is facially defective. Judge

Lowe found that it was not, but left for

future determination the issue of whether 1t

was being applied __ selectively and

Hoda

unconstitutionally. However, before any

further determinations could be made, the

case was non-suited because the City and

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage

Control effectively drove the restaurant out

of business. However, less than one month

after Judge Lowe entered an order in

John Leonard Lewis, CRO3-2866-00, CRO?

2996-00 CRO3-2996-01; CRO3-4413-00 and

CRO3-4751 (5 charges/incidents

consolidated for trial). The case involved

music volume at a restaurant located

diagonally across the street from where The

Peppermint is now, and it was tried on July

15, 2004. All of the charges against the

defendant were dismissed on a motion to

strike. A copy of the transcript is attached

hereto as Exhibit “A”, and the testimony of

the police officers in that case demonstrate

the problems in the ordinance and the way

in which it is enforced

Ll On October 14, 2004, the

Honorable Stephen C. Mahan presided over

Commonwealth v. Joshua Erik Price, CRO4

3117. A copy of the transcript is attached

hereto as Exhibit “B”. In this case involving

music volume at another oceanfront area

restaurant, the prosecution was. utterly

unable to articulate any type of objective

standard or test. Judge Mahan dismissed

the charge on a motion to strike

12 On January 19. 2006 the

Oba

Honorable Patricia L. West presided over

Commonwealth v. Anthony Smith, CRO5.

4748. A copy of the transcript is attached

hereto as Exhibit “C” In this case involving

music at an establishment in the 2100 block

of Atlantic Avenue, the prosecution was

unable to present any evidence that

articulated a clear standard or which would

otherwise provide for “clear notice” to the

public. Judge West received briefs on the

constitutional issues, but, ultimately,

declined to reach the constitutional

questions and simply dismissed the charge

on the basis of insufficient evidence.

13. On September 12. 2005,

Andrew C. Edwards, an owner of Chicho’s

(a restaurant located at 2112 Atlantic

Avenue) went before the General District

Court for an alleged noise ordinance,

violation in case GCO5-13176. Like the

others, this case involved music volume.

The charging officer failed to show up for

court and the case was dismissed. A copy of

the disposition is attached hereto as Exhibit

“—_.

14. These case transcripts and

dispositions highlight the problem that

confronts citizens in general, and operators

of oceanfront area restaurants in particular.

The police are habitually and repeatedly

bringing charges that cannot be proved in

court. This is being done at great expense,

both financial and emotional, to the

b/a

defendants, and in a manner which wastes

judicial resources

L5. For years the City has known

that its ordinance is defective, and yet it

has made no changes. By contrast, other

localities have enacted ordinances which

use decibel levels. The ability to measure

sound levels has been in existence for

decades yet Virginia's largest city refuses to

enact a modern, measurable ordinance.

However, back in 1995, the City of Virginia

Beach reached a “Noise ’_ Restrictions

Agreement” with the operator of the

Virginia Beach Amphitheater A copy of

that agreement, which includes decibel

levels, is attached hereto as Exhibit “I”

This demonstrates that the City knows how

to measure sound

16. Despite knowing how § to

measure sound and create an ordinance

with objective standards, and despite losing

case after case in the courtroom where the

City has attempted to _ enforce its

standardless ordinance over a_ period

spanning years, the City has steadfastly

and stubbornly refused to enact any

changes. Evidently, if there is to be any

meaningful change, it is going to have to

start with a ruling from this court

Ef, Plaintiffs are sustaining

ongoing, irreparable harm, and_ their

constitutional rights are being violated

68a

Accordingly, declaratory and _ injunctive

relief is required to remedy the situation.

WHEREFORE, for the foregoing

reasons, your plaintiffs, Bradley S. Tanner,

Eric Alexander Williams and BAE

Ventures, Inc., t/a The Peppermint Beach

Club, respectfully request that’ this

Honorable Court declare that Virginia

Beach Ordinance §23-47 is violative of the

Virginia Constitution, both facially and as

applied, and is’ therefore void and

unenforceable. Moreover, plaintiffs request

that this Court enjoin the City of Virginia

Beach, temporarily and permanently, from

enforcing its noise ordinance (§23-47), and

plaintiffs request such other and further

rehef as deemed appropriate under the

circumstances, including, but not hmited to,

an award of attorneys’ fees and costs.

BRADLEY 8S. TANNER

ERIC ALEXANDER WILLIAMS and

BAE VENTURES, INC. t/a

THE PEPPERMINT BEACH CLUB

3y /s/

Kevin E. Martingayle, of counsel

/s/ _— ; —

Bradley S. ‘l'anner

/s/

Eric Alexander Williams

BAE Ventures, Inc. t/a

69a

The Peppermint Beach Club

By /s/

It’s duly authorized agent

STATE OF VIRGINIA,

CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH,

Subscribed and sworn to before me

this 22nd day of June, 2007, by Bradley S.

Tanner, Eric Alexander Wilhams and

Bradley S. Tanner, duly authorized agent

for BAE Ventures, Inc., t/a The Peppermint

Beach Club.

/s/

Notary Public

My commission expires: 9-30-09

Kevin E. Martingayle, Esquire

STALLINGS & BISCHOFF, P.C.

2101 Parks Avenue, Suite 801

Post Office Box 1687

Virginia Beach, VA 23451

(757) 422-4700 (telephonc)

(757) 428-6982 (facsimile)

OFFICIAL SEAL

NANCY F. WHITFIELD

NOTARY PUBLIC

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Comm. Expires: September 30, 2009

70a

[UNDATED]

Sec. 23-47. Loud, disturbing and unnecessary

noise.

(a)

It shall be unlawful for any person to create,

or allow to be created any unreasonably loud,

disturbing and unnecessary noise in the city

or any noise of such character, intensity and

duration as to be detrimental to the life or

health of persons of reasonable sensitivity or

to disturb or annoy the quiet, comfort or

repose of reasonable persons. The following

acts, among others, are declared to be loud,

disturbing and unnecessary noise in violation

of this section, but such enumeration shall not

be deemed to be exclusive:

(1) The playing of any television set, radio,

tape player, phonograph or any musical

instrument in such a manner or with

such volume as to annoy or disturb the

quiet, comfort or repose of reasonable

persons.

(2) The keeping of any animal which, by

causing frequent or long-continued

noise, shall disturb the quiet, comfort or

repose of the neighborhood to such an

extent as to constitute a nuisance.*

*Cross references: Barking dogs, § 5-10.

(3) The creation of an excessive noise on

any street adjacent to any school, institution

Tla

of learning or court, while the same is in

session, or adjacent to any building used as a

place of public worship, while being so used or

adjacent to any hospital, which unreasonably

interferes with the workings of such school,

institution or court or the services being

conducted in such place of public worship or

which disturbs or unduly annoys patients in

such hospital.

(4) The shouting or crying of peddlers,

hawkers and vendors which disturbs the

peach and quiet of the neighborhood.

(5) The use of any drum, loudspeaker or

other instrument or device for the purpose of

attracting attention, by creation of noise, to

any performance, show or sale or display of

merchandise.

(b) Any person who violates the provisions of this

section shall be guilty of a class 4 misdemeanor.

(Code 1965, § 23-32; Ord. No. 1326, 9-13-82; Ord No.

1563, 10-28-85; Ord. No. 1827, 2-6-89)

Cross references: Muffling devices for

motor boats, § 6-109; noise created by persons

aboard boat or other water craft, § 6-110; use of bells

by street vendors to attract customers, § 13-54;

reduction of noise from vehicle load, § 21-211;

unreasonable noise from operation of motorcycles, §

21-444; unnecessary noise by commercial solicitors, §

26-17; portions of streets as quiet zones, § 33-17.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.