Opposition Brief — Hofmeister v. Cincinnati Insurance Insurance Co Co. (No. 09-179)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i ‘Supreme Court uz

aU | SEP 11 2009

No. Q9- | 79 OFFICE OF THI CLERk

Jn The

Supreme Court of the United States

GEORGE HOFMEISTER, er ux

> ’

Re SDOTLCE

On a fition for Writ oO} Certiorari to the

sm J “

Court of Appeals of Kentucky

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JOHN T. BALLANTINE RONALD L. GREEN

STOLL KEENON Counsel of Record

OGDEN PLLC BOEFHL STOPHER &

Suite 2000 GRAVES LLP

500 WeEsT JEFFERSON STREBT 444 WesT SECOND STREE'

LOUISVILLE, KY 40202-2274 LEXINGTON, KY 40507

(502) 333-6000 (859) 252-6721

MICHAEL D. Risiey Attorneys for Respondent

STITES & HARBISON PLLC

400 West Market STREE1

SUITE 1800

LOUISVILLE, KY 10202 3352

(502) 587-3400

September 11, 2009

Becker Gallagher + Cincinnau, OH - Washington, D-C + 800 890 S00!

]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION AND FAILURE TO PRESERVE

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE 14

ARGUMENT

I. THE OPINION OF THE COUR!T Ok

APPEALS DOES NOT IMPLICATE IN ANY

WAY THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED

STATES o0)

Il THE REGULATION OF THE PRACTICE OF

LAW IS NOT WITHIN THE POWERS

DELEGATED BY ‘THE STATES TO THE

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT 24

CONCLUSION 26

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Motion to Strike Portions of the

Court’s Opinion with Request for En Banc

Hearing and Motion for Intermediate Relief,

Pursuant to CR 76.33, to Immediately Strike

Those Portions of the Opinion, dated September

29, 2008 . . lb

Appendix B: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Order Denying Motion for Recusal of

Panel and Assignment to New Panel; Denying

Motion for En Bane Hearing; and Granting

Motion for immediate Relhef by Modifying

Opinion Rendered September 26, 2008, dated

October 3, 2008 llb

Appendix C: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Opinion Reversing Appeal No. 2004

CA-002296-MR and Dismissing as Moot Appeal

No. 2004-CA-002362-MR, dated October 17,

ZU008 a oo ao... .eD

Appendix D: Supreme Court of Kentucky,

Motion for Discretionary Review, dated

November 6, Quam eee ees ese... 93b

Appendix EF: Supreme Court of Kentucky, Order

Denying Discretionary Review, dated May 13,

2009 .....0e ee a a mor. &i3b

Appendix F: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Brief for Appellant/Cross-Appellee,

dated September 6, 2005 ........ A 8 le

Appendix G: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Combined Response Brief and

Cross-Appeal for Appellees/Cross-Appellants

George Hofmeister and Kay Hofmeister, dated

January 18, 2006 136b

Appendix H: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Combined Reply and Response Bnet

on Behalf of the Appellant, Cincinnati Insurance

Company, dated March 14, 2006 LOob

Appendix |: Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals, Reply of Appellees/Cross-Appellants,

George Hofmeister and Kay Hofmeister,

Combined Reply and Response Brief of

Appellant/Cross-Appellee, dated March 23

2OO6 L7Ob

Appendix J: Commonwealth of Kentucky Scott

Circuit Court, Hearing Transcript, dated

October 14, 2002 174b

Appendix K: Letter to Daniel E. Murner from J

Dale Golden |Defendant’s Exhibit 6], dated

June 22, 2000 206b

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Adams v. Robertson,

520 U.S. 88.117S. Ct. 1028 (1997) 5.4 33

Cape rton v. A.T. Massev Coal Co

556 U.S. __, 129 S. Ct. 2252 (2009) 23. 34

Cardinale v. Louisiana,

394 U.S. 437. 89 S. Ct. 1161 (1969) 3

In re Murchison,

349 U.S. 133, (5 S. Ut. 623 (199090) 23

Manchester Ins ra, Indem Os j { 7} mnd\

31 S.W.2d 193 (Ky 1976) 6

Tacon v. Arizona

110 U.S. 3851. 93 S. Ct. 998 (1973) ~~ 3

Withrow v. Larkin,

121 U.S. 35,95 S. Ct. 1456 (1975) . 22,24

Y: SL. Escondido.

503 U.S. 519. 1112S. Ct. 1522, 118 L.. Ed. 2d 153

(1992) er oe Se Aeon, AEE Risa" KS

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. §$ 1257 i ; sae 3

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 304.12-230 atte la

RULES

OTHER AUTHORITIES

>

Re

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Respondent, Cincinnati Insurance Company,

respectfully submits this Response in opposition to

Petitioners’ Petition for a Writ of Certiorar! to review

the judgment of the Commonwealth of Kentucky Court

of Appeals.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals reversed the judgment of the

Trial Court by an Opinion rendered on September 26,

2008 Pet. App. A. On September 30, 2008,

Petitioners filed Motions to Strike Portions of the

Opinion, for Intermediate Relief, and for an En Banc

hearing. App. A. The Court granted the Motion to

Strike and for Intermediate Relief, but demied the

request for a hearing by a different pane! or en banc.

App. B. On October 17, 2008, the Court of Appeals

rendered a revised Opinion, again reversing the

judgment of the Trial Court. App. C. No Petition for

Rehearing was ever filed. On November 6, 2008,

Petitioners filed a Motion for Discretionary Review

with the Kentucky Supreme Court. App. D. That

Motion was denied on May 13, 2009, and the order

denyirg the motion further ordered that the Court of

Appea.s’ Opinion was not to be published. App. E. No

reason was given for the order de-publishing the

Opinion, but since the “offending” portions had been

struck, the reason could not have been a concern about

Petitioners’ attorney’s allegedly injured feelings.

7)

JURISDICTION AND FATLURE

TO PRESERVE

The Petition lists four questions presented, but as

the Argument reveals, the first and second Questions

are in fact the same, while the third and fourth

Questions also combine to be one. The Petition does

not anywhere attempt to address the requirement

(whether jurisdictional or premised on comity) that the

alleged federal question being presented be preserved

for review in the state Court as required by Sup. Ct.

Rule 14(1)g)0) which provides as follows:

If review of a state-court judgment is sov zht,

specification of the stage in the proceedings,

both in the court of first instance and in the

appellate courts, when the federal questions

sought to be reviewed were raised; the method

or manner of raising them and the way in which

they were passed on by those courts; and

pertinent quotations of specific portions of the

record or summary thereof, with specific

reference to the places in the record where the

matter appears (e.g., court opinion, ruling on

exception, portion of court’s charge and

exception thereto, assignment of error), so as to

show that the federal question was timely and

properly raised and that this Court has

jurisdiction to review the judgment on a writ of

certiorari. When the portions of the record

relied on under this subparagraph are

voluminous, they shall be included in the

appendix referred to in subparagraph 1(i).

The Petition contains no such statement, and in fact

the Petition is the first mention ofany federal question

germane to the Petition

This Court on many occasions has stated that “|wle

cannot decide issues raised for the first time here.”

Tacon v. Arizona, 410 U.S. 351, 352, 93S. Ct. 998, 998

(1973) (citing Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 89

S. Ct. 1161 (1969)). The petitioner in that case did not

raise the questions below and the Arizona Supreme

Court had therefore been unable to pass upon those

issues. Jd. Petitioners here carry the burden of

showing that they properly presented the claims they

raise here before both the Kentucky Court of Appeals

and the Supreme Court of Kentucky. Most recently,

this Court examined this fundamental principle in

Adams v. Robertson, 520 U.S. 838, 117 S. Ct. 1028

(1997). Unable to improve on the Court's description

of the basic principles, Respondent incorporates thi:

Court’s assessment as follow:

With “very rare exceptions,’ Yee v. Escondido,

503 U.S. 619, 633, 112 S.Ct. 15Z2Z, 1531, 118

L.Ed.2d 153 (1992), we have adhered to the rule

in reviewing state court judgments under 28

U.S.C. § 1257 that we will not consider a

petitioner’s federal claim unless it was either

addressed by, or properly presented to, the state

court that rendered the decision we have been

asked to review. As petitioners concede here

the Alabama Supreme Court did not expressly

address the question on which we granted

certiorari.

Nor have petitioners met their burden of

showing that the issue was properly presented

to that court. When the highest state court is

silent on a federal question before us, we

assume that the issue was not properly

presented, and the aggrieved party bears the

burden of defeating this assumption, by

demonstrating that the state court had “a fair

opportunity to address the federal question that

is sought to be presented here. We have

described in different ways how a petitioner

may satisfy this requirement. In some cases, we

have focused on the need for petitioners cither

to establish that the claim was raised “at the

time and in the manner required by the state

law,”, or to persuade us that the = state

procedural requirements could not serve as an

independent and adequate state-law ground for

the state court’s judgment. In other cases, we

have described a_ petitioners burden as

involving the need to demonstrate that it

presented the particular claim at issue here

with “fair precision and in due time’

Id. at 86-87, 1175S. Ct. at 1029-30 (citations omitted).

The Petitioners have utterly and totally failed to even

address this requirement, and had they addressed it,

the Petition would make clear that the requested writ

cannot and should not be issued

In the original state court appeal, the Respondent

was the Appellant, but the Petitioners filed a cross

appeal. While the first two questions presented could

not be raised until after the first opinion was issued, it

is Clear from the Kentucky Court of Appeals opinion

that no federal question was presented as to the

attorney-chent relationship in Kentucky. Four briefs

were filed by the parties in the Kentucky Court of

—~

Appeals, and in none did any party suggest that the

practice of law was a federal issue.’

The Petitioner did not file a Petition for Rehearing

with the Kentucky Court of Appeals asserting tha® its

Opinions raised a question under the United States

Constitution as would have been appropriate under

the Kentucky Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 76.32

Instead, Petitioners filed a Motion to Strike which was

treated as three separate motions by the Kentucky

Court of Appeals. App. A. The first and primary

request was to strike two passages from the Kentucky

Court of Appeals opinion which allegedly offended

Petitioner’s counsel. The two passages are set forth in

the Petition at page sixteen.

The first passage simply noted that, in attempting

to fabricate a bad faith claim, Petitioners’ attorney

may be the type of attorney the Kentucky Supreme

Court had referred to in a prior case when cautioning

about the improper use of “bad faith” actions to simply

extort a larger settlement. At the outset, it should be

noted that this is an accurate assessment of the

misconduct by counsel in the handling of this case at

trial as demonstrated by the record and the Kentucky

‘To demonstrate this fact the most efficiently, the Respondent has

attached partial briefs hereto. Each partial brief contains the

Table of Points and Authorities (if applicable) and the portion of

the brief addressing the issue. The Trial Court had ruled and

instructed the jury that defense counsel was the agent of the

insurer. Appellant Brief, App. F, Combined Brief from

Appellees/Cross-Appellants, App. G; Combined Brief from

Appellants in Reply and Cross Appellees, App. H; and Cross

Appellant Reply Brief, App. |

6

Court of Appeal’s opinion.* Petitioners’ complaint

about this passage had nothing to do with due process,

but instead was that “this portion of the opinion is

nothing more than a personal attack against attorney

Golden, and could be seen as evidence of bias or

personal animosity on behalf of the involved judges.”

App. A at 5b. Further, in terms that fully disclose the

lack of respect for the judicial process that runs

rampant through the facts of this case, counsel wrote

Judge Acree described the factual basis, at least in part as

follows

On February 9, 2001, Golden wrote a peculiar letter’™™’

to Murner ostensibly attempting to settle one portion only

of his chents’ claims. The letter did not present any offer

to settle. On the contrary, Golden was attempting to

resurrect and accept one portion of Dasher’s June 22,

2000, offer that Hofmeister rejected in toto cight months

earlier. With still no proof of future medical expenses,

Golden, on behalf of the Hofmeisters, wanted now to

accept that portion of Dasher’s previous offer. He wanted

Murner to explain the “decision to withdraw the offer of

settlement of $25,000[.1” He also wanted to know why

Hosmeister could not accept one portion of the offer

without accepting the other portions. In Golden’s opinion,

this violated Kentucky’s UCSPA. Using the same wording

as KRS 304.12-230(13), Golden claimed this amounted to

“failing to promptly settle a claim where liability has

become reasonably clear under one portion of the

insurance policy coverage in order to influence settlement

under another portion of the coverage afforded by [CIC}.”

Pet.App.A at 19-20.

“The oddity of Golden's letter surpasses the “curious

letter” described in Manchester Ins. & Indem. Co. v

Grundy, 531 S W.2d 498, 495 (Ky. 1976), which is similar

to some of Golden's other correspondence

Unfortunately, as this Court is surely aware,

there is a class of jurists who exhibit a personal

bias against attorneys who zealously advocate

for their clients, be it Plaintiffs or Defendants.

‘his Opinion, penned by Judge Acree and joined

by Special Judge Knopf, left unchanged, would

not exclude Judge Acree or Special Judge Knopf

from this class of jurists.

App. A at 6b (footnote omitted). There was no mention

of any federal issue.

‘he second passage was simply a factual statement

concerning the fact that attorney Golden also

represented the Respondent’s insured’s employee even

though he had just sued him in the underlying action

in this case, and that they had also filed a “bad faith”

action against the Respondent. While it was claimed

that this unusual and likely unethical conduct was not

vermane to the issues on appeal, this was simply

untrue. Even more importantly, the Petitioners,

through attorney Golden, suggested that removal of

these two passages would satisfy them. In their

motion they said:

For these reasons, so as to make clear that the

panel had no intention of besmirching either the

character of attorney Golden as a zealous

advocate for his clients, or the character of

Judve Acree and Senior Judge Knopf as fair and

impartial jurists, and to leave no doubt as to the

Court’s pronouncements on matters not

properly before the Court, the above-referenced

sections of the Opinion should be_ stricken

immediately.

8

App. A at 7b. There was no mention of any federal

issue. The other requests made in the motion were

procedural and offered the Court no additional legal

issues to consider. Contrary to the assertion in the

Petition, the decision to strike those two passages was

made by the same panel which rendered the original

Opinion, most likely based on the representation that

such action would satisfy attorney Golden’s concerns.

Based on Petitioners’ subsequent actions, the above

statement in the Motion to Strike was simply one more

instance of a misrepresentation tothe Kentucky Court.

In Kentucky, the actions of the court of general

jurisdiction, the Circuit Court, are reviewable as a

matter of right by the Kentucky Court of Appeals.

Access to the Kentucky Supreme Court depends on the

discretion of that Court, which is triggered by filing a

Motion for Discretionary Review. On November 6,

2008, Petitioners filed a Motion for Discretionary

Review with the Kentucky Supreme Court. App. D.

The filing of such a motion is governed by Kentucky

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 76.20. That Rule

provides in pertinent part as follows:

(3) The Motion.

The motion shall designate the parties as

Movant(s) and Respondent(s), shall not exceed

fifteen (15) pages in length, unless otherwise

authorized by the Court, and shall contain the

tollowing:

(d) A clear and concise statement of G1) the

material facts, {i1) the questions of law involved,

9

and (111) the specific reason or reasons why the

judgment should be reviewed .. . .

in this case, the Petitioners did in fact list the legal

issues as to which they sought review, which were as

follows:

1. Asset forth in the Court of Appeals Opinion,

“Iwjhat legal relationship exists between an

insurer and legal counsel hired to defend its

insured? Surprisingly, Kentucky has never

addressed this question squarely, but the

answer is crucial to resolution of this case.”

2. Is the relationship of an insurance company

with its defense counsel hired to defend its

insured, that of an independent contractor,

agent or otherwise, and what is_ that

relationship when the attorney conducts the

settlement negotiations on behalf of the

insurance company?

3. Can a party preserve all objections by a

general reference to motions for summary

judgment, motions for directed verdict and post-

trial motions; or must a party comply with KRE

103 and make an objection or preserve the error

by a motion in dimine, and cite the record to the

place where the errer was preserved?

4. Did CIC “open the door” to litigation conduct

by naming all four of the attorneys to the

underlying tort claim on its Witness List and

allowing Murner to testify without objection?

Also, can CIC delegate its non-delegable duties

under the UCSPA”?

10

5. Are opjections to jury instructions preserved

pursuant to CR 51(3) when the first objection to

the jury instructions on the record appears

immediately after the trial transcript indicates

that the jury had already left for deliberations?

6. Was Murner CIC’s agent for settlement

purposes?

7. Did the Court of Appeals err in finding that

the trial court should have entered a directed

verdict in favor of CIC on the claim of violations

of the UCSPA and the issue of fraudulent

misrepresentation?

8. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in its

ruling that the jury’s verdict was affected by the

cumulative effect of Plaintiffs’ counsel’s

behavior.

9. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in its

ruling that the Hofmeisters failed to prove

economic loss caused by CIC?

10. If an insurance company increases its

reserve to $1 million on June 9, 2000 because it

finds that an employee was acting within the

scope of his employment with the insured

employer, and waits almost 2-1/2 years to offer

the $1 million limits, is the trial court’s decision

to uphold the bad faith verdict on motion for

directed verdict clearly erroneous or palpably or

flagrantly against the evidence?

11. Isit appropriate for the Court of Appeals

to resurrect, analyze, argue, and use issues that

11

were decided by the trial court in its September

13, 2002 summary judgment order, an order

that was never appealed, to create a reasonable

basis for the delay in CIC’s payment of its limits

to Hofmeister?

52. Isa 1.8 ratio of compensatory to punitive

damages sufficiently high to warrant a

reduction in punitive damages?

13. In the Hofmeisters’ claim, was it

appropriate for the trial judge to disallow any

jury instructions fuer future economic harm?

14. Isit still the law in Kentucky that when

a fraud has been perpetrated to induce a party

to enter into a contract, that the injured party

may elect to affirm the contract and recover

damages in tort, or disaffirm the contract and

recover the consideration with which he has

parted?

15. Are Kentucky citizens, such as George

Hofmeister, injured in a motor vehicle collision,

third-party beneficiaries to the insurance

contract between the tortfeasor and_ its

insurance company, thereby creating rights by

operation of law pursuant to Central Mut. Ins.

Co. v. Pippen?

16. Can an attorney step outside the bounds

of being an independent contractor for purposes

of establishing liability against an insurance

company and can an attorney opine that an

employee is acting witnin the scope of the

employee’s employment and then file a

12

crossclaim against that same employee with the

insurance company having full knowledge of the

conduct and the insurance company avoid

lability?

17. Can CIC successfully secret documents

exchanged between CIC and Murner_ by

claiming that those documents are subject to

the attorney-client privilege or is CIC now

judicially estopped from claiming that Murner

was not CIC’s attorney/agent?

18. Did Murner have implied, apparent or

ostensible authority in dealing with the

Hofmeisters to the extent that the Hofmeisters

would suffer a loss were CIC allowed to escape

from the consequences of a situation which it

caused or permitted?

19. Does CIC have independent non-

delegable duties under the UCSPA or, in the

alternative, is CIC responsible for Murner’s

settlement offers pursuant to Restatement

(Second) of Agency §§ 251(a) and 255?

20. Because it is undisputed that CIC’s

$500,000.00 offer went to $1 million within five

minutes, is the trial court’s decision to uphold

the bad faith verdict on motion for directed

verdict clearly erroneous or palpably” or

flagrantly against the evidence?

ok: Is a jury trial still available for claims

under the UCSPA?

13

App. D at 104b-109b. There is absolutely no mention

of either the Kentucky or United States Constitution,

nor is there any mention that Petitioners thought they

had been denied their appeal rights under the

Kentucky Constitution. While the Petitioners did ask

the Kentucky Supreme Court to adopt their view of the

attorney client relationship in the tripartite context,

they at no time suggested that a federal question was

presented. In short, there is no legal issue listed

which can fairly be said to be analogous to any

Question Fresented in the Petition. Accordingly, this

Court’s comments in Adams are equally apposite here,

to-wit:

Petitioners having thus failed to carry their

burden of showing that the claim they raise

here was properly presented to the Alabama

Supreme Court, we will not reach the question

presented. We need not decide in this case

whether our requirement that a federal claim be

addressed or properly presented in state court

is jurisdictional or prudential, because even

treating the rule as purely prudential, the

circumstances here justify no exception.

520 U.S. at 90, 1175S. Ct. at 1031 (citations omitted).

for this reason the Petition should be summarily

denied.

Additionally, it should be noted that as _ to

Questions three and four, no federal question is

alieged. While the questions both contain the word

“constitution” in one form or another, there is no

suggestion that the United States Constitution is

implicated. Even more important, in the argument

associated with these questions, there is no mention of

14

any constitution. Pet. at 24-34. Even if it is assumed

that Petitioners were intending reference to the United

States Constitution, the Petition does not identify any

particular constitutional right which is offended when

States make their own rules concerning the practice of

law. Accordingly, this portion of the Petition should be

dismissed for want of jurisdiction due to the absence of

a federal question.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petition sets forth facts which Petitioners

suggest demonstrate the “bad faith” on which their

claim is based. These facts are only germane to the

issues set forth in the Petition to the extent they bear

on the accuracy of the two passages in the first

Opinion to which attorney Golden objected. The

reality is that the “bad faith” case asserted by

Petitioners, like the business of Mr. Hofmeister, was a

house of cards destined for collapse independent of this

case. The briefs which Petitioners filed with the

Kentucky Court of Appeals were replete with

misrepresem ations and/or exaggerations of the record,

which substantially complicated the task undertaken

by the panel below. That behavior has continued to

manifest itself in Petitioners’ pleadings to the

Kentucky Supreme Court and this Court, as the

examples below will demonstrate.

1. On page 5 of their Petition, the Petitioners state

that “Carl Sumner could not explain CIC’s offers

in the underlying tort claim...” In the Kentucky

Courts below, the Petitioners claimed that Mr. Sumner

was their main witness. Mr. Sumner had been

identified by Respondent as a possible expert witness,

but was not called by Respondent at trial. Instead the

15

witness was called by the Petitioners. The Petitioners

then attempted to prove facts by suggesting that Mr.

Sumner was not aware of those facts. The Petitioners’

burden of production could not be met by simply

asserting that Mr. Sumner had no knowledge of some

fact. More important, however, is the fact that this

representation of the record is simply false, as Mr.

Sumner testified at some length that the rationale, as

expressed by the testimony concerning the various

offers, was reasonable.

2. On page 5 and 12, the Petitioners describe the

offers made by Dasher by reducing them by

$150,000.00 in an effort to make them look less

substantial than they were. In footnotes 12 and 19,

Petitioners do at least mention the alleged basis for

the reduction. However, there are no circumstances

under which a no-fault insurer or an underinsured

motorist insurer would be entitled to any portion of the

sums paid by another tortfeasor under Kentucky law.

This is a prime example of the tendency on the part of

the Petitioners to simply make things up and staté' ”

them as fact.

3. On pages 6 and 8, the Petition refers to a

Reserve Increase Memorandum. The Trial Court

excluded the proof concerning the setting of reserves,

and no appeal was taken by the Petitioners as to this

issue. That ruling is now the law of the case, and how

or why reserves were set at any particular time is not

material to any issue presented by the Petition.

Furthermore, at the time in question Respondent

knew that the claim involved a substantial economic

loss portion, and did not yet Know that tinis was just a

self-assessed bonus and that Petitioners would be able

to produce no documentation to support such a claim

16

4. At the top of page 7, the Petition asserts that

“Mr. Hofmeister’s W-2 earnings decreased by

approximately $5 million from 1998 to 1999.” This

statement is technically true (absent the assertion of

causation), but the Petition fails to mention that there

was a bonus Mr. Hofmeister paid himself in 1998, but

did not pay himself in 1999.

o. On page 8, the Petition asserts that “CIC never

brought a declaratory judgment action on the

scope of employment issue due to the fact it, as

well as Murner, had concluded that Clark was

acting within the scope of his employment.”

There is simply no factual basis for such a statement.

The Petition itself reflects the fact that scope and

course was disputed until the trial Court granted

summary judgment on September 13, 2002. Pet. at 12.

Likewise, had it been “concluded” that Clark was in

the scope of his employment, Clark’s personal carrier,

‘Travelers, wou!d not have been providing a defense, or

offering to pay its limits. This misrepresentation is

repeated at page 12, footnote 18.

6. At the bottom of page 8, the Petition asserts

that “Murner participated in resolving the

coverage issue.” As the Court of Appeals found at

page 46 of its Opinion, there is no basis for this

allegation. Murner’s role with respect to the issue was

limited to whether his client was vicariously liable for

the conduct of its employee. While the question of

whether Clark was an insured under the policy may

have turned on the same or similar facts, there is no

evidence that Murner was ever consulted about, or

gave advice with respect to, coverage.

17

7. On pages 8 and 9, the Petition states that the

filing of a cross-claim by Dasher “was designed to

raise questions in the mind of the Hofmeisters

and manufacture an ostensib]~ reasonable basis

for CIC to make low-ball offers”. There is no

evidence that attorney Murner ever discussed the

application of coverage to Clark with attorney Golden,

or that Golden ever made an inquiry. The Petitioners

had access to the same facts concerning scope of

employment as did attorney Murner or Respondent,

and were fully capable of drawing their own

conclusions. The Petitioners apparently felt that there

was some issue on the point in that they accepted

limits from Clark’s personal automobile insurer, which

would not have been payable if Clark was in the scope

and course of Dasher as alleged. If Petitioners’ counsel

interpreted the filing of a cross claim by Dasher

against Clark, where Clark was being separately

defended by his personal insurer, as a representation

concerning coverage, and there is no evidence that he

actually did, then this reflects on their counsel’s poor

judgment, not fraud on the part of attorney Murner.

8. The Petition further asserts on page 9 that the

omission of Fireman’s Fund (the excess carrier)

from the release tendered in June of 2000

supports the claim that attorney Murner

misrepresented the existence of the excess policy since

Fireman’s Fund was included in a release tendered in

2002. The uncontroverted proof is that attorney

Murner was not aware of an excess policy in June of

2000, but subsequently learned of it and then advised

the Petitioners’ counsel of said fact. Opinion at 55-56.

In fact, when the case did settle, the discussions were

on the record. The existence of the excess policy was

well known and Petitioners’ counsel showed no sign of

18

surprise and continued with the negotiations. Opinion

at 55-56; Tr. Oct. 14, 2002, App. J. Thus, the tendered

releases actually undermine the Petitioners’ key

claims rather than support them.

9. In the Petition at pages 10 and 11, the

Petitioners continue to insist that they did not

withdraw their $1 million demand. No matter

what any witness said or recalled at the time he was

asked, the demand was withdrawn in writing, which

writing was a trial exhibit. See App. K (June 22, 2000

letter from attorney Golden to attorney Murner). The

same day the initial offer was made, instead of making

any kind of counter proposal, attorney Golden wrote:

IT am in receipt of your June 22, 2000

correspondence regarding the above-referenced

matter. Please be advised that your proposed

settlement offer is rejected and that we hereby

withdraw our offer to settle this matter for the

policy limits of $1 million.

Quod erat demonstrandum., There is no evidence of

record as to when, if at all, the demand was

supposedly reinstated, but it is clear that it was the

Petitioners, not Respondent or attorney Murner, who

refused to negotiate. This was part and parcel of

attorney Golden’s attempt to create a “bad faith” claim

where none really existed.

10. On page 11, the Petition asserts that

“Hofmeisters’ financial outlook ... was so bright that

Mr. Hofmeister was negotiating for a $25 million

‘unsecured’ line of credit.” The letitioners fail to

advise this Court of the uncontroverted proof that the

loan was rejected for reasons unrelated to the accident

19

with Clark. How an unsuccessful negotiation for a

loan demonstrates a “bright financial outlook” remains

unanswered,

11. On page 12, Petitioners state that the summary

judgment in the underlying action which decided that

Clark was in the scope and course of his employment

was not contested, but this is only because Respondent

decided to settle that underlying case.

12. On page 15, the Petition suggests that one of

Mr. Hofmeister’s creditors, Allied Capital,

intervened at the request of Murner. As is

common in such cases, attorney Murner was aware of

some of the many creditors who were obtaining

judgments against Mr. Hofmeister, but there is no

evidence that attorney Murner directed or had any

other connection to any creditor and how they chose to

enforce their judgments. Furthermore, there is no

evidence that this information was shared with

Respondent.

The foregoing are simply the most flagrant

misrepresentations or misstatements found in the

Petition, and it should not be inferred that any

statement not listed here is therefore true and correct.

Remove the misrepresentations and misstatements

and the underlying action was a typical litigation

which changed over time and was ultimately settled.

The only “bad faith” was on the part of the Petitioners

in resisting discovery, refusing to substantiate their

claims, and playing games with settlement

discussions. Any judge would be justified in reaching

the conclusions reached by Judge Acree as set forth in

the two passages

20

ARGUMENT

.. THE OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

DOES NOT IMPLICATE IN ANY WAY THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES.

The two passages to which Petitioners point do not

show bias towards Petitioners’ counsel, and there is no

basis for suggesting that the Opinion of the Court of

Appeals was incorrectly decided, let alone in violation

of any provision of the United States Constitution.

Furthermore, the passages, to the extent they reflect

anything, relate to the conduct at issue in the case

under review. Perhaps, to some extent, any judge

develops bias in favor of one party or another in

forming his or her opinion in the case, but this is not

bias in the sense described by this Court in the context

of due process. ‘I'he cases describe an entirely different

type of bias, usually one that precedes the formation of

the opinion or based on facts unrelated to the case

under review.

The statement that attorney Golden may fall into

the class which the Kentucky Supreme Court had

identified as abusers of the “bad faith” cause of action,

in addition to being truce, reflects a rea! problem in

Kentucky. Kentucky is one of a handful of states

which has made the mistake of converting the Unfair

Claims Settlement Practices Act, Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann

§ 304.12-230, into a private cause of action which can

be brought by a person who has no rights under the

21

insurance policy.’ It has become frequent for some

attorneys to add a claim against the insurer without

any real basis for the sole purpose of trying to enhance

the value of the case." Occasionally, but not as

frequently, some attorneys will do what was done by

attorney Golden here; actually try to fabricate a “bad

faith” claim. This type of lawsuit has become a cancer

on the tort system, and the Kentucky Court is just

beginning to recognize that fact. Thus, the comment

by the Court of Appeals was germane to this case.

The significance of the second comment concerning

attorney Golden’s representation of the driver Clark is

more difficult to discern. The Court stated that it

seems strange that a person that attorney Golden sued

would retain him to bring a “bad faith” claim against

the same insurer. This is simply a true statement.

There must. be facts which are known only to attorney

Golden which make this suggestion more than it is.

Perhaps he knows that this relationship arose out of

improper conduct on his part, or perhaps he is just

hyper-sensitive. There is no objective reason that the

Kentucky Court even meant for it to reflect on

attorney Golden personally or professionally, but even

if it did it arises out of the facts of the case, not any

extrancous bias.

* The statute was intended to protect the consumer, but when

extended in this way it actually deprives the consumer of his or

her rights in favor of those held by a stranger to the contract

* Most often the actual “bad faith” claim ts never pursued, but

instead is used to seek discovery that the Plaintiff could not have

received from the Defendant/Insured, or, to increase the cost of

defense which thereby increases the nuisance value of an

otherwise dubious or exagyerated claim

22

It is abundantly clear that under Kentucky law the

comments do not reflect bias that would be considered

a denial of the constitutional right to an appeal in

Kentucky. This is buttressed by Kentucky’s rules

concerning bias. “Dislike ofa party or a party’s lawyer

does not, by itself, constitute a personal bias or

prejudice.” Ky. Sup. Ct. R. 4.300; Model Code of

Judicial Conduct Canon 3(E)(1)(a) (2004)

(Commentary). There is simply no authority for the

proposition that under Kentucky law Petitioners were

denied their right to appeal. Further, the Kentucky

Court of Appeals was not asked to consider the

question, nor did Petitioners bring this issue to the

attention of the Kentucky Supreme Court in their

Motion for Discretionary Review.

While it should be made clear that the Respondents

reject the idea that there was anything improper about

any aspect of the Kentucky Court of Appeals opinion,

it is equally clear that the complaints of the

Petitioners asserting bias fail to rise to the level that

would implicate due process, even if every assertion

and contention by attorney Golden were taken as true.

In Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35, 47, 95 S. Ct.

1456, 1464 (1975), this Court addressed actual bias

and described situations to be considered applicable as

“those in which the adjudicator has a pecuniary

interest in the outcome and in which he has been the

target of personal abuse or criticism from the party

before him.” /d. In the case at hand there are no

allegations of any pecuniary interest in the outcome or

that the Kentucky Court of Appeals judge had been the

target of personal abuse or criticism by either the

Petitioners or their counsel prior to the issuance of the

initial Opinion.

23

A fair trial in a fair tribunal is a_ basic

requirement of due process. Fairness of course

requires an absence of actual] bias in the trial of

cases. But our system of law has always

endeavored to prevent even the probability of

unfairness. To this end no man can be a judge

in his own case and no man is permitted to try

cases where he has an interest in the outcome.

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136, 75 S. Ct. 623, 625

(1955). Petitioners were granted a fair appeai in a fair

tribunal, and in fact this Petition does not even

attempt to advance the interests of the Petitioners, but

reflects instead the private interests of counse!.

Petitioners have pointed to no evidence of actual bias

or any interest in the outcome on the part of any judge

who participated in the appeal.

Recently, this Court found that proof of actual bias

is not always required to justify recusal. Caperton v.

AT. Massey Coal Co., 556 U.S. __, 129 S. Ct. 2252

(2009). In that case, a West Virginia Supreme Court

of Appeals judge had received substantial campaign

contributions from the Chief Executive Officer of a

party, Massey Coal Co. Jd. at 2257. This Court found

that “[t}he facts now before us are extreme by any

measure. The parties point to no other instance

involving judicial campaign contributions’ that

presents a potential for bias comparable to the

circumstances in this case.” Id. at 2265. Again, the

bias was related to conduct outside the facts that were

presented on appeal. In discussing the circumstances

under which recusal would be required, this Court

stated that “|u]nder our precedents there are objective

standards that require recusal when ‘the probability of

actual bias on the part of the judge or decisionmaker

24

is too high to be constitutionally tolerable.” Jd. at 2257

(citing Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35, 47 (1975)). In

its opinion in Caperton, this Court makes several

references to the extraordinary situation or extreme

facts that have led the West Virginia Court to order

recusal. The Court stated that “[t}his Court’s recusal

cases are illustrative. In each case the Court dealt

with extreme facts that created an unconstitutional

probability of bias that ‘cannot be defined with

precision.” /d. at 2265 (internal citations omitted).

This is not the case with the Petitioners. There are no

such extreme or extraordinary circumstances that

would require the Kentucky Court to order recusal

because there is no evidence of any actual bias or

partiality. Courts are often called upon to assess

alleged misconduct by a party and/or counsel. Such

was the case herein. If it were an indication of bias to

describe attorney misconduct in factually accurate

terms, attorney misconduct could never be passed

upon by a judge. There is no federal question raised by

this Petition concerning the Petitioner’s right to appeal

under the Kentucky Constitution and therefore the

Petition should be denied.

Il. THE REGULATION OF THE PRACTICE OF

LAW IS NOT WITHIN THE POWERS

DELEGATED BY THE STATES TO THE

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.

It is very difficult to formulate a response to this

aspect of the Petition because the Petition simply

asserted that there are two ways to view the triparte

relationship and that Petitioners think one is better

than the other. In other words, the entire country

should abandon federalism so attorney Golden can win

his case. Even this concept is fallacious since there ts

20

no reason to believe that, were Kentucky forced to

adopt what Petitioners refer to as the “Dual Client

Model,” the result in this case would change. The lack

of vicarious liability as set forth in the jury

instructions was just one of many grounds for reversal.

There is nothing in the Opinion to suggest that the

result would have been different had Respondent. been

held responsible for every strategic and/or litigation

decision made by attorney Murner in his defense of the

insured, or that attorney Murner engaged in any

inappropriate conduct, so this entire issue is a red

herring.

Furthermore, the Petition offers no suggestion as to

what provision of the United States Constitution

Petitioners feel is offended by State laws governing the

relationship between client and counsel, inside or

outside the insurance’ context. Accordingly,

Respondents cannot even ascertain what portions of

the Constitution should be discussed. This is just as

well since the Petition does not suggest how this area

of law could ever become a federal question. All that

is said is that Petitioners think it would be better if

the attorney were the client of both the insurer and

insured. It is doubtful that attorney Golden’s

insurance “clients” would agree, and it 1s not clear how

he has reconciled his taking of this position which is

clearly adverse to their interests.” In any event, there

are substantial public policy reasons supporting the

Kentucky rule, not the least of which is that one

lawyer cannot serve two masters. In Kentucky, as

° In his Motion to Strike attorney Golden advised the Court of

Appeals that nearly 100% of his firm’s work is for insurance

defense clients. App. A at 8b.

2.6

with many other states, the “One Client” approach

promotes the interests of the person who is being

represented over the person who has agreed to pay for

the defense. While other States are free to regulate

the practice of law as they see fit (within the

limitation., on state power as set forth in the Bill of

Rights), sois Kentucky. There is no federal interest in

uniformity, and in fact the idea of multiple

laboratories for the incubation of ideas and options is

a basic strength of this country and endorsed by the

Constitution itself. It is respectfully submitted that

the Petition provides no basis for review by this Court,

and the Petition should be dismissed.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth hereinabove it Is

respectfully submitted that the Petition for Writ of

Certiori should be denied.

27

Respectfully submitted,

Ronald L. Green

Counsel of Record

BGEHL STOPHER & GRAVES LLP

444 West Secerid Street

Lexington, KY 40507

(859) 252-6721

John T. Ballantine

STOLL KEENON OGDEN PLLC

Suite 2000, 500 West Jefferson Street

Louisville, KY 40202-2874

(502) 333-6000

Michael D. Risley

STITES & HARBISON PLLC

400 West Market Street, Suite 1800

Louisville, KY 40202-3352

(502) 587-3400

ATTORNEYS FOR THE RESPONDENT,

CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY

APPENDIX

lb

APPENDIX A

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 2004-CA-002296-MR

AND

NO. 2004-CA-02362-MR

[Dated September 29, 2008]

CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY

APPELLANT/CROSS-APPELLEE

VS.

GEORGE HOFMEISTER and

KAY HOFMEISTER, His Wife

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

APPELLEES/CROSS-APPELLANTS )

}

MOTION TO STRIKE PORTIONS OF THE

COURT’S OPINION WITH REQUEST FOR EN

BANC HEARING AND MOTION FOR

INTERMEDIATE RELIEF, PURSUANT TO CR

76.33, TO IMMEDIATELY STRIKE THOSE

PORTIONS OF THE OPINION

cskoke chscisols sie

t

Come the Appellees/Cross-Appellants, George and

Kay Hofmeister, attorney J. Dale Golden and the firm

of Golden & Walters, PLLC, and hereby move the

Court for an Order striking portions of the Opinion

2b

rendered on September 26, 2008 in the above-styled

action, and for a hearing of the Motion en banc by the

entire Court of Appeals. In addition, the Movants move

this Court, pursuant to CR 76.33, to immediately

strike those portions of the Court’s Opinion. In support

of these Motions, the Appellees/Cross-Appellants

hereby state as follows:

I. MOTION TO STRIKE PORTIONS OF THE

COURT’S OPINION WITH REQUEST FOR EN

BANC HEARING

A. Factual/Procedural History

On November 3, 1998, Appellee/Cross Appellant

George Hofmeister was involved in a_ serious

automobile accident in Scott County, Kentucky. As a

result of this accident, Hofmeister sustained serious

bodily injuries that affected his activities of daily living

and his ability to manage his various business

interests. At the time of the accident, the tortfeasor,

Eugene Clark, was acting within the course and scope

of his employment with Dasher Express, Inc. On

behalf of George Hofmeister and Kay Hofmeister, his

wife, attorney Dale Golden and the firm of Golden &

Walters, PLLC initially filed suit against Eugene

Clark for automobile negligence and against his

employer, Dasher, for vicarious liability. The

Hofmeisters also filed suit against Kentucky Farm

Bureau Insurance, their insurance carrier, seeking

UIM benefits.

During the course of the litigation, certain events

unfolded that led the Hofmeisters to amend their

Initial Complaint to assert additional claims against

Dasher’s insurance carrier, Cincinnati Insurance

3b

Company (“CIC”), for, among other things, statutory

bad faith. Ina nutshell, the basis of these claims arises

from the fact that CIC concealed the existence of an

excess policy that would have provided additional

coverage to Dasher from the Hofmeisters, thereby

coercing a more favorable settlement from the

Hofmeisters.

Between November 3, 1998 and October 3, 2002,

CIC-made a single offer of settlement. That offer was

on June 22, 2000 in the amount of $109,275.00,

exclusive of liens. That offer excluded any amount for

the Hofmeisters’ economic damages, reserving that

issue for a jury determination. Then, in the eleven

days between October 3, 2002 and the date the trial of

the underlying matter was set to begin, October 14,

2002, CIC inexpheably decreased its offer to

$25,000.00 ($175,000.00 offer of judgment, less

$150,000.00 in Kentucky Farm Bureau liens for

advancement of UIM monies and PIP). This offer of

judgment was made ten days before trial. The offer

was then raised up to $350,000.00 on the morning of

trial, with the condition that it had to be accepted prior

to the Hofmeisters announcing ready for trial. Finally,

after the Hofmeisters had announced ready for trial,

the final $1,000,000 offer was made. This offer

ostensibly represented the limits of insurance proceeds

available to the Defendants (Clark and Dasher). The

fact that the offer of CIC was reduced to $25,000.00

and then raised to $1 million, exclusive of the

$150,000.00 in Kentucky Farm Bureau liens within 11

days carried no weight in the appellate court’s opinion,

but certainly caught the attention of the trial judge

and the jury.

4b

Much ink has been spilled over what transpired

thereafter. For the purpose of this Motion, however, it

suffices to say that the Hofmeisters proceeded with

their bad faith claims against CIC and were ultimately

awarded over $28,400,000 by a Scott. County jury. This

award was appealed by CIC in November 2004. An

Opinion was rendered in this case on September 26,

2008, eighteen months after oral argument was heard,

and nearly four and one half years after the jury

verdict in the Hofmeisters’ favor was rendered. This

Motion follows.

B. Certain portions of this Court’s Opinion

should be stricken because they are not

germane to the legal issues raised by the

parties and appear to be merely

defamatory in nature.’

There are two portions of the Court’s September 26

2008 Opinion that are not germane to the legal issues

raised by the parties, were not the basis of the Court’s

ultimate decision and could be construed = as

defamatory against attorney Golden and his firm,

Golden & Walters, PLLC. As such, it is respectfully

requested that these portions be stricken from the

Court’s Opinion immediately. Fach objectionable

portion is addressed specifically below:

’ This Motion should in no way be construed to indicate that the

Appellees/Cross-Appellants accept or endorse the portions of the

Court’s Opinion not addressed herein. This Motion is meant to

address only the particular portions of the Opinion addressed

herein and should not be construed to waive any other potential

arguments or recourse that the Appellees/Cross-Appellants may

have.

r

5b

i. Page 71, paragraph beginning, “Our

Supreme Court...”

On page 71 of the Opinion, the following excerpt

appears:

Our Supreme Court hos recognized that some

attorneys exhibit a ‘personal bias against

insurance companies in favor of using bad faith

and UCSPA allegations to extort payment of

underlying claims from insurers.’ ‘he manner

in which Mr. Golden zealously represented the

Hofmeisters would not exclude him from this

class of attorneys. (Internal citations omitted.)

Clearly, this language, which is found in the final

paragraph of the Court’s main opinion, has no bearing

on the legal arguments raised by the parties in this

Appeal and, therefore carries no legal weight.

Furthermore, this portion of the Opinion does not

provide any factual basis for the Court’s other legal

reasoning and does not logically flow from any of the

Court’s preceding or subsequent arguments. In short,

this portion of the opinion is nothing more than a

personal attack against attorney Golden, and ceuld be

seen as evidence of bias or personal animosity on

behalf of the involved judges.

Pursuant to SCR 4.300, which codifies the Canons

of Judicia) Conduct:

A judge shall perform judicial duties

without bias or prejudice. A judge shall

not, in the performance of judicial duties,

6b

by words of conduct manifest bias or

prejudice...’

In certain circles, the portions of the Opinion identified

above could be construed as an ad hominem attack

against attorney Golden and his insurance defense

firm. Unfortunately, as this Court is surely aware,

there is a class of jurists who exhibit a personal bias

against attorneys who zealously advocate for their

clients, be it Plaintiffs or Defendants. This Opinion,

penned by Judge Acree and joined by Special Judge

Knopf", left unchanged, would not exclude Judge Acree

or Special Judge Knopf from this class of jurists.

C. Footnote 12, Page 24, referencing Clark

v. Cincinnati Insurance Co, No, 2005-

CA-000356-MR

In this section of the Opinion, the Court addresses

the appeal of another matter that, though factually

related to the underlying claim here, has no legal

relevance whatsoever to these proceedings. Mr. Clark’s

subsequent representation by attorney Golden had no

legal bearing whatsoever on the issues raised by the

parties to this Appeal. This dictum could be

misconstrued to give the appearance that the Court

was pronouncing judgment on the propriety of

attorney Golden’s representation of Mr. Clark. This

issue never having come before the Court, it would be

improper for the Opinion to leave the Court’s thoughts

on this issue open to interpretation.

* SCR 4.30, Canon 3(B\5)

’ Judge Keller concurred in result only

7b

For these reasons, so as to make clear that the

panel had no intention of besmirching either the

character of attorney Golden as a zealous advocate for

his clients, or the character of Judge Acree and Senior

Judge Knopf as fair and impartial jurists, and to leave

no doubt as to the Court’s pronouncements on matters

not properly before the Court, the above-referenced

sections of the Opinion should be - stricken

immediately.

D. Due to the nature of the issues addressed

herein, it would be inappropriate for the

original panel to rule on this n. It is

requested, therefore, that this Motion be

referred to an en banc panel of the entire

Court of Ss, or, i e al ative, to

an alternate three-judge panel selected by

the Chief Judge.

Because of the nature of the relief sought in this

Motion, the Appellees/Cross-Appellants believe that it

would be inappropriate for this Motion to be ruled

upon by the original panel assigned to this Appeal.

Certainly, in the eighteen months since the oral

arguments, the judges on this panel have had ample

time to consider the issues raised here and have

undoubtedly formed strong opinions as to the

appropriateness of the objectionable’ language.

Therefore, it is requested that this Motion be

scheduled for an en banc review by the Court of

Appeals as a whole or, in the alternative, be referred

tu a separate three-judge panel chosen by the Chief

Judge.

Sb

Il. MOTION FOR INTERMEDIATE RELIFF,

PURSUANT TO CR 76.33, TO IMMEDIATELY

STRIKE PORTIONS OF THE OPINION.

Due to the danger that the Opinion, as originally

rendered, could be misconstrued in such a manner as

to cause immediate and irreparable harm to the

Appellees/Cross-Appellants and to the business

interests of attorney Golden and the Golden &

Walters, PLLC law firm, pursuant to CR 76.33,

intermediate relief is requested. Specifically, it is

requested that the objectionable portions of the

Opinion be immediately stricken and the Opinion not

be released for final publication until a hearing may be

had on this Motion. In support of this Motion, the

Appellees/Cross-Appellants hereby state as follows:

The language of the Court’s opinion could be

construed to besmirch the character of attorney Dale

Golden and, by association, George and Kay

Hofmeister and the Golden & Walters, PLLC law firm.

Release or publication of the potentially defamatory

portions of this opinion are likely, to cause immediate

and irreparable harm to attorney Golden, his current

clients, including George and Kay Hofmeister, and his

firm.

As this Court is well-aware, Golden & Walters,

PLLC is a fifteen-attorney firm that prides itself on the

zealous representation of each of its clients. Though

devoting almost one hundred percent of its work to

insurance defense clients, Golden & Walters, PLLC

beheves that each of its clents, be them the insureds

of insurance companies, the insurance companies

themselves, or injured Plaintiffs such as George and

Kay Hofmeister, deserve the best representation that

Ob

its individual attorneys can render. Any insinuation or

allusion to the fact that attorney Golden is somehow

biased against insurance companies is utterly without

support. To the extent that the Opinion, as it was

originally rendered, could be construed otherwise, it is

irreparably damaging to the reputation of attorney

Golden and to the future business relations of his firm.

The immediacy of the harm in this instance is

apparent. Though discretionary review will certainly

be sought, the publication of this Opinion in the

widely-read Kentucky Law Summary and online on

Lexis and Westlaw is imminent. To the extent that the

objectionable portions of the Opinion are improper,

only the immediate removal of the Opinion from public

consumption will protect the Appellees/Cross-

Appellants, attorney Golden and Golden & Walters,

PLLC from harm.

Furthermore, once wide-spread publication of this

unedited opinion is made, the harm against the

Appellees/Cross-Appellants and attorney Golden will

be irreparable. Once the potentielly defamatory

comments are widely-circulated, there will be no way

to cure the damage.

Similarly, considering the nature of the issue raised

in this Motion, the Appellees/Cross-Appellants

respectfully request that this request for intermediate

relief, pursuant to CR 76.33, be referred to a non-pane!

judge for review.

WHEREFORE, the Appellees/Cross-Appellants

respectfully request:

10b

1. That the above-referenced portions of the Court’s

Opinion be stricken;

2. That this Motion be referred for an en banc

hearing before the Court of Appeals as a whole, or, in

the alternative, to an alternate three-judge panel

selected by the Chief Judge; and

3. That this Motion, pursuant to CR 76.33, be

assigned to a non-panel judge for review of request for

intermediate relief.

Respectfully submitted,

GOLDEN & WALTERS, PLLC

/s/

J. Dale Goiden

771 Corporate Drive, Suite 905

Lexington, Kentucky 40503

Telephone: (859) 219-9090

Facsimile: (859) 219-9292

Counsel for Appellees /Cross-Appellants,

George and Kay Hofmeister

*K ck OF

[Certificate of Service omitted in

printing of this appendix]

lib

APPENDIX B

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 2004-CA-002296-MR

AND

NO. 2004-CA-02362-MR

[Dated October 3, 2008]

CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY

APPELLANT

a

)

)

)

)

GEORGE HOFMEISTER, ET AL )

APPELLEES )

)

APPEAL FROM SCOTT CIRCUIT COURT

ACTION NO. 00-CI-00030

ORDER

1. DENYING MOTION FOR RECUSAL OF PANEL

AND ASSIGNMENT TO NEW PANEL;

2. DENYING MOTION FOR EN BANC HEARING;

AND

3. GRANTING MOTION FOR IMMEDIATE

RELIEF BY MODIFYING OPINION

RENDERED SEPTEMBER 26, 2008

Kk ke ER RK KK

12b

BEFORE: ACREE AND KELLER, JUDGES; KNOPF,’

SENIOR JUDGE.

Appellees have filed a motion for immediate and

intermediate relief by which they seek 1) assignment

of their motion to a panel other than the panel which

rendered the opinion in these appeals on September

26, 2008, which the Court has treated as a motion for

recusal of the panel; 2) in the alternative, an en banc

hearing on their motion by the full Court; and 3) the

striking of certain language on page 71 of the opinion

and the striking of footnote 12 on page 24. Having now

considered that motion, the response of the appellant,

and being otherwise sufficiently advised, the Court

ORDERS that the portions of the motion which

request recusal of the panel and/or an en banc

consideration of their motion by the full Court be, and

they are hereby, DENIED.

The portion of the motion which’ requests

immediate and intermediate relief by striking certain

language on page 71 and footnote 12 on page 24 of the

opinion is hereby GRANTED. The opinion rendered in

these appeals on September 26, 2008, is ORDERED

WITHDRAWN. A new opinion reflecting solely this

modification SHALL BE REISSUED in the near

future. Time for filing a petition for rehearing and/or

a motion for discretionary review shall be calculated

from the date on which the modified opinion is

reissued.

' Senior Judge William L. Knopf sitting as Special Judge by

assignment of the Chief Justice pursuant to Section 110(5)(b) of

the Kentucky Constitution and KRS 21.580

L3b

KELLER, JUDGE, AND KNOPF, SENIOR JUDGE,

CONCUR.

ACREE, JUDGE, DISSENTS FROM THAT PORTION

OF THE ORDER WHICH GRANTS MODIFICATION

OF THE OPINION.

ENTERED: 10/3/08 — /s/ ae 7 Sane

JUDGE, COURT OF APPEALS

14b

APPENDIX C

RENDERED: OCTOBER 17, 2008; 10:00 A.M.

TO BE PUBLISHED

OPINION OF SEPTEMBER 26, 2008 WITHDRAWN

Commonwealth of Kentucky

Court of Appeals

NO. 2004-CA-002296-MR

AND

NO. 2004-CA-002362-MR

CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY

)

APPELLANT/CROSS-APPELLEE )

)

Vv. )

)

GEORGE HOFMEISTER AND )

KAY HOFMEISTER )

APPELLEES/CROSS-APPELLANTS | )

)

APPEAL AND CROSS-APPEAL FROM SCOTT

CIRCUIT COURT

HONORABLE PAUL F. ISAACS, JUDGE

ACTION NO. 00-CI-00030

OPINION

REVERSING APPEAL NO. 2004-CA-002296-MR

AND

15b

DISMISSING AS MOOT APPEAL NO.

2004-CA-002362-MR

BEFORE: ACREE AND KELLER, JUDGES; KNOPF,’

SEN!OR JUDGE.

ACREE, JUDGE: This is the appeal and cross-appeal

of a judgment entered in Scott Circuit Court after a

jury found Cincinnati Insurance Company (CIC) liable

to George and Kay Hofmeister for fraudulent

misrepresentation and for violation of the Kentucky

Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act (UCSPA),

Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) 304.12—230. CIC

appeals the trial court’s denial of its motions for

summary judgment, motions for directed verdict and

judgment notwithstanding the verdict, and entry of

judgment awarding the Hofmeisters $10,000,000 in

compensatory damages and $18,405,500 in punitive

damages following a jury verdict. Prior to appeal, the

trial court amended the judgment by reducing the

punitive damages award to $10,000,000. The

Hofmeisters filed a cross-appeal, challenging the

reduction of the punitive damages award. We reverse

the judgment and dismiss the Hofmeisters’

cross-appeal as moot.

This case requires examination of a myriad of

relationships and duties, some created by contract,

others by statute, and still others by common law. It

' Senioi Judge William L. Knopf sitting as Special Judge by

assignment of the Chief Justice pursuant to Section 11005)(b) of

the Kentucky Constitution and Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS)

21.580.

16b

requires examination of settlement negotiations and

litigation strategy and tactics, nearly all of which was

placed in the hands of a jury to assess. Understanding

this case necessitates a detailed examination of a

voluminous record which we will abbreviate wherever

possible.

I. Facts and Procedure

The facts of the underlying automobile claim, which

the jury found CIC settled unfairly, began at 10:00

a.m. on November 38, 1998. Eugene “Gene” Clark, a

delivery driver tor Dasher Express, Inc., had finished

a workshift that exceeded ten hours. He returned his

employer’s vehicle to Dasher’s offices in Lexington,

Kentucky. He then drove home to Frankfort in his

personal vehicle.

Clark was fatigued when he arrived home and

discovered that he still had in his possession the

company’s credit card and the keys to his company’s

vehicle. He called Dasher’s offices, informed the

dispatcher of his mistake, and “indicated he was going

to return the keys to Dasher.” (Trial Court’s Opinion

and Order, September 13, 2002, p.2, quoting testimony

of Dasher employee). Clark took a shower and

changed clothes. Then he got back in his personal

vehicle and Jeft his Frankfort home. Ostensibly, his

sole purpose was to return the Dasher vehicle keys

and credit card.

George Hofmeister was driving his own vehicle and

talking to his wife on a cell phone when he first saw

Clark’s vehicle approaching him from about a

quarter-mile away. Clark’s driving was erratic. In

fact, Clark had fallen asleep despite having gone to a

17b

McDonald’s restaurant for coffee. As the vehicles

approached one another, Clark’s vehicle crossed the

centerline. Hofmeister slammed on his brakes but did

not avoid the collision. Whether it was possible to

have done so was never determined in the record.”

When Clark did not arrive at Dasher’s offices after

indicating he was going to return the keys, a Dasher

employee called his telephone number and

le[ft] a message for Gene, indicating whether or

not he was returning the keys and when they or

whomever [sic] was returning the keys would

have them to Dasher. After that, we received a

call that Gene had been in an accident and

basically were waiting to see how he was and,

you know, what the situation was.

(Trial Court’s Opinion and Order, September 13,-2002,

p.2, quoting testimony of Dasher employee).

The accident did not occur on the most direct route

between Clark’s home and Dasher’s offices. Clark said

the direct route he regularly took would have placed

him on Interstate Highway 64 (1-64) all the way trom

Frankfort until he exited the highway southbound at

the Newtown Pike exit in Lexington. But the accident

site was on US 62 in Georgetown, Kentucky. This

location necessarily required Clark to exit I-64 about

halfway between his home and Dasher’s offices, and to

head away from his business destination. Clark was

“ Mr. Hofmeister testified in the bad faith trial, however, that

there was no place for him to exit the road on which the accident

occurred,

18b

rendered unconscious by the accident, and said he did

not recall exiting I-64 onto US 62 or why he did so.

Hofmeister’s injuries were significant. He

convalesced for a total of eight months, confined to a

wheelchair for five of those months. During that time,

Hofmeister engaged attorney Dale Golden to assist in

recovering his damages.

Golden concentrated his settlement efforts on Clark

and Clark’s insurer, the Travelers Insurance Group.

Travelers offered to pay Hofmeister its policy limits of

$100,000. Pursuant to KRS 304.39-320(3), Golden

sent notice of Travelers’ offer to Hofmeister’s

underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage insurer,

Kentucky Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company,

whose policy limits were also $100,000. Farm Bureau

elected to preserve its subrogation rights against Clark

and substituted its own payment of $100,000 to

Hofmeister under the procedure outlined in Coots v.

Allstate Ins. Co., 853 S.W.2d 895 (Ky. 1983).

Additionally, Farm Bureau paid $50,000 in personal

injury protection (PIP) benefits to Hofmeister’s

medical providers. Hofmeister did not waive his right

to file a civil action against Farm Bureau, and he

subsequently did so.

The complaint first named Ciark as a defendant.

The second defendant identified was Farm Bureau.

The claim against Farm Bureau sought to collect an

additional $100,000 in UIM benefits available under

any and all of the Hofmeisters’ policies. Finally, the

complaint named Dasher, asserting that Clark was

acting within the scope of his employment at the time

of the aceident and, therefore, Dasher was vicariously

liable.

19b

Service of the complaint was Dasher’s first notice

that the Hofmeisters were asserting any claim against

the company. Consistent with duties created by its

contract of insurance, Dasher notified CIC of the

claim. CIC’s duty under the same contract was to

provide a defense at its cost. To satisfy that duty, CIC

made financial arrangements with attorney Dan

Murner to answer and defend Dasher against the

Hofmeisters’ claims.

Murner drafted and served Dasher’s answer to the

complaint on November 4, 1999, asserting, among

other defenses, that Clark was not acting within the

scope of his employment at the time of the accident,

and that Hofmeister was comparatively negligent.

Murner simultaneously served discovery requests

upon Hofmeister seeking information substantiating

the damages claimed and the basis of Dasher’s alleged

liability.

The Hofmeisters responded to Dasher’s discovery

requests four months later, on March 3, 2000. The

responses provided scant information upon which

Dasher could assess its exposure to liability. On the

contrary, they show the Hofmeisters: (1) had not yet

compiled a list of medical expenses; (2) had not yet

decided what witnesses to call at trial; (3) did not know

what documents they intended to introduce at trial;

and (4) were not prepared to identify any expert,

including one who would testify regarding Mr.

Ilofmeister’s claim for economic losses, or otherwise.

Furthermore, in response to Dasher’s’ request

pursuant to Kentucky Rules of Civil Procedure (CR)

8.01(2) that damages be specified, the Hofmeisters

replied that “la] total has not been calculated at this

time.”

20b

‘The Hofmeisters, too, engaged in discovery. On

February 1, 2000, they submitted interrogatories and

requests for production of documents to Dasher.

Consistent with a pattern repeated throughout this

litigation, the Hofmeisters did not ask Dasher to

produce insurance information in accordance with CR

26.02(2).°

In the meantime, Dasher noticed Hofmeister’s

deposition to be taken on May 12, 2000. Mr.

Hofmeister’s deposition testimony was the first

indication Dasher had that Hofmeister was claiming a

loss of income equaling or exceeding $5 million. When

questioned about substantiation for this loss,

Hofmeister explained that the primary entity through

which he conducted his’ business, American

Commercial Holdings, Inc. (ACH), had paid him a

$5-million bonus for the year of the accident, but did

not pay him any bonus the next year.‘

* CR 26.02(2) states:

A party may obtain discovery of the existence and

contents of any insurance agreement under which any

person carrying on an insurance business may be liable to

satisfy purt or all of a judgment which may be entered in

the action or to indemnify or reimburse for payments

made to satisfy the judgment.

* As the CEO of ACH, Mr. Hofmeister largely controlled his own

income. He testified that his salary the year after the accident

actually increased from $577,402 in 1998 (10 months of which

preceded the accident) to $624,135 in 1999. The Hofmeisters’ tax

returns show that 1998 was a good year for Mr. Hofmeister to

take a $5-million bonus because his capital losses and Schedule FE

losses (from other partnerships and subchapter S corporations

including ACH) exceeded $8 million. When those losses were

21b

Hofmeister’s deposition testimony showed that

while he did receive a Form W-2, he was not a typical

employee. He was a self-made entrepreneur. Through

various business entities he had created, including

ACH, Hofmeister made a career of purchasing troubled

businesses, obtaining financing to keep the businesses

afloat, and then reselling the businesses for a profit.

Between 1995 and 1999, Hofmeister and ACH

acquired approximately sixty (60) businesses.

Hofmeister stated that he accomplished these

acquisitions after obtaining bank financing to do so.

At deposition, he testified that he had been turned

down for a $25-million loan as a direct result of the

accident and his injuries. Consequently, so he

testified, he was unable to purchase more distressed

businesses for resale. He had no documentation with

him at the deposition that would have substantiated

any of his prior acquisitions or sales, or any of his

business activity at all. Nor could he document the

denial of his $25-million loan application or the

potential business acquisitions the loan would have

facilitated. However, he agreed to later provide

deducted from his total income, including the $5-million bonus,

the Hotmeisters’ adjusted gross income (AGI) was less than zero

(-$443,102). Consequently, the Hofmeisters paid no taxes in 1998

In 1999, the year after the accident, the Hofmeisters’ businesses

netted substantial capital gains resulting in an AGI of more than

$9.5 million, and a tax liability of more than $1.8 million

Awarding himself any bonus in 1999 would have yielded an even

higher tax burden. In 2000, Mr. Hofmeister’s salary was again

above $500,000. Also in 2000, and in 2001 and 2002 as well, the

Hofmeisters continued to carn substantial capital gains. Those

gains, however, were offset by greater Schedule E losses from

other partnerships and Scorporations, including the Hofmeisters’

interest in equine partnerships.

22b

Dasher with that documentation through his own

attorney.

Hofmceister’s attorney, Golden, took the face-to-face

opportunity immediately following Hofmeister’s

deposition to propose’ settlement. After the

Hofmeisters departed, Golden sat down with Murner

and Dasher’s owners and verbally demanded

$1,500,000 on behalf of his clients.° According to

Murner’s uncontradicted testimony, Golden said “[Y]ou

don’t want an excess verdict, you’d better settle this

case.” Once Golden had departed, Murner’s clients

asked him what was meant by an “excess verdict” and

Murner explained it to them. What followed this

meeting was a series of extrajudicial correspondence

upon which much of the Hofmeisters’ claim of fraud

and bad faith rests.

On May 18, 2000, Murner wrote to Golden

requesting further substaitiation of Hofmeister’s

claim that his business losses were attributable to the

accident and stating that such information was

essential to a proper assessment of Golden’s

settlement demand. Murner also noted that the

cemand was “in excess of the policy limits provided by

Dasher’s insurance carrier].]” He never stated what

those policy limits were except to say that $1,500,000

exceeded them.

On May 22, 2000, Golden wrote to Murner “a little

surprised that $1,500,000 is in excess of the policy

limits of Dasher’s insurance carrier.” He declined

Though Golden infermally stated he could establish damages of

$20,000,000, no demand higher than $1,500,000 was ever made

23b

Murner’s request for additional support for

Hofmeister’s losses, stating, “The tax returns I have

provided to you contain more than adequate

information to show” Hofmeister’s loss. He expressed

his opinion that a “claim for punitive damages against

Dasher alone could exceed $1,000,000.” Nevertheless,

based upon Murner’s representation that $1,500,000

exceeded Dasher’s liability policy limits, Golden agreed

to recommend to IIofmeister “that he accept the

amount of $1,000,000, which I assume from your

correspondence is the policy limit.” (Emphasis

supplied).

Because Golden was unable to contact Mr.

Hofmeister until early the next month, Golden agreed

to extend the offer until June 9. Golden stated that if

settlement was not accomplished by then, he would

recommend that his client not accept Iess than

$1,500,000. “In other words,” Golden said, “assuming

that Dasher has $1,000,000 in coverage, this is your

one opportunity to resolve this matter within the

limits of coverage.”

The next day, May 23, 2000, Golden and Murner

spoke by telephone. Based on that conversation,

Golden wrote Murner again, agreeing to a_ short

extension of the deadline for Dasher’s response to his

settlement demand. Golden also asked Murner to let

him know “what additional information you will need

and I will try to provide” it. He then reiterated that if

Dasher did not agree to settle the claim for $1 million,

“our demand will increase beyond the limits of

Dasher’s hability policy|.]”

One day later, May 24, 2000, Murner provided a

list of information he needed to assess the claim and

24b

settlement demand, limiting the list to information

Hofmeister already agreed in his deposition to provide

through Golden. Among other things, this included: a

list of Hofmeister’s companies identifying those he

purchased and sold in the previous five years, with the

cost of acquisition and profit realized on resale;

documentation rclating to the denial of his $25-million

loan application; quarterly earnings reports for three

of Hofmeister’s corporations; and an accounting of

Hofmeister’s 1999 income.

On May 26, 2000, while waiting for Golden’s

response, Murner sought to file a_ protective

cross-claim against Clark. On behalf of Dasher,

Murner continued to assert that Clark was not acting

within the scope of his employment at the time of the

accident, but claimed the right of indemnification from

Clark should that issue be determined otherwise. The

Hlofmeisters initially objected to Dasher’s motion to file

the cross-claim, but soon after withdrew the objection.

On May 31, 2000, the Hofmeisters served upon

Dasher a second set of interrogatories and requests for

production of documents. Despite Golden’s being “a

little surprised” that the initial demand exceeded

policy limits, the discovery still did not include a

request to provide insurance information.

Also on May 31, 2000, Golden wrote to Murner

again. He enclosed a copy of an amended complaint

alleging that Dasher had violated federal Department

of Transportation regulations prohibiting drivers to

spend more than ten consecutive hours on the road

without an eight-hour break. Based on that alleged

violation, the proposed amended complaint demanded

punitive damages be assessed against Dasher. Golden

25b

stated he would file the amended complaint if the case

was not settled by June 22 for $1,000,000.

Golden’s correspondence did not provide the

documentation Murner requested, but did say that he

had sought it from “Mr. Hofmeister and he will be

providing that information to my office within the next

few days.” Golden also confirmed for Murner that Mr.

Hofmeister agreed “to lower his demand to $1,000,000,

which, according to you, is the policy limit of Dasher’s

insurance.” Nothing in the record supports Golden’s

assertion that Murner had confirmed what Golden had

previously assumed — that the limit of Dasher’s

automobile liability insurance policy was $1,000,000.

On the contrary, according to Murner’s testimony,

a telephone conversation took place around this time

during which he conveyed to Golden the information

regarding Dasher’s policy of excess insurance coverage.

Murner initially told Golden, as he had been told by

Dasher, that those policy limits were $3 million.

Later, Murner learned that the policy limits were not

$3 million, but $5 million. Following a hearing on a

procedural motien in Scott Circuit Court, Murner

conveyed that corrected information to Golden. There

is no evidence in the record that impugns Murner’s

testimony.

Back at CIC’s offices, senior claims examiner Julie

Sullivan was developing a sense of the claim against

CIC’s insured, Dasher. Her role was to evaluate the

claim based on information provided by Dasher’s

counsel. On June 9, 2000, she created a “Reserve

Increase Memorandum,” introduced at trial as

Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 5, stating:

26b

(information is sketchy at this time.... The

claimant, George Hofmeister, DOB unknown,

was in a whee! chair for five months and he had

physical therapy. He was unable to conduct his

business [but] is back to work now. His

attorneys say he will likely need to have a joint

replacement of his knee and hip... . His meds

total around $100,000.

Hofmeister’s economic circumstances, as well asa

settlement demand in excess of Dasher’s insurance

coverage through CIC, also concerned Sullivan.

Mr. Hofmeister is literally “worth milhons.” We

have his tax returns [showing he did not receive

a $5M bonus] which plaintiff may attribute to

this accident. Dan |Murner] will meet with an

accountant to review all this documentation. ...

In mid May a settlement demand of $1.5 million

was initially proposed in the presence of Dasher

officials. They immediately became very

concerned due to personal exposure.... At that

time, the issue of accepting the demand and

tendering our limit of $1M, limiting the

personal exposure of the insured to half a

million versus potentially exposing them to

millions was problematic duc to coverage issues

involved.

The coverage issues to which she referred included the

fact that “Clark’s personal carrier, KY Farm Bureau,

tendered their $100,000 limits [and] some question

regarding KY Farm Bureau stacking their coverage up

to $600,000.” Sullivan noted that “while the insured

[Dasher] has an umbrella policy, it is not. through

27b

CIC.” This is the earliest indication in the record that

a policy of excess insurance coverage existed. Still,

neither the carrier nor the policy limits was identified.

On the other hand, Sullivan noted that there was

still a question of Dasher’s liability. The case had not

developed far enough to know “whether Mr. Clark was

on or off the clock.” At that time, legal focus was on

whether the “actions of Mr. Clark occurred outside the

time restrictions of his employment.”

As it turned out, Hofmeister’s representations of

his impaired physical condition were overstated.

According to his pretrial disclosures in the spring of

2004, Hofmeister’s medical expenses never totaled

more than $50,037.92, far from the $ "FAO .000 to which

he had testified. Also, Hofmeister never needed

subsequent surgery or any other substantial medical

treatment for his injuries. His pretrial disclosures

placed a zero-dollar value on future medical costs.

Nevertheless, for a time at least, the parties proceeded

on Hofmeister’s erroneous representations.

Meanwhile, the Hofmeisters, through Golden, had

provided to Murner some documentation of

Hofmeister’s finances. However, according to a June

16, 2000, letter from Murner to Golden, there was still

much requested documentation that had yet to be

provided. Notably, there was no documentation of the

$25-million loan application or its denial. An

accounting expert hired on behalf of Dasher reported

to Murner that the information Hofmeister had thus

far provided only supported the conclusion that his

businesses were losing money even before the accident.

From 1995 to 1999, the cost of acquiring the

businesses exceeded the cash generated by all of

28b

Hofmeister’s businesses by $150 million. Dasher’s

expert could not reconcile Hofmeister’s claim that his

economic loss was attributable to the accident without

additional documentation. He specifically requested

documentation to support Hofmeister’s income

calculations, as well as records of intercompany loans

and other subsidization of the losses shown to have

been sustained by Hofmeister’s equine-related and

other businesses. Murner explained to Golden the

reason such detailed information was necessary:

As you know, this is not a W2 economic loss

case. Your client derives his income from a

myriad of sources, which we need to explore. If

this cannot be accomplished by June 22

|\Golden’s settlement demand deadline], so be it.

However, my client will not act on blind faith as

you suggest. ... {I]f you take out the economic

claims and simply size this case up on medical

expenses (past and future) and pain and

suffering (past and future) the numbers do not

come close to the limits of my client’s insurance

policy. For example, everything you have

provided to us show |sic] medical expenses of

approximately $50,000 rather than the

$100,000 claimed by your chent during

deposition. ... Your client is asking... me to

assume without documentation that his

economic losses make up the difference and

exceed the policy limits... .

1, of course, will put all of this in a formal

request for production of documents. However,

the deadline for your response [to that discovery

request] will fall after the deadline your chent

29b

has arbitrarily imposed |to respond to the

settlement offer].

Golden responded to Murner on June 20, 2000, that

“Cincinnati Insurance Company has known about the

claim since October 1999.... A cursory review of any

of Mr. Hofmeister’s tax returns for the past five years

would reveal to the layman that he has a solid basis

for his economic damages claim.” Golden declined to

send Murner any further medical records to support a

claim for future medical costs stating simply that

“Cincinnati Insurance Company is creating additional]

requests for information to serve as the basis for its

refusal to settle this claim.” Furthermore, Golden

charged CIC with failing to timely investigate and pay

the claim, and with asking “for more information than

the court would ever require Mr. Hofmeister to

produce and that would take us several months to

acquire.” He then stated his intention “to hold

Cincinnati Insurance Company responsible.”

On June 21, 2000, Murner spoke by telephone with

Golden and invited him to his office to discuss

settiement. Golden declined the invitation. Murner

therefore had a settlement proposal hand-delivered to

Golden’s office on June 22, 2000. There were several

aspects to the settlement proposal.

First, because the issue of whether Clark was

acting within the scope of his employment at the time

of the accident had not been resolved, Murner pointed

out the possibility that Dasher would have no hability

” The record reflects that no such medical records existed and.

therefore, none could be sent

30b

whatsoever. Additionally, Murner’s interpretation of

the discovery produced thus far suggested some

comparative liability on Mr. Ilofmeister’s part.

Second, because Hofmeister still had not provided

the documentation Murner requested, both informally

and through discovery, Hofmeister’s claim for lost

business earnings could not be properly assessed.

Therefore, the settlement offer specifically reserved

Hofmeister’s right to pursue “any claim the

Hofmeisters may have against Dasher for damages

due to lost wages, or lost profits duc to lost business

opportunities[.]”

Third, Murner totaled “all of Mr. Hofmeister’s

medical expenses provided to Dasher by Plaintiffs’

counsel to date,” then subtracted “expenses previously

paid for PIP [personal injury protection of $50,000)” by

Ilofmeister’s own insurance. The balance was $9,275.’

Dasher agreed to pay that sum and further agreed,

having obtained CIC’s consent, that CIC would “be

responsible for negotiating any settlement for PIP, tor

expenses incurred as of the date of this settlement.”

Fourth, Dasher agreed to pay Hofmeister $25,000

for future medical treatment despite the fact that “no

medical evidence has been presented by the

Hofmeisters’ counsel regarding Mr. Hofmeister’s need

for future medical treatment|.|”

’ These figures indicate that Murner continued to err in favor of

Hofmeister regarding calculation of medical expenses since his

estimate exceeds Hofmeister’s pretrial disclosure by more than

$9,200.

31b

Fifth, recognizing Mrs. Hofmcister’s “role in caring

for Mr. Hofmeister|,]}” Dasher agreed to pay her

$25,000 on her loss of consortium claim.

Sixth, for Hofmeister’s claim of past and future

pain and suffering, Dasher agreed to add $50,000 to

the $100,000 previously received from Clark’s carrier

making his pain and suffering claim about three times

his medical expenses.

In effect, Dasher’s total offer was $109,275, plus

indemnification for the $150,000 previously paid by

other insurers for a total of $259,275, plus the

important reservation of Hofmeister’s right to pursue

his claim for lost income.

Before the workday ended, Golden, on behalf of the

Hofmeisters, wrote to Murner stating that the

“proposed settlement offer is rejected and that we

hereby withdraw our offer to settle this matter for the

policy limits of $1 million.” Golden gave no credence to

Murner’s asserted defense that Clark was not acting in

the scope of employment for Dasher, stating, “I have

already presented to your office the applicable case law

that clearly indicates Mr. Clark was acting within the

scope of his employment|,|” and insisting that taking

a contrary position “is a clear violation of the Unfair

Claims Settlement Practices Act because liability has

become clear.” Similarly, according to Golden,

Murner’s position that Hofmcister might bear some

percentage of fault “constitutes a violation of the

Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act.” Finally, and

contrary to the offer to reserve the claim for lost

profits, Golden claimed that while Murner

acknowledged a “viable claim for lost wages, lost

profits, and lost business opportunities, [he] did not

32b

offer a dime to settle that portion of our claim. This,

too, is in violation of the Unfair Claims Settlement

Practices Act.”

Settlement negotiations were thus suspended

Negotiations would not resume in earnest until the

issue of Dasher’s vicarious liability was determined by

the trial court. This did not occur until shortly before

the final date set for the trial, October 14, 2002.

Between these two periods of settlement

negotiation — the summer of 2000 and autumn of 2002

substantial discovery took place as well as a variety

of procedural and other motions. The following events,

including extrajudicial events subsequently

memorialized as part of the record, are relevant to our

review.

On February 9, 2001, Golden wrote a peculiar

letter’ to Murner ostensibly attempting to settle one

portion only of his clients’ claims. The letter did not

present any offer to settle. On the contrary, Golden

was attempting to resurrect and accept one portion of

Dasher’s June 22, 2000, offer that Hofmeister rejected

in toto eight months earlier. With still no proof of

future medical expenses, Golden, on behalf of the

Hofmeisters, wanted now to accept that portion of

Dasher’s previous offer. He wanted Murner to explain

the “decision to withdraw the offer of settlement of

$25,0001.]” He also wanted to know why Hofmeister

* The oddity of Golden's letter surpasses the “curious letter”

described in Manchester Ins, & Indem. Co. v., Grundy, 541 S.W.2d

493, 495 (Ky. 1976), which is similar to some of Golden's other

correspondence.

could not accept one portion of the offer without

accepting the other portions. In Golden’s opinion, this

violated Kentucky’s UCSPA. Using the same wording

as KRS 304.12-230(13), Golden claimed this amounted

to “failing to promptly settle a claim where liability

has become reasonably clear under one portion of the

insurance policy coverage in order to influence

settlement under another portion of the coverage

afforded by {CIC].”

Murner replied on February 15, 2001, documenting

the history of Dasher’s offer and Hofmeisters’ rejection,

and quoting Golden’s June 2000 pronouncement that

“{wie will now proceed to trial and have the jury decide

the issue of damages.” Again, Murner insisted that

liability was not as clear as Golden asserted and

reminded Golden of the difficulty Dasher had in

obtaining from Hofmeister sufficient information to

assess his claim of lost profits. Finally, Murner stated,

“] believe your allegations of bad faith that you have

thrown about throughout this litigation are frivolous.”

More than three years later, when Golden

interrogated Murner at trial regarding this episode,

Golden revealed that his February 9, 2001, letter was

a calculated attempt to put Murner “on the spot.”

*On this point, Golden interrogated Murner, CIC representative

Dan Walsh, and CIC’s bad faith expert Carl Sumner, The essence

of Golden's interrogation and argument ts that: (1) the June 22,

2000, offer included $25,000 for future medical expenses; (2) there

was no change in the medical proof between June 22, 2000, and

February 9, 2001, when Golden “accepted” the offer, so the offer

could not have become less justifiable; (3) despite this, CIC

refused to pay over the $25,000, (4) Murner admitted that the

$25,.000-offer should not have been made, and (5) Murner’s

34b

Golden: You admitted you shouldn't have

made that offer. You admitted it was

asham.... I put you on the spot on

the $25,000 you offered in future

medicals, to show that that was just a

sham

Murner: I did not admit it was a sham.

You rejected the whole $109,000 .. . .

And then six [sic] months later you

said, oh well, I'll take the $25,000

that you were offering for medicals,

and I said you already rejected the

offer and you hadn't proved anything

regarding future medicals, so why

would I go there?

The Ilofmeisters continued to engage in discovery

between the summer of 2000 and autumn of 2002.

They served additional requests for production of

documents and aé_e third and_ fourth set of

interrogatories on Dasher in September 2000 and May

2001, respectively. Again, the Hofmeisters never took

advantage of the discovery process to obtain

information regarding Dasher’s insurance coverage.

admission supported Golden's claim that it was a sham offer all

along and, therefore, made in bad faith. This argument fails

fundamentally since there was never any evidence of the need for

future medical care. Murner’s settlement recommendation to

Dasher, and CIC’s approval of the settlement offer for future

medicals, was based on Golden's representation that he would

eventually present such evidence. Golden attempts to make

Murner and CIC the culprits because they relied on his

representations in making the offer” The argument defies logic

35b

Dasher, too, continued efforts through discovery to

obtain Hofmeister’s financial records so it could assess

whether there was a causal relationship between the

accident and Hofmeitster’s business failures. The trial

court permitted such discovery even over Golden's

motion for a protective order. Even then, Dasher

subsequently found it necessary to obtain the trial

court's order compelling production of this

documentation before Hofmeister would produce it.

On July 19, 2001, through Golden, the Hofmeisters

moved to amend their complaint for a second time.

They did not attach a copy of the proposed amended

complaint to the motion, but stated their intent to

assert a claim against CIC for violation of the UCSPA.

Through Murner, Dasher moved the trial court

pursuant to CR 11 to strike the motion as frivolous,

having been filed for the improper purpose of

attempting to force settlement of the underlying claim.

Primarily, Dasher noted that its lability was still

fairly debatable since no decision had yet addressed

the scope-of-employment issue. Dasher also asserted

that the Hofmeisters had continuously thwarted its

efforts to substantiate their economic losses. ‘The trial

court granted the Hofmeisters’ motion to amend the

complaint and deferred a ruling on Dasher’s CR 11]

motion.

The second amended complaint listed a variety of

grievances against CIC, each of which the Hofmeisters

contended constituted a violation of the UCSPA.

Shortly thereafter, the Hofmeisters amended the

complaint again, adding an additional UCSPA claim

against CIC. Now itself a defendant, CIC answered

the two amended complaints and denied each of the

substantive allegations in both.

36b

In September 2001, the trial court agreed with CIC

that the case against it for bad faith should be

bifurcated from the underlying tort claim and entered

an order to that effect. Attorney Michael Risley

entered his appearance on behalf of CIC. The

underlying tort claim went forward.

On March 15, 2002, Dasher took the deposition of

a representative of the bank where Hofmeister had

applied for and had been denied the $25-million loan.

The bank representative acknowledged that he

recommended Hofmeister’s loan application to his

superiors, but stated they ultimately denied the loan.

He said that Hofmeister’s medical condition following

the accident did not affect either his recommendation

or his superiors’ denial of the application for credit. He

testified, “I don’t recall it being woven into the credit

presentation as an issue we had to deal with[.]”

Instead, “the final decision” to reject was based on

“economic issues with his businesses, his’ horse

business and other businesses, that he had that

brought in risk factors that the bank [was] not willing

to accept|.]” Nothing in the record indicates that the

accident had any effect on the bank’s denial of

Hofmeister’s application for a $25-million loan.

Trial was scheduled for the spring of 2002. Both

the Hofmeisters and Dasher submitted proposed jury

instructions that left the issues of Dasher’s vicarious

lability and Hofmeister’s comparative negligence for

resolution by the jury. For reasons which the

Hofmeisters opposed but are not otherwise pertinent

here, the trial was continued and_ eventually

rescheduled for October 14, 2002.

37b

The critical issue of whether Clark was acting in

the scope of his employment was still not resolved

when, between August 30 and September 4, 2002, the

Hofmeisters, Clark and Dasher each filed motions on

this issue. On September 13, 2002, the trial court

entered an order finding that Clark was acting in the

scope of his employment with Dasher.

There was conflicting evidence as to whether

Dasher’s dispatcher ordered Clark to return the keys

and credit card himself that morning, or whether

Clark, knowing the keys had to be returned, felt

compelled to voluntarily undertake the task. The

Hofmeisters argued that this specific question is

irrelevant. The trial court seemed to agree, focusing

instead on the facts that: (1) Dasher “indicated the

keys had to be returned;” (2) return of the keys was for

Dasher’s benefit; (3) Dasher’s dispatcher authorized

the return of the keys; and (4) returning the keys was

“incidental” to Clark’s employment. The trial court

noted and discounted the fact that Clark made two

separate stops for coffee and fuel, stating those stops

were “not evidence of any independent pursuit or

deviation |but] merely in furtherance of Clark’s

primary mission|{.]” The trial court did not address the

‘acts that: (1) Clark was not on a direct route between

his home and Dasher’s offices when the accident

occurred; (2) Clark did not recall why he deviated from

the direct route to Dasher’s offices; (3) Clark himself

had created the circumstances necessitating a return

of the keys and credit card; or (4) when asked in a

pre-litigation interview whether he was on company or

personal business, Clark himself responded, “|[T}hat’s

debatable.”

38b

On October 3, 2002, rather than challenging the

trial court’s ruling, Dasher stipulated liability’? and

simultaneously presented the Hofmeisters with an

offer of judgment, pursuant to CR 68, in the amount of

$175,000."! Eight days later, on October 11, the offer

increased to $300,000. On the day of trial, October 14,

Dasher offered $500,000. Before trial started, Dasher

offered the $1,000,000-limits of its policy of automobile

hability insurance. On behalf of the Hofmeisters,

Golden accepted, but conditioned that acceptance upon

certain concessions from some of the other defendants.

Because this occurred on the day trial was to

commence, and because terms of the settlement were

unclear, the parties agreed to go on the record with the

trial court, as “the way to consummate this

settlement|,]” to use Golden’s words. Golden and

Murner were present on behalf of their respective

chents. Also present, either in person or by telephone

conferencing, were representatives of Clark’s personal

insurer and the attorney for Farm Bureau Insurance.

As the case against CIC for statutory bad faith had

been bifurcated and all such claims were to be

‘’ Murner testified this was a tactical decision “to refocus the

issues to the damages, which is what we always wanted to

address in this case.” On cross-examination, Golden attempted

unsuccessfully to have Murner admit the stipulation indicated

CIC knew Dasher was liable all along “because nothing had

changed in the case” from the date of Dasher’s o-iginal offer, June

22, 2000, until hability was conceded.

'' The Hofmeisters have argued throughout the litigation, and

now in this appeal, that the net value of this $175,000-offer was

$25,000 because of “liens” in favor of Travelers and Farm Bureau

There is nothing in the record supporting the existence of such

liens.

39b

addressed later, attorney Risley was not present on

behalf of CIC.

Golden initiated the discussion by representing he

could “blackboard over $20 million in damages and

that will expose Eugene Clark to that excess

judgment[.]” Only moments into the hearing, a

reference was made to the “excess policy with Dasher

of $10 million{.])” Murner corrected the speaker and

clarified that Dasher’s excess policy was only $5

million. Owing to telecommunications glitches,

Murner had to repeat three times that the amount of

Dasher’s excess insurance coverage was $5 million.

Before the negotiations ended, eleven separate

references were made to the existence of Dasher’s

policy of excess insurance. In addition, the excess

insurer was identified as Fireman’s Fund three

separate times. And the excess policy limits of $5

million were stated a total of four times. Nothing in

the transcript indicates that anyone, including Golden,

was surprised by or unaware of the existence of

Dasher’s policy of excess insurance.

The sticking point in settlement, however, was the

relatively smaller amount of $100,000. This is one of

the sums of insurance Golden collected for the

Hofmeisters before initiating litigation. Before the

parties could reach a settlement, one question had to

be resolved: which party or insurance company would

ultimately be responsible for that amount? The

attorneys for the Hofmeisters and Dasher and Clark

were attempting to convince the representatives of the

insurance companies to waive the right to recover the

sum from any of them.

40b

Golden pointed out that he could easily prove more

than $100,600 in damages and, if the trial went

forward, the obstinacy of Clark’s personal liability

insurer “will expose Eugene Clark to that excess

judgment.” This prompted Clark’s insurer to ask,

“Isn’t Mr. Clark an insured under the excess policy,

also?” To this, Murner responded that he “had no

authority from the excess carrier. A million dollars is

what we're offering here.” Golden proposed a simple

solution: “'I]f [(Clark’s personal lability insurer] pays

the hundred [thousand dollars] that it already

committed to pay carlier, then we're all done and it’s

over with, we can all go home.”

Clark’s insurer balked. So, Golden announced he

was prepared “to proceed against Eugene Clark, and if

we ring him up, then we’re going to take his personal]

assets ... and our position is going to be that [Clark’s

personal liability insurer] has acted unreasonably and

violated the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act[.]”

Eventually, the representatives of the affected insurers

agreed to brief and argue this particular issue among

themselves, leaving the remaining parties out of that

particular fray and free to settle their claims.

On the points of settlement, Murner was very clear

that the settlement for the limits of Dasher’s

automobile lability policy embraced a_ universal

release of liability relative to the underlying tort claim.

Mr. Murner: Okay, Your Honor, my position

is—and if I’m wrong, somebody

tell me now. Cincinnati, excess

carrier, Dasher and Clark are

protected, and free and clear

from—

41ib

The Court: I don’t know what anybody else

thinks, but I am clear on that,

for whatever it is worth.

Mr. Murner: What I want to make sure is

that this is a complete release.

I mean, this is the standard

complete release with the

exception of [the remaining

issues among the _ insurers

regarding subrogation issues

apart from the parties].

Mr. Golden: { agree.

In accordance with this agreement, Murner drafted

a settlement agreement and_ release.'” The

Hofmeisters’ right was reserved to continue pursuing

the bad faith and UCSPA claims against CIC and

Fireman’s Fund. Otherwise, the Hofmeisters released

Dasher, Clark, CIC and Fireman’s Fund for all claims

arising directly from the automobile accident only.

‘There was a delay in obtaining approval from the

Hofmeisters’ insurer and Clark’s personal insurer

relative to the subrogation issue. This delayed

execution of settlement documents and disbursement

of proceeds. Attempting to encourage movement on

the issue, Golden filed a motion to enforce the

settlement on behalf of the Hofmeisters, followed by a

Golden actually made the first attempt at drafting the

agreement. However, that draft was incomplete in that it did not

include the release of CIC and Fireman’s Fund as to the

underlying tort claim and it left unresolved the subrogation

dispute between the Ilofmeisters’ insurer and Clark’s insurer.

42b

motion on his own behalf, based on his own lien, for

immediate disbursement of his attorney fees and costs

expended.

In his motions, Golden claimed that he never

agreed to include CIC and Fireman’s Fund in the

release of the underlying tort action. Blaming Murner,

Golden insisted that the trial court “stop the wrongful

conduct of withholding the settlement proceeds in

exchange for additional releases that were never

bargained for[.|” Golden insisted the delay was to

pressure the Hofmeisters into dismissing their bad

faith claims.

On behalf of Dasher and Clark, Murner responded

that he had

never included a provision in any proposed

settlement agreement providing for protection

against allegations of violation of the Unfair

Claims Settlement Practices Act for} in any

correspondence that any release must contain

protection from any _ potential bad _ faith

allegations[.! Thus, any claim by Plaintiffs’

counsel that settlement proceeds are being

withheld to solicit a release of bad faith claims

on behalf of Cincinnati Insurance and/or

Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company are simply

unsupported by the correspondence between

counsel and the proposed settlement release.

Murner’s position is easily verified by the language of

the settlement agreement itself. Furthermore, nothing

in the record contradicts Murner’s position on this

issue, nor does the record support Golden’s suggestion

otherwise.

43b

Eventually, all of the issues were resolved by the

attorneys without the need for the trial court to rule.

However, the delay was long enough that it allowed

Allied Capital Corporation, one of George Hofmeister’s

judgment creditors, to intervene in this action and

garnish the settlement proceeds’ before’ the

Ilofmeisters received them.

In May 2003, the Hofmeisters sought leave to file

another amended complaint. In essence, this

amendment added two counts. First, the Hofmeisters

alleged that CIC’s rapid increase in offers between

October 3 and October 14, 2002, from $175,000 to

$1,000,000, violated Kentucky’s UCSPA. Second, they

alleged that CIC intentionally prolonged settlement to

purposefully take advantage of the Hofmeisters’

worsening financial circumstances. The motion was

granted and the amended complaint ordered filed on

June 5, 20038.

In August 2003, ten months after the settlement

negotiations were recorded before the trial court, it

occurred to the Hofmeisters that they had an

opportunity to file yet another amended complaint.

Here, they alleged that CIC “misrepresented pertinent

facts regarding the amount of insurance that was

available” and “failed to disclose the existence of an

excess insurance policy.” The motion was granted and

the amended complaint ordered filed on September 15,

2008.

In February 2004, the Hofmeisters sought leave to

file what became their final amended complaint.

Seemingly aware of this Court’s nonfinal opinion in

Knotts v. Zurich Ins. Co., 2002-CA-001846 (Feb. 6,

2004) that no post-htigation conduct by an insurance

44b

company can be the basis of a UCSPA claim, the

Hofmeisters’ “Fifth Amended Complaint” alleged that

all of CIC’s actions also supported a claim for common

law fraud and intentional infliction of emotional

distress. It appears from the record that this tactical

decision was intended to avoid the potential that

Knotts, once final, would totally defeat the

Hofmeisters’ claims under the UCSPA. The motion

was granted and the amended complaint ordered filed

on May 17, 2004, three days before trial.

Before trial commenced on May 20, 2004, CIC

moved for a continuance because the amended

complaint had been filed so close in time to the

commencement of trial. The motion was denied

because there were no additional factual allegations,

only additional legal theories. The trial judge also

addressed numerous procedural and evidentiary

motions, filed by both sides. Over CIC’s objection, the

trial court ruled that Murner was CIC’s agent for

purposes of settlement negotiation. See, infra, Section

IT.C.

Both sides tendered proposed jury instructions.

The parties announced ready and the trial proceeded.

At the close of evidence, each party moved for directed

verdicts. As to the issues now before this Court, those

motions were denied. The jury was instructed in

preparation for its deliberations.

While this was the fifth arnendment of the complaint after CIC

was named as a defendant, it was the sixth time the original

complaint was amended.

45b

The trial court took the parties’ respective proposed

jury instructions into consideration but crafted its

own. The court incorporated its previous holding that

Murner was CIC’s agent into Instruction No. 2,

addressing violations of the UCSPA, and Instruction

No. 3, addressing fraudulent misrepresentation.

Therefore, the jury was entitled to attribute Murner’s

conduct to CIC for liability purposes. The jury

received no instruction regarding fraud by omission,

l.e., the Hofmeisters’ allegation that CIC failed to

disclose the existence of the policy of excess insurance

coverage. Further details of the jury instructions will

be discussed as necessary in the context of the parties’

various arguments. The case was turned over to the

jury which found for the Hofmeisters on both

Instruction No. 2 and Instruction No. 3, though not

unanimously on either.

CIC filed motions for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict; for a new trial; and to alter, amend or

vacate the judgment. To the extent the bases for these

motions are relevant to this appeal, they will be

discussed infra. It is sufficient now to note only that

all post-judgment motions were denied with the

exception of the motion to reduce the punitive damages

award. ‘These appeals followed.

Il. Cincinnati Insurance Company v. Hofmeister,

2004-CA-002296

CIC presents a plethora of arguments on appeal.

Many of these arguments center on one central

question: What legal relationship exists between an

insurer and legal counsel hired to defend its insured?

Surprisingly, Kentucky has never addressed this

question squarely, but the answer is crucial to

46b

resolution of this case. After addressing this question

generally, we will apply the law to the facts of this

case, and then address CIC’s additional arguments

sertatim.

We further preface our discussion by noting two

factors that will distinguish this case from many

others. First, the underlying litigation was a

negligence action brought by a claimant seeking

restitution from a tortfeasor. It was not a contract

action brought either by the first-party insured, by a

third-party beneficiary of an insurance contract, or a

third party who stood in the shoes of the insured as a

result of an assignment. Second, the Hofmcisters

made no attempt to settle the case with Dasher prior

to the filing of the complaint. Consequently, whether

the concepts discussed here have equal application to

pre-litigation conduct will depend on circumstances

not present in this case.

A. Standard of Review

Many of the issues addressed here were preserved

in more ways than one. ‘The issues which are

dispositive of this case involve the denial of CIC’s

motions for directed verdict and for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict. The same standard

applies to both. Prichard v. Bank Josephine, 723

S.W.2d 883, 885 (Ky.App. 1987). A directed verdict or

judgment notwithstanding the verdict is appropriate

when, drawing all inferences in favor of the nonmoving

party, a reasonable jury could only conclude that the

moving party was entitled to a verdict. Buchholtz v.

Dugan, 977 S.W.2d 24, 26 (Ky.App. 1998); see also,

Bierman v. Klapheke, 9675.W.2d 16, 18 (Ky. 1998). A

reviewing court may not disturb atrial court’s decision

4AT7b

on a motion for directed verdict unless that decision is

clearly erroneous. Bierman at 18. The denial of a

directed verdict by a trial court should only be

reversed on appeal when it is shown that the verdict

was palpably or flagrantly against the evidence such

that it indicates the jury reached the verdict as a

result of passion or prejudice. Jd. at 18-19.

B. Relationship of Attorney Defending Insured

and Insurer — Generally

In Kentucky, the relationship of the insurer to the

attorney hired to defend the insured has been

discussed primarily in caselaw interpreting the Rules

of Professional Conduct, Supreme Court Rule (SCR)

3.1380. While the trial court was not inclined to

consider these cases because Murner’s professional

responsibility was not directly in issue, we believe they

are illuminating.

In American Ins. Ass’n v. Kentucky Bar Ass'n, 917

S.W.2d 568 (Ky. 1996), the insurance industry sought

permission for its insurer members to use in-house

lawyers to defend their insureds, or at least to engage

outside counsel on a “set fee” or retainer basis to

handle all litigation. Both requests were denied.

Reaffirming the sanctity of the relationship

between the insured and the attorney hired to defend

him, our Supreme Court reemphasized that “[nJo man

can serve two masters|.]” American Jns. Ass’n at 571,

quoting Kentucky State Fair Bd. v. Fowler, 310 Ky.

607, 615, 221 S.W.2d 435, 439 (1949). It is axiomatic

that a lawyer must serve his client dutifully and

loyally. Building upon that axiom, the Supreme Court

recognized that granting the industry's request would

A&b

move the attorney closer to certain “inherent pitfalls

and conflicts” that would interfere with his duty and

loyalty to the client. /d. at 571.

Inherent in all of these potential conflicts is the

fear that the entity paying the attorney, the

insurer, and not the one to whom the attorney

is obligated to defend, the insured, is controlling

the legal representation.

American Ins. Ass'n at 573 (emphasis supplied). ‘To

quell that “fear,” “[wle continue to adhere to the view

that it would be contrary to public policy to allow the

insurer to control the litigation[.]” Wheeler ov.

Creekmore, 469 S.W.2d 559, 563 (Ky. 1971).

American Ins. Ass'n was not the first time we

rejected a “rule |that] would be inimical to the

preservation of traditional and longstanding concepts

associated with attorney-client relationship, as

recognized by Kentucky law.” American Continental

Ins. Co. v. Weber & Rose, P.S.C., 997 S.W.2d 12, 13

(Ky.App. 1998) (rejecting excess insurer’s claim of

right to sue its insured’s attorney for malpractice).

Our courts simply cannot ignore Kentucky’s consistent

refusal to allow the insurer any right to control the

attorney’s independent manner of representing its

insured. That independence has a long history.

In New Independent Tobacco Warehouse, No. 3 v.

Latham, 282 5.W.2d 846 (Ky. 1955), our highest court

said that the “general rule is the services of a

professional man, such as a lawyer... are rendered

under an independent contract|.]” Jd. at 848. That ts,

a lawyer is one “who follows [his] employer's desires

only as to results of work, and not as to means

4Yb

whereby it is to be accomplished.” Romero v.

Administrative Office of Courts, 157 S.W.3d 638, 642

(Ky. 2005), quoting BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY 770 (6th

ed. 1990). These same rules apply when an insurer

selects and pays an attorney to represent its insured.

The Tennessee Supreme Court accurately described

the relationship:

In the typical situation in which an insurer

hires an attorney to defend an insured, the

relationship of the insurer and its attorney is

precisely that of principal to independent

contractor. [T]he attorney is engaged in the

distinct occupation of practicing law ... one in

which the attorney possesses special skill and

expertise. [T]he attorney generally supplies his

or her place of work and tools; the attorney is

employed and paid only for the cases of

individual insureds; and he or she alone,

consistent with ethical obligations to ensure

competence and diligence in the representation,

determines the time to be devoted to each case

Finally, and obviously, the practice of law is not,

nor could it be, part of the regular business of

an insurer.

Givens v. Mullikin ex rel. Estate of McElwaney, 75

S.W.3d 383, 393-94 (Tenn. 2002); see also, Sam Ilorne

Motor & Implement Co. v. Gregg, 279 S.W.2d 755,

756-57 (Ky. 1955)(factors for determining independent

contractor status); see also, Vires v. Dawkins Log &

Mill Co., 240 Ky. 550, 42 S.W.2d 721, 722 (Ky.

1931)(“independent contractor is . . . independent of

his employer in the execution of his work, and may

labor at the times and in the manner he prefers.”)

50b

Clearly, the factor most critical to the attorney’s

retention of his status as an independent contractor,

vis-a-vis the insurer, is the attorney’s retention of

control over the means by which he accomplishes the

insurer’s desired result — defense of its insured. Home

Ins. Co. v. Henderson Lodge, No. 732, Loyal Order of

Moose, 201 Ky. 522, 257 S.W. 422, 423 (Ky. 1923)(“If

lone] is merely subject to the control or direction of the

[employer] as to the result to be obtained, he is [still]

an independent contractor. If [one] is subject to the

control of the employer as to the means, he is not an

independent contractor.”)(quotation marks and

citation omitted). We conclude that the relationship of

an attorney hired to defend an insured relative to the

insurer that hired him, at least initially, is that of

independent contractor."

As a general rule, an employer is not liable for the

torts of an independent contractor in the performance

of his job. Miles Farm Supply v. Ellis, 878 S.W.2d 803,

$04 (Ky.App. 1994). While general rules often have

philosophical or logical origins, their exceptions

typically are born of practical realities. Therefore, we

cannot ignore the practical reality that an insurer may

'* This same conclusion has been reached by many of our sister

states. See, Herbert A. Sullivan, Inc. v. Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 439

Mass. 387, 788 N.E.2d 522, 539-41 (Mass. 2003)Where lawyer

“controls the strategy, conduct, and daily details of the defense. . .

an insurer cannot be vicanously liable for the lawyer’s

negligence.”), and cases etted therein, and, Ingersoll-Rand Equip.

Corp. v. Transportation Ins. Co.,963 F.Supp. 452, 454-55 (M.D. Pa.

1997)(“The attorney’s ethical obligations to his or her client, the

insured, prevent the insurer from exercising the degree of control

necessary to justify the imposition of vicarious liability”), and

cases cited therein.

Dib

seck to exercise actual control of an attorney’s work,

even though lacking the right to do so. Our common

law embraces that possibility.

Long ago, Kentucky recognized that if a principal

lacking the right of control nevertheless “personally

interferes with, undertakes to do, manage or control

the work of the independent contractor, he thereby

destroys the relationship of independent contractor.”

Madisonville, H. & E.R. Co. v. Owen, 147 Ky. 1, 148

S.W. 421, 424 (Ky. 1912). The independent contractor

would thus convert to an employee or agent. Our

review of authority reveals that Kentucky independent

contractors, once possessed of the right to control their

own work, are not inclined to relinquish that right to

the employer. In fact, we failed to discover any case in

which that has occurred.”

However low the rate at which typical independent

contractors relinquish the right to control their own

work, logic compels the conclusion that the rate would

be even lower when that right is coupled with a duty.

Unlike other independent contractors, the attorney

who relinquishes the right to control will perforce

violate his duty under the Rules of Professional

Conduct, Rule 1.8(f)(2), and “clearly subject himself to

severe discipline.” Summit v. Mudd, 679 S.W.2d 225,

226 (Ky. 1984). An attorney's maintenance and

' Several cases, notably United Engineers & Constructors, Inc. v.

Branham, 550 S.W 2d 540 (Ky. 1977), reaffirm the longstanding

rule that “the main dispositive criterion is whether it is

understood that the alleged principal or master has the right to

control the details of the work.” /d. at 543 (emphasis supplied).

llere we are speaking of a different concept — the principal's

exercise of control despite having no right to do so.

o2b

protection of his independent contractor status is thus

additionally reinforced. We therefore agree with our

sister court that “cases in which an insurer may be

held liable under an agency theory will be rare

indeed.” Givens at 395.

We also believe Givens indicates the proper

standard for determining whether the insurer has

exercised actual control of the attorney despite lacking

the right to do so. Such control must be invidious in

that it “affect[s] the attorney’s independent

professional judgment .. . interfere[s] with the

attorney’s unqualified duty of loyalty to the insured, or

... present[s] a reasonable possibility of advancing an

interest that would differ from that of the insured.”

Givens at 695.

We now apply these criteria to the facts of this case.

C. Whether the Trial Court Erred in Failing to

Direct a Verdict That Murner Was Not CIC’s

Agent

The trial court concluded that Murner was CIC’s

agent for purposes of settlement negotiations. CIC

claims that ruling was error. We agree.

The trial court did not engage in the analysis

indicated above, but instead applied the reciprocal

analysis of whether Murner was CIC’s agent. Whereas

independent contractor status is shown by the absence

of the principal’s control over the work to be

performed, agency is shown by its presence. Just as

with the independent contractor analysis, “the right to

control is considered the most critical element in

determining whether an agency relationship exists.”

Phelps v. Louisville Water Co., 103 S.W.3d 46, 50 (Ky.

2003)\(citation and quotation marks _ omitted).

Therefore, the trial court’s analytical approach was

effectively the same as ours.

During oral argument of the issue, the trial court

stated, “[I]}t’s pretty clear to me that Mr. Murner was

controlled and guide? by Cincinnati Insurance

Company in terms of settling this case.” (Emphasis

supplied). The trial court determined that CIC

exercised sufficient control over Murner to make him

CIC’s agent based on the following three facts alone:

(1) “Murner was hired by Defendant [CIC] to

represent Dasher;”

(2) “Murncer was required to report to [CIC];”

and

(3) CIC “would have to approve any

settlement offers [recommended by

Murner].”

Having examined the record and finding no additional]

facts that would reinforce this list, we conclude that

CIC was entitled to a directed verdict that Murner was

not CIC’s agent.

Respectfully, we believe the learned trial judge

erred by not considering closely enough just what

caused these three facts to occur. The trial court

concluded they occurred because an = agency

relationship existed between Murner and CIC. But

the record reveals that none of these three facts was

intended as a means by which CIC would exercise

control over Murner as its agent. Instead, each fact

54b

relates directly to a specific duty created by the

insurance contract between CIC and Dasher. The

contract and these duties existed well before CIC

engaged Murner as Dasher’s legal counsel.

The insurance contract created specific reciprocal

duties that CIC and Dasher were required to satisfy

when certain claims of Dasher’s liability were

asserted. CIC’s duty was to defend such claims and to

satisfy the legitimate ones. These duties were

conditioned upon Dasher’s satisfaction of its own duty

to cooperate with CIC “in the investigation, settlement

or defense of the claim[.]” ‘To be entitled to the

benefits of its bargain with CIC, Dasher had to obtain

CIC’s approval of any settlement it expected CIC to

pay. At the same time, however, the contract did not

prohibit Dasher from paying a claim without CIC’s

approval and outside the contract — that is, by utilizing

any other Dasher asset to settle the Hofmceisters’

demands — but such a payment would be, according to

the insurance contract, “at the ‘insured’s’ own cost.”’®

'° We should not forget that a contract of liability insurance is

simply an asset from which a liability may be satisfied. See,

Hillman v. American Mut. Liability Ins. Co.,631S.W.2d 848, 848

(Ky. 1982)iability insurance policy was tortfeasor’s “only

assetl.|"). Accident victims assert claims against alleged

tortfeasors, not directly against the tortfeasor’s insurer. Nothing

prevents a tortfeasor’s satisfaction of a claim from his assets other

than insurance. [tissimply because use of an insurance asset has

the least disruptive effect on the continued operation of a business

that it is naturally the first asset a business considers when

contemplating claims settlement. However, whether to actually

utilize that asset first remains the option of the business. It is not

the option of the accident victim or his attorney to demand that

the claim be satisfied from a contract of insurance.

CIC performed its duty to defend Dasher by

selecting and agreeing to pay Murner to serve as

Dasher’s legal counsel. Experience tells us that an

insurer is better able than its insured to select legal

counsel to represent that insured. State Farm Mut.

Auto. Ins. Co. v. Marcum, 420 S.W.2d 113, 120 (Ky.

1967)Gnsurer is “a professional defender of law

suits|.]”), overruled on other grounds, Manchester Ins.

& Indem. Co. v. Grundy, 531 S.W.2d 493 (Ky. 1975).

Our courts will not penalize a party because he

prudently authorized his experienced insurer to select

the night attorney to defend him. Asbury v. Beerbower,

589 S.W.2d 216, 217 (Ky. 1979)(An insured who “has

paid an insurance company to exercise that choice for

him... should not be penalized for his prudence in

that respect.”). We are not surprised that such

prudence was exercised in this case. When Dasher

paid its premium, it purchased CIC’s expertise in

selecting an attorney and, when a claim was asserted,

CIC performed. It simply makes no sense to conclude

that CIC’s performance of its duty to select Dasher’s

attorney also supports a finding that the attorney

thereby became CIC’s agent. Absent evidence that

there was more to such selection and compensation

than satisfaction of a duty to Dasher, we cannot

conclude that this fact supports a finding that CIC

controlled Murner.

The trial court and the Hofmeisters next place

much reliance upon Murner’s cooperation with CIC

and the acknowledgment that he routinely obtained

CIC’s approval before offering settlement to the

Hofmeisters. This reliance is misplaced.

As Dasher’s agent, Murner had a duty to follow

Dasher’s instructions. If Murner’s cooperation with

56b

CIC had been contrary to Dasher’s instructions, that

would support an argument for Murner’s role as CIC’s

agent. But nothing in the record suggests such a thing

occurred. Murner’s cooperation with CIC was

consistent with the duty he owed to his client, Dasher;

it was consistent with Dasher’s duty to CIC; it was

consistent with Murner’s relationship to CIC as an

independent contractor. See, Latham, supra, 282

S.W.2d at 848 (Fact that employer and independent

contractor engaged in “daily conferences merely

represented the [employer’s] right to see that the work

was progressing .. . and does not militate against the

idea Latham was an independent contractor.”).

The same can be said for Murner’s act of obtaining

CIC’s approval before settlement was offered. Murner

was, again, simply carrying out the contractual duty

his chent owed CIC.

Jt is also clear that Murner was not functioning as

CIC’s claims adjuster. ‘The respective roles of the

insured’s attorney and the insurer’s claims adjuster

are entirely distinguishable. The adjuster’s

fundamental role ts to settle the claim apart from

litigation; the attorney’s is to effectively conduct a

defense in the lhtigation. The adjuster owes no

independent loyalty to the insured apart from that

owed by the insurer. The attorney’s loyalty to his

insured client is paramount. And, unlike the attorney

whose conduct is controlled by his oath, the adjuster

receives direction and authority from the insurer,

which is why he has been deemed the insurer’s agent.

Fidelity & Guaranty Ins. Underwriters, Inc. v. Gregory,

387 S.W.2d 287, 289 (Ky. 1965). Furthermore,

57b

the adjuster and the claimant usually deal

directly with one another. If their negotiations

fail, the adjuster negotiates with plaintiffs

counsel, and even after litigation is begun, the

adjuster frequently deals. directly wit!

plaintiffs counsel.

Gatilor vu. Alsabi, 990 S.W.2d 597, 608 (Ky.

1999)(Lambert, C.J., dissenting).

Our conclusion that CIC did not control Murner is

also strengthened by the undeniable fact that Murner

and Dasher enjoyed an attorney-client relationship.

When Murner' undertook Dasher’s legal

representation, he became Dasher’s agent, not CIC’s.

Douthitt v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of America, 235 Ky.

328, 31 S.W.2d 377, 379 (1930)(“an attorney is an

agent of his client”). Kentucky has always jealously

guarded the attorney-client relationship, for while

“[t}he relationship is generally that of principal and

agent... the attorney lowes his client] a higher duty

than any ordinary agent owes his_ principal.”

Daugherty v. Runner, 581 S.W.2d 12, 16 (Ky.App.

1978). As described supra, Murner’s relinquishment

of control to CIC would have required that he abdicate

his professional responsibility, abandon his true

principal, and jeopardize his career.

We conclude that where there is no evidence other

than the fulfillment of those duties existing between

the lawyer and the insured as his client, and the

fulfillment of those duties existing between the

insured and the insurer, there can be no finding of an

agency relationship between the insurer and the

attorney it hires to defend its insured. These duties

exist and will be carried out in every case of this

58b

nature. If we held that these facts alone would

support a finding that the insurer controlled the

attorney, not only would we have to conclude that the

attorney is always the insurer’s agent, we would be

inviting, if not requiring, the very conflicts our caselaw

and cthical rules seek to avoid. See, e.g., American Ins.

Ass'n, supra; Kentucky Rules of Professional Conduct,

(SCR) 3.130(1.7) and (1.8).

For their part, the Hofmeisters assert that

additional evidence does exist. They claim Murner

became directly involved in deciding whether CIC’s

policy covered his client’s employee. Examination of

the record does not support more than their attorney’s

argument to that effect, and the unrefuted evidence of

record contradicts the assertion. In his testimony,

Murner made the point, and we believe correctly, that

the scope-of-employment issue (critical to his client’s

common law liability to Hofmeister) and the coverage

issue (critical to CIC’s contractual liability to Clark as

a third-party beneficiary) were independent

considerations, and that his focus was on the former.

Murner’s opinion regarding scope of employment may

have affected CIC’s decisions regarding coverage, but

that alone will not support an agency relationship

between CIC and Murner.

The Hlofmeisters also believe that CIC should be

judicially estopped from denying the agency

relationship because of a prior assertion in this same

proceeding that CIC’s communications with Murner

were privileged. We disagree. “The judicial estoppel

doctrine... prevent[s} a party from taking a position

inconsistent. with one successfully and unequivocally

asserted by the same party in a prior proceeding.”

Colston Investment Co. v. Home Supply Co., 71S.W.3d

59b

759, 763 (Ky.App. 2001)(emphasis supplied). Even if

we were to expand the doctrine to include inconsistent

positions within the same proceeding, we certainly

could not do so selectively. We would have to apply

the doctrine cqually to the Hofmeisters who sought to

avoid the attorney-client privilege by arguing below

that Murner was not CIC’s attorney. To use the

Hofmeisters’ attorney’s words, “As this Court is well

aware, an attorney can only represent the insured.”

The Hofmeisters next argue that Murner had either

actual or apparent authority to bind CIC in settlement

negotiations. Though the brief makes virtually no

reference to the record on this point, our examination

does not disclose evidence to justify such a conclusion.

Until the complaint was amended in mid-August 2001,

there was no claim against CIC to be settled. After

that point, attorney Risley was hired to represent CIC.

We find it difficult to understand this argument under

these circumstances. Evidence that Murner sought a

release that would include CIC, and even evidence that

Murner conveyed information to Golden that CIC

would be responsible for negotiating Hofmeister’s PIP

settlement, is not inconsistent with Murner’s

independent contractor status vis @ vis CIC.

However, the trial court, citing Clark v. Burden,

917 S.W.2d 574 (Ky. 1996), appears to have accepted

this last argument. We believe that case is inapposite.

The attorney with settlement authority at the center

of Clark represented the tort claimant. Jd. at 575.

The only other attorney involved represented the joint

tortfeasors and not either of their insurers. Jd. In

fact, no insurer is mentioned at all. Clark simply

stands for the proposition that, under proper

circumstances, an attorney can bind his client. CIC

60b

was not Murner’s client. Excluding a sort of circular

argument, we simply cannot see how Clark supports

the finding the CIC exercised the kind of control over

Murner that would have made Murner its agent.

The Hofmeisters’ argument that Murner could bind

CIC in settlement reveals a fundamental confusion

about the nature of the underlying claim. An

automobile accident gives rise to a tort claim against

the tortfeasor, but not any kind of claim against that

tortfeasor’s insurer (unless, of course, the claimant is

also an insured under the same policy). The accident

victim has no right, prior to obtaining a judgment

against the tortfeasor, to assert a direct claim to

insurance policy proceeds. Central Mut. Ins. Co. v.

Pippen, 271 Ky. 280, 111 S.W.2d 425, 426 (Ky. 1937);

cf, Wheeler v. Creekmore, 469 S.W.2d 559, 564 (Ky.

1971)(where one jurist lamented the fact that an

insurance contract is not “viewed as one vesting in the

injured third party a direct cause of action;” Osborne,

J., concurring). Consequently, CIC had no liability in

the underlying tort action that would have required

negotiation or compromise. Ifthere had been evidence

that Murner had authority to bind CIC, it would have

been, at best, merely incidental to his duty to defend

Dasher

The record is devoid of any evidence that CIC

exercised any actual control, invidious or otherwise,

over the means by which Murner accomplished his

representation of Dasher, including his efforts toward

settlement of the tort claim. These settlement efforts

are best characterized as an uppropriate attempt by

Dasher’s attorney, utilizing a Dasher asset (the

contract of insurance), in accordance with contract

61b

terms requiring Dasher’s cooperation and CIC's

approval, to settle a tort claim against his client."

We therefore agree with CIC that the trial court

erred by denying its motion for directed verdict that

Murner was not CIC’s agent. Murner began and

maintained his representation of Dasher as CIC’s

independent contractor. Consequently, the general

rule prevails and CIC is not vicariously lable for any

of Murner’s actions undertaken in the performance of

his representation of Dasher. Miles Farm Supply v.

Ellis, 878 S.W.2d 803, 804 (Ky.App. 1994).

D. Whether the Trial Court Erred in Failing to

Direct a Verdict in Favor of CIC on the Claim

of Fraudulent Misrepresentation

CIC asserts the trial court erred by denying its

motion for directed verdict on the Hofmeisters’ claim

of fraudulent misrepresentation. We agree.

Common law fraudulent misrepresentation

requires proof of six elements: “(1) that the declarant

made a material misrepresentation to the plaintiff, (2)

that this misrepresentation was false, (3) that the

declarant knew it was false or made it recklessly, (4)

'’ In view of our holding, we need not rely on the alternative basis

for reversal that the record ts completely devoid of evidence

sufficient to constitute the required mutual “manifestation of

consent” that Murner serve as CIC’s agent. Phelps v. Louisville

Water Co., 103 S.W.3d 46, 50 (Ky. 2003). Without contradiction,

Murner testified that he never consented to have either his

litigation conduct or his settlement conduct controlled by CIC, and

that his loyalty to his client was never compromised by any

obedience to CIC inconsistent with his duty as Dasher’s attorney

62b

that the declarant induced the plaintiff to act upon the

misrepresentation, (5) that the plaintiff relied upon

the misrepresentation, and (6) that’ the

misrepresentation caused injury to the plaintiff.”

Radioshack Corp. v. ComSmart, Inc., 222 5.W.3d 256,

262 (Ky.App. 2007). There must be clear and

convincing proof of each of these elements. With

regard to at. least three of these elements, the proof

was entirely lacking. Therefore, the trial court’s denial

of a directed verdict and judgment notwithstanding

the verdict was clearly erroneous.

The trial court adopted the Hofmeisters’ proposed

fraud instruction language which misidentified the

misrepresentation as “that there was only one (1)

million dollars in insurance coverage|.|""* They

claimed Murner made this statement as CIC’s agent in

his letter to Golden dated May 18, 2000. We have

already determined that Murner was not an agent of

CIC, but its independent contractor. Thus CIC is not

vicariously liable for that statement. It is not

debatable that no other CIC representative made such

a statement. CIC cannot be the declarant of the

alleged actionable representation. Therefore, no

'’ There is atechnical difference between the instruction’s wording

and the actual language the Hofmeisters alleged misled them

that their $1.5-million demand was “in excess of the policy limits

provided by Dasher’s insurance carrier|.!” The October 14, 2002,

settlement conference is the first time the record reflects that

either Murner or CIC represent that the limits of the policy CIC

wrote for Dasher were $1,000,000. CIC proposed more generally

that the instruction simply ask the jury to determine whether CIC

had misrepresented “pertinent facts” regarding insurance

coverage. Jury instructions identifying the alleged representation

must portray it with accuracy

63b

evidence supports the first element of fraudulent

misrepresentation — that CIC made a material

misrepresentation

The Hofmeisters respond by arguing that even if

Murner was an independent contractor, CIC can still

be liable for fraudulent misrepresentation on its own

account. Arguing for what might be termed reverse

engineering of the tort, they urge us to conclude that

the jury inferred fraudulent misrepresentation from

CIC’s breach of its duty to disclose that Dasher had

another asset to satisfy their claim, t.e., the excess

policy. ‘This presumes a duty to disclose. However, the

duty to disclose describes an element of the different

tort of fraudulent concealment requiring proof of

“substantially different elements.” Rivermont Inn, Inc.

vu. Bass Hotels & Resorts, Inc., 113 S.W.3d 636, 641

(Ky.App. 2003)

Disregarding, arguendo, that the jury was not

instructed as to the tort of fraudulent concealment,

and further equating fraudulent concealment with

fraudulent representation, cf, Bankers Bond Co. v

Cox, 263 Ky. 481, 92 S.W.2d 790, 792 (1936)(such

concealment was in fact a false representation”), we do

not find merit. in either of the Hofmeisters’ arguments

that CIC owed them such a duty

The Hofmeisters quote Williams v. Kentucky Dept

of Educ., 113 S.W.3d 145 (Ky. 2003), for the

proposition that “when the principal is under a duty to

provide protection for others and confides the

performance of that duty to a servant... who causes

harm to them by failing to perform that duty, vicarious

liability attaches even if the agent or subagent is not

a servant, /.e., is an independent contractor” such as

64b

Murner. /d. at 151. We believe Williams is not

helpful. While an accurate quote, this is not an

accurate reflection of the holding.

In Williams, two students skipped school and were

involved in an automobile accident resulting in the

death of one student. The student’s estate sought

relief against the Kentucky Department of Education

(DOE) claiming negligent supervision. The principal

issue in Williams was DOE’s defense that

local boards of education are not agents of the

DOE but are separate and distinct agencies of

the Commonwealth assigned to perform

separate and distinct functions, t.e., they are

co-agents; and, thus, the DOE is not vicariously

liable for the failures of employees of local

boards|.]

Id. at 152. The principal holding in Williams was a

rejection of that argument.

From the language and structure of this

statutory scheme, we conclude that the

legislative intent was to vest the overall

management, operation, and control of the

common schools in the DOE, with the local

hoards of education functioning as agents of the

DOE .. . . Thus viewed, the statutory

relationship between the DOE and the local

board was more akin to that of princtpal-agent

than to that of co-agents.

Id. at 154 (emphasis supphed). The issues had

nothing to do with independent contractors. The

65b

language upon which the Hofmeisters rely is mere

dicta.

Furthermore, we believe the Hofmeisters

misinterpret these dicta. They argue this language

supports a holding that CIC owed a duty to “provide

protection” to them by disclosing the existence of a

potential source of recovery for a liability they had yet

to establish. We bclicve no such duty exists. Cf,

National Sur. Corp. v. Hartford Cas. Ins. Co., 493 F.3d

752, 760-61 (6 Cir. 2007)(a slightly different concept;

“no Kentucky court has recognized a duty” nor is there

“any reason why the Kentucky Supreme Court would

impose a duty on an insurance company [even] to

investigate whether its insured has other insurance

coverage.”). Support for our view can be found by

reading Williams more closely.

The Williams quote, referencing a duty to provide

protection for others, is based on RESTATEMENT

(SECOND)OF AGENCY § 251 (1958). Contrary to the

Hofmeisters’ suggestion, that section does not describe

a manner in which vicarious liability may be created

absent an agency relationship. As even the caption to

§ 251 illustrates, the kind of liability being described

presumes the agency relationship already exists.

RESTATEMENT (SECOND)OF AGENCY, supra, § 251

(“Liability For Physical Harm Caused By A|n]| Agent;”

emphasis supplied).

' Generally, RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF AGENCY § 251 describes

the liability of a party who, once owing a non-delegable duty of

protection to a third person, cannot avoid liability on agency law

grounds for the injury to that third person resulting from the

negligence of an agent, regardless of whether the agent is a

servant or a non-servant.

66b

The Hofmeisters argue that there is an alternate

source for CIC’s duty. Citing Smith v. General Motors

Corp., 979 S.W.2d 127 (Ky.App. 1998), the Hofmeisters

claim CIC’s duty arose “from a partial disclosure of

information, [or] from particular circumstances such

as where one party to a contract has superior

knowledge and is relied upon to disclose same.” Smith

at 129 (emphasis supplied). Neither argument has

merit.

Taking the latter first, the “superior knowledge”

argument requires that the “defrauder” and the

“defraudee” be parties to the same contract. We

should not have to point out that the Hofmeisters and

CIC were not in privity.

The “partial disclosure” argument also fails. ‘The

Ilofmeisters maintain that Murner’s letter constitutes

a disclosure about insurance coverage that, because it

was only partially true, was a false representation of

the whole truth. See, Dennis v. Thomson, 240 Ky. 727,

43 S.W.2d 18, 23 (1931). Therefore, goes their

argument, CIC had a duty to supplement Murner’s

information with a disclosure of the excess policy. The

problem with this argument, whether under a theory

of fraudulent concealment or fraudulent

misrepresentation, is that the Hofmeisters’ reliance on

the information conveyed must be reasonable.

The reliance element contained in Jury Instruction

No. 3(f) carried with it the implicit requirement that

the reliance be reasonable. Harralson v. Monger, 206

S.W.3d 336, 341 (Ky.2006)(“[Bllind reliance . . . fails

the fifth requirement of fraud — reasonable reliance

upon the claimed fraudulent act.”). (Emphasis

supplied). Based on the record before us, the

67b

Hofmeisters’ reliance on their own or their attorney’s

impression of Murner’s letter was unreasonable for

several reasons.

Murner testified that when he learned Dasher had

an excess policy, he told Golden about it, not once but

twice. Golden did not take the stand to refute Murner,

nor did the Hofmeisters present any other evidence

contradicting Murner’s testimony. Even if the jury

chose to disregard Murner’s testimony entirely, we are

left with the transcript of the settlement negotiations,

conducted on October 14, 2002, and attended by

Golden, showing that the excess policy was referenced

one-and-a-half dozen times. These references occurred

before the conditions Golden placed on settlement were

met and, theretore, before the Hofmeisters were legally

committed to accept Dasher’s settlement offer. In fact,

after October 14, 2002, substantial issues remained

and the Hofmeisters had to move the trial court to

decide one of the issues remaining between the

Hofmeisters’ and Clark’s insurers. The settlement

agreement itself was not finalized until December

2002.

Most significantly, tt is well established that “[ilf

the truth or falsehood of the representation might have

been tested by ordinary vigilance and attention, it is

the party’s own folly if he neglected to do so, and he is

remediless.” Bassett v. Nattonal Collegiate Athletic

Ass’n., 428 F.Supp.2d 675, 684 (E.D.Ky. 2006), quoting

Mayo Arcade Corp. v. Bonded Floors Co., 240 Ky. 212,

41 S.W.2d 1104, 1109 (1931). ‘The case cited most

frequently in Kentucky for this point of law ts one of

our earliest. In Moore v. Turbeville, 2 Bibb 602, 5 Ky.

602, 1812 WL 644, 5 Am. Dec. 642 (Ky. 1812), our high

court said:

68b

[Wjhere an ordinary attention would be

sufficient to guard against in:position, the want

of such attention is, to say the least, an

inexcusable negligence. To one thus supinely

inattentive to his own concerns, and

improvidently and credulously confiding in the

naked and interested assertions of another, the

maxim “uvigilantibus non dormientibus jura

subveniunt,” emphatically applies, and opposes

an insuperable objection to his obtaining the aid

of the law.

Moore, 5 Ky. at 604.

In the two and one-half years of substantial

discovery that occurred in this case, the Hofmeisters

elected never to seek discovery of the extent of

Dasher’s insurance as authorized by CR 26.02(2). We

believe use of CR 26.02(2) perfectly illustrates the kind

of “ordinary vigilance and attention” expected by this

rule of law. On May 22, 2000, the Hofmeisters’

attorney was “a little surprised” by Murner’s

representation of insurance.” This uneasiness could

have been eliminated if only the Hofmeisters had

asked for insurance information when they prepared

and served discovery requests nine days later on May

31, 2000.°’ Failing to exercise that ordinary diligence

at any time throughout the litigation, the Hofmeisters

“’ Mr. Hofmeister testified that he too was surprised and, in

response to Golden’s examination at trial said, “I asked you to ask

them about that |excess coverage] because I was surprised that

they didn’t have more insurance.”

“' They ignored the same opportunity when they served discovery

requests in September 2000 and May 2001.

69b

can claim no more than that theirs was the kind of

“blind reliance” deemed unsatisfactory in Harralson,

supra.

In response, the Hofmeisters cite Meyers v. Monroe,

312 Ky. 110, 2268.W.2d 782 (1950), for the proposition

that CIC “cannot escape on the ground that the

complaining party should not have trusted him[.]” /d.

at 785. They fail to note that Bankers Bond Co. v. Cox,

263 Ky. 481, 92 S.W.2d 790 (1936), relied upon as

authority in Meyers, applies this concept only “where

the one claiming to be deceived is not shown to have at

hand any reasonably available means of determining

the truth of representations made to him|.}” Id. at 792.

Clearly, the Hofmeisters do not fall in the category of

claimants contemplated by Meyers. Proof of the fifth

element of fraudulent misrepresentation — reasonable

reliance — is therefore entirely lacking.

There is yet a third element of fraudulent

misrepresentation that entirely lacks proof in this

case. There is no evidence that Murner knew the

statement to be false when made on May 18, 2000.

The Hofmeisters offered no evidence at all to refute

Murner’s testimony that he did not know of the

existence of the excess insurance until later.” The

“The Hofmeisters argue in their brief that Murner admitted that

he kept the excess carrier “in the loop the entire time.” They

suggest this statement means Murner knew of the excess policy

from the time he was engaged as Dasher’s attorney. But this

veneral statement, made as it was in a general conu xt Cand, in

fact, denied by the excess carrier), is entirely consistent with

Murner’s specific testimony on this specific question. The general

statement certainly is not clear and convincing evidence that

70b

earliest documentary evidence of the excess policy is

dated June 9, 2000. Therefore, no evidence supports

the third element of fraudulent misrepresentation.

While CIC presents arguments regarding each of

the six elements of fraudulent misrepresentation, our

examination is sufficient to convince us that the

Hofmeisters could not and did not establish that claim.

The trial court erred by denying CIC’s motion for a

directed verdict on the Hofmeisters’ claim of fraud.

E. Whether the Trial Court Erred in Failing to

Direct a Verdict in Favor of CIC on the Claim

of Violations of the UCSPA

The Hofmeisters alleged violations of several

sections of the UCSPA. Although the jury was

instructed on four of those sections, the allegations boil

down to a claim that CIC did not promptly offer to pay

the Hofmeisters what their claims were reasonably

worth. See, Motorists Mut. Ins. Co. v. Glass, 996

5.W.2d 437, 454 (Ky. 1997).

This case exemplifies one of our Supreme Court’s

warnings about UCSPA claims - the fact “that the

statute is not specifically designed to accommodate

third party claims|[**] ... makes trial nearly impossible

would convince a reasonable person that Murner’s specific

testimony was a fabrication.

“In fact, KRS 304.12-230 was never intended by its creators to

establish any private right of action at all. The statute “is an

almost verbatim adoption of the 1971 version of the model act

formulated by the National Association of Insurance

Commissioners (NAIC)[.]” Davidson v. American Fretightways,

T1b

and appellate review most difficult.” Glass at 460

(Lambert, C.J., dissenting). However, we have some

clear guidance in Wittmer v. Jones, 864 S.W.2d 885

(Ky. 1993) -— “the leading case on ‘bad faith’ in

Kentucky.” Davidson v. American Freightways, Inc. , 25

S.W.3d 94, 99 (Ky. 2000). Applying Wittmer, we have

no difficulty concluding that the trial court erred in

failing to grant a directed verdict in favor of CIC.

Justice Leibson’s opinion in Wittmer was “the

culmination of the development of ‘bad faith’ hability

in our jurisprudence.” Jd. Writing for a unanimous

Court, “Justice Leibson gathered all of the bad faith

liability theories under one roof and established a test

applicable to all bad faith actions, whether brought by

a first-party claimant or a third-party claimant, and

whether premised upon common law theory or a

statutory violation.” /d. at 100.

Inc., 25 S.W.3d 94, 96 (Ky. 2000). It was intended by its drafters

only as regulatory measure to assist state insurance

administrators. NAIC emphasized the “original intent” of this

model act when it issued this warning to legislatures: “A

jurisdiction choosing to provide for a pnvate cause of action should

consider a different statutory scheme. This Act ts inherently

inconsistent with a private cause of action.” NAIC Model Law,

Regulations and Guidelines, Unfair Claims Settlement Practices

A.*, NAIC 900-1, Section 1. Purpose, Drafting Note (January

2008); see also NAIC 900-9 (January 2008), citing Proceedings of

the NAIC, 1989 Proc. II 204. As a consequence, Kentucky is in

that distinct minority of states that recognizes a private right «f

action for violations of the UCSPA. See Hovet v. Allstate Ins. Co.,

135 N.M. 397, 89 P.3d 69, 76-77 (2004 allowing private right of

action but requiring first that “there has been a judicial

determination of the insured’s fault and the amount of damages

awarded in the underlying negligence action.”).

72b

We start with the proposition that there is

no such thing as a “technical violation” of the

UCSPA, at least in the sense of establishing a

private cause of action for tortious misconduct

justifying a claim of bad faith:

[A]n insured must prove three elements

in order to prevail against an insurance

company for alleged refusal in bad faith

to pay the insured’s claim: (1) the

insurer must be obligated to pay the

claim under the terms of the policy; (2)

the insurer must lack a reasonable basis

in law or fact for denying the claim; and

(3) it must be shown that the insurer

either knew there was no reasonable

basis for denying the claim or acted with

reckless disregard for whether such a

basis existed.... [A]n insurer is ... entitled

to challenge a claim and litigate it if the

claim is debatable on the law or the facts.

Wittmer at 890 (quotation marks and citation omitted).

As it is the centerpiece of CIC’s argument, we focus

on the second element — the lack of a reasonable legal

or factual basis for denying the claim. Considering all

of the evidence in a light most favorable to the

Hofmeisters, we conclude that CIC did have a

reasonable basis for denying the Hofmeisters’ claims.

Those claims could not go forward against Dasher

without establishing that Dasher was vicariously

lrable for Clark’s acknowledged negligence. Vicarious

liability depended upon whether Clark was acting in

the scope of his employment at the time of the

73b

accident. Despite the Hofmeisters’ insistence

otherwise, the answer to that question was not clear.

Until the Hofmeisters filed their complaint nearly

a year after the accident, no one exhibited any

conviction that Clark was acting in the scope of his

employment with Dasher. He had completed his work

and gone home. He was in his own vehicle, not

Dasher’s. The Hofmeisters’ entire focus was on Clark

and Ais automobile liability insurer. Not even Clark

was sure he was working for Dasher at the time of the

accident. The record before us does not reflect that he

ever filed a workers’ compensation claim. And when

the adjuster for Hofmeister’s insurer asked Clark,

“Were you working on the job at the time [of the

accident] or were you just on personal business?” Clark

responded, “That’s uh... that’s debatable.”

After the Hofmeisters filed suit naming Dasher as

a co-defendant, their attorney insisted Dasher’s

liability was clear and it was bad faith to deny it.

However, it took two years before Dasher, Clark and

the Hofmeisters each filed summary judgment motions

asking the trial court to determine vicarious liability.

Dasher’s motion, and Dasher’s opposition to the

Hofmeisters’ and Clark’s separate motions, presented

legal and factual argument that Clark was not acting

in the scope of his employment.“

Dasher’s filing of these pleadings is litigation conduct

Litigation conduct amounting to bad faith can be sanctioned by

the trial court pursuant to the civil rules. See the discussion,

infra at Section II.F.1., of Knotts v. Zurich Ins. Co., 197 S.W.3d

512 (Ky. 2006) distinguishing litigation conduct and settlement

conduct

74b

Although the trial court eventually concluded that

Clark was acting within the scope of his employment,

Clark never accounted for, nor did the trial court

appear to consider, the fact that, in a geographic

context, the accident occurred at a point that took

Clark substantially away from the purported purpose

for the trip — to return Dasher’s keys.” In the

language of the early common law, this is an example

of a “frolic and detour.” See, e.g., Faragher v. City of

Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775, 776, 118 S.Ct. 2275, 2778,

141 L.Ed.2d 662 (1998)(referring to “the classic ‘frolic

and detour’ for which an employer has no vicarious

liability”).

Accepting the trial court’s determination that Clark

left his home in pursuit of Dasher’s business, the law

is clear that to remain in the scope of employment, he

must not have deviated from its pursuit. Sharp v.

Faulkner, 292 Ky. 179, 166 S.W.2d 62, 63 (1942). But

because Clark turned off that direct route and headed

in the opposite direction, toward Georgetown where

the accident occurred, there is a genuine question

whether he was still on his employer’s business at the

time of the accident. In Dennes v. Jefferson Meat

Market, 228 Ky. 164, 14S.W.2d 408 (1929), our highest

court considered such deviation in the context of the

employee’s use of his employer’s vehicle. Where the

employee is using his own vehicle, we believe Dennes

must apply at least equally so.

““ We set aside the substantial factual dispute whether Dasher

“ordered” Clark to return the keys, or whether he did so

voluntarily

Where deviation from the course of his

employment by the servant is slight and not

unusual, the court may, as a matter of law, find

that the servant was still executing his master’s

business. On the other hand, if the deviation is

very marked and unusual the court may

determine that the servant was not on the

master’s business at all but on his own. Cases

falling between these extremes will be regarded

as involving a question of fact for the

determination of the jury.

Dennes at 409; see also, Wyatt v. Hodson, 210 Ky. 47,

2755.W. 15, 16(1925)(master not hable for employee’s

auto accident where employe

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.