Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wallace v. Montana (No. 08-1395)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\H W

No.

Desa ry eo. .

urge Oa US

081395 may 11 2009

Bn The

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Anited States

LEN WALLACE, et al.,

Petitioners,

STATE OF MONTANA, et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Montana Supreme Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

AND APPENDIX VOLUME I

RICHARD M. STEPHENS*

*Counsel of Record

JOHN M. GROEN

SAMUEL A, RODABOUGH

BRIAN D. AMSBARY

GROEN STEPHENS &

KLINGE LLP

11100 NE 8th St., Ste. 750

Bellevue, Washington 98004

Telephone: (425) 453-6206

ARTHUR V. WITTICH

WITTICH LAW OFFICES, P.-C

602 Ferguson Ave., Ste. 5

Bozeman, Montana 59718

Telephone: (406) 585-5598

Attorneys for Wallace, et al.

JOHN E. BLOOMQUIST

DONEY CROWLEY BLOOMQUIST

PAYNE UDA P.C.

44 West 6th Ave.

P.O. Box 1185

Helena, Montana

59624-1185

Telephone: (406) 443-2211

Attorney for Kafka, et al.

WARD E. 'TALEFF

TALEFF LAW OFFICE, P.C.

P.O. Box 609

Great Falls, Montana

59403-0609

Telephone: (406) 791-9400

Attorney for Bridgewater,

et al.

Attornevs for Petitioners

COCKI.E LAW BRIEF PRINT

OR CALL COLLECT

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. When evaluating a regulatory taking under

the Court’s Penn Central factors, does presence in a

highly regulated industry preclude the reasonable-

ness of investment-backed expectations as a matter of

law?

2. For the purpose of determining whether a

regulatory taking has occurred under the Penn

Central factors, what considerations are included in

the “character of the governmental action” fa:tor?

3. Is the “character of the governmenta: action”

factor merely a rephrasing of the “economic impact”

factor and limited to a consideration of the intru-

siveness of the regulation?

4. Where state law allows a business to con-

tinue to provide its customers with a particular

service, but new legislation limits the fees the busi-

ness can charge to $0.00, thereby resulting in com-

plete destruction of the business, is there a taking

under this Court’s Penn Central jurisprudence?

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

This proceeding involves two Montana Supreme

Court actions. Petitioners include the Plaintiffs in the

first proceeding, Len and Pamela Wallace and their

business, Big Velvet Ranch. Co-plaintiffs Bruce and

Shirley Buhmann and Circle Eagle Game Farm are

not Petitioners to this Court. Petitioners also include

the Plaintiffs from the second proceeding, Kim J.

Kafka and Cindy R. Kafka as husband and wife and

as members of the Diamond K. Ranch Enterprises

L.L.C. Petitioners also include Plaintiff-Intervenors

in the second proceeding, Jack Bridgewater and Myra

Bridgewater as husband and wife and as members of

Phantom Bull Elk Ranch, L.L.C. Other Plaintiff-

Intervenors, namely Jim and Barbara Bouma, are not

Petitioners before this Court.

Respondents include the Defendants below in

both proceedings, namely the State of Montana; the

State’s Attorney General, Mike McGrath; the Director

of the State’s Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks

(DFWP), Jeff Hegener; and the DFWP itself. Respon-

dents also include Defendant-Intervenors from both

cases below, Sportsmen for 1-143 and Montana

Wildlife Federation.

The only parent companies or wholly owned

subsidiaries are the two limited liability companies

identified above. Petitioners are unaware of whether

there are any parent companies or wholly owned

subsidiaries of the Defendants or Defendant-

Intervenors.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. ........

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..................... li

CT ENE TY 656i ciséssavadscnceeasecterncaeseieveasannns 1

Pe Pe vis isiniedsiciceeec 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PRO-

Fee I BO genic denise scecccesecncceectasecness 2

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE.............. eeceeeaeeteakas 2

Factual Background Common to All................ 2

Factual Background Regarding the Wallaces.... 5

Factual Background Regarding the Kafkas..... 7

Factual Background Regarding the Bridge-

Proceedings before the Montana _ District

I cscs see see ceca ee eee 10

Proceedings before the Montana Supreme

Covi dics winivicea nateaceueedecaee nae een on een 10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 16

I. REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A SIGNIFICANT CONFLICT

AMONG STATE AND FEDERAL COURTS

ON WHETPER BUSINESS OWNERS OP-

ERATING IN A HIGHLY REGULATED

INDUSTRY CAN EVER HAVE REASON-

ABLE INVESTMENT-BACKED EXPEC-

TATIONS UNDER PENN CENTRAL. ........ 19

lv

TABLE OF CONTENTS —- Continued

Page

il. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED

TO ADDRESS CONFLICTS AMONG

LOWER COURTS REGARDING PENN

CENTRAL'S “CHARACTER OF THE GOV-

ERNMENTAL ACTION” FACTOR ............. 26

Sn ee en oa baa aineeieaees 31

APPENDICES

Volume I

Buhmann, et al. v. State of Montana, et al.,

Montana Supreme Court, No. 05-478............. App. 1

Kafka, et al. v. The Montana Department of

Fish Wildlife and Parks, et al., Montana

Supreme Court, No. 05-146.........0..0..0.00...... App. 123

Volume II

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and

Order in Buhmann, et al. v. State of

Montana, et al., Montana First Judicial

District Court, Cause No. ADV-2002-555.... App. 293

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Decree

Regarding Taking Liability in Kafka, et al. v.

The Montana Department of Fish Wildlife and

Parks, et al., Montana Twelfth Judicial District

Court, Cause No. DV-02-059 ...................006 App. 335

Order Denying Rehearing in Buhkmann, Supreme

SIS BU, Ce avid hevacn cis iesicathceceensesecscnades App. 397

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

Order Denying Rehearing in Kafka, Supreme

pe I I sioroe sca cc seveadpxciniadaicnvisesenieerss App. 399

The Complete Text of Initiative No. 143 (I-143)

from 2000 Voter Information Pamphlet —

Pages 77-79, published by the Montana

CTY OE IO ois cca sccsescsecccsccesspessesevens App. 402

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Allied-General Nuclear Services, Inc. v. United

States, 839 F.2d 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1988).................... 22

Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960) ....18, 26

Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Boston, 217

IE ss os 5 occ dea panasiinens baanobeaukdesianbaaweneosceens 29

Cienega Gardens v. United States, 331 F.3d

Re A, i INE xn su anacencvecercvusvesaesssiverenvexscvessoes 22

Cienega Gardens v. United States, 503 F.3d

BN i EP viknscsyetcssasscnrsascsessacsnhisvsrenses since

Covington & Lexington Turnpike Road Co. v.

BANGIOG, 166 U.S. STS (IGG) .....00sceccssscescosoveesesss 25

Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299

re Ca sn ba cua donadapaeneunen 25

Esposito v. South Carolina Coastal Council,

ee ee BO CREE CIT, TLD voc sccsensscscccscssccsceccsvecnsss 18

In re: Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific

st. Co., 799 F.2a 317 (7th Cir. 1966) ....................... 29

Kimball Laundry Co. v. United States, 338 U.S.

aoe glass oy cea cgay uSeidodnuckenseieabectes 29

Lingle v. Chevron USA, Inc., 544 U.S. 528

tate Ll occas beal ecunuvennuesere ieexweraucnsuneee passim

Pennsylvania Central Transportation Co. ov.

City of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978) ........... passim

Pennsylvania Coal Coa. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

NG, ce cztacecnc seks ch caaeunistucthiacksbeladvecvelonten 16, 17, 30, 31

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Rose Acre Farms, Inc. v. United States, 559

ee ee Ce Oe vices cn puneccncanbasccnncwoseens 22, 27

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986

PR oS ae 19, 20, 22

Stone v. Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co. (Railroad

Commission Cases), 116 U.S. 307 (1886)

Tennessee Scrap Recyclers Ass’n v. Bredesen,

556 F.3d 442 (6th Cir. 2009)

United Nuclear Corp. v. United States, 912 F.2d

ee ee IN es visa cancesjaccsacauensaauesccrsstenvaceesn, aa

Yancey v. United States, 915 F.2d 1534 (Fed.

Cir. 1990)

STATE CASES

Buhmann v. Montana, 201 P.3d 70, 348 Mont.

205 (2008) passim

Department of Agriculture v. Mid-Florida

Growers, Inc., 521 So.2d 101 (Fla. 1988)

In re Marriage of Hull, 712 P.2d 1317 (Mont.

1986)

Kafka v. Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife

& Parks, 201 P.3d 8, 348 Mont. 80 (2008) passim

Wensmann Realty, Inc. v. City of Eagan, 734

N.W.2d 623 (Minn. 2007)

V11)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

FEDERAL STATUTES

- Ra ED |: SaRUA EROS NIE ROSIER Awe Rn PC Se 2

STATE STATUTES

BOTT WOU. Li WE, GH. 17, 6 OS ovccecetincccecccccsecscsccvcocccsee 2

Mont. Code Ann. § 70-1-104(4).......... eee eee Moma 29

Mont. Code Ann. § 87-4-406(1).................c eee RRR R RE RoE 3

Mont. Code Amn. § 87-46-46 14(7)........cccccccccccccescescccccescsseetd

Mont. Code Ann. § 87-4-419(1)............ ccc cece ee esc eee neces 3

BEOMG. COGS AMT), F BF RoESL occccccccescccesscccccccscccveccosecceess 4

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const., amend. XIV, § 1.............. SPN eer cep eee ETE 2

MF ey 6 ic I sa ccacecccuvasetsdsdunedenenexeonceciees passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES

E. R. Claeys, The Penn Central Test and

Tenstons in Liberal Property Theory, 30

HARV. ENVTL. Li. REV. SSO (ZO0G) ......cerceseseserecresesees 17

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Montana Supreme Court in

the Wallace matter is entitled Buhmann v. Montana

and is reported at 201 P.3d 70, 348 Mont. 205 (2008),

reproduced at Appendix (App.) 1-122. The decision of

the Montana Supreme Court denying Petitioners’

petition for rehearing was issued on February 10,

2009, and is reproduced at App. 397-398. The trial

court’s Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and

Order is reproduced at App. 293-334.

The decision of the Montana Supreme Court in

Kafka v. Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife &

Parks is reported at 201 P.3d 8, 348 Mont. 80 (2008),

and is reproduced at App. 123-292. The decision of

the Montana Supreme Court denying Petitioners’

petition for rehearing was issued on February 10,

2009, and is reproduced at App. 399-401. The trial

court’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and

Decree is reproduced at App. 335-396.

o-—

JURISDICTION

The decisions of the Montana Supreme Court

denying rehearing were entered on February 10,

2009. App. 397-398; 399-401. These cases draw into

question the validity of a state statutc, enacted by

initiative as I-143 (appended as App. 402-410), on the

ground that it is repugnant to the Constitution and

laws of the United States. Therefore, this Court has

jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

This case involves the takings clause of the Fifth

Amendment to the United States Constitution:

Nor shall private property be taken for pub-

lic use, without just compensation.

ld.

This case also involves Section 1 of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

Nor shall any state deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property without due process

of law.

Id

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Factual Background Common to All

From 1917 to this day, the State of Montana

declares that game farm animals are private proper-

ty. App. 296. Moreover, Montana law provides that

the acquisition, breeding, harvest and sale of game

farm animals is a lawful “business or occupation.”

1917 Mont. Laws, ch. 173, § 84, cited in App. 188,

{ 103. Game farm animals such as elk are also

3

termed “alternative livestock.” Mont. Code Ann. § 87-

4-406(1).

The primary purpose of acquiring and breeding

elk is to sell to customers the right to enter the pri-

vate ranch to hunt and shoot a trophy elk. This was

the business of the Petitioners.

Because the Petitioners’ game farms were ex-

tremely large, the shooting of game farm elk was

similar to a hunting experience in the wild. However,

Montana law remains very clear that laws applicable

to hunting wild game animals do not apply to alter-

native livestock. See Mont. Code Ann. § 87-4-414(7).

In short, roaming these large ranches looking for an

opportunity to shoot privately owned elk is not consid-

ered “hunting” under Montana law.

For decades, Montana regulation of alternative

livestock ranching consisted of requiring licenses,

fencing, and recordkeeping of animals. Privately-

owned elk must be maintained in captivity. See Mont.

Code Ann. § 87-4-419(1). To prevent the transfer of

disease between private elk and their wild counter-

parts, the state has established various reporting,

testing, fencing, and transport regulations. App. 193,

q 109.

Until 2000, the state had never regulated the

price one could charge for the shooting of privately

owned elk at an alternative livestock ranch. Nor did

the state even require alternative livestock ranches

to obtain permission before charging fees for the

4

shooting of game on these ranches. That right was

inherent in the private ownership of the animals.

The fee charged to shoot trophy elk was the

primary source of income for alternative livestock

ranches. Some ranches raised elk to supply herds to

other ranches which sold the opportunity to shoot the

game farm animals, thereby making fees charged for

the shooting of elk the basis for their income as well.

Against this background, Montana voters in

November of 2000 enacted Initiative No. 143 (1-143).

This initiative was unabashedly intended to destroy

the alternative livestock industry, but in a “carefully

crafted” way so as to potentially avoid liability for a

regulatory taking under the Fifth Amendment.’

I-143 (App. 402) made the following changes to

Montana law. First, 1-143 repealed Mont. Code Ann.

§ 87-4-431, which previously encouraged development

of alternative livestock ranches. App. 409.° Second, it

banned the transfer of game farm licenses. Third, and

most importantly, it prohibited game farm ranches

from charging a fee to customers who seek the oppor-

tunity to shoot privately owned elk. Although the

‘ Justice Nelson, in his dissenting opinion in Kafka, quotes

the argument of counsel for the Defendant-Intervenors who

drafted 1-143. App. 197, J 114

* Former Mont. Code Ann. 87-4-431 stated: “the production

of alternative livestock provides a viable economic opportunity

for any private property owner as well as the traditional live-

stock producers who are interested in diversifying their ranch

productivity.”

privately owned elk can still be shot, the owner

cannot receive payment for providing that opportuni-

ty.

The results of I-143 were as they were intended —

a complete obliteration of the game farm industry.

Factual Background Regarding the Wallaces

Len and Pamela Wallace (hereinafter “the Wal-

laces”) moved to Ravalli County, Montana in 1991,

and purchased 3,800 acres. App. 299. Thereafter, the

Wallaces established a private elk ranch on the

property, which they later named the Big Velvet

Ranch.

Big Velvet Ranch began in 1992 after the Wal-

laces obtained a state game farm license. They then

purchased material and equipment to build enclo-

sures and facilities, removed all wild deer and elk

from their property, installed fenced enclosures,

imported elk purchased from elsewhere, and con-

structed a lodge on additional property they pur-

chased to accommodate their customers. App. 299.

In order to keep elk within their property, the

Wallaces constructed more than 25 miles of fencing

(e.g., nine-foot fences with eight-foot high tensile

mesh, as well as an electrified perimeter fence). App.

300. The state required game farms to have special-

ized handling facilities designed specifically for elk

which were not useful in the handling of any other

animals.

6

The Wallaces also purchased innovative tractor

and truck equipment to install and maintain the

fences. The Wallaces installed solar powered auto-

mated gates, and handling facilities and chutes. They

also designed and developed a prototype feed truck

that allowed one employee to deliver feed to more

than 900 animals in a single day.

Elk are susceptible to tuberculosis and brucello-

sis. After a three-year testing process, Big Velvet

Ranch was granted tuberculosis and brucellosis free

certifications. App. 299.

Elk are also susceptible to Chronic Wasting

Disease (CWD). There is no known method of testing

jive animals for CWD. App. 297. Accordingly, no herd

could be certified as being CWD-free. Nevertheless,

the Wallaces began voluntarily testing al] dead ani-

mals on the ranch for CWD in 1998, before it became

mandatory to do so. For four years thereafter, the

Wallaces tested over 700 animals for CWD, all with

negative results.

Big Velvet Ranch retained the services of veteri-

narians to care for the elk. Every elk on the ranch

was inspected, wormed, blood tested, and assessed on

an annual basis. A computer software system was

developed specifically to chart and track the health

conditions of each animal, and to comply with all

state and federal regulations.

Guests of Big Velvet Ranch paid the Wallaces

differing amounts depending on the sex of the elk and

the size of the antlers, resulting in an average of

7

$7,000 for shooting a mature bull elk (e.g., over 5

years old). These customer payments for mature bull

elk comprised the majority of Big Velvet Ranch reve-

nues. Between 1995 and 2000, Big Velvet Ranch

hosted more than 600 clients. From 1997 through

1999, the Wallaces annually harvested over 100

mature bulls on average.

On November 7, 2000, the date I-143 was

enacted, the Wallaces owned over 850 elk. The fair

market value of these elk was over $5.5 million

dollars. App. 301. However, I-143 prohibited the

Wallaces from selling their animals to clients for

shooting. Faced with the high maintenance and

feeding costs and no ongoing revenue stream, the best

the Wallaces could do was salvage some of the elk for

$238,000. App. 301. The Wallaces have been denied

any public compensation. App. 297.

Factual Background Regarding the Kafkas

The Kafkas are long-time farmers and ranchers

who own and lease real property in Hill County,

Montana. App. 337. The Kafkas’ farm and ranch

operations at the time of passage of I-143 consisted of

raising grain and beef cattie, and breeding and rais-

ing alternative livestock, primarily privately owned

elk. App. 339.

Prior to applying for an alternative livestock

ranching license, the Kafkas conducted extensive

research into the alternative livestock industry,

available markets for privately owned elk, and the

8

statutory and regulatory requirements then in effect

for raising privately owned elk in Montana.

Like the Wallaces, the Kafkas invested signifi-

cant capital to acquire privately owned elk, fences,

licenses and facilities necessary to begin the alterna-

tive livestock operation. The Kafkas’ business was

specifically structured towards marketing animals to

members of the public for shooting their elk. App.

340.

In 1999, the State issued a license to the Kafkas.

Upon receiving the license, the Kafkas began to

market their alternative livestock animals, mainly

privately owned bull elk, for shooting at the Diamond

K. Ranch. Prior to the passage of I-143, these animals

were worth $5,000 to $6,000 each. App. 349. Their

value in any limited out of state market was $1,700 to

$1,800. App. 349.

The Kafkas’ elk shooting operation was economi-

cally successful. The Kafkas were able to meet their

short-term debt obligations with their bank, regain

capital from the significant outlay for fencing expen-

ditures, acquire additional animals for fee shooting

purposes, and continue to expand their marketing

efforts after only two years of selling elk shooting

opportunities.

Upon passage of I-143, the Kafkas’ previously

legal and economically successful use of their alterna-

tive livestock animals was deemed illegal as the

Kafkas could no longer receive a fee or any other

remuneration for the shooting harvest of privately

9

owned elk on their property. In addition, as a result of

I-143, any transfer of Kafkas’ alternative livestock

ranch licenses was prohibited. As a result of I-143,

Kafkas’ game farm business has no value whatsoever.

Factual Background Regarding the Bridgewaters

Jack and Myra Bridgewater operate an alterna-

tive game farm in Broadwater County, Montana.

They operate under the name “Phantom Bull Elk

Ranch, LLC.” The Bridgewaters first became involved

in the alternative game farm business in the early

1990s. App. 355.

Similar to the other Petitioners, the Bridge-

waters received a state license to operate a game

farm. App. 355. Their focus in the alternative game

farm business was the development of trophy bull elk

for shooting purposes.

Prior to I-143’s enactment, the Bridgewaters

received an average of $8,000.00 to $9,000.00 per bull

elk. Following adoption of I-143, there is no Montana

market for the animals. Although the Bridgewaters

were able to find an out-of-state buyer for some of

their animals, the price they obtained did not cover

the cost of raising and caring for the animals. App.

177, 7 85.

As with the other Petitioners, the Bridgewaters

invested significant capital in making improvements

to their property which were unique to a game farm.

10

As a result of I-143, their business has been de-

stroyed.

Proceedings before the Mcntana District Courts

In the Wallaces’ case, the district court denied

their request for a jury trial and bifurcated the labil-

ity and damages portion of the case. A bench trial was

held from November 30, 2004 to December 2, 2004.

The district court entered its decision that I-143 did

not cause a taking of the Wallaces’ property interests

under either the Montana Constitution or the Fifth

Amendment. App. 334. The Wallaces appealed to the

Montana Supreme Court. Montana does not have an

intermediate court of appeals.

The Kafkas brought an action in another county

seeking compensation for the taking of their business.

The Bridgewaters subseguently intervened. After a

bench trial, the district court rejected their Fifth

Amendment claims. See App. 396. The Kafkas and

Bridgewaters appealed to the Montana Supreme

Court.

Proceedings before the Montana Supreme Court

Hearings in the two cases were held on the same

day, September 13, 2006. The court issued its deci-

sions on the same day, December 31, 2008. In both

cases, an identical four to three majority of the court

held that no taking had occurred as a result of 1-143.

11

The court’s decisions both hinged on whether

takings occurred based on the test announced by this

Court in Pennsylvania Central Transportation Co. v.

City of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978). In Penn Cen-

tral, this Court identified “several factors that have

particular significance” in conducting the “essentially

ad hoc, factual inquir[y]” into whether a particular

governmental action constitutes a taking. 438 US.

at 124. These factors include: “[t]he economic impact

of the regulation on the claimant,” “the extent to

which the regulation has interfered with distinct

investment-backed expectations,” and “the character

of the governmental action.” Id.

Regarding the investment-backed expectation

factor, the Montana Supreme Court held that the

Petitioners’ expectations could net be reasonable as a

matter of law. For instance, in the Kafka decision,

the court initially recognized that Petitioners had

investment-backed expectations that they could

charge a fee to shoot elk. Indeed, such expectations

formed the basis of investing “significant financial

resources on their respective operations to begin

with.” App. 179, 7 89. Nevertheless, the court found

that these expectations could not be reasonable.

According to the majority, it was unreasonable to

invest money expecting to be able to charge a fee for

shooting elk because

the state never assured appellants they

would always be permitted to charge a fee to

shoot livestock.

App. 182, J 92.

12

The court in the Wallaces’ case reached the same

conclusion. After citing cases involving highly regu-

lated industries, the court concluded that “claimants

operating in such [highly regulated] fields should

expect that the government can effectively regulate

them out of business.” App. 52-53, 7 84.

By contrast, the dissent in Kafka reasoned:

Here, the Ranchers’ investment-backed ex-

pectations certainly included the expectation

that the regulatory scheme would be ad-

justed over time, as had been the case over

the preceding 75 years. However, I-143 did

not “adjust” the regulatory scheme; rather it

rendered the scheme’s existence entirely

pointless, since none of the businesses in the

industry can survive after I-143. I cannot

agree with the Court’s fanciful suggestion

that the Ranchers should have expected the

passage of such a regulation, i.e., one that

would render all of the other existing regula-

tions moot.

App. 263, 4] 203; App. 266, {J 206.

The dissent continued its diametrically opposed

view to the majority:

The Court points out that “the State never

assured [the Ranchers] they would always be

permitted to charge a fee to shoot alternative

livestock in Montana.” Opinion, ¥ 92.

With all due respect, the foregoing prop-

osition 1s preposterous. The right to receive

remuneration, in one form or another, for

13

one’s lawful goods and services has always

been a part of this country’s economic sys-

tem. It is one thing to regulate the prices at

which goods and services may be sold, but it

is quite another to impose a price ceiling of

$0.00. No business would, or should, ever ex-

pect that the State may require it to offer its

goods and services for free.

App. 283, at | {230-31 (emphasis in original, cita-

tions omitted).

The Montana Supreme Court also wrestled with

what the “character of the governmental action”

factor entailed. The court concluded that it referred

only to the degree of intrusiveness of the government

regulation.

Thus, under the “character of the govern-

mental action” prong courts should inquire

concerning the magnitude or character of

the burden imposed by the regulation, and

determine whether it is functionally compa-

rable to governmental appropriation or inva-

sion of private property.

App. 170, q 71.

More revealing is the court’s application of that

factor. In Kafka, the court concluded:

(T]he type of intrusion upon the alternative

livestock embodied by I-143 is minimal. The

animals have not been seized by virtue of

I-143 — they still belong to the appellants.

Moreover, Appellants may still sell their an-

imals to out-of-state markets for any usage,

14

and may even allow others to shoot them in

Montana, so long as no fee is charged. It is

well-established that regulations which im-

pair or significantly decrease the profit-

able use of property do not amount to a

taking.

App. 178, { 87 (emphasis added). The dissent notes

the contradictory nature of describing the intrusion

as “minimal” and claiming that the Ranchers

“should have reasonably anticipated that the

Game Farm industry might be phased out.”

... “Phasing out” an entire industry is cer-

tainly not the result one would reasonably

anticipate from a regulation whose intrusion

on property interests is “slight” and “mini-

mally intrusive.”

App. 201, 7 119 (quoting App. 182, { 93).

Similarly, in the Wallaces’ case, the court con-

cluded:

(T]hus, from the perspective of regulatory

takings law, the character of the government

action embodied in J-143 had a minimally in-

trusive effect on appellants’ bundle of proper-

ty rights in the alternative livestock.

App. 57, 7 91.

Regarding the economic impact factor, the trial

court found and the Montana Supreme Court agreed

that the economic impact on the Wallaces was signifi-

cant. App. 323; see also App. 301 (97% reduction in

value to the alternative livestock). In Kafka, the trial

court found that the economic impact was not “se-

vere,” but was nonetheless “substantial.” App. 171-72,

at { 74. The ranchers had invested their income into

development of the ranches and, therefore, had not

yet shown a profit on their income taxes. The Mon-

tana Supreme Court, however, held:

[W]e agree with appellants that the District

Court underestimated the economic impact

that I-143 had on their alternative livestock.

Unlike their real estate interests, appellants’

(sic) have demonstrated that their alterna-

tive livestock suffered a significant devalua-

tion as a result of I-143.

App. 171-72, { 84 (recognizing that the Kafkas’ ani-

mals suffered a devaluation of 70% and the Bridge-

waters suffered a devaluation of 95%). Nevertheless,

the majority found no taking occurred.

The Dissent concluded that regulations

may incidentally impact the value of busi-

nesses in the industry, they are not even re-

motely in the same league as [-143, which

did not “regulate” alternative livestock

ranches in the usual sense, but instead delib-

erately wiped out the economic viability of

these businesses.

App. 264, { 204. Ilence, the dissent concluded that

the economic impact factor “weighs very heavily in

favor of the Ranchers’ claims.” App. 277, 4 221 (em-

phasis in original).

16

Petitioners filed separate petitions for rehearing

two weeks later pursuant to Montana Supreme Court

Rule 20. Chief Justice Karla Gray had retired at the

time the Montana Supreme Court’s decisions were

issued. The petitions for rehearing were denied on

February 10, 2009 by an evenly divided court, three

to three, with no replacement for Chief Justice Gray

to break the tie. App. 397, 400.

As evidenced by the Montana Supreme Court

opinions in these cases, the federal question as to

whether Petitioners had experienced an uncompen-

sated taking under the Fifth Amendment originated

with the original complaints they filed in state court

and ended with the Montana Supreme Court’s rejec-

tion of the claims. App. 8-9, {| 10; App. 131, { 9.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Montana Supreme Court has decided impor-

tant federal questions involving the Fifth Amend-

ment’s protection of rights in property. These

decisions, however, conflict with precedents of other

state and federal courts.

This Court’s regulatory takings jurisprudence is

often considered to have begun with Pennsylvania

Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922), although

some would argue that it significantly predates 1922."

See App. 214, 9] 140-47 (Nelson, J. dissenting)

17

Nevertheless, Mahon recognizes that regulation is a

modern necessity but still warns that regulation can

go “too far” and result in a taking. /d. at 414-15.

Fifty-six years later, in Penn Central, the Court

gave a framework for deciding whether regulation of

private property goes “too far.” That framework

involves consideration of at least three factors.’

The strength of the multi-factor Penn Central

test is its flexibility, borne out of the recognition that

regulations come in a variety of shapes, sizes and

intensity and apply to a variety of property interests

which are correspondingly diverse. Hence, the analy-

sis requires an “ad hoc factual inquiry.” Penn Central,

438 U.S. at 124.

While the strength of the Penn Central multi-

factor test may be its flexibility, that flexibility may

also be its weakness. Its flexibility can be stretched so

far out of shape that its application leads to no recog-

nizable degree of predictability. While the ability to

take into account a wide variety of facts is important,

the Penn Central test must have enough clarity to

lead to somewhat predictable results. Otherwise,

Legal scholars have argued that the Penn Central factors

were not intended to be rigid categories, but rather “serve a

modest, argument-framing function. Namely, the factors act

more or less as placeholders, which help lawyers and judges to

focus their arguments on a few considerations that everyone can

understand.” FE. R. Claeys, The Pern Central Test and Tensions

in Liberal Property Theory, 30 Harv. ENvTL. L. REV. 339, 343

(2006)

18

injustice results if one’s constitutional rights depend

completely upon the subjectivity of the decision-maker.

Judge Hall expressed a similar concern in Esposi-

to v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 939 F.2d 165

(4th Cir. 1991):

It is all too easy in a takings case to become

enmeshed in the various tests, factors, and

doctrines the Supreme Court has applied

through the years... . The Court’s “tests” are

not rigid, unforgiving yardsticks to be slav-

ishly applied notwithstanding a draconian

result. On the contrary, the tests are guide-

lines for resolving the question at the bottom

of every case: whether the claimant has been

“forci[ed] ... alone to bear [a] public burden

[| which, in all fairness and justice, should

be borne by the public as a whole.”

Id. at 172 (Hall, J. dissenting) (quoting Armstrong v.

United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960)). Here, the

complete destruction of businesses is a draconian

result.

A well-fashioned test for the protection of consti-

tutional rights must have some degree of predictabili-

ty in order to ensure that one’s rights are not

completely at the mercy of the decision-maker. Here,

the factual impacts of I-143 are not disputed, yet the

justices on the Montana Supreme Court had widely

differing views on whether the Fifth Amendment

provides protection to Petitioners. Of course, nuances

in constitutional theory may often be the subject of

differing views. However, the result of I-143 was

19

unmistakable — obliteration of Petitioners’ businesses

in a completely unprecedented fashion. Nevertheless,

a sharply divided court, using the same Fifth

Amendment precedents, cannot come anywhere close

to agreement on the constitutional implications.

Further clarity in the Penn Central test is sorely

needed, clarity which can only come from this Court.

This case presents an opportunity for the Court

to provide the needed guidance and increased clarity

to ensure justice — that one’s rights do not depend

completely upon the subjective views of the decision-

maker who will decide one’s rights.

i.

REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

A SIGNIFICANT CONFLICT AMONG STATE

AND FEDERAL COURTS ON WHETHER

BUSINESS OWNERS OPERATING IN A HIGHLY

REGULATED INDUSTRY CAN EVER HAVE

REASONABLE INVESTMENT-BACKED

EXPECTATIONS UNDER PENN CENTRAL

The Montana Supreme Court concluded that

Petitioners’ investment-backed expectations could not

be reasonable because they operated in a highly regu-

lated industry. App. 180. This conclusion is completely

at odds with several decisions of this Court and others.

For instance, Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S.

986 (1984), makes clear that the reasonableness of

one’s investment-backed expectations is influenced

most by the nature of the regulations, not by a

20

superficial characterization of one’s business as being

within a “highly regulated” category of endeavors.

In Ruckelshaus, the Court was considering

whether trade secrets were taken by an EPA regula-

tion that mandated disclosure of pesticide formulas.

Monsanto had claimed a taking of its trade secrets

under regulations during two different time periods.

This Court found that at the time the regulatory

framework put Monsanto on notice that its trade

secrets might be disclosed, the company had no

reasonable investment-backed expectation of non-

disclosure. Hence, no taking occurred during that

regulatory timeframe. Conversely, when trade se-

crets were submitted to the EPA under a regulatory

framework where confidentiality could be expected

to be maintained, the owner had a reasonable

investment-backed expectation that the trade se-

crets would remain just that — secret.

Significantly, this Court also found that the

interference with investment-backed expectations in

the latter category was so significant that a taking

was found without regard to the other Penn Central

factors, even though the pesticide manufacturing

industry was undoubtedly highly-regulated. Ruckel-

shaus, 467 U.S. at 1005, 1013-14.

The Montana Supreme Court decisions also

stand in direct conflict with cases decided by the

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, the first of

which appears to be on all fours with the Petitioners’

21

situation — Yancey v. United States, 915 F.2d 1534

(Fed. Cir. 1990).

In Yancey, turkey farmers sought compensation

under the Fifth Amendment after a federally-imposed

quarantine, premised upon disease prevention, pro-

hibited the interstate shipment of turkeys. Several

significant facts parallel the facts in the present

cases. First, the Yanceys’ turkeys were not diseased.

Id. at 1536. Neither were Petitioners’ elk. Second, the

cost of keeping the turkeys alive was cost prohibitive,

so the Yanceys sold the turkeys for slaughter and

received $20,887 for the stock. Id. The Petitioners’ elk

quickly became a financial burden in that their value

was less than the cost of maintaining them. App. 177,

q 85.

In deciding the taking question, the Yancey court

reiied on Department of Agriculture v. Mid-Florida

Growers, Inc., 521 So.2d 101 (Fla. 1988) (destruction

of healthy citrus trees to avoid spread of disease was

a compensable taking). Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1540.

The opinion below in the Wallaces’ case at-

tempted to distinguish Yancey by claiming that the

Yanceys had “no reason to expect that a healthy flock

of turkeys would have to be suddenly destroyed.”

App. 62, { 98.

This statement is simply incorrect. A month

before the Yanceys bought their flock, there was a

serious outbreak of Avian Influenza in the region. 915

F.2d at 1536. Moreover, the federal government’s

authority to impose quarantines to contro] Avian

22

Influenza dated as far back as 1962. Id. at i538.

Clearly, the possibility of disease outbreaks was

known to both the Yanceys and the Petitioners.

However, when government regulation significantly

devalues healthy animals, the Fifth Amendment

applies differently in the Federal Circuit than in

Montana.

The conflict among courts as to whether presence

in a highly regulated field precludes a regulatory

taking is also evident from the recent Federal Circuit

decision in Rose Acre Farms, Inc. v. United States,

559 F.3d 1260 ‘Fed. Cir. 2009).

In Rose Acre, the Federal Circuit found no taking

of eggs which had been quarantined, primarily be-

cause the diminution in value was merely 10%.

However, in addressing the reasonable investment-

backed expectations factor, the Court held Rose Acre

had reasonable investment-backed expectations even

though it operated in a highly regulated industry

because the new regulations supposedly causing the

taking were “unprecedented.” /d. at 1276. This deci-

sion is consistent with Ruckelshaus, but contrary to

the approach used by the Montana Supreme Court.’

* Other decisions follow the same path of reviewing the

nature of regulations. Cienega Gardens v. United States, 331

F.3d 1319, 1350-51 (Fed. Cir. 2003); United Nuclear Corp. uv.

United States, 912 F.2d 1432, 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1990).

Although the Court distinguished United Nuclear from its

earlier decisicn in Allied-General Nuclear Services, Inc. v.

United States, 839 F.2d 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1988), the resolution of

(Continued on following page)

23

In the present case, it is undisputed that prior to

passage of I-143, Montana had never regulated the

fees for shooting privately owned elk. Nevertheless,

the Montana Supreme Court concluded that game

farms had become controversial, therefore, Petition-

ers should have known that the state could “outlaw

Game Farms entirely.” App. 182, 9 92. Of course,

many businesses are controversial. That does not

mean they can be effectively regulated out of exis-

tence without compensation.

The dissent in Kafka warned of the absurd and

unfair result of the court’s reasoning in other busi-

ness endeavors, such as insurance, coal-fired electri-

cal plants, gasoline, banks, and grain farmers. App.

264-65, J 204. The potential list is unending.

Additionally, the Montana court’s conclusion that

there can be no regulatory taking under the Fifth

Amendment when the industry is highly regulated

conflicts with a long history of decisions recognizing

that takings can occur when government regulates

the prices charged by businesses, even in highly

regulated industries.

At its essence, I-143 is a price control. It does not

prohibit owning game farm animals. It does not

takings cases in highly regulated fields appears to be all over

the doctrinal map, leaving lower courts, regulators and property

owners without paths to follow, let alone boundaries between

broadly defined areas where the Fifth Amendment provides

protection and where there is none

24

prohibit keeping them in captivity. In fact, the re-

quirement that game farm animals be kept separate

from the State’s free-roaming wild elk remains. It

does not prohibit the shooting of game farm animals.

Instead, it regulates the price which can be charged

for shooting private elk and dictates that the dollar

price be $0.00.

For over a century, this Court and others have

recognized that price regulations may be lawful, but

they can result in an uncompensated taking:

This power to regulate is not a power to de-

stroy, and limitation is not the equivalent of

confiscation. Under pretense of regulating

fares and freights, the state cannot require

a railroad corporation to carry persons or

property without reward; neither can it do

that which in law amounts to a taking of pri-

vate property for public use without just

compensation, or without due process of law.

Stone v. Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co. (Railroad Com-

mission Cases), 116 U.S. 307, 331 (1886).

More recently, the Seventh Circuit has explained:

The argument that because railroads are

heavily regulated their owners must put up

with diminutions in value fares no better.

Regulation may diminish the value of prop-

erty without “taking” it. Railroads have long

been subject to regulation that diminishes

their profitability. But it does not follow that

diminution by all means is permitted.

25

In re: Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific R.

Co., 799 F.2d 317, 325 (7th Cir. 1986) (citations omit-

ted); see also Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S.

299, 307-08 (1989) (“A rate is too low if it is ‘so unjust

as to destroy the value of [the] property for all the

purposes for which it was acquired,’ and in so doing

‘practically deprive[s] the owner of property without

due process of law.’” (quoting Covington & Lexington

Turnpike Road Co. v. Sandford, 164 U.S. 578, 597

(1896))).

The Montana Supreme Court’s explanation of

how Penn Central’s reasonable investment-backed

expectations factor applies in highly regulated indus-

tries is completely contrary to the way this and other

courts have historically analyzed the issue. The Court

should grant the Petition to provide a more cohesive

understanding of the role this factor plays in the

analysis of takings claims to assist property owners,

regulators and courts nationwide.

If this Petition were granted, Petitioners would

argue that presence in a highly regulated industry

does not preclude reasonable investment-backed

expectations as a matter of law. Here, Petitioners’

expectations were objectively reasonable because the

regulation of prices was completely unprecedented

and the state had explicitly encouraged the develop-

ment of the industry I-143 destroyed.

26

IT.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED

TO ADDRESS CONFLICTS AMONG

LOWER COURTS REGARDING

PENN CENTRAL’S “CHARACTER OF THE

GOVERNMENTAL ACTION” FACTOR

In Penn Central, it appears that this Court’s

reference to the “character of the governmental

action” may have originally involved looking to see

whether the governmental action was a _ physical

invasion or whether it was a regulatory burden. See

Lingle v. Chevron USA, Inc., 544 U.S. 528, 539 (2005)

(quoting Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124). However,

Penn Central also recognized that a regulatory taking

involved essentially “ad hoc, factual inquiries” and

suggested that the three factors were not exclusive.

438 U.S. at 124. Courts should accordingly consider

any facts which help one determine whether a particu-

lar burden “in all fairness and justice, should be borne

by the public as a whole.” Armstrong, 364 U.S. at 48.

The Montana Supreme Court’s cenclusion that

the “character of the governmental action” factor is

simply a reference to the degree of intrusion in prop-

erty rights conflicts with the analysis of other courts.

As with the Court’s descriptor of regulations that

go “too far,” the phrase “character of the government-

al action” has left the courts, property owners and

regulators with little understanding of what can and

should be considered in determining whether just

compensation must be paid.

27

The trial courts in these cases found the “charac-

ter of the governmental action” factor to weigh

against finding a taking because the regulation

substantially advanced a legitimate governmental

interest. App. 53, 7 85; App. 138, 4 21. The Montana

Supreme Court recognized that approach was no

longer valid after Lingle. App. 13, { 16, n.2; App. 53,

q 85,n.5; App. 168-69, 7] 70-71.

Nevertheless, other courts, even after Lingle, still

inquire whether the regulation substantially ad-

vances a legitimate governmental interest. For in-

stance, in Rose Acre Farms, 559 F.3d 1260, the

Federal Circuit concluded that “character of the

governmental action” referred to the purpose and

importance of the governmental regulation Jd. at

1278-81; see also Cienega Gardens v. United States,

503 F.3d 1266, 1279 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (referring to the

strength of the governmental interest in the context

of assessing the character of the governmental ac-

tion); Tennessee Scrap Recyclers Ass’n v. Bredesen,

556 F.3d 442 (6th Cir. 2009) (“character of the gov-

ernmental action” analysis involved consideration of

the importance of the regulation’s purpose).

If the effectiveness of a regulation in achieving

an important governmental interest is outside the

scope of deciding takings claims as Lingle indicates,

then “character of the governmental action” factor

cannot still involve review of the importance of the

governmental purpose. Otherwise, the government

could merely assert an extremely important, i.e.,

28

lifesaving, purpose to immunize its regulations from

the Takings Clause.

Uncertainty of what constitutes the “character

of the governmental action” factor unfortunately

abounds. For instance, California and Minnesota

courts appear to focus on the way in which the bur-

dens are distributed as part of the “character of the

governmental action” inquiry.

We believe that the appropriate focus of the

character inquiry should be on “the nature

rather than the merit of the governmental

action.” Small Prop. Owners of San Francts-

co v. City & County of San Francisco, 141

Cal.App.4th 1388, 47 Cal.Rptr.3d 121, 136

(2006). Although the relevant considerations

may vary depending on the circumstances of

the case, an important consideration involves

whether the regulation is general in applica-

tion or whether the burden of the regulation

falls disproportionately on relatively few

property owners.

Wensmann Realty, Inc. v. City of Eagan, 734 N.W.2d

623, 639 (Minn. 2007) (emphasis in original).

Petitioners agree that these considerations

should be included in any takings inquiry. Of course,

the Montana Supreme Court did not include mean-

ingful consideration that I-143 singled out a particu-

lar business with relatively few participants and

placed the entire economic burden of the new policy

on their shoulders.

29

In the absence of direction from this Court,

courts have developed widely different views on what

the “character of the governmental action” inquiry

actually involves. While the Montana Supreme Court

purports to emphasize the impact on the property

owner, its narrow focus precludes consideration of

other facts which naturally influence common under-

standings of fairness and justice. Additionally, by

focusing on the degree of intrusiveness alone, the

“character of the governmental” action factor is

relegated to a mere redundancy to the economic

impact factor.°

* The conclusion that [-143 had a minimal intrusive effect

on Petitioners is inconsistent with the Montana Court’s recogni-

tion that the economic impact was significant or substantial.

App. 323; App. 71-72, at {| 74. However, the Court attempted to

characterize the economic impact as being less severe by assert-

ing that one’s property rights in intangible business assets are

entitled to no protection from the Fifth Amendment in the

regulatory taking context, even though “intangible business

assets are statutorily recognized forms of property in Montana.”

App. 157, 755 (citing Mont. Code Ann. § 70-1-104(4); In re

Marriage of Hull, 712 P.2d 1317, 1820-21 (Mont. 1986)). The

only circumstance in which intangible assets would be protected

by the Montana judiciary is if the government acted “with the

intent of operating a similar business.” App. 158, at 9 56. This

conflicts with this Court’s oft-repeated maxim that the focus of

the Fifth Amendment is not on what the government has gained,

but on what the property owner lost. Kimball Laundry v. United

States, 338 U.S. 1, 13 (1949) (citing Boston Chamber of Com-

merce v. Boston, 217 U.S. 189, 195 (1910)). The State’s intent

should have no bearing on whether these assets are compensa-

ble. See dissent, App. 272-73, 4 214

30

If review is granted, Petitioners will argue that

the “character of the governmental action” factor

should include a variety of considerations. For in-

stance, typical zoning regulations limit land use in a

way which both enhances and restricts properties’

values. See Pennsylvania Coal, 260 U.S. at 415 (not-

ing that an “average reciprocity of advantage” was

deemed to justify many laws). I-143 provided no

benefits to game farmers — only a fatal financial

burden that was imposed on them and them alone.

Petitioners will contend that the “character of the

governmental action” involves review of any fact

which tends to show that fairness and justice dictate

that the cost of the regulation should be borne by the

public as a whole.

The “character of the governmental action” factor

does not simply consist of the degree of intrusiveness,

nor is it a review of the importance of its purpose.

Rather, this factor calls for a review of what the

regulation actually does. As noted above, I-143 does

not regulate the operation of game farms in any way

other than prohibiting the transfer of the licenses and

prohibiting the payment of money for shooting pri-

vately owned elk. This is what I-143 does. The regu-

lation of fees to $0.00 supports the conclusion that

Petitioners should be compensated for the destruction

of their businesses.

—————__—____——. @¢ ——_______—__—-

31

CONCLUSION

Despite this Court’s admonition that the primary

factor among the Penn Central factors is the economic

impact to the property owner, Lingle, 544 U.S. 539-

40, the Montana Supreme Court has ignored this

fundamental principle which comes from the very

purpose of the takings clause. Instead, the Montana

Supreme Court attempts to justify the devastating

impact of I-143 on Petitioners by applying the other

factors in ways which conflict with the approach of

this, and other, Courts.

I-143 is not a regulation that raises the concern

that “Government hardly could go on” if just compen-

sation were required. Mahon, 260 U.S. at 413. As

noted by the dissent in the Wallaces’ case,

It is one thing to strengthen fencing, testing,

and reporting requirements through “addi-

tional restrictions,” as the Legislature did

over the years. But it is quite another to re-

quire alternative livestock ranchers to oper-

ate with no income through the expedient of

prohibiting remuneration for the key eco-

nomic activity on which their businesses de-

pended: fee shooting.

App. 73, { 116. No amount of stretching or constrict-

ing the other Penn Central factors should lead to the

results adopted in Montana. Petitioners urge the

Court to grant this Petition so that the Court may

39

Va

add clarity and provide guidance on how the Penn

Central factors are to be applied.

DATED: May 11, 2009

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD M. STEPHENS*

*Counsel of Record

GROEN STEPHENS & KLINGE LLP

11100 NE 8th St., Ste. 750

Bellevue, Washington 98004

Telephone: (425) 453-6206

ARTHUR V. WITTICH

WITTICH LAW OFFICES, PC

602 Ferguson Ave., Ste. 5

Bozeman, Montana 59718

Telephone: (406) 585-5598

JOHN E. BLOOMQUIST

DONEY CROWLEY BLOOMQUIST PAYNE UDA P.C.

44 West Sixth Avenue

P.O. Box 1185

felena, Montana 59624-1185

Telephone: (406) 443-2211

WARD E. TALEFF

TALEFF LAW OFFICE, P.C

P.O. Box 609

Great Falls, Montana 59403-0609

Telephone: (406) 791-9400

Attorneys for Petitioners

App. 1

348 Mont. 205, 201 P.3d 70 (2008)

Supreme Court of Montana.

Bruce BUHMANN, Shirley Buhmann, Circle

Eagle Game Farm, Len Wallace, Pamela Wallace,

and Big Velvet Ranch, Plaintiffs and Appellants,

v.

STATE of Montana, Mike McGrath,

and Jeff Hagener, Defendants and Appellees,

Sportsmen for I-143, Montana Wildlife Federation,

Defendant-Intervenors and Appellees.

No. 05-473.

Argued Sept. 13, 2006.

Submitted June 20, 2007.

Decided Dec. 31, 2008.

Rehearing Denied Feb. 10, 2009.

Background: Owners and operators of alternative

livestock game farms brought an action against the

State alleging that initiative measure which pro-

hibited fee-shooting on alternative livestock game

farms and prohibited the transfer of alternative

livestock licenses constituted a taking of their private

property. After the Blaine County District Court

granted State’s motion for change in venue, following

a bench trial the District Court of the First Judicial

District, County of Lewis and Clark, Dorothy Mc-

Carter, P.J., entered judgment for the State. Owners

appealed.

Holdings: The Supreme Court, Patricia O. Cotter, J.,

held that:

App. 2

(1) State was entitled to change venue

of action from county in which it was brought

to county containing State capital;

(2) as a matter of first impression,

owners were not entitled to a jury trial on

issue of whether initiative measure consti-

tuted a regulatory or categorical taking;

(3) Montana Constitution did not pro-

vide any greater constitutional protection

against the regulatory taking of private

property than the Fifth Amendment to the

United States Constitution;

(4) even if their categorical taking

claims were cognizable, initiative measure

did not result in a categorical taking of

owners alternative livestock and related

equipment;

(5) economic impact factor of regula-

tory taking analysis weighed in favor of a

finding of a compensable taking; but

(6) character of government action fac-

tor of regulatory taking analysis weighed

against a finding of a regulatory taking; and

(7) reasonable investment-backed ex-

pectaticns factor of regulatory taking analy-

sis weighed against a finding of a regulatory

taking.

Affirmed.

Jim Rice, J., concurred in part and dissented in

part, and filed opinion.

App. 3

James C. Nelson, J., dissented and filed opinion,

in which Wm. Nels Swandal, J., joined.

Wm. Nels Swandal, J., dissented and filed

opinion.

See also 309 Mont. 473, 47 P.3d 847.

For Appellants: Arthur V. Wittich (argued),

Wittich Law Firm, P.C., Bozeman, Montana, Richard

M. Stephens (argued), Groen, Stephens & Klinge,

LLP, Bellevue, Washington.

For Appellees: Hon. Mike McGrath, Montana

Attorney General, Chris D. Tweeten, (argued),

Assistant Attorney General, Helena, Montana.

For Defendant-Intervenors and Appellees: Jack

R. Tubolske (argued), Tuholske Law Office, P.C., Sarah

K. McMillan, Attorney at Law, Missoula, Montana.

Justice PATRICIA O. COTTER delivered the

Opinion of the Court.

{11 Bruce and Shirley Buhmann (Buhmanns),

owners and operators of the Circle Eagle Game Farm,

and Len and Pamela Wallace (Wallaces), owners and

operators of the Big Velvet Ranch, appeal an order of

the First Judicial District Court which denied their

takings claims under the Fifth Amendment to the

U.S. Constitution and Article II, Section 29 of the

Montana Constitution. These claims alleged that the

enactment and enforcement of initiative measure no.

143 (1-143), which was approved by the citizens of

Montana on November 7, 2000, constituted a taking

App. 4

of their private property and that they were entitled

to just compensation for this taking. For the reasons

set forth below, we affirm the District Court.

FACTUAL AND

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

{2 The case at bar involves takings claims very

similar to claims we recently addressed in Kafka uv.

Mont. Dept. of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, 2008 MT 460,

348 Mont. 80, 74 P.3d 8, 2008 WL 5413504. Insofar as

the background information and our decision and

reasoning in Kafka applies to the case at bar, we will

refer to that case. Where the arguments and issues

raised by the present appellants are distinct from

those raised by the parties in Kafka, we will address

their merits accordingly.

{3 The appellants in this case were owners and

operators of alternative livestock game farms (Game

Farms) within the state of Montana. The Game Farm

industry is premised on the notion that individuals

are willing to pay significant amounts of money to

shoot captive animals, primarily elk, within the

confines of a Game Farm. Since 1917, it has been

lawful for individuals to own alternative livestock,

such as elk, and keep them in captivity. Game Farms

are heavily regulated by the Montana Department of

Fish, Wildlife, and Parks (FWP) because of the threat

posed by chronic wasting disease (CWD), a fatal

disease of the central nervous system of captive and

free-ranging animals such as mule deer, white-tailed

App. 5

deer, and Rocky Mountain elk. Kafka, { 2. To operate

a Game Farm, the owner/operator must possess an

alternative Game Farm license and comply with the

rigorous and extensive licensing requirements set

forth in Title 87, chapter 4, part 4, MCA. See Kafka,

Tq 2, 8.

{4 On November 7, 2000, the voters of

Montana passed I-143, which made two significant

changes to the regulation of Game Farms in

Montana. See Kafka, {4 6-9. First, it prohibited fee-

shooting on Game Farms in Montana. Second, I-143

prohibited licensees from transferring their alterna-

tive livestock licenses to others. These changes had a

significant impact on the Game Farm industry in

Montana because the vitality of the Game Farm

industry was premised upon the profits derived from

fee-shooting. The ban on the transfer of licenses was

significant because it essentially prohibited Game

Farm owners from selling those Game Farms to

others, since a Game Farm could not operate without

a valid license. I-143 did not, however, eliminate all

uses of alternative livestock as it still permitted

Game Farm operators to own herds, harvest the

animals for their meat or antlers, or sell them in out-

of-state markets where fee-shooting was legal. Kafka,

q{ 7-8.

(5 The enactment and enforcement of I-143 led

to several lawsuits in both state and federal court in

Montana. At the time of this suit, the Buhmanns

resided in Blaine County, Montana, and owned and

operated the Circle Eagle Game Farm, a twenty-nine

App. 6

acre game farm which was regulated by FWP. The

Buhmanns began the Circle Eagle Ranch in 1997

after applying for and receiving a loan from the state of

Montana’s Department of Commerce. The Buhmanns’

loan application included a business plan describing

an elk-breeding program they planned to institute.

This plan included the annual selling of wholesale

mature bulls to shooting operations, and the selling of

retail mature cows to other breeding operations. The

Buhmanns and the Circle Eagle Ranch received an

alternative livestock license through FWP which

allowed them to keep sixty elk. They began selling elk

in 1999. In addition to selling elk, the Buhmanns also

sold a mineral supplement for captive deer and elk

called Sweet Pro.

46 The Wallaces started the Big Velvet Ranch

in Ravalli County, Montana, after obtaining a Game

Farm license in 1992. The Big Velvet Ranch eventu-

ally encompassed roughly 2000 acres. In the course of

developing their ranch, the Wallaces purchased mate-

rial for fencing and other infrastructure, constructed

a lodge on the property, removed the native deer and

elk, and then imported alternative livestock (elk)

from other locations. The Wallaces raised captive elk,

and provided opportunities for the fee-shooting of elk

on the Big Velvet Ranch. Under this service, clients

would come and stay on the Big Velvet Ranch and be

guaranteed to shoot an elk within the confines of the

ranch. Additionally, the Wallaces bred captive elk for

other Game Farms.

App. 7

{ 7 According to the factual assertions in their

complaint, the Wallaces invested millions of dollars in

developing the Big Velvet Ranch, and took a number

of measures to ensure that their alternative livestock

was of the highest quality and was disease-free. In

1999, after a three-year testing process, the Big

Velvet Ranch was certified as tuberculosis-free, and

in 2001 certified as brucellosis-free. Additionally, the

Wallaces tested roughly 700 animals from the Big

Velvet Ranch for CWD, and all those tests came back

negative. The Wallaces also claim they developed

prototype feed trucks, and appropriate facility

modifications which would allow them to maintain a

high nutritional level of the elk, at a cost of over

$600,000. The Wallaces further stated that they took

other measures, including the hiring of a veterinarian

and the development of extensive monitoring

systems, to ensure that their operation established a

reputation as one of the most successful private elk

ranches in the United States.

78 From 1997 through 1999, the Wallaces

claim to have harvested over 100 mature bulls and

earned gross revenues of over $1 million per year. The

Wallaces allege that their ranch guests would pay on

average $7,000 for hunting mature bull elk, and that

this comprised the majority of the ranch’s revenues.

Between 1995 and 2000, the Wallaces hosted more

than 600 clients.

719 After the passage of I-143, and its inter-

pretation by the Attorney General’s office and FWP,

the Wallaces claim that their existing and prospective

App. 8

customers cancelled their plans to visit the Big Velvet

Ranch, and that many demanded refunds on their

deposits. Similarly, there was a cancellation of

promised purchases of animals and feed from the

Circle Eagle Ranch. The Wallaces claim that in order

to stem the financial hemorrhaging at the ranch, they

contacted various Indian tribes in Montana to assess

their interest in receiving approximately 500 animals

from the Big Velvet Ranch. After obtaining the

appropriate permits, the Wallaces thereafter entered

into an agreement with the Crow Indian Tribe to

transfer some of their animals. After the first

shipment of 67 elk, the Wallaces were enjoined in the

First Judicial District Court from transferring any

more of their alternative livestock to the Crow Indian

Reservation to be released in an unfenced area. The

Wallaces appealed the issuance of this injunction to

this Court, and it was upheld in Hagener v. Wallace,

2002 MT 109, 309 Mont. 473, 47 P.3d 847. The

Wailaces also sought injunctions against the

enforcement of I[-143 in Ravalli County District

Court, as well as separately in the federal district of

Montana, both of which were denied. Moreover, Len

Wallace was tried and convicted in Justice Court for

violating I-143’s ban on fee-shooting.

710 On June 6, 2002, the Wallaces and

Buhmanns filed a joint action against the state of

Montana, Attorney General Mike McGrath, and FWP

Director Jeff Hagener in the Seventeenth Judicial

District Court, Blaine County, seeking damages for

the taking of their private property under the Fifth

App. 9

Amendment and Article II, Section 29 of the Montana

Constitution. The Wallaces and Buhmanns alleged

that [-143 violated the Fifth Amendment’s prohibition

on the taking of private property without just

compensation, as well as Article II, Section 29’s

prohibition on a damaging of their property. The

Wallaces and Buhmanns alleged that I-143 affected a

taking of their private property rights without just

coripensation “by specifically taking the only viable

source of profitability (i.e., shooting animals for a fee),

and thereby destroying the Montana breed stock sale

market, and prohibiting the transfer of licenses.” The

Wallaces and Buhmanns alleged that the State

enforced 1-143 to the detriment of their property

rights and that this enforcement imposed new

retroactive liabilities on them, damaging their vested

property rights as well. Additionally, the Wallaces

and Buhmanns alleged that by prohibiting the

transfer of their licenses and the value of their

investments in their Game Farms to others, the State

took not only their “property rights and licenses, but

also the profitable use of the land, and the increased

value of the land as a result of the prior issued

licenses.” The Buhmanns and Wallaces also alleged

that McGrath and Hagener violated their constitutional

rights by enforcing I-143 against them, and brought a

claim for relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.’

1

At the close of appellants’ case-in-chief, the District Court

granted the State’s motion to dismiss the § 1983 claim for failure

(Continued on following page)

App. 10

{ 11 The precise nature of the Buhmanns’ and

Wallaces’ claims differed slightly. Because the Buh-

manns did not provide fee-shooting services, their

business operations were not directly affected by I-

143. However, by eliminating the in-state market fer

fee-shooting, I-143 had a significant economic impact

on the profitability of their breeder operation and

their marketing of Sweet Pro. The Wallaces, on the

other hand, were directly affected since the Big Velvet

Ranch provided fee-shooting services.

{12 On July 22, 2002, the State filed a motion

to change the venue of the case from Blaine County to

the First Judicial District, Lewis and Clark County,

pursuant to § 25-2-116, MCA. On August 16, 2002,

the Wallaces and Buhmanns filed a motion to sever

the parties, pursuant to M.R. Civ. P. 21. In the mo-

tion, the Buhmanns argued that their action should

remain in Blaine County, while the Wallaces argued

that they should be able to pursue their cause of

action in Ravalli County under a complaint they filed

there on August 6, 2002. On August 28, 2002, the

Blaine County District Court denied the motion to

sever and granted the State’s motion to change the

venue of the case to Lewis and Clark County.

4¥ 13 On September 17, 2002, the First Judicial

District Court, Judge Dorothy McCarter presiding,

assumed jurisdiction over the appellants’ suit. On

to proof. Appellants did not object at the time, and do not

challenge the dismissal of this claim on appeal.

App. 11

October 10, 2002, the District Court granted a motion

filed by appellees Sportsmen for I-143 and Montana

Wildlife Federation to intervene in this matter.

Initially, the District Court set a jury trial to hear

appellants’ claims. However, the State subsequently

filed a motion to bifurcate the proceedings, arguing

that the issue of whether the State was liable for a

taking should be decided solely by the District Court.

If the State was found liable, then the issue of

damages would be submitted to a jury. The appellants

resisted the State’s motion, asserting that they were

entitled to a jury trial on the issue of takings liability.

914 The State also filed a motion seeking

summary judgment on appellants’ takings claims.

One aspect of the State’s motion dealt with the issue

of whether appellants could assert a categorical

takings claim with respect to their personal property

(e.g., alternative livestock, and Game Farm equipment).

The State argued that under the authority of Lucas v.

S.C. Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 112 S.Ct. 2886,

120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992), a categorical taking claim

may be asserted only for claims regarding a taking of

land, and not for a taking of personal property or

other property interests. See Kafka, 67-69 (noting

the distinction between categorical and regulatory

takings claims). Since the appellants’ land all

retained significant value in spite of the passage of I-

143, a categorical taking claim would fail in this case.

Additionally, the State argued that it was further

entitled to summary judgment on appellants’ regula-

tory takings claims.

App. 12

{15 After holding a hearing on these motions

on October 6, 2004, the District Court granted a

portion of the State’s motion, concluding that the

question of whether there had been a_ taking

presented a question of law to be determined by the

District Court without a jury. If a taking was found

by the District Court, it would submit the issue of

damages to a jury. Additionally, while the District

Court ultimately denied the State’s summary

judgment mction and concluded that it would hold a

bench trial on appellants’ takings claims, it agreed

with the State that under Lucas, personal property

could not form the basis for a categorical takings

claim. Moreover, the District Court agreed with a

legal argument raised in the State’s brief that the

same analysis, based on federal law, applied to

takings claim, whether brought under Article II,

Section 29 of the Montana Constitution or the Fifth

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

{16 Beginning on November 30, 2004, the

District Court held a three-day bench trial on

appellants’ takings claims. The District Court heard

testimony from Bruce Buhmann, Len Wallace, Dr.

Peter Nickerson (Dr. Nickerson), an economist and

expert witness for appellants, as well as other

witnesses for both parties. The District Court also

received a number of exhibits into evidence. Based on

this evidence and testimony, the District Court made

a number of factual findings with respect to the

App. 13

Wallaces’ and Buhmanns’ operations and property

interests.”

4 17 With respect to the Wallaces, the District

Court found that they had complied with the

licensing requirements set forth by FWP in the

operation of the Big Velvet Ranch. The District Court

noted that as the Wallaces sought to expand their

operation over the years, they had applied with FWP

for the necessary expansion permits. In 1997, the

Wallaces were denied an expansion request by FWP

which would have added approximately 1000 acres to

the then-existing roughly 2000 acre ranch. After this

denial, the Wallaces decided to sell their property out

of a concern that they would not have enough grazing

land for their elk. They subsequently acquired a

Game Farm in Wisconsin to provide grazing land for

their animals, but were prevented from shipping the

* In this connection, we note that much of the analysis by

the District Court and argument by the partics during the bench

trial, focused on the purposes and objectives of I-143, and

whether it accomplished the goals of preventing outbreaks of

CWD, preserving Montana’s “fair chase” hunting heritage, and

preventing the privatization or commercialization of wildlife.

However, as we observed in Kafka, recent United States

Supreme Court jurisprudence has foreclosed an inquiry into the

efficacy or purposes of a regulatory change (which are best

considered as “due process” concerns) in the realm of regulatory

or categorical takings analysis. See Kafka, J] 70-71 (discussing

Lingle v. Chevron U.S.A., Inc., 544 U.S. 528, 125 S.Ct. 2074, 161

L.Ed.2d 876 (2005)). In other words, for purposes of the takings

analysis in this case, it is immaterial whether or not 1-143 is

effective in achieving any of the objectives or concerns it was

designed to address.

App. 14

animals back and forth due to outbreaks of CWD on

Game Farms in several states, including Montana.

Additionally, the District Court found that prior to I-

143, the Wallaces had difficulty marketing their elk

outside of Montana because of a moratorium on

interstate elk shipments from Montana as a result of

a CWD outbreak on a Montana Game Farm in 1997.

The District Court further found that an outbreak of

CWD on another Game Farm impacted the ability of

the Wallaces to sell their property and that it was

still on the market at the time I-143 went into effect.

{18 The District Court found that after the

passage of I-143, the Wallaces began selling off their

elk and Game Farm equipment at a “substantial loss”

compared with their pre-I-143 value. Between 1997 and

1999, the Wallaces spent approximately $666,166 to

purchase elk. Len Wallace testified that the value of

his elk herd prior to I-143 was roughly $5.5 million.

After I-143, he liquidated the herd for approximately

$238,000, and in some cases simply donated his elk to

various organizations. Additionally, the Wallaces sold

some of their specialized equipment, which cost

approximately $600,000 to purchase, for $150,000.

The District Court found that the net income from the

Big Velvet Ranch for the four-year period prior to I-

143 was $1,480,452. Financial records prepared by

Dr. Nickerson demonstrated that the Wallaces had a

basis of $4,595,123 in their business. Between 1994

and 2003, the records indicated numerous sales of

parcels of land ranging between ten and forty acres,

totaling more than $1 million dollars, as well as two

App. 15

sales of property to another ranch for more than $5

million dollars.

4 19 In total, the District Court concluded that

the Wallaces suffered a significant, but not complete,

loss of value to their Game Farm business as a result

of I-143. The District Court quantified this loss as a

fifty percent reduction in the value of their business.

This figure apparently took into account the fact that

while the Wallaces’ elk suffered a _ significant

devaluation, the real estate associated with the Big

Velvet Ranch had in fact appreciated. The District

Court further found that while the market for

alternative livestock elk had declined, alternative

livestock could still be bred and sold to Game Farms

in other states.

{20 With respect to the Buhmanns, the District

Court found that when they initially purchased the

land on which the Circle Eagle Game Farm is located

in the mid-1980’s, they had no intention of operating

a Game Farm but chose that course much later. The

District Court found that the Buhmanns purchased

all of their elk in 1997 for $29,500, and began selling

them in 1999. Their total sales receipts through 2000

were $8,948, and they received $11,963 from elk sales

in 2001 and 2002. They anticipated selling approx-

imately 10 calves a year for about $30,000. With

respect to their sales of Sweet Pro, the District Court

found they had gross sales for this product of

approximately $68,000 between 2000 and 2002. For

the overall period of their business from 1997 to 2002,

they had a net business loss of $41,325. With respect

App. 16

to the impact on their business from I[-143, the

District Court found that no aspect of that business

was prohibited because they did not operate a fee-

shooting operation. However, I-143 did affect the

market for both their alternative livestock and Sweet

Pro. The District Court concluded that the Buhmanns

suffered a net loss of $22,000 as a result of I-143.

{21 In its conclusions of law, the District Court

began by restating its determination that the same

legal analysis, based upon federal law, applied to

claims whether brought under the Fifth Amendment

or Article Il, Section 29. Moreover, the District Court

stated that a categorical takings claim did not lie in

this case under Lucas because categorical takings

apply only to takings of land. The District Court then

went on to reject appellants’ claims for a regulatory

taking under the analytical framework set forth in

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S.

104, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978). See Kafka,

{41 67-73 (discussing Penn Central regulatory takings

analysis). The reasoning and analysis of the District

Court will be discussed in greater detail below.

{22 ‘The Wallaces and Buhmanns now appeal

the denial of their takings claims by the District

Court. They present the following issues on appeal:

{23 Issue One: Did the District Court

err in changing the venue of the proceedings

to Lewis and Clark County and denying

appellants’ motion to sever the Wallaces’

claims?

App. 17

{24 Issue Two: Did the District Court

err in concluding that liability for appellants’

takings claims would be decided by the court

instead of a jury?

{25 Issue Three: Did the District

Court err in concluding that Article II,

Section 29 of the Montana Constitution does

not provide any greater’ constitutional

protection against the taking of private

property than the Fifth Amendment to the

U.S. Constitution, and that the same legal

analysts applies to takings claims brought

under the Fifth Amendment to the U.S.

Constitution and Article II, Section 29 of the

Montana Constitution?

{26 Issue Four: Did the District

Court err in denying appellants’ claim that I

143 affected a categorical taking of their

personal property?

{ 27 Issue Five: Did the District Court

err in concluding that I-143 did not affect a

regulatory taking of appellants’ private

property?

STANDARD OF REVIEW

728 We review a district court’s findings of fact

under the clearly erroneous standard, and _ its

conclusions of law for correctness. Roe Family, L.L.C.

u. Lincoln Co. Bd. ef Commrs., 2008 MT 70, J 12, 342

Mont. 108, 7 12, 179 P.3d 514, 4] 12. A finding of fact

is clearly erroneous if it is not supported by

App. 18

substantial evidence, if the trial court misappre-

hended the effect of the evidence, or if our review of

the record convinces us that a mistake has been

committed. Roe Family, { 12.

DISCUSSION

| 29 Issue One: Did the District Court err in

changing the venue of the proceedings to Lewis and

Clark County and denying appellants’ motion to sever

the Wallaces’ claims?

{730 The Seventeenth Judicial District Court,

Blaine County, granted the State’s motion to transfer

the case to Lewis and Clark County where the merits

of appellants’ takings claims were ultimately decided.

The appellants argue that the District Court erred in

granting the change of venue. In its order, the Blaine

County District Court found that a change of venue

was proper under § 25-2-116, MCA, which reads as

follows:

25-2-116. Multiple claims. In an action

involving two or more claims for which this

part designates more than one as a proper

place of trial, a party entitled to a change of

place of trial on any claim is entitled to a

change of place of trial on the entire action,

subject to the power of the court to separate

claims or issues for trial under Rule 42(b) of

the Montana Rules of Civil Procedure.

731 Although the Wallaces’ and Buhmanns’

complaint asserted only two counts, the District

App. 19

Court determined that they asserted more than two

claims for purposes of the statute because the specific

allegations and relief sought by the Buhmanns was

sufficiently distinct from the specific allegations and

relief sought by the Wallaces. The District Court

observed that it is the nature of the rights asserted

and demand for relief sought that determines the

number of claims, rather than a formal designation in

the complaint itself. The District Court noted that the

Wallaces and Buhmanns each uetailed different

locations and businesses which were differently

affected by I-143, and that the damages in each case

differed based not only on these different locations

but also on the duration of the effect, the type of the

business, and the extent of the respective parties’

investments.

{32 The District Court also noted that because

their claims were brought against the state of

Montana, the proper venue for the claims, pursuant

to § 25-2-126, MCA, would be either the county of the

plaintiffs’ respective residences or Lewis and Clark

County. That statute reads in pertinent part as

follows:

The proper place of trial for an action against

the state is in the county in which the claim

arose or in Lewis and Clark County. In an

action brought by a resident of the state, the

county of the plaint ‘f’s residence is also a

proper place of trial.

Section 25-2-126(1), MCA.

App. 20

{33 Here, the parties resided in different

counties. The Buhmanns resided in Blaine County,

while the Wallaces resided in Ravalli County.

Therefore, while Blaine County would be a proper

venue under the statute for the Buhmanns, it would

not be proper for the Wallaces. Thus, under § 25-2-

126(1), MCA, Lewis and Clark County would be the

only appropriate venue for all parties. Since the State

was entitled to a change of venue under § 25-2-116,

MCA, by virtue of the presence of multiple claims, the

Blaine County District Court concluded that a change

of venue to Lewis and Clark County was appropriate.

{ 34 Additionally, the District Court denied a

motion filed by the appellants to keep the Buhmanns’

claims in Blaine County, and allow the Wallaces to

sever their claims and pursue a newly-filed complaint

in Ravalli County. On the one hand, the District

Court concluded that the Buhmanns had failed to

show good cause under M.R. Civ. P. 42(b), to separate

the claims, and further failed to demonstrate how

their access to court in Lewis and Clark County

would be impractical or expensive. With respect to

the Wallaces’ motion to sever, the District Court

denied that motion under the authority of Emery v.

Federated Foods, Inc., 262 Mont. 83, 863 P.2d 426

(1993), for the simple reason that the motion to sever

had yet not been filed at the time the State filed its

motion for change of venue.

135 On appeal, the Wallaces and Buhmanns

maintain the District Court erred in its application

and interpretation of these statutes, and assert that

App. 21

they simply do not cover scenarios involving multiple

plainti.fs. They maintain that tne District Court’s

inte » vation unfairly deprives them of their right to

che venue. They argue that the intent of these

ste ites is to prevent plaintiffs from adding spurious

claims to prevent defendants from obtaining a

favorable venue, a concern not present in this case.

{| 36 With respect to the denial of the motion to

sever, the appellants argue that the District Court’s

decision not to consider the motion due to its timing

directly contravenes the holdings in both DML, Inc. v.

Fulbright, 2005 MT 204, 328 Mont. 212, 119 P.3d 93,

and Emery. Appellants argue that the doctrine that

propriety of venue is determined as of time of the

complaint, applies only in situations where the

composition of the parties changes, and was not

intended to freeze in time all activities occurring in a

case — including the motion to sever which was filed

here. Accordingly, they argue that the motion to sever

should have been considered and granted by the

District Court.

{37 The State maintains that DML controls

and demonstrates that the District Court correctly

permitted a change of venue to Lewis and Clark

County. With respect to the motion to sever, the State

points out that the decision of whether to sever

claims lies within the District Court’s discretion

under § 25-2-116, MCA, and M.R. Civ. P. 42(b), in

furtherance of convenience and to avoid prejudice.

Here, the District Court explicitly found that the

appellants failed to make a showing justifying the

App. 22

invocation of M.R. Civ. P. 42(b). The State asserts that

appellants have not challenged this finding on

appeal.

{38 “The determination of whether a county is

the proper place for trial is a question of law involving

the application of the venue statutes to pleaded facts.”

DML, 47. Our review of such decisions is plenary,

meaning we determine whether the district court’s

ruling was legally correct. DML, 97. We conclude

that the Blaine County District Court did not err in

permitting the State to change the venue of

appellants’ cause of action to Lewis and Clark County.

q 39 In DML, this Court interpreted § 25-2-116,

MCA, as follows:

By the words of § 25-2-116, MCA, “a party

entitled to a change of place of trial on any

claim is entitled to a change of place of trial

on the entire action.” This statute con-

templates a multiple claim situation in

which the county where the plaintiff files is

proper for one claim but not for one or more

of the others. As recognized by the Evidence

Commission Comments to § 25-2-116, MCA,

this Court has ruled consistently that a

defendant entitled to a change of venue on

one claim should have it on the entire action.

DML, { 16.

740 Here, it is patent that venue in Lewis and

Clark is proper with respect to the Buhmanns’ claims

by virtue of § 25-2-126(1), MCA. Because the Wallaces

App. 23

reside in Ravalli County, venue is appropriate there,

or in Lewis and Clark County. Under DML, therefore,

the State is entitled to a change of venue with respect

to the entire action. See DML, 727 (Gray, C.J.,

concurring) (concluding that change of venue is

appropriate under § 25-2-116, MCA, when action

consists of multiple claims, venue statutes designate

more than one county for one or more claims, and

action is brought in a county which is proper for one,

but not all, of those claims). Since Lewis and Clark

County is an appropriate venue for all parties in this

case, the District Court did not err in aliowing the

change of venue.

{41 With respect to the Blaine County District

Court’s refusal to consider the motion to sever, we

agree with the State that the District Court acted

within its discretion in denying such motion.

Decisions as to trial administration matters, such as

a motion to bifurcate or sever, are within the “broad

discretion” of the district court. Jarvenpaa v. Glacier

Elec. Cooperative, Inc., 1998 MT 306, { 12, 292 Mon‘.

118, J 12, 970 P.2d 84, { 12. In this case, regardless ot

whether the District Court could or should have

considered the merits of the motion to sever, it stated

clearly in its order that appellants had failed to

demonstrate good cause to sever, as required under

M.R. Civ. P. 42(b). Appellants do not challenge this

finding. Thus, we affirm the Blaine County District

Court’s decisions as to venue and severance.

App. 24

{ 42 Issue Two: Did the District Court err in

concluding that liability for appellants’ takings claims

would be decided by the court instead of a jury?

{143 In its October 22, 2004 Decision and Order,

the Lewis and Clark County District Court granted a

motion filed by the State to bifurcate the liability and

damages phases of these proceedings, allowing the

former to be determined solely by the District Court,

while the latter would be heard by a jury if the

District Court determined the State was liable for an

uncompensated taking. The District Court concluded

that the question of whether there was a taking is a

question of law, and that a property owner’s right toa

jury trial was limited to the issue of damages.

{44 The District Court determined that its

position was consistent with City of Monterey v. Del

Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S. 687, 119

S.Ct. 1624, 143 L.Ed.2d 882 (1999) — a case relied

upon by appellants for their argument that they were

entitled to a jury trial on the issue of takings liability.

The District Court considered whether the issues of

damages and liability were intertwined, or were

distinct and should be presented separately, and

concluded there was no practical reason to subject

jurors to evidence unrelated to the issue of damages.

Additionally, the District Court determined that it

needed adequate time to consider liability before

proceeding with a trial on damages — an exercise that

would be moot if liability was decided in favor of the

State.

App. 25

{45 Appellants maintain that the District

Court erred and wrongfully denied them their right to

a jury trial on the issue of takings liability. Citing to

Howard v. State, 198 Mont. 470, 647 P.2d 828 (1982)

and Butte Country Club v. Metro. Sanitary and Storm

Sewer Dist. No. 1, 164 Mont. 74, 519 P.2d 408 (1974),

appellants maintain that individuals asserting

inverse condemnation claims have historically been

entitled to jury trials. Citing to Matter of C.L.A., 211

Mont. 393, 685 P.2d 931 (1984), they further argue

that under Article II, Section 26 of Montana

Constitution, their fundamental right to a trial by

jury is guaranteed as to all class of cases in which the

right was enjoyed when the Montana Constitution

was adopted in 1889. Appellants argue that this class

of cases extends beyond those common-law actions

recognized in 1889, and includes modern-day actions

that involve rights and remedies of the _ sort

traditionally enforced in an “action at law,” such as

the takings claims they presented here.

7 46 Under the authority of Del Monte Dunes,

appellants argue that their suit for an uncom-

pensated taking of their property is an action at law,

and that the reasoning in Del Monte Dunes is

supported by Montana cases, including Solberg uv.

Sunburst Oil & Gas Co., 70 Mont. 177, 225 P. 612

(1924) and Chessman v. Hale, 31 Mont. 577, 79 PB. 254

(1905). See Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 709-10, 119

S.Ct. at 1638 (action sounding in tort and seeking

legal relief is an action at law); see also Little v. Little,

127 Mont. 152, 155-56, 259 P.2d 343, 344 (1953)

App. 26

(actions at law include actions to recover specific

personal property with damages). Appellants main-

tain that the Lucas and Penn Central tests for

analyzing takings claims are factual inquiries which

are properly allocated to a jury. They therefore argue

that the District Court erred in concluding that the

determination as to whether a taking has occurred is

a question of law, and maintain instead that it is a

question of fact.

{47 The State maintains that because there is

no established tradition of trials by jury in regulatory

takings cases in Montana, this Court decides this

issue on a “clean slate.” The State then asserts that

appellants’ reliance on Del Monte Dunes is misplaced

because that case involved solely the question of

whether a plaintiff was entitled to a jury trial under

the Seventh Amendment to the United States

Constitution for an action brought under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983. The State maintains that Del Monte Dunes

did not address the question of whether plaintiffs are

generally entitled to a jury trial on the issue of

liability in takings cases. The State notes that other

jurisdictions, such as California, have generally held

that the issue of liability in a takings claim is a

question of law for the court, with a right to a jury

trial available on the issue of damages. Accordingly,

the State urges affirmance of the District Court on

the grounds that the question of whether a taking has

occurred is primarily a legal question to which no

right to jury trial exists.

App. 2

41/48 Whether an individual is entitled to a jury

trial presents a question of law which we review de

novo for correctness. Supola v. Mont. Dept. of Justice,

Drivers License Bureau, 278 Mont. 421, 423, 925 P.2d

480, 481 (1996). As an initial matter, we agree with

the State that the question before the Court is one of

first impression in the state of Montana. Appellants

are correct in observing that in both Howard and

Butte Country Club, the trial courts apparently

afforded claimants jury trials in inverse con-

demnation cases. See Howard, 198 Mont. at 472, 647

P.2d at 829; Butte Country Club, 164 Mont. at 76, 519

P2d at 409. However, neither case provides any

analysis or discussion which would bear on the issue

of whether appellants’ categorical and regulatory

takings claims should be submitted to a jury, and

neither case has ever been cited as authority on this

point of law.

{49 We therefore turn to Del Monte Dunes,

upon which the State and the appellants rely for their

opposite positions. In that case, a property owner (Del

Monte Dunes) brought an action against the city of

Monterey under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 based on its

repeated denial of Del Monte Dunes’ request for a

development permit. Each time Del Monte Dunes

submitted a development request, the city of

Monterey denied it and imposed more rigorous

demands on Del Monte Dunes. Del Monte Dunes, 526

U.S. at 694, 119 S.Ct. at 1631. Eventually, Del Monte

Dunes appealed these denials to the city council, and

was again denied. Del Monte Dunes consequently

App. 28

filed a suit in federal district court alleging, among

other things, that the denial amounted to an

uncompensated taking under the Fifth Amendment.

Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 698, 119 S.Ct. at 1633.

The takings claims in that case were ultimately

submitted to a jury, which returned a verdict in favor

of Del Monte Dunes. Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at

701, 119 S.Ct. at 1634. The question of whether the

takings claim was properly submitted to the jury was

later affirmed by the Ninth Circuit. The Ninth

Circuit’s decision was subsequently appealed to the

United States Supreme Court.

{50 One of the issues considered by the Del

Monte Dunes court was whether it was proper for the

district court to submit the question of liability for

takings to the jury, instead of having the issue

decided by the district court without the aid of a jury.

Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 707, 119 S.Ct. at 1637.

Del Monte Dunes asserted that its right to a jury trial

was conferred by the Seventh Amendment and 42

U.S.C. § 1983, and the United States Supreme Court

agreed. Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 710-12, 119

S.Ct. at 1638-40. In its reasoning, the Del Monte

Dunes court explained that because an action under

§ 1983 sounds primarily in tort, it was of a type of

action cognizable under the common law, and thus a

cause of action for which the Seventh Amendment

provides a trial by jury. Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at

709-10, 119 S.Ct. at 1638.

App. 29

751 In reaching this conclusion, the United

States Supreme Court explicitly rebuffed an argu-

ment advanced by the city of Monterey that there was

no common law right to a jury in eminent domain

proceedings. In doing so, the Supreme Court high-

lighted the fact that the tortious nature of a § 1983

claim was wholly independent from the nature of

underlying right giving rise to the § 1983 claim itself.

As Justice SCALIA notes ... we have

declined in other contexts to classify § 1983

actions based on the nature of the underlying

right asserted, and the city provides no per-

suasive justification for adopting a different

rule for Seventh Amendment purposes. Even

when analyzed not as a § 1983 action sim-

pliciter, however, but as a § 1983 action seek-

ing redress for an uncompensated taking,

Del Monte Dunes’ suit remains an action at

law.

Although condemnation proceedings spring

from the same Fifth Amendment right to

compensation which, as incorporated by the

Fourteenth Amendment, is applicable here, a

condemnation action differs in important

respects from a § 1983 action to redress an

uncompensated taking.

Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 711-12, 119 S.Ct. at

1639 (citations omitted).

4152 The Supreme Court explained this point

further as follows:

App. 30

Condemnation proceedings differ from the

instant cause of action in another funda-

mental respect as well. When the govern-

ment condemns property for public use, it

provides the landowner a forum for seeking

just compensation, as is required by the

Constitution. If the condemnation proceed-

ings do not, in fact, deny the landowner just

compensation, the government’s actions are

neither unconstitutional nor unlawful. Even

when the government takes property without

initiating condemnation proceedings, there is

no constitutional violation unless or until the

state fails to provide an adequate post

deprivation remedy for the property loss. in

this case, however, Del Monte Dunes was

denied not only its property but also just

compensation or even an adequate forum for

seeking it. That is the gravamen of the

§ 1983 claim.

Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 714-15, 119 S.Ct. at

1641 (quotations and citations omitted).

{53 In conclusion, the Supreme Court then

clarified the scope of its holding with the following

admonition:

We note the limitations of our Seventh

Amendment holding. We do not address

the jury’s role in an ordinary inverse

condemnation suit. The action here was

brought under § 1983, a context in which

the jury’s role in vindicating constitutional

rights has long been recognized by the

federal courts. A federal court, moreover,

App. 31

cannot entertain a takings claim under

§ 1983 unless or until the complaining land-

owner has been denied an adequate post dep-

rivation remedy. Even the State of California,

where this suit arose, now provides a facially

adequate procedure for obtaining just com-

pensation for temporary takings such as this

one. Our decision is also circumscribed in its

conceptual reach. The posture of the case

does not present an appropriate occasion to

define with precision the elements of a tem-

porary regulatory takings claim; although

the city objected to submitting issues of

liability to the jury at all, it approved the

instructions that were submitted to the jury

and therefore has no basis to challenge them.

Del Monte Dunes, 526 U.S. at 721-22, 119 S.Ct. at

1644 (emphasis added).

{54 The Del Monte Dunes Court thus took

great pains to expressly limit its holding to actions

brought under § 1983, and deliberately chose not to

address the province of the jury in an ordinary in-

verse condemnation suit, or, by extension, a regula-

tory or categorical takings claim such as presented

here.

{55 In this connection, we also find that

Chessman, Matter of C.L.A., and Sunburst Oil & Gas,

upon which appellants rely, are not particularly

helpful in deciding the issue presently before the

Court. Those cases simply establish that a right toa

jury trial exists for the class of cases which existed at

the time the Montana Constitution was adopted.

App. 32

Chessman, 31 Mont. at 584-88, 79 P. at 256-57. “The

rule in Montana is that our state constitution only

guarantees the right to a jury trial in the class of

cases in which the right was enjoyed when the

constitution was adopted.” Matter of C.L.A., 211

Mont. at 396, 685 P.2d at 933. However, none of these

cases demonstrate that Montanans enjoyed a right to

jury trial on the issue of liability in an inverse

condemnation, or categorical or regulatory takings

case.

(56 In this case, the District Court concluded

that appellants would be entitled to a jury trial on the

issue of damages if liability for the takings claim was

established. The weight of authority tends to support

the view that the right to jury trial in inverse

condemnation suits — and, by extension, regulatory or

categorical takings claims — is limited solely to the

issue of damages. Hensler v. City of Glendale, 8

Cal.4th 1, 32 Cal.Rptr.2d 244, 876 P.2d 1043, 1052

(1994); Tibbs v. City of Sandpoint, 100 Idaho 667, 603

P.2d 1001, 1004 (1979); Dept. of Agriculture and

Consumer Servs. v. Mid-Florida Growers, Inc., 521

So.2d 101, 104 (Fla.1988); Deisher v. Kan. Dent. of

Transp., 264 Kan. 762, 958 P.2d 656, 663 (1998);

Cumberland Farms, Inc. v. Town of Groton, 262 Conn.

45, 808 A.2d 1107, 1126-27 (2002); Galvis v. State,

Dept. of Transp., 140 Wash.App. 693, 167 P.3d 584,

589 (Div. 2 2007); See also New Port Largo, Inc. uv.

Monroe Co., 95 F.3d 1084, 1092 (llth Cir.1996)

(concluding specifically that there is no jury require-

ment for deciding whether a regulatory takings has

App. 33

occurred). Under these authorities, the District Court

presumptively satisfied appellants’ constitutional

right to a jury trial by providing a jury trial on the

issue of damages.

757 Against this weight of authority, appel-

lants have not cited a single case in which a court has

held that the issue of liability in a categorical or

regulatory takings case must be submitted to a jury.

Although the question of whether a taking has

occurred is in the nature of an “ad hoc, factual

inquiry,” see Kafka, | 69, it appears that both state

and federal courts are in near universal agreement

that whether the facts show that a regulatory or

categorical taking has occurred is ultimately a

question of law for the court. E.g., Mayhew v. Town of

Sunnyvale, 964 S.W.2d 922, 932-33 (Tex.1998);

Chancellor Manor v. United States, 331 F.3d 891, 898

(Fed.Cir.2003); Alevizos v. Metro. Airports Commn.

of Minneapolis and St. Paul, 298 Minn. 471, 216

N.W.2d 651, 660-61 (1974); Seiber v. State By and

Through the Bd. of Forestry, 210 Or.App. 215, 149

P.3d 1243, 1246 (2006); Vulcan Materials Co. v. City of

Tehuacana, 369 F.3d 882, 886-87 (5th Cir.2004); but

see, Noghrey v. Town of Brookhaven, 48 A.D.3d 529,

852 N.Y.S.2d 220, 221 (2 Dept.2008) (submitting the

question of whether a regulatory taking has occurred

for a jury’s determination). In fact, the authority in

this area strongly supports the District Court’s

determination that “[wJhether a compensable taking

has occurred is a question of law based on factual

underpinnings.” Am. Pelagic Fishing Co., L.P. v.

App. 34

United States, 379 F.3d 1363, 1371 (Fed.Cir.2004)

(citing Maritrans, Inc. v. United States, 342 F.3d

1344, 1350-51 (Fed.Cir.2003)); Moldon v. Co. of Clark,

188 P.3d 76, 79 (Nev.2008); State v. Dunn, 888 N.E.2d

858, 861 (Ind.App.2008); Scott v. Co. of Custer, 178

P.3d 1240, 1243 (Colo.App.2007).

7158 Under § 26-1-201, MCA, “all questions of

law” are to be decided by the court, while questions of

fact go to the jury pursuant to § 26-1-202, MCA.

While takings claims arguably present “mixed

questions of fact and law,” see Del Monte Dunes, 526

U.S. at 721, 119 S.Ct. at 1644, and while it may be

that some cases in the regulatory or categorical

takings arena present questions of fact which should

be submitted to a jury, the appellants here have not

articulated what specific factual questions needed to

be resolved by a jury in this case. In fact, it appears

from the record that there were no factual disputes

concerning the effects of I-142 on appellants’ busi-

nesses and private property. Instead, the dispute

centered on whether, as a legal matter, 1-143 con-

stituted a regulatory or categorical taking.

{59 In sum, we decline at this time to adopt a

bright-iine rule regarding the role of a jury in the

context of categorical or regulatory takings claims.

However, we conclude that the District Court did not

err in this case by reserving for itself the question of

whether the State was liable for an uncompensated

taking. Given the primarily legal nature of takings

inquiries, a jury determination should be required

only in those cases in which the resolution of a factual

App. 35

dispute is necessary in order to determine whether a

taking has occurred. Here, there appears to have

been no such dispute. The appellants have not

pointed to any factual question which should have

been decided by a jury, nor for that matter do they

complain that any of the District Court’s factual

findings were in error. Instead, the gravamen of the

appellants’ challenge is that the District Court made

an incorrect legal determination that a regulatory or

categorical taking had occurred. Under these par-

ticular circumstances, therefore, we hold that the

District Court did not err in deciding the takings

question without the presence of a jury.

760 Issue Three: Did the District Court err in

concluding that Article II, Section 29 of the Montana

Constitution does not previde any greater constitu-

tional protection against the taking of private property

than the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution,

and that the same legal analysis applies to takings

claims brought under the Fifth Amendment to the

U.S. Constitution and Article ll, Section 29 of the

Montana Constitution ?

9461 In its Decision and Order of October 22,

2004, the District Court, citing to Western Energy Co.

v. Genie Land Co., 227 Mont. 74, 737 P2d 478 (1987),

concluded that the same legal analysis, based on

federal law under Penn Central, applies to takings

claims whether brought under the U.S. or Montana

Constitution. Appellants argue that the District

Court erred in reaching this conclusion, and assert

that Article II, Section 29 of the Montana

App. 36

Constitution provides greater protection than the

Fifth Amendment, thus requiring a different analysis.

This provision reads as follows:

Eminent domain. Private property shall

not be taken or damaged for public use

without just compensation to the ful] extent

of the loss having been first made to or paid

into court for the owner. In the event of

litigation, just compensation shall include

necessary expenses of litigation to be award-

ed by the court when the private property

owner prevails.

Mont. Const., Art. IT, § 29.

{62 Appellants assert that the constitutional

protection against “taking and damaging” of property

is a fundamental right because it occurs in Article II

of the Montana Constitution and, therefore, the State

must show a compelling interest that is narrowly-

tailored to impose the least restraints possible on

their properiv interests. Appellants maintain that the

State has faiied to meet this burden because it failed

to demonstrate that I-143 substantially advanced any

purported legitimate state interests such as

protecting the tradition of fair chase hunting in

Montana, or preventing the spread of CWD. See

Opinion, {16 n.2. Appellants assert that their

position is supported by the plain language of Article

II, Section 29, which protects against a “taking” or

“damaging.” Therefore, the inquiry is whether Article

II, Section 29 of the Montana Constitution affords

greater, more expansive rights than does the Fifth

App. 37

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, to the extent

that a wholly separate regulatory takings analysis

need be performed under the Montana Constitution.

{63 As we noted in Kafka, we have generally

looked to federal case law for guidance when

considering takings claims brought under Article II,

Section 29 — a practice that is consistent with that of

other states with similar or identical language in

their state constitutions. See Kafka, { 30. Appellants

and the Dissent have seized upon the “damaging”

language in Article II, Section 29 to argue for a

sweeping new interpretation of this provision.

7 64 It is important to bear in mind that Article

II, Section 29 protects against a “taking” and

“damaging” of private property. We take this occasion

to reaffirm the position taken in Kafka, that the

protection against a “taking” of private property

under Article II, Section 29 is coextensive with the

protection given under the Fifth Amendment. Kafka,

{7{ 30-31. In other words, a takings analysis based on

federal law under Penn Central or Lucas is to be

applied to takings claims whether brought under the

U.S. or Montana Constitutions. This practice is in

accord with the overwhelming majority of states that

have similar or identical language in their state

constitutions.

{65 The question then becomes what type of

protection, and accompanying analysis, is provided

against a “damaging” of private property. This “or

damaged” language was adopted verbatim from the

App. 38

1889 Montana Constitution, and already has a well-

established meaning. In Less v. City of Butte, 28

Mont. 27, 72 P. 140 (1903), the plaintiff sued the city

for damages to his property occasioned by a change in

the grade and excavation of the street abutting his

residence. As a result of the change, Less was

confronted with a street graded and excavated to the

depth of about seven feet below his home. Less

claimed that his ability to use and enjoy his property

had been significantly infringed, as had his access to

the public street. The District Court awarded him

$500, and the city appealed. In affirming the district

court, this Court stated:

Constitutions which provide that “private

property shall not be taken for public use

without just compensation” are but declar-

atory of the common law, and contemplate

the physical taking of property only. Under

constitutions which provide that property

shall not be “taken or damaged” it is

universally held that “it is not necessary that

there be any physical invasion of the

individual’s property for public use to entitle

him to compensation.” Root v. B.A. & P. Ry.

Co., 20 Mont. 354, 51 Pac. 155, and cases

cited. The owner of a city lot “has a kind of

property in the public street for the purpose

of giving to such land facilities of light, of air,

and of access to the street.” Bohm v. Ry. Co.,

129 N.Y. 576, 29 N.E. 802, 14 L.R.A. 344.

“These easements are property, protected by

the Constitution from being taken = or

damaged without just compensation.” Root v.

App. 39

B.A. & P. Ry. Co., supra. Moreover, it may

frequently occur that “the consequential

damage may impose a more serious loss

upon the owner than a temporary spoliation

or invasion of the property.” City of Atlanta v.

Green, 67 Ga. 386.

Less, 28 Mont. at 32, 72 P at 141 (other citations

omitted).

166 Subsequently, in Knight v. City of Billings,

197 Mont. 165, 642 P.2d 141 (1982), we were called

upon to address plaintiffs’ complaints for inverse

condemnation arising out of the improvements to

24th Street in Billings, which expanded the roadway

to such an extent that the parties’ front yards were

unusable and the noise and traffic horrific for the

homes now virtually atop these new traffic lanes.

Relying upon Less and the “or damaged” language of

Article II, Section 29, we concluded that the private

property interests of the plaintiffs had been

interfered with to such an extent as to constitute a

“taking” by inverse condemnation. We cautioned,

however, that our holding was limited to the unique

situation before us “where a physical taking across

the street occurred.” Anight, 197 Mont. at 174, 642

P.2d at 146.

{67 It thus appears that the “or damaged”

language of the provision has been interpreted to

apply to eminent domain proceedings, including inverse

condemnation proceedings, where private property is

taken or damaged for public use. In fact, during the

debate over the 1972 Montana Constitution. the

App. 40

committee discussed this provision strictly in the

context of eminent domain proceedings, using

property taken for highway construction as the

primary example in explaining what occurs when the

offer by the government is, for example, too low or too

high. See Montana Constitutional Convention,

Verbatim Transcript, March 9, 1972, pp. 1825-28.

{68 Notably, the California state constitution

contains the identical language as Article II, Section

29. California courts have, over the history of this

provision, repeatedly been asked to expand the

circumstances under which a private property owner

may recover, with proponents contending that the “or

damaged” language infers an intention to expand the

scope of the provision outside the realm of eminent

domain or public works. California courts have

resisted this notion. As recently as 1995, in the case

of Customer Co. v. City of Sacramento, 10 Cal.4th

368, 41 Cal. Rptr.2d 658, 895 P.2d 900 (1995), the

Supreme Court of California, sitting en banc, rejected

an attempt by a store owner to recover damages to

his store occasioned by police action that was taken to

enforce criminal laws. The court stated that “(t]he

California Constitution of 1879 added the phrase ‘or

damaged’ to the just compensation provision, but this

change was not intended to expand the scope of the

constitutional compensation provision beyond the

ambit of eminent domain and public improve-

ments.”Customer Co., 41 Cal.Rptr.2d 658, 895 P.2d at

906 (citation omitted)

App. 41

469 The point of the foregoing discussion is

that the “or damaged” language of Article IT, Section

29 is intended to apply to damage to real and private

property occasioned by a taking of real property for

public use. Neither the 1889 or 1972 Montana

Constitutions evince any intent that it apply to

regulatory takings or damages resulting therefrom.

Moreover, the provision mandates that private

property not be taken or damaged for public use

without just compensation “having been first made to

or paid into court for the owner.” This language

obviously contemplates a condemnation of property by

the State, and the recognition that the appropriation

will cause determinable consequential damages to

property owners affected thereby-damages which can

be ascertained at the time of the taking. Simply put, the

plain language of Article II, Section 29 does not

suggest that the provision was intended to apply to

the types of damages a regulatory taking might

arguably cause over time, after a regulation has

taken its toll om a property owner. And, notably,

neither the appellants nor the Dissent have cited a

single case for the proposition that the “or damaging”

language — which, incidentally, is present in roughly

half of the state constitutions in this country, see

Kafka, { 30, n. 5 — is intended to provide any greater

protections in the regulatory taking context than does

the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, or

that it applies to anything other than the

consequential damages to the property of persons

affected by a physical condemnation, or similar

actions, initiated by the State.

App. 42

{70 The Dissent claims to have contradicted

this proposition by citing to Wild Rice River Estates v.

City of Fargo, 705 N.W.2d 850 (N.D.2005), and

Manufactured Housing Communities v. State, 142

Wash.2d 347, 13 P3d 183 (2000). However, an

examination of these cases confirms the accuracy of

the analysis and conclusions presented in this

Opinion with respect to the meaning of the “or

damaged” language in Article II, Section 29.

{71 Manufactured Housing did involve a

regulatory taking claim under the Washington State

Constitution, employing an analysis which was

distinct from that employed under the Fifth Amend-

ment. Manufactured Housing, 13 P.3d at 187.

However, this case is not supportive of the Dissent’s

criticism. First, Manufactured Housing did not

discuss the meaning of the “or damaged” language in

the Washington State Constitution in the context of a

regulatory takings claims. Thus, the significance of

the Dissent’s citation to this case in the present

context is unclear. Second, the Washington takings

test has four distinct inquiries, which are grounded

partly in federal and partly in state law. Manu-

factured Housing, 13 P.3d at 187. The Dissent,

however, does not propose a distinct new test, or

indeed, any analogous test. Rather, the Dissent

simply argues that the federal tests should not apply,

and that, instead, whenever there is any damage to

private property by state action, compensation 1s

required — whether the action was actually a taking

or not. This amounts to a radically scaled-back Penn

App. 43

Central analysis: There need be no inquiry into the

character of the government action or the reasonable

investment-backed expectations of the claimant;

rather, the only inquiry is whether there was any

economic impact. Since the Dissent does not provide

any guidance or bright line as to how much economic

impact is enough to trigger a damaging —- relying

more on a “I know it when I see it” reflex (see Dissent,

¥ 167) — it is difficult to envision how the State could

confidently afford to regulate anything under such a

regime. Arguably, any private property owner whose

property was “damaged” by state action, whether in

the form of restrictions, fees, or regulations, would be

entitled to seek compensation therefore from the

public fisc. As Justice Holmes noted in Pennsylvania

Coal, “[glovernment hardly could go on if to some

extent values incident to property could not be

diminished without paying for every such change in

the general law.” Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,

260 U.S. 393, 394, 43 S.Ct. 158, 159 (1922).

472 Moreover, while Wild Rice did discuss the

“or damaged” language in the North Dakota State

Constitution, neither Wild Rice itself, nor the cases

upon which it relied, involved or discussed any

regulatory takings claims. In Wild Rice, the North

Dakota Supreme Court, in interpreting identical

language in its state constitution stated the following:

Under N.D. Const. art. I, § 16, “[p]rivate

property shall not be taken or damaged for

public use without just compensation.” This

Court has said our state constitutional

App. 44

provision is broader in some respects than its

federal counterpart because the state pro-

vision “‘was intended to secure to owners,

not only the possession of property, but also

those rights which render possession valu-

able.’”

Wild Rice, 705 N.W.2d at 856 (quoting Grand Forks-

Traill Water Users, Inc. v. Hjelle, 413 N.W.2d 344, 346

(N.D.1987)).

{73 Wild Rice relied upon Grand Forks, which

in turned relied upon Donaldson v. City of Bismarck,

71 N.D. 592, 3 N.W.2d 808, 816 (1942). Donaldson, in

turn, relied upon King v. Stark County, 67 N.D. 260,

271 N.W. 771 (1937). None of these cases applied the

“or damaged” language in the context of a regulatory

takings claim even remotely similar to the claim at

bar. However, in King, the North Dakota Supreme

Court specifically described the meaning of the “or

damaged” language in its state constitution. Because

the analysis is King is instructive regarding the

Dissent’s contentions, we quote it at length:

When the Fifth Amendment to the Consti-

tution of the United States was adopted, it

was therein provided that private property

could not be taken by the United States for

public use without just compensation. And

the earlier State Constitutions likewise so

provided. But this guaranty was too narrow.

It insured compensation only in those cases

where property was taken. The severity of

the rule and the tnjustice resulting from its

application were recognized. In England, by

App. 45

act of Parliament, compensation has been

allowed since 1845 for damage caused by the

construction of public works. In this country

a wide diversity in the holdings of the courts of

the several jurisdictions arose as to the

meaning of the terms “taken” and “damaged.”

In 1870, the people of the State of Illinois

amended their Constitution so that it

provided that property should not be taken

or damaged for public use without just

compensation. And when the Constitution of

the State of North Dakota was adopted this

provision was inserted therein as section 14.

Its history has been traced and its effect

somewhat considered by this court hereto-

fore. Nearly all of the State Constitutions

now contain this provision. Under it the

courts have uniformly held that there is

hability not only for property taken, but

also for consequential damages to property

arising from the acts of the authorities in

constructing public works. It is not necessary

that there be a direct injury to the property

itself in order to create this liability. It is

sufficient to warrant a recovery if there be

“some direct physical disturbance of a right,

either public or private, which the plaintiff

enjoys in connection with his property, and

which gives to it an additional value, and

that by reason of such disturbance he has

sustained a special damage with respect to

his property in excess of that sustained by

the public generally.” And the diminution in

value of property resulting from the acts

App. 46

complained of is special and peculiar within

the meaning of the rule.

King, 271 N.W. at 773-74 (internal citations omitted).

474 The Dissent faults the Court for its

“originalist” approach to Article II, Section 29, and for

declining to adopt its construction of Article II,

Section 29. Begging the question of why “originalist”

is equivalent to “abhorrent,” (see Dissent, {{ 178,

178), the fact is that virtually none of the legal

rhetoric and argument posited by the Dissent here

was presented by the appellants themselves — either

in the District Court or before this Court. We

routinely admonish parties that we do not consider a

party's change in legal argument, or new theories

raised on appeal. State v. Rahn, 2008 MT 201, J 22,

344 Mont. 110, 7 22, 187 P.3d 622, | 22. Based on the

issues actually raised and argued by the parties, and

their failure to either effectively address our existing

jurisprudence under Article IJ, Section 29, or argue

for an expansion of existing law, we conclude that

appellants have failed to establish that in the

regulatory takings context, the “or damaged” lan-

guage in Article II, Section 29 of the Montana

Constitutior affords more expansive rights than does

the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

Accordingly, we hold that the District Court did not

err 1n concluding that the takings analysis based on

federal law under Penn Central applied to the

regulatory takings claims brought against the State

in this case.

App. 47

{75 Issue Four: Did the District Court err in

denying appellants’ claim that 1-143 affected a

categorical taking of their personal property?

{76 In its Decision and Order of October 22,

2004, the District Court rejected the notion that

appellants’ alternative livestock could be the object of

a categorical takings claim under Lucas. A categorical

taking occurs when a regulation or state action forces

an owner to sacrifice all economically beneficial uses

in the name of the common good, leaving the property

“economically idle.” Kafka, { 68. In Lucas, the United

States Supreme Court seemed to imply that such

categorical takings claims could apply only to land,

and not to personal property:

Where the State seeks to sustain regulation

that deprives land of all economically

beneficial use, we think it may resist

compensation only if the logically antecedent

inquiry into the nature of the owner’s estate

shows that the proscribed use interests were

not part of his title to begin with. This

accords, we think, with our “takings”

jurisprudence, which has traditionally been

guided by the understandings of our citizens

regarding the content of, and the State’s

power over, the “bundle of rights” that they

acquire when they obtain title to property. It

seems to us that the property owner

necessarily expects the uses of his property

to be restricted, from time to time, by various

measures newly enacted by the State in

legitimate exercise of its police powers; “[a]s

App. 48

long recognized, some values are enjoyed

under an implied limitation and must yield

to the police power.” Pennsylvania Coal Co. v.

Mahon, 260 U.S. [393] at 413, 43 S.Ct. [158],

at 159. And in the case of personal property,

by reason ef the State’s traditionally high

degree of control over commercial dealings,

he ought to be aware of the possibility that

new regulation might even render his

property economically worthless (at least if

the property’s only economically productive

use is sale or manufacture for sale). See

Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 66-67, 109

S.Ct. 318, 62 L.Ed.2d 210 (1979) (prohibition

on sale of eagle feathers). In the case of land,

however, we think the notion pressed by the

Council that title is somehow held subject to

the “implied limitation” that the State may

subsequently eliminate all economically

valuable use is inconsistent with the

historical compact recorded in the Takings

Clause that has become part of our

constitutional} culture.

Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1027-28, 112 S.Ct. at 2899-2900

(footnotes omitted).

{77 The District Court recognized that the

Federal Circuit Court of Appeals has seemingly

concluded that personal property could be the object

of a categorical takings claim, see e.g., Maritrans, 342

F.3d at 1353-54, but chose to rely upon Lucas and

concluded that private property, such as the alter-

native livestock in this case, could be the object of a

regulatory, but not categorical, takings claim.

App. 49

{78 The appellants argue that the District

Court erred in this conclusion as well. They argue

that the portion of Lucas relied upon by the District

Court is dicta, and further assert that no appellate

court in the country has ever stretched this language

in Lucas to preclude categorical takings of personal

property. Instead, appellants urge this Court to rely

upon Maritrans and conclude that their alternative

livestock and related equipment can form the object

of a categorical taking.

{ 79 We agree with the appellants that some

courts in the Federal Circuit seem to have

entertained claims for categorical takings of personal

property. In Maritrans, for instance, the Federal

Circuit Court of Appeals considered whether a change

in federal shipping regulations requiring oil carriers

to use double hull tank barges caused a private

company to sacrifice all economically beneficial uses

of its single hull tank barges. Maritrans, 342 F.3d at

1354. Ultimately, the Federal Circuit Court of

Appeals determined that no categorical taking of the

ships had occurred, because the single hull ships still

retained some beneficial use after the change in

regulations. Maritrans, 342 F.3d at 1354-55.

7 80 Ultimately, we need not resolve the

question of whether personal property, by itself, can

form the object of a categorical takings claim.” Even if

~ However, we do note that, contrary to appellants’ claims,

some courts have interpreted Lucas in just such a manner. See,

(Continued on following page)

App. 50

a categorical taking of appellants’ alternative live-

stock and related equipment was cognizable, we

would nevertheless conclude that their categorical

takings claims fail because the alternative livestock

still have beneficial uses after the passage of 1-143, as

the District Court concluded. The alternative

livestock could be sold to out-of-state breeder operations

or harvested for their meat and antlers. Granted, this

may not be a profitable use of the alternative

livestock, but in order to make a claim for a

categorical taking, appellants must show that I-143

took all of the property’s economically beneficial use.*

See Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1019 n. 8, 112 S.Ct. at 2895

n. 8. Indeed, as the Maritrans court itself noted,

Taking away a property's most beneficial use

does not by itself constitute a compensable

taking. Andrus, 444 U.S. at 65-66, 100 S.Ct.

318. In Andrus, the Court stated that “[al]t

least where an owner possesses a full

‘bundle’ of property rights, the destruction

of one ‘strand’ of the bundle is not a taking.”

Id. Only where Congress takes away every

e.g., Hawkeye Commodity Promotions, Inc. v. Vilsack, 486 F.3d

430, 441 (8th Cir.2007) (holding that Lucas categorical taking

rule “protects real property only”).

“The reasons why the out-of-state markets were not

profitabic are beyond the scope of a categorical takings analysis.

[ndeed, in this case it would be difficult, if not impossible, to

isolate just how much of the profitability of sale to out-of-state

markets was affected by previous outbreaks of CWD on Game

Farms in Montana, or on other market forces unrelated to the

passage of 1-143.

App. 51

beneficial use does a categorical taking occur.

Id.

Maritrans, 342 F.3d at 1354.

47 81 Accordingly, while we express no view on

whether a Lucas categorical takings analysis could

apply to takings of personal property, we hold in this

case that appellants have failed to demonstrate that a

categorical taking has occurred. Thus, we affirm the

District Court.

{82 Issue Five: Did the District Court err in

concluding that 1l-143 did not effect a regulatory

taking of appellants’ private property?

{83 Inits Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law,

and Order dated May 2, 2005, the District Court

denied appellants’ claims for regulatory takings

under Penn Central. See Kafka, {{ 66-72 (describing

in detail the three-factor Penn Central regulatory

takings analysis). Under the economic impact factor

of this analysis, see Kafka, { 72, the District Court

made the following findings: (1) I-143 prohibited the

Wallaces’ fee-shooting business entirely, and elim-

inated the in-state market for the Buhmanns but did

not prohibit the sales of their elk and Sweet Pro feed

supplements to out-of-state buyers; (2) neither the

Wallaces nor Buhmanns lost any significant value in

their land or improvements; (3) both the Wallaces and

Buhmanns lost substantial value in their elk herds:

(4) both parties lost future expected profits; (5) both

businesses had already been negatively affected by

prior outbreaks of CWD, and that CWD was in fact

App. 52

one of the reasons why appellants could not profitably

dispose of their alternative livestock to out-of-state

markets; and (6) the Wallaces had already made a

decision to get out of the Game Farm business prior

to the passage of I-143. Based on these findings, the

District Court concluded that the economic impact

factor of the Penn Central regulatory takings analysis

test favored the appellants.

{ 84 With respect to the appellants’ “investment-

backed expectations,” see Kafka, 72, the District

Court found that, while the appellants knew that the

Game Farm industry was highly controversial and

heavily regulated, the appellants relied on the

regulatory scheme in place when they entered the

industry, and had invested significant sums of money

on the expectation that the industry would never be

regulated out of business. However, the District Court

noted that under Penn Central, this investment-

backed expectation is measured from an objective

standpoint in terms of its reasonableness. The

District Court, citing to Mitchell Arms, Inc. v. United

States, 7 F.3d 212 (Fed.Cir.1993) and Allied-General

Nuclear Servs. v. United States, 839 F2d 1572

(Fed.Cir.1988), see Kafka, 4] 58-59 (discussing Mitchell

Arms and Allied-General), noted that courts have

held such investment-backed expectations to a very

high standard when claimants are operating in

highly regulated fields such as firearms exportation

(Mitchell Arms) and plutonium recycling (Allied-

General). Moreover, claimants operating in such fields

should expect that the government can effectively

App. 53

regulate them out of business. In this regard, the

District Court distinguished a case relied upon by

appellants, Yancey v. United States, 915 F.2d 1534

(Fed.Cir.1990), and held that this factor weighed in

favor of the State and against finding a compensable

taking.

7 85 Finally, with respect to the “character of

the governmental action” prong, see Kafka, {| 70-71,

the District Court concluded that this factor weighed

in favor of the State because I-143 was a valid

exercise of the State’s police power to protect health

and welfare, and that it affected an industry which

was already subject to significant governmental]

regulation.”

786 Appellants maintain that the District

Court erred in balancing the Penn Central factors and

concluding that I-143 did not effect a taking of their

private property, in particular the alternative

livestock and specialized Game Farm equipment. With

respect to the economic impact factor, appellants agree

with the conclusion that this amounted to a significant

impact. However, appellants assert that the District

Court understated this impact because it evaluated

the business as a whole, including the real estate

(which had appreciated in spite of I-143), when

appellants argue they did not claim a taking of their

* The District Court’s analysis under this factor, as it

inquired to a certain extent into the purpose and propriety of I-

143, would no longer be valid under Lingle. See 4 16 n. 2

App. 54

real property, but only of the business itself. They

assert that a finding that I-143 led to a fifty-percent

reduction in their business is misleading because it

includes in the computation the value of appreciated

real estate. Instead, the Wallaces argue the impact

should be measured in terms of the market value of

the alternative livestock before I-143 ($5.5 million

dollars), versus its market value _ afterwards

($238,000). Similarly, the Wallaces argue that the

true economic impact on their business by I-143 was

that it destroyed it. The Buhmanns maintain [-143

had a similar impact on their business as well.

87 With respect to the character of the

governmental action factor, appellants argue that this

factor also weighs in favor of a compensable taking

because I-143 does not address the problems

associated with Game Farms (i.e., threat from CWD,

or threatening the heritage of fair chase hunting)

since it still permits the existence of Game Farms. In

actuality, appellants argue, I-143 is nothing more

than a price control measure designed to protect the

State’s competing enterprise of selling licenses for the

shooting of wild, non-captive game. Finally, under the

investment-backed expectations factor, appellants

maintain that the District Court erred in relying

upon Mitchell Arms and Allied-General, and that an

analysis under Yancey supports their position.

Appellants argue that they are not complaining that

a particular regulation has made Game Farms more

expensive, but that 1-143 directly prohibited the sale

of a product in a manner contrary to their reasonable

App. 55

investment-backed expectations, because the State

has never exercised any regulation over the fees

charged for privately shooting alternative livestock.

While the participants in the Game Farm industry

might have reasonably expected that they would have

to maintain extra fencing or increase testing of their

livestock, they had no reason to anticipate state

interference in the price they would be able to charge

for fee-shooting. Thus, they argue, this factor should

weigh in their favor.

{188 As we noted at the outset of this Opinion,

many of the arguments raised in the case at bar were

previously addressed in Kafka. At this point, we will

highlight the relevant portions of the Kafka decision

insofar as they address appellants’ challenge to the

District Court’s Penn Central analysis. As an initial

matter, we note that because the appellants in this

case, like those in Kafka, allege that a mix of property

interests have been taken by I-143, and do not allege

that I-143 took all of their property interests (i.e.,

appellants do not claim that I-143 impacts the real

property comprising their Game Farms at all) we will

consider each of those business interests separately

for purpose of a regulatory takings analysis. Kafka,

q 37.

{189 Regarding the regulatory taking of

intangible assets, i.e., appellants’ businesses in this

case, we held in Kafka that businesses themselves

cannot be taken unless the government physically

condemns those businesses and runs them itself. See

Kafka, { 55-63. In Kafka we analyzed both the

App. 56

Mitchell Arms and Allied-General decisions in

reaching this conclusion. Therefore, for the reasons

set forth in Kafka, we hold that appellants’

businesses in this case were not taken by I-143.

{90 Accordingly, this leaves appellants’ elk and

related Game Farm equipment. Under the economic

impact prong of Penn Central, we agree with the

District Court that I-143 had a significant impact on

the value of the Wallaces’ and Buhmanns’ alternative

livestock. For purposes of this factor, the District

Court found that the Wallaces had _ invested

approximately $666,166 in elk purchases from 1997

through 1999. Before 1-143 the market value of the

alternative livestock (approximately 850 head of elk)

was roughly $5.5 million; after [-143, the Wallaces

liquidated the herd for $238,000." The Wallaces’ Game

Farm equipment (the specialized feeding trucks) were

purchased for roughly $600,000 and sold for $150,000.

The Buhmanns similarly had invested ir the

alternative livestock, and although the ban on fee-

shooting did not directly prohibit them from breeding

‘In this case, appellants did not provide any expert

testimony concerning the change in the fair market value of the

alternative livestock before and after 1-143. In Kafka, expert

testimony was in fact presented showing that alternative

livestock before 1-143 was worth $5,000 per head, while after I-

143 the livestock was worth $500 per head. This represented a

roughly 90% devaluation. Kafka, 4 84. Here, no comparable

testimony was provided. However, given the size of the Wallaces’

herd (850 elk) and utilizing the evaluation figures employed in

Kafka, the Wallaces’ herd lost approximately 95% of its fair

market value

App. 57

alternative livestock, it did cause a similar deval-

uation in their herd and also impacted their ability to

sell Sweet Pro in Montana. Accordingly, the economic

impact factor weighs in appellants’ faver.

791 However, with respect to the appellants’

investment-backed expectations and character of the

governmental action factors, we agree with the

District Court that these factors weigh against

finding a compensable taking. As we noted in Kafka,

while I-143 impaired the profitable use of alternative

livestock, it still allowed appellants every other use of

their alternative livestock; thus, from the perspective

of regulatory takings law, the character of the

governmental action embodied in I-143 had a

minimally intrusive effect on appellants’ bundle of

property interests in the alternative livestock. See

Kafka, |{ 87-88. The same would be true with respect

to the Wallaces’ specialized Game Farm equipment,

as it could still be sold to out-of-state markets. Thus,

while we disagree with the analysis employed by the

District Court under this factor because it inquired

into the purposes and propriety of I-143 in a manner

foreclosed by Lingle, (see Opinion, {| 80), we nonethe-

less agree with the District Court’s conclusion that

this factor weighs against finding a compensable

taking. See Wells Fargo Bank v. Talmage, 2007 MT

45, 9 23, 336 Mont. 125, 4 23, 152 P.3d 1275, | 23

(stating that we will affirm a district court’s decision

even if it reaches the right result for the wrong

reason).

App. 58

{92 Similarly, under the investment-backed

expectations prong, the regulative and speculative

nature of the industry does play a significant role in

determining whether a certain set of investment-

backed expectations are “reasonable.” As we did in

Kafka, we conclude that appellants in this case could

not maintain a reasonable investment-backed expec-

tation that Game Farms, and by extension fee-

shooting, would always be legal in Montana. See

Kafka, {| 89-93. In this connection, we agree with

the District Court that Yancey does not alter the

regulatory takings analysis in this case. In Yancey,

Andrew and Elizabeth Yancey (Yanceys) owned and

operated a turkey breeding operation in Rockingham

County, Virginia. Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1536. In 1983,

the Yanceys acquired a rafter of turkey breeder hens

for purposes of selling the hatching eggs to customers

in other states. In mid-October 1983, an outbreak of a

pathogenic Avian Influenza occurred in Lancaster

County, Pennsylvania, prompting the United States

Department of Agriculture (USDA) to impose a

quarantine in that state, which was later extended to

Rockingham County, Virginia as well. The quarantine

prohibited the Yanceys from the interstate shipping of

live poultry, manure from the poultry, litter used by

the poultry, as well as carcasses, eggs and certain

equipment. Although the Yanceys’ flock was not

affected by the influenza, they were unable to make

productive use of the flock as they intended, and had

to maintain the flock at a cost of $1,800 per week.

They ultimately decided to slaughter the flock and

sell it for meat, although the flock had not been

App. 59

raised to be economically viable for that purpose.

They received $20,887 for the flock.

q¥ 93 The Yanceys subsequently filed a $63,566

indemnity claim with the USDA, representing the

lost value from the flock as a result of the quarantine.

The claim was denied and they filed a takings claim

in the U.S. Claims Court under the Fifth Amend-

ment. The claims court granted the Yanceys’ Fifth

Amendment claim, and the government appealed. On

appeal, the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals had to

determine whether the effects of the quarantine

constituted a compensable taking under the Fifth

Amendment. Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1539.

794 The Yancey court applied the regulatory

takings analysis from Penn Central. It noted that the

claims court had found that the Yanceys’ flock had

suffered a 77% devaluation as a result of the quar-

antine, because the healthy breeder flock would have

been worth $91,616 if the quarantine had not been in

place, and, further, that the Yanceys had no other

alternative viable use for the flock other than

slaughtering them so long as the quarantine remained

in place. Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1539. Moreover, the court

of appeals noted the lower court finding that the

Yanceys only learned about the quarantine through

the newspaper the day before it took effect and that

they had investment-backed expectations to sell the

hatching eggs to customers outside of Virginia — an

action that was foreclosed by the immediate,

unforeseen and disparate impact upon the Yanceys by

the quarantine. Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1540.

App. 60

4% 95 In affirming the claims court’s decision,

the Yancey court explicitly distinguished its case from

Galloway Farms, Inc. v. United States, 834 F.2d 998

(Fed.Cir.1987). In Galloway Farms, the Federal

Circuit Court of Appeals held that a grain embargo

imposed against the Soviet Union by President

Jimmy Carter did not give rise to a compensable

takings claim on behalf of grain farmers in the

United States, in part because the grain embargo left

open other markets. Galloway Farms, 834 F.2d at

1003. The Yancey court found its case distinguishable

because the claims court had found that the Yanceys

had no other choice but to sell their turkeys for

substantially less than their value, while the grain

farmers in Galloway Farms still had available

markets. Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1541-42. The court

concluded that “[w]hen adverse economic impact and

unanticipated deprivation of an investment backed

interest are suffered, as when the poultry quarantine

forced the Yanceys to sell their turkey flock, compen-

sation under the Fifth Amendment is appropriate.”

Yancey, 915 F.2d at 1542.

196 We agree with the District Court that

Yancey is distinguishable from the present case with

respect to the investment-backed expectations factor

of the Penn Central analysis. As a threshold matter,

we note that the investment-backed expectations are

measured from an objective, not subjective, stand-

point of reasonableness. See Cienega Gardens uv.

United States, 331 F.3d 1319, 1346 (Fed.Cir.2003)

(“This factor also incorporates an objective test — to

App. 61

support a claim for a regulatory taking, an investment-

backed expectation must be ‘reasonable.’”). Moreover,

the inquiry into the reasonableness ot the investment

backed expectation is unique to each case and cannot

be reduced to any “set formula.” See Palazzolo v. R.I.,

533 U.S. 606, 636, 121 S.Ct. 2448, 2467, 150 L.Ed.2d

592 (2001) (O’Connor, J., concurring).

7197 In Yancey, the Court of Appeals was bound

by factual determinations from the Court of Claims

which supported the conclusion that the quarantine

in that case was completely unexpected. The findings

by the District Court in this case cut the other way,

because the District Court noted that under an

objective standard of reasonableness, the appellants

could not maintain an expectation that the Game

Farm industry would be permitted to continue

indefinitely. The District Court specifically found that

a previous outbreak of CWD on a Montana Game

Farm in 1997 had already impeded the Wallaces’ sale

of alternative livestock to out-of-state markets after

the imposition of a moratorium on out-of-state sales,

and that their ability to sell the Big Velvet Ranch

before the passage of I-143 was negatively impacted

from the previous CWD outbreaks. Addittonally, the

appellants were aware of the highly controversial

nature of Game Farms and the fact that CWD

presented significant risks making it a_ highly

regulated industry.

798 With respect to the “reasonableness” of

investment-backed expectations, the analogy between

the Game Farm industry and other industries such as

App. 62

the importation of firearms discussed in Mitchell

Arms, or the plutonium recycling industry discussed

in Allied-General, is actually quite apt, because at the

time these Game Farms were in existence, CWD

posed a very serious threat to the native elk and deer

populations within Montana, given that it was

impossible to completely prevent alternative livestock

from escaping the confines of a Game Farm.

Moreover, there was no live test for CWD which is a

permanent and irreversible disease. Hagener, { 25.’

Moreover, the District Court explicitly found that the

exact incubation period and means of transmitting

CWD are not completely understood. In fact, it was

primarily the grave threat posed by CWD which

required the extensive regulation of the Game Farm

industry in Montana. See Kafka, { 8. It was against

the backdrop of these inherent dangers. that

appellants were operating. Moreover, these dangers

were publicly known and very controversial among

many members of the public. Thus, unlike Yancey,

where the poultry producers would have no reason to

expect that a healthy flock of turkeys would have to

be suddenly destroyed, those in the Game Farm

industry knew that their alternative livestock carried

with them an inherent danger of spreading CWD

which could never be eliminated and which could

’ As we noted in Hagener, it was limitations on testing for

CWD which led the legislature to impose a moratorium on new

Game Farms in 2000. This moratorium was a response to an

outbreak of CWD on a Phillipsburg Game Farm in 1999

Hagener, 4 25.

App. 63

prove uncontrollable if it made its way into the

genetic make-up of the native wildlife populations.

These facts, together with the highly regulated

nature of the industry, must be considered when

evaluating the “reasonableness” of appellants’

investment-backed expectations.

{99 As we noted in Kafka, the Penn Central

analysis calls for a balancing of the factors in order

““‘to identify regulatory actions that are functionally

equivalent to the classic taking in which government

directly appropriates private property or ousts the

owner from his domain.’” Kafka, { 94 (quoting Lingle,

544 U.S. at 539, 125 S.Ct. at 2082). After weighing

the factors in the case, we conclude that the economic

impact factor weighs in favor of a compensable

taking, while the character of the governmental

action and reasonable investment-backed expec-

tations factors do not. Accordingly, for the same

reasons we denied similar claims in Kafka, we

conclude the District Court did not err in denying

appellants’ regulatory takings claims. See Kafka,

q 94.

CONCLUSION

{ 100 Based upon the foregoing, we affirm the

District Court.

App. 64

We concur: _ KARLA M. GRAY, W. WILLIAM

LEAPHART and DEBORAH KIM CHRISTOPHER’,

Jed.

Justice JIM RICE, concurring in part and

dissenting in part.

7101 I concur with the Court’s resolution of

Issues One, Two and Three. I dissent from Issues

Four and Five, as I would hold that a taking of

Plaintiffs’ property was effectuated by the enactment

of I-143 under the analysis provided by Justice

Nelson’s dissenting opinion in Kafka.

Justice JAMES C. NELSON, dissenting.

7 102 I dissent from the Court’s decision on

Issues Three, Four, and Five. I do so for the reasons

articulated in my dissent in the companion case,

Kafka v. Montana Dept. of Fish, Wildlife and Parks,

2008 MT 460, {7 96-248, 348 Mont. 80, {4 96-248,

201 P3d 8, YY 96-248, 2008 WL 5413504 (Nelson,

Rice, & Swandal, JJ., dissenting) (hereinafter, “Kafka

Dissent”), and for the additional reasons set forth

below. I do not express any views on the Court’s

resolution of Issues One and Two.

* District Court Judge DEBORAH KIM CHRISTOPHER

sitting for Justice JOHN WARNER.

App. 65

I. INTRODUCTION

4103 As it did in Kafka, the Court again holds

that business owners in the alternative livestock

industry are entitled to no compensation whatsoever

for the outright destruction of their businesses by

Initiative No. 143 (“Initiative” or “I-143”). The State

encouraged people to embark on this “viable economic

opportunity,” facilitated their investment of millions

of dollars into such enterprises, and granted them a

statutory right to perpetual renewal of their business

licenses. Then, the State up and legislated the

businesses out of existence. According to the Court,

such action does not constitute a taking or damaging

of property under Article II, Section 29 of the

Montana Constitution.

{104 In reaching this conclusion, and in spite

of the plain language of Article II, Section 29, the

Court makes the astounding pronouncement that

Article II, Section 29 is little more than a constitutional

redundancy — an empty provision guaranteeing nothing

beyond what the federal courts deem compensable

under the Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution. This pronouncement finds no support in

the text of Article II, Section 29, which is facially

broader than the Fifth Amendment. It finds no

support in the history of Article II, Section 29 and its

predecessor, Article III, Section 14 of the 1889

Constitution, which were intended to provide greater

protection than the Fifth Amendment against

infringements on Montanans’ property rights. It finds

no support in the prior decisions of this Court, which

App. 66

recognize independent protections of property under

the Montana Constitution. And it is contrary to the

Constitutional Convention delegates’ charge that this

Court “revitalize” the civil rights of Montanans.

7 105 Rather, the Court’s decision is based on

one single proposition: that the delegates to the 1889

and 1972 Constitutional Conventions and the voters

who approved these Constitutions intended for the

meaning of “taking” and “damaging” property to be

frozen in time. Adopting an originalist interpretation

of Article II, Section 29, the Court rejects the notion

that the terms “taking” and “damaging” together

were meant to provide a broader range of protection

than extant Fifth Amendment jurisprudence

provides. Instead, the Court prefers to restrict Article

II, Section 29 to only those situations which were not

covered by the Fifth Amendment in the late

nineteenth century: “determinable consequential

damages” resulting from public works projects. I

strenuously dissent from this emasculation of Article

II, Section 29.

{ 106 Both the Fifth Amendment and Article II,

Section 29 require just compensation for the taking

and damaging of property effected by I-143. I

comprehensively analyzed this issue under the Fifth

Amendment in Kafka (see Kafka Dissent, {4 177-240);

and since there are no material factual distinctions

between Kafka and the present case, it is not

necessary to repeat that analysis here. Rather, I focus

in this Dissent primarily on Article II, Section 29 and

explain why, contrary to the Court’s decision, this

App. 67

provision entitles the Buhmanns and the Wallaces

(collectively, “the Ranchers”) to just compensation.

First, however, I address several factual and legal

issues argued by the Sportsmen, the State, and the

Ranchers in this case. I addressed some of these

issues in Kafka; accordingly, I simply reiterate the

critical points here as foundation for the ensuing

analysis.

Il. PRELIMINARY FACTUAL AND LEGAL

ISSUES

A. The Sportsmen’s Explanation of I-143

{107 It has been a lawful “business or

occupation” in this State since 1917 to acquire, breed,

own, harvest, sell, and otherwise control privately

owned game animals on an alternative livestock

ranch. This activity has been regulated, and the

regulations have become more rigorous over the

years. At the same time, however, the Legislature has

enacted provisions designed specifically to protect the

business owners’ interests — e.g., through statutory

recognition of their alternative livestock as “private

property” and their businesses as “viable economic

opportunities,” and through the statutory guarantee

that their alternative livestock ranch licenses would

' The Court prefers the term “game farm.” Opinion, ] 3

The statutory scheme, however, uses the term “alternative

livestock ranch.” See § &87-4-406(2), MCA. “Game farm” is

nowhere mentioned. Accordingly, | use the term “alternative

livestock ranch.”

App. 68

be renewed each year upon payment of the renewal

fee and compliance with al] recording and reporting

requirements. See generally Kafka Dissent, {{ 103-

109.

47 108 I-143, which was passed on November 7,

2000, gutted the alternative livestock industry and

rendered the regulatory scheme pointless. The

Sportsmen, who were “the principle forces behind the

passage of [-143,” sought to snuff out alternative

livestock ranching without the public’s having to foot

the bill. To that end, they “carefully crafted” a citizen

initiative (I-143) to prohibit remuneration for

shooting alternative livestock on alternative livestock

ranches, thereby forcing all businesses in the

industry to operate, essentially, without any income.

See Kafka Dissent, {4 114-120. As counsel for the

Sportsmen explained during oral argument:

There was a recognition by my clients that if

they passed a statute that simply said,

“Every game farm is done tomorrow,” that

that would be a very difficult takings claim

to defend against. And we didn’t want to

have to go down that road. And so the

statute was carefully crafted to address the

problem in a way that was not offensive to

taking but at the same time benefitted the

wildlife and the wildlife management of this

State.

The assertion that the Sportsmen’s

transparent charade is “not offensive” to the

guarantee of just compensation for a taking

App. 69

or damaging of private’ property is

preposterous.

47 109 In any event, the Sportsmen did not

detail their intentions to the voters. Rather, according

to the Sportsmen, “[floremost among the issues

presented to the voters in I-143 were concerns about

disease, loss of fair chase hunting ethics and

European style privatization of wildlife.” In other

words, the Sportsmen told the voters not that I-143

had been “carefully crafted” to obliterate an entire

industry — an industry that had been sanctioned,

encouraged, and nurtured by the State for 83 years,

no less — but that I-143 was “aimed” at the alluring

goal of “protecting Montana’s wildlife and hunting

heritage from a variety of dangers posed by game

farms.” An analysis of the Initiative, however, reveals

that it did not actually address any of these dangers.

As a matter of fact, the Sportsmen tacitly admit that

I-143 was a fraud on Montana voters.

7110 For instance, regarding disease, the

Sportsmen paint a grim picture. They state that

“(clontact between game farm animals and wildlife

can result in disease and parasite transmission, with

devastating impacts to native wildlife.” They

complain that “[glame farm enclosures require only a

single fence and do not prevent nose to nose contact

between wild ungulates and game farm animals.”

Plus, “liJt is virtually impossible to keep game farm

animals from coming into contact with wild animals,

as escaped animals are a fact of life for game farm

owners.” Moreover, aside from direct contact, “[slome

App. 70

diseases are transmitted by intermediate hosts,

making any form of enclosure ineffective for disease

prevention.”

{111 The Sportsmen argued these concerns to

the voters. Indeed, the Sportsmen cite the 2000 Voter

Information Pamphlet for the proposition that “[oJne

of I-143’s primary purposes was to minimize the CWD

threat to Montana’s wildlife.” (““CWD” is short for

“chronic wasting disease.”) Accordingly, given these

concerns, one would expect [1-143 to target the

problems related to diseases, perhaps through more

stringent fencing and enclosure’ requirements,

additional testing requirements, or even an outright

seizure of all alternative livestock along with a

prohibition on private ownership of alternative

livestock. However, I[-143 did none of these things. As

the Sportsmen acknowledge, “[glame farms licensed

prior to November 2000, are still legal in Montana,

even after I-143,” and “[g]ame farm operators are free

to ‘acquire, breed, grow, pursue, handle, sell or

dispose’ of game farm animals.” I-143 imposed no new

fencing or testing requirements. It does not prohibit

people from owning alternative’ livestock on

alternative livestock ranches, and it does not address

the problem of transmission of diseases through

intermediate hosts or inadequate fencing. In spite of

the dire threat posed by diseases, the Sportsmen's

initiative contains nothing addressing that issue.

{112 As for hunting ethics, the Sportsmen

state that “Montana has a proud heritage of ethical

hunting and the protection of wildlife, and I-143 was

App. 71

intended to protect the state’s interest in those

traditions.” They assert that “[iJn addition to the

enormous economic benefits of traditional big game

hunting, Montanans hold dear their hunting tradition

as an important component of their western

heritage,” particularly “the concept of fair chase

hunting.” The Sportsmen explain that they and other

citizens “opposed the ‘penned hunts’ offered by many

game farms” because “[slhooting an animal in an

enclosed facility is repugnant to these ethical hunting

traditions.” Again, citing the 2000 Voter Information

Pamphlet, the Sportsmen state that “(t]he protection

of fair chase hunting, as an ethical consideration for

Montanans, was an integral part of I-143’s provisions

to eliminate penned shoots.”

4113 I-143, however, contains no “provisions to

eliminate penned shoots.” I[-143 did three things: it

prohibited the establishment of any new alternative

livestock ranches; it revoked the right of existing

alternative livestock businesses to transfer their

alternative l

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wallace v. Montana (No. 08-1395) | Frix