Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kozlowski v. New York (No. 08-1260)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(\) , Pilem oe

No. 08- (0812 60 MAR 1722009

vd

OFFICE OF THE a

Supreme Court of the Maries Stakes ssa

L. DENNIS KOZLOWSKI and MARK H. SWARTZ,

Petitioners,

v.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRiT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

Court oF APPEALS, STATE OF NEW YORK

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NATHANIEL Z. MARMUR ALAN LEwISs

STILLMAN, FRIEDMAN Counsel of Record

& SHECHTMAN, PC. MICHAEL SHAPIRO

425 Park Avenue LauRA REEDS

New York, NY 10022 JUDITH M. WALLACE

(212) 223-0200 CARTER LEDYARD

& Mitgurn LLP

2 Wall Street

New York, NY 10005

(212) 732-3200

Counsel for Petitioner

Mark H. Swartz

Counsel for Petitioner

L. Dennis Kozlowski

22200 g 4

COUNSEL PRESS

800) 274-3321 * (S00) 359 6859

d

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a criminal defendant’s right to present a

defense under the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments

is violated when the court quashes his subpoena for the

recorded, investigatory-stage statements of the key

prosecution trial witnesses — statements which were

found likely to be exculpatory — because the defendant

did not seek to interview the witnesses himself before

he had been accused of the crime for which he was tried.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Question Presemtel \i. 6k. viee ck cies c.e.. i

"Fable of Cae cack each a ee aees ii

Table of Appendices .......| NG hcg ls ase « % iv

Table of Cited Authorities ...\,............... V

Opinions BeigW occa ee een bwcnkw ess 1

Ate as ee ]

Constitutional Provisions Involved ........... 1

Statement of Clee GAG ga csc ae wate ek ees ees: 2

Introductaom «...:. icc see a eee 3

The Internal Investigation ................ 4

The Relationship between the Internal

Investigation and the Prosecution ...... 5

The Mistrial, Defendants’ Subpoena for

Impeachment Materials and Tyco’s

Motion to Quash the Subpoena ........ 6

The Trial Court’s Decision to Quash the

Subpewiis. . 5 cc ee ee a ek oa ce ses 9

Contents

ee SE 655 Wa eo eke ba Ka whee

The Intermediate-Level State Appeal ......

The Appeal to New York’s Highest Court ...

The Court of Appeals’ Decision ............

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

eoeoerveeeeeteteeveeeeeeseeeeevee teers eeeeeeseeerteesees @

A. This Court Has Never Directly Addressed

C.

the Issue of How to Balance a Criminal

Defendant’s Right to Obtain Exculpatory

Evidence Against the Qualified Privilege

for Materials Prepared in Anticipation of

SF Pre ere re ere rer ere

Logicai Application of This Court’s Prior

Decisions Suggests That the New York

State Court’s Decision Violated the

Defendants’ Right to Present a Defense.

|

The Issue Merits This Court’s Attention

Because It Has Never Been Decided,

Is Likely to Recur and Is of Enormous

go et | ar ne

D. The Issue is Squarely Presented .......

CAPO: Sk dv oe 4k aw ceo bate cee ames

17

18

iv

TABLE OF APPENDICES ,

Appendix A — Opinion of the Court of Appeals

of New York, Dated October 16, 2008 .......

Appendix B — Opinion of the Supreme Court,

Appellate Division, First Department, New

York, Dated November 15, 2007 ............

Appendix C — Order of the Supreme Court of

New York, New York County Quashing

Subpoena, Dated January 14, 2005 .........

Appendix D — Order of the Court of Appeals of

New York Denying Motion for Reargument,

Dated January 13, 2009 (Appellant: Kozlowsk71)

eaeceozooeonoge@e Cease eoBpensneeanseeeecoa eee eee oes @e8 @ O99 ©

Appendix Ek — Order of the Court of Appeals of

New York Denying Motion for Reargument,

Dated January 13, 2009 (Appellant: Swartz)

Appendix F — Statute Involved ..............

6la

62a

Vv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Barr v. City of Columbia,

oe BRR) rrr rre 30

Bouie v. City of Columbia,

BR | ee rrr 34

Brady v. Maryland,

Ps Ce EE 0 6 5 dnd o sswvecsneuveceas 9, 25, 33

Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Savings Co. v. Hill,

NE Bi TCR en vc eh ceewepevaseees 29, 34

Chambers v. Mississippi,

OW Gi BPO RUPEE) hava Kc cevsicsiseres 17, 18, 19

Christoffel v. United States,

re Wee VGA, CIT FOGG? oc ci cece secscns 32

Crane v. Kentucky,

Bek Be: ere ee arene 19

Davis v. Alaska,

415 U.S. 308 (1974)

Davis v. Wechsler,

ee ee Df ee wawcuwwecseee 31

Daye v. New York,

696 F.2d 186 (2d Cir. 1I9S2) .... 2... cccwess 32, 33

vi

Cited Authorities

Page

Delaware v. Prouse,

ETD sea ccccceccsvceceseeer 28

Delaware v. Van Arsdall,

ES ccs cccecccsseeeveseds 19

Douglas v. Alabama,

a 30

Ford v. Georgia,

UE PE OUUL) cc icc ccvccceevecaccenes 30

Green v. Georgia,

TEED ov ccc cscs avreseccceenvnce 19

Hathorn v. Lovorn,

SO PMP EUED ocb i vce cccwcensensnens 30

Henry v. Mississippi,

SU I CRIED vis cececccncveceavseses 29

Hickman v. Taylor,

re 21

Holmes v. South Carolina,

i coke cvceeseaceas ys 18, 19

James v. Kentucky,

ge Re | a rrr 29, 30, 31

Vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Jencks v. United States,

BN SI NEED bv vevciesvacvcncevenenes 23

In re Martin Marietta Corp.,

856 F.2d 619 (4th Cir. 1988) ..... ccc ceeees 32

Michigan v. Lucas,

BT Sat RUNES. 65 chee resewesevevstecne 19

Missouri Insurance Co. v. Gehner,

BE Bie UCD, ev ce venesestrcenwces’s 34

NAACP v. Alabama,

ee Se EES ss hed betwee cdcseenseeen 31

New York ex rel. Bryant v. Zimmerman,

Ue Ni A, ek Ss ta sous wecesanscssees 32

Palermo v. United States,

Be Rs CUD Bice cece e ees savecess 23

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

ee ee ok hws a bk buaweaee passim

Pruneyard Shopping Ctr. v. Robins,

te ee I hi oo hoc bd ea dee ccveveuaws 34

Reece v. Georgia,

OF ee ED gobs nv ce ov dwdecsacewecece 29

vili

Cited Authorities

Page

Rock v. Arkansas,

ES cc kcecbeeesesesheas Xs 19

Rovario v. United States,

Ee cep sada waewn nse cun’ 20

Saunders v. Shaw,

Be ET OORT) occ kcsieccscevusevnvewss 34

Smith v. Illinois,

RS SPEED ce ciecadeservncsouseves 19

Southern Railway Co. v. Lanham,

403 F.2d 119 (Gth Cir. 1969) .........ccceese 22

Staub v. City of Baxley,

Be ie EEN) nbc c cee sceevcccvavess 28, 31

Three Affiliated Tribes v. Wold Eng’g, PC.,

— s 2G | a a rar 27, 28

United States v. Ferguson,

No. 3:06-CR137, 2007 WL 4577308

Ca ee PE) cca s-rsnsesscceaees 26

United States v. Nixon,

ee be or arn passim

United States v. Nobles,

ee ee i caw aee esas ¥s 19, 22

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

United States v. Reyes,

239 F’R.D. 691 GYD. Ca, OG) ow ws econ 26

United States v. Scheffer,

BRS ee) ae 19

Washington v. Texas,

BEB UG. Fe ee ea ew ioe stn cae. 19

Wilson v. United States,

ek US. BR ee eee ca ceeenices. 32

Wright v. Georgia,

SID UD. Fae Ce es hp ens vnecs. 34

Xerox Corp. v. County of Harris,

460 US: 1466 Ge ea ehh evavcceeee 28

Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co.,

433 U.S. GOR Cy er eee cas cceece 28

STATE CASES

232 Broadway Corp. v. New York Prop. Ins.

Underwriting Assn.,

171 A.D.2d 861 (2d Dept T90t) ............. 31

Babcock v. Jackson,

40 Misc. 2d 757 (Sup. Ct. Monroe County 1963)

Cited Authorities

Page

Lamitite v. Emerson Electric Co.,

208 A.D.2d 1081 (8d Dep’t 1994) ............ 31

People v. Gissendanner,

45 IN. 7.60 O60 (19TS) 2... cc cene 7, 9, 11, 12, 18, 15

People v. Kozlowski,

47 A.D.3d lil (ist Dep’t 2007) 2... ccc neee 11

People v. Kozlowski,

Be Pe ED vo cvcasbcdssvceseses pass1m

Tyco Int'l Ltd. v. Swartz,

No. 5259/02, 2005 WL 6175342

(Sup. Ct. N.Y. County Jan. 14, 2005) ...... 1,9, 10

FEDERAL STATUTES

Ue. ROSE. BOONE, VE jk ccc wccves 1, 38.17,80

Eye CEG SUS FUE hc 04a 40s ded uansns i, 1, 17, 30

EB UG Be HOE ove heck veces vances 16, 25

Be UA. BUM CAM) occsscitcvwasesesaeces l

28 U.S.C. $ BAGS) (1907S) 2... ccc cece cees ]

Fed. R. Civ. PR 26(b)(3) 2, 22

xi

Cited Authorities

Page

STATE STATUTES

er re cee pebeceeeebteneve® 10

Rok PR TY. | + 4 rr passim

MISCELLANEOUS

Daniel J. Meltzer, State Court Forfeitures of

Federal Rights, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1130 (1986)

ata ana a a on Oa 6 8 eke eRe eo ekTs 29

Justice O’Connor, Our Judicial Federalism,

35 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 1 (1984) ............ 28

Recommended Practices for Companies and

Their Counsel in Conducting Internal

Investigations, American College of Trial

Lawyers, February 2008 ..............0005. 24

]

L. Dennis Kozlowski and Mark H. Swartz respectfully

petition for a writ of certiorari to review the decision of the

New York Court of Appeals in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the New York Court of Appeals is reported

at 11 N.Y.3d 223 (2008), and set forth in Appendix A. The

opinion of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, First

Department is reported at 47 A.D.3d 111 (1st Dep’t 2007),

and set forth in Appendix B. The opinion of the Supreme

Court, New York County, is available at 2005 WL 6175342,

and set forth in Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The final judgments of the New York Court of Appeals,

orders denying reargument of the court’s October 16, 2008

Opinion and Order, were entered on January 13, 2009,

reported at 11 N.Y.3d 904 (2009) and 11 N.Y.3d 905 (2009),

and are set forth in Appendices D and E, respectively.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257 (1998). 28 U.S.C. § 2403(b) (1973) may apply,

and service is being made upon the Attorney General of

the State of New York.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution provides

in relevant part: “In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right to be confronted with the witnesses

against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining

witnesses in his favor ... .” U.S. Const. AMEND. VI.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

provides in relevant part: “No State shall... deprive

any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process

of law.” U.S. Const. AMEND. XIV.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case merits review because it presents a direct

and increasingly frequent collision between bedrock

values — a criminal defendant’s right to obtain evidence

necessary for his defense, versus a non-governmental

third party’s interest in being able to conduct

investigations without fear of having to later divulge its

files — in a specific context that makes that collision

almost inevitable: a non-public internal investigation

followed by a public prosecution. In such cases, the first

statements by individuals who later testify for the

prosecution are made, not to law enforcement, but

instead to private lawyers or investigators retained to

conduct an internal investigation. When defendants

thereafter subpoena these statements from the private

parties who recorded them, objections to disclosure

based upon the principle that the statements are

qualifiedly protected litigation materials are often

asserted. See, e.g., Fed. R. Civ. Pro. 26(b)(3). But when,

as here, the statements sought have genuine potential

to undercut the prosecution’s case, the defendant has a

“need for production of relevant evidence in a criminal

proceeding” that is “central to the fair adjudication of a

particular criminal case in the administration of justice.”

United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 713 (1974).

Courts thus increasingly find themselves having to

balance the competing values at stake: a private party’s

claim of qualified privilege versus a criminal defendant’s

need for relevant and potentially exculpatory material.

The constitutional standard by which these competing

values are to be weighed, and the collision between them

resolved, has never been articulated by this Court. It is

the issue that lies at the heart of this case.

3

In its opinion, the New York Court of Appeals explicitly

recognized that these values had clashed. For example, it

articulated its obligation to “strike an appropriate balance

between the rights and interests of law enforcement,

corporations and their employees, and the accused.”

People v. Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d 223, 243 (2008). And, in the

process of elucidating some of the factors relevant to this

balancing, the court held that the materials sought by the

Defendants were “reasonably likely to. . . contradict the

statements of key witnesses for the People.” Jd. But

nevertheless, it sustained the quashing of the Defendants’

subpoena for those materials because the Defendants had

failed to interview the witnesses before the indictment was

handed up. /d. at 245-46. In doing so, the court made

Defendants’ right to obtain exculpatory material

conditional on a procedural requirement that itself was

unconstitutional because it deprived the Defendants of

their right to obtain essential evidence based only on their

failure to anticipate and defend a criminal case before it

existed.

INTRODUCTION

The matter in which this question arose was among

the most intently watched white-collar criminal cases ever

brought in a state court — the prosecution of the former

CEO and CFO of Tyco International, Ltd. (“Tyco”), L.

Dennis Kozlowski and Mark H. Swartz. The essence of

the accusation was that the Defendants committed larceny

by taking “bonuses” that they had not earned. The key

issue at trial was whether Tyco’s directors had approved

the bonuses. After a seven-month trial that ended in a

mistrial, followed by a four-month re-trial, the Defendants

were convicted and are each serving indeterminate prison

sentences of 8 and 1/3 to 25 years.

4

The Internal Investigation

The investigation that led to the Defendants’

criminal prosecution was not begun by law enforcement

or a government agency. Rather, in April, 2002, Tyco

retained the law firm Boies, Schiller & Flexner

LLP (“Boies”) to conduct an internal investigation to

determine whether there had been improper

transactions between Tyco and any of its directors or

officers. Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at 233-34. As part of this

investigation, Boies conducted various interviews, four

of which came to be the focus of the appeal. Specifically,

on June 6, 2002, Boies interviewed Tyco director and

interim CEO, John Fort. Jd. at 234. On August 12 and

13, 2002, Boies interviewed Stephen Foss, Peter Slusser

and James Pasman, who had been members of Tyco’s

Compensation Committee, as well as directors, on the

relevant dates. Jd. The interviews were memorialized

in handwritten notes and draft memoranda. /d. at n.6.

During the month after these interviews, co-

defendant Mark Swartz continued to be employed as

Tyco’s CFO. He served actively, for example, by signing

Tyco’s 10-Q as its Sarbanes-Oxley Act designated

representative and conducting investor conference calls

on the Corporation’s behalf. Jd. at 285. As Defendants

later argued when seeking to obtain copies of the

recorded director interviews, Tyco’s continued

employment of Swartz in a position of such importance

after Boies had interviewed the directors belied the

notion that the directors had told Boies that Swartz and

Kozlowski stole their bonuses. If the directors had told

Boies that the bonuses were unauthorized, it is hard to

imagine that Tyco would have permitted Swartz to

5

continue to discharge the very sensitive, high level

responsibilities that it did.

On September 11, 2002, Mr. Swartz stepped down

after the appointment of a new CFO, pursuant to a

separation agreement, negotiated in August, whose

terms included a $50 million severance payment. A1119-

22.' The next day, Messrs. Swartz and Kozlowski were

indicted. The principal charges, upon which they were

later convicted, were that they had stolen four specific

sums, claimed by the Defendants as bonuses. Kozlowski,

11 N.Y.3d at 230.

The Relationship between the Internal Investigation

and the Prosecution

Boies learned of the first “unauthorized” bonus to

the Defendants in mid-July, 2002. Swartz Appellate

Division Reply Brief at 40. During the next few months,

Tyco worked closely with the prosecution in investigating

the matter. It produced “some ten million pages of

documents,” waiving privilege - at the prosecutor’s

request - over untold numbers of documents.

Swartz Subpoena Hearing Transcript, RA216 at 37.°

Approximately 35 lawyers from the Boies firm worked

on the investigation, assisted by three forensic

accounting firms. Transcript of Trial Two, A2525, A2542.

These lawyers “consulted regularly with the District

Attorney’s Office about the proceedings” and were

1. Numbers preceded by the letter “A” refer to pages in

the Appellate Division Joint Appendix.

2. Numbers preceded by the letters “RA” refer to pages in

the Respondent's Court of Appeals Appendix.

6

“committed” to “provid[ing] answers to questions or

documents that exist.” Transcript of Trial One, A663.

Among the documents produced by Tyco to the

prosecutor were several pages of notes and memoranda,

redacted to exclude attorneys’ opinions or mental

impressions, memorializing interviews with Mr. Swartz

and communications with Mr. Kozlowski’s attorneys.

Tyco Reply Memorandum of Law in Further Support of

Motion to Quash at 10. Two months after Boies learned

about the disputed bonuses, the prosecution obtained

a 94-page indictment setting forth, in detail, years of

financial transactions at Tyco. Swartz App. Div. Reply

Brief at 40. In its motion to quash the Defendants’

subpoena duces tecum, Tyco argued that its “common

interest” with the prosecution was so strong as to permit

it to disclose core work product to the prosecution

without waiving work product protection for what it

disclosed. Tyco Reply Memo at 17.

The Mistrial, Defendants’ Subpoena for Impeachment

Materials and Tyco’s Motion to Quash the Subpoena

The prosecution called the previously-mentioned

directors as witnesses at the Defendants’ first trial to

testify that they had not approved the disputed

bonuses. The case ended in a mistrial. Before the

commencement of the re-trial, the Defendants issued a

subpoena duces tecum to Tyco for the recorded

interviews of these director-witnesses.* Kozlowski, 11

3. The Defendants learned of these interviews when they

were listed on a privilege log produced by Tyco to the

Defendants in civil litigation. The privilege log describes the

subject of the August 12 and 13 interviews as including the

(Cont'd)

7

N.Y.3d at 235. The subjects discussed included the

interviewees’ knowledge and/or authorization of the

Defendants’ bonus compensation, a critical subject given

that the prosecution “center[ed] on the charge that

defendants’ bonuses were not approved by the

Compensation Committee or the board of directors.”

Td. at 241.

Tyco filed a motion to quash, claiming that the

Defendants had not met the standard for subpoena

enforcement enunciated in a leading New York case,

People v. Gissendanner, 48 N.Y.2d 543 (1979), which

requires a criminal defendant to demonstrate that its

subpoena is not merely a “fishing expedition,” but rather,

is “reasonably likely” to “produce relevant and exculpatory

evidence.” Tyco Memorandum of Law in Support of Motion

to Quash at 4, 6. Tyco acknowledged that materials

prepared in anticipation of litigation, as distinguished from

opinion work product, are discoverable pursuant to N.Y.

C.PL.R.3101(d)(2) upon a showing of substantial need and

inability to replicate, but claimed that the subpoenaed

materials were entitled to the higier level of protection

afforded to opinion work product. Tyco Memo at 5, 7.4

(Cont’d)

KELP and relocation loan programs, Compensation Events and

Use of Company Assets. Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at 234. Although the

subpoena originally sought production of additional materials, the

Defendants thereafter narrowed the subpoena and, on appeal,

focused exclusively on the quashing of the subpoena for the notes

of these particular interviews.

4. Although Tyco initially asserted that the materials were

also protected by the attorney-clicnt privilege, the prosecution

abandoned this argument on appeal. See Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at

244.

8

In response, the Defendants made explicit that they

sought only to discover facts (the directors’ statements),

not the attorneys’ opinions, and agreed that any

expression of opinion should be redacted from the

interview notes. Transcript of Hearing, RA213 at 22-—

23. The Defendants explained that they had substantial

need for the subpoenaed materials because of their

relevance and potential to be exculpatory. RA213 at 24,

216 at 36 (noting that after the interviews of the

director-witnesses, Tyco continued to treat Swartz as

though he “had [not] done anything wrong,” which went

directly to “the credibility of directors who [now] say,

we found out Mark Swartz [received] an ADT bonus,

we never approved that”); see Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at

243 (finding that the subpoenaed materials, if produced,

would be reasonably likely to suyport an inference that

“the director witnesses .. . changed their tune [about

the Defendants’ innocence] after the District Attorney

obtained an indictment”). The Defendants also explained

that the subpoenaed materials could not be replicated

because the interviews were conducted during a

“window of time” that had long since closed — the period

after the investigation had been commenced but before

Defendant Swartz’s employment as CFO had been

terminated. RA213 at 24; RA214 at 26. In other words,

as the Court of Appeals later held, the statements were

the earliest recordings of the director-witnesses’

positions on the key issue in the trial, and the fact that

the directors continued to employ Swartz as CFO after

those statements were made gave rise to a high

likelihood that the statements were inconsistent with

the directors’ trial testimony. Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at

242-43.

9

Moreover, the Defendants repeatedly asserted

their right to obtain the subpoenaed materials in

constitutional terms. They noted that it would be

“fundamentally unfair to the Defendants” if the

trial court were to thwart the Defendants’ right to

compulsory process by allowing Tyco “to hide behind”

the privileges it claimed. RA182; see also Trial Court

Order, Tyco Int'l Ltd. v. Swartz, No. 5259/02, 2005 WL

61753842 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. County Jan. 14, 2005)

(summarizing the Defendants’ position that regardless

of Tyco’s assertion of privileges, the subpoenaed

materials should “nevertheless [be] subject to

disclosure”). The Defendants also emphasized that the

interview notes were “material to issues at the heart of

this case,” RA182, and argued that the notes were so

likely to be exculpatory that the prosecution, if it had

obtained them, would have been under an obligation to

“provide it as Brady to us,” RA215 at 33; see Brady v.

Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963).

The Trial Court’s Decision to Quash the Subpoena

The trial court’s opinion did not directly address

Tyco’s argument that the Defendants failed to meet the

Gissendanner standard. But New York’s highest court

later found that the trial court, by focusing on privilege

issues that became relevant only after a finding that

the subpoena was otherwise enforceable, “implicitly

recognized” that the Defendants had satisfied that

standard. /d. at 242.

Nevertheless, the trial court granted Tyco’s motion

to quash. The court reached this result based largely

on its interpretation of N.Y. C.PL.R. 3101(d)(2), the

state-law discovery statute compelling production of

10

materials prepared in anticipation of litigation.®

Specifically, the court held that the Defendants had failed

to seek: the “substantial equivalent” of the subpoenaed

materials because they did not seek to interview the

director-witnesses, at an “earlier time,” 7.e., before the

defendants were accused of stealing their bonuses.

Tyco Int'l, 2005 WL 6175342.

The Re-trial

At the re-trial, the director-witnesses again denied

having approved the bonuses. This time, the Defendants

were convicted.

The Intermediate-Level State Appeal

The Defendants appealed to the Appellate Division

of the Supreme Court [New York’s intermediate level

appellate court], where they challenged the quashing

of their subpoena as a deprivation of their “right to

compulsory process and... to present a defense, as

guaranteed by the United States Constitution.” Swartz

Appellate Division Brief at 90 n.47. Specifically,

Defendants explained that there was “every reason to

believe that the statements .. . were at odds with the

5. The statute makes materials “prepared in anticipation

of litigation” discoverable “upon a showing that the party

seeking discovery has substantial need of the materials in the

preparation of the case and is unable without undue hardship

to obtain the substantial equivalent of the materials by other

means.” By contrast, New York’s statute that governs requests

to obtain work product, N.Y. C.PL.R. 3101(c), states in its

entirety: “The work product of an attorney shall not be

uvbtainable.”

1]

directors’ trial testimony.” Swartz App. Div. Reply Brief

at 11-12. The prosecution defended the quashing of the

subpoena on two principal grounds. First, it contended

that Defendants’ subpoena had been a “fishing

expedition” and therefore failed to satisfy the

Gissendanner threshold for enforcement. Prosecution

App. Div. Brief at 261-62. Second, it argued that the

materials were protected from disclosure by the opinion

work-product privilege. Prosecution App. Div. Brief at

269. The Appellate Division affirmed. App. B. With

respect to the quashing of the subpoena, it said only

that the trial court had not “improvidently exercise[d]

its discretion .. . since the documents sought were not

material and exculpatory.” People v. Kozlowski, 47

A.D.3d 111, 120 (2007).

The Appeal to New York’s Highest Court

Defendants sought and received rarely granted

leave to appeal to the state’s highest court, the New

York Court of Appeals.®

On appeal, the Defendants again emphasized that

the quashing of the subpoena violated their

constitutional rights. See Swartz Court of Appeals Brief

at 35, 42-43; see also Prosecution Ct. App. Brief at 159

(“Swartz claims that he ‘has a constitutional right to

compel disclosure of material evidence from a third

6. In 2007, the year before Defendants obtained leave from

the N.Y. Court of Appeals, it granted leave in only 36 of 2,371

criminal cases, or 1.5%. N.Y. CouRT oF APPEALS, ANNUAL REPORT

OF THE CLERK OF THE Court 2007, available at http://

www.nycourts.gov/ctapps/AnnRpt2007.pdf, at 8. The 2008

annual report has not yet been released.

12

party’”).’ The Defendants focused on this Court’s

decisions in Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39 (1987)

(holding that due process was violated by quashing a

criminal defendant’s subpoena for confidential files of a

state agency that investigates claims of child abuse), and

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974) (holding that Sixth

Amendment right to present a defense outweighed

countervailing privacy interest). See Swartz Ct. App.

Brief at 42-43.

In response, the prosecution argued that the

Defendants’ subpoena sought only “general credibility”

evidence and therefore did not satisfy Gissendanner.

Prosecution Ct. App. Brief at 166-72. The prosecution

also argued that even if the subpoena did satisfy

the Gissendanner standard, it was nevertheless

unenforceable because the materials sought were pure

opinion work product and therefore protected from

disclosure. Jd. at 172-79.

The prosecution did not argue that the materials

were protected from disclosure by a qualified privilege.

In other words, the prosecution did not assert that the

Defendants should not receive the materials if the court

rejected the prosecution’s argument that the materials

were pure opinion work product. Thus, the prosecution

did not suggest, at any point in the appellate process,

that the Defendants failed to meet the minimal standard

7. Although the subpoena issue was discussed more

expansively in the brief of Defendant Swartz, Mr. Kozlowski’s

Brief articulated that he joined in all of Swartz’s arguments,

“including but not limited to... the trial court’s error in refusing

to enforce the subpoena issued to the Boies firm.” Kozlowski

Ct. App. Brief at 81.

13

for disclosure of materials prepared in anticipation of

litigation, or argue that Tyco’s right to qualified protection

for its litigation materials could outweigh the Defendants’

need for potentially exculpatory impeachment materials,

or that Defendants should have interviewed the directors

before the indictment was issued.

The Court of Appeals’ Decision

The New York Court of Appeals decided both of the

disputed issues in the Defendants’ favor. First, disagreeing

with the Appellate Division, it held that the Defendants

had satisfied the Gissendanner standard by proffering

facts that made it reasonably likely the subpoenaed notes

contained “material that could contradict the statements

of key witnesses for the People.” Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at

243. The court explained that the subpoena sought

“specifically identified statements made by the director

witnesses regarding key issues in the case.” /d. at 241-42.

The opinion went on to explain why the subpoenaed

interview notes had genuine potential to undercut the

prosecution:

Defendants pointed to undisputed facts,

arguing that after the directors were made

aware of at least some of the defendants’

questionable activities through the Boies

Schiller investigation, they continued to permit

Swartz to exercise substantial authority as the

CFO of Tyco until September 11, 2002 — the day

before he was indicted -— and voted to pay him

$50 million in severance just one day after the

last of the relevant director interviews.

Id. at 243.

14

Second, the court held that the interview notes

were not protected by the absolute privilege for opinion

work product, but constituted only qualifiedly protected

materials prepared in anticipation of litigation,

discoverable upon a showing of substantial need and

inability to obtain their substantial equivalent. /d. at

244-45. Only then did the court affirm the quashing of

the subpoena, on a ground not argued by the prosecution

at any appellate level — that the failure of the Defendants

to seek interviews with the director-witnesses was fatal,

on the theory that such interviews would have been the

substantial equivalent of the directors’ statements to

Tyco. Id. at 245.

In a footnote, the court said it would not address

the Defendants’ constitutional argument, seeming at

first to accept the prosecution’s view that the

constitutional argument was unpreserved. /d. at 242,

n.11. But in the very same breath, the court went on to

do that which it said it would not — it clearly addressed

the Defendants’ constitutional argument. For example,

the opinion began its discussion of the subpoena issue

by citing this Court’s opinions in Pennsylvania v.

Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39 (1987), and United States v. Nixon,

418 U.S. 683 (1974), as binding authority for the

proposition that it must consider the Defendants’ “right

to a fair trial.” /d. at 242. Plainly, this is a reference to a

constitutional right, as the “fair trial” right articulated

in Ritchie and Nixon is explicitly constitutional. Indeed,

there was no reason for the New York court to cite

United States Supreme Court authority at all, other

than to address constitutional issues. Moreover, the

court made the point of citing a specific page from the

Ritchie opinion, 480 U.S. at 56, whose content and theme

15

is exclusively constitutional (e.g., it holds that criminal

defendants have a Sixth Amendment right to “put

before a jury evidence that might influence the

determination of guilt” and concludes that a defendant’s

right to subpoena confidential records is “properly . ..

considered by reference to due process”). See Kozlowski,

11 N.Y.3d at 242. The theme of the specifically cited page

of Nixon, 418 U.S. at 711, is also clearly constitutional,

as it includes such observations as “[t]he right to the

production of all evidence at a criminal trial similarly

has constitutional dimensions” and that the “Sixth

Amendment explicitly confers upon every defendant in

a criminal trial the right ... to have compulsory process.”

See Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at 242. And finally, the opinion

went on to weigh the “competing considerations” that

the Ritchie decision mandates. /d. at 243."

But despite recognizing the importance of the

materials, the court held that Defendants were not

entitled to compel their production because the

Defendants had themselves not attempted to interview

the director-witnesses at an “earlier time.” /d. at 245-

8. People v. Gissendanner, repeatedly emphasized by the

Court of Appeals as the leading New York ease on the standard

for subpoena enforcement, is itself based on federal!

constitutional principles. Gissendanner holds that although

enforcement of subpoenas for “general credibility” evidence

may be left to the sound discretion of trial courts, requests for

“access ... to otherwise confidential data relevant and material

to the determination of guilt or innocence” “must” be afforded.

Id. at 548. Indeed, the Gissendanner opinion cites Davis v.

Alaska, 415 U.S. at 316, for the principle that evidence material

to “biases, prejudices or ulterior motives” falls into the category

of evidence that must be disclosed, even when “otherwise

confidential.” /d.

16

46. Although neither the Court of Appeals nor the trial

court ever explicitly defined the “earlier time” during

which the Defendants might theoretically have

attempted to interview the Tyco directors, the phrase

had to refer to the period before September 12, 2002 —

the date on which both of the Defendants were criminally

charged with stealing from the company. Indeed, given

that the directors testified in the grand jury that the

Defendants’ bonuses were unauthorized, by the date

the indictment was handed up the directors had already

“changed their tune” and adopted the prosecution’s view

of the impropriety of the bonuses. Thus, to the extent

there can ever have been a time when director

statements “substantially equivalent” to the statements

made to Boies might have been obtainable, this could

only have been before the indictment was handed up.’

In other words, the New York Court of Appeals held

that the Defendants would be deprived of compulsory

process to obtain evidence having genuine potential to

undercut the central allegation against them, because

they did not seek to investigate that allegation at a time

before it had even been made. As we argue below, to

condition the Defendants’ access to exculpatory material

on that procedural requirement is to deny Defendants

their constitutional right to present a defense.

9. Furthermore, the notion that one party’s questions to a

witness are the substantial equivalent of another, adverse

party’s questions to the same witness is inconsistent with the

premise of our judicial system that witnesses say different,

inconsistent things to different parties at different times.

Indeed, this is why our system of justice permits cross-

examination and imposes obligations such as those mandated

by the Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. § 3500 (1957).

17

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The New York Court of Appeals affirmed the trial

court’s quashing of the Defendants’ subpoena for prior,

likely inconsistent, witness statements because the

Defendants had failed to satisfy a state-law requirement

that the Defendants were to have attempted to

interview those witnesses before they had been charged

with the crime. The question we ask this Court to review

is whether such a requirement violates a defendant’s

right to present a defense under the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments. This issue is squarely

presented, broadly consequential and has not previously

been addressed. And as explained below, the issue is

increasingly likely to recur in the context in which it

arose here — an internal corporate investigation followed

by a criminal prosecution.

A. This Court Has Never Directly Addressed the

Issue of How to Balance a Criminal Defendant’s

Right to Obtain Exculpatory Evidence Against

the Qualified Privilege for Materials Prepared in

Anticipation of Litigation.

The New York court acknowiedged that it was

required to “strike an appropriate balance” between the

fundamental right of a criminal defendant to obtain

critical impeachment evidence and the qualified

privilege that protects litigation materials. The question

of how to balance these interests is one of profound

constitutional importance, similar to, yet different from,

the questions this Court confronted in cases such as

Ritchie, 480 U.S. at 39, Nixon, 418 U.S. at 683, Chambers

v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) and Davis, 415 U.S.

18

at 308. In each of those cases, this Court analyzed how

to balance a defendant’s right to present a defense

against different kinds of countervailing values, such

as the statutory confidentiality for the records of a child-

welfare agency (Ritchie), the presumptive privilege that

protects communications of the President (N2xwon), and

evidentiary rules that disallow hearsay evidence

(Chambers). But in none of those cases, or any other,

has this Court held that a Defendant waived his right

to obtain exculpatory materials because he failed to

conduct his discovery before he was charged with a

crime.

B. Logical Application of This Court’s Prior

Decisions Suggests That the New York State

Court’s Decision Violated the Defendants’ Right

to Present a Defense.

This Court has yet to define the contours of the

“appropriate balance” between a criminal defendant’s

right to obtain exculpatory evidence and a third party’s

qualified privilege for litigation materials. However, in

weighing these competing values, this Court’s decisions

involving a defendant’s right to present a defense

suggest that the need for exculpatory evidence should

be paramount.

On numerous occasions, this Court has held that,

“C(w]hether rooted directly in the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment or in the Compulsory

Process or Confrontation Clauses of the Sixth

Amendment, the Constitution guarantees criminal

defendants a meaningful opportunity to present a

complete defense.” Holmes v. South Carolina, 547 U.S.

19

319, 324 (2006); Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 688, 689-

90 (1986). While this constitutional principle does not

“confer the right to present testimony free from the

legitimate demands of the adversarial system,” United

States v. Nobles, 422 U.S. 225 (1975), procedural or

evidentiary rules may not be applied in such a way as to

have an “arbitrary or disproportionate” impact on a

defendant’s ability to present his or her defense,

Holmes, 547 U.S. at 324; United States v. Scheffer, 523

U.S. 303, 308 (1998); Michigan v. Lucas, 500 U.S. 145,

151 (1991); Rock v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44, 55-56 (1987).

Such rules are clearly outweighed by a defendant’s need

to obtain and utilize relevant, potentially exculpatory

information or materials. See, e.g., Holmes, 547 U.S. 319;

Rock, 483 U.S. 44; Ritchie, 480 U.S. at 39; Delaware v.

Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673 (1986); Crane, 476 U.S. at

683; Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979); Davis, 415

U.S. at 308; Chambers, 410 U.S. at 284; Smith v. Illinois,

390 U.S. 129 (1968); Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14

(1967).

Thus, in Ritchie, this Court held that a defendant’s

constitutional right to due process required

enforcement of a subpoena, issued to an agency that

investigates the sexual abuse of children, for “verbatim

statements” made by a prosecution witness, even

though the agency’s records were confidential under

state law. 480 U.S. at 45, 58. In reaching this conclusion,

this Court emphasized that the state statute did not

provide for “unqualified” confidentiality and, instead,

permitted disclosure in “certain circumstances.”

Id. at 57-58. Given the qualified nature of the

confidentiality interest, this Court held that the

defendant was “entitled,” as a matter of due process, to

20

trial court review of the file to determine if it contained

“information that probably would have changed the

outcome of his trial.” Jd. at 58; see also Rovario v. United

States, 353 U.S. 58, 60-61 ..957) (holding that the

confidentiality of a government’s informant must give

way to an accused’s right to defend against criminal

charges).

Similarly, in Nixon, this Court held that a

“demonstrated, specific need for evidence in a pending

criminal case” required enforcement of a subpoena

issued to the President of the United States for

recordings of conversations between the President and

his advisers that were protected by executive privilege.

418 U.S. at 718. As this Court explained, “allowance of

the privilege to withhold evidence that is demonstrably

relevant in a criminal trial would cut deeply into the

guarantee of due process of law and gravely impair the

basic function of the court.” Jd. at 712. Therefore, “when

the ground for asserting privilege as to subpoenaed

materials sought for use in a criminal case is based only

on the generalized interest in confidentiality, it cannot

prevail over the fundamental demands of due process

of law in the fair administration of criminal justice.”

Id. at 713.

These cases suggest that when a qualified privilege

is at stake —- such as that accorded to materials prepared

in anticipation of litigation - * must give way to a

defendant’s constitutional righ. to present a defense,

and that evidentiary or procedural rules intended to

safeguard such privileges cannot be applied arbitrarily

or disproportionately so as to deprive a defendant of

access to potentially exculpatory material.

21

If certiorari is granted, Defendants will argue that

the judgment of the New York Court of Appeals was

wrong, as a matter of federal law, based on the

constitutional values inherent in the precedent cited

above. The Court of Appeals applied a discovery statute

in an arbitrary and disproportionate way, allowing the

qualified privilege for materials prepared in anticipation

of litigation to trump the Defendants’ fundamental! right

to present a defense under the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments.'® As explained above, when the New York

court criticized the Defendants for not having sought

director-witness interviews at an “earlier time”

as a condition of subpoena enforcement, it was

unquestionably referring to the time before the

Defendants were charged with larceny. But it is

anathema to the very concept of due process that a

criminal defendant can be denied his right to obtain

exculpatory evidence, based only on his failure to mount

a defense to a criminal charge that does not yet exist

(e.g., by conducting defense interviews of potential

witnesses).

10. The Court of Appeals cited Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S.

495, 513 (1947), for the proposition that “production of

attorney’s account of witness statements is justified only in

‘rare’ cases and is not appropriate when ‘potential for direct

interviews with witnesses themselves’ is possible,” Kozlowski,

11 N.¥.3d at 246. Thereby, the court confused the degree of

protection given to qualifiedly privileged litigation materials

with that owed to true opinion work product. It is plain from

this Court’s opinion in Hickman that this quotation referred to

opinion work-product materials, as opposed to materials like

those at issue here, of a factual nature, prepared in anticipation

of litigation.

22

Also central to the New York court’s error was its

assumption that the interviews Defendants might

theoretically have conducted of the director-witnesses

would have been the “substantial equivalent” of the

interviews Tyco had conducted during a window of time

that had long past. In so doing, the New York court

departed from the widely held view that prior

inconsistent statements are unique, and therefore, that

a party should not be required to attempt to replicate

prior inconsistent statements as a condition for obtaining

them. As Justice White explained more than thirty years

ago:

In the main, where a party seeks to discover

a statement made to an opposing party in

order to prepare for trial, he can obtain the

‘substantial equivalent’ by other means, Fed.

Rule Civ. Proc. 26(b)(3), 7.e., by interviewing

the witness himself. A prior inconsistent

statement in the possession of his adversary,

however, when sought for evidentiary

purposes — 7.e., to impeach the witness after

he testifies — is for that purpose unique.

Nobles, 422 U.S. at 248 (White, J., concurring); see also

Southern niailway Co. v. Lanham, 403 F.2d 119 (5th Cir.

1969) (rejecting the “rigid rule” that a party secking to

subpoena recorded statements of witnesses from his

adversary “must always show that he has been unable

to obtain statements of his own” from the witnesses

whose statements he seeks to subpoena). The Court of

Appeals’ finding — that the statements at issue were

“reasonably likely to . . . contradict the statements of

key witnesses” —- was tantamount to a conclusion that

23

the Defendants could not have replicated those

statements by conducting their own interviews of the

witnesses. Indeed, the notion that particular statements

made by witnesses before trial could ever be replicable

is belied by Jencks v. United States, 353 U.S. 657, 667

(1957), which found that such statements are so relevant

to the defense of a criminal case that they must be turned

over to the defendant as a matter of course when held

by the prosecution. In articulating the values that led

to the Jencks holding, this Court explained that denial

of access to prior statements that might be used to

impeach a witness is to “deny the accused evidence

relevant and material to his defense.” Jd. at 667. And

although Jencks was not decided on explicitly

constitutional grounds, its holding plainly has

constitutional underpinnings. See Palermo v. United

States, 360 U.S. 343, 362-63 (1959) (“[I]t would be idle

to say that the commands of the Constitution were not

close to the surface of the [Jencks] decision.”) (Brennan,

J., concurring).

In sum, by quashing the Defendants’ subpoena on

the grounds that: (a) Defendants’ right to obtain prior

inconsistent witness statements was contingent on their

having attempted to interview those witnesses

themselves; and (b) that this requirement would be

imposed even though the “earlier time” at which the

Defendants might have theoretically been able to

conduct interviews was before they had been indicted,

the Court of Appeals applied a discovery statute in an

arbitrary and disproportionate way. The court’s ruling

depended upon the unreasonable assumptions that

prior inconsistent statements are reproducible and that

defendants should be expected to take action to defend

24

criminal cases that do not exist. By its ruling, the court

unconstitutionally elevated the qualified privilege for

materials prepared in anticipation of litigation above the

Defendants’ fundamental right to present a defense.

C. The Issue Merits This Court’s Attention Because

It Has Never Been Decided, Is Likely to Recur

and Is of Enormous Public Importance.

The context in which the issue at the heart of this

case arose — an internal corporate investigation — has

rapidly become an institutionalized feature of the

governance of public corporations. Since 2001, “over

2,500 public companies have retained outside counsel

to conduct internal investigations into suspected wrong-

doing by corporate executives and employees.”

Recommended Practices for Companies and Their

Counsel in Conducting Internal Investigations,

American College of Trial Lawyers, February 2008.

Recently enacted government policies, such as those

explicitly described in the Department of Justice’s

Thompson and McNulty memoranda, have given

corporations greater incentive today than ever before

to unearth wrongdoing inside the corporation and

disclose it to the authorities. As the Court of Appeals

acknowledged, corporations “consult with law

enforcement authorities to advance their corporate

client’s interest in avoiding potentially serious criminal

sanctions,” which at times “may come at the expense of

the proper safeguarding of the rights of individual

corporate employees.” Kozlowski, 11 N.Y.3d at 243.

What this meant for Messrs. Kozlowski and Swartz, and

what it will mean for hundred or thousands of other

officers and directors accused of corporate wrongdoing,

25

is that the first interviews of future witnesses for the

prosecution will have been conducted and recorded by

private actors who are not bound by discovery

obligations such as those imposed by the Jencks Act,

18 U.S.C § 3500 (1957) and the Brady doctrine. Some of

these initial interviews will include statements favorable

to those who eventually become criminal defendants, as

impeachment material or otherwise. But because, as

here, the prosecution will not have been involved in

conducting the interview and will not possess it in its

recorded form, the defendant’s only means to obtain it

will be an invocation of the right to compulsory process

— issuance of a subpoena to the private entity that

conducted and possesses the recorded interview.

Inevitably, many of the private entities that receive

such subpoenas will resist compliance, even when

(indeed, particularly when) the interviews contain

statements favorable to the former corporate insider

who has since become adverse to the corporation (and a

criminal defendant). Private actors will use the best tool

at their disposal to resist these subpoenas. Like Tyco,

they will assert that the recorded interviews are not

discoverable on the ground the interview constitutes

either opinion work product or, as here, materials

prepared for litigation. Thus, courts will have to grapple

with how to balance a criminal defendant’s right to

present a defense against a civil litigant’s qualified

protection for materials it prepared in anticipation of

litigation.

The manner in which the New York Court of Appeals

went about the constitutionally mandated balancing

conflicts with the approach recently taken by other

26

courts encountering the same issue. For example, in

United States v. Ferguson, No. 3:06-CR137, 2007 WL

4577303, at *8 (D. Conn. Dec. 26, 2007), a federal district

court held that when a criminal defendant issues a third-

party subpoena for potentially inconsistent witness

statements made in the context of an internal

investigation, the proper procedure is to require in

camera inspection, followed by disclosure to the defense

of “any non-privileged prior inconsistent statements by

the witness.” See also United States v. Reyes, 239 F.R.D.

591, 601 (N.D. Ca. 2006) (implementing same procedure).

Notably, this procedure called for a true balancing — one

which required a court’s examination of a potentially

exculpatory witness statement so that the interest of a

defendant in the statement’s disclosure could be fairly

and accurately measured. It stands in marked contrast

to the approach by the New York Court of Appeals,

permitting even a qualified privilege to trump a

defendant’s need for genuinely exculpatory materials.

As the Association of Corporate Counsel (“ACC”)

wrote in its amicus brief to the New York Court of

Appeals, one of its “primary missions” is to “provide a

voice for the in-house bar on issues of universal

importance to our members, such as those involved in

this appeal.” ACC Brief at p. 3 (emphasis added). "'

11. The ACC is a 24,000 member organization active in 81

countries. ACC Brief at p. 3. The court also received an amicus

brief from the New York Council of Defense Lawyers

(“NYCDL’). The NYCDL is an elite organization of criminal

defense lawyers. It filed its amicus brief to address “the

inherent unfairness, and serious constitutional implications, of

(Cont'd)

27

Plainly, this is a broadly consequential issue. By

granting certiorari, this Court can provide badly needed

guidance, setting legal standards for the balancing

between these competing values that will continue to

clash with increasing frequency.

D. The Issue is Squarely Presented

The determination made by the Court of Appeals in

this case ~ that the perceived failure to satisfy a

procedural requirement embodied in a discovery statute

is sufficient to support the quashing of a criminal

defendant’s subpoena for relevant, likely exculpatory

materials — was neither an independent nor an adequate

state-law ground and, as such, does not deprive this

Court of jurisdiction to grant certiorari and address

Defendants’ federal claims.

Where “a state court’s interpretation of state law

has been influenced by an accompanying interpretation

of federal law,” that decision does not rest on an

“independent” state-law ground. See Three Affiliated

Tribes v. Wold Engineering, PC., 467 U.S. 150, 152

(1984). As described above, the Court of Appeals

explicitly considered federal constitutional law in making

its decision. For example, it began discussion of the

subpoena issue by citing this Court’s opinions in Ritchie

(Cont’d)

the trial court’s order denying [the Defendants] access to the

prior witness statements of key prosecution witnesses -

evidence that they sought to obtain for the critical,

constitutionally protected, purpose of impeaching those

witnesses on relevant and material issues in the case.” NYCDL

Statement of Interest.

28

and Nixon as binding constitutional authority for the

proposition that it must consider the defendants’ “right

to a fair trial.” Kozlowski, 11 N.¥.3d at 242. Thus, in

holding that Defendants could be denied access to

potentially exculpatory materials relevant to their

defense, the court necessarily concluded that such denial

did not infringe on the federal rights established by the

precedent it cited. See Three Affiliated Tribes, 467 U.S.

at 152 (noting that where state courts “construe state

law broadly in the belief that federal law poses no barrier

to the exercise of state authority,” this Court will render

judgment on federal law); Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S.

648, 653 (1979) (accepting review where the state court

“felt compelled by what it understood to be federal

constitutional considerations to construe and apply its

own law in the manner it did”); Zacchini v. Scripps-

Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S. 562, 568 (1977)

(same); see also Justice O’Connor, Our Judicial

Federalism, 35 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 1, 5-6 (1984)

(stating that this Court will review cases in which a state

court “upholds a particular state action on the ground

that it offends neither federal nor state law”).

For several reasons, the Court of Appeals’ decision

also does not rest on an “adequate” state-law ground.

This is so, first and foremost, because regardless of

whether the court interpreted N.Y. C.PL.R. 3101(d)(2)

correctly as a matter of state law, its application of that

statute to deny Defendants’ access to relevant, likely

exculpatory materials violated the federal Constitution.

See Xerox Corp. v. County of Harris, 459 U.S. 145, 149

(1982) (holding that state-law ground is not adequate if

law itself is unconstitutional); see also Staub v. City of

Baxley, 355 U.S. at 319 (state law that violated First

<=

29

Amendment not adequate); Reece v. Georgia, 350 U.S.

85 (1955) (state law that violated due process not

adequate); Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Savings Co. v.

Hill, 281 U.S. 673 (1930) (same). According to the court,

N.Y. C.PL.R. 3101(d)(2) works a forfeiture of the right

to compulsory process unless a defendant seeking pre-

trial statements made by prosecution witnesses has

previously attempted to interview those witnesses

himself. The court would have required Defendants to

interview the directors before the Defendants had been

indicted, and assumed that statements made by the

witnesses to the Defendants would have been the

substantial equivalent of those made to Tyco’s

investigators. This application of N.Y. C.PL.R. 3101(d)(2)

was arbitrary and disproportionate and violated the

Defendants’ right to present a defense under the Sixth

and Fourteenth Amendments. Therefore, it cannot

serve as an adequate state-law ground.

Likewise, a state procedural requirement is not

considered an adequate ground where it serves no

“legitimate state interest” and “heavily burden(s] the

assertion of federal rights.” Henry v. Mississippi, 379

U.S. 443, 447-48 (1965) (holding that “state procedural

rule[s] ought not be permitted to bar vindication of

important federal rights” unless those rules serve a

“legitimate state interest”); Daniel J. Meltzer, State

Court Forfeitures of Federal Rights, 99 Harv. L. Rev

1130, 1142 (1986) (noting that this Court will review cases

where state procedural rules were not followed if those

rules “heavily burden the assertion of federal] rights

without significantly advancing any important state

policy”); see also James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341,

349 (1984) (accepting review where state court’s

30

interpretation of procedural rule was “an arid ritual of

meaningless form and would further no perceivable

state interest” (internal citations omitted)); Douglas v.

Alabama, 380 U.S. 415 (1965) (accepting review where

procedural rule served no legitimate state interest).

Here, no legitimate state interest was served by

burdening Defendants with a requirement to interview

the director-witnesses at a time before the Defendants

had been charged with the crimes about which the

witnesses would eventually testify. Moreover, as

explained at length above, the New York court’s

interpretation of the rule heavily burdened Defendants’

right to present a defense under the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments by barring them from access

to relevant, potentially exculpatory materials.

The Court of Appeals’ interpretation of N.Y. C.PL.R.

3101(d)(2) also cannot serve as an adequate state-law

ground because that interpretation had not been

“strictly or regularly followed.” See Barr v. City of

Columbia, 378 U.S. 146, 149 (1964) (“We have often

pointed out that state procedural requirements which

are not strictly or regularly followed cannot deprive us

of the right to review.”); see also Ford v. Georgia, 498

U.S. 411 (1991) (“|Aln adequate and independent state

procedural bar to the entertainment of constitutional

claims must have been firmly established and regularly

followed.”); James, 466 U.S. at 348-349 (holding that

state-court’s interpretation of procedural rule was “not

the sort of firmly established and regularly followed state

practice that can prevent implementation of federal

constitutional rights”); Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255,

262 (1982) (holding state procedural rule inadequate

where not applied “evenhandedly to all similar claims”);

31

NAACP wv. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449, 457-58 (1958), 377

U.S. 228 (1964) (“Novelty in [state] procedural

requirements cannot be permitted to thwart review in

this Court applied for by those who, in justified reliance

upon prior decisions, seek vindication in state courts of

their federal constitutional rights.”); Stawb, 355 U.S. at

320 (holding state procedural rule inadequate where

state court’s interpretation was contrary to a long line

of prior state-court rulings). The Court of Appeals’

holding — that a defendant fails to satisfy N.Y. C.PL.R.

3101(d)(2) if he couid have obtained “substantially

equivalent” materials at some time in the past — is a

novel interpretation of state law because New York

courts had previously interpreted this as a present-tense

requirement. See, e.g., Lamitite v. Emerson Electric Co.,

208 A.D.2d 1081 (8d Dep’t 1994); 232 Broadway Corp. v.

New York Prop. Ins. Underwriting Ass’n, 171 A.D.2d

861 (2d Dep’t 1991); Babcock v. Jackson, 40 Misc. 2d

757 (Sup. Ct. Monroe County 1963). Even the

prosecution, as evidenced by its brief, did not have the

foresight to anticipate the Court of Appeals’ departure

from precedent.

Finally and for similar reasons, the New York court’s

Statement that the Defendants did not “raise a

constitutional argument” in the trial court cannot serve

as an adequate and independent ground for its

judgment. Whether a federal claim is adequately

presented in state court is matter of federal, not state

law. James, 466 U.S. at 349 (citing Davis v. Wechsler,

263 U.S. 22, 24 (1923)). Adequate presentation of a

federal claim requires “no particular form of words or

phrases ... [and is satisfied] if the record as a whole

32

shows either expressly or by clear intendment” that a

federal constitutional claim was raised. New York ex rel.

Bryant v. Zimmerman, 278 U.S. 63, 67 (1928) (emphasis

added). To determine “whether a claim that the

defendant has been denied a ‘fair trial’ involves a

constitutional claim, one must look to the factual

allegations supporting the claim.” Daye v. New York, 696

F:2d 186, 193 (2d Cir. 1982) (en banc). In short, “where

the claim rests on a factual matrix that is ‘well within

the mainstream of due process adjudication’... the state

courts must have been considered to have been fairly

alerted to its constitutional nature.” Jd. at 193.

Application of these principles requires the

conclusion that the Defendants adequately raised their

constitutional claims in the trial court (as well as on

appeal). First, the Defendants issued a subpoena for

evidence. By its nature, a subpoena for documents is an

invocation of the right to compulsory process. See /n re

Martin Marietta Corp., 856 F.2d 619, 621 (4th Cir. 1988)

(“Rule 17(c) implements the Sixth Amendment

guarantee that an accused have compulsory process to

secure evidence in his favor.”); Wilson v. United States,

221 U.S. 361, 372 (1911); see also Christoffel v. United

States, 200 F.2d 734 (D.C. Cir. 1952) (“The right of an

accused by appropriate means to obtain evidence

material to his defense is essential to the administration

of the criminal law. A subpoena duces tecum to one who

has custody of the evidence is an appropriate means.”).

The Court of Appeals acknowledged as much when it

noted that its determination of the subpoena issue was

constrained by federal constitutional law, as set forth in

Ritchie and Nixon.

33

Also important to the question of whether the

Defendants raised a federal constitutional claim is the

way they described the evidence and their need for it.

By describing the subpoenaed documents as material

to “the heart of the case,” RA182, supporting an

inference that key prosecution witnesses “changed their

tune” about Defendants’ guilt, RA187, having no

equivalent because they consist of statements recorded

during a “window of time,” RA213 at 24, and finally,

undercutting “the credibility of directors” as witnesses,

RA216 at 36, the Defendants made it apparent that their

legal position was ultimately founded, not on narrow

state law grounds, but on well recognized constitutional

values. Plainly, this was a “factual matrix that is ‘well

within the mainstream of due process adjudication.’”

Daye, 696 F.2d at 193. Moreover, when Tyco’s lawyer

characterized Defendants’ arguments as raising

Brady-like claims, RA216 at 37, he demonstrated that

Tyco, too, understood Defendants’ arguments to sound

in constitutional values.

Perhaps most significantly, the trial court

understood that Defendants’ claims were not limited to

state law questions about the applicability of the

privileges asserted by Tyco. As the trial court described,

apart from the questions of whether Tyco had valid

claims of privilege, Defendants “contend[ed] that they

[the subpoenaed documents] are nevertheless subject

to disclosure.” A823-24. Indeed, the only conceivable

reason that the subpoenaed documents could be

technically protected by a privilege, but nevertheless

subject to disclosure, is that constitutional values

override the privilege. In sum, there is no reasonable

basis for the New York Court of Appeals’ statement that

34

the Defendants had not raised a constitutional argument

in the trial court.

Alternatively, the novel interpretations of the New

York Court of Appeals — first, that New York’s discovery

statute requires criminal defendants to seek witness

interviews, before they become criminal defendants, as

a condition of subpoena enforcement, and second, that

there is such a thing as the “substantial equivalent” for

a prior inconsistent statement — were so unexpected

that these determinations, in and of themselves, provide

a basis for this Court’s jurisdiction. Pruneyard

Shopping Ctr. v. Robins, 447 U.S. 74, 86 n. 9 (1980)

(“This Court has held federal claims to have been

adequately presented even though not raised in lower

state courts when the highest state court renders an

unexpected interpretation of state law or reverses its

prior interpretation.”) (citing Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust

& Savings Co., 281 U.S. at 677-78); Missouri Ins. Co. v.

Gehner, 281 U.S. 313, 320 (1930); Saunders v. Shaw, 244

U.S. 317 (1917); see also Bowie v. City of Columbia, 378

U.S. 347 (1964) (finding Supreme Court review

appropriate where state court broadens application of

state law beyond a fair reading so as to deny due

process); Wrizhkt v. Georgia, 373 U.S. 284, 291 (1963)

(finding Supreme Court review appropriate where there

is no state precedent for holding). Here, the New York

court’s interpretation of N.Y. C.PL.R. 3101(d)(2) was

entirely unexpected, amounted to a violation of due

process and rested on an interpretation of the statute

that was contrary to precedent and was never argued

by the prosecution. Accordingly, we respectfully submit

that this petition presents a case for Supreme Court

review that is not merely appropriate, but compelling.

35

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the writ of certiorari

should issue.

Respectfully submitted,

ALAN LEwIS

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL SHAPIRO

LAURA REEDS

JUDITH M. WALLACE

CARTER LEDYARD

& MILBURN LLP

2 Wall Street

New York, NY 10005

(212) 732-3200

Counsel for Petitioner

L. Dennis Kozlowski

NATHANIEL Z. MARMUR

STILLMAN, F'RIEDMAN

& SHECHTMAN, PC.

425 PARK AVENUE

New York, NY 10022

(212) 223-0200

Counsel for Petitioner

Mark H. Swartz

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS OF NEW YORK, DATED OCTOBER 16, 2008

COURT OF APPEALS OF NEW YORK

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

Vv.

L. DENNIS KOZLOWSKI,

Appellant.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

V.

MARK H. SWARTZ,

Appellant.

Oct. 16, 2008

OPINION OF THE COURT

CIPARICK, J.

In this appeal relating to the convictions of two

former executives for crimes associated with corporate

wrongdoing, we are asked to determine whether the

admission of an attorney’s testimony concerning certain

facts related to a corporate internal investigation

a

Appendix A

improperly cenveyed to the jury an opinion regarding

defendants’ guilt. We conclude that this testimony—and

the prosecutor’s summation comments thereon—did not

convey such an opinion. Second, we hold that Supreme

Court did not abuse its discretion in quashing defendants’

subpoena duces tecum, which sought the factual pertions

of certain interview notes and a memorandum prepared

during the course of the internal investigation. Although

defendants satisfied the minimal threshold showirg

necessary for enforcement, the materials defendants

requested are shielded from production by the qualified

privilege covering trial preparation materials (see CPLR

3101{[d][2]). Finally, we do not reach the question whether

the fines imposed under Penal Law § 80.00 violated

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 147

L.Ed.2d 435 [2000], because we conclude that if error exists

it was harmless.

i

Defendants are the former chief executive officer

(L. Dennis Kozlowski) and chief financial officer (Mark

H. Swartz) of Tyco International Ltd., a publicly-held

diversified manufacturing company. After a nearly six-

month trial, a jury convicted defendants of 12 counts of

first degree grand larceny (Penal Law § 155.42), eight

counts of first degree falsifying business records (Penal

Law § 175.10), one count of fourth degree conspiracy

(Penal Law § 105.10[1]) and one Martin Act count of

1. This was a second trial. The initial trial ended in a

mistrial during jury deliberations.

——s

3a

Appendix A

securities fraud (General Business Law § 352-c [5]).’ The

principal charges concerned defendants’ theft of four

multimillion-dollar “bonuses” between 1999 and 2001.

Defendants’ convictions arose primarily out of their

abuse of two Tyco loan programs: the Key Employee

Loan Program (KELP) and the relocation loan program.

KELP allowed defendants and other executives to

borrow funds to pay taxes due upon the vesting of

restricted stock. The relocation loan program covered

certain moving expenses incurred when the company

transferred an employee to a new geographic area.

Defendants did not, however, utilize these programs for

permissible purposes. Instead, they incurred debts

under them that were used to finance opulent lifestyles.

For example, in 2001, Swartz assisted Kozlowski in

charging $12.75 million in purported KELP loans to

cover the cost of nine paintings, including a Monet and

a Renoir. These paintings were hung in a $30 million

Fifth Avenue apartment that Kozlowski shared with his

wife.? Kozlowski also purchased a $7.2 million Park

Avenue residence, which he later relinquished as part

of a divorce settlement, by charging it to his Tyco

relocation account as a no-interest loan. Additionally,

Kozlowski utilized KELP loans to finance millions of

dollars in jewelry purchases and an $8.3 million stake in

a New Jersey sports partnership. Swartz similarly had

millions of dollars in company loans transferred to his

2. Kozlowski characterized this residence, which was only

used by him and his wife, as a “hotel room,” albeit one that was

“larger and more elaborate.”

4a

Appendix A

personal accounts to cover the costs of personal

expenditures and investments. By August 1999,

Kozlowski and Swartz owed Tyco $52.7 million and $17.4

million, respectively. To satisfy these obligations,

defendants turned to Tyco’s “Incentive Compensation

Plan.”

Under the Plan, defendants were entitled to a base

salary regardless of the company’s performance, but

had the potential to earn “performance awards,” or

bonuses, by exceeding certain performance goals or

“hurdles.” These awards took the form of cash payments

and the vesting of restricted stock. In general, Swartz’s

potential awards were half those of Kozlowski’s.

Performance goals were established by Tyco’s four-

member Compensation Committee, under authority

delegated to it by the corporation’s board of directors.

The Incentive Compensation Plan specifically provided

that prior to any payments the Committee would certify

that the performance goals had been satisfied. Such

certification generally took place at the close of Tyco’s

fiscal year, which ended on September 30, when audited

financial results were available.* The Committee would

review information packages prepared by employees

working under the direction of defendants. In addition,

Swartz would appear before the Committee to explain

3. A 1997 amendment to the Incentive Compensation Plan

permitted the Committee to authorize payments prior to the

close of the fiscal year. No documentation or third-party

testimony was presented that this authority was exercised with

respect to any of the alleged larcenies.

Sa

Appendix A

whether that year’s performance goals had been

satisfied. Following its review, the Committee—acting

as a whole—would determine whether any bonuses were

due defendants and record its awards in the official

minutes.

These procedures were not employed with respect

to the four so-called “mega-larceny” bonus counts,

under which the jury convicted Kozlowski and Swartz

of stealing $77 million and $44.5 million, respectively.

Two of these bonuses—those paid in August 1999 and

August 2000—took the form of reductions of debts that

defendants owed Tyco. During the relevant time periods,

defendants’ loan balances were considerable. Even after

they ordered bonus payments of $25 million (Kozlowski)

and $12.5 million (Swartz) in August 1999, Kozlowski still

owed $27.7 million and Swartz owed $4.9 million. Those

amounts did not decrease over time. Indeed, in August

2000, when defendants facilitated a second round of

“loan-forgiveness” bonuses, including a “tax gross-up,”

that were valued at $32.97 million for Kozlowski and $16.6

million for Swartz, their respective loan obligations stood

at $25 million and $8.3 million.

The remaining bonus counts concerned payments

made in November 2000 and August 2001. In the first,

defendants ordered cash payments for themselves,

totaling $17.2 million (Kozlowski) and $8.65 million

(Swartz). In connection with the November 2000 bonus,

defendants also received $8.2 million (Kozlowski) and

$4.1 million (Swartz) worth of stock. The August 2001

bonus took the form of a vesting of restricted stock.

6a

Appendix A

After the bonus transaction was processed, defendants

sold that stock for $8.2 million (Kozlowski) and $4.1

million (Swartz).

Common to all four of these bonuses was the absence

of documentation in the information packets provided to

the Compensation Committee or that Committee’s minutes

authorizing the bonuses that defendants received. In

addition, every member of the Compensation Committee

who was available to testify at trial denied approving these

purported bonuses.

Defendants asserted, however, that the bonuses had

been properly authorized. As to the first three bonuses,

their claim rested primarily upon Kozlowski’s

communications with the late Philip Hampton, the

former chair of the Compensation Committee.‘

Kozlowski testified that he had explained the

justification and mechanics of these bonuses to

Hampton. According to Kozlowski, Hampton’s response

was that he was “fine with” the bonuses and that he

would “handle” the authorization of the payments by

“dealing with the issues” raised by the Compensation

Committee and by requesting additional materials from

Kozlowski and his subordinates, if necessary. Defendants

proffered no documentation from Hampton or Kozlowski

reflecting these assurances. Swartz did assert that he

made certain presentations to the Compensation

Committee and the board, but also offered no evidence

to support that claim.

4. At the time that he allegedly authorized the first bonus

payment in August 1999, Hampton was suffering from cancer

and receiving radiation treatment and chemotherapy.

7a

Appendix A

Hampton died prior to defendants’ receipt of the

August 2001 bonus. Kozlowski claims that this bonus

was approved by Stephen Foss, then-chair of the

Compensation Committee. After Kozlowski told him that

the bonus had been approved, Swartz ordered that it

be processed. Under the heading “FY 2001 Projected

Incentive Plan Projected Payments,” the Compensation

Committee’s October 2001 minutes contain a resolution

stating that the restricted stock bonus “vested on June

20, 2001.” But defendants had already sold this stock to

a Tyco subsidiary in August 2001, long before the

Compensation Committee passed this retroactive

vesting resolution. There is no documentation or third-

party testimony demonstrating that the Committee was

aware at the time of passage that such sales had

occurred.

In April 2002, Tyco retained the law firm of Boies,

Schiller & Flexner LLP (Boies Schiller) to conduct an

internal investigation into Kozlowski’s payment of a $20

million investment banking fee to a member of the

company’s board, Frank Walsh.® The May 17, 2002

5. Without informing Tyco’s board of directors or its

shareholders, defendants arranged this payment to Walsh in

exchange for his efforts in facilitating Tyco’s merger with the

CIT Group in March 2001. Because they believed that payments

of less than $15 million did not need to be disclosed in Tyco’s

proxy statement, defendants had $10 million paid to Walsh and

another $10 million paid to a charity of his choosing. Walsh

pleaded guilty to a securities fraud charge for concealing the

payment and was sentenced to a fine and a conditional discharge.

Defendants were convicted of first degree grand larceny for

having approved and facilitated the Walsh payment.

8a

Appendix A

retention letter memorializing this engagement states

that it encompassed “any litigation arising from or

relating to” a review and analysis of transactions

between the company and “certain of its directors and

officers.” Such litigation, including a federal multi-

district litigation in a federal court in New Hampshire,

did in fact eventually commence.

At least a dozen Boies Schiller attorneys assisted in

the investigation, which was headed by the firm’s

founding partner, David Boies. Although initially

confined to the circumstances surrounding the Walsh

payment, the Boies schiller investigation expanded in

June 2002, when Kozlowski resigned as CEO after being

indicted for his failure to pay sales taxes owed on

artwork that he purchased. On June 3, 2002, the Boies

Schiller attorneys began looking into whether Tyco’s

directors and officers had engaged in improper

transactions with company funds. In connection with

this assignment, they interviewed Tyco’s employees and

directors. These interviews occurred following

Kozlowski’s departure from Tyco.

On July 17, 2002, Boies interviewed Swartz

regarding the August 1999 bonus. Boies met with

Swartz alone and he did not take notes or otherwise

memorialize the interview. That same day, Boies met

w‘th director, and then-interim CEO, John Fort to report

the results of his interview with Swartz; Swartz was

present for a portion of this meeting. Subsequently,

Boies also met with Tyco’s new CEO, and Fort’s

replacement, Ed Breen, regarding Swartz’s continued

9a

Appendix A

employment and recommended that Tyco’s board of

directors accept a severance package that would pay

Swartz $50 million.

As part of their investigation, Boies Schiller

attorneys also interviewed Tyco’s directors. As

evidenced by Boies Schiller’s retention letter, the

purpose of these interviews was to assist the company

in preparing for potential litigation, particularly

shareholder derivative suits. Thus, on June 6, 2002, a

Boies Schiller attorney interviewed director Fort. As

summarized in privilege logs that Tyco filed in connection

with the federal multi-district litigation in New

Hampshire, this interview concerned the “Walsh

payments.” On August 12 and 13, 2002, Boies Schiller

attorneys interviewed all the surviving members of the

Compensation Committee-directors Stephen Foss,

Peter Slusser and James Pasman. The federal privilege

logs summarize these interviews as concerning the

KELP and relocation loan programs, “Compensation

Events” and “Use of Company Assets.” ®

On August 1, an agreement was reached whereby

Swartz would resign from Tyco’s board of directors

immediately, but continue as CFO until a successor was

found. The August 1 agreement also limited Swartz’s

severance, in the event that he was terminated as CFO

prior to being convicted of a felony, to $50 million. This

reduced Tyco’s severance obligation, as set forth in an

6. The relevant interviews were memorialized in

handwritten notes and a draft memorandum.

10a

Appendix A

earlier retention agreement, by $100 million. Around the

time that the August 1 agreement was entered, Tyco

publicly announced that Swartz would leave the company

when a new CFO was hired.

On August 14, Tyco’s board voted to approve the

August 1 agreement. After that date, however, Swartz

continued to serve as Tyco’s CFO until he was

terminated on September 11, 2002, one day before he

was indicted. In that capacity, he participated in investor

conference calls as one of Tyco’s spokespersons and

signed Tyco’s 10-Q as its representative under the

federal Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

The subpoena duces tecum in question, joined in by

Kozlowski, was served by Swartz’s counsel on October

13, 2004—approximately six months after the initial

mistrial in this case—in preparation for defendants’

second trial. It sought from Boies Schiller “[a]ll

memoranda and notes of {the firm’s] personnel (or

forensic accountants working on their behalf) relating

to interviews of employees, directors or auditors of

Tyco.” The relevant interviews covered a range of 19

topics, including executive compensation, the $20 million

payment to Frank Walsh and the payment or recording

in Tyco’s books and records of the bonuses.

On behalf of Tyco, Boies Schiller moved to quash

the subpoena, arguing that it was overbroad and

impermissibly sought disclosure of materials shielded

lla

“-ppendix A

by the attorney-client and work product privileges.’ In

response, defendants’ counsel submitted an affirmation,

which attached as an exhibit the federal privilege logs.

Defendants placed a check mark next to 72 privilege

log entries, which, they said, identified the documents

responsive to their subpoena.®

Defendants acknowledged that there was “little

dispute” that the requested materials were either

attorney-client or work product privileged, but claimed

that Tyco waived both privileges. According to

defendants, waiver had occurred through: (1) Tyco’s

production to the District Attorney of a large volume of

privileged documents, preda’ ig the Boies Schiller

investigation, (2) testimony by Tyco’s in-house and

corporate counsel and employees regarding privileged

conversations prior to the investigation, (3) the

introduction in evidence of privileged communications

and work product prepared by Tyco’s corporate and

litigation attorneys before the investigation, (4) Boies’s

direct testimony at the first trial, and (5) Tyco’s having

“cooperat(ed] fully” with the District Attorney’s

investigation by responding to document requests and

—.

7. Before filing their reply brief on the motion to quash

the subpoena, Tyco did provide 4 of the 72 requested documents

to defendants. These were notes and memoranda describing

interviews with Swartz, “redacted to exclude attorney’s opinions

or mental impressions,” that Boies Schiller delivered to both

defendants and the People.

8. Only three of those entrics—those that described the

June 6, August 12, and August 13 director—witness

interviews—are relevant here.

12a

Appendix A

questions from that office and preparing employees for

interviews with assistant district attorneys.

To justify their demand for the director-witness

interview notes, defendants argued that such

documents “go directly to the issues underlying this

indictment” and “likely reflect a better recollection by

those witnesses of details and facts th[a]n the witnesses

had at trial, or will have upon a retrial almost three years

after the interviews.” In sum, defendants argued that

they were entitled to these privileged documents

because they are “relevant and material” and because

they “more than adequately identified those specific

memoranda and notes th[at] .. . [are] responsive to the

subpoena.”

In response, Tyco argued that defendants had not

shown a substantial need for the Boies Schiller work

product and an inability to duplicate the same because

“Swartz and his lawyers have access to the same

witnesses Tyco does. He can interview them, he has

already cross-examined them, and he can investigate

them as well as Boies Schiller did.” In addition, Tyco

contended that disclosure of attorney-client and work

product privileged documents produced “in the ordinary

course of Tyco’s business” or for “litigations no longer

at issue,” which the company referred to as “historical

privileged communications,” could not effect a subject

matter waiver over privileged materials prepared in the

course of a subsequent internal investigation.

l3a

Appendix A

Finally, Tyco asserted that defendants’

“suppos[ition]” that it had “presented to the District

Attorney the substance of everything contained in its

attorney’s memoranda and notes [was] . . . incorrect”

(emphasis added). The company argued that it could

respond to subpoenas and document requests, answer

questions and otherwise cooperate with the District

Attorney’s Office without “presenting ... Boies

Schiller’s analysis and strategy from its investigation.”

To bolster this point, Tyco cited the statement of an

assistant district attorney during the related criminal

trial of Tyco’s former general counsel, Mark Belnick: “I

cannot agree with the representation that the Boies firm

have been reporting the results of their interviews to

the District Attorney’s Office.” At oral argument, Tyco’s

counsel stated that, with respect to “Boies Schiller’s

communications with the District Attorney’s Office...

there w[as]n’t disclosure of Boies Schiller work product”

and that “Tyco did not disclose the results of its

investigation to the District Attorney’s Office.”

On January 14, 2005, Supreme Court quashed the

subpoena. The court ruled that no waiver of the work

product privilege had occurred because “there is no

showing that Tyco has disclosed work product created

by Boies, Schiller to the District Attorney.” In addition,

the court concluded that defendants were not entitled

to the director-witness materials under CPLR 3101(d)(2)

because, although they pointed to the importance in this

case of the witnesses’ knowledge and the passage of

time since the interviews were undertaken, defendants

had not explained why they could not have sought to

l4a

Appendix A

conduct their own interviews of these witnesses at an

earlier time. e

At trial, defendants did not move to reopen the

subpoena question following the director-witnesses’

testimony. In the course of Boies’s direct, however, they

objected that they had not seen a privileged

memorandum that described how Boies Schiller had

discovered the illicit August 1999 bonus. The prosecutor

responded by reiterating Tyco’s claim that no materials

prepared by Boies Schiller during the investigation had

been shared with the People, stating: “I want to

emphasize that neither the defense nor the prosecution

has access to... materials that have been held to be

privileged.” Defense counsel further explained, however,

that “[i]t seems like that memorandum is the sole source

of information that [Boies is] relying on for his testimony,

and I think it would be inappropriate for us not to have

access to [it].” The court agreed and ordered production

of the memorandum.

Defendants were convicted and Supreme Court

imposed concurrent prison terms of 8 1/3 to 25 years on

each of the four bonus counts. In addition, the court

ordered joint restitution of $134,351,397 and that fines

of $35 million and $70 million be imposed on Swartz and

Kozlowski, respectively. With one exception—where the

amount was $3 million less—each of these fines

corresponded to the amounts set forth in the indictment

and amounts that defendants affirmatively testified to

having taken. Responding to defendants’ constitutional

argument against imposition of the fines, Supreme

lSa

Appendix A

Court held that “Apprendi applies to the terms of prison

sentences as opposed to fines.”

The Appellate Division affirmed in all respects

(see 47 A.D.3d 111, 846 N.Y.S.2d 44 [2007]). The court

concluded that Boies’s testimony and the prosecutor’s

summation comments thereon did not convey Boies’s

personal opinion as to defendants’ guilt of the crimes

charged; that defendants’ subpoena was properly

quashed because “the documents sought were not

material and exculpatory” (7d. at 120, 846 N.Y.S.2d 44);

and that there was no Apprendi violation because

defendants had “not dispute[d] the amount of their gains

from the acts in question” (7d.).

A Judge of this Court granted defendants leave to

appeal (10 N.Y.3d 767, 854 N.Y.S.2d 329, 883 N.E.2d 1264

(2008]); 10 N.Y.3d 772, 854 N.Y.S.2d 333, 883 N.E.2d 1268

[2008] and we now affirm.

Ra.

Defendants first argue that they are entitled to a

new trial because of the prejudicial effect of Boies’s

testimony and the People’s summation comments on that

testimony. Because the testimony and summation

complained of merely set forth facts enabling the jury

to draw an inference of defendants’ guilt, we disagree.

As an initial matter, the trial court did not abuse

its discretion in permitting the People to elicit

Boies’s background, a general overview of internal

l6a

Appendix A

investigations and the scope of the Tyco investigation.

Defendants assert that testimony regarding Boies’s

credentials—including his having lectured on the topic

of internal investigations—and his statement that law

firms conducting internal investigations often work both

with forensic accountants specially trained to ferret out

“wrongdoing” and with law enforcement authorities,

impermissibly cast a “patina of officialdom” over Boies

Schiller’s work on behalf of Tyco. This background

testimony was not unduly prejudicial. Indeed, such

testimony is generally admissible, especially where, as

here, it provides helpful context for the jury about

complex subject matter, such as an internal investigation.

In addition, such evidence was also admissible to allow

the jury to evaluate defendants’ contention that Boies’s

representation of Tyco in ancillary civil litigation gave

him a motive to slant his testimony in favor of the People

(see 2-401 Weinstein’s Federal Evidence § 401.04[4)][a]).

We turn then to the substance of Boies’s direct

testimony at the second trial.

The purpose of Boies’s testimony was twofold. First,

the People sought to use Boies’s account of his

conversation with Swartz to undercut defendants’ claim

that they had taken the August 1999 bonuses in good

faith (see Penal Law § 155.15). Second, in response to

Swartz’s eliciting testimony tending to show that the

board continued to employ him as CFO after it was

aware of the August 1999 bonuses, Boies’s testimony as

to his conversations with Tyco’s board and senior

management were used to establish how the company

reacted once it became aware of evidence suggesting

17a

Appendix A

that Swartz may have violated company compensation

procedures.

Boies’s testimony on these subjects was limited to a

firsthand factual account. Thus, Boies told the jury that,

on July 17, 2002, he explained to Swartz that his firm’s

investigation had uncovered “no documentation,” either

from Tyco’s board or the Compensation Committee,

authorizing the August 1999 multimillion-dollar

bonuses. Boies then explained that Swartz’s response

to this factual assertion was that a “journal entry”

authorizing those payments was “a mistake.” As Boies

further testified, never in the course of the July 17

interview did Swartz refer to the KELP loan reduction

authorized by this journal entry as “a bonus.” Rather,

said Boies, Swartz stated that he instructed Tyco’s

director of financial operations, Mark Foley, to process

the loan reductions because Kozlowski had told him to

do it.’ In addition Boies testified that Swartz agreed that

he would make good on his mistake by repaying the

money with interest.

Similarly, Boies’s testimony concerning his

interactions with Tyco’s senior management and its

board did not stray from its factual focus. Thus, Boies

9. The Appellate Division held that it was error to admit

this statement against Kozlowski under the theory that it was

made in furtherance of a conspiracy. The court concluded,

however, that the error was harmless because Kozlowski

testified that he instructed Swartz to make the entry after the

late Philip Hampton approved the bonus ( see 47 A.D.3d at 119,

846 N.Y.S8.2d 44). We agree.

18a

Appendix A

explained that during the July 17 interview he told

Swartz that in response to questioning from Boies

Schiller attorneys, Foley stated that Swartz directed him

to process the August 1999 bonuses. Boies then

recounted for the jury another July 17 meeting with

director Fort during which Swartz confirmed his

undertaking to repay the August 1999 bonus with

interest; Boies then told the jury that Swartz did

eventually discharge that obligation. Further, Boies

xpiained that he provided new CEO Breen with certain

“facts” and “information” concerning Swartz, which

carried an “inherent” recommendation regarding

Swartz’s continued employment. Indeed, said Boies,

Breen decided to terminate Swartz “as soon as a

replacement could be identified” and to reduce his role

as CFO in the interim. Boies then discussed the

mechanics of the August 1 agreement that facilitated

the removal of Swartz as a director and limited his CFO-

related severance to $50 million. He told the jury that

he had advised the board to accept the agreement at

the August 14 board meeting and that the board had,

in fact, voted in favor of approval.

It is fundamental that facts, such as those Boies

provided regarding his firm’s investigation of the 1999

bonus, his conversations with Swartz and Fort, his

recommendation to Breen and his advice to the board

“are the appropriate subject of evidence” (see People v.

Creasy, 236 N.Y. 205, 222, 140 N.E. 5638 [1923]). At

bottom, defendants’ complaint is that Boies was

permitted to rebut their testimony and theory of the

case with certain facts that may have led the jury to

19a

Appendix A

convict. This, however, is not prohibited. The line is

crossed not when a witness relates facts that may be

prejudicial, but when he or she conveys—either directly

or indirectly—a personal opinion regarding the

defendant’s criminal guilt (see id. at 209, 221-222, 140

N.E. 563; People v. Ciaccio, 47 N.Y.2d 431, 489, 418

N.Y.S.2d 371, 391 N.E.2d 1347 [1979)).

Contrary to defendants’ assertion, this case is

markedly different from Ciaccio. There, a police

detective was called to corroborate a victim’s account

of a hijacking by answering a hypothetical question that

assumed the facts set forth in the victim’s testimony.

We held that the detective’s testimony that the victim’s

account “was not unusual” constituted improper opinion

evidence because it usurped the function of the jury to

test the credibility of the victim-witness (see Ciaccio, 47

N.Y.2d at 439, 418 N.Y.S.2d 371, 391 N.E.2d 1347). What

was impermissible about the testimony was that its sole

purpose was to bolster the testimony of another witness

by explaining that his version of the events was more

“believable” (7d.). It was thus the equivalent of an

opinion that the defendant was guilty, which is

impermissible.

Here, in contrast, Boies testified to facts. This

testimony was in no sense hypothetical. Indeed,

defendants were provided with Boies Schiller’s work

product memorandum that led to the discovery of the

1999 bonuses. Boies’s testimony, when considered as a

whole, relayed to the jury his preliminary findings

during the investigation and the reaction of Tyco’s

20a

Appendix A

directors and senior management when they were

confronted with those findings. For example, Boies’s

discovery that “[t]here was no documentation” of the

bonuses does not constitute a legal conclusion of guilt—

the jury still had to determine defendants’ intent at

the time of the taking. Similarly, testimony that

Breen resolved on the basis of Boies’s “inherent”

recommendation to remove Swartz immediately or that

the board took Boies’s advice and agreed to pay Swartz

$50 million in severance to facilitate such removal are

not conclusions but facts, which—at most—support an

inference of criminal guilt. Kozlowski and Swartz

vigorously argued that they were entitled to the

bonuses and never contested receiving them. And

Swartz maintained that the board stood behind him

even after it learned of his alleged improprieties. The

People were entitled to present evidence casting doubt

on those theories. In sum, Boies recounted facts, which

the jurors, in light of their experience, could use to test

the merits of the charges levied against defendants

(see Creasy, 236 N.Y. at 222, 140 N.E. 563; Ciaccio, 47

N.Y.2d at 439, 418 N.Y.S.2d 371, 391 N.E.2d 1347).

We likewise reject defendants’ assertions that the

prosecutor’s summation of Boies’s testimony was

prejudicial. Defendants place particular emphasis on the

prosecutor’s statement—made in response to

defendants’ assertion that Tyco’s directors had branded

them as scapegoats to avoid their own civil and criminal

liability--that the board only became aware of

defendants’ illicit activities “after the forensic auditors

had come in and combed through all the tens of millions

2la

Appendix A

of pages that are the books and records of Tyco [aJnd

after the Boies lawyers ha[d] done their investigation.”

But this, as well as the prosecutor’s references to Boies’s

factual testimony, did not convey a “personal belief or

opinion” regarding the trial evidence or defendants’

guilt (see People v. Bailey, 58 N.Y.2d 272, 277, 460

N.Y.S.2d 912, 447 N.E.2d 1273 [1983]). Instead it quite

properly “concentrated, in argument, on proved facts

and circumstances and the inferences to be drawn

therefrom” (id.).

IIf.

The second issue we address is whether Supreme

Court abused its discretion in quashing defendants’

subpoena. Our standard for enforcing a third-party

subpoena duces tecum was set forth nearly 30 years ago

in People v. Gissendanner, 48 N.Y.2d 548, 550, 423

N.Y.S.2d 893, 399 N.E.2d 924 [1979]. Under it,

defendants must proffer a good faith factual predicate

sufficient for a court to draw an inference that specifically

identified materials are reasonably likely to contain

information that has the potential to be both relevant

and exculpatory.

>

Here, the People’s case centers on the charge that

defendants’ bonuses were not approved by the

Compensation Committee or the board of directors.

Defendants maintain that the bonuses were properly

approved through the efforts of either the late Philip

Hampton or Stephen Foss. Among other things, their

subpoena seeks specifically identified statements made

22a

Appendix A

by the director-witnesses regarding key issues in this

case, including, most notably, compensation events.

Although defendants have certainly not made a robust

showing under Gissendanner, we disagree with the

People’s contention that defendants were simply fishing

for “general credibility” evidence (see Gissendanner, 48

N.Y.2d at 548, 423 N.Y.S.2d 893, 399 N.E.2d 924). Indeed,

the trial court implicitly recognized as much by confining

its written opinion on the subpoena application to

questions concerning the applicability of the work

product and trial preparation privileges (cf United

States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 703, 94 S.Ct. 3090, 41

L.Ed.2d 1039 [1974] [after determining that subpoena

is otherwise enforceable court must evaluate whether

documents sought are shielded by privilege]).

The proper purpose of a subpoena duces tecum, of

course, is to compel the production of specific documents

that are relevant and material to facts at issue in a

pending judicial proceeding. The relevant and material

facts in a criminal trial are those bearing upon “the

unreliability of either the criminal charge or of a witness

upon whose testimony it depends” (see Gissendanner,

48 N.Y.2d at 550, 423 N.Y.S.2d 8938, 399 N.E.2d 924).

Here, defendants seek to challenge the director-

witnesses’ testimony that they did not approve the four

charged bonuses, evidence that bears directly on the

question whether defendants took those bonuses under

a good faith claim of right (see Penal Law § 155.15{1)).

In meeting the burden for production, defendants

need not—and indeed could not—show that director-

23a

Appendix A

witness statements are “actually” relevant and

exculpatory (see Gissendanner, 48 N.Y.2d at 550, 423

N.Y.S.2d 893, 399 N.E.2d 924).'° Gissendanner does

mandate, however, that they point to specific facts

demonstrating a reasonable likelihood that such

material may be disclosed and that they are not engaged

in a fishing expedition. In applying this standard, we

must give due regard to the accused’s right to a fair

trial (Ritchie, 480 U.S. at 56, 107 S.Ct. 989; Nzxon, 418

U.S. at 711, 94 S.Ct. 3090)."!

Here, defendants were not engaged in “general

discovery” regarding the director-witness statements.

Instead, they identified the specific director-witness

interview notes and memorandum that they sought by

referring Supreme Court to Tyco’s privilege log.

Defendants pointed to undisputed facts, arguing that

after the directors were made aware of at least some of

defendants’ questionable activities through the Boies

Schiller investigation, they continued to permit Swartz

to exercise substantial authority as the CFO of Tyco until

10. The People do not urge us to adopt the Appellate

Division’s framing of the Gissendanner test, which would

require defendants to show that “the documents sought were

... material and exculpatory” (see 47 A.D.3d at 120, 846 N.Y.S.2d

44 [emphasis added]). In any event, we reject this standard, as

it is “impossible” to satisfy absent review of the relevant

documents (see Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 57, 107

S.Ct. 989, 94 L.Ed.2d 40 [1987]).

11. As the People point out, defendants did not raise a

constitutional argument in support of their subpoena below,

and we therefore address none.

24a

Appendix A

September 11, 2002—the day before he was indicted—

and voted to pay him $50 million in severance just one

day after the last of the relevant director interviews.

On the basis of these facts, defendants asserted that

the “directors witnesses ... did not believe Mr. Swartz

had engaged in any wrongful conduct and only ‘changed

their tune’ after the District Attorney obtained an

indictment.” The People argue that this factual showing

was insufficient.

We conclude that defendants met their burden

under Gissendanner: they identified specific director-

witness statements and proffered facts that permitted

an inference that those statements were reasonably

likely to contain material that could contradict the

statements of key witnesses for the People. In this case,

however, there is a claim that the relevant documents

are privileged and thus not subject to production.

Additional analysis is therefore required.

IV.

As frequently occurs today, the director-witness

statements were obtained in the course of corporate

internal investigation, which inevitably implicates the

attorney-client and work product privileges (see McNeil

and Brian, Internal Corporate Investigations, at 18-19

[8d ed] [hereinafter McNeil and Brian]). In that

connection, private law firms conducting internal

investigations may consult with law enforcement

authorities to advance their corporate client’s interest

in avoiding potentially serious criminal sanctions

25a

Appendix A

(see e.g. United States v. Stein, 541 F'3d 130, 137, 142

(2d Cir.2008}). While collaboration between prosecutors

and attorney investigators may provide a public benefit

through the more efficient detection and punishment

of corporate wrongdoing, it may come at the expense of

the proper safeguarding of the rights of individual

corporate employees (see Stein, 541 F.3d at 156-157).

Courts must be sensitive to these competing

considerations and endeavor to strike an appropriate

balance between the rights and interests of law

enforcement, corporations and their employees, and the

accused. We cannot say that the balance struck by the

trial court here amounts to an abuse of discretion as a

matter of law.

This case highlights a tension in CPLR 3101’s

treatment of attorney work product (which is not

obtainable) and trial preparation materials (which may

be disclosed “only upon a showing that the party seeking

discovery has a substantial need of the materials in the

preparation of the case and is unable without undue

hardship to obtain the substantial equivalent of the

materials by other means” [CPLR 3101(c), (d)(2)]). The

separation of work product and trial preparation

materials was apparently an attempt to shield materials

protected by the attorney-client privilege from

disclosure (see 11th Ann Rep of N.Y. Jud. Conf., at 152

[1966] (“Whoever drafted the ‘work product’ provision

. was doubtless thinking of such things as private

consultations between attorney and client and

memoranda of them” ]; Connors, Practice Commentaries,

McKinney’s Cons Laws of N.Y., Book 7B, CPLR

26a

Appendix A

C3101:27, at 53-54; Siegel, N.Y. Prac. § 347 [4th ed.]).

Thus, when particular work product is generated for

litigation, courts have tended to classify it as trial

preparation material, unless it contains otherwise

privileged communications (see Connors, Practice

Commentaries, McKinney’s Cons. Laws of N.Y., Book 7B,

CPLR C3101:27, at 53-54).

Here, the director-witness interview notes and

memorandum were prepared to assist Tyco’s preparation

for civil litigations that eventually commenced. In its motion

to quash the subpoena, Tyco asserted that these materials

were shielded by the attorney-client privilege, stating at

oral argument that “[t]hose are interviews with Tyco

employees ... [who] are communicating with counsel for a

... legal purpose.” Assuming that these communications

were confidential, this assertion may well be correct. In

this Court, however, neither the People nor defendants

urge us to hold that the director-witness interview

materials are attorney-client privileged. Instead,

defendants assert that those statements are merely

conditionally-privileged trial preparation materials while

the People contend that they are absolutely privileged work

product.

12. A trial court may conduct an in camera review of

subpoenaed materials to assess an opposing party’s privilege

claims (see Matter of Subpoena Duces Tecum to Jane Doe, 99

N_.Y.2d 434, 442, 757 N.Y.S.2d 507, 787 N.FE.2d 618 [2003]; accord

Matter of Nassau County Grand Jury Subpoena Duces Tecum

Dated June 24, 2008, 4 N.Y.3d 665, 679 n. 11, 797 N.Y.S.2d 790,

830 N.E.2d 1118 (20051). Here, however, no such review was

necessary because defendants failed to meet the statutory

criteria necessary to obtain production of the director-witness

statements (see CPLR 3101[d] [2]).

27a

Appendix A

On this record, we conclude that defendants have

the better argument. This is because they have limited

their request to “the facts reported to Boies Schiller in

th[e] interviews.” Indeed, defendants expressly agreed

to permit Supreme Court to redact any material that

would reveal opinion work product, or that portion of

the interview notes reflecting the Boies Schiller

attorneys’ “mental impressions, opinions, or legal

theories” (see McNeil and Brian at 47). As we explained

(see People v. Consolazio, 40 N.Y.2d 446, 453, 387

N.Y.S.2d 62, 354 N.E.2d 801 [1976]), the mere fact that

a narrative witness statement is transcribed by an

attorney is not sufficient to render the statement “work

product” (see also Siegel, N.Y. Prac. § 347 [“The fact

that a lawyer has taken a statement from a witness does

not transmute the statement into a ‘work product’: a

lay person could have taken it”}; Weinstein-Korn-Miller,

N.Y. Civ. Prac. 7 3101.47 (“Where . . . statements of

witnesses could not reveal legal analysis or strategy by

their disclosure, and legal training might have been

used but was not required for their creation, the courts

should consider them trial preparations covered by

CPLR 3101(d)”)).

Although we agree with defendants that the

director-witness statements are trial preparation

materials and not absolutely privileged, enforcement of

their subpoena was directed to the trial court’s

discretion (see Gissendanner, 48 N.Y.2d at 550, 423

N.Y.S.2d 893, 399 N.E.2d 924; cf People v. Hodge, 53

N.Y.2d 318, 319, 441 N.Y.S.2d 231, 423 N.E.2d 1060

[1981]). In making its discretionary determination that

28a

Appendix A

defendants did not establish an inability to “obtain the

substantial equivalent” of the facts contained in the

director-witness interview notes without “undue

hardship” (see CPLR 8101[d]{2]; Weinstein-Korn-Miller,

N.Y. Civ Prac {1 3101.55), Supreme Court relied upon

defendants’ failure to “explain[ ] why the defense could

not have sought to conduct its own interviews of these

witnesses at an earlier time.” We cannot say that this

conclusion represents an abuse of the trial court’s

discretion. Defendants made no effort to show any

“undue hardship” that would have prevented them from

securing their own “substantial[ly] equivalent”

interviews with the director-witnesses (see CPLR

3101[d] [(2]). As Tyco pointed out in its reply submission

on its motion to quash, defendants “have access to the

same witnesses as Tyco does.”

Even on appeal, defendants have not proffered an

explanation for their failure to seek interviews with the

directors at an earlier time or stated whether they ever

made an independent attempt to secure the relevant

statements, a requirement for obtaining an attorney’s

trial preparation materials (see Hickman v. Taylor, 329

U.S. 495, 513, 67 S.Ct. 385, 91 L.Ed. 451 [1947]

| production of attorney’s account of witness statements

is justified only in “rare” cases and is not appropriate

when potential for “direct interviews with the witnesses

themselves” is possible]; see also In re Grand Jury

Proceedings, 219 F:3d 175, 192 [2d Cir.2000] [remanding

for a determination whether government had

“exhausted other means” for obtaining work product

and instructing prosecutor to “explain to the district

29a

Appendix A

court why it cannot obtain the information it seeks

through other witnesses” ]; United States v. Reyes, 239

F.\R.D. 591, 602 n. 2 [N.D. Cal.2006]; People v. Grady,

130 Misc.2d 677, 679, 497 N.Y.S.2d 234 (Sup. Ct., Bronx

County 1985)).

Since they failed to make the requisite showing of

“undue hardship” under CPLR 3101(d)(2), defendants

would only have been entitled to production of the

director-witness statements if Tyco had waived the

qualified privilege covering those documents (see United

States v. Nobles, 422 U.S. 225, 239, 95 S.Ct. 2160, 45

L.Ed.2d 141 [1975]}). The qualified privilege governing

trial preparation materials “is waived upon disclosure

to a third party where there is a likelihood that the

material will be revealed to an adversary, under

conditions that are inconsistent with a desire to maintain

confidentiality” (see Bluebird Partners v. First Fid.

Bank, N.J., 248 A.D.2d 219, 225, 671 N.Y.S.2d 7 [1st

Dept.1998]). In response to defendants’ specific waiver

allegations, Tyco bore the burden of establishing that

no such waiver had occurred (see Spectrum Sys. Intl.

Corp. v. Chemical Bank, 78 N.Y.2d 371, 377, 575 N.Y.S.2d

809, 581 N.E.2d 1055 [1991)).

The determination of whether and to what extent

waiver has occurred is inherently factual and turns on

case-by-case considerations of “fairness” (see John Doe

Co. v. United States, 350 F.3d 299, 302 [2d Cir.2003],

quoting /n re Grand Jury Proceedings, 219 F.3d at 183).

Although review of this discretionary determination is

“highly deferential” (John Doe Co., 350 F.3d at 306), the

30a

Appendix A

U.S. Supreme Court has indicated that a trial court

properly exercises its discretion when it orders

disclosure of “the portion” of trial preparation materials

that is directly relevant to another, previously-disclosed,

portion (see Nobles, 422 U.S. at 240, 95 S.Ct. 2160). Thus,

a party is essentially precluded from using its trial

preparation materials as both a sword and a shield. In

evaluating defendants’ waiver claims, we must confine

our analysis to those arguments they asserted before

Supreme Court (see People v. Nieves, 2 N.Y.3d 310, 315,

778 N.Y.S.2d 751, 811 N.E.2d 13 [2004]). We affirm

Supreme Court’s discretionary determination that Tyco

met its burden of establishing the absence of waiver in

this case.

Defendants first argue that waiver occurred when

Tyco produced attorney-client and work product

privileged materials to the People in response to their

grand jury subpoena. Tyco had initially declined to

vender these documents because it was conducting a

privilege review. Two days before the grand jury’s term

was to expire, however, Tyco honored the District

Attorney’s demand that it produce the documents to

prevent unnecessary delay in the grand jury’s

deliberations.'’ Defendants do not dispute that the

13. In its letter accompanying production of these

documents, Tyco referenced an agreement with the District

Attorney, whereby “production... would not constitute a waiver

of any privilege.” In light of our conclusion that these documents

were unrelated to the director-witness statements, we need not

pass upon the effect—if any—of Tyco’s “reservation” of its

privilege.

3la

Appendix A

documents produced in response to the subpoena do

not refer to the Boies Schiller investigation. As Supreme

Court found, those documents—which were prepared

by Tyco’s in-house and outside counsel—“were not

created for the current criminal case and civil

proceedings, but for past litigation, government filings

and other corporate actions.” In addition, it can hardly

be said that Tyco was wielding the qualified privilege

covering these documents as both a sword and a shield

Since it provided them to both the People and

defendants before trial.

Defendants cite no authority for the proposition that

disclosure of historical privileged documents waives the

privilege covering trial preparation materials created

in a subsequent internal investigation. We decline to so

hold. We reach this conclusion because a trial court has

discretion to limit waiver of the qualified privilege

covering trial preparation to matters actually referenced

in disclosed materials. Here, the materials produced to

the grand jury did not—and could not—refer to

director-witness interview notes and a memorandum

produced in a subsequent internal investigation."

14. Defendants also premise their documentary waiver

claims on the introduction in evidence of KELP summaries

prepared by UKW, a forensic accounting firm that assisted

Boies Schiller in its investigation, and the minutes of the board’s

August 14 meeting, which described Boies’s recommendation

that Tyco fire Swartz and summarized Tyco’s counsel’s

discussion with an assistant district attorney regarding Swartz’s

potential indictment. Having failed to present these claims to

(Cont'd)

32a

Appendix A

Next, defendants argue that waiver occurred through

Tyceo’s cooperation with the District Attorney’s

investigation. It is beyond dispute that, had Boies Schiller

provided the prosecution with the “written or recorded

statements” of the director-witnesses, or had the People

taken such notes themselves, defendants would be entitled

to those statements pursuant to the rule of People v.

Rosario, 9 N.Y.2d 286, 213 N.Y.S.2d 448, 173 N.E.2d 881

[1961]; CPL 240.45. But defendants ask us to hold that

the statements should have been provided here based upon

their conjecture that Boies Schiller attorneys shared the

substance of the director-witness statements with the

People. Two assistant district attorneys and Tyco’s counsel,

all of whom owed duties of candor to the tribunal, denied

that this occurred (see Code of Professional Responsibility

DR 7-102[a}[5] {22 NYCRR 1200.33(a)(5) J). Certainly, it is

possible for attorneys to assist prosecutors without

divulging their trial preparation materials. Absent some

other proof, we conclude that Supreme Court properly

held that defendants had not established any disclosure

of Boies Schiller work product to the People.

Defendants also urge that “testimonial” waivers

occurred at the first trial when Tyco’s lawyers and

employees testified regarding privileged communications

that occurred prior to the internal investigation. Here,

again, however, there is no showing that the jury in the

(Cont'd)

Supreme Court, defendants may not raise them here. But, we

note that like their other examples of purported waiver, neither

of these documents references or relies upon the key director-

witness interview statements.

33a

Appendix A

first trial needed the director-witness interview notes and

memorandum to properly assess the evidence.

But defendants say that “Tyco’s [testimonial] waivers

were not limited to events that occurred prior to the

investigation.” They assert that a Tyco employee’s

testimony that Boies asked her about the 1999 bonus and

instructed her to “really think about it because he was

talking about fraud” and that another Boies Schiller

attorney asked her for a relocation loan plan document

constituted waiver. This testimony certainly references

communications with the Boies Schiller attorneys, but it

does not impermissibly use the relevant director-witness

statements as both a sword and shield (see In re Grand

Jury Proceedings, 219 F.3d at 192). Indeed, the referenced

testimony does not even mention those statements.

According to defendants, the “most damaging”

testimonial waiver occurred during the testimony of David

Boies. But they point to no impermissible use of the

director-witness statements. Boies’s direct testimony was

limited to facts concerning the interview with Foley, his

July 17, 2002 conversations witii Swartz and Fort, his

recommendation to Breen regarding Swartz’s continued

employment and his recommendation that the board

approve Swartz’s severance package. At no point in his

testimony did Boies seek to bolster his statements with

the aid of the relevant director-witness statements.

Moreover, in response to defendants’ specific request,

Supreme Court ordered disclosure of a privileged

memorandum upon which a portion of Boies’s testimony

was based. At that time, defendants did not request any

34a

Appendix A

disclosure of the director-witness statements." Thus,

under these circumstances, there was no waiver and no

abuse of discretion (compare Nobles, 422 U.S. at 239-

240, 95 S.Ct. 2160 [work product privilege over portions

of investigator’s report waived where “respondent

sought to adduce the testimony of the investigator”

regarding witness statements contained in the report]).

V

Finally, defendants challenge the constitutionality

of the fines that were imposed upon them. They contend

that these fines contravened their right to a jury trial,

as guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment to the U.S.

Constitution.

Penal Law § 80.00(1) provides that

“{a] sentence to pay a fine for a felony shall be

a sentence to pay an amount, fixed by the

court, not exceeding the higher of

“a. five thousand dollars; or

“b. double the amount of the defendant’s gain

from the commission of the crime.”

15. During Boies’s testimony, defendants also specifically

requested handwritten notes taken by director Slusser at board

meetings conducted on July 2 and 17, and August 14, 2002. In

response to a claim of privilege, Supreme Court reviewed these

materials in camera and declined to order their production.

35a

Appendix A

When a fine is imposed on the basis of “gain,” “the

court shall make a finding” as to that amount (see Penal

Law § 80.00[3] [emphasis added]). This finding may be

based upon facts brought out at trial, a plea allocution,

sentencing, or a factfinding hearing conducted pursuant

to CPL 400.30 (see Donnino, Practice Commentary,

McKinney’s Cons. Laws of N.Y., Book 39, Penal Law art.

80 [“Fines”], at 6). Here, Supreme Court did not hold a

CPL 400.30 hearing and instead appears to have based

defendants’ fines upon facts brought out at trial or

conceded in “sentencing letters” that defendants filed

with the court.

In Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct.

2348, 147 L.Ed.2d 435 [2000] and its progeny, the U.S.

Supreme Court has set forth three rules delineating

when judicial fact-finding in sentencing is impermissible

under the Sixth Amendment. First, the Court has

directed that “[o]ther than the fact of a prior conviction,

any fact that increases the penalty for a crime beyond

the prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted

to a jury, and proved beyond a reasonable doubt” (id.

at 490, 120 S.Ct. 2348). The Court has subsequently

referred to this as a “bright-line rule” (see Blakely v.

Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 308, 124 S.Ct. 2531, 159

L.Ed.2d 403 [2004]). Second, the “ ‘statutory maximum’

for Apprendi purposes is the maximum sentence a judge

may impose solely on the basis of the facts reflected in

the jury verdict or admitted by the defendant ” (Blakely,

542 U.S. at 303, 124 8.Ct. 2531; accord United States v.

Booker, 543 U.S. 220, 235, 125 S.Ct. 738, 160 L.Ed.2d

621 [2005] | Apprendi violation occurs when judges

36a

Appendix A

“f(ijnd facts beyond those found by the jury”]). Third,

Apprendi violations are subject to harmless-error review

(see Washington v. Recuenco, 548 U.S. 212, 220-221, 126

S.Ct. 2546, 165 L.Ed.2d 466 [2006]). We apply the third of

these rules to the present case.

Assuming without deciding that an Apprend? violation

occurred here,.we nonetheless affirm because error, if any,

was harmless. Our precedents establish that “all the

elements of an indicted crime which are not conceded by

defendant or defendant’s counsel must be charged [to the

jury]” (see People v. Flynn, 79 N.Y.2d 879, 881, 581 N.Y.S.2d

160, 589 N.E..2d 383 [1992] [emphasis added]; see also

People v. Walker, 198 N.Y. 329, 335, 91 N.E. 806 [1910]

(“(W)hen a fact, even of great importance, is admitted by

the defendant or his counsel in open court during the trial,

that fact is established by the admission, and no evidence

need be given in relation to it”]). Here, defendants’ tria!

testimony—with respect to each of those counts upon

which the trial court imposed fines—established gains that

corresponded to or exceeded the fine amounts. Thus, the

Apprendi violation here, if any, was harmless (see Recuenco,

548 U.S. at 215, 126 S.Ct. 2546).

We have considered defendants’ remaining arguments

and conclude that they are either unpreserved or without

merit. Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division

should be affirmed.

Chief Judge KAYE and Judges GRAF FEO, READ,

SMITH, PIGOTT and JONES concur.

In each case: Order affirmed.

37a

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE SUPREME

COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION, FIRST

DEPARTMENT, NEW YORK,

DATED NOVEMBER 15, 2007

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION,

FIRST DEPARTMENT, NEW YORK

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

v.

L. DENNIS KOZLOWSKI,

Defendant-Appellant.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

v.

MARK H. SWARTZ,

Defendant-Appellant.

Nov. 15, 2007

DAVID FRIEDMAN, J.P, JOSEPH P SULLIVAN,

JOHN T. BUCKLEY, BERNARD J. MALONE, JR., JJ.

38a

Appendix B

SULLIVAN, J.

The convictions at issue arise out of the prosecution

of defendants Dennis Kozlowski and Mark H. Swartz,

who were respectively the CEO and CFO of Tyco

International, a multinational public corporation, for

allegedly engaging in large-scale self-dealing and

drawing on Tyco’s treasury, as they saw fit, for their

own personal use, including investments, luxuries and

expenses. They allegedly accomplished this by abusing

corporate procedures while keeping the directors and

shareholders in the dark. Allegedly, they stole more

than $100 million in three “bonus” larcenies in 1999 and

2000 and many millions more in other thefts until their

enterprise began to unravel in January 2002, when

Tyco’s board learned that defendants had made a secret

$20 million payment to a supposedly independent

director. In June 2002, Kozlowski abruptly resigned and

left Tyco after being indicted by a New York County

grand jury. A few months later, in September, both

defendants were charged in a second indictment with

several counts of first degree grand larceny, multiple

counts of falsification of business records, securities

fraud and conspiracy, leading to a conviction after trial.!

Defendants raise a host of issues. Contrary to their

arguments, the larceny convictions relating to bonuses

were based on legally sufficient evidence and were not

against the weight of the evidence. The evidence amply

1. Ata first trial, the jury was unable to agree because of a

lone holdout, and a mistrial was declared.

39a

Appendix B

supports the conclusion that defendants took

unauthorized bonuses from Tyco in 1999 and 2000.

As neither defendant disputes, only Tyco’s

compensation committee, acting as a whole, had the

authority to grant them any compensation. Every

member of that committee, with the exception of Philip

Hampton, who had died early in 2001, before the trial,

testified to never having heard of these mid-year

payments, much less to having voted approval. As the

compensation committee minutes show, neither the

August 1999 $37.5 million reduction of defendants’

massive Key Employee Loan Program (KELP) balances,

run up during the first three quarters of that fiscal year,

nor the August 2000 TyCom IPO bonuses—$32 million

for Kozlowski and $16 million for Swartz—in the form of

a loan reduction plus tax gross-up (additional benefit to

cover taxes), nor the November 2000 ADT Automotive

bonuses—$16 million for Kozlowski and $8 million for

Swartz, was authorized.

As the record shows, there were no references to

any of these multimillion-dollar payouts in the materials

prepared for the committee, no resolutions approving

tiese bonuses in the staff minutes prepared for the

committee, and no reference to bonuses in the

committee’s reports to the board.’ Before either

2. While an exhibit to the minutes of the October 1, 2001

compensation committee meeting does certify that certain of

defendants’ shares vested on June 20, 2001 (the FLAG bonus),

the committee did not have the full facts before it when it made

this resolution, and defendants did not have the right to vest

and sell their shares prior to the resolution.

40a

Appendix B

defendant could receive a bonus, the compensation

committee had to certify that the performance goals had

been satisfied. Since Tyco’s fiscal year ended on

September 30, this certification usually occurred in early

October. Most notably, Tyco’s annual proxy “tatements,

prepared under defendants’ supervision, failed to

indicate even the most oblique reference to their

multimillion-dollar midyear bonuses. This documentary

void revealed more than a few isolated “procedural

irregularities,” as Swartz maintains, or a “failfure] to

adhere meticulously to all of the niceties of corporate

governance,” as Kozlowski would have it. Rather this

consistent pattern of documentary omission over a

period of years constituted powerful evidence of

defendants’ intentional hiding of these payments from

the directors and led inexorably to the jury’s conclusion

that defendants took these bonuses without permission

or authority. The absence of any reference to these

transactions in the chain of documentation available to

the committee clearly demonstrates defendants’ coverup

of their thievery.

Defendants’ testimonial claims of entitlement—that

the bonuses represented early payouts of money that

would otherwise have been due them or, at least, that

they believed was due them—presented a question of

fact for the jury and was, indeed, a hard sell. While the

committee could have made midyear payouts if it chose

to, such an event would have run counter to Tyco’s highly

touted pay-for-performance philosophy.

4la

Appendix B

More significantly, though, the entitlement claim was

flatly refuted by Mak Foley, the Tyco executive who

was responsible for the calcuiation of the year-end

figures on which the annual bonuses were based. In fact,

Foley’s testimony unequivocally established that

defendants received everything they were entitled to

under the end-of-the-year formula. Thus, defendants’

claims only succeeded in pitting their credibility against

that of the committee members and Foley and various

other members of their own staff. Defendants even

contradicted each other on a number of points. The

jury’s resolution of this factual issue is amply supported

by the weight of the evidence since defendants’ self-

serving testimony was illogical, internally inconsistent,

refuted by Tyco’s records and shown to be false by all

other witnesses. While defendants assert that their

entitlement and good-faith claims present a legal!

sufficiency issue, we cannot discern one except for the

1999 bonus, preserved by the motion for a trial order of

dismissal, which we reject.

We reject defendants’ argument that their conduct

with respect to the August 1999 bonuses (counts 1 and

2) did not constitute larceny, but rather, a civil wrong.

These bonuses took the form of a reduction of

defendants’ KELP balances without any tax gross-up,

i.e., money, leaving Tyco. As noted, in reaching its

verdict, the jury rejected defendants’ tale of entitlement,

raised after the fact, and accepted the evidence showing

that they took the bonuses without approval. The

argument that the bonuses awarded to defendants in

1999 and 2000—used completely in 1999 and partially

42a

Appendix B

-in 2000 to pay down their KELP loan accounts—shows

that there was no taking from another, reduces itself to

a claim that “all that transpired was the making of

certain book entries,” a claim that, as the trial court

aptly noted, “exalts form over substance.” While,

indeed, the mere failure to pay one’s debts does not

constitute larceny (see People v. Yannett, 49 N.Y.2d 296,

299, 425 N.Y.S.2d 300, 401 N.E.2d 410 [1980]; see also

People v. Jennings, 69 N.Y.2d 103, 127, 512 N.Y.S.2d

652, 504 N.E.2d 1079 [1986] ), this is not a case of

defendants’ failure to repay their debts. On the contrary,

they did repay their debts, but with money in the form

of bonuses that they unlawfully took from Tyco. In 1999,

they clearly exercised collectively dominion and control

over $37.0 million of Tyco’s money and allocated it to

their own benefit, precisely the sort of taking that

establishes larceny (see id. at 118-119, 512 N.Y.S.2d 652,

504 N.E.2d 1079).

The evidence was legally sufficient to support

Swartz’s conviction for stealing $1.2 million (count 7),

and that conviction is not against the weight of the

evidence. Tyco received nothing of value in exchange

for the $1.2 million it wired to Swartz’s personal account.

As the record shows, Swartz had contracted for the

purchase of 13 units at the Trump International Hotel

and Tower “as a personal investment” and had paid the

10% down payment of $1.2 million with his own funds.

Prior to March 1, 2001, the date the $..2 million of Tyco’s

funds were wired to Swartz, the seller of the Trump

condominium units had already infor:aed the purchaser,

a nominee of the undisclosed Swartz, that he was in

43a

Appendix B

default for his intransigent refusal to disclose the real

buyer’s identity, giving the seller the right to keep the

$1.2 million down payment. Thus, the jury properly

found Swartz guilty of stealing the $1.2 million he paid

himself as “reimbursement” for the down payment, for

which, as noted, Tyco received nothing in return.

The evidence was also legally sufficient to support

Kozlowski’s conviction for stealing $1.975 million (count

10) for the purchase of three paintings at a London

gallery, and that conviction is not against the weight of

the evidence. Kozlowski did not have authority to spend

Tyco’s money on paintings for his personal use. While

he had authority to make capital expenditures of up to

$200 million without board approval, this authority was

to make purchases for business purposes, not personal

use. There is no indication of a business purpose for the

purchase of these paintings, used to furnish the luxurious

Fifth Avenue apartment Kozlowski and his wife occupied

and title to which was in his name personally. While

Kozlowski had the paintings listed as assets on Tyco

books, the record of this purchase, claimed by Kozlowski

to be “appropriate,” failed even to mention that

paintings were involved; nor was any invoice attached

to the wire-transfer form to explain what was being

purchased. The form requested that $1.975 million be

moved from Tyco to the account of an otherwise

unidentified “Richard Green” and noted only that the

money was for “Furniture/Furnishings for N.Y.

apartment” at “950 5th Ave.,” an apartment that was

carried on Tyco’s books. Interestingly, the directors had

no idea that this supposed “Tyco facility” even existed.

44a

Appendix B

A jury could find that this mask of legitimacy, created

by Kozlowski to justify the money transfer, could not

disguise the fact that he was embezzling money from

Tyco for his personal use without any intention of ever

repaying it.

Defendants’ convictions for stealing $8.8 million in

or about December 2001 (count 11) and $3.95 million on

or about January 3, 2002 (count 12) were sufficiently

proven, and those convictions were not against the

weight of the evidence. There was no basis for Kozlowski

to take Tyco’s money in the form of KELP loans to

purchase works of art. KELP loans were to be taken to

pay taxes on the vesting of restricted stock, not to buy

paintings. Given the manner in which defendants

misused KELP one can reasonably infer that Kozlowski

did not intend to repay the loans. As for Swartz’s

involvement, he told Tyco’s senior vice president for

finance to charge the art to Kozlowski’s account.

The evidence was also sufficient to support

defendants’ conviction for stealing $20 million (count 13),

and the verdict was not against the weight of the

evidence. Tyco’s bylaws and the testimony of various

Tyco directors show that Kozlowski did not have

authority to pay an outside director an investment

banking fee in connection with Tyco’s acquisition of CIT,

when that director had advocated the transaction

without revealing his interest. This incident, which was

ultimately determined to involve criminality at the

receiving end of the transaction as well, led to the

board’s suing the director for return of the payment.

45a

Appendix B

As for Swartz’s involvement, he authorized the

director’s invoices to be paid.

Defendants’ arguments for overturning the Martin

Act conviction (count 15) are unavailing. “[|T]Jo sustain a

claim that the state’s jurisdiction has been preempted

by federal law, the defendant must show a clear and

unambiguous intent of Congress to do so” (People v.

Cohen, 9 A.D.3d 71, 87, 773 N.Y.S.2d 371 [2004], lv.

denied 2 N.Y.3d 797, 781 N.Y.S.2d 296, 814 N.E.2d 468

[2004], cert. denied 543 U.S. 927, 125 S.Ct. 316, 160

L.Ed.2d 227 [2004] ). Defendants have not shown such

a clear and unambiguous intent. On the contrary,

“Congress plainly contemplated the possibility of dual

litigation in state and federal courts relating to securities

transactions” (Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein,

516 U.S. 367, 383, 116 S.Ct. 873, 134 L.Ed.2d 6 (1996];

see also 15 USC § 78bb{a]). As for defendants’ claim that

the People relied on an impermissible “management

integrity” theory of materiality, a fair reading of the

People’s opening and closing fails to support such a

claim.

We reject defendants’ arguments that their

convictions for falsifying Director and Officer

Questionnaires (DOQs) (counts 18-31) are not supported

by legally sufficient evidence and are also against the

weight of the evidence. The DOQs explicitly state that

the person signing them is not required to disclose

KELP loans and loans made in the ordinary course of

business. As the evidence showed, relocation loans were

mistakenly understood at Tyco to be in the ordinary

46a

Appendix B

course of business. To be sure, defendants misused both

KELP and relocation loans, but citing People v. D.H.

Blair & Co., 2002 N.Y. Mise. LEXIS 817, *73-77, 2002

WL 766119, *24 [accurate entry of an unauthorized

action is not false], Kozlowski argues that their answers

were accurate and the DOQs were literally true.

In fact, though, while defendants took enormous

loans that were listed as KELP or relocation loans, the

millions of dollars involved were not spent on taxes or

relocation. For example, one year Kozlowski took money

to furnish a home in New Hampshire, where he already

lived, to buy a multimillion-dollar yacht and $2 million

worth of jewelry and to make a series of large personal

investments, including an $8.3 million share in a sports

partnership. Swartz similarly took money to buy a yacht,

to finance the purchase of a second New Hampshire

home and to make various personal investments.

Defendants never listed any of these loans on their

DOQs.

Thus, defendants falsified their DOQs not by

omitting KELP and relocation loans, but by failing to

list the millions of dollars they took for purely personal

loans, which they should never have recorded as KELP

or relocation loans in the first place. An exception to

the reporting requirement for tax-related KELP loans

does not cover loans made to buy a yacht. Nor does an

exception from disclosure for relocation loans cover

loans incurred in purchasing a personal pleasure craft,

a point even Swartz conceded at trial. The fact that

defendants recorded these loans as KELP or relocation

47a

Appendix B

loans did not transform the loans—used for

unauthorized, personal purposes—into an orcinary—

course loan or a KELP loan. They were neither.

Defendants also raise several evidentiary issues.

We conclude that the challenged portion of the

testimony of a People’s witness, Tse, was not offered or

used to impeach the testimony of another People’s

witness, Prue, but rather to show, as the People argued,

Tse’s own recollection of the relevant events. Her

testimony did not fall within any of the three categories

of proscribed forms of impeachment testimony

(see Becker v. Koch, 104 N.Y. 394, 401, 10 N.E. 701 [1887];

see generally Prince, Richardson on Evidence § 6-419

[Farrell 11th ed.]).

The portion of Swartz’s statement (as related by

David Boies) that inculpated Kozlowski, however, should

technically not have been admitted against Kozlowski

since defendants’ conspiracy to commit larceny had

ended by the date of the statement (see People v. Storrs,

207 N.Y. 147, 158, 100 N.E. 730 [1912]; People v. Van

Vleet, 256 A.D.2d 1181, 1182-1183, 683 N.Y.S.2d 362

[1998], lv. denied 93 N.Y.2d 879, 689 N.Y.S.2d 441, 711

N.E.2d 655 [1999] ), and there was no evidence that the

conspiracy continued or that Kozlowski did anything

after June 3, 2002 (the date on which he left Tyco) to

impede the recovery of Tyco’s money or property. The

People may not extend the conspiracy merely by claiming

that defendants were trying to cover up their previous

crimes (see e.g. Lutwak v. United States, 344 U.S. 604,

616-617, 73 S.Ct. 481, 97 L.Ed. 593 [1953] ). Nor was the

48a

Appendix B

statement in furtherance of the conspiracy because it

placed responsibility on Kozlowski for authorizing a 1999

journal entry that collectively reduced defendants’ loan

balance to Tyco by $37.5 million. As noted, the record

shows that the transaction had never been authorized

by Tyco’s board of directors. This reference to

Kozlowski, however, merely confirmed that Kozlowski

had authorized the transaction—as he testified—after

he had spoken to Hampton, chairman of the

remuneration committee. As already noted, however, the

committee’s approval, acting as a whole, was required

to authorize such action, and no other member of the

committee supported this assertion or had ever heard

of it. As the jury could take into account in assessing

credibility, Hampton, who had died prior to trial, could

not be offered as a witness to challenge Kozlowski’s

testimony. We therefore find the error to be harmless

(see id., 344 U.S. at 619-620, 73 S.Ct. 481).

Defendants’ other arguments relating to Boies’s

testimony are without merit. The record fails to support

their assertion that his testimony, or any summation

comments by the prosecutor, gave the jury the

impression that Boies had drawn a conclusion, based on

his investigation and expertise, that defendants were

guilty.

The court did not improvidently exercise its

discretion in quashing defendants’ subpoena directed

to the Boies Schiller firm (see e.g. People v.

Gissendanner, 48 N.Y.2d 543, 550, 423 N.Y.S.2d 893, 399

N.E.2d 924 [1979]), since the documents sought were

49a

Appendix B

not material and exculpatory (see e.g. People v. Ricketts,

38 A.D.3d 291, 831 N.Y.S.2d 395 [2007], lv. denied 8

N.Y.3d 989, 838 N.Y.S.2d 493, 869 N.E.2d 669 [2007)).

In any event, were we to find any error, we would find it

to be harmless.

Defendants failed to preserve their argument that

they were constitutionally entitled to introduce a letter

expressing an ethics opinion to the director who accepted

the undisclosed payment, which was the basis of the $20

million larceny (see People v. Angelo, 88 N.Y.2d 217, 222,

644 N.Y.S.2d 460, 666 N.E.2d 1333 [1996]; People v.

Gonzalez, 54 N.Y.2d 729, 442 N.Y.S.2d 980, 426 N.E.2d

474 [1981] ), and we decline to review it in the interest

of justice. Were we to reach the claim, we would find it

unavailing (see Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683, 689-

690, 106 S.Ct. 2142, 90 L.Ed.2d 636 [1986]). Although

the court excluded the letter itself, it allowed various

witnesses to testify that the director told the Board he

had obtained legal advice suggesting that it was

appropriate for him to accept the investment banking

fee.

We perceive no basis for reducing either defendant’s

aggregate term of incarceration. Under the

circumstances, the fines imposed do not violate

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 2348,

147 L.Ed.2d 4385 [2000]. A court may impose a sentence

above the statutory maximum based on a fact admitted

by a defendant (see Cunningham v. California, 549 U.S.

270, 127 S.Ct. 856, 860, 166 L.Ed.2d 856 [2007]). With

respect to the counts on which the court imposed fines,

50a

Appendix B

defendants did not dispute the amount of their gains

from the acts in question. To the extent defendants are

making a constitutional argument with respect to the

restitution awards, that argument is without merit ( see

People v. Horne, 97 N.Y.2d 404, 414-415, 740 N.Y.S.2d

675, 767 N.E.2d 132 [(2002)).

We have considered defendants’ other arguments

and find them without merit.

Accordingly, the judgments of the Supreme Court,

New York County (Michael J. Obus, J.), rendered

September 19, 2005, convicting defendants, after a jury

trial, of grand larceny in the first degree (12 counts),

conspiracy in the fourth degree, violation of General

Business Law § 352-c(5) and falsifying business records

in the first degree (8 counts), and sentencing them to

aggregate terms of 8 1/3 to 25 years, restitution of

$134,351,397, and fines of $70 million for Kozlowski and

$35 million for Swartz, should be affirmed.

Judgments, Supreme Court, New York County

(Michael J. Obus, J.), rendered September 19, 2005,

affirmed.

All concur.

Sla

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE SUPREME

COURT OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK COUNTY

QUASHING SUBPOENA,

DATED JANUARY 14, 2005

SUPREME COURT, NEW YORK.

NEW YORK COUNTY

No. 5259/02.

In the Matter of the Application of

TYCO INTERNATIONAL LTD.,

Petitioner,

V.

MARK H. SWARTZ,

Defendant/Respondent.

January 14, 2005

For an Order Pursuant to Cplr 2340 Quashing

Subpoenas Duces Tecum Issued by Mark H. Swartz

Michael J. Obus, J.

The defendant, Mark Swartz, has been indicted,

along with L. Dennis Kozlowski, on charges that include

multiple counts of grand larceny in the first degree,

Penal Law § 155.42. An initial trial ended in a mistrial

on April 2, 2004, and the defendants now await a retrial

scheduled to commence on January 18, 2005. On

52a

Appendix C

October 13, 2004, Swartz served a subpoena duces

tecum on Boise, Schiller & Flexner LLP (“Boies,

Schiller”), outside counsel to Tyco International Ltd.

(“Tyco”). After a number of informal attempts to resolve

some disputed issues, Tyco and Boies, Schiller moved

to quash the subpoena in a motion filed on November

15, 2004. Further filings ensued and ultimately, the court

heard arguments from both parties on December 21,

2004.

Tyco has brought a civil lawsuit against Swartz and

co-defendant Kozlowski. The civil claims are based in

large part on the same allegations underlying the

criminal case. Tyco also faces several stockholder suits

on related claims. Tyco contends that the Boies, Schiller

notes and memoranda that Swartz has subpoenaed are

immune from disclosure under CPLR § 3101(b),(c) and

(d) as privileged attorney-client communications,

attorney work product, and trial preparation materials.

Swartz does not dispute that the documents sought

constitute work product and trial preparation materials,

but contends that they are nevertheless subject to

disclosure.

As a first ground for denying protection, Swartz

cites the fact that Tyco has produced documents

containing work product and attorney-client

communications to the District Attorney and other

government agencies and has allowed testimony at trial

regarding attorney-client communications. Swartz

maintains that by doing so, Tyco waived any protection

for work product relating to the same subject matter.

53a

Appendix C

Work product privilege is waived upon disclosure to

a third party when there is a likelihood that the material

will be revealed to an adversary under conditions that

are inconsistent with a desire to maintain confidentiality.

Bluebird Partners, LP v Fivst Fidelity Bank, NA, 248

AD2d 219 (1% Dept 1998). A line of Federal cases has

held that in certain circumstances when a party elects

to make a substantial disclosure of work product to a

potential adversary, such as a law enforcement agency,

there may be a waiver of protection not only for the

documents produced, but for other documents on the

same subject matter. Jn re Martin Marietta Corp. 856

F.2d 619 (4" Cire. 1988); Bank of America, NA v Terra

Nova Insurance Company, 212 FRD 166 (SDNY 2002).

No reported New York case has clearly adopted the

doctrine of subject matter waiver of work product

protection. Even assuming that it is applicable her, it

would still not reach the documents that Swartz seeks.

The documents that Tyco provided to the District

Attorney, which have been made available to the

defendants, do not include Boies, Schiller memoranda

and notes. The work product and employee

communications therein were not created for the

current criminal case and civil proceedings, but for past

litigation, government filings and other corporate

actions. As Tyco contends, the fact that some documents

containing work product have been disclosed does not

mean that protection for any work product relating to

similar subjects, whenever created, is forever lost.

Whether a documents is to be protected as work product

54a

Appendix C

in general, or against a particular party, will depend at

least in part on when and for what litigation purposes it

was created. Lawrence v Cohn, 90 Civ. 2396 (SDNY 2002);

Amoco Oil Co. v Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co.,

93 Civ. 7295 (SDNY 1995).

Swartz cites Bank of America, supra, as particularly

instructive because “the facts are strikingly similar to

the case at hand.” In Bank of America, the defendant,

Terra Nova, discovered that one of its agents had issued

unauthorized insurance policies. Terra Nova’s attorneys

conducted an investigation of the matter. Terra Nova

then contacted the United States Attorney’s Office and

other law enforcement agencies. Terra Nova gave the

agencies documents generated in the investigation along

with an oral presentation, and offered to make available

all the materials and information that it had collected.

Bank of America subsequently brought suit against

Terra Nova in connection with the unauthorized policies,

and sought discovery of documents relating to the

investigation. The court held that Terra Nova had

waived work product protection by disclosing documents

to a potential adversary, the United States Attorney.

Further, because Terra Nova had offered to disclose all

its materials, the waiver applied not just to those

documents which it had actually disclosed, but to all work

product it had related to the investigation at the time

of the disclosure.

The situation here differs in key respects from that

in Bank of America. Tyco is not a party in this case. All

the documents that it produced to the District

55a

Appendix C

Attorney’s Office have been made available to the

defendants. The documents were produced at the

demand of the District Attorney, rather than provided

unsolicited. Perhaps most important, there is no

showing that ‘Tyco has disclosed work product created

_-by Boies, Schiller to the District Attorney.

A party asserting a privilege has the burden of

establishing that the privilege has not been waived.

John Blair Communications, Inc. v Reliance Capital

Group. 182 AD2d 578 (1* Dept 1992). However, Swartz

has not refuted Tyco’s affirmations that Boies, Schiller

has not provided work product directly or indirectly to

the People. Contrary to Swartz’s contention, the fact

that Boies, Schiller attorneys may have answered

questions from the District Attorney’s office and

provided requested documents does not establish that

work product has been shared. [t is noted that in the

related case of People v Mark Belnick, Indictment

Number 143/03, this court inspected in camera s large

volume of the correspondence between Boies, Schiller

and the District Attorney’s Office. None of that

correspondence disclosed any Boies, Schiller work

product directly. Nor did the inspection reveal any

attempt to use work product by offering opinions on the

case or otherwise steer the course of the criminal

investigation. Thus, there is no indication of the type of

potentially unfair selective disclosure that would form

the basis of a subject matter waiver. See John Doe v

United States, 350 F-3d 299 (2°? Cir. 2003). Most of the

trial testimony cited by Swartz refers to attorney-client

communications that took place before the current

56a

Appendix C

litigation was contemplated. None of the few instances

where testimony might be considered to be based on

Boies, Schiller work product involves any material issues

in this case.

Swartz also contends that work product protection

should not apply because the contents of the requested

memoranda and notes are material and relevant to this

case. He points specifically to interviews of Tyco

directors that might indicate when they became aware

of the defendants’ alleged wrongful conduct.

Work product protection is waived when the non-

disclosing party affirmatively acts to put otherwise

protected information at issue in a case and application

of the privilege would deny the party seeking disclosure

access to information vital to resist the non-disclosing

party’s affirmative act. JMO Industries v Anderson Kill

& Olick PC, 192 Mise.2d 605 (Sup Ct, NY County 2002);

Royal Indemnity Co. v Salomon Smith Barney, 4

Misc.3d 1006(A)(Sup Ct, NY County 2004).

In Royal Indemnity, Smith Barney claimed that

Royal, their exceas insurer, was obligated to provide

coverage for claims arising from the settlement of two

gender discrimination suits. As part of its claim, Smith

Barney had show that it has provided timely notice to

Royal after learning that the settlement amounts would

be above the level required to trigger the excess

coverage. Royal sought to discover work product

relating to the settlement negotiations from Smith

Barney’s attorneys. The court held that Royal was

57a

Appendix C

entitled to the documents, reasoning that because Smith

Barney was charged with knowledge of the contents of

the documents, the documents themselves could

establish when, at the latest, Smith Barney would have

known that the settlement amounts had reached the

triggering level.

Here, Swartz argues that it is significant that he

remained at Tyco for a period of time after Boies, Chiller

began its investigation on behalf of the corporation and,

indeed, that Tyco was aware of Swartz’ alleged wrongful

conduct by that time. He has not shown, however, that

Tyco’s knowledge of Swartz’ activities or lack of such

knowledge, during the time frame of the Boies, Schiller

interviews, is vital to the trial issues. Lack of such

knowledge at that point is not a necessary element of

any of the crimes charged. Thus, to the extent that

memoranda and interview notes might record witnesses’

statements as to whether and when in the past they

were aware of the alleged conduct, the “at issue”

doctrine would not apply. DeGourney v Muizac, 287

AD2d 680 (2"* Dept 2001); Bolton v Well, Gotshal &

Manges, LLP 4 Misc 3d 1029(A) Sup Ct, NY County

2004); Standard Chartered Bank PC v Ayala

International Holdings, 111 FRD 76 (SDNY 1986).

Swartz also contends that he has substantial need

pursuant to CPLR § 3102(d)(2) for the notes and

memoranda of witness statements. He points to the

importance in this case of the witnesses’ knowledge or

lack of knowledge of the charged conduct and the

passage of time since the interviews were undertaken.

58a

Appendix C

However, he has not explained why the defense could

not have sought to conduct its own interviews of these

witnesses at an earlier time. Moreover, the mere

possibility that a witness might have said something to

counsel that differs from the witness’ trial testimony is

not sufficient to provide substantial need. To seek

disclosure on that basis would constitute the proverbial

fishing expedition for impeachment material. Rather,

the party must establish that there is a likelihood that

the witness said something different to counsel.

DeGourney v Mulzac, supra. Swartz has not shown any

specific instance where, due to professed lack of memory

or other circumstance, there is a likelihood that a witness

made a statement to counsel inconsistent with his or

her trial testimony.

Accordingly, Swartz is not entitled to disclosure of

the requested notes and memoranda.

Swartz also seeks al! records relating to legal bills

for work done by Boies, Schiller on behalf of Tyco. As

Tyco contends, this request is overbroad and would

encompass matter covered by the attorney-client

privilege. MO industries, supra. Swartz contends that

he needs these materials to verity how much time David

Boies and other attorneys at the firm spent interviewing

Mr. Swartz and on the investigation in general. While

there was some testimony on that subject in the first

trial, it remains an extremely collateral; if not entirely

irrelevant, issue in this case. A subpoena duces tecum

cannot be used to discover impeachment material on

such an issue. People v Gissendanner, 48 NY2d 543

(1979).

59a

Appendix C

For the above-stated reasons, the motion to quash

is granted.

The foregoing opinion shall constitute the decision

and order of the court.

Enter.

Dated: January 14, 2005

60a

APPENDIX D — ORDER OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS OF NEW YORK DENYING MOTION FOR

REARGUMENT, DATED JANUARY 13, 2009

(APPELLANT: KOZLOWSKI)

COURT OF APPEALS OF NEW YORK

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

V.

L. DENNIS KOZLOWSKI,

Appellant.

Jan. 13, 2009

Motion for reargument denied.

6la

APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS OF NEW YORK DENYING MOTION FOR

REARGUMENT, DATED JANUARY 13, 2009

(APPELLANT: SWARTZ)

COURT OF APPEALS OF NEW YORK

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

v.

MARK H. SWARTZ,

Appellant.

Jan. 18, 2009

Motion for reargument denied.

62a

APPENDIX F — STATUTE INVOLVED

New York Civil Practice Law and Rules § 3101 (Scope

of disclosure) (c) and (d)

(c) Attorney’s work product. The work

product of an attorney shall not be obtainable.

(d) Trial preparation. 1. Experts. (i) Upon

request, each party shall identify each person

whom the party expects to call as an expert

witness at trial and shall disclose in reasonable

detail the subject matter on which each expert

is expected to testify, the substance of the

facts and opinions on which each expert is

expected to testify, the qualifications of each

expert witness and a summary of the grounds

for each expert’s opinion. However, where a

party for good cause shown retains an expert

an insufficient period of time before the

commencement of trial to give appropriate

notice thereof, the party shall not thereupon

be precluded from introducing the expert’s

testimony at the trial solely on grounds of

noncompliance with this paragraph. In that

instance, upon motion of any party, made

before or at trial, or on its own initiative, the

court may make whatever order may be just.

In an action for medical, dental or podiatric

malpractice, a party, in responding to a

request, may omit the names of medical,

dental or podiatric experts but shall be

required to disclose all other information

concerning such experts otherwise required

by this paragraph.

63a

Appendix F

(ii) In an action for medical, dental or

podiatric malpractice, any party may, by

written offer made to and served upon all

other parties and filed with the court, offer to

disclose the name of, and to make available

for examination upon oral deposition, any

person the party making the offer expects to

call as an expert witness at trial. Within

twenty days of service of the offer, a party

shall accept or reject the offer by serving a

written reply upon all parties and filing a copy

thereof with the court. Failure to serve a reply

within twenty days of service of the offer shall

be deemed a rejection of the offer. If all parties

accept the offer, each party shall be required

to produce his or her expert witness for

examination upon oral deposition upon

receipt of a notice to take oral deposition in

accordance with rule thirty-one hundred

seven of this chapter. If any party, having made

or accepted the offer, fails to make that party’s

expert available for oral deposition, that party

shall be precluded from offering expert

testimony at the trial of the action.

(iii) Further disclosure concerning the

expected testimony of any expert may be

obtained only by court order upon a showing

of special circumstances and subject to

restrictions as to scope and provisions

concerning fees and expenses as the court may

deem appropriate. However, a party, without

64a

Appendix F

court order, may take the testimony of a

person authorized to practice medicine,

dentistry or podiatry who is the party’s

treating or retained expert, as described in

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kozlowski v. New York (No. 08-1260) | Frix