Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. North American American Bus Industries, Inc. (No. 08-1249)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

\ FILED

No. 6-8 1.249 APR 7 - 2009

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

ex rel. THORNTON G. SANDERS,

Petitioner,

V.

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES, INC-.;

DELOITTE & TOUCHE USA, LLP;

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES KFT.,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel: THE CULLEN LAW FIRM, PLLC

JAMES A. MOODY JOSEPH A. BLACK

1101 30th Street, NW Counsel of Record

Suite 300 1101 30th Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20007 Suite 300

(202) 298-4766 Washington, D.C. 20007

(202) 944-8600

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Respondent NABI performs final assembly of

transit busses using bodies produced in Hungary.

NABI falsely claimed the bus shells had enough

additional components to qualify for “duty free” entry

as finished buses while at the same time qualifying

for “Buy America” subsidies by falsely claiming to the

Department of Transportation that 60 percent of the

component value was added in the United States. The

court of appeals imposed a materiality requirement

not found in the False Claims Act and imposed an

impossible burden requiring a relator to prove what

Customs would have done in the absence of the false

claims. The court applied the short six-year statute of

limitations even though the government had no

knowledge of the false claims prior to relator’s com-

plaint.

1. The statute of limitations for actions under the

False Claims Act (“FCA”) is the later of (1) six years

after the false claim, or (2) ten years after the FCA

violation when an action is filed within three years

after the government learned of the underlying false

claims. Was Petitioner Sanders permitted to rely on

the ten-year limitations period when the government

had no knowledge of the facts and chose to allow

Sanders to litigate on its behalf?

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

2. This case invclves the Customs classification of

imported bus shells where Customs stated that the

classification was governed by the “substantial

amount of equipment and components” represented

to be on the bus shells by the Respondents. The

Respondents lied about the equipment and compo-

nents contained on the bus shells to obtain a more

favorable classification and to avoid paying Customs

duty. Were such lies “material” to Customs’ classifica-

tion decision?

3. Whether, under this Court’s analysis in United

States v. Wells, 519 U.S. 481 (1997), and Neder v.

United States, 527 U.S. 1 (1999), the FCA contains a

materiality element.

4. Whether this Court’s decision in Graham County

Soil & Water Conservation Dist. v. U.S. ex rel. Wilson,

545 U.S. 409 (2005), regarding the appropriate sta-

tute of limitations for retaliatory discharge claims

filed under 31 U.S.C. § 3730(h) of the FCA should be

overruled.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT

A. Background

. TRRRRR CII ois cic secekscsesestanceascnsinss

C.

D. Facts Related to Materiality

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ...

A. The Court Should Grant the Petition to

Resolve the Conflicting Positions of the

Lower Courts Regarding the Statute of

Limitations Applied to FCA Actions When

the Government Does Not Intervene

The Court Should Grant the Petition to

Resolve the Conflicting Positions of the

Lower Courts Regarding the Appropriate

Standard for Materiality, if any, to be Ap-

WOPOOEE 10S PER COIN 5 oes scsceiccstsccssceactnecsnns 18

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

C. The Court Should Exercise Its Supervisory

Powers to Correct the Lower Courts’ Im-

proper Application of the Materiality Ele-

ment Based on the “Natural Tendency”

g UN ENED e Rg e er RO ON PEED MERE ea ee eA PN Meee 23

CEN bess de 5 crsakcckcdunecasee kacspiisabcoecceswbonseas 29

APPENDIX

United States ex rel. Sanders v. North Amert-

can Bus Ind., Inc., 546 F.3d 288 (4th Cir.

United Siaies ex rel. Sanders v. North Ameri-

can Bus Ind., Inc., No. 07-1773 (Oct. 30,

2008) (Order denying motion to take notice of

iii declan 2pnidatonm dendiatmavietadealons App. 28

United States ex rel. Sanders v. North Ameri-

can Bus Ind., Inc., Civ. No. JFM-02-3084,

slip op. (D. Md. June 25, 2007)............0.0. App. 30

United States ex rel. Sanders v. North Ameri-

can Bus Ind., Inc., 2007 WIL 80922 (D. Md.

STs ST iviictslecdne an aceaoe App. 34

United States ex rel. Sanders v. North Ameri-

can Bus Ind., Inc., Civ. No. JFM-02-3084,

slip op. (D. Md. Dec. 19, 2005)....................... App. 42

United States ex rel. Sanders v. North Amert-

can Bus Ind., Inc., Civ. No. JFM-02-3084,

Slip Op. (D. DEG. Mar. 7, BOOS) ..........sccssecseesiees App. 46

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

United States ex rel. Sanders v. North Ameri-

can Bus Ind., Inc., No. 07-1773 (Jan. 7,

2009) (Order denying petition for hearing en

31 U.S.C. §§ 3729-32 (excerpts)

In the matter of the Search of the Premises

Known and Described as: North American

Bus Industries (NABI), 106 National Drive,

Anniston, Alabama 36207, No. MAG 08 133

(July 31, 2008) (Application and Affidavit for

Search Warrant)

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Costner v. URS Consultants, Inc., 153 F.3d 667

I a dh pcan sean 19

Dobbs v. Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 475

eB FR OR) 5 yp 26

Graham County Soil & Water Conservation

Dist. v. U.S. ex rel. Wilson, 545 U.S. 409

as ce arse cess aceniiuabeees 26

Neder v. United States, 527 U.S. 1 (1999) .....19, 20, 21

Philip Medical Sys. International, B.V. v.

Bruetman, 982 F.2d 211 (7th Cir. 1992)................. 26

Rabushka ex rel. United States v. Crane Co.,

Re te Ee Gy BED vanininsicdeccisccsscsccscscesccsss 19

Sikkenga v. Regence Bluecross Blueshield of

Utah, 472 F.3d 702 (10th Cir. 2006)........0..00c... 15

United States ex rel. A+ Homecare, Inc. v.

Medshares Mgmt. Group, Inc., 400 F.3d 428

TN ai ins casedicsavadugussionsacebanahnsensses 18, 19

United States ex rel. Bahrani v. Conagra, Inc.,

465 F.3d 1189 (10th Cir. 2006)......................... inaeoie 18

United States ex rel. Berge v. Trustees of Univ.

of Alabama, 104 F.3d 1453 (4th Cir. 1997) ............ 18

United States ex rel. Bidani v. Lewis, 1999 WL

EE oc ekicugncscsichsceidecsecebnas scsesines 14

United States ex rel. Colunga v. Hercules, Inc.,

1998 WL 310481 (D. Ut. 1998)....................008 Sabie 1

A |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

United States ex rel. Downy v. Corning, Inc.,

118 F. Supp.2d 1160 (D.N.M. 2000)

United States ex rel. El Amin uv. George

Washington Univ., 26 F. Supp. 2d 162 (D.D.C.

United States ex rel. Finney v. Nextwave

Telecom, Inc., 337 B.R. 479 (S.D.N.Y. 2006)

United States ex rel. Fisher v. Network

Software Assocs., Inc., 180 F. Supp. 2d 192

(D.D.C. 2002)

United States ex rel. Gonzales v. Fresenius

Medical Care North America, 2008 WL

4277150 (W.D. Tx. 2008)

United States ex rel. Harrison v. Westinghouse

Savannah River Co., 352 F.3d 908 (4th Cir.

United States ex rel. Hyatt v. Northrop Corp.,

91 F.3d 1211 (9th Cir. 1996)

United States ex rel. Kreindler & Kreindler uv.

United Technologies Corp., 777 F.Supp. 195

(N.D.N.Y. 1991)

United States ex rel. Lewis v. Walker, 2007 WL

ee PO ED, MM. UNO F occscidbiuda.cckcaucindvasccednnciseccees 15

United States ex rel. Lowman v. Hilton Head

Health Care Sys., L.P., 487 F. Supp. 2d 682

(D.S.C. 2007)

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

United States ex rel. Pogue v. Diabetes Treat- .

ment Centers of America, 474 F. Supp. 2d 75

Csi da diniid online davatnercsdWexeustaeicebinesdiiasetes 13

United States ex rel. Saaf v. Lehman Bros., 123

ae WT CRD CE, RE PF vcnvcssivecesacenivsccsiiscntarivacesesas 14

United States ex rel. Salmeron v. Enterprise

Recovery Sys., 464 F. Supp. 2d 766 (N.D. Ill.

| MRE eth IPSS SR ire ee PraPeen R TR END Pear eI 15, 17

United States ex rel. Sikkenga v. Regence

Bluecross Blueshield of Utah, 472 F.3d 702

Se IE ini. ohcacreuscsecissineibuiswecsdibanneivusihioras 12

United States ex rel. Thistlethwaite v. Dowty

Woodville Polymer, Ltd., 6 F. Supp. 2d 263

ics cictiteciaedipcncnsandusibanicisandakasedssivenes 12

United States ex rel. Vosika v. Starkey Labs.,

Inc., No. Civ. 01-709, 2004 WL 2065127 (D.

PN Ns. We I aes sbisuh suds tac casa stnchiovés Joiveaee 12

United States ex rel. Wilson v. Graham County

Soil & Water Conservation Dist., 2002 WL

eS 0 OR Fa, sven kvcckeccisccedececsccdseocscsscs 14

United States ex rel. Wilson v. Graham County

Soil & Water Conservation Dist., 367 F.3d

I ogi vn nckce dance ccevencinccvaradecavses 5, 14

United States v. Bourseau, 531 F.3d 1159 (9th

chy Meee AEN eg CE sed Te 18

United States v. Rogan, 517 F.3d 449 (7th Cir.

a arts acne naan uieeavead 18

United States v. Wells, 519 U.S. 481 (1997)......... 19, 20

1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

STATUTES

31 U.S.C. § 3729(b)

31 U.S.C. § 3730(b)(5)

31 U.S.C. § 3730(e)(4)(A)

31 U.S.C. § 3730(h)

31 U.S.C. § 3731(b)

49 U.S.C. § 5323(j)

49 U.S.C. § 53823G)(2C)(i)

REGULATIONS

49 C.F.R. Part 661

OTHER AUTHORITIES

James B. Helmer, Jr., False Claims Act:

Whistler Blower Litigation, § 2-4(d) (5th ed.

S.Rep. No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., 30 (July

28, 1986), reprinted in 986 U.S.C.C.A.N.

5266, 5295

S. 2041, False Claims Act Corrections Act of

2007, 155 Cong. Rec. S$11506-509 (Sept. 12,

U.S. Customs Priv. Ltr. Rul., HQ962065 (Nov.

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fourth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals (App. 1) is reported at 546 F.3d 288 (4th Cir.

2008). One decision of the district court is unreported

but available at 2007 WL 80922. App. 34. Three other

decisions of the district court are unreported and not

available electronically but are appended at App. 30,

App. 42 and App. 46.

JURISDICTION

The order of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit denying petitioner’s motion for rehearing en

banc was entered on January 7, 2007. App. 49. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the False Claims Act,

31 U.S.C. §§ 3729-3731, are set out in the appendix to

this petition at App. 51.

2

STATEMENT

The qui tam provisions of the False Claims Act

(“FCA”), 31 U.S.C. §§ 3729-3733 permit private

parties to bring suit in federal court to recover treble

damages and penalties on behalf of the United States.

This Petition presents two questions of considerable

importance regarding the application of the FCA.

First: is the statute of limitations in “non-intervened”

cases six or ten years? Second: does the FCA silently

impose a materiality requirement, and if so, what is

the proper standard? On both of these issues the

lower courts have issued diverse opinions. Legislation

has been introduced in Congress which would resolve

both of these issues by: (1) creating a uniform statute

of limitations for all causes of action under the FCA;

and (2) explicitly stating that the FCA is a statutory

cause of action and that no additional elements, such

as materiality, are required to prove liability. With

regard to the appropriate statute of limitations for

retaliatory discharge claims filed under § 3730(h), the

Court should review its decision in Graham County

Soil & Water Conservation Dist. v. U.S. ex rel. Wilson,

545 U.S. 409 (2005), because of the inequitable and

inconsistent treatment accorded whistleblowers

resulting from the application of this decision.

A. Background

The Respondents, North American Bus Industries,

Inc. of Anniston, Alabama, and its Hungarian parent,

North American Bus Industries, Kft. (collectively

3

“NABI”) are in the business of producing transit

buses for American transit authorities. See generally

App. 3-4. NABI engages in a two-step manufacturing

process. It first produces bus shells or bodies in its

plant in Hungary and then, using American compo-

nents, completes the assembly of the buses in the

United States. Jd. In doing so, it certifies that the

buses qualify for Buy America grants or subsidies

under 49 U.S.C. § 5323(j) and 49 C.F.R. Part 661,

which require that “the cost of components and

subcomponents produced in the United States is more

than 60 percent of the cost of all components... .” 49

U.S.C. § 53239 )(2C)G). Id.

B. NABIP’s False Claims

In the process of importing its bus bodies from

Hungary for use in the production of finished buses,

NABI made three different types of false claims

actionable under the FCA. First, NABI Hungary

undervalued the bus bodies by falsely claiming that it

provided valuable engineering and_ technology

(“E&T”) services to NABI USA. It billed NABI USA

for these non-existing services, thereby reducing the

cost of the foreign content of the finished bus and

allowing NABI’s buses to qualify for Buy America

subsidies. Since the actual domestic content of the

finished buses was less than 60 percent for many of

the buses, NABI was not qualified to receive any part

of the subsidy. Second, since the payments were not

declared to the U.S. Customs Service, now USS.

Customs and Border Protection, (“Customs”), NABI

4

avoided the payment of Customs duties on the E&T

payments.

Finally, in a successful effort to eliminate the

payment of all Customs duties on imported bus

shells, NABI, with the assistance of Respondent

Deloitte & Touche, LLP (“Deloitte”), falsely claimed

that they were sufficiently complete to be classified as

duty-free finished buses. NABI made the opposite

representation to the Federal Transit Administration

to obtain “Buy America” subsidies, i.e. that 60 percent

of the value of the components of finished busses was

added in the United States.

Petitioner Sanders was the Chief Financial

Officer and President of NABI USA from 1993 until

April 1997. App. 6. His employment was terminated

by his Hungarian based superiors after he raised

questions about the legality of the undervaluation of

the imported bus shells.

C. Facts Related to the Statute of Limitations

Petitioner Sanders filed his original complaint on

September 17, 2002. That complaint contained only

one count alleging false claims made to obtain Buy

America subsidies. The complaint also cor.tained

allegations that Mr. Sanders was wrongfully dis-

charged, but did not contain a formal count regarding

that discharge. After the Government declined to

intervene in the original complaint Mr. Sanders filed

an amended complaint on June 23, 2004, adding two

Customs’ counts and a retaliatory discharge count

filed under 31 U.S.C. § 3730(h). On March 7, 2005 the

district court denied NABI’s motion to dismiss Sand-

ers’ Customs’ counts and his wrongful discharge claim

on statute of limitations grounds. App. 46. The court

found that false claims made to Customs were action-

able under the FCA and that Sanders’ discharge

claim related back to his original complaint, and that

they were thus within the six-year statute of limita-

tions for such claims. Id. See United States ex rel.

Wilson v. Graham County Soil & Water Conservation

Dist., 367 F.3d 245 (4th Cir. 2004). Subsequently,

after conducting initial discovery and learning of

Respondent Deloitte’s role in the Customs classifica-

tion fraud, Sanders amended his complaint to add

Deloitte as a defendant on June 30, 2005.

On December 19, 2005, the district court granted

Deloitte’s motion to dismiss the complaint against it

on statute of limitations grounds. App. 42. The dis-

trict court found that in a non-intervened case Sand-

ers was entitled to only a six-year statute of

limitations instead of the ten-year period if the gov-

ernment had intervened in his action.

The objective of NABI’s Buy America scheme was

to fraudulently obtain substantial subsidies for

finished buses by understating the value-added in

Hungary in order to comply with Buy America re-

quirements. The district court initially found that

Sanders could not show that the government sus-

tained actual damages under the test established by

the Fourth Circunt decision in United States ex rel.

Harrison v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co., 352

6

F.3d 908 (4th Cir. 2003). App. 46. The district court

entered judgment on the issue of damages, but held

that NABI could still be subject to penalties under

the FCA. The false claims related to the Buy America

fraud all occurred before 1996 and more than six

years before Sanders filed his original complaint.

Subsequently, the court dismissed all of these ailega-

tions on statute of limitations grounds. App. 30. The

court of appeals affirmed the district court solely on

the basis of the statute of limitations decision. App.

18. Thus, the issue of damages was not addressed by

the court of appeals.

As noted, Sanders’ First Amended Complaint

contained a retaliatory discharge claim filed under

§ 3730(h) of the FCA. That allegation was ultimately

dismissed by the district court (App. 26 n.6) following

the Court’s decision in Graham County Soil & Water

Conservation Dist. v. U.S. ex rel. Wilson, 545 U.S. 409

(2005), which reversed a prior decision of the Fourth

Circuit Court of Appeals. On September 12, 2007,

technical amendments were introduced in the Senate

that would overrule Graham County. These amend-

ments were reintroduced in the Senate on February

24, 2009. In the interest of preserving his rights,

Sanders appealed the dismissal of his discharge claim

in the event that the proposed amendments become

controlling law.

7

D. Facts Related to Materiality

For many years before 1998, NABI imported bus

shells from Hungary into the United States under

subheading 8707.90.50 of the Harmonized Tariff

Schedule of the United States (“HTSUS”), dutiable at

4 percent of their declared value. This provision

provides for “Bodies (including cabs), for motor ve-

hicles of headings 8701 to 8705: Other:, Other.” On

June 29, 1998, Deloitte & Touche filed a protest on

behalf of NABI with Customs challenging the classifi-

cation of the bus shells as “bodies.” The protest

claimed refunds cf customs duties on past shipments

of bus shells. NABI asserted that the bus shells

should be classified under subheading 8702.10.30,

which provides for “Motor vehicles [with diesel en-

gine] designed for the transport of [16] or more per-

sons including the driver.” The rate of duty under this

provision was 2.4 percent during 1997 and was sub-

sequently reduced to 2 percent. More importantly,

NABI imports from Hungary classified under this

provision were eligible for Generalized System of

Preferences (“GSP”) treatment, which made them

duty free. NABI falsely claimed that a number of

components were imported with the bus shells —

when they were not — to obtain the duty-free classifi-

cation. The evidence proves beyond any genuine

dispute that many of the key components claimed to

be imported with the bus shell — components that

could theoretically result in the classification of the

imports as finished buses — were not complete or not

even imported with the shell at all.

8

Customs granted the protest on November 20,

1988, finding explicitly:

The bus shells when imported contain a sub-

stantial amount of equipment and number of

components necessary for a completed transit

bus. ... Accordingly, the bus shells are classi-

fied as motor vehicles for the transport of 16

or more persons, including driver; since, in

its unfinished state, the article has the es-

sential character of such a motor vehicle.

(emphasis added)

U.S. Customs Priv. Ltr. Rul., HQ962065 (Nov. 20, 1998)

Thus, when Customs granted NABI’s claim for a

refund of duties it stated that its decision was based

on the “substantial amount of equipment and number

of components” claimed in the protest. The Govern-

ment declined to intervene following the filing of

Sanders’ First Amended Complaint, which added his

Customs related counts and his retaliatory discharge

claim. However, after reviewing the papers and

supporting exhibits filed in connection with the

parties’ cross motions for summary judgment, the

Government sought additional time from the district

court to consider those documents and reevaluate its

intervention decision before the court rendered its

rulings on summary judgment. The court denied that

request in its summary judgment order in which it

found that NABI’s false claims were not material to

the Customs’ classification decision. App. 37-40.

Independently, without informing Sanders at the

time, the Government began an investigation of

NABI’s continuing bus shell imports, and as a result,

9

reclassified the bus shells from finished buses to bus

bodies. Sanders became aware of this investigation

and reclassification while the appeal was pending.

Sanders requested the Fourth Circuit to take judicial

notice of the Government’s affidavit used to secure a

search warrant of NABI’s facilities, which detailed

the Government’s position.’ App. 56. In affirming the

district court’s materiality decision, the court of

appeals denied this request. App. 27. The affidavit

filed in support of the search warrant stated that

NABI’s misrepresentations regarding the components

included in the bus shell were “material” to Customs’

classification decision.

' Based on the time line contained in the Gevernment

affidavit, it is quite clear that NABI was aware that Customs

had in fact changed the classification of its bus shells prior to

the time that the district court entered judgment and before it

argued to the court of appeals that false claims could not affect

the classification decision

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. The Court Should Grant the Petition to

Resolve the Conflicting Positions of the

Lower Courts Regarding the Statute of

Limitations Applied to FCA Actions When

the Government Does Not Intervene.

The court of appeals erroneously affirmed the

district court’s decision that NABI’s false claims are

only actionable for six years prior to Sanders’ com-

plaint when the government does not intervene.

Courts in the D.C., Second, Fifth, Seventh, and

Eleventh Circuits apply a uniform ten-year statute of

limitations in non-intervened cases where there is no

evidence of government knowledge of the fraud.

The statute of limitations provision of the FCA,

31 U.S.C. § 3731(b), contains two limitations periods

which must be read together to determine the appro-

priate period to be applied to any action. The limita-

tion period is either a minimum six-year period or a

longer ten-year period, provided that the government

has not been aware of the fraud for more than three

years, “whichever occurs last.” It is the government’s

knowledge of the false claims that stops the clock on

an action filed by either the government or relator at

the greater of six years or three years from the date of

knowledge by an official of the United States. A

whistleblower has up to ten years (depending on the

knowledge of a responsible governmental official)

but has an incentive to file as early as possible or

risk losing jurisdiction (by prior public disclosure or

pre-emptive filing by the government or another

11

whistleblower). Since these provisions must be read

together, and since there is no indication that the

government was aware of NABI’s false claims, Mr.

Sanders should be entitled to the longer ten-year

period.

The lower courts are in a state of chaos as to

which of three different interpretations of the 31

U.S.C. § 3731(b) applies to relator-filed FCA actions.

The current statute states:

(b) A civil action under section 3730 may

not be brought —

(1) more than 6 years after the date on

which the violation of section 3729 is com-

mitted, or

(2) more than 3 years after the date when

facts material to the right of action are

known or reasonably should have been

known by the official of the United States

charged with responsibility to act in the cir-

cumstances, but in no event more than 10

years after the date on which the violation is

committed, whichever occurs last.

31 U.S.C. § 3731(b).

The decision in this case is typical of a number of

decisions that base the limitation period on question-

able policy considerations rather than the literal text

of the statute and a re-writing of the provision to

12

implement those considerations.” The court begins by

asserting that it would be “problematic” to read the

statute any other way except limiting relator actions

to six years. App. 11. Focusing on the language of

§ 3731(b)(2), the court notes that it refers only to the

government and states that it would “produce the

bizarre scenario in which the limitations period in a

relator’s action depends on the knowledge of a non-

party to the action.” App. 11-12. The court therefore

rewrote § 3731(b)(2) by adding “in actions filed by the

government.” While the court may describe this as a

“bizarre” result, it would also be a very rare result.

The reason why relator-filed FCA cases are called

“whistleblower” actions, is that the government is

unaware of the fraud until a relator blows the whis-

tle. The court’s hypothetical concern is not such a

common event that it requires limiting the words of

the statute. Of note, none of the cases discussing the

statute of limitations describe a set of facts in which a

responsible government official with knowledge of the

fraud would have limited the relator’s action to six

* See United States ex rel. Sikkenga v. Regence Bluecross

Blueshield of Utah, 472 F.3d 702 (10th Cir. 2006); United States

ex rel. Fisher v. Network Software Assocs., Inc., 180 F. Supp. 2d

192, 194 (D.D.C. 2002); United States ex rel. El Amin v. George

Washington Univ., 26 F. Supp. 2d 162, 172-73 (D.D.C. 1998);

United States ex rel. Finney v. Nextwave Telecom, Inc., 337 B.R.

479, 486 (S.D.N.Y. 2006): United States ex rel. Thistlethwaite

v. Dowty Woodville Polymer, Ltd., 6 F.Supp. 2d 263, 265

(S.D.N.Y. 1998); United States ex rel. Vosika v. Starkey Labs.,

Inc., No. Civ. 01-709, 2004 WL 2065127, at *2-*3 (D. Minn. Sept.

8, 2004).

13

years. If this possible result were indeed “problemati-

cal,” one would expect it to have arisen in the almost

25 years since the current statute has been in effect.

The court may not rewrite the FCA to implement its

own policy considerations, at least without a finding

not made here that the plain reading is absurd. It

seems entirely rational for Congress to extend the

limitation period for both relator- and government-

filed actions when the government lacks knowledge to

act. After all, the essence of wrongdoing actionable

under the FCA is concealment.

The court continued with other policy reasons for

ignoring the words of the statute. Included was the

supposed concern that a relator would wait ten years

until his monetary claims built up thereby increasing

his potential recovery at the expense of taxpayers.

Again, these concerns are unrealistic, and again the

court can point to no case where this has occurred.

The FCA contains potent incentives for the relator to

file as quickly as possible. No relator would delay to

let his claims build up, risking another party or the

government filing a case before him or that a public

disclosure of the fraud might bar a subsequent relator

action. Either event would cut off all of his rights in

his claim, and he would be left with nothing. 31

U.S.C. §§ 3730(b)(5), 3730(e)(4)(A). Because of this

danger, once a relator with strong evidence of fraud

connects with an experienced FCA attorney, there is a

rush to the courthouse. See United States ex rel.

Pogue v. Diabetes Treatment Centers of America, 474

F.Supp. 2d 75 (D.D.C. 2007) (“This hypothetical

14

scenario is too implausible to provide a justification

for tweaking the straightforward words of a sta-

tute.”).

The leading case for the second interpretation is

United States ex rel. Hyatt v. Northrop Corp., 91 F.3d

1211 (9th Cir. 1996) in which the Ninth Circuit held

that the tolling provision of section 3731(b)(2) does

apply to relators, but that the timing of the relator’s

knowledge controls its application to his qui tam

action.” In Hyatt, the court based its decision on the

rationale that the reference to an “official of the

United States” in (b)(2) must by implication include

relators, because in other parts of the statute and the

legislative history, that conclusion is unmistakable.

Hyatt, 91 F.3d at 1214-15. Under this interpretation,

the relator would be covered by (b)(2), but would be

subject to the three-year tolling provision. This

interpretation is not supported by the text (which

expressly starts the clock on the “date when facts

material to the right of action are known or reasona-

bly should have been known by the official of the

United States charged with responsibility to act in the

* See also United States ex rel. Lowman v. Hilton Head

Health Care Sys., L.P., 487 F. Supp. 2d 682 (D.S.C. 2007); United

States ex rel. Saaf v. Lehman Bros., 123 F.3d 1307 (9th Cir

1997): United States ex rel. Downy v. Corning, Inc., 118

F. Supp. 2d 1160 (D.N.M. 2000); United States ex rel. Bidani v

Lewis, 1999 WL 163053 (N.D. Ill. 1999) and United States ex rel.

Wilson v. Graham County Soil & Water Conservation Dist., 2002

WL 31455718 (W.D. N.C. 2002) (rev’d and vacated on other

grounds 367 F.3d 245 (4th Cir. 2004))

15

circumstances”), or the legislative history. While the

words “government” and “United States” may have

been used loosely in other parts of the statute or

legislative history, here they use the very specific

“official within the Department of Justice with the

authority to act in the circumstances” (legislative

history)’ and “official of the United States with re-

sponsibility to act” (statute) when describing the

relevant person for statute of limitations purposes.

See Pogue, 474 F. Supp. 2d at 87.

The Pogue decision represents the third line of

cases interpreting § 3731(b) and is the most faithful

to the words of the statute and contains the most

careful analysis of the statute and its legislative

history. The same position was adopted by the courts

in United States ex rel. Lewis v. Walker, 2007 WL

2713018 (M.D. Ga. 2007) at *5-*6; United States ex

rel. Gonzales v. Fresenius Medical Care North Ameri-

ca, 2008 WL 4277150 (W.D. Tx. 2008) at *7-*8; United

States ex rel. Salmeron v. Enterprise Recovery Sys.,

464 F. Supp. 2d 766 (N.D. Ill. 2006); United States ex

rel. Kreindler & Kreindler v. United Technologies

Corp., 777 F.Supp. 195 (N.D.N.Y. 1991); and United

States ex rel. Colunga v. Hercules, Inc., 1998 WL

310481 (D. Ut. 1998), overruled by Sikkenga v. Regence

Bluecross Blueshield of Utah, 472 F.3d 702 (10th Cir.

2006). These courts held that the ten-year limitations

period of § 3731(b)(2) does apply to relators, but that

* S.Rep. No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., 30 (July 28, 1986),

reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5266, 5295

16

its tolling provision does not implicate relator know-

ledge. Instead, the relevant knowledge for purposes of

calculating time is the date when an official of the

United States learned of the fraud. Under this inter-

pretation, the statute of limitations would be the

same for the government as the relator, and if an

official of the United States never learned of the

fraud, the relator would have ten years to bring his

action.

As noted in Pogue, the Court should begin any

analysis with the language of the statute itself. As

Pogue explains, the prefatory language of § 3731(b),

“a civil action under section 3730” includes both the

government and relators. Pogue, 474 F. Supp. 2d at

84. In order to have different limitation periods for

actions brought by relators and government, differen-

tiating language must be found in the subordinate

clauses. Jd. An examination of subsection (b)(2) does

not reveal “any negative words or words of exclusion.”

Id. The Pogue court concluded that “the language of

§ 3731(b) includes relators, and the language of (b)(2)

does not exclude them.” Jd. It criticized other courts

that attempted to find implicit exclusion by reference

to the words “official of the United States,” pointing

out that if that were the intent of Congress, it could

have done so explicitly. /d. Finally, the last clause of

the section, “whichever occurs last,” applies to both

subordinate clauses and obviously means that they

should be read together. Jd. at 85. The court of ap-

peals decision and those like it essentially ignore the

last clause of the statute, forgetting “that it is the

17

later of the two alternatives that establishes the time

bar.” Salmeron, 464 F. Supp.2d at 469 (emphasis in

the original).

The fact that the court of appeals and other

courts have erroneously applied the statute and

misconstrued the legislative intent of the 1986

amendments to the FCA has prompted legislative

attempts by the last and current Congresses to cor-

rect this and other erroneous court interpretations.’

Congress is again considering legislation that

would eliminate any confusion caused by the current

statute by creating a uniform ten-year limitations

period.’ This bill was introduced by Senator Grassley,

the sponsor of the 1986 amendments to the FCA

which contained the current limitations period. With

these new amendments, Senator Grassley seeks to

overturn a number of judicial decisions that have

° See S. 2041, False Claims Act Corrections Act of 2007, 153

Cong. Rec. S11506-509 (Sept. 12, 2007) (introduced by Senators

Grassley, Durbin, Leahy, Specter and Whitehouse) (Senator

Grassley states in his introductory remarks: “Recent decisions

by Federal courts have limited the False Claims Act in a way

that was not envisioned when I[ authored the 1986 amendments.

These court decisions threaten to undermine both the spint and

intent of the 1986 amendments.”).

* The proposed Senate amendment of § 3731(b) states

simply:

(b)1) A civil action under section 3730 may not

be brought more than 10 years after the date on

which the violation of section 3729 or 3730 is

committed. (S 458 §6 reintroduced Feb. 24,

2009. )

18

interpreted the FCA in ways not intended by the

drafters of the 1986 amendments.’ Since the Court

has not decided this issue, it should accept Senator

Grassley’s guidance and reach a result that is consis-

tent with the current legislative proposals.

B. The Court Should Grant the Petition to

Resolve the Conflicting Positions of the

Lower Courts Regarding the Appropriate

Standard for Materiality, if any, to be Ap-

plied in FCA Actions.

The FCA does not include a specific requirement

for alleging or proving the materiality of a false claim.

The lower courts, however, have engrafted two differ-

ent standards for materiality onto the FCA. The first

is typified by the decision in United States ex rel.

Berge v. Trustees of Univ. of Alabama, 104 F.3d 1453

(4th Cir. 1997), adopting the “natural tendency,” test

expressed as “whether the false statement has a

natural tendency to influence agency action or is

capable of influencing agency action.” Jd. at 1459. At

least four other circuits have adopted the “natural

tendency” test. See United States v. Bourseau, 531

F.3d 1159, 1171 (9th Cir. 2008), cert. denied, __ US.

___ (2009): United States v. Rogan, 517 F.3d 449, 452

(7th Cir. 2008); United States ex rel. Bahrani v. Cona-

gra, Inc., 465 F.3d 1189, 1204 (10th Cir. 2006), cert.

denied, 128 S. Ct. 388 (2007); United States ex rel. A+

" 153 Cong. Rec. S11506.

19

Homecare, Inc. v. Medshares Mgmt. Group, Inc., 400

F.3d 428, 445-46 (6th Cir. 2004), cert. denied, 546 U.S.

1063 (2005).

As noted by the court in A+ Homecare, “(t]he

Eighth Circuit has adopted a more stringent ‘outcome

materiality’ test, which requires a showing that the

alleged fraudulent actions had ‘the purpose and effect

of causing the United States to pay out money it is

not obligated to pay, or those actions which intention-

ally deprive the United States of money it is lawfully

due.’” A+ Homecare, 400 F.3d at 445 (citing Costner v.

URS Consultants, Inc., 153 F.3d 667, 677 (8th Cir.

1998)). Under the “outcome materiality” test, the

Eighth Circuit held that the plaintiff was required to

show that the government agency would have acted

differently had it known of the omission and con-

cluded that, “‘there is no false claim because [the

agency’ action] would have occurred regardless of

[the defendant’s] actions.’” Id. (citing Rabushka ex

rel. United States v. Crane Co., 122 F.3d 559, 563 (8th

Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1040 (1998)).

In seeking to resolve the conflict between the

lower courts, this Court should first address the

question of whether the FCA includes a materiality

element at all. Based on this Court’s decisions in

United States v. Wells, 519 U.S. 482 (1987) and Neder

v. United States, 527 U.S. 1 (1999), a materiality

requirement should not be read into the FCA. The

Wells-Neder framework presents a three-step analysis

for determining whether materiality is required by a

statute. First, if the statute does not specifically

include a materiality element, without more, it is not

20

required. Wells, 519 U.S. at 489-90; Neder, 527 U.S.

at 20 (citing Wells). A materiality element may be

implied, however, if the statute uses terms that have

well-settled common law meanings that include

materiality. Wells, 519 U.S. at 491; Neder, 527 U.S. at

22-23. Finally, this presumption may be rebutted if

the text or the structure of the statute shows that the

addition of a materiality requirement would create an

inconsistency with the rest of the statute. Neder, 527

U.S. at 22-25.

The application of this framework to the seven

different provisions of the FCA imposing liability for

false claims, demonstrates that most of those provi-

sions should not require an implied materiality

element.

Starting with the first prong of the Wells-Neder

analysis, the FCA does not specifically require mate-

riality. Therefore, the seven provisions of the FCA

have to be analyzed separately to find a materiality

requirement.

Sections 3729(a)(1) and (a)(2) are the two most

often cited provisions of the FCA and use the terms

“false or fraudulent claims.” App. 51. The Wells Court

determined that the term “false statement” did not

create a presumption that materiality was an ele-

ment of a statute.” Analyzing the term “fraud,” the

Court in Neder determined that it did require a

* Wells, 519 U.S. at 491.

21

showing of materiality.’ Therefore the use of the word

“fraudulent” could imply that Congress intended that

materiality be an element of subsections (a)(1) and

(a)(2). The term is used, however, in the disjunctive

with the term “false,” which suggests that more

analysis is required. Since both words are used, a

party would only have to prove that a claim is false

and not fraudulent. While ali fraudulent claims are

probably false, not all false claims are necessarily

fraudulent. Therefore, a plaintiff could avoid the

requirement to prove materiality in an FCA action by

just alleging that the defendant made false claims

rather than fraudulent claims.

Even if the focus is on the term “fraudulent” the

remaining language of the statute demonstrates that

materiality should not be required. Both (a)(1) and

(a)(2) require a showing that a false claim is made

“knowingly.” This term is defined as follows:

Knowing and knowingly defined. For pur-

poses of this section, the terms “knowing”

and “knowingly” mean that a person, with

respect to information —

(1) has actual knowledge of the infor-

mation;

(2) acts in deliberate ignorance of the

truth or falsity of the information; or

‘Neder, 527 US. at 21-25

22

(3) acts in ree :ess disregard of the

truth or falsity of the information, and no

proof of specific intent to defraud is required.

31 U.S.C. § 3729(b).

In establishing this relaxed standard for know-

ledge, Congress in 1986 overturned several decisions

which had required heightened proof of scienter. See

James B. Helmer, Jr., False Claims Act: Whistler

Blower Litigation, § 2-4(d) (5th ed. 2007). Specifically,

by eliminating the requirement for specific intent,

Congress was demonstrating that it was creating a

statutory basis for remedying false claims against the

government.”

Sections 3729(a)(3)-(a\(5) use the term “defraud”

to describe the type of wrongdoing those provisions

were attempting to remedy. Moreover, these three

provisions do not use the term “knowingly.” There-

fore, a stronger case can be made for the requirement

of materiality when these provisions are invoked.

'° In this regard, Sanders notes also that included in the

proposals to amend the FCA is a provision that would eliminate

any materiality requirement. Ths* provision states:

Statutory Cause of Action. -. Liability under this sec-

tion is a statutory cause of action all elements of

which are set forth in this section. No proof of any ad-

ditional element of common law fraud or other cause

of action is implied or required for liability to exist for

a violation of subsection (a).

Section 3729 (c), HR 1788, The False Claims Act Corrections Act

of 2009. (Introduced March 30, 2009).

23

However, these provisions are invoked rarely and

they were not part of Petitioner Sanders’ complaint.

Neither sections 3729(a)(6) and (a)(7) use the

terms “fraud,” “fraudulent,” or “defraud.” Therefore,

under the Wells-Neder analysis, there is no require-

ment for a demonstration of materiality. Two of

Sanders’ Customs counts were pled under section

3729(a)(7) since they involved false claims to avoid

paying money to the government.

The different “materiality” tests used by lower

courts require this Court’s guidance on the proper

materiality test to be applied in FCA actions, if any.

Absent clear guidance from the current Congress, the

Court should take this opportunity to address this

question.

C. The Court Should Exercise Its Supervi-

sory Powers to Correct the Lower Courts’

Improper Application of the Materiality

Element Based on the “Natural Tendency”

Test.

If the Court determines that the FCA includes a

materiality element and that element should be

governed by the “natural tendency” test, the Court

should exercise its supervisory powers to ensure that

the test is applied correctly. While both the district

court and the court of appeals purported to apply the

“natural tendency” test, both effectively adopted the

“outcome materiality” test. Both courts determined

24

what Customs would have done had it known the

true facts instead of what Customs could have done.

The district court concluded:

I would find that the Customs decision could

not have been affected by the alleged false

statements relating to permanent installa-

tion because the decision would have been

the same whether or not the components had

been permanently installed. I note, however,

that in my judgment a more precise formula-

tion of the proper inquiry is whether, even in

the absence of permanently installed compo-

nents, Customs still would have classified

the NABI imports as unfinished buses rather

than bus shells.

App. 39.

The court’s assumption about what Customs

would have done had NABI honestly described its bus

body imports is expressly contradicted by the Cus-

toms ruling itself which explicitly stated that its

decision to reclassify the imports as finished busses

was based or representations that the shell contained

a “sudstantial amount of equipment and number of

components necessary for a completed transit bus.”

App. 23. The court had no way of knowing that Cus-

toms would have made the same decision in the

absence of the false claims. Given the facts presented

and the stated position of Customs, the most that the

court could determine is that Customs “could have”

classified the bus shells in either provision. The

court's absolutist position is also called into question

25

by its refusal to consider the government’s belated

attempt to reconsider its intervention decision. App.

35-36 n.1. Certainly, given the government’s demon-

stration of uncertainty, the court should have drawn

the opposite conclusion and acknowledged that Cus-

toms was at least considering classifying the shells as

bus bodies. If Customs was considering that decision,

then as a legal matter, it could have imposed that

classification, and NABI’s false statements would

have been material.

Similarly, the court of appeals minimizes the

components that Sanders alleges to be missing and

then concludes:

Assuming for purposes of argument that

NABI’s statements were false, Sanders has

given us no reason to believe that when Cus-

toms considered a protest that listed twenty

imported components those false statements

regarding one or two missing components —

much less subcomponents — were material to

Customs’ decision.

App. 22. Again, this conclusion flies in the face of the

standard that Customs used to determine the proper

classification: the “substantial amount of equipment

and number of components necessary for a completed

transit bus.” This conclusion also ignores the fact that

the components about which NABI lied were four of

the most important operating systems containing

many components and subcomponents. Given that

this was a protest of the classification of previous

importations, it was at the very least a close question.

26

Obviously NABI thought so, giving it a strong motive

to falsely describe its bus shell imports. How could

the court possibly know whether the false claims

could not have affected the classification decision?

Further, the decision deliberately ignored the

government’s affidavit used to secure a search war-

rant of NABI’s facility. The search warrant reflects

Customs’ belated investigation of Sanders’ allegations

and concludes that he was correct App. 76. Even

though it had the power to do so under Fed. R. Evid.

201(f)," the Panel refused to consider this informa-

tion, because it was “outside” the record in this case.

App. 27. The Panel chose to ignore information that

contradicted its findings and issued an opinion that

was demonstrably at odds with that of the agency

based solely on the fact that Customs’ search warrant

was released after the district court’s decision. Ulti-

mately, had the court of appeals accepted the gov-

ernment’s affidavit, it would have mooted the entire

question of materiality, because the affidavit demon-

strates that the false claims were material under

' See e.g. Philip Medical Sys. International, B.V. v. Bruet-

man, 982 F.2d 211 (7th Cir. 1992); Dobbs v. Anthem Blue Cross

& Blue Shield, 475 F.3d 1176, 1179 (10th Cir. 2007) (“Although

notice is not required under Rule 28(j), good advocates neverthe-

less file such notice out of respect for this Court and a commit-

ment to resolving disputes in an _ expeditious manner.

Particularly when a legal development is controlling, as it is

here, we admonish counsel to bring the relevant authority to the

Court’s attention.”).

27

either the “natural tendency” or “outcome materiali-

ty” tests.

Beyond the fact that the district court and the

court of appeals got the decision wrong, an important

consideration for this Petition is the methodology the

courts employed in reaching that decision. The Cus-

toms ruling does not say what components were

important to its classification decision. The protest

listed 20 components that were on the imported

shell.” Sanders alleges, and the record shows, that at

least four of those components were not complete or

not imported with the shells. The incomplete or

missing components were the front suspension, rear

suspension, power steering, and brake chamber.

Effectively, the Panel held that since NABI lied about

only 4 of the 20 components, the lies were not materi-

al. This defies the concept of materiality based on the

“natural tendency” test. What would be material — 5

of 20, 8 of 20, 10 of 20? There is no way to determine

from the Panel’s decision how many lies would be

material. If this decision is followed by other courts, it

effectively tells those courts that they can ignore legal

requirements and issue judgments based on the

subjective feeling of the court. Far beyond Customs

‘* Those components were: the base structure; body; axles;

front suspension; rear suspension; mms; wheels; power steering;

brake chamber; fuel tank; engine cradle; flooring; partial door

system including the door panels; windshield; outside body trim;

corrosion protection paint; steering wheel; tracking for interior

lights; air duct system; and destination sign door and enclosure.

App. 22, n.4.

28

cases, it gives no guidance to future courts in apply-

ing the natural tendency test, substituting a slippery

slope and judicial arbitrariness for the easily unders-

tood and applied “could have” test. It effectively

states that lies are not necessarily material even

when they go to the core of the government’s decision

making process.

According to the Panel, apparently, the natural

tendency test must involve some sliding scale of

weighing the lies in order to determine materiality.

Customs tells us in their ruling that they focused on

the components to determine the classification. A

showing that NABI hed about one or two, or as in this

case, a minimum of four of those components, is

sufficient evidence to demonstrate that Customs

potentially could have classified the shells as bus

bodies. The Panel improperly substituted its assump-

tions about what Customs would have done instead of

showing deference and respect to what Customs could

have done, and in fact did after the district court’s

decision.

The lower courts effectively applied the “outcome

materiality” test by assuming that there was only one

legal conclusion that could have been made. This is

the wrong application of the “natural tendency” test.

This Court should grant the Petition if only to give

guidance to the lower courts on the proper application

of the “natural tendency” test.

ST ¢

29

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: THE CULLEN LAW FIRM, PLLC

JAMES A. MOODY JOSEPH A. BLACK

1101 30th Street, NW Counsel of Record

Suite 300 1101 30th Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20007 Suite 300

(202) 298-4766 Washington, D.C. 20007

(202) 944-8600

App. 1

546 F.3d 288

United States Court of Appeals,

Fourth Circuit.

UNITED STATES of America ex rel.

Thornton G. SANDERS, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES,

INCORPORATED; Deloitte & Touche USA, LLP;

North American Bus Industries Kft.,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

North American Bus Industries, Rt.;

American Ikarus; Peter Z. Rona;

The First Hungary Fund, Defendants.

Taxpayers Against Fraud Education Fund,

Amicus Supporting Appellant.

No. 07-1773.

Argued: Sept. 24, 2008.

Decided: Nov. 5, 2008.

ARGUED: Joseph A. Black, Cullen Law Firm,

P.L.L.C., Washington, D.C., for Appellant. James

Patrick Ulwick, Kramon & Graham, Baltimore,

Maryland; Amelia Toy Rudolph, Sutherland, Asbill &

Brennan, Atlanta, Georgia, for Appellees. ON

BRIEF: Daniel E. Cohen, Cullen Law Firm, P.L.L.C.,

Washington, D.C., for Appellant. Melissa H. Maxman,

Baker & Hostetler, L.L.P., Washington, D.C., for

Appellees North American Bus Industries, Incorpo-

rated and North American Bus Industries, Kft. Mike

Bothwell, Sara Vann, Bothwell & Harris, P.C., Ros-

well, Georgia; James W. Moorman, Joseph E.B.

App. 2

White, Taxpayers Against Fraud Education Fund,

Washington, D.C., for Amicus Supporting Appellant.

Before WILKINSON, Circuit Judge, HAMIL-

TON, Senior Circuit Judge, and JAMES C. CACH-

ERIS, Senior United States District Judge for the

Eastern District of Virginia, sitting by designation.

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge WILKIN-

SON wrote the opinion, in which Senior Judge HAM-

ILTON and Senior Judge CACHERIS joined.

OPINION

WILKINSON, Circuit Judge:

This appeal arises from a qui tam action under

the False Claims Act brought by Thornton G. Sanders

against his former employer, North American Bus

Industries, Inc. (“NABI”). Sanders alleges that NABI

defrauded the United States by underpaying duties

on bus frames that NABI imported from Hungary and

by falsely certifying that the buses that NABI manu-

factured using those frames were eligible for federal

“Buy America” subsidies. Sanders also alleges that

Deloitte & Touche USA, LLP, participated in NABI’s

fraud.

The district court rejected all of Sanders’s claims

on various grounds. Sanders now challenges each of

those dismissals, asserting myriad defects of both fact

and law. We agree, however, with the district court

that plaintiff has failed to establish the necessary

App. 3

elements of an FCA claim. We thus affirm the judg-

ment.

I.

A.

NABI is an Alabama corporation that manufac-

tures and sells transit buses. The manufacturing

process occurs in stages. First, the bus frames, or

“shells,” are constructed by NABI’s corporate parent,

North American Bus Industries, Kft. (“NABI Hun-

gary”). NABI Hungary then ships the shells to NABI’s

headquarters in Alabama. The shipments include a

number of components, like the wheels, some of

which are fixed permanently to the shells prior to

shipment. NABI then completes the assembly, using

both the shipped components and additional Ameri-

can-made parts.

NABI distributes the completed buses to munici-

palities and transit authorities throughout the

United States. The federal government subsidizes

these local entities for purchases of buses that meet

federal “Buy America” requirements. See 49 U.S.C.

§ 5323(j); 49 C.F.R. §§ 661.1-.21. Local entities receiv-

ing subsidies require NABI to certify that its buses

satisfy the Buy America provisions. In particular,

NABI must certify that more than sixty percent of the

components in its completed buses (by cost) are

produced in the United States.

App. 4

The bus shells and components that NABI im-

ports from its Hungarian parent are taxed according

to the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United

States (“HTSUS”), which provides the various classi-

fications and corresponding rates of duty for imported

merchandise. See 19 U.S.C. § 1202. Prior to June

1998, NABI’s bus shells were classified under the

HTSUS subheading for “Bodies (including cabs), for

. motor vehicles.” HTSUS subheading 8707.90.50.

That classification carried a duty of four percent of

the value of the imported bus shells and components.

In June 1998, NABI hired Damon Pike, a director

at Deloitte, to file a protest on NABI’s behalf with the

U.S. Customs Service (currently U.S. Customs and

Border Protection). See 19 U.S.C. § 1514 (Customs

protests); 19 C.F.R. pt. 174. NABI sought to have its

previous imports reclassified under the HTSUS

subheading for “Motor vehicles [with a diesel engine]

... \djesigned for the transport of 16 or more persons,

including the driver.” HTSUS subheading 8702.10.30.

In other words, NABI sought to have the imports that

previously had been classified as mere bodies of buses

reclassified under the subheading for completed

motor vehicles. Under the latter classification, NABI’s

imports would have been eligible for duty-free treat-

ment under the Generalized System of Preferences

because the imports were from Hungary. See 19

U.S.C. §§ 2461-2467.

NABI’s protest relied primarily on General Rule

of Interpretation 2(a) of the HTSUS. Rule 2(a) pro-

vides that “[aJny reference in a heading to an article

App. 5

shall be taken to include a reference to that article

incomplete or unfinished, provided that, as entered,

the incomplete or unfinished article has the essential

character of the complete or finished article.”

Based on that rule, NABI argued that its bus

shells should be reclassified because they had tne

“essential character” of finished motor vehicles. NABI

supported that argument by listing twenty compo-

nents that it asserted were “permanently installed”

on the bus shells at the time of importation. NABI’s

protest did concede that, when compared with the

imports in a prior Customs ruling on trolley bus

shells, NABI’s imported components were somewhat

fewer and had a somewhat lesser value. NABI’s

protest further expressly listed twelve components

that NABI acknowledged were installed only after

importation. But NABI argued that those differences

and missing parts did not alter the “essential charac-

ter” of NABI’s imports.

In November 1998, Customs issued a decision

granting NABI’s protest and holding that NABI’s

imports should have been classified under subhead-

ing 8702.10.30 as “motor vehicles” eligible for duty-

free treatment. The decision cited the components

listed in NABI’s protest and noted that the remaining

components were installed after importation. Cus-

toms then stated its finding that “[t]he bus shells

when imported contain a substantial amount of

equipment and number of components necessary for

a completed transit bus.” Customs concluded that

App. 6

NABI’s imports, even in their “unfinished state,” had

the “essential character” of motor vehicles.

Based on the successful protest decision, NABI

received refunds of duties that it had paid on bus

shells imported between April and August 1997;

statutory deadlines prevented NABI from seeking

refunds for earlier imports. Apparently based in part

on the advice of Damon Pike of Deloitte, NABI also

began classifying its subsequent imports under the

duty-free subheading for motor vehicles.

B.

Thornton G. Sanders, the gui tam relator in this

action, is a former executive of NABI. NABI hired

Sanders as Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

in 1993. In 1994, Sanders became President and

Director of NABI.’

During his employment at NABI, Sanders raised

questions within the company about certain contracts

between NABI and NABI Hungary. NABI and its

parent company entered into two separate contracts

for each set of bus shells that NABI imported in the

years from 1993 to 1997. Under the first contract,

NABI paid NABI Hungary for the bus shells and

their components. Under the second contract, NABI

At that time, NABI was known as American Ikarus, Inc.

Any distinctions between NABI and its predecessor corporation

are immaterial to this case.

App. 7

paid NABI Hungary for engineering and technology

services. NABI characterized those services as con-

sisting of both tangible designs and intangible techni-

cal information that assisted NABI in assembling the

imported shells and parts. Because NABI did not

consider the engineering and technology services to

be part of the value cf the imported bus shells, NABI

did not include the cost of those services when declar-

ing the value of the shells to Customs, or when calcu-

lating the eligibility of its buses for Buy America

subsidies.

In 1996, Sanders sent memoranda to others at

NABI recommending that NABI discontinue its

separate payments for engineering and technology

services. Sanders asserted that the company’s pay-

ments did not accurately reflect the technical assis-

tance that NABI was receiving from NABI Hungary.

Apparently acting on Sanders’s recommendation,

NABI discontinued its separate contracts for engi-

neering and technology services in 1997.

NABI also terminated Sanders’s employment in

1997, sho-tly after Sanders proposed that the com-

pany be sold to a group of investors that included

himself and NABI’s other senior managers. Sanders

subsequently wrote a letter to another NABI em-

ployee stating that he had been fired because execu-

tives at NABI Hungary viewed Sanders’s proposed

purchase of the company as an act of disloyalty.

App. 8

C.

Sanders subsequently filed suit against NABI in

2002 under the qui tam provisions of the False

Claims Act (“FCA”). 31 U.S.C. §§ 3729-3733. Section

3729 of the FCA creates liability in the form of treble

damages and civil penalties of up to $10,000 for

perscns who make false or fraudulent claims for

payment to the United States. Id. § 3729(a). And

Section 3730 provides that civil actions under the

FCA may be brought either by the Attorney General,

id. § 3730(a), or by private persons, known as rela-

tors, who sue on the federal government's behalf, id.

§ 3730(b). A relator may recover up to thirty percent

of the proceeds of a successful action, plus attorney’s

fees and costs. Jd. § 3730(d). The relator must file his

complaint under seal and notify the government of

his action, and the government may then elect either

to intervene in the suit or to allow the relator to

continue the suit alone. Jd. § 3730(b). The United

States has consistently declined to intervene in

Sanders’s action.

Sanders stated five causes of action under the

FCA. In Count I, Sanders claimed that NABI had

falsely certified that its buses were eligible for Buy

America subsidies. The district court granted sum-

mary judgment to NABI on Count I because Sand-

ers’s claims were barred by the FCA’s six-year statute

of limitations in 31 U.S.C. § 3731(b)(1) and because

the United States had not suffered actual damages.

App. 9

In Counts II and III, Sanders claimed that the

protest submitted to Customs by NABI and Deloitte

in 1998 contained a false description of NABI’s im-

ported bus shells. The district court granted Deloitte’s

motion to dismiss both counts as time-barred. The

district court also granted summary judgment to

NABI on Counts II and III. The court held that any

alleged false statements in NABI’s protest were

immaterial to Customs’ decision to reclassify NABI’s

imports.

In Count IV, Sanders claimed that NABI had also

underpaid its duties by failing to declare to Customs

the value of the separate payments that NABI made

for engineering and technology services. The district

court granted summary judgment to NABI, holding

that the successful Customs decision made clear that

NABI never owed any duties on its imports. Thus,

even if NABI had failed to declare the imports’ full

value, the court held that NABI had not violated the

FCA because NABI had not deprived the government

of any money that it was actually due.

Finally, Sanders claimed in Count V that he had

been wrongfully discharged in violation of the FCA’s

anti-retaliation provision. 31 U.S.C. §3730(h). The

district court dismissed Sanders’s claim as time-

barred under the Supreme Court’s decision in Gra-

ham County Soil & Water Conservation District v.

United States ex rel. Wilson, 545 U.S. 409, 125 S.Ct.

2444, 162 L.Ed.2d 390 (2005). Sanders did not oppose

that dismissal.

App. 10

Sanders now appeals the district court’s disposi-

tion of each of his claims. We discuss those claims in

turn.

ik.

Sanders first contends that the district court

misconstrued the FCA’s statute of limitations, 31

U.S.C. § 3731(b), which provides the following:

A civil action under section 3730 may not be

brought —

(1) more than 6 years after the date on

which the violation of section 3729 is com-

mitted, or

(2) more than 3 years after the date when

facts material to the right of action are

known or reasonably should have been

known by the official of the United States

charged with responsibility to act in the cir-

cumstances, but in no event more than 10

years after the date on which the violation is

committed,

whichever occurs last.

The district court held that the six-year limita-

tions period in Section 3731(b)(1) barred Sanders’s

claims against NABI in Count I and against Deloitte

in Counts II and III. Sanders argues that the district

court should have applied Section 3731(b)\(2) to ex-

tend the limitations period for those claims. Sanders

interprets Section 3731(b)(2) to allow a relator to

bring a cause of action within ten years of an FCA

App. 11

violation, as long as the relevant government official

has not had actual or constructive knowledge of the

violation for more than three years. We hold that

Section 3731(b)(2) extends the FCA’s statute of limi-

tations beyond six years only in cases in which the

United States is a party.

It would be problematic to read the text of the

statute any other way. Section 3731(b)(2) refers only

to the United States — and not to relators. Thus,

Congress intended Section 3731(b)(2) to extend the

FCA’s default six-year period only in cases in which

the government is a party, rather than to produce the

bizarre scenario in which the limitations period in a

relator’s action depends on the knowledge of a non-

party to the action.

The specific language in the statute bears this

out. The limitations period in Section 3731(b)(2)

starts when the government knows or should know of

“facts material to the right of action.” This language

makes perfect sense when referring to an action

brought by the government: the limitations period is

based on the government’s knowledge of “facts mate-

rial to the right of action” because that particular

knowledge notifies the government that it has an

actionable FCA claim. But applying the statute’s

language to a relator’s action makes no sense whatso-

ever. The government’s knowledge of “facts material

to the right of action” does not notify the relator of

anything, so that knowledge cannot reasonably begin

the limitations period for a relator’s claims. Further-

more, once the material facts supporting a right of

App. 12

action are known to the United States, it is doubtful

that the government official “charged with responsi-

bility to act in the circumstances” could be charged

with any responsibility other than to see that the

government brings or joins an FCA action within the

limitations period. After all, government officials are

certainly not “charged with responsibility” to ensure

that a relator brings a timely FCA action. All of these

textual elements demonstrate that Section 3731(b)(2)

makes sense only when read to extend the FCA’s

limitations period in actions brought or joined by the

United States.

Our reading of the statute’s text finds support in

the fact that Section 3731(b)(2) is almost identical to

another federal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 2416(c). Section

2416(c) tolls the generally applicable statute of limi-

tations in actions brought by the United States — and

only by the United States — until “facts material to

the right of action” are actually or constructively

known by an “official of the United States charged

with the responsibility to act in the circumstances.”

Section 2416 was enacted in 1966. See Pub.L. No. 89-

505, § 1, 80 Stat. 304, 305 (1966). Congress added

Section 3731(b)(2) to the FCA in 1986 (the FCA

previously had a uniform six-year limitations period).

See Pub.L. No. 99-562, §5, 100 Stat. 3153, 3158

(1986). Thus, it appears that when enacting Section

3731(b\2), Congress adopted the language from

Section 2416(c) that applies only to actions brought

by the government. This apparent transcription of

statutory language supports the conclusion that the

App. 13

text of Section 3731(b)(2) lengthens the FCA’s limita-

tions period only when the government is a party. See

United States ex rel. Sikkenga v. Regence Bluecross

Blueshield of Utah, 472 F.8d 702, 724-25 (10th

Cir.2006).

Sanders proffers a contrary reading of the stat-

ute’s text. Sanders argues that Section 3731(b)(2)’s

failure to mention relators actually supports the

application of that section to qui tam actions. He

contends that the phrase “[a] civil action under

section 3730” in the preface to Section 3731(b) in-

cludes all civil actions under the FCA; he then argues

that Section 3731(b)(2) does not contain any language

expressly excluding relator actions; and he therefore

concludes that relator actions fall within the scope of

Section 3731(b)(2).

Sanders’s argument fails for two reasons. First,

Section 3731(b)(2) does contain language excluding

actions by relators because the statutory language

makes no sense when applied to an action in which

the government is not a party. Second, we also dis-

agree with Sanders’s other premise, that “[a] civil

action” must be read indiscriminately to encompass

all FCA claims in all contexts. In fact, the Supreme

Court recently rejected almost exactly the same

argument in Graham County Soil & Water Conserva-

tion District v. United States ex rel. Wilson, 545 U.S.

409, 125 S.Ct. 2444, 162 L.Ed.2d 390 (2005). In

Wilson, the Supreme Court held that Section

3731(b)’s reference to civil actions under Section 3730

did not include anti-retaliation claims, even though

App. 14

FCA anti-retaliation claims are brought under Sec-

tion 3730(h). 545 U.S. at 411, 125 S.Ct. 2444. The

Court recognized that “Congress used the term ‘action

under section 3730’ imprecisely in § 3731 and, in

particular, that Congress sometimes used the term to

refer only to a subset of § 3730 actions.” Id. at 418,

125 S.Ct. 2444. And the Court reasoned that when “a

civil action” was read in context, Section 3731(b)(1)’s

reference to a “violation of section 3729” suggested

that the statute did not include anti-retaliation

claims because a violation of Section 3729 was not an

element of those claims. See 545 U.S. at 415-16, 125

S.Ct. 2444. The same reasoning applies here. When

the phrase “a civil action” is read in context, Section

3731(b\(2)’s restrictive language referring to the

United States — and not to relators — makes clear that

only a subset of civil actions may benefit from the

extended limitations period in Section 3731(b)(2) —

those in which the government is a party.

Sanders’s proposed construction of the statute

also generates numerous practical difficulties. Under

Sanders’s reading, the statute of limitations in qui

tam actions would depend on the knowledge of a

nonparty government official. Not only is that result

counterintuitive, but it would also cause innumerable

headaches for both defendants and the government

during discovery. To advance a statute of limitations

defense, defendants would be forced to seek out

and litigate the identity and knowledge of a govern-

ment official not a party to the action. And govern-

ment agencies would be subjected to disruption and

App. 15

expense in responding to discovery requests in ac-

tions in which the government affirmatively chose to

avoid those concerns by declining to intervene. We

are reluctant to place these burdens on FCA defen-

dants and the government absent a clear textual

basis for doing so.

Sanders’s reading of Section 3731(b)(2) also

would allow relators to sit on their claims for up to

ten years before filing an action and informing the

government of the material facts. Indeed, relators

would have a strong financial incentive to allow false

claims to build up over time before they filed, thereby

increasing their own potential recovery. By empower-

ing relators to extend the limitations period at will,

Sanders’s reading would render the six-year limita-

tions period in Section 3731(b)(1) superfluous in

nearly all FCA cases, thereby contradicting “our duty

to give effect, if possible, to every clause and word of a

statute.” Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 174, 121

S.Ct. 2120, 150 L.Ed.2d 251 (2001) (internal quota-

tions omitted); see Sikkenga, 472 F.3d at 725-26

(agreeing that the approach advocated by Sanders

would render Section 3731(b)(1) superfluous).

Moreover, allowing relators to sit on their claims

would undermine the purpose of the qui tam provi-

sions of the FCA: to combat fraud quickly and effi-

ciently by encouraging relators to bring actions that

the government cannot or will not — “to stimulate

actions by private parties should the prosecuting

officers be tardy in bringing the suits.” United States

ex rel. Marcus v. Hess, 317 U.S. 537, 547, 63 S.Ct.

App. 16

379, 87 L.Ed. 443 (1943); Sikkenga, 472 F.3d at 725.

Sanders’s interpretation would instead allow fraud to

continue unabated for up to ten years. And a relator’s

failure to notify the government promptly of FCA

violations might also cause the government to lose

out on its ability to bring a criminal fraud prosecu-

tion, which must be filed within five years of the

violation. See 18 U.S.C. §§ 287, 3282; United States ex

rel. Hyatt v. Northrop Corp., 91 F.3d 1211, 1218 (9th

Cir.1996).

This issue has admittedly given rise to different

approaches in the federal courts. Our interpretation

of Section 3731(b) is decidedly the majority approach

in the federa] courts of appeals, where no circuit court

has accepted Sanders’s view that Section 3731(b)(2)

extends the limitations period in qui tam actions

regardless of how long the relator has known of the

material facts. The Tenth Circuit has expressly held

that Section 3731(b)(2) does not apply to qui tam

suits in which the government has not intervened.

Sikkenga, 472 F.3d at 725; see also United States ex

rel. Erskine v. Baker, No. 99-50034, 2000 WL 554644,

at *1 (5th Cir. Apr.13, 2000) (same); United States ex

rel. Bledsoe v. Cmty. Health Sys., Inc., 501 F.3d 493,

515, 519-20 (6th Cir.2007) (applying six-year limita-

tions period to a relator’s claims); Foster v. Savannah

Commce’n, 140 Fed.Appx. 905, 907-08 (11th Cir.2005)

(same). But see Hyatt, 91 F.3d 1211, 1214-18 (9th

Cir.1996) (holding that Section 3731(b)\(2) applies

when the government is not a party but that the

relator is the “official of the United States” on whose

App. 17

knowledge the limitations period depends); United

States ex rel. Malloy v. Telephonics Corp., 68 Fed.Appx.

270, 272-73 (3d Cir.2003) (also interpreting Section

3731(b)(2) to depend on the relator’s knowledge).*

The majority of district courts in circuits other

than these are also in accord with our interpretation.

See United States ex rel. Fisher v. Network Software

Assocs., Inc., 180 F.Supp.2d 192, 194 (D.D.C.2002);

United States ex rel. El Amin v. George Washington

Univ., 26 F.Supp.2d 162, 172-73 (D.D.C.1998); United

States ex rel. Finney v. Nextwave Telecom, Inc., 337

B.R. 479, 486 (S.D.N.Y.2006); United States ex rel.

Thistlethwaite v. Dowty Woodville Polymer, Ltd., 6

F.Supp.2d 263, 265 (S.D.N.Y.1998); United States ex

rel. Vosika v. Star”ey Labs., Inc., No. Civ. 01-709,

2004 WL 2065127, at *2-3 (D.Minn. Sept.8, 2004). A

minority, however, has adopted Sanders’s view. See

United States ex rel. Pogue v. Diabetes Treatment Ctrs.

of America, 474 FSupp.2d 75, 81-89 (D.D.C.2007);

United States ex rel. Salmeron v. Enterprise Recovery

Sys., Inc., 464 F.Supp.2d 766, 769-70 (N.D.II].2006);

* Because we hold that Sanders cannot seek the benefit

of Section 3731(b)(2), we need not and do not decide which

specific government official is “charged with responsibility to act

in the circumstances” — a question that has perplexed some

court.. Compare United States v. Macomb Contracting Corp.,

763 F.Supp. 272, 274 (M.D.Tenn.1990) (relevant official must

be within the Department of Justice) with United States v.

Tech Refrigeration, 143 F.Supp.2d 1006, 1009-10 (N.D-II1.2001)

(knowledge of other government officials may be imputed to

DOJ).

App. 18

United States ex rel. Kreindler & Kreindler v. United

Techs. Corp., 777 F.Supp. 195, 204-05 (N.D.N.Y.1991).

Based on our interpretation of Section 3731(b),

we affirm the district court’s grant of summary judz-

ment on Count I to NABI. Before the district court,

Sanders limited the scope of Count I solely to claims

hat arose outside of the six-year limitations period.

We therefore need not reach the question of whether

the government suffered actual damages from the

Buy America fraud that Sanders alleged in Count I.

We also affirm the district court’s dismissal of Counts

II and III against Deloitte as time-barred.’

* Sanders tries to circumvent the district court’s holding

that his claims against Deloitte under Count III were untimely.

Even though all of Deloitte’s alleged misconduct occurred

outside of six years, Sanders contends that Deloitte caused

subsequent violations by NABI within the limitations period.

But that was not the theory of liability expressed in Count IJ] of

Sanders’s complaint, which did not allege any independent FCA

violations other than the supposedly false Customs protest. See

Second Amended Complaint {| 40. Count III as pleaded against

Deloitte was therefore time-barred. And even if we were to

construe Count III to contemplate additional, independent FCA

violations, Sanders’s complaint warranted dismissal for other

reasons. For one, Sanders failed to adequately plead the element

of causation because Deloitte’s alleged advice to NABI to enter

its bus shells duty-free was superfluous to the Customs decision

itself. Furthermore, Sanders failed to allege any FCA violations

within the statutory period with the particularity required by

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 9(b).

App. 19

III.

Sanders contends that the district court erred

when it granted summary judgment to NABI on

Counts II and III of Sanders’s complaint. In those

counts, Sanders claimed that NABI violated the FCA

because the protest that NABI submitted to Customs

in 1998 misrepresented the condition of the com-

pany’s bus shells when they were imported, thereby

improperly allowing NABI to obtain duty-free treat-

ment for its imports. The district court held that

Sanders failed to establish that the alleged false

statements made by NABI in its protest were mate-

rial to Customs’ decision to reclassify NABI’s imports.

The elements of an FCA claim are straightfor-

ward. “(T]he plaintiff must prove: (1) that the defen-

dant made a false statement or engaged in a

fraudulent course of conduct; (2) such statement or

conduct was made or carried out with the requisite

scienter; (3) the statement or conduct was material;

and (4) the statement or conduct caused the govern-

ment to pay out money or to forfeit money due.”

Harrison v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co., 352

F.3d 908, 913 (4th Cir.2003). The standard for mate-

riality in the Fourth Circuit is also settled. “Under

the FCA, a statement or course of conduct is material

if it ‘has a natural tendency to influence agency

action or is capable of influencing agency action.”

United States ex rel. Wilson v. Kellogg Brown & Root,

Inc., 525 F.3d 370, 378 (4th Cir.2008) (quoting United

States ex rel. Berge v. Bd. of Trs. of the Univ. of Ala.,

104 F.3d 1453, 1460 (4th Cir.1997)).

App. 20

Sanders did not allege under Counts II and

III that NABI made any false statement outside of

the protest that it submitted to Customs. Second

Amended Complaint [J 37-41. We therefore analyze

only the materiality of the protest’s alleged misstate-

ments. NABI argued that its bus shells should be

reclassified because they had the “essential charac-

ter” of finished motor vehicles. And to support that

argument, the protest listed twenty components and

stated that those compunents were “permanently

installed” when the shells were imported.

Before the district court, Sanders claimed ini-

tially that the protest was materially false because

some of the named components were not “perma-

nently installed.” Second Amended Complaint 24;

Opposition to Deloitte’s Motion to Dismiss at 18 (“The

Amended Complaint also sets forth the factual basis

for the falsity of the protest, i.e., that at least seven

specific components were not permanently in-

stalled.”). For example, Sanders contended that the

protest was false because the axles imported with the

bus shells had to be removed and subsequently

reattached after importation. Second Amended Com-

plaint ¥ 26.

Sanders’s initial argument failed because the

issue of permanent installation was clearly immate-

rial to Customs’ classification of NABI’s bus sheils.

Customs’ decision in favor of NABI did not rely on a

finding that any components were installed perma-

nently. Instead, it relied solely on a finding that

the bus shells “contain[ed] a substantial amount of

App. 21

equipment and number of components necessary for a

completed transit bus.” A previous Customs ruling

(cited by NABI in its protest) also looked only to the

presence of components, not to whether they were

permanently installed. Sanders therefore eventually

acknowledged in his summary judgment motion that

permanent installation was immaterial: “For classifi-

cation purposes, it does not matter if any of the

components were permanently installed.” Sanders’s

Motion for Summary Judgment at 14.

After conceding on the issue of permanent instal-

lation, Sanders nonetheless argues that NABI’s

protest was materially false because a few of the

components listed in the protest were either them-

selves partially incomplete or were not actually

imported with the bus shells. But even when the

evidence in the record is viewed generously‘in Sand-

ers’s favor, it is clear that the protest at most con-

tained minor deficiencies. The evidence shows that no

more than one or two subcomponents of the suspen-

sion and power steering systems were not imported

with the bus shells. Most, but not all, of the buses’

wheels and tires were included. And some of NABI’s

bus shells (apparently beginning with the ones im-

ported in the spring of 1998) did not include brake

chambers and were imported with axles that were

removed and sent back to Hungary. Sanders does not

allege that any other components listed in NABI’s

protest were missing or incomplete, nor does the

evidence in the record suggest that to be the case.

App. 22

When the record evidence is properly character-

ized, the flaw in Sanders’s claim is obvious. Assuming

for purposes of argument that NABI’s statements

were false, Sanders has given us no reason to believe

that when Customs considered a protest that listed

twenty imported components,’ those false statements

regarding one or two missing components — much less

subcomponents -- were material to Customs’ decision.”

Sanders has focused most of his energy on alleg-

ing falsity in the protest by diving into the minute

details of the subcomponents of the bus shells. But as

Sanders’s claims of falsity become aarrower, the

alleged falsehoods become less likely to be material.

That is particularly so where the question for Cus-

toms was not whether every component and subcom-

ponent in the protest was present, but whether the

bus shells had the “essential character” of buses.

When it answered that question in the affirmative,

Customs did not rely on the presence of any specific

component. Instead, its decision found in broad terms

“ Those components were: the base structure; body; axles;

front suspension; rear suspension; rims; wheels; power steering;

brake chamber; fuel tank; engine cradle; flooring; partial door

system including the door panels; windshield; outside body trim;

corrosion protection paint; steering wheel; tracking for interior

lights; air duct system; and destination sign door and enclosure.

* The protest also acknowledged that twelve components

were not installed: the propulsion system; traction system;

cooling system; heating and air conditioning; electrical system;

bumpers; seats and stanchions; side windows; interior lighting;

exterior lamps; passenger signals; and non-standard customer

options.

App. 23

that the bus shells “contain[ed] a substantial amount

of equipment and number of components necessary

for a completed transit bus.” Thus, we find no reason

to believe that the particulars proffered by Sanders

had any bearing on Customs’ holistic analysis.

Sanders, however, takes vigorous exception to the

actions of both Customs and the district court. First,

Sanders attempts to find fault with the district

court’s precise expression of the materiality standard.

He argues that the district court applied the incorrect

test by analyzing whether the missing components or

subcomponents in the protest “would have,” rather

than “could have,” affected Customs’ decision. But the

district court expressly found a lack of materiality

under the “could have” formulation pressed by Sand-

ers. JA 1430. And regardless, the materiality inquiry

does not turn on questions of “would have” versus

“could have.” The standard is whether NABI’s alleged

false statements had “a natural tendency to influence

agency action or [were] capable of influencing agency

action.” Berge, 104 F.3d at 1460. Under that standard,

the false statements alleged by Sanders were imma-

terial to Customs’ decision.

Sanders also disagrees with the determination by

Customs that NABI’s bus shells were properly classi-

fied as motor vehicles. Sanders thinks that the shells

were so incomplete that they should have been classi-

fied under the alternative subheading for “bodies,”

and he goes on at length about 39 components that he

asserts were missing from the shells. But of those 39

supposedly missing components, Sanders points to

App. 24

only 3 that were listed in NABI’s protest as being

present in the bus shells. Brief of Appellant at 10-12.

NABI also explicitly told Customs that many more of

those 39 components were not included with its

shells. And Sanders conceded at oral argument that

NABI had made no misrepresentation to Customs

regarding most of these 39 components. Furthermore,

the Customs decision reflected the agency’s knowl-

edge that NABI’s bus shells were far from complete.

The decision stated that the bus shells arrived in the

United States in an “unfinished state” and that only

then were “the remaining necessary parts ... in-

stalled to complete the transit busles].” Yet Customs

still decided that NABI’s bus shells had the “essential

character” of motor vehicles. When Sanders com-

plains that too many components were missing from

NABI’s bus shells for the shells to be classified as

motor vehicles, he is therefore complaining not about

misconduct by NABI, but about the Customs decision

itself. Sanders may think that Customs’ decision was

wrong, but that does not make NABI’s statements

materially false.

IV.

Sanders next contends that the district court

erred when it granted summary judgment to NABI on

Count IV of Sanders’s complaint. Sanders claimed in

Count IV that — prior to its successful protest —- NABI

underpaid its duties to Customs because the company

failed to declare as part of the vaiue of its bus shells

App. 25

the payments that it made to NABI Hungary for

engineering and technology services.

We agree with the district court that Sanders

failed to satisfy the fourth element of a cause of

action under the FCA: that NABI’s allegedly false

statement or conduct “caused the government to pay

out money or to forfeit money due.” Harrison, 352

F.3d at 913. Because Customs determined that

NABI’s bus shells qualified for duty-free treatment

under the HTSUS subheading for motor vehicles,

NABI owed no duties on its imports, regardless of

their declared value. Thus, even if NABI declared less

than the correct value, NABI did not avoid any obli-

gation to pay money to the government, 31 U.S.C.

§ 3729(a)(7), and the government forfeited no money

that it was due.

Sanders responds with a creative — yet erroneous

— argument. Sanders points out that when NABI filed

its protest with Customs in 1998, statutory deadlines

prevented the company from obtaining refunds of

duties that it had paid before April 1997. Had NABI

declared a larger value for its imports prior to April

1997, therefore, Sanders observes that NABI could

not have recovered any of the extra duties that it

would have paid. From this, Sanders concludes that

the government suffered a loss in the additional

amount that it would have received — and kept — had

NABI declared the full value of its imports prior to

April 1997.

App. 26

Sanders’s argument fails because the availability

of a refund is irrelevant to the issue of whether the

government forfeited money that it was due in the

first place. Even if NABI could not obtain a refund of

past duties, the Customs decision demonstrated that

NABI should have been paying no duties all along.

Thus, NABI cannot be said to have cheated the

government out of anything that it was due. In fact,

the earlier misclassification of NABI’s imports

worked in the government’s favor by erroneously

subjecting those imports to taxation. And the only

reason that the limitations period on refunds bears

any significance is that it saved the government from

making NABI whole on its overpayments. Sanders

essentially argues that NABI should be liable for

failing to provide the government an additional

windfall. That argument cannot sustain the fourth

element of an FCA claim, so we affirm the district

court’s grant of summary judgment on Count IV.

° Sanders also appeals the district court’s dismissal of his

anti-retaliation claim under Section 3730(h). Sanders concedes,

and we agree, that the district court correctly dismissed that

claim as time-barred under the Supreme Court's decision in

Graham County Soil & Water Conservation District v. United

States ex rel. Wilson, 545 U.S. 409, 125 S.Ct. 2444, 162 L.Ed.2d

390 (2005). Sanders contends that his claim should be reinstated

if Congress enacts legislation to overrule the result in Wilson.

No such legislation has been enacted, so we affirm on this claim

also.

App. 27

V.

While this appeal was pending, Sanders submit-

ted what he styled as two pieces of supplemental

authority regarding developments within the past

year: claims that Customs reclassified certain bus

shells that NABI imported in December 2007, and

claims that the government is investigating NABI for

possible criminal violations relating to the classifica-

tion of its imports. Our decision expresses no view

whatsoever on these contentions. They are not part of

the record before us, and we refuse to speculate as to

the potential outcome of any ongoing investigations.

Our decision tenders no general assessment on

NABI’s past, current, or future conduct. We hold only

that on the record in this case, the district court

properly granted the defendants’ motions to dismiss

and for summary judgment. The district court’s

judgment is therefore

AFFIRMED.

App. 28

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-1773

(1:02-cv-03084-JFM)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

ex rel. Thornton G. Sanders,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES,

INCORPORATED; DELOITTE & TOUCHE USA,

LLP; NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES KFT.,

Defendants-Appellees.

and

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES, RT;

AMERICAN IKARUS; PETER Z. RONA;

THE FIRST HUNGARY FUND,

Defendants.

TAXPAYERS AGAINST FRAUD EDUCATION

FUND,

Amicus Supporting Appellant.

ORDER

(Filed Oct. 30, 2008)

App. 29

Upon consideration of appellant’s motion to take

judicial notice of affidavit, the Court denies the

motion.

For the Court

/s/ Patricia S. Connor

Clerk

App. 30

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

CHAMBERS OF 101 WEST LOMBARD STREET

J. FREDERICK MOTZ BALTIMORE, MARYLAND

UNITED STATES 21201

DISTRICT JUDGE (410) 962-0782

(410) 962-2698 FAX

June 25, 2007

Memo to Counsel Re: Sanders v. North American

Bus Industries

Civil No. JFM-02-3084

Dear Counsel:

I have reviewed the memoranda submitted in

connection with defendant’s motion for summary

judgment as to count I. The motion is granted.

It is undisputed that plaintiffs’ claim concerning

the 121 buses that were sold to Miami Metro Dade,

Maryland MTA, and WMATA arose more than six

years before the filing of the complaint in this action.

Therefore, the sole question presented by defendant’s

motion is whether the six-year limitations period

established by 31 U.S.C. §3731(b)(1), or the ten-year

limitations period established by 31 U.S.C.

§3731(b)(2), applies in a case brought by a relator in

which the Government decides not to intervene. As

you know, by a letter ruling dated December 19, 2005

I held (in connection with a claim asserted by plain-

tiffs against Deloitte & Touche) that the six-year

limitations period applies in such a case. However,

App. 31

since the time I rendered that decision, Judge Lam-

berth has held the ten-year limitations period applies

in all False Claims Act cases, whether or not the

Government has brought or chosen to intervene in

the action. United States ex rel. Pogue v. Diabetes

Treatment Centers of America, Inc., 474 F. Supp. 2d

75 (D.D.C. 2007). .

Although Judge Lamberth’s opinion is well

considered, I remain of the view I previously ex-

pressed. This view is in line with the greater weight

of authority that follows the approach established by

United States ex rel. Thistlethwaite v. Dowty Wood-

ville Polymer, Lid., 6 F. Supp. 2d 263 (S.D.N.Y. 1998)

and United States ex rel. El Amin v. George Washing-

ton University, 26 F. Supp 2d 162 (D.D.C. 1998).

Judge Lamberth’s opinion in Pogue _ resuscitates

United States ex rel. Colunga v. Hercules, Inc., 1998

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21811, NO. 89-cv-954B (D. Utah

Mar. 6, 1998, a decision that was buried by the Tenth

Circuit in United States ex rel. Sikkenga v. Regence

Bluecross Blueshield of Utah, 472 F. 3d 702 (10th Cir.

2006)). Furthermore, I find that the Thistlethwaite/El

Amin approach is consistent both with the language

of § 3731(b\(2) and, unlike the Pogue/Colunga ap-

proach, the section’s legislative history.

As for the statutory language, it is truc, as Judge

Lamberth points out, that section 3731(b)(2) is not

expressly limited to cases which are brought by the

Government or in which the Government chooses to

intervene. However, I continue to believe (as I stated

in my December 19, 2005 letter ruling), that the

App. 32

reference in § 3731(b)(2) to the knowledge or imputed

knowledge of an “official of the United States” is

sufficient to demonstrate that when _ enacting

§3731(b)(2), Congress contemplated that the section

applies only in such suits. After all, it is only where

the Government itself is actively pursuing the litiga-

tion that the knowledge or imputed knowledge of a

Government official may fairly be said to be material

to the issue of whether an extended limitations period

should apply. The Senate report on the 1986 False

Claims Act amendment, which added §§(b)(2) to

§3731, confirms that this is what Congress envi-

sioned. The report expressly stated that the purpose

of the new section was to “permit the Government to

bring an action within” the extended limitations

period. S.Rep No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d Asses., 15 (July

28, 2986), reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5266.

In Pogue Judge Lamberth observed that the

Thistlethwaite/El Amin approach enables the Gov-

ernment to determine what limitations period applies

by deciding whether or not to intervene in the rela-

tor’s action. 474 F. Supp. 2d at 88. Judge Lamberth

went on to express a concern that this would be a

“vexing scenario.” /d. I do not share this concern. The

Pogue/Colunga approach would enable a relator to

benefit from a ten-year limitations period if he or she

decided not to advise the Government of a potential

False Claims Act claim until seven years after it

arises. As a general proposition, a ten-year statute of

limitations for private litigants is quite exceptional;

the six-year limitations period set forth in §3731(b\(1)

App. 33

is much more in accordance with the norm of Ameri-

can jurisprudence. With this premise in mind, it is

reasonable, rather than “vexing,” to construe section

3731(b)(2) as authorizing the Government to deter-

mine the applicable limitations period when deciding

whether or not to intervene in a relator action. After

all, the Government is the victim of a False Claims

Act violation. Moreover, in its sovereign capacity,

when making its intervention decision, the Govern-

ment can appropriately determine whether the

important policy interest in providing repose to a

putative wrongdoer is outweighed by other factors,

such as the flagrancy of the alleged misconduct or the

amount of loss to the public fisc.

I am entering herewith a separate order granting

defendant’s motion for summary judgment as to count

I.

Despite the informal nature of this letter, it

should be flagged as an opinion and docketed as an

order.

Very truly yours,

/s/

J. Frederick Motz

United States District Judge

App. 34

2007 WL 80922 (D.Md.)

United States District Court,

D. Maryland.

UNITED STATES of America, ex rel.

Thornton G. SANDERS

v.

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES, INC., et al.

Civil No. JFM-02-3084.

Jan. 3, 2007.

Joseph A. Black, Daniel Eric Cohen, The Cullen

Law Firm PLLC, Mark Scott London, London and

Mead, Washington, DC, for Thornton G. Sanders.

Mark I. Bailen, Melissa H. Maxman, Baker and

Hostetler, Washington, DC, Andrew Jay Graham,

James P. Ulwick, Kramon and Graham, PA, Balti-

more, MD, for North American Bus Industries, Inc.

ORDER

J. FREDERICK MOTZ, United States District

Judge.

For the reasons stated in the accompanying

memorandum to counsel, it is, this 3rd day of Janu-

ary 2007.

ORDERED

1. Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is

denied;

App. 35

2. Defendant’s motion for summary judgment is

granted in part and denied in part;

3. Defendant’s motion is denied as to count I

relating to the 121 buses that were sold to Miami

Metro Dade, Maryland MTA, and WMATA;

4. Defendant’s motion is granted as to counts II

and III and judgment is entered in favor of defendant

against plaintiff as to those counts; and

4. Defendant’s motion is denied as to count IV.

Memo To Counsel Re: United States of America,

ex rel. Thornton G. Sanders v. North American Bus

Industries, Inc.

Dear Counsel:

As I indicated at the conclusion of the hearing

held on December 8, 2006, my schedule unfortunately

does not permit me to write an extensive opinion.

Instead, I am issuing this memorandum opinion,

stating my rulings and the reasons for them. I hope

you understand that the form of my opinion does not

reflect that I have not taken your arguments seri-

ously.’

‘ On December 20, 2006, counsel for the United States

wrote a letter requesting that I delay my decision until February

1, 2007, in order to give the United States an opportunity to

reconsider its decision not to intervene in this action. The

United States’ request is denied. This action has been pending

since 2002, and the United States has twice been invited to

intervene and has twice declined to do so. The United States

(Continued on following page)

App. 36

Defendant’s motion for summary judgment will

be granted in part and denied in part. Plaintiff’s

motion for summary judgment will be denied.

5. Count I

Plaintiff’s “Buy America” claims asserted in

count I are based upon the contention that NABI’s

payments to NABI Hungary for Engineering and

Technology (“E & T”) services were provided “in sham

contracts designed to disguise the true purpose of

these payments, i.e., to enable NABI to qualify for the

federal subsidy and to shift taxable income to the

parent company in Hungary.” (Relator Sanders’ Mem.

of Law in Supp. of Cross Mot. for Partial Summ. J. as

to Liability on Counts I, II, III, & IV of his Second

Am. Compl. and Sanders’ Opp’n to Def.’s Mot. for

Summ. J. at 28 [hereinafter Pl.’s Mot. for Summ. J.]).’

I am satisfied that genuine issues of fact exist as to

received copies of all the electronic filings in this case, including

the memoranda submitted in connection with parties’ cross-

motions for summary judgment. While the motions were pend-

ing, the United States madc no effort to intervene, and it chose

not to attend the hearing held on December 8, 2006. Under

these circumstances, the time has come for this court to rule

without hearing from the United States.

* Plaintiff now limits his Buy American claims to a total of

121 buses that were soid to Miami Metro Dade, Maryland MTA,

and WMATA. Plaintiff thereby acknowledges that even if the

cost of the E & T services were added to the buses sold to other

entities, the requirement under the Buy America Act that 60%

or more of the component value of the buses be of United States

origin would have been met.

App. 37

whether the services for which the payments were

made were fictitious. Accordingly, both parties’ sum-

mary judgment motions as to count I are denied.

I also understand that plaintiff is abandoning

his claims that (1) defendant made a false

statement with respect to the CompoBus

body, and (2) defendant made a false state-

ment with regard to the articulated joint as-

sembly.

However, as defendant argues, there is no evi-

dence in the record that any other company would

have sold the buses for any less tiian defendant

charged or that the purchasers did not receive the

buses for which they contracted. Therefore, under

Harrison v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co., 352

F.3d 908, 923 (4th Cir.2003), plaintiff has no claim for

actual damages. On the other hand, Harrison also

makes clear that the incurring of actual damages is

not a requirement for a claim under the False Claims

Act. Jd. at 75 n. 7. If a false statement caused the

United States to pay out money, a False Claims Act

claim will lie even if the United States did not suffer

actual damages. Under those circumstances, the

defendant would be liable only for the civil penalties

imposed by the Act, see 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a).

Il. Counts II and III

The gravamen of plaintiff’s claims in counts II

and III is that defendant obtained a refund of cus-

toms duties and, after the refund was obtained,

App. 38

avoided further customs duties by falsely stating that

certain component parts were permanently installed

on the frames of the buses being imported from

Hungary. Defendant contends, inter alia, that any

misstatements concerning alleged permanent instal-

lation were immaterial because even if the compo-

nents had not been permanently installed, the

imported items would have been classified as “unfin-

ished buses” (that were free from customs duties)

rather than “bus shells” (to which a 4% customs duty

applied).”

Plaintiff argues that the very fact that false

statements were made demonstrates that they were

material. The obvious conceptual fallacy in this

argument is that it necessarily conflates the element

of materiality with the elements of inaccuracy and

scienter. If plaintiff’s argument were accepted, the

very fact that false statements were knowingly made

would mean that they were material despite the well

established law that falsity, scienter, and materiality

are separate elements of a False Claims Act claim.

See Harrison v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co.,

352 F.3d at 913. Plaintiff further argues, however,

that Harrison supports his position because it holds

that the element of materiality requires only that the

alleged false statements have “a natural tendency to

’ Defendant also argues that plaintiff's proof of scienter is

insufficient to withstand defendant’s summary judgment

motion. | need not reach that issue because | find that the

alleged misstatements were not materia!

App. 39

influence or [are] capable of influencing the govern-

ment’s funding decision[.]” Jd. at 917. According to

plaintiff, the critical issue is “whether the [alleged]

false statements could have affected [the] Customs

decision.” (Pl.’s Mot. for Summ. J. at 19). Even accept-

ing this formulation as accurate, I would find that the

Customs decision could not have been affected by the

alleged false statements relating to permanent instal-

lation because the decision would have been the same

whether or not the components had been perma-

nently installed. I note, however, that in my judgment

a more precise formulation of the proper inquiry is

whether, even in the absence of permanently installed

components, Customs still would have classified the

NABI imports as unfinished buses rather than bus

shells.

The summary judgment record makes clear that

the answer to this inquiry is “yes.” Under a 1993

Customs ruling concerning the classification of trolley

yus shells being imported into the United States from

Canada, (cited by Damon B. Pike, the customs broker

who submitted the protest letter for NABI), the

critical question is whether imported items had “the

essential character of public transport vehicles” at the

time they were imported. Customs Priv. Ltr. Rul. N.Y.

802788 (Feb. 24, 1993). This depends upon whether

the shell had been shaped into the form of a public

transportation vehicle and whether important com-

ponents were present at the time of importation.

Plaintiff acknowledges that this is the appropriate

inquiry: “(flor classification purposes, it does not

App. 40

matter if any of the components were permanently

installed. A bus that is imported with all of its com-

ponents, but completely disassembled, would still be

classified as a bus.” (Pl.’s Mot. for Summ. J. at 14.)

Moreover, it is undisputed that the imported frames

were in the shape of buses, and the evidence in the

summary judgment record makes clear that impor-

tant component parts were present when the frames

were imported. Plaintiff’s own industry expert,

Richard Cooper, who was NABI’s vice president of

engineering at the time the protest letter was writ-

ten, supports this assessment in his declaration and

deposition testimony. (Cooper Decl. { 10, Ex. E of Pl.’s

Mot. for Summ. J.; Cooper Dep. 118:15-119:18, Ex. 6

of D.’s Mot. for Summ. J.))’

* Defendant has presented the testimony of Stuart P. Seidel,

who previously served as “an attorney, supervisory attorney, and

Senior Executive with the United States Customs Service” and

who has 37 years of experience in customs and international

trade, to support its position that the alleged false statements

were immaterial. (Seidel Dep. at 1, Ex. 2 of Def.’s Mot. for Sum.

J.) Plaintiff challenges the qualifications of Mr. Seidel, arguing

that because he “is qualified as a Customs legal expert and not

as an industry expert, he should have no role in assisting this or

any Court in determining the common or commercial meaning

[of] the terms of the tariff schedule.”(Pl.’s Mot. for Summ. J. at

20). I find this argument unpersuasive. However, even if Mr.

Seidel’s testimony is disregarded, for the reasons I have stated,

the summary judgment record is clear that the alleged false

statements were not material.

App. 41

Ill. Count IV

In count [V plaintiff claims that by declaring only

the contract prices and not the allegedly fictitious

cost for E & T services, defendant underpaid Customs

duties. This claim is unavailing as to the buses that

were the subject of defendant’s successful protest to

Customs and to buses imported thereafter because

“unfinished buses” are not subject to any Customs

duty regardless of their price. Plaintiff asserts in his

reply brief, however, that “the ruling on the protest

only provided duty-free treatment for entries of bus

shells with the date of April 12, 1997 or later. NABI is

required to pay duties on all bus shells before that

date.” (Pl.’s Rep. Mem. in Supp. of Pl.’s Cross Mot. for

Summ. J. at 13). Defendant has not responded to this

argument in writing, and the record is unclear as to

what buses (if any) were imported prior to April 12,

1997, or whether other issues are presented as to any

such buses. Under the circumstances, I will deny

defendant’s motion for summary judgment as to count

IV but permit defendant to file another summary

judgment motion as to that count if it chooses to do

sO.

Despite the informal nature of this letter, it

should be flagged as an opinion and docketed as an

order.

App. 42

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

CHAMBERS OF 101 WEST LOMBARD STREET

J. FREDERICK MOTZ BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21201

UNITED STATES (410) 962-0782

DISTRICT JUDGE (410) 962-2698 FAx

December 19, 2005

Memo To Counsel Re: U.S. ex rel. Thornton G.

Sanders v. North American

Bus Industries, Inc.

Civil No. JFM-02-3084

Dear Counsel:

Although I went into the hearing last Friday

expecting to give a brief oral opinion after considering

your oral arguments, by the conclusion of the hearing

plaintiffs arguments had sufficiently unsettled my

thinking that I was not comfortable with ruling

without further reflection. I have now decided, how-

ever, that the tentative opinions I expressed at the

beginning of the hearing were correct. Therefore, in

order to prevent unnecessary further delay in this

litigation [ am prepared to rule without requiring the

additional briefing I requested.

As to the service issue, plaintiff may well be

correct that it has proffered (and could prove) a

good faith effort to effect service on NABI Rt. by

serving process on Andras Racz, the chief executive

officer of NABI, Rt., when he was in Alabama. I

nevertheless am of the view that service under

Maryland Rule 2-121(c) would be inappropriate. I

App. 43

have always understood that rule to be one of last

resort, to be used only when all other means to effect

service have been futile. Here, another means to

effect service expressly contemplated by Fed. R. Civ.

P. 4(f)(1) remains available to plaintiff. While I recog-

nize that requiring service under the Hague Conven-

tion wili further delay these proceedings, such delay

is required by the Convention itself. Moreover, from

the perspective of the efficient administration of

justice, the delay that will occur is outweighed by the

fact that were I to order service under Maryland Rule

2-121(c), I would be making a ruling which, if re-

versed on appeal, would be entirely disruptive of the

litigation process.

As to the limitations issue raised by Deloitte &

Touche, I continue to hold (or perhaps, more accu-

rately, have reverted to) the tentative view I ex-

pressed at the outset of the hearing that the

Thistlethwaite or ElAmin approach to interpreting 31

U.S.C. $3731 is correct. See United States ex rel.

Thistlethwaite v. Dowty Woodville Polymer, Lid., 6

F. Supp. 2d 263, 265 (S.D.N.Y. 1998); United States ex

rel. Kl Amin v. George Washington Univ., 26

F. Supp. 2d 162, 172-73 (D.D.C. 1998). I believe that

courts have properly rejected the holding in United

States ex rel. Colunga v. Hercules, Inc., No. 89-CV-

954, 1998 W.L. 310481 (D. Utah Mar. 6, 1998), be-

cause the approach taken by the Colunga court

might, in a given case, undermine the public policy of

encouraging prompt disclosure of fraud by relators to

the government. See United States ex rel. Downy v.

App. 44

Corning, Inc., 118 F. Supp. 2d 1160, 1170 (D.N.M.

2000). Likewise, I find the approach taken in United

States ex rel. Hyatt v. Northrop Corp., 91 F. 3d 1211,

1214-18 (9th. Cir. 1996), to be unacceptable because

that approach requires that the phrase “official of the

United States” be construed as including private

citizens. To me, such a construction violates common

sense.

The Thistlethwaite/ElAmin approach, on _ the

other hand, is fully consistent with sound public

policy and does little (if any) violence to the statutory

language. I recognize that section 3731(b) begins with

the words “[a] civil action,” drawing no distinction

between actions in which the government intervenes

and those in which it does not. Thus, there can be no

question that the primary limitations period estab-

lished by section 3731(b)(1) applies to all actions,

regardless of whether the government intervenes.

However, in my view it is entirely reasonable to infer

that the distinction is a necessary one in considering

the extended limitations period provided by section

3731(b)(2) because the knowledge or imputed knowl-

edge of an “official of the United States” is material

only in actions in which the government chooses to

intervene. Thus interpreted, the statute makes

perfect sense, requiring false claims actions to be

brought within six years, whether or not the govern-

ment intervenes, but providing an extended period of

up to ten years if an official of the United States

learns of the alleged fraud for the first time more

than three years after the fraud occurred.

App. 45

In light of my rulings, the briefing schedule I set

at the conclusion of the hearing is rescinded as moot,

and the time is ripe to hold a scheduling conference.

The conference will be held at 10:00 a.m. on January

20, 2006.

Please bring your calendar with you to the con-

ference. If any of you would prefer to hold the confer-

ence by conference call, please call my chambers to

make the necessary arrangements.

The conference will be held in my chambers

located in Room 510 on the fiftn floor of the Court-

house.

Despite the informal nature of this letter, it

should be flagged as am opinion and docketed as an

order.

Very truly yours,

/s/

J. Frederick Motz

United States District Judge

App. 46

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

CHAMBERS OF 101 WEST LOMBARD STREET

J. FREDERICK MOTZ BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21201

UNITED STATES (410) 962-0782

DISTRICT JUDGE (410) 962-2698 FAX

March 7, 2005

Memo To Counsel Re: U.S. ex rel. Thornton G.

Sanders v. North American

Bus Industries, Inc.

Civil No. JFM-02-3084

Dear Counsel:

I have reviewed the memoranda submitted in

connection with defendant’s motion to dismiss. The

motion is denied without prejudice to defendant

rearguing the issues it has raised by way of a motion

for summary judgment at the conclusion of discovery.

Briefly stated, the reasons for my ruling are as

follows:

1. It appears to me that the claim asserted in

count II is a traditional FCA claim rather than a

“reverse FCA claim.” Defendant allegedly made false

statements in order to induce the government to pay

a claim for refund of customs duties. As to defendant’s

contention that the imposition of a customs duty

requires the exercise of discretion by customs offi-

cials, I am not persuaded by the present briefing that

this is so insofar as regular import duties are con-

cerned.

App. 47

2. Counts III and IV do assert “reverse FCA

claims.” I am persuaded, however, that the claims are

the equivalent of an action debt at common law and

are therefore maintainable. See Am. Textile Mfrs.

Inst., Inc. v. The Limited, Inc., 190 F.3d 729, 736 (6th

Cir. 1999). I recognize that when defendant made the

allegedly false statements upon which count III is

based, the defendant did not then “owe [] to the

government an obligation sufficiently certain to give

rise to an action of debt at common law.” Jd. However,

plaintiff alleges that defendant reaffirmed these false

statements by certifying that the buses were properly

classified at the time each subsequent shipment was

imported into the United States. This appears to be

sufficient for the purpose of establishing a reverse

FCA claim.

It appears to me that plaintiff did far more than

make generalized allegations of mischarging and that

his conduct was “protected activity” sufficient to give

rise to an action for wrongful termination. Compare

Zahodnick v. IBM, 135 F.3d 911 (4th Cir. 1997).

However, any wrongful termination claim might well

be time barred. As you know, the Supreme Court has

granted certiorari in Wilson v. Graham County Soil &

Water Conservation District, 367 F.3d 245 (4th Cir.

2004), cert granted, 125 S.Ct. 823 (Jan. 7, 2005), to

answer the question “whether the six year limitation

period set out in 31 U.S.C. §3731(b) should be applied

to retaliatory discharge actions under the False

Claims Act or whether courts should apply the most

closely analogous state limitation period.” If the

App. 48

Supreme Court holds that the state limitation period

is applicable, plaintiff’s retaliatory discharge claim

certainly is time-barred since the most closely analo-

gous Maryland limitations period is thee years.

Moreover, it is not clear that plaintiff’s claim is timely

even if the limitations period set forth in 31 U.S.C.

§3731(b) applies, since that claim, which was not

added until the amended complaint was filed, relates

back to the filing of the original complaint. All of this

said, I am not persuaded that permitting the retalia-

tory discharge claim to proceed will substantially

broaden the scope of discovery, and I do not want this

litigation delayed pending the Supreme Court’s

decision in Wilson.

4. I am fully satisfied that plaintiff’s allega-

tions are sufficient to meet the particularity require-

ments of Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b).

Despite the informal nature of this ruling, it

shall constitute an Order of Court, and the Clerk is

directed to docket it accordingly.

Very truly yours,

/s/

J. Frederick Motz

United States District Judge

App. 49

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-1773

(1:02-cv-03084-JFM)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ex rel.

Thornton G. Sanders

Plaintiff-Appellant

v.

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES,

INCORPORATED; DELOITTE & TOUCHE USA,

LLP; NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES KFT.

Defendants-Appellees

and

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES,

RT.; AMERICAN IKARUS; PETER Z. RONA;

THE FIRST HUNGARY FUND

Defendants

App. 50

TAXPAYERS AGAINST FRAUD EDUCATION FUND

Amicus Supporting Appellant

(Filed Jan. 7, 2009)

The petition for rehearing en banc was circulated

to the full Court. No poll was requested. The Court

denies the petition for rehearing en banc.

For the Court

/s/ Patricia S. Conner, Clerk

App. 51

TITLE 31. MONEY AND FINANCE

SUBTITLE III. FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

CHAPTER 37. CLAIMS

SUBCHAPTER III. CLAIMS AGAINST

THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT

§ 3729. False claims

(a) Liability for certain acts. Any person who —

(1) knowingly presents, or causes to be presented, to

an officer or employee of the United States Govern-

ment or a member of the Armed Forces of the United

States a false or fraudulent claim for payment or

approval;

(2) knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or

used, a Iaise record or statement to get a false or

fraudulent claim paid or approved by the Govern-

ment;

(3) conspires to defraud the Government by getting

a false or fraudulent claim allowed or paid;

(4) has possession, custody, or control of property or

money used, or to be used, by the Government and,

intending to defraud the Government or willfully to

conceal the property, delivers, or causes to be deliv-

ered, less property than the amount for which the

person receives a certificate or receipt;

(5) authorized to make or deliver a document certi-

fying receipt of property used, or tv be used, by the

Government and, intending to def-aud the Govern-

ment, makes or delivers the receipt without completely

knowing that the information on the receipt is true;

App. 52

(6) knowingly buys, or receives as a pledge of an

obligation or debt, public property from an officer or

employee of the Government, or a member of the

Armed Forces, who lawfully may not sell or pledge

the property; or

(7) knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or

used, a false record or statement to conceal, avoid, or

decrease an obligation to pay or transmit money or

property to the Government, is liable to the United

States Government for a civil penalty of not less than

$5,000 and not more than $10,000, plus 3 times the

amount of damages which the Government sustains

because of the act of that person, except that if the

court finds that —

(A) the person committing the violation of this

subsection furnished officials of the United States

responsible for investigating false claims violations

with all information known to such person about the

violation within 30 days after the date on which the

defendant first obtained the information;

x * 1K

(b) Knowing and knowingly defined. For purposes of

this section, the terms “knowing” and “knowingly”

mean that a person, with respect to information —

(1) has actual knowledge of the information;

(2) acts in deliberate ignorance of the truth or

falsity of the information; or

App. 53

(3) acts in reckless disregard of the truth or falsity

of the information, and no proof of specific intent to

defraud is required.

* * *

§ 3730. Civil actions for false claims

(a) Responsibilities of the Atiorney General. The

Attorney General diligently shall investigate a viola-

tion under section 3729. If the Attorney General finds

that a person has violated or is violating section 3729,

the Attorney General may bring a civil action under

this section against the person.

(b) Actions by private persons.

(1) A person may bring a civil action for a violation

of section 3729 for the person and for the United

States Government. The action shall be brought in

the name of the Government. The action may be

dismissed only if the court and the Attorney General

give written consent to the dismissal and their rea-

sons for consenting.

* > *K

§ 3731. False claims procedure

(a) A subpoena requiring the attendance of a wit-

ness at a trial or hearing conducted under section

3730 of this title [31 USCS § 3730] may be served at

any place in the United States.

App. 54

(b) A civil action under section 3730 may not be

brought —

(1) more than 6 years after the date on which the

violation of section 3729 is committed, or

(2) more than 3 years after the date when facts

material to the right of action are known or reasona-

bly should have been known by the official of the

United States charged with responsibility to act in

the circumstances, but in no event more than 10

years after the date on which the violation is commit-

ted, whichever occurs last.

(c) In any action brought under section 3730, the

United States shall be required to prove all essential

elements of the cause of action, including damages,

by a preponderance of the evidence.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, or the Federal

Rules of Evidence, a final judgment rendered in favor

of the United States in any criminal proceeding

charging fraud or false statements, whether upon a

verdict after trial cr upon a plea of guilty or nolo

contendere, shall estop the defendant from denying

the essential elements of the offense in any action

which involves the same transaction as in the crimi-

nal proceeding and which is brought under subsection

(a) or (b) of section 3730.

App. 55

§ 3732. False claims jurisdiction

(a) Actions under section 3730. Any action under

section 3730 may be brought in any judicial district in

which the defendant or, in the case of multiple defen-

dants, any one defendant can be found, resides,

transacts business, or in which any act proscribed by

section 3729 occurred. A summons as required by the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure shall be issued by

the appropriate district court and served at any place

within or outside the United States.

(b) Claims under state law. The district courts shall

have jurisdiction over any action brought under the

laws of any State for the recovery of funds paid by a

State or local government if the action arises from the

same transaction or occurrence as an action brought

under section 3730.

App. 56

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT

FOR SEARCH WARRANT

(Filed Jul. 31, 2008)

CASE NUMBER: MAG 08 133

In the Matter of the Search of

THE PREMISES KNOWN AND DESCRIBED AS:

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES

(NABD),

106 NATIONAL DRIVE, ANNISTON,

ALABAMA 36207

I Special Agent Cari Arn being duly sworn depose

and say:

I am a Senior Special Agent with the Department

of Homeland Security, Immigration and Customs

Enforcement (ICE), and have reason to believe that

on the premises known as

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES

(NABI),

106 NATIONAL DRIVE, ANNISTON,

ALABAMA 36207

FURTHER AND MORE PARTICULARLY

DESCRIBED IN ATTACHMENT A, IN-

CORPORATED BY REFERENCE AS

THOUGH FULLY SET OUT HEREIN,

located in the Northern District of Alabama, there is

now concealed certain property, namely:

App. 57

See ATTACHMENT B - ITEMS TO BE

SEIZED

which is evidence of crimes, in violation of Title 18,

United States Code, Sections 541, 542, 545, and 1001.

The facts to support the issuance of a Search Warrant

are as follows:

See ATTACHMENT C - AFFIDAVIT

Continued on the attached sheet and made a part

hereof. YES

/s/ Cari Arn

Signature of Affiant

Sworn to before me, and subscribed in my presence,

at 9:00 a.m. Birmingham, Alabama, this the 31 day of

July, 2008.

ROBERT R. ARMSTRONG, JR.

United States Magistrate Judge

Name and Title of Judicial Officer

/s/ R. R. Armstrong

Signature of Judicial Officer

Attachment A

Description of Property and Location

NABI, Inc.’s headquarters and manufacturing f[acili-

ties are located at 106 National Dr, Anniston, AL. The

facilities are located on approximately 35 acre site,

with two points of ingress/egress, a Main (West) Gate

App. 58

and East Gate both with security guard identification

check points.

The facilities include two bus assembly plants, and a

research and development center. The office buildings

include the executive offices, accounting, purchasing,

shipping and receiving, quality assurance and (docu-

ment) archives. There are numerous outbuildings

associated with the production plants to include

maintenance department, engineering department,

partial production, proto type section and seat stor-

age.

[Picture Omitted In Printing]

Attachment B

Items to be seized

All documents pertaining to the purchase of, payment

for and sale of imported merchandise, including, but

not limited to:

a. Purchase Orders

b. Contracts

c. Seller’s confirmation and any revision

thereto

d. Copies of all pertinent negotiable in-

struments

e. Invoices

f. Delivery Contracts

ag

Engineering and Technology Contracts

App. 59

h. Bank statements

i. Inventory records

j. Photographs

k. Letters of Credit

1. Wire transfers

m. All pertinent

Correspondence

Facsimile

Electronic transmittal

Records of conversation

Records and documents reflecting information regard-

ing additional costs or expenses incurred in the

transactions including:

a. Packing lists

b. Commissions paid

c. Assists

d. Proceeds that accrue to the seller

Copies of all original documents pertaining to the

shipment, transportation and sale of buses, bus

shells, bus parts and components into the United

States, including but not limited to:

a. Entry documents

b. Invoices

ec. Bills of Lading

App. 60

d. Packing lists

e. Photographs

f. Specifications

g. Correspondence

h. Electronic transmittals

Descriptive or illustrative literature explaining:

a. what the merchandise is

b. where the merchandise is used

c. how the merehandise is used

d. specifications

Accounting records, journals, and/or financial state-

ments pertaining to the merchandise, including, but

not limited to:

a. General Ledgers

b. Case disbursement journals

ec. Purchase journals

d. Accounts receivable ledgers

e. Accounts payable ledgers

f. Cancelled checks

g. Cash receipts journals

App. 61

Records of the intended final purchaser of the goods

imported

sales contracts

purchase orders

ce. delivery contracts

d. engineering and technology contracts

Any and all corporate records including but not

limited to:

Articles of Incorporation

Corporate binders and minutes

Stock binders and stock certificates

Corporate officers and affiliated compa-

nies

Any electronic storage media, including but not

limited to microfiche computer disks, tapes and

software, equipment hard drives, tapes, tape drives,

printouts, optical storage or CD read/write disks, and

any computer peripherals which are used to facilitate

the importation, sale, distribution, transportation,

ordering and purchasing of buses, bus shells, bus

components which are evidence of violation of Title

18, United States Code, Sections 541, 542, 545, 1001

and 1343.

App. 62

ATTACHMENT C

AFF: DAVIT IN SUPPORT OF A

SEARCH WARRANT FOR

THE PREMISES KNOWN AND DESCRIBED AS:

NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES (NABI),

106 NATIONAL DRIVE, ANNISTON,

ALABAMA 36207'

Personally appeared before me Cari Arn, Senior

Special Agent, Department of Homeland Security,

Immigration and Customs Enforcement, who being

first duly sworn, deposes and states as follows:

I am a Senior Special Agent of the Department of

Homeland Security, Immigration and Customs En-

forcement (ICE) (formerly the Department of Treas-

ury, United States Customs Service, Office of

Investigations). I have been employed in this capacity

since September of 1986. I am currently assigned as

the Resident Agent in Charge (RAC) of the ICE office

in Birmingham, Alabama, which is responsible for

investigating violations of federal laws, including

those relating to the importation of merchandise for

entry into the commerce of the United States. As part

of my employment with ICE, I received investigations

training from the Federal Law Enforcement Training

Center (FLETC) and in-service training related to

fraudulent international trade practices.

‘ NORTH AMERICAN BUS INDUSTRIES (NABI) is owned

by CEREBUS [sic] Capital Management Group

App. 63

ICE Special Agents have statutory authority and

are charged with the responsibility to investigate

violations of laws pertaining to the entry of merchan-

dise into the United States. This particular investiga-

tion is related to allegations of violations of Title 18,

United States Code, Section 541; Title 18, United

States Code, Section 542; Title 18, United States

Code, Section 545; and Title 18, United States Code,

Section 1001. In part, Title 18, United States Code,

Section 541 prohibits the entry of any merchandise by

false classification or by payment of less than duty

legally due. Section 542 prohibits the entry of mer-

chandise by means of false statements. Section 545

prohibits the introduction of merchandise into the

United States by passing or attempting to pass a

false document through the customhouse and Title

18, United States Code, Section 1001 false state-

ments.

The information contained in this affidavit is

based on facts from my own, personal observations,

importation documentation, as well as information

from other sources, interviews and other law en-

forcement agents.

This affidavit is in support of a warrant to search

the premises of North American Bus Industries

(NABI), 106 National Drive, Anniston, Alabama

36207. As noted herein, NABI is owned by Cerebus

[sic].

App. 64

Background:

NABI is a manufacturer and importer of com-

mercial transportation buses sold to governmental

municipalities. The foreign manufacturer called

NABI Hungary produces the bus shell, which is

shipped from Hungary, through Germany and im-

ported into the Unites States at the Port of Charles-

ton, South Carolina. The bus shell is trucked to NABI

USA assembly plant in Anniston, Alabama. The

procedure of initial assembling in Hungary and final

assembly in the Unites States is conducted in order

for governmental municipalities to comply with the

federally funded Buy American Program. The Federal

Transportation Administration provides funding to

governmental municipalities to secure public trans-

portation. The Buy America program requires that no

more than forty percent of the final product shall be

produced by any foreign manufacturers.

Harmonized Tariff Schedule:

The initial bus shell is produced in Hungary and

then imported into the United States for final assem-

bly. In accordance with Harmonized Tariff Schedule

(HTS), a complete bus has a HTS 8702.10.3000 at the

two percent tariff duty rate, while a bus shell uses

HTS 8707.90.5040 at a four percent duty rate.

NABI Requests Customs Ruling:

In an effort to file entries at the lower tariff

schedule, in June 1998, NABI requested a US Cus-

toms Headquarters Binding Ruling concerning their

App. 65

importations of buses into the United States from

Hungary. NABI argued under HTS General Rulings

of Interpretation (GRIs) 2(a), which states in perti-

nent part, that: Any reference in a heading to an

article shall be taken to include a reference to that

article incomplete or unfinished, provided that, as

presented, the incomplete or unfinished article has

the “essential character” of the complete or finished

article. NABI provided supporting documentation

that the bus shells, when imported, contain a sub-

stantial amount of equipment and number of compo-

nents necessary for the “essential character” of a

completed transit bus.

Favorable Ruling Issued:

As a result of the information and documentation

provided by NABI, United States Customs Service

Headquarters issued favorable ruling #962065 to

NABI in November 1998. The ruling concluded that if

the articles consist of forty and sixty foot transit bus

shells which, upon importation, have the following

components permanently installed: base structure,

body, axles, front suspension, rear suspension, rims,

wheels, power steering, brake chamber, fuel tank,

engine cradle (including the frame for installation of

the engine and the fan shroud which are bolted on),

flooring, partial door system including door panels,

windshield, outside body trim (including the rain

gutters and rub rail), corrosion protection paint,

steering wheel, tracking for interior lights, air duct

system and destination sign door with enclosure, then

they should be classified as a complete bus under

App. 66

HTS subheading 8702.10.3000, at the lower duty rate

of 2% ad valorem.

The Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Importa-

tion Procedure:

When merchandise arrives from abroad to be

imported into the United States, the importer, or a

licensed Customhouse broker acting for the importer,

is ordinarily required to make a formal entry of the

goods through United States Customs. Documents

ordinarily submitted to U.S. Customs for formal

entries of merchandise from Hungary are (1) Customs

Form 7501, Consumption Entry; (2) a commercial

invoice issued by the foreign seller or manufacturer

including the value; and (3) a declaration of the

country of origin as a minimum. In cases where a

binding ruling has been issued, the ruling is to be

attached to the entry documentation.

Entry BTC-00604370:

On October 24, 2006, Donald O. Montgomery

Customhouse Broker, dba Carrie International

Freight Services, 215 East Bay St., Suite 201-L,

Charleston, SC 29401 filed entry BTC-00604370 on

behalf of NABI. CBP, Import Specialist (I/S) Team

423 conducted an examination of the entry on Octo-

ber 31, 2006, to verify NABI was in compliance with

the headquarters ruling. The entry, which had been

filed as “Completed Buses” under HTS 8702.10.3000

at 2% duty rate, was examined and determined to be

missing the suspension system, power steering, brake

and braking components, fuel tank, and air duct

App. 67

system, all of which is required by the ruling. CBP

sent NABI a Customs Form 29, Notice of Action

where the entry was “Rate Advanced”, which changed

the classification from HTS 8702.10.3000, at 2% duty

rate to HTS 8707.90.5040, at the 4% duty rate. A

subsequent review of additional entries revealed

NABI had imported BUS SHELLS, which were also

missing some of the required components.

Entry BTC-0060519-5:

On January 23, 2007, VS Team 423 conducted

another examination of NABI entry BTC-0060519-5,

dated 12/30/2006 and discovered them to be BUS

SHELLS rather than “Completed Buses”, because the

required components were not installed. As a result of

the inspection, a CBP form 29, Notice of Action, was

generated to Rate Advance and collect the loss of

revenue. Additional entries were identified and Rate

Advanced also.

Protest 1601-07-100269:

On July 11, 2007, Customhouse Broker Donald

Montgomery, dba Carrie International Freight Ser-

vices, filed protest 1601-07-100269 on behalf of NABI.

The protest referenced entry BTC-0060519-5, dated

12/30/2006, which had been Rate Advanced due to a

change in the HTS from Complete’ Buses

8702.10.3000 at 2% duty rate to the Higher Bus

Shells HTS 8707.90.5040, 4% duty rate. After a

Protest is filed, the CBP Office of Rules and Regula-

tions (ORR) has the responsibility to conduct further

review of actions taken by the District Ports. An

App. 68

importer or Customhouse broker can file a protest

and request a review for classification issues, among

other topics.

Entry BTC-0060969-2:

On October 29, 2007, VS Team 423, SSA Terry

Moore, SSA Bill Wooten and SSA Dante Garrido

examined buses imported under entry BTC-0060969-

2. The examination concluded that the axles were a

used component, as identified by the rust, dents,

corrosion, etc. The suspension system had only a

single shock absorber and a used dummy spacer,

preventing the use of the single shock. The spacer

was used to prevent the bus shel] sitting on top of the

bus frame, preventing them from damage during

transit. There were no springs, coils, air bag, air

tanks or plumbing for the suspension system. There

were no fuel tanks, no power steering components, no

brakes or braking components, and no air ducting

system present on any of the examined buses. Other

components were in question as to the specifications

required in the ruling. Photographs were taken of the

buses.

CARTA Examination:

On October 30, 2007, the bus shells were exam-

ined by representatives of the Charleston Area Re-

gional Transportation Authority (CARTA), who have

specific industry knowledge of commercial buses. Mr.

David Bonner is the Director of Maintenance for

CARTA, with 20 years of experience in the commercial

bus field. Mr. Patrick Cartin is the Parts Manager for

App. 69

CARTA with 7 years of experience in the field. After

examination of entry BTC-0060969-2, both Mr. Bon-

ner and Mr. Cartin agreed that the buses did not

have the required components listed within the

Customs ruling.

Mr. Richard Cooper’s review of photographs:

On November 12, 2007, Mr. Richard Cooper, who

was the Vice President of Engineering from April

1996 to May 2004 examined the photographs taken

on October 29, 2007 of the buses imported under

entry BTC-0060969-2. As a former Chief Engineer of

NABI, Mr. Cooper advised that the suspension is an

“air” suspension on all buses, thus were non-existent

on the bus. Only a single shock absorber was in place;

however, it was made inoperable due to the dummy

spacer installed. The dummy spacer is used to fill the

empty space where a suspension air bag would be in

placed. The spacer is required; otherwise the frame

would rest on the chassis, making movement during

transportation difficult and causing damage to the

frame. The blue tube is a shock made inoperable

because of the spacer. The spacer is recycled after use

and returned to Hungary.

[Pictures Omitted In Printing]

Mr. Cooper indicated that the buses had a dummy

axles and steering arms installed. The dummy axles

are shipped to Hungary where they are then in-

stalled. The dummy axles are used to facilitate the

buses to be transported by Roll On-Roll Off (Ro-Ro)

vessels. As seen in the below photographs, the axles

App. 70

and steering arm are rusted and dented, as the axles

are recycled.

[Pictures Omitted In Printing]

Mr. Cooper indicated that below photos are of the

Mechanical Steering gear and drag line for the man-

ual non-power steering system.

[Pictures Omitted In Printing]

The below photographs are of the clamshell area,

which is the framing for the rooftop where the com-

pressed natural gas (CNG) tanks would be installed.

The CNG tanks would sit on the “T” brackets, but the

tanks are missing.

[Pictures Omitted In Printing]

Interview with Mr. Tony Sanders:

On February 11, 2008, an interview was con-

ducted with Mr. Tony Sanders, who was employed in

1993 as the Vice President and Chief Financial Offi-

cer, and subsequently became the Chief Executive

Officer of NABI USA until he was terminated in

1997. While in that position, Mr. Sanders discovered

that NABI Hungary was paid by two contracts for

each bus. The first contract is the Delivery Contract,

which is the value of the bus shell which must meet

the Buy America requirement. This is the contract

used for the value of the Customs importation. The

second contract is the Engineering and Technology

(E&T) Contract to cover the cost of the bus shells in

excess of the forty percent Buy America requirement.

App. 71

NABI Hungary would purposefully calculate the

maximum cost of the bus shell, to keep it under the

forty percent foreign component cost. NABI USA

would make separate payments to NABI Hungary to

cover the delivery contract and the E&T contract

costs. Engineering and Technology costs are consid-

ered “assists in the production” of the imported item

and are subject to US Customs Duty. The E&T pay-

ments should have been disclosed as part of the

imported cost of the bus shell. Mr. Sanders estimates

the cost of the E&T payments, was approximately

$3.8 million dollars, which equates to $153,528 loss of

dutiable revenue. More importantly the added cost of

the E&T payments would have increased the foreign

costs over the 40 percent limit of the Buy American

program.

Interview with Mr. Chris Finley:

On February 11, 2008, an interview was con-

ducted with Mr. Chris Finley, 115 Timberlea Drive,

Warner Robins, GA 31088. Mr. Finley was employed

by NABI from March 1989 until March 2003. In his

last position at NABI he was the Director of Quality

Assurance (QA) and part of his duties included the

inspection every bus shell imported by NABI from its

parent company in Hungary. When questioned re-

garding his knowledge of the condition of NABI’s bus

shell imported from Hungary, specifically, about the

components listed Customs ruling HQ 962065, Mr.

Finley, indicated many bus shells were received

without the required components present or the

components were incomplete in accordance with the

App. 72

requirements set forth in the US Customs ruling. Mr.

Finley added that as part of his duties, the QA de-

partment would photograph each specific imported

bus, and those photographs, along with the necessary

paperwork, were maintained in the NABI QA de-

partment. Mr. Finley reviewed photographs taking

during an examination of entry BTC-00609692 on

October 29, 2007. Mr. Finley concurred with Mr.

Cooper that the suspension system had only a single

shock absorber and a used dummy spacer, which

prevented the use of the single shock. There were no

springs, coils, air bag, air tanks or plumbing for the

suspension system. The spacer was used to prevent

the bus shell sitting on top of the bus frame during

transit. Mr. Finley reported that NABI used only

American made fuel tanks or fuel cells in their buses.

That included buses which were designed to use

Liquid Natural Gas (LNG), Compressed Natural Gas

(CNG) or diesel fuel.

Interview of Ms. Lisa Gardner:

On May 14, 2008, an interview was conducted

with Ms. Lisa Gardner, a former NABI employee. Ms.

Gardner had been employed as Corporate Secretary

and Treasurer and was terminated on November 29,

2007. Her termination included a severance package

and a non-compete clause; thus she was presented

with a Customs Summons to provide testimony and

produce relevant documents, with which she com-

plied. Ms Gardner explained that the E&T payments

were made to NABI, Hungary for the engineering

services they provided. Normally there were two

App. 73

contracts paid for each bus, the delivery contract and

the E&T contract. The E&T payment varied between

three to ten thousand dollars per bus. Ms. Gardner

reported that Donald Montgomery, Carrie Interna-

tional Customhouse broker in Charleston, SC, was

the broker for NABI. The import documents were

always provided by NABI, Hungary directly to Carrie

International. The bills and invoices from Carrie

International were paid by Ms. Gardner for NABI,

USA. Ms. Gardner indicated that NABI would “micro-

fiche” original business documents and maintained

them in the Archives building at the NABI plant.

After the documents became “Microfiche”, the original

documents were destroyed. The documentation and

photographs pertaining to the condition of the bus

shell upon receipt at the Anniston plant, which is

generated by the QA department, are maintained in

the QA department located in the Plant One building

of NABI. Documentation which includes purchase

order or sales contracts, are maintained in the Pur-

chasing offices located in Plant 3. Correspondence

documentation such as Articles of Incorporation,

corporate internal memorandum are maintained in

the Executives Offices, also located in Plant 3.

Ms. Gardner was aware that original Customs docu-

mentation must be maintained for five years after

importation according to Customs regulations. Docu-

mentation pertaining to Importations is maintained

in the records of the accounting office within Plant

3, or if the records are older than five years the

documentation wouid be microfiche or scanned and

App. 74

maintained in the Archives building, located on the

NABI facility.

Interview of Mr. Richard Cooper:

On May 15, 2008, Mr. Richard Cooper was inter-

viewed. Mr. Cooper was employed by North American

Bus Industries, Inc. (NABI) in Anniston, AL from

June 1995 through May 2004. He held the position of

Vice President of Engineering from October 1995 to

May 2004. As Vice President of Engineering, his

principal function was to manage NABI’s Engineering

Department, perform product and industrial engi-

neering related to NABI’s final assembly of transit

buses. He explained that when the bus shells im-

ported from NABI, Hungary they were bare bus

bodies that consisted of a steel shell (including side

and roof panels) with a front windshield and all

exterior access doors. The bus shell was painted with

a corrosion resistant primer coat. In addition, the bus

shell was imported with a rough plywood floor and a

diesel fuel tank, if it was a diesel bus. The bus shells

were the same for all contracts with NABI customers.

When NABI purchased Ikarus it came with the

purchase of the design license, blueprints, engineer-

ing plans, etc and right to build these standard high-

floor models. Ikarus, was the Hungarian company

from whom NABI, Hungary and NABI USA evolved.

At no time during Mr. Cooper’s employment did

NABI, Hungary ever make or provide any original

basic drawings, designs, schematics, blueprints, and

bill of maternals for the final assembly of buses in

Alabama. The original documents were re-used during

App. 75

the production, thus continual Hungarian engineering

and technology services were not necessary, as they

claimed. They did not provide significant engineering

and technology services in connection with any final

assembly to warrant additional payments from NABI

USA. Mr. Cooper was questioned about some of the

specific components listed in the Custom ruling

962065 and the physical status of NABi’s imported

bus shells. The steering system is limited mechanical

steering only, not power steering. The suspension

system is not present as it is an air suspension sys-

tem. The fuel tanks are not present if it is LNG or

CNG system. The axles, wheels and tires were not

the final product installed and sold to the customer,

thus the majority of imported buses cannot pass the

specifications outlined in the Customs ruling.

Examination of seven bus shells:

On July 14, 2008, SSA Terry Moore and SSA

Dante Garrido examined seven bus shells which had

been entered by Donald O. Montgomery Customhouse

Broker, Carrie International Freight Services, on

behalf of NABI. The entries involved were BTC-

0061310-8, BTC-0061309-0; BTC-0061260-5 and

BTC-0061262-1. The bus shells which were missing

the suspension system, power steering, brake and

braking components, fuel tank, air duct system, and

flooring, all of which is required by the ruling. The

rims appeared to be new on all bus shells, while the

tires were old and used on five of the seven buses

shells, whiie two had new tires. The two with the new

tires, also had bi-fold doors and a clamshell roof

App. 76

which indicates the bus to be produced as a LNG or a

CNG bus.

Based upon the information developed in this

investigation, it is believed that NABI has provided

false statements in its supporting protest, which were

material to the Customs classification decision to

grant their favorable ruling. NABI supplied the

specific components or product which were to be

included on the bus shell according to the ruling. The

ruling allowed NABI to import bus shells as finished

buses under HTS 8702.10.3000, at the lower duty

rate of 2% ad valorem. The false statements supplied

in its protest were material to Customs classification

decision to allow NABI’s imported bus shells as

finished buses under HTS 8702.10.3000. The false

statements are a violation of Title 18 USC 1001

which caused, influenced and supported the importa-

tions to be entered in violation of Title 18 USC 541,

Entry of goods falsely classified; Title 18, United

States Code, section 542, Entry of goods by means of

false statements; and Tile 18, United States Code,

Section 545, Passing of false invoices through the

Customhouse. Examinations of the imported product

established a continual import practice by NABI

which abused the factual description and the intent of

the issued binding ruling.

Based on information provided to me, it is my

understanding that as a normal course of business,

businesses such as NABI keep and maintain docu-

ments and records related to the: manufacture, pur-

chase, transportation, importation, and sales of

App. 77

merchandise, as well as supplier documentation with

the businesses with which they are involved. I also

understand that such businesses tend to keep and

maintain these documents and records on their

business premises.

Interviews conducted with Ms. Gardner and Mr.

Finley identified specific documentation which sup-

ports the continual criminal violations of Title 18,

United States Code, Sections 541, 542, 545 and 1001

and has been maintained in various media formats

such as paper, microfiche or scanned into a digital

media and are stored at NABI, Anniston facility in

Quality Assurance, Accounting, Purchasing, Archives

departments and the Executive offices.

In accordance with Title 19, United States Code,

Section 1508, Recordkeeping any importer who

imports merchandise into, the customs territory of

the United States, shall make, keep, and render for

examination and inspection any records which per-

tain to any such activity, or to the information con-

tained in,.the records and are normally kept in the

ordinary course of business. Retention of records is to

be maintained for a five year period, however; inter-

views established NABI maintains records longer

then the five year requirement.

Based upon the facts stated herein, I submit that

probable cause exists to enter the business premises

known and described as North American Bus Indus-

tries (NABI), 106 National Drive, Anniston, Alabama

36207, and to search for and seize any and all

App. 78

such records and documents, including computer-

maintained records and documents, related to the

manufacture, importation, transportation, purchase,

and sale of buses and/or bus components as described

in this affidavit. A more complete description of the

items to be seized and the manner in which computer

records are to be searched and seized is attached

hereto as “ATTACHMENT B.”

In consideration of the foregoing, I respectfully

request that this Court issue a search warrant for

North American Bus Industries (NABI), 106 Nationa!

Drive, Anniston, Alabama 36207 authorizing the

seizure of items described in Attachment B and

incorporated by reference as if fully set forth herein.

Your affiant requests authority to seize such material.

/s/ Cari Arn

Cari Arn, Senior Special Agent

United States Departmer t of

Homeland Security

Immigration and Customs

Enforcement

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 31 day of

July, 2008.

/s/ Robert R. Armstrong, Jr.

ROBERT R. ARMSTRONG, JR.

United States Magistrate Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.