Opposition Brief — Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co. (No. 08-1186)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\WY (D) No. 08-1186 APR 17 2009

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

3un The

Supreme Court of the United States

BAYSHORE FORD TRUCK SALES, INC.,

PEACH STATE FORD TRUCK SALES, INC.,

LJL TRUCK CENTER, INC.,

VALLEY FORD TRUCK SALES, INC.,

AND HEINTZELMAN’S TRUCK CENTER, INC.,

Petitioners,

v.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

Respondent.

€

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

¢

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

JAMES C. WINTON f°

(Counsel of Record)

BILLY M. DONLEY

DAVID R. JARRETT

BAKER & HOSTETLER, LLP

1000 Louisiana Street, Suite 2000

Houston, Texas 77002

Tel: (713) 646-1304

Fax: (713) 751-1717

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Writ Petition presents the following issues:

1. Should the Court grant a writ of certiorari to

review the decision of the Eleventh Circuit that

correctly applies 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3) in accordance

with the precedence of this Court and the other

Circuit Courts?

2. Should this Court grant a writ of certiorari

to review settled case law interpreting 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(c)(3)?

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND CORPORATE DISCLOSURE

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

PETITIONERS

Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc.

Peach State Ford Truck Sales, Inc.

LJL Truck Center, Inc.

Valley Ford Truck Sales, Inc.

Heintzelman’s Truck Center, Inc.

All Petitioners are represented by:

James A. Pikl

Scheef & Stone, LLP

2601 Network Blvd., Suite 102

Frisco, Texas 75034

Telephone: (214) 472-2100

Wade Tomlinson

Pope, McGlamry, Kilpatrick,

Morrison & Norwood, LLP

1111 Bay Avenue, Suite 450

Columbus, Georgia 31902

Telephone: (706) 324-0050

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND CORPORATE DISCLOSURE

STATEMENT PURSUANT

TO RULE 29.6 — Continued

RESPONDENT

Ford Motor Company

Pursuant to SEC filings, Ford has been notified that

as of December 31, 2008, the following entities had a

5% or greater ownership interest of Ford common

stock, or owned securities convertible into more than

5% ownership of Ford common stock, or owned a

combination of Ford common stock and securities

convertible into Ford common stock that could result

in more than 5% ownership of Ford common stock:

Bank of America Corporation, 100 North Tryon

Street, Floor 25, Bank of America Corporate Center,

Charlotte, North Carolina 28255, and certain affili-

ates, owned 332,320,307 shares of common stock

(15.91%), including 315,505,881 shares deemed

owned by Bank of America, N.A., by virtue of one of

its affiliate’s status as investment manager under

Ford’s 401(k) plans. —

Respondent is represented by:

James C. Winton (Counsel of Record)

Billy M. Donley

David R. Jarrett

Baker & Hostetler, LLP

1000 Louisiana, Suite 2000

Houston, Texas 77002-5009

(713) 646-1304

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND COR-

PORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT PUR-

ISTE BAP BORA WO Wec cinescnnreisivsctsinvessensssvevsenses

I. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE ..

Il. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF FACTS

A. Jurisdictional Facts

B. Counterstatement of Background Facts....

C. Counterstatement of Procedural History...

THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTI-

ORARI SHOULD BE DENIED

A. The Eleventh Circuit Correctly Ruled

that the District Court Retains the

Discretion to Exercise Supplemental

Jurisdiction Following an Involuntary

Dismissal on the Merits of One or

More Federal Claims

1. This Court’s Rockwell Decision Has

Nothing to Do with The Case Before

As Recognized by the Eleventh Cir-

cuit, this Case Has Nothing to Do

with Pintando

There Has Been No Voluntary Eli-

mination of the Federal Claims by

Amendment

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

4. The District Court Retained Sup-

plemental Jurisdiction Following the

20

a. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision is

Entirely in Accord with the Juri-

sprudence Interpreting § 1367(c)....

Even if Petitioners Had Amended

to Eliminate the ADDCA Claim

Following the District Court’s

Involuntary Dismissal of that

Claim, it Would Make Absolutely

No Difference

THE ADDCA CLAIM WAS NOT DIS-

MISSED FOR LACK OF SUBJECT MAT-

TER JURISDICTION 27

A. Ford’s Motion to Dismiss Was a Motion

to Dismiss on the Merits 27

B. Petitioners’ ADDCA Claim Was Not In-

substantial 34

SECTION 1367(c\(3) REQUIRES NO NOV-

EL INTERPRETATION .................cccccssseseess 35

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

APPENDIX

Complaint and Petition for Class Action filed

i ainsi nengutaesesnsee<nicasoorsaven Resp. App. 1-8

Second Amended Complaint and Petition for Class

Action filed October 21, 1999............ Resp. App. 9-17

Third Amended Complaint and Petition for Class

Action filed December 6, 2002........ Resp. App. 18-26

Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Responses to Mandatory

Disclosures filed May 12, 2003....... Resp. App. 27-34

October 22, 2007 District Court Order request-

ING PertANdO DTICTING ........00rcesccosesseeeees Resp. App. 35

Rule 12(b)(6) Motion of Ford Motor Company to

Dismiss Plaintiffs’ Second Amended Com-

plaint and Petition for Class Action filed No-

I Oh scnsscserescsicssscssnasscnesess Resp. App. 36-38

Memorandum of Law of Ford Motor Company

In Support of Its Motion to Dismiss the

Plaintiffs’ Second Amended Complaint and

Petition for Class Action filed November 8,

a Rls idee swe nesawisen keris Resp. App. 39-55

Plaintiffs’ Response to Ford’s Motion to Dismiss

filed November 26, 1999 ................. Resp. App. 56-73

vii

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

February 2, 2000 Memorandum from Judge

Vining correcting typographical error in the

District Court’s Order dated January 19,

2000 and corrected version of District Court’s

Order Granting Ford’s Motion to Dismiss the

Plaintiffs’ Dealers’ Day In Court Act Claims

and Denying Ford’s Motion to Dismiss the

Plaintiffs’ Breach of Contract and Robinson-

POCA BG CIAIIIG 5a seccincescocsseressees Resp. App. 74-90

January 22, 2003 District Court Consent Order

Stipulating That The Third Amended Com-

plaint Does Not Revive Plaintiffs’ Dealer Day

In Court Act Claims. ...........cccccosessoss Resp. App. 91-94

Appellees’ Brief filed July 18, 2008 in the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit —

Docket No. 08-12587-JJ................ Resp. App. 95-100

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 546 U.S. 500 (2006) .... passim

Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Co., 380 F.3d 1331 (11th Cir. 2004) 6, 10, 11, 12

Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Company, No. 08-12587 (llth Cir. Nov. 10,

Blazer v. Black, 196 F.2d 139 (10th Cir. 1952)

Cabriolet Porsche Audi, Inc. v. American Hon-

da Motor Co., 773 F.2d 1193 (11th Cir. 1985)

Capital Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Company, 819 F.Supp. 1555 (N.D. Ga. 1992)

Carnegie-Mellon University v. Cohill, 484 U.S.

343 (1988)

Connelly v. Balkwill, 174 F.Supp. 49 (N.D. Ohio

Dunn v. Airline Pilots Association, 193 F.3d

1185 (11th Cir. 1999)

Evans v. City of Marlin, Tex., 986 F.2d 104 (5th

Cir. 1993) 23, 27, 36

Federated Department Stores, Inc. v. Moitie,

452 U.S. 394, 101 S. Ct. 2424 (1981)

In re Ford Motor Co., 471 F.3d 1233 (11th Cir.

6, 10, 14, 15

Gary v. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit

Autnority, SIS UB. 171 (IGSS) ...ccccccscscecsosccasseneces 23

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Gary v. Long, 59 F.3d 1391 (D.C. Cir. 1995),

cert. den., 516 U.S. 1011 (1995)

Harris v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Alabama,

Inc., 951 F.2d 325 (11th Cir. 1992)

Hicks v. Quaker Oats, 662 F.2d 1158 (5th Cir.

Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S. 731 (1947)

Lewis Service Center, Inc. v. Mack Trucks, Inc.,

714 F.2d 842 (8th Cir. 1983)

NAACP v. Hunt, 891 F.2d 1555 (11th Cir. 1990)

Noble v. White, 996 F.2d 797 (5th Cir. 1993)

Osborn v. Bank of United States, 22 U.S. (9

Wheat.) 738, 6 L.Ed. 204 (1824)

Osborn v. Haley, 549 U.S. 225 (2007) 2, 16, 22

Palmer Hospital Authority, 22 F.3d 1559 (11th

Cir. 1994)

Pintando v. Miami-Dade Housing Agency, 501

F.3d 1241 (11th Cir. 2007) passim

Purgess v. Sharrock, 33 F.3d 134 (2nd Cir.

|S) Beer reo 9 Oe 23

River Oaks Motor Homes, Inc. v. Winnebago

Industrial, Inc., 371 F.Supp. 137 (S.D. Tex.

Rockwell International Corp. v. United States,

549 U.S. 457 (2007) passim

Rosada v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397 (1970)........... 2, 16, 22

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Stadium Chrysler Jeep, L.L.C. v. Daimlerchrys-

ler Motors Company LLC, 324 F.Supp. 2d

587594 (D. N.J. 2004)

Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environment,

523 U.S. 83 (1998)

Transwitch Corp. v. Galazar Networks, Inc.,

377 F.Supp. 2d 284 (D. Mass. 2005)

Varnes v. Local 91, Glass Bottle Blowers, 674

F.2d 1365 (11th Cir. 1982)

Wilson v. First Houston Investment Corp., 566

F.2d 1235 (5th Cir. 1978)

STATE CASES

Ford Motor Company v. Metropolitan Ford

Truck Sales, Inc., 1999 WL 1126280

(Tex.App.-Dallas)

Metro Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Company, 1997 WL 671323 (Oct. 20, 1997),

aff'd, 145 F.3d 320 (5th Cir. 1998)

DOCKETED CASES

U.S. Fawcetts, Inc. v. Home Depot USA, Inc.,

No. 1:03-CV-1572-WSD

Xl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

ARTICLE OF THE U.S. CONSTITUTION

i A a ac 21, 22

FEDERAL STATUTES

ee cou asus ansnniolabertuebiocnicalal 3, 29

Nt I dso ccachnnckiondhsspanmbeneie ineowonsduumentnial 29

IE OE I onc nnscukbsdadesovadeideieanieiprbonebethennennall 28

a cs alasausunaseuseveuebanpenel 2, 29

Be are © BT vevaneccceeviveccssecencest sessnaasendigeuanemaleddla 3

ee SU, Sr I oc coc adansennenscbannibtawbonianios passim

Se he Ae Oe IND ieniicetsedstvaccsesnnanoindocsranansrancines 17

Automobile Dealers’ Day in Court Act, 15

re te ie Oe OI aca icin cxesnnieréschocevernsesinccsevs passim

False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. § 3730(e)(4)............. 16, 17

Investment Advisers Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C.

TEE Tics ulcdnisebaccousenssakavewatandahilaviecston 25, 26

Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, et seq. ...passim

Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5...................0.. 25, 26

Ree Vie, SS UA. B BOD cccvccesccccsccsscvaccccsecess: 29

RULES

SPURNS TIONING TRI Be ce snce css ciiccessscsccensssccnecseccsonsees 10

Fete Se Ws IP acstvnnachndcesneccesceskneeseecees 15, 27, 28

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Ps ie Te a. RI senksintevsensesincessersivesssvectonnes passim

Ps ey a Be ee aatincbndendeedavcnveconsiuserseséas 12, 14, 15

SECONDARY SOURCES

16 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE (3d ed.)

ee OD dis scckcavsdntciedearsudénesateivucneciensens 31. 23

Wright, Miller and Cane, 6 Federal Practice

and Procedure, Civil 2d § 1476 (2009) ............. 24, 25

I. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petition arises from a case that has been

pending in the Northern District of Georgia for over

ten years. This case that has now been to the Ele-

venth Circuit Court of Appeals three times since the

District Court dismissed Petitioners’ federal Automo-

bile Dealers’ Day in Court Act claim which is the

fulcrum of the court’s jurisdiction. Here, Petitioners

invite this Court to embark on a journey based on a

completely distorted statement of the case which

culminates in a suggestion that the Court rewrite the

jurisprudence of supplemental jurisdiction.

While Petitioners at one point acknowledge that

one of their federal claims was “dismissed by the

District Court”, that sotto voce admission is virtually

drowned out by the repeated spin they otherwise put

on the dismissal, incorrectly stating that “all federal

claims were eliminated from the case by amended

pleading.””» As observed by the Eleventh Circuit

below:

After the [district] court involuntarily dis-

missed plaintiffs’ claims under the Automo-

bile Dealer Day in Court Act, the fact that

plaintiffs, in their amended complaint, vol-

untarily deleted the claims brought under

the Robinson-Patman Act, did not preclude

the court from continuing to exercise its

' See Petition at i (twice); 6; 10 at footnote 5; 12; 14; and 16.

While Petitioners use varying formats of that statement, it is a

theme repeated throughout the petition.

2

supplemental jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ state

law claims. ... (Emphasis in original) (App.

3)

That decision of the Circuit Court was fully in

accord with § 1367(c)(3) as recognized by this Court’s

decisions in Osborn v. Haley, 549 U.S. 225, 245

(2007); Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 546 U.S. 500, 514

(2006); Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343,

350-51 (1988); and Rosada v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397,

403-05 (1970).

This case is not controlled by either Rockwell

Intl Corp. v. United States, 549 U.S. 457 (2007) or

Pintando v. Miami-Dade Housing Agency, 501 F.3d

1241 (11th Cir. 2007) as argued by Petitioners.

The petition should be denied.

Il. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF FACTS

A. Jurisdictional Facts

Petitioners repeatedly state that all federal

claims were “eliminated from the case by amended

pleading”, or words to that effect. That characteriza-

tion of the dismissal of the key jurisdictional claim is

simply false. The facts as related to this petition are

as follows:

Petitioners filed suit in July 1999, invoking

the District Court’s original jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1331, asserting claims under the Automobile

3

Dealers’ Day in Court Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1221, et seq.

(“‘ADDCA”)’, and the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 15, et seg. (“RPA”). They also invoked the District

Court’s supplemental jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(a) over state breach of contract claims. (See

Complaint and Petition for Class Action, Resp. App.

1-8)°

In January 2000, the District Court granted Ford

Motor Company’s (“Ford”) motion to dismiss the

ADDCA claim contained in the Second Amended

Complaint and Petition for Class Action (Resp. App.

74-90) for failure to state a claim based on its conclu-

sion that as a matter of law, the facts that Petitioners

had alleged as “coercion”, did not constitute such

under the Act.

In December 2002, Petitioners were granted

leave without opposition to file a Third Amended

Complaint and Petition for Class Action (“Third

Amended Complaint”). There they voluntarily deleted

* While the title of the Act refers to “Automobiles”, the term

is broadly defined to include trucks. 15 U.S.C. § 1221(a). See,

e.g., River Oaks Motor Homes, Inc. v. Winnebago Indus., Inc., 371

F.Supp. 137 (S.D. Tex. 1974) (defining “truck” as a “self-

propelled motor vehicle designed primanily to haul freight or

cargo” as covered under the Act).

> Respondent cites to the appendix attached to Petitioners’

brief as “(App. ___)”. Citations to supplemental appendix

materials attached hereto by Respondent are cited as “(Resp.

App. ___)”. Those materials for the most part contain only

relevant pages in order to reduce the bulk of the appendix.

4

the RPA claim but realleged the ADDCA claim. (Resp.

App. 18-26)*

Shortly after Petitioners filed their Third

Amended Complaint, the District Court contacted the

parties to inquire whether the ADDCA claim had

been left in the complaint in an attempt to revive it.”

In January 2003, the District Court entered an

agreed order which stated that: “Plaintiffs’ Dealer

Day in Court Act claims are dismissed and remain

dismissed by operation of the Court’s January

10, 2000 Order and are not revived and were not

intended by any party to be revived by the subse-

quent filing of the Thing Amended Complaint”. (Em-

phasis added) (Resp. App. 91-94)

Petitioners state that it was “agreed” that the

ADDCA claim was left in the Third Amended Com-

plaint as a result of a “scrivener’s error”. (Petition at

8, n. 3) Although the District Court made such an

observation in its January 22, 2008, dismissal order,

nowhere in the agreed order does it state that Ford

“agreed” that the ADDCA claim had been left in the

* Petitioners attached a version of the Court’s order that

contains a critical typographical error, later corrected by the

District Court. Respondent has attached the corrected version of

the order. (Resp. App. 74-90)

* The inquiry by the District Court came in a telephone call

to counsel during a deposition. Thus, there is no document of

record regarding the “inquiry”, other than the resultant stipula-

tion.

5

complaint as a result of a “scrivener’s error”.’ In fact,

in their Third Amended Responses to Mandatory

Disclosures, filed May 12, 2003, after they submit-

ted the agreed order, Petitioners made it clear that

the ADDCA claim had been left in the Third Amended

Complaint intentionally in order to preserve the issue

for appeal. (Resp. App. 27-34) There they stated:

“Given that the Dealer Day in Court Act claims have

been dismissed from the case at present, they will

only be adjudicated following appeal and remand of

the claims by the appellate court, where necessary.”

(Emphasis added) (Resp. App. 30) Following the

voluntary dismissal of the RPA claim, the District

Court asked for briefing by the parties regarding the

court’s continuing exercise of jurisdiction over the

remaining state breach of contract claim. The District

Court determined to retain jurisdiction. (Resp. App.

74-90)

In May 2003, the District Court granted Ford’s

motion for summary judgment on the remaining

breach of contract claim. Plaintiffs appealed that

summary judgment but did not appeal the dismissal

* Petition at 8, n. 3. The “scrivener’s error” comment came

from the District Court.in its order dismissing the case under

Rockwell and Pintando. (App. 11-14 and App. 13 n. 1) Petition-

ers’ assertion at footnote 3 of the Petition that such characteri-

zation by the District Court is the “procedural law of the case”

for purposes of this petition, is nonsense. As quoted above, the

Eleventh Circuit, in reversing the dismissal, found that “the

(district) court involuntarily dismissed plaintiffs’ claims under

the Automobile Dealer Day In Court Act... .” (App. 5)

6

of the ADDCA claim. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed

the summary judgment in part and reversed in part,

remanding the case to the District Court for further

proceedings. Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford

Motor Co., 380 F.3d 1340 (11th Cir. 2004) (Bayshore

I).

In 2005, the case was back before the Eleventh

Circuit on a petition for writ of mandamus by the

Dealers challenging the injunction issued by the

District Court to enforce its denial of class certifica-

tion and seeking review of the denial of their Rule

41(a)(2) motion to dismiss. The Eleventh Circuit

reversed the injunction but denied the writ petition

as to the Rule 41(a)(2) dismissal. In re Ford Motor

Co., 471 F.3d 1233 (11th Cir. 2006).

Following the second remand, in 2007 the Dis-

trict Court called for briefs on the question of whether

it was compelled to dismiss the case based on the

Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Pintando v. Miamui-

Dade Housing Agency, 501 F.3d 1241 (11th Cir. 2007).

(Resp. App. 35) The parties briefed the issue and the

District Court issued an order stating that: “Pintan-

do, relying on Rockwell [citation omitted] held that

when a complaint asserting federal question jurisdic-

tion, and which contains both federal and state

claims, is amended to delete the federal claim, such

amendment destroys jurisdiction and [|] the com-

plaint had to be dismissed.” The District Court went

on to state that “The Eleventh Circuit specifically

held that if the federal claim is dismissed by the

plaintiff through the filing of a subsequent complaint,

7

that subsequent complaint supersedes the original

complaint.” (App. 12-13) Because the District Court

found that the ADDCA claim had been left in the

Third Amended Complaint as the result of a “scriven-

er’s error”, it found that the ADDCA claim had been

deleted from the complaint and that it was bound by

Rockwell and Pintando to dismiss for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction. (App. 10-14) That is, the District

Court found that because Petitioners amended to

delete the already dismissed ADDCA claim, along

with the RPA claim, that amendment divested the

District Court of any discretion to exercise supple-

mental jurisdiction over the remaining state law

claim. “[S]ince the amended complaint contains only

state law claims and since the parties are not diverse,

the court lacks subject matter jurisdiction.” (App. 14)

The District Court did not do so as an exercise of its

§ 1367(c) discretion but because, as it read Rockwell

and Pintando, it had no other choice:

Because of the extremely large amount of

time and money that the parties have ex-

pended in this litigation, the court regrets

that the action must be terminated with no

adjudication on the merits. However, the

court has no choice, since the law is clear

that a court may not adjudicate a case over

which it does not have subject matter juris-

diction.

(Emphasis added) (App. 14)

Ford moved to alter or amend the judgment,

noting among other things that there had been no

8

“scrivener’s error” and that the involuntary dismissal

controlled. The District Court responded to this

motion with an order stating that: “Regardless of how

the inclusion of the Dealer Day in Court claim is

characterized, it is clear that such inclusion was

erroneous and was of no legal effect whatsoever. ...

The Court finds the reasoning of [Rockwell and Pin-

tando] to be applicable to the instant case.” (App. 8-9)

The District Court concluded that Rockwell and

Pintando represented a change in the law of supple-

mental jurisdiction and thus the prior jurisprudence

was no longer binding: “Those cases change the law

with respect to a district courts [sic] ability to exer-

cise supplemental jurisdiction in certain circums-

tances.” (App. 8)

On Ford’s appeal of the dismissal, the Eleventh

Circuit found that the dismissal of the ADDCA claim

was in fact involuntary and that the District Court

retained discretion to exercise supplemental jurisdic-

tion thereafter:

After the [district] court involuntarily dis-

missed plaintiffs’ claims under the Automo-

bile Dealer Day in Court Act, the fact that

plaintiffs, in their amended complaint, vol-

untarily deleted the claims brought under

the Robinson-Patman Act, did not preclude

the court from continuing to exercise its

supplemental jurisdiction over plaintiffs’

state law claims.... (Emphasis in original)

(App. 5)

9

The district court properly exercised its sup-

plemental jurisdiction after involuntarily

dismissing plaintiffs’ claims under the Auto-

mobile Dealers’ Day in Court Act. The fact

that the plaintiffs’ amended complaint did

not contain their Robinson-Patman Act claims

did not oust the court of supplemental juris-

diction... .

(App. 6)

Moreover, with regard to the question of a “scri-

vener’s error”, the Circuit Court treated that issue as

of no significance, observing:

We could not say that the court lost its sub-

ject matter jurisdiction once it dismissed the

federal claim. Take the scenario one step fur-

ther and suppose that the court, after an-

nouncing that it was retaining jurisdiction,

allows the plaintiff to amend its complaint to

restate the state law claim. Would this de-

stroy the court’s jurisdiction? We think not.

That is in effect what occurred here. ...

(App. 5)

Petitioners have sought a writ of certiorari to

review the holding of the Eleventh Circuit and to

adopt a novel interpretation of § 1367(c) supplemen-

tal jurisdiction.

B. Counterstatement of Background Facts

While for the most part, Petitioners’ “Factual

History” and “Procedural History” are irrelevant to

10

the issues for which they seek review by this Court,

Respondent will note the misstatements as required

by Revised Rule 15.2.’

While Petitioners contend that the Sales and

Service Agreement (“Agreement”) at issue herein

requires that Ford sell its medium and heavy trucks

to its dealers “only at ‘published’ prices and dis-

counts”, to represent such as a “fact” is entirely

misleading.” (Petition at 7) The Agreement does not

’ The factual disputes underlying the complaint and Ford’s

responses thereto are outlined in detail in the Eleventh Circuit’s

opinions found at Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Co., 380 F.3d 1331 (llth Cir. 2004) (Bayshore IT, while the

relevant procedural history of the case is outlined at In re Ford

Motor Co., 471 F.3d 1233, 1236-45 (11th Cir. 2006) (Bayshore ITI).

* Petitioners have misrepresented to several courts that a

binding summary judgment was entered against Ford on this

issue in a prior action in Texas state court. While a summary

judgment was entered and the damages case tried on that

summary judgment, the jury returned a verdict of “no damages”.

On cross-appeals of tle zero damage award by plaintiff and of

the summary judgment by Ford, the Dallas Court of Appeals

noted: “[WJe now turn to whether the trial court erred in

granting [plaintiff’s] motion for partial summary judgment on

this cause of action. However, we must address Ford’s contention

that the trial court erred in this respect only if we conclude there

is reversible error in connection with the jury’s zero damage

award. In other words, if the record reveals the zero damage

award was appropriate, any trial court error in granting the

summary judgment on liability would be harmless. Accordingly,

we begin our review with [plaintiff’s] challenge to the jury

finding on damages”. Ford Motor Company v. Metro Ford Truck

Sales, Inc., 1999 WL 1126280, *5 (Tex.App.-Dallas). The Court of

Appeals affirmed the jury’s zero damage award, and never

reached the summary judgment. /d., at *6. Therefore, because

(Continued on following page)

11

say that Ford will sell its trucks to its dealers only at

published prices, and Ford denies that such is or ever

was the understanding of the parties. Moreover, the

Eleventh Circuit, in reversing the summary judgment

previously entered for Ford on the interpretation of

the contract, held that Ford’s interpretation of the

contract was not the only reasonable interpretation.

Bayshore I, 380 F.3d at 1336.

Again, the statement that the Dealers were

“required” to use Ford’s Competitive Price Assistance

Program (“CPA Program”), that Ford set its wholesale

delivered prices higher than those at which the

Dealers could resell the trucks, or that they “had” to

use the CPA Program (Petition at 7), are all allega-

tions, not “facts”. To the contrary, in the Bayshore I

opinion, in finding that the Sales and Service Agree-

ment was not a contract of adhesion, the Eleventh

Circuit observed that:

[Gliven the facts before us, we cannot see

how these franchise dealership contracts

could be considered contracts of adhesion. .

The facts do not suggest ... that the Dealers

lacked bargaining power or economic strength

of their own. For example, there is no evi-

dence that the Dealers would not have been

able to secure dealerships from competitor

the appellate court did not reach the summary judgment, there

was no finality, rendering it moot. Hicks v. Quaker Oats, 662

F.2d 1158, 1168 (5th Cir. 1981).

12

truck manufacturers.... Further buttress-

ing this conclusion are the Dealers’ descrip-

tions of themselves as very successful

commercial enterprises with nationwide

markets and customer bases.

Bayshore I, 380 F.3d at 1338, n. 7.

Ford has no idea to whom Petitioners refer in

making their statement that “according to experts in

economics, Ford’s CPA program allowed Ford to

appropriate all or most of the consumer surplus from

the dealer’s retail sales....” as there has been no

such “expert” testimony in this case or any other of

which counsel is aware. in fact, in ruling on Ford's

motion for summary judgment on Metro Ford Truck

Sales’ Sherman Act antitrust claim, the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Texas held

that:

Metro was free to decide its own

price.... Ford set only wholesale prices,

which it is legally entitled to do. [citations

omitted] Ford’s CPA program is actually pro-

competitive. The effect of the discount pro-

gram is to lower retail prices to customers

and increase interbrand competition. . .

Metro Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Company,

1997 WL 671323, at *4 (Oct. 20, 1997), aff’d, 145 F.3d

320 (5th Cir. 1998).

’ (Petition at 7)

13

Contrary to Petitioners’ assertion, Ford did not

set its wholesale price or use its CPA program in

order to limit, nor in fact did it limit, the Dealers’

profit to between $0 and 2% at any other level. (Peti-

tion at 7) Again, Petitioners confuse allegations with

“facts”. The Dealers were in control of their own sales

of trucks to customers and the prices at which they

did so. Discovery demonstrates that the Dealers

routinely sold trucks at prices well in excess of the

“street price” at which they represented to Ford they

would be selling the trucks to their customers.. Ford

was not the only manufacturer which utilized a

wholesale price adjusting mechanism to respond to

competition from other manufacturers. As noted by

the District Court in Metro, the Eighth Circuit found

in Lewis Service Center, Inc. v. Mack Trucks, Inc., 714

F.2d 842, 845-46 (8th Cir. 1983), that Mack did not

engage in vertical price fixing pursuant to its sales

assistance program, which provided wholesale dis-

counts for dealers so that they could meet retail price

competition. Metro, 1997 WL 671323 at *4.

Ford misappropriated nothing from the Dealers.

(Petition at 7) The CPA Program was designed to help

the Dealers respond to competition from other truck

manufacturers. The reduction in wholesale price to

the Dealers was intended to be passed along to the

consumer. Petitioners seek an after-the-fact reduction

in wholesale prices in order to increase their own

profits at the expense of both Ford and the consumer.

14

C. Counterstatement of Procedural History

The misstatement that all federal claims were

eliminated by amendment has been addressed above.

Petitioners’ statement that the certification of the

class by the Ohio Court of Common Pleas was “af-

firmed all the way to the Ohio Supreme Court” is

incorrect. (Petition at 10) The Ohio Court of Appeals

affirmed the certification order but the Ohio Supreme

Court simply denied Ford’s petition for review of that

decision, an outcome that falls far short of being

affirmed by the Supreme Court. Connelly v. Balkwill,

174 F.Supp. 49, 60, 11 Ohio Op. 2d 289, 83 Ohio L.

Abs. 513 (N.D. Ohio 1959), aff’d, 279 F.2d 685 (6th

Cir. 1960) (Ohio Supreme Court’s denial of motion to

certify is no more than an indication that the court

does not consider controversy one of public or great

general interest).

Petitioners’ discussion of their efforts to have this

case dismissed under Rule 41(a)(2) are both irrele-

vant and misleading. In their recitation of their

several Rule 41(a)(2) motions to dismiss, they assert

that the Circuit Court did not reach their Due Process

argument for dismissal. (Petition at 11, n. 6) That is

not entirely accurate. In Bayshore II, 471 F.3d at

1259, in addressing Petitioners’ argument that judi-

cial economy somehow compelled reversal of the

District Court’s denial of their Rule 41(a)(2) motion,

the Circuit Court reviewed the time the District

Court had invested in this case, and concluded that

“judicial economy points us in a direction wholly

15

contrary to the Dealers’ position.” The Circuit Court

went on to observe that Petitioners had no “right” toa

dismissal, that Rule 41(a)(2) exists chiefly to protect

defendants, that based on the record, the denial by

the trial court “was not, and could not have consti-

tuted, an abuse of discretion.” Id.

As to the statement that “[t]he Eleventh Circuit

did not reach the Due Process argument the dealers

made for final dismissal”, what the Circuit Court said

was that having found that the District Court lacked

the authority to enjoin the Dealers from participating

in the Westgate” litigation, that “they [were] free to

do so.” Bayshore II, 471 F.3d at 1258. Thus, the Court

noted that it “need not consider whether the Due

Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment grants them

a substantive right to litigate their claims in an Ohio

state court.” However, the Court went on and found

that the Dealers had no “clear and indisputable right”

to a Rule 41(a)(2) dismissal because, among other

things, they retain adequate alternative relief. Jd. at

1259.

Petitioners also assert that the District Court’s

Rule 12(b)\(6) dismissal of their ADDCA claim was

really a dismissal for lack of subject matter jurisdic-

tion under Rule 12(b)(1)." That misstatement is

addressed in detail below.

"° No. CV 02 483526; Westgate Ford Trucks Sales, Inc. v.

Ford Motor Company; In the Court of Common Pleas, Cuyahoga

County, Ohio. Referenced by Petitioners.

’ Petition at 23

16

Ill. THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTI-

ORARI SHOULD BE DENIED

A. The Eleventh Circuit Correctly Ruled

that the District Court Retains the Dis-

cretion to Exercise Supplemental Ju-

risdiction Following an Involuntary

Dismissal on the Merits of One or More

Federal Claims

1. This Court’s Rockwell Decision Has

Nothing to Do with The Case Before

it Here

Petitioners’ reliance on this Court’s decision in

Rockwell Int'l Corp. v. United States, 549 U.S. 457

(2007) for the proposition that dismissal is mandated

is misplaced. This case is governed not by Rockwell,

which is an original jurisdiction case, but by the

discretionary exercise of supplemental jurisdiction

under § 1367(c)(3) as recognized in this Court’s deci-

sions in Osborn v. Haley, 549 U.S. 225, 244-45 (2007);

Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 546 U.S. 500, 514 (2006);

Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343, 350-51

(1988); and Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397, 403-05

(1970).

Petitioners cite Rockwell for the proposition that

where federa! claims have been dismissed from a case

via amended complaint, subject matter jurisdiction is

lost. Petitioners overreach the holding in that case.

Rockwell was a qui tam action arising under the

Federal False Claims Act (“FCA”) in which plaintiff

sought to establish status as an “orginal source”.

17

This Court discussed at length the subject matter

jurisdictional significance of the qui tam plaintiff’s

standing as the “original source” of the claims at

issue, finding that requirement to be a matter of subject

matter jurisdiction under 31 U.S.C. § 3730(e)(4)(A).

Rockwell, 549 U.S. at 467-68. (“Here the jurisdiction-

al nature of the original-source requirement is clear

ex visceribus verborum.”).

In Rockwell, Plaintiff Stone originally alleged

facts that supported his status as an “original

source”. 549 U.S. 457, 463-64. Later, after the United

States had intervened as a plaintiff, the government

and Stone jointly filed an amended complaint which

deleted those factual allegations and substituted

others which did not involve Stone as the “original

source”. Id. at 464-65. The voluntary amendment

deleted the allegations upon which subject matter

jurisdiction over Stone’s claim was dependent and

these amended allegations were incorporated in the

pretrial order. Jd. at 465, 474. In that context,

this Court held that the amended complaint and

pretrial order superseded the original complaint and

that the deletion of the requisite jurisdictional allega-

tions deprived the federal courts of subject matter

jurisdiction under the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(e)(4). Ud.)

The key to the Rockwell decision is the observa-

tion by this Court that, “[DJemonstration that the

original allegations were false will defeat jurisdiction.

[citations omitted] So also will the withdrawal of

those allegations, unless they are replaced by others

18

that establish jurisdiction.” Jd. at 473. Disproof of

jurisdictional allegations or, as occurred in Rockwell,

amendment to remove them, is quite different from

the granting of a motion to dismiss under Rule

12(b)(6). The amendment of the jurisdictional factual

allegations as occurred in Rockwell supersedes the

original jurisdictional allegations, leaving the District

Court with no allegations on which to base subject

matter jurisdiction ab initio.

Thus, Rockwell deals with the jurisdictional

consequences of a plaintiff who voluntarily pleads

away the factual allegations that give rise to original

jurisdiction. Rockwell had nothing whatsoever to do

with § 1367(c\3) supplemental jurisdiction.

2. As Recognized by the Eleventh Cir-

cuit, this Case Has Nothing to Do

with Pintando

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Pintando uv.

Miami-Dade Housing Agency, 501 F.3d 1241 (11th

Cir. 2007) cited to Rockwell for a very basic proposi-

tion, that an amended pleading supersedes the prior

pleading. Jd. at 1243. Pintando announced no new

principles of jurisdiction in that regard.

In Pintando, plaintiff alleged state and federal

claims for relief. Defendant moved for summary

judgment on all claims. While the motion was pend-

ing, plaintiff voluntarily amended his complaint to

delete the one and only federal claim for relief. The

district court thereafter granted summary judgment

19

on the state law claims. On appeal from the summary

judgment, the Eleventh Circuit, citing Rockwell,

simply held that the amended complaint superseded

the original complaint, divesting the district court

of subject matter jurisdiction. Pintando, 501 F.3d

at 1243-44. There were no other federal c!91-x:s invol-

untarily dismissed in Pintando that would have

triggered application or discussion of § 1367(c)(3)

supplemental jurisdiction.

3. There Has Been No Voluntary Elimi-

nation of the Federal Claims by

Amendment

As discussed in more detail below, Petitioners’

ADDCA claim was involuntarily dismissed under

Rule 12(b)(6) on Ford’s motion. The Third Amended

Complaint deleting their RPA claim but restating the

ADDCA claim did not change that fact. The Agreed

Order noting that: “Plaintiffs’ Dealer Day in court Act

claims are dismissed and remain dismissed by

operation of the Court’s January 10, 2000 Order

and are not revived and were not intended by any

party to be revived by the subsequent filing of the

Third Amended Complaint... .” did not change that

fact. (Resp. App. 91-92) (Emphasis added)

Although in its January 22, 2008, dismissal

order, the District Court stated that the inclusion of

the ADDCA claim was the result of a “scrivener’s

error”, there is nothing in the record to support such

a conclusion. Ford challenged the “scrivener’s error”

20

comment in its Motion to Alter or Amend the Judg-

ment. In its order denying that motion, the District

Court noted Ford’s objection and responded that it

was of no moment how the inclusion of the ADDCA

claim is characterized, it was of no legal effect and its

inclusion as if it never happened.” While Ford agrees

that it does not matter whether the ADDCA claim

was included in the Third Amended Complaint, it

disagrees that it is “as if it never happened” or that

the parties treated it as such.

The Circuit Court correctly concluded that “the

[district] court involuntarily dismissed plaintiffs’

claims under the [ADDCA].” (App. 5) Those are the

jurisdictional facts and nothing has occurred to

change them.

4. The District Court Retained Supple-

mental Jurisdiction Following the

Involuntary Dismissal of the ADDCA

Claim

a. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision is

Entirely in Accord with the Juri-

sprudence Interpreting § 1367(c)

The decision of the Eleventh Circuit below is

entirely in accord with the provisions of § 1367(c)(3),

this Court’s prior decisions, those of the other Circuit

Courts and 185 years of jurisprudence reaching back

? (App. 7-9)

21

to the doctrine of pendent claim jurisdiction which

had its roots in this Court’s decision in Osborn uv.

Bank of United States, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 738, 823, 6

L.Ed. 204 (1824) (““[W]hen a question to which the

judicial power of the Union is extended by the consti-

tution forms an ingredient of the original cause, it is

in the power of Congress to give the circuit courts

jurisdiction of that cause, although other questions of

fact or of law may be involved in it”). See also 16

MOoRE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE (3d ed.) § 106.04[2]

(2009). The involuntary dismissal of the ADDCA

claim did indeed set in stone the District Court’s

discretion to exercise supplemental jurisdiction under

§ 1367(c)(3).

Section 1367(c) provides that: “The district courts

may decline to exercise supplemental jurisdiction

over a claim under subsection (a) if. . . (3) the district

court has dismissed all claims over which it has

original jurisdiction... .” The dismissal of a federal

claim under Rule 12(b)(6) is a dismissal on the mer-

its. Federated Dept. Stores, Inc. v. Moitie, 452 U.S.

394, 399 n. 3, 101 S. Ct. 2424, 2428 n. 3 (1981); Har-

ris v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Alabama, Inc., 951

F.2d 325, 328 (11th Cir. 1992); NAACP v. Hunt, 891

F.2d 1555, 1560 (llth Cir. 1990); and 2 MOoorRE’s

FEDERAL PRACTICE (3d ed.) § 12.34[6]f[a] (2009).

This Court’s interpretation of Art. III end

§ 1367(c)(3) clearly support the Eleventh Circuit’s

holding that the district court retained the discretion

to exercise jurisdiction over Petitioners’ remaining

state law claim after it had involuntarily dismissed

22

the ADDCA claim as observed by this Court in Os-

born v. Haley, 549 U.S. 225, 245 (2007) (““{E]ven if

only state-law claims remained after resolution of the

federal question, the District Court would have

discretion, consistent with Article III, to retain Juris-

diction. ...”); Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 546 U.S. 500,

514 (2006) (““[W]Jhen a court grants a motion to dis-

miss for failure to state a federal claim, the court

generally retains discretion to exercise supplemental

jurisdiction, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367, over

pendent state-law claims.”); Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v.

Cohill, 484 U.S. 343, 350-51 (1988) (when federal

character of removed case is eliminated while the

case is sub judice, court has discretion to retain

jurisdiction, to remand, or to dismiss); and Wyman,

397 U.S. at 403-05 (district court retained discretion

to exercise pendent jurisdiction over state iaw claim

after federal claim which formed basis for original

jurisdiction was rendered moot).

There are no facts in Rockwell, and no holding,

observation or even dicta to the effect that where one

or more federal questions have been disposed of on

the merits by the District Court, a subsequent

amendment of the complaint that in fact dropped

those allegations from the complaint, would super-

sede the action of the District Court in dismissing the

claim on the merits, thereby depriving the court of

subject matter jurisdiction. What Petitioners overlook

is that it is the action of the trial court in dispos-

ing of the federal question(s) that is determinative of

the court’s continuing jurisdiction under § 1367(c),

23

not their post-dismissal deletion of the claim from the

complaint.

The circuit courts are in accord. Gary v. Long, 59

F.3d 1391, 1400 (D.C. Cir. 1995) (whether to decide

pendent claims is left to the sound discretion of

district court), cert. den., 516 U.S. 1011, 1016 (1995);

Gary v. Washington Metro Area Transit Authority, 516

U.S. 1011 (1995); Purgess v. Sharrock, 33 F.3d 134,

138 (2nd Cir. 1994) (If dismissal of federal claim

occurs “late in the action, after there has been sub-

stantial expenditure in time, effort, and money in

preparing the dependent claims, knocking them down

with a belated rejection of supplemental jurisdiction

may not be fair. Nor is it by any means necessary.”);

Noble v. White, 996 F.2d 797, 799 (5th Cir. 1993)

(“District courts enjoy wide discretion in determining

whether to retain supplemental jurisdiction over a

state claim once all federal claims are dismissed.”);

Palmer Hosp. Auth., 22 F.3d 1559, 1568 (11th Cir.

1994) (“Th[e] power to retain jurisdiction after the

dismissal of the underlying federal claim has not

been altered by section 1367.”); Evans v. City of

Marlin, Tex., 986 F.2d 104, 109, n. 10 (5th Cir. 1993)

(Where summary judgment for defendant on sole

federal claim upheld on appeal but reversed on state

law claims, “On remand, the district court will not

have the federal question ‘hook’ on which it can hang

the pendent state law claims. However ... the court

is vested with discretion to decide whether or not

supplemental jurisdiction continues to be appropri-

ate.”). See generally, 16 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE

24

(3d ed.) § 106.66[1] 2009 (“Dismissal of supplemental

claims is not required after jurisdiction-conferring

claim has been dismissed.”).

The Eleventh Circuit correctly concluded that the

District Court retained the discretion to exercise

jurisdiction over the remaining state law breach of

contract claim, following the involuntary dismissal of

the ADDCA claim and deletion of the RPA claim.

b. Even if Petitioners Had Amended

to Eliminate the ADDCA Claim

Following the District Court’s In-

voluntary Dismissal of that Claim,

it Would Make Absolutely No Dif-

ference

Even had there been an amendment to delete the

previously dismissed ADDCA claim from the live

pleading as found by the District Court, the court

retained the discretion to exercise § 1367(c) supple-

mental jurisdiction as the dismissed claim’s jurisdic-

tional shadow continued to extend over the remainder

of the case for purposes of § 1367(c). As noted in

Wright, Miller & Kane, 6 FEDERAL PRACTICE AND

PROCEDURE, CIVIL 2d § 1476 (2009), where a plain-

tiff’s claim has been dismissed by the trial court, and

plaintiff elects to amend in compliance with the

court’s ruling, plaintiff should not thereby waive the

right to appeal that ruling.

A rule that a party waives all objections to

the court’s dismissal if he elects to amend is

25

too mechanical and seems to be a rigid appli-

cation of the concept that a Rule 15(a)

amendment completely replaces the pleading

it amends. Without more, the action of the

amending party should not result in com-

pletely denying the right to appeal the

court’s ruling.

There was nothing new or novel about this

Court’s observation in Rockwell that an amended

pleading supersedes prior pleadings. Professors

Wright, et al., were certainly aware of that principle

when they wrote the observation quoted above. See,

Wright, et al., id. at § 1476. (“A pleading that has

been amended under Rule 15(a) supersedes the

pleading it modifies and remains in effect throughout

the action unless it subsequently is modified... .”)

Citing dicta from the Tenth Circuit’s opinion in Blazer

v. Black, 196 F.2d 139, 143-44 (10th Cir. 1952), Pro-

fessors Wright, et al., note that a party who amends

his pleading to conform to a court ruling waives only

those objections to that order insofar as it applies to

technical defects in the pleading; he does not waive

his exceptions to rulings that strike a “vital blow” to a

substantial portion of his claim. Jd.

The Circuit Courts have followed the rule advo-

cated by Professor Wright, et al. since at least 1978.

In Wilson v. First Houston Inv. Corp., 566 F.2d 1235

(5th Cir. 1978), plaintiff sued under the Investment

Advisers Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C. § 80b-14 (“LAA”)

as well as Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5. The

district court dismissed plaintiff’s complaint and

26

first amended complaint, after which plaintiff ap-

pealed. In his first complaint, plaintiff asserted a

private right of action under the IAA and a Rule

10b-5 claim. The trial court dismissed on the ground

that no private right of action existed under the IAA

and plaintiff had failed to allege a valid 10b-5 claim.

Plaintiff was given leave to amend, which he did,

again attempting to state a 10b-5 claim but dropping

the LAA claim. His complaint was again dismissed

and he appealed. The first question addressed by the

Circuit Court was whether the dropping of the IAA

claim following a dismissal with leave to amend

waived the right to appeal same. The Fifth Circuit

held that while as a general rule an amended com-

plaint supersedes the original complaint unless the

amended complaint specifically refers to or adopts the

earlier pleading, plaintiff, “by filing an amended

complaint after a dismissal with leave to amend,

was not barred from raising on appeal the correctness

of the dismissal order.” Wilson, 566 F.2d at 1238

(Emphasis added).

The Eleventh Circuit followed Wilson in Varnes v.

Local 91, Glass Bottle Blowers, 674 F.2d 1365, 1370

(llth Cir. 1982), in holding that where the district

court, with plaintiff’s consent, dismissed the

original complaint with leave to amend for failure to

state a claim, plaintiff in fact drafted the order of

dismissal and filed an amended complaint: “Varnes

was not barred, by consenting to the dismissal and

filing the amended complaint, from raising on appeal

the correctness of the dismissal order....” /d. See

27

also, Dunn v. Airline Pilots Ass’n, 193 F.3d 1185, 1191

(llth Cir. 1999) (“[WJe do not require a party to

replead a claim following a dismissal under Rule

12(b)(6) to preserve objections to the dismissal on

appeal.”).

Thus, the ADDCA claim had continuing viability

for purposes of appeal. That is precisely why Peti-

tioners left it in their Third Amended Complaint,”

although they need not have done so to preserve the

issue for appeal. Even after appeal, affirmance of the

dismissal of the federal claims and remand, the case

law is clear, the District Court retains the discretion

to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over the remain-

ing state law claims. See Evans, 986 F.2d at 109,

n. 10.

IV. THE ADDCA CLAIM WAS NOT DIJS-

MISSED FOR LACK OF SUBJECT MAT-

TER JURISDICTION

A. Ford’s Motion to Dismiss Was a Motion

to Dismiss on the Merits

Petitioners attempt to re-write the facts of this

case by asserting that the Rule 12(b)(6) dismissal of

the ADDCA claim was really a Rule 12(b)(1) dismis-

sal.'* While there can be overlap between motions

'* (Resp. App. 18-26)

For example, in their brief to the Eleventh Circuit on

Ford’s appeal of the dismissal by the District Court, Petitioners

(Continued on following page)

28

under Rules 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6), that clearly is not

what happened here. As this Court observed in Steel

Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environment, 523 U.S. 83,

89 (1998), “It is firmly established in our cases that

the absence of a valid (as opposed to arguable) cause

of action does not implicate subject matter jurisdic-

tion; i.e., the courts’ statutory or constitutional power

to adjudicate the case.” Ford’s motion to dismiss the

ADDCA claim was unquestionably a motion going to

the absence of a valid cause of action and did not

implicate the District Court’s subject matter jurisdic-

tion.

Ford moved under Rule 12(b)(6) to dismiss the

ADDCA claim for failure to allege facts sufficient to

constitute coercion under the Act. While the ADDCA

does contain a jurisdictional factual element, the

absence of which could be the subject of a Rule

12(b\1) motion, those facts were never put at issue

here. The ADDCA states that:

An automobile dealer may bring suit against

any automobile manufacturer engaged in

commerce ... by reason of the failure of said

automobile manufacturer ... to act in good

faith in performing or complying with any of

the terms or provisions of the franchise, or in

terminating, canceling, or not renewing the

franchise with said dealer. .

15 U.S.C. § 1222.

acknowledge that, “The DDCA claim was dismissed on January

19, 2000, under F.R.C.P. 12(b)(6). .. .” (Resp. App. 99)

29

“Commerce” is defined as “commerce among the

several States of the United States or with foreign

nations... .” (15 U.S.C. § 1221(d)) That is, the ADD-

CA applies only to automobile dealers engaged in

interstate or international commerce. Stadium

Chrysler Jeep, L.L.C. v. Daimlerchrysler Motors Com-

pany LLC, 324 F.Supp.2d 587594 (D. N.J. 2004) (“In

order to make out a claim, a plaintiff must demon-

strate that: ‘(2) the defendant must be an ‘automobile

manufacturer’ engaged in commerce... .’”) Thus, the

“jurisdictional facts” for purposes of the ADDCA, are

that the defendant “automobile manufacturer [is]

engaged in interstate or international commerce” as

defined by the Act.”

Here, Petitioners alleged that: “This Court has

jurisdiction over this proceeding in accordance with

28 U.S.C. § 1331 because certain causes of action

alleged herein arise under the laws of the United

States, including but not limited to, 15 U.S.C. § 1221

' The “engaged in commerce” element of an ADDCA claim

is analogous to the employer “engaged in an industry affecting

commerce” element of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(b). In Ar-

baugh, 546 U.S. 500, 126 S. Ct. 1235, 1239 (2006), the Court

held that the requirement of 15 or more employees was

an element of a Title VII claim but not a jurisdictional element.

The question whether defendant was an employer “engaged

in an industry affecting interstate commerce”, a much broader

exercise of Congress’ Commerce Power than at issue here, would

have been a matter of subject matter jurisdiction was not raised

there.

30

et seq....”° Petitioners also alleged that: “Defendant

Ford Motor Company is engaged in interstate com-

merce... .”" (Id. at | 2) These allegations are incor-

porated into Petitioners’ ADDCA claim.” These are

the jurisdictional factual allegations under the ADD-

CA.

The ADDCA battle was waged not over whether

Ford was engaged in “commerce” but whether Peti-

tioners had met the “coercion” element of their claim

as that term is used in the Act. Petitioners alleged

that “Ford used its size and power to coerce and

intimidate the named Plaintiffs and other dealers

into using the Appeal-Level CPA discount program to

their detriment” and that “(t]he [ADDCA] has

further been violated ... by... Ford’s discriminatory,

coercive and unfair treatment of the named Plaintiffs

and dealers in the pricing of Medium/Heavy

Trucks... .””

‘* Complaint and Petition for Class Action (“Complaint”)

(Resp. App. 2); Second Amended Complaint and Petition for

Class Action (“Second Amended Complaint”) (Resp. App. 10); and

Third Amended Complaint and Petition for Class Action (“Third

Amended Complaint”) (Resp. App. 19), all at 4 1.

" Id., at { 2.

“ Complaint at 924 (Resp. App. 4); Second Amended

Complaint at J 63 (Resp. App. 12); Third Amended Complaint at

{ 63 (Resp. App. 22)

‘* Second Amended Complaint at 7 66 (Resp. App. 13)

* Id. at J 67.

31

Ford moved under Rule 12(b)(6) to dismiss the

ADDCA claim as well as the RPA and breach of

contract claims for failure to state claims for relief. As

to the ADDCA claim, Ford argued, inter alia, that in

order to prove the lack of good faith element under

the Act, “a party must plead and prove actual or

threatened coercion or intimidation by the manufac-

turer.” Ford argued further that “in order to state a

Dealer Act claim, the alleged coercive or intimidating

conduct must reflect a wrongful demand by a manu-

facturer that would result in sanctions should a

dealer fail to comply.”” Nowhere in Ford’s motion is

there a suggestion that it was not engaged in inter-

state commerce or that the District Court otherwise

lacked subject matter jurisdiction.

Petitioners’ own opposition to Ford’s motion

demonstrates that they did not view the issue as one

of subject matter jurisdiction. They argued that

because the motion included and referred to matters

outside the record and pleadings, it must be denied as

a Rule 12 motion to dismiss.” Of course, there is no

prohibition on presenting matters outside the record

*' Memorandum of Law of Ford Motor Company in Support

of its Motion to Dismiss the Plaintiffs’ Second Amended Com-

plaint and Petition for Class Action (Resp. App. 48-49)

* Id.

“ Plaintiffs’ Response to Ford’s Motion to Dismiss (Resp.

App. 56-57 and n. 1)

32

to support a motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(1),”

demonstrating that Petitioners viewed the motion as

a Rule 12(b)(6) motion. Petitioners also argued cases

specifically addressing notice pleading under Rule

8(a), the acceptance of allegations on their face, the

propriety of a Rule 12(b)\(6) motion pre-discovery,

that dismissal was premature and that a ruling

on their ability to prove coercion should await a

Rule 56 motion.” Petitioners argued that “The plead-

ings support and the jury could find that Ford’s

conduct constitutes a wrongful demand and coercive

behavior....”” and that “(T]he issue of coercion or

intimidation under the Act is inherently fact-specific

and is thus a jury question not susceptible to a ruling

on a motion to dismiss.” Thus, Petitioners addressed

the merits of their claim, not the District Court’s

subject matter jurisdiction.

The District Court’s Order stated generally in

response to Ford’s motions challenging the ADDCA,

RPA and breach of contract claims that:

When considering a Rule 12(b)(6) motion to

dismiss, a court must accept the allegations

in the complaint as true, construing them in

the light most favorable to the plaintiffs... .

“ Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S. 731, 735, n. 4 (1947) (the district

court has authority to consider matters outside the pleadings

under Rule 12(b1)).

* (Resp. App. 56-72)

** (Resp. App. 66)

* (Resp. App. 67)

33

A Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss should be

granted only if it appears beyond doubt that

the plaintiffs can prove no set of facts in

support of their allegations which would en-

title them to relief.”

Specifically with regard to the ADDCA claim, the

District Court observed that “Ford also moves to

dismiss the plaintiffs’ Dealers’ Day in Court claim for

failure to allege a lack of good faith involving coer-

cion, intimidation, or a threat thereof.”” The District

Court cited the case law interpreting the special

meaning given to the phrase “good faith” as used in

the ADDCA,” reviewed Petitioners’ arguments that

their allegations were sufficient to constitute coercion

under the ADDCA and found that:

[A]s Judge Evans correctly concluded in Cap-

ital Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Company, 819 F.Supp. 1555 (N.D., Ga. 1992),

a manufacturer is free to set its wholesale

price or its price discounts at whatever level

the manufacturer chooses without running

afoul of the Dealers’ Day in Court Act. Id. at

1566-67. As such, Ford’s demand, explicit or

* Order dated January 19, 2000 [corrected February 2,

2000) (Resp. App. 74-90)

> (Resp. App. 82)

*° (Resp. App. 82) (citing Cabriolet Porsche Audi, Inc. v.

American Honda Motor Co., 773 F.2d 1193, 1210 (11th Cir. 1985)

(“In the absence of coercion, intimidation or threats thereof,

there can be no recovery under the Act, even if the manufacturer

otherwise acts in ‘bad faith’ as that term is normally used.”)).

34

implicit, that the plaintiffs participate in the

CPA program or pay inflated published

wholesale prices is not a wrongful demand

and does not constitute coercion or bad faith

within the meaning of the Dealers’ Day in

Court Act. Consequently, the defendant’s mo-

tion to dismiss the plaintiffs’ Dealers’ Day in

Court Act claim is GRANTED.

In their Appellees’ Brief (Res. App. 95-100) filed

in the appeal Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford

Motor Company, No. 08-12587 (1lth Cir. Nov. 10,

2008) (Bayshore III), Petitioners describe the dismis-

sal of their ADDCA claim as a Rule 12(b)(6) dismissal.

(Resp. App. 99)

Petitioners’ ADDCA claim was clearly dismissed

on the merits because of an inability to allege facts

sufficient to constitute “coercion” under the Act. Thus,

this is not a situation in which plaintiffs’ claim was

dismissed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

B. Petitioners’ ADDCA Claim Was Not In-

substantial

Petitioners invite this Court to find that because

their ADDCA claim was dismissed early in the case

under Rule 12(b)(6), the claim was “insubstantial”

and therefore cannot support jurisdiction. All that

is required to invoke the district court’s § 1331 juris-

diction is a “colorable claim”. (Arbaugh, 546 U.S. at

513.) A finding by a District Court that a claim is

without merit does not render the claim “insubstan-

tial”. (“/Wjhen a court grants a motion to dismiss for

35

failure to state a federal claim, the court generally

retains discretion to exercise supplemental jurisdic-

tion, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367, over pendent

state-law claims.”) (/d. at 514.) Petitioners’ suggestion

makes no more sense than arguing that because a

claim has been dismissed under Rule 12(b)(6), imposi-

tion of Rule 11 sanctions are automatically justified.

Petitioners vigorously argued that Ford’s Appeal CPA

Program constituted coercion under the ADDCA,

while the District Court rejected the argument it did

not treat it as a frivolous contention, and the Circuit

Court obviously did not view it as “insubstantial”.

V. SECTION 1367(c)(3) REQUIRES NO NOV-

EL INTERPRETATION

Petitioners suggest that the Court adopt a novel

interpretation of § 1367(c) to harmonize a supposed

conflict between subsections (a) and (c)(3) of § 1367.

However, what they seek to do is not to harmonize

but to repeal § 1367(c)(3).

Petitioners’ suggestion that a dismissed claim no

longer has any jurisdictional significance if it is later

deleted from the complaint as a plaintiff cleans up its

pleadings is wrong as noted above.

Moreover, petitioners’ thesis that § 1367 looks

only to “extant” federal claims, ignores both the plain

language of § 1367(cX3) and the case law. Section

1367(c) clearly provides that: “the district courts may

decline to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over a

36

claim under subsection (a) if... (3) the district court

has dismissed all claims over which it has original

jurisdiction. ...” Petitioners point to the wording in

§ 1367(a) that the district courts shall have supple-

mental jurisdiction over other claims that are so

related to “claims in the action”. (Emphasis added).

Petitioners postulate that claims that have been

“dismissed” by the district courts are no longer “in the

action”. But if that were true, then a plaintiff would

have no right to appeal them as they are no longer “in

the action”. Obviously, the district court has no power

involuntarily to dismiss claims and take away a

plaintiff’s right to appeal because the dismissed

claims are still part of the action. This is true even

after an appeal and remand. See, e.g., Evans, 986 F.2d

at 109, n. 10. The federal claims, having been filed

and involuntarily disposed of by the district court,

remain a part of the action for purposes of subject

inatter jurisdiction.

If the Court were to adopt Petitioners’ proposed

interpretation of § 1367(c), a plaintiff, having lost one

or more of its federal claims on the merits, could

unilaterally divest the district court of its jurisdiction

and grant itself a new opportunity to litigate the

federal claims.”’ Such is clearly not in the interests of

judicial economy, the courts or parties.

*” Rule 41(a)(2) is not available to a defendant to oppose a

motion for leave to drop a claim as opposed to dismissing the

entire complaint. While a defendant could oppose a motion for

leave to amend made under Rule 15(aX2), that Rule provides

(Continued on following page)

37

Moreover, it is in the best interests of the Court

and the parties that a litigant be allowed to clean up

its pleadings without inadvertently waiving its right

to appeal a prior adverse ruling. Petitioners’ proposal

is simply a trap for the unwary.

The existing jurisprudence interpreting § 1367(a)

and (c)(3) is perfectly consistent. Where the court has

original jurisdiction over one or more claims, it has

the discretion under § 1367(a) to exercise supplemen-

tal jurisdiction over other claims that are so related

as to arise out of the same case or controversy. The

dismissal of the federal claims by the district court

enables the court to exercise its discretion to retain or

dismiss the remaining claims, even after the plead-

ings have been cleaned up to drop the reference to the

dismissed claim and even if the dismissal has been

affirmed on appeal and the case remanded for trial of

the remaining claims. Nothing more is needed.

that leave is to be freely given in the interests of justice. U.S.

Fawcetts, Inc. v. Home Depot USA, Inc., No. 1:03-CV-1572-WSD,

N.D. Ga., Jan. 13, 2006; Transwitch Corp. v. Galazar Networks,

Inc., 377 F.Supp.2d 284, 288 (D. Mass. 2005) (Rule 41(a)(2)

applies to dismissal of an action as opposed to Rule 15(a) as a

vehicle to drop some but not all claims). Petitioner’s re-write of

the jurisprudence of § 1367 would require a re-write of Rule

15(a)(2) and its jurisprudence to state that leave should be freely

given except where the amendment would have the effect of

defeating the court’s subject matter jurisdiction after a dismissal

on the merits of one or more claims.

VI. CONCLUSION

38

The Petition is based on fundamentally incorrect

statements of fact relating to the jurisdictional events

in this case. This is not a case in which the federal

claims were voluntarily eliminated by amendment.

Instead, one federal claim was dismissed on the

merits under Rule 12(b)(6) while the other was de-

leted by amendment. This case is not governed by

Rockwell Int'l Corp. v. United States, 549 U.S. 457

(2007) but instead by Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 546

U.S. 500 (2006). The Eleventh Circuit correctly ruled

that the District Court had the discretion to exercise

subject matter jurisdiction over this case.

DATED: April 17, 2009

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES C. WINTON

(Counsel of Record)

BILLY M. DONLEY

DaviD R. JARRETT

BAKER & HOSTETLER, LLP

1000 Louisiana Street,

Suite 2000

Houston, Texas 77002

Tel: (713) 646-1304

Fax: (713) 751-1717

Attorneys for Respondent

Resp. App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT

OF GEORGIA ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD *

TRUCK SALES, INC., *

HEINTZELMAN’S TRUCK *

CENTER, INC., LJL ?

TRUCK CENTER, INC., *

PEACH STATE FORD ‘

TRUCK SALES, INC., And *

VALLEY FORD TRUCK * Fiat ne

SALES, INC., Individually *

and as Representatives * CIVIL ACTION NO.

for a Class of Similarly * 4:99-CV 0173-HLM

Situated Entities, .

Plaintiffs, |

Vs. ”

FORD MOTOR ‘

COMPANY, .

Defendant. *

COMPLAINT AND PETITION

FOR CLASS ACTION

(Filed July 1, 1999)

Plaintiffs Bayshore Ford ‘Truck Sales, Inc.,

Heintzelman’s Truck Center, Inc., Peach State Ford

Truck Sales, Inc., LJL Truck Center, Inc., and Valley

Ford Truck Sales, Inc., individually and as represent-

atives for a class of similarly-situated entities, hereby

sue Defendant Ford Motor Company.

Resp. App. 2

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this proceed-

ing in accordance with 28 U.S.C. §1331 because

causes of action herein arise under the laws of the

United States, including, but not limited to, 15 U.S.C.

et seq. et seq.

1367 in that such claims are

so related to claims over which this Court has origi-

nal jurisdiction that they form the same case or

controversy under Article III of the United States

Constitution.

2. Venue is proper in this district in accordance

with 28 U.S.C. §1391 and 15 U.S.C. §15 and 15

U.S.C. §1222. Defendant Ford Motor Company is

engaged in interstate commerce. Defendant Ford

Motor Company does business in this district and in

this division. Defendant Ford Motor Company is

found in this district and in this division. Defendant

Ford Motor Company has agents, that is, dealers, in

this district and in this division which have entered

into franchise agreements and which sell heavy

trucks. In addition, Plaintiff Peach State Ford Truck

Sales, Inc. is a corporation doing business in this

district, including purchasing heavy trucks from Ford

and selling said heavy trucks. Thus, a substantial

part of the acts or omissions giving rise to the claims

alleged herein occurred in this district. Other dealers

and potential class members also do business in this

district and in this division.

3. Plaintiff Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc. is a

Delaware corporation with its principal place of

business in New Castle, Delaware. Bayshore began as

a Ford dealer in 1976, and is one of the largest Ford

heavy-truck dealers in the

* *

21. Plaintiffs specifically adopt and incorporate

by reference herein in this Count One all preceding

paragraphs as if fully set forth herein.

22. Ford materially breached the terms of the

franchise agreement with its dealers, including the

Plaintiffs herein, by not publishing all prices,

charges, discounts and other terms of sale, and by not

selling company products of like grade and quality to

its dealers in accordance with such published pricing.

These actions by Ford affected virtually every dealer

in the country in the same manner. This breach of

contract by Ford has proximately caused damages to

Plaintiffs and other dealers who are members of the

class asserted in excess of approximately

$300,000,000, for all of which Plaintiffs hereby sue.

23. Plaintiffs allege that they are entitled to

collect from Ford their costs and reasonabie attorneys’

Resp. App. 4

fees for pursuing this action, for all of which Plaintiffs

hereby sue.

COUNT TWO: VIOLATION OF THE

DEALER DAY IN COURT ACT

24. Plaintiffs specifically adopt and incorporate

by reference herein in this Count Two all preceding

paragraphs as if fully set forth herein.

25. By virtue of its improper control of dealer

profits, by its discriminatory, coercive and unfair

treatment of dealers in the pricing of trucks of like

grade and quality and other equipment in violation of

its contract obligations, and by its breach of basic

issues of fairness in the business market place, Ford

has violated the duties imposed by the federal Dealer

Day in Court Act, 15 U.S.C. §1221, Ford has

failed to act in good faith and/or has acted in bad

faith in not performing or complying with the terms

and provisions of the franchise agreement, in particu-

lar, with 410 in the Heavy Duty Truck Sales and

Service Agreement. These violations by Ford affected

each class member in similar or identical fashion and

resulted in damages proximately caused, for all of

which Plaintiffs hereby sue.

26. Plaintiffs allege that they are entitled to

collect from Ford their costs and reasonable attor-

neys’ fees for pursuing this action, for all of which

Plaintiffs hereby sue.

Resp. App. 5

27. Plaintiffs specifically adopt and incorporate

by reference herein in this Count Three all preceding

paragraphs as if fully set forth herein.

28. By virtue of its admitted discrimination in

the pricing of trucks of like grade and quality sold to

dealers, Ford has engaged in price discrimination in

violation of the federal Robinson-Patman Act, 15

U.S.C. §13(a). Plaintiffs also assert that discovery will

show that Ford likewise discriminated in the pricing

of other Ford products, including replacement parts.

This price discrimination is without just cause or

excuse, was undertaken intentionally, maliciously

and in bad faith, and proximately caused damages to

each class member, including the

* * *

Respectfully submitted,

POPE, McGLAMRY,

KILPATRICK & MOR-

RISON, LLP

Resp. App. 6

C. Neal Pope

Georgia Bar No. 583769

318 11th Street,

2nd Floor

P. O. Box 2128

(31902-2128)

Columbus, Georgia

31901-2515

(706) 324-0050

FAX: (706)327-1536

/s/ MLM

Michael L. McGlamry

Georgia Bar No. 492515

The Pinnacle,

Suite 925

3455 Peachtree Road,

N.E.

P. O. Box 191625

(31119-1625)

Atlanta, Georgia

30326-3243

(404) 523-7706

FAX: (404) 524-1648

/s/ Wade H. Tomlinson

with express permission

by MLM

Resp. App. 7

318 11th Street,

2nd Floor

P. O. Box 2128

(31902-2128)

Columbus, Georgia

31901-2515

(706) 324-0050

FAX: (706)327-1536

615 West First Street

P. O. Box 5513

Rome, Georgia

30162-5513

(706) 291-8853

FAX: (706)234-3574

Wade H. Tomlinson, III

Georgia Bar No. 714605

/s/ Robert M. Brinson

Robert M. Brinson

Georgia Bar No. 082900

/s/ James A. Pikl

with express permission

by MLM

Resp. App. 8

James A. Pikl

Texas Bar No. 16008850

P. O. Box 2939

McKinney, Texas

75070

(214) 544-7000

FAX: (214)544-7001

Resp. App. 9

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD TRUCK *

SALES, INC., HEINTZEL- *

MAN’S TRUCK CENTER, +*

INC., LJL TRUCK CEN- * CIVIL ACTION NO.

TER, INC., PEACH STATE * 4:99-CV-173-RLV

FORD TRUCK SALES, *

INC., and VALLEY FORD

TRUCK SALES, INC.,

individually and as Repre-

sentatives for a Class of

Similarly Situated Entities,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

Defendant.

* *&* &£ &*¥ # F FO KE Ee HF OF

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

AND PETITION FOR CLASS ACTION

(Filed Oct. 21, 1999)

COME NOW Plaintiffs Bayshore Ford Truck

Sales, Inc., Heintzelman’s Truck Center, Inc., Peach

State Ford Truck Sales, Inc., LJL Truck Center, Inc.,

and Valley Ford Truck Sales, Inc., individually and as

representatives for a class of similarly-situated

entities, and, pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 15 and this

Court’s Order of September 21, 1999, file this their

Second Amended Complaint and Petition for Class

Resp. App. 10

Action against Defendant Ford Motor Company. The

claims asserted in this Second Amended Complaint

and Petition arise out of the same transactions,

occurrences and conduct made the subject of and set

forth in Plaintiffs’ original Complaint and the

Amendment thereto, and accordingly, this Amended

Complaint and Petition relates back to the filing of

Plaintiffs’ original Complaint.

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this proceed-

ing in accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 1331 because

certain causes of action alleged herein arise under the

laws of the United States, including, but not limited

to, 15 U.S.C. § 1221 et seq., 28 U.S.C. § 2201, et seq.

and 15 U.S.C. § 13. In addition, this Court has juris-

diction over other claims alleged herein pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1367 in that such claims are so related to

claims over which this Court has original jurisdiction

that they form the same case or controversy under

Article III of the United States Constitution.

2. Venue is proper in this district in accordance

with 28 U.S.C. § 1391 and 15 U.S.C. §§ 15 and 1222.

Defendant Ford Motor Company is engaged in inter-

state commerce. Defendant Ford Motor Company

does business in this district and in this division.

Defendant Ford Motor Company is found in this

district and in this division. Defendant Ford Motor

Company has franchised dealers in this district and

in this division which have entered into franchise

Resp. App. 11

agreements and which sell Ford products. In addi-

tion, Plaintiff Peach State Ford Truck Sales, Inc. and

Plaintiff LJL Truck Center, Inc. are corporations

which do business in this district. Thus, a substantial

part of the acts or omissions giving rise to the claims

alleged herein occurred in this district. Other dealers

and potential class members do business in this

district and in this division.

PARTIES

3. Plaintiff Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc.

(hereinafter “Bayshore”) is a Delaware corporation

with its principal place of business in New Castle,

Delaware. Bayshore became a Ford dealer in 1976

and sold Ford Medium-Duty and Heavy-Duty Trucks,

which are generally those trucks designated as Series

600 or above and which are hereinafter collectively

referred to as “Medium/Heavy Trucks”. Bayshore sold

such trucks pursuant to franchise agreements until

1998, at which time Ford Motor Company sold its

division which manufactured Medium/Heavy Trucks

to HN-80 Corporation, a division of Freightliner

Corporation. That sale is not the subject of this

action. Plaintiff Bayshore was one of the highest-

volume Ford Medium/Heavy Truck dealers in the

country. Bayshore services a nationwide market and

has customers throughout the United States.

4. Plaintiff Heintzelman’s Truck Center, Inc.

(hereinafter “Heintzelman’s) is a Florida corporation

with its principal place of business in Orlando,

Resp. App. 12

Florida. Heintzelman became a Ford Medium/Heavy

Truck dealer in 1973 and sold Ford Medium/Heavy

Trucks pursuant to franchise agreements until 1998.

Plaintiff Heintzelman’s was one of the highest-volume

Medium/Heavy Truck dealers in the Southeastern

United States. Heintzelman services a nationwide

market.

* * *

named Plaintiffs, proximately causing these other

dealers harm similar to that sustained by the named

Plaintiffs. Other dealers are entitled to recover dam-

ages in the same fashion as the named Plaintiffs.

COUNT TWO: VIOLATION OF THE

DEALER DAY IN COURT ACT

63. Plaintiffs incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 62 above as if fully set forth herein.

64. Ford’s breaches of the franchise agreements

as set forth in Count One with respect to the named

Plaintiffs and to other Ford franchised dealers were

willful and intentional and in bad faith, and such

conduct is moreover a breach of the duty of good faith

and fair dealing inherent in every contract and vi-

olates the Dealer Day in Court Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1221

et. seq.

65. Ford instituted the Appeal-Level CPA

discount program sc as to achieve the improper

objective of circumventing its contractual obligations

Resp. App. 13

to publish to each named Plaintiff and other dealers

the prices, charges, discounts and other terms of sale

and to sell its products, including Medium/Heavy

Trucks and Replacement Parts, only at published

prices, charges, discounts and other terms of sale.

66. Ford used its size and power to coerce and

intimidate the named Plaintiffs and other dealers

into using the Appeal-Level CPA discount program to

their detriment.

67. The Dealer Day in Court Act has further

been violated with respect to the named Plaintiffs

and other Ford franchised dealers by at least the

following: (a) Ford’s improper manipulation and

control of the named Plaintiffs’ profits and other

dealers’ profits; (b) Ford’s discriminatory, coercive and

unfair treatment of the named Plaintiffs and dealers

in the pricing of Medium/Heavy Trucks of like grade

and quality and Replacement Parts in violation of

Ford’s contractual obligations; and (c) Ford’s breach of

basic issues of trust and fairness in the business

marketplace.

68. Ford has failed to act in good faith and/or

has acted in bad faith in not performing or complying

with the terms and provisions of the franchise

agreement, in particular, but nov limited to, ¥ 10 in

the franchise agreements executed by the named

Plaintiffs and in the identical or substantially similar

paragraphs contained in the franchise agreements of

other Ford dealers.

Resp. App. 14

69. Ford’s violation of the Dealer Day in Court

Act has proximately caused Plaintiffs’ harm and

damages, including but not limited to: each named

Plaintiff was unaware of the lowest price at which

Ford sold comparable Medium/Heavy Trucks and

Replacement Parts to other Ford dealers; each named

Plaintiff paid more to Ford for certain comparable

Medium/Heavy Trucks and Replacement Parts than

did other dealers, and consequently, each named

Plaintiff’s profits on the resale of such Medium/

Heavy Trucks and Replacement Parts were wrongly

reduced; each named Plaintiff lost sales; and each

named Plaintiff lost profits on service.

70. Ford’s violation of the Dealer Day in Court

Act has proximately caused damages to each named

Plaintiff in an amount in excess of one million dollars

and to other dealers, and each named Plaintiff is

entitled to recover some or all of the following:

(A) lost profits on sales made equal to the

overcharges Ford imposed on said dealers in their

purchases of Ford products;

(B) lost profits on sales lost equal to the net

profits dealers could have earned on the initial sales

of Ford products had those sales been made;

(C) lost profits on sales of service and parts for

Medium/Heavy Trucks that dealers did not sell but

that would have been sold — and hence serviced — had

Ford not violated the law; and

Resp. App. 15

(D) loss of use of monies that Ford illegally kept

from dealers (the overcharges) or that Ford prevented

dealers from earning, equal to the level of interest

such monies would have earned if in the possession of

the dealers from the time such monies would have

been earned by dealers to the date of trial.

71. Ford’s violations of the Dealer Day in Court

Act affected each named Plaintiff and each class

member in similar or identical fashion, proximately

causing each named Plaintiff and other dealers harm.

Other dealers therefore are entitled to recover dam-

ages in the same fashion as the named Plaintiffs.

COUNT THREE: VIOLATION OF

THE ROBINSON-PATMAN ACT

(c) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members be awarded costs and expenses, including

reasonable attorneys’ fees;

(d) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members be awarded actual damages to be deter-

mined at the time of trial;

(e) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members be awarded treble damages as provided by

law;

(f) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members be awarded pre-judgment and _ post-

judgment interest as proscribed by law;

Resp. App. 16

(g) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members have such other and further relief as the

Court deems just and proper under the circums-

tances; and

(h) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members have a trial by jury.

Respectfully submitted,

POPE, MCGLAMRY, KILPATRICK

& MORRISON, LLP

/s/ C. Neal Pope

C. Neal Pope

Georgia Bar No. 583769

Michael L. McGlamry

Georgia Bar No. 492515

The Pinnacle, Suite 925

3455 Peachtree Road, N.E.

P. O. Box 191625 (31119-1625)

Atlanta, Georgia 30326-3243

(404) 523-7706

(404) 524-1648 — Fax

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C.

James A. Pikl

Texas Bar No. 16008850

P. O. Box 2939

McKinney, Texas 75070

(214) 544-7000

(214) 544-7001 — Fax

Resp. App. 17

BRINSON, ASKEW, BERRY,

SEIGLER, RICHARDSON

& DAVIS

Robert M. Brinson

Georgia Bar No. 082900

P. O. Box 5513

Rome, GA 30162-5513

(706) 291-8853

(706) 234-3574 — Fax

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFFS

Resp. App. 18

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD TRUCK *

SALES, INC., HEINTZEL- *

MAN’S TRUCK CENTER, *

INC., LJL TRUCK CEN- * CIVIL ACTION NO.

TER, INC., PEACH STATE *4:99-CV-173-RLV

FORD TRUCK SALES,

INC., and VALLEY FORD

TRUCK SALES, INC.,

individually and as Repre-

sentatives for a Class of

Similarly Situated Entities,

Plaintiffs,

*

vs.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

Defendant.

* * &€£ &© &€& &€ He HF HH HR

THIRD AMENDED COMPLAINT

AND PETITION FOR CLASS ACTION

(Filed Dec. 6, 2002)

COME NOW Plaintiffs Bayshore Ford Truck

Sales, Inc., Heintzelman’s Truck Center, Inc., Peach

State Ford Truck Sales, Inc., LJL Truck Center, Inc.,

and Valley Ford Truck Sales, Inc., individually and as

representatives for a class of similarly-situated

entities, and, pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 15 and this

Court’s Order —. 6 hg file this their

Third Amended Complaint and Petition for Class

Resp. App. 19

Action against Defendant Ford Motor Company. The

claims asserted in this Third Amended Complaint

and Petition arise out of the same transactions,

occurrences and conduct made the subject of and set

forth in Plaintiffs’ original Complaint and _ the

Amendments thereto, and accordingly, this Amended

Complaint and Petition relates back to the filing of

Plaintiffs’ original Complaint.

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this proceed-

ing in accordance with 28 U.S.C. $1331 because

certain causes of action alleged herein arise under the

laws of the United States, including, but not limited

to, 15 U.S.C. § 1221 et seq. and 28 U.S.C. § 2201, et

seq. In addition, this Court has jurisdiction over other

claims alleged herein pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367 in

that such claims are so related to claims over which

this Court has original jurisdiction that they form the

same case or controversy under Article III of the

United States Constitution.

2. Venue is proper in this district in accordance

with 28 U.S.C. § 1391 and 15 U.S.C. § 1222. Defen-

dant Ford Motor Company is engaged in interstate

commerce. Defendant Ford Motor Company does

business in this district and in this division. Defen-

dant Ford Motor Company is found in this district

and in this division. Defendant Ford Motor Company

has franchised dealers in this district and in this divi-

sion which have entered into franchise agreements and

Resp. App. 20

which sell Ford products. In addition, Plaintiff Peach

State Ford Truck Sales, Inc. and Plaintiff LJL Truck

Center, Inc. are corporations which do business in this

district. Thus, a substantial part of the acts or omis-

sions giving rise to the claims alleged herein occurred in

this district. Other dealers and potential class members

do business in this district and in this division.

PARTIES

3. Plaintiff Bayshore Ford Truck Sales, Inc.

(hereinafter “Bayshore”) is a Delaware corporation

with its principal place of business in New Castle,

Delaware. Bayshore became a Ford dealer in 1976

and sold Ford Medium-Duty and Heavy-Duty Trucks,

which are generally those trucks designated as Series

600 or above and which are hereinafter collectively

referred to as “Medium/Heavy Trucks”. Bayshore sold

such trucks pursuant to franchise agreements until

1998, at which time Ford Motor Company sold its

division which manufactured Medium/Heavy Trucks

te HN-80 Corporation, a division of Freightliner

Corporation. That sale is not the subject of this

action. Plaintiff Bayshore was one of the highest-

volume Ford Medium/Heavy Truck dealers in the

country. Bayshore services a nationwide market and

has customers throughout the United States.

4. Plaintiff Heintzelman’s Truck Center, Inc.

(hereinafter “Heintzelman’s) is a Florida corporation

with its principal place of business in Orlando,

Florida. Heintzelman became a Ford Medium/Heavy

Resp. App. 21

Truck dealer in 1973 and sold Ford Medium/Heavy

Trucks pursuant to franchise agreements until 1998.

Plaintiff Heintzelman’s was one of the highest-volume

Medium/Heavy Truck dealers in the Southeastern

United States. Heintzelman services a nationwide

market.

* * *

60. Ford’s breaches of the franchise agreements

were willful and intentional.

61. Ford’s breaches of the franchise agreements

proximately caused damages to each named Plaintiff

in an amount in excess of one million dollars and to

other dealers, and each named Plaintiff is entitled to

recover some or all of the following:

(A) lost profits on sales made equal to the

overcharges Ford imposed on said dealers in their

purchases of Ford products;

(B) loss of use of monies that Ford illegally kept

from dealers (the overages) or that Ford prevented

dealers from earning, equal to the level of interest

such monies would earn if in the possession of the

dealers from the time such monies would have been

earned by dealers to the date of trial.

62. Ford breached material provisions of the

franchise agreements of other dealers in the same

manner as it did with the named Plaintiffs, prox-

imately causing these other dealers harm similar to

that sustained by the named Plaintiffs. Other dealers

Resp. App. 22

are entitled to recover damages in the same fashion

as the named Plaintiffs.

COUNT TWO: VIOLATION OF THE

DEALER DAY IN COURT ACT

63. Plaintiffs incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 62 above as if fully set forth herein.

64. Ford’s breaches of the franchise agreements

as set forth in Count One with respect to the named

Plaintiffs and to other Ford franchised dealers were

willful and intentional and in bad faith, and such

conduct is moreover a breach of the duty of good faith

and fair dealing inherent in every contract and vi-

olates the Dealer Day in Court Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1221

et. seq.

65. Ford instituted the Appeal-Level CPA

discount program so as to achieve the improper

objective of circumventing its contractual obligations

to publish to each named Plaintiff and other dealers

the prices, charges, discounts and other terms of sale

and to sell its products, including Medium/Heavy

Trucks and Replacement Parts, only at published

prices, charges, discounts and other terms of sale.

66. Ford used its size and power to coerce and

intimidate the named Plaintiffs and other dealers

into using the Appeal-Level CPA discount program to

their detriment.

67. The Dealer Day in Court Act has further

been violated with respect to the named Plaintiffs

Resp. App. 23

and other Ford franchised dealers by at least the

following: (a) Ford’s improper manipulation and

control of the named Plaintiffs’ profits and other

dealers’ profits; (b) Ford’s discriminatory, coercive and

unfair treatment of the named Plaintiffs and dealers

in the pricing of Medium/Heavy Trucks of like grade

and quality and Replacement Parts in violation of

Ford’s contractual obligations; and (c) Ford’s breach of

basic issues of trust and fairness in the business

marketplace.

68. Ford has failed to act in good faith and/or

has acted in bad faith in not performing or complying

with the terms and provisions of the franchise

agreement, in particular, but not limited to, ¥ 10 in

the franchise agreements executed by the named

Plaintiffs and in the identical or substantially similar

paragraphs contained in the franchise agreements of

other Ford dealers.

69. Ford’s violation of the Dealer Day in Court

Act has proximately caused Plaintiffs’ harm and

damages, including but not limited to: each named

Plaintiff was unaware of the lowest price at which

Ford sold comparable Medium/Heavy Trucks and

Replacement Parts to other Ford dealers; each named

Plaintiff paid more to Ford for certain comparable

Medium/Heavy Trucks and Replacement Parts than

did other dealers, and consequently, each named

Plaintiff’s profits on the resale of such Medium/

Heavy Trucks and Replacement Parts were wrongly

reduced; each named Plaintiff lost sales; and each

named Plaintiff lost profits on service.

Resp. App. 24

70. Ford’s violation of the Dealer Day in Court

Act has proximately caused damages to each named

Plaintiff in an amount in excess of one million dollars

and to other dealers, and each named Plaintiff is

entitled to recover some or all of the following:

(A) lost profits on sales made equal to the

overcharges Ford imposed on said dealers in their

purchases of Ford products;

(B) lost profits on sales lost equal to the net

profits dealers could have earned on the initial sales

of Ford products had those sales been made;

(C) lost profits on sales of service and parts for

Medium/Heavy Trucks that dealers did not sell but

that would have been sold — and hence serviced — had

Ford not violated the law; and

(D) loss of use of monies that Ford illegally kept

from dealers (the overcharges) or that Ford prevented

dealers from earning, equal to the level of interest

such monies would have earned if in the possession of

the dealers from the time such monies would have

been earned by dealers to the date of trial.

71. Ford’s violations of the Dealer Day in Court

Act affected each named Plaintiff and each class

member in similar or identical fashion, proximately

causing each named Plaintiff and other dealers harm.

Other dealers therefore are entitled to recover dam-

ages in the same fashion as the named Plaintiffs.

Resp. App. 25

PLAINTIFFS’ PETITION FOR

CLASS CERTIFICATION

Plaintiffs incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 71 above as if fully set forth herein.

72. In accordance with Local Rule 23.1(A)(2),

Plaintiffs allege the following:

(a) The section of Fed.R.Civ.P. 23 which is

claimed to authorize maintenance of suit by

class action:

* * *

(e) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members be awarded pre-judgment and post-

judgment interest as proscribed by law;

(f) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members have such other and further relief as the

Court deems just and proper under the circums-

tances; and

(g) that the Plaintiffs and the putative class

members have a trial by jury.

Resp. App. 26

Respectfully submitted this___ day of ___, 2002

POPE, MCGLAMRY, KILPATRICK

& MORRISON, LLP

C. Neal Pope

Georgia Bar No. 583769

Michael L. McGlamry

Georgia Bar No. 492515

The Pinnacle, Suite 925

3455 Peachtree Road, N.E.

P. O. Box 191625 (31119-1625)

Atlanta, Georgia 30326-3243

(404) 523-7706

(404) 524-1648 — Fax

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C.

James A. Pikl

Texas Bar No. 16008850

P. O. Box 2939

McKinney, Texas 75070

(214) 544-7000

(214) 544-7001 — Fax

BRINSON, ASKEW, BERRY,

SEIGLER, RICHARDSON

& DAVIS

Robert M. Brinson

Georgia Bar No. 082900

P. O. Box 5513

Rome, GA 30162-5513

(706) 291-8853

(706) 234-3574 — Fax

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFFS

Resp. App. 27

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT

OF GEORGIA ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD ”

TRUCK SALES, INC., °

HEINTZELMAN’S TRUCK *

CENTER, INC., LJL *

TRUCK CENTER, INC., *

PEACH STATE FORD .

TRUCK SALES, INC., And *

VALLEY FORD TRUCK *

SALES, INC., Individually *

and as Representatives

for a Class of Similarly

Situated Entities,

Ps

.

K

Plaintiffs, .

Vv. *

FORD MOTOR :

COMPANY, é

+

Defendant.

CIVIL ACTION NO.

4:99-CV-173-RLV

PLAINTIFFS’ THIRD AMENDED RESPONSES

10 MANDATORY DISCLOSURES

(Filed May 12, 2003)

(1) State precisely the classification of the

cause(s) of action being filed, a brief factual outline of

the case including plaintiff’s contentions as to what

the defendant did or failed to do, and a succinct

statement of the legal issues in the case.

Resp. App. 28

Response:

This is a case originally alleging breach of con-

tract and violation of federal statutes by Ford Motor

Company brought as a class action by five franchised

Ford dealers. The federal Robinson-Patman Act

claims have been voluntarily dismissed by the Plain-

tiffs, and the federal Dealer Day in Court Act claims

were dismissed by the trial court by order dated

January 19, 2000. The only remaining claim for trial

is thus Plaintiffs’ state law breach of contract claims.

Ford breached its franchise contract obligations

by failing and refusing to publish all prices and

discounts for which it would sell Ford-brand products

to dealers, including medium and heavy trucks, and

by failing to fulfill its obligation to sell those trucks to

dealers at published prices and discounts. Ford has

admitted that it did not publish actual, true dealer

prices to its dealers, that it did not sell all trucks only

for published prices and that it sold medium and

heavy trucks below the prices that were published to

dealers and the documents produced in this case bear

this out.

The legal issues raised by this litigation are

whether Ford’s conduct violated the franchise agree-

ment (this issue has already been adjudicated to final

judgment in another proceeding in a different juris-

diction), and the amount of damages suffered by the

Plaintiffs proximately caused by Ford’s conduct.

(2) Describe in detail all statutes, codes, regula-

tions, legal principles, standards and customs or

Resp. App. 29

usages, and illustrative case law which plaintiff

contends are applicable to this action.

Response:

The contracts at issue contain a choice of law

provision that Michigan law governs in the event of a

dispute. Michigan law provides a cause of action for

breach of contract that is identical or virtually iden-

tical to that in every other United States jurisdiction.

That is, breach of contract is a cause of action found

when a contract party fails to fulfill a contract duty

and that failure proximately causes damages to the

other party. See, e.g., Admiral Ins. Co. v. Columbia

Cats. Ins. Co., 194 Mich. App. 300; 486 N.W.2d 351;

358 (Mich. App. 1992) (setting forth the elements of

breach of contract in Michigan). Michigan has a six-

year statute of limitations for breach of contract

actions such as this one. See: Michigan Code Anno-

tated, MCL 600.5807(8); MSA §27A.5807(8). However,

the Court may conclude that despite the choice of law

provision contained in the contract, Georgia law may

apply to the underlying dispute. See, e.g., Greensboro

Ford, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 568 S.E.2d 758 (Ga.App.

2002). Thus, to the extent that Michigan law differs,

Georgia law may appropriately be applied to the

underlying dispute.

Ford breached the franchise agreements with the

named plaintiffs and the other dealers. These breach-

es were willful and intentional and in bad faith, and

such conduct is a breach of the duty of good faith and

fair dealing inherent in every contract and violates

Resp. App. 30

the Dealer Day in Court Act, 15 U.S.C. sec. 1221 et

seq. The Dealer Day in Court Act has further been

violated in at least the following ways: (a) Ford’s

improper control and intimidation of the named

plaintiffs; (b) Ford’s discriminatory, coercive and

unfair treatment of the named plaintiffs and dealers

in the pricing of Heavy Trucks of like grade and

quality and Replacement Parts in violation of Ford’s

contractual obligations; and (c) Ford’s breach of basic

issues of trust and fairness in the business market

place.

Given that the Dealer Day in Court Act claims

have been dismissed from the case at present, they

will only be adjudicated following appeal and remand

of the claims by the appellate court, where necessary.

(3) Provide the name and, if known, the address

and telephone number of each individual likely to

have discoverable information relevant to disputed

facts alleged with particularity in the pleadings,

identifying the subjects of the information. (Attach

witness list to Responses to Mandatory Disclosures as

Attachment A).

Response:

Witness list attached.

(4) Provide the name of any person who may be

used at trial to present evidence under Rules 702, 703

or 705 of the Federal Rules of Evidence. For all

experts described in Fed.R.Civ.P. 26(a)(2)(B), provide

a separate written report satisfying the provisions of

Resp. App. 31

that rule. (Attach expert witness list and written

reports to Responses to Mandatory Disclosures as

Attachment B).

Response:

Mr. Fred Kinder will serve as an expert witness.

Mr. Kinder has previously furnished his report on the

Ford NAVIS and CPA databases, and the damage

calculations per Plaintiffs’ case theory. Mr. Kinder is

also planning to furnish supplemental report(s)

following further production of information being

withheld by Ford and discovery depositions that are

presently contemplated.

(5) Provide a copy of, or a description by catego-

ry and location of, all documents, data, compilations,

and tangible things in your possession, custody, or

control that are relevant to disputed facts alleged

with particularity in the pleadings. (Attach document

list and. descriptions to Responses to Mandatory

Disclosures as Attachment C).

Response:

Document list attached and supplied in Plaintiffs’

amended disclosures.

(6) In the space provided below, provide a

computation of any category of damages claimed by

you. In addition, include a copy of, describe by catego-

ry and location of, the documents or other evidentiary

materials bearing on the nature and extent of injuries

suffered, making such documents or evidentiary

material available for inspection and copying as

Resp. App. 32

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 34. (Attach any copies and de-

scriptions to Responses to Mandatory Disclosures as

Attachment D).

Response:

Descriptions and damages report attached.

(7) Attach for inspection and copying as under

Fed.R.Civ.P. 34 any insurance agreement under

which any person carrying on an insurance business

may be liable to satisfy part or all of a judgment

which may be entered in this action or to indemnity

or reimburse for payments made to satisfy the judg-

ment. (Attach copy of insurance agreement to Res-

ponses to Mandatory Disclosures as Attachment E).

Response:

N/A

(8) Disclose the full name, address, and tele-

phone number of all persons or legal entities who

have a subrogation interest in the cause of action set

forth in plaintiffs’ cause of action and state the basis

and extent of such interest.

Response:

N/A.

Resp. App. 33

/s/

[Illegible]

C. Neal Pope

Wade H. Tomlinson, III

POPE, McGLAMRY, KIL-

PATRICK, MORRISON

& NORWOOD, LLP

2nd Floor

1037 Front Ave.

P.O. Box 2128 (31902-2128)

Columbus, GA 31901-2515

(706) 324-0050

(706) 327-1536 — Fax

Michael L. McGlamry

POPE, McGLAMRY, KIL-

PATRICK, MORRISON

&; NORWOOD, LLP

The Pinnacle, Suite 925

3455 Peachtree Road, N.E.

P.O. Box 191625

(31119-1625)

Atlanta, GA 30326-3243

(404) 523-7706

(404) 524-1648 — Fax

Robert M. Brinson

I. Stewart Duggan

BRINSON, ASKEW,

BERRY, SEIGLER,

RICHARDSON & DAVIS

P.Q. Box 5513

Rome, GA 30162-5513

Resp. App. 34

James A. Pikl

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C.

P.O. Box 2939

McKinney, TX 75070

ATTORNEYS FOR

PLAINTIFFS

ERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on the 9th day of May, 2003,

a true and correct copy of the foregoing Plaintiffs’

Third Amended Responses to Mandatory Disclosures

was served via first class mail, postage pre-paid on

the following:

Billy M. Donley

Baker & Hostetler, LLP

1000 Louisiana, Suite 2000

Houston, Texas 77002-5009

Carey P. DeDeyn

Sutherland, Asbill & Brennan, LLP

999 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Atlanta, GA 30309-3996

/s/ (INegible]

Michael L. McGlamry

Resp. App. 35

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD TRUCK |

SALES, INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs, | CIVIL ACTION

Vv. NO. 4:99-CV-173-RLV

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, |

Defendant. |

ORDER

(Filed Oct. 22, 2007)

The parties are directed to file briefs addressing

the question of whether Pintando v. Miami-Dade

Housing Agency ___ F.3d ___ (11th Cir. September 25,

2007), 2007 WL 2768452, requires that this action be

dismissed for lack of supject matter jurisdiction. The

briefs are to be filed no later than November 2, 2007.

No response briefs will be permitted.

SO ORDERED, this 22nd day of October, 2007.

/s/ Robert L. Vining, Jr.

ROBERT L. VINING, JR.

Senior United States

District Judge

Resp. App. 36

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD TRUCK

SALES, INC. HEINTZEL-

MAN’S TRUCK CENTER,

INC. LJL TRUCK CENTER,

INC., PEACH STATE FORD

TRUCK SALES, INC., AND

VALLEY FORD TRUCK

SALES, INC., Individually

and as Representatives

for a Class of Similarly

Situated Entities,

Plaintiffs,

CIVIL ACTION

NO.: 4:99-CV-0173-RLV

VS.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

Defendant.

COP COR Gn SOP 02 C2 WOR OR WOR WO? 2 LR KN MD LO? KH MM

RULE 12(b)(6) MOTION OF FORD MOTOR

COMPANY TO DISMISS PLAINTIFFS’

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

AND PETITION FOR CLASS ACTION

(Filed Nov. 8, 1999)

Pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, Defendant Ford Motor Company

moves the Court to dismiss Plaintiffs’ Second

Amended Complaint and Petition for Class Action

against Ford Motor Company for the reason that the

Second Amended Complaint and Petition for Class

Resp. App. 37

Action fails to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

In accordance with Local Rule 7.1(A)(1), Defen-

dant Ford Motor Company contemporaneously files

its memorandum in support of this motion, which

memorandum is incorporated herein by reference as

if fully set forth.

Wherefore, Defendant Ford Motor Company

respectfully requests that the Court grant the relief

requested herein, and enter an order dismissing

Plaintiffs’ Second Amended Complaint and Petition

for Class Action with prejudice, and grant such other

and further relief to which Defendant Ford Motor

Company may be entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

BAKER & HOSTETLER Lip

By: /s/ Kenneth R. Valka By C P DeDeyn

Kenneth R. Valka

State Bar No. 20435300

Billy M. Donley

State Bar No. 05977085

1000 Louisiana, Suite 2000

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 751-1600

(713) 751-1717 (FAX)

' OF COUNSEL:

Resp. App. 38

SUTHERLAND ASBILL &

BRENNAN LLP

By: /s/ Carey P. DeDeyn

Carey P. DeDeyn

Georgia Bar No. 215650

999 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309-3996

(404) 853-8000

(404) 853-8806

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT

FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Resp. App. 39

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

BAYSHORE FORD TRUCK

SALES, INC. HEINTZEL-

MAN’S TRUCK CENTER,

INC. LJL TRUCK CENTER,

INC., PEACH STATE FORD

TRUCK SALES, INC., AND

VALLEY FORD TRUCK

SALES, INC., Individually

and as Representative

for a Class of Similarly

Situated Entities,

Plaintiffs,

CIVIL ACTION

NO.: 4:99-CV-0173-RLV

Vs.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF LAW OF FORD

MOTOR COMPANY IN SUPPORT OF ITS

MOTION TO DISMISS THE PLAINTIFFS’

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

AND PETITION FOR CLASS ACTION

(Filed Nov. 8, 1999)

Pursuant to Rulel2(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure and Local Rule 7, Defendant, Ford

Motor Company (“Ford”), submits this its memoran-

dum of law in support of its motion to dismiss Plain-

tiffs’ Second Amended Complaint and Petition for

Resp. App. 40

Class Action, and would respectfully show this Court

as follows:

I. INTRODUCTION

This lawsuit concerns Plaintiffs’ complaints

about Ford’s operation of its “competitive price assis-

tance” program (referred to either as “CPA” or “CPA

program”). Ford’s CPA program was Ford’s principal

allowance program for its heavy-trucks and involved

certain allowances from Ford to its heavy-truck

dealers which were either credited or paid by Ford to

its dealers.’

Plaintiffs complain that Ford’s operation of its

CPA program violates the contract with its heavy-

truck dealers and is a violation of the federal Auto-

mobile Dealer’s Day in Court Act (“Dealer Act”) and

the Robinson-Patman Act. The key concept behind

Plaintiffs’ claims against Ford is their theory that

each Plaintiff was entitled to purchase medium and

heavy-duty trucks from Ford at the lowest discounted

price that Ford offered to any other dealer in the

country on what Plaintiffs argue was a “comparable

truck.”

This is not the first time that a Ford heavy-truck

dealer has challenged Ford’s CPA program on federal

' Ford and HN-80 Corporation, a whelly owned subsidiary

of Freightliner Corporation, entered into an agreement in 1997

in which HN-80 Corporation agreed to acquire certain of Ford’s

heavy-truck assets.

Resp. App. 41

statutory grounds.” There have been two other chal-

lenges, each of which was unsuccessful.’ In those two

challenges, Ford’s CPA program withstood judicial

scrutiny on federal antitrust and Dealer Act claims

that are very similar to those brought by Plaintiffs in

this case. In Metro Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford

Motor Company, 145 F.3d 320 (5th Cir. 1998), cert.

denied, 119 S.Ct. 390 (Jan. 11, 1999)’, the Fifth

Circuit Court of Appeals reviewed how Ford operated

this exact same CPA program and summarily rejected

the plaintiffs’ Robinson-Patman Act ciaims finding

* This is also not the first time that Ford had been sued for

breach of contract on the contractual provision at issue in this

case. The heavy-truck dealer in Cause No. 94-7174b; Metro Ford

Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Company, in the 44th Judicial

District Court of Dallas County, Texas sued Ford for breach of

contract. Although Metro prevailed on the liability finding for

breach of contract, the jury returned a verdict that Metro

suffered zero damages. This case, including the liability finding,

is currently on appeal to the Dallas Court of Appeals.

* In addition, Mack Truck, Inc., one of Ford’s competitors,

had a program very similar to Ford’s CPA program. Mack

Truck’s version of the CPA program was called “sales assistance

program”. Mack Truck’s operation of its program was considered

in Lewis Service Center, Inc. v. Mack Truck Inc., 714 F.2d 842

(8th Cir. 1983). In that case, the Eighth Circuit found that Mack

Truck’s program was not a violation of the federal antitrust law,

but was instead pro-competitive. Lewis, 714 F.2d at 848. The

Lewis Court also found that such programs lower retail prices to

consumers and increase interbrand competition. /d.; see also

Metro Ford, 145 F.3d 320.

* Metro Ford is the progenitér of this case. The Plaintiffs in

this case are represented by the attorney who also represents

the dealer in the Metro Ford case, Mr. Jim Pikl.

Resp. App. 42

that Ford’s operation of its CPA program did not

amount to price discrimination as a matter of law.

Metro Ford, 145 F.3d at 325-26. Likewise, a federal

district court in Atlanta summarily rejected a dealer’s

allegations that Ford violated the Dealer Act and

federal antitrust laws because of the manner in which

Ford operated its CPA program. Capital Ford Truck

Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Company, 819 F. Supp.

1555, 65-76, 80-83 (N.D. Ga. 1992).

As shown below, Plaintiffs, by their Second

Amended Complaint and Petition for Class Action

(hereinafter “Complaint”), allege the same federal

statutory claims that the Metro Ford and Capital

Ford plaintiffs unsuccessfully alleged against Ford.

Similarly, the federal claims asserted by these Plain-

tiffs. as well as the breach of contract allegation, fail

to state a claim upon which relief can be granted;

therefore, these claims should be dismissed with

prejudice.

Il. STATEMENT OF ALLEGED FACTS

The salient facts, as alleged by Plaintiffs and

accepted as true for purposes of Ford’s motion to

dismiss, are as follows’: Ford manufactured and sold

* Since Rule 12(bX6) requires that all well-pleaded be taken

as true, Ford liberally quotes from the facts as stated by Plain-

tiffs in their Complaint. However, Ford is, in no way, adopting

these alleged facts as true; rather, the salient facts are being

included herein for the Court’s convenience.

Resp. App. 43

both medium-duty trucks and heavy-duty trucks from

at least 1980 through 1998.° (Complaint, at 9.)

These trucks were typically ordered by dealers for

resale to a particular retail customer, and were

configured to the retail customer’s specifications. (Jd.

at 4 12.) Some dealers, including Plaintiffs, operated

under the “Ford Heavy-Duty Truck Sales and Service

Agreement” and some other dealers operated under

the “Ford Truck Sales and Service Agreement.” (Jd. at

71 15, 16.) These agreements are in all relevant tams

identical or substantially identical to one another. (Jd.

at J 21.) Paragraph

* * *

the identity of the retail customer and the proposed

retail price. (/d. at ¥ 37.) Ford allegedly then, in its

sole discretion, would give either no CPA, an insuffi-

cient amount of CPA to close the deal, or just enough

CPA to allow each dealer to realize a profit margin

somewhere between 0 and 4 percent of the total retail

price.’ (Id.) From time to time, according to Plaintiffs,

Ford’s appeal-level CPA discounts varied by as much

as $15,000 on supposedly “comparable trucks”. (/d. at

q 40.); See Section D(1\a) infra. Plaintiffs define

“comparable trucks” for purposes of their claims as

* Although Ford no longer manufactures or sells heavy-duty

trucks, it does continue to manufacture and sell medium-duty

trucks.

" An allegation very similar to this one was made by the

plaintiff and rejected by the court in Capital Ford Truck Sales,

Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 819 F.Supp. 1555, 1566 (N.D. Ga. 1992).

Resp. App. 44

“trucks [of] the same model, same series, have iden-

tical Wholesale Delivered base prices, and have a

Total Truck Values (the total Wholesale Delivered

Price of the truck, including the base chassis and all

options) within plus or minus one percent (1%) of

each other.” (Complaint, at 713.)

In their Complaint, Plaintiffs also allege that

Ford operated a secret replacement parts discount

program whereby some, but not all, dealers obtained

unpublished discounts off Ford’s ordinary, published

wholesale prices. (Complaint, at 7 41 and 43.) How-

ever, Plaintiffs also admit that they have no idea if

such a program actually existed. (/d. at 42.)

Ill. ARGUMENT IN SUPPORT OF FORD’S

MOTION TO DISMISS

A. Standard Of Review.

Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure requires that all well-pleaded facts are to be

taken as true; and then it is for this Court to decide

whether the facts alleged entitle Plaintiffs to some

legal remedy. Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46

(1957). To survive a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, however,

Plaintiffs must allege specific facts, not conclusions.

Elliott v. Foufas, 867 F.2d 877, 881 (5th Cir. 1989).

Conclusory allegations and unwarranted factual

deductions are not taken as true. Associated Builders,

Inc. v. Alabama Power Co., 505 F.2d 97, 100 (5th Cir.

Resp. App. 45

1974); Atlanta Gas Light Co. v. Southern Natural

Gas Co., 338 F. Supp. 1039, 1041 (N.D. Ga. 1972).

B. Plaintiffs Fail To State A Claim For

Breach of Contract.

1. The Terms of the Contract.

Plaintiffs’ claim that Ford breached paragraph 10

of the franchise agreement, which paragraph is set

forth in their Complaint as follows:

Sales of COMPANY PRODUCTS by the

Company to the Dealer hereunder will be

made in accordance with the prices, charges,

discounts and other terms of sale set forth in

price schedules or other notices published by

the Company to the Dealer from time to time

in accordance with applicable HEAVY DUTY

TRUCK TERMS OF SALE BULLETIN or

PARTS AND ACCESSORIES TERMS OF

SALE BULLETIN. Except as otherwise spec-

ified in writing by the Company, such prices,

charges, discounts and terms of sale shall be

those in effect, and delivery to the Dealer

shall be deemed to have been made and the

order deemed to have been filed on the date

of delivery to the carrier or the Dealer,

whichever occurs first. The Company has the

right at any time and from time to time to

* Fifth Circuit cases decided before October 1, 1981, are

binding precedent in this circuit. Bonner v. City of Pritchard,

661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (11th Cir. 1991) (en banc).

Resp. App. 46

change or eliminate prices, charges, dis-

counts, allowances, rebates, refunds or other

terms of sale affecting COMPANY PROD-

UCTS by issuing a new HEAVY DUTY

TRUCK or PARTS AND ACCESSORIES

TERMS OF SALE BULLETIN, new price

schedules or other notices.

(Complaint, at 4 22.). Based on this provision, Plain-

tiffs allege that Ford “had contractual duties to

publish to each named Piaintiff ... all prices,

charges, discounts and other terms of sale, and to sell

its products .. . only at published prices.” (Complaint,

at 7 52.)

Plaintiffs admit that Ford published its whole-

sale delivered prices for trucks and parts to Plaintiffs.

(Complaint, at { 34.) Plaintiffs also admit that Ford

published its “Rainbow Schedule” and “Sales-

Advantage” CPA discounts to Plaintiffs. (Complaint,

at 4 39.) Accordingly, the

* * oe

Therefore, even assuming Ford had published the

price reflecting appeal-level CPA amounts on every

truck sold to every dealer, the unambiguous terms of

paragraph 10 plainly allow Ford to change its truck

prices. Thus, Plaintiffs fail to state a breach of con-

tract claim against Ford.

Resp. App. 47

C. Plaintiffs Fail To State A Claim For Re-

lief Under The Automobile Dealer Day

In Court.

The “factual” support for Plaintiffs’ Dealer Act

claim is premised on two notions. Plaintiffs’ primary

idea is that Ford was contractually required to pub-

lish to each of its dealers the appeal-level CPA price

that Ford gave to any one of its dealers. (Complaint,

at 47 22, 35, 47 and 48.) A second notion, which

Plaintiffs fail to develop in their Complaint, is Ford

was contractually required to publish allegedly

available, but secret, discounts on replacement parts.

(Complaint, at 74 41-43.) Based on these two notions,

Plaintiffs allege that Ford violated the Dealer Act

because:

1) Ford failed to act with good faith and fair

dealing in performance of the contract (Com-

plaint, at 7{ 64, 68);

2) Ford circumvented the contract by failing to

publish its appeal-level CPA discount pro-

gram (Complaint, at ¥ 65);

3) Ford “used its size and power to coerce and

intimidate” dealers into using the appeal-

level CPA (Complaint, at ¥ 66); and

4) Ford improperly manipulated and controlled

Plaintiffs’ profits by “discriminatory, coercive

and unfair treatment” in the pricing of its

trucks and replacement parts....” (Com-

plaint, J 67).

Resp. App. 48

As shown below, these allegations — whether viewed

collectively or individually — fail to state any claim for

relief under the Dealer Act.

1. Plaintiffs Do Not Allege Facts Suf-

ficient to State a Claim Under the

Dealer Act.

The Dealer Act authorizes suits by automobile

dealers “operating under the terms of a franchise”

against manufacturers only when the manufacturer

fails “to act in good faith... .” 15 U.S.C. §§1221(c) and

1222. By using a standard of “good faith”, it appears

at first glance that the act is very broad in its applica-

tion. However, the Dealer Act gives “good faith” a

narrower meaning than it ordinarily may have. “Good

faith” is defined by the act as follows:

The term “good faith” shall mean the duty of

each party to any franchise, and all officers,

employees, or agents thereof to act in a fair

and equitable manner toward each other so

as to guarantee the one party freedom from

coercion, intimidation, or threats of coercion

or intimidation from the other party: Pro-

vided, that recommendation. endorsement,

exposition, persuasion, urging or argument

shall not be deemed to constitute a lack of

good faith.

15 U.S.C. §1221(e). The Dealer Act is strictly con-

strued; thus, in order to prove a lack of good faith as

is necessary for a claim under the act, a party must

plead and prove actual or threatened coercion or

Resp. App. 49

intimidation by the manufacturer. Cabriolet Porsche

Audi, Inc. v. American Honda Motor Co., 773 F.2d

1193, 1210 (llth Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S.

1122 (1986); Bob Maxfield Inc. v. American Motors

Corp., 637 F.2d 1033, 1038 (5th Cir. Unit A Feb.

1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 860 (1981); Capital Ford

Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 819 F. Supp.

1555, 1565 (N.D. Ga. 1992). Likewise, “fa] mere

showing of arbitrary or other bad conduct absent

coercion is not a sufficient ground for recovery” under

the Dealer Act. H.C. Blackwell Company, Inc. uv.

Kenworth Truck Co., 620 F.2d 104, 106 (5th Cir.

1980).

Aliso, in order to state a Dealer Act claim, the

alleged coercive or intimidating conduct must reflect a

wrongful demand by a manufacturer that would

result in sanctions should a dealer fail to comply. See,

e.g., Colonial Dodge, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., 11

F. Supp. 2d 737, 743 (D. Md. 1996); Fray Chevrolet

Sales, Inc. v. General Motors Corp., 536 F.2d 683,

68586 (6th Cir. 1976). As noted by the district court in

Colonial Dodge, of the ten circuit courts of appeals

that have addressed this issue, all ten have held that

coercion or intimidation must include a wrongful

demand that is accompanied by a threat of sanctions

for noncompliance. Colonial Dodge, 11 F. Supp. 2d at

743 (citing cases from the first through ten circuit

courts of appeals that require a wrongful demand

Resp. App. 50

accompanied by a threat of sanctions).” Therefore, for

Plaintiffs to allege coercion or intimidation as re-

quired to state a claim under the act, they must

allege a wrongful demand by Ford directed to Plain-

tiffs that would result in sanctions against Plaintiffs

if the demand was not met.

Nothing in the Complaint comes close to stating

that Ford coerced or intimidated Plaintiffs through a

wrongful demand that, if not complied with, would

result in sanctions against Plaintiffs by Ford. In-

stead, Plaintiffs’ merely allege that (1) the dealers

were required to disclose the customer’s identity and

the previously agreed upon retail price to Ford, (2)

Ford did not publish prices as Plaintiffs claim Ford

was required to do under the contracts between Ford

and the Plaintiffs, and (3) Ford operated a secret

parts discount program. (Complaint, at { 37.) There-

fore, Plaintiffs have failed to allege a lack of “good

° However, in the case of Stamps v. Ford Motor Co., 650

F. Supp. 390 (N.D. Ga. 1986) (Shoob, J.), a district court declined

to apply the “wrongful demand” standard because the court

believed that the standard had not been addressed by the

Eleventh Circuit. Stamps, 650 F. Supp. at 396, n.5. It appears

that the Stamps Court did not consider the binding precedent of

H.C. Blackwell v. Kenworth Trucking Company, 620 F.2d 104,

106 (5th Cir. 1980). In Blackwell, the court stated that for

purposes of the Dealer Day Act “[bJad faith may consist of

coercive conduct manifested by ‘a wrongful demand which will

result in sanctions if not complied with.’” This statement from

Blackwell was adopted by the court in Capital Ford Truck Sales,

Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 829 F.Supp. 1555, 1566 (N.D. Ga. 1992).

Resp. App. 51

faith” by Ford as required to state a claim under the

Dealer Act.

2. The Dealer Act Does Not Apply to

an Alleged Breach of Contract.

Central to Plaintiffs’ Dealer Act claim is their

allegation that Ford breached its contracts with

Plaintiffs by not publishing to all of its dealers the

appeal-level CPA provided to any one dealer. (Com-

plaint, 79 64, 65 and 68). The Dealer Act does not

create a cause of action or remedy for breach of con-

tract. Hanley v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 433 F.2d 708,

710 (10th Cir. 1970); Globe Motors, Inc. v. Studebak-

er-Packard Corp., 328 F.2d 645, 646 (3rd Cir. 1964);

Quarles v. General Motors Corp., 597 F. Supp. 1037

(D.C.N.Y. 1984), aff’d 758 F.2d 839 (2nd Cir. 1985);

General Motors Corp. v. MAC Co., 247 F.Supp. 723,

731 (D. Colo. 1965). Moreover, allegations that a

manufacturer insisted on its contractual rights do not

state a Dealer Act claim. Clifford Jacobs Motors, Inc.

v. Chrysler Corp., 357 F.Supp. 564, 574 (W.D. Ohio

1973). Therefore, Plaintiffs’ breach of contract allega-

tions fail to state a claim under the Dealer Act.

3. Allegations that Ford Actions Were

in Bad Faith or Unfair do Not State

a Claim Under the Dealer Act.

Also, Plaintiffs claim that Ford’s actions violate

the Dealer Act because they were in bad faith and

unfair. (Complaint, {9 64, 67 and 68). Allegations of

Resp. App. 52

this nature do not state a claim under the Dealer Act.

As the court in American Honda succinctly observed,

[c]ase law is clear that a manufacturer fails

to act in good faith for purposes of recovering

under this Act only if its conduct amounts to

coercion or intimidation. In absence of coer-

cion, intimidation or threats thereof, there

can be no recovery under the Act, even if the

manufacturer otherwise acts in ‘bad faith’ as

that term is normally used.

American Honda, 773 F.2d at 1210 (emphasis added).

Likewise, claims that a manufacturer’s actions were

unfair do not state a Dealer Act claim. See also,

Pearson v. Ford Motor Co., 865 F. Supp. 1504, 1511

(N.D. Fla. 1994) (automobile manufacturer’s alleged

“lack of fairness” in contractual performance does not

give rise to a Dealer Act claim). Therefore, Plaintiffs

fail to state a Dealer Act claim against Ford.

4. Plaintiffs’ Aliegations Concerning

Their Profits are not Sufficient to

State a Claim.

In addition, the ecbiinione allegation that Plain-

tiffs make in support of their Dealer Act claim does

not support a claim under the act. Plaintiffs allege

that Ford improperly manipulated and controlled

Plaintiffs’ profits by “discriminatory, coercive and

unfair treatment” in the pricing of its trucks and

replacement parts... .” (Complaint, {4 66, 67).

Resp. App. 53

A similar allegation was made by a Ford dealer

and rejected by the court in Capital Ford Truck Sales,

Inc. v. Ford Motor Company, 819 F. Supp. 1555 (N.D.

Ga. 1992). In considering that allegation, the Capital

Ford Court rejected plaintiff’s argument, observing

that,

[tlhe cornerstone of Plaintiffs’ Dealer Act

claims is the assertion that Ford Motor

structured its pricing system so as to restrict

dealer profits to a level insufficient for Capi-

tal Ford to remain in business. It is beyond

dispute, however, that a manufacturer is free

to set prices at any level it chooses. The

claim that manufacturer price levels are set

too high, or fail to provide a sufficient profit

margin for dealers, is insufficient to give rise

to a cognizable claim under the Dealer Act.

Id. at 1566 (emphasis added) (citing Overseas Motors,

Inc. v. Import Motors, Lid., 519 F. 2d 119 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 987 (1975). Thus, Plaintiffs

allegations regarding their profit margin fail to state

a claim under the Dealer Act. For the above reasons,

Plaintiffs fail to state a claim for relief under the

Dealer Act, and that claim should be dismissed with

prejudice.

D. Plaintiffs Fail To State A Claim Under

The Robinson-Patman Act.

Plaintiffs’ complaint that Ford violated Section

2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act is based on the same

allegations that Plaintiffs claim support their other

Resp. App. 54

causes of action — Ford sold trucks and replacement

parts to some dealers at prices and discounts that

were not published to all dealers. (Complaint, at 773.)

As with Plaintiffs’ other claims, these allegations do

not state a claim under the Robinson-Patman Act.

* * *

(W.D.N.Y. 1991) (could not satisfy two purchaser rule

because plaintiff had not purchased vehicles of simi-

lar type).

Since only bidders on the same contract are in

competition with each other, Plaintiffs’ claims that

they successfully bid for some truck sales under

different contracts during the relevant time period

fails to qualify it as a competing purchaser under the

Act, as was expressly held in M.C. Manufacturing,

517 F.2d at 1066-67. Once the award is made, the

bidders are simply no longer competitors. Subsequent

sales of vehicles to each successful bidder to fulfill the

contracts (or portions of contracts) that they have

already won are not sales to competing customers. /d.

Since Plaintiffs have not pled and cannot satisfy the

two-purchaser rule, Plaintiffs’ Robinson-Patman

claim should dismissed with prejudice.

IV. CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons stated above, this Court

should grant the motion to dismiss of Ford Motor

Company and dismiss Plaintiffs’ Second Amended

Resp. App. 55

Complaint And Petition For Class Action with preju-

dice.

Respectfully submitted,

BAKER & HOSTETLER LLP

By: /s/ Kenneth R. Valka By C P DeDeyn

Kenneth R. Valka

State Bar No. 20435300

Billy M. Donley

State Bar No. 05977085

1000 Louisiana, Suite 2000

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 751-1600

(713) 751-1717 (FAX)

OF COUNSEL:

SUTHERLAND ASBILL &

BRENNAN LLP

By: /s/ Carey P. DeDeyn

Carey P. DeDeyn

Georgia Bar No. 215650

999 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309-3996

(404) 853-8000

(404) 853-8806

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT

FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Resp. App. 56

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

Bayshore Ford Truck Sales,

Inc., Heintzelman’s Truck

Center, Inc., Peach State

Ford Truck Sales, Inc. and

Valley Ford Truck Sales,

Inc., individually and as

representatives for a class of

similarly situated entities,

Plaintiffs,

Civil Action No.

4:99-cv-173-RLV

VS.

Ford Motor Company,

Defendant.

§

§

§

§

§

§

.

§

§

§

§

8

§

§

PLAINTIFFS’ RESPONSE

TO FORD’S MOTION TO DISMISS

(Filed Nov. 26, 1999)

COME NOW Plaintiffs and file their response to

Ford Motor Company’s (“Ford’s”) Motion to Dismiss.

Ford’s Motion and Memorandum of Law do not sup-

port the relief Ford seeks. Plaintiffs have properly

pleaded their claims in conformity with Fed.R.Civ.P. 8

and this Court’s directive. Thus, on the merits, Ford’s

Motion should be denied. In addition, Ford’s Motion

includes and refers to matters outside the record and

pleadings in this case, and so it must be denied as a

Resp. App. 57

Rule 12 motion to dismiss.’ Ford’s Motion also does

not accurately cite to case authority and expressly

cites cases for propositions that are not contained in

those cases; hence, Ford’s Motion lacks legal authori-

ty. Finally, the applicable and controlling case law

supports the Plaintiffs’ contention that Ford’s Motion

must be denied. Every case Ford cites as authority for

its legal arguments was a case decided either on

summary judgment or after trial on the merits; not a

single case cited by Ford is one granting a motion to

dismiss.

ARGUMENT AND

CITATION OF AUTHORITIES

I. THE APPLICABLE STANDARD AND

FORD’S BURDEN

Ford must establish that Plaintiffs have failed to

state a cause of action upon which relief may be

' See Lowe v. Town of Fairland, Okla., 143 F.3d 1378

(10th Cir.1998); Property Mgt. Investments v. Lewis, 752 F.2d

599 (11th Cir.1985). Discovery has yet to commence. This Court

should not convert Ford’s motion into one for summary judg-

ment, in that Plaintiffs have not been allowed to develop

evidence with which to respond. This is particularly true here,

where Ford has refused to agree that Plaintiffs can review the

record in other similar litigation which would allow Plaintiffs to

respond to Ford’s “evidence.” See generally, Piaintiffs’ Motion for

Scheduling Order, and Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in support, both

of which were filed on or about November 1, 1999. If this Court

is inclined to treat this Motion to Dismiss as a Motion for

Summary Judgment, Plaintiffs urge the court to grant them

discovery and additional time to respond.

Resp. App. 58

granted. One commentator described this burden as

follows:

When considering a 12(b)(6) motion, the

court presumes that all the allegations of the

complaint are true; it resolves all doubts or

inferences in the plaintiff’s favor; and it

reads the complaint in the light most favora-

ble to the plaintiff. ... Because the plaintiff

is given every benefit of the doubt in both

law and fact, the 12(b)(6) motion theoretical-

ly requires the movant to “play out” every

factual scenario that could be contained in

the four corners of the complaint, and then

apply the applicable legal standards. Simi-

larly, every plausible legal theory that might

provide relief to the plaintiff, based on the

facts pleaded, must be considered.

Haig, Business and Commercial Litigation in Federa:

Courts, Vol. 1, page 324-25 (West 1998). See also

Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186, 202 (1986),

(complaint should not be dismissed merely because

plaintiff’s allegations do not support the particular

legal theory he advances; the court is under a duty to

examine the complaint to determine if the allegations

provide for relief on any possible theory); Scheurer v.

Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 234 (1974) (when reviewing

the sufficiency of a complaint before the reception of

any evidence, the court’s task is a limited one; the

issue is not whether the plaintiff will prevail but

whether the claimant is entitled to offer evidence in

support of the claims); Quality Foods de Centro

America, S.A. v. Latin American Agribusiness

Resp. App. 59

Development Corp., 711 F.2d 984, 995(11th Cir.

1983) (motion to dismiss should be denied unless

defendant shows beyond doubt that plaintiffs can

prove no set of facts entitling them to relief). This

standard is particularly true in an antitrust suit

where the proof and details of the alleged violations

are largely in the hands of the alleged violators. See

id. at 995. See also Municipal Utilities Bd. Of

Albertsville v. Alabama Power Co., 934 F.2d 1493,

1501 (11th Cir. 1991) (notice pleading is all that is

required for a valid antitrust complaint). Plaintiffs

here have alleged violations of the Robinson-Patman

Act, 15. U.S. C. §13(a), which is a count alleging

violations of the antitrust laws.

All inferences, both factual and legal, must be

indulged in support of the plaintiffs’ claims. Conley v.

Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957); Miree v. Dekalb

County, Georgia, 433 U.S. 25, 27 n.2 (1977); Davis

v. Monroe County Bd. of Educ., ____ U.S. __, 119

S.Ct. 1661, 1676 (1999). Because of the Constitutional

implications, this reluctance to grant motions to

dismiss is more than a mere theoretical construct. A

motion to dismiss, if granted, not only deprives the

plaintiffs of their Constitutional right to trial, but

also denies plaintiffs’ their ability to conduct discov-

ery that may lead to facts that would entitle them to

trial. Thus, the motion to dismiss is generally re-

served for situations where the legal issues are clear

and undisputed, such as when a case is precluded by

the statute of limitations, Uboh v. Reno, 141 F.3d

1000 (11th Cir. 1998), or where governmental immunity

Resp. App. 60

is plainly evident, McCallum v. City of Athens,

Georgia, 976 F.2d 649 (11th Cir. 1992). Such motions

are inappropriate where fact issues must be developed

to determine whether the plaintiff’s allegations are

viable. “In appraising the sufficiency of the complaint

we follow, of course, the accepted rule that a com-

plaint should not be dismissed for failure to state a

claim unless it appears beyond doubt that the plain-

tiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claim

which would entitle him to relief.” Conley, 355 U.S.

at 45-46.

Ford ignores this standard in its Motion and in

the accompanying Memorandum. Rather than citing

cases and presenting argument to the effect that

Plaintiffs have failed to state a claim for which relief

could be granted, Ford cites and relies on cases in far

different procedural postures, in particular, cases that

have been resolved on motion for summary judgment.

See, e.g., Capital Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford

Motor Co., 819 F.Supp. 1555 (N.D.Ga.1992) (Capital

Ford II;’ Metro Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford

Motor Co., 145 F.3d 320 (5th Cir. 1993). These deci-

sions, and others cited by Ford, were rendered after

discovery had been undertaken. In urging this Court

to grant its Motion to Dismiss in reliance on these

inapposite cases, Ford seeks the benefit of situations

* In an earlier decision more pertinent to the inquiry here,

the court denied Ford’s motion to dismiss. See Capital Ford

Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 779 F.Supp. 1345

(N.D.Ga.1990) (Capital Ford I).

Resp. App. 61

wherein the facts, not the pleadings, were found

wanting. This Court should not dismiss this action

before Plaintiffs are allowed to discover and present

that which might not have been presented in other

cases.

Il. PLAINTIFFS’ ALLEGATIONS

This Court already has some familiarity with

Plaintiffs’ allegations, in that the Court reviewed

Plaintiffs’ Complaint and Defendant’s Motion for

More Definite Statement. Plaintiffs filed their Second

Complaint and Petition for Class Action (“Second

Complaint”) on or about October 21, 1999. Therein,

Plaintiffs, which are franchised Ford dealers, have

brought three distinct but factually-related claims

against Ford: breach of contract; violation of the

Dealer Day in Court Act, 15 U.S. C. § 1221 et. seq.;

and violation of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S. C.

§ 13(a).

Rule 8(a) requires that Plaintiffs set forth a short

and plain statement of the claim showing that they

are entitled to relief. Here, Plaintiffs have alleged a

valid contract supported by adequate consideration

that Ford has breached by failing to publish prices,

charges, discounts and other terms of sale, and by

failing to sell its products in accordance with such

published prices, charges, discounts and other terms

of sale. See Second Complaint at Js 22, 49-58. Ford

can deny these allegations, but it cannot contend that

the allegations do not provide Ford with notice of the

Resp. App. 62

claims, and it cannot credibly contend that these

allegations do not state a claim upon which relief can

be granted.

In alleging violations of the Dealer Day in Court

Act, Plaintiffs alleged that Ford instituted the Ap-

peal-Level CPA program’® to circumvent its contrac-

tual obligations and duties and used its size and

power to coerce and intimidate Ford dealers into

using the Appeal-Level CPA discount program.

Second Complaint at {Qs 65-66. Again, these allega-

tions inform Ford of Plaintiffs’ claim sufficiently to

survive a motion to dismiss.

Finally, Plaintiffs have adequately pleaded Ford’s

violations of the Robinson-Patman Act. Plaintiffs

have alleged that Ford sold trucks of like grade and

quality to dealers at different prices without justifica-

tion and that such conduct has harmed both the

dealers and competition. Ford clearly has notice of

Plaintiffs’ claims, and its Motion to Dismiss should be

denied.

* This program is discussed more thoroughly in the Second

Complaint at 99s 27-40. In general, this program required

dealers to advise Ford of the details of a proposed sale and to

seek unpublished discounts from Ford to achieve that sale.

Failure to conform usually meant that the dealers failed to make

the sale. These allegations are incorporated in Count Two

Violation of Dealer Day in Court Act.

Resp. App. 63

Ill. THE BREACH OF CONTRACT CLAIM IS

PROPERLY PLEADED.

A. Breach of Contract is Properly Pleaded.

Under Michigan law, a cause of action for breach of

contract requires pleading and proof of the following:

(1) the existence of a valid contract [15, 16, 49-56]; (2)

breach by the defendant [58]; and (3) damages prox-

imately caused [59-62]. Dumas v. Auto Club Ins.

Ass’n, 473 N.W. 652, 661 (Mich.1991). Plaintiffs have

pleaded these essential elements of breach of con-

tract. The bracketed numbers above correspond to the

paragraphs of the Second Complaint where the

allegations are found. Since the Court must accept as

true all allegations in the Plaintiffs’ Second Com-

plaint, Ford’s motion to dismiss must be denied.

B. Ford’s “defense” to breach of contract is

spurious. Ford attempts to circumvent the obvious

adequacy of Plaintiffs’ Complaint by urging a reading

of the franchise agreement that is

* * *

during the pendency of appeal). Under the full faith

and credit clause of the United States Constitution,

this Court is bound to give conclusive effect to the

judgment of liability found against Ford on breach of

contract. Ford thus cannot be heard in this Court to

reurge its claim that it did not breach the contract.

Resp. App. 64

Iv. THE DEALER DAY IN COURT ACT CLAIM

IS PROPERLY PLEADED.

A. The Requisite Pleadings. Under 15 U.S.C.

§1221, plaintiffs must plead and prove the following:

(1) the existence of an automotive deal-

er/manufacturer relationship [15, 16, 19]; (2) lack of

good faith by the manufacturer in performing or

complying with any of the terms of the franchise [20,

44-48, 66-68]; and (3) damages proximately caused

[69-71]. Carroll Kenwortn Truck Sales, Inc. v.

Henwarth Truck Co., 781 F.2d 1520, 1525 (1ith Cir.

1986). As before, the bracketed numbers above cor-

respond to the paragraphs in Plaintiffs’ Second Com-

plaint where th- requisite elements are set forth.

Ford’s motion to dismiss this claim must be denied.

B. Ford’s “wrongful demand” argument is

false. Ford argues that Plaintiffs were required to

plead they were subjected to “a wrongful demand by

Ford that would result in sanctions should a dealer

fail to comply.” Ford’s Memorandum, page 9. This is

not a correct statement of the law. Ford relies on

numerous cases, most of which are cited in Colonial

Dodge, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., 11 F.Supp. 737, 743

(D.Md.1996), aff’d, 121 F.3d 697 (4th Cir. 1997). Like

almost all of the cases Ford cites, Colonial Dodge

invoived a motion for summary judgment, not a

motion to dismiss. Most importantly, Colonial

Dodge discusses a “wrongful demand accompanied

by the threat of sanctions” not as a pleading require-

ment, but as proof of the coercion or intimidation that

Resp. App. 65

establishes lack of good faith. See Colonial Dodge,

11 F.Supp.2d at 743.

No Eleventh Circuit case holds that a wrongful

demand accompanied by threat of sanction must be

expressly alleged to plead properly a Dealer Day in

Court Act claim. Rather, such a demand is one way of

showing the requisite “coercion or intimidation”

under the Act. In fact, courts in the Eleventh Circuit

expressly do not follow the “wrongful demand” rule.

See Stamps v. Ford Motor Co., 650 F.Supp. 390, 397

fn.5 (N.D. Ga. 1986) (refusing to follow cases impos-

ing a “wrongful demand” requirement). The H.C.

Blackwell v. Kenworth Trucking Co." case cited by

Ford confirms that a wrongful demand is only one

manner of triggering the Act. Blackwell held that

“(bjlad faith may consist of coercive conduct mani-

fested by a wrongful demand which will result in

sanctions if not complied with.” Id. at 107. The opera-

tive term in this quote is “may consist of.” The case

does not say that such a demand is the only way to

plead or prove coercion or intimidativa.

C. Plaintiffs have pleaded a “wrongful

demand.” Even if a wrongful demand is an element

which must be pleaded to state a claim pursuant to

the Dealer Day in Court Act, which it is not, Plaintiffs

have pleaded such a demand. See Second Complaint

at 7s 66-68. Construing the Second Complaint and

all reasonable inferences therefrom in the light most

© 620 F.2d 104 (5th Cir. 1980).

Resp. App. 66

favorable to Plaintiffs, Plaintiffs have alleged that

Ford demanded that dealers participate in the CPA

program “or else” suffer unfair, illegal and non-

contractual pricing. Through coercion of the economic

variety, Ford demanded that dealers use the CPA

program in place of the dealer’s contractual right to

have published, and hence equivalent, pricing. That

is, Ford forced dealers to accept the unlawful terms of

the CPA program, and the discriminatory prices that

system created, under the threat of paying prices far

greater than they were entitled to have under the

plain language of the franchise agreement. Ford

essentially told dealers: “Participate in the CPA

program or you will be forced out of business by

having to pay exorbitant wholesale prices, greatly in

excess of what other dealers are paying for the same

products, and greatly in excess of what you are oth-

erwise entitled to pay under your franchise agree-

ment.”

A wrongful demand may be implicit as well as

overt. “A wrongful demand can be implicit, inferable

from facts and circumstances without any showing of

a formal one.” Sherman v. British Leyland Motors,

Ltd., 601 F.2d 429, 446 (9th Cir. 1979). See also

Overseas Motors v. Import Motors, Ltd., 519 F.2d

119, 124-25 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 92

(1975) (threats and demands can be implicit as well

as overt). In Sherman, the court held that a violation

of the antitrust laws itself may lead to the conclusion

that the Dealer Day in Court Act has been violated.

Sherman, 601 F.2d. at 446-47. Here, the Plaintiffs

Resp. App. 67

have pleaded an antitrust violation. They have also

pleaded a wrongful demand in the form of an implicit

threat to their economic well-being.

The pleadings support and the jury could find

that Ford’s conduct constitutes a wrongful demand

and coercive behavior. “[I)f Ford, through a series of

acts, deprived (plaintiff dealer) of the right as an

independent businessman to control its own business

to serve (Ford Motor’s) own economic interest and in

disregard of (the dealer’s) interest, a violation of the

Act could result.” Colonial Ford, Inc. v. Ford

Motor Co., 577 F.2d 106, 110 (10th Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 444 U. S. 837 (1979). This is exactly what

Ford has done with the CPA program. Ford forced the

CPA program on dealers, which controlled the dealers’

business, to the benefit of Ford and to the detriment

of the dealers.

D. The inquiry into “coercion and intimi-

dation” is inherently fact-specific. Based on cases

in far different procedural postures, Ford urges that

Plaintiffs can not go forward on their Dealer Day in

Court claims based on lack of evidence in these other

cases. However, the issue of coercion or intimidation

under the Act is inherently fact-specific and is thus a

jury question not susceptible to a ruling on motion to

dismiss. H.C. Blackwell, 620 F.2d at 107. See also

Colonial Dodge, 11 F.Supp.2d at 743 (coercion and

intimidation can be inferred from a course of con-

duct). The court in Capital Ford II granted sum-

mary judgment on the Dealer Day in Court Act claims

based on lack of evidence of coercion. Capital Ford

Resp. App. 68

IT, 819 F.Supp. at 1555-56. Likewise in Overseas

Motors, supra, the granting of directed verdict was

based on lack of evidence. See also, Cabriolet

Porsche Audi, Inc. v. American Honda Motor Co.,

773 F.2d 1193, 1210-11 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 475

U.S. 1122 (1986) (lack of evidence of coercion; judg-

ment reversed); Bob Maxfield, Inc. v. American

Motors Corp., 637 F.2d 1033, 1039 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 860 (1981) (lack of evidence of coercion

or intimidation; directed verdict affirmed). Compare

H.C. Blackwell Co., 620 F.2d at 107 (jury finding of

coercion satisfactory; judgment NOV reversed and

jury verdict reinstated).

The Third Circuit has held that a dealer is en-

titled to discover evidence to support a “bad faith”

claim based on a manufacturer’s allocation of trucks

that was slowly driving the dealer out of business.

The Third Circuit held that such tactics may well

prove a Dealer Day in Court claim, even though there

was no “wrongful demand” pleaded or proved. Arnold

Pontiac-GMC, Inc. v. General Motors Corp., 786

F.2d 564, 575-76 (3rd Cir. 1986).” Here, Ford is al-

leged to have coerced Plaintiffs through price controls

just as effectively as was the plaintiff in Arnold

Pontiac through allocation controls.

* See also Randy’s Studebaker Sales, Inc. v. Nissan

Motor Corporation in the USA, 533 F.2d 510, 516-17 (10th

Cir. 1976) (manufacturer’s control of retail pricing through price

controls may serve to trigger Dealer Day in Court liability).

Resp. App. 69

Cases where plaintiffs failed to develop evidence

necessary to overcome motions for summary judg-

ment or directed verdict do not support the granting

of Ford’s Motion to Dismiss here. Plaintiffs are en-

titled to discover and present evidence that supports

their claim.

E. The Statute and Legislative History

Contradict Ford’s Argument. Finally, Ford wrong-

ly argues that failure to comply with franchise terms

will not support a Dealer Day in Court action. The

legislative history of the Act, and the actual language

of the Act, both belie this argument. “An automobile

dealer may bring suit against any automobile manu-

facturer ... by reason of the failure of said automo-

bile manufacturer ... to act in good faith in

performing or complying with any of the terms or

provisions of the franchise.” 15 U.S.C. §1222. “This

bill assures the dealer an opportunity to secure a

judicial determination, irrespective of the contract

terms, as to whether the automobile manufacturer

has failed to act in good faith in performing or

complying with any of the provisions of his

franchise or in terminating, canceling, or not renew-

ing his franchise.” H.R.Rep.No.2580, 85th Cong., 2d

Sess. (1956), 3 U.S.Code Cong. and Admin.News,

1956, p. 4600 (emphasis added). Cases cited by Ford

for the contrary proposition do not stand for the

proposition Ford alleges”. “The federal [Dealer Day in

" Hanley v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 433 F.2d 708 (10th

Cir. 1970), does not hold, as Ford implies, that a breach of

(Continued on following page)

Resp. App. 70

Court] act was designed to create a level playing field

for negotiations between local businessmen and

multinational automotive companies.” Sherwood

Ford v. Ford Motor Company, 875 F.Supp. 590, 593

(E.D. Mo. 1995). Ford’s cases do not support its Mo-

tion to Dismiss.

V. THE ROBINSON-PATMAN ACT CLAIM IS

PROPERLY PLEADED.

A. Plaintiffs Have Satisfied the Pleading

Requirements. According to the Supreme Court, a

plaintiff must plead and prove the following elements

in a Robinson-Patman Act case: (1) two or more sales,

at least one of which was made in interstate com-

merce |13, 18,

contract will not support a statutory claim under the Dealer Day

in Court Act; rather, the case states in dicta that the statutory

action is in addition to any common-law breach of contract claim

the dealer may have. Globe Motors, Inc. v. Studebaker-

Packard Motors Corp., 328 F.2d 645 (3rd Cir. 1964), holds

only that the Dealer Day in Court statute “does not provide a

new remedy for breach of contract,” not that a breach of fran-

chise terms may not be the basis for a suit under the statute.

Quarles v. General Motors Corp., 597 F.Supp. 1037 (D.C.N_LY.

1984), aff'd 758 F.2d 839 (2nd Cir. 1985), related to dealership

termination, not breach of contract; the court said in dicta that

the Act did not create a new federal remedy for breach of

contract. It did not hold that breach of franchise terms would

not be germane to claims under the Act. General Motors Corp.

v. MAC Co., 247 F.Supp, 723 (D. Colo. 1965), does not hold or

even imply that

*

Resp. App. 71

* * +

discounts so as to maximize its profits and to control

Plaintiffs’ profits. If Ford had published those prices

or discounts as its franchise agreement required it to

do, all dealers would have been entitled to buy prod-

ucts for those published prices, and Ford’s argument

of “equal availability” would have some merit. How-

ever, Ford did not do so. Therefore, Ford’s argument

that these secret prices were really “available” to all

dealers, and that the dealers, contrary to good com-

mercial practices, simply chose not to take advantage

of their availability, is false and inconsistent with the

allegations in the Second Complaint which the Court

must accept as true at this time.

The CPA discounts offered to dealers under the

appeal process were never published, known or

available to all dealers on all sales of comparable

trucks. Thus, the Fifth Circuit Metro Ford case does

not apply here.

CONCLUSION

Plaintiffs have pleaded three causes of action

consistent with the requirements of Fed.R.Civ.P. 8

and the substantive claims made. Plaintiffs clearly

have stated claims for which relief can be granted.

Ford’s Motion to Dismiss is predicated on cases where

lack of evidence was the controlling factor or on cases

that were decided on grounds not applicable here.

Ford’s Motion must be denied.

Resp. App. 72

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED:

POPE, McGLAMRY,

KILPATRICK &

MORRISON, LLP

/s/ (INegible]

C. Neal Pope

Georgia Bar No. 583769

Michael L. McGlamry

Georgia Bar No. 492515

Wade H. Tomlinson, III

Georgia Bar No. 714605

The Pinnacle

3455 Peachtree Road,

N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia

30326-3243

(404) 523-7706

FAX (404) 524-1648

BRINSON, ASKEW, BER-

RY, SEIGLER, RICHARD-

SON & DAVIS, LLP

Robert M. Brinson

Georgia Bar No. 082900

615 West First Street

P.O. Box 5513

Rome, Georgia

30162-5513

(706) 291-8853

(706) 234-3574

Resp. App. 73

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C.

James A. Pikl

Texas Bar No. 16008850

P.O. Box 2939

McKinney, Texas

75070

ATTORNEYS FOR

PLAINTIFFS

Resp. App. 74

[Seal]

MEMORANDUM

TO: Counsel of Record

FROM: Robert L. Vining, Jr.

RE: Bayshore Ford Truck Sales v. Ford Motor

Company, Civil Action No.: 4:99-CV-173

DATE: February 2, 2000

It has come to the court’s attention that the order

docketed January 19, 2000 in the above-referenced

case contains a typographical error. The second to

last sentence in the first full paragraph on page eight

omitted the word “not”; that paragraph should read

as follows:

As such, Ford’s demand, explicit or implicit,

that the plaintiffs participate in the CPA

program or pay inflated published wholesale

prices is not a wrongful demand and does not

constitute coercion or bad faith within the

meaning of the Dealers’ Day in Court Act.

Enclosed is a corrected copy of the order for your files.

Resp. App. 75

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

Bayshore Ford Truck Sales,

Inc., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

CIVIL ACTION

No. 4:99-CV-173-RLV

Vv.

Ford Motor Company,

Defendant.

(Filed Jan. 19, 2000)

This action arises out of various franchise

agreements between Ford Motor Company and five

Ford medium- and heavy-duty truck dealers. The

plaintiffs allege that the defendant, Ford Motor

Company (“Ford”), breached its contracts with the

plaintiffs and violated several federal statutes in

administering its pricing programs. Before the court

is the defendant’s motion to dismiss for failure to

state a claim upon which relief could be granted

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. Pro. 12(b)(6) [Doc. No. 16].

Resp. App. 76

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND'

Until 1998, each of the five plaintiffs was a Ford

heavy- and medium-duty truck dealer that serviced

customers throughout the United States.’ The plain-

tiffs, therefore, competed with each other and with

dealers of other brands of medium- and heavy-duty

trucks on a nationwide basis. Each plaintiff operated

under a franchise agreement with Ford, the material

terms of which are substantively identical to each

other. Under the franchise agreements, the plaintiffs

would purchase heavy- and medium-duty trucks and

other company products, such as replacement parts,

from Ford for resale to the public.* According to

Paragraph 10 of the franchise agreement, Ford was

required to publish all prices and discounts to the

plaintiffs, as follows:

Sales of COMPANY PRODUCTS by the

Company to the Dealer hereunder will be

made in accordance with the prices, charges,

‘ The court draws the facts from the plaintiffs’ complaint,

the allegations of which the court must accept as true for

purposes of ruling on Ford’s motion to dismiss. See, Roberts v.

Florida Power & Light Co., 146 F.3d 1305, 1307 (11th Cir. 1998).

* Ford ceased manufacturing and distributing heavy- and

medium-duty trucks in 1998.

° Ford’s medium- and heavy-duty trucks were sold to

dealers as bare chassis. The chassis was a component of the

complete vehicle, which was usually assembled by the dealer, a

special company called a “body company,” or by the final, retail

customer. The chassis was typically ordered by the dealer for

resale to a particular retail customer and was configured to the

retail customer's specifications.

Resp. App. 77

discounts and other terms of sale set forth in

price schedules and other notices published

by the Company to the Dealer from time to

time in accordance with applicable HEAVY

TRUCK TERMS OF SALE BULLETIN or

PARTS AND ACCESSORIES TERMS OF

SALE BULLETIN. Except as otherwise spe-

cified in writing by the Company, such pric-

es, charges, discounts and terms of sale shall

be those in effect, and delivery to the Dealer

shall be deemed to have been made and the

order deemed to have been fiiled on the date of

delivery to the carrier or the Dealer, whichever

occurs first. The Company has the right at any

time and from time to time to change or

eliminate prices, charges, discounts, allow-

ances, rebates, refunds or other terms of sale

affecting COMPANY PRODUCTS by issuing

a new HEAVY DUTY TRUCK or PARTS

AND ACCESSORIES TERMS OF SALE

BULLETIN, new price schedules or other no-

tices.

Although the plaintiffs admit that Ford published

wholesale prices to them, the plaintiffs contend that,

in approximately 1980, Ford began intentionally

pricing its medium- and heavy-duty trucks at whole-

sale prices far in excess of the retail prices these

trucks could command in the marketplace. At about

the same time, Ford also implemented a pricing

program called the “Competitive Price Assistance,” or

“CPA,” program whereby the plaintiffs could apply for

and receive discounts or concessions off these inflated

wholesale prices, reducing the final wholesale price to

Resp. App. 78

a level below the retail price at which the trucks were

resold. As a consequence, the plaintiffs were not able

to resell Ford medium- and heavy-trucks for a profit

without the CPA program.

According to the plaintiffs, the true purpose of

the CPA program was to allow Ford to control dealer

profits on the sale of medium- and heavy-duty trucks.

Ford accomplished this goal by offering two levels of

discounts through the CPA program. The first level,

called the “Rainbow Schedule” discounts, was pub-

lished to the plaintiffs and was generally available to

all dealers at all times on virtually all sales.* The

second level, called the “Appeal-level CPA” discounts,

was not published to the plaintiffs or made generally

availabie to all dealers.

The plaintiffs contend that the Appeal-level CPA

discounts were given by Ford at its sole discretion based

on unpublished criteria.’ As a result, the plaintiffs had

* This level was later discontinued and replaced with

another program called the “Sales Advantage CPA.” This

program also was published to the plaintiffs and made generally

available to all dealers.

* Specifically, when applying for an Appeal-level CPA

discount, the dealer was required to identify the retail customer

and provide the proposed retail price. Ford then responded in

one of three ways: (1) no Appeal-level CPA discount was given;

(2) an amount of Appeal-level CPA discount was given, but that

amount was insufficient to bring the published wholesale price

below the retail price; or (3) just enough Appeal-level CPA

discount was given to reduce the published wholesale price to a

level that allowed the dealer to realize a profit of between 0%

(Continued on following page)

Resp. App. 79

no way of knowing whether they were receiving the

greatest possible Appeal-level CPA discount. Ford’s

Appeal-level CPA discounts on comparable trucks

could vary among dealers by as much as $15,000 per

truck.

In addition to the Appeal-level UPA discounts,

Ford also operated a price program on replacement

parts to dealers. Under this program, certain dealers

could obtain unpublished discounts off the published

wholesale price on certain purchases of replacement

parts. These unpublished discounts were not avail-

able to the plaintiffs or to all dealers generally. Ac-

cording to the plaintiffs, Ford intentionally withheld

information and deceived and misied the plaintiffs

about the Appeal-level CPA and replacement parts

discounts Ford was offering to some dealers.

The plaintiffs filed this law suit alleging that

Ford breached the price publication requirements of

the franchise agreements and violated the Dealers’

Day in Court Act and the Robinson-Patman Act. Ford

filed a pre-answer motion to dismiss all three of the

plaintiffs’ cl

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.