Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Jefferson County County Racing Association Association Association, Inc. v. Barber (No. 06-1363)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. QO 6) 56 2 APR 1+ Onn?

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

JEFFERSON COUNTY RACING ASSOCIATION, INC.,

D/B/A THE BIRMINGHAM RACE COURSE,

Petitioner,

v.

DAVID BARBER, IN HIS CAPACITY AS DISTRICT

ATTORNEY OF JEFFERSON COUNTY, ALABAMA,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Alabama

6

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

WILLIAM M. SLAUGHTER JOHN M. BOLTON III

Counsel of Record SASSER, BOLTON, STIDHAM

J. MICHAEL REDIKER & SEFTON, PLC.

MICHAEL C, SKOTNICKI 100 Colonial Bank Boulevard

PETER J. TEPLEY P.O. Box 24127

VINCENT J. GRAFFEO Montgomery, AL 36117

HASKELL SLAUGHTER YOUNG Telephone: (334) 532-3400

& REDIKER, LLC Siceiaid tin ksi

2001 Park Place North /ounsel for pce

1400 Park Place Tower

Birmingham, AL 35203

Telephone: (205) 251-1000

J. MARK WHITE

AUGUSTA S. DOWD

WILLIAM M. BOWEN, JR.

WHITE ARNOLD ANDREWS

& Down PC.

2025 3rd Avenue North,

Suite 600

Birmingham, AL 35203

Telephone: (205) 323-1888

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO) S00) 275-8964

OR CALL COLLECT «402: 342-2531

II.

IIl.

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether a candidate for state judicial office exercis-

ing the First Amendment freedom of speech right to

present his or her opinion on legal and political issues

to voters, as recognized by this Court in Republican

Party of Minnesota v. White, 5386 U.S. 765 (2002),

bears a concurrent responsibility as a judge to recuse

or be disqualified if an appearance of partiality is cre-

ated by that expression of opinion in order to protect a

litigant’s right under the Fourteenth Amendment to

Due Process of law?

Whether a litigant’s Fourteenth Amendment Due

Process rights are violated when: (a) the chief justice

of a state’s highest appellate court (who sits on all ap-

peals), as well as the court itself, fail to respond in

any way to a fact-supported motion for recusal ad-

dressed to both the chief justice and the court; (b) the

court’s opinion gives no indication of the degree of the

chief justice’s involvement; (c) the court fails to record

a vote for the chief justice although there are indica-

tions he participated in the deliberations; and (d) both

the chief justice and the court again fail to address

the issue of his involvement in the appeal when the-

issue was directly raised on application for rehearing?

Whether the Due Process protections of the Four-

teenth Amendment require that a state appellate

court ruling be vacated when one or more appellate

judges who participated in the appeal improperly

failed to recuse in response to a party’s recusal mo-

tion?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner:

Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the

Birmingham Race Course

Respondent:

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attorney of

Jefferson County, Alabama

The following party was also an appellee in the

Supreme Court of Alabama, but is not a petitioner in this

petition, and is being served as a respondent herein:

Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc.

The following are not parties hereto, but were amicus

curiae in the proceedings before the Supreme Court of

Alabama in support of the Respondent, and are being

served as respondents herein:

Bob Riley, Governor of Alabama

Troy King, Attorney General of Alabama

Foundation for Moral Law

ill

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Jefferson

County Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the Birmingham

Race Course (“JCRA”), a nongovernmental corporation,

submits this corporate disclosure statement:

JCRA has no parent corporation. There is no publicly

held corporation that owns ten percent or more of JCRA’s

stock.

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. .............. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ................0 wee ii

Fe ee IEE, siisisissisccnsintcesssvicctsctensninneiees iii

Se NE IEEE Wik stbnckcnitcnncnnictvesincisaiusasivntesens iv

Se OE FONs BEE eictnsicsstnccavnentonictousstescenion vii

TABLE OF APPENDICES .................scccsseceees epeumaains xi

Ee ME ii dca Kesciercnseisvsnnientintdicdennendsuniawesinins 1

JURISDICTION OF THE COURT.................ccesecceeees 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED....... 1

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE: ....ceccssvvccscoveescosesevesosers 2

TF. BACKGROUND q.ccercccsssosvesessecssesssesseccesonsoosons 2

A. Pre-Litigation History .......s.cccccccoessesees ee,”

B. Proceedings in the Circuit Court of Jef-

I I escicescstnendesscarrvevaseridsenitienss 6

ke Pa ares BIE TN vet dccecensanevesscracvicienionmimionen 7

A. Proceedings in the Supreme Court of Ala-

I ia cienetiliuietntisincansanetiitinetnantanteciiteascaiins 7

B. The Contested Supreme Court Elections... 7

C. Chief Justice Nabers’ Campaign Com-

mercial Attacking the Owner of JCRA..... 7

D. JCRA’s Motion to Disqualify Chief Jus-

Ce IE seddasu bch rokncckteniintsacninenivemeiemnine 8

E. The Anti-Gambling Statements of Chief

Justice Nabers and Justices Stuart,

Bolin and Smith to CCA .............cceceeeeeeees 8

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

F. JCRA’s Motions to Disqualify Justices

Stuart, Bolin and Smith ...........cc..ccccssccees

G. The Rulings on the Motions to Disqualify

Justices Bolin, Smith and Stuart and the

Lack of a Ruling on the Motion to Dis-

qualify Chief Justice Nabers....................

H. Chief Justice Nabers’ Undisclosed Par-

ticipation In the Appeal.................:seeeeeeee

I. JCRA’s Petition for Rehearing before a

SE ana seivecocintamnnnusekseaniséaisanitare

SURI TE tisndhesiexsesssiverstninaecnscnsuinieesaiimcariainsioqrenens

I.

IN ORDER TO GUARANTEE A LITIGANT’S

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO DUE

PROCESS OF LAW, JUDGES WHO USE

THEIR RIGHT TO STATE THEIR OPIN-

IONS ON LEGAL OR POLITICAL ISSUES

IN AN ELECTION CAMPAIGN HAVE A

DUTY TO RECUSE IF AN APPEARANCE

OF A LACK OF IMPARTIALITY ARISES

WHEN THE ISSUE COMES BEFORE

Re FAT EPAUNUE 46eipiadlncnaucnssiasnvanscojacianitansncees

A. The Nonrecusals of Justices Bolin, Smith |

and Stuart Violated JCRA’s Fourteenth

Amendment Right of Due Process or Law....

B. Chief Justice Nabers’ Nonrecusal and His

Participation in the Appeal Also Violated

JCRA’s Right to Due Process of Law........

15

16

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

II. BECAUSE THE INFLUENCE ON A PANEL

DECISION BY A JUDGE WHO FAILS TO

RECUSE AND IMPROPERLY PARTICI-

PATES IN DELIBERATIONS CANNOT BE

MEASURED, DUE PROCESS REQUIRES

THAT THE RULING BE VACATED AND A

NEW UNTAINTED PANEL APPOINTED...... 21

A. United States Circuit Courts of Appeals

Have Vacated Rulings of Multimember

Panels Based on the Appearance of Par-

tiality Caused by the Nonrecusal and

Participation of a Member Who Was Not

Rh) rT 25

B. State Court Decisions Also Support Va-

catur and Remand in this Case ............... 28

SPER PLIRIY secinccnsrecctenscercersoscerssvtesnerenseteersscoereness 30°

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Acromag-Viking v. Blalock, 420 So. 2d 60 (Ala.

STUIITT hcheiehbniochsbehahiiaetneceoahiitiadtecabbasialiashsasiatebeaioniadcicadiaoiaiee 16

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986) ....passim

American Cyanamid v. Federal Trade Comm’n, 363

te PUES inti osernsickecrecanasiteaceuntanetdinidecdanesadanne 25

Antoniu v. Sec. & Exch. Comm’n, 877 F.2d 721 (8th

8 OR ECS TE TOR A IE NE EEE 25, 28

Barber v. Jefferson County Racing Ass’n, Inc., Nos.

1050625 and 1050857, 2006 WL 3462147 (Ala.

Ey Hig Se iaiallaiieoeiicasabeateichbanssiabiaihchdiiaiteiielitit a oieeaa ais 1

Berkshire Employees Ass’n of Berkshire Knitting

Mills v. Natl Labor Relations Bd., 121 F.2d 235

A UTEP hicsicsedsccaciabadcleansinlendeciseiiinladbabbideitatiastectiieticen 25, 26, 27

Bradshaw v. McCotter, 796 F.2d 100 (5th Cir. 1986)........ 25

Cinderella Career & Finishing Schs., Inc. v. Federal

Trade Comm’n, 425 F.2d 583 (D.C. Cir. 1970) ...25, 26, 27

City of Bessemer v. McClain, No. 1031917, 2006 WL

2089923 (Ala. July 28, 200G6)..........-ccccccccssercscevensencecceeee 22

Ex parte City of Dothan Pers. Bd., 831 So. 2d 1 (Ala.

SITIES sikccsinsiaiaebseseccldinsacecinborasnaselsicesdetansauachaatacininateauibintubaiath basta bia 16

Hicks v. City of Watonga, 942 F.2d 737 (10th Cir

eI stiniicehinssicaniainsaiaccia damnit anieande ices ree 25, 28

Holley v. State, 542 So. 2d 952 (Ala. Crim. App

NP we israswiicsivaias dsadesdacaphaialisabeieiah ciate aacildadaiiacidiaieialtdalacinaia a acacia 10

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955)...........ccceccceeeeees 15,22

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Johnson v. Sturdivant, 758 S.W.2d 415 (Ark. 1988) ...28, 29

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238 (1980).......... eee 15

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals v.

Bobby Bersoni, Ltd., 894 P.2d 337 (Nev. 1995),

overruled on other grounds by Towbin Dodge,

LLC v. Eighth Judicial Dist. Court of State ex rel.

County of Clark, 112 P.3d 1063 (Nev. 2005)...........:::0 29

Republican Party of Minnesota v. White, 536 U.S.

BP CD srentasceisecsentsimenicectevisevsentenmoctiniasetucniseel passim

Staton v. Mayes, 552 F.2d 908 (10th Cir. 1977)........... 25, 28

Stivers v. Pierce, 71 F.3d 732 (9th Cir. 1995)......... 25, 26, 27

Texaco, Inc. v. Federal Trade Comm’n, 336 F.2d 754

(D.C. Cir. 1964), vacated on other grounds, 381

is > 25} nn sessesesnssveaesncersncensecsseeecess 25, 28

Yamaha Motor Corp. v. Riney, 21 F.3d 793 (8th Cir.

MUIIID cicicckessonnsuioshiurestopuinwerntiedecvidiasietmanebulauanpndectiannintaaxsmevts 25

UNITED STATEs CONSTITUTION:

To, CI, CI, Tivivcesivtintecsecevensiccsinsecionceen 1, 3, 13, 18, 30

0y oe AD, MUNDI, Fak Weg OB vecacescsccssccneenttiesiccecencomesers passim

STATUTES:

Oe I sais cttlcndsphenicatagHacnncseinicnensnsidescdhevitens 1

ace stahelenennontnnindetieds 28

I Fe tI a viisrcecctetirncctndcncncaspesesenduniebtnsnenepineeees 22

Ala. Code § 13A-12-20(10)..............csccsscccrcssrrerreenserssssssesseres 1

ix =

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

RULES:

RD ili

Ala. Canons of Jud. Ethics, Canon 3C(1) ...........cccc0008 15,17

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

THE FEDERALIST No. 78 (Alexander Hamilton)................ 14

Michelle T. Friedland, Disqualification or Suppres-

sion: Due Process and the Response to Judicial

Campaign Speech, 104 CoLumM. L. REv. 563

Joanna Cohn Weiss, Tough on Crime: How Cam-

paigns for State Judiciary Violate Criminal De-

fendants’ Due Process men, 81 N.Y.U. L. REv.

ROE Ce re ies tievisercescecesvneverserers 13

Jason E. Williams, Republican Party of Minnesota

v. White Threatens Judicial Impartiality in

Texas, 41 TIGUB. Tis TEs Bek COED ccacccccocscovscscsceccececses 13

U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee Holds a Hearing

on the Nomination of John Roberts to be Chief

Justice of the Supreme Court, 109th Cong., 2005

WL 2237049, (Sept. 14, 2005) (statement of John

Fee EI) viceiecccsnh ea tldieitarttecdecesvecnceseusvesees 14

Robin DeMonia, A Christian Group by any other

Name, The Birmingham News, September 17,

SAIS oensnsinnedndana ne aiibictdetacieereeacevereesceceneeyes 8

Jim Galloway, Alabama Group Says It and Reed

Have Clean Hands, Atlanta Journal Constitu-

thoes, Ful D, Sie vecerevvecescececerveceses 2,6

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Drew Jubera, There’s Nothing Civil about Ala.

Judicial Race, Chief Justice Campaign Turns

~— ‘Mean Spirited’, Atlanta Journal Constitution,

Head G, BOOE, GBI crecensccoressncrcsvintenstcsincimmniones Sida 3,19

Phillip Rawls, Chief Justice Steps Aside from Exxon

Mobil Appeal, Associated Press, October 30, 2006........ 11

Phillip Rawls, Riley, Attorney General Push for

Anti-Gambling Bill, The Decatur Daily, Feb. 8,

Jay Reeves, Nabers, Cobb Fight for Chief Justice

Tops Ala. Judicial Races, Associated Press, Nov.

DT, SINE sccosnaseiisinsaadneniesstanusbaiedarthinaatabinaninniaenaintael 7

Eric Valesco, Gambling Money, False Ad Claims

Fly, The Birmingham News, October 25, 2006.............. 8

Christian Action Alabama, http://www.ccbama.org/

issues/gambling.asp (last visited April 9, 2007)............. 3

xi

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

APPENDIX A- Opinion of the Alabama Supreme

Court (with the Nonrecusal Statements from

Justices Bolin, Smith and Stuart) filed December

SII bili ciietisieek net cate le App. 1

APPENDIX B- Order of the Alabama Supreme

Court (denying the Motions for the recusal or

disqualification of Justices Bolin, Smith and Stu-

art) filed December 1, 2006...............:ccccsesseseeseseees App. 44

APPENDIX C —- Order of the Alabama Supreme

Court (denying oral argument) filed October 24,

rae asisihinins sihianiseeneadinciineihesebaailiieaiaaasdaacenilcean aunbdbipisdaiicoada App. 46

APPENDIX D — Order and Judgment of the Circuit

Court of Jefferson County, Alabama filed Janu-

APPENDIX E-—Order of the Alabama Supreme

Court denying rehearing filed January 12, 2007....App. 69

APPENDIX F-Order of the Alabama Supreme

Court denying rehearing filed January 12, 2007 ....App. 70

APPENDIX G -— Constitutional Provisions Involved... App. 71

APPENDIX H — Jefferson County Racing Associa-

tion, Inc.’s Application for Rehearing filed in the

Alabama Supreme Court on December 15, 2006

(which includes copies of JCRA’s previously filed

Motions for the recusal or disqualifications of

“Chief Justice Nabers and Justices Bolin, Smith

I Ue setasintiertitinncnichchiceisteinpsidiiesd pied decid apendiagel App. 72

APPENDIX I — Jefferson County Racing Associa-

tion, Inc.’s Brief in Support of Application for

Rehearing filed in the Alabama Supreme Court

ONE CPDOIE Te, I veces scstnssveinnincinterincevitiinnesetins App. 158

xil

TABLE OF APPENDICES -— Continued

Page

APPENDIX -J - Excerpts from the Record on

Appeal in the Alabama Supreme Coutt.............. App. 182

APPENDIX K - Transcription of Alabama Supreme

Court Chief Justice Drayton Nabers’ 2006 Televi-

sion Campaign Commercial ...........::ccesescessereeeens App. 218

APPENDIX L — Newspaper Articles............:sssee0 App. 220

OPINIONS BELOW

The December 1, 2006 opinion of the Alabama Su-

preme Court which reversed the January 31, 2006 judg-

ment of the Circuit Court of Jefferson County in favor of

the Petitioner Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc.,

d/b/a the Birmingham Race Course (“JCRA”) and held that

JCRA’s operations were in violation of Alabama Code,

§ 13A-12-20(10), is set forth in App. A, beginning at App. 1.

See also Barber v. Jefferson County Racing Ass’n, Inc.,

Nos. 1050625 and 1050857, 2006 WL 3462147 (Ala. Dec. 1,

2006).

The December 1, 2006 order of the Alabama Supreme

Court which denied JCRA’s Motion for the recusal or

disqualification of Justices Jacquelyn “Lyn” Stuart, Mi-

chael Bolin, and Patti Smith, but failed to address the

Motion for recusal or disqualification of Chief Justice

Drayton Nabers, is set forth in App. B, beginning at App.

44.

The January 12, 2007 orders of the Alabama Supreme

Court overruling JCRA’s Application for Rehearing with-

out opinion, are set forth in the Appendices E and F, at

App. 69-70.

JURISDICTION OF THE COURT

This Court has jurisdiction to review this matter

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) to decide whether the

Alabama Supreme Court violated the Due Process protec-

tions of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution. The judgment of the Alabama Supreme”

Court was entered on December 1, 2006. The Petitioner

timely sought rehearing, which was denied on January 12,

2007. Accordingly, this Petition is timely.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The provisions involved are: Amendment I and

Amendment XIV, §1 of the United States Constitution.

These provisions are set forth in App. G at App. 71.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. BACKGROUND

In the 1950’s and 1960’s many politicians in Alabama

gained notoriety and electoral success by campaigning on

their staunch support of racial segregat »n laws. More

recently, as state lotteries and casinos have encroached into

neighboring states, the legality and morality of gambling has

become a heated issue in Alabama elections. Public pro-

nouncements of opposition to all forms of gambling have

become an important campaign tactic for some candidates.

Just as certain politicians in Alabama once pandered to the

electorate regarding issues of race, some candidates now

found their campaigns on opposition to gambling in order to

curry favor with special interest voter groups.’

Since this Court’s opinion in Republican Party of

Minnesota v. White, 536 U.S. 765 (2002), some candidates

for Alabama judicial office have publicly taken formal

positions on such topics as well as others and these elec-

tion campaigns have quickly become indistinguishable

from hotly-contested campaigns for non-judicial offices.

Thus, as Alabama politics once represented an extreme

in racial demagoguery, it has now become an example of the

extremes that may be reached in judicial elections. The

broad embrace that certain Alabama judicial candidates

have given to the free speech rights recognized in White

' Indeed, several powerful political interest groups in Alabama publicly

oppose all forms of gambling, even those forms which have been authorized

by the Alabama Legislature. The opposition to gambling in Alabama reached

a fever pitch in 2000 when opposition forces such as the Christian Coalition

of Alabama (now called Christian Action Alabama) (collectively “CCA”)

succeeded in convincing a majority of voters to defeat a statewide referendum

that would have repealed the provision in the Alabama Constitution

prohibiting lotteries. It was later learned that in its zeal to oppose gambling,

CCA had actually accepted thousands of dollars in gambling-generated

contributions from Mississippi casino operators, which was used to fund a

campaign to defeat the Alabama lottery referendum. See, e.g., Jim Galloway,

Alabama Group Says It and Reed Have Clean Hands, Atlanta Journal

Constitution, July 2, 2005, at Al; App. L at App. 220.

has not gone unnoticed by those who study the judiciary.

Referring to Alabama’s recent judicial elections, Roy Schot-

land, Georgetown University law professor and judicial

selection expert stated: ““We may be looking at the first real

post-White campaigning,’ ... ‘You don’t have to think about

whether you're electing a judge or a state senator. It’s disas-

trous.” Drew Jubera, There’s Nothing Civil about Ala.

Judicial Race, Chief Justice Campaign Turns ‘Mean-

Spirited, Atlanta Journal Constitution, June 5, 2006, at Al;

App. L at App. 228. According to the same article, some

judicial commentators believe the consequences for Alabama

judicial politics, which has been described as “a ‘bare-knuckle

fight,’ a ‘political mud bog,’ and ‘a mess,’” is that “judges’

integrity with the public” [is undermined], . . . “the influence

of special interest voter groups [is intensified], and ... “the

chances of a jurist having to recuse himself in cases where he

has been outspoken on an issue [is increased].” Jd. at App.

225, 228 (emphasis added). ze

This petition provides this Court with an opportunity to

address the post-White tension between a judicial candidate’s

free speech rights under the First Amendment and a liti-

gant’s right to Due Process under the Fourteenth Amend-

ment by defining under what circumstances judges must

recuse based upon their prior campaign speech, and what

the appropriate remedy is where judges who improperly

failed to recuse were part of a multi-member tribunal. This

petition presents all the elements necessary for resolution of

these questions that naturally follow from White: (i) expen-

sive and hotly disputed judicial election campaigns in 2004

and 2006 where Alabama Supreme Court judicial candidates

took formal public positions opposing gambling in answer to

a powerful special interest group’s voter guides;’ (ii) litigation

* CCA is also active in influencing elections of candidates to state

offices through the use of widely distributed “voter guides” which set

forth the responses of candidates, including those for judicial offices, to

the questionnaire on whether the candidate agrees with the CCA

position on various issues such as gambling. See App. H at App. 105-

106, 122. As is plainly noted on its internet web site, Christian Action

Alabama opposes all forms of gambling in Alabama, even those such as

(Continued on following page)

4

involving a sweepstakes promotion, which that special

interest group deemed to be gambling; (iii) a widely-

disseminated judicial campaign television commercial by

the sitting chief justice aired while the appeal was pend-

ing, attacking gambling and calling the owner of the

company in the sweepstakes case before him a “casino

boss”; and (iv) the subsequent refusal on appeal by certain

then-elected Alabama Supreme Court justices to recuse or

be disqualified by the court, or to even fully address the

issue of the apparent partiality of the justices caused by

their campaign speech.

A. Pre-Litigation History

In the 1980’s, the Alabama Legislature authorized

pari-mutuel wagering on horse and greyhound racing in

Jefferson County. The Jefferson County Racing Associa-

tion, Inc. (“JCRA”) runs the Birmingham Race Course,

which operates facilities for live greyhound racing as well

as simulcast horse and greyhound racing from other

locations. JCRA’s primary business activity is pari-mutuel

wagering and racing activities. App. J at App. 200, Stipu-

lated Fact 17. By 2005, the attraction of pari-mutuel

wagering was waning and attendance at the Race Course

was decreasing. In an effort to increase attendance and

promote authorized pari-mutuel betting, JCRA con-

structed a CyberCenter at the Race Course, which offered

Internet computer terminals that allowed patrons to

access the Internet, computer programs, pari-mutuel

betting information (such as tip sheets for races) and other

information services. Id. at App. 200, Stip. 7; App. 205,

Stip. | 22. To access CyberCenter services, patrons pur-

chased Cybertime at fair market value. Jd. at App. 200,

Stip. 1] 8-9. JCRA also contracted with Innovative Sys-

tems, Inc. (“Innovative”) to design a sweepstakes promo-

tion (the “Sweepstakes”) to promote the CyberCenter. Jd.

bingo which are lawful. Christian Action Alabama, http:/Awww.ccbama.

org/issues/gambling.asp (last visited April 9, 2007).

5

at App. 199, Stip. {| 3; App. 201, Stip. 9 10. As part of the

promotion, a customer who purchased CyberCenter services

also received entries in the Sweepstakes that could result in a

cash prize. Id. at App. 201, Stip. J 10. Persons who wished to

participate in the Sweepstakes but who did not want to

purchase Cybertime could obtain “no purchase necessary”

Sweepstakes entries. App. J at App. 201, Stip. J 10.

Whether a Sweepstakes entry was a winning entry was

determined at the time the entry was issued. Jd. However, the

Sweepstakes was designed so that a participant could reveal

his entries in an entertaining manner on a reader that looked

and sounded like a slot machine. Jd. at App. 201, Stip. 7 11.

Despite their appearances, the readers did not determine the

outcome of the sweepstakes entries. Jd. at App. 207, Stip. J 29.

Alternatively a participant could have his entries read on a

computer terminal or by calling a toll free number. Jd. at App.

201, Stip. 7 11. If a customer’s Sweepstakes entry was a

winner, he could obtain more Cybertime or receive a cash

payment. App. J at App. 201, Stip. J 11; App. 207, Stip. J 27.

Innovative designed the Sweepstakes, including the free

entry feature, to ensure that it complied with Alabama law.

Prior to opening the Sweepstakes promotion, Innovative and

JCRA took a number of steps to make sure it did not violate

Alabama law. Innovative obtained legal opinions from experi-

enced counsel. Jd. at App. 202, Stip. ] 13. JCRA and Innova-

tive: (a) demonstrated the Sweepstakes system for a

representative of the Alabama Attorney General, who advised

that if the Sweepstakes were operated as represented, it

would be legal (/d. at App. 211, Stip. 41); (b) met with the

Sheriff of Jefferson County and his attorney and demon- .

strated how the Sweepstakes would work; (c) spoke with the

District Attorney of Jefferson County and invited him to a

demonstration (Ud. at App. 212, Stip. 7 43); and (d) demon-

strated the Sweepstakes system to the Jefferson County

Racing Commission, which enacted a resolution approving the

promotion (Jd. at App. 213, Stip. J 44).

On December 22, 2005, only a short time after the

Sweepstakes promotion began, the Sheriff’s Department

executed a search warrant and seized equipment needed to

6

operate the Sweepstakes. That same day CCA's president

John Giles (who is recognized as one of the “most powerful

religious conservatives in the state,” Jim Galloway, Alabama

Group Says It and Reed Have Clean Hands, Atlanta Journal

Constitution, July 2, 2005, at Al; App. L at App. 221) wrote to

the Alabama Attorney General claiming that JCRA’s Sweep-

stakes promotion was illegal gambling, informing the Attor-

ney General that one of the major tenets of CCA was

“protecting our communities from the expansion of gambling,”

and expressing his disappointment with the lack of leadership

that had been shown to “bring a halt to the cancerous plague

of gambling expansion” in Alabama. App. J at App. 190.

B. Proceedings in the Circuit Court of Jef-

ferson County

While the raid was going on, JCRA filed a lawsuit in

the Circuit Court of Jefferson County to enjoin the Sher-

iff’s seizure of the Sweepstakes’ equipment and to obtain a

declaration that the promotion was legal under Alabama

law. App. D at App. 49. Both Innovative and the District

Attorney intervened in the case. Jd. at App. 48, 49 n.1. The

trial court conducted a bench trial and accepted the

parties’ stipulated facts. Id. at App. 50.

CCA had representatives present during the trial. The

Sheriff’s expert witness, Robert Sertell, admitted that he

had been sitting with two representatives of CCA, Dan

Ireland and Eric Johnston, during the trial before he was

called to testify. App. J at App. 183. Mr. Sertell further

admitted that he had conversations about JCRA with CCA

president Giles before Sertell’s deposition in this case. Jd.

at App. 184-185. Moreover, in his letter to the Alabama

Attorney General, Giles described Sertell as a CCA “un-

dercover expert.” Jd. at App. 193.

After the bench trial, the trial court held that the

Sweepstakes promotion was lawful and enjoined the

Sheriff from further actions against the Sweepstakes. App.

D at App. 67.

II. APPEAL BELOW

A. Proceedings in the Supreme Court of Ala-

bama

The District Attorney, but not the Sheriff, appealed

the ruling to the Alabama Supreme Court.

B. The Contested Supreme Court Elections

During the appeal, Chief Justice Nabers (who had

been appointed to fill a vacancy) was seeking election to

that office, and Justice Stuart was up for reelection. Chief

Justice Nabers was engaged in a hotly-contested campaign

against Judge Sue Bell Cobb that was described as “a

rough-and-tumble race” and “the nation’s most expensive

judicial campaign of the year.” Jay Reeves, Nabers, Cobb

Fight for Chief Justice Tops Ala. Judicial Races, Associ-

ated Press, Nov. 7, 2006.

C. Chief Justice Nabers’ Campaign Commer-

cial Attacking the Owner of JCRA

While the case was on appeal, Chief Justice Nabers ran

television advertisements accusing his challenger of taking

“gambling money” for campaign contributions. One of those

ads referenced by name contributions from Milton McGregor,

who is widely known as the controlling owner of JCRA, and

implied that his contributions were tainted or improper.’ In

this advertisement, which aired while the appeal was pend-

ing, Chief Justice Nabers proclaimed that he had fought

against the “gambling bosses” and even referred to Mr.

McGregor as a “casino boss.” App. K at App. 218-219. This

commercial aired across Alabama and was the subject of much

media commentary. One of Nabers’ ads claimed that Judge

* The trial court’s Declaratory Judgment and Injunction noted that

JCRA “has been referred to as Milton McGregor’s Company.” App. D at -

App. 148. In addition, CCA president Giles in his letter to the Attorney /

General notes that JCRA’s Birmingham Race Course is “owned by

Milton McGregor” App. J at App. 194.

8

Cobb had “accepted money from gambling interests —

including Birmingham Race Track Owner Milton

McGregor; the Poarch Creek Indians and PC] Gaming,

which run[s] three Alabama casinos; and Greenetrack,

which offers video gaming.” Eric Valesco, Gambling Money,

False Ad Claims Fly, The Birmingham News, October 25,

2006; App. H at App. 150-151.

D. JCRA’s Motion to Disqualify Chief Justice

Nabers

On October 24, 2006, the Alabama Supreme Court

issued an Order denying oral argument.‘ App. C at App.

46. Because this Order did not indicate that Justice

Nabers had recused or disqualified himself, JCRA imme-

diately filed its Motion to Disqualify Chief Justice Drayton

Nabers requesting his recusal or disqualification. App. H

at App. 123-133. The Motion, which cited his campaign ad

as evidence, argued that Chief Justice Nabers should

recuse or be disqualified under both the Alabama Canons

of Judicial Ethics (“Ethical Canons”) and Due Process

grounds. Jd. at App. 124-129.

E. The Anti-Gambling Statements of Chief

Justice Nabers and Justices Stuart, Bolin

and Smith to CCA

Shortly after JCRA filed that recusal Motion, CCA

released its 2006 General Election Voter Guide.’ Id. at

App. 122. Unlike his challenger, who refused to announce

her positions on the various issues in the Voter Guide,

* Two appeals were consolidated at the Alabama Supreme Court, and

the appeal, therefore, had two case numbers — 1050625 and 1050857.

* By this time, CCA had split from the National organization and

changed its name to Christian Action Alabama. The split occurred because

the National Organization claimed that the Alabama chapter had violated

the terms of a settlement agreement with the IRS concerning the organiza-

tion’s candidate questionnaires and voter guides. Robin DeMonia, A Chris-

tian Group by any other Name, The Birmingham News, September 17, 2006.

9

Chief Justice Nabers used the Voter Guide to publicly

state his opposition to the establishment of gambling. The

Voter Guide, which was distributed throughout the State

and was available on CCA’s website, stated that Chief

Justice Nabers “agrees” on the issue of “oppose establish-

ment of gambling.” Jd. Not only is CCA’s opposition to all

gambling in any form stated in detail on its website, but as

noted above, CCA took the position that the very Sweep-

stakes promotion at issue in this appeal was illegal gam-

bling. See App. J at App. 194-196.

Like Chief Justice Nabers, Justices Bolin, Smith and

Stuart also used CCA to publicly pronounce their opposi-

tion to gambling during their own contested elections.

Justice Stuart, who was also involved in a contested

election in 2006, used the 2006 CCA Voter Guide to pub-

licly state while the appeal was pending that she agreed

with CAA’s opposition to the “establishment of gambling.”

App. H at App. 122. Justices Bolin and Smith, who were

involved in contested elections in 2004, both publicly

stated during their election campaigns through the 2004

CCA Voter Guide that they, like CCA, “oppose gambling.”

_Id. at App. 106. The opponents of Chief Justice Nabers and

Justices Stuart, Smith and Bolin in these elections de-

clined to respond to the questionnaires regarding the issue

of gambling. Jd. at App. 106, 122.

F. JCRA’s Motions to Disqualify Justices

Stuart, Bolin and Smith

After CCA’s 2006 Voter Guide was published, JCRA filed

its Amendment to Motion to Disqualify Chief Justice Nabers

on November 6, 2006. Id. at App. 134-144. That same day,

JCRA filed its Motion to Disqualify Justice Stuart and

shortly thereafter its Motion to Disqualify Justices Bolin and

Smith. Jd. at App. 90-106, 107-22. Among other things, the

Amendment and the new recusal Motions noted that the

Justices’ positions opposing gambling had been made in a

CCA voter guide and that CCA had been intimately involved

in this case. The Justices and the court were also informed

that: CCA had representatives present throughout the trial

10

who had been sitting with the Sheriff’s expert witness; the

Sheriff’s expert had conversations with CCA's president

about JCRA’s operation before his deposition in the case;

and that the Sheriff’s expert had been described by CCA's

president as a CCA “undercover expert.” App. H at App.

91-92, 108. The Amendment and the new recusal Motions

also argued that these Justices should be disqualified

under the Ethical Canons and also on Due Process

grounds. Id. at App. 95-99, App. 112-115.

G. The Rulings on the Motions to Disqualify

Justices Bolin, Smith and Stuart and the

Lack of a Ruling on the Motion to Dis-

qualify Chief Justice Nabers

On December 1, 2006, the Alabama Supreme Court

issued its Opinion in the matter, reversing the trial court

and finding that the Sweepstakes’ readers were illegal slot

machines even though nothing of value was ejected from

the readers. See App. A at App. 1-36. Alabama precedent

had long held that “in order for a gambling device to be

defined as a slot machine, it must actually eject something

of value from the machine.” Holley v. State, 542 So. 2d 952,

954 (Ala. Crim. App. 1989). This new direction and aban-

donment of precedent by the Court on the requirements

for a slot machine were evident “judicial legislation” and

added to the appearance of partiality. By the time the

opinion was issued, Chief Justice Nabers had lost his

election bid. The Opinion included Statements of Nonre-

cusal by Justices Bolin, Smith and Stuart, all of whom

participated in the appeal and concurred in the Court’s

Opinion reversing the trial court’s ruling in favor of JCRA

and Innovative. App. A at App. 36-43. That same day, the

remaining members of the Court (except Chief Justice

® At the time the appeal was pending, the Alabama governor and

attorney general had introduced unsuccessful legislation to bar a pari-

mutuel betting entity like JCRA from conducting a sweepstakes

promotion like the one at issue. Phillip Rawls, Riley, Attorney General

Push for Anti-Gambling Bill, The Decatur Daily, Feb. 8, 2006.

11

—

Nabers) issued a short Nonrecusal Order denying JCRA’s and

Innovative’s Motions to Disqualify Justices Bolin, Smith and

Stuart and adopting the Statements of Nonrecusal. App. B at

App. 44-45. The nonrecusal statements of Justices Bolin,

Smith and Stuart and the court’s Nonrecusal Order did not

address CCA’s involvement in the case or Chief Justice

Nabers’ advertisement calling JCRA’s owner a “casino boss.”

App. A at App. 36-43, App. B at App. 44-45. Chief Justice

Nabers never responded to the Motion to Disqualify him, and

did not recuse himself.’ In addition, the Alabama Supreme

Court never ruled on the Motion to Disqualify Chief Justice

Nabers, even though JCRA had specifically requested that the

remaining members of that court order his disqualification or

recusal upon his failure to do so. App. H at App. 139, J 7.

H. Chief Justice Nabers’ Undisclosed Par-

ticipation in the Appeal

Although Chief Justice Nabers’ name does not appear

on the Alabama Supreme Court’s Opinion of December 1,

2006, JCRA had reason to believe that he had actually

participated in the appeal. JCRA was informed and

believed that he was actively involved in the deliberations,

and that he participated in an opinion reversing the trial

court that was scheduled to be released just before the

election but which was then withheld from release after

JCRA filed its Motion for his recusal or disqualification.

Specifically, JCRA was informed and believed that:

" In contrast, on October 30, 2006, just four days after JCRA filed

its Motion to disqualify him, Chief Justice Nabers, in an unprecedented

pres“ release from the Alabama Supreme Court, announced that

because of his prior position as state finance director he was not

participating in Exxon-Mobil’s appeal of the largest verdict in Alabama

history. The Exxon case was (and still is) pending before the Alabama

Supreme Court. No disqualification request had been filed in that case.

“Nabers’ campaign spokesman, Clay Ryan, said he assumed the

Supreme Court issued the announcement because ‘the honor of the

court is being called into question in a series of campaign ads.’” Phillip

Rawls, Chief Justice Steps Aside from Exxon Mobil Appeal, Associated

Press, October 30, 2006.

12

1. An opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court revers-

ing the circuit court was scheduled to be released on

October 27th 2006, less than two weeks prior to the

election. App. H at App. 154, { 4.

2. Chief Justice Nabers was present when the case

was being discussed by the court, participated in “all

deliberations, meetings ... leading up to the opinion and

... voted on the case.” Id. at App. 154, { 5.

3. “Chief Justice Nabers made his position regarding

the case known to other members of the Court, brought to

bear influence upon other members of the Court to adopt

his position, and discussed the political ramifications of

the decision with other members of the Court and with

political consultants and operatives.” Jd. at App. 155, {| 9.

4. Chief Justice Nabers improperly discussed the

case with Governor Riley, who advocated the reversal of

the trial court’s opinion. Jd. at App. 155, | 6."

I. JCRA’s Petition for Rehearing before a

Neutral Court

On December 15, 2006, JCRA and Innovative filed

timely Applications (Petitions) for Rehearing in the Ala-

bama Supreme Court, requesting a rehearing before a

newly appointed, neutral court that was untainted by the

involvement of the four justices — Bolin, Nabers, Smith

and Stuart — who should have recused themselves or been

disqualified from hearing the Appeal. App. H at App. 72-

157. JCRA’s-Application included the grounds that the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment required the

recusal of Justices Bolin, Nabers, Smith and Stuart. Jd. at

App. 75-76. JCRA also raised each of the points set forth

above concerning the undisclosed participation of Chief

Justice Nabers in its Application and in an affidavit

* Governor Bob Riley, who appointed Chief Justice Nabers and who

was seeking re-election, filed an amicus brief in opposition to JCRA’s

position and issued a press release asking the Court to rule against

JCRA. Id. at App. 156-157.

13

supporting the Application. Jd. at App. 84-85, 153-156. JCRA

stressed that the issue of Chief Justice Nabers’ participation

in the appeal was an issue that the members of that court

had an obligation to resolve. Although the District Attorney

moved to strike JCRA’s affidavit concerning the undisclosed

participation of Chief Justice Nabers, a Motion JCRA op-

posed, the Alabama Supreme Court did not strike the

affidavit. Instead, on January 12, 2007, the court merely

overruled JCRA’s and Innovative’s Applications for Rehear-

ing without opinion. App. E at App. 69; App. F at App. 70.

Based on the existence of important Due Process

violations, JCRA files this Petition.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Certiorari review is warranted for consideration of the

critical intersection of two fundamental Constitutional

rights: (1) the fundamental right of a litigant under the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to have

his case decided by a court that is both impartial in fact as

well as in appearance, and (2) the right of a judicial

candidate under the First Amendment to speak regarding

legal issues that may be of interest to certain voters. This

case presenis the question which inexorably follows from

the opinion in Republican Party of Minnesota v. White, 536

U.S. 765 (2002), of when a judicial candidate’s exercise of

his free speech rights gives rise to a concomitant responsi-

bility by the elected judge under the Due Process clause to

recuse where issues or parties on which the judge has

stated his opinion come before the court on which he sits.

Since the release of the White opinion, this question

has been discussed by legal commentators and scholars

who have waited for this Court to grant certiorari review

in a case like this.’ The issues presented here are of great

«

* See, e.g., Joanna Cohn Weiss, Tough on Crime: How Campaigns

for State Judiciary Violate Criminal Defendants’ Due Process Rights, 81

N.Y.U. L. REv. 1101 (2006); Michelle T. Friedland, Disqualification or

Suppression: Due Process and the Response to Judicial Campaign

Speech, 104 CoLu. L. REV. 563 (2004); Jason E. Williams, Republican

(Continued on following page)

14

importance and extend beyond the dispute below. Justices

of this Court have repeatedly refrained in their nomina-

tion hearings from answering Senators’ questions on

specific legal issues because to do so would risk the conse-

quence of “undermin[ing] the integrity of the judicial

process.” U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee Holds a Hear-

ing on the Nomination of John Roberts to be Chief Justice

of the Supreme Court, 109th Cong., 2005 WL 2237049

(Sept. 14, 2005) (statement of John Roberts). The present

case provides the exact contrary scenario — elected judges

who have not refrained from speaking on issues likely to

come before them, but who instead have used their free

speech rights to gain the approval of powerful special

interest voter groups. This petition presents this Court

with the unique opportunity to define for elected judges

the breadth and form of their concomitant responsibility to

protect the integrity of the judicial process and to protect a

litigant’s Due Process rights when the judge as a candi-

date has used the free speech rights identified in White.

The issues raised here give this Court the opportunity

to prevent the decay of the character of our judicial system

which, as noted by Alexander Hamilton in THE FEDERALIST

No. 78, has neither the power of the “sword [nlor the

purse.” Court rulings will be respected only as long as the

judiciary’s integrity is not questioned. If elected judges are

viewed as no more than politicians whose “duty to decide

cases” does not lead to service of the law but instead to

service of special interest voter groups, then the people’s

trust in the impartiality and fairness of the judiciary will

cease. This Court should grant certiorari and issue a

ruling that will safeguard not only the Due Process rights

of litigants but also the integrity the American judicial

system.

Party of Minnesota v. White 1 eatens Judicial Impartiality in Texas,

41 Hous. L. REv. 201 (2004),

15

ARGUMENT

I, IN ORDER TO GUARANTEE A LITIGANT’S

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO DUE PROC-

ESS OF LAW, JUDGES WHO USE THEIR

RIGHT TO STATE THEIR OPINIONS ON LE-

GAL OR POLITICAL ISSUES IN AN ELEC-

TION CAMPAIGN HAVE A DUTY TO RECUSE

IF AN APPEARANCE OF A LACK OF IMPAR-

TIALITY ARISES WHEN THE ISSUE COMES

BEFORE SUCH JUDGES

“The Due Process Clause [of the Fourteenth Amendment]

entitles a person to an impartial and disinterested tribunal in

both civil and criminal litigation.” Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc.,

446 U.S. 238, 242 (1980). This requirement of impartiality is

violated when a judge sits on a case where he has an interest

in the outcome that “would offer a possible temptation to the

average ... judge to ... lead him to not hold the balance nice,

clear and true.” Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813, 822

(1986) (quoting Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57, 60

(1972)). Further, because “justice must satisfy the appearance

of justice,” Due Process requires a judge’s disqualification

where such temptation exists even if the judge were actually

unbiased. Aetna, 475 U.S. at 825 (a case involving a justice of

the Alabama Supreme Court) (quoting Jn re Murchison, 349

U.S. 133, 136 (1955)).

Alabama Canon of Judicial Ethics 3C(1) recognizes

the full extent of a litigant’s right to the impartial tribunal

required by Due Process.” It states, in relevant part:

A judge should disqualify himself in a pro-

ceeding in which ... his impartiality might rea-

sonably be questioned, including but not limited

to instances where:

(a) he has personal bias or prejudice con-

cerning a party....

The canons are not merely suggestive, but have “the force and

effect of law.” In the Matter of Sheffield, 465 So. 2d 350, 355 (Ala. 1985).

16

(emphasis added). In accord with Due Process protections,

disqualification is required under this Ethical Canon when

“facts are shown which make it reasonable for members of

the public, or a party, or counsel opposed to question the

impartiality of the judge.” Acromag-Viking v. Blalock, 420

So. 2d 60, 61 (Ala. 1982). Thus, the test for recusal under

this Ethical Canon is based on the appearance of a lack of

impartiality. This is an objective standard, and is not

decided by a judge’s own subjective belief that he or she

can decide the case impartially. Instead, the test is

whether a reasonable person with knowledge of the facts

would objectively find a reasonable doubt concerning the

judge’s impartiality. Ex parte City of Dothan Pers. Bd., 831

So. 2d 1, 11 (2002). As discussed below, when faced with

JCRA’s recusal Motions, the Alabama Supreme Court

failed to apply the proper standard for recusal or disquali-

fication based on the appearance of partiality and thereby

violated JCRA’s Constitutional right to Due Process of law.

The Alabama Supreme Court’s December 1, 2006

opinion contained Statements of Nonrecusal for Justices

Stuart, Smith and Bolin, who were listed as voting in the

opinion. However, there was no statement of nonrecusal for

Chief Justice Nabers and his vote was not listed in the

opinion, even though, as discussed above, JCRA is informed

and believes that he participated in the appeal. App. H at

App. 84-85, 153-156. While the court also issued an order

which denied the recusal Motions as to Justices Stuart,

Smith, and Bolin, it failed to even address the Motion

regarding Chief Justice Nabers. App. B at App. 44-45.

A. The Nonrecusals of Justices Bolin, Smith,

and Stuart Violated JCRA’s Fourteenth

Amendment Right to Due Process of Law

Justices Bolin, Smith and Stuart should have recused

themselves or been disqualified under the requirements of

the Due Process Clause. They had each made a public

statement supporting CCA’s anti-gambling positions in

recent contested judicial elections, with Justice Stuart

stating her position while this appeal was pending. CCA

17

had taken the public position that JCRA’s Sweepstakes

operation was illegal gambling. CCA was intimately involved

in the underlying case — its own “undercover expert” testified

against JCRA at trial, and its representatives were present

and recognized at the trial. Moreover, the chief justice of

their court, who had also sought to curry favor with CCA’s

members by endorsing CCA’s anti-gambling position, was

airing television ads calling the owner of JCRA a “casino

boss.” Given this atmosphere, the Due Process Clause

required nothing less than these justices’ recusal. Yet, as

discussed below, they not only refused to recuse, but their

nonrecusal statements and the court’s Nonrecusal Order also

ignored critical Due Process issues.

Justice Bolin’s nonrecusal statement, with which

Justices Stuart and Smith concurred and which the Court

approved by its separate order denying the recusal Mo-

tions, was based on his interpretation of Republican Party

of Minnesota v. White, 536 U.S. 765 (2002). Justice Bolin

concluded that he had a First Amendment right to “an-

nounce or discuss personal views on an issue such as

gambling.” App. A at App. 41. Although he acknowledged

this free speech right may later require his disqualifica-

tion under Alabama Ethical Canon 3C(1), his analysis of

when such disqualification is required, which was adopted

by the court as a whole, is fatally flawed and resulted in a

violation of the JCRA’s Due Process rights. While Justice

Bolin noted that the Canon includes a requirement for

disqualification of a judge if his “impartiality might

reasonably be questioned,” he failed to address the point of

JCRA’s Motion, which was that his disqualification was

required under the Canon and under the Due Process

Clause because a reasonable person would objectively

question his impartiality in deciding the appeal. Id. at

App. 42. Instead of analyzing his participation under this

correct standard, he argued that a judge is presumed

impartial and that he could hear the case because of his

own subjective belief that he bore no bias or prejudice that

18

affected his vote.’ The nonrecusal statements of Justices

Stuart and Smith similarly avoided the critical analysis of

whether their “impartiality might reasonably be ques-

tioned” by an objective observer. Justice Stuart simply

wrote that (subjectively) she believed herself to be impar-

tial despite her personal opinion opposing gambling. App.

A at App. 36-39. Justice Smith wrote to emphasize her

constitutional duty to decide cases. Jd. at 39-40.

Taken as a whole, the nonrecusal statements of

Justices Stuart, Smith and Bolin, which were adopted by

the Alabama Supreme Court, erroneously extend this

Court’s opinion in White to an unconstitutional breadth.

Those justices (and the Alabama Supreme Court) used

White to support the position that a judicial candidate’s

First Amendment free speech rights and a judge’s duty to

decide cases trump a litigant’s Fourteenth Amendment

Due Process rights such that recusal or disqualification is

not required when the candidate’s public statements do

not prove actual bias or cause the judge to subjectively

admit bias, but only create an appearance of partiality. By

failing to address the fundamental issue of the appearance

of partiality raised in JCRA’s Motions, the Alabama

Supreme Court, in effect, wrote this Due Process standard

entirely out of the law. However, the First Amendment

does not exist in a vacuum. It exists alongside the Four-

teenth Amendment and its Due Process requirements.

" Justice Bolin also stated that JCRA’s Motion had an “inherent

inconsistency” because it was based on his public statement opposing

gambling and it is JCRA’s contention that its Sweepstakes promotion

was not gambling. Jd. at App. 43. His contention, however, overlooks

that the trial court concluded in its final order that while JCRA’s

Sweepstakes did not violate Alabama’s gambling law, it appeared to

JCRA’s customers that they were gambling. App. D at App. 64. More-

over, the facts presented by JCRA to the Alabama Supreme Court in

support of its recusal Motions demonstrated that the CCA was inter-

ested in the litigation and had taken a position that the JCRA‘s

Sweepstakes was illegal gambling, App. H at App. 80-81, such that

Justice Bolin had been made aware that his public position agreeing

with that of the CCA created the appearance he would not be impartial.

Thus, there was no inconsistency in JCRA’s Motion.

19

JCRA’s Application for Rehearing explained to the

Alabama Supreme Court that the reasoning underlying the

nonrecusal statements was not supported by a proper

reading of White and contradicted the long-established

standards for Due Process the court itself had recognized.

Nevertheless, the court overruled the application without

opinion, ignoring the key Due Process issues left unanswered

by the nonrecusal statements. This Court must correct these

errors of law as the United States Constitution does not and

cannot allow Alabama judges to ignore the requirements of

the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process Clause.

B. Chief Justice Nabers’ Nonrecusal and His

Participation in the Appeal Also Violated

JCRA’s Right to Due Process of Law

The situation involving JCRA’s Motion for the recusal

or disqualification of Chief Justice Nabers is unique and

constitutes an additional violation of JCRA’s right to Due

Process of law. In addition to adopting CCA’s anti-

gambling position, he also ran a campaign ad attacking

the well-known owner of JCRA — a litigant before his court

— as a “casino boss” when the very issue before the court

was whether JCRA’s Sweepstakes was illegal gambling.

There can be no question that the Due Process Clause

demanded his recusal or disqualification. Chief Justice

Nabers himself stated that if a judicial candidate declares

a position during a campaign that a litigant thinks hurts

his case, the litigant can file a motion for recusal. Drew

Jubera, There’s Nothing Civil about Ala. Judicial Race,

Chief Justice Campaign Turns ‘Mean Spirited’, Atlanta

Journal Constitution, June 5, 2006, at Al; App. L at App.

299. But when JCRA made such a motion, both Chief

Justice Nabers and the Alabama Supreme Court ignored it

and acted as if it had never been made.

Moreover, there are ample reasons to support a conclu-

sion that, while his name does not appear on the opinion

ultimately released, Chief Justice Nabers was involved in

the court’s deliberations. Admittedly, the factual allegations

of the affidavit of Milton McGregor filed in support of the

20

Application for Rehearing were not based upon first-hand

knowledge but upon information and belief. This is because

discovery regarding the cloistered deliberations of the Alabama

Supreme Court was simply not available on the Application for

Rehearing. Neither Chief Justice Nabers nor the court has

denied the factual allegations. Instead, the court left the issue

of Chief Justice Nabers’ participation glaringly unanswered.

The following points, however, must be noted:

¢ Although the District Attorney moved the Ala-

bama Supreme Court to strike the McGregor af-

fidavit, the court did not respond to the Motion

and thus the affidavit has not been stricken.

e Though, in the weeks leading to the December 1,

2006 release of the court’s opinion in the case below,

Chief Justice Nabers had issued a sua sponte recusal

statement in another pending appeal, he did not re-

spond to JCRA’s recusal Motion. See supra at 11 n.7.

* The Alabama Supreme Court issued an order ad-

dressing the recusal Motions concerning Justices

Bolin, Smith and Stuart but did not address the

one concerning Chief Justice Nabers.

¢ Chief Justice Nabers and the Alabama Supreme

Court had the opportunity to deny the allega-

tions concerning Chief Justice Nabers’ participa-

tion in the appeal but have never done so.

These points add to the appearance of partiality created by

Chief Justice Nabers’ refusal to recuse and his failure to be

disqualified by the court.

Moreover, even without consideration of the affidavit,

it is clear that (1) despite taking a public position against

even legal forms of gambling by means of the CCA voter

guide, (2) despite basing his election campaign on “fighting

gambling,” (3) despite disparaging the majority owner of

JCRA as a “casino boss” in a campaign advertisement

aired while the appeal was pending, and (4) despite

criticizing his political opponent for accepting a campaign

contribution from that person (App. H at App. 149-152),

Chief Justice Nabers did not recuse or disqualify himself

21

in the appeal below, which involved a sweepstakes operation

claimed by the district attorney and the CAA to be gambling,

when asked to do so. Instead, both he and the court ignored

that Motion and remained silent regarding the degree of his

participation in the deliberations, as if ignoring the issue

would make it go away. However, this continuing silence

shouts loudly. It proclaims that no member of the court is

willing to go on record and simply state that Chief Justice

Nabers did not participate in the appeal.

Regardless of the fact that a vote was not recorded for

Chief Justice Nabers on the court’s opinion, given the nature

of his public statements and advertisements in a multi-

million dollar political campaign for Alabama’s highest

judicial office while the appeal was pending, his failure to

recuse or be disqualified, resulted in a violation of JCRA’s

Constitutional Due Process right to a tribunal which had the

appearance of impartiality. Given that Chief Justice Nabers

did not recuse himself and was not disqualified by the Court,

the fact that no vote was recorded for him on the Court’s

opinion is not an indication that he did not participate in the

Court’s deliberations. Instead, his failure to affirmatively

recuse or be disqualified, combined with his and the court’s

silence on the issue on Application for Rehearing, further

heightens the appearance of partiality. Accordingly, this

Court should hold that Chief Justice Nabers’ nonrecusal and

the lower court’s failure to disqualify him was a violation of

JCRA’ss right to Due Process.

Il. BECAUSE THE INFLUENCE ON A PANEL

DECISION BY A JUDGE WHO FAILS TO

RECUSE AND IMPROPERLY PARTICIPATES

IN DELIBERATIONS CANNOT BE MEAS-

URED, DUE PROCESS REQUIRES THAT THE

RULING BE VACATED AND A NEW UN-

TAINTED PANEL APPOINTED

To remedy the Due Process violations of the Alabama

Supreme Court, this Court must vacate the December 1,

2006 opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court and remand

the appeal to be decided by an Alabama Supreme Court

22

composed of justices untainted by the violations.” This

remedy is supported by the holding in Aetna Life Ins. Co. v.

Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986), particularly the concurring

opinions of three Justices of this Court, as well as by opin-

ions of the Circuit Courts of Appeals, federal district courts,

and state appellate courts. This body of case law going back

more than sixty years demonstrates that Due Process

mandates not only that tribunals be impartial, but also that

they have the full appearance of impartiality. Our Constitu-

tion demands no less. In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136

(1955).

In Aetna, this Court vacated the ruling of the Alabama

Supreme Court because the participation by Justice Embry

violated the appellant’s Fourteenth Amendment Due Process

rights. This Court held that because Justice Embry had a

“direct, personal, substantial [and] pecuniary” interest in the

appeal before the court, he impermissibly acted “as a judge in

his own case.” 475 U.S. at 814 (citations omitted). This Court

further held that Justice Embry’s involvement offered the

possible temptation for him “not to hold the balance nice, clear,

and true” and thereby violated the appellant's Due Process

rights. Jd. at 822 (citations omitted). This violation occurred not

because it was determined that Justice Embry was actually

biased, but merely because the facts demonstrated that the

Alabama court’s ruling lacked the appearance of impartiality

required by the Due Process Clause. Jd. This Court determined

that the appropriate remedy for the violation, based on the fact

Justice Embry had cast the decisive vote in a 5-4 decision and

had authored the opinion, was to vacate the ruling in order to

serve the “appearance of justice.” Jd. at 825.

Moreover, Aetna suggests that had different facts

been presented, this Court would have recognized a Due

Process violation even if Justice Embry had been less in-

volved. This Court explained that because the parties had not

2 Alabama law provides for the appointment of special justices to

sit on appeals where there are an otherwise insufficient number of

justices to decide the appeal. See Ala. Code § 12-2-14; City of Bessemer

v. McClain, No. 1031917, 2006 WL 2089923, at *5 (Ala. July 28, 2006).

23

briefed or argued the broader issue of whether the improper

involvement of only one member of a multi-member panel

would require vacatur of the panel’s decision, it was inappro-

priate to address the issue. Jd. at 828 n.4. However, the

concurring opinions of Justices Brennan and Blackmun, with

whom Justice Marshall joined, stated that the Court’s opinion

should not be read as being dependent on the fact that Justice

Embry cast the decisive vote or wrote the opinion.

Justice Brennan stated that the Aetna opinion should not

be interpreted as applicable only where a judge improperly

fails to recuse and casts the deciding vote. He explained:

Finally, I understand that the Court’s opinion

is not to be read to suggest that the outcome might

be different had Justice Embry not provided the

necessary fifth vote in the court below.... Justice

Embry’s participation in the court’s resolution of the

case, while he was fully aware of his interest in its

outcome, was sufficient in itself to impugn the deci-

sion. .. . [E]xperience teaches us that each member’s

involvement plays a part in shaping the court’s ul-

timate disposition. The participation of a judge who

has substantial interest in the outcome of a case of

which he knows at the time he participates _neces-

sarily imports a bias into the deliberation process.

This deprives litigants of the assurance of impartial-

ity that is the fundamental requirement of due proc-

ess.

475 U.S. at 830-31 (Brennan, J., concurring) (italics in

original, underline added).

Justice Blackmun, joined by Justice Marshall, con-

cluded that any participation by Justice Embry in the

lower court’s deliberations was sufficient to violate Due

Process. Justice Blackmun noted that the influence of a

biased judge on the opinion of a court cannot be measured.

Id.

[Elven if had Justice Embry not written the

court’s opinion, his participation ... would have

violated the Due Process Clause. ... To discern a

constitutionally significant difference between

the author of an opinion and the other judges

24

who participated in a case ignores the possibility

that the collegial decisionmaking process that is

the hallmark of multimember courts led the au-

- thor to alter the tone and actual holding of the

opinion to reach a majority, or to attain unanim-

ity. And because this collegial exchange of ideas

occurs in private, a reviewing court may never

discover the actual effect a biased judge had on

the outcome of a particular case. We should not

attempt the ... task of distilling Justice Embry’s

particular contribution to determine whether the

result would have been the same had he disquali-

fied himself at the outset. I would not want other

appellate courts to read the Court’s opinion today

to suggest that such an inquiry provides an ap-

propriate guarantee of due process.

The violation of the Due Process Clause oc-

curred when Justice Embry sat on this case, for

it was then the danger arose that his vote and

his views, potentially tainted by his interest in

the pending Blue Cross suit, would influence the

votes and views of his colleagues.

475 U.S. at 832-33 (Blackmun, J., concurring in the

judgment) (emphasis added).

In sum, the Aetna holding demonstrates that the

appearance of partiality on the part of the Alabama

Supreme Court created by the refusal of Justices Bolin,

Nabers, Smith and Stuart (or any single justice) to recuse

resulted in a violation of JCRA’s rights under the Due

Process Clause. Furthermore, as the Aetna concurring

opinions make clear, the only sufficient remedy for this

violation is vacatur of the Alabama Supreme Court’s

opinion. What is at stake here — the very integrity of our

judicial system — demands nothing less. Such a ruling

would be fully consistent with opinions based on similar

circumstances from the majority of United States Circuit

Courts of Appeals that have considered the issue, as well

as many other courts.

25

A. United States Circuit Courts of Appeals Have

Vacated Rulings of Multimember Panels

Based on the Appearance of Partiality

Caused by the Nonrecusal and Participation

ofa Member Who Was Not the Deciding Vote

The vast ma majority of the Circuit Courts of Appeals that

have addressed the issue have held that a ruling by a multi-

member tribunal is fatally tainted if only one member wrongly

participated because of bias or the appearance of bias, even if

such member's vote was unnecessary to reach a majority

vote.” The seminal opinion is Berkshire Employees Ass’n of

Berkshire Knitting Mills v. National Labor Relations Bd., 121

F.2d 235 (3d Cir. 1941). The court was presented with a

petition to set aside a ruling of the National Labor Relations

Board (“NLRB”) and a petition to seek evidence from the

NLRB on whether the mill and the employees’ association

(collectively “Berkshire”) had received a “full and fair hearing”

before the NLRB. 121 F.2d at 236. Berkshire sought evidence

that prior to the hearing a member of the NLRB had asked an

executive of a client company of Berkshire to influence Berk-

shire about an employee strike. Jd. at 238.

Although the Third Circuit recognized that an adminis-

trative body such as the NLRB plays a different and broader

role than that of a court, it recognized that “resolution of

contested questions by an impartial and disinterested

tribunal” was still required by Due Process. Jd. The court

'* Six of the seven Circuit Courts of Appeals that have decided the issue

have ruled favorably to the Petitioner's position. See Texaco, Inc. v. Federal

Trade Comm'n, 336 F.2d 754 (D.C. Cir. 1964), vacated on other grounds, 381

U.S. 739 (1965), Cinderella Career & Finishing Schs., Inc. v. Federal Trade

Comm'n, 425 F.2d 583 (D.C. Cir. 1970); Berkshire Employees Ass'n of

Berkshire Knitting Mills v. National Labor Relations Bd., 121 F.2d 235 (3d

Cir. 1941); American Cyanimid v. Federal Trade Comm’n, 363 F.2d 757 (6th

Cir. 1966); Antoniu v. Sec. & Exch., 877 F.2d 721 (8th Cir. 1989); Yamaha

Motor Corp. v. Riney, 21 F.3d 793 (8th Cir. 1994); Stivers v. Pierce, 71 F.3d 732

(9th Cir. 1995); Staton v. Mayes, 552 F.2d 908 (10th Cir. 1977); Hicks v. City of

Watonga, 942 F.2d 737 (10th Cir. 1991). The only Circuit Court of Appeals not

to adopt the majority view is the Fifth Circuit. See Bradshaw v. McCotter, 796

F.2d 100 (5th Cir. 1986).

26

rejected the NLRB’s contention that its decision should be

upheld because only one member of the Board was alleged to

have lacked impartiality and he was not the deciding vote. It

held that: “Litigants are entitled to_an impartial tribunal

whether it consists of one man or twenty and there is no way

which we know of whereby the influence of one upon the

others can be quantitatively measured.” Jd. at 239 (emphasis

added). Based on the conclusion that Berkshire’s Due Proc-

ess rights may likely have been violated, the Court of Ap-

peals granted the petition for it to seek evidence, with the

case to be reconsidered by the members of the board who

were not disqualified should such bias be proved. /d.

Cinderella Career and Finishing Schools, Inc. v.

Federal Trade Comm’n, 425 F.2d 583 (D.C. Cir. 1970),

illustrates the proper ruling in a case involving public

statements by members of the tribunal. Cinderella sought

relief from orders of the Federal Trade Commission

(“FTC”) relating to certain allegedly deceptive business

practices. 425 F.2d at 584. Cinderella argued that the

chairman of the FTC should have recused himself from the

review of the initial decision of a hearing examiner be-

cause the chairman had made public statements which

suggested he had prejudged the case. Jd. at 584-85.

A public speech made by the chairman while Cinder-

ella’s appeal of the hearing examiner’s ruling was pending

criticized “ads that offer a college education in five weeks,”

and indicated to the Circuit Court of Appeals his bias against

Cinderella. Id. at 590. Noting that it had “no concern for or

interest in the public statements of government officers, but

_.. }was] charged with the responsibility of making certain

that the image of the administrative process is not trans-

formed from a Rubens to a Modigliani,” and, quoting Berk-

shire, the Circuit Court vacated the FTC's ruling and

remanded the case for reconsideration without the chairman.

Id. at 590, 592.

Stivers v. Pierce, 71 F.3d 732 (9th Cir. 1995), recog-

nized that the concurring opinions in Aetna are consistent

with the older case law from the Circuit Courts of Appeals.

In Stivers, the Ninth Circuit had to decide whether a

27

district court had erred in granting summary judgment on the

plaintiffs claim against members of Nevada's private detective

licensing board for allegedly violating his Due Process rights.

The court found Stivers had a right to an unbiased tribunal and

held that this right was violated when a single biased member

of the board took part in the unanimous ruling denying him a

license. 71 F.3d at 746-48. The court looked to the concurring

opinions in Aetna and the opinions in Cinderella and Berkshire

to answer the question of “whether bias on the part of one

member of a multi-person tribunal violates Due Process,

without any showing that the member’s bias affected the

tribunal’s decision.” Jd. at 746-47. Noting that the issue had not

been addressed by the majority opinion in Aetna, but that the

concurring opinions and other Circuit Courts of Appeals had

held that such a Due Process violation still required vacatur of

the ruling, the Stivers court concluded:

As Justice Brennan observed in Aetna Life, it

is difficult if not impossible to measure the impact

that one member’s views have on the process of col-

lective deliberation. Each member contributes not

only his vote but also his voice to the deliberative

process. Thus, the fact that the tribunal’s vote was

unanimous does not mean that the bias of one

member had no effect on the result. ~

We therefore hold that where one member of a

tribunal is actually biased, or where the circum-

stances create the appearance that one member is

biased, the proceedings violate due process. The

plaintiff need not demonstrate that the biased

member’s vote was decisive or that his views influ-

enced those of other members.

Id. at 747-48 (footnote omitted, emphasis added).

Likewise, several other Courts of Appeals opinions have

involved public statements by a tribunal member which

caused an appearance of bias resulting in a Due Process

28

violation even though the biased member did not cast the

deciding vote.“

B. State Court Decisions Also Support Vaca-

tur and Remand in this Case

Although there are several opinions by state appeals

courts and federal district courts addressing the issue of

whether the ruling of a tribunal must be vacated if one of

its members failed to recuse and improperly participated,

two state supreme court opinions address the issue when

the tribunal is an appeals court. In Johnson v. Sturdivant,

758 S.W.2d 415 (Ark. 1988), the court was petitioned for

rehearing by Georgia Pacific Corporation seeking the

disqualification of the original opinion’s author, Justice

Purtle, because he had a personal claim pending against

an insurer of one of the other appellants and, relying on

Aetna, also seeking the disqualification of other justices

that had participated in the ruling. 758 S.W.2d at 415-16.

The court recognized that under Aetna its opinion had to

be vacated because Justice Purtle had authored the

opinion, but also recognized that, like here, because the

opinion had “departled] from past decisions and head[ed]

in a different direction,” disqualification of all the judges

who participated and appointment of a court of special

justices to decide the appeal was required in order to pre-

serve the public’s trust. Jd. at 416. The Court explained:

“ See Texaco, Inc., 336 F.2d at 760 (“Chairman Dixon's participa-

tion in the hearing amounted ... to a denial of due process which

invalidated the order under review.”); Staton, 552 F.2d at 914 (holding

that Staton had a viable “civil rights claim” because statements made

by “Mayes for the removal of Dr. Staton ... reveal a tribunal not

meeting the demands of due process for a hearing with fairness and the

appearance of fairness.”); Antoniu, 877 F.2d at 726 (“Even though Cox

recused himself prior to the filing of the SEC’s final decision, there is no

way of knowing how Cox’s participation affected the Commissioner’s

deliberations. Accordingly, we nullify all Commission proceedings. . . .”);

Hicks, 942 F.2d at 748 (holding that Hicks had a viable claim under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 because “if Mrs. Diffy is found to have been biased when

she cast her vote... , her presence will have tainted the tribunal.”).

29

“While we are not expected to be a perfect institution, we

are expected to always try to do the right thing. ... Given

the unavoidable choice of letting a decision stand under a

cloud or removing the cloud entirely, we choose the latter.”

Id. Although not expressly stated, the Arkansas Supreme

Court’s ruling was plainly dictated by the conclusion that

such action was necessary to preserve the appeliant’s Due

Process rights. The same result is warranted here, where

the Alabama Supreme Court’s opinion not only involved a

Due Process violation by the participation and votes of

justices who should have recused, but also involved an

opinion, like the one by the court in Johnson, that “headed

in a different direction” in relation to its interpretation of

Alabama’s gambling device statute.

In People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals v.

Bobby Berosini, Ltd., 894 P.2d 337 (1995), overruled on

other grounds by Towbin Dodge, LLC v. Eighth Judicial Dist.

Court of State ex rel. County of Clark, 112 P.3d 1063 (Nev.

2005), the Nevada Supreme Court was presented with a

petition for rehearing based on the contention that a judge

sitting on the appeal should have recused. The recusal

motion was based on the judge’s membership on the advisory

board for a foundation allegedly associated with PETA. 894

P.2d at 433-34. Although the court concluded that the judge

was not actually biased, it granted the motion to disqualify

“to avoid even the appearance of impropriety and to promote

public confidence in the integrity of the judicial process.” Jd.

at 438. The PETA court then vacated the opinion even

though the judge had not cast a decisive vote. Citing the

concurring opinions in Aetna, the PETA court concluded that

although the judge’s vote could be considered surplusage

because three other justices signed the opinion, “the role

collegiality plays in appellate decisions mandates full recon-

sideration of this matter.” Jd. at 341-42.

These federal and state court opinions demonstrate

that what is required of the members of a tribunal in order

to render rulings in accordance with a party’s right to Due

Process of law has not changed in sixty years. In this case

concerning whether JCRA’s Sweepstakes promotion was

illegal gambling, four Alabama justices had made political

30

statements agreeing with CCA’s position opposing any

form of gambling, CCA had taken the public position that

JCRA’s Sweepstakes was illegal gambling, CCA had

participated in the bench trial, and the expert who testi-

fied against JCRA was proclaimed to be a CCA “under-

cover expert.” However, the court ignored the facts of

CCA's participation in the case and failed to answer the

issue of the appearance of partiality raised in JCRA’s

Motions to Disqualify. Moreover, even though the chief

justice aired a campaign commercial during the appeal

calling the owner of JCRA a “casino boss,” both he and the

court failed to even acknowledge JCRA’s Motion to Dis-

qualify him. Under these facts, the appearance of bias on

the part of four members of the Alabama Supreme Court

unquestionably violated JCRA’s Due Process rights and

requires that the court’s opinion be vacated.

CONCLUSION

This Court’s opinion in White recognized that a

judicial candidate has a right under the First Amendment

in an election campaign to state his or her positions on

issues or parties. That opinion did not answer the question

of what Due Process requires the judge to do when such

issues or parties come before the elected judge. The an-

swer to that question, now presented here, is that when

the judge’s use of free speech intrudes upon a litigant’s

rights under the Fourteenth Amendment thereby creating

a court that has the objective appearance of partiality, the

judge must recuse or be disqualified. The amazing facts

and circumstances presented by this Petition demonstrate

that four justices of the Alabama Supreme Court should

have recused or been disqualified, but were not, resulting

in glaring violations of JCRA’s Due Process rights. Accord-

ingly, JCRA requests the vacatur of the Alabama Supreme

Court’s opinion as the remedy for such a violation.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM M. SLAUGHTER

Counsel of Record

J. MICHAEL REDIKER

MICHAEL C. SKOTNICKI

PETER J. TEPLEY

VINCENT J. GRAFFEO

HASKELL SLAUGHTER YOUNG &

REDIKER, LLC

2001 Park Place North

1400 Park Place Tower

Birmingham, AL 35203

Telephone: (205) 251-1000

J. MARK WHITE

AUGUSTA S. DowbD

WILLIAM M. BOWEN, JR.

WHITE ARNOLD ANDREWS & DowpD P.C.

2025 3rd Avenue North, Suite 600

Birmingham, AL 35203

Telephone: (205) 323-1888

JOHN M. BOLTON III

SASSER, BOLTON, STIDHAM &

SEFTON, P.C.

100 Colonial Bank Boulevard

P.O. Box 24127

Montgomery, AL 36117

Telephone: (334) 532-3400

Counsel for Petitioner

App. 1

Appendix A

APPENDIX A - OPINION OF THE ALABAMA

SUPREME COURT FILED DECEMBER 1, 2006

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before

publication in the advance sheets of Southern Reporter.

Readers are requested to notify the Reporter of Decisions,

Alabama Appellate Courts, 300 Dexter Avenue, Montgom-

ery, Alabama 36104-3741 ((334) 242-4621), of any typo-

graphical or other errors, in order that corrections may be

made before the opinion is printed in Southern Reporter.

SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

OCTOBER TERM, 2006-2007

1050625

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attorney

for the Tenth Judicial Circuit of Alabama

V.

Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc.,

d/b/a the Birmingham Race Course;

and Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc.

1050857

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attorney

for the Tenth Judicial Circuit of Alabama

V.

Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc.,

d/b/a the Birmingham Race Course;

and Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc.

App. 2

Appendix A

Appeals from Jefferson Circuit Court

(CV-05-7684)

(Filed Dec. 1, 2006)

WOODALL, Justice.

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attorney for

the Tenth Judicial Circuit of Alabama, appeals from a

judgment in favor of the Jefferson County Racing Associa-

tion, Inc., d/b/a the Birmingham Race Course (“the

JCRA”), and Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc. (“In-

novative”) (referred to collectively as “the owners”), in the

owners’ action for injunctive and declaratory relief as to

allegations that they are operating illegal gambling

devices at the Birmingham Race Course (“the race

course”). We reverse that judgment and render a judgment

for Barber.

I. Procedural Background

On December 15, 2005, the owners began operating at

the race course an activity they advertised as a “Quincy’s

MegaSweeps” (“the MegaSweeps”). The activity was

interrupted on December 22, 2005, when Jefferson County

Sheriff Mike Hale began executing a warrant authorizing

the seizure of all records and computer equipment related

to the operation of the MegaSweeps. That same day, the

JCRA filed a complaint against Sheriff Hale seeking

declaratory and injunctive relief from the seizure. The

JCRA alleged that it was “conducting a sweepstakes

promotion at the race course to promote the race course

and its lawful activities as well as the opening of an

internet café and digital communications center.” (Empha-

sis added.) The JCRA sought a judgment (1) declaring that

App. 3

Appendix A

its MegaSweeps operation was lawful and (2) enjoining

Sheriff Hale from interfering with its MegaSweeps opera-

tion. It also sought a judgment declaring that the “Ala-

bama gambling statutes ... upon which the... search and

seizure [were] based” are “unconstitutionally vague.” It

more specifically challenged the constitutionality of Ala.

Code 1975, § 13A-12-20(4), which defines gambling. By

consent of the parties, the trial court issued a preliminary

injunction, enjoining further seizure of equipment and

ordering the return of all property that had been removed

from the race course. The court, however, also enjoined

operation of the MegaSweeps pending resolution of the

underlying dispute.

On December 29, 2005, Innovative, as the owner of

the computer equipment and system at issue in this case,

moved to intervene. That motion was granted on January

4, 2006. On January 17, 2006, Barber moved to intervene

and filed a counterclaim for declaratory and injunctive

relief. Barber sought a judgment declaring (1) “that the

components of the [MegaSweeps] operation ... are in fact

illegal gambling devices that are subject to forfeiture” and

(2) “that the operation ... is an illegal lottery under

Section 65 of the Alabama Constitution and Alabama Code

§ 13A-12-20, et seg.” He also sought an order permanently

enjoining the operation of “such gambling devices and/or a

lottery in Jefferson County.” That same day, the trial court

granted Barber’s motion to intervene. The Alabama

Attorney General appeared i: the case and filed a memo-

randum in opposition to the owners’ constitutional chal-

lenge.

Subsequently, on January 31, 2006, following a bench

trial, the trial court — without specifically referring to

App. 4

Appendix A

Barber’s counterclaims — entered a judgment declaring

that the MegaSweeps operation was not a lottery and that

it did not involve the use of slot machines or gambling

devices. The court permanently enjoined Sheriff Hale

“from further actions against [the MegaSweeps] operations

at the [race course], provided [the owners] operate the

[MegaSweeps] as represented.”

Sheriff Hale did not appeal. However, on February 14,

2006, Barber filed a notice of what purported to be an

interlocutory appeal in case no. 1050625, challenging the

injunctive aspect of the trial court’s judgment. Specifically,

the issue, as Barber framed it on his docketing statement,

was “(wjhether the trial court properly enjoined law

enforcement from seizing equipment used in such opera-

tion or otherwise taking action against the MegaSweep!|s]

operation at the Birmingham Race Track.” Concurrently,

he filed a motion in the trial court to alter, amend, or

vacate the judgment, or to grant a new trial. In that

motion, Barber contended, among other things, that the

January 31 judgment was not final because it did not refer

specifically to his counterclaims. That same day, the

owners moved this Court to dismiss Barber’s interlocutory

appeal. They contended that the January 31, 2006, judg-

ment was, in fact, a final judgment, effectively disposing of

Barber’s counterclaims and precluding an interlocutory

appeal. Furthermore, they argued, Barber’s pending

postjudgment motion rendered an appeal of a final judg-

ment premature.

On March 21, 2006, the trial court denied Barber’s

post-judgment motion. The following day, the owners

apprised this Court of that order and asserted that Bar-

ber’s interlocutory appeal merged with the final judgment,

App. 5

Appendix A

from which he had a right to appeal. On that ground, they

urged us to dismiss the appeal in case no. 1050625. Also,

on March 22, 2006, Barber appealed from the postjudg-

ment order, in case no. 1050857. The appeals were consoli-

dated for briefing. Various amici curiae filed briefs in

support of Barber, namely, (1) Governor Bob Riley, (2)

Attorney General Troy King, (3) the Alabama District

Attorneys Association, and (4) the Foundation for Moral

Law (“the Foundation”).

The parties now agree that all the issues presented in

this dispute are subsumed in case no. 1050857. Conse-

quently, we dismiss the appeal in case no. 1050625 as

moot.

Il. Case No. 1050857

Two dispositive issues are presented: (1) whether the

MegaSweeps operation at the race track involves the use

of slot machines and, if so, (2) whether the definition of

gambling in § 13A-12-20, Ala. Code 1975, is unconstitu-

tionally vague.

A. Standard of Review

Our review of a declaratory judgment is ordinarily

governed by the ore tenus standard. State Farm Mut. Auto.

Ins. Co. v. Brown, 894 So. 2d 643 (Ala. 2004); Alfa Mut.

Ins. Co. v. Small, 829 So. 2d 743 (Ala. 2002). However, the

standard “is not applicable where the evidence is undis-

puted, or where the material facts are established by the

undisputed evidence.” Salter v. Hamiter, 887 So. 2d 230,

234 (Ala. 2004). Neither does the ore tenus rule apply to

the trial court’s legal conclusions or misapplications of the

App. 6

Appendix A

law to undisputed facts. Eubanks v. Hale, 752 So. 2d 1113,

1144-45 (Ala. 1999).

The material facts in this case are undisputed or

uncontroverted and the questions presented are legal

ones, as the trial court expressly acknowledged. Therefore,

our review is de novo. Brown, 894 So. 2d at 647.

B. Slot Machine

Barber contends that the MegaSweeps operation

involves the use of slot machines, in violation of Ala. Code

1975, § 13A-12-27. Section 13A-12-27 provides, in perti-

nent part:

“(a) A person commits the crime of posses-

sion of a gambling device if with knowledge of

the character thereof he manufactures, sells,

transports, places or possesses, or conducts or

negotiates any transaction affecting or designed

to affect ownership, custody or use of:

—“(1) Aslot machine; or

“(2) Any other gambling device, with

the intention that it be used in the ad-

vancement of unlawful gambling activity.”

A “slot machine” is defined as follows:

“A gambling device that, as a result of the inser-

tion of a coin or other object, operates, either

completely automatically or with the aid of some

physical act by the player, in such a manner that,

depending upon elements of chance, it may eject

something of value. A device so constructed or

readily adaptable or convertible to such use is no

less a slot machine because it is not in working

App. 7

Appendix A

order or because some-mechanical act of manipu-

lation or repair is required to accomplish its ad-

aptation, conversion or workability. Nor is it any

less a slot machine because apart from its use or

adaptability as such it may also sell or deliver

something of value on a basis other than chance.”

Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-12-20(10) (emphasis added).'

“A person engages in gambling if he stakes

or risks something of value upon the outcome of a

contest of chance or a future contingent event not

under his control or influence, upon an agree-

ment or understanding that he or someone else

will receive something of value in the event of a

certain outcome.”

Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-12-20(4). “Something of value” is

defined as “[aJny money or property, ... or article ex-

changeable for money or property or any form of credit or

promise directly or indirectly contemplating transfer of

money or property or of any interest therein, or involving

extension of a service entertainment or a privilege of

playing at a... scheme without charge.” Ala. Code 1975,

§ 13A-12-20(11).

Barber insists that the trial court erred in discounting

the operation and effect of key pieces of computer equip-

ment when they are integrated within the MegaSweeps

network. He contends that when those pieces are consid-

ered “collectively,” they are gambling devices within the

‘A “gambling device” is defined as “lalny device, machine,

paraphernalia or equipment that is normally used or usable in the

playing phases of any gamoling activity, whether that activity consists

of gambling between persons or gambling by a person involving the

playing of a machine.” Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-12-20(5).

App. 8

Appendix A

context of § 13A-12-27. This contention requires a descrip-

tion of the components of the MegaSweeps system and

how it functions as an integrated whole in its historical

context.

1. Function of the System

On January 14, 2006, before Barber moved to inter-

vene, the parties filed a joint stipulation of facts (“the

stipulation”). According to the stipulation, as supple-

mented by facts that are undisputed or uncontroverted,

Innovative is a wholly owned subsidiary of Multimedia

Games, Inc. (“Multimedia”), which “provides computer

equipment and software to promote the gaming activities

of Native American, charitable gaming establishments,

and state, national, and international lotteries.” In 2005,

Multimedia began discussions with the owners of the race

course regarding the development of a project to promote

the race course, the “primary business activity” of which

“is pari-mutual wagering and racing activities for its

patrons.” Those discussions produced the scheme for the

MegaSweeps operation.

To implement its plan, Multimedia devised a sophisti-

cated computer system to be installed at the race course.’

The JCRA describes it as a “unique one-of-a-kind system

that was basically developed from scratch.” JCRA’s brief,

at 58 n.18. Essentially, it involved the sales of Internet

* Direct quotations in Part II.B.1. of this opinion are from the

stipulation unless otherwise noted.

* According to Multimedia’s chief executive officer, the system used

at the race course is the “most sophisticated” system in operation.

App. 9

Appendix A

access in conjunction with chances to win cash prizes.

“Innovative was incorporated to continue Multimedia’s

implementation, design and deployment of” the system.

The Internet-access aspect of the system installed at

the race course is variously described as a “cyber café” or

“the CyberCenter.”

“8. Patrons obtain access to the services of

the CyberCenter by purchasing computer access

time (‘cybertime’) at a rate of one (1) dollar for

four (4) minutes. ...

“9. The rate[ ] charged for [cybertime] is fair

market value.

oe

“22. The products and services offered at

the CyberCenter ... provide for {[, among other

things,] ... personal computer usage, Internet

access and voice communications via the Inter-

net, and information on pari-mutual wager-

ing.... The CyberCenter features computer

terminals that provide access to a personal com-

puter with broadband Internet connection where

users can browse the Internet, access email, and

learn about and use commercial software appli-

cations licensed for use on that computer termi-

nal. The package offered at the CyberCenter

includes . . . services such as photocopying, print-

ing, photographic reproduction ... ; access to

software programs for use in preparing tax re-

turns, computer games, and basic computer

skills tutorials (for Windows, Microsoft Office,

other programs and the Internet itself); and the

sale or rental of certain computer hardware,

including headsets that can be used for voice

App. 10

Appendix A

communications and flash drives for data reten-

tion and transfer. ...

“

“24. Customers must have an account in

order to purchase cybertime. With that account

number, the System keeps track of how much cy-

bertime a customer has purchased and how

much that customer has used. The account is

accessed through a plastic account access card

containing an encoded magnetic strip similar to a

credit card. Once cybertime has been purchased,

it can be used at any one of the ... computer

terminals located in the CyberCenter on both

floors of the Birmingham Race Course facility.

The computer terminals have restricted access

requiring use of attached card swipe readers.”

The gaming aspect of the system is explained in the

stipulation as follows:

“10. The Birmingham Race Course offers a

sweepstakes called the [MegaSweeps]. For every

one (1) dollar of cybertime purchased, the con-

sumer receives 100 entries in the [MegaSweeps].

The results of the respective entries, i.e., whether

each is a winning or losing entry, are predeter-

mined when the consumer purchases cybertime at

the point of purchase.

“11. The customer determines whether the

sweepstakes entries are winners by reading the

results online or on one of the 116 computers in

the CyberCenter, calling a toll-free phone num-

ber, or by placing the computer access card in one

of more than 1,300 electronic readers |‘the read-

ers’] that display winning and losing entries in

an entertaining format, but standing alone are

App. 11

Appendix A

otherwise dumb terminals. Once the results have

been revealed, winning entries are paid. ...

“18. All sweepstakes entries, whether ob-

tained with the purchase of cybertime, by mail

(without a purchase], or by request at the facility

[without a purchase), are drawn in the same

manner. Entries cannot be changed or altered at

any time.

“19. Although a customer does not immedi-

ately know the sweepstakes results when the en-

tries are [assigned] to him, the customer is

provided with a number of ways to reveal the re-

sults. The customer can learn the outcomes of his

sweepstakes entries by accessing a website re-

motely, using the computer terminals, by calling

a toll-free phone number, or by revealing the out-

comes on a reader.

“20. The Birmingham Race Course has over

1,300 readers. The readers are divided among

different entertainment scenarios, and each

reader reveals a batch of entries in a quantity se-

lected by the customer. The customer swipes his

account card to activate a reader. Once activated,

the customer presses a button on the reader to see

the results of the selected number of entries.

“21. The entries the customer receives after

the purchase of cybertime are the same entries

that are revealed. When a customer’s sweep-

stakes entries are revealed, those sweepstakes

entries are marked as revealed and they cannot

be revealed again. If a customer chooses te use a

reader to reveal entries, a server selects the or-

der in which a customer’s outcomes are revealed.

App. 12

Appendix A

The total prize value of the subset is sent to the

reader so the reader can show the outcome to the

customer. For example, when a customer elects

to reveal five of the customer’s sweepstakes en-

tries, a server might select five of the customer’s

sweepstakes entries that happen to be non-

winners, in which case the appropriate commu-

nication would be relayed to the reader, and the

reader would display that outcome to the cus-

tomer. Alternatively, a server might select five of

the customer’s sweepstakes entries that happen

to be winners and relay the appropriate commu-

nication to the reader. The reader will ultimately

display the exact value of the customer’s sweep-

stakes entries.”

(Emphasis added.)

The trial court found that the “readers are designed

and « ranged so that they look and sound like slot ma-

chines.” Lt. Paul Hogan, who conducted preseizure “un-

dercover operations” at the race track, stated that the

readers would indicate a winning entry by “dings, tones

and simulated change falling as in a slot machine.” Accord-

ing to Lt. Hogan, the readers also had casino-style names

“such as Bunch O’Luck, Crazy Blue Streak, Reel Thrills,

Sun Dogs, Flamingo 7’s, Major Money, Krazy Farm, Ed

McMahon’s Star Magic, Cherry Pop, Fruit Cccktail De-

luxe, China Seas, Lock and Win, Double Cash Money, and

many others.” The payout percentage, that is, the ratio of

winnings to the amount expended by the players, is 92%.

Indeed, the typical reader was originally manufactured as

a slot machine and had been modified for use in conjunc-

tion with the peculiar components of the MegaSweeps

system, which include:

App. 13

Appendix A

“26. Central Database. The central compo-

nent of the System is a database where the cus-

tomer’s account is tracked. The account

maintains the cardholder’s information, the bal-

ance of purchased cybertime remaining, the

quantity of sweepstakes entries issued, and the

balance of sweepstakes winnings revealed, but

not yet redeemed.

“27. Point of Sale Terminals. The Point of

Sale Terminals allow customers to purchase cyber-

time for their accounts and to redeem any revealed

winning sweepstakes prizes. The Point of Sale

Terminal is connected to the Universal Point of

Sale server which handles all transactions and

connections with the Central Database. When a

customer purchases cybertime a request is for-

warded from the Point of Sale to the Universal

Point of Sale server where it is credited to the

customer’s account in the Central Database. This

sale of cybertime also triggers the System to give

a customer promotional sweepstakes entries by

associating them with the Customer’s account at

the time of purchase.

“28. Computer Terminals. The Computer

Terminals are state-of-the art personal com-

puters that are the primary access point for the

services sold by the CyberCenter. The Computer

Terminals are equipped with a suite of licensed

commercial software applications (like Microsoft

Office) that can be used by customers on the local

computer and they allow broadband access to the

Internet. The Computer Terminals have attached

swipe card readers that provide customers access

by swiping their account access cards. The Com-

puter Terminals are connected to a server called

the CyberCenter Kiosk Webservice (‘Computer

App. 14

Appendix A

Terminal server’) that deducts cybertime from

the customer’s account as the customer uses ac-

cess time at the Computer Terminal.

“29. The Readers. The Readers reveal

sweepstakes entries. The Readers are designed

to show sights and sounds that heighten the sus-

pense and excitement of the sweepstakes. The

Readers reveal the outcomes to the customers in

groups. The Readers do not determine the out-

come of the sweepstakes; rather, they merely re-

veal the outcome to the customer in an

entertaining manner. The only random process

that takes place on the Reader is the determina-

tion of which entertaining display to use to show

a losing outcome or a winning outcome of equal

value. For example, a Reader might have several

hundred different ways of showing a non-

winning sweepstakes outcome to the customer.

“30. Servers. The Point of Sale Terminals,

Computer Terminals, and Readers are connected

to three separate servers. The Universal Point of

Sale server runs from the CyberCenter back of-

fice and handles requests from both the Point of

Sale and Recharge Kiosks. The Universal Point

of Sale server credits the customer’s account in

the database with cybertime when purchases are

made at either the Point of Sale or the Recharge

Kiosks and gives the customers sweepstakes en-

tries. The Computer Terminal server also runs

from the CyberCenter back office and controls

access to the Computer Terminals. When a cus-

tomer swipes an account access card at a Com-

puter Terminal, the Computer Terminal server

determines whether the customer has cybertime

available. If so, the Computer Terminal server

allows the customer access to the Computer

App. 15

Appendix A

Terminal. The Computer Terminal server keeps a

record of the cybertime available on the cus-

tomer’s account. The Reader server determines

which of the customer’s sweepstakes entries will

be revealed on any given request. For example, if

a customer makes a request at a Reader to reveal

five sweepstakes entries and the customer has

100 available, the Reader server determines

which five entries to reveal. The Reader server

then sends the information on the five entries to

the Reader and marks those five entries as re-

vealed in the database.

“31. Customer Tracking Terminal (CTT).

The CTT provides a mechanism for entering the

customer’s account data into the System and is-

suing a customer account card. Customers new to

the CyberCenter must sign up and get an ac-

count card to begin tracking cybertime. The CTT

interfaces with the Customer Tracking System.

“32. Customer Tracking System (‘CTS’). The

CTS provides an interface between the central

database and the CTT. In addition to facilitating

account creation and data entry, the CTS can be

leveraged to facilitate promotions.

“33. Recharge Kiosk. The recharge kiosks

are automated stations that allow existing cus-

‘tomers with account access cards to purchase

additional cybertime and add it to their accounts.

If customers have won cash prizes in the sweep-

stakes, they can use the Recharge Kiosks to [ap-

ply] those winnings towards additional cybertime

purchases. The Recharge Kiosks are connected to

the Universal] Point of Sale server.

App. 16

Appendix A

“34. Management Terminal. The manage-

ment terminals allow users to monitor and con-

trol the system. They provide access to reports on

how the System works and on the current state

of the System. Management Terminals are per-

sonal computers running proprietary software

that provides them with a means of requesting

and displaying information from the Central Da-

tabase. Customers who call in to determine the

outcome of their sweepstakes entries will be ser-

viced by employees of the CyberCenter through

the Management Terminals. Management Ter-

minals provide access to information from the

database through their connection to the Man-

agement Terminal Service.

“35. Management Terminal Service (MTS’).

The MTS connects the Management Terminals to

the Central Database. The MTS packages re-

quests for information from the Management

Terminals and returns the data requested from

the database. The MTS runs on a server in the

back office of the CyberCenter.”

(Emphasis added.)

In a nutshell, the MegaSweeps system functions as

follows: A consumer wishing to play the readers opens an

account by obtaining a magnetically encoded card, either

by mail or at the point of sale at the race track. In either

event, the account is simultaneously assigned, by the

central database and a server, a number of MegaSweeps

entries corresponding to the amount of cybertime the

consumer obtained. The assignments are selected from

any 1 of 20 pools containing 200 million entries in each

pool. According to Clifton Lind, Multimedia’s chief execu-

tive officer, the entries in each pool are “randomized by

App. 17

Appendix A

chance” before they are assigned to a consumer. The

consumer activates one of the 1,300 readers by inserting

his slide card into a slot on the reader. Once activated, the

reader allows a consumer to reveal his entries. The con-

sumer chooses an option and presses a button. Subse-

quently, the reader server reveals the selected number of

entries. Whether those entries correspond to any of the

winning entries that were assigned to the consumer’s

account at the point of sale is determined by a computer

algorithm. The consumer may continue selecting options

until all of his entries have been revealed.

When the consumer “logs off” the reader, his account

status is maintained in the central database. The system

will print out a report of the transaction, including the

amount of winnings, if any. Subsequently, the consumer

may collect his winnings at a “cash advance cage.” In the

alternative, he may exchange his winnings for more

cybertime and, consequently, additional MegaSweeps

entries, by inserting his card into one of the recharge

kiosks and entering the amount of his winnings to be

applied toward the purchase of more cybertime.

Barber contends that the “readers are slot machines

with certain parts removed.” Barber’s brief, at 48 n.12.

Thus, he insists, the readers are illegal because they are

“‘readily adaptable or convertible’ to slot machines” within

the definition of § 13A-12-20(10). Id.

In its order, the trial court concluded that the readers

are not slot machines because the “readers are ‘dumb

terminals,’” reasoning (1) that “no element of chance is

present at the readers,” and (2) that “no consideration is

paid or can be paid to use the readers.” (Emphasis added.)

App. 18

Appendix A

Barber, however, contends that both these elements are

present if the components of the system are understood as

working “collectively” and that “the trial court erred in

looking solely at the readers to determine whether gam-

bling devices were present.” Barber’s brief, at 47 (empha-

sis added).

With a payout percentage of 92%, the owners do not —

and could not — argue that the third element of gambling

is absent in this case, that is, they do not contend that

prizes are not being awarded. Instead, echoing the ration-

ale of the trial court, Innovative insists that because the

winning entries are predetermined within the central

database at the moment the “player receives his card,”

prizes are not awarded on the basis of a “future contingent

event,” within the meaning of § 13A-12-20(4). Innovative’s

brief, at 66. Thus, this case turns on whether the

MegaSweeps involves the elements of chance and consid-

eration.

2. Chance

By “chance,” we mean “a lack of control over events or

the absence of ‘controllable causation’ — ‘the opposite of

intention.’” Opinion of the Justices No. 373, 795 So. 2d

630, 635 (2001) (quoting Black’s Law. Dictionary 231 (6th

ed. 1990)).

“Slot machines have come a long way since

Charles Fey invented the first nickel three-reeler

in a small machine shop in San Francisco in

1895.... There are slot .machines that have

eliminated the handle, requiring only the press-

ing of a button to set the wheels spinning. Some

slot machines don’t even have slots; the number

App. 19

Appendix A

of times a player can pull the handle (or press

the button) is displayed as replays in a window of

the machine.

“Charles Fey, if he were alive today, would

recognize all of these machines as refinements of

his invention.”

I. Nelson Rose, Gambling and the Law 83 (Gambling

Times, Inc. 1986) (emphasis added). Today, “most slot

machines in casinos are not manually operated.... ”

Christine Hurt, Regulating Public Morals and Private

Markets: Online Securities Trading, Internet Gambling,

and the Speculation Paradox, 86 B.U.L. Rev. 371, 428-29

(2006). More and more, such machines are controlled by

computer. Jd. at 441, nn. 382 & 383. Indeed, modern slot

machines may be “stand-alone or network computers.” Jeff

Dense, The Socioeconomic Impact of Gaming in the Virgin

Islands, 8 Gaming L. Rev. 175, 176-77 (2004) (emphasis

added). Thus, a device is no less a slot machine because it

operates within a network, that is, because it shares

computer-processing equipment with a number of similar

devices.

In that connection, Innovative states:

“By [constructing its system so that] winning and

losing entries [would be determined] before the

card is handed to the person and by not charging

any consideration for the entries themselves, In-

novative designed the [MegaSweeps] so that [the]

required statutory element(s] of ‘gambling device’

— something staked ‘upon the outcome of a con-

test of chance or a future contingent event’ -

would be missing.”

App. 20

Appendix A

Innovative’s brief, at 12 (emphasis added). However,

Barber and certain amici curiae argue that when a con-

sumer obtains his or her card with the assigned

MegaSweeps entries, “chance occurs at [that] point of sale.”

The Foundation’s brief, at 7 (emphasis added). We agree.

It is axiomatic that one may not lawfully do indirectly

what is unlawful to be done directly. It is uncontroverted

that at least some of the readers had been adapted for

such use from their former function as stand-alone, or

mechanical, slot machines. The adaptation was described

by Robert Sertell, Sheriff Hale’s expert witness, in the

following colloquy:

“Q. Now, did you see any [of the] readers on

[January 4, 2006, that were seized by the

sheriff in December]?

of

“A. [By Sertell]. There-was one, sir, yes, sir.

“Q. Did you take it apart?

“A. Yes.

“Q@. And what did you see in it that was any-

thing of note?

A. The cabinet had a Baily Manufacturing

name plate on the side.[*] The internals of

* Bally Manufacturing Company “is one of the oldest names in

gaming, and was the dominant manufacturer of slot machines until

[International Gaming Technology] took over that role in the 1980s.”

John Grochowski, The Slot Machine Answer Book: How They Work,

How They've Changed and How to Overcome the House Advantage 68

(Bonus Books 2d ed. 2005).

App. 21

Appendix A

the cabinet had been removed and replaced

with what was apparently a computer or a

personal computer unit. There was provision

inside for the bill-acceptor mechanism to be

replaced if necessary. It was missing when I

saw it. There was, indeed, the traditional

cash box still in place. There was a ticket

printer validator loaded still in place, that

could have received and/or issued bar-coded

tickets. That magazine was full. There was,

I believe, a power supply in the cabinet and

that is about it.”

(Emphasis added.)

Significantly, the statutory definition of a slot machine

includes any device that is “constructed or readily adapt-

able or convertible to such use,” regardless of whether it is

“in working order or [whether] some mechanical act of

manipulation or repair is required to accomplish its

adaptation, conversion or workability.” § 13A-12-20(10)

(emphasis added). Just as the readers were adapted to

function within the computerized MegaSweeps network,

they cculd be retooled to operate as they were originally

designed.

In this case, the element of chance is satisfied at the

point of sale — before the readers are activated — by the

same central database and other computer equipment that

serve to operate the readers. It is immaterial that the

readers do not, themselves, assign values to the entries. In

short, the element of chance is as much a feature of the

MegaSweeps network system as of a stand-alone slot

machine.

App. 22

Appendix A

3. Consideration

Barber contends that the trial court erred in holding

that the element of consideration was absent in the

operation of the MegaSweeps system. Arguing to the

contrary, the owners first insist that the only consideration

paid by consumers is not for MegaSweeps entries, but for

cybertime, which is sold at fair market value. The owners’

argument, however, ignores the last sentence of § 13A-12-

20(10): “Nor is it any less a slot machine because apart

from its use or adaptability as such it may also sell or

deliver something of value on a basis other than chance.”

(Emphasis added.)

This portion of the statute deals with the recurring

attempts by gaming interests to invest slot machines with

legitimacy as ordinary vending machines. See, e.g.,

Higdon v. McDuff, 233 Ala. 497, 172 So. 636 (1937); Skates

v. Hartsfield, 216 Ala. 618, 114 So. 10 (1927); Cagle v.

State, 18 Ala. App. 553, 93 So. 206 (1922) (machine yield-

ing either chewing gum or nickels upon the deposit of a

nickel was an illegal slot machine); and Painter v. State,

163 Tenn. 627, 45 S.W.2d 46 (1932). “Slot machines were

invented that dispensed almost worthless mints with

every nickel played so the operator could say that the

customer always received something for his money.” Rose,

Gambling and the Law 89. “The early courts were split on

whether this converted the slot machine into a legitimate

vending machine, until it was pointed out that players

continued to put in their nickels long after the mints had

run out.” Id. (emphasis added). Consequently, the statute

impels us to inquire beyond the fact that the consumer

always receives something for his money. It requires us to

App. 23

Appendix A

consider the substance of the transaction, rather than its

form.

Doing so accords with the general rule that “a slot

machine which, in return for a coin deposited therein,

dispenses merchandise represented to be of the value of

such coin, accompanied at occasional and uncertain

intervals by a varying amount of money ... , or more

broadly, one which provides an element of chance, is a

gambling device.” 38 Am. Jur. 2d Gambling § 104 (1999).

Thus, “[w]here the return to the player is . . . dependent on

an element of chance, a slot machine is a gambling device,

even though the player is assured of his money’s worth of

some commodity and hence cannot lose.” Id. (emphasis

added). Such inquiry is also consistent with Ala. Code

1975, § 8-1-150 (“All contracts founded in whole or in part

on a gambling consideration are void.”), and with this

Court’s “‘“‘general disposition’”’” in the gambling context

to “‘“‘regard|| always the substance and not the sem-

blance of things, so as to prevent evasions of the law.’”’” Ex

parte Ted’s Game Enters., 893 So. 2d 376, 380 (Ala. 2004)

(quoting Opinion of the Justices No. 373, 795 So. 2d 630,

640 (Ala. 2001), quoting in turn Opinion of the Justices No.

277, 397 So. 2d 546, 547 (Ala. 1981) (emphasis added in

Opinion No. 373)).

To be sure, MegaSweeps “delivers something of value,”

namely, cybertime, on the basis of something “other than

chance.” Upon the tender of a minimum payment, con-

sumers invariably receive four minutes of cybertime, in

addition to 100 MegaSweeps entries. The owners contend

that the consideration is paid for the cybertime, and,

consequently, that the MegaSweeps entries are free. This

argument does not pass statutory muster, however, if,

App. 24

Appendix A

looking through the form of the operation to its substance,

consumers are paying for the entries, in whole or in part,

regardless of the cybertime acquired in conjunction with

those entries. See § 13A-12-20(11) (“[a]ny money or prop-

erty” paid or received is consideration). In other words, if

they are paying to play the readers, rather than to ac-

quire, or in addition to acquiring, cybertime, the element

of consideration set forth in § 13A-12-20(10) and (11) is

satisfied.

The evidence on this issue was undisputed or uncon-

troverted. The trial court found that “few customers were

using the [Internet kiosks],” but that customers “were

lined up at all hours to use the readers.” Also, the fact that

the owners provided more than 11 times as many readers

as Internet kiosks suggests an expectation that the read-

ers would be the major attraction.

Indeed, consumers purchased additional cybertime —

with the accompanying entries — even though they already

had large quantities of unused cybertime on their accounts.

The recharge kiosks, which allowed consumers to apply

their “winnings toward additional cybertime purchases,”

facilitated those transactions. In fact, consumers who

purchased cybertime were apprised only of the number of

entries credited to their account, not the amount of cyber-

time, unless they used the recharge kiosks or specifically

asked MegaSweeps personnel about the cybertime.

The payout percentage is 92%. This percentage

coincides with the industry standard for casino-style slot

machines, which “typically pay back 90% to 98% of all

money played, thus providing a hold for the house of 2% to

10%.” Mark G. Tratos, Gaming on the Internet, 3 Stan. J.L.

App. 25

Appendix A

Bus. & Fin. 101, 111 (1997). By contrast, the typical

payout percentage for a “temporary promotional sweep-

stakes” is “one half of one percent.” Midwestern Enters.,

Inc. v. Stenehjem, 625 N.W.2d 234, 240 (N.D. 2001).

Moreover, the duration of “promotional sweepstakes

occasionally offered by fast food chains, or in connection

with candy, sodas, miscellaneous food or other established

retail products,” is typically “limited,” Tenn. Op. Att’y Gen.

No. 02-089 n.5 (August 21, 2002), as opposed to the dura-

tion of the MegaSweeps, which is indefinite. The payout

percentage and duration of the operation are indicative of

“the true purpose of the game.” Stenehjem, 625 N.W.2d at

240.

Indeed, the trial court found it “obvious that most of

the customers are more interested ih getting [the]

MegaSweeps entries than they are in using the [Internet

kiosks].” The court further found that

“the [owners] undertook [the MegaSweeps] to at-

tract customers who wanted to gamble, or, at

least, those who could be made to think that they

were gambling. [The owners’} advertising through

television commercials and billboards promoted

playing [the] MegaSweeps as an alternative to

attending gambling establishments at Green-

track, |Alabama,] or Philadelphia and Biloxi,

Mississippi.”

(Emphasis added.) These facts and findings refute the

owners’ argument that, because cybertime is sold at fair

market value, the MegaSweeps operation falls outside the

statutory definition of a slot machine. Clearly, a substan-

tial number, if not the majority, of customers pay to play

App. 26

Appendix A

the readers, rather than to acquire, or in addition to

acquiring, cybertime.

The owners next contend that there is no considera-

tion for the entries, because minimum quantities may be

obtained by mail or at the point of sale without charge.

However, this Court has held that the availability of free

chances is not necessarily dispositive of whether the game

is a gambling scheme. Grimes v. State, 235 Ala. 192, 178

So. 73 (1937).

Grimes involved a “bank-night” scheme —- common

during the depression era, Roger J. Traynor, Quo Vadis,

Prospective Overruling: A Question of Judicial Responsibil-

ity, 50 Hastings L.J. 771, 786 (1999) - in which, in order

“(tlo promote business, theaters conducted drawings and

made prizes available to patrons who bought tickets or, in

some cases, to individuals who registered for the drawing

but were not required to buy a ticket.” Roland J. Santoni,

An Introduction to Nebraska Gaming Law, 29 Creighton L.

Rev. 1123, 1131 (1996) (emphasis added). Consistent with

this practice, the operators of the Ritz Theater in Tusca-

loosa held a drawing each Thursday night for a cash prize.

Grimes v. State, 28 Ala. App. 4, 178 So. 69 (1937) (setting

forth the underlying facts). “A registration booth was

maintained during all hours of each day of the week in the

marquee of the theater, where registration cards could be

signed” by irdividuals wishing to participate in the draw-

ing. 28 Ala. App. at 5, 178 So. at 69. Stubs of all such cards

were placed in a “hopper” and made up the pot from which

each drawing was taken. 28 Ala. App. at 6, 178 So. at 70.

“(NJo charge of any kind was made or any consideration

exacted from any one, and the signing of such card was

absolutely free, no one being required to purchase a ticket

App. 27

Appendix A

of admission to register.” 28 Ala. App. at 5, 178 So. at 69

(emphasis added).

“In addition to the original registration card,

[however,] those patrons of the theater who at-

tended a [matinee] performance of the theater

prior to the hour of the drawing on the day of the

drawing, viz., Thursday of each week, were per-

mitted, if they so desired, to sign an additional

card |‘the matinee card’) other than the registra-

tion card....”

28 Ala. App. at 6, 178 So. at 70 (emphasis added). Prizes

were awarded only to persons who had signed the matinee

card, unless the person whose name was drawn was

present on the premises and stepped forward within two

minutes, to claim his prize. 28 Ala. App. at 6, 178 So. at 70.

Cecil B. Grimes, as “city manager of the ... [Tusca-

loosa] theaters,” was “convicted of conducting a lottery.” 28

Ala. at 5, 178 So. at 69. The Court of Appeals affirmed the

conviction, and Grimes sought certiorari review, which

this Court denied with a written opinion. 235 Ala. at 192,

178 So. at 73.

The only issue presented to this Court was whether

the element of consideration was satisfied, where “every-

body [could] register, and [could] participate in the draw-

ing by being either in the theater, or on the outside, in

position to appear and claim the prize within two min-

utes.” 235 Ala. at 193, 178 So. at 74. The Court inquired:

“How can it be said patrons ... have paid anything for a

chance, if they have a like chance without paying?” Jd.

Holding that the element was satisfied, however, the

Court focused on the recipient of the consideration, that is,

App. 28

Appendix A

“Iwas] there a consideration moving to him?” 235 Ala. at

193, 178 So. 2d at 74. Thus, the Court reasoned that “the

lure of bank night [was] the show, and the chance for a

prize, as against the chance without the show.” 235 Ala. at

193-94, 178 So. at 74 (emphasis added). “[{L]ooking

through form and dealing with reality,” the Court recog-

nized that “the plan [was] intended to fill the theater, not

the lobby outside,” and that “the success of the plan in

swelling the patronage, and consequent income through

the scheme of chance [was] the final proof of a considera-

tion paid and a consideration received.” 235 Ala. at 194,

178 So. at 74.

Finally, the Court stated:

“That the prize may go to some one who has

paid nothing does not negative the fact that many

have paid for their chance. Because some have

not been drawn into the gambling phase does not

render it any the less a lottery, with whatever of

evil it engenders, as to the large public who have

paid.” |

235 Ala. at 194, 178 So. at 74 (emphasis added). Grimes

thus stands for the proposition that the opportunity for

free plays does not a negate the element of consideration,

or obviate an inquiry into the purpose and effect of the

operation as “the final proof of . . . consideration.” See also

Clark v. State, 262 Ala. 462, 462, 80 So. 2d 312, 312 (1955)

(the purpose and effect of the operation is a factor in decid-

ing whether “consideration [is] moving to the operator”).

In support of their argument that the opportunity for

free plays negates the element of consideration, the

owners cite Pepsi Cola Bottling Co. of Luverne v. Coca-

Cola Bottling Co., 534 So. 2d 295 (Ala. 1988) (“Pepsi

?

App. 29

Appendix A

Cola”), a short, per curiam opinion holding that an “‘In-

stant Cash’ promotion,” operated by Pepsi Cola Bottling

Co. of Luverne, Inc. (“Pepsi”), did not constitute a lottery.

534 So. 2d at 296. The promotion “offered a prize of

$10,000 to someone presenting [bottle] caps containing all

the letters” spelling “‘Pepsi Instant Cash.’” Jd. “For [that]

campaign, Pepsi distributed 25,000 cards with a similar

opportunity at participating stores and advertised via

store displays and radio that no purchase was required to

participate in the game. Cards could also be obtained by

telephone request and by writing the bottling plant or

production center in Columbus, Georgia.” 534 So. 2d at

296. In holding as it did, the Court did not discuss, over-

rule, or attempt to distinguish Grimes. It merely stated

that “the ‘Pepsi Instant Cash’ game [was] not a lottery,

because participants were not required to purchase cards

in order to play.” 534 So. 2d at 297.

We need not decide whether Pepsi Cola conflicts with

Grimes, because it is distinguishable from this case in at

least two important respects. First, unlike the sweep-

stakes in Pepsi Cola, MegaSweeps is a permanent, high-

stakes game. “[I]t does nwt follow that simply because low-

stakes, temporary promctional sweepstakes with pay-out

rates of one-half of one percent that offer free play are not

pursued as lotteries, we must conclude high-stakes,

permanent games with pay-out rates of [ninety-two]

percent are immune from the definition of [gambling]... .”

Midwestern Enters., Inc. v. Stenehjem, 625 N.W.2d at 240

(“Lucky Strike” machine, which dispensed a “two-minute

pre-paid phone card” in addition to a “game piece giving

the buyer a chance to win up to $500 in cash,” having a

payout percentage of 65%, was an illegal gambling device,

App. 30

Appendix A

despite a limited opportunity to play the machine for free).

Second — and more fundamentally — Pepsi Cola, unlike

this case, did not involve the use of an alleged gambling

device. The facts in Pepsi Cola did not require, or invite,

an analysis of § 13A-12-27 and § 13A-12-20(10) and (11).

In particular, there was no allegation, like the one here,

that the game involved the use of a slot machine. Thus,

Pepsi Cola is inapposite.

We think “Charles Fey, [inventor of the slot machine,]

if he were alive today, would recognize [the accessorized

MegaSweeps readers] as refinements of his invention.”

Rose, at 83. Innovative conceded that it constructed its

system “so that [the] required statutory element|s] of [a]

‘gambling device’ — something staked ‘upon the outcome of

a contest of chance or a future contingent event’ — would

be missing.” Innovative’s brief, at 12 (emphasis added).

The flaw in Innovative’s approach is that the elements are

not “missing” from the mechanics of the scheme. They are

simply dispersed throughout the various units and processes

of the integrated network.

The owners propose that they have found, and ex-

ploited, a “loophole” in the law. Indeed, the trial court

stated:

“The evidence convinces the court that through

careful planning the [owners] have found a loophole

in the patchwork of Alabama’s anti-gambling laws

and they have taken advantage of that loophole. In

the words of the Sheriff’s expert witness, Robert

Sertell, the [owners’] sweepstakes promotion was

‘trying to pul] a tractor-trailer through a loop-

hole.’ This court agrees that the jowners] have

taken advantage of weaknesses in the law... .”

App. 31

Appendix A

(Emphasis added.) Alabama’s gambling law, however, is

not so easily evaded. It is “‘the policy of the constitution

and laws of Alabama [to prohibit] the vicious system of

lottery schemes and the evil practice of gaming, in all their

protean shapes.’” Opinion of the Justices No. 83, 249 Ala.

516, 517, 31 So. 2d 753, 754 (1947) (quoting Johnson v.

State, 83 Ala. 65, 67, 3 So. 790, 791 (1887) (emphasis

added)). In the computer age, the fact that chance takes

place at the point of sale rather than at the readers them-

selves is simply inconsequential.

Thus, the readers are slot machines as to those who

pay to play them. Are they any less so because a few

patrons play for free? We think not. “Because some have

not been drawn into the gambling phase does not render it

any the less [a slot machine], with whatever of evil it

engenders, as to the large public who have paid.” Grimes,

235 Ala. at 194, 178 So. at 74 (emphasis added). Gratui-

tous entries obtained by mail or at the race track do not

legitimize the high-stakes MegaSweeps any more than

some opportunity for free plays could render innocuous a

conventional slot machine. The trial court’s contrary

holding was, therefore, error.

C. Vagueness

The JCRA challenges the statutory definition of

gambling as unconstitutional as applied to this particular

case. Because the trial court held in favor of the owners on

their substantive claims, it did not address the JCRA’s

* Our conclusion that the accessorized readers are slot machines

renders unnecessary any discussion of whether they are also a lottery.

App. 32

Appendix A

constitutional arguments. More specifically, the trial court

stated:

“The {owners} have ... argued that the rele-

vant statutes, Ala. Code (1975) Section 13A-12-

20 et seq., are unconstitutional as applied to this

case because of vagueness.... The argument

may have merit, but because of the conclusion

reached by the court that the plaintiffs’ promo-

tional scheme is lawful, the constitutional issue

need not be addressed.”

Because we disagree with the trial court as to the legality

of the MegaSweeps operation, the constitutional issue is

squarely before us, and we address JCRA’s vagueness

challenge.

“In reviewing the constitutionality of a statute, we

‘approach the question with every presumption and

intendment in favor of its validity, and seek to sustain

rather than strike down the enactment of a coordinate

branch of the government.’” Moore v. Mobile Infirmary

Ass’n, 592 So. 2d 156, 159 (1991) (quoting Alabama State

Fed’n of Labor v. McAdory, 246 Ala. 1, 9, 18 So. 2d 810, 815

(1944)). Overcoming that presumption is a heavy burden,

which is borne by the party challenging the validity of the

statute. Densmore v. Jefferson County, 813 So. 2d 844, 856

(Ala. 2001); Jefferson County Bd. of Health v. City of

Bessemer, 293 Ala. 237, 301 So. 2d 551 (1974).

The JCRA specifically challenges only § 13A-12-20(4),

which provides, in pertinent part:

“A person engages in gambling if he stakes or

risks something of value [consideration] upon

the outcome of a contest of chance or a future

App. 33

Appendix A

contingent event not under his control or influ-

ence, upon an agreement or understanding that

he or someone else will receive something of

value in the event of a certain outcome.”

(Emphasis added.) The essence of the JCRA’s argument, as

we understand it, is that if this Court holds that the

elements of chance and consideration are present in the

MegaSweeps system, those terms are unconstitutionally

vague. We disagree.

“Vagueness may invalidate a criminal law for either of

two independent reasons. First, it may fail to provide the

kind of notice that will enable ordinary people to under-

stand what conduct it prohibits; second, it may authorize

and even encourage arbitrary and discriminatory enforce-

ment.” City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 56 (1999).

However, “‘{mJere difficulty of ascertaining its meaning or

the fact that it is susceptible of different interpretations

will not render a statute ... too vague or uncertain to be

enforced.’” Scott & Scott, Inc. v. City of Mountain Brook,

844 So. 2d 577, 589 (Ala. 2002) (quoting City of Birming-

ham v. Samford, 274 Ala. 367, 372, 149 So. 2d 271, 275

(1963)). “[F]lew words possess the precision of mathemati-

cal symbols, most statutes must deal with untold and

unforeseen variations in factual situations, and the practi-

cal necessities of discharging the business of government

inevitably limit the specificity with which legislators can

spell out prohibitions.” Boyce Motor Lines, Inc. v. United

States, 342 U.S. 337, 340 (1952). “Consequently, no more

than a reasonable degree of certainty can be demanded.

Nor is it unfair to require that one who deliberately goes

perilously close to an area of proscribed conduct shall take

—

App. 34

Appendix A

the risk that he may cross the line.” Id. (footnote omitted;

emphasis added).

Moreover, “[a] statute is not vague when the meaning

of the words in controversy can be fairly ascertained by

reference to judicial determinations, the common law,

dictionaries, treatises or even the words themselves, if

they possess a common and generally accepted meaning.”

Bowers v. State, 283 Md. 115, 125, 389 A.2d 341, 347

(1978) (emphasis added).

The JCRA does not allege that the meanings of the

words “chance” and “consideration” are mysterious or new.

Actually, “[glambling is as old as man, and certainly as old

as the common law.” Rose, at 75. The elements of gambling

under § 13A-12-20(4) are the same as those at common

law, namely, the payment of (1) consideration, for the (2)

chance to win (3) a prize. See Grimes v. State, 235 Ala. at

193, 178 So. at 74; Kyle D. Craddock, The Cardstock

Chase, Trading Cards: A Legal Lottery? 8 Gaming L. Rev.

310, 314 (2004) (the “three basic [common-law] elements of

gambling [are] consideration, chance, and prize”). Thus,

the meanings of the words “chance” and “consideration”

are easily apprehended by reference to “judicial determi-

nations [and] the common law,” at which they “possess a

common and generally accepted meaning.” Bowers v. State,

283 Md. at 125, 389 A.2d at 347. Moreover, the element of

consideration in the specific context of this case is meticu-

lously defined in § 13A-12-20(11).

In that connection, the amicus curiae brief filed by the

Attorney General contends that there is no “vagueness,”

and “no confusion about what the law requires,” the only

issue being one of fact, that is, how the MegaSweeps

App. 35

Appendix A

functions. Brief of Attorney General, at 10. Indeed, this

case turns not so much on the definitions of “chance” and

“consideration” as on their applications to the undisputed

facts.

In the final analysis, Innovative created a system

composed of what were formerly slot machines, which look

like, sound like, and and attract the same class of custom-

ers as conventional slot machines, and, when integrated

with the servers, serve essentially the same function as

did the slot machines. In a carefully planned venture,

Innovative transferred the element of chance from the

readers to a server, merged the MegaSweeps entries with

cybertime, and staked the success of ite venture on the

legal efficacy of the transfer and merger. The owners have

identified neither statutory law nor caselaw suggesting

that such displacement and merger are legally significant.

Having “take[n] the risk that” their venture “may cross

the line,” it is not “unfair to require” that the owners bear

the consequences of failure. Consequently, the JCRA has

not demonstrated that the statutory scheme is unconstitu-

tional.

Ill. Case No. 1050625

Our resolution of the issues in case no. 1050857

necessarily resolves the issues in case no. 1050625. There-

fore, the appeal in case no. 1050625 is dismissed as moot.

IV. Summary

In summary, the trial court erred in focusing on the

function of the MegaSweeps readers in isolation. When

integrated as they are with the servers, central database,

App. 36

Appendix A

and related computer equipment, the readers are slot

machines as that term is defined by § 13A-12-20(10) and

§ 13A-12-27. Moreover, § 13A-12-20 is not unconstitution-

ally vague. For these reasons, the judgment in favor of the

owners is reversed and a judgment is rendered in favor of

Barber.

1050625 — APPEAL DISMISSED.

1050857 — REVERSED AND JUDGMENT RENDERED.

See, Lyons, Harwood, Stuart, Smith, Bolin, and

Parker, JJ., concur.

Stuart, Smith, and Bolin, JJ., file statements of

nonrecusal.

ore

STUART, Justice (statement of nonrecusal).

Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the

Birmingham Race Course (hereinafter referred to as

“JCRA”), has moved for my recusal in these appeals. In its

motion the JCRA alleges:

“1. Justice Stuart is currently engaged in a

political campaign for re-election to the office of

Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court.

“J. Justice Stuart has publically indicated

that she opposes the ‘establishment of gambling.’

The recently released Christian Action Alabama

2006 General Election Voter Guide reflects that

Justice Stuart ‘agrees’ on the issue of ‘oppose es-

tablishment of gambling’... .

“

App. 37

Appendix A

“6. Justice Stuart has taken a political and

ethical posture against gambling, has made her

views public and has made her anti-gambling po-

sition a basis of why she should be re-elected a

Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court. This

stance is indicative of a bias that could squarely

impact the parties, interests, and issues in these

appeals.

“7. ... [The core issue of the above-

referenced cases concerns whether certain ...

business activities constitute unlawful gambling

or a lawful sweepstakes operation.

“

“13. A judge or justice must be a neutral

decision maker and not an advocate. The issue

presented by this motion is not about political

speech. It is about a stated and demonstrated ac-

tual bias and prejudice to a participant and an.

issue in a legal case before this Court.

“

“Therefore, it is clear that the Canons of Ju-

dicial Ethics mandate that a justice cannot sit on

a case involving the issue of whether certain ac-

tivities constitute unlawful gambling or a lawful

sweepstakes operation when one of her political

campaign platforms is against gambling. Justice

Stuart must disqualify/recuse herself from the

above-styled cases.”

Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc., has also moved for

my recusal in these appeals on the same grounds.

App. 38

Appendix A

Canon 3.C., Ala. Canons of Jud. Ethics, provides:

“(1) A judge should disqualify fher]self in a

proceeding in which [her] disqualification is

required by law or [her] impartiality might rea-

sonably be questioned, including but not limited

to instances where:

“(a) [She] has a personal bias or preju-

dice concerning a party....”

Judges are required to make decisions based on the

application of the law to the facts, despite their personal

opinions.

“A judge’s views on matters of law and policy

ordinarily are not legitimate grounds for recusal,

even if such views are strongly held. See Richard

E. Flamm, Judicial Disqualification: Recusal

and Disqualification of Judges § 10.2 (1996) (col-

lecting cases). After all, judges commonly come to

a case with personal views on the underlying

subject matter. ... Far from necessarily warrant-

ing recusal, typically such views merely mark an ~

active mind. See Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824,

835, 93 S.Ct. 7, 34 L.Ed.2d 50 (1972) (‘Proof that

a (judge’s]) mind ... was a complete tabula rasa

... would be evidence of lack of qualification, not

lack of bias.’); John Leubsdorf, Theories of Judg-

ing and Judge Disqualification, 62 N.Y.U. L. Rev.

237, 250-51 (1987) (discussing Judge Jerome

Frank’s statement that ‘lilf ... bias and partial-

ity be defined to mean the total absence of pre-

concep*ions in the mind of the judge, then no one

has evew had a fair trial and no one ever will’).”

United States v. Snyder, 235 F.3d 42, 48 (1st Cir. 2000).

App. 39

Appendix A

I have personal opinions about many issues. As a trial

court judge I made, and as a Supreme Court Justice I now

make, my decision in a case based on the application of the

law to the facts in that particular case, regardless of my

personal opinion. I have always done so, and I will con-

tinue to do so. (

Because my personal opinions do not influence my

decisions as a Justice of this Court, I decline to recuse

myself.

Smith, J., concurs.

eS

SMITH, Justice (statement of nonrecusal).

Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the

Birmingham Race Course, and Innovative Sweepstakes

Systems, Inc., have filed motions seeking my recusal in

these consolidated appeals. For the reasons expressed by

Justice Stuart and by Justice Bolin in their statements of

nonrecusal, I also decline to recuse myself.

I write separately to emphasize that I have a constitu-

tional duty to decide cases, and that duty is balanced with

the requirement of impartiality.

“The Constitution of the United States and the

Constitution of Alabama of 1901 impose on

judges the duty to decide cases. See U.S. Const.

art. III, § 1 (vesting the ‘judicial Power of the

United States ... in one supreme court, and in

such inferior courts as the Congress may from

time to time ordain and establish’); id. at art. VI

(‘[A}ll ... judicial Officers, both of the United

States and of the several States, shall be bound

App. 40

Appendix A

by Oath or Affirmation, to support this Constitu-

tion.... ); Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514

U.S. 211, 218-19, 115 S. Ct. 1447, 131 L. Ed. 2d

328 (1995) (‘Article III establishes a “judicial de-

partment” with the “province and duty” ... to de-

cide . . . “case[s}.”’) (quoting Marbury v. Madison, 5

U.S. (1 Cranch) 137, 177, 2 L. Ed. 60 (1803) (em-

phasis added)); Marbury, 5 U.S. at 180 (stating

that a judge’s oath to support the Constitution

requires that he exercise the judicial power and

decide cases in a manner consistent with funda-

mental law); Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547, 554,

87 S. Ct. 1213, 18 L. Ed. 2d 288 (1967) (‘It is a

judge’s duty to decide all cases within his juris-

diction.... ’); Ala. Const. 1901 amend. 328,

§ 6.01(a) (‘([T]he judicial power of the state shall

be vested exclusively in a unified judicial system

which shall consist of a supreme court. .. . ’); id.

at § 279 (requiring ‘all officers, executive and ju-

dicial, ... [to] take the following oath or affirma-

tion: “I, , solemnly swear ... that I

will support the Constitution of the United

States, and the Constitution of the State of Ala-

bama ... and that I will faithfully and honestly

discharge the duties of the office upon which |

am about to enter”’); Federated Guaranty Life

Ins. Co. v. Bragg, 393 So. 2d 1386, 1389 (Ala.

1981) (‘“{I]t is the duty of the judge to adjudicate

the decisive issues involved in the controversy

... and to make binding declarations concerning

such issues, thus putting the controversy to

rest. ...”’) (citation omitted).”

Dunlop Tire Corp. v. Allen, 725 So. 2d 960, 976 (Ala. 1998)

(See, J., statement of nonrecusal).

Stuart, J., concurs.

App. 41

Appendix A

BOLIN, Justice (statement of nonrecusal).

Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc., and the Jeffer-

son County Racing Association, Inc., have each filed a

motion seeking my recusal in these appeals because a

Christian Coalition voter guide for the 2004 election

indicated my agreement with the Christian Coalition on

the issue of gambling, in that I was shown as agreeing

next to the phrase “oppose establishment of gambling.”

In Republican Party of Minnesota v. White, 536 U.S.

765 (2002), the United States Supreme Court addressed

the issue whether a judicial candidate’s First Amendment

rights were violated by a canon of the Minnesota Code of

Judicial Conduct that prohibited him from announcing his

views on disputed legal or political issues. The Supreme

Court held that this prohibition, known as the “announce

clause,” did violate the First Amendment rights of judicial

candidates.

Thus, the United States Supreme Court has ruled

that a judicial candidate’s First Amendment rights permit

the candidate either to announce or discuss or to refuse to

announce or discuss personal views on an issue such as

gambling. Each individual candidate is therefore constitu-

tionally permitted to express his or her views in a manner

that allows those views to be disseminated to the citizenry

— in this case, answers in response to specific questions on

a questionnaire.

White teaches that judicial candidates may respond to

questions such as those that were asked in the 2004

Christian Coalition voter guide. I note that the Alabama

Judicial Inquiry Commission, following the United States

Supreme Court’s release of White, withdrew an advisory

App. 42

Appendix A

opinion in which it had opined that a judicial candidate

would be violating the Alabama Canons of Judicial Ethics

if the candidate answered certain questions on a question-

naire issued by the Christian Coalition in anticipation of

the 2000 elections. See Christian Coalition of Alabama uv.

Cole, 355 F.3d 1288 (11th Cir. 2004). The withdrawal of

this advisory opinion was in keeping with White and

reflected the Judicial Inquiry Commission’s view that

answers to questions such as those in the Christian

Coalition questionnaire were permissible free speech.

The question then arises as to whether answering

such questions would violate Canon 3.C.(1), Ala. Canons of

Jud. Ethics, which provides:

“(1) A judge should disqualify himself in a

proceeding in which his disqualification is re-

quired by law or his impartiality might reasona-

bly be questioned, including but not limited to

instances where:

“(a) He has a personal bias or pre-

judice concerning a party, or personal knowl-

edge of disputed evidentiary facts concerning

the proceeding. ...”

In this proceeding, I have no knowledge whatsoever of any

disputed evidentiary facts not disclosed in the record nor

any bias or prejudice either for or against any party, and

there were no allegations in the recusal motion that I had

such knowledge or bias. The only remaining issue is

whether there is anything else by which my “impartiality

might reasonably be questioned.”

All judges are presumed to be qualified and unbiased.

Gary uv, Crouch, 867 So. 2d 310 (Ala. 2003). The burden of

App. 43

Appendix A

proof is on the party making a motion to disqualify or

recuse to establish that the judge whose disqualification or

recusal is sought is biased or prejudiced against a party.

Ex parte Monsanto Co., 862 So. 2d 595 (Ala. 2003). In

2004, I expressed the view that I “oppose the establish-

ment of gambling.” My position on that issue is consistent

with the law of Alabama; gambling is illegal in this State.

I also oppose other acts that violate the laws of the State

of Alabama, such as murder, rape, and robbery, but my

personal opposition to the above acts does not prevent me

from fairly and unbiasedly participating in cases involving

such acts.

The main opinion in this case strictly applies the law

as it exists in the State of Alabama to the facts that are

before the Court. The opinion contains no bias or prejudice

in favor of or against gambling, and I brought no bias or

prejudice to my participation in it. Furthermore, the

movants’ position in the present case is that their activi-

ties do not constitute gambling but instead constitute a

promotional sweepstakes. Therefore, there is an inherent

inconsistency in the movants’ argument that I should

recuse myself from this case because I have indicated an

opposition to the legal establishment of gambling and

their argument on appeal that their enterprise is not

gambling at all.

After due consideration, I decline to recuse myself.

Stuart and Smith, JJ., concur.

App. 44

Appendix B

APPENDIX B - ORDER OF THE ALABAMA

SUPREME COURT FILED DECEMBER 1, 2006

[LOGO] IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

December 1, 2006

1050625 -

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attorney for the

Tenth Judicial Circuit of Alabama v. Jefferson County

Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the Birmingham Race

Course; and Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc. (Ap-

peal from Jefferson Circuit Court: CV-05-7684)

1050857

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attorney for the

Tenth Judicial Circuit of Alabama v. Jefferson County

Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the Birmingham Race

Course, and Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc. (Ap-

peal from Jefferson Circuit Court: CV-05-7684)

ORDER

The appellees’ motions for the recusals of Justice Lyn

Stuart, Justice Patricia Smith, and Justice Mike Bolin

having been submitted to those Justices;

And Justice Stuart, Justice Smith, and Justice Bolin

having declined to recuse themselves;

And the appellees’ motion for am order directing

Justice Stuart, Justice Smith, and Justice Bolin to recuse

themselves having been submitted to and considered by

this Court;

App. 45

Appendix B

IT IS ORDERED THAT the motion for an order

directing Justice Lyn Stuart, Justice Patricia Smith, and ©

Justice Mike Bolin to recuse themselves in the above-

referenced appeals is denied.

Done this the 1st day of December, 2006.

See, Lyons, Harwood, Woodall, and Parker, JJ.,

~ concur.

App. 46

Appendix C

APPENDIX C - ORDER OF THE ALABAMA

SUPREME COURT FILED OCTOBER 24, 2006

[LOGO] IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

October 24, 2006

1050625

David Barber, as District Attorney of Jefferson

County, Alabama v. Jefferson County Racing As-

sociation, Inc. d/b/a The Birmingham Race

Course et al. (Appeal from Jefferson Circuit

Court: CV-05-7684)

1050857

David Barber, in his capacity as District Attor-

ney for the Tenth Judicial Circuit of Alabama v.

Jefferson County Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a

The Birmingham Race Course; Mike Hale; and

Innovative Sweepstakes Systems, Inc. (Appeal

from Jefferson Circuit Court: CV-05-7684).

NOTICE

Pursuant to Rule 34(a), Alabama Rules of Appellate

Procedure, the request for oral argument is denied. These

appeals are submitted on briefs October 24, 2006.

cc:

Hon. J. Scott Vowell, Circuit Judge

Marc J. Ayers, Attorney

Matthew H. Lembke, Attorney

Michael R. Pennington, Attorney

Hon. J. Alan Baty, District Attorney

William J. Baxley, Attorney

H. Hampton Boles, Attorney

John M. Bolton, III, Attorney

William M. Bowen, Jr., Attorney

App. 47

Appendix C

Matthew F. Carroll, Attorney

Michael] K. Choy, Attorney

Augusta Dowd, Attorney

Bingham D. Edwards, Jr., Attorney

Charles M. Elmer, Attorney

J. Eric Getty, Attorney

Vincent J. Graffeo, Attorney

Ed R. Haden, Attorney

Wyatt R. Haskell, Attorney

G. David Johnston, Attorney

J. Michael Rediker, Attorney

Alan T. Rogers, Attorney

Michael C. Skotnicki, Attorney

William M. Slaughter, Attorney

Will Hill Tankersley, Jr., Attorney

Peter J. Tepley, Attorney

Charlie D. Waldrep, Attorney

J. Mark White, Attorney

Hon. Troy King, Attorney General

Hon. Kevin C. Newsom, Asst. Attorney General

Benjamin D. DuPre, Attorney

Gregory M; Jones, Attorney

Keith S. Miller, Attorney

Roy S. Moore, Attorney

Mike O’Dell, Attorney

Scott L. Rouse, Attorney

Thomas W. Sorrells, Attorney

Kenneth D. Wallis, III, Attorney

App. 48

Appendix D

APPENDIX D - ORDER AND JUDGMENT OF

THE CIRCUIT COURT OF JEFFERSON COUNTY,

ALABAMA FILED JANUARY 31, 2006

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF JEFFERSON

COUNTY, ALABAMA CIVIL DIVISION

JEFFERSON COUNTY RACING )

ASSOCIATION, INC. d/b/a THE )

BIRMINGHAM RACE COURSE, )

and INNOVATIVE SWEEP-

STAKES SYSTEMS, INC.

)

)

)

PLAINTION®, ) CIVIL ACTION NO

ve ) CV 05-7684 JSV

MIKE HALE, IN HIS OFFICIAL ?

CAPACITY AS SHERIFF )

OF JEFFERSON COUNTY, )

ALABAMA, .

)

DEFENDANT.

DECLARATORY JUDGMENT AND INJUNCTION

(Filed Jan. 31, 2006)

I.

THE CASE

This action was brought by the plaintiff, the Jefferson

County Racing Association, Inc., d/b/a the Birmingham

Race Course (the Race Course), whose primary business

activity is pari-mutuel wagering on live and simulcast

greyhound racing and on simulcast horse racing at the

Race Course facility located in the eastern area of Bir-

mingham. This entity has been referred to as Milton

McGregor’s company. The intervenor, who has been aligned

by the court as a plaintiff, is Innovative Sweepstakes

App. 49

Appendix D

Systems, Inc., (Innovative), the owner of the gaming

equipment which is at the center of this litigation. Innova-

tive is a wholly owned subsidiary of Multimedia Games,

Inc., (Multimedia), a publicly traded company, which

provides computer equipment and software to promote

gaming activities. The defendant is Mike Hale, in his

official capacity as Sheriff of Jefferson County, Alabama.’

It is undisputed that the Race Course’s pari-mutuel

wagering is legal under current Alabama law, but on

December 15, 2005, the Race Course opened a “CyberCen-

ter” and began an activity it called “Quincy's Sweep-

stakes.” After six days of operation, deputies of the

Jefferson County Sheriffs Department obtained a search

warrant and, on December 22, 2005, raided the facility.

They began seizing the equipment used to operate the

Sweepstakes on the grounds that the Sweepstakes consti-

tuted an illegal lottery or gambling scheme.

While the-raid was progressing, the Race Course filed

this action and sought a temporary restraining order to

require the Sheriff to cease and desist the seizure, alleging

that the Sweepstakes was a legal sweepstakes promotion

under Alabama law. This court conducted an expedited

hearing on the application for a T.R.O. and by agreement

of the parties issued a preliminary injunction to preserve

the status quo and to allow the parties to brief and pre-

pare their case for trial. The court also suspended further

operation of the Sweepstakes until the merits of the case

’ Pursuant to Ala. Code (1975) § 6-6-227, the Alabama Attorney

General received notice of the plaintiffs’ case including the constitu-

tional challenge to the relevant statute. The court allowed the Jefferson

County District Attorney to intervene.

App. 50

Appendix D

could be considered. Because of the intervening holidays,

the case was set for trial on January 3, 2006.

On January 3, 2006 the court again heard arguments

of counsel and the Sheriff agreed that he no longer re-

quired physical possession of the seized equipment.

Therefore, the equipment was ordered to be returned to

the Race Course and the disputed issue of responsibility

for payment of the moving expenses was reserved by the

court. The parties jointly requested additional time to try

to narrow the disputed issues of fact and former Supreme

Court Justice Ralph Cook agreed to facilitate their nego-

tiations. The trial was continued for two weeks.

The court conducted a bench trial on January 17 and

18, 2006, and the stipulated facts were submitted as Joint

Exhibit Number 1. As a result, there are few remaining

issues of disputed fact.

Il.

THE ISSUE

The fundamental issue this Court must decide is the

legality of the Sweepstakes. The Sheriff contends that the

Sweepstakes promotion at the Race Course facility consti-

tutes an unlawful lottery and/or gambling scheme under

Alabama law. The Sheriff asserts that the CyberCenter

being promoted by the Race Course is a “sham,” and that

patrons are actually paying consideration for sweepstakes

entries.

On the other side, the plaintiffs deny that the Cyber-

Center is a sham and contend that the Sweepstakes is a

lawful sweepstakes promotion under Alabama law because

App. 51

Appendix D

no consideration is required to participate in the Sweep-

stakes. Plaintiffs also deny that the operation involves

gambling or gambling devices. Plaintiffs assert that the

Sweepstakes is a promotional plan designed to attract

patrons to the Race Course facility, to promote the Cyber-

Center, and to enhance the pari-mutuel activities, thereby

increasing income. Plaintiffs further contend that the

Alabama gambling statutes are unconstitutionally vague

as applied to the facts of this case.

Il,

- THE FACTS

In 2005 the Race Course engaged Multimedia to

develop a sweepstakes promotion as part of a marketing

plan to promote the Race Course. During the development

process, both the Race Course and Multimedia sought

opinions from those it considered to be experts in the area

of sweepstakes promotions to help them determine

whether or not their proposed operation complied with

applicable Alabama law.

On May 25, 2005 plaintiffs demonstrated the Sweep-

stakes operation to the Alabama Attorney General’s office.

After seeing the demonstration and being furnished with

additional requested documentation, the Attorney Gen-

eral’s office advised the plaintiffs that sweepstakes pro-

motions are legal in Alabama and that the promotion

would be lawful if the Sweepstakes were operated as

demonstrated. The Attorney General’s office informed the

App. 52

Appendix D

plaintiffs that they would give the same opinion if other

law enforcement agencies were to inquire.’

The stipulations also reflect that representatives of

the plaintiff had discussions with the Sheriff and the

District Attorney and offered to demonstrate the Sweep-

stakes to them prior to beginning operations. The plain-

tiffs proceeded with the promotion plans and the Race

Course’s Sweepstakes began on December 15, 2005.

During the trial the court was given a courtroom

demonstration of the Sweepstakes at the Race Course.

To play the Sweepstakes at the Race Course, a patron

must first open an account to obtain a plastic account

access card containing an encoded magnetic strip similar

to that on a credit card. To open an account the customer

presents his/her driver’s license to a Race Course atten-

dant who scans the license into the Race Track’s computer

system. The patron then receives the access card at no

charge as well as an individual account number similar to

a PIN: Plaintiffs call the card a “Qcard.”

After obtaining the Qcard, the patron moves to a Point

of Sale Terminal where he/she may purchase Internet time

(cybertime). The sale of cybertime also triggers the system

to give the customer promotional Sweepstakes entries. For

* Stipulation #41. The Sheriff subpoenaed Troy King, the Alabama

Attorney General, to testify at the trial but King immediately filed a

motion to quash the subpoena. He also filed a petition for a writ of

mandamus in the Alabama Supreme Court requesting that court to

stay the trial unti] the motion to quash could be considered. On the

morning of the trial, this court granted King’s motion to quash the

subpoena and the case proceeded to trial.

App. 53

Appendix D

each $1.00 spent the patron receives four minutes of

Internet time and is given 100 MegaSweeps entries, each

of which represents a separate chance to win a cash prize.

The rate charged for access to the CyberCenter is compa-

rable to rates charged by providers of similar computer

services and is “fair market value.” There is no separate

charge for the Sweepstakes entries.

In the CyberCenter there are 116 state-of-the-art

computers. The customer swipes his/her Qcard and logs

onto a computer that tracks the amount of Internet time

available to the customer, deducting the used time from

the customer’s account. The computers provide the cus-

tomers with broadband Internet connections allowing the

user to browse the Internet, to access email and to obtain

many of those services that are available on the Internet.

The CyberCenter can also be used to make telephone calls ;

via the Internet, to make copies, to print digital photo-

graphs, to send faxes, and so forth. The computers can be

used to gain access to online information about greyhound

and horse races and the customer can access pari-mutuel

tip sheets and other information used for handicapping

live and simulcast racing sites around the country.

As stated, when the customer buys Internet time

he/she also gets Sweepstakes entries in Quincy’s

MegaSweeps. Whether or not the customer has a winning

or losing entry is predetermined at the time the customer

purchases Internet time. Once the customer has been

given the Sweepstakes entry, it cannot be changed and the

customer cannot tell by looking at the card whether he/she

has drawn a winning entry. The customer may determine

whether the Sweepstakes entries are winners or losers at

the CyberCenter, by accessing a website remotely, by

App. 54

Appendix D

calling a toll-free telephone number, or by going to an

electronic Reader.

The most popular way to learn the result of an entry

is through the use of the more than 1,300 electronic

Readers that display winning and losing entries. To learn

the result of an entry from a Reader, the customer swipes

his Qcard to activate the Reader and then presses a button

on the Reader to see the results. The customer may select

one entry or a batch of entries to be read at the same time.

The demonstration and other evidence makes it clear

to the court that these Readers are designed and arranged

so that they look and sound like slot machines at a gam-

bling casino. But while they look, sound and act like a

gambling machine, the evidence shows that they are not

gambling machines. These machines do not determine who

wins or who loses. There is no chance involved. The

Reader simply reads and displays the results of the prede-

termined sweepstakes entries. As plaintiff conten

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Jefferson County County Racing Association Association Association, Inc. v. Barber (No. 06-1363) | Frix