Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Drach v. Bruce, 127 S. Ct. 1829 (2007) (No. 06-789)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S

PILE

No —— 6-7 89 DEC 5 - 2006

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

ROGER DRACH.

Petitioner.

LOUIS BRUCE and THE STATE OF KANSAS,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Kansas

*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

4

JEREMIAH KIDWELL, Attorney DENNIS OWENS, Attorney

7th Floor, Harzfeld’s Building Counsel of Record

1111 Main Street 7th Floor, Harzfeld’s Building

Kansas City, Missour 64105 1111 Main Street

Telephone: (816) 474-3000 Kansas City. Missouri 64105

Facsimile: (816) 474-5533. — Telephone: (816) 474-3000

Facsimile: (816) 474-5555

Counsel for the Petitioner

December, 2006

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I

Whether, in direct conflict with the published opinions

of this Court in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), Idaho

v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990), White v. Illinois, 502 U.S.

346 (1991), and Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999), the

Supreme Court of Kansas erred in holding that the admis-

sion of hearsay testimony under Kansas’s unique, judi-

cially-created “marital discord” hearsay exception does not

violate the Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States.

Il

Whether, in direct conflict with the holding of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in

Bockting v. Bayer, 399 F.3d 1010 (9th Cir. 2005), the

Supreme Court of Kansas erred in holding that the deci-

sion of this Court in Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36

(2004), regarding the admissibility of testimonial hearsay

evidence under the Sixth Amendment, does not apply

retroactively to cases on collateral review.

{il ss

Whether the Supreme Court of Kansas’s holding that

Crawford does not apply retroactively to cases on collat-

eral review violates the holdings of this Court in Teague v.

Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989), and Schriro v. Summerlin, 542

U.S. 348 (2004).

li

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were Mr. Drach,’

the petitioner, and Louis Bruce, Warden of Hutchinson

Correctional Facility, the prison where Mr. Drach cur-

rently is incarcerated, and the State of Kansas, respon-

dents.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SEI FI oes vikessnssnéuisicntecasouaueamenbbunimmebannanes i

ERE GE Fe ia iciiccsnsiccsnsneinnicisiatinscabdiacaanmmamaiicas il

I EI ices ssirniinnectsenisesentviciiteisiaicistiiatciasiieimaitaaiiaiaien ill

I CE RG sisineisscisevinicwiuitiantaitiioaminssisiiilasnictiienimians iv

CIE TIAN evi isicicssetersninttiaesiacnnenisaniiiniieiiaiaaain 1

NII sic evesiescissitttnitaetaduaricncaiicanaaantietibiasuidialamniabil 1

Constitutional Provisions Involved ..................000eeeeeeeees 2

CREE INOUE, siicisictsniocunciccctasienvunernnaniaiapatlacisiaaianals 2

taba OF TO Ci is cescssniscrsiccteresneemtnndmntianen 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................cc.ccecceeeeeeeeeeeee 6

CI iniscisincniveniscseresiennmeematninnann maaan 27

Appendix

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Kansas, 136

P.3d 390 (June 9, 2006).....cccccecceccsssssessessesseseeseceee App. 1

Judgment of the District Court of Finney County,

Kansas (November 15, 2004) ..............cesesceeeeeeeeeees App. 36

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Kansas in State

v. Drach, 268 Kan. 636, 1 P.3d 864 (March 10,

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES CITED:

Arsenault v. Massachusetts, 393 U.S. 5 (1968)................. 10

Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719 (1968) ..........cccccccccessereees 11, 33

Berger v. California, 393 U.S. 314 (1969) (per

UT sccibceitintcaduiiasiipieniesieidcehibllbcebttinitarakbitaledseabaiewniiiasdninobaiid a8, 32

Bockting v. Bayer, 399 F.3d 1010 (9th Cir. 2005),

opinion amended, 408 F.3d 1127 (9th Cir. 2005),

reh’g en banc denied, 418 F.3d 1055 (9th Cir.

2005), cert. granted sub nom., Wharton v. Bock-

ting, 126 S. Ct. 2017 (2006)......ccccocosorsevereseers 6, 7, 8, 12, 13

Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619 (1993)........... ee eeeeeeeees 9

Brown v. Louisiana, 447 U.S. 323 (1980)........ eee 9,10

Brown v. Uphoff, 381 F.3d 1219 (10th Cir. 2004),

cert. denied sub nom., Brown v. Lampert, 5438

ie IE ITNT s ccsdincsih diuieesedaenieainctetadenuipbbaainiaonteneneenits 8

Chandler v. Crosby, 916 So. 2d 728 (Fla. 2005).............06+. 8

Commonwealth v. Brooks, 875 A.2d 1141 (Pa.

Ns SONI ds Guricenasiodcipacusancddedsscbanccemmanmvagedetomuegemeiaes 8

Commonwealth v. Kartell, 20 Mass. L. Rep. 134

SI: I AR IID isiccosiesiscnincdichinnidsberasealea Valinndacnteedgacuieancias 8

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004)............. passim

Danforth v. State, 700 N.W.2d 530 (Minn. App.

2005), review granted in part and pending (Minn.

Sy ly MTD sicevisiedcecsnashinedienastayndcaneaesiMeenensanidedh: -- xwelnanania 8

Dorchy v. Jones, 398 F.3d 783 (6th Cir. 2005)... 8

Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963) ........eeeeeceeeee 10

Duriey v. Mayo, 351 US, 277 (IDGG) ...-ccsieccccecercooresecsessees 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Edwards v. People, 129 P.3d 977 (Colo. 2006), reh’g

denied, 2006 Colo. LEXIS 214 (2006) ...........c..ceeeeseeseeees 8

Ennis v. State, 122 Nev. Adv. Rep. 60 (Nev. 2006).............. 8

Espy v. Massac, 443 F.3d 1362 (11th Cir. 2006) .............005 8

Evans v. Luebbers, 371 F.3d 438 (8th Cir. 2004),

cert. denied sub nom., Evans v. Roper, 543 U.S.

ET RE ein litnsicicdciidinaininsipeligdotaesentdaaadidaee 8

Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391 (1968) ......+..-+. ake eee 23

Frye v. United States, 293 F. 1013 (D.C. Cir. 1923)............ 4

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 355 (1963)............ccccceeee 10

Graham v. Collins, 506 U.S. 461 (1998) oo... ee ccceseseeceees 9

Griffin v. Hinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956) ......c0-cecccscsccssesereese 10

Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 U.S. 52 (1961)....... cece wees 10

Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990)...........ccceeeeeereeee passim

In re Markel, 154 Wash.2d 262, 111 P.3d 249 (2005).......... 8

In re Moore, 133 Cal. App. 4th 68 (2005)...............:seeceeeeeees 8

Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (19G64).............cecceeseescevees 10

Kansas v. Marsh, 126 S. Ct. 2516 (2006).............c cee eeee ones 24

Lave v. Dretke, 444 F.3d 333 (5th Cir. 2006), cert.

filed sub nom., Lave v. Quarterman, Case No. 05-

Se CE Fi, SD titi iertttein cicero 8

Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999) oe eeneeeeee passim

McConnell v. Rhay, 393 U.S. 2 (1968) secssccccssssecsssssseecsseees 10’

McGonagle v. United States, 137 Fed. Appx. 373

(1st Cir. 2005), cert. denied, 126 S. Ct. 506 (2005) ......... 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

Page

Mungo v. Duncan, 393 F.3d 327 (2d Cir. 2004), cert.

denied sub nom., Mungo v. Greene, 544 U.S. 1002

STC dceh cecal chcciieeebidbuslhsncieiedaiditesia deiiciaadaniidasiaciaandaibnaraaiaces 8

Murillo v. Frank, 402 F.3d 786 (7th Cir. 2005).............00008 8

NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449

-___ SRFESEREA RSET ore EU ns PDA SON ee MAC RAINES TPT RIOD 24

New Mexico v. Forbes, Case No. 05-644 (U.S. filed

III <citadi sats tiensaice ouivectonsnuseadob sib edaniedsiaeseansicidbsesaanaieicnaannenaeeatiasiis 7

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980)... eeeeeeeeeeeeee passim

Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. Newport, 247 U.S. 464

IRE Rites aoe a oe ae ae SET Te ne ae eR RD 25

Price v. Georgia, 398 U.S. 323 (1970) ...............essscscsseeseees 11

Redwine v. State, 280 Ga. 58, 623 S.E.2d 485 (20085)......... 8

Roberts v. Russell, 392 U.S. 293 (1968) ............cceceeeeceeeeeee 10

Sawyer v. Smith, 497 U.S. 227 (1990) ...........cecsssseceeceeeeees 13

Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348 (2004)................. 7, 8,9

State v. Drach, 268 Kan. 636, 1 P.3d 864 (Kan.

TTD scicssisuatessaticels essen eanieteed sneebisbeatlieaaideiadaiaabiaaieepainianhiniaiae 1, 4,19

State v. Forbes, 119 P.3d 144 (N.M. 2005), cert. filed,

Case No. 05-644 (U.S. filed Nov. 17, 2005) ........:..cseeseee 8

State v. Neer, 247 Kan. 137, 795 P.2d 362 (1990)........ 23, 24

State v. Patterson, 200 Kan. 176, 434 P.2d 808

ORO RAE ORERERER eee ee cha a OR St tales NS 15,17

State v. Potts, 2006 Ohio 2100 (Ohio App. 2006)................ 8

State v. Rice, 261 Kan. 567, 932 P.2d 981 (1997).............. 15

State v. Williams, 695 N.W.2d 23 (Iowa 2005)................242. 8

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989)... cceeeeeees passim

V. &. New YorR, 40F U.S. BOS (1GT2) sccccrcececsercevscesceresesesesene 11

Ward uv. Bd. of County Comm’rs, 253 U.S. 17 (1920)........ 25

White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1991) .......... ee eecceeeees passim

Witherspoon uv. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968)...............0eeeeee 11

STATUTES AND RULES CITED:

Federal Rules of Evidence 803-807 .............cccececcceeeeeeeeeees 18

DRE: Ur eae ctnckcbiusiciseuniesuamcadedbdnaadiaiatednelenaeamtaas 15

a Se NT phithisdsiicedecuibiinsidsiginaiadacntaenadaiabgeeusedaddimanabentins 1, 5, 6

CONSTITUTION CITED:

IE FI sacsentociictavtvntnineissiassicnmstsicebeniaibecniinas passim

TREATISES CITED:

Christine Arguello, The Marital Discord Exemption

to Hearsay: Fact or Judicially-Legislated Fic-

tion?, 46 KAN. L. REV. 63 (1997).......ccccccssserccesesereees 15, 18

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Roger Drach respectfully prays that this

Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of

Kansas to review its judgment entered on June 9, 2006,

and its subsequent denial of his Motion for Rehearing or

Modification on September 19, 2006.

¢

OPINIONS BELOW

This is a post-conviction remedy case. It was heard

under Kansas Statutes Annotated (K.S.A.) Section 60-

1507, in the District Court of Finney County, Kansas (Case

Number 04-CV-152), and the Supreme Court of Kansas

(Case Number 93,654). The opinion of the Supreme Court

of Kansas is reported at 136 P.3d 390 (Appendix 1). The

order denying the Petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing or

Modification is unreported (App. 65). The judgment of the

District Court of Finney County, Kansas, is unreported

(App. 36).

The underlying criminal prosecution was pursued in

the District Court of Finney County, Kansas (Case Num-

ber 96-CR-421), and the judgment of conviction was

affirmed upon direct appeal by the Supreme Court of

Kansas, State v. Drach, 268 Kan. 636, 1 P.3d 864 (2000)

(Drach I) (App. 42).

JURISDICTION

Judgment of the Supreme Court of Kansas was entered

on June 9, 2006, and rehearing or modification was denied

on September 19, 2006. This Court’s jurisdiction to consider

this petition from the final judgment or decree by the

highest court of the state in which the decision could be

had is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States provides, in pertinent part: “In all criminal

prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right ... to be

confronted with the witnesses against him.”

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On October 31, 1997, Petitioner Roger Drach was

convicted of the crimes of murder in the first degree in

violation of K.S.A. § 21-3401, aggravated battery in viola-

tion of K.S.A. § 21-3414(a)(1)(a), and criminal use of

weapons in violation of K.S.A. § 21-4201(a)(1). He was

sentenced to a term of imprisonment of twenty-five years

to life. He is 70 years old. Mr. Drach had been found guilty

by a jury after his entry of a plea of not guilty.

The charges stemmed from the death of Mr. Drach’s

wife, Deanne Drach, on August 19, 1994, in the couple’s

home in Garden City, Kansas. Mrs. Drach died from a

gunshot wound to her chest at contact range or near-

contact range. At that time, authorities considered her

death to be a suicide and continued to do so for two years.

Mr. Drach’s administration of his late wife’s estate was

disputed by his brother-in-law. Some of her relatives

pursued litigation against Mr. Drach. Exactly two years

after her death, the prosecutor filed the criminal charges

against Mr. Drach. |

The prosecution’s theory at trial was that Mr. Drach

had murdered his wife. The defense was that Mrs. Drach

had committed suicide. As there were no witnesses to Mrs.

Drach’s death and Mr. Drach was not allowed by his

lawyers to testify on his own behalf, all of the evidence

against Mr. Drach was circumstantial. The prosecution

presented expert forensic witnesses who testified that

Mrs. Drach’s gunshot wound was inflicted by someone

else. To show motive and intent, the prosecution presented

expert witnesses who testified to the forensic and medical

likelihood that Mrs. Drach earlier had been abused. The

prosecution also presented witnesses who testified that

they did not believe that Mrs. Drach had the propensity to

commit suicide. On rebuttal, the prosecution produced a

surprise witness, Mrs. Karen Althaus, who said that 25

years earlier Mr. Drach had threatened his wife’s life after

he discovered Mrs. Drach’s extramarital affair with Mrs.

Althaus’s husband. Mr. Drach wanted to testify to rebut

this, but his trial lawyers would not allow him to do so.

The defense rebutted the prosecution’s forensic evi-

dence with its own experts who demonstrated both that

Mrs. Drach’s wound was self-inflicted and that there was

no forensic or medical probability of abuse. The defense

produced witnesses who testified to the Drachs’ good

relationship and to Mr. Drach’s good character. Witnesses

testified that Mrs. Drach had attempted suicide in the

past due to her severe alcoholism and depression following

the deaths of her mother and her son less than a year

before her own death. As well, the defense presented a

note that Mrs. Drach had written and given to her hus-

band immediately before her death. The note was-réad

4

into evidence by a detective on cross-examination. Its text

is included in the opinion of the Supreme Court of the

State of Kansas on direct appeal. State v. Drach, 268 Kan.

636, 641-642, 1 P.3d 864 (Kan. 2000). The defense sought

to place on the stand Dr. Tim McBath, a board-certified

psychiatrist, to give his opinion that the writing was a

suicide note. The trial court, however, held that Dr.

McBath was not qualified as an expert under Frye uv.

United States, 293 F. 1013 (D.C. Cir. 1923).

Crucial to the prosecution’s case (and the focus of this

petition) was the hearsay testimony of Lana Christensen,

Carol Taylor, Janet Myers, Marvelle Darrough, Marvelle

Sosa, and Dora Hermocillo, all of whom were volunteers or

workers who had encountered Mrs. Drach when she

sought treatment for her severe alcoholism, first at vari-

ous women’s crisis centers and then at a substance abuse

recovery center in Wichita. They alleged that Mrs. Drach

had told them her husband had abused her physically.

They even alleged that Mrs. Drach had told them her

husband had shot her in her shoulder at sorne time prior

to 1994. Their conversations with Mrs. Drach occurred

while they were attempting to convince her to divorce her

husband and pursue legal action against him for the

alleged abuse. Since Mrs. Drach was deceased, Mr. Drach

was not able directly to rebut these hearsay assertions.

This was the only evidence that tipped the scales in favor

of the prosecution.

The defense objected to this testimony as being

inadmissible hearsay in violation of Kansas law and the

Sixth Amendment’s Confrontation Clause. The trial court,

however, overruled the defense’s objection and held that

the testimony was admissible as part of the res gestae. The

defense continued its objection to the hearsay throughout

the two-week trial. The defense did, however, present

evidence from Mrs. Drach’s brother-in-law that contra-

dicted the hearsay: he testified that Mrs. Drach told him

she had lied to the aid workers in order to placate them.

The Supreme Court of Kansas reviewed Mr. Drach’s

conviction on direct appeal. Mr. Drach argued that the

admission of the hearsay as part of a res gestae exception

violated the Confrontation Clause under holdings of this

Court. The Kansas court, however, affirmed Mr. Drach’s

conviction and sentence. It concluded that even if a sweep-

ing res gestae hearsay exception violated the Confrontation

Clause, the evidence nonetheless was admissible against

Mr. Drach under Kansas’s judicially-created “marital

discord hearsay exception” (App. 63).

Upon exhaustion of his direct appeal, Mr. Drach filed

a Motion Attacking Sentence pursuant to K.S.A. § 60-

1507, Kansas’s procedural vehicle for post-conviction state

habeas corpus relief. Mr. Drach argued that the issuance

of a writ of habeas corpus was necessary because his

conviction was based largely on testimonial hearsay in

violation of the Confrontation Clause, in that (1) the

decision of this Court in Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S.

36 (2004), was retroactive to his case on collateral appeal,

requiring a retrial due to the improper admission of

testimonial hearsay evidence, and (2) admission of the

hearsay under the marital discord exception violated this

Court’s previous holding in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56

(1980), and this Court’s subsequent interpretations of the

Roberts doctrine in Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990), —

White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1991), and Lilly v. Virginia,

527 U.S. 116 (1999). (He also raised other claims not

germane here.)

6

On October 22, 2004, the District Court of Finney

County, Kansas, denied Mr. Drach’s motion (App. 41). The

basis of the district court’s decision was that Crawford is

not retroactive in cases on collateral appeal and any

discussion under Roberts was res judicata. The Supreme

Court of Kansas reviewed the denial of Mr. Drach’s § 60-

1507 motion on appeal. ‘+ affirmed the district court,

holding that (1) Crawford was not retroactive to cases on

collateral appeal — an issue of first impression in Kansas

(App. 30-31), and (2) res judicata barred Mr. Drach from

challenging the admission of the hearsay testimony

against him under Kansas’s “marital discord” hearsay

exception (App. 34-35).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Mr. Drach’s petition for certiorari should be granted

for two reasons. First, it presents the important federal.

question of whether the decision of this Court in Crawford

v. Washington should be applied retroactively to cases on

collateral review, an issue for which this Court recently

has granted certiorari. Wharton v. Bockting, 126 S. Ct.

2017 (2006). Second, the decision of the Supreme Court of

Kansas upholding the admission of hearsay under Kan-

sas’s unique extra-statutory “marital discord” exception to

the hearsay rule clearly conflicts with this Court’s hold-

ings in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), Idaho v.

Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990), White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346

(1991), and Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999). Res

judicata does not preclude this Court from exercising its

certiorari jurisdiction over this claim.

I. The decision of this Court in Crawford v. Wash-

ington created a watershed rule of criminal

procedure requiring observance of procedures

that are implicit in the concept of ordered lib-

erty and without which the likelihood of an ac-

curate conviction is seriously diminished;

under Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989), and

Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348 (2004),

Crawford should be applied retroactively to

cases on collateral review, and the Supreme

Court of Kansas erred in holding otherwise.

In Crawford v. Washington, this Court overruled its

decision in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), as to the

standards under which testimonial hearsay may be

admitted at trial without violating the Sixth Amendment’s

Confrontation Clause. Crawford, 541 U.S. at 67. Whereas

Roberts conditioned the admission of all hearsay on

whether it falls within a “firmly rooted hearsay exception”

or bears “particularized guarantees of trustworthiness,”

for testimonial hearsay Crawford held that “the Sixth

Amendment demands what the common law required:

unavailability and a prior opportunity for cross-

examination.” Jd. at 62.

In its decision, the Supreme Court of Kansas held that

Crawford is not retroactively applicable to cases on collat-

eral review, continuing a nationwide jurisdictional split

over that question, which this Court has recognized as an

issue of national importance: three weeks before the

Supreme Court of Kansas rendered its decision in this

case, this Court granted certiorari to take up this issue.

Wharton v. Bockting, 126 S. Ct. 2017 (2006). Two other

petitions for certiorari concerning this question currently

are also before the Court. New Mexico v. Forbes, Case No.

05-644 (U.S. filed Nov. 17, 2005); Lave v. Quarterman,

Case No. 05-11552 (U.S. filed June 16, 2006).

The Ninth Circuit and the Supreme Court of New

Mexico have held that Crawford is collaterally retroactive

per Teague and Summerlin.’ The First, Second, Fifth,

Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, Tenth, and Eleventh Circuits have

held otherwise.’ In addition to Kansas, appellate courts of

eleven states agree with those circuits.’ The remaining

federal and state appellate courts have not addressed this

question.

' Bockting v. Bayer, 399 F.3d 1010, 1012-1013 (9th Cir. 2005),

opinion amended, 408 F.3d 1127 (9th Cir. 2005), reh’g en banc denied,

418 F.3d 1055 (9th Cir. 2005), cert. granted sub nom., Wharton, 126

S. Ct. at 2017; State v. Forbes, 119 P.3d 144, 148 (N.M. 2005), cert. filed,

Case No. 05-644 (Nov. 17, 2005).

* McGonagle v. United States, 137 Fed. Appx. 373, 380 (1st Cir.

2005), cert. denied, 126 S. Ct. 506 (2005); Mungo v. Duncan, 393 F.3d

327, 336 (2d Cir. 2004), cert. denied sub nom., Mungo v. Greene, 544

U.S. 1002 (2005); Lave v. Dretke, 444 F.3d 333, 337 (5th Cir. 2006), cert.

filed sub nom., Lave v. Quarterman, Case No. 05-11552 (U.S. filed June

16, 2006); Dorchy v. Jones, 398 F.3d 783, 788 (6th Cir. 2005), Murillo v.

Frank, 402 F.3d 786, 790-791 (7th Cir. 2005); Evans v. Luebbers, 371

F.3d 438, 444-445 (8th Cir. 2004), cert. denied sub nom., Evans v. Roper,

543 U.S. 1067 (2005); Brown v. Uphoff, 381 F.3d 1219, 1226-1227 (10th

Cir. 2004), cert. denied sub nom., Brown v. Lampert, 543 U.S. 1079

(2005); Espy v. Massac, 443 F.3d 1362, 1367 (11th Cir. 2006).

* In re Moore, 133 Cal. App. 4th 68, 77-78 (2005); Edwards v.

People, 129 P.3d 977, 988 (Colo. 2006), reh’g denied, 2006 Colo. LEXIS

214 (2006), Chandler v. Crosby, 916 So. 2d 728, 731 (Fla. 2005),

Redwine v. State, 280 Ga. 58, 63, 623 S.E.2d 485 (2005); State v.

Williams, 695 N.W.2d 23, 29 (lowa 2005); Commonwealth v. Kartell, 20

Mass. L. Rptr. 134 (Mass. Super. 2005); Danforth v. State, 700 N.W.2d

530, 532 (Minn. App. 2005), review granted in part and pending (Minn.

Oct. 18, 2005); Ennis v. State, 122 Nev. Adv. Rep. 60 (Nev. 2006); State v.

Potts, 2006 Ohio 2100, *P17 (Ohio App. 2006); Commonwealth uv.

Brooks, 875 A.2d 1141, 1148 (Pa. Super. 2005); In re Markel, 154

Wash.2d 262, 273, 111 P.3d 249 (2005).

Without exception, “new rules always have retroactive

application to criminal cases on direct review.” Brecht v.

Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619, 634 (1993). If a decision

expressly overrules a prior decision, it is a “new rule.”

Graham v. Collins, 506 U.S. 461, 467 (1993). As to collat-

eral review, however, unless they fall “within an exception

to the general rule, new constitutional rules of criminal

procedure will not be applicable to those cases which have

become final before the new rules are announced.” Teague

v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 310 (1989). There are two excep-

tions: (1) if the new rule “places certain kinds of primary,

private individual conduct beyond the power of the crimi-

nal law-making authority to proscribe,” and (2) if the new

rule “requires the observance of those procedures that are

implicit in the concept of ordered liberty,” meaning “water-

shed rules of criminal procedure.” Jd. at 311. Watershed

rules are those which “properly alter our understanding of

the bedrock procedural elements that must be found to

vitiate the fairness of a particular conviction,” such as “the

right to counsel at trial...” Jd. at 311-312. Such rules are

those “without which the likelihood of an accurate convic-

tion is seriously diminished.” Shriro v. Summerlin, 542

U.S. 348, 352 (2004).

The Teague doctrine arose out of the three criteria this

Court historically has employed to determine whether a

new Constitutional doctrine should be applied retroac-

tively: “(a) the purpose to be served by the new standards,

(b) the extent of the reliance by law enforcement authori-

ties on the old standards, and (c) the effect on the admini-

stration of justice of a retroactive application of the new

standards.” Brown v. Louisiana, 447 U.S. 323, 328 (1980)

(quoting Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293, 297 (1967)).

Foremost among these three factors is the first one, “the

10

purpose to be served by the new constitutional rule.” Jd.

(quoting Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244, 249 (1969)).

A new Constitutional rule must be given complete retroac-

tive effect where its main purpose is to overcome an aspect

of a criminal trial which substantially impairs its truth-

finding function and so raises serious questions about the

accuracy of guilty verdicts in past trials. Jd. at 328 and

334. This is because “Any practice that threatens the jury’s

ability properly to perform [its truth-finding] function

poses a similar threat to the truth-determining process

itself.” Jd. at 334. When the new rule overcomes impair-

ment to truth-finding, not even the third factor - the

burden on the administration of justice —- can overcome

retroactivity. Jd. (citing Williams v. United States, 401 U.S.

646, 653 (1971) (plurality opinion of White, J.)).

Under these standards, this Court has declared to be

fully retroactive a variety of new Constitutional rules of

criminal procedure — watershed rules without which the

likelihood of an accurate conviction is seriously dimin-

ished. This includes new rules guaranteeing the accused’s

right to assistance of counsel at trial, Gideon v. Wain-

wright, 372 U.S. 355 (1963), at arraignment, Hamilton v.

Alabama, 368 U.S. 52 (1961), at a guilty plea hearing,

Arsenault v. Massachusetts, 393 U.S. 5 (1968), at hearings

over the revocation of probation, McConnell v. Rhay, 393

U.S. 2 (1968), and on appeal, Douglas v. California, 372

U.S. 353 (1963). As well, new rules have been declared

fully retroactive involving the admission into evidence of

extrajudicial confessions, Roberts v. Russell, 392 U.S. 293

(1968), the procedure to be used in determining the volun-

tariness of confessions, Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368

(1964), the procedure to be used in determining an indigent

appellant’s right to a free transcript, Griffin v. Illinois, 351

11

U.S. 12 (1956), the standard of proof required in trials of

juveniles for offenses which would be crimes if committed

by an adult, V. v. New York, 407 U.S. 203 (1972), the

application of the Constitutional guarantee against double

jeopardy to the states, Price v. Georgia, 398 U.S. 323

(1970), and the impropriety of disqualifying prospective

jurors because they have certain views as to capital

punishment. Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968).

Analogous to the rule at issue in Crawford, however,

is Berger v. California, 393 U.S. 314 (1969) (per curiam), in

which this Court declared the new rule announced in

Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719 (1968), to be retroactive to

cases that had become final before Barber was announced.

In Barber, this Court promulgated a new rule — interpret-

ing the Confrontation Clause — governing the propriety of

introducing, at a jury trial, the transcripts of preliminary

hearing testimony of witnesses not present at trial. Jd. at

721. There, the Court emphasized, “There are few sub-

jects, perhaps, upon which this Court and other courts

have been more nearly unanimous than in their expres-

sions of belief that the right of confrontation and cross-

examination is an essential and fundamental requirement

for the kind of fair trial which is this country’s constitu-

tional goal.” Jd. (quoting Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400,

405 (1965)). Discussing the retroactivity of Barber in

Berger, the Court unanimously and unequivocally held

that violation of the Confrontation Clause can have “a

significant effect on the ‘integrity of the fact-finding

process,” Berger, 393 U.S. at 315 (referring to Linkletter v.

Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 639 (1965)), thereby invoking the

“purpose” criterion of the classic tripartite analysis. Even

the prosecution’s “claim of a significant countervailing

12

interest based upon reliance on previous standards” was

“most unpersuasive” against full retroactivity. Id.

Crawford clearly fits the second Teague exception —

even more so than the new Confrontation Clause rule in

Barber that this Court declared fully retroactive in Berger.

Whereas Barber concerned the admission of a transcript of

sworn testimony from a preliminary hearing, Crawford

involves the admission of evidence that is even more

unreliable under the Sixth Amendment: testimonial

hearsay. In overruling the hearsay approach of Ohio v.

Roberts — “a fundamental failure” on the part of the Court

“to interpret the Constitution in a way that secures its

intended constraint on judicial discretion,” Crawford, 541

U.S. at 67 — the Court announced a watershed rule of

procedure without which the likelihood of an accurate

conviction is seriously diminished. Just as in Barber and

Berger, the violations of the Confrontation Clause permit-

ted erroneously by Roberts had a significant negative

effect on the integrity of the fact-finding process. The new

rule of Crawford overcomes this impairment to truth-

finding: instead of the admission of testimonial hearsay

being conditional on whether it falls within a “firmly

rooted hearsay exception” or bears “particularized guaran-

tees of trustworthiness,” as it was under Roberts, now,

under Crawford, when the hearsay is testimonial — as it

was in this case — “the Sixth Amendment demands what

the common law required: unavailability and a prior

opportunity for cross-examination.” Jd. at 62. As the Ninth

Circuit observed in Bockting,

[A]t the heart of the Court’s concerns in Craw-

ford was the reliability of admitted evidence.

Where admitted evidence is unreliable, the accu-

racy of convictions is seriously undermined. That

13

the rule in Crawford is one without which the ac-

curacy of convictions would be seriously under-

mined is further borne out by the Court’s own

description of its prior doctrine as a “rare case” of

“fundamental failure.” (Crawford, 541 U.S. at

67]. The difference between pre- and post-

Crawford Confrontation Clause jurisprudence is

not the sort of change that can be dismissed as

merely incremental. Instead, it is an “absolute

pre-requisite to fundamental fairness.”

399 F.3d at 1018-1019 (quoting Sawyer v. Smith, 497 U.S.

227, 244 (1990)).

For testimonial hearsay of an unavailable declarant to

be admissible, Crawford’s new watershed rule of criminal

procedure requires that there be a prior opportunity to

cross-examine the declarant. In Mr. Drach’s case, the

testimonial hearsay was that of six counselors and aid

workers who elicited the alleged declarations from Mrs.

Drach in the course of her treatment for severe depression

and alcoholism while attempting to convince her to divorce

her husband and press charges against him for supposed

spousal abuse. By the time of trial, Mrs. Drach — the

decedent — was unavailable. Although her alleged state-

ments were elicited in an accusatory manner and made

under circumstances that the witnesses believed would be

available for use at a later trial, there was no prior oppor-

tunity to question her as to the veracity of the alleged

statements.

Therefore, if Crawford is retroactively applicable on

collateral review, the admission of that highly prejudicial

hearsay against Mr. Drach — the only evidence against him

that he was unable to rebut directly, because he could not

possibly have done so after Mrs. Drach’s death — clearly

14

violated the Confrontation Clause. The defense rebutted

the prosecution’s forensic evidence. It rebutted the prose-

cution’s evidence against the propensity of the decedent to

commit suicide. It could not, however, rebut the specious

hearsay testimony regarding Mr. Drach’s character that

was completely out of line with all the other evidence

regarding the Drachs’ relationship introduced at trial.

Without that hearsay testimony, reasonable doubt clearly

exists that Mr. Drach committed the crime of premedi-

tated murder. Applying Crawford retroactively to this case

undoubtedly would affect the reliability of Mr. Drach’s

conviction. The rule in Crawford is one “without which the

likelihood of an accurate conviction is seriously dimin-

ished.”

This Court should issue its writ of certiorari to answer

the important federal question of whether its testimonial

hearsay rule announced in Crawford v. Washington is

retroactive to cases on collateral appeal.

IL_ If Crawford v. Washington is not retroactively

applicable, the decision of the Supreme Court

of Kansas upholding the admission of hearsay

evidence under Kansas’s unique, extra-statutory

marital discord hearsay exception violates the

Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment,

in direct conflict with the decision of this

Court in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) and

its progeny, Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990),

White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1991), and Lilly v.

Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999).

Without question, “it is wholly consistent with the

Framers’ design to afford the States flexibility in their

development of hearsay law.” Crawford, 541 U.S. at 68.

15

This Court consistently recognizes, however, that there are

clear limits to that flexibility. Where a state’s rationale for

admitting hearsay evidence falls outside the boundaries of

what the Confrontation Clause allows, it is unconstitu-

tional and erroneous. See Wright, 497 U.S. at 817; Lilly,

527 U.S. at 134 and 127. The decision of the Supreme

Court of Kansas in this case upheld just such an unconsti-

tutional hearsay exception when it affirmed the admission

of hearsay testimony against Mr. Drach under Kansas’s

unique marital discord hearsay exception. This Court

should not tolerate such an assault on the Confrontation

Clause.

In 1967, the Supreme Court of Kansas transcended

the Kansas Legislature’s enumerated hearsay exceptions

in K.S.A. § 60-460 to create a new exception to the general

proscription of hearsay evidence: the marital discord

exception. State v. Patterson, 200 Kan. 176, 182, 434 P.2d

808 (1967). This exception, directed solely at cases of

alleged marital homicide, allows the prosecution to admit

into evidence any hearsay statements that the decedent

allegedly made concerning abusive treatment or threats by

the defendant. See State v. Rice, 261 Kan. 567, 583-85, 932

P.2d 981 (1997). Neither this Court, nor the Federal Rules

of Evidence, nor any other common-law jurisdiction, nor

even the Kansas Statutes recognize such a broad excep-

tion. See Christine Arguello, The Marital Discord Exemp-

tion to Hearsay; Fact or Judicially-Legislated Fiction?, 46

KAN. L. REV. 63, 63-66 (1997).

At Mr. Drach’s trial, the trial court admitted hearsay

testimony (detailed ante) under a presumed, sweeping res

gestae exception. On direct appeal of his judgment of

conviction and sentence, Mr. Drach argued that the res

gestae exception, long abandoned in the federal courts,

16

violated the Confrontation Clause and accordingly was

reversible error. The Supreme Court of Kansas bypassed

that argument and held instead that the hearsay testi-

mony was “admissible under the marital discord excep-

tion,” and therefore, “Drach’s argument under this issue is

moot” (App. 63). Accordingly, in his state habeas case, Mr.

Drach argued that admission of the testimony under the

marital discord exception also violated the Confrontation

Clause. The state court disagreed, however, and affirmed

the admission of the hearsay under the marital discord

exception (App. 34-35).

In Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), this Court held

that hearsay from an unavailable declarant is only admis-

sible “if it bears adequate ‘indicia of reliability.’ Reliability

can be inferred without more in a case where the evidence

falls within a firmly rooted hearsay exception. In other

cases, the evidence must be excluded, at least absent a

showing of particularized guarantees of trustworthiness.”

Id. Therefore, “the ‘indicia of reliability’ requirement could

be met in either of two circumstances: [1] where the

hearsay statement ‘falls within a firmly rooted hearsay

exception,’ or [2] where it is supported by ‘a showing of

particularized guarantees of trustworthiness.’” Wright,

497 U.S. at 816 (citations omitted). Here, the admission of

the hearsay under the marital discord exception fails to

satisfy either circumstance.

The marital discord exception clearly is not a firmly

rooted hearsay exception. Under Roberts, a hearsay

exception is “firmly rooted” if “in light of ‘longstanding

judicial and legislative experience,’ ... it ‘rests [on] such

[a] solid foundation that admission of virtually any evi-

dence within [it] comports with the substance of the

constitutional protection.’” Lilly, 527 U.S. at 126 (citing

17

Roberts, 448 U.S. at 66 (quoting Mattox v. United States,

156 U.S. 237, 244 (1895))). To determine whether an

exception fits this definition, the Court considers: (1) the

length of time the exception has existed; (2) the number of

jurisdictions that recognize the exception; and (3) whether

the Federal Rules of Evidence recognize the exception.

White, 502 U.S. at 356.

Employing this analysis, this Court has declared the

following to be “firmly rooted” exceptions: “voluntary

admissions against the declarant,” Lilly, 527 U.S. at 127,

“exculpatory evidence offered by a defendant who claims

that the declarant committed or was involved in the

offense,” id. at 130, “spontaneous declarations,” White, 502

U.S. at 356, and “statements made for purposes of medical

diagnosis or treatment.” Jd. Likewise, this Court has held

several purported exceptions not to be firmly rooted under

Roberts: the “residual exception,” Wright, 497 U.S. at 817,

“accomplice confessions,” Lilly, 527 U.S. at 134, and a

sweeping “statements against penal interest” exception

standing on its own. /d. at 127.

Kansas’s “judicially created marital discord exception”

plainly does not satisfy the considerations necessary for it

to be a firmly rooted hearsay exception under Roberts,

Wright, White, and Lilly. The first consideration in deter-

mining whether a hearsay exception is firmly rooted is the

length of time it has existed. The Supreme Court of Kan-

sas first announced the marital discord exception in 1967

in State v. Patterson, 200 Kan. at 176. It has only existed

for less than forty years, far less time than the exceptions

this Court has upheld as “firmly rooted,” all of which had

support in English law before American independence in

1776. See Lilly, 527 U.S. at 127, 130; White, 502 U.S. at

356. Under this Court’s reading, the length of existerice of

18

Kansas’s marital discord exception does not compare with

that of a firmly rooted exception.

The second consideration is the number of jurisdic-

tions that recognize the exception. The marital discord

exception is unique to Kansas. No other jurisdiction

anywhere recognizes it. See Arguello, 46 KAN. L. REV. 63.

The marital discord exception lacks any support whatso-

ever in this element.

The third consideration is whether the Federal Rules

of Evidence recognize the exception. They do not. The

Federal Rules plainly have no marital discord exception to

hearsay. Nowhere in Federal Rules of Evidence 803-807,

which discuss the exceptions to hearsay under federal law,

is anything even vaguely resembling the marital] discord

exception recognized or understood.

The marital discord exception thus cannot be “firmly

rooted” as this Court has interpreted such exceptions in

Wright, White, and Lilly. It has existed for a very short

time. It exists only in Kansas. It has no analogy in the

Federal Rules of Evidence. Accordingly, the hearsay

testimony admitted against Mr. Drach would be lawful

only if it was supported by a showing of particularized

guarantees of trustworthiness.

The admission of the hearsay evidence, however,

clearly could not possibly have had such support. Under

Roberts, the “particularized guarantees of trustworthi-

ness” that a trial court is required to find for admission

under the Confrontation Clause must be drawn “from the

totality of circumstances that surround the making of the

statement and that render the declarant particularly

worthy of belief.” Wright, 497 U.S. at 820. A statement that

satisfies this requirement must be “so trustworthy that

19

adversarial testing would add little to its reliability.” Jd. at

821.

So, “unless an affirmative reason, arising from the

circumstances in which the statement was made, provides

a basis for rebutting the presumption that a hearsay

statement is not worthy of reliance at trial, the Confronta-

tion Clause requires exclusion of the out-of-court state-

ment.” Jd. The hearsay must be reliable “by virtue of its

inherent trustworthiness, not by reference to other evi-

dence at trial.” Jd. at 822. “In other words, if the decla-

rant’s truthfulness is so clear from the surrounding

circumstances that the test of cross-examination would be

of marginal utility, then the hearsay rule does not bar

admission of the statement at trial.” Jd. at 820 (emphasis

added).

The hearsay evidence at issue was that of volunteers

and professionals who testified that Mrs. Drach allegedly

told them her husband had abused her. Over the defense’s

objection, the trial court invoked the res gestae exception

to hearsay and admitted the evidence. On direct appeal,

the Supreme Court of Kansas held that analysis of res

gestae was unnecessary because the evidence was admis-

sible under the marital discord exception (App. 63).

Because the marital discord exception is not “firmly

rooted” under this Court’s approach per the Roberts

doctrine, the trial court would have needed to find that

Mrs. Drach’s alleged statements had particularized guar-

antees of trustworthiness to be admissible. That is, the

alleged statements of Mrs. Drach must have been so

trustworthy that adversarial testing would add little to

their reliability. The test of cross-examination of Mrs.

Drach would have needed to be of marginal utility. Such

findings would have needed to be clear from the totality of

20

circumstances surrounding the statements and not based

on any other evidence introduced at trial.

It simply does not make sense to say that the alleged

statements of Mrs. Drach offered as hearsay had these

“particularized guarantees of trustworthiness” so that

adversarial testing through cross-examination of Mrs.

Drach would have added little to their reliability and

would have been “of marginal utility.” Mrs. Drach was an

alcoholic. She was severely depressed. Evidence at trial

indicated that she had attempted to commit suicide in the

months following the deaths of her mother and son.

Evidence also indicated that she often was clumsy and fell

down. The hearsay witnesses were attempting to get Mrs.

Drach to leave her husband. They said that she told them

her husband had abused her. Her brother-in-law, however,

testified that Mrs. Drach told him she had fabricated those

statements so as to appease what the hearsay witnesses

wanted of her. .

Thus, if Mrs. Drach were alive to be cross-examined at

trial as to the veracity of and circumstances under which

she alleged!y made these statements, such adversarial

testing would have been of great utility. In light of the

evidence of her alcoholism, her suicide attempts, her

physical instability, and her alleged untruthfulness to the

hearsay witnesses, the defense directly could have im-

peached these statements. Clearly, the hearsay testimony

did not possess the “particularized guarantees of trustwor-

thiness” necessary to satisfy this Court’s Confrontation

Clause analysis under Roberts and Wright.

In its decision, the Supreme Court of Kansas stated

that there were particularized guarantees of trustworthi-

ness because “the trial court is presumed to have made all

> 21

necessary factual findings to support its judgment” (App.

35). Particularized guarantees of trustworthiness are

necessary to admit hearsay testimony where no “firmly

’ rooted” hearsay exception applies. At trial, the court

admitted the hearsay testimony under the res gestae

exception, which we may presume the district court

believed was firmly rooted under Roberts. Under the trial

court’s reasoning, no particularized guarantees of trust-

worthiness were necessary to support the admission of the

hearsay. The Supreme Court of Kansas disagreed but held

that they still were admissible under the marital discord

exception, imputing a finding of particularized guarantees

to the trial court anyway.

The decision of the Supreme Court of Kansas there-

fore seems to suggest that the trial court had the ability to

divine the future. The trial court, erroneously believing

the hearsay to be proper under a res gestae exception with

no particularized guarantees of trustworthiness necessary,

could not possibly have known that the Supreme Court of

Kansas would rule otherwise on direct appeal. The state

supreme court cannot then logically assert that the trial

court did make those findings because “the trial court is

presumed to have made all necessary factual findings to

support its judgment,” (App. 35) (emphasis added), be-

cause the trial court did not believe that such findings

were necessary at the time of trial. To hold otherwise is to

find that the trial court had powers of divination. This line

of reasoning clearly makes no sense.

The hearsay testimony admitted at trial did not have

the particularized guarantees of trustworthiness neces-

sary to satisfy the Confrontation Clause under Roberts

and its progeny. The rule in Kansas that “the trial court is

presumed to have made all necessary factual findings to

22

support its judgment” is not valid here, because the trial

court did not believe that such factual findings were

necessary under its erroneous approach to hearsay. Be-

cause the marital discord exception is not “firmly rooted”

under Wright, White, and Lilly, and the hearsay testimony

did not have the “particularized guarantees of trustwor-

thiness” necessary to satisfy the Confrontation Clause, the

admission of the hearsay testimony against Mr. Drach

under Kansas’s marital discord hearsay exception violated

the Confrontation Clause.

Because marital discord is not a firmly rooted excep-

tion and the trial court could not logically have made the

necessary factual findings as to satisfy the particularized

guarantees of trustworthiness to survive Constitutional

scrutiny under the Roberts approach, the admission of the

hearsay evidence violated Mr. Drach’s Sixth Amendment

right to confront the witnesses against him. The Supreme

Court of Kansas clearly erred in holding otherwise.

Thus, this Court should issue its writ of certiorari to

answer the important federal question of whether the

decision of the Supreme Court of Kansas upholding the

admission of hearsay evidence under Kansas’s unique,

judicially-created, extra-statutory “marital discord”

hearsay exception violated the Confrontation Clause, in

direct conflict with this Court’s decisions in Roberts,

Wright, White, and Lilly.

23

Ill. The decision of the Supreme Court of Kansas

that res judicata barred Mr. Drach from chal-

lenging the Constitutionality of admitting

hearsay evidence under Kansas’s unique mari-

tal discord exception does not preclude this

Court from exercising certiorari jurisdiction

over his federal claim.

Under its doctrine that “where an appeal is taken

from the sentence imposed and/or a conviction, the judg-

ment of the reviewing court is res judicata as to all issues

actually raised, and those issues that could have been

presented, but were not presented, are deemed waived,”

State v. Neer, 247 Kan. 137, 140-141, 795 P.2d 362 (1990),

the Supreme Court of Kansas held that res judicata barred

Mr. Drach from challenging the Constitutionality of

admitting hearsay evidence against him under its marital

discord exception (App. 34-35). In some circumstances,

this holding could constitute an independent and adequate

ground of state law barring this Court from exercising its

certiorari jurisdiction. Here, however, the unique develop-

ment of Kansas’s res judicata doctrine create a federal

question of whether the Supreme Court of Kansas’s

application of res judicata to Mr. Drach’s marital discord

argument conflicts with this Court’s holding in Teague.

Moreover, even if the res judicata holding remains a non-

federal ground here, it is clearly unsupportable and must

be disregarded.

This Court declines “to review state court judgments

which rest on independent and adequate state grounds,”

Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 428 (1963). Res judicata usually

qualifies as one such state ground. See Durley v. Mayo, 351

U.S. 277, 284-285 (1956). Where the state law is based on

federal law or a prior decision of this Court, however, it is

24

not so independent or adequate as to defeat this Court’s

jurisdiction. See Kansas v. Marsh, 126 S. Ct. 2516, 2522

(2006) (certiorari jurisdiction was not defeated by ground

of state law where state law rested on a prior decision of

this Court). The Supreme Court of Kansas expressly

adopted its doctrine of res judicata on collateral review

from this Court’s own definition in Teague. See Neer, 247

Kan. at 142 (quoting Teague, 489 U.S. at 297). Therefore,

the Kansas court’s judgment that res judicata barred Mr.

Drach from raising his marital] discord claim cannot be an

independent and adequate ground of state law. Effectively,

the Kansas court held that this Court’s interpretation of

res judicata on collateral review in Teague barred Mr.

Drach’s claim. Whether res judicata did, in fact, bar Mr.

Drach, therefore rests on an interpretation of a prior

decision of this Court. Accordingly, the Kansas court’s

application of res judicata to Mr. Drach is wholly within

this Court’s jurisdiction to review.

The Kansas court clearly erred in applying res judi-

cata to Mr. Drach’s cause. On direct appeal, Mr. Drach

argued that admitting the hearsay under a purported res

gestae exception violated the Confrontation Clause. In that

appeal, the Supreme Court of Kansas held that even if

admission as res gestae was unconstitutional, the hearsay

was admissible on alternative grounds under Kansas’s

marital discord hearsay exception. Accordingly, in his state

habeas case, Mr. Drach argued that admitting the hearsay

under that exception also was unconstitutional. Because

Mr. Drach could not possibly have raised the issue of the

marital discord exception’s Constitutionality on direct

appeal, res judicata is inapplicable.

This Court will refuse to defer to a ground of state law

where it clearly is unsupportable. NAACP v. Alabama ex

25

rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449, 455 (1958). For, “if non-federal

grounds, plainly untenable, may be thus put forward

successfully, [this Court’s] power to review easily may be

avoided.” Ward v. Bd. of County Comm’rs, 253 U.S. 17, 22

(1920). Accordingly, where res judicata “is so clearly ill

founded that it cannot sustain the judgment,” it will not

qualify as an independent or adequate ground of state law,

particularly where it has been used to strip a defendant of

a fundamental federal right. Postal Tel. Cable Co. v.

Newport, 247 U.S. 464, 475-476 (1918).

If the application of Kansas’s doctrine of res judicata

is offered as a ground of state law in this case, it is wholly

unsupportable. At Mr. Drach’s trial, the court admitted

this hearsay testimony only under the res gestae exception.

Accordingly, on direct appeal to the Supreme Court of

Kansas in 2000, Mr. Drach argued that admission of the

hearsay under the res gestae exception violated the Con-

frontation Clause as construed under Roberts. The Kansas

appellate court ruled that even if the evidence was inad-

missible under the res gestae exception (or even if res

gestae was an unconstitutional exception), it would, for the

first time, raise the marital discord exception to allow the

evidence.

On direct appeal, Mr. Drach never argued that the

judicially-created marital discord exception was itself

unconstitutional. Instead, his argument concerned only

the res gestae because that was the sole ground cited by

the trial cert. Accordingly, the issue of whether the

marital discord exception that the state supreme court

had used on direct appeal violated the Confrontation

Clause properly was raised for the first time in his state

habeas case. Plainly, he presented a new argument. He did

not present it in his direct appeal. He could not have

26

presented it in his direct appeal, because the error below

was the admission of the hearsay under the res gestae

exception. He could not have known that the Supreme

Court of Kansas sua sponte would employ the marital

discord exception to uphold the admission of the hearsay.

Therefore, whether the admission of the hearsay testi-

mony under Kansas’s “marital discord” exception violates

the Confrontation Clause was a new issue in his state

habeas case.

In its decision affirming Mr. Drach’s conviction on

direct appeal, the Kansas court stated, “Hearsay state-

ments made by a deceased spouse-declarant are admissi-

ble as evidence of marital discord if the trial court finds

that the statements have particular guarantees of trust-

worthiness. See Ohio v. Roberts” (App. 63) (other citations

omitted). Mr. Drach challenged the Constitutionality of the

marital discord exception as not fitting within the “firmly

rooted hearsay exception” and “particularized guarantees

of trustworthiness” requirements that this Court promul-

gated in Roberts and its progeny. Clearly, this issue was

not before the Kansas court on direct appeal. It could not

have been. Thus, because the issue was not raised on

direct appeal, and it was unmistakably a new issue before

the Kansas court, the doctrine of res judicata simply was

unsupportable.

Kansas’s res judicata doctrine as pertaining to collat-

eral review cannot be an independent and adequate

ground of state law: it rests expressly on this Court’s

holding in Teague. The Kansas court erred in applying

that holding to Mr. Drach’s marital discord argument.

Even if it is a non-federal ground, its application to this

claim clearly is unsupportable and ill-founded. The admis-

sion of hearsay testimony under Kansas’s unique marital

27

discord exception plainly violates the Confrontation

Clause. The Kansas court’s invocation of res judicata only

served to strip Mr. Drach of his Sixth Amendment rights

and uphold Kansas’s maverick hearsay exception. If res

judicata is a federal ground here, applying it to Mr. Drach

was error. If it is a non-federal ground, it is unsupportable

and must be disregarded.

CONCLUSION

This Court should issue its writ of certiorari to review

the decision of the Supreme Court of Kansas in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

DENNIS OWENS, Attorney

Counsel of Record

7th Floor, Harzfeld’s Building

1111 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105

Telephone: (816) 474-3000

Facsimile: (816) 474-5533

JEREMIAH KIDWELL, Attorney

7th Floor, Harzfeld’s Building

1111 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105

Telephone: (816) 474-3000

Facsimile: (816) 474-5533

Attorneys for the Petitioner

Roger Drach

App. 1

ROGER DRACH, Appellant, v. LOUIS BRUCE and

STATE OF KANSAS, Appellees.

No. 93,654

SUPREME COURT OF KANSAS

136 P.3d 390; 2006 Kan. LEXIS 364

June 9, 2006, Opinion Filed

PRIOR HISTORY: Appeal from Finney district court,

MICHAEL L. QUINT, judge.

DISPOSITION: Affirmed.

SYLLABUS: BY THE COURT

1. When reviewing the denial of a K.S.A. 60-1507

motion following an evidentiary hearing before the district

court, the appellate court reviews the factual underpin-

nings of the district court’s decision by a substantial

competent evidence standard and applies a de novo stan-

dard when reviewing the district court’s decision. The

ultimate denial of the 60-1507 motion involves a legal

question requiring independent appellate review.

2. Substantial evidence is evidence which possesses

both relevance and substance and which furnishes a

substantial basis of fact from which the issues can rea-

sonably be resolved. In other words, substantial evidence

is such legal and relevant evidence as a reasonable person

might accept as being sufficient to support a conclusion.

3. The right to present witnesses to establish a

defense is guaranteed under the Sixth Amendment right

to compulsory process. It is fundamental to a fair trial, and

denial of the right is a denial of due process under the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

App. 2

Defendants have a right to testify in their own behalf. The

decisions which are to be made by the accused after full

consultation with counsel are: (1) what plea to enter; (2)

whether to waive jury trial; and (3) whether to testify on

his or her own behalf.

4. A convicted defendant’s claim that counsel’s

assistance was so defective as to require reversal of a

conviction has two components. First, the defendant must

show that counsel’s performance was deficient. This

requires showing that counsel made errors so serious that

counsel was not functioning as the “counsel” guaranteed

the defendant by the Sixth Amendment. Second, the

defendant must show that the deficient performance

prejudiced the defense. This requires showing that coun-

sel’s errors were so serious as to deprive the defendant of a

fair trial, a trial whose result is reliable. Unless a defen-

dant makes both showings, it cannot be said that the

conviction resulted from a breakdown in the adversary

process that renders the result unreliable. Both the

performance and prejudice prongs of the ineffective assis-

tance of counsel inquiry are mixed questions of law and

fact on appeal requiring de novo review.

5. With no objection to inadequate factual findings,

the trial court is presumed to have made all necessary

factual findings to support its judgment.

6. The district court was in the better position to

weigh the credibility of the witnesses, and this court does

not pass on the credibility of witnesses or reweigh conflict-

ing evidence.

7. The Sixth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides that in all criminal prosecutions, the

accused shall enjoy the right to be confronted with the

App. 3

witnesses against him or her. This constitutional provision

does not preclude the admission of all out-of-court state-

ments. In determining the admissibility of hearsay excep-

tions, the court must also consider the requirements of the

Confrontation Clause of the United States Constitution.

The Confrontation Clause can operate to bar the admis-

sion of evidence that would otherwise be admissible under ©

an exception to the hearsay rule if confrontation require-

ments are not met.

8. Kansas appellate courts have applied a three-step

analysis for determining whether a change in the law

should be applied retroactively in a criminal case under

collateral attack. First, the court must determine whether

the movant has properly raised the issue in his or her

collateral attack. Supreme Court Rule 183(c) (2005 Kan.

Ct. R. Annot. 228) limits the issues that may be raised in a

collateral attack. Second, the court determines whether

the case was final when the new law was established. If a

case was final when the new law was established, the

general rule is that the new law will not be applied to

cases on collateral attack. Third, if the case was final

before the new law was established, the court must deter-

mine whether any exception to the general rule against

retroactive application applies.

9. A new rule of constitutional criminal procedure is

not applied retroactively on collateral review unless (1) it

places certain kinds of primary, private individual conduct

beyond the power of the criminal law-making authority to

prosecute, or (2) it is a watershed rule requiring the

observance of those procedures that are implicit in the

concept of ordered liberty.

App. 4

10. New rules of procedure generally do not apply

retroactively. They do not produce a class of persons

convicted of conduct the law does not make criminal, but

merely raise the possibility that someone convicted with

use of the invalidated procedure might have been acquit-

ted otherwise. Because of this more speculative connection

to innocence, we give retroactive effect to only a small set

of watershed rules of criminal procedure implicating the

fundamental fairness and accuracy of the criminal pro-

ceeding. That a new procedural rule is fundamental in

some abstract sense is not enough; the rule must be one

without which the likelihood of an accurate conviction is

seriously diminished. This class of rules is extremely

narrow.

11. The new Confrontation Clause analysis set forth

in Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177,

124 S. Ct. 1354 (2004), is not a watershed rule entitled to

retroactive application on collateral appeal because it was

not one without which the likelihood of an accurate convic-

tion is seriously diminished.

12. Under Kansas law, where an appeal is taken

from the sentence imposed and/or a conviction, the judg-

ment of the reviewing court is res judicata as to all issues

actually raised; those issues that could have been pre-

sented, but were not presented, are deemed waived. Where

a defendant’s claim has not been raised at trial or on direct

appeal, such a default prevents the defendant from raising

the claim in a second appeal or in a collateral proceeding.

13. When a second appeal is brought to this court

in the same case, the first decision is the settled law of

the case on all questions involved in the first appeal,

and reconsideration will not normally be given to such

App. 5

questions. Ordinarily, under the law of the case doctrine,

once an issue is decided by the court, it should not be

relitigated or reconsidered unless it is clearly erroneous or

would cause manifest injustice.

14. Res judicata, rather than the law of the case

doctrine, applies to issues raised in a K.S.A. 60-1507 civil

proceeding which have previously been resolved by a final

appellate court order in his or her criminal proceeding.

15. A K.S.A. 60-1507 motion cannot be used as a

substitute for a second appeal, absent a showing the trial

error affected constitutional rights and a showing of

exceptional circumstances.

COUNSEL: Jeremiah J. Kidwell, of Kansas City, Mis-

souri, argued the cause, and Dennis J.C. Owens, of Kansas

City, Missouri, was with him on the briefs for appellant.

Lois K. Malin, assistant county attorney, argued the cause,

and John P. Wheeler, Jr., county attorney, and Phill Kline,

attorney general, were with her on the brief for appellee.

JUDGES: The opinion of the court was delivered by

DAVIS, J.:

OPINION BY: DAVIS

OPINION: The opinion of the court was delivered by

DAVIS, J.: Roger Drach’s convictions of first-degree

premeditated murder, aggravated battery with great

bodily harm, and criminal possession of weapons in this

marital homicide case were upheld in State v. Drach, 268

Kan. 636, 1 P.3d 864 (2000). Drach appeals the denial of

his K.S.A. 60-1507 motion alleging that counsel was

ineffective by depriving him of the right to testify on his

Ann.

own behalf and that his convictions were based on inad-

missible hearsay evidence in violation of the Confrontation

Clause. We disagree and affirm.

Roger Drach was convicted of first-degree premedi-

tated murder, aggravated battery with great bodily harm,

and criminal possession of weapons in connection with the

death of his wife, Deanne Drach. A summary of the facts

giving rise to the charges and convictions as set forth in

our State v. Drach, 268 Kan. 636, 1 P.3d 864, decision

follows:

“Deanne died on August 19, 1994, as a result

of a gunshot wound to the chest. This case was

not commenced until nearly 2 years after her

death. The main issue at trial was whether

Deanne had committed suicide or had been mur-

dered by Drach.

“Drach claimed Deanne committed suicide,

that he was not in the room when she was shot,

and that he found her on the bed after he heard

the shot. The State’s expert witnesses testified

the wound could not have been self-inflicted.

Drach’s expert witnesses testified they were

99.5% certain the wound was self-inflicted.

“After review of the extensive record (18 vol-

‘umes, the longest of which is 291 pages), two

relevant facts emerged: Deanne had an affair 28

years before her death, and she had been abused

since her husband discovered the affair shortly

after it occurred.

“At trial, there was much hearsay evidence of

abuse suffered throughout the 34-year-marriage,

none of which is pinned down by time or date.

App. 7

“When Deanne’s body was examined at the

scene, she was on the bed in the southeast corner

of the room. The gun that was used to shoot her

was in the northwest corner of the room. The gun

was a derringer. Both parties’ experts testified the

bullet had been fired from the top barrel. Yet, the

top barrel had a live round with a dented primer in

it and an empty cartridge in the bottom chamber.

“Both old and new blood stains consistent

with Deanne’s blood were found throughout the

house, in Deanne’s purse, in her clothing, and in

Drach’s car, which would indicate Deanne had

been abused for a long period of time.

“When Deanne’s body was examined, she was

lying in fresh blood but had dried blood on her

arms and back. She had a 2.5 centimeter laceration

on the back of her head that went to the bone, two

black eyes, a laceration above the right eye, and

bruises all over her body. X-rays revealed new frac-

tures of the 9th, 10th, and 11th ribs.

“Two autopsies revealed old fractures of the

7th, 10th, 11th, and 12th ribs on the right side; a

healing fracture of the left ulna; a fracture of the

right arm that had recently been refractured;

and a gunshot wound to the left arm.

“Drach gave accounts of what happened that

did not appear to be accurate. For example, in

discussing a broken window, Drach said he had

to break into the house because he did not have

his key. Law enforcement officers testified the

window was broken from the inside out. Drach

testified that Deanne had facial bruises when he

checked her out of the hospital. Three witnesses

testified, however, that Deanne had no visible

App. 8

marks on her when they last saw her, including

the discharging nurse at the hospital.

“Drach also said he thought Deanne was

drinking again when she died. The autopsy re-

port showed her blood alcohol concentration was

.000. Drach also told officers Deanne got her gun

out of her car the day she was shot. Her car was

in storage at Dodge City at ail pertinent times

and had been for some time.” 268 Kan. at 637-39.

In the original appeal affirming Drach’s convictions

and sentences, we rejected Drach’s argument that the

marital discord evidence admitted by the district court as

res gestae was inadmissible hearsay because it fell under

the marital discord exception. We also concluded that such

evidence was not violative of the Confrontation Clause

because the statements had particular guarantees of

trustworthiness under Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65

L. Ed. 2d 597, 100 S. Ct. 2531(1980). 268 Kan. at 648-51.

On October 12, 2004, Drach filed an amended K.S.A.

60-1507 motion claiming that trial counsel was ineffective

in failing to inform him of the right to testify on his own

behalf and failing to object to prejudicial marital discord

testimony. He also claimed that his convictions were based

on hearsay testimony which violated the Confrontation

Clause under both Roberts and Crawford v. Washington,

541 U.S. 36, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177, 1248S. Ct. 1354 (2004).

An evidentiary hearing on the motion was held on

October 22, 2004. After hearing testimony from Drach

and his trial counsel Richard Marquez and John Lindner,

the district court denied the motion, finding overwhelm-

ing evidence existed that Drach was informed of his right

to testify on his own behalf and that his hearsay claims

were resolved against him in his direct criminal appeal

App. 9

and are bound by res judicata in his 60-1507 motion. The

court further concluded that Crawford should not be

applied retroactively to cases on collateral review, that the

marital discord testimony was not testimonial under

Crawford, and that Crawford does not apply under the

doctrine of equitable forfeiture because Drach was respon-

sible for Deanne’s death. The defendant timely appealed,

and we transferred this case on our own motion pursuant

to K.S.A. 20-3018(c).

The defendant raises two arguments on appeal: (1)

Defense counsel was ineffective by depriving Drach of the

right to testify on his own behalf; and (2) inadmissible

hearsay marital discord evidence was admitted at trial in

violation of the Confrontation Clause under Roberts and

Crawford.

K.S.A. 60-1507 Standard of Review

When reviewing the denial of a K.S.A. 60-1507 motion

following an evidentiary hearing before the district court,

the appellate court reviews the factual underpinnings of

the district court’s decision by a substantial competent

evidence standard and applies a de novo standard when

reviewing the district court’s decision. The ultimate denial

of the 60-1507 motion involves a legal question requiring

independent appellate review.

“Substantial evidence is evidence which possesses

both relevance and substance and which furnishes a

substantial basis of fact from which the issues can rea-

sonably be resolved. [In other words,] substantial evidence

is such legal and relevant evidence as a reasonable person

might accept as being sufficient to support a conclusion.

[Citation omitted.]” State v. Luna, 271 Kan. 573, 574-75,

24 P.3d 125 (2001).

App. 10

(1) Sixth Amendment Right to Testify

Background

Before the defense rested at trial, Drach had a discus-

sion with his two trial attorneys, Richard Marquez and

John Lindner, concerning testifying on his own behalf. The

attorneys did not agree whether Drach should testify.

Lindner thought the defense did not have “enough” with-

out his testimony, and Marquez was concerned that Drach

would lose his temper on the stand and that Drach might

have to admit that a battery had occurred. Although Drach

made statements that he was paying Marquez to decide if

he should testify, both attorneys confirmed that Drach was

informed that it was his decision whether to testify and

that Drach himself decided that he would not testify.

Drach argues that he did not feel like it was his decision to

make and the reason why he did not testify was because

Marquez did not want him on the stand.

Prior to the State’s rebuttal, the district court asked

Drach if he understood his Fifth Amendment right against

self-incrimination and that it was his decision alone

whether to testify on his own behalf. Drach replied that he

understood and had decided not to testify. The defense

rested without Drach testifying on his own behalf.

During the State’s rebuttal, Karen Althaus testified

that her husband had an affair with Deanne 25 years

earlier. In July 1972, Drach discovered the affair and

forced Deanne into the Althauses’ home at 1 a.m. Drach

was enraged and pointing a gun at a crying Deanne whose

clothing was torn. Drach stated that Deanne had con-

fessed to him and he wanted Mr. Althaus to do the same.

He made Deanne swear on a Bible to the number of times

they had sex, and he struck her across the face demanding

App. 11

to know what happened. Althaus testified that Drach said

he had four bullets and that he would kill Deanne and

himself because there was no reason to live. He forced

Deanne to call her parents, confess her unfaithfulness,

and tell them goodbye. He told her parents to drive to

Hutchinson to say goodbye to their daughter, and they left

the Althaus residence.

At the 60-1507 hearing, Drach testified that he

decided he wanted to testify when Althaus was called as a

rebuttal witness. He claimed he twice said, “‘Mr. Marquez,

she is lying. I’ve got to testify, I’ve got to do something.’”

Drach said that Marquez waived his hand and said, “‘Sit

down, sit down.’” Drach did not testify following rebuttal,

nor did he talk to his lawyers about their failure to let him

testify or raise the issue with the court.

Marquez testified that he did not remember Drach

asking to testify during rebuttal. He did recall that Drach

got agitated saying the testimony never happened and

Marquez tried to calm him down to prevent the jury from

seeing him upset. When Marquez asked Drach about

Althaus’ testimony, Drach first denied knowing who she

was and then said that they were friends. Lindner was on

his feet objecting to the rebuttal testimony and did not

hear the conversation. Lindner was never aware that day

that Drach had expressed a desire to testify.

Subsequently during the jury instruction conference,

Drach did not express to the district court that he wished

to testify when the district court asked if he would like an

instruction concerning his decision not to testify at trial.

Instead, Drach requested that such an instruction be

given.

App. 12

Discussion

Drach first claims that he was denied his constitu-

tional right to testify on his own behalf through ineffective

assistance of counsel. In denying Drach’s K.S.A. 60-1507

motion raising this issue, the district court reasoned:

“3. The first claim of the Plaintiff is that he was

not informed of his right to make the decision to

testify or not, during the trial. The evidence is

overwhelming that he was told on numerous times

that it was his decision and he chose not to testify.

A. During the Arraignment, the Journal Entry

and the statement of Defense Counsel both con-

firm that Mr. Drach was told that ‘He has the

right to testify, but only if he/she so desires.’

B. Both defense counsel confirmed that Mr.

Drach was told of his right to make the decision

and that both stated that it was his decision, af-

ter consulting with his attorneys that he would

not do so.

C. That at the conclusion of the defense’s case,

the Court inquired of the Defendant, Mr. Drach,

as follows:

‘The Court: Mr. Drach, do you under-

stand that you have the Fifth Amend-

ment privilege against self-incrimination,

and that’s your decision alone whether

you wish to testify. And you’ve made that

decision; is that correct sir?

‘Roger Drach: Yes, sir.

‘The Court: and it’s your desire, then

not to testify in this matter?

‘Roger Drach: Yes sir.’”

App. 13

“The right to present witnesses to establish a defense

is guaranteed under the Sixth Amendment right to com-

pulsory process. It is fundamental to a fair trial, and

denial of the right is a denial of due process under the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion.” State v. Finley, 268 Kan. 557, Syl. 9 1, 998 P.2d 95

(2000). Defendants have a right to testify in their own

behalf. State v. Whitaker, 260 Kan. 85, 87, 917 P.2d 859

(1996). The “decisions which are to be made by the accused

after full consultation with counsel are: (1) what plea to

enter; (2) whether to waive jury trial; and (3) whether to

testify in his own behalf.” State v. McKinney, 221 Kan.

691, 694-95, 561 P.2d 432 (1977).

“*A convicted defendant’s claim that counsel’s assis-

tance was so defective as to require reversal of a conviction

or death sentence has two components. First, the defen-

dant must show that counsel’s performance was deficient.

This requires showing that counsel made errors so serious

that counsel was not functioning as the “counsel” guaran-

teed the defendant by the Sixth Amendment. Second, the

defendant must show that the deficient performance

prejudiced the defense. This requires showing that coun-

sel’s errors were so serious as to deprive the defendant of a

fair trial, a trial whose result is reliable. Unless a defen-

dant makes both showings, it cannot be said that the

conviction or death sentence resulted from a breakdown in

the adversary process that renders the result unreliable.’”

State v. Gleason, 277 Kan. 624, 643, 88 P.3d 218 (2004)

(quoting Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 687, 80

L. Ed. 2d 674, 1048S. Ct. 2052 [1984]).

“Both the performance and prejudice prongs of the

ineffective assistance of counsel inquiry are mixed questions

App. 14

of law and fact on appeal requiring de novo review.” State

v. Griffin, 279 Kan. 634, Syl. J 6, 112 P.2d 862 (2005).

Before the district court, Drach argued that he “was

never informed by his trial counsel that he had the choice

to testify on his own behalf.” However, substantial evi-

dence in the record on appeal establishes that Drach was

advised of his right to testify at trial and decided to waive

that right following full consultation with both his attor-

neys and the court before the defense rested. As such,

Drach shifts gears and argues that the performance of

Drach’s counsel was deficient by refusing to allow him to

testify freely on his own behalf on surrebuttal. Drach

contends he could have countered Althaus’ detrimental

testimony by testifying that he and his wife were best

friends with the Althaus couple, that he did not have a gun

with him that night, that he never hurt his wife in 1972,

that he went to the Althaus residence around 11 p.m., that

he did not make the statements relayed by Althaus at

trial, and that no violence occurred that night.

The determination of whether Drach asserted his

right to testify during rebuttal amounted to a credibility

contest between Drach and Marquez. Although the district

court did not make specific findings in this regard, the

district court’s decision that Drach was informed of his

right to testify contrary to his allegations otherwise

demonstrates that it found Marquez’ testimony more

credible. See State v. Combs, 280 Kan. 45, 50, 118 P.3d

1259 (2005) (“With no objection to inadequate factual

findings, the trial court is presumed to have made all

necessary factual findings to support its judgment.”). The

district court was in the better position to weigh the

credibility of the witnesses, and this court does not pass on

the credibility of witnesses, reweigh conflicting evidence,

App. 15

and questions of credibility are resolved in favor of the

State. State v. Moore, 269 Kan. 27, 30, 4 P.3d 1141 (2000).

As the appellate court must accept as true the evi-

dence and all inferences drawn from the evidence which

tend to support the findings cf the trial judge, Drach has

not established that counsel’s representation was defi-

cient. Even if he had demonstrated a deficiency, Drach has

not established prejudice by his inability to personally

refute this testimony: Drach had presented 12 witnesses

during his case in chief who testified that they had never

seen Drach act in a violent manner toward Deanne.

Clearly the jury by its verdict believed that Drach had

been violent with Deanne.

(2) Admission of Marital Discord Testimony in Viola-

tion of the Confrontation Clause

Background

In a pretrial hearing, the defense challenged the

admission of marital discord testimony on the grounds

that it was inadmissible hearsay admitted as res gestae and

presented a confrontation issue. The 60-1507 court re-

sponded that the Kansas Supreme Court had ruled upon

those issues and had carved out a specific exception for

marital discord cases. Although a plethora of marital discord

evidence was introduced at trial, Drach points to the testi-

mony of Lana Christensen, Carol Taylor, Janet Meyers,

Marvelle Darough, Marvelle Sosa, and Dora Hermosillo as

the hearsay witnesses in his K.S.A. 60-1507 motion. We

summarized this evidence in the direct appeal as follows:

“Approximately 2 months before her death,

Deanne went to St. Catherine’s Hospital in Gar-

den City. Deanne was inebriated, barefoot, not

App. 16

wearing her broken glasses, and her hair was in

disarray. Drach was arrested for domestic bat-

tery. Deanne told Family Crisis Services workers

[Christensen & Taylor] who testified at trial, that

Drach had threatened i:er life. They also testified

that Deanne had related to them that Drach had

often beat her over the years and had repeatedly

threatened her life over an affair that she had

over 25 years previous. Deanne also reported to

the workers that she had suffered broken ribs

and arms over the years. Deanne further told the

workers that she had been shot in the shoulder

by Drach on a previous occasion. The workers ob-

served a scar on Deanne’s shoulder. Deanne told

the workers that Drach had forbid her from seek-

ing medical attention for most of these injuries.

“Deanne related the same facts to a coun-

selor in Dodge City [Hermosillo] who testified at

trial. The counselor testified that Deanne had

told her about times when Drach hit her in the

face, stomach, and arms.

“Approximately 1 month before her death,

Deanne was admitted to St. Joseph’s Hospital in

Wichita. A doctor [Meyers] testified that he no-

ticed scars about her face and arms. Deanne told

him that Drach had caused the scars.” 268 Kan.

at 648.

Additionally, Dr. Meyers referred Deanne to Marvelle

Darrough, a therapist who testified at trial that she had

learned of the spousal abuse while working with Deanne.

Deanne described horrific beatings, being repeatedly

threatened with a gun, and being burned with an iron.

Darrough diagnosed her with battered woman syndrome

with trauma syndrome. Marvelle Sosa, an addictions

counselor with the hospital, testified that she remembered

App. 17

Deanne because she had endured a lot of “awesome”

spousal abuse.

In the direct appeal, Drach argued that evidence of

Deanne’s statements about spousal abuse she had suffered

at the hands of Drach constituted inadmissible hearsay

and prior bad acts. We found that although the trial court

had admitted the evidence on the grounds of res gestae,

Kansas courts had consistently admitted evidence of

marital discord even though it may fall under the tradi-

tional notion of hearsay or prior bad acts. We further noted

that hearsay statements made by a deceased spouse

declarant are admissible as evidence of marital discord if

the trial court finds that the statements have particular

guarantees of trustworthiness under Roberts. Finally, we

found that the question of whether the admission of the

evidence as res gestae violated the Confrontation Clause

was moot because the evidence was admissible under the

marital discord exception. 268 Kan. at 650-51.

In his K.S.A. 60-1507 motion, Drach argued the mari-

tal discord testimony presented by the above six witnesses

admitted at trial was inadmissible hearsay which violated

the Confrontation Clause under both Roberts and Craw-

ford. The 60-1507 court ruled in relevant part:

“7. The fifth issue raised was the claim that the

hearsay evidence presented by the six listed wit-

nesses should not have been presented under the

guidelines set out in Crawford v. Washington,

541 U.S. [36], 158 L. Ed. 2d 177, 124 S. Ct. [1354

(2004)]. The hearsay nature of the testimony was

dealt with on direct appeal to the Supreme Court

of Kansas and found to be acceptable as set out

in that opinion. That opinion was not appealed

further.

App. 18

“9. Where Mrs. Drach is unable to take the

stand and be cross-examined, supposedly be-

cause she was dead at the hands of Roger Drach,

such an equitable forfeiture of the Confrontation

Clause is found to be proper. Under that evalua-

tion, the reliance on the Crawford case would not

be justified.

“2. The hearsay nature of the testimony of Lana

Christensen, Carol Taylor, Janet Meyers, Mar-

velle Darough, Marvelle Sosa and Dora Her-

mosillo was raised on direct appeal and the

Supreme Court of Kansas found that such testi-

mony was proper. The objection on hearsay tes-

timony is by its nature, an objection on the basis

of the right to confront one’s accuser. To that ex-

tent, the Court finds that res judicata should ap-

ply to this argument. If the Supreme Court

chooses to use the petition under K.S.A. 60-1507

as the vehicle to reverse itself, this Court feels it

has the power to do so. Until then, this Court

rules that the application must fail due to the

fact that it has already been ruled on.

“3. The State argues that Mr. Drach failed to

preserve the Confrontation Clause as a basis for

the original appeal. This Court disagrees and

rules that the issue was originally preserved and

ruled on by the Supreme Court.

“4. The State further argues that Crawford

should not be applied retroactively. This Court

agrees that it should not, and that based upon

Brown v. Uphoff, 381 F.3d 1219 (1st Cir. N.H.)

August 19, 2004, and other reasoned authority,

the decision of Crawford should NOT be retroac-

tively applied.

—<___—

App. 19

“5. The Crawford case applies only to evidence

that is testimonial in nature. Under the defini-

tions as applied in Evans v. Luebbers, 371 F.3d

438 (8th Cir. MO) June 10, 2004, the testimony of

the [six] witnesses complained of by Mr. Drach

would not be deemed testimonial in nature and

therefore not excluded under the ruling of the

Crawford case.”

Discussion

“The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides that in all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right to be confronted with the witnesses

against him or her. This constitutional provision does not

preclude the admission of all out-of-court statements. In

determining the admissibility of hearsay exceptions, the

court must also consider the requirements of the Confron-

tation Clause of the United States Constitution. The

Confrontation Clause can operate to bar the admission of

evidence that would otherwise be admissible under an

exception to the hearsay rule if confrontation require-

ments are not met.” State v. Lackey, 280 Kan. 190, Syl.

{ 1, 120 P.3d 332 (2005), cert. denied 126 S. Ct. 1653, 164

L. Ed. 2d 399 (2006).

At the time of trial in this case, a Confrontation

Clause analysis was based on the United States Supreme

Court’s decision in Roberts. This court described the

Roberts analysis in State v. Bailey, 263 Kan. 685, 692-93,

952 P.2d 1289 (1998) (quoting Bratt, 250 Kan. 264, Syl.

q 1, 824 P.2d 983 [1992]):

“*The Confrontation Clause operates in two

ways when determining the admissibility of

hearsay statements. First, the Sixth Amendment

establishes a rule of necessity. In the usual case,

App. 20

the prosecution must either produce or demon-

strate the unavailability of the declarant whose

statement it wishes to use against the defendant.

Second, once a witness is shown to be unavail-

able, the witness’ statement is admissible only if

it bears adequate indicia ei reliability. Reliability

can be inferred where the evidence falls within a

firmly rooted hearsay exception. If the evidence

does not fall within a firmly rooted hearsay excep-

tion, the evidence must be excluded absent a

showing of particularized guarantees of trustwor-

thiness.’ (Emphasis added.)” 263 Kan. at 692-93.

However, after the direct appeal in this case, the

United States Supreme Court in Crawford substantially

altered the Confrontation Clause analysis expressed in

Bailey and Roberts. See State v. Meeks, 277 Kan. 609, 613-

14, 88 P.3d 789 (2004). In Crawford, the Court drew

distinctions between testimonial and nontestimonial

hearsay evidence, holding:

“Where nontestimonial hearsay is at issue, it

is wholly consistent with the Framers’ |constitu-

tional] design to afford the States flexibility in

their development of hearsay law — as does Rob-

erts, and as would an approach that exempted

such statements from Confrontation Clause scru-

tiny altogether. Where testimonial evidence is at

issue, however, the Sixth Amendment demands

what the common law required: unavailability

and a prior opportunity for cross-examination.

We leave for another day any effort to spell out a

comprehensive definition of ‘testimenial.’ What-

ever else the term covers, it applies at a mini-

mum to prior testimony at a _ preliminary

hearing, before a grand jury, or at a formal trial;

and to police interrogations.” 541 U.S. at 68.

App. 21

Drach argues on appeal that the marital discord

evidence should not have been admitted as res gestae or

under the judicially created marital discord exception. He

contends the admission of this hearsay evidence violated

his rights under the Confrontation Clause under both

Roberts and Crawford. The State offers several alternative

arguments in response: (1) res judicata applies as this

argument was raised on direct appeal; (2) Crawford is not

retroactively applied in collateral appeals; (3) the marital

discord testimony was not testimonial under Crawford; (4)

Drach has forfeited his right to confrontation by killing the

victim; (5) the erroneous admission of this evidence under

Crawford was harmless error. The State’s first two argu-

ments resolve this case, although we consider them in

reverse order.

Retroactivity of Crawford v. Washington

As discussed above, the United States Supreme Court

concluded in Crawford that Roberts should no longer be

used when conducting a Confrontation Clause analysis

concerning testimonial hearsay. While the Kansas appel-

late courts have applied Crawford to cases pending on

direct appeal, we have yet to consider whether it applies to

collateral proceedings. See e.g., State v. Corbett, 281 Kan.,

130 P.3d 1179 (2006) (applying Crawford on direct appeal);

Payton v. State, No, 92,435, unpublished opinion filed

December 9, 2005, rev. denied 281 Kan. (May 10, 2006)

(panel did not reach retroactivity of Crawford where

conviction would be upheld regardless of whether Craw-

ford applied).

The State argues that Crawford does not apply

retroactively to collateral proceedings. Contrary to Drach’s

App. 22

assertions on appeal, the 60-1507 court in this case agreed

with the State: “The State further argues that Crawford

should not be applied retroactively. This Court agrees that

it should not, and that based upon Brown v. Uphoff; 381

F.3d 1219 (({10th Cir.]) August 19, 2004, and other rea-

soned authority, the decision of Crawford should NOT be

retroactively applied.”

In Gaudina v. State, 278 Kan. 103, 105, 92 P.3d 574

(2004), we set forth the following analysis to be used in

determining whether a change in the Jaw should be

applied retroactively in collateral proceedings:

“Kansas appellate courts have applied a three-

step analysis for determining whether a change in

the law should be applied retroactively in a crimi-

nal case under collateral attack. First, the court

must determine whether the movant has properly

raised the issue in his or her collateral attack. Su-

preme Court Rule 183(c) limits the issues that may

be raised in a collateral attack.... Second, the

court determines whether the case was final when

the new law was established. .. . If a case was final

when the new law was established, the general

rule is that the new law will not be applied to cases

on collateral attack. [Citation omitted.] Third, if

the case was final before the new law was estab-

lished, the court must determine whether any ex-

ception to the general rule against retroactive

application applies.”

In this case, the question of whether Crawford applies

retroactively is properly brought in a K.S.A. 60-1507

motion and the Crawford opinion filed in 2004 was clearly

decided well after the direct appeal was final in 2000. As

such, we turn our attention to whether any exception to

the general rule against retroactive application applies.

Ape. 23

“Under Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 103 L. Ed. 2d

334, 109 S. Ct. 1060 (1989), a new rule of constitutional

criminal procedure is not applied retroactively on collat-

eral review unless (1) it places certain kinds of primary,

private individual conduct beyond the power of the crimi-

nal law-making authority to prosecute, or (2) it is a water-

shed rule requiring the observance of those procedures

that are implicit in the concept of ordered liberty.” Whisler

v. State, 272 Kan. 864, Syl. 7 1, 36 P.3d 290 (2001), cert.

denied 535 U.S. 1066, 122 S. Ct. 1936, 152 L. Ed. 2d 841

(2002).

In this case, Drach’s argument focuses on whether

Crawford should be applied retroactively under the second

Teague exception.

In Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348, 352, 159

L. Ed. 2d 442, 124 S. Ct. 2519 (2004), the United States

Supreme Court further provided:

“New rules of procedure, on the other hand,

generally do not apply retroactively. They do not

produce a class of persons convicted of conduct

the law does not make criminal, but merely raise

the possibility that someone convicted with use

of the invalidated procedure might have been ac-

quitted otherwise. Because of this more specula-

tive connection to innocence, we give retroactive

effect to only a small set of ‘“watershed rules of

criminal procedure” implicating the fundamental

fairness and accuracy of the criminal proceeding.’

Saffle, supra, at 495 (quoting Teague, 489 US.,

at 311 (plurality opinion)). That a new procedural

rule is ‘fundamental’ in some abstract sense is not

enough; the rule must be one ‘without which the

likelihood of an accurate conviction is seriously

diminished.’ Id., at 313 (emphasis added). This

App. 24

class of rules is extremely narrow, and ‘it is

unlikely that any ... “ha|s] yet to emerge.’” Tyler

v. Cain, 533 U.S. 656, 667, n.7 121 S. Ct. 2478,

150 L. Ed. 2d 632 (2001) (quoting Sawyer v.

Smith, 497 U.S. 227, 243, 110 S. Ct. 2822, 111

L. Ed. 2d 193 (1990)).” (Emphasis added.)

The United States Supreme Court has thus estab-

lished a strict standard for whether a new rule meets the

second Teague exception; the emphasized statements

above in Summerlin suggests that it does not consider the

previously decided Crawford decision to fall within this

exception. Nevertheless, in Bockting v. Bayer, 399 F.3d

1010 (9th Cir. 2005), the sole case relied upon by Drach,

the Ninth Circuit applied Summerlin and concluded that

Crawford was retroactive, reasoning in part:

“Thus, at the heart of the Court’s concerns in

Crawford was the reliability of admitted evi-

dence. Where admitted evidence is unreliable,

the accuracy of convictions is seriously under-

mined. That the rule in Crawford is one without

which the accuracy of convictions would be seri-

ously undermined is further born out by the

Court’s own description of its prior doctrine as a

‘rare case’ of ‘fundamental failure.’ Jd, at 1373.

The difference between pre- and post-Crawford

Confrontation Clause jurisprudence is not the

sort of change that can be dismissed as merely

incremental. Instead, it is an ‘absolute pre-

requisite to fundamental fairness.’ Sawyer, 497

U.S. at 244.” Bockting, 399 F.3d at 1018-19.

In contrast, the great weight of the authority that has

considered Teague and/or Summerlin has concluded that

Crawford is not retroactive to collateral appeals. In Brown

v. Uphoff, 381 F.3d 1219, 1226-27 (10th Cir. 2004), the

Tenth Circuit found:

App. 25

“Whether the rule of Crawford should be ret-

roactively applied, therefore, depends on whether

it meets one of the two exceptions articulated by

the Court in Teague. Clearly, the first exception

does not apply because Crawford does not place

private conduct beyond the power of law-making

authority to proscribe. We must examine then

whether Crawford set forth a ‘watershed rule’ of

criminal procedure. As we have noted before, this

exception is narrowly defined. Johnson uv.

McKune, 288 F.3d 1187, 1197-98 (10th Cir. 2002).

‘To qualify as a ‘watershed’ rule of criminal pro-

cedure, the rule must not only improve the accu-

racy with which defendants are convicted or

acquitted, but also alter our understanding of the

bedrock procedural elements essential to the

fairness of a proceeding.’ Mora, 293 F.3d at 1218-

19 (quotation omitted). We conclude that the rule

in Crawford does not meet this definition.

“It is true that in Crawford the Court referred

to the protections of the Confrontation Clause as a

‘bedrock procedural guarantee,’ Crawford, 541

U.S. at 42, 124 8S. Ct. at 1359, but that comment

does not necessarily suggest that the rule set forth

in Crawford is ‘on the magnitude of the rule an-

nounced in Gideon v. Wainwright’ as it must be to

fit within the Teague exception. See Mora, 293

F.3d at 1219. Unlike Gideon, Crawford does not

‘alter [] our understanding of what constitutes ba-

sic due process, Mora, 293 F.3d at 1219, but

merely sets out new standards for the admission

of certain kinds of hearsay. Confrontation Clause

violations are subject to harmless error analysis

and thus may be excused depending on the state

of the evidence at trial. Crespin v. New Mexico,

144 F.3d 641, 649 (1998). It would, therefore, be

difficult to conclude that the rule in Crawford

App. 26

alters rights fundamental to due prccess. See

Mora, 293 F.3d at 1219 (holding that Apprendi v.

New Jersey did not alter fundamental due process

rights, in part because Apprendi errors could be

excused given overwhelming evidence). Accord-

ingly, we conclude that Crawford is not a water-

shed decision and is, therefore, not retroactively

applicable to Brown’s initial habeas petition.”

Several other circuits have rejected the argument that

the accuracy of the convictions is seriously diminished by

the failure to apply Crawford. For example, in Mungo uv.

Duncan, 393 F.3d 327, 335-36 (2d Cir. 2004), the Second

Circuit held:

“Assuming that Crawford announced a new

rule, the question of its retroactivity turns, for our

purposes, on whether the rule is necessary to the

fundamental fairness, and improves the accuracy,

of criminal proceedings. Teague, 489 U.S. at 311-14,

109 S. Ct. 1060. We do not believe that Crawford

necessarily improves the overall accuracy of the

criminal process. As we see the operation of the

Crawford rule, it is likely to improve accuracy in

some circumstances and diminish it in others. To

the extent that Crawford requires the exclusion of

unreliable hearsay that would have been admitted

under the prior law, it is likely to improve accuracy.

As the Crawford Court noted, courts applying Rob-

erts were required to make ‘amorphous’ determina-

tions whether hearsay statements’ bore

‘particularized guarantees of trustworthiness,’ and

inevitably received unreliable evidence on that ba-

sis on some occasions. Crawford, 124 S.Ct. at

1370-72. Further, as Judge Weinstein observed be-

low, not all hearsay statements that fit within

firmly established exceptions to the hearsay rule

are necessarily reliable. Mungo, 277 F. Supp. 2d at

App. 27

184-85. Because Crawford bars the admission of

testimonial statements that would have been coun-

tenanced by the old rules, and because some such

evidence is unreliable, Crawford will in those in-

stances improve the accuracy of the process.

“At the same time, however, Crawford also

precludes admission of highly reliable testimonial

out-of-court statements that would have been ad-

missible under the old rules. In such instances, ju-

ries will be deprived of highly reliable evidence of

guilt, and cases that otherwise would have resulted

in well-deserved convictions will now result in ac-

quittals or hung juries. We recognize that Craw-

ford’s rule derives from the principle that cross-

examination is a better engine of truth-

determination than a judge’s assessment of the re-

liability of uncross-examined hearsay. Crawford,

124 S. Ct. at 1370. We do not question this princi-

ple. But it does not necessarily follow that the

Crawford rule will improve the accuracy of the

process. For the requirement of cross-examination

will, in cases where the declarant is not available

to be called for cross-examination, simply result in

the exclusion of the testimony altogether. Where

the testimony was admissible under the old rules

precisely because it was reliable, these applications

of Crawford will diminish, rather than increase,

the accuracy of the process.

“(T]he advent of the Crawford rule brings

about substantial changes in the protection given

by the Confrontation Clause to an accused from re-

ceipt of uncross-examined statements. In some in-

stances those changes will likely improve the

accuracy of the fact-finding process; in others they

will likely impair the accuracy of the fact-finding

process. Because Teague’s test of a watershed rule

requires improvement in the accuracy of the trial

App. 28

process overall, we conclude that Crawford is not a

watershed rule.”

Likewise in Lave v. Dretke, 444 F.3d 333 (5th Cir.

2006), the Fifth Circuit found the rule announced in

Crawford does not implicate the fundamental fairness and

accuracy of criminal proceedings reasoning:

“Lave’s argument [that the Crawford rule im-

proves the accuracy of criminal proceedings be-

cause it excludes custodial statements by alleged

accomplices unless the defendant has had a prior

opportunity to cross-examine that alleged accom-

plice], however, does not show that the Roberts re-

gime ‘so seriously diminishe[d] accuracy that there

[was] an impermissibly large risk of punishing

conduct the law does not reach.’ Summerlin, 542

US. at 355-56, 124 S. Ct. 2519 (internal quotations

and citations omitted). Out-of-court testimonial

statements were not indiscriminately presented to

juries under the Roberts regime. Indeed, they were

inadmissible unless they bore adequate ‘indicia of

reliability.’ Roberts, 448 U.S. at 66, 100 S. Ct. 2531.

Because only those statements that were deemed

reliable could be admitted under Roberts, the fact

that the class of statements as a whole is suspect

does not demonstrate that Roberts created an im-

permissible risk of false conviction.

“By its own terms, Crawford does not pur-

port to announce a rule that increases the reli-

ability of trial testimony. The opinion states, ‘the

[Confrontation] Clause’s ultimate goal is to en-

sure reliability of evidence, but it is a procedural

rather than a substantive guarantee. It com-

mands, not that evidence be reliable, but that re-

liability be assessed in a particular manner: by

testing in the crucible of cross-examination.’ 541

U.S. at 61, 1248S. Ct. 1354.

App. 29

“As other circuits have held, the rule an-

nounced in Crawford does not assure greater ac-

curacy because it bars admission of a statement

to which it applies even when the statement is

highly reliable. ...

“The rule announced in Crawford does not

implicate the fundamental fairness and accuracy

of criminal proceedings. While it may implicate

the core of the confrontation right, it is not a rule

without which there is an impermissibly high

risk of false conviction.” 444 F.3d at 335-36.

Additionally, the First, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, and

Eleventh Circuits have also either held or suggested that

Crawford should not be applied retroactively. See Espy v.

Massac, 443 F.3d 1362, 1367 (11th Cir. 2006) (“Although

the rule announced in Crawford also impacts the accuracy

of criminal convictions, it does not qualify as a ‘watershed’

rule in the mold of Gideon. Crawford merely altered the

existing regime outlined by White, 502 U.S. at 355-56, 112

S. Ct. at 742-43, and Roberts, 448 U.S. at 65, 100 S. Ct. at

2539.”); Murillo v. Frank, 402 F.3d 786, 790-91 (7th Cir.

2005) (“The point of Crawford is not that only live testi-

mony is reliable, but that the sixth amendment gives the

accused a right to insist on live testimony, whether that

demand promotes or frustrates accuracy. ... This is not an

indispensable innocence-protecting decision that must be

applied retroactively to criminal prosecutions that have

already been finally resolved on direct review.”); Dorchy v.

Jones, 398 F.3d 783, 788 (6th Cir. 2005) (“Under most

circumstances, however, newly promulgated rules of

criminal procedure do not apply retroactively to cases on

collateral review.... Teague thus prohibits Dorchy from

availing himself of the new rule articulated in Crawford.”);

Evans v. Luebbers, 371 F.3d 438, 444 (8th Cir. 2004)

(“|T]he Crawford Court did not suggest that this doctrine

App. 30

would apply retroactively and the doctrine itself does not

appear to fall within either of the two narrow exceptions to

Teague v. Lane’s non-retroactivity doctrine.”); McGonagle

vu. United States, 137 Fed. Appx. 373, 380 (1st Cir. 2005)

(unpublished opinion) (“It is doubtful that Crawford

applies retroactively to cases on collateral review.”).

For a number of reasons, we agree with the majority

of the circuit courts which have considered this issue.

First, the general rule is that a new law established after

a case is final will not be applied to cases on collateral

attack. Gaudina, 278 Kan. at 1095. Second, we view the

United States Supreme Court’s statement in Summerlin

after Crawford was decided as strongly suggesting that

the Crawford decision does not fall under the second

Teague exception: “This class of rules is extremely narrow,

and ‘it is unlikely that any ... “hals] yet to emerge.’”

[Citations omitted.]” (Emphasis added.) 542 U.S. at 352.

Third, the United States Supreme Court has repeat-

edly declined invitations to treat one or another decision as

a “watershed rule.” For example, Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348,

124 S. Ct. 2519, 159 L. Ed. 2d 442, holds that Apprendi v.

New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 147 L. Ed. 2d 435, 120 S. Ct.

2348 (2000), is not retroactive on collateral attack, and we

agree with the Seventh Circuit’s observation that Apprendi

is “surely a more sweeping change than Crawford (and

more important to defendants, too, because it entitles them

to a jury decision, while Crawford affects only what evi-

dence the jury hears).” Murillo v. Frank, 402 F.3d 786, 790

(7th Cir. 2005). We have likewise found that Apprendi is not

a watershed rule of criminal procedure that implicates the

fundamental fairness of trial. See Whisler, 272 Kan. at 879.

Finally, the above case law persuasively demonstrates

that Crawford is not a watershed rule of criminal procedure

App. 31

implicating the fundamental fairness and accuracy of the

criminal proceeding. Although the Ninth Circuit ques-

tioned the reliability and accuracy of the conviction prior

to Crawford, the other circuits persuasively point out that

reliability of the evidence in either Roberts or Crawford is

simply tested in different ways, i.e., by a finding that the

evidence bore an “adequate indicia of reliability” or by

opportunity for cross-examination. While application of

Crawford may improve the accuracy of convictions in some

instances by providing the opportunity to cross-examine a

witness, Crawford might diminish the accuracy of a

conviction in the case where evidence is highly reliable but

excluded because it was not subject to cross-examination.

For all of the above reasons, we conclude that Crawford’s

new rule is not a watershed rule entitled to retroactive

application. Thus, Drach’s remaining arguments applying

the Crawford analysis are moot.

Res Judicata/Roberts

As Crawford is not retroactively applicable to Drach’s

case on collateral review, Drach alternatively argues that

the marita] discord evidence in this case was inadmissible

hearsay. He contends the admission of this evidence as

either res gestae or under the judicially created marital

discord hearsay exception violated the Confrontation

Clause under the law in effect at the time of trial, Ohio v.

Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S. Ct. 2531, 65 L. Ed. 2d 597.

In this 60-1507 motion, Drach raises the exact same

issue that was resolved by this court on his direct appeal.

On direct appeal, Drach raised the following issue:

“Drach argues [in his direct appeal] that

evidence of his prior bad acts was erroneously

App. 32

admitted at trial. This evidence consisted of

statements Deanne made to others about beat-

ings she had suffered at the hands of Drach and

also testimony from others who saw bruises and

cuts on Deanne. Drach argues that Deanne’s

statements were inadmissible hearsay and that

the other testimony was inadmissible evidence of

prior bad acts.” 268 Kan. at 648.

We rejected his argument, reasoning:

“Although the trial court admitted the evi-

dence on the basis of res gestae, the evidence was

admissible on other independent grounds. Kan-

sas courts have consistently allowed evidence of

‘marital discord’ in cases similar to this. Evidence

of marital discord can include several types of

evidence: Oral and written statements made by

the deceased spouse relating their abuse; evi-

dence of scarring, bruising, bleeding, and other

physical manifestations of the abuse; testimony

by others who saw the couple fighting, arguing, or

otherwise in conflict; and statements by the de-

fendant relating that he or she will kill his or her

spouse. This testimony may fall under the tradi-

tional notion of hearsay or evidence of prior bad

acts, yet still be admitted.” 268 Kan. at 648-49.

After citing numerous marital discord cases which

allowed marital discord evidence independent of the “prior

bad acts” exclusion or a “hearsay” exclusion, we concluded:

“Hearsay statements made by a deceased

spouse-declarant are admissible as evidence of

marital discord if the trial court finds that the

statements have particular guarantees of trust-

worthiness. See Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65

L. Ed. 2d 597, 100 S. Ct. 2531 (1980).

App. 33

“Drach argues res gestae evidence is viola-

tive of the Confrontation Clause of the United

States Constitution. The evidence complained of

is admissible under the marital discord excep-

tion. Drach’s argument under this issue is moot.

The evidence was admissible, and the trial court

did not abuse its discretion in allowing the evi-

dence of marital discord.” 268 Kan. at 651.

Based upon our resolution of this issue on Drach’s

direct appeal, the State argues that the doctrine of res

judicata applies to the same issue Drach now raises in his

60-1507 motion:

“Under Kansas law, where an appeal is

taken from the sentence imposed and/or a convic-

tion, the judgment of the reviewing court is res

judicata as to all issues actually raised, and

those issues that could have been presented, but

were not presented, are deemed waived. Where a

defendant’s claim has not been raised at trial or

on direct appeal, such a default prevents the de-

fendant from raising the claim in a second appeal

or a collateral proceeding.” State v. Neer, 247

Kan. 137, 140-41, 795 P.2d 362 (1990).

Drach does not dispute that the issue of whether the

hearsay was improper under Roberts was decided by the

court on direct appeal. Rather, Drach seeks to have this

court revisit the issue by suggesting in his brief that the

“law of the case” doctrine rather than res judicata should

apply: Under this doctrine, issues already decided by this

Court on appeal “should not be relitigated or reconsidered

unless [they are] clearly erroneous or would cause mani-

fest injustice.” State v. Collier, 263 Kan. 629, Syl. | 3, 952

P.2d 1326 (1998). Drach argues that this court’s decision

App. 34

on direct appeal was clearly erroneous and imposed a

manifest injustice on him.

The problem with Drach’s argument is that he omits a

critical portion of the “law of the case” doctrine in his

argument:

“When a second appeal is brought to this

court in the same case, the first decision is the

settled law of the case on all questions involved

in the first appeal, and reconsideration will not

normally be given to such questions. Ordinarily,

under the law of the case doctrine, once an issue

is decided by the court, it should not be reliti-

gated or reconsidered unless it is clearly errone-

ous or would cause manifest injustice.”

(Emphasis added.) Collier, 263 Kan. 629, 952

P.2d 1326. Syl. J 3.

See also Jn re Cullen, No, 91,735, unpublished opinion

filed December 17, 2004 (law of the case doctrine not

applicable to same issues raised in the second separate

case).

The law of the case doctrine is thus inapplicable to

this case where the appeal stems from a K_S.A. 60-1507

civil proceeding, which is a separate case from the crimi-

nal proceedings considered by this court on direct appeal

in 2000. Drach raised virtually identical arguments in his

direct appeal, and he has not shown why any of his new

arguments concerning hearsay or Roberts could not have

been raised on direct appeal. See Supreme Court Rule

183(c)(3) (2005 Kan. Ct. R. Annot. 228) (a K.S.A. 60-1507

motion cannot be used as a substitute for a second appeal,

absent a showing the trial error affected constitutional

rights and a showing of exceptional circumstances). In

fact, Justice Six referenced the marital discord exemption

App. 35

law review article in his concurring opinion that Drach

now relies upon in his hearsay argument in this appeal.

268 Kan. at 651-52. Although Drach now claims that the

district court never found on the record that the state-

ments carried with them a particularized degree of trust-

worthiness under Roberts, the trial court is presumed to

have made all necessary factual findings to support its

judgment in the absence of an objection to inadequate

findings. State v. Combs, 280 Kan. 45, 50, 118 P.3d 1259

(2005).

Conclusion

We conclude that the factual underpinnings of the

district court’s decision are supported by substantial

competent evidence. Based upon our independent appel-

late review of the district court’s denial of Drach’s K.S.A.

60-1507 motion, we further conclude that the order of

denial was legally correct and supported by the district

court’s factual findings. We therefore affirm the decision of

the district court. Our decision renders Drach’s remaining

arguments moot.

Affirmed.

App. 36

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF FINNEY COUNTY, KANSAS

ROGER DRACH PLAINTIFF

-VS- CASE 04CV152

LOUIS BRUCE AND DEFENDANTS

STATE OF KANSAS

DECISION DENYING K.S.A.60-1507 CASE

(Filed Nov. 15, 2004)

NOW ON THIS 22ND DAY OF OCTOBER, 2004, the

above matter is before the Court for an evidentiary hear-

ing. Plaintiff appears in person and with Dennis Owens.

Max Estes appears to introduce Mr. Owens to the Court.

The Defendants appear through Lois Malin, Assistant

Finney County Attorney.

The Court rules that the Motion of the Plaintiff to

amend his petition to add issues under the Supreme Court

case of Crawford vs. Washington, should be allowed over

the objection of the Defendants. After opening statements,

witnesses were called in the persons of Roger Drach, Rick

Marquez and John Lindner. After hearing the evidence,

listening to the argument of counsel, and taking into

account the limited and relevant portions of the record of

96Cr421 out of Finney County, the Court finds and rules

as follows:

1. That the Plaintiff cites 5 reasons that the Court

should find that the Plaintiff (Defendant in the

Criminal Case), was subject to ineffective assistance

of counsel.

3.

App. 37

In evaluating ineffective assistance of counsel, the

test to be applied by the Court is reflected in Sanders

v. State, 26 Kan App. 2nd, 826, 828. “A convicted de-

fendant’s claim that counsel’s assistance was so defec-

tive as to require reversai of a conviction requires that

the defendant show, first, that counsel’s performance

was deficient and second that the deficient perform-

ance prejudiced the defense so as to deprive the defen-

dant of a fair trial.” (Quoting St. v. Brown, 266 Kan.

563 and Chamberlain v. State, 236 Kan. 650.)

The first claim of the Plaintiff is that he was not

informed of his right to make the decision to testify or

not, during the trial. The evidence is overwhelming

that he was told on numerous times that it was his

decision and he chose not to testify.

A. During the Arraignment, the Journal Entry and

the statement of Defense Counsel both confirm

that Mr. Drach was told that “He has the right to

testify, but only if he/she so desires.”

B. Both defense counsel confirmed that Mr. Drach

was told of his right to make the decision and

that both stated that it was his decision, after

consulting with his attorneys that he would not

do so.

C. That at the conclusion of the defense’s case, the

Court inquired of the Defendant, Mr. Drach, as

follows:

“The Court: Mr. Drach, do you understand that

you have the Fifth Amendment privilege against

self-incrimination, and that’s your decision alone

whether you wish to testify. And you’ve made

that decision; is that correct sir?”

“Roger Drach: Yes, sir.”

“The Court: and it’s your desire, then not to tes-

tify in this matter?”

App. 38

“Roger Drach: Yes, sir.” (Page 101, Transcript

of Trial, XVI)

The second issue raised on the question of ineffective

assistance of Counsel is a claim that the Defense at-

torney, failed to object to the prejudicial hearsay of

Lana Christensen that reported the comment of the

deceased that “Roger shot me before.” The attorney

for the state pointed out that this comment was the

subject of a Motion in Limine prior to the trial and

that during the start of this witness’s testimony, an

objection was lodged that was continuing in nature

that renewed the objection as ruled on in the Motion.

This allegation appears to not be bourne out by the

facts in the official record.

The third issue raised was on a claim that Defense

Counsel failed to propose a lesser included offense in-

struction to first degree murder. The Plaintiff failed

completely to support this claim by any assertion of

fact, including any reference to the record, and the

Court must hold that this allegation is unsupported

and therefore denied.

The fourth issue raised was in the failure of Defense

Counsel to call Leah Kathman to bolster the position

of the Defense in the criminal trial that the marriage

of the deceased and Roger Drach, was on solid footing

and mutually supportive. No evidence was presented

that the testimwny of Ms Kathman would add signifi-

cantly to anytheng the other 12 witnesses called at

trial and such tral strategy was not shown to be

prejudicial tc the outcome of the case. With 98 poten-

tial witnesses, obviously some decisions were neces-

sary to limit the testimony to just those witnesses

important to present the defense’s theory of the case.

The fifth issue raised was the claim that the hearsay

evidence presented by the six listed witnesses should

not have been presented under the guidelines set out

10.

11.

App. 39

in Crawford vs. Washington, 541 U.S.__, 158 L Ed 2d

177, 124 S Ct.__. The hearsay nature of the testi-

mony was dealt with on direct appeal to the Supreme

Court of Kansas and found to be acceptable as set out

in that opinion. That opinion was not appealed fur-

ther.

The U.S. Supreme Court notes on page 199 of the

Lawyers Edition report of the case, that: “In this re-

spect, it is very different from exceptions to the Con-

frontation Clause that make no claim to be a

surrogate means of assessing reliability. For example,

the rule of forfeiture by wrongdoing (which we accept)

extinguishes confrontation claims on essentially equi-

table grounds; it does not purport to be an alternative

means of determining reliability. . . .”

Where Mrs. Drach is unable to take the stand and be

cross-examined, supposedly because she was dead at

the hands of Roger Drach, such an equitable forfei-

ture of the Confrontation Clause is found to be proper.

Under that evaluation, the reliance on the Crawford

case would not be justified.

Attorney for the State has submitted with the Court’s

permission a proposed list of findings of fact and con-

clusions of law. For purpose of expanding and ruling

on the issue raised by the case of Crawford vs. State

of Washington, 124 S.Ct. 1354 (2004), the Court

adopts those additional proposed findings of fact as

set out in the “State’s Proposed Finding of Facts and

Conclusions of Law” filed on October 29, 2004 and

listed 1 through 18.

That in addressing the proposed Conclusions of Law

suggested by the State, the Court rules as follows:

1. That in his filing on November 5, 2004, the

Amended Motion Attacking Sentence suffi-

ciently sets out the basis for a request for re-

lief under K.S.A. 50 [sic]-1507 and the Court

App. 40

does have Jurisdiction to deal with the mat-

ter. The Court notes the objection of the

State to the Amended Motion which added

the Crawford case argument.

The hearsay nature of the testimony of Lana

Christensen, Carol Taylor, Janet Meyers,

Marvelle Darough, Marvelle Soza and Dora

Hermosillo was raised on direct appeal and

the Supreme Court of Kansas found that

such testimony was proper. The objection on

hearsay testimony is by its nature, an objec-

tion on the basis of the right to Confront

one’s accuser. To that extent, the Court finds

that res judicata should apply to this argu-

ment. If the Supreme Court chooses to use

the petition under K.S.A. 60-1507 as the ve-

hicle to reverse itself, this Court feels it has

the power to do so. Until then, this Court

rules that the application must fail do [sic]

to the fact that it has already been ruled on.

The State argues that the Mr. Drach failed

to preserve the Confrontation Clause as a

basis for the original appeal. This Court

disagrees and rules that the issue was

originally preserved and ruled on by the

Supreme Court.

The State further argues that Crawford

should not be applied retroactively. This

Court agrees that it should not, and that

based upon Brown vs. Uphoff, 381 F.3d 1219

(1st Cir. (N.H.) August 19, 2004, and other

reasoned authority, the decision of Crawford

should NOT be retroactively applied.

The Crawford case applies only to evidence

that is testimonial in nature. Under the

definitions as applied in Evans vs. Luebbers,

App. 41

371 F.3d 438 (8th Cir. (Mo) June 10, 2004,

the testimony of the 6 witnesses complained

of by Mr. Drach would not be deemed testi-

monial in nature and therefore not excluded

under the ruling of the Crawford case.

In light of the above, it appears that the fifth claim for

relief under the basis set out in Crawford, must by [sic]

denied and that the facts of case of State vs. Roger Drach

do not justify a Court ORDER for Habeas Corpus relief.

The Petition is denied and this Case is dismissed.

SUCH IS THE ORDER OF THIS COURT.

/s/ Michael Quint

Michael Quint, District Judge

Copy mailed to Lois Malin, Dennis Owens this 15th day of

November, 2004.

App. 42

STATE OF KANSAS, Appellee, v.

ROGER DRACH, Appellant.

No. 80,691

SUPREME COURT OF KANSAS

268 Kan. 636; 1 P.3d 864; 2000 Kan. LEXIS 46

March 10, 2000, Opinion Filed

SUBSEQUENT HISTORY: As Modified April 18, 2000.

Second Modification May 18, 2000.

PRIOR HISTORY: Appeal from Finney district court;

CHARLES E. WORDEN, judge.

DISPOSITION: Affirmed.

SYLLABUS: SYLLABUS BY THE COURT

1. ‘nm prosecutions for homicide a deceased’s declarations

or threats indicating a suicidal disposition, if made within

a reasonable time before his or her death, are not within

the hearsay rule and are admissible unless the facts

preclude the possibility of suicide.

2. When a trial court has made findings of fact and

conclusions of law, the function of an appellate court is to

determine whether the findings are supported by substan-

tial competent evidence and whether the findings are

sufficient to support the trial court’s conclusions of law.

3. The authority of an attorney begins with his or her

retainer; but the relation of attorney and client is not

dependent on the payment of a fee or a formal contract.

The contract may be implied from the conduct of the

parties. The employment is sufficiently established when

it is shown that the advice and assistance of the attorney

are sought and received in matters pertinent to his or her

profession.

App. 43

4. The fact that a lawyer has once served a client does

not preclude the lawyer from using generally known

information about that client when later representing

another client.

5. Rebuttal evidence is limited to issues placed in conflict

by the adverse party. The use and extent of rebuttal rests

in the sound discretion of the trial court, and its rulings

will not be reversed unless it appears the discretion has

been abused to a party’s prejudice.

6. Great deference is given to a trial court’s determina-

tion of the admissibility of evidence. Generally, appellate

review on questions of admissibility of evidence is gov-

erned by an abuse of discretion standard of review. Judi-

cial discretion is abused when judicial action is arbitrary,

fanciful, or unreasonable.

7. Kansas courts have consistently allowed evidence of

marital discord in cases involving marital homicide.

Evidence of marital discord can include several types of

evidence: Oral and written statements made by the

deceased spouse relating their abuse; evidence of scarring,

bruising, bleeding, and other physical manifestations of

the abuse; testimony by others who saw the couple fight-

ing, arguing, or otherwise in conflict; and statements by

the defendant relating that he or she will kill his or her

spouse. This testimony may fall under the traditional

notion of hearsay or evidence of prior bad acts, yet still be

admitted.

COUNSEL: Jack Focht, of Foulston & Siefkin L.L.P., of

Wichita, argued the cause, and Richard L. Marquez, of

Lindner & Marquez, of Garden City, was with him on the

brief for appellant.

App. 44

Lois K. Malin, assistant county attorney, argued the cause,

and John P. Wheeler, Jr., county attorney, and Carla J.

Stovall, attorney general, were with her on the brief for

appellee.

JUDGES: The opinion of the court was delivered by

ABBOTT, J. SIX, J., concurring.

OPINION BY: ABBOTT

OPINION:

The opinion of the court was delivered by

ABBOTT, J.: This is a direct appeal by the defendant,

Roger Drach, from his convictions for first-degree murder,

aggravated battery, and criminal use of weapons. Drach’s

wife Deanne was the victim. Drach was sentenced to a

minimum term of 25 years in prison.

Drach appeals, raising five issues. Drach argues the

trial court erred when (1) it would not allow a board-

certified psychiatrist to testify that a note found in the

house was a suicide note; (2) it failed to find the assistant

county attorney had a conflict of interest; (3) it allowed

Karen Althaus to testify as a rebuttal witness for the

State; (4) it admitted testimony of Drach’s prior bad acts;

and (5) it violated the Confrontation Clause of the United

States Constitution by admitting res gestae evidence.

Deanne died on August 19, 1994, as a result of a

gunshot wound to the chest. This case was not commenced

until nearly 2 years after her death. The main issue at

trial was whether Deanne had committed suicide or had

been murdered by Drach.

App. 45

Drach claimed Deanne committed suicide, that he was

not in the room when she was shot, and that he found her

on the bed after he heard the shot. The State’s expert

witnesses testified the wound could not have been self-

inflicted. Drach’s expert witnesses testified they were

99.5% certain the wound was self-inflicted.

Drach does not challenge the sufficiency of the evi-

dence. Thus, we need not review the evidence. We will set

forth the facts of this case, however, as necessary in

discussing the issues.

We take time to comment that Drach’s statement of

facts is not keyed to the record in many instances and

when keyed it is a general cite such as pages 8-107, 149-

180, 56-106, 3-39, 20-74, 5-123, 6-164, etc. By rule, we are

allowed to assume there is no evidence in the record to

support that part of the case that is not properly keyed to

the record. Supreme Court Rule 6.02(d) (1999 Kan. Ct. R.

Annot. 33).

After review of the extensive record (18 volumes, the

longest of which is 291 pages), two relevant facts emerged:

Deanne had an affair 28 years before her death, and she

had been abused since her husband discovered the affair

shortly after it occurred.

At trial, there was much hearsay evidence of abuse

suffered throughout the 34-year-marriage, none of which

is pinned down by time or date.

When Deanne’s body was examined at the scene, she

was on the bed in the southeast corner of the room. The

gun that was used to shoot her was in the northwest

corner of the room. The gun was a derringer. Both parties’

experts testified the bullet had been fired from the top

App. 46

barrel. Yet, the top barrel had a live round with a dented °

primer in it and an empty cartridge in the bottom cham-

ber.

Both old and new blood stains consistent with

Deanne’s blood were found throughout the house, in

Deanne’s purse, in her clothing, and in Drach’s car, which

would indicate Deanne had been abused for a long period

of time.

When Deanne’s body was examined, she was lying in

fresh blood but had dried blood on her arms and back. She

had a 2.5 centimeter laceration on the back of her head

that went to the bone, two black eyes, a laceration above

the right eye, and bruises all over her body. X-rays re-

vealed new fractures of the 9th, 10th, and 11th ribs.

Two autopsies revealed old fractures of the 7th, 10th,

11th, and 12th ribs on the right side; a healing fracture of

the left ulna; a fracture of the right arm that had recently

been refractured; and a gunshot wound to the left arm.

Drach gave accounts of what happened that did not

appear to be accurate. For example, in discussing a broken

window, Drach said he had to break into the house be-

cause he did not have his key. Law enforcement officers

testified the window was broken from the inside out.

Drach testified that Deanne had facial bruises when he

checked her out of the hospital. Three witnesses testified,

however, that Deanne had no visible marks on her when

they last saw her, including the discharging nurse at the

hospital.

Drach also said he thought Deanne was drinking

again when she died. The autopsy report showed her blood

alcohol concentration was .000. Drach also told officers

App. 47

Deanne got her gun out of her car the day she was shot.

Her car was in storage at Dodge City at all pertinent times

and had been for some time.

I. WRITING

During trial, Drach sought to place Dr. Tim McBath, a

board-certified psychiatrist, on the stand to give his

opinion that a writing found on the dryer in the Drachs’

home afier Deanne’s death was a suicide note. Outside the

presence of the jury, the trial judge heard testimony

offered by Drach to determine if Dr. McBath’s testimony

was admissible under the Frye test.

Dr. McBath testified he was frequently called upon to

examine writings to determine if they were suicide notes

(if the writer says he or she is going to commit suicide, it is

classified as a suicide note), and to determine if the note is

a cry for help or a person who is planning to commit

suicide. In about one-half of the writings, Dr. McBath does

not have the opportunity to examine or talk to the author

of the writing. He also had reviewed hospital and medical

records where Deanne had expressed a wish for death and

had suicidal thoughts.

The trial judge thought it was a Frye issue and made

a preliminary ruling that Drach had not shown a basis for

his opinion as generally acceptable as reliable within the

expert’s particular scientific field. The trial judge was

influenced by the fact that Dr. McBath stated that he had

never testified in court as to his opinion whether a writing

was a suicide note, whether the author of the writing was

serious or merely calling for help, and he did not know of

any dectes who had.

App. 48

The trial judge then held that Dr. McBath’s testimony

would not be admitted in the absence of some evidence

establishing that “scientific evidence is accepted in his

area, that it has been admissible and received in other

courts.” The trial judge left the door open for additional

evidence or citations. None were forthcoming.

Numerous courts have ruled on suicide notes and

suicide threats. In Powell v. Commonwealth of Kentucky,

554 S.W.2d 386 (Ky. 1977), the court held:

“When suicide is the theory of defense the decedent’s

previous threats or attempts to kill himself are admissible

for the same reason. As this court said in Marcum uv.

Commonwealth, 308 Ky. 740, 215 S.W.2d 846, 847 (1948),

‘the great weight of authority is to the effect that in

prosecutions for homicide the deceased’s declarations or

threats indicating a suicidal disposition, if made within a

reasonable time before his death, are not within the

hearsay rule and are admissible unless the facts preclude

the possibility of suicide.’ See Wigmore on Evidence (2d

ed.), § 143, and annotation at 83 A.L.R. 434.”

See IA Wigmore on Evidence §§ 143 and 144 (2d ed.

1983); Ott v. State, 160 Ala. 29, 49 So. 810 (1909); State v.

Kelly, 77 Conn. 266, 58 A. 705 (1904); Nordgren v. People,

211 Ill. 425, 71 N.E. 1042 (1904); Hall v. State, 132 Ind.

317, 31 N.E. 536 (1892); State v. Meyer, 180 Iowa 210, 163

N.W. 244 (1917); State v. Beeson, 155 Iowa, 355, 136 N.W.

317 (1912); State v. Cater, 100 Iowa, 501, 69 N.W. 880

(1897); Epperson v. Commonwealth, 227 Ky. 404, 13 S.W.2d

247 (1929); State uv. Ilgenfritz, 263 Mo. 615, 173 S.W. 1041

(1915); Sharp v. State, 115 Neb. 737, 214 N.W. 643 (1927);

People v. Gehmele, 1 Sheld. 251 (N.Y. 1871); State v. Prytle,

191 N.C. 698, 132 S.E. 785 (1926); Blackburn v. State, 23

App. 49

Ohio St. 146 (1872); Crow v. State, 89 Tex. Crim. 149, 230

S.W. 148 (1921).

A clear majority and nearly all cited jurisdictions hold

that evidence of suicide is admissible as tending to show

the decedent’s state of mind. Aithough these cases do not

address the exact issue raised in the present case, they do

indicate that evidence of a suicide theory can be admitted

and that the jury is capable of determining its validity and

attaching the proper weight.

There are also courts which have allowed testimony

from experts who have read the suicide note and deter-

mined the “insanity” of the decedent in an insurance

context. See Garmon v. General American Life Ins. Co.,

624 S.W.2d 42, 45-46 (Mo. App. 1981) (affirming trial

court’s admission of testimony by expert who determined

based upon a reading of the suicide note that decedent was

insane at time of his death); Friedeman v. State, 215 Neb.

413, 339 N.W.2d 67 (1983) (holding expert could testify as

to decedent’s state of mind after examining language used

in suicide note); and Brooks v. Travelers Insurance Com-

pany, 515 S.W.2d 821, 823-24 (Mo. App. 1974) (holding

expert could testify that decedent was sane at time he

wrote suicide note and took his life).

Experts can be used to testify whether a decedent

committed suicide if they testify regarding whether a

wound is self-inflicted. These types of cases are abundant.

See, e.g., People v. Cole, 47 Cal. 2d 99, 301 P.2d 854 (1956)

(allowing expert pathologist to testify whether victim shot

herself after performing an autopsy on her, while noting

that a number of jurisdictions allow evidence as to

whether a wound could have been self-inflicted); State v.

Mattatal!l, 603 A.2d 1098 (R.I. 1992) (holding trial court

App. 50

did not err when it admitted testimony of assistant medi-

cal examiner who stated that, based on autopsy and

investigation of scene of death, decedent died by act of

homicide and not self-inflicted injury); and State v.

Richardson, 158 Vt. 635, 603 A.2d 378 (1992) (allowing

medical examiner to testify that victim died by homicide

and not by suicide).

Here, the writing is described in a number of places in

the record as being 12 pages in length. There is also an

indication it may be two pages in length. The writing was

introduced at trial, so it was read by the trial judge and

jury. It is not, however, a part of the record on appeal.

A paragraph of the writing was read to the jury which

stated:

“I’m sorry that it has come to this, Roger. Everyone

was so glad to hear we were back together and could go on

with our lives. Since we were ... [unreadable portion] ...

but were really thrilled. You believed everything except

me. I’m sorry you feel like I’m doing nothing but lying to

you, but what I’ve told you is true. I can understand your

feelings because of all the interference and lies by David

and Dora, but I’m not lying to you. I do love you and really

thought things had a chance with us when we left Wichita,

but that was only wishful thinking. I’m sorry for this

Roger, but I meant it when I said I’m scared. How many

times have you said, just die and I wish you were dead?

I’m a pretty low and Goddamned person, but if I grant the

only wish you've asked of me, maybe at least you can get

on with your life.”

The above writing was part of a notebook. Drach was

free to present the suicide defense to the jury and did so. It

is impossible to have a meaningful review of this limited

App. 51

issue without having all of the writing. Based on the

record before us, Drach did not meet his burden of proof,

and we cannot say reversible error occurred on this issue.

II. CONFLICT OF INTEREST

Drach claims that Robert Johnson, the assistant

county attorney prosecuting this case as second-chair, was

privy to confidential information significant to this case

and that this created an inherent conflict of interest

worthy of disqualification. Drach claims that he only

became aware of the conflict when Althaus was called to

testify on rebuttal. Drach had not remembered his in-

volvement with Johnson until then. Drach made a motion

for a mistrial when Karen Althaus was called to the stand

to testify. He also moved for a new trial, arguing that

Johnson should have: been disqualified from second-

chairing the case. Specifically, Drach claims that Johnson

violated Kansas Rule of Professional Conduct (KRPC) 1.9

(1999 Kan. Ct. R. Annot. 329). The rule states:

“RULE 1.9 Conflict of Interest: Former Client

“A lawyer who has formerly represented a client in a

matter shall not thereafter:

(a) represent another person in the same or a sub-

stantially related matter in which that person’s interests

are materially adverse to the interests of the former client

unless the former client consents after consultation; or

(b) use information relating to the representation to

the disadvantage of the former client except as Rule 1.6 or

Rule 3.3 would permit or require with respect to a client or

when the information has become generally known.”

App. 52

In Lansing-Delaware Water District v. Oak Lane Park,

Inc., 248 Kan. 563, 572, 808 P.2d 1369 (1991), we set forth

the standard of review in attorney disqualification matters

and stated:

“When the trial court has made findings of fact and

conclusions of law, the function of an appellate court is to

determine whether the findings are supported by substan-

tial competent evidence and whether the findings are

sufficient to support the trial court’s conclusions of law.”

Our review of conclusions of law is unlimited. Gilles-

pie v. Seymour, 250 Kan. 123, 129, 823 P.2d 782 (1991).

In disqualification matters which involve KRPC 1.9,

the burden of proof is on the party alleging the violation.

Chrispens v. Coastal Refining & Mkig., Inc., 257 Kan. 745,

756, 897 P.2d 104 (1995); KRPC 1.9 Comment (1999 Kan.

Ct. R. Annot. 329). In this case, the burden of proof is on

Drach to show that a violation of KRPC 1.9 occurred and

that Johnson should have been disqualified from assisting

in the prosecution of the case.

Prior to coming to the Finney county attorney’s office,

Johnson was in private practice. In early 1996, Deb West,

Deanne’s sister, called Johnson seeking representation in

Deanne’s probate case. Johnson agreed to represent West

and filed an answer to a petition to open Deanne’s estate.

The petition was dismissed because it had been improp-

erly filed. Johnson did not perform any more work for

West after the dismissal of the petition. On March 26,

1996, Johnson notified West that he would no longer be

able to represent her in the probate matter as he had

taken a job with the Finney county attorney’s office. The

parties agreed that at no time did Johnson expressly

represent Drach. Drach did, however, speak with Johnson

App. 53

over the phone on two occasions. The first phone call

concerned Drach’s guarantee of West’s attorney fees.

Drach called Johnson a second time to find out why the

retainer was so high. Drach contends that during the

second phone call he provided Johnson with confidential

information which Johnson then used during the trial to

convict Drach. Drach testified that he told Johnson:

“I related to him, because I was pretty upset about

that damn David {[Deanne’s brother who was attempting to

be named executor of the estate], what’s he doing to us

now. I said I’ve got 90-some people that signed papers that

I didn’t ever do anything to my Deanne. And now all at

once, attorneys, attorneys and bills and bills.

“I said, I’ve only had one infraction on my marriage

about 25 years ago in Hutchinson, Kansas when we lived

there. And that’s the only infraction in my entire marriage

that I really did have.

“I said I only had one thing ever happen to me, and I

used the word | think infraction, in my marriage in the 34

years I’ve been married to her, and that was in Hutchin-

son, Kansas. And there’s 90-some people that has been

talked to and they testified or will testify or sign note

papers or whatever, I kind of glanced through, that they

have never saw me hit Deanne, never this Mickey Mouse,

not one bit of it.”

Drach contends that the information relayed in the

phone call to Johnson enabled Johnson to locate Althaus.

Althaus testified at trial on rebuttal that her husband had

an affair with Deanne approximately 25 years ago when

App. 54

the Drachs lived in Hutchinson. Drach alleges that this

testimony was pivotal to his conviction for the death of

Deanne. Johnson testified that he had no recollection of

the substantive content of either of his phone calls with

Drach.

In order for KRPC 1.9 to apply to this case, there must

be a determination that Johnson represented Drach.

Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc. v. Americold Corp., 266

Kan. 1047, 1053, 975 P.2d 231 (1999). An attorney-client

relationship can either be by express agreement or im-

plied. 266 Kan. at 1053. Johnson expressly represented

West, Drach’s sister-in-law, in the probate proceedings

surrounding Deanne’s death. Although no formal attorney-

client relationship was ever formed between Drach and

Johnson, Drach may have divulged confidential informa-

tion to Johnson during the course of the second phone call.

The information, admittedly, is more than a little vague

and its usefulness questionable. According to Drach’s

testimony, he never revealed anyone’s name to Johnson

who may have been involved in Deanne’s affair, only that

an “infraction” occurred when they lived in Hutchinson.

The question remains whether Drach and Johnson

had an implied attorney-client relationship. In Associated

Wholesale Grocers, Inc., this court recently stated:

“““The authority of an attorney begins with his

retainer; but the relation of attorney and client is not

dependent on the payment of a fee, nor is a formal contract

necessary to create this relationship. The contract may be

implied from conduct of the parties. The employment is

sufficiently established when it is shown that the advice

and assistance of the attorney are sought and received in

matters pertinent to his profession.”’ [Citation omitted.]”

App. 55

266 Kan. at 1053 (quoting 7 Am. Jur. 2d, Attorneys at Law

§ 136).

See also Professional Service Industries, Inc. v. Kim-

brell, 758 F. Supp. 676, 682 (D. Kan. 1991) (noting that an

attorney-client reiationship begins when the client seeks

and receives personal legal advice from an attorney).

Drach did not believe that Johnson was his attorney.

Drach did not call Johnson for the purposes of obtaining

representation. Drach did not seek legal advice from

Johnson. Drach’s only purpose in calling Johnson was to

discuss the retainer that West would be paying to Johnson

in the probate litigation. Drach did not divulge any “confi-

dential” or useful information. Drach testified it was

common knowledge about town that his wife had an affair

while the couple lived in Hutchinson. Drach testified that

the county attorney’s office knew about the affair before he

had divulged the information to Johnson. Althaus called

the county attorney after she read about trial testimony in

a newspaper.

The comment to KRPC 1.9 states that “the fact that a

lawyer has once served a client does not preclude the

lawyer from using generally known information about that

client when later representing another client.” KRPC 1.9,

Comment (1999 Kan. Ct. R. Annot. 329).

We hold that Drach did not meet his burden in prov-

ing that an implied attorney-client relationship existed

with Johnson. Because Drach and Johnson were never in

an express or implied attorney-client relationship, there

can be no violation of KRPC 1.9. Furthermore, even if

Drach and Johnson were in a confidential relationship, the

testimony by Drach reveals that nothing told to Johnson

was confidential.

App. 56

Ill. REBUTTAL EVIDENCE

Rebuttal evidence is limited to issues placed in conflict

by the adverse party. Enlow v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 249

Kan. 732, 742, 822 P.2d 617 (1991). When determining

whether rebuttal evidence should have been admitted

during trial, our standard of review is an abuse of discre-

tion standard. “The use and extent of rebuttal rests in the

sound discretion of the trial court and its ruling will not be

reversed unless it appears the discretion has been abused

to a party’s prejudice.” State v. Weigel, 228 Kan. 194, Syl.

q 9, 612 P2d 636 (1980). Judicial discretion is abused and

will be overturned by an appellate court only when no

reasonable person would take the view adopied by the

trial court. State v. Stallings, 262 Kan. 721, Syl. 7 6, 942

P.2d 11 (1997).

Althaus’ testimony was used to refute testimony

presented in Drach’s case in chief in which witnesses

stated that they had never seen Drach act in a violent

manner toward Deanne. The State produced Althaus who

testified that she had seen Drach threaten Deanne’s life

and the life of Althaus and her husband some 25 years ago

when they were living in Hutchinson.

This court has consistently held that prosecuting

attorneys are not required to disclose or endorse names of

rebuttal witnesses. State v. Trotter, 245 Kan. 657, 660, 783

P.2d 1271 (1989); State v. Hunter, 241 Kan. 629, 638, 740

P.2d 559 (1987); Talley v. State, 222 Kan. 289, 292, 564

P.2d 504 (1977). Because the purpose of a rebuttal witness

is to refute testimony given in the case in chief, it would be

hard to list rebuttal witnesses in advance, not knowing

exactly what detailed testimony may be elicited during the

case in chief.

App. 57

Drach presented at least 12 witnesses during his case

in chief who testified that they had never seen Drach act

in any violent manner toward Deanne. The trial court

allowed Althaus to testify, finding that her testimony was

warranted to refute Drach’s case in chief and to show that

Drach had previously threatened Deanne’s life and threat-

ened to kill himself. Althaus testified that she and her

husband were good friends of the Drachs and that one

night Drach had come to the Althaus residence at 1 a.m.,

pounding on the door and holding a pistol to Deanne’s

head. Drach insisted that Althaus’ husband admit that he

had an affair with Deanne. Drach held the pistol to

Deanne’s head and made her swear on a Bible that she

only had sex once during the affair. Althaus testified that

Drach hit Deanne several times during this altercation.

Drach threatened to kill Deanne. Drach ordered Deanne to

call her parents, confess her affair, and tell them good-bye.

Drach told his in-liws that if they wanted to see Deanne

alive they would have to get to Hutchinson before 6 a.m.

Despite the fact that Althaus’ testimony may have

surprised Drach, the testimony is admissible, absent a

showing of an abuse of discretion. Drach was aware of his

own past and presumably would have remembered the

significant events to which Althaus testified. Drach’s trial

strategy was to show that he had never been violent

toward Deanne. A reasonable person would assume that

the prosecution would try to refute that testimony. A

minimal amount of questioning by Drach’s attorneys

should have revealed that Drach had previously held

Deanne at gunpoint in the presence of the Althauses, even

though the events occurred years ago. Furthermore, the

record reveals that it was Althaus who contacted the State

and not the other way around. Althaus contacted the

App. 58

county attorney’s office after the trial had begun and after

she had seen an article concerning the trial in the news-

paper. While a 25-year-old occurrence would ordinarily not

be admissible, it is shown this event is a common theme

causing problems throughout this marriage. We cannot

say that the trial court abused its discretion in allowing

Althaus to testify as a rebuttal witness.

Drach also argues that the State should have dis-

closed its intent to put Althaus on the stand pursuant to

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 10 L. Ed. 2d 215, 83 S. Ct.

1194 (1963). The United States Supreme Court in Brady

held that due process rights are violated when the prose-

cution withholds evidence favorable to an accused which is

“material either to guilt or to punishment.” 373 U.S. at 87.

Here, the evidence was not “favorable” and not of an

exculpatory nature; thus, it does not fall within the ambit

of Brady. This argument is without merit.

IV. PRIOR BAD ACTS

Great deference is given to a trial court’s determina-

tion of the admissibility of evidence. Generally, appellate

review on questions of admissibility of evidence is gov-

erned by an abuse of discretion standard of review. State v

Lumley, 266 Kan. 939, 950, 976 P.2d 486 (1999). Judicial

discretion is abused when judicial action is arbitrary,

fanciful, or unreasonable. If reasonable persons could

differ as to the propriety of the action taken by the trial

court, then it cannot be said that the trial court abused its

discretion. State v. Gardner, 264 Kan. 95, 103-04, 955 P.2d

1199 (1998).

Drach argues that evidence of his prior bad acts was

erroneously admitted at trial. This evidence consisted of

App. 59

statements Deanne made to others about beatings she had

suffered at the hands of Drach and also testimony from

others who saw bruises and cuts on Deanne. Drach argues

that Deanne’s statements were inadmissible hearsay and

that the other testimony was inadmissible evidence of

prior bad acts.

Because Drach’s brief lacks any reference to any

specific testimony complained about concerning this issue,

we must look to the brief submitted by the State for some

assistance. The State’s brief suggests what type of testi-

mony that Drach may be complaining about. Approxi-

mately 2 months before her death, Deanne went to St.

Catherine’s Hospital in Garden City. Deanne was inebri-

ated, barefoot, not wearing her broken glasses, and her

hair was in disarray. Drach was arrested for domestic

battery. Deanne told Family Crisis Services workers, who

testified at trial, that Drach had threatened her life. They

also testified that Deanne had related to them that Drach

had often beat her over the years and had repeatedly

threatened her life over an affair that she had over 25

years previous. Deanne also reported to the workers that

she had suffered broken ribs and arms over the years.

Deanne further told the workers that she had been shot in

the shoulder by Drach on a previous occasion. The workers

observed a scar on Deanne’s shoulder. Deanne told the

workers that Drach had forbid her from seeking medical

attention for most of these injuries.

Deanne related the same facts to a counselor in Dodge

City who testified at trial. The counselor testified that

Deanne had told her about times when Drach hit her in

the face, stomach, and arms.

App. 60

Approximately 1 month before her death, Deanne was

admitted to St. Joseph’s Hospital in Wichita. A doctor

testified that he noticed scars about her face and arms.

Deanne told him that Drach had caused the scars.

Although the trial court admitted the evidence on the

basis of res gestae, the evidence was admissible on other

independent grounds. Kansas courts have consistently

allowed evidence of “marital discord” in cases similar to

this. Evidence of marital discord can include several types

of evidence: Oral and written statements made by the

deceased spouse relating their abuse; evidence of scarring,

bruising, bleeding, and other physical manifestations of

the abuse; testimony by others who saw the couple fight-

ing, arguing, or otherwise in conflict; and statements by

the defendant relating that he or she will kill his or her

spouse. This testimony may fall under the traditional

notion of hearsay or evidence of prior bad acts, yet still be

admitted.

In State v. Hedger, 248 Kan. 815, 811 P.2d 1170 (1991),

the defendant was convicted of killing his wife. On appeal,

the defendant argued that the trial court erred when it

admitted testimony relating prior acts of violence against

his wife. The defendant had been arrested for beating his

wife and kicking her in the face in one instance and had

broken a van window while attempting to get at his wife in

another. Despite the fact that the testimony consisted of

prior bad acts of the defendant, the Hedger court held that

the evidence was admissible and noted that Kansas

appellate courts have “repeatedly held that evidence of a

discordant marital relationship is admissible, independent

of the statute, to show the ongoing relationship between

the parties.” 248 Kan. at 820.

App. 61

In State v. Taylor, 234 Kan. 401, 673 P.2d 1140 (1983),

the defendant objected to the introduction of his deceased

wife’s notebook which contained notes concerning their

marital counseling and relating to how she felt when the

defendant became outraged and angry. The trial court

admitted the notes contained in the notebook. On appeal,

the defendant argued that the evidence should not have

been admitted as it was evidence of prior bad acts in

contravention to K.S.A. 60-455. The Taylor court affirmed

the trial court and noted that evidence of marital discord

is admissisle where a family relationship exists in order to

show a continuing course of conduct between the parties or

to corroborate the testimony of a complaining witness. The

Tayior court stated:

“The rule in Kansas is that in a case of marital homi-

cide, evidence of a discordant marital relationship and a

wife’s fear of her husband’s temper is competent as bear-

ing on the defendant’s motive and intent. The court did not

err in admitting into evidence Shirley Taylor’s letters

which contained statements of marital discord and her

fear of the defendant’s temper since they showed the

relationship of the parties and their conduct in the rela-

tionship.” 234 Kan. at 408.

In State v. Wood, 230 Kan. 477, 638 P.2d 908 (1982),

the defendant attempted to keep out testimony from his

deceased wife’s mother which concerned a _ telephone

conversation that she had with her daughter about 7

hours before her daughter was killed. A neighbor also

testified that he had seen the defendant throw his preg-

nant wife to the ground and drag her into their bedroom

while holding a loaded .22 caliber gun 4 months before her

death. The neighbor testified that the defendant had told

him that he was going to “blow his old lady’s head off”

App. 62

about 2 weeks before she died. All three types of testimony,

the description of prior bad acts, the hearsay, and the

statement by the defendant, were admitted at trial, and

the ruling of the trial court was affirmed on appeal. The

Wood court noted:

“It is the rule in Kansas that in a case of marital

homicide, evidence of a discordant marital relationship,

and of the defendant’s previous ill treatment of his wife,

including his prior threats to kill her, is competent as

bearing on the defendant’s motive and intent. [Citations

omitted.] Clearly, evidence of prior threats showing that.

the defendant had the intent to kill his wife was relevant

on the issue of defendant’s intent as it existed at the time

the homicide occurred. It was admissible independently of

K.S.A. 60-455.” 230 Kan. at 479-80.

For other cases allowing evidence of marital discord,

independent of the “prior bad acts” exclusion or a “hear-

say” exclusion, see State v. Green, 232 Kan. 116, 121, 652

P.2d 697 (1982) (allowing a witness to testify that defen-

dant had thrown a hatchet at his wife and other evidence

of marital altercations while noting that evidence of

marital discord is admissible where used to show defen-

dant’s motive and intent); State v. Fenton, 228 Kan. 658,

667-68, 620 P.2d 813 (1980) (allowing testimony that

deceased had sought court order for protective custody

after defendant had thrown butcher knife at her; allowing

testimony that deceased had told sheriff’s wife that

defendant had threatened her; and allowing testimony of

psychiatrist who related that deceased had told him about

her marital problems); State v. Anicker, 217 Kan. 314, 316,

536 P.2d 1355 (1975) (allowing testimony that relatives

had often seen the deceased with black eyes and bruises

all over her body; testimony that defendant would often

App. 63

lose his temper with deceased; and testimony that defen-

dant had threatened deceased’s life while noting that

“from early times” appellate courts have held evidence of

marital discord is admissible when it has a bearing on

intent of defendant); and State v. Patterson, 200 Kan. 176,

182, 434 P.2d 808 (1967) (allow

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.