Opposition Brief — City of New York, New York v. Catskill Mountain Chapter of Trout Unlimited (No. 06-729)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

> | FILED

No. 06-729 JAN 2 4 2007

In the SUPREME COURT, US.

Supreme Court of the United States

——><EKS><o

CITY OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK CITY DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION, and JOEL A. MIELE, SR., Commissioner

of Department of Environmental Protection.

Petitioners,

- V.-

CATSKILL MOUNTAINS CHAPTER OF TROUT UNLIMITED, INC.,

THEODORE GORDON FLYFISHERS, INC., CATSKILL-DELA WARE

NATURAL WATER ALLIANCE, INC., FEDERATED SPORTSMEN’S CLUBS

OF ULSTER COUNTY, INC., RIVERKEEPER, INC., STATE OF NEW YORK,

NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION,

and ERIN M. CROTTY, Commissioner of the New York State

Department of Environmental Conservation,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

BRIEF FOR CERTAIN RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

KARL S. COPLAN

Counsel of Record

DANIEL E. ESTRIN

PACE ENVIRONMENTAL LITIGATION CLINIC, INC.

Attorneys for Catskill Mountains Chapter of Trout

Unlimited, Inc., Theodore Gordon Flyfishers, Inc.,

Catskill-Delaware Natural Water Alliance, Inc.,

Federated Sportsmen's Clubs of Ulster County, Inc.,

and Riverkeeper, Inc.

78 North Broadway

White Plains, New York 10603

January 24, 2007 (914) 422-4343

H

'

}

f

?

'

?

;

DICK BAILEY SERVICE (212) 608-7666 (718) 522-4363 (516) 222-2470 (914) 682-0848 Fax. (718) 522-4024

1-800-531-2028

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the conveyance of water containing

pollutants from one watershed, through a tunnel underneath a

mountain range into higher quality waters of a trout fishery

in a separate and distinct watershed, causing a violation of

State-established water quality standards, constitutes an

addition of a pollutant from a point source under Section 301

of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §1311.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages

SISO BEAN OF op dcradexicieusatbajinwsaideenearecaaiaala l

PUIG PAE itis ss rsenidicccivguecaverbanteiaiciiinbiie l

PERE URE osicn'vesiterisucivayebuasdercaneeasen tae |

PIG inn 5 0ns9uivssiiivadchuesiseeiiccaia 8

I. THERE IS NO SPLIT IN THE CIRCUITS,

AS EVERY CIRCUIT TO CONSIDER THE

ISSUE HAS AGREED THAT INTER-BASIN

TRANSFERS OF POLLUTED WATER ARE

SUBJECT TO CLEAN WATER ACT § 301...................8

A. Every court has reached the same conclusion

that inter-basin transfers of polluted water

OIE TER II oi inendicivdivehavissccovotcecevenctenes 8

B. The decision below is entirely consistent

with this Court’s remand in Miccosukee....................10

I]. THE COURT’S INTERVENTION IS BOTH

UNTIMELY AND UNWARRANTED IN LIGHT

OF THE EPA’S PENDING RULEMAKING................. 1]

A. Granting certiorari would not finally resolve the

issue given the pendency of EPA’s rulemaking......... 12

B. It is inappropriate for the Court to consider

Cine Teraeel FUNC EN TRIS PONG a. oe nicdicne ccc waSencntnecexcaves 13

C. There is no reason to hold for the final rule.................. 14

ili

Pages

III]. THE DECISION BELOW IS CORRECT..................16

A. The Second Circuit’s unanimous holding applies

the plain language of the Clean Wate act..................16

B. This is not a “unitary waters” Case.........c::.ccccccesee eens 18

C. Petitioners’ reliance on Gorsuch and

Consumers Power is misplaced.............:0..ceceeseeeeeeree 20

IV. THE REQUIREMENT OF A CWA PERMIT

DOES NOT UNDULY BURDEN NEW YORK

CITY’S ABILITY TO TRANSFER WATER................ 21

A. The Supreme Court held that CWA § 101(g)

presumes legitimate regulation of water quality........... 21

B. New York City conceded that a SPDES

CSTINEE GELOWS TOE TICKING ooo cs cccce tccccserwerevnvevencc 22

V. THE EPA’S PROPOSED RULE IS NOT

TS EE ee FOP er ens da cin cicncoskercacccsdeviensess 24

Se MIN sic) dacicva veins caburaguitetaeann des dud oanaimenanon 25

Seeks asc divectiss ion dsintecdesdencinevin elanranaieccadaebae’s 26

A. Selected pages from Plaintiffs’ Statement of

Material Facts in Support of their Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment, dated March 13, 2002,

and Defendants’ corresponding response, dated

UP SERRA nun Senlanab ais eco MOEN me RSE P= |

iV

Pages

B. Photograph taken October 7, 2002 immediately

downstream from the Shandaken Tunnel Outlet............35

C. Photograph taken October 7, 2002 immediately

upstream from the Shandaken Tunnel Outlet...............36

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page

Bowen v. Georgetown University Hospital,

Fe ee AT OE ieicsin cin csdicesscectastnstiichesschddisniuaitalicsevbsincclinias 15

Catskill Mountains Chapter of Trout Unlimited

Inc. v. City of New York, 273 F.3d 481 (2d Cir.

BEE dh thucsoviiaictidctrretisesicieidigbtvdouiidcedeeshicsenartantueadabeties passim

Catskill Mountains Chapter of Trout Unlimited,

Inc. v. City of New York, 451 F.3d 77 (2d Cir.

BE tieisledesicsnibieslstel ceieshanhaslansehiiedeeiacomnisaebinaldigeenbiabinccens passim

Chevron v. Natural Resources Defense Council,

BO, GOT GB G9 E CF iccesecsesecsscssewvivervnstsvinesse 12, 21, 24

Christensen v. Harris County, 529 U.S. 576 (2000).......... 21

Committee to Save Mokelumne River v. East Bay

Municipal Utility District, 13 F.3d 305 (9th Cir.

| ROTEL AIEEE eae ars OPES arabe iio 8) Se alee 9

Del-Aware Unlimited, Inc. v. Department of

Environmental Resources, 508 A.2d 348

(Pa. Commw. Ct.), appeal denied, 523 A.2d 1132

SUE ITI secs uci lips chctbuasieelegalceontclanensa cients looneeieabecnnsisiniaioneniods 9

Dubois v. U.S. Department of Agriculture, 102

Be Fe Te le Batic iiinivsetnipucenovicenciecssverpiebenias 8

Friends of the Everglades, Inc. v. South Florida Water

Management District, No. 02-80309, 2006 WL

Pe Cases Fs GAD. 15, DIOP hiv tsivcervinssiciniantiinnonvie 8

vi

Pages

Goodlin v. Medtronic, Inc., 167 F.3d 1367 (11th

i Ej MRNA NCO oa OO aN SS Wee aA sauhonepaabesiaienmtiis 24

Hayburn’s Case, 2 U.S. (2 Dall.) 409 (1792).........0004. 12, 13

Miccosukee Tribe of Indians v. South Florida

Water Management District, 280 F.3d 1364

OE SI rs cesdsaccint coherence gi cae itch teccenesacanenss 10

N. Plains Resources Council v. Fidelity Exploration

& Development Co., 325 F.3d 1155 (9th Cir. 2003) ........ 9

National Cable & Telecommunications Ass’n v.

Brand X internet Services, 125 S. Ct. 2688

SRE ta ose 8 Oy NEPAD ARE PUNY aE tae oe te YR RAN 12

National Wildlife Federation v. Consumers

Power Co., 862 F.2d 580 (6th Cir. 1988) ......... eee 20

National Wildlife Federation v. Gorsuch,

OF Fe Fe ee SI iivccasncertenecscccuichinesccmneekes 20

PUD No. | v. Washington Department of

Eaten, S14 TE Fe Ca icisicispiscnckoesntascsevinnseisuittes 6, 22

Perez v. Ashcroft, 236 F. Supp. 2d 899

UR EE, Tees UD Sesh cerns ccicecied oh siSaphccseatainncadatasiigisasoniiiasiie 24

Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211 (1995) ....... 12

Public Citizen Health Research Group v.

Commissioner, FDA, 740 F.2d 21 (D.C. Cir. 1984)........ 24

Vil

Pages

Public Citizen, Inc. v. Shalala, 932 F. Supp. 13

Eek: 5 PE nivibaesiideinlinnciiiiaasiapiiebeldciuuadsiitem aris 24

South Florida Water Management District v.

Miccosukee Tribe of Indians, 541 U.S. 95

GIT A cedwtrttsdodsvarenpousiiaviiuscicaninemubaaiaoaen 5, 10, 11, 17, 20

Squaw Valley Development Co. v. Goldberg,

FID Oe Se , BOO iicitab ities 17

United States v. Law, 979 F.2d 977 (4th Cir. 1992) 0.0.0.0... 9

United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218 (2001)........... 24

Statutes and Regulations

Federal Statutes

yy EES ROE By | yf Ae MnO nO Ter eaNE CIA Sa ese l

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 554(1)....000..... 15

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 702.0... 1]

Clean Water Act § 101(a), 33 U.S.C. § 1251 (a)... 5, 16

Clean Water Act § 101(g), 33 U.S.C. § 1251(g) ..... 6, 21-22

Clean Water Act § 301(a), 33 U.S.C. § 1311(a)......... passim

Clean Water Act § 301(m)-(n), 33 U.S.C.

BEE i iiivivisiccetnnaendniicoiesnecena mien 23

Vili

Pages

Clean Water Act § 304(a)(4), 33 U.S.C.

ca cc vasisnensontnateotvorene ye

Clean Water Act § 402, 33 U.S.C. § 1342.............:ccesseee ~

Clean Water Act § 502(6), 33 U.S.C. § 1362(6) .......00.0... 17

Clean Water Act § 502(12), 33 U.S.C. § 1362(12) ........... 16

Clean Water Act § 502(14), 33 U.S.C. § 1362(14) ........... 18

Clean Water Act § 505(a)(1), 33 U.S.C. § 1365(a)(1)......... 4

Clean Water Act § 509(b)(1), 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b)(1)...... 1]

Clean Water Act § 510, 33 U.S.C. § 1370...............cccsseseeees 7

Clean Water Act § 505(b)(1)(A), 33 U.S.C.

Nees os ssuhaliavsteeaceeseusverssveses 4

Federal Regulations

Rs 9 re 7

Exec. Order No. 13112, 64 Fed. Reg. 6,183

NE I itis cnisnacerevavsessivvevssssovervevaseversenversevevevessoseves 14

State Regulations

N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 6, § 701.6 (1991) 0.0.0... 3

N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 6, § 702.17(b)(1)

Neen... sasiondvsisaswnnsabvvendensckasees 23

"N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 6, § 703.2 (1991)........ 19

ix

Pages

Miscellaneous

Jody Freeman & Laura I. Langbein, Regulatory

Negotiation and the Legitimacy Benefit, 9 N.Y.U.

UG, Sec Gy FP TE GND iicitaciehbesbivetniisinncsiniabigbiigis 15

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

(NPDES) Water Transfers Proposed Rule, 71 Fed.

Reg. 32,887 (proposed June 7, 2006) (to be codified

fee OE & >. SRR nm eer eimiomrverdin Wonneon Meant ner Rawr as 7

]

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A1l-23)

is reported at 451 F.3d 77. The prior opinion of the court of

appeals (Pet. App. A52-77) is reported at 273 F.3d 481. The

opinion of the district court (Pet. App. A85-128) is reported

at 244 F. Supp. 2d 41. The district court’s partial summary

judgment (Pet. App. A78-84) is unreported. The initial

decision of the district court (Pet. App. A24-40) and that

court’s decision on plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration

(Pet. App. A41-51) are unreported. The court of appeals’

order denying rehearing and rehearing en banc (Pet. App.

A139-142) is unreported. The district court’s order and

amended judgment on remand (Pet. App. A129-138) are

unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

June 13, 2006. A petition for rehearing and rehearing en

banc was denied on August 25, 2006. The petition for a writ

of certiorari was filed on November 20, 2006. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1) (2006).~

STATEMENT

Petitioner New York City Department of

Environmental Protection operates’ the Shandaken Tunnel

(“Tunnel”) as part of the New York City Catskill Water

Supply System. (Pet. App. at AS). The Tunnel begins at the

Schoharie Reservoir in Delaware County, passes through

Greene County, and discharges into the Esopus Creek in

Ulster County. When the Tunnel is in operation, water from

the Schoharie Reservoir is diverted through the Tunnel for

eighteen miles under a mountain range, and is discharged

2

into the Esopus Creck, which in turn empties into the

Ashokan Reservoir. (/d. at A5-6).

The Schoharie Reservoir and the Esopus Creek are

two different and distinct water bodies, hydrologically

connected only insofar as both are tributaries of the Hudson

River. (Pet. App. at A58). But for the Tunnel, water from

the Schoharie Reservoir would never reach the Esopus

Creek. (Pet. App. at A6; Pet. at 6). Water leaving the

Schoharie would naturally flow north to the Schoharie

Creek, join the Mohawk River, and flow into the Hudson

River. (Pet. App. at A57-58 (“Under natural conditions,

water from the Schoharie Reservoir would never reach

Esopus Creek.”)).

The water of the Schoharie Reservoir contains high

levels of suspended solids and turbidity.' (See Pet. App. at

A93). The suspended solids and turbidity present in the

Schoharie Reservoir are caused at least in part by erosion in

the Schoharie watershed, including surface runoff and land

disturbance from human activities. (/d. at A93-94; see also

Pet. App. at A6 (“water in the Schoharie Reservoir contains

suspended solids from both natural and man-made

causes”)).” Consequently, water of the Schoharie Reservoir

is highly turbid in comparison with other water bodies in the

' Contrary to Petitioners’ assertion in this petition that turbidity is not a

pollutant, (see Pet. at 20), the court below noted that “[t]he partics do not

contest that turbidity qualifies as a pollutant under the [Clean Water Act]

CWA.” (Pet. App. at A6 n.1). See also CWA § 304(a)(4), 33 U.S.C. §

1314(a)(4) (specifically defining “conventional pollutants” to include

“suspended solids”).

? Petitioners mischaracterize the pollutants in the Schoharie Reservoir as

“naturally occurring.” (Pet. at 10, 20). Inefact, Petitioners stipulated that

the pollutants in the Schoharie Reservoir are not purely natural, but are

caused at least in part by human activities. See Exhibit A, attached at 28

917,324 17.

3

New York City Drinking Water System. In contrast to the

Schoharie Reservoir’s water, the water of the Esopus Creek

is naturally clear, less turbid, and lower in total suspended

solids. (Pet. App. at A28). The Esopus Creek’s naturally

clear water makes it an important habitat for trout. The New

York State Department of Environmental Conservation

(“NY DEC”) has designated the Esopus Creek, between the

outlet of the Shandaken Tunnel and the inlet of the Ashokan

Reservoir, a Class A(T) stream, which signifies high quality

water that is suitable for a trout fishery. See N.Y. Comp.

Codes R. & Regs. tit. 6, § 701.6 (1991).

Discharges of turbidity and suspended solids from the

Shandaken Tunnel have diminished the quality of water in

the Esopus Creek and have all but destroyed the recreational

trout fishery; fishermen no longer fish downstream from the

Shandaken Tunnel Outlet. Compare Exhibit B, attached

(exemplifying the problem Respondents seek to address)

with Exhibit C, attached (upstream vicw at same time and

location). Not only is the increased turbidity in the Esopus

Creek aesthetically offensive, but it has also created

dangerous conditions for fly fishermen to wade into the

water because they cannot see the creek bed or the slippery

coating left on rocks by the discharge. (See Pet. App. at

A90-91). In addition, increased turbidity makes dry fly

fishing more difficult because of the trout’s inability to

perceive dry fly lures in the murky waters. See id at A90.

These cumulative harms have devastated the economic

opportunities for fly fishermen guides and the aesthetic

beauty of the Esopus. See id. at A90-91

Respondents filed this citizen suit in the United

States District Court for the Northern District of New York,

alleging that Petitioners’ discharge of suspended solids and

turbidity from the Shandaken Tunnel into the Esopus Creek

without a permit violated section 301(a) of the Clean Water

4

Act (“CWA”), 33 U.S.C. § 1311(a). See CWA 505(a)(1),

33 U.S.C. § 1365(a)(1) (citizen suit provision). The district

court granted Petitioners’ motion to dismiss for failure to

state a claim. (Pet. App. A24-40). Respondents moved for

reconsideration on the grounds that the court accorded

inappropriate deference to the J Jnvironmental Protection

Agency’s (“EPA”) informal position regarding the words

“addition of a pollutant.”’ The court denied Respondents’

motion on the theory that the Shandaken Tunnel does not

“add” pollutants into the Esopus Creek. (Pet. App. A41-51).

Respondents appealed and the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals, in an opinion by Chief Judge John Walker,

unanimously reversed in part, vacated in part,” and remanded

the case. (Pet. App. A52-77). The court ruled that releases

of turbidity from the Shandaken Tunnel qualified as an

“addition” under the plain meaning of the CWA. (See Pet.

App. at A67). Because water from the Schoharie Reservoir

containing turbidity was “artificially diverted from its natural

course” and discharged into the Esopus Creek, “a body of

water utterly unrelated in any relevant sense to the Schoharie

Reservoir and its watershed,” the court concluded that such

discharge was indeed an addition, because the turbidity came

from the “outside world,” meaning “any place outside the

particular water body to which pollutants are introduced.”

(id. at A71-73). The court also rejected Petitioners’ theory

that the Schoharie Reservoir and the Esopus Creek are

unitary or “singular” waters simply because they are both

navigable waters: “Such an interpretation is inconsistent with

the ordinary meaning of the word ‘addition.”” (/d. at A75;

* The CWA does not define the word “addition.”

* The court vacated the judgment only insofar as it related to

Respondents’ claims that Petitioners were discharging heat, because

Respondents failed to specifically include heat in their notice of intent to

sue pursuant to CWA § 505(b)(1)(A), 33 U.S.C. § 1365(b)(1 (A).

5

see also Pet. at 19 n.15). To hold otherwise, the court noted,

would violate the CWA’s “broad and uncompromising

policy of ‘restor[ing] and maintain[ing] the chemical,

physical, and biological integrity of the Nation’s waters.’”

(Pet. App. at A76; see also Pet. App. at Al44, CWA §

101(a), 33 U.S.C. § 1251 (a)).

On remand, the district court granted Respondents’

motion for partial summary judgment on liability, finding

violations of section 301(a) of the CWA for the unpermitted

discharges of turbidity and suspended solids from the

Shandaken Tunnel into the Esopus Creek. (Pet. App. A78-

A84). The court also ordered Petitioner New York City

Department of Environmental Protection (“NYC DEP”) to

obtain a permit pursuant to section 402 of the CWA, 33

U.S.C. § 1342(a) with respect to such releases into Esopus

Creek.’ After a bench trial on civil penalties, the court

assessed $5,749,000 in penalties against Petitioners. (Pet.

App. A85-128).

Petitioners appealed and the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals unanimously affirmed.® (Pet. App. A1-23).

Petitioners asked the Second Circuit to reconsider its 2001

holding in light of two intervening developments: South

Florida Water Management District v. Miccosukee Tribe of

Indians, 541 U.S. 95 (2004), and a 2005 memorandum from

the EPA’s general counsel, (Pet. App. A205), which posited

that water transfers are not subject to the CWA permit

requirement. (Pet. App. at All). First, the court found that

the Miccosukee decision reinforced its earlier rejection of the

* Petitioner NYC DEP applied for a SPDES permit on December 30,

2002.

° The Court did remand the case, however, only for recalculation of the

civil penalties. The civil penalties were thus reduced to $5,225,000. (See

Pet. App. A129-138).

6

“unitary-water theory of navigable waters” relied upon by

Petitioners. (/d. at Al2). Second, the court was not

persuaded by and declined to defer to EPA’s informal

position reflected in the EPA’s 2005 memorandum. (/d. at

A12-13).

Petitioners also argued that a permit for the Tunnel

would interfere with New York’s statutory rights to allocate

water and would thereby violate sections 101(g) and 510 of

the CWA, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1251(g), 1370 (protecting a state’s

authority to allocate water quantities within its jurisdiction).

Citing this Court, the Second Circuit explained that these

provisions preserve state authority to allocate water quantity,

not water quality: “‘|s]ections 101(g) and 510(2) . . . do not

limit the scope of water pollution controls.’” (/d at Al4

(quoting PUD No. | v. Wash. Dep't of Ecology, 511 US.

700, 720 (1994)). The Second Circuit held that Petitioners’

“holistic” arguments about water allocation overlook the

plain language of the CWA:

{W]e pointed out that complex statutes often

have seemingly inconsistent goals that must be

balanced. The CWA seeks to achieve water

allocation goals as well as to restore and

maintain the quality of the nation’s waters.

[Petitioners] and the EPA would have us tip the

balance toward the allocation goals. But in

honoring the text, we adhere to the balance that

Congress has struck and remains free to

change.

(Id. at Al5). Petitioners then filed a petition for panel

rchearing and rehearing en banc, which the Second Circuit

denied. (Pet. App. A139-142).

7

On June 7, 2006, the EPA issued a Notice of

Proposed Rulemaking (Pet. App. A170-204) that would

create a specific exception from National Pollutant

Discharge Elimination System (“NPDES”)’ permitting

requirements for water transfers occurring between waters of

the United States. (See id at A190). The proposed rule

abandons the “unitary waters theory” in both terms and

effect. (See id. (defining a water transfer as occurring

between “two ‘waters of the United States’”)). It also

reasserts the EPA’s position in its 2005 memorandum. (Pet.

App. A205-237).

On September 1, 2006, the NY DEC issued a final

SPDES permit for the NYC DEP’s operation of the

Shandaken Tunnel. The final permit contains flexible

limitations (based on the season) governing the release of

turbidity and suspended solids into the Esopus Creek, and

also includes a number of exemptions from compliance with

effluent limitations for turbidity and temperature.

’ A state may also issue permits if its permitting program is approved by

the EPA. State-issued permits under the CWA are called State Pollutant

Discharge Elimination System (“SPDES”) permits. In New York, the

NY DEC issues SPDES permits. See CWA § 402(b), 33 U.S.C. §

1342(b), 40 C.F.R. § 123.1(d) (2006).

* The same respondents that filed this case are currently challenging this

final permit in New York State Supreme Court, because the NY DEC’s

issuance of the permit constituted errors of law and a violation of lawful

procedure: the permit allows the NYC DEP to operate the Shandaken

Tunnel in violation of State-established water quality standards without

undergoing the regulatory variance procedure that provides the only

proper exceptions to mecting water quality standards. This contravenes

state and federal law. Respondents also object that, in issuing the permit,

the NY DEC has deprived the public of its statutory and regulatory rights

to comment on the appropriate technology-based standard required by the

permit. These respondents are not seeking to shut down the Shandaken

Tunnel, but rather seek to compel the NY DEC to issue a legally

8

ARGUMENT

I

THERE IS NO SPLIT IN THE CIRCUITS, AS EVERY

CIRCUIT TO CONSIDER THE ISSUE HAS AGREED

THAT INTER-BASIN TRANSFERS OF POLLUTED

WATER ARE SUBJECT TO CLEAN WATER ACT §

301. :

A. Every court has reached the same conclusion that

inter-basin transfers of polluted water require a

CWA permit.

In addition to the court below, each federal court that

has considered the issue has required a CWA permit for

transfers of polluted water between two distinct water

bodies. (Pet. App. at A19). Recently, the District Court for

the Southern District of Florida held that a permit was

required for the transfer of water from a polluted canal into a

meaningfully distinct body of water, Lake Okeechobee. See

Friends of the Everglades, Inc. v. S. Fla. Water Mgmt Dist.,

No. 02-80309, 2006 WL 3635465, at *1, *48-*51 (S.D. Fla.

Dec. 11, 2006). In another case on point, the First Circuit

required a ski area to obtain a permit for pumping polluted

river water through pipes directly into a pristine pond. See

Dubois v. U.S. Dep't of Agric., 102 F.3d 1273, 1297-98 (Ist

Cir. 1996)?

sufficient permit that controls the release of turbidity and suspended

solids into the Esopus Creck without illegal exemptions.

® Petitioners attempt to distinguish Dubois by claiming that, unlike the

case at bar, the water was “commercially exploited” for snowmaking use

before it was discharged into the pond. (Pet. App. at 15 n.12). This

argument ignores both the facts and holding in Dubois. The First Circuit

noted that the polluted river water was pumped directly into the pond in

May and December of cach year to maintain water levels and to provide

The Ninth Circuit also required a permit for the

discharge of polluted groundwater through a point source to

a surface stream. See N. Plains Res. Council v. Fidelity

Exploration & Dev. Co., 325 F.3d 1155 (9th Cir. 2003). The

Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania even concluded that

inter-basin water transfers were subject to CWA permitting

requirements. See Del-Aware Unlimited, Inc. v. Dep't of

Envtl. Res., 508 A.2d 348 (Pa. Commw. Ct.), appeal denied,

523 A.2d 1132 (Pa. 1986). In each case above, the court

found that the transfer of pollutants from one body of water

that are discharged into a separate, distinct body of water

constituted an “addition” under CWA § 301, 33 U.S.C. §

1311.

drinking water for a nearby town. See 102 F.3d at 1277-79. Water from

both the river and pond was also piped to snowmaking equipment on

Loon Mountain, which was then discharged into the pond. /d. at 1278.

The court held that regardless of whether water is “commercially

exploited,” a NPDES permit is required if, during the transfer of water, it

loses its status as a “water of the United States,” which was the

circumstance in this case. See id. at 1297. In essence, the court did not

find the presence of “commercial exploitation” significant. See id.

'° Petitioners cite Committee to Save Mokelumne River v. East Bay

Municipal Utility District, 13 F.3d 305 (9th Cir. 1993) and United States

v. Law, 979 F.2d 977 (4th Cir. 1992) for the proposition that some courts

have held that the diversion of water containing preexisting pollutants

from one water body to another wholly distinct water body does not

constitute an “addition.” (Pet. at 18). However, neither of these cases

address the issue in the context of an inter-basin water transfer. Rather,

both courts upheld CWA _ liability for facilities that collected

contaminated runoff and discharged this runoff to surface waters and

rejected claims that a facility that merely transfers preexisting pollutants

is not subject to CWA regulation. This Court also unanimously held that

the CWA regulates point sources that do not themselves generate

pollutants. S. Fla. Water Mgmt Dist. v. Miccosukee Tribe of Indians, 541

U.S. 95, 105 (2004). As such, Mokelumne River and Law do not produce

incongruous results to the instant case.

10

B. The decision below is entirely consistent with

this Court’s remand in Miccosukee.

In Miccosukee Tribe of Indians v. South Florida

Water Management District, 280 F.3d 1364 (11th Cir. 2002),

the Eleventh Circuit ruled consistently with the First,

Second, and Ninth Circuits, holding that the transfer of

pollutants (phosphorus) from a flood control canal to an

undeveloped wetland required a NPDES permit. The court

of appeals concluded that “addition” of a pollutant means

addition from the outside world, where “outside world”

includes “‘any place outside the particular water body to

which pollutants are introduced.’” Jd. at 1368, n.5 (quoting

Pet. App. at A71).

This Court granted certiorari and vacated and

remanded the decision on narrow grounds. See S. Fla.

Water Mgmt. Dist. v. Miccosukee Tribe of Indians, 541 US.

95 (2004). The Court affirmed the reasoning below on the

question presented; specifically, a point source need not

generate pollutants, but need only convey the pollutants to

be subject to CWA regulation. /d. at 105. The Court went

on to vacate the decision below on the grounds that the

district court’s summary judgment determination that the

canal and the wetland were different water bodies was

premature on the record before it, and remanded for a

determination whether the two water bodies were

hydrologically connected or distinct. See id. at 99.

Thus, this Court’s Miccosukee decision intimated that

if the canal and wetland are meaningfully distinct, a NPDES

permit would be required for the inter-basin water transfer

because pollutants are “added” from the outside world. See

id. at 112. To illustrate the situation when a statutory

“addition” would not occur, this Court quoted the Second

Circuit in the instant case with approval: “As the Second

1]

Circuit put it in 7rout Unlimited, ‘[i|f one takes a ladle of

soup from a pot, lifts it above the pot, and pours it back into

the pot, one has not ‘added’ soup or anything else to the

pot.”” Jd. at 109-10 (quoting Pet. App. at A72). By

remanding the Miccosukee case for a trial to determine

whether the waters involved in that case were “two pots of

soup, not one,” id. at 110, this Court clearly adopted the

Second Circuit’s distinction between inter-basin transfers

(for which a permit is required) and intra-basin transfers (for

which no permit would be required) as being legally

significant under the Clean Water Act. The Second Circuit’s

conclusion that an “addition” from the “outside world”

occurs when polluted water from the Schoharie Reservoir is

discharged into the separate and distinct Esopus Creek is,

therefore, consistent with this Court’s understanding behind

the remand in Miccosukee.

Il

THE COURT’S INTERVENTION IS BOTH

UNTIMELY AND UNWARRANTED IN LIGHT OF

THE EPA’S PENDING RULEMAKING.

Petitioners ask the Court to either grant the petition

while relevant rulemaking is pending or hold the case until

the EPA adopts a final rule. (See Pet. at 30). If the Court

grants certiorari, any decision it makes could be subject to

modification by the EPA rulemaking proceeding and judicial

review of any final rule. See CWA § 509(b)(1), 33 U.S.C. §

1369(b)(1); Administrative Procedure Act (“APA”) 5 U.S.C.

§ 702. The time is simply not ripe for the Court to have the

last word on inter-basin water transfers. Instead of gencrating

a complex legal and procedural mess, the Court should allow

the pending rulemaking to run its normal course, and defer

resolution of this issue to a proceeding challenging the final

rule.

12

A. Granting certiorari would not finally resolve the

issue given the pendency of EPA’s rulemaking.

If this Court affirms the Second Circuit, the EPA’s

forthcoming rulemaking could potentially overrule this

Court’s decision. This would violate the principle of

Hayburn’s Case, 2 U.S. (2 Dall.) 409 (1792), that “Congress

cannot vest review of the decisions of Article III courts in

officials of the Executive Branch.” Plaut v. Spendthrift

Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211, 218 (1995). Assuming the final

rule will reassert the proposed rule, further litigation will be

required to determine (1) whether this Court’s interpretation

of inter-basin water transfers was the only possible

interpretation or just the “best one”; (2) whether the final

rule is entitled to Chevron deference; and (3) whether the

rule is a permissible interpretation of the CWA or arbitrary

and capricious. See Nat’! Cable & Telecomms. Ass’n v.

Brand X Internet Servs., 125 S. Ct. 2688 (2005); Chevron v.

Natural Res. Def. Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984).

Under Brand X, this Court squarely held that a

“court’s prior judicial construction of a statute trumps an

agency construction otherwise entitled to Chevron deference

only if the prior court decision holds that its construction

follows from the unambiguous terms of the statute and thus

leaves no room for agency discretion.” 125 S. Ct. at 2700. In

the instant case, the Second Circuit unanimously affirmed —

twice — that Petitioners’ discharge of suspended solids from

the Shandaken Tunnel into the Esopus Creek constituted an

“addition” within the plain meaning of the CWA; no other

permissible interpretation of the statute was conceivable.

(See Pet. App. at AIS, A71, A76). As the court of appeals

explained, “When the water and the suspended sediment

therein passes from the Tunnel into the Creek, an ‘addition’

of a ‘pollutant’ from a ‘point source’ has been made to a

13

‘navigable water,’ and the terms of the [CWA| are satisfied.”

(Pet. App. at A73; see also id. at A71, A76 (holding that “the

transfer of water containing pollutants from one body of

water to another, distinct body of water is plainly an addition

....[N]one of the statute’s broad purposes sways us from

what we find to be the plain meaning of its text’”’)). By

finding the terms of the statute unambiguous as applied to

Petitioners’ inter-basin transfer of polluted water, the Second

Circuit’s affirmation of the plain meaning of the CWA

trumps any contrary interpretation by the EPA.

Under Brand xX, the EPA cannot correct a

misinterpretation of law when a federal court declared the

law to be unambiguous. See 125 S. Ct. at 2700; cf

Hayburn’s Case, 2 U.S. (2 Dall.) 409. To avoid this

awkward result, for a decision by the Supreme Court in this

case to have finality, the Court’s opinion must garner

majority votes‘for a “plain meaning” or “specific intent”

interpretation that the CWA regulates inter-basin water

transfers. Final resolution of the water transfer issue is best

deferred until the EPA adopts a final rule, and that rule has

been reviewed by the lower courts before being presented to

the Supreme Court for a final judicial determination of the

proper interpretation of the CWA term “addition.”

B. It is inappropriate for the Court to consider the

final rule on this record.

If the Court grants certiorari and the final rule is

promulgated during bricfing, then the Court could consider

the final rule to settle the issue. But nothing would be more

inappropriate than for the Court to conduct judicial! review of

the final rule when the rulemaking record is not before the

Court. Without the benefit of the administrative record, full

briefing, and lower court review, the Court cannot possibly

address the validity of the final rule. Not until after the final

14

rule goes through all the various procedural challenges

would the question of any final rule’s validity be ripe for

review.

It should be noted that Petitioners assume that the

proposed rule makes the final rule a fait accompli. Their

assertion that the rule “wi// confirm that water transfers are

not subject to the NPDES permitting program. . . . [The rule]

will thus answer precisely the question that was before the

Second Circuit . . . .” (Pet. at 27) (emphasis added) is highly

speculative because nothing indicates that the final rule will

confirm the legal premise underlying the proposed rule.

During the public comment period, numerous and extensive

comments on the proposed rule were submitted. Many

comments challenged the legality of the proposed rule and

also raised issues the EPA never identified.'’ Presumably,

the EPA is now considering all of these comments.

Petitioners assume that this notice and comment period will

have no impact on the final rule, when in fact such

comments could very well change the final rule’s result.

Such speculation is a perfect example why this petition is not

ripe for the Court’s review.

_ There is no reason to hold for the final rule.

Petitioners’ alternate request to hold the petition for

the final rule is unwarranted. They do not cite a single case

where the Supreme Court held a petition, or granted and

vacated, based on a pending rulemaking. The existence of

EPA’s pending rulemaking warrants denial of the petition,

'' For example, Respondents raised the concern that the proposed rule

would violate Executive Order 13112, issued to prevent the introduction

of invasive species. See 64 Fed. Reg. 6,183 (Feb. 9, 1999). Water

transfers not subject to a NPDES permit will induce the addition or

transfer of invasive species across water bodies.

15

not the addition of further delay after five years of litigation.

There is no certainty if or when a final rule will ever be

issued, and the average time for a rulemaking process, not

including litigation, is three years. See Jody Freeman &

Laura 1. Langbein, Regulatory Negotiation and _ the

Legitimacy Benefit, 9 N.Y.U. Envtl. L.J. 60, 76-77 (2000).

During that time, a hold would allow the NYC DEP to

continue polluting the Esopus Creek in expectation of a rule

that, even if promulgated after notice and comment, would

likely fail judicial review.

Moreover, holding the petition will not affect the

judgment in this case. If the EPA later “changes” the law in

a final rule to exclude inter-basin water transfers from CWA

permitting requirements, this would not undo the fact that the

NYC DEP was in violation of the law, as declared by the

Second Circuit, every day for which it was assessed a civil

penalty. (See Pet. App. at A134 (civil penalty

calculation)).'" The EPA’s rulemaking cannot affect the

penalty judgment where the Second Circuit twice declared

that the NYC DEP’s discharges violated the plain meaning

of the CWA.'* See Brand X, 125 S. Ct. at 2700. In addition,

the NYC DEP has now complied with the injunctive relief

by obtaining a SPDES permit.

12

The district court only assessed civil penalties for the days of

violations occurring after the Second Circuit's October 2001 decision

that specifically held NYC DEP to be in violation of the CWA.

13

The final rule will also have no retroactive effect. See Bowen v

Georgetown University Hospital, 488 U.S. 204 (1988); see also APA 5

U.S.C. § 554(1). Petitioners will not be excused from compliance during

the time period penaltics were assessed.

16

Il

THE DECISION BELOW IS CORRECT.

A. The Second Circuit’s unanimous holding applies

the plain language of the Clean Water Act.

The principal, unwavering objective of the Clean

Water Act is to “restore and maintain the chemical, physical,

and biological integrity of the Nation’s waters.” (Pet. App. at

A144, CWA § 101(a), 33 U.S.C. § 1251(a)). To accomplish

this goal, the CWA prohibits “the discharge of any pollutant

by any person” without or in violation of a permit. (/d. at

A147, CWA § 301(a), 33 U.S.C. § 1311(a)). This translates

to the prohibition of “any addition of any pollutant to

navigable waters of the United States from any point

source.” (/d. at Al66, CWA § 502(12), 33 U.S.C. §

1362(12) (emphasis added)).

Petitioners’ discharge of turbidity and suspended

solids from the Shandaken Tunnel into the Esopus Creek

falls squarely within the CWA’s definition of “discharge of a

pollutant.” (See id.) The court below twice declared that

Petitioners’ conveyance of water containing turbidity and

suspended solids from one watershed, through a tunnel

underneath a mountain range into higher quality waters of a

trout fishery in a separate and distinct watershed, constituted

‘an addition of a pollutant from a point source into a

navigable water under CWA § 301, 33 U.S.C. § 1311. (See

Pet. App. at Al5; A67). The unresolved factual question in

Miccosukee was whether the canal and the wetland area are

meaningfully distinct water bodies. See 541 U.S. at 112.

Conversely, this Court already has the answer in the instant

case: the Schoharie Reservoir and the Esopus Creek are not

hydrologically connected because they are located in two

17

separate and distinct watersheds.'* This is not a case where

the soup ladle pours soup back into the same pot; rather, the

soup ladle is pouring soup into a different pot located on a

different stove.

Desperate for any grounds of reversal, Petitioners

raise new questions about whether the CWA § 301 elements

of “pollutant,” “navigable water,” and “point source,” are

satisfied, even though these elements were not at issue in the

court below. (See Pet. at 17, 19-20). In fact Petitioners

either stipulated or did not dispute the CWA elements they

now seek to raise for the first time in a petition for certiorari.

First, it is undisputed that suspended solids and turbidity

discharged by Petitioners are pollutants regulated under the

CWA. (See Pet. App. at A81-82). As explained supra in

footnote 1, CWA § 304(a)(4), 33 U.S.C. § 1314(a)(4) defines

“conventional pollutants” to include “suspended solids.”

When rock, sand, and cellar dirt (which are pollutants

defined by CWA § 502(6)) are suspended in water, they

become suspended solids and make the water turbid. See,

e.g., Squaw Valley Dev. Co. v. Goldberg, 375 F.3d 936, 939

n.l (9th Cir. 2004) (“Turbidity refers to ‘suspended

sediment,’ or the amount of dirt in the water.”). Moreover,

Petitioners do not dispute that turbidity qualifies as a

pollutant under the CWA.” (Pet. App. at A6 n.1). Second,

the NYC DEP specifically admitted that the Esopus Creek is

a navigable water.'> (See Exhibit A, attached at 29 § 27, 33 4

'* Throughout their brief, Petitioners disingenuously failed to make clear

to the Court the lack of any hydrological connection between the

Schoharie and the Esopus. As the Second Circuit stated, “Absent the

man-made diversion through the Tunnel, water from the Schoharie

Reservou would never reach the Esopus Creek.” (Pet. App. at A6).

'* Because there is no question that the Esopus Creck is a navigable

water of the United States, Petitioners’ suggestion that the absence of the

word “any” before “navigable waters” means something less than “any

navigable waters” fails. (See Pet. at 17).

18

27; see also Pet. App. at A81). Third, and perhaps the most

misleading, is Petitioners’ omission of the word “tunnel”

when quoting the CWA definition of “point source” to

suggest that the discharge of turbidity and suspended solids

is really “non-point source” pollution. (Pet. at 19-20). The

Shandaken Tunnel is clearly a point source because the

actual definition of “point source” includes the word

“tunnel”:

The term “point source” means any discernible,

confined and discrete conveyance, including

but not limited to any pipe, ditch, channel,

tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container,

rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding

operation, or vessel or other floating craft, from

which pollutants are or may be discharged.

(Pet. App. at A166, CWA § 502(14), 33 U.S.C. § 1362(14)

(emphasis added); see also A8i (“Nor can there be any

dispute that the Shandaken Tunnel is a point source.”’)).

B. This is not a “unitary waters” case.

Petitioners reassert the so-called “unitary waters”

theory, which posits that “waters of the United States’ form a

collective body ... .” (Pet. at 19 n.15).!° They argue that the

transfer of pollutants from one body of navigable water to

another does not “add” anything to the latter, id. at 16-19,

even though the water bodies are eighteen miles apart in two

'© Under the “unitary waters” theory, the statutory term “waters of the

United States” would be given a “unitary” interpretation such that all

navigable waters of the United States are considered one unitary water

body, whereby pollutants already in such waters could not logically be

added to waters of the United States. (See Pet. App. at A75).

19

separate watersheds. But the EPA has now abandoned this

theory'’ and both panels in the Second Circuit unanimously

rejected this approach: “[T]his theory would lead to the

absurd result that the transfer of water from a_ heavily

polluted, even toxic, water body to one that was pristine via a

point source would not constitute an ‘addition’ of pollutants

and would not be subject to the CWA’s NPDES permit

requirement.” (Pet. App. at A9; see also Pet. App. at A75).

The court below correctly rejected this theory because it

would be absurd to deny that Petitioners are adding

pollutants “from the outside world” into the Esopus Creek.

The Esopus Creek represents the paradigmatic case in

which polluted water is discharged into a trout stream and

violates state water quality standards. Pursuant to New York

law, a discharge violates water quality standards of the

Esopus Creek if it creates a “substantial visible contrast to

natural conditions” in the water. N.Y. Comp. Codes R. &

Regs. tit. 6, § 703.2 (1991); compare Exhibit B, attached

(substantial visible contrast) with Exhibit C, attached

(upstream view at same time and location). Because such

standards directly affect the parameters of NYC DEP’s

SPDES permit, a “unitary waters” approach to regulation

would not reduce the turbidity and suspended solids that

have beset this individual water body. See Miccosukee, 541

USS. at 107.

'’ The EPA has abandoned the “unitary waters” theory in both terms and

effect. In its proposed rule and 2005 memorandum, the EPA refers to

water transfers as occurring “between two ‘waters of the United States.’”

(Pet. App. at A190; see also A206). ‘This definition forecloses any

possible interpretation that the waters of the United States be viewed as a

unitary water body.

20

ee Petitioners’ reliance on Gorsuch and

Consumers Power is misplaced.

Petitioners attempt to confuse the issues in this case

by arguing that National Wildlife Federation v. Gorsuch, 693

F.2d 156 (D.C. Cir. 1982), and National Wildlife Federation

v. Consumers Power Co., 862 F.2d 580 (6th Cir. 1988), are

controlling. (See Pet. at 17-18, 21). Both circuits held that

water drawn from and then released back into the same water

body is not an “addition” to navigable waters under the

CWA. See 693 F.2d at 183; 862 F.2d at 587. Contrary to

Petitioners’ assertion, Gorsuch and Consumers Power are

inapposite to the instant case because, as noted by the

Second Circuit, they involved “recirculation of water,

without anything added ‘from the outside world.’” (Pet.

App. at A71).

In Gorsuch, the D.C. Circuit held that water passing

through a dam into a stream did not constitute a discharge

from a point source under the CWA. See 693 F.2d at 183.

The court in Consumers Power addressed the same issue

with respect to a hydroelectric turbine that entrained fish as it

pumped water uphill and then returned the water plus the

mutilated fish to the same water body. This process was also

found not to constitute an addition, because the fish were

already present in water; only their physical form changed.

See 862 F.2d at 587.

While acknowledging the Gorsuch gloss on the

statutory term of “addition” to require an addition “from the

outside world,” 693 F.2d at 174, the Second Circuit drew the

inescapable conclusion that polluted water transferred miles

under a mountain range “strains past the breaking point the

assumption of ‘sameness’ made by the Gorsuch and

Consumers Power courts.” (Pet. App. at A72). The court

explained:

21

Here, water is artificially diverted from its

natural course and travels several miles from

the Reservoir through the Shandaken Tunnel to

Esopus Creek, a body of water utterly unrelated

in any relevant sense to the Schoharie

Reservoir and its watershed. No one can

reasonably argue that the water in the Reservoir

and the Esopus are in any sense the “same,”

such that “addition” of one to the other is a

logical impossibility.

(Id. at A72-A73).

Moreover, the Gorsuch decision was based almost

exclusively on deference to informal EPA interpretations of

the term “addition.” See Gorsuch, 693 F.2d at 183. Those

types of informal agency interpretations are no longer

entitled to Chevron deference under this Court’s decision in

Christensen v. Harris County, 529 U.S. 576 (2000).

Gorsuch and Consumers Power not only presented critically

different facts, they are also of questionable precedential

value under current law.

IV

THE REQUIREMENT OF A CWA PERMIT DOES

NOT UNDULY BURDEN NEW YORK CITY’S

ABILITY TO TRANSFER WATER.

A. The Supreme Court held that CWA § 101(g)

presumes legitimate regulation of water quality.

Petitioners complain that a SPDES permit would not

only significantly impair their ability to allocate water to

New York City, but it would also violate CWA § 101(g), 33

22

U.S.C. § 1251(g). (See Pet. at 25-26). This is simply

untrue.'* The CWA requires state water allocation systems

to accommodate legitimate water quality regulations.

Section 101(g), which preserves the states’ authority to

allocate water quantity and water rights, does not preclude

the regulation of water quality through the NPDES permit

program. Congress’ directive strikes a balance by respecting

existing water allocation systems while simultaneously

preventing and reducing pollution of the nation’s waters:

“Federal agencies shall co-operate with State and local

agencies to develop comprehensive solutions to prevent,

reduce and eliminate pollution in concert with programs for

managing water resources.” (Pet. App. at A146).

Indeed, this Court upheld the primacy of the CWA’s

water quality regulations over the reservation of water

allocation authority in PUD No. / v. Washington Department

of Ecology, 511 U.S. 700, 720 (1994) (“Sections 101(g) and

510(2) . . . do not limit the scope of water pollution controls

that may be imposed on users who have obtained, pursuant

to state law, a water allocation.”). The court below also

declared that “the power of the states to allocate quantities of

water within their borders is not inconsistent with federal

regulation of water quality.” (Pet. App. at A13-14).

B. New York City conceded thata SPDES permit

allows for flexibility.

In hearings related to its SPDES permit application,

the NYC DEP endorsed the flexibility of the CWA permit

scheme as well as the flexibility built into its own permit.

(See Pet. App. at Al6 n.6). For example, the permit

limitations on the discharge of turbidity and suspended solids

18

The court below found Petitioners’ claim to be “alarmist and

unwarranted.” (Pet. App. at A18).

23

change with the season and the permit also contains

numerous exemptions from meeting water quality

standards.'? The NYC DEP could also seek a temporary

exemption from compliance with water quality standards if

the NY DEC grants a variance.”°

Requiring a SPDES permit for the conveyance of

polluted water does not unduly burden the NYC DEP’s

ability to allocate water or infringe on its water rights. New

York City still holds a right to water; the permit requirement

simply means that if the NYC DEP wishes to move polluted

water to another water body and discharge it through a point

source, it must obtain a permit relating to the quality of the

water being moved. Petitioners’ transfer of polluted water

through the Shandaken Tunnel precludes the achievement of

New York State water quality standards needed to protect the

trout fishery and recreational uses of the Esopus Creek. The

only hope of achieving this standard is for the NY DEC to

develop a permit with appropriate turbidity limits and

technology-based requirements for the Shandaken Tunnel

discharge.

'" Various respondents here are challenging the permit’s level of

flexibility due to the numerous built-in exemptions. See supra note 8.

*° The NY DEC will grant a “variance” if the requestor demonstrates,

inter alia, that achieving an effluent limitation is not feasible because

“naturally occurring pollutant concentrations prevent attainment of the

standard or guidance value.” N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 6, §

702.17(b)(1) (1998); see also CWA § 301(m)-(n), 33 U.S.C. § 131 1¢m)-

(n) (the federal variance provisions). Respondents argue in their permit

challenge that NYC DEP never properly applicd for, nor has the NY

DEC ever granted, a variance for the operation of the Shandaken Tunnel.

24

Vv

THE EPA’S PROPOSED RULE IS NOT ENTITLED

TO DEFERENCE.

Petitioners make much of the fact that the Second

Circuit ignored and failed to defer to the EPA’s six-day-old

proposed rule on water transfers.”! (See Pet. at 4). Under

settled law, however, the proposed rule is entitled to little, if

any, deference. Courts do not accord authoritative deference

to a pending rule. See, e.g., Goodlin v. Medtronic, Inc., 167

F.3d 1367, 1375 n.15 (11th Cir. 1999) (refusing to give the

FDA’s proposed rule any authoritative weight or deference);

Public Citizen, Inc. v. Shalala, 932 F. Supp. 13, 18 n.6

(D.D.C. 1996) (citing Public Citizen Health Research Group

v. Comm’r, FDA, 740 F.2d 21, 32 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (noting

that a “tentative conclusion articulated in a_nonfinal,

proposed rule does not command deference from the Court

nor is it binding on the agency”). Under United States vy.

Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218, 221 (2001), administrative

decisions not subject to Chevron deference may be entitled

to a lesser degree of deference — to the extent the agency’s

position is persuasive. Full deference under Chevron is only

given to regulations that were promulgated after a full notice

and comment period, or after similar formalities. See, e.g.,

Perez v. Ashcroft, 236 F. Supp. 2d 899, 903 (N.D. Ill. 2002).

Because the EPA’s proposed regulation has yet to be

promulgated to represent the agency’s final interpretation of

the CWA, the Court should not apply Chevron deference to

this pending rule.

*! Had the notice of proposed rulemaking been issued much earlier, it

would not change the Second Circuit’s decision because the proposed

rule simply reasserts the 2005 EPA memorandum, which the court below

devoted a number of paragraphs to in its opinion. (See Pet. App. at A10-

11, Al2 0.5). In addressing the agency interpretation, the court reviewed

it, considered it, and rejected it as being unpersuasive. (/d at Al2 n.5).

25

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully Submitted,

PS ne

KARL S. COPLAN

Counsel of Record

DANIEL E. ESTRIN

PACE ENVIRONMENTAL LITIGATION CLINIC, INC.

Attorneys for Catskill Mountains Chapter

of Trout Unlimited, Inc., Theodore Gordon

Flyfishers, Inc., Catskill-Delaware Natural

Water Alliance, Inc., Federated Sportsmen’s

Clubs of Ulster County, Inc., and

Riverkeeper, Inc.

78 North Broadway

White Plains, New York 10603

(914) 422-4343

(914) 422-4437 (Fax)

26

EXHIBITS

27

EXHIBIT A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

CATSKILL MOUNTAINS CHAPTER OF

TROUT UNLIMITED, INC., THEODORE GORDON

FLYFISHERS, INC., CATSKILL-DELA WARE

NATURAL WATER ALLIANCE, INC., FEDERATED

SPORTSMEN'S CLUBS OF ULSTER COUNTY, INC., and

RIVERKEEPER, INC.

Plaintiffs,

-against-

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK CITY

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION, and

JOEL A- MTELE, SR., COMMISSIONER OF

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

Defendants.

---- X

CIVIL ACTION

NO. 00-CV-511

(FJS/RFT)

PLAINTIFFS' STATEMENT OF MATERIAL FACTS IN

SUPPORT OF THEIR MOTION FOR PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Pursuant to Local Rules 56.1 and 7.1, Plaintiffs submit the

following Statement of Material Facts in Support of their Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment:

1. Plaintiff Catskill Mountains Chapter of Trout Unlimited,

Inc. ("C.M.C.T.U.") is a not-for-profit corporation, organized under

the laws of the State of New York. The

28

13; N.Y.C. D.E.P., Turbidimetric Characteristics of the

Schoharie Reservoir Report. 1. 8 (1998), attached hereto as Ex. 9;

N.Y.C. D.E.P., Photograph: Sept. 19, 1999 - Schoharie Reservoir

Gatehouse, attached hereto as Ex. 17.

17. The suspended solids present in the Schoharie Reservoir

are caused at least in part by erosion in the Schoharie watershed,

including erosion resulting from land disturbance from human

activities. N.Y.C. D.E.P., New York City's 2001 Watershed

Program Summary, Assessment and Long-Term Plan submitted to

the federal EPA Environmental Protection Agency pursuant to the

May 1977 New York City Filtration Avoidance Determination

("2001 FAD Report") 237 (Dec. 2001), attached hereto as Ex.

10; N.Y.C. D.E.P., Short- and Long-Term Plans to Reduce

Turbidity in the Schoharie and Ashokan Reservoirs, 1-2 (1993),

attached hereto as Ex. 11.

18. The Schoharie Reservoir contains a high level of turbidity

compared with other waterbodies within the New York City

Drinking Water System. 1997 DEIS at 3-8 & 3-9. attached hereto as

Ex. 5; 2001 FAD Report at 270, attached hereto as Ex. 10; N.Y.C.

D.E.P., Spatial Distribution and Characterization of Sediment Flux

in Ashokan Reservoir. 63 (1996), attached hereto as Ex. 12; N.Y.C.

D.E.P., Turbidimetric Characteristics of the Schoharie Reservoir

Report, 1, 8. attached hereto as Ex. 9; N.Y.C. D.E.P., 1987-1998

Catskill District Liinnology Data for the Schoharie Reservoir,

attached hereto as Ex. 13; N.Y.C. D.E.P., Photograph: Sept. 19,

1999 — Schoharie Gatehouse, attached hereto as Ex. 17.

19. The natural water conditions of the Esopus Creek are

almost always more clear, or less turbid and lower in total

suspended solids, than the water of the Schoharic basin. N.Y.C.

D.E.P., 1987-1998 Catskill District Limnology Data for the

Schoharie

29

23. The discharges from the Shandaken Tunnel into the

Esopus Creck almost always contain a higher level of turbidity and

total suspended solids than the natural water conditions of the

Esopus Creek. Summary’ Table of Turbidity and Suspended

Solids from January 1. 1987 through December 30, 1998, attached

hereto as Ex. 36; N.Y.C. D.E.P., 1987-1998 Catskill District Stream

Data for Sampling Site "ES," attached hereto as Ex. 15; N.Y.C.

D.E.P., 1987-1998 Catskill District Stream Data for Sampling

Site "SRR2,”" attached hereto as Ex. 14; N.Y.C. D.E.P.,

photograph: Shandaken Tunnel Outlet 2; attached hereto as Ex. 18;

Urban Aff. Ex. B (photograph dated | 1/10/01); Urban Aff. Ex. C

(photograph dated | 1/10/01); Urban Aff. Ex. D (photograph dated

1/1/02).

24. The discharges from the Shandaken Tunnel make it

unpleasant for Plaintiffs’ members to fish in the portion of the

Esopus Creek downstream of the Tunncel's outlet and oftentimes

make it unsafe for Plaintiffs’ members to wade into the stream.

Urban Aff. ]] 9; Darrow J] 10; Duffy Aff. J] 9; and Farrell Aff. J] 8.

25. The discharges from the Shandaken Tunnel are unsightly

and aesthetically offensive to Plaintiffs' members. Urban Aff. J] 9;

Darrow §] 10; Duffy Aff. {] 9; and Farrell Aff. ¥] 8.

26. Because of the turbid, muddy conditions in the Esopus

Creek created by Defendants’ discharges, Plaintiffs' members who

are professional fishing guides are no longer able to use the Esopus

Creck to conduct their business. Darrow Aff. J 9, 10, 11.

27. The Esopus Creek is navigable in fact, as it is routinely

traveled by canoe and kayak. Urban Aff. 9] 8; Duffy Aff. J] 8.

28. The Esopus Creek is a tributary of the Hudson River. 1997

DEIS at 1-7, attached hereto as Ex. 5; Meltzer Letter at 1,3,

attached hereto as Ex. 7. The Iludson

7

30

34. Defendants’ violations have continued after March 31,

2000. Urban Aff. ¥] 10; an Farrell Aff. ¥] 9.

35. Neihter E.P.A. nor N.Y.S. D.E.C. has commenced a court

action or administrative proceeding against Defendants related to

the allegations set forth in Plaintiffs’ Complaint. Ans. J] 5.

36. Jurisdiction of this Court is properly invoked pursuant to

section 505 of Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §1365(a) (Clean Water

Act citizen suit provision) and 28 U.S.C. §1311 (federal question).

Cplt. J] 2.

37. Venue is proper in this Court pursuant to section 505(c)(1)

of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §1365(c)(1), because the source

of the violations complained is located in the district. Cplt. ] 19, as

admitted by Ans. J 19.

Dated: March 13, 2002

White Plains, New York

REA Ze

Karl S. Coplan

Bar Code 5103 86

Attorney for Plaintiffs

Pace Environmental Litigation

Clinic, Inc.

78 North Broadway

White Plains, New" York 10603

31

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

CATSKILL MOUNTAINS CHAPTER OF TROUT

UNLIMITED INC., THEODORE GORDON

FLYFISHERS, INC., CATSKILL-DELAWARE

NATURAL WATER ALLIANCE INC., FEDERATED

SPORTSMEN'S CLUBS OF ULSTER COUNTY INC.,

and RIVERKEEPER, INC.,

Plaintiffs,

- against —

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK CITY

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

and JOEL A. MELE, SR., COMMISSIONER OF

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

Defendants.

00 Civ. 0051 (FJS)(RFT)

DEFENDANTS' RESPONSE TO PLAINTIFFS' LOCAL

RULE 7.1 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 7.1 of the Local Rules of this Court,

defendants, by their attorney, Michael A. Cardozo, Corporation

Counsel of the City of New York, respond to and controvert the

following facts that plaintiffs assert in their Statement of Material

Facts:

1. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief

as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph | plaintiffs’

Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

2. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a belicf

as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph 2 plaintiffs’

Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

3. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief

as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph 3 plaintiffs’

Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

4. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief

as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph 4 plaintiffs’

Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

32

15. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 15 of

plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1! Statement.

16. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 16 of

plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

17. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 17 of

plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

18. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 18 of

plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

19. Deny the allegations set forth in paragraph 19 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement. See Affidavit of Michael A.

Principe, Ph. D., sworn to April 18, 2002 ("Principe Aff.") U 34,

35, and 37, and Exhibit C thereto at p. 25.

20. Admit the allegations sct forth in paragraph 20 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

21. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 21 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

22. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 22 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

23. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 23 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

24. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief

as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph 24 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

25. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a

belief as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph 25 of

plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

33

26. Deny knowledge or information sufficient to form a

belief as to the truth of the allegations set forth in paragraph 26

of plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement

27. Admit the allegations sct forth in paragraph 27 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

28. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 28 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

29. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 29 of

plaintifts' Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

30. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 30 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

31. Paragraph 31 of plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement is

a legal conclusion and is not a statement of a material fact, and

no response is required under Local Rule 7.1. Defendants deny

that the Letter of Intent to Sue notified them of any alleged

violations of the Clean Water Act based on an alleged

discharge of turbidity. See Letter of Intent to Suc, Plaintiffs’

Exhibit 3. q

32. Paragraph 32 of plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement is

a legal conclusion and is not a statement of a material fact, and

no response is required under Local Rule 7.1. Defendants deny

that the Letter of Intent to Sue notified them of any alleged

violations of the Clean Water Act based on an alleged

discharge of turbidity. See Letter of Intent to Sue, Plaintiffs’

Exhibit 3.

33. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 33 of

plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement.

34

34. The reference to "violations" is a legal conclusion to

which no response is required. Defendants deny that any

"violations" have occurred. Defendants admit that they have

continued to discharge water through the Shandaken Tunnel since

March 31, 2000 and that the discharges have contained levels of

turbidity and suspended solids as set forth in paragraphs 13, 35-

37,41, and 45 of the Principe Affidavit.

35. Admit the allegations set forth in paragraph 35 of

plaintiffs' Local Rule 7.1 Statement

36. Paragraph 36 of plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement is a

legal conclusion and is not a statement of a material fact, and no

response is required under Local Rule 7.1.

37. Paragraph 37 of plaintiffs’ Local Rule 7.1 Statement is a

legal conclusion and is not a statement of a material fact, and no

response is required under Local Rule 7.1.

Dated: New York, New York

April 18, 2002

MICHAEL A. CARDOZO

Corporation Counsel of the

City of New York

Attomcy for Defendants

60 John Street

New York, New York 10038

(212)232-1108

a

Hilary Meltzer(S06619)

Senior Counsel

Environmental Law Division

35

EXHIBIT B

36

EXHIBIT C

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.