Petition for Writ of Certiorari — The v. BNFL, Inc. (No. 06-656)

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

S

vereme Court U.S.

06-65 6NoV 7- 2006

—_—— _—— DERC-O Fem ereae

Iu the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM,

Petitioner,

V.

BNEL, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM P. SNYDER

Counsel of Record

KRAMER Rayson, LLP

800 S. Gay STREET

SuiTeE 2500 PLAzA TOWER

P.O. Box 629

KNOXVILLE, TN 37901

(865) 525-5134

Counsel for Petitioner

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether § 107(e)(1) of the Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation and Liability Act, 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1), prevents the transfer of liability for hazardous

wastes at a CERCLA cleanup site from the owner of the

wastes to anyone.

Whether title to and liability for asbestos wastes was

transferred from the owner, BNFE, to a demolition/salvage

subcontractor, Coy/Superior, under a subcontract both parties

agreed would not include or involve asbestos.

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Petitioner, the Coy/Superior Team, is a partnership of

Coy Consiruction, LLC, a wife and husband company, and

Superior Abatement Corp., a privately held New Jersey

corporation. Neither has a parent corporation and there is no

publicly held company that owns 10% or more of the interest

or stock in either company.

The Respondent is BNFL, Inc., a Delaware corporation.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I DP has ei 5 os wo a ek bk ew i

Parties to the Proceeding and Corporate

Disclosure Statement

NF EC ie a NE AO RRS Re Bie We ily Ray alge toca» ii

ae Or ee 5h re ee ee ill

Ree Se RO oo 5 oS a ee we es bee Vv

SI TN sk Se Ee a ree 1

weet OF DINO Sa boi Ve ee l

Statutory Provision Involved ...............-.. l

ene CEO GRO 5 oi Se a ee eee es 2

Reasons for Granting the Petition ............... 7

I. THE COURT SHOULD DETERMINE THAT

LIABILITY FOR HAZARDOUS WASTES

UNDER CERCLA CAN NOT BE

TRANSFERRED UNDER 42 ~-. US.

DS TCE ain $C ee eae eee ee ee ce 9

Il. THE COURT SHOULD FIND THAT THE

PARTIES DID NOT INTEND TO ENTER INTO

AN AGREEMENT ‘TRANSFERRING TO

COY/SUPERIOR TITLE TO OR LIABILITY

FO Acta WEES 6 ee Seek ieee 17

ea tae Sn a Sl Re PRN SOI fa Pe TAR a be Na 20

iV

Appendix

Appendix A: 8/9/06 Circuit Court Order ........ la

Appendix B: 4/3/06 Circuit Court Opinion ...... 3a

Appendix C: 6/17/04 District Court Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law and Order........... 24a

Appendix D: 2/18/04 District Court Memorandum

SL EIU 56 bo ES Ba ee eS 45a

Appendix E: 1/28/04 District Court Memorandum

SE SIE os ovis ee teens es 64a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

3550 Stevens Creek Associates v. Barclays Bank,

GS Fae te Ce FO ree ie es 4

Amland Properties Corp. v. Aluminum Co. of America,

701 Y, COOD. Tee the; Wid. WFO) be ccc he is 14

Artesion Water Co. v. Government of New Castle County,

Dt Foe Oe Ce hi FIRE) oo os epee sn whe 11

Beazer East v. Mead Corp..,

cE BO te OTe got ae |S ga eae a nee 8

Commander Oil Corp. v. Barlo Equipment Corp..,

SAT Oe Pee ER, OP oe Fo is ole We ee 16

Harley-Davidson, Inc. v. Ministar, Inc.,

Oi Oa SE tT CW. 19986 cE 8, 10

In re Custom Cools Laurel,

258 B.R. 597 (Bkrtcy W.D. Pa. WS ee ee 12

Elf Atochem North America v. U.S.,

866 F. Supp. 868 (E.D. Pa. 1994) ............ 11

Exxon Corp. v. Hunt,

475 U.S. 355, 106 S. Ct. 1103,

Oe ac ee hi he ee es RR eee 10

Internationat Clinical Laboratories, Inc. v. Stevens,

OP: Bape. 466(8.D: AY. 199) woe os ee 14

vi

John S. Boyd Co. v. Boston Gras Co., -

POR Te Ce USE 8s Cee Rae ees 8

Jones-Hamilton Co. v. Beazer Materials and Services, Inc..,

Ora F.2e Gee GW: TO 3 eck eae i ck ci 8

Kelley v. E.P.A.,

15 F.3d 1100 (D.C. Cir. 1994) ............ . 16

Nieko v. EMROMarketing Co.,

Pia Fae tare COCR C. T98E) . is ie ccees 13

Pinney v. Tarpley,

686 S.W.2d 574 (Tenn. App. 1984) ........... 12

Purolator Products Corp v. Allied Signal, Inc.,

772 F. Supp. 124 (W.D. N.Y. 1991) ......\ PE Ey

Southland Corp. v. Ashland Oil, Inc.,

696 F. Supp. 994 (D. N.J. 1988) ............. 17

U.S. v. Aceto Agr. Chemicals Corp..,

Ora Fe tate ee OW. TOO os ooo wees 14

United States v. Bestfoods,

524 U.S. 51, 118 S. Ct. 1876,

Ae bas Gs Ee CLD oo ko eee ews 11, 15, 16

United States v. Hardage,

O85 F.26 1427 GC" Cer. 1993) 2. Se Se a a

Velsicol Chemical Corp. v. Reilly Indus.,

67 F. Supp. 893 (E.D. Tenn. 1999), summarily aff'd,

Sam FO Boe COG. BD oi ce we ees

Vii

Wiegman & Rose Intern. Corp. v. NL Industries,

730 F, Sapp. 937 (0. D. Cal. 1990) 2... 5 ees 14

Statutes |

SO Wass BD SAPRED 5 REELS 7 ee aoe wes l

Oe AO a eee Eteach ae ee 2

GE Ua BOR Nos MS Cho web eee cee 15

RULC (ee 15

Re Ua SPOTS eek pees cee 15

G2 tio 6 Sr os a Se eee passim

Other Authority | :

54 Fed. Register 48184, November 21, 1989 ....... 2

baO CAPS. ats SOO 6 6 be ei SRA ees 11

Blacks Law Dictionary, Fifth Ed. 1979 ........... 13

l

OPINION BELOW

The ruling of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit filed April 3, 2006, reversing in part the

decision of the District Court, is reported at 174 Fed. Appx.

901, 2006 U.S. App. LEXIS 8314, and is reproduced at App.

B.

The decision of the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Tennessee granting Coy/Superior’s

(Petitioner) motion for partial summary judgment dated

January 28, 2004, is reproduced at App. E. The decision of

the District Court dated February 18, 2004, granting BNFL’s

Motion for Summary Judgment on two counts and parts of a

third is reproduced at App. D.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

The Sixth Circuit’s opinion was filed April 3, 2006.

Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing En Banc was filed on April 17, 2006. It was

denied on August 9, 2006. (App. A, 1a).

-

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The relevant statutory provision is the Comprehensive.

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, 42 -

U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1).

(e) Indemnification, hold _ harmless, etc.,

agreements or conveyances, subrogation rights.

2 ‘

(1) No indemnification, hold harmless, or similar

agreement or conveyance shall be effective to transfer

from the owner or operator of any vessel or facility or

from any person who may be liable for a release or

threat of release under this section, to any other

person the liability under this section. Nothing in this

subsection shall bar any agreement to insure, hold

harmless, or indemnify a party to such agreement for

any liability under this section.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from the performance of a demolition and

salvage subcontract at a Department of Energy (DOE) facility

in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. 7

Among the DOE facilities in Oak Ridge is a uranium

enrichment plant known as the K-25 plant. The plant was

closed during the 1980s. In the 1990s, decommissioning and

demolition activities began.

In November 1984, the K-25 plant and other DOE

facilities in Oak Ridge were placed on ihe National Priorities

List. (54 Fed. Register 48184, November 21, 1989). On

January 1. 1992, DOE entered into a Federal Facilities

Agreement (FFA) with the U.S. Environmental Protection

Agency (EPA) and the Tennessee Department of Environment

and Conservation (TDEC) for the cleanup of DOE’s Oak

Ridge facilities under § 120 of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9620

DOE developed an Action Memorandum for the cleanup

of the K-25 Plant and several removal actions approved by

EPA and TDEC. Among them was a plan to decommission

and decontaminate three large process buildings at the K-25

Plant. At about the time that plan was developed, DOE

3

renamed the K-25 Plant as the East Tennessee Technology

Park (ETTP).

Among the projects DOE undertook under the FFA was

a 1997 contract with BNFL to decommission and

decontaminate the three large process buildings. Included in

that contract was the demolition of two electrical switchyards

that were next to and had served the three process buildings.

BNFL did not demolish the switchyards itself. It sought

bids for various parts of the switchyards from demolition

firms that were to receive as part of their compensation the

value of any scrap metal they expected to salvage - primarily

copper.

In November 1999, BNFL issued a request for proposals

(RFP) for demolition of one of the switchyards, the K-792

switchyard. The RFP sought bids for demolishing the

switchyard and allowing the subcontractor to keep, and sell,

salvageable metal that had value. Coy/Superior bid $89,000,

and got the job. :

The subcontract was entered into on January 6, 2000. It

contained provisions specific to the work as well as what

appeared to be boiler plate clauses.

Included in the demolition work Coy/Superior was to do

in the K-792 switchyard was the dismemberment of four

synchronous condensers, weighing approximately 200 tons

each, resting on pedestals 20 feet above the ground. As

Coy/Superior began to cut the condensers apart on the

pedestals and after the pieces were on the ground, asbestos

was discovered in parts of the condensers. BNFL had the

asbestos removed, as it was required to do under the

subcontract, and Coy/Superior continued cutting the

4

condensers into yet smaller pieces suitable for hauling away

by truck.’ Coy/Superior hauled the cut-up pieces of the

condensers to a site a mile away which Coy Construction had

leased for final demolition activities. The site was still on

ETTP. The site is referred to as the Portal 10 site.

Soon after depositing the condensers’ pieces at the Portal

10 site, Coy/Superior was asked by a potential buyer of

insulated copper wiring to confirm there was no asbestos in |

the insulation. Coy/Superior had samples of the insulation

sent to a laboratory. The laboratory reported that asbestos was

present. Coy/Superior immediately notified BNFL, DOE and

the regulatory authorities._BNFL did extensive sampling on

its own at the Portal 10 site and had the samples analyzed by

a laboratory of its choosing. The results confirmed the

presence of asbestos.

BNFL directed Coy/Superior to develop a remediation

plan for cleaning up and disposing of the asbestos at the portal

10 site. BNFL offered to assist Coy/Superior in transferring

the asbestos to-a DOE landfill on DOE’s reservation, a

landfill used by BNFL for disposal of asbestos found as the

condensers were being cut up at the switchyard site.

When asbestos was found in parts of the condensers as

they were being demolished in the switchyard, the parties

agreed on what Coy/Superior’s compensation should be for

the copper that could not be salvaged from those parts.

Agreement could not be reached on the compensation due

Coy/Superior for the copper that could not be salvaged from

' The classification of asbestos as a hazardous waste under

CERCLA is explained well. 3550 Stevens Creek Associates v.

Barclays Bank, 915 F.2d 1355, 1360 (9" Cir. 1990).

5

the asbestos-laden parts at the Portal 10 site. Eventually, this

litigation ensued. The asbestos-laden material was allowed by

the parties to lay at the Portal 10 site.

The suit filed by Coy/Superior against BNFL contained

many claims. One, however, was considered the central claim

by the parties and the district court. It is also the one on

which the Sixth Circuit’s decision centered, and the one

which is the primary subject of this petition. The issue: Who

owned the asbestos wastes taken by Coy/Superior from the

switchyard site? The district court and the Sixth Circuit

focused on whether ownership of the wastes was transferred

under Section 1.1.13 of the subcontract, set out below. That

focus and the resulting decision of the Sixth Circuit is the

basis for the primary issue advanced in this petition. A

companion issue, and one also advanced in this petition, is

whether ownership of the asbestos could have been passed

under the subcontract in any event since the parties agreed

asbestos was excluded from this subcontract.

In a motion for partial summary judgment, Coy/Superior

asked the district court to issue a declaratory judgment that

Coy/Superior did not own the asbestos. Coy/Superior did not

ask for a judgment declaring who did own the asbestos, only

that Coy/Superior did not own it. Responsibilities for cleanup

and disposal were considered to flow from such a declaration.

Coy/Superior informed the district court that it believed this

was the key issue in the suit. BNFL agreed.

BNFL took the position that it owned the asbestos waste

and that it had passed title, liability and all regulatory

responsibility to Coy/Superior under a boiler plate provision

of the subcontract. That provision is C.1. 13, which provided

as follows:

6

C.1. 13 Regulatory Responsibilities

The Subcontractor(s) shall assume total regulatory

responsibility, liability, and title to the wastes and

recyclable material upon loading onto the

Subcontractor’s vehicle at the ETTP site. Any wastes

and/or by-products generatea during shipment,

storage, disposal and/or other management of the

waste shall be the responsibility of the Subcontract(s)

and shall be disposed via approved disposal methods

and procedures.

The district court granted Coy/Superior’s motion and

declared that title to the asbestos waste had not passed to

Coy/Superior, but not on the basis primarily advanced by

Coy/Superior. The district cgurt concluded that title had not

passed because the asbestos waste had not left ETTP,

something the district court determined was a requirement for

title to pass under Sec. 1.1.13 of the subcontract.

In granting~-BNFL summary judgment on another count

the district court concluded, as dicta, that if the factual

conditions had been present that would have brought Sec.

C.1. 13 into play, title and total regulatory responsibility and

liability would have passed to Coy/Superior.”

? In granting BNFL summary judgment on Coy/Superior’s fraud

count, the district court stated in effect that in addition to its réasons

for ruling on the fraud count, it would have concluded that title to

and liability for the asbestos passed to Coy/Superior under Sec.

1.1.13 of the subcontract. No analysis was made by the district

court of what was behind Sec. 1.1.13, nor was such an analysis

suggested by the Sixth Circuit. (App. D at 60a).

me

> ‘

-

The Sixth Circuit reversed the district court on its

declaratory judgment for Coy/Superior. It cast aside the

district court’s conclusion that leaving ETTP was relevant to

who had title to the asbestos wastes. It ruled, instead, that

liability, and everything that goes with it, had in fact passed

from BNFL to Coy/Superior under Sec. 1.1.13, and that

transferring liability to asbestos wastes was permitted under

42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) (App. B at 15a). The Sixth Circuit

concluded that 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) does not make any:

reference to title to hazardous wastes, let alone restrict the

transfer of such title; it only governs the transfer of liability

for such wastes. (App. B at 14a.) The Sixth Circuit noted that

parties can contractually transfer liability under 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1) by simply using an “as is” clause, even though

there was no “as is” clause in the BNFL-Coy/Superior

subcontract. The court reasoned that if liability could transfer

that easily, it certainly could be done by a clause as explicit

as C. 1.13. (App. B atTSay—

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Since enactment of the Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation and Liability Act in 1980

(CERCLA), circuit courts and district courts in hundreds of

decisions have attempted to harmonize the two apparently

contradictory sentences of § 107(e)(1), 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1), which establish if and under what circumstances

the liability imposed by CERCLA on the owner of a facility

may be assumed to some degree by another. The first

sentence of that section appears to contain an absolute

prohibition on the owner transferring its CERCLA liability to

another by an indemnification, hold harmless or similar

agreement. The second sentence appears to allow what is

prohibited by the first.

- 8

The courts below seem to have settled to a degree on

rationalizing the wording of 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e})(1) by

concluding that the first sentence prohibits the transfer of

CERCLA liability by the owner to anyone, but the second

sentence allows the owner to obtain the agreement of another

to share the expense of the owner’s liability by way of an

indemnification or hold harmless agreement, or through

insurance. Harley-Davidson, Inc. v. Ministar, Inc., 41 F.3d

341, 342-43 (7" Cir. 1994); Beazer East v. Mead Corp., 341

F.3d 206, 211 (3 Cir. 1994); John S. Boyd Co. v. Boston

Gras Co. , 992 F.2d 401, 405 (1" Cir. 1993); United States v.

Hardage, 985 F.2d 1427, 1433 (10 Cir. 1993); Jones-

Hamilton Co. v. Beazer Materials and Services, Inc., 973

F.2d 688, 692 (9" Cir. 1992).

No decision of this Court has addressed the apparent

inconsistencies of the two sentences of 42 U.S.C. § 107(e)(1)

or the rationalization developed by many of the courts below.

Now, in a decision rendered by the Sixth Circuit which is

the subject of this petition, a circuit court has determined that

an owner of hazardous wastes at a CERCLA cleanup site can

transfer title to and liability for the hazardous wastes to a

demolition/salvage company under a contract provision which

the circuit court mistakenly construes as an implied

indemnity, even though an express indemnity transferring the

owner’s liability would be prohibited by 42 U.S.C. § 42

U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1).

The decision of the Sixth Circuit is so clearly contrary to

the purpose of Congress in enacting CERCLA, and deviates

so drastically from the apparent consensus adopted by most

lower courts, that this Court should grant this petition and

9

define for the lower courts, and Congress if CERCLA needs

to be amended, the meaning and limits of 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1).

In addition, the Sixth Circuit and the district court

mistakenly concluded that title to asbestos waste could be

transferred under Sec. 1.1.13 of the subcontract when the

intent expressed by both parties was that responsibility for

asbestos was to be excluded from the work to be performed

by Coy/Superior. This conclusion, interrelated with

CERCLA, warrants review by this Court.

I. THE COURT SHOULD DETERMINE THAT

- LIABILITY FOR THE HAZARDOUS WASTES

UNDER CERCLA CAN NOT BE TRANSFERRED

UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1).

The Sixth Circuit did not squarely address the issue of

whether title to the hazardous wastes passed to Coy/Superior

under Section 1.1.13 of the subcontract. Instead, the court

concluded that because liability was transferred to

Coy/Superior under Section 1.1.13, it did not have to address

the issue of title (App. B at 15a). The Court apparently

assumed that the transfer of “total liability,” the words used

in Section 1.1.13, would include title. -

After quoting 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) the Sixth Circuit

concluded -

This provision does not even make any reference to

title to hazardous wastes, let alone restrict the transfer

of such title as Coy/Superior claims. /t only governs

the transfer of liability for such wastes.

(App. B at 14a, emphasis added.)

10

* * *

Coy/Superior argues that section C.1.13 could not

transfer liability for the asbestos because such a

transfer is legally impossible. . . . However, Since

liability for the asbestos was properly transferred to

Coy/Superior, there is -no reason to determine who

had title to the asbestos-laden materials.

(Id. at 15a, emphasis added.)

An exhaustive search of reported cases has uncovered no

decision holding that liability can be transferred under

§ 9607(e)(1).

As noted above, 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) consists of two

sentences. The first contains an absolute prohibition on the

owner’s transfer to any other person the liability imposed by

CERCLA. In its barest form relevant to the issue presented

to this Court, the first sentence provides —- “No ... agreement

... Shall be effective to transfer from the owner ... to any other

person the liability imposed under this section.” The second

sentence permits the owner to be covered for his expenses in

dealing with that liability if he gets someone else to agree to

cover those expenses through one of the three means stated in

the second sentence.

Lower courts have attempted to harmonize the two

sentences of 42 U.S.C. 9607(e)(1) even though their terms are

not easy to distinguish and the legislative history is sparse.

See, e.g., Harley-Davidson, Inc. v. Minstar, Inc. supra at

343-44.

It has been recognized that CERCLA is hardly a model of

legislative clarity. Exxon Corp. v. Hunt, 475 U.S. 355, 363,

106 S. Ct. 1103, 89 L. Ed. 2d 384 (1986). “CERCLA is not

1]

a paradigm of clarity or precision. It has been criticized

frequently for inartful drafting and numerous ambiguities

attributable to its precipitous passage.” Artesion Water Co. v.

Government of New Castle County, 851 F.2d 643, 648 (3d:

Cir. 1988). All that can be done is for “... us to do the best

we can to give the term its ‘ordinary or natural meaning.’”

United States v. Bestfoods, 524 U.S. 51, 66,144-L. Ed. 2d

43, 59, 118 S. Ct. 1876 (1988).

When read together, the two sentences of 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1) never relieve the owner of his liability, but he

can contract to have someone else to share the expense of his

liability through an indemnity or hoid harmless given by that

party, or through insurance. Elf Atochem North America v.

U.S., 866 F. Supp. 868, 870 (E.D. Pa. 1994); Purolator

Products Corp v. Allied Signal, Inc., 772 F. Supp. 124, 129

(W.D. N.Y. 1991).

This is consistent with the often quoted colloquy that

occurred in the Senate in 1980 when CERCLA was passed.

Senator Cannon characterized section 107(e)(1) as follows, a

characterization approved by Senator Randolf, one of the

bill’s sponsors.

The net effect is to make the parties to such an

agreement, which would not have been liable under

this section, also liable to the degree specified in the

agreement. It is my understanding that this section is

designed to eliminate situations where the owner or

operator of a facility uses its economic power to force

the transfer of its liability to other persons, as a cost

of doing business, thus escaping its liability under the

act all together.

126 CONG. REC. 30, 984 (1980)

12

None of the three means of sharing the expense of

CERCLA compliance, mentioned in the second sentence,

apply in the instant case. All three require expenditures to be

made by the owner in complying with CERCLA and then the

-owner seeking reimbursement from the indemnitor or

insurer’. That did not happen in this case. BNFL rebuffeted

Coy/Superior’s requests to abate and dispose of the asbestos

found after it left the switchyard. BNFL just let it lay there at

the Portal 10 site, washing its hands of the matter under

Section 1.1.13 of the subcontract.

The Sixth Circuit, upon BNFL’s urging, characterized

Section 1.1.13 of the subcontract as an indemnity which, if

true, would qualify Section 1.1.13 under 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1) to shift financial responsibility for cleanup to

Coy/Superior. The Sixth Circuit noted that Coy/Superior

argued that Section 1.1.13 is not an indemnity agreement, but

found otherwise because Coy/Superior did “not elaborate on

this argument” and an indemnity clause does not have to be

“explicitly phrased as an indemnity clause.” (App. B 15a).

The circuit court made no analysis of its own; rather, it

concluded that if a simple “as is” clause can transfer liability,

C.1.13 can.

Section 1.1.13 does not contain an indemnity. An

indemnity is a contractual commitment to assume costs

incurred by another. Indemnity has beefi defined as a

collateral contract or assurance, by which one person engages

> INDEMNITY is defined in the text of this petition, infra.

“HOLD HARMLESS” means to fully compensate a party for all

loss or expense. Pinney v. Tarpley, 686 S.W.2d 574 (Tenn. App.

1984). “INSURANCE” is a contract whereby one party undertakes

to compensate another for a specified loss. Jn re Custom Cools

Laurel, 258 B.R. 597 (Bkricy W.D. Pa. 2001).

13

to secure another against an anticipated loss. It also denotes

a compensation given to make a person whole from a loss

already sustained. Blacks Law Dictionary at 692, Fifth Ed.

1979. Under no reading of C. 1.13 can it be concluded or

inferred that Section 1.1.13 committed Coy/Superior to

reimburse BNFL for cleanup costs BNFL had incurred. That

point-would never have been reached in any event. According

to the Sixth Circuit, under C. 1.13, total liability for the

asbestos (and title) passed immediately to Coy/Superior upon

leaving the switchyard. BNFL was through with the

hazardous wastes. After that all costs were to be incurred by

Coy/Superior; none were to be incurred by BNFL.

Alternatively, the Sixth Circuit justified its conclusion that

Section 1.1.13 was an indemnity by equating it to a simple

“as is” clause. “If a simple ‘as is’ clause can transfer liability,

certainly C.1. 13 can.” (App. B at 12). The Court cited two

of its earlier decisions for support. Neither supports the

Court’s conclusion. Nieko held that an “as is” clause can only

transfer financial responsibility, not total liability. Nieko v.

EMRO Marketing Co., 973 F.2d 1296, 1300-01 (6" Cir.

1992) Velsicol did not rely on the “as is” clause at all,

although one was contained in the real estate sales agreement.

Velsicol Chemical Corp. v. Reilly Indus., 67 F. Supp,-893,

905 (E.D. Tenn. 1999), summarily aff'd, 229 F.3d 1155 (6"

Cir. 2000)(unpublished).*

It is not clear what a “simple ‘as is’ “ clause is. An “as

is” purchase agreement, standing alone, will not transfer

* “In spite of how Tennessee courts generally interpret ‘as is’

clauses, however, this Court’s ultimate duty is to discern the parties

intentions in entering the contract.” Velsicol at 906 (Italics in

original). The court looked beyond the “as is” clause.

~

14

~

liability. Amland Properties Corp. v. Aluminum Co. of

America, 711 F. Supp. 784, 803 at 20 (D. N.J. 1989). More

expansive “as is” clauses have met the same fate. Wiegman &

Rose Intern. Corp. v. NL Industries, 735 F.Supp. 957 (N.D.

Cal. 1990); International Clinical Laboratories, Inc. v.

Stevens, 710 F. Supp. 466 (E.D. N.Y. 1989). In fact, no

decision can be found which has held that an “as is” clause,

standing alone, can transfer liability under CERCLA. The

analysis of such clauses for that purpose is unnecessary. The

first sentence of 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) prohibits the transfer

of liability, period.

Adding to the error of the Sixth Circuit in concluding that

liability passed to Coy/Superior under Section 1.1.13 of the

subcontract, was the failure of the court to attach any

significance to the fact that Section 1.1.13 specifically

transferred title to the hazardous wastes as well as liability.

Whether title to hazardous wastes can be passed under

CERCLA from the owner to another entity is an issue of first

impression not only for this Court but any court.°

Coy/Superior urged upon the Sixth Circuit that title to

hazardous waste could not pass from the owner to anyone

under CERCLA, specifically 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1). The

> This case is not to be confused with those where a “sale” has been

argued to have occurred rather than a “disposal.” Those have been

described as “arranger” cases which turn on whether the hazardous

waste involved is being sold as part of a useful product. U.S. v.

Aceto Agr. Chemicals Corp., 872 F.2d 1373, 1381 (8" Cir. 1989).

Section C.1.13 of the subcontract refers only to “wastes,” as it

should. The work involved was demolition of an electrical

switchyard. No sale of a useful product was involved. if

a

15

Sixth Circuit noted that Coy/Superior cited no authority for its

position. On the other hand, the Sixth Circuit cited no

authority refuting Coy/Superior’s position. The court simply

moved on and concluded that because liability was transferred

~ to Coy/Superior under its contract with BNFL, there was no

need to address the issue of title to hazardous wastes. But if

total liability passes, title must pass as well. Both are

specifically passed by the wording of Sec. 1.1.13 of the

subcontract.

The Sixth Circuit correctly noted that “title” is not even

mentioned in 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1). In fact, “title” to

hazardous wastes is not mentioned in the definitions section

of CERCLA, 42U.S.C. § 9601, or anywhere in CERCLA’s

text.

The holder of title to hazardous wastes may be determined

by referring to “owner,” a term used often in CERCLA.

“Owner” is coupled with “operator” in CERCLA by

definition, 42 U.S.C. § 9601(2)(a), and in terms of liability,

42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(1) and (e)(1). This Court has resorted to

the dictionaries to determine CERCLA’s meaning of

“operator,” Bestfoods, supra,° as other courts have resorted

to the dictionaries to determine CERCLA’s meaning of

“owner.” As applied to a lessor/lessee arrangement, the

Second Circuit found definitions in the dictionaries that were

inconclusive for its purposes, but which were consistent in

~

° If “operator” were an issue in this case, BNFL would definitely

qualify as the operator. “To sharpen the definition for purposes of

CERCLA’s concern with environmental contamination, an operator

must manage, direct, or conduct operations specifically related to

pollution, that is, operations having to do with the leakage or

disposal of hazardous wastes, or decisions about compliance with

environmental regulations.” Bestfoods, supra, 66-67.

16

associating title with ownership. Commander Oil Corp. v.

Barlo Equipment Corp., 215 F.3d 321, 327 (2d Cir. 2000).

Many other decisions could be cited, but for little apparent

purpose. It is not known how “title” could be separated from

“ownership.”

BNFL has acknowledged it was the owner of the

hazardous wastes, asbestos, contained in the scrapped

synchronous condensers. For it to have transferred title to the

hazardous wastes to Coy/Superior runs contra to this Court’s

analysis in Bestfoods that CERCLA’s reach is sweeping,

pulling in every potentially responsible party “... regardless

of whether than person is the facility’s owner, the owner’s

parent corporation or business partner, or even a saboteur

who sneaks into the facility at night to discharge its poisons

of malice.” Bestfoods, supra, 65.

To put it another way, for BNFL to contend that it

transferred to Coy/Superior title to the hazardous wastes runs

contra to the stated purpose of CERCLA - to impose strict

liability on, among others, all prior and present owners and

operators. Kelley v. E.P.A., 15 F.3d 1100 (D.C. Cir. 1994).

Clearly, at the very heart of CERCLA is the intent of

letting no one escape liability who has or had title to

hazardous wastes. If it were otherwise owners of hazardous

wastes could unload their material on any scrap buyer or

cleanup subcontractor who does not have the resources to

handle the wastes properly, thereby rendering CERCLA

pointless.

The effect in this case would be that BNFL “sold”

hazardous wastes it owned to a demolition/scrap subcontractor

who never agreed to buy the hazardous wastes. It cannot be

imagined that Congress intended an owner of hazardous

17

wastes be allowed to sell those wastes as part of a CERCLA

cleanup.

Il. THE COURT SHOULD FIND THAT THE PARTIES

DID NOT INTEND TO ENTER INTO AN

AGREEMENT TRANSFERRING TO

COY/SUPERIOR TITLE TO OR LIABILITY FOR

ASBESTOS WASTES.

Determining whether the parties intended to transfer

liability under CERCLA for the asbestos wastes requires a

two-step inquiry. First, whether the agreement between the

parties is barred under CERCLA. Then, whether the scope

of the agreement at hand included the transfer. Southland

Corp. v. Ashland Oil, Inc. , 696 F. Supp. 994, 1000 (D. N.J.

1988); Purolator Prod. Corp v. Allied-Signal, Inc., 772 F.

Supp. 124, 128-30 (W.D. 1991).’

Perhaps another way of approaching it is to assume that if

the first sentence of 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) can be overcome,

did the parties intend to enter into one of the three types of

agreements recognized by the second sentence as being

permissible means of shifting financial responsibility -

indemnity, hold harmless, or insurance. The Sixth Circuit

referred by implication only to an indemnity. It has been

explained above why Section C.1.13 did not contain. an

indemnity.

” In both cases the validity of indemnity provisions was examined

first. The contention by Coy/Superior in this case is that no

indemnity was given to BNFL.

18

Not only was there no cost shifting agreement recognized

in 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1), the parties agreed that asbestos

wastes were excluded altogether from the subcontract.

A primary rule of contract construction is that the

intention of the parties shall govern and this intention is to be

determined with a consideration of what was within the

contemplation of the parties when the contract was executed,

which in turn is to be resolved in light of all the surrounding

facts and circumstances under which the parties acted.

Velsicol Chem. Corp. v. Reilly Indus., 67 F. Supp. 2d 893,

905 (E.D. Tenn. 1999).

The Sixth Circuit recognized the proposal of Coy/Superior

accepted by BNFL contained an exclusion for asbestos-

containing materials. (App. B at 12a). The district court

elaborated on that by referring to the affidavit of Franklin

Jarvis, Coy/Superior’s general manager, stating that “[ijt was

clear from the beginning of the proposal process right on

through performance of the subcontract that asbestos was

excluded from the BNFL-CST subcontract. [Plaintiff] was

not to take it or even work on it.” (App. E at 74a). The

district court went on to note that “Larry Brede, defendant’s

representative who wrote the scope of the work for the

subcontract, agreed in deposition that defendant’s intent was

for the subcontractor to do-no asbestos work.’” (/d.)

Both parties to the subcontract recognized that asbestos

was excluded from the subcontract. It did not suddenly

become included once Coy/Superior moved the scrapped

condensers from the switchyard to the Portal 10 site. Not

only is that clear from the intention of the parties when they

entered into the subcontract, but it is clear from the actions of

the parties once asb» \»s was detected on the condenser parts

at the Portal 10 site. Woy/Superior notified BNFL and others

19

immediately. BNFL then sampled extensively at the Portal 10

site. After confirming the presence of asbestos, BNFL

directed Coy/Superior to develop a remedial action plan and

offered to help in disposing the material at a DOE disposal

site. Negotiations broke down over the compensation

Coy/Superior would receive for the scrap copper it would

have salvaged had the material been asbestos free, but the

action of both parties showed their intention not to have

Coy/Superior take any asbestos wastes no matter where or

when it was found.

Section 1.1.13 of the subcontract contained nothing that

allowed BNEFL to transfer title to and liability for the asbestos

that would be permitted under CERCLA, 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(e)(1). Even if it did, however, the intent of the parties

to the subcontract was that asbestos was not a waste to be

worked on, transferred to, or taken by Coy/Superior. If

Section C.1.13 had any meaning it was with respect to non-

CERCLA wastes. In this instance that would have been

primarily concrete debris.

In this two-part analysis of BNFL’s attempt to transfer

liability, Coy/Superior has shown in addressing the first issue

posed in this petition that BNFL’s attempt to transfer liability

to Coy/Superior of hazardous wastes at a CERCLA cleanup

site is barred by the first sentence of 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1).

Even if that obstacle could somehow be overcome, BNFL’s

attempted transfer of the hazardous wastes to Coy/Superior

fails. Not only did the parties not agree to one of the three

cost shifting agreements recognized in the second sentence of

42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1), the parties agreed by their words and

actions that title to and liability for the asbestos wastes was

not transferred to Coy/Superior under the subcontract at all.

20

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioner respectfully

requests that the petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

~

Respectfully submitted,

William P. Snyder

Counsel of Record

Kramer Rayson LLP

800 S. Gay Street

Suite 2500 Plaza Tower

P.O. Box 629

Knoxville, TN 37901

~ (423) 525-5134

Counsel for Petitioner

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 04-6001/6087

[Filed August 9, 2006]

Defendant-Appellee/Cross-Appellant.

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM, )

Plaintiff-Appellant/Cross-Appellee, )

)

v. )

3 )

BNEL, INC., )

)

)

BEFORE: MOORE and MCKEAGUE, Circuit Judges; and

POLSTER,’ District Judge.

The court having received a petition for rehearing en

banc, and the petition having been circulated not only to the

original panel members but also to all other active judges of

this court, and no judge of this court having requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for

rehearing has been referred to the original panel.

*“ Hon. Dan A. Polster, United States District Judge for the

Northern District of Ohio, sitting by designation.

2a

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the

cases. Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ Leonard Green

Leonard Green, Clerk

3a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 04-6001, 04-6087

Defendant-Appellee, Cross-Appellant

[Filed April 3, 2006]

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM, )

Plaintiff-Appellant, Cross-Appellee )

)

v. )

)

BNFL, INC., )

)

)

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Tennessee

01-00634

R. Leon Jordan, District Judge

BEFORE: MOORE and McKEAGUE, Circuit Judges; and

POLSTER, District Judge.”

* The Honorable Dan Aaron Polster, United States District Judge

for the Northern District of Ohio, sitting by designation.

aH MD TIRED ORS SMT T Ree ine ne eer ser

4a

OPINION

_ McKeague, Circuit Judge. This case arises from a

subcontract to perform demolition and salvage work at a

switchyard located in the East Tennessee Technology Park

(“ETTP”). After the completion of the work the

subcontractor, Coy/Superior, sued the contractor, BNFL, for

breach of contract, negligent misrepresentation, fraud, and

declaratory judgment that BNFL is responsible for certain

-asbestos-laden materials. Both parties filed motions for

summary judgment. The district court granted the declaratory

judgment sought by Coy/Superior, but granted most of

BNFL’s motion for summary judgment on the remaining

claims. Part of the breach of contract claim survived summary

judgment and was resolved at a bench trial. Coy/Superior

timely appealed both the grant of summary judgment in favor

of BNFL and portions of the findings of fact from the bench

trial. BNFL timely cross-appealed the grant of Coy/Superior’s

motion for summary judgment on the declaratory judgment

claim. For the reasons set forth below, we reverse the district

court’s entry of summary judgment in favor of Coy/Superior

on the declaratory judgment claim and affirm the remainder

of the district court’s determinations.

I. BACKGROUND

In 1997, BNFL entered into a prime contract with the

Department of Energy (“DOE”) to decontaminate,

decommission, and recycle three former uranium processing

buildings at DOE’s East Tennessee Technology Park

(“ETTP”) near Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Under its contract

with DOE, BNFL subcontracted out most of the switchyard

demolition, scrap work, and related tasks to subcontractors

with expertise in their respective fields.

Sa -

This case centers around four synchronous condensers that

BNFL sought to have removed from the K-792 switchyard.

Large copper cable conductors ran from the condensers into

powerhouses and then continued underground through vaults

into manholes underneath process buildings. Each condenser

contained significant amounts of various metals, including

copper wiring, some of which was wrapped in insulating

material. They were constructed in the 1950’s and each

weighed approximately two hundred tons. The condensers

were raised approximately twenty feet from the ground on

concrete platforms.

In November of 1999, BNFL issued a Request for

Proposals (“RFP”) for the demolition and scrapping of the

four condensers in the K-792 switchyard, the removal of cable

and cable trays from K-791 (one of the buildings located in

the switchyard), and removal of other scrap material from the

switchyard and surrounding area. After the RFP was issued,

BNFL conducted an open bid process that included various

pre-bid meetings in which BNFL answered questions from

potential bidders. Prior to making the bids, each contractor,

including Coy/Superior, had ample opportunity to inspect the

condensers to estimate their recycle value.

Coy/Superior submitted a winning bid of $89,000. The

bid amount was lower than the anticipated cost of demolition

and was based in part on Coy/Superior’s assessment of the

salvage value of equipment/and material. A contract between

Coy/Superior and BNFL was executed on January 6, 2000.

The contract provided that Coy/Superior would receive

$89,000 and would retain all recycle value in exchange for the

dismantling and removal of the four condensers, removal of

certain cable from K-791, and removal of other scrap material

from the switchyards.

6a

At the time the subcontract was executed, BNFL had no

knowledge of the actual presence of asbestos in the

condensers. .BNFL’s statements at the pre-bid meeting

disclosed the possibility that asbestos would be encountered,

and BNFL made no warranty at the pre-bid meeting or in the

subcontract that it had performed a thorough inspection of the

condensers. The subcontract does state that “BNFL has

removed all known asbestos-containing materials.” The

subcontract also states that if Coy/Superior “encounters any

suspect materials in the execution of its work, it shall notify

the BNFL STR [Subcontract Technical Representative]

immediately.” BNFL acknowledges that it was responsible for

wastes generated and for asbestos abatement during the period

that the condensers remained at the BNFL worksite.

After executing the subcontract — but before the

condensers had been removed from the worksite —

Coy/Superior learned about certain potential asbestos by

reading operating manuals it found while working on the

_ condensers. A Coy/Superior employee informed BNFL of his

suspicion of the presence of asbestos. BNFL arranged for

testing which ultimately did indicate the presence of asbestos.

BNEL arranged for abatement of the asbestos. On March 21,

2000, shortly after BNFL first tested for asbestos in the

locations suggested by Coy/Superior, Coy/Superior asked for

additional testing in specific, designated locations on the

condensers, and again BNFL fulfilled its obligation by testing

for asbestos. In that instance, however, no asbestos was

detected.

In May of 2000, Coy/Superior loaded the pieces of the

condensers onto its vehicles and removed them from the

BNFL worksite. Coy/Superior took the large condenser pieces

to another site, known as “Portal 10,” within the ETTP that

Coy/Superior leased from a party unrelated to BNFL. While

7a

the condensers were still located at its Portal 10 worksite,

Coy/Superior became aware that ihere was additional asbestos

in the condensers. On July 13, 2000, while attempting to sell

some of the materials salvaged from the condensers,

Coy/Superior was asked by a copper buyer in Indiana to

guarantee that asbestos was not present in the wiring. Testing

revealed the presence of asbestos. Coy/Superior contacted

BNFL and notified them of the situation. Ultimately,

negotiations broke down regarding who was responsible for

properly disposing of the asbestos located at the Portal 10 site.

Other disagreements regarding the performance of the

~ subcontract surfaced as well. Coy/Superior sued BNFL for

breach of contract, negligent misrepresent. tion, fraud, and

declaratory judgment that BNFL is responsible for the

asbestos at the Portal 10 site.

BNFL moved for summary judgment on all of the claims

while Coy/Superior filed a motion for summary judgment on

its declaratory judgment claim. The district court granted

Coy/Superior’s motion for summary judgment and entered an

order declaring that BNFL “is the entity responsible for the

asbestos abatement at issue in this case.” The district court

granted BNFL’s motion for summary judgment on the

negligent misrepresentation and fraud claims and granted it in

part as to the contract claim. A bench trial was conducted to

~ determine the lone contract claim which survived. The district

judge entered findings of fact and conclusions of law stating

that BNFL breached the subcontract by allowing a third party

to remove certain copper cable from the K-791 building, but

did not breach the contract by failing to adequately test the

synchronous condensers for asbestos. Finally, the district

judge calculated damages based on the conclusion that BNFL

improperly allowed ten thousand pounds of copper cable to be

8a

removed which BNFL was entitled to under the subcontract.

Coy/Superior timely appealed and BNFL timely filed a cross-

appeal.

It. ANALYSIS

A. Standard of Review

I. Summary Judgment

This court reviews an order granting summary judgment

de novo. Johnson v. Karnes, 398 F.3d 868, 873 (6th Cir.

2005); Daniels v. Woodside, 396 F.3d 730, 734 (6th Cir.

2005); Valentine-Johnson v. Roche, 386 F.3d 800, 807 (6th

Cir. 2004). Summary judgment is proper “if the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(c); accord Johnson, 398 F.3d at 873; Daniels, 396 F.3d at

734; Leadbetter v. Gilley, 385 F.3d 683, 689 (6th Cir. 2004).

When deciding a motion for summary judgment, the court

must view the evidence and draw all reasonable inferences in

favor of the non-moving party. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co.

v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587, 106 S. Ct. 1348,

89 L. Ed. 2d 538 (1986); Johnson, 398 F.3d at 873; Daniels,

396 F.3d at 734; Valentine-Johnson, 386 F.3d at 807. Any

direct evidence offered by the non-moving party in response

to a summary judgment motion must be accepted as true.

Muhammad v. Close, 379 F.3d 413, 416 (6th Cir. 2004) .

Nevertheless, the “mere existence of some alleged factual

dispute between the parties will not defeat an otherwise

properly supported motion for summary judgment; the

requirement is that there be no genuine issue of material

fact.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-

9a

48, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986)(emphasis in

original); accord Leadbetter, 385 F.3d at 689-90; Weaver v.

Shadoan, 340 F.3d 398, 405 (6th Cir. 2003).

2. Motion to Amend

The Sixth Circuit generally reviews a district court’s

denial of a motion to amend a complaint for abuse of

discretion. Wade v. Knoxville Utils. Bd., 259 F.3d 452, 459

(6th Cir. 2001); Parry v. Mohawk Motors of Mich., 236 F.3d

299, 306 (6th Cir. 2000). However, when the denial is based

upon the district court’s legal conclusion that the proposed

amendment would be futile, i.e., that it would not withstand

a motion to dismiss, the decision is reviewed de novo. Wade,

259 F.3d at 459; Parry, 236 F.3d at 306.

3. Findings of Fact

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a),

findings of fact by a district judge should not be reversed

unless “clearly erroneous.” A finding of fact is clearly

erroneous when, although there is evidence to support it, “the

reviewing court on the entire evidence is left with the definite

and firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.”

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S. 564, 573,

105 S. Ct. 1504, 84 L. Ed. 2d 518 (1985)(quoting United

States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395, 68

S. Ct. 525, 92 L. Ed. 746 (1948)); accord Gross v. Comm’r,

272 F.3d 333, 343 (6th Cir. 2001); Hamilton v. Carell, 243

F.3d 992, 997 (6th Cir. 2001). When the findings rest on

credibility determinations, Rule 52 demands even greater

deference. Anderson, 470 U.S. at 575; Hamilton, 243 F.3d at

997-98; In re Cleveland Tankers, Inc., 67 F.3d 1200, 1205 ~

(6th Cir. 1995). <

10a

B. Declaratory Judgment

The Second Amended complaint contains a request for a

declaratory judgment “to the effect that Coy/Superior is not

the owner of the asbestos-laden synchronous condensers and

has no responsibility for their disposal. . . .” The parties filed

cross motions for summary judgment on this claim. The

district court granted Coy/Superior’s motion. BNFL

challenges this ruling on cross-appeal. This is the central issue

in this case and will, therefore, be addressed first.

After dismantling the synchronous condensers,

Coy/Superior moved the pieces to its own worksite (known as

Portal 10) which was also located on the ETTP. The presence

of asbestos was discovered while the condensers were located

at the Portal 10 site. BNFL refused to take the asbestos-laden

condenser pieces back from Coy/Superior. Coy/Superior

alleges that BNFL still has title to and responsibility for the

condensers. BNFL argues that liability for the condensers and

the asbestos they contain was transferred to Coy/Superior

under the following provision of the subcontract:

C.1.13 Regulatory Responsibilities

The Subcontractor(s) shall assume total regulatory

responsibility, liability, and title to the wastes and

recyclable material upon loading onto the

Subcontractor’s vehicle at the ETTP site. Any wastes

and/or by-products generated during shipment,

storage, disposal and/or other management of the

waste shall be the _ responsibility of the

Subcontractor(s) and shall be disposed via approved

disposal methods and procedures.

lla

Coy/Superior has argued that BNFL’s reliance on this

contract provision is inapposite because it does not govern

hazardous waste, title to and liability for hazardous waste

could not legally be transferred to Coy/Superior, BNFL did

not have authority to transfer title of the hazardous waste to

Coy/Superior, and even if the contract provision could

transfer title and liability it would not do so until the

condensers were loaded onto vehicles for transportation off

the ETTP.

The district court focused its analysis on the argument that

section C.1.13 should be read to transfer title only when the

materials were loaded onto Coy/Superior’s vehicle for their

ultimate removal from the ETTP, and not upon loading

simply to be moved to Coy/Superior’s worksite at Portal 10.

The district court determined that section C.1.13 was

ambiguous as to precisely when title and environmental

liability transferred because both possible interpretations were

reasonable. The district court further determined that BNFL

drafted the subcontract, the ambiguity was latent, and

Coy/Superior relied on its interpretation in submitting its bid.

Consequently, the district court applied the doctrine of contra

proferentem and enforced Coy/Superior’s supposed

interpretation of the provision. An order was entered

declaring that BNFL was owner of and responsible for the

asbestos-laden condenser remnants located at the Portal 10

worksite.

In its cross-appeal, BNFL challenges the district court’s

conclusion that Coy/Superior relied on its interpretation of

section C.1.13 that title to and liability for asbestos waste

materials would not be transferred to Coy/Superior until those

materials were loaded onto Coy/Superior’s vehicles for the

purpose of removing them from the ETTP. BNFL points to

the well-settled rule that “where a contractor.seeks recovery

12a

based on his interpretation of an ambiguous contract, he must

show that he relied on this interpretation in submitting his

bid.” Lear Siegler Management Servs. Corp. v. United States,

867 F.2d 600, 603 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The burden of proving

reliance on the claimed interpretation thus falls on the

contractor. Fruin-Colnon Corp. v. United States, 912 F.2d

1426 (Fed. Cir. 1990).

BNFL asserts that Coy/Superior did not offer any

evidence at all to support its claim that it relied on any

interpretation of section C.1.13 at the time it prepared its bid.

BNFL points out that Coy/Superior has consistently

maintained that title to and liability for the asbestos wastes

could not and did not transfer to Coy/Superior at any point in

time in spite of the language of section C.1.13. The only time

Coy/Superior has departed from this argument is in a brief,

unsupported argument in its summary judgment motion that

under section C.1.13 “title would pass when loaded on

vehicles for shipment off ETTP to a disposal site.” The

district court focused on this statement. Even though

Coy/Superior did not point to evidence which established

reliance on this interpretation, the district court examined the

evidence before it and was satisfied that there was evidence of

such reliance.

The evidence the district court pointed to in support of its

finding of reliance primarily consisted of references indicating

that Coy/Superior did not intend to do any asbestos work as

part of the project. Coy/Superior’s accepted proposal, as well

as certain testimony, does indicate that Coy/Superior did not

believe asbestos work would be part of the deal. However,

that does not establish that at the time it submitted its bid

Coy/Superior was relying on its interpretation that under

section C.1.13, title to and liability for any asbestos wastes

would not be passed to Coy/Superior until the materials were

13a

loaded for ultimate delivery off of the ETTP. There is no

testimony, evidence, or even allegation from Coy/Superior

that at the time it submitted its bid that was its understanding

of section C.1.13. Coy/Superior does not even attempt to

argue this point on appeal. BNFL is correct that the district

court erred in applying the doctrine of contra proferentem

because Coy/Superior did not establish the necessary element

of reliance.

The district court’s application of the doctrine of contra

proferentem rendered it unnecessary for the district court to

address Coy/Superior’s primary argument that section C.1.13

could not transfer title to or liability for the asbestos waste to

Coy/Superior at any point in time. However, the district court

did address, and reject, this argument in the context of

granting summary judgment in favor of BNFL on

Coy/Superior’s fraud claim. Since summary judgment on the

fraud claim has also been appealed, the contours of

Coy/Superior’s argument have been fully developed both

before the district court and on appeal. Therefore, this court

is in a position to address the issue instead of remanding to

the district court to reconsider the cross motions for summary

judgment on the declaratory judgment claim.

The district court found that the language of section

C.1.13 of the subcontract, which provides that “[plaintiff]

shall assume total regulatory responsibility, liability and title

to the waste . . .” clearly and unambiguously shifted all the

responsibility for the asbestos to Coy/Superior. Coy/Superior

claims that this holding was error because federal law

prohibits BNFL from effectively transferring title to or

liability for the asbestos to another party. Section 107(e)(1) of

the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,

and Liability Act (“CERCLA”) states the following:

l4a

No indemnification, hold harmless, or similar

agreement or conveyance shall be effective to transfer

from the owner or operator of any vessel or facility or

from any person who may be liable for a release or

threat of release under this section, to any other

person the liability imposed under this section.

Nothing in this subsection shall bar any agreement to

insure, hold harmless, or indemnify a party to such

agreement for any liability under this section. on

42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1). This provision does not even make

any reference to title of hazardous wastes, let alone restrict

the transfer of such title as Coy/Superior claims. it only

governs the transfer of liability for such wastes. BNFL argues

that this statute permits the transfer of liability for the asbestos

to Coy/Superior as provided for in section C.1.13 of the

subcontract.

The Sixth Circuit has held that § 107(e)(1) permits parties

to contractually shift CERCLA and other environmental

liabilities by means of an indemnity agreement. Olin Corp. v.

Yeargin Inc., 146 F.3d 398, 407 (6th Cir. 1998); Niecko v.

Emro Marketing Co., 973 F.2d 1296, 1300-01 (6th Cir.

1992). Although the section does not allow a party who is

responsible for cleanup costs to escape liability vis-a-vis the

federal government, parties may still contractually allocate the

costs of environmental clean up among themselves. Niecko,

973 _F.2d at 1300-01. “However, whether a particular

agreement has shifted such liabilities is a question of state

law.” Olin, 146 F.3d at 407. Predicting Tennessee_law, the

Sixth Circuit has held that an agreement shifts environmental

liability if it “contains a clear and unambiguous reference to

such costs.” /d.

lSa

Coy/Superior acknowledges that financial responsibility

for environmental cleanup costs can be shifted contractually

through insurance, a hold harmless agreement, or an

indemnity agreement, but asserts that section C.1.13 of the

subcontract is not an indemnity agreement as argued by

BNEFL. Coy/Superior does not elaborate on this argument or

provide any support for the argument that a clause such as the

one at issue does not transfer liability because it is not

explicitly phrased as an indemnity clause. In fact, the case law

shows that parties can contractually transfer liability under

CERCLA by simply using an “as is” clause. Niecko, 973

F.2d at 1300-01; Velsicol Chemical Corp. v. Reilly Indus., 67

F. Supp. 2d 893, 905 (E.D. Ten. 1999), summarily aff'd, 229

F.3d 1155 (6th Cir. 2000)(unpublished). If a simple “as is”

clause in a real estate contract can be sufficient to transfer

environmental liability, then section C.1.13 of the subcontract

was certainly sufficient to transfer liability.

Coy/Superior argues that section C.1.13 could not transfer

liability for the asbestos to Coy/Superior because such a

transfer is legally impossible. The case law addressing

§ 107(e)(1) of CERCLA makes it clear that such a contractual

shift of liability is possible and was properly executed.

Coy/Superior does not offer any other argument except its oft-

repeated, but unsupported, mantra that title to the asbestos

could not be shifted to Coy/Superior. However, since liability

for the asbestos was properly transferred to Coy/Superior,

there is no reason to determine who had title to the asbestos-

laden materials. Since Coy/Superior’s arguments are not

sufficient to support the declaratory judgment that BNFL is

responsible for the asbestos, the district court erred when it

granted summary judgment in Coy/Superior’s favor on that

claim. BNFL is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of

law on the declaratory judgment claim.

a

-

16a

C. Motion to File Third Amended Complaint

On December 10, 2003 (four months before trial was

scheduled), Coy/Superior filed a motion for leave to file a

third amended complaint. The district court denied the motion

on the basis that the expanded allegations -of intentional

fraudulent conduct did not add a new claim or otherwise add

anything of significance. The second amended complaint

already included a fraud claim. Moreover, the district court

noted that since there was no significant difference, requiring

BNEFL to answer a third amended complaint would result in

undue prejudice and delay. Coy/Superior has noi

demonstrated that this ruling was an abuse of discretion.

After a responsive pleading has been filed, leave to amend

must be freely given when justice so requires. Fed. R. Civ. P.

15(a); Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 182, 83 S. Ct. 227, 9

L. Ed. 2d 222 (1962). Nevertheless, leave to amend “should

be denied if the amendment is brought in bad faith, for

dilatory purposes, results in undue delay or prejudice to the

opposing party, or would be futile.” Crawford v. Roane, 53

F.3d 750, 753 (6th Cir. 1995). Coy/Superior argues that

justice required granting leave to file its proposed third

amended complaint because that version of the complaint

included particular allegations of fraud which Coy/Superior

did not include in the second amended complaint because it

did not become aware of the underlying facts until November

20, 2003. BNFL points out that before granting summary

judgment on Coy/Superior’s fraud claim, the district court had

been presented with, and considered, both the newly

discovered information and Coy/Superior’s legal arguments

concerning how it affected the fraud claim. Coy/Superior

counters that the district court’s consideration of the new

information at the summary judgment stage demonstrates that

17a

the district court committed clear error when it denied the

motion to file a third amended complaint.

The district court refused to permit an amended pleading

at a late stage in the litigation where that amended pleading

did not add a new defendant or cause of action, but merely

included additional information about an existing claim which

had been revealed in the course of discovery. The second

amended complaint already stated a cause of action for fraud.

The district court correctly noted that at trial Coy/Superior

would be able to submit any evidence revealed in the course

of discovery which tended to support that cause of action.

Similarly, while considering the motion for summary

judgment as it related to the fraud claim, the district court

considered all the evidence presented including the mosi

recently discovered information. Therefore, permitting the

motion to file the proposed third amended complaint would

not have accomplished any practical purpose. In light of these

circumstances, the district court’s conclusion that permitting

the amendment would have caused undue prejudice and delay

was not an abuse of discretion.

D. Fraud

The district court granted BNFL summary judgment on

Coy/Superior’s fraud claim on the basis that Coy/Superior had

not put forth any competent evidence in support of its fraud

allegations. The district court examined each of four specific

fraud allegations individually. The only aspect of the district

court’s decision which Coy/Superior challenges on appeal is

its determination that section C.1.13 of the subcontract legally

shifted regulatory liability for the asbestos to Coy/Superior.

Since that liability shift was both legal and clearly stated in

the subcontract, the district court determined that BNFL was

entitled to judgment as a matter of law on the claim that it had

18a

fraudulently attempted to illegally shift responsibility for

disposing of asbestos to Coy/Superior. Coy/Superior’s entire

argument on appeal rests squarely on its assertion that it was

legally impossible for BNFL to shift liability for the asbestos

to Coy/Superior. Since this argument has already been

examined and rejected, there is not basis to overturn the

district court’s dismissal of the fraud claim.

E. Breach of Contract

The district court granted summary judgment in favor of

BNFL on two aspects of Coy/Superior’s breach of contract

claim. The district court rejected Coy/Superior’s arguments

that BNFL breached the terms of the subcontract by entering

into a salvage-value contract when there was no salvage value

and that BNFL breached its implied duty of good faith and

fair dealing by failing to thoroughly test the synchronous

condensers for asbestos before awarding the subcontract.

Coy/Superior appeals the ruling on-both of these issues.

The district court ruled that BNFL was entitled to

judgment as a matter of law on Coy/Superior’s first breach of

contract argument because the subcontract did not impose a

duty on BNFL to guarantee that the transaction would be

profitable for Coy/Superior. Coy/Superior argues on appeal

that it has never claimed that BNFL had a contractual duty to

ensure Coy/Superior profited from the transaction. Instead,

Coy/Superior states that it seeks the value of material that

should have been salvageable but was not. According to its

reasoning, the fact that the contract provided that

Coy/Superior would “retain all recycle value” meant that

BNFL had a duty to ensure that there was at least some -

amount of recycle value. If this argument ts truly not a claim

for a guarantee of profitability, then any amount of recycle or

salvage value which Coy/Superior received would be

19a

sufficient to discharge BNFL’s alleged duty. Coy/Superior

does not contest the fact that in the course of performing the

subcontract it recovered thousands of pounds of various

metals which it sold to scrap metal dealers. In light of the

uncontested evidence that Coy/Superior did receive at least

some salvage value, summary judgment.in BNFL’s favor on

this issue was appropriate.

Coy/Superior also challenges the district court’s grant of

summary judgment in BNFL’s favor on the claim that BNFL

breached its duty of good faith and fair dealing by failing to

thoroughly examine the synchronous condensers for asbestos

before awarding the subcontract. The district court concluded

that Coy/Superior had not provided any authority to support

such a duty. The court noted that the subcontract repeatedly

pointed out the possibility that asbestos might be present and

the court went on to observe that the presentation of asbestos

as a possibility made it clear that BNFL had not exhaustively

tested for asbestos. Since the subcontract made it clear BNFL

had not previously tested the condensers for asbestos, and

Coy/Superior did not point to any provision of law or contract

that imposed a duty to complete such testing, the district court

held that BNFL was entitled to summary judgment on this

breach of contract claim.

On appeal Coy/Superior does not squarely face the district

court’s holding that it failed to point to any source of the

alleged duty. Instead, Coy/Superior reiterates information

from the record which ultimately accomplishes nothing more

than demonstrating that BNFL should have known, and did

know, that asbestos might be present and could have tested for

it. However, the mere fact that BNFL knew of the potential

presence of asbestos and had the ability to test for it does not

give rise to a legal duty to conduct such testing. There is

nothing in contract law which prevents two parties from

20a

entering into a contract knowingly ignorant of a potentially

significant fact. The subcontract both clearly stated the

possibility that asbestos would be found in the course of the

performance of the contract and set forth in some amount of

detail the appropriate procedure to follow in that eventuality.

The district court properly granted summary judgment.

F. Negligent Misrepresentation

The district court merged the negligent misrepresentation

claim with the breach of contract claim on the basis that the

two counts involved precisely the same alleged actions and

sought the same damages. Consequently, the district court

dismissed the negligent misrepresentation claim. Coy/Superior

argues that if summary judgment had not been improperly

granted on the fraud count, the district court would not have

reached this conclusion. Coy/Superior does not provide any

other arguments assailing the district court’s merger of the

negligent misrepresentation claim with the breach of contract

claim. As discussed above, there is no basis to overturn the

district court’s grant of summary judgment on the fraud

claim. Consequently, Coy/Superior has not demonstrated any

reason to overturn the district court’s ruling on the negligent

misrepresentation claim.

G. Findings of Fact

After summary judgment was granted on most of the

claims, two claims remained to be tried. A bench trial was

held to resolve Coy/Superior’s entitlement to copper cable

which BNFL permitted a third party to remove from the K-

791 building and to determine the adequacy of BNFL’s testing

for asbestos. The district court found that Coy/Superior was

entitled to the copper cable which came from K-791, but

determined that only 10,000 pounds of cable came from that

2la

building, not the 100,000 pounds asserted by Coy/Superior.

Coy/Superior claims that the finding of fact that only 10,000

pounds of cable came from K-791 was clearly erroneous. The

district court further found that BNFL’s testing of the

condensers while they were on its site was adequate.

Coy/Superior asserts that this determination was clearly

erroneous as well.

Coy/Superior acknowledges that since it is challenging

findings of fact it must establish that the district court’s

determinations were clearly erroneous. A finding of fact is

clearly erroneous when, although there is evidence to support

it, “the reviewing court on the entire evidence is left with the

definite and firm conviction that a mistake has been

committed.” Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470

_U.S. 564, 573, 105 S. Ct. 1504, 84 L. Ed. 2d 518 (1985).

When the findings rest on credibility determinations, even

greater deference must be given. Anderson, 470 U.S. at 575.

Moreover, “where there are two permissible views of the

evidence, the factfinder’s choice between them cannot be

clearly erroneous.” EEOC v. Yenkin-Majestic Paint Corp.,

112 F.3d 831, 834 (6th Cir. 1997)(quoting Anderson, 470

U.S. at 574). Consequently, an appellant’s burden to meet the

clearly erroneous standard cannot be met merely by

demonstrating a conflict in the testimony. Franklin v. Aycock,

795 F.2d 1253, 1257-58 (6th Cir. 1986).

At the bench trial Mr. Roswech testified, based on his

observation of the weighing of the trucks which were shipping

the copper, that he witnessed approximately 100,000 pounds

of cable be removed from the worksite. Mr. Brede testified

that while approximately 100,000 pounds of copper was taken

from the site, only approximately one tenth of that amount

was from the K-791 building. Mr. Roswech testified that all

100,000 pounds he saw on the trucks must have come from

22a

the K-791 building because the copper from the other

buildings had been removed earlier. The district court

considered this conflicting testimony and determined that Mr.

Brede’s testimony was more credible because he was on-site

on a near-daily basis, and was familiar with the work taking

place in the K-791 building when the copper was being

removed.

Coy/Superior acknowledges that there was conflicting

testimony regarding the amount of copper that came out of KF -

791 and that the district court made a credibility judgment 4

determine which estimate to adopt. Yet Coy/Superior claims

that the court’s credibility determination was clearly

erroneous because photographs were introduced at trial that

showed considerable amounts of copper cable coming out of

K-791, being stored in the area, and a truck loaded with cable

as well as showing that the other buildings on the site were

open and bare. Coy/Superior claims that these photos provide

extrinsic evidence to support Mr. Roswech’s testimony which

made it clearly erroneous for the district court to adopt Mr.

Brede’s estimate which was not supported by extrinsic

evidence.

An examination of the evidence presented at the trial

reveals that the district court was forced to choose between

conflicting testimony. The photos relied upon by

Coy/Superior were simply one source the court had to look at

in order to make that determination. The photos do not

support Mr. Roswech’s testimony so clearly as to leave the

clear and definite impression that rejecting his estimate was a

mistake. Coy/Superior has fallen far short of overcoming the

considerable deference due to the district court’s credibility

determination. Pointing to evidence contrary to the district

court’s finding of fact is simply insufficient.

23a

Coy/Superior also argues that “it was clearly error for the

court to conclude that adequate testing was done on the

condensers while they were still in the switchyard.” Yet

Coy/Superior provides virtually no support or explanation for

this bare assertion. In its reply Coy/Superior argues that the

district court’s ruling on the adequacy of testing would have

to be overturned if Coy/Superior prevails on its argument that

it should have been permitted to file a third amended

complaint. However, Coy/Superior has not prevailed on that

point. There is no basis to overturn the district court’s_

finding.

iil. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, all of the district court’s

rulings challenged by Coy/Superior are AFFIRMED, the

district court’s order granting summary judgment in favor of

Coy/Superior on the declaratory judgment claim is

REVERSED, and this case is REMANDED with instructions

to enter summary judgment in favor of BNFL on the

declaratory judgment claim.

24a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT |

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

KNOXVILLE DIVISION

No. 3:01-CV-634

[Filed June 17, 2004]

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM, )

Plaintiff, )

)

v. )

)

BNFL, INC., )

Defendant. )

)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The court tried this civil action without a jury on April 6,

7, and 8, 2004. In this case, plaintiff seeks an award of

damages for breach of contract. Specifically, plaintiff seeks

compensation for the loss of 100,000 pounds of recyclable

copper cable that it was purportedly due under the parties’

subcontract. Also, plaintiff seeks damages resulting from

defendant’s alleged miscommunication and/or negligence

relating to certain asbestos testing.

25a

Following trial, the parties filed proposed findings of fact

and conclusions of law. Having considered those filings along

with the testimony at trial and the exhibits introduced into

evidence, the court now issues its findings of fact and

conclusions of law pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 52(a).

I.

Findings of Fact

Plaintiff is a partnership between Coy Construction

Company, LLC, and Superior Abatement, Inc., formed for

the purpose of doing demolition and salvage work in Oak

Ridge, Tennessee, at the East Tennessee Technology Park

(“ETTP”). Defendant is a prime contractor with the

Department of Energy, authorized by the United States

government to award subcontracts for the demolition of

certain buildings and switchyards at ETTP.

In November 1999, defendant issued a Request for

Proposals (“RFP”) for demolition of ETTP’s K-792

switchyard, which consisted in part of Buildings K-791N, K-

791, and K791S, along with four mammoth synchronous

condensers. Plaintiff was the winning bidder for this project.

Section C.1.2 of the RFP provided that the demolition

subcontractor (plaintiff) would remove from the switchyard,

inter alia, cable and the synchronous condensers. This

language was included in the parties’ subcontract, at § C.1.2.

26a

A. Copper Cable'

1. The Subcontract

By Pre-Bid Meeting and Clarifications notes dated

December 6, 1999, defendant stated that “Non-ferrous metals

in K-791N and K-791S will be removed by a separate

subcontractor. All will remain in K-791. This includes cable.”

This language was subsequently incorporated into § C.1.4 of

the parties’ subcontract. Defendant’s Subcontracts Manager,

Larry Brede, testified that “non-ferrous metals” are all metals

other than steel. [Tr. 257].

By Response to Subcontractor Questions dated December

14, 1999, defendant further qualified the scope of work as

follows:

‘All accessible control cable and associated cable tray

in Buildings K-791, K-791N, and K-791S; aluminum

and galvanized conduits in Buildings K-791N and K-

7918S, and control cables in the tunnels between K-791

and K-791N, and K-79!S will be removed by others

prior to mobilization of the subcontractor. Control

cable in K-791 that requires utility removal for access

will be removed by the demolition subcontractor.

This language was also subsequently incorporated into

§ C.1.4 of the parties’ subcontract.

' Because the cable and cable trays at issue were valuable only for

the copper contained therein, the court’s findings and conclusions

will use the words “copper” and “cable” interchangeably when

discussing the K-791 demolition.

27a

On December 20, 1999, defendant also contracted with A-

Line E.D.S. (“A-Line”) for the removal of scrap materials at

ETTP. The A-Line subcontract provided at § C.1.4 that A-

Line would, among other things, “Remove all accessible

control cable, cable trays, aluminum conduit, and galvanized

conduit. . . . Removal includes K-79in, K-791, K-791s, and

the connector tunnels between each building.” The term

“accessible” is not defined therein.

Nor is “accessible” defined in the subcontract between

plaintiff and defendant. At page 9 of its proposed findings and

conclusions, plaintiff concedes that all cable in K-791N and

K-791S was “accessible.” As for the cable in building K-79]

and its connecting tunnels, Mr. Brede expressed defendant’s

position that cable was “accessible” unless it required utility

removal for access or could not be safely removed. Plaintiff

however, through a more plain-language reading of the term,

contends that cable was “accessible” only if it could be

removed without partial demolition of the structure, such as

the holes that were torn into the walls of K-79! by A-Line in

order to remove cable from that building and the connecting

tunnels.

2. Cable Removal

According to the A-Line weekly reports generated by Mr.

Brede, A-Line began removing cable from K-791N on

January 5, 2000. That task was completed around January 18,

2000. A-Line removed cable from K-791S on January 17-19,

2000. Mr. Brede’s weekly reports further reveal that on

January 18, 2000, A-Line opened a hole in the east wall of K-

791 “to allow access for pulling cable” from the tunnels. A-

Line opened a similar hole in the opposite end of the building

on January 28, 2000. A-Line removed cable from K-791 and

28a

its connecting tunnels from January 26 through February 2,

2000. [Pl. ex. 23].

In late January 2000 (citing § C.1.4 - “All will remain in

K-791. This includes cable.”), plaintiff's Project Manager

John Roswech objected to A-Line’s removal of cable from K-

791. [Def. ex. 2]. “After review and discussion,” Mr. Brede

concluded that “all the cable in K791 [belongs] to BNFL for

removal by A-Line under subcontract.” [Pl. ex. 23]. Mr.

Brede also concluded that plaintiff was not entitled to the

cable because plaintiff had not yet “mobilized.” [Tr. 28].

Mr. Roswech testified that A-Line removed an estimated

100,000 pounds of cable from K-791 and the tunnels. The

witness explained how he arrived at this estimate.

A-Line came to me in February [2000] and asked if

they could utilize our truck scale to weigh the tractors

and trailers of copper that were coming out of the

switchyard. They wanted to not overload them. They

wanted to put approximately 20 tons [sic.] -

approximately that is the legal weight for them to

traverse the highways. I agreed and knowing we had

an issue about them taking the contract, the copper out

of the building and the contract issue. . . . In that

process being with, my witness there I witnessed five

or so trailer loads of copper go off site from the

switchyard. .. .

[Tr. 46]. Mr. Roswech further testified, without explanation,

that the cable from K-791N and K-791S was “removed

earlier.” [Tr. 90-93]. He estimated that A-Line removed a

total of 150,000 pounds of cable, with approximately two-

thirds of that total coming from K-791, plus a negligible

amount coming from the tunnels. [Tr. 90-91].

29a

Mr. Brede, however, estimated that a total of 100,000

pounds of cable came out of the tunnels and the three

buildings, with ten percent of that amount coming out of K-

791. [Tr. 286]. This estimate was based on personal

observation. Mr. Brede worked closely with plaintiff, was on-

site on a near-daily basis, and was familiar with the work

taking place in the K-791 buildings.

Plaintiff introduced a July 28, 2000 purchase contract

indicating a price of 81.5 cents per pound for copper. Mr.

Roswech testified that there was minimal fluctuation in the

price of copper between February and July 2000. Defendant

submitted evidence of lower price offers, but Mr. Roswech

pointed out that these offers were rejected by plaintiff because

of their lower value.

3. Mobilization

“Mobilization,” as used in § C.1.4 of the subcontract, is

defined at § 1.9 as occurring when plaintiff has

accomplished the following:

1. Mobilized labor, equipment, tools, and materials to

the site;

2. Supervisors and workers have successfully

completed required training, are present at the site,

have required PPE [personal protective equipment},

and are ready to start work;

3. Permits, plans, and other required information (See

Subsection L.3) has been submitted to BNFL, and

approved as applicable;

30a

4. Performance bond and insurance cértificates have

been submitted;

5. The Enhanced Work Planning session(s) have been

completed and EWP document(s) have been approved.

According to Mr. Brede, defendant did not allow plaintiff to

begin work until February 7, 2000. Although other elements

of “mobilization” were completed prior to that date, plaintiffs

EWP was not approved until February 7, 2000, and its safety

plan was not approved until either February 2 or February 7,

2000. [Tr. 261, 380}.

B. Asbestos

Plaintiff's successful subcontract bid amount was lower

than the anticipated cost of the work. The bid was based in

part on plaintiff's assessment of the salvage value of copper

wiring present within the synchronous condensers.

Plaintiff's accepted proposal contains an exclusion for

asbestos-containing materials. The subcontract, at § C.1.3,

states that defendant “has removed all known asbestos-

containing materials.” Section C.1.4 notes the possibility of

asbestos or PCB contamination of major equipment, but

provides that the contaminants “can be removed.” Section

C.1.3 further states that if plaintiff “encounters any suspect

materials in the execution of work” it should immediately

notify defendant. Similarly, § C.1.4 provides that if plaintiff

“finds suspect asbestos . . . during building demolition,” it is

to notify defendant for removal.

The condensers were massive instruments sitting more

than twenty feet in the air upon pedestals. Each condenser

weighed between 175 and 220 tons. The condensers were

3la

intact when plaintiff began its demolition work in late

February 2000.

According to Mr. Roswech, manuals for the condensers

were discovered on-site in March 2000 by plaintiff's site

superintendent, Billy Jones. After reviewing the manuals, Mr.

Roswech learned that asbestos could be present within the

condensers. Mr. Roswech testified that he then notified

defendant of the potential presence of asbestos.

I notified Mr. Brede [and others] at the site that I had

found the manuals and they had asbestos and I wanted

to fulfill our contractual obligations to notify BNFL

that asbestos, so the manuals say, was used in the

manufacturing in the fifties.

We had a toolbox, or a site meeting, at Portal 8 in the

switchyard around March 15". . . . We had a meeting,

I laid the manuals out on a car hood or the back of a

pickup truck and opened the manuals and showed

them the page where it says asbestos was utilized.

Armed with that information I fulfilled my contractual

obligations as a project manager by alerting our client

that asbestos was used.

I left the site and Larry Brede and John Rast and Billy

Jones worked out that they were going to bring in

somebody from BNFL’s staff to test the synchronous

32a

condensers and that they would need access to gain up

to that height.

No [I did not personally observe the subsequent

testing conducted on March 16]. I wasn’t on the site.

I was on site, but not physically at the point, I came

after they had left. |

~ What I learned several days later from my

superintendent, Billy Jones, was that asbestos was in

the exciters [starters]. I looked at the condensers from

the ground and I looked at the synchronous condensers

that were in the adjoining switchyard that were taken

apart and I remember saying to Billy Jones who would

ever believe that after testing asbestos was only on one

part. I never seen a report. I was never provided with

a report or a written report . . . until September of

2000... .

[Tr. 55-58].

Mr. Roswech testified that Billy Jones was never shown

the written results of the March 16 testing, which indicated

precisely where testing had been done on various condensers

(made by different manufacturers) throughout the worksite.

{[Tr. 99]. Having, on March 15, shown defendant a manual

page indicating that asbestos could be present somewhere

within plaintiff's massive condensers, Mr. Roswech felt that

he had “no further responsibility” to notify defendant if he

came across areas of suspect asbestos during the process of

33a

actual demolition. [Tr. 96].” In addition, Mr. Roswech stated

that it was “[nJot my job” to inquire as to what parts of the

massive condensers had or had not been tested for asbestos.

[Tr. 100].

Mr. Roswech testified that no further asbestos testing was

requested or performed in March 2000. [Tr. 61]. Acting

under the assumption that asbestos was not present anywhere

other than on the exciters (which defendant abated) plaintiff

demolished its condensers and removed them to its Portal 10

worksite. Plaintiff later learned that the condensers’ copper

wiring was in fact insulated with asbestos, significantly

impairing any salvage value.

According to the deposition testimony of Billy Jones, one .

condenser part was on the ground during the March 16

testing. [Pl. ex. 35, p. 38]. The remaining condensers

remained intact high in the air upon pedestals. [Pl. ex. 35, p.

38-40}. Mr. Jones acknowledged that Mr. Brede provided

him with the written asbestos testing results. [Pl. ex. 35,

p.41]. The test result show precisely where sampling did, and

did not, occur. [Pl. ex. 26].

Mr. Jones “may have [also] had a general conversation” -

with Mr. Brede, but he does not “recall any other mention of

any more sampling being done or to be done.” [Pl. ex. 35, p.

42-43]. He also does not recall that Mr. Brede told him the

condensers were asbesios-free. [Pl]. ex. 35, p. 50]. “I don’t

recall anyone ever saying anything to that nature. Other than

* The manual page that Mr. Roswech claims to have shown Mr.

Brede provides that insulation “usually consists of varnish-

impregnated cotton fibre, cotton tape or paper . . . [or] varnish-

impregnated mica, asbestos, or giass.” [Pl. ex. 31, p.37]; [Tr. 94].

34a

the statement. . .that says all known asbestos has been

removed.” /d. Mr. Jones testified that plaintiff then proceeded

to demolish the condensers, assuming but “not knowing

whether. . . there was asbestos or not.” [Pl. ex. 35, p. 115].

Mr. Jones testified that he was told by John Roswech - not by

Mr. Brede or any other representative of defendant - that no

further asbestos was present. [Pl]. ex. 35, p. 115-16].

The court also heard testimony from Brady Riggs. Mr.

Riggs testified that he performed the March 16, 2000

condenser asbestos sampling at the request of defendant’s

Subcontract Technical Representative John Rast. [Tr. 161].

Mr. Riggs stated that he took one sample from the condenser

part that had already been removed. [Tr. 164]. He also took

one sample from an exposed area on a condenser but did not,

and could not, sample from internal condenser areas that were

not yet accessible. [Tr. 171-72]. Mr. Riggs was accompanied

by an employee of plaintiff when he was lifted into the air to

perform sampling on the intact condenser. [Tr. 225]. In

describing the area that was sampled on the intact condenser,

John Rast testified that

It [was] all they [plaintiff] had open. They ran into

something they suspected. When they run into

something they suspect they come and get us and we

get the sampler out there and he takes a sample of

whatever the suspect materiai is.

(Tr. 226}.

Lastly, Mr. Brede testified regarding the March 2000

asbestos testing. He stated that John Roswech showed him an

unspecified picture, which may or may not have been part of

an operating manual, that referenced the potential presence of

asbestos. [Tr. 290]. “As a result of talking with John

35a

[Roswech] we determined that there was a possibility for

some material in the exciters that contained asbestos.” [Tr.

290}. Mr. Brede ordered sampling for the following day and

temporarily stopped work on the exciters “[b]ecause that was

where Mr. Roswech had identified there was possible asbestos

material.” [Tr. 291].

Mr. Brede denied being shown page 37 of the operating

manual. [Tr. 291]. He testified that if he had been shown that

page he would have ordered more thorough sampling. [Tr.

291-92]. Mr. Brede also stated that he timely shared the

written test results with either Billy Jones or John Roswech

and allowed work to resume on the exciter areas that did not

test positive for asbestos. [Tr. 296-98]. Mr. Brede testified

that, at John Roswech’s request, one more sample was taken

on March 21, 2000. [Tr. 296-97]. That sample came back as

non-asbestos. [Tr. 296]. No additional sampling was done

prior to plaintiff's demolition and removal of the condensers.

“Our expectation was that any time they identify that material

they ask us, they tell us, we sample it and then react

accordingly. Those are the only samples that we were asked

to take.” [Tr. 297]. Mr. Brede testified that potential asbestos

identification was

{t]he subcontractor’s responsibility because [the

condenser] wasn’t open and we couldn’t see the

inside. Their subcontract required them to open it. As

it was being disassembled, it was their responsibility ,

if they identified any potential asbestos material, to

notify us and we would take appropriate action based

on what that material was. We would sample it and it

either was or wasn’t asbestos. If it was asbestos, we

would clean it up.

(Tr. 299-300].

36a

Il.

.

Conclusions of Law

Plaintiff bears, by a preponderance of the evidence, the

following burden of proof: “first, it must establish the nature.

and extent of [defendant’s] breach of contract; second, it must

prove that it suffered some damage; and, third, any damage

must be proved with sufficient certainty so that the

determination of the amount of damage would not be pure

speculation.” Hughes-Groesch Constr. Corp., VABCA No. .

5448, 00-1 BCA 4 30,912; see also Baldwin-Lima-Hamilton

Corp., ENGBCA No. 2601, 66-1 BCA 4 5623.’

A. Asbestos

The court concludes that defendant did not breach the

subcontract - through negligence, miscommunication, or

otherwise - in its testing of the synchronous condensers.

Plaintiff is accordingly not entitled to damages on that claim.

Plaintiff's theory, as presented through the testimony of

Mr. Roswech, is that defendant informed Billy Jones that the

synchronous condensers were completely free of asbestos,

> The parties’ subcontract contains, at § H.44, a choice of law

provision providing that the document shall be interpreted under

“the laws of United States Government Contracts as set forth by

statute and regulations, and decisions by the appropriate courts and

Board of Subcontract Appeals.” The court has previously

concluded that this provision should instead read “Boards of

Contract Appeals.” The _Coy/Superior Team v. BNFL, No. 3:01-

CV-634, slip op. at 6 (E.D. Tenn. Jan. 28, 2004). Pursuant to

§ H.44, where precedent is unavailable from the above authorities,

the court should then look to Tennessee law.

37a

other than in the exciters. Based on this misrepresentation,

plaintiff claims that it unknowingly demolished the condensers

in their asbestos-tainted state, thereby destroying the

salvageable nature of the copper wiring contained therein. In

light of the evidence presented to the court, plaintiff's version

of the facts is simply not credible.

Mr. Roswech testified that defendant (presumably through

Mr. Brede) misinformed Billy Jones. Mr. Jones, however,

testified that no representative of defendant ever told him that

the condensers had been fully tested or were asbestos-free.

Instead, Mr. Jones testified that he received that information

from Mr. Roswech himself.

Mr. Jones also acknowledged that he was provided with

written test results showing what portions of the condensers

had, and had not, been tested. Further, the evidence reveals

that employees of plaintiff were present when Mr. Riggs

conducted his testing. In addition, it is clear that the mammoth

condensers were largely intact at the time of testing. Although

condensers in an adjoining switchyard were apparently in a

more advanced state of demolition, those condensers were not

necessarily manufactured by the same company. In light of

these facts, it is simply not credible for plaintiff to have

believed that thorough testing had been performed on its

condensers in March 2000. Instead, plaintiff should have

“been aware that defendant had tested only where the massive

machines were individually accessible for sampling.on the

testing dates.

Further, the court concludes that §§ C.1.3 and C.1.4

placed upon plaintiff the duty to remain vigilant throughout

the demolition process. Those subcontract provisions called

for plaintiff to notify defendant whenever it encountered

suspect matezials during demolition. Instead of remaining

38a

vigilant, however, Mr. Roswech merely showed defendant a

single page from a manual and then, as Mr. Roswech

repeatedly admitted at trial, completely washed his hands of

any further responsibility.

In sum, plaintiff has not proven that defendant breached

its obligations under the subcontract, including testing,

abating, and communication of test results. Plaintiff is entitled

to no damages on this claim.

B. Copper Cable

1. Breach

Section C.1.4 of the subcontract provides that “Non-

ferrous metals [including copper] in K-791N and K-791S will

be removed by a separate subcontractor. All will remain in K-

791 [for the demolition subcontractor to remove]. This

includes cable.” (Emphasis added). Section C.1.4 then

conflicts the above-cited language by going on to provide that

“[a]ll accessible control cable and associated cable tray in

Buildings K-79/, K-791N, and K-791S . . . and control cables

in the tunnels . . . will be removed by others prior to

mobilization of the subcontractor.” (Emphasis added). The

court concludes that these two provisions create ambiguities

which must be construed in favor of plaintiff as the non-

drafting party.

A contractual provision is ambiguous if it is subject to

more than one reasonable interpretation. See Fry

Communications, Inc. v. United States, 22 Cl. Ct. 497, 503

(1991). The court need not determine which reading is better

or “most reasonable,” so long as both interpretations are in

fact reasonable. /d. at 505-06. In such cases, the doctrine of

contra proferentem accepts the interpretation of the non-

39a

drafting party, provided that the ambiguity is latent and the

non-drafting party relied on its interpretation in submitting its

bid. /d. at 503.

The court concludes that the term “accessible,” as used in

§ C.1.4, is ambiguous in both meaning and scope. The term

is not defined. In meaning, it could describe - as defendant

argues - cable requiring utility removal for access or cable

that could not be safely removed. Or - as plaintiff argues - the

term could describe cable that did not require removal of

walls or other partial demolition to gain “access.”* In scope,

the term could - as defendant argues - modify only that cable

existing inside the buildings. Or - as argued by plaintiff - the

term could modify both the cable inside the buildings and the

cable in the tunnels. ,

These ambiguities are latent in nature. A contractual.

ambiguity ts latent unless it contains “a gross discrepancy, an

obvious error in drafting, or a glaring gap.” Fry

Communications, 22 Cl. Ct. at 509. The phrase “accessible”

does not on its face create the “sort of glaring uncertainty that

would clearly warn plaintiff to seek clarification in advance,

particularly where § C.1.4 also provides that all cable would

remain inside building K-791 for plaintiff to remove. See

King-Bole, Inc. DOTCAB No. 1810, 87-1 BCA 4 19,652.

Lastly, plaintiff's reliance on its interpretation is

illustrated in two ways. The anticipated salvage value of the

cable inside both K-791 and the tunnels was a factor in the

‘ The reasonableness of plaintiff's interpretation is bolstered by the

language of Mr. Brede’s own weekly reports, wherein he noted

that A-Line had opened a hole in the east wall of K-791 “to allow

access for pulling cable” from the tunnels. (Emphasis added).

40a

contract amount bid by plaintiff. Mr. Roswech’s January 2000

objections to A-Line’s removal further illustrate plaintiff's

reliance. Accordingly, the court concludes that defendant

breached § C.1.4 by permitting A-Line to tear holes in K-79]

to remove otherwise “inaccessible” cable from that building

and the connecting tunnels.”

2. Mobilization

The court concludes that plaintiff did not “mobilize” until

after A-Line had removed the cable from K-791 and the

tunnels. As defined by § C.1.9, mobilization did not occur

until February 7, 2000, which was the date plaintiff's EWP

documents were approved. However, the court cannot agree

with defendant’s contention that this mobilization date bars

plaintiffs entitlement to the disputed copper. Section C.1.4 of

the parties’ subcontract, as discussed, only allows A-Line to

remove “accessible” cable, regardless of plaintiff's

mobilization date. Because A-Line was also permitted to

remove “inaccessible” cable, plaintiff's mobilization date does

not act as a bar to recovery.

3. Damages

As for the amount of cable lost by plaintiff, the court

credits the 10,000 pound estimate of Mr. Brede. The court

has considered Mr. Roswech’s estimate of 100,000 pounds

> Defendant elicited testimony from Marian Jarvis, an owner of

Coy Contraction, that in June 2000 Ms. Jarvis signed a waiver

releasing additional or outstanding claims relating to the

subcontract. Defendant did not, however, introduce the waiver into

evidence. The court is therefore unable to determine that the waiver

bars plaintiff from asserting its present claim regarding the K-791

cable.

4la

but, on the whole, finds Mr. Brede to be the more credible

witness. As discussed, Mr. Brede worked closely with

plaintiff, was on-site on a near-daily basis, and was familiar

with the work taking place in the K-791 buildings.

Mr. Roswech testified, based on his observation of the

weighing of A-Line’s trucks, that he witnessed approximately

100,000 pounds of cable removed from the worksite. Mr.

Brede agreed that 100,000 pounds were removed from the K-

791 complex, but opined that only one-tenth of that total came

from the K-791 building itself. Mr. Roswech testified that all

100,000 pounds came from the K-791 building and tunnels

because the K-791N and K-791S copper had been “removed

earlier.” However, Mr. Roswech did not explain to the

court’s satisfaction why A-Line would have wanted to weigh

the trucks containing K-791 and tunnel copper, but not the

trucks containing K-791N and K-791S copper.

Accordingly, the court views Mr. Brede’s estimate as the

most persuasive indication of the amount of copper removed

from the K-791 building by A-Line. Because Mr. Roswech

testified that only an unspecified and minimal amount of cable

was removed from the tunnels, plaintiff has not met its burden

of proof as to damages for the tunnel copper. Accordingly,

plaintiff is entitled to compensation for only the 10,000

pounds of copper cable taken from the K-791 building.

The court credits the July 2000 purchase contract,

indicating a price of 81.5 cents per pound for copper, as an

essentially uncontroverted measure of damages. Mr.

Roswech’s testimony was that there was minimal fluctuation

in the price of copper between February and July 2000. While

defendant submitted evidence of lower price offers, plaintiff

rejected those offers because of their lower value. Plaintiff is

42a

therefore entitled to $8,150.00 in damages, which reflects

10,000 pounds multiplied by 81.5 cents per pound.

In summary, for the reasons stated herein, the court

concludes and specifically finds that plaintiffis entitled to

damages of $8,150.00, plus interest from July 28, 2000 - the

date of plaintiff's contract for the sale of scrap copper.

Further, as ordered from the bench, defendant is to abate any

asbestos-containing material at the Portal 10 worksite that is

economically feasible to abate. Plaintiff will retain any

recyclable material remaining after the abatement. The parties

are to agree upon an independent expert to determine the cost-

effectiveness of abatement at the Portal 10 site. The standard

to be used is whether it is more cost-effective than not to

abate. Defendant may use its current abatement subcontractor

to perform the actual abatement. Defendant is responsible for

the proper disposal of any material that cannot be cost-

effectively abated, and plaintiff is entitled to no compensation

for any such material.

An order consistent with these findings of fact and

conclusions of law will be entered.

ENTER:

s/ r

United States District Judge

43a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

KNOXVILLE DIVISION

~

No. 3:01-CV-634

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM, )

Plaintiff, )

)

v. )

)

BNEL, INC., )

Defendant. )

)

ORDER

Upon consideration of the evidence produced at the

nonjury trial held April 6, 7, and 8, 2004, and for the reasons

set forth in the findings of fact and conclusions of law filed

contemporaneously with this order, it is ORDERED that

plaintiff is entitled to damages of $8,150.00, plus interest

~ from July 28, 2000. Further, as ORDERED from the bench,

defendant shall abate any asbestos-containing material at the

Portal 10 worksite that is economically feasible to abate.

Plaintiff will retain any recyclable material remaining after the

abatement. The parties shall agree upon an independent expert

to determine the cost-effectiveness of abatement at the Portal

10 site. The standard to be used is whether it is more cost-

effective than not to abate. Defendant may use its Current

abatement subcontractor to perform the actual abatement.

Defendant is responsible for the proper disposal of any

material that cannot be cost-effectively abated, and plaintiff is

entitled to no compensation for any such material.

44a

IT IS SO ORDERED.

ENTER:

s/Leon Jordan

United States District Judge

45a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

KNOXVILLE DIVISION

No. 3:01-CV-634

[Filed February 18, 2004]

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM,

Plaintiff,

BNEFL, INC.,

)

)

)

Vv. )

)

)

Defendant. )

)

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This civil action is agaim before the Court on “Defendant’s

Renewed Motion for Swimmary Judgment” [doc. 88], which

seeks summary judgment on all four counts of plaintiffs

second amended complaint (“complaint”). By prior order

{[doc. 118], defendant’s motion was denied as to count two

only, and “Plaintiff Coy/Superior’s Motion for Se~™mary

Judgment on Its Claim for a Declaratory Judgment” [d-x. 92],

relating only to count two, was granted.

46a

This memorandum opinion will address the remaining

counts of plaintiffs complaint - counts one, three, and four.’

For the reasons provided below, defendant’s motion will be

granted as to counts three and four, and will be granted in

part and denied in part as to count one.

I.

Factual Background

The parties’ contractual background was set forth in the

court’s prior memorandum opinion [doc. 117] and will be

repeated herein only as relevant to the claims now at issue.

The court’s factual narrative will, of course, focus on the

specific facts presented by plaintiff purporting to demonstrate

a genuine issue for trial. See AT&T Co., Fed. Sys. Advanced

Techs., DOTCAB No. 2479, 93-3 BCA 4 26,088.

In 1997, defendant entered into a prime contract with the

Department of Energy (“DOE”) io “decontaminate,

decommission, and recycle” three former uranium processing

buildings at DOE’s East Tennessee Technology Park

(“ETTP”) near Oak Ridge, Tennessee. The present

controversy arises from the disassembly and removal of four

mammoth synchronous condensers from ETTP.

The condensers were initially a part of defendant’s

subcontract with IDM Environmental Corporation (“IDM”).

Daniel Quinn, who plaintiff identifies as IDM’s project

manager, testified that IDM found operating manuals for the

' These counts claim breach of contract, negligent

misrepresentation, and fraud. Each claim is based upon multiple

theories.

47a

condensers in “a van full of file cabinets . . . among hundreds

of other information [sic] about various other equipment

around our part of the project.” Defendant’s employee John

Rast, who worked on “requests for proposals” (“RFP”),

acknowledged that a manual was in defendant’s possession

during the time he worked on RFPs. A cited excerpt from one

manual states that large synchronous machines “usually have

Class B insulation,” which is elsewhere described as

“consist[ing] mainly of varnish-impregnated mica, asbestos,

or glass.”

IDM performed no dismantling of the condensers before

BNFL terminated their subcontract. IDM did, however, cut

a hole in one of the condensers large enough for “two or

three” people to enter. Plaintiff acknowledges that IDM

performed no asbestos testing on the condensers’ contents.”

Mr. Quinn testified that “a lot” of wiring around the

switchyard tested positive for asbestos.

Several condensers (not the ones now in controversy) were

then added to a subcontract between defendant and an entity

known as “ATI.” According to the deposition, of David

Miller, who plaintiff identifies as ATI’s project manager, the

ATI subcontract provided that any hazardous materials,

including asbestos, discovered in condenser disassembly could

be returned to defendant at any time for proper disposal. Mr.

Miller testified that defendant did not take exception to that

? Plaintiff's project manager, John Roswech, testified that due to

the size of the openings he “assumed” defendant had sampled the

condenser contents. However, Mr. Roswech also acknowledged

that prior to the parties’ subcontract formation the condensers were

“sitting intact on pedestals some twenty feet in the air.”

48a

subcontract provision, which he assumed reflected “standard

operating procedure.”

Following the termination of IDM’s subcontract, the four

synchronous condensers presently at issue became part of a

January 6, 2000 subcontract between plaintiff and defendant

for the demolition and removal of a switchyard. Plaintiff is a

partnership between Coy Construction, LLC, a Tennessee

company, and Superior Abatement, Inc., a New Jersey

corporation. Plaintiff submitted a winning bid of $89,000.00.

The bid amount was lower than the anticipated cost of the

work and was purportedly based in part on plaintiffs

assessment of the salvage value of copper wiring present

within the synchronous condensers.

Plaintiff's accepted proposal contains an exclusion for

asbestos-containing materials. The subcontract, at § C.1.3,

states that defendant “has removed all known asbestos-

containing materials.” The “BNFL Response to Subcontractor

Questions - No. 1” portion of the subcontract notes the

possibility of asbestos or PCB contamination of major

equipment, but provides that the contaminants “can be

“removed.” Section C.1.3 further states that if

plaintiff” encounters any suspect materials in the execution of

work” it should immediately notify defendant. Similarly,

§ C.1.4 provides that if plaintiff “finds suspect asbestos . . .

during building demolition,” it is to notify defendant for

removal.’

* In contrast with the ATI subcontract provision allowing return of

asbestos-containing materials, § C.1.13 of defendant’s contract

with plaintiff provides that:

[Plaintiff] shall assume total regulatory responsibility,

liability, and title to the wastes and recyclable material

-

49a

Defendant’s employee Larry Brede was responsible for

overseeing plaintiff's work. He also served as an “interface”

between plaintiff and defendant. Mr. Brede testified that

defendant’s intent was for plaintiff to notify it if asbestos was

found during demolition, and defendant would then call in its

abatement contractor.

On approximately December 28, 1999, a report was

received by Jerry Truitt, who Mr. Brede identified as “a

subcontractor to [defendant].” The.report stated that “the

olack fibrous wrap [of an ETTP synchronous condenser other

than those now at issue] contains asbestos[.]” The condensers

at EL YP are approximately fifty years old, were made by

various manufacturers, and have been “tweaked” over the

years.

Plaintiff began work in February 2000. Mr. Roswech

states that he had a conversation with Mr. Brede, allegedly in

March 2000, in which Mr. Roswech showed Mr. Brede “the

paragraph [from the condenser manuals] that stated that there

may be asbestos used in the synchronous condensers

manufacture.” According to the affidavit of William Jones,

plaintiff's former ETTP Superintendent, Mr. Roswech

“pointed out to {defendant’s] official or officials that the

manual indicated asbestos may be in the insulation of wiring

upon loading onto [plaintiff's] vehicle at the ETTP site.

Any wastes and/or by-products generated during shipment,

Storage, disposal and/or other management of the waste

shall be the responsibility of [plaintiff] and shall be

disposed via approved disposal methods and procedures.

In its prior memorandum, the court construed § C.1.13 as shifting

asbestos responsibility to plaintiff at the point of removal from the

East Tennessee Technology Park. [doc. 117].

50a

in the condensers.” According to Mr. Brede, however, Mr.

Roswech only brought to his attention a manual page with “a

note on there that said asbestos with the exciters [otherwise

known as “starters”].” Therefore, according to Mr. Brede,

defendant was not specifically asked to performed asbestos

testing on the condensers’ internal contents.

Brady Riggs was formerly employed as a sampler at the

ETTP site. According to his affidavit, Mr. Riggs was

contacted on March 16, 2000, by defendant’s employee Mr.

Rast. Mr. Riggs was purportedly told “that samples needed to

be taken from some synchronous condensers to see if asbestos

was present.” Mr. Riggs states that Mr. Rast did not direct

him to sample specific areas (namely the wiring) of the

condensers and did not show him the operating manual. Mr.

Riggs therefore took only “grab samples” of exposed areas

and did not sample the wiring within the condensers.

One of the two samples taken from plaintiff's condensers

tested positive for the presence of asbestos in “[b]lack fibrous

insulation surrounding a coil unit on a synchronous

condenser.” Mr. Brede states that he showed the test results

to Mr. Jones. Mr. Jones denies that he was shown the test

results. Mr. Brede then concluded that defendant’s abatement

contractor should perform asbestos removal only on the

exciters. No further abatement was performed on the

condensers’ contents as a result of Mr. Riggs’ testing.

According to Mr. Jones, defendant then “gave us clearance to

go ahead with cutting the bodies of the synchronous

condensers into sections . . . . We did that, not knowing that

we were cutting into wire insulated with asbestos.”

After cutting the condensers into moveable pieces,

plaintiff transported them to its Portal 10 worksite within

ETTP. Plaintiff subsequently conducted additional testing.

Sla

The parties agree that this testing showed the presence of

asbestos. Defendant then took the position that, because

plaintiff had moved the condensers from their original

location, defendant was absolved of abatement responsibility

under § C.1.13 of the parties’ agreement.‘

The subcontract contains, at § H.44, a choice of law

provision providing that the document shall be interpreted

under “the laws of United States Government as set forth by

statute and regulations, and decisions by the appropriate

courts and Board of Subcontract Appeals.”° Pursuant to

§ H.44, where precedent is unavailable from the above

authorities, the court should then look to Tennessee law.

II.

The Complaint

In count one (breach of contract), plaintiff alleges that

defendant “breached the terms of the subcontract by entering

into a salvage-value contract with [plaintiff] when there was

no salvage value in the equipment available for salvage.

[Defendant] should have known that there was no salvage

value in the equipment [due to the presence of asbestos as

indicated by the operating manuals in defendant’s possession]

* In its prior memorandum and order, the court ruled otherwise.

[doc. 117, 118].

> The court’s research has failed to uncover the existence of a

“Board of Subcontract Appeals.” The court concludes that this

provision should instead read “Boards of Contract Appeals.”

52a

prior to award of the subcontract[.]”° Count one goes on to

allege that defendant breached its duty of good faith and fair

dealing: (1) “by not thoroughly examining the synchronous

condensers in advance of awarding the subcontract”; and (2)

“when it learned before [plaintiff] started cutting the

synchronous condensers into parts that asbestos was there but

did not inform [plaintiff].”’

Count three (negligent misrepresentation) alleges that

defendant “negligently misrepresented the fact that the

synchronous condensers, other than those parts known as the

exciters, were free of asbestos and that [plaintiff] could cut the

synchronous condensers into sections and pieces for

removal.” Count three is based in part on defendant’s alleged

breach of its alleged duty to search for and review the

operating manuals.

In count four (fraud), plaintiff accuses defendant of

making “fraudulent misrepresentations of fact and

conceal{ing}] matters it had a duty to disclose, all for the

° The complaint also alleges that defendant breached the contract by

allowing another subcontractor to remove 100,000 pounds of

copper, with an expected salvage value of $78,000.00, that

constituted “a significant portion of [plaintiff's] bid and bargain.”

In open court on January 28, 2003, counsel advised the court that

the 100,000 pounds of copper are still at issue. Neither party’s

summary judgment motion addresses this aspect of their dispute.

The court accordingly assumes that the removed copper remains a

contested issue for trial.

” Count one also seeks damages of “$100,00.00 if it has to dispose

of the asbestos containing material.” The court’s prior

memorandur .nd order has resolved that issue, ruling that the

abatement is not plaintiffs responsibility.

53a

purpose of inducing [plaintiff] to commit to a subcontract

illegally shifting to [plaintiff], unknown to [plaintiff],

responsibility for disposing of . . . asbestos{.]” Plaintiff goes

on to allege that defendant “perpetrated a fraud” by “callously

or intentionally” failing to warn plaintiff “of the dangers and

regulatory obligations it would be subject to in taking

possession of asbestos.” Plaintiff further contends that

defendant, with knowing falsity, stated that it would abate all

asbestos, with “[nJjo time limits or location limits” given,

when it in fact “had no intention of performing as

promised{.]” Lastly, plaintiff contends that it was “duped” by

defendant’s “fraudulent concealment” of the terms of its

subcontract with IDM. ‘

Ill.

Summary Judgment Standard

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c),

summary judgment shall be granted if “the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Brill Bros., Inc.,

ASBCA No. 42573, 93-2 BCA 4 25,795. The movant may

discharge its burden by demonstrating that the non-moving

party has failed to establish an essential element of that party’s

case for which it bears the ultimate burden of proof. Centex

Bateson Constr. Cu., Inc., VABCA No. 4613, 97-1 BCA

q 28, 915.

After the moving party has made its initial showing, the

burden shifts to the non-moving party to present specific facts

demonstrating a genuine issue for trial. AT&T Co., Fed. Sys.

Advanced Techs., DOTCAB No. 2479, 93-3 BCA { 26,088.

54a

“Factual disputes that are irrelevant or unnecessary will not

be counted.” Transitional Hous., Inc., DOTCAB No. 2634,

96-1 BCA 4 28,036 (quoting Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L. Ed.2d 202

(1986)). In order to defeat a motion for summary judgment,

the non-moving party must present significantly probative

evidence in support of its complaint. Joe E. Woods, Inc.,

DOTCAB No. 2777, 98-1 BCA 4 29,370 (quoting Liberty

Lobby, 477 U.S. at 249-50, 106 S. Ct. at 2511). The non-

movant’s evidence is to be believed, and all justifiable

inferences are to be drawn in that party’s favor. Centex

Bateson Constr. The court determines whether the evidence

requires submission to a jury or whether one party must

prevail as a matter of law because the issue is so one-sided.

Joe E. Woods, Inc. (quoting Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 251-

52, 106 S. Ct. at 2512).

IV.

Count One

The presence of genuine issues of material fact dictates

that defendant’s motion must be denied in part as to count

one. The parties’ course of conduct relating to the discovery

and abatement of asbestos is framed by §§ C.1.3 and C.1.4 of

the subcontract. If plaintiff encountered “suspect materials,”

including asbestos, it was to notify defendant who would

arrange for the removal of the materials. Through the

deposition testimony of Mr. Roswech and the affidavit of Mr.

Jones, plaintiff has presented probative evidence that

defendant breached its contractual duty. This evidence,

_ viewed 4 2% most favorable light, indicates that in March

2000 piaineit’ notified defendant of specific locations -

including the wiring insulation - where asbestos was

suspected. This evidence, if believed, demonstrates that

55a

defendant failed to adequately test, abate, and/or communicate

the results of its testing. Accordingly, a genuine issue of

material fact exists as to plaintiff's breach of contract claim.

Defendant’s motion will, however, be granted as to the

remaining breach of contract theories. As outlined above,

plaintiff also alleges that defendant: (1) “breached the terms

of the subcontract by entering into a salvage-value contract

when there was no salvage value in the equipment available

for salvage|;]” and (2) breached its duty of good faith and fair

dealing “by not thoroughly examining the synchronous

condensers in advance of awarding the subcontract[.}”

In support of the first of these claims, plaintiff cites three

pieces of evidence. Plaintiff first points to the affidavit of its

own project manager, Mr. Roswech. Mr. Roswech states in

conclusory fashion that defendant “knew” that plaintiff

expected the subcontract to generate “salvageable material of

significant value[.]” Mr. Roswech’s unsupported claim as to

another party’s knowledge is of no evidentiary value. See

Fed. R. Evid. 602 (Evidence must be based on personal

knowledge.). Further, even if Mr. Roswech’s statement was

of any relevance, defendant’s “knowledge” of plaintiff's

“expectation” hardly establishes a contractual duty to

guarantee profitability.

The next evidence cited by plaintiff is § C.1.2 of the

subcontract, which provides that plaintiff “shall retain ail

recycle value” in the synchronous condensers. This evidence

likewise is not probative of a contractual guarantee of

profitability. Plaintiff admittedly submitted its bid based on its

own assessment of potential recycle value. Subcontract

§§ C.1.2 through C. 1.4 repeatedly point out the potential

presence of additional asbestos and make plaintiff

“responsible for verifying the existing conditions.” Plaintiff

56a

is a partnership of construction and abatement professionals.

Its repeated attempts to characterize itself as an

unsophisticated entity ring hollow. See Peters, PSBCA No.

999, 83-2 BCA { 16,694 (“Equity does not relieve from hard

bargains simply because they are such.”) (quoting Columbia

Ry., Power & Light Co. v. City of Columbus, 249 U.S. 399,

414, 39S. Ct. 3491 354, 63 L. Ed. 669 (1919)).

Lastly, plaintiff points to defendant’s prime contract with

DOE, which establishes what would happen if equipment such

as synchronous condensers sold for a hisher-than-expected

value. Plaintiff states that”[o]bviously DOE thought [the

condensers] had value.” Again, what another party “thought”

does not establish a contractual duty whereby defendant

guaranteed plaintiff's profitability. Defendani did not breach

the subcontract by “entering into a salvage-value contract

when there was no salvage value[.]” See Pirate’s Cove

Marina, IBCA No. 1018-2-74, 75-1 BCA { 11,109 (“The

agreement does not guarantee the appellant against loss, nor -

does it guarantee it a profit.”). Summary judgment will be

granted on this claim.

Summary judgment will also be granted on the theory that

defendant breached its duty of good faith and fair dealing “by

not thoroughly examining the synchronous condensers in

advance of awarding the subcontract[.], “Every contract

imposes upon each party a duty of good faith and fair dealing

in its performance[.}” Norman v. GSA, GSBCA No. 15070,

02-2 BCA 4 32,042 (citation omitted). This implied duty does

not, however, “confer on a party any rights or grounds for

recovery other than those that are contractually based.” /d.

The concept of good faith and fair dealing is not “an

overflowing cornucopia of wished-for legal duties.” Id.

(citation omitted). Instead, good faith and fair dealing “must

S7a

attach to a specific substantive obligation mutually,assented to

by the parties.” /d. (citation omitted).

In support of this claim plaintiff argues only that defendant

“should have” reviewed the manuals and performed thorough

advance testing. This position is the absolute opposite of the

subcontract into which plaintiff freely entered. The

subcontract repeatedly notes that additional asbestos may be

present. Obviously, that meant that defendant had not

thoroughly tested the condensers or any other material.

Plaintiff can point to no “specific substantive contractual

obligation” to locate asbestos in advance because no such

substantive obligation existed. Defendant cannot be liable for

failing to do something it was not contractually or legally

obligated to do - neither testing nor combing through manuals

present in “a van full of file cabinets . . . among hundreds of

other information [sic] about various other equipment|.]” Jd.

Summary judgment will accordingly be granted on this claim.

V.

Count Three

In support of its negligent misrepresentation count,

plaintiff again points to defendant’s alleged pre-contract duty

to perform a “diligent-search”. for asbestos. As discussed

immediately above, defendant had no such duty. To the extent

that count three relies on that duty, count three fails.

~ The remainder of plaintiff's negligent misrepresentation

claim is based on the March 2000 exchanges between Mr.

Brede, Mr. Roswech, and Mr. Jones, in which defendant

allegedly misinformed plaintiff as to the results of asbestos

testing. As discussed above, there exists a genuine issue of

58a

material fact on this Claim. Nonetheless, the court will grant

summary judgment on count three.

The tort of negligent misrepresentation has been

recognized in the contract See, e.g., Active Fire Sprinkler

Corp., GSBCA_No. 5461, 85-1 BCA 4 17, 868. However,

claims for negligent misrepresentation in contractual

performance are frequently treated as claims for breach of

contract. See, e.g., RIM Adver., GPOBCA No. 38-94, 1997

WL 742429. The court is persuaded to do so in the present

case.

Counts one and three, as they relate to the March 2000

testing, address identical acts and damages. The only

substantiated “negligent misrepresentation” - that Mr. Brede

miscommunicated the test results - is fully encompassed

within plaintiffs surviving breach of contract claim. To allow

this case to proceed under both legal theories would serve

only to confuse the jury at trial. Defendant’s summary

judgment motion will accordingly be granted as to all

negligent misrepresentation theories raised in count three.*

VI.

Count Four

Defendant’s summary judgment motion will also be

granted as to plaintiffs fraud claims. Initially, the court notes

the general rule that allegations of fraud are typically not

® The court stresses that this ruling should in no way be construed

as prohibiting plaintiff from introducing evidence at trial relating to

defendant’s purported negligence.

59a

appropriate for disposition at the summary judgment stage.

See, e.g., Fowler v. Happy Goodman Family, 575 $.W.2d

496, 499 (Tenn. 1978) (affirming grant of summary judgment

on guestion of fraud). “Nevertheless, it is incumbent upon the

party asserting fraud, when confronted by a motion for

summary judgment, to produce some competent and material

evidence legally sufficient to support his claim or defense.”

Id. “Evidence merely inviting the fact-finder to guess at

([defendant’s] intent would not be competent.” American

Cable Corp. v. ACI Mgmt., Inc., No. M1997-00280-COA-R3-

CV, 2000 WL 1291265, at *5 (Tenn. Ct. App. Sept. 14,

2000) (affirming grant of summary judgment on question of

fraud).

Plaintiff offers no competent evidence supporting its

contention that defendant falsely stated it would abate asbestos

when it in fact “had no intention of performing as promised.”

Summary judgment will accordingly be granted on that

theory. See id.; see also Joe E. Woods, Inc., DOTCAB No.

2777, 98-1 BCA 4 29,370 (non-movant must present

significantly probative evidence in support of its claim).

Plaintiff also claims that defendant fraudulently and

“illegally shift{edj] to [plaintiff], unknown to [plaintiff]

responsibility for disposing of . . . asbestos[.]” Plaintiff

contends that subcontract § C.1.13 is rendered inoperative by

the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation

and Liability Act (“CERCLA”). This theory is without merit. -

The Sixth Circuit has recognized “the basic principle that

parties may skift CERCLA and other environmental liabilities

by means of an indemnity agreemert.” Olin Corp. v. Yeargin

Inc., 146 F.3 d 398, 407 (6" Cir. 1998). “{WJhether a

particular agreement has shifted such liabilities is a question

of state law.” Jd. Predicting Tennessee law, the Sixth Circuit

60a

has held that an agreement shifts environmental liability if it

“contains a clear and unambiguous reference to such costs.”

Id.

Section C.1.13 “contains a clear and unambiguous

reference to such costs.” Although the court has found the

provision ambiguous as to when liability shifted, there is no

doubt that the subcontract “clearly and unambiguously” shifts

environmental responsibility at some point.’ Section C.1.13

“clearly and unambiguously” provides that “[plaintiff] shall

assume total regulatory responsibility, liability, and title to the

wastes ... Any wastes and/or by-products generated during

sninment, storage, disposal and/or other management of the

waste shall be the responsibility of [plaintiff] and shall be

disposed via approved disposal methods and procedures.”

This language is sufficient to shift CERCLA liability, Olin,

146 F.3d at 407, and is clearly present in plaintiff's

subcontract.

It will not do, for a man to enter into a contract, and,

when called upon to respond to its obligations, to say

that he did not read it when he signed it, or did not

know what it contained. If this were permitted,

contracts would not be worth the paper on which they

are written. But such is not the law.

Beasley v. Metro. Life Ins. Co., 229 S.W.2d 146, 148 (Tenn.

1950) (quoting Upton v. Tribilcock, 91 U.S. 45, 50, 23 L.

Ed. 203 (1875)).

—

° As discussed, the court has construed § C.1.13 as shifting

asbestos responsibility to plaintiff at the point of removal from the

East Tennessee Technology Park, thereby adopting plaintiff's

proposed construction. [doc. 117].

61a

Plaintiff next claims that defendant fraudulently failed to

warn of the presence of asbestos and “the dangers and

regulatory obligations” related thereto. Again, the court notes

that subcontract §§ C.1.2 through C.1.4 repeatedly point out

the potential presence of asbestos. Any claim that defendant

failed to warn of the presence of asbestos is without merit.

Beasley, 229 S.W.2d at 148. Further, the court again notes

that plaintiff is a partnership of construction and abatement

_ professionals. Any claim that defendant failed to warn an

abatement professional- of “the dangers and regulatory

obligations” of asbestos is equally without merit.'°

Lastly, plaintiff claims that defendant “fraudulently

concealed the existence and benefits” of the terms of its

subcontract with ATI. “[I]t is incumbent upon the party

asserting fraud, when confronted by a motion for summary

judgment, to produce some competent and material evidence

legally sufficient to support his claim[.]” Fowler v. Happy

Goodman Family, 575 S.W.2d 496, 499 (Tenn. 1978).

Plaintiff offers no evidence that defendant “fraudulently”

concealed terms negotiated between it and another entity.

More importantly, plaintiff cites no contractual or legal

authority requiring defendant to disclose the terms of an

agreement with a third party. This claim accordingly fails.

'° The court further notes the “BNFL Response to Subcontractor

Questions - No. 1” portion of the subcontract. Therein, plaintiff

asked multiple questions relating to specific environmental dangers

(“Have all the radioactive contaminants been removed . . . ? Is the

paint lead based . . . ? Has applicable roofing material been tested

for hazardous/regulated materiais; if so, are the analytical results -

available? . . . Is there non-asbestos between the inner and outer

skin of building and what is the insulation material?”). Plaintiff

evidently had the opportunity to inquire about asbestos testing of

the synchronous condensers and simply failed to do so.

62a

VII.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated herein, defendant’s motion for

summary judgment will be denied solely as to plaintiff's

breach of contract allegation relating to the disputed March

2000 asbestos testing. Defendant’s motion will otherwise be

granted as to counts one, three, and four. An order consistent

with this opinion will be entered.

ENTER:

/s/ Leon Jordan

Leon Jordan

United States District Judge

63a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

KNOXVILLE DIVISION

No. 3:01-CV-634

[Filed February 18, 2004]

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM, )

Plaintiff, )

) 7

v. )

)

BNFL, INC., )

Defendant. J

)

ORDER

For the reasons stated in the memorandum opinion filed

contemporaneously with this order, “Defendant’s Renewed

Motion for Summary Judgment” [doc. 88] is DENIED IN

PART as to count one only. Defensiant’s motion is otherwise

GRANTED as to counts one, three, and four.

ENTER:

/s/ Leon Jordan

Leon Jordan

United States District Judge

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

KNOXVILLE DIVISION

No. 3:01-CV-634

[Filed January 28, 2004]

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM,

Plaintiff,

V.

BNEL, INC.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant. )

)

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This civil action is now before the court on “Defendant’s

Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment” [doc. 88] and

“Plaintiff Coy/Superior’s Motion for Summary Judgment on

Its Claim for a Declaratory Judgment” [doc. 92]. Defendant

seeks summary judgment on all counts of plaintiffs second

amended complaint. Plaintiff seeks summary judgment only

65a

on count two, relating to the core issue of asbestos disposal

responsibility .'

Plaintiff has filed a response to defendant’s motion [doc.

80], to which defendant has submitted a reply [doc. 91],

which then generated a supplemental brief from plaintiff [doc.

104], to which defendant submitted a response [doc. 115].

Defendant has also responded to plaintiffs summary judgment

motion [doc. 94}, and plaintiff has submitted a reply [doc.

96].

This memorandum opinion will address only count two of

the second amended complaint. For the reasons stated herein,

plaintiffs motion will be granted. Defendant’s motion will be

denied in part, as to count II only. The remaining issues

raised in defendant’s summary judgment motion will be

addressed in a subsequent memorandum opinion.

I.

Factual Background

In 1997, defendant entered into a prime contract with the

Department of Energy (“DOE”) to “decontaminate,

decommission, and recycle” three former uranium processing

buildings at DOE’s East Tennessee Technology Park

(“ETTP”) near Oak Ridge, Tennessee.’ The present asbestos

dispute arises from a January 6, 2000 subcontract between

plaintiff and defendant for the demolition and removal of an

~

a

' The remainder of the complaint raises claims of breach of

contract, negligent misrepresentation, and fraud.

? ETTP is a DOE installation formerly known as K-25. The prime

contract involves buildings K-29, K-31, and K-33.

66a

adjoining switchyard (K-792) which served one of the

processing buildings.’ Plaintiff is a partnership between Coy

Construction, LLC, (“Coy”) a Tennessee company, and

Superior Abatement, Inc., a New Jersey corporation, formed

for the purpose of entering into the subcontract with

defendant.

Plaintiff submitted a winning bid of $89,000.00 to

demolish K-792. The bid amount was lower than the

anticipated cost of demolition and was purportedly based in

part on plaintiff's assessment of the salvage value of

equipment and materials. Plaintiff's accepted proposal

contains an exclusion for asbestos-containing materials.

The parties agree that their subcontract was drafted by

defendant. That document, at § C.1.3, states that defendant

“has removed all known asbestos-containing materials.” The

“BNFL Response to Subcontractor Questions - No. 1” portion

of the subcontract notes the possibility of asbestos or PCB

contamination of major equipment, but provides that the

contaminants “can be removed.” Section C.1.3 further states

that if plaintiff “encounters any suspect materials in the

execution of work” it should immediately notify defendant

Similarly, § C.1.4 provides that if plaintiff “finds suspect

asbestos . . . during building demolition,” it is to notify

defendant for removal.

Defendant acknowledges its contractual responsibility to

abate any asbestos discovered in materials remaining on the

work site. The parties disagree, however, as to the parameters

> The switchyard served building K-33. Contained within K-792

were buildings K-791, K-791N, and K-791S.

67a

of “the work site.” Section C.1.13 of the subcontract

provides:

[Plaintiff] shall assume total regulatory responsibility,

liability, and title to the wastes and recyclable material

upon loading onto [plaintiffs] vehicle at the ETTP site.

Any wastes and/or by-products generated during

shipment, storage, disposal and/or other management

of the waste shall be the responsibility of [plaintiff]

and shall be disposed via approved disposal methods

and procedures.

Plaintiff interprets § C.1.13 as shifting responsibility at the

time of loading onto plaintiff's vehicle for final removal from

ETTP. Defendant, however, contends that responsibility

shifted at the time materials were first loaded onto plaintiff's

vehicle for any reason.

The present controversy arises from the removal of four

synchronous condensers from K-792. In March 2000, plaintiff

discovered operating manuals on site for the condensers. The

manuals allegedly reference the presence of asbestos in the

condensers. Plaintiff notified defendant, those asbestos

abatement subcontractor (“AAS”) then took samples for

testing.

Soon after receiving the test results, defendant informed

plaintiff that asbestos had been found in the exciters, or

starters, of the condensers.‘ The AAS removed the asbestos

and disposed of it. According to the complaint, defendant at

that time knew or should have known that further asbestos

‘ The parties disagree as to whether and how additional testing ~~

results were communicated.

68a

was present in the condensers. Plaintiff alleges that it

proceeded with demolition based upon defendant’s

misrepresentations, and withholding of test results.

After cutting the condensers into smaller pieces, plaintiff

moved them to Portal 10, another location within ETTP that

plaintiff had leased for the purpose of conducting salvage

operations. In July 2000, while negotiating to sell salvaged

copper, plaintiff learned of the presence of additional asbestos

in the condensers. Plaintiff notified defendant of this

discovery. Citing § C.1.13, defendant disclaimed

responsibility.

The asbestos-tainted condenser sections remain at

plaintiffs ETTP salvage area pending resolution of the parties’

dispute.” Under count II of the second amended complaint,

plaintiff asks for a declaratory judgment that defendant is the

party responsible for the disposal and/or storage of the

disputed condenser sections.° Plaintiff contends that asbestos

° At oral argument on January 28, 2003, plaintiff's counsel advised

the court that the sections remain at the salvage area despite the

expiration of plaintiff's lease. _

® The Declaratory Judgment Act allows the court to “declare the

rights and other legal relations of any interested party seeking such

declaration.” 28 U.S.C. § 2201(a). In determining whether a

declaratory judgment is warranted, the court should consider the

following factors:

1. Whether the judgment would settle the controversy;

2. Whether the declaratory judgment action would serve a

useful purpose in clarifying the legal relations at issue;

69a

abatement remains defendant’s responsibility under §§ C.1.3

and C.1.4 of the subcontract, while defendant argues that

responsibility passed to plaintiff upon the condensers’ removal

from the K-792 site, pursuant to § C.1.13.’

The subcontract contains, at § H.44, a choice of law

provision which provides that the document shall be

interpreted under “the laws of United States Government

3. Whether the declaratory remedy is being used merely for the

purpose of “procedural fencing” or “to provide an arena for a

race for res judicata”;

4. Whether the use of a declaratory action would increase the

friction between our federal and state courts and improperly

encroach on state jurisdiction; and

5. Whether there is an alternative remedy that is better or more

effective.

Scottsdale Ins. Co. v. Roumph, 211 F.3d 964, 968 (6" Cir. 2000)

(citation omitted).

The Court does not find the third or fourth factors applicable

to the present case. As for the remaining considerations, the

alternative remedy of court-ordered mediation has already been

attempted without success. A declaratory judgment would serve the

useful purpose of clarifying what the parties agree is “the central

issue in this case,” thereby resolving at least part of the present

controversy in advance of trial.

’ Plaintiff also raises various theories relating to the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act

(“CERCLA”): Because this controversy can be decided on the

plain language of the parties’ subcontract, the court need not

address plaintiff's CERCLA arguments.

70a

Contracts as set forth by statute and regulations, and decisions

by the appropriate courts and Board of Subcontract Appeals. es

Pursuant to § H.44, where precedent is unavailable from the

above authorities, the court should then look to Tennessee

law.

Il.

Summary Judgment Standard

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c),

summary judgment is appropriate when “the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Brill Bros.,-Inc.,

ASBCA No. 42573, 93-2 BCA 4 25,795. The movant may

discharge its burden by demonstrating that the non-moving

party has failed to establish an essential element of that party’s

case for which it bears the ultimate burden of proof. Centex

Bateson Constr. Co., Inc., VABCA No. 4613, 97-1 BCA 4

28, 915.

After the moving party has made its initial showing, the

burden shifts to the non-moving party to present specific facts

demonstrating a genuine issue for trial. AT&T Co., Fed. Sys.

Advanced Techs., DOTCAB No. 2479, 93-3 BCA 4 26,088.

“Factual disputes that are irrelevant or unnecessary will not

be counted.” Transitional Hous., Inc., DOTCAB No. 2634,

96-1 BCA 428,036 (quoting Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

® The court’s research has failed to uncover the existence of a

“Board of Subcontract Appeals.” The court concludes that this

provision should instead read “Boards of Contract Appeals.”

or Tla~

477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L. Ed.2d 202

(1986)). In order to defeat a motion for summary judgment,

the non-moving party must present significantly probative

evidence in support of its complaint. Joe E. Woods, Inc.,

DOTCAB No. 2777, 98-1BCA { 29,370 (quoting Liberty

Lobby, 477 U.S. at 249-50, 106 S. Ct. at 2511) The non-

movant’s evidence is to be believed, and all justifiable

inferences are to be drawn in that party’s favor. Centex

Bateson Constr. The court determines whether the evidence

requires submission to a jury or whether one party must

prevail as a matter of law because the issue is so one-sided.

Joe E. Woods, Inc. (quoting Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 251-

52, 106 S. Ct. at 2512).

iil.

. Analysis

i, * Prep ages

As noted, the parties differ in their interpretation of

§ C.1.13 which, in material part, provides that plaintiff “shall

assume total regulatory responsibility, liability, and title to the

wastes and recyclable material upon loading onto [plaintiff's]

vehicle at the ETTP site” (emphasis added). After cutting the

condensers into smaller pieces, plaintiff moved them to Portal

10, within the ETTP, for salvage operations. Defendant

argues that § C.1.13 shifted asbestos responsibility to plaintiff

upon loading onto plaintiff's vehicle for any reason. Plaintiff,

however, contends that § C.1.13 addresses the point at which

materials are loaded for their ultimate removal from the

ETTP, not merely for transportation within the site.

A contractual provision is ambiguous where subject to

more than one _ reasonable interpretation. Fry

Communications, Inc. v. United States, 22 Cl. Ct. 497, 503

(1991) The court need not determine which reading is better

72a

or “most reasonable,” so long as both interpretations are in

fact reasonable. Jd. at 505-06. In such cases, the doctrine of

_ contra proferentem accepts the interpretation of the non-

drafting party, provided that the ambiguity is latent and the

non-drafting party relied on its interpretation in submitting its

bid. Id. at 503.

The court finds each party’s subcontract interpretation

reasonable. Defendant’s reading technically tracks § C.1.13’s

language, while plaintiff's interpretation is more consistent

with defendant’s asbestos responsibility as repeated

throughout the subcontract.’ In the court’s mind, it is certainly

reasonable to read the subcontract, as a whole, as drawing a

line of responsibility at the point of ultimate removal from the

ETTP site, rather than at the initial point of movement within

Erie”

° See, e.g., § C.1.3 (providing that if plaintiff “encounters any

suspect materials in the execution of work” it should immediately

notify defendant); “BNFL Response to Subcontractor Questions -

No. 1” (noting the possibility of asbestos, but providing that it “can

be removed”); § C.1.4 (If plaintiff “finds suspect asbestos . . .

during building demolition,” it is to notify defendant for removal.).

© Interestingly, the subcontract in its summary § C.1.1, states that

“(wjork is located at the BNFL Inc. site, East Tennessee

Technology Park (ETTP), Portal 8, Perimeter Road, Oak Ridge,

Tennessee”. This summary labels the K-792 work site that housed

the condensers as the “BNFL Inc. site,” a subcomponent of the

greater ETTP. Section C.1.10 references both “the BNFL Inc.

Switchyard site” and as “the BNFL Inc. ETTP Site.” “ETTP site”

is also used in vehicle security portion of § C.1.10, in apparent

reference to the greater ETTP. At § C.1.11, the initial work site is

again called “the BNFL work site.” If defendant indeed intended

for asbestos responsibility to shift at the point of loading at the

smaller “BNFL Inc. site” instead of at the greater “ETTP site,” it

73a

The court further finds the ambiguity to be latent in

nature. A contractual ambiguity is latent unless it contains a

“gross discrepancy, an obvious error in drafting, or a glaring

gap.” Fry Communications, 22 Cl. Ct. at 509. The phrase

“upon loading onto [plaintiff's] vehicle at the ETTP site” does

not on its face create the sort of glaring uncertainty that would

clearly warn a party to seek clarification in advance. See

King-Bole, Inc. DOTCAB No. 1810, 87-1 BCA 4 19,652.

“Contractors should not have to engage in a treasure hunt of

the contract specifications . . . in order to glean the true

meaning” of the document. Worsham Constr. Co., Inc.,

GSBCA No. 5469-R, 80-2 BCA 4 14,644. =

Lastly, the asbestos-containing materials exclusion

contained in plaintiff's accepted proposal illustrates plaintiff's

reliance at the time it prepared its bid. See Fry

Communications, 22 Cl. Ct. at 509-10. In the same two-page

document, at § 2.2, plaintiff discloses its intention to

eventually remove materials to its leased salvage site “to

complete site demolition of all buildings.” Additionally,

could have easily and clearly said so. See Fry Communications, 22

Cl. Ct. at 506 (“[B]y including a few extra words, [defendant]

could have made its purported intention crystal clear.”).

Defendant argues, in the alternative, that the meaning of

“ETTP site” is irrelevant because the operative phrase of § C.1.13

is the “loading onto [plaintiff's] vehicle.” According to defendant,

responsibility for asbestos abatement shifted to plaintiff upon the

“loading onto [plaintiff's] vehicle,” regardless of where that

loading took place. The court disagrees. Under defendant’s

interpretation, abatement responsibility would shift when plaintiff

moved materials by “vehicle” but would remain with defendani if

plaintiff were to move the material in buckets, wheelbarrows, <arts,

etc. Defendant’s interpretation would lead to an absurd result.

~

74a

plaintiff has submitted the affidavit of Franklin Jarvis, Coy

Construction’s general manager, as evidence of its reliance.

Jarvis states that “[i]t was clear from the beginning of the

proposal process right on through performance of the

subcontract that asbestos was excluded from the BNFL-CST

subcontract. [Plaintiff] was not to take it or even work on it.”

Larry Brede, defendant’s representative who wrote the scope

of the work for the subcontract, agreed in deposition that

defendant’s “intent was for the subcontractor to do no

asbestos work.”

Accordingly, under the doctrine of contra proferentem,

§ C.1.13 must be construed against the defendant as the

drafting party. Plaintiff is therefore entitled to summary

judgment on count II of its second amended complaint. An

order consistent with this opinion will be entered.

ENTER:

/s/ Leon Jordan

Leon Jordan

United States District Judge

75a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

KNOXVILLE DIVISION

No. 3:01-CV-634

{Filed January 28, 2004]

THE COY/SUPERIOR TEAM, )

Plaintiff, )

)

v. )

)

BNEFL, INC., )

Defendant. )

)

ORDER

For the reasons stated in the memorandum opinion filed

contemporaneously with this order, “Plaintiff Coy/Superior’s

Motion for Summary Judgment on Its Claim for a Declaratory

Judgment” [doc. 92] is GRANTED and “Defendant’s

Renewed Motion for summary Judgment” [doc. 88] is

DENIED IN PART as to count two only. Pursuant to the-

parties’ subcontract, defendant is the entity responsible for the

asbestos abatement at issue in this case.

The remainder of “Defendant's Renewed Motion for

Summary Judgment” will be addressed in a subsequent

memorandum opinion and order.

T6a

ENTER:

/s/ Leon Jordan

Leon Jordan

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — The v. BNFL, Inc. (No. 06-656) | Frix