Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Haynes v. Level 3 Communications, LLC, 127 S. Ct. 1372 (2007) (No. 06-638)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

No.

—— 96-63 8NOV 3 - 2006

OFFICE OF THE GLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 2006

LINDA HAYNES.

Petitioner.

Vv.

LEVEL 3 COMMUNICATIONS. LLC,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Diane MacArthur Brown*

John R. Olsen*

Olsen & Brown, LLC

8362 Greenwood Drive

Niwot, Colorado 80503

(303) 652-1133

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Since this Court's decision in Nat'l R.R. Passenger

Corp. v. Morgan, 536 U.S. 101 (2002), eliminating the

continuing violation doctrine in most discrimination

cases, said decision has been honed to razor sharpness in

the circuit courts to dismiss cases contrary to the

remedial nature of discrimination laws and the intent of

Congress.

In doing so, certain courts of appeals have ruled that

even the most petty of workplace slights requires the

filing of a charge of discrimination with the EEOC or

said slight cannot become the basis of a claim of

discrimination more than 300 days into the future. This

has led to the unintended result that an employee whose

sales accounts are being slowly removed, one by one,

must file an EEOC charge for each and every removed

sales account or be forever barred from citing each

individual removal in any future discrimination action.

That is what happened in the instant case.

Moreover, certain courts of appeal -- including the

instant one -- have gone one step further to rule that

evidence originating more than 300 days before the

current adverse employment action cannot be used for

any purpose, including to prove discriminatory intent

regarding a later adverse action. This is as a matter of

law and amounts to a special statute of limitations for

use of evidence in discrimination cases. Certain courts

of appeals, including this one, have also ruled that said

301-day-old evidence is ipso facto irrelevant to prove

pretext and, in a retaliation case, causation.

il

Such rulings fairly should be addressed by this Court,

as they limit evidence unlike in any other cases in the

federal courts and whipsaw discrimination plaintiffs in a

way never intended by Congress.

In Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company,

Inc., No. 05-1072 [Petitioner's Brief filed September 7,

2006] the identical issue of limiting evidence of

discriminatory intent to the prior 180 (or 300) days is

already before this Court.

Thus, the questions presented are:

Whether removal of individual sales accounts and

similar petty actions in the workplace that do not have a

significant financial or other impact on the employee's

status should trigger a requirement of filing with the

EEOC each time they occur.

Whether personnel actions older than 300 days which

were not adverse employment actions at the time and did

not trigger the requirement of reporting to the EEOC

may be used to prove discriminatory and retaliatory

intent regarding a later employment action that otherwise

appears to be neutral on its face.

Whether such personnel actions older than 300 days

that were not adverse employment actions and did not

trigger the requirement of reporting to the EEOC at the

time may be used to prove pretext, and, in a retaliation

case, causation.

li

Whether there is or should be a 300-day statute of

limitations on use of evidence showing discriminatory

intent, pretext, or, in a retaliation case, causation.

iV

PARTIES 7O THE PROCEEDING

There are no parents or subsidiaries known to

petitioner.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CPCI FOOROIIIG 5 oc os 65s civ cons cds deed ewr 1-ill

RE IN G0 bs ha eveedivceensnaeen V-Viil

POON OL CHOG AMIIOVIIES oko cbc cce retinue iX-Xi

Se re Pare om

PL ib ad hd eae eee Foe ie |

Relevant Statutory Provisions ................0.. l

Statement of the Case 6... eee ee eee eee 2

Mg ee 2

B. Proceedings in the District Court .......... 5

C. Decision of the Court of Appeals........... 8

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS--Continued

Reasons for Granting the Petition................. 10

REMOVAL OF INDIVIDUAL SALES

ACCOUNTS AND SIMILAR PETTY ACTIONS

IN THE WORKPLACE THAT DO NOT HAVE A

SIGNIFICANT FINANCIAL OR OTHER

IMPACT ON THE EMPLOYEE'S STATUS

SHOULD NOT TRIGGER A REQUIREMENT

OF FILING WITH THE EEOC EACH TIME

EE SOA 6 0 5 oN hoe dds utd daadevieees 10

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION TO THE

CONTRARY WILL CREATE HAVOC IN THE

WORK PLACE AND AT THE EEOC........ 10

PERSONNEL ACTIONS OLDER THAN 300

‘DAYS WHICH WERE NOT ADVERSE

EMPLOYMENT ACTIONS AT THE TIME AND

DID NOT TRIGGER THE REQUIREMENT OF

REPORTING TO THE EEOC MAY BE USED TO

PROVE THE DISCRIMINATORY AND

RETALIATORY INTENT REGARDING A

LATER EMPLOYMENT ACTION — THAT

OTHERWISE APPEARS TO BE NEUTRAL ON

SEER oS CNN oo sc ewes COlEC ea esee ene ks 15

Vii

SUCH PERSONNEL ACTIONS OLDER THAN

300 DAYS THAT WERE NOT ADVERSE

EMPLOYMENT ACTIONS AND DID NOT

TRIGGER THE REQUIREMENT OF

REPORTING TO THE EEOC AT THE TIME

MAY BE USED TO PROVE PRETEXT, AND, IN

A RETALIATION CASE, CAUSATION. ..... 15

THERE IS NO 300-DAY STATUTE OF

LIMITATIONS ON USE OF EVIDENCE

SHOWING ~~ DISCRIMINATORY INTENT,

PRETEXT, OR, IN A RETALIATION CASE,

Nt eee errr ee Or reo rr eT 15

EVIDENCE OF SUCH PERSONNEL ACTIONS

OLDER THAN 300 DAYS SHOULD BE

ADMISSIBLE TO PROVE DISCRIMINATORY

ANIMUS AND PRETEXT PRECISELY

BECAUSE IT WAS NOT FORESEEABLE THAT

THEY WOULD RESULT SOME DAY IN AN

ADVERSE PERSONNEL DECISION; AND THE

EMPLOYEE HAD NO REASON TO FILE AN

EEOC CHARGE Al THE TIME ............ 24

MORGAN EXPRESSLY DID NOT RESOLVE

THIS ISSUE; THE COURTS OF APPEALS ARE

DOING IT ON THEIR OWN, AND

ERRONEOUSLY SO, GIVEN THE REMEDIAL

PURPOSES OF THE ANTI-DISCRIMINATION

FS eer ee ee Pr er eee rT ee er eee 26

Vill

THE ISSUE OF A 180-DAY LIMITATION ON

EVIDEN’ ~ OF DISCRIMINATORY INTENT IS

PRESEN 7’ BEFORE THE COURT IN

FPF CO IS 4 9 8 6A ee 27

MPTP ECO Teer rere my 30

Appendix

Haynes v. Level 3 Communications, Inc.

(456:F 36 £213 (CARD BO) cv dcvcctnensdeuws la

Haynes v. Level 3 Communications, Inc.

(CATG, FRY 21, BOONE + 0 ces 0as bieanseaceeern 28a

ix

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan. ............... 23

Housing Development Corp.,

429 U.S. 252 (1977)

i ee tek beer eceeccereervess 24

478 U.S. 385 (1986)

Brown vy. Board of Education, ..........000.00005 29

347 U.S. 483 (1954)

Brown v. Unified School District 501,............. 25

___F.3d___, (CA10, October 12, 2006)

Carpinteria Valley Farms. Lid... ........0.000000 23

v. County of Santa Barbara,

334 F.3d 796 (CA9 2003)

County of Washington v. Gunther, .........00.0065 30

452 U.S. 161, 178 (1981)

EE SS 28

251 F.3d 345 (CA2 2001)

CS eee 24

401 U.S. 75 (1998).

Haynes v. Level 3 Communications, LLC, ......... la

456 F.3d 1215 (CA10 2006)

Er 29

471 U.S. 222 (1985)

Hysten v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co.,........ 7

296 F.3d 1177 (CA10 2002)

EC ews e eet yecesscessees 2]

404 F.3d 556 (CA1 2005)

TABLE OF CONTENTS--Continued

Law v. Continental Airlines a eee eee 20

399 F.3d 330, (CADC 2005)

Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire .......cccceccecvees 27

and Rubber Company, Inc.,

No. 05-1072

Bera v, COVE EEO, To cc cecntavtvvesedes: 21

27 F.3d 746 (CAI 1994)

Nat'l R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Morgan,............ 13

536 U.S. 101 (2002)

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods., Inc.,........ 21

530 U.S. 133 (2000)

Rennard v. Woodworker's Supply, Inc.,.........464. 7

No. 03-8031, 2004 WL 1260309

(CA10 June 9, 2004)

RK Ventures, Inc. v. City of Seattle,.............. 23

307 F.3d 1045 (9th Cir. 2002)

Roberts v. Hoaibnay DIP., Tlic. ov cc cc ces cvesvvcns 7

149 F.3d 1098 (CA10 1998)

TU Rs hk 4 kee ae eee 7

350 F.3d 1286 1293 (CADC 2003)

United Air Lines, Inc. v. Evans,...........-00000: 25

431 U.S. 553 (1977)

Bf ee ee ee 28

509 F.2d 793 (CAS 1975)

Cela ans Us Gs ooo 5h oo 60 oe Cen eet kas 28

235 F.3d 466 (CA9 2000)

xi

Statutes and Rules:

pi ef. | ae ae |

os bs weve des 8

42 U.S. § 20000-SleK 1)... 6... cece cece cece l

CE SRE Ra eae peer en eee ar 22

. . & SSR a netenaecne crn, 30

Ph GGT a Sia tees eons ce oneaso hee Ress 29

Other Authorities:

52 Am. Jur. 2d LIMITATION OF ACTIONS...... 28

§ 24 (2006)

1

Petitioner Linda Haynes (“Haynes”) respectfully

requests that a writ of certiorari be issued to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals was reported at

456 F.3d 1215 (CA10 2006), and is set forth at App. la-

27a. The underlying opinion of the district court was not

reported and is set forth at App. 28a-50a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

August 8, 2006. App. la. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(e)(1), provides in relevant part:

"A charge under this section shall be filed

within one hundred and eighty days after the

alleged unlawful employment practice occurred

* * * except that in a case of an unlawful

employment practice with respect to which the

person aggrieved has _ initially instituted

proceedings with a State or local agency * * *

such charge shall be filed by or on behalf of the

person aggrieved within three hundred days

after the alleged unlawful employment practice

occurred* * *.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

Petitioner Linda Haynes, a female with birth date of

April 6, 1954, had an extensive prior career in

communications sales. App. 4a-Sa. At her prior

company, she had been first in sales for all eight and

one-half years of her employment there. She was hired

into the respondent corporation ["Level 3"] as an

account manager, with an initial title of “carrier sales

manager” in the San Francisco office. She began in

March 1999. /d. Her tithe was changed to senior

account manager August 25, 2000.

In the year 2000, in a gradual process, Haynes' sales

accounts at Level 3 were taken away from her and given

to a new male employee in his 20s with comparatively

lesser experience and skills. App. 4a-5a, 30a. Over

time, Haynes complained about this gradual process to

her supervisor. The removal of Haynes’ sales accounts

was chronicled in e-mails and memoranda. /d. At the

same time, her work was shifted more toward the

clerical. Soon the younger male newcomer had ninety

accounts to Haynes' twenty or so. App. 31a.

But the removal of Haynes’ accounts, one at a time,

did not significantly affect her compensation or even her

annual performance evaluations. She was consistently

promoted at the corporation. She started at $75,000 and

was given raises up to $80,000 in base salary, the latest

raise on February 3, 2001, which was well after her

accounts were removed and given to the young male

comparator. The respondent corporation awarded stock

3

options (OSOs) to employees based upon the company’s

performance and the employee’s performance (employee

must be “at or above target” to receive OSOs). Haynes

was awarded liberal OSOs and provided with multiple

award letters and master award agreements. The very

supervisor who was removing Haynes’ sales accounts

also signed a performance evaluation for her in which he

endorsed her own self-rating a” 4.5 out of 5 (excellent

performer). The manager in charge of all of North

America told Haynes, “You’re very good; you’re exactly

what the company wants.” The above facts in this

paragraph were presented in Haynes’ briefing materials,

with evidentiary support, and never addressed by either

the trial court or the court of appeals. For summary

judgment purposes, they had to be taken as true.

In sum, even as sales accounts were being gradually

taken away from Haynes, her compensation was not

significantly affected and she did not file a formal

complaint with the EEOC. She certainly did not file a

formal complaint each time a single sales account was

taken away from her, which is what the Tenth Circuit

ruled she had to have done to preserve her rights, as will

be discussed infra.

But while she did not go to the EEOC as yet, Haynes

did not sit idly by. On September 19, 2000, Haynes

complained internally that her supervisor favored men

and disfavored women, including in the manner in which

he removed Haynes’ accounts and gave them to the

younger male. App. 6a.-7a. Upon hearing Haynes’

complaint about her supervisor, the human resources

department was contacted by management with a request

to speak with Haynes. /d. After a period of silence from

human resources, Haynes pressed the issue, asking for a

4

time to speak with human resources. /d. She finally got

to speak with the human resources representative on

November 1, 2000. /d. The human _ resources

representative accepted her comments as a complaint

pursuant to the company's "open door" policy and said

he would conduct an investigation.

However, the human resources department also (and

immediately) warned Haynes' chain of command of what

she had done, i.e. coming to the human resources

department to register a complaint. Within one day, on

November 2, 2000, one of Haynes’ superiors sent out a

threatening e-mail warning that going above his head

was forbidden. App. 8a. This e-mail directly violated

the corporation’s “open door” policy, which expressly

permitted such complaints as Haynes had taken to the

human resources department. And, of course,

complaints of discrimination are protected by the anti-

retaliation provision of Title VII.

Nonetheless, the human resources department did not

further investigate Haynes’ complaint of discrimination.

App. 7a.

However, eleven days after her superior's threatening

e-mail, on November 13, 2000, Haynes was placed on a

performance improvement plan (PIP) by the very

supervisor whose discrimination she had _ recently

complained about to the human resources department.

App. 8a.

A PIP is a form of discipline. In the PIP, Haynes was

criticized for not making certain quotas.

5

The human resources department helped Haynes’

supervisor prepare the PIP to give to her. App. 8a. The

human resources representative testified, “[W]Je did

create a document subsequent to that [her compiaint of

discrimination] regarding some performance issues that

they were having with her in the form of a performance

improvement plan.”

Then, on June 21, 2001 Haynes was informed that

she was laid off, effective three days before. App. 9a.

One of the criteria used by the company to select

employees to be laid off was whether the employee was

on a PIP. /d. The human resources representative

testified, “And someone who’s on a corrective action for

performance [PIP] would be one of those that would be

first to be reduced.” The human resources representative

testified, ““That’s how she got on the list."

Haynes filed her charge of discrimination with the

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

[EEOC] on October 11, 2001. App. 9a.

B. Proceedings in the District Court

Haynes brought claims of discrimination and

retaliation and, after a period of discovery, the

respondent corporation filed a motion for summary

judgment, which the district court granted in its entirety,

dismissing the entire case. App. 9a.

The claims were dismissed notwithstanding the

district court's findings that plaintiff was discriminated

against in events prior to the end of November 2000

(removal of her sales accounts and placement on the

6

PIP), and retaliated against (imposition of the PIP on

November 14, 2000 for complaining about

discrimination to her management and the human

resources department). App. 43a. The trial court ruled

that, "Once defendant placed plaintiff on the PIP, the

PIP automatically resulted in her termination seven

months later." /d.

In proceeding to dismiss Haynes' claims for Title VII

and ADEA discrimination and retaliation, the district

court adopted an argument presented by the defense in a

footnote, that Haynes' EEOC charge was untimely. App.

39a

The district court ruled that Haynes was required to

file her EEOC charge within 300 days of the unlawful

employment practice, that her EEOC charge was filed

October 11, 2001, that therefore "the basis for plaintiff's

claims must have occurred no earlier than December 15,

2000," that Haynes' termination in the layoff was the

result of her PIP, but that Haynes’ PIP was prior to 300

days before the filing of her EEOC charge. App. 4la-

45a.

There was no evidence in this case and no finding by

the district court that the respondent corporation made its

layoff criteria known to its employees or that Haynes

could have been aware that her PIP caused her to be

placed at the top of any layoff list, or that Haynes even

knew there might be a layoff. No one could have

predicted the downturn that caused the layoff, the trial

court ruled. App. 17A.

The trial court noted that this fact pattern presented

Haynes with a "Catch-22," because certain legal

precedent established that written warnings, such as her

7

PIP, did not constitute an adverse employment action.

App. 43a. The district court cited Rennard v.

Woodworker's Supply, Inc., No. 03-8031, 2004 WL

1260309, at *10 (CAI0O June 9, 2004) (unpublished)

[written reprimands without "any immediate or practical

effect" on plaintiff's job do not constitute an adverse

employment action]; Zaylor v. Small, 350 F.3d 1286

1293 (CADC 2003) [placement of employee on a PIP

that does not affect his grade or salary does not

constitute an adverse employment action]. In sum, upon

being placed on the PIP, Haynes did not have a basis to

file an EEOC charge. Jd.

The district court went on to rule, however, that there

was contrary case law that "each act of discrimination

must fall within the 300 day period prior to the

employee's EEOC filing or be barred by the statute of

limitations." App. 43a-45a. Therefore the district court

decided that it was bound to obey Tenth Circuit law as

set forth in Hysten v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

296 F.3d 1177, 1183 (CA10 2002) [holding that a

written reprimand can constitute an adverse employment

action], and Roberts v. Roadway Exp., Inc., 149 F.3d

1098, 1104 (CAI10 1998) [holding that an employer's

written warnings are an adverse employment action if

they make it more likely that the employee will be

terminated if there are further infractions]. /d.

Thus, on mixed legal precedent from the same court

of appeals, Haynes’ claims of age and sex discrimination

were dismissed because her termination was caused

solely by her old PIP, about which she had not

complained to the EEOC until more than 300 days had

passed.

8

Haynes then appealed to the Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit, which had jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1291.

C. Decision of the Court of Appeals

The court of appeals upheld the summary judgment

in its entirety, ruling that Haynes' claims relating to the

sales accounts that were removed before December 15,

2000 (more than 300 days prior to filing of her EEOC

charge) were time-barred. App. 14-1Sa.

Thus, the court of appeals ruled that each time

Haynes’ supervisor removed a sales account from her,

such conduct constituted an individual adverse action

that triggered the running of the clock for Haynes to

bring an EEOC charge. App. 15a.

The court of appeals ruled at App. 1 Sa:

"Because each removal of an account

constituted an actionable adverse employment

action, Haynes was required to file an

administrative charge within 300 days of each

removal. She did not do so. Thus, any claim

based on the removal of her accounts is time-

barred."

The court of appeals elaborated on its new rule,

reiterating that each time an account was removed, that

constituted a discrete adverse employment action.

Because Haynes did not file a complaint of

discrimination with the EEOC each time a sale account

was removed from her, i.e. each single removal -- and all

9

of them -- were time-barred and could not support a

claim of discrimination. Jd.

The court of appeals ruled that this result was

because Haynes knew that each removal of an account

changed her employment status, i.e. contributed to her

failure to meet sales quotas, and she knew that said

accounts were being given to a younger male. App. 15a.

Paradoxically, the court of appeals then ruled that

Haynes' PIP did not constitute an adverse employment

action because it did not result in any significant change

in her employment status and benefits. App. 15a-18a.

However, the court of appeals reiterated that while the

removal of sales accounts led to the PIP, which in turn

led to the termination, the removal of the sales accounts

could not be relied upon to prove the required

discriminatory intent. Once 300 days had passed, those

actions -- the removal of the sales accounts -- were time

barred from forming any basis of a complaint of

discrimination, including as to proof of intent relating to

actions that occurred within the 300-day window. It did

not matter that removal of Haynes' sales accounts led to

the PIP, which itself was not time-barred since the PIP

did not constitute a discrete adverse act against Haynes.

App. 16a-23a.

Wrote the court of appeals: Since the removal of

sales accounts could not be considered, "the plaintiff's

loss of employment was merely an_ ‘inevitable

consequence’ of an earlier (time-barred) * * * decision,

and could not constitute a separately actionable event

* * * | App. 20a. In short, the critical datum is the point

in time at which the discriminatory act occurred, not the

point at which its effects became most injurious* * * .

The mere continuity of the employment relationship, in

10

and of itself, is not enough to prolong the life of a cause

of action."

In sum, the court of appeals ruled that evidence of

discriminatory intent would be admissible only if that

evidence was adducible from acts falling within the 300-

day window. Prior acts were irrelevant no matter what

intent they proved.

Moreover, the court of appeals ruled that pre-300-day

acts by the employer could not be used to prove either

pretext or, on a retaliation claim, causation. Once 300

days had passed, such telltale acts were valueless in a

federal court as_a matter of law, regardless of their

logical relevance.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I.

REMOVAL OF INDIVIDUAL SALES ACCOUNTS

AND SIMILAR PETTY ACTIONS IN’ THE

WORKPLACE THAT DO NOT HAVE A

SIGNIFICANT FINANCIAL OR OTHER IMPACT

ON THE EMPLOYEE'S STATUS SHOULD NOT

TRIGGER A REQUIREMENT OF FILING WITH

THE EEOC EACH TIME THEY OCCUR.

Il,

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION TO THE

CONTRARY WILL CREATE HAVOC IN THE

WORK PLACE AND AT THE EEOC.

This petition secks to overturn a_ far-reaching

decision of the court of appeals that will render the

workplace a battle scene of employees versus employers.

11

The court of appeals decision has creatively declared

that, from now on, actions as petty as having a single

sales account removed must be complained about in a

timely fashion to the EEOC, or they can never thereafter

form the basis of a claim of discrimination, either

directly or indirectly, or even be used as evidence to

prove intent or pretext as to a later adverse action (or in a

retaliation case, to prove causation).

In the instant case, Haynes’ sales accounts were

reduced in number to twenty-something, and her

younger male comparators sales accounts were

increased to ninety (via an infusion of Haynes’ sales

accounts). Thus, Haynes would have been required to

file as many as seventy EEOC charges (or amended

EEOC charges) in order to preserve her anti-

discrimination rights and to demonstrate the pattern

against her. Any single sales account removal that she

omitted would become a non est factum against her

employer -- unusable for any purpose in the proof of

discrimination and discriminatory intent pursuant to the

court of appeals’ new ruling.

The application of such legal precedent to American

discrimination law is portentous. It will create havoc in

the workplace, and it demonstrates a trend in which

some federal courts have distanced themselves from the

real world of ordinary people. The suggestion -- now a

requirement within the Tenth Circuit -- that an employee

file an EEOC charge at each perceived discriminatory

slight in the office -- such as removing a single sales

account among ninety sales accounts -- will destroy

working relationships, obviate open communications in

businesses, and make the day-to-day working world a

12

series of administrative attacks and counterattacks -- all

with the oversight responsibility of the federal

government through the auspices of the EEOC.

Example: An elderly waitress in a restaurant notices

that her best table (for tips) has been assigned to a young

new waiter. And then another table and another over the

ensuring year. In order to thereafter be able to cite the

pattern against her, the court of appeals decision would

have required her to file a separate EEOC charge for the

first table removed from her waitressing area, and cach

one thereafter.

One can envision scores of such examples where an

employee would have to immediately go on_ the

offensive with an employer at each petty action, filing a

formal charge with the EEOC. All manner of work

changes would have to be complained about

immediately, or the victim would be forever time-barred

from bringing them up again.

The new court of appeals rule is_ particularly

portentous when carried to its logical conclusion. Once

the EEOC issues its "right to sue" letter on the first

discrimination claim -- relating to a single sales account

removed from Haynes' workload -- she would be

required to sue within 90 days or be forever barred from

doing so. The ensuing litigation would comprise either a

series of seventy federal lawsuits (in Haynes’ situation)

or a series of seventy amended complaints each time

another sales account is removed, presuming the trial

court would await the series of removals to run its

course.

13

This development in the Tenth Circuit, and

elsewhere, as shall be discussed infra, is the natural

consequence of this Court's abolition of the continuing

violation theory. See, Nat'l R.R. Passenger Corp. v.

Morgan, 536 U.S. 101 (2002). Such decision, now

being honed to razor sharpness in the circuit courts, has

placed employees in a "damned if you do, damned if you

don't" straitjacket that ignores the real world of the

American workplace and undermines the remedial

purposes of Title VIL.

The immediate dilemma for an employee will be

whether to file an EEOC charge when a sales account is

removed or some other lesser affront occurs, or forever

hold one's peace. Of course, to file with the EEOC over

such a petty matter that does not affect one's wallet in a

significant way would ipso facto risk an end to one's

career at that company. Even the most level-headed

observer would wonder why the employee acted so

precipitously, instead of trying to work it out with the

employer, or merely by keeping one's head down.

Please recall that Haynes' compensation was not

significantly affected by the removal of any single sales

account or even all of them. She continued to get

promotions, raises and stock options (OSOs), not to

mention compliments for her performance at various

levels of management.

The court of appeals did not quantify a single

personal compensation loss that Haynes _ suffered

because of the removal of her sales accounts. ‘The

closest it came was noting that Haynes said that someone

else was getting paid on her accounts, which means he

was getting credit for them. Nonetheless, without any

14

reference to evidence of actual financial loss, the court

of appeals ruled that the removal of Haynes’ accounts

altered her "status and benefits" in some unexplained

way. The court of appeals inferred that Haynes "clearly

knew the discriminatory nature of [her supervisor's

removal of her sales accounts] and the resulting

detrimental effect on her income." This reference is

unsupported by any citation to financial evidence

regarding impact on Haynes’ income. Apparently a loss

of incoine of one dollar now requires a complaint to the

EEOC within the Tenth Circuit.

Thus, the new rule of the court of appeals is that if

the employee should recognize that the petty action

against her today may eventually impact her income in a

significant way down the road, then the time to complain

to the EEOC is now -- or be forever barred.

From common sense and business standpoints, why

should Haynes have gone to the EEOC every time a

single sales account was removed if there was no

immediate and significant impact upon her income?

According to the court of appeals, she should have

gone anyway, on pain of never being able to cite such

instances in the future.

Congress could not have intended such a result as is

embodied in the court of appeals decision.

15

iil.

PERSONNEL ACTIONS OLDER THAN 300 DAYS

WHICH WERE NOT ADVERSE EMPLOYMENT

ACTIONS AT THE TIME AND DID NOT

TRIGGER THE REQUIREMENT OF

REPORTING TO THE EEOC MAY BE USED TO

PROVE THE DISCRIMINATORY AND

RETALIATORY INTENT REGARDING A LATER

EMPLOYMENT ACTION THAT OTHERWISE

APPEARS TO BE NEUTRAL ON ITS FACE.

IV.

SUCH PERSONNEL ACTIONS OLDER THAN 300

DAYS THAT WERE NOT ADVERSE

EMPLOYMENT ACTIONS AND DID NOT

TRIGGER THE REQUIREMENT OF

REPORTING TO THE EEOC AT THE TIME MAY

BE USED TO PROVE PRETEXT, AND, IN A

RETALIATION CASE, CAUSATION.

V.

THERE IS NO 300-DAY STATUTE OF

LIMITATIONS ON USE OF EVIDENCE

SHOWING DISCRIMINATORY INTENT,

PRETEXT, OR, IN A RETALIATION CASE,

CAUSATION.

Please recall that Haynes was placed on the PIP on

November 13, 2000 at a time when no layoffs were

anticipated. The court of appeals found that, "* * * no

one at Level 3 anticipated the economic downturn that

would result in the RIF seven months later." App. 17a.

Moreover, the respondent company did not disclose to

its employees that in the event of a future layoff, being

16

on a PIP would place an employee at the top of the

layoff list.

Thus, Haynes had no way of knowing that placement

on the PIP would eventually result in a change in her

employment status. The court of appeals adopted that

logic. App. 17a. Since the PIP did not present a change

in employment status, the court of appeals ruled that the

PIP did not trigger a requirement of filing with the

EEOC. In so ruling, the court of appeals reversed the

district court. The court of appeals ruled at App. 1! 7a:

"Therefore, her placement on the PIP had no

apparent tangible effects other than the

requirement she meet her sales quota and a plan

to assist her in her efforts. Consequently,

Haynes' placement on a PIP was not an adverse

employment action."

Paradoxically, the court of the appeals then ruled that

placement on the PIP could not be used to prove

discriminatory or retaliatory intent in a personnel action

-- Haynes' selection for layoff -- that occurred more than

300 days later. App. 18a-24a.

Moreover, the court of appeals ruled that such

300-day-old evidence could not be used to establish

pretext either. App. 23a.

In sum, the court of appeals established a new statute

of limitations for use of evidence of intent and pretext

(and, in retaliation cases, causation as well). Such

evidence is ipso facto obviated and cannot be used for

any purpose once 300 days have passed, according to the

new rule of the court of appeals.

17

This is so even if the evidence relates to events that

never required filing with the EEOC in the first place

because those events did not comprise adverse

employment actions at all.

This is also so even if the discrimination victim had

no way of knowing that the earlier evidence would lead

to adverse actions beyond 300 days down the road.

The court of appeals ruled at App. 23a:

"These cases instruct, and we agree, that

Haynes cannot use [her supervisor's] alleged

intent in performing time-barred discrete actions

resulting in the PIP, to attach discriminatory

intent or pretext to the termination decision

based on a neutral policy.”

The court of appeals’ logic for this ruling was that, at

App. 23a,

"[T]he PIP was an inevitable consequence of

the alleged prior adverse employment actions,

for which she did not file a timely charge."

Again, this is a new rule banning use of evidence to

show discriminatory intent (and pretext, and, in

retaliation cases, causation) when that evidence relates to

events more than 300 days old -- even if there was no

requirement of filing with the EEOC at the time.

Such a new rule of law means that an employer can

take actions against an employee that are not so adverse

18

as to trigger the requirement of filing a charge with the

EEOC and then secretly use those actions more than 300

days later to put an employee on a list to be terminated.

The employee is then forbidden to cite those earlier

actions precisely because she did not complain about

them to the EEOC at the time. This is so even though

the intent to discriminate was kept secret by the

employer for 300 or more days.

Note: {ft was only through discovery that Haynes

learned that her placement on the PIP was the reason

why she was placed at the top of the layoff list seven

months later. °

Again, the court of appeals has whipsawed

employees and created a new rule of law that requires

them to file a claim of discrimination at the EEOC even

when there is no adverse action sufficient to file a claim

at the EEOC. If the employee does not do so -- when

she should have guessed about future secret events --

then the evidence is rendered valueless in exactly 300

days, when those future secret events unfold.

Thus, an employee must now be constrained to file a

charge of discrimination with the EEOC even when there

is no adverse action to base the charge upon. The law

should not involve such a conundrum. The law should

not be a guessing game for employees.

The court of appeals recognized that it was sailing

close to uncharted waters, because it wrote in a footnote,

at App. 21a, that,

"We need not and do not express an opinion

on the court's determination that an action may

19

accrue even though no adverse employment

action has occurred."

Nonetheless, this is indeed the effect of the court of

appeals decision -- and worse. Now once 300 days have

passed, not only does the employee lose her fully

accrued cause of action, which is appropriate under the

statute, but she loses the right to present those prior acts

as evidence of mental state or pretext as to later adverse

actions falling within the 300-day window. Likewise the

court of appeals decision erroneously denies a victim of

retaliation the use of such evidence older than 300 days

to prove causation (which is also what happened in the

instant case).

The logical and practical flaws in such a rule of law

are self-evident. Pursuant to the court of appeals

decision, an employer could secretly decide that women

can no longer work at the company because of their

gender, or Jews because of their religion, or blacks

because of their race, and wait 301 days to terminate

them without fear of anyone proving discriminatory

animus using the earlier evidence. Or using that

evidence to prove pretext, or, in a retaliation case,

causation.

It is one thing to rule that discrete acts more than 300

days older are not fair game for charges of

discrimination pursuant to Morgan, supra. It is entirely

another to rule that such acts can not be used to prove

discriminatory animus, pretext, or, in a retaliation case,

causation.

This is where certain courts of appeals have carried

this Court's decision in Morgan, supra -- to a new

20

extreme. As the court of appeals rationalized in the

instant case, at App. 22a,

"[A]llowance of a claim based solely on a

time-barred discrete employment decision

would ‘'undo' Morgan's insistence that each

discrete act start a new clock."

But the ruling by the court of appeals in the instant

case ipso facto means that both the mens rea and the

actus reus (together) must have occurred within 300

days, or it is as if the mental intent and the act never

occurred in the first place. As the court of appeals ruled,

such a happening is "merely an unfortunate event in

history which has no present legal consequences * * * ."

The Tenth Circuit is following a line of cases from

the First Circuit and the D.C. Circuit, spawned by

Morgan, supra. In Law v. Continental Airlines Corp.,

Inc., 399 F.3d 330, 334 (CADC 2005), the court of

appeals acknowledged that pursuant to Morgan, supra, a

prior act "may constitute relevant background evidence

in a proceeding in which the status of a current practice

is at issue." However, the court appeals expressed the

view that, "The exact scope of this caveat is unclear.”

The scope of said evidence and its use in proving

discriminatory animus is the very issue embodied herein,

and Petitioner seeks a commonsensical decision that

such evidence is no less relevant than a threat to murder

someone in January that is not carried out until

December, more than 300 days later.

It is incongruous to think that Congress intended a

limitation on such evidence of discriminatory animus

21

just because it was more than 300 days old. It also

undercuts the use of pretext pursuant to this Court's

unanimous decision in Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing

Prods., Inc., 530 U.S. 133 (2000).

Nonetheless, in Law, supra, the court of appeals for

the D.C. Circuit further discussed the cloudy "caveat" of

how such evidence could be used after Morgan, supra,

and severely limited its use, as follows:

"Whatever the caveat's precise reach, such

background evidence cannot suffice where

plaintiffs have offered no evidence of

discriminatory purpose other than (at most) [a]

discrete time-barred decision * * * ."

See, Jorge v. Rumsfeld, 404 F.3d 556, 563 (CAI

2005) ["[T]he critical datum is the point in time at which

the discriminatory act occurred,’ not the point at which

its effects became most injurious." Citing, Morris v.

Gov't Dev. Bank, 27 F.3d 746, 749 (CAI 1994)].

It *s these several courts of appeals that are simply

declaring as_a matter of law that such discrete prior

actions are "time-barred" even for use as evidence of

discriminatory intent, pretext or, in a retaliation case,

causation. The pertinent anti-discrimination statutes say

nothing of the sort.

Petitioner herein is not arguing that if she had waited

300 days after her layoff to file with the EEOC, then she

should still have been permitted to bring a claim in court.

This would cut against the express language of the

pertinent anti-discrimination statutes. But Petitioner is

arguing that when the actus reus occurs within the 300-

22

day window, then she can pull evidence of

discriminatory mens rea or animus from any logically

relevant period in the employment relationship, no

matter how far back in time it might be. Ordinary

analyses of relevance should apply, not some artificial,

ad hoc 300-day cutoff designed to eliminate as many of

such cases from the federal court system as possible.

To so artificially limit such evidence, without a

legislative mandate, would be as if the court of appeals

created a new rule of relevance in all criminal and civil

cases that only such evidence of intent that was

developed within the last 300 days will be admissible.

This is precisely what the new line of cases is doing,

but only in one area of the law --

discrimination/retaliation. The equal protection

provision of the Constitution requires that all

participants in the federal court system enjoy the same

rules of evidence absent some compelling reason to

exempt them out or treat them more severely.

F.R.E. 401 defines relevant evidence as evidence

"having any tendency to make the existence of any fact

that is of consequence to the determination of the action

more probable or less probable than it would be without

the evidence." There is no 300-day "caveat" or

limitation. Such a limited evidentiary window does not

exist anywhere but in the discrimination law of the First

Tenth, and D.C. circuits (and the Eleventh Circuit, as

shall be discussed infra).

No compelling showing to change the application of

the Federal Rules of Evidence has been made herein.

Indeed, given the remedial purposes of the anti-

23

discrimination laws, the opposite is true. All relevant

evidence should be admissible, just as in any other case.

Indeed, this Court has stated that a court should

undertake "a sensitive inquiry into such circumstantial

and direct evidence of intent as may be available."

Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development

Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 266 (1977).

Other courts of appeals have differed from the First,

Tenth and D.C. Circuits and ruled that time-barred

actions are relevant to both establish motive and put the

timely-filed discrimination claims in context. See,

Carpinteria Valley Farms. Ltd. v. County of Santa

Barbara, 334 F.3d 796, 800 (CA9 2003) ["[T]he district

court reached the correct result when it determined that

the time-barred acts could not be used to support claims

of constitutional violations under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

[Plaintiff] may use these time-barred acts, however, as

evidence to establish motive and to put his timely filed

claims in context] [citing RK Ventures, Inc. v. City of

Seattle, 307 F.3d 1045, 1062 (9th Cir. 2002)] [emphasis

added].

Likewise incidents that the court of appeals labeled

as time-barred in the instant case (removal of sales

accounts and placement on the PIP) should have been

available for use as evidence of the discriminatory

motive that resulted in Haynes being laid off at a later

time.

Congress never said that the 300-day limit also

limited the availability of relevant evidence from outside

that window of time. Indeed, this Court has long

proceeded on the premise that intentional discrimination

gives rise to new violations of the civil rights laws each

24

time said intent is implemented to_cause_new_ injury,

regardless of when that intent manifested itself. See,

Bazemore v. Friday, 478 U.S. 385 (1986). Congress

directed "the thrust of the Act to the consequences of

employment practices, not simply the motivation."

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 75, 80 (1998).

Vi.

EVIDENCE OF SUCH PERSONNEL ACTIONS

OLDER THAN 300 DAYS SHOULD BE

ADMISSIBLE TO PROVE DISCRIMINATORY

ANIMUS AND PRETEXT PRECISELY BECAUSE

IT WAS NOT FORESEEABLE THAT THEY

WOULD RESULT SOME DAY IN AN ADVERSE

PERSONNEL DECISION; AND THE EMPLOYEE

HAD NO REASON TO FILE AN EEOC CHARGE

AT THE TIME.

Please recall that the court of appeals ruled herein

that at the time Haynes was placed on the PIP no one

could have "anticipated the economic downturn that

would result in the RIF [reduction in force] seven

months later. Further no one could have predicted that

Haynes would be unable to meet the PIP * * *."

Thus, there was no reason for Haynes to have

identified, highlighted, or complained about the

possibility that the PIP would become the foundation for

an adverse employment action later. This is no different

than a company developing a secret reason to terminate

someone 300 days before effecting the termination. As a

matter of policy, such circumstances should not ipso

facto cleanse al] relevance from the fabric of the actions

25

that were perpetrated upon the employee more than 300

days before.

Indeed, the court of appeals expressly ruled that

Haynes' placement on the PIP did not even comprise an

adverse employment action under the law.

Such a finding that there was not even an adverse

employment action for the victim to proceed upon at the

EEOC undermines the court of appeals’ reliance for its

new rule of law on an even older case, United Air Lines,

Inc. v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553 (1977). In the instant case

and a more recent one with the same ratio decidendi,

Brown v. Unified School District 501, = ~F.3d so,

(CA10, October 12, 2006), the court of appeals pointed

to United Air Lines, Inc., supra, for the proposition that a

discrete act that was not complained about to the EEOC

in a timely fashion can not be cited to support an ensuing

claim of discrimination no matter how pertinent as a

matter of logical relevance.

However, the court of appeals failed to note that the

prior discrete act suffered by the plaintiff in United Air

Lines, Inc., supra -- a resignation forced by a no-

marriage rule -- was on its face an adverse employment

action (constructive discharge) that would and should

have triggered anyone to go to the EEOC. Thus, it

makes good sense to find that the victim should have

complained at the time. But such circumstances do not

mean that the prior acts should lose their relevance for

proof of discriminatory intent as to later acts that are not

time-barred.

In the instant case, however, Haynes had no reason to

go to the EEOC when she received the PIP, and the court

26

of appeals implicitly so ruled in determining that no

adverse employment action had occurred and thus the

clock did not even begin to tick.

Finally, fear of further retaliation is another factor.

Haynes had already been retaliated against once, for

merely complaining to the human resources department.

No one can blame her for not proceeding to the EEOC

regarding the PIP, especially when there was no adverse

employment action to complain to the EEOC about, as

the court of appeals ruled. Ifa "right to sue" letter had

been issued and Haynes had gone into federal court

regarding her PIP, her case would have been thrown out

because there was no adverse employment action in the

first place.

Congress could not have intended its cnactments to

whipsaw discrimination victims like this.

Vil.

MORGAN EXPRESSLY DID NOT RESOLVE THIS

ISSUE; THE COURTS OF APPEALS ARE DOING

IT ON THEIR OWN, AND ERRONEOUSLY SO,

GIVEN THE REMEDIAL PURPOSES OF THE

ANTI-DISCRIMINATION LAWS.

This Court in Morgan, supra, recognized that the

issue of the 300-day window (or 180-day window when

resort has not been taken to a state agency first) was not

completely resolved in Morgan. ‘This Court noted, 536

U.S. at 115, fn. 7:

27

"There may be circumstances where it will

be difficult to determine when the time period

should begin to run. One issue that may arise in

such circumstances is whether the time begins

to run when the injury occurs as opposed to

when the injury reasonably should have been

discovered. But this case presents no occasion

to resolve that issue."

Thus, this Court recognized that the date an injury

should have been discovered was a pertinent factor in

determining when the 300-day window begins to run. In

the instant case, Haynes had no reason to discover her

adverse employment action (the layoff) because (a) it

had not occurred yet, and (b) it could not have been

predicted. That is precisely why the court of appeals

determined that placing Haynes on a PIP did not

constitute an adverse employment action requiring her to

go to the EEOC.

VIII.

THE ISSUE OF A 180-DAY LIMITATION ON

EVIDENCE OF DISCRIMINATORY INTENT IS

PRESENTLY BEFORE THE COURT IN

ANOTHER CASE.

In Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company,

Inc., No. 05-1072 [Petitioner's Brief filed September 7,

2006] the issue of limiting evidence of discriminatory

intent to the prior 180 (or 300) days is squarely before

this Court. The issue therein is identical to the

evidentiary issue in the instant case, and the reasons for

granting the instant Petition are equally compelling. In

sum, several courts of appeals, including the Eleventh

28

Circuit in Ledbetter, as well as the First, Tenth and D.C.

Circuits, have decided to put on blinders and artificially

limit such evidence of intent to the past 300 days. This

Court is respectfully asked to take those blinders off and

deal with relevance and mens rea _ issues in

discrimination cases just as in any other cases in the

federal courts.

Indeed, the petitioner in Ledbetter has presented

cogent legal points proving that various courts of appeals

are straying far from congressional intent, and the

Petitioner herein wishes to fairly adopt those points with

credit to the Ledbetter litigants, as follows:

--An artificial limit on "how far back in time"

relevant evidence may be found conflicts with the basic

rationale of Bazemore, supra.

--It is not unusual for elements of a claim to arise at

different times. Example: price-fixing conspiracies may

involve agreements regarding intent years before such

intent manifests itself in illegal actions. Nonetheless,

such evidence is classically relevant. Another example:

Evidence of the intent to evade taxes may pre-date the

limitations period and be classically relevant to the

mental state needed to convict. United States v. Carlson,

235 F.3d 466, 470 (CA9 2000). As the court of appeals

ruled in United States v. Ashdown, 509 F.2d 793, 798

(CA5 1975), "It would be a bizarre result indeed if a

crime properly prosecuted within the limitations period

could not be proven because an essential element, such

as intent, could only be established by proof of incidents

occurring outside the period."

29

--A statute of limitations does not bar evidence that

pre-dates the beginning of the limitations so long as that

evidence is "relevant to events during the period."

Fitzgerald v. Henderson, 251 F.3d 345, 365 (CA2 2001)

(citing other cases); 52 Am. Jur. 2d LIMITATION OF

ACTIONS § 24 (2006). Any "suggestion that an item of

evidence relates to a period that is too remote goes to

both the item's relevance and its weight* * *."

Fitzgerald, at 365.

--In Reeves, supra, the Court considered evidence of

intent, or lack thereof, going back long before the

beginning of the limitations period.

--A contrary rule would have obviated this Court's

decision in Hunter v. Underwood, 471 U.S. 222, 233

(1985), merely because the action evincing the intent to

discriminate was the Alabama Constitution of 1901.

Such evidence of intent fell outside the limitations

period by more than 70 years, and in such a fact pattern,

the First, Tenth, Eleventh and D.C. courts of appeals

would have thrown the case out.

--Likewise, such a rule would have obviated Brown

v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954), because the

evidence of discriminatory intent fell outside the

limitations period, going back decades.

--If there is a fear that somehow the trial courts will

be deluged with stale claims, the doctrines of waiver and

laches remain integral parts of the federal legal system.

Nothing stopped the respondent corporation in the

instant case from asserting defenses of waiver and

laches.

30

--In addition, the traditional analysis of the probative

value of evidence versus its unfair prejudice, risk of

confusion or delay and cumulative nature is always

available to the trial courts. See, F.R.E. 403.

There is no need for an artificial 300-day limit on the

acquisition of evidence of (a) intent to discriminate, (b)

pretext, and (c) in retaliation cases, causation. Pursuant

to F.R.E. 402, all relevant evidence is admissible on

those issues unless otherwise proscribed by logical

irrelevance or express enactments, of which there are

none applicable to the instant case. This Court has noted

that, "We must therefore avoid interpretations of Title

VII that deprive victims of discrimination of a remedy,

without clear congressional mandate." County of

Washington v. Gunther, 452 U.S. 161, 178 (1981).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully

submitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane MacArthur Brown

John R. Olsen

Counsel of Record

OLSEN & BROWN L.L.C.

8362 Greenwood Drive

Niwot, Colorado 80503

(303) 652-1133

Attorneys for Petitioner

November 3, 2006

APPENDIX

la

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

LINDA HAYNES, FILED

United States Court of

Plaintiff-Appellant, Appeals, Tenth Circuit

August 8, 2006

V. Elisabeth A. Shumaker

Clerk of the Court

LEVEL 3

COMMUNICATIONS, No. 04-1307

LLC,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Colorado

(D.C. No. 02-N-1694 (MJW))

2a

Submitted on the briefs:

John R. Olsen of Olsen & Brown, L.L.C., Niwot,

Colorado, for Plaintiff-Appellant.

Lisa Hogan, Richard P. Barkley, Meghan W. Martinez

of Brownstein Hyatt & Farber, P.C., Denver, Colorado,

for Defendant-Appellee.

Before TACHA, Chief Judge, BALDOCK and

O’BRIEN, Circuit Judges.

O’BRIEN, Circuit Judge.

Linda Haynes filed suit against her employer,

Level 3 Communications (Level 3), following the

termination of her employment as part of a reduction in

force (RIF). She alleged violations of the Americans

with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101-

12213, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act (sex

discrimination), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, and the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C.

§ 621. She also asserted a breach of contract claim. The

district court granted summary judgment in favor of

Level 3, concluding Haynes failed to timely file her

ADA, Title VII and ADEA claims and declined to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over her breach of

contract claim. We exercise jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1291 and AFFIRM.

3a

Standard of Review

“We review the district court’s grant of summary

judgment de novo, applying the same legal standard

used by the district court.” Davidson v. Am. Online,

Inc., 337 F.3d 1179, 1182 (10th Cir. 2003) (quotation

omitted). Summary judgment is appropriate if the

evidence presented by the parties demonstrates “there is

no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the

moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law.” Fep. R. Civ. P. 56(c). An issue of fact is

“genuine” if the evidence allows a reasonable jury to

resolve the issue either way and is “material” when “‘it is

essential to the proper disposition of the claim.” Bennett

v. Quark, Inc., 258 F.3d 1220, 1224 (10th Cir. 2001).

“The party moving for summary judgment bears

the initial burden of demonstrating the absence of a

genuine issue of material fact.” /d. (citations omitted).

If the movant does not bear the burden of persuasion at

trial, it “may make its prima facie demonstration simply

by pointing out to the court a lack of evidence for the

nonmovant on an essential element of the nonmovant's

claim.” /d. (citations omitted). If the moving party

properly supports its motion for summary judgment,

“the burden shifts to the nonmoving party to go beyond

the pleadings and set forth specific facts from which a

reasonable jury could find in favor of the nonmoving

party.” /d. At all times, the record, and all reasonable

inferences drawn from it, are considered in the light

most favorable to the party opposing the motion. /d.

4a

With these standards in mind, we set forth the facts in

the light most favorable to Haynes.

Background

‘

After eight and a half years as a top sales person

at her former employer [XC, Haynes followed her boss,

David Weigand, to work at Level 3 in March 1999. Her

title was “carrier sales manager” in the San Francisco

office.' Initially, she worked directly for Weigand, but

following his promotion, Paul Larson became _ her

supervisor. At various times during Haynes’ tenure at

Level 3, Larson also supervised two other saleswomen,

Mary Vargo and Cari Burich (located in the Los Angeles

office), and two salesmen, Steve Stone and Shane

Quivey.

Shortly after Larson became the carrier products

unit supervisor, he began to recruit Quivey, a thirty-one-

year-old male working in the internet products unit.

When Quivey came to work in the carrier products unit,

Larson treated Quivey and Stone with a marked

preference compared with the saleswomen.’ Haynes

alleges Quivey acted inappropriately and did not follow

' During the relevant time period, Level 3 was divided into

three product sales groups — carrier, corporate and internet.

* Unfortunately, the exact dates of many of the allegations are

not in the record. It appears Larson became Haynes’

supervisor in June or July 1999 and Quivey joined the carrier

products unit in August or September 1999.

Sa

company procedures, yet Larson protected him. Haynes

also observed that Larson was gradually taking customer

accounts away from Vargo and giving them to Quivey.

As a result, Vargo was unable to meet her sales quota.

Vargo complained about the situation to Larson and

Wiegand, pursuant to Level 3's “open door policy.”

Shortly thereafter, Larson gave Vargo a _ poor

performance evaluation and placed her on a

“performance [improvement] plan (PIP).” (R. Vol. III at

413.) In February 2000, Vargo resigned.

While these events were taking place, Larson also

began taking accounts away from Haynes and giving

them to Quivey. Although Quivey was to give some of

his accounts to Haynes in trade, he never did. Haynes

claims Quivey also received favored treatment in the

form of assignments to the best leads and better pricing

for his clients.

Beginning in early 2000, Haynes’ health began to

decline. Sometime in May 2000, Larson demanded she

come to work against her doctor’s advice, only to have

her attend a meeting at which she was directed to give

Quivey one of her most lucrative accounts. According

to Haynes, this was a “watershed” moment. Haynes

confronted Larson and accused him of discriminating

against her on the basis of her age and sex. As Haynes

testified, “I realized that it was going to be a turning

point, that [Larson] knew that I knew what he was

’ Level 3 had a written “open door policy” whereby any

employee could speak about any topic without fear of

retaliation.

6a

doing.” (R. Vol. III at 239.) Thereafter, Larson began

to criticize Haynes to customers and management,

harming her relationships with her customers and Mike

Lanza, Larson’s direct supervisor. On May 18 or 19,

2000, Haynes complained to Lanza that Larson was

discriminating against her by giving the benefits of her

work to someone else.

Eventually, due to Larson’s alleged

discriminatory management, Haynes was unable to meet

her sales quota. Larson informally counseled Haynes

several times regarding her sales performance

throughout 2000. By August 2000, Haynes met only a

small percentage of her sales quota.‘ In early to mid-

September, Larson met with Haynes and again

informally counseled her on her performance.

On September 18, 2000, Haynes e-mailed Scott

Roberts, Senior Vice-President of Sales and Marketing,

and asked to exercise the open door policy.’ In the e-

mail, Haynes complained of Larson’s management style

and his failure to support her. On September 19, 2000,

Haynes sent a second e-mail to Roberts explaining her

position regarding Larson’s lack of management skills in

more detail and requesting help in resolving the

* While Level 3 contends she met only seven percent of her

sales quota, Haynes disputes this number, alleging the actual

percentage was approximately thirteen.

> Haynes testified she had spoken to Roberts frequently

regarding Larson’s treatment of older women prior to the

September e-mail.

7a

problem. She complained Larson’s lack of support

caused customers to get angry with her and, in turn,

caused Larson to reassign her accounts to Quivey. She

also alleged Larson had been unavailable to help close

deals, fell asleep during customer calls and had told her

not to discuss her problems with upper management.

Several e-mails indicate Haynes continued to ask

Roberts to assist her in receiving support and it appears

Roberts responded appropriately.

On October 3, 2000, Larson issued Haynes a

formal, written warning noting she had reached only

fifty percent of her year-to-date quota. On October 24,

2000, Roberts e-mailed Haynes to inform her he had

asked Randy Hester, Director of Human Resources, to

contact her regarding her request for an open door

meeting. On October 26, 2000, Haynes responded with

another request for a meeting. On November 1, 2000,

Haynes and Hester talked via telephone. In preparation

for the meeting, Haynes forwarded the September 19,

2000 e-mail she had sent to Roberts detailing her

complaints. Following the two-hour call, Hester

telephoned Lanza and Larson to find out why Haynes’

accounts had been moved. He was told some accounts

were moved by upper management and others at the

request of the customers. Hester did not investigate

further.°

* Level 3 vehemently disputes many of the facts alleged by

Haynes. Roberts and Hester testified they were never aware

that Haynes was complaining about sexual discrimination,

rather they understood it as a complaint about her manager

not giving her support and taking away her accounts. Haynes

8a

The next day, Lanza sent an e-mail to his staff,

including Larson. The e-mail stated in relevant part:

[Njo one is to take ANY issue to my

superiors without first bringing it to my

attention. I want to be very clear about this.

Nothing goes over my head unless I have

been made aware of it and AGREE that it

should be escalated. If there is a part of this

message that is unclear call me and I will be

happy to clear up any confusion. I want a

response back from each of you stating you

have read this and understand it.

(Vol. Ill at 361.) Larson forwarded Lanza’s message to

Haynes, Burich and Quivey' with his own

admonishment, “Please make sure everything goes

through Mike and I before it goes any higher.” (/d.)

Eleven days later, on November 13, 2000, Larson

placed Haynes on a PIP he devised with Hester’s

assistance. The PIP listed five objectives, including a

requirement that Haynes “[m]Jeet or exceed 100% of

{her} monthly sales quota . . . for December ’00 and

January ’01.” (R. Vol. III at 363.) It also stated, “[iJt is

crucial you understand how important your required

improvement is, since continued unsatisfactory sales

performance will result in further disciplinary action.”

insists she told them both that the discrimination was based

on her age and sex and informed them two other women had

also been victims of such discrimination.

9a

(Vol. Ill at 363.) Finally, the PIP informed Haynes if

she discussed its terms and conditions with any other

Level 3 employees, she was subject to immediate

termination.

Nine days after Haynes was placed on the PIP,

her physician informed Level 3 she was placing Haynes

on a two week medical disability for consultation with

specialists. Five days later, Haynes took a medical leave

of absence. The first twelve weeks of leave were taken

pursuant to the Family Medical Leave Act. After that

time, Haynes took indefinite leave under Level 3's

medical leave policy. She received short-term disability

payments from Level 3's third-party insurance carrier

through February 26, 2001. However, the third-party

insurance carrier denied her request for long-term

disability payments. It is undisputed Level 3 had no

control or influence over this decision.

Haynes remained on medical leave until Level 3

terminated her employment on June 18, 2001, as part of

a RIF. Larson and Lanza’s employment, among others,

was also terminated in the same RIF. Roberts made the

decisions as to which employees would be terminated.

One of the criteria for termination under the RIF was an

employee’s placement on a PIP.

Haynes filed a charge of discrimination with the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

on October 11, 2001. At her request, the EEOC issued a

Notice of Right to Sue letter on June 27, 2002. On

September 4, 2002, Haynes filed this action against

Level 3 alleging she was terminated in violation of the

10a

ADA, Title VII and the ADEA. She also asserted a

breach of contract claim. Following discovery, Level 3

moved for summary judgment on all of Haynes’ claims.

After supplemental briefing, the district court granted

summary judgment in favor of Level 3. In so doing, it

construed Haynes’ complaint as incorporating two

separate bases for her claims — her termination and her

placement on the PIP. The district court denied relief,

concluding: (1) the termination of Haynes’ employment

was not discriminatory because it was premised on her

status under the PIP and it is uncontested that all

employees under a PIP were placed on the list to be

considered for the RIF, (2) the last action prior to the

RIF was placing her on a PIP, (3) the PIP was an

adverse employment action, (4) but it, and all other

alleged discriminatory acts, were outside of the required

300-day time period for filing an administrative claim.

After disposing of Haynes’ federal claims, the district

court declined to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over

her breach of contract claim.’ This appeal followed.

Discussion

All three of Haynes’ causes of action, Title VII,

ADEA and ADA, require that she file a timely

administrative claim within 300 days of the challenged

discriminatory action. Haynes filed her EEOC charge

on October 11, 2001. Therefore, the discriminatory

actions on which she bases her claims must have

occurred on or after December 15, 2000. 42 U.S.C. §§

” On appeal, Haynes does not challenge the district court’s

refusal to exercise supplemental jurisdiction.

lla

12117(a); 2000e-5; Duncan v. Manager, Dep’t. of

Safety, City & County of Denver, 397 F.3d 1300, 1308

(10th Cir. 2005) (Title VII); Davidson, 337 F.3d at 1183

(ADA); Beaird v. Seagate Tech., Inc., 145 F.3d 1159,

1174 (10th Cir. 1998) (ADEA). Generally, a cause of

action accrues “on the date the employee is notified of

an adverse employment decision by the employer.”

Davidson, 337 F.3d at 1187. However, not every

perceived indignity will rise to the level of an adverse

employment action triggering the 300-day limitations

period. A “mere inconvenience or alteration of job

responsibilities” will not do. Dick v. Phone Directories

Co., Inc., 397 F.3d 1256, 1268 (10th Cir. 2005)

(quotation omitted). Only “acts that constitute a

significant change in employment status, such as hiring,

firing, failing to promote, reassignment with

significantly different responsibilities, or a decision

causing a significant change in benefits” will rise to the

level of an adverse employment action. /d. (quotation

omitted). Nonetheless, “we liberally interpret” whether

an adverse employment action exists “and take a

case-by-case approach, examining the unique factors

relevant to the situation at hand.” /d. (quotation

omitted.)

We begin by identifying the allegations that

constitute an adverse employment action because such

“discrete discriminatory acts are not actionable if time

barred, even when they are related to acts alleged in

timely filed charges. Each discrete discriminatory act

starts a new [300-day] clock for filing charges alleging

that act.” Nat'l R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Morgan, 536

U.S. 101, 113 (2002).

12a

The very precision of this requirement —

not a year, not six months, not the state law

statute of limitations for comparable causes

of action — bespeaks Congress’s concern.

Title VII is not intended to allow employees

to dredge up old grievances; they must

promptly report and take action § on

discriminatory acts when they occur.

Unlitigated bygones are bygones.

Duncan, 397 F.3d at 1308.

The crux of Haynes’ argument on appeal is that

the district court erred in concluding the PIP was an

adverse employment action that occurred outside the

time limitation. She maintains the only adverse

employment action triggering the 300-day statutory

limitations period occurred on the date of her

termination. In any event, Haynes argues that under

Morgan, even if the PIP is an adverse employment

action, her allegations surrounding the PIP and all other

previous discriminatory actions are relevant as a

backdrop for the ultimate determination as to whether

the termination of her employment was discriminatory

and the RIF merely a pretext.’

* Haynes raises numerous. arguments on appeal that were not

presented to the district court. A significant portion of her

Opening Brief and Reply Brief is directed to her claim that

her PIP was limited to a two-month period (i.e., until January

2001). She reasons that, because the PIP was limited to two

months, she was subject to additional adverse employment

13a

Haynes is correct that the statute docs not “bar an

employee from using prior acts as background evidence

in support of a timely claim.” Morgan, 536 U.S. at 113

(emphasis added). Nonetheless,

such background evidence cannot suffice [to

establish a timely claim] where [there is] no

evidence of discriminatory purpose other

actions by (1) either being placed on a new PIP after January

2001, (2) extending the time frame for the PIP without her

knowledge or (3) being terminated when she was not actually

on a PIP. Haynes also insists the district court erroneously

characterized the PIP as automatically causing her

termination. She now insists it was only one reason she was

included in the RIF. None of these arguments were raised

below. Indeed, Haynes’ theory below was simply and

repeatedly based on a simple sequence of events:

In sum, plaintiff was laid off because she was put at

the top of the layoff list Which, in turn, was because

she had been placed on a corrective action plan, which,

in turn, was because she complained to human

resources about discrimination and mistreatment under

the ‘open door’ policy.

(R. Vol. II at 193). While Haynes’ new theories may seem

more attractive at this stage of the proceedings, we will not

consider them on appeal. Davidson, 337 F.3d 1179, 1188

(10th Cir. 2003); Gorman v. Carpenters’ & Millwrights’

Health Benefit Trust, 410 F.3d 1194, 1202 (10th Cir. 2005).

l4a

than (at most) [a] discrete time-barred

decision.... To decide otherwise would

completely undo Morgan’s insistence that

each discrete discriminatory act starts a new

clock for filing charges alleging that act.

Law v. Continental Airlines, Corp., Inc., 399 F.3d 330,

334 (D.C. Cir. 2005). Therefore, as our first step, we

will examine Level 3’s discriminatory acts as alleged by

Haynes prior to her termination to determine whether

any constitute time-barred discrete adverse employment

actions.

A. Discriminatory Acts Prior to Placement on the

PIP

Haynes’ allegations of Larson’s actions prior to

placement on the PIP may be parsed into three

categories: (1) a request to come to work while ill; (2)

lack of managerial support as compared with that

provided to the male employees; and (3) reassignment of

her accounts. As to the first two categories, we agree

with Haynes that they are not the type of actions that

would begin the statutory limitations period since she

has not alleged, and the record does not reflect, these

actions were anything but an inconvenience.

Larson’s repeated removal of Haynes’ accounts,

however, paint a different picture. As Haynes

repeatedly stated, these actions directly caused a

significant change in her employment status and

benefits. According to Haynes, Larson’s discriminatory

actions caused Quivey to receive the rewards of her

15a

work and, conversely, she was unable to meet her sales

quotas. Although she did not identify the precise

accounts unfairly removed, the dates they were

transferred to Quivey or the amount of income she lost

as a result of the transfers, Haynes clearly knew the

discriminatory nature of Larson’s actions and the

resulting detrimental effect to her income.’ Indeed, in a

November 7, 2000 e-mail to Larson, Haynes stated, “this

has impacted my sales output tremendously, as the work

I’ve done is not reflected in my base and someone else is

now getting paid on much of my work.” (R. Vol. III at

333.) Because each removal of an account constituted

an actionable adverse employment action, Haynes was

required to file an administrative charge within 300 days

of each removal. She did not do so. Thus, any claim

based on the removal of her accounts is time-barred.

B. Placement on the PIP

In essence, the district court concluded Haynes’

placement on a PIP was per se an adverse employment

action because it constituted a disciplinary action in the

form of a written warning. Most courts that have

* The record includes several e-mails dated August 13, 2000,

November 7, 2000, and September 17, 2000, in which

Haynes’ complains of the transfer of her accounts to Quivey.

In addition, Haynes’ also testified that the removal of an

account in May, 2000 was a “watershed” moment. Therefore,

while it is not clear exactly when her accounts were

transferred, the record indicates such transfers began, at the

latest, in May 2000 and ceased in November, 2000.

l6a

considered whether a PIP, standing alone, is an adverse

employment action have found it is not. Givens v.

Cingular Wireless, 396 F.3d 998, 998 (8th Cir. 2005)

(“[Pjlacing [an employee] on a _ ‘performance

improvement plan,’ without more, did not constitute an

adverse employment action.”); Taylor v. Small, 350 F.3d

1286, 1293 (D.C. Cir. 2003) (“[F]ormal criticism or poor

performance evaluations are not necessarily adverse

actions and they should not be considered such if they

did not affect the employee's grade or salary.”); Agnew

v. BASF Corp., 286 F.3d 307, 310 (6th Cir. 2002) (the

possibility of termination mentioned in the plaintiff's

PIP “was contingent on future developments, rather than

being a present plan or decision” and therefore did not

constitute an adverse employment action supporting a

constructive discharge claim.).

Although the district court recognized the

existence of this non-binding precedent, it determined

the Tenth Circuit had reached the opposite conclusion.

Relying on Hysten v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Railway

Company, 296 F.3d 1177, 1183 (10th Cir. 2002), and

Roberts v. Roadway Express, Inc., 149 F.3d 1098, 1104

(10th Cir. 1998), it held “[Haynes] could have filed a

charge of discrimination immediately after being placed

on the PIP because a written warning in the Tenth

Circuit constitutes an adverse employment action.” (R.

Vol. IV at 61.) We disagree with the district court’s

interpretation of our precedent and expressly join our

sister circuits in holding a PIP, standing alone, is not an

adverse employment action.

A written warning may be an_ adverse

17a

employment action only if it effects a significant change

in the plaintiff's employment status. For example, in

Roberts, the defendant had peppered plaintiff's file with

“twenty warning letters,” and the record demonstrated

“that the more warnings an employee received, the more

likely he or she was to be terminated for a further

infraction.” 149 F.3d at 1104."° Thus, the effect on the

plaintiffs employment status was an immediate

placement in an at-risk status. The facts in this case do

not demonstrate that Haynes’ placement on the PIP in

November had any immediate effect on her employment

status. She was not demoted, her pay did not change

and her responsibilities were not significantly modified.

Instead, she was presented with clear goals to achieve

her continued employment.

She also concedes no one at Level 3 anticipated

the economic downturn that would result in the RIF

seven months later. Further, no one could have

predicted that Haynes would be unable to meet the PIP

due to her subsequent unforeseen medical leave.

Therefore, her placement on the PIP had no apparent

tangible effects other than the requirement she meet her

sales quota and a plan to assist her in her efforts.

Consequently, Haynes’ placement on a PIP was not an

adverse employment action. See Dick, 397 F.3d at 1270

'° The facts in Hysten are not as clear. It appears the

plaintiffs retaliation claim relied on a written Level |

reprimand issued approximately two weeks after he filed a

discrimination suit. The effect of the reprimand is not,

however, set forth in the opinion. We can assume the record

indicated an immediate adverse consequence as a result.

18a

(holding a “single write-up is not an _ adverse

employment action.”).

oe Discriminatory Discharge

There is no question that Haynes’ termination

from Level 3 is an adverse employment action that

occurred within the 300-day statutory time period.

However, the district court determined Haynes failed to

present evidence of a discriminatory intent," .e., that her

inclusion in the RIF was based on her age, disability or

'' To prevail on a claim of age discrimination in the RIF

context, a claimant must show: “(1) the claimant is within the

protected age group; (2) he or she was doing satisfactory

work; (3) the claimant was discharged despite the adequacy

of his or her work; and (4) there is some evidence the

employer intended to discriminate against the claimant in

reaching its RIF decision.” Stone v. Autoliv ASP, Inc., 210

F.3d 1132, 1137 (10th Cir. 2000). “Under the ADA, a

plaintiff must show (1) that he is disabled within the meaning

of the ADA; (2) that he is qualified, with or without

reasonable accommodation, to perform the essential functions

of the job held or desired; and (3) that he was discriminated

against because of his disability.” Davidson, 373 F.3d at

1188 (quotations omitted). To prevail on a claim alleging

termination under Title VII, the plaintiff “must first establish

a prima facie case, demonstrating that: (1) he was a member

of a protected class; (2) he was qualified and satisfactorily

performing his job; and (3) he was terminated under

circumstances giving rise to an inference of discrimination.”

Salguero v. City of Clovis, 366 F.3d 1168, 1175 (10th Cir.

2004).

19a

sex, respectively, because her termination was pursuant

to a neutral policy. We agree.

In United Air Lines, Inc. v. Evans, Evans, a flight

attendant, was forced to resign in 1968 due to United’s

policy of prohibiting married flight attendants. 431 U.S.

553, 554 (1997). In 1971, United’s policy was found to

be unlawful. /d. In 1972, Evans was rehired but was

denied seniority credit for her past service. /d. at 554.

She filed suit alleging the discriminatory policy forcing

her to resign was the direct cause of her inability receive

the benefits attendant to her seniority in her current

position. /d. The question before the Court was whether

her failure to file a charge within 90 days of her 1968

separation caused her claim to be time barred and

foreclosed Title VII relief. Jd. at 556.

Evans argued, inter alia, that “the seniority

system [gave] present effect to the past illegal [policy|

and therefore perpetuate[d] the consequences of

forbidden discrimination.” /d. at 557. The Court

rejected this argument because the policy to refuse

seniority to rehired employees applied equally to those

who had terminated their employment because of

discriminatory and non-discriminatory practices,

notwithstanding their sex. /d. at 558. The Court

recognized “the seniority system [gave] present effect to

a past act of discrimination.” /d. Nonetheless, “United

was entitled to treat that past act as lawful” when Evans

failed to file a timely charge of discrimination. /d. The

Court explained that the past act “may constitute

relevaiit background evidence in a proceeding in which

the status of a current practice is at issue, but separately

considered, it is merely an unfortunate event in history

which has no present legal consequences.” /d. Because

the present (timely) employment decision was “neutral

in its operation,” the past discriminatory policy could

not be the basis of her claim. /d.; see also Delaware

State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 258 (1980)

(Plaintiff neither alleged nor proved “that the manner in

which his employment was terminated differed

discriminatorily from the manner in which the College

terminated other professors who also had been denied

tenure.’ >).

Similarly, in Jorge v. Rumsfeld, the plaintiff,

Jorge, was employed by the Army and Air Force

Exchange Services in the commissary program for

military personnel. 404 F.3d 556, 559 (1st Cir. 2005).

In 1979, she became the retail manager of a Base store,

Toyland, and remained there for almost twenty years.

At the age of fifty-one, she elected to make a lateral

transfer to another store on the Base, where she was a

model employee until 1998. However, the assignment

of a new supervisor caused Jorge to complain about the

Supervisor's practices, to which the supervisor allegedly

responded with derogatory comments about her age.

While Jorge was on vacation, the supervisor unilaterally

transferred her back to Toyland, filled her position with

a younger, less experienced male and did not offer an

explanation upon her return. /d. Jorge refused to report

to Toyland, using all her leave and sick time resisting

the transfer. /d. at 560. Eventually, she was given the

option of either reporting to Toyiand or taking early

retirement. She submitted a notice of involuntary early

retirement and filed suit alleging constructive discharge

in violation of the ADEA and Title VII. /d.

The court determined Jorge’s claim accrued at the

time she was transferred, not at her resignation, even

though her transfer was not an adverse employment

action.'* /d. at 562. The court reasoned:

Jorge’s troubles evidently stemmed from the

sequence of events exemplifying the

harassing behavior of her new supervisor.

That sequence of events began in 1998 and

culminated in the order transferring her to

Toyland. Jorge refused to accept that

transfer, even though it entailed no loss of

pay, benefits, status, or the like.... By all

accounts, it was the refusal to report for

work and the passage of time that led to

[the] ultimatum, and Jorge does not suggest

that this action was anything other than

standard operating procedure.

Id. “Absent such an allegation, the plaintiff's loss of

employment was merely an ‘inevitable consequence’ of

the earlier (time-barred) . . . decision, and could not

constitute a separately actionable event.” /d. at 563.

(quoting Ricks, 449 U.S. at 257-58). “In short, the

criticai datum is the point in time at which the

" We need not and do not express an opinion on the court’s

determination that an action may accrue even though no

adverse employment action has occurred.

22a

discriminatory act occurred, not the point at which its

effects became most injurious . . . . The mere continuity

of the employment relationship, in and of itself, is not

enough to prolong the life of a cause of action.” /d.

(quotation omitted)."

Again, in Law, employees’ claimed a

discriminatory failure to promote occurring outside the

appropriate time limitations was the cause of their lower

pay checks, each a discrete discriminatory action. 399

F.3d at 332-33. The court rejected the claim because the

determination of the amount of the paychecks was made

pursuant to a neutral policy. /d. at 333. While the couri

recognized the earlier failure to promote could be used

as background under Morgan, it concluded the

allowance of a claim based solely on a time-barred

discrete employment decision would “undo” Morgan's

insistence that each discrete act start a new clock. /d. at

° The Supreme Court has noted, “[t]here may be

circumstances where it will be difficult to determine when the

time period should begin to run. One issue that may arise in

such circumstances is whether the time begins to run when

the injury occurs as opposed to when the injury reasonably

should have been discovered.” Morgan, 536 U.S. at 114 n.7.

In exceptional circumstances, “the 300-day period of

limitations for filing a charge with the EEOC may be adjusted

by cquitable doctrines such as waiver, estoppel and equitable

tolling.” Davidson, 337 F.3d at 1188. Haynes wisely did not

raise equitable tolling before the district court or on appeal.

The record reveals she clearly believed Larson’s actions were

discriminatory as early as May 2000, well over a year before

she brought her claims.

334.

These cases instruct, and we agree, that Haynes

cannot use Larson’s alleged intent in performing time-

barred discrete actions resulting in the PIP,"* to attach

discriminatory intent or pretext to the termination

decision based on a neutral policy. Haynes has failed

to allege any discriminatory act on or after December

15, 2000."" She does not claim that a PIP was outside

'* Haynes argues that, because the PIP was not an adverse

employment action, she had no opportunity to bring a claim

until her claim ripened at the time of her termination in June.

As discussed above, Haynes could have brought he claim as

early as May 2000 and as late as 300 days from November

2000. We note Haynes concedes that, at the time she was

placed on the PIP, she had failed to make her sales quotas, but

places the cause for her poor performance solely upon

Larson’s previous discrete acts of discrimination. Thus, her

allegations only underscore the fact that the PIP was an

inevitable consequence of the alleged prior adverse

employment actions, for which she did not file a timely

charge. See Ricks, 449 U.S. at 257-58 (“It appears that

termination of employment at Delaware State is a delayed,

but inevitable, consequence of the denial of tenure.”’).

' In her opening brief, Haynes alleges five discrete adverse

employment actions (other than being placed on the PIP)

occurring within the time limitations. First, she alleges the

PIP was extended or Level 3 imposed a new PIP. These

arguments were not presented to the district court. Therefore,

we will not consider them here. Second, she contends she

was fired while on approved sick leave. While it is true Level

3's policy does not allow someone to be terminated because

24a

standard operating procedure to address a failure to meet

her sales quota. Neither has she alleged that Level 3 did

not even-handedly include all employees currently on a

PIP in the RIF. Finally, Haynes presented no evidence

that any other employees on a PIP were spared in the

RIF. As a result, she fails to demonstrate any timely

inference of discrimination in her inclusion in the RIF.

Accordingly, we affirm summary judgment in favor of

Level 3 on her claims of unlawful

discharge."

he or she is on sick leave, Level 3 consistently stated Haynes

was terminated during the RIF because of the PIP, a fact

admitted by Haynes. Haynes’ third allegation centers on the

failure to approve long-term medical leave. However, it is

uncontested that Level 3 was not involved in this decision.

Haynes’ fourth and fifth alleged adverse employment acts are

her placement on the list to be included in the RIF and her

termination. As stated above, Haynes fails to show these acts

to be discriminatory, as all employees in her situation were

treated similarly.

'’e Given our determination that summary judgment is

appropriate on this basis, we need not address whether the

district court erred in determining Haynes was not “disabled”

under the ADA or whether she waived this issue on appeal.

tv

an

on)

D. Retaliation

Haynes also claims her inclusion in the RIF was

in retaliation for her complaints of discrimination under

Level 3's open-door policy. To succeed on a claim of

retaliation a plaintiff must show: “(1) that he engaged in

protected opposition to discrimination, (2) that a

reasonable employee would have found the challenged

action materially adverse, and (3) that a _ causal

connection existed between the protected activity and

the materially adverse action.” Argo v. Blue Cross &

Blue Shield of Kan., Inc., 2006 WL 1806605 at *7 (10th

Cir. 2006) (10th Cir. 2006) (citing Burlington N. &

Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. White, 126 S. Ct. 2405 (2006))

(footnote omitted). Here, Haynes’ meeting with Hester

occurred on November, 1, 2000. She was placed on the

performance improvement plan on November 13, 2000

and terminated June, 2001, over seven months later.

“A causal connection may be shown by evidence

of circumstances that justify an inference of retaliatory

motive, such as protected conduct closely followed by

adverse action.” O'Neal v. Ferguson Constr. Co., 237

F.3d 1248, 1253 (10th Cir. 2001) (quotation omitted).

Standing alone, temporal proximity between the

protected activity and the retaliatory conduct must be

very close in time. Otherwise, “the plaintiff must offer

additional evidence to establish causation.” /d. A

seven-month period between protected activity and

adverse action will not, by itself, establish causation.

See Anderson v. Coors Brewing Co., 181 F.3d 1171,

1179 (10th Cir. 1999) (“[A] three-month period,

standing alone, is insufficient to establish causation.”).

26a

Haynes argues the temporal proximity is

sufficient here because Level 3 could not “immediately”

terminate her while she was on medical leave, and

therefore, “[t]he company’s opportunity to camouflage

plaintiff's termination within an innocent-looking RIF

did not present itself until a RIF was scheduled.”

(Appellant’s Br. at 33.) Such speculative argument is

not only insufficient, it defies logic.

Assuming Larson’s decision to place Haynes on

the PIP was because she had spoken out, such

assumption does not establish an inference that Larson’s

motive carried over to Roberts’ decision, seven months

later, to include her in the RIF. “An employer's refusal

to undo a discriminatory decision is not a fresh act of

discrimination.” Croy v. Cobe Labs, Inc., 345 F.3d

1199, 1203 (10th Cir. 2003) (quotation omitted); see

Stepney v. Naperville Sch. Dist. 203, 392 F.3d 236, 240

(7th Cir. 2004); Stewart v. Booker T. Washington, Ins.,

232 F.3d 844, 853 (llth Cir. 2000); Lever v.

Northwestern Univ., 979 F.2d 552, 556 (7th Cir.1992).

Indeed, the facts indicate no causal connection between

Larson’s alleged retaliatory decision and Roberts’

neutral application of policy.

Haynes admits that, at the time Larson acted.

neither he nor anyone else at Level 3 anticipated the

future RIF or was aware the PIP would expose Haynes

to collateral vulnerability regarding her employment.

(Appellant’s Br. at 20.) (She concedes “[N]ot even the

manager who placed plaintiff on the original PIP could

predict that it was a precursor to plaintiffs

27a

termination.”) Two weeks later, Haynes left work on

medical leave. Haynes’ assertion that her medical leave

prevented her immediate termination is refuted by the

fact she was on medical leave at the time she was

included in the RIF. Haynes does not dispute Level 3's

policy whereby persons under a corrective action plan

were chosen to be placed on the list for inclusion in the

RIF. Haynes does not aver there were employees

exempted from this policy or that some employees under

a corrective action plan were not fired. In short, Haynes

has not shown any connection between Larson’s

motivation placing Haynes on the PIP and Level 3's

decision to include all employees on a corrective action

plan as primary candidates and their ultimate inclusion

in the RIF. See Manning v. Chevron Chemical Co.,

LLC., 332 F.3d 874, 884 (Sth Cir. 2003) (applying a

general policy to an employee is not retaliation), cert.

denied, 540 U.S. 1107 (2004). Thus, she has failed to

establish the causation element of her retaliation claim.

Conclusion

In sum, to the extent Haynes’ claims rely on her

discharge, she fails to establish the discriminatory intent

necessary for a prima facie case. To the extent Haynes’

claims are based on Larson’s actions, her claims are

untimely. Accordingly, we AFFIRM summary

judgment in favor of Level 3.

28a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT .

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Judge Edward W. Nottingham

Civil Action No.

02-N-1694

LINDA HAYNES, FILED

United States District Court

Plaintiff, Denver, Colorado

July 27, 2004

V. Gregory C. Langham

Clerk

LEVEL 3 ni Ae oe

COMMUNICATIONS,

LLC,

Defendant.

ORDER AND MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

This is an employment discrimination case. Plaintiff

Linda Haynes alleges that her employer, Defendant Level 3

Communications. LLC, discriminated against her in

violation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”),

42 U.S.C.A. §§ 12101-213 (West 1995 & Supp. 2004), Title

VII, 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 2000e to 2000e-17 (West 1995 & Supp.

2004), and the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

(“ADEA”), 29 U.S.C.A. §§ 621-34 (West 1999 & Supp.

29a

2004). She also claims that Level 3 breached her

employment contract. This matter is before the court on

“Defendant’s Motion For Summary Judgment,” filed May 5,

2003, and “Defendant’s Uncontested Motion to Submit

Supplemental Declarations in Support of Reply Brief,” filed

July 16, 2003. Jurisdiction is based upon 28 U.S.C.A. §

1331 (West 1993 & Supp. 2003).

FACTS

} Factual Background

Prior to working for defendant, plaintiff worked in

sales at IXC Communications where she excelled in her job.

(Pl.’s Opp’n to Def.’s Mot. for Summ. J., Statement of

Additional Facts 4] 2 [filed June 16, 2003] [hereinafter “PI.’s

Resp.” |; admitted in pertinent part at Reply in Supp. of Mot.

for Summ. J., Resp. to Additional Facts 4 2 [filed July 15,

2003] [hereinafter “Def.’s Reply”].) When her boss at [XC

Communications transferred to work for defendant, plaintiff

also switched jobs to work for defendant. (PI.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts { 3; admitted in pertinent part

at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts { 3.) Thus,

plaintiff began working for defendant in early 1999 as a sales

manager. (Mem. Br. in Supp. of Mot. for Summ. J.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts ¢ 1 [filed May 5, 2003]

(hereinafter “Def.’s Br.”]; admitted at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 1; Pl.’s Resp., Statement of

Additional Facts 4 4: asstted in pertinent part at Def.’s

Reply. Resp. to Additiomai Facts § 4.)

Defendant has an “open door” policy that permits an

employee to complain internally. (Pl.’s Resp., Statement of

Additional Facts © 4-5 admitted in pertinent part at Def.’s

Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts §§ 4-5.) This policy

provides that defendant “will not tolerate retali.aon or

30a

unequal treatment directed at employee-owners who utilize

this Open Door Policy to raise workplace problems.” (Def.’s

Br., Ex. A-8 [Open Door Policy].) According to plaintiff,

this open door policy was one of the reasons why she wanted

to work for defendant. (PIl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional

Facts | 4, 7; admitted in pertinent part at Def.’s Reply,

Resp. to Additional Facts {¥ 4, 7.)

Plaintiff's boss at defendant’s San Francisco office

was Paul Larson, who also managed Shane Quivey. (Def.’s

Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 3-4; admitted at P1.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts %§ 3-4.)

Quivey is a male, who at the relevant time period was in his

twenties. (Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts 4 35;

admitted in. pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts { 35.) The parties vigorously dispute (1)

whether he was qualified for his position in sales, and (2)

whether he performed his sales job well. (/d., Statement of

Additional Facts {| 9-11; denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts 4] 9-11; Pl.’s Resp., Ex 37 [Vargo Aff.].)

According to plaintiff's deposition testimony, Quivey would

come in late to meetings, argue inappropriately with

customers, give incorrect information to customers, show up

to meetings hung over, not keep corsistent work hours, and

not wear the proper attire. (/d, Statement of Additional

Facts 4 9; denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts

© 9.)' Defendant adamantly denies plaintiffs allegations

Plaintiff also alleges that Quivey viewed pornography at

work and would scream at people in the office. (P1.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts 4 9; denied at Def.’s Reply. Resp. to

Additional Facts ¥ 9; Pl.’s Resp., Ex. | at 38 [PI.’s Depo. Tr.].)

Plaintiff sets forth this averment based upon the statements of

other employees of defendant who worked with Quivey. (PI.’s

Resp., Ex. | at 38 [Pl.’s Depo. Tr.].) Plaintiff's testimony as to

this point is hearsay. “[T]he court may consider only admissible

evidence when ruling on a summary judgment motion.” Nobody

3la

regarding Quivey and provides numerous affidavits that

conflict with plaintiffs allegations. (Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts §j 9.)

Plaintiff alleges, and defendant disputes, that Larson

also gave plaintiff's better accounts to Quivey and gave

Quivey favorable treatment with regards to the accounts.

(Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts § 16; denied at

Def.’s Reply. Resp. to Additional Facts 7 16.) Although the

timing is unclear, Larson reduced plaintiff's accounts so

Quivey had ninety accounts to plaintiff's twenty or twenty-

five. (/d. Statement of Additional Facts 4] 25; admitted in

pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts

4 25.) According to plaintiff, defendant was also reducing

the accounts of another female employee. Plaintiff and her

fellow employee Mary Vargo claim’ that Larson

discriminated against Vargo in favor of Quivey, handing

Vargo’s accounts over to Quivey. (/d, Statement of

Additional Facts 4] 12-13; denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts {| 12-13.) According to plaintiff and

Vargo, but disputed by defendant, when Vargo complained

to Larson’s superiors, he retaliated against her. (Jd,

Statement of Additional Facts § 14; denied at Def.’s Reply,

Resp. to Additional Facts 4] 14).

As a general matter, plaintiff testified in her

deposition that Larson treated men and women differently,

giving men all of the business advantages and repeatedly

discriminating against women. (/d., Statement of Additional

in Particular Presents, Inc. v. Clear Channel Communications,

Inc., — F. Supp.2d —, 2004 WL 725464, at *43 (D. Colo 2004),

These hearsay statements do not fall under the party-opponent

exception because plaintiff has not shown that the deciarants were

authorized by defendant “to engage in the type of correspondence

at issue,” Jd. I therefore do not consider these averments.

32a

Facts {| 26-28, 62; denied in pertinent part at Def’s Reply,

Resp. to Additional Facts 4§ 26-28, 62.) For example,

Larson would cover up men’s mistakes, set higher standards

for women, lie about women’s performance, bad mouth

women to the customers, and give better leads to the men.

(Id.) Defendant disputes these claims. (Def.’s Reply, Resp.

to Additional Facts {4 26-28.)

On August 13, 2000, plaintiff sent an electronic mail

message to Larson regarding her concerns about how Larson

was giving Quivey her lucrative accounts. (PI.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts 4 8; admitted in pertinent part

at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4 8; Pl.’s Resp.,

Ex. 10 [8/13/00 electronic mail message from plaintiff to

Larson].) Also, according to plaintiff, she orally complained

to Larson that he ‘vas discriminating against her because she

was a woman and because she was older. (/d., Statement of

Additional Facts § 63; denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts § 63.) The record does not provide the

temporal context of this alleged oral complaint. (/d.,

Statement of Additional Facts 4 63; denied at Def.’s Reply,

Resp. to Additional Facts 4 63; Pl.’s Resp., Ex. 1 at 104

[plaintiff's depo.].)

In response to the aforementioned issues, on

September 18, 2000, plaintiff wrote an electronic mail

message complaining about Larson’s management style to

defendant’s senior vice president of sales, Scott Roberts,

who was two management levels above Larson. (Def.’s Br.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts 44 9, 29; admitted at Pl.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 9, 29; Pl.’s

Resp., Statement of Additional Facts 22; admitted at Def.’s

Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts § 22.) Plaintiff wrote this

electronic mail messaye under defendant’s open door policy,

and Roberts believed this complaint fell within the scope of

the policy. (/d., Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 9, 11-12,

33a

37-38; admitted in pertinent part at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 9. 11-12, 37-38.) Roberts

contacted defendant’s director of human resources, Randall

Hester, about plaintiff's complaint and requested that he

contact plaintiff. (Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts

€ 30; admitted at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4

30.) The following day plaintiff wrote a more detailed

electronic mail message to Roberts about her issues with

Larson and her critiques of his handling of his job. (Def.’s

Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts § 10; admitted at Pl.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 10; Pl.’s

Resp., Statement of Additional Facts | 23; admitted at Def.’s

Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 423.) This electronic mail

message alleged, inter alia, that Larson showed “favoritism”

towards Quivey. (/d., Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 10;

admitted in pertinent part at P|.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement

of Undisputed Facts § 10.) According to plaintiffs

testimoriy, and disputed by Roberts, plaintiff told Roberts

that Larson favored men over women and worked to hurt his

women employees. (PI.’s Resp., Statement of Additional

Facts § 25; denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts

{| 25.) She also told him that Larson discriminated on the

basis of age. (/d., Statement of Additional Facts 4 25; denied

at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts § 25.)

On October 3, 2000, Larson told plaintiff that her

sales performance was poor and that she needed to improve

immediately. (Def.’s Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts € 5;

admitted in pertinent part at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement

of Undisputed Facts 4 5.) Then, on October 24, 2000,

Roberts replied to plaintiff regarding her September 18, 2000

complaint and told her that he had asked Hester to get

involved. (PI.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts ¥ 31;

admitted at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts §] 31.)

Plaintiff spoke with Hester on November 1, 2000. (/d,

Statement of Additional Facts | 32; admitted at Del’s Reply,

34a

Resp. to Additional Facts 432.) Plaintiff claims that she told

Hester in this meeting that Larson was discriminating against

her because she was a woman and because she was older.

(Id., Statement of Additional Facts § 33; denied at Def.’s

Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts § 33.) Conversely, Hester

claims that the issue of gender and age discrimination never

arose, and plaintiff merely complained about Larson’s poor

management style. (/d) Hester did consider plaintiff's

complaints to fall within the purview of defendant’s open

door policy. (/d, Statement of Additional Facts 4 36;

admitted at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts § 36.)

Hester, thereafter, contacted Mike Lanza, Larson’s

supervisor, and Larson to discuss plaintiff's complaints.

(Def’s Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 28; admitted in

pertinent part at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of

Undisputed Facts 4 28; Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional

Facts § 39; admitted in pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp.

to Additional Facts { 39.) The following day, Lanza and

Larson sent out electronic mail messages to their sales group,

including plaintiff, explaining that “no one is to take ANY

issue to [Lanza’s] superiors without first bringing it to

[Lanza’s] attention.” (PI.’s Resp., Statement of Additional

Facts (40; admitted in pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp.

to Additional Facts §{ 40; Pl.’s Resp., Ex. 24 [11/02/00

electronic mail message from Haynes to Larson with

electronic mail history].) According to plaintiff, this

electronic mail message was in response to her discussion

with Hester, which is demonstrated by the temporal

proximity between her discussion with Hester and the

electronic mail message. (/d., Statement of Additional Facts

{ 40; denied in pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts | 40) Defendant, on the other hand,

contends that this electronic mail message was in response to

plaintiffs actions earlier that day of discussing a client

meeting with Roberts without contacting either Larson or

35a

Lanza first. (Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts € 40,

Ex. A-23 [11/02/00 electronic mail message from Haynes to

Larson with electronic mail history].)

On November 7, 2000, plaintiff sent another

electronic mail message to Larson regarding her concerns

about how Larson was giving Quivey her lucrative accounts.

(Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts ¥ 8; admitted in

pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4 8;

Pl.’s Resp., Ex. 11 [11/7/00 electronic mail message from

plaintiff to Larson].) Plaintiff claimed in her deposition that

by around this time, she only had three viable accounts. (/d.,

Statement of Additional Facts 4 21; admitted in pertinent

part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts € 21.)

On November 13, 2000. Larson placed plaintiff on a

performance improvement plan (hereinafter “PIP”), which

Larson and Hester drafted. (Def.’s Br., Statement of

Undisputed Facts § 6; admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts { 6; PI.’s

Resp., Statement of Additional Facts 4 44, 60; admitted in

pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts

{1 44, 60.) The parties agree that the PIP was a form of

discipline. (PI.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts © 48;

admitted at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4 48.)

The PIP required that plaintiff meet or exceed 100% of her

monthly sales quota in the following two months and meet

other objective criteria to increase her sales. (Def.’s Br.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 7; admitted at P\.’s Resp.,

Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts £ 7.) The parties

dispute whether plaintiff's performance was poor enough to

necessitate defendant placing her on the PIP. (PI.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts § 50; denied at Def.’s Reply,

Resp. to Additional Facts © 50.) Plaintiff contends that her

performance was excellent, but Larson’s numerous improper

actions led her to have bad sales numbers. (/d., Statement of

36a

Additional Facts § 50; denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts § 50.) Defendant contends that plaintiff

was underperforming because of her own faults. (/d.)

According to plaintiff, she developed an anxiety

disorder and aggravation of her colitis’ in 2000, and these

conditions rose to the level of a disability. (Def.’s Br.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts { 13; admitted at P|.’s Resp.,

Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 13; Pl.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts § 72; admitted in pertinent

part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4 72.) On

November 22, 2000, plaintiffs primary care physician

recommended that plaintiff go on a two week medical

disability leave while she consulted with specialists who

could determine how long her recuperation would take. (/d.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts { 16; admitted in pertinent

part at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts

4 16.) Thus, starting in late November 2000, plaintiff began

a medical leave of absence from defendant. (/d., Statement

of Undisputed Facts 4 17; admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 17.)

Plaintiff's leave of absence continued far longer than two

weeks. Plaintiff took twelve weeks of leave under the

Family Medical Leave Act and then took an indefinite leave

under defendant’s medical leave policy. (/d, Statement of

Undisputed Facts § 18; admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts § 18.)

Plaintiff reports that she was disabled from late

November 2000 until well after defendant terminated her

employment, discussed below. (Id, Statement of

Undisputed Facts § 32; admitted at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to

? Colitis is an inflammation of the colon. Merriam-

Webster’s Medical Dictionary (2004).

37a

Statement of Undisputed Facts { 32.) Specifically, she

claims that during this time she couldn’t leave her house and

just “stayed under the covers up to her neck,” while her

mother took care of her. (/d., Statement of Undisputed Facts

§ 32; admitted at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of

Undisputed Facts 4 32.) Her primary care physician told

plaintiff that she could not work during this period of time.

(Id, Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 33; admitted in

pertinent part at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of

Undisputed Facts 4 33.) According to plaintiff, there was

nothing defendant could have done (i.e. modify her work

schedule or make other accommodations) to enable her to

return to work. (/d., Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 15;

admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement

of Undisputed Facts 4 15.)

In June, 2001 defendant underwent one of several

Reductions in Force (hereinafter “RIF”). (/d., Statement of

Undisputed Facts | 24; admitted at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts § 24.) Defendant developed a

list of criteria that would trigger an employce’s selection for

the RIF, which included an employee’s placement on a PIP.

(Id., Statement of Undisputed Facts § 25-26; (admitted at

Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4] 25-

26; Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts | 65;

admitted in pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to

Additional Facts 4 65.) When Larson placed plaintiff on the

PIP, he was unaware that (1) there would be an RIF in June

2001, and (2) placement on a PIP would be a criteria for

being selected for the lay-offs. (/d., Statement of Undisputed

Facts §| 27; admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 27.) Hester, however, was

aware that a PIP was one of defendant’s main criteria in

determining who to lay off during an RIF. (PI.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts %§ 65-66; admitted in

pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts "4

38a

65-66.) On June 21, 2000, defendant laid off plaintiff,

Larson, and Lanza as part of defendant’s RIF. (Def.’s Br.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts {| 28; admitted in pertinent

part at P|.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4

28; Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts 4] 71; admitted

in pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4

71.) Roberts was ultimately responsible for the decision to

lay off plaintiff, Larson, and Lanza. (Jd, Statement of

Undisputed Facts {| 29; admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 29.)

Plaintiff was forty-six years old when defendant terminated

her employment. (PI.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts

4 1; admitied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts 4] 1.)

Defendant did not lay off Quivey. (/d, Statement of

Additional Facts {| 35; admitted in pertinent part at Def.’s

Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts § 35.)

yi Procedural History

On October 11, 2001, plaintiff filed a charge of

discrimination with the EEOC. (Def.’s Br., Statement of

Undisputed Facts § 36; admitted at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts 4 36.) The EEOC issued a

right to sue letter on June 27, 2002. (Compl., Ex. 1 [Notice

of Right to Sue] [filed Sept. 4, 2002].)

Plaintiff filed her original complaint in this court on

September 4, 2002. (Compl.) Plaintiff amended her

complaint on February 24, 2003. (Am. Compl. [filed Feb. 4,

2004].) Plaintiff sets forth four claims for relief in her

amended complaint. First, she alleges that defendant

violated the ADA by its discriminatory acts (Am. Compl. 4

41.) Second, she alleges that defendant violated Title VII by

its discriminatory and retaliatory acts. (/d. 42.) Third, she

alleges that defendant violated the ADEA through its

discriminatory and retaliatory acts. (/d. § 43.) Fourth, she

39a

alleges that defendant breached its contracts with plaintiff.

(Id. 4 44.)

Defendant moved for summary judgment on all of

plaintiff's claims on May 5, 2003. (Def.’s Mot. for Summ. J.

{filed May 5, 2003].) In a footnote, defendant argues that

plaintiffs claims are time barred for failure to file an EEOC

complaint within 300 days from the date of the allegedly

unlawful employment practice. (Def.’s Br. at 10 n. 1.)

Neither plaintiffs response nor defendant’s reply address

this issue. Since this issue is dispositive, I gave the parties

an opportunity to argue this specific issue at a hearing on

July 16, 2004. (Courtroom Mins. {dated July 16, 2004].) On

July 19, 2004, regarding a sub-issue discussed at the hearing,

plaintiff filed a supplement citing cases where courts found

that an employee’s placement on a PIP did not constitute an

adverse employment action. (PI.’s Supplemental Auth. in

Opp’n to Def.’s Mot. for Summ. J. [filed July 19, 2004]

[hereinafter “P1.’s Supplement”].)

ANALYSIS

1, Standard of Review

Pursuant to Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, the court may grant summary judgment where

“the pleadings, depositions. answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and the

. .. MOving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.”

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) (2003); see Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 250, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2511 (1986);

Concrete Works, Inc. v. City & County of Denver, 36 F.3d

513, 1517 (10th Cir. 1994). The moving party bears the

initial burden of showing an absence of evidence to support

the nonmoving party’s case. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

40a

U.S. 317, 325, 106 S. Ct. 2548, 2554 (1986). “Once the

moving party meets this burden, the burden shifts to the

nonmoving party to demonstrate a genuine issue for trial on

a material matter.” Concrete Works, Inc., 36 F.3d at 1518

(citing Celotex Corp., 477 U.S. at 325, 106 S. Ct. at 2554).

The nonmoving party may not rest solely on the allegations

in the pleadings, but must instead designate “specific facts

showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.” Celotex

Corp., 477 U.S. at 324, 106 S. Ct. at 2553; see Fed. R. Civ.

P. 56(e). “‘Only disputes over facts that might affect the

outcome of the suit under governing law will preclude the

entry of summary judgment.’” Sanchez v. Denver Pub.

Schs., 164 F.3d 527, 531 (10th Cir. 1998) (quoting Anderson,

477 U.S. at 248, 106 S. Ct. at 2505). The court may consider

only admissible evidence when ruling on a summary

judgment motion. See World of Sleep. Inc. v. La-Z-Boy

Chair Co., 756 F.2d 1467, 1474 (10th Cir. 1985). The

factual record must be viewed in the light most favorable to

the nonmoving party. Concrete Works, Inc., 36 F.3d at 1518

(citing Applied Genetics Int'l, Inc. v. First Affiliated Sec.,

Inc., 912 F.2d 1238, 1241 [10th Cir. 1990}).

2. Plaintiff's ADA claim

Plaintiffs ADA claim fails for two reasons. The

first reason is set forth in this section and the second reason

is set forth in the following section with regards to plaintiff's

Title VII and ADEA claims. Defendant contends that

plaintiffs first claim for relief, violation of the ADA, must

be dismissed because plaintiff cannot establish that she was

(1) disabled under the ADA or (2) qualified under the ADA.

(Def.’s Br. at 8-10.) Since I resolve this issue regarding the

latter argument, I do not address the former.

To establish a prima facie case under the ADA,

plaintiff must demonstrate “(1) that he is ‘disabled’ within

4la

the meaning of the ADA; (2) that he is qualified -- with or

without reasonable accommodation; and (3) that he was

discriminated against because of his disability.” Aldrich y.

Boeing Co., 146 F.3d 1265, 1269 (10th Cir. 1998) (quoting

Siemon v. AT&T Corp., 117 F.3d 1173, 1175 [10th Cir.

1997]). A person is qualified if she can “with or without

reasonable accommodation, [] perform the essential

functions of the employment position that [she] holds or

desires.” 42 U.S.C.A. § 12111(8) (West 1995 & Supp.

2003). The relevant time for determining whether the

plaintiff is a qualified individual with a disability under the

ADA is at the time of discharge. Griffith v. Wal-Mart

Stores, Inc., 135 F.3d 376, 380 (6th Cir. 1998). Here,

plaintiff concedes that she could not work at all when she

was terminated. (Def.’s Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts

94 15, 32-33; admitted at Pl.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of

Undisputed Facts 15, 32-33.) Accordingly, plaintiff was not

a qualified individual under the ADA. 42 US.C.A. §

12111(8); Duckett v. Dunlop Tire Corp., 120 F.3d 1222,

1225 (llth Cir. 1997) (holding that employee was not

“otherwise qualified” as required to establish prima facie

case under ADA because he conceded that he was unable to

return to work in any capacity and required indefinite

medical leave when he was terminated). Plaintiff, therefore,

cannot establish a prima facie case under the ADA and her

first claim for relief fails.

RS Plaintiff's Title VII and ADEA Claims

Plaintiffs Title VII and ADEA claims likewise fail,

but for a different reason. Defendant contends, in a footnote,

that plaintiff's claims are time barred for failure to file an

EEOC complaint within 300 days from the date of the

allegedly unlawful employment practice. (Def.’s Br. at 10 n.

1.) A plaintiff must file a complaint with the EEOC within

300 days from the date of the unlawful employment practice

42a

in order to avoid summary judgment. Croy y. Cobe Labs.,

Inc., 345 F.3d 1199, 1202 (10th Cir. 2003); Herrera v. Int'l

Bhd. of Elec. Workers Union, 228 F. Supp.2d 1233, 1240 (D.

Colo. 2002). Here, plaintiff filed a charge of discrimination

with the EEOC on October 11, 2001. (Def.’s Br., Statement

of Undisputed Facts § 36; admitted at P|.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts § 36.) Thus, the basis for

plaintiffs claims must have occurred no earlier than

December 15, 2000.

As of December 15, 2000, plaintiff was on medical

leave from defendant, but had not been terminated as part of

the RIF. (Def.’s Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts §§ 17,

28; admitted in pertinent part at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to

Statement of Undisputed Facts 4§ 17, 28; Pl.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts 71; admitted in pertinent

part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts § 71.)

Plaintiffs termination as part of the RIF was not

discriminatory or retaliatory, in and of itself, rather it was a

result of, inter alia,. plaintiff's PIP disciplinary action. (/d.,

Statement of Undisputed Facts {| 25-26; admitted at P.’s

Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed Facts 99 25-26;

PI.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts 4 65; admitted in

pertinent part at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts,

65.) Plaintiff alleges numerous discriminatory and

retaliatory actions taken by defendant, including the PIP, all

of which occurred prior to defendant’s medical leave of

absence that began in November 2000. (Pl.’s Resp.,

Statement of Additional Facts ¥§ 12-13, 16, 26-28, 32, 40,

44, 60, 62; admitted in part, denied in part at Def.’s Reply,

Resp. to Additional Facts §{ 12-13, 16, 26-28, 32, 40, 44, 60,

62.) As plaintiff explains, “plaintiff was laid off because she

was put at the top of the layoff list which, in turn, was

because she had been placed on a corrective action plan,

which, in turn, was because she complained to human

resources about discrimination and mistreatment under the

43a

‘open door’ policy.” (/d., Statement of Additional Facts 4 68;

denied at Def.’s Reply, Resp. to Additional Facts { 68.) The

facts, taken in a light most favorable to plaintiff, show that

plaintiff suffered (1) discriminatory acts up through

November 2000, and (2) an act in retaliation for protected

opposition in the form of the PIP on November 14, 2000.

Once defendant placed plaintiff on the PIP, the PIP

automatically resulted in her termination seven months later.

(Def.’s Br., Statement of Undisputed Facts {] 25-26;

admitted at P\.’s Resp., Resp. to Statement of Undisputed

Facts 49 25-26; Pl.’s Resp., Statement of Additional Facts {J

65-68; admitted in part, denied in part at Def.’s Reply, Resp.

to Additional Facts {§ 65-68.) The question, therefore, is

whether plaintiffs selection for the RIF within the

limitations period can bring in her claims for discriminatory

and retaliatory acts, all of which occurred outside of the

limitations period.

This question, at first glance, presents a Catch-22 for

plaintiff. One line of cases, as set forth in plaintiffs

supplemental authority, finds that an ecmployer’s written

warnings to an employee do not constitute an adverse

employment action. (Pl.’s Supplement at 1-2 [citing

Rennard v. Woodworker’s Supply, Inc., No. 03-8031, 2004

WL 1260309, at *10 (10th Cir. June 9, 2004) (unpublished);

Taylor Small, 350 F.3d 1286, 1293 (D.C. Cir. 2003)].)

Accordingly, under these cases plaintiff did not have the

basis, as of the time that she was placed on the PIP, to file an

EEOC complaint.

However, in a different set of cases, courts have

concluded that each act of discrimination must fall within the

300 day period prior to the employee’s EEOC filing or be

barred by the statute of limitations. This circuit used to

follow a rule permitting suit on “claims of discrimination

alleging incidenis [} occurr[ing] outside the time limitations

44a

. . if the various acts constitute[d] a continuing pattern of

discrimination.” Croy, 345 F.3d at 1202. This rule was

modified by the United States Supreme Court in National

Railroad Passenger Corp. v. Morgan. Id. (citing Nat'l R.R.

Passenger Corp. v. Morgan, 536 U.S. 101, 122 S.Ct. 2061

(2002]).* Morgan held, with regards to Title VII claims of

discrimination, that “since discrete acts [of discrimination]

are easily identifiable and individually actionable, acts that

occur[] outside of the limitations period, even though related

to those occurring within the period, are not actionable.” /d.

Morgan’s reasoning applies with equal force to ADA and

ADEA cases. Davidson v. Am. Online, Inc., 337 F.3d 1179,

1184 (10th Cir. 2003) (holding that Morgan applis to ADA

cases); Sharpe v. Cureton, 319 F.3d 259, 268 n. » (6th Cir.

2003) (holding that Morgan applies to ADEA cases). The

“proper focus is upon the time of the discriminatory acts, not

upon the time at which the consequences of the acts became

most painful.” Del. State Coll. v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 258,

101 S.Ct. 498, 504 (1980) (emphasis removed) (quoting

Abramson v. Univ. of Haw., 594 F.2d 202, 209 [9th Cir.

1979]). Moreover, “[a]n employer’s refusal to undo a

discriminatory decision is not a fresh act of discrimination.”

Croy, 345 F.3d at 1203 (alteration in original) (quoting Lever

v. Northwestern Univ., 979 F.2d 552, 556 [7th Cir. 1992]}).

Here, assuming that the first line of cases is correct, then

plaintiff finds herself in the Catch-22, for her placement on

the PIP is not an adverse employment action sufficient to set

forth a complaint with the EEOC, but it is a discriminatory

act that begins the clock running on her requirement to file

* Defendant cites to Martin v. Nannie and the Newborns,

Inc. in its footnote regarding the continuing pattern of

discrimination rule. (Def.’s Br. at 10 n. | [citing Martin v. Nannie

and the Newborns, Inc., 3 F.3d 1410 (10th Cir. 1993)].) Martin

was abrogated by Morgan.

45a

with the EEOC.

Fortunately, I do not need to resolve this conflict.

Although plaintiff notes several non-binding authorities that

state that written warnings do not constitute an adverse

employment action, the only binding authorities to address

this issue have reached the opposite conclusion. See Hysten

v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 296 F.3d 1177, 1183

(10th Cir. 2002) (holding that a written reprimand can

constitute an adverse employment action); Roberts vy.

Roadway Exp., Inc., 149 F.3d 1098, 1104 (10th Cir. 1998)

(holding that employer’s written warnings to an employee,

which make it more likely that the employee will be

terminated for further infractions, constitutes an adverse

employment action); see also Woolery v. Brady, 741 F.

Supp. 667, 669 (E.D. Mich. 1990) (“the obligation to

challenge a performance appraisal that is allegedly

discriminatory arises at the time that the evaluation is issued

to the employee, and a discrimination complaint is untimely

if the allegation is later raised outside the limitations period

upon the evaluation’s use in a promotion proceeding”); but

see Rennard, 2004 WL 1260309, at *10 (holding that written

reprimands without “any immediate or practical effect” on

plaintiff's job do not constitute an adverse employment

action); Zaylor, 350 F.3d at 1293 (defendant’s placement of

plaintiff on a PIP that did not affect plaintiff's grade or salary

was not an adverse employment action). Therefore, plaintiff

could have filed a charge of discrimination immediately after

being placed on the PIP because a written warning in the

Tenth Circuit constitutes an adverse employment action.

Plaintiff did not file with the EEOC within 300 days of the

alleged discriminatory actions, and plaintiff therefore did not

timely file her complaints of discrimination and retaliation

with the EEOC. Because of her untimely filing, her ADA,

ADEA, and Title VII claims are barred.

46a

4. Plaintiff's Contract and Promissory Estoppel Claim

Plaintiffs fourth claim for relief is for breach of

contract and promissory estoppel premised upon state law.

(Am. Compl. {J 4, 44.) This court has jurisdiction over the

ADA, ADEA, and Title VII claims under 28 U.S.C.A.

§ 1331, federal question jurisdiction. Plaintiff does not

assert diversity jurisdiction as a basis for her fourth claim for

relief. The record before this court does not reveal whether

the parties are diverse, or if the amount in controversy is

greater than $75,000. My only jurisdiction over plaintiff's

state law claim, therefore, is supplemental jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1367(a) (West 1993 & Supp.

2003).

Since the three claims under federal law have been

dismissed, and these claims provided the sole basis for this

court’s original jurisdiction, I decline to exercise

supplemental jurisdiction over plaintiff's fourth claim and

dismiss it without prejudice to refiling in state court. 28

U.S.C.A. § 1367(c)(3) (“[t]he district courts may decline to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over'a claim... if... the

district court has dismissed all claims over which it has

original jurisdiction”); United Mine Workers of Am. V.

Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 726, 86 S.Ct. 1130, 1139 (U.S. 1966)

(“if the federal claims are dismissed before trial . . . the state

claims should be dismissed as well’’).

5. Conclusions

Based on the foregoing it is therefore

ORDERED as follows:

1. Defendant's Uncontested Motion to Submit

47a

Supplemental Declarations in Support of Reply Brief (# 49)

is GRANTED.

2. Defendant’s motion for summary judgment (# 36)

is GRANTED.

3. The clerk shall forthwith enter final judgment in

favor of defendants and against plaintiff, dismissing all of

plaintiff's federal claims with prejudice and dismissing the

state law claim without prejudice, for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction. Defendants may recover their costs by filing a

bill of costs within eleven days of today’s date.

Dated this 27 day of July, 2004.

BY THE COURT:

EDWARD W. NOTTINGHAM

United States District Judge

EOD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DENVER, COLORADO

JUL 27 2004

GREGORY C. LANGHAM

CLERK

48a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Judge Edward W. Nottingham

Civil Action No.

02-N-1694

LINDA HAYNES, FILED

United States District Court

Plaintiff, Denver, Colorado

July 29, 2004

V. Gregory C. Langham

Clerk

LEVEL 3

COMMUNICATIONS,

BF 6d

Defendant.

FINAL JUDGMENT

In accordance with orders filed during the pendency

of this case, and pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 58(a)(1), the

following FINAL JUDGMENT is hereby entered.

1. Pursuant to the written Order and

Memorandum of Decision filed by Judge Edward W.

Nottingham on July 27, 2004:

a. Defendant’s motion for summary

49a

judgment (#36) is GRANTED.

b. Judgment is entered in favor of

defendant Level 3 Communications,

LLC and against plaintiff Linda

Haynes; all of plaintiffs federal

claims are dismissed with prejudice

and plaintiffs state law claim is

dismissed without prejudice for lack

of subject matter jurisdiction.

pA Defendant may recover its costs by filing a

bill of costs within eleven days of the date of the filing of the

court’s Order and Memorandum of Decision.

Dated this 29 day of July, 2004.

50a

Final Judgment

Civil Action No. 02—N—1694 (MJW)

Page 2

APPROVED BY ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

THE COURT: GREGORY C,. LANGHAM, CLERK

EDWARD W. NOTTINGHAM By Stephen P. Ehrlich

United States District Judge Chief Deputy Clerk

EOD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DENVER, COLORADO

JUL 29 2004

GREGORY C. LANGHAM

CLERK

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.