Opposition Brief — Philip Morris USA, Inc. v. Minnesota (Nos. 06-633, 06-805)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2

No. 06-633 12/7 / 06

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

e

PHILIP MORRIS USA. INC., ET AL...

Petitioners.

STATE OF MINNESOTA,

Respondent.

|

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Minnesota Supreme Court

a

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

_ +

Mikk Haren

Minnesota Attorney General

BRADFORD S. DELAPENA

Assistant Attorney General

RIDA COYLE DEMEL LES

(Counsel of Record)

Assistant Attorney General

115 Minnesota Street. Suite GOO

St. Paul. MN 55101-2127

(HOLL) 296-0692

AMfforneyvs for Respondent

QUESTION PRESENTED

In 1994, the State of Minnesota brought state common

law and statutory claims against Petitioners in Minnesota

state court. On May 8, 1998, the State and Petitioners

entered into a Settlement Agreement, which contained

mutual release-of-claims provisions. Seven years later, the

Minnesota Legislature enacted legislation that imposed a

fee on all cigarettes. Petitioners invoked the continuing

jurisdiction of the state court over the Settlement Agree-

ment and brought a motion to enforce that Agreement.

Petitioners argued that the Legislature’s fee was a “re-

leased claim” under the Settlement Agreement and conse-

quently could not be enforced against them or their

products without breaching the Agreement and/or violat-

ing the Contract Clauses of the United States and Minne-

sota Constitutions. The State asserted that the fee was a

valid legislative exaction not prohibited by the Settlement

Agreement. Thus, the threshold issue before the state

court was interpretation of the Settlement Agreement. The

Minnesota Supreme Court interpreted the contract under

state law, including the state-law doctrine of unmistak-

ability, and held that it did not surrender the State’s

sovereign legislative powers in language “too clear to

admit of doubt.” Based on that construction, the court

summarily rejected Petitioners’ state Contract Clause

argument, and did not mention the analogous federal

clause. Assuming, however, that the state court resolved

Petitioners’ federal Contract Clause challenge, the ques-

tion presented is whether the Minnesota Supreme Court

properly applied the doctrine of unmistakability in har-

mony with the protecticns afforded by the federal Contract

Clause.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

LION PIRGCOEIN TED.....0.cccccscccscccccccccccosscssocceees i

ge.) ii

cy Ae Gye 0 lay |) Fe ili

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CER-

SEIT OO 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ....................::0008 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................cccsesecesceseeeees 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ............ 5

I,

II.

III.

Adequate And Independent State Grounds

Support The Minnesota Supreme Court’s De-

cision. The Petition Therefore Fails To In-

voke This Court’s Jurisdiction.....................6

The Minnesota Supreme Court’s Decision

Does Not Conflict With This Court’s Contract

RE UMIIENOD cccsccvccevesccescevensesseecsevenes

A. The Federal Unmistakability Doctrine Is

Part Of This Court’s Contract Clause

a nc ses scesewnntonsoncentees

B. The Minnesota Supreme Court’s Decision

Is Correct And Is In Harmony With This

Court’s Contract Clause Jurisprudence...

This Court Should Decline Review Because

The Present Case Does Not Provide A Vehicle

For Resolving Any Confusion That May Exist

Among The Lower Courts Concerning Appli-

cation Of The Unmistakability Doctrine And

The Meaning Of Winstar

ede laccedehncwsasdeousaccavesencensectesees

13

14

15

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S.

234 (1978).........4. seeihtiweenielisiaeieedastiendleabtedibaiiieiasdaaidaiaaadida 14

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991)............eeeee 7,10

Delaware v. Frouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) .........cccccccseeeeeeees 10

Enter. Irrigation Dist. v. Farmers’ Mut. Canal Co.,

Ee Ss SIS CT Besvcuvsicnensndcniibtidaiiabeninapginitcctdegisis cum 10

Fox Film Corp. v. Muller, 296 U.S. 207 (1935).......... 8, 9, 10

Gen. Dynamics Corp. v. United States, 47 Fed. Cl.

i Gri incccininsccinnerviceidictslcctdesisesisabisiieniiinianipaitiestiiatiieiiahiniins 29

Gen. Motors Corp. v. Romein, 503 U.S. 181 (1992)........... 11

Herd v. Pitcairn, BB4. UB. 107 (1DEB) .cccecevesecsessevsvccvecessevees 7

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 514

res Cr GE ccciucihesisiniceciniosssncsiesaiahacandiidethncinssiiaetdmmabibaiddiaicdacitiacanal 7

Memphis Natural Gas Co. v. Beeler, 315 U.S. 649

iii cisicsncdeneiinimnndiaa ticaicuiaseabedeassanidigamantamanlnmetaiamatdans 7,8

Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 453 U.S. 130

Ce cawihnisiiviisiiaitstiniatcnntnineniniiniinendenlinsapiediaiiaseial passim

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983)........ eee 11,12

Mun. Investors Ass’n v. City of Birmingham, 316

CFs Ue CU a cicennesionnsssthideithiicicienndaetnacTbaiapeicimmenanbibammniennstell 11

Murray v. Charleston, 96 U.S. 432 (1877)....... 16, 22, 23, 24

St. Louis v. United R. Co., 210 U.S. 266 (1908)................ 21

State of Indiana ex rel. Anderson v. Brand, 303 U.S.

Ce aiciclensssiseicsineieciibaceciiaeletihidniscncianhadsaibicatnleniddicitinnlidiveiisisn 11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

State v. Great Northern Railway Co., 119 N.W. 202

(Minn. 1908), aff’d, Great Northern Railway Co.

RRs, BIG UE; BOG CI wccecccccctnirnscsvthicecmmenons passim

Tamarind Resort Assocs. v. Gov't of the Virgin

Islands, 138 F.3d 107 (3d Cir. 1998)............ 26, 27, 28, 29

United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1

SEs ie icdcssinacstedicianerseaed diene chile datdbseinaacana atiptaemecied ae 16

United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839 (1996).... passim

Volt Info. Servs., Inc. v. Bd. of Tr. of Leland Stanford

Junior University, 489 U.S. 468 (1989) 200.0... eeeeeeeeee 7

Yankee Atomic Elec. Co. v. United States, 112 F.3d

1569 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 951

Sea aisctchchcsesninnsisiniiissiesiiaubeinisstiasatiaidacadailisabansiiasihetelaii 27, 29

STATUTES

ees UD scsccsicitediceicdnencahisnionsinailbchatadaalacines 1, 5, 7, 10

Act of July 14, 2005, ch. 4, art. 4, §§ 1-6, 2005

Minn. Laws (1st Sp. Sess.) 2541-44... eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 3

iy i Oe Se tinrrtidsetiinxesecccnsenccenniecnimdantipnanedinedacens 3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Rei aig HNN ac 0 Uo nesinececsdcubacdesicotineeianeeatententdeneenas 6, 14

pS | ERR eee ee I SE ES 6

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondent State of Minnesota respectfully requests

that the Court deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari

seeking review of the Minnesota Supreme Court’s opinion

and judgment in this case. The Minnesota Supreme

Court’s opinion is published at 713 N.W.2d 350 (Minn.

2006), and is reproduced in Petitioners’ Appendix (“Pet.

App.”) at Pet. App. la-27a. The trial court’s Order on

Petitioners’ Motion for Enforcement of the Settlement

Agreement, which is unpublished, is reproduced at Pet.

App. 28a-38a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioners incorrectly invoke this Court’s jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). The Minnesota Supreme Court

neither addressed nor resolved any federal question.

Instead, the state court applied state law to summarily

reject Petitioners’ state contract clause challenge. Thus, an

adequate and independent state ground supports the

court’s decision and precludes jurisdiction in this Court.

See infra at 6-13.

& piney

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The State, through its attorney general, brought suit

against Petitioners and others in 1994, asserting state

common law and statutory claims in connection with Peti-

tioners’ marketing and distribution of cigarettes. Pet. App.

3a, 50a, 97a. In May 1998, after a lengthy trial but before the

jury returned a verdict, the State and Petitioners entered

into a Settlement Agreement to resolve the State’s legal

claims. Pet. App. 96a. Among other benefits, that Agree-

ment resolved “all claims” between the State and Petition-

ers. Pet. App. 107a. The term “claims” was defined as

follows:

(T]he State of Minnesota shall release and for-

ever discharge [Petitioners] ... from any and all

manner of civil claims, demands, actions, suits

and causes of action, damages whenever in-

curred, liabilities of any nature whatsoever, in-

cluding civil penalties, as well as costs, expenses

and attorneys’ fees, known or unknown, sus-

pected or unsuspected, accrued or unaccrued,

whether legal, equitable or statutory (“Claims”)

that the State of Minnesota (including any of its

past, present or future administrators, represen-

tatives, employees, officers, attorneys, agents,

representatives, officials acting in their official

capacities, agencies, departments, commissions,

and divisions, and whether or not any such per-

son or entity participates in the settlement),

whether directly, indirectly, representatively, de-

rivatively or in any other capacity, ever had, now

has or hereafter can, shall or may have, as fol-

lows:

for past conduct, as to any Claims relating

to the subject matter of this action... ; and

for future conduct, only as to monetary

Claims directly or indirectly based on, aris-

ing out of or in any way related to, in whole

or in part, the use of or exposure to Tobacco

Products manufactured in the ordinary

course of business, including without limita-

tion any future claims for reimbursement for

3

health care costs allegedly associated with

use of or exposure to Tobacco Products.

Pet. App. 107a-08a (emphasis added).

Seven years later, on July 14, 2005, Minnesota’s

governor signed into law a Tobacco Health Impact Fee

elrective August 1, 2005. See Act of July 14, 2005, ch. 4,

art. 4. §§ 1-6, 2005 Minn. Laws (lst Sp. Sess.) 2541-44

(codified at Minn. Stat. § 256.9658) (“the HIF Act”). Pet.

App. 43a-44a. The HIF Act imposes a 75-cent per-pack fee

on cigarettes. Pet. App. 43a. Minnesota law requires this

fee to be passed on to the consumer. Pet. App. 9a. In

enacting the HIF Act, the legislature stated that the

purpose of the fee was to “recover for the state health costs

related to or caused by tobacco use and to reduce tobacco

use, particularly by youths.” Pet. App. 43a.

On August 26, 2005, Petitioners moved to enforce the

Settlement Agreement in the Minnesota state district

court that retained jurisdiction over that Agreement. Pet.

App. 89a, 98a. Petitioners argued that, because the Set-

tlement Agreement released them (and their distributors)

from any and all “claims” to recover state healthcare costs

attributable to tobacco use, enforcement of the HIF

breached the Agreement and violated the Contract

Clauses of the United States and Minnesota Constitutions.

Pet. App. 9la-92a. The State opposed the Motion arguing

that, properly construed, the Agreement does not bar

collection of the HIF. Respondent’s Appendix (“Resp. App.”)

46a. The state district court found-the HIF Act barred by

the Settlement Agreement and granted Petitioners’ Mo-

tion. Pet. App. 29a-30a.

The State petitioned for review in the Minnesota

Supreme Court, arguing that the Settlement Agreement

4

released only adjudicatory claims and did not prohibit

future legislation. Resp. App. 49a-50a. Any other construc-

tion, the state argued, would limit the state’s sovereign

powers and, under state law, such a waiver would have to

be set forth in terms “too clear to admit of doubt.” Resp.

App. 49a. Once the Agreement was properly construed

under state law, the State argued, there was no violation

of the Settlement Agreement and no impairment under

the Contract Clause. Resp. App. lla-12a, 20a-22a, 50a-

51a.

In an Order dated May 16, 2006, the Minnesota

Supreme Court first found that Petitioners do not bear the

economic burden of the HIF Act, even though one of the

express purposes of the Act is recover healthcare costs of

the State. Pet. App. 8a-9a. Next, the court recognized that

construing the release language with the breadth Peti-

tioners urged would work a surrender of sovereign power.

Thus, the court concluded that the state law doctrine of

unmistakability announced in State v. Great Northern

Railway Co., 119 N.W. 202 (Minn. 1908), aff’d, Great

Northern Railway Co. v. State, 216 U.S. 206 (1910) ap-

plied. Pet. App. 14a, 21a. Concluding that the Agreement

did not surrender the State’s sovereign power in terms “too

clear to admit of doubt,” the Minnesota court summarily

rejected Petitioners’ state Contract Clause challenge. Pet.

App. 24a-25a. No other constitutional challenge, state or

federal, was considered or resolved in the Minnesota

Supreme Court’s decision.

5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The Petition does not present a proper occasion for

this Court to assert jurisdiction. The Minnesota Supreme

Court applied state law doctrines of contract construction

to determine that the Agreement did not preclude the

state from imposing the fee on Petitioners’ products. The

court rejected Petitioners’ broad reading of the Agreement

and then summarily rejected their state constitutional

challenge. The court neither addressed nor resolved a

federal question. Thus, the jurisdiction that Petitioners

invoke under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) does not exist.

Second, the Minnesota Supreme Court correctly

recognized that the unmistakability doctrine — state and

federal — protects state regulatory powers from undue

restriction by the Contract Clauses. Thus, even if the court

had applied the federal doctrine, it would have done so

correctly and in a manner that preserves the protections of

the federal Contract Clause.

Third, Petitioners inaccurately portray the lower

courts’ application of the principles drawn from the plural-

ity opinions in United States v. Winstar. As have two

federal circuit courts, the Minnesota Supreme Court

correctly recognized that on factual situations such as

those presented here, the doctrine is properly applied to

proprietary contracts. Any uncertainty that Petitioners

perceive concerning application of the unmistakability

doctrine stems from issues that are not presented by this

case; thus, any clarification urged by Petitioners would be

purely advisory as it would not apply to the facts pre-

sented.

6

I. ADEQUATE AND INDEPENDENT STATE

GROUNDS SUPPORT THE MINNESOTA SU-

PREME COURT’S DECISION. THE PETITION

THEREFORE FAILS TO INVOKE THIS COURT’S

JURISDICTION.

The Minnesota Supreme Court construed a settlement

agreement governed by Minnesota state law that was

executed to resolve Minnesota state law claims brought in

Minnesota state court. See Pet. App. 96a-97a, 119a. Once it

did so, the court summarily rejected Petitioners’ argument

that the HIF Act violated “the Contract Clause of the

Minnesota Constitution, Minn. Const. art. I, § 11.” Pet.

App. 24a." In rendering its decision, the Minnesota Su-

preme Court applied state law rules of contract construc-

tion including the rule of construction from State v. Great

Northern Railway, 119 N.W. 202 (Minn. 1908), the federal

analogue of which was explicated by this Court in United

States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839 (1996), to reject

Petitioners’ interpretation of the Agreement. See Pet. App.

2la (noting that language of Settlement Agreement did

not meet the state law rule of Great Northern Railway). In

short, the Minnesota Supreme Court addressed and

resolved a state law question by applying state law, even

though it also discussed an analogous federal decision.

Because the Minnesota Supreme Court did not address or

decide any federal question, this Court does not have

jurisdiction.

* Petitioners also challenged the HIF Act under Article I, § 10,

clause 1 of the United States Constitution. See Pet. App. 92a. As

explained infra, however, the Minnesota Supreme Court specifically

and plainly addressed only the Minnesota Constitution’s prohibition

against contract impairment. Petitioners raised no other federal

challenges.

Section 1257 constrains this Court’s review of the final

judgment of a state court. See 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). It is

axiomatic that this Court will not review a state court

decision unless a federal question has been raised and

decided by that court. See Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S.

722, 729 (1991) (“This Court will not review a question of

federal law decided by a state court if the decision of that

court rests on a state law ground that is independent of

the federal question and adequate to support the judg-

ment.”); Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125 (1945) (“This

Court from the time of its foundation has adhered to the

principle that it will not review judgments of state courts

that rest on adequate and independent state grounds.”).

The reason for this rule is “so obvious that it has rarely

been thought to warrant statement.” Herb, 324 U.S. at

125. “Because this Court has no power to review a state

law determination that is sufficient to support the judg-

ment, resolution of any independent federal ground for the

decision could not affect the judgment and would therefore

be advisory.” Coleman, 501 U.S. at 729; see also Herb, 324

U.S. at 126 (noting that this Court’s jurisdiction is limited

to correcting state court judgments that “incorrectly

adjudge federal rights”).

The longstanding restraint on this Court’s jurisdiction

over state court judgments bars granting this Petition.

The Settlement Agreement is governed by, and was con-

strued under, Minnesota law. See Pet. App. 119a. The

“interpretation of private contracts is ordinarily a question

of state law, which this Court does not sit to review.”

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 514 U.S.

52, 60, n.4 (1995) (quoting Volt Info. Servs., Inc. v. Bd. of

Tr. of Leland Stanford Junior University, 489 U.S. 468,

474 (1989)); see also Memphis Natural Gas Co. v. Beeler,

8

315 U.S. 649, 654 (1942) (noting that “meaning and effect

of contract” are “local questions” which this Court does not

review). Here, the Minnesota Supreme Court applied

state law, first to construe the HIF Act, see Pet. App. 8a-9a;

and then to construe the Settlement Agreement language.

See Pet. App. 21a (noting commonality of language used in

release provision); id. at 22a-23a (construing language in

light of Minnesota’s cigarette pricing scheme).’

The construction the Minnesota Supreme Court

reached obviated the need to reach Petitioners’ state or

federal Contract Clause arguments. See Fox Film Corp. v.

Muller, 296 U.S. 207 (1935). In Fox Film, the Minnesota

Supreme Court construed contracts that admittedly

violated federal antitrust laws to determine whether the

illegal clause could be severed from those contracts. Jd. at

208-09. After the court rejected severance, thus invalidat-

ing the contracts, the plaintiff petitioned this Court,

asserting that the federal antitrust question was decided

as part of the contract construction. Jd. at 209. This Court

disagreed:

* While the decision in Memphis Natural Gas suggested that a

state court’s decision on state law could be reviewed if that law was

used to evade federal law, 315 U.S. at 654, Petitioners do not allege, nor

could they, that the Minnesota Supreme Court addressed the state

constitutional] claim only as a means to evade the federal constitutional

claim.

* Petitioners thus have no basis for their blithe assertion that, “If

the unmistakability doctrine had not been applied below, the [HIF Act)

indisputably would have been found to impair the settlement agree-

ment.” Pet. at 15. In addition to plain meaning construction, the State

and amicus provided the Court with several alternative state law

grounds on which Petitioners’ arguments to avoid the HIF could be

rejected. See Resp. App. 24a-25a, 68a-85a, 106a-115a.

9

The construction put upon the contracts did not

constitute a preliminary step which simply had

the effect of bringing forward for determination

the federal question, but was a decision which

automatically took the federal question out of the

case if otherwise it would be there. The nonfed-

eral question in respect of the construction of the

contracts and the federal question in respect of

their validity under the Anti-Trust Act were

clearly independent of one another. The case, in

effect, was disposed of before the federal question

said to be involved was reached. A decision of

that question then became unnecessary; and

whether it was decided or not, our want of juris-

diction is clear.

Id. at 211 (citations omitted).

Here, the Minnesota court’s “nonfederal” contract

construction established that the terms of the Agreement

were not implicated by the HIF Act. This construction

allowed the court to summarily reject Petitioners’ state

constitutional challenge without analysis. See Pet. App.

24a-25a (“Because we construe the settlement agreement

not to waive the legislature’s authority to enact future

legislative revenue measures to recover health care costs,

the enactment of the [HIF] did not impair that agreement

and therefore did not violate the [Minnesota] Coniract

Clause.”). The court’s construction likewise obviated any

need to address Petitioners’ federal Contract Clause

argument. Consequently, the federal constitutional chal-

lenge asserted in the trial court — which was neither

addressed nor resolved by the Minnesota Supreme Court —

was “automatically . . . out of the case if otherwise it would

10

be there” based on the nonfederal contract construction.

Fox Film Corp., 296 U.S. at 211."

For this reason, Petitioners’ assertion that the Minne-

sota Supreme Court reviewed a federal question simply

because Petitioners asserted it is wrong. See Pet. at 8, n.2

citing Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979). In Dela-

ware, the state court began with the federal constitutional

claim, “analyzed the various decisions interpreting the

Federal constitution, concluded that the Fourth Amend-

ment [was infringed], and summarily held that the State

Constitution was therefore also infringed.” Jd. at 652-53.

The lower court’s decision thus “depended upon [its] view

of the reach of the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments.”

Id. at 653.

Review in this Court was therefore proper. Accepting

jurisdiction in this case merely because Petitioners as-

serted a federal claim, in contrast, would disregard the

limitations of Section 1257 and undermine the adequate

and independent state grounds rule. Indeed, the Court has

already rejected this unrestricted view of federal question

jurisdiction. See Enter. Irrigation Dist. v. Farmers’ Mut.

Canal Co., 243 U.S. 157, 165 (1917) (dismissing for “want

of jurisdiction” even though federal constitutional chal-

lenges were part of case, where state law issues were

addressed separately and this Court was “not at liberty to

inquire whether the ruling is right or wrong”).

* The state and federal contracts clauses are interpreted similarly.

See Pet. at 8, n.2. Thus, the Minnesota court’s decision would not

change even if the federal claim was treated similarly, i.e., summarily

rejected. See Coleman, 501 U.S. at 729 (noting that independent federal

ground “that could not affect the judgment” does not support jurisdic-

tion).

11

Likewise, this Court has no need to determine the

contract terms to which the federal Contract Clause might

apply. This Court assumes jurisdiction to decide the

existence and terms of a contract only when a state court

addresses and resolves a federal Contract Clause claim.

See Gen. Motors Corp. v. Romein, 503 U.S. 181, 187 (1992)

(noting that existence of contract is a federal question for

purposes of contract impairment claim asserted under

federal constitution); Mun. Investors Ass’n v. City of

Birmingham, 316 U.S. 153, 157 (1942) (noting this Court’s

obligation “to determine for itself the basic assumptions

upon which interpretations of the Federal Constitution

rest”); State of Indiana ex rel. Anderson v. Brand, 303 U.S.

95, 98-99 (1938) (lower court admitted that constitutional

claim was_based on federal constitution, thus supporting

Court’s jurisdiction to determine the terms of the con-

tract). Since the Minnesota court summarily rejected only

a state constitutional challenge, an adequate and inde-

pendent state ground precludes this Court’s jurisdiction.

The Minnesota Supreme Court’s state law resolution

is also adequate and independent notwithstanding that

court’s discussion of United States v. Winstar Corp., 518

U.S. 839 (1996). The Minnesota Supreme Court relied on

Winstar “as it would on the precedents of all other jurisdic-

tions|.]” Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1040 (1983). It

decided the contract construction issue, however, exclu-

sively by reference to state doctrine: “We cannot say that

the language of the settlement agreement effects such a

waiver of the state’s sovereign powers in language ‘too

clear to admit of doubt.’” Pet. App. 21a (quoting Great N.

12

Ry. Co., 119 N.W. at 205).° Thus, even if this Court were to

conclude, as Petitioners urge, that Winstar’s plurality

opinions should be clarified, such an effort would be purely

advisory as it would have no effect below. The Minnesota

Supreme Court could reach the same decision by once

again construing the contract under the state law unmis-

takability doctrine from Great Northern Railway.

Finally, there is an additional reason to decline

review. The State argued below that because the Agree-

ment resolved only common law and statutory claims the

State had asserted in its proprietary capacity, the Agree-

ment’s boilerplate release-of-claims provision was simply a

conventional promise not to sue, and could not reasonably

be construed as a surrender of sovereign power. See Resp.

App. 52a-58a. The state court adopted this reasoning in

part. See Pet. App. 19a (“we cannot help but note that the

phrase ‘liabilities of any nature whatsoever’ (or similar

language) is commonly used in general release forms in

disputes having nothing to do with any sovereign power.”).

Although this construction of the Agreement would have

been sufficient to resolve the case, the state court applied

the Minnesota unmistakability doctrine in an abundance

of caution, determining that even if the release provision

were somehow ambiguous, it could not surrender sover-

eign power. See Pet. App. 2la. The concurring Justice,

however, found no need to apply the doctrine:

* The absence of a statement disclaiming any federal basis for the

state court’s decision, see Long, 463 U.S. at 1040, does not require this

Court to assume jurisdiction. The federal constitution was not men-

tioned in the decision below. In Long, in contrast, the state court “relied

exclusively on its understanding” of federal law and “not a single state

case was cited.” Jd. at 1043.

13

I read the settlement agreement and its release

of “claims” to unambiguously cover no more than

the claims the state brought or could have

brought against [Petitioners] in the 1994 tobacco

litigation or could bring in future litigation. Im-

position of the Health Impact Fee does not create

such a “claim.” Therefore, I would hold that un-

der the unambiguous language of the settlement

agreement, imposition of the Health Impact Fee

did not violate the settlement agreement.

Pet. App. 27a (footnote omitted) (Page, J., specially concur-

ring). If this Court agreed with this reasoning, it would

have no occasion to apply the unmistakability doctrine,

federal or otherwise, and thus could not clarify federal law.

Cf. Winstar, 518 U.S. at 880, n.24 (1996) (noting that

doctrine may not be applicable where “normal rules of

construction” may dispose of proposed construction).

Because the Petition presents no federal question, it

should be dismissed.

Il, THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT'S DECI-

SION DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH THIS

COURT’S CONTRACT CLAUSE JURISPRU-

DENCE.

Petitioners claim that by applying the unmistakability

doctrine, the Minnesota Supreme Court deviated from this

Court’s Contract Clause jurisprudence. This is plainly

incorrect. The unmistakability doctrine developed as a

part of this Court’s Contract Clause jurisprudence, and in

no way vitiates the protection federal law affords con-

tracts. Although the state court applied Minnesota’s

version of the doctrine, that application is fully consistent

with this Court’s application of the federal doctrine.

14

A. The Federal Unmistakability Doctrine Is

Part Of This Court’s Contract Clause Ju-

risprudence.

The Contract Clause provides that, “No State shall...

pass any ... Law impairing the Obligation of Contracts.”

U.S. Const., art. I, §10. The Cleuse limits state power

“when its exercise effects substantial modifications of

private contracts.” Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus,

438 U.S. 234, 244 (1978) (emphasis added). As relevant

here, a state may not enter a contract, then use its legisla-

tive power to substantially modify contractual obligations.

The federal unmistakability doctrine developed as a

part of this Court’s Contract Clause jurisprudence “to

protect state regulatory powers.” United States v. Winstar

Corp., 518 U.S. 839, 874 (1996) (plurality opinion). “Al-

though [the Contract] Clause made it possible for state

legislatures to bind their successors by entering into

contracts, it soon became apparent that such contracts

could become a threat to the sovereign responsibilities of

state governments.” Jd. Thus, the unmistakability doctrine

is a canon of construction that rejects “implied governmen-

tal obligations in public contracts,” id. at 874, thereby

limiting the extent to which the Contract Clause curtails

state powers.

Under this rule that all public grants are strictly

construed, we have insisted that nothing can be

taken against the State by presumption or i” /er-

ence, and that neither the right of taxation, nor

any other power of sovereignty, will be held... to

have been surrendered, unless such surrender

has been expressed in terms too plain to be mis-

taken.

15

Id. at 874-75 (ellipsis in original) (internal quotation

marks and citations omitted). Because the unmistakability

doctrine construes contracts to protect state regulatory

powers, its applicability “turns on whether enforcement of

the contractual obligation alleged would block the exercise

of a sovereign power. ...” Jd. at 879.

B. The Minnesota Supreme Court’s Decision

Is Correct And Is In Harmony With This

Court’s Contract Clause Jurisprudence.

As already noted, the Minnesota Supreme Court

applied the unmistakability doctrine as a matter of state

law rather than federal law. See supra at 6-12. But even if

the state court had applied the federal doctrine, its appli-

cation would be correct and in perfect harmony with this

Court’s Contract Clause jurisprudence.

From the start, Petitioners have alleged that the

provision of the Settlement Agreement by which the State

released all of its past, present and future “claims” (the

“State’s Release”) prevents the Minnesota Legislature from

imposing on Petitioners, and the Revenue Department

from enforcing against them, the 75-cent per-pack HIF on

Petitioners’ products.’ Attempting to avoid application of

* See, e.g., Pet. App. 10a (Petitioners “argue that the imposition of

the fee violates the settlement agreement”); id. at 12a (Petitioners

assert the HIF “cannot be enforced against them, or, apparently, their

products”); id. at 18a (Petitioners “argue that the consequence of the

promise made by the state is that the exercise of sovereign power by the

legislature is unenforceable as to them and their products”); id. (“the

very relief [Petitioners] seek requires the state either to exempt

[Petitioners] from the exercise of the state’s sovereign powers to tax and

to regulate, or to surrender those powers with respect to the cigarette

industry altogether”).

16

the unmistakability doctrine, Petitioners asserted —

without authority — that the doctrine does not apply to

contracts a state enters in its proprietary capacity, such as

the Settlement Agreement. The state court rejected this

argument. See Pet. App. 16a, n.5. In line with this Court’s

cases, the state court properly held that application of the

doctrine instead turns on the nature of the government’s

obligations “and the consequences of enforcing them.” Jd.

Accordingly, the state court concluded that “to construe

the settlement agreement as [Petitioners] urge, that is, to

waive the legislature’s authority to enact revenue meas-

ures to recover tobacco-related health care costs, would be

a surrender of the legislature’s sovereign power.” Pet. App.

14a. The court correctly determined that Petitioners’

allegations implicated the doctrine. See Pet. App. 14a, 20a.

" Petitioners’ assertion that the unmistakability doctrine does not

apply to contracts a state enters in its proprietary capacity is plainly

incorrect, and is unsupported by any of the authorities Petitioners cite.

See Pet. at 11-15 & nn.4-5. First, this Court has applied the doctrine to

proprietary contracts. See infra at 19-21 (discussing Merrion v. Jicarilla

Apache Tribe, 453 U.S. 130 (1982)). Second, the two cases Petitioners

discuss at length, Murray v. Charleston, 96 U.S. 432 (1877) and United

States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1 (1977) show only that some

Contract Clause cases involving proprietary contracts do not require

application of the unmistakability doctrine (because the plaintiff does

not allege that the disputed contract surrenders sovereign power, but

only that legislative power was used to modify a contractual obligation).

See 96 U.S. at 444-45; 431 U.S. at 23-24. These cases neither hold nor

suggest that the doctrine does not apply to proprietary contracts.

Finally, Petitioners’ assertion is not supported by cases stating the

general rule that government contracts are interpreted and construed

like private contracts. See Pet. at 14. The unmistakability doctrine is an

exception to the general rule, and applies whenever enforcement of a

government obligation would impair a state’s sovereign power. See

Winstar, 518 U.S. at 879; id. at 920-21 (Scalia, J., concurring in the

judgment).

17

The state court correctly applied the doctrine. The

court recognized that it must “examine the language of the

[State’s Release] to determine not just whether it supports

a waiver of the legislature’s power to enact future revenue

measures expressly intended to address the costs of

tobacco-related health care, but whether it does so in

unmistakable terms.” Pet. App. 20a. The court stated that

in doing so, it was

guided by the principles of construction stated in

Great Northern Railway and Winstar. We are not

to draw inferences from indefinite language or

make presumptions from uncertain language.

Great N. Ry. Co., 106 Minn. at 322, 119 N.W. at

205; Winstar, 518 U.S. at 874, 116 S.Ct. 2432.

Rather, the settlement agreement is to be strictly

construed, and any waiver of sovereign power

must be “in language and terms too clear to ad-

mit of doubt.” Great N. Ry. Co., 106 Minn. at 322,

119 N.W. at 205; see also Winstar, 518 U.S. at

874, 116 S.Ct. 2432.

Pet. App. 20a. These principles fully conform to Winstar.*

The state court applied the doctrine’s rule of strict

construction to the State’s Release and concluded that it

did not surrender the state’s sovereign police or taxing

powers. See Pet. App. 21a. The court set forth its reasoning

as follows:

Application of the unmistakability doctrine com-

pels the conclusion that the settlement agreement

* Moreover, the structure of the state court’s citations confirms that

the court was applying the state version of the unmistakability doctrine

set forth in Great Northern Railway, although it also drew support by

analogy from the federal version of the doctrine elaborated in Winstar.

18

cannov ve construed to waive the legislature’s

sovereign authority under the tax and police

powers to enact revenue measures, even if ear-

marked for payment of tobacco-related health

care costs. We cannot say that the language of

the settlement agreement effects such a waiver

of the state’s sovereign powers in language “too

clear to admit of doubt.” Great N. Ry. Co., 106

Minn. at 322, 119 N.W. at 205. Although the

phrase “liabilities of any nature whatsoever” is

broad, it is insufficiently specific to meet the re-

quirements of the unmistakability doctrine. The

language mentions neither the police nor the tax-

ing power. Nor does the language expressly

waive the state’s right to impose future taxes or

fees on [Petitioners] or their products, or ex-

pressly waive the state’s right to further regulate

the cigarette industry in the future.

Pet. App. 21la.° This reasoning is fully consistent with

Winstar. See 518 U.S. at 878-79.

Confronted with Petitioners’ claim that the Settlement

Agreement surrendered state sovereign powers, the state

court strictly construed relevant contract provisions and

determined that they worked no such surrender. The court

accordingly concluded that the Agreement did not “pre-

clude legislative enactment of revenue measures directed

at recovering future tobacco-related health care costs

generally or the Health Impact Fee in particular.” Pet.

App. 24a. The state court’s construction of the Agreement

obviated the need to reach or analyze Petitioners’ state or

* The full text of the State’s Release quoted in this excerpt (“liabili-

ties of any nature”) is in Petitioners’ appendix. See Pet. App. 10a; see

also supra at 2-3.

19

federal contract clause arguments. See Pet. App. 19a, n.6

(“the unmistakability doctrine serves the dual purposes of

limiting contractual incursions on a State’s sovereign

powers and of avoiding difficult constitutional questions

about the extent of State authority to limit the subsequent

exercise of legislative power. It serves both of those salu-

tary purposes here.... ”) (internal quotation marks and

citation omitted).”°

In addition to being manifestly correct, the state

court’s decision is fully consistent with this Court’s Con-

tract Clause jurisprudence. Most importantly, the state

court’s decision here does not — as Petitioners wrongly

assert — allow states to breach contracts that are found not

to surrender sovereign powers. See, e.g., Pet. at 10, 16 (so

alleging).

A brief discussion focusing on two of this Court’s cases

is sufficient to illustrate the point. In the first case, Mer-

rion v. Jicartila Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130 (1982), the

Court considered whether long-term mineral leases

between the Jicarilla Apache Tribe and non-Indian petro-

leum producers precluded the Tribe from later imposing a

severance tax on petroleum produced by the lessees. Jd. at

133. Twenty-one non-Indian petroleum producers (“les-

sees”) entered into proprietary mineral leases with the

Tribe granting them “‘the exclusive right and privilege to

"In addition to the Contract Clause challenges, the Minnesota

Supreme Court was confronted with constitutional issues involving the

separation of powers and the Minnesota Constitution’s express prohibi-

tion against contracting away the taxing power. Resp. App. 66a-69a.

The Governor, as amicus, also asserted that Petitioners’ proposed

constructions implicated state constitutional limits on the state

attorney general’s authority to contractually restrict the state’s future

exercise of sovereign powers. See Resp. App. 99a-105a.

20

drill for, mine, extract, remove, and dispose of all the oil

and natural gas deposits in or under’ the leased land.... ”

Id. at 135; see also id. at 145 (noting “the Tribe’s role as

commercial partner” in leases); id. at 146 (characterizing

the leases as “the sovereign’s commercial agreements”).

The Tribe subsequently passed an ordinance “imposing a

severance tax on oil and gas produced on tribal land.” Jd.

at 135-36. The lessees “sought to enjoin enforcement of the

tax by either the tribal authorities... .” Jd. at 136. The

federal district court permanently enjoined enforcement of

the tax, but the court of appeals reversed. Jd. This Court

affirmed.

The Court concluded that the absence of any reference

to taxation in the leases did not impair the Tribe’s taxing

authority.” The Court explained that “[clontractual ar-

rangements remain subject to subsequent legislation by

the presiding sovereign,” id. at 147 (citations omitted), and

that “sovereign power, even when unexercised, is an

enduring presence that governs all contracts subject to the

sovereign’s jurisdiction, and will remain intact unless

surrendered in unmistakable terms.” Id. at 148. The Court

emphasized that this subsisting sovereign authority is

unaffected by proprietary agreements: “Even where the

contract at issue requires payment of a royalty for a

license or franchise issued by the governmental entity, the

government’s power to tax remains unless it ‘has been

specifically surrendered in terms which admit of no other

" The Court first concluded that the Tribe’s inherent authority to

impose the severance tax was not affected by the Tribe’s status as the

lessor of mineral rights. “The mere fact that the government imposing

the tax also enjoys rents and royalties as the lessor of the mineral lands

does not undermine the government’s authority to impose the tax.” /d.

at 138.

21

reasonable interpretation.’” Jd. at 148 (quoting St. Louis v.

United R. Co., 210 U.S. 266, 280 (1908)). Applying the

unmistakability doctrine, the Court pointedly refused to

infer waiver of the Tribe’s taxing power from silence. “To

presume that a sovereign forever waives the right to exercise

one of its sovereign powers unless it expressly reserves the

right to exercise that power in a commercial agreement

turns the concept of sovereignty on its head.... ” Id. at

148.”

Merrion confirms that the Minnesota court’s decision

is consistent with this Court’s application of the unmis-

takability doctrine. See Winstar, 518 U.S. at 876-77 (dis-

cussing this Court’s cases applying the doctrine, including

Merrion). Here, as in Merrion, a government entity en-

tered into a proprietary agreement with private parties.

Like the leases in Merrion, the Settlement Agreement in

this case is silent about the state’s taxing power. As did

this Court in Merrion, the state court in this case applied

the unmistakability doctrine and refused to infer a waiver

of sovereign power from silence or ambiguity. In both

cases, the unmistakability doctrine served its intended

purposes of protecting government regulatory authority

“and of avoiding difficult constitutional questions about

” Petitioners seek this very inversion, for they suggest that a state

must — even when entering proprietary agreements — expressly reserve

the power to legislate. See Pet. at 10 (challenging state’s right to enact

legislation “that is not expressly and specifically barred by the con-

tract”). As Winstar noted, however, the dispositive question for unmis-

takability purposes is not whether the contract reserves sovereign

power; it is instead whether the contract unmistakably waives such

power. See 518 U.S. at 877-78.

22

the extent of state authority to limit the subsequent

exercise of legislative power.” Winstar, 518 U.S. at 875.”

Murray v. Charleston demonstrates the more general

proposition that a state never has the power to breach its

contracts, proprietary or otherwise. This Court held in

Murray that the Contract Clause prohibited the City of

Charleston from using legislative power to reduce the

interest rate it had previously promised to pay to holders

of municipal stock certificates. 96 U.S. 432, 444 (1877)

In Murray, the City of Charleston issued municipal

- stock certificates that provided for payment by the city of

principal plus six percent interest. Jd. at 439. The city

later passed ordinances: (a) imposing a two-percent tax on

real and personal property, and (b) ordering the city

treasurer to pay four rather than six percent interest to

stockholders, purportedly as a means of colle.ving the two-

percent tax. Jd. Plaintiff Murray brought an action under

the Contract Clause complaining “that the city has not

fully performed its contracts according to their terms, that

it has paid only four per cent interest instead of six per

cent, which it promised to pay....” Jd. at 442. The city

responded that it “possessed the power of taxation when

the contracts were made, that by the contracts the city did

not surrender this power, that, therefore, the contracts

were subject to its possible exercise, and that the city

ordinances were only an exertion of it.” Id. at 444.

" Although the original purpose of the unmistakability doctrine

was “avoidance” of Contract Clause issues, the Court has since applied

‘the doctrine to avoid addressing limitations on government authority

“jndependent of the Contract Clause.” See Winstar, 518 U.S. at 875-76.

23

The Court framed the issue as whether the ordinances

“did impair the obligation of the city’s contract with the

plaintiff.” Jd. at 443. The Court noted that “[t]he sclution

of this question depends upon a correct understanding of

what that obligation was.” Jd. The Court found that the

city had undertaken to pay plaintiff six percent interest,

and that the contract “contained no reservation or restric-

tion of the duty described.” Jd. The ordinances, however,

purported to reduce the interest rate payable by the city

from six to four percent. Jd. Finding a “manifest” impair-

ment of the city’s payment obligation, id., the Court

invalidated the ordinances under the Contract Clause. Jd.

at 448.

Importantly, the Court did not “question the existence

of {the city’s] power to levy taxes as claimed, nor the

subordination of contracts to it....” Id. at 444. The issue,

however, was not whether the city could levy the property

tax, but was instead whether it could use legislative

authority to alter its contractual obligation to pay stock-

holders six percent interest. The Court strongly affirmed

the citys power to levy the property tax and collect it in

the normal manner, holding that the city

may undoubtedly tax any of its creditors within

its jurisdiction for the debt due to him, and regu-

late the amount of the tax by the rate of interest

the debt bears, if its promise be left unchanged. A

tax thus laid impairs no obligation assumed. It

leaves the contract untouched.

Id. at 445. The city could not, however, use its taxing

power to “convert its undertaking to pay a debt bearing six

per cent interest into one bearing only four.” Id. at 447.

Under the Contract Clause, the city could not “by its own

ordinances, under the guise of taxation, relieve itself from

24

performing to the letter all that it has expressly promised

to its creditors.” Jd. at 448."

The state court’s decision in this case is consistent

with Murray, and does not allow states to breach con-

tracts, proprietary or otherwise. As in Murray, the state

court began its state Contract Clause analysis by deter-

mining the exact nature of the contractual obligation in

question. See Pet. App. 9a. As in Murray, the state court

recognized that contracts generally remain subject to a

sovereign’s taxing and police powers. See Pet. App. 14a-

16a. And as in Murray, the court determined whether the

state’s obligation had been impaired by the subsequent

exercise of legislative power. See Pet. App. 24a-25a. Al-

though this Court invalidated the ordinances in Murray,

whereas the state court upheld the HIF, this does not

mean that the state court was unwilling to enforce the

Contract Clause. It shows only that no contractual obliga-

tion undertaken by the state was impaired by imposition

of the HIF.

Petitioners’ assertion that this decision “conflicts with

nearly 130 years of this Court’s Contract Clause prece-

dent,” Pet. at 10, reflects a misunderstanding of both that

precedent and the unmistakability doctrine’s part therein.

Although the states in both Merrion and Murray retained

all of their sovereign powers, neither state was allowed to

use those powers to breach contracts. Here, likewise, the

State’s retention of sovereign powers does not confer

“ Petitioners wrongly assert that the City of Charleston breached

its contract “by levying a tax.” See Pet. at 12. This is plainly incorrect.

The Murray Court made clear that the city could levy and collect the

tax without violating its contract, so long as the city honored its

contractual obligation to pay stockholders six percent interest before

attempting to collect the tax. See 96 U.S. at 445-46.

25

authority to breach the Agreement. In any event, Petition-

ers’ claim rests firmly on the erroneous theory that the

State of Minnesota failed to retain its sovereign powers, a

theory expressly rejected by the unmistakability doctrine.

The Contract Clause prevents states from using

legislative power to substantially modify contracts to

which they are parties. The unmistakability doctrine does

not in any way vitiate this protection. Instead, the doc-

trine is a rule of contract construction requiring that

government obligations be strictly construed so as to limit

the extent to which the Contract Clause curtails state

regulatory powers. Government contracts — once properly

construed — receive the full measure of Contract Clause

protection. Petitioners’ assertion that the state court’s

decision allows states to impair contracts is incorrect, and

should be rejected.

Ill. THIS COURT SHOULD DECLINE REVIEW

BECAUSE THE PRESENT CASE DOES NOT

PROVIDE A VEHICLE FOR RESOLVING ANY

CONFUSION THAT MAY EXIST AMONG THE

LOWER COURTS CONCERNING APPLICA-

TION OF THE UNMISTAKABILITY DOCTRINE

AND THE MEANING OF WINSTAR.

The Court should decline review because the present

case plainly implicates the unmistakability doctrine and

therefore does not provide a vehicle for resolving any

confusion that might exist among the lower courts con-

cerning its proper application. As was shown above, this

case is quite similar to Merrion. See supra at 18-21. In

both cases, non-governmental contracting parties specifi-

cally alleged that a disputed contract prevented a sover-

eign from enacting or enforcing laws. Merrion, 455 U.S. at

26

136; Pet. App. 10a, 12a, 18a. There is simply no question

that the doctrine applies under these circumstances. See

Winstar, 518 U.S. at 880; see also id. at 878-79 (doctrine

applies “when the Government is subject either to a claim

that its contract has surrendered a sovereign power... or

to a claim that cannot be recognized without creating an

exception from the exercise of such a power... .”).”°

The Court should decline review for additional rea-

sons as well. First, Petitioners perceive confusion among

the lower courts principally because Petitioners them-

selves misread the plurality opinion in Winstar. The

plurality does not, as Petitioners assert, make application

of the unmistakability doctrine turn on a “two-step in-

quiry” that begins with whether the disputed contract is

“proprietary.” See Pet. at 16-17 (positing two-step inquiry).

As an initial matter, the plurality specifically held that

“application of the doctrine ... turns on whether enforce-

ment of the contractual obligation alleged would block the

exercise of a sovereign power of the Government.” Winstar,

518 U.S. at 879. The plurality noted that, “[s]ince the

criterion looks to the effect of a contract’s enforcement, the

particular remedy sought is not dispositive .... ” /d.

* One lower court, although noting some uncertainty about how

the doctrine might apply in particular circumstances, commented: “It is

clear, however, that one of the basic principles underlying the doctrine

is the concern that it would be unreasonable to presume, in the absence

of an express contractual provision, that a sovereign intended a

contractual waiver of a basic sovereign power.” Tamarind Resort Assocs.

v. Gov't of the Virgin Islands, 138 F.3d 107, 112 (3d Cir. 1998) (citing

Winstar, 518 U.S. at 920-21 and Merrion, 455 U.S. at 148). The

Tamarind court’s citation to Merrion demonstrates that the lower

courts have no doubt about the doctrine’s application to paradigmatic

situations like the one presented in this case.

27

Application of the doctrine “will therefore differ according

to the different kinds of obligations the Government may

assume and the consequences of enforcing them.” Jd. at

880. After setting forth examples in which the doctrine

clearly would and would not apply, the plurality noted:

“Between these extremes lies an enormous variety of

contracts including those under which performance will

require exercise (or not) of a power peculiar to the Gov-

ernment.” Jd. Rather than establishing the “two-step

inquiry” perceived by Petitioners, the plurality articulated

governing principles, then illustrated that application of

those principles to “an enormous variety of contracts”

would require a sensitive case-by-case adjudication. /d.

More importantly, Petitioners are simply incorrect in

asserting that application of the doctrine turns on whether

a contract is proprietary. See, e.g., Pet. at 16. As was

discussed above, this Court has itself applied the doctrine

to a proprietary contract. See, e.g., Merrion, 455 U.S. at

145-48. Moreover, as Petitioners themselves note, two

Circuit Courts have applied the doctrine to proprietary

contracts since the Court decided Winstar. See Pet. at 18

(citing Tamarind Resort Assocs. v. Gov't of the Virgin

Islands, 138 F.3d 107, 109, 112 (8d Cir. 1998) and Yankee

Atomic Elec. Co. v. United States, 112 F.3d 1569, 1579

(Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 951 (1998)). The

state court’s application of the doctrine here is consistent

with these authorities. The lower courts plainly under-

stand that, under the proper circumstances, the doctrine

applies to proprietary contracts. There is no confusion on

this point; Petitioners are simply wrong.

Second, even if there is some confusion among the

lower courts concerning how Winstar or the unmistakability

doctrine should apply to factual situations not presented

28

here, this case obviously provides no occasion to address

such confusion. Petitioners cite a handful of cases in which

lower courts indicate some uncertainty about how either

Winstar or the unmistakability doctrine should apply to

certain classes of contracts. See Pet. at 18-19 & n.7; see

also Tamarind Resort Assocs., 138 F.3d at 112 (“It is

somewhat unclear ... as to the type of contract to which

the unmistakability doctrine applies.”). They cite academic

authorities to the same effect. See Pet. at 19-20. Given the

absence of a majority opinion in Winstar and the fact that

the Court was somewhat fragmented, it is not surprising

that some lower courts feel some uncertainty. This case,

however, which involves a paradigm application of the

unmistakability doctrine, furnishes no occasion to clarify

how the doctrine should apply to non-paradigmatic facts.

An example may be useful. In Winstar a four-justice

plurality determined that the unmistakability doctrine

does not apply where, as in Winstar, the disputed contract

could be “reasonably construed to include a risk-shifting

component that may be enforced without effectively

barring the exercise of” government power. Winstar, 518

U.S. at 880. Three justices who concurred in the judg-

ment disagreed with the latter restriction, and would

have held the doctrine applicable even to so-called risk-

shifting agreements. See id. at 919-20 (Scalia, J., concur-

ring in the judgment).” The two dissenting justices would

have held the doctrine applicable to all government

'* Justice Souter, joined by Justices Stevens, O’Connor and Breyer.

" Joined by Justices Kennedy and Thomas.

29

contracts including risk-shifting agreements. See id. at

926-27 (Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting)."

A principal point of disagreement in Winstar, then,

was whether the unmistakability doctrine applies to risk-

shifting agreements.” The concurring and dissenting

justices would have held in the affirmative, and would

thus have given the doctrine broader application than did

the plurality. It is therefore to be expected that lower

courts are somewhat uncertain about the doctrine’s appli-

cation to risk-shifting agreements. That issue is not

presented here, however. The state court correctly deter-

mined that the Settlement Agreement in this case is not a

risk-shifting agreement, and that Petitioners’ proposed

construction of the Agreement would directly limit state

sovereign powers. See Pet. App. 10a, 12a, 18a. Under the

circumstances, it appears that all nine Winstar justices

would have applied the unmistakability doctrine to the

present case. Plainly, this case does not provide a suitable

vehicle for clarifying the law, even assuming such clarifi-

cation is necessary.

* Joined by Justice Ginsburg.

* The lower courts plainly perceive this disagreement. See, e.g.,

Tamarind Resort Assocs., 138 F.3d at 112; Yankee Atomic Elec. Co.,112

F.3d at 1578-79; Gen. Dynamics Corp. v. United States, 47 Fed. Cl. 514,

535-36 (2000).

30

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the Petition of Philip

Morris USA, Inc. and the joining Petitioners should be

denied.

Dated December 7, 2006

Respectfully submitted,

MIKE HATCH

Attorney General

State of Minnesota

BRADFORD S. DELAPENA

Assistant Attorney General

RITA COYLE DEMEULES

(Counsel of Record)

Assistant Attorney General

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 900

St. Paul, MN 55101-2127

(651) 296-0692

Attorneys for Respondent

The State of Minnesota

Resp. App. la

No. A05-2540

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

The State of Minnesota,

by Hubert H. Humphrey III,

its then Attorney General, et al.,

Petitioner,

vs.

Philip Morris USA, Inc., et al.,

Respondents.

STATE’S REPLY BRIEF

EDWARD B. MAGARIAN MIKE HATCH

PETER SIPKINS Attorney General

Dorsey & Whitney LLP State of Minnesota

“—_aa BRADFORD S. DELAPENA

Assistant Attorney General

Minneapolis, MN 55402-1498

(612) 340-7873

DAVID F. HERR

MARY R. VASALY

Maslon Edeman Borman

Atty. Reg. No. 219046

MICHAEL J. VANSELOW

Deputy Attorney General

Atty. Reg. No. 152754

& Brand, LLP 445 Minnesota Street,

3300 Wells Fargo Center Suite 900

90 South Seventh Street St. Paul, Minnesota

Minneapolis, Mn 55402 55101-2127 |

(612) 672-8200 (651) 296-0987

Attorneys for Petitioner

Resp. App. 2a

MURRAY GARNICK

GEOFFREY J. MICHAEL

Arnold & Porter LLP

555 Twelfth Street, NW

Washington, DC 20004-1206

(202) 942-5000

Counsel for Respondent

Philip Morris USA, Inc.

ANAND AGNESHWAR

Arnold & Porter LLP

399 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10022-4690

(212) 715-1000

Counsel for Respondent

Philip Morris USA, Inc.

ANDREW J. HAILE

JENNIFER K. VAN ZANT

Brooks, Pierce, McLendon,

Humphrey & Leonard LLP

PO Box 26000

Greensboro, NC 27420

(336) 373-8850

Counsel for Respondent

Lorillard Tobacco

Company

SCOTT G. KNUDSON

BRENT R. LINDAHL

Briggs and Morgan

2200 IDS Center

80 South Eighth Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 977-8400

KAREN A. JANISCH

130 State Capitol

75 Constitution Avenue

St. Paul, MN 55155

(651) 282-3705

Counsel for Amicus

Curiae Governor

Tim Pawlenty

WALTER A. PICKHARDT

DANIEL J. CONNOLLY

Faegre & Benson, LLP

2200 Wells Fargo Center

90 South Seventh Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 766-8622

Counsel for Respondents

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco

Company & Lorillard

Tobacco Company

STEPHEN R,. PATTON

ELLI LEIBENSTEIN

JONATHAN E. MOORE

Kirkland & Ellis, LLP

200 East Randolph

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 861-2000

Counsel for Respondent

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco

Company

Resp. App. 3a

ROBERT J. BROOKHISER

RANDY G. GULLICKSON

ELIZABETH B. MCCALLUM JANEL M. DRESSEN

Howrey, LLP

Anthony Ostlund &

1299 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Baer, P.A.

Washington DC 20004

(202) 783-0800

(612) 339-4295

Counsel for Respondent

Commonwealth Brands,

Inc.

THOMAS H. BOYD

KARL E. ROBINSON

Winthrop & Weinstine, PA

Suite 3500

225 South Sixth Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402-4629

(612) 604-6400

Counsel for Respondent

Council of Independent

Tobacco Manufacturers

of America

90 South Seventh Street,

Suite 3600

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 349-6969

Counsel for Respondents

A.H. Hermel Candy

& Tobacco Co.;

Henry’s Foods, Inc.;

Sandstrom’s, Inc.,

Johnson Candy and

Tobacco Co. of

Brainerd, Inc.,

M. Amundson Cigar

& Candy Co., LLP;

The Watson

Companies, Inc.;

Granite City Jobbing

Company, Inc.;

Minter-Weisman Co.;

Segal Wholesale, Inc.;

and Tyler Wholesale,

Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

EES GPE FAW LESWELL LAGGED ccccovecccccccsccccoveccorosesceeveess il

STITT e Tusibcisanscubnisessdbeboueddertarenesctecucsedsntesesere at

I. THE LANGUAGE AND CONTEXT OF THE

AGREEMENT DEMONSTRATE THAT THE PARTIES

INTENDED IT To BE A MUTUAL RELEASE OF

ADJUDICATORY CLAIMS ONLY........... vhiilaesiaitetaidaia 1

Resp. App. 4a

A. The Court Should Reject As Unsound

Defendants’ Construction Of The State’s

| NE eae OE a Tae OE ETA

B. Proper Construction Of The State’s Release

Undercuts Defendants’ Subsidiary Argu-

RGEEEB, cveveoversrvervsereecevceeneneseoneresevevensevensvsvevseoveon

C. Because The Agreement Does Not

Surrender The Legislature’s Power To

Impose An Exaction On The Distribution

Of Cigarettes, Imposing The HIF Does Not

Breach Or Impair The Agreement. .............

D. The Scope Of The State’s Release Must Be

Construed Consistent With The State’s

Status As A Private Party. .............:cceseeceeeees

II. THE TERM “CLAIM” CANNOT BE INTERPRETED

To INCLUDE LEGISLATIVE EXACTIONS BECAUSE

THE STATE’S RELEASE OF CLAIMS DOES NOT

SURRENDER THE STATE’S SOVEREIGN POLICE

AND TAXING POWERS “IN LANGUAGE AND TERMS

Too CLEAR TO ADMIT OF DOUBT.”.............0.0+00

A. The Unmistakability Doctrine Is A Canon

Of Strict Contract Construction Rather

Than A Contract Defense, And It Plainly

Applies To The Facts Presented...............

B. The State Invokes The Separation Of

Powers Not As A Contract Defense, But

As Circumstantial Evidence That The

Attorney General Did Not Surrender

Legislative Authority. ..........ccscccssccsssssesees

Ill. IN THE ALTERNATIVE, THE AGREEMENT DOES Nor

BAR IMPOSITION AND ENFORCEMENT OF THE HIF

BECAUSE THE AGREEMENT INCORPORATES THE

MINNESOTA CONSTITUTION’S EXPRESS PROHIBI-TION

AGAINST CONTRACTING AWAY THE TAXING POWER.....

COU LAJIUIS cocvccvsescecevereronsonevecsvenscessesesounenecanpeentane

13

13

16

17

30

-

Resp. App. 5a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Deming v. United States, 1 Ct. Cl. 190 (1865).................. 10

Horwitz-Matthews, Inc. v. City of Chicago, 78 F.3d

ee Be rilntecthinsntitieiaininbiseidascieesesensclnadeesaeig ialatreneeca 9

Jarecki v. G.D. Searle & Co., 367 U.S. 303 (1961) ............. 3

Jones v. United States, 1 Ct. Cl. 383 (1865) ..............ceeeeee 10

Murray v. Charleston, 96 U.S. 432 (1877) ..........ecceceeeeeeeeees 8

Thompson v. Amoco Oil Co., 903 F.2d 1118 (7th Cir.

SUIT luisciscssalishsiedetidishdeaaepapaduninpaliadagsdidieinindbeibaaiadbikiiimiianiainandia 13

United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1

re ubidietisaciinteldh ies cetaiiaseanibilepatvahinaistbscanidigilvebdsiibierstiaaidadaaadaddiaih 8

United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839 (1996)...14, 15

Utility Elec. Supply, Inc. v. ABB Power T & D Co.,

ae FEE Ce I Be recrtescncesccensescennsesenrntnnenessensvcen 3

Wayte v. United States, 47° U.S. 598 (1985)............: eee 13

MINNESOTAL CASES

Amoco Corp. v. Comm’r of Revenue, 658 N.W.2d 859

Nhs SEITE cicesciicinnonsenannucsecdunnsianed =< tT 19

Employers Liability Assur. Corp. v. Morse, 111

Be I: IIIED sc:icsvasecudebecsommbetoestuesebaniinctosduueceds 2

Fletcher v. Scott, 277 N.W. 270 (Minn. 1938) ............ccc00e00 3

Gillam v. Sioux City & St. PR. Co., 3 N.W. 353

SEIN, SITIE sncicshdntesuckibesanisuensitienicideapiedbaeamummniovenedantiin 14

In re Minnehaha Parkway, 209 N.W. 939 (Minn.

Say sisiisier sideestiudedaaitiniepedtaatdinnidesiiindidelichoandeenaninaainntineedinnee 18

Resp. App. 6a

Ketterer v. Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 1, 79 N.W.2d 428

(Minn. 1956)...........00 ansonshasionuiemimennsbastiebeniynivedinuaneneeneess 17

Mienes v. Lucker Sales Co., 246 N.W. 667 (Minn.

SEITE stenessiilcisinadesnisalinsndishieshidiiinhaisitalvaabbcetieisibésiinhwanaibwaiestasoaveviewie 3

Motorsports Racing Plus, Inc. v. Arctic Cat Sales,

Inc., 666 N.W.2d 320 (Minn. 20038) ............ccssseccceseesesseees 2

Naftalin v. King, 90 N.W.2d 185 (Minn. 1958)................. 17

State by Humphrey v. Philip Morris Inc., 551

ee Ne Ie I BID ersitascacusinivsecscavecinssvncnceesenersavines 11

State ex rel. Decker v. Montague, 262 N.W. 684

SNe SEIT chiindinisibnituhanditsiaieiinunineshinsaussteteieveniekuewiiienes 12

State v. Suess, 52 N.W.2d 409 (Minn, 1952).......... eee 3

OTHER STATE CASES

421 Corp. v. Metro. Gov't of Nashville, 36 S.W.3d

Is TT ins cccaiteisntindslinustisasinietnsuniaiiiiansaaanaunniase 13

Okeson v. City of Seattle, 78 P.3d 1279 (Wash. 2003)....... 18

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

I said ea uaeniinoanigeds 19

i I OI I On sine aduaseanennbdotevanenentenienl 19

MINNESOTA STATUTES AND LAWS

Minn. Stat. § 270C.03 (Supp. 2005)...........ccsccccccececeeerereees 12

Minn. Stat. § 271.06, subd. 1 (Supp. 2005)...........ccceeeees 12

Minn. Stat. § 289A.35 (2004 & Supp. 2005)... eee 12

ID, GNI, Wy RANGA? vccevesscccesncsrorssoncsnsvensestsnvonseconesccanents 2

Resp. App. 7a

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Minnesota Def. Lawyers Ass’n Release Deskbook

(Eric J. Magnuson & Stephen O. Plunkett eds.

SPIED cxsirtesaradupiensinisneniciininiiniainiialadieadammmadammnain 7

ARGUMENT

I. THE LANGUAGE AND CONTEXT OF THE AGREEMENT

DEMONSTRATE THAT THE PARTIES INTENDED IT To

BE A MUTUAL RELEASE OF ADJUDICATORY CLAIMS

ONLY.

The parties propose two very different readings of the

State’s Release. This shows that the provision requires

judicial construction. In its de novo review of the Agree-

ment, the Court should prefer the State’s construction,

which will completely resolve this case. The State’s read-

ing preserves the plain meaning of the Agreement’s terms,

honors the context in which those terms appear, comports

with settled rules of contract construction, and harmonizes

the State’s Release with the balance of the Agreement. As

will be shown, Defendants’ reading of the Release does

none of these things.

A. The Court Should Reject As Unsound De-

fendants’ Construction Of The State’s Re-

lease.

Defendants begin their rather cursory construction

argument with an excerpt of the State’s Release that is

both truncated and elliptical. The truncation isolates the

phrase “liabilities of any nature whatsoever” (the “Liabili-

ties Phrase”), see Defs.’ Br. at 19, and allows Defendants to

assign it an expansive meaning starkly incompatible with

context. Jd. at 22 & n.7. The ellipsis artificially places the

Resp. App. 8a

Liability Phrase alongside the word “statutory,” allowing —

Defendants to assert that the conjoined terms mean

“legislation.” Jd. at 20, 22-23.

Defendants rely on this exaggerated version of the

Liability Phrase throughout the rest of their brief. See,

e.g., Defs.’ Br. at 28, 33, 34. Most importantly, Defendants

assert that the State’s Release “expressly releases the

precise liability that the Health Impact Fee seeks to

impose,” id. at 19, and they argue that it “definles] ‘claims’

in the broadest possible terms to include not just judicial

liability, but ‘liabilities of any nature whatsoever’ includ-

ing ‘statutory’ liability.” Jd. at 19-20.

By isolating the Liabilities Phrase, Defendants im-

properly suppress context. See Motorsports Racing Plus,

Inc. v. Arctic Cat Sales, Inc., 666 N.W.2d 320, 324 (Minn.

2003) (holding that words or phrases should not be “iso-

lated from their context”). The Liabilities Phrase is just

one item in a list of “claims” in the State’s Release. That

list reads, in full, as follows:

civil claims, demands, actions, suits and causes

of action, damages whenever incurred, liabilities

of any nature whatsoever, including civil penal-

ties, as well as costs, expenses and attorneys’

fees, known or unknown, suspected or unsus-

pected, accrued or unaccrued, whether legal, eq-

uitable or statutory (“Claims”)... .

App. at 50-51. Settled rules of construction make clear

why context is critical.

The most important term here is the one defined —

“claims” — since it is used throughout the balance of the

Agreement. Under the rule of ejusdem generis, the term

“claims” must be interpreted to include only the sorts of

Resp. App. 9a

items that precede it. See Minn. Stat. § 645.08(3) (2004)

(“general words are construed to be restricted in their

meaning by preceding particular words”); Employers

Liability Assur. Corp. v. Morse, 111 N.W.2d 620, 624-25

(Minn. 1961) (applying rule of ejusdem generis to interpret

contract). As the State has already shown, the preceding

items all relate to adjudication. See State’s Br. at 15-16.

Although Defendants correctly note that the Agreement

does not use the term “adjudicatory claims,” see Defs.’ Br.

at 19, proper attention to linguistic context reveals that

this is an accurate interpretation of the term “claims” as it

appears in the State’s Release. It is also consistent with the

common and established meaning of the term “claims.” See

State’s Br. at 15-17 & n.9.

Context is equally important for properly construing

the Liabilities Phrase, which Defendants assign the

broadest possible meaning. See Defs.’ Br. at 22 & n.7.

Under the doctrine of noscitur a sociis, a phrase capable of

several meanings is defined by the words with which the

phrase is associated. See, e.g., Fletcher v. Scott, 277 N.W.

270, 272-73 (Minn. 1938); accord Jarecki v. G.D. Searle &

Co., 367 U.S. 303, 307 (1961). Because the terms sur-

rounding the Liabilities Phrase all pertain to adjudication,

the Liabilities Phrase does so as well. See State’s Br. at 19.

“[Wlhen two or more words are grouped together and

ordinarily have a similar meaning, but are not equally

comprehensive, the general word will be limited and

qualified by the special word|s].” State v. Suess, 52 N.W.2d

409, 415 (Minn. 1952). This rule should be applied here to

give the Liabilities Phrase its intended scope. See Utility

Elec. Supply, Inc. v. ABB Power T & D Co., 36 F.3d 737,

740 (8th Cir. 1994) (noting that doctrine of noscitur a sociis

is wisely applied to avoid giving statutes unintended

Resp. App. 10a

breadth); Mienes v. Lucker Sales Co., 246 N.W. 667, 668

(Minn. 1933) (applying doctrine to limit contract provision

to intended scope).

In addition to violating these rules of construction,

Defendants’ overly expansive interpretation of the Liabili-

ties Phrase is inconsistent with the parties’ drafting

practice. As the State has already observed, the parties

included an additional term - “civil penalties” — in the

State’s Release. See State’s Br. at 27. If Defendants were

correct that the parties intended “liabilities” as used in the

State’s Release to have its broadest possible meaning, the

addition of “civil penalties” would have been entirely

unnecessary. Such penalties would plainly have been

embraced by the Liabilities Phrase. Because the parties

added this extra provision, they clearly did not have in

mind Defendants’ expansive construction.

In direct contravention of these rules of construction,

Defendants combine the disparate terms “liabilities” and

“statutory” in an attempt to make “claims” mean “legisla-

tion.” See Defs.’ Br. at 22-23. The Court should reject this

attempt to expand the State’s Release.

First, it requires the improbable inference that, in a

section releasing “claims,” these sophisticated parties

sought to create an exemption from future “legislation,”

and did so obliquely by using two other words, “liabilities”

and “statutory,” that reside is two separate clauses. Sec-

ond, since the Agreement frequently used the word “legis-

lation,” see State’s Br. at 17-18, it requires the conclusion

that the parties — without any apparent reason — referred

to “legislation” in different ways in different parts of the

Agreement. Finally, it is inconsistent with the obvious

conclusion that “statutory” claims refers to the very sort of

Resp. App. lla

statutory causes of action asserted in the State Tobacco

Lawsuit. See App. at 28-36 (State’s common law and

statutory claims).

When the parties actually addressed legislation in the

Agreement, they used that very word. See State’s Br. at

17-18. Moreover, had the parties wished to provide that

Defendants would be exempt from legislation imposing

taxes or fees, they would simply have said so. They did

not. This Court should conclude that the parties intended

the Agreement to work a mutual release of adjudicatory

claims only. See id. at 13-22.’

B. Proper Construction Of The State’s Release

Undercuts Defendants’ Subsidiary Argu-

ments. :

1. Because Legislation Falls Outside The

Scope Of The Agreement, The Legislature

Did Not Unilaterally Alter The Agreement

Or Nullify Any Benefit By Imposing The

HIF.

Because the Agreement applies exclusively to adjudi-

catory claims — and not to legislation — the Legislature did

not unilaterally alter the Agreement by imposing the HIF.

See Defs.’ Br. at 17, 20-21. Defendants themselves empha-

size that “any legislation that raises revenue will help

offset State health care costs from tobacco.” Id. at 30

(emphasis in original). It is undisputed that on the very

‘ Each use of the term “claims” in the Agreement and Consent

Judgment, again when considered in context, confirms that “claims”

refers to adjudicatory claims. See, e.g., App. at 37, 39, 43 (§ II.A), 50

(§ ITI.A), 80 (§ X).

Resp. App. 12a

day the Agreement was executed, the Legislature could

have quadrupled the cigarette excise tax to offset state

healthcare costs. The district court specifically noted that

“the Legislature is free to raise revenue by means of a

[cigarette] tax, and all parties agree that there would be

no basis to override such a tax....” App. at 15.

Defendants thus understood when they executed the

Agreement that their products remained subject to legisla-

tive exactions. They also appreciated then what they say

today — that the revenue the State raised could be used by

the State to offset healthcare costs. This conclusively

demonstrates that Defendants assumed the risk that the

Legislature would impose additional exactions upon their

products.’ Their argument thus amounts to this: (a) the

Legislature is free to impose additional exactions upon

their products; (b) the State can use any revenue gener-

ated to offset state healthcare costs; but (c) the Legislature

cannot declare that the exaction is imposed for this pur-

pose. This cannot be correct. If the Agreement left the

Legislature free to tax Defendants’ products to offset state

healthcare costs, it left the Legislature free to declare its

purpose.

Nor does imposing the HIF on Defendants’ Distribu-

tors nullify the only tangible benefit Defendants received

under the Agreement. See Defs.’ Br. at 15-16, 21, 26. When

negotiating and securing a waiver of all state “claims,”

Defendants fully appreciated that their products would

remain subject to legislative exactions. They willingly

* Defendants’ contrary assertion that the State assumed the risk

that future legislation would be unenforceable is addressed below. See

infra at 15.

Resp. App. l3a

accepted this risk, however, because they perceived that

their very existence was threatened by State-initiated

lawsuits, and Minnesota’s in particular. A release of

adjudicatory claims eliminated this risk, and left Defen-

dants free to oppose legislative impositions in the political

arena as they had done so successfully in the past.’

2. The HIF Is Not A “Claim” For State

Healthcare Costs.

The Legislature placed the incidence of the HIF, like

that of the cigarette excise tax, upon the distribution and

sale of cigarettes. See State’s Br. at 40 & n.24. Thus, the

HIF, like the excise tax, is a legislative exaction upon a

commercial activity. The Legislature’s declaration that the

purpose of the HIF is to recover state healthcare costs

associated with smoking does not convert the HIF into a

“claim” for healthcare costs, “statutory” or otherwise. See

Defs.’ Br. at 30. As Defendants themselves note, all state

revenues defray state healthcare costs. The HIF is no

* An R.J. Reynolds press release issued the day the Agreement was

signed perfectly illustrates the value Defendants placed on receiving a

release of legal claims: “This country has to decide whether one court,

like Minnesota, should have the power to bring the industry to the

brink of bankruptcy with all the negative implications of such a

decision.” See R.J. Reynolds, “R.J. Reynolds Issues Minnesota State-

ment,” May 8, 1998, http://www.rjrt.com/newsroom/resourcesRJ RT view.

asp?postI D=884 (last visited March 9, 2006).

* There is no merit to Defendants’ assertion that the Agreement is

somehow special because it was not “conditioned on a single payment”

and released future claims. See Defs.’ Br. at 20. Many settlement

agreements provide for multiple payments. See Minnesota Def. Lawyers

Ass’n Release Deskbook 235-51 (Eric J. Magnuson & Stephen O.

Plunkett eds. 1998) (discussing structured settlements). Moreover,

many agreements contain provisions releasing future claims. See, e.g.,

id., App. of Forms at F-49, F-54.

Resp. App. 14a

more a “claim” for healthcare costs than is the excise tax.

Each is a legislative exaction upon the commercial activity

of distributing cigarettes, and a distributor’s liability for

each is measured exclusively by the extent to which the

distributor engages in that activity.

If a distributor failed to pay the HIF, were assessed by

the Commissioner, appealed, and thus compelled the State

to litigate unpaid amounts, the State would proceed

exclusively by proving how many packs of cigarettes the

distributor had received, just as it would in pursuing

unpaid excise tax amounts. The State would not offer

evidence of state healthcare costs, which would be utterly

irrelevant. In either case, the State would be pursuing

unpaid taxes or fees. It would not be asserting a “claim” for

state healthcare costs.

C. Because The Agreement Does Not Surren-

der The Legislature’s Power To Impose An

Exaction On The Distribution Of Ciga-

rettes, Imposing The HIF Does Not Breach

Or Impair The Agreement.

This case does not involve a Contracts Clause viola-

tion because the Act does not attempt to alter the obliga-

tions of the Agreement. See State’s Br. at 21 (essence of

impairment is alteration). Indeed, the United States

Supreme Court found Contracts Clause violations in the

two cases discussed by Defendants specifically because

legislation changed the obligations of existing contracts.

See Defs.’ Br. at 26; United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey,

431 U.S. 1, 25-27 (1977) (finding violation where legisla-

ture repealed statutory covenant with bondholders);

Murray v. Charleston, 96 U.S. 432, 443 (1877) (finding

violation where city stock certificates promised payment of

Resp. App. 15a

six percent interest, but where subsequent ordinance

commanded city clerk to withhold, rather than pay, one-

third of said interest).

Even if this Court were to conclude that the HIF

qualifies as a released “claim” under the Agreement (it

does not), this would mean only that the Legislature

breached the Agreement by imposing the HIF. It would

show a violation - rather than an attempted alteration — of

the Agreement. Thus, it would not establish a Contracts

Clause violation. As the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit has explained: “[WJhen a state repu-

diates a contract to which it is a party it is doing nothing

different from what a private party does when the party

repudiates a contract; it is committing a breach of con-

tract. It would be absurd to turn every breach of contract

by a state or municipality into a violation of the federal

Constitution.” Horwitz-Matthews, Inc. v. City of Chicago,

78 F.3d 1248, 1250 (7th Cir. 1996) (Posner, J.). Because the

Act does not alter the Agreement, there is no impairment.

There is no breach, moreover, because the HIF is not a

released “claim” under the Agreement.

D. The Scope Of The State’s Release Must Be Con-

strued Consistent With The State’s Status As A Pri-

vate Party.

Defendants urge the Court to treat the State “the

same way it treats any other contracting party.” Defs.’ Br.

at 18. They note that the State Tobacco Lawsuit was

initiated “to vindicate a proprietary interest,” id. at 6, and

they observe that “[a] state may lay aside its sovereignty”

when contracting with private parties. Jd. at 18 n.6.

Defendants actually treat the State as a private party in

name only, however.

Resp. App. 16a

Although Defendants deny claiming that the State

“contracted away’ its power to legislate,” Defs.’ Br. at 31,

they later insist that the Agreement binds the State “in all

of its manifestations.” Jd. at 36. These assertions are

plainly inconsistent, since binding the entire State surely

encompasses the State’s “power to legislate.” In addition,

Defendants expressly allege that the Agreement bars the

State from enforcing its laws. Id. at 36-37. Defendants

thus stretch the State’s Release to bind the State in its

sovereign capacity. Defendants’ entire approach is incor-

rect because the State proceeded in its proprietary capac-

ity throughout the State Tobacco Lawsuit. The State qua

private party cannot bind the State qua sovereign.

1. The State Acted In Its Proprietary Capac-

ity When Executing The Agreement.

The State agrees that it acted in its proprietary

capacity when bringing and settling the State Tobacco

Lawsuit. See Supp. App. at 56-57. The State’s private-

party status must therefore be respected when construing

the scope of its release. This principle of consistency is

reflected in longstanding Supreme Court precedent:

[T]he government entering into a contract stands

not in the attitude of the government exercising

its sovereign power of providing laws for the wel-

fare of the State. The United States as a contrac-

tor are not responsible for the United States as a

lawgiver.... In this court, the United States can

be held to no greater liability than other contrac-

tors in other courts.

Deming v. United States, 1 Ct. Cl. 190, 191 (1865) (empha-

sis added). See also United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey,

Resp. App. 17a

431 U.S. 1, 25 n.23 (1977) (concluding that when govern-

ments act as private parties rather than as sovereigns,

“{tIhey come down to the level of ordinary individuals.

Their contracts have the same meaning as that of similar

contracts between private persons.”); Jones v. United

States, 1 Ct. Cl. 383, 384-85 (1865) (“In this court the

United States appear simply as contractors; and they are

to be held liable only within the same limits that any other

defendant would be in any other court.”).

Because the State must, like Defendants, be treated

as a private party, the Agreement’s two release provisions

must be construed as coextensive. More specifically, the

State’s Release cannot be read as surrendering sovereign

legislative authority not possessed by the State in its

proprietary capacity. See Jones, 1 Ct. Cl. at 384 (“The two

characters which the government possesses as a contractor

and as a sovereign cannot be thus fused.”).

This same principle of consistent party status defeats

Defendants’ argument that the Liabilities Phrase gener-

ally covers civil claims, but in the State’s Release covers

more. See Defs.’ Br. at 21. The Court should reject Defen-

dants’ attempt to expand that phrase (or the term

“claims”) to cover the State’s sovereign enforcement

authority.

2. Because The State Executed The Agreement

In Its Proprietary Capacity, It Released

Through The Agreement Only The Legal

Claims It Held In That Capacity.

Acting in its proprietary capacity, the State com-

menced the State Tobacco Lawsuit, which asserted com-

mon law and statutory claims. All of these claims involved

Resp. App. 18a

the invocation of common law or statutory rights equally

available to private parties.”

Acting again in its proprietary capacity, the State

later settled its lawsuit and entered the Agreement. As

might any private party, the State made a binding contrac-

tual promise to never again assert specified “claims”

against Defendants for healthcare costs. In releasing these

claims, the State reasoned, as might any private party,

that its proprietary interest would be better served by

entering the Agreement than by preserving its claims.

Like any private party, then, the State promised that it

would never again assert “claims” based on rights it

possessed in its proprietary capacity (such as a right

derived, for example, from the Deceptive Practices Act).

When the State acts in its sovereign capacity, it does

not invoke rights and assert “claims.” Instead, it exercises

the sovereign power to enact and enforce laws. Such power

is possessed by neither private parties nor the State

acting in its proprietary capacity. The State as sovereign,

for example, enforces the tax laws administratively by

* In State by Humphrey v. Philip Morris Inc., 551 N.W.2d 490

(Minn. 1996), this Court specifically noted that a private right of action

existed for each of the statutory claims the State asserted in the

present case:

In their joint complaint, the State and Blue Cross allege

violations of Minnesota’s antitrust statute as well as con-

sumer protection statutes relating to consumer fraud,

unlawful and deceptive trade practices, and false advertis-

ing. Each of these statutes contains specific authorizations

for suit and each creates a private cause of action for any

party injured directly or indirectly by a violation of the stat-

ute.

Id. at 495 (emphasis added); see also id. at 495-97 (discussing statutory

basis for private right of action for each enumerated statutory claim).

Resp. App. 19a

auditing taxpayers and assessing sums owed. And, if

taxpayers appeal, the State defends its enforcement

actions in a judicial setting. See, e.g., Minn. Stat.

§§ 270C.03 (Supp. 2005) (Commissioner’s powers gener-

ally), 289A.35 (2004 & Supp. 2005) (Commissioner’s power

to assess), 271.06, subd. 1 (Supp. 2005) (taxpayer may

appeal orders of Commissioner to tax court).

The State qua sovereign has an affirmative duty to

enforce the laws. See, e.g., State ex rel. Decker v. Montague,

262 N.W. 684, 689 (Minn. 1935) (“The Governor, under his

oath of office, is bound to enforce the law.... ”). Although

the Executive has substantial enforcement discretion, the

exercise of such discretion involves a calculus completely

different from that the State uses when acting in its

proprietary capacity. The question is not whether a given

“claim” should be exchanged for some consideration.

Enforcement decisions instead turn on such factors as “the

strength of the case, the prosecution’s general deterrence

value, the Government’s enforcement priorities, and the

case’s relationship to the Government’s overall enforce-

ment plan.” Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598, 607

(1985). See also 421 Corp. v. Metro. Gov't of Nashville, 36

S.W.3d 469, 480 (Tenn. 2000) (recognizing in context of

civil enforcement that “practical realities require the

allocation of limited public resources.”).

When the State released its “claims” through the

Agreement, it did not surrender its entirely separate

sovereign power to enact and enforce laws. Because the

State must be treated as one of two private parties to the

Agreement, then, absent a clear indication otherwise, the

Agreement’s two release provisions must be construed to

have equal meaning. See, e.g., Thompson v. Amoco Oil Co.,

903 F.2d 1118, 1121 (7th Cir. 1990) (“Unless a contrary

Resp. App. 20a

intent is evident, words used in one sense in one part of a

contract are deemed of like significance in another part.”).

Treating the State as a private party compels the conclu-

sion that the State released no more than did Defendants

— the option to pursue rights-based legal claims.

Il. THE TERM “CLAIM” CANNOT BE INTERPRETED TO

INCLUDE LEGISLATIVE EXACTIONS BECAUSE THE

STATE’S RELEASE OF CLAIMS DOES NOT SURREN-

DER THE STATE’S SOVEREIGN POLICE AND TAXING

PowERs “IN LANGUAGE AND TERMS TOO CLEAR TO

ADMIT OF DOUBT.”

A. The Unmistakability Doctrine Is A Canon Of

Strict Contract Construction Rather Than A

Contract Defense, And It Plainly Applies To

The Facts Presented.

Defendants assert that the State invokes the unmis-

takability doctrine as a defense to its alleged breach of the

Agreement. See, e.g., Defs.’ Br. at 31-33. As the State’s

principal brief makes plain, however, the unmistakability

doctrine is a canon of strict construction that courts use to

determine what government contracts mean — to deter-

mine what they actually promise. See State’s Br. at 22-25.

The doctrine is not a justification or excuse for a breach of

promises clearly made, and is not invoked by the State for

that purpose.

Defendants next assert that the doctrine does not

apply here, purportedly because their construction of the

Agreement does not involve the surrender of sovereign

power. See Defs.’ Br. at 16, 31, 33, 35. This is incorrect. The

United States Supreme Court has explained that applica-

tion of the doctrine “turns on whether enforcement of the

contractual obligation alleged would block the exercise of a

Resp. App. 2la

sovereign power of the Government.” See United States v.

Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839, 879 (1996) (plurality opinion).

Invoking the Agreement, Defendants obtained a lower

court Order enjoining the Commissioner from enforcing

against Defendants’ Distributors a valid Act of the Legisla-

ture. Defendants now ask this Court to affirm. Because

Defendants assert that the Agreement bars the enforce-

ment of a valid law, the doctrine unquestionably applies.

Id. at 876-79 (discussing Court’s own applications of

doctrine); cf. id. at 881 (doctrine not applicable where all

post-contract Congressional measures were fully enforced);

see also Gillam v. Sioux City & St. PR. Co., 3 N.W. 353,

355 (Minn. 1879) (applying doctrine where railroad alleged

that its charter prevented Legislature from passing law

requiring railroad to build cattle fences). And, as shown in

the State’s principal brief, the doctrine plainly defeats

Defendants’ claim that the Agreement surrenders the

Legislature’s police or taxing powers. See State’s Br. at 25-

26.

Rather than admitting that their construction of the

Agreement bars the Legislature from imposing, and the

Commissioner from enforcing, the Act, Defendants at-

tempt to reframe the issue. They thus contend that the

State “assumed the risk that future legislation would ...

be unenforceable as to the Settling Defendants’ products,”

Defs.’ Br. at 33, and that “[s]uch an assumption of risk

occurs whenever the State enters into a contract.” Jd. at

31. This is truly a distinction without a difference. As

Winstar recognized, if a party contends that a contract

bars the enforcement of a valid law, then that party is

arguing that the contract surrenders sovereign power. See

Winstar, 518 U.S. at 879. Tellingly, Defendants feel com-

pelled to assert that the Agreement binds “the State in all

Resp. App. 22a

of its manifestations.” See Defs.’ Br. at 36 (emphasis

added).

Defendants’ assumption of risk argument stands the

unmistakability doctrine on its head. Although the doc-

trine recognizes that the Contracts Clause limits a state’s

power to impair contracts through legislation, see Winstar,

518 U.S. at 874, it also requires that the surrender of

sovereign power be stated in “unmistakable terms.” Jd. at

872. Defendants, in contrast, construe a conventional

release of claims as creating a broad bar to future legisla-

tive and executive action, see Defs.’ Br. at 15, 19-20, and

they assert — without any authority - that contracts

prevail over the enforcement of valid laws. See id. at 31,

33-34. The Court should reject this attempt to reverse the

unmistakability doctrine.

B. The State Invokes The Separation Of Powers

Not As A Contract Defense, But As Circum-

stantial Evidence That The Attorney General

Did Not Surrender Legislative Authority.

As with the unmistakability doctrine, Defendants

incorrectly assert that the State invokes the separation of

powers as a defense to justify an alleged breach of the

Agreement. See Defs.’ Br. at 31, 32, 35-39. Instead, the

State discusses the separation of powers because it is

relevant to proper construction of the Agreement. See

State’s Br. at 27-30. Specifically, this constitutional princi-

ple furnishes circumstantial evidence that then-Attorney

General Humphrey did not, as Defendants suggest, grant

Defendants a prospective exemption from all legislative

exactions on cigarettes that are used to fund state health-

care costs. Jd. The Attorney General simply would not

have entered a contract surrendering legislative authority

Resp. App. 23a

in direct contravention of the Minnesota Constitution. /d.

Consequently, the Agreement should not be construed as

though he did.

The parties themselves recognized that the Attorney

General could not speak for the Legislature. or promise

legislative results. Section II.C of the Agreement provides

in part that, “[t]he Attorney General will propose ... that

the Legislature appropriate to a foundation” certain listed

funds. App. at 46. Although the Attorney General had the

authority to bind the State “in all of its manifestations” as

to the assertion of claims, the Agreement recognizes he

could not bind the Legislature concerning legislation.

In addition, there is no substance to Defendants’

argument that, even if the Attorney General lacked

authority to surrender sovereign power, the Legislature

acquiesced in the Agreement. See Defs.’ Br. at 37-38. As an

initial matter, the Legislature likely cannot acquiesce in a

surrender of its powers. See State’s Br. at 29 n.13; Ketterer

v. Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 1, 79 N.W.2d 428, 436 (Minn. 1956)

(no ratification where initial action lies outside scope of

governmental body in first instance). In any event, this

argument entirely begs the question. Even if evidence of

acquiescence existed, Defendants could not show that the

Legislature acquiesced in their construction of the Agree-

ment. The State does not dispute that the Agreement is

“binding and enforceable” as to the State’s proprietary

rights. Defs.’ Br. at 38. It simply contends that Defendants

misconstrue the Agreement .» bind the State in its sover-

eign capacity.

Resp. App. 24a

Il. IN THE ALTERNATIVE, THE AGREEMENT DoEs Nor

BAR IMPOSITION AND ENFORCEMENT OF THE HIF

BECAUSE THE AGREEMENT INCORPORATES THE MIN-

NESOTA CONSTITUTION’S EXPRESS PROHIBITION

AGAINST CONTRACTING AWAY THE TAXING POWER.

Defendants try to finesse the tax/fee issue by repeat-

ing the claim that, under their interpretation of the

Agreement, the State is not really surrendering its sover-

eign taxing power. See Defs.’ Br. at 39. For the reasons set

forth above, this claim should be rejected. See supra at 14.

Defendants next cite Naftalin for the proposition that

a contract can have an “indirect effect” on the taxing

power without violating Article X, Section 1 of the Minne-

sota Constitution (the “1906 Amendment”). See Defs.’ Br.

at 39 (emphasis in original) (citing Naftalin v. King, 90

N.W.2d 185, 191 (Minn. 1958)). Naftalin is inapposite,

however. That case involved whether the State could

contractually promise to fund bond payments, and thereby

bind itself to exercise its taxing power. Naftalin, 90 N.W.2d

at 190-91. This Court specifically distinguished that

situation from a contract surrendering the taxing power,

which it noted is expressly prohibited by the 1906

Amendment. Jd. at 191. There is simply no support for

Defendants’ “indirect effect” argument. See In re Minne-

haha Parkway, 209 N.W. 939, 940 (Minn. 1926) (holding

that 1906 Amendment “was intended to prevent any

impairment of the taxing power in any manner what-

ever”).

The parties appear to agree, for the most part, on the

standards relevant to determining whether a legislative

imposition is a tax or a fee. Compare State’s Br. at 33-36

with Defs.’ Br. at 40. They disagree mostly on the applica-

tion of those standards.

Resp. App. 25a

Defendants are wrong to assert that the HIF is a fee

because there is a “direct relationship” between the HIF

and state healthcare costs. See Defs.’ Br. at 41-42. As an

initial matter, distributors rather than smokers pay the

HIF. Distributors, however, do not receive the state

healthcare services the HIF allegedly funds. True fees are

paid by those who receive services. See Okeson v. City of

Seattle, 78 P.3d 1279, 1286 (Wash. 2003).

Defendants’ claim fares no better even if economic

burden rather than legal incidence is considered. Many

people who smoke — perhaps the majority of them - will

never cost the state a cent in healthcare expenditures.

Many smokers, for example, have private employers and

private insurers, etc. Consequently, there is no relation-

ship at all, direct or otherwise, between the 75 cents a

particular smoker pays on a pack of cigarettes and state

healthcare costs.

In reality, the HIF is simply an excise tax on all

smokers to fund the expenses that some smokers impose

on the State. It is administered identically to the cigarette

excise tax, and has no true regulatory purpose. See State’s

Br. at 38-40. The Legislature’s twin expedients of includ-

ing the HIF in the Ominbus Health and Human Services

Bill and placing HIF proceeds into a special fund cannot

convert the HIF into a fee for judicial purposes,” just as

labeling the imposition a “fee” cannot. See id. at 33.

* Segregating the proceeds of a tax into a special fund and ear-

marking them for a particular purpose do not convert a tax into a fee.

See State’s Br. at 41-42. All proceeds of Minnesota’s gasoline excise tax,

for example, must be placed into the Highway User Tax Distribution

Fund. See Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 10. Those proceeds must be used

“solely for highway purposes.” Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 5. Nevertheless,

(Continued on following page)

Resp. App. 26a

CONCLUSION

For the above stated reasons, the State respectfully

requests that this Court reverse the December 20, 2005

decision of the district court in its entirety.

Dated: Respectfully submitted,

MIKE HATCH

Attorney General

State of Minnesota

BRADFORD S. DELAPENA

Assistant Attorney General

Atty. Reg. No. 219046

MICHAEL J. VANSELOW

Deputy Attorney General

Atty. Reg. No. 152754

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 900

St. Paul, MN 55101-2127

(651) 296-0987

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT

STATE OF MINNESOTA

this Court has held that the gasoline excise tax is a “special tax” on

gasoline to fund state roadbuilding expenses. See Amoco Corp. v.

Comm’r of Revenue, 658 N.W.2d 859, 872 & n.4 (Minn. 2003).

Resp. App. 27a

No. A05-2540

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

The State of Minnesota,

by Hubert H. Humphrey III,

its then Attorney General, et al.,

Petitioner,

VS.

Philip Morris USA, Inc., e¢ al.,

and

A.H. Hermel Candy & Tobacco Co., et al.

Respondents.

STATE’S BRIEF & APPENDIX

EDWARD B. MAGARIAN, ESQ. MIKE HATCH

PETER SIPKINS, ESQ. Attorney General

Dorsey & Whitney LLP State of Minnesota

Ste. 1500 Assistant Attorney General

Minneapolis, MN 55402-1498 Atty. Reg. No. 219046

saseacetatiani MICHAEL J. VANSELOW

BRENT R. LINDAHL, ESQ. —_peputy Attorney General

SCOTT G. KNUDSON, ESQ. Atty. Reg. No. 152754

Briggs and Morgan

2200 IDS Center 445 Minnesota Street,

80 South Eighth Street Suite 1100

Minneapolis, MN 55402 St. Paul, Minnesota

(612) 977-8400 55101-2128

(651) 296-0987

ATTORNEYS FOR

PETITIONER

Resp. App. 28a

WALTER A. PICKHARDT, ESQ. KAREN A. JANISCH, ESQ.

Faegre & Benson, LLP 130 State Capitol

2200 Wells Fargo Center 75 Constitution Avenue

90 South Seventh Street St. Paul, MN 55155

Minneapolis, MN 55402 (651) 282-3705

THOMAS H. BOYD, ESQ. COUNSEL

KARL E. ROBINSON, ESQ.

Winthrop & Weinstine, PA

Suite 3500

225 South Sixth Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402-4629

(612) 604-6400

RANDY G. GULLICKSON ESQ.

Anthony Ostlund & Baer, P.A.

90 South Seventh Street,

Suite 3600

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 349-6969

ATTORNEYS FOR

RESPONDENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

pF gt Pty 8 cy _ en iii

SETI TTITITE TIED ncinditsdadennsdénussunmseteannionighiinenstiemioebiimmdetess 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........ccccccoscsccscssssesssoerereees 2

Se NTTE GAY BENNETT citcitcasccsesccecenneccentnevenesvorenstioonts 4

TREE? GEE TREY EEE ET ceecenccesenssversceseccosensoresbeoenecties 11

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ...............sssssscsssssssssrrereeeees 11

SET Fr erecntesceteesvsntnvernesnnieneqneyeeenesesnenononeteesesnereeine 13

I.

Il.

Resp. App. 29a

THE LANGUAGE AND CONTEXT OF THE AGREEMENT

DEMONSTRATE THAT THE PARTIES INTENDED IT To

Bre A MUTUAL RELEASE OF ADJUDICATORY CLAIMS

A. The Settlement Agreement And Consent

Judgment Must Be Construed As A Contract. ..

B. The Language And Context Of The Agree-

ment Demonstrate That The Parties Intended

To Release Only Adjudicatory Claims..............

C. The District Court Improperly Expanded The

State’s Release By Ruling That It Applied To

— And Prohibited — Legislative Enactments. ...

D. Because The Agreement Does Not Surrender

The Legislature’s Power To Impose An Exac-

tion On The Distribution Of Cigarettes, Im-

posing The HIF Does Not Breach Or Impair

inca citeiiecieiiiabacsenididaicatiaainadiiaiinnn

THE TERM “CLAIM” CANNOT BE INTERPRETED TO

INCLUDE LEGISLATIVE EXACTIONS BECAUSE THE

STATE’S RELEASE OF CLAIMS DOES NOT SURRENDER

THE STATE’S SOVEREIGN POLICE AND TAXING Pow-

ERS “IN LANGUAGE Too CLEAR To ADMIT OF

A. The Unmistakability Doctrine Requires That

Government Contracts Be Strictly Construed

Against The Surrender of Sovereign Powers. ..

B. The Agreement Does Not Surrender The Leg-

islature’s Police And Taxing Powers “In Lan-

guage And Terms Too Clear To Admit Of

SUNT schissciisadchenieienceissicsaatasdinlensimaeletcaencesianaaaaaaial

13

13

14

18

21

22

23

Ill.

.&

Resp. App. 30a

The Construction Required By The Unmis-

takability Doctrine Is Confirmed By The Par-

thee’ Deredtlnee Prastien. ...<.ccccescsvseseseesesessomsnsmons

The Construction Required By The Unmis-

takability Doctrine Is Also Required By The

Constitutional Separation Of Powers, Under

Which The Term “Claim” Cannot Be Inter-

preted To Include Legislative Exactions. ..........

IN THE ALTERNATIVE, THE AGREEMENT DOES Not

BAR IMPOSITION AND ENFORCEMENT OF THE HIF

BECAUSE THE AGREEMENT INCORPORATES THE

MINNESOTA CONSTITUTION’S EXPRESS PROHIBITION

AGAINST CONTRACTING AWAY THE TAXING POWER....

A.

The Agreement Incorporates The Minnesota

Constitution’s Express Prohibition Against

Contracting Away The Taxing Power And

Does Not Surrender That Power. .................0068

The HIF Is A Tax Rather Than A Fee Because

Its Express Purpose Is To Raise Revenue And

Because That Revenue Is Ultimately Trans-

ferred To The General Fund To Finance Cus-

tomary Governmental Functions. .............0:00+

EVEN IF THE DISTRICT COURT PROPERLY ENJOINED

THE COMMISSIONER FROM ENFORCING THE HIF

AGAINST DEFENDANTS’ DISTRIBUTORS, IT ERRED BY

RULING THAT CONTINUED ENFORCEMENT AGAINST

INTERVENORS VIOLATES EQUAL PROTECTION GUAR-

SETI, secccricsncliaiisstattaniabiiiibiaiaiacindmiglaeeeeen

A.

The Standard Of Review Under Relevant

27

27

30

30

33

Resp. App. 3la

B. Because Continued Enforcement Of The HIF

Against Intervenors Satisfies Minnesota’s

Three-Factor Rational Basis Test, It Com-

ports With State And Federal Equal Protec-

ETT RE ee aN 48

Ea 51

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Bannum, Inc. v. Town of Ashland, 922 F.2d 197 (4th

ssa iorneeitiibocnesentennes 21

Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly, 533 U.S. 525 (2001).... 1, 49

Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. United States

Nuclear Regulatory Comm’n, 601 F.2d 223 (5th

IIIT ETE isis icin ndsiscednbenasesuenenenneneoapsonedopeeteoetont 41

PTI, Inc. v. Philip Morris, Inc., 100 F. Supp. 2d

ITIL, SEIT 0. scr cedeohepeenedededouttoneseoneneseeneesesnies 49

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Shewry, 423 F.3d 906

IE RE 43

San Juan Cellular Tele. Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm’n,

967 F.26 GBS (Tet Civ, 1992) ....cccccccscecoccccescescooses 35, 40, 41

Springer v. Philippine Islands, 277 U.S. 189 (1928)........ 29

Star Scientific, Inc. v. Beales, 278 F.3d 339 (4th Cir.

SIT Tiida tains ccsmeenneniadecteneeesndseseesentosereeenesetos 1, 48

Sultan Chemists, Inc. v. EPA, 281 F.3d 73 (3d Cir.

TTT nant iodc cca arecieneechendepboussenetepweseuvebooosnieeen 18

Thompson v. Amoco Oil Co., 903 F.2d 1118 (7th Cir.

IIIT nite, cc tcadadaveobegbusincssonstueuereseeouorereneeoneasnes 20

Resp. App. 32a

Union Bank & Trust Co. v. Phelps, 288 U.S. 181

(Fiera csnscinceaniineneiecininiediieliagiigieidanentataitaialadaeaarasdiaiiaiiiiinatiaiaaidal 49

United States v. Armour Co., 402 U.S. 673 (1971)........... 14

United States v. ITT Contl Baking Co., 420 U.S.

AED CTO srcevessccinesicnisngsitiianssiediedicduieeliaadalaiaiaiieiiailaesibdiiaiiae 13

United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839 (1996).... passim

Winthrop Res. Corp. v Stanley Works, 259 F.3d 901

Ns __: RR eT a PO a ns 18

MINNESOTAL CASES

AFSCME Councils 6, 14, 65 & 96 v. Sundquist, 338

See SE ee CONE, TNTIID ececeinistsesctdncernciotnenteniniinnseninins 47

Albrecht v. Sell, 110 N.W.2d 895 (Minn. 1961)................. 31

Amoco Corp. v. Comm’r of Revenue, 658 N.W.2d 859

SL: SITE? wacecendecivsineccencdesendndsdeinecsstbabpasticimansimmnmubaeainiateds 44

Anderson v. State, 435 N.W.2d 74 (Minn. Ct. App.

ae cssecsiciinsiscsipsoecsasiessecticutanitiseniscibamntaseabldadiialeiadiaadiaaetsaiiiaaial 32, 33

Associated Cinemas of Am. v. World Amusement

eR fk A ee vee 21

Barron v. City of Minneapolis, 4 N.W.2d 622 (Minn.

ED sccsicoseiniicientasnesntinhaiiiaiieteaepeainiitiiidiiaiaieahaiiiaidaaieiianiiaeas 35

Carl Bolander & Sons, Inc. v. United Stockyards

Corp., 215 N.W.2d 473 (Minn. 1974)...............cccee000s 13, 14

Cherokee State Bank of St. Paul v. Wallace, 279

Fes ie Se CEE, IED wekasencsvicctaininrinibienantidiininannainaliis 49

City of Duluth v. Marsh, 73 N.W. 962 (Minn. 1898)......... 41

City of Mankato v. Fowler, 20 N.W. 361 (Minn.

DUPED crescenpemseceannerennennenensininendectebidinininedaaieniaiie 41

Resp. App. 33a

Country Joe, Inc. v. City of Eagan, 560 N.W.2d 681

hs SeUMETID csapsisserinicceseiseldinasinslinncciitaisanndineiiniecienntnensainte passim

Despatch Oven Co. v. Rauenhorst, 40 N.W.2d 73

I: SD cesicidincitiaieieiealventindlareninditinniadinninsitiiniibaiiiabicanesedéden 27

Eveleth Taconite Co. v. Minnesota Power & Light

Co., 221 N.W.2d 157 (Minn. 1974) ...........cceeccesseeseeeeeeees 32

Farmers Ins. Group v. Comm’r of Taxation, 153

Fac CE ED GREED: BONUS D sevevecesesceesvencosorsersseecencs 33, 34, 35

Hauschildt v. Beckingham, 686 N.W.2d 829 (Minn.

Spare aitivssnscctesoeeicssadinehedaehieseethesbinierbaesbeiadarecedbabidnienieaiaisaa 17

In re Minnehaha Parkway, 209 N.W. 939 (Minn.

STE vicitcesscccnepiischiesntaniariiicsnsicesadipuandsiaicileasaemadataraaniadaeiliaiiiies, 29, 31

In re Tveten, 402 N.W.2d 551 (Minn. 1987)...........ccccceeeees 47

J.L. Shiely Co. v. County of Stearns, 395 N.W.2d

See CII: SINE Annis sessiciicnnlasectnshueidllacabasdiebmeniiauiesenedies 46

Jacobsen v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 392 N.W.2d 868

STEED: : SIU corisnsephsochashnniopsashelioiiehdssetccncppaibvnneiccietiaeedaslebeibdioaloieaiehiguie 21

John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Comm’r of

Revenue, 497 N.W.2d 250 (Minn. 1993)...............000 46, 48

Kolton v. County of Anoka, 645 N.W.2d 403 (Minn.

Ti aciiiisisiieodaiiniiacahandiiniitedesalnianiuinininaadniabeiat 1, 46, 47, 50

Lake Superior Paper Industries v. State, 624

Gt __. : ner EON OE 11

Martin ex rel. Hoff v. City of Rochester, 642 N.W.2d

ls Bee isceistedinsiieninnticcitntdebiniesiadedicciebiaeicbnigunininaiens 17

Metro. Sports Facilities Comm’n v. County of

Hennepin, 478 N.W.2d 487 (Minn. 1991)...........cceceeeeees 48

Minneapolis Gas Co. v. Zimmerman, 91 N.W.2d 642

ST, TIT ichinphitsitieesibdaniosinsiitiinblinianebianaciemecnnennbidel 1, 25, 29

Motorsports Racing Plus, Inc. v. Arctic Cat Sales,

Inc., 666 N.W.2d 320 (Minn. 2003) ............cccceceeesereee 1,14

Resp. App. 34a

Nelson v. Am. Family Ins. Group, 651 N.W.2d 499

Ss SII staivahieiiadasi oi La iid hbind ne hcabnbiiinladiaouaeeeiaiiaiarcmpnenien 11

Progressive Specialty Ins. Co. v. Widness ex rel.

Widness, 635 N.W.2d 516 (Minn. 2001)... eeeeeeee 11

Propp v. Johnson, 300 N.W. 615 (Minn. 1941)............ 31, 32

Pullman Co. v. Comm’r of Taxation, 25 N.W.2d 838

NL INT scaceuiadiahaniiecicahibnieceinianiniaiebeanidabdesaiuaiknecuiiasins 43

Ramaley v. City of St. Paul, 33 N.W.2d 19 (Minn.

SITU ics dabidiinddinibidadicnibtahabin ta binialilertasacannvivsiiiainianannives passim

Rio Vista Non-Profit Housing Corp. v. County of

Ramsey, 335 N.W.2d 242 (Minn. 1983)..............c:seeeeee 48

Slezak v. Ousdigian, 110 N.W.2d 1 (Minn. 1961)............. 28

State ex rel. Hahn v. Young, 9 N.W. 737 (Minn.

SRSA RE AEs i nee eet aN EOE De 24, 31

State ex rel. Schmidt v. Youngquist, 227 N.W. 891

SIS III sisi cialis listoslaseidbdiddlinmenhedneveesabadeniiawainiah tienen 28

State v. Great N. Ry., 119 N.W. 202 (Minn.

Ri iid idaslasnsahicentisainiviiccanscdnbianbneatiacsbeisieniien 1, 22, 25, 26

State v. Hovorka, 110 N.W. 870 (Minn, 1907).................6 34

State v. Labo’s Direct Serv., 44 N.W.2d 823 (Minn.

ITT sidookdntelicen ibaciciadaeintat tidal atancncas sitoaditveadnansinsaned eoeaiveamieniads 4l

State v. N. Raceway Corp., 381 N.W.2d 526 (Minn.

Sais UII IEE ictineasdnioensensiiendasebpoanedddanssoensennsabeiesdtnenipedasvens 41

Village of Minneota v. Martin, 145 N.W. 383 (Minn.

STITT ceshitehbisliibnciatidieusiceipieninnsedatieouineniniseubiihaiaudindeenteueinsaveial 34, 41

W. States Util. Co. v. City of Waseca, 65 N.W.2d 255

Nt: SD iincedintabiensinnnnsiasadeenntidapenbdinbidedabnniiimieniiete 32

Resp. App. 35a

Westling v. County of Mille Lacs, 581 N.W.2d 815

nA, PE cies sscapnieclccecesteachanisiasitpsanialipucdsatscanelatad ab ibiaibdinahas 48

William Lindeke Land Co. v. Kalman, 252 N.W. 650

ei: IENUUIE cinsuccctusickengunabdeouaneiesddeiiudianddiniadaiiadinndiaaeientata 32

OTHER STATE CASES

City of North Little Rock v. Graham, 647 S.W.2d

Fe is: See icvscsincnscbininseseisiienseliatnisngitiinineeiaaidilaniansts 38

Denice v. Spotswood I. Quinby, Inc., 237 A.2d 4 (Md.

Sia icsiesieinincictaiasshaasiniintdagtihiasidasicaienapatidniaudariiadiadaaamieasiaeds 31, 32

Globe v. Cent. Sec. Mut. Ins. Co., 260 N.E.2d 860

CEs ean SUN, PUNO wikecsesieentnsevennnsiiabiaieeducocneincebddaansinase 31, 32

Hixon v. City of Philadelphia, 32 Pa. D. & C. 436

6s Bs | ee See EO 49

Okeson v. City of Seattle, 78 P.3d 1279 (Wash.

MOET cocisdahisniniinisttideladiceniietbcihianiaapilmadiamidiamasaaaiie 34, 40, 41, 42

People v. Bd. of Managers - New City Condo., 474

N.Y.S.2d 376 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1984)........cccrccsosesseeveocrcevers 35

President Riverboat Casino-Missouri v. Missouri

Gaming Comm’n, 13 S.W.3d 635 (Mo. 2000)........... 35, 36

Radio Common Carriers v. State, 601 N.Y.S.2d 513

Cte SN erly PUNE Pvcenestntensusdetiniemnegneimenenininnnintnnniensinnd 34

River Falls v. St. Bridget’s Catholic Church of River

Falls, 513 N.W.2d 673 (Wis. Ct. App. 1994).................. 34

Sch. Dist. No. One of Pima County v. Hastings, 472

ee Cs inca cocensiceinickstaectidecvademiannucciecnpianaaintnia’ 32

State ex rel. Petrol. Underground Storage Tank

Release Comp. Bd. v. Withrow, 579 N.E.2d 705

SEEN SUNITA) aciscistidtunsinupsshintcinsnveiaedotiaducsiienelavmnmamiianeniiessats 34

Wetzel County Solid Waste Auth. v. West Virginia

Div. of Nat. Res., 462 S.E.2d 349 (W.Va. 1995)............. 39

Resp. App. 36a

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

I a I 21

I Ets IIs Us OF Ui iiacteesesnsnnscccniiceisnntouioniecnasaiatiéaianbbdenaanias 46

hy A TINE Sila TP Raccectseseucneisencdenimoneiseciacduicanieiis 28, 29

ls MIs MIE, TUTE Th ni csccncictctnsciusetnsnaimiinieniuenumssaibedéaueaiiias 28

Pens SIs MIs: Bilin: UE Bcccsncnccevnenekictencenciutstenesnionianinine passim

I ee 47

ey ee, SI EI Oo camseemmnenaoiaiaa 46

A a I i eens 21

MINNESOTA STATUTES AND LAWS

Act of April 28, 1947, ch. 619, §§ 1-2, 1947 Minn.

ES Ti cis ceihhucchdenpbimcunidetadiiscendadatesddadamddamnamelenbini 6, 38

Act of Dec. 27, 1906, 1907 Minn. Laws ix...............ceece00e 31

Act of July 14, 2005, ch. 4, art. 4, §§ 1-6, 2005

Minn. Laws (1st Sp. Sess.) 2541-44... eee eees passim

hc Se ae ET cicchicticiscincuidencsgoininnoiabdeinatbapunencediin 38

NE rele Se CPi inciscidan'scsdnicemneynntnanatichsbnsntetiisovedandoncaiavinuancs ame

I, SUNG OF SIL UTE saisiceciveesssrncecicseinsbbniniseienitiasssiadcdatmnnnbentil 8, 39

Minn. Stat. § 297F.05, subd. 1 (2004)... eeeeeeeeeee 37

Minn. Stat. § 297F.05, subd. 1 (Supp. 1997)... eee 6

Bs Cis Oe UA i cacichivsssisinnericiinsatcenicabsaguseniaeniicurideietencomanssenians 28

Se Se WP tsi ccanceusdnsekoiesanceitanncincilicnbinsinaidinidhuindalaseiinaiaueaatias 28

BL PUI: OP Ut ail cicssenesibacinseiucceesemiebdennbacotedsasiiesianmsnsinaeubadens 28

Resp. App. 37a

OTHER AUTHORITIES

71 Am.Jur.2d State and Local Taxation § 21 (1973)........ 44

Bill Salisbury, Pawlenty Battered, Unbowed at

Capitol, St. Paul Pioneer Press, July 17, 2005......... 7, 38

Black’s Law Dictionary (8th ed. 2004)...............0004 17, 43, 44

Bob Geiger, MN Marketing Briefs: June 11, 2005,

Finance & Commerce (Minneapolis, MN).................6 38

Dan Browning, The Budget Deal, Minneapolis Star

FEGUS, FUT 18, BOOS cericrncevemninetomnnanan 33

Minnesota Def: Lawyers Ass’n Release Deskbook,

App. of Forms (Eric J. Magnuson & Stephen O.

PemOEE CR. BD ccviiecsnnckstsstnckeatesteddigtoviansataedaladuen 19

Minnesota Dep’t of Human Services, About DHS,

Department Overview, http:/Awww.dhs.state.mn.

us/main/groups/agencywide/documents/pub/DHS

J DOGBI OU vc crissisrisccssssstcstenictniaenieddieiiaaaa 37

Minnesota Department of Finance, Minnesota

State Budget, General Fund Piecharts, http://

www.budget.state.mn.us/budget/summary/charts/

QEOBIG. hCG ver itedacneveincccscteriviteenpnn 37

Minnesota House of Representatives, Fiscal

Analysts, Minnesota General Fund Forecasted

Revenues, Fiscal Years 2006 & 2007, http://www.

house.leg.state.mn.us/fiscal/files/067fromt.pdf ............ 37

Minnesota State Senate, 2005 State Fair Poll,

http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/departments/

secretary/info/statefair/2005/fair_survey. pdf................ 41

Il.

Resp. App. 38a

LEGAL ISSUES

Does the language and context of the 1998

Settlement Agreement demonstrate that the

parties intended the Agreement to provide a

mutual release of adjudicatory claims only?

¢ The district court ruled that the Agreement sur-

rendered legislative powers as well as adjudica-

tory claims.

Motorsports Racing Plus, Inc. v. Arctic Cat

Sales, Inc., 666 N.W.2d 320 (Minn. 2003).

Did the State’s release of “claims” in the

Agreement surrender the Legislature’s sover-

eign police and taxing powers “in language

and terms too clear to admit of doubt”?

¢ The district court implicitly ruled in the affirma-

tive.

State v. Great N. Ry., 119 N.W. 202 (Minn.

1908).

United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839

(1996).

Minneapolis Gas Co. v. Zimmerman, 91

N.W.2d 642 (Minn. 1958).

III. Does the Agreement bar enforcement of the

Health Impact Fee (“HIF”) when the Agree-

ment incorporates by operation of law the

Minnesota Constitution’s express prohibition

against contracting away the Legislature’s

taxing power?

¢ The district court did not reach this issue.

Minn. Const. art. X, § 1.

Country Joe, Inc. v. City of Eagan, 560

N.W.2d 681 (Minn. 1997).

Resp. App. 39a

Ramaley v. City of St. Paul, 33 N.W.2d 19

(Minn. 1948).

IV. If the HIF cannot be enforced against Defen-

dants’ Distributors, does continued enforce-

ment of the HIF against the Intervenors

violate the Intervenors’ equal protection

rights?

e The district court ruled that continued enforce-

ment of the HIF against Intervenors violates

their equal protection rights.

Kolton v. County of Anoka, 645 N.W.2d 403

(Minn. 2002).

Lorillard Tobacco Co. v. Reilly, 533 U.S. 525

(2001).

Star Scientific, Inc. v. Beales, 278 F.3d 339

(4th Cir. 2002).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 8, 1998, the country’s four largest tobacco

manufacturers (“Settling Defendants” or “Defendants”)’

entered a Settlement Agreement with the State to resolve

— before an empanelled jury could — the State’s pending

litigation. See generally Appendix (“App.”) at 37-71 (Set-

tlement Agreement dated May 8, 1998). On August 26,

2005, Defendants brought a motion in Ramsey County

District Court to enforce that Agreement. See App. at 1-5’

’ “Settling Defendants” include Phillip Morris USA, Inc., R.J.

Reynolds Tobacco Company, Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corporation

and Lorillard Tobacco Company.

* Defendants proceeded by motion because the Consent Judgment

accompanying the Settlement Agreement provides that “[j]urisdiction of

(Continued on following page)

Resp. App. 40a

Nine of their distributors (“Defendants’ Distributors”)

intervened without objection. Together, Defendants and

their distributors asserted that the 2005 Health Impact

Fee (“HIF”) — a legislatively imposed exaction on the

distribution of cigarettes — is a “released claim” under the

Agreement and, consequently, could not be enforced

against them.

The Council of Independent Tobacco Manufacturers of

America and Commonwealth Brands, Inc. (“Intervenors”)

separately moved to intervene. Intervenors are tobacco

manufacturers and distributors that are not parties to, or

beneficiaries of, the Settlement Agreement. Intervenors

alleged that the HIF could not be enforced against them if

the district court invalidated the HIF as to the Settling

Defendants and their distributors.

The State asserted that the HIF is a valid legislative

exaction not prohibited by the Settlement Agreement and,

consequently, that requiring Defendants’ Distributors to

pay the HIF does not violate the Agreement. The State

further argued that, even if the district court prohibited

enforcement of the HIF against Defendants’ Distributors,

continued enforcement against Intervenors would not

violate equal protection principles.

In an Order dated December 20, 2005, the district

court, the Honorable Michael F. Fetsch presiding, held

that imposing the HIF on Defendants’ Distributors

breached the Settlement Agreement and violated the

Contracts Clauses of the state and federal constitutions.

App. at 14, 16. The court then concluded that imposing the

this case is retained [in the Ramsey Count District Court] for the

purpose of enforcement. . . .” See App. at 80.

Resp. App. 41a

HIF on Intervenors alone would deprive them “of equal

protection under the Uniform Taxation Clause of the

Minnesota Constituuion,” and “would be the functional

equivalent of a special legislation” favoring Defendants.

Id. 16-18. The district court subsequently stayed enforce-

ment of its Order pending resolution of this appeal. See id.

at 20-21.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

A. The Minnesota Tobacco Litigation and

Settlement

On August 17, 1994, the State, through then-Attorney

General Hubert H. Humphrey III, commenced suit (the

“State Tobacco Lawsuit”) against Defendants and others.

The State alleged, among other things, that Defendants,

through deceit, misrepresentation and active concealment,

profited from a product they knew to be deadly and addic-

tive even as they marketed it to children. See generally

Defs.’ Mem. Supp. Mot. Enforcmnt. Settlmt. Agrmt. (“Defs.’

Mem.”), Affidavit of Edward B. Magarian (“Magarian

Aff.”), Ex. B., (State Tobacco Lawsuit, Second Amended

Complaint dated Jan. 6, 1998).

The State asserted nine causes of action against

Defendants, including both common law claims (e.g.,

unjust enrichment) and statutory claims (e.g., consumer

fraud, false advertising, unlawful and deceptive trade

practices and antitrust). Jd. at 30-37. The State sought an

award of substantial compensatory, punitive and treble

damages, civil penalties, and equitable and injunctive

relief. Id. at 37-40.

In May 1998, after a lengthy trial, but before the jury

returned a verdict in the State Tobacco Lawsuit, the State

Resp. App. 42a

and Defendants entered into the Settlement Agreement

and jointly obtained entry of a Consent Judgment (to-

gether, the “Agreement”). The Agreement lies at the center

of the current dispute between the parties.

The parties entered the Agreement to resolve the legal

claims made by Minnesota: “to settle and resolve with

finality all claims... relating to the subject matter of this

action which have been or could have been asserted by the

State of Minnesota.” App. at 37; see id. at 50-52 (State’s

release of claims). Defendants likewise released all of their

“claims” against the State, see id. at 52-53, and they

agreed to make specified payments in exchange for the

“dismissal and release of claims by the State of Minne-

sota.” Id. at 39. The term “claims” is defined in relevant

part as follows:

[T]he State of Minnesota shall release and for-

ever discharge all Defendants and their... dis-

tributors ... from any and all manner of civil

claims, demands, actions, suits and causes of ac-

tion, damages whenever incurred, liabilities of

any nature whatsoever, including civil penalties,

as well as costs, expenses and attorneys’ fees,

known or unknown, suspected or unsuspected,

accred or unaccrued, whether legal, equitable or

statutory (“Claims”) that the State of Minnesota

(including any of its past, present or future ad-

ministrators, representatives, employees, offi-

cers, attorneys, agents, representatives, officials

acting in their official capacities, agencies, de-

partments, commissions, and divisions, and

whether or not any such person or entity partici-

pates in the settlement), whether directly, indi-

rectly, representatively, derivatively or in any

other capacity, ever had, now has or hereafter

can, shall or may have, as follows:

Resp. App. 43a

for past conduct, as to any Claims relating

to the subject matter of this action... ; and

for future conduct, only as to monetary

Claims directly or indirectly based on, aris-

ing out of or in any way related to, in whole

or in part, the use of or exposure to Tobacco

Products manufactured in the ordinary

course of business, including without limita-

tion any future claims for reimbursement for

health care costs allegedly associated with

use of or exposure to Tobacco Products.

App. at 50-51 (emphasis added).

As part of its release, the State covenanted and agreed

that it would not “hereafter sue or seek to establish civil

liability against any person or entity covered by the

release ... based, in whole or in part, upon any of the

Released Claims.” App. at 52. The State further agreed

that “this covenant and agreement shall be a complete

defense to any such civil action or proceeding.” Id. (empha-

sis added).

Attorney General Humphrey was the sole elected

state official to sign the Agreement. App.. at 20. The

Agreement was never presented to or ratified by the

Legislature.

The Settlement Agreement and an accompanying

Consent Judgment were submitted by the parties to the

Court, and the Honorable Kenneth J. Fitzpatrick approved

and entered the Consent Judgment. See App. at 72-82. The

Consent Judgment resolved “all claims set forth in the

State’s Second Amended Complaint against Defendants,

which are hereby dismissed with prejudice, and shall

constitute the final disposition of this action.” Jd. at 80.

Resp. App. 44a

‘B. The Minnesota Cigarette Excise Tax

When Minnesota’s Settlement Agreement was negoti-

ated and executed, the State imposed an excise tax of 48

cents per pack upon the sale of cigarettes. See Minn. Stat.

§ 297F.05, subd. 1 (Supp. 1997).’ The State has continued

to collect from distributors, without objection, the excise

tax for cigarettes manufactured by the Settling Defen-

dants.

C. The Minnesota Health Impact Fee

On July 14, 2005, Governor Pawlenty signed into law

a Tobacco Health Impact Fee effective August 1, 2005. See

Act of July 14, 2005, ch. 4, art. 4, §§ 1-6, 2005 Minn. Laws

(Ist Sp. Sess.) 2541-44 (the “Act”) (App. at 33-36). The Act

was introduced during a special legislative session and

produced the political compromise that enabled Minnesota

to balance its budget.’ The Act declares that “[a] tobacco

use health impact fee is imposed on and collected from

cigarette distributors,” and it specifies two purposes: “to

recover for the state health costs related to or caused by

tobacco use and to reduce tobacco use, particularly by

* Minnesota began taxing the sale of cigarettes in 1947. See Act of

April 28, 1947, ch. 619, §§ 1-2, 1947 Minn. Laws 1122-24 (codified as

amended at Minn. Stat. § 297.01-02 (1549)).

* See, e.g., Bill Salisbury, Pawlenty Battered, Unbowed at Capitol,

St. Paul Pioneer Press, July 17, 2005, at 1A (“The tobacco charge,

Pawlenty said this week, is what it took to broker the deal that ended

the partisan dogfight at the Capitol and pass a balanced budget that

provides a big infusion of new cash for K-12 schools.”).

Resp. App. 45a

youths.” Act § 2, subd. 1. The HIF was imposed at the rate

of 75 cents per pack. Id. § 2, subd. 3(a).°

The HIF is administered by the Commissioner of

Revenue (“Commissioner”), who also administers the

State’s cigarette excise tax imposed by Minn. Stat.

§ 297F.05. Indeed, the Act provides that “[a] distributor

must pay the fee at the same time and in the same man-

ner as provided for payment of [the cigarette excise] tax

under chapter 297F.” Jd. at § 2, subd. 4. Failure to pay

either of these exactions can lead to the revocation of a

distributor’s license.’ See id. § 2, subd. 8; Minn. Stat.

§ 297F.04, subd. 1 (2004).

The Act also “created in the state treasury a health

impact fund to which must be credited all revenue from

the health impact fee.” Act § 1, subd. 1; see also id. § 2,

subd. 9 (directing that fee revenue be credited to fund).

The Act requires the Commissioner of Human Services to

certify to the Commissioner of Finance each year “the

state share, by fund, of tobacco use attributable costs for

the previous fiscal year in Minnesota health care pro-

grams, including medical assistance, general assistance

medical care, and MinnesotaCare, or other applicable

expenditures.” Jd. §1, subd. 2. The Commissioner of

Fimance must then transfer “to the general fund an

amount sufficient to offset the general fund cost of the

* The Act also imposed a floor stocks fee at the same rate to

account for cigarettes already in stock or on the shelves. Act § 5,

subd. 2.

* By selling cigarette stamps for $1.485 each, the Commissioner

actually collects three charges at once: (a) the 75-cent HIF; (b) the 48-

cent cigarette excise tax; and (c) the State’s 25.5-cent cigarette sales

tax.

Resp. App. 46a

certified expenditures ... or the balance of the fund,

whichever is less.” Jd. §1, subd. 3(a). If a balance remains,

the Finance Commissioner must then transfer “to the

health care access fund the amount sufficient to offset the

health care access fund cost of the certified expenditures.”

Id. § 1, subd. 3{b).

D. Motion to Enforce Settlement Agreement

On August 26, 2005, Defendants moved to enforce the

Agreement. Defendants noted that the Agreement released

Defendants and their distributors from any “claims” to

recover State healthcare costs attributable to tobacco use,

and they asserted that the HIF qualifies as a released

“claim.” Defendants argued that imposing the HIF on their

distributors therefore breached the Agreement and vio-

lated the Contracts Clauses of the United States and

Minnesota Constitutions. Intervenors asserted that if the

district court invalidated the HIF as to Defendants and

their distributors, continued enforcement of the HIF

against Intervenors would violate equal protection.

The State responded that the HIF is a legislative

exaction rather than a released “claim” under the Agree-

ment and, consequently, that the Agreement does not bar

collection of the HIF from Defendants’ Distributors. The

State also argued that the Agreement incorporates the

Minnesota Constitution’s express prohibition against

contracting away the State’s taxing power, and therefore

cannot bar collection of the HIF, which is in substance a

tax upon the distribution and sale of cigarettes. Finally,

the State argued that, even if the district court prohibited

enforcement of the HIF against Defendants’ Distributors,

Resp. App. 47a

continued enforcement against Intervenors would not

violate equal protection.

By Order dated December 20, 2005, the district court

enjoined the Commissioner from enforcing the HIF against

both Defendants’ Distributors and Intervenors. App. at 9.

The court rejected the State’s argument that the Agree-

ment’s release of “claims” did not apply to legislative

exactions. The court reasoned that this “reading of the

release, which would limit its operating effect only to

‘judicial claims,’ ignores definition [sic] of claims within

the settlement agreement, which is much broader, and

includes ‘. . . liabilities of any nature whatsoever’ including

those of a ‘statutory nature.” Jd. at 14. The court found

that “[t]he H.I.F. is statutory in nature and directly im-

poses that from which the defendants are protected by the

Settlement Agreement.” Jd. The court further concluded

that the HIF is a “fee” rather than a tax, and that it

violates the State’s release. Jd. at 13.

The court further determined that “defendants have

proven a ‘contracts clause’ violation.” App. at 16. “Here the

state seeks to abrogate that which what [sic] it has prom-

ised but offers neither to forego future payments or to

refund past payments.” Jd. The court considered it “impos-

sible to find that the [HIF] legislation is a reasonable

device which serves the end of protecting the vital inter-

ests of the community.” Jd. For these reasons, the court

enjoined the Commissioner from enforcing the HIF against

Defendants’ Distributors.

The court next concluded that “[t/he resultant situa-

tion creates an anomoly [sic] in the marketplace by which

the settling defendants’ products will have a distinct

marketplace advantage in price.” App. at 16-17.

Resp. App. 48a

In light of my decision above, the H.I.F., as ap-

plied to the distributors of nonsettling defen-

dants, who comprise approximately ten percent

of the market, will be selectively enforced only as

to the remaining ten percent. None of the stat-

ute’s stated statutory goals will be fulfilled. The

nonsettling defendants will be singled out and

deprived of equal protection under the Uniform

Taxation Ciause of the Minnesota Constitution.

App. at 17. The court thus enjoined the Commissioner

from enforcing the HIF against Intervenors. Jd. at 9. The

court subsequently stayed enforcement of its Order pend-

ing resolution of this appeal. See id. at 20-21.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Because the facts in this case are undisputed, “only

questions of statutory and contract interpretation remain.”

Progressive Specialty Ins. Co. v. Widness ex rel. Widness,

635 N.W.2d 516, 518 (Minn. 2001). These are legal issues

subject to de novo review. Id.; Lake Superior Paper Indus-

tries v. State, 624 N.W.2d 254, 258 (Minn. 2001). Cf. also

Nelson v. Am. Family Ins. Group, 651 N.W.2d 499, 503

(Minn. 2002) (holding that where district court grants

summary judgment based on application of statute to

undisputed facts, result is legal conclusion that appellate

court reviews de novo). The decisional standards governing

particular issues are discussed below.

Resp. App. 49a

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case involves an attempt by tobacco manufactur-

ers to advance an implausible construction of an agree-

ment settling litigation claims to block the valid exercise of

the Legislature’s sovereign police and taxing powers.

Imposing the HIF upon Defendants’ Distributors does

not violate the 1998 Settlement Agreement. The Agree-

ment is a mutual release of adjudicatory claims only. The

State promised that it would never “sue or seek to estab-

lish civil liability against any person . . . based, in whole or

in part, upon any of the Released Claims.” App. at 52. The

language and context of the Agreement demonstrate that

it does not surrender the Legislature’s sovereign power to

impose a tax or fee upon the distribution of cigarettes.

Moreover, even if there were some question about

whether the term “claims” in the Agreement encompasses

legislative exactions, any doubt over the construction of

the Agreement must be resolved in the State’s favor.

Courts have long held that government contracts must be

strictly construed against the surrender of the State’s

sovereign police and taxing powers. In fact, under the

“unmistakability doctrine,” any contractual relinquish-

ment of these powers must be stated “in language and

terms too clear to admit of doubt.” For these reasons —

regardless of whether it is a tax or a fee — the HIF is a

legislative exaction rather than a released “claim” under

the Agreement. Therefore, imposing the HIF does not

breach or impair the Agreement.

In the alternative, the Minnesota Constitution pro-

vides that “t]he power of taxation shall never be surren-

dered, suspended or contracted away.” Minn. Const. art. X,

§ 1. Consequently, the Agreement could not, as a matter of

Resp. App. 50a

law, contract away the State’s power to tax the distribu-

tion of cigarettes. Despite its label as a “fee,” the HIF is

really a tax on cigarette distribution. As such, the HIF is

not a released “claim” and could not possibly breach or

impair the Agreement.

Finally, even if the district court properly enjoined the

Commissioner from enforcing the HIF against Defendants’

Distributors, it erred by ruling that continued enforcement

of the HIF against Intervenors violates equal protection

guarantees. Equal protection is not offended when the

State enforces a law of general application against all

parties over whom it has lawful enforcement authority.

ARGUMENT

I. THE LANGUAGE AND CONTEXT OF THE AGREEMENT

DEMONSTRATE THAT THE PARTIES INTENDED IT TO

BE A MUTUAL RELEASE OF ADJUDICATORY CLAIMS

ONLY.

The HIF is not a released “claim” under the Agree-

ment. The language and context of the Agreement demon-

strate that the parties drafted and executed a mutual

release of adjudicatory claims only. This construction of

the Agreement is further compelled by application of the

well-established “unmistakability doctrine” discussed in

Argument II below. Accordingly, the State’s release of

claims in the Agreement does not apply to, or prohibit,

future legislative exactions such as the HIF. Because the

Resp. App. 5la

district court erred in its cursory analysis of this issue,

this Court should reverse.’

A. The Settlement Agreement And Consent

Judgment Must Be Construed As A Con-

tract.

Consent judgments are entered into by parties after

careful negotiations concerning precise terms, and must be

“construed for enforcement purposes basically as a con-

tract.” United States v. ITT Cont’l Baking Co., 420 U.S.

223, 238 (1975). Accordingly, the Agreement must be

interpreted to “give effect to the mutual intention of the

parties at the time of contracting.” Carl Bolander & Sons,

Inc. v. United Stockyards Corp., 215 N.W.2d 473, 476

(Minn. 1974) (internal quotation marks and citation

omitted). “[T]he scope of a consent decree must be dis-

cerned within its ‘our corners.” United States v. Armour

Co., 402 U.S. 673, 681 (1971).

The Court’s duty is “to declare the meaning of what is

written in the instrument.” Carl Bolander & Sons, 215

N.W.2d at 476. To arrive at that meaning, courts must

construe contract terms in the context of the entire docu-

ment, reading together and harmonizing terms where

possible. See Motorsports Racing Plus, Inc. v. Arctic Cat

Sales, Inc., 666 N.W.2d 320, 324 (Minn. 2003) (“Intent is

ascertained... from a process of synthesis in which the

words and phrases are given a meaning in accordance

’ The Court need not reach the issues addressed in Arguments II,

III and IV below if it rules, based on the language and context of the

Agreement, that the State’s release of “claims” did not surrender

legislative authority.

Resp. App. 52a

with the obvious purpose of the contract... as a whole.”).

“Where the parties express their intent in unambiguous

words, those words are to be given their plain and ordi-

nary meaning.” /d. at 323.

B. The Language And Context Of The

Agreement Demonstrate That The Parties

Intended To Release Only Adjudicatory

Claims.

The familiar principles of construction set forth above

make clear that the “claims” released by Minnesota did

not encompass future legislative enactments of taxes or

fees, but instead were limited to adjudicatory claims.

1. The Purpose of the Agreement was to

Resolve Particular Adjudicatory Claims.

The purpose of the Agreement was to resolve the

particular legal claims made by Minnesota in its underly-

ing lawsuit. The Settlement Agreement states, for exam-

ple, that it “resolve[s] with finality all claims ... relating

to the subject matter of this action which have been or

could have been asserted by the State of Minnesota.” App.

at 37 (emphasis added)." Defendants agreed to make

specified payments in exchange for the “dismissal and

release of claims by the State of Minnesota.” Jd. at 39

(emphasis added). The Consent Judgment likewise recites

that it “resolves all claims set forth in the State’s Second

* See also App. at 50 (stating that Settlement Agreement “resolves

all claims between State and Defendants” and that upon approval by

Court, final judgment shall enter “dismissing with prejudice all claims

as to all Defendants”) (emphasis added).

Resp. App. 53a

Amended Complaint ... and shall constitute the final

disposition of this action.” Jd. at 80 (emphasis added). The

purpose of the Settlement Agreement and Consent Judg-

ment — resolving 9n active lawsuit involving specific

pending legal claims - demonstrates that the released

“claims” were likewise legal claims.

2. The Parties’ Definition of “Claims” Re-

fers to Adjudicatory Claims.

The parties’ definition of “claims” clearly refers to

adjudicatory claims. The Agreement defines “claims” in

the State’s release as “any and all manner of civil claims,

demands, actions, suits and causes of action, damages

whenever incurred, liabilities of any nature whatsoever,

including civil penalties, as well as costs, expenses and

attorneys’ fees, known or unknown, suspected or unsus-

pected, accrued or unaccrued, whether legal, equitable or

statutory (‘Claims’)... .” App. at 50-51. By means of almost

identical language contained in a separate provision,

Defendants released their “claims” against the State. See

id. at 52-53. The Agreement is thus, in part, a mutual

release of claims.

The adjudicatory context is apparent when the lan-

guage of the Agreement’s release provisions is read to

harmonize rather than fragment their words and phrases.

The term “claims” used in both provisions ceptures three

general categories. The opening group of terms in the

definition — “civil claims, demands, actions, suits and

causes of action” — are all variants of adjudicatory proceed-

ings and the causes of action asserted therein. The next

group — “damages whenever incurred, liabilities of any

nature whatsoever, including civil penalties” — ar» expenses

Resp. App. 54a

that can result from the adjudication of claims. The final

group — “costs, expenses and attorneys’ fees” — are ex-

penses associated with pursuing judicial claims. In draft-

ing their settlement agreement, the parties used the term

“claims” in its ordinary sense, to refer to lawsuits and the

liabilities and costs incident to such suits, whether the

basis of the suits was “legal, equitable or statutory.”

This typical meaning is confirmed by the covenant in

the State’s release, which refers exclusively to the adjudi-

catory context:

The State of Minnesota hereby covenants

and agrees that it shall not hereafter sue or seek

to establish civil liability against any person or

entity covered by the release ... based, in whole

or in part, upon any of the Released Claims, and

the State of Minnesota agrees that this covenant

and agreement shall be a complete defense to any

such civil action or proceeding.

App. at 52 (emphasis added). The parties did not, as

Defendants assert, use the term “claims” in a strained and

unnatural way, to encompass legislative acts.”

* The terms “claim” and “cause of action” are virtually synonymous

and both pertain to the adjudicatory context. Black’s Law Dictionary,

for example, defines “claim” in relevant part as follows:

1. The aggregate of operative facts giving rise to a

right enforceable by a court. .. . 2. The assertion of an exist-

ing right; any right to payment or to an equitable remedy,

even if contingent or provisional. . . . 3. A demand for money,

property, or a legal remedy to which one asserts a right;

esp., the part of a complaint in a civil action specifying what

relief the plaintiff asks for. ... 4. An interest or remedy rec-

ognized at law; the means by which a person can obtain a

privilege, possession or enjoyment of a right or thing; cause

of action. ...

(Continued on following page)

Resp. App. 55a

3. When the Parties Referred to Future

Legislative Action in the Agreement,

They Expressly Used the Term “Legis-

lation.”

Defendants are highly sophisticated entities that have

for decades been subject to a myriad of state and federal

legislative regulation and taxation. Had the parties

actually intended the State’s release to surrender the

Minnesota Legislature’s sovereign authority to impose

either a regulatory fee or a tax upon the distribution of

cigarettes, they would have used suitable language to

indicate this intention. Indeed, the parties consistently

used the word “legislation” in the Agreement to identify

future action by either Congress or the Minnesota Legisla-

ture, and they referred to these legislative assemblies by

name. The parties specified, for example:

¢ How “[t]he enactment of federal tobacco-related

legislation” will affect the Agreement. See gener-

ally App. at 48.

¢ That Defendants shall not “[s]upport in Congress

or any forum, /egislation, rules or policies which

would preempt, override, or abrogate or diminish

the State’s rights or recoveries under this

Agreement.” Jd. at 54.

¢ That Defendants shall not “[o]ppose the passage

of those future Minnesota legislative proposals or

administrative rules intended by their terms to

Black’s Law Dictionary 264 (8th ed. 2004). See alse Hauschildt v.

Beckingham, 686 N.W.2d 829, 840 (Minn. 2004) (stating that “claim”

and “cause of action” “can »e used interchangeably”), Marvin ex rel. Hoff

uv. City of Rochester, 642 N.W.2d 1, 9 (Minn. 2002) (stating that a claim

or cause of action is “a group of operative facts giving rise to one or

more bases for suing”).

Resp. App. 56a

reduce tobacco use by children listed on Schedule

B. (The foregoing does not prohibit Settling De-

fendants from resisting enforcement of, or suing

for declaratory or injunctive relief with respect to

any such /egislation or rule on any grounds.)” Jd.

¢ That “the parties recognize that Congress is con-

sidering national tobacco legislation and have

agreed to settle this case on a basis which ac-

knowledges possible federal legislation, but

which guarantees to the people of Minnesota the

relief granted herein.” Jd. at 69.

Had the parties intended a surrender of State legislative

powers in addition to the legal claims identified in the

State’s release, they would have made their intention

plain by using the term “legislation” as they frequently did

elsewhere in the Agreement. The terms “claims” and

“legislation” are distinct, have different meanings, and

cannot be used interchangeably. See, e.g., Winthrop Res.

Corp. v. Stanley Works, 259 F.3d 901, 905 (8th Cir. 2001)

(refusing to equate two separate contract terms and

holding that distinct terms have separate meanings);

Sultan Chemists, Inc. v. EPA, 281 F.3d 73, 79-80 (3d Cir.

2002) (same).

C. The District Court Improperly Expanded

The State’s Release By Ruling That It Ap-

plied To - And Prohibited - Legislative En-

actments.

The district court reasoned that the State’s release

encompasses legislative impositions merely because it

includes the phrase: “liabilities of any nature whatsoever.”

App. at 14. This ruling is incorrect for several reasons.

First, some broad mention of “all liabilities” is boilerplate

Resp. App. 57a

language routinely used in release-of-claims provisions

resolving adjudicatory disputes. See, e.g., Minnesota Def.

Lawyers Ass’n Release Deskbook, App. of Forms at F-1

(Eric J. Magnuson & Stephen O. Plunkett eds. 1998). For

example, the model version of a “Full and Final Release of

All Claims” states:

IN CONSIDERATION of the payment of... ,

I/we do hereby release and forever discharge

[DEFENDANT] .. . from any and all liability, ac-

tions, causes of action, claims and demands,

known and unknown, upon and by reason of any

damage, loss or injury which heretofore have

been or which hereafter may be sustained by

me....

Id. (emphasis added). In the settlement context, “liability”

is a subset of judicial “claims.” It is unreasonable to

attribute a broader meaning to that term here simply

because one of the parties is a government entity. Indeed,

nothing indicates that the term “liabilities” in this particu-

lar release was intended to encompass future state legisla-

tive enactments. Rather, the only reasonable conclusion is

that the parties used boilerplate — customary language —

for its customary purpose. If this Court were to adopt the

See id. at F-11 (“The term ‘claims or causes of action’ includes,

but is not limited to, all liability, actions, causes of action, claims and

demands... .”) (emphasis added), F-48 (“Employee hereby .. . releases

... Company from any and all federal, state or local charges, claims,

controversies, causes of action, damages, costs, attorneys’ fees, or

liabilities of any nature....”) (emphasis added); and F-65 (“ABC

Corporation ... and the Settling Defendants ... do hereby release .. .

each other ... from and for any and all existing or potential demands,

causes of action, equitable or legal claims, obligations, damages, losses,

penalties and liabilities of any nature whatsoever... .”) (emphasis

added).

Resp. App. 58a

district court’s reasoning, every State settlement agree-

ment that includes a boilerplate release referring to “all

liabilities” would actually work a broad surrender of

legislative power. This result is both unreasonable and

contrary to well established precedent. See infra, Arg. § II

(discussing unmistakability doctrine).

Second, the phrase “liabilities of any nature whatso-

ever” appears in the Defendants’ release as well as the

State’s. See App. at 52-53. Plainly, however, Defendants

had no legislative authority to surrender. Courts disfavor

reading the same term to mean different things in differ-

ent parts of a contract. See, e.g., Thompson v. Amoco Oil

Co., 903 F.2d 1118, 1121 (7th Cir. 1990) (“Unless a contrary

intent is evident, words used in one sense in one part of a

contract are deemed of like significance in another part.”).

Third, the district court erred by concluding that the

HIF is a released “statutory claim” under the Agreement.

See App. at 14. Both release provisions in the Agreement —

the State’s and the Defendants’ -— surrender claims

“whether legal, equitable, or statutory.” The term “statu-

tory claims” refers to legal causes of action provided by

statute rather than common law. The State, for example,

asserted several “statutory claims” in the State Tobacco

Lawsuit, including consumer fraud, false advertising and

antitrust. See Defs.’ Mem., Magarian Aff., Ex. B. at 31-36.

Nothing in the context or language of the Agreement

suggests that “statutory claims” encompasses future

legislative enactments of self-executing fees or taxes,

particularly where this same meaning cannot be applied to

the same language in Defendants’ release.

In negotiating the Agreement, the parties used com-

mon and well defined legal terms. When interpreting the

Resp. App. 59a

Agreement, the Court should give such terms their com-

mon meaning and find that “claims” refers exclusively to

adjudicatory claims or causes of action that Minnesota

agreed never again to pursue. The Court should not

broaden these terms to cover future legislative acts.

D. Because The Agreement Does Not Surren-

der The Legislature’s Power To Impose An

Exaction On The Distribution Of Ciga-

rettes, Imposing The HIF Does Not Breach

Or Impair The Agreement.

The district court ruled that imposing the HIF on

Defendants’ Distributors breaches and impairs the Agree-

ment. App. at 14, 16. Because the State did not convey

away its sovereign authority to impose legislative exac-

tions upon the distribution of cigarettes, these legal

conclusions were erroneous.

Breach of contract occurs when a party totally or

partially fails to perform its obligations under a contract.

See, e.g., Associated Cinemas of Am. v. World Amusement

Co., 276 N.W. 7, 10 (Minn. 1937). Impairment of contract

in violation of the federal and state contracts clauses”

occurs when a state law substantially disrupts a party’s

reasonable contractual expectations. Jacobsen v. An-

heuser-Busch, Inc., 392 N.W.2d 868, 872 (Minn. 1986).

Impairment occurs, that is, where legislation “alters the

terms of a contract by effectively imposing on one of

the parties an obligation which it had not reasonably

" U.S. Const. art. I, § 10 states: “No state shall ... pass any...

law impairing the obligation of Contracts.” Minn. Const. art. I, § 11

states: “No ... law impairing the obligation of contracts shall be

passed.”

Resp. App. 60a

anticipated or relieving a party of a contractual obliga-

tion.” Bannum, Inc. v. Town of Ashland, 922 F.2d 197, 202

(4th Cir. 1990) (citing Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Span-

naus, 438 U.S. 234, 244-46 & n.16 (1978)).

The district court ruled that enforcing the HIF against

Defendants’ Distributors breaches the Agreement because

it “directly imposes that from which the defendants are

protected.” App. at 14. The court likewise found impair-

ment of the Agreement concluding that “the state seeks to

abrogate that which what [sic] it has promised but offers

neither to forego future payments or to refund past pay-

ments.” Jd. at 16. This, however, is just another way of

saying that imposition of the HIF breaches the State’s

release.

As discussed above, imposition of the HIF does not

breach the Agreement. Consequently, it also does not

impair the Agreement. Although the State promised it

would never again sue Defendants to recover State health-

care costs, it never promised Defendants that their prod-

ucts would be immune to future legislative impositions.

Il. THe TERM “CLAM” CANNOT BE INTERPRETED TO

INCLUDE LEGISLATIVE EXACTIONS BECAUSE THE

STATE’S RELEASE OF CLAIMS DOES NOT SURREN-

DER THE STATE’S SOVEREIGN POLICE AND TAXING

PowERS “IN LANGUAGE AND TERMS TOO CLEAR TO

ADMIT OF DOUBT.”

Even if there were some question about whether the

term “claims” encompasses legislative exactions like the

HIF, any doubt must be resolved in the State’s favor. As a

sovereign, the State possesses both the police and taxing

powers. Courts have long disfavored construing government

Resp. App. 6la

contracts as relinquishing a state’s sovereign powers.

Courts thus hold that any such relinquishment must be

stated “in language and terms too clear to admit of doubt.”

State v. Great N. Ry., 119 N.W. 202, 205 (Minn. 190¢ ,

aff'd, Great N. Ry. v. State, 216 U.S. 206 (1910). The

district court erred by failing to apply this well-established

principle when construing the Agreement.

A. The Unmistakability Doctrine Requires

That Government Contracts Be Strictly

Construed Against The Surrender of Sover-

eign Powers.

The canon of construction requiring that government

contracts be strictly construed against the relinquishment

of sovereign powers is known as the “unmistakability

doctrine.” As formulated by the United States Supreme

Court, “sovereign power ... governs all contracts subject

to the sovereign’s jurisdiction, and will remain intact

unless surrendered in unmistakable terms.” United States

v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839, 872 (1996) (plurality

opinion) (ellipsis in original) (internal quotation marks

omitted) (quoting Bowen v. Pub. Agencies Opposed to Soc.

Sec. Entrapment, 477 U.S. 41, 52 (1986)). The doctrine

recognizes that the sovereign power of a state can be

limited by the Contracts Clause of the United States

Constitution, but that any such limitation is potentially

problematic. Jd. at 873-74. “Although [the Contracts]

Clause made it. possible for state legislatures to bind their

successors by entering into contracts, it soon became

apparent that such contracts could become a threat to the

sovereign responsibilities of state governments.” Jd. at 874

(emphasis added).

Resp. App. 62a

The unmistakability doctrine was developed by courts

“to protect state regulatory powers.” Jd. As explained in

Winstar:

Under this rule that all public grants are strictly

construed, we have insisted that nothing can be

taken against the State by presumption or infer-

ence, and that neither the right of taxation, nor

any other power of sovereignty, will be held .. . to

have been surrendered, unless such surrender

has been expressed in terms too plain to be mis-

taken.

Id. at 874-75 (ellipsis in original) (internal quotation

marks and citations omitted). In addition to stating the

doctrine’s affirmative requirements, Winstar also de-

scribed its negative implications:

a contract with a sovereign government will not

be read to include an unstated term exempting

the other contracting party from the application

of a subsequent sovereign act (including an Act of

Congress), nor will an ambiguous term of a grant

or contract be construed as a conveyance or sur-

render of sovereign power.

Id. at 878. The Court explained that application of the

doctrine “turns on whether enforcement of the contractual

obligation alleged would block the exercise of a sovereign

power of the Government.” Jd. at 879.

This Court has likewise applied the unmistakability

doctrine to resist construing contracts as abrogating the

State’s sovereign power. Before an amendment to the

Minmaesota Constitution in 1906, for example, it was

settled law that the State “may, by contract, irrevocably

bind aelf not to exercise, or may irrevocably limit the

exercise of, its power of taxation.” State ex rel. Hahn v.

Resp. App. 63a

Young, 9 N.W. 737, 747 (Minn. 1881). Despite the State’s

clear authority to abrogate its own power of taxation, the

Court nevertheless resisted finding that this authority had

been exercised.

The right of a state government ... by con-

tract to limit its power of taxation, is a doctrine

too firmly established to admit of discussion at

this time ... The contract to be irrepealable,

however, must clearly and conclusively appear.

The power of taxation is a sovereign prerogative;

its exercise is indispensable to the maintenance

of the state and its institutions, and no infer-

ences or presumptions arising from indefinite

and uncertain language that it has relinquished,

limited, or abandoned the right as to any particu-

lar person or corporation should be indulged by

the court in support of an immunity not enjoyed

by all taxpayers alike. Therefore the contract is

strictly to be construed, and must be in language

and terms too clear to admit of doubt.

Great N. Ry., 119 N.W. at 205 (emphasis added). Thus,

even when the Minnesota Constitution permitted surren-

der of the taxing power, this Court resisted construing

contracts to effect that purpose. All ambiguity was re-

solved in favor of reserving the State’s sovereign power.

Id.; see also Minneapolis Gas Co. v. Zimmerman, 91

N.W.2d 642, 656 (Minn. 1958) (“[A]ll contracts made by the

state are entered into subject to the implied condition that

they are ever subordinate to a reasonable and proper

exercise of the state’s inalienable police power.”).

Resp. App. 64a

B. The Agreement Does Not Surrender The

Legislature’s Police And Taxing Powers

“In Language And Terms Too Clear To

Admit Of Doubt.”

The unmistakability doctrine defeats Defendants’

claim that the Agreement surrenders the State’s police and

taxing powers and bars enforcement of the HIF. For such a

bar plainly “would block the exercise of a sovereign power

of the [State].” Winstar, 518 U.S. at 879. First, it would

abridge the Legislature’s power to impose a fee or tax on

the distribution of cigarettes by limiting the exaction to

only some cigarettes. Second, as the district court’s Order

makes clear, it would prevent the Commissioner from

enforcing existing law. The doctrine was developed to

avoid precisely such results.”

The district court’s construction of the Agreement does

not satisfy the strict requirements of the unmistakability

doctrine. The State’s release-of-claims provision does not

even mention the State’s taxing or police powers. Cf.

Winstar, 518 U.S. at 877-78 (waiver of sovereign power

will not be inferred from silence). Moreover, that provision

contains no language even equivocally suggesting that the

State was — in addition to releasing legal claims — surren-

dering sovereign authority. Even if the State’s release were

“ The district court did not appiy the unmistakability doctrine to

construe the State’s release — to determine its scope in the first in-

stance. Instead, the court interpreted the release as surrendering

sovereign powers without applying the doctrine, and then declared that

this surrender was unproblematic because “the State has consented t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.