Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Smith v. Cook (No. 06-561)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Qeut, uS

FILED

No. 06-561 £07 24 2008

INTHE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

BEVERLY SMITH,

Petitioner,

v.

DEANNA COOK AND ANGELA SMITH.

Respondents.

na an

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE VIRGINIA SUPREME COURT

&%... * rome ee

€ ~~ te

. eeueweananacennneeeesevantectse.oue arencesenmananseneavnnnesevenenuvanmnmneeescmmannerer sean a

Thomas H. Roberts

Counsel of Record

Thomas H. Roberts & Associates, P.C.

105 South Ist Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219

Telephone: (804) 783-2000

Attorney for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether an attorney is a state actor for purposes of an

action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for violation of the Due

Process Clause of the United States Constitution in the fact-

specific circumstance where the attorney issues and causes to

be served a subpoena of a nonparty’s medical records without

prior notice and opportunity to be heard in a state which does

not provide any remedy to the nonparty for the deprivation of

that property interest in privacy when the disclosure is made

in response to the subpoena.

Whether, in the context of the narrow facts of this

case, by failing to give the requisite notice to a person not a

party to the litigation that her medical records were being

commanded by subpoena to be produced in a state where

there is no deterrence created by a viable cause of action or

remedy against the health care provider for producing the

records without notice to the patient in response to the

subpoena, is the act of issuing the subpoena and causing it to

be served upon the health care provider without notice to the

patient sufficient to hold the attorney to have wielded the

compulsive power of the state to seize the patient’s property

without pre-deprivation notice or opportunity to be heard in

violation of the Due Process Clause of the United States

Constitution

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner is Beverly Smith.

Respondents are Deanna Cook, an attorney in the

Commonwealth of Virginia and her client Angela Smith.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CR FOIE on sicicinedsinsinctttiontdenenstkideieliiasincliteciens i

Parties to the Proceeding.....c.sccccssoscsesscconnssevessessseconees li

OOO OE OE iiciicccccstonsicnnrsenmaniditictincienantaiae iil

Table of Cited Authorities SS Soe rise MASON ECT Ss eee iv

FRRES CE AOIOUN eivcscecesitvtccnivionnstieviaicirenanmsialion Vill

Petition for Writ Of Certior ari .......ccsccccssseccorsssereccsssens ]

BE. Sea OR IEE I ONO RL ELE Mec ENE Ue AE |

Statement OF FUTisGictwOM...0.00ss.ececceressecesvsevecesevevensvevove 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ......2

Seine OE CO ra sais cnciisiniatccispinsteceessdbciivicatiendictolabe 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...................:ccccceeeeeeeeees 7

I. ‘In rare and fact specific

circumstances, an attorney should be

_considered a “state actor” liable for

violation of due process when the

private attorney, acting on her client's

behalf and as an officer of the court,

invokes the machinery of the state to

effect an ex parte seizure of property

iV

without prior notice or an opportunity

i 7

The State Action in This Case ............... 10

The Applicable Tests ...... ssasahisgidiimniscitaidid 13

The Amended Motion for

Judgment Properly Alleged The

Necessary State Action to

Sustain an Actionable §1983

i SERECRLD BCE BO eee REDE NOE 24

a ne RA AIL ITE NTE MANET St SADR RO AAD 24

PE b iniicisscidisansaccinncsdaisisbiddiniiadcasiabenaneaiioaes 1A

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144,

90 S. Ct. 1598; 26 L. Ed. 2d 142-(1970). .............0068 9,15

Angelico v. Lehigh Valley Hosp., Inc.,

194 F.3d 268 (3A CR. 1999).....c.scrcocsscesecesees $, 21,22, 23

PIG 1, TIO WE SIGE veccsecsscsneisvsincsvovaasenpiasevermievors 23

Atlas v. Stolberg, 694 So. 2d 772 (Fla. 4th DCA 1997) ......8

Barnard v. Young, 720 F.2d 1188 (10th Cir. 1983)............. 8

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority,

365 U.S. 715, 81 S. Ct. 856;

© Fic Fas Ae Bo GAD cccncicicastatacemeetasaans 10,14,15,16, 20

Crowe v. Lucas, 595 F.2d 985 (Sth Cir. 1979) ............000008 15

Dennis v. Sparks, 449 U.S. 24, 101 S. Ct. 183;

hic ee Fie Fe 0 itihchchstsinipcesdsascnccitgeitoaecin 14

Dyess v. La. State Univ. Bd. of Supervisors,

2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18314 (D. La. 2005).......000...... 8

Ex parte Va., 100 U.S. 339,

BF Mig Sits OT CRA itv lacisinsidddelcemcienios bi, 32,58, 20

Fairfax Hospital v. Curtis,

254 Va. 437,492 S.E.2d 642 (1997)........scssrccssrcessrereeees 6

Flagg Bros., Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149,

98 S. Ct. 1729; 56 L. Ed. 2d 185 (1978)........ ESET 9, 15

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479,

OSS. Ce, 1678; 16 1. Ed. Zk SiG C196) cncccevcevecccversenss 9

Hahn v. Star Bank, 190 F.3d 708 (6th Cir. 1999)................ 8

Home Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Los Angeles, 227 U.S. 278

AR He Ue Pe fe” TS | | Reememeneen es 12

Howerton v. Gabica, 708 F.2d 380 (9" Cir.1983). ........... 16

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co.,

419 US. 345, 95 S. Ct. 449,

G2 EB ZO 477 CEST) scevenscerscsvessvncens 15, 16, 17, 20, 21

Jackson v. Pantazes, 810 F.2d 426 (4th Cir. 1987)........... a4

Jordan v. Fox, Rothschild, O'Brien & Frankel,

ee Ee Ce iy Fe i icsnhiticessscsnenvcceuentintnetceasiiinnicn 21

Lombard v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 267, 83 S. Ct. 1122;

i. ee te CE incieincniicmnnortchtndacinesecsesenescnantacs 15

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 102 S. Ct. 2744,

73 L. Ed. 2d 482 (1982).9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20

Marsh v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501,

66 S. Ct. 276; 90 L. Ed. 265 (1946).............cccsessees 15,19

Vil

Mills v. Criminal Dist. Court # 3,

rg wl ges ee, | eee nen iam enCets preemie mere 8

Monell v. New York City Dept. of Social Servs.,

436 U.S. 65856 L. Ed. 2d 611, 98 S. Ct. 2018 (1978). 12

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167

SiS, Ch. S732 FE, a FOIE cineesiseseieccsecesavsnt 12

Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312,

70 L. Ed. 2d 509, 102 S. Ct. 445 (1981).................. 8, 13

Moose Lodge No. 107 v. Irvis, 497 U.S. 163,

92'S. Ct. 1965; 32 L. Ed. 2d 627 (1972). ............0:0c00000 21

Pfannsteil v. City of Marion,

PE Fe Ee Ce Gee CWE vticcecsntndccactanccnionstioniotunes 14

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 93 S. Ct. 705,

a i ii ities tance onncdioancdcesacotnsinaaaiis 9

Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91,

6S S. Ce. 1631; BSL. Edd, 1495 (1946S)... 00.0. cccnccccccces.2ss 12

Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park, 396 U.S. 229,

: 90 S. Ct. 400; 24 L. Ed. 2d 386 (1969)... eee 15

Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461,

73S. Ce, BOR: ST 1. BG. ENSZ CE9SS) iciccacecnceevsincines 15,19

United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299,

GIS. Ce. 1033; SS Li Bek. FSGS CIDA). cnncvcsitececcsecssscs 12

Vili

United States v. Price, 383 U.S. 787,

16 L. Ed. 24.267, 86S. Ct. £152: (1966) .......cccscercsceess 19

Williams v. United States, 341 U.S. 97, ;

FEB. CO. SIGs SS Le Bah, FIR IFS) vesoscssesersoranzesenion 12

Statute and Rules

United States Constitution, Amendment 14............... Zs Fa be

WUSC. 81) ck emanate eee 2

42 US.C. § 1983 ...crnrerecsencsrsreroversesesarssesesesseoenrorers in passim

VeCebeS 616 3,3

Va. Code § 32.1-127.1:03,

BS SUMCNGCS UR LODZ... vcccsescrsaceversseccnesenese Da Du Oe Io bey a

ix

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Virginia Supreme Court, Petition Denied .Al

Appendix B — Circuit Court for the City of Richmond,

IIE CIIOE vorseneccoreecoesccesiereeeneee ssesesceceeseeees A2

Appendix C —Circuit Court for the City of Richmond,

Failure to State a Cause of Action ...............0 A4

Appendix D — Amended State Complaint ...................... A8

Appendix E — Va. Code § 32.1-127.1:03 0... eee A27

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Brenda Smith (“Smith”) respectfully prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of

the Virginia Supreme Court entered in this proceeding on

July 26, 2006, in order to resolve the important issue

presented herein, that under certain very narrow factual

circumstances, a nonparty witness deprived of her property

interest in the privacy of her medical records without notice

or opportunity to be heard may obtain relief under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 against a private attorney who is a state actor when

issuing and causing to be served a subpoena commanding the

production of medical records in violation of the Due Process

Clause of the United States Constitution when those records

are produced and disseminated.

—+ - -4-- +--+ -- +--+ --+- -+--+-~-+4--+--+-

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Virginia Supreme Court that

gives rise to this petition is the order of the Virginia Supreme

Court denying Smith’s petition for appeal. It is reprinted in

Appendix A hereto at page Al. The order of the trial court,

the Circuit Court for the City of Richmond in the

Commonwealth of Virginia denying Smith a remedy for the

deprivation of her privacy of the medical information in her

medical records as a nonparty witness in prior litigation is set

forth in Appendix C at page A4. The order of the trial court

correcting its order of January 19, 2006 is set forth in

Appendix B at A3.

JURISDICTION _

On July 26, 2006, the Virginia Supreme Court

denied Smith’s petition for appeal of the January 19, 2006

order of the Circuit Court for the City of Richmond denying

Smith’s claim of a deprivation of her rights under the Due

Process Clause of the United States Constitution. Pursuant to

Supreme Court Rule 13(1) this petition has been filed within

90 days of the denial of her petition.

The jurisdiction of the Court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1257

ee

—+4 — —- 4 — 4 - — - — - - - - -

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV

Section |. All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens

of the United States and of the state wherein they reside.

No state Shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

* * * :

Section 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce, by

appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.

42. U.S.C. § 1983

Every person who under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be |

subjected, any citizen of the United States or other person

within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured

in an action at law, Suit in equity, or other proper

~proceeding for redress, except that in any action brought

against a judicial officer for an act or omission taken in

such officer's judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not

be granted unless a declaratory decree was violated or

declaratory relief was unavailable. For the pv ~oses of

this section, any Act of Congress applicable exclusively

to the District of Columbia shall be considered to be a

statute of the District of Columbia.

Va. Code § 32.1-127.1:03, as amended in 2002

Appendix E

Va Code § 16.1-265. Subpoena; attorney-issued subpoena.

Upon application of a party and pursuant to the rules of

the Supreme Court of Virginia for the issuance of

subpoenas, the clerk of the court shall issue, and the court

—

on its own motion may issue, subpoenas requiring

attendance and testimony of witnesses and production of

records, documents or other tangible objects at any

hearing.

Subpoenas duces tecum for medical records shall be

subject to the provisions of §§ 8.01-413 and 32.1-

127.1:03 except that no separate fee shall be imposed. A

subpoena may also be issued in a civil proceeding by an

attorney-at-law who is an active member of the Virginia

State Bar at the time of issuance, as an officer of the

court. Any such subpoena shall be on a form approved by

the Committee on District Courts, signed by the attorney

as if a pleading and shall include the attorney's address. A

copy, together with the attorney's certificate of service

pursuant to Rule 1:12, shall be mailed or delivered to the

clerk's office of the court in which the case is pending on

the day of issuance by the attorney. The law governing

subpoenas issued by a clerk shall apply mutatis mutandis,

except that attorneys may not issue subpoenas in those

cases in which they may not issue a summons as provided

in § 8.01-407. When an attorney-at-law transmits one or -

more subpoenas or subpoenas duces tecum to a sheriff to

be served in his jurisdiction, the provisions in § 8.01-407

regarding such transmittals shall apply. A sheriff shall not

be required to serve an attorney-issued subpoena that is

not issued at least five business days prior to the date

production of evidence is required.

If the time for compliance with a subpoena issued by an

attorney is less than 14 days after service of the subpoena,

the person to whom it is directed may serve upon the

party issuing the subpoena a written objection setting

forth any grounds therefor. If objection is made, the party

on whose behalf the subpoena was issued and served

shall not be entitled to compliance, except pursuant to an

order of the court, but may, upon notice to the persen to

whom the subpoena was directed, move for an order to

compel compliance. Upon such timely motion, the court

may quash, modify or sustai _ the subpoena.

—+ — - +--+ - - +--+ - 4 - + ~ - 4 + - 4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Beverly Smith (“Smith”) filed suit in state court

against Angela Cook (“Cook”), her client Angela Smith and

others seeking redress pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for

denial of due process in connection with the deprivation of

her privacy interest in the health care information contained

in her medical records, and the right to contest the disclosure

and dissemination of that information, interests protected by

both state statute and by the penumbra of the United States

Constitution.

Cook, a private attorney licensed by the

Commonwealth of Virginia, on behalf of her client Angela

Smith and as an officer of the court, pursuant to Va Code §

16.1-265 issued a subpoena to a health care provider for

Smith’s medical records in a custody case in which patient

Smith was not a party without providing the statutorily

required notice under Va. Code § 32.1-127.1:03.

In 2002, Va. Code § 32.1-127.1:03 provided in

pertinent part, “No party to an action shall request or cause

the issuance of a subpoena duces tecum for the medical

records of a nonparty witness unless a copy of the request for

the subpoena or a copy of the attorney-issued subpoena is

provided to the nonparty witness simultaneously with filing

the request or issuance of the attorney-issued subpoena.”

Additionally, the statute required that with a copy of the

subpoena, the nonparty witness was to receive “a statement

informing them of their rights and remedies....”

Cook did not send a copy of the subpoena to Smith as

required by statute and Smith did not receive the copy of the

attorney issued subpoena or the notice and statement of rights

and remedies required by law, prior to the deprivation of her

medical privacy. .

Wm

Once served and in response to the subpoena the

health care provider produced the records disclosing Smith’s

personal and confidential content and information in her

psychiatric medical records without her authorization,

resulting in the loss of her statutory right of privacy to the

content and information of her medical/health records and in

emotional and physical injuries.

While Virginia in Fairfax Hospital v. Curtis, 254 Va.

437,492 S.E.2d 642 (1997) recognized a cause of action

against medical care providers for unauthorized disclosure of

a patient’s health care information, the Virginia Court

determined that dis¢fosure of that information in response to

a subpoena is not unauthorized irrespective of the failure of

the attorney to provide the statutory notice and disclosures

and not actionable under state law.

The suit including the due process claim brought

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 was dismissed on January 19, 2006

for failure to state a cause of action on the demurrer to the

pleadings filed by the defendant.

A petition for appeal was timely filed to the Virginia

Supreme Court. The Virginia Supreme Court denied the

petition for appeal on July 26, 2006.

This petition for certiorari is timely filed.

+ + 4 a 4 - - 4 -- + -

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. In rare and fact specific circumstances, an

attorney should be considered a “state actor” liable

for violation of due process when the private attorney, |

acting on her client's behalf and as an officer of the

court, invokes the machinery of the state to effect an

ex parte seizure of property without prior notice or an

opportunity to be heard.

In most instances involving attorney issued subpoena

the party to whom the subpoena is directed and the parties to

the litigation receive notice of the issuance of the subpoena

and are able to be heard before any deprivation occurs.

Merely because the instances are rare in which an

attorney issuing a subpoena invokes the machinery of the

state to effectuate an ex parte seizure of property without

prior notice or opportunity to be heard does not justify a

blanket rule of law, removed from factual inquiry, that a

private attorney issuing a subpoena can never be a state actor.

A number of Federal Circuits and states have held otherwise.

See Hahn v. Star Bank, 190 F.3d 708, 717 (6th Cir. 1999)(“‘a

private attorney issuing a subpoena does not become a state

actor for the purposes of § 1983”) Barnard v. Young, 720

F.2d 1188, 1189 (10th Cir. 1983)(“Application of the Lugar

test does not change the vast weight of authority that private

attorneys, by virtue of being officers of the court, do not act

under color of state law within the meaning of section 1983.

Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312, 318, 70 L. Ed. 2d 509,

102 S. Ct. 445 (1981). n2”) Angelico v. Lehigh Valley Hosp.,

Inc., 184 F.3d 268, 278 (3d Cir. 1999)(“an attorney does not

become a state actor simply by employing the state's

subpoena laws”) See also Atlas v. Stolberg, 694 So. 2d 772

(Fla. 4th DCA 1997)(“‘it is well settled that private lawyers

are not state actors for purposes of section 1983 liability”)

Dyess v. La. State Univ. Bd. of Supervisors, 2005 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 18314 (D. La. 2005) (“This Court concurs with these

decisions and holds that a private attorney's issuance of a

subpoena does not make the attorney a state actor for

purposes of § 1983” and “the Fifth Circuit has not addressed

whether an attorney who issues a subpoena may fairly be said

to be a state actor, it has held that "private attorneys . . . are

not official state actors, and generally are not subject to suit

under section 1983." Mills v. Criminal Dist. Court # 3, 837

F.2d 677, 679 (Sth Cir. 1988)).

A claim upon which relief may be granted to Smith

against Cook under § 1983 must embody at least two

elements. Smith is first bound to show that she has been

deprived of a right "secured by the Constitution and the laws"

of the United States. Smith must secondly show that Cook

deprived her of this right acting "under color of any statute"

of the State of Virginia. It is clear that these two elements

denote two separate areas of inquiry. Flagg Bros., Inc. v.

Brooks, 436 U.S. 149, 155-156 (U.S. 1978) citing Adickes v.

S. H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 150.(1970).

In order to rely on the Due Process Clause, a plaintiff

must have a protectible interest. Smith’s protectible interest

is her constitutional and statutory interest in medical privacy.

Virginia law recognizes plaintiff's rights of privacy in

Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03. Likewise, Smith has a

constitutional right to medical privacy. See eg. Roe v. Wade,

410 U.S. 113, 93 S. Ct. 705 (1973), Griswold v. Connecticut,

381 U.S. 479, 85 S. Ct. 1678 (1965) (marital privacy in

decisions of birth control). Defendant Cook deprived

plaintiff of her right to medical privacy under Virginia law

and her property interest in medical privacy without notice or

‘an opportunity to be heard in violation of Fourteenth

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

Because the Fourteenth Amendment is directed at the

States, it can be violated only by conduct that may be fairly

characterized as "state action." Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co.,

457 U.S. 922, 923-924 (1982). Here, under applicable U. S.

Supreme Court precedent, the State’s express “deputization”

of attorney Cook to issue process, and the service of the

process on the health care provider caused the unlawful

release and disclosure of Smith’s private health/medical

information in the medical records as well as the right to

contest the disclosure of that information, property rights

granted to her by Virginia statute and protected by the Due

Process Clause of the Constitution. The claim against

defendant Cook thus concerns the relationship between the §

10

1983 requirement of action under color of state law and the

Fourteenth Amendment requirement of state action. /d.

The question of whether an individual acted “under

color of state law” and, therefore, whether the individual is

liable for the federal or constitutional injury under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, is inherently a mixed question of law and fact and

has been recognized by the U. S. Supreme Court as fact

specific. Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 938-

939 (1982). It necessarily requires a sifting of the facts and

circumstances involving any alleged public-private action.

Burton yv. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S. 715, 722

(1961).

The “State Action” In this Case

The actions which caused the injury in this case

involve State-authorized and served legal process

commanding the production of the medical records of Smith

without prior notice to Smith or opportunity to be heard and

without any deterrence to health care providers from

complying with the subpoena’s command.

The force and compulsion of state power is behind an

attorney-issued subpoena. A subpoena is the order of an arm

of the state compelling the presence of a person under threat

of contempt. That the state traditionally grants litigants and

their attorneys the privilege of invoking the subpoena power

does not alter the fact that it is the state, not the litigant or his

attorney, which is compelling the attendance. The state could

not effectively provide a forum for the litigation of legal

disputes without power to compel the attendance of

witnesses. The fact that a subpoena issues in the name of the

il

state and the fact that a subpoena implements the general

state interest of providing a forum for litigation amply

demonstrate that the issuance of a subpoena is not merely a

private act. The litigant or attorney who invokes the

subpoena power acts for the state when commanding

production of documents. Because she is engaged in

litigation in a state forum, she has been entrusted by the state

with significant state power. The significance of a private

party acting for and in the name of the State is not a new

concept. Virginia has provided the United States Supreme

Court with a number of opportunities that explain the reach

of the Constitution in restraining violations made under color

of state law which include Ex parte Va., 100 U.S. 339, 347

(U.S. 1880). In that case, this Court addressed the restraint of

the Fourteenth Amendment against “one who acts in the

name and for the State and is clothed with the State’s power.”

The constitutional provision, therefore, must mean

that no agency of the State, or of the officers or agents by

whom its powers are exerted, shall deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws. Whoever, by

virtue of public position under a State government, deprives

another of property, life, or liberty, without due process of

law, or denies or takes away the equal protection of the laws,

violates the constitutional inhibition; and as he acts in the

name and for the State, and is clothed with the State's power,

his act is that of the State. This must be so, or the

constitutional prohibition has no meaning. Then the State has

clothed one of its agents with power to annul or to evade it.

But the Constitutional Amendment was ordained for a

purpose. It was to secure equal rights to all persons, and, to

insure to all persons the enjoyment of such rights, power was

12

given to Congress to enforce its provisions by appropriate

legislation. Such legislation must act upon persons, not upon

the abstract thing denominated a State, but upon the persons

who are the agents of the State in the denial of the rights

which were intended to be secured. Ex parte Va., 100 U.S.

339, 347 (1880). There can be no doubt at least since Ex

parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 346-347, that Congress has the

power to enforce provisions of the Fourteenth Amendment

against those who carry a badge of authority of a State and

represent it in some capacity, whether they act in accordance

with their authority or misuse it. See Home Tel. & Tel. Co. v.

Los Angeles, 227 U.S. 278, 287-296, 33 S. Ct. 312 (1913);

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 171-172, 81 S. Ct. 473, 497

(1961) partially overruled by Monell v. New York City Dept.

of Social Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 695-701, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611, 98

S. Ct. 2018 (1978) (municipalities are not immune from §

1983 actions)

Congress, in enacting § 1983 meant to give a remedy

to parties deprived of constitutional rights, privileges and

immunities by an official's abuse of his position. Cf Williams

v. United States, 341 U.S. 97, 71 S. Ct. 576 (1951); Screws v.

United States, 325 U.S. 91, 65 S. Ct. 1031 (1945); United

States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299, 61 S. Ct. 1031 (1941).

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. at 172, 81 U.S. at 497.

In the present case, Cook caused an attorney-issued

subpoena to be served upon Dr. Kryzanowski for the

production of a non-party’s private health care records

without providing the statutorily mandated notice under

Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03 to the non-party, Smith. The

content of those records was thereafter indiscriminately

disclosed to the attorneys and litigants in a state domestic

13

proceeding and Smith was harmed suffering humiliation,

emotional and physical injuries. Smith was damaged by the

loss of her right to have a judicial officer determine whether

there was a basis for disseminating her confidential patient

information and communications with her doctor to third

persons before the dissemination. Smith was required to

obtain medical treatment and incurred medical bills

associated with the disclosure. AMFJ § 66 — 73

The Applicable Tests

As previously indicated, the question of whether an

individual acted “under color of state law” and, therefore, P

whether she is a “state actor” is fact specific. The focus is

not whether the person is a state employee.’ Although in

' See, e.g., Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312, 318, 70 L.

Ed. 2d 509, 102 S. Ct. 445 (1981), where the Supreme Court

held that a public defender's actions, when performing a

lawyer's traditional functions as counsel in a state criminal

proceeding, would not support a § 1983 suit. However, the

Court specifically stated that it was not necessary in that case

to consider whether that requirement was identical to the

"state action" requirement of the Fourteenth Amendment

because the public defender, although a state employee, in

the day-to-day defense of his client, acted in a role

adversarial to the State. Accordingly, on the facts of that

case, it was "peculiarly difficult" to detect any action of the

State! 454 U.S., at 320. Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457

U.S. 922, 935 (U.S. 1982). In the present case, however,

attorney Cook was not in an adversarial role to the State, but

was acting as an arm of the state using the expressly granted

power and agency of the State to command by legal process

14

most instances being employed by the state will suffice due

to the duties of the employee, but as will be explained below,

the reverse is also true, one need not be an employee of the

state to act under color of state law. In Lugar v. Edmondson

Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 938-939 (1982), the "complaint

alleged that in attaching his property respondents had acted

jointly with the State to deprive him of his property without

due process of law." To sustain the claim, the Supreme

Court required that conduct alleging deprivation of a Federal

right must be "fairly attributable" to the State. Two elements

establish "fair attribution," elements which are present in the

case at bar: (1) the deprivation must be caused, in part, by

either the exercise of some right or privilege created by the

State or by a person for whom the State is responsible, and

(2) the party charged with the deprivation must be said to be

a state actor. The latter is satisfied not only if he is a state

official, but also if he has acted together with or has obtained

significant aid from state officials, or because his conduct is

otherwise chargeable to the State. Id. at 937. \n interpreting

this standard, courts have made clear that "both parts of the

Lugar test are satisfied where the nature of the relationship

between the state and private actor is one of interdependence

or symbiosis," i.e. an "arrangement that confers on each a

variety of mutual benefits." Jackson v. Pantazes, 810 F.2d

426,430 (4th Cir. 1987), citing Burton v. Wilmington Parking

Authority; see also Dennis v. Sparks, 449 U.S. 24, 27-29

(1980); Pfannsteil v. City of Marion, 918 F.2d 1178, 1187

(Sth Cir. 1990); Crowe v. Lucas, 595 F.2d 985 (Sth Cir.

the release of Smith’s private medical information, albeit

without affording Smith the due process to which she was

entitled.

15

1979).? In keeping with the fact specific nature of “state

action,” the Lugar Court noted a variety of tests under which

state-action may be established:

[T]he Court has articulated a number of different

factors or tests in different contexts: e. g., the "public

function" test, see Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461

(1953); Marsh v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501 (1946); the

"state compulsion" test, see Adickes v. S. H. Kress &

Co., 398 U.S., at 170; the "nexus" test, see Jackson

v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345 (1974);

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S.

715 (1961); and, in the case of prejudgment ‘

attachments, a "joint action test," Flagg Brothers,

436 U.S., at 157. n21 Whether these different tests are

actually different in operation or simply different

5

—

Numerous other Supreme Court cases have

recognized that private action is fairly attributable to the

state. See Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953) (Political

activities of the private, racist Jaybird Association deprives

citizens of voting rights because of their color); Burton v.

Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S. at 725 ("By its

inaction, the Authority, and through it the state, has not only

made itself a party to the refusal of service, but has elected to

place its power, property and prestige behind the admitted

discrimination"); Lombard v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 267 (1963)

(Action by private lunch counter owner constituted state

action despite absence of state ordinance requiring

discriminatory conduct); Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park, 396

U.S. 229 (1969) (Actions by private homeowners association

under restrictive covenants enforcible by state process

constituted state action).

16

ways of characterizing the necessarily fact-bound

inquiry that confronts the Court in such a situation

need not be resolved here. See Burton, supra, at 722

("Only by sifting facts and weighing circumstances

can the nonobvious involvement of the State in

private conduct be attributed its true significance”).

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. at 938-939

(1982)(emphasis added).

Using the public function test, the Supreme Court has

found state action present "in the exercise by a private entity

of powers traditionally exclusively reserved to the State.”

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345, 352

(1974). In the present case, the subpoena power is a power

traditionally exclusively reserved to the state. By statute that

power is exercised by an officer of the court, the attorney

Cook. The public function test is satisfied. The joint action

test for state action is met where private persons are "willful

participantf{s] in joint activity with the State or its agents" that

effects a constitutional deprivation. Howerton v. Gabica, 708

F.2d 380, 383 (CA9 1983).

Attorney Cook, although a private attorney and acting

on behalf of her client, a private party, willfully participate in

the joint activity with the State and specifically the judiciary

by compelling production of documents by means of a

subpoena duces tecum. The joint action test is satisfied.

Finally, under the nexus test, the court must consider whether

there is a "sufficiently close nexus between the State and the

challenged action of the regulated entity so that the action of

the latter may be fairly treated as that of the State itself."

17

Jackson, 419 U.S. at 351. Here it is important to note that the

power to is.ue the subpoena duces tecum is not given to the

public at large, but is given to attorneys, a profession

regulated by the State and ultimately the court. The

subpoena on its face reeks of the authority of the State. “To

the person summoned: You are commanded to make

available the documents and tangible things designated and

described below....” It is hard to imagine a closer nexus to

the state, then the wielding of the judiciaries power to

command the production of the documents. The nexus test is

satisfied.

Instigating state court litigation does not make an

attorney a state actor, due to the fact that as this court and all-

attorneys know, instigating litigation does nothing to take

property from a person. Most of the actions conducted by

attorneys in representing private parties before the courts of

the Commonwealth of Virginia may not be attributed to the

state and are therefore not state action. However, on the

specific facts of this case, the question is whether the

attorney, armed with the subpoena power has been clothed to

act in the name and for the State, by virtue of the statutory

authority and power expressly granted to the attorney as an

officer of the court to issue a subpoena for documents

commanding under threat of legal sanction the production of

those documents without affording to a non-party the notice

that their property interests are about to be taken and without

any deterrence or liability of the physician to determine

whether the patient was given notice of the subpoena.

There is no question but that Beverly Smith's

property interest in the privacy of her health records was

taken from her without notice or opportunity to be heard. In

18

this regard, she was “deprived .. . of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law” by persons who were “the agents

of the State in the denial of the rights which were intended to

be secured.” Ex Parte Virginia, supra, 100 U.S. at 347. In

issuing the subpoena, Cook, was not merely engaging in

private practice of law on behalf of her private client—she

was also acting as the agent of the State, ordering the

production of the documents and with it the property of

Beverly Smith, the confidential health information. The

actions of issuing and causing to be served the process, these

action are chargeable as “State actions” and Cook is liable for

the violations of Jaw and injury that arise from her authorized

but improper actions.

In Lugar v. Edmonson Oil Co., it was the joint action

of the creditor with the clerk and the Sheriff that caused the

taking, satisfying the “joint action test.” See, Lugar v.

Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 939, 102 S. Ct. at 2755

n.21. In Lugar, it was the pre-judgment taking, accomplished

with the assistance of the sheriff, that created an actionable

constitutional violation. In that case, a lessee-operator of a

truckstop in Virginia was indebted to his supplier, an oil

company. Lugar, 457 U.S. at 924. The supplier sued on the

debt and sought prejudgment attachment of the lessee’s

property. /d. Under Virginia law, the prejudgment attachment

procedure required only that the creditor allege in an ex parte

petition a belief that the debtor. was disposing of or might

dispose of his property in order to defeat his creditors. /d.

Acting upon the petition of the supplier, the clerk of the state

court issued a writ of attachment, which was then executed

by the county sheriff, thereby sequestering lessee's property.

Id. The Supreme Court held that where a state has created a

procedure whereby state officials, acting on the ex parte

19

petition of a private party, may attach disputed property, state

action exists. /d. at 941-42.

“Private persons, jointly engaged with state officials

in the prohibited action, are acting "under color" of

law for purposes of the statute. To act "under color"

of law doés not require that the accused be an officer

of the State. It is enough that he is a willful

participant in joint activity with the State or its

agents,"”

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 941 (US.,

1982), quoting United States v. Price, 383 U.S., at 794. The

U.S. Supreme Court has “consistently held that a private

party's joint participation with state officials in the seizure of

disputed property is sufficient to characterize that party as a

‘state actor’ for purposes of the Fourteenth Amendment.”

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 941 (U.S..,

1982). 1

In the present case, the taking of Smith’s privacy was

accomplished by virtue of Cook’s joint role both as private

advocate and also as an officer of the Court authorized by

statute to issue the subpoena for the documents, satisfying the

both the “joint action test” and the “public function test.”

Lugar at 938-39 citing Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953),

a case involving a political parties exclusion of persons based

upon race and Marsh v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501 (1946), a

case involving a corporation owned town’s prohibition on

distribution of literature. In both cases, the traditional role of

government in voting or management of a town caused the

Court to consider the public function rather than the fact that

the political party and corporation were private.

Similarly, Cook, by issuing the subpoena, fulfilled the

role of the court which traditionally issued orders for the

production of documents. Under the facts of this case, where

Beverly Smith was denied the statutory notice and

opportunity to be heard, it is even more important to cause

the legislation to act upon persons and not the abstract thing

denominated a State, but upon persons who are the agents of

the State in the denial of the rights which were intended to be

secured. Ex parte Va., 100 U.S. 339, 347 (U.S. 1880).

Additionally, holding Cook to be acting under of

color of state law under the circumstances of this case is

required by the "nexus" test. Lugar, at 938-39 citing

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345 (1974)

and Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S. 715

(1961). In this case, the authority to issue subpoenas by

attorneys is given, and therefore the proscriptions of the

— Fourteenth Amendment must be complied with by the

attorney as certainly as though the proscription was written

into the statute authorizing the attorney to issue the subpoena,

as in fact itis. In Burton, a case involving a private

restaurant leasing space from a public facility, the Court

stated, “what we hold today is that when a State leases public

property in the manner and for the purpose shown to have

been the case here, the proscriptions of the Fourteenth

Amendment must be complied with by the lessee as certainly

as though they were binding covenants written into the

agreement itself.” Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority,

365 U.S. 715, 726 (U.S. 1961). The Court reiterated the

detailed inquiry necessary in deciding these cases, stating

“But the inquiry must be whether there is a sufficiently close

nexus between the State and the challenged action of the

21

regulated entity so that the action of the latter may be fairly

treated as that of the State itself. Moose Lodge No. 107,

supra, at 176. The true nature of the State's involvement may

not be immediately obvious, and detailed inquiry may be

required in order to determine whether the test is met. Burton

v. Wilmington Parking Authority, supra.” Jackson v.

Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345, 351 (U.S. 1974)

(finding no state action in a regulated enterprise).

The Third Circuit in Angelico recognized the

necessity of a fact specific inquiry hedging its ruling with the

term “simply” and cited approvingly from Jordan v. Fox,

Rothschild, O'Brien & Frankel, 20 F.3d 1250, 1264 (3d Cir.

1994), that “a

a private individual who enlists the compulsive powers

of the state to seize property by executing on a

judgment without pre-deprivation notice or hearing acts

under color of law and so may be held liable under

section 1983 if his acts cause a state official to use the

state's power of legal compulsion to deprive another of

property.

Angelico v. Lehigh Valley Hosp., Inc., 184 F.3d 268, 278 (3d

Cir. 1999) citing Jordan v. Fox, Rothschild, O'Brien &

Frankel, 20 F.3d at 1267.

Private attorneys, acting on their client's behalf, who

invoke the machinery of the state to effect an ex parte seizure

of property without notice or opportunity to be heard should

be found to be state actors under § 1983.

22

The specific legal and factual inquiry must focus on

the compulsive power of the state to seize property without

pre-deprivation notice or an opportunity to be heard. In the

context of the narrow facts of this case, the inquiry is whether

by failing to give the requisite notice to a person not a party

to the litigation that her medical records were being -

commanded by subpoena to be produced where there is no

deterrence created by a viable cause of action or remedy

against the health care provider for producing the records

without notice to the patient in response to the subpoena, is

the act of issuing the subpoena and causing it to be served

upon the health care provider without notice to the patient

sufficient to hold the attorney to have wielded the compulsive

power of the state to seize the patient’s property without pre-

deprivation notice or opportunity to be heard in violation of

the Due Process Clause of the United States Constitution.

In Angelico, the Third Circuit focused on the

distinction between the potential for state involvement and

actual state involvement. Angelico v. Lehigh Valley Hosp,,

Inc., 184 F.3d 268, 278 (3d Cir. 1999). The court approved

of the lower court’s analysis which in pertinent part provided:

Although plaintiff notes that there are potential lega!

consequences attached to failure to obey a subpoena

which might ultimately involve invoking the

assistance of state officials, such possibility serves

only to highlight the difference between resorting to

an available state procedufe and actually using state

officials to enforce or carry out that procedure. The

potential for involving the coercive power of the state

likewise exists when a judgment by confession is

entered, yet .. . a private party is not converted into a

23

_ State actor as long as the assistance of state officials

remains merely a potential threat. It is only when, and

if, such potential is realized that a private party may

be converted into a state actor for purposes of

satisfying the state action element of a § 1983 claim.

Angelico I, 1996 WL 524112, at 2. =.

The Third Circuit found the analysis sound and

consistent with the Supreme Court's analysis in Lugar,

concluding “We hold, therefore, that an attorney does not

become a state actor simply by employing the state's

subpoena laws.” Angelico v. Lehigh Valley Hosp., Inc., 184

F.3d 268, 278 (3d Cir. 1999).

In Angelico, the defendants were lawyers who were

retained to obtain and execute a confessed judgment in a rent

dispute-

In the present case, where the state does not provide

any deterrence to health care providers from producing the

health care records in response to the subpoena by denying

any cause of action against them coupled with the attorney’s

failure to provide any pre-deprivation notice to the patient,

the command of the state authorized subpoena is itself the

compulsive power of the state, the machinery of the state to

effect an ex parte seizure of property upon which the private

attorney can be found to be a state actor under § 1983 and

liable for failing to provide notice and opportunity to be

heard.

24

The Amended Motion for Judgment Properly

Alleged The Necessary State Action to Sustain an

Actionable §1983 Claim

Under the facts alleged in the Amended Motion for

Judgment, defendant Cook, acting under color of state law,

deprived Beverly Smith not only of the confidential mental

health information, but also her right to notice of the

subpoena to enable her to move to quash. Cook acted under

color of state law. A9-A13 (Ff 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 16, 19.) Smith

had a property right to the content of her medical record and

the privacy of that content. Va. Code § 32.1-127.1:03. Al4

(4 23 & 25). As an officer of the Court, and pursuant to state

statute, Cook acting for Angela Smith caused the loss of that

property right without notice or an opportunity to be heard in

violation of due process under the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States Constitution. A14-A16 (FJ 22 — 37).

Beverly Smith was damaged as a proximate result. A15-A18

(4 36 & 37).

Upon de novo review, defendant Cook’s assertion on

demurrer that Smith failed to state a cause of action under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 should therefore be overruled and denied and

the case remanded to Virginia for trial consistent with this

Court’s ruling.

ee ee ene er en ee ee oe oe oe

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

25

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas H. Roberts, Esquire

Counsel of Record

Thomas H. Roberts & Associates, P.C.

105 South Ist Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219

Telephone: (804) 783-2000

Facsimile: (804) 783-2105 -

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

OPINION OF THE VIRGINIA SUPREME COURT

DATED AND FILED JULY 26, 2006

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

VIRGINIA:

In the Supreme Court of Virginia held at the Supreme Court

Building in the City of Richmond on Wednesday the 26th

day of July 2006.

Beverly Smith, Appellant,

against Record No. 060761

Circuit Court No. 760CL04S01780-00/06-697

Leslie J. Kryzanowski, et al., Appellees.

From the Circuit Court of the City of Richmond

Upon review of the record in this case and

consideration of the argument submitted in support of and in

opposition to the granting of an appeal, the Court is of

opinion there is no reversible error in the judgment

complained of. Accordingly, the Court refuses the petition

for appeal.

A 2

APPENDIX B

OPINION OF THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE CITY OF

RICHMOND, COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA DATED

AND FILED JUNE 19, 2006

~ 4 4-4 4 Ht -

VIRGINIA:

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE CITY OF

RICHMOND

BEVERLY SMITH,

Plaintiff

Vv. CASE NO. 760CL04201780-00

LESLIE J. KRYZANOWSKTJ, et al.

Defendants. .

~ ORDER CORRECTING

CLERICAL MISTAKES AND ERRORS ARISING

FROM OVERSIGHT

Upon the motion to correct the order of 1/19/06, and

in keeping with the Court’s opinion as set forth in its letter of

January 11, 2006 and incorporated in said order, it is

ADJUDGED ORDERED and DECREED that the last

paragraph of page 2 of the order dated 1/19/2006 is corrected

to read

“IT FURTHER APPEARING that Plaintiff's Motion

for Judgment and First Amended Motion for Judgment were “

filed by Plaintiff and her counsel, Thomas H. Roberts,

Esquire and are NOT in violation of Virginia Code Ann §

A 3

8.01-271.1 and that the Plaintiff's claim under 42 U.S.C. §

1983 was NOT unreasonable, frivolous, meritless and

vexatious so as to award costs and attorneys fees under 42

U.S.C. § 1988, it is hereby”

The endorsements of counsel are dispensed with in

the discretion of the court pursuant to Rule 1:13.

A4

APPENDIX C

OPINION OF THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE CITY OF

RICHMOND, COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA DATED

AND FILED JANUARY 19, 2006

-+-—-+--+--+4+--+--+-—+--+#+ - +--+--+4--+-

VIRGINIA:

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE CITY OF

RICHMOND

JOHN MARSHALL COURTS BUILDING

BEVERLY SMITH

Plaintiff,

V. Case No. 760CL04S01780-00/06-697

LESLIE J. KRYZANOWSKI, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER -

THIS MATTER CAME TO BE HEARD upon the

Motions to Reconsider this Court's overruling of the

Demurrers of Defendants Deanna Cook ("Cook") and Angela

Smith to Count Il (Negligence) of the First Amended Motion

for Judgment ("AM/J") filed by Plaintiff Beverly Smith, and

upon the alternative Motions for Summary Judgment file by

Cook and Angela Smith seeking the dismissal of the same

Count II, and upon Plaintiffs response thereto, and

THIS MATTER CAME TO BE HEARD upon the

Demurrer to Count III (Medical Malpractice) filed by

A 5

Defendant Leslie J. Kryzanowski, M.D. ("Dr.

Kryzanowski"), and upon Plaintiffs response thereto, and

THIS MATTER CAME TO BE HEARD upon the

Motions for Sanctions filed by Defendants Deanna Cook and

Angela Smith, and

IT APPEARING that by previous letter opinion dated

June 2, 2005, and by subsequent Order dated June 27, 2005,

both of which are incorporated herein by reference, this

Court sustained the demurrers of the Defendants as to all

counts of Plaintiff's Motion for Judgment, with leave to

amend, and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Plaintiff thereupon

filed her AMJ, to which the Defendants filed their demurrers

and other responsive pleadings, and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that following oral

argument on the Defendants’ demurrers, this court issued its

letter opinion dated October 17, 2005, which is incorporated

herein by reference, sustaining the demurrers of the

Defendants as to Count I of Plaintiffs AMJ without leave to

amend, sustaining the demurrer of Dr. Kryzanowski as to

Count II of Plaintiffs AMJ without leave to amend,

overruling the demurrer of Cook and Angela Smith as to

Count II, and overruling the demurrer of Dr. Kryzanowski as

to Count III, and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that the Defendants

thereupon filed their further dispositive pleadings referenced

in the first two paragraphs above, and oral argument was held

on November 15, 2005, and

A 6

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Plaintiff thereupon

filed her motion for leave to file a Second Amended Motion

for Judgment, and

IT FURTHER APPEARING for the reasons stated in

this Court's letter opinion dated November 22, 2005, which is

incorporated herein by reference, that the Demurrers of Cook

and Angela Smith as to Count LI of Plaintiffs AMJ should be

sustained, without further leave to amend, and

IT FURTHER APPEARING for the reasons stated in

this Court's letter opinion dated November 22,2005, that Dr.

Kryzanowski's Demurrer to Count III of Plaintiffs AMJ

should be sustained, without further leave to amend, and

IT FURTHER APPEARING that Plaintiffs Motion for

Judgment and First Amended Motion for Judgment were

filed by Plaintiff and her counsel, Thomas H. Roberts,

Esquire in violation of Virginia Code Ann. § 8.01-271.1, that

such pleadings were not well grounded in fact or warranted

by existing law or a good faith argument for the extension,

modification, or reversal of existing law, and were interposed

for an improper purpose to harass or to use unnecessary

delay and needless increase in the cost of litigation, and that

the conduct of Plaintiff and Plaintiff's counsel in the

prosecution of this case was otherwise sanctionable under

Code Section 8.01-271.1, and that the filing of Plaintiff's

claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 was unreasonable, frivolous,

meritless and vexation, so as to warrant an award of costs and

attorneys’ fees to Cook and Angela Smith pursuant to 42

D.S.C. § 1988, it is hereby

ORDERED that the Demurrers of Defendants Deanna

Cook and Angela Smith to Count II of Plaintiff's AMJ are

A7

sustained, and Count II is dismissed as to such Defendants

with prejudice and without leave to amend, and it is hereby

ORDERED that the Demurrer of Defendant Dr.

Kryzanowski to Count III of Plaintiff's AMJ is sustained and

Count III is dismissed as to such Defendant with prejudice

and without leave to amend, and it is herby_

ORDERED that Plaintiff's motion for leave to file her

Second Amend Motion for Judgment is denied, and it is

hereby

ORDRED that insofar as no Counts remain pending

as to any Defendant, this cause is hereby dismissed with

prejudice as to all Defendants, and it is herby

ORDERED that for the reasons stated in the court's

letter dated January 11, 2006, defendants Deanna Cook and

Angela Smith's Motion for Sanctions is Denied.

Plaintiff's exceptions are noted.

The endorsements of counsel are waived pursuant to

Rule 1:13.

And nothing further remaining to be done herein, it is

ORDERED that his matter is stricken from the docket and

placed among the ended causes of this court.

It is so ORDERED.

A $

APPENDIX D

AMENDED MOTION FOR JUDGMENT IN THE

CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE CITY OF RICHMOND,

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA DATED AND FILED

JUNE 27, 2005.

~+4--4--+4--4--+4--+4--+4--+4--+--+--+--+-

VIRGINIA:

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE CITY OF

RICHMOND

BEVERLY SMITH,

Plaintiff,

vs. Case No. 760CL04S01780-00

LESLIE J. KRYZANOWSKI,

and

ANGELA SMITH,

and

DEANNA COOK,

Defendants.

FIRST AMENDED

Motion for Judgment

Comes now the plaintiff, by counsel, and for her first

amended motion for judgment, moves for judgment jointly

and severally against defendants LESLIE J.

KRYZANOWSKI, ANGELA SMITH, and DEANNA

COOK on the grounds and in the amount shown below:

1. Plaintiff Beverly Smith is a citizen of Virginia and the

United States and is a resident of Goochland, Virginia.

A9

2. Defendant Leslie Kryzanowski is a medical doctor

specialized in psychiatry who provided medical and mental

health treatment to Beverly Smith.

3. Defendant Angela Smith is a resident of Virginia who was

a party litigant in a certain proceeding involving, inter alia,

custody and visitation of a juvenile in the Juvenile and

Domestic Relations District Court for Goochland County,

Virginia.

4. Defendant Deanna Cook is a resident of Virginia and is an

attorney licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia and was

at all times relevant herein acting as an agent and attorney for

Angela Smith in addition to other capacities as set forth

below.

5. Plaintiff Beverly Smith is the paternal grandmother of

Stone Wyatt Smith, the juvenile who was the subject of a

custody and visitation dispute by and between Angela Dawn

Smith and Dean E. Smith in the Juvenile and Domestic

Relations District Court for Goochland County, Virginia.

6. Plaintiff Beverly Smith was not a party or “party witness”

to the litigation in the Juvenile and Domestic Relations

District Court for Goochland County, Virginia.

7. In 2000, Virginia Code § 16.1-265 provided in pertinent

part as follows:

Upon application of a party and pursuant to the rules of the

Supreme Court of Virginia for the issuance of subpoenas, the

clerk of the court shall issue, and the court on its own motion

may issue, subpoenas requiring attendance and testimony of

witnesses and production of records, documents or other

tangible objects at any hearing. Subpoenas duces tecum for

medical records shall be subject to the provisions of §§$§§

8.01-413 and 32.1-277.1:03 except that no separate fee shall

be imposed. A subpoena may also be issued in a civil

proceeding by an attorney-at-law who is an active member of

A10

the Virginia State Bar at the time of issuance, as an officer of

the court. Any such subpoena shall be on a form approved by

the Committee on District Courts, signed-by the attorney as if

a pleading and shall include the attorney’’s address. A copy,

together with the attorney’’s certificate of service pursuant to

Rule 1:12, shall be mailed or delivered to the clerk’’s office

of the court in which the case is pending on the day of

issuance by the attorney. The law governing subpoenas

issued by a clerk shall apply mutatis mutandis, except that

attorneys may not issue subpoenas in those cases in which

they may not issue a summons as provided in §§ 8.01-407

and may not issue a subpoena duces tecum less than five

business days prior to the date that production of evidence is

required. When an attorney-at-law transmits one or more

subpoenas or subpoenas duces tecum to a sheriff to be served

in his jurisdiction, the provisions in §§ 8.01-407 regarding

such transmittals shall apply. If the time for compliance with

a subpoena issued by an attorney is less than fourteen days

after service of the subpoena, the person to whom it is

directed may serve upon the party issuing the subpoena a

written objection setting forth any grounds therefor. If

objection is made, the party on whose behalf the subpoena

was issued and served shall not be entitled to compliance,

except pursuant to an order of the court, but may, upon notice

to the person to whom the subpoena was directed, move for

an order to compel compliance. Upon such timely motion,

the court may quash, modify or sustain the subpoena.

(Emphasis added)

8. In or around August, 2002, under color of state law,

pursuant to a procedural scheme created by statute, citing as

authority for her actions, §§ 8.01-413, 16.1-89 and 16.1-265,

Deanna Cook, an attorney in the Commonwealth of Virginia,

acting for and on behalf of Angela Smith, a party to the

All

custody and visitation proceedings, by her attorney, issued an

attorney issued subpoena duces tecum (See the attached

Exhibit 1 incorporated herein by this reference with Exhibit

“A” describing the medical/psychiatric records of Beverly

Smith to be produced), commanding the production of

Beverly Smith’s medical/psychiatric records from Leslie J.

Krzanowski without affording to Beverly Smith any notice

that her records were being subpoenaed and all in violation of

§ 8.01-399(D) and § 32.1-127.1:03.

9. The subpoena was issued under color of state law by an

officer of the court but was not a “court authorized

subpoena.”

10. In 2002, Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03(H)(1) provided

in pertinent part, “No party to an action shall request or

cause the issuance of a subpoena duces tecum for the medical

records of a nonparty witness unless a copy of the request for

the subpoena or a copy of the attorney-issued subpoena is

provided to the nonparty witness simultaneously with filing

the request or issuance of the attorney-issued subpoena.”

11. Additionally, in 2002, Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03

provided in part that “In instances where medical records

being subpoenaed are those of a ...nonparty witness, the party

requesting or issuing the subpoena shall deliver to the

..nonparty witness together with the copy of the request for

subpoena, or a copy of the subpoena in the case of an

attorney-issued subpoena, a statement informing them of

their rights and remedies....”

12. Additionally, in 2002, Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03

provided in part that the statement referenced above should

be provided to the nonparty witness as follows:

NOTICE TO PATIENT

The attached document means that (insert name of party

requesting or causing issuance of the subpoena) has either

Al2

asked the court to issue a subpoena or a subpoena has been

issued by the other party's attorney to your doctor or other

health care providers (names of health care providers inserted

here) requiring them to produce your medical records. Your

doctor or other health care provider is required to respond by

providing a copy of your medical records: If you believe your

records should not be disclosed and object to their disclosure,

you have the right to file a motion with the clerk of the court

to quash the subpoena. You may contact the clerk's office to

determine the requirements that must be satisfied when filing

a motion to quash and you may elect to contact an attorney to

represent your interest. If you elect to file a motion to quash,

it must be filed as soon as possible before the provider sends

out the records in response to the subpoena. If you elect to

file a motion to quash, you must notify your doctor or other

health care provider(s) that you are filing the motion so that

the provider knows to send the records to the clerk of court in

a sealed envelope or package for safekeeping while your

motion is decided.

13. Plaintiff Beverly Smith did not receive the foregoing

notice or statement of rights and remedies.

14. The Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03(D) provides for

disclosure of medical records under circumstances not

present in this case. The code provides in pertinent part as

follows: D. Health care entities may disclose health records:

13. To the attorney and/or guardian ad litem of a minor

who represents such minor in any judicial or

administrative proceeding, if the court or administrative

hearing officer has entered an order granting the attorney

or guardian ad litem this right and such attorney or

guardian ad litem presents evidence to the health care

entity of such order;

Al3

15. Leslie J. Krzanowski produced to Angela Smith and

Deanna Cook and to the court the medical/psychiatric records

of Beverly Smith without Beverly Smith’s authorization or

consent and without notice to Beverly Smith.

16. In turn, Angela Smith by her attorney Deanna Cook

disseminated the medical/psychiatric information of Beverly

Smith without Beverly Smith’s authorization or consent and

without notice to Beverly Smith.

17. Leslie J. Krzanowski and Angela Smith jointly engaged

and participated with Deanna Cook, acting as an officer of

the court, in depriving Beverly Smith of the confidential

medical information contained in the medical records.

Count 1

42 U.S.C. § 1983

18. Paragraphs | - 17 are incorporated herein.

19. Plaintiff need not allege that the defendants were acting

on behalf of the state, but instead that the defendants “under

color of any statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or usage

of” Virginia “subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen

of the United States...to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and

laws” which is what plaintiff alleges by this and other

paragraphs herein.

20. 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides in pertinent part as follows:

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be

subjected, any citizen of the United States or other person

Within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in

Al4

an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding

for redress... ;

21. Plaintiff was deprived of (1) her medical privacy secured

by the Constitution and laws and (2) her property right to the

confidentiality of her medical records under Virginia law

without due process.

22. The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

provides that "[n]o State shall ... deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law." 14th

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

23. Beverly Smith has a constitutional right to medical

privacy. See eg. Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 93 S. Ct. 705

(1973), Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 85 S. Ct.

1678 (1965) (marital privacy in decisions of birth control).

24. Beverly Smith had a constitutional right to due process

before her property was taken from her.

25. While the written, printed or electronically recorded

material maintained by Dr. Leslie J. Krzanowski are by

Virginia statute, the property of Dr. Krzanowski under Va.

Code § 32.1-127.1:03, the plaintiff had a statutory right of

privacy to the content and information of her medical/health

records. Id. (“There is hereby recognized a patient’s right of

privacy in the content of a patient’s medical record.”(Va.

Code § 32.1-127.1:03 as it read in 2002).

26. Beverly Smith challenges the constitutionality of Va.

Code § 32.1-127.1:03 to the extent that it may be interpreted

to provide any right of ownership to Dr. Krzanowski

independent of Beverly Smith to the content and information

in contrast to the written, printed or electronically recorded

material maintained by Dr. Leslie J. Krzanowski.

27. Cook as an officer of the court acting under color of state

law pursuant to a procedural scheme created by state statute

deprived plaintiff of her property interest namely her medical

Al5

privacy without notice or an opportunity to be heard in

violation of 14th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

28. Beverly Smith’s deprivation of her medical privacy

resulted from the exercise of a right or privilege having its

source in state authority.

29. Beverly Smith was deprived of her right to notice and to

an opportunity to be heard.

30. Defendants are appropriately characterized as “state

actors.”

31. Leslie J. Krzanowski and Angela Smith jointly and

willfully engaged and participated with Deanna Cook, who

was acting as an officer of the court when she issued the

subpoena for medical records which contained the

confidential medical information belonging to Beverly Smith

depriving her of her property interest in the confidentiality of

her medical information contained in the medical records,

and thereby acted “under color” of law for purposes of 42

U.S.C. §1983.

32. Defendants acted pursuant to a procedural scheme

created by statute which is the product of state action.

33. This is not the case of a mere private misuse of a state

statute.

34. Leslie J. Krzanowski, Angela Smith, Deanna Cook, all

acted under color of law, albeit as a result of the abuse of the

authority by Deanna Cook, to obtain the disclosure of the

medical/psychiatric information of Beverly Smith without

her consent, authorization and without notice.

35. The privacy of the medical/psychiatric information of

Beverly Smith constituted the private property of Beverly

Smith.

36. The private property of Beverly Smith was taken without

due process of law, without notice and without

compensation.

Al6

37. Asa result of the Constitutional violations, Beverly

Smith has suffered the loss of her privacy, and further

suffered emotional distress, including but not limited to

physical injuries including loss of appetite, sleeplessness,

nausea together with depression and other severe emotional

injuries, and past and future medical bills.

Count 2

Negligence

38. Paragraphs | - 17 are incorporated herein.

39. Leslie J. Krzanowski, Angela Smith and Deanna Cook,

each owed Beverly Smith a duty not to breach the privacy

interest that Beverly Smith had to her medical/psychiatric

records.

40. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03.

41. It is well established in Virginia that a health care

provider owes a duty of reasonable care to its patient,

including but not limited to a duty and obligation by the

health care provider to preserve the confidentiality of

information about the patient which was communicated to

the health care provider or discovered by the health care

provider during the course of treatment. Fairfax Hospital v.

Curtis, 254, Va. 437, 442, 492 S.E.2d 642 (1997).

42. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03.

Al7

43. It is well established in Virginia that confidentiality is an

integral aspect of the relationship between a health care

provider and a patient. Fairfax Hospital v. Curtis, 254, Va.

437, 442, 492 S.E.2d 642 (1997).

44. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where 7

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03.

45. It is well established in Virginia that in the absence of a

statutory to the contrary, or absent a serious danger to the

patient or others, a health care provider owes a duty to the

patient not to disclose information gained from the patient

during the course of treatment without the patient's

authorization, and that violation of this duty gives rise to an

action in tort. Fairfax Hospital v. Curtis, 254, Va. 437, 442,

492 S.E.2d 642 (1997).

46. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03.

47. In the absence of a statutory command to the contrary, or

absent a serious danger to the patient or others, a health care

provider owes a duty to the patient not to disclose

information gained from the patient during the course of

treatment without the patient's authorization, and that

violation of this duty gives rise to an action in tort. Fairfax

Hasp. by & Through INOVA Health Sys. Hosps. v. Curtis,

254 Va. 437, 442 (Va., 1997).

48. In the present case there was neither a statutory

command to the contrary, nor a serious danger to the patient

or others that relieved Dr. Kryzanowski of her duty.

Al8

49. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03.

50. It was well established that Virginia Code § 32.1-

127.1:03, entitled “Patient health records privacy” provides

in pertinent part that “ There is hereby recognized a patient's

right of privacy in the content of a patient's medical record.

Patient records are the property of the provider maintaining

them, and, except when permitted by this section or by

another provision of state or federal law, no provider, or

other person working in a health care setting, may disclose

the records of a patient.”

51. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03. -

52. Numerous other courts have recognized a right of

privacy in a patients records. See Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S.

589, 598-99, 51 L. Ed. 2d 64, 97 S. Ct. 869 (1977); United

States v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 638 F.2d 570, 578 (3rd

Cir. 1980); Shoemaker v. Handel, 608 F. Supp. 1151, 1159

(D.N.J. 1985).

53. Nevertheless, defendants Leslie J. Krzanowski, Angela

Smith, and Deanna Cook caused the confidential information

of the plaintiff to be disclosed without plaintiff's consent and

without following the procedures outlined in Va. Code §

32.1-127.1:03.

54. Deanna Cook issued and caused to be served the

attorney issued subpoena for documents seeking the

production of medical records of plaintiff without providing

Al9¥

to plaintiff a copy of the request in contravention of the

duties imposed by Va. Code that provided in pertinent part

that “No party to an action shall request or cause the issuance

of a subpoena duces tecum for the medical records of a

nonparty witness unless a copy of the request for the

subpoena or a copy of the attorney-issued subpoena is

provided to the nonparty witness simultaneously with filing

the request or issuance of the attorney-issued subpoena.”

55. Deanna Cook issued and caused to be served the

attorney issued subpoena for documents seeking the

production of medical records of plaintiff without providing

to plaintiff a statement of rights and remedies in

contravention of the duties imposed by Virginia Code § 32.1-

127.1:03 that provided in pertinent part that provided in part

that “In instances where medical records being subpoenaed

are those of a ...nonparty witness, the party requesting or

issuing the subpoena shall deliver to the ...nonparty witness

together with the copy of the request for subpoena, or a copy

of the subpoena in the case of an attorney-issued subpoena, a

statement informing them of their rights and remedies....”

including the following “NOTICE TO PATIENT

The attached document means that (insert name of party

requesting or causing issuance of the subpoena) has either

asked the court to issue a subpoena or a subpoena has been

issued by the other party's attorney to your doctor or other

health care providers (names of health care providers inserted

here) requiring them to produce your medical records. Your

doctor or other health care provider is required to respond by

providing a copy of your medical records. If you believe your

records should not be disclosed and object to their disclosure,

you have the right to file a motion with the clerk of the court

to quash the subpoena. You may contact the clerk's office to

determine the requirements that must be satisfied when filing

A20

a motion to quash and you may elect to contact an attorney to

represent your interest. If you elect to file a motion to quash,

it must be filed as soon as possible before the provider sends _

out the records in response to the subpoena. If you elect to

file a motion to quash, you must notify your doctor or other

health care provider(s) that you are filing the motion so that

the provider knows to send the records to the clerk of court in

a sealed envelope or package for safekeeping while your

motion is decided.

56. The defendant Angela Smith acted by and through her

agent as described above.

57. The defendant Dr. Kryzanowski delivered the medical

records and disclosed the medical information and contents

of the medical records to Deanna Cook, failed to protect and

preserve the confidentiality of the her patient, the plaintiff,

failing to refuse to comply with the attorney issued subpoena

which did not meet the statutory requirements set forth in §

32.1-127.1:03, failing to notify the plaintiff of the receipt of a

subpoena for the records, failing to move to quash the

subpoena, failing to act in accordance with the duty of

reasonable care of a health care provider owes to her patient,

including but not limited to a duty and obligation by the

health care provider to preserve the confidentiality of

information about the patient which was communicated to

the health care provider or discovered by the health care

provider during the course of treatment as recognized by

Fairfax Hospital v. Curtis, 254, Va. 437, 442, 492 S.E.2d 642

(1997) which provides no exception for attorney issued

~ subpoena in contravention of Va. Code. § 32.1-127.1:03.

58. The disclosure by the defendants was voluntary.

59. The disclosure was not authorized by law.

60. The disclosure was not necessary in connection with the

care of the patient or plaintiff.

A2l

61. The disclosure was not necessary in connection with the

protection or enforcement any of the defendant’s legal rights.

62. The disclosure was not done in order to comply with

state or federal law.

63. The disclosure of information was not in conformity

with the usual procedures in place designed to protect the

confidential medical information of patients.

64. The defendants Leslie J. Krzanowski, Angela Smith and

Deanna Cook had a duty to honor the implied promise of

confidentiality of plaintiff's confidential medical and

personal information.

65. The foregoing duty was not voided by any abuse of

authority by an attorney issuing a subpoena pursuant to §§

8.01-413, 16.1-89 or 16.1-265 of the Code of Virginia where

no notice was provided to Beverly Smith as required by §

32.1-127.1:03.

66. When the patient does not manifestly place her medical

condition at issue in a civil proceeding, then the statute

requires a determination by a judicial officer whether there is

a basis for disseminating the patient’s confidential

communications to third persons before the dissemination or

disclosure.

67. Upon information and belief, no such determination was

made.

68. Defendants Leslie J. Krzanowski, Angela Smith and

Deanna Cook breached that duty by disclosing confidential

information to unauthorized persons, including but not

limited to plaintiff's son’s attorney and to the court, Angela

Smith and Deanna Cook.

69. Defendants Leslie J. Krzanowski, Angela Smith and

Deanna Cook breached that duty by disclosing confidential

information to unauthorized persons, including but not

limited to plaintiff's son’s attorney and to the court, Angela

Smith, Deanna Cook, and Deborah S. Tinsley, and violated

the standard of care by disclosing confidential information to

unauthorized persons.

70. Asa direct and proximate result plaintiff has suffered

physical injuries including loss of appetite, sleeplessness,

nausea together with depression and other severe emotional

injuries.

71. Asa direct and proximate result plaintiff has suffered

and will suffer serious physical, emotional and mental

injuries together with past and future medical losses.

72. As a direct and proximate result of the breach and

violation stated above, plaintiff suffered humiliation,

embarrassment, and similar harm to her feelings, and is

therefore entitled to damages for emotional distress and

injuries which are presumed.

73. Asa direct and proximate result of the breach and

violation stated above, plaintiff suffered damages, including

but not limited to the loss of privacy in her confidential

personal and medical information.

Count 3

Malpractice against Dr. Leslie Krzanowski

74. Paragraphs | - 17 and 39 - 73 are incorporated herein.

75. Upon receipt of that information by the patient, the

physician impliedly promises not to violate the confidence.

Because the duty to honor the implied promise of

confidentiality is but another component of the treatment

rendered, the breach of that duty should be judged like the

breach of the general duty. Thus, as with a violation of the

standard of care generally, a breach of the duty of

confidentiality, "resulting in damages, gives rise to a cause of

action sounding in tort against the physician.”

A23

76. Defendant Leslie J. Krzanowski breached the terms of

the promise and implied agreement that she had with plaintiff

which resulted in past and future physical, emotional and

mental injuries to the plaintiff together with past and future

medical bills all of which were foreseeable at the time of the

agreement to provide services and treatment

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff moves for judgment as follows:

a. As-+to Count | and 2, jointly and severally against Leslie J.

Krzanowski, Angela Smith, and Deanna Cook in the amount

of $250,000.00 in compensatory damages or such other

amount as the law may allow, together with costs and

attorneys fees in this matter expended; and

b. As to Count 1, plaintiff also prays for such further relief as

may be provided by 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

c. As to Count 3, against Leslie J. Krzanowski in the amount

~ of $250,000.00 in damages or such other amount as the law

may allow, together with costs in this matter expended.

d. Such other and further relief as may be appropriate.

Trial by jury is demanded.

Respectfully Submitted:

BEVERLY SMITH

By: /s/

Counsel

Thomas H. Roberts, Esq.

VSB: # 26014

Thomas H. Roberts & Associates, P.C.

105 South Ist Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3718

A 24

Tele: (804) 783-2000

Fax: (804) 783-2105 _

TO: 18 WTC e105

POSTADO | UMA FPOW.. we. |

SUBPOENA DUCES TECLM (CTVILy-

ATTORNEY ISSURD 64 Cone og 8.) 4ss, 1A OO

Commonwesith ot Virgwa Sunenme Cow’t bn Cet

Case No - [/000528201 0W/iA0082450 | 09

= inmaary 30. 2003 a: 9 Wa m.

RAR ING OTe ang Me

Goochtane iy: corte a3 Damesac Relations Cranc

ore be bh» fh iy ..f . 2 eee COUNT

2992 Rover Rood West, P.O Ret 47 Goochiand, VA 15663

Perera ities arg eo, —

Angeiz D. Smith I Se

TO THE PERSON AUTHORIZED BY LAW TO SERVE THIS PROCESS:

ts: Sa

eee

You are commended te semen L

Dy. Leshe a Rererest Tu aors Mychiatic

— 7505 Forma aver ve Se. 26

PR ters ee See

Richmen¢ so, peated aoe ee 23229 -

2 needa rat PP ”

TO the person summoned: You *¢ commanded & snake evailsble yon ments ne tangiMe things

Eesignated ard desombed tele w

8 r

SBE ATTACFED EXETAIT *a”

ae, E Frarkin $t.. Stet 18

camhane

Tt

© pestnit such party cr someone c achiag in his or her bekalf to insoect and copy, test Or sample such

tangible things m your possession, Custody OF CONTI

00, Rrcmmoind, WA 235 23318-0826 Dror meer 32. 2062 a iad

at

This Sudpoena Duces Teeum is issued by the attormey for and an Scha lf of

__Angsia D. South

own ware

Deanna D Coux , , 2277:

GN TAD Ow eR

bine ee — eet same eairianae

Onc ADORE Oh ees Or 4 Oe

PD) Bos 626, Richmone. VA 73219-081E . _ [804) 43.1466 Se :

z Orta ee ee

ee le CLC HE

\

Deceriber $2002

Snags

Natice ta Recipient: sce page sw? fer Sores infutaaten

RETURN OF SERVICE (see page two of this fora)

FAA Ot Hold C28 TOW fOr

Ab ho- D- 2OGE Cs 1 Em Vet

EXHIBMT |

A25

YO the pertog suntmoncd:

IT yo@ ae secwed with this sudpoena ieee har 14 Cave pro: to the da: teomp swe wht this

a >peenrs 1s required. you may 0d. e0; by senifveg tit party who issved the sutecene of vous chre= t+

Mr WEE Tec Gesonbing ioe basis of you cojecter in dur wrising

X Ths SUBPOEN« DUCES TECUM is bring se: +en DY a privete procets serter WhO Met Croe ide ug

Proof of servicer in accordpace with Vz. Code § &C1-325

TO mht person autdorized to serve this PrOCHSS; POM execution, mt retin of les par cess shat 7

wate io the clerk ef cous,

ib Came: GED — gree

i Name '

endian aes CT ACER ee eel i tte -

{DP 55S

a — a — a —_ . - '

aeeneniintenesmetit

i

—— ---—- eA AO SO fe as a aca

w PEMSONAL SERMICE 16

heme 0S cane mens one — =_——

—— STS ee SSS EEE ee eee ee:

weting al ftp mae PoTsuTal service. 2 coy was Se.wersd i ike CWE Peahaes me

1 Denvered to demaly mor ber (96% Nemporery sayourme: oF guest) ae 14 or Cider at uNual nlace of

thats of pars aomed sbowe after mvmg infornatien of its purge Listeame te of mote

aud relaren of recipies: Lo party meme! sbowve.

een = et a eee ee Se emma eam TS RANE A NN A ee ee a ote

(| Pested 08 front ods oF 8.5 ocher door as ADpcar TD de lke wasn enttarce Cf utue. pars of aboce

__ B6S:53S Lng store. (sie: autioriied resizient net fowed oN : :

C3 wt foasc Rewer? i

Pins gj, Re eer ceeptncetian ine etgeneesiemeeee

rE oe eee eee a ene ence DESY Sher f

or

cee oe eee ae Aen sae Se ee

CERTIFICATE OF COUNSEL.

Denne St » COBESE FOF ce nee ED. See, bsrety atify

Rie copy of the foregoing wuzpcesa Gees esc was —

wee ales

Tsenee 84 Yoon . 7

WD eeaveneenne Sine counsel of cece sl $60. < ccc ccvcemnein

ee ee el ee ae

Site Tver swe

ee VER me Oe eS me

A 26

EXHIBIT “A”

Produce the originals or legible copies of the follo ag documents to the

law offices of Bremner, Janus. Cook & Marcus, 701 E. Franklin Street Ste.

1800, Richmond, VA 23219, on or before December 23, 2002 as 3:00 p.m.:

Comes of the full and complete Gie, omittiag nothing, of Beverly Smith,

lowsrens address: 1284 Masiin Road, Goochland, VA 23063), including

ut not Limited to. all examination reparts and notes; sied:¢al Aistories acd

ronsultanén reports; correspondence to and from the abave-ramod

individuals ether physiczans: correspondence wand tom family members of

che above-named individuals: progress and he notes dnd furses notes,

PSY TOGISETICAl, peychisizic ant neuropsycaclogira: test data, te8%9 Sctres, 249%

eeweré, raw deta 2nd eva) urtios and peer ooh reports; Cherapy renerts

and in-progress notes, statements and reports of conditios, treatment,

digencsis and progposia; hospitz! admission and Garharge reports;

mergeucy medical care renoris, laboratory tests results and reports, hills :

exd/or ssatemente. from the beginning of treatrment tirsugh th

present

APPENDIX E

VA CODE § 32.1-127.1:03, AS AMENDED IN 2002

~~ 4 - 4 — 4-4 - 4 - 4 A H-

§ 32.1-127.1:03. Patient health records privacy.

A. There is hereby recognized a patient's right of privacy in

the content of a patient's medical record.-Patient records are

the property of the provider maintaining them, and, except

when permitted by this section or by another provision of

state or federal law, no provider, or other person working in a

health care setting, may disclose the records of a patient.

Patient records shall not be removed from the premises where

they are maintained without the approval of the provider,

except in accordance with a court order or subpoena

consistent with § 8.01-413 C or with this section or in

accordance with the regulations relating to change of

ownership of patient records promulgated by a health

regulatory board established in Title 54.1. :

No person to whom disclosure of patient records was made

by a patient or a provider shall redisclose or otherwise reveal

the records of a patient, beyond the purpose for which such

disclosure was made, without first obtaining the patient's

specific consent to such redisclosure. This redisclosure

prohibition shall not, however, prevent (i) any provider who

receives records from another provider from making

subsequent disclosures as permitted under this section or (ii)

any provider from furnishing records and aggregate or other

data, from which patient-identifying prescription information

has been removed, encoded or encrypted, to qualified

A 28

researchers, including, but not limited to, pharmaceutical

manufacturers and their agents or contractors, for purposes of

clinical, pharmaco-epidemiological, pharmaco-economic, or

other health services research.

B. As used in this section:

"Agent" means a person who has been appointed as a

patient's agent under a power of attorney for health care or an

advance directive under the Health Care Decisions Act (§

54.1-2981 et seq.).

"Guardian" means a court-appointed guardian of the person.

"Health services" includes, but is not limited to, examination,

diagnosis, evaluation, treatment, pharmaceuticals, aftercare,

habilitation or rehabilitation and mental health therapy of any

kind.

"Parent" means a biolegical, adoptive or foster parent.

"Patient" means a person who is receiving or has received

health services from a provider.

"Patient-identifying prescription information" means all

prescriptions, drug orders or any other prescription

information that specifically identifies an individual patient.

"Provider" shall have the same meaning as set forth in the

definition of "health care provider" in § 8.01-581.1, except

that state-operated facilities shall also be considered

providers for the purposes of this section. Provider shall also

include all persons who are licensed, certified, registered or

A29

permitted by any of the health regulatory boards within the

Department of Health Professions, except persons regulated

by the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers or the

Board of Veterinary Medicine.

"Record" means any written, printed or electronically

recorded material maintained by a provider in the course of

providing health services to a patient concerning the patient

and the services provided. "Record" also includes the

substance of any communication made by a patient to a

provider in confidence during or in connection with the

provision of health services to a patient or information

otherwise acquired by the provider about a patient in

confidence and in connection with the provision of health

services to the patient.

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any of the

following:

1. The status of and release of information governed by §§

65.2-604 and 65.2-607 of the Virginia Workers’

Compensation Act; or

2. Except where specifically provided herein, the records of

minor patients.

D. Providers may disclose the records of a patient:

1. As set forth in subsection E of this section, pursuant to the

written consent of the patient or in the case of a minor

patient, his custodial parent, guardian or other person

authorized to consent to treatment of minors pursuant to §

54.1-2969; also, in emergency cases or situations where it is

A30

impractical to obtain the patient's written consent, pursuant to

the patient's oral consent for a provider to discuss the

patient's records with a third party specified by the patient;

2. In compliance with a subpoena issued in accord with

subsection H of this section, pursuant to court order upon

good cause shown or in compliance with a subpoena issued

pursuant to subsection C of § 8.01-413;

3. In accord with subsection F of § 8.01-399 including, but

not limited to, situations where disclosure is reasonably

necessary to establish or collect a fee or to defend a provider

or the provider's employees or staff against any accusation of.

wrongful conduct; also as required in the course of an

investigation, audit, review or proceedings regarding a

provider's conduct by a duly authorized law-enforcement,

licensure, accreditation, or professional review entity;

4. In testimony in accordance with §§ 8.01-399 and 8.01-

400.2:

5. In compliance with the provisions of § 8.01-413;

6. As required or authorized by any other provision of law

including contagious disease, public safety, and suspected

child or adult abuse reporting requirements, including, but

not limited to, those contained in §§ 32.1-36, 32.1-36.1, 32.1-

40, 32.1-41, 32.1-276.5, 32.1-283, 32.1-283.1, 37.1-98.2,

53.1-40.10, 54.1-2403.3, 54.1-2906, 54.1-2907, 54.1-2966,

54.1-2966.1, 54.1-2967, 54.1-2968, 63.1-55.3 and 63.1-

248.11 63.1-248.3;

7. Where necessary in connection with the care of the patient,

including in the implementation of a hospital routine contact

process;

8. In the normal course of business in accordance with

accepted standards of practice within the health services

setting; however, the maintenance, storage, and disclosure of

the mass of prescription dispensing records maintained in a

pharmacy registered or permitted in Virginia shall only be

accomplished in compliance with §§ 54.1-3410, 54.1-3411

and 54.1-3412;

9. When the patient has waived his right to the privacy of the

medical records;

10. When examination and evaluation of a patient are

undertaken pursuant to judicial or administrative law order,

but only to the extent as required by such;

11. To the guardian ad litem in the course of a guardianship

proceeding of an adult patient authorized under Article 1.1 (§

37.1-134.6 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 37.1;

12. Te the attorney appointed by the court to represent a

patient in a civil commitment proceeding under § 37.1-67.3;

13. To the attorney and/or guardian ad litem of a minor

patient who represents-such minor in any judicial or

administrative proceeding, provided that the court or

administrative hearing officer has entered an order granting

the attorney or guardian ad litem this right and such attorney

or guardian ad litem presents evidence to the provider of such

order;

A 32

14. With regard to the Court-Appointed Special Advocate

(CASA) program, a minor's records in accord with § 9.1-156;

15. To an agent appointed under a patient's power of attorney

or to an agent or decision maker designated in a patient's

advance directive for health care or for decisions on

anatomical gifts and organ, tissue or eye donation or to any

other person consistent with the provisions of the Health Care

Decisions Act (§ 54.1-2981 et seq.);

16. To third-party payors and their agents for purposes of

reimbursement;

17. As is necessary to support an application for receipt of

health care benefits from a governmental agency or as

required by an authorized governmental agency reviewing

such application or reviewing benefits already provided;

18. Upon the sale of a medical practice as provided in § 54.1-

2405; or upon a change of ownership or closing of a

pharmacy pursuant to regulations of the Board of Pharmacy;

19. In accord with § 54.1-2400.1 B, to communicate a

patient's specific and immediate threat to cause serious bodily

injury or death of an identified or readily identifiable person;

20. To the patient, except as provided in subsections E and F

of this section and subsection B of § 8.01-413;

21. In the case of substance abuse records, when permitted by

and in conformity with requirements of federal law found in

42 U.S.C. § 290dd-2 and 42 C.F.R. Part 2;

A 33

22. In connection with the work of any entity established as ~

set forth in § 8.01-581.16 to evaluate the adequacy or quality

of professional services or the competency and qualifications

for professional staff privileges:

23. If the records are those of a deceased or mentally

incapacitated patient to the personal representative or

executor of the deceased patient or the legal guardian or

committee of the incompetent or incapacitated patient or if

there is no personal representative, executor, legal guardian

or committee appointed, to the following persons in the

following order of priority: a spouse, an adult son or

daughter, either parent, an adult brother or sister, or any other

relative of the deceased patient in order of blood relationship;

24. For the purpose of conducting record reviews of inpatient

hospital deaths to promote identification of all potential

organ, eye, and tissue donors in conformance with the

requirements of applicable federal law and regulations,

including 42 C.F.R. § 482.45, (i) to the provider's designated

organ procurement organization certified by the United States

Health Care Financing Administration and (11) to any eye

bank or tissue bank in Virginia certified by the Eye Bank

Association of America or the American Association of

Tissue Banks;

25. To the Office of the Inspector General for Mental Health,

Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services pursuant

to Chapter 16 (§ 37.1-255 et seq.) of Title 37.1; and

26. (Expires July 1, 2003) To an entity participating in the

activities of a local health partnership authority established

A 34

pursuant to Article 6.1 (§ 32.1-122.10:001 et seq.) of Chapter

4 of Title 32.1, pursuant to subdivision D 1 of this section.

E. Requests for copies of medical records shall (i) be in

writing, dated and signed by the requester; (ii) identify the

nature of the information requested; and (iii) include

evidence of the authority of the requester to receive such

copies and identification of the person to whom the

information is to be disclosed. The provider shall accept a

photocopy, facsimile, or other copy of the original signed by

the requestor as if it were an original. Within fifteen days of

receipt of a request for copies of medical records, the

provider shall do one of the following: (i) furnish such copies

to any requester authorized to receive them; (ii) inform the

requester if the information does not exist or cannot be

found; (iii) if the provider does not maintain a record of the

information, so inform the requester and provide the name

and address, if known, of the provider who maintains the

record; or (iv) deny the request (a) under subsection F, (b) on

the grounds that the requester has not established his

authority to receive such records or proof of his identity, or

(c) as otherwise provided by law. Procedures set forth in this

section shall apply only to requests for records not

specifically governed by other provisions of this Code,

federal law or state or federal regulation.

F. Except as provided in subsection B of § 8.01-413, copies

of a patient's records shall not be furnished to such patient or

anyone authorized to act on the patient's behalf where the

_ patient's attending physician or the patient's clinical

psychologist has made a part of the patient's record a written

statement that, in his opinion, the furnishing to or review by

the patient of such records would be injurious to the patient's

A 35

health or well-being. If any custodian of medical records

denies a request for copies of records based on such

statement, the custodian shall permit examination and

copying of the medical record by another such physician or

clinical psychologist selected by the patient, whose licensure,

training and experience relative to the patient's condition are

at least equivalent to that of the physician or clinical

psychologist upon whose opinion the denial is based. The

person or entity denying the request shall inform the patient

of the patient's right to select another reviewing physician or

clinical psychologist under this subsection who shall make a

judgment as to whether to make the record available to the

patient. Any record copied for review by the physician or

clinical psychologist selected by the patient shall be

accompanied by a statement from the custodian of the record

that the patient's attending physician or clinical psychologist

determined that the patient's review of his record would be

injurious to the patient's health or well-being.

G. A written consent to allow release of patient records may,

but need not, be in the following form:

CONSENT TO RELEASE OF CONFIDENTIAL HEALTH

CARE

INFORMATION

Information or Records to be

a

A 36

As the person signing this consent, | understand that I am

giving my permission to the above-named provider or other

named third party for disclosure of confidential health care

records. | also understand that I have the right to revoke this

consent, but that my revocation is not effective until

delivered in writing to the person who is in possession of my

records. A copy of this consent and a notation concerning the

persons or agencies to whom disclosure was made shall be

included with my original records. The person who receives

the records to which this consent pertains may not redisclose

them to anyone else without my separate written consent

unless such recipient is a provider who makes a disclosure

permitted by law.

This Consent expires ON (Gate)........ccccerccesorcersssveeseceeresseses

Signature of Patient...............ccccscsrcsseeees ee ciiicaninaiins

H. |. No party to an action shall request the issuance of a

subpoena duces tecum for an opposing party's medical

records or cause a subpoena duces tecum to be issued by an

attorney unless a copy of the request for the subpoena or a

copy of the attorney-issued subpoena is provided to opposing

counsel or the opposing party if they are pro se,

simultaneously with filing the request or issuance of the

subpoena. No party to an action shall request or cause the

issuance of a subpoena duces tecum for the medical records

of a nonparty witness unless a copy of the request for the

subpoena or a copy of the attorney-issued subpoena is

provided to the nonparty witness simultaneously with filing

the request or issuance of the attorney-issued subpoena.

A 37

In instances where medical records being subpoenaed are

those of a pro se party or nonparty witness, the party

requesting or issuing the subpoena shall deliver to the pro se

party or nonparty witness together with the copy of the

request for subpoena, or a copy of the subpoena in the case of

an attorney-issued subpoena, a statement informing them of

their rights and remedies. The statement shall include the

following language and the heading shall be in boldface

capital letters:

NOTICE TO PATIENT

The attached document means that (insert name of party

requesting or causing issuance of the subpoena) has either

asked the court to issue a subpoena or a subpoena has been

issued by the other party's attorney to your doctor or other

health care providers (names of health care providers inserted

here) requiring them to produce your medical records. Your

doctor or other health care provider is required to respond by

providing a copy of your medical records. If you believe your

records should not be disclosed and object to their disclosure,

you have the right to file a motion with the clerk of the court

to quash the subpoena. You may contact the clerk's office to

determine the requirements that must be satisfied when filing

a motion to quash and you may elect to contact an attorney to

represent your interest. If you elect to file a motion to quash,

it must be filed as soon as possible before the provider sends

out the records in response to the subpoena. If you elect to

file a motion to quash, you must notify your doctor or other

health care provider(s) that you are filing the motion so that

the provider knows to send the records to the clerk of court in

a sealed envelope or package for safekeeping while your

motion is decided.

A38

2. Any party filing a request for a subpoena duces tecum or

causing such a subpoena to be issued for a patient's medical

records shall include a Notice to Providers in the same part of

the request where the provider is directed where and when to

return the records. Such notice shall be in boldface capital

letters and shall include the following language:

NOTICE TO PROVIDERS

IF YOU RECEIVE NOTICE THAT YOUR PATIENT HAS

FILED A MOTION TO QUASH (OBJECTING TO) THIS

SUBPOENA, OR IF YOU FILE A MOTION TO QUASH

THIS SUBPOENA, SEND THE RECORDS ONLY TO THE

CLERK OF THE COURT WHICH ISSUED THE

SUBPOENA OR IN WHICH THE ACTION IS PENDING

AS SHOWN ON THE SUBPOENA USING THE

FOLLOWING PROCEDURE: PLACE THE RECORDS IN

A SEALED ENVELOPE AND ATTACH TO THE

SEALED ENVELOPE A COVER LETTER TO THE

CLERK OF COURT WHICH STATES THAT

CONFIDENTIAL HEALTH CARE RECORDS ARE

ENCLOSED AND ARE TO BE HELD UNDER SEAL

PENDING THE COURT'S RULING ON THE MOTION TO

QUASH THE SUBPOENA. THE SEALED ENVELOPE

AND THE COVER LETTER SHALL BE PLACED IN AN

OUTER ENVELOPE OR PACKAGE FOR

TRANSMITTAL TO THE COURT.

3. Health care providers shall provide a copy of all records as

required by a subpoena duces tecum or court order for such

medical records. If the health care provider has, however,

actual receipt of notice that a motion to quash the subpoena

A39

has been filed or if the health care provider files a motion to

quash the subpoena for medical records, then the health care

provider shall produce the records to the clerk of the court

issuing the subpoena or in whose court the action is pending,

where the court shall place the records under seal until a

determination is made regarding the motion to quash. The

securely sealed envelope shall only be opened on order of the

judge. In the event the court grants the motion to quash, the

records shall be returned to the health care provider in the

same sealed envelope in which they were delivered to the

court. In the event that a judge orders the sealed envelope to

be opened to review the records in camera, a copy of the

judge's order shall accompany any records returned to the

provider. The records returned to the provider shall be in a

securely sealed enveiupe.

4. It is the duty of any party requesting a subpoena duces

tecum for medical records or the attorney issuing the

subpoena duces tecum to determine whether the patient

whose records are sought is pro se or a nonparty. Any request

for a subpoena duces tecum and any attorney-issued

subpoena for the medical records of a nonparty or of a pro se

party shall direct the provider (in boldface type) not to

produce the records until ten days after the date on which the

provider is served with the subpoena duces tecum and shall

be produced no later than ¢wenty days after the datc of such

service.

In the event that the individual whose records are being

sought files a motion to quash the subpoena, the court shall

decide whether good cause has been shown by the

discovering party to compel disclosure of the patient's private

records over the patient's objections. In determining whether

A40 :

good cause has been shown, the court shall consider (i) the

particular purpose for which the information was collected;

(ii) the degree to which the disclosure of the records would

embarrass, injure, or invade the privacy of the individual; (iii)

the effect of the disclosure on the individual's future health

care; (iv) the importance of the information to the lawsuit or

proceeding; and (v) any other relevant factor.

The provisions of this subsection have no application to

subpoenas for medical records requested under § 8.01-413, or

issued by a duly authorized administrative agency conducting

an investigation, audit, review or proceedings regarding a

provider's conduct. The provisions of this subsection apply to

the medical records of both minors and adults.

A subpoena for substance abuse records must conform to the

requirements of federal law found in 42 C.F.R. Part 2,

Subpart E.

Providers may testify about the medical records of a patient

in compliance with §§ 8.01-399 and 8.01-400.2.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.